Empty Netters Podcast - The Devils Found Their Missing Piece and Jeremy Swayman Got His Bag | 139

Episode Date: October 9, 2024

The Swayman saga is finally over and the Bruins are instant contenders again. Markstrom has the Devils looking like they'll be a force in the Metro. The Leafs might have added some serious depth scori...ng and the Amazon NHL show has dropped! Tons to talk about as the season is upon us at last. NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) - Intro (2:14) - Swayman Signing (20:30) Amazon’s NHL Show (28:54) - Global Series Recap (36:50) - Max Pacioretty (42:48) - Connor Bedard (51:32)- Top 20 Players (57:21) - Top 5 NHL “Hockey Towns” PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use bonus code “NETTERS” and you will get up to a $1500 First Bet Offer on your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to https://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. CASHAPP. Download CashApp and take control of your finances! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cash-app/id711923939 RIKI. Head to https://rikispirits.com/ to find out where to get RIKI near you. Follow  @FridayBeers.Youtube  and @rikispirits to stay up to date with upcoming RIKI contests and giveaways FUNKAWAY. To check out the full family of FunkAway products go to https://www.funkaway.com to learn more funk’in cool stuff. And head over to Amazon right now and grab FunkAway products with just a few clicks. FIREBALL . Fireball’s iconic cinnamon flavor tastes fire and goes down easy, making it the ultimate crowd pleasure. Go pick up some from your local liquor store and join us in drinking Fireball during our game days this season! #igniteyourrivalry EVERYMANJACK. Give Every Man Jack a shot today and go to https://www.everymanjack.com and use code “NETTERS” at checkout for 25% off your first order CBDMD. Visit https://www.cbdmd.com to explore their extensive range of products and find the perfect solution for your needs. Don’t forget to use code “FRIDAY” at checkout to get 30% OF + Free Shipping. DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit https://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 It was just a shitstorm that didn't need to happen. And I think, again, if that exact contract had been announced three months ago, no one would have fucking better than I. Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the MTNetters podcast brought to you by BetMGM. We're still here in the makeshift studio. Hell yeah. And I got to be honest. I kind of like it. I'm comfortable.
Starting point is 00:00:28 I'm very comfortable. I think it's cozy. We got some fall lighting in here. It makes me feel nice and chill. But I do have to admit, I did see a photo of our new studio the other day. And I was like, oh, shit,
Starting point is 00:00:41 that looks sick. I didn't even see it. It looks awesome. Like, they got the, they got us everything we wanted. Damn, dude.
Starting point is 00:00:46 We got a table. Oh, we got a table. Yeah, yeah. We've got the goods. That's big time. We've got the goods, but we've just been kicking back.
Starting point is 00:00:53 Both of us at home, you know, getting in our spots, just enjoying it. And, you know, it's been cool. We had a nice weekend.
Starting point is 00:01:00 You have a nice weekend. nice weekend? I did. Actually, before we even get into the weekend, you know what I thought was funny. Tell me. In studio, it's always D.P. Here. And as always, CP right here in-house 180. You're right. Weird. It's a mirror image. Yeah, it's weird. Weird mirror. It's a funhouse mirror. I think after years, we need it, though, because I've got a crick in my neck this way. And now I'm coming back this way and I'm getting centered. Yeah. This was healthy. I'm balancing my life.
Starting point is 00:01:33 Weekend was good, dude. We had a shout-out Edge, an epic dinner with Edge. We had an East Side night with our boyage. Yeah, on Friday. And then Saturday, we had a... There was a bunch of friends I hadn't seen, so we did like a big night.
Starting point is 00:01:44 Oh, I played the card game. I played the Friday Beers card game. Did you? Yeah, it's a sick pre-game. They got... I'm going to be honest, I don't... What is the card game?
Starting point is 00:01:53 Dude, it's like... Remember Kings? Kings Cop or whatever? Like, wherever you pull a card and everything is something different. It's that. Except, like, like regimented.
Starting point is 00:02:02 Like the card say something. So one's like most likely to. You know, you do the thing like, most likely to sell feet picks for money. That's fucking sick, dude. I got to play this game. But playing that game
Starting point is 00:02:11 would require me to go out. And I don't do that. This weekend was the best weekend ever, obviously. Yeah, there was a thing. Something happened. Our boy son. Unbelievable stuff.
Starting point is 00:02:28 really, really funny how the last, the last several weeks, this has obviously been a wild situation with Jeremy Swamon in the Boston Bruins. We as, you know, people kind of close to the situation have been very eagerly awaiting this deal to happen. And I also love how truly as wild as this got, there were tons of passionate bees fans who would hit us up and hit everyone up and be like, like, are we fucked? Is this over? is he going to get traded? Is he going to this? Is he going to that?
Starting point is 00:03:01 And I loved how as wild and stressful as it got, I was always like, no, he's obviously signing. Oh, yeah, yeah. It was getting done. And it was getting done before the season started. Yeah. I know even he had said, the team had said, it'll get done by December 1st for sure,
Starting point is 00:03:18 because that's when it had to get done. But I was always under the impression that before October 8, when the first puck drop was going to happen, he would be signed. And he is? Yep. eight years, $8.25 million per season, $66 million deal.
Starting point is 00:03:33 Get fucked. Cam Neely. Just kidding. There's actually, there was a report that said, Lewis Gross admitted the Cam Neely comment did kind of kickstart negotiations. Like it forced him and Don Sweeney to talk. It forced Lewis Gross to be like, what the fuck was that? That's not true. And then they're like, well, now that you know, that's on the table, what's going on? Yeah. Like, what are we talking about? So as we said, I, no, I'm not, Not other people said this too. I'm not saying like we were genius on this. But when this happened, we were like, that was a negotiation tactic.
Starting point is 00:04:04 That offer had not been made. That was a tactic to get Lewis Gross to go to Cam Neely and Don Swaney and be like, what the fuck you're doing? But now he knows that that's on the table and they can keep talking. So it did help it get done. So you got to give some credit, got to give some respect. And ultimately, the deal is done. Your boy is back with the Bruins.
Starting point is 00:04:24 He showed up immediately that day on Sunday, pumped out some. some hilarious videos, and he's back. The number is, first of all, awesome for a fan of his. Yeah, like it's great. And dude, you said said this earlier. I don't know, maybe you were just about to say this, but end of the day, it's just a good deal. Like, that's a good, it's fine. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:04:45 Everything's fine. That's a good number. Both parties should be happy. Just ignoring all the chaos that led to resolution. I mean, I tweeted this from our accounts. Yeah. And I'll take the opportunity to say. on the podcast for those who don't have Twitter or don't follow us on Twitter.
Starting point is 00:05:00 And if you don't follow us on Twitter, what the fuck are you doing? Yeah. What I said was, and what I stand by passionately, Sway signs eight years, 8.25. If on July 2nd, the day, day two of free agency, Olmark had already been traded, Elias Lindholm, Nikita Zedorov, signed to their contracts. There was X amount of money left in the Bruins cap. which was enough for this deal.
Starting point is 00:05:30 If July 2nd, an announcement was made that said, Jeremy Swayman, signs with the Bruins, 8.25-0, I think 90 plus percent of logical Bruins fans and hockey fans would have gone. Great deal. Good deal. Great deal. Good deal. Makes sense.
Starting point is 00:05:47 So the one frustration I have is how outrageous this whole thing. And when I say that, I don't mean that it took this long. It's unfortunate that it took this long. Everyone hates that it took this long. The Bruins would have rather had Sway signed a long time ago. They would have rather him go to every bit of preseason. They would rather him be right now with the boys with three weeks under his belt of practice with the boys. Obviously they want that.
Starting point is 00:06:14 Obviously he wants that. But I'm also happy to say this is contract negotiations, man. It's a lot of money. It's important players. It's a team going for a cup. It's not a team on the rebuild. And they're like, yeah, you know, like whatever. I'm not shocked.
Starting point is 00:06:29 It's a bummer. I'm a little surprised, or I'm definitely surprised, but I'm not shocked that, oh, wow, this took a while. It was a huge contract. It was a big thing. That is not what I think is ridiculous. What I think is ridiculous is the commentary that started coming with this. The amount of fucking beat reporters who took this opportunity to vilify sway and Lewis Gross,
Starting point is 00:06:49 to fire up a bunch of in cells online to speak their mind to their 122 followers and rant and rave about how much they hate the player or how much they hate the agent. It was just a shitstorm that didn't need to happen. And I think, again, if that exact contract had been announced three months ago, no one would have fucking better than I. Question for you. I haven't even asked you this yet. The number is funny to me because I will say that I kind of always was under the assumption
Starting point is 00:07:24 via some stuff that we've talked about on this show before and some stuff that I don't want to talk about, but just our intel, I was kind of always under the assumption that 64 was the number, and the bees were just never getting there. And then Neely said that thing, and I was like, whoa, dude, there's no way you've offered that because I believe that would have got it done.
