Empty Netters Podcast - No Lead Is Safe Against The Edmonton Oilers | LIVE.EP7

Episode Date: May 7, 2025

The boys go live for their seventh episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices...

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 We are back. We are live this morning with empty netters. Puckline news brought to you by BetMGM. We are back again for our live show. It is Wednesday morning. We had a Caps Cain's tilt last night and an Oilers Vegas Knights tilt last night. We're going to get into both games, all the madness. We feel like we're taking crazy pills. No one understands what's going on. The world is upside down. It's bizarre old land. Superman is dying. How the hell are you feeling? I feel awful. I feel awful. I was, I was, I stood at this very bar.
Starting point is 00:00:38 So sick, I could barely talk last week. Snot drizzling into the microphone. Edge making fun of me. It's a nightmare. And I feel 100 times worse today than I did that. Listen, we are in an era right now of the Stanley Cup playoffs where everyone's bracket is fucked to hell. No one has got anything right.
Starting point is 00:01:00 Except Mandy. Mandi. In the chat, me without a perfect bracket last week, I think. But so much shit is absolutely haywire, and we've got to discuss it. Guys, before we get into the games, let's talk about the Utah Mammoth. Dude, I dare people to go back and listen. I wanted Mammoth from Jump Street. And I know everybody thought Yeti was cool, even though it was insane that you didn't know you could.
Starting point is 00:01:30 you could get the Yeti trademark. You wanted Mammoth from Jump Street? I wanted Mammoth from Jump Street. You wanted Mammoth from Jump Street, and I didn't want Mammoth from Jum Street? You wanted YETI. You wanted YETI. Oh my God. And then I was the one who told you about the YETI foot patch on the Aves jerseys,
Starting point is 00:01:44 and I said we can't have two Yetty. You did bring that up, which was an tremendous point, and why I'm glad it's not Yeti, but I definitely wanted Mammoth the whole time because that's my favorite ski out and I thought it would be cool. You think there's anything in this world you know about that I don't fucking know about? Come on. Dude, look at this. Tusk up.
Starting point is 00:01:59 Tusk up. Tusk up. That's so sick. I love it. I'm going to say that the two of us, we were on Mammoth early. We were on Mammoth early and often. We both wanted Mammoth from the jump. There was the Yeti Snafu.
Starting point is 00:02:14 Yep. I get it. It's a very important cup. It's a very important cooler. Yeah. Looks like you can't have that as your name. Mammoth was always the answer. I love the logo.
Starting point is 00:02:25 We're getting some chirps on Twitter, people saying that, the logo looks like a generic EA Sports NHL create a team logo. Okay. You know what? I don't think that that's true. I just think people are programmed to... Well, that's all we see now these days. It's just like AI logos.
Starting point is 00:02:44 That's the game these days. And the mountains are sick. It's sick. And I'm pretty sure they're specifically Utah Mountain. That would be dope if that's it. They're specifically Utah Mountain Rangers. Yeah, I can see Alta. I can see that.
Starting point is 00:02:55 The Tusk is big enough to... to be mammoth. That was a big thing. There's a huge difference between an elephant tusk and a mammoth tusk. And that's a large tusk. Yeah, okay. I buy that. I really love that they're keeping the diagonal Utah for the away jerseys. I was going to say, was that exactly what they wore? Yes. So they didn't even change that at all. That's almost an homage to the inaugural season, and I love that. So we've got the clubbers jersey on the away sweater, and we've got the new logo. I love the state patch. Either way. Okay, hold on.
Starting point is 00:03:29 Good stuff for Utah. We finally got jerseys. This is big. Where is the M, dude? It says there's an, here are the Easter eggs, Dan, okay? Wow. It said, also, dude, they went with mammoth singular, not mammoths, plural, because it symbolizes one team all in and all of Utah.
Starting point is 00:03:48 Do you like that? Say it one more time? We went with mammoth singular rather than mammoths, plural, because it symbolizes one team all in and all. of you. That's yeah, I love that. Okay, here the East Side. Utah is mammoth. The snow-capped Wasatch Mountain Range makes up the top of the mammoth head. We all saw that. The silhouette of Utah and a negative space M are hidden on the left side of the logo. Okay, where is that, dude? Find the M. The silhouette of Utah and the negative space M.
Starting point is 00:04:22 Oh, oh, I think it's right here. Yeah, there's the M. I see. It's on the left side. I think that thing is Utah, right? Like, isn't that what Utah looks like? That little guy right there? It's all in one. Like, that is the state of Utah. Yeah, yeah. Okay, that's pretty sick. And then the curved tusk is meant to evoke the letter U for Utah. Tusks up is the team endorsed rally and cry for mammoth fans. Sick.
Starting point is 00:04:43 Boom. I like it, dude. I like it. I like it. I wanted Mammoth. I'm happy about it. And I still like the colors. The colors are gas. They were always gas. The colors are so good. I love it. You know, it's, producer Edge, in here was just saying he loves hockey club. And as we remember, Sean Dersey when he came on the pod, he loved hockey club.
Starting point is 00:05:03 I hope people aren't upset that hockey club has gone. And I like that we still have the jerseys. But ultimately, Mammoth is cool. Mammoth is hell, dude. It was never outlaws. It was never. Wasn't there like a snake one at one point? Oh, no, it was.
Starting point is 00:05:19 Venom. Yeah. Venom. Right. That would have been crazy. That's like a... What's that? Roller movie. roller ball from the 90s? Is that a movie? Ed, you should know that. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:05:32 Chris something. But yeah, that feels like one of the team names in that. So I'm glad we went with Mammoth. This is great. All right. We came here for a reason, folks. We're on this live for a reason. Let's get into the games last night. We had game one
Starting point is 00:05:48 caps canes in Washington an OT snooze fest? Or, well, no, no. that game dude not to jump ahead but Bruce Cassidy said something that he was like game ones are feel it out games in a series
Starting point is 00:06:08 which I know is true but it's kind of like dude we don't have time to feel shit out like we got to go right now yeah yeah so I love it and I hate it but I have never felt like I know less than watching the three game ones that I have seen so far in round two. Like, I am completely befuddled by every single thing that has happened.
