Empty Netters Podcast - Slavin Needs To Play Every Shift | EP.197
Episode Date: May 27, 2025The Canes did it! They won an ECF game! Rod maybe saved his job and the Canes definitely pushed the series back home for game 5. USA won gold at Worlds for the first time in 92 years. Plus, the tin co...nspiracy theories came out again over some ChatGPT drama! NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LIGHTSTRIKE. https://www.drinklightstrike.com/ DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more 00:00 INTRO 00:26 NOT ICE 20:53 CANES / CATS 44:24 WORLDS 56:49 HOUSE RELIEF FUND 1:02:50 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:09:16 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
You wanted a blueprint, you wanted a template of how to beat this Florida team.
If you're the Carolina Hurricanes, you are looking at it.
This was exactly the game they were hoping to have to play all series long.
I'll tell you what, that was a perfect game for the Carolina Hurricanes.
And normally, when you're down 3-0, you get a win, you kind of go, oh, well, whatever.
But I don't know.
Looks pretty good for them moving forward.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the MT Netters podcast.
brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host.
Dan Powers and sitting next to me.
He's a man who believes that the laundry industry is trying to take us down systematically
by bankrupting us every single day.
Chris Powers.
Because just like I am always here, they are always trying to fuck us, Dan.
Thank you for bringing the attention of the world to this matter.
Big laundry is coming for you.
And I need everyone to wake the fuck up.
Do you think that you're supposed to put that much detergent in with each load?
Just because they put a little fucking line on the cap that said,
fill it to this much?
No, they just want you to run out of detergent faster.
You need nowhere near that amount.
I would say as low as 60% that amount.
And don't think that big toothpaste didn't do the same thing
with their fucking toothpaste commercials
where they squirt the shit all across your bristles.
As if you would ever need that much toothpaste per brush,
they want you to run out of toothpaste faster to take your money.
They want you to run out of laundry detergent faster to take your money.
I believe pretty strongly that no one can disagree with this.
I think you're absolutely right.
Like literally, they're robbing you.
I've noticed if you're brushing your teeth and you're, you're frothing at the mouth,
like you're chewing mad dog bubble gum from Kid and King Arthur's Court,
I don't know you're going to say that.
Hate that that just happened.
I absolutely hate that that just happened.
What an elite reference by both of us?
Why do they call it mad dog bubble gum, dude?
Dude, he goes dead down.
I don't know.
but if that is what's happening,
you are using too much toothpaste.
I will say this.
I think sometimes people who are privy to this,
who are on to big laundry,
they use too, too little,
and then your clothes still stink.
You got to use enough that it's kind of through the sweat.
You gotta wash them.
Yeah.
You might have a problem with that.
You're smelling not great sometimes.
No, that's not true.
I think it's,
you ratchet it right down.
You know, they're usually like one, two, three.
Even the lines in the wash.
machines man.
It's like,
yeah,
they're lying to you too high.
It's ridiculous.
And they're winking at the,
at tide.
Yeah.
Like LG makes their,
makes their washing machines.
They get a kickback from Tide.
I guess thanks for fucking
bankrupting all of America
with these ridiculous detergent lines.
Are you a Tide guy?
I am.
Tide sport for the sweat.
Fuck you.
Liar.
I mean,
you're admitting that you clearly need it
because you-
Yeah,
I sweat.
I work out hard.
No,
you don't.
You actually don't.
You don't work out hard enough.
I work out with my shirt off.
But I see you working out sometimes, and I just don't think you're working out hard enough.
I think you could be here.
You're currently here.
You could be up here.
Yeah, but there's no need.
Oh.
Hurt your body.
Longevity.
Doing too much damage.
Yeah, you're getting old.
Yeah, for what?
We're getting old.
Yeah.
For an extra rep on the bench press, Dan?
Don't need it.
Don't need it.
I'm in shambles.
I'm so tired.
Oh, buddy.
I don't even want to know.
I don't care.
Listen to me.
This was, listen to me.
I was in shambles on the live this morning.
You were.
And I was in, I was across the country.
Like I did a live show from Boston today and I was in shambles there.
You just, you just landed.
It's, here again, folks, here we are, 1127 p.m.
Delivering you guys live, up-to-date stuff.
And we're still loving it, but I am getting tired.
On a holiday.
Shout out Wags, dude.
Wags up in here, dude.
Wags just went and saw Lilo and Stitch.
Fucking bitch ass.
Did just see, hey, how was it, Wags?
You should see if my girlfriend.
like the biggest fan of Lilo and Stitch.
She was wearing a stitch crew neck
and Stitch Pichamomac.
I was like, can you just walk in a...
Bro. Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
You know what's funny, man, is like, I know
because of you that Teresa is a wonderful
person. If I went to that movie
and I saw that person coming to the theater,
I would be like, yo, I pray to God
I'm not sitting next to that fucking psycho.
And I'd be making fun of your dumb ass because I'd be like
that fucking idiots with her. This guy's dating that
psycho? Turns out she's just a normalest person
that loves Lilo and Stitch.
Who would have been?
Fuck it.
Was it packed?
Yeah.
Was there more?
People love?
Yeah, there's a better.
And then you.
Six, eight, Wags.
Some kid had to sit behind Wags, dude.
Someone must have thought that Wags was Vincent
Adult Man, his three little kids stacked on each other's shoulders,
because they're like, why is this giant athlete here to watch Lilo and Stitch?
It's incredible.
But you liked it.
I hate when that happens.
They like left, dude.
I don't, unfortunately.
They have one of the main characters.
That's wild.
Is it a show?
Is it a movie, dude?
It was a movie originally?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So what's this?
It's an animated movie.
This is the live action version.
Oh, and they took out a main character.
That's actually fucked.
Yeah, well, that's gas, dude.
And you've got to watch the Dewey promotional.
That is like the most...
What?
Oh, yeah, Drew's doing that.
It's the most inappropriate thing I've ever seen in my entire life.
It's a shot for shot live action thing.
Like, I can't even talk.
about it.
It's cool, dude.
It's not.
It's cool.
It's so ass.
I can't wait to see it.
I did see Mission Impossible.
Oh, don't say anything.
Don't even fucking look at it.
I'm going to go see it again.
We're going to get back on track.
We've got a lot to get into, folks.
We've got some Nott ice to talk about.
We've got some hot ice to talk about.
We're going to get into the Carolina game.
They survived.
Survival.
I know we have a Diddy update.
Yeah.
I know we have some nodite.
Do we have time?
Do we have time to, I kind of teased it on the
hockey talk today.
I don't know if you saw.
I am prepared to reveal and destroy this.
Oh, I'm too tired.
Literally.
But I'll do it Wednesday.
I'm going to...
Promise?
Yeah, I'm going to DM him tomorrow.
No, no.
This guy's dead.
If he doesn't answer, I'll do it Wednesday.
I will only allow you to DM him.
We're talking about Coachella folks.
I will only allow you to DM this rat prick
if you go, hey, dude, I am going to expose
and sewer you and humiliate you in front of your daddy.
if you don't send me my money right now.
I will say something to that nature.
Not maybe that's the exact words.
I hope he responds.
It goes like this.
Good luck.
Yeah.
And then I'll go.
Wax.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
You're right.
And then he will.
You're right.
And he's going to send it all.
And Chris will be like this.
If you need me to send you a little bit more, just saying good faith.
Like, let's that.
We'll be good.
Mail me a check.
I'll pay for shipping.
No, dude, pay me double.
I'll pay you double and you just mail it mail me half back.
That would be cool.
Jesus Christ.
I'll say something.
All right.
Promise on Wednesday.
Yeah.
If he doesn't answer Tuesday, then we're going.
We're going for it.
Let's do some diddling.
Let's talk about diddy.
Well, dude, I actually don't have that much.
Well, this one thing is big.
This hasn't come up in court yet, but there's a rumor broke this weekend.
Okay.
What?
No, it hasn't been whispered in court at all.
Correct.
Because no witness has gone on the stand to talk about this yet.
The rumor broke this weekend that Steve Harvey of family feud fame.
Yeah.
He must have been famous before that.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
What was he doing?
A show, a talk show.
I think he's a comedian.
He's a comedian.
He's a comedian.
Big time comedian.
And Diddy were an item.
And by the way, there's rumors that Steve Harvey's daughter.
You got to be careful, bro.
Who dated Diddy's son then was also dating Diddy, even though she's like 24 and he was
like 46 or something.
And then, which is nothing to Belichick.
And then.
Or Diddy, frankly.
It turns out that the youngest Diddy's gone.
Yeah, it was actually all rumors.
And Diddy was actually with Steve Harvey the whole time.
And there's shit on recordings of Steve Harvey being like that he's been blackmail.
Then he's like, if this were on a recording, he's already going, if this were to get out, it would ruin my life.
And I'm like, dude.
And they like on vacation together, dude.
