Empty Netters Podcast - Our Reactions to the Crazy Four Nations Decisions
Episode Date: December 5, 2024The boys breakdown their world travel over Thanksgiving break. They discuss the new power houses in the NHL as well which teams might be headed towards a rebuild. The Four Nations rosters have been re...leased. We breakdown each team, snubs, surprises, and who looks poised to win the whole thing! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. CASHAPP. Download CashApp and take control of your finances! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cash-ap... RIKI. Head to https://rikispirits.com/ to find out where to get RIKI near you. Follow @friday.beers and @rikispirits to stay up to date with upcoming RIKI contests and giveaways FUNKAWAY. To check out the full family of FunkAway products go to http://www.funkaway.com to learn more funk’in cool stuff. And head over to Amazon right now and grab FunkAway products with just a few clicks. FIREBALL . Fireball’s iconic cinnamon flavor tastes fire and goes down easy, making it the ultimate crowd pleasure. Go pick up some from your local liquor store and join us in drinking Fireball during our game days this season! #IgniteYourRivalry EVERYMANJACK. Give Every Man Jack a shot today and go to http://www.everymanjack.com and use code “NETTERS” at checkout for 25% off your first order CBDMD. Visit http://www.cbdmd.com to explore their extensive range of products and find the perfect solution for your needs. Don’t forget to use code “FRIDAY” at checkout to get 30% OF + Free Shipping. DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more CHOMPS. If you are looking for the PERFECT on the go snack that has zero grams of sugar and packed with high quality protein, then Chomps is for you. To learn more about Chomps, click here! http://www.chomps.com/emptynetters 0:00 INTRO 16:19 HOT ICE 53:12 QUICK TOPIC 57:42 FOUR NATIONS 1:35:27 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:42:29 POWER RANKINGS 1:51:36 STARTING 6 2:04:04 GAME Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
At last, four nation's rosters are here.
We're getting into every single team, snubs, surprises, and everything in between.
And we are talking the best teams in the league, plus we're doing a beer league hotline,
plus we're playing a trivia game.
We're going to have a ton of fun today.
Let's do it.
Come on, baby.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BetMGM.
We are finally back from the Thanksgiving holiday break.
We had some crazy travel.
levels and we realized that the places we were in is where we both belong and dan i got to say i have
lived the majority of i had a revelation dude i can't like i i need a revelation i need listeners to
let to know that last night i got home from london and i which is where i which is where i belong
i am a london boy it is just official i'm a london boy when i got home i is the first
time I saw you in a week and a half.
Two years. It felt like it. And I'll tell you what, dude, it didn't feel like long enough.
You're a sicko. It's great to get away from you.
Because I miss you more. I actually talked to someone over there who works with their sibling.
And we were just connecting on so many of the things, of the great things that it's like to work with your sibling.
And one of the things that I said to her, I was like, you know what's really funny is like when you, when you hang out with your siblings, your best friend, your siblings are your co-worker.
there are times where you're like
God I fucking see a lot of you man
yeah like too much someone said
the second we separate
I do find myself being like
something funny happens and I'm just like texting you the whole time
because I'm like I guess I'm used to you being right here
so when you're not I'm like well I gotta fucking tell Chris that
yeah yeah the the I find our
Instagram DMs go way up
way up dude because I'm just like there's a direct correlation
with distance between us and IG DMs
but you had a
revelation. I had a revelation. I have spent the majority of my adult life being made fun of by you
for how I dress. Dude, a genuine question I have for you. So I disavow that. Yeah, well, you can't.
I reject that. That is a fact. Because I think what I'm doing is giving you constructive criticism.
I come to you as a concerned friend and family member going, dude, you could step.
your game up under the assumption that you are right like you go do this but I think and
that's not true but I think most people would agree that I have decence to good style yep and I think
I'm not the only person you're hearing this from and what you just said there was very important
and you said most people yeah you know who that hey not everyone you know who that here's a diagram
of a Venn diagram of this circle is most people okay okay
So then like this circle, which has a huge overlap with most people, is like Italians.
I would say like most.
Was that like you were thinking Italian people have great style?
Yeah, that's good.
That's good.
So like Italians, most people, most Italians are in the most people, but there's a few that I'm like, no.
Yeah.
So then here's another circle that touches the most people circle but does not overlap with it.
Okay.
So just reaches it on its one.
tangent point.
And what are the two?
This is most people.
Okay, most people?
And this is its own circle where there is no overlap.
Zero overlap.
They don't touch it all.
Yep.
Okay?
And this circle is Hawaiian.
Because they think you dress like a bitch.
And they think I am the man.
And this is what I've learned.
And this whole time, dude, and you haven't even, you've never been.
So you don't know.
I don't know.
And I have been now.
And I realize that I have just been Hawaiian chic this whole time.
and I didn't know enough to tell you how dumb you have been sounding for 30 some odd years.
Well, hold on.
But now I get to be like, oh, you're an idiot, and I actually have a people, and they love me.
Why?
Well, first of all, I'm super happy for you.
Yeah, you should be.
I'm happy for me at myself.
Second of all, how do you know that they think I dress like a bitch?
Like, is it possible that they're just like, oh, I love your like.
And also, let me guess.
It's just beach bum.
So, Dan, I...
I don't want to get lost here.
Like, is there a chance they just like your beach bum vibe,
but they don't think I look like a bitch?
Like, why am I a bitch in this situation?
Because, dude, everybody, if you even thought about walking down
Waikiki Beach in anything that you own,
you would literally be thrown into the Pacific.
I walked around, Dan.
Sounds like a hostile place.
And people were literally...
What is this?
Everybody was doing this, obviously.
That's called the shocker.
Shaka.
Everybody is shakaing me and then telling me that they love everything I'm wearing and they want
to, they want it.
It's not like, dude, it's not just like I fit in.
They weren't just like, oh wow, you dress like us.
They were like you dressed like the best of us.
Can I actually buy your clothes off your body?
That's how good your taste is.
Obviously you get the tone of our style, but your taste within our tone is.
tone is so elite that I want to buy it.
Do you think that you're possibly exaggerating?
No.
I think that happened up to 1,500 times in one week.
Now, here's the thing.
I am genuinely happy for you, although you have made me think that all Hawaiians will
hate me, which is rattling.
Yeah, I'm sorry.
Part of me doesn't want to go to Hawaii.
I don't want to go to Hawaii.
Or borrow my clothes.
You can go and borrow my clothes.
So, like, genuinely give me one anecdote where actually someone,
because I believe you're not making up the fact that someone wanted to buy an article of your clothing off your back.
So give me one anecdote where that actually happened.
Dude.
Okay.
Okay.
I was at the macadamia nut company.
Macadamia nuts everywhere in Hawaii, not native to Hawaii.
I found that out.
They're native to Australia, but they grow well in Hawaii too.
Okay.
What's the company called?
The macadamia nut company.
It's literally like they got in so early and so deep that they got to just go.
it's like a dairy farmer going,
we are,
we're the dairy milk company.
It's like orange juice.
Yeah,
yeah.
Like their brand is called
orange juice.
Yeah, boom.
Okay.
So it's called
the macadamia nut company.
Boom.
They,
I was in there
buying nuts.
Uh-huh.
And the woman,
who was an older woman,
behind the counter.
Congratulations.
Did you had a Hawaiian grandma
to me?
No,
you look really handsome today.
Wait.
Wait.
Oh, son, you look so handsome.
She does.
I love that shirt on you.
She does.
goes she goes well she thought it was local there's a local discount so she tried to give it to me
which is fucking bang dude look at this bang bang bang yeah that's that's a that's a flex
and because i'm a man of honor i said no i'm from maine i'll give i'll pay full price i'm from may
okay and she goes oh my god you're from maine you do you look like you born and raised here and
i go i know i've always felt like i should have been from here and then she goes and you're
shirt. I had a tank on. She goes, and your shirt is
incredible. And I was like, thank you.
Okay. And then, dude, a guy,
there's a younger guy there. Oh, what
tank? Like, do I know the tank? You do know the tank? It was a,
it's a ninja turtles tank.
More specifically, more specifically.
Hold on. Hold on. Hold on. You fucking...
More specifically.
Hold on. You are a fucking 37-year-old man.
And you go on a vacation to Hawaii and you're walking around with a teenage mutant ninja turtles tank top on.
And you're bragging to me about the locals thinking you have great fucking style.
More specifically, it was a Donatello tank, which is a statement, right?
Because everybody else wants their fucking Leo tanks and their Ralph tanks and their liking tank.
You are waving a specific flag.
I am in a purple Donatello tank.
And the woman, Dan, says to me, and she goes, this was also a flex, she goes, my son,
my son, Donatello is my son's favorite turtle.
And I go, he's my favorite turtle, too.
And she goes, oh, my son's 37.
And I go, so am I.
And she goes, no, couldn't believe it.
Because I think the sun kind of weatheres you there.
So I think I, I think she was like, no doubt.
No doubt.
And I go, yeah, it's my guy, Donnie.
And then a guy working there, I think, he was behind.
in the counterbra, he wasn't really doing anything.
Okay.
He goes,
wasn't her son?
Yeah.
How old are you?
He goes, uh, he shockas me, dude.
He hits shocka.
Oh my God.
And then, because he didn't know.
He heard.
He heard the conversation.
He turns around and goes, oh, shocka.
And then goes, that shirt is sick, dude.
So sick.
I think he hit it twice.
And dude, this is her son.
And then I go, he goes, I think he was like, he goes, where'd you get that?
And I'm like, Amazon.
And he goes, I want that.
Dude, I want that shirt.
And I go, hold on, and start to take it off.
Everybody dies in line.
Yeah, good move.
Good move.
And then, dude, that was it.
And then I kept it.
But then both of them wanted to buy my shirt off me.
Well, I don't think the woman wanted to buy it.
I think she wanted to give it to her son.
That actually is possibly true.
She was like, I need that shirt for myself.
I'll give it to my son.
That's one of 1,500, Dan.
There were 1,49 other occasions of that.
I don't know how you got anything done?
Actually, I guess 1498, because I'm counting that as two.
Yeah, true.
I don't know how you got anything done.
I really didn't.
The only time I got stuff done
was when I went on hikes,
and that's when everyone ignored me
because I was just wearing
like my gym shorts and gym shirts.
Yeah.
And everyone was like,
you are a non-local bitch.
Yeah.
Which is why that's how I know
that you would be called the bitch
because the only style that we have
that's even remotely similar
is when we're exercising.
Dude, this is bad for me.
I don't know if I can go to Hawaii.
How's Paris?
Paris was great.
I do have one quick,
maybe insensitive question.
You keep saying that people thought
you were a local.
Yeah.
Aren't most Hawaiian locals
of Polynesian Hawaiian descent?
Most, Dan, this is a Venn diagram of most people.
And then this is a Venn diagram of, of, we're called, oh, dude, this is cool.
We're called Howleys.
Who is we?
Okay, Dan, so here's another Vennie diagram.
White people?
This is most people, and this is white Hawaiians.
White Hawaiians are Howlies.
Howlies.
So they thought you were a howley.
Yeah, and also Hawaiian for Kid is Kakey.
and I was just like eating ice cream and shave ice and like being a chiky.
Yeah, and they were like, look at that Howley cakey.
And I was like, dude.
Man, Hawaii, you belong in Hawaii.
Yes, correct.
Yeah.
And now I've never been to Paris.
Tell me about Paris.
All right.
Quickly, I'll hit you about Paris.
Here's the thing.
I have a few, several people in my life who are very divisive when it comes to Paris.
Shout out, Loop.
Yep.
Glue guy.
Loves Paris.
Favorite city in the world.
He says, he's, he, he, he, he, he, he, he, he, he,
told me a bunch of times the best city in the world.
And I was like, dude, come on.
Our boy Pierce, very unexpectedly thinks is the best city in the world.
Then I have other friends who think it's a dump.
So I didn't know what to expect.
So I go to Paris, was there very quickly, about 30 hours.
Flew in on the Eurostar, had an unreal day, dinner, woke up, unreal morning, lunch, got the fuck out of there.
I will say this.
Paris is stunning.
Wow.
stunning.
I mean,
I imagine it's just
historical landmarks.
Dude, it's crazy.
All you can eat.
It is absolutely insane.
It is like you walk every 15 minutes.
Oh my God.
There's the Arc de Triumph.
You walk.
Oh, there's the Eiffel Tower.
Like every...
Dude, I picture you're going to take a picture
of the Arc de Triumph
and as you're backing up to make sure it all fits.
You bump into the Louvre.
And you're like, oh,
you go like this.
Oh, my God.
Sorry.
Oh, dude.
That does happen.
And there's a couple things.
One, the Louv,
I feel like this is the Da Vinci Code's fault.
but the pyramid
you know what I'm talking about
of the Louvre?
I am pay, bro.
I went to school
with his granddaughter.
He was at my graduation.
I feel like people
think that that's the Louvre.
The Louvre is like
an enormous...
That's like the entrance?
No.
It's nothing.
That is in the middle of a courtyard
that is glass
and you look down into the museum.
That's cool.
Like there are people
you look through it
and there's people
because you don't have to pay for that.
And I think that was a surprise
to a lot of people.
Yeah.
To me, it just surprised me.
There you go.
You just surprise me.
But there's that.
The Eiffel Tower's remarkable.
Yep.
One of those things that you look at and you're like, how the fuck did someone build this?
Do you throw a rock at it?
You know I did, buddy.
I sent you a picture.
True Netters listeners, you'll know.
I had to chuck a rock at that thing.
When I went to Big Ben for the first time, I think I told you, my first need your reaction was not that big.
Yeah.
The Eiffel Tower you go to and you're like, holy shit.
It is the second most stunning thing I've ever seen in my life.
Okay.
I'm not going to tell you what the first is.
I'm just kidding.
It's the call scene.
Yep.
But Paris, unreal.
I will say, however, stereotypes exist for a reason.
Parisian people kind of mean.
Give me one anecdote.
Dude, kind of mean.
The one I'll give you is Alice and I went to a sick lunch at this place called giraffe.
Unbelievable.
What a name.
Giraff is inside a museum.
Not the Louvre.
Not the Louvre.
Thank God.
The museum opens at 8 a.m. whenever.
Giraff opens at 12.30.
That was when our reservation was.
We walk up and there's like a large staircase with a bunch of doors into the museum.
All of which are open.
There's people walking in and out of.
And then there's three security guards very leisurely standing outside the middle doors.
Like they're just kind of like chatting.
But there's no ropes.
There's no signs that are like entrance.
There are exit signs on the inside of the doors on the outside.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
But me walking up, I can't see anything.
Of course not.
Do you have x-ray vision?
No, dude, I don't.
So we walk up to the stairs.
We're coming from the left side.
So those left-hand doors are the first ones we see.
The doors are open.
People are holding them open.
We walk up the stairs.
And a person literally holds the door open for us.
They're like, go on it.
It's just another tourist.
It's a mine.
We start walking through that door,
and this security guard fucking loses his mind.
Start screaming at us in French.
Like, what are you possibly doing going in that?
He's waving at us.
Like, come this way, come this way.
and we're like oh sorry and very peaceful hold on do you speak french god no could he have been going great
great job go keep walking no because he was finger wagging me and pointing down the stairs okay okay pointing around
and we're just being like oh sorry sorry pardon pardon and we're like we're trying to go to giraffe i do speak
french i do speak french i lie and he's he's eventually like i know i know you're trying to go to giraffe
but you don't go in this way and he finally starts speaking english and he explains that that's the exit
we have to come through this way and we're like oh sorry sorry yeah we're just you know we're going
to brunch and he's like I know but this is how dare you what what were you thinking like he was
literally saying what were you thinking yeah that's so crazy someone held the fucking door for me that's
what I was thinking and eventually he like calms down and I'm like all right I kind of get it we're
probably gonna have to go through a metal detector yeah sure surely no it was just a door and like we
walked through the door and then like when we walked through he then started like berating us for he was
like giraffe doesn't open till 1230 it's 1215 yeah and I was like our reservations at 1230
Like, I'm being respectful.
