Empty Netters Podcast - Please Give Us The Flames, The Senators, and The Blue Jackets
Episode Date: March 13, 2025We’re past the trade deadline so that means the playoff push is ON! Races for the one seed. Races for the wildcard. Everything is heating up. And we have a chance to get some new blood in the playof...fs. The boys debate who’s in and who’s out. Plus CP unveils some birthday presents and they play a hilarious game of Two Real Two Fake NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some True Classic. Upgrade your wardrobe and save on @trueclassic at trueclassic.com/[NETTERS]! #trueclassicpod 00:00 INTRO 02:05 NOT ICE 15:13 HOT ICE / THE RACE 54:38 BIRTHDAY PRESENTS 1:01:45 POWERS RANKINGS 1:04:36 STARTING 6 1:08:10 TWO REAL TWO FAKE Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Here's the thing, dude, if you're the Toronto Maple Leafs, I think you have to get first.
Because if you play either Tampa or Florida, you're losing in the first round.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
He's been called nostalgic, but some might call him a hoarder when they find the drawer in his dresser filled with t-shirts he's been collecting since he was five years old,
that he has never worn not even once.
Chris Powers.
Oh, God.
Oh, no.
When you do stuff like this,
I feel like you don't think about the listeners.
As always.
Wow.
I'm shocked that that was a more subdued one.
I was not keeping you on your toes.
Yeah, yeah.
That felt like it was going to come hard and hot.
Also, the, I would say that I am a light.
light
hoarder
nope
light
nope
there's no way
there's no way you can
emphasize light that many times
yes you can do because hoarding
is a disease
and that is an actual thing that people
do
yes
and I am nostalgic
and keep things 100%
but there's
like even the ones you listed
those are just in a drawer it's not like in my way
You know, like if things start getting in my way, even I'm like, all right, I got to get rid of this shit.
So I'll, I'm doing you a service by even calling it hoarding, which is why there's several emphasis on light.
And where I was really headed it is everybody laughs now.
Everybody loves to laugh now.
But soon, Dan, when that Kirby Pucket never worn rookie tea.
Yeah, like, you think that one's going to, you think that Minnesota Timberwolf, Steph Marbury jersey, knockoff jersey is going to be worth a lot?
I'll be rich.
and guess who's getting none of the sale money.
Do you, let's be honest,
what of your stuff that you have saved
do you think actually has the most value?
I legitimately think, Dan, that there are articles,
because it's mostly close, eh?
Like, I can't really recall many,
I had some cards, I had some baseball cards, I think.
But that, I mean, that industry went crazy.
Went crazy.
Yeah.
But I don't really have any.
Well, cards I'm not really going to knock you for.
Yeah, but like I don't have any, they got, it went so crazy that it's not just,
you can't just have a card anymore.
Like I used to be like, oh, I have so-and-so's rookie card.
But now it's like, well, dude, is there a jersey thing?
And does it say one of ten on it?
You know, it's like, no, it's a fucking baseball card from 1993.
But, uh, I bet, dude, during, you know, a long-time listeners, I know of my Christmas saga
always and how deep down the rabbit hole I go looking for gifts.
Our uncle is a huge Red Sox fan.
I'm, I'm usually when I'm getting him gifts, I'm deep in eBay land.
And some of that shit is like, oh, this is the, this is like the actual fucking
penit, uh, program, you know, get your programs here, that thing.
It's an actual program from this game.
And people are like, 600 bucks.
And I'm like, what, dude?
It was 25 cents.
So do I think I'm getting rich off anything in that?
I know the dresser you're talking about.
Do I think I'm getting rich off any of that?
No, not rich.
But I bet some.
of those things in 20 more years. I'm like, oh, I have this Nomar, like this vintage Nomar thing.
There's Red Sox fans that are like, yeah, a couple hundred bucks. Like, I bet I could make
four figures from that dresser. Why don't you do it then? Because it needs a little bit more time.
It's got to cook a little bit longer. You don't think the Nomar shirt has probably found it.
No, because I think it's my, us gets old, old. You know, like I'm like 70, God willing.
And then someone's like, dude, there's like this vintage Nomar thing.
And I'm like, oh, my God, remember that, dude?
Remember those days?
And I got some money.
I'm fucking retired.
And I'm like, boom, 500 bucks.
You have such a special mind.
I know.
It's really incredible.
It's awesome.
I'm going to be, dude.
And now you're pissing me off again.
Now you can't have any of the money.
You were back in the money.
Now you're out of the money.
I don't want it.
Okay.
I don't want it, dude.
I didn't deserve it.
I didn't deserve it.
Yeah, you're damn right.
You don't deserve it.
We're going to be, in your mind, we're going to live in the future where t-shirts are not a thing that it's all digital.
Yeah.
Everyone walks outside naked.
They've got a little wristwash that projects an outfit that they want.
Yeah.
And then, now we've got Buku Bucu Buckew.
Now we're in the money, dude.
Because you've got a dresser full of untouched tuitons.
Cotton.
100%.
Boom.
Fruit of the loom.
Dude, get rich.
Now you're rich.
Dude, cotton isn't the new currency.
I didn't realize that, dude.
Everyone keeps thinking it's water.
No, it's actually cotton.
Shit.
This, we got to be careful with this conversation.
I am rich, too.
He's getting really close to racist.
Getting really close to racist saying cotton is the currency of the future.
That's true.
Got to chill out.
Got to chill out.
Got to chill out.
Okay.
I'm chill.
And I'm rich.
We just finished a chilling at the far blue.
I'm still chilled.
Me too.
From it.
I'm pretty cold.
We've got a new chilling at the far blue coming from you guys very soon.
Jordan Spence of the L.A. Kings.
My boy.
My boy.
My boy.
Such, probably the funniest one we've ever got.
Yeah, definitely is a funny one.
No offense, juice.
No offense, Kev?
No offense, AI.
No offense, Brownie.
No offense, chop.
But, God damn.
It just, he was, he was down to clown.
He also got prepped a little bit.
Yeah, we were like, dude, just go, just play, just roll with it.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And he rolled.
Yeah.
It was fantastic.
We've got some real significant, significant wild card race discussions to get into.
Yep.
But before we do that.
You wanted to talk about pop?
I wanted to talk about pop.
Is that a pop?
I have a question for the listeners.
I'm mostly polling the listeners, so please leave a comment.
And maybe someone can leave a comment that's like,
this button is the this.
The like, this like button is for this one.
And maybe that we can do a poll.
I don't even know, we can probably put a poll in a comment.
We can pin a poll comment.
A few years ago, I found out that Diet Coke,
Basically, the Coca-Cola company was like,
here's Coca-Cola, everybody drink it,
and then we all did.
And then people were like,
ah, man, there's a lot of-
After they pumped it full of cocaine.
Yeah, yeah.
Just absolutely doused it.
Originally, it was boom, blow.
You know when you see a video of someone taking a cup of coffee
just doing a couple of scoops of sugar?
That's the Coca-Cola company was doing with cocaine.
Cocaine.
No what I had for breakfast?
Cocaine.
Did you know that's why all the commercials were,
all the original Coke commercials,
glass bottle Coke, was like with polar bears and snow?
because they were like...
It's blow.
It's mostly cocaine.
It's Coke, guys.
You were like, no, we get it.
46 grams of sugar.
And they were like, we're not even going to put how many grams of Coke.
Yeah, boom.
Why do you think it's jazzing you up so much?
So original Coke was cocaine.
Then they were like, just sugar.
That was fucked up.
Perkinsets.
Perkinsets.
Yeah, it was cocaine.
Perkinsets.
Sugar.
Sugar.
Cain sugar.
Cain sugar.
Process sugar.
Yep.
Then.
Viking it
then they were like
we
the people are clamoring for
a non-sugar version
so they made Diet Coke
but there was an issue that the
Coca-Cola company didn't want
the recipe the flavor is so
its own thing they were like we're making Diet Coke
which is literally a different tasting
thing yeah yeah it does not taste the same as Coke
and then eventually
people were like yo and Diet Coke became
a huge thing in this country most
And then some people were like, yo, this doesn't taste like Coke.
I just want Coke with no sugar.
How can you not do that?
And then Coke Zero became a thing.
I had never even had Coke Zero.
And all my Canadian friends and European friends were like, we drink Coke Zero.
And I was like, what's the fucking difference?
And they were like, it tastes like Coke.
Yours doesn't.
And people like yours.
People like Diet Coke more than Coke zero because they don't want that taste.
It's wild how much Diet Coke became a thing.
Like people were like, that's its own thing.
Yeah, yeah.
Absolutely.
So then I tried Coke Zero.
And I was like, oh, yeah, I see this.
And I don't, where Pepsi guy, I don't really drink that much Coke of any variety.
I'd much rather a D.P.
I've officially swung you.
I was, I was like, even when I was drinking sugar soda.
You're not going to give me credit for Pepsi?
No.
You're not going to give me credit for that?
I liked Pepsi.
What are you talking about?
I was always the Pepsi product guy.
What are you talking about?
Is Sprite Coke or Pepsi?
Coke.
Bitch.
Okay, so that was the one because I do like Sprite more than 7 up.
But otherwise I was on the Pepsi side.