They go into Italy together.
they're playing bridge together it's just a lot of action and that would be great that would be
great dude this is this dan this is the type of shit that you this is what we need yeah this is
type of shit that you want we need see i need these rumors to start swirling heavy i need more people
to start getting loose-lipped and i need shit like this to start coming up because that's when someone
breaks dude yep that's when someone breaks on the stand yep and they go and i need that she did it she's the one
You need that.
I need people to break.
And I need the damn to open up.
So that's good.
That's a big development.
It's a rumor.
But this is momentum.
Yep.
Momentum.
And then I haven't,
you haven't seen this yet.
I prep something for you that I,
that broke today.
Okay.
And this is fucking wild, dude.
This is a sad story, but it's wild.
Is this ditty stuff?
No.
No.
Okay.
That's it.
So that's did he talk?
Yep.
Okay, dude.
There is a kid.
named, and I just listened to this,
and I'm still going to fuck it up, but it's Suchier Balaji.
Okay.
I think it's pretty close to how you say his name.
He was an engineer for OpenAI for ChatGBT.
Okay.
He helped train the artificial intelligence systems behind ChatGBT, GBT,
and then, because you know how that's the issue?
Everyone's like, are you using all our data to train the system?
And they're like, no, no, no.
Your shit's private, dude.
and everyone's like, I don't know, you know.
So he helped train the artificial intelligence system behind Chat, GBT, GBT,
and then later was like, ah, man, I actually think we are violating copyright law,
and this shouldn't be allowed.
He worked at Open AI for four years.
He quit last August, okay?
He was well regarded by colleagues at the San Francisco Company
where a co-founder this week called him one of OpenAI's strongest contributors
who was essential to developing some of its products.
He grew up in that Bay Area.
He was first got to their lab as a 2018 summer intern,
while studying computer science at Berkeley.
Okay.
Returned a few years later, got his job,
and his first project was WebGBT, which became ChatGPT.
26 years old, described as a computer prodigy,
became programming at age 11,
was earning 350K annually from ChatGPT.
This is from the co-founder.
Pretty sick deal.
Co-founder John Schulman.
Sucher's contributions to this project were essential,
and it wouldn't have succeeded without him.
He recruited Pallaji to his team,
said he was an exceptional engineer and all this stuff.
Suchir tells the press after he quits
that he gradually became more disillusioned to open eye,
especially after internal turmoil
that led the board of directors to fire
and rehire Sam Altman and all that shit.
He said he was broadly concerned
how its commercial project for rolling out,
including their propensity for spouting false information,
which is, that's what I was talking with Stu
about where they said.
and hallucinations where they're like, chat GPT is like this, and you're like, that's not true.
And like, to tell the people.
Basically, our buddy was like asking chat GPT, hey, if I introduce this to my company that I started
with a friend, are you going to use all our data?
And chat GPT was like, absolutely not.
Here's a link to show why we want our practices and why we won't.
Clicks on the link.
It's a dead link.
He responds, this link isn't real.
And chat GPT answers, good catch.
Sorry, here's the real link.
sends it to that one. In that link, it says, we will use this data. And our buddy goes,
so you will use it. It was like, good job reading the frying print. Yes, we will.
I'm like, dude, what are you doing? So he says he doesn't, so cheers, like, I don't like these
hallucinations and what's going on here. After he quits in August, he becomes a whistleblower and says
he helped train the artificial intelligence and this is voiding copyright law, quote, it doesn't
feel right to be training on people's data and then competing with them in the marketplace.
I don't think you should be able to do that. I don't think you should be able to do that legally.
Is this fucking kid dead?
Bro.
He was named a key witness in a lawsuit filed by the New York Times against ChachyPT,
where he alleged ChachyPT brings, quote, society more harm than benefit.
On November 26, he quit in August.
So the last November 26, Bellagia was found dead in his San Francisco apartment
and what police said was an apparent suicide.
No evidence of foul play was found during the investigation.
The Chief's Medical Districts Offer confirmed the death to be a suicide in a letter to the family
the San Francisco police said there were no signs of forced entry,
and the apartment was found with the deadbolt engaged
under the conclusion that Bellagie was in there alone.
Interestingly, the toxicology reports revealed the presence of GHB,
commonly known as the date rape drug in Belagie's system,
but the medical examiner said that GHB can accumulate naturally
in a body during decomposition.
No.
End of discussion, right?
The family is so devastated because there's like CCTV footage
of him picking up a food delivery that night looking just like
a normal dude. And I don't presume to know what you would do before killing yourself,
but he's just getting his food delivery. But you don't think it would be getting a chipper bowl?
Yeah. They order a second autopsy from an independent doctor. No. And Dr. Daniel Cousin
released his second report this week. No. There is a second bullet in the head.
Bang. Killed himself, dude. Two bullets. Two bullets, dude. How are you?
bro
well they don't they don't miss it
someone gets paid off to say
it was a one bullet
murdered
murdered dude
dude are you
chat chp t does more harm than good
boom two bullets
so this kid
bro got murdered by by who
chat chp t i don't know
maybe chat tpt is an entity
you saw a mission impossible what happens
don't tell me but i'm just telling you dude that this kid
fucking designed chat he's a child prodigy
computer science engineer
Design chat, GPT, then goes, actually, this is bad, and we're stealing all your data, is dead.
And then they go, it's a suicide.
And then there's two bullets in his brain, dude.
Dude, and you know what's fucking wild?
No one's talking about this.
No one's talking about it.
Like, dude, I, Sandra found this and was like, did you see the second bullet in Suchier Balaji's brain?
And I was like, who the fuck is that?
Yeah, exactly, dude.
Dude, all right, as much as I want to do a classic DPC thing here and go down the rabbit
on how chat GPT is an entity and they're getting control of a gun somehow and hovering it
because of magnets in the apartment.
Clearly, someone was hired by people at the company, ChatGPT, to murder this kid.
Yep.
Because he has announced that it's more harmful.
And also...
And I love Chat ChatsyPT, just to be clear.
And I just want to say on record, I love ChatGPT.
Who's the fucking shitbag?
guy in the fucking
coroner's office.
Well, they're all on the take, dude.
That's what I'm saying.
Well, but do get him, arrest him now.
The San Francisco police are like
writing letters to the family.
This shit can show up in the bloodstream after death.
Yeah.
Liar.
Liar, dude.
So we've got dirty cops.
Dirty, dirty corner.
We've got a scumbag at the morgue.
Yep.
We've got people who are hiring hitmen at chat cheap.
This goes all the way to the top down.
Oh, dude.
Like, there is.
no carol in HR
Who the fuck is
Why are we not talking about this?
This should be one of the biggest stories in the world
There's a second bullet, Dan.
So this kid designed
ChatGAPT and then had the balls
to go, dude, this is not good for society
and then chat GPT went like this, you're dead.
We go, dude, actually you are
you're actually stealing secrets
from everybody and
this is doing more harm than good
and they go like this. Oh, that's cool.
That's interesting that you think that.
Dude, justice for Suchir, bro.
Because this kid was murdered.
He's a prodigy.
I'm not even kidding.
We wasted a genius mind that could have continued to solve the world's problems.
And dude, this goes so high.
I can't even believe this.
If you Google him, the top news hits, say,
Family of Dead AI Whistleblower Suchir Belagi speaks out.
Open AI whistleblower who died was being considered as witness against company.
Suu Shire Bollaji, Open AI whistleblower, found dead an apartment.
Proof, he did not commit suicide.
No, no, what I'm saying is, how aren't the top hits on this?
ChatGPT murders whistleblower.
How isn't that the top headline?
Why isn't that the front page of the New York Times, Dan?
Why don't I turn on CNN and see OpenAI employees paying to kill whistleblower?
What are we talking about here, dude?
This is wild, dude.
Oh, found dead with two gunshots, not one.
Open A.I. Whistleblowers,
which your apologies parents reject suicide theory.
There's a second bullet.
Can you imagine, dude, you know when you're obsessed about something and you're like, I just,
I know I'm right.
I trust.
I feel it in my plums.
And then they get that second autopsy back and there's a second fucking bullet, dude.
And you go, oh.
Here's my question for you.
Imagine even more.
Dude, I couldn't fathom a more conclusive win.
Here's my question for you.
When you're the OG coroner who's getting his beak wet.
Yeah.
Dipping a toe.
Dipping a toe in the water.
If you're the OG coroner and you're with your wet beak and the family orders a private coroner to do another test on the body.
Are you like, oh, my fucking God.
Yeah.
Are you like, oh, my God.
Or do you go like this?
Do, do, do, do.
Hey, they ordered a private coroner.
And then something goes like this.
It'll be taken care of.
Like, do you just keep going?
Dude, do you let the snowball go?
Or do you open up...
Or do you open a bottle of fucking Jack
and go, well, this is going to get ugly for me real quick?
