Empty Netters Podcast - Sergei Bobrovsky Has Never Given Up A Goal On May 22nd | LIVE.EP14

Episode Date: May 23, 2025

The boys go live for their 14th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs! NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMG...M app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Hey, then it's Saturday, Sunday. What is Friday, then it's Saturday, Sunday, what? Back with empty netters. Parkline news brought to you by Bet, MGM. It is Friday on the long weekend, and we are still here. We're still horny, and we are ready to talk about hockey. We got CP coming at you remote from Maine and our boy, the third empty netter, Johnny Laz coming at us from New York City, looking beautiful, looking sharp.
Starting point is 00:00:28 He's blowing. he's he's all he's all glistening it's amazing how are you pal big girlfriend guy day one a new relationship i was about to i was like oh i'm gonna call him out but then i was like i would never do that too i said on our show this morning yeah i said on the show this morning so um it's funny actually like let's say it had gone official on like monday i would have told frank serebelli always comes in our show on tuesday i would have told frank to like make it breaking news but like that actually would have been hilarious yeah you are stuck such a bitch.
Starting point is 00:01:01 At least I didn't know it. I don't pretend that I'm not. Yeah, no, that's the thing. You own it. You own. And also, it's great. It's charming. I love it.
Starting point is 00:01:08 Love is great. Love is great. How are we doing, boys? We got a great, great day of hockey ahead of us. We got great talking points today. The cats absolutely bitch slapped the canes again. Absolutely insane. But C.P., you had a good little talking point since we got Las with us here.
Starting point is 00:01:26 Las has a sexy little brunch he has to get to. But while we have. You had a good talking point about the Atlantic and the Met, which is going on right now in this matchup. So kick us off. Okay, well, I'm not deading this series yet for all the Keynes fans out there. We still have a lot of hockey to play. But if the Panthers were to go on and win this series, it would be the seventh year in a row that the Atlantic team has won the Eastern Conference finals. That goes all the way back to Washington winning the cup.
Starting point is 00:01:53 That's when it went through. So I just kicked it as a Rangers fan. I wanted to kick it to Las to be like, is this? just typical pendulum swinging of the cyclical nature of the league or do you have a theory as to why that's been the been the streak for so long now? Well, it's been two teams. It's not like it's just all the teams in division, right? It's been Tampa and Florida. And you're talking about 2019, right? Boston sweeping Carolina was, I guess, the start of the one. Yep. That was the start of it all. So even thinking back to like those previous series, like the first, I know Boston
Starting point is 00:02:25 sweeps Carolina in 2019, 2020, Islanders get it to six games. games 2021 islanders got the seven games 22 Rangers get the six games they had a two nothing leading the series Tampa wins four straight 2023 we all know it's the Florida Carolina we didn't get swept series even though all four games or one goal games like close games could have gone either way and then last year you know Rangers again two to two going into game five they lose in home ice they lose in six one goal games like I don't think it's by any means like dominance it's just two teams that have been really good uh for a really long time and And I think that's what you're seeing.
Starting point is 00:03:00 Even in the West, like, you know, Dallas has now gotten the three straight conference finals. You know, it's just, again, a dominant team. Like, that's what we see in the NHL. It's, it was the Kings, the Blackhawks, like, you know, 10 years ago, the Penguins, 10 years ago. Like, it's just kind of what it is. Like, these teams get hot and they go on runs for a couple years. They knock on the door. And then things change.
Starting point is 00:03:21 But I don't know if it's really like an Atlantic versus Met thing or just dominant teams coming out of Florida. And, dude, I, I have. had a theory, this is not my theory, but there's, there's, sometimes I think that the stronger division almost has a disadvantage because you kind of beat the shit out of yourself all the way to round three. But that kind of hasn't happened here, right? Because I do feel like the Atlantic's been stronger and, and you're like, uh-oh, you know, Florida and Tampa and, and, I mean, Toronto, whatever you want to say about them, but like Boston. Give them credit. Yeah, but it's like, oh, man, those teams are going to beat each other up and then just lose to that met team.
Starting point is 00:03:57 because I would argue that kind of happened to Dallas last year, where I was like, oh, man, the gauntlet they went through, and then they just kind of catching an advantage team when they're too tired. But that kind of hasn't really happened here, where it's like somehow the Atlantic team has enough gas to get past that final MET team. Do you agree? Yeah, I also think part of it with what we're seeing right now, too, is like Carolina has not seen a team close to what Florida is.
Starting point is 00:04:21 You know, granted, Washington had a great regular season. They were heavy, physical. I think you can say they were somewhat speedy. Not either the fastest team to lead, but they played a pretty good pace. But again, like Carolina just kind of smothered them. And if we really went back to the beginning of the season, would anyone have thought Washington would be as good as they were? Bro, I picked them to like miss the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:04:44 Yeah, they got it too. But you got to give them credit for the year they had. And then on the flip side, like the opponents that Florida went against gave them a really tough battle. Carolina played a depleted devil's team. Like, they didn't necessarily weren't able to hang around with them. And then obviously, you know, the caps didn't really have an answer. So I think just the, what's the word I'm looking for here?
Starting point is 00:05:10 The switch maybe had to flip a little bit, I guess, for Carolina, where Florida probably already had that dialed. But I'm not trying to make excuses for Carolina. You know, they're a good team, but Florida has just brought it to them. And I think there is a little bit of an intimidation factor too, right? Carolina, whether it's the moment or the opponent, you can point to both. They knew that they had struggles in conference finals in many years past, and they've known they struggled against the opponent they're playing against.
Starting point is 00:05:36 And going against Florida Panthers is intimidating. Anyone could admit that. So take it as you will. Dude, it's been one of the more interesting things watching these two games, because as we've said, Carolina, every year people want to say Carolina is different, Carolina is different. And I feel like we were. I feel like all three of us were like this. I feel like everyone says they're the same every year. Yeah, except for me. I was like this year, this year they're different. Sorry, when I say everyone, I mean Carolina fans. Like Carolina fans every season are like,
Starting point is 00:06:03 we're different. We're different. And yes, the world is like, no, you're not. You are the same. Yeah. And this year was the first time where I was like, they might be. They might be different. Because I thought this Washington team was strong. And they got punked by Carolina. So now to see this, I'm watching this series and I'm like, would, would Washington have lost to Florida in one? Like, would they have lost one game and been like, we give up? Yeah, yeah. Because this is crazy. I mean, I picked Florida to win this series and I am just a little shocked that it is so, every advantage that we feel like we saw from Carolina through the first two series is completely gone.
Starting point is 00:06:46 Anything that they did well that they got on other teams about, that they got in other team's heads about is completely gone. And I said to UCP going into game two, I was like, is this must win? I don't know. Like, you know, you could just, if it's close, you could go down to sunrise and you could sweep out a tough win and you're okay. But now I'm like, listen, when was the last time we saw a series in the conference finals that was this crazy? Like you got shit kicked two games in a row And now you're going on the road Where you haven't been the best all year
Starting point is 00:07:19 That's not great It was probably the Boston Carolina series in 2019 Honestly, I'm pretty sure Boston dominated them But what I was gonna say too Like a talking point we had this morning was Who do you say is a better team? Carolina or Toronto Oh
Starting point is 00:07:36 See that's a tough one Because it's like when we don't have them It's a great question When we don't have the matchup that we're looking at, it's hard to say because, I mean, I think Carolina has the advantage in a few areas. And when Freddie was playing the way Freddie was playing through the first two rounds, I was like, they have the goaltending advantage. They have definitely the defensive advantage. And then when they play this way and they suffocate teams and they don't let your offense get going, I would be like, I kind of like Carolina in that. But does Toronto have more talent?
Starting point is 00:08:11 Definitely. So why only ask? Because Taylor Hall had a really good quote today that I wanted to share with you. So Taylor Hall said, I mean, they just went seven games against the Leafs, right? They're not a perfect talking team and we know that there are areas to exploit like any team. Carolina just hasn't figured that out yet.
Starting point is 00:08:27 You know, like the first two games of Toronto, Florida, we were sitting here probably saying the opposite things, right? Like, oh my God, like these Panthers look like a show of themselves. What's going on? Like Florida figured them out and then boom, switch flipped. You know, and teams figured out. And I think, you know, having this. little transition going from Carolina to Florida.