You got to give you, come on.
I was drinking sugar Pepsi before you were done.
Never mind.
There's a typical joke there, but it's my mom too.
So yeah, fuck you.
Watch your mouth when you're talking about my mom.
We were sucking on a pacifier.
I was drinking sugar.
Watch your mouth when you're talking about my mouth.
I was drinking sugar.
This is bullshit, dude.
I would also, I don't, I'm not proud of this.
I like, I like diet pop too much.
You do.
I drink it too much.
The bubbles are bad, dude.
The bubbles, they're killing our bone density.
Killing out of your head.
Teal are falling out of your head, not from meth,
from diet pop.
You're from diet pop.
So here's my point.
Today we went to the store.
I would say we're a very heavy Dr. Pepper show top to bottom.
So I go to the store and I go, it's Redmond and Teeps are there.
Boom, I grab two Coke Ceres for my Canadian boys.
I know they love Coke Zero.
And I grab a Diet D.P. Dr. Pepper for you.
And I grab a Diet Dr. Pepper for you.
And then I was about to grab one for myself.
And then I see that they have Dr. Pepper Zero.
And I was like, I'm going to get that for me.
And I almost got it for you guys, but I hadn't run it by yet.
Didn't want to throw you curb balls.
It was nice of you.
So I got you the diets.
And I.
much prefer the zero because it tastes,
Diet Dr. Pepper is pretty good.
It tastes like Dr. Pepl.
Yeah, it tastes like it.
Yeah, it tastes like it.
That's what I'm saying.
The zero tastes like Dr. Peppel.
I'm saying diet Dr. Pepper is pretty close
among diets.
It's actually pretty close to the original.
But the zero is exactly the same.
And I'm like, why aren't we all drinking zeros?
I mean, Europe's been on this game for a minute, son.
So we should be on zeros?
Yeah, that's why I'm a big, that's why I'm a Max guy, Pepsi Max.
Because that's zero?
Yeah, Pepsi Max is their Pepsi, Pepsi,
Yeah, like, that's fucking...
Just tastes like the original drink that you love.
Why don't we do that?
You know what?
Pop, I think, probably has the best diet slash zero game.
Actually, no, the best diet game is Sprite.
Ooh, Diet Sprite is...
It's just so similar.
Yeah.
I feel like Sprite's one of those pops that doesn't have the craziest.
It's not punching you in the dick with sugar.
It's a little caffeine.
Like a Mountain Dew?
Yeah.
Mountain Dew, brother.
You got the beatties.
You got the sugars.
You got the sugars.
You drink two Mountain Dews.
You got the sugars.
Have I ever...
I told you that one, there's a wags, you don't know this story.
I was a, I was late to the marijuana game in my life.
Kid stays late, to be honest with you.
Stays late.
I don't do it.
Freaks me out, bugs me out.
But I was a good boy.
It was a good, good boy, good lad.
It was too focused on sports.
Didn't smoke weed until I got to college.
Smoked weed when I got to college.
Had some good times.
I came home that summer, I believe, after my freshman year, hung out.
with a couple of buddies from my hometown.
We smoked some weed.
We smoked some weed.
We sat in my...
Like a cigarette.
He smoked the marijuana like a cigarette.
I smoked a marijuana cigarette.
I took... What are marijuana tablets?
I smoked some weed.
We sat in a really great room in our parents' house
that we called the pad.
Sat in the pad after going to a convenience store.
Mr. Mike's, a local convenience store.
We stocked up on some goods, snacks, drinks.
And we sat down on the couch
and we watched, it's always sunny in Philadelphia.
I was so high, and I was so thirsty, never been so thirsty in my life.
I am not kidding you.
We got a case of 12 Mountain Dews, sugar, Mountain Dews, the good stuff.
Yeah.
And I am not exaggerating.
I drank 10 of them.
I drank 10.
I drank 10 cans of Mountain Dew, full sugar, full sugar, mountain dews while watching Always Sunny.
Not that long of a time period.
I think it was probably two hours, two and a half hours.
I was just so thirsty.
Hold on.
Do you think that's true?
I know.
I know it's true.
And it was the closest beverage to me.
I had no other option.
And I was just so thirsty.
How much you got to?
Cotton mouth.
And I just kept leaning down and picking up, cracking a new mountain dew.
There was a can of mountain dews.
I got up.
I sounded like I was in a clink dispensary, just walking on all the cans.
Two hours.
I don't know if I've ever recovered from them.
10 cans.
What is it can't?
12 ounces?
Yeah.
So 120 ounces.
Is it 12?
How much is a bottle?
Oh, it was a bottle?
No, no, no.
There were cans.
They were cans.
But can't 12 ounces?
I think so.
Okay.
12 ounces.
120.
So that was easy.
That was easy math.
Didn't need the calculator on that one.
You pulled out the calc for that.
I was like, uh, you probably do this.
So you drank an ounce of, you did a double power hour.
You had an ounce on the minute every minute of Mountain Dew.
I'm not.
must have pissed my pants.
A double power, a double-do power hour.
Dude, it was truly one of the most stunning performances in my life.
And even while baked, I knew what was happening.
Yeah, you can't stop it.
I finished my sixth and I was like, oh my God, dude.
You cannot stop it at that point, Dan.
Unbelievable.
Absolutely unbelievable.
That's great, bro.
I'm happy for you.
We're on zeros.
Yep.
I think so, too.
I think everybody should be on zeros.
Comment, dude.
Is you a diet person or you a zero person?
Because if you're not a zero person, I need to explain to me why.
you're a die of person. Take in a quick break to tell everybody about my favorite bet MGM promotion
and that is the hat trick jackpot. All I need you to do is bet on an anytime goal score.
Just feel it, feel it, tingle, feel the tingle. You know who's going to score. Bet on that anytime
goal score. Activate that hat trick jackpot promotion. And then if your goal score scores three or more,
by the way, they could light the limb, they could get nine goals. They can get a cat trick, okay?
But if they get a hat trick or more, you and anyone else that activated it and had them splits a share
of 10 G's in bonus bets.
So, I mean, if you're the only one, bang, 10 G's.
How about them?
How about them apples?
So get on the BetMGM and hit that hat trick jackpot promotion.
And when you sign up, if you use promo code netters, that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
You can win up to 1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses.
So what are we talking about here?
I get bonus bets coming out my ears.
Don't you want to get involved in that?
So download the Bet-M-GM-M-GM app right now and use that promo code netters when you sign up.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800 gambler.
Call 8-7-7-8-0.
Hope N.Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call 1-800-3-27-50-50 from Massachusetts.
21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 100 Next Step for Arizona.
1-800-Effects off for Iowa. 1-8001-0-0-0-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas, cross, and casino and hotel.
See betmGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Let's talk...
Let's talk the race. Let's talk the standings. Let's talk Wildcard.
Yep.
We're going to go through division.
If there's a race that I feel, me, I decided this, that I feel is worth talking about.
So, for example, in the Met, there is no race for first, in my opinion.
Well, that's over.
It's over.
And there's also no race for third, in my opinion, because Jersey, I think, I guess the jackets are, like, kind of nipping at their heels.
Six out, though.
But jackets, two games in hand.
Yeah.
So I'm like, maybe.
But I'm kind of just washing that one.
Like, I think Jersey, even with Jack Hurd, I'm like, I think they are fine.
We've got roughly, what, 16 games left in the season?
Between 18 and 16?
So, for example, there's no race in the Met for me.
Yeah, okay.
And I also think there's no race for Atlantic third because Ottawa, like, no one is catching.
No one's catching Tampa or Toronto.
Yeah.
But there is a race for Atlantic first, and there is a race for Atlantic Wildcard.
Yeah.
So in the Atlantic, those are the two we're going to talk about.
Let's start with Atlantic first.
First.
So here's what's crazy about the Atlantic.
We have been watching Ottawa surging.
It's a blast.
Two monster wins back to back.
Linus O'Mark standing on his head, stealing a game from Detroit, who desperately needed
those points.
Boston.
No, dude.
I want to talk about Atlantic first.
Oh.
First.
Like Atlantic first place.
First place.
Got it.
First.
Florida has 83 points in 65 games.
Toronto has 81 and 64.
With a game.
so it's essentially tied.
Tampa has 78 with 64.
And they're only three back.
And here's what's funny.
No disrespect.
No disrespect, Toronto.
But I think Tampa and Florida are the two best looking teams in the Atlantic right now.
Tampa and Florida.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I think so, too.
Florida's a wagon.
They're 8-2 and 0 in their last 10.
Tampa's 7-3-0, but they have lost two in a row.
I don't know.
I just think both those teams look stronger than Toronto right now.
I've pulled up, Dan, two different.
remaining strength of schedule sites.
Okay.
I like it.
Tankathon.com.
Sick name.
Shout out.
Free ad.
Free ad.
One is the highest strength of schedule.
32 is the easiest schedule.
Okay.
They have Florida at 13.
Okay.
Toronto at 21.
Oh.
Tampa at 29.
Ooh.
Cakewalk.
Okay.
13's not that bad.
No, 13.
You're right.
Like, it's not like,
not like that is a crazy discrepancy.
I feel like a team like Florida can handle 13th.
