Empty Netters Podcast - Pat Verbeek And The Ducks Are Insane | 113
Episode Date: July 1, 2024The Ducks once again had the biggest surprise of the first round. Some new faces won the NHL’s biggest trophies. And the top 6 players on each Four Nations team has been released! The boys wrap up t...he season in Vegas. NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (3:12) – NHL Awards (11:43) – NHL Draft (26:37) – Trades, Buyouts, Free Agents (50:50) - Four Nations Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health,
from the big milestones to the quiet winds.
That's why our annual health assessment offers a physician-led, full-body checkup
that provides a clear picture of your health today,
and may uncover early signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer.
The healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today.
Medcan. Live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
Thank you so much to our sponsor, Rocket RX.
Do you guys ever experience erectile dysfunction?
You are not alone.
Get trusted FDA-approved treatments for erectile dysfunction at a lower price than branded alternatives.
It's delivered straight to your door in discrete, plain packaging, no in-person appointments, no pharmacy visits needed.
You're all good.
And for our listeners, you can get 20% off your first order if you use promo code Netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
Go to RocketR-X.com and enter code netters at checkout for 20% off your first order.
Follow the link in our description.
All right, folks.
The ice is ready.
And we are back.
We are dead, Dan.
Don't say we're back.
We've never been less back.
We've never been less back.
We're dead.
I'm a dead person walking.
Don't talk to me.
Don't look at me.
Don't look at me.
Don't try.
All right, first of all, we're back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by Rocket RX.
But I'll tell you what, buddy, don't you dare try to turn the tables on me because I am done with you.
You're a scone back.
I'm done.
You're a traitor, Dan?
I'm officially out.
The seventh circle of hell.
I've had it.
The seventh circle of hell is reserved for betrayers and mutineers.
And you have revealed yourself to be both a betrayer and a murderer.
and a mutineer.
And I will see you in hell.
I am neither, dude.
I'm a deserter.
That's what I am.
I am not a betrayer nor a mutineer, dude.
I stuck by your fucking scumbag side for three weeks
while you tried to drag me through the mud
and murder me.
And then I deserted.
If you want to behead me at the gates of Winterfell
for being a deserterter because I left the wall,
then fine.
But that is the only thing that happened.
You are a fucking.
I do because I'm an honorable man and I will cut your fucking head off for leaving.
You signed an oath, bitch.
You are a piece of shit, man.
Like you're the, you're the, you're, you're, you're, you're, you're, you're, you're, you're tricking everyone, dude.
You tricked us.
Tricked me.
I've, I've had it.
And I'm finally, I'm happy that people are finally starting to realize.
They're, they're learning that you aren't this nice guy, dude.
You're a sick man.
You have sick thoughts.
You have sick thoughts all the time.
And I'm so happy to be away from you, dude.
I got home from this goddamn trip.
You should see my house right now.
It's just my shit.
My house.
There's bags.
There's bags.
No, I don't give a shit about your house.
My house has bags everywhere.
I've got like seven loads of laundry happening.
I don't even know if the clothing is savable.
Holy hell, buddy.
What a rip.
What an absolute.
rip of a season. We can, listen,
free agency is still going on, but as far
as the travel and just the
absolute run, we
are done, dude. We made it out.
Awards was
not ideal, in my opinion.
I don't want to go too hard, but just like awards
at Fountain Blue,
probably better on TV, honestly, eh? Dan,
like, probably better on TV than it
was where we were.
I don't, we got to figure
that out collectively. Let's get into that. Honestly, it's like
Partly on us.
Like, I feel like us, chicklets, like, Steve, everybody in NHL, all the big, what chaos,
Las, curfew, who else?
Like, I literally want, like, a meeting of the minds.
Chippy, swaggy, get everybody in.
And let's, like, put our heads together and fix, fix NHL awards.
Because it could be cool, but it's not at all.
I think
I
Yeah
Yeah I think I think this
Um
First of all
Fountain Blue
Beautiful
Beautiful venue
Amazing theater
Great people there
They got everything set up
And then also
Everyone at the NHL
Who
Who like they all work on it
You know
The venue and all the people do a great job
And then that
This comedian kid
Matt friend
He's been doing
He's like an impressionist
He's been doing a bunch of red carpet stuff
I thought he was
He did a great job.
Like, he's doing everything he can.
I think the clear problem was this.
Last year, I loved that it was at Bridgetown.
I don't know what you thought, Chris,
but like, I loved that it was at Bridgestone.
They set up a little stage there.
Biz and the boys were on stage,
helped a ton with just some, like, color commentary
and some comedy here and there.
And I liked that the fans were in an arena
and could hit the concourse,
get some beers, get some snacks.
In the commercial breaks,
like the TV commercial breaks,
people were, you know, snapping it around.
There was a little bit of chatter.
It was just kind of like a fun, casual vibe.
Here's the deal.
I don't think, I don't know if people love the, like, I don't like the SPs, you know.
I think sports award shows are, are tough, dude.
It's not the Oscars.
It's not the Golden Globes.
These aren't performers.
The Oscars suck, too, by the way.
The Golden Globes and the Oscars are really fun.
Yeah, I mean, but that's why a lot of these shows are fun because you've got performers.
and like you get big star hosts because it's it's their world these guys aren't
fucking paid to get up except the words and be funny and and you know do all this shit so
I think whatever way you can make it more fun the better it's going to be and I thought
again like I said fountain blue great venue I think what they need to do next year is if
you're not doing it in an arena it needs to be in like a golden globe where are the globes
the Hollywood
Beverly Hills
Elton
like get a
get a floor
they get an open floor
with tables
let these guys
that come out like
you know
Quinters there
Nate dog
cooch all these guys
have their families
and friends at the table
get some drinks going around
get people buzzing
having fun
it was crazy dude
when you're in this beautiful
theater that's meant for like
shows and plays
and when there was a TV time out
or a commercial break,
it was just silent.
Like, it was the craziest thing I've ever seen.
And it was silent because people are sitting there.
