Empty Netters Podcast - Stanley Cup Finals Predictions: Oilers vs Panthers | EP.199
Episode Date: June 3, 2025The rematch is upon us and it’s going to be a doozy. The two best teams who treated us to a 7 game epic battle last year want to do it all over again. The boys are about to take off on the cup adven...ture, first stop is back to Edmonton. Can McDavid and the Oilers finally break the Canada curse? Can Tkachuk and the Panthers go back to back? Hear who they think is going to lift Lord Stanley when it’s all said and done. They blind rank the Conn Smythe winner and the beer league hotline is absolutely disgusting. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: True Classic. Upgrade your wardrobe and save on @trueclassic at trueclassic.com/[NETTERS]! #trueclassicpod SKIMS. http://www.skims.com/netters From technically constructed briefs and ultra-soft boxers to the most comfortable tanks and tees you’ll ever wear, these foundations will keep you going 24/7.00:00 INTRO00:36 NOT ICE26:36 FINALS PREDICTIONS1:10:06 COACHELLA UPDATE1:13:29 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE1:20:38 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I'm awake at night. I literally can't sleep when I think about how good both of these teams are.
Like we've said, it was these two every single time. There was no world where this rematch wasn't happening.
And now when you look at it, there's so much material for both teams to win this. I have no idea what we're going to see.
When I look at Florida, they have all the motivation in the world to take themselves to the next level.
When I look at Edmonton, there's all this Connor lore happening. I literally feel like we are in a AI universe where it is written for both teams.
So I don't know what's going to happen.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
Brought to you by BetMGM.
I'm your host, Dan Powers.
And sitting next to me, a man who I once saw so drunk that he forgot that he already took off his contact lenses.
And I then watched him for about five minutes try to peel the skin off of his eyeball
searching for his contact lens that was already in the case, Chris Powers.
As always, I thought it was up in my eye, dude.
I thought I was going to have the eye damage forever.
I remember that moment so vividly because I was so invested because you were like,
this is crazy, dude.
I can't get it.
Like, I can't find it.
And I was just laughing because you were so drunk and I was so drunk.
And then your eyes, your eye was slowly just getting redder and redder.
And you were like, tearing up.
You're like, this is insane.
I then just saw the contact case on the sink.
And I was like, are they out?
And you were like, oh, my God, they're out.
and you'd think I'm like, I couldn't see anything.
Yeah, you should have been like, I'm blind here.
Well, I think it was because when I'm that close to the sink, I can see.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, sure, sure, sure.
Dude, if I take it one step back, everything would have gone blurry and I would have known.
Yeah. Simple as that. Simple as that. Simple as Jack. Jack.
Simple jack. Simple jack.
Wow. Can you imagine that role?
Remember when I said that picture of you at the wedding?
Yeah.
That was good.
You were looking like Simple Jack, dude.
I know.
You were watching your head movies.
Is there a chance that they should make that movie?
Does it make Simple Jack?
Yeah.
I think they should make all of them.
I want to see Satan's Alley.
Yeah.
I want to see Simple Jack.
I want to see Fatty's Fart Camp.
Part.
I think it would make money.
I think if you made Sipple Jack, it would make money.
Yeah.
Top of thunder, though.
Tough role.
Tropic Thunder is the funniest movie I've ever seen.
Dude, they're making a less Grossman movie.
No.
Yep.
No, they're not.
Yeah, they are.
Tom was riffing scenes while shooting Mission Impossible.
It's crazy to me that Tom is going to follow up Top Gun Maverick and the Mission Impossible finale with a less Grossman.
And win Oscar.
He's going to win Oscar for it.
He should.
It was perfect.
The casting in that movie was the most knocked out of the park thing I've ever seen.
The greatest cameos in the history of film.
Yeah.
Like, it's unbelievable.
Oh.
Do you have the bandwidth in you to talk about the Harry Potter series?
Yes.
Yeah?
I think so.
We mentioned, we're on a bit of a TV train here.
We were talking about the disappointment that is the last of us.
We're getting a Harry Potter series.
It's been talk of the town.
We've seen casting with some great stuff.
I think it's Lithgow, right?
Lithgow's Dumbledore.
Look at the whole thing right here, dude.
Watch this, bro.
Ready?
Yeah.
This is what I'm going to do.
You got to do it faster than that.
We've got listeners here.
This guy.
Dominic McLaughlin is playing Harry Potter.
We're going to build up to the three kids, but okay, you're starting off hot.
Ready?
The news flash is we got our Harry, Ron, and Hermione.
We're going to do a letter grade on everyone and out.
Just based on looks?
Just based on how you feel.
Okay.
Dominic McLaughlin.
There's Harry.
Ready?
I would like to preface this by saying, these three are children and everyone be nice to them.
Like, they didn't make this decision.
They are young kids who are trying to be actors and they were casting Harry, Ron, and Hermione.
every kid should go up for this.
So don't be mean to them.
Millions of kids.
I'm going to give.
Okay.
Ready?
Yeah.
Hold on.
Okay.
I'm ready.
Three, two.
We're doing, oh, we're both going.
Yeah.
Three, two, one.
A plus.
I'm giving A pluses to all the kids.
This, I refuse to be mean to a child.
D.
This is a D.
And it's partially not his fault because...
Let me see him again.
Look at that.
You do?
I don't want to take a shot.
He looks great.
I don't want to take a shot.
And also, it's bullshit that they're showing a photo of Daniel Radcliffe.
Like, no, it's not bullshit.
No, it is.
That's exactly what I was about to say.
No, it is bullshit.
Because what did they do for Daniel Radcliffe?
You've got to show maybe art that we've seen, maybe cover art.
Yeah, I'll show you cover art of Harry right next to young Daniel Radcliffe, and you'll go, er-e-e-or-be.
Is that the same person?
And then I'll show you cover art of Harry and Daniel Radcliffe, and then Dominic McGlachlan.
You're such a twat.
You're showing a photo.
of Daniel Radcliffe in character, in costume, glasses, and a drawn-on lightning bolt on his forehead.
Dominic McLaughlin doesn't even have a scar on his forehead.
Yeah, like, you're not allowed to show a picture of him in character, you shithead.
Okay.
So that's not fair.
Yes, it is, dude.
No, it's not fair.
Wait till you see Dom in costume.
I bet he's going to blow your cock off your body.
He's not at all.
Because a kid could never do that.
That would be illegal.
Look at this, Dan.
Fuck you.
Yeah, what, what am I looking at?
That's young Daniel Radcliffe looking fucking perfect.
You, this is the most, fucking perfect.
This is the most tainted.
That's literally just cast, that's the casting shoot, dude.
You're out of control, but you're insane.
You're out of control.
Move on.
Okay, so he gets a D because he doesn't look anything like Harry.
He looks like an 11-year-old boy.
This kid would get last in a Harry Potter look-like contest if he dared to do.
Harry Potter is a fictional character
with a description of what that fictional character looks like.
In writing.
In writing that we can't delete.
But we haven't seen him in...
This is insane.
He's actually got green eyes.
This kid sucks.
Does he really?
No.
He does not.
You fucking...
Nice try.
Nice tried, buddy.
But you didn't know.
Because I thought that I was going to give him a C.
Does he have?
What color eyes does he have?
Blue.
Piercing blue.
Yeah, whatever.
Bitch.
This kid's a D.
Okay. Ron Weasley is played by Alistair Stout, which is just...
One of the most remarkable British names you'll ever hear.
Alistair Stout.
I fucking... I dare that kid's mom to say that he didn't put...
When she had a baby, if she didn't put in a Harry Potter name generator website,
and it spat out Alistair Stout, that is literally the only way this kid was in.
Yeah, correct.
Okay, here he is.
Yeah.
That's what he looks like?
three, two, one.
A plus.
And I actually mean it.
A plus, perfect.
He says incredible.
And dude, this is why I'm enraged by Dominic McLaughlin.
Because Dominic McLaughlin, and I know it's a big role because he's, you know, Harry's in every scene and he's got to do all the fucking acting.
And Dominic McLaughlin has previously acted in Grow, an upcoming comedy on Sky.
And I'm like, okay.
But, dude, Alistair Stout, Dan, doesn't have any acting credits.
Yeah.
legend this guy this is my Ron Wiesley dude this is perfect yeah i have nothing to say and it's not
only he does look a lot like Rupert Grint he does but that's not even why it's an A plus it's
Rupert Grint looks like the fucking character and so does Alistair stout sure that's exactly what
dude I can see him with a little dirt on his cheeks and I'm like Ron yeah take a shower and
he's like ah you know it's my bad I think he's great great hell yeah Alistair okay
Hermione Granger
played by
Arabella Stanton
Yeah
There she is
Tell me when you're ready
Ready
Well I know what you're gonna say
You fucking bitch
Three
Two
One
C plus
C plus
I'll tell you what
I saw a tape
Of one of our auditions
Fantastic
Really?
Yeah she's crushing it
I believe it
And I actually
Great teeth
Dude I was remember
I was remember to say
I actually really like
Her teeth
Herrani is described
With having really big teeth
Yeah
Bushy hair
She's got
Bushy hair.
Busy hair, big teeth.
I've got...
And I was like,
oh, actually,
I love the big of teeth.
It's spot on.
Her audition tape was phenomenal.
She's cute as a button.
I think she's going to nail it.
And I've got things to say about this later,
but that's my grade for now.
She previously starred as Matilda in Matilda,
the musical on the West End.
Love that.
So you know she can sing.
Hermione famously,
you have a great singer.
So that's huge.
Yeah, sure.
Well, fine.
I'll come back to it when you go back to it.
Yeah, yeah.
C plus.
So so far the kids
are doing horribly
except for Ron.
Albus Dumbledore
played by John Lithgow.
I love it.
Ready?
Yeah, yeah.
Three, two, one.
A minus.
Okay.