Starting point is 00:06:34 Yeah. I thought, I had said, I said Keynes and seven. And I was like, I just think the canes except at goalie have a little bit more going everywhere. And then it looked like they had, it looked like they were playing a fucking high school team they were playing a tune-up game in Rochester, dude. That's what it looked like. And P.K., I think, someone on the broadcast was like, the Capitol should be embarrassed that they would ever do that to their home fans
Starting point is 00:07:06 after the season they had to come out and do that. I don't want to go that hard. Like, I don't think they need to be humiliated with themselves. But holy fuck, that, you feel terrible coming out of that game if you're the Washington Capitals. I totally agree. And you're so right. I feel as though
Starting point is 00:07:25 this is a situation. And I'm not saying that, you know, no one's picking either team here. I think we were split on both these cities. Both these series. So it's not like things are completely off the rails, but I don't think either of these games went the way people thought.
Starting point is 00:07:45 So it's either one of these situations where the game one happens and then game two and on happens and things go back to what people expect. And you're like, oh, classic game one. blip. Yeah. Or this is just going to tennis back and forth of complete another nonsense. I'm not prepared for either scenario, truly.
Starting point is 00:08:01 And I couldn't predict either scenario because as we've seen these playoffs, I feel like no one knows what's going on at any point and it's absolute mayhem. Now, I agree this was a disastrous game for the Caps. Cains, I feel like you have had the scoring buzzing a little bit and you probably would say similar like, well, we weren't scoring like we can. and like we probably should. But if you were the caps and you look at how this game shook out,
Starting point is 00:08:30 you are not pleased. And I will also say, I feel like we saw that in Carbs. Carbs post game, he was snippier than I've ever seen. I agree, dude. He was like, I don't want to fucking talk about anything.
Starting point is 00:08:41 Like 14 shots in this game. Yeah. What are we doing? This, the shots, phenomenal. Pandemic is fucking mental in these playoffs. The way teams are just not shooting the – because that's what I can't get over,
Starting point is 00:08:59 and that's what I'd love to get into. I dare anyone to go back and watch the full game of any game in these playoffs. They're not situations where, oh, my God, the other team's defense is so suffocating. They're boxing out the net so well. They're blocking a million. Teams are actively not shooting. They're getting so cute. They're throwing an extra.
Starting point is 00:09:23 pass. They've got two on ones where they're like, I got to force this pass over and it gets blocked. And that is where I'm like, after a half of fucking period, dude, when you have like one shot or in the next game we'll get to zero. Yeah. Start fucking throwing the puck on net, dude. Especially because, and not like this is unique to these playoffs, but look at the goals that are going in on elite goalies, dude. Like, puck's bounce weird. It's playoffs. Everything's going to the net. Everyone's a little nervy. That is, that's how you score. But you get in your head, oh, scoring's tight, so I need to
Starting point is 00:09:58 score a perfect goal. And I'm like, no, it's actually the exact opposite. Scoring's tight. Everyone's tight. Get shit going to the cage. And it is a little bit of the defense, obviously. But it's, you're 100% right. When you get it, things have to be going that direction. I think it's a possession thing, dude. People are like, well, we just got it. Like, I just got the buck. I don't want to just like get the blue and fired on the cage. Yeah. I want to build a little bit here, cycle the puck, get some possession. But I need way more, especially when teams are losing, dude. I think that's my biggest takeaway.
Starting point is 00:10:29 When teams are down and it's just that nothing is going to the net, I'm like, dude, you this, you can't win this way. You cannot win this way. Yeah, we went into this series thinking that this was going to be a bit of a goalie duel. We said that we've got, you know, LT playing incredible, Frederick Anderson, playing really incredible. And he was back in that we saw two good goalie performances. Again, only 14 shots from the Caps.
Starting point is 00:10:54 So not a ton for Freddie to do. That said, LT out of this world. Dude, if you are the Caps, there's a couple, I have a couple spin zones here. And if you're the Caps, you were going to win this series by, because LT stepped up to it like a whole, he has been, dude, he has been, here you go, chat.
Starting point is 00:11:16 He's been fucking nails all season and playoffs. But he needs to go to win the series, I think he needs to go one more step. And the good news is that's exactly what he did in game one. He was fucking incredible. And the Cains lost last year in the playoffs in this round. Yeah, in this exact round for the same reason. They ran into a team that they were better than then, but that team had the far superior goalie, or that goalie was playing far superior Lee and then stole the series from them.
Starting point is 00:11:50 Yeah. And that, the caps can replicate that if LT plays that way. So actually, if you're the caps, I think you go, hell yeah, dude, keep doing that. Keep doing that and we money. Man, we had some Caps fans in the DMs losing their shit last night. And listen, I get it. So your team goes down at any point. You don't feel good.
Starting point is 00:12:10 But I think you should feel fantastic because there were so many turnovers from the Caps last night, really sloppy. They were over on the power play. You hate to see that. just like nothing was clicking and again i don't think it was a holy shit the defense of this carolina team is like nothing we've ever seen now carolina fans don't take that as me saying that your defense is not good absolutely is you've got the best defenseman in the fucking world on planet earth in this universe on your team but i am saying if you're the caps you go who is probably our con smite guy it's l t and he played con smith hockey last night yep so i think you go all right
Starting point is 00:12:48 LT is still locked in. We're fine. We just got to start. Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation. Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation. Grab your docks, your permits, your moves. AI levels up your pitch, gets it in a groove. Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Starting point is 00:13:05 Come on now. Let's flex those two. Drive design, deliver, make it sing. AI builds the deck so you can build that thing with Acrobat. Learn more at Adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat. It's more. Yeah. And I almost want to go to the Cains. I think you maybe go to go to bed with this thought as the Caps fan too, where you go, dude, the Cains have played, we're playing a devil's team that we all kind of thought would be a sweep or five, which it was. So all the credit to them. But all of those were super tight. Two O.O.T games. I felt like Jersey was hanging around in every one of those games. To the point that if I'm Capitals team, I go, dude, they can't. They can't score. That team, the team can't score. They can't score. That's what I'm yelling, dude. And then I go, see, they didn't do it against the devils. They didn't do it against us.