Starting point is 00:08:43 It does change the temperature of a series a little bit when you shift arenas. And I used to believe I don't anymore just after being closer to the game where momentum goes from game to game, I don't believe that actually is true. So I do think game three, or at least I can anticipate that we will see a completely different Carolina team in game three. And I don't know what the reason will be, but you have to think Roderndamore and their team will find some answers or at least one area to change things in their own positive direction. But CP, do you think that there, like, if there is a team that isn't going to
Starting point is 00:09:18 have an advantage like this and let the other team kind of figure them out, it's this Florida team. Yeah. Yeah, they stay on the gas. First of all, what a, what a, I hadn't heard that Halsey quote. What a ricochet at the least. It's such a ricochet. I saw it last night and I was like, Jesus Christ, dude, calm down. They went seven against the fucking leaps. But no. But no. And dude, Laz, we had brought up, I guess it probably was the live on Wednesday after game one of this series, where Maurice's quote after the game was, I didn't love our game tonight. Because he was like new series, temperature change. You know, like we got a system change. I think he said.
Starting point is 00:09:53 So it is crazy that, it's not crazy. That's a huge part of playoffs in the NHL where it's like feel out the new team, get a vibe for it. But I do think once, or Florida has shown over the last three years, once they feel out, the way they need to play against their new opponent they are very hard to make adjustments against to try to take that momentum back you know the only series they've lost in three years is when uh matthew chuck was had his sternum broken yeah and they couldn't move you know and that biggest team was good i'm not taking anything from them but just this florida team has been hard to figure out and and adjust and bob and weave against um for three years running now yeah and i think honestly florida has them listen i i'm i'm i'm not going to count the hurricanes out but like i did say after like the second goal last night, this series is done. Just because the D zone turnovers, the lack of creating offense, honestly just becoming a little bit unraveled. Like these guys look rattled right now in Carolina.
Starting point is 00:10:49 They look frustrated and they look like they don't have an answer. And that's that's the hard part. It's like Toronto at least you can point to Nylander or, and I know everyone's going to make fun, but like you can at least hope that someone will make a big play. And in Carolina, I know the game breaker conversation is what everyone talks about but even if let's say they had ran in still i don't think the outcome of this series is different i don't because they don't have an answer as a team yeah it's it's actually crazy to see dude we've said so many times um in the preview even we were like barkoff has been going up against
Starting point is 00:11:23 uh uh coocher off and and matthews and willie and he must be thrilled to get to carolina and no no insult against those guys there's good players in my team but he must be like oh sick i've been going up against like guys who are like best in the league conversation and now I can smother this team. Man, someone said yesterday, did Rod Brindamore really think it was a good idea to put 36, 37 year old Jordan Stahl against Alexander Barkov? And that's no, not to ricochet shot Stahl,
Starting point is 00:11:53 but it is, yeah, when you look at the path he just went through, do you think Barkov's like, oh, shit, I got Stahl now. This is going to be tough. It's like, no, he's one of the best players in the world. And it's just not a good matchup. Who are you going to put? Jack Ross. That's my point.
Starting point is 00:12:09 No. Your boy. You don't put anyone. You just, you pray to God. That's what you do. You put your hands together and you pray. That's what you do. And I'm with you, Las.
Starting point is 00:12:21 A second goal went in and I was like, we're done here. And I don't want to count Caroline out because I love this team and it's been super fun. But it's just, this isn't the team. This isn't the team you come back down to O against. I'm sorry. How many times have we said the panthers smell blood in the water and it's fucking over. And there is a pool of blood in the water currently.
Starting point is 00:12:47 So I don't know what to say here. It's like you're going down to sunrise. I think Carolina will get one, maybe two. Maybe they can figure out and get two. But I don't see that this continuing at all. I just think they need the first goal. Oh, my God, dude. I don't even think that matters.
Starting point is 00:13:02 You're right for their confidence. but that you know that that would not face Florida, certainly not at home. But Carolina's not a team that is good when they're chasing the game. They're good when they're a team that's holding a lead. So if they could get out and score a first goal, it's going to change the entire direction of a game. Like, how early, what was a,
Starting point is 00:13:23 when did Florida scoring game one again? Game one feels already so distant. I know. I'll pull it up right here. Hold on. I know. I think it was the first period. Who scored the first goal?
Starting point is 00:13:34 Was it Ekplad? It was. It was the first play for Hagege's backhander on the power player. And then, yeah, yeah, eight minutes. Yeah, so both games, you're chasing from the start. Yeah, in the first two minutes, right? So, you know, that's got to be a big focus for them. Get out of the first 10 minutes in game three and maybe try to find a way to score the first goal before the first intermission.
Starting point is 00:13:56 Like, that's got to be the big thing. I think they've been playing a little bit too defensive and not taking risks offensively. and it's hurting them. I think they need to kind of cheat the game a little bit offensively. It's not a thing that Carolina does, but if they can get that first one and then kind of, you know, play that little stay above the puck, high F3,
Starting point is 00:14:13 you know, chip the puck out. What do they call it? The high flip now everyone's calling it. Yeah, yeah. And just kind of throw it into the neutral zone and then chase it. Like that's what they need.
Starting point is 00:14:21 Which was invented in like Mighty Ducks 2 on the playground of L.A. Really? A little alleyute play, dude. They flip the puck up in the air. So I think, I think finally, people are coming around to the Mighty Ducks philosophy, but that is what everybody's doing.
Starting point is 00:14:36 Yeah. Last, do you think, or go ahead, Dan? No, no, no, take it away. I was going to say, last before, I had wrote some stuff down that I'll have to offline with you, but to circle back to the original topic here. Yeah. Because I was wondering if that pendulum is going to swing back. Like, who in the Met is going to win the Eastern Conference finals soon? And because I, like, right now, I just don't know how anybody can be like, Caroline is on the cusp.
Starting point is 00:15:00 And, you know, the Rangers have a lot of questions. So does anybody, who breaks this streak? Does anybody scare you in the Met moving forward? Or is this just going to continue to be Atlantic dominant? Listen, I would, I mean, I hate saying this, but I would probably say it would be the devils. Correct. You know, things didn't really go their way this year, last year, injury-wise.
Starting point is 00:15:21 But they've done the right things. They brought in good pieces. They've, you know, added goaltending. Obviously, Jack getting hurt sucks for them. You know, I think that makes a world of a difference. but I'm sure they'll make moves again this summer and try to continue to build what they've got going on there. Just injuries, I mean, you're missing like 3D in round one.
Starting point is 00:15:41 Like, what can you really do, you know? Dude, Quinn Hughes has packed his bags already. He's going to be in Jersey by July. I'd say they're the closest, if I'm just speaking honestly. I don't want that to happen. Yeah. Is there anything to a division name change? Because I hear Atlantic Central Pacific,
Starting point is 00:16:01 that all makes sense to me. Metropolitan is just out of nowhere. And I looked up the definition, Lass, and it says, one who lives in a metropolis or displays metropolitan manners or customs. Columbus,
Starting point is 00:16:14 the Columbus Blue Jackets, that doesn't sound like a metropolis. No. I've got to think what it was, but what was the division? Such a fucking ricochet shot at Columbus, C.P. Jesus Christ,
Starting point is 00:16:25 buddy, take it easy. I just, I think we need a name change, Lazz. I think that could actually switch up the whole mojo of the division. I'm looking up like,
Starting point is 00:16:34 I can't remember a time. What was the division called like before it became the Metropolitan? Yeah, find out. Oh, it was the Atlantic division. And it was Eastern, right? I think. That might be right, dude. I'm looking up by 2006 NHL Divisions.
Starting point is 00:16:51 Because I was going to say, I would even hear the Metro becomes the central, and Central becomes Mountain. So it's kind of like our time zones, whatever, you know, like on the west, it's like Pacific and Mountain Division. And then in the east, it's Atlantic and Central. There were six divisions. It was Northwest, Central, Pacific, in the West, and then Atlantic, Southeast, and Northeast.
Starting point is 00:17:14 Yeah, okay. And then, dude, here's my, here's my rogue pitches. Keep Atlantic, keep Pacific. I like that. Because it's hard to call the Mountain Division. It's hard to call the Central Division Mountain when they have the Predators. You know, that's crazy. So my vote is to change.
Starting point is 00:17:30 the central division to the lake division because look at those cities. All those fuck people go to lakes. Everyone in that division has lakes. They all, they're like, they don't not near water. They all swim at lakes. That is now the lake division. And then I'm now changing the metro division to the train division because all these cities people take the train.