And the minus for me
is only because
he's not British.
And I know I don't...
Good.
I don't care about that stuff
normally because I think
it's so fucking stupid
when people get work.
Hey, idiots.
Do you know what acting is?
pretending. So I usually don't care about that, but I'm such a...
It was kind of cool that the movies did that. Yeah, it was. And I'm, I mean, like, we denied Robin Williams.
I know, which is like one of the great tragedy. It's a tragedy. But I thought it was cool.
But John, John's earned it. And as a, as a huge fan of British cult, I'm a Brit at heart.
Yeah. I love being in that, in that country. I love being in London. I love British cinema, British TV. I'm obsessed.
So I think it's really cool when productions do an all-British cast.
But I'm not going to hold it against it.
He's still in the ace.
John Lithgow is phenomenal.
I think he'll do a great job.
I like it because we've seen him be funny.
And Dumbledore's quirky as hell, bro.
Dumbledore will snap a towel around with you every now.
He will.
Especially in the men's locker room, as we found out.
That is true.
He'll snap a towel around with you.
But he's also can be scary.
Like not just a mean, but he can be seen.
scary. There are moments in the series where they describe Harry's like, holy fuck, when he's
fighting Voldemort and five. And we've seen him be scary in Dexter. Exactly. That's what I mean.
So I actually really like this one where I'm like, oh, dude, he can hit both sides of that.
The Trinity Killer. And I liked, I liked how old, could you find out how old Lithgow is?
Yeah, I sure can. Because Dumbledore in book one, I think, is already like 105. So it's like,
you know, he doesn't need to be spry. But there were moments. Let's go is, uh, he's, he's,
He's almost 80.
He's 79.
That was my fear.
Dude, like, are you going to make it through this?
This is going to take, like, 10 years.
Yeah, that was my fear that we were having another Richard Harris.
In the middle of shooting again.
Another thing Richard Harris.
And as sad as it was that Richard Harris died,
I did think there were things that he couldn't have done in later movies.
The duel with Voldemort would have been difficult for Richard Harris.
So, like, this is- If I know anything about TV shows,
per our last conversation, this next season is going to come out
fucking five years later.
By the time we're dueling.
Voldemort. I can't even talk about that. I can't even talk about it. So I'm like, dude,
that worries me a little bit, but I love, I think he's a great actor and I love him for this role.
I also, I'll take a moment to say, folks, we know that this is our Stanley Cup final preview episode.
We won't take too long on us. We'll get there. But we love Potter. Give us a break.
Okay, now this is going to fuck, I'm going to get in trouble of this, because I actually don't know how to say this guy's name. I don't know how to pronounce his name.
Oh, do you want to try? No.
Are you sure? I bet his last name is Essie Addu.
First name?
I don't want to try.
P-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-P-A-A-P-A-A-P-A-A-P-A-P-A-D-A-V-A-A-P-A-S-V-E-V-A-B-S-V-E-I-B-I-B-I-B. I don't even say a letter.
I was going to say B.
It's like, what, if we're doing this based on, I mean,
Are we doing this based on what I like about the casting or like the look is what you seem to be doing?
Well, no, no.
Because I don't know what these kids have, kids have never acted in shit.
So it's hard for that to factor in.
Sure.
You know, and in fact, I actually screwed up.
I think this dude is a fucking awesome actor.
Yep.
Like, I love him.
I am giving it an F because I am very afraid of what clearly the producers did not consider.
Yes, too.
casting a gorgeous black man as a greasy-haired pale, pasty asshole who gets ruthlessly bullied
by our hero's father and his best friends.
Like, that's not going to look awesome, who are all going to be cast as white.
Yes.
Because of the children that they've cast.
Like, I just, it makes me a little nervous, but, you know, as an actor, I think he's awesome.
That's why I'm right in the middle.
I'm going higher than B.
I'm going like, I'm going to A, flat A.
But I just think it's a, I'm a little nervous.
They've opened a can of warrants.
I think it's also tough that like,
we've got this.
Even the bullying is the best point.
Yeah.
But even that, ignoring that,
he's the only teacher that Harry hates.
And it's, from the casting of scene,
he's the only black teacher.
Yeah.
So I'm like, why does, we have Harry just hating this beautiful black man.
Like, why do we do that?
I was about to say no spoilers,
but if you haven't read or seen Harry Potter one by now,
then get fucked.
Sorry.
Yeah.
Dude, someone's breaking in to steal the stores for a son.
and Harry's like this, I think it's that guy.
And everyone's like, every turn.
He's like, Harry, chill, dude.
Every turn.
He's like, it's Snape.
And it's like, what is your problem, dude?
Like, Harry, dude.
It's just like, Dominic.
Yeah, it scares me for that reason.
For the actor, a, yeah.
Yep.
But it scares me for that.
Well, can we circle back to Hermione then?
Because I have a similar concern.
I do too.
But I actually don't know anything about this girl.
Like, what is her heritage?
I don't know, but Arabella Stanton is a, she, again, her audition tape,
amazing, but with, there's a, a world where she has some Hispanic heritage, which it appears
I don't know if she does, but I don't mean to assume. I think the name Arabella adds to that
assumption. And I just worry that when the, a majority of book two is her being bullied and called
a mudblood, that is also scary to me. Yeah, too, like, oh, man, that's crazy. But again, it's
magical world. It's, it's, you know, I just think that these things should be thought about when we're
doing stuff like this. I wonder how they're going to navigate the same thing. That's actually crazy.
Okay, Minerva McGonigal. All of this is coming, I'm worried. Yeah. It's all this is coming. I can't
believe the series is happening, dude. Like, yeah, I have another thing to say about that. Janet McTeer.
Yeah. Three, two, one. A plus. I was going to say B plus. I think she's, I think she's incredible
actress I think she looks amazing.
You know, I...
She's kind of hot still.
Dude, I was so...
And there's something about Minerva.
She's always...
She's a gambling fiend.
You're actually gonna be talking me into it.
She's a gambling fiend.
She's like, McGonagall's...
She's naughty.
She's naughty. She's naughty.
She's naughty girl.
Maganagal, dude.
Magallian.
She's in the final reckoning.
I like...
Who is she?
She's like the...
Oh, yeah.
She's like the vice president.
She's like the right-hand woman.
I, this one is hurt for me because of my Maggie Smith love.
And it's completely unfair to Janet.
Yeah, you got to remove it.
Completely unfair.
But I'm just like, Maggie Smith is maybe not who I even would have thought to be
McGonagall at first.
You had no, you had no Alan Rickman love, brother?
Papa's not getting a hit because of your Alan Rickman love?
I do have Alan McMill, but just Maggie Smith.
Oh, she's dame.
Goaded.
And I'm just like, now that is McGonigal to me.
And I'm like, what are you going to do it?
What are you, Janet?
Are you going to do a Maggie Smith impression?
And she isn't.
But I'm like, now, I'm worried.
Janet's goaded.
She's going to be great.
I mean, Maggie's goaded.
But Janet is great.
She's going to be phenomenal.
Ruby is Hagrid is played by Nick Frost.
Is there, we don't even need to count down.
Is there a score higher than April's?
If you have not seen, if you have not seen hot fuzz,
if you've not seen Sean of the Dead.
If you are unfamiliar with Nick Frost,
he is going to be so fucking good as Hagrid.
I can't wrap my head around it.
Dude, I think this one,
I was excited to get to this one,
because this is more what I was like,
this is so spot on.
Oh, like how have we not found actors like this?
Yeah.
To do exactly their job here.
Yeah.
That's how I feel about this guy.
So immediate A plus plus.
And this is another one where Robbie was gas.
And, you know, I'm like, but it's still, these will be dueling incredible performances.
Yeah.
Okay.
Argus Filch, Paul Whitehouse.
Okay.
Ready?
And this is going to be a funny take for me.
Three, two, one.
C minus.
So, dude.
Paul Whitehouse looks too lovely to me.
Dude, so he does.
And I know nothing about his game.
I apologize to Paul.
I'm completely unfamiliar.
with his game. But this fucking picture that I'm looking at on Variety.com is so funny to me that I'm
just like, I love this guy. I see. There's just like a lot of, I think he'll be great. He's like
a crotchety old British man. But he just looks like a lovely man. He looks so. I need Filch to be an
asshole. Yeah, right. He looks so happy at this though. I just fucking love it, dude. Holy shit. But no,
maybe you're right. Maybe he's too, maybe he can't get the friendliness out of him. Yeah. I should have gone
B. I should have gone B.
Okay. The last one.
Okay. Professor Quirrell, Luke Thallon.
Yeah, it's great. Three, two, one. A.
Great. Great.
It looks great. Great.
And are those the only officials? I think so. This article came out
five days ago. Five days ago.
Yeah, yeah. So I think this is who has been announced.
So yeah, here's the thing. I think overall, pretty good scores. I know mine, I was given A pluses
everywhere. I want to, I want to reiterate.
The Papa one, I think he is out of this world.
I just, I worry, guys.
I'm just afraid.
They opened a can of worms.
I think they're 100% right about that.
I hope it doesn't get at control.
My final thought on the Potter series is, listen,
CP and I are two of the biggest Potter fans you will possibly ever meet.
We would challenge anyone on earth to Potter trivia.
Correct.
We have read each of the books, I would reckon over a hundred times.
Correct.
I am very upset with HBO, Warner's, and Hayday,
who is my, David Heyman is my favorite producer alive.
You got the source material, right?
You've got this world.
The wizarding world is about to become,
whether you like it or not, the MCU.
Yeah, wow.
Why this first?
Why didn't we do a Marauder show?
Why didn't we do a Goblin War show?
Why didn't we do a Peverell Brothers show?
We didn't need to do the seven books first.
Again.
Because as we've seen, I watch these movies 20 times a year.
Everyone watches them during Christmas.
These movies are not far enough removed.
