Empty Netters Podcast - The Edmonton Oilers Are Inevitable | LIVE.EP4
Episode Date: April 30, 2025It was a four pack of game 5s last night in the NHL and the guys are live covering every shift every goal every hit. Vegas Minny and LA Edmonton were playing to take control of the series. While Toron...to and Carolina were looking for eliminations NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
We're here live, ripping from the studio early morning, 9 a.m.
Here on the Pacific, 12 noon Eastern.
We're coming to you with a live show,
getting into all the nitty-gritty about the games last night,
and the sky is falling for numerous fans.
Correct, but it's not falling here because we have microphone arms.
We have microphone arms in the new studio.
That is big.
Every single day, the bar studio gets a little bit better,
much to our producer edges.
Pleasure.
Pleasure, deep pleasure.
Things are looking out.
I can't wait.
We're going to imp out.
law, I can't wait.
It's, it's great.
I still like our old studio.
Yeah, well, we pod there.
We pod there.
But I love this one too.
Yeah.
Listen, guys, we have a crazy live show to get into.
Shit is out of control.
We've got four games.
Yeah, four games to talk about.
Four game fives.
Four game fives to talk about.
And last night, I think I'm, I would be willing to say last night might have been the
craziest day so far.
This round one has been absolutely fucking bananas.
So much shit going on.
Fan bases are starting to get really nasty, really gross, really mean,
saying some hateful stuff.
We've got some death threats sent to us to some players,
which I think is so funny.
We haven't, like, I don't know what fan base feels like we've been rude enough.
But an oilish fan saw that we went to a Kings game
and went ahead and looked up our mom's name and sent us a death threat and a death threat to her.
So I appreciate that, Oilers Nation.
That was gas, actually.
We decided to show you guys some love and then one of your own went to the trouble to look up our mother's name and threaten her life.
So great stuff.
I don't even understand for what totally.
Me neither.
That's what I'm saying.
I was like, uh, what?
But let's get into it.
We're going to rip right into the devil's canes.
Yep.
First and foremost, first on the list, Devils Cains,
we've got our first elimination of the playoffs.
Yes.
An elimination I predicted we saw coming, but not the way that game went, obviously.
And, dude, I was dying laughing because I had another bet cooking last night,
which also lost.
But in the moment, part of it was Cain's money line.
And the only other time I took Keynes Money Line this whole series, even though I knew the
Keynes were going to nearly sweep.
The only other time I took Kane's Money Line is when they lost in double O T.
Yeah.
Every other game they've won.
And then last time I have Kane's Money Line as part of a parlay.
And it just goes to double OT.
And I'm like, hilarious two Kane's double OT losses incoming the one time I need them to win.
Yeah.
But this is when they pulled out and ended the series.
It was a crazy game too.
So we're going to get into it.
we're going to discuss everything, but
three,
zero,
right out the jump.
Yeah,
and yeah,
it's hilarious when we make a bet and we're just like,
well,
we're fucking idiots.
And dude,
even on hold the phone,
I was like,
because Freddie Iceberg,
not playing.
But I was like,
Chekhov's been good though,
you know,
like he'll,
he played pretty well in game four when he came in,
he'll shut the door.
He played,
had pretty good regular season.
He'll shut the door in game five.
And then there's three goals in like six shots.
And I was like,
absolutely insane.
So do you think,
So one of the things that I said right off the bat, I said that this series was going to be over in five.
So I'm one for one.
I'm about to be one for eight.
So how are you?
We'll get into that.
But this series kind of went exactly how we thought it would.
Agreed.
And that's, that's interesting.
I have some talking point for the game.
Let's say this.
For the game, brutal.
if you're a Jersey fan, just a shitty collapse, right?
Like up 3-0 going into the second.
And I know that, I mean, honestly,
the fucking special teams is why Jersey lost this series the way they did.
I think they finished technically Ove for like 15 or 16 on the power play.
They did get one one millisecond after the whistle in this game.
So like that's kind of one.
But the Keynes were able to score a bunch of power play goals,
including the one that won the series.
Yeah.
even though the devil's had just as good of a PK, so that hurt them.
But really bad collapse, you give up three, then he sure gets you one to go, you know,
when you're like, you blow that huge lead, you're like, we're dead, but then you get the fourth.
I'm like, now you should win because you're like, all right, like reset, whatever.
But then the Keynes ended up and then honestly, even after 3-0, let alone 4-4,
even after 3-0, the canes were all over them.
Like Markstrom ended up making like either the most or second-most career playoff stage he's ever made.
It was like 45 or something like that.
He was unbelievable, dude.
it's one of those things
like you give up five goals
so
looking at the box score people are like how good could you
possibly be but he was insane
it was insane they had 42
or 54 shots
and he made monster
saves that's the thing it wasn't just like
oh you know they're peppering shots from the point
he's kind of just making stand-up saves
he was making wild acrobatic saves
like you said probably the best performance of his
playoff career and you just
want that one. Like he,
she feels like he stole a game for them.
And you keep it in, all of a sudden,
now you're in game six. And you're totally
in this. So he's pissed.
And you saw he snaps his stick on the post.
Yeah. Showed some crazy restraint
to not kill a teammate with the second
stick throw. But yeah,
it's a, it's devastating,
dude. It's devastating when you see
a player go so hard,
have such a great performance and it just
isn't enough. And, you know,
I tweeted out something,
like we have talked a lot about this series was going to be the boring series,
right?
And people, people said it was going to be low scoring.
It was going to be Keynes in four or five.
Most games were low scoring and it was Keynes in five.
This game was insane.
This game was fun.
And I feel like a lot of people haven't been given the Canes enough love.
They haven't been showing, you know, they're a great team.
And there's, there's a lot of Devils fans, a lot of Eastern conference fans who are like,
They played a hobbled devil's team.
They suck.
They're going to lose in the next round.
And I always hate that because I'm like, listen, the devils were not a wildcard team.
They made the playoffs.
And yes, they lost key, key players.
But ultimately, the Key Key players.
Yep.
And they got through them in five games.
And here we are.
That's actually talking about what I wanted to hit with you is, um, how hurt is Jersey really?
And the Jack, he, Jack, Jack,
loss is devastating on every level, right?
But there were a few comments that you were digging up.
We were talking about yesterday that were kind of like,
congrats, you beat our AHL team, you know, like we're the hospital devils,
whatever, whatever.
And we're on the scale of zero to 100.
I was trying to come up with a witty or zero to 100, but I couldn't get there in real time.
So I just zero to 100 is how fair is that statement?
You played our, you played our hospital team.
We're so injured.
We didn't have a chance.
100% fair is literally not a single devil's players playing 0% fair is every devil's
players playing where is it in your mind i'd say it's around 50 for me and this game
specifically you know we said something like you need to show respect to the canes for being
down 3-0 and storming back and winning this game in a closeout game like that's clutches fuck
and i think a lot of in the moment frustrated devils fans were like they're playing the eutica
comets dude big deal yeah right i'm like well at the end of the day it's an n hl team in the
fucking playoffs and you have a three-goal lead like that that's a that's a good comeback that's
objectively a good comeback but on the larger scale i would say no doubt about it when you
are down jack hughes you're down luke hughes um uh dylan was out uh what i think it was it
uh coves savage was out like they they had a lot of injuries in this series so i think
it's absolutely worth mention and and considering we we said when we did our preview the second jack
was out i mean before the playoffs even started the second he went out i was like that's that for the
devils you are out in the first one and that's not a knock on the devils you you look at you take
the best player for every team take connor mac david take jack ikel uh take rob thomas jordan
Kyru, take Kyle Connor, you know, I'm just throwing out random names here.