Starting point is 00:17:47 No one takes the train in Boston. No one takes the trade in L.A. All you fucking New York and Philly and pit people take the train everywhere. Metro division is now the train division. Central division is now the lake division. This is what you guys are learning about doing the live. shows, you can't cut that out. People are going to hear that and know how stupid it is. No, it's right. It's right. You're all trained people, dude. Call it train division and you'll win an
Starting point is 00:18:08 Eastern Conference finals. I love these moments. I love, I love when Johnny gets on the show and gets to CCP go, I have a really funny idea and then says something so dumb. And we all just have to sit here and be like, yeah, yeah, good idea. I say a lot of stupid shit, but that one was pretty dumb. It stirs the pot in the chat and they come up with better ideas. That's what I'm really just, I'm really just inspiring people. That's my role. too, you've had a lot of bad ideas that have led to good ideas. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Yeah, this is the process.
Starting point is 00:18:35 Like, it's just, this is how you weed stuff out. So I do appreciate that. Yeah. I'm telling you, dude, Pacific, Lake, Train, Atlantic. Do I go? Do I go now? Yeah, yeah, Johnny. Johnny, Johnny.
Starting point is 00:18:47 I said 12.15, I'd save the extra five minutes for that for the Lake Division. I love you, guys. I love you, guys. I'll see you, guys. Have a good day. All right. Later, Laz. Oh, man.
Starting point is 00:18:59 Well, I'm, I'm, I'm bummed that we lost Las with Lake Division, CP. I think he was more, Matt. The Lake one is more accurate than train. Train is a reach because it's like, I don't think they really ride the train in Carolina. But Lake, dude, look at those teams. Look at those teams in the Central.
Starting point is 00:19:15 They all have lakes. Hey, hey, pal, you're not going to hear me argue. Let's get back into this game and into this series. I want to talk about Freddie Iceberg, dude. Your boy is looking like a wilting head of lettuce that's been left out in the sun in a humid climate, just brown, soggy, and awful. Goal on the first shot of the game.
Starting point is 00:19:39 How are you feeling? I feel terrible for him. I feel a fool. I feel like the greatest fool, Dan, because it's like... You're getting called Amtrak CP in the chat, by the way. Dude, that's what I'm talking about. Amtrak, I'm going to become a metro guy
Starting point is 00:19:56 as soon as they become the... Dude, that's actually a sick name. division the amtrak division that's my new answer instead of train division which did sound kind of dumb i'm now in for amtrak division um i feel a fool then because the fear was always this was going to happen but if i may if i may just like i didn't think it was totally on freddie in game one i don't know that these goals it's four goals on four on 16 shots it's a disaster but i dare i say they weren't that bad again even rod and his presser do they They asked him, like, was that just giving Freddie some time for the poll, I mean?
Starting point is 00:20:36 And he goes, oh, yeah, none of those were on him. We weren't winning with anybody in that tonight. We were awful, which was all correct, I thought. Yeah, and also, like, the first time we've ever heard Rod say something negative after a loss in an Eastern Conference final game, agree. So I'm like, I don't know, dude. I, I, the, it sucks, dude. Like, he's been playing so good and you want your goalie to steal shit.
Starting point is 00:20:59 and he's not stealing anything right now. But he hasn't been that bad. He hasn't been as bad as it looks, I guess. Put it that way. Yeah. It's one of those tough things. I totally feel you when we talk about a goalie who has maybe had struggles and you worry about them and then they get into a game and you're like,
Starting point is 00:21:19 oh, those were all good goals though. At some point, if you get called the horse once, you punch a man in the mouth. You get called the horse the second time. call him a jerk. If you could call the horse a third time, you should probably go looking for a saddle. And it is the third, Rod Brindamore, Eastern Conference Final with this team, 10 straight losses. And like, Frederick Anderson has been so good, but he has been the problem for this great team the last couple of years. And here we are playing a really good team. It's like the first shot goes in.
Starting point is 00:21:56 And yeah, it was a good shot. It's my boy, Goose. But it just does feel a bit like, fuck me. It's all of your nightmares coming true. You said it. Game one was a nightmare. And now game two is a nightmare. We said Carter Verhege can't get going. Sam Bennett, guys like that can't get going.
Starting point is 00:22:19 Matthew Kuchuk can't get going. Verhege, three assists in that game. San Bennett, two goals. Matthew Kachuk, immediate goal. And you're just like, holy. That line at eight points down. They had a fucking joke. You are in trouble, dude.
Starting point is 00:22:31 You're in big trouble. On Rod, on our Supreme Leader, um, you said it. Dear Leader, dear leader, dear leader. Dude, dear leader was so good. I forget who said that. Dude, it's real. No, I thought it's,
Starting point is 00:22:44 someone sent me a screenshot, screenshot. Like, it's real. It's, I don't know if it's supposed to be the endearing version for the people to make sure that they don't think they're being gaslit and have Stockholm syndrome. But they do. call him dear leader okay on our dear leader he in the post game the first question he got asked was
Starting point is 00:23:04 you know rod uh that one started bad and got worse you know what do you think or something like that and he basically goes uh there's nothing i can add other than what you just said was very tough night i don't even know what i was watching in the first period and i laughed to myself because i and you just said this i was like this is progress this is actually progress rod watched a Carolina Hurricanes hockey game where they got ragdolled and was like this, we sucked and we got, we lost. And I was like, dude, good. He saw the hypnotist.
Starting point is 00:23:35 Something happened. But then, man, all kidding aside, he looked so sad. I don't know if you've got to see it or if you just read the quotes. He is, he is a shell of a human. Oh, my God. A withered up husk that was once a jacked man who coached a hockey team and lifted a cup one time. He looks pale and pasty.
Starting point is 00:23:55 It's a disaster. It's a disaster. It was awful, dude. And it made me, we were talking about after the Jet series, how it's hard to even watch as a neutral sometimes because I get just so sad for the people that lost. This was the first time I was just sitting there watching Rod feeling terrible for him to the point that I need them to win one game this series just so he can do it, just so it can happen. But do you wonder, I mean, I feel like I can't get into that, the nitty gritty of that yet. But do you wonder if winning one meaningless game in this series prevents Carolina from making some possibly necessary changes? I don't think so.
Starting point is 00:24:39 Good question. Really good question. I think if they lose in five, whatever was going to happen. And I don't know what's going to happen, but whatever was still happens, I think, in five. If they claw back and it's six, then maybe you're right. But if they get gentlemen swept, nothing changes in terms of front office. is decision-making. Yeah, what frustrates me about,
Starting point is 00:25:00 so let's go to Toronto, Ottawa for a second. Toronto goes up 30, Ottawa wins two straight, and then Toronto wins in six. And people are like, fucking A, great shit. Ottawa, you know, way to battle.
Starting point is 00:25:13 And in that circumstance, a team that's made the playoffs for the first time in several years, they were a wild card team, battling back there. I'm like, that was good. Good on you. In this circumstance,
Starting point is 00:25:24 if Carolina loses in six, like let's say they do win too. And then Florida just is like, yeah, and we take care of business in six. That is an example where I'm like, you were never in it. And not good on you, Carolina. You were the higher seat. Everything was supposed to be different. If you get pistol whipped in two games at home to start the series, and it's just over, and then like, yeah, you get two Fugazi wins,
Starting point is 00:25:53 but then you lose in six. Like you don't get any credit for me. You really don't. No, I'm with you. I think I said five, but I hear you like even if it comes all the way back, there's a good chance that they just go, whatever, dude,
Starting point is 00:26:07 with changes need to get made. Because it's an expectation thing to it. The expectations coming into this. We're so high. And now it's the same old story right now. Same old story murdered at home twice, shot dead behind the shed. And that's,
Starting point is 00:26:20 you can't have that. You had mentioned this, of all the nightmare elements, only one other game these playoffs has Carolina been outshot. And yeah, you come into this game and you're like, okay, we got to get on them early. And then Florida's first shot goes in.
Starting point is 00:26:37 Then they go up to a 3-0. And everyone's like, Jesus Christ, this is over. Silent in there, bro. You finally get one, but you're a mile off side. Maurice challenges it finally, gets it. That goal goes away. And then you wrote down, it was like 10 minutes.
Starting point is 00:26:53 left in the second period, the Canes had five shots. And only one was a forward. Dude, their whole MO, their entire game plan, and agree with it or disagree with it, whatever you want, but the entire Carolina Hurricane's philosophy on offense is get pucks to the net. We will out shoot you. That's their whole stick. And they've been outshot once, I think it was Jersey game three. They've been outshot one time through, how many games do they play? Five, 12 playoff games. They've been outshot one time in the playoffs coming into this game. And even last game,
Starting point is 00:27:27 where we all felt like they got plugged, but they get to go, well, we outshot them 33 to 20. You know, just got to get a few past Bob. Bob's the difference. Bob's the difference. Bob's the difference. Bob's your father, dude.
