Empty Netters Podcast - The LA Kings Can’t Lose At Home And It Might Save Their Playoff Run
Episode Date: March 25, 2025Jonny Laz stops by the studio (with roller blades on) to discuss the boys trip to Vegas, the western conference wildcard race, and if home ice advantage changes anything for the LA Kings. Sheldon Keef...e had his wires cross after a loss. Pat Maroon is retiring. And we almost had a goalie fight! Plus, the Beer League Hotline this week is can’t miss. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. SOUTHERN COMFORT. Make your drink, just the way you like it. This is your kind of whiskey. https://www.southerncomfort.com/ 00:00 INTRO 00:19 NOT ICE 22:11 BLUES/FLAMES WILDCARD 40:01 KINGS POINT STREAK 45:43 GOALIE FIGHT 58:14 PAT MAROON 1:02:19 SHOOTOUT SEQUENCING 1:07:03 CANES WARDROBE 1:08:58 CROSBY 1:10:53 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:16:11 BLIND RANKING 1:22:47 BETMGM ODDS Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Like we said, the blues have been so hot lately.
Binner's been unbelievable since Four Nations.
They have that Stanley Cup pedigree and that experience.
They are a team.
If they sneak in and get a wild card, I could see them winning a round or two in the playoffs.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
I am your host, Dan Powers.
His spine is so crooked that if you walk behind him, it looks like he might tip over.
Chris Powers.
As always.
And a very special guest in studio in Los Angeles,
the third empty netter.
Johnny Laz joins us for the first time in the new studio.
I think maybe ever.
Ever, yeah.
Wow.
I don't need to do as always.
No.
It's not as always.
But it's very special.
The first time.
Dude, how is your West Coast trip?
It's been great so far.
You guys were kind enough to have me in the suite last night.
which was awesome. Got to see the Kings Spank of the Boston Bruins. Absolutely. Waxed the Bruins.
14 goals and 24 hours. Yeah. Crazy. Pretty nuts.
Vegas, I missed you guys. But, yep.
First Vegas bachelor party for me. So it was a good bucket list.
Whoa. Come on. Come on. All right. All right. If you can see, if you're watching on
YouTube, Laz rollerbladed here and he's currently wearing them right now. Yeah, you can.
Just fantastic. Hold that up again. They can definitely see it. There it is, dude.
Got the blades on. You absolutely love to see it.
You just mentioned Vegas.
We got a touch on Vegas.
Yes, we do.
And how rinsed we got.
Dude, it was, if everyone following along, we bet the dogs because the boys were there betting the dogs on March Madness.
And Dan, you know what?
I think in hindsight we should have seen coming.
Because I read an article that was like, the least amount of underdogs won in March Madness in like 60.
Yeah.
Chalk.
Yeah.
Just chalk.
So the hockey games didn't start until four.
So as the boys were just getting pummeled by chalk all day.
We should have abandoned the dogs.
We should have.
Were they doing money line or points?
They were doing a great question.
The boys?
Yeah.
No, money.
They were just taking dogs, dude.
So I was like, dude, we should have been like, oh, it's chalk weekend.
Yeah.
Flipped it and then made fools of them.
But instead, we were the fools.
And you're killed.
You also can't eat chalk.
You can't eat chalk.
You guys were eating dogs.
We were eating dogs, dude.
Dude, what a development when I got to T-Mobile.
and there was all you can eat dogs at the party deck.
We're going to, that was huge.
That was a big, that was a big moment.
We're going to get into food in a little bit,
but I want to say, I feel like recently in my life,
I've cut dogs out of my diet because being a little health boy,
and I've now had hot dogs more recently because Montreal's a big hot dog place,
and then we were doing dogs.
Hot dogs are fantastic.
Amazing.
Dude, you get the right toppings on them.
They're just, they're delightful.
Yeah.
But rarely am I sports betting on so many things at once, right?
Like, you know, you can, you'll ride like the momentum of a game that you have something on.
But it was crazy having such a big board here.
And I just wanted to point out this one stretch.
The Avs game was first.
We had the Sends.
Yeah.
And the Aves went up a thousand nothing.
Four.
Four goals in eight minutes.
So I was like, that game's over.
And then the flames were dogs against the devils and the Leafs were actually dogs against the Rangers.
So those were the next two games on.
And they, the Rangers were up and the devil.
levels were up and I was like wow this is such a nightmare and then it's getting close to
Vegas Bruins puck drop time and I need to start walking to T-Mobile and in that walk the flames
are down three-two tie it and then go up four three the leaps go up against the rags and then the
flyers who were down three-one against the capitals made it three-two and the blue jackets took the
panthers to OT and the Canadians came down from three one to tie it at three and I was like oh dude
This is the best moment of my life.
We're back.
We were so back.
Posting a story every 10 seconds
because it was like everything good was happening.
And then it was like the Flyers didn't tie it.
The Panthers scored immediately in overtime.
The Islanders scored in overtime.
Oh, and the Kinnucks also tied to FOSOT.
And then the blue scored.
And I was like the swing, the like two minute swing of like,
it was.
Fuck.
Dude, we were so dead.
Then we came back to life and then we died again.
Dude, can count the ties as wins in your mind because they've tied it.
So I'm like, boom, that's a win.
That's a win. And then they're just all still losses and you're like,
fucking horrible, dude.
I will say, oh, sorry.
No, no, go, go, go.
I'll say that's the worst part of sports betting, I think in general.
It's like when you think you have the win in the bag and you start like,
oh, I'll get like a nice dinner.
Like you start thinking about the things you can do with the extra cash.
Dude.
And then all your plans are ruined.
Oh, it's awful.
And the one we posted about this.
And I can't, I still can't even believe it.
I didn't even look at this, dude, until the next morning.
We bet all these dogs
And I don't know if you've seen this
Whenever there's more than
I say eight
It's usually 10
Whenever we got a mini frenzy day
I'm always big on
Do the Mega Parlay
But just do money line on every game
Knowing it never hits
Yeah
Like $10 on $5
Dude yeah
What's the Peter Griffin
It's like
I like what is it like
I let to give it 20 bucks
What do you want to put it on syrup?
Doesn't matter
Yeah
You give it
I'm gonna lose it
Dude, I paraphrase that, but it's like the funny thing.
Yeah, then that's how it is.
I cook up a mega parlay amidst all the dogs.
Dude, I wake up the next morning.
This bet was like plus 22, let me get the exact,
plus 232,338.
Put 10 bucks, stand to win almost 24 grand.
Okay.
Thank you for not making.
guess, guys.
Yeah.
Dude, I went 12 for 14, and the two games I missed,
Habs, O.T, loss to the Islanders,
Stars shootout loss to the bolts.
And I was like...
Stars were dogs in that game?
Dude, no, no, this was just a mega-pillar.
And I, when I woke up and saw that that I, dude,
first of all, just quick stick taps,
getting 12 of 14 is insane.
And it's now made me be like,
Whenever we do the mega parlay, I'm like, it'll never hit.
And now I'm like, maybe it will.
Yeah, but it won't.
But it won't.
But it won't.
But dude.
But if it does.
The two losses, like, if one of the losses was, oh, I bet the Sends and they got shit pumped, they'd be like, oh, well, whatever.
But the fact that I lost because of those two, I was like, are you fucking kidding me, dude?
Dude, it's fucked.
Awful.
Because it's, we were just joking how chalky it was.
Yeah.
Because in those mega parlayers, you end up taking a lot of chalk because you're just being like, they'll win.
They'll win.
Yeah.
And this was, like, historic.
Corkley Chalky and that's why we were close. It just won't ever be this as
just a disaster. It was fucked to do what a mega parlayers though I think the
biggest thing is just like making it out of the first two games yeah like at least
like give yourself a chance like if you lose the like you know it's this first
game that's the worst yeah it's losing your sure losing your March Madness
champion in the first yeah and you're like okay I just want to like this be in the
yeah yeah exactly what happened on the craps table dude we get to the craps table
and I got I got pummeled at
roulette and blackjack.
And sometimes you get hot.
What are you doing plain roulette?
Well, we were just doing the like, let's just double it real quick.
So I'm a sure.
And, and, and Selzer goes, so this is classic Selzer.
He goes, I'm going to just double my money and put 100 on red.
And I go, okay, boom, 100 on red, green.
And I'm like, let's go home, dude.
Literally change your flight, move home.
Awful.
Absolutely.
You could not get green at the start of Vegas site.
Jesus.
So I get killed at roulette, killed at Blackjack.
And I'm like, all right, dude, we got to go.
And this is fucked.
This is what I forgot.
The, if you gamble at the win on a Saturday, the table, the low table minimums are high.
So you're like, oh, okay.
A hundred bucks a hand and stuff like that.
So you're like at the win on a Saturday.
But, you know, you go somewhere else, gambling at Park MGM or MGM Grand where they put us up a lot.
On a weeknight, $25 everywhere, you know.
So it's a Thursday, and I'm at MGM Grand because we were going to go meet Robbie at Haukeson.
So I go, MGM grand on a Thursdays, we're laughing.
But I just forgot it was fucking Christmas morning in Vegas.
So every fucking table was 100 minimum.
And there was one $150 table, which was packed because everybody's there.
So I was like, dude, we can't even play crafts because we've already lost so much money.
And now the stakes are too high.
But we were just, you know, it's Vegas, dude.
So you're like, fuck it, we're in it.
Let's go.
And dude, I just want to say for those craps people, and I'll tell you guys a story, the, I love,
crap is a big energy game.
And I love.
I think you never played.
We'll go.
We'll go next time.
I'll see it in the movies.
Yeah.
It takes, you gotta have, it's complicated.
Yeah.
There's a YouTube tutorial necessity before playing craps, for sure.
So I like being, as a shocker, I like being an energy guy at the craps table.
The biggest energy guy I know.
But sometimes people just aren't in it, you know, like the table's just down.
So I show up with Loop and we start playing.
And the first guy, I try to hype up a little bit.
I'm like, oh, I like this guy.
I like his hat.
I like your hat.
And he's like, yeah, yeah.
They just like immediately craps out and like table's kind of looking at me because I just got here.
You know, I'm like, good, we good.
Second guy, I like hype up a little bit immediate crap out.
And I'm like, oh, fuck, dude.
This is me.
I now it's on me.
So, dude.
Crap out means, uh, you roll seven.
We all, every money on the table is gone.
We all lose.
So the next and the third guy shows up and I'm kind of like, I'm out of money because I just got popped two more times.
This is my last shot.