And you remove them from the lineup.
Your team's odds of winning go down.
Significantly.
That's what it was.
So I live in the 50%.
It definitely played a factor.
It's why we chose them in five.
And I think it's a big reason why they won in five.
Yep.
Okay.
So this was one of the next talking points I wanted to get you in this series.
And it's actually coming up in the chat a lot.
I'll try to call some people out.
Somebody says,
what I wanted to ask you is the canes are the cup favorites.
Pretty much we're BetMGM there.
Cup favorites on BetMGM right now.
People asking about,
oh,
Sal says don't get the perpetual Kane's love.
And a lot of people in here are just being like,
what do you guys think about the Kane's chances moving forward?
This,
what happened in this series doesn't change anything.
Whatever,
whatever you thought about the Keynes,
in personal pronoun you,
not literally you, you should feel exactly the same, I think.
I guess you could have gone, no, you should feel exactly the same.
Like they did their job.
I like their path.
And I've always said that.
I like their path.
I think if I had had them in the East or excuse me, in the Atlantic,
I'd have them out much sooner than I do.
I really like their path.
But to me, dude, I just don't see, I still don't rate this team higher than whoever's
going to come out of that Atlantic side or teams in the West.
watching what they saw here.
Rod's got them dialed.
They look good.
They were scoring power play goals.
Playoff stank is here.
But I'm still like, yeah, okay.
You are what you have been to me still.
Yeah.
I feel that the narrative all the time with the Carolina hurricanes is shit talk.
It's no one's ever just being like, they're sick.
Yeah.
And you're doing that right now.
I'm not calling you out.
I understand why you're doing it.
And I feel like I,
I almost feel bad to say that I think it has changed because I think that whatever their chances were are worse if Anderson is hurt.
Oh, yeah. God, they need Freddie bad.
I mean, like, uh, Kachap's a good goaltender, but, you know, you see this game.
He gives up three right away.
He shuts the door a little bit after that, but that's not good.
That's not what you wanted to see for sure.
So, yeah, I think it's, I think it's almost a little scary, frankly, if, if you're the Keynes right now because you're like, fuck me.
I mean, you want to talk about how hobbled this devil's team is.
How much an effect does it actually make?
If it does make a huge effect with how many injuries they had and you just squeaked by in
double O T, you're fucking terrified.
Yeah, yeah.
So I think their chances are even worse.
I don't think that they should be the cup favorites.
I think that's reactionary from Vegas that they went up three one early.
They're the first team to move on to the second round.
But yeah, I think it's inaccurate, frankly.
and definitely inaccurate when you consider the fact that they're potentially without their starting
bullfender.
Dude, one thing I love, though, if you want to get into some Kane's spin zone is this, because
Chelyos was on the pod last week and said the same thing.
He was like, this Kane's team is exactly what they have been to me.
Like they don't have quite enough to get over that final, final two hums, whatever you want to call it.
But I think, and we brought this up on the Raleigh show we went on, if you want some
Cain's positive spin zone, it's that the narrative that you are the same, you're all,
you're always what you've always been, it has never been louder to your point.
Like every time the canes come up and people see that they're the cup favorites,
they go, the fucking can't can't get past the fucking Atlantic team.
They can't get past the West team.
And yeah, sure, maybe they've had a no one believes in us narrative for a while.
Certainly the Rangers were the hot team last year.
But I think the, the Kane's fake pseudo hate has never been stronger or louder than now.
And if you were going to rally around something in that locker room with the ranting and thing and all that shit, it's this team.
It's this team that goes, fuck you guys do.
Watch us, watch us cook.
Yeah.
So I'm still, I still don't have them that far, but I think they have the best chance to internalize that hatred and push it out on teams that they do this year.
Definitely.
I think the big thing with the canes, I don't know if you just saw Taylor Hall, just signed a new three-year deal with them.
So he's not going anywhere.
Obviously, Stank is playing well.
The way that they recovered from the rattan and disaster.
Should be studied.
have rallied around each other and are playing well so far that the first team to move on.
All signs are pointing towards positives for the Carolina hurricanes.
No doubt about it.
And I want to talk.
I saw in the chat.
Someone said,
how about that slaving goal from Game 4?
I think I said it on the pod the other day.
It was insane.
I mean,
the guy is,
he's awaited, dude.
He's the one.
I have said since four nations,
he's the best defenseman.
He's the best all around true defensemen in the NHL.
And that play,
knocking down a pass, one hand tapping it around a defender, and then shelving near side was
fucking disgusting.
Who do you think you are?
He is the alpha.
That's who he is.
Like he can do whatever he wants.
We'll see him in Valhau.
But you're buzzing in all the right ways, right?
Ajo was going.
Spetch is going.
Jarvie's going.
It's, this team is doing everything.
I think that's where I want to stop.
That's where I want to stop on this series.
Series is over, obviously.
The Carolina Hurricanes are doing everything they need to do.
Yeah, yeah.
They're doing everything that they need to do to be successful.
And they have done it.
They won and five just like we predicted.
And now we move on.
Is the next series, no matter who the opponent is going to be much different and very difficult?
Absolutely.
But they can at least say right now to all the haters to you, you douchebag.
I, no, no, no.
You're the biggest Keynes hater in the world.
I can't wait to play.
I'm going to get the clip of the Raleigh thing when he's.
like this. I'm here with Chris, who went to school in the triangle and was awesome and known
Cain's hater, Dan Bow. Yeah, but that was a bit. That was a bit. Um, I think they can look at all
their haters and go, what do you want? Like, what do you want us to do differently? Because we're
doing everything right. And I think that's a huge positive for them. And I would say, uh, well,
I guess on that, um, that's kind of why I said nothing has changed about my opinion.
Because if they had, if this had taken six or seven, I would feel worse, right? And if they had swept,
but not even about the suite,
but if they'd won like,
five nothing,
five one,
six nothing,
I'd be like,
I'd feel better.
So they,
they,
I expected them to come in
and win in five
and for some pretty close games
and they did.
And like,
nothing has changed.
And on the devils before we leave,
I just want to say to devil's fans,
um,
Markstrom is everything you have ever wanted.
Like,
yeah,
what a warrior,
you brought up the stick break.
I actually fucking love that so much.
Like he came through and smashed his stick,
nearly impaled several teammates,
held it back,
but stood on his fucking head.
Yeah. And in the absence of Jack, I thought Nico, I thought Nico showed a lot of guts.
Yeah, I agree with that. And I feel like that was super necessary.
Yes.
He's been a little subpar per what I would say devil's fans have wanted.
We got to move on to the next series, but I do, I appreciate that tire pump for Marksham because he deserves it.
Big time. What a series.
Moving on to the Sends Leafs. Here we have it. The Leafs are what?
it was one and 12, one in 13.
I think it was one and 12 in close out games in the playoffs.