You just sit there in the dark sipping the whiskey
until someone walks in with the silencer,
screwing the silencer on and you go, I knew this day would come.
I think that.
Because you were a criminal.
You're dead now.
You're a criminal.
You're dead now.
We need to find out the name of this guy
because he is a criminal.
Also, should we possibly not be talking about this?
I love chat TPT.
I love it.
And Diddy.
I love Diddy.
No, fuck that fucking piece of shit.
But this, I can't believe this isn't more common.
A couple of them in his head.
Oh, dude, I couldn't.
Dude, what a reveal.
Holy fuck.
Jesus Christ, man.
We have to move on to Nod Ice, but I'm like not even prepared to move on.
Yeah, yeah, dude, take a breath.
Take a breath.
Absolutely wild.
We got to take a break.
But this is good. We need a break right now. We're going to take a break and go to our sponsors while I decompress.
You know we've got the greatest deal on earth cooking with BetMGM.
So why aren't you getting involved?
It hurts my feelings when you don't take advantage of these incredible opportunities that I try to give to you.
What I want you to do is download the BetMGM app and use promo code Netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
They've got the Hat-T-T-Pot going right now, and it is awesome because playoffs are awesome
and so many people are scoring amazing goals.
All you have to do is bet on an anytime goal score.
and if that person scores a hat trick or more, which is very possible, they score a hat trick or more,
you get your share of 10 Gs in bonus bets with anyone else who pick that anytime goal score.
And even if they don't get a hatie, but they do score, you still win your bet, which is also sick.
So there's so many ways to win.
And when you download that BetMGM app and you use that promo code netters, if your first bet doesn't win,
you can get up to $1,500 in bonus bets.
So you're getting bonus bets coming out the wazoo if you just use that promo code when you download
the bet MGM app.
Please get in on this action.
The promotions are so awesome and fun and cool,
and I love them, and I want you to love them too.
So go do it right now.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.
Call 877-8-A-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York.
Call 1-800-3-50-for-Masthus.
21-1-M-1st,000 from Massachusetts.
20-50-F from Massachusetts.
$1-800-off for Iowa.
1-800-offer off for Iowa.
First bet offer for new customers only.
Subject to eligibility requirements,
bonus bets are non-thrundot and hotel.
See, bedmGM.com for terms.
U.S. Promotional offers not available in New York,
Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Huge thanks to bet MGM.
I always love those guys.
Let's get into the game.
Come all.
Game four, possibility of Rod the Bod going 0 in 12 in Eastern Conference Finals games.
The Keynes being 0 in 16 straight Eastern Conference Finals games.
But the Keynes figured their shit out.
Won a game 3-0, 2 empty net goals.
How are you?
Cains are back.
Maybe they're not back.
But big win, big win.
There was a stat that said, and this was like, when did they score in the second?
Yeah, it must have been the second.
It was when it was still zero, zero, they go, the last time the hurricanes won a game in the conference finals,
Rod Brindamore scored the game winner.
Yeah.
And I was like, that is so funny, dude.
That can't happen, dude.
Cannot happen.
I said in the live that I really, I really wanted them to win a game.
Yeah.
And I stand by it, having watched it, I'm just thrilled, even if they lose in five, which
we can get into what we think about that later, but even if they lose in five, I'm just so happy
the narrative is dead.
And this isn't a good narrative.
If you get swept, if you get gentlemen swept, you're still a punk.
Yeah, I don't think it's totally dead, but at least the stat is dead.
This streak.
Yeah, exactly.
We'll say the stat is dead.
Because like no one's going to bring up.
They need to lose four more again straight to then be able to say you're now one and seven.
You know what I mean?
So the stat is dead and that's a good thing.
I'm so happy for the lovely Carolina people.
We have so many Keynes fan friends.
I'm just like go away.
Thank God that that's done for Rod, for Jarvie, for Slavin, like for so many of those guys.
Halsey, I'm pumped for them for that.
I am too.
I'm thrilled for them.
Big win.
Obviously in this game for Florida, no Sam Reiner, no Nico Mikula, no A.J. Greer.
Three players who have been monumental for this team throughout these playoffs.
It felt like if you're going to get one, Carolina, it's this.
Even though you're on the road, but it's like three big players for them.
You know, two, no offense to Greerze, amazing depth guy.
But like, Rhino, Mikala, like that's huge.
Somebody on the broadcast was like, you're missing Reinhard.
You're missing Meekle.
That's a lot of offense.
And I was like, well, actually.
It is.
It's such a funny thought.
But I was like, Nicola doesn't have a ton of goals.
What?
Dude, his second one on, um, whenever, game three.
Yeah.
Was the first time I was, because a lot of his goals, I'm like, wow, great job jumping up in the play, Mika.
Like that went in.
His, his second one that was an absolute nip job.
Oh my God.
That's when I was like, oh shit.
I think you've been possessed.
Like something, there's, there's a chance that Mikala has been possessed by somebody.
Disgusting goal.
Yeah.
And there's like, there's a spirit inside him and keep it.
in there. Do what you got to do. Disgusting. That was ridiculous.
For me, the big thing about this game was this was a normal hockey game.
Watching it, there wasn't any shithousery. There were, I think no power play goals. I think it was
0 for 3 for Carolina, 0 for 4 for Florida. But it didn't feel like a lot of calls were being
called, which is kind of ridiculous. It's like one per period plus an extra per team. But like it
wasn't a like oh here a pen another penalty another it just felt like a very basic playoff hockey game
they were hitting but nothing crazy and it's it's not surprising that that's the game that
carolina wins i'm not saying florida let up but it did feel like they were a little bit like
all right we're down a few of our best guys we're up three oh in the series like let's just play a
hockey game yeah it really did to me i i didn't think there was any chippiness in this game
it didn't look nasty from florida uh and yeah it was just like a basic
hockey game.
I think Florida got out early.
They were all over them early.
I think they had a two on one,
like a minute and a half into the game.
Freddie looked great,
which honestly looks even dumber of Rod
that he just like benched him one game.
And I know a lot of people would be like,
well, he needed the rest.
But I'm like, dude, you don't bench him
when you were in the third round of the playoffs
and you're down O2.
Whatever.
Breach, dude.
I could, that was my biggest highlight
of all the notes I was watching.
Hindsight, obviously.
easy to say, holy fuck, dude.
This was the Freddie you'd seen all playoffs.
He'd only played 20 fucking two games or something in the regular season,
which was not calculated by the team.
It was a health issue.
It was a very serious thing.
But Freddie is back and was Freddie fucking iceberg, dude.
He was fresh as lettuce because he hadn't played that much.
To think that those two games, which again,
everybody in the Carolina locker room said had nothing to do with him,
to sit him down in game three and then get that performance in game four,
I would be sick to my stomach if I was raw over that.
And who knows?
Who knows?
Maybe if you play Freddy in game three, he doesn't get, he's not ready for this game.
Maybe he gets lit up just as much.
We'll never know.
But to die, to go down 3-0 with your backup goalie,
when we can all agree your goalie wasn't the issue, is assinine to me, Dan.
Yeah.
It'd be like the stars benching Otter next game to be like, well, he just needs a breather.
And I'm like, there's no time for breathers.
What are you talking about?
We're down 2-0.
Play your fucking goalie.
Although, dude.
That might be what they need.
Might be just what we needed.
Might have been just what we needed.
Truly, dude, maybe.
Like, it's another game at Rogers Place.
Maybe you play, maybe you play to Smith.
I wanted to bench Helliburg.
So I thought Hellabuck shouldn't even have gone to St. Louis.
He should have been boozing in Winnipeg.
Maybe you leave Audor.
You go, Jake, go to Texas.
Go go to Texas, eat some barbecue, eat some baby back.
Maybe you play to Smith.
Baby back.
Let him get some rest.
He comes in.
He has a shutout.
And then next thing you know, you're only down two, three.
Who knows?
It's possible.
Let's get back into this game.
Yes, obviously, I'm so with you.
It's like, I'm not harping on rod, but like just looking at, Freddie looked great.
But again, 20 shots for Florida.
This was not Florida's game.
Like, they weren't playing that great.
They were buzzing around, but they weren't getting good shots on.
They were an okay shot because don't forget game one, they had 20 shots.
Yeah, true.
But dude, I hate that stat because, like, I've got game one right here.
They won five to two.
Game one, they had three fucking goals or two goals in the first period and then a pretty
quick one in the second.
Like, they don't need to keep shooting at.
When you're up fucking three one, I'm like, pepper the goal.
You don't need to do that.
I think that sometimes, when you get a big lead early, I think often you see the shots
aren't that high because they're like, we did our job.
Yep.
Like, it's whatever.
So wasn't their best game.
Like I said, it was the cleanest game.
So I'm not surprised that Carolina won.
But Carolina looked great.
And there were a few things.