And then the power rankings guru.com has Tampa 13,
Toronto 17, Florida 22.
You feel like this would be easy math.
Yeah, how can these sites be that different?
average difficulty.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So if, let's rock with Tankathon maybe.
Well, let's, you know, it's good to have the info.
Let's just discuss with our own minds what we think we're taking that information and we're going to work with it.
So basically the way I look at it is everyone is middle to bottom, strength of schedule.
So these teams should have a good record in the last 16 or so games.
Yep.
Tampa is three points behind Toronto, same exact games.
Toronto is two points behind Florida with the game in hand.
This is tight.
I know, dude.
This is very tight.
And that first round, let's just look at that really quickly.
Do you care?
So if you're Florida, you're going to face the harder wildcar team.
Or if you're the winner of the Atlantic, you're going to face the harder wildcar team
because Washington is going to get the easier wildcar team.
So you are going to get...
So right now you're looking at Ottawa.
Ottawa.
But it's like you're going to get something of Ottawa.
Columbus, Montreal, New York, Detroit.
Yes, I skipped Boston.
Yeah.
And if you're not, you're going to catch Toronto, Tampa.
Yeah.
Which blows. So being first in this division is very advantageous.
These three teams just sucks.
It sucks whoever finishes two, three.
But if I'm being honest, who is first most important to?
Toronto.
No doubt.
Oh, yeah.
No doubt.
Toronto loses to Tampa or Florida.
I think you're right.
And I don't think.
they go seven games. I think they lose
handily to either of these teams.
So if you're Toronto, look at the gold thefts, bro.
If I'm Barubei, yeah, 40
for Florida, 52 for Tampa,
16 for Toronto. If I'm Barube,
I'm like, dude, these next
16 games are playoff games. You have to catch Florida.
Catch Florida and win this fucking division
so we can avoid those two teams.
That is paramount.
Dan, I love this. That is paramount if I'm
the Maple Leafs. You do not want to play
either of these teams. And what's funny, Chris,
is I even think, yes, Dan.
What's funny is I even think a Toronto-O-Ottawa first-round series is sketchy as shit to them because of what it means.
Because of those two teams, two Canadian teams in the Atlantic, proximity to each other,
Ottawa hungry to finally be in the playoffs.
Ottawa is kind of a chippy little team that I could see getting under their skin.
So it's not even a cakewalk, but no doubt about it.
First place in the Atlantic is most important to Toronto and it's not even close.
Dude, Toronto, tomorrow night, today when you're listening to this, home versus the Panthers.
Got to have it.
Got to have it.
Home versus Ottawa.
Home versus Flames.
Home versus Avs.
Tough homestand.
On the road to New York, got to have it.
On the road to Preds.
Got to have it.
Home for Philly.
Got to have it.
Away for San Jose.
Got to have it.
Away for Kings.
Tough game.
Away for ducks.
That's their, you know, that's it.
Ducks are chippy.
And it's just that West Coast trip, right?
Yeah, yeah.
And then home for Florida, home for Blue Jackets, at Florida, at Tampa.
Home for Montreal, at Carolina, at Buffalo, home for Detroit.
You got two Florida games in there and a Tampa game.
Those are huge fucking games if you're the Leafs.
Huge fucking games.
So, yeah, first, first in the Atlantic, well, I'm saying Florida, Tampa, if either of them get it,
let's be honest, it's probably going to be between Florida and Toronto.
I would be shocked if Tampa could catch Florida.
It would take a tank job from Florida to an extent.
Not a tank job.
It would take a stumble.
It would take a stumble.
It would take a slipple.
Yep.
So it's probably going to be Florida or Toronto.
And if you're Toronto, you've got to get that.
Yeah.
You're not saying that externally because you're like, we can beat anybody.
But internally, I guarantee they're like, we need to win the fucking division.
Hondo P.
Because, dude, the first round exit.
Honestly, I wouldn't even be mad if Berubei was like Noah, we really love that first place and avoid those two teams.
The first round exit, I mean, it always sucks, obviously.
And the Panthers, of course, want to go.
back to back, but you know, they had two long summers in a row.
No one's mad if the Panthers lose to the lightning in the first round,
except for Panthers fans.
No one's mad if Tampa loses to Florida in the first round because they're like,
he has a fucking battle, dude, whatever.
Toronto, just, there's another bullet in the last year of having all your boys,
first round exit.
So this is playoff time for the Leafs.
You have to catch Florida.
So now, now let's talk about...
What do you think finishes it?
I think Florida gets it.
Me too.
I think they do.
Because I think they know the same thing.
They're going, we're either going to play Ottawa or Tampa.
I think Florida gets it and I think Toronto finishes third.
I like that.
How about that?
They're on the road.
They lose to Tampa and fucking five.
All right.
Now let's skip to the MET and then we'll talk about Wildcard.
Met, you're right.
First is locked up absolutely.
And I think second is locked up too.
I don't see a world where Carolina gets caught by New Jersey.
There's literally no race in the MET in my opinion.
One, two, three is confirmed.
So we're probably going to see New Jersey finishing third.
Yep.
So let's just go right to Wildcard.
Yeah. And by the way, Dan, sneaky, you just brought my attention to this.
I, we have been talking about a lot about the hurricanes and about how you kind of hurt your win now mode and like, oh my God, if you lose in the first round, that's actually an ideal matchup.
Like, if you catch no Jack Jersey in the first round with Home Ice, I mean, they'll take that, right?
You're like, Jesus.
If you're Carolina and you're like, we got Home Ice and Jack's out of the lineup, don't get me wrong.
Jersey's still a great team.
I also think that they have a lot of injured guys who are planning to come back.
for playoffs.
Yeah, yeah.
Seagenthaler and Dougie,
probably going to be back in this lineup.
Yeah, dude, like, yikes.
Beach, Jersey, Hope Washington gets upset.
And then you're laughing.
Yeah.
Okay.
Eastern Wildcard.
Let's do it.
Right now, Ottawa, 73.64 games,
Columbus, 70.64 games.
Montreal.
God bless them.
They're amazing.
God bless them, dude.
And they're kind of doing that.
Like, they're a minus 20 gold.
I'm like, who cares, baby?
way. There, by the way, I think we had them seventh, both of us. You, no, you and Tom or did. I had
him eighth because I just thought Buffalo would have a sack on their body. Yeah, but what's funny is we all
said, seventh or eighth. Next year. It's a next year thing. Yeah. And we were like, seventh or eighth
and great year, though. Yep. Yeah, yeah. Great year for them. Yep. Which is exactly what is happening,
which is awesome. But yeah, they're right in the mix, dude. They are, they, they are two points back
from Columbus with the same games played, same games played as Ottawa as well.
But, like, they're in the mix here.
Because what's interesting is we've got them at 68.
And let's just stay in the Atlantic.
Boston at 68, but with two games played over them.
Yeah.
And then Detroit, 66.
Same amount of games.
Same amount of games.
So what's funny about Ottawa, these last two wins from Ottawa have been so clutch.
Nails, dude.
So, so clutch.
God damn.
And I actually think.
they've given themselves a good footing here.
Like I said it yesterday on the page.
It's on the page right now.
I think Ottawa's in, dude.
And I thought Brady could Chuck Costa in the playoffs.
Yeah.
But he back.
By his foreign nation's performance.
But he back.
I legitimately was like, they're out.
He back and he's scoring.
Scoring two games in a row.
So I think Ottawa's in.
Now, what's funny about, I'm going to include Ottawa in this sentiment.
Ottawa, Columbus, Montreal, Detroit.
And we'll say Boston and New York because of their form right now.
All of those teams, as far as I'm concerned, that's six teams.
Ottawa, Columbus, Montreal, New York, Boston, Detroit.
Islanders feels bad to say it because you're only one point back.
I just, I don't see it.
Me neither.
Those six teams could all, based on who they are and how they're playing this year,
go on a last year Detroit skid at any moment in my opinion.
Oh, in the bad way.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So as much as I want to be like this, Ottawa's a lock.
I'm like, if they lost five straight, I wouldn't be shocked.
Yep.
I would be like, oh, no, and very disappointed because I want them to make playoffs.
But I would not be shocked.
And it's the same thing with Columbus.
It's the same thing with Montreal.
Same thing with Rangers, Bruins, and Detroit.
So this wild card race is going to be fucking awesome.
Correct.
All these teams are just like, what version of you are we expecting night in and night out?
And you want to talk being in playoffs?
Like these guys are in playoffs right now.
They know that's the mentality.
Toph always tells us right after the trade deadline.
It's like, okay, it's fucking go time.
Boston, we talked about it so much last step.
And God bless them, dude.
Like, if they get in, that's cool.
They're not making plans.
You talked about thinking Buffalo would have a sack on their body.
The sack, the big swinging balls that Boston showed last game.
First game after losing all those guys.
Yeah.
Playing Florida.
Playing Florida.
Dude, they had more.
than they've had all year.
I know.
I know. All season long.
And that was, in my opinion, that was a situation bump.
They were like, we've got to get up for this.
If this Bruins team makes the playoffs, holy hell, but I don't see it at all.
The rags are such a tricky one because they are just, they're lurking enough and there's
enough talent on that team.