Starting point is 00:07:44 And then that's kind of, Sway's Camp's reaction, was like, whoa, dude, you've never offered that. And then to hear it come in at more, I was like kind of either one of two things happened. They were asking for more than the 64 and they've met in the middle at 66 or the 64 debacle, public callout debacle made it made the number go up. You know, like I don't think that happened. Me too, so it must be the first. Yeah, again, I don't want to say what we know and what we don't know or if we know anything.
Starting point is 00:08:18 Yep. But I think this is how negotiations work. people. If you're the agent, it is your job to go, we would like this number. And that number should be unrealistic. Yes. Because you need to set a high bar. So yes, I believe that their first ask was high. It was definitely not 10 million per year. Correct. Can confirm. That was not the number. The Bruins number was way fucking low. And I will say it was disrespectfully low. I'm not the first person to say that. That's not me saying, fuck the Bruins. Because again, from the team, team side, your first offer should be unreasonably low. Yep, because you want to do something that
Starting point is 00:08:57 protects the team and your job is to meet in the middle. So, yes, I do believe the number was over 64. I don't believe it was much over 64. I think it was right around exactly what he got, maybe a little bit higher. And I love that he got it, especially after the 64 press conference. Because like, if this had just settled at 64, everyone would have been like, okay, they did it. But it's like a minor, micro, micro L. I mean, and now... It's $2 million. I know, but it's just like, I just love that Sway gets that that little win there. After arbitration last year, he's like,
Starting point is 00:09:32 I got 66 million reasons. I can show up. Thank you very much. It's fantastic. He should change his number to 66 and be fucking unbelievable. When do you think he's going to play? I think he's going to miss at least two games. And here's the thing. We got into that. I think we talked about this on the last pod, but you had said it's, um, we talked about preseason. Goal is really like preseason. Yep. Because you need to see NHL level shots. I think sway would be the first to tell you that he's like, dude, I just showed, I haven't even, this is my first practice with the boys. I'm not playing
Starting point is 00:10:05 tomorrow, you know, uh, so I think he's going to miss at least two games. I think that's right. I think that's appropriate. Dude, he needs some shots because can you imagine just parading out there against the Panthers tomorrow night and giving up six and everyone being like, fuck you. Oh, dude. It would be the most ridiculous narrative of all. Yeah. I just think he is, I think he is going to get a shout out in his first start. And it's just going to be the cheeky smile he's going to give off. It's just going to be so fucking delicious.
Starting point is 00:10:32 God, dude. Let's fucking go. But, I mean, here's the deal, dude. It was the Soroken number. And I think it was always the Sorokan number. It always should have been. And if, if I may, please, may I have a platform? Yep.
Starting point is 00:10:44 There's some stuff I got to say. And this is all positive stuff. want to be very clear. Yep. A lot of talk about, you know, he, you know, and when I say a lot,
Starting point is 00:10:57 I genuinely think the people online who bother me, and I don't mean about sway, I mean about any team. They really don't represent the fan base. They represent like 5% of the fan base. They're the people who,
Starting point is 00:11:09 who are so delusional that they're like, I got to get online and scream into a void. That should not represent the fan base. But the people, But the people, whether you be in the media, whether you be a random person on your couch, who are like, he has not earned this. He is like, this is not the number.
Starting point is 00:11:28 It's too high. It's too that. When you look at every NHL ranking anywhere online and you look at goalie rankings, he is top five pretty much unanimously. Coming into this season. And last season. Yeah, yeah, yeah. And at the end of last season, more specifically and more accurately, you look at Vezna odds.
Starting point is 00:11:48 He's in the top three right now. Yep. So like, what is this say to you, people? He is rated this higher. Yeah. So let's just keep that in our hat. Top goalie contracts in the NHL right now. Hit me.
Starting point is 00:12:01 Number one, Sergey Bobrovsky, 10 million a year. Well, Kerry Price, 10 and a half. Oh, yeah, true. Kerry Price. Tough. Yeah. For the, this is actually goes, like, we should keep that for this argument, but I'm going to eliminate that because he's not playing.
Starting point is 00:12:13 Yep. Golly's playing. Number one, Sergey Bobrovsky, 10 mil. Number two, Andre Vasol. Skolovsky, 9.5. Yep. Number three, Connor Hellebuck, 8.5. Yep.
Starting point is 00:12:23 Number four and five, tied. Elya Sorokin and Jeremy Swamen, 8.25. Yep. Doesn't that feel about right? Especially what I'm about to say this. Two goalies in their contract year right now about to resign. Igor Shisterkin, Jake Odinger. Both of them will sign for what Sway just signed,
Starting point is 00:12:46 or Scherken, definitely more and otter more and less. I am certain otter will go more, but he will never go below sway. So people who kind of gave shit or gave sway shit for the, I'm setting the goalie market comment, he kind of is,
Starting point is 00:13:04 because Jake Ottinger now gets to go, I'm getting that, and he's right. It's just funny that there are people being like, sway is not a top five goalie in the league. He doesn't deserve to be paid top five. Yes, he does. And also,
Starting point is 00:13:16 even if you don't think that, you're good for you because he's not going to be. Literally in nine months or less, he's not going to be because Sorokin and Otter are going to sign for this or more. So you're good. And then the other one that really bothers me is this, dude. In 2013, the Boston Bruins signed a goalie. Do you know who that was?
Starting point is 00:13:36 Jerry Cheever's. It was nuts. Fuck. Tukarask in 2013, in July, signed an eight year by $7 million deal. So 11 years ago, with inflation, with the cap going up, Tuka signed a contract that was 1.25 mil a year less than Sway. And people are freaking out about this. Now, a huge thing is, Sway hasn't played enough games.
Starting point is 00:14:02 He hasn't done this. He hasn't done that. At that time, Tuka had started 138 games compared to Sway's 132. In one season, he had started 45 games compared to Sway's 44. So I'm just confused where the outrage is. And when that stat has been brought up online, people are like, well, Tuka took his team to a Stanley Cup final that year. Did he win that Stanley Cup final?
Starting point is 00:14:26 No. No, he certainly did not. He won a Vesna that year. Great. Do you need to win a Vesna to get a contract? Only if it's the top contract. If they gave Sway 10.5, I would hear he's never won a Vesna. He's never been to a final.
Starting point is 00:14:41 I'm like, you got 8.25. You don't need a contract. You don't need hardware to have the best to have a top five contract. Agree completely. So it just feels crazy to me how many people are making such a stink about this. And I think you just hit the nail on the head. It is this weird combination of issues where I think people keep thinking that Sway's contract was like $10 million. Like they're still mad about that.
Starting point is 00:15:07 Like, he's asking for so much money. And he's just, he wasn't. And he also didn't get. He got a very appropriate contract. So it's just been a wild ordeal. And people are ignoring stats and facts. Yeah, absolutely. Listen up, you beauties.
Starting point is 00:15:23 I'm going to take a quick second to talk to you about something that I think has legitimately become a game-changing product in my life. I'm not kidding. CBDMD has come into my life like this incredible boon of hope. It's a lighthouse in a stormy sea because it's genuinely become a. cure all for me with a billion different things. Never been a big weed guy. Hand up. Don't know what it was about it. Just made me bug out, anxious, never really liked it. And all my friends would say, oh, man, you got to have an edible. You got to smoke a joint while you're golfing or while you're hanging around. Makes everything fun. It just didn't do that for me. So I won't lie. When
Starting point is 00:16:04 people were talking about CBD, I was pretty anti the whole thing. Then CBDMD came into my life and I tried it out. You know what the first thing I did was? Your boy, hockey player, lost some chicklets in my life. So I've got some fake teeth in there recently. Went to the dentist, had to get them replaced. My mouth was killing me. You have no idea. I couldn't sleep at night. It was driving me insane. And I hate the feeling of taking a million adville every single night. I got to pop more pills for this. I got to pop more pills for that. Don't like doing it. All of a sudden, CBD MD came through. They've got all these different things you can take. They got a mixer. They've got gummies, they've got tablets, they've got everything.
Starting point is 00:16:43 I started taking CBDMD, pain went away immediately. And then I realized CBDMD can be used for whatever I wanted. If I'm hanging out on the weekends, want to chill with all the friends, maybe don't really want to have a bunch of pops, a bunch of mixed drinks, cocktails, because I've got to get up early, got to hit the golf course, I got to wake up, watch a hockey game, watch a soccer game, something like that, don't want to feel all groggy and hungover. Boom, CBDMD, CBDMD, right there. They've got these gummies, they've got the mixer, the new mixer.