Here they are at home, chance to finish the series, move on to the next round.
They don't even come close.
That's not true.
That's not true.
Don't even come close for nothing lost, but the big story here is Linus Olmark.
I said last pod, if you remember, going to pump my tires again, legacy game incoming for
Allmark.
I was like, this, if there is ever a time to show.
that you are not a choker in the playoffs,
that you can perform under the bright lights.
It's at Scotia Bank when your team is facing elimination,
and he played fucking lights out.
Dude, it's 1,000% correct, Dan.
I didn't think he had, I knew he had the ability in him.
I just didn't think he had that playoff performance in him right now.
Maybe next year, maybe next year you get your head right, whatever.
Right now, after not playing well in this series and not playing well in the playoffs
in your career, I just didn't think he was going to be able to pull that
game out of his ass and he did.
And he did it from fucking puck drop.
Because I'll transition that right into the first period.
How many times have you guys heard me say this on the live?
You need professional first periods on the road in the playoffs.
And the Leafs have been playing professionally this whole series just about.
They come out game five at home.
They want it bad and they're peppering the sends.
The shots were 12, 4, 12, 4 all over them.
And Olmark was a wall, dude.
A brick wall in the first period, completely.
completely set the tone. All you're doing as the Sends there is whether the first 10, whether the first 20 maybe, but certainly the first 10. And O'Mark was fucking unbelievable start to finish. He was fantastic. And I do want to say, too, that this wasn't a holy shit. This was just an onslaught from the Leafs nonstop. Nothing else. And O'Mars stole you a game because the Sends boys are playing very. Yes, they are. Brady getting a helper on that first goal. That's what you need from your captain, your best play.
but I do want to give a little bit of love to Sanderson.
This kid is showing every single bit of why he got that big contract.
So many people said when he signed it, that's an overpay by the Sands.
What the hell are they doing?
The way this kid has been so calm in the D zone,
and he's an offensive guy,
but the way he's handling the crazy big boys on Toronto,
and then the way he is breaking out the puck.
That is such a huge factor.
Yes, get into that in the King Series.
But you need in the playoffs with a heavy four-chance,
with talented offense on the other teams.
You need collected defensemen who can corral the puck and get you a good
breakup pass, not a little spoon out of the zone, not a cheap dump.
He is calm with the puck, getting good tape-to-tap passes on the breakout,
controlling the neutral zone incredibly well.
And that was a huge factor in this game.
Whenever there was a change of possession, transition play, the Sends stood up taller,
no doubt about it.
So Jake Sanderson has just been phenomenal in this series.
He's showing why he is definitely, you know, their guy, really when it comes to drive an offense from the blue line.
And this game was the first time for me that I've seen the Leafs rattled.
Okay.
I'm watching Austin Matthews seemingly gripping the stick way too tight.
A few times where I'm like, you've got to shoot the puck pal.
He's trying to force a pass through.
through sticks. It's not going. We saw that play with Marner. And this is,
this isn't shit talk, but we saw that play with Marner,
skates in front of the crease and he fucking just does one of the best
Olympic dives you've ever seen. And then he's looking at the,
no one's even near him. And he's looking for a trip on Olmark. Yeah.
I'm like, are you fucking high, buddy? What are you doing? So I think we are seeing.
And this is not shit talking the Leafs or their players because it happens.
It's happening in the King's Oilers series. Fear sets in. Yeah. For these
pros. It sets in. And here you are again. Now you're one and 13 in close out games. Now you're headed back to
Ottawa. Seems like they have all the momentum. And we've said the senators have nothing to lose in this
series. But they've found their game. It's three two now chance to force a game seven and no one in the
world wants a game seven in Toronto. And we're seeing fans burning jerseys are. Yeah. It's three to two.
Dude, dude, the chat is already two. The chat's already reverse sweep reverse sweep been coming.
I mean, yeah. And it's easy to say that. Right. It's easy to just be like, I called it. I knew it.
And if it happens, Jesus Christ.
But like Toronto, there's no reason to panic.
You won the Atlantic.
You are a great team.
You can just lock down and play your game.
But we get into that factor of,
are you off your game because of the nerves?
Because of the history.
I don't think you can ignore that, dude.
And there's a couple stats.
Some we pulled.
Some in the chat here.
Spencer, they're 0.30 on the power play during this 1 and 13 close-out game
stretch.
This one I found two.
Matthews, Marner.
Nealander have literally never scored a power play goal in five in games five through seven in
playoff series literally never and I'm like not good not a good stat not a good stat at all when you
get that oh actually let's talk about this on the way there the ridley gregg penalty in the third
period is maybe one of the most bonker things I've ever watched in a hockey game live from a guy
specifically who has been undisciplined and taking penalties yeah dude loses his stick and then
It was crazy.
I called him out on Twitter.
And I never like calling players out.
We're we're we're,
we're pussies.
We just,
we're a players podcast.
But he's been a little all over the place all series.
It's almost like the emotions are too high.
And that play happened,
Chris,
and he lost his stick and was like twisting and turning around and was like,
what the fuck is going on?
And then he just tackled Martin.
Like literally just tackled in.
And then the camera cuts to the Ottawa bench.
And guys on his team were straight up going,
what are you doing, bro?
Like they were shaking their head in disbelief.
Legitly, that is not an exaggeration.
Actual teammates were shaking their head like,
this cannot be happening.
And when he lost his stick,
I saw him go to get it.
And then I saw him look at Marner.
And I was like, actually smart play.
Go just go put a body on him just so you can slow up to play.
And then he just formed tackle.
Like every ref in the rink.
The whole, everyone on the ice.
What are you doing?
This is a one goal game.
And if you lose, you're fucking eliminated.
the third period.
So they go short here and I'm like,
oh,
you're fucked, dude.
This is insane.
And I feel bad for him,
honestly,
in that moment.
I was like,
this is a nightmare.
And then,
dude,
absolute pizza for Matthews.
Just horrendous.
Awful turnover.
And then bang,
two on one.
And I think it was maybe Willie
who didn't come,
someone didn't come back that hard,
whatever.
Like, Cousins breaks away from it.
It's been the back of your net.
And you're like,
you've got to be fucking kidding.
Clutch goal from cousins.
And that was game.
And everyone knew it,
too.
It's like there's tons of time left,
but everyone knew it.
And we're now in this place where do you feel, you know, I said a second ago,
the Sends have nothing to lose.
Correct.
Do you wonder if there's a little bit of pressure on them now because that was an emphatic
win, right?
That was, that was game one for Toronto where they, they won six to look like tons of
inexperience was on the ice for Ottawa.
But now you're playing like this team that got a playoff spot in the second half of the
season.
You've got Toronto on the ropes.
all that fear and history is set in.
Do you almost feel like this is like,
Ottawa, this is your game to lose?
Like you have to win game six at all.
Yes.
Yes.
Because, and I'll piggyback one more on the run you just were on.
This is the team that earned the playoffs.
This is the team that was three and O against the Leafs in the regular season.
You have that confidence again.
Like we can beat this Toronto team.
You're going to have the home crowd behind you.
And you just think to yourself if we get to game seven,
like our job is our job.
is done here, they're going to be reeling in all this show. I do want to bring up this one fact to you.
