Empty Netters Podcast - The Battles Of Florida and Ontario Are Gonna Be Sweeps?! | LIVE EP.2

Episode Date: April 25, 2025

The boys are back coming to you LIVE with their instant reactions after another night of insane playoff hockey games. Leafs/Sens, Panthers/Lightning, Vegas/Wild, Jets/Blues and none of them disappoint...ed. Get in the chat and debate your hottest takes. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Three, two, one, go. Bang. That might have worked this time. The ice is hopefully ready this time. We are remote, but we are also back with another episode of Empty Netter's Puckline News. Brought to you by BetMGM, our second live episode of the week. We are going to get into the nitty gritty of all the games last night. Leafs, Jets, Blues, Knights, Wild, Cats, Bolts, Insanity all over the ice.
Starting point is 00:00:31 We've got tons to talk about your boys in New York, but the show goes on. CP, how are we feeling? We're feeling good, dude. Dan, the playoff schedule is already catching up to me. It's already catching up to me. We've been recording late, getting content out, getting here early. And I was so excited to just dial into those games yesterday because that was a great slate. And that might be the most, not seeing the games were close,
Starting point is 00:00:57 but that might be the most exciting day of playoffs so far. just in terms of the results. Dude, what a call by you. Can't believe that you start the episode off so hot with such a correct take. But here you are yet again, buzzing, because that was no doubt about it the best day of playoffs so far, in my opinion. Just crazy results, everything going on. And I can't believe that I am such a dumb idiot that I was on a plane for pretty much every single one of the games.
Starting point is 00:01:23 I landed, was able to finish the rest of the Jets game. But actually, I should say the Blues game, frankly, after that result. but everything in every game there is just action right like even in a blowout i i guess you could say a couple of blowouts the results were so shocking that it was just unbelievable action in every game dude it was like right from the jump to the i love somebody texted us i forget who it was but somebody was like i'm so fucking jealous of your guys west coast sports starts oh because i truly start i start it like 3 30 because i'm like so i need something my something must come on.
Starting point is 00:02:01 And then it always does, Dan, it always does. And the back half is the best. The back half of just like the games end and you're all exhausted, but it's not, I mean, dude, I'm here and that Blues Jets game ends and it's like 1 a.m. And I was like, what the hell is going on right now? This is absurd. And dude, I don't know. It was sick too because it was like, you were gone.
Starting point is 00:02:23 I was sitting by myself. And I was dying at the, um, the Panthers empty netter. because I don't even know if you got to see that clip yet, but like that TV literally cut out. Just your, it's so funny because we're hamming it up sometimes in those empty net videos, but that reaction from you was so,
Starting point is 00:02:42 so real. Like I could hear it in your voice. Like you were just like, what the fuck just happened? Dude, I had to trim out like several. Like, because that navigation took longer
Starting point is 00:02:53 than I made it look on the clip. And I was literally like, what the fuck is fucking going on? Like, you know how mad I get when tech stops work? Holy hell, dude. I was so pissed. Oh, my God. It's unbelievable. Well, we've got four insane games.
Starting point is 00:03:08 Let's kick it off. Start it off with the one that started a little early. Leif's Sands, first game in Ottawa. Let's break this one down. I couldn't believe it, CP. You have this game. Toronto's up. They get that OT winner in game two.
Starting point is 00:03:24 Now here we are, home ice for the Sends. first period felt to me was all Sends for the start. First 10 minutes, the Sends were just buzzing around so many shots. Olmark made a couple of huge saves on the few chances that Toronto got, but felt like the ice tilted back the other way a little bit towards the end. Stuttslow with an unbelievable chance in that first period. I feel like they needed to get one in that first period if you're Ottawa, even though they got the goal first.
Starting point is 00:03:54 like, Girou gets them on the board. But how did you feel about that game starting off in Ottawa, how things went? Dude, I have become, I got my, I got my Austin Matthew sticker on my water bottle. I've always had this. This isn't a new thing. But I'll tell you this, man, the Leafs continue to impress because that was a professional playoff road first period. After the game, when they, you know, you obviously want to take both at home.
Starting point is 00:04:23 They did. but it's like Ottawa comes back. They pull it off in OT. We're sitting here with Chelly being like, oh, you know, the Sends are going to take that momentum, take that energy, bring it back home. City hasn't seen a playoff game. And you're right, it was all Sends early.
Starting point is 00:04:36 But just to weather the first 10 with the huge shot advantage, I think they killed a power play too, the Leafs. Just like that is a on the road in a rabid city, a rival city, to just be like, we're fine, no blood, let's start playing the second period, is exactly how you play. playoff hockey if you are a serious contender. And I haven't seen that from them in a while. I wouldn't have said that about them in a while.
Starting point is 00:05:01 And they fucking, they did it. They did it. You're absolutely right. And I do think it's like I said, I thought in that first period, the beginning, the first 10 minutes was all Ottawa. And I think that they felt they needed to get a goal. They didn't. They did eventually get the lead with the Giroux goal. I do feel like what you just said about Trump.
Starting point is 00:05:23 the way that they bounced back and they immediately got their Piper goal was just a perfect example of what you were just saying. They are not shrinking in any adversity so far this series. Like you get Ottawa tying it up. They still get the win an OT. This one, Ottawa ties it up. They still get the win an OT. This team is showing that they're not afraid of the moment, dude. And I think a big part of that, I'm going to go back to our episode that came out yesterday with Jelly.
Starting point is 00:05:50 It is Barubei. I can't believe I'm saying it. But like, you saw that clip, I imagine of, you know, the Leafs score, the coaches on the bench, Mark Savard, everyone's going nuts. And Barube tells everyone to shut the fuck up. He's like, hey, hey, calm down. Games on over. And like, that actually is kind of a sick attitude that I'm like, damn, got to respect it. And I think he has, has this coaching staff and has the boys dialed in.
Starting point is 00:06:18 This is wild. Dude, agree, man. Actually, wait, I want to talk to you about the, you know, I forget what you said, but I'll even, I'll even reference last year, and this is ridiculous because I'm about to say the Leafs lost, but last year before Boston Game 7, when they asked Willie how he felt. And he was like, I don't know, these haven't gone that well in the past. So like he just seemed so chill. I know.
Starting point is 00:06:46 You know, like all the pressure of Toronto media and the stress of the Bruins and everything. but he's like, I, you know, whatever, dude, we're going to try to win. That'd be sick.
Starting point is 00:06:53 And he scored in that game, I think. I think he had the goal. Like, so I love his attitude. And man, I could not get over the breakaway clapper, like in the first.
Starting point is 00:07:05 Dude, first of all, huge save by O. Mark, there's been a lot of tough talk against O. Mark saying, can he perform in the playoffs?
Starting point is 00:07:12 And then you get Willie Stiles coming down on a breakaway, and he just unloads a clapper on him. That was shocking behavior. Dude, first of all, way too many breakways given up by Ottawa early in this series. You know, like figure out the stretch pass situation, boys. But Willie Nealander gets loose. And I think he was like, oh, maybe I have some back pressure here.
Starting point is 00:07:31 But I thought he had a step still. Like, I thought he could have gone, just got the body in front of him and been fine. But dude, he just goes gunner stall, triple deek, stop at the blue line, clap bomb. And dude, old Mark just smothers it. And it just cuts to Willie. And he's laughing at the boy. He's like, I can't believe I did that. And that's thing, like, it's kind of rattling, right?
Starting point is 00:07:52 Like, everyone looks very unfazed on the Leafs, dude. Like, if, if you're Ottawa, obviously, you're down 3-0, but like, I think you're scared. This Leafs team is just, like, out there having fun, two close wins. But I've seen a lot of Ottawa fans, and this isn't shit talk. Like, people are being like, dude, you know, I think I tweeted from my personal the other day. I was like, I think this Ottawa team might not be as good as a lot of us thought. And people are saying, what are you talking about? There's two games where the result could have gone either way.