Freddie was a big one.
Freddie was a huge one.
After this game, actually, I'm going to say this one for last.
Logan Stankovin, fantastic goal.
And it deserves to be mentioned.
I had two just absolutely in fuego tweets during this game.
one is
Logan Stankovan has been not so
quietly fantastic these playoffs
and this series I think made people kind of
you forget any of the positives of Carolina
based on the first three games of this series
Stankovins's been fantastic
there are people who are like he's
you know you take away the one
three game heater ranting and one on
there are people who are like Stankovin's been better than Rantin
and it's understandable that those two are getting compared
but Stankovin
Stankovin has been very fucking good
that goal was nasty
and it was the
it was the one that got by Bob
Bob had 20 I think 24 saves in this game
and that was a nasty shot on kind of an
odd man rush it's one that you're like
I'm not mad at Bob getting beat on that
it was a perfect shot
short side snipe job so that's the
flowers for stank the big one for me
I think this is the biggest
the biggest difference in the game
Jacob Slavin I tweeted
out and we've done this before
I said Jacob Slavin is the best defenseman
And it's insane.
Yep.
Best defenseman alive.
Obviously, there are the fucking clowns on Twitter who don't realize that I'm being hyperbolic.
Yep.
But are you?
But I am if we're going to do the all-encompassing.
But I've said, if I'm in a playoff series, dude, I'm picking Slaven over Kail and Quinn every fucking day of the week.
Because I don't need my defenseman to be a high-flying guy who's going to get 100 points in the season.
Especially when they go cold a little bit.
Like, Kail didn't do shit.
Dude, Kail hasn't done shit since his fucking rookie year when they won the cup.
That's a fact.
That's not true.
They haven't been out of the first round since.
Or past the second round since.
Like, dude, it's like, Kail is amazing.
Don't get me wrong.
But, like, I need a fucking defenseman.
Is he doing a good job cleaning the pool?
If you are a pool, man, you should be.
If you're a defenseman, I need you to be good at defense.
He was good.
Dude, he was good last year.
Which Kale is?
Because he won Kahn's mit, obviously, 29 points in 20 games.
And then.
five points in six games, first round L, but then 15 and 11.
That's great. How did they do?
They lost the second round.
Yeah.
It wasn't on him, dude.
Not good enough.
He was dash three.
My point is, Slavin is disgusting at D.
And a friend of the program on Twitter was like horrible take, and I was like, educate yourself in a fun way.
Who said that?
Just a guy on Twitter.
Follows us.
Good, good dude.
Yeah.
And he then tweets.
his four games in this series.
And let me remind you, in these four games,
game one, Florida wins five to two.
Yeah.
Game two, Florida wins five nothing.
Game three, Florida wins six two.
And then today, Carolina wins.
So five two, five nothing.
Six to six two.
Yep.
In those games,
Jacob Slavin was a plus one,
dash one plus one
zero or
excuse me yeah zero
and now plus three in this game
with with
2153
23 19 19 2136
and I haven't checked today but I have it
I have it yeah I have it
my point is to
to get you are you are on the ice more than anyone
else on your team you are going up against their
best lines every single shift
you are a plus in this series
and I and I
said and like he has no goals no assists yeah but like again you got shut out one game and this our
buddy tweeted that and i go you literally just proved my point with this tweet i hope you know that
i'm like that blew up and he was like actually a good point it's insane that he is a plus in this
series it's insane yeah he ate shout out booch was like why is jacob slavin not playing 28 minutes
a game he played 28 on the dot in this game he played nine minutes in the first period i was like
bro he played 28 minutes on the dot he also ate four shots in this game alone like
Like, dude, he is a dog.
We saw it in Four Nations.
Like, he is, he's the best defensive defenseman in the NHL.
It's fucking mental.
So, flowers to him, too, because this was just, you know, this was the game.
It's, you know, you get a couple empty-needed sure, that's great.
But, like, you essentially want to one-nothing game against this Florida team in Florida.
Like, that felt good.
You were talking about it on the live this morning.
You were like, it's going to feel good for the boys to see them get a game.
And they got it.
And I don't have a ton to say about what this means moving forward.
Like, if I were a betting man, I think Florida probably wins in Carolina in game five.
We'll see who comes back of those three guys.
I think Rino's done for the series is what my guess would be.
But you get Mekylla and Greerback.
Yeah, my money would be on Florida wins.
I think Florida gets nasty again.
Yep.
And that's their game.
But, yeah, I mean, if you're Florida, you got shut out.
You're a little pissed off about that.
But you had 20 shots.
This was your worst game since probably game two against Toronto.
And Bob was nasty.
Yeah.
So this was just, this was an awesome game.
It's like almost a perfect game from Carolina.
And they got a good win.
But if you're Florida, I think you're feeling fine.
The, uh,
Carolina, you're so, you're so right about this went.
This was the template if you were going to,
this is what you, you hope to get consistently.
if you were going to make this a series, right?
This was the Jordan Stahl you wanted.
This was his best game of the series.
This was the Svetnikov you wanted.
This was his best game of the series.
Freddie looked calm, looked fresh as lettuce.
Stank, you already said it, but Stank,
he was good in the playoffs last year too.
Yeah, he's a great player.
I think he, I know he had kind of a quiet regular season.
I thought he was the sneaky rookie of the year Dark Horse
because everyone was on Mac and all those boys.
I was like, Stank just had all that extra games, though.
Like he could be a seasoned vet this year, and he had a quiet regular season.
I think that's part of the reason Dallas was even willing to move on to get someone like a ranting.
But this is the guy.
I'm so high.
I'm still buying so much stank stock.
This is the guy you're getting.
He is a gamer.
He's the fucking man.
So that was awesome.
You got Burns great game because he was playing just as much as Slaven.
They were literally going out every other shift.
It was fucking amazing.
Burns looked very, very good at this game.
Turn back to clock.
Unbelievable.
And then the PK, dude, he, he there, they're 0 for eight, the Panthers.
They're 0 for eight in their last two games after going four for five in games one and game two.
And it's not, even though Rod tried to say it was, that wasn't the only difference in the games.
But having the most dominant penalty kill in the playoffs and the number one penalty kill on the regular season kind of abandoned you in games one and two.
Looking at the last two games, you're like, fuck, I wish they had just, I wish that had stayed locked in for those first two games because maybe it goes differently and we're kind of looking at like a two two here.
instead of a 3-1.
So I think that's brutal.
And I would say the Cains, it wasn't chippy, you're right?
But it was, at least they were fucking pushing and punching and jabbing.
You know when this Bruins played the Canucks and there's that famous clip of Martian
just punching one of the cities in the face?
Yes.
And everybody's like, everybody's like, oh yeah, you know, like this.
No one's doing it.
No refs is doing anything about it.
I think it's Henrik isn't doing anything about it.
No one on the Canucks is doing it.
It's one of the funniest clubs I've ever seen.
And to, this is.
is not obviously literally true, but that is why Vancouver lost. Like, it is, it is that.
Yeah, dude, no fight. There was just no willingness. I know Burles bit a guy, but there's
otherwise, there's no willingness to just be like, dude, don't let them punch you in the face.
And for the first three, literally, yeah, literally. For the first three games, that's what it felt like
from Carolina. And all the jokes online are like the technical, the money ball dorks are losing
the fucking guys that know what it takes to win in the playoffs. And at least in this game, right away,
first period.
The quick tie up, bang.
One of the sticks, one, something to the jaw.
Fucking face palm, dude.
How are you?
That mattered to me.
And I think you're right.
Florida can ramp that even higher in game five.
And it was just nice to see anything from Carolina.
It was nice to see any.
And I'm just saying like that shit was happening.
And to me, it looked like Florida wasn't even reacting.
Like it was like, I'm not saying like they let them do it.
But it just felt like Florida just kind of sat back in the chair a little bit in this game.
And they were like, we'll see what happens today.
Yeah. And, you know, that might have been a mistake. You know, who knows? Like, maybe this, maybe Carolina gets a little bit of gum show from this and they, they step up. But it's, it's, it's, playoff series is so funny because it's risky, right? You just want to step on throats when you can. Because of course, if those guys come back, because Ryan, I think you're right. Like, Ryan has, Ryan was on the ice yet. Like, Ryanos got to get on the ice before we're talking about which games he's coming back for. But if you get those other two guys back, I'm probably picking Florida.
but Carolina hadn't lost in the playoffs at home until they met Florida.
They had the most wins in the regular season at home.
And now you've got some guys going good.
Yeah.
So you think you go, dude, let's just win game five.
One game in time, go home, win game five, where we've been awesome.
Now they're thinking about it.
Yeah.
You know, and now there's a ton of pressure on game six.
This, it is, I think this is the exact script that Florida, Tampa was, though.
