Empty Netters Podcast - Pacific Division Predictions for the 2025-26 NHL Season
Episode Date: October 2, 2025No one in the Pacific Division has been able to solve the Edmonton Oilers the last couple of years. Now it’s time for the Pacific Division preview and the guys need to know if all these contract qu...estions between the Oilers and McDavid had a negative impact on that team? Can the Kings give Kopi a gift of a cup in his final season? And of course what happens with Mitch Marner on the Vegas Golden Knights?? Plus, the San Jose Sharks vibe train rolls on and will be must watch TV. Beau Bokan of Bless the Fall joins the show to give his take on the Kings season. And the Charlie Sheen doc is MUST WATCH TV!! NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! Take advantage of everything BetMGM has to offer and be sure to use bonus code NETTERS when signing up to receive up to $1500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. Brand new Lightstrike flavor dropping this September called Blue Rush. Super refreshing mix of berry and yuzu flavors. As always, it’s non-carbonated, comes in a resealable bottle, made with 10% coconut water and 5% alcohol by volume. Check https://DRINKLIGHTSTRIKE.COM to find it near you Order your LUCY Today by going to https://www.lucy.co/Friday and use promo code FRIDAY for 20% off your first order. Next time you’re craving something cold, frothy, and packed with unapologetic flavor — crack open a MUG Root Beer. Find MUG Root Beer at your local store or head to https://www.mugrootbeer.com/find-mug to find out how you can get your paws on some MUG and be sure to throw them a follow online, @MUGRootBeer. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the empty netters podcast.
Brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
And with me is a man who has likely not washed his bed sheets in at least two months.
It's the little lad, Chris Powers.
As always.
What the fuck was that?
I don't know.
Mixing it up for you.
Unlike you, I've been a little lad about three.
I literally, I just did a, like I did a different accent that time.
Yeah, but it's always been little.
I'm telling you, check the game notes.
No, I think I called you an itty baby boy, one of the last two, for sure.
I can't believe you only went two months.
Do you think it's worse than that?
Well, here's the rub.
You live with a woman now.
For the purposes of what you're going for, I wanted to give the listeners the joy of the joke,
in which case it certainly used to be far longer than that.
No.
But now, my sheets get washed all the time.
I just don't do it.
Yeah, yeah.
It ain't me, babe.
But I'm digging.
What do you think you are worse with?
Your towels or your sheets?
Sheets, I'm on a college semester run.
I wash them once every semester.
I have one pair of sheets for six months.
New pair of sheets, six months.
Do you think that that's actually real?
Yeah.
That's crazy, brother.
And then towels, dude, I wouldn't wash a towel maybe ever.
But then usually something happens to it.
Yeah, why we watch the towel.
towel washes you.
That's when I'm most clean.
Yeah.
Tow washes me,
that's disgusting.
I usually, like, drop it in the shower or something.
Mm.
No, it gets too wet.
Yeah.
So then I'm like,
you're a disgusting pig person.
As always.
Fair.
Honestly, respect that take.
You want to get into a Pacific division?
I want nothing more than that.
Breakdown?
I want nothing more than that.
Closing it out.
I hate that we're done.
This is a great division.
I hate that we're done.
It is a great division.
We are wasting no time as we have.
with these last four episodes, we were getting right into the Pacific Division, breakdown and
predictions.
Unbelievable stuff with this division.
I think there's a lot of teams going to be a lot of surprises.
We're going to stick with alphabetical.
Yes, yes, yes, yes.
Sticking with alphabetical, we're going to get through these teams, we're going to talk about them,
we're going to see where they shape up, where they land.
This might be, I was looking at it.
And keep in mind, you're sitting next to a men.
man at the end of his pitiful rope.
I just wanted to hit another liar, liar reference.
Wow, nice.
Thank you for that.
You're sitting next to a man at the end of his pitiful rope, Dan, who just did Wild Seventh.
And just did.
I can't believe you did that.
I guess that's the same.
The sweet Minnesota people are going to be so mad at it.
I know.
And the Wild are so good.
They're nasty.
Yeah.
I want to talk about that actually after.
I'll show you something crazy after.
Don't let me forget.
Do not let me forget.
I would never.
I would never.
What else?
Fuck did I do.
I did something crazy in the Met.
You just.
I did, I did talk at sixth.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Talking in the Flyers sixth.
Anyway, point being, I've lost my mind.
And then I was doing this one and I realized that I might have lost my mind the most.
Even worse.
Yeah.
Like, I think I've been getting more and more ill.
Fucking sick.
And honestly, yeah, I couldn't be more thrilled.
Hey, I think the people like crazy CP.
Crazy Chris.
Couldn't be more.
What's, you know what's really funny is what you.
you just did as an improvement. Couldn't be more thrilled to start with the team we're starting with.
It's nice. It looks nice. Dude, since when can I not black my phone? Uh, one of the updates.
Crazy. We just found this out. But it's like, I think it's a matter of, um, if you leave it alone for a while, it then does.
Blacks. Yeah. Let's get into the Anaheim duck down. We'll stop wasting fucking time, dude. The
The Anaheim Ducks are the first alphabetical team in the Pacific Division.
So we will start with the Anaheim Ducks, 2025, 26, NHL season preview.
Last year, the Ducks went 35, 37, and 10 for 80 points.
They finished 6th in the Pacific.
This year, they will finish.
I'm going first.
Okay.
Three, two, one, fourth.
Fourth.
I swear to God, we didn't know that.
I'm fucking drunk, dude.
I swear to God.
I gave a preamble about how drunk I was.
now it turns out you're that drunk too.
I'm drunk on duck water. I'm drunk on duck water, dude.
Holy shit, Dan.
Why don't we start with best case scenario?
Because certainly that's what we're getting if the ducks finish fourth and in a fucking
playoff spot.
I love the roster.
Yep.
I love the roster, man.
I don't know what else to tell you.
I just think, end of the day, you look at the breakdown.
And listen, there's a big caveat.
And we'll say also, we'll also say this.
We are recording this a bit early.
So if any news breaks, re-won Mason McTavish,
Mason Bartholomew.
Yeah.
We'll put a little insert in here talking about that.
But I'm looking at this lineup.
I'm looking at this forward lineup.
Look at it without McTavish.
And I'm loving what I'm seeing.
You got Criads.
You got Leo Carlson.
You got Troy Terry.
You got Cutter-Gote, your son.
Second son.
Yeah, second son.
Michael Granland, Alex Colorn back in the mix,
Frankie Vitrono, Ryan Strom, Sam Calangelo.
I mean, that's the top nine,
and that's not with Mason McTavish.
I mean, you don't even want to get me going.
You don't want to see me raise this table up a couple inches, a couple.
If I start talking about the left side of their date.
Yeah, do it.
Jackson Lecombe, fucking weapon.
So good.
He doesn't even know how good he is.
He has no idea.
I'm telling you, this kid is going to be a Norfolk.
finalist at some point in his life, if not multiple times.
Olin Zellweger, disgusting, and then Pavel Minnikov.
You got Goudis, the captain.
You got Helleson, who's solid, and you got Jacob Truba, the Trubah,
sitting in on that third pairing, just doing everything he needs to do.
Just chilling.
That team, imagine being a fucking left wing trying to cut across the middle with Gudis and Truba.
Dude, this team fucks.
Dostal's nasty in that.
You now got Marazic backing them up after the trade of Gibber.
Dude, come on.
This team, you didn't say anything about this being a potential team because there's a few guys who are more veterany than the all potential teams we've talked about in the past.
But this team is riddled with guys that I really think are going to be tremendous NHL players.
Tremendous NHL players.
Oh, yeah.
I have said in the past, Dan, that when you hire a.
a guy like a
Mike Sullivan. Okay? And
I don't even want to get into the nitty
of Sullivan wants this heavy
four check system. Do you have
the players to do that? I don't want to do it.
Too granular. Too granular.
I don't want to do it. Agree. Here's what I
do want to think about just with my
cap. What kind of cap would I have on for this?
My middle school is cap. Okay? I'm a middle school
I'm a middle school hockey fan, right? And I go
like this. Listen, Mike
Sullivan had a team in Pittsburgh with some stars, some superstars, but some aging superstars.
Yep. Can we, and couldn't quite make playoffs. Comes to New York and I'm kind of like,
you're in a reasonably similar situation. I think the defense and goalies massively different,
which will be the difference. But my point is, it scares me when you take a coach that hasn't won
doing the same thing and try to bring them to your team. But in the reverse of that,
Dude, when you take a guy like Quenville who took a Blackhawks team that was young and full of
vigor, piss and vinegar, and took them to three fucking cups and a dynasty.
Yeah.
And then you put him on this team.
And I go, oh, that's exactly when I would want a Quenville.
Yeah.
Right here.
This moment in time in the ducks, if I could freeze them, I would give them a Joel Quenville.
And wouldn't you know it, Dan?
Who's their coach?
You got it, dude.
You got Coach Q.
There he is.
You got Coach Q.
There he is.
We saw him wheeling around practice the other day.
He looks fresh as lettuce.
I think Coach Q on this team is very, very exciting.
And yeah, you look at the points for this group.
And what's very interesting, you go down all the way down to eight on the list.
All guys that are on this team, knock on wood, Mason McTavish.
Coulorne had 37.
Then you go Strom, Lecombe, Cutter, Leo, Frank, McTavis.
Tavish Terry up to 55.
Not a lot of high point scores on this team, but 55 to 37 through 8.
Like that's a group that's all doing well.
I think we're going to pump those numbers up.
Those are rookie numbers in this rack.
In this racket.
And we're going to see those numbers pump up across the board, dude.
Frank, the tank, dude, he even said, like 21 goals.
He was like, that's way low for it.
He knew it.
He's going to pump that shit up.
I'll tell you what, man.
I just think this group, everyone getting better.
You're adding Chris Crider to this goddamn power play to this forward group, just a veteran.
Yep.
It is exciting.
Well, for best case scenario, Dan, if they don't pump those numbers up, they will split their differential and tip the fuck over.
Or worse yet, dude, and I have seen this implode.
Disagree completely.
I appreciate the bit that you're doing, but there is literally worst case scenario for this team is they finish sixth.
And they just, they miss the same thing.
They do the same thing.
They've got a new coach, a couple of new players, and they're like, oh, yeah, you.
You know, like we're just, we're a little further from the playoffs than we thought.
That is literally the worst case scenario.
I might, I might agree with that.
You just said they're going to implode you.
Fucking sell out, bitch.
If they don't score more, dude, third least amount of goals in the league last year.
The league, not the Pacific, but not the Pacific.
And you have Frank Vitrano and Cutter-Gotier on your team.
And I'm like, that, those two alone should put you in the middle of the pack of a goal-scoring team.
I know, I know, I know, I know, I know.
Best case scenario is fourth.
I think, but it's, it's everything you just said.
It's those guys wire in goals,
Kreider sniffing 50 again,
power play transforms.
You get about the same goal tending, right?
Because I, Gipper was good, actually.
Yeah, he's good.
And then that's your situation.
But I think Dostall is getting better.
So I think you can be a bit better of good.
Also, can I ask you a question?
Do me favor and fix your hair.
It's making me laugh too much.
I'm having a hard time looking at you and talking to you seriously.
Well, I lost my mind, dude.
Yeah, I know.
But, nice.
Looks great.
What could go wrong?
Mason McTavish.
Mason McTavish doesn't resign.
And yeah, you have this same sort of output.
You have the same output.
You have the same output.
Give me a surprise you just love to see on this team.
A surprise is...
Martha listens to her favorite band all the time.
In the car?
Jim.
Even sleeping.
So when they finally...
went on tour, Martha bundled her flight and hotel on Expedia to see them live. She saved so much,
she got her seat close enough to actually see and hear them. Sort of. You were made to scream
from the front row. We were made to quietly save you more. Expedia, made to travel. Savings vary and
subject to availability. I could see a, I mean, I just, I love jumps for all these guys. Yeah.
I like Minnakov. I think Minnikov, I thought he was going to have a better.
year than he did last year. And I think, you know, he got a bit of a knock missed a little bit of time.
I could see him making a big jump. I think a surprise is we're going to see. I really like a
Leo Carlson call. Sure. Like I, Leo Carlson having his like big boy year. I could, I could really
see. My surprise is one of these guys, and I'm not going to include Crieds because I think Criads is
doing this. Yeah. I think one of these guys in Troy, I'm including Mason, Frank.
and Cutter will have 35 goals.
Frank, Mason, Cutter, or Troy.
One of them would have 35.
And like that could be Leo too, but...
I love it. I might even say two of them.
I might even...
Well, I think Cries is going to do it.
I might even say two of them.
And I think Crieds will be the set.
So you're going to think they have three...
3.3.35 goals scores.
But that's not even my surprise.
My surprise is this.
Dostal, we all think, is a good goalie.
But I want to say this.
His save percentage every year
that he's like played more than 10 games.
I'll even give you the four games,
but more than 10 games.
901, 902, 903.
Those are his last three seasons.
Goals against, 378, 3333, 310.
So getting slightly better in each, right?
But if this year he's 904 or 905 and 3.02,
that is not good enough to be a first seat in the Pacific.
And luckily, this is his, going into my age 25 season,
he's going to give you, he's not a Vesda finalist.
I know I'm a little fast and loose with the Vesna finalist.
He's not a Vesna finalist, but he's going to give you a 9-1-something and a 2-5-2-6.
And you're like, oh, shit, that was a good jump.
And that's exactly what we thought was happening.
When we traded Gibson, thank God you did it now.
Thank God we're a four-seed.
Something crazy happens every year, Dan.
How many times will I have to say it?
Something crazy happens every year.
Does.
The duck's jumping to the four-seed.
Bang.
I can't believe you're on that with me.
That's fantastic.
Absolutely love it.
That's fantastic.
Our next team alphabetically is the Calgary Flames.
The Calgary Flames
2025-26
NHL season preview
last year
they went 41, 27, and 14
for a very exciting
and overachieving
96 points
and finished fourth
in the Pacific
this year
they will finish
let me know when you think
you know where you have them
where'd they finish last year
fourth
yeah yeah yeah yeah
yeah
I know, I know.
Right there.
The bitter end.
Same amount of points as the blues.
96, both of them.
Blue's in a tie break.
Sure.
On like a regulation win tie break or something.
Yeah, I think that's exactly what was by one game.
God damn.
Okay, I'm ready.
Led by the rookie sensation, Dustin Wolf.
This year, Dan, the Flames will, you want to go first or second?
First.
Okay.
This year, the Flames will finish.
Three, two, one.
Fifth.
Yeah.
Wow, we're in lockstep.
Yeah.
We're in lockstep.
Flames, we're going to get into.
I actually can't believe who you...
I'm actually shocked with you right now, dude.
I think we're going to get into a group of teams in this division.
