Empty Netters Podcast - Remembering The Wonderful Life And Career of Johnny Gaudreau | 131
Episode Date: September 4, 2024The guys take some time to reflect on the tragedy that shocked the hockey world last weekend. Johnny and Matty Gaudreau lost their lives in a senseless accident, taken from their families far too soon.... All our thoughts are with their loved ones. All proceeds of the Johnny Hockey shirt in the Empty Netters store will be sent to the fund to support Matthew's wife Madeline and their baby to be Tripp if you would like to support. NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (0:30) - Johnny Hockey (33:40) - NHL News Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This episode of The Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by our partners at BetMGM.
Without a doubt, the best sports gambling app in the game.
Get on there and join in on all the action with us.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
We're going to start this podcast off talking about something that neither of us ever hoped
or thought we would ever have to talk about.
It's a very sad thing.
We talked a lot about how we wanted to.
to address this when we wanted to address this we talked a lot with our friends in the hockey
world about what the best way to do this is and was and ultimately the only way to do it is to
do what we've been doing for the past several nights and that is rally around the hockey community
be with each other talk with each other and help each other through a difficult time last week
uh Thursday night Chris and I were going about ourselves and and our day and our day
and we got a phone call and were made aware of the just horrifying situation that was going on
with the events surrounding Johnny and Maddie Goddrow.
Obviously, it was just a harrowing night of talking to a bunch of friends, family, and various
people in this hockey community connected with the Godreau family.
No one knew what was going on.
Obviously, social media was just a zoo.
And unfortunately, we all woke up Friday morning to the confirmed news that we lost Johnny and Maddie drove into just a horrifying drunk driving accident, the two of them riding their bikes home.
And it's been brutal.
It's been a really, really difficult few days.
Like I said, just a lot of talking with friends and members of this community and showing our love and.
condolences to the Goddreau family and so many of their friends and people they're connected
with their wonderful wives and their wonderful families. And this is just one of those situations
that has rocked the hockey world, but has also rocked the sports world. Yeah. To the point where
it's one of those moments in life that has no explanation. It has no reason. There's no sense to it.
It's utterly devastating.
And it's put us all in a position where we genuinely don't know what to say
and don't know what to do other than just pour as much love and care into the thousands
to tens of thousands to millions of people who feel affected by this horrible loss.
Yeah, I didn't even want to do this, to be honest.
Like Dan said, we had a lot of talks about it.
And then when a lot of the other hockey outlets were going to do something, it made me come around to feeling like it was probably an injustice or disservice to anyone that likes our show to have us not say anything because it just is like, what are you ignoring this thing that happened?
Which obviously I didn't want it.
I wasn't ignoring it.
I was hard to talk about.
Thursday was crazy because I was actually on the way to a beer league game.
Literally, I'm like in the car.
Dan, we traveled so much this year.
Dan wasn't even eligible to play in the game because of the, you know,
the games played issue or whatever.
So he wasn't going.
Normally would have been in the car next to each other.
He got the call first.
I'm in the car.
I got a call from Dan.
Actually, I haven't even told you this yet.
I, because obviously that was so out of context, right?
you are like, hey, I just heard something and I don't want to be blindsided by this.
And it's rumors right now.
And when you said Johnny's name, obviously my mind didn't go to the most insane tragedy of all time.
So I was positive you were going to say, and again, this makes no sense, but I was positive you were going to say,
the Bruins have traded Swamen because they can't come to contract her.
And it was going to be like the Bruins traded Swainman to Columbus for John.
And I know like none of that makes any sense.
But just like as you said his name, I was like, oh, whoa.
Like a crazy trade happened.
And then you finished the sentence.
And I was so like my mind was racing on the other thing.
And then what you were saying made no sense.
And I was like, what, dude?
And it was a weird, extremely weird experience for me because I got to the rink and no one on our team had any inkling.
This was happening, obviously.
And it was a championship game.
so like everybody was so fired up
and like tunes and people were
buzzing about the game and I didn't want to walk in
and say that so I'm sitting there by myself
every time I was walking in and dapping me up
like you ready I'm like hell yeah dude and I'm looking
back on my phone and it's you and yans
and everybody that we're talking to
it was just like the most
even during the game like during the game
after the game we were lucky enough to win
and after everybody's like let's go
and drink out of this cup and I'm just sitting here with like
the most colossal news
I've ever received
blender of a two hours.
Yeah.
Like I just cannot believe that was happening.
Yeah.
It's one of those things where when I heard the name, you get so shell-shocked by moments like this.
And like I said, I think this is the most tragic story I've ever heard, certainly ever been even tangentially connected to.
So it just took me so long to process.
I mean, I didn't fall asleep until 3 a.m.
Because I was just refreshing, you know, being like, are we going to hear about this?
And as time goes on and it's not debunked, it's not.
Yeah.
That was the killer, honestly.
It was like the time with no one going.
Yeah.
Hey, I'm fine or whatever.
Yeah.
Even before the confirmation, I was like, this is not good.
Yeah.
It just makes you panic and it makes your heart sink.
and then obviously as we got the news, you then, you just try to process.
And, you know, we talked to so many of our friends, and you just, you then go on and figure out what you can do or what you want to try to say or try to think.
And you obviously think of Katie, their sister and just the tragic elements of her wedding being the next day and both of them being groomsmen in the wedding.
and, you know, Matthew's wife, Madeline is pregnant, and Johnny and Meredith just had their second.
It's just awful. It's just awful from top to bottom. And all we've really tried to do the last several days is be as, you know, supportive as humanly possible.
And I think something that's so remarkable is, you know, we, growing up in Southern Maine and playing hockey in Maine in Massachusetts, there is a weird element of,
playing all of those things like the Chowder Cup and, you know, Hockey Night in Boston,
and South Shore Kings and all that stuff, and Spartans and all those teams.
You just, you play with different guys and you hear different names.
And Johnny being a guy from Jersey and Maddie being from Jersey and Johnny going
playing in the USAHL.
Is he Philly originally?
No, he's just a huge flyer.
Okay, yeah, yeah.
Because they're just so close.
Yeah, right.
It's a Philly suburb.
Yeah, Ge, their dad, big Flyers guy.
But growing up in Jersey and going to the USHL but then going to BC,
they became part of the Boston, New England hockey community.
Right.
Tight with the hazes.
And then, you know, for me with playing with Trider and Dumlin and the Whitney's
and them going off to BC and playing with him and seeing them playing together
and winning championships together.
it's just it's a wild experience and wild world to then now be doing what we do and have had the
unbelievable opportunity to spend some time with johnny uh do some fun things and videos and
and and just share laughs it's it's so hard to process and um you know i think we we just wanted
to take some time to just really highlight and revel in what an amazing story the family is and uh you know
looking at these guys who grew up in in jersey like I said it was um uh carney's point
township New Jersey and you know one of my favorite Johnny and Maddie stories is the story
that their mom told of they were super young like three and two you know four and three and
and playing a minisk and they were just playing and playing and not you know not getting
ready for bed and so they took their mini sticks away and their mom turned around
and came back into the kitchen
and they were playing mini stick with spatulas
and balled up tinfoil.