Starting point is 00:13:58 Now, granted, I think they would go. We're playing Markstrom and LT. Get fucked, dickhead. You, you score on Markstrom. He was out of his mind. He made 50 saves. I'm like, yeah, true. And so in LT. Like, what were the cane shots in that game? I think 33. 33. 33, yeah. 31 saves. Yep, 33 shots. So, yeah, they're like, dude, we've been playing great goalies. Get off my ass. But I just think that if you are the capitals, you go, dude, that team hasn't been lighting it up the way they maybe could have. I'm going to check goals four record in the league this past year. I like that. I like that.
Starting point is 00:14:33 While you do that, I want to talk about one man that I just mentioned, Jacob Slavin. Yep. The All-Father. The All-Father. Bow to him. Although someone said in our DMs last night, don't bow to him because all he would want is for you to bow to Jesus. Yeah, correct. Dude, it's true. We actually made, we were doing headlines. And with loop, everybody followed glue guy. If you're not following glue guy, we were doing headlines with him
Starting point is 00:14:56 after Slavin had the OT winner. And we were writing jokes that were like, God or something like, you know, something like that. And then we were, Dan and I were like, actually, I think Slavin would get so mad at this. He won't like this, dude. He's like, there is one God. I want to talk about Jacob Slavin. And I want to say, this man is, in my opinion, the overall best defenseman in the NHL. Yeah, fact. A lot of people are going to be like, Cal McCar, sir, and I'm like, yeah, I understand. Kail McCar is a better offensive player. I think overall, Jacob Slaven is the best defenseman in the NHL. The shit that he does
Starting point is 00:15:27 blows my mind every single game, every single time I watch him play. And I want to ask you this. We see big moments, big stages, open people's eyes to players all the time across sports. You see it in soccer with the World Cup. you see it in things like the Olympics. And I believe we saw four nations happen. We saw the entire continent as well as Sweden and Finland, obviously, dial into this tournament in a big way.
Starting point is 00:15:59 And a lot of U.S. fans started watching and they were cheering for Team USA. A lot of different markets. And all of a sudden they saw a guy who plays for a small market team that they probably haven't ever paid attention to. And they went, who the fuck is this guy? Who is this number 74? Who is this monster eating pucks, controlling the breakout, dominating the PK, being our Orrin the father.
Starting point is 00:16:23 The all father, Jacob Slavin. That's who it was. Do you think much like T.J. Osi with his shootout performance in Sochi, do you think Four Nations was a coming out party for Jacob Slavin for the rest of the world to understand how good he is? Dude, absolutely. And it's the, it's the, it's the, Oshy has said many times that that that. Olympics changed his life, changed his career, you know? I joked with them when the first time
Starting point is 00:16:49 he ever came on, I was like, do you have any idea how many dudes, how many American dudes after that Olympics were playing their NHL franchises and immediately traded for you? Just like, whatever team they're from and root for, they just traded for you because they were like, that was sick and I love him and you're affordable. But it was like that, that absolutely changed his life in a way that only those stages can do. And as much as I have missed watching international hockey as a fan of the sport, I've missed those things happening. Like, that's the true tragedy of not getting guys to go play in those tournaments. So I couldn't be happier that that type of hockey is back and that we are watching
Starting point is 00:17:27 it happen to Jacob Slaven immediately right in front of our eyes. Wow. I love that. Yeah, I think he's, I think he is just beyond special. Mm-hmm. So I believe we both had this series going seven. it's so hard to choose. I think that these teams are both so good and so fun.
Starting point is 00:17:47 So I can't wait to keep watching. I am curious to see what the responses are. Yeah. Because Capp's response, I think, is clear. You need more shots. You need to get the offense going. I'm not really entirely sure what the Cain's response is. You got 33 shots on net.
Starting point is 00:18:06 You won in overtime. Dude, you hit like six posts or something. Like they have a record. I think they've hit 12 posts so far in the playoffs. It's leading the league. It is batch shit insane. We keep talking about, and they came out super hot. They started the game better, even though they went down.
Starting point is 00:18:22 So we keep talking about all these, oh, the cap shouldn't worry. The cap shouldn't do this. The cap shouldn't do that. They're fine. They just need to get into their game, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. And I'm kind of here saying the same thing for the Cains. I don't think they should worry. Obviously, I mean, what would they be worried about?
Starting point is 00:18:35 They're up 1-0, but you don't need to do much. Yeah, you want to score more than one goal in regulation. You're going to need to if you're going to win this series. But I think you feel great if you're the Keynes. And here's something that I really like. There's two ways to look at this. Someone just said this on Twitter. People didn't see this at the end of the game.
Starting point is 00:18:52 Aho and Wilson got into it face-to-face. Someone said this in this chat. Willie snagged Aho's mouth guard out of his mouth. Someone on Twitter just said, Aho wasn't phased at all, and that's when I knew that the Keynes would win this series. I am here to tell you, beware underestimating Tom Wilson.