Yep.
That I just...
I am looking at their rosters and I'm like, what's the plan here?
You know, are we dumping?
Are we offloading?
Are we figuring shit out here?
And this team is loaded with young talent I'm very excited about, starting with who we
You just said Dustin Wolf.
Friend of the program.
Zane Perrick.
Very excited.
Very excited.
For Zane to get a full year here.
Friend of the program, Connor Zeri.
I'm looking for a big jump.
Big jump.
I really like the idea of Morgan Frost and Joel Farabee on this team together.
Okay.
And then obviously also, friend of the program, McKenzie Wegar.
Anytime you got McKenzie Weiger on your decor, you're going to be competitive.
That is genuinely high.
That's a fact.
It sounds to me...
like Rasmus Anderson is moving.
And I frankly, I can't believe it hasn't already happened.
I can't believe it hasn't already happened.
I'm expecting that at any moment.
And I firmly believe if Rasmus Anderson moves, I think Codry moves too.
Oh, Codry's been on the trade deadline block every year for the last two, three years.
Dude, he's been so good, bro.
He's been so good.
He loves a team in points last year.
He's a great player.
He's getting you 30 goals.
lock no question every time.
35 last year.
Nas, let's go.
Jesus.
He's amazing.
It hasn't been on the show yet,
but I'm going to call him
a friend of the program too.
Yep.
We've got some good nights together.
We've got some great times together.
Nas is the best.
Flames have 11.6 in cap space
and they got Nas at 7 mil.
I mean,
fucking A man.
How many teams do we keep talking about like,
oh, that 2C, I mean,
Nazam Khadry is a 1C,
but on a luxury,
he's a luxury two C.
On a 2C.
And after this year, his no move, full no move is gone.
It, okay.
I believe you're always on that shit.
I wonder if he takes the opportunity this year to be like, hey, let's make a deal of a team of my choosing.
Okay.
Rather than a, you know what I mean?
Maybe next year, maybe next summer.
He gets dealt somewhere that he's like, motherfucker, didn't want to go there.
interesting he's 34
I think you got
next three years
are really what
what Nause has given you
so I think this team's competitive
I think
I think they've got pretty good contracts
the Huberto one looks like it kind of hurts a little bit
but he even he had a pretty solid year last year
sniffing closer to what they need from him
but I
they do feel like a team
to me with the guys that we just mentioned
in Zane and Zeri and Wolf
even in Farabee and Frost.
Sharon Govich, I'm going to add too.
I think Sharon Govich is a great player.
I think that they are, they're like flirting with transition,
and they're not quite doing it.
And I just think it's like, maybe we go for it.
Maybe we go for the transition.
Here's my question for you, before I even weigh in, actually.
I felt like last year the flames were very much a team in a rebuild.
I was like, okay, this is they're falling apart.
You're going to see a lot of offloading this year.
And then Dustin Wolf happened, right?
And before we even get into that, if they move RAS and Nause, that sounds to me like a,
what could go wrong, like we're beginning the what could go wrong part.
But do you think they could trade away both of them and still be lingering and like we're fighting for playoffs?
No, to me, it's like, I mean, if you trade both of them, I don't think Nassam Khadry gets dealt until the deadline.
Okay.
Anderson is like, we've been talking about it all summer.
I know, I know.
And we heard there was a deal with L.A. that he shut down.
We've been hearing a ton about Vegas, especially with Vegas's situation.
Yep.
With Petro being out for so long, maybe the whole season.
So Anderson, I'd be shocked.
If he plays up to the deadline, something's gone wrong.
Or I just don't think, right?
Like, what if they're just good?
And he's like, you know what, dude?
I don't think.
Weeks is in his ear every day.
Like, come on.
True, true.
But I don't think a player can so openly talk the way he has.
with respect without being like, dude, I'm not playing here anymore.
Yeah.
I don't think it's possible.
You know, there's an argument to be made that we just saw it in a sense with Besser.
Yeah, but like, I think these situations are different, personally.
Okay, so for me, my, I think the flames, I almost initially picked them to be quite low in these rankings because I feared a Dustin Wolf regression a little bit.
Not for his career just for this season.
I know I'm beating a dead horse with that take, not about Wolf, just about second year players.
But that happens all the time, all the time.
But, and I have to go back and fact check this, but I swear it's less impactful for goalies.
I think if you're just a good goalie, you are like, people are like, oh, no, I've been watching tape on him and we can beat him high glove.
And I'm like, well, dude, they do that to NHL All-Star goalies.
Like, people are, you know, getting to read on him.
Dustin Wolf is just good.
and I think he's going to be very good.
And with a goalie that good,
and there's a reason you'll hear someone I have falling later
is because of this too.
When you have a goalie that good,
I just think he will keep you competitive.
Igor Shusirkin kept the Rangers in the mixer last year,
and they were off, no doubt.
No doubt.
So I'm not calling Wolf Cheshti.
I'm just saying I think he's good enough
to keep them in the mix in the Pacific.
And I will even say that's kind of their best case in error.
This flames team is interesting to me, Dan,
because they're not, I said the Preds have such a high
volatility. I think they could be nasty or eighth. I think the flames could be fourth or sixth.
Yeah. I'm like, no, I agree. You live right here. So what's, what's interesting to me about the
flames is I actually really love the team and I just talked about like the transition. And what
sucks is, what did I just say? They have 11 something in cap space. Yeah, 11.6 in cap space. And if you
look at their team, dude, they're losing next year, Anderson and then I'll
a lot of very like one to two million dollar contracts. So Anderson at four point five is the only
thing coming off really. And I'm like, you guys are in a great, great shape. Wonderful. And you do
wonder, Cadre is still performing incredibly well. Part of me is like either you trade Anderson
and maybe Cadry, maybe Huberto if you could figure it out. But here's my thing. And I don't,
You're blowing it up.
Well, just let me finish.
I'm not saying all of them.
I'm saying a version of them.
Huberto was second on this team last year in points with 62, 28 goals.
There is always, in my opinion, with the cap space they have and the fact that Anderson is only...
Yeah, peanuts.
The question for this team is like, dude, are you guys not at all in a transition?
And when you're looking at this roster and like your oldest...
guy is backland at 36 who is on a really team friendly 3.2 million dollar contract next year.
I'm like, you guys are fine. Like figure something out. Make one trade. Yeah. Make one trade here.
And all of a sudden, like, they might be like, oh no, you're right back in the mix, especially with Wolf.
Dude, it's a, it is a dream to rebuild around the pieces you're rebuilding around. That's why I find this team
super confusing.
Yep.
Because Calgary's super fun.
I think they're a fun team.
And with the young guys that they have, I do wonder, like, I look at
Goddrey with at least three years left of really solid hockey.
Weeks has five years left of solid hockey.
And then you've got all these, and everyone's on a good contract.
Yeah.
Except Huberdo.
So I am, they're either a, okay, we're in a transition here.
Maybe move two of these, two of those three guys, maybe.
Yep.
And yeah, we're going to figure it out.
We're probably going to miss playoffs again.
Or it's like, I don't know, maybe move one.
And all of a sudden, you have even more cap space.
Born from the flames.
And Phoenix.
Yes.
Exactly.
It's, it's, yeah, yeah.
I'm into it, dude.
Coronado jump, Zeri jump, Wolf stays hot and you're in the mix.
Big surprise for me.
And you're going to hate this.
You're not going to believe it.
I'm probably going to be wrong before this episode comes out.
Rasmus Anderson plays the entire season for the Calgary Flames.
And then he resigns.
And then he resigns.
And he has a hell of a year.
What's his career high?
I'll tell you what.
I think it's something in the low 40s.
50.
Oh my God.
And then a 49 and then a 39 and then a 31 last year.
So I'm telling you, Razmus Anderson plays the entire season for the flames.
He goes high 40s again and then remains a flame.
I mean, if they, I'll tell you what.
A glory story here for Calgary
Is yeah he stays the whole season
They make playoffs and he's like
We got it I'm in it's Whigs dude
I'm telling you weeks is gonna be like this
You're not going anymore
You fucking move
You don't fucking go into I see you go
Don't move don't blink
And then he won't
And then he's a flame for his whole life
I almost just quoted Van Helsing
And I'm so glad that I didn't
I wish you had
I do love that
You got a surprise
You got a flame surprise
I love that surprise by you
My flame surprise is gonna be
a, yeah, let me get 20 goals from weeks.
Oh my God, dude.
Team Canada, come calling.
If he gets 20 goals.
Eight.
Team Canada come calling it if he gets 20 goals.
No, give me 20 goals for weeks.
Okay.
I'm into it, dude.
That would fire me right up.
That would fire up, what's his neighbor's name?
Roger or something.
What the fuck's that beauty's name?
Fucking shoveling snow.
I bet that guy will be fired up if we get 20.
Yeah, I think, you know,
What could go wrong is a lack of progress.
Yeah, yeah, lack of progress.
Dude, Wolf regression.
If Wolf isn't Dustin Wolf again, and again, his career is going to be fine.
But if he is like, ooh, I've kind of got figured out next year, they are actually in trouble.
Yeah, they are in trouble.
They are actually in trouble.
Next up, the Edmonton Oilers of Edmonton.
Dude, why do I always do that.
And I always want to say, I'm like the Edmonton Oilers of Edmonton.
Really?
Yeah.
I don't know why. Maybe I've heard you say that.
It's definitely me. I've done it.
We are doing the Edmonton Oilers 2025-26 NHL season preview.
Last year, they went 48, 29, and 5 for 101 points.
They finished third in the Pacific.
They paid the playoffs.
They went to their second straight Stanley Cup final.
They lost their second straight Stanley Cup final.
This year, they will finish.
Tell me when you know.
I'm ready.
I'll go first.
Three, two, one, third.
Second.
Oh, they start caring about the regular season more, Dan?
No.
Always caring about the regular season more, Dan?
I think there's just a lot going on with this team that is going to be highly motivated.
Yep.
And have a refusal to start slow, a refusal to slip.
Which they always do.
Yeah, serious.
This is a good, this is a funny take by you because you usually go in this entire run of division previews.
Yeah.
and correctly, I think, you have often cited the McTavish, the Luke Hughes, the krill,
these contract delays as problems for these teams.
And here, you're saying it actually might do the exact opposite in Edmont.
I don't think it's going to do the opposite, but here, tell me if this is crazy.
I actually, because if I were on that team, this is how I would look at it, truly.
I think the players are completely unfazed by it.
Because here's the deal.
Whatever happens happens.
Yeah, out of their control.
It's so out of their control.
When Mrs. Mason say, control, worry about what you can control.
Yeah, worry about what you can control.
And truly with the Connor McDavid contract situation, I know there are tons of diehard
Oilers fans who are like, shut the fuck up.
He's obviously resigning.
This isn't even worth talking about.
And all of you media people talking about it are just adding fuel to the fire.
Fuck you.
And I get that.
And then there's other ones who are like, I'm genuinely terrified.
And I get that as well.
And that is why I think if you're in this locker room, even a guy like Leon, who we've said forever, they're like, those two are best friends.
There's no way this could happen.
There is a way it could happen.
And I think Leon knows that.
And he's like, obviously I want him here.
And obviously we talk, but it's his life.
It's his decision.
I think all of that is just making them go, dude, you know what?
Just for the love of God, we can't talk about this all year.
Let's just play.
I think that's what it is.
I genuinely think they're all like, fuck it, dude.
Like, we are not going to change his mind.
And I think the only way they do is by performing.
And it's like, and sure, you could see that as motivation,
but I think it's a nothing thing for them.
Honest to God, I really do.
What's, yeah, that's great.
What's that song in Coco?
You know, that Pixar movie?
Remember me?
No, no, there's a, there's a member of their family.
I know.
I didn't even want to put you on black.
That sucks.
There's a member of the family who I think is named Bruno that they don't talk about.
Yeah, we don't talk about Bruno.
We don't talk about Bruno.
Yes.
I think that is what's happening in the Oilers team.
I think that's possible.
We don't talk about God.
Yeah.
Like, that is, that's it, dude.
I can see it.
I can see it.
I can see it.
I have said a few times that there are teams that have just too good for anything to go wrong they could ever miss.
The Panthers.
The Panthers can't miss the playoffs.
Yeah.
It would be impossible.
The Edmonton Oilers with Connor McDavid and.
Leon Drysaddle cannot miss the playoffs period ever in a million years.
They could run one billion simulations of...
And they will always make playoffs.
I do need to say, though, this team has...
And I love your take, but this team has a thing happening.
Like, it's like, oh, God, this sucks.
This is annoying.
And they lost guys that we like a lot in a Cory Perry, in a Jeff Skinner, in a Connor Brown.
Connor Brown is a tough loss
This team's roster
that went to the final
And God did
I'm not getting in this fight again
But this team's roster went to the final
Was not deep enough
To win
And now they have lost even more depth
Ardvinson gone
Even more depth
And still have
Whatever the goalie situation
Is that you want to call it
And I'm not getting into it
But they still have the goalie situation
And Zach Heimann is going to be out
Till late November
Yeah
And I'm like, yeah, that's not good.
This team, dude, it were, again, three is literally their floor.
I think those guys are that good that they get one finished three.
I agree.
But I am worried.
Now, you can see, put it this way, you can see why Conner McDavid isn't doing backflips just to resize.
Yeah.
You know, so I think what was interesting last year is they added Jeff Skinner and Victor Arvinson.
And we said in our preview last year, we were like, if those guys pop off.
if they find a rhythm with these two of the greatest players in the world,
holy shit, this team could be great.
I think I could almost verbatim remember my quote.
And I was like, if they don't, it's going to be a problem going into playoffs.
And Victor Arvinson had 27 points.
Jeff Skinner had 29.
Yeah.
And that was a problem into playoffs.
For the first time in a little while with this group,
I actually do think that they have interesting young guys in Maddie Savoy and Isaac Howard in particular.
I also do want to shout out and kind of a serious shout out here.
Pud Colson just found out that his father passed away very unexpectedly.
And we just want to give our hearts to POD because that's horrible, horrible.
Our love is with you and your family.
Horrible time and just, you know, thinking of you and everyone, hopefully in Oilish community rallies around him.
And I hope the team rallies around him this year.
But Pod is another young guy that I'm like, he showed some great flashes last year.
And I think, again, the first time in a little while that this group has had some, like, young guys that I'm like, oh, interesting, what could they do?
It is in that same space to me, however, where, you know, Trent Frederick, unbelievable.
Legend.
What a guy.
Was really hurt last year when they got him.
I think he's going to be a bit better.
Right now they have him, like, on the first line in place of Hyman and, like, that's just never going to be the case.
I think Trent's a great player.
And I think they got him on a good contract.
But guys like Trent, guys like Caponin, Henrique, Mangiapane, we know what they're going to do.