We didn't need to reboot this.
Like Daniel, Emma, and Rupert, my friends,
they're so young still that they look like them still.
Like they look, Daniel and Emma and Rupert
look like Harry Ron and Hermione still.
They don't look like, oh yeah, I once played,
like if Emma Watson walked down the street right now
and a young girl saw her, she'd be like,
holy fuck, that's Hermione.
It wouldn't be a, that's an old woman
who you'd have to be told, played Hermione once.
I just think it's too close.
And I, regardless of how amazing they're going to be,
our entire generation,
I think millennials especially are going to be like, whether you love it or not, be like,
boo.
No, yeah.
They're either going to be like, boo, they're going to be like, it's not, it's not my,
it's not my Harry Potter.
You think Dominic's my Harry, dude?
Yeah, like I genuinely think you're like, this is not my Harry Potter.
Yeah.
And I think that's a shame because I think there's a high chance.
Like I said, I fucking love this producer.
HBO is the gold standard.
Warner's is incredible.
I don't, I don't think you will be able to get past how heavy the love for the
original eight movies is going to be. You should have done this with something else. You should
have done the prequel story that we've always talked about. Like, give me the show that starts with
Dumbledore and his friendship with Grindewald getting to Hogwarts and then like that,
getting into his later life and becoming a professor. And then Harry's parents getting to,
like that is what we should be doing first. And then in 10, 15 years, when the Wizarding World
franchise is this big thing.
and you have a huge generation of people who didn't grow up with these movies.
Then you do this.
Yeah, the whole series could catch up to it.
By the time you've seen the Voldemort World War I,
and then you launch the series that is the books.
And I'm like, okay, I'm ready for the story.
I will also say this.
This is my note to the producers.
You have the opportunity here.
I think these movies, movies one through seven part two, are masterpieces.
I really do.
Masterpieces.
I do.
I think it is so difficult
to translate
how big this world is
and I think that they're phenomenal.
They are Oscar nominated films.
Not very much though.
Doesn't matter.
They have some Oscar nomination.
Yep.
Fair.
And they're brilliant, dude.
I like it.
Dude, I love them.
Don't get me wrong.
A lot of the gripes
were people going,
oh, you know, you took out this,
you took out that.
Our biggest gripe is
Dobby is one of the most important
characters in the story
and he's not in movies
three through seven part one.
That is a catastrophic, or three through seven, you know what I'm saying.
Yeah.
That is a catastrophic bag fumble.
But you now have a series, which is giving you ample time and space to put in everything.
My message, just fucking stick to the books.
To stick to the basics.
Like you fucking ass clowns.
if you don't just stick to the fucking books,
the source material that has delivered
what many consider the greatest story of all time,
I don't give a fuck if it is a direct word-for-word translation.
In fact, I would like it more.
If you fucking twats try to put in any bullshit,
any stupid messaging that you're trying to ram down people's throats
for whatever reason or not,
then you have completely failed this mission.
Dude, the script is done.
It's done.
They're written.
The books.
Read them.
They're written.
They're written.
Higher a writer.
Hire us, if you want to,
to literally turn a page and translate it into your script.
Because if you don't do that, you're the biggest assholes I've ever fucking seen.
Agree.
And you're expelled from Hoggworth, which is worse than death.
Send in your wands to be terminated.
Wow.
Okay.
We got to take a quick break.
When we come back, we're getting into the hot ice of the Stanley Cup finals preview,
and you're getting a Coachella update.
Wow.
The finals are here, babes.
So we are getting in on the action as usual with BetMGM,
and we are ripping the NHL hat trick jackpot.
It's what we've been talking about.
If you think that we're not getting a hat trick in this final,
you are out of your mind.
We love that Anytime Goalscorer action,
so that's what we're going to be hitting.
And if your player scores three or more goals getting that hat trick,
you are going to be entered in your chance to win the jackpot of $10,000
bucks on top of winning your anytime goal score. How do you like me now? That is unbelievable stuff from
BETMGM. You got to get in on this game. It's so, so good. We're going to be ripping the
finals. At every single game, we're going to be riding with you. Let's do this baby. And when you
sign up for BetteMGM right now with promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you were going to get up to
$1,500 in bonus bets. So you can bet up to $1,500. And if you lose it, you get it all back right into
your account. Bet M-G-M is taking care of you.
like no one else in the game. So get signed up today and join in on the fun with your boys.
Gambling problem. Call 1-800-800-Hop-N-Y or text HopeNY or text Hope NY-NY-4-667-369-0-0-0-0-0-Masthus
in Massachusetts. Call 1-800-3-1-1-8-1-800-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-8-1-B
first-Bet-Eus. First-Bet offer for new-8-1-1-1-BORRRRROL.
First-Bet offer for new-A-MGORROL.
BonusBETMGEM-GM-GM-GM-GOR.
See bedMGM.com for terms. U.S.
promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Huge thank you to our sponsors.
We got to get into hot ice.
Do you want to talk Coachella first or second?
I think second.
Yeah, what's I do?
Let's talk hot ice, baby.
Here we are, folks.
Hopefully you didn't skip that Harry Potter section because that was great shit.
But now we are talking hockey.
We are talking the Stanley Cup final.
We are talking rematch.
We are talking Edmonton, Alberta.
We are talking sunrise, Florida.
We are going back to back.
The Panthers first oilers, holy hell.
The Oilers are, they open at minus 115.
The Panthers open at minus 105.
Dan, are you ready?
And we've never solved how to do this,
so we're just going to do it like we always do it.
Yeah.
Do you have your answer?
I do.
Mine might be fucking bat shit.
I love it.
I've been bat shit I'll play off, though, so here we go.
Ready?
Three, two, one.
Oilers and five.
Wow.
Now, hold on.
Let me just say.
A lot of Florida fans listening right now
are losing their minds.
Guys, I want to be clear.
I'm still on the bandwagon.
I'm, I'm, I've been,
welcomed in the family,
Oilers fans, I love you guys.
We're heading there tomorrow,
we're heading there today.
When you're listening to this,
I'll be on a plane.
I can't fucking wait to get there.
I am rooting for the Panthers.
I'm on your band,
I'm with you guys.
I'm battling with you.
This is just doing my due diligence
on the podcast.
What is my genuine honest
feeling, I believe that the Oilers will win this.
I'm going to tell you this much, because I've always said, our predictions aren't necessarily
what we're rooting for. I'm just like saying what I think's going to happen. And this
playoff has been so fun that I say this, I say this anecdote a lot where you cannot know
who you're rooting for until the game kind of starts. Like, sometimes in neutral Super Bowls,
I think that. I'm like, I don't know what I'm rooting for. And then the game starts and I'm so
clearly like, oh, I want this team to win. Yeah, yeah. I'm withholding my route for like when
we, maybe we're just getting there, and Edmonton obviously has the advantage,
because we're going to be in the mixer.
Yeah, true.
You just kind of get caught up with the fans.
For sure.
Like, I can feel myself being like, I root for Edmonton when I'm in Editing,
and I root for Florida to win when I'm in Florida.
When we've been planning this and like, guys, we've got so much to tell you,
we're doing an awesome watch party at the pint on Thursday.
Yep.
Between games one and two, we'll post all about that.
Make sure you're there if you're in Edmonton.
And when we're doing this stuff, shout out our boy Taylor, as we're planning everything,
I feel like an Oilers fan.
Like, I'm like, fucking Edmonton.
Let's go.
I can't fucking wait.
We're going to be doing all this fun shit.
So yeah, that totally happened.
Yep.
So here's what's happened, though.
I picked the Kings in seven in the first round.
Because I was generally like, the Kings are better than the Oilers.
They beat them all year.
And after the first two games, you had to be insane to think it was even going seven.
And then they always went.
Even five.
Yep.
And then I was like Vegas, because I was on Vegas.
I had Vegas to win the cup in my brackets.
I was like, Vegas is sick.
I picked Vegas in four against Minnie, and they won, but it was a joke.
And then I picked them in five to beat the others because I really thought Vegas had this other
gear. They did not. So I'm out here
banging the Vegas drum, Oilers dust him
in five. I'm out here banging the star's drum,
Oilers dust him in five.
If you can't beat him, dude,
oilers in five. I like it.
And here's why
these two teams seem so good
that it would be insane for that to end that quickly.
But it could, I could
see them taking
two at home and Florida going
doesn't matter, we just got a hold serve
in Florida, but they drop one
in overtime. And then I'm like, oh-oh, now
you're in Edmonton in game five and you just lost. Good rationale. And you know what's interesting
for me, and this might get rammed down my throat, if someone were to win in five or God
forbid a sweep, I actually think it's only Florida. I think only Florida could be capable of it.
Yeah. I think this Florida team is too professional. I think they're too experienced. They clearly are
not tired. Yeah. So I don't. They're too tired. I just don't see them losing like that. But I do think
that this is going the distance.
You know, I think that this is just going to be a blood,
a blood bath of truly, it might go win, win, win, win,
like it truly might just go back and forth,
back and forth until the odd number of seven.
This is the, this is the, the, um,
I feel like this is about to be the witchiest final ever because I,
I have some magic shit that I need to discuss with you.
That's going down.
This is a heavy magic episode.
Dude, wow, true.
This is like, this, this is why.
if you were asking me gunned to my head who wins the cup I say oilers because of this mysticism that I'm about to read okay and you want to do it right now yeah I'm gonna give you a ton of it fuck yeah and it's just it feels like something's in the ether when you hear all this shit um here's a basic one but just like McDavid scoring the OT winner in four nations this year just happened this midseason you're like uh oh something's happening for Connor it feels like we do have McDavie
David Lohr going on right now.
That's what I'm talking about.
Like he got married last summer.
Boom.
New husband.
He's like,
Four nations champion.
Also,
whole country on his back.
Even before that,
Leon signs his extension
and like now all the attention's on Connor.