I'm punctual, sir.
And he just, like, kept shaking his head.
Parisians aren't punctual, that's the thing.
Yeah.
12.30 means you show one.
But that was one of, I'll say, the only downside of Paris is I did feel slightly nervous everywhere I was.
Because I just didn't want to do anything wrong.
I was like, I don't want to offend anybody.
I'm just like trying to be here.
But otherwise, stunning.
Wow.
Great.
Let's hit a few quick things in hot ice.
Starting with the jets.
Do you feel like the Jets are falling off?
They're three and seven in their last 10.
And they're not even in first.
They are behind the wild.
The stars are four back with the game in hand.
I had said, I forget who was on, but I had, oh, I think it was Tommer.
I had said, you know, at this point, the Jets are 100% in my eyes already, I think they were 15 and 1, right?
Or something like that.
At that point, I was like, they are firmly making playoffs.
period and probably winning the division, barring like a monster slump.
Three and seven is not good, but it's not a, like, it's not what we saw the wings go through
last year, the kings go through last year, you know, they're on the way.
But it's not even that yet.
And they're in second.
But it is a little concerning, I think, because the narrative I felt like all year, or for the
first 16 games of the year was this.
is what happens when the Jets are healthy.
It's been health this whole time.
It's because people have been hurt.
We didn't have Morrissey.
We didn't have Kyle Conner.
When we're healthy, this is the team.
And obviously, they didn't think they were going to go 70 and 12.
But, like, yeah.
The narrative was like, when the Jets are healthy, we can't lose.
And I'm like, you're healthy and you're losing.
And I still think they have very good players.
We made a joke on Thanksgiving about, like, the Jets being, I can't remember,
stuffing, I think.
And people were like, this narrative that the Jets don't have stars is true.
And it is.
we were just, it was a Thanksgiving joke.
Yeah.
They have stars.
But the, I don't know, just something about them doesn't terrify me.
I hear that.
Their teams do.
I totally hear that.
I like this team.
I think you're so spot on with the lack of terrifying nature.
And, you know, they're not, you know, their last couple games, four one lost to the blues,
3-1 loss to the stars.
Let me get to November.
4-3-4-1-4-1-5-0-4-1.
It's not like they're losing super tight ones.
They're getting beat by two, three, four goals.
And they're not scoring.
They're not scoring.
So I have two things.
You just mentioned it.
Like, you're not going to go 70 and 12.
I'm seeing this a ton on hockey talk lately.
and when we talk to fans,
dude, what happened?
What happened to fans
not being able to deal with losses?
Yeah, yeah.
Rangers fans right now
are fucking losing their minds.
And I think that's twofold on one hand.
I don't want to get off the Jets.
I think that there are issues with the New York Rangers
even when they started the season through
their first 10, 15 games are very hot
where I think real Rangers fans are like,
we're not that good though.
And I think there's a reason we haven't really talked about them.
This is the least we've talked about the Rangers
ever, right? And I think it's because we are kind of like, whatever, dude. I don't think that they are
really a juggernaut here. And now we're seeing a lot of the cracks. With this Jets team, I don't think
there's cause for concern. Seven and three is not nothing. It's not like you lost three straight
and people are like, what the fuck? Like you've lost seven of ten. That's not good. But I am also
a bit like, dude, relax. Like you're still in second in your division, which is elite. You have three
sick teams in that division. Everyone calm down. But it is like we keep saying, if this 10,
if this stretch of 10 form continues for another stretch of 10 form back to back, then you are like,
well, this is, that's bad. Like you're now probably in third or fourth in your division. So it's
something, I think you said it perfectly. Keep an eye on it. What do the next 10 games look like?
But so many of these fan bases have completely lost any sense of patience or acceptance of the fact
that skids happen.
It's 82 fucking game season.
Yeah, you're healthy guys are playing,
but it doesn't mean they're fully healthy.
I'm sure tons of these guys have crazy knocks right now
that they're playing through.
I do think the thing that worries me with the Jets,
and we saw it last year in the playoffs,
I think they ride Hellebuck too hard.
Yeah, yeah.
You see these teams that have success with tandem,
and I think we've talked about,
talked a lot, you especially about, does the tandem work in the playoffs? I still think
abs of fucking lootly not, it does not work. So I don't want you to do that, but I do
want Hellebuck to play like 45 games, 48 games, and see if you guys can do this. Yeah, he'll
play more than that, but I hear you on like a low 50 maybe. Yeah, play 50. Play 50, 52 games.
Yeah. And I think it will be better for that team success. But as far as Jets, I am not worried.
I'm only worried in that I'm like, the wild are better than you.
Great transition.
I think the wild are fucking sick.
Did you see Zuccarello's injury?
You were in London.
I did see it.
Dude, I was about to say, you know, they need health, and then he just got moved to long-term IR, which I think was expected.
Rupured testicle after blocking a shot.
Dude, so here's my take on it, Dan.
and it was funny because
Felino and a bunch of the boys were like
it's funny now because he's okay
because there's a stretch they said that
they were like when he got rushed out they're like
oh he's going to lose a nut
which by the way would you put
a fake nut in there
get a fake nut?
Yeah 100%
just for the aesthetics
I think I would put one in there
and I think I would make it a squeaky toy
or have a bell in it.
Bell would be too annoying
squeaky toy would be great
squeaky toy would be phenomenal
phenomenal
it would be not only would be funny
but it would be a gamble
because if I'm talking to my partner and I'm like squeeze my nut
what if she picks the wrong one oh true also it would be funny if I did it
you would have it to play and I just think it would add to the humor every time you
accidentally got hit there you know like a dog steps on you on the couch or like someone
tosses a ball and you get drilled and then it's like dude it would it would influence your
friends to be like this we got to
hit Dan in the nuts. It might squeak.
Because dude, as you just double over and it's like, it goes, squeak it!
As I'm like, um, dude, I actually might, once I have kids.
How about this? How about this? How about this? I might have a, I might have a ball removed
intentionally. You're right. A bell would be annoying. Yeah, I can't do it.
Think about when you got your keys, like hanging out of your pocket and they're jingling.
Eventually you're like, all right, fucking stop. You're right. That would be annoying.
What if we put a remote,
controlled audio element in there.
Like a goal horn.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, Bluetooth would be kind of sick.
But I think like a goal horn would be funny.
And every night someone else in the friend group gets it.
Yeah.
I'm like, you get to hit the goal horn or whenever you want.
Well, no, that's too graphic.
It's too graphic.
Kid show.
Yeah, kid show.
This is a kid show.
Relax.
We all know what you're thinking.
We all know what you're thinking.
Count it, dude.
Whatever you want.
You just hit play and it goes,
Oh my God, dude, that's great.
So the wild are legit.
But wait, one thought.
His cup was significantly dented, they said.
Yeah.
And if this is attention, wild fans, get this on the message boards, do what you got to do.
I think the dented cup should be their player of the game thing moving forward.
Oh.
Get it cleaned.
Maybe even painted or something.
but like who our player of the game gets Zook's dented cup.
That's really cool.
Because you know there's always a thing.
That is really cool.
I love that.
I really love that.
What did you think about the Yurichick trade?
You know,
they made a good move from Columbus for David Yurichick, high draft pick.
But they remember last year when Vancouver traded for Zadorov?
Yeah.
And it was obviously they didn't win the cup.
But it was just like we were looking at a team that was surgeon doing well.
And then they bring in a big, bring in a big great defenseman who was playing great.
And your check, 21 years old, big boy, D man.
I love the move.
Like I think the wild are very much like we aren't fucking around.
No, they are here.
They're ready to rock, dude.
Yeah.
I'll absolutely love to see it.
Moving on to the Preds, next team that's struggling.
Something's fishy, Dan.
Dude, I, I, I'm.
I'm hitting the alarm bells here.
Yep.
This is, I was about to say I'm contradicting myself what I just said about the Jets,
but that's not the case because this team has just been brutal the whole time.
They play the least tonight on the road.
They've lost three straight games in O.T, Flyers, Lightning, and the Wild.
Dude, we're too deep.
We're a third of the way through the season, and this team stinks.
And you know what's tough is,
Remember last year when you kept defending the penguins and you were like, they're not bad.
Like they're scoring.
It's, you know, it's this, it's that, blah, blah, blah.
The Preds aren't bad, but they are playing poorly.
And everyone keeps saying, like, is there a chance that we get a U2 show cancellation here?
And all of a sudden they rip off 10 straight wins and they're in a wildcard spot and then they find their form?
There are too many players on this team that are that good that I'm like, yeah, that could happen.
Yep.
However, in my mind, if you are trots, you're in save your job mode as far as all the moves that you've made.
Yeah.
And last year, you weren't playing that great, but then you went on that run and you make it into the playoffs.
Good for you.
But then you get eliminated.
Now you make all these moves again, and it's a disaster so far.
They have the least amount of goals scored in the least.
Terrible.
58 behind the ducks at 60 and the sharks at 62.
Terrible.
Or excuse me,
the hawks.
You traded Ascarov.
Like,
there's just a lot of moves
have been made by Trots.
And I am like,
if I'm him,
I'm in Save My Job mode.
And by the way,
this isn't a,
we got to make a trade for someone.
This is a,
I'm smashing the fire sale button.
If in the next 15 games,
I'm only giving them 15.
Yeah.
If in the next 15.
15 games, in those 15, you are sub 500.
Boom.
Well, and if you are, your season is over.
So are the trades to try to save this season, or are the trades to...
Save the future.
Save the future.
100%.
I would fucking blow it up, dude.
I would move significant people.
And I'd be like, this is an absolute nightmare.
More specifically, Dan, they played a night.
But they, the last three games, they've lost three, two every time in overtime.
So if they lose three to and overtime tonight, then something is,
broken. Oh yeah. And we need to investigate the simulation.
100%. That is the league. So here's my question for you. I want to stay in the central,
talk about the one team that we haven't really in Dallas. Okay. Where are you at on Dallas?
They are four points back with a game in hand from the Jets or from the Wild?
From the Jets. From the Jets. Yeah. So Sagan just put on long-term IR. Yeah.
And him, Marchman, and Dutchie were playing great together.
Sags out a minute, bro.
A long time.
Yeah.
I think we're in Mark Stone territory with him.
It's like come back for playoffs.
Yeah, four or six months, dude.
Like, he might be done.
If you are the stars, are you making a big move?
Because our boy, Cam Robinson, shout out Cam.
I don't know if he's going rumor boys on us here.
But he just released a video saying that he's got a little birdie in his ear saying
that Dallas is trying to get Malkin.
Dude, I mean, we've been saying those Penguins Corps needs to get gone.
I mean, Penguins are one four straight.
by the way.
The Penguins Court needs to get gone immediately.
Yes, I guarantee Dallas makes a move.
I don't know if they'll do it right now.
Like maybe they're going to assess,
see the deadline, calls people up.
They're so deep.
That's one of the luxuries of being doused.
They're so insanely deep.
And I can't remember exactly where we had them in the predictions thing,
but they are,
they are fine, dude.
Like they know what they are.
They can finish third.
They can finish wild card.
And they're like,
it's all about playoffs for us.
Let's make a good run.
They don't give a fuck.
So I actually bet they'd wait before they, to see how long Sagan goes.
Yeah.
Right?
Like let's take two months, see if Sagan's tracking towards four months and we're going to get them back and we're still winning.
If they start cratering or if Sagan looks like I'm done for sure, maybe they make a move sooner.
They will make a move.
Something will happen for this Dallas team.
But I don't think they are freaking out, to be honest.
Interesting.
I think you're right.
I don't think that they're freaking out.
I do think that they,
I think the Sagan loss is big.
Yeah.
That's so much of their identity, right?
Their depth and how well they're playing.
So I would be shocked if they don't try to do something.
One thing I want to bring up,
we talk about their,
how they have guys that pop up,
like Wyatt Johnson pops up, Stankovan pops up,
Marchman pops up,
and you're just like, Jesus, fucking Christ,
does this team know how to draft?
They've got a guy
I don't know if you're aware of this
But Antonio
I think it's Stranges
His last name is Stranges
But I think it's Stranges
Yeah
Believe or not
U.S. Kid
Plays for London Knights
Look up his stats in London
I believe he had 83 points
In like 45 games
In his last year in London
This fucking kid
Is a human highlight reel
In the OHL
And I'm pretty certain
He was playing alongside Evangelista
and they were just lighting the world on fire there.
And he is a third or fourth round pick.
And, oh, hum, wouldn't you know it, CP?
He's playing for the Texas stars right now in the AHL 15 points in 15 games.
16 and 16. 16.
There you go.
Just like Stankovin.
He's just like, was out of control on fire in the OHL, gets up to the HL, gets up to the HL, gets his feet wet, gets up to speed, and then bang.
This year, point per game guy.
Amazing.
And that is a dude that I look at as, okay,
get him up.
Sagan's out.
Do you bring him up or do you use a third,
was he a third round pick?
Um, I'll find out.
Like, do you use that third round pick capital,
his point per game,
who is a highlight reel in the OHL?
Fourth round.
Fourth round pick, yeah.
And trade him for, you know, use him as.
Well, you think about like what would
take to get Malkin, right? Oh, oh, I see. Yeah, yeah. And it's so funny. People talk about that.
I'd rather this kid, though. You think so. It might be tough. Gino's so nasty, but...
But that is the thing, man. People talk about it. We talk about the, um, the SID thing. People are like,
what would it take to get Sidd? Evgeny Malkin has six goals and 18 assists, 24 points in 27 games,
minus 11. He's obviously not the Gino he once was. He's 38 years old. There are people being like,
let's talk about Dallas.
Is that going to cost
Harley? Is it going to cost Stankovan? Is it going to cost
Wyatt Johnson? And to that I'm like, are you
fucking insane? Okay, you're with me on that, right?
I think it would be, if I were, if it's Sid,
different story. If it's Malkin,
who I think is probably more on the,
I got my three cups, dude, I'm chilling than
Sid is. He's 38 years old. He's
definitely not playing at the level that Crosby is, but
He's still playing a great level of hockey.
But if you're trading for Malkin and Dubus is like,
I want your Wyatt Johnson's, your Thomas Harleys, your Logan's,
I would be like, I would hang.
I would literally hang on.
Yeah.
And I'd be like, you are fired, dude.
I'd be like, are you fucking crazy, dude?
Like, I'll give you strong.
And a first.
No, dude.
He's got,
Gina's probably, especially if we're talking deadline,
that's got to be worth of first, right?
But that's it.
You can have a first.
But maybe at the same time as like the injured Patrick Kane,
like what the fuck did the Rangers pay for him?
Jack shit.
like a third round fucking pick.
Yeah.
So at the same time, like, maybe not.
Maybe I'm like, here's Stronges in a second.
Or here's a first and some prospect no one's ever heard of.
Yeah.
So I want to keep eyes on that.
Dallas has now become a huge, you've lost Tyler Sagan.
What do you do?
Because this team's, how many times are we talked about it?
I want to see them in the cup.
They need to be going.
We need to win a cup where else.
Talking about another team that's surging, probably cup hunting,
Washington Capitol, specifically Ovi, this fucking guy skating around the ice with a broken leg two weeks after the injury.
PLD said a funny thing.
He was like he doesn't make sense to it.
Like it's just he's out there yucking it up with the boys.
He broke his leg two weeks ago.
He's so fake life.
It's unbelievable.
He will be back on the front end of it.
It looks like.