Starting point is 00:27:37 Bob's not the difference. He's your fucking dad. And to come out and do what they shoot, Dan? Check the shots on this game. I don't even know how many they had this game, but they got outshot by the Panthers and had five shots, dude, in the second, halfway through the game.
Starting point is 00:27:51 And under no circumstances, it's not going to happen. They only had 17. Oh, bro. I will say I didn't like the shoot the puck, shoot the puck chance from the crowd. Everybody makes fun of the shoot people, but the like the coordinated shoot the puck. And I don't know. I don't know why I didn't like it because they maybe they needed to hear it. But I just could not believe the entire rink was chanting shoot the puck when I was like,
Starting point is 00:28:20 they're trying to. I assure you they're doing the best they can. But that was a smothering pal. I mean, it was truly a just a beat down. And as we keep saying, we keep using the word nightmare. It's like, if I'm a Keynes fan, what do you have to feel good about right now? I genuinely don't think it's anything. Like, Svech had a really tough game. And, you know, I, I think, that Jarvie looked good before he left the game. Obviously, fingers crossed for Jarvie. We're hoping he's okay. We'll get into that in a second.
Starting point is 00:28:58 But it's just like your defense that's been so good, they're not doing much. It's just like nothing is really clicking right now. Dan, it's everything, man. And I feel like a broken record after game one. But just this one, I said, I'll bring up Dennis again. I was talking to the Dennis on the Raleigh show. And I said to him, game one,
Starting point is 00:29:18 if you're a Keynes guy, these are my worst fears. You go, they got a couple of power play goals. They scored on all their chances. Got a lead. They skated with us, all that shit. Dude, this game was significantly worse for Carolina in terms of up here, up here, eyes up here, eyes up here. Because not only did you lose the shot thing, like you got outshot, you got completely smothered by the Panthers D. you got lit up on the power play again.
Starting point is 00:29:52 Kane's penalty killed in, 93% coming into this series. Best in the playoffs, best in the regular season. Could not give up a power play goal if you begged them to. Florida is four for five, dude. Like every power play is an automatic tuck. And your backs against the wall at home, you have to have this game. We set it after game one. This is curtains if you lose this game.
Starting point is 00:30:13 And to come out like that, bro, in the first period, I haven't seen an effort like this in a got-out. have it game. I would say, honestly, Dan, that first period is the worst period by any team, this entire playoffs, except for the LA Kings game five at home. Yeah. That was also an absolute trash bag performance. Just a travesty of a performance, no doubt about it. Um, you know what, man, I think, I think you're right. I think the most glaring issue for me is how, rattled they look. I mean, you were getting in a mud fight with the Florida Panthers. Are you fucking insane? It's one of the worst ideas I've ever seen since someone said that we should
Starting point is 00:31:02 change the Metropolitan 10 Division to the train division. Amtrak. Amtrak. It's just so dumb. And I popped on Twitter last night and I was like, these Keynes boys are getting a little chippy. and a bunch of Keynes fans got a little riled up and they were like, we're getting chipped, like, we're getting nasty. And I'm like, that's Florida's game, guys. Like, what are you complaining about? And you're just losing.
Starting point is 00:31:26 You are losing that battle 10 times out of 10. And I just can't believe that they are so quickly resorting to like cheap shots, shitty stuff because it's like you're dead. And you know, we're talking to O'S on our episode of the pod yesterday and it came out. If you haven't listened to that, listen to it, chat. But Osh was like, dude, I look at a bench and if guys are losing their shit, I'm like, oh, we've won. And that's what's happening. On game day, pain can hit hard and fast.
Starting point is 00:31:58 Like the headache you get when your favorite team and your fantasy team both lose. When pain comes to play, call an audible with Advil plus acetaminopin and get long-lasting dual-action pain relief for up to eight hours. tackle your tough pain two ways with Advil plus acetaminopheum. Advil, the official pain relief partner of the NFL. Ask your pharmacist at this product's rate for you. Always read and follow the label. Real quick in the chat too, Luke just said makes you wonder if the leafs are all that bad. And I do want to ask a, or I just wanted to pose this.
Starting point is 00:32:32 We had talked about this offline, Dan. The leafs round against the cats only is getting so dummied because, because they're the Leifes. That was a really good, and they had two stinkers at home. I'm not trying to ignore that. Game 5 and game 7 cannot happen. You can lose those games. You just can't play that way.
Starting point is 00:32:51 You can't get beat that badly. But the Leifes went seven against the best team in the league. And if they don't have the Leafs history, that would have people would have just gone great series. But instead, they're getting absolutely dragged. And this Kane's team is getting made fun of for sure. We're doing it right now. but they don't get as much heat as the Leafs get.
Starting point is 00:33:12 And I'm like, the Leafs played them tight at least. And that's all you can ask for. Like, if this continues to go this way, bro, this is like, this is unacceptable on every level. 100%. Let's talk about the... I want to talk about the Canes disallowed goal real quick, but we can go to injuries. Well, no. Get into it, dude.
Starting point is 00:33:33 But fucking speak up, bitch. Get some aggressiveness. I'm speaking. I'm talking into the mic, dude. I've always been a, I'm a floating mic guy more than a mic stand guy. That's true. I can keep it with me. See this?
Starting point is 00:33:46 Look at this. Look at this. I can go out of the box. I still got the mic. And everyone can hear you. Yeah. How about that? That I don't think would have even changed it, dude.
Starting point is 00:33:57 Like even if that goal had counted, they seemed so dead. So whatever. And I was actually, even though he was so clearly off, I was actually surprised Maurice did challenge it because he must have been like, who gives a fuck? And I sneaky think, Dan, he knew. I think Maurice knew about your May 22nd stat. I think he knew. Can you believe that?
Starting point is 00:34:19 Tell everybody that. I couldn't. That was crazy, dude. Unbelievable stat that we saw want to share it. Sergei Bobrovsky. Let me get this. May 22nd, 2020, 23, shut out against the Cains in game 3. May 22nd, 2024.
Starting point is 00:34:35 Shut out against the Rangers in game one. May 22nd, 2020. 25, shutout against the Keynes in game two. May 22nd is now known as Sergey Bobrovsky Day. Zero goals. And I do think Maurice knew it. I think Maurice was like, I will not let that goal stand. It was off sides.
Starting point is 00:34:55 And Bob gets shutouts on this day, and that's that. And whoever they play May 22nd next year is fucked. Is fucked to hell. And I will be hammering. I will be hammering that bet. You better believe it. But here's my question on that rule, Dan. because I genuinely don't know.
Starting point is 00:35:10 If you, if the offense brings, or excuse me, if the team defending gets the puck out of the zone, and then the team defending brings the puck back into the zone, offside is wiped off. That is a rule. I'm saying that out loud, right? So, like, if you were in the zone offside, but then the team defending brings it back in by themselves,
Starting point is 00:35:31 you're off or you're not off. That one was challenged because Bernsey's stick hits the puck. and knocks it back in. And then in the, while they were debating it on the broadcast, they were saying, but if it hits Kachuk stick after, like if Bernsey hits it forward, but then it hits Kachuk stick, that's technically Kachuk bringing it back into the zone. And I was like, that can't be right. Like if it hits you, does that nullify it?
Starting point is 00:36:00 And they clearly, they overturned it. So I don't know, but they just didn't explain that rule. Do you know the answer to that? I believe that is the answer that if it touches a player, it does nullify it because it is the same as a defensive zone player bringing it back in. But it is one of those things where it's like, well, it's almost like when there's a delayed penalty, right? What counts as an actual touch on? Yeah. So that's where I think it gets hairy because you're like, ooh, I don't know if that was clean or not.
Starting point is 00:36:30 Because, dude, if you got a puck out and then I'm against you and I stopped it and just went to like rim it back in and it grazed your ship. pads on the way by. And they're like, they're like not offside now. I'm like, what, dude? Like, it just, it clipped them.
Starting point is 00:36:43 So I don't, I don't know. And maybe that's actually a really good description by you on the, on the delay penalty touch. Like what? I don't think there's something in the rule book on what is a touch. But that was, I hadn't really seen that before.
Starting point is 00:36:53 And as they started to get into that debate, I was like, oh, damn, this could be so interesting. Because I actually do think it hit Kachuk-stick after. I think Burnsy hit it. And then it Nick Kachuck Stick. And I was like,
Starting point is 00:37:02 fuck. So, yeah, we'll see. I want to kick to the chat real quick. We got a couple of good questions. Number one, someone said, do you think Rod's system can win a championship? I've actually been thinking a lot about this. And my take is this.