Remember last year when the Oilers came back and they made it to Game 7? Yeah. We all, the whole
hockey world looked up. How many times does this happen? How many times does the team got in the
first three of the reverse sweep? And it's more than you think. It was actually like 15 times
but like 14 of those times, the original team just wins game seven. Yeah. Which is what happened
in the cup finals. So I think normally if you're a Toronto fan, you're going, Christ, well, if even if we
horrifically lose game six in Ottawa.
We get to come back home and we're the better team for game seven.
But dude, because you're the Leafs and because of the history,
I think that positive stat goes out the door for you because you're like,
I cannot imagine.
Those guys won't sleep that night, dude.
They literally will not sleep the night before game seven.
Jalet just said in the chat sends 27, 11 and 3 at home this season.
That's what you want.
You've got a good home record.
You like playing at home.
Dude, obviously you got that huge play.
playoff or, excuse me, overtime win in game four at home.
This is where you want to be with this, with this opportunity,
not to close up, but to force it to game seven.
Because if I think in this series, if you force a game seven,
it doesn't matter what ice you're on because the nerves are just going to be
through the fucking stress.
For everybody, by the way, yep.
But no, I disagree.
Because they'll be nervous.
The sentence will be nervous.
It's game seven.
I disagree completely.
They won't be nervous.
There will be nerves.
They'll be, you know, energy.
But what are you fucking nervous about?
Yep.
Like you took the lease to game seven after being down 3-0 and then you lose.
Like no one's upset.
I mean, you're upset because you're like, fuck, that would have been sick.
But you're not like, damn, this just set our team back.
Yeah, yeah.
What are you talking about?
They're not nervous at all.
I'd be frothing at the mouth.
I would have the fucking hardest cock in the absolute fucking province going into that game,
knowing that you could possibly destroy a franchise.
Like there's no nerves.
But I do think game six, you're definitely entering the territory of like,
this is the one game this series where I'm like,
you got to win.
Like this is,
you have a chance.
Yeah, yeah,
that's what I'm saying.
You have a chance to do something unbelievable.
Because everybody's saying that,
including us.
We're like,
oh,
everybody's kind of already at game seven.
Do you know what I'm saying?
We're all like,
oh, Ottawa took it back home.
They've done it now.
And Game seven is going to be fucking insane.
And that's a mistake.
That's a mistake from Ottawa.
Yeah.
Toronto, if they're already mentally in game seven,
I'm like, I don't blame you, dude.
Yeah, like figure out how to go back home and take care of business.
But Ottawa,
you cannot look past this.
game just thinking you're going to get to game seven like you got to lock in and play the hardest
game you because you lost at home already yeah you know what i mean so it's like i think it was an o t game
so it's close obviously and this is not this is not a joke i think o'm mark needs to keep playing well
but i do there's a bit of me that's like omarck did his job omarck did his job getting this game and this
one i'm like you in terms of 12 four shots in the first period in favor of tronto this game
needs to be 15 to two shots ottawa like your boys your your your four timstow
Let's love. Where are you?
Yep.
Bathman had a few tap-in opportunities.
They didn't go.
He's got to be hungry for some.
You need your talented forwards to be like,
Oli, we got you on this one.
We're going to build elite early in the first period
and make them fucking sweat.
That needs to be the mentality in this.
He definitely gave you your steal that you needed.
Yeah.
So I'm not asking him to do that again,
even though it would be nice, would be nice if you're Ottawa.
But he can't play poorly either.
Like, I don't think they can survive.
a poor old mark showing where they're like don't worry bro we'll just outscore the leafs five four we're
good we got you yeah i don't think that's allowed anymore either at this stage like i'm talking two goals
three maybe but like even that is sketchy to me so if you're old mark you've got to stay pretty
locked in where are you on the leafs there's a lot of chat in the in the uh comments in the chat
about how the leaf should feel someone even said like the cup run is off now that you're not
you're doing this poorly in the first round does this change does this mini melt yeah
change how we've all been talking about the Leafs this whole playoff so far?
No, I mean, to me, would it have been great to sweep?
Yes, because I feel like that would have silenced so many haters.
But people forget, dude, like the Bruins, when they won the Cup, they went down 02 to Montreal in the first round, like one of their big boogeymen.
And you figure it out.
Sometimes you need adversity like this where it makes people go, Jesus Christ, are we the same choke as we've always been?
And then you figure it out and you get through it.
So no, I don't think Toronto fans should be totally pan.
I think you should be nervous because you're a Toronto fan, and here we are again.
But also, don't be those Toronto fans that are burning fucking jerseys.
Are you like, what are you, you're leading the series and you're burning Mitch Marner jerseys in the streets.
Calm down.
So I don't think it changes any of the confidence that you had, but you are obviously now
pissing your pants a little bit.
And that's okay.
Dude, dude, peeing your pants is the coolest.
Yeah.
It's fine.
This came up during Four Nations for us, but a lot of people saying, like,
Like, if this goes seven, this is Jack, if this goes seven, I seriously don't want Matthews wearing the sea.
Give the C back to DeVar as he's taking all the hits, blocking shots doing everything.
Jesus Christ, guys.
It kills me, dude.
It kills me as a Johnny Toadrags lover.
Yeah.
It kills me the amount of hate that Least Nation was giving tow drags the last couple years to then he gets to the point that he gets stripped of the captaincy of his hometown team.
And then now we love him, dude.
Now he's the leader in the room.
Now he's out there making sacrifices, which he's always been doing.
dude like holy fuck you don't deserve him like Toronto the city the fans I love you you don't
deserve this guy like you can't you can't have it both way he's the man so of course he's blocking
shots of course he's taking hits you know it actually was a bad look though and not that it was his
fault it was actually Matthew's fault but uh right before the power play after the ridley gregg
tackle job yeah it cut to Tavares on the bench because they're down one dude third period power play
at home close the series cuts to devars on the bench no audio obviously but I'm looking at him
and he's looking up and down with the guys on the paper.
And he goes, come on, boys, right now.
Like, you just read his lips so easily.
And I was like, this is the moment.
And then they go immediate shorty.
Oh, that was like, ah, damn.
Deva.
Yeah, I hate to see it.
Deva, you hate to see it.
Moving on to the biggest melt job of the Stanley Cup playoffs so far.
We've got Kings Oilers.
Kings Oilers, we have a change in the lead in the series.
King started up two.
games to none and the Edmonton
Oilers have won three straight games
and they beat the dominant
at home, L.A. Kings
with a shit-stopping in my opinion.
A shit stomping.
And holy shit. Before we get into
anything Kings related,
this was a
dominant performance by the Oilers.
I mean, just, just
the most stick taps
you could possibly give to the
Edmonton Oilers team coming
out and doing what they did 19 shots in the first period because there's something to something to
be said you know both games despite that that leaky two minutes where it got to five to five in game
one the kings beat the wheels off the oilers in games one and two they know what was going to be
happening in l.A they know what has happened in the past and they came out and said fuck it don't care
19 shots kempers been good they were like pepper yeah such an incredible performance from the oilers
again i couldn't agree with you more oh and two in the regular season there oh and two in the playoffs
there. You're like, and the King's home wreck, right? You know, you're walking into a barn where
this team barely loses and you haven't beat them in four tries. And then regardless of the final
result, dude, the first period they engineered. We weren't at the game. I had people texting me like
the, the life, the air has been sucked out of crypto. Dude, crypto went bankrupt. All your
Bitcoin gone. Bitcoin in the toy in the toilet. In the absolute shitter. So that was that, do you want
to talk professional first playoff periods? Holy fuck. Yeah. Oilers were there.
to rock right from the beginning.