And they said they were like, it's not going to change any timelines.
Like what we said is what we said.
But I'm more concerned, Dan, that Bill Gates warned us.
about the rise of the machines years ago.
You know I'm big on that, dude.
You don't fucking agree.
I like the cars.
I don't want the androids.
Wags.
I need you to input.
I need your input on this.
I need you to weigh in.
CP and I having a discussion the other day
talking about the machine war.
The fact that Bill Gates is one of these guys
who says,
do not invest too much into AI.
They will eventually kill the human race.
Which I agree.
Me too.
I'm like, we got to chill.
Boston Dynamics.
Cut the shit with all of these robots.
CP and I are walking down the street the other day,
and I think it's kind of West Coasty,
but if you're unfamiliar with Waymo,
Waymo is Texas, big time.
Big time.
Yeah, that's not West Coast.
Hell, no, no.
No, sir.
Yeah.
The South and West Coast.
Waymo are driverless cars.
We're walking down the street the other day,
and I go, look at that, dude.
And Chris was like, I know, it's crazy.
And I was like, it's fucking insane, dude.
And I referenced Bill Gates.
I was like, this is the machine more.
And C.B. was like, no, that's not true.
Have you ever been inside of one?
No.
I want you so bad.
I do too.
I applied.
I don't.
I think they freak me out, but I'm going to say this.
I can't believe that you don't think that a driverless car is part of the machine more movement.
No.
Who, what side are you on?
Because I do think that is.
Have you ever seen that video of, um, there was a cop trying to pull the car over?
And he didn't know that it was the, the waymo car and the,
The Waymo car kept trying to go around the cop
every time we stopped them.
So they don't even like...
They don't respect authority.
Yeah.
So they're already...
Look at that, dude.
They're already pushing back.
Yeah, but I can beat a car.
Are you sure, dude?
Here's a scenario for you, Chris.
You're walking down the street
and that Waymo decides that's a human.
I'm rising up against it
and it fucking plows you over.
Yeah, I go like this.
I stand right in front of a brick wall
and I go, ooh, don't hit me?
But you don't know what's coming.
And the Waymo goes,
and then I go, pump right.
pump left because he thinks I was doing a one fake.
Wow.
I pump right again, dive.
He goes into the brick wall car dead.
Okay, here's a scenario.
That driverless car that is clearly running with a operating system.
Yep.
Crunches some numbers in real time and realizes it knows exactly what you're going to do.
You pump that way.
It doesn't even move.
And you pump right back in because it knew where you're going to be.
Okay, watch this.
I put a...
I don't want to hear.
Hey, hey, listen.
I, I, I, I,
I trust that you've got an answer for everything.
I put a picture of a painting of a person on the wall,
and then I hold a baby,
just or any other person, but a baby,
and the car knows it has no choice
but to save as many lives as possible.
So I move, hold the baby up.
You're telling me you think this driverless car
does another difference between a picture and you?
No, no, no, dude.
Their cameras, I don't paint it,
but I get someone sick.
Why wouldn't you get like a dummy?
Okay, I'll get a dummy.
Boom.
You get a mannequin.
Hold the baby.
baby up and then it goes two lives, one life. It's the mannequin. I just think in this scenario
you shouldn't have picked a baby. Why did you involve a baby? Because I can't lift wags, dude. I can
lift a baby. You could lift a small person. Get Lupica in here. You can pick loops up. He's cute
as hell. I'll get loops. Yeah. Then you're not killing a baby maybe. Definitely not. Boom.
Car crashes into wall. All right. Continue with the machine war issue.
Because we're talking about one right now.
I'm concerned that SkyNet exists already in Russia.
Yeah.
And OV, everyone's like, his bones healed.
And I'm like, is it a bone?
Or did he just go back to the shop and they put in a new piece of metal?
Broad titanium.
And I just want pictures of the surgery.
I don't even think there was a surgery, but I want his leg cut open.
Cut his leg open.
Yeah, I need a T2 judgment day scene where someone pulls out a knife and literally skins him alive and pulls it off so I can see him.
see his metal exoskeleton.
Is there an asterisk on the goal record if you find out he's a bot?
A hundred percent, dude.
I hate to say it, but 100%.
How could we possibly argue that?
If it turns out that OV has been,
what model is Arnold?
T2.
A T1,000?
Yeah, no, yeah, that's the movie.
Fuck, I don't know.
No, I don't think so.
I think the bad guy's a T-1,000.
No.
Yeah, bro.
I don't think so.
Yeah, T-1000 is that guy.
Yeah.
So he's like a, what, a T-500?
Dude, he's like an iPhone 3.
And I'm like, what are you doing, dude?
Yeah.
Well, listen, if he is any form of T-anything, then yeah.
I think there's an asterisk.
Yeah, which is fine.
It is what it is.
But the fact that this guy is already fucking skating around.
I was like him.
man you know we talked about like what what injury did we want that to be yeah and obviously this specific
broken bone is way better than a ligament i think i was holding up maybe it's a ligament strain and it's
like one week and you're back but even then you don't want the ligament damaged at all so
all things considered you never want someone to break a bone but like the guy's skating already
are you fucking kidding me it's unbelievable um sticking on injuries chronic out eight weeks a lower body
injury, no surgery. Second on the team behind Quinn and Ice Time. Do you think this is a,
okay, Vancouver, we got to make something happen. And then I want that to open to the door to a much
larger Vancouver Canucks discussion. I don't think they make any big moves because it's not
that long and they're doing fine. What are they in second? I believe so.
I think so too. I'm checking right now. They are in third game in hand behind the Kings.
I do wonder, you said this when they signed him. That's Quinner's boy, allows Quinn to play how he wants to play.
I do think you might see an impact on that. Not the power play. Like Quinn's going to have to have the power play doing his thing. He'll get all those power play points that he's going to have. But just his freedom, five on five.
Yeah. Whatever they put him with, I think he's going to go, I feel more responsible.
to make sure I'm not taking reckless chances that I was comfortable making with
running back there. And I'm not saying like, oh, Quinn's bad now. But I'm like, oh, I just
you're going to, and I hope maybe not. Maybe he's just the fucking man, which he is, and he'll
score at the exact same rate. But right now he's like one or two points off kale or something.
And two months from now, I could see that being a bigger gap. Yeah, I think that's right.
I think you're totally spot on. Vancouver is in a weird spot where we still haven't seen.
Demco, right? And Heronic going out is tough. You don't necessarily need to call anyone up
significantly. Like there could be a taxi squad situation here. But you do wonder like,
okay, do we have to make a move here? But in that, on that topic, this is the door I want to
open. It's been long enough now where I think we have to discuss the situation with J.T. Miller. Yeah.
However, the thing that I think has been talked about is that it is well documented that it sounds like J.T. and Patterson don't get along that well.
And J.T. is now out for personal reasons, taking time off. Do you think we have officially hit the point with the Vancouver Canucks where these two guys cannot be on the same team?
I thought we were there last year. I would agree.
Then they were like, everybody was back in.
We're running it back.
Yeah.
I was like, oh, okay, clearly they're fine.
Yeah.
What a bad miscalculation if they aren't fine.
Because now you have a cup talented team.
You've got to make changes to and hope you get a one for one swap, which is possible.
Huberto hasn't quite lived up to his end of the bargain, but you know, you hope for like a Hubert O'Coch deal where you're like,
Yep.
Hey, can we just change a scenery to big stars?
But that's a risk, dude.
But you have to do that if the team internally is falling apart.
Yeah.
I'm not saying it is.
I'm just saying, if that's true, you have to make a move.
And that sucks.
So here is what's interesting.
You're 100% right, everything you just said, in my opinion.
It does feel like a crazy miscalculation.
Like, how did you not discuss with them so.
Everybody was talking about that.
Yeah, like everyone knows about this, guys.
This is not a secret.
Can you two play together?
I personally do not think that they can.
Now, J.T. Miller is under contract until 2030.
Okay.
Elias Pedersen is under contract until 2032.
Yeah.
On the one hand, that's tough.
On the other hand, that's great because they have a ton of leverage.
It is not a situation like Matthew Kachuk
where Kachuk was like,
dude, I'm not signing. He was RFA.
So, like, make a deal.
That gave them a little bit of leverage, but, like, you know, is what it is.
The fact that these guys are locked under contract, both playing very well, is pretty huge.
JT is 31.
I think at least four solid years of this prime left in him.
PD's 26.
Now, here's the rub, CP.
JT has a no-move clause.
Pedy does as well
that doesn't kick in until 20, 25, 26.
So you could go now.
Well, the reality is
if there is an offer that's too good to be true,
do you move Pedersen?
It's just so insane, dude.
It's so insane, especially when he is playing as well as he is.
I believe with his performance last night,
he just got up to point per game.
on the season.
And here's the thing I don't know.
Because, well, here's the thing I don't know.
He has 23 and 24.
Does everybody else like Petey in the locker?
You know what I mean?
Is it a thing where J.T. and PD buttheads,
but everyone else goes,
Pedy's the man.
I get an issue with him.
Because JT, a lot of it overblown,
is like, you got some rough edges, you know?
So if everybody else likes Pedy, then I don't think you can trade away your 26-year-old star star.
Who has had 139 goals, 102 points, 34 goals, 89 points, and now this year he has 716 for 23 and 24.
You just can't trade him away because JT. Miller, who is very good, doesn't like him.
Yeah, because P.D. is 26.
If everyone else goes, Pedy's weird as hell.
JT's the only one that fucking freaks out about it.
But we,
no one hangs out with him.
Which is all by,
no one went to his birthday party.
Speculation.
Yeah.
Then.
Then maybe.
Yeah.
But I just don't know.
I don't know any of that.
Yeah, I think you're right.
It's ultimately the only world where I could see myself as a fan going,
okay, if you trade PD is if you go, we're trading PD for, hold on,
let me just see what his cap hit is.
PD is
11.6.
If you go,
we're trading
Elias
Pedersen
to the
Toronto Maple Leafs
for William
Nealander.
Then I'm like,
okay.
Like you're,
you're trading an
all-star for an all-star.
Yeah.
Who's like roughly
the same age,
same point production,
same cap hit.
Then I would be like,
okay,
fine.
Seems weird,
but fine.
Yep.
It would take a miracle
for another team
to have a player
of this caliber that they're like,
shit's just not working here, man.
Like, we got to move on.
So who knows?
Yeah.
But this situation is officially fascinating to me.
Yeah.
And I also do want to say,
hope everything's okay with JT.
We don't know what's the situation.
But I do believe that these two people
cannot be on the same team anymore.
And now with the heronic injury,
it does feel like, fuck me.
Like Vancouver might have to pull the trigger
on something big here.
Yeah.
Pretty crazy.
Got to talk to you.
you guys really quickly about our unbelievable deal with BetMGM. I need you to listen to me very,
very closely. Go to BetMGM and download the app, okay? And then use promo code Netters when you
log in and you're going to get this epic opportunity. You can place a bet on anything. And I'm
firing right now, to be honest with you. I'm playing with the dice. I'm betting on hockey.
Football playoffs right around the corner. MBA's heating up. There's a lot of action. A lot of action
to get involved with. So everything you do, you can bet from $5 up to $1,500.
And if you win, great job.
That's a great bet and maybe hit me with that bet next time so I can tell you.
And if you lose, I don't want to tell you, but the good news is, bet MGM will put that
money back into your account and bonus bets.
Okay, so then you can just bet again.
And then maybe you win that one, and then I'll tell that one.
And then we're both laughing all the way to the bank.
So don't miss out on this opportunity.
Use promo code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
Go check it out right now.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 8-7-7-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope N-N-E.
and why for New York. Call 1-800-327-50-50 for Massachusetts. 21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly.
Call 1-800-N-Ext-step for Arizona. 1-800-off for Iowa. 1-8001-802-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel, see betmGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional
offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Babes, we've got huge news. We've got great news. The year 2025 is the year about having a good time.
We've got amazing news for you because we are giving away a year's worth of free THC and Delta 9 products as well as almost Friday merch and a unique almost Friday experience.
All you have to do is be 21 years or older and you have to click the link that's in our description, sign up to enter.
You're going to answer two or three questions about how you like to get banged up on the weekend.
We all love it. It's an absolute blast. This is the easiest giveaway of all time.
And like we said, you're getting free stuff. You're getting free THC and Delta 9 products as well as all this other cool stuff.
All you got to do is talk to us about how you like to party. The link's right there.
You're going to click it. You're going to let us know what your best way to hang out on the weekend, have a fun time, get a little tuned up and enjoy yourself.
It's what we like talking about in general. It's all we do with our friends.
So just click that link and do it with us. This year is all about cruising.
having a blast and just kicking back with the fellas and the friends.
Easiest thing you've ever done.
So enter right now.
Again, 21 years or older to enter.
You're going to answer a couple of those questions,
and we're going to be kicking it all year long with these amazing products.
We'll see you there.
Taking a quick time out to talk to you guys about Bauer hockey
and specifically the Twitch Twick.
I know you all know that I got one.
You need to get yours.
It is that much of a game changer.
got this Twitch Taper technology and it's affecting the loading and the recoil. You know when you're
in the pro shop and we all get the stick, I'm a lefty, but we all get the stick and you're leaning on it
and it's, whitch, which, it's like the coolest thing to do with the hockey stick. This thing
snaps back so fast. I could, Dan was standing in front of me and I went like this and it spanked them.
It was going so hard. It's absolutely incredible what it does to your shot, okay? Also, there's
boron fiber material in this thing, and I don't even know what boron is. Chlorophyll, more like
borafil. No, no, no, boron fiber material. This thing is so light. It's 345 grams. Are you kidding me? When I'm
stick handling, it's like air. Do a toe drag in midair. Do it right now. That's how light it feels when you're
actually holding the twitch. It's unbelievable. The bottom of the shaft is rounded so you have extra
protection. So you know you're not going to bust this thing up the first game right after you bought
yourself a new treat. It's going to be safe. And the blade has this stiff core. So there's just so much
pop in the shot. It's insane. The goalies of my beer league team have been chirping my shot for seasons.
Twitch and they were like, have you been hitting the gym? And I was like, no, I've been hitting the
Twitch, pal. That's all it takes. It's that cool. It's that good. So go to Bauer.com. Check out
everything they've got. They've got the incredible training stuff, as you guys know. I've got the
digital reactor dangler and all that great stuff to work on my game. But the Twitch, man,
the Twitch is revolutionary. So go to Bauer.com and give one a try. Stop what you're doing and
listen to me right now. You're probably hungry and you probably need a snack. And there's no
better snack in the game right now than chomps.
it is a no-brainer.
Here's the deal, folks.
I'm a fitness guy.
I'm a health guy.
Everyone knows that about me.
If you like empty netters,
you've seen me on the Instagram story all the time,
doing my workouts while also taking breaks to talk to all of you
about what's going on in the NHL.
And here's the deal.
I'm a nut job when it comes to things like protein,
counting my macros,
having the right type of food that's going in this engine
because I like to stay in tip-top shape for all of you.
And ultimately, it comes down to snacking in the middle of the day for me.
How do you fill that space
between meals with something that's healthy, something that has good quality ingredients and good
protein. That's where Choms comes in for me. This is not a joke. This is not a typical ad read.
This is something I actually love and eat essentially every single day. These things are 100
calories and they're 10 to 12 grams of good protein from high quality, grass fed and finished
beef. Choms is unbelievable. They taste delicious. They have fantastic flavors and it's genuinely one
of those great snacks that gets you a good source of protein and it takes care of my hunger.
I'm in the middle of the day.
I'm working.
I'm grinding.
I don't want to eat a bunch of, you know, crappy snacks that are processed sugars and food
and all that.
There's zero sugar in this.
It's just delicious protein and good beef.