Did Florida go 3-0 on Tampa or a 2-1?
two one but I know they won two in Tampa split at home and then just beat Tampa in game five
because I was like there's no way Tampa can lose all three at home and they were like
watch you do it we sure can yeah so I feel the same way about Carolina where I'm like no way they can
lose all three at home and they might yeah um a lot of people were bringing this up and and again
I'm not I'm not dog in anybody and I'm not saying this is a thing but someone DMed us and was
like does Florida lose this game on purpose to keep playing because they don't want too much rest
and I was like no dude like this is this is this is the same I said that earlier I was that
Stanley Cup playoffs, but I can tell you this, if this Florida team feels very confident,
which I imagine they do, if Mikala is good, if Greerzy is good, and they're like,
it was a good, it was a necessary rest day, but like we're fine. Even Rhino is like,
I'm probably done for the series, but like, I'll be fine by the final, and they all feel good.
I wouldn't be shocked if they're not like, we're cool with that. We're cool, because imagine
if they swept. Getting an extra game. Imagine if they swept. And it's just two one.
in the Edmonton series.
And like, for their sake, God forbid, Dallas wins by the time you're listening to this guys tonight.
Oh, yeah. No, no, no.
It'll be out first.
Oh, tonight.
I see what you're saying.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Dallas wins this game.
And they're like, fuck me.
Like, it's tied now.
Like, you're just sitting at home.
Yeah.
Playing with your dick waiting for a week before you get to play this team.
Like, I bet that they're happy that it's like, because even if, dude, even if and when
Edmonton, if and when Edmonton wins game for and they're up three one, you would still be like, we have to wait
two more days. Then we have to wait for the schedule to come out. Like, it's just a lot of time.
So yeah, if Florida feels as good as I think they feel, I bet that they're like,
we're very fond of this. They said before they want the games. They were like, I like it. I like
it. They like playing not, or they like playing as close to up to the next series as possible.
They're not saying, I want it to go seven. Yeah. Yeah. But they do, you know, but this is kind of a
roundabout way of being like, kind of nice. Bro, I think they're, I'm with you. I think. I'm with you.
think they're legitimately presuming they win in Carolina, which again, don't play with your food
at the playoffs, but presuming they go, we're going to win in Carolina, no problem. They are,
they prefer this. They are literally happy to play closer to when the other series might end,
get the games, we're good, especially the way they lost, right? It's a century one-nothing game.
I will say, yet again, Carolina fucking burned on an offside challenge, which was the correct call,
but they are, they have been a little, fucking jobbed, oh, well, not job because they're the right
calls, but they have been fucking giving up some goals here that those look like good goals,
you know? Yeah. But the way they lose a one-nothing game where you go, yeah, two empty netters,
we didn't score on Freddie, but I'm not respectfully, not scared of Freddie because we've put
10 by them, you know, in the hand, the two games we faced him. You know what I didn't. And Bob still
looked good. Yeah. You know what I didn't realize is that Edmonton has home ice in this series.
Oh yeah. And like that was the difference last year. So.
Well, no, it wasn't.
Game 7 being in Florida was a major fact.
Dude, grow the fuck up.
Major fact.
You absolute moron.
Are you kidding me?
Are you kidding me, dude?
Like, sure, yes, that was helpful.
But, like, everyone won on each other's eyes.
Like, that wasn't, that wasn't the difference.
That was a ridiculous series that somehow went seven after you should have swept.
And, like, I promise you.
It went seven.
And I think that's a different game if it's game seven in Rogers.
It's a difference.
it wasn't the difference and that is where I'm calling you a fucking idiot.
It might have been the difference.
It might have been the difference.
The more we think about it.
Yeah.
Yeah, I think that they are, I think that they are not upset that they're just still playing some hockey here.
Yeah.
That, I was, dude, when Florida pulled their goalie, I was like, here comes an absolute dagger for the case.
It's like Florida's just going to score with this extra guy here.
and then just win it over, Matthew Kuchuk's going to score an overtime, and the gains are
going to off themselves.
Yeah, that would have been.
And then they scored, like, they scored the two of years so quickly.
Tough play by Maddie, too.
Yeah.
Really tough play.
That was, that was kind of a sketchy pass by Svech, back to Aho on the first one.
Like, Jarvie got over to Svechnikoff and they're in alone, and he one touched it back
to AHA, and it was like completely fine.
But I was like, dude, just shoot that.
Like, I can't believe we're like.
It's kind of a sketchy pass by Jarvie.
But he didn't have a clean look as, he was on his back.
I was like I was going to get it to my boys.
Smetka's gets on the forehand and he's like, let's just, let's all get a point here.
And I was like, hey, dude, shoot it into the fucking net right now.
That is insane play.
That was rattling.
Yeah, it was their first lead in the series.
I think it was like it was good.
It was a great Carolina Hurricanes hockey game.
Yeah.
And something you can point to a blueprint.
I just don't know.
It's just hard.
It's hard to do that to Florida.
It's like not like they haven't been trying to do this for three games.
You know, that's the difference to me.
It's not like it was a big system change.
Their system just worked this time.
Yeah.
I don't have much more to say about this game, honestly.
Like, it was a great win for Carolina.
But I think that there were a lot of factors like we covered.
The three very important guys are out for Florida.
Yeah.
I think Florida was not playing their game that much.
And Carolina was perfect.
They were perfect on their game.
They played Slavin more minutes, which they needed to do.
Anderson looked good again.
They got the first goal.
Well, be it.
it took a couple periods, but that was that.
Everything went right for Carolina.
And that's huge.
And you hope that momentum builds.
You get to go home and try to hope it builds.
But we'll see, I think the biggest things for me heading into game five is going to be
roster who is playing for Florida.
And I'm very, very curious about the physicality.
I wonder if Florida comes out and gets real grimy in this game to try to get them back
off their game.
But it was also surprising to see.
special teams horrible. Offense special teams
horrible in this game for both teams. Like 0 for 4,
0 for 3. It's like you can't expect
to do that every time, so we'll see. Dude,
and I'm not thinking about it right now, Florida
this playoff,
3 and O in Tampa,
right?
And then 2 and 2
in Toronto.
And then 2 and 0 here.
So like 7 and 2
on the road this year. They've actually been fucking
awesome away from Florida. I don't want
home ice against Edmonton. Yeah, yeah, wow. Holy shit. What a roller coaster that was.
So yeah, I think you're right. Florida goes, yeah, let's go to fucking Carolina and roll.
Yeah. Insane. Like we said, we got Dallas Edmonton tonight. We'll check out that game,
game five on when will that be? Wednesday? Yeah, I'm all turned around. Wednesday night will be
Florida, Carolina. Yeah, yeah. You wanted to talk about worlds real quick. Yep. We touched on it in the
live you haven't watched the live if you haven't seen those go to our youtube it's on the video page now
on everyone we're giving you shit every morning it's all up there um but i just thought it was it was
an awesome tournament we made a joke about it in our happy hour video which you should also go watch
comes out every friday but the uh worlds are cool and and and i think they don't get enough attention
because they're up against playoffs and so much is going on it's not the most stacked rosters ever
all the time but it's such a sick tournament and obviously being fans of u.sa hockey it was very
fucking dope that those boys hadn't once in 1933, which is insane. And they take down gold after
92 years. Dude, there are a few things that are really fun about this that I really enjoyed.
One, obviously, seeing sway between the pipes, getting that shut out. Yep. Unbelievable stuff
from him. I know you've got a great quote from him on that that I want you to read. But it was just,
it was really cool watching them do this for the first time in so long. And something that I love,
loved dude was talking to sway and smitty about it.
I want to get the the rosters real quick so I can just read down it because it's very funny.
We're talking about the team and I was like talking to sway and I was like he's in Smitty
a beauty and like he's like oh yeah he's the best and blah blah blah and then we were just talking
about it and then it was like yeah and like Pinto's the man and then I was like yeah Baneers is the man
and then it was like yeah cuts is the man.
And I was like, wait a minute, dude.
And I was like, dude, it's literally team empty netters here.
Like, there's like, fucking 10 guys on the roster, our friends of the program.
And, like, he was like, yeah, we were talking about it in the locker Monday.
And it's just like, everyone are the boys.
And I was like, yes, dude, win gold.
Tage is.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I was like, this is fucking hilarious.
But I love how the guys can join.
Like, it's so cool how, like, Willie loses.
Dude, it's so sick.
And bounces.
And something that we said is so fucking cool is like, we said it on live this morning.
is like these guys could so easily be like this fucking holy shit the season is so goddamn long
especially a leaf player dude like bro like you just want to break and these guys go and play
it's like you're talking this way being like i want to go play some more hockey and it's also that
cool thing of just representing your country is so fucking nasty and these guys love doing it and there's a
reason that mark andre ford is retired yeah but he's like i'm gonna go play there's a reason
sydney crosbie throws on a neck guard and goes plays and plays in this uh i i just think it's so
special. And the one chirp I have is
Canadians. Every time you lose a tournament,
stop pulling this tournament doesn't matter. You've been doing it in
juniors for five straight years now. Like it's every time you lose,
you're like, well, this tournament's stupid. Who cares? Like if you had lost
four nations, you would have gone, it's fucking, what is it? What even is
four nations, dude? Like, this doesn't matter. Stop that. Correct. You are the
best. It's your game. Yep.