And it's this really old dude who has like gray hair, gray goateee, a bright, deep purple button down.
That's unbuttoned pretty far with like penned.
like necklace pendants head.
Wow.
And I'm like, this guy could be a shooter and this could change everything.
So dude, he rolls his first role and it's like, whatever role you get first, it kind of like puts a marker on that number and then you're trying to hit that again.
Okay.
Eight and six is good because they're more common.
So like he rolls an eight and I'm like, but I don't want to get too hyped against.
So I'm like, good, good roll, good roll.
Put it on the eight.
And then he starts throwing some money on some exotic bets and he bets and he bets a bunch of money on that he's going to, on this very role, he's going to roll a pair of twos.
and he just second roll up the table and he goes pair or twos and dude it hits and i don't know what to do
because like are we cheering yeah did i fuck this up and it hits and everyone is dead silent for like a
literal full one and a half seconds okay and then the old guy dude the purple shirt guy
girl girl goes like this and dude he bent his body like his head almost touched the crap
and i was like yes dude and then god dude and then he went on like a 12
20 minute roll heater. We made all our money back and then so as this guy was just absolutely firing.
But dude, would he double fist pump? Yeah, he went full scorpion. Can you give me the one and a half?
I want to actually feel what. Yeah. Dude, yeah, yeah, yeah, hold on. Let's pull out us. Let's pull out a timer here.
And like, all eyes are on the table, you know. So it's like, it's like, and pear twos.
Yeah, that's a decent delay. That's a decent delay. That's a pregnant pause. Everyone's like, what? Yeah.
Man, was it high-pitched?
Dan, yeah.
And he, like, his vocal cords have seen a lot, you know?
Yeah, dude, he was getting the cocktail servant coming.
Dude, it was, what a session he put on, dude.
And I, this is what time?
This was like 12.30 in the morning, you know, like, we were about to go to the club.
And I was like, oh, we're just going to, like, let's play a little bit, just a little bit.
And then, you know, then we got stuck for a while with Homeboy, dude.
That's how it goes.
But there's fucking sick.
That's fantastic.
Yeah, exactly.
It's cup oxygen into the building.
Vegas rinsed us all, as it does.
As always.
But we still had a great time.
Before we move on, we were at the Kings game, as Johnny said.
Yep.
Had a nice time in the suite.
Had some food up there.
UCP wanted to quickly touch on Dream Stadium food.
And then I have something that I'd like to propose to the two of you
because I was thinking about it big time last night while we were eating.
And the reason I wanted to propose it is because in that sweet area,
I can't remember I walked through with you too
because I went the other way with the rest of the group
but there's like a
in the middle of the sweet area
there's like a big spread of like
nice food but it's almost like too nice
they're like oh would you like a piece of prime rib
and I'm like do I maybe I'm not sure
and sometimes and like in the other
they make those sandwiches you know like they make like that
yeah sandwich at that one station
and I feel like half the time I'm complaining
that the stadium food is too low brow
I'm like God I wish it was nicer food
And then when a stadium gives me nice food, I'm like, this is...
I don't deserve this.
So I was like, what do you I want?
What would make me happy?
And I don't know that I have the answer.
What's your guys' dream stadium food?
To me, I think it's a balance of, I mean, obviously, you want it to be quality.
But I, obviously, a piece of prime ribs, great.
Yeah.
But if you're not in a sweet at the table, cutting shit is a nightmare.
I'm also, dude, I'm even going to go out on a limb and say, I don't even like dipping stuff.
So nachos, tenders, stuff like that.
It's just, it's too much going on.
I think a nice sandwich, just something that is in your hands.
You need hand food.
Mm-hmm.
And something that's also not going to get messy as fuck.
I always think is an absolute home run.
I'm kind of with you on nachos, tenders feels, tenders feels good.
No, no, I don't hate it.
I'm just saying it's like, you need to have like a tray where your dipping thing is in.
It's just all messy.
But when I go and I get a fucking burger or a crispy chicken sandwich or a North Shore beef
and it's wrapped in a parchment paper,
and I'm not getting messy,
and I'm just like, I have this sandwich
and I'm eating it.
That is a perfect stadium food food.
Yeah.
So I will say, we're talking like stadium seating, right?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
Let's act as if we're sitting in the bowl.
You're in the mix.
You can't be elbowing too much.
There's people next to you.
What are you eating?
So I'm going to kind of rebuttal what you said here,
but it's like a mix of what you said.
Okay.
Because the best thing to me in the National Hockey League
is the MSG prime rib sandwich.
Okay.
Yeah.
Like $25 prime rip sandwich.
Worth it.
Carmelized onions, cheese, all juo on the side.
Oh,
it's literally got everything.
Is that too messy, though, dude?
Is the dip on the side?
That's scary.
It's in like a cup, though.
Okay.
Yep.
But like if I'm sitting, like,
but I now have it in the press box.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So I'm thinking if I'm sitting with who knows,
God knows who's next.
Yeah.
And you're like dipping.
Yeah.
That's dangerous.
It's tough.
But it's delicious.
If you've had it.
Yeah.
It's.
Yeah.
One of the best stadium.
You had that's,
where.
Where did we have that insane sandwich that you, like, met the guy?
You were, like, speaking to the owner.
That was down.
That was in San Jose, dude.
That was San Jose, you right.
Yeah, wow.
That was one of the best sandwiches I've ever had in my damn life, dude.
It was, it was a prime, no, it was a prime rib sandwich.
It was fucking insane.
Holy shit.
That guy is the man, too.
Legend, yeah.
Also, I think there's nothing, like, you were talking about hot dogs.
Okay, that's the perfect.
Perfect transition.
Perfect transition.
I, we were eating tenders last night.
Yeah, we were.
And I said to both of you, I think, I was like, I, you never get too old for a tender.
And it got my gears turning.
What are childish foods that you still love?
Oh, I still love.
I thought you were going to give me a hard time.
Well, I mean, and I will give you a hard time because I, there's a lot of, there's a lot of options here.
This is what I want to talk about.
So grilled cheese to me is like, that's a childish food.
but I've upgraded my grilled cheese.
Like you've seen me make a grilled cheese.
It's because of anyone but you.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Because he cooks Sydney Sweetney and the grilled cheese.
Ever since I saw that movie,
I was like, wow.
The fact that you just referenced that piece of shit movie
and acted like there's anything.
No.
The grilled cheese resurgence came from chef.
No fucking doubt about it.
Yeah, Favro.
Favro makes the sexiest looking grilled cheese of all time
and that made everyone start making grilled cheese.
I don't think enough people.
It's not old.
old. What are you talking about, dude?
Anyone but you
are chef? The viewership is way higher on
anyone but you. I guarantee
fucking tea, if someone goes, which movie makes you
want to make a grilled cheese more, or which movie,
which grill cheese moment stands out
to you more, chef will win that. But we'll put it
on the internet. Anyone but you.
Yeah, but you have one day of one day.
You have the movie palette of a child, dude.
Like, you just...
That's the question. We're mixing
childhood. We're mixing references
now. I'm saying
I've upgraded my grill cheese. Like, I buy a
bunch of really nice cheeses and it's like a fancy situation. So that I that wouldn't count for me.
Whereas tenders dude, I am like, dude, you give me a fucking basket of tenders and some honey mustard
or some ranch or some barbecue. And I'm like, this is just great. And I, that is one for me where
I'm like, I don't give a shit how fancy you are, how rich you are, how old you are, chicken
tenders always hit. I have an answer. Okay, go. And it's not necessarily mine. I forgot that I like
this. Yep. A girl actually recently said this. Damn, you've heard about her. I've heard about her.
Her favorite, I guess like, what's it, like guilty pleasure? Yeah, we can call it that.
What is it saying? Comfort food. Comfort food. Yeah. Pasta with butter. Oh, butter noodles.
Oh, I was like, are you 12? Yeah. That is actually fucking crazy. That is stop talking to her right now.
Yeah. No, no, I think it actually makes you're more wholesome. Butter, butter noodle. I mean, shout out
Ahmed Nadir, yeah. Yeah. Like butter noodles is very.
simple. That is a good. She said dream food. Mom makes me buttered noodles. That was definitely
her sick at home meal too. Like when she was sick, she was like, yeah, it's like, I don't get a shit.
Like, yeah, just give me some butter noodles. I feel better. That's a good one. I'm going to say in this
one I don't have very much. And it's similar to the grill cheese in that there's fancier versions.
Yeah, yeah. Yeah. I do also like and have probably more often. Yeah. But still I'm like,
that was money if I get the chance to have it is like mac and cheese. Like,
Boxed mac and cheese. Yeah, Kraft mac and cheese.
Yeah, yeah. Like, someone make me an easy mac. They make them in those little cups now. That was my after-school snack.
Bro, and I'm like, at no point am I like, oh, I wish there was crumbled breadcrumbs on this and I had a nice greer. I'm like no, no, dude, boom.
Put a power on it. Whatever the fuck that you coming home from school and just like give me a bowl easy mac.
Easy Mac. Easy Mac, Yotles mini muffins.
That fuck. Yeah, I was. Why do you think I didn't make it like, yoas and hos gassed?
Yolz were gas. Yeah. That is a wild.
freeze them to do you like a frozen yodel you know what's funny to me too i've never done that that's
fucked up wait can i tell you one more they yeah of course you know what i so every day in 11th grade
my best friend henry always makes fun of me for this i showed up to high school my first period with a
frozen gogert the one that i think that i judge people on still is pb and j yeah and it's the judgment
is more from like a is that satisfying like is that satiating you i think it's more time efficient
Yeah, that's definitely
I pack one for like a game
Sure.
Sure.
Because like I know I'm hungry
to hold you over.
And you just have a cook TV and J.
By the way.
Like it's not,
you must agree that's good.
I actually don't.
Maybe I never loved PB&J's that much.
I actually don't think it is.
When I eat a PB&J,
I'm just,
I'm like, what is in,
what am I eating?
I love it.
It's delicious.
Preciples.
Peanut butter is one of the best.
Peanut butter is incredible.
I don't eat peanut butter enough anymore.
And it's,
I just don't eat a lot of foods
that peanut butter goes on.
But.
You can go on anything.
Here's the thing, dude.
Watch this.
Boom.
Take a food you like, put peanut butter on it.
Now there's a food.
Okay, chicken farm.
Boom, peanut butter.
No.
Yeah, it'd be awesome.
That wouldn't, yeah.
It's absolutely insane.
I do throw it on a banana every now.
Banana.