Starting point is 00:19:09 because Montreal fans underestimated Tom Wilson. There was the little bench brawl after the game at the bell center, and people were like, oh, baby, Anderson's in Willie's head, it's over, this is a series now, and blink the caps one in five. So just beware underestimating his ability to get in people's heads. But I do love that Ahad and bitch, he just kind of smiled and was like, all right, dude, what the fuck are you doing? Yep. So I think we saw some tomfoolery and Ballyhoo in this series during the season. We saw the hip toss from Chadfield. Oh yeah. A lot of nonsense. You could see a little bit of antics
Starting point is 00:19:52 brewing in this series in that game one, but it was game one. They're feeling each other out. I think game two after a really bad performance from the caps, they're going to come in and they might get scrappy. That's all I'm saying. Okay. It was Josh in this chat that said, that. I don't know if that was him on Twitter, too. And, uh, I want to, oh yeah,
Starting point is 00:20:12 uh, Jared said the, um, Ryan Leonard breakway and the third would have been electric. He'll get one in the series. I love the take. And I also thought that was going to be an all time moment for him. That was actually kind of weird.
Starting point is 00:20:22 I felt like he just didn't shoot it. Like, he went to the backhand and then didn't get it off. And I was like, he got grabbed by the stick or whatever. But watching him the replay, I'm like, what happened?
Starting point is 00:20:30 I feel like you might have had him there. But he, that was a burst and I loved that. Um, this, in terms of, response, Dan. The Capitals, it's always weird when the home team
Starting point is 00:20:43 loses game one because it's easy to let off if you're Carolina a little bit. You don't even mean to, but you're like, well, we got our game. It's fine. Obviously, you want to go up too well, but it's easy to just kind of let off a tiny bit. And then the home team is coming so fucking hard because they're like, they're treating
Starting point is 00:20:59 this like an early game seven for them. We're like, we can't lose this fucking game at home. So I expect the caps to be way better. Oh, and I checked, by the way, the caps finished the year second in the league in goals four, and Carolina was 10th. So I'm like, you believe that you have goal scoring on your team. So you're like, we need to push, push, push. Freddie just got back. We had fucking 13 shots can't happen. We have the goalie advantage, so we need to have the shots advantage because that's
Starting point is 00:21:26 how this is going to work. That's how the hockey math works in our favor. So I think the capitals are going to punch very, very hard. Got to. Yeah. And I am, entering though a like you would even said if the leaps lose or sorry if the panthers lose another one in Toronto I'm still not waving the flag on that series by any means I don't know that the caps want to lose this game in Carolina and still go we're fine it's all good I don't think you say we're fine it's all good and and yeah man it's um you know that that that that that was not the performance you want. And you do sort of have that naive belief of you only scored one goal and you lost
Starting point is 00:22:12 two one in O.T. But when you have that slow of an amount of shots, you have the ability to go, dude, we didn't even test Freddie. So what the fuck? Who cares? What you don't want is to put up 35 shots next game and lose. Yeah. And then you kind of lose that naivete.
Starting point is 00:22:31 But also, I've said it a million times. I'll say it again. nothing fucking matters until someone loses at home. Literally nothing. So if they go down down 02, do you feel good? Of course not. But you don't panic because you just win two and home.
Starting point is 00:22:46 It's two too too. They're home. Sorry. They're at home and they're about to dump their second at home. Yes. Sorry. Jesus Christ. That is obviously bad.
Starting point is 00:22:56 And yeah, nothing matters so you lose at home. You've lost at home. But if you lose two at home and you feel like you're the better team, you're like, just go win two there. Yep. And that's where I'm like, Carolina wasn't that good at home this year.
Starting point is 00:23:11 Yeah, and it's also one of those weird things. Like, I just completely contradicted myself. Good fucking dash one on the day, Dan. They were actually disgusting at home. That's right. They were tied with the king. So yeah, you're fucked if you lose this game too. That's my new take.
Starting point is 00:23:22 Okay, so you think they're fucked. Carolina had to tied the kings with the most wins at home this year. So I think this. You don't want to go back down O2 going into their barn. For sure. But if the caps think they're the best,
Starting point is 00:23:32 better team and you do go down O2 and then you go into Carolina and you win that first game, I think they now go, you're dead. You thought you were so good at home. We just beat you. You're dead. We're going to win four straight. Yeah. Well, that's, that's definitely the attitude. That's definitely the attitude. And you're right about if you've got the fucking, you've got the goalie edge in your brain right now. You're like, well, we have that absolute, we have that absolute weapon in our back pocket that LT's the guy. If you go and get stonewall by, I in game two and you lose that belief, then I think you're in real, real big trouble. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:24:07 But I am, I am officially saying that this series, because I picked Keynes, I think they're better, I think this series is, is done quicker than we thought, if the Keynes win game two. Yeah, I won't be picking them to win game two. I don't hate that. I don't hate that take. Like, honestly, you're, you're right. Like, this is, you know, caps at home. Yep.
Starting point is 00:24:28 And I think if you lose, hmm. It's definitely heavy pressure. I think my official take is going to be if you lose game two and you completely flip around your play, tons of shots, offense is, you know, maybe not scoring goals, but working, and you lose, or even worse yet, let's say you lose 5-4 and LT gets leaky, then I'm like, oh, you are fucked. No, if any of the dynamic changes. But if it's a game just like this, I almost feel like it's- And you win?
Starting point is 00:25:01 No, and you lose. Oh, oh. I think it's just like Bruins cannot. 2011 Stanley Cup when you're like, dude, whatever. Like, these are two awful performances from us. We can easily turn it around. I just think the road part of it fucks you. Also, could stat Rod the Bod as coaching the Canes eight and one in series when they win game one.
Starting point is 00:25:20 Very interesting. I think, though, someone in the chat, check me on this. I think they won game one against the Rangers. Like, I think that's his one loss. Did that they win game one last year? I don't think so. No, they went down 3-0, right? Yeah, like they...