Like he's up for extension this summer.
Like what's going to happen with that?
Four nations.
Canada getting killed in World Juniors and then he goes,
dude,
don't worry.
Boom.
I score the golden goal.
The new golden goal.
It's me.
And then Canada hasn't a cup in a billion fucking years.
And he's like,
don't worry, dude.
You have me.
It's coming.
Yeah.
Okay.
Since there have been, if you go up and look it up, there's been a back-to-back final rematch, a decent amount of times.
But you've got to remember there were six teams in the league for a long time, 12 teams in the league for a long time.
So it was way more common.
Since the NHL had more than 20 teams, so it was harder.
It has literally only happened twice since the league got bigger than 20 teams.
Two times ever.
The New York Islanders and the Edmonton Oilers played in 83 and 84.
And the Pittsburgh Penguins and the Detroit Red Wings played in 2008 and 2009.
that's the only two times it has ever happened.
In both times, the team that lost the first one,
won the second one.
And in both times, it was how Gretzky got his first cup
and Crosby got his first cup.
You're telling me...
Now, I tweeted that.
I tweeted that exact thing.
Obviously, tweet goes nuclear.
Edmonton fans are like, here it is, perfect, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
Florida fans were like, yawn, don't give a fuck.
Yeah.
And like I said, like, you know...
And it was, yeah, it was like, loss, win.
loss win and this one was like loss and then i was like we'll see and people were like loss
yeah yeah yeah the other big one is i think waino and sid were like 21 22
oh connor is 28 yeah yeah so like it's not it's not as picture perfect but like it is who are his
cops right wayne and sid like people always talk about those two guys when you're talking about
connor mac david so very cool because the revenge revenge we always talk about when a team is
up against the wall with three losses it's hard to match that desperation
Sure.
Revenge is a, it's hard to match the losers' fire.
Sure.
When you're in the rematch, the team that lost like fucking hates you so much.
The team that won is like, let's get them again.
But it's like, well, they want your head on a spike.
So that's a huge factor.
We've also seen a lot of teams, like, teams have lost the Stanley Cup back to back years.
So like that has happened to.
Okay, here's, I have three more Conor Lour things.
Love it.
I'm going to give you this one.
next.
We talked about this a little bit after the games,
but it's the touching of the conference finals trophies.
So the Panthers have won the Eastern Conference now three times.
In 1996 and 2023, when they won it, they touched it.
And then in 2024, they did not touch it and won.
Now this year, obviously they did not touch it again.
So they have that going for them, which is nice.
but the oilers did.
They did touch it this year, and they didn't do so in 2023 or 2006.
So the last two times they went, they didn't touch it, and then now they did.
So I know the Panthers have their like, well, we also did our good luck thing,
but I just feel like the Panthers having done the same thing twice,
and then the third cup they made, and they changed it in one,
and then the Oilers having done the same thing twice,
and then the third cup they make, they changed it.
I just feel like it's the seesaw swings to them on that one.
The Panthers go, we didn't touch it again, but I go, it doesn't matter.
The oilers are on the don't touch, don't touch, and now everyone touched.
I don't like that one.
Dude, you're crazy.
No, I don't like that one.
That one might have won them the cup.
You made a great decision that won you the cup and then you are right back and you did the same thing.
Like that is like being like this.
You've been perfect and now we're going to penalize you for continuing to be perfect.
I don't like that one.
I see where you coming from, but poo-poo to you, sir.
I don't like that.
Okay, and then this one is epic, dude.
Starting in 2017,
whoever knocks the Toronto Maple Leafs out of the playoffs
loses to whoever wins the cup.
In 2017, the capitals knocked them out,
and then they lost to Pittsburgh, who won the cup.
In 2018, Boston knocked them out, Boston, or sorry,
there's a skip in 2018.
2019, Boston knocks them out.
They go to the cup, lose to the cup winner, obviously.
2020, Blue Jackets knock him out.
They lose to Tampa.
Tampa wins the cup.
2021, they lose to Montreal.
Montreal loses to Tampa.
Tampa wins the cup.
2020, they lose to Tampa.
Tampa goes to the cup.
Los to Colorado, wins the cup.
2023, loses to Florida, who loses to Vegas because they won the cup.
2024 loses to Boston, who lost to Florida, who won the cup.
2025, they lost to Florida, who, naturally now has to lose to the team that wins the cup.
What's funny is posting this.
and including 17 is so dumb.
Like, just do it from 19 to 25.
Like, then it's actually a streak.
19 to 25 is the streak.
Then it's actually a streak.
Yeah, let's put it.
The omission makes me wonder,
maybe there's another skip.
Maybe it's a, it's on a, uh,
it's an eight-year cycle.
It's on a classic eight-your-science.
It's like, whoop, whoop, who-oh.
Okay, so that's scary.
That's a tough Toronto curse.
Yeah, that's good.
And then this one I found, which I couldn't believe, Dan.
Since the expansion era,
Edmonton is only the eighth team in NHL history
to reach a Stanley Cup
after losing the first two playoff games they play.
If you lose your first two games,
presumably you're not that good and, you know,
what's going to happen?
And then you make the Cup.
Only eight teams have ever done that.
The other ones are the 2018 capitals,
the 2014 Kings, the 2011 Bruins,
the 2006 Hurricanes, the 2002 wings,
the 93 Canadians, the 92 Penguins.
Literally all of them won the Cup.
If you ever lose your first two games of the playoffs
and then make the cup, you win.
You win the cup every time.
That is a phenomenal stat.
That is the craziest stat I've ever heard.
That is a phenomenal stat.
And of all of the ones that we have read,
that is one, if you are an Oilers fan,
you're like, oh yeah.
We're doing it.
Because that actually doesn't feel like mysticism bullshit.
That is performance stuff.
That's like a, we were in a hole,
we dug out of it, and now we're just fucking buzzing.
Totally agreed you.
I had the same reaction because you're like, you go,
there's a rallying moment in the locker room.
You go, boys, what do we get?
We've been to get fucking knocked out in the first round.
Jesus Christ.
And then everyone steps up, steps up,
and then you are,
you go on a run and you win the cup.
You're buzzing.
I like that one a lot.
That's the fucking most nuts thing.
I hate that stat if I'm a Panthers fan.
Hate it.
Dude, the Connor lore.
Connor lore is everywhere.
He will not be denied this year.
It is, it's something deep, deep in his psychosis,
deep in his brain.
He's seen these stats.
He's maybe creating these stats.
dude he's building a he's building a whole universe around himself that ends with them winning the cup
this yeah i mean it's it's insane by the way did you see fucking frank sarajevoly goes on
daily face off the other day and they were like what's one word to describe this oilers team and he
said inevitable and didn't credit us yeah i did come like frank give me a fucking break pal
we've been doing this since round one i did see that but that is that is connor that's this
Oilers team, man. It is, they are, they are just, they are making everything that makes sense and has
logic. They are making no sense. There's a lot of magic, dude. And illogical. They're just winning.
Who, how do the Panthers win? To me, the Panthers win by being the exact team they are.
And what's scary is, I think the Panthers, both on paper and in practice are a better team.
Uh-huh. I think they have, I think they have the advantage everywhere. And that includes, like, it is
Connor McDavid and Leon Dysidele better than Sasha Barkhoff and Matthew Kachuk,
probably their two best forwards on Florida.
Yes.
But, like, I mean, if you aren't on board with Sasha Barcroft being a top five player now,
I don't know what's wrong with you.
It's more just like the way they play and the way they match up.
That is a problem.
I will say you're gone.
Just to answer your question, the Panthers, all they have to do is just be them.
Don't be, don't do anything different.
Yeah.
Be yourself.
play exactly how you have been playing.
And what this Oilers team has done
is make every single team they've played
since game three against L.A. play differently.
They play Connor and Leon for the last two minutes of every period.
The amount of goals scored in the last five to two minutes of periods
in these playoffs with the Oilers team is astounding.
Yeah. Like go look it up. It's ridiculous.
How many times they have capitalized either drawing a penalty
or getting a goal in the last five to two minutes of the period is absurd.
So you need to combat that.
You have the best defensive center in the NHL on your team if you're the Florida Panthers.
You probably have a top five one as well in Lundell.
You have an insane defensive player who also has offensive firepower in Brad Marchand
that you just picked up.
Like Sam Reiner too.
Sam Bennett.
You have the tools to combat that.
are you going to be the first
fucking team these playoffs
that picks up on the fact that Edmonton does that?
You would hope so.
You beat them last year in the cup
because you knew it,
even though you let it get close.
So in my opinion,
Florida just has to play
like themselves.
Do not let this team
and the weird lineup shit that they,
not weird, but the creative,
creative, impressive lineup shit that they do
stump you.
Don't let it rattle you.
And presumably you'll be fine.
Yeah, I've heard so much about the oilers checking, the oilers checking, keeping everything to the perimeter.
No one can get to the middle.
No one can get shots.
Dallas shoots four times in the third period.
And it's been confusing to watch.
If Florida enters these games and gets three shots in the third period of important momentum swinging games, then yeah, it is, the oilers are doing something extremely special.
And I've got my eye on that big time.
Talking about the matchups, dude, because you said that, and obviously these are subject to,
change but I will say and here comes like criticizing Edmonton's depth again even though that's just
been rammed down my throat the entire postseason rightfully so and deservedly so but when you read this
because the hymen injury blows dude like that is that oh it's not good when you go projected first
line for florida evan rogerickov sam riner great line projected first line for oilers rn h mcdavid
Corey Perry. And I'm like, I probably skew, I mean, they, Barkoff's has their strengths against
that line, but you skew the Oilers there with, with talent. You can't win on talent alone.