Starting point is 00:08:18 there's two OT wins. And I'm like, yeah, I mean, I get it. But at the same time, the Leafs look so unbothered by this that I'm like, eh, I mean, I think that they're just cruising through here. I do also want to touch on there's discussions going on about the cousins flipping pucks at Stolars. This has got to be one of the funniest narratives of all time. I think people legitimately forget that these guys were teammates like, yeah, a few months ago. And people are like this,
Starting point is 00:08:48 that just shithousery going on, trying to get it. I'm like, I think that they're just buddies and he like lightly flipped the puck at his pad while he was stretching. Yeah. I think it's probably okay.
Starting point is 00:08:57 I think everyone's going to be fine. Okay. So Dan, I want to go and everyone in the chat, keep firing because I want to get the chat more involved in this one. Some funny, I'm dying at some funny stuff, Dan.
Starting point is 00:09:08 The Matt Boldie Glazer might be literally fishing. He might be literally watching this from a kayak. He's doubling down. I can't confirm. I can't confirm. but he might literally... I need a picture. Like, if you are actually watching from your kayak, I need you to take a picture and I need you to send it to our DMs on IG, because that is iconic. He might literally be fishing. Someone said, I'll try to find it again, that people want a nails shirt, Dan,
Starting point is 00:09:31 and someone said that Barube might have invented nails, which I actually believe. Oh, Barube is such a nails guy, no doubt about it. Like, he definitely embodies nails and that's a big part of him, for sure. That guy's nails. Okay, Dan, like you said, the, they trade power play goals, right? We go to the third, and in the third period, Matthews gets his first off a disgusting pass for Mitch Marner. So nasty.
Starting point is 00:09:59 Touched through his own legs. And dude, I'm not saying that was a thousand percent all marks fault, but it is just such a horrible look when you're doing this. Chris, the freeze frame is over here. The freeze frame photo is so tough. He's looking in a different province. and this puck's in the back of the net already. But I also got to say, this is one of those things, man.
Starting point is 00:10:19 We see it so often in playoffs. How many times have we talked about it? We've seen it twice in the King's Euler series. End of period and start of period. You have to stay locked the fuck in. It's crazy how many teams are scoring in the last minute or the first minute of every period. And then here you go right off the bat in the third.
Starting point is 00:10:39 We get this Matthew's goal. This is no disrespect. they've been great, but Zubb and Sanderson are fucking spinning around like a dradle out there on the ice. No idea where what the puck is. Boom, I just saw it again. I'm pretty sure they're still spinning, dude. They're still trying to figure out where that puck is. But I want to focus on the positive of it.
Starting point is 00:10:58 That fucking pass from Martin. Gross. And can we just say, dude, all season long, this guy's been the best player on this team. And people aren't talking about it. People are so focused on the contract being up. He hasn't performed here. he hasn't performed there. This guy is insane.
Starting point is 00:11:17 And everything he's doing has been great. We see his sick, nasty, disgusting goal in game one. Now you get this play, making sure that the Leafs get the lead. He's so, so strong in his mental game, in what he's doing out on the ice. It's just beautiful, beautiful stuff. Absolutely incredible, dude. And not who you want to see get on the score sheet if you're the senators. You're already in a hole, you know, you're already,
Starting point is 00:11:43 now you just went down in the third in game three at home. And you're like, not, not him, dude. Like, this is, you woke up Matthews. But Dan, my bigger issue with the Sends is they, and we'll get to the Brady Kachuk goal, I'm leading right into the Brady goal, but they, that was their first shot of the third period. Immediately.
Starting point is 00:12:02 Immediately. Immediately in. It's a fucking home game. And you're down to O and you're down in the series. You're down to one in this game. And I'm going to need some puck on. net because they don't go in unless you put them on the fucking frame. That is just so unacceptable.
Starting point is 00:12:17 I can't even fathom it. And speaking of Pucks on net and then I want to go to the chat before we move on from this series, 20 shots for each team. And, you know, it's tough. Like you look at the stats. You look at Allmark, save percentage, the goals against. Like it's another game doesn't look that great. But it's, you know, only 20 shots.
Starting point is 00:12:36 It makes it a little more difficult to measure. But I think the big thing here, is if you're Ottawa, boys, you've got to be spraying more pucks than 20 shots on Stolar Sierra here. I mean, it's like, you know, like, what are we doing? Dude, how many shots did they have in the third? I believe it was two. Two. Or that's, uh, yeah, two shots.
Starting point is 00:13:00 Like that is. One of them was the Brady goal. And the second one was the Batherson chance from nude in the slot with like six minutes left. Yeah. That he tried to go floor cheese, which should have, which should have gone in and won the game. Like, but, but that, that just can't be, they had two great A scored one, but those can't be your two shots of the third period in a fucking do or die game.
Starting point is 00:13:19 Yeah. I, I completely agree. Um, all right. Let's go, let's go to the chat here before we move on. Any questions going on about the Leafs Sends series? I think starting off the chat, you know, you heard Brady Kachuk post game talking about, he just, just watched the, uh, uh, Red Sox Yankees documentary about how they came back in, he's obviously doing the captain thing, got the right attitude.
Starting point is 00:13:44 But I mean, chat, what do we think? Is this over? Like, is this just a clean sweep? Or does Ottawa push this a little bit and make the sweat start trickling down the backs of Toronto fans? Some people are saying Leaves and Four already. There's a lot of Benoit love in the chat too, Dan, when we should say that. Tons of Benoit.
Starting point is 00:14:01 Period. Great OT winner. And also, by the way, on that OT winner, I want to sprinkle this in Matthews. Bucci's been saying it every broadcast, so everyone's heard it. Matthews, I wrote it down, had his career best faceoff percentage in the regular season this year, 56.8, up to 60.3 in the playoffs. I felt so bad for Pinto on that draw,
Starting point is 00:14:19 because literally with home ice and last change, they gave him the Matthews line literally every shift. So he was just like doing the best he could. And he played great. I thought that line played great. But just to get that one snap back on you, bang, it's in the back of the net. Just, Allmark couldn't see it.
Starting point is 00:14:33 But great faceoff win, great shot by Benoit. Yeah, it also had the helper on the OT winner in game too. Benoit is a hero right now for the Toronto fans. Okay, some people saying gentlemen sweep, some people saying Olomark has no clutch. Yeah, I saw the old mark has no clutch. Olmark losing ORA by the second, dude. Yeah, listen, man, it's when your team's only getting you 20 shots,
Starting point is 00:14:55 like that's the thing that sucks, right? He gives up two goals, one is a peeper. And you want to feel like this is tough, but it's the narrative sucks, man. And we talked about this in the West Conference with the Blue Series, like the Montgomery playoff record. Like this is a tough one. You're a wildcard team playing the Atlantic winners.
Starting point is 00:15:17 If you lose, does that mean you're a loser in the playoffs? You need to put up an Ottinger performance in a loss for that narrative to go away. But right now it's like, yeah, man, it's tough. Things aren't looking good for Allmark and you hate to see that. Dude, I think the send, I do have the sense getting one, hard to match that desperation. but I do feel like gentlemen sweep. Some great ones in here, Dan. Maddie Nye's built for playoffs.
Starting point is 00:15:43 Totally agree. 100% from Palm Face. And from Drew Nye's offer sheet incoming because we were just talking. I can't remember I was on a potter. I was just us, but we were talking about that. Dude, it's not even like the prettiest goals, you know,
Starting point is 00:15:55 but like his one today, office gate. Like he's just in the mixer, dude. He's gritty, dude. Did you see his, in his press conference? He said, all I got to do is put my big ass in front of the net
Starting point is 00:16:04 and make some things happen, wreak some havoc. And that's correct, dude. I'm telling you he is such a game changer for this team. Just the way he plays, it's kind of different from the raw, pure skill you see from guys like Marner, Willie, and Austin. So Nyes has been unbelievable. Before we move on, CP, got a question for you.