There's no drinks going.
There's no food going.
Like, they're just sitting waiting for the music and shit to come back.
And I was like, dude, the energy here is getting zapped.
So we got to just make it a little more fun for the fellas.
And then it'll be great.
Dude, at one point, people, like, if you're in a rink,
I feel like probably each section has maybe 20 seats.
Like if you're section 312, there's 20 seats in your row.
You know, so worst case scenario, you're sitting in the 10th or 11th row.
And when you got a hose, you go, you have to ask 10 people to move, right?
You're like, hey, I got to slide by.
Sorry.
I swear to God, Dan, at Mountain Blue, the rows were like 50 seats long.
And the dude in the middle, I don't even know what you're laughing at.
I'm laughing the frog in your throat there.
We're dying, buddy.
We're fucking hanging on by a threat.
Dude, the dude in the middle, remember we were top deck?
We were top titty, and the dude in the middle had to hose.
And he goes, he turns around, and he's top row, dude.
And he's like, the right behind him is me and you.
We're just standing on like a hallway.
And he's like, I'm just going to step up over there.
So he put his seat down.
He lowered the seat, and he stepped on it and climbed up top.
And remember that fucking usher came flying in and was like, sir, sir, do not.
do that again.
And I was like this.
It's a safety hazard.
Do not host the NHL Awards here again.
Right back at you.
So fuck off, dude.
That was, that wasn't it.
The fucking streamers were like in everybody's face, the shadows, you know, like,
we got to get off awards.
It was crazy.
But that, that, we got to fix it.
We got to fix it.
And we can.
We can.
We can.
We can fix it.
But we got to fix it.
We can.
But, you know, either way, it's great to see, great to see everyone.
there. I thought all the awards were right. A lot of Tampa fans who were really pissed off.
I was really surprised to see there weren't any, no Edmonton, I mean, I think, I'm sure they're just licking their wounds from losing the cup.
But there was such a small amount of Edmonton fans who were up in arms like, fuck this, Connor should have won.
So many Bolts fans were like, this is fucking dog shit, coot should have won, blah, blah, blah.
Connor should have
Connor should have been last though
I think
what do you think
like I think coach
I do agree
I do yeah
I do agree
I do agree
but yeah I think
I think Nate should have won
Quinn was a lock for me
but it was always going to be
badard no matter what
Halebuck was the only one
and I can't tell if my brain is like
I've got playoff brain
like you had about Connor maybe
with Bob
because I do think when you look at
like Hellebuck
was so insane this year.
Like, oh, my God.
Dude, he was the best goal by far.
He had a horrible first round,
but, like, he was the best goalie by far.
It was a deserving win.
Yeah, you're right.
Dude, I'll say this, Dan.
You're right.
The Ted Lindsay finalists were,
so the Hart finalists were Cooch, Nate Connor.
The Ted Lindsay, for the people that don't know listening,
the Ted Lindsay is also the MVP, basically,
but it's like the best player in the league as voted on by the players.
So the heart is voted on by,
the writers, similar to every MVP and every professional sport,
the Ted Lindsay is the MVP voted on by only the players,
which I actually think is a super prestigious award, by the way,
which is like extremely slept on in the public.
I think it's the only one they should do.
I think it was,
I don't know why we care about who wins MVP as.
So I think that's so sick.
And the fact that the fact that the heart was Connor, Cooch, Nate,
and the Ted Lindsay was Nate Cooch Matthews, not Connor.
I actually thought Matthews was going to win it because the players...
Dude, I thought the players were like, he scored 69 fucking goals.
And that is something to actually be...
And I know Conner had 100 assists.
I know Cooch on his sister.
I'm not trying to knock any of the four of those guys season.
Nate went for like 50 and fucking 70 or whatever he did or fucking eight and more, right?
Like 50 and 90 or something.
Like, it was insane.
My point is, I thought Matthews could have got Ted Lindsay because the players were like,
God damn, dude.
I didn't think we'd see a 70-goal guy maybe ever again.
And maybe we won't, you know, but like if everyone, if anyone's going to do it,
it's going to be that motherfucker.
And I love Austin Matthews.
And Nate, dog, we both wanted him, you know, once we weren't doing like betting videos and
shit.
Like, I think deep down me and you both wanted Nate to win.
And I think I'm so happy for him.
And it's a very deserving MVP.
But I wish.
That's my only edit from the awards.
I wish Matthews had won Ted Lindsay just because I thought that was really special.
69 fucking goals in 81 games.
Like, come on, dude.
Wild.
Yeah, I have nothing to.
I wanted to be like, no, dude.
But that was special.
That was a special, special performance.
So great to see that from the boys.
Let's get to the draft, buddy.
Yep.
What a time.
That was unreal.
Like huge, huge shout out to the sphere.
And everyone involved.
That place is absolutely insane.
It was so sick.
I loved, loved what they did.
All the graphics were so cool.
Great vibes there the whole time.
Like we said, CP, the bar was buzzing.
Hey, Dan, I got a kink in my neck, Dan.
I got a kink in my neck from trying to see everything last night.
literally i was i was i was i was trying to see oh for real buddy i literally i i couldn't sleep this
morning dan i woke up and i was like what the fuck happened and i just realized it was a duck's logo
that got me packages by expedia you were made to occasionally take the hard route to the top of the
ivel tower we were made to easily bundle your trip expedia made to travel
It was really funny, Chris, when we were watching.
And, you know, there's the stage.
You're watching the stage.
Someone gets drafted.
And then you look up and they've got, you know, like sometimes they're playing highlights.
They're just showing photos.
And then like over on the sides, there's another screen.
And it's like these guys talking.
It's like, you know, the camera shot of the guys getting drafted.
And that's the biggest screen I've ever seen in my life.
Like that side thing was the biggest thing I've ever seen in my life.
And that was only 2% of the sphere screen.
Correct.
Correct.
And I loved what the teams did.
Like I loved how they were bringing up legends like jumbo coming up to make the celebrini pick was awesome.