And dude, it's unacceptable, man.
It's unacceptable because if you're the Kings and you have your home record and you've lost
the last two games the way you did, I'm not even saying you need to be winning after one.
I'm not even saying you obviously want to win that game.
I'm not even saying you have to win that game.
What I am saying is you cannot come out and get steam rolled in the first period like that.
Steam rolled to the highest degree.
And it's funny because there wasn't even an oiler's goal in that first period.
But you just knew that the.
energy was different. And ultimately, this is where I think you have to give it up to the Oilers.
They are, in my opinion, and I think most educated hockey people's opinion, on paper,
they are not as good as this King's team. They're not as deep, certainly.
Kings have the advantage in net. But the fact of the matter is this, the Oilers don't give a fuck.
They don't give a fuck about narratives. They don't give a fuck about momentum. They
them out and they put their fucking chips on the table every single game and go, say whatever you
want, we're going to bust our ass and we're going to play hard. And they did that in this game
much, much better than the Kings. And if you're a fucking Darcy Kemper dude and you have the
performance that you have in game five or excuse me, four, and the Kings can't get that win for you.
And then you come into this game and you're like, hey, boys, we're back at home. Can you fucking
help me out here.
Yep.
And then you put up four shots in the first period.
If I were Kemper,
I'd be losing my fucking mind at this team.
And end of the day, dude,
you have a game here.
You don't have the big boys doing it.
You don't have Connor scoring.
You don't have Leon scoring.
And they still get the win.
You get a big cane goal in response to the power play goal for the Kings,
which was big.
Kings get a power play and they score.
That was crippling for you in game four going 0 for 3 on the power play.
And that they just don't,
care. They come right back and score. They're all over them. Shitstorm in front of the net. Puck's
all over the place. After the penalty expires, puck gets on cane stick and he buries it. And then you get
the Yanmark goal. And it's just like, dude, they are all fucking over this team, not giving a shit what's
going on. And that dude is why this team, I know it's a much different roster to an extent, but that's
why this team came back being down 03
in the Stanley Cup final against Florida.
Yeah. They don't fucking care.
They just battle tooth and nail.
This is all they have. And they're like,
we're never going to fucking die. We will
never roll over and die.
So if and when, this is over
in six or over in seven,
but I think all momentum and
all logic points towards the Oilers
are winning this series. It's going to take
a miracle, complete turnaround
performance from the Kings to take this
to seven and then got, you know, not
let alone win. But dude, the lesson that teams need to hear is when this Oilers team looks like
they're dead, they are so alive. They are very much alive. Again, I will say. And it's so
fucking impressive. It's so, it's so awesome. Okay, Dan, this one, someone in the chat, William,
I want to address because he's had multiple comments because it's leading into something
we wanted to talk about. Yeah. But actually now, William, I feel like you just flip-flop so hard.
So I'm going to try to read these in order.
William says that is wild to say that the kings have better depth.
And I was about to be like, are you insane?
And then he said, who are the depth pieces you're talking about?
I'm about to tell you.
Then he says, LA is playing 13 players.
That's why they're losing.
Excellent point.
That is what we want to talk about.
Which we're about to get into.
We haven't talked about the things at all.
But then he said, William said, King's depth is their top nine.
Kings don't have anything other than depth.
And I'm like, wait, what?
Yeah.
So William, you're out of control.
I don't know what you're out of control.
I don't know what you're saying.
But William, a third line of Vogel, Phil Donno.
and Trevor Moore is why we say the Kings have depth.
It's better than the Euler's second line of Kane,
a underperforming R&H and underperforming Zach Hyder.
So the Kings do have depth,
but you bring up an excellent question as to why are they only rolling?
It appears three lines and two sets of D at times.
Dude, this is like,
I don't want to turn this into a Jim Hiller trash talk session,
but I don't think we would be doing our job if we,
We don't call out the fact that there have been, in my opinion, since game three, really insane and poor coaching decisions from Hiller.
I don't know what is going on with the Kings.
I don't know what is going on with the coaching staff.
But we have seen now, you play two games at home.
You win emphatically in game two.
Frankly, you win emphatically in Game one, say for that stupid hiccup.
Game three, you come into Edmonton and you totally change up the roster.
You put Trevor Lewis back into the lineup.
You make some decisions.
Jordan Spence gets scratched in a game.
And you're just,
Kings fans pre-puck drop are going,
what is going on here?
Yeah.
And then you lose.
And you lose.
And you lose.
And a very consistent issue in games three,
four, and five have been the complete unwillingness
to roll four lines.
And I think that you saw it halfway through game four,
the King's top nine,
particularly top six.
is absolutely gassed.
And a lot of people are being like, well, dude, the oilers are only rolling two lines.
I don't think that's entirely true.
But ultimately, dude, when you have Connor McDavid and Leon Drysodle, you can.
That is your luxury.
And I'm here to tell you that the reason you did well in games one and two is because the
kings were playing all four lines.
And they were playing short shifts, grinding people down, keeping it quick, making sure
you don't get exhausted and keeping constant fresh pressure on the stars on this team.
now you're not doing that.
You look tired.
All of a sudden,
your scoring looks like it's drying up.
I wonder fucking why.
Yep.
I wonder fucking why.
Dude, it's so hard to sit to,
it's sorry,
it's easy to say this.
It's hard to execute.
It's an NHL game and there are great players
on both sides of the ice.
But you need to dictate the play
if you're this Kings team
and it needs to be going forward.
The reason they're not getting any shots,
especially in the first period,
before they're tired, right?
Is because they don't have the fucking puck.
Like literally,
they are getting it rammed down their throat at all time.
And then you try to start building on the rush and then you lose it and you turn it over.
And it's these lazy breakouts, dude.
How much were we talking about that last night?
It's lazy breakouts.
It's lazy puck control.
Sometimes it's like, dude, get it out of the zone.
Get the line.
Get it behind them.
Their defense that we don't feel is too impressive collecting pucks in the corner and immediately
transitioning out.
Get it behind them, bang bodies and dictate the play in that direction, which by the way is way
easier to do when you have the home crowd behind you, which you've now blown.
So you are walking into an absolutely terrible.
atmosphere in Edmonton with rabid fans who, dude, are so ready to fucking drink your tears
and dance on your grave.
Oh, my God.
Dude, after all the shit talk of the curses being broken, we're up to, we're going to
fucking sweep the oilers.
If the oilers come back and win four straight and win in six again, like those fans, I mean,
you, oh, it's, it's dad, this is daddy talk.
Like, it's, it's daddy talk and, and like, nothing will change that, frankly, dude.
I want to shout out Declan in the chat.
said only two oilers last night with under 10 minutes.
It was Arvinson and put goals in.
Great pull.
That's a great pull.
But that's,
and that's a great pull.
And it's just a great point at like they're playing all their guys.
That's why they're beating the shit out of you.