Starting point is 00:16:23 Gabe in the chat said we need to go to Katz Bolt because people on the East Coast are watching on their lunch break. They don't have that much time. Should we go to Katz Bolt, keep it on the East Coast? What time is your lunch break end? One? Maybe. Yeah. It's run by one.
Starting point is 00:16:37 Yeah, we'll be done by, Gabe, we'll be done by one. You ever said that, Dan, tell us when your lunch break ends. Gabe, Gabe is the man, but he's in the chat asking for it. But you're right. Gabe, don't worry. We'll, this, this show only goes an hour. You'll be fine. All right, we got to move on to Jets, Blues.
Starting point is 00:16:52 Holy hell, what a shit kicking. This was the Blues team that we saw at the end of the year. They come out hot. Beechnevich gets on the board. Boom. Goal in the first minute. And then the blues just. absolutely cruise from there.
Starting point is 00:17:09 What did you see in this game, CP? Dude, that was the first period that you need when you are the lower seat and you finally get the home game and you have to do that. And what the Leafs did in their professional first period on the road is exactly what the Jets didn't do. Yeah. It was just like, don't give up a goal 48 seconds into the game and then be throttled three nothing before you can blink.
Starting point is 00:17:31 And that's what happened. Yeah. I mean, I've got a few things to say here. one picture perfect game from the blues like you know you just said it CP you go home you got to change the narrative we saw this calm cool collected jets team how many times did I say that after games one and two and then here we go oh my god buchnevich goal 32 seconds into the game i'm pretty sure it was something like that maybe four or it looks like a 48 seconds but then boom Piper, Beech goal again,
Starting point is 00:18:08 and then you get a Fowler goal with five minutes or so left in the first as well. Let's talk about one thing real quick. Can we give some flowers to Armstrong? Gotta be in the conversation for GM of the year. First off, he goes out and he offers sheets the two Oilers boys who have been so, so good for this team. Then he goes and gets Monty.
Starting point is 00:18:29 Then he picks up Fowler. Fowler has been insane. True. And here you go. This Blues team. first period, they're up three nothing. Are you thinking we are having a playoff heli conversation? Okay, Dan, so this is the meat of this one that I want to get into.
Starting point is 00:18:46 Yeah. The actually, before we get into helly, because that's kind of like the rest of this whole segment, I want to say, I want to talk about the Profetti, not goal, goal that he shot in. Yeah, I was about to get into that. Dude, because that's 3-0. It's the second period. And I think I was a power play, right? And the Jets get that one back door.
Starting point is 00:19:03 Perfetti rips it in. Binner saves it in his glove. we go to and dude he's i mean obviously the goal score is gonna say this but he's immediately like that went in the net and they review it and for everyone that doesn't know the refs are consulting but it's really Toronto Toronto's making the call you know like they're sending it to the situation room where they have a million screens everyone's looking at it I'm not even here to argue dan I believe that puck is in the net personally but i'm not even here to argue that fact yeah i'm here to argue that it's fucking insane to me that we are like trying to look through this
Starting point is 00:19:33 camera and like trying to see through his glove but you can't assume and whatever, look through the netting, look through the webbing of his glove. And I'm like, dude, it is so simple to have technology in that puck to be like, yeah, it was over the lie. Like, I was talking to Sandra about it in real time. And she was like, I kind of like the human element
Starting point is 00:19:50 that they can't tell. And I'm like, why, dude? Just literally put a chip at the puck. Oh, it's over the line. End of discussion. A buzzer goes off. It's like fucking Vietnam soccer. They're like a buzzer went off, dude.
Starting point is 00:20:00 It bows in my pocket. The ball was over the line. It's a goal. That puck was so clearly in the net. And I don't get why it's always like, we have a tweet that has since gone viral. And I would say 70 to 80% of people are like, yeah, that's a goal. And you've also seen everyone in the hockey community, dude. Like I'm not trying to be dramatic here, but it's like Elliot Friedman, Colby Armstrong,
Starting point is 00:20:24 Ryan Whitney, everyone in the hockey community was like, that's, that's in the Johnny Las, that is in the net. And it's so funny because the blues are shit kicking this. team. Yes, it would have made it 3-1, but it wasn't going to change the game. So many people were going, what, you wanted to be 7-3? I always hate those arguments because I'm like, well, that goal at that time could have changed the game. So that comments pointless. But even if you want to say that, I'm like, yes, I do want it to be 7-3, not 7-2, because it was a goal. And my question for the people who are like, you can't see any white beyond the pocket
Starting point is 00:20:58 in the goalie's glove. Here's a question for you, Chris. If Binner gloves that and his his arm goes all the way back and just barely touches the netting, but we can't ever see the puck in the glove. Like, what are you saying then, guys? Because, like, that puck was just so clearly in the net. I'm getting called the R word by mouth-breathing blues fans online for saying that puck was in the net. I'm not even a Jets fan.
Starting point is 00:21:22 People are like, cry harder, bitch. And I'm like, I'm not a Jets fan. I am just speaking logically. The puck was in the net. But people very much in agreement, Dan, like even blues fans in the chat being like that, that was in this is ridiculous yeah it's not a big deal it wouldn't have changed the game it's just it's more just like a hey like we got to figure this out folks like that is a goal let's let's do game get out of here that is a goal uh dude somebody somebody said i gotta find somebody said they should put metal detectors on the post
Starting point is 00:21:50 and put metal put it on the puck now now we are fucking talking now we are talking um okay back into the game that game i think people uh didn't realize too blues go up three nothing thing that that uh no goal happens um we then dude get nothing until the third period and then shit hits the fan okay yeah so here we go the jets score and it's three one they score pretty early it's three one and you're in your if you're a jet span you're like we're fine we're in this we've seen massive comebacks uh lately in the n hl certainly in these playoffs yeah and then blues dump one in hellie pukes it up behind the net boot finishes his hat track i think that was his third goal That's correct, correct.
Starting point is 00:22:35 Awful turnover. Quick play, right? Like a little bit of a bang, but I think he was like, I'm trying to go up the wall. And then he's like, I'll go behind. And it was just like too much happened at once.
Starting point is 00:22:46 I'm not excusing. It's a horrible play by Hellie, but just like a lot happened at once. Bang, it's in the back of your net. It's such a gut punch if you're the Jets. You get that goal. And then,
Starting point is 00:22:56 like, you weathered the fucking 10 minute storm in the first. You get this goal and you're like, we're okay. And then that goes in. And you're like, fuck, dude. right back to where we started. And then they put up this stat, dude. Nine of Hellie's last 12 playoff games.
Starting point is 00:23:11 Nine of his last 12, he's given up four goals or more. It's the golden moment. Triumph on the podium, golden hand. But with Corona Serro, golden moments go beyond the Winter Olympics. They're enjoying sunsets, time outside, reconnecting with nature, and laughs shared with friends. For every golden moment at the Winter Olympic Games, enjoy your own with Corona Cera.
Starting point is 00:23:33 0% alcohol and a source of vitamin D. Coronacero, the official non-alcoholic beer of Milano Cortina 2026. Can we just take a moment to understand that? Like that, 9 of 12, not good. Not good. And I was talking to, and they eventually get two more, there's power plays, and they pull them after six. They had six goals.
Starting point is 00:24:01 I wrote it down. They had six goals on like 25 shots, I think, at the time. The, here's what I can't figure out, dude. They ride him so hard in the regular season, which is why he wins Vezna's and why he has all these wins and everything. But it's like, if you are looking, and Kemper's only played twice, so who knows. But if you're looking at someone like Kemper's season who has, you know, significantly less wins, but but played significantly less games and then has the same save percentage and goals against. I'm not saying give Kemp, the Vesda. Give Heli the Vesda, 1,000%.