Neidemeyer went up there.
It was just a really cool, cool experience from top to bottom, you know, the setup that they had there and then just the entire ordeal.
10 out of 10 from me, unreal draft.
As far as the draft itself and the boys getting picked,
I love that we got the first surprise, I guess you could say,
with Verbeek.
Verbeek and the ducks are the biggest wild cards in the world in the draft these days.
And taking Beckett Seneca at three and just blowing everyone's mind
and none more than Beckett himself.
That reaction was the funniest thing I've ever seen.
I think it's so cool that in the NHL still,
every other league, dude,
the teams call the kid before it happens.
Yeah.
They're at the table.
Like the NFL dudes know they've been picked.
Like everybody,
the fans at home,
the fans on TV,
by the way,
are the last ones to know
because the player already knows,
the team already knows,
anybody following at a,
Sheffler on Twitter already knows.
And then finally, if you're the one fucking plug that's watching cable TV, you find out
last who got drafted by the fucking Jaguars.
In the NHL, Beckett found out exactly when I found out.
And that is fucking awesome.
It was so good, dude.
Like his, when the camera went to him and you just see him going, oh, my God.
Oh, my God.
And then he turns to hug his family and you see, you can clearly read his lips.
He goes, what the fuck?
I was like, dude, this is absolutely awesome.
The other ones for me, you know, like we, we did our last step talking about all the, all the crazy draft stuff.
All the guys that we'd mentioned were all in there.
I don't think there was any crazy ones.
The cool ones for me that stood out, T. Jiginla, right off the bat for me.
I love that pick from Utah.
Utah was just, they were there.
I love the presence there.
I love that Ryan Smith was up.
there. He was chirping the crowd. He was like, you guys are booing us. We haven't even done anything yet. So
funny. And it was just such a good. You stole the coyotes. You did something. You stole Arizona
coyotes from Arizona. So fuck off. Very, very fair. Very fair. And I just thought they needed to take
a pick that was going to be like a name, you know, a name or a personality that you can really
build around. And T. G. G. Just so perfect. You know, he's, he's the son of an all time.
I'm great.
He's a super personable kid, really talented.
And I just, like, looking at Teage up there in the Utah sweater, I thought was just
vibes.
I was like, this is, he looks good in the sweater already.
I think he's going to crush it there.
That was really awesome.
So what's trash.
Sweeter was trash.
It was, like, just black.
I don't mean, I don't mean, I don't mean this in any disrespect, the way I know a comment
section might take it.
but it looked like a P-dub sweater.
And that's not because it's the women's...
Yes.
You know what I like?
It looked like a fucking P-dub sweater.
And I was like...
No, it's because...
The P-dub...
You're so right, CP.
And that's because...
I'll back you up on that.
The P-dub is dope.
The P-dub sweater suck.
Like, they just didn't name the teams,
and then they gave everyone a jersey
with a diagonal city name.
And I'm like, let's get better here, folks.
Come on.
I'll tell you what, dude.
the other moment in the draft that I loved.
This is my favorite moment of the draft.
Yep, I know what you're going to say.
You wrap up.
Montreal gets on the clock, dude.
Montreal gets on the clock.
And first of all, they bring up Celine Dion to announce the pick.
And we're sitting there.
Hey, we're sitting there with the boys
Saline Dion gets called up to announce the pick
And they go to announce the pick
Saline Dion
And they do it with a nice French accent
And wit
It was not paying attention really
He just snaps and turns to me
He goes, who is it?
Is it one of the Russian kids?
Saliv Dion?
Who is that?
I was like, dude
I'm staring at him.
I go, what?
And he was like,
Which Russian kid is that?
Salif, Saliv Dion?
And I go
Celine Dion, buddy.
And he was like, oh, fucking Christ.
I'm like, he just thought
Titanic for me one time.
He fucking idiot. Dude, he actually
said Dan Vervadum. He goes,
he goes, you did the pronouncees,
verbally. He goes, Salif,
Salif, Theo. And then he goes, is he
direct quote? He goes, is he a Russian?
And I go, no, dude.
She is a, she has a 10 times.
Is it one of the Russians?
That was actually one of my favorite.
The whole role, everybody, Army, biz, morals, G, fish, memes,
everybody's R.A., just pissing, laughing.
Is he a Russian?
That was so good.
I was dying.
Absolutely dying.
But then, okay, C.P., so then they do take a Russian.
They take Damadov, who we had had had our eyes on on.
It was like, where is Damadov going?
And they select Demadov and the camera goes up to Demadov in the stands.
This kid's a fucking missile.
Just a stallion looks big, strong.
All those measurables that we were hearing about.
True.
His hair looks fantastic.
The guy's a man rocket.
He walks up on stage and what does he do before he puts on that Quebec Cabas jersey?
He kisses Celine Dion on the cheek.
He cheques her.
He cheeked her.
I couldn't believe my eyes.
He fucking cheeked her, dude.
The confidence.
He cheeked her.
He cheeked her.
He cheeked her.
It was crazy, dude.
The confidence.
Kids.
The confidence spewing out of this kid.
Did you see his nose?
Dan, in the cage?
It was wider than my fucking face, bro.
And I know I got a narrow face, but his nose, dude, is wider than his face, my face.
And he cheeked, he cheeked Celine Dion.
He cheeked her.
He did.
He did.
I'm telling you, buddy.
the confidence that's spewing out of that kid, it's going to fill up the entire bell center.
I think that they have got a winner on their hands.
Holy smokes.
Here's who I'm really happy with otherwise.
I think Lindstrom at four, not that that was that much higher, like I think he was kind of going five,
but I think he's a great pick.
And Columbus rolling Fantillion Lindstrom down the middle, one, two, for the next.
10 years in the in the dream scenario is like come on dude that's fucking wild if linstrum's a
if linsstrom's a if lintzum's um quentin byfield who got comp to so many times just like a super
big fucking physical tall center holy shit that's awesome um i can't believe uh i think saliv fell
saliv went all the way to 10 i thought it was a great pick from the devils because sali if
was going as high as three in like pretty much every mock and i had to do it yeah dude that was like
And the devils didn't need D particularly,
but I just think that was a huge value steal right there.