Starting point is 00:17:11 is amazing. It's zero calories, zero carbs. Just a cool little tube. You squirt it into your water. You squirt it into anything you want. Some Gatorade. They got black cherry flavor. They've got unfavored so you can put it in something like a delicious Gatorade that you're drinking that already has some flavor. Gives you that nice, cool, awesome, relaxed feeling. You're just zoning. You're in that flow state. You wake up feeling fresh as lettuce the next morning. It's unbelievable. CBDMD is just giving you this unreal fix, helping you with stress, anxiety, helping you with pain sometimes like me, helping you just chill out and feel good.
Starting point is 00:17:43 It's got none of that buggyness, none of that tweakiness. You just feel awesome, dude. Like you're just chilled out the whole time. It's fantastic. Can't recommend it highly enough. So head to CBDMD.com and we're hooking you up. You're going to use promo code Friday and you're going to save 30% on your next order,
Starting point is 00:18:01 including shipping. So if you guys want to have these great cure-alls for things like stress, sleep, anxiety. You want to just feel good, kind of chill out. You want to get into that flow state while you're on the golf course, maybe working on some school projects, working on work projects, and you just need to just get everything back down to that nice, chill, base level. CBDMD has you covered. Check it out today. Could not recommend highly enough. Babes, you know that we have hooked up with BetMGM this year and all years because they are the greatest partner in the world. They're the greatest betting app in the game. BetMGM has everything you could want when it comes to the sports. fix. It's hockey season. We've got the puck drop going and we've got tons of action. If you've checked out our Instagram page, you saw we cooked up the juiciest goal scoring parlias of all time. They're all going to hit. CP and I are going to make a billion dollars. We're going to fly you all around the world because all of a sudden that MGM has hooked us up with the greatest
Starting point is 00:18:54 things in the world as usual. That's what bed MGM does. You want to bet on hockey? You want to bet on football. You want to bet on the NBA that's coming out right now. You want to bet on college. You want to bet on, well, what are they doing in India? They're doing curling. They're doing polo. They're doing, I'm forgetting something. Cricket. You want to bet on any of that? It's on BetMGM. BetMGM is the best sports book in the game. They're going to get all the action that you could ever want and you could ever cook up. Make sure you get in on that with us.
Starting point is 00:19:19 We're going to be doing gambling shows all season long to make sure you guys know what is hot, what the best picks are, and we want you to get in on the action with us. So you're going to get BetMGM right now. You're going to stop what you're doing. You're going to hit pause. Well, don't hit pause because I've got more information for you. After this, you're going to hit pause. You're going to download BetMGM and you're going to sign up using promo code Netters,
Starting point is 00:19:37 N-E-T-T-E-R-S. And what that's going to do is this. When you get that MGM with netters, you can bet up to 1,500 bucks, 1,500 smackers. And if you lose it, guess what? BetMGM gives it all back. You can do it again. What other sportsbook is doing that for you? Let me check none of them, because BetMGM is the goat.
Starting point is 00:20:00 Make sure you get it today. Make sure you join in on us with all this action, all this spicy, spicy bets, all these parlays. They're going to be fantastic. Join us now. Do it that MGM has you covered. Gambling problem. Call 1-800 Gambler. Available in the U.S. Call 8778-N.Y or text Hope NY. 467369-9 in New York. Call 1-800-3-0-0-0-0-0-0. Massachusetts.21. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800-1-800-Betka. 1-800-Outs off in Iowa. 1,800-1-8-1-Vorego.
Starting point is 00:20:25 Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bet on non-wadroval in partnership with Kansas, Casino and Hotel. See bed-MGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Okay. I want to now, Dan, discuss the first two EPS of the Amazon show. everybody's buzzing about that everybody's seen the first two Eps that's all that's the whole show the entire show is available oh i was told two Eps are out no sir amazing the entire show premiered all six episodes are out all sick well we want to talk about two fair no i think you've only seen two right uh no i've seen four okay uh four eps yeah um i haven't seen any so what'd you think
Starting point is 00:21:02 uh here's the thing dude everyone go watch this show because it is good for hockey uh You should tell friends to go watch it. You should make sure that non-hockey fans know it's a thing. I love the show because I love all the guys in the league. I love the guys that are featured. It's so cool, you know, seeing them and watching their episodes and seeing all the things that they've had to say in their journey. And as hockey fans, I'll devour anything hockey.
Starting point is 00:21:32 I, if we're just being honest, I am unimpressed with the show. Damn. And I hate saying that. Yeah. For me, dude, this show has been pitched to people and marketed as hard knocks and drive to survive. It wants to be drive to survive. Yes, it does. And I'll also say, I fucking love what Amazon is doing with hockey stuff.
Starting point is 00:21:56 And coast to coast is coming out, which I can't wait for. And I love that this show exists. The part where I've been unimpressed, dude, is what this show should do is, is that. Give all the insights and all the inside stuff that it's doing that gets people like us fired up. But it should tell a narrative story of the past season so they can get fringe hockey fans or non-hockey fans to go, holy shit, is this what the NHL season is like? Yeah. And that that should get them into hockey to watch hockey.
Starting point is 00:22:29 Right now, if you watch this show, you watch episode one, and it's like best of rivalies. And it's all about Posternak and Willie Neelander. their relationship when they used to play together in Sweden and then them playing in the first round of playoffs together. And then the episode ends with the Bruins beating the Leafs. And you go, cool. All right, we're in playoffs. Episode two starts,
Starting point is 00:22:48 and it just randomly covers Jack Eichel and Philip Forsberg. In a great way. Love both those players. It's fun stuff. But there is no storyline that makes sense. It's like they're talking during the regular season. And they're talking about like, oh, Nashville got their U-2 trip.
Starting point is 00:23:07 canceled and then they went on a winning street. Yeah. They're talking about Jack's surgery and his departure from Buffalo. So if you are not a scholared hockey fan, you're going, hold on, what's happening here? We were just in playoffs and now we're like, is this the beginning of the season? Are we Tarantinoing this? Like, what's going on now? And then that episode gets into playoffs for both those teams who aren't playing each other
Starting point is 00:23:33 and like they both lose and then it's like the end of the season and you're like, Okay, all right, so playoffs are over now? Yeah. Why? And then episode three is about sway. Yeah. And it's just like, it's, dude, it's all over the place. So again, if I'm a fringe or non-hockey fan and I'm going, this maybe will get me into hockey.
Starting point is 00:23:51 I have no clue what's going on as far as the narratives of the story and how the season go, or narratives rather of the season and how the season unfolds. Why can't drive to survive is great because it just goes linear through the racing season. Dude, the racing season ends, drive-to-surve season drops. And it's like, here is a recap of the entire season following cool storylines with different drivers. And this was one of my biggest knocks about the golf one, which is it does what you just described,
Starting point is 00:24:19 where it's like, hey, we're following JT as he like wins the PGA championship or something. Yeah. And then, which is like the end of the year, or they moved it up, but it's like, you know, in the middle of the summer. And then the next episode is somebody else, like, at the British Open. And then the third episode is someone else back at the PGA. And I'm like, oh, wait, I already saw this episode. And I'm like, oh, no, we're just following a different guy.
Starting point is 00:24:43 Drive to Survive gets lucky sometimes where they're like, we were embedded with Ferrari at Monza. And they fucking won. How lucky is that that we were there? Yes. So I wish it had been, wow, we were embedded with pasta. How lucky is it that he scored the OT winner in Game 7 against the Leafs? That's fucking gas.
Starting point is 00:24:59 But if you're unlucky, so be it. Just kind of take me through the hockey season. Yeah. or I would hear each ep being one guy and it's completely, and it's almost like the whole season. Like we cut a 60 minute app of like, I was with pasta for these three months. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:25:15 And then you got this far on the season. Next episode, I'm with Forrestboro for these three months. And, you know, I don't care. I'm willing to ignore the linear if it was more of a like deep dive on that person and team almost. And you're like,
Starting point is 00:25:29 oh yeah, it doesn't matter about the linear. I feel as though, I haven't watched yet. I'm going to do this week. Feels as though they tried to do both, kind of. Yes. And, you know, I understand it.
Starting point is 00:25:39 It's hard to get players to agree to be featured. It's hard to figure out what to follow. But I just think a producerial note that I would give is you should start at the beginning of the season. Like, if they're doing season two of this, they should start right fucking now. Yeah. And they should get an entire season's worth. And you should try to find like up to 12 players on teams who you were like,
Starting point is 00:25:59 they're going to be in the playoffs. So then the final episode can be. the final round. Like, it can follow McDavid and Matthew Kachuk all, like there'll be snippets from all season long. And then that final episode crescendos with them in the Stanley Cup against each other.