So take some pride when you don't win and be like, fuck, we should have won.
We should have better.
And actually, one fan on Twitter was really, a Canadian, was really fun.
He was like, he was like, yeah, I mean, Canada didn't win.
I mean, who gives a shit, dude?
It's not like we sent any good players.
Well, yeah.
It was like, yeah, like that Canada team was fucking stacked.
So it is cool to win for USA.
Like, this was a cool fucking tournament.
And I'm super proud of the boys.
Me too, dude.
There were some awesome stats that popped up.
The U.S. only won five medals since 2000, all bronze.
They'd lost 12 consecutive semifinals, which is crazy.
And you're right.
What I think is so unique about it is we had just seen four nations, right,
when we finally got our taste of international hockey game,
which was so fucking awesome.
And then you look at this, and for a million reasons,
there's only two guys on this USA roster that were on the four nations roster.
So it's like, it's a whole new squad.
But it matters for people such a big way.
But it's not a joke either.
Like the Twitter dude just said, like,
Sidney Crosby's there.
Nathan McKinnon's there.
Like, Canada wanted to win this tournament.
Yeah, totally.
But like, that's a real thing.
It was a fucking sick run to US won six to seven group games,
five in regulation.
They outscored their opponents, 34 to 14.
Their only loss was to Switzerland,
three nothing in that group stage.
It's like that way this is a huge game.
They obviously beat Finland, 5-2 in the quarterfinals
and then the host Sweden, 6-2.
Fuck you, Dan.
I'm reading for Sweden, bitch ass.
I can't believe this fucking narrative.
It's unbelievable.
You try to give me shit for this.
The Swiss were dominant too.
Their only loss was OT to check.
So it was a really worthy final.
It's kind of crazy to me that it's zero,
zero. US had a massive shot advantage,
and there was even a penalty shot.
I think Keller took it.
I think that's right.
Keller took it that got stopped.
So it was like, you kind of felt like,
oh, fucking Christ, this is about to be such a dagger loss.
We have a thousand shots, and they just sneak one by.
but sway stood tall dude he was awesome um and i'm so pumped like talk about the four nations roster
i'm so pumped tage who had a great tournament nine points i think he had the third most points in the team
gets the o t winner a guy who was right on that four nations bubble right who's desperately trying
to get on the olympic roster that's a sick moment you'll have forever um and obviously it's also a big like
fuck you idiots i should have been on that team i'm now going to be on the olympic team and it's like correct yep
And then just to do it in the year for Johnny and Matthew, there's been so much of the Blue Jacket season and so much for more nations.
It's just their memory living on.
And Zach Werenski, like, sprinting off the ice to get his jersey and put it on the trophy just was the unbelievable cherry on top of that experience.
Winning the day before Memorial Day.
Yeah.
and the added element of Johnny and grabbing that sweater was very cool.
Oh, dude.
Very, very cool.
You almost kind of get, obviously he was, his name had brought up so much that you're
aware of it the whole time.
But in the immediate aftermath of the win, it had slipped my mind because I'm just like,
hell yeah, like get the dub, the boy celebrating.
And to have Zach react that way where it didn't slip his mind once the whole time,
every shift, every second he was out there.
And that was a really cool thing.
And just such a like, oh my God, when everyone realized what he was doing.
And yeah, man, you mentioned the sway quote.
I just think this is the USA had the youngest roster in the tournament, I think.
And this can just make a real impact, dude.
You can bring your performances in international play back with you
and take them towards new international trophies and your personal teams.
And Sway's quote was, I'll tell you what, this tournament and this group
rejuvenated me as an individual.
I gained so much more confidence.
I found my game again.
I was happy again.
I just learned so much.
This year was obviously
an up and down year for me personally
and to come here and be surrounded
by such quality human beings
and getting a job done,
that's a turning point for me in my life.
I couldn't be more excited for it.
It's a long time coming for USA hockey
and to be a part of the group
that finally did it is surreal.
I couldn't be happier, man.
Some heavy shit in there, dude.
I was happy again.
Yeah, I mean, like, you know,
we talked to him and I was quick
in the middle of the playoff game to tweet it out and say
a fucking shut out from Jeremy Swamen and a lot
of the fucking idiot Bruin fans haters were real
fucking quiet. And I hope you're listening to this right now because
I hope it felt good when he fucking rammed that gold medal
down your fucking stupid throat. Yep. Because you think it's just like
a bad goalie can do this, go and win a gold medal
in an international tournament against the likes of which
are all these amazing NHL players. Fuck you.
Yep. So yeah, that was fucking awesome. He deserves it.
It's amazing.
I can't wait for him to carry this confidence and momentum into the season.
Damn right, dude.
It's fucking awesome.
These are the things.
This is, he said it.
This is a turning point.
Yeah.
I love it.
It's amazing.
Let's take a quick break and then let's get into some fun stuff.
All right, babes, here's the deal.
It's no surprise that facial hair is personal.
It grows on your face.
You can shave it and style it any way you want.
And we think that is pretty fucking great.
It's what makes us all unique.
It's fantastic.
And we want to give you the best experience.
when it comes to taking care of your facial hair,
shaving, styling, whatever the look is that you're going for,
dollar shave club is going to make that the best experience in the world
because they're giving you all of these amazing products
that are going to make the experience fun
and have you looking and feeling as best as possible.
They got the Club Series 6 Blade Razor.
I've talked about this thing before.
It's got tons of stainless steel.
It's got a vitamin E infused lubrication strip
that makes your face feel fantastic when you're done.
shaving and they've also got the club series handle it's got the 360 degree rotation on it so when you're
getting all those nooks and crannies around the jaw line down by your neck around your chin it's not
slipping it's not snagging it's a beautiful clean shave every time and listen i've said it before
i'm a clean shaven boy i don't grow that much facial hair it does grow fast i will say that
i have to shave almost every single morning because i like the clean shaven look and dollar
shave club is letting me do that every single time with these amazing products
They're delivering it right to my door so I can just have this look at all times.
But if you're a mountain man, if you want to let the beard fly, if you want to do a little goatee, maybe a Van Dyke, I don't know.
It's up to you.
Like we said, it's personal.
Dollar Shave Club is giving you the tools to do it.
Here's the thing.
They're hooking you up right now.
If you sign up with promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you go to Dollar Shaveclub.
dot com slash netters you're going to save 20% off or on an order of $20 or more spend 20 bucks or more 20% off
unbelievable so get whatever you need look at some of these things I love they got the shave
butter if you don't like the shaving cream that foams up the shave butter is just this nice
unbelievable slick smooth smells great shave butter you put it on right before you shave
they've got traditional shaving cream they've got prep scrub and they've got the post
shave dew. I throw that on after every time I shave because I don't like that kind of that too
fresh feeling, you know, where it's like, oh, almost feels like you just shocked your system.
Get that post-shaved dew on there. Makes your face shine. Feels fantastic. You got to get in on this
stuff, guys. Dollar Shave Club is just taking it to a whole new level. Like I said, promo code
netters, dollarshaveclub.com slash netters. And listen, whatever you shave, welcome to the club.
You know what I'm sick of?
Feeling wrong for wanting contradictory things.
Because life is about contradiction, and that is why I have an incredible product I want to tell you all about right now.
And that is light strike.
Okay?
Listen, it's an alcoholic beverage, but it's not like an alcoholic beverage you have seen before.
Okay?
This is not the bad booze.
This is the good booze.
Dan and I are on an active lifestyle all the time.
We're on the road chasing the cup, playing hockey half the time.
We're all over the place.
all right and i want to be able to have a few pops with some friends but then also be able to be
putting something in my body that i'm not that mad about and that's where light strike comes in it's a
perfect combination of coconut water sea salt and five percent abv that's like mc david mckenon and
kutcheroff all on one line stuffed into one bottle and that bottle is the exact type of thing i
want to bring to my beer league games and pop it in the cooler for when we're done can you imagine
playing at 3-3 running time, 3-20-minute running time,
but a nice hour-long game where I'm working hard on a Wednesday night,
and I get back into the locker room,
take a shower that's way too cold and I'm miserable.
But then I come back into the cooler and sitting in there on ice
is a bunch of bottles of light strike for us and the boys to get after.
That is exactly what I'm talking about,
and where this beverage comes in a way like you've never seen.
They've got two flavors right now,
lemon, lime, and orange mango.
I love the orange mango.
Okay, it's amazing.