I don't think any of those guys are going to be this 65, 70-ish point guy.
The question is, can the Savoys, the pods, the Isaac, it's not going to be Isaac.
I just don't, I think first, like that would be crazy.
Not yet.
But they do need some of those guys to really click in in a big way if they want to
win the cup this year. But to your point, we just, we saw it last year, you're going to get a
collective almost 300 points from Leon Connor and Bouchard.
Is that sick, dude? And, and they're going to do that again. Yeah. Probably more.
No, maybe not more. Conner? They were, I mean, they were close. They were like 20 points away
last year. So yeah, maybe more. Um, you're going to get that again. And,
that's why they'll never be lower than three.
They'll never be lower than three.
And it's...
Give me best case scenario, though.
I think it's...
They could win the division, definitely.
Yeah, oh, I agree.
100%.
Best case scenario...
I got a lot of questions at the top of this division.
Best case scenario is one of those young guys gets you 60 points and they're dangerous.
They look dangerous.
And it's like, oh, this is that extra piece.
in the playoffs that's going to get them the cup finally.
I worry that this team, I think,
I just think the veteran and toughness leadership they lost in Corey Perry and Connor
Brown is like really bad.
Even if these guys are like young and producing points,
playoffs is a different beast and all these kids are young.
And I think the hymen injury is not great.
And you want, it's a weird injury too.
And you wonder his skill set like that injury coming back,
How long does it take him to get back into form?
I also think Ekholm is just way more hurt than people realize.
A lot of hockey on those legs.
A lot of miles on those legs.
He's been hurt.
It feels like every year.
And I think that they're worse than they were last year.
I look at this roster and without, calm down guys, without the big jumps,
this is a worse roster to me at the look of it than last year.
And I'm going to jump in my surprise.
I think Stu Skinner is their goalie all season long and into playoffs.
Oh, wow.
I think that is the surprise of this year.
I think he is their goalie all year long.
And I just don't, I don't have faith in, not Stu's play.
I don't have faith in the vibes and the fan base, certain members of the fan base, to not let things be tumultuous yet again.
And I think that that's bad news bears for this group.
Who did I say needed the fast start most?
the predators, I think.
Yeah.
And, but this one's my close second.
Really?
I don't think, I guess they don't need it because they don't care.
They just don't, like, the last two years, they just haven't done it.
So mad again.
I'm like, calm down.
I don't know.
I think that, I think if they start slow, I think they'll probably go, whatever, we've done this
two years in a row.
Yeah.
We don't care.
Best case scenario is, for me, is, you get one of those jumps and Stu finds his piece,
dude, whatever it is.
But, like, he, he touches God and finds the goalie that everyone believes he is.
I don't even think that.
like that he was an all-star two years ago.
Yeah, but that was kind of Ugazy.
But dude, like that, don't you think that just happens again?
And people, like, it's, I don't know.
If you're saying he goes fucking full dominator,
and all of a sudden 30 games through the season,
he has like a 9-36 save percentage of then sure.
But like, I don't know if that's possible.
Yeah.
What if I can someone say?
Like he lost, someone was like he lost 15 pounds.
And I'm like, did he need to lose 15 pounds?
That was it, dude.
That was it.
I don't know.
I'm saying that's best case scenario.
What could go wrong?
I'll tell you what could go wrong.
Connor McDavid goes,
I'm not playing for you, dude,
and good day.
And the entire fucking city
loses their minds.
Here's what I think the reality is.
I believe
he is going to resign with this team.
Yes.
As do I.
I also believe
if Connor McDavid doesn't resign,
he is going to become
an unrestricted free agent
because I don't believe
there's any world where Connor is comfortable leaving this team mid-season. And also we've talked
about it, I don't know that there's a trade you can make that doesn't just like implode the
world. It doesn't enrage the fan base. Yep. The, what possible return can you get? And,
and the, the question is, is Bowman prepared to go, I'm going to make a trade that is value addition?
could potentially be worthy of it
because we're definitely losing him
and he just looks at the fan base and goes,
what the fuck did you want me to do?
Did you want me to let him leave for free?
And I think a lot of fans would be like, yes,
I would want you to give us one more shot with him.
Okay, I have a question.
My surprise was going to be,
there's a huge trade in Edmonton.
I was going to leave that open for Connor,
but I don't think it is,
but I still think there is going to be a huge trade.
Because at some point, Dan, you can't just go,
oh, we did a deadline deal for like this depth guy,
I'm like, yeah, maybe it's going to hurt, but like trade R&H for some difference maker or whatever, but I just, this is insane.
Nuge is interesting.
I didn't mean him specifically.
I just mean whatever.
No, no, but I was about to counter you with who do you think that they can trade that's going to make this big difference?
Because they ain't trade in Leon.
They ain't trade in Bouchard.
They can't trade nurse.
Like, no one they can move is going to make this big difference.
And the question I would ask is their ass up against the cap, as I are.
always say, nudge only makes 5.1. Yeah. What does Hyman make? Uh, Hyman makes 5.5. Yeah. So, like,
dealing either of them, you can only bring in a guy who makes that. New rules. They waited too
long. So I'm like, what do you think is going to make them so much better of trading a guy like
that? Yep. And I think that, I think they would go and like Connor would go, I'd rather nuge.
Mm-hmm. Anyway, if, oh, what? No, it's just, if, because I don't want to stay on this much
longer. But if Connor goes, I'm not getting traded midseason, if your take is right. And I know
you're like, I think he's going to resign, which so do I. But if your take is right and he goes,
I'm either resigning or I'm leaving for free. If he leaves for free, I just don't know how that
isn't a villain arc. And maybe you're like, it is, whatever, who cares? But if Connor's like,
I'm, I love Edmonton so much, I don't want to be traded midseason. And so, I don't want to be traded midseason. And so,
I'm going to walk.
I'm going to leave them in the dust for free.
For the first time ever, in the shock of all shocked
to Edmond fans who think I don't like that team.
And for the first time ever, I'd be like,
that was actually so fucked up.
Yeah.
Don't you agree?
Like, if he walks before free.
I don't think, I don't agree.
I don't agree because I,
I believe that there's a world where he doesn't know.
There's a world where he's like still figuring it out.
And when he's done what he's done for this franchise,
I'm like, you can do whatever the fuck.
Sure, for sure.
I agree with that.
And I'm always going to be pro player here.
I genuinely, I love this dude.
Like, as we said, like his rookie year, I bought a Connor McDavid shirt because I was like,
I fucking love this kid.
My thing with Connor is he, I believe he's genuinely conflicted.
I think he doesn't know what he wants to do.
And it is, in my opinion, within his right to go,
I am going to go through another season with you and
playoff run with you. And if we get it done, amazing. If we don't get it done, it is what it is.
I wish you will. And then, well, no, not even that. Maybe not that. But like, he's like,
and then I will make my decision. Listen, that's tough. But he has earned his right to do that.
You know, what could happen, dude, is the, and now I promise we're done, but is the, um,
marner shit. Would I be like, you, somebody tampered with him? And now you have to trade me
something. Because, you know, and I'm like, oh, come on. You got to trade out of this anyway.
And it's, you know, like, we talked about the Matthew Kachuck thing. And the class
he move it was of him being like, dude, I'm not signing.
So figure it out.
The ship has sailed with that, right?
Because you got to do that before the draft and all that shit or like early in the
summer so you can figure out your team.
So the ship has sailed in that regard.
And again, dude, it's just like, yeah, we can move on.
But it's so hard to trade a guy who makes $12.5 million a year.
That cap is very difficult.
So who's about to make moronic money?
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's, okay.
So you got them two, I got them three.
Next team.
The hometown Los Angeles Kings.
Come on.
The LA Kings 2025-20206 NHL season preview.
Last year, they went 48, 25, and 9 for 105 points, finished second in the Pacific, made the playoffs, lost to the Oilers again.
This year.
What type of a fucking idiot buffoon would have picked them to beat the Oilers?
You're looking at a couple.
This year, Dan, they will finish.
Are you ready?
Yeah.
You want first?
No.
I go first.
Three, two, one, first.
Third.
Damn.
And dude, I told you I'm drunk.
I'm told you I'm absolutely drunk.
I love it.
I love it.
And let me start.
Yeah, please.
This team was, I thought, a surprising second last year.
Would you agree with that?
No, I think I picked them exactly.
What Tommer did for sure. I remember us both.
No, Tomor and I were both high on them.
Surprising second for me, but I see a lot of the reasons they were second in this team still.
Couple guys, I think QB is, you know, I watched the video that was the King's best 10 goals last year and like six of them were cube.
And I was like, that's so gas.
But you're going to get a ton out of him.
You're going to get a ton out of Brant Clark.
doy's healthy
you're going to have a healthy Dewey
and the OVy thing
from last year, Vibes, Vives, Vives, Vives, Vives.
And we said maybe the Caps are still drunk
on OVey retiring.
Well, that's assumptions.
We think he's retiring this year.
You know what is fact
is your captain is retiring in Los Angeles.
So if you want to talk about a team running on Vibes,
it's going to be this squad.
So I love that for them.
And my first prediction is due to a couple
question marks with the other team
I know we're all thinking about.
But just my best case scenario, Dan, is you get production.
This team is deep if they play to their potential.
I'm not even saying they're all NHL potential team.
I'm just saying if you look at these guys and you start tallying the goals in your head
that they could score, I love it.
And the team defense they played last year, I go, you can make a run,
especially if the oilers slip a bit, which I think they will.
So it becomes a two-horse race to the division.
I think they can take them down.
I love that take.
I love the shape of the team.
I really, really, really do.
Like you just said, I think the, I don't even know what we decided to call them, the AK line,
because we can't call them the three letters line.
Yep.
Got to be careful there.
That's actually awesome that it's all AKs.
Yeah.
The AK line was so gas last year after they got Koozy.
The fact that they brought Kuzi back, I think they're going to be great.
And absolutely, I believe heavily in the Copeland.
The copatar bump.
I think Hugh and Fiala found a sick rhythm last year.
And Laugh, for me, is the biggest.
The way that fucking kid came out and scored like 15 goals.
It was epic to start.
And then really slowed down.
I think that changes.
I think Laugh clicks in.
I think he's bigger.
I've seen him.
He's a bigger player right now.
I think he's going to be more of a vet.
And then Fogel, De Noe, and Morsi is, that's in contention.
for the best third line in the NFL.
And I think
there's improvements to be had
for these guys. And you got Cory Perry looming
whenever he's back. And like people forget
to... Slotting in anywhere.
Like, Turk is a great
fucking hockey player. Kiel Thomas is a great
fucking hockey player. These are guys
that are, like, they could be all over the line.
They're going to be in the mix. It's exciting.
I like Armia on this team.
Brant Clark, I can't talk about enough. I've already done it.
don't need to fucking double wrist or him more than I do.
But Brant Clark is a future Norris guy.
He's already looked fucking amazing in preseason.
He's going to get a, you know, he already had a full season,
but it's just like a full season of knowing what to do.
Hiller is going to be like, I'm not fucking, I'm not messing around with you.
The only thing for me is the defense.
Yep.
After, though, after Mikey, Drew and Clarkie, I am like,
Eddie is a stalwart ledge too.
Yes.
Dumlin and Cece were,
I have no issues with the ads.
I do have issue with the term.
Sure.
They're eating a lot of cap space and like people forget, dude,
like Copie's money is coming off the books,
but like Cope only makes seven mill.
Like I think a lot of people thought he made more than that.
He only makes seven mill.
You got Kempi's contract that's going to be up to.
Kuzamenco is going to be up to.
Like, L.A.
in a weird cap situation. Yeah. And the fact that you gave four and a half to Cici until
29, four to Duma until 2028 with those guys coming off. I am a bit like Holland. I don't
know what you're doing. So I think because of all that, this year is actually a big like,
you know what? Let's be a cup contender. We got to be. So I think that this team is the team.
I think that there might be moves to make at the deadline, but I think the way they're all going to
play, this team is the team.
And I'm, I'm, I think I'm very excited.
My best case scenario, I think, is that it is all, they're treating it like a barn door
fever, dude.
It's our last set.
Give it fucking everything we got.
And, and the fears that you just laid out, which I have to, what did I compare this to?
Maybe it was the Kane's goalie situation.
But essentially, there's things that hurt you in the playoffs.
thing, but don't hurt you in regular season as much.
Sure.
Like that.
And I think the King's age and speed is a factor in the playoffs.
Yeah.
But in the regular season, though, I'm like, you're okay right now.
For sure.
And we're trying to fix that or whatever.
And there's only a few teams that really hurt you with it.
But in the regular season, my best case in here is they go, one more for the gipper, dude.
And then they make this happen.
What could go wrong?
Again, injury is not allowed.
What could go wrong?
with the Kings.
Father time,
yeah.
Father time,
I think,
is their greatest enemy
this year.
I genuinely don't think
we're going to see
regression or a lack
of progression
for guys like Q,
laugh,
Clarkie,
Mikey,
those guys are fine.
Father time is the only thing
that can hurt this team.
And I look at that
in Cope.
I look at it in Drew.
I look at it in Kemper.
I look at it in,
Not so much Kemper.
Dumer, C-C., like, yep.
If those guys are just like so battle-worn that it starts to hurt, that's an issue.
I am genuinely not fearful of that.
Okay.
I think Drew after the surgeries, after getting healthy, looks like he's in fucking fantastic
shape.
He's moving great.
Copey looks great.
Yeah.
So I don't think it's a worry, but I do think that's the big thing.
if only thing that could go wrong.
Give me a surprise on this team.
And what did you have?
Oh, you have him third?
Yeah, give me a surprise on this team
even with a great season
that you're like, wow.
Quentin Byfield leads the team in points.
Wow, dude, that is actually an awesome one.
That would be fucking sick.
It's probably going to be juice.
I know, and he's going to score 40
even though I bet him to score 40 every single year.
And he may have betrayed me last year.
No, he did not.
But watch your fucking know.
But this year.
But this year, 35, dude, leave me on 35.
God damn.
Have tucked 35, too.
I know out of fucking nowhere.
That was awesome.
So I'm going to go depth.
I think you're right.
Laugh.
Yeah, okay, I'm either going to Clarkie.
I'm going to do it two, okay?
Clarkie scores 13 goals
And
Love that
Morsy
Goes
Don't do
I almost said that
And I was like he will get mad if we say that
33
33 talks for Trout
33
He's gonna be pissed at you
Why dude
Because he's gonna be like
Why are you putting that pressure on me?
Because he needs it
Because I said it to him two years ago
And he did it
I love it
He needs to hear it
Uh, going to be a really, a lot of eyes on the king season.
Yeah.
Oh yeah.
For a lot of reasons, but this copi thing, it's going to be crazy.
Big, big time.
Going to be crazy.
Um, yeah, that's all I'm going to say about that.
Okay.