Starting point is 00:26:13 Like that is what the show should do, because it should be a delivery of eight to 10 episodes where if you didn't really pay attention to this past hockey season, you watch and you go, I feel like I just got a intoxicating taste of what happened last year's hockey season. Yeah. And I am fired up for next season.
Starting point is 00:26:31 I also think, I'm curious what you think about this is, They tried to sink up the drop with this with the first game of the season. I think that did not go well at all. Like, dude, for example, you are not only a huge hockey fan. You work in hockey. You did not watch the show when it dropped because you were like, it's day one of the NHL season.
Starting point is 00:26:50 Like, I'm watching the fucking Sabres and Devils play. I'm not watching the show. This should have been a, we're in the doldrums of summer, desperate for hockey content. August drop. Here's the show. Because it dropped Friday. right yes i kind of hate to the
Starting point is 00:27:05 i was just gone all right friday drop i was like are you insane you know so yeah it's i know they want it to like you can binge all weekend but i'm like dog people binge during the week dude 100% weekend but i'm busy dude 100%
Starting point is 00:27:20 and again i know it's a streamer like drive to survive isn't a like tuesday drive yeah it comes out and you watch it but again drive to survive season comes out correct me if i'm wrong not during the racing season i think so it's either all after or it comes out like maybe right before yeah there's like the beginning apps from the earlier in season are out while the rate the season is still finishing but it's you know either way i just again i think it's awesome i just i need better execution as far because here's the thing dude hockey fans are already
Starting point is 00:27:48 watching hockey i'm so sick of like the dude if you want this to be successful you can't make a show that's for hockey fans you need to make the show that's going to get new fucking hockey fans and i'm not saying the show isn't doing that i'm certain it is doing it but it could be doing it better Yeah, because certainly that's what Drive to Survive did. Yes. Drive to Survive made, I'm sorry, like, diehard F1 fans, you're going to jump on me. And we can go on Red flags and talk to the squad about it. But they would be the first to admit, because I'm pretty sure it happened to them.
Starting point is 00:28:17 Drive to Survive made people F1 fans. And people are now die hard F1 fans. So it's just crazy to not try to mimic that by being like, we need to show, we need to take a shot of adrenaline and stick it straight up people's buttholes. about hockey and get you fired up about the NHL season and go, I had no idea that there were this cool of characters in the NHL and that this much drama was going on in the NHL. Because that's what we need to.
Starting point is 00:28:44 We were calling last year drama season, dude. There's none of that in this show. Like that shit needs to be dumping out the pores of this show. And that's what I need moving forward. Yeah. I mean, I can't wait to watch. Speaking of game one of the season, Devils Sabers, Friday Night Devils win one.
Starting point is 00:29:02 4-1, Markey makes maybe the save of the year. Dude, we were talking about Sway, like, you said, like, oh, I hope he gets a shut out his first game. Because, like, what a thing. Yeah. Bro. To show up, Markey, to show up in New Jersey and be like, I was the missing piece. Dude.
Starting point is 00:29:18 And have a great game, win 4-1 with an empty-nutter. And make that save. Just like, you're like, oh, that is exactly why we signed you. It's insane. such a good feeling when you're like, yes, this is exactly why I'm... How do you think he walks around with his balls weighing as much as they do? What a good feeling that must be. You brought in as the savior, you're going to change shit.
Starting point is 00:29:45 And granted, you're playing the sabers, no offense. Sabers, you guys know I love you. But those were shit-kicking, dude. Yeah. 4-1, 3-1. Like, you know, Tage finally gets on the board in game two. Owen Power gets on the board in game one. We need it.
Starting point is 00:30:01 We need Tage. Thank you so much. bet MGM parlay with Tage scoring over 40. Well done on pace to do it. Yeah, I just think that, those two games and both Devils fans and Sabres fans, spit in my face if you want, because I know it's early. It's just two games. But did those two games not perfectly paint the picture of what we predicted for both
Starting point is 00:30:25 of these teams? Yes. Like everything we have said about the Devils was the boys are healthy, Jack's going to be firing. The defense is going to look insanely strong even without Luke. Shamis Casey's going to arrive to the party and Markstrom's going to be a game changer.
Starting point is 00:30:40 Literally every single one of those things happen. Dude, Casey. Jack Hughes looks like a fucking possessed man ready to score 120 points. Shamis Casey tow drag nip job in everyone's face. And Markstrom makes a save of the year candidate. Save.
Starting point is 00:30:54 Or, uh, uh, yeah, save. And like, the sabers just looked fucking spine. spineless, dude. They got no gum shoe. I know they were going to swap goals, so Alan got the winning game two for the devils, but it's such a tough look for the Sabres.
Starting point is 00:31:09 And dude, it was four. It was three and three actually, because one was an empty other. So it's three goals. Like the league average is high over two and a half, I'm sure. So it's not like they got pinballed, but it's so brutal that the Sabres, UPL and Devon Levi's start and both get lit up and lose. And I'm like, ah, damn. Like, you're going to get. You got no goalies, dog. Yeah. You might have no goalies.
Starting point is 00:31:34 Tough. Tough that they both got beat pretty good. But I just think if you're the Sabres fan base right now, you are doing that. You're going, God damn. Yeah. Same shit. Not a good start to the Lindy campaign. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:31:52 Which, well, I'm not getting into that again. But yeah. Yeah. And we've talked about this before. We actually talked about it with Brady Kachuk last year when they were doing Global series. Yeah. And we always have talked about that B's trip to start their cup year.
Starting point is 00:32:05 But you hear it all the time from these guys when they go on those huge Euro trips, that it can be super bonding. You know, like they look, when teams have successfully seasons that did that, they always cite it where they look back and they're like, hey, dude, we were just, it was all the boys on the road together, figuring out what we're about. And this could be cool foreshadowing for a sick devil's run. If they're like, it all came together there, dude. New coach, new guys, you know, like adjustment after last year.
Starting point is 00:32:29 we went to Europe and pulled it together and, you know, that that launched us off the right way. I'll be interested to see how they... The Prague Boys. Yeah. You think they're going to be the Prague Boys? I think they might be the Prague boys all year. Wow. That's cool.
Starting point is 00:32:41 Yeah. Do you know Prague looks like Paris in an overhead drone shot? Which is why most movies that have scenes in Paris, Boren identity, for example, are all shot in Prague. What do they do about the Eiffel Tower? they build one out of paper machet. And it stands in Prague for the month of shooting. No. And some tourists go there by accident.
Starting point is 00:33:08 And they actually have a great, there's a whole market for tourism dollars thinking there in Paris. And then someone goes, that's paper mache. And people, local kids throw rocks at it. And they go right through. And then it all falls apart. Is it to scale? No, it's to scale. It's to scale.
Starting point is 00:33:25 You're telling me that doesn't blow away? No, dude, paper mache is heavy as far. Dude, it's like wet paper towel cement or something. Isn't it a newspaper most often? Yeah, maybe it is newspaper. You're telling me that in the city of Prague, this is what I'm telling you.
Starting point is 00:33:41 Maybe six months of the year, there's a Papier-Michet-Michet Eiffel Tower. I'm actually saying it's not to scale because it's bigger. It's bigger. There's the Vegas one, the Paris one. The Prague one.
Starting point is 00:33:56 You know how many times I've been duped by friends in Vegas posting on their Instagram? They're in Paris. It's not even just Paris. It's everywhere. Yeah. Like they're in the... Oh yeah. You could be anywhere in the Venetian.
Starting point is 00:34:08 You could be anywhere in Vegas. And you could be posting... You could be on a gondola and you could geo tag Venice, Italy. And I'd believe it. Yep. There's a lot of places. Oh, yeah, dude. It's crazy.
Starting point is 00:34:18 None better than Prague and Paris, though. Do you think that some people go to Vegas who want to do a Euro trip, but they can't afford it? and they go, we're just going to go to Vegas and we're going to act like we're in Europe. Dude, yes. And I'm just realizing now that's depressing. Yes. Or don't knock it until you try it. Don't knock it until you try it.
Starting point is 00:34:38 Because then, dude, you hit the tables. Yeah. Then you can afford to place some craps. That could have been something different. Boom. Thoth the dice. Next thing you're paying for a Paris trip. It's just now occurring to me that Jack might have thought they were in Paris.
Starting point is 00:34:54 this whole time. Why would he think that? Because it looks just like... Because of the Papier-Michet-Michet of the Power. Yeah, he might have been like... Like, when we talked to him next, I might be like, how was the trip? And he's like, Paris is amazing.