Do you know what I'm saying? I think so. Just the McDavid factor. Corey Perry scores a lot
of goals. R&H has been great. I just, yeah, I, yeah, I, yeah, is close. But even when you
drop to the second line, the oiler's second line of Evander Cain, Leon Dries Idol, and K.K.
and then Carter Verhege, Sam Bennett, Matthew Chuck.
On paper, I'm like, oh, that's Cues, Florida all day.
And then the third line, it's pod, Yanmark, and Arvetson.
Again, it could change versus Lucerne and Lundell and Brad Marcheon.
And I think Wish said it on the pod where it was like, that third line could win the series.
I mean, I've been saying that since round one, dude.
They are the best line in the playoffs.
That feels crazy to me.
That feels crazy to me.
That feels crazy.
to me. And it's going to be huge on Knoblock to manage those changes at home. That's why you have
home ice. And it's going to be huge on those ice to deliver, by the way. You know, like,
you need that, you need that Lundell line to produce. And they've been producing like crazy. But
if they slow down, you're like, fuck, that was an advantage that we thought we had that we don't.
You need them to produce or neutralize, right? The oiler's depth has out of nowhere been huge
for them. And if all of a sudden you take away all of these, what the fuck, oilers depth goals,
and that line is the one doing it, that's a win for Florida. Yep. Yep.
Yeah, fair.
I was going to say,
I think it needs to be more than neutral.
Edmonton gets shit pumped in the first round
if those random depth goals don't get scored.
Yeah.
So, like, if those are gone,
and again, Conor and Leon have heated up, right?
Yes.
They're way hotter than they were around one, round two.
So it might still be enough for them if those two just stay hot.
But, yeah, I think the Florida third line does need to produce,
but at the same time, if they neutralize, that is a huge win.
For sure.
Huge win.
The other thing will be interesting is that,
I had said that the home ice ended up mattering so much to Florida that last
matchup even though you didn't think it was going to.
Panthers have been nasty on the road in these playoffs.
And I was like, oh, wow, Edmonton's so happy that they got home ice.
But the Panthers have actually been so sick.
Did it matter that much?
Like Florida won three at home and one on the road.
Like that's a normal series that is one in seven.
And if you want to say, like, the home ice in game seven made all the difference be my guest.
That is what I'm feeling.
I don't think it did at all.
But the Panthers are eight and two on the road through the first three rounds of this playoff.
Big.
Three and O in the Eastern Conference finals plus 27 goal diff.
The power plays at 42.9 percent.
Penalty kill 89%.
And like we've seen these, like the Oilers discrepancy power play and PK is insane away from home.
Yeah.
So that'll be a, that'll be a.
that'll be an unstoppable force meets an immovable object factor in this series.
It's like how the Panthers play in Rogers.
I'll tell you this, man.
And this is, it sounds like a hot take.
It's not, if you look historically and statistically, if you look at it.
If Edmonton wins both games here at Rogers, one and two, this series is over.
Yeah, interesting.
The series is over.
Because they're just home ice is too good?
Or what do you think?
I think it's a combination of their home ice is too good and Florida has been so good on the road.
But if all of a sudden those first two games on the road, you lose?
And to me, dude, it's the blood tasting, right?
Both these teams are good at that.
Yeah, it's a really good point.
Really good point.
But if Connor McDavid goes up 2-0 in a Stanley Cup final,
there's literally no planet.
No, he won't let it happen.
There's literally no planet where he doesn't get two wins in the next five games.
Yeah, it was six in one at home these playoffs.
56.6 power play percent, 83 penalty kill at Rogers.
And don't forget that one loss was when Leon Drysidal scored on his own team.
Like that is the only time they've lost there.
Went to overtime or was about to go to overtime.
No, it was one point one second left.
Yeah, like they haven't lost.
They're undefeated at home.
So,
like how many empty net goals do they have in their wins at Rogers?
Of that six and what was that?
Six and one record.
Like,
I bet it's five.
You mean because like that's how they're all.
Like they're winning so.
Oh, yeah.
Like they're like, yeah, it's over.
It's over.
And their penalty kill on the road, dude, is 55%.
so like they get you know they were getting killed by dallas there that's how they lost the only
game that they lost to dallas on that pk can you believe i i i we've said it it it is so funny saying it
like that dallas won one game and and the first game you fucking losers the first game dude it wasn't
even like there was any pushback like it's not like the oregon and then dallas just so fucking bad
they won a game and said and and sung from the rooftops that everything was different it is crazy that
Both L.A. and Dallas lost four straight games to this team.
Yeah.
Like, it is crazy.
And Vegas should have, dude.
Like, Vegas should have been swept.
Like, they only reason they want the games because DrySelt will put his own fucking net.
What a clown show.
Of course, we got to talk goalie.
Bob in his past 10, 1-5-7 goals against 9-3-5-said percentage, two shutouts in his past 10.
Skinner in his past 7, 6-1, 14-1 goals against 9-4-4-4-saver.
percentage three shutouts.
Ridiculous.
So better in everything.
Yeah, and it's weird, right?
Even with the absolutely abysmal start, the stash, and being yanked, you feel much better
about Stu this year than you did last year.
Much better.
Dude, agree.
You're definitely, you're definitely like, it's in the back of your mind.
You're like, oh, God, just please stay hot.
But last year, I, if I remember correctly, I felt like going in being like, you just simply
can't get enough good performances out of him to win this series. And he almost proved that wrong,
but it felt way more certain that it was just going to be too tall a task. Here, I think you're going,
dude, he could, he could implode. Absolutely. It's not outside the realm of possibility,
but he could just stay hot for like five, six more games. Yeah, you're right. And what's tough
is he, let's talk about bad games. Sure. If Stu has a bad game,
God forbid in Edmonton.
Yeah.
It is impossible to not go, oh, fuck.
Yeah, right.
If Bob has a bad game, which he will.
He does. He always has one.
He sprinkles one in.
Bob will have a bad game in this series, I promise you.
Like Florida fans, be ready for it.
Hopefully it's in a blowout loss.
You were never going to win this game.
Yep.
Bob will have a bad one.
But you are not phased by a bad Bob game in the slightest, in my opinion.
You're like, whatever.
I think that's right.
I think,
um,
uh,
yeah,
it's,
it's,
it's,
it's,
it's,
I think the,
I think the difference in the series
will be,
can stew give you,
not even this,
dude,
because this is epic.
He gives you this,
no, no,
you need,
yeah,
yeah, like,
exactly.
That's all you need.
Yep.
Like, let in two or three and just like,
hope that the boys are going and you win four three.
And we can like get a few pie ball.
You need,
you need,
and I,
that win was so important for stew.
Yeah, dude,
because I think that is,
Stu going, shit, I got scored on three times and we still won.
It was okay.
He's like, I don't need to get a shutout.
I can do that.
That is all you need from him.
And you'll win a bunch of games.
You might win the cup with that.
So the, listen, if we're doing goalie comparison, is Bob better?
Yeah.
Yep.
But Bob's old.
Bob's tired.
Stu's young.
And Stu, Stu's vibin right now.
They're both vibed.
But the fact that Stu is vibin, he's got.
a little extra rest. You love
that. You love that stew.
Yeah, you're right. If you're the oilers,
your only goal is you just keep Stu vibing.
Just because vibes stay high, dude.
Keep him vibing. Bob.
Bob doesn't know what vibes are. Bob Russian.
He's never heard of vibes. You're vibing.
You got home ice. You're in a good,
you're in a good zone.
I mean, you like that.
You'll go out with that. Yeah, you would date that.
And that is very good news for the oilers.
It's very good news for Stu. Your best bud.
Do I guy, dude. I love Steve.
I can't. When he comes on the pod,
I'm not going to get a single word.
It's just going to be you two.
Well, maybe you will.
I'm just going to be hugging him all the time.
Yucking it up, dude.
With your inside jokes, he's the man.
I'm going to like, should I leave?
Is, do you buy the, like, we've learned?
100%.
Yeah.
100%.
I think, you know, frankly,
that Vegas team two years ago was very good.
The cup team.
They were very.
Oh, they were nasty.
And they just, they had such great depth.
Everyone was very healthy.
And you had Hill.
you had like the birth of Hill.
Yep.
I thought it was surprising that Florida lost in five.
I was like, shit, like, damn.
I thought they were going to put up more of a fight.
Obviously that Kachuk injury was huge.
But I was like, fuck, this team's good.
But just the lessons that they learned,
Matthew Kachuk has that great quote
when they won in the Eastern Conference final
and he looks up at the camera,
no smile, no nothing, no nonsense, all business.
Standing on business.
Yeah.
And he just went, told you we'd be back.
that is and I want to be clear every
every team has that shit
every team has these videos of guys saying like right now
the Hyman video in the locker room last year after they lost
is going viral of being like boys I believe in this group
I promise we're gonna be back and everyone's like
holy shit every single team who has ever gone to the Stanley Cup
and lost has that video everyone says that in the locker
as soon as they lose every single team has that so
not all of them are right I am saying it's not this like
he saw the future thing everyone says that now
it is huge that they got here.
And if you're Edmonton and you're going to win it for something, win it for him.
Yeah, hell yeah.
I think undoubtedly, though, if you do lose and get back, you are using that fuel.
Yes.
There is no doubt that that fuel is in your tank.
And it's ripping through all of your hardware and coming out your ass and propelling you to this final.
There is no doubt.
I do think they learned a lot
And it is just the dude
You've been there
Yeah
That's so real
Yeah
You've been there
Those boys
Like Connor had never been there
Leon had never been there
Nuge had never been there
Hymann had never been there
That is so real
Cory Perry's like
I go every year
I go every year
Dude I'm back
Nurse had never been there
Bouchard had never
Like these guys had never been there
And that feel now going
we've been here. Not only we've been here, we've done this flight back and forth.
Like we know it now. So that advantage that Florida had the year before that frankly got them to a
three-o lead, that was monumental. You ain't got that anymore, Florida. So you better have an
answer for that lack of advantage because it's gone. And what Osh said, it's almost better to start,
not almost better. He was like, I love starting on the road because there's no pressure.
where you can still win our home games.