He's in the K, so you know, you're slightly worried about, like, when does he get here?
But they don't give a fuck, really, I don't think, in terms of if it takes a year.
I thought that was a great pick, Dan.
Zeeve fell.
Zeeve was the biggest shock for me, 12 to Minnesota.
And on two levels, Dan, I actually can't believe, A, he fell to 12.
and B, that was a weird
Philly was 12 and Minnesota was 13
and they traded up 1
and I was like, was Philly going to take Z?
I'm sure they said, like we're going to take Zeeve
but I was like, are you dude?
That was like a crazy trade and a crazy fall.
So I think that's actually a ton.
Dude, oh, talk about fucking Fantilian Lindstrom.
Faber and Zeev on the blue line
for 10 years in Minnesota.
Solid.
Fucking my dad.
Solid.
So holy shit, dude.
That's awesome.
Really solid.
Taking a quick break from the pod to remind you guys about Rocket RX.
If you are experiencing erectile dysfunction, you're not alone.
I promise you.
You can get trusted FDA approved treatments for erectile dysfunction at a lower price than any branded alternative you are going to find.
I'm serious.
It's delivered to your door.
I know that's the worst part, right?
No one wants to order this stuff.
No one wants to get it delivered and to see the packaging.
It's discreet.
It's plain packaging.
No in-person appointments.
No pharmacy visits needed.
It's better sex made simple.
You complete a 100% online.
Listen to me, 100% online quick and easy consultation right now.
No in-person appointment needed.
You get a free online prescription from a real US clinical team today.
I'm telling you, if you start right now, you will be done in two minutes.
That's how easy it is.
I have a buddy that needed this.
And they said, I mean, I hate the worst part about it is I have to go to the doctor.
admit all this stuff. I have to go when the packaging comes. Everybody sees what it is. My neighbor
see. This, Rocket RX solves literally all of this. It's more common than you think. It's more
common than people talk about. This is a genuine, if this is a genuine thought or feeling you have,
you do this and it is a simple solve. Okay, so for our listeners, you get 20% off your first order.
You use promo code netters. That is N-E-T-T-E-R-S. Simple as this. Go to rocketrx.com.
Enter code netters at checkout, and you're going to get 20% off your first order.
That's 20% off your first order at RocketArx.
If you use code netters at checkout, the links in our description,
if this has been a problem for you, this is the simplest solve I could possibly give you.
So please take us up on this offer.
Go check it out right now, and you will not regret it for a second.
Taking a quick break, guys, to talk about BetMGM.
You know that we have teamed up with the best sports app in the game in BetMGM.
And listen, the season is over, but that doesn't mean the action stops.
We're going to be getting in on all the fun stuff and hockey included.
We got free agency going on still.
We can get in on action with that stuff.
And then we got Euros going on this summer.
We've got Copa America.
There's all the baseball action you could ever dream of.
And bet MGM has you covered across the board.
And if you don't have the app yet, sign up with code netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And you're going to get a nice hookup.
The best thing that that M-GM gives you bait is this.
You get all set up.
They're going to give you 1,500 bucks to gamble with.
1,500 smackeroonies that are into your account that you get to rock with.
And if you lose it, you get it all back.
They literally give it all back to you.
It's unbelievable.
It's the best thing to do.
No questions asked if you're getting into the sports gambling world.
Bet MGM has you covered.
Gambling problem call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S.
Call 8778 HOPE-N.Y or text HOPE NY.
4-7369 in New York.
Call 1-800-3-2-0-0-0-Massachusetts.
It's 21 plus only.
Please gamble responsibly.
Call 100,
Next Step in Arizona.
1,800,
$100,000,
2,3 in Puerto Rico,
or visit www.
800 gambler.
net in West Virginia.
First bet offer for new customers only,
subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are not withdrawal
in partnership with Kansas crossing,
casino and hotel.
CbedmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada,
North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
So there's great stuff going with the draft.
I think a lot of teams are thrilled.
We didn't see any big trades.
We didn't have a ton of talk about
nature just being in the mix.
maybe someone making a trade.
We wanted to see someone make a trade for a player,
something big happened.
There was a lot of trading picks, tons of trading picks.
And that went through the whole thing,
like the whole draft, all seven rounds.
So much pick trading as far as that's concerned.
But moving off the draft into some trades here.
Wait, just last thing on the draft, Dan,
just wanted to say, Cole Arsman at 20.
What the fuck do you have to say, dude?
Cole Arsman at 20 was interesting.
Islanders. I think Islanders actually could use that. That's great scoring. And, dude,
objectively the best goal score in the draft going 20 is interesting, period.
And then because I'm a homer... Very interesting.
And because I'm a homer, the Bruins drafting, Tage Thompson reincarnate at 25,
and he'll have 60 goals in his sophomore season is pretty sick. So everybody in the Atlantic
get fucked. You let us get Tage Thompson. Thank you so much.
Saying reincarnate when he's still alive and in the league in his prime is awesome.
Dave Thompson will be rolling over in his grave if he saw the Bruce traffic right now.
He'd be like, holy shit, it's me.
Oh, my God.
Okay, but moving on, CP.
So we've got some big trades to talk about.
Yeah, hit me.
Give me the rundown.
Tons of stuff has gone on.
Tons of stuff.
This is your forte.
Yeah, so I'm going to give you some quick ones, and then we're going to get into maybe the bigger ones that we got to discuss.
Call Grundstrom gets dealt from L.A.
to the sharks for Kyle Burroughs.
Caps get Andrew Mangia Panney for a second round pick in 2025 from the flames.
And we're going to get back to the caps.
The Blues get Alexander Texier from the jackets for a fourth rounder.
And now we get into some big deals.
Big stuff here.
I actually, a couple more quick hitters.
Jacob Lauco, your boy, get sent to Minnesota.
for Vinnie LaTerry.