And dude, it's just,
it's one of these things where it's like,
yes,
the oilers are your daddy now,
like big time.
And you wonder how much does this change the team?
Like this isn't a last year when they lost.
You lost to a better team.
Yes, agree.
We talked,
the reason I picked the Kings in seven.
And I said,
I was like probably every team's going to win it on home ice.
And if the Kings lose on home ice,
you're dead.
You're dead.
Here we are.
So again,
that wasn't me doubting the Oilers.
It was me.
I'm like,
that's the other thing is like,
I stand by everything I've said.
I don't think anything about this series has showed that like,
the Oilers are way better than we thought.
They're playing Pickard in that.
And Pickard's playing great.
But like, what did we say?
Like, I don't know if you can trust Skinner.
You literally can't.
Yeah.
You're now starting picker for the rest of playoffs, folks, just so you know.
And it's like the Kings have lost this series.
They have lost for themselves.
That's not taking anything away from the oil.
Like you said, at the top of this segment, they played so well in that game.
And the fact that they're getting support from guys like Yanmark and guys like Kane,
a healthy cane has been a game changer, no doubt about it.
But this is the type of loss that changes your franchise.
This is the type of loss that gets your coach fired.
your GM fired, it gets a lot of key players trading because you've now lost in the first round
to the same team for four fucking years in a row.
And in this year, you have zero excuses for this loss.
This changes things in a lot of ways.
And dude, a team and say what you want about the playoff format, but it's not going anywhere.
And neither is the players, the core of that team that you are running up.
Exactly.
You know what I'm saying?
It's not like, oh, it's not like reversed, by the way.
Let's say this Kings team had been consistently beating the oil.
If you're an always fan, you're still pissed.
You're still embarrassed, but you kind of go, well, you know, Dewey and Cope,
we probably leave soon and then maybe we'll be okay.
Maybe we'll get over the hump because of that.
This is the reverse, too.
Like, you are going up against a team with megastars who are signing extensions
and going to stay there forever to ruin your life forever.
So you need to figure out a way to be better than them.
And I was coming into the game being like, or into the series being like,
it was always goaltending.
That was the problem.
Yep.
They had a goalie that I don't believe in in the playoffs.
and he rammed it down my face last year.
And he took them to a game seven,
and that was fucking awesome.
Because he's a great dude.
But the Kings didn't have an answer to that.
This year they bring in Kemper,
who is a fucking Vezna finalist.
Thank you very much.
And is playing,
I know a lot of goals we have.
He's making monster saves.
How many fucking times,
Dan,
last night,
did an oiler player get nude,
nude deteen in front of the net?
For an immediate passout,
slam one far post,
and Kemper's flashing legs out at it all night.
He's doing everything you need him
to do. You have the advantage. They are on their backup goalie, and you have your Vesna goalie playing
great. You can't lose those games, dude. It's that simple. Yeah, you simply cannot. I mean,
we saw over halfway through the third period, over halfway through the third, the Oilers finally
matched the shot total of the Oilers in the first period. Dude, the Kings matched.
Sorry, the Kings finally matched the Oilers shot total in the first period.
And that right there is a, you know, to have the defense of the coaches here and there,
ultimately it does come down to the players on the ice sometimes.
And I think the boys in that locker room would be one of the first to admit,
yeah, they did not get it done last night.
And something that was interesting going into that game was the question of,
are these guys going to come out in this game nervous or are they kind of come out pissed?
Because that was a big question.
Those two games in Edmonton, if you're a Kings player, if you're a Kings fan,
you're like, what the fuck happened, dude?
What the fuck happened?
And there's definitely a world where that game five could have happened.
And you could have gone, dude, fuck what just happened.
We are better.
We've been assholes.
There have been some bad coaching decisions.
We're going to get back to our game and we're going to beat the wheels off this team.
I know that there's a lot of people in that organization who felt that way.
Yeah.
So then to come out like that, terrifying.
It's terrifying because now Oilers are in the driver's seat in the biggest way possible, as they deserve.
Because like I said, for the last three games, the Oilers have fucking slap everyone in the mouth.
They have said, we don't give a shit what people are saying.
And they come out and they busted their ass.
So the Kings have to completely flip every single narrative that's going on right now in Rogers Place, which they have not one, dude.
And it's, yeah.
And it's brutal because you were talking about Sends not really.
feeling, um, feeling the pressure if it goes to seven, which I don't totally agree, but I see your
point. The oilers, unfortunately, if you're a Kings fan, can lose game six and still not be
that nervous. You know, like, they're like, we go back to LA and beat them, whatever. And the
kings are tasked with going into Rogers, a place they haven't won yet in this playoffs with the
weight of the fucking world on their shoulders. And that sucks. Um, I want to address this, Dan.
Jeremy in the chat has said this a couple times.
He says,
well,
he directed it to me,
but Chris,
we need to talk about C
having zero playoff series wins
since taking the C.
Listen,
that's a bad stat.
Yeah,
I don't think I knew that.
But Copie is,
is to even still,
such a massively underrated player,
and he's never been super fast.
And I think this matchup is hard
when it's such a fast team
that he's going against,
especially down the middle.
Like some of these guys, dry settles just as big as strong as him.
Conner's the fastest dude in the league.
But Copey is a rock for this team in a way that it's even hard to put into words.
Like what he does stirring the drink for this team is unbelievable.
There have been much bigger issues in L.A., in my opinion, than the play of Archiecopatar and his captaincy.
That is not getting them out of the first round.
Yeah, I agree.
It's one of those tough things where it's like I know how much, we all know,
much people respect Copey around the league on that team.
There's no issue of leadership on this team.
That's just one of those really shit facts.
It's like, well, that is a fact and this sucks.
But I don't think it's a problem as far as the team.
But I will say this dude, you know, for a older guy, it's tough to ask this.
But knowing the Hall of Fame caliber player that he is, you do want a big game.
little more yeah like i i need more from copi if if you're a king's fan and if you're in that locker
i mean he's he was for such a long stretch of the season before juice really started popping off
who is a future superstar for the record people ask like as their star power on the kings it's
adrian kempi yeah and that is just a fact but he was one of your best players all season long and
i know it's a long season i know we're in the postseason now but like i might be here here
to call it right now as we move on from this series if they want to extend this to game
seven, Copey has to have a big game.
Dude, yeah, I'm okay with that.
And Dan, Picard, Picard, Pickard, Pickard, it's Pickard.
Pickard. Pickard.
Pickard, he comes in the playoffs last year.
I'm not going to count that one because six, uh, 16 minutes.
He plays two games, two full games against Vancouver, 9.05, 914.
And the 914 was a loss, but played okay.
Comes in this year, first full game, 8, 5, 7, in a win, but, you know, gets kind of lit up.
And then the next two games, 927, 9-9-5-5.
last night. We've seen in the past backup goalies come into playoff series and just get super
hot and completely turn things around for the team. This is not unprecedented. Sometimes it's
just someone else seeing the puck better. So I'm not saying the Kings, this is a travesty,
but if you chase Skinner and get pickered, you have to win. I was trying to hold that so hard.
You have to win the series. And that's no disrespect to anybody, but this one's going to hurt.
Yeah, I do want to just say,
um,
credit to me for dealing with the fact that this dumb piece of shit got himself sick and now I have to stand next to him and he's going to get me sick.