Starting point is 00:25:38 And they almost reversed swept. Yeah, yeah, so that's not his one loss. Yeah, that's not as one lost. Yeah, that would have been epic. Yeah, if anything has taught me anything in this series, or excuse me, in these playoffs, is that all these records don't mean fuck all. I feel like every game we see a new record about something, and then it means nothing. So I'm like, okay, I don't care.
Starting point is 00:25:59 Yeah, that's true. But I think a tough spot, tough spot. You just ride L-T, dude. That's my mission. Rite L.T. Get more shots. Perfect segue into the point I just made. I'm back.
Starting point is 00:26:10 The Vegas Golden Knights against the Edmonton Oilers. Moving on to the next series, Vegas Golden Knights, in regulation, in overtime, in their entire history, went up by two goals, 26 and 0. 26 and 1 now. So records don't mean shit in these players. I meant to go get the fucking clown noses. I should have got one.
Starting point is 00:26:35 Imagine I have a fucking clown nose on because that's what I feel right now. I need to tell everybody that I am in shambles about this series, both emotionally and mentally and physically, frankly. On the pod yesterday, I picked Vegas in five, and I had said when I picked Vegas in four against Minnesota and Vegas one game one, I knew immediately it wasn't four, just watching the game. Yeah. When this fucking game started, dude, I was 10 minutes in.
Starting point is 00:27:09 I was like, this is Vegas in four. And they are so much better than this Oilers team. It's fucking comical. And that's all. And then the second period happened, which is so inexplicable. I can't even begin to process it, even if a team is better than you, which the Oilers are not, that shouldn't happen. Let alone you're playing a team that you are better than,
Starting point is 00:27:36 and you are just getting pummeled into oblivion. Cassidy's doing his intermission, or mid-period interview, and he's like, yeah, we completely lost the threat of what we were doing, and now we can't get a shot on goal, and we've let them back into it. And it just like, it felt inevitable from that moment on. Dude, I have gone on multiple rants about this OILS team.
Starting point is 00:27:57 God damn, dude. I've done it on Twitter. I've done it on IG stories. and I keep saying that word inevitable. I am going full Thanos with this Oilers team. They are inevitable. There is nothing you can do. And the frustrating thing about this team
Starting point is 00:28:12 is they don't make any fucking sense. They will be so outclassed at any moment. And Oilers fans were coming into the mentions last night being like, dude, it's insane. It's a roller coaster. It's like the whiplash that we have as fans. Because you will pop on a game. And yeah, that first period you go,
Starting point is 00:28:29 how did we even make playoffs? Yeah. Like, we are fucking awful. We have Stuart Skinner, who's been yanked permanently, and Calvin Pickard, who is, like, borderline out of the NHL is now our starting goalie in the second round of the playoffs. How are we even here? You're getting ragdolled so badly.
Starting point is 00:28:45 And then, boom, all of a sudden, the entire game changes. And like we keep saying, that second period, one fucking shot, you've got a backup goleon net, and the Vegas Golden Knights throw one puck on net. Tough strategy, dude. But it's like we keep saying, it's not like, oh my God, this Oilers team just woke up. They flipped this switch. They're beating the shit out of you.
Starting point is 00:29:08 You can't even get into the zone. That's not what was happening. They were absolutely controlling the play and beating this team. But it was just this, it's this bizarre. It's like they have a kill switch on the bench and they can just discombobulate the other team all of a sudden. And everyone forgets how to play. We saw it with the Kings. Truly, it's not even like you're getting beat down.
Starting point is 00:29:29 it's like they hypnotize you and make the other team forget how to play hockey. It is truly remarkable. And the thing that I've noticed that actually blows my mind the most is the roper dope a dope that they do. The thing that this Oilers team does that I'm starting to figure out, and I'll say starting to figure out because I don't know shit. Because this is genuinely the most confusing hockey team I've ever watched in my fucking life. But the roper dope that they do, that is they will play. all four lines. They will roll all four lines and they will go through the depth and they will go through keeping fresh legs trying to wear you down and then all of a sudden you blink and McDavid and Leon are
Starting point is 00:30:10 on the ice together and that's when all of a sudden you're hemmed in and there is no team in the NHL that is more dangerous than this Oilers team when they have you hemmed in. When you're watching this team play whether you're rooting for the other team or rooting for them the second they get more than 20 seconds of in zone time. It's in your net. You go like this. Oh, they're scoring. Yep. It is the weirdest feeling as a hockey fan watching and going, I can tell that a goal is coming here. It's absolutely insane. And what's crazy, dude, is in that third period, Vegas gets a power play. They don't score. I popped on the bird and I said, Vegas doesn't score and you have now lost. And it was immediate, dude. Like Vegas is controlling
Starting point is 00:30:51 the play, but they don't score on that. And all of a sudden, Edmonton just starts doing their thing and bang. Leon scores, then bang. Connor Brown scores or Hyman scores. Conor Brown scores another backbreaking breakaway. Like Connor Brown, the breakaway playoff fucking king. It is unbelievable how just mind-warping this team's gameplay is.
Starting point is 00:31:15 I couldn't agree more, dude. I have a ton of stuff to address in the chat here. The super line, I'll start with the super line thing. it's absolutely bonkers to me that they put up a staff that was like the kings in games one and two maybe even game three Leon and Connor played together like eight minutes or something and then the rest of the way they played together about 18 plus minutes per game because they were like let's just put them let's just put them together the only way that
Starting point is 00:31:46 makes any sense is if those two are so moronically good that you literally can't stop them together which is proving true, and you don't murder their second line of Cain, R&H, and Hyman because that should be the punishment because that's the reason they don't play together in the first place is that they're like,
Starting point is 00:32:05 well, we need some balance because obviously we loaded them up, teams would obliterate us the rest of the way. And then not only is no one oblitering those other lines, those other lines are scoring. Like, it is absolute insanity that I can watch this happen over again.