So awesome.
And it's like those are the times
where you hear so many stories about Johnny and Maddie.
I mean, God bless them.
Their wives and their sisters
tell those stories all the time
about how they were just the biggest unit ever.
You never saw one without the other.
They couldn't exist without the other.
And you look back at stories like that
to then see them go on and play at BC together
and play professional hockey, both of them.
It's like it was just always the path.
And, you know, you love stories like that.
And Johnny was just for us as fans.
Yeah.
Johnny truly was larger than life in how he really embodied fun in hockey.
Obviously, you don't get the nickname Johnny Hockey for nothing.
But, you know, we grew up watching UNH and U-N-H and U-Mane and B-UBC and the Beanpot.
And there's so many amazing names that we watched go through all of those schools and being fans of guys like Jason Krog and Darren Hayd are at UNH and stuff like that.
But being of the age where we were, you know, in college, looking to play in college and stuff like that.
And then this kid shows up.
And like I said, it's the kid that, you know, you see the highlights at the brick tournament.
And you see the highlights at the Quebec Peewee International Tournament.
And this little waterbug ripping around out.
they're just burying five goals a game and you're like who the hell is this kid and uh you know
johnny was always told he was too small like early days you said earlier that's all that was always
the path and it always was the path in terms of his desire but it wasn't always the easy path
in terms of how he looked yeah so it was it's cool and the game's changed for sure but but it's
cool to see a success story like that it's like he he is a uh
He is a template for countless, countless undersized kids.
In the league right now, and soon to be in the league, someday in the league,
that the path never wavered for him, despite what everybody told.
Yeah, and it's remarkable.
And, you know, for those who don't know, he, Johnny and his brother,
they played at Gloucester Catholic High School in New Jersey,
and then Johnny went off to Dubuque, played in the USHL for the Dubuque Fighting Saints.
And that was that first test of, you know, this is the next level.
Can you play here?
And immediate 36 goals, 36 assists, 72 points and 60 games.
And what happens next?
That summer he's drafted.
104th overall in 2011 to the Calgary Flames.
Yeah.
And another one of my favorite Johnny and Maddie's stories that you hear all the time is, you know, Maddie's younger.
Maddie was younger.
And somehow you hear from his parents, to the siblings, to friends that Maddie was kind of always the voice of reason and the older brother.
and by the way
Monty coach of that debut
yeah dude I know wild
crazy yeah but uh Johnny had
verbally committed or a letter of intent
to Northeastern and
he then
decided not to go there because Greg
Cronin took the job
resigned everybody bounced dude it was like
yeah yeah it was insane but Greg Cronin
resigned and went took a job with the Leafs
and then Johnny and Maddie narrowed it down to
B.U and B.C.
Johnny wanted B.C., Maddie wanted B.C.,
Maddie wanted to be you.
And ultimately, as the older brother, the one going first,
Johnny was like, you picked you.
Yep.
And I, that story weirdly resonates with me because I feel like you would do that.
Yeah.
As the older brother, if we were in a situation like that, I feel like you also would have done that.
Yeah, where you want to play.
But what's tough is I feel like I would have made the wrong decision.
Yeah, you would have gone to be you.
I would have been like, let's, yeah, I would have gone to be you and I would have been selfish.
And I would have been like, I want to be you, so let's go.
but Maddie, who wanted B.U, was told to make the choice, and he said, let's do B.C.
And that was huge for Johnny, you know, guys like Gianta and Kirby, who were undersized,
proved that they went to B.C. then went pro.
And just like at every other phase in his life, Johnny joins B.C. and just lights it up, dude.
Like, I mean, looking at some of these stats in his first season, point per game player,
20 goals, 20 or 3 assists, 44 and 44.
that freshman year scored maybe the coolest goal of my life watching college hockey.
Hockey's tournament MVP.
Yep.
All rookie several times.
Beanpot MVP.
Beanpot MVP.
Beanpot ship.
Natty ship.
Yep.
They win a national championship.
He scores that highlight real goal against Ferris.
And like I said, those were, for me, Gerby was a big one.
Watching Kirby that small and dominating, I was like, Jesus Christ, but the way Good
drove came in and just lit that school on fire was unbelievable. And national championship, bean
pot, comes back second year, 51 points in 35 games, leads the nation in point per game, fourth
straight bean pot for BC. He's top three in Hobie Baker, a finalist. Hockey East player of the year.
Yep. And then wins a gold medal in the 2013 world juniors with USA. Then everyone thought he was
going to go to Calgary, stays for his junior year primarily because Maddie's there.
Yep. Just another example of the two of them, just such a unit. And then in that year,
the most dominant thing ever, 36 goals, 44, 6, 60 points in 40 games. Highest point production
by a player in the country since 2003. He's player of the year for the second year in a row,
and then, of course, won the Hobie Baker that year. Hobie, you hear Hasey talk about those stories
where it's like he felt like it was McDavid. You felt like McDavid out there.
He gets put on the line with Kevin Hayes, and those guys just lit the world on fire.
They were the most electric college hockey line of my lifetime.
I don't know if we'll ever see anything like it again.
Was third most points in a season in Boston College history?
Yeah.
10th most prolific score in program history in just three seasons.
Third eagle ever to win the hobie.
And the 10th highest, oh no, I said that one.
And then the, that season, he tied a 31 game points three with Paul Greer from Maine.
Unbelievable.
And didn't he have 29 goals in those 31 games?
Yeah, dude.
It's like, what are you doing?
Doing that at the highest level of college hockey.
Oh, my God.
But, you know, it's just remarkable seeing the things that he did and doing it at, at BC, with his brother, Matthew, is just remarkable.
And then, you know.
I want to say something about that.
So, Dan was a B.U fan growing up.
up yes you like to be you I still do I liked BC because I'm a cake eater and I just
thought it was cooler and whatever it was like be I think it was probably because it was a
better school that probably like I was a little kid and I was like a little nerd
everybody was like you should go to BC and I was like yep um and like you said a lot of
boys you played with ended up at BC whatever and Johnny was there and it was so
exciting and Dan and I our family we once we were off at school
and stuff were home for Christmas, we would go to hockey games.
And, you know, we'd catch plenty of Bruins games,
but college hockey was what we grew up on because it was cheaper when,
well, it's still cheaper, but when we were younger,
you know, my parents can't be driving us to the bees every night.
So we were at a lot of college games.
Yeah, a lot of UNAH games.