And that's an interesting one.
That's an interesting one.
And, okay, here's some of the big ones.
We're going to start with Kevin Hayes.
Hasey gets traded to Pittsburgh with a second round pick for future considerations.
So kind of a dump by the Blues.
They were like, get out of here.
I love this.
I think Pittsburgh is a weirdly great spot for Hasey.
I think Sullivan will be great for him.
I think that they can just get a lot out of these last few years of Hasey's career.
But that one I felt was really interesting.
And also, I'm just very curious what they're going to, what they're doing.
Like, how are they building that?
Are they going to put Hazy on the second line, third line?
But, you know, good dude, good friend of the program getting over there is a huge one.
Dan, no one wants Sid to leave more than me.
now. Truly,
no one wants it to leave more than me,
but if Sid isn't going to leave,
these are the exact type of moves that actually could
help, could fix them. Not fix them, but
keep them semi-relevant
for the last few years.
Because Kevin Hay's a great player. And to
get that type of, like, that's what they were
missing, in my opinion. So I truly hope Sid
leaves, but if he doesn't, then I love this
trait. Totally.
Totally.
Kings immediately replace what they lost
in Grunstrom and get Tanner
Jeannot from Tampa for a fourth rounder and then a second rounder next year.
That one's crazy to me because I feel like Tampa paid a, you know, a hefty price for
Jeanneau.
They went and got Janot and people were like, holy shit.
Like that, that was a big payment for Tanner Janot.
And I guess just hasn't really worked.
But is another one of these pieces in this like cap dump by Tampa that we're going to get
more into.
So that's super interesting.
So Tanner Janone goes to L.A.
let's talk about Logan Thompson.
Maybe the funniest moment of our entire lives.
So Logan Thompson, Logan Thompson is at Omnia with us last night in Vegas.
Comes up, says what up to us, fan of the pod, just awesome, dude.
Yeah.
Goes up and grabs UCP and tell everyone what happens.
Dude, so we're at Loud Luxury.
We're having a rip.
Logan's great.
And we know a lot of the nights guys.
Obviously, we are well-documented story after.
We're friends with Jack.
But we have never met Logan face-to-face.
I guess that's what that means.
We've never met.
We actually met Logan.
We just run in the same circles.
So Logan walks up and he's like, hey, what's up?
How are you guys?
Great show.
Love you guys.
Love you back.
And he looks at me.
And he goes, yo, Chris.
And I go, what's up, dog?
And it's like loud as shit, you know?
Like, it's fucking loud luxury.
He's like pumping five people for me.
So I'm like, he's like, yo, Chris.
And I'm like, what's up?
And I'm like leaning in.
And he goes, stop fucking saying I'm going to get traded on the pond.
And dude, I am so taken aback that he said that.
And I'm buckled already, you know, because it's like fucking three, four, three a.m.
Or whatever.
And I go, like, and I probably think I respond to this way because I didn't.
have a filter.
Like I just thought something and then
said it instead of like processing it.
But he goes, stop
fucking saying getting traded on the show.
And I go, but I do
think you're going to get traded.
And just like look at him in the eye.
And dude, he just dies laughing.
Yeah, but I do. But why would I say that?
I do think you're going to get traded.
So I'm not going to fucking stop.
So then he's, but dude, God bless him
because he is a class act for reasons
I will bring up in a second.
but he immediately dabs,
we're already hanging on,
but he just dies laughing.
We're like,
hug it out,
whatever.
And then that's it,
because he's kind of like
at a table right next to us
and like he's doing his thing.
We're doing our thing.
Fucking locks gets kicked out,
you know,
so I'm like,
all right,
we got to go, dude.
Like, so we bounce.
This morning,
I'm fucking hurting, dude.
Oh my God.
DP gets on a flight.
DP sewers me on the story.
I'm fucking,
I slept.
I could have slept for three days.
And by the time I wake up,
dude.
Oh, my God.
I wake up like a million.
text, everybody, all this shit.
And I wake up, and I'm like, DP, I text Dan.
And I go, dude, can you remember that shit with Logan?
Remember when I said, remember when Logan said,
remember when Logan said, don't stop saying, I'm getting traded?
And I said, you are getting traded.
And Dan goes, Dan text you back and goes, he got traded today.
And I started dying laughing.
Because that was such a funny joke from Dan.
I was like, oh, dude, can you imagine?
I go, I respond, could you, could you imagine, Dan?
Could you imagine if he got traded today?
And Dan goes, he got traded.
He's traded.
He's on the.
capitals. And I pull up my phone. And I was like, oh my God, dude. To the point that now I'm like,
I have to fucking get his number from Jack because I'm like, Logan probably now thinks that I think,
that I knew he was traded. Like, he thinks I probably looked him in the fucking eye last night,
knowing he was traded and said that shit. And I was like, dude, I saw God, this hit me just as hard.
And the last thing I'll say, Dan, this is what I was teasing earlier. God bless that guy because truly
he's always been incredibly nice to us in every comment we've heard from him and then in that one moment in person
and he had an autograph signing today in Vegas that he fucking stayed for which he had no business staying for after being traded
and he stayed and dapped up all the fans and I actually that was like one of the coolest, classiest fucking things I've ever seen.
Truly, I'm not even, that's not even hyperbole like that it was fucking sick.
So what an insane turn of events.
What a really cool moment from Logan.
Totally, totally.
so funny. And yeah, like, what an absolute beauty staying, doing all those, those signings.
But yeah, so Logan Thompson gets dealt to the capitals for two third rounders. I want to talk about
this very quickly because caps obviously moved Darcy Kemper in the PL trade. Now they get Logan
Thompson, who is their cert- and Logan Thompson is a certified starter in the NHL. He is their
starter. And the caps, you know, like we just mentioned, they added,
Andrew Maggiapani.
And I just think the caps are doing this thing where they're like,
they're making moves.
You know,
they have PL at center now.
He's probably going to be their first line center playing with Ovi.
