Empty Netters Podcast - The Colorado Avalanche Train Is About To Be Full Steam Ahead
Episode Date: February 27, 2025The trade deadline approaches and some teams are facing major decisions. It's time to blow it up in Pittsburgh. And does Colorado make another move now that Val is back? The rookie of the year race is... getting insane. How do we make Stadium Series even cooler? And DP and CP play an epic game of What's The Connection. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: SKIMS. http://www.skims.com/netters From technically constructed briefs and ultra-soft boxers to the most comfortable tanks and tees you’ll ever wear, these foundations will keep you going 24/7. SOUTHERN COMFORT, Make your drink, just the way you like it. This is your kind of whiskey. https://www.southerncomfort.com/ LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some 00:00 INTRO 01:30 NOT ICE 18:23 HOT ICE 39:35 STADIUM SERIES 52:29 POWERS RANKINGS 55:13 STARTING 6 59:50 TRIVIA Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, it is time for the Pittsburgh Penguins to stop playing around and just blow it up already.
And the Colorado Avalanche are about to become a major problem.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BetMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, and with me, a man who when we were children would cut up hot dogs and then mix mayo and mustard together.
And because of the slightly light yellow color of the concoction, he called it scrambled eggs.
And guess what?
He still does that to this day.
Chris Powers.
I wish I still did that to this day.
I've seen you do it recently.
No, you have not.
Yes, I sure have.
Literally, no, you haven't.
Yes, I have.
It wasn't hot dogs.
It was a brought worst.
And it wasn't mustard to mail.
I'm telling you, you did it, too.
That is literally a complete and utter lie.
Don't try to...
Dude, I wish I still did it.
It's delicious.
And, dude, and let me see.
Hold on.
I think it's like...
You do it with flow sauce a lot, too.
Yeah, yeah.
Cozbole, because that's how you do.
That's how you do that.
Dude, look at this, bro.
Look at this.
Look at this, dude.
Wax, how close can I get that camera?
How close can I get to that camera?
You can't.
Look at this, dude.
I'm getting up.
Wow.
They make a mayo mustard problem.
Hines makes this now, dude.
That's how fucking ahead of the game I was.
Yeah, but you called it.
I should have been an employee of Hines as a fucking five-year-old.
You called it scrambled eggs like an idiot, though.
Mayo must?
Mayo must.
Yeah, it's a mayo must.
It's scrambled eggs, dude.
Boom.
I should have been on the Heinz board at eight years old.
You're telling me I just tried to embarrass you,
and now you're telling me you're a revolutionary.
I'm a revolutionary.
I'm a genius, dude.
You're a pioneer.
They literally bottle this and sell it to the masses,
and clearly they sell enough of it that it's in store.
Heinz also made orange ketchup that you could draw with,
so I'm not really going to say that just be.
because Heinz bottle something, it makes you a genius.
Well, I am saying that.
And, dude, I'm the man.
Scrambled eggs.
Scramble eggs.
Scramble eggs.
That's actually kind of like how I started eating things.
You started mixing?
Well, yeah, I'm a big mixer.
I am a big mixer.
And I also just started, like, I wasn't a picky, picky eater because I've seen picky eaters as kids.
But I was like, I don't want to eat that, like, mom would make like a pork.
And I'd be like, what is that, a fucking roast pork?
mom pass yeah and she'd be like boom like mix of mayo mustard dip it in that and I'd be like all right
so you just trench stuff in scrambled eggs your version of scrambled eggs and then you started eating
my favorite food is condiments and I believe that I mean sauces are the best things in the world
sauces are the best thing in the world that's why I eat um dude before we move on speaking of best
things in the world and the worst things in the world has this happened to you yet I I need to
we're going to start today's pod with a dantrum oh whoa
Whoa.
I have a lot of issues with...
I know.
I know you do.
Yeah.
In general.
I have a lot of issues with typing and texting.
I think my thumbs are too big.
It's a whole thing.
One of my favorite features in Apple is...
Careful.
Be careful.
The more mad you are, the worse they make autocorrect.
Like they can feel your rage.
That is true.
And then they start slowly deleting autocorrect.
capabilities.
It's insane.
It's actually the most diabolical thing running on Earth that Apple can tell,
reads your stress levels from the heartbeat and your thumbs and then slowly makes
autocorrecting work.
It's truly insane.
So that's one that bothers me.
Another one is I feel like that the return button is too close to space.
So I'll be typing and I'll all often with my right thumb hit return.
Oh yeah.
And then my text will be like, but, but, but I'm just like, dude, fuck off.
Why is that so close to space?
Yep.
But let me tell you this new thing that I hate with the fire of 10,000 fucking sons,
and I am actually going to jettison my phone into the Pacific Ocean the next time it happens.
With this new update, if you don't have this new iOS update,
then maybe it's not happening to you yet.
But if you go into texts, there's that bar at the top of your keyboard with suggested words,
which is also, fuck off.
And if you can turn that off, I'm probably sounding like a boomer right now,
and I'm happy to sound that way if it gets me help.
If I can turn off that suggested word thing, someone please tell me how, because you're hitting it too much.
Oh, dude, I'll just be typing and all of a sudden exacerbated shows up. And I'm like, what the fuck?
But next to that, there is an A with a bunch of lines next to it. And that is the right there.
Oh, I don't have that. And that is the animated text feature, Chris. And that allows you to when you're typing, you can make it big. And the words like animate, it can make it small. You can make it.
shake. You can make it nod. You can make it explode. I have never in my fucking life
wanted my words to be animated ever when I'm sending a text. And the amount that you
accidentally hit that, and I know there are tons of people right now listening who have
accidentally hit the suggested words so they know how easy it is to happen. And you'll be in the
middle of typing. And then all of a sudden, your words are just rippling. And I'm like, dude,
I'm going to lose my goddamn mind. I can't begin to express how much I fucking hate this
feature and I need it gone yesterday. Well, dude, look at this. Because that's not on mine yet,
but I just said to this text to you. That would be huge if true. That's the animated text.
Dude, it's right there. I see the, but, but look, I, I, I, I, I'll show you, Dan.
I can see the button. It's right there. You just showed me your screen. I can see the A.
Holy shit, dude. Look at this. It wasn't here.
Yeah, you got to type first. And now you can animate the words.
No, dude. I'm like, it's, it's, it's not there unless I hit type to you.
No, I'm sure it's typed to anyone.
You were starting a new message.
You need to be in a text with someone.
Hmm, okay.
So, yeah, when I open a text to thread to you.
We sound like such old fuck morons.
Now it's there.
But, dude, here's my issue with it, Dan.
It does it, any, without me doing anything,
like, if I go, the only reason, and only in all caps,
only just starts getting huge.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
If you, if you all caps, if you write huge, it's like, it's, I'm like, I didn't,
I don't want it.
I wanted the all cap emphasis.
I did not want you to start animating my type.
It's so annoying. I truly, I have never hated a forced upon me Apple update more than anything than this.
Do you, I know you have this, or I think you do, the AI now summarizes what texts are about before I.
Oh my God. I hate that too.
Dude, so like right now I have a text from the sports annex thread here at the office with Gav with locks and loops and Dolan and beats.
And it said, the AI says, shared photos of a phone screen with text and numbers.
And I'm like, okay, I don't know what the fuck that is.
But I bring it up to say, I hate it, dude.
But while we were in Montreal, our really good buddy from home was like, hey, there are two of my buddies from home who don't know you guys, but they're friends.
Shout out Brian and Brandon because we never actually got to meet up with you.
And if you're listening, I'm very sorry.
And I do want to hang out with you when we go back to Boston.
Agree?
My bad.
But they sent us a text because we created a group thread.
Yeah.
and I get this text in Montreal from them
that says AI summary
Brian, Brandon, Dan, Chris,
AI summary, text from them
expressing love and curiosity
about the boys' whereabouts.
Insane.
That's one of the great fucking text summaries.
Insane.
Dude, that is fucking perfect.
And that is exactly what I want the fellows to be doing.
Yeah, just expressing love and curiosity, baby, all the time.
Where the boys at?
Love you, boys. Where are you at?
all the time.
That, dude,
ah, man,
one of the greatest
AI summaries I've ever seen.
Good Lord.
Anyway, if someone
knows how to get
the animated text feature
off of my phone,
please tell me.
I'm sure I could just Google it,
but I just,
I need this to be delivered to me
as simple as possible.
Before we get into some hot ice
and some nice hockey talk,
I want to bring up something
that I was thinking about this morning
while I was getting dressed.