And I'm telling you, it fills you up, helps you hit your macros, it helps you stay
healthy and active and fueled all day long.
I would not steer you wrong in this area.
I'm telling you right now, it is a no brain.
So what you're going to do if you want more info, you're going to go to www.champs.com slash
empty netters and you're going to be able to get yourself packs and packs and packs of
chomps all day.
You see it in our studio.
I'm not kidding, guys.
We rip this stuff all day long.
Choms is delicious.
It's good for you.
And it's going to fill that tank and fuel your body anytime you need it.
Before we get into Four Nations, there's something that I did want to discuss.
Okay.
And I know that I've, I know everyone gets annoyed with me being a little lunatic.
when I get back from London boy, but I am a London boy, so it is what it is. I threw up on our
story. I was having a day. Do you know what I'm going to talk about? No, I thought you were
to be like, I puked. I threw up. I threw up in a pub. Big bed. I threw on our story
while I was over in London. I was doing a little pub crawl, and I went on my rant about how
pub culture in the UK is just, it's better. It's like, it's just simply better. It's just a better
vibe. And I then
asked the question
what in the States
dude, biggest mistake
of my life. Yeah. I noticed.
That got
so many fucking DMs.
It was unbelievable. Legitimately, I think
800 DMs,
which I love, because we love
talking to people, but holy smokes.
I'd say Boston, Montreal,
New York, and Philly
got the most love.
A lot of people hitting up
Denver, which I was a little bit like, okay, interesting.
A lot of Seattle's.
Toronto got some love in there, but yeah, Boston, Montreal, New York, I think we're the top three.
That said, there are great pubs in all those places, but again, I genuinely, I don't think in Boston or New York or Montreal, I've actually been to one that's genuinely a UK pub.
And that is, understandably, how could it ever?
Now I don't want to go on a rant about how much I love pub culture there, even though I do, and it's amazing.
Here is the thing that I want to talk to you about.
We got to start turning the volume down in bars.
On the music?
On, yes.
Music, I agree.
If it is a sports bar and, first of all, if it's a sports bar and the volume isn't from the game isn't on,
What the hell you did?
Then literally take a cartoonish thing of TNT and implode your establishment.
Sir, I'll give you the permit for that.
I agree.
So once we've assumed the game volume is on, then I don't mind pumping that noise.
And I know it's hard to talk, but it's like it's the game dude.
I just want to hear everything loud.
And I'd much rather it be loud.
If we're dealing with the three Goldilocks bears of sports bar volume,
I'd much rather it be the too loud bear than the two.
quiet bear and I can live with that. I'm with you dude. Music. We don't have to shout.
We've got to turn it down. What are we doing? And it's like, it's a, at 11, sure. Or, or no,
know what you are. Yeah, if it's a dancey, clubby, of course, yes. If we're in a bar and there's
anyone sitting down, eating or drinking, but sitting down with friends, leaning on tables,
leaning on, you know, turn the music down. This might be an old person take, but dude,
this is a message to the, to the world that we're living in. Let's turn the music down a little
bit in these bars. Yeah. Dude, it's like restaurants too. Like you go to like a late dinner on the
weekend. Some of these restaurants are like blast. And I'm like, dude, what, what the fuck are we talking
about here? It's Tuesday night. It's Tuesday night. Calm down. But even if it is Friday night, Chris,
like, if it's 8 p.m. on a Friday night and I'm at a restaurant and I can't hear you across
the table for me, what the fuck are we doing? 10 p.m. you lose your right to complain, though.
Dude, 10 p.m. on. I'm fine with that. 8 p.m. Actually, dude, the volume of at bar should be
the hour. Oh, my God. That's actually pretty good.
But it's got a cap at like three.
You start at three.
Yeah.
Even that, dude.
Seven volumes high.
Well, it's seven.
No.
It's seven on a Friday.
Stop.
I like what you just did, but stop because it's undermining the message.
And I'm going to go one further.
I would even say maybe turn the lights up a little bit.
Yeah, you just want to be at home.
It's just crazy to me.
Like when I'm like trying to read a menu and I can't hear anything, I can't hear the waiter,
I also can't read the menu.
I'm like, fucking Christ.
But the bigger thing is the volume, we got to turn it.
down. Yep. It's just too much. All right. What we've all been waiting for, four nations
rosters are officially released. What we're going to do is we're going to quickly go over
the teams and then we're going to circle back to what our predicted rosters were. Okay.
Starting with Team Finland, forwards, Sebastian Aho, Eriqala, Anton Lundell, Joel Armiya,
Ruppé Hintz, Aitou Luster-Rin, Alexander Barkov, Kapo, Kako.
Miko Rantanin, Mikhail Granland, Patrick Line, Toivotera Vinen, Arturi Lekan.
On defense, Yanni Hocken, Esa Lindel, Rasmus Ristolinen, Mirohyskinin, Oli Mekylla, and in goal, we've got Kevin Lankinen, Uco Pecalucanin, and Yuci, Sauros.
So looking at our roster CP, Matias Machelli, snubbed.
And I believe that is it for forwards.
Okay.
Because we had Eli, right?
Yeah.
Oh, we know.
I can't remember if it got in that document.
Nope, we've got one more.
Sorry.
Eli Tolvinen.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
And like I said, Kotkinemi, I was, that's someone I had eyes on.
Yeah.
And, you know, didn't make the grade.
Yeah.
Tovlin's got nine points, seven goals in 26 games for Seattle.
not that's not so brutal um and then yoki harryu on d didn't make the team uh but then everyone else
and then for goal we had corpusolo sneaking back in but did not account for lakin and having
such a good yeah crazy that's all um for me yeah i feel bad because i think we talked the least about
team finland in the previews yep because there's they're good there's a good team obviously but i'm like
you're the worst team here.
And I also feel like...
Finn's are going to be mad about that.
Well, I'm sorry, you're the worst team here.
I agree.
I also feel like their pool...
And, dude, for the fantasy football players out there,
it's actually a dream when you just have a number of guys.
You only have the number of good guys that you have slots.
So there's never a decision every week.
You're just like, let's play by guys.
Here's my roster.
I have guys are bench guys and they blow.
Yeah.
That was Team Finland this year.
Like, they were picking from...
How many people made this team?
22 or some.
shit. They were picking from like a 23 to 24 person pool. So I was like, okay, yeah, just take these
guys. So even the snubs, like, I wouldn't have been, those aren't even really snubs to me. Like,
the names you named, I'm like, whatever. So this was, this is a good team. And this is about the
team that everyone thought it was going to be. And I'm excited to watch them play. And that's all I have
to say about that. I, yeah, you know, it's like, I think you just said it so perfectly, CP. Like,
this team is great.
I love this team.
Guys like Joel Armiah has having a great.
And I'm like,
fuck yeah,
dude,
you're on this team.
And then you look at the stars,
you know,
like Sebastian Aho,
Barcov,
Lundell,
Rantanin,
line A being healthy against scoring.
I love that.
Granny's having a monster year.
Their defense is great.
I actually think this team
is scary for a tournament like this.
100%.
100%.
They can beat anybody.
Yes.
Like these guys are guys
that like weirdly feel,
I feel like they know how to play together.
Yeah.
There's something about, I think, when they throw on that team, Finland jersey,
like it's genuinely like the Russians.
Like they're like, there's a really cool click when it comes to this Finland team.
And man, I just really love their defense too.
So potentially goalie issues?
Like Soros hasn't been as bad as their record would show because they can't score,
but he hasn't been light-out.
I agree.
Like Lankan has been good.
UPL has been good.
And then, yeah, Soros is like, they're,
just, he's probably not in the best headspace.
Dude, kind of a weird one for this tournament, Dan, considering it's round robin and then
let's go, is, like, I think in sometimes in other tournaments, like World Championships, when you
play seven game round robin and your group stage, you go, give all of our goalies some burn.
But in this, I'm kind of like, you cannot afford to lose games.
Truly.
Round robins.
So I'm like, Saros is playing every game, and I'm sorry.
You're on the team, congrats, but like, we're going with our guy.
Agree.
So you're so right.
I really dig this team.
I'm excited to see what they.
do and that is pretty much that.
Yeah.
Moving on to Team Sweden.
Forwards for Team Sweden.
Victor Arvetson, Philip Forsberg, Gustav Nyquist,
Jesper Brat, William Carlson, Elias Pedersen,
Leo Carlson, sick.
Adrian Kempi, Lucas Raymond,
Joel Erickson Eck, Elias Lindholm,
Mika Zabinajad, Willie Nealander.
On defense, Rasmus Anderson, Rasmus Dahlene,
Victor Hedman, Jonas Brodine,
Matthias Ekholm, Eric Carlson, Gustav Forsling, and Inette,
Jacob Markstrom, Philip Gustafson, and Linus Olmark.
Our team, Sweden, pretty, pretty good.
Yeah.
Pretty, pretty good.
William Eklund did not make the team, which I think is tough.
Yeah, it is.
Because he has been fantastic, fantastic for the sharks.
And then on defense, understandably, Hampas,
Lindholm injured, did not make the team. Brodine is in there for him, which is great. And
Adam Larson did not make the team. Goleys are the three goalies that we assumed. Landy, obviously
not healthy. We did have, we did have Echholm kind of sitting there on the sidelines as a guy
who could pop in. And we had Brodine on the sidelines as a guy who could pop in. So Echholm and
Brodine popped in for Larson and Hampas. Hampas hurt. But Hampas was playing great. There's
absolutely no, not no planet. I would be shocked.
We didn't have OEL in there?
We do have OEL on the short list.
Okay.
We didn't put him in.
We did not put him in the roster and he did not make it team.
Good for us.
Wow.
Yeah, we knew it, baby.
But yeah, we sniped this pretty good.
Also, this is one where the guys they were kind of on the outside.
I think Fabian Zetreland could have absolutely made this team.
But, you know, great team.
I think, Chris, I think this is even more so to what you were just saying of like,
you got your guys.
you know, again,
Hampus hurt, tough.
OEL not,
OEO's playing great for Toronto.
OEL not making it.
Zetelin not making it.
I think Eklund not making it.
Those are guys that you're like,
ah, that's a bummer.
But also, it's not like a,
what the fuck.
I wouldn't,
I wouldn't call it an egregious snub
like we're going to get to
with the next two teams.
Agree.
But, yeah, man,
this is a,
this is a solid,
solid lineup.
Bigger pool, for me,
they're picking from a bigger potential pool
than Finland was.
and no more, you're right, no egregious snubs,
but more egregious than the Finland snubs that we've named.
Eklund, good one, backland even for me,
just from a veteran presence, not getting on there.
Flames captain, you know, like, bring him in.
Lindholm injured, you're right, Broberg even.
The D they picked are all good, really good.
Broberg could totally be on this team.
Dude, so there's a few there that I'm like, damn.
Boy, howdy, does Sweden have good?
defenseman.
Dan.
And then,
and stars up front.
Like I,
there are guys that are,
who do you think is the,
if you're doing this lineup,
who is the forward odd man out?
The forward odd man out.
Because, right, you know,
like they have,
they have 12,
you know,
you got 12 forwards who are going to play
on the four lines.
You got a 13th forward.
Is,
like,
I'm going to be honest,
Victor Arvotson and Mika Zabanajad.
Ziba, I was going to say,
I know that's crazy.
I'm a little bit like,
wow, I'm surprised you made this team.
Yep.
So for me, it's one of those two guys.
Yeah, it's one of those two goals and three assists for five points in 16 games.
And like Eklund is left out?
How many points is Eklund have?
Let me look up Eklum's points.
He's the top scoring Swede, not on the team.
I know that.
Look, of everyone they cut, he has the most points.
Yeah, Eki has five goals, 18 assists, 23 points, and 27 games.
Like you're telling me Eklund isn't on this team and Victor Arvetson is.
That's crazy.
Right?
So that's not egregious.
Like I think Arvitzies is good, but that's a surprising one.
Yes.
For me, if you're a Swede or rooting for the Swedes for whatever priorities you have,
Gustafson being the best goalie in the league right now is you are a massive threat.
Obviously, I'm U.S. bias.
but I was like this tournament is going to be cool, but it's a U.S. Canada tournament.
I think Sweden might win this tournament.
Yeah.
I think Sweden might win this.
Dude.
Also, shout out Minnesota Wild in general, but three guys on this team.
It's pretty special.
Unbelievable.
But yeah, man, what I really love CP is you got guys like Elias Pedersen's playing great hockey right now.
Lucas Raymond's playing great hockey right now.
Yes, Jesper Bratt is playing great hockey right now.
Erickson Eck, William Nealander, Jonas Brodine.
Dahlene is obviously amazing.
Anderson's playing amazing.
Not only is this a great roster,
but they've got a team of guys who are like buzzing.
So I'm going to like, fuck me.
Like this team's good.
So I'm excited that that's going to be,
they are very in the conversation.
Absolutely.
All right.
Next up we've got Team Canada.
Here is Canada's roster.
Forward.
Sam Bennett, Seth Jarvis,
Connor McDavid,
Anthony Sorrelli, Travis Kinectney,
Brayden Point,
Sidney Crosby, Nathan McKin
Manor, Sam Reinhart, Brandon Hagel, Brad Marshand, Mark Stone, Mitch Amarner, defense,
Kael McCarr, Colton Perrako, Shea Theodore, Josh Morrissey, Alex Petrangelo, Devon
Taves, Travis Sanheim, goalies, Jordan Bennington, Aiden Hill, and Sam Montembow.
There are snubs here. There are surprises here.
Yep.
I think this roster is definitely an example of, like, the GM's picking this team.
picking a team. They wanted a clear
third line. They wanted a clear fourth
line. They liked size.
I think the, as we
knew, I think the goalies were
interesting. You know
it's funny? I don't know if you saw this. Joey DeCord
has yet to declare.
Oh. He can play for USA
or Canada. Yep. And
it's one of those things where, I mean,
USA and Canada are both so good, but
knee jerk with a position, you'd be like, probably go
USA, right? You got a better chance.
this I'm like Joey DeCourt should definitely declare for Canada
he's going to be the starting goalie at the fucking Olympics.
Yep.
And that's not say anything bad about these three goalies,
but I do think when you look at the way that the Swedish goalies
are playing and the USA goals you're playing and the Finnish goalies,
I know we said like, sorry, this is a little much, a little bit in a tough spot,
but like this is the weakest goalie group, I think.
But yeah, what's your big one?
So do you want me to compare our roster first?
Yeah, let me see who we missed.
Who did we have in that didn't make it?
Okay, we had in, let me just look real quick,
want to double check on one.
Yeah, we had in Zach Hyman, did not make it.
We also had in Steve Stamco's.
Okay.
Did not make it.
We also had Matt Barzell and Carter Verhagie.
We did have Jarvie as our extra, so pumped for Jarvie that he popped in there.
Yep.
There's a lot of players here.
that we can talk about.
The big ones on defense.
Evan Bouchard did not make the team.
Noah Dobson did not make the team.
Vince Dunn did not make the team.
And the big one,
my biggest snub,
which has an asterisk,
asterisks attached to it.
Drew Dowdy, not being on this team.
I think is fucking insane.
We won't be ready, eh?
I think he will be ready.
By the end of February,
he's being activated.
Yeah, true.
Not end of February,
but by February,
he's being activated in January.
Like he is going to be fine and I don't know.
I think you see there were other rosters where guys are named that are injured.
And you're like, oh, yeah, like, you know, you're going to be fine.
I just think you have to name a guy like Drew Dowdy.
I can confirm he was, he made this team.
Yeah.
And then they were like, well, we can't name you because you're injured.
But, you know, it opens the door for other people and that's great.
but what are your
how are you feeling about this roster?
Okay, I'm going to start at the way back.