Starting point is 00:32:20 You got Scorri Perry going to, dude, Dude, if you're the other team, I can just only imagine how infuriating it is to play against this team. But this is what I'm talking about. A lot of people are saying it here. Connor Brown, Connor Brown, Hyman, Shaq Hyman being super physical. I couldn't agree with everyone in the chat more, dude.
Starting point is 00:32:35 It's absolutely wild. I'm trying to find this Declan one. Declan had a comment about the Oilers depth. And it's kind of like, I don't, I did a deep dive last night when I was prepping for this, where it's like you look up teams with 10 goal scores, right? I do want to just say something you just said. I think Hyman was something like,
Starting point is 00:32:52 eight hits per game in the regular season and he's now at seven point two per game yeah it's like yeah they are changing the way that they're playing so it's like the you look up their depth scoring right 10 goals or more and the oilers it's not like they they're not leading the league like other teams had 12 guys at 10 goals 11 guys at 10 goals I think the orders had nine maybe 10 yeah and there's like two teams that had nine so it's not like the the oilers depth narrative is I think the most confusing thing for me because I'm out here banging the drum that they'd have no depth And Oilers fans are banging the drum that they have so much depth, and they are proving to be right because this is the metrics, like this is what's happening.
Starting point is 00:33:30 They're getting these goals. But I just, it makes no sense to me because they don't have depth. But to be completely fair, their depth is stepping up. Whereas other teams who literally have better depth aren't stepping up. So I guess you do in this psycho narrative, but it's baffling. Well, like we said, there are Oilers. fans who jump in the DMs, who jump in the mentions, and they go, why is everyone underestimating the Oilers depth? They're acting like they've got 29, 97, and 2, and then just a
Starting point is 00:34:02 bunch of fucking pale workers. And that's not what we're saying. We're saying we're in the Stanley Cup playoffs. And when you look at depth and you compare teams, they don't really seem to match up. Connor Brown, going from to last year to this year, he is a playoff dog. And that is huge. But don't forget, this guy scored 13 goals in the regular season. Like, That's a great serviceable fourth line player. But when we're talking about comparing depth, like, let's not act like this guy fucking scored 25 goals this year. That's why it's, again, it's not an insult.
Starting point is 00:34:35 It's actually a compliment and a testament to the way that their depth is stepping up. Like we said on the episode that came out yesterday, dude, members of the Kings said the fact that we lost that series because of depth scoring is unforgivable by us. Yeah, and I think I agree it is. But again, that is not a knock on the Oilers. It's in fact a tire pump that the Oilers' depth is just completely shoving it in everyone's faces and outperforming. Outkicking their coverage, as you say. Especially, Dan, when, again, and somebody in the chat, I'll have to scroll and find it,
Starting point is 00:35:11 somebody was like, Pickard was the best backup goal in the league. That's not true. And he, but here's the facts. I don't care what you rank, where you rank his this season performance. Here are the facts of the matter. You have a goalie, Stuart Skinner, who is a, per the numbers, a below average starting NHL goalie. And you have Calvin Pickard who backs him up because he is worse than Stuart Skinner.
Starting point is 00:35:35 And that is the goalie that is in the playoffs right now that is stopping teams who are finished better than you in the regular season, who have more talent than you up and down the roster. And, dude, that is not a, that sounds all like a chirp. That is a massive credit to Calvin Pickard. He's doing an insanely good job in the playoffs. I just think that's a frustrating thing if you were the teams playing them because you're like this, how is this happening? How could this possibly be happening? For sure.
Starting point is 00:36:00 For sure. It is, it's remarkable. We'll get into Vegas here in a second. We can stop scrambling our fucking brains like a porridge in our skulls right now about this Oilers team. We'll get into Vegas. But I do want to say this team, first team in NHL history to win five straight. playoff games in a comeback. It's insane. And that is just yet another thing, another thing to show this team makes no sense. Yep. They are, and if you're an Oilers fan, I actually can't tell
Starting point is 00:36:33 if this is incredible or if it's exhausting. I could see it being exhausting. It is. Because this, this is a good transition into a good transition into the Golden Knights as we break this down. I am now officially in the camp of, I would not be shocked anymore if the oilers swept this team. Keep going. That's it. That's not me saying I think it's going to happen. It's in fact, it's me saying I am so confused by everything about this fucking team that I'm like, if that happened, I would be like, okay. Yep.
Starting point is 00:37:08 So, okay, to address Vegas quickly, not quickly, to address Vegas, I would say they do this during the regular season and they've done this in the playoffs so far already, which is not a trait, they vanish for stretches. Like they literally disappear, forget how to play. So they, just as quickly as they lost their game in the second period, I would say after the Peeper that they didn't score on in the third, they had a great finish to the third. So it's like they can get it back just as fast. So credit to them in, or put it this way, not credit to them, they can watch film and go, there's the game that we need that's better than this Edmonton team and will be okay.
Starting point is 00:37:49 Petrangelo, sick, right? Everybody's sick, dude. Nobody can play sports. Everyone's unwell. What are people getting, dude? Can we talk about that? He's ill, dude. He's ill.
Starting point is 00:37:59 Who the fuck was shit in his pants last year? Someone on Detroit. Yeah, yeah. Someone was shit in their pants, dude. Had diarrhea dripping down the leg. And we were like, listen, dude. Matthew is Chuck missed for diarrhea. We're going to shine a light on diarrhea.
Starting point is 00:38:15 It's a serious issue. Yep. So if Petro, you had some diarrhea, it's okay. But I need guys to stop getting sick in the Stanley Cup playoffs and missing games. But, dude, but Petro missed. But Shea Theodore is a dog and got walked by Connor Brown. So like, whatever. Shit happens.
Starting point is 00:38:32 Put a leash on him and take him for a stroll because that was a walking. Echholm's out too. So I don't want to be like, oh, it's not fair. Petro's more of an impact player than at home at this point. But definitely. Both out. Dorfiev out. 35 goals.