Let's, uh, let's take an ad break and we'll come back and finish.
Quick ad break.
You know I love talking to you guys about BetMGM because they are my favorite app to gamble on,
and I want you to do it with me.
Okay, so download that BedMGM app.
Use promo code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
and you will be amazed how much cool stuff happens.
When you start betting, if your first bet loses,
you can get up to 1,500 back in bonus bets,
which is an amazing deal.
Come on.
That's why I got it in the first place.
Then I know hockey hasn't started yet,
but we are so, so, so, so close, so, close.
Literally like five days.
But until then, my goodness, we've got football going.
We've got baseball playoffs going.
There's odds boosts.
There's parlay tokens.
All this amazing stuff cooking in the app.
and you are missing out on it.
You are missing out if you don't download the app
and you don't use promo code debtors.
So please, please, please sign up today,
use our promo code and then have as much fun as I'm having.
It is awesome.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 8778-8 HOPE-NY or text HOPE NY for New York.
Call 100327-50-50 for Massachusetts, 21 plus only.
Please gamble responsibly.
Call 100 Next Step for Arizona.
100-800-10-0-0-0-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only.
subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable
in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
See bedmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available
in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
All right, let's get back into some Pacific Division
predictions and previews.
Next up is the San Jose vibes.
The vibes, dude, little sharkies.
The San Jose Sharkies.
The 2025-26 NHL season preview for the San Jose Sharkies.
Last year, they went,
20, 50, and 12 for 52 points,
finished with the worst record in the league and the Pacific.
This year, they will finish.
You want to go for a second?
First.
Three, two, one.
Eighth.
I kind of did at the same time by accident.
I don't know why I did that.
It's hard.
When you hear three count,
that's what was happening to me the last couple episodes.
I just went.
You hear a three count and you just go.
I just went.
I respected.
Dad said eighth.
I said seven since I talked over him.
here's another one I changed
last minute
I had a make
I pretty much everybody has a mate
I just wonder
I wonder
if those
you look at that
second year sometimes
on some of these teams
that were really viby
and they just get a tiny bit better
and they're having so much fun
that I'm like
ah
they could they could
I don't think they can go that high yet
and they don't even want to
they don't even want to
They're going to get another great traffic, but I just think that they could get up to seventh.
Yeah.
I think they could too.
It's possible.
It's going to be really close.
I don't think this team's going to be that.
I mean, the vibes remain so preposterously high.
Yeah.
Their defense does scare me.
I really, I think Orlov, I think Letty, Klingberg.
Like, there's vets now.
I'm like, all right, all right.
Obviously, Ferraros, great.
Shout out Mar.
But I do.
wonder if they're just so young.
They are. And dude, they
don't need, every
Sharks fan listening, be completely
fine and happy finishing 8th. Yeah.
This does not matter at all because I promise you it won't be
a 52.8th.
You know what I mean? They will be way
more competitive. Correct. So you don't care.
I'm not even trying to put pressure on you.
I just think
man, like Asker off
some of the ads on the back end
to just shore it up a bit.
I think you buzz in the
a shark tank could be enough on its own to get him into seventh. And I guess that's my best case
scenario, truly. My best case scenario is Mack and Will doesn't have that dip that we've seen. I know
he's didn't win rookie year, but we've seen that rookie year dip. They don't have it at all. They're
Mac especially as like a generational talent and they just persevere. Misa is great, has a great
sturdy rookie season and he's competing for the rookie video the whole way through. Definitely. And I mean,
you know we have I love graph still so like graph gets in the mix gets becomes a regular in the in the
lineup yeah this is and askroff is good ask rough is like oh hell yeah we got it that we have a goalie
that's best case scenario yeah not enough people talk about uh one william eccland on this yeah
um that dude is only 22 years old and he was second on the team in points with 58 and he
signed a $5.6 million extension until 2028,
2009, I think. And that is insane. That is insane. Like, this team has a billion dollars.
And obviously, they're going to have to pay all these young guys. But like,
there is not a single bad contract on this team, uh, except for Kerry Price. And,
yeah, best case I know is Carrie Price plays. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Do you hear Toph can convince
some of the young guys that he was going to suit up? No. He was like, dude, he's actually healthy. Like,
he's going to play. And, and, and, yeah, and, yeah, but he's, yeah. And, he's, he's not. And, he's, he's
they were like, what?
So yeah, you're going to have to pay all these guys.
I do not, you know, you're going to have to pay Will and Mac at the same time, which is going to be tough.
But they're fine.
These contracts are insane.
The fact that you got Eckie at that low of a hit is remarkable.
This, I genuinely can't see a team with a brighter future.
Genuinely.
Yep.
And I just think it's so fun.
Everything about them is so fun.
The shark tank is so fun.
Their jerseys are fucking sick.
Sick.
The fact that they got me.
in the mix here too.
It's nuts, bro.
It's so nuts.
They've got such a funny fucking collection
of olds and youngs.
They got the Utes and they got the Unks.
And the Unk crew is so funny.
Yes.
And like there's just such good dudes.
I would love
to be a part of this team.
And that's what I think so interesting.
And I think those vibes just carry them through.
What could even...
Nothing.
It's funny.
Yeah, usually we talk about
nothing could go wrong
for a team like Florida
or whatever, or even Edmonton.
And to be fair, fans, we have put a kibosh on injuries.
We do not say injuries.
We do not will those into the world.
If you're out on injuries and I look at this team, I go, what could go wrong?
And I'm like, nothing.
A sophomore slump from maybe two of the boys.
Yeah, that wouldn't even phase me.
Me either.
What's so cool is I think we saw Smitty slump in the beginning of the year.
I think he got out to a slow start and then he cooked.
I mean, the fact that he finished the year with 45 points, just, just, just.
just shy at 20 goals.
Like, yeah, that's so awesome.
Yeah, they're, they're fine, dude.
Yeah, I'm so with you, dude.
I think if I'm a Sharks fan, as I said, don't stress at all.
One of the most stress-free seasons you have in front of you I've ever seen for a fan base
because worst-case scenario is Mesa kind of stinks just as a rookie and Will and Mac don't play well.
And you guys have another 52-point season.
Yeah, and all of them are under contract and you're like, yeah, we're fine.
And I go, who cares, dude?
Enjoy Gavin McKenna.
What, fuck me, can you imagine?
What a world where you could finish eighth again and vibes remain as high as humanly possible.
Yeah.
Okay, give me a surprise then.
Will Smith, 30 goals, 70 points.
That would be incredible.
What did he finish with last year?
He finished with 18 goals, 45 points.
I literally just said it.
Yeah, I know.
I was trying to remember.
How many goals?
18.
No, no, your prediction.
30.
30 goals.
That would be fucking sick, dude.
Okay, then I'll go back.
Give me Mac.
He went 25, 38, and 63.
What a fucking year.
Jesus.
It's fantastic.
What a year?
And only 70 games, too.
Yeah, wow.
Give me...
He was a dash 31, though.
Yep, but we don't, we don't care.
No, I'll say it to him.
We don't care about that at this juncture.
I don't need you on the master's leaderboard, dude.
I don't need you there.
At this juncture.
Actually, okay, here you go, Dan.
Will and Toff and Mac.
30s?
All over 30s.
You're out of your mind.
30 for Will.
33 for Toff.
35 for Mac.
Okay.
Sick.
I was going to say, it's just going to be so fun watching Ty just score 30 again.
Again.
God.
So Sharks, you're going to be close to the bottom.
I hope you get one up.
Actually, they probably hope their eighth just so they can get another insane pick to this team.
Maybe that's best, maybe it's the Bruin situation.
Dude, what's funny is if they were to finish, if they finish last and they, let's say they get the one and they get Gavin, they legitimately might be like this, this is too much.
We have too many of these kids now.
Like, I don't know how.
Like, you will eventually have to pay Mesa, Will, Mac, and Gavin.
You're like, we can't do this.
They're staggered though.
You know, you're like, I figure this out.
Yeah, what a luxury.
My God.
Okay, another year in the bottom dwelling for the sharks, but you're going to be okay because the feeding frenzy is coming soon.
Yes, sir.
Next team up, the Seattle Spunk, the Seattle Cracken.
2025-26, NHL season preview last year.
They went 35, 41, and 6 for 76 points.
They finished 7th in the Pacific.
This year, Dan, do you know where they're going to finish?
Yes.
You got to go first or second.
First.
Three, two, one.
Seven.
Eighth.
Only because I made my sharks pick seven.
Yeah.
Someone had to go here.
I'm putting the Seattle Cracken in timeout.
I knew you were going to do that, dude.
I knew it.
Tell me why.
I'm putting them in timeout.
And I think they have every single piece available to shut me up.
And I want to be shut up.
And I hope it happens.
Their first year was so fucking magical.
It was so fun.
I think we saw massive regression last.
year. We did. In, in, like, across the board. And I, that is just unacceptable soldier. Yeah.
Correct. So, I don't, my take is I need them to grow up. Yeah. I need them to grow up. And,
and right now, Dan, you're right. There's, there's, there are young guys on this team. Maddie Baneers,
obviously is a, you know, still very young, unbelievable player.
But they have too many guys who are their vets now to be playing the way they played last year.
Like, Capo Caco, I know that it was an addition, but Coppocco, Jared McCann, Jordan Everly, Chandler-Stevenson, Mason-Marchment, new guy, Jaden Schwartz.
You guys are dudes that have no excuses.
You know how to play in this league.
You know how to be great players in this league.
It's time to be great players in this league.
And then on the D side, you know how big of a Vince Dunn guy I am.
Brandon Montor, friend of the program.
Lindgren, you added, Alexiak, Larson, these are all fucking pros.
Yeah.
This is a roster of pros.
And here's the thing.
Good pros.
Yeah.
They're good pros.
And they didn't play well last year.
And I'm putting them in timeout.
I'm putting them seventh, and I'm like, fuck you for doing this.
You have such a cool group and a new team and new city.
Jess is a fucking amazing coach.
Get your shit together.
When you look at their stats, and we've read a lot of teams like this.
And I think people get greedy with points in this league where it's like, if you're not scoring 140 points.
You play too much NHL and you think everyone needs to have 75 points.
100%.
But you look at it, and it's Jared McCann leading the team with 61 points.
And when I check their goals for it, they're kind of right in the middle of the division.
So even though that's low, they're not falling way behind.
No, no, no.
But they did give up the second-most goals in the Pacific.
That's something I need to be improved.
And it's by a wide margin, but the sharks give up a lot of goals.
Yeah, yes, sure does.
So it's by a wide margin.
That needs to be cleaned up because to your point, bro, these are pros who shouldn't be,
that shouldn't be why you're losing because you're sloppy defensively, right?
If you're going to lose because we couldn't get enough goals to go in.
That's why Vegas lost in the playoffs this year.
The goal scoring dries up.
Yeah.
It's not so much because you're like, well,
We can't protect our own zone.
That has to improve.
And I think you have a chance to do that.
And Decord, I think, will make a great jump.
And because he's...
Decord and Grooby is a good tandem.
Yes.
Oh, my God.
So you're thrilled about that.
There's so many guys I love on this team.
And, God, getting that taste of the playoffs,
I really thought was going to do so much for them in the immediate future.
Well, yeah, but we talked about, right, this team, similar to what we've said is a knock
on Carolina in the past.
This team doesn't have a star.
Yeah.
They don't have a star for-
Not yet.
Yep.
Do they have guys
who could become that?
I hope turns into a star, yes.
Yes, Maddie Baneers, absolutely, first and foremost for me.
Been working a ton on his skating, and I'm excited for his year.
And they need him to be.
They need him to be.
You wanted Shane Wright to be.
Can we talk about Shane Wright really quick?
Of course.
Shane Wright
stared down the Montreal Canadiens at the draft and then fell to fourth or whatever.
Yeah, I believe so.
And you are now thinking, are the Canadian is going to pay for that, or is Shane right a massive bust?
And at the start, it was like, oh, God, right?
As a 19-year-old, it doesn't even touch the league, basically, as an 18-year-old.
Was that his 19-year-year-year-old?
I can't remember.
But basically, he goes to Seattle, gets eight games, scores one goal, one-assist, two points.
20-year-old, Seattle, eight games, four goals, one-assist, five points.
Last year, 21-year-old, Seattle.
79 games, 19 goals, 25 assists, 44 points.
Now, as the fourth overall pick, if that's what it was, which I think it was,
we have a higher point plateau, certainly, than 44.
Sure.
But is there any, that's a great turnaround.
Like, Shade Wright is now all of a sudden on a path to being like, oh, okay.
Like, if he's 24 and he's like, yeah, I score 70 points a year.
I mean, I go, good pick.
Absolutely.
Good pick.
Of course.
there is no doubt that Shane Wright with 44 points last year is incredibly slept on.
It's crazy.
19 goals, dude.
Incredibly slept down.
What's funny is when you look at that.
He's 21 years old.
When you look at that draft, Slavkovsky went one and he had what, like 51 points last year?
And I think there's a lot of Habs fans who are like Slavs, dude, Slav's waking up, Slav's insane.
Totally.
What do you have 51?
I'm checking right now.
Slap had 51, 18.
One less goal, by the way.
18 goals, 33 assists.
51 points. So like 51 points, seven more points than Shane Wright. Less goals.
Simone Nemek, not, hasn't really, really played for the devil's Logan Cooley, amazing.
Yeah. Then it's Shane Wright. Cutter. Amazing. Uh, Yurocheck, we're going to see your check.
Kourchinsky, not much doing. Marco Casper, great player, Maddie Savoy. We're going to see, he's been
moved already. We're going to see what he does. But Cutter, Dean. But what I'm saying is, like, no one,
we're going to see the first real year of Rutker McGrody here, Frank Nazar.
last year, what did Frank have?
I'll tell you, but Cudder, Dan, real quick, also 21, obviously.
82 games, 20 goals, 24 assists, 44 points, same amount of points.
And we are like, Cutter's a mega star in the making.
Like, it is a very untalked about thing, how Shane Wright has totally redeemed himself.
You are completely, this is a completely good pick.
Yeah.
And now Seattle goes, we got a steal on our hands.
Yeah, and like, Daily Faceoff has them as like the fourth line center.
And I'm like, Shane Wright is your second line center for sure.
Again, Frank, since you're, I don't want to put you on the spot, but you have a guess?
For who, sorry?
Frank?
Only 53 games.
Yeah, oh, 53.
I'm pretty sure he had like 34 points.
12 and 14 for 26.
26, okay.
But yeah, lower game size.
So, yeah, it's like, he is, it's insane.
They've got about the fourth fucking line.
I'm like, you have a Shane Wright.
Like, Shane Wright's lurking on this team where I'm like, wait, is he nasty?
Shane Wright, the narrative around Shane Wright is crazy.
And it's very untalked about how what a redemption story this is.