That's not apples.
You dip an apple on peanut butter.
That's always, dude.
Well, maybe one of the weirdest things about me.
I do, I do not like apples at all.
I don't know why.
Be like a healthy guy.
Yeah, I don't like them.
I feel like I'm not going to knock you for that.
I'm not a passion about apples.
I'm not going to die on the apples.
But strawberries, that'd be nuts.
I think it's, yeah, that'd be crazy.
Yeah.
It's an interesting discussion.
What are the, what are childish foods?
What childish foods do we like?
But I think we nailed, you guys.
Yeah, those are good.
Well, is there like an ick even?
Like, if you're, like, if you're on a date with somebody and they order, like, are you like, okay, that's where I'll be like.
Um, you know what?
I don't have a problem with this, but milk bothers people.
If you're out to dinner and so you're not like having drinks, oh, dude, I've had a couple of buddies who are like, again, it's not having drinks.
Yeah.
It's like, if you're just like getting a quick bite, someone will be like, can I give
a glass of milk and I'm like, yo, what are you doing? Are you a growing boy?
Call me, what are you doing? Someone ordering a glass of milk at dinner is a, so that's a nasty work
type of move. Let's get into hot ice. Let's talk about some hockey. We're doing it every episode
these days, but it's because it's because it is so electric, we have to do a wild card check-in.
and one team comes to mind in a big, big way.
The Calgary Flames, dude, are big back.
So, like, in the east, which we can get to in a second,
but our last F, we talked a lot about Ottawa and Montreal.
It's kind of still that rags are lurking, obviously,
Islanders lurking.
Blue jackets, I'm almost willing to call dead now.
No.
I'm not willing to call dead because Monaghan and Goody are back.
And that said, I think they have.
13 games left, they need to win 10. They literally need to go 10 and 3 in their next day.
The Islanders tonight, too. I think it's must win. Yeah. I mean, they have, remember looking last
week, they have a horrible schedule. Yes. I think tonight against the Islanders, so by the time
you guys are listening to this, that the result will be out, I think it is a must win game. If the
Blue Jackets lose to the Islanders tonight, they are out of playoffs. Yep. But so we want to talk about
the West a bit, the Flames and the Blues. Flames have won six straight.
the blues you brought this up the blues schedule the six wins in a row they have
wild which isn't a bad that's a yeah yeah wild ducks preads canucks o t huge win hawks
prets yeah so it's but six but it's not like holy shit we're world beers but it's six but it's
good mood but it's hot it's good momentum and then also i mean how many examples do we have like
look at detroit it's like you go on runs like that you have to win those games they won those
games so it's that that's good and they don't have a ton
They got Colorado twice.
I know I saw Colorado twice.
They got the Jets and Oilers late.
But everything else is like games.
And it's like a tough half.
It's a tough game.
But it's games you feel like you could have if you're in the mixer here.
So it's a pretty forgiving schedule down the stretch.
I remember when we did the full schedule breakdown.
I had them pretty high on the easy line.
Dude, it feels like only one of them can get in.
And I don't even want to rule out Vancouver, by the way.
What about Utah?
They're like so kind of there.
Vancouver's.
Yeah, they both there.
They're like six points back?
Yeah, but good games, dude.
And like Utah is just behind Vancouver.
So like they're both in the mix, you know?
But it can really only be one of these two, it feels like.
Does either one of you guys, do you guys think either team drops out?
Yeah.
Between St. Louis and Calgary.
I'm rooting for Utah.
Oh, okay.
You want them both drop out.
I want Utah in there.
I would love Utah in there.
You know, it's funny.
Some of the loyal Utah fans on Twitter were getting loud at us this past week being like,
talk about Utah more.
And I'm like, we talk about everyone.
Shut the fuck up.
Like, I love you guys, but shut up.
I would love Utah to make it.
I think that fan base, that state packing a barn for a playoff game would be so fucking awesome.
Didn't they also just announce like they're going to stream for like $1?
Yeah.
Oh, really?
I didn't see that one dollar.
That's cool.
The Smith group, dude, they know how to please fans.
They get it.
I love it.
I agree.
I think it would be awesome to see them in.
I've never felt more connections to three random teams in my life with Utah, obviously, just everything you just said.
Brand new.
Love what the Smith Group's doing.
Loveders want them to get in.
I think that would just be so fun.
Flames, I love weeks.
I love everything that he said.
I love everything about that fan base.
I think it would mean the world to them to get in.
Dustin Wolf.
Dustin Wolf.
Unbelievable season.
Like not getting enough love in the crowd.
Calder conversation and he should.
The blues,
the absolute grave dancing
that it would be for Jim Montgomery
to take this team from the slums
and bring them into playoffs while the Bruins
slowly but securely
burst into flames would be such
an elite story.
Should have said that 10 minutes ago.
Yeah.
It is, I mean, he knows it.
It's just like, to me, I'm like, fuck, man.
Like, there's a case for all three of those teams.
But it is funny.
Like Vancouver is just sitting right there in the mix, and we're all just like,
yeah, get out of here.
I don't know if anyone's rooting.
That's what I'm saying.
I'm like, we're all kind of like, whatever, dude.
Like, don't, we don't want you there.
It bums me out that, because last year I was so excited for them because I felt like
they never lived up to their potential.
So last year it was so fun to be like, dude, you always had this in you.
And I expected going into this year to feel the same.
And even, dude, like the win they have.
had last night with Quinn, or the OT win they had with Quinn, sorry, again, they tied and then
lost, but like that last second, they scored with four fucking seconds left, Quinn dancing in the
neutral zone, Besser fucking fucking, fucking hammer, fucking the boys go crazy. Like, that is what I want
to be rooting for. But the teams you just mentioned, I, I want so much more than Vancouver that I'm
like, never mind, dude. There's just like a cohesiveness about the other three that like Vancouver,
obviously they have the exciting players. Like, who wouldn't want to watch Quinn used to play in the playoffs?
but like I look at the other three teams and I'm like maybe they could make it a series.
Yeah.
Like Vancouver, I'm just like, nothing about them just makes me excited to root for them.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Right now.
It's completely agree with that.
I said Calgary a while ago.
And I hate it, but I agree.
I said Calgary when we first talked about this a while ago, I said Calgary by pick just because of the city and they would be so great for them.
And before we started recording, you were like, I think I had that eight.
And I think so did.
I'm St. Louis.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So it's like, it's cool that they've, yeah, that they've rewritten that story.
I think we all get it passed to a little bit with the coaching change.
That was a nice bump that we didn't think was going to happen.
But yeah, it's the blues are looking at the schedule and the way they're playing.
You said Holloway, we mentioned Kyruz.
We had him in the starting six last Wednesday, like going off.
Those guys just feel like, yeah, yeah, yeah, that I'm like, oh, it's almost.
Four Nations is such a boost for him, dude.
Yep.
I mean, he's probably one of the hottest goalies.
I think Vasilevsky's been really hot too.
I don't have the numbers in front of me,
but I'm pretty sure to, like, those guys have been.
Four Nations completely turned around been their season.
And you know what's interesting, too, dude,
is we talk about all the time after the top three in the playoff race.
It's like the gold diff drops off like crazy.
For the West?
And in both.
It's like if you look at it in the West,
gold diff, Vegas, L.A. Edmonton,
plus 47, plus 26, plus 26.
Minnesota, the first wildcard team, minus one.
Winnipeg.
Winnipeg plus 76 plus 52 Dallas plus 35
Washington's plus 76 yeah yeah it's crazy
it just dropped the wild card they drop off significantly
St. Louis is plus 10 yeah like they're playing
you don't see that very good hockey and and it goes to Utah
is minus nine compared to Vancouver and Calgary's
minus 17 minus 21 respectively so it's like Utah is in the mix
dude it's like they're two games at hand too
yeah six points back of St. Louis with two games in hand
that's super interesting. Like that could all of a sudden that's two points back and we got a battle.
So yeah, we with these teams, let me look at the flame schedule real quick. With these teams,
it's a very interesting like, fuck me, every game matters. We talk about it all the time. But this,
for the last three weeks now, the wildcard races have been so entertaining. Everything changes
every two days. New teams are all of a sudden in the mix. Going to the east, the islanders being in
is so, I'm like, what are you doing in here?
Can I ask you a question?
Of course.
Okay, so between the East wildcard race, let's use, I guess we can use like Montreal and Ottawa in it,
and like we'll go down to the blue jackets.
Yeah.
I think we're all kind of Detroit out, right?
Yes, Detroit is, which is funny because they are one point behind Columbus, but we're like
just vibes wise.
Yes, it survives wise.
And then you look at the West and we got who, we got St. Louis, Calgary, Vancouver, Utah,
will say those four.
Yeah, yeah.
You got to pick one team that can actually have a chance to win around, which of
those to win around.
I'm talking about this.
Which of those seven are you
like most confident in picking?
Like think about the opponent too.
Of course.
Of course.
Or,
Winnipeg.
I'm Ottawa.
Like Ottawa could be Washington?
I don't think they could beat Washington,
but I think Ottawa could beat Toronto.
Well,
I think Washington is locked in one, right?
Well, yeah, but Ottawa is looking like
they're going to get the number one wildcars.
Oh, okay.
So they wouldn't play them.
True.
They'd play the Atlantic.
And I'm saying if Toronto pops up off from Florida,
That is a nightmare round one for Trump.
Absolutely nightmare.
I don't think they can be Florida.
But to what you were just saying over on the West,
if St. Louis is playing Winnipeg, maybe.
You think so?
Maybe.
Yeah.
Everything that's gone wrong for Winnipeg.
I mentioned to you the other day, you said I should say it on the pod.
I'm not saying this, but people would be within their rights to say that Winnipeg is the Carolina of the West.
I love that take.
unbelievable regular season team,
and things just don't really go well in the playoffs.
To the point that I'm like, miss me with any,
we're going to do it this year talks until you get there.
Yeah, my one gripe with that,
what's Carolina, like, always a question mark in,
goaltending and Winnipeg's the exact opposite.
No, it's not, not in the playoffs.
So that's where I see it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But like Carolina, I feel like it's always like,
I don't know if they'll get the same.
I guess, I guess, I guess you don't know if they'll get the same.
That's what I'm saying.
But like they have the guy.
It shouldn't be that.
Like they have a guy.
You should get the same.
That's the one like area of their game where they should be the most confident in where like Carolina is the one where they like are not.
Yeah.
But I guess when it comes to.