But Verhei had a quote that was like Rogers Place is like the loudest
building I've ever been in.
You know, so you've got the nightmare from 18s.
Everything you just said,
plus the fan, plus the home crowd support,
home ice advantage.
And it's like you better be ready to go.
There's no like easing into this series.
I'd love to go back and watch game one first period last year to be like,
maybe these teams are kind of feeling it out.
There will be none of that this year.
I know exactly who you are.
Everyone's saying we're both better.
I guess.
I guess they are.
but it's like, these are pretty similar teams.
Yeah.
I saw this ridiculous stat that was like, from the 2014 draft,
the first four picks are Ekholm.
I'm going to look it up.
Reinhert, yeah, Bennett is four.
And like, tell me who three is.
2014 NHL draft.
Eckblad one?
Eckblad, sorry, that's what I meant to say.
Rhino two, dry three.
Dry three.
Sam Bennett, four.
that is
dude that is such
and insane
and like they're all nasty
and they go
these the stat goes
this is the second time
in NHL history
the top four picks
from one draft
have been in a final
and they're like
the first time
was last year
same four guys
I was like
this is just
ridiculous stat
but you know what I mean
you know each other
you've been playing
each other forever
they had two epic
games this regular season
cats won both
six five in Edmont
four three at home
but two epic games
you know it's going to be tight
KK went 22nd in that draft.
He's also here.
Hell yeah.
But dude, if you're Florida, though,
I will say this.
If you were the Panthers,
that locker room
and those boys
are so invested in this repeat
because they know it takes you
to another level.
Right now, you're the fun Florida Panthers team
who made two cups
on a Cinderella run the first year,
and then you got absolutely whacked
while you were injured
and hurt by Vegas.
And then last year,
you did something special
and won a cup.
Is that it?
Is that your whole story?
or does this year you come back and when everyone said,
I just read 50 things about Connor McDavid-Lore,
when everyone goes, there's no way you can repeat,
certainly against the same team and they go, watch me.
Can I say this too?
Let me say something.
Give me a second to say something.
Say it.
It would piss me off to no end.
Even with the fact that you are the current cup holders,
how all people do in the media is talk about Edmonton.
Just tip of the cock hit in the back of the throat.
Every single media source.
Edmonton this, Edmonton that, McDavid this, dry-sidal that.
It's literally all anyone is talking about.
And you guys are the current cup holders back in the cup.
No one has an ounce of breath about this Florida Panthers team.
That would piss me off so fucking much.
And if I were them, I would love nothing more than to lift a silver tray top off of a platter
and show a big fat L to the Edmonton Oilers team and fans yet again.
And also, to add on to that, to put the dessert in front of you of that,
I would want to make up for blowing a 3-0 series lead last year.
I would be pissed still about that.
They won the cup, so they don't care.
Dude, that was stressful.
Oh, my God.
Talk to any Panthers fan.
They were like, this is embarrassing.
Like, are we about to blow this?
And how many times do we say we're sitting in sunrise and we're at Elbow Room with fans,
people who are not naming names, part of the franchise,
and they're like, we will literally never recover
if we lose this game.
And that was true.
So to even let a team take you to that,
that is currently fuel for Edmonton.
Because I'll tell you what,
if Edmonton wins this series,
they will be plenty of fans.
I'm not saying this is right.
They will be plenty of delusional or otherwise fans going,
dude, like, they're lucky they even won last year.
We were better than them last year.
We just stumbled out the gate in the first three games,
and then we almost fucking reverse swept them,
and they got one win because they were at home.
And now we just beat them.
Like, fuck you, we should be back to back.
There's going to be fans saying that.
And Florida should know that.
And they should have that in their minds of like,
dude, there are so many reasons why we need to win this game,
not want to win, need to win.
Because there's going to be just so much of a narrative if you lose.
Like, it's interesting.
There's part of me it's like, you've got nothing to lose.
If they were going up against a different team,
I think there would be less stress.
I really do.
Oh, yeah.
So it's like,
there's so much fuel from both sides.
It's actually kind of crazy.
I'm getting a little fucking horny over here thinking about the fact that both of these teams are like,
we cannot lose.
Dude,
there's something to the Panthers having lost the cup in 2023 and nearly blowing a 3-0 lead
that is helping them.
Yeah.
Because like I said a second ago about taking it to the next level,
this team isn't going to be the same.
Do you keep Sam Bennett?
Maybe I know they want to,
but he's going to cost you $10.5 million, right?
You can't always build.
Well, we'll see.
He will get that offer somewhere else.
Yep.
He ain't going to.
Okay, but we'll see. My point is,
cup windows are small.
Cup teams are rare.
And if this is a team that you have,
you know what it's like to get here and lose.
If this is a team that you have right on the doorstep
again to become a legacy team,
three straight cups, two wins.
That puts you in another bracket.
If you have that chance and you don't take it,
you go, God knows when we'll be back.
And now we've lost two cups and three.
years. And that sucks. So this team is well aware of the stakes here on their end, too, and you are so
right that no one's talking about them. I would love to go back and look at the pre-playoff picks.
And there was a ton of Colorado and Dallas and Caps and Tampa's, even, who are playing them.
I don't recall too many people, if anyone, being like Florida is actually going to go back to
back. You're so right, man. And like, I obviously, I made my apology, but, you know, we both.
we were like, yeah, I think Tampa's got it.
It's weird to say, but there was a level of disrespect for this team.
Yes, that they're definitely using.
And it's, you know, you kind of had Toronto on the ropes,
and you let them sneak one game back, then you beat the shit out of them.
So it's like, yeah, they definitely, they've got a lot of juice.
Like, this is not a, like, if we lose, we look, like, they've got a ton of juice.
And also, man, I said, seeing Conner's post,
it was the contrast of Conner's post game
after beating the dick off of Vegas.
Yeah.
Where he was like, he got asked that annoying question.
He was like, fucking shut up, dude.
And I was like, damn, this guy is fucking high-strung dude.
He's locked in.
To then beating the dick off of Dallas.
And him being like, we're chilling.
You know, like we're, you know, we, this is always the goal.
This is where we wanted to be.
been here before.
I was like, oh, you do not like to see that as an opponent.
Yeah.
So calm.
Yeah.
And then I think you saw it.
It was round two, but you saw that too with Florida.
Like when Florida beat Toronto, that conversation, I think I mentioned this on the
live, that conversation between Bennett and Verhegea and being like, oh, psyched we get to
play more hockey.
I wasn't ready.
Yeah, it wasn't done for summer.
That was the most disrespectful conversation I've ever seen my entire life.
Not a care in the world.
literally the most disrespectful thing I've ever seen.
If I were a Toronto player, I would have been like, oh my God, dude, there wasn't an ounce
of worry in them.
And they then just, they took this different Kane's team, beat the fuck out of them, too.
So it's like both these teams are so calm.
And that's why I kept going, what were any of us fucking idiot buffoons in the media doing
going, why do we waste any time here?
Yeah.
Why is it June?
And we're doing the Stanley Cup final.
Why didn't we spare so many people, injuries, money, time,
and just had these two teams play right off the fucking bat in the beginning of May.
Yep.
In April, because it's like, dude, this was always the final.
Dude, here's my last, this is, I didn't include this in the lore section because it's not really lore,
but this did just have me feel in Oilers, an Oilers skew.
Remember I was trying to make Dallas the Empire?
and I was like, yeah, they get the Death Star and you're like, because the star, dude.
Yeah.
I was like, oh, yeah, it's true.
The, it's now feeling to me like that was the Oilers, dude, and it's always movie two
where Revenge of the Sith and Empire Strikes Back.
Like, it's always movie two where the other guy wins, you know, and maybe if they come
back and play three times, the Panthers get up to complete the trilogy.
But movie two, dude, it's the guys who took a fat L in the first one win because we need.
stakes for the third one. That's how the world
works. Yeah. Revenge of the fucking Sith.
Don't, don't, don't act like that
thought hasn't crossed my mind. Like so many people
have said that and you're right. It's like,
this is the one to win. Yeah. And it's
fuck me. It's, I
don't know the last time
I've gone into a Stanley Cup
final as a, you know, fan just watching
and felt more like,
fuck these two, both of these teams are so nasty.
Yeah.
So nasty.
I mean, growing up a Bruins fan, 2011, I was like, this Bruins team has no business beating
this Vancouver team.
But then they figured it out.
2013, I was like, they have no business beating the Chicago team.
Chicago beat them in six.
And it was just like, yep, okay.
And this one, I'm like, I have no idea.
Both of these teams are disgusting.
And there's just, as we have said, we've spent the last almost hour talking about,
there are so many narrows.
here. There are so many reasons to believe in both teams.
So this is going to be wild.
Absolute scenes.
Okay, before we move on,
quickly want to just talk about what to expect
from the Empty Netters Boys over the next couple of weeks.
As you are listening to this, we are on a plane
headed to Edmonton.
We are going to be ripping every single game of this series with you guys.
In Edmonton, we're going to be buzzing all over the place.
If you are there, you will know exactly where to find us.
Like I said it earlier, we will be doing a meet and greet at the pint on Thursday, no game day,
which means we're going to be fucking ripping all night.
Usually these things are like, oh, before the game.
No, no, no.
You got your boys until fucking three in the morning.
Until the sun goes down, which is 4 a.m.
Yeah.
Here we go.
We will then be hopping on a plane right after game two, heading the lotty.
Head in home, dude.
Back to elbow room.
We'll be ripping there.
We'll be doing tons of stuff there as well.
make sure, guys, you are all over the page
because we're going to be posting super fun midform videos,
doing some travel stuff,
showing people of the city of Edmonton,
showing the people of the city of Lottie and sunrise.