Not Maine was too far, but like, you know, a lot of UNH games,
a lot of BU games, a lot of BC games.
And we do that every Christmas.
And Johnny's freshman year was my second,
my first year in grad school and your junior year
undergrad so we were still coming home for Christmas Johnny's first two years so we caught
BC games with our family Johnny's Natty championship year Johnny sophomore year and then the next
year we were moving to Los Angeles and you know you don't get Christmas break anymore like we're
going to be home for Christmas but like I don't know BC has a game because it's harder we don't
get to many games anymore back home I don't go to many Boston College hockey games and I remember
us sitting there and I was like because by then we were loving
Johnny Hockey.
I was like, this kid's the man.
Because I was always a BC guy.
You were an adopted BC guy now, and it was awesome.
And I wanted them to win that Nadi again.
They'd lose to Union that year or something.
I think it was a union of Frozen 4.
And I remember us sitting there being like, damn, we're moving to L.A.,
so we're not going to be able to come back and watch them.
And I was like, I remember being like,
I guarantee Johnny just wins the Hobie this year, the one year we can't come.
And then we can't come back and he scores a billion points.
It's a hobby.
And I was like, God, damn.
He had 40 points to 20 games.
I did fuck me.
Are you kidding me?
He's the one year I can't watch the kid play?
Insane.
It was insane.
But, you know, you guys know the story from there.
Johnny Goes Pro.
Scores on his first shot in his first game.
Tip drill.
For the Flames.
In that rookie season, finished top five in Calder voting.
Eventually went to Ekblad.
Second rookie in Flames history,
or along with Jerome McGinla to get 50.
points.
And just played nine of the most electric years that Calgary Flames fans have ever seen.
Just a constant show on the ice.
We call him Johnny Hockey.
We call it Johnny Hammond Cheese.
You and I call him Johnny Rapparounds.
He's like the biggest rap around guy in the world.
And so good at it.
And, you know, we just saw him have over 80 points three times with that Flames team.
So many All-Star appearances.
That insane 2020 season.
115 points
top five
heart voting
and then
obviously that
electric OT winner
oh dude
and I think
one of my favorite things
about Johnny
in his free agency
period
Johnny being such a family guy
such an amazing teammate
him him leaving was gutting
for Calgary but the way he did it was so
graceful it was so
honorable and it was wild seeing how many you know the flyers and the devil's had space and that made
sense right he's a jersey kid he was a flyers fan they had space he's a perfect fit for both of those
teams and when he chose the blue jackets we were all sort of shocked uh again like talking to friends
people that know him we're all like holy shit like that was surprising but the way he just kind of
said like this spot wanted me and my family like this is a great spot for me and my wife and
i thought that was so cool it was so cool of him to go yeah i mean i could go and play for the fires
of the devils but like why not go to columbus and start something here and i i think that that
sort of very lighthearted nature was very him and to go do that and just embrace the the blue
jackets fans and vice versa it was so cool to see so
So, you know, it was just remarkable to see, you know, seven all-star appearances in 11 seasons in the NHL, in his prime, looking good, feeling good, everything amazing.
And amidst the massive list of heartbreaking elements to this, the fact that he was just getting started is another one that just shatters me.
And the whole community.
So yeah, it was
Talking to some people that knew him really well
Who we know pretty well now
The
We were just trying to put it in the
In the context of the sports world
And I'm going to use a word
In a second that's a little harsh
But you know what I mean
Pretty much every time
We've heard of a major athlete die
It's either
they've stopped playing, recently stopped playing,
or it's an accident that is self-induced sometimes
or even, I should remember his name,
but that Marlins pitcher, you know.
Fernandez.
Yeah, I think, right, or Hernandez?
I'm not sure.
Josei Fernandez, I think.
You know, he's young 20s.
And a star.
And not that that should matter,
but you know what I'm saying,
just in terms of the context of sports,
It's like these incredible talents getting cut down short.
Tragedy, tragedy, tragedy.
But the harsh word I was going to use is none of the other ones were murder.
Like this feels like something happened to two people who were doing nothing wrong.
Whereas in the other cases, it's like we're doing something wrong.
Or it's a horrible at Kobe's thing.
It's like a horrible accident, you know.
This was like, dude, this.
can not happen.
So it feels, you know, so unavoidable if a just thoughtless, abhorrent act doesn't
happen.
Crazy, dude.
And that's part of the reason it's so heartbreaking.
And, you know, I think there's been a lot of time spent online and in our conversations
that have an element of hate in them with the person at fault in this accident.
and I get that.
I'm here to say to everyone I get that.
But if there's anything that we've learned through a lot of these things and, you know,
personal tragedies that we've lived through with friends and family is that the hate gets you nowhere.
Hate doesn't heal.
It doesn't fix these horrible moments.
It doesn't get you from A to B.
And there's a part of me that does hate.
when people say time heals all wounds.
The wound will always be there.
And I think the wound will always be there
for Johnny's friends and family and fans
and this hockey community,
but you heal the wound by honoring Johnny and Matthew
and remembering how special they were.
And just, you know, the way they lifted each other up
and people around them, the way they cared
about family and friends and just the smile on,
on both of their faces all the time that people talk about endlessly
is the things that should be focused on, I think.
And, you know, I think in closing,
it's devastating because he's one of the first names you think of
if you were to try to say, who's a player in this league,
that just like makes you smile.
That seems like a good time.
And it's it.
It's, you know, all the stories and all the jokes.
Like, you see the video of him on Brady's shoulders, you know, at the wedding.
Yep.
And the videos of him getting scared by the canon every time you played in Columbus to then going to Columbus.
Yeah, yeah.
And doing the lie detector with him last year and playing blackjack with him and him looking at me.
And after we lose fucking $2,000 on the hand, he just kept going, you can always win the next hand.
Yeah.
Like, that's just, that was.
him like his attitude and just approach to the game and approach to life i think is something that
we can all uh take a page from his book agree and and to add on to that i would say and i mean
this i've been very inflect in i've been looking in yeah reflective reflective thank you and
um honor them both of them this way or this is my plan at least enjoy
this life that we have.
And annoying things happen to everybody, every day.
It's okay.
And again, I'm saying this right into the mirror.
It's okay.
You never know what's coming.
You never know when your time is.
Care about the people that are important to you
and care about yourself and roll with the punches, baby,
because that's what matters.
Absolutely.
I think to go on, you know, piggyback on that,
it's you're right this this life is precious and horrible crazy unexpected things happen so no matter how
frustrating and difficult it gets i do think these these awful moments are good reminders that
we should just constantly you know tell tell your people that you love them be be there for each
other and try to enjoy, appreciate and cherish each day and each moment with those people.
Because you never know.
Yep.