Oh, sick, dude.
So if that keeps going up, great.
But yeah, for me, this team, what could go wrong?
No one emerges.
Yeah.
No one emerges.
And yeah, I think best case scenario is all you fucking great pros on this team,
you get your shit together and you start kicking everyone in high gear.
Unfortunately, though, I don't see playoffs even in best case scenario.
yet, do you?
I could.
I could see a, frankly, their first year.
It's almost like a whoa.
McCann scored 40 that year.
You know, it's like, I could see a year where like every one of these pros has like
their close to their ceiling.
And again, I don't think any of these guys are sniffing 100 points.
But it's one of those things, see things where like if eight guys have like 60 to 70 points,
like they get in playoffs.
Yep.
Yeah, okay, I'll give you best case scenario on that.
is it, but it's, it's, um, it's a big ask.
It is a big ask.
And then what could go wrong is no one takes a step.
No one emerges.
Yeah, no one emerges.
Give me one surprise that you love.
Um, I think a big bounce back year from Vince Dunn.
Show me 65 to 70 points.
Love it.
Uh, no, show me 65.
60 to 65.
Um, I got to do to Maddie the same thing I did to Trevor Moore, put a lot of pressure on him
because I've been betting on him to,
40 every fucking year. Yeah, you sure have.
And this year, Maddie, hear me loud and clear.
See it. 30 burger incoming. 23-year-old, 30 goals. Give it to me, please.
65, 68 points. 30 goals, 68 points. Come on.
I could see it. Come on. Okay. The next team. This one, people are going to get pissed at me.
The Vancouver Canucks. The Vancouver Canucks, 2025, 26 NHL season.
preview. Last year, they went 38, 30, and 14 for 90 points, and they finished fifth in the
Pacific. First. They finished first. No, I'm saying. Oh, that's what you're going. Oh, you're going
first. Okay. This year, they will finish. Three, two, one. Sixth, sixth. Sorry, I just. And I,
you did the reverse. I didn't, no, I didn't have my list in front of me. Oh, I'm,
this is when, when the second you went ducks four, I knew we were careening towards.
this and this is the one I feel like is um I'm the least sure of holy fuck I you're the least
sure of this yeah because there's talent on this team I feel utterly certain with this pick okay
tell me why um I don't want to sewer uh yeah yep yep jd here but like we talked about it with
jd over the weekend I think this this I don't like this roster
you're really
I hear you
by the way
I look at it too
and I go
what are these lines
I've said a million times
I think
I said it when we did
our top 10 thing
the other week
I think Quinn Hughes
is a top 10 player
in the NHL
I believe in Elias
Pedersen in a monstrous way
and I think he's going to
have a major
major bounce back year
but even with that
I just don't know
what we're talking about here
Quinn Hughes led the team
last year with 76 points
and then there was a massive
as a defenseman
yeah I know
and then there was a
massive drop off to number two and three with 50.
And I love Brock Besser.
I do.
Yep.
Brock Besser had 25 goals, 25 assists for 50 points.
I think Brock's going to probably have like 35 next year.
Me too.
He's going to bump up.
After that, with the exception of Petey,
everyone on this team and their point production is exactly what I think they're going to do again.
Yeah.
Is Evander Kane going to have 80 points for you next year?
70 points for you next year?
60.3 next year?
I don't know.
I think, and granted, I picked him six, too,
so I'm with you.
I think this is going to happen.
And I would say, what could go wrong is
Elias Pet, actually,
in this case, you need to allow me
to do a health thing.
Please.
What could go wrong is Thatcher Demko
can't, will never be healthy again
for the rest of his life.
And I mean 100% healthy.
I don't mean he's hurt and need surgery.
I just mean Thatcher Demko,
with his hip situation,
it cannot play goalie consistently at healthy anymore.
And that scares the shit out of me if I'm a Canucks fan,
which is why I have them six because I just can't trust that situation over 82 games.
And Elias Pedersen, who I think is nasty, doesn't quite zoom back up just because the noise is gone.
Now he's wearing noise-canceling headphones and now he's a hundred-point guy again.
I don't know. I don't know.
What could go wrong? He doesn't.
Quinn Hughes fucking leaves because he's like, bro, this is.
a joke. Get me out of here. And Thatcher Demko can't play no more. Yeah. Nightmare fuel if you're
Vancouver and maybe you are eight. Yeah. I just, again, I don't, I don't like the way that this
roster has been constructed. I was so happy for this team. Two years ago. Yeah. I mean, so awesome.
Like we were on paper. They're always good on paper. And then they were nasty. I was also so happy
for this team when Brock Bester came back. Yeah. I thought that was just a marvelous way.
kind of weird, Dan A, that they're not good on paper anymore.
Like our whole shtick was like, the Canucks are good on paper, and now I'm like,
well, you know, like they did, you know, they lost J.T. Miller, which is a massive loss.
Oh, yeah, God.
But I'm with you.
It does feel like, I'm like, what change is so significant.
But it does feel like it.
And, yeah, man, I don't know.
Demco being a healthy Demco, which he fucking better be after that contract.
That is crazy town, if not.
But a healthy Demco changes things significantly.
But again, I don't know.
I think Marcus Pedersen's a great, great player.
I think that was a really good trade.
But is Elias Pedersen, too, a really solid guy that's going to help out Demco?
How's Myers' health and game?
Forbert, same deal.
the the roster doesn't fill me with a ton of confidence.
If you're looking at a second line of a Vanderkane, Phil Hedel, and Lekermaki, I am a bit worried.
Yep.
And keep in mind, that's a second line that has Jake Debrusk on your first line.
And I love Jake to—I love Jake.
I love Jake's going to— Jake—I've said, I think Jake is like a 30 goal, the 25 assists, 30 assist guy.
But it's like, I don't know.
give me
is best case scenario
that they steam makes the playoffs?
Because I'm seeing people pick them
to make the playoffs.
Yes, yes.
Best case scenario is
I think it's 100 points.
Their fourth,
maybe third seed,
that would shock me.
But I could see a fourth seed
getting in.
Worst case scenario
is the first 20 games.
Yeah.
Worst case scenario for me
is the first 20 games
and it's like,
it's looking bad.
It's like much,
not much,
but it's below 500.
and just nothing's going.
Elias Pedersen isn't playing that well.
And you're like, oh, God.
Give you a surprise, and then I have a question for you.
A surprise is...
Don't say Connor Garland, or you will be fought by me.
A surprise is a significant trade before Christmas.
Unfortunately, that might be true.
Fans, that's not a Quinn comment.
It's not going to be Quinn.
but there's a significant trade before Christmas
would be a surprise.
Long time listeners,
no, I'm obsessed with Connor Garland.
I think he's incredible.
He scored 20 goals the year before,
22 in his second year in the league.
He scratched 19 again.
I just, I'm telling you.
The 30's coming.
He has 30 goals in him.
Man, you're a big 30 goal guy.
I'm telling you, he has 30 goals in him, dude.
I know he does.
That's the surprise,
because they've got to get goals from somewhere.
Question for you before we leave the Canucks stand.
I'm not sure, and I'm being dead ass right now.
This isn't even a bit.
which I'm often doing, but I'm being completely serious.
I'm not sure that you can have two Elias Patterson's on your team.
If there's any team I can do it, it's the Vancouver Canucks because of the Siddins.
You're allowed to have multiples.
Listen to me.
Listen to me.
They set a rule and they've established a situation where the Vancouver Canucks are allowed to have multiples with Swedish players.
This is such a good answer, dude.
It's the truth.
It's the only team.
They can have two clones on the team.
Well, and they need to be Swedish.
You're allowed to have Swedish multiples.
I just can't fathom.
Like, sometimes when I'm drafting fantasy football,
I don't even want two guys from the same team.
I can't imagine having two guys on my team with the same fucking name.
I legitimately think they did it as a bit.
There's no other explanation.
You can't win like that, Dan.
There's no other explanation.
You can't win NHL games if there are two guys with the same name on your team.
And I stand by that.
There is truly no other explanation.
Could they legally, legally do a Goldberg-Rust Tyler situation, which was illegal in that movie?
And forget the helmet off thing.
But I just, I don't think you can put the guy in the wrong jersey, but couldn't you legally say that is Elias Pedersen?
I don't think so because I think because, maybe literally because of NHL rules, Elias Pedersen, too.
I think National Hockey League is listed as Elias Nils Pedersen.
There's no way that's going on his jersey.
No, no, no, no.
It'll be Pedersen on the back of his jersey.
That's what I'm saying.
I'm pretty sure that legally...
Because his number did.
Changes.
That they could do that.
And also, I now would like to petition the league to put Peterson, parentheses, 2, and parentheses
on...
I'm also going to say this.
On his jersey.
If the Siddins, at no point in their NHL career, went out on the ice with each other's
jerseys on and played a full game, that is a huge misconduct.
That is a huge missed opportunity.
Massive.
Huge.
Massive miss.
And frankly, if I were the coach of that team, if I were the GM of that team, I would have gone,
this is funny enough to do it if they dock us a game.
We'll take the fine.
We'll take a game, whatever.
It's just like you have to do that.
And if you didn't, if you didn't, guys, you blew it.
You should be embarrassed.
Yeah.
Okay, the last team of the Pacific Dan,
fittingly, this one's a good one to talk about last.
The Vegas Golden Knights.
2025-26
NHL season preview
last year
they went 50, 22, and 10
for 110 points
so consistent
finished first in the Pacific
made the playoffs
this year they will finish
first time actually in our last team
we don't have the same I think
you go first
three two one first second
hard not to go first with this team
yeah very hard not to go first
with this team especially after their player
they traded for this summer
They're really good.
They're really good.
The reason I didn't do it is copy drunkenness, losing Petrangelo.
That was the only thing I was hanging my hat on.
Yeah, I get you.
Kings Chaos.
Last Barn Door fever, last push, last set, baby.
Petrangelo out.
Then I saw this article that said Petrangelo might try to play at the end of the season.
and I was like, if it's not the most Vegas thing of all time,
that the year they lose LTIR,
they somehow will get back Petrangelo anyway.
Like, they will do this anyway.
They pulled it off.
Best, I mean, first, they could win first without best case scenario,
but what's best case scenario for the Vegas Golden Knights?
I know what it is.
Best case scenario for the Vegas Golden Knights.
is either Mitch or Jack
scores or sniffs 40 goals
and they show that one of them
can do it.
Not even can do it.
One of them takes on the responsibility
of one of us has to score.
That is so good.
Mine was just going to be Mitch Marner,
not that he's been bad ever
because he had been awesome,
But Mitch Marner is free of the Toronto media shackles.
Yeah.
And the living in Toronto shackles and just gets to be on the Vegas strip where there's something cooler attracting people's attention at all times.
And he gets the life that these guys live, Dan.
He's got a pool now.
It's not humid now, Dan.
Yep.
He can go nice dinners.
No one bothers him.
No one.
He can see a show on a night off.
He's with me.
By himself.
He's with me seeing O.
He's seeing O with you.
Watching a Cirque to Solatia with me.
Yeah.
And he's like this.
This is the happiest I've been in years.
And he goes, should we walk back?
And we go, sure.
Should we go, should we walk to the strip?
And we go, sure.
And he goes, pretty sweaty because it's so hot.
And I go, but it's a dry heat.
And he goes, it is a dry heat.
I'm here too now if you didn't notice.
I'm also here.
I didn't see the show, but I met you guys.
We're sitting at the tables looking around.
He goes, no one's taking my picture.
And I go, amazing.
Should we win some money at the Belagia?
They never will, pal.
And he goes, yes.
And then we go, how about we go back to your pool at your place, and then we hit golf balls?
Now we're talking.
I thought we were getting weird for a second.
No, no, no, no.
Dude, we're relaxing.
Christ.
Why is he such good friends with us all of a sudden?
We're good guys.
That's true.
We're fun.
We're good guys.
We'll take care of you.
And now, Dan, the next day, he's got a game.
And he goes, how could I not play the best hockey my life after?
I'm loose.
After the day I had yesterday.
He's so loose.
If you get that Mitch Marner for an entire season.
this team is winning the Pacific and going to the Western Conference finals minimum.
Correct.
Minimum.
Correct.
Could anything go wrong?
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health,
from the big milestones to the quiet wins.
That's why our annual health assessment offers a physician-led, full-body checkup that provides
a clear picture of your health today.
and may uncover early signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer.
A healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today.
Medcan, live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
You know what I want to talk about?
No injuries.
Again, we don't talk about it.
No injuries.
This group, let me just read through their lines, okay?
Yeah.
in no particular setting, but their lines are Ivan Barbashev, Jack Eichle, Mitch Marner, Riley Smith,
welcome back, William Carlson, Mark Stone, Brandon Saw, Tamash Hurtle, Pavel Dorofaev.
Who was awesome last year.
Disgusting.
Brett Haud and Colson's Keegan Colossar.
I want to point out in this group, right, we just had Tamash Hurtle on the third line,
which I don't know if that will be the case.
I'd be surprised if that's going to be the case.
Tomash Hurdle scored 32 goals last year.
I also want to point out Brett Howden and Keegan Colossar, who are on your fourth lines.
Brett Howden scored 23 goals last year with 40 points.
Keegan Colossar, who is a fucking battering ram.
Literally collapsed Matthew Kuch's sternum on his way to stand the cup.
Had 30 points last year.
Let me also tell you this, Chris.
I'm going to read players for you.
Jack Eichel, Mark Stone,
Tamash Hurtle, Shea Theodore, Dorofaev, Barbashev,
Haudin, Hannifin, Patrangelo, who's out, obviously.
Kegan Colissar.
Yep.
William Carlson.
We'll keep going, Braden McNabb.
Only one of those humans was in a dash in their plus minus.
This team is so fucking deep.
And what's crazy is we can-
Do you're Vap's worth 35 goals.
Yeah.
It's the third line wing.
And what's crazy is we talk about the fact that they're down, Petrangelo.
Would you like to hear there, Dee?
I know, dude.
Gray-McNab, Shea-Thadore, who is?
For those who still somehow remain unaware?
Underware, yeah.
Shea-theodore is a top-five defenseman in the NHL, possibly, if not probably.
He's not that good, but he's-
Are you sure?
Top five?
Are you sure?
The way he does it at both ends and just to,
give you a little refresher. Sheaed Theodore was fourth on that team in points with 57
points in 67 games and a plus 18. 50 apples. 50 apples is moronic. 50 assists. 50 apples is moronic
in 67 games. Might be top five. It might be top five. It's fucking gross. Their D is
Braden McNab, Shay Theodore, Noah Hannifin, Zach White Cloud, Jeremy Lozahn, and Kaden Korzak.
And like that, dude, that is a very good decor.
You're down, Petro.
You know what else, Dan?