It is just going to be unbelievable.
So the biggest thing I will say, though, is after the games,
because we were doing the lives in the morning while we were here,
after the games,
we are going to go record the podcast.
Yes, thank you.
Right after the game, and we are doing it live.
Okay, and it's on, it's live across everything,
is if you've been following along, we use re-stream,
and it's live on Twitter and IG and TikTok and YouTube.
So we're doing it live.
So if you want the instant instant,
fuck it,
we're doing it live.
If you want the instant pod reaction,
it's coming right after the game.
And we're going to do the full episode.
And then we will obviously repost that as a video on YouTube.
So if it's on the East Coast or it's too late or whatever and you miss it,
it'll be up in the morning right away for the commuters.
One wrinkle may be game two.
I think we'll have time,
but it's going to be crazy just because our flight to Fort Laudette
is fucking insane and we're like leaving at 1 a.m.
But we should be able to finish the pod after that.
That is live.
We have a bunch of guests lined up.
Some guys I want to join the live with us after,
but a lot of guys are doing quick pops in between games.
These are going to go on our YouTube midform.
So if you're an Apple or Spotify listener of this podcast
and you're listening right now,
you're still going to get the pods that way
because we're going to upload the lives to your platform,
but you are going to miss these midform
with the players coming on and talking about the series.
So for the love of guys,
God, subscribe to the YouTube, even if you don't consume this pod on YouTube, subscribe to the
YouTube, and then you will get an alert that the midforms have posted and you'll able to get all that
incredible action as we go on this journey. Yep. Beautiful stuff. Let's take a quick break.
Get back into the clothes. All right, babes, it's time to talk about when you are feeling your sexiest.
When you strip down to the skivies, we're talking about skim's underwear. I bet you
aren't thinking skims when you're thinking men's underwear these days, but I am telling you that it is time to
change that thought process. Skims is now in the men's undies game and I got to say I will never
go back. I can't believe it. I'm very particular, very particular when it comes to the briefs that I wear.
They got to be comfortable. They can't be too hot. They can't ride up too much, bunch up,
anything like that. And I was blown away when I found out that skims is going even beyond that.
I mean, they've got all of these different options for you right now. They've got sleepwear. They've got
oversized teas. They're getting everything in the men's game right now, keeping you looking fresh.
But when it comes to the underwear, they're keeping everything beautiful, tight, high quality,
comfortable. Like I said, you don't want to overheat when you've got a pair of briefs on.
If you like boxers, that's great. I myself, I'm a brief guy. I like that five inch, doesn't go too
long down the leg, also isn't too high. I feel like that's when it bunches up a lot.
And the five inch cottons are my favorite. They got the great stretch ones as well. It's more of that
athletic feel. It almost feels like you're wearing compression shorts like you wear when you're
playing sports. But the cotton ones, they just feel so good and they are sexy, man. I am telling you,
you put these things on and you feel like a model, the fit of them, the style, they look cool.
And listen, hopefully there's only a choice for you people that are seeing you when you're in your skivies.
But when they do, they're going to be like, goddamn, I'm looking at a model right now. They feel so good on the body.
They look incredible. You've got to check this out.
because we are too old, we are too far in our lives to be wearing old, ratty boxers and briefs.
You need to update the drawer.
You need to have stuff that looks great for you and your partner because, listen, I don't care if they're under the pants.
They've got to look good.
They've got to feel good.
Because if you feel good, if you look good, you feel good, then you play good.
We need that in life.
Let's be honest.
Go to skims.com.
Check out their men section.
grab yourself a pair, like I said.
The 5-inch cotton is my gym.
Five-inch stretch is amazing too.
They've got that great sleepwear, like I said.
And when you check out, go to the survey, hit podcasts, and then select empty netters.
Let them know that we sent you because, again, I can't stress this enough.
It's time to upgrade the underwear drawer.
You need to have good, high-quality stuff in there that looks good, feels amazing.
And this is exactly what Skims is giving the boys right now.
Check it out.
Our friends at True Classics has one mission.
to make guys look good and feel even better.
How about that?
Are you kidding me right now?
And they're doing it.
They've nailed it.
The fit, the price, all up and down my wardrobe.
It's crazy.
I started with the jeans.
I got to be honest with it.
I started with the jeans, and I'm loving them.
They got a nice, comfortable fit.
You know, fashion's so crazy.
We were transitioning out of the,
we used to be the baggy people now.
We're the skinny gene people,
and we're kind of coming back.
The pendulum's swinging back.
I got these awesome fit, true classic jeans,
not too tight around the legs,
super comfortable,
flexible around the waist,
which I love.
But then I got on the T-shirt game, too,
because they got the hoodies,
they get the shirts,
but the T-shirt game
has actually been an absolute
slam-dunk home run for me
because I wear these out to the bars
because it's just like I get these,
I got a white, I got a black,
I got a charcoal gray,
they're just these clean shirts,
tight around the chest,
arms where I want it to.
I can kind of look like I've been working out,
but then super loose-fitting everywhere else,
so comfortable,
but I can wear them in a fancy,
your setting and I can wear them just lounging at the house. It's amazing and I'm really loving it
because I've been I've been rocking these true classics for a while now. And the more and more I get,
the more and more my entire dresser just fills up with true classic stuff. And it's this type of
quality is in the DNA of this company. They're giving you hilarious ads. They're giving you
Ritz-Cart and Level customer service, give back to the community, making great clothes. They're doing
everything. So if you want to get involved with this true classic game, like I'm getting involved,
I want you to go to trueclassic.com slash netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And you can upgrade your wardrobe right there.
You can also find them at Target in Costco,
but go to trueclassic.com slash netters
and upgrade that wardrobe just like I've been doing right now.
Big thank you again to our sponsors,
and it is time for a Coachella update.
So on Thursday last week, we posted,
well, I revealed the name in the pot.
And, uh,
But I didn't, we didn't make a clip yet, because the clips can really take off and then, you know, you can cause people some problems.
So on Thursday night, a ton of you guys, and I fucking love you so much, were commenting on Kishon Johnson, Sr., Kishon Johnson Jr's dad, on his most recent Instagram post being like, pay empty netters, tell your son to pay empty netters.
Savage.
We took screenshots, put them on the story, and I was like, grid post coming tomorrow, dude.
Here comes the reckoning.
Here comes the final reckoning.
And to his credit, after that went up, we got a message.
After a little, I mean, I don't know if I'm going to say to his credit.
Like, yes, he messaged after getting politely told to stop being an asshole and played victim a little bit.
Well, nope, played victim a little bit.
And, yeah, then agreed to pay you.
Well, no, he sent me a long message that said, listen.
then dude. Well, he goes, dude, I'm getting harassed by your fans. And I was like, you damn right
you are. Yeah. You're, you're being an asshole. And we got, we got people in the works.
So he sent me a message that was like, hey, dude, first of all, I don't have the relationship
to my dad. I can't just ask for the money. And second of all, I didn't want to have,
and he did say, he was like, I should have paid you the 500 bucks. That was inexcusable. And I'm
sorry. But I don't want to have no money. And I replied and I said, dude, I see where you're
coming from. I hope you understand where I'm coming from. I don't want you to have, genuinely, I
don't want you to have no money either. You should live your life. I don't want you to be broke.
But I was like, but you got to come up with a payment plan to pay me back. So if you give me a
couple hundred bucks, you know, today or this weekend, I will consider that an act of good faith
that you are beginning this payment plan. And I will not docks the grid post and set the actual
wolves on you. And then on Saturday, I got, I'm not going to say the name, but on Saturday, because
remember his cash app was closed. I got a, um, I got a, um,
I got a cash app for $200 from a girl,
and I presume is his girlfriend,
because he said that's what he was going to do,
and act of good faith confirmed.
So we'll see.
We're not out of the woods yet.
We've got a long way to go to get out of the woods.
Very long road.
Very long road, but hey, for now,
the grid post reserved, dogs called off temporarily.
What will you do if you get a message on cash app
from the person who paid you that's like,
hey, I just looked at my cash app.
I have no idea what this payment is to you.
What is going on?
What is this?
I would call the authorities.
You would then know that he has stolen someone's phone and sent them $200.
Because I got to say, and I'm not going to drop these names yet either,
but we actually got messages independently of this being like, I have had dealings with that person.
And that person owes me money as well.
He owes me a ton of money.
And he doesn't pay me back.
And I was like, oh, Christ, here we go.
So we'll see what happens.
But so far, $200 a lot of you said I would never get anything.
back and I have $200 in my cash app right now. At this rate, by this, by the Stanley Cup next season,
you'll have your money. I doubt it, dude. Maybe three cups from now, maybe.
Unbelievable. All right, Wags, take us into a beer league hotline as we close this episode out.
Old story, but happened in my league. Very early on in a D-Division game, two guys dropped the gloves.
One guy pummels the other. As they're getting off the ice, the loser of the fight tosses
one of the winners gloves over the glass near the Zamboni. After they shower up, we saw the
loser go get the glove. We assume cooler heads were prevailing. When the winter of the fight gets
out of the shower, his glove hasn't been returned. He walks to the Zamboni to get it and finds a
present inside. Warm human shit. The guy took a dump in his glove. Dad's been wrote an article
about it for proof. Human shit, Lloyd. It can be yours if you want. Is this actually a photo of it?
Yeah. Oh my God. Dude, the guy. That is actual human.
sees in a man's hockey glove. He shit the glove, dude. He shit the glove. He said the glove, Dan.
It says he was banned, he was banned for life, and it said he was, he was a player in three
different divisions, so he cost him $1,500. He didn't get his $1,500 back for that season, and he's
banned for life. And the refs, the guy showed the ref, and then they called the game and said
the shit, the shit team forfeits. Correct. Correct. I am, I am
I am stunned.
I don't want to look at it much longer.
But a little bit.
But a little bit longer.
That's poop.