Starting point is 00:35:06 The boys bonded. Dude, he knows he's in Prague. He was doing interviews talking about the Czech fan base. Ah, I got to... We got a little check on that, because I'm not sure. We could double check. There's a chance that someone on one of those two teams was like, we're in Paris.
Starting point is 00:35:22 We're in Paris. God, looks like that. The paper mache. Yeah. So we're confirming there's a paper machet, Eiffel Tower and Prague. Well, it depends if someone was shooting there recently.
Starting point is 00:35:30 Someone sent us a picture of that. Because there's Czech people who listen to this podcast. Yeah, and they'll know. And they'll know if that's true or not. I can't wait to see it. Because there's no confirming or denying this just yet.
Starting point is 00:35:43 Correct. I've not been to Prague. Me neither. I couldn't tell you. But I have been to Paris. So I can assume, actually, I haven't been to Paris. I was like, no, you have. I was going to make the joke.
Starting point is 00:35:52 It was for the joke. But if I had been to Paris, I could have said I've been to Prague. I'm going to Paris next month, so I can confirm. I'll be able to confirm. No, you've never been to Prague. Well, let me finish. I'll be able to confirm if the Eiffel Tower is in fact made of steel or not. Yeah, okay, that would be good.
Starting point is 00:36:10 I'll send you guys a nice knock test. Dude, throw a rock at it. That's what they do at Prague. If it doesn't go straight through, I might get arrested. Some French police officer comes up to me and goes, Did you just throw a rock at the Eiffel Tower? And I go like this. I had to make sure I'm not in Prague, sir.
Starting point is 00:36:27 Throw a rock. Monsieur. Yeah. And he goes, oh. No, he goes, you check. You throw a rock at it. And he goes, you check. And you go, yes.
Starting point is 00:36:34 And he goes, yeah. Yeah. He goes, you were thinking Prague, right? And I go, yeah. My bad. Turned around. I got turned around. Just got, hey, got a double check, dude.
Starting point is 00:36:45 Get it? Yeah. Yeah. And he's like this. You've been around the block. Yeah. It pays you money. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:36:50 It's fucking crazy. That was thick. It's great stuff. Oh, God. All right. What do we got next, dude? What's going on? We got a huge.
Starting point is 00:36:57 We got a league altering signing. Talk to me about it. Max, Patch, you're ready. After his PTO at the Leafs, they make it official. They were flirting. They were doing hand stuff. They saw each other every other weekend. And then eventually Toronto said, what are we?
Starting point is 00:37:14 And he said, I'm a one-year guy. Wow. And they said, okay, boom, let's make it official. 873K. Red, what are his incentives again? So he plays 10 games, he gets another 300K, plays 30 games, 35 games, that gets another 300K.
Starting point is 00:37:30 Sick. Dude, but Red was talking about this earlier. Giving someone a 300K bonus for playing 10 games makes me feel very unconfident about your belief of how many games this person. Yeah, I was like, that does not instill confidence if I'm a leash fan. I'm like this, 10? And I mean, 300K to the Toronto Maple Leafs
Starting point is 00:37:50 is nothing. That's couch money. Yeah. But I am a bit like, Jesus Christ, we, like, is this guy made a dental floss? What's going on here? But, Dan, in 47 games for the caps last year, he went 419 and 23, not crazy, right? But in 2022 and 37, he had 37 and 39 for Vegas. And that's not a full season either.
Starting point is 00:38:11 But, like, injuries crushed from Carolina. They crushed her in Washington. He's going to play third line in Toronto, probably. Yeah, probably. But like, we said, like, I don't know, Like we were looking at those lines. I could see him playing top six for sure. Yeah, but like I think they're telling me he can't. Why, though.
Starting point is 00:38:29 But they did. He played good last year. He did. And domi's a great player. But domi to me is a perfect third line player. Like go out there in your third line and grind people down. Like Max, patch ready. You're telling me he can't be a Mark Recky for this team.
Starting point is 00:38:40 Well, that's kind of where I was headed. I guess no matter where he plays. Bro, if he plays. Like, have him be Erod for the, for the Panthers last year. Yeah. If he has 50 points this year, it's a huge win. Dude, it's not only a huge win for him,
Starting point is 00:38:56 but it's like the Leafs. I've said, I mean, I got torched by the Leafs last year because I was like, they're going to be sick. They, if Joe Wall is good for the millionth time, if they get 50 points from Patcheretti
Starting point is 00:39:10 on like a second, on a middle six position. Yeah. That just gives them depth scoring that they haven't had in a while. Like they've been so those top. four guys. They brought in Bertuzi, brought in doing it. Even like, this would be...
Starting point is 00:39:23 But isn't that not their problem? Don't we always talk about this? I don't think... D-Dep's scoring in the playoffs. But I just think that would be a massive boost for this squad. Oh, no doubt about it. And I love Patches. I think he's a great player.
Starting point is 00:39:35 The one thing I didn't love was his most recent press conference where he was like, this is the hardest environment I've ever been in. Dude, that Barubi camp, bro. Oh, my God. He's yelling at everybody. Felt like the most... I was different here. It felt like the most transparent lie I've ever heard.
Starting point is 00:39:53 It felt like a guy who just signed a vetman who's trying to be like, dude, I'm committed. I'm here. And I'm going to win you all over by saying something nice that all Leafs fans want to hear. That's the hardest environment you've ever been in. It's incredible. He's so tough on those guys. Matthews is getting chewed out every drill. Are you sure?
Starting point is 00:40:16 Are you sure? Dude, I want. I want the Leafs to be good. And what's, yes, I do. But what's fucked is I don't want them to be good in the sense that
Starting point is 00:40:28 chief came in, changed the culture. They become more, they're never going to be blue collar, but they become more blue collar. They win gritty, blah, blah,
Starting point is 00:40:36 blah. I want them to be good in the exact opposite way. Like they just go harder into what we all thought the problem. I want the Leafs to win every game this year, nine, eight. And be like, be like,
Starting point is 00:40:46 what, dude? And I hope they finish. first. I do 80 and I'm like hell yeah. I do kind of want we till we talked about red red said the inmates running the asylum like I want willy Mitch and Austin to all have like 60 goals
Starting point is 00:41:00 and then just be winning these barn burner games and it's just like it's unhinged here but they're ball and it wasn't the plan at all yeah they were like that's not what I thought was going to happen but now it's what's happening I'm like fucking cook dude that would be great it's it sucks because the entertainment that comes
Starting point is 00:41:18 from their misfortune. I just wish it wasn't us, dude. It's unfortunate that I find it funny. Because I love Austin so much. I love Willie so much, and I want to see them win. Yeah. It's unfortunate that it's funny. Because it's been other people, right?
Starting point is 00:41:38 Like it's biz. I love watching Biz hitch his wagon to them and then be like, motherfucker, we lost again. And it's just like all of these poor lease fans, like, dying in Toronto and I hate it because I find it fun. Yeah. I say again, if it wasn't the B's, and actually,
Starting point is 00:41:55 I'm pretty sure I said this in the playoffs last year, and I mean it, if the Bs and the Leafs play in the playoffs this coming season, fuck this season I have high hopes of Brees, but last year certainly, and the Leafs had just won in six games. I would have been like, it is what it is.
Starting point is 00:42:10 That's a really good Toronto team and the probably top to bottom better roster. Oh, I'll admit right here and right now, I was very prepared for Boston. Yeah. It was just when the bees went up three one. I was like, well, we can't lose now. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 00:42:19 Sure can. It's not happening. Not to them. Yeah. And then in games five and six, the Bruins force decided to stop scoring goals. Dude, this is what I want, actually. I want Toronto to go in the wild card and then get kicked over to the other side. Hey.
Starting point is 00:42:34 You know, then go fucking dick down the Met. That would be sick. That could happen. Leifes rags round one. Unbelievable. It would be sick. Those two fit. Listen, that would be wild.
Starting point is 00:42:46 That's ready. It could be good. great signing, dude. I actually think it's a massive signing. It's going to be really cool. Could be good. Let's go from an older guy to a younger guy. Do it. Connor Bedard getting a little feisty out there. Yeah, dude. Badass Baddard.
Starting point is 00:43:00 Everyone's calling him that. They threw an A on his sweater and it stands for Angry. I was off the cuff, dude. I didn't think about that. Dude, wow. Stands for angsty. Anxie. Angry. Aggressive.
Starting point is 00:43:16 Oh. Agitator. Oh, agitator. Whoa, dude. Sorry. I thought you were saying asshole. Shake it easy, dude. He's a teenager.
Starting point is 00:43:25 He's just a child. He's a boy. Calm down. I don't know what I think about it. Does it bum me out that you could be Vadar's dad? No. I think that's cool. Nice.