Oh.
This came up at this celebrity game.
Okay.
Came up in the locker.
When we finished, we all showered up, got to the showers, got dressed, went off to have a night.
Jeff Carter looked at me in the locker room and could not believe something that I had done.
And I want to ask, I want to ask if you think this is weird.
We shower up.
I start getting dressed.
I put on my boxers, my boxer briefs, my skims.
Just skims.
Actually, put on my skims.
I then put on my socks.
and he looked at me and he was like,
what the fuck are you doing?
And I was like, what?
And he was like, you put on your socks
after your briefs?
And I was like, not always,
but like they were just right here.
But you probably do do it always
if you did it that time.
No, I'm not a creature of routine
necessarily when I'm getting dressed.
Sometimes I'll go, you know,
sometimes I'll go Winnie the Pooh.
I'll put on a shirt first.
Yeah, I love going Winnie.
Just dick and balls hanging.
Yep.
but a t-shirt on.
Sometimes I'll do that.
So I did that move and he was like,
what the fuck is that?
I've never seen that before in my entire life.
And it became a huge joke in the locker.
Everyone was just cracking up.
But here's my question, dude.
Shouldn't that be the normal process?
Where do you put?
Let me ask you a question.
Yep.
You have a drawer, I imagine, in your bedroom at home.
And there are, there's underwear in that drawer.
you would think that, wouldn't you?
No, I do, I do.
What's also in that drawer?
Sox.
Me too.
Do you have a sock and underwear drawer, wags?
I have a sock and underwear bid.
Okay, but they are together.
They are.
Why is it so weird?
And Cartsey was not the only person who thought this was insane.
Do you put your socks on second, or do you put your pants on second?
I go underwear sometimes Winnie the Poot, depending on my mood.
If I find a good shirt, I'll put the shirt on, but then I'll go pants, pull up the pants, then socks.
I don't think I've ever put on.
I've done that too.
I don't think that's weird at all.
Like, I've done that too.
But it's counterintuitive.
I've rather put on my socks and then slide the pants over, so maybe I might start doing that.
This guy gets it.
Yep.
How annoying is it when you have to bunch up your pants to put on your socks?
Okay, so here is the truth.
Here are the facts of life.
I kind of am a creature of habit,
but I do both scenarios.
My knee jerk,
I think if I'm in zombie mode,
I'm not thinking,
is not sock second.
I put my underwear,
and put my pants on,
and then I'll put my socks on
if I'm not thinking.
Yep.
And I'm not opposed to that,
to anyone that does that.
Sure.
Carts saying that he's never seen that before
in his life is,
that's bullshit.
Because people do it.
You know what was also said?
I was also told that I looked like an old dad on a TV show
and I can see the image of a guy wearing like wighty tighties and dress socks
and I was like that's kind of funny.
It is, but Dan, the biggest thing,
I'm glad you went to dress socks is,
and I hope cards has this, but I have pants,
especially suit pants that I'm like,
I can't be bending back over to put these socks on.
Like you have to put your socks on.
You got to go dress socks over before.
dress socks and then you paint your suit pants on yourself. Correctly. And live your life.
Correct. So the fact that he's like, I've never seen that before. I've never done that before.
Makes me think, I need to see, I need to go to a wedding with him and see how he gets himself ready.
I was wearing. Maybe there was a, it was more in reference to what I was wearing. Okay. Yeah.
But again, let's say, hey, let's not target this man because he was not alone. Yeah.
I brought this up here in the office. Edge is like that is no one does that. No, no, I do that. I do about half the time, I would say.
Okay. And, and you, I actually.
think I'd go as far as say you should do it every time.
That was my point with the drawer.
It makes sense. They are undergarments.
You should put your undergarments on before you put your outer garments on.
I would say the only times I don't is because of this.
And maybe this is crazy.
I get out of the shower.
I'm naked.
I dry my hair.
Confirmed not a never new.
Yeah.
I dry my hair.
Towel dry my hair to some capacity.
Sure.
Then I kind of do this.
Yeah.
Up the front.
flip down the back.
And then I kind of like take the towel and go like a little arm.
Yeah.
And then like a little thigh crotch area.
And that's kind of as far as I get.
I don't really like rub down my calves and I certainly don't dry my feet.
I just like go.
Do you put socks on with wet feet?
No.
That's why I don't put them on.
That's where I was headed.
Like usually you let them air dry for a while.
are like the most wet, remaining wet part of my body, leaving the shower.
So, like, I put some underwear on, probably put some shorts or jeans on.
I put a t-shirt on.
And then when I'm like, okay, I got to go, I'm like, sock shoes out.
Do you soap your feet?
Not always, but not never either.
Like, I used to never do it.
And I was like, I should probably get down there.
You should.
You're not alone in that.
A lot of people don't soap their feet.
Yeah, I used to be like, I used not even be a leg guy.
I was like, it rinses right down.
Come on, dude.
I didn't think we were going to get into this.
But apparently that has become like a trend.
Not, no, I'm not, years ago.
People are like this, yeah, like most, most dudes, like most, most dudes from, you know, 18 to 35 are just, like, stopping at the dick and balls.
No, no, it was like, it was like at my knee.
If you are not getting your calves and ankles, I mean, I wash my feet every day.
Yeah, yeah.
But I'm a clean freak.
That was old me, though.
I've washed my calves now.
I'm not to the feet yet, though.
Dude, your feet gets stinky, dude.
You got to start washing those feet.
They're standing in soap water the whole time.
Yeah, but you're also standing in, like, soap scum.
because you're not cleaning your bathtub or your shower floor every day.
Well, you are.
And it's the same shower.
So that's it for me.
Dude, you gotta start drying your feet off.
Well, or you just wait to put your socks on.
But do you think maybe this is a result, or this is resulting in bad feet hygiene?
No.
You sure?
Yeah.
Do you think you have beautiful clean feet?
I have one beautiful clean feet and then I have one,
one mutilated foot from a charcoal incident.
That's not a lie.
I can confirm to the listeners that Chris has a club foot because he stepped on a fiery burning
coal on a beach in Florida once.
And it has, it literally killed his foot.
It ruined my life.
Like, you know how some people have a dead tooth?
Yeah.
I think I have to get like my foot amputated, which I would do if there was better foot
prosthetic tech, but it's not there yet.
So I'm waiting.
Like, you would literally have a dead foot.
Yeah.
Like, if you look, if you look at your foot, it's like the skin is dry and like peeling and flaky, it's like discolored.
Yeah.
I need to care for it.
Your foot's literally dead.
I got to like figure out how to save it.
You should cut it off, dude.
I know.
How do feet get dirty if they're in clean socks all day?
Other than if you work out.
Good question.
Because they're sweating, dude, all day long.
My feet don't sweat.
Yeah, they do, bro.
Yeah, they do.
Unless I'm working out, then they do.
Dude, if you're telling me Wags that you get home at the end of a day and you take your socks off and they're dry as a bone and they just smell fine, you're out of your mind.
They are.
No way, dude.
I'm going to make you smell them after.
Actually, deal.
At the end of a day, next time we're on the road or next time we're together at the end of the day, peel that sock off and I'm going to smell it because there's just no way.
If this kid just doesn't have sweaty feet, that'll be crazy.
This says that, oh my God.
You're sweating all the time anyway.
You sweat.
And also like, when your feet are in socks all day, they're not.
getting any sunlight. You got peely skin. Now the skin's getting in the socks. This is disgusting.
We got to start. A pint of sweat a day. You got a pint of sweat a day come out of your feet.
Apparently not this. I also wear slides too so they breathe all day. So they don't get very
You're okay. That's breathing a little bit more. But they're still not fully breathing because you got socks on.
Yeah. What if I have breathable socks? Yeah. This guy's got all the hats. We can invent that.
Unbelievable that. All right. We got to move. But you have a dead foot and putting on a
underwear and then socks is not that weird. Yes.
Taking a time out from the pod to talk to you guys about our partnership with
BetMGM and the unreal, unthinkable, unimaginably cool bet get that they are offering you
right now. If you bet $10 and you win, they will take $150 and take that money, turn it into
bonus bets, put it into your account. Boom. Now you can bet with that. How about them apples? So what
you need to do is you go to bet MGM and download the app. Then you use promo code netters. That is
N-E-T-T-E-R-S. And then you get to opt into this unbelievable opportunity. You don't want to miss this.