Starting point is 00:38:49 something like that? Like maybe the leader in Power Play goals. Too devastating. There's guys out. Yep, that we're missing. So I think if you're Vegas, you go, I think we're getting those guys back in game two. We feel good. Or we feel fine.
Starting point is 00:39:00 We think we can win and win. Jesus. In Edmonton. But dumping that game when you have the 10 minutes you have and you go up is, is terrifying because of what this team, this Oilers team has done. And I kind of wanted to walk it back this way, where you go, Well, the kings, the kings choked to them. We don't do that.
Starting point is 00:39:22 That's some kings bullshit. Yeah. And then I go, no, dude, you do do that because that's this oilers team's bullshit. Correct. And you can't stop them. They make you choke. Dude, it's actually, when I said I was discombobulated, I am like, I'm so now, like, I will never doubt or question the Oilers again within any series or any game because they've earned that.
Starting point is 00:39:45 Why do you think I picked them to win? Like, as we talked about, I think this Vegas team. team is objectively better, just like the Kings were objectively better, but it just is how they play. I want to bring Dr. Lox in. He's in studio. Pop in here, dude, tell us what you think. I do want to give my, actually, I won't forget. I have one really good thing to say. Locks, how are we feeling, dude? Dude, the Oilers, they play possum. And they come from the back, they sneak up on you, they ambush you. It's like, you don't know what happened. You're sitting on your couch. You're still confused
Starting point is 00:40:18 on where things went wrong. I'm done fading the oilers. We were in bed with the kings. We were in bed with the knights. And the oilers, it's like Patrick Mahomes in the fourth quarter. It's like at some point, at some point,
Starting point is 00:40:32 it's inevitable that these fuckers are just going to come back whether if it's pulling their goalie or by any means necessary. They don't give a shit about the first two periods. At all, dude. I said that that was what I was saying with the Ropodope.
Starting point is 00:40:45 And that Mahomes comp is so fucking perfect. They just, they make you think that they're dead. Yep. All fucking game. And it does not matter. At all. Dude, someone said, and I think this is one of the greatest comments I've ever heard, someone said on Twitter last night,
Starting point is 00:40:59 in order to beat this Oilers team, you need to play damn near perfect for 60 minutes. And in order for them to beat you, they need to play well for five minutes. And it is so accurate, dude. Like literally all they do is just suck ass all game. And then they go, let's just turn it on real quick and win. And they do it. it's unbelievable um i still have hope for the nights possibly in this series i probably sound like a fool but um i i think they're still going to put up a little bit of a fight um outside of that
Starting point is 00:41:30 there's two games on tonight i don't want to throw off your guys cadence with this but no we need it this is perfect there are two games on for tonight let's let's talk about action tonight and talking about action for tonight uh whatever comes out of my mouth the opposite will probably happen on the ice that's that's that's Faith, faith. That's how it's going right now. So whoever, whatever teams that come out of my mouth right now next, you should be happy if you're on the other side or a fan of that team.
Starting point is 00:41:55 So with that being said, I absolutely love the Dallas Stars tonight. Okay. To win Game 1 in Winnipeg, two teams coming off two Game 7 series that were absolutely fucking unreal. But I just think the stars had the toe, top the bottom, or the better squad. and the Panthers even up the series.
Starting point is 00:42:17 Panthers even up the series. Wow. But I wouldn't be shocked if the Leafs make it 2-0 and then everyone's like, oh my God, Leaves here, they're going to do it. And then they blow the series. I actually kind of think, I think that the Leaves are going to win tonight
Starting point is 00:42:30 for exactly that. Yeah. Like just the script writers could just be making it real intense. So I love the Stars more. And if the Panthers lose tonight, live bet, take the Stars to win the season. series down, or excuse me, the Panthers to win the series down 02. Yeah, I love that. All right, book it,
Starting point is 00:42:52 Leifes win, Jets win. Uh, someone wants to know who the Nerfee is. Uh, Nerfee. Um, Yankees, Yankees game. Just take the Yankees game, Nerfee, which will now go Yerfi, guarantee. Um, it's Dylan cease. It's Dill and C's in Max Friede. We are so cold. We're also cold on empty netters. We need an empty netter to me. Empty netters. Dead. Everything. Dead, dude. Give us this, the stars are winning tonight. The stars are winning tonight and the Panthers even up the series.
Starting point is 00:43:24 I don't give a shit, dude. I love it. Give us those two teams. Boom. Book those locks. That's the, I love the appearance. Caps dead. Dead, dude.
Starting point is 00:43:33 Knights dead. What the fuck happened to the caps? You lose OT at home? One goal, dude. I knew this was going to happen. 14 shots. And now the series is over. Yeah, it's a fucking nightmare.
Starting point is 00:43:43 We are so dead. Like, caps were, you know, they can't die because they're never alive. Oh, God. That was bad. That was a bad one. All right. Do you have anything to say on Vegas before we close out here? I think I'll just say that you stay the course, I think, if you're Vegas.
Starting point is 00:44:04 And, like, you just, you've got to, they've had a good PK, you know, you just got to keep playing your game. You just got to keep believing. I sound so defeated. just because I'm just shocked, I think. But I got to be honest, dude, there's, if I'm in that locker room, it is hard to not have an inkling of fear setting in that you won't admit to anybody, but you do.
Starting point is 00:44:30 And it's, you always say, playoff star reaction, or if Vegas wins game two, five nothing, then you're like, see, we're fine. Like, everybody will swing that it's like not a big deal at all. But if you, if you play another barn burner, dude, if you go up too, goals again and then the Oilers tie it in the third and then you win game two and overtime.
Starting point is 00:44:48 Yeah. I'm like, you're dead. You're dead because they're indestructible. I agree. I agree. I think they were always the cockroaches, dude. I think it was actually always them. I think, but see, that it's, that's not that they're the possums.