But to me, it feels like you just haven't been that team that you want to become all year.
And you don't have to jump that much.
You don't have to jump two teams as it sits right now.
but it's just
I don't love it
and Dan you're fucking
you want to talk about
anyone could go on a
anyone could go on
to Detroit last year
skid again
they're doing it right now
they've lost six straight
like Detroit is just like
they're so depressing
dude I cannot believe it dude
how positive
six losses in a row
let me pull up the schedule
how positive are you dude
that the red wings
are going to get hot again
and then miss the playoffs
but we're going to go
into the last game of the season
and they're going to need help
and then they're going to win
but so did Columbus, you're out.
And I go, dude, remember when you lost the stadium series to Columbus and you lost six straight games?
Like, did that start it?
Yeah, literally did.
Losing stadium series to Columbus, losing 2-1 to Carolina Hurricanes at home, not a bad loss.
Losing 4-2 to Utah at home, cannot happen.
Losing 5-2 to the Caps on the road, tough game.
Losing 2-1 to Ottawa, cannot happen.
No.
And, or that's what, that's 5.
Let me go back one more to see what the other loss was.
But what's funny, dude, is I believe.
losing 5 at home to Columbus.
Yeah.
What the fuck, dude?
And what sucks is like three weeks ago, four weeks ago,
Detroit fans were in our DMs, who I love.
You know, I'm one of you.
Being like hottest team in the NHL since Four Nations break.
Like, we're buzzing, we're crew.
And they were.
They were.
They looked like Casper had woken up.
Caner was kind of firing again.
And it was like, fuck yeah, dude.
Like, they're going to do it.
They're finally doing it.
They were in a playoff spot.
It was right before Four Nations, right?
And now here we are, dude, six losses in a row.
So yeah, they went one, two, three, four.
But this is leading me into something I want to talk about.
Six, seven, wow.
What we have said, right, I just mentioned those six teams.
Let me let the numbers do the talking for me.
Yep, I'm going to pull up some strength of schedule.
Top three in the Atlantic, gold diff.
Florida plus 40, Toronto plus 16, Tampa plus 52.
That's top three in all of the, oh no, that's the Atlantic only.
In the Atlanta.
Top three in the Met, Washington plus 68.
Carolina plus 32, New Jersey, plus 30.
Now remember those six teams I mentioned?
Yep.
Down the line.
Ottawa, Columbus, Montreal, New York, Boston, Detroit.
Ready?
Mm-hmm.
Plus three, plus four, minus 20, minus 3, minus 27, minus 22.
The drop-off from the top three in the Atlantic and top three in the Met is preposterous.
I think that's going to be in the West, too, but I hear you.
But this is why I'm saying this race is electric.
And absolutely, dude, it is exactly the same in the West, which is why we're going to get to,
the race in the West is also going to be electric.
So do you think, oh, let me hit some strength of schedule, okay?
Tankathon.
Ottawa.
I'm done with Tankathon.
I thought we liked them.
They were fine.
Ottawa 25th.
Columbus 6th.
Hate that for Columbus.
If Columbus has just given us this gift all season long,
only to be torn apart by competition in the last three weeks of the season,
I will cry very real tears.
We're very real, big boy tears.
Ottawa 25th.
Boston 27th.
So, you know, whatever.
Rangers 9th.
Montreal 18.
Detroit.
One.
Of course.
Hardest to shrink the schedule left.
Two against Carolina.
Two against Florida.
Two against Vegas.
One against Dallas.
One against Capitals.
One against Toronto.
Christ.
And dude, they're in their easiest opponents.
It's like one against the habs.
And I'm like, that's not easy, dude.
Yeah.
That is awful.
So that is very tough.
Yeah, it's tough for Detroit.
It looks like curtains for Detroit.
Okay.
Who you got?
Who you got?
Yeah, yeah.
Talking East wildcard race of the six teams.
Again, sorry Islanders, you're out.
Give me your least.
Go up.
Least, not who you pick.
The teams you want to make the playoffs the least.
That I want?
That you want to make the playoffs the least.
Yeah, not who I think.
What I want.
Yeah, yeah, I just said.
Not what you think.
This is just what you want.
I want the...
A tough one here.
Let me go...
Honestly, dude, let me go Bruins.
I want the Bruins to make the Plus Leagues.
I know that's insane as Bruins fan,
and I just made a lot of friends from home very mad.
But I just...
It feels like, for what point in purpose, dude,
to get a worst draft pick
to get rinsed in the first round
by fucking Florida probably?
You know, and I'm like, great.
Cool.
That happened again.
Let's keep this narrative going.
Yeah, like, I don't need that.
Just, it's okay.
We did the fire sale.
I asked you to do the fire sale.
You did it.
And let's just, let's just everyone,
Give everyone some rest, dude.
Let's let everybody rest.
So I want the Bruins to make the playoffs the least of those six.
I want the Rangers to make the playoffs the fifth least of those six
because kind of for the same reason in terms of I'm like,
dude, you aren't good.
There's no, I don't need you to get in here.
It doesn't do anything for you guys to get in here.
Also, it does, admittedly, and I don't even dislike the Rangers,
but it does bring me a little joy with so many Rangers fans who were so mad at me last year.
Yappy, yeah.
Rangers are frauds.
You're a fucking idiot.
And I'm like this, well, they got crushed by Panthers,
even though, and I told you that would happen, and then also they stink now.
Yeah.
So fifth.
Fourth least do I want is the Habs, and I love this Habs team.
They're a year early for me, so I'm like, whatever.
But this has been so fun, and I think it has been fun already.
I think they're good.
The third least I want to make the playoffs is the wings.
And, God, I want to put them in top two, but only because they have only themselves to
blame. Like they always fucking do this and that
pisses me off. You don't deserve it.
So I'm like, fuck off, dude. The second
or I guess the second most I want to make
the playoffs is the Sends because
God, I love Brady and
when he came on, he was talking about the city wants
that so bad. Yeah,
Shane is there like just sick
squad and what a year
for them to do it, dude. When I was like, oh, it looks like they
fucked it up. They fucked up their retool.
The one I want to make the most is the
Blue Jackets. For the Johnny
thing, just for that team was
written off this whole season.
And if they make the fucking playoffs this year,
after everyone,
everyone picked them eighth in their division,
so sick.
Yeah.
We're almost exactly the same.
Boston, New York, my bottom two.
Yep.
Because, like you said, for Boston,
if you've done what you've done,
get a better draft pick.
Like, lean into what you're doing.
I love the boys, fight, fight, fight, fight, fight,
but like, no.
New York, shame on you.
And Boston, too. Shame on you both. Shame on you both for what you have done this season. There must be consequences for our actions. Next for me, this is insane, is Detroit. You have them four. Yeah. Because of what you said, guys, you can't do this two years in a row. You cannot, yeah. You can't be a minus 22 gold diff. You can't lose six fucking straight in the most important part of the season and expect to deserve to make plays. God. Then it's Montreal for the same reasons you said. I'm like, you didn't need to do it this year. Like you guys are amazing. Cole, get your.
you're 40 and let's retool and be an absolute wagon next year with damadoff and then same exact
thing ottawa i want you in columbus i want you in for the story and just the vibes the people the
fans the team love it my picks yeah are ottawa in columbus i think they're going to do it i think both
these teams you can see it in their gold diff you can see it in in in how they've been fighting i
actually think they have the steal to go just fucking finish the job god you're firing me up
i think i think they they are not cowards like they we we said july
jealous Brady, and we've got motivated Columbus, they're not, they're looking at the situation
at hand, they will not slip.
They'll slip a game here or two and it's going to get tight, but I think it's going to be
exactly what we're looking at, and I fucking want it.
I want it.
It's what we wanted, and it's what I'm picking.
I think Ottawa, Columbus, I'm officially saying it.
I think both these two teams are getting in.
And what a fucking story.
It would be if Toronto battles gets first and then they play Ottawa and Linas gets his first
playoff series win, beating Toronto, knocking them out in the first round.
Wow, that'd be sick, Dan.
How about that?
I am with you, dude.
I think I've written off respectfully, Boston and Detroit.
Both could make it, but I'm just like, you two aren't in.
You don't have it.
And Montreal is so frisky, but I just don't, I don't know.
Like, they haven't been in this situation yet, and I guess neither really has Columbus,
but Columbus has, like, a lot of shit going for them.
And the rags scare me in terms of wrecking the party.
Like the rack.
You could just see the rags being like,
it would be the most rangers thing in the world
to be like, oh, we want a couple
games here, sneak into the playoffs, have their fans
be like, fucking don't let us get in the playoffs
and then get absolutely fist-fucked
in the first round. And they'll be Washington
of last year. It'll be like this, thanks a lot,
douchebags. Could have been Columbus. We could have a fun,
cool, deserving teammate playoffs, and you
had to fucking ruin it for everybody. So they're
scary a little bit. But I'm sticking with you, my
Pixar Auto and Columbus. We're mid-March.
It's starting to get sunny out. Daylight
savings just happened, which means we've got more
which means I need to crack open an ice cold Labat outside in the sun every single day.
It's a prescription that I need.
If I don't do it at least once a day, we're going to have serious problems.