Oh, yeah.
We're going to,
I'm actually going to switch.
Thanks a lot, dude.
Thanks a lot.
Um, moving on to the last series of last night,
Wild Nights.
What in the actual frick is going on?
Check on your Minnesota wild fans.
Dude.
Because I can't believe what is going on.
Okay.
I want to say a couple things to start the game.
And then I just want to get to like the meat of this.
To start the game,
Jack Eichel looked reborn to the point that I feel like a lot of people
have speculating,
including us that he might be hurt.
And I don't know what injury can be hindering you that badly and then just be gone
the next day.
Maybe he was sick,
talking about sick.
Maybe he was literally sick and then just woke up one day and was like,
I actually feel way better.
Yeah.
But he does the Nate Gallup thing, you know,
and he's got the fucking ass.
and the stride and he he was he was moving last night like I was like oh it was like I
hadn't seen him in a month I was like oh there's Jack that's crazy he's the best
skater in the NHL in my opinion which is insane when Connor McDavid exists but
Connor is just he's a mutant he's just one so fast yeah yeah yeah and like Jack is
poetry when he's gets three strides and he's behind it's like he's behind one net
and he's behind the other net I'm like that's not he'll be possible um so that if
you're a Vegas fan you're like oh okay Jack looks great has a great assist on the
Shorty and then the wild tie it on a krill goal.
And I do want to say this about krill, dude.
That dude, and this is going to sound like a chirp, but it's a compliment.
Yeah.
That dude has entered the pasta realm for me where he literally just shoots every,
anything he shoots just goes in.
Yeah.
Because it's either perfectly placed or it just like hits, goes through the goalie or
it doesn't matter.
Every time there's a back, a weak side pass one T from krill, I'm like this.
This will go in no matter what.
And then it does.
It just goes in every time.
And it's a credit to the goal scoring ability he has.
Yeah.
So he ties it up.
But dude, I would say through two periods, that Vegas team, and I put a clown nose on, dude, to Minnesota.
I could not apologize enough.
Minnesota has been amazing.
And I'm so happy for the city and the team.
But that first two periods felt to me more like the matchup I expected, or even though it was a close game, I was like Vegas is, Vegas is a step above you.
They're just better than you.
And they're going to win.
Yeah.
Then, dude, the most bizarre world third period I maybe have ever watched in hockey history.
I'm not exaggerating, dude.
To start things off, Gus comes out of the fucking intermission and goes like this, I'm ill.
I'm actually not well.
Flowers going in.
Dude.
You have to be literally shitting your pants to come out of that game.
And I'm not, we've talked about this before.
Diarrhea is a very real thing.
Kills people, kills people all the time.
It's one of the great killers in the world.
But you better have had explosive diarrhea.
I'm trying to see if anything's anything online yet about what was going on.
But dude, because Gus was playing great.
Yeah.
And he's been great.
He's been great all series.
And he isn't, he's not feeling quite well, dude.
No.
So he needs to leave and a flower comes in.
And now, Dan, I'm in a fucking pretzel of emotions because flowers retiring whenever they lose.
Okay.
And his career has been absolutely incredible.
And him coming in in a relief performance and going on a run in the playoffs
would be so magical.
I don't even know how to think, dude.
It would be a Disney movie before the playoffs was over.
So him coming in, I was like, dude, I need this for him.
Like I can't have him play horribly.
I know.
Right.
Dude.
So the fucking period starts.
And the wild get one early.
in like the first two minutes.
I'm like, all right, here we go.
Jesus Christ, I thought Vegas was playing better.
Then Vegas doesn't shoot for 12 minutes.
They literally didn't shoot the puck.
With a fucking cold goalie who's 85 years old and hasn't played in a month.
They didn't shoot the puck.
Dude, what?
We talk about like, oh my God, Otto only had four shots in the first.
Vegas didn't shoot in a period in a game five at home that you have to win with a goalie who hasn't played in forever.
You didn't shoot the puck.
I was losing my mind.
and then lost in the madness of Vegas not shooting
is that the wild took their last shot
with like 17 minutes left in the third
and didn't shoot again for the rest of the fucking game.
Dude, the shots in the third period
were five to three in favor of Minnesota.
What is happening?
Dude, like what is going on
in a playoff hockey game in the third period
where you have both teams
who have five or less shots?
Like, what the fuck is going?
Like, we're just living in the neutral zone.
Whizzing Pucks past the net, dude.
Like, we have to have this.
So, dude, then, bro, I want to go right to the Hartman goal.
So in that flurry before the goal, you are, Vegas is all over them because they start shooting finally.
Like literally with eight minutes left, they start shooting.
And they're like, okay, here we go.
And now it's a fucking shooting gallery.
It is literally like shot, save, rebound, kick to the point, hammer one T, hammer one T,
backdoor, save, rebound, scrub.
And I'm like, oh my God, this is an obvious goal.
Yeah.
Then the puck kicks out to the wild.
And Hartman's got it.
I forget who that was.
It was maybe Barbie.
But like someone, a kind of, I know these guys are gas,
but another kind of lazy back check where I'm like,
take the extra stride.
He's trying to like pitch fork them, you know?
Yeah, yeah.
And dude, Hartman takes it hard to the net.
No one slides over, a lot of pointing.
You know, when you see the two on two is everyone's,
and I'm like, take the guy.
Yeah, someone will get him.
So he goes hard to the net.
Yeah.
No, no.
He goes hard to the net, drives it in.
And then it just goes in, right?
Like a lot of chaos happens.
It goes in the net.
Immediately Hill's doing this.
No one can see me.
I can't panair in myself.
You can't?
My jeans are too tight.
Immediately is doing the kicking motion.
And usually the goalie knows.
Usually when the goalie's jumping up, waving, I'm like, something happened.
You think so?
I think it's like 50.
Sometimes goalies are losing their mind.
And I'm like, that was just a cool thing.
So we watched it a couple times.
And I actually think, I don't remember where you landed.
But I went, that was a kick.
Oh, that's actually not a kick.
Oh, that was a kick.
That's not a kick.
And then on the last replay they showed it.
I was like, oh, that actually is a kick.
Yeah, they got me on the last.
I was like, I don't think that's a kick.
Like to me, it was like, you know, he's just moving his body and it hits.
And I do want to shout out Jake in the chat.
He said, I really don't like the fact that the last goal gets reviewed for a kick in.
Then they also get a challenge for off sides.
So we'll discuss that, Jake.
But to me, it's like you're moving your body.
You're trying to get in front of the net.
A puck comes up and you're adjusting and it goes off his knee or whatever and goes in.
I was like, I don't think that was a kicking motion.
But then the straight on Hartman angle, it really does look like he sees.
He's at, and he's like, oh. And to be clear, I don't think, I don't know what you think. I don't think
he is intending to go, I'm going to need this into the net. I think he's just trying to go,
there's the puck, like get it up to something. And then it just goes in. Yeah. And I think we need to
be a little stricter on that in the NHL. Me too. I really do. Like to me, like, to me, like,
I don't even like the stop thing when people are like just, I'm just stopping and it go like,
clearly banks it off your skating. And I'm like, yeah, you don't think he did that on
purpose. To me, I do think we need to get to a place where we're like, dude, if you move your, if you see a puck,
even if it's just a natural reaction and you move your body in the direction of that puck
and it hits your body and goes in the net, that can't be a goal.