I'm telling you you don't want to miss this. The playoffs are ramping up. Ovi's about to score his
890 billionth goal in past Gretzky. There's an empty net bet every Saturday for the rest of the year on
BetMGM. You're not going to want to miss that one. Are you kidding me? So get dialed in. There's so
much hockey action coming up. We're almost in playoffs. It's insane. So use that promo code
netters and get the action going. Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler. Call 1-800-3-27-50-50 for
Massachusetts. Call 1-800-Nect-Nex step for Arizona. 21-plus only. Bet-Get offer only available in
Arizona, Colorado, D.C., Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, North Carolina, New Jersey, Pennsylvania,
Virginia, Virginia, West Virginia. Visit www. W. W.W.W.W.W.G.m. Gabbler.
dot net for West Virginia. Please gamble responsibly. See betmgm.com for terms. This promotional
offer is for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
U.S. promotional offers not available in Mississippi, Nevada, New York, Ontario, and Puerto Rico.
Getting into some hot ice, let's talk about a team that is on the struggle bus.
You brought this up. It's the Pittsburgh Penguins. How do you feel?
Since they came back from Four Nations, they lost to the Caps, 8, 3, the Rags 5, 3, and Philly 6.
They've been outscored 19 to 7 in their three games.
not that last place by winning percentage in any team in the east
not that I thought they were like
once we get back from the break we make our push
I don't think they thought that I think they were like
we are not making playoffs
I think if they were being truthful
everyone in that organization including Cid is like we're not making
playoffs but
to just come out and get ragdolled like that
is such a tough look
that
and this is for the listeners
and for us here
this is not a Crosby conversation
but just in terms of the deadline
the looming approaching deadline
if you do nothing
you
everyone should be fired
yeah
yeah listen I agree completely
we're not going to talk about Crosby
at all on this
in this discussion
the Pittsburgh Penguins
fan base
I have found very confusing over the last few years.
Since Dubus joined,
there are a lot of fans who continue to defend
what Dubus has done with the team.
And one bright spot I'll say is Raquel.
It's nice to see Raquel come.
They brought Raquel to do this.
Yeah, yeah.
And now he's doing it.
So that's great.
At this point, though,
all of the old legends getting their new deals
and just, you know, not other than Krosb,
Not that anyone's bad, but it's just like they're not whining the clockback, you know?
Yeah.
You bring in Carlson.
Hasn't worked out well at all, I would say.
Again, I wouldn't say it's been bad, but it just has not worked out well.
After he looked so sick in four nations too.
I think in net, you're in a weird position.
And then you trade, you trade Pedersen to Vancouver, and he resigns there.
and I'm just, I'm looking at this situation with Pittsburgh and I'm like,
how do you guys not see that it is time to blow it up?
And here we are, 10 days, the time of recording away from the trade deadline,
and we have to imagine the blowup is imminent.
And I hope it is imminent.
But if it doesn't, if like really big moves in the next 10 days aren't made,
then I am just, I'm so confused.
Like people need to be fired.
It's just it's it's malpractice damn
It's like you are running an NHL team
A storied NHL team
Dude shout out your job
Shout out chief over at Barstall
He once was saying
He was looking at
I think this must have been 20
It was 2019
And someone in Chicago
Was was rocking that
What is it like the 17 seconds jersey
Where it was like
They killed the Bruins in 2013 cup
And he was like dude
The time
of dancing on the Bruins Graves as Chicago Blackhawks fans is over because, yes, we beat them in 2013,
but we are a joke of a franchise who are in last place every year and they are still contending for Cups.
Yeah.
Like they have blown us out of the water as far as staying relevant in the last six years.
I think if you're Pittsburgh, your counterpart, not saying Bruins in Chicago are counterparts,
but they met in the cup. So that's why that discussion was had.
Your counterpart as Pittsburgh is Washington.
They had the very similar core of guys that was bringing them to trying to bring them to glory that are now older.
Look at Ovi.
And you look at this team and they are arguably the best team in the league.
Yeah.
And that needs to be another sign for Pittsburgh and the organization and the fan base to be like, dude, blow it up.
Start over.
Like it is, we're done here.
And you want the Pittsburgh Penguins to be good in the National Hockey League.
So here we go, boys.
Yeah, no, it's time.
And it's, it sucks for, or Pittspan fans too, but just like, unless you're a Caps fan or a Philly fan, I suppose, it's cool when they're good.
Yeah.
You know, so I'm like, dude, what are we doing?
And I just, we talked to Army.
I think we said this on the pot.
I can't remember.
We talked to Army and he was like, boys, you don't understand if Sid's having fun, put him on a good line, he's having fun.
He doesn't care that much.
Yeah.
And I remember having like a middle school baseball coach.
when you kind of first getting to a level of sports where it's a bit more competitive.
And he was like, I'm sure you've heard your whole life that sports are supposed to be fun.
Well, I'll tell you what.
Winning is fun.
Losing is not fun.
So we are here to win, and the players that help us win will play.
And if you don't help us win, you will be sitting on the bench.
And I was like, that was in middle school?
Yeah.
Scully.
Oh, yeah, Scully.
And I was like, dude, animal.
Animal.
And I was like, correct.
You know what's funny, too?
In that moment, you probably looked at Scully.
And you were like, look at this 50-year-old man.
He's probably like 29.
Yeah, correct.
And dude, I promise you, Sid is not having fun losing by five goals every night, period.
So, I think you're so right.
Clean it up.
And, and can I go Bill Belichick on you here?
Yeah, dude.
If I were dubus, I wouldn't give a fuck if he was happy or not.
Agree.
Because, and obviously I say that with a grain, take that with a grain of salt.
I'm being a little hyperbolic when I say that.
I guess what I'm saying is if I were the GM of the Penguins and I'm looking at the team,
I'm looking at the product that I'm trying to construct and I'm trying to keep my job too.
I'm like, dude, are we happy and are we satisfied with just like missing playoffs every year?
Even if Sid is like this, dude, I just love it here so much.
I'm happy.
I love playing with the boys.
I would be like, well, I'm not.
And even if, even let's say the organization went like this because I'm telling you right now,
I can confirm to you listeners, there are some organizations in the
NHL whose owners do not care about winning.
Yeah. That's a fact. That is a fact.
Unfortunately, it's a fact. And what if the owners
go like this? Guys, we're selling out every game. Sidd's
in the building. Malkin's in the building.
Tanger's in the building. Carlson's in the building.
Everyone's happy. We're selling out. We miss playoffs.
Whatever. Don't care. Dubus. Your job is safe.
Part of me wonders, I would hope
dubus is like, well, I don't fucking,
I want to win. Yeah.
So I wonder what's going on in all that.
And obviously all of this were speculating.
But yeah, if someone told him, if I were Kyle Dubin, if I were the GM, forget Kyle Dubus, if I were the GM of the Penguins, and someone came up to me and said, we're missing playoffs, you can see it, the writing's on the wall, but Sid is happy, the owners are happy, whatever. I would be like, I don't fucking care. I want to win, I want this team to win. I would make calls and I would trade every one of those four guys that I just named. And I know they have no moves and I would get the trades in place and then I would go up to them and go, hey, I have this trade on the table. It's going to send you to a contender.
you can try to win a Stanley Cup. Do you want it?
And they go, yeah? And if they say yeah, I go, boom. Then we ride. Then we ride. And then we're
fucking rich in first round picks and prospects and we rebuilt. Build it just the way it was. Exactly.
Brick by brick. Brick by brick. Brick for brick. My citizens. Insane. All right. Let's move on to
the Choochoo Chishin. Valerie Nashchkin has been activated off the IR for Colorado. Full participant
yesterday. Missed 21 games with a lower body injury. But yeah, he is back.
how do you feel?
Dude, he missed 17 games to start the year, don't forget.
Mind wasn't right.
Yeah. Mind got right.
Lower body got wrong.
Body got right, body got wrong.
Mind right, body got wrong.
Body now right, mind still right.
We hope.
We hope.
But there's a chance we are body, right, mind, right.
But we don't know what happened while body was wrong.
Two mind.
We have two rights.
Because no wrongs.
Possibly.
Possibly.
That guy, it's easy to forget how many guys the abs have been,
missing throughout the year. And there was so much hype after the Natchez trade about,
they're going to do something else. They're going to do something else. But it's like,
right now, dude, Lekhinen, McKinnon, Nachis, Druin, Middlestat, Choochoo Train. Electric top six.