And then lastly for me, it's, I am here to be honest and vulnerable and say, in my life, I have had
a drink before and driven and the next morning realized I probably shouldn't have driven.
yeah and it disgust me that the the couple of times it's happened and i vow to never do it again
and i you know have not in in so long but i am also here to say just don't don't drink and drive
yeah there's so many options now so easy guys i mean i i'm here to tell you as well i will
personally Venmo you.
If Uber is
$250. Yeah.
DM us and I will Venmo it to you
before you get behind the wheel of a car
after having drank.
It's just, it's senseless,
it's pointless, there's so many
options and it's just always
the better decision to not do it.
So please, please
don't do it.
Preach. Here's what I'm sending this out on.
I found this on Reddit. I thought this was sick
in Johnny's epic season.
he had 77 primary points at even strength.
34 goals, 43 primary assists.
That's the most since any player since Lemieux in 92,
and the most sense a winger since Yari Kari in 84.
Sick.
Johnny Hockey, baby.
My three favorite goals he was involved in.
Number three, he assisted the only goal Yager scored for the flames
and his last goal of his NHL career.
Epic.
Yager had a really nice tribute.
You said it May 15th, 2022, game 7, 2-2 OT.
Shot attempts, 125 to 58 flames over stars.
Otter out of his gourd.
Five minutes to go into OT, Johnny Hockey,
over the shoulder under the bar.
Place goes bananas.
And then for us, flames fans, that's the air first,
but for us, fair estate, foot to the forehand,
to the towie, to the backhand top cheese.
Inside, outside. Johnny Hammond cheese.
This kid, and here's good row.
He can move.
Oh, dude, that's one of my favorite calls ever.
And then the last thing I'll say is this, dude.
You said it earlier.
I didn't even know if you were going to say this,
but I've never seen anyone score more wrap-around goals in my life.
It's unbelievable, Johnny Rapparounds.
Fake shot, boom, pull it around.
It's because he's so tiny.
He just sets that edge.
Pivots the feet.
Last goal you ever scored in the NHL,
at home for the Blue Jackets against the Carolina Hurricanes,
fake shot wrap-around on the back end.
Yeah.
I hope they have wraparounds on the pond up there, buddy.
So do I.
Goodro, two on one with the Otter, Goodrow with the Otter, Goodrow, Yard.
Godot could chuck in the corner back to Johnny Goodrow.
Goodrow in front.
Heads a pass to Lino, stopped by Onger, took up high.
Goodro!
Scores!
Here's Goodroo.
He can move.
Goodroo.
In Goodro!
Scores!
Sends it in once more.
Off Spencer Martin, Rapparout scores.
What an effort.
Johnny Goodrow!
And the jackets have to lead again, this time, four three.
Taking a quick break to remind you guys
that we have the coolest deal running with
BEDMGM right now and you have to take
advantage. Download the BEDMGM app,
use promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
and then you get to place a bet on anything.
Baseball, football, hockey's about to start again,
middle school basketball in South Sudan,
whatever you want.
$5 up to $1,500.
If you lose, BDMGM takes the money
and puts it right back in your account.
Can you believe that?
They take the money that you,
You should have lost and they put it back in your account.
It's unbelievable.
So please take advantage, use promo code netters, and hop on that bet MGM wagon right now.
Gaming problem, call 1-800-Gand-8-8-8-Hop-N-Y or text HOPEN-NY or
for New York.
Call 1803-50-50-Fer New York for Massachusetts.
21-1-8-1-800 for Massachusetts.
21-plus only.
Please gamble-office.
Call 100 Next-Ecter for Iowa.
1-800-10-2-4-RICO.
First-Bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements,
bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas-ccassian-GMGM.
dot com for terms. The U.S. promotional offer is not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Giving a quick shout out to our partners, Fireball. I know we're a hockey podcast, but right now
we're going to talk about football. Football's back, baby. Thursday is game day one. We've got
the whole season ahead of us, and there is no better shot in the game than Fireball when it comes
to football. And I'm going to go further and say, there's no better shot in hockey as well.
So we've got a two for here. Yes, football season, Fireball's got you covered, but don't
forget, hockey season's right around the corner. So you're going to double up. This
This is perfect.
Whether you're taking a shot after a touchdown, after a goal, whether you got a keg at your
party so everyone can get in, make some mixies.
I like some fireball Dr. Pepper, just saying if you're into that stuff, it's pretty good,
or do you just want to do a shot, boom.
Your team scores a touchdown, your team scores a goal, you're doing some fireball because
it is the best drink when it comes to football and we're going to make it the best drink
when it comes to hockey as well.
And the best thing about fireball is they're going to help you ignite your rivalry right now.
We know we got rivalry games coming up.
CP and I, we're Pat's fans.
It is what it is.
We got rivalries out the wazoo, I feel like.
I don't even know a team that's not the Pats rivals from the old Brady days.
So when it comes to playing the Jets, the Giants, the Dolphins, whomever, we're going to be firing
up that fireball because we need that rivalry fuel inside of us and that is exactly what
fireball is.
So make sure you get stocked up on your nips, on your shots, on your kegs, on your bottles.
You get that bottle zipping around during game day.
getting the fire inside them and you're going to have the best experience of your life because
Fireball is bringing that every single sip. Make sure you get dialed into Fireball during the season
because kickoff is right around the corner. Let's get it. Taking a break real quick because I've got to
talk to you guys about our CBDMD partnership. Listen, all of us, summer's over. All of us are feeling
stress. We're feeling burned out. You're having anxiety, sleepless nights, all that stuff.
CBDMD is the place to go because they can help you recover.
They can help you focus.
It is a way to take your mental health and your mental clarity and your focus to another level.
Okay.
And we're giving a great deal right now.
It's if you use promo code Friday at CBDMD.com, it's 30% off.
3.0.
30% off plus free shipping.
They've got CBD products.
They've got THC products.
It's from USA grown hemp.
It is rigorously third-party tested for the cleanest possible product you can get.
You do not want to miss out on this awesome, awesome opportunity.
So please, promo code Friday, F-R-I-D-A-Y, and go to CBDMD.com and check out all the awesome options they've got for you.
Well, it's been a bit since we've talked about any news on this podcast.
It's been a quiet summer, but I've got news for everybody.
It's September.
People are reporting to captain's practice.
people are reporting back to the cities they play in and hockey is back.
So we've got some shiz to talk about.
Number one, the largest AAV contract in NHL history has been cochinged.
Leon Drysidal, signs.
Dude, who said working at it's a burger flipper wouldn't pay?
Pays well.