I need to eat a little crow, too, because I've been going, I've been doing the,
this blank will hurt you in playoffs, but not in regular season.
Petrangelo, missing Patrangelo, if he's still out, will hurt you in playoffs,
far worse than it hurts you in this regular season.
But may I say, and we're not breaking news here,
this team's cap compliant because Petrangelo on LTIR.
Yep.
I personally believe Alex Petrangelo is not playing this season.
Yeah, same.
And I think the team thinks that too.
That changes your mentality.
Larry Bird ain't walking through that door.
Good point.
So when they go with this group and they go, Petro ain't coming back.
No one in that group's playing with a tight stick going, I'm going to lose my spot when he comes back.
Yeah.
This is their group.
So let's say they have a couple tough games on D.
They're not going, well, fucking whatever, dude, when Petro comes back, we're fine, we're fine, we're fine.
They figure it out.
They make some changes.
Maybe they make a trade.
I don't know.
But my point is the team, the locker room, they're like, we know it.
The caps last year knew Osh wasn't coming back.
That does look at how they did.
Yeah, my God.
I think this group knows he's not coming back, so they will act accordingly.
Yeah, and pick up slack.
We're talking about slack a lot, dude.
Slack's going to get picked up where the Marner left in Toronto.
But that slack's going to get picked up here too.
And they have the horses to do it, absolutely.
Their depth is fucking crazy, man.
And I just like, if Stone can stay healthy,
Carlson probably has a bit...
The fact that Riley is back with Carlson,
I actually see...
Riley Smith back on this Vegas team
feels like such an obvious 40 points.
It's just like this, he's like, yep, I'm back with the boys.
And he's back with Wild Bill.
I don't.
Dude, I don't even...
Here's another one where I'm like, what could go wrong?
You look at this team.
They led the Pacific and goals for.
And now you add Mitch Marner.
Yeah.
And I guess maybe, because I've been Mr. Regression,
this whole series of episodes,
I guess maybe people can start throwing that
in my face where like is is dorothea of going to score 35 goals again after scoring 0 7 and 13
yeah but to that i would say probably because he's 24 agree you know that's what i'm saying i believe
in a lot of these guys but you could throw some regression back in my face for some of these guys
but they led the pacific in goals for and then added mitch marner and then they were second in the
pacific in goals against behind the kings who were i got a desna finalist kemper performance which
i don't even know if they'll get that again but you hope so
So if you want, if you're nitpicking and you're going, something could go wrong, I kind of view it as the back end.
Or I guess this, if something goes wrong, worst case scenario, it's Marner and Eichel don't quite, no one shoots.
And Aiden Hill kind of isn't giving you pretty much what he's given you every year.
So I don't know why you would criticize him, but my God, people still do so much.
But you don't quite get the best season out of Aden Hill and no one.
can shoot the puck.
Yeah.
But even that is a two-seat.
It's amazing.
That's very good.
So I cannot wait to see Mitch Martin's first game.
I cannot wait to see him go back to Toronto.
Absolutely agree.
So I have...
Gun to your head.
Go.
Is this Jack Eagles last year in Vegas?
No.
Agree.
Okay.
But I think it's a conversation, but I don't think so.
I have the kings, the knights, the Oilers, the ducks, the fox, the fours, the fours,
flames, the Canucks, the sharks, and the Cracken. I have the Knights, the Kings, nope, the Knights,
the Oilers, the Kings, the Ducks, the Canucks, the Cracken, the Sharks. That is it for our Pacific
Division preview, breakdown, predictions. Let's take a quick ad break and then come back.
I want to give you guys a kick. I want to give you a nice, beautiful nicotine kick that is
scientifically crafted, always tobacco.
go free and giving you some of the best delivery system you could ever get in the nicotine game.
And that's coming from Lucy.
Lucy's got pouches for you.
They've got breakers.
They've got lozenges.
They've got gum.
They're ranging from four to eight to 12 milligrams depending on the type of kick you want.
And the best part about Lucy is they're taking care of you with whatever need you have,
whether it's energy, whether it's focus, whether it's relaxation.
Lucy has you covered.
Me myself, I talk about it all the time.
I'm big on the golf course these days.
and I need to laser in.
I'm trying to go low.
I'm birdie hunting.
I pop a Lucy pouch in.
All of a sudden, I feel like Tom Brady out there.
Laser focus.
Also, the relaxation front.
I didn't even know that that was a thing
when it came to nicotine,
but Lucy has given me that after dinner.
I don't want any sweets.
I'm trying to stay tight.
Pop a Lucy in,
digest, chill out, watch a movie.
It's fantastic.
The flavors are unbelievable.
I'm in a big wintergreen kick right now,
but I'm telling you what,
It's fall.
They got a nice coffee flavor.
It's like espresso.
I'm going to get into that.
I'll tell you that much.
I don't drink coffee.
So that might be my fix.
It's fantastic.
That's what Lucy's doing.
So it's time for you to enjoy some Lucy.
It's time for you to give it a shot.
You're going to go to lucy.
You're going to go to lucy.
So.
Slash Friday and use promo code Friday.
And you're going to get 20% off your next order.
Again, that's lucy.
com slash Friday.
promo code Friday 20% off.
Let Lucy take care of.
of your needs right now.
Brand new light strike blue rush.
Are you kidding me right now?
I already loved light strike.
Then all of a sudden they go,
oh, it's September.
Oh, here comes fall.
Don't worry.
I have a new flavor called Blue Rush.
And it's a mix of berries and use you flavors.
And I'll say again, are you kidding me?
Not carbonated, because I'm kind of out on bubbles right now,
and I'm actually loving this.
Recealable bottle.
I can have some of it.
I can take it on the move.
Fantastic.
10% coconut water.
5% alcohol by volume.
Oh, my God.
It's shockingly smooth.
It's fizz-free experience.
I can't tell you that Light Strike is built for people who go hard and never tap out just like me, just like D.P.
Just like when I'm on the road because hockey season's back.
And I'm about to be buzzing all over the place.
And we like to have fun, but we like to be in good place the next day.
Bang.
Light Strike.
That's what it does for me because it's so money.
It's perfect for football tailgates.
It's perfect for any of your day drinking needs.
It's perfect for hockey season right around the corner.
It's perfect for the Friday beers crew and DJ press play throng parties.
This is my drink of choice right now.
And this Blue Rush is my flavor of choice right now.
So what I would like you to do is go to drinklightstrike.com to find out where you can get some near you.
And do not miss the Blue Rush.
We are back.
And before we get into what I think is going to be a very first.
Fun, not ice.
I want to give a quick shout out.
One of the great members of the Netters community, of the network.
Martin, big Devils fan, awesome dude, always DM and always commenting, has been there from day one.
He's a day one for sure.
And another day one is Martin's grandma.
Bang.
Sadly, just passed away 95 years old, huge Bees fan.
Incredible.
Huge beast fan and a big listener of the pod.
Martin and his grandma used to listen to the pod together all the time.
I'm sure going head to head devil's brewing stuff.
And I can't begin to express how gas it is that we had a 95-year-old weapon listening to the pod.
So cool.
Fires me up right now.
Unbelievable.
Shouting out Martin and your grandma.
Thank you for being members of the network.
And just like we're pouring one out having a nice cold cocktail for grandma.
A beast fan?
Come on.
Unbelievable.
Let's talk about more legends.
Yes.
This segment of Not Ice is going to be strictly spent on A.K.A. Charlie Sheen.
The Charlie Sheen two-part documentary on Netflix.
If you haven't seen it, I recommend.
Two things. One, I recommend. Second thing. Spoilers.
So if you'd like to watch it, go watch it. Come back and listen to this part.
What a production, Dan.
What a production, really well-made doc.
Tragic?
In a lot of ways, tragic, in a lot of ways funny.
Dude, can I tell you my biggest takeaway?
Yeah.
My biggest takeaway from the Charlie Sheen Dock, we were robbed.
Dude, you said this to me.
You're so right.
We were robbed.
He's America's sweetheart.
He's the coolest dude.
He is the nicest dude.
He is so introspective, self-aware.
and fucking addiction just got him, dude.
Yeah.
It's just like, what the fuck?
And also, I'm going to, I mentioned it to you earlier.
Chuck Lory, creator of the, is that his name?
Yeah, yeah, two and a half men.
Two and a half men creator.
A creator of fucking everything.
In the doc, he references Charlie Sheen.
He's like, he was Dean Martin.
Yeah, like he could be fucked up and he would be charming as all get out.
And hate that I just said that.
Yeah.
But it's the case.
And that is, like, it's, that's who he was.
And like, he was just, he was a rock star.
And he should have been, he should have been our rock star forever.
Can I flip this on your, Conn's head for you?
Yeah.
You say we were robbed.
You say poor Toby.
I say poor us.
Do you know what that's from?
Poor Toby, poor us.
Oh, is his name Toby?
I don't know.
Yeah.
I don't know.
I think it's from gone in 60 seconds.
Oh.
When that one guy who doesn't talk the whole movie.
Yeah.
He talks at the end.
I don't think that's to be.
Someone's like hurt and then he says, I think we've got to look this up.
Okay.
But I'm going to flip this on your head.
You say we were.
robbed, I say we're lucky because addiction didn't get him.
True.
It almost did.
We almost lost him at...
True.
At 30.
And I'm like, damn, that sucks.
I do just, I get sad.
Me too.
Me too.
Charlie is what?
How old's Charlie?
Look that up for me.
Charlie's probably 60 something?
Is he 70s?
Is he any 70s?
No.
He's got to be 64.
60 even.
60 even.
Young man.
You know who else is 60?
Who?
Brad Pitt.
That is.
And Brad Pitt is doing F1.
Just starred in a Formula 61, my friend.
He just started in a Formula One movie and won.
Yeah, where he's like 40.
He won.
Yeah.
So that's what Charlie Sheen should be doing still.
Yeah.
He was a, that dude was a heartthrop, too.
Bro, I was, my biggest takeaway is I was completely unaware how famous he was, which is insane.
But I just didn't know.
hit me with some MVP people or moments from you in this dock.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Okay, my two big MVPs, I'm going to go hard on one of them.
Yep.
My two big MVPs are one, Martin Sheen, dad.
Yeah, dad.
He's not even in the dock.
I know.
Because he said it wanted to be Charlie's moment.
Yeah, that's remarkable.
And I believe every word of that because the way Charlie speaks of his dad and they would
splice in these clips of scenes from Martin.
acting with Charlie, the awesome Michael Jordan game.
Yeah, that was sick.
Martin Sheen clearly loves Charlie so much and did everything to protect him.
And the way, the love and just the way Charlie reveres him is remarkable.
So I'm like, MVP dad.
Yeah.
My glaring MVP from this doc was Denise Richards.
Dude.
Unbelievable performance.
The end totally got me.
I, first of all, a get-wife.
fell in love with her.
Yeah.
Take away the fact that she is a beautiful, striking woman.
This gal has the mouth of a sailor.
And is a homie.
And her breakdown when she's like, don't fucking stop filming.
This is real.
You want this to be real or to be fake?
I don't fucking care of them.
I was like, yes, dude.
Shooting a fucking documentary.
She was such a badass.
And you could tell before she even says it.
These two got married.
They were hot and heavy.
They got married.
She was on the show.
they had beautiful kids together
and they had a
violent, tumultuous divorce
in the press.
He was on drugs.
He was all over the place.
And she talks about it,
honestly.
She's like,
it was fucking terrible
the shit I went through.
But you could the whole time
tell that she still loves the guy.
Yep.
And she's fought for the guy.
And she was there for the guy.
And she says at the end,
she's like, I still love him.
And through tears.
And I was like, you fucking ride or die, bitch.
Yeah.
I would kill for you.
I would kill for that woman.
Oh, dude.
Unbelievable, dude.
I would go to war for that one.
Dude, I'm always unhinged, but my MVP was that drug dealer guy.
Do you remember that guy?
Son of a bitch.
Yeah, what was his name, Marco or something?
He had a couple lines that absolutely killed me.
Here's why he's MVP for me.
First of all, first and foremost, he's the guy that got him clean.
Like, he literally was the guy that was using less and less potent crack over a year
and a half to wean Charlie Sheet off Coke to the point.
point that Charlie goes, I don't even want to do this anymore. It doesn't even work.
And he's like, yeah, you're right, bro. But it's actually been Marco the whole time.
Second of all, dude, when he first, like, his first introduction to him when he's like,
he's like, I'm Charlie Sheen, like give me drugs. And he's giving me like 15 grand a day. And he's like,
what the fuck, dude? This is sick. So he's partying with him. And then there's that one middle
part where he ODs or something, something bad happens. And Marco's like, I didn't want him to
die, man. He's fucking cool as shit. Yeah. Dude. And also, there's that unbelievable scene where I
forget what talk show, they show clips of it,
which I was like, I was smoking seven, seven pound,
what does he say?
Yeah, seven gram rocks.
I don't know what that means, but it sounds like a lot.
And it cuts to Mark when he's like, when he said,
I was smoking seven gram rocks.
Like, he was doing it.
He was doing it.
I was like, geez, right.
You remind you that line and blow when he's like, most people,
they doctors say like two.
Yeah, I guess I had a high tolerance.
And I'm like, Jesus Christ.
So that guy, I was obsessed with, dude.
I was loving him.
It was really cool seeing the people that he was homies with,
like Chris Tucker, Sean Penn.
Tony Todd being in that doc.
Tony Todd's my other MVP.
I was like, yeah, Tony Todd's like,
this guy's the man, dude.
Tony God.
You know what my favorite part is?
I didn't even put favorite part,
but this is my favorite part of the whole doc.
Such a random thing, dude.
But when he first got out of rehab,
his long stint in rehab,
and Martin picks him up,
and they drive back with Tony
near a baseball field playing a men's league game.
And Charlie goes, can I hit?
And they're like, what?
And they're like, it's Charlie Sheen.
And he goes, okay.
He goes, three 50 up the power alley.
Dude.
I was like, what the fuck?
is going on, dude.
Two of the best moments.
Two of the best moments.
I'm watching this with locks.
And he was like, this guy's incredible.
Yeah.
And it happened when he is in rehab, has his bodyguard smuggle him in dope.
The orderlies catch him.
And they're like, give us the fucking dope.
And he's like, can I please just watch the Bulls jazz game?
Yeah.
And they're like, yeah.
And then on his first date with Denise, he's like, we're going to this San Francisco
Giants game.
Barry Bonds is like 69 home runs.
70, dude.
Like, the fact that these are the things that are important to him, Locke's
like, I fucking love this guy.
He's amazing.
He's incredible.
He's amazing.
Also, the, well, actually, I'll say that for craziest part.
Those were amazing.
Okay, actually, let's do it.
Craziest parts.
A couple come to mind for me.
One, that rehab stit when he looks at the chick and he goes, I have a bikini judging contest
in Palm Springs.