Can you imagine if Landy was in there? I know, dude. This, we talked about it with an
abs fan, friend of ours yesterday. I, and I've said this on the pot many times. It genuinely
breaks my heart the window that was stolen from this team.
Dude.
With Landy and Nashuskin, it's absolutely brutal.
If they, how old is Landy?
I think Landy's like 30, 30, 30.
He's like not old at all.
I think he's 30 years old.
He is, well, no, he's old than that.
So he played in 2021, 2021, 2022, and he was 29.
Okay, so I'm out of my mind.
He's 33.
Yeah.
What do you, are you not Googling this man?
just seeing his age pop up immediately?
Just Google Gabriel Landerscott.
I was looking at his stats.
He is...
34?
32.
32 and 95 days.
He's 32 in 95 days.
No, no, he's 32 and 95 days.
Okay.
So he currently, Dan, will have played
like his last professional hockey of his life
when he was a 29-year-old, the young buck.
Yeah.
Who had just won a Stanley Cup.
Who just want a Stanley Cup.
And that's it.
God, that's so...
it up. I hate that.
I absolutely hate it.
Me too. And I actually just can't even process that.
No, agree.
God, he's a 10-year career still.
It starts an 11. It starts a 19-year-old.
If he never plays again and the abs don't win a cup in the next, I don't know, three years.
Uh-huh.
Are you, how devastating is that as-and-as-in?
We talk about all the time that that Bruins team left with one cup.
And you're like, dagger.
It's a catastrophe.
It's a catastrophe.
I think the abs feel the same way.
Like if Nate Dogg doesn't win another cup in Colorado, it's a catastrophe.
Cale?
Yeah.
Like, what do you?
I mean, you had Nate, Kale, Rantan, and Landy on the same team and Nishushkin on the same team.
And Devon Taves on the same team.
Yeah, like, dude, there's a chance that this is.
And they've been unlucky.
for sure.
This is what I'm saying.
I don't blame them at all.
It's not like other teams, frankly, the Bruins, where I'm like, you failed.
It's your fault.
You failed many times.
Colorado has just been so unlucky.
It's awful.
Oh, dude.
This is why I've said, like, obviously I know Landy's trying to come back, but if and when
the moment comes, look up his contract for me.
Yeah.
If and when the moment comes where he's like, I can't play, you, I would.
Landy's contract?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I would do everything in my power.
to go to him as the GM and ownership and be like this, retire,
so your contract can come off the books,
and I will pay you that exact same salary as a coach.
You are going to be a director of player personnel.
You are going to be a trainer,
and I'm going to pay you your cap hit every single year as a salary.
Yeah.
So he's in year four of eight of a seven year.
Like that cap needs to get off the books so fucking badly.
It's insane.
Oh, dude.
UFA in 2029.
Dude, cook some books, brother.
Cook the books, dude.
Cook some books.
Hire him and give him that in salary.
Like, dude, you have people there that can cook.
There are team chefs.
There are chefs everywhere.
Val can cook.
We know that.
That needs to happen yesterday.
Dude, I just, the fact that he didn't play this year means he's done, in my mind.
I really thought he was going to get in this year.
I tend to agree
I think his career is over
which is utterly insane to me
given the surgeries that exist now
but I think his knee is literally
just shards of metal blasting against each other
and it's impossible
and it gets to the point with a cup
and a good career dude
it gets to the point of at what cost you know
like you want to walk later in life
you want to play with your kids you know you want to skate
like
it gets so bad that you're like I could
maybe grind out with getting
shot up every night. I know. I could grind
out a season. I'm like, dude, it's awful.
Don't do it. Um, but yeah, man, if, if he, if he doesn't come back, if the
abs don't make another move this year, they're still dangerous in my eyes, but I don't know
that they're my favorite pick. And then, you know, you're just kind of like, in the same boat.
Like, you're just still this avs team that I'm like, fuck, dude. I think, so with the Shuskin coming
back, and if, again, if we are mind, right, if we are mind, mind, body, right.
and how good Blackwood has been.
God, sick.
This fucking team has been so hurt all season long.
It's actually preposterous.
But Nate Dogg's playing out of his mind.
Kail's playing out of his mind.
I think you've got Drewan and Middlestat,
who we obviously had some good seasons with Drewan.
I think Middlestat has not panned out the way they thought he was going to
with the Byram trade.
Yep.
Here's my question.
If you're Colorado, dude, actually not a question.
This is my statement. If I'm Colorado, I make a big swinging dick at the Cracker Factory move here.
I would trade, I would make a big move because I do think this team could win a cup.
We were talking about it earlier today. I think right now as it stands and we'll see after the trade deadline,
this is the most wide open the Stanley Cup has felt in a long time. People were asking me,
locks asking me, gun to my head, who's winning the cup? I really don't know.
I really don't know. You even look at the Vegas odds.
who is is is is edmonton first
it just did it remember yeah was oh was but that was that was everyone
that wasn't just a select few that was like the best odds
so edmonton has the best odds right now like
I get it I get why people are picking that but just looking at teams I'm like
really really that's what we think the best odds are so I think it is a total
coin flip dude we left some off too like that those were um
the edmonton was the top one but bro listen to this this actually fucking blew my mind
Okay, here it is in order, dude.
And if you follow our page, you heard most of this.
But the Oilers are the favorites.
This is on badmGM.
Oilers are the favorites.
Then the hurricanes.
Then the Panthers.
Then the stars.
Then the capitals.
And then tied, dude.
All tied.
Devils, Maple Leafs, Golden Knights, Jets.
Like the fact that the devils and jets are tied and the jets are doing what they are doing this year is so crazy.
Avs right behind them, lightning behind them.
I will never understand.
understand Vegas odds ever. It's just where the money's going. But dude, it is bonkers to me.
I'm looking at the standings right now. And I go, okay, Atlantic. Like, and this is ignoring all
the wildcar teams, which in hockey can obviously get hot. And I will even include Colorado because
they're currently a wildcard team, right? Yeah. So, Avs, yeah, could. Could. Toronto. I'm like,
no, but like, you know, Florida. Yeah, could. Tough road. Tampa, could. Definitely could.
Washington. By the way, talking to some of those guys, they really feel that way.
Yeah. Like in Tampa, they're like, we're about to make a huge move. We still have Vazzy
and we're fucking buzzing. Like, Hegel's so good this year. Point is amazing. Gensel's been
amazing. God, dude, poor stammer. Trade him back. Trade him back. Trade him back. Trade him back.
Goopble, one of us. We accept you one of us. Dude, come back to the fold. Can you imagine
the storyline that would be? Oh, dude, it would be the best. It would be, I would be, you know how they're
like this league with the NBA of everybody just like chaos that would be the hockey's this league moment
and i would be so happy i would be more bricked up than i've ever been in my entire life if
steve samco's got traded back to tampa oh dude and then just starts hammering in one-timers oh dude
and then he goes i was i was never supposed to leave dude i made a mistake we have to go back
and they could have a moment where headman skates out on the ice and stammer has an a on his
Jersey and Stammer doesn't know it's stuck on. Yeah. And Hedman walks over and rips it off and rips
off his sea and puts it back on him and swaps. Guys, what are we doing here? We have to do this.
Tampa, Nashville. Do it. Do it. Nashville retains some salary. We'll figure it out. Yep.
Washington could, obviously. Obviously. Carolina.
Theoretically could. Yeah. They're about to trade ranting in, so I don't know. Devils.
I wanted it. I wanted the repeat, or the rematch rather. I wanted New Jersey, Dallas,
but this skid by the Devils has gone on too long where I'm like, what are you doing?
Jets? Could. Could. Dallas, could. Minnesota. Too hurt, but like, they're going to be back.
Can't yet. Can't yet. They're going to make some noise, though. Vegas. Out of the first round. Vegas could.
Edmonton, could. Could. Kings. We're going to make some noise. Yeah, we're going to make some noise.
Yeah, we're going to mean. Like, normally I'm like, well, it's these.
three teams.
One of these three teams.
This is actually wild.
Yeah, this is what I'm saying.
And obviously there's a couple.
I said we weren't going to talk about something today.
I said we weren't going to talk about it.
And I'm not going to talk about it.
I'm just going to allude to it.
There are a couple of big moves that people are like,
ooh, God of Colorado did it.
Oof God.
And then they're right there, dude.
I like the ass.
But Nova Scotia boys, dude.
Bring them to Colorado.
God damn.
Okay.
Something we talked about yesterday or last app and I wanted to talk more about.
And actually, I don't even want to linger on it too.