And there's a reason I crack open a Labat.
It's because that beer is brewed with Canadian kindness.
There's no better kindness in the world.
You know that you need that cooler stocked up.
You need the fridge stocked up.
You need to have your go-to beer that you're ordering on tap when you get to the pub.
Labat Blue and Labat Blue Light.
are the best ones in the world for so many reasons.
It's just that crisp, delicious, refreshing taste.
Makes you feel closer to the game.
Makes you feel closer to your friends.
Makes you feel closer to life.
Labat Blue is just taking care of your every single need.
So when you're watching the game,
when you're getting geared up for playoffs here,
we're watching the wild card race.
You want a little bit of hockey in your life.
Labat Blue has you covered every single time.
Make sure you crack open a can, bottle, or down a pint today.
All right, let's get to the West.
There's a few races here, Dan.
Starting with the Central, we've got Winnipeg in first 94 points in 66 games.
We've got Dallas in second with 86 and 64.
Colorado in third with 81 and 66.
Let's stick in the Central for a second.
I wanted to say there's a race for first in the Central.
Do you even agree with that?
No, there's not.
We've got Winnipeg winning.
I just don't, you know, there's six.
It's only four clear if Dallas wins their games.
What's funny is after the trade deadline, people were like, Winnipeg, losing games.
Like, they didn't do enough.
Well, they're still six, three, and one, and they just won last night, I believe.
Like, the six, three and one is their worst ten game sample size.
We've seen all season, basically.
And, yeah, I just, I don't, I don't have it.
I don't foresee an issue for them.
They have a plus 77 gold dude.
Vin Sanity.
Hellabuck is absurd.
They've got so much offensive firepower.
There's no world where I see them getting caught.
So I think they have that on the walk.
Winnipeg, eighth hardest schedule left, Colorado, 11th, hardest schedule left, and Dallas
20th.
Yeah.
So there's a window there.
There is.
We've got Minnesota.
They play each other twice.
Huge games.
We've got Minnesota three points behind Colorado with one game in hand.
Yeah, there is a race for third.
They're obviously without krill, but that's a race.
However, Colorado just seems, they're seven, two, and one in their last 10, lost an OT in their most recent game.
I just, oh my God, man.
I feel like this three is locked.
just don't. You do. Yeah, yeah, yeah. It's going to be close, but I would just be so shocked if
Colorado has trouble moving forward. I'm with you. How many, how many points is it? Three point gap,
one game and a half. With a game. Yeah, so it could be one point, really. Yeah. Yeah, Colorado,
seven, two, and one in their last 10, Minnesota 5 and 5, Minnesota minus 5 gold, if Colorado plus
28, it feels like you should be able to separate yourself. Yeah, especially with the moves that were made.
Yeah, I could
I certainly think
Certainly that's my pick
That the three we're looking at in the central
Winnipeg, Dallas, and Colorado
Are the three that will get those seeds
And am I willing to admit
It's not even a race?
I think I am actually
Which makes me sad because Minnesota
Started so hot
And they are definitely making playoffs
And I had said after their start
I was like this is the real deal
They are awesome
Injuries, nightmare,
nightmare injury season, which sucks because I was having so much fun with them and their fans and
everything. And it's sad that we're in this situation. I was like, no way could they ever free fall
out of playoffs. And again, they're not going to. They're going to make it. But it sucks that
we're like your wild card at best. I know. And the injuries do blow for sure. We've said a million
times so much for Minnesota is about getting those two contracts off the books this summer. But it does
suck too that they are going to run into the buzzsaw of Vegas probably in the first round and that
blows yeah so Minnesota almost certainly will be the top wildcard team that's how we feel
yeah yeah yeah not not almost certainly but likely but it's going to be Minnesota or um
Colorado sure yeah like I don't I honestly I mean not you're saying those guys can't catch him
yeah yeah and I think that's what I'm saying too so yeah and no one's catching
the Jets points. So the Jets are catching the second wildcard team. Vegas, if they finish one,
is catching the top wildcard team. So yeah, Minnesota. Well, I mean, that's another good
incentive, Dan, for Colorado to stay on the fucking guess because they go. So my choice is actually,
dude, Central's so fucked. If I'm Colorado, I'm like, I'd rather be a fucking wildcard team
and play Vegas. Dude, dead ass. Then play Dallas. Fuck that. And like, as hockey fans,
I don't want them to play each other. I know. I want to see them see each other in the next
round. Like, it's a shame that as hockey fans, we're going to lose one of those teams in the first
round. That is why I called out on Twitter. I was like, this is such a joke. The only,
the only part I like about it, and I, to be very clear, I don't like it. I wish they were playing
in the Western Conference Finals. The only part I do like about it is they're just both at full
strength. It's not like, oh, this guy got a concussion in the second round and now he's out.
You know, there's just like, here's our teams, whereas fresh as we're ever going to be. Let's
fucking go. I kind of can respect
that. It's their two best punches.
So whatever.
But yeah, no one's in the business
of losing games, but a Christ,
if I'm Colorado, I almost want to get out of there.
And if I'm Minnesota, Dan, to your point,
I'm like, I don't even want to fucking catch them.
I'd rather hover, which is sketchy
because you're in a wild car. You don't want to blow your season out. But I swear
it felt like Vegas did that last year, remember?
Yes. And they paid for it, but
I'm like, Vegas was like, I don't want to fucking jump the Kings and play
Edmonton. I was like, yeah, cool.
So to the Pacific we go.
Yeah, because I'll lock in.
Jets are likely not catchable.
Colorado likely not catchable.
Pacific, I don't actually think there's much of a race here.
I think, well, we've got Vegas with 83 points in 64,
Edmonton with 78 and 64, L.A. with 77 and 63.
So I think L.A. Edmonton is, which ultimately doesn't matter other than home ice.
Right, but I think that's.
Those two could swap.
Edmonton is three and seven in their last 10.
Like they are not doing well.
And, yeah, Vegas seems to be clicking again.
And, you know, I think they'll probably get it.
But then Honda P, no one is catching L.A. or Edmonton.
Guru has.
They're locked.
King's strength of schedule, 14th hardest.
Oilers 23rd hardest, Vegas 30th.
Oh, my God.
And Tankathon has VALA.
Vegas 28th, Edmonton 31, so both of them very easy still, and King's 16th.
So Kings have the hardest schedule of that group anyway.
Edmonton's been a little out of form, which is why I think Vegas will hold on.
But Edmonton, to your point, could just get really hot.
Edmonton could be like, yo, we went 10 straight games.
And I'm like, oh, shit.
And if you're Edmonton, though, I guess you want it, right?
If you're Edmonton, you're not scared of the Kings at all, obviously.
Yeah, but you do want home ice?
Yes.
Make L.A. come up to fucking Deadminton.
Yep. And do you want the one, I guess so, because you'll play.
Actually, the one's almost scarier.
If you're Edmonton?
No.
What, you're afraid to play?
Just because it could be Colorado.
No, because you're getting Colorado or Minnesota.
Oh, yeah.
So I'm like, oh.
But you're not afraid of Minnesota.
Agree.
You're afraid of Colorado.
Is it a nightmare.
So you're like, we should maybe stay two because we can beat the Kings,
which is what they think.
Based on what's going on in the Central, yeah, you might be afraid of.
They go.
Let's just stay two.
Yeah.
Interesting.
But those three are going to be locked.
in some sort of order.
Interesting stuff in the wild card now.
Let's get to the West Wildcard.
West Wildcard, Minnesota is going to be,
Minnesota or Colorado is locked in one.
So realistically, there's one spot.
There's one spot available.
One spot available for this wild card,
and it is tight, tight as a toiga.
We've got Calgary with 70 and 63.
We've got Van with 69 and 64.
St. Louis with 69 and 65.
Shout out Monty.
absolutely turning this team into such an exciting group.
And then Utah with 67 and 64.
So of those teams, we've, though the worst is Utah who are three games back and they do
have an extra game.
Interesting stuff here, right?
Because we've got Calgary at minus 18, Van at minus 21.
St. Louis at minus 7, Utah at minus 9.
Interesting that Van and Calgary are up there when they're just getting.
getting scored on. I know. I know. I know. Washington did it last year, remember?
9-minus 40. Made the playoffs.
I genuinely have no clue.
I know.
Which of these one teams is going to get this spot.
So Calgary, Vancouver, St. Louis, Utah, that's it. That's it. We're talking about those
four teams. I love what you're doing, but they're too far back.
63 points and 64 games. You're not going to get out there. Give me your wants in order.
My wants. They've changed over the season.
Yeah. I know.
If I'm looking at these teams and knowing that they were going to be in a wildcard race,
Hondo P, Utah would be my top choice.
At the beginning of the season.
Yeah.
The fact that Durs is back, I'm like, get in, boys.
Get in.
St. Louis wouldn't have given a fuck about.
No offense, St. Louis.
Got no ill will towards you.
But wouldn't it give it a fuck about if not for Monty.
Now I'm like, hell yeah, get in.
I also look at it in the similar sense of like, you're not winning the cup this year.
So get a better draft pick.
Van is kind of falling in the shame on you category.
I just think there's a lot of stuff that they should have done better.
Or you keep gone.