It doesn't matter if I gets over tomorrow or today.
Yeah.
And he goes, let me sneak out, go to this bikini contest.
get fucked up with my boys in Palm Springs.
I will come back by 8 a.m.
If I don't come back, I will hand you $1 million.
And she goes, okay.
Deal.
He goes and does it.
Stumbles it at 7.50 a.m.
And she goes, damn, God damn.
I thought I had him.
That is unbelievable.
Unbelievable.
And then there's two out of them.
That comes to mind.
Mine is, dude, he marries Brooke Miller.
Yeah, oh, dude.
And we just kind of skipped LVP.
Maybe this is, she might be LVP.
When Charlie, she sat down and began talking.
and I was like, oh, babe.
Oh, no.
You got fucking red flags hanging out your back.
Yeah.
And she looks like a bull.
She looks like a bull.
Charlie goes, she was like a lighthouse for me.
And he's like, I met her.
She was five years sober.
And I'm like, doubt that lasted very long.
And then you hear the story from Cryer how he didn't, she didn't go to the wedding.
His wife did.
And his wife calls him and goes, Martin Sheen's toast was, I hope you kids know what you're doing.
and then instantly these people are just on crack.
Yes.
Like instantly.
Is crack with her?
He marries her clearly against the wishes of everybody and she's five years sober.
And then she's like dust in rails in the bathroom and then he was like, let me show you how to cook the shit up.
Dude, if that is not one of the most and sick, don't get me wrong, sick and derange.
But if that is not one of the most badass lines I've ever seen where someone is doing Coke and he goes, stop wasting.
it because I'll show you how to really cook it.
That was some Walter White.
Oh, that scared me.
Me too.
That scared me.
Dude, seeing someone snored it and going, stop wasting coke.
I was like...
What?
That was crazy, dude.
So you want to talk crack?
One of another one of my favorite craziest moments was that he meets a lady of the night.
And...
What the shit?
Heidi Fleiss was that chick's name?
Well, that was a whole crazy thing.
That, I was actually pissed to her.
Was that the chick with the parrot?
Yeah.
Holy hell.
I've never been more afraid.
terrified. Me too. And I was kind of pissed at her for getting so
mad at him. She was like, do the time.
And I was like, do the time. Fuck you.
He's going to do seven years. He's Charlie Sheen.
Shut the fuck up. So anyway,
he meets a lady of the night, takes
her back. She is doing crack.
And because she's like, he took her out of a bad situation.
Like a guy, he pulled the gun on a guy.
Yeah, yeah, yeah. Yeah. She goes to bed. She wakes up
and she's like, hey, I'm kind of Jones. Do you mind if I smoke
crack? Yeah. That's what the crack would be, bro.
And he was like, just fucking smoke crack.
And he goes, no, dude.
I'm not trying to do that.
She goes, let me combo, his quote, let me combo this up for you.
Yeah.
And she lets him rip a crack pipe while she blows him.
And he goes, it is literally the greatest moment of my entire life.
I go, you have got to be kidding me.
Dude, it was like, we kept making the joke.
It was like, kind of makes you want to do crack.
I don't.
And then the other one, dude, was the Nick Cage plane story.
Do you remember that part?
Yes, incredible.
I mean, you could talk about the very beginning of the dock when he goes, like,
what was he on that plane from France or?
something or it sounded like it was a French
plane. But they just let him fucking sit in the
cockpit and start flying the plane. Ficked up
out of his mind. Can you imagine that?
Dude, and they're taking pictures of him. He goes, we know if I had that
captain's hat on. But Nick Cage,
Nick Cage buzzing the plane going
hey, the pilots lost control
of the plane, we're going to die. Everybody
freaks out. The police come
and Charlie's got a brick of coke taped
to his fucking leg. And then
Nick didn't know. What Nick doesn't know.
So I've got a brick of cocaine.
Ted. Dick Cage?
Dan, Nick Cage sounds fucking electric.
As you know, I've met Nick Cage a bunch of times,
working on National Treasure 3.
It's probably not good, to be honest.
Every conversation I've had with Nick Cage
was one of the craziest energy I've ever been a part of in my life.
They must have loved each other.
Oh, dude.
They must have been fucking...
I can't believe they surprised.
The second he brought up Nick Cage,
I was like, oh my God, you guys were rolling together?
What?
You're alive.
You're alive.
alive, both of you. We're going to get a Nick Cage doc one of these days. I cannot wait for that.
And you know what? You're right, dude, we got both of them. We've got both of them. And that's special.
And it's, listen, you said it, you said it well. I don't think people appreciate how much of a star he is.
And I'm telling you right now, if addiction didn't get him, or didn't try to get him. Yeah.
We would have Oscar nominations out the wazoo for this guy. And I just, I wish he was still in.
I wish she was still working.
Oh, I almost forgot one of my favorite parts.
But I love him, man.
The guy's, he was fucking...
Dude, he was nails.
I think this was...
No, it was a movie.
He is nails.
He said he was doing...
Fuck, not even sick.
He was doing a movie.
He was like, I was taking jobs just for blow money.
Yeah.
And he's like, I was doing a movie.
I was fucked up.
And the director is like, bro, you are literally falling asleep on camera.
Yeah.
So he goes, just get me a cup of ice.
Do you remember this?
Yeah, sticks a cube up his ass.
He sticks a cube of his asshole.
And he was like, dude, best thing I've ever hit.
I was like, I've been doing salts before a beer league dude.
I might shove an ice cube up my ass.
Dude, my last take on this, when he described his dabble into homosexual encounters by flipping over the menu.
Hmm.
Might have this for an appetizer.
Maybe have one of these.
Genuinely.
Maybe one of everything.
Genuinely.
Watching that dock, I think I went that this is the coolest part of the dock.
Be it like, they're clearly, they're being like, are you cool?
to talk about this and he's like yeah I'm cool to talk about it. Fucking liberating. And he relates
it to being saying when you are in the crack hole. No pun intended. Sexual drug. It's a sexual
drug. And it is a sexual drug and you got to dabble. And he referred, he made the analogy that
you were looking at a menu, you realize you've had everything on the menu so you flip it over
and realize there's more on that side. I was like that, that was literally the coolest part
of the duck. I was like, what a fucking legend. If you haven't watched this movie, make it your top
priority. Go watch it on Netflix right now.
And I hope he, I actually don't know
where he is in his acting life if he's like, I don't
want to ever do that again. I know. But I would love
if he got back in the game. Me too.
In a healthy way. I wonder if you can get insured, but
like I fuck man, I'd love it.
So sick. Chuck Sheen. Chuck Sheen.
America Sweetheart. God.
Phenobel. Well, big news.
I got my paws on some mug group
beer and I know you want to get your paws
on some too because you want to have that
dog in you just like I do.
Because, man, I start thinking about
times when I had that dog in me and it fires me up so much because this weekend I had to go to
Boston. I had a roller hockey tournament. I wanted to see some friends there, but I got people,
friends from home. I got friends from the roller hockey tournament. I got people going all over the
place and they go, CP, you just traveled on plane. You're pretty tired. There's no way you're going
to be able to rally all night, hang out with everybody. But I go, oh, not so fast. I actually really
like living my life unfiltered. I really like letting loose. I really like embracing my inner dog.
So what I did was I got empowered by the bold flavor of mug root beer and I ripped it with my friends all day, watch football Sunday, and then get made it back to work Monday because I had the dog in me.
Okay? So the next time you are craving something cold, something frothy, something packed, packed full like it's going to explode with unapologetic favor.
I want you to crack open a mug roop or yourself.
You can find them anywhere. Find one at your local store, grocery store, whatever.
Or, or you go to mugrootbeard.com slash find dash mug.
that's F-I-N-D-M-U-G
and you can find out how to get some of yopause
on some mug group here.
This one's my favorite, by the way.
No sugar, no caffeine.
You kidding me?
Bang.
Okay, we've got one more bit of really fun,
not ice for you in this episode.
Yes, that's right.
Dabbling back in the music world.
Dabbling back in the music world,
we love a good musician, Dan.
We love a good musician, and we love even more than that,
a good musician that loves hockey,
and we love even more than that,
a good musician that is still playing puck.
Come on.
So, without any further ado,
I would like to send it to our interview with Bo, Bocahn, lead singer of Bless the Fall.
Well, Dan, today we continue our quest to prove that every musician wants to be an athlete and every athlete dreams of being a musician.
I am very proud to welcome Bo Bocahn, lead singer of Bless the Ball, Huntington Beach, California native to the Empty Netters podcast.
Welcome, my man.
What's going on? It's funny, I grew up in East L.A., but I moved to Huntington Beach.
Okay, okay.
Pretended I was from Huntington Beach because it was so beautiful there.
Okay.
Love Orange County, love H.B., but I'm a diehard L.A. native.
East L.A.
I got to just east L.A.
Dan, do you know what I love about musicians, man?
This is the second time, at least this is happening to us.
You have a concert in 38 minutes.
Like, you actually have a show to do right now.
Like, I need people to understand that.
It is a full-on show.
And we were just talking about it, Bo.
Your shows are no joke.
Like, this isn't a sit down on a bench with an acoustic guitar.
Like, you are dripping, sweat, leaking out of control when you finish up.
Yeah, man.
I'm like, it's, like you said, it's game seven every night for us.
It's like, you got to get on.
And even if you're tired, you got to, like, just bring it and just, like, leave it all out on the stage.
And so it's fun, though, man.
The calm you have now, like Matt, Dan, imagine us going, hey, Drew, hey, Drew Doughty,
can we interview you 30 minutes before puck drop?
He'd be like, no, dude.
I need to get him.
He tells the fuck off.
Yeah, but these musicians, man, you got, is it, there's no more nerves anymore or what?
You've just done enough shows?
You know what?
It depends on what, it depends on the situation.
Like, who's there.
Sometimes, like, you'll have friends out, a family out, or whatever.
And, you know, and it's just, you know, it's the environment.
But, you know, honestly, two minutes, when it's like the two minute warning,
boom, it hits you every night.
It doesn't matter how many times you've done it.
And we just did the Long Beach Warp Tour, and it was like the biggest warped tour of all time, over 80,000 people.
And that was, like, just calculating that, like, walking out onto the stage and seeing, like, the sea of people that went to, like, the ocean.
Yeah.
You know, I was like, all right, lock in.
Lock in, boys.
Okay.
So that's what I'm curious about your fans and the audiences that you deal with, because you're, I tell people about your music is pretty high octane.
Like you're talking about your performances.
when you come out, is the audience ready to rip?
Are they going crazy already?
Or do you have to get them into?
Warm them up, yeah.
Yeah, it depends on the situation.
Like a night, like tonight, people will have some drinks in their hands and we'll start playing.
And I'm like, finish up your vodka drinks, guys.
It's time to get going.
So you'll see the cameras out.
They got some bevvvvies in their hands.
And then it's like maybe one song and then it's like go time.
Yeah, yeah.
Shit spraying.
It looks like the locker room.
to the cup. Yeah. Yep, yeah, champagne. I come out and I squirt, the first thing I do is squirt water
on everybody and just set the tone right away. So like, you know, that'll get people ready for
sure. Yeah. Yeah. It's like the pregame warmups. You see people like squirting water on the side. Yeah.
Yeah, yeah. Get the back. I'm like, yeah. Like, let's lock in. That's so awesome. That's so awesome.
So, dude, do you have a, uh, I got to know, Chris? Do you have a stage voice? Like, do you have a stage voice? Like,
Do you have a persona?
Do you have to, like, click into a different version of yourself when you get on there and start yelling at the audience?
Or is that just you?
Oh, man, you know, what's funny is that, like, I, sometimes, you know, I have that commanding power.
But honestly, like, I just try to, like, be myself as well.
So there's a bit of, there's a bit of, like, let's fucking go.
And then I'm like, all right, what's going.
You know, like, you have to kind of be real with them as well.
And I think that they can relate to you more when you're just.
just yourself as well.
So it's a balance for sure of like commanding the crowd,
especially if it's like a big festival,
you got to do the stage voice.
Like you can't just fucking,
you got to go,
you got to give it to them.
But I think people appreciate that like our band are pretty authentic.
We're not up there in costumes.
And we're not kind of, you know,
no offense to people that do that.
But it's like we have to kind of be ourselves
because that's what people connect with.
So, yeah.
And dude, before we get into hockey and Kingstuff, can you just tell us what you were telling
before we started about how you prep to get the cardio ready?
Because I thought that was actually fascinating.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah.
You know, it's before tour starts, and I know I'm going to do like an hour and a half set,
I get on the assault bike and I'm like, and I got the oxygen mask and I'm just ripping.
I'm doing like, you know, 30 minutes as hard as like full out, you know, chaos.
just like almost, you know, to the point of like exhaustion.
Yeah, and I'll go run, I'll go run the track and sing my songs while I'm running and stuff,
just to like get in shape.
And, uh, but nothing can really prepare you for like the state, like actual when you go
on stage and the adrenaline rush and I'm like bouncing for an hour and a half.
And, uh, yeah, but I do my best, man.
I do my best.
It feels like, you know, it feels like, uh, you know, I'm still living in my, my athlete days,
you know.
Dude, you, you, you sound like the guy.
I mean, dude, you're...
Yeah.
Yeah, for sure.
I'm trying.
Like, you're keeping it in shape, for sure.
You have to.
And speaking of keeping it in shape, like CP mentioned, I am glad that, you mentioned you're
actually an East L.A. guy, which makes sense that you've maintained being a Kings fan
and not switching over to the Orange County locals and being a Ducks fan.
So, we just finished up our Pacific Division preview.
How are you feeling about the Kingsman?
Are you still dialed in?
Are you still paying attention?
Are you a huge Kings fan?
Yeah, yeah, I'm massive Kings fan.
in L.A., so, like, you know, I played for the Junior Kings back in the day.
We can talk about that as well in my hockey career and what I did.
My teammates went on to go do way cooler things than I did, but yeah, no, I'm locked
into a certain point where, you know, I don't want to, like, Cope's obviously retirement.
This is going to be, and my thing about that is, like, the, like, retirement tour.
It turns into, like, the retirement tour type thing.
And I'm kind of, I don't know, it was like, I'm a huge Kobe Bryant fan.
And so it was almost like no one cared if they won or lost.
They just cared if they were seeing Kobe's last game.
And so with Copatar, I hope it isn't, I hope that there's still that fire inside and that they can make a run for it.
Like, let's make a run for Copies last season.
I know Dowry's going to be, you know, not too far behind him.
You know, he's still got, they both still look great, which is crazy to me.
So, I mean.
Yeah, it's wild, man.
Yeah, so it's cool that he gets his, you know, his last game in every arena and people can, like, pay their respects.
But at the same time, I just hope the team is locked in.
I'm like, like, this is a big season.