I just want to literally quick hit and say this out loud.
Yeah.
Brady Kachuk missed a second straight game last night.
Joel Ericksonek placed on IR yesterday.
All Four Nations guys.
We even joked.
I made the joke.
Like, Brady Kachuk cost Ottawa the playoffs just to try to win Four Nations.
Battering ramp.
Ha, ha, ha, ha.
Not that funny.
Battering ramp.
And dude, I'm like, do it.
Do it again.
It's awesome.
But this just more ammo in the combo that we had last episode, which was,
if we were going to be doing these international best-on-bests during the middle of the season,
this is now a part of hockey.
Where it goes, okay, we're going to lose a couple guys in February.
Right before the deadline.
Yep.
Very interesting.
You can't take LTIR away now.
Dude, they're going to take, they're coming for it now.
They're coming for it now.
It's a part of the game, dude.
I'm bummed about the Eric's a neck because he's so good.
He was so good.
He looked so good at Four Nations.
I'm glad people, he was a guy that got put on people's radar at that tournament.
And I think, I mean, the fucking krill injury has been such a nightmare too.
and we have some wild fan friends that all year, dude,
have been like, show the wilds in love.
And I was like, we are, dude.
They're nasty.
Yeah, we're talking about a grill all the time.
It was exciting to see that team go.
And it will be a bummer for the fans
and that organization if they were having the year they're having
and they just get completely derailed by injuries.
I know.
That's not how you want it to go.
But at the same time, I think the future is so bright with that team.
Oh, dude, next year, all that money off the books,
they're golden.
It just this year was shaping up, and still could be,
but was shaping up to be such a fun season.
Yeah.
And it just fucking sucks, dude.
Injuries suck in everything.
I know.
It's devastating.
It's devastating.
The players are the same.
You want the players to be the same.
Injuries are the result of the greatest what-if's in sports, obviously.
Yeah.
It's just terrible.
Yeah.
I mean, you hate to see these guys going down, but part of the game.
It sucks.
I need to take a second to talk to you guys about the original, ready for anything spirit,
Southern Comfort.
We are in the dog days right now.
It's winter, spring is around the corner.
Sometimes you need to just kick back and have a nice cocktail.
And Southern Comfort is bringing me some of the best flavors I could ever imagine.
It's that fantastic combination of fruits and spices.
They elevate any drink.
I've talked to you before.
I'm a huge fan, huge fan of Diet Dr. Pepper and Southern Comfort.
We got those 23 flavors in Dr. Pepper, and then you combine them with that flavor combo of Southern Comfort.
It is truly a party in your mouth.
about finding your comfort zone. We've been asking people to send some of their favorites,
and I got one the other day that blew the lid off of my head. I am not kidding you. We all know
I'm a fan of these diet pops. Someone made me aware of diet orange soda. And when I say that I
tried a diet orange soda, whether it be sun kissed, whether it be fanta, doesn't matter.
And I put that in with those fruits and spices of Southern comfort. I may have found my new drink,
folks. I may have found it. poured that thing right over.
ice, sat down and I watched a hockey game, and I was in heaven. I was in my comfort zone like you
read about. So if you want to chill out, relax, have a nice cocktail. Get yourself some Southern
Comfort. Find your comfort zone. Find the perfect combination. And like we've been saying,
send it to us because we've got to keep building this catalog. Southern Comfort is just making
that comfort for you every time you have a sip. Have one today. Stadium Series this weekend.
Yes. We're not going. We're not going. Officially not going to Stadium Series. We need to take
break. We've been on the road too long. Gotta stay home.
Got to get our ducks in a row, as they say.
But we got stadium series in Columbus.
We've got the blue jackets and the Detroit
Red Wings. Jersey's came out a while ago. They look
sick. Really excited for all the boys.
We went to stadium series
last year. MetLife, one of the coldest I've ever been.
Where are we at
on stadium series?
Dude, I think
it's a
for some behind the scenes look for
the listeners.
The
when we're making our calendar,
you know, this stadium series kind of comes in
as like a tier two event, tier one events being
like All-Star slash Four Nations,
winner classics, Stanley Cup Finals.
And then you're like, okay, stadium series is right below that.
And that's based on experience.
That's not a shit-talking.
It's like we go and it's just
the energy around it and the
eyeballs of the hockey world feel that way.
And I'm wondering,
if there's a way to make it cooler.
Because it should be cool.
Like playing at the Big House a few years ago,
playing at Ohio State this weekend is sick.
And by the way, the game became way cooler
than it looked on paper at the beginning of the year.
Yeah.
You know, I was like, oh, Detroit, Columbus, amazing.
And now it's like these two,
they need these points.
You know, you always say that in the Winter Classic.
This isn't just the throwaway game up in Rochester.
This is a fucking two points on an NHL calendar.
Yep.
So they need these points.
They're fighting for probably one playoff spot
between the two of them.
You've got superstars in this game.
Dylan Larkin, Zach Wrenski, it's incredible.
I want the league, like, dude, it's Saturday, right?
The game?
Yeah.
So let me check this out.
Saturday.
13 games.
And I'm like, why, dude?
I know.
Why is it such a, like, oh, and by the way, if you want to pop on this game,
it's the stadium series game.
And it's on ESPN.
It says here it's on ESPN, ESPN Plus, Disney Plus, blah, blah, blah.
But I'm like, dude, let's make this cooler.
Like, maybe it's Sunday, because I know there's every Saturday there's 10 or more games, basically.
So maybe you don't want to give up your Saturday slate.
Fine.
Let's make it a Sunday because people would still travel on the weekends and go, whatever.
Someone higher up than me knows the logistics of how ticket sales go based on a Saturday or Sunday.
But just isn't there a way we can make more people focused on this?
when we go to events like
Four Nations is obviously so nuts, but even
like All Stars, which isn't even that good of a TV product,
even All Stars, at least it's funneling
all NHL hockey fan eyes towards this one event.
And a fucking NHL game between two
close rivals in a fucking epic,
I don't even like Ohio State, but in an epically
hallowed ground football stadium is a cool thing.
And I want, if we're going to be doing stadiums,
series every, you know, March or whatever in late February, March, then there just should be a way
to make it more of a spotlight. Make it something that we are like undeniably we're going because
everybody's there. I think you're right because just the spotlight part is so, that's so
accurate. That's the first thing that I think of. The first thing, you wonder if the 13 games thing
is like a, it's a hockey day. Like you just want everyone watching hockey, but I personally felt like
that did not work with Winter Classic. I think you're so right.
the first thing for me that comes to mind is it's cool, it looks cool, the jerseys are really cool,
I know those sell really well.
The idea of playing outside is awesome.
Everyone loves an ODR, but it's almost like we said, as much as I love Winter Classic and I like the stadium series,
the viewpoint is just not that awesome when you're at the game.
You feel like you are so far away from the ice that when you're there, you're almost like,
was this worth it?
That I'll live with though.
And I know we've talked about like put some bleep because it's closer.
just go.
Yes.
And I'm like, whatever game would be a problem.
Yes.
But it's cool to just say, I went to a Winter Classic.
I went to a stadium series.
But yeah, I wonder if there was something that we could do to eventize it more and make it just.
Why not last, Dan?
Like I'm looking at the schedule, right?
And it's like Predators Islanders 1230.
These are all Eastern.
Lightning Caps, 1230.
3 o'clock.
3 o'clock.
Stadium Series 6.
7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 8, 9, you know, all the West Coast.
Like, why is it, why don't we make the schedule where it's like, 1231, blah, blah,
and we build up to like, and then if you've been watching hockey all day Saturday,
stadium series, under the lights, Ohio State, 7 p.m.
It's the last game of the day or something.
It just, I hate how it's like, so tucked in the middle.
I don't like that personally because to me it's like you're fucking people on certain
time zones, like unless it's an East Coast game, which this one is.
So like that's fine.
But either way, it's just like the schedule doesn't fucking matter to me.
It should be the only game being played.
Yeah.
I don't think it can be Saturday in that case.
Or like two.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, right.
Yeah, fair.
You know?
Yeah, fucking get fucked those other two.
teams. Well, it's, no, not if you go, like, it's a special on a Saturday. Like you said,
one's a fucking matinee. Yeah. And then the, the game at night is the stadium series. It's the
most obvious thing in the world. It would be cool. I wonder, because you know what was cool about
last year, dude, was the double. Obviously, you had the luxury of it being, like, those teams,
but, but that might be cool if it was like, stadium series became for this four,
there's two games that day, and it's the two, or the two games that, I guess you need other games.