And for me, dude, I think in order, those four,
once I'm going Calgary, because I love most.
100%.
Yep.
I want Calgary in.
I want Calgary in for the Calgary fans.
I want them in for weeks.
I want them in for Zari.
and I just think Calgary in the playoffs
is a fucking sight to behold.
I want Utah.
Sorry, Monty.
I want you too, but I want Utah.
Because inaugural season, Utah getting in.
Dura's coming back from injury.
Utah immediately getting in the playoffs
and it would be a little Cinderella run here
if they stole it would be such a cool story.
Because I think Utah in the NHL is phenomenal.
I want it to be.
success. Then I'm going to St. Louis, right, right on the heels, because Monty getting fucking
dumped by Boston, because Boston is stupid. They played so bad at Coston, their coach, and their
captain. And now he's in St. Louis, revolutionizing the team. Him getting a playoffs would be sick.
And then Van, I love you guys. I really do. Quinter, you know, that's my guy. But this,
it's a shame on you. It's a shame on you season for me.
So that's my order.
We are completely aligned.
The flames are doing what Columbus did, in my opinion.
They're the mirror images where everybody had you, like, flames suck.
This is over.
Tradeed Markstrom.
When weeks came on, we listed all the guys that have been out the door in the last 12 months.
It's like, what is happening here?
Yeah, it's crazy.
Flames are dead.
Syke.
And they've gone fucking wire to wire, Dan.
Like they've been doing this.
Remember they started the year and I was like, I don't buy it?
I don't buy it.
I said that for like 40 games.
I don't buy it, I don't buy it.
Here they are.
Buy this, bitch.
A significant drop-off, though.
For sure, but here we are in the wild card.
63 games in.
Yeah.
You know?
Like, you know, don't sleep on the fact that they're, they've got a game in hand.
They've got two games in hand on St. Louis.
And they've got a game in hand on both Van and Utah.
Like, they could be 72.
Like, have a good gap here.
Yep.
So for me, Flames, just because the fans, and it'll be awesome.
I said we're completely aligned.
Utah, I just think would be cool because how much they overcome.
had to overcome.
They were written off as well when it was like,
hey, everyone, all your defensemen got hurt.
Immediately.
Never mind.
You'll make it next year.
And they were like, we might fucking make it this year.
That would be sick.
The blues, for the same reason, it would just be cool if Monty brought them in,
but I think they'd be better served to miss.
Vancouver, I have last, but it is a shame on you, but it's also was a bit of a just
an unlucky season.
Oh, no, no, Demco.
I'll be very honest, Demco sucks.
And then also the PDJT situation is like, I do not.
Like, I think it's bull.
shit what they had to deal with. Yes. Quinn hurt for a long stretch here. Just like this was a disaster
season and one you just go, fuck me. Yeah. So I and they they feel to me and I bet Canucks
fans disagree with this, but they feel to me what I just said about the Rangers where I'm worried
that they're just going to get in and ruin the party. Yeah. Where I'm like, thanks for fucking
taking Calgary or Utah's spot just so you could get pummeled in the first round. And I'm like
thanks dude. And you know what I will say? I do really love.
about Calgary, Van, St. Louis, and Utah,
the trade deadline came around,
and all four of those teams were talked about big players being like,
you could move some of these guys, and they all held strong
because they're all like, we're a playoff team, dude.
I love that attitude.
Love that energy.
Love that spunk.
Who you got.
I got Minnesota, Colorado's in,
so just we both agree that one of those central teams is in.
Who you got for Wild Card 2?
Damn, dude.
I know.
St. Louis.
Really?
St. Louis.
65.
Let me, let me, uh, I'm just going to check some quick strength schedule, Dan, if you don't mind.
God damn you, dude.
Tankathon, tank atron.
St. Louis.
Easiest schedule left in the league.
I knew that before I even said it.
On both sites.
That's how dialed I am.
You see that, Wags?
You see how fucking dialed I am?
I'm an absolute machine.
Uh, Calgary 17th and 16th.
and 16th, so pretty close.
Utah 23rd and 20th.
And who's the other one?
Oh, Vancouver.
Vancouver 15th and 12th.
So St. Louis' easiest path.
I'm going to go Calgary still.
I love that.
I need one of us to pick out there.
They just fucking, they've done it all.
They've been eating it all year, dude.
Nutting up and not shutting up.
Yeah. So it's fucking sick. I love it. I love it too. I want Calgary. So, you know, that'd be great.
I got to be honest with you guys
I don't think there's a greater honor I've ever had in my life
than the day CP and I became Bauer athletes.
You heard it here first.
You might think we're washed up.
You might think we're over the hill.
Our playing days are over.
Well, here's the thing, folks.
We're Bauer athletes.
That's because Bauer is our beautiful, incredible,
most desired partner in the world.
Bower has been given hockey players
the best gear in the game since their inception.
Everyone knows it.
When you see someone buzzing around the ice
in a full set of Bauer gear,
you look at David Posternak,
and you're like, my goodness, gracious, he looks incredible.
That's because Bauer does it better than anybody else.
And right now, I want to talk to you about the Twitch.
Their new twig in the game that is revolutionizing the stick game in hockey.
They've got this unbelievable release point.
The kick is out of control.
Your shot's going to be harder than ever.
It's lighter than a feather.
It is the thing that you dream about when you dream of the picture perfect hockey stick.
It looks amazing.
It feels amazing.
And you need it in your arsenal right now.
Get your sheath and slide that.
sword in and make sure it's a Twitch because this is going to make you feel like an NHLer out there.
Whether you're a beer leaguer, whether you're a young kid trying to make it to the show,
Twitch is going to take your game to the next level, just like Bauer does with everything they do.
So go to Bauerhockey.com, make sure you get fitted from head to toe.
And while you're at it, put that stick in your hands because the Twitch is the B's knees.
Pause in the pod to talk about true classics, our new partner.
Listen, it is tough for me.
You've all seen me.
I'm pretty tall.
I'm kind of a tall, lanky guy.
It's hard for me to find the perfect t-shirt
because the ones that fit right when I'm standing there,
if I reach for anything,
now, you know, there's my stomach.
And I haven't been hitting the gym hard enough, right?
And I don't need that.
What I do need is a shirt that fits me perfectly
and then is long enough to cover the length of my body.
So I go to true classics because they have the perfect fit.
And they accentuate all the right areas.
It's my chest and arms that it fit tights.
It fits tightly.
and then everything else is giving me room to breathe and loose and stretch and reach and bend over.
It's incredible.
But it's not just T-shirts.
They've got everything.
I've got true classic boxers now.
I just got true classic jeans.
They are some of the softest jeans I've ever owned in my life.
That is a fact.
And I'm getting ready for spring.
They get true classic swim trunks.
They get a six-inch.
They get a six-inch inseam that I'm pretty excited about.
I needed a new bathing suit for this summer.
So I got that cooking.
L.A. heat is coming.
I'm really excited about that.
So you need to go check out true classics because they can get you fitted everywhere.
It's actually amazing.
I'm so happy to have them on board because my wardrobe is about to go crazy.
So whether you're bundling up for the cold or getting ready for spring, I need you to elevate
and level up your wardrobe with clothes that actually fit right.
So go to our special link.
It's trueclassic.com slash netters and start saving.
That's trueclassic.com slash netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
Shop there now and elevate your wardrobe in a big, big way.
100% perfect fit guarantees.
Free shipping on all orders.
Come on.
True Classic.com slash netters right now.
All right.
Now we're going to get into a little side treat.
A while ago we had said it was my birthday and we said people, if they want to mail some
stuff to the office address, we're going to showcase some of my favorites and those people
are going to get some merch.
I think that's what we said.
Yeah.
So they are going to get some merch and we've gotten some cool things.
So I'm going to show a few on the pod.
I'm actually, I'm absolutely stunned.
I'm not going to show a few on the pod.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
First one we're going to showcase is from our friends at Happy's Caddies.
The IG is Happies underscore Indoor Golf.
Get more golf companies.
I'm going to give another shout out to my fam at Ghost Golf.
More golf companies talking to us is a beautiful.
I don't know if you saw this note, Dan, it said, CP, happy birthday.
Enjoy a jersey and a hat on us, big fans of the pod.
Keep up the great work.
DP, enjoy the leftovers from your brother.
So it's up to me.
And also, that is so thoughtful.
I know.
Like, it's so thoughtful to include me at all.
Yep.
And then to give you first choice.
Yep.
And I might just keep it all.
Keep growing the game, boys, happy caddies.
And I fucking piss.
I left the other hat in the goddamn car.
Yeah, and that's the one that I want.
Yeah.
So this, can the camera see that wax?
This says tap it in.
And it's Chubbs's hand.
It's Chubbs's hand.
Just tap.
And the other hat is white with a green alligator right here with the ball in his mouth.
That took Chubbs's hand.
You've got one eye.
You took Chubbs's hand.
Oh my God, dude.
So speaking of,
speaking of Happy Gilmore,
gas.
Bang.
Yeah.
I was looking at that and I was like,
why isn't the Bees logo on the front?
But it's clearly they can't use the Beas logo.
And because this is exactly what he's wearing in the movie.
It says Boston in the front.