Because maybe someone can look this up in the chat because Dan said this to me last night
and I don't know if he's right.
What can the puck go in off of?
Is it literally nothing?
It can go in off anything as long as there's not a motion.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Obviously we've seen someone head it and like, I know you can't like arm it into the goal.
But if you like, if you just like hip, bump, hip, hip, bump, hip, bump, hip, hip, bump, hip, bump,
No goal.
You did that.
It went in.
No goal.
That would be no goal.
I think that's interesting to me.
We always hear kicking motion.
What about a hip thrust motion?
Yeah.
What if you would have to?
What if you just humped that in?
I think the ref would have to go.
No goal.
The player humped it into the net.
Yeah.
Say that out loud, Wes.
I want to hear it.
So yeah, that is rattling to me.
But assuming you are right about that and that is true, then I think there's a little, there's a little
leg there.
There's a little leg motion.
I'm actually surprised they didn't overturn that in real time.
I want to point out that the chat right now is
going crazy the fact that you're slowly dying on this room like you're just getting sick i'm battling
like i fucking haven't slept in two weeks dude like it's fantastic um i do want to talk as i was it jake
um who yeah jake and in the chat jake it is tough when something like that happens where it's
like oh we got to check this out to see if that was a kicking motion and then the coaches get to be
like this oh actually that was off sides i i don't think the off the off the off of the
offside call was because of the kicking motion.
There are people on that bench in the organization up in the press box whose job it is to be
keeping track of that.
So I think that that was being that they were keeping tabs on that regardless.
But I do want to say this.
There were a lot of people, Dr. Locks did he was just in here a second ago.
He was watching that game, saw the wild scored and then he fucking left.
Yeah, yeah.
Turn the game off.
He was like, oh, that's it.
Wild win.
And then next thing you know, it's overtime.
It sucks when it looks like you got to go.
goal and it gets called back, but I do think that we can just say this.
It was offside.
Yep.
It was offside.
I hate the offside challenge.
It's such a bummer.
We always talk about there's offside on every play.
But at the same time, if I were a fan of a team and they lost a game when there was a clear
offside, I'd be pissed.
Yes.
So that's one of those ones that's like, yeah, it's a little sketchy that there was,
there was a review and then another review.
But I'm here to tell you that even if there wasn't a kicking motion on there,
I'm sure there was someone on the Vegas coaching staff that was looking at that.
That already knew.
He was going to challenge it regardless.
Because actually, if you watch Cassidy's reaction, he was kind of being like,
he wasn't freaking out in a way that I thought he was going to be because I'm like,
wow, what a nightmare loss.
And because, dude, that was so against the run of play.
You can see Hartman Selly where he's like, he's doing the, he's doing the dance because
he's like, we haven't shot the puck in 18 minutes.
And I'm going to steal this game right now that I kicked in potentially.
Also want to go back to this.
I got to find it.
Tyler found this flower quote.
I knew Gus wasn't feeling great before the game.
He battled through the first two people.
periods. I talked when he came off after the second. He said that was it.
So at least it was like a little heads up that he was like, I'm not feeling not well.
The, uh, yeah, Cassidy feels like he knew. I'm so spot on with you on the offside.
But what a, I feel extreme sympathy for the wild players and fans because holy fuck.
Oh, man. And you know, we've talked about it. The wild just, they don't have the best record in
games five and six. And, and here you are. This is, this is one that you don't love.
But you're going back to the X and that's huge.
So as we close out here, CP, I can't believe with how this series felt like it was going after three games.
I can't believe we're here with Vegas with a three-two lead.
I think that I picked Vegas to win this game because I think they'll be better at home,
which they were until, dude, again, the third period.
That's the craziest, weirdest third period I have ever watched in a hockey game.
I was riveted.
I was literally trying to go back to the Keynes overtime because I was more excited.
Or I was like, I want to see the overtime goal.
But I was like, I literally can't pull my eyes away from this Vegas wild third period.
I think Vegas feels good being up.
I think Minnesota showed the same fight that they've been showing, though.
I agree.
I'm not sweating at all if I'm Minnesota.
So as we close out here, we're hitting our hour mark.
We've got Cains have moved on.
Yep.
We made our picks pre-playoffs, but sends Leifes, Kings Oilers, Wild Knights.
We've got a game six coming up for all of them.
what do you got in the next game and then in the series?
In these series?
Yeah.
I think I actually,
I actually think Ottawa wins game six,
which I cannot believe I'm saying.
But maybe I even had Leafs in seven.
I certainly didn't think it was going to go this way.
But I can't believe that could go seven.
And I think you're going to get a much better game from Toronto than most people think.
Yeah.
Because they know they can't go seven.
But I think Ottawa pushes it to the bridge.
Yeah, I think Ottawa gets this game, and I do think Leafs are going to take care of it in seven.
But I think Ottawa wins game six.
All right, Kings Oilers headed back to Rogers.
Oh, my God, dude.
I'm picking the Kings, and I'm an idiot, and I'm a sucker.
And I barely have much more analysis than that because that's going to be a very, very, very hard win.
But I just think they're embarrassed.
I think they're embarrassed after last night.
Yeah, I love that.
I picked Kings in seven at the beginning of the series.
stand by every bit of analysis I gave and I'm here to say that I think I was right.
But this is not Oilers fans don't come to kill me.
I'm not I'm not flip-flopping here.
I just reading the tea leaves.
I think the Oilers finish this out.
I think they went in six just based on the way that these Oilers boys are playing the way
that they have responded and shown so much grit.
I don't see them losing on home ice.
Hey, I hate to say it, but.
Okay, and then what's the next one?
Vegas.
Vegas Wilde.
I actually, I think that's going seven to.
Me too.
Yeah, massive credit to the Wild.
I hope Gus is okay.
Whatever he's dealing with.
I hope he can play.
But I mean, what a backup and flower if that's what we're used to.
God, I know.
Before we go, Mac says, before you guys go, can touch on the Habs for tonight.
Mac, first of all, listen to the pod tomorrow and you'll get actual analysis.
But tonight, prediction, you think it's over?
I do.
I do think it's over.
I think people are healthy enough on Washington.
Yeah, I, I, I just think it's, this one is there.
So, you know, they're, they're at home.
I think probably correct.
Is Montego playing?
No one knows.
I don't know.
And I don't think so.
Okay.
Yeah.
I think, I think it'll, I think it goes caps.
But, but, but Montreal, amazing, amazing performance, amazing run.
Even if you lose, you got nothing to be sad about.
Been phenomenal.
All right.
That is it for this.
Puckline news brought you by MTenetters,
brought to you by that MGM.
Yeah.
We have both.
Yeah.
Amazing stuff, guys.
We will tune in on IG.
If you aren't subscribed to the YouTube,
I know a lot of you aren't.
Make a freaking profile and subscribe to the YouTube.
Follow us on Instagram,
follow us on Twitter.
We're going to be talking about all these games tonight.
We're going to be recording tonight
to make sure you have an episode of the podcast,
bright and early tomorrow.
We love you guys.
We'll see you next time.
Skate Hard.