We're flying around this hockey community, playing games,
staying up late, watching games.
We're having fun and we want to have fun,
but we want to feel good about how we're treating our body.
And that is where Light Strike comes in.
I want you to give it a try right now
because this puppy is a game changer.
Huge thank you to our sponsors.
And let me issue a preemptive thank you to you, the listeners,
because we need your help.
Need your help with something.
And this is going to be cool.
one of our dear friends, one of Dan and my dear friends, lives out here.
He's actually a Maine kid too.
He is.
But he lives out in L.A.
And this January, yeah, that was January, right?
Yeah.
This January, should I say their names?
I guess so.
Yeah, Kitt and J.
This January, Kit and Jay had just recently bought a house in the Pacific Palisades just over here in California,
right just north of where we are in this studio.
right now. And as you'll all remember, the fires went crazy in California. And Kit, of all of our
really, really close friends, Kit was the one in the most danger. And man, that day was crazy.
I remember it very well. We all texted him. Couldn't get a hold him for a little while because
the service was nuts. And that first day, he was able to get back to his house and get their
dog, Ducky, who is a delight. Get Ducky out.
and that was really all they had time for
and then it was just a
hope mission after that.
Tuesday night he messages the hole.
He plays hockey with us. I should have said that too. He's on our hockey team.
Plays in Vale with us, Jackson Hole with us. He's a beaut. He's a beaut.
And he messes us Tuesday night that everything was okay. And then Wednesday they just kept
roaring and Kit and Jay's house burned down.
Scorched earth. Literally to the ground.
To the studs.
The video.
is i'm gonna post the video and listen kit and jay and ducky are all okay and uh we're joking about it now
yeah it's it's it's things right you know and and and the funniest was days later when it was safe to go in
but you kind of had to put like a biohazard suit yeah yeah kit and jay went to the house to see what
they could find and jay is a very awesome nostalgic person was just in her little biohazard suit
walking around picking up literally everything being like i could we could save this we could save
this. It's like, it's like two pieces of jewelry destroyed. She's like, I might weld these together.
Absolutely melted and charred together. And Kit was just like, I just think that's gone.
Yeah. And Kit and Kit, this was actually one of my favorite parts of the story. Because truly,
guys, he got nothing out of the house. Like, he saved his animal, which was good. But everything
else that they've ever owned burned to the ground. But we were right about to go to Vail to play
a hockey tournament, which Kit obviously couldn't go to anymore because his house had burned to the
ground. But his bag was already packed and in his car. And Jay was in San Francisco for work.
Incredible. So when the fires happened. So she's trying to get a hold of him. It was a very scary time.
So she goes, Kit, what did you get out? And he goes, my hockey gear. And she's like, oh, really?
And he was like, I was already in my car. It's already my car. So a very tragic situation was made even more
tragic because Kit and Jay again had just bought the house and they are set to be married this year
this weekend well yeah this weekend and the wedding was at their house so as you can imagine this was a
nightmare um so basically guys what we're asking you is the wedding is this weekend kit and j found a
new venue that's great uh we're going to have a fun little after party as well good stuff and in typical
kit in jay fashion after going through such an insane thing they have asked no one to get any gifts
for them but instead donate whatever they can to the try to they're trying to rebuild the house yeah
it was an amazing house that they bought they loved it so much and they would like to read i'm going to post
all the pictures so we are asking you guys the amazing empty netters community the amazing hockey community
if you can find it within your hearts we're going to post the link and the go
fund me or whatever it is it's not go fund me or excuse me it's not a go fund me because they
it's not a go fund because they take a bunch of money it's just a j's venmo yeah it's literally on their
writing website and it's just a link to jays van mo i'm going to put it on this pod and we're going to put
us up in the story too and if you guys could just find it in yourselves to donate a dollar donate
anything but like one dollar from you amazing hockey fans empty netters fans this community that we
love so much we are a family kett and j are our family we think it would just blow their minds
and be so cool if Kit and Jay being his partner who have had hockey become such an incredibly
important part of their life to see the hockey community give back to them and try to help them
rebuild their life and their home I think it would be just so so cool and would mean the world
to them so we're going to be donating obviously and if you guys want like we said we'll post that link
it would be so awesome for them and you guys would be the best for doing it just what a special
wedding gift from the empty netters community we're going to try i had i had said to dan i would i was trying to raise
25 grand and if literally a fifth of our followers gave one dollar because i know i'm not asking for
anything if you have one dollar to venmo j one buck we can hit that goal and it would just
truly change their lives because they literally lost everything and i will add for any of the
canadian followers that don't have venmo and want to contribute literally
literally DM me and I will
Zell that you can Zell me the money
and I will then moat to them and I will send you a picture
a screenshot of the receipt.
So you know I'm not recouping my Coachella funds.
But thank you guys for listening.
They are truly some of the nicest people
we've ever met and you all are some of the nicest people
we've ever interacted with.
And this would be an awesome wedding gift for them
this weekend. So thank you so much.
It would.
And in true kit fashion, our beer league teammate,
let's get into a beer league hotline.
Why not?
Kit would love that.
Kit's alive.
Kitt's looking down on this beer league hotline from heaven.
Kit from his apartment in Santa Monica.
From the Great.
From the Beyond.
Kit, we'll love this, not would.
He's living.
Two weeks ago, we were playing the team in our league that we hate.
It was just a regular season game,
but we always get up for it when we see them on the skis.
schedule. It's the third period of a tie game, and our power play has been awful. O for four,
and one kid on our team who always gets power play time was having a tough night, turning it over
too much. We get another peeper and we decide to pull this kid off the ice. He loses his
shit, screaming at us, slamming his stick, and then he leaves, literally goes to the locker room,
showers and goes home, leaving us with nine guys. We ended up winning the game and didn't even score
on that power play, but it was a joke. Then last week, he,
responded in to the game time email with no apology or explanation would you have let him play oh
yes he quit he quit on the boys shut up he quit on you i'm literally dude i'm too tired
he quit on you i am too tired for your bullshit he quit on you i'm too tired for it you're cheating
my boys ref you cheating my boys dude it's fucking beer league he left shut up for five seconds it's fucking
B-He left.
Obviously, you let him play, but he's a bitch, dude.
Like, you tell him he's a bitch.
When he shows up to the game, you go, you're a fucking clown, dude.
And you give him shit, for sure.
You definitely do a pump fake leave yourself.
You know, at some point, like something happens.
You go, I'm going home and then look at him like the biotch that he is.
Yeah, I mean, you make fun of him somehow.
I don't know if it's a stage thing like that.
or if he gets in, I would buy a binky.
And when he showed up into the game, I would toss to him and be like, hey, this is for you,
just in case you get upset tonight, we don't want you to have a tantrum.
Just in case, actually, hey, dude, halfway through the third, could you go warm up the showers
for us?
That would be fucking awesome.
Thank you so much.
There are several things going on here.
Number one, bitch.
Here's a question, though.
Number two, though, what are you guys doing to yanking guys?
That's where I was going, Dan.
maybe it's actually they're in the wrong.
And why are we taking him off power play?
He's one kid on a team who always gets power play,
he's having a tough night.
So he's a good player.
Yeah, yeah, he's on.
Well, I can't even believe they have like a power play.
We kind of just be like who's playing.
Yeah, I agree.
Well, I don't know.
We can't.
If we're losing, we're like, hey, certain guys go out there.
But yeah, you should just be like, whoever's up next should be out there.
It's a regular season game.
God, because I can relate to hating another team being like,
I want to fucking beat this one.
No doubt, but again, if it's a regular season game, it's, you just, whoever's out should be out.
The fact that you guys have a fucking P-P unit is kind of insane, but that's neither hearing right there.
Yeah, we're not even talking about that right now.
But the fact that you were a yank, you said your power play's 0 for four, this kid's not the only problem.
Yeah.
What are you yanking him off?
How bad could he possibly be if the game is tied?
Dude, I'm actually completely swinging.
You're right.
These guys are bitches.
No, no, no, no.
He's a bitch.
But you guys went hardo.
You went a little hardo here.
Like the four dudes who stayed on the ice?
Yeah, they're like, you got to get.
the problem the game's tied like you said he's having a tough night sure but how how much tougher than you
guys yeah not that bad so fucking yanking him off is such a hard oh move he is a bitch for slamming his stick
and leaving like that is crazy brother what do you cannot leave what do you think what was said like
like roll play that for me real quick they go like this yo dan uh sit this one wag's gonna go do this one
i think he goes like this what and we go just come on and like wags is at the ice and now it's
awkward because the rest like you dude no and we put you
on the bench. We go, dude, let's just try
somebody else. And you go, are you fucking kidding
me? Slam my stick. Yeah. And we go, dude,
fucking calm down. This is a fucking joke.
And then I walk off. And you go home.
You go home. You go home.