Starting point is 00:45:01 Yeah, yeah. I like that. What's a more dangerous animal that plays possum? It's like the light fish in finding Nemo. Yeah. Lure you in or it's the thing from Gladiator. Yep. It's the snake.
Starting point is 00:45:11 Yeah. It's that snake that lies still and lets people. nibble at it and then slowly it that's literally exactly what it is. I'm going to find that scene from Gladiator. It is that serpent that lays still and lets people literally take bites out of it.
Starting point is 00:45:26 And then you get full and lethargic and then it turns around and fucking kills you. That is exactly what this Oilers team. That's incredible. So our closing on this series is I think it is what that, fuck, I wish I could remember his name. But that shout out on Twitter
Starting point is 00:45:41 it is true. like Vegas Golden Knights, do you want to win this series? You have to finish the fucking game, dude. Correct. I mean, what did we just see the Kings do? Like, they go up every game, and then they just cannot finish. You need to play 60 minutes of hockey. That's the old, like, that's it.
Starting point is 00:45:57 Game two is what the Kings did. You played 60 minutes of hockey, and you beat the shit out of this team. You need to finish the game if you want a chance. Otherwise, the Oilers are fucking sweeping the series. But, dude, the Oilers, someone, I think it was Hyman. Heimon said after, and Dry Saddle said, this after maybe the King's series win. He said, they both said, the belief,
Starting point is 00:46:18 the belief is here in this locker room. And somebody, I've got to try to find it, locks is here, I lost thread of the chat, but somebody said something about just like the Oilers, this team was one game away from the Stanley Cup final and you're surprised they're winning.
Starting point is 00:46:35 Yes, I am because they are worse. Like this Oilers team is worse than last year's Oilers team. They would tell you that. and the other teams around them are better and had the Oilers had a tougher path starting now really because no offense Kings but you just did the same thing you always do but this Oilers team has
Starting point is 00:46:57 maybe it was from last year I don't know but this Oilers team has this like complete armor built into them where they're like it doesn't matter we are going to win period and God that is a special feeling and it is it is propelling them to heights that are I I'm I was formally shocked by and I will now no longer be shocked by because officially I am like oh the oil it's the it's the oilers cup to win
Starting point is 00:47:22 or the olympus up to lose starting right now according to me yeah I think the path is so clearly there uh all right folks tonight we've got game two Florida Panthers Toronto Maple Leafs at Scotia Bank we've got game one up at the wall oh my god Winnipeg Jats, Dallas stars. The people of Winterfell are pumped for round two. Cannot fucking wait. We're going to jump into all that. We're going to be recording late night tonight after the games, as we always do.
Starting point is 00:47:51 So you have a podcast episode, Bright and Early. Make sure you subscribe to the YouTube folks. Make sure you follow us on all socials. Let's keep this train rolling. Also, CP, show them the sweater, dude. Oh, yeah. Come on. Check out the Empty Netters hockey club sweater.
Starting point is 00:48:05 We got that in T-shirt and long sleeve as well. We've got tons of great stuff like our rink rat shirt. Guys, pop on the store. Link is in our Instagram bio. Links in our Twitter bio. Check out all of the sick merch. Grab some empty netters merch for this playoff push. We've got team-specific gear coming out as well.
Starting point is 00:48:20 It's going to be a blast. Are you going to say your picks for the games? For tonight? Yeah. No, I'm done with this. I'm done doing that. Oh, really? Because you're just going to be wrong?
Starting point is 00:48:28 Is that what you mean? Actually, um... And they want to, Jack wants some player props. We've got to give them something. Okay. I really love... I like Toronto tonight. I do.
Starting point is 00:48:39 I think with the whole Stolar stuff, I think... He's out, yeah. Yeah, I think with the Stolar stuff, I think the, just the momentum and the vibes up in Scotia Bank, I think Florida is going to be a little rickety going to this game. So I got Toronto tonight, and I also love, love, love, a Mitch Marner goal. And I am going to roll with locks. I think I like Dallas in this game one.
Starting point is 00:49:01 I think it's going to be the emotional exhaustion of that game seven for Winnipeg. Yeah. Maybe they just drop one quick one. but going on the other side, I don't hate a Kyle Connor goal. I feel like Kyle Connor has been nuclear. And then for Dallas, Dallas,
Starting point is 00:49:21 give me a Dutchie goal. Give me a Matt Duchy goal. He's been buzzing all over the net. He hasn't tucked one in a little bit. I like a Duchyne goal. Okay, I kind of like that. Ranton has been so hot, but I just like that play.
Starting point is 00:49:33 They have that Wyatt Johnson on the power play thing cooking. I might take a Wyatt goal, but I'm actually, Dan, I'm going to, so here we go, dude, pick your loyalties. I might actually go exact reverse. Dallas just loves losing a game one. They don't like anything more in Dallas. Yeah, they hate them.
Starting point is 00:49:49 They hate game once. Then losing game once. So I might go Winnipeg game one with no stress at all if you're Dallas, because you just go, whatever, dude, that's how we work. And if you are the Panthers and Stollies out, and you played like a bag of, dick in game one. I just got to believe that you can go into Toronto
Starting point is 00:50:12 and win this game. God, you played so bad. It was crazy. So I'll go Panthers and Jets and give me the Wyatt goal. Yeah, give me the Wyatt goal and give me oh man, I'm between a Matthew Kichuk and a Verhagi.
Starting point is 00:50:31 And Verhagie kind of, I think he scored like four and five of the Tampa series and they play better when he's going, give me Verhege. Give me a Hage Eagle. I like that a lot. I love it. All right, folks, buy some merch. Join us on all the socials, like we said. Subscribe.
Starting point is 00:50:48 We love you guys. Love doing this. We'll be recording tonight, so you got that episode in the morning. And you know, until we see you next.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.