It's not a Boston logo.
Oh, good question.
Can you check?
Look that up.
I actually don't think there's anyone on the back.
It doesn't say, or maybe it does say Gilmore.
Look that up right now.
Either way, this is fire, this jersey right here.
And then also, dude,
Yeah, it's got the B's logo on the front.
Does it say Gilmore?
I don't know.
Why would people just put 18 on the back if he doesn't have a number on the back?
It's definitely a number, I think.
It's always 18 when you buy it, but I'm looking at clips from the movie.
There's no numbers on the sleeves.
I don't know if he's got a number on the back of that jersey.
That would actually be so sick if 18 has just become...
They just picked it for him.
Like, why did that happen?
I don't know.
Yeah, that's weird.
And then this one, dude, fucking fire.
Come on.
God, I wish I had this at Four Nation so badly.
Little Rizzo action?
Little Rizzo.
But there were a lot of Rizzo's at Four Nations, though, so maybe I would have saved it.
Yeah, that's fine.
But I'll bring this to Italy, dude.
Boom, that's fire.
Get on me.
So that's huge stuff from Happy Caddies.
Then...
Dude, I can't believe...
This is the crisp, most crisp, clean image on a T-shirt.
It's the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen.
And I've got to say, whoever sent this...
Let me take a picture of this side of this.
The package got thrown away, so I need you to DM us.
When you see this, please DM us.
Tell me who sent this.
So I had to showcase this one.
It's insanely awesome.
Are you ready?
Yeah.
You get in the picture.
Oh, okay.
I'm sending that to him immediately.
This is a...
Tell the listeners what it is.
It's an unbelievable.
Like, this must be his player pick.
Got, yeah, that's got to be his...
But look how crisp it is.
I literally did not understand how the screen printing on this.
It's a picture of Adam fan
Tilly.
Hair looking like a zillion dollars.
It's the best hair.
It's,
it's shades of Lungquist.
It's shades of
Zetaberg.
Wow.
When Zetaberg's really going.
And then it says my son
because he is my child.
He's your son.
And look at the image, dude.
I just can't believe it.
Is that above my computer wax?
Everybody see that?
Bang.
So please, if you sent this shirt,
DM us.
It's pretty great that we both have children
in the league.
Yes.
Bright futures.
Oh, bright, bright futures.
Interesting.
I think what they're doing is, and I'm happy to be proven wrong,
maybe I'll just watch Happy Gilmore.
I think during tryouts, he's wearing 18.
Yeah.
So people just put it on the jersey.
So, fans, DM.
But again, hard emphasis.
Whoever sent that, DM has to say you sent it.
Because you're getting a package.
We don't know who sent it.
And then this was my other favorite one that we've received.
This card says, hope your birthday is top cheese.
And there's a piece of cheese in the top corner.
And then this is really cool.
So, and I have a great letter here.
So I'm not going to read this whole thing, obviously,
but this is from Bailey,
from the Saginaw Valley State University's
club ice hockey team.
Bailey runs, Bailey does everything for them.
Game day, operations, photographer, social, all this stuff.
She's been working there a long time,
and they sent some team picks, some stickers for us.
We've been getting a lot of stickers.
You've dapped up your water bottle, war road sticker.
So Bailey's a huge fan of the pod.
Bailey, we appreciate the support so much.
And they have a bunch of different jerseys.
Almsways. This year they did a military appreciation jersey.
Dude, this thing is so fired.
The Cardinals.
Fire jersey, but look at the back, dude.
And then check this, dude.
On the back, for those listening,
hold jersey signed by the whole team.
Signed by the whole team.
Signed by the whole team.
Some of these kids got fucking dialed autographs, by the way.
Agree, dude.
It looks professional because they are.
Absolutely dialed.
I do feel like that one kid signed in between the numbers, wild move.
Do you think he signed first because he didn't know?
Maybe.
It's either going to be first or last.
I would say it's first, last, or second.
Because if someone just did the numbers,
and he's like, oh, we're signing it anyway.
And then it was like, everybody's in the numbers, bro.
But either way, it looks fire.
I actually hope Bailey sign this, but I doubt.
I don't see you, Bailey.
I can see a lot of numbers.
But either way, Bailey, you are a beauty of the highest order for the handwritten letter.
Handwritten letter.
Don't see it enough.
That's very, very feminine handwriting, by the way.
Don't see it enough these days.
Like, I opened that letter, and I was like, Jesus Christ.
Beautiful.
It's incredible.
So, we'll be reaching out.
I got your Insta here.
We're going to, because Bailey does awesome photography, like hockey photography too, not just for Saginaw.
I want to give a shout out to the beef jerky.
Beef jerky.
Mr. Um, well, I don't know what it was called.
Mr. Bees?
We'll figure it out.
Mr. B's beef jerky, I think.
Someone sent us some beef jerky that was elite.
I'm a, I'm a big jerky guy.
You know, I love my chomps.
Uh, that beef jerky was phenomenal.
Cajun and sweet and spicy.
No, hot, sweet and hot.
Yeah, Mr. Bies.
Yeah, sweet and spicy.
What the fuck.
I'm like, no, it's not spicy.
It's hot, dude.
Yeah, sweet and spicy.
Southington, Connecticut, Mr. Bees.
Mr. Bees has 56 Google reviews and is a flat 5.0.
Hard five, dude.
Five point zero.
Not a four to be seen there.
So good.
Five point zero, Mr. Bees.
I love the Cajun.
I loved them both.
Massive shout out to all the gifts.
Incredible.
Incredible job, Netters, fan.
We appreciate it so much.
Merch coming.
You're getting hit.
Happy caddies.
You're getting hit.
Fantilli DME.
Yeah.
Let's get into some Powers rankings.
Please.
Powers rankings, our top five.
teams in the league right now. Number one, Dallas stars. No hesitation. No hesitation. No conversation.
No conversation. Come on, dude. I'll have a conversation. I would do the Caps because they are on a
five game here. They sure are. They got the Kings what tomorrow? Yep. Kings tomorrow.
OV. Buzzing. I could go. I could go Capp's. I've kind of been dogging them lately.
Let's go Capp's Dallas one, too. Someone came to slid in our DMs and was like, you better
not dog so-and-so in the in the rankings.
And I can't remember who it was.
But I love Carolina at three.
I do too because they've been hot and I have,
maybe it was them because we have been dogging them.
Yeah, yeah.
Carolina at three for me,
they're just,
they're too strong.
Maybe it was Ottawa fans.
Yeah, but like we say, Ottawa's not in the top five.
You're not a top five team in the league.
You're hot.
This isn't hottest rankings.
It's powers rankings.
I mean, is Carolina even the third best team in the league, though?
I think so, dude.
7, 3, and O in their last 10, winner of 5 straight.
They look really strong, especially after that moose debacle.
I know.
We got to give them their flowers.
How many had Florida one in a row?
I think they were on a six game.
Yeah.
Florida is probably, Florida and Tampa are just like right up here for me
in my next couple. Tampa has lost two, though.
You hate to see it.
Colorado has been really good.
But.
Day long.
That was O.T.
Yeah.
Fine.
I'll go Carolina three just because they deserve some respect.
Yep.
And then I got to go Florida.
Okay.
So then, yeah.
I think I should do two.
So I'll go, they maybe even could be three, but I'll go Washington, Dallas, Carolina, Florida.
And then five were between Vegas, Avs, Bolts.
That's it for me.
Not Leifs, not Kings?
No.
Vegas, Avs, Bolts.
Who's the fifth best team in the league right now?
I think bolts or abs.
Sorry, Vegas.
Who did abs lose to?
They just lost.
I think last night.
Was it last night?
Yeah.
Let me look.
Avs lost in overtime last night to Minnesota.
And a shoot-up.
You want that one.
But they had beaten Pitt.
They'd beaten sharks, beating lees, beating hawks,
kind of easy games.
Yeah, yeah.
Maybe because of that we go.
But then they'd be, actually,
And then they beat Jersey, beat Minnesota.
They were hot.
That was a tough loss.
I could go AFS.
I could go AFS after what they did.
Like they're the fifth best team in the league, probably.
I mean, they're probably the fucking best team in the league.
But right now, I'm like, you're the fifth best team in the league.
And they probably be mad about that.
I agree.
So we'll do them five.
Let's go AFS.
All right.
I love it.
Getting into our starting six before we get into a game.
Starting six.
For the first time this season, you would have been shocked to say it at the beginning of the year.
Steve Stamcoast finds himself in the starting six.
He's got nine points in his last four games.
broke his longest point streak, or goal streak, I think,
uh, goalless streak of his career against the Boston Bruins.
He's up to 22 on the year.
This is not the season for him, but it's nice to see him get hot.
Stevie on the list.
If they get, if he gets 30, which would be tough, but if he gets 30,
I need so many people to apologize.
I agree.
At center, Nate Dogg.
15 points in his last seven.
Is that a fucking joke?
The avs loaded up. He knows it's a cup year.
He's the first person to break the 100 point Barry.
He's up to 102 on the year.
Like, they're not going to give him MVP, but he probably should be.
And I don't know. He could go crazy, dude.
He could finish at one fucking 40 again.
Yeah, he could.
So who would stop him?