Pays well.
eight years
14 mil
a a v
Leon dry sidel
extends
with
the Edmonton
Oilers
I'm bummed
I'm bummed
sorry oilers fans
I'm bummed
you know obviously
I'll admit
you know
if if pasta didn't resign
with the Bruins
I would have been bummed
if anything happens
with Swamen I'll be bummed
so like
I get I understand
if you're mad at us
for saying this
but I just I love
excitement. Chaos. It also, but it had to happen. If they had lost in the second round to the Canucks,
who were they playing? Yes. They lost Canucks and he stayed and he signed this exact deal. I'd be,
I'd be like, annoyed. I would be beyond bummed. I'd be like, you are an idiot, dude. Yeah.
Game 7 cup finals. I'm bummed, but you got to go back, I think. Yeah. I'm not surprised
at all. I'm
bummed. I thought a Leon Drysidal
sweepstakes would have been so exciting
for the game of hockey.
And I could see it.
Like so many people, but he was never going to leave.
And you're right. But I was
like, oh, I could see it. I could definitely see it.
Yeah. Calls were made.
He's incredibly loyal. He's an
unbelievable player. Great member of that
community. Of course. I get all that.
But I could have seen it.
I'm interested
to talk about what this looks
like for the league and for the Oilers
because let me throw some stuff
at you right now. Yeah, do it.
Nurse is getting paid 9.25
mill until 2028.
Okay.
Echholm, 6 mil until 2026.
Kane 5.125 until
2026.
Bouchard and Connor, UFA
and RFA in 26.
So...
Bouchard is too. Yes.
Interesting.
So what's interesting is
a lot of people talking shit online
about the Maple Leafs.
saying, you idiots have 40 mil
wrapped up in four players, which is true.
Yeah.
This team has 50 mil wrapped up in four players.
And it's, you know, you've got Hyman wildly overperforming for his contract.
Yeah.
Two years ago, two seasons ago,
Neuch overperformed for his contract.
I would say he performed adequately for his contract last year.
Yep.
But Leon signs this 14 mil,
and I'm also going to take an opportunity to say this.
This is not an overpay.
Anyone on Twitter who's going, yeah, man, Oilers overpay, Drysiddle to stay.
I am here to tell you, if Leon Drysiddle went to UFA next summer, there are 25 teams or more in the league who would have paid him exactly that.
This is not an overpay.
This is the market.
He is a top three, top four player in the world.
This is what he deserves.
Get used to it.
The question is, are we going to start seeing teams?
who pay their players this much win because we've never seen it before.
Yep.
We look back at, go as far back as the Bruins team that wins when you've got, you know,
guys like Berg and Krati and Chara all making like less than seven.
And you see it with the Knights, Jack, making the most at something like 10.
I think Nate Dogg, when they won, I don't think his 11 or so, 12 or so deal had kicked in yet.
Yeah, maybe not.
But even if he was the highest, everyone else, way below that.
So now we've got Toronto really is the only team that's like,
we've got multiple players on these fat deals.
They aren't doing shit.
Yep.
And you can say what you want to say.
Is it a fat deal problem or is it a Leafs problem?
Is it a fat deal problem or is it a Leafs problem?
Yep.
We haven't seen, you know, Colorado at full strength since they won the Cup,
but we're about to see Moose get paid, I would guess, 11.6.
That's my guess.
I think Miko Ranton is going to get paid 11.6 per year.
Okay.
Interestingly enough, this extension almost makes that be like, oh, is he going to get more now?
Right, dude.
And I could see it.
But Nate's at 126?
Think so.
So, you know, at least you have that cap.
If you're the abs, you're like, I'm not going to get more than Nate.
You're not going to get more than Nate.
Yeah.
The huge question is, you know, we're going to play out this year where they're a favorite.
The Oilers are favorite.
Yep.
This Leon contract doesn't kick in this season, so they don't have to worry about that.
But they just lost Broberg and Holloway.
They're kind of up against it right now.
So we'll see what they can figure out at the deadline with LTIR and things like that.
But this is a year for them.
There are some who think realistically as the oldest team in the NHL.
Yeah, it's wild.
The penguins exist.
And this team's the oldest team in the NHL.
People are saying, is this the last year of the window?
Ekholm's unbelievable.
He is also older.
Yep.
Is Nurse going to snap out of it and start playing to the contract that they thought,
to the player they thought they were getting with that contract?
Is Hyman going to score 50 again?
Are Skinner and RV going to perform?
There's a lot of questions.
Is Stu going to be lights out?
We'll see.
After this year, the Connor extension is up.
And the Bouchard.
Well, yes.
But Bouchard, you don't, yeah, I mean, like, you might give them an extension.
You might not.
Either way.
Yeah.
Those contracts.
contracts are you probably wait with Bouchard because he's RFA.
Yeah.
You don't need to worry about that until the next summer.
But you give Leon 14.
What does that mean for Connor?
28.
Maybe.
Come on,
maybe.
What are we talking about it?
But, you know, it's just an interesting thing because you give Leon 8 by 14.
By the way, I forget what it was.
It's like 102 mil of that or something is all in bonuses, which is in salary bonus, which is amazing.
presumably you're giving Connor
8 by let's call it 15 and a half to 16
I think there's a world where Connor
could ask for 17 17 and a half
but I think Connor's like dude I've had
my bad imagine you got 16 though that'd be crazy
what I think would be epic is if Connor
was like I'm in it dude give me 14
as well but what's great what's interesting is
Connor
Connor might do that
his agent won't well his agent
can get fucked dude he'll do whatever
Connor goes like us watch this dude
I'll give the
I'll give the commission on 14 million to this agent right over here.
Yeah.
You can take your fucking 16 demands, bump them on down the road.
CPs my agent now.
Boom.
I'll get you 14.
Boom.
I'm rich.
Now we're good.
Now we're boys.
Now I'm an oiler's fan.
We'll see.
Either way, this, I'm not going to use the term cap hell because I don't think that they're in that.
But the oilers paying Leon 14 mil and then Connor probably 15 plus.
right after that, with Nurse at 9.25 until 2028 is not a good situation.
It's big.
So you wonder, what is the window, realistically?
Is it one years, two years, three years?
And if they don't win next year, are you panicking?
Yes, by the way, is the answer.
Because to me, they lack, and you're right, they can do some stuff,
but they lack the, I know everyone's like,
their forwards are so deep and like, maybe, but maybe not.
I don't, I don't, I don't know who's saying that.
I think if you're saying that, you're, people love their top.
It's a lot of wishful thinking.
Or the top nine, certainly.
But like, my point is their top not, I'm here to say right now their top nine is not good.
Their top six could be amazing.
Their top nine could be really good, dude.
But either way, they don't, they have D.
issues, in my opinion, that have not been solved.
And you can go, well, yeah, dude, like, we, we had these issues and we were one period away
from a cup.
Yeah.
So, like, those issues are overcomeable, which is factually true.
You were just one period away from a cup.
But for the millionth time, I think you had an easy path to the cup.
You know, there are factors here.
I think the Panthers could have ragdolled you.