I think as, you know, I will say this,
what's that gift where the guy's like?
Yeah, I agree. I will say this.
The second you get off that
bench, you do, you do have to leave. You have to
shower and leave. You can't hang in there and drink beers and
sorry, boys.
Sorry, boys. Sorry, boy.
I got a little hot out there.
Dude, he's having a pop in the crowd.
You guys won, they won the gate.
He's like, that's the old boy.
Hackling the guy who replaced him.
Oh, nice shift 72, you fucking plug.
Oh, dude, you got, and did, not only do you have to leave, but also you have to be gone.
Gone.
Gone.
Gone.
Like, you can't be, like, finishing the shower.
No.
You got to be fucking.
Head down, walkout.
Yep.
So he did, once he left the bench, he did the appropriate next steps.
But, listen.
The inn.
The inn kills me, dude.
That's what you got.
got to do you ignore it's like it's George Costanza you get fired and you just show up for work the
next day this is exactly what this guy did like he's like this and whatever I'm in I didn't quit
dude I was just pissed on I was just pissed on you I don't remember shit we won right cool off
you guys needed the motivation we got the dub so listen this guy acted like a bitch playing
3D but you guys need to calm down yeah respectfully well I get it I understand wanting to beat
a rival team but respectfully you guys need to calm last question
What happens in that game?
I guess this already happened because it was last week.
But what happens in that game the first power play you get?
Dan, right back out there.
I think the entire bench looks at him as like,
you're going to be okay?
Maybe that's when you fuck with him.
Yeah.
The very next power play you get, you go.
Dan, you run an umbrella?
You want to go at the top of the overload there, Bubba?
Like, you got to fuck with him.
And I think you as Dan in this story have to go.
No, like, it's okay.
Yeah, no, you laugh it off.
Yeah.
No, you go out there and be like, fuck yeah, I want to go out there.
Hell yeah, I'm going out of bro.
If I don't score, get me off.
Yeah, I'd take five shots.
Snap your stick over someone's fucking shin pad.
Just get out of control.
Good for him, dude.
Good for him.
So guys calm down, but also my man here.
Honestly, everybody caught up.
Yeah, everyone just calmed out.
Let's finish off this episode with a Bauer blind ranking.
We're doing teams that should have won.
In the last decade.
Yeah, so teams that didn't win the cup from the last decade.
It's not necessarily the team that lost in the final.
It's just like, you're like, oh, shit, that team was nasty.
I can't believe they didn't win that year.
Blind ranking teams.
This is hard.
Because there's going to be some from this year already that I'm like, damn, that team fucking blew it again.
All right, wags.
Hit us.
2020 aves.
They won the next year.
They won two years later.
I think it was.
Yeah.
I think it was bolts, bolts.
Sorry.
They won two years after that.
But this was, this was like a good kale.
We were talking about kale earlier.
Like, this was like young good kale where I was like, oh shit, dude.
And they had everybody.
They had Gabe.
They had fucking McKinnon.
Five.
Five?
Whatever, dude.
Holy shit, dude.
What if he says fucking.
I'll go for, like, this, I'm interested by this rank.
Like, should have won.
I'm like, no.
Okay.
who I guess that maybe wasn't a good year
but like that's like one of the
that's probably the next best team that year
is it? Yeah I would guess
yeah you would guess bitch I all know shit yeah I know everything though
I know everything okay I mean five dude fuck them I just yeah like I don't know
like 2020 Tampa beat
beat Dallas
who sucked
and that Colorado team couldn't even get past
But I think they should have. That's what I'm saying.
You're a bitch, dude.
Four.
Five.
No, four.
I like, fuck you.
Make your, lie in your bed, dude.
I immediately said I could go four.
Like, I'm down to leave five open.
There might be a stinker in here.
But, like, yeah, I'm kind of like, whatever, dude.
Okay, four.
2024 Oilers.
One.
One.
That, probably.
They, dude, that.
rampage back down from 03
that plan from last year
like they were disgusting
I could go one here
and then
you know what
Vancouver like they they shouldn't even
they should have lost the Vancouver
you're a big shoulda woulda
coulda yeah that's what this whole blind ragging's about
here's my thing
this is the last decade
I don't know if we're gonna get them
but there were some wagoon
like the sharks
I know I know I know I know
Ducks teams, like of those days.
That could be nasty.
I think maybe two here.
Yeah.
Because I did chirp them.
I thought they had a pretty easy path last year.
Yeah.
But they beat Dallas.
They handled Dallas.
And I give them a lot of credit for that.
But I just kind of felt like they probably should have got like swept by Florida.
Yeah. I'm having a hard time with the word should have here because there are some that like literally on paper, I'm like, you should have won.
That's kind of.
Yeah.
And now looking at them when they didn't win, I'm like, you are a fucking.
loser.
And you don't, you shouldn't have because you don't deserve it.
You lost for a reason.
Yeah.
Maybe it is one, dude.
That's what I'm saying.
Yeah.
Let's go.
It was one.
One?
Yeah.
One.
2021 Islanders.
I wish that was five, dude.
Didn't we do four?
Oh, we did do four.
Hell yeah, dude.
Hell yeah, dude.
Hell yeah.
Islanders, dude.
You want me to.
Is there a six available?
The Islanders.
They were in, they were game seven.
Game seven Eastern Conference finals, one away from winning a cup probably.
Not probably.
Definitely.
The 20-21 Islanders.
The bubble year?
Yeah, they would have played the Montreal Canadians.
Oh, they were so good, dude.
Fuck you, dude.
The Islanders.
They did go to game seven, though.
That's what I'm saying.
Like, they were literally a bounce away from winning the Stanley Cup.
Five.
Five.
Agree.
Fucking get out of here, dude.
New York Islanders, what?
2015 ducks.
Fuck, that's a good team, dude, fuck!
They were gross.
Fuck! They lost to the Hawks?
Yeah, and the Hawks, uh, the Hawks lost.
No, they beat Tampa.
They beat Tampa.
In 2015?
2015, you said?
Yeah, that was their third, 10, 13, 15.
Yeah.
Yeah, so yeah, like, they win the cup if they get by the Hawks.
Yeah, probably.
And that was like seven games.
They were nasty.
I think that was seven games.
They were nasty.
That's actually one.
Can we go back and make them one?
No.
But I'm happy too there.
Yeah, we'll do two.
We'll do two.
Yeah, we'll do two.
2023 Bruins.
Dude.
I'm actually totally fine at three here.
I'm really fine at three here because honestly, man, like that team, this is because
of what you were just saying, though.
Like, you're now being like, you didn't deserve it.
But I'm like, that's literally the greatest regular season.
That's the best, they have the best record in the history.
They do.
They do.
They do.
Per what I have, there's been my whole mantra this season, regular season doesn't mean fuck all.
Yep.
And yeah, you get to that playoff series and I know Florida went to the cup, but just like, Boston went up, 3-1.
3-1, dude.
And yeah, but like they got beat in those games they lost because they weren't that fucking good.
They weren't.
They were a good regular season team.
Should they have gone further?
Like if they didn't catch Floyd, if they didn't catch a red hot somehow,
how wild card Florida team that year,
they would have gone to the Eastern Conference Finals,
but they would have lost to Florida.
Like they, oh, oh.
But if they beat Florida, they win the cup that year, I think.
I don't think so.
Do you think Vegas?
Vegas beats them.
Maybe.
That would have been a wild.
Cassidy, can you imagine?
That would have been so sick.
I could see them maybe being a two-year-
Because obviously, they were an insane team.
Yeah, I think the-Bershron gets hurt
in game 82 of the season.
Fucking disaster.
But I'm okay with the three there.
We got to live with it.
We don't have a choice, Dan.
We don't have a fucking choice.
I think
24 Oilers
beat that Bruins team
which is why I like
the Oilers being won
Me too
actually
Perfect list actually
There's a lot to be interpreted
We did it
All right folks
That's going to be it
For us this episode
It's a fucking late one
Thanks for bearing with us
Huge game tonight
Game 4
In Edmonton
Oilers against the stars
Cain stay alive
they'll be playing on Wednesday night,
but we keep on rolling the train
keeps chugging. Make sure you guys
tune into the live show Wednesday and Friday.
We've got happy hour coming out
on Friday. Fun, fun,
stuff. If you haven't watched that out.
New series that we're doing on our YouTube page.
Fun little comedy, talk show,
sketch show thing, making some jokes about hockey,
some other pop culture shit.
It's a blast. Subscribe to the YouTube.
Make sure you don't miss that.
Buy some merch. C.P.'s rocking it big time.
Come all.
Unbelievable.
stuff that we've designed. We've got more shit coming out.
I'm rocking our nice war road collabs. I got the
fucking netters on the back if you can see it.
It's beautiful stuff. We love you guys.
We'll catch you all week
long and until we see you.
Get some rest and skate hard.