And dude, how is it, but how is it not Vancouver for you guys just in terms of if Vancouver sneaks in the last wildcard spot?
Or even even if they got the first and they played the Jets.
But like if Vancouver sneaks in the last wildcard spot and are as as will be as healthy as they've been, I could see them clipping Vegas or something.
Really?
I mean, I don't think any of them I would be picking to beat any of those top teams.
But I'm like, Vancouver has the firepower to be like, oh, fuck.
We got Vancouver in the first round.
I'm like, that's annoying.
Yeah, I don't know.
It's a fun conversation because I feel like every team is so different.
Yes.
Holy shit.
But like, I don't.
I'll tell you the teams I don't think would win.
Yeah.
Go for it.
I don't think the Islanders win around.
Nope.
I actually don't even, like the Rangers, biasedly, I think Igor can just get so hot.
bet, who knows?
It's fair.
It's fair.
No, I, I think that team just, I don't think, I think Igor could get hot,
but I think it would be a similar case to the Florida series last year where it's like,
he's doing everything he can and they just still can't get wins for him.
I don't think they can win a series.
I might give, I might give like Utah the best chance.
You love Utah.
I love Utah.
I do.
To me, it's just, you know, based on the math.
matchup with how good how well St. Louis is playing and how hot Binner is. I think that they could
win a series. I got to admit it. And you feel the same way with Calgary and Wolf. Yeah. I just think
team speed-wise, I look at Utah and I think they are like the fastest team of those. Yeah. And I like,
I like that take. And I think that's why like I'm, that's why I look at them and I'm like,
maybe they can do it. Yeah. Maybe they can do it. I like it. Taking a break to talk to you guys
about an awesome promotion with BetMGM. And it's the second chance promotion that happens every single
Wednesday. So if you bet on a first goal score in the game and they don't score first,
that stinks because you go, I bet them to score first, they didn't, and now I have lost my bet.
But maybe you haven't because if they score second, you get your stake back in cash. It's
incredible. And when you sign up for the bet MGM app, use promo code Netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
and you can receive up to 1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. So you can be losing bets
left and right and still getting dapped up by that MGM if you use that promo code netters when you
sign up. You do not want to miss out on that, so I recommend you go take advantage right now.
Gambling problem, call 1-800 gambler. Call 8778-8-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call 1-800-3-5-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-1.
New York for Massachusetts.
21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800 next step for Arizona.
1-800-8-0-0-2-3 for Puerto Rico, first bet offer for new customers only.
subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-witrable in partnership with Kansas
Crossing Casino and Hotel. See BetmGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in
New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Okay. I would love to talk about the Sheldon Keith interview and the Kovsevich comments
because that was fucking wild. For the people that didn't see it,
Kovicevich gets asked after the game, there's the Sends game that they lost, and he's like,
we're in a fight. We've just got to get in that, every game is 10 games off.
We've got to get in that playoff mentality, something like that in paraphrasing.
And then the reporter, then Keith comes out, keeps frustrated.
The reporter comes up to Keith and says,
Kobo Savage just said that we need to get in a playoff mentality,
as if we're not or something.
Yeah.
And then Keith goes, well, Kovovov should just fucking play better.
Dude, he interrupts him, too.
He goes, Kobe Savage just needs to play better.
That's it.
I'm like,
I'm like, dude, holy shit, dude.
I feel like this is like, if I'm Kovosevich, this is the 50 cent video where he's like,
Like, what the fuck he said fuck 54?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I do.
Like, if I were Kovacevich, I'd be like, what the fuck, dude?
Relax.
Thoughts, dude.
First of all, the way you describe it, all I am like visioning in my head right now is
the scene and kicking and screaming.
The rest said, then my dad said, no more questions?
Yeah, yeah.
Exactly what happened.
But listen, I think Kobe and I touched on it this morning.
Like, I've been in those rooms where you're repeating what the player said to the coach.
Yeah.
And you do paraphrase.
For sure.
For sure.
Should you do that? Probably not.
Because things can get taken out of translation like this one just did.
Yeah.
But for Keith to snap the way he did.
Like, I think Kovacevich comes out actually looking like the best one here.
No doubt about it.
And then the Porter like could have phrased it in a better way.
Like he did phrase it like pretty negatively.
But Keith doesn't have to just like.
What's funny about this is it's not that big of a deal.
Yeah.
And I'm sure Kovic and Keith are fine.
I think Devils fans loved it, by the way.
Yeah.
Like Keith was like willing to do that.
That's what's interesting.
I don't think they reported anything that bad.
there was a little bit of paraphrasing, but it's like,
you didn't say anything absurd.
No, it just changed like the tone of it.
Sure, but it seemed like he was like, we're not in a playoff mindset,
even though he was just saying, but at the same time,
if Keith didn't respond like that,
no one would be talking about this.
Agreed. No one would be like this. That reporter said that very
strangely. It was a nothing.
So I think the reporter's fine.
Obviously, Gov Savage is fine.
And then Keith, yeah, it's a bit of a snap,
but I like that Devil's fans like it. I like that people are like
Keith is being like, I'm pissed.
And it all goes into this poor devil's team for a time looked like that they might be heading
to the Stanley Cup final.
And now Jack is out for the year and they're toast.
And everyone knows it.
And they don't want to say it.
And they're losing games they shouldn't lose.
They're going to make playoffs and they're probably going to lose in the first or second
round.
And it just sucks.
And I know that Keith is feeling that.
So you think there's something to, because Kovicev is having, he has a career high in points,
career high and plus minus.
second rated player in that game.
So it was just such an insane ricochet to take.
I literally just played my best.
Yeah, exactly.
He's like, I had a great game.
I'm having the best season of my life and I had a great game.
Admittedly,
admittedly, Keith once, probably more than once,
Toronto fans will dig more shit up than I can remember.
But one time, I remember Keith made a comment that was like,
the difference between us and the coyotes is that we have elite players and they don't,
but our players didn't play elite tonight.
He kind of like took a shot of his voice.
Yeah, dude.
But then walked it back immediately.
It was like, I shouldn't have said that, you know, whatever.
Because that's like, coyote's catching a straight.
Yes.
So he's like, he has it in him, obviously.
We all do.
But for the most part, the narrative on Keith has been, he's a players coach.
He's, he let the inmates run the asylum in Toronto.
That's why he got ran out of there.
That's why the least needed Broubae to be tough, someone to be tough on him.
So I don't know if Keith's like, took that firing to be like, I got tougher,
but this is just so not Keith to me.
Yeah.
But I'm like, bro, that was insane.
Like to do that in front of a mic
It wasn't insane.
That's what I keep trying to come back to.
He didn't say anything that bad.
It was just, it was surprising.
It was weird.
It was like, Jesus, why are you going to him?
But it wasn't insane.
I could see how like Sheldon Keith could take that personally, though.
It's like, oh, the coach doesn't have us dialed in.
Like maybe that's how it was phrased.
Yeah.
Oh, okay.
You know what I mean?
I'm there.
I still think maybe I'm just in the Belichick school, but I'm like, bro, it's just behind closed doors.
Go fucking say whatever you want him.
I love hard coaching behind closed doors.
Just not to the fucking media.
Yeah.
again, I think I think Keith took it as again that was a frustrating loss.
Yep. I think Keith was frustrated. I think he's frustrated overall. He is not in a great mood in that
moment. And then he hears a question that makes it sound like one of his players is being like,
this team isn't fired up right now. And he's like, well, fuck you. Yeah. And he said,
fuck you to COVA Satch, which was, again, I don't think crazy, but I think it's just shocking.
Yeah. It's a surprise.
It's a weird mood. Like, I've all.
people is Jonathan Kovicevich.
I know. Give him a break.
Let's move on to a team that's hot right now.
We've touched on it a few times.
We were at the game last night.
Kings are hot
right now.
Their home record is great.
Let me tell it to you, dude, because this is actually awesome.
I'm going to read you some really good ones.
Caps, 24, 7, and 6 at home.
Jets 25, 6 and 4.
Vegas, 27, 7, and 3.
Keynes, 27, 7, and 1.
Kings, 25, 3, and 4.
Three fucking regulation losses at home all year.
Huge.
Outrageous.
Which is a great stat to go into it.
Great stat, and it's a great stat to go into our talking point here.
But first, I want to say, we kept talking about the Kings.
What do they need?
They're second right now in the Pacific.
They're actually very close to Vegas.
They might be able to get that one seed, which would be huge for them.
Again, we will touch on that.
Coming up to the deadline, Kings were losing a couple frustrated.
in games. So many of them were like one-nothing losses. And everyone was talking, what do the
Kings need? They need scoring. We know and we heard that Marchand was almost traded to the Kings.
That would have been a nice scoring boost when he gets healthy. I said so many times, the scoring
on this Kings roster is there. They're just not scoring. And I know that sounds stupid, but there are
other teams that have rosters. We're like, we actually don't have scores. The Kings do. And you look at the
last eight to 10 games, Morsi's scoring a lot more.
QB is scoring a lot more.
He's got a nine game, I think, home point streak right now.
Tied Luke Robitai longest in King's franchise history.
For players under, I believe, 23.
But still, good record to have, or, you know, a good thing to have.
All those guys are scoring, and then they make that really smart, safe, cost-effective move of
getting Coozy, who now has goals and back-to-back games.
14 goals in 24 hours, like you said, this team is in a great run,
and it looks like they can chase down Vegas and get first in the Pacific,
which would mean they would have home ice.
And if they could be, stay in that second place,
they'd have home ice against Edmonton,
even if they don't get first,
how impossibly important,
especially if they play Edmonton is home ice for this king's team.
Las.
How far back are they?
Five points back of Vegas?
I think so.
One game in hand.
Yeah, game in hand and five points back.
Evanton's has Evanston have had home ice in every series prior?
Yes, right?
I think so.
I believe yes.
They have.
I believe yes.
They definitely did last year,
and I'm pretty certain the year before.
Also,
I mean,
you guys watch more Kings hockey than I do,
but watching them last night and maybe this is just,
again,
I don't stay up late to watch the Kings.
I'm watching West Coast hockey.
I stay up to watch the Fs,
the Oilers.
And that's no discredit to the Kings.
But like,
if I'm staying up,
I'm watching Nate.
Like,
you know what I mean?
Like that's true.
The Kings have good players, but like, maybe this is, I'll get yelled at for this,
but maybe just like not the sexiest in the NHL.
Like Byfield, I know is coming up.
Doody has always been.
Have you seen Adrian Kempi?
Yeah, he is, so he's like the one guy.