And, you know, you happened to clap back because they got nervous, whatever, whatever.
Point being, there are issues that aren't.
solved and now the money's getting up.
Like the issues aren't solved and now guys
totally that are there are getting more and I'm like oh shit
you know so you are always a threat period you are always a threat with
Connor McDavid and Leon Dries settle on your team.
No doubt about it.
But if you don't win this year you're a rattle.
Yeah I think you are and you know what's interesting man is I wonder if we're
approaching an era where these albatross contracts in the NHL
aren't that bad.
Yeah.
Not that big of a deal.
It's not that big a deal in any other sport.
Like we said, I think it was when Vegas,
I almost want you to look this up for me,
because I don't think Nate's contract had kicked in when they won.
I think he extended that season and it kicked in the next year.
Look that up for me, if you can.
Because I believe either him or Jack the next year
is the biggest contract,
a Stanley Cup winner has had.
Right.
Because Jack's contract is, well, now we've got Bob.
What year did they win?
They won in 2021.
2022.
Yeah, because three was Vegas.
2022 was Colorado.
Yeah, the extension kicked in 2023, 24.
He got 12.6.
Okay.
So, yeah, I think Jack had the biggest contract for a cup winner.
and then now Bob matches him because they're both on 10, right?
I think Jack might be a little over 10.
But either way, we've got double-digit AAV Cup winners now.
Yep.
Big deal.
Big deal.
But there's a huge difference between 10 and 12.6.
There's a huge difference between 10 and 12.5 and 10 and 14.
And 15 and a half.
28.
Dude, a player making 4 million a year, like, that's a difference maker on your team.
Oh, my God, dude.
Look at Gus Foresling.
He makes less than six.
So it's interesting.
So part of me thinks the cap's going up.
New TV deals, all this stuff.
This is how you, listen, if you, by the grace of God,
draft Connor McDavid and Leon Drysidal,
you fucking pay him what you got to pay him to keep him.
Yep.
So anyone giving the oiler shit, Stan Bowman's shit,
I'm kind of like, what are you talking about, dude?
Like, you're going to let him walk.
You're going to be like, no, we're not paying you that.
You're going to trade him.
No, you do whatever you can to keep this guy.
It is, however, scary when you don't win in this grace period.
The extension goes next season.
So we've got a little bit of wiggle room still.
Because then you're in that next year, Leon's all of a sudden making 14,
and you know you're about to pay Connor.
Or you probably go into that season having already agreed to pay Connor 16 mil.
So you're like, we better win right now.
And it's just interesting.
Obviously, it's great when every year goes by in a new.
player signed something huge. But when pasta signed for 11.5, everyone was like, holy shit,
you know, biggest Bruins contract ever. Oh my God, McAvoy signed for nine and a half. People were like,
what's posse? They're dead. Yeah, yeah. And now you look at a 28-year-old pasta, who's a top five
player in the league making 11.5. And you're like, that is a steel. Jump change. That is a steel.
So it begs the question, will we see these guys get over the hump? And frankly,
prove if you've got players of that
caliber, pay them.
They can figure it out. You get a decent
enough supporting cast around two guys
like this, you can figure it out.
If they lose,
which is unfair,
because they could go to, you know,
cup after cup after cup and lose and people will still go,
yep, see if you pay guys that much, you'll never win.
Yeah, yeah. So this is a, this is going
to be, you know, one of the pieces
in like the precedent setting
world of these types of contracts.
It's crazy. Moving on from
Leon. Seth Jarvis.
Our boy. Come on. Road to
50 gets paid. But
little wrinkle. Little wrinkle
here. Seth Jarvis signs an eight year
$63.2 million
contract. Now,
if you crunch those numbers, that comes out
to 7.9 A.A.A.V.
And I was looking at it and I was like, under 8, good job.
But actually on the books, it's 7.42
mil AAV.
So freeze up
480 or so
K in cap.
this is not the first time, but to this extent, the biggest instance where a team has put in deferred money.
Yep.
So base payment and signing bonus payments are basically in every long-term deal in the NHL.
But ultimately, for those wondering, those don't affect AAV.
Like we said with Leon.
I think in Leon's first year of this 14-Mill AAV contract, he's getting paid $1 million in so on.
The rest is bonus, but he's still at a 14 mil cap.
This Seth Jarvis situation is interesting because he has a year nine payment date.
July 1st, 232, which is saying 2032 out loud, I was like crazy.
He's crying to be 60 when this guy deals up.
He gets an undisclosed amount of money, but because the player and the team agreed to that
and the collective bargaining agreement has signed off on this, they're going,
Yeah, he is still going to get paid after that eight years.
Both teams agree to it.
The league agrees to it.
So that money, whatever it is that he's getting paid,
is not going to count against his cap hit.
So it drops that number down, which puts him at 7.40.
The question I have for you, Chris,
is how long is the league going to let this be legal?
Because we are staring down the barrel of if this is legal,
and you can keep fudging it as much as you want
and as much as you believe in the player,
you could essentially Bobby Bonilla yourself.
Dude, it's in baseball everywhere.
Muki Betts signed that deal with the Dodgers.
He's getting paid till...
That dude's getting paid like 7 mil a year
when he's like 58.
Dude, Shoh-Houhah, same deal.
Show-Hoy gets paid a dollar a year by the Dodgers.
And he's been paid out until 2180.
His grandkids are on.
on the contract, dude.
It's bananas.
So it's all over the place.
And it,
by the way,
dude,
you,
you,
so like,
you know,
you,
you,
you play for a team
with state taxed.
Yeah.
So your contract is being taxed.
If you defer money,
the years,
all those years you're getting paid
after your playing career,
you get taxed where you live then.
So like,
you can be like,
give me my $8 million contract,
move,
move to Florida.
Yeah.
Boom.
How are you?
Nice to meet you.
Good and you.
Whoops.
And so that's just something to think about.
So I think that this is something that we should keep our eyes peeled on because there is no chance that this doesn't come up again soon.
Yep.
It might come up very, very soon.
Yeah.
Which leads us into our next portion.
We have some more RFA.
Some more.
We have spent all summer not talking about this.
I know.
We've spent all summer not talking about this.
about it. One in particular, Jeremy Swayman, because we're not worried, but notable RFAs that remain.
Again, it is September what, Chris? Third, dude. September 3rd. Captain's practices have started.
Swamen is on the ice at Warrior Ice Arena, playing with his Bruins teammates, unsigned.
Notable restricted free agents that still remain. Jeremy Swamen, Mo Cider, Lucas Raymond, Thomas Harley.
All of those guys are huge names. But also, we've got.
Cole Pairfetti in Winnipeg. We've got
Dawson, Mercer, New Jersey, Peyton Krebs in Buffalo,
Arthur Calliov in L.A.