Hell of a week. Hell of a week.
Alexi Protas at right wing, seven points in his last three games,
including five goals in his first career had he on a nice dish from Ovi.
Ovi could have shot that one rink length.
and instead he gave a nice little pass to Protos and he gave like three assists and I'm like
dude but I actually respect that so much dude because he the defenseman backed off he could have had a
go at it which he's been doing last few games and I have no problem with that at all so but he was
like that's my boy right here a ton of our successes because of players like him he's never had a
had he here you go yeah thought that was sick um the the surprise of protas has been a big
big reason for the success of the captain yes left d we're going Noah hannifin six points in his last
five including a goal a goal and an assist two point night last night
that was a 3-2 OT lost to pit.
Vegas can't be dropping those games right now.
Sid had two goals. How are you?
Did you see Sid's point per game stat?
Yes.
That's so dope.
20 years in a row if he does it.
If he does it this year,
which Gretzky has the record
at 19 seasons in a row.
Sid's about to go 20 fucking years.
Sid just constantly under the radar breaking records.
Dude, when I saw it, I saw Witt talk about
that's how I even noticed it.
And dude, I immediately looked up,
not that Ovi's like the biggest point guy,
but I immediately looked up Ovi and I was like,
he's not done it?
And there's like six,
seasons where he didn't have point per game or five maybe or something like that and I'm just like
Sid is just such a fucking machine I'm actually so I wish I hadn't heard this because I'm so invested
in it now like when I saw him get a second goal I was like yes come on because I just wanted to keep him
on pace baby very good stuff and at right D Camel McCar nine points his last six game
leads all defense from the 75 points he's got 24 goals could be the first D man since Mike
green to score 30. I think he wants it.
Me too. We'll see. But Kale,
as much as I keep saying, Werenski needs to be the Norris.
I believe he needs to be the Norris winner. Kale remains to be the steel of the
NHL on defense. Again, we've got 16 games left or something like that, and he has
75 points as a defenseman. It's fucking proposterous.
You want Werenzky his heart. They're about to make playoffs. You said he should win
hard. You should. And a goalie for the first time this year,
we're going our good friend, Jeremy Swayman. Did Swain the Bees give up six to the
prets a few games ago? Yes.
Or was it an empty netter, whatever.
Sure they did.
But this is a weekly starting six people, a weekly starting six.
And this week, Sway had a 25 save, shutout win against the bolts and a 26 save two-goal win against the Panthers in a rocking Boston Garden.
Very emotional game.
So don't fucking come at us.
And congrats Sway, you are our starting goalie this week.
All the haters get absolutely fucked in your ear.
Bitch, bitch.
Bitch ass.
Okay.
Dan, are you ready for a game to close us out?
I sure am.
For the new initiates, this game is called two real, two fake.
I will give Dan four NHL players.
Two of them are very real.
Two of them are very fake.
I'll give you a quick bio on each player.
And then Dan and you following along have to try to guess which ones are real, which ones are fake,
and I will reveal the truth at the very end.
I am ready, sir.
Okay.
Number one, Tom McMurchy.
A Canadian left-winger drafted 49th overall in the 1982 draft by the Chicago Blackhawks.
He played for the Hawks for 46 games across three seasons, during which he scored nine goals.
Then he spent a full year in the AHL before coming back for one final season with the Oilers,
where he scored four goals in nine games.
Respectable?
Very. After four goals in 46.
That's like the definition of a couple of coffee.
Yeah, yeah.
Number two, Dave Massey, an American Center drafted.
75th overall in the
1989 draft by the Ottawa Senators,
played two seasons for the Providence Friars,
got eight games for the Sends in the 1990 season,
had two assists and was a dash four.
He left the National to play in Europe,
where he once put up 45 points in 41 games
for the Geneva Hockey Club.
Wow.
Number three, Craig Sullivan,
an American right winger from Connecticut,
played four years at Merrimack College.
He was drafted 61st overall
in the 1987 draft by the Washington Capitol.
Sully had 24 goals and 34 games
in his last season at Merrimack.
Oh, God, okay.
Then he played two games for the Devils in the 93 season where he had an assist and was a dash one.
He played six more seasons but all in the minors.
Jesus, what happened, dude?
I don't know.
And then finally, Tom Quinlan, a Minnesota boy, Tom was drafted 79th overall in the 1986 draft by the Calgary Flames.
Quinlan accepted a full scholarship to play hockey and baseball for the gophers.
Then before classes started, he signed a contract to play third base with the Blue Jays and left school.
He had 42 career games across stintz with the Blue Jays, the Phillies, and the Twins, and he hit a career 155.
Shut the fuck up, dude.
Quitty!
What are you thinking, Dan?
Talk and think out loud.
Think out loud.
Yet another great batch.
Okay, first and foremost, this was just my gut.
I'm saying Tom McMurchy is real because I don't believe that any human being could make up the name McMurchy.
But you know where I've been living lately.
Yeah, true.
You fucking, you dumb chat, GPT.
You know where I've been living.
AI plug.
You know where I've been living.
You're going to get taken over.
Dude, I am going to be.
be John Connor.
You're going to be just a bitch.
You've got to go back in time and kill me.
Yeah.
You might be back in time right now.
The last 30-some-odd years
that it has just been a grip because I know that you are the devil.
Holy shit, dude.
I'm saying Tom McMurchy is real.
I, dude, the Quinlan thing feels too specific.
Like going in, this guy played baseball to, like, it must be real.
but I think you're trying to trip me up with that
and I also think it's an ode to your high school roommate
with the last name Quinlan so fuck you don't believe it he's fake
then I'm going to say that Craig Sullivan
feels like too
you know he feels too
boring of a name for you
so I feel like he's real
a
an American right winger from Connecticut
played four years at Merrimack. But what
happened to him? What happened to him?
Craig Sullivan
is fake.
So Quinlan's fake, Sully's fake. That makes
Dave Massey real on American Senator drafted
75th overall by the Ottawa
Senators in the 89 draft.
Got eight games for the Sands had two assist dash four.
Hit me. Lit up Geneva.
45 points and 41 games for the Geneva
Hockey Club. So I got McMurchy,
real, Massey, real, Sully fake,
Quinney fake.
Tom McMurchy.
The Chicago Black Hawk legend.
Actually, really, Edmonton Oilers legend, four goals in nine games.
Canadian left winger.
Real.
And Dan, I...
McMurchy, dude?
You ain't got McMurchy.
Even chat GPT don't have McMurchy in his bag.
What's hilarious is you...
The name sounded so AI to me.
That's why I picked him because I was like, Dan is going to go.
That's the most AI fucking name I've ever heard.
That's fake.
But I was like, it is real, you bitch.
So it was hilarious that you circled that immediately
because I was like, that name is bananas.
I'm onto your bullshit, dude.
So you had real for Tom McMurchy.
He is real.
Dave Massey,
the center who lit up the Geneva Hockey Club
after leaving the national you had as real.
Come on, give me two for two.
Dave Massey.
Fake.
Fuck!
Really good guess, though.
All right.
I thought Geneva might,
you might be like, it's too specific.
It must be real.
It felt specific.
I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I,
feel like I was like, oh, dude, that feels, but, all right, all right.
Then Craig Sullivan, you suspected might be real because the name was boring.
Yeah.
You guessed fake, though.
Yeah.
Craig Sullivan played four years at Merrimack.
Had a hell of a season at Merrimack.
Then only got two games to the Devils in 93 where he had an assist and a dash one.
You had fake, unfortunately.
But he is fake.
Dan.
Come on.
Really good job, which means Dan.
Tom Quinny.
A Minnesota boy drafted 79th overall by the flames in 18.
accepted a full hockey scholarship to play for the gophers,
and then immediately left for the MLB,
played for the Blue Jays, the Phillies, and the Twins,
and 42 career games hit 155 is extremely real.
Dude, that's crazy.
What a talent.
What a talent.
Dude, I saw that, and I was like, what?
I'm going to say, though, I might call bullshit on you.
He never played, he never got his cup, dude.
Never got a cup of coffee.
Yeah, fair, fair.
It was a little bit of a, I just, it was so awesome.
I had to put him in.
But drafted 79th overall, that's pretty legit.
It's not like this guy was like a seventh round pick.
Yeah, he was like, I'm not even thinking about it.
He had a full scholarship to the gophys.
Yeah, he counts.
He was too sick to that play.
I was like, what the fuck?
Tom Quinlan, come on the pod, dude.
And I think Tom, yeah, fucking, if anybody knows Tom, hit us up.
I think Tom, I think I legitimately maybe remember him from baseball, maybe.
But I was like, what?
You were like, why do I know this name?
Yeah, but then I was like, there's no way you were that good at hockey.
Crazy stuff.
Bro.
Quinney, remember when we got Eric Dazey on the pod after doing a few years run of that was so funny.
We got to get Tom Quinlan.
We got to get Tom.
Phenomenal work, Christopher.
Thank you so much.
Great episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
That's it for us this week.
You will see us again next week.
We've got some fun stuff coming for you as always.
Let's keep eyes on this wild card race.
That was absolutely preposterous going through that because this is going to be a trip.
And until we see you next time.
Skate Hard.