Starting point is 00:43:38 So good you. No, not really. Yeah, really. No, it'd be weird. Yeah, fair. You'd be like, whoa. And I'd be like, whoa. For you?
Starting point is 00:43:48 Or for me? For you would go, whoa. No, no. For me, it'd be like this. Ooh. Yeah. For me, it's a yikes. For you, it's like a, oh, damn, you got started early.
Starting point is 00:43:55 Yeah, you go, oh, whoa. You fucking old bitch. You bag. Bedsie, dude. Is that the chair creaking or your bones? You bag a dirt. Neck. I'm not used to looking this way.
Starting point is 00:44:07 Bedsie is, I think it's cool. Here's my take on it. I think it's cool that he's like, I'm in the league. I'm a superstar, but you can't. I'm not taking it. no shit. It's a little, you know, people would dog Sid all the time,
Starting point is 00:44:25 and I'm not excusing this either, but like Sid would be like sack tap guys, and it's like, you know, fuck off, dude, don't do that. The few clips I've seen are a little like lower back cross-checks for... That is, by the way, not talked about enough. It's the only bad thing about Sidney Frosby. Correct.
Starting point is 00:44:38 He cup checks a lot. Yep. And I'm like, stop doing that. Like, what are you doing? He can cross-check me in the back all. day. The cup checking is the most out-of-character Sidney Crosby thing in the world. Yeah. So I think what I think is fucked with the Bidar situation is I like, it's because he's small too, I think that's a factor that he's like, you can't push me around it. I know you think I'm small. I'll get right back in your day. I will not be trifled with. I'll not be trifled with. But you are small. And I would love you to not get your jaw broke because you are trifleable. So maybe just leave the trifling alone. But maybe he's him getting in the shit. I mean, like, he's the same size as Marci. Marci's jaw doesn't get
Starting point is 00:45:23 broke. It's because Marci knows how to play in the dirt. Yeah, and Baderd doesn't. And Baderd's job been broke. And once your jaw is broke, it's easier to get broke just like everything on her. Nah. Yep. Yep. That's not true. Dude, so like, watch this. I broke my jaw. My jaw is not broken again. Watch this, dude. Don't break my jaw. Like, that would have gone. Just so you know. Sort of turned to dust, dude. If he goes like this, if someone goes like whack, and he goes whack, whack. And then they go shove. probably last year someone jumps in jumps in this year he goes shove and then they go swipe jaw six six months shit and i'm like don't trifle dude why are we trifling because i think he
Starting point is 00:46:02 learns i think he learns he goes i i'm going to get in it i'm going to get in the mix i'm going to get in the mixer i'm going to start throwing punches i'm going to start motherfucking guys because i think it's a respect thing i think they go okay okay connor i see you getting in getting in the mud here, rolling up the sleeves, getting dirty, getting some grit under your fingernails, and now they're not going to even swing at his jaw. No, they are, they are. They are. They might not, though. They are. I think this is how you get tougher, dude. I think he scores 50, they go, don't hit him. Steel sharpens steel, dude. That's what's going on. And steel breaks jaws. Not if it's made of steel. Well, it's not. But you don't know
Starting point is 00:46:41 that. Yes, I do. It's already broke. But they put a steel plate in. Heal sharpens steel. Steel shatters brittle bone. And I have confirmation that he has brittle bone. No, you don't. He's got strong bones. He's a young boy. You have brittle bones.
Starting point is 00:46:55 I can hear him creaking all day. Exus can. I have good bone density. I thought you had bad bone density. Horrible bone density. Yeah, because you're an old bitch. No, but it's had nothing to do with age. It has nothing to do with age.
Starting point is 00:47:05 And in fact, Badard has brittle bone density. No. Because he got barely clipped on that check. Connor's jaw is bricked up, dude. It's bricked up. Stay out of the trif. Do you know. Hey, Connor, get in there, dude.
Starting point is 00:47:18 Get in the mix. If he gets hurt this year due to trifling, then you will pay for this. I will feel really bad. I will feel really bad, but this is the price that we pay. You know, it is what it is. Taking a quick break to talk to you guys about our new partner, Every Man Jack, the OG men styling company. I got Everyman Jack coming out my ears, almost quite literally.
Starting point is 00:47:38 Look at this flow. Everyman Jack, I'm in my house. Everyone in Jack is everywhere in our house right now. I got a body wash with Thor on it. Are you kidding me? I'm smelling so fresh every time I'm going out on dates because I've got a Thor hammer body wash. It's unbelievable. We've got bars of soap.
Starting point is 00:47:52 They got beard stuff. And then don't even get me started on the hair. Check this out. I'm not kidding. Boom. Every man Jack Clay. How about that? Boom.
Starting point is 00:47:59 Every man jack fiber cream. Boom. Every man jack thickening paste. I used to put maple syrup in it. What do you think keeps it up? Slick. Now I got this stuff. All right.
Starting point is 00:48:06 It's incredible. The clay is awesome when my hair's mostly dry and I want it to hold better. The paste almost has that wet look, which I lo-key love because every time I come out of the shower and my hair's wet and I'm like, God, my hair looks so sick right now. And then it dries and it goes away and I never know what happened. Thickening paste works every single time. They're naturally derived ingredients, outdoor inspired themes. So even if you're not an outdoorsy guy, you're going to feel outdoorsy when you're with Everyman Jack.
Starting point is 00:48:31 It's like Cedarwood, sandalwood, all that great stuff. They've got products for everything you need in the men's styling category. So get some Everyman Jack right now. If you go to everymanjack.com slash discount slash netters, that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you get 25% off. And if you go to Amazon, you can use promo code 20, F-R-I-B-E-E-R-S. Taking a break to talk about our partners at Bauer Hockey and specifically maybe the greatest thing that has ever happened to me as a hockey. Game changer. The Bauer Advantage, you heard that right.
Starting point is 00:49:05 Sick name, by the way. The Bauer Advantage is their in-home skate sharpener. And folks, listen to me loud and clear. This is truly the most incredible gift that has ever happened to me. Because especially once you're a beer league clown like the two of us, getting your skate sharpened is not as easy as it sounds. I know. You know, we live in L.A.
Starting point is 00:49:26 It's hard to get to the rink when the pro shop is open to get your skate sharpened. It's always something that's an afterthought. You're not playing every day. You don't have someone sharpened skates right in the locker room like we used to. So it becomes a task. The Bauer Advantage is a top. of the line, unbelievable skate sharpener right in your home. It's genuinely the most impressive skate sharpening you could ever imagine.
Starting point is 00:49:48 I figured, here's this in-home sharpener. It's going to get the job done. It's kind of going to be like the slick stick. I was going to say because I had the stick too, right? Because you're going months without getting a skate sharpen. Oh my God. That's my favorite part. It's fast, consistent, and accurate.
Starting point is 00:50:00 I'm a 5-8 guy. I think I've kind of converted you to a 5-8 guy, too. You can be a half-inch guy. It doesn't matter. This thing has all the wheels. Whatever sharpening you want, you are getting pro-shop quality, with this like that. It's unbelievable and also goalies.
Starting point is 00:50:13 I know often you think you're an afterthought, not with the advantage. They've got you cover too. They've got settings for goalie sharpening as well. This thing's unbelievable. You can carry it around. It's convenient. You can pack it up.
Starting point is 00:50:23 You can bring it to the rink with you. You can bring it to hotels. If you've got a trip, you're not sure when you're going to be able to get your wheel sharpen. But it's truly the most convenient and unbelievable thing in the world. It even has a touchscreen. Dude, it's so easy to use. There's a touchscreen right on it.
Starting point is 00:50:36 And if you can't figure it out, there are videos. There's interactive YouTube videos that are step-by-step guides to troubleshoot any issue you're having. It's simple. It's truly become the greatest thing that has ever happened to us as people who are still playing hockey later in life. You never know when you're going to be able to get your wheels sharpen. And the advantage makes you able to do it in your home, whatever you want. It's easy. It's fast.
Starting point is 00:50:57 And it's so much better than the competition. You don't have to replace the wheels as often as some of these other machines. It's fast and easy. It has four motors. So this thing absolutely cooks. It gives you a top-of-the-line quality sharpening. And it's just got those built-in modes for players and goalies. If you want to set it using the Wi-Fi and using the touchscreen to your own specifications, absolutely.
Starting point is 00:51:16 But it's got those easy ones right there for you. If you don't want to get two in the weeds with all the complications, boom, player mode, goalie mode. It's automated. It's unbelievable. It's easy to store. It's easy to use. The Bauer Advantage is just the biggest game changer when it comes to skate sharpening. I could have ever imagined, and I am just so happy I have it.