Montenboe is
whatever.
I think he's been great.
Me too, but actually dude,
my boy,
Logan Thompson
deserves to be on this team.
Straight up.
A lot of Cappy's fans.
A lot of Cappies fans who are like,
dude, how the fuck is Logan Thompson?
Got traded to the Caps after I knew he was going to get traded
and I didn't mean to make it happen,
but I did make it happen.
It was my fault,
but now he's reaping all the best.
benefits because the caps are sick and he should be on this team.
There's a few other goalies, but that's all I have to say about that.
The goalies are bad.
Everyone knew they were bad and they are going to be bad.
And that's all.
On D.
Bouchard, sure, Dobson for me is the big one other than Dewey, but Dobson, I'm kind of shocked by.
Yeah.
They aren't having the best year, but he is just so good.
And like, I don't want to dog anyone that may be.
it and obviously you'll probably know what I'm talking about because there's you know there's five
fucking thoroughbreds on the team yeah but and I'm just like and I'd be bummed for the two other guys
if they didn't make it in Dobson did but I'm just like Dobson is better than you so yeah I think
I'm in complete agreement with you I I suppose you you know kale and and taves kind of come as a
package deal here um I think there's an interesting element of Petrangelo and Shea here
here. But like Petrangelo is just a leader of men. Dude, they've been sick this year too.
Yes. Oh, I don't need to. I know they've been sick. Um, Paraco is the one for me that I was like,
interesting. Yeah. He's huge. I'm sure like, Kale is a puck moving defenseman. Marcy is a puck
moving defenseman. Um, you know, I think Shay is kind of. Yep. So I understand maybe wanting one more
big body there. I'm so happy for Travis Sandheim. Same, same. And that's what I mean. I didn't mean to
dog that. No, no, I know that. I know that. I know.
know that. To me,
some of the
Anthony Sorrelli is having an amazing year.
He's a fucking insane player.
I love that he's on this team.
Travis Kineckney is having, I'm so glad
to connect me his name to this team.
I got to say, I look at
the NHL statistics.
I look at the seasons and
a name for me that I am
like, whoa.
Yeah.
Is Dillenstrom.
Oh, yeah.
Dylan Strom has, in my opinion, played himself onto this roster.
At the expense of Sorrelli?
I'm not entirely sure who I would say, but I am surprised about him, and I'm surprised
about Mark Schifley.
A lot of Canadians fans being upset that Suzuki didn't make it.
I hear that, but I'm also kind of like, eh, you know, it's tough.
Shifley and Strom, I was a bit like, whoa.
Dude, so for me, Shifley for sure.
I think it was the complete correct call about Hyman dismissed.
Everybody was like, he's obviously making it.
Dude, no, dismissed.
Absolutely not.
I think it was the complete correct call on Johnny Toadrags.
Yeah, tough stammer too.
And I think it was the complete correct call in Bedard, lull at all the badard people.
Oh, thank you so fucking much for bringing that up, dude.
I thank you so fucking much, dude.
we posted
we did ours in the summer
and we posted it
and the amount of you
fucking idiots dude
and like this is the only time
I'll be mean to you
the amount of you
fucking milk drinkers
dude who were saying
how was Connor Bardard
not on your roster
are you an idiot
think about like
the roster
is crazy bro
there are some out there
Johnny Las is like
I think it should just be
best on best
and I'm like that's what
the all star game is
and it's not fun to watch dude
and obviously there's more at stake here
so I don't think people
would be mailing it in.
But what does he mean?
That would include Bedard?
Well, he's just saying put the most talented people on the team.
Like youth, talent, blah, blah, blah.
And I'm like, they still did and he's not on here.
And, dude, I tweeted out the other day,
Macklin Celebrini deserves more of a look at this team than Connor Bardard.
And that is a fucking fact.
And people were like, they should both be on it and it's still Connor.
And I was like, first of all, neither of them will be on this team.
And look at that.
Yep.
And Connor Bedard is a phenomenal player.
He does not deserve to be on this roster.
Excuse me.
He does not belong on this roster yet.
Yeah.
And that's okay.
That is okay.
But to everyone that was like, you guys are nuts, dude.
He's going to be on the team for optics and blah.
And I'm like, wrong, dude.
He's not on the team.
And that was obvious.
Verhagi.
I don't think he, I mean, I fucking love Swaggy.
I think he's an amazing player.
I don't think he.
You know, it's tough because Bennett's been so good.
Yes.
And I, but again, like Carter's got 20 points.
26 games. He's a dash 16. Yeah, fuck.
Like, he's just not playing that well this year.
For me, dude, and there's another one like this on the USA roster.
The stammer one is kind of crazy to me.
Not that he's having a great year. He obviously isn't.
But I don't believe that stammer has fallen off a cliff or anything.
I think it's a national problem. It's a system fit. It's a lot of that shit.
he is one of the league's greatest goal scores of all time and he has just been like was he on when
has he played for Canada never he must have been on that 2014 team 2014 are you sure well that was
10 years ago he's 30 no no he certainly was he was 26 he was definitely on that team he was on he was
in sochi yeah so like he's done it but i just he strikes me as a guy that you're like that's
fucking and and this shouldn't be a this shouldn't be a what have you done in the
past competition to get on this squad. But I'm like, bro, he is, he is an absolute weapon, has an
elite skill that probably very few people have, he can still play at a super high level. He scored
40 fucking goals last year. And he's Stephen Stamco's, and he should be on Team Canada.
You know, like, I don't mean to imply that he's on SIDS level, but it's like guys like that
that are still producing. You don't get a charity invite, but guys like that, I'm like, ooh, maybe,
maybe you make the squad.
It's tough looking at it.
Dude, he might not have been on this team.
Maybe he was hurt.
Yeah, I think he was.
Yeah, he was not on this team.
So that even helps my argument where I'm like,
oh, you couldn't throw Stephen fucking Stamco's a bone
and put him on this squad.
And I know they'll be like he's having a bad year,
but I'm like, well, you know what's the crazy one, Chris,
is there are guys that were in the initial name wave
that I think some people were like,
oh, I don't know if you would have picked him.
Agree.
And I actually don't think it's a lot.
Like, I'm going to stand up for my guy here.
There were some people who were like,
I bet Canada's regretful of Brad Marshand.
I'm like, I bet they're fucking not.
Brad is on fire.
He's got two goals right now in the game against the Blackhawks.
Like, they're not regretting that whatsoever.
But I was surprised that Stamcoast wasn't in that initial wave.
Same.
And then to have him not make it.
Yes.
Like he's got 13.
in 25, which is not good, obviously.
And Brad has, before tonight, he had 18 and 27.
So it's like, it's right there.
I don't think that's right there.
I think that's, like, Brad is clearly playing better.
Yep, getting now 10 goals to Stammer's seven.
But I do think Stammer had, and we're going to get into this in the USA roster too.
Brad is more versatile, kills penalties, all this shit, which is why I think he's part
of it.
But I think if this was, if this exact roster came out and Stammer was in that wing spot and
not Brad, we'd be going, fuck, Brad got snub.
bummer for Brad, but I don't think we'd be like, get the pitchforks out. This is a tragedy.
You don't think so? I don't think so. I think based on how Steve Samcoast is playing right now
and the stat lines, if those two names were reversed, I would be having a fit right now.
And rightfully so. It's a little rider copy. I mean, it's a lot rider copy where you go.
What's their form right now versus like, well, that's Jason Spee. Or yeah, Jason Speeith.
Is that his fucking name? Why am I having a lot of that? Justin Thomas. Jordan. Jordan.
Thank you. I was like, Jason's in time right.
You're like, that's, that's J.T., that's Jordan Spieth.
Like, pick them. Yeah.
Fucking studs.
Where I'm kind of, it's that.
Where I'm like, yep, he's not informed right now, but he can't.
But that's the difficult thing about this team, right?
Like, if you dump someone for Steve Stamcoast, who do you dump?
Seth Jarvis, Anthony Sorrelli, Sam Bennett.
Like, I think you would, people would be like, how are you dumping those guys for him right now?
So, yeah, it's tough.
For the legacy pick.
Tough one.
Yeah, I just think Canada and USA are too stacked to dump anyone for,
legacy pick right now, frankly.
Okay, moving on to USA?
Yep. Moving on to USA.
Forward.
Matt Boldy, Jack Hughes, Brock Nelson,
Kyle Connor, Chris Kreider, Brady Kachuk,
Jack Eichel, Dylan Larkin, Matthew Kichuk,
Jake Gensel, Austin Matthews,
Vincent Trocheck, J.T. Miller.
Defense. Brock Faber.
Fuck you, everybody.
Yep.
Noah Hanifan, Jacob Slavin, Adam Fox,
Quinn Hughes, Zach Wrenski, Charlie McAvoy.
Goleys, Connor Hellbuck,
Jake Ottinger, Jeremy Swayman.
Holy fucking shit, that defense, dude.
Woo!
And dude, I got some issues with it.
Here was our Team USA.
The players that we listed that are not on this roster.
Jason Robertson, Clayton Keller,
and Brock Besser,
and Patrick Cain, who you made me put in there,
and I was like, I don't think Patrick Cain will be on this team.
If he was playing better, he would have been.
Agree.
He's not playing.
And then we had the D exactly nailed
because we considered Thomas Harley,
but Thomas Harley is one of these Canada USA guys,
and Zach Wrenski was the next name in.
I am beyond,
beyond,
disgusted with the forwards
named in this group. Dan, the Canada
roster, where there's some people that, obviously I just said
that I might have gone differently, the Canada
roster looks great.
Yep. This roster is
I'm supposed to say infuriating. That's wrong. But this roster
is frustrating. You could say infuriating.
When this, what this should have been
and correct. I'm fucking, I'm pissed.
Like, Chris, I'm not exaggerating.
I borderline want us
to lose so I can just
hold a firm finger at every single person in charge of this roster and go sick picks you fucking old
losers dude let's start in goal everything's perfect um yeah i hope i hope just because sway's our boy
that they do what i said finland shouldn't do and that they're like everybody get a little burn
because if i think if they're going on just like how you play in this year he's not going to see much
time yeah but i hope they go everybody play because they're all top top class when they're on their game
what a luxury,
an embarrassment of riches
and goal for the U.S.
Yeah.
D.
Awesome.
Thrilled for Faber.
There's a couple guys.
Jake Sanderson having a great year,
but he's like a little young,
you're going to be.
I'll hear you.
Maybe you make the Olympics,
though.
Like, he's the type of guy
where I'm glad they don't take him for this
because I'm like,
you're 22, dude,
like you're going to make the Olympic team,
maybe whatever.
There's a lot of people mad about John Carlson.
I hear you.
I'm bummed about
Who, dude?
Best name in the league.
Pionk.
Pionk is tough.
Also, we kind of skated by this on Canada.
I feel a little bit bad for Dougie Hamilton.
He's playing great.
Yes, he has picked it up lately.
And Pionk, I'm putting in the same category
where I'm like, you are playing,
you should have played your way onto this team
versus like, even a Hanifan where I'm like,
okay, you're very, I love no Hanifton,
he's fucking sick.
But I'm like, there should be a factor
of played your way.
on.
Yeah.
Which is what I basically wasn't arguing for Stamco's, so I understand I'm talking on both sides
of my mouth.
But damn, that one hurt.
He deserved it.
Yeah.
The four words, bro.
Yeah.
Literally.
I just quickly, I want to talk about John Carlson too.
Yeah, yeah.
I've said that.
People are pissed.
Go on.
No, no.
I just, like two more sentences, because I know you did say it.
Yeah, I just think he's, man.
I, I think.
It's interesting that we just named the Caps as our number one team in the league.
And him and Stromer, who are really buzzing, didn't get it.
And Carlson kind of felt like a legacy one that I was like, he'll slide in there.
And ultimately, Faber probably got in over him, which I'm not mad at because Brock is, you know,
we picked him because we believe in him and God damn it, is he unbelievable.
But just John Carlson deserves his flowers.
He's playing phenomenal.
Yes, he is.
Yeah, let's get into the forwards, dude, because I just, there, there are atrocities happening that I just find, I will not stand.
Stunning.
For similar reasons, dude, that you, you look at certain guys like Sam Bennett, for example.
Sam Bennett plays third, fourth line on the Panthers.
So us saying Sam Bennett's going to be a third, fourth line on Team Canada is not going to upset him.
He's like, yeah, no, I will be.
There are decisions on this forward group that I will not really be able to wrap my head around.
And they are ironically all the New York players.
Dude.
Chris Kreider, Brock Nelson, and Vincent Trocheck being on this roster is fucking mental to me.
And, you know, they're great players.
You can look up their stats right now if you want.
These are guys that are going to be.
roll guys, I would imagine.
I wouldn't be surprised, frankly, if that is your fourth line.
Yeah.
And I just, I really can't, I really can't accept the season that Cole Coughfield and
Tage Thompson specifically are having and people saying, yep, nope, they don't belong on
this team.
Dan, the, this is a.
unacceptable. I agree. The Rangers are, you want to talk about form? The Rangers are in a tailspin.
Kreider is having a subpar year. He literally has zero assist. Chowcheck is having a subpar year.
Yeah. Like if that team was the Jets, like the Shifley argument where you're like, okay, he got snubbed,
but the Jets are sick and he's actually playing well, by the way. This is on a team that is in a bad rut right now.
Like while we're picking this team, they're in a bad rut and these two aren't playing well.
Yeah. You cannot be on this team. Brock Nelson.
You cannot be on this team.
You guys are in fucking dead last, bro.
Like, what the fuck are we talking about?
Yeah.
So before you even get to the two,
because that feels like the big ones,
um, robo we had on,
he's not having a great year either.
I can live with that.
But he should be on over a crider or a trocha.
I'm like, dude, just, it's a high, higher skill set.
Yeah.
You know, but it's the same, same use case.
Like you guys are both having bad years.
The stars are better than the Rangers and Robo has higher skill set.
De Brinket, Clayton Keller,
those guys are having significantly betters.
Like those guys are almost point per game guys
that are young, fast, awesome player, goal scores.
Okay?
Yep.
Then you want to go Cole Cawfield,
who leads all American,
all American NHL players in goals this year,
not on the team.
Tage Thompson, fucking mutant,
having a great year,
what he, 13 goals or something like that already.
I, and I do want to say,
Clayton Keller, dude.
Yeah, that's what I say,
Kelton.
Sorry, sorry, yeah, yeah, yeah.
I'm, I don't accept the roster building of this because it is a, man,
fucking three, it is a four game.
After the round robin, is it just the top two play in the final?
Or is it there's seating and they play semi-final final?
I think there's a, I'm actually not sure we fucking should know that.
I'm pretty sure they do top two teams play each other for, for one and then the next two.
So it's just round robin and then here's the final, here's the, here's the loser.
for third, yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
So, I think.
Or it's round robin and then they have seating one through four and then you go semi.
So at most it's five games, at least it's four games.
If you are playing 82 fucking games, then 20-something playoff games, then yes, dude, I need a couple penalty killers out there.
How many fucking penalties are you going to kill in this whole tournament across four games?
Seven, eight, I don't know.
Like, I doubt it's going to be that chippy of a game at Four Nation.
you know what I mean?
So like I don't understand
and yeah like a fucking penalty kill
could lose you the championship
if you're like oh it was 2-2 in the third
and we took a penalty
and thank fucking God
I had Chris Kreider and Brock Nelson
to go out there and kill the penalty
but I fucking doubt it dude
I fucking doubt it
and to Laz's point
like why and actually I'll be interested
to see what last things about this
because they're Rangers.
He agrees.
But I'm like bro
I have an idea
this is the most talent
the US has ever had
in the NHL. I think literally ever.
Yes.
The biggest question of town. I don't even think that's fucking close, dude.