Starting point is 00:24:34 but aren't you happier going into the playoffs with a guy with exactly Kemper's stat line than a guy with Helly Statline just because of the miles, or is that insane? Yes, it's not even a question. We talk about it all the time. It's, you know, gone are the days of Martin Broder playing fucking 80 games in a season. But it's just, it's so different. It's so much harder these days. So, yeah, listen, I'm not saying that the Jets need to be panicked here.
Starting point is 00:25:04 But this is a game that you absolutely hate to see because this is the blues team, right? This is the blues team that fought and got into playoffs. You've got Bukhinovich scoring. You've got Kairu scoring on the power play. You've got Piyonk hitting bombs. Perako gets in there as well. I do want to shout out the Radic Fasca line. These guys were out of control in this game, flying all over the place,
Starting point is 00:25:28 buzzing around, banging bodies. And this was a gnarly blues win. And, you know, obviously you had eight power plays in this game, three power play goals, not a very disciplined game by the Jets. But, you know, it was just, this was a crazy physical game. Both teams had over 60 hits, you know, like you got, you got the Jets to get in the mud in this game. You drastically outshot them if you're the blues. This is a big win. And what we always say, CP, is nothing matters until game three. Nothing matters until game three, because you can have all the Mo Mo Mo in the world.
Starting point is 00:26:01 You look at L.A. Edmonton to reference again, unbelievable that they've got a 2-0 lead, but you go to Rogers and you lose big like this and all of a sudden you're sweating a little bit. I'm not saying the Jets are sweating, but that sucked. That was a tough loss. You know, you had a lot of fans being like Jets best team in the league. Here they are, 2-0, blah, blah, blah, blah, and now the blues absolutely tallywack them. And you've got a series all of a sudden. Dude, I'll say this. Someone in the chat just said, Palm Face said, Hella Bucke likes playing a lot, but I agree with resting him.
Starting point is 00:26:31 And as they said that, I was like, I actually want to look up Vassie. And Vassi started the same amount of games. So to be fair, because you and I do. See, I know. I know. Like it's bad. To be fair, you and I have been like, I love that Vassie wants the puck. And I love that he doesn't want to get pulled.
Starting point is 00:26:48 Because the next question I have for you is what did you think about the hellie pole? So to be fair, I can't say it's cool when Vassie does it and it's stupid when the Jets play hellie this much. But I would argue to myself, the. Bolts have always played vastly this much. They've always left him in even when they're getting blown out. And he's single-handedly won them two cups and proven it hasn't really bothered him. Whereas Helly, they've always played him this much.
Starting point is 00:27:11 And then he has gone into the playoffs and given up four plus and nine of 12. Right. So I would say he needs the rest. Even with that thought, I hated the poll then. What did you think? I was just like, dude, you don't need to, like, why would the dude's confidence already in fuck in shambles from the playoffs history? why are you yanking him right now?
Starting point is 00:27:31 And those were like good power play goals who fucking cares. I don't, I'm not bothered by yankings. To me, it's like, I don't think it's an embarrassment thing. It's more of a get him rest thing. Game's over. I'm looking to get my star player, the absolute backbone of this team, rest whenever he can get it. Once you have now lost this game, I'm like, hell, you get out of there.
Starting point is 00:27:54 I don't need you to give up fucking eight goals here. And because I think that there's another argument, you start getting goals. I know it's just one game. And Ty Domi in the chat just said Vassie did have a good game too. And that's a fact. We'll get into that when we get to that series. But I don't like, it's like KG, dude. I'm going to reference Kevin Garnett.
Starting point is 00:28:14 It's like when KG after the whistle, when people would put up shots, he would jump up and block it because you don't want to see someone have a shot go in. I don't like players on the blues scoring more goals against Hellie. he's having a bad game. I don't want to see, because you know what's a big thing, dude? Think about a guy on the blues who isn't really going quite yet. And they get a goal on hellie. And they're like, boom, damn's broken. I'm in.
Starting point is 00:28:39 I'm on the score sheet. Yeah. You don't want that. Like, even if they get a goal, but if it's on the backup, that is different. It is a different thing. So I don't want players scoring on my starting goaltender. I do respect the VASI mentality, but I'm fine with the poll. Again, I don't think it's an embarrassing.
Starting point is 00:28:56 I think it's a get your star goalie out of the net, get him some more rest, and don't let guys on the other team see goals go past him. That's my take. Yeah, I think I hear it for the rest. It was so late in the game anyway that it's like, how much rest did he get, I suppose. But I think I hear you. I'm kind of like, I just want Heli to refuse to leave, I think. That's, I think where I'm coming from. I just wish he was like, no, dude, I'm fucking fine. Fuck off. This doesn't matter. You're drunk on, you're drunk on the Vasi mentality. That's what's happening. Yeah, because it's sick.
Starting point is 00:29:28 And in the chat, Justin just asked, have we ever seen Hellie really win a playoff game? And I would say, yes, we saw him win game too. They won 2-1 in a tilt, you know? There's only- Yeah, how many shots of the Blues having that game, though? 22 shots on net, but they had good chances, dude. And ultimately, if you give up one goal in a playoff hockey game, that is your goalie winning the game for you, for sure. But it's a fair question, Justin, because, like, as CP said, 9 of 12, four goals or more in your play. playoff career. That ain't good.
Starting point is 00:29:57 Dude, my last thing on this series and what pissed me off more than the hellie yank was all the fighting at the end. That was, you know, obviously playoff hockey is a million scrums. I love that about playoff hockey. But dude, that, I'm trying to come up with a good comp, but it reached a point where you looked too frustrated. Like sometimes you're just like, yeah, I want to, I want to like send a message for the next game.
Starting point is 00:30:21 And that's cool, right? But eventually it was like, dude, this game. is a blood bath you've given up a touchdown they know you're pissed and we've had a scrap or two good day dude but the every fucking whistle like another scrum i was like all right boys like you lost you're mad it's fine now you're being uh you're you're you're whining you're being you look petulant right now yeah and i kind of hated that by the end of it what did you think uh i me too i absolutely hate when shit like that goes on i think we saw it in the first game trano sense i I think the Sends were doing that, taking undisciplined penalties.
Starting point is 00:30:57 I think it is always the number one way to let a team know that you are in their head. We saw Edmonton doing it against L.A. in game two. It's like you start doing that shit. God, I need to stop fucking referencing that series. I'm sorry. But you start acting like a child, taking shit penalties, looking like a little baby, like you said, petulant. I think it is unbelievable how much of that shows the winning team that you are getting.
Starting point is 00:31:24 to them. You're not getting to me. Yeah. Yes, you are. Yes, you are. Dude, the, I won't reference the series. I'll reference regular season. It's what the king said about the Oilers in their last regular season game where they're like, you know, they sent up the B squad and everyone's just trying to punch us. And I'm like, dude, that like bad games happen in hockey. The blues are a hot team, got a great coach. If you lose this game, if you're Winnipeg, someone had asked earlier in the chat, it was like, um, uh, uh, do you care if you're Winnipeg? I don't think so. I think you're like, yeah, whatever. We lost this game. The old. only thing I would care about is how you reacted to it.
Starting point is 00:31:57 And that's where I'm like a tiny, tiny bit nervous. Where I'm like, why didn't you just let this ride and who fucking cares? But instead, you threw it fit. Yeah, I mean, uh, Jets are getting Valardi back. Uh, I think, uh, DeMello's coming back as well. Oh, yeah. Chat is saying that right now. Hell yeah.
Starting point is 00:32:14 Uh, but I think I'm sticking with my Jets and six, but I do think blues are going to get another one. It might be, it might be game four. Yeah, that would, that would be sick. That would change a lot. Okay, moving on to the Knights Wild series. And I want to do something real quick, C.P. Imagine this.
Starting point is 00:32:32 Imagine this cap. Okay. Imagine this cap is a big red, poofy nose. Because I feel like a clown. You do. Yeah, you are worse. But I feel like a clown. I meant to flag this.