Starting point is 00:51:36 All right, Dan, the NHL Network did their top hundred. again the summer. We did it with them last summer or simultaneously. And I would never wish that upon. And my worst enemy, I would never do it again. I hated it so much. I know a lot of people wanted us to do it, but I just, we couldn't. And maybe I will do it again next summer now. Yeah, we just take one break. God, it's a lot. And people get mad. I wanted to read you the top 20. Okay. In reverse order. Okay. Number 20, Jack Hughes. Number 19, Mero. Number 18, Yosey, 17. Ikel, 16 point 15 panarin 14 pasta 13 moose 12 headman 11 sid 10 Quinn 9 Matthew Cuch 8 Sasha 7 Cooch 6 Chesty 5 Leon 4 kale 3 Matthews 2 Nate Dog 1 Connor
Starting point is 00:52:25 Before I say anything okay What we have not discussed this yeah Did any of any one of those stand out to you as oh wow I love this list. I think that there are some that I, Eichel is a top 20 player in the league, and I love one list like this come out because I think there's a lot of people
Starting point is 00:52:51 who see his injuries and maybe his numbers not being as high as a cooch or something like that. And they're like, why is Eichael on here? And I'm like, you clearly don't watch Jack Eichael play. Because Jack Eichael is elite. So I love that. Really, really, really. really happy to see how high
Starting point is 00:53:08 headman is. Yes. Like, headman top 15, I'm not sure, I don't know what he was last year, but I think, I think there's some fucking spec put on his name.
Starting point is 00:53:18 And I really like that. I feel the same way about Yosie. I like that Yose is in here. I, the one thing I will say here, I think Shesty's too high. Okay. I think Shestey being over
Starting point is 00:53:31 Barkov, Kooch, and Matthew Kich, I just think is like, very wrong. But he's in this list, no doubt. Kale McCar is better than someone in that top three. And I, honest to God, might say he might be better than literally all of them. It's possible.
Starting point is 00:54:01 I'm not going to say this person's name because I'm going to let him come on this podcast and say this take if he wants because I'm not going to put words in his mouth. Yep. But a very prominent defenseman in the NHL has said before, I have a hot take for your podcast. Cal McCar is the best player in the NHL. Yep. And I'm not saying I necessarily agree,
Starting point is 00:54:24 but I'm saying that there's a lot of weight to that statement. It holds a lot of water. Yep. We'll call it a water tank, if you will, because it holds a lot of water. And I just think people love to go, yeah, Conor Nate and Austin. Frankly, I'm surprised Leon's not in.
Starting point is 00:54:39 there but they're like conorate and austin they're the best and then they go and then kale and i'm like dude kale is so fucking good it's stupid so that it would be the one thing that stands out to me most but at the end of the day i think that they did a great job NHL network top 20 dude i'm trying to find the one from last year well even the one from this year why don't you read me like 30 to 20 and let's be like ooh should they be in the top 20 okay the one from last year so Sorokin was 21. I swear Vassi was above him. I think Vassi is still the best goalie in the league.
Starting point is 00:55:17 But my point is, dude. Find it from this year. And give me 21 to 30. Okay. Wow. My point is this year, the, I'm so shocked at that Chesty at 6. Yeah, you're going to motherfucked shesty right now. Yes.
Starting point is 00:55:38 Because there's just. He was pretty goddamn good in the playoffs. There's just no way that... He was. He was awesome in the playoffs, and I think that actually maybe saved it for him. But I think they had the highest goalie last year in the teens, maybe.
Starting point is 00:55:55 And I'm like, I just don't know that there is a goalie in the league right now that is a top 10 player. And in fact, to be one, you have to be like... Unconscious. I win the Ves. I'm a lock for the Vesna. I'm probably... I'm probably going to win three bests in a row.
Starting point is 00:56:10 I'm going to carry you to the finals myself, which Chesterney nearly did, but... I don't think nearly. I think they had, you know, whatever. He's fantastic, but I'm with you. Just six. I was like, what do you think... Hey, I'm with you.
Starting point is 00:56:28 I was crazy, dude. Here's 30. 30. J.T. Miller. 29, Willie Nealender. 28. Elias Pederson. 27, Adam Fox. 26, Charlie McAvoy.
Starting point is 00:56:39 I'm saying that for years. 25, Girl Caprizoff. 24, Vassi. Like, Vassi's 24, Shest he's six. Yeah. I mean, last year,
Starting point is 00:56:48 I get it. 23, Jason Robertson. 22, Connor Hellibuck, your Vesna winning goalie, who was unconscious all year, except on the playoffs. 21, goose. Sick.
Starting point is 00:57:01 Yeah, see, I think they nailed it. I like the 20. I have an issue with the 20, the order of the 20. Yeah, but not that big of an issue. Like, they nailed it. These guys are great. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:57:13 Yeah. I think you're right. Yeah. It's good. Point. A lot of love for point, but he's a good player. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:57:22 Chesterste at 6 is fucking nuts. So, Sundays I do hockey talk. Yep. It's great. It's one of the best things about my Sunday. Doing some hockey talk while golfing yesterday. That was kind of fun.
Starting point is 00:57:35 We, I wanted to kick some hockey talk into the episode. Sick. So for those who don't know who listen to the podcast, if you guys don't follow us on Instagram, pop on Instagram, throw us a follow. And on Sundays, I do hockey talk where I open the field to a bunch of questions, answer as many as I can. And there are such good questions from all of you, so I wanted to toss one here. We got a question that said, going to do some traveling this year, want to go see some NHL games. Give me your top five cities to watch a game.
Starting point is 00:58:04 And I love that question so much. And I've done things. People say, like, what are your top three barns in the ladies? stuff like that. I'll pop that on the IG. This to me was such a good question that I was like, ooh, I want to talk about this on the pot.
Starting point is 00:58:18 It's already tricky because there's a weight to the question. And I don't know what you are going to weigh it on. Like, are we talking, is Barn a part of it? Are we talking hockey city specifically? Let's go like this, because we could get in the weeds here. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:58:38 We could talk. What are the best, like if you're a player, top five cities to play. Yeah, no, and it's not that. And we shouldn't do that. Because I do think that's weirdly going to be very different. I think this is literally, the way I want to answer this question is if you're like, hey, what's up? I'm from fucking Iowa. And I like hockey.
Starting point is 00:58:54 And I want to go on a domestic vacation. Yeah, let's do that. Where should I go? Let's do that. I can also just happen to catch a game while I'm there. Let's do that. I think that might make it more boring, unfortunately, though. Nope.
Starting point is 00:59:05 It's the opposite of boring. It's literally fun. True. This is a fun ranking. Yep. But for example, I think this, my list at least, is going to be dominated by the major cities in this country because I'm like, yeah, you get a week in New York and you happen to catch a Rangers game. But like a week in New York is so. Oh, see.
Starting point is 00:59:23 No, no, no, no. All right. Good, good point. There's no fucking planet where New York is on my list here. And it should be one on anyone's list. If I'm like, you get one domestic vacation this year, what's the best city you can go down like New York? We're doing this base in a hockey sense. Yeah, that's why I was asking.
Starting point is 00:59:39 You have to eliminate the city of New York because New York fans are going to fucking scream at me, but you're fucking wrong. The city of New York does not come into play in a New York Rangers game other than the lunatics inside that stadium. So we're talking a, yep, you're going to the city for a day and you want to be immersed in a hockey experience at the game. Okay. So New York City does not, like this is not a, yeah, you're doing a domestic vacation. You get three days. That does not count. Okay.
Starting point is 01:00:10 Okay. Three places to visit. So it's going to be, what is the experience like in the city around the stadium while you're in the game? What's the hockey vibe? What are the fans? Like, that's what we're doing. Yep.
Starting point is 01:00:20 And you get that, you get that like night, I suppose. For sure. For sure. Okay. I got two so far. I think there's two right off the bat. And this might be, to contradict myself. I think this might be boring.
Starting point is 01:00:34 But I think I got two right off the bat that you just cannot argue it. Four so far. Okay. Yeah. Toronto, Montreal. Montreal for sure. Yeah, you're right. I mean, like, you're right. You're right. If you're like a new hockey fan, maybe you don't have a home team and you're like, I just want to experience NHL hockey. Yeah. Top five cities. Are you crazy?
Starting point is 01:00:57 And we got to, and like, Edmonton isn't in it because you're getting the same exact fan reaction. Yes. But the, but I would never. do is not as cool. I would never tell you to go to Edmondton. Right. Like Toronto Montrauma. I would never do that to someone. Okay.
Starting point is 01:01:14 I had a great time in Edmonton. Hell yeah, I did. That's what I'm saying. Honestly, it's just flying in there's tough. That's why I wouldn't say to do it. That's it. Dark. Dark.