They have Logan and Nett now.
They're adding some depth pieces.
And the caps are operating almost as if they're like,
we're in like,
we're in this last push here with OV,
we're with Carlson like we're going for a cup and I and I am kind of like I don't think you are.
Yeah.
You're not at all.
I'm not talking.
I'm not talking shit.
I'm just like they snuck into the playoffs.
We were like, oh, I don't think I'm bummed that they were the last playoff team.
They got in.
They got in.
I was a little bummed that they were the last playoff team.
I thought Detroit would have done much better against New York and they got promptly swept out of the playoffs.
So I'm just interested with what they're doing here because they're making all of these good, you know, good moves.
But I just don't think they have the pieces to support these moves.
But we'll see.
So that's an interesting one.
Another vague piece of Vegas news.
So we've been hearing Alexander Holt's name with the Devils every five seconds, every five seconds.
And we got VTEC.
we've got Schmead and we've got Dawes there.
And now they added Markey.
So we're like, okay, one of the goalies, probably two maybe is going.
We finally get the Holtz news.
And it's that Holtz and Schmead traded to the Golden Knights for Paul
Cotter and a third.
Paul Cotter is a great bottom six player.
It plays a ton of grit.
Great dude.
Third round pick, whatever.
If you're in New Jersey and you've got this crop of young goalies,
And Holtz was a seventh round pick, you know, a few years ago, good player.
And he's been mentioned so many times in packages that included, you know, Olmark.
And now we're talking Natchez.
We're talking Marner.
This return, if you're New Jersey, after a lot of great moves have been made by New Jersey, another one coming up as well, you are, I think, a little bit like motherfucker.
That is not what we expected to get when we're losing Holtz.
So a lot of, I, you know, we've, we've broke some stories here, things that they're doing,
they're active and free agency early and they're going to be doing more.
I think much more.
I think about a name like Marcia So Chris and I think Marsha So could wind up in New Jersey.
I think that that would be a good spot from and I know they're high on him.
But definitely a trade that I think they are a bit like, ah, fuck.
Like our fans are like, fuck, I kind of wanted more for holds.
totally with you totally with you dude um the there's a few team i don't want to get into this
is because that's not this episode but there's a few teams where like so much is on the table still
jersey's one of them Vegas is one of them Nashville's one of them so i'm really excited to see
because it's what the 29th and lot of action today obviously but like buddy the fucking
next 30th and the first are going to be like the next two days are i know this is coming out
on the first eh yeah this is going on the first so
by the house is out, like, it's just, it's going to be popping.
So anybody that's into the fucking.
Oh, my God.
Like, I know you are and I am.
It's going to be really cool.
Okay.
So here are the, in my opinion, the big ones that I'm loving.
I mentioned earlier, I loved the Tija Gingua draft by Utah.
Dude, Utah has shown, like Ryan Smith has shown up.
And this team is like, we are a new team and we're making moves this year.
Dude, they go out and they get John Marino.
from the Devils, which we think is a move to support a move that's coming.
They get John Marino and a fifth for the 49th pick this year and a second rounder next year.
So two second rounders, Utah gives up and they get John Marino.
Then, dude, I think the shock of the day, they go out and get Mikhail Surgachev from the bolts for J.J. Moser,
Connor Geeky, and a seventh.
Now, we watched Connor Geeky ripping it up in the world juniors tournament.
He's a great player.
Moser's a good solid, you know, sort of third pairing guy.
Dude, you're Utah now and you add Surgachev and Marino to your blue line.
That's a huge, huge day.
I mean, these were monster moves.
Not to mention, Dan, I can't believe the, like my, and we'll give, I maybe we can
piggyback these together.
The article the other day that was like,
the bolts are not in a good place with stammer.
And I know we've been talking about him leaving,
but I was like,
whatever,
dude,
he's fucking staying.
I was like,
the reason he's staying for sure
is because they're not done competing.
They have headman.
They have Kuturov.
They think they can probably ring out
maybe one more cup run with this group.
And Surgiev just bouncing.
I'm like,
oh, okay,
you're done.
Like the bolts are fucking dead.
and buried, bro.
Good day.
What's up, Rumi?
The bolts are dead and buried.
And Stammer is now gone, dude.
And I can't wait until this comes out Monday,
and Stammer's already resigned,
and I'm an idiot.
But I have never been more on the Stammer's gone train
than I am right now than when they fucking traded Surgachev.
And I was like, oh, so you guys don't give a fuck anymore.
But, buddy, just a perfect, perfect segue, man.
I mean, that move, you,
You move out, Genoa.
Now you move out Surgachev.
I can't believe that move.
Like, Sergachev felt to me like the, you know, he's fucking unbelievable.
He, we had him in our top 100 players in the league list.
Obviously, he got a brutal injury, but, you know, he says he's coming back stronger than ever.
Surgichiev getting moved out.
You're like, okay, they're moving out all this cap.
That's the thing that we want to talk about now is the story that we heard is they offered Stammer eight years.
three million a year, which is like so insulting.
He's obviously not playing eight more years.
They're just trying to like spread that contract out until he retires, I guess.
I don't know.
But he was like, he was like, no, I'm not doing that.
And they then move all this cap out and fucking Breezewa goes, yeah, we're not giving him another offer.
We're not improving that offer.
So like tons of people are like, oh, they made all these moves and now they're going to give Sam or more.
And they're like, no, that's what we're offering.
So Stammer's hitting free agency
I think slash no
Stammer wants to stay
But at this point
He's getting motherfucked
I think a team's gonna offer him six
I mean if I'm Boston
I offer him six I offer him a four by six
No problem
And I just think he's gone
I think Stammer's gone
And I'll also say this dude
I'm gonna feel a little saucy here
Get a little spicy
I think this cat movement
is getting Jake Gensel straight down to Tampa.
That is my assumption and call for July 1.
I'm hearing Gensel to Vancouver, just to be clear.
I'm hearing Gensel to every team in the league.
Yeah, that's true.