Starting point is 00:32:49 Keep going. Holy shit. We talked about it after. game two, this wild team is reminding everyone exactly who they were to start the season and who Caril Caprizov was to start the season. Can we talk about the first goal, dude? They come out in this game in Excel, in Minnesota. You got this buzzing mini crowd.
Starting point is 00:33:19 Series is tied one-one. Vives are high. and the wild get a beeper. And who's out there on the ice? You got Eric's a neck. You got Capriza and you got the newcomer. You got the kid, the national champion, Zeev Boyam. He is buzzing around the ice with these guys.
Starting point is 00:33:37 The puck movement from those three, getting it down to krill, down low, wheels around the zone, rips one, gets the lead. That goal. Sounds dumb. That goal, I was like, wilder winning this game. Wilder winning this game. That is what I'm talking about, dude. You get home, you get your first game at home, and you're down in the series or you're tied in the series like this one, and you get that quick goal. Oh, baby, is that fucking lead in the pencil?
Starting point is 00:34:06 Is that blood rush into the netheres? And like the way that that fucking fan base went nuts after that one. I was like, oh, my God, this might get ugly. Dude, Alex, Alex, in the chat just said it here. And I was trying to scroll up. Someone said it earlier. someone earlier was like Vegas or Vegas and 4 CP question mark. Alex says Vegas and four crying face. I if the wild win this series, I will wear a dunce cap in the next episode. And dude, I 100%
Starting point is 00:34:32 I didn't forget what the wild were. I just didn't think they were going to be able to immediately just return to that as everyone came back from injury and you start the playoffs against, in my opinion, and I stand by this, possibly the best team in the league. Like Vegas, especially in playoffs, forget regular season. Like in these playoffs, Vegas is, is quote, unquote, built for this. Their team, the way they roll lines, their goalie, their back end, their weight. Jack having the best year of his career, like everything was pointing to Vegas just being a fucking steamroller. And I was like, I don't think the wild can tap into what they had from before.
Starting point is 00:35:08 It felt to me like the blues were the much scarier draw if you were one of the top two teams because the blues were so hot and whatever. And now it's like, dude, the wild are horribly. misseeded because of their injuries. Like they should have been a one seed, a two seed, and that's who you caught in the first round. That's what it's appearing to be. And I do want to say, we eat crow for breakfast, lunch, and dinner
Starting point is 00:35:32 whenever it is appropriate. So I want to be very clear. We're always down to admit our mistakes. But I do want to say to the chat and like to some of the people in the DMs, like this is similar with the Panthers that we'll get to. We didn't sleep on the wild here. It was all questions about health. There's guys like Boldie.
Starting point is 00:35:49 who up until this series and God damn is Matt Boldy bawling who had really performed in the playoffs yet and that's one where yeah you'd be wrong about that but we were like listen Boldy could pop off the big questions for me were Caprizov and Erick
Starting point is 00:36:05 guys who had significant injuries who were coming back and it's like are you healthy that's why it's tough to call and they're missing the third of their back end like Spurgeon was hurt a bunch you know it's like Middleton I was like what are we doing He'll even have a fucking healthy roster. Yes.
Starting point is 00:36:22 So before the injuries, yeah, I mean, go back to our episodes, dude. We were like the wilder insane. Krill's going to win MVP and this team could make a cup run here. But the injuries were devastating. So part of the reason for picking Vegas so emphatically was we don't know if they're healthy. Well, we do know that they're healthy now. And this series has been absolutely flipped on its head. And holy shit, man, this wild team looks insane.
Starting point is 00:36:47 And I do want to say before, you know, we can really get into the game here. It's like two goals and four shots for the wild. They get up two nothing. That's huge. I thought it was really bad play by Gus, honestly, on the Petro goal that let them. Oh, dude, that was a terrible goal. That was terrible. It's like, you get Gus going behind the net.
Starting point is 00:37:10 Or excuse me, Petro gets that puck. He comes down the right side and just kind of throws a clapper online. you can see Gus was kind of looking to do the paddle flip just like floor cheese slap shot he's trying to just ricochet that one out and he just missed times it and it goes five hole which was scary Dan because up two oh and dominating and then that goes in and you're like fuck like we'll have to lose now and real quick Dan Matthew in the chat I think that's who chirped me before so shout out Matthew but he said don't forget the dead cap space so they couldn't even fill those injuries which is a great correct we've been talking about next year how the wild get to go crazy but this year it was like
Starting point is 00:37:44 our stars are hurt and we're over the because we're paying two dead guys. I'm like, that sucks. We talked about it earlier this year with our boy Tomer on the pod. Obviously, Krill is going to sign an extension that's going to eat up a lot of that cap, but that dead space is going to keep this wild team very relevant moving forward.
Starting point is 00:38:03 But yeah, man, you've got the young guys. Rossi gets on the score sheet. You've got boldy buzzing. But this was a game that just genuinely felt like it was never in question for the wild. And my question to you, dude, is, you definitely got in my head here. When we were not doing our previews, but going into playoffs, a lot of people kept going, everyone's forgetting about Vegas, dude.
Starting point is 00:38:26 Everyone's counting Vegas out. They're doing this. They're doing that. And I'm kind of here to say, if Vegas loses this series, are we in line for a conversation of we're putting too much respect on Vegas? Like, everyone is just going, you know, obviously they come into the league. They have so many playoff appearances in their first six years. they win a cup.
Starting point is 00:38:46 They've been to multiple. But then it was like last year, everyone was like Vegas is definitely going to go to the cup again. They lose in the first round. Here we go. People are going, Vegas going to the Western Conference finals at least. What if they lose in the first round to the wild card wild here?
Starting point is 00:39:01 Dude, okay, great question. And before I answer, I love this from Patrick in the chat. 5-2, pretty much all three games. Are we hammering that exact score in game four? And I think we have to. I think we have to put our life savings on the score will be 5-2 in game four. Dan, here's my thought on that.
Starting point is 00:39:18 The Vegas Golden Knights win the Cup. And then the next year, they are, everyone loves them again. They lose in the first round. But to a Dallas team that went to the West Carolina's finals, we all thought was nasty, a horrible first round matchup. Vegas was up to a zero in the series. So, you know, you've got to win that one. But they lost to a very good team.
Starting point is 00:39:39 Why were they a wild card? Because they puked on themselves in the reggae season, but they were hurt a lot like they always are. Yeah, unfair. And it's kind of like that team coming off a cup. You're like, whatever, just get in playoffs. We don't need, we don't care about what seed we are. But the fact is you lost.
Starting point is 00:39:51 This year, they go, we're healthier. Jack's amazing. We're the fucking one seed. We're nasty. If you lose in the first round this year, you do run into a little bit to me. And I love the guy. But you run into a little bit to me of the, are you tuning out Cassidy thing? Like what's going on with this relationship between getting the most out of your locker room?
Starting point is 00:40:13 because up to O against Dallas, it felt like they just vanished last year. Like I remember being like, are they not, like they just not going to put up a fight here. And they kind of didn't. And so far for me in the last two games, dude,
Starting point is 00:40:28 they just look sloppy and not locked in. Like that hill turnover on the Ross Eagle, the Haniffin reverse to Boldie. And Boldie's a menace. He's been everywhere. But like, those are just literally sloppy, lazy plays by a team.
Starting point is 00:40:41 And I'm sorry, the Minnesota fans of the chat, but I'll stand by. by a team that is better than the while. I'm like, dude, and more experienced and knows what it takes to win. I'm like, dude, you guys are just not trying as hard as Minnesota is. And if you don't change that, you will lose this series. And you will lose it quickly, in fact.