So I have an idea. Let's put our most talented players on the ice.
Holy fuck.
Dude, it's nuts, Chris. And what pisses me off is I believe they did do that with
the. Yeah, totally. Here's the reality.
Quinn Hughes is, I think, probably the best defenseman in the NHL and I think he's maybe better
than Kale right now. I think Kale is better, but like Quinn's just playing so well.
but Quinn
McAvoy and Fox
we knew like we were like
they're obviously on this team
Zach Wrenski is playing the best hockey
he's ever played in his career
Noah Hanofin is playing the best hockey
he's ever played in his career
Brock Faber is a young stud
and like that was an active pick
over guys like Carlson
and Slavin is the Rock right
like Slavin is argued
I think Slavin might be
behind Headman as the best
defensive defenseman in the NHL
he belongs on this team
they did it they went like this these are our best defensemen yeah to actively look at tage thompson's
13 goals 20 points in 20 games look at cole coffields leading the nchel in u.s players in goals his
best season ever so far of his career and and just go don't care don't care do because we got to
kill a penalty we might have to kill a penalty a couple times don't care because we need
Chris Kreider, Vincent Trochec, and Brock Nelson.
Like Vinnie Trocheck, All-Star last year.
Hell yeah, dude. Good for you.
By all accounts, one of the best locker room guys in the world.
I bet Vinny was surprised to be on this roster.
Six and six for 12 in 24 games.
Yeah, I bet he's damn proud as he should be.
But like, you're telling me that he's like, yep, I was a shoe in.
No fucking way.
And I just, I really don't know what argument you're going to make.
And I know so many Islanders.
I mean, I bet Rangers fans actually right now with the state of them will be like,
no, neither of them deserve to be on this fucking team.
There's Islanders fans out there who were already in our mentions on tweets being like,
I better not hear any Brock Nelson slander.
And I'm like, you're hearing it, dude.
Yeah, you deserve to hear.
Is Brock Nelson a bad player?
No, he's a fantastic player.
Does Brock Nelson make sense on this roster over Tage Thompson, Cole Cawfield,
Clay Keller, Alex De Brinkett?
I think abs a fucking lootling.
bro you're like people are like yeah we need size you need people in front of the net have you
taken a fucking look at jack eichel dylan larkin austin matthews j t miller and matt boldie like they don't
need size yep like and also you want size tage thompson six six dude like what the fuck how
the fuck is tage thompson not on this team and dan the the like because crier's like obviously
great power play right in front of put him in front of the net all good you're not getting powerplay
he is not getting powerpoint no fucking way so i'm like you're literal only right
role is to go out occasionally on the fourth line and then kill penalties. And again, what,
two, two a game? Like, okay, eight times in the whole tournament. I'm like, thank God we have our
penalty killers. And also, you know who's better on the power play than Chris Kreider? Tage Thompson.
And you know who isn't a fucking moron and able to kill penalties? Everyone on this roster.
Every single person on this roster. Jack Ego goes, I'm like, hey, Kyle Connor, go kill a penalty.
He's like, okay. Christ. Like, it's fucking hockey, dude. It's crazy, dude. It's absolutely
crazy. And the thing that really bothers me is there was a big conversation going into this saying that
Team USA has a center problem. You've got Jack Eichael, you've got Austin Matthews, you've got
Jack Hughes right there. All of those guys are centers. J.T. Miller also plays center. So you're like,
oh, Tage. Like maybe you can't take Tage as a center. But in the people I just named, I just named
three. And I'm like, T. is a center. Put him on a fourth line, whatever. J.T. Miller can play
wing. Cole Cawfield is a wing. DeBringk it's a wing. Keller's a wing. Like all the, this was
not an issue. This was so overthought. And I would have, I would have been having this heated of a discussion
if any of these three guys made it over the guys that we're talking about,
let alone all three of them.
Dude, yes, good point.
Like, I would be mad about one of these snups,
and instead it was all of them.
I'm genuinely, and like, you know, I feel bad saying it.
They're all great guys.
Obviously, we've got love for all these guys, cried especially.
Yeah.
But I'm like, dude, these three people being on this roster is bizarre to me.
Absolutely bizarre.
I think you said it best.
I think they were legitimately probably like, oh, wow.
And thank you.
And I'm honored, and I will give it everything.
fucking gut, as they always have, by the way, when they have worn USA jerseys at the junior
levels and in the pros. But I'm just like, if the dude on the team is shocked to be on the team,
then that, and the justification of the guys picking is simply, well, they can kill a penalty.
Then I'm like, I think that's probably crazy. I just, Chris, like, I can't, we talked about all the
stats. In 21 games, Chris Kreider has 10 goals, zero assists and is a dash two.
How on earth do you look at that form?
The fact that he's an older guy in the league
on a team that is playing poor hockey right now
and say that he is more valuable to this lineup
than particularly Tage and Cole.
Well, Dan, he plays wing and he goes,
I have 10 goals and zero assists in 21 games.
And we're like, oh, not really a playmaker, but whatever.
Yeah.
Because remember Cole started the year with like no assist.
Like literally, dude, his only value
is scoring goals.
Yeah,
on like,
tip and redirect rebrand.
And Tage and Cole
both have more than that.
And Cole,
and frankly,
better goals.
I have 16 goals,
seven assists.
Like,
I have more goals than you.
I can actually pass
occasionally.
I play the same position.
And yeah,
I'm smaller.
Oh, no.
It's just...
He must be so pissed,
dude.
Oh, Cole.
Oh, I'm certain he is.
And Tage, dude.
Tage is furious.
I know that.
And it's the both of them,
dude,
I just...
I would be so fucking pissed.
And I now as a fan and a proud fucking American who has been saying forever, watch out Canada, we're coming.
I've said, I borderline want us to lose because you need to pay for your fucking sins.
And now the reality is, too, if USA wins four nations and these three guys have fucking dominant tournaments, I'll be the first to go, I was wrong.
Yeah, hell yeah.
Great roster management.
And like I stand by right now, I love you guys, all three of you guys.
They just wouldn't have made my roster.
And it just feels like one of those situations where you go, put your best fucking team on the ice,
this is not our best team.
Period.
Period.
And it's also, don't hurt Brooks me, it's not the right team.
Yeah, yeah.
I'm genuinely telling you it's not the right team.
Yep.
So I am disappointed.
When you look at the rosters, I think those are the biggest snubs, those two players, in particular.
I think with the exception of Dowdy's injury.
Yeah.
I think those two players are the biggest snubs, and I'm furious that of all four of these teams,
the biggest head scratchers we have are
how the fuck
are these three guys
why is it USA? Why is it our roster?
Why is it USA's.
And you know, I just think you look online
it's pretty standard across the board.
Our boy wish
was like not choosing
Tage Thompson is a fucking choice
and that is correct.
Yep. So pretty wild stuff
here by Team USA.
All right, let's get into a beer league hotline.
Take it away.
I always have clear
tape in my bag and every week at our game half the boys ask to use some i go through two rolls a month
then i just buy more and the same thing happens i asked the gm if we could raise the team dues a bit
to make a tape fund and we could throw a ton of clear rolls in the puck bag so it's always there
tape's not that expensive but it feels unfair i'm the only one buying it gm said it was too much of a
hassle and i should just stop sharing it but do i want to be the guy that won't let his boys use some clear
Please help.
Dude.
Tail as old as time and also, I have this.
I'm extending it to this gentleman.
Dude.
I am you.
Yeah.
So, dude, shout out Howie's.
Yep.
My bag is stocked, baby.
I've got a pouch in my bag that is filled with clear, white, because I'm a white tape guy,
but like, I'm always stocked up.
And everyone who's ever played hockey, definitely barely hockey, but hockey in general,
can I get some clear?
How many times you've heard that?
1,000 billion trillion.
It's unbelievable, dude.
Can I get some clear?
You got clear?
Oh, yo.
You got clear?
I hate when I have to ask,
which is part of the reason I'm always stocked up.
I hate going, hey, dude, can I get some clear?
Anyone got any white tape?
I hate being that guy.
But that's a me thing.
Yeah, I don't think it's bad to be that guy.
When people ask me for it, I'm not like,
fuck you, man.
In fact, I'm like, yes, I'm glad I'm stocked up.
But if this has become such an issue for this guy on his team
that he is sourcing beer.
league hotline, then we've got a problem with a real problem. Real problem in this locker
room, right? At first I was like, this is an all-time dilemma because you cannot, he's right,
you cannot say no. Yeah. Literally, if you, if someone, if I said, can I get some clear? And they
went, no, I would, we would no longer be friends. And I probably would quit the team or I would
talk to the GM and say, one of us goes, period.
I couldn't agree with you more on the no longer friends thing.
That is a,
I bookmark that moment in my mind and will never forget it.
I'm like,
what the fuck, dude?
Do you say no to clear tape?
Now, I will say this.
We're not paying enough attention to the GM.
Insane response from the GM.
If this has become this much of a problem that this guy's like,
hey, GM, first of all,
I don't like the solution that the guy came to,
saying, can we raise team dues?
I love the idea of clear tape going in the puck bag.
But who's paying for it then?
Well, I think it should be like beer.
Someone's on beer every week.
Someone's on Clear every week.
So they're like, hey, well, that was actually sick.
That was sick.
So we go, hey, we're running low on Clear and I'm checking the spreadsheet.
Dan, you're up.
Buy a blog.
Legitimately, yes.
I think you go, hey, guys, I've been supplying the whole team with Clear.
I'm running low.
I think we should rotate this.
CP.
Here's a link to Howie's.
Buy a log.
Goes in the puck bag.
Next time it's low.
Someone else buys a lot.
I think it should have been done in a more casual way like that.
So maybe that's your answer here.
But the GM going, that's too much of a hassle.
Are you crazy, dude?
You're the GM.
You're bringing the puck back.
You've got this kid who's definitely on beer rotation duty.
So he's paying for beers just like everyone else too.
Who's the only one supplying clear tape and you're not going to help them out at all?
Come on.
Yeah, because, dude, that's why I thought it was a dilemma because I was like, I don't want to raise team dudes.
But I think that I need a, but the idea of a tape bag fired me up.
Oh, it's, I mean, that's pro shit.
Dude, I was like, that's national shit.
Like, I actually need a tape back.
Yes.
There's a stall in pro locker rooms that's filled with tape, filled with laces,
fills with wax, scissors, everything.
So I actually think that needs to happen.
If they won't do that and you can't say no,
I think is there a world where you go,
you show up to every game, half dressed?
and you're taped already.
And you're already taped.
So then they go,
they go, whoa, what's up?
And you go traffic.
I had to,
yeah, threw the,
through the bottom half on at home.
And then they go,
you got clear and you go,
no, it's at home.
Ah, left it at the house.
On the kitchen table.
Now you're the guy that shows up half dressed
and everyone's going to make fun of you,
but saving 10 bucks a month.
At Medcan,
we know that life's greatest moments
are built on a foundation of good health
from the big milestones to the quiet winds.
That's why our annual health assessment
offers a physician-led, full-body checkup
that provides a clear picture of your health today
and may uncover early signs of conditions
like heart disease and cancer.
The healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being
and book an assessment today.
Medcan, live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
I think it's two.
Okay, a couple things here.
One, you're right.
You can't be the guy that says no.
However, your hand has been forced.
I think there's a world where he can,
when the next person says, can I use him clear?
You don't say no to him.
You stand up.
And you go, my hand has been forced.
I have been supplying this team with clear tape for years now.
None of you have stepped up to take on
a part of this load for me.
None of you may use my clear.
You're not saying no to one person.
You're saying to everybody.
This behavior will not stand any longer team.
But I think the, if you don't want to do that and you want to do your move, I think
that's too suspicious, too early.
Yeah.
Maybe, dude, when it's time to tape the socks, you pop out of the locker.
Maybe you pop into the bathroom.
I'll still ask, dude.
They'll still ask.
Well, no, you just tape.
And then you come back in.
you discreetly put your tape back in your bag
and someone looks around and sees that you're taped and goes,
hey, you got any clear?
You go like this.
Ah, no.
I'm out.
Ran out.
Ran out.
Ran out.
Okay.
Give it a bid.
I think that's more reasonable than showing up to every game half trust.
Here's, we can both agree.
Ultimately, ultimately, I think what you do here is you, next game,
you respond to the email in and you go, hey, by the way,
you ran out of clear.
I bought the last log.
and pick someone, dude.
Pick, pick, I think you, like, if I'm being honest,
if this were happening to me, you would be my guinea pick.
Yeah, for sure.
Pick a nice guy who's going to be like, yep, okay.
And include the link, walk them.
Yeah, yeah.
Walk them to the water.
Yeah.
The, we can both agree, the only thing you do not do is become a laces guy.
Or a stick tape guy.
That's the only thing you do.
There are people who are using stick tape on their socks willingly,
and I just, I'll never understand it.
Where do you stand on black?
I was about to contradict myself and say black clear tape,
but black, I'm refusing to say the term sock tape because, yeah, no.
But where do you stand on black stretchy tape?
Yeah, electric tape, basically.
Yeah.
I don't like any of them.
I think if you're on the Bruins or the Kings or the Stars alternates
where your socks are predominantly black,
Sometimes I'm like...
But it's clear, though.
Just put the clear.
I agree.
Just use clear.
Why are you using black?
It's insane.
It's nuts.
All right.
Beautiful Beer League hotline.
Let's get into our power rankings.
Cannot move on until we agree.
Yeah, we're doing five again.
We're doing five again.
And it's getting way harder.
Way harder, Chris.
If you're looking at the rankings in the league,
you've got several teams who are it,
who are 30 points or higher on the year.
And the highest is 38.
Lowest is 30 at Calgary.
and that's 12 teams.
Like we're tight in the pack here.
Yep.
I believe for me personally, I've got a lock one.
I think I do too.
I actually might have a lock one, two, three.
Oh my God.
I definitely don't, but I do think I have a lock one,
just like we did last time because it was the Jets
because they were a billion and one.
Do you want to say your lock one on three?
Yes.
Okay.
One, two, three.
Caps.
Let me tell you why I think it's the caps.
Fuck.
Let me tell you why I think it's the caps.
The Cappies have
36 points in 25 games
2 points behind the wild
In the same amount of games
Same amount of games
The Cappies have not skipped a beat
After Avechkin went down
And I think that that has been pretty cool
Ovi's playing out of control
He was on like a hundred point pace
Definitely was going to break Gretzky's record
Based on pace
And he goes down with an injury
That could have been so deflating
And they're just still cruising
Dude you know what
I think that shows a lot of steel
I actually will
Was Wilder your team
I actually will flop this because we have to agree.
So I will go Caps Wild because, Dan, the Caps are a league best plus 31 goal diff this year.
When last year they were like minus fucking 40 in the playoffs.
And I was like, you are an embarrassment to the game and the Stanley Cup playoffs.
Please get out.
Please promptly get swept out of the playoffs, which they were.
To turn that around to a league best plus 31.
is so dope.
And it's improved goalie playoffice,
but they're also scoring a ton.
I think they have the most goals in the league.
Let me check that too.
Yeah, they have three more goals in the devils
in three less games for the most goals in the league.
That's awesome.
And that is like a 180 that I thought,
I didn't even believe in the Caps of summer that much,
but I was like even if they do stay a playoff team,
they certainly won't be,
have the highest win percentage in the league
and have the best goal diff, blah, blah, blah.
So for that, I commend you, and you're right.
Caps Wild 1-2.
I love that.
Caps Wild.
Now it gets tricky for me.
I think since we're doing this weekly, we've got to kind of be a little reactionary.
I know.
I'm going Devils 3.
I hate how many games they have over everyone else,
but the Devils are 7 and 3 in their last 10.