I don't know. Dude, it's not hard. It's not fucking hard. Do it in, like,
Do it at the Eagle Stadium or do it at the fucking Steelers Stadium and you can have the flyers and penguins have a home game.
Dude, what did you think about the two times this happened at Four Nations with the one and the eight?
The games.
The games were one and eight.
Same day. Same day.
Four Nations.
I loved it.
Me too.
I was kind of like, that actually might be sick.
The little break in between, get some food, get some drinks.
Right.
Like, would be fucking nasty.
If you were like stadium series is Blue Jackets, Wings at one o'clock and wild, you know, whoever else is close.
to there.
Sick.
At eight.
Maybe that,
that would be fun.
Because that felt like an old school tournament.
We love the event.
Have some tweaks.
Yeah.
You wanted to quickly get a rookie update going on.
Yep.
Talk to me.
Lane Hudson still leading the way,
43 points,
right behind him.
Mack and Celibriini,
42 points.
Right behind him,
Matt Van Michikov,
41 points.
Mack leads the way with 18 goals.
Mitchcoff 17 goals.
Cutter, shout out.
How are you?
11 goals.
Nice little season for the kid.
Love it.
I now am pretty sure
with, you know, 20 some odd games left,
it's going to be this tight.
I highly doubt one of these three kids
separates themselves so much in points, in total points.
So I ask you again, if it's this tight,
it has to be Lane because he has the same amount of points.
I stand by.
I think there's so much credit to be given to the fact
that a defenseman has that many points.
It's Macklin for me and it's not even close.
And that is not the fact that he's my son.
It's the fact that it's the way he plays the game.
Lane is a great player,
but I just feel like,
There's so many times where I'm like he is Eric Carlsoning himself.
He's just playing offense and he's getting absolutely roasted on defense.
Whereas Macklin is a rookie and is a complete 200 foot center already.
I think Macklin is the biggest superstar of the bunch by a margin.
I think Lane is absolutely disgusting in every single team in the league.
Every single team would cut off their left foot, your club foot to have it.
Of course they'd cut that one off.
They'd cut off my good foot.
They cut off your good foot.
Yeah.
But, yeah, I just like, I look at the way that Macklin plays the game, and I'm like, it's him.
Dude, here's what I wonder, though.
I think, let's say, let's just throw them each 10 more points.
Yeah.
And they finished the year, Lane Hudson has 53 points.
Maclin's Elabrini has 42 points.
Yeah.
I think.
Then I'm like, if Lane has 10 more points, then you just said 53 and 42.
Oh, sorry, 53 and 52.
then I think I go, well, Macklin's better, so it's him.
But I think the, certainly haps fans, but the hockey world might riot a bit if they're like,
that kid plays D and is also going to be a superstar.
It's one of those things, though, where I go, if you say that and that's your only excuse,
you're not watching the games.
You're fucking idiot looking at a stat sheet.
I go, watch the games.
And you would go, I think they would go, yeah, he's doing.
incredibly impressive. He's, he's so good. Like, it's not just who's the best player.
I mean, it's not. No. It's who had the best season. That's exactly, like, you know,
yeah. Sorry, that's kind of how I look. When you say best player, I thought you meant best player that
season. So I'm like, yes, it is. I don't know, dude, Lane Hudson is a dash 17. Yeah, what's Mac?
You know, like, I'm sure Max is in amazing.
But I'm sure it's probably almost the same.
Maybe not.
But it's just like...
Mac-19.
Yeah, there you go.
So, yeah, I mean, they're both nasty.
I'm just curious because I think it should be Mac.
But if he finishes with less points than Lane and they give it to him,
I think the hockey world will go.
I think they will too, but I stay consistent.
I was the first person who said when Eric Carlson had 100 points as a defenseman
and they gave him the Norris, I still went,
he absolutely is not the best defenseman in the league.
Yeah. And everyone's like, dude, you're just such an idiot. Like, you don't understand.
Like, scoring 100 points. I'm like, no, I do understand, but this award is given to the best defensemen.
The awards flawed. The awards flawed.
Now, this one is different because it is rookie of the year.
Yeah. So it is flirting with, like, if they start stiffing around 60 points and I'm like, this kid is a defenseman.
Yeah. I mean, then I'm like, Jesus Christ.
Lane more games, though. Lain like 11 more games.
Which is a huge factor. And I think that's actually the Macklin.
That's what they put there. That's what they hang their hat.
So, yeah, man, I think, I think it's close.
It is close.
I know I said I was like, for me, it's Macklin and it's not close.
But like, it's obviously close.
Yeah.
I do think it's Macklin, but things can change.
What if Mitch Koff goes on a run and finishes with, you know, six more points than any of them?
Are you still like, you're not even in the conversation?
Are you like, you get it?
He's currently in the conversation.
He's just like, he's my third.
And yeah, yeah, if he finishes with six more points, I'm like, it's probably him.
You get it.
But it's not, again, it's not a point battle.
It's like, I really do care about the game.
Yeah.
And I think Macklin has been insane this year.
Kind of becomes a point battle, which is fine.
How many games is the top played?
57, yeah.
All right, we got to move on into some Powers rankings.
It's not every day that I get to talk to you guys about a brand that makes me feel sexy.
But guess what?
That's exactly what I get to do today.
The Kardashians, empty netters, Dan and Chris Powers.
Yeah, it makes total sense, right?
Because we're talking about skims.
Listen, I am super particular when it comes to my boxer briefs as well.
as my workout underwear. I'm a big compression short guy when it comes to wearing my workout clothes
under my shorts, and I've always been super particular about what I buy. And my biggest complaint
about those is how suffocating they feel after an hour or two of wearing them. Maybe you put them on,
you go do a couple of errands, then you go to the gym, and then at the gym, I feel like I've been
in a straight jacket the whole time. Here's the situation. The stretch five boxer brief from skims has
changed my life. I am not kidding. I wear these things in everyday life. I now wear them at the
gym and when I'm working out and it doesn't feel like that crazy restricting feeling they don't bunch
up that's a huge pet peeve of mine you're putting on the jeans you got box briefs on they roll up at the
leg and it looks like you've got a band around your thigh none of that none of that with skims we just
played in the celebrity game here in l.a i'm in the locker and with all the boys i got steve carell i got
justin biever in there i got josh richards in there listen i'm not going to say that everyone
commented on my briefs but i got a few looks i even got one former nchl player looking at
me and say, are you wearing skims? And I said, you bet your tookus I am, pal, and I wear them every
single day now. That is not a joke. I told you I was particular. I have stocked up my drawer
with skims because they are the most comfortable boxer brief I have ever owned. And I want you to
have that feeling as well. I want you to feel sexy and I want you to feel comfortable in everyday life
while you're working out whenever you're wearing boxer briefs. So what you are going to do is you're
going to shop skims men's at skims.com and skims stores. Let them know that the empty netters set you,
and after you place your order, select podcast in the survey, select empty netters in the drop-down
menu that follows, and then you are going to be fitted up in the best briefs you have ever worn.
Like I said, I want this feeling for you. You deserve it. Skims is going to make you feel like
the best version of yourself, I promise. Let's get it going. Top five teams in the NHL.
In what world do we not have the United Pag Jets is number one?
We don't have to.
That's it.
That's one, ten straight, dude.
That's over.
That's one.
Done.
We're debating fourth, two through five.
Yeah.
For me, it's Washington.
I think these two teams are the two best teams in the league.
I think they are too.
I mean, I know they are.
I'm just wondering if like right now and is Washington the best team in the league, I think,
or sorry, the second best team in the league, I think probably.
It's Washington.
It's Washington. We're doing Washington two. Let's have a conversation about three. You might disagree with this. I think for the first time putting them this high, I want to give the respect to the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Ooh. Dude, I actually have one. I have a crazy take. Okay.
And I want the Leafs in, I think. So don't, I'm not going on. I think I know who you're going to say, and I don't hate it. It's just too high.
But aren't they the third best team right now? Who? Tampa Bay-Lay. No.
they have a plus 50 gold diff, only behind the Jets in Washington.
They've won six straight.
They're nasty.
Like I actually am like, oh shit, Tampa.
They're nasty.
And dude, I think they are, yeah, they're three back from Florida, but with two games in hand.
You know, like they are literally, Dan, and they have one game.
They're two points behind the lease.
I will say it again.
Like for first place in the Atlantic.
Like, they're going to win the Atlantic.