Starting point is 00:37:16 Yes, I do. But what I feel like I have failed to see from Rod in these three Eastern Conference finals is an ability to adapt. I think a great example is DeBoer in game one against Edmonton two nights ago. They changed up. lot going into that third period and they scored five fucking goals. Rod, to me, needs to be more willing to abandon what has worked when it all of a sudden stops working. And I don't think we're seeing a lot of that from this team and from his coaching.
Starting point is 00:37:49 And I think he's more than capable of it. He's a phenomenal coach talking to friends. We mentioned this on the last show. If you fire, if you get swept, if you lose in five, if you fire Rod, do you find someone better? Maybe not. But as I said, do you need something different? Because it's like, you do have a great coach, but if this is going to happen every single time, what the fuck is the point? Like, I'd rather miss the playoffs and rebuild and try to figure something out than just come here and lose every single time. So I do, I think that my answer to that is yes, but he needs to adapt when things aren't going well. That's what great coach, that's what championship winning coaches do. I think he he juggled the lines
Starting point is 00:38:29 a ton. I give him credit. He juggled the lines a ton. And before the Bennett goal. The second Bennett goal, did that make it for nothing? I think it did. Before that goal, with like 30 seconds left in the period, they actually, they were showing some life. I'm not saying they were going to win the game, but the Keynes were bopping around there for a good five, six minutes with the lines juggled. So he's doing, he's doing stuff. You said it, Dan, though, the other day, I can't remember if we were recording or not, but eventually it's a roster issue, though, right? I don't give a fuck. Like, I think if you put it this way, I think if you switch the coaches right now, the
Starting point is 00:39:06 Panthers are up too-oh. I think that's correct. And that's not a knock to the Carolina player. Like, this Panthers team's insane. They're nasty, dude. They're defending champs. So I think, you know, Christ, honestly, Dan, if you switch the fucking goalies, like there's a chance, right?
Starting point is 00:39:25 And I just defended Freddie, but I just, I think that, I think Rod can win a Stanley Cup. I put it down. I put it in several. I think Rod Brindamor can win a Stanley Cup. the Cup, absolutely. The roster comparison is a great transition into another great chat question. Someone in the chat asked who's more important to this team, Bennett or Eckblad. And I loved that question because I did not have a quick answer.
Starting point is 00:39:46 And it's interesting because you look at it and you say, Eckblad is arguably your one. That's your 1A defenseman. And Bennett is a Swiss Army knife. He can play anywhere in the top nine. and I think I don't know how to answer it because of how incredibly structured this Panthers roster is. Everyone is equally so important as well as if someone goes down, they all just pulled
Starting point is 00:40:19 the rope in the same direction and they're fine. It's like we saw round one, Ekblad was gone for numerous games and they won those games. Like it's, they were fine. And it's, it's tough to answer. Yeah, it is. Dude, I'll say it, though, for me, man, Bennett, Sam Bennett is a revelation. I, I waxed poetic about him already saying I was in awe of him, posted a clip of it,
Starting point is 00:40:43 and everybody yelled at me because they were like, he's a fucking goon. I was like, all right, the entire point of this speech was that he's so much more than that. Yeah. Bo, he has nine goals in the playoffs. He's tied with Nico Rantan. Everybody, everybody and the mother is jerking off Miko Rantan and trying to give him Kahn Smyth already. Sam Bennett is tied to the.
Starting point is 00:41:01 leading goals. If the Panthers, if this was the cup, Sam Bennett would win Conn Smyth. He's leading the playoffs and goals. Maybe Bob. Maybe Bob. Maybe Bob. But it's like, dude, he, the, what they're getting out of him on every level, production and antics and all this shit is those are the players that when you stay on the cups, dude, when they can do that shit, when they can do everything for you. That's when you win a Stanley Cup. He's been incredible. Yeah. So at the end of the day, my answer is Bennett. And it's because of that. It's like he's just, he is this, he's a unicorn. And yeah, we don't need to stroke him off more than we've done all season. But yeah, we keep saying there's, if Florida doesn't quickly sign him, I would say 31 other teams in the league are going to be desperate to scoop him up because he is just so fucking good. He's so goddamn valuable. It's insane. Let's get into the couple of injuries. Let's start with Jarvie. Yep.
Starting point is 00:42:03 Take me away. So, man, it's another tough one because, obviously, I love Seth, like a son. And he, it's a little admiring the past, right? Like a little bit. And it's, we've seen way worse ones. We've had this exact debate a few times. Dan, I can't remember who else it happened too recently. Like there was the Tanner Ginoa hit from earlier in the year.
Starting point is 00:42:27 And then this happened recently. Oh, it was. Fuck. Was it on Vancouver? Someone on Vancouver. J.T. Miller maybe was involved. I can't remember. But this is one of those passes where you kind of, you pass backwards on a regroup.
Starting point is 00:42:41 And then you're looking back at that pass. And then someone comes. And Mikula is, I don't even think that would have been called late in the regular season, certainly not in a playoff game. It's a tad, but it's a tad late. For people that listen to us a lot, you've heard me make this take a lot. What is a late hit is so different when you're, for checking and you're just against the boards.
Starting point is 00:43:03 I'm like, you're a defender, you get the puck, you chip it away. Then the guy comes like a full Mississippi later. In the middle of the ice, it looks way worse. So as soon as it happened, I was like, oh, fuck, fuck, fuck. And I wanted to get mad, but it was, it wasn't that late. And Jarvie's looking at the pass. And he's just got to like be aware where Miko is there. He came back, like, the next shift and literally like fell down twice.
Starting point is 00:43:28 They were just trying to pass in the puck. And there was one play in the middle of the ice in his own. And then there's one play behind the net where he's just like losing his balance. And the broadcast was that was that who had that last night? TNT, whatever. The broadcast was all over it. They're like, Jarvie's like Jarvie's not right. Something's bad.
Starting point is 00:43:44 And then immediately whistle Jarvie like starts waving to the bench and go straight to the tunnel. I fear it's a concussion. And that is not that the hurricanes are showing me anything to fucking show life in this series. but that is big trouble. Like if Jarvie misses game three and four and you're like, dude, that's like my top line guy. That's my top penalty killer. That's my top power play guy.
Starting point is 00:44:09 He's not the, they can win without it. Any team can win without anybody. But that down to losing Jarvie is is not it. Yeah. No, Jarvie, no doubt is a guy that you cannot, simply cannot lose. So like you said, fingers crossed that he's okay. And you're right. The late hit thing is so.
Starting point is 00:44:28 tough. I do think late hit open ice is way shorter of a window for me than up against the glass or anything like that. I will say clean. It wasn't dirty at all. It was a clean hit. You know, something that Keynes fans might not want to hear. A lot of people were screaming about it saying it was dirty. It's not. It's a clean hit. Maybe a little late, but, you know, it is what it is. I will say I don't think there's a big difference between a dirty hit
Starting point is 00:44:59 and a sketchy hit I don't think Aho's hit on Sam Reinhart was dirty because I think dirty is you were going in with poor intent I think Sebastian Aho lined up a hip check on Sam Reinhart
Starting point is 00:45:14 The past got away A little too much A little too much time went by And ultimately I think Ahou lost his angle and he hit Reinhart way too low. I thought it wasn't a dirty hit, but it was not a good hit. And that is, that's scary for Florida, man.
Starting point is 00:45:33 Like a hit down low by the knee, the hip. It's like, that is scary shit. And if Sam Reinhardt is not playing game three, I think what we've talked about with the Panthers and how cool, calm, relax they've been, Panthers fans just with their feet kicked up every second of every game, you are now a little bit like, oh, fuck.
Starting point is 00:45:53 I am not sure you can beat a Dallas or an Edmonton without Sam Reiner. Okay, that's where I was headed too, Dan. Because I think if he's knocked at all, you sit him, right? Like if he's like, hey, this is tweaked still. You're up to, oh, I go, we are so fine. We, I can't remember what the score was when that happened. But, you know, you held on comfortably, you outplayed them comfortably. The, you protect him this series because you feel fine,
Starting point is 00:46:18 but you one billion percent need him in the Stanley Cup final. So that could be bad if he's actually, if he's actually out, that could be bad. I didn't think it looked. And I'm not talking about the dirty, sketchiness of the hit. I'm talking about strictly Sam Ryan it right now. I didn't think it looked as horrible as the broadcast even did. Everybody on the broadcast was like, oh, God, like that could be it. And I don't want to reverse jinks him here.
Starting point is 00:46:47 But I was kind of like, oh, that just looked like one where you were like, ow, fuck, God damn it. And then they go, dude, sit down. down where we're rag-dalling this team. I'm hoping. Because sometimes you see him and you're like, that dude's knee is fucked. You know what I'm saying?