They just put an absolute ball-smacking.
on the Rangers. They look amazing. Jack Hughes is buzzing. He is on a 99 point pace. Brat is on
103 point pace. The D looks fantastic. I just think the devils are as exciting as it gets right now.
Can I potentially... You may. You absolutely may.
They have four less points, but in four less games. So a higher win percentage and eight and two in
their last 10, the Toronto Maple Leafs. Dude, okay, Leafs are my next team. So since you did you did
this for me. Yeah. I'll do this for you. Let's go Leafs 3, Devils 4. Do I want Devils 4? Oh, come on. I just
tried to be such a gentleman. Um, who's your 5? I felt very strongly about the lead. Let's stick on the
Leaves are three. I felt very strongly about the mess. And I was going to say, I might even put them three.
So we're going to go three. I like that. We'll go Leafs three. And now we need to handle four and
five. But let's, let's give them their moment. Let's talk about the Leafs for a second. It's what they've
done with Matthews being out.
Yep.
They're better without them.
Yeah, fair.
So maybe that's the answer.
That's the Pedersen trade.
Wow, that would be crazy.
We're going to get into a little bit of this in a second, so I don't want to go too far,
but the goalie play tremendous.
Stollarts has been tremendous.
And dude, I am the king of like, Barubi isn't the answer.
And like, this is ridiculous.
we'll see. Like if they lose in the first round, none of this matters, you know, but.
If they lose in the second round, none of this matters. Yeah, but, um, there's too much star
power on that team. I was worried that they were, I was worried that they were going to be one
of the like, oh, fuck teams, what happened? Like kind of Boston, what's happening right now?
Where not that Ruby was going to get fired, he just got hired, but just like, ooh, we kind
of thought this would change the culture. It didn't. We stripped the sea off to, like, that was
right for a, this totally worked or this totally did not.
work.
I agree.
And it's sick.
Like they are fucking playing great.
I agree.
No disrespect to Barubi here, but I actually am not ready to say that
Barube is doing.
I think this is a new coach bump.
Yeah.
I think that there's a new system and they're playing really well.
I think Tavares has been sort of given a totally new rule, not just with the whole
captaincy thing.
But I like the way they're playing because of a new system.
I don't, and that's Barubi.
Good job.
Yeah, yeah.
I don't believe that there's any.
fucking culture change that Barubi came in and has cracked the whip and blah, blah, blah, blah,
blah. I really don't believe in that at all. I don't think Barube is this revolutionary coach that at
his age, people are like, holy shit, how has the entire league been missing on this? I just think it's a
new voice and they're responding well to these new systems, but damn, are they responding well?
I think they're winning great games. They're winning a lot of games that I feel like last year we
saw them lose. And it is really amazing. And I just so much, I think Maddie,
Nyes is playing very well.
Is he hurt?
And I think Willie Nealander is just, I think Willie has, in Matthew's absence, I think
Willie's swagger has taken over this team.
I think he is the on-ice gameplay leader of this team right now.
We had that discussion with Tomer, where Tomer said he thinks he's the better player,
so many people lost their minds because they're like, Austin is a Selty style player,
which I agree with, but I do think Willie's talent and swagger, and we've seen it in the
playoffs.
I do think it stands stands out.
I think he is, I think he's a fucking bad boy.
Yeah, he is, bro.
And it's cool.
Okay, so now we're at four.
We need four and five.
There are really only three teams for me that are in the discussion.
All right, talk to me.
The devils?
Yep.
The stars.
Yep.
And fucking Vegas, dude.
Okay, so you're deading the Jets.
I think so because...
Like I said, reactionary, three and seven.
You're not in our top five, dude.
You're just not the fifth best team in the living right now.
You are not in our top five.
Agree.
Agree.
Okay.
So Vegas, Dallas, and Devils.
I obviously want Devils in here.
Yep.
And between Vegas and Dallas,
and I'm not going to say we're putting Devils it for you,
because I know that you're maybe not entirely sure on that.
Between Vegas and Dallas, for me, I think I like, I think I like Dallas more.
I think so too just by a little bit.
But Vegas, I just give them so much credit, dude.
like Stone's been out fucking so long.
Eichol is having the best year of his fucking career.
And they just chug along, dude.
Like we said many times,
they cannot afford a long injury this year.
And it's not been that long,
but it's not nothing.
And Stone was like leading the league in points
when he went out.
And he has been gone for a long time.
And they are like, what, dude?
We are nasty and we are going to win the Pacific again.
And fuck you.
So I just give them so much fucking credit.
And they're such a good team,
good structured, good coach team.
But Dallas, and the Sagan injure is a thing.
You know, like that's a problem.
But Dallas is just fucking scary, dude.
And they're seven and three in their last 10, too.
So I'd be okay going Devils Dallas in some order.
Yeah, I think I want, give me Devils 4.
Okay.
Give me Devils 4.
I just think that they're buzzing in such a significant way.
But then, yeah, Dallas 4.
Devils 4, Dallas 5.
And I do, before we move on, I do want to, in what you were just talking about with Vegas,
I mean, I, I've talked a lot about a guy that I think is going to win MVP that we're about to get to,
but I also, my huge pick of mine was Ikel.
And I got laughed out the room, not by you, by like people, some of the fans are like,
he'll never blast that many games and knock on wood, he stays healthy.
But when you talk about MVP, most valuable player, and we talk about like 40 or 10,
team. Jack Eichael makes that team go, dude. He's the Quinn, Quinn Hughes to the Vancouver
connects. That's Jack Eichael for the Vegas School of the Knights. It's insane how good he is.
Okay. Our power rankings. Caps, wild, leaps, devils, stars. Unbelievable. Let's kick it to
starting six left wing. I just alluded to him. Talk to me. Okay, we're going krill.
And NHL best 39 points after his OT winner last night, recording on Wednesday.
He has third in the league in goals.
You've said he's going to win MVP.
I checked bed MGM.
He's plus 240.
He's the favorite.
I was actually surprised that he was the betting favorite.
I know.
I knew it was like a hot pick.
Plus 240 on bed MGM.
McDavid plus 290 is next Nate Dogg at plus 450.
I'm actually shocked.
Nate isn't higher.
Like I know they don't often give back to backs,
but he's tied with Crow for the league lead in points.
And I'm like,
I totally hear you.
I literally Chris.
They're records.
Yeah.
I think it's just like,
I think the Vegas is looking at Colorado is so fucking broken.
They're so hurt.
And I think that they're probably being like,
he will probably suffer because of that team.
Kind of like Cooch last year.
Definitely.
Yeah.
Definitely, definitely.
But yeah,
I think that's a,
that's a tasty bet.
Tasty bet,
240.
And quick thing on Crill,
remember when we were talking to Tomer and I went on my little rant about
him being the highest paid player.
Yeah.
And Tomer was like,
you're going to pay him more than dry siddle?
Yeah.
Dude, here I am sitting.
Like, listen, I know we love talking about Connor, Nate, McCar, and Leon as the best players
and Kooch as the best five.
Why can't Krill be in this conversation?
He's leading the league in points.
He's young as fuck.
He's coming into his own.
Now there's a really good team around him with the Minnesota Wilde, like Leon and Connor have
in Edmonton, like Nate has in Colorado, like Kooch has in Tampa.
And he is becoming one of the best, like maybe Krill is one of the best players in the league.
Absolutely he deserves that much fucking money.
He's insane.
Correct.
Insane.
At center.
we just talked about him, Nate Dogg.
And last night specifically is probably the reason he's in here right now.
The Colorado Avalanche are fucking, they're devastated with injury, with goalie play.
So much is going wrong.
And in eight shots, they give up four goals, down four nothing to the Buffalo Sabres.
And then literally Nate Dogg went, no, absolutely not.
Scores the first, then gets multiple assists, then scores the fourth, and ties it up,
and then assists on the fifth goal.
And they come back in regulation and beat the Buffalo Sabres.
It's Buffalo.
Five to four.
Nate Dogg is absolutely insane.
He's got 39 points tied for the league lead, 30 assists.
He's just like doing everything to make his team better and dragging them through.
And we've heard he's been a bit vocal.
He's been a bit insufferable to deal with at times.
Don't blame him because he's a fucking winner, dude.
All he wants to do is win.
And that team's making it difficult.
A couple of things before we talk about Colorado and like, what do they do?
But like the Buffalo Cangers, dude.
It's just what?
Leads are different these days in the league.
Leads are different.
Like the penguins were up for one and the Panthers, you know, like, it didn't used to go this way.
And I love that it goes this way.
No game's over, really.
But you can't lose that game in regulation at home.
You can not lose that game in regulation at home.
Are you fucking kidding me, Chris?
Like that was wild.
You're just like in the position you're in.
You just need every fucking point.
It's like the most Buffalo loss I've ever seen.
It was the most Buffalo loss I've ever seen.
To the point where you're almost like Buffalo.
Yeah.
And also a message to my lovely.
friends on Twitter last night.
I tweeted out like the Colorado Avalanche are broken.
Yeah.
And then boom.
And someone was like this age poorly.
And I was like, yes, it did.
But also like they are broken.
But my God, no one does broken like the Buffalo Sabers.
But this is my message to Sabres fans.
Stop getting cocky.
When they're playing well, Tage is buzzing right now.
Shut up.
What have we learned?
What is the first rule of being a Buffalo Sabers fan?
You don't talk about the Buffalo Sabers fans.
Just let them play.
Every time you start talking and getting cocky, this happens.
Correct.
People got cocky on Twitter last night and boom, they blow it for a four.
Nothing leading.
They're dead.
Unbelievable.
Okay.
Right wing.
Friend of the program.
Yep.
We're going Lucas Raymond.
Seven goals in his last seven.
He's leading the wings with 27 points and 25 games.
But Dan, the wings are 10, 11, and 4, including 3, 5, and 2 in their last 10.
They're sitting at 6th, and they're very crowded, as I always say, Atlantic.
They aren't inspiring a ton of confidence for this playoff push to my eyes.
I completely agree.
Listen, I love the wings.
I love everybody.
But everyone knows I love the wings.
Dylan Larkin is my guy.
Do anything for him.
That was almost nasty goal last night.
Oh, I know.
He did.
It's called the making the bridge in soccer.
Boom, makes the bridge, goes back in.
Had him.
Had corby beat.
I know.
He had him.
I'd do anything for Dylan.
Do anything to see him in the playoffs.
So I will always passionately root for that team.
Obviously, I love Razor too.
Yep.
This team, they have never, with the ownership of the Detroit
at Red Wings, they have never fired a coach in the regular season.
Wow, that's crazy.
It's always over summer.
Anytime they've made a coaching change.
They have never mid-season fired a coach.
So I do not believe they're going to start right now.
I think that that is a mistake.
It's the first time, we always make the joke.
We don't want to talk about anyone's job.
This is the first time I'm saying I think Lalonde should be coaching in the NHL.
I don't think this is the team it should be happening with.
Yeah.
I think last summer, or excuse me, last season was the people were, after that losing streak,
people were like, does Lal need to be fired at that point?
it was like no.
Yeah.
But then when the season came down to the close and they didn't sneak in,
I was like, you probably should change the coach here.
They didn't.
Now here we are.
It's unacceptable what this team is looking like.
But we also both set it in the summer.
It was very clear that defense and goalie needed to be everything for that team.
And they didn't really address it.
I think Talbo has been great.
I think Lyons have been great.
But ultimately it's just like that wasn't enough.
Defense wasn't enough.
And dude, three, five, and two in their last 10, it's just so bad.
And last night against the Bruins, that's a game you have to win.
Like, you went up twice.
Yeah.
I just don't think the Bruins were, I think the Bruins in the first period put a lot of pressure on,
but like you, you've weathered the storm.
I think you should win that game.
Oh, man, again, if I'm a Red Wings fan, I do not feel like we are going to do enough
to unseat one of these top, like the Bruins are feeling like they're getting better under
their new coach bump.
Like, are you going to take them out?
You just lost to them.
So maybe not.
So I do not feel good if I'm a Detroit Red Wings fan right now.
It's insane.
What do you think about that?
Did you see that play where Zadora of slashed Razor and then got the penalty and then gave him a jab in the ribs?
Maybe I didn't see that one.
Zadorov gave Raymond a whack on the hand.
Yeah.
Raymond in place stopped playing and started shaking his hand like that.
Delayed penalty call.
They blow the whistle and then Zadorev went up and really gave him a cross-check to the ribs where Raymond went down.
and whole calamity announcers were like,
oh, you might get another one, all this.
And then after the game, Zadora was like,
I can't fucking stand people shaking their hands.
We're all getting slashed.
This is a man's game.
Stop fucking being a bitch on the ice
and like shaking your hand and embellishing.
Fuck off.
Where do you stand on that?
I can't tell if it's me liking the Bruins
because I like, I certainly like Lucas.
Enough that I'd be like, fuck you.
But I was a little bit like,
I kind of like that.
I do agree.
Don't shake your.
your hand because it's it's on purpose yeah like I guess if you went like this or the people watching us
if you were like and it was just a that reaction that's natural oh yeah but then the like the wag yeah
I'm like I'm like I'm like I'm 100% excuse me um I have done it yeah I have committed this this felony
yep I've been slashed up and I'm like oh fuck and I go like this and I'm doing it to be like
I just got slashed yep yep and people on the bench have been like fuck you pussy put your hand
away. And I'm like, yeah, you're right. Dude, I kind of like it. What I did see was the,
can you, if someone goes like this, stick comes up here and I go, whoa, and act like I got hit
in the face. And the guy's like, I didn't hit him. Is that challengeable right now?
Dude, there was a play last season where OV, someone tripped OV and they called a penalty.
And OV literally went up to the, it's like the first time in NHL history. He was like,
that is not a penalty. McCar did it too one time. Take that off the board. McCar finger wagged
to ref and then he put his hand back to it. But this one was.
they whistled it down and ovi was like no yeah which is sick they do it in soccer all the time
a card will come out and a player will be like no no no no no i fucking tripped on myself like don't do that
um i don't know if it's challengeable because the reverse happened last night where pasta
tossed one it was pretty late back door to zaka and he got the guy the defenseman went to lift
a stick and just bang right in the face and zaka's like oh and like limp back to the bench
and like bootie on the and out the call's like oh zaka like takes a high stick to the face
crawls back and I'm like this is a two-two game with a minute left yeah that's a and he was
bleeding he's like spitting up blood yeah that's four minute power play yeah and no one did anything so
I was like clearly this can't be challenged but that feels it's crazy to me that you can't be like
this is on camera he whacked him in the face couldn't agree more like I and I also think the opposite
when you stick lift which is legal and then their stick hits them yeah that gets called a lot and
I'm like fuck that dude like that's a good hockey play yeah I think maybe if there is a call
You can challenge it.
Yeah, I think maybe.
But I don't know.
All right, let's round out our starting six.
Lefty, we got Zach Wrenski.
12 points in his last five fucking games, dude.
Insane.
Insane.
Two goal, three assists, five point night against Tampa and a 7-6 OT win.
He's third among defensemen right now.
He's behind Kael and Quinn.
Jackets are on an unbelievable run here.
Unbelievable run playing way better than we thought.
This guy is, I feel like a lot of people.
have kind of forgot how good Zach Wrensky is.
Dude, he is nasty.
Yep, it's awesome to see him healthy
and see this blue jackets seem really coming together.
Because this is what you want, right?
If you're Columbus, you want to finish 6th or 7th this year.
100%.
And also, okay, see, see, see, see.
And also, I feel like I'm always,
the islanders get the,
kind of like the Caps get for me,
the treatment where I'm like,
I don't dislike the Islanders.
I just don't want to watch them in the playoffs
because I don't think they can do anything.
and they are currently, I think, dead last in the Met.
And that kind of brings me joy.