I think everyone would say, like he's one of the more underrated guys in the league.
Absolutely.
Like, I think Fiala's nasty too.
Again, though, that's just like me as a biases coaster.
Like that's who I'm staying up to watch.
But they looked really physical last year.
And I don't know if they've been that in years prior where they can like beat the piss
at a Connor and Leon and like actually get to them.
is that something that they've added?
Or is that just me not watching a lot of Kings hockey
and noticing it last night?
Yeah, I think so,
and I think one of the great upgrades that we've seen
is funny we're bringing up the Oilers
is Warren Fogel.
I think Fogga-20 goals, right?
20 goals, career year,
and he is just such a bulldog
in the middle six for them.
That is something that they didn't have against the team last year.
And we talk about Edmondson?
Yep, right?
He's a big pickup.
Was he here last year?
No, no.
And Eddie has been such a good addition to the team.
And I think the biggest thing, it's CP could be exactly what they needed.
This could be exactly what they needed.
The Dowdy injury allowed Brant Clark to become what he is.
And Brant Clark is one of the most exciting young defensemen in the NHL.
You want to talk about Lane Hudson all you want?
Yeah, he's amazing, no doubt about it.
Clarkie is, he's a large body.
He's a puck moving defenseman.
He has unbelievable vision.
And he is big.
Like he can,
he can rough it up in the corners with people.
Mikey Anderson has been fucking nails all year.
So all of a sudden,
a lot of people are like,
yeah,
the King's D is getting a little long on the tooth,
but Dowdy's back.
He's fresh.
Mikey and Brandt are amazing.
Eddie is a huge pickup.
Gab is a monster.
Hellenius has been great when he's been in.
It's just,
yeah,
it looks like they've got,
you know,
they have home ice right now.
And I know that that team is like, we fucking want to that home ice.
Obviously, the stats show it.
But listen, I don't want to get too horny here.
But I think the Kings can beat the Oilers in round one.
I really do.
One in four at home in the playoffs against the Oilers the last two years.
So that's been a big issue.
Like when you get into that series,
you're like, we can't protect home ice at all.
And I'm not saying this regular season record at home translates to the playoffs at all.
Because Connor steps up with you like, you know what I mean?
It's a whole different animal.
But I don't think Edmonton's intimidated by the LA crowd
Me neither I don't think they give a fuck I told Dan
Edmonton could not care less who are these games
If they're like whatever give us the Kings I'm begging for the Kings
So I still think they think that but at least you know sometimes you just need a little mental
bump yourself maybe they go dude we have barely beat them at home in the fucking
playoffs and now we don't lose at home anymore so maybe you get that job
By the way Jeannot is another huge payout for them yeah as far as that physicality
Like, Genoa and Fogel are, it is a nice, you know.
Fogues has been fucking great.
Oh, he's been so great.
Holy shit.
Unbelievable.
But I'll just say it again.
It is, you guys are so right.
The Oilers team doesn't give a shit where they're playing.
Yep.
The King's team does.
Yeah.
And I think that would be a massive, massive boost for them.
In that game, we also almost saw a goalie fight.
Yeah.
Fuck.
Dude.
Sway he's been asking for one.
He said he was going to get one this year.
He has.
Let's quickly, I want to hear how you guys feel about how swiftly the refs came in and stopped that.
Because that blew up, you know, our boys, DJ and Pete were talking about it.
They were like, this is bullshit, let him go.
Everyone has seemed to have that mentality.
I might be the old man take here and just sort of explain why that doesn't happen.
How did you guys feel about them stopping it?
I mean, I stood up, had my camera out, ready to go.
Same.
Same.
You know, but listen, I think in that specific position, like with what Boston has been this year,
I think people are looking for some sort of excitement.
If they were able to drop them, everyone would have been like, at least there's some fucking fight left.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, you know what I mean?
I think everyone would have been like, all right, the Bruins aren't going down easy with how this year has gone for them.
Yeah.
That's obviously just like a deeper meaning to it.
I think what would have been discussed on every sports show today would have been great.
I think that's what everyone else is talking about.
like the Four Nations fights and what that did to NHL fandom.
Like you couldn't say a goalie fight would do the same thing with where we are going
into the playoffs right now.
Like that probably would have been talked about on Pat McAvey today and stuff like that.
And now it's being talked about in the opposite direction.
Yeah, yeah.
Oh, well, the reps are stupid for not letting them go.
Like, you know what I mean?
Like it's the opposite effect.
So I don't know.
I think it would have been cool.
But again, I'm not going to like sit here and say like goalies need to be allowed
to fight.
Yeah.
Like, you know what I mean?
Like in that moment it would have been cool.
But like, I'm not looking for every goalie to drop the gloves.
Here's where my mind is.
Entertainment factor through the roof.
It would have been incredible.
Everyone would have been talking about it.
Here's where I get it.
And I'm saying this is not necessarily confirmed.
I think refs stop that because there has been a nudge for the refs from GMs,
from coaches, from owners.
Do not let the goalies fight because they are the goalie.
More often than that starting goalie in that.
Here's a scenario.
out.
Bruins, they're missing playoffs.
It is what it is.
Let's say those two go and Darcy Kemper breaks his hand.
Yep.
Your season is now over.
Yeah.
That is where I'm like, yeah, like, even if you're a Kings fan and you're like,
that was so sick for a moment.
And then you go, oh, now we can't win a single game in the playoffs.
But no offense, Riddick.
You know what I'm saying?
You cannot have your starting goalie break their fucking hand or like, you know,
you're wearing all those pads.
get twisted up and you go down and you fucking tear your ACL. I get it. I get being like,
dude, if for a fleeting moment, we had a great moment of entertainment because the goalies wanted
to go and one of them broke their hand or gets a concussion and now you're starting goalies out,
especially at this point in the season, disaster. I just want to add one more thing before,
because I feel like this might change where you're at. Yeah. Because I'm surprised that you went
toward Kemper and not towards Swainman. Because I'm thinking now, like, we just gave you $8 plus
million dollars. Yeah. Igor Sturke, and we just, we're giving you a less.
and a half million dollars, you better not do anything to put yourself in danger.
For sure.
You need to be healthy at every cost.
For sure.
That's what I'm,
you know,
that's where my mind.
And the reason I omitted sway is because if sway,
obviously you'd never want him to get hurt for a long term effect.
But if sway were to get shut down right now,
they'd be like, whatever.
Yeah.
And like,
so would he.
He'd be like,
this fucking season sucks.
We're like,
we're done.
But yeah,
it's like to me,
if I were a member of the Kings and that moment happened,
I feel like I would have stepped in front of Kevin.
I'd be like,
don't you fucking dare.
It's like that scene from everybody wants him.
McReynolds gets up to fight and they're like,
yo, yeah, yeah, sit the fuck down.
Like, I would have grabbed Kemper and been like,
abs so fucking lootily not, buddy.
Like, we are trying to win a cup right now.
You cannot get hurt.
Dude, that's exactly what I was going to say,
because I, you could get hurt.
And I was about to be like, dude,
guys don't get hurt that much fighting.
That's the misconception about fighting in hockey
from non-big fans.
They're like, oh, you've got to protect their heads.
And I'm like, dude, it's the hits that are concussing people.
Like, no, no, people aren't going to get hurt.
But they're...
I'm sure a punch to the head doesn't help.
And I disagree, bro.
I think guys get hurt like small injuries in fights way more than you think.
I think fingers, hands get broken all the time in fights.
And for a player...
You're used to punching too.
Those guys have no idea that they're doing.
And like their hands are way more important.
Like it's fucking, that would be awful.
Yep.
But I was, my take was going to be...
Sorry, did I destroy your tape.
No, no, it was going to be you're aware of that.
Like, if you're McReynolds, don't fight.
If you're the starting fucking pitcher, don't fight.
If you're Darcy Kemper and you're like, I can't get hurt, don't fight.
If you want to fight by all fucking means, like go protect yourself.
Don't throw too much, whatever.
And so I'm like, go, dude.
I was up to him and he fucking went.
And I thought it would have been epic if like Doughty or somebody came in.
It was like, dude, do not punch him.
Yeah.
So I'm kind of like, do it.
I can't believe they jumped in that fast.
Yeah, I can't believe they jumped in that fast.
Well, I think like also like they built that up a little bit.
Like they didn't like necessarily go right at each other.
No.
There was a little theatrics to do it.
Yeah.
You gave the ref some time to break it up.
Yeah, fair, fair.
And maybe, and maybe, like, that's, I don't know if you're going to get this, Zeroyov's comment,
but, like, maybe that's where it came in.
Like, they bought themselves some time knowing that maybe the rest would jump in.
It's like, great transition.
Like a fake hero here, you know.
Let's talk about Zadurav's comments.
He was asked in the locker room.
I think the question was something like, what did you think about Swamen standing up for
who's Nadeenov?
And Zadorov was like, is that what it was?
No comment.
Yeah.
I hate.
you know, rage bait, clickbait, whatever you want.
So I don't want to sit here and read too much into that comment.
But I do believe that comment shows that vibes are pretty brutal in the Bruins locker right now.
Obviously, you know, you lose to Vegas.
What was it?
5-1.
3-1. 3-1 to the sharks.
Now you get piss-pumped 7-2 by the Kings.
Obviously, horrible West Coast road trip.
you know no one's playing well but dude i don't know man that that that that game was kind of crazy
like they are lifeless it is a lifeless team but c max you're now yeah yeah or chucky yeah yeah
charlie did just show up and that is big for them yep yeah for those he even said that for those
who don't know charlie galvanized yeah charlie maccoy just popped into the studio and he's here to
galvanize the boys and i love that um but that game was crazy dude like i have not seen a bruin's
look that lifeless in a long, long time.
Long, long time.
Also just unrecognizable.
How many guys that I ask you, like, who's number 23?
Yeah.
Yeah, they are, if you are not a deep Bruins fan,
there's at least five guys in the roster that you're like,
I have no fucking clue who that person is.
And I think you can kind of feel it on the ice.
Like they're obviously, they're learning to play together.
There's a lot of guys, like Lysel comes up.
I think it's his third game of the year, fourth game of the year.
So it's just, yeah, it's weird vibes right now for sure.
and I think it's getting to them.
And you wonder, too, with Sacco,
more than likely is not going to be keeping that job.
So he's another guy who's like,
I got promoted into this shit show
when you stupidly fired Jim Montgomery
and now I'm going to get fired as well.
It's just there are very few positive things
going on with the Bruins.
It's crazy.