But I'm hearing, I love Tampa, Dan.
My God, I love Gensel to Tampa.
But I'm here in Vancouver.
I really think that that's in the works and coming.
tragic end for Stammer for me,
just because I love him as a player,
and he's not done as his career.
Like, he'll make a bid somewhere, wherever he ends up.
Yeah.
He'll score 40 fucking goals again.
But I wish, because it felt like he wanted to stay, you know,
not, like, I know that's not really a thing that much anymore,
where it's like, you got to stay on the team,
but just felt like he was like, dude, I'm happy here.
Like, I love this team, and we won a bunch of cups,
and my family's here, and my kids were born here and all that shit.
so it'll be interesting, but I love chaos, and I know you do too, so that'll be cool.
Let's talk a little Toronto Maple Leafs Blue Line, Dan.
Yes, well done, CP.
Perfect segue, buddy.
He's back.
I still fucking hate you, but you're, you are back.
That was a good, that was a good switch.
There's two more that I want to talk about.
Chris Tannov, great one.
So Chris Tannup writes to sign have been traded to Toronto for a seventh round pick.
So now Toronto gets first crack in them in the next 24 hours here.
There was no deal already in place.
As of now, I haven't heard of a deal.
But Chris Tanov, awesome, really strong shutdown defenseman,
has a chance to sign in Toronto now.
I love the move, but this is also one of those funny things
where we're just, you know what I mean?
Every single tweet, everything we're hearing is people going like this,
exactly what Toronto needs.
This is exactly the move they needed to make.
And I, a little bit, I'm like,
how many times are we going to hear this, too?
Like, every time they get
Giordano, they get McCabe,
they get fucking,
I can't even, there's too many to think of.
They just get all these guys,
and everyone goes, this is the D-Man that they always needed.
This is going to change everything.
Now, Tanna's a fantastic player,
but it's interesting. I think the
big one that I've got my answer,
Tana up on is are they going to overpay the shit out of them?
Like Tannave has had a great year as a shutdown guy.
And there's just been a lot of talk about Chris Tanna all season long.
And I think that his price has been bumped up and he's 34 years old.
And I could just see them giving Chris Tannup like, you know, four by six, four by six and a half.
And I'm just like, oh, God, I don't know how good that's going to look in three years.
dude, I agree.
And it's funny because I'm like, yeah, but this is the best one they've got.
Like the Leafs are always like, we got McCabe, we got, we got G or Dan?
And I'm like, come on, dude.
But this one, I'm like, oh, okay.
This, that actually, like, Tanae eats minutes, eats pucks.
This is a good pickup.
I think it's a great trade.
We'll see the deal.
I also heard, though, Dan, today that they're getting Zadorev, too.
And if the Leafs, Zadorov is, I would be.
shocked if Zadorov went to Toronto.
I know, but I'm just telling you I heard that.
I'm not from like a guarantee, but I'm telling you
if I heard that from someone who
knows so shit, and if the Leafs go,
hey, this summer we got Zadorov and TANF,
I'm like, oh,
that actually was big.
That would be great.
Yeah. So we'll see.
But I'm just telling you,
I would have to eat some crow.
I'm like, oh, here's the Leafs again.
Doing the, this is changing everything.
And I'm like, well, no, actually this is changing
everything. Like if that, if those two things come home, that actually does change everything.
Yeah. I'm absolutely right. You're absolutely right. I'm with you. Okay, my last one,
not a trade, but bummer for me, Buffalo buys out Jeff Skinner. So Buffalo buys out the last
three years of Skinner's contract. Yeah, well, I mean, yeah, it's tough. Skinner was making a lot
of money. And last three seasons in Buffalo, 80 games, this is in 21, 22.
80 games, 33 goals, 30 assists, 63 points.
22, 23, 79 games, 35 goals, 47 assists, 82 points.
And then last year, this past season, 74 games, 24 goals, 22 assists, 46 points.
So big drop off last year.
I mean, he was coming off an 82 point season where he was absolutely fucking buzzing with
Tage and Tucky.
He is so beloved in that locker room.
He's so beloved in the league, just like such a good dude, great player.
And last year was just, let's be honest, across.
the board for everybody in Buffalo was not a good year.
They were much worse than they wanted to be than they thought they'd be.
I think Tage had a down year.
I think Tucky had a down year from the year before.
So it just sucks to see that, you know, everyone kind of has a tough season and Skinner gets bought out.
It's three or six years now that they will have to be buying out his contract and it's
spread out in weird ways.
I think 26, 27, it's like a $6 million dead cap head in the bio.
which is tough. Otherwise, it's like one to two spread out over six years. But they save some money. Skinner's
now gone, but also now means that Jeff Skinner, who is a, in my opinion, a lock 25 plus goal score or a season is available.
And he's the type of guy. I think you put him in a good locker room culture, which he would blend in with immediately because he's such a great locker room guy.
You put him with a talented center, Chris. You put him with a good line and a good team that's not getting beat up to
I think Skinner could just be right back in that 80 point space and who knows
maybe we see this as a buyout that Buffalo's like fuck me and like they felt like it wasn't
ever going to work but they're like Jesus Christ watching Skinner have another 80 point burger.
Bro, I couldn't agree more man and I'm actually sad for Buffalo and watch me be like dead wrong
and the Sabres finish third in the Atlantic next year and like they finally fulfill their destiny
and I'm an idiot but I'm just like damn dude.
Yeah.
This is not, this is extreme, but this, this to me, my knee jerk felt like the Teresenko
Ottawa trade where Ottawa was like, we're doing something.
We got Giroux, we got Vlad, we got Brady, Stutzel, and like all the shit.
And then like, it was such a white flag to see them ship out Teresanko where they were like,
ah, fuck.
I was like, oh, no.
That's why I'm so low on them next year already.
This, to me, I was like, dude, what are you doing, Buffalo?
Like, you are, like, I was trying to take this year.
as a total outlier blipping the radar, whatever, we're fine.
And it's going to be okay, believe in the core.