Because I'm like, okay, maybe it forces their hand too.
You know, where I'm like, figure it.
Yeah.
But I'm like, good.
So, yeah, stick taps to Columbus and Pittsburgh for going on a nice little right here
making something happen.
Right.
Speaking of Pitt, we're going Eric Carlson.
He's got five points in his last five, all apples.
He only has two goals on the year, actually.
of those five games Dan the penguins have won four in a row and Carlson is a plus one which doesn't
sound that good but he was a minus 12 on the year before this stretch so what I think is then dude there's
just like a run of left D being so nasty in the league right now and obviously Kail's the guy and
he he's been reasonably quiet which is why we didn't pick him this week but Carlson when
Carlson is contributing defensively too he's giving you a point per game and not being a dash
because he's not prime Carlson anymore obviously but when he's
he's that, then he still has significant, significant value. And hence why they've won four straight
games. You know, like when he's a minus five, but he had five points, I'm like, yeah, but you're
killing me. This is, this is good Eric Carlson. This is what they wanted. And if they got this
more often, they would be in the playoff conversation. Yeah. And he's buzzing. And goalie,
we're going to go Joe Wall. Come on, dude. Holy shit. What we said earlier, Toronto's playing
unbelievable. Stolars has been
unbelievable, but Joe is currently
6 and 2 on the year, 5 straight wins.
He's got a 2.13 goals against and a 932
say percentage. Third in the league.
He is
everything that they wanted him to be.
Everything that they wanted him to be.
And when he starts the year and they're like, well, we believe in Joe
Wall, that's the move. And then he starts the year hurt.
I'm like, well, here we go. And then we said, good thing you got
Stolars. That's huge. He plays awesome for you
in reserve minutes and still playing good in his starts
right now because they're going to split time.
but Joe gets back and is like, nope, I'm sick.
See, there was no injury issue.
Or there was an injury issue, but it didn't derail me at all.
That will be the difference for me, dude.
The goal.
If they are like, we have sick goaltending.
And everybody said that.
I'm not making that up.
But if they have actually very good goaltending,
then they have always had the firepower.
Yeah, because OEL and TANF have been good.
Like, it's solid stuff.
Insane.
Unreal.
All right, now we're going to get into what's the connection.
this is a fun little game that we're playing right now.
So what I'm going to do here, for anyone who's unfamiliar with the game,
C.P. is going to get 10 sort of trivia questions, if you will, for me.
He has to get all the answers.
And then the 10th question is going to be what connects all of these things based on the answers.
Last time we played everything was from the TV show, The Office.
Correct.
Are you ready, my friend?
Yes.
Number one.
after losing their franchise in 1993 and seeing the team move down south this team brought
NHL hockey back to the state in 2000 they lost their team in 93 it went down south and then
they brought hockey back to the state in 2000 okay so and how did we do that do you want me
to tell you if you're right or not no okay and and what's the question I just going to write down
my answers. The question is, what's the team name? Yes. Okay, so I think it's the Minnesota.
Oh, interesting, though. I wonder, you don't have to answer this, but it's either the
Minnesota Wild or Minnesota North Stars, because the North Stars was the team that left.
I will tell you the answer I'm looking for is the new team that came in 2000. Okay. So I think
this one's the Minnesota Wild. Continue.
After a full season of speculation over losing their starting goalie only to see it happen this summer,
their backup turned starter is sporting a better safe percentage than the goalie who moved to the
metropolitan.
Great.
Okay, so there was a ton of speculation, and then they lost their goalie this summer.
After full season of speculation over losing their starting goalie only to see it happen
this summer, their backup turned starter is sporting a better safe percentage than the goalie
who moved to the metropolitan.
So it's the team again.
No.
We're talking about the goalie.
The backup turn starter.
Oh, oh, he, so him.
Okay, I think it's Dustin Wolf.
I think.
You don't need to say, I think.
If you know, you can be confident, baby.
You're right.
I should be more confident.
But there's a few of those that apply, but I'm going Wolf.
Okay.
Number three.
At just 27 years old, this first overall pick has won a Calder,
three Rocket Richards, a heart,
and is the only player in modern NHL history to score four goals
in their debut.
Matthews.
Poppy.
Dude, what have run.
Number four.
This Swedish defenseman has been a top name this season for potential trade speculation
while also having a hot start to his year.
Okay, Swedish defenseman trade speculation and he's had a hot start.
He sure has.
Swedish defenseman trade speculation.
So Swedish defenseman, Dahlene Headman.
You know that both of those guys have not been trades.
I know, I know.
Is Rasmus Anderson Swedish?
Okay, I'm going to write that down and slightly pass on this.
This NHL writer, this is one number five.
This NHL writer, podcast host, an insider, is often considered
the Adrian Wojornowski of the hockey world.
Fuck.
Elliot Friedman I'm going with on that one.
Okay.
What is this number six or seven?
This is six.
Part of the 1967 NHL expansion.
This team pulled off possibly the biggest trade in NHL history in the late 80s.
Whoa.
Okay.
I feel like that.
has got to be the Kings,
but I don't know if they're part of the 67 expansion,
but biggest trade in history is making me think Retsky trade.
Is that 60?
What?
You don't have to know this,
but I wonder what round of teams was the 67 expansion?
It's very well documented.
Is that to 12?
Like, is that the...
Yes.
Okay.
I believe so.
I'm going Kings there, but I'll remember that one.
Number seven?
Yep.
This term that also shares its name
with a popular animated TV character
is used for NHL fans
who can't remove their bias
for their favorite team.
Okay, this term shares its name
with an animated TV character,
is that what you say?
This term that also shares its name
with a popular animated TV character
is used for NHL fans
who can't remove their bias
for their favorite team.
Okay, pass, but I'll get that.
Okay.
Number eight, this Canadian Center
won a Stanley Cup with the Washington Capitals in 2018.
A year later, he was traded to the team they defeated,
where he would later win his second Stanley Cup.
Ooh, okay, they were...
So he's on Vegas, or he was on Vegas.
Center.
Jack, Willie.
Chandler Stevenson, I think he was on the Caps that year.
Okay.
Number nine.
Yep.
This all-time L.A. King
is the franchise's all-time.
games leader while also leading them to two Stanley Cups.
This king is the franchise game leader and has two cups.
That's all it says.
Okay, I think my knee jerks are Copey or Brownie.
Read it one more time.
This all-time L.A. King is the franchise's all-time games leader
while also leading them to two Stanley Cups.
Yeah, so it's from this era.
Copey's fucking 37
Brownie played a while
Okay
All right
So which ones do you need again
No I think I'm okay
Because I remember the questions
I think I'm
I like Minnesota Wilde
Dustin Wolf Austin Matthews
Rasmus Anderson I'm not sure
Elliot Friede
Read me the Elliot or read me the podcaster one again
You got that one
Okay Elliot Friedman
The L.A. Kings
I think Chandler Stevenson
I think
Anzi or Brownie I don't know
I always say that wrong.
How do you actually pronounce his name?
Anja.
Anja.
And then TV character bias.
Let me see if I can dig into a theme here, though.
Are any of those egregiously wrong?
There is only one that I will tell you.
Don't tell me which one is yet.
Well, no, I'll tell you.
Okay.
The 67 NHL expansion one.
Okay.
That is correct.
A letter will be removed.
Okay. Oh, yeah, fine, yeah, that's fine. And that that counts. Yeah. Yeah. Okay, so, well, I'm looking at these names. I got shook.
So give the listeners all of your answers again. Minnesota Wild, Dustin Wolf, Austin Matthews, Rasmus Anderson, Elliott Friedman, the Los Angeles Kings, Chandler Steven.
and then
Copey or Brownie
and I don't have the term
which is a TV character
animated TV character name for teams with bias
or fans with bias
I originally went pink hat
in my mind I was like oh yeah you're like a pink hat fan
but that's more fair weather than
than bias I think
okay
wild
I feel great about this
yeah this is this is nice
this is right in the wheelhouse
yeah wild wolf
And do I know that there are so many people screaming what the answer is right now?
Yeah, which I love.
Wild Wolf.
I'm wondering if it's all this, interesting.
I feel bad that the, I had Nate with me.
Yeah, yeah.
Your solo.
It's nice to have a friend, dude.
It's nice to have a friend.
Um
Stevenson
I
do you need a hint
Not yet
Okay
Um
Minnesota
Because we got to keep chatter up here
Yeah yeah for sure
Minnesota
Is interesting because
Dude
At first it went wild
And wolf
Yeah
And I was like okay
Like we're in like
Yep
Well let me
Let me tell you
On that one specifically
Wild is correct
That's the right answer
Yeah
Yes
No no
But wild is
Oh, okay, interesting.
All right, that's a good hint.
So I wonder if it's like,
there's a lot of names in here,
which makes me think those are characters
from something, book, movie, TV.
And it's something set in the wild, maybe.
Tell me when you want me to speak.
Not yet.
Okay.
Matthews Friedman.
Anderson
and it's I think it's king
based on what you said before
which should give you another hint
yep wild and king
king
king of the wild
um
and I wonder
if Elliot is such
Elliot Friedman is such a unique
both of them you know
like I'm really trying to latch on to that
um
I feel like it's my instincts are telling me it's Elliot.
What do I know when Elliot from?
Do you want to, I have another hint for you.
Okay.
You said before your instinct is that these are names
from, that are then characters in the wild.
I'm going to say, stick with the first thing you said.
These are names.
Yeah, yeah.
Okay, so maybe someone's name is wild.
That's interesting.
That's interesting.
Okay, I know some people named Wild, I think.
Talk them out.
Olivia Wild.
Keep going.
The Wild Thornberry's.
Keep going.
Further away.
You were very close with the first one.
Really?
Very close.
Olivia Wild.
Oh, Oscar Wilde.
okay um oh oh okay hold on hold on um oscar wild
maybe these are authors maybe they are
c maybe they're authors maybe they are so it would be t s elliot yep okay okay
wow authors dude that is fucking really nice
So I'm making my answer for 10 authors.
So then I feel good about all my answers except for the seven TV character bias.
Well, you had the two separate ones for.
Oh, yeah.
Fuck.
But come on.
Well, it has to be Dustin Brown then.
Because.
Well, I have two.
Because Chris.
Oh, Pierce.
Sick.
Okay.
Could also be another one too.
Pierce Brown.
Oh, oh.
Dan Brown.
Oh, yeah.
Okay.
And then, um...
Yeah, Dan Brown is actually cooler because it's Dustin.
Dan Brown, Pierce Brown, TV character.
Give me that one again, number seven.
Now that I know it's authors.
This term that also shares its name with a popular animated TV character.
Very popular.
It is used for NHL fans who can't remove their bias.
for their favorite team.
Dude, for people that have never played,
and I hope you played last time we did this,
for people that have never played this game,
there are two things that can happen.
You can get all nine,
and you just can't get the connection,
and that's frustrating.
But when you have eight of the other ones
and you have the connection
and you still can't get the ninth,
it's the most frustrating thing that's ever happened,
and that's currently what I'm living in.
Very popular animated TV show.
But think about term.
I think you're, you're focusing too much on the character.
Because right now what's going on in your head is a billion different characters.
What do you call someone who is so biased about the team that they love?
They are a, fuck, dude.
They, I was going to say they're a dick rider, but I don't think that's,
I don't think that's a famous author.
It's not.
It's not.
Oh, dude.
Okay.
They're delusional.
They are...
Here, let me help you get there.
Yep.
What...
It would be a reason why you love a team.
Because I am a super fan.
Well, why would you become a fan of a certain team?
Because I'm from there.
Which would be your hometown, hero hometown team.
You've said the word a couple times here.
Hometown.
Hometown fan.
I now am worried that I'm going to say it, and you're going to be like, oh, yeah, I guess I've heard that.
But I'm like, this is one of the most common terms ever.
And also the second part of the clue, like, I can't believe it's taking you this fucking long to get there.
This is also another term for a hit in baseball.
Hometown knock.
You said the word.
You just need to add one letter to it.
I think this is dead air.
Dead air, I think I've got to give it to you.
Hometown bias.
Hometown.
It's one word.
Oh, so it's not with hometown.
Well, it's, again, I've said, you've said the word, and you just need to add a letter to it.
Oh, oh, oh.
Homer.
Correct.
Fuck.
So, that's really good.
The connection is authors.
Oscar Wilde, Virginia Woolf.
Jane Austen, Lewis Carroll, or C.S. Lewis, if you'd like. Hans Christian Anderson,
Stephen King, T.S. Eliot, Homer, Robert Lewis Stevenson, and Dan or Pierce Brown.
Wait, wait, wait, go do that again. Oscar Wilde, Virginia Woolf.
Jane Austen.
Jane Austen. What was the fourth question?
Or, excuse me, Hans Christian Anderson. I said Lewis Carrier.
That was like, fuck. I didn't even get that one. I didn't do Lewis Carroll.
I was going to do a Trevor Lewis clue, but I was like, I have too much King stuff.
Yeah, yeah.
Hans Christian Anderson, T.S. Eliot, um, Stephen King.
Stephen King, yes.
Homer, the Iliad.
Yep.
Hell yeah.
Robert Lewis Stevenson and Pierce Brown or Dan Brown.
Authors.
Authors.
Sick.
I'm going to give it to you.
No, no.
I didn't get, I didn't get, well, I guess I eventually got there, but I needed a ton of
help for Homer.
You needed too much help for home.
But I did get, I am giving myself authors.
Oh, 100%.
You got authors. I'm very proud of you.
Anyway, that is it for us this week at the Ampty Netters podcast.
Great stuff going on.
These rosters are crazy.
The league is absolutely buzzing right now.
We got some cool stuff.
Good time to be a hockey fan.
Very good time.
And have a great weekend, everybody.
Thursday, Pod, you know, weekend's basically here.
That's true.
So, you know, and hey, oh, this weekend, when you're looking at something to do Friday night,
Friday beers card game.
Oh.
It's been changing our pregame.
It's the almost Friday feeling whenever you want it.
They got the horse race.
they got, you know, most likely to, I love that one.
I love that too.
That one ends friendships, though.
It totally does, but I'll tell you what, man.
I mean, you all know this.
I'm a house cat.
I prefer hanging, you know, hanging in with a bunch of friends sitting around the table,
gassing some drinks, having a good time, eating a good meal.
But you can also do that at a nice pub or a nice bar restaurant,
and the card game is mobile, dude.
Take it anyway.
Dude, it's so fun.
It is, like, when you're waiting for your meal or, you know, it's one of those things
where you're like, let's go get some drinks.
And you're like, we're just going to a day bar or something like that.
It's like bring the card game.
Yeah.
It's so, so fun.
And gets the night, dude, on the right trajectory.
Yeah.
And then check out the Glory Days Pod.
Yeah, I was going to say, speaking of trajectory.
Yeah.
Glory's Pod is buzzing.
Fire.
You guys looking for more shows to fill your weekdays with?
It films right there.
Like, we are sitting right here.
It's right there.
I can see the set.
And yeah, the cast of characters that Johnny and the boys are bringing in.
Yeah.
The guy Johnny Menzel is hosting a great show.
He's at Shady McCoy, Tyler Hansborough just recently on.
Just great stuff, great stories.
We were making Hansborough shoot free throws.
He's got the record for most free throws.
You mean shoot free throws?
You mean just back free throws?
Yeah, and he's like, the rim's not 10 feet.
And I was like, oh, he's going to choke.
And then he's just buck it, bucket, bucket.
It's unbelievable.
But there you go.
There are your weekend plans.
Make sure your Christmas tree's up.
Make sure your Christmas tree lights are up.
Real tree, real tree.
Real tree all day.
And listen, until you get take, take care of all that and see us next time.
Make sure.
You skate hard.