Oh, they generate nothing.
And they, like, even when they score,
they scored in about 10 seconds or whatever,
at no point was I like, oh, sick.
here's here to play.
I was going to lose
1,000 to 1.
How awful was that
take away the Kings
a great at home record?
That goal went in and I was like,
I mean, they're obviously losing this game.
And that is a crazy feeling.
I did feel bad, obviously
even when the bees were in the hey day
that you get blown out every now and then.
But just after the botched goalie fight
and then the Kings just kept scoring
It was the five-hole.
Yeah.
The third period five-hugel.
And then the crowd just like,
sway, like there's so much shit.
And I was like,
like, dude, this blows.
We'll say, though, a lot of Brun's fans.
Oh, they show up big time.
There was a lot of Brun's fans.
It'll be like that tomorrow, too.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
A ton of range fans.
Yeah.
Yeah, do you, I mean, do you read in too much to that comment?
Or do you think it's just bad vibes?
Or do you think it's like, oh, we got a lot of issue.
I mean, too much into it.
Like, I'm serious.
I'm like, dude, that is fucked.
Like, I'm reacting the same way I'm reacting to the key thing.
I'm like, you got a fucking real idea.
This guy is.
These are hot, bent out of shape about a fucking hot mic moment.
I like, dude, you just can't do that.
Like, even if you have an issue with him, go fucking talk to him.
Which I don't even know why you would have an issue.
But to be fair, to defend what I think he is saying, yeah, it was a bit of a showmanship.
And you said before we were recording, well, if someone needed defending, there's a thousand other fucking people that should be defending him before you do.
Yeah.
So, and like we said, sway wants a goal he fights.
So like maybe it felt maybe to Zedoraf it felt like that.
Okay.
Yeah.
Now he's just doing his performance because we're getting killed.
Actually, it was like 3-2 then, wasn't it?
No, no, no, this was, I think it was like, I think the game was out of hand.
It was absolutely out of hand.
So, like, you know.
It was actually before the, it was toward the end of the second period.
Because I remember they skated by each other in the period.
Oh, are they going to?
Yeah, yeah.
So, whatever the score was like after the second.
It was four to maybe.
So sure, maybe he's feeling some frustration of like that wasn't needed or whatever.
But I'm kind of like, dude, who fucking cares?
Like, he's trying to, he's trying to, at bare minimum, there's some version of he's trying to pump the boys up.
and get you going, whatever, defend his guy.
So no matter what, I think that line is out of pocket,
even if he didn't mean it as the way I'm interpreting it.
I'm still like, shut up, dude.
Like that is a, you don't say that, like, snide comment
without meaning to say that snide comment.
Well, that's what I want to say.
Because I feel like any time you're asked a question about a teammate
and your response is no comment, there's a problem.
So you're got to get some tact here, boys.
Like you start lying to the media
and just say you're fucking jerking each other off all the time.
I thought it was cool.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Say anything else.
Yeah.
Literally.
Anything else.
Like, you could have just don't say no comment.
And then ask, yeah, and then also ask a passive aggressive question.
Like, is that what?
Dude, no.
I didn't like it at all.
And I'm not talking shit about Zedorov.
I like his fight.
And I like that he is, you know, oftentimes very straightforward.
I think where it comes from is Zadorov is, you know, he's frustrated.
They're, they're leaky as hell.
Sway has had, you know, two of his worst games of the season.
He's obviously not, he knows he's not playing well.
And, you know, he makes those comments where he's like, I'll go with anyone, dude.
I'm trying to fire up the boys and I'm trying to defend the boys.
I love that mentality from him.
I do think that there's a general element here where everyone's like, dude, this is not what we need to be doing.
Yeah.
Like, we don't need Sway getting in a fight right now.
We need us to, you know, fucking get our shit together.
He's also a great talker.
He knows that.
Yeah.
He knows how to answer to me.
He knows what he's saying.
Yes, he is.
So, yeah, gets a little sticky.
My favorite time of the podcast is to talk to you guys about Bauer hockey.
You know I think it is the gold standard when it comes to hockey apparel, hockey equipment,
anything that comes with hockey, Bauer is doing it the best.
All of their stuff is so elite.
I cannot begin to express it.
I've been a Bauer guy since the first time I put on skates.
I've had Bauer skates my entire life.
I currently have them now.
The shadows are unbelievable.
But also, guys, the apparel.
I just, I can't say,
enough good things about the apparel.
Since we've teamed up with Bauer,
we're getting dapped up with all of these great workout shirts,
these training tops, shorts, things like that.
Unbelievable hoodies.
They're so comfortable.
They're just the best stuff in the game.
It makes you feel like a pro athlete.
It makes you look like a pro athlete.
And it's just, it's what you need.
When you're working out, when you're lounging around,
when you're headed to the rink, it's all perfect.
And when we get into the equipment talk,
when we talk about all this stuff, the buckets, the gloves, the pads.
It's all amazing.
we know the twigs are as good as it gets.
The Bauer Twitch in particular is revolutionizing the stick game.
You want to have hands like Jack Eichl.
You want to have a shot like David Posternak.
The Bauer Twitch is going to get you to that next level.
The kickpoint, the feel, how light it is, the release.
It's all unbelievable because Bauer is constantly making sure that they take the next steps to revolutionize the game.
Bauer is that beautiful star, that shining light in the hockey world,
and they're going to help you get your game better every single day.
So go to Bowerhockey.com
and make sure you get yourself set up like the pros,
get yourself set up like the empty netters boys
and take your game to the next level.
Let me get into Pat Maroon.
Had his come back last time at St. Louis.
They did the big tribute video.
He got really emotional with Panger,
retiring at the end of the year.
I remember that, what was it, 19, 20, 21,
when he won three cups in a row.
And I was like, what the fuck?
Dude, Pat Maroon has three cups.
But it was cool to see.
I mean, he's done, he's been great in the media too.
He's been chicklets and by all accounts.
I've never actually met him.
Did you meet him ever?
Did either of you met?
He's on our show once a week.
No, he was talking to me.
Yeah, you have.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
No, no, I have not.
So by all accounts, a great, great dude.
Just wanted you to get the floor a little bit
and we'll chime into just on thoughts on that,
on that career now that it's almost all said and done.
Do you want me to go first?
I mean, listen, I think Pat is such a,
honestly, he's like such a sweetheart.
Yeah.
He really is like, I've gotten to know him a lot like this year,
just like, like, forming a French,
with him. He's coming on our show tomorrow morning, actually.
Oh, sick.
The whole weekend.
Yeah.
And listen, like, he's a guy who all he wanted to do, I think, from what he's told me,
is play one game in the NHL.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And he's accomplished everything there is to accomplish, like, in this sport.
And I think a big part of why he's been successful, too, is the teammate that he is.
But also, I think a big part of, like, being successful in the sport is, like, the
teammate that you are and the guy that you are.
I think that's a long way.
But his career, you know, obviously winning three cups is like the thing that he's,
yes, what's going to stand out the most.
But the amount of games he's played north of 800 now, I think that's something that should
be cherished as well.
Like he's a guy who really had to earn it in the American League.
I think his relationship in Philly, he went home and was like partying in college
because he thought his career was over.
Yeah.
You know, I think he had a huge resurgence after his relationship with Philly, like went
into the trash.
Yeah.
And, you know, for him to, like I said, three-time champion, be,
north of 800 games and to now have this like farewell tour, which you don't like really see
in hockey. Yeah. Yeah, yeah. So he played a one year in St. Louis. Like he's from there, which is
what makes it cooler. But like to get the ovation he got, like isn't a common thing. Yes, did.
Correct. I think like people need to like understand like how much he means to that city because like,
you know, a typical guy like isn't going to just like announce for like Mark Andre Fleury is one of the
best goalways of all time. He's getting a farewell tour. No offense. Like Pat's not one of the best players
of all times. Like probably one of the best guys that we've seen. You know?
so that goes a long way.
Yeah, he's definitely, he seemingly put himself in that conversation of every locker room loves it.
Yeah.
Like everyone is like, oh, yep, it was amazing when he was here.
Like his quick little stint in Boston, it felt random.
But then everyone was like, oh, dude, having Maroon in the locker room was awesome.
So a lot of people wanted to bring him back, you know, so it's, it's, it makes sense that he's one of the guys that Chicago looked to bring in to help Badaard, you know, kind of teach him some stuff about the league, show him the ropes.
And yeah, it's, and I remember when we were talking to John Scott,
we're talking about like enforcers in the league, and Maroon gets brought up.
And he's like, he's not tough, dude.
And that's, I think, I think that's absolutely true.
And it's interesting because I think a lot of people think of him in the same way as like a Reeves.
But they're just not.
They're very different players.
And it's really cool to see a guy who has played almost 900 career games.
27-goal season, I think.
Yeah, wow, that's sick.
Like almost 900 career games.
And it's almost like he's done it off vibes.
You know, like he's just, it's, it goes to show being, being a guy who gets it,
knows your role is a great locker and presence, good for, for all the boys on the team.
That can get you a long-ass career.
So it's kind of cool to be able to give him a nice send-off.
It's always done media too.
Yes, yes.
Right.
No, agree.
Always.
Yeah, no, you said it perfectly.
All I was going to add was in his little speech with hangar, he was like, I played
the game the right way.
way and I sometimes I think fans hear that and they're like what do you mean but I'm like
that's what you mean yeah he was he was he was here for the love of the game and everybody that
played with him can attest to that yeah next thing I want to talk to you guys about is this really
cool video that you got sent today I had seen that is from along the ice hockey shout out along
the ice really sick about the Minnesota Wild shootout sequencing and it's Zuccarella coming in doing
that kind of dead controller lefty shot and I'll either just beat you floor cheese stick side or
if you lose that push-off wood, I'll go backhand,
and then sending Boldie out right behind him
to kind of attack the same thing.
It was against Blackwood on the abs is the clip.
And I just thought it was such a cool idea,
because we've heard Oshie say,
I was setting up my moves the same way in the Russia shootout
because I was trying to make it a head game.
And I was like, oh yeah, it only works, though,
because it was I-IHF and you can go a million fucking times.
But I was like, actually, the NHL guys could just start doing this too
with different players.
And it's like, hey, come in attack the same way.
And I just thought that was out a really sick thing
that I wouldn't be shocked if becomes really normal.
Yeah.
I think it's, these are moments where stuff like this happens and I'm like,
this is just so next level.
Yeah, yeah.
Guys weren't doing this in Gretzky's day.
You know what I mean?