Starting point is 00:47:00 Yeah. Yeah, it didn't look. Like it was floating enough. You know, sometimes their feet get caught in. His leg looked floating enough in mid-air. I was like, I think he's all right. I think he's all right, too. He's also a tough motherfucker.
Starting point is 00:47:13 Also, the first time in our lives, I'm getting feisty with the chat here. Dude, I am a little sick of this. Sebastian Aho is dirty chat going on right now. And also, Florida Panthers fans, I fucking love you so much. But there's, there's, you are not allowed to have your cake and eat it to. Like you, Florida Panthers fans are not allowed to cry about anyone being dirty. Like this is your identity.
Starting point is 00:47:43 It's the identity of the Panthers is being rats, being in the mix, doing nasty shit. So like, don't cry. You can call out a penalty. and I think that should have been a penalty. I did not like that hit at all. I tweeted it from my personal. I was like, I don't like that hit at all. But we don't need to call anything dirty.
Starting point is 00:48:02 Like, you know, people are bringing up the knee-on-kneed against the fucking Ranger, against Falk. Like, shut the fuck up, dude. Like, there are players who have one or two hits in their career that are bad. It doesn't make them a dirty player. A dirty player is someone who, almost every game, they're doing sketchy shit. A few instances when you play 82 games a year
Starting point is 00:48:21 for many years, shut the fuck up, guys. Like, we need more evidence to start saying people are dirty, just because they have a couple of hits. Do you know how fast this game is? Like, calm down, everybody. And I'm not defending, oh, that was a penalty, in my opinion. But we need to just relax. Now, let's hope Ryan Art is okay,
Starting point is 00:48:40 because I think he is okay. Like I said, he's tough as shit. The thing with me, dude, and I'll move on from this hit, I am a fucking plug who does, a podcast and doesn't play hockey anymore for a reason. But I will say this, I was fucking dope at hip checks, and you will attest to that. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 00:48:59 Oh, my God. Hip checks were, hip checks are a lost art, and I was fucking nasty at them, and I would tag people. There are a few guys in the NHL right now who have taken hip checks from me, and they would say, I am good at it. But you can see the way Reiner gets hit, the way his legs fling out. That's not a clean hip check. It's like that is the evidence.
Starting point is 00:49:21 Oh, that's what you need. If your legs fling out like that, you've been hit below the hips. You're hit towards the knee. That's what makes it not clean. And again, I'm not saying dirty specifically because I don't think AHA went in going, I'm going to clip him here. I think he lined it up and then Reinhert made a good play. He made the pass and he started to move and Aja's line got off,
Starting point is 00:49:41 but he was already committed and he hit him too low and it should have been a penalty. But a hip check, a clean hip check sends you fucking like your body. jolt's back, not your legs flinging out. So that's why I don't think it was a good hit. Yeah, no, you're, I'm, I'm with you on, on the, uh, it was, he's not trying to hurt the guy. It's a fast game. He's not trying to hurt the guy. I actually, maybe even, I wasn't as much of a hip checker as you, I guess, uh, but maybe I wasn't even as feisty about the hit. Like, I was kind of like, because dude, if you were going to hip check somebody, he's got to get he's got to bend over and get low you know and that's just kind of where his hips came across he was he was
Starting point is 00:50:26 too um he wasn't over far enough like he should have been more in front of rhino for me you know it wasn't even like the depth of his hips because he's like again i have to bend over to get my hip out there he just needed to be more in front of him and it wouldn't have mattered um he just didn't get there in time because like rhino was like slipping away from him um so yeah no intent there for me i really hope rhiner it's okay um and again i'm getting cocky here but i'm I think he's fine. I was like, yeah, that was precautionary. He might even miss game three, and I'll still think he's fine.
Starting point is 00:50:55 I just don't think it's like an actual issue. I do, too. I think that that was a smart move by, I'm sure that didn't feel great. And I think it was a smart move by Maurice and the Florida Panthers staff. And probably Rhino himself being like, was that four, nothing at that point, three nothing? Yeah, at least three. Like, I think they're like, get out of here. Like, you know, this game's over.
Starting point is 00:51:16 This game's getting a little chippy. You are one of our star players. don't need you getting hurt if you're not feeling great. So I agree, fingers crossed on him. I think he's going to be fine. We keep saying we're not dead here. We're not going to say the series is over because anything can happen. But if the Panthers were to move on, let's get into some interesting things here about a possible three-peat.
Starting point is 00:51:39 Oh, yes, cool. And actually, I want to say to chat, a lot of talk on the Greer, Sean Walker hit, who did come back. and I think finished the game, chat can correct me if I'm wrong, but that was a good hit to me. That was shoulder to shoulder. I just wanted to bring it up because everyone was asking about it,
Starting point is 00:51:58 but that's shoulder to shoulder and Walker came back. And I'm like, okay, good. And I mean, that was a, not only was that fine to me, CPI, that was a 10 out of 10 hit. That was a great hit. It was a beautiful hockey hit.
Starting point is 00:52:11 Yep. So, Dan, teams that have made the cup three years in a row. All right. Made a cup. The Habs have some fucking crazy records. The Habs made it 10 seasons in a row once from 1950 to 1960, which is fucking lull funny.
Starting point is 00:52:32 The Islanders made it five seasons in a row once because that was the bossy era, and he just was like, I'll just go to every cup. And then when I get too bored of scoring 50 fucking goals, I'll retire and we'll never make a cup again. Habs made it four seasons in a row once. And then three times in a row, that has happened 10 times. But none of these have happened in a long time. Like the Oilers did it 82 to 85.
Starting point is 00:52:55 And that's the most recent one until Tampa. Okay? And then Tampa just did it, obviously. My question to you is if, and I don't want to get ahead of ourselves, but if Florida makes it again. And if they were to win, where do you have them in the Tampa, this like mini Florida dynasty, mini Tampa dynasty? Because I feel like we were like Tampa.
Starting point is 00:53:19 I had an epic run here in Florida's like these little, the little Pipsqueak little brothers. And that's like the narrative in the battle of Florida. But I'm like, dude, if Florida wins the cup this year and they also have two cups, a back-to-back and a three straight appearance, and you're the only two teams that have done that in the last 30 years. And Tampa, I hate doing this, but Tampa has that like bubble one against Montreal, where I'm like, you can call it recency bias or whatever. I don't even think it's close.
Starting point is 00:53:47 I think this Florida team is better. God, dude, that's crazy. And it's tough to say because that Tampa team is amazing, but it was almost like, not the end, but it, it was like Stammer and Headman, like as they were like 30 years old, it's like they finally got it done. I look at this Florida team. I look at how young Barkov, Kachuk, Verhege, Bennett, Rino, Forzling, like how young all those guys are.
Starting point is 00:54:16 I look at who they're beating. like you're beating Connor McDavid, you know, it's, I do think it's a little bit better. That Tampa team's amazing. Don't get me wrong. But the bubble you're definitely is something. Like you beat the fucking Habs. Like what were the Habs doing in that Stanley Cup final? Like that's who you had to play in the Stanley Cup.
Starting point is 00:54:37 Dude, this has been such a ricochet episode. It is. But I think even Habs fans would admit. Agree, agree. What on earth was that team doing in the Stanley Cup? And it's because of the stupid bubble structure. So, yeah, I do think that that's, I would. would give this Florida team a bit of an edge. And I'm sure the chat right now is buzzing,
Starting point is 00:54:54 talking shit about Tampa because we've got a lot of cats fans in here. But so, Dan, you would say in chat, like, and again, you're right, a lot of Panthers fans, but when we are all set and done here, you're saying, like, if Florida wins this year and you go, what was the team, what's the best team of the 2020s, it's now the Panthers over Tampa if they, if they do this. Yeah, I think so. Again, it's a matter of who they beat. And the structure of their team, I mean, it's, it's, you also see, I mean, dude, if this Florida team beats Connor McDavid and Leon Driesel twice back to back, in what world are we not saying that they are? Bro, if they beat this Dallas team, I think this Dallas team is nasty. Obviously, Tampa beat Dallas too, but different team.
Starting point is 00:55:41 You know, I think, wasn't, who was playing goal then for Dallas? Like, I swear it was like Houdobin was in that for that. Ben Bishop for that Dallas team. Now you got Otter. Yeah. So it's like that's fucking crazy that Florida could take by 20. Dude, if you told me in 2022 when Tampa had been to three straight cups and say three years from now, there'll be a different team.