He's shit in the glove.
It's poop again.
I got to say, this happened, he's right.
This happened a while ago.
This was in 2011.
But I'd never heard the story.
Can we show that on the pod or no?
No, no, no, no, no, no, no.
We put it in the clip.
We can't put human shit on the video of this podcast.
Yeah, yeah, I didn't do it.
What, you know what is wild is you know my take on fighting in beer league.
If you get in a glove drop fight in beer league, you're a fucking climb.
Like it's just, we've all got work tomorrow.
What are you doing?
So the fact that this other fella here, who now has shit glove, is, looks like a saint.
Yeah, yeah, he comes out so.
He's a victim.
They did say that he, his hand, when he went to get it.
Didn't go in.
It went right in.
No, it didn't.
Because that's how he picked it up.
No, it didn't.
No one would pick up a glove like that.
He had to wash his hands.
No, we don't need to make this story more absurd.
It's already absurd.
Do you think he washed it and then used it or you think I would toss it?
The team, no, I also read that the team passed the hat and everyone pitched in for money to buy them new gloves.
Oh, okay, yeah, yeah.
But I'm going to say they, like, taxidermied the glove.
I feel like the loser's team should have done that.
The losing team should have bought him new gloves.
Yeah, yeah, I mean, no.
I don't think that the losing team...
You are responsible for your teammate.
I don't think I am responsible for my teammate
when he takes a shit in another man's glove.
Dude, I love...
Well, I can't believe this guy's got a shit in his butt
ready to go like that.
Well, dude, that's quick action.
That is quick action, especially right after,
usually right after you're still a little too tense.
But I've definitely been going to games
where I'm like, I got one cooked.
But there's no time.
There's no time.
And I go out and play, and I just deal with it.
I am beyond.
I'm bamboozled.
What I can't fathom, Dan, is that they saw him go,
because they are still playing.
It's middle of the game.
The guys get tossed.
The game continues.
They see him leave the shower,
and through the glass,
they see him go.
And grab the glove.
Well, presumably grab it.
He obviously didn't.
They were going, he's taking the glove back.
And just, did he shit standing?
Did anyone see him squat?
No, he must have gone back in the locker room.
You know what?
I thought, I thought this was going to be a classic peepie.
story. I was like, yeah.
The second is like, yep, no, he
peed in the glove, which also, you were an
absolute rat, scumbag, but
this is like, you should be in prison.
Shit in it, dude, he's shit in the glove.
You should have charged this man.
What would have had to have
happened in the fight to justify
that? Nothing, nothing. This is
barbaric. This is
barbaric behavior.
Dude, what if he said?
No, there's no
verbal assault that could, what if, in the
The winner of the fight goes, while they're fighting, he goes, I just shit in my hand on the bench.
And now, and I didn't wash it.
And I'm now, I'm socking you in my shit hand.
And then you find that out.
And then you find out that that dude returned shit in his glove.
You know what?
Would you go, that's fine.
I hate to admit it.
That is a scenario where this is more reasonable.
Just say, we need to collect some of the facts.
An eye for an eye.
And unfortunately, this one is a stink eye.
Yeah, a brown eye for a brown eye.
I can't believe this.
Like, this man, I want, I want, do not permit entry under any circumstances, photos at every hockey rink in North America.
He's playing somewhere.
At every hockey rink in North America.
This is ungodly behavior.
Can I give you one guess as to the city this happened in?
Philly?
Wow, that's a fucking great guess.
So it's wrong.
is it a u.s. city yeah it's not philly Boston i was gonna say Boston for sure
the amount of beer leagues in Boston 37 dgens there 37 year old Boston area men's league hockey
yeah how do you think you sounded when he was yeah oh dude I'm guys I'm I'm I don't even know
what to do right now dude he's playing somewhere I'll tell you that much crazy he's in the league
Did they release his name?
Yeah.
Say it.
Search him up.
I'm going to search him up right now.
Okay, it's Z-U-N-G.
Zung?
Zung.
That is not a real name.
N-N-G-U-Y-E-N.
N-G-W-E-N.
N-G-W-N.
He's an Asian man?
Shitting and gloves.
He's of Asian descent.
He's of Asian descent.
That might be a bad name because I feel like there's a bunch of famous people named that.
That's a very normal.
Oh, there's a normal Asian name.
Zung-
How do you say?
I'm guessing.
I'm just going to say
Zung-Win poop.
Dude, a former teammate says
Zung was never particularly crazy.
There are 50 other guys in the league
I would have pegged to pull something like this
before Zung.
Sometimes you catch a guy on the wrong day.
I see the photo.
I can't believe this.
Well, Zung Wyn,
you are never allowed
at a hockey rink again for the rest of your life.
They said the winner of the fight.
He really did beat the crap out of him.
Oh, my God.
Jesus Christ.
All right.
Let's wrap this puppy up.
Wags, hit us with a beautiful, beautiful,
Bauer, blind ranking,
chances to win the Kahn Smyth.
Wags is going to give us some names
of players in the Stanley Cup.
And you know what would increase their chances
to win the Konsmithe?
Winning the Staly Cup.
Playing with a Twitch.
Put a Twitch in your hand.
score million goals
win Konsmite win Kahn Smyth
Boom
Get Twitch, never break Twitch
Greatest Stick ever
Bauer Blind Ranking
Okay Wags
Five guys, chances
We think chances we think
That they could win the Konsmite
For Hagee
Hmm
He is you know what
You know what's interesting about him Dan
Is the clutch
Clutch Gene
He's got a clutch
Big time clutch gene
And I think he like
I think he scored the winner
In the Canes
I think he punched their ticket here
and can you imagine, if you can imagine
if he has three OT goals?
Because I think he's got a ton of goals too.
I think he's like, yeah.
I'm probably second on the team.
I think I'm putting him low.
Well, because you're thinking there's like,
obviously there's some favors,
but we might not get them.
Like of the second tier,
he might be the next guy.
He might be the top guy of the second tier.
I think I'm going, I think I'm going like,
I'm going three or four here.
Okay.
What about two?
I wouldn't do it.
Like I, you know, remember, remember way back when I said I'm going three or four here?
Yeah, I do.
I actively didn't say two.
Vaguely, I remember that.
Yeah, that's how I feel about two.
Okay, maybe three, maybe four.
Could be five, honestly.
When to more, I'm thinking about it.
Could be five.
We'll go four.
McDavid.
One.
Yeah, you're right.
You're right.
Just move on.
You're right.
It's got to be one.
It's going to win.
Win or lose?
He's probably going to win.
Wait, wait, anyway.
Bob.
Oh, I like three here.
What?
There's a guy on, if Florida wins, there's a guy on this team that I feel pretty strongly is going to have to play a monstrous part.
And he has been so insanely good that I think he has a better chance.
I think Bob was robbed at gunpoint last year of the consmite.
And I don't necessarily.
I don't think it was that bad.
No, it wasn't, of course, because Conner's playoff was literally like the most points ever.
It was absurd.
And if you're ever going to give it to a loser, like, Jigare and Connor had to have two playoffs.
I was like, okay.
But I am kind of just like, I don't love giving it to the loser no matter what.
Yeah.
So I do think he was robbed, and I think they want to pay him back.
Oh.
In the same way they want to pay Kooch back for MVP.
Okay.
So you want to go two?
I would go two.
All right.
I mean, you let me have four.
Bob two.
Okay.
Skinner.
A five, but he's been remarkable.
And as we've said, to win, he's going to need to be as remarkable as he's been in his past seven.
Actually, no, I think five.
I just think that there's like...
What if he does what he did in the past seven, though?
What if he has one four goals against nine four four for like five games in the row?
You know what?
For better or worse, they still won't give it to him over Connor.
Unless Connor has zero points.
I agree, but I'm just saying,
we have Connor above.
They have to win the Stanley Cup
and he has to do what he has done
literally, not close to
what he has done in the past seven games
in this series. And if
Connor has zero points in that stretch
then he would win
but that ain't happening.
So I think five here because I think
we have to leave that three open to some
other people. Oh, but
that's my guy though, dude. I know.
You can overrule me.
Your logic is sound but I just think it's
every oiler shouldn't be five just because we're like,
well, they're going to give it to Connor.
Well, they wouldn't be.
If there was a man who's named rhymes with peon-schmeiglidal,
then he would probably be three here.
And we would go, yeah.
But Skidder doesn't have a better chance over for he?
All right, you know what? Do it, dude. Do it. Go for it. Do it. Do it.
Great. Three.
Dry-sum.
Oh, what do you know? You fucking twat?
You idiot buffoon?
How about that?
Dude, how about the end of that list?
Stu has a better chance than Leon.
Imagine if Sasha Barkoff's name had been named there.
Stu has a better chance of Leone.
Imagine if Matthew Kachukh's name had been named there.
Stu has a little.
Those were literally my two other options I have in my list right here.
It was Drysidal Barkov and Bennett.
Stu has a better chance than Leon because if he posts five straight,
if he posts four straight shutouts, then he'll win.
You know what's going to be wild is when Edmonton wins the cup and Stu wins
Konsomite.
We're going to be able to revisit this.
Correct.
It's going to be a great day for you.
It's going to be a great day for you.
And thank you for being my friends, too.
All right, folks, that is going to do it for us this episode at the Empty
Natives podcast.
We already gave you the spiel.
Everything is going to be buzzing on all of our channels.
Subscribe to the YouTube, five-star reviews on all platforms.
Follow the Instagram.
We are ripping you the best content, the best coverage of the Stanley Cup you will
literally find on the internet, I fucking promise you.
You know why I can promise you?
Because we did that at Four Nation.
Yep.
And we're going to do it again.
We're in Edmonton right now as you listen to this, and we're going to just keep buzzing the whole fucking finals.
So follow along.
Let's absolutely rip it.
And until you hear from us next time, skate hard.