Starting point is 00:40:58 Yeah. And I do, I want to shout out William in the chat. I wanted to get into this. He just called it out. I do think that there's a very significant chance here that Ikel is carrying a worse injury than people thought. I don't think he's moving like he normally. normally does. To me, this is a very good wild team, but through three games, not really seeing
Starting point is 00:41:19 Jack Eichael, who more or less had a hundred points this year doing much, that is significant. And you're going up against the Erickson-Eck line most of the time, and I've said a million times. I did it. I season preview. I called out Erickson-Eck is one of the most underrated players in the league. He's one of the best two-way defensive centers in the game. Ikel is a top-five player in the NHL. And he's just not playing like himself. So I do wonder. if he has an injury that's holding him back, then more people realize. Because we saw him miss significant time
Starting point is 00:41:49 at the end of the season because of an injury. So I think that that's definitely possible. Dan, Alex in the chat, Eicholine, zero points, Ekline 13 points. That's an awesome stat poll. Awesome stat, Alex, fucking love that. Lucas, Vegas may be better. We have more heart.
Starting point is 00:42:03 Couldn't agree more. At least right now. And Lucas, that's how it's going. Lucas, that is the difference maker right now. And like, you saw, I mean, The Fortress Man, T-Mobile, unbelievable barn. You know we love it.
Starting point is 00:42:13 The X was fucking shaking last night. Genuinely shaking. And I, you know, I think the fans know it. The fans know that this wild team is legit. They're coming to play. Game four is monumental now. But yeah, I mean, I guess what I was saying when you ask, what do we think about this Vegas team is I don't think that anyone is saying that they're frauds.
Starting point is 00:42:37 I don't think anyone is saying that they are, you know, maybe not as good. but I do think we have this respect on them, CP. We have this respect that the Panthers and Maurice have that's like, dude, you know, never count this team out. They are, they're so nasty. They are so, they're seasoned vets. They're so in it. They know what they're doing every time you can never count them out.
Starting point is 00:43:02 That is what I'm like, I don't know if that might be the case anymore if they lose this series. I do want to quickly say, if anyone can see my screen, our boy, Matt Boldie, Blazer, here's the photo. No way. Here's the photo. Watching from his kayak like a fucking beauty. Matt Boldie Glazer, send us your address in the DMs.
Starting point is 00:43:24 You're getting a fucking t-shirt for that, buddy. That's like this is about as cool as it gets that you're watching from a kayak. Make sure in the DM send us your address. We're sending you some merch for that. Going into this game, CP, game four, I should say. Do you think Wild, pull ahead? head or dude i was texted nick b after the game because he was fired up obviously and i was like Vegas because i said uh maybe it was on the live last time that after Vegas lost game too i was like
Starting point is 00:43:53 surprising loss for me if i'm Vegas i'm not worried at all i just go like oh yeah wow clean it up fellas but like we're fine and i now feel like Vegas is officially and one billion percent on notice and if you lose game four in minnesota which is a fucking very tough place to play if you lose a game four in Minnesota, I can go down 3-1. I no longer feel like this Vegas team can rip off three straight. Oh, no, no, they're toast.
Starting point is 00:44:20 And this is the team I catch you win in fucking four. But I'm like, you can't even win three straight in this series. If you don't tie this at 2 and get into a best of three, best of three, I think I skew back to Vegas because I'm like, okay, I think they can probably try to steal two with two at home. But if you go down 3-1 here, I'm like, dude, you might be done. Yeah, again, I think it's over.
Starting point is 00:44:38 If the axe keeps fucking bumping and Minnesota takes care of business. I think the series is over. Minnesota is going to take it. They might take it in five, to be completely honest. But I will say, I know, but I will say this wild iteration of the last five or so years
Starting point is 00:44:54 have a very difficult time in game fours. So we'll see. But yeah, this one, this is a series that has been completely flipped on its head from what everyone thought before any games and then certainly after game one. So this is wild. I actually have so much more to say about the series.
Starting point is 00:45:12 but let's kick it to the next one for the East Coast lunchers. But dude, at perfect segue, Dan, the teams, I would say the teams that have had the most hype about making the cup that I've seen from brackets that have been posted,
Starting point is 00:45:26 from brackets that we have, from brackets of our friends are Colorado, Tampa, and Vegas. And those three teams are in a world of trouble. Yeah. And yeah, someone just said,
Starting point is 00:45:39 actually two things, someone just said, I call again, zero points minus, in the series. Yeah, it's like, like we've been talking about. It's, I just don't think he's himself. I also do want to address the chat. A lot of people asking how I have two phones.
Starting point is 00:45:49 Guys, I'm on my computer. Relax. I don't have, I don't have burner iPhones out here. Dan has a bad phone. He's fucking lied. Everyone calm. I do have a bad phone, but everyone calmed down. All right.
Starting point is 00:46:01 Let's move on to maybe the most tense one of the bunch. We're going to get into the Florida Panthers, Tampa Bay, lightning series Florida Panthers go up two games to none on enemy ice with a fucking shutout from goalie bob bro. Hey Chris, can I do something real quick? Let me just do something real quick. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:46:24 Put it back on. See this bottle cap? I want you all to imagine this is a red squishy clown nose. And I'm just going to wear that clown nose for right now. because holy hell holy hell my goodness gracious oh wait Chris the chat is saying
Starting point is 00:46:47 they're talking about Matt Boldie Glazer with two phones not me that's actually a good question oh true dude actually a good question dude he's got two phones on the kayak how is he doing that that's hilarious Dan let me start this game
Starting point is 00:47:02 and this series with this because I've been talking about it all live stream the Leafs professional first period the Jets, very unprofessional first period. The Tampa Bay Lightning come out in this game after getting rinsed at home by the Panthers, by your big brother. And they have an early, I'm talking inside the first 10 minutes, an early point blank point chance and an early power play.
Starting point is 00:47:26 Nothing, nothing. I'm not saying that's what lost the game. I'm just saying you need one of those so bad. I just fucking need one of those so badly. I had it written down to CP. Braden point, no pun intended, point blank chance, early peeper, nothing going. Dude, like when you are at home, you got spanked on your bottom, belt to ass. Yep.
Starting point is 00:47:54 You need to have an early, early statement. And man, are those really good opportunities to not cash in hurts? And then you see that trickle down, right? It begins losing is a disease. It's as contagious as syphilis as the bubonic plague. It's brutal. And when you aren't scoring, you lose, what was it, 6-2 in game one, you only get a couple past Bob. Now here you go.
Starting point is 00:48:22 Now you're getting blanked and you have chances like that early. That is tough, man. That is really, really tough. And then shortly after that, fucking Khan-Smife, Nate Schmidt, dude. Bro. It's like, what are we doing here? You kind of expect it from like the Morgan, playoff,
Starting point is 00:48:41 Morgan Riley shows up and he's got a bunch of goal. Dude, Nate Schmidt just hammer fucking goals in all playoffs is going to be one of my favorite storylines of all time. Ridiculous this guy. Vasi, hey, that was a bad goal though. Vassie wants that back. I think he does too,
Starting point is 00:48:56 but at the end of the day, what did I say after game one? Cats fans getting so caught. And when I say that, Cats fans, I love you guys. I love cocky cats fans. But Katz fans were so cocky after that first game as they should have been, as they deserved to be. They were buzzing.
Starting point is 00:49:10 They were yapping. And I said, this will not happen to Vazzy again. Vazzy is not giving up six goals. And would you look at that? He did not let up six, let up six goals. He only let in one. 22 shots. But at the end of the day, like I was talking about Olmark or Hala Buc, excuse me, you let in one goal.
Starting point is 00:49:30 You've done your job. And this is a Boltz team that has fucking Nikita Kutjurab on it. It has Brandon Hagle. Braden Point has Anthony Sorrelli. You got nasty players, Victor Headman. You've got to be scoring goals. I don't care who you're playing. You've got to be scoring goals.
Starting point is 00:49:42 So that is what's making this look so tough. Dan, listen to this stat from Jake A. And Jake, is this playoffs? But he says, gents, here's a crazy stat. The bolts have never lost before with Vassie only letting in one. That's wild. That is insane. There's-
Starting point is 00:49:56 Yeah, that must be a playoffs. But that's it must be a playoff stat. And yeah, that's fucking crazy. That's crazy. So that's what I'm saying. Like, here you are now. Game one, you try. chalk up as a
Starting point is 00:50:06 you're too drunk. Too drunk on the end of your season. Too drunk on Cooch, you get humbled by the defending champs. Game two on home ice. Like you've got to come out and you've got to make a statement. And your statement is Nikita Kutrov has nothing going.