Like the fact that guys like Zook are studying goaltenders, tendencies,
even knowing to do that, knowing that that's the thing about goaltending mechanics,
and then the team being like, we're going to base our shootout and what we do on this plan,
if you score, how you score.
It's just like, this is awesome.
It's just so cool how technical the game can get.
Can I ask you a question?
Yeah.
And I'm, no disrespect.
You know, as I was going to ask Dan, it was just going to sound like shade.
Yep.
Okay.
You've probably gotten more breakways than CP.
Yes.
What?
You played D.
So do you.
No, well, now.
I don't know.
Slow boots, dude.
You got square wheels.
That's the ball.
You have black places.
Have you once, have you once thought about like where the goalie is on your
breakaway? I just know the move I'm gonna make same dude any time I've gotten behind the
D sorry Ricochet dude well I I yeah you acknowledge the with no due respect
yeah yeah yeah with all due respect which is none yeah um yeah anytime I've gotten behind
the D I think the first thing in my head is like what for first of all what's my
situation yeah like if I'm in a clean breakaway
But yeah, it's the first thing I think is like, what moves do I have?
Even when you line up for a shootout, it's like, what move am I going to make?
Yeah.
What is the goalie doing?
Yeah.
And I'd say this, last, it's only ever gets as far as how far out is he.
Yeah.
Like, that's it.
I'm like, oh, he's way far.
I'm going to try to deke him or he's like, he's back in there.
I'm going to shoot.
It's never like, dude, has he lost his right push off?
Yeah.
Yeah.
But I'm like, that's actually sick, though.
Like, we were just talking that it moves really fast.
But I actually don't even, I'm kind of regrets on the, on the penalty shot time clock where I'm like,
all right, dude, like the fucking guys that are...
He said that?
Yeah, I remember it was...
It was the Coozy Crawl.
Like, he was like, they should implement a clock.
He's like, it should be a 10 second.
Shoot the fucking puck.
Maybe Coozy was ahead of everybody.
That's what I'm saying.
I'm like, dude, now I actually am like,
come in slow so you can process it a little bit
a little bit cleaner on like the goalie mechanics,
not just where he is, but actually like,
does he have the ability to get side to side
with the way his body's position?
Because that's fascinating to me.
But now I'm like, oh, dude, I can do that easily.
And then I'm going to go try it.
And I'm like, it's not going to work the way
it works for Zook, but there's something there for sure.
Can you pull up if we can?
I don't know why my hockey brain went here,
but I think like Brendan Shanahan in his shootout,
and he was like the end of his career.
Yeah.
But his release was so wicked that like I think he used to kind of come in
with the puck on his forehand like Zucrowded,
but he wouldn't make the move.
He would just let it rip.
And I wonder if like even he had that same thought.
Oh, I don't know.
Definitely.
We've seen a lot of people, you know, pasta obviously does like kind of like that.
He's done that like no look just.
Yeah, that was crazy.
But we've seen a lot.
Debrusk is big on it is kind of like the change up,
just like waiting to see for the goalie to commit
and then just chipping it over their shoulder.
I think it's becoming way more prevalent to almost.
Oh, wow.
We'll get a nice job, lags.
Fucking A.
I think we're seeing it become way more prevalent in,
to quote, D3, the Mighty Ducks,
make and make the first move.
I think guys are being like,
I'm going to see.
what the goalie does first.
Dude, but he's,
Rashani does this on a lot.
I've pulled up a bunch of them too.
Has it on his form.
And just,
yeah,
right in the slot.
And I think they're just maybe not ready.
Yeah.
They're like,
there's no way he's shooting.
Well,
when you do this freeze,
right?
When you get it onto your forehand,
I think a goalie's like,
is he trying to freeze me before a deek.
And then he just shoots.
And you're like,
oh, damn it.
Yeah.
But I don't know if he was like reading the goalie.
I know.
Same.
But I just remember him being like automatic.
Yep.
Yeah.
So sick.
I mean, I remember that that unbelievable mixtape of OV's first year, his rookie season.
I feel like in the shootout, it was so, deacon, was everything.
And Ovi scored five or six of his early shootouts just coming in and just ripping top shelf.
And people were like, what the fuck is going on now?
So nasty.
Las, take us through the Keynes wardrobe last night.
Oh, my God.
I actually, I'm friends with the admin for the Canes social media.
And I was like, never let them do this again.
And she was like, you think I make these decisions?
And I was like, I know you don't, but tell the person in charge,
this is the gross thing I've ever seen in my life.
Like, they had such a good thing with them.
They were like the first ones, or was it San Jose that did the teal?
Maybe, maybe.
One of them, it was San Jose or Carolina that like did the home helmet with the road uniform.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And like those two teams look great with it.
Yeah.
Why change it?
Black bucket.
To clarify, we're talking about the other night,
the Keynes came out in their road whites with black buckets.
And it is possibly the ugliest thing that has ever happened in the history of the
Do they win?
I think so.
But it doesn't matter.
It's embarrassing how ugly it is.
I will say too, though, with the cane social media, like they lost to L.A.
Two nights ago and score of seven, two and the final score graphic just said, Google it.
That's good.
That's good.
That's good.
It's just, yeah, it's horrendous.
It's just so, so ugly.
I can't even get over it.
And it brings me back to, I've brought this up because some people don't feel this way.
when the abs were doing their black bucket.
And they've since changed to the blue.
I'm like, how was that ever not going on?
Like, they look so much better in the blue.
And I know some people who are so like, no, I like, no black better.
I'm like, well, you're an idiot.
Yeah, the blue sounds like, you have no style.
This, this is, this is a war crime.
What's next black laces?
What are the comments?
Yeah, right.
Yeah, if you do black helmets, you go black pants.
Yeah.
I mean, how about some pants should always be.
If they had black pants, it would be,
It's just as ugly.
Interesting use of free will.
God, it's absolutely horrible.
All right, CP, before we get into our nice beer league hotline
and close everything out, you wanted to talk about Crosby.
Just the Crosby OV watch.
Crosby two points away.
And like you said, he could just shut it down and have it now.
But two points away and he automatically breaks the...
Dude, that record is so...
Are you talking about the point per game?
Yeah.
20, Gretzky, 19 seasons, point per game.
Greatest in NHL history.
Crossby's about to go 20 seasons, which will possibly, I mean, Connor will make a bit at it, obviously, but like, or did Connor miss one of those injury years?
Maybe.
Early.
No, there's no way.
Yeah.
Like, I think even with that, he still has.
Is that billion points?
Yeah, yeah, it's just how many games you played that year.
And the, I just think it's so sick.
Two points away from 20 fucking seasons over a point for game.
Ridiculous.
So he's obviously doing it.
And then OV7 away, 12 left.
You still like it?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
All right.
Well, I've had the conversation a lot with, I guess just with people.
in general like are you on the camp of I hope he doesn't do it this year so there can be a whole
summer promotion of like growing it and building it up for like it to happen next year I'm on the other
side absolutely not let them ride this momentum into the place in fact in fact the if he doesn't get it
and we do a whole summer promoting it like oh yeah it's going to feel so shit to me I'm like yeah
well obviously he's going to fucking break it next year there's no there's no there's no
momentum there's no stakes here it's just a matter of like okay
ticking clock is so when is it going to happen now like he said son I love
I love you, Biz, but I was like, no, dude.
He said, he was like, I hope it's next year.
And that's stupid.
It's a bad take.
Like, it's just, and listen, if he doesn't do it, he doesn't do it, and he doesn't do it,
and he'll break it next year and it'll be cool.
But it will be 50 times cooler if he does it this season.
So it's just, it's got to happen for sure.
All right.
Let's, I'm so glad you're here for this.
What if he like, what if he's like one goal away?
He like scores the first goal of playoffs.
You know, he's like, yeah, God damn it.
It's like this one.
Yeah.
It doesn't have to count.
Let it go.
God, it's so true.
I'd be like, just fudge the numbers, fudge the numbers.
Fuck it.
Oh, man, that'd be unbelievable.
Like, imagine.
Oh, no, I was just saying, I'm so glad you're here for this.
Flags, take us into a beer league hotline.
I love these.
Me too.
They're so good.
I just joined a new team, and after my first game,
I saw something that truly shocked me.
I walked into the shower and saw one of the guys trimming his balls with an electric razor.
I asked one of the boys in the locker room what the deal was,
and they said he trimmed his balls at the rink.
because, quote, I'd rather clog up the drain here than at home.
They told me he doesn't do it every week.
It's only about once a month.
They've gotten used to it.
Is this actually genius or should I quit this team immediately?
Dude, this.
Talk about interesting use of free will.
This is pure chaos.
I wouldn't have, you don't need to find a new beer league team.
Okay. And I don't necessarily think you need to chasta as this man, but this is crazy.
I wouldn't stop it. It wouldn't gross me out or anything, but this is a crazy move.
I would say it partially depends on the shower setup. Because like our, the king's practice ring is like stalls, you know, and there's a curtain.
No one really uses the curtain, but there is a curtain. Some are just pillar open space, you know.
And kind of how his presentation of the trim. Because, you know, there's a version.
leg up to you under there.
Yeah.
And is he standing?
He's like,
it's like,
it's nice game today,
pal.
I always love,
we talk about this all the time in the hockey locker.
Or in the showers.
Are you letting the water hit your back or your chest?
And the guys can go back and are just like swinging dick in front of you.
I'm like, good for you.
I'm like,
if this guy is shaving.
Really.
You were never what?
I never showered after.
How did you?
Are you playing Chelsea's?
Or like,
where do you play?
In the city?
Yeah.
I play Chelsea Pier like roller hockey.
There are like,
there are like,
so when I did shower,
like at the rink i know i'm like i know um i always felt gross after i showered at the rink that i'd shower
when i got home anyway again so i was like why am i even showering at the ring in the first
i was just kind of like bro putting my clothes yeah putting on clothes why i would just wash them
yo no shit don't know what whoa whoa actually i just threw them back in the fucking drawer but uh
like um i am the same like if i wear my hockey gloves and i touch a clothing item like i will
not wear that shirt again yeah right right but like at the same time like
my parents always did my laundry and like it wasn't a concern you were such a bitch but were you
subway that's i was asking were you subway i am yeah so i'm like gross anyway but i'm like you can't
it doesn't just get a rinse in dude what are you talking yeah i just don't do it that is wild
like in like in like in like jackson hole and like bail i didn't shower yeah i'm going
this is still wild but when i know i'm going home after i just like getting back to this guy i think
the electric razor thing is the craziest part about this okay but bringing it to a beer the straight straight razor
A straight razor?