Like, let's give it a go.
So the roster looks cool.
I know we got a bunch of new players and stuff.
So I need to like, you know, I need to look at the roster and see who's coming up.
Because it's like every year, it seems like preseason starts and the season.
I'm like, oh, we got Kuzmank.
Oh, what's he doing out there?
Like what? What's going on?
So, yeah, I'm stoked for it. I can't wait.
It's, you know, it's going to be a roller coaster once again, I'm sure.
But I think we'll do good.
Hell yeah. I love that.
Dude, it was actually a perfect transition because I wanted to ask you about Copey.
We got to go to his press conference when he retired.
We were hanging with him a bit after.
And it was interesting to hear him talk about that decision, right?
of when to say it.
Because he was like, what you just said is true, where he goes, well, if I say it now,
now it's this whole thing where it's my last season.
But if I wait, I didn't want the boys to be worried about.
And then every interview is like always badgering about that.
And I just kind of wanted everybody to lock in and be like, let's go this year right now.
So I think that was a big part of it.
Do you think will you be able to catch a game this year while he's on his last run?
You know, what's crazy is I have a day off in Vegas and it's Golden Knights.
opening night against the Kings. And so right when we get off this podcast, I'm buying tickets to go to them in Vegas.
So I will be in enemy territory opening night for the Golden Knights cheering on the King. So that will be.
And I hope to get to more games. I live near Vancouver now. So I'll go when they play the Canucks,
I try to go see them play or whenever I come to town. Yeah. I try to like, you know, plan my trips back home around Kings game.
so I can make sure to get to one or two.
Dude, it's actually, I mean, it's so clutch that you live in a place that's a Pacific Division team
because it gives you a good opportunity for more Kings games.
That's clutch.
I know.
I absolutely love that.
And with other Pacific Division teams, we have to talk about the boogeyman that is Conner
McDavid.
Is there any part of it as a Kingsman?
That's a real Kingsman.
That was a real Kingsman reaction.
Yeah.
I know.
That was a good reaction.
Is there any part of you that's hoping maybe?
there's a situation where
the game ends up on the case.
Or that. You know what?
Get him the fuck out of there. I don't care where he goes.
I would love... Obviously, like,
I mean, I've seen the rumors,
the package deals. They want to send
Byfield and
everyone else. Yeah, the whole team.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And for Connor McDavid. So,
you know,
obviously I would love to have him.
It does suck that he's...
Have you, okay, have you seen the meme of the Bugatti
that's parked?
like at the trap house and it's like carna macdavid in edmonton yes that's less savage
savage shot at edmonton yeah i'm like get this guy out of there like get him to uh you know
obviously he's in a massive hockey market the guy can't walk around edmonton he probably gets mob
he's like you know what he's like justin bierer out there you know um truly truly truly honestly
honestly like the cool thing about the la market is like you can come to la you can go to the beach you can
go to freaking Chipotle.
No one's like, maybe one person
is like, I think that guy's an athlete.
Like, no one really, we're a hockey town,
but not like, you know, we're not maniacs.
You know what I mean?
It's like, you're not going to get mob.
Like, like, if Connor came to L.A.,
I think he would love it.
You know, he'd walk around Manhattan Beach in his flip-flops,
and no one's going to be,
but maybe one or two people come up to him for a photo.
But, you know, I feel like his whole demeanor
I feel like there's a lot of pressure on them out there in Edmonton.
It's like that's all they have.
All they have is the Oilers.
No doubt.
That's it.
For sure.
Not to mention there's not many places.
And here comes another ricochet shot at Edmonton.
But there's not that many places to go.
So when he is out, everybody's there, you know?
Here it's like the city's so massive and expansive.
You're so right to it.
He could be surfing in Malibu.
No one would care.
It'd be awesome.
It's so good.
Bo, you teased at the top that you were something of a hockey player yourself.
So tell our listeners, too, because I love the story of you starting on figure skates.
So tell us the figure skates.
Oh, my God.
Wait, how did you hear that?
What I told you that?
Tell the figure skates story and then into the junior kings.
Okay, so, you know, Southern California, obviously not a huge hockey market.
I grew up, you know, I saw, I watched the Mighty Ducks movie, and I was like, what is this sport?
You know, and I grew up playing, you know, basketball and baseball, things like that.
and my dad would take my little sister, public ice skating.
It was like a mall out in the valley.
And he's like, do you want to come ice skating?
I'm like, yeah, that looks fun.
Like I used to skateboard all that stuff, right?
So I get there, you got to rent the skate.
So it's only figure skates.
They had for rental back then.
Like, they didn't have hockey skates.
So I learned how to skate on figure skates.
And then, you know, shortly after that got some rollerblades.
and weird random story speaking of Mighty Ducks.
So a guy in our neighborhood, I grew up in East L.A., all predominantly Hispanic neighborhood,
this guy Noah, he was in the Mighty Ducks 2 movie, by the way.
He was like, remember when they go and they like meet all the urban kids and they play like roller hockey?
Oh, dude.
So he was one of those guys.
That is sick.
Yeah.
So he, that was like a real life situation.
He would gather all the neighborhood kids to play.
And we played back of this like automotive repair shop.
like the boys or whatever we would play um like ball hockey or foot you know either on our rollerblades
or on our feet whatever and um and i was like this is so fucking cool like this is awesome man like
and then uh you know just kept kept public skating and then uh my best friend at the time uh his name was
sal he was like we should try out for a hockey team i'm like honey yeah what what do you mean like what is
how do you do that and he's like they're having tryouts and it was in pasadena so on my way to tryouts
my mom stopped at play it against sports
I walked in and she goes
my son is trying out for a hockey team today
come you give him gear like we don't know what
dude they were like say last day
suited me up head to toe
and they like gave me my mouthpiece
like everything suiting me up
I get I have my skate guards on I walk to the car
like in all my gear first time we're in all my gear
sit in my mom's car
we're late to try out yeah get out get in there
so I'm running into the rink with like all my
gear on like kick my skate guards off go out there and I hadn't um hockey stopped yet because all
the rental skates are shot anyone knows if they ever rented skates they'd treat those things like trash right
yeah so I've no it's insane stopped in my life so the first the first thing in tryouts is like
ladders right or whatever so I'm like okay I got to stop at the blue line so I'm like I'm like I stop
you did it I did it and so my mom was blood all uphill from there so I played I started
when I was 12, 13 years old, and I started at PBC, and every year I just got better and better.
So I went like PweC, Bansom B and then Bansom double A.
And I took private lessons.
I was homeschooled.
So it was like I was on the ice with this Russian dude every day at like 7 a.m.
Out in Van Nuys like getting trained.
And eventually played my last few years, I played midget AAA.
My very last year was with the Junior Kings and got like my teammate Brett Sterling went to the NHL and stuff.
that, which is really cool. Everyone else would play good hockey. I played junior B my last year,
and that's how I knew it was like, it was done. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. But it was, I wish I would
have started earlier. I felt like my trajectory, if I had started like six years old, right? Like all
these other kids, everyone else, by the way, everyone else is skating at three. Yeah, and you're a natural,
100%. It's wild. So, you know, I made it that far. And it was, it was amazing, man. The Junior King's year,
we got to practice where the Kings practiced.
We went to nationals.
I played against like Zap Parizze and like all these crazy
like future NHL or so.
But the junior B year was wild though.
Like that was like the Wild West, man.
It was like I was in tryouts and the captain comes up and he just goes,
coach wants you to fight number 16 and skates away.
And I'm like, yep.
All right.
So I, dude, you got to do it.
You got to do it.
So I go out.
out. Remember 16? I see him good. I'm like, and I have to see him in the back of the legs. I'm like,
we got to go. He's like, no. And I'm like, we got to go. So I throw my shit off. And he's like,
okay. And I'm like just like, you know, it was like my first real fight. Yeah. It was in the
course. Yeah. I won. I was going to say, did you wail on him? Yeah. I wailed. I felt
back because we being really good friends. And like, but my knuckle, my knuckle slid back.
Oh, no, it was gone.
And the team trainers, like, go back to your hotel and, like, running under hot water and just tug on your finger.
It'll eventually slide back in the place.
And this is all new to me.
I'm just like, okay, sure.
And I'm like, but then, yeah, it was a fun season.
Our team was so, oh, man, it was, it was like Slapshot.
The owner of the team owned this, like, 70s bus.
So our team bus was this, like, was this, like, do this death trap.
And we continued to drive the bus.
I had a stripper pole on it, Dan.
Mine as well had a stripper pole, but it was like...
There was a hookabar on the back.
Dude, it was crazy.
So it was, we would drive this thing, and I'm like, there's no way we're not dying in this fucking bus.
Yeah, for sure.
And he was, like, a hundred years old.
And he would drive the bus.
He was also the bus driver.
And, yeah, it was, it was like the jungle, man.
It was crazy.
I remember, like, another random story.
Like, there was a big fight.
I took one of the other teams, like, sticks and, like, stepped on it and broke it and threw it back out.
and they saw me do it and the the coach was losing his mind and we're all sitting on the bench
and their fire was like to use like six seven just this massive human he leans over he goes
coach is paying me 20 bucks to take your teeth out and sits back down right I'm like what am I doing
why am I here yeah so we go out and he lines up next to me and he comes at me and my teammate
like I literally like gloves off like eyes closed like ready to just get beat up and my court
My poor teammate jumped in and he took it.
He took it for me, dude.
I'm like, I owe you dinner for the next week.
Yeah, yeah, that's your pain for meals after that for sure.
Yeah, so this was like when I knew all these things kind of led up to me being like, yeah, maybe.
Maybe music.
Junior B is like, Junior B is the biggest red flag and siren bell of its time to hang them up for sure.
Huge, yeah.
But listen, like that.
journey, that journey is so great, but can you agree that nothing is better than Beer League?
Because it sounds like you're ripping it in Beer League right now and you just want a champion.
Oh, dude, Beer League is like, you know what? It's so fun. I met over COVID, they had these
speak easy skates. There was like these, this private rink would like close the front doors and
we would go in through the back door to play. You weren't allowed to play. Especially in Canada,
everything was very locked down. And I met this really dope group of guys.
through that and we all became really close we started uh they had a team called the no regretskis
and um classic such a good one dude it was so good and uh that was they became some of my best
friends um yeah i didn't really have a big group of friends up there you know i've been living in
canada for a few years now but we all became super tight and we joined like the up and burne to be like
the a division league and i'm playing a div you know with all these years way younger way fucking
better like all these dudes once of europe and like the east coast hockey league sphchel things like
they all went to go play like sick hockey and i'm like playing with them and i'm like this is
crazy like i i don't belong here but we all you know everyone needs a locker room guys so that was
yeah oh yeah they would they would play our songs in the locker room so yeah so beer league so
it's awesome that there there's that you know for for dudes at age out because you know
don't know, you know, committed you are at hockey when you play, and it's like, all of a sudden
it's done. And you're like, now what? Now there's like just something really cool and fun for,
you to, some people take it a little too seriously. I'll say that. Oh, no question. No question about
it. Some people are like, you know, they think they're still, you know, they're still scouts in the
stands. I'm like, bro, you got to just chill out, dude. I'm 43. Like, stop coming at me,
dude. You're 25. You're like, I have Game 7 at my rock show. I don't need Game 7 in here, too,
Wednesday night.
Dude, I took a puck to the chin, blew my chin open.
No, no, no.
And had a show the next weekend.
They blew me up.
What are you doing?
You got to be wearing a cage, brother.
You got to be wearing a cage.
You're literally a front man.
You're a front man.
You can't be going out there with a happy on.
I know.
I know.
It's bad.
It's just, you know what?
I'm going to get a bubble.
When I get back home, I'm buying one.
I'm going to just, I'm giving in.
So you're going to see me.
out there and they're going to butcher me about it.
Worth it.
I need to put this.
Yeah, exactly.
Exactly.
Come on.
God, that is amazing, dude.
Well, you're so right about Beer League, something we look forward to every night.
It's awesome.
Just keeping the boys together and getting out on the ice.
Dude, I know you have a rock show to go sit.
So we want to get you out here.
But before you go, can you please tell everyone a little bit about your new album, Gallows,
maybe your favorite track on there, where they can get tickets to your tour, and then where
they can find you.
and the band on IG and all that good stuff.
Yeah, yeah.
Our new album's called Gallows.
It just came out a few weeks ago.
My favorite song, I have a lot of favorite songs,
but we just shot a music video for a song called Venom.
No one knows this.
This is secret information.
But it's a dope song.
It should be played in every hockey arena around, you know, the world.
So that's a bucket list of mine to get one of our songs in an arena in a hockey arena.
I feel like we could definitely make that happen, Dan.
Like, we know two guys specifically, and I'm like, oh, just call it.
As you keep telling everyone all this information, I also just need to say, like, why, how is it that so many metal people are just like the sweetest people in the world?
Like, you're, like, the album's called gala's.
The song's called Venom and you're just the nicest guy in the world.
I don't get, I don't get how that always happens.
Doesn't share.
Something doesn't add up.
I think it's just our outlet, you know what I mean?
Yeah, yeah.
is the outlet to get all your aggression out and, and Beer League is too, obviously,
but, like, getting all your aggression out.
And, you know, we know that people who listen on music are going through it as well.
And so if they can relate to us in a certain way, you know, we could share that,
that side of it with them and we can be emotional and dark and stuff like that.
But also, you know, just be real and be real people.
And, yeah, so it's two sides.
There's two sides to the coin for sure.
But, yeah.
I hope, yeah.
No, and then tickets to the tour and your guys' IG and everything.
Yeah, bless the fall, bless the fall, and we're blessed to fall on all social media platform.
So come support, check out some music.
Hopefully we'll get some new fellow hockey fans from this.
Yes, dude.
Hell yeah.
The best fit.
Hey, Dan, you're right about the metal fans, but it's hockey fans too.
This community is also extremely welcoming, extremely nice.
So this is a perfect man.
I mean, Bo is isolated, too.
like the greatest communities in the world.
You've got to figure it out, brother.
This is insane.
Awesome.
It's pretty awesome.
Huge shout out to Bo.
Huge thank you to Bo for coming on.
Guys, that's it for this episode.
That's it for our Pacific Division preview.
Next time you see us.
We're back.
The NHL season is here.
It's going to be day of when the episode comes out.
The NHL season will be here.
CP is rocking the Netters Lakehouse crew.
It's officially fall.
You need some extra layers.
Go get that.
And also, day of of the next episode, you hear us, holy moly.
We've got a ton of new March launching.
So check that out as well.
Subscribe to the YouTube, five stars, Spotify, Apple, wherever you get you podcasts.
Follow us on all the socials.
We love you guys.
Have an amazing weekend.
And next time we see you, it will be the 2025, 2025, 26, NHL season.
So there is literally only one thing to do.
Skate hard.