Starting point is 00:50:22 Bucan. Your whole team. Art Ross guy. My MVP. That's my MVP, dude. Back to back, Art Ross. Back to back, Dan. And he has no points. Patrick. Games, but he has no points. Tampa Bay. 0 for 5 in the power play. Game two.
Starting point is 00:50:35 in a damn near must-win game two. 0-4-5 in the power play. Cooch led the league, I think, in power play points. Patrick. Patrick just dropped in the chat. Cooch hasn't scored in 12 playoff games. And yeah, this- fucking crazy.
Starting point is 00:50:46 This style of Panthers hockey is not good for Cooch. For such a big guy, he doesn't like getting in the mud that much. And this is what the Panthers will do to you, man. And I will say, dude, it's obviously, obviously we love Brad Marshand. So it's a little biased of a take. but looking at fucking Brad Marshand
Starting point is 00:51:08 with Sam Bennett and Matthew Kuchuk speaking at that Tampa bench. This is what was so alluring. Exactly what they wanted. And it's what was so alluring about the Florida Panthers of the last two seasons. Going up against Vegas, then coming right back to the cup and beating Edmonton. It's like, I know a lot of people hate them. A lot of people call them rats.
Starting point is 00:51:29 They say they're dirty. They're this and that. And we're going to get into obviously the big talking point of this game in one second. you got to love this, man. Like, this is, this is hockey. This is a, this is a hockey team. Like, this is such a fun, fun team to watch. They play dirty, gritty hockey.
Starting point is 00:51:47 This is how they win. They're so well coached. Paul Maurice is just such a dog, the way he gets these guys going. It's unbelievable. This game didn't have much action as far as goal scoring. We got our empty netter. How you don't? How you don't.
Starting point is 00:52:02 But let's get into the hay hit that has been the big talking point of this game what did you see in that one dude oh man it's it's it's it's such a it's a it's a tough play for me dude because on the broadcast it was the correct call let me open with that before i i enrage anyone in the chat's the correct call um the broadcast i thought was hamming it up a little bit where they're like they're making it sound like the puck was in the corner and barcoff was at center ice and hagel just jumped off the bench sprinted at him and drilled them because like the puck is nowhere near but like all this shit and i'm like you see what happened and like you see why hagel is like dude what
Starting point is 00:52:45 um and it's to the point there was a hit dan we had talked about it with yans i think it was tanner jano i forget it they were playing but it was like someone dished a puck and it's long gone and you're just still looking the other way and you just get pocked so hard that's that's why the um result happened to Barkoff. Like, if he'd been looking at all, that's not like that violent or dirty of a hit. It's just the, it's just the no look aspect of it, right? So it's 100% interference. And if Barkoff is hurt, dude, or concussed and misses significant time, it is a tragedy for hockey in general, right? Like one of the best players in this game, and that is such an unfair thing to have happened and a shitty thing to have happened. And even once the, once the tensions died down,
Starting point is 00:53:33 even before the tensions died down, Hagle would be like, I didn't want to fucking hurt him, dude. I was just trying to play a physical game. So that sucks. But fuck, dude, I think it was the right call. I love that take by you. I'll give mine.
Starting point is 00:53:47 I think it's very similar. We obviously know, Brandon, he's an unbelievable person and an unbelievable player. And I hate when things like this happen, especially in the playoffs, because you always get such passionate sides from both fan bases.
Starting point is 00:54:03 There are Panthers fans saying Brandon Hagle should be locked up in prison. There are Tampa fans saying it was a clean hit. Neither are correct. To me, I don't think this was an intentionally dirty hit by Brandon Hagle. And I would go as far as to say, I think it's too passionate or dramatic to say that it was. I think that this puck came through. Hegel, in his mind, is thinking that Barkov is going to, going to get that puck and he wants to go finish his check. The biggest thing about it,
Starting point is 00:54:37 CP, was it was with his shoulder. Yes, Dan. I don't think that's debatable. This is shoulder to shoulder contact. Now, it's interference. And I actually think interference is too often skated past as a not that bad of a hit. It's a bad hit, dude. Interference can be a very bad But if you are, if you don't, if you're not in a position where you should be getting hit by another player, your defense is enough. I think people go and keep your head up, buddy. That is such a stupid take. He does have his head up. He's one of the best players in the NHL.
Starting point is 00:55:12 He's the best player on that team. He knows how to take a hit. He's a huge player. He should not be getting hit there. That's why it's dangerous. That's why it was a penalty. I don't think there should be a suspension primarily because it's playoffs. but the fact that Barkoff could miss time,
Starting point is 00:55:29 like as you said, that is absolutely horrifying. You never want to see anyone miss time ever, especially in playoffs and when it's a guy like Barkaw that just sucks so, so much. So I just think, I don't like the takes that it was like this crazy dirty hit. His hands aren't up.
Starting point is 00:55:51 His elbow's not really up. His stick isn't up. It's an unfortunate play. I do think it's, absolutely a penalty, but I think the narrative that Hegel is a dirty player. Like someone on Twitter, which wasn't a bad comment at all, said something like, I didn't think Hegel had that dirtiness in him. And I don't think that that was an intentional dirty play.
Starting point is 00:56:11 I think his team's losing. He's frustrated. He wants to make a statement hit on a big player. We can never know. People who say he went intentionally high, he did this, you don't know that. And I don't know that he did it. So it's just when you look at the player who doesn't really do this, it is what it is.
Starting point is 00:56:28 Now, I do want to say quickly, CPN, then I'll let you go. Trevor just came in the comment, said, left his feet. Holy shit. Do I want to have a conversation about leaving your feet? I know, dude. I'm just going to fire you up. And like, Trevor, this is not me coming at you in the chat. I love you for being here in the chat.
Starting point is 00:56:45 Guys, leaving your feet is a penalty per the rulebook that is meant to say, if you jump before the hit, before, or the hit and then make contact, that is leaving your feet. If two 180 pound plus guys going 30 miles per hour on the ice hit each other, you almost always then leave your feet. It is not the same thing. Please stop saying that because it is wrong. It is wrong. There are times where people do leave their feet.
Starting point is 00:57:22 Oftentimes when people say that, I hit like this, that is not the case. We need to change this fucking narrative about leaving your feet. Again, it is a penalty. No doubt. I hated the hit. You saw my tweet. I don't like it from Hegel at all.
Starting point is 00:57:35 But I do think it's not as dirty as people think. I'm done talking. Dude, no, I think I was just going to go to the chat. A lot of comments on this, obviously. People saying, Baker says, Hegel definitely anticipated the puck going with him. Puck just passed Barkoff. If McDonough doesn't push the puck, it would have been a clean hit.
Starting point is 00:57:54 You know, like I think people are largely agree. with like he wasn't going to drill him. It was a really bang, bang, play. Gabe, Dan, said low body position for Barkoff since he's not expecting the hit, which was your point. Like if he had the puck, he would, which Hague thought he was about to, he'd be ready for it.
Starting point is 00:58:08 But since he doesn't have the puck, he's just like, goes into that lean back mode and then you get popped. Someone had here, I'm going to try to find it again, that it was shoulder to chin. And I'll have to look at it again. But that's another one for me, Dan, similar to your leave defeat take, where if a hit comes in and it goes like this,
Starting point is 00:58:25 hits my shoulder and then up to my chin. Everyone goes, they hit him in the head. And I'm like, no, really, though. Because like it hits off your shoulder pad and bounces up automatically. So I'll have to watch that again. But to me, that was body first. That's what I thought. I think CP, the biggest question here is, and this is why it was a penalty and why we've said it is a penalty.