Starting point is 01:01:22 But also Pearson fucking blows. Yeah, true. True. Air Canada. Fuck Air Canada. They do. Don't fly. They're all out, dude.
Starting point is 01:01:31 No Canadian teams. Hockey is not Canadian. No. Toronto and Montreal got to be on here. And then I'm going to kick it, dude. I'm going to kick it, dude. I'm going to kick it to, again. There's two other locks.
Starting point is 01:01:42 You're right. This can't be a like, well, this city is sick. It's got to be the environment in and around the arena. I'm going Nashville. Yes, 100%. Right. 100%. It's a lot. We say it a lot.
Starting point is 01:01:54 Bridgestone is fucking sick. It's right there, dude. It's literally on Broadway. I would say the same thing about a football fan asking about where to go. I'd say the same thing about the Titans. Those are their two sports there. They go fucking crazy. But Bridgestone is on Broadway, dude.
Starting point is 01:02:07 Like you are on broad, like your pregame drinks, you know, like you're in Boston. You're going to greatest bar. You're in and around that area in the north end. You pop into the garden. That's electric. Dude, in Nashville, you are at honky talk, bro. You're at L. Deans. Like you are on Broadway, going to those Broadway bars, kicking up your cowboy boots,
Starting point is 01:02:28 giving a little, yeah, ha! And then you're going into Bridgestone. Give me a break. They become a whole new person. There's live music outside, live country music, ripping. before you walk in the door as a bridgestone. Oh, man. Gotta be bridged up.
Starting point is 01:02:41 There's one more lock, I think, and then, God, I'm in such a battle for the fifth spot. Did they say five or did they just say, we're doing five? Yeah, because then it's going to be a battle for the fifth spot. Well, actually, maybe that my lock you might fight me on. Because they are more, there are way more of a sports city now than they were when it started. Yeah. You don't know what I say? Maybe.
Starting point is 01:03:05 Vegas. Yeah. Because they do love, the knights are their favorite team. Well, yes. Of the Raiders and the soon-to-be A's. So it's like, it's not New York and that I'm just saying go to Vegas because it's Vegas and it's fun. I'm like, they love knights games.
Starting point is 01:03:23 Vegas is officially a hockey town. Yeah. I don't even think that's debatable. As far as like sports. Yeah. Like, they are a hockey town. There's Vegas Golden Knights jerseys everywhere. And Team Mobile is on the strip.
Starting point is 01:03:33 And you are pretty much the same way that bridge does. on Broadway. No, no, Bridgetstone is literally on Broadway, dude. Like Vegas is a bit off strip, or T-Mobile is a bit off-shirt. But it's still right there. It's walkable. Yep. And there's so sick bars, like, right in that run-up to, you know, like all those spots on the way walking into T-Mobile. And then obviously, like, the spectacle of the game is insane. And then after you get to walk out and be like, should we go become billionaires at the wind? And I think that's, we have to eliminate that.
Starting point is 01:04:02 Well, I think we do. That's not fair. But because then you've got to eliminate Broadway. No one on Broadway after the game is like, go Preds. Like you're just on Broadway. But being at Broadway bars before Preds games is a thing. All those bars do, don't interrupt me. They do specific Preds pregame stuff at those bars.
Starting point is 01:04:21 So we can count that. Yeah, before the game. Yes. After the game, you're saying Broadway, I have to eliminate Broadway counting. Well, no, because they're still doing Preds stuff. No, no, they are not. In the playoffs, you're telling me that those bars,
Starting point is 01:04:33 if they're winning playoffs games. They didn't say playoffs. They never said playoffs. I can't bring playoffs. They never said playoffs. But I still think they're celebrating Preds wins at these bars. You don't think that these bars are accounting on a Friday night, Thursday night game. The Preds win, you don't think they're going, this is amazing.
Starting point is 01:04:50 We're going to get Preds fans' crowds here to fill up the bars. I bet there's... Run up the tabs. I bet there's like a flag flying, a car flag up. I know there. But dude, not at the big ones. And certainly there's not Knights flags at the casino bars. That's why I'm saying that we can't count those, but there are preds flags.
Starting point is 01:05:07 Right outside T-Mobile, which are sick, which are going crazy for the nights. Yes, they are. So I still think Vegas is in. If we're eliminating New York City, we can't. We can't count the casino. We can't count the casino. But I still think Vegas is unfair to New York. My fifth is down to two teams.
Starting point is 01:05:24 And I'm talking like just right around the rink chaos. Yep. Tampa? Dude, I want Tampa. I love Hat tricks. I love almost. Amelay, worst airport I've ever been to in my fucking life. Dude, I had a bad experience.
Starting point is 01:05:41 I've heard some people say it was good. Tampa, the airport is just a nightmare. I've been there twice, pretty bad both times. But like Tampa's fun, but it is still like, you know, Tampa and the cats, if we were doing, if you're a player, top five cities to play in. Yeah, yeah. Those are probably on my list because you're just in Florida. But I'm not, as far as like a, you want to experience NHL hockey. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:06:04 I'm not, not sure I'm sending you to Amel. God. Don't get me wrong. Amelais is a fucking gas time. But I just don't think it's like the one that I'm going to be like, teach an alien about hockey. Yeah, yeah. I don't think you're going to send them to Florida. Um,
Starting point is 01:06:18 and Detroit. Love that. Right around it. Not I'm not saying everywhere. I'm just saying like they get hyped as fuck. I love it. Right. Like, remember that bar we went to after like the two story fucking thing?
Starting point is 01:06:30 Like an LCA is sick. Yeah. I mean, are we being biased? I think Boston's a pretty good time. is great, but it's like, it's, it's, it's New Yorkie E to me, where it's like, you're not, there's not going crazy for the bees. I just think in the North End, there's so many bars right across the street from the garden that are known for, people in Boston go, we're going to the Bees game, see you at the
Starting point is 01:06:53 bars first. I do think that area of the North End cooks during these games. Me too. What about Blue Jackets? Columbus is fun, but I just think they get too hyped to the Buckeyes. Yeah. But there are a ton of bars. It's like their only team.
Starting point is 01:07:08 Like they go crazy. Damn, this is tough, dude. It's a quieter, though. Canucks is pretty good. Yeah, and you know where I've never been is down? I've been, I've never been to Dallas. Yeah. Maybe that's sick.
Starting point is 01:07:22 But I could see them getting caught up in other shit too, though. You know what? Cowboys games. I've talked. I'll give you Vegas because I do think that they're hot time. Vegas is in. I mean, after all the shit I talked. Let's just be real.
Starting point is 01:07:33 It might be the Rangers. Chicago. I love Chicago. I fuck. I know what, dude. I'm fucking out on Chicago. It's so overhyped. Chicago's fine.
Starting point is 01:07:46 Chicago's awesome. Chicago is so fine. You know, Chicago in the summer. It's typical, dude. It's too cold to live there. Let's be real. No, let's be real. I'm going to give love.
Starting point is 01:07:58 We are kind of denying it. I'm going to give love to Edmonton. I'm going to give love to New York. They are just, Edmonton, that building is a spaceship. And it's literally all the people in Edmonds. Can you care about. It's so sick.
Starting point is 01:08:11 Like if you act like what I just said, let's be honest, I'm going to check myself. What I just said, you want to teach an alien about hockey. If you plopped a person who's never been to a hockey game in the middle of the shit in Edmonton and go and went, here's a regular season game. People would be like, holy fucking shit. Yeah. And that's pretty legit. And MSG say what you want about the building, good or bad, which I have. I do think they get up.
Starting point is 01:08:37 I think Rangers fans get up for those games. and there's cool spots around. I do. So I'll toss some love to New York and Edmonton for that last spot. They can duke it out. But, do you mean? Good options.
Starting point is 01:08:47 Those are good options. Those are good options. All right, that's going to be it for us today at the Empty Netters podcast. Also possibly it for us in this makeshift studio. Maybe. I hope you got a nice little look into this casual life. But we're going to be back in a new studio very, very soon.
Starting point is 01:09:01 We've got some unbelievable guests coming up for you. And tomorrow, big puck drop. Barring any postponement. Yeah, Jesus. Also, by the way, just saw, Jim Montgomery said Swamen might start tomorrow.
Starting point is 01:09:14 Really? Yeah. So by the way, this guy, this episode will be out Wednesday, guys, so we'll have seen if he started a lot, but that's just fucking electric.
Starting point is 01:09:20 It's juicy. He just wants the Panthers, dude. Juicy action. So that's it for us. We will see you next time and we'll have a ton of games in the regular season
Starting point is 01:09:29 to talk about. And until we see you then. Skayard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.