And then they're like this, we're buying out Skinner.
And I'm like, what, dude?
Like, everybody loves him.
He's fucking good.
Like, you know, and again, I like Buffalo.
I hope to make the playoffs next year.
But that to me, I hated this.
Just as a fan of the team, as an outsider fan of the team, I was like,
fucking Christ, dude.
This is a nightmare.
You know, you know, it's also nuts, Chris.
is he had a full no move clause.
And I'm just, I'm surprised that they couldn't find anything.
Like there was no trade to be made there.
No one would take Skinner.
There's been a lot of trades of guys recently that we've been like,
wow, I'm surprised someone, you know, took that contract.
Skinner's contract's not that bad.
And maybe he wasn't waving, but I don't know.
That's a crazy one.
You got one more for us.
Hit us up.
Last thing.
Rumor boys.
Rumor boys.
rumor boys. We're here in Sam Riner
staying for a pretty good discount.
Panthers are doing something special
and he's a part of it and he's bought it.
And Sam Riner could have easily left for like
probably over 10. And we're here and he's probably
going to stay in Florida to try to win a couple more cups
at under 10 and good for him. And I'm
fucking thrilled for him to be honest.
Absolutely. Totally
thrilled. We said the other day
you hear a lot of stories about the Boston Bruins
locker room culture.
and they're just franchise culture.
It's best in the biz.
Florida's doing that now, too.
I think the way that that locker room has bonded,
the way that those guys are just rallied together
and want to stay together is something special.
And the fact that you got Reinerd out here who could make this or that somewhere else,
we talked about with Yan's,
the no state tax helps for sure.
But, yeah, what we're hearing is it's no questions asked.
Rino's staying.
He's going to be a part of that project for the,
foreseeable future for a long time.
And it's, in my opinion, it's a no-brainer.
Like, he's so good there.
Everyone is just such a fucking unit there at that team.
And I love the move by him.
And it's just, when you see this dude,
it's just, I think it's inspiring for not just Florida
and other guys in Florida. It's other guys in the leak.
It's like, this is, this is what takes, man.
Look at what they're doing.
That's because of guys like this buying in.
You absolutely love to see it.
Dude, let me just, we're done.
Great, great chat, Dan, great to see you, buddy.
But let me just read you.
Oh, fuck you.
The top six.
I wanted to talk about the top six four nations that got announced.
Oh, yeah, good call.
I like that.
Okay, listen to this.
Canada.
Sydney Crosby, Connor McDavid, Nathan McKinnon.
Let me just pause there real quick.
That's fucking crazy.
Absurd.
Brad Marchand, Braden Point, Kail McCar, 5 forwards, 1D.
Team USA.
Austin Matthews, Matthew Cichuk, Jack Eichel, Charlie McAvoy, Quinn Hughes, Adam Fox,
three forwards, 3D.
Team Sweden.
Willie Nealander, Mika Zabinajad, Philip Forsberg, Victor Headman, Eric Carlson, Gustav Forsling,
three forwards, 3D.
Team Finland.
So good.
Sasha Barkoff, Miko Rantaninan, Sebastian.
Ajo, Miro Hiscanin, Issa Lindell, and UCSaurus, three forwards, 2D, one goalie.
Finland, the only team that names a goalie.
Canada, the only team that only names 1D.
Who do you like?
Who's the favorite after the first six, Dan?
Listen, I'm obviously a homer, but I don't know how you look at the, you know, I love the balance, too.
The three forwards, 3D that USA just named.
Like, in what world does that team not win?
I think it's unbelievable.
but that's funny because when you read the six of all those, I'm like,
Jesus fucking Christ,
all these teams are so fucking good.
But I'll tell you what, man,
it's,
these tournaments,
it's going to be all about depth.
And I do think personally,
everyone's going to be so good,
but Canada and U.S.,
I think the depths at this tournament are going to be so insane.
And also respect that Canada is out here,
Naman,
uh,
Sid and Marshan,
like no doubt.
They're in the top.
obviously these two are here.
But buddy, how fucking hard are you for this tournament?
Like naming those guys.
Naming all those guys.
I was like, what the fuck, dude?
Let's go.
I want to go six on six.
Everybody name a goalie for who haven't is to pick the goalie.
But let's just go six on six.
Fuck them, dude.
This is insane.
Holy shit.
Yeah.
I am absolutely torqued up over here for this tournament.
Now, I will say my one parting words on this.
I don't know if these teams are going to be naming more than two goalies.
I can't imagine.
I imagine they'll name in roster two goalies.
USA has such a brutal decision, dude.
Like you got Sway, who I think is the lock starter.
No questions asked.
If you don't have them as your starter, you're fucking dumb.
But then you got Hella Buk and you got Demco.
And I'm like, good Lord.
Like that is whoever doesn't get named, that is so, so tough.
It's crazy, bro.
And we have the best.
I can say we have American.
We have the best goalies.
The fucking forwards are nasty.
I thought team Sweden actually looked sick.
I was like, damn.
Because like, I don't know.
Finland, everybody looks sick.
But I was like, Sweden looks nasty.
Headman.
Carlson, Forsling.
But I was like, oh, they look.
We got Chuckie, Quinn, and Foxy.
Are you shitting me?
And then Matthews, Cichuk and Ikel.
Get fucked, dude.
So, come on, bro.
I can't wait.
Fast forward to be a fucking all-star break.
Let's go.
I cannot wait.
All right.
Well, that's it for us today at the empty netters podcast.
We're going to be dialed in.
If you guys are listening to this coming out Monday morning,
we're going to be going nuts with free agency stuff.
So get on the Twitter, get on the IG, follow along with everything.
But, um, CP, get fucked, buddy.
I'm so glad that I'm not with you right now.
You are just such a pervert.
I can't.
I have to go to the UFC fight with Biz Dan.
I know.
You're a sick man.
I, like, I'm so happy that my liver is not near you for a little while.
So enjoy.
survive somehow, you freak.
And until I see you and until we see all of you guys.
Skate hard.