Starting point is 00:58:45 He should have gotten a penalty. If Barkoff, if Barkoff touches that puck, no one's having a conversation here. And Dan, the other thing that's annoying is when people go, and someone said, but it's like if you don't, if everyone's like, he's not looking at the puck. And I'm like, I know, because you're looking at the person you're trying to hit. You assume they have the puck. So you're, I'm now looking at Barkoff trying to square him up instead of looking like this while he dangles me. You know, so it's like that's a tricky one too. You can't be looking at two things at once. Yeah. I mean, Curtis right now says it was square to his face. Respectfully, I didn't see that. I don't think that it was a clear face head contact. And I would love to see any freeze frame of that. I haven't seen a single one. But again, listen, it was a penalty. I'm glad a penalty was called.
Starting point is 00:59:36 I would be upset Dr. Locke's in the building. Dude, let's go. We're rolling with the Kings to win the cup. I don't know if, you know, what we're talking about right now. It says cats bolts, hell yeah. I know the Panthers won a massive game last night. Sure did, dude. That was fucking sick.
Starting point is 00:59:53 But all I know is right now, the kings are bossing. And I don't know about a lot of these teams. I'm not the biggest hockey guy. But the Kings right now, that's where I'm putting my money. Plus 950. We love the caps. It's a great Cinderella story. I feel like at some point the chair is going to fold
Starting point is 01:00:10 and the carpet beneath them is going to get just swept out. And the crown gets put on the Kings. Yeah. But yeah, dude, that's crown on the Kings, dude. Crown on the Kings. Also that plus 950s. We love Logan Thompson, though. Shout out.
Starting point is 01:00:23 He's a dog, dog, dude. Dog, absolute dog. We need more empty nets tonight. Yes, we do. It shouldn't be that hard. If the M's nenty, if that fucking net's empty, it's slap it in the back, dude. Shoot it in.
Starting point is 01:00:34 This is how we do it, dude. Dr. Locke gets hockey. He's a puck guy now. This is huge. Dude, kings are gas. Kings have made me, have rejuvenated me, have brought my hockey love to life. The fucking kings, dude.
Starting point is 01:00:47 Kempi, Kopitar, fucking QB. Shout out QB, dude. Dog. They got dogs up and down that lineup. They're ready to rock, dude. I'm ready to run through the wall for the Kings. Wow. This is special.
Starting point is 01:01:00 Hell yes. Also, it's more buzzy in crypto for a Kings game than the Lakers game, which is a thing that you would never, ever, ever, ever, ever think of. But it's true. That's a great take. I love that take. You have LeBron and Luca Dantzich on the hardwood, and the Kings game is more buzzing.
Starting point is 01:01:15 Look at that, dude. Someone said on Twitter, L.A. is a hockey town, and it is, dude. That barn goes harder for Kings games and Lakers games. not even close. It's shocking. Well, fellas, it was a good little guest right here. Yeah. We didn't plan this, but here we are.
Starting point is 01:01:31 That was special. That was special. Just to close things out, talking about that Hegel hit. Again, no doubt about it, penalty. I didn't like it from Hegel. I don't think it was as intense as it was. And then, you know, he's having a hearing today. What do you think?
Starting point is 01:01:48 Do you expect a suspension? Do you want a suspension? I said to me, I specifically, I specifically, I don't want a suspension because I want them to go to court in the streets, dude. I want him to have to fight Matthew Kuchuk on the drop in game one. I don't want one at all. Just because, like, I would like to see these two awesome teams battle at full strength. I will say, though, Dan, I might, opinion might change if Barky missed his time.
Starting point is 01:02:12 Like, if Barkoff is hurt, then I might be like, yeah, suspend him. And then we'll each play down on one of our best players, which I wish they would do more often with injuries like that, because it just seems more fair. But dude, I really, really, really hope Barkoff's okay. And then if so, I hope they don't suspend Hegel, but I do think he is going to get one. Yeah, it's at the end of the day, I don't know. I would just want people to be clear. I don't want to keep harping on it. I don't think Hegel is a dirty player.
Starting point is 01:02:42 And I don't think it was intentionally dirty. I do think it was absolutely a penalty. And if he gets a one game suspension, I totally understand it. We are so huge on the, if a player gets hurt. and it was a penalty, I'm always like, fuck, dude, that is ass. So you hate to see it. What do you think they were saying to each other at the end there? Dude, not nice things.
Starting point is 01:03:04 I bet they were talking about each other's mothers, and they weren't saying beautiful stuff. No doubt about it. Here is the state of this series as we close out here. We're over an hour, folks, so we've got to wrap this up. I have said a million times, nothing matters until, game three. So yes. I would say, though, that's usually when the home team has winning.
Starting point is 01:03:28 Like, I think if you dump the first two at home, then it already matters. I said it, though, I said it after game one. I don't care about home ice in this series. They're both in Florida. Like, it's not to say anything bad about any, either of these barns, but that you know that Panthers barn is going to be out of fucking control. We love those. Shout out our girls at the bar. Yeah. And you know, especially now. I mean, I think the thing most about this hit, let's take away the Barkoff, hopefully not injury.
Starting point is 01:03:59 But dude, all you've done is motivate the Panthers more. Like, that's what was so shit about this by Hegel. It's like, you just gave the Panthers so much ammo. But nothing matters until game three. So if Tampa comes out and figures out their scoring and they win, you know everyone now is like, oh, fuck. Like this could be a series again. But I will put this on yet again because I didn't doubt the Panthers. but I sure did gas up the bolts too much
Starting point is 01:04:27 because this is the fucking cup holders for a reason they are fucking disgusting, disgusting right now. Dan, do you think, like, do you think, what's your percentage chance of hope for Tampa here?
Starting point is 01:04:41 Like, 25, 25. Like, I think that they are backs against the ropes. And if they win game three, it doesn't even bump up that much. Like,
Starting point is 01:04:51 I'm going 25. the 33. Like you are. You still have to win four of the next of the next five games. Yep. Fighting for your lives. I do believe though, the, the, the, the, the, the Bulls played the Rangers. Maybe it was 2022 and they went down 02 and then rattled off four straight wins. So this isn't not in their bag. That's all I'll say. I know, dude. And, and, um, yeah, I wonder to, this is, this is total spin zone, but I wonder if the, if Hagle does play, because remember, I don't want to spill too much tea, but when they, when they, when they, we were at nations with all those boys and Hagle was talking to us about fighting Matthew the first time.
Starting point is 01:05:28 I wonder now if it's almost like a distraction that like that whole, like Matthew Cichuk will come out to, if Hagle plays Matthew Cichuk will stop at nothing to throw hands with him. And I'm like, hey, just play the game. Like this should not be your concern if you're the Panthers. You're in the driver's seat. Well, that's why you do it right off the bat. Like you got to do it right off the drop. Honestly, if I, if Hagle isn't suspended, if I were Hagle, I would do it.
Starting point is 01:05:52 Like I would be like, let's go. Let's get this shit over with. Actually, that might be the mental game for Kachuk to do. Don't fight him. Yeah. Make him think it's coming all game, dude. They can think it's coming all game. Oh, dude, I love that.
Starting point is 01:06:04 Oh, my God. I love it. All right, guys, that is it for us on Puck Lion News today. Our live shows, again, if you are not subscribed to the YouTube, please. We love you guys. Make sure you click that subscribe button so you never miss any of these. We are posting all of our live episodes as regular episodes of the podcast on our YouTube and our Spotify and Apple, wherever you get your podcasts.
Starting point is 01:06:25 And our regular podcasts are coming out every Tuesday and Thursday at 6 a.m. Eastern time. So we're giving you guys hockey content every single morning Monday through Friday, all through the playoffs because we love it and we love you more importantly. That's going to wrap it up for us today. We're going to hit the weekend and come back hot on Monday with a lot of action to talk about. Make sure you are ready for that live show because it's going to be a doozy. And until we see you next time,
Starting point is 01:06:52 You guys know exactly what to do. Say it with me. Skate hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.