They're about to make one trade and they are going to blow everyone's nips.
tips off.
You know what I mean?
Like I think they actually might be the third best team in the league.
Oh,
dude,
they're gross.
I would prefer to go Toronto,
Tampa.
But if you want to go Tampa,
Toronto and keep disrespecting Toronto,
that's your decision and I'll let you make it.
I think that's that I do.
All right.
Then you've made the decision.
The Tampa Bay Lightning is the best team in the league right now.
Four is Toronto.
Now the question is five.
Is it Vegas?
Is it Dallas?
You know who it's not, dude, is the fucking lost four straight oilers.
Agree.
I'm glad that you don't even want to have that conversation.
I do like Dallas.
I like Dallas.
They just lost, but they've had an incredible 10-year-run.
I also like my kings, dude.
I like my kings.
Yep.
They're starting to score.
Yeah, yeah.
God, the game was awesome.
That has been the biggest worry for people.
So sick.
But Dallas, 7, 2 and 1 in their last 10 plus 40 gold diff.
Like, they are gross.
Florida is good.
Florida or Dallas.
That would be my pick.
Florida or Dallas.
If it's Florida or Dallas, to me, I think I got to go Dallas.
Okay.
Yeah.
You gave me, yeah.
Winnipeg Jets, Washington Capitals, Tampa Bay Lightning, Toronto Maple Leafs, Dallas Stars
are your best five teams in the league right now.
Now, let's get into our starting six.
This week, our starting six forwards, and we're going to start out left wing.
Who else could it be Alexander Ovechkin?
In a shalacking of Pittsburgh, he did not have a goal, but then he matched.
He followed that up with a hat trick.
He scored another goal.
Last game, he's got four goals in their last three.
Guy broke his leg this year.
He's only 12 away from Gretzky.
Owning the record outright, I might say.
It's Ovi, and that is that.
And then this starting six,
we're really only looking at like two or three games
who played.
So it's really just who's the hottest coming out of the gate.
So with that in mind,
at center, we're going our boy, Cube.
QB, Quinton Byfield of the Los Angeles Kings.
They only played two games,
and he only had points in one of them, in fact.
But we were there.
Five-star waiter.
And it was a four-appled night, including a disgusting.
Putrid.
Putrid.
Gross.
Sexy pass.
Kind of like a no-look.
Back-hand.
Back-hand.
Through so much traffic.
Like three sets of legs.
Kids playing croquet out there.
Unbelievable.
Right to Fogel's tape.
Vogel goes forehand, backhand.
Talk turns around immediately.
It's one of my favorite goal celebrations.
That's the best.
Turn around immediately goal point.
When you acknowledge just a disc respectful pass.
Everybody.
around the country is watching that,
and I hope TV's run in Arizona, too.
At right wing, we got a first timer here.
Welcome to the show, Pontus Holmberg.
Toronto Maple Leafs.
He has five points in the Leafs,
three games back.
He scored in all of them,
four girls during this run.
He scored the game tying goal last night
with 46 seconds left,
Marner 1 in an O.T.
This is how the Leafs are going to make noise, dude.
Secondary scoring.
Depth, depth, depth, depth.
Unbelievable.
It's been a bright spot, this kid, by the way.
Yeah, he's been fantastic.
Incredible.
Left D.
We're going Rasmus Dahlene.
The Sabres have only played two games, and again, Danny,
only has points in one of them, but in their 8-2-1-over-the-Rangers,
he had two tucks and two assists in an absolutely dominant performance.
I've always loved his game.
I know you do, too.
And I still feel like two years ago,
he felt a half-step away from this jump into, like, the stratosphere.
And consistent, no matter what, Norris.
Convos, and he hasn't quite taken that remaining half step yet, but I do believe it's in him.
Oh, I know it's in him.
Rounding out the D is Dougie Hamilton with four points for the devil since the return.
He had a goal, and there are five-nothing win against the Preds.
40 points on the season.
Dougie has been a guy that I look at when I see the insane youth that the devil's have in their
organization.
I'm like, you can maybe trade that guy.
I know.
But he's good, dude.
But he's great.
Having a great return since Four Nations.
two years ago he had 74 points of career high.
What do you think his next single season high is?
Don't look.
Oh, 50, 55.
50.
I wish I just stopped to 50.
I thought you were going to.
I was like, Jesus.
I only know that because I've been tough on Dougie
because ever since the Boston days,
I was like, I know what you can be.
Yeah.
And I think he's had a bunch of seasons
where he didn't really achieve it.
And then he had the 74,
and I was like, that was a huge outlier.
And it was.
I didn't, I didn't, I'm not.
I kind of thought I was like, oh, there he is.
Now be this guy.
Yeah.
He's like, no.
Well, to me, I was like, that is a huge outlier.
But I was like, that was what I always knew he could be.
Yeah.
But I want to see him do it more often.
Right.
But he gets hurt a lot.
He's now up there.
He's 30, I think, now.
Which is crazy.
Like, Dougie Hamilton is forever 25 years old to me.
I know.
It was because his name is Dougie.
Yeah.
Like, you can't age if your name is Dougie.
That would be crazy.
Dougie's 30.
He's about to be 32.
32.
Yeah.
Well, he's 31 and a change.
But yeah.
All right, who we got in that?
Dude, the man who was left off...
Did he get any games?
No.
Sam the Man.
What's his nickname?
Montembow?
Yeah.
They usually put it on that.
Probably Mount...
Mountain something.
The mountain?
Same Montembow.
I feel like you gotta do something with Mountain there.
Dude, what?
I think it's on hockey reference.
it says snacks.
I love snacks.
He's always snacking.
Snacks is a good name.
Dude, so snacks.
We're going snacks,
also a first timer.
Only a few goalies have two wins already.
He's one of them.
He has a 5-2-in versus Ottawa
and a 4-0 shutout against the canes.
I think Bitter may be rubbed off
on all the golies because he won his game.
Aden Hill won his game.
I don't know, something to think about.
Team Canada goalie room.
Maybe they got a lot of heat and now they're all nasty.
I love it.
So keep eyes on that for the betting public.
Keep eyes on that.
All right, that is our starting six.
We are now going to close out today's episode with a nice game.
It's the Thursday game.
We've got trivia.
What's the connection?
What's the connection?
I'm going to give Chris nine trivia questions.
All of the answers will be connected by one theme.
One category, if you will.
And that is the answer to question 10.
And that is the answer to question 10.
So he's got to try to get all nine right and then also get.
For example, last time we played, Dan answered nine things that all had to do with Harry Potter.
Correct.
like Mike Vernon, yes, which was a hard one.
That was a hard one.
Hold up. Wait a minute.
We got to talk about my favorite beer, and that is Labat Blue.
Whether it's a Labat Blue Light or a crisp Labat Blue Reg, which I think I just made up,
but I actually love that.
Labat Blue Light, Labat Blue Reg.
Maybe Labat Blue Bold.
Maybe Labat Blue Classic.
Maybe Labat Blue Classic.
Labat Blue Dark.
We've got options here.
Either way, they're all delicious.
And you know why?
because they're brewed with a little bit of Canadian kindness,
and that's what you're tasting.
That's what you're tasting in every single sip.
God, we were in Canada.
It was incredible.
We were ripping the Labat Blues.
I come back to the USA.
They got them here.
I go to my Bevmo.
I go to my Bevmo right down the road from the office,
and I get myself a case of LBLs and I take them home.
So when I'm watching hockey in the sunshine of California,
southern California, because I do not miss the snow of Montreal.
I go down, sit on my back patio, tarps off, LBL in hand,
game on the outdoor TV.
Come on.
Are you kidding me?
So if you want to get involved in something like that and you want to find your favorite
that blue product, then go check them out in stores near you and try my favorite beer.
Are you ready, sir?
I am.
Question number one.
A holder of more records and awards than any player in NHL history, including eight straight
MVP's, this legend wasn't even drafted.
Okay, I believe the answer is Wayne Gretzky, and I will, but Dan doesn't, he can't say yet.
question number two
a product of hockey east
this player
currently leads all rookies and points
tough that we just did that segment
I don't know
dude did you see Cole's goal
yes
he's so gross
it's crazy when a kid
is um
trying dumb shit for fun
like it's pickup
you know he's like what if I
like dude remember that
remember that um
Hazard interview where he was like,
sometimes I just think about YouTube.
I try to make moves on the pitch
just to score a YouTube goal.
And I was like, you're fucking insane.