Starting point is 00:56:01 That's the team of the 2020s. That is fucking bonkers that they've pulled this off. Absolutely outrageous. And in terms of winning, Dan, the, there's only 10 times teams have gone back to back. And in our lifetime, it's really just the penguins, wings, penguins, It's a hard thing. They got a long way to go. We were just talking to Edge before we started.
Starting point is 00:56:23 Like kind of crazy that we're even discussing. Like, Panthers winning cups mean what's for legacy. And I'm like, they have fucking so much shit to do before they're going to lift this cup. But man, they, I give them a ton of credit for how close they feel right now compared to the way I was talking about them before the playoffs started thinking they didn't have the gas left. Yeah. Speaking of gas, do you think it's surprising that Bob, Bob is a 9-10, say, percentage right now in the play. Do you think that's surprisingly low based on how he has felt? He got, there was a couple games in Tampa,
Starting point is 00:56:56 I guess there was just the one, but he got lit up in one game in Tampa. And then, I think one game in Toronto, too, early. I think it was games one and two against Toronto, which it was just a bad for them. And those just hurt the same percentage so badly. Yeah. And I look at it at, I said after game one, Dan,
Starting point is 00:57:14 he was a nine, four, eight since game one, or excuse me since game four of the Toronto series surely that's up to nine nine five eight something like that now and it's it's that shit dude it's like the once I decide type of shit and then he's been so dialed so it feels low but if you just kind of look at it in a smaller sample size it's that that's when it gets that's when it gets fucking amazing um what'd you think about the and I'm so biased I admit and I out to all the Keynes fans I'm in the chat I'm sorry would you think about the one of those late scrums when Marci just fucking do a cross-checked ghost in the back.
Starting point is 00:57:52 I love it. And I would say, I would say the same thing if ghost cross-checked Marci in the back. Like, I love it. It's, this is the shit we talk about. We talked about it with, oh, she yesterday. It's like, you have to hate your opponent. You have to be a motherfucker. And Brad Marshan's the best motherfucker in the world.
Starting point is 00:58:11 So, I mean, that, did he get a penalty for that? I think so. But it was weird. There was a lot of shit going on there. There was a delayed penalty already up for like Greerzy or something. I can't remember what's going on. But it was like behind the play. Farsie,
Starting point is 00:58:28 Farsie, right in the L5, dude. Right in the L5 lumbar. I absolutely love it. And it's one of those things like I know that there's a lot of fucking snowflakes on Twitter who are like, what if that hurt him? And I'm like, shut up, dude. We're playing playoff hockey. And if it did hurt him, that would be a bummer.
Starting point is 00:58:45 That would suck. But this is playoff hockey. There's no one in that Kane's locker room who after that play is going in that locker and being like, Brad Marchand is dangerous. That was not okay. They're going, he's a motherfucker and I wish he was on our team. And that's why I love it. And it's funny because I'm normally, I was just kind of bitching about you don't want this
Starting point is 00:59:05 shit like, and I stand by it, but go shooting the pocket. It's like, dude, you can't be doing that. It's like, and now they're in your head. And then, and then, but Marci does that. I'm like, I don't know. no, it's just because it's him and he got the puck shot at him that I was like, of course, you're going to shoot a puck at me. Game one, dude, you're going to catch a cross check in the spine game two.
Starting point is 00:59:23 That's the way this works. What did I say to you after that game one? I was like, if you don't think Marshan is doing something to Gostis spear, you're out of your fucking mind. Dan, Keynes, can you believe they came out in the black jerseys again? After game one? That was a shocking decision. I got to put you up.
Starting point is 00:59:42 I was like, what are we doing here? And I got to, I should have gone back to see what their record is in the black jerseys in the playoffs. But any, any, any Keynes fans in the chat, tell me if that's like a, if that's a good luck charm or something. But holy shit, dude, I was like, I was expecting no joke, Dan, I was expecting a mighty ducks, second mighty duck for us today, a mighty ducks to change the jerseys at intermission situation where they have a, they have an aged mentor type character. Wow. Come into the locker room. which I guess you'd think should have been Rod, because he's like your aged captain who wants won you a cup,
Starting point is 01:00:17 but Rod's in too good a shape to be a Hans. So maybe like a Ron Francis. I know he works for the Cracken now, but maybe he's got some gray. He could have come in. I think technically CP that's illegal per NHL rules. Yeah, but you know.
Starting point is 01:00:34 Wouldn't that be fantastic if they did that? Dan, what about this? You're going to hate this, dude. You're going to fucking hate this. What if Gordy Howe walks into the locker? He technically played one year, for the Hartford Whalers. If Gordy Howell walks into the locker room and he goes,
Starting point is 01:00:47 I was thinking something like this and opened his trench coat and there's the the Hartford Whalers jersey on. And they come out for the third in the Whalers jersey. And then run through the cats, Dan. What if they came out in a whalers jersey for the third? Nope. You know my take on this. Stolen go.
Starting point is 01:01:05 It's not your team. Go fuck yourself, Carolina. You're not allowed to wear the whalers uniforms. And don't come at me. Don't come at me with it's the same franchise bullshit. It's a different fucking team. Stop it. You know what?
Starting point is 01:01:20 That's why this is happening. That's that, that's this karma. It's that this Carolina Hurricanes team keeps stealing the Hartford Whalers jerseys because they know they're cooler and they're cursed in the Eastern Conference Final. That's what's happening. Dude. You put this cursed upon yourself. So what do they have to do? They just never, they never, uh, they never wear it again.
Starting point is 01:01:39 How do you break the curse? They need to take every bit. First of all, every piece of money that that team has made from selling the whaler style merchandise, you now need to donate to a Hartford, Connecticut charity. To a whaling institute. Dude, no, we should bring back whale hunting. Pay a whaling boat to, actually, that's what they stand. They need to, they need to hunt down a whale.
Starting point is 01:02:03 Unfortunately, they do need to hunt down a white whale and kill it. And then present it. This is just more bad karma. You're out of your mind, dude. They need to get all of their canes jerseys, and they need to find every person alive today who once played for the Hartford Whalers, and they need to take those whalers-style jerseys
Starting point is 01:02:25 and give them to those guys. And then they'll win, and dude, they could actually do that tonight. They could, like, this is solvable. You can't kill a whale overnight, but they could do this overnight. I'm telling you, it's the Whalers curse. That's what's going on in the East Conference Final. It's the way that you have stolen the beauty and charm
Starting point is 01:02:42 of a former team and you're taking credit for it. You're taking advantage of it. They all need to get one of those jerseys, find a former Whalers player, give it to them, and then the curse will be broken. Yeah, okay. And then Gordy Howe doesn't have to fly to Raleigh. And we also don't have to kill whales, you sick, son of a bitch. I'm just trying to help, Dan.
Starting point is 01:03:06 I'm just trying to help Keynes fans. Your ideas are off the rails today. Well, I got one more for you. This one I actually think you're going to like. Oh, Jesus, here we go. If the, you know how in, you know how in soccer due to like tampering with rosters or whatever? In football. In football.
Starting point is 01:03:25 In football. Football. You're such a bitch, dude. You're a bitch. I said that because I knew it would piss off producer edge. You're a bitch, dude. In football, in soccer, teams can go, they go, you have been given a three-year Champions League band. So you still play the regular season.
Starting point is 01:03:42 And if you're, if you would have called for the Champions League, they go, congratulations, great regular season, but you now are, you not allowed in the Champions League and a team below, the next team down gets to go in. If, and I hate to say this, I hate to do it. But if the canes get swept in this round again, I actually think we, I need to institute a three year playoff ban for them. And they still get to play the regular season and have their fun and sell tickets and everyone can go to games because it's a great time.
Starting point is 01:04:09 But if they finish top three in the Met, they go, great job. but you actually have a playoff ban. So then the fourth team in the Mets is in because you are fucking out. Yeah, I think that's fair. I do, me too. I'm sorry. I hate to do it. But I legitimately think they,
Starting point is 01:04:23 maybe three stars, but like I legitimately think they need a one to two year playoff ban. Three straight sweeps? If you get swept. Because I'm not doing this again, Dan. I'm not going to sit here and watch you go to the playoffs and be like, the Keynes. Oh my God.
Starting point is 01:04:34 And then get swept again. Yeah. Because what's the point? What's the point of any of us watching if we just know what's going to happen? And it's actually hindering like, that's the, the third round of the playoffs for viewership for everything. Literally two-year playoff ban if you get swept from the playoffs this year.
Starting point is 01:04:49 Yeah, you need to get pee-wacked. Sometimes you need to learn a lesson, and maybe this is what it is. Who else would you ban? Who else has a playoff ban currently, do you think? Really? Yes. Do you need me to say this team? Say it out loud.