Dude, it's like every time, because I'm
on Twitter, you know, I know you are too.
It's like, like, I don't, it feels like
one has to fall, but like Nate just happened,
Jarvie happened, the damn didn't
break. It's like that fucking game
what we were playing. It's that, the, um, the
Friday Beers card game. They have like a million things,
but one of them is the horse race. You know how like
you move the card up, like, with every dice roll?
Yeah. Dude, I literally, I feel like we're playing
that game where I just have sway.
Mo, Razor, Mercer. And like every day, it's Harley. Harley. Harley's up. Oh, Harley.
Oh, Harley's up. Oh, Sway. Wait, wait, sway might sign a four year. Wait, Sway,
back up, 10 year, eight year. Like, it's literally, it is the Friday beers drinking game of RFA summer.
That is what has happened. It's truly remarkable. Insane.
So what's crazy, man, is you look at these teams and let's start with Sway.
Jeremy Swayman, I, I've stayed out of this because Sway is obviously a dear, dear friend of
and I am in complete support of Swayman.
I've stayed out of it because I love the Boston Bruins organization
and I love the Neely family and I want what's best for everyone.
But I did tweet a couple weeks ago, maybe a few weeks ago.
I find it insane.
I know it's a business.
I find it insane when GMs and teams let it get this long.
And there's a lot of fans out there who want to jump
on the player and be like, dude, you're being a selfish prick.
Stop talking about it.
Stop, stop pouting, blah, blah, blah.
You're getting paid millions of dollars.
Dude, shut up, please.
Like, I just, at the end of the day, man,
we talk about team-friendly deals, this and that.
It's so easy to say as a fan.
A lot of players, if not all, players will tell you,
dude, go get your money.
Yeah.
Like, these people don't get.
give a fuck about you. These GMs, these organizations, I'm being generalizing, but they're running a
business. They're running a multi, multi, multi, multi million dollar business, sometimes billion
dollar business. They don't care about you. And if you're going to try to shove team friendly
contracts down players throats and they're like, no, dude, this is my life. I might get hurt
tomorrow. Things happen and you need to make sure you're taking care of. Your family's taken care of.
I always love how two, like single digit numbers,
register in our brains as human beings as three, four.
So if someone goes, it's three mil difference.
I'm like, the number three feels small,
but I'm like, yeah, but it's three million.
Like, are you insane?
Yeah.
They're like, dude, come on.
What are you going to throw a fit over $2 million?
And I'm like, oh yeah, I'll fucking kill you over $2 million.
And in this one, Chris, it's like, you've got to think about it, dude.
It's like, we're talking about three mil every year.
And you're signing a guy to an eight-year deal.
They're not stupid.
They're going, well, if I sign a one-year deal next year, that whatever number it is,
is probably going to go up by $2 million more.
So if you're getting them to commit to eight, you've got to give them what they're worth.
So everyone understand that, please, as we go through here.
But you're in a situation where the Bruins currently have roughly 8.64 mill in cap space.
Yep.
I will officially go on record here on this podcast.
No, don't.
And say, I think the Bruins have completely fucked this up.
Oh, yeah, I agree.
I think the fact that they took sway to arbitration last year was a fucking joke.
Piss him off, dude.
I don't care that it pissed him off.
Because, like, again, as someone who loves him, I'm here to tell you, you know how much it takes to piss him off in that space.
Like, anyone who's online being like sway this, what, shut the hell.
up man like he is such a team guy so shut up first of all but the fact that they took him to arbitration
was insane to me and then you had all season to extend him and the narrative is they weren't sure
they weren't convinced is he the guy is he not the guy what the hell are you talking about so
that's fuck up number one fuck up number two again you could extend him at any point yeah you then
trade lina solmark before getting that done that's another five
up. Yep. You get Jack
shit for Linus Olmark.
That's another fuck up.
And now you are in a situation
where you're trying to sign your
star goalie who is, I would
say pretty unanimously now considered a top
three goalie in the league, top five, easily.
Easily. I'm not
saying me. I'm saying unanimously it's five.
Yeah, I got something to say about that.
So do you, but unanimously it's five.
And you're trying to play hardball with the guy.
you've got to be kidding me.
Yep.
So what I do think is scary is, you know,
you see those stupid reports from journalists that saying Sway's demanding 10,
that is not fucking true.
So every fan who's losing their mind about that, again, calm down.
But now we're seeing reports that there's a chance that they're going to offer him a four-year deal.
Yeah.
Four at something like 6.5 because they're like, ooh, we're actually kind of up against it.
if you want nine, nine and a half,
we don't have that money all of a sudden.
And I'm a little bit like,
did you not fucking think about this guy?
You didn't think it was,
like you give an eight year
or a seven year deal to Elias Lindholm.
That's great.
Yeah, you need him.
But like, you didn't think maybe sway is important here?
Dude, couldn't have trimmed a little bit off Lindholm,
a little bit off the door off to make sure
our franchise cornerstone goalie is covered.
You fucking, by some miracle,
go from Tim Thomas.
to Tuka Rask to this kid.
And you don't go, above all else, get his deal done.
Yeah.
What are we doing here?
And it's just to the point where if you give him a four-year deal, I don't care what
the number is, it looks awful.
It looks bad.
It looks disrespectful.
He deserves to feel disrespected if that's what it comes to.
And you wouldn't be fucking surprised if after that four years, he goes, I'm going to hit
free agency, dude.
Twice now, you fuckers have completely spit in my mind.
face. So I'm going to just see what else is out there. That makes me nervous. Again, I'm not nervous.
I know Sway. I know he loves playing in Boston. The boys love him. He loves the boys. This is getting
done. I just think you're morons for letting it get to where you've got. Unbelievable.
You move on from that and you look at Detroit. Detroit, Chris, has roughly 17.54 million dollars
in cap space. You need to some.
signed Mo and Razor.
Couple eight by eights.
Your Cornerstone future star on D.
Cornerstone future star winger on offense.
Reports are, and I put air quotes around the reports because you never fucking
know with all this bullshit.
Everyone needs stuff to write about.
But Razor is further away than Mo is what people are saying.
We thought what looked right, eight by eight for both.
Yeah.
Wrap them up.
You're under.
Why don't they get that done?
And you know what I think is crazy?
And I don't know anybody in the Red Wings organization.
I'm making this up.
But if they are offering, it would be insane to me if they are offering them different numbers.
I completely agree.
I've said it a million times.
I know they play different positions, but how is this not tapes cane?
So I think they should be offering them the exact same thing.
And in fact, I assume they are.
Which rattles me because when they say Razors farther off.
and Mo, that means...
He wants more.
Yeah, like they're getting the same offer.
Allegedly.
I'm making this up.
But if they are getting the same thing and Razors farther away, that means he's like,
I want more than him.