I swear to God, that's how Cole behaves.
Where he's like, this would actually be so funny
if I went behind my back spin between his legs.
Yeah.
And then he doesn't.
I'm like, you're not supposed to behave this way.
We're going late Hudson for this one.
I want to say again, I told Chris before we started recording,
I am so fucking fired up about this.
It's like one of the best ones ever.
Okay.
Number three.
Opened in 2016, this is the 14th largest arena in the NHL.
It was chosen as one of the two hubs for the 2020 COVID Stanley Cup final and would eventually also host the Stanley Cup in 2024.
Gotta be, got to be T-Mobile.
Yeah, but is that right?
Where was the...
Okay, I'm going T-Mobile.
Okay.
Do you want me to read the question again?
It hosted the Stanley Cup last year.
So it can only be one of two places.
Oh, yeah.
Sorry, I had the wrong year.
When was it built?
2016.
Hmm.
And is the answer, does it need to be the arena name?
Yes.
Okay, I'm going to write them both.
Okay.
And continue.
Question number four.
In 1952, a tradition began for this Eastern Conference team
that involves this thing being thrown on the ice.
which has now become their unofficial mascot.
1952.
Okay, I'm going to go.
Like, as if that is the part of this that will make you get it.
I know, I know.
I know.
That's how I got it.
That's how you got it.
I'm going octopus.
Okay.
Because I think it's the wings because that's an old team.
That's why I was asking about the year.
Okay.
And they throw that on the ice still.
Question number five.
For various accomplishments, both from a team or an individual,
these things are often hung in NHL arenas from the rafters.
Say that again.
For various accomplishments, both from a team or an individual,
these things are often hung in NHL arenas from the rafters.
I'm going banners.
Okay.
Question.
That was five?
That was number five.
Number six.
In his first year with a new team,
this goalie is top six in both goals against and safe percentage,
and lost just his third.
regulation game of the season last night.
Damn.
What he lost last night?
Fuck, I thought I knew it.
Say it again.
In his first year with a new team, this goalie is top six in both goals against and
save percentage and lost just his third regulation game of the season last night.
Okay.
Okay, continue.
Question number seven.
Despite being founded in 1993, this Atlantic Division team has had seven different arena
in their less than 35-year history.
So it's a team.
This team has had seven different arena names.
Founded in 1993,
this team has had seven different arena names.
That's a crazy stat.
I know.
Okay.
Did you say conference?
I sure did.
I said Atlantic Division.
I gave you a division.
Oh, a division.
It's Atlantic Division team.
Despite being founded in 1993,
this Atlantic Division team has had seven different arena names
in their less than 35 years.
Okay.
Continue.
Question number eight.
A Michigan alum, this all-star player unfortunately missed his opportunity to participate in the Four Nations tournament due to injury.
Michigan Four Nations injury.
I'm going Quinn Hughes.
And now question number nine.
Part of the 67 expansion, this NHL team has five Stanley Cups in their history and also
lays claim to three of arguably the 10 best NHL players of all time.
If five cups, yes.
Three of the five best players ever.
Arguably, but yeah.
Okay.
And then 10 is the connection.
Okay.
So I have Wayne Gretzky,
Lane Hudson,
one of the two ranks,
Octopus, Banner,
goalie Atlantic Division team,
Quinn Hughes,
and I think I mentioned Oilers.
Atlantic Division.
The...
And what was the last one you said?
I'm going...
I wrote Edmonton Oilers because I know they have five cups
and I'm thinking like Wayne and...
Okay.
Mark, but I'll come back to that.
Atlantic...
I'm doing Atlantic Division team.
Right now it's...
Toronto, Florida.
I think you can very...
If you use your intelligence here.
Yep.
Given the first part of that question.
I'm just going to think about the team quickly.
No, no, but this is what I'm telling you.
Being founded in 1993, you can, using logic, eliminate many of those teams immediately.
Yeah, correct.
Florida, Toronto, Tampa, Boston, Montreal, Detroit, Ottawa.
Detroit and Ottawa.
In Buffalo.
Oh, yeah, and Buffalo.
So it's not Detroit, it's not Boston, it's not Toronto, it's not Montreal.
So it's either Buffalo, Ottawa, Tampa, or Florida.
Florida was founded in, they went to the cup so early in 96.
And I could see that rink changing names a lot, actually.
So I'm leaning Florida Panthers on that one.
And that was the answer that was the team name.
Yes.
So I'm going Florida Panthers there.
Florida Panthers.
Give me the goalie lost one.
First year on a new team.
this goalie's top six in both goals against and save percentage
and lost just his third regulation game last night.
Like, you should be, you should get this so fast.
I don't know who lost last night.
Yeah, but given how good this person is in his first year on a team
and given this show.
He should be very top of mind for you.
Yes.
I was thinking Jacob Markstrom.
He may or not have been a guest on the show this week.
But I now know it's Logan Thompson.
Okay.
And then I now know that number two is Rogers Arena.
Why would you know that?
Because I know what the answer to 10 is.
Ah, do you?
Yes.
I think.
Okay.
So then you should know that one you have is wrong.
Number one or one of the answers.
Yeah, agree.
And I, because I was like, that one doesn't make sense.
So I believe that number 10 is
Well it's either like Marvel or the Avengers or the MCU
I gotta know what we want to call it but it's like it's one of those things
Again use your logic and like look at number one
Would Marvel make sense for Wayne Gretzky? Yeah
I was trying to figure if there was someone named Wayne in the MCU
Well you know I would hope you know someone with Wayne in their name
Okay, so we have Bruce Banner.
We have octopus, which is the, like, hydra.
Or Dr. Octopus.
Or Dr. Octopus.
Doc Ock.
Oh, okay, okay, okay.
Not even giving me the credit I deserve here.
Yeah, you're right.
Okay, okay, I see.
So now I think we're going superheroes.
And we have, oh, okay, okay.
The connection has been made.
Dave. Bruce Wayne. Yes.
Steve Rogers is three.
The Doc Ock. Yep.
Or yeah, I guess it's not superheroes. It's like, it's comic book characters.
Comic book characters. What do they say heightened?
What were they saying when they were like, it's in Marvel when they're like, dude,
that we, us being existing has created the bat.
Vision says just like merely us existing like our existence creates challenge.
Yeah. I forget what he calls them. It's like heightened, heightened individuals.
heightened individuals.
Something like that.
Logan.
Enhanced.
Enhanced is what Steve says.
Yes.
We have an enhanced in the field.
Yes.
Logan.
Uh, X-Men.
Black Panther.
Quinn.
Harley Quinn.
Harley Quinn.
Harley Quinn.
And so number nine.
And you skipped over number two, my friend.
Yeah, Lane.
I don't know who the Lane is, though.
I know it's somebody.
It's a last name.
Female.
Oh.
Rachel Brosnahan will be playing her soon.
Lois Lane.
Lois Lane.
Nice day.
Okay, and then give me nine again.
Part of the 67 expansion should be a big hint for you.
This NHL team has five Stanley Cups in their history and also lays claim to three of arguably the best 10 players in NHL players in all time.
Three of the best 10 players in NHL history.
I have five cups.
If you want another hint, do you want another hand?
67 expansion and their, so the answer is a team and their comical character.
And the 67, oh, I know.
The Pittsburgh Penguins.
Correct.
The penguin.
The penguin.
God, I never would have got that
without the fucking connection, dude.
That's big.
Yeah, that's big.
I was like, who else is a convoy?
Oh, a penguin.
Yeah.
Okay, so, Wayne Gretzky, Bruce Wayne,
Lane, Lane, Laine Hudson, Lois Lane,
Rogers Arena, Steve Rogers,
Octopus, Doc, Ock,
Banner, Bruce Banners,
Logan, from X-Men,
Florida Panthers, Black Panther,
Quinn, Quinn, Hugh, Harley,
Pittsburgh Penguins, The Penguin,
and Connoble characters.
Boom!
God, that was sick.
That was really good, wasn't it?
Great one, Dan.
That's a great thing.
Really, really good.
I felt really strong about it.
great one. Let us know in the comments and the DMs if you got it that right before Chris,
but that was a fun one. Incredible. Beautiful stuff. We have got some great guests coming for you
next week. Some elite Swedes, we'll call it. And this was another wonderful episode of the
Empty Nerders podcast. We are going to get deep into trade deadline and possible trade targets
next week. It's going to be a fun episode. Get your popcorn ready. And until we see you then,
you know what to do. Skate hard.
I'm