Starting point is 01:05:06 Say it out loud. I think that the Toronto Maple Leafs should be banned for 10 years. Ten-year ban. Actually, you know what? I want the Toronto Maple Leafs to make the playoffs every single year for the rest of their existence because it's just so funny. Dude, oh my God, Dan, a reverse, a reverse ban. Even if the Leafs are in last place, they automatically have to go to the first round just to get, just to get smacked. There is a world where we talk about, we talk about torture.
Starting point is 01:05:36 You know what we should do when we have war criminals? We should make them play for the Toronto Maple Leafs. Or make them become a diehard Toronto Maple Leafs fan. That is the torture we put them through. get. Dude, there's a serum. There's a serum in their raid. They wake up and they wake up in Leafs Plaza.
Starting point is 01:05:50 What's that Plaza called? Maple Leafs Square. They wake up in Maple Leafs Square like, oh, how are I? And I'm like, you're a lease fan, dude. I'm sorry, this is your life now. Truly, the worst torture we could give a war criminal is planting a chip in their brain that makes them a die-hard Leafs fan. Automatic playoff, the Leafs, until the Leafs win a cup, they have an automatic playoff
Starting point is 01:06:12 birth every year, no matter what. Jack is pissed. in the chat. I'm sorry. Chris made me say it. I didn't want to bring them up. But I think Dan, I would even argue, dude, that there's, there are bands for teams that haven't even made it.
Starting point is 01:06:30 Like, I want, the Buffalo Sabres are, are getting pee-wacked for me. Like, the Buffalo Sabres might be in, be in, uh, band territory. The Detroit Red Wings for the last two years might be in band. Hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, relax. They might get a one-year ban. They might get a one-year ban for what they've done. relax. The sabers, I mean, it's, it's hard to ban the sabres from the playoffs when they've banned themselves. It is a self-imposed ban. But, but dude, you don't, it's, um, it's like a, uh,
Starting point is 01:06:58 an uno reverse card, though. They've received an uno reverse card. The first year they get in, the league goes reverse, dude. Fuck you. That would, that would destroy that entire region. But that's what you get. Dude, you get uno reversed. The saber, dude, the red wings have only, the red wings have won uno reverse card for their performance last year. The sabers, I think. What are you talking? You're being too harsh on Detroit. The Sabres might have two or three Uno Reverse cards. All right.
Starting point is 01:07:20 All right, shithead. If that is the case, then Pittsburgh has an Uno reverse card. Pittsburgh has one Uno reverse card for the last three years. Yes, they do. And now Sidney Crosby doesn't get to play in the playoffs again. How does that make you feel? How does that make you feel? He's leaving.
Starting point is 01:07:33 He's leaving. He's leaving. He's leaving. Oh, okay. He'll go somewhere else. But the Sabers have, Sabers have like three. And that sucks. It's a long road.
Starting point is 01:07:42 That's a long road. But we need to be banning stuff more, dude. That's all I'm saying. Yeah, that we need consequences for actions is something we need. Dude, it is actually an incredible one. El Ring just says, what about the a abs? And the abs actually might have just earned themselves a one-year ban. I'll tell you what.
Starting point is 01:07:57 If Minnesota doesn't get out of the first round next year. Another good one, Dan. With all their new money, if they don't get out of the first round next year, they are banned. The Wild have a one-year ban. Dude, I love this. Because you imagine the stakes of a fucking Leaf's first round, if they're a wild first round next year, if they're like,
Starting point is 01:08:15 not only will we be out of the playoffs this year, but we've now instituted, we've now activated the one-year ban. Here's another one, too. I think Boston has to pay the Piper as well. Boston has some significant chokes. Dan, the B's might need a ban. The Bs might have had,
Starting point is 01:08:31 the Bs might have received a one-year ban for the two years ago and received an Uno reverse card for this year. So they might be like, they are fucked, dude. They're banned, and then when they do make it, they get reversed. Who's even making plus?
Starting point is 01:08:43 playoffs these days. Florida. Florida. Florida can make playoffs. Vegas actually banned. Vegas actually banned. Vegas actually banned too. Florida can make playoffs. Edmontie can make plus. Kings band. Kings band for sure. Oh my God. Kings are banned for sure. Kings, you can't look at playoffs again for a long time. Dude, there's only two rounds now. We get down to two rounds. We'll keep this thing's humming. Oh my God. All right. Well, that is we have we have surpassed the hour mark here. Unbelievable live show guys. CP, you got anything else for the chat before we take. off for this long weekend. Oh, dude, I actually had one crazy CP stat pull.
Starting point is 01:09:17 I forgot to say this. I just thought this was cool. Because I was like, what's the percentage if you're up to O, right? And it's you win, uh, 80. It's like, 80, 87%? Yeah. Teams historically win 87% of the time if you're up to O. But Dan, if you are starting, if you start on, hold on, hold on, hold on.
Starting point is 01:09:37 Edge. How, isn't it so funny how clear it is whenever CP's on a rant and he throws my name in, you know he's about to say some ridiculous shit. Whenever you go, but Dan, or like, and let me tell you this, Dan, and it's, I like it. It gets, gets me fired up for what you have to say. A ridiculously good stat? Is that what you mean? Yeah, yeah, yeah. No, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, Teams win historically 87% of the time. What did he say? He said it's a kid in a candy shop, and it is.
Starting point is 01:10:07 Dan, Dan, Dan, Chris, Chris, Chris. Ginger's, Ginger's, Ginger, Walk, walk, walk. So, dude, if you, teams win, teams win 87% of the time. But if you start the series at home, okay? If you start the series at home and you win the first two, they win 89% of the time. and if you start the series on the road
Starting point is 01:10:36 and win the first two, you only win 80% of the time. Isn't that crazy that if you win the two road games, you lose the series more often than if you win the two home games? That's actually the craziest stat I've ever heard. That's, that is, you know what? Great fucking stat pull.
Starting point is 01:10:52 That's wild. Right? I don't get that at all. You steal the two fucking road games and then you lose more often. I guess the argument is you're the worst team because you're the lower seed because you started on the road.
Starting point is 01:11:02 You know what I mean? Yeah. I wonder if it. It's just because, like, I mean, we just saw it with Florida Toronto. If you then, or actually, no, we didn't see it with Florida Toronto. That's wild. I wonder if it's just because it's like, oh, well, you know, then you, if you win the next two, then, like, you get home ice back maybe. Yeah, like, you just got to steal them.
Starting point is 01:11:26 And then you're like, okay, now we're the better team and we have the two out of three with two home games. But that is crazy, dude. They still win 80% of the time, obviously. But still, like, dropping that down that hard, I was like, what? the fuck that is wild um that is wild all right that's going to do it for the live show great long weekend ahead of us we've got a huge dallas edmonton game tonight keep on rolling through you know where to find us we'll be on the ig we'll be on twitter we'll be on tic talk all that stuff over the weekend we'll be keeping you guys up to date with everything going on we will be back monday
Starting point is 01:12:01 on the live we'll be back monday on the live so uh yeah relax create credits. Don't worry about Memorial Day. We will be live Monday morning on a Memorial Day show wearing outfits. We're wearing outfits. I was like, we are. We're wearing outfits. And I'm not going to say what kind of update.
Starting point is 01:12:21 You got outfit. You have to determine that for yourself. But we will be back on Monday. Guys, check out the merch. CP. Show us some stuff off. Get the hoodie. Go get a war road hoodie.
Starting point is 01:12:33 T.J. O's going to be on all the time. T.J.O.O. She's got this. incredible war road merch. It's amazing. Get the rink rat shirt. I brought the rat shirt to show off. Also, guys, big news starting today. We're doing a huge Memorial Day sale.
Starting point is 01:12:47 Yes, Dan. For all of the merch. 20% off the empty netters store, top to bottom. So you saw we dropped all of those conference final team teas that are sick. They're disgusting. They're so gross. Grab one of those, but also all of our other stuff, the netters bear, the rink rats, the Formula One shirt.
Starting point is 01:13:06 everything we've designed, the beautiful game tea. That's my favorite. All that. 20% off. So hit the store, grab some merch, enjoy empty netters.
Starting point is 01:13:17 Dot shop. Grab all of those goodies, have a blast. And hit us up on the IG this weekend. We'll be buzzing, watching games. Dan, who you got tonight?
Starting point is 01:13:27 I don't want to say. Just the empty netter. We got the empty netter. I got an empty netter. Hell of what I got tonight. Boom. All right. great show guys we love you chat we'll see you uh see you on the ig and twitter this weekend
Starting point is 01:13:44 and until we see you on monday happy

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.