And I'm like, ooh, dude, you guys might have to just take the same deal here.
Yes.
Again, it's...
These things are complicated.
We've just said, like, you got to get whatever you can get, dude.
Like, go get your money.
Yep.
And you hire agents that you trust because you go, I trust you to get you to get you.
get the deal that I need. But yeah, man, it's rattling. It's really rattling. That is one where
I look at their cap space and I'm like, how in the world have you guys not figured this out?
Yeah. But it is scary when you are Mo Cider, when you are Lucas Raymond and you're your age
and how old's, how old are they? 23. Yeah. You sign an eight your deal. You're 31.
and when you see
Leon Drysadle getting paid 14 mil a year
and someone's going, why don't you take 8 mil a year?
And you go, well, I mean, in two years
I might be a 100 point guy.
I get it.
Dude, me too.
I can't believe these young kids who will believe in themselves
take eights.
And then you always say you can get twice.
You can get a fat.
You can get an 8.31 these days.
I mean, look at Elias Lindholm.
I mean, Elias Lindholm, 29 years old,
just got a seven-year deal.
It's possible.
But I just think you probably,
catch like another
it'll be in inflation
but you practice like another
if you're 23 do the bridge
bridge bridge dude
like yeah pay 24 or 28
if you were going into a uf a uf a year
at 2728 you get
the fucking back but what if
you don't perform well then
you a bitch and you don't deserve it
fair
fair so that is one where I am just
shocked that they haven't either begrudgingly
gone okay bridge deal yeah or just
gone here's your 8s
moving on to Dallas, roughly 6.24 Mill, and they've got Thomas Harley.
For those who are uninformed, here's all of it.
Thomas Harley is a recently 23-year-old 6-foot-3 defenseman who just had 15 goals,
32 assists for 47 points in 79 games while also playing phenomenal shutdown.
He is the man.
You just lost Tanev?
Yep.
by no means can you afford to lose this guy you're not going to lose this guy so no worries but
this one i get but this is an easy bridge they don't have a choice but
it like two by two by six yes uh i i get him because i wonder what the bridge is you want to
leave some space maybe you can make a move at the deadline they're cup hunting yeah for sure so
not without him if i'm him i look at the sanderson contract i look at maccavoy's contract i look at
contracts. They're all getting eight to nine.
Yeah, yeah. Eight to higher.
Yep. But you look at him and go, I don't have it, dude.
Yes, I know. Yeah. But you go, that's my market value.
And eight by nine and a half. An eight by nine.
And sign a one. What? Then sign a one if I'm him.
Sure, sure. But what's tough is like, I think you're like, if I, if you want me to sign a one, I want all six.
You all yeah. And that's what I'm saying. I bet they're like, come on, man. Like sign a two by five. And he's like, fuck no, I'm not going to you two years. One by five.
Like one by five, you wonder if that one turns into an arbitration situation, which is great.
Which sucks.
But yeah, some of these other ones like Cole, you want him wrapped up.
You want Krebs wrapped up, absolutely.
And the Caliyev won in L.A.
I think is actually sneaky, one of the most complicated because L.A. has 1.3 in cap.
And when you look at that team with the PL trade, you've just lost Arvinson.
there is a significant second or third line wing opening that everyone in the king's organization goes
this is what you were drafted for, Callia.
Like this is your job.
Step into it, please.
And it's tough to be like, sign a vet minimum or, you know, like league minimum deal.
Yeah.
Because I bet he's like, no.
But the good news is, is you don't yet have the resume for him to be demanding money.
But that is an interesting one.
It's a complicated one.
Oh, and in fact, needs to be solved.
Oh, yes.
Like, I mean, I guess all the players are naming are super impactful,
but that's just like, that's a hole you can't afford.
I mean it like this.
In the precarious place that I feel the Kings are,
you can't have that hole, too.
You can't.
That's what I mean.
My question for you,
who do you think is the next shoe to drop?
Because Mercer's a big one too.
I know.
You know, we haven't broke down all the money
with all the rest of the books.
Dosson Mercer is a 60-point guy two years ago.
I wanted him so I wanted him for O-Mark so bad.
We needed O'Mark to the Devils.
Let the Devils take over the Met with O'Mark.
Let O'Mark be happy in New Jersey and give me Dawson-Merson.
Don't even talk about.
Feels crazy to say sway, but I think I might say sway.
Just like being on the ice again, you know, like it might just get it going.
Because like, yo, what are we doing?
Yeah.
We're about to start.
The Wings guys feel a little.
complicated still.
Yeah, you wonder, they obviously have such a wonderful relationship with each other.
Yeah.
You wonder if, let's say Mo is like, I'm good, I'm happy.
And if the team is like, we can't sign that yet and like put pressure on Raymond and, you know, blah, blah, blah, blah.
But I think, I think it's going to be Harley because they're so strapped.
Yeah.
I think that one's.
complicated. Yeah, it is. Me too. I'm
sticking this way. I think
I'm going with
CaliEve or Krebs in the dark of night.
Okay. Like to me, I'm like, Buffalo, what are you
doing? What the
hell are you doing? Just
sign that kid.
And I think we might see
a cali, like a very simple Cali of like
950. One year 950,
prove it deal, similar to Sprong.
Yeah. You're going to get
significant minutes here. Like, go
perform and sign a bag next summer.
Um, or Mo.
Oh, I do think Mo, dude, it's been such a weird summer for the Red Wings.
I know.
And they could use some good news, you know, Ascarov becoming available.
The Red Wings being an absolute top team that's like, woof, that could be great, despite
them having four goalies on the roster.
I think it would be really great.
If they are actually close, if they feel good, I think,
Stevie needs to be like, boom, done.
Because I actually think the pressure on Raymond is a good thing.
Yeah.
I think it'd be like, look at this kid, dude.
Like, he was the rookie of the year.
He is logging minutes for this team on defense.
He signed, buy in.
Like, Larks has set the president here.
You got Kane back.
You got Kat.
Like, sign.
Let's go.
I could see Moe happening for sure.
Okay.
I like that.
It's crazy stuff.
We're going to keep our eyes peeled as all of the
these contracts come together but great to have an episode like this back great to be talking about
news great to see the boys back on the ice great to see a lot of the boys back home some of the
king's boys hockey season is back i i don't i don't believe it i'm a little sad because i'm still
exhausted yeah but at the same time it is the fuel that makes this engine run so i'm absolutely
juiced and get ready for the division previews here they come here they come so all of your
favorite teams we're going to get deep into those previews tommer's going to be back chopping it up
with us we're going to keep the movie reviews going because it's fun as hell but crazy stuff
the largest sentiment of this episode for me is god we love this community we love all of you
and we love this game so thank you all keep spreading that love and let's get fired up as we
head into this season until we see you next time appreciate the little things skate hard