Like, do you mean literally like a Sweeney Todd straight razor or do you are by straight
you mean just like a normal razor?
I thought you had sweetie talk to.
I'm like this.
A straight razor is one that looks like a switchblade.
It's like one blade and oh, oh.
Is that what that is?
Yeah.
Like that's crazy.
Be careful, dude.
That's crazy.
I was like, bro, you are out of control today.
I thought we call those this.
I didn't know there was like a...
That's awesome.
No, a straight razor is a thing.
You just mean like a normal laser.
Yeah, yeah.
I'm like a normal razor.
Holy shit.
How do we clear that up?
Yeah, okay.
I don't shave my balls with the strait.
Okay, so you're fine if your beer league teammate is, is shaving at the rink as long as it's just a regular razor.
I, no, I don't care about the shaving.
I just think it's weird that anyone would use an electric over a regular.
Shaving, to me, is fine.
And the reasoning behind it's fine.
I agree.
Does he live with a woman?
Like, that's...
The reasoning I'm like, actually, you might be genius.
Yeah.
It is, like I said, I wouldn't kick this man out of the locker room, but you.
You this is crazy. It's a crazy move.
It's once a month.
I think anything kind of goes in the locker.
Yeah, that's what I'm saying.
I'm like, I wouldn't.
Yeah.
It's fucking nuts.
This is a nuts where you guys are, you guys are out of control for not acknowledging it's nuts.
I'm not saying it's bad, but it's a nuts move.
It's nuts to be like this.
I'm bringing my razor.
I'm gonna clean up, clean up the downstairs.
It's a little gross like your fucking pub shrapnel's all over the shower now.
Would you rather shower someone who was like a gross huge bush?
Yeah.
Yeah, I mean, I don't think if someone had a bush on my team, I would be like,
I would stare directly at it.
I would definitely, I would acknowledge it.
I would acknowledge it, for sure.
I'd be like this is your dick beards out of control.
But I wouldn't be like this.
You got to shave that right now.
Here, here.
This very moment, dude, I'd be like, go home and shave that, dude.
You can't play again.
You can't come back until that's gone.
It's a crazy move.
Again, I'm not kicking the guy out of the locker room, but this is, this is a,
crazy. I actually love it. I actually love it. And I think everyone should do it. I might start doing it.
No, you don't. You guys are out. Your hotline caller was it maybe last week or two weeks ago that was like,
by the way, it's me. It's me. Yeah. I imagine this is this guy. I'm the same guy. That's so good. I loved the
inclusion of like this. The guys are used to it. And I'm like yeah, yeah, you would get used to it.
Crazy move. Kind of respect it. But yeah, that's a lot. That is an absolute incredible flex.
I'm awful for it. Yeah. I'm in. Yeah. I'm in. Yeah. I mean, I like that he's keeping it tidy.
Yeah. Good for you.
Let's do a blind ranking together?
Oh, please.
Yeah, this is awesome.
Here we go.
All right, Wags, are you ready?
I am.
All right, Chris, what are we doing?
We are blind ranking guys with over 30, so 31 and up goals so far this season.
So is this, we're ranking their quality this year, not overall?
Yeah, that sounds.
Well, I guess that maybe is stupid because we'd just be like, who has more goals.
Well, no, because I'm sure that there are guys who might have more.
goals that I'm like no I actually think they're having a better season okay how many are
there there's like 16 okay no so it's been like a lower scoring yeah I know except for Leon
yeah like Leon's going and even that's like lower than you know what's he gonna finish like like I
don't want to that's a lot of goals I say yeah he's that is he not a 50 yet oh he's a 49
49 you know and now hurts or might you know it won't be that he's a chitload but we've
just been seeing such only we're seeing a bit of a dip this year dude that's like
yeah yeah so Lewis actually he texts me like is the NHL like is there a lower
They're not shooting anymore.
That's what it was.
Remember earlier this season?
They were like, the shooting is way down because the guys are waiting for the perfect shot.
I mean, we just watched the Kings beat the Bruins 7 to 2, and the final shots in the game were 23 and 12.
Yeah, like that's at the count.
Yeah.
Crazy.
Awful.
Okay, so this season.
We're doing this season.
This season.
Wags hit us.
Ryan Hart.
What a good year for him after last year, too.
I was like, you know, you hope you didn't get signed the deal, go down.
I think he's been great.
He's probably what?
Like, I love Ryan.
I love Ryan.
Where is he on the list?
I can't remember.
In the goal scoring list, I think he's like 10.
Okay, he's not quite as high as I thought.
I'm going to say four here.
I was thinking three.
Because to me, like, he's an elite goal score.
That's what I'm saying.
And per his standards, that's why I'm going four.
Because I'm like, he's going to finish the season with like 38 maybe, maybe less.
And I'm like, per his standards.
Yeah, okay.
I'm thinking four.
How many do you have last year?
57?
Yeah.
But let me ask you this.
So, like, I have a feeling like Shifley's on this list.
Who's a better goal score, Shifley or Reinhardt.
I still think Reinhardt is the better goal score.
I think Ryanhart's the better goal score,
but I would put Mark Shifley's year.
I like Shifley's game this year.
So we're doing this year.
Yeah, we're doing this year.
So I think four.
Don't let me bully you.
Okay.
I'll go for for, I'll go for because of his standard,
not because we're literally just saying he has less goals than people.
No, no, no.
Yeah.
Oh, okay.
So I get what we're doing.
Like, I don't want to go.
I don't want to go.
Just who has the most goals.
So he's below his standard.
Yeah.
That's kind of where we're going?
this season.
Yeah, like we're ranking goal scores with over 30 goals on their season this year.
Yeah.
Okay.
Ryan, I'm like four.
Four.
Yeah.
Four.
Mealander.
Above Sam, because he's having a great year.
He had 40 last year too now.
Yeah.
Yeah. I think so.
Do you have 40 yet?
No.
No.
38.
Oh, that's better than I thought, though, even.
Okay.
Then I actually might go, because he's going to finish.
Was 40's career high?
last year might have been his career high.
I think it was.
I think I actually now think he's about to break his career high in everything.
I love Willie's.
I'm not comfortable putting him one, though.
I love Willie's game this year.
I like a two.
I think Willie's been fantastic.
I mean,
he's like second in the league and goals.
And, you know,
yeah,
I think Willie's just been awesome.
I think he has emerged as,
he is the best player on that team this season.
Yeah,
I think that's right.
So I get two.
Two is second.
Yeah,
let's go.
So we have two and four last year.
Yeah.
Yep.
Okay.
Hey, goal.
Great.
Three.
But we can't go one, but we could.
We could go one.
Can't go one.
But he's having such a good year, dude.
I know, but this is like, I guess, yeah, by standard versus year, it's like a career year.
But he's not a better goal score than Neander.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So you want to go five.
I was thinking five.
No way.
If you give me a breakaway between Reinhart, Hegel, and Neelander, I'm putting, like,
Neander first, Reinhardt first.
Yeah, no, that's not.
And there's.
there's people, I'm mainly goal scores. Yeah, there's people having also good, better than standard years who are better goals scores than you. I'm actually kind of back on your side now.
I went from one to five
We're not ranking their goal scoring ability
We're ranking the players
But that's like part of it
It's part of it
It's part of it
I mean I've been outvoted here
I want to on record
You want one?
No I want three
I thought you guys just said five
We did we did
He said one
I said one
I went from one to five
Yeah you're out of your mind dude
I want three
But listen
Listen this is this is a democracy
If you guys want to go five
You can outvote me
But I'm on record saying Hags
I'm putting you three
What do you think?
Yeah.
Okay.
I just got cucked.
Yeah.
I got cucked on my own show.
Dry Cidal.
One.
Easy.
Has to be one.
It has to be one.
Has to be one.
Okay.
So only three is left.
Yes.
Only three remains.
I actually feel like this is going to go well for us.
Yeah.
Oh,
God.
This year.
That's great.
It's great.
There's a case for him.
Willie over Obechkin.
Willie over Ovechkin is a take.
Is a take?
But Willie's having a career.
Really is about to be a high.
Yeah.
But God.
The best one is about to become the best goals for ever to put a game.
Yeah.
And he also is, dude.
With a broken leg, he's still top five in the NHL in goals this year.
Well, imagine putting OBB at 5 because he would have landed at 5.
Yeah, that would have been good.
Good job, guys.
Good job.
Yeah, you're welcome.
Quick pause so we can chat about Southern Comfort, the one-of-a-kind, ready for anything spirit that is the perfect blend of fruit and spices.
And I love it.
And I've been telling you guys about some incredible mixers.
I've been cooking up.
I was on Diet Dr. Pepper.
I was on Vanilla Dr. Pepper from AMC Movie Theater.
Dan's been on some orange soda, then we got lemonade.
But the key is there's comfort zones for all of us, and you've got to find yours.
So I want you to keep sending me in some amazing Southern comfort cocktails.
Here's the favorite one I got in the DM.
Mountain Dew.
Now, I'm a diet Mountain Dew guy because I'm trying to get off the sugar, but either one, Mountain Dew.
My favorite part about the DM, the person said, is it called, is this new cocktail called Mountain Comfort or Southern Dew?
That is a tough question because they both.
sound phenomenal, not as phenomenal as it tastes, which is insanely good. But wow, what a cocktail
name. I want to go mountain comfort, I think, just because it makes me feel like I'm an outdoorsy
guy. I'm sitting on the back deck of my ranch, got my fresh mountain comfort in my hand,
feeling on top of the world. But Southern Dew, now I'm at a minor league baseball game,
sitting with the sun on my face. I don't know. They're both fantastic. Either way,
I want you to find your comforts on the way I've been finding mine. Keep sending in those amazing
Southern Comfort Cocktails, and soon we will crack the greatest one of all time.
Okay, Wags, we're doing, Dan, we made it, last week we made it harder and it got easier.
Yeah.
So we're going to do that again.
Wag's going to give us five things that could happen in the league this year and five out of
our odds, and we are going to match them.
Thanks for our friends at BADMGM, Wags hit us.
Helly to win the heart, Nate to win the heart, Mack to win the Calder, Lane to win the
Calder, Werensky to win the Norris.
And then for odds we have plus 250, minus 130, minus 110, plus 325, and minus 210.
Okay, I have an idea.
Okay, okay.
We could do this.
Minus 130 to me is Nate, two in the heart.
That's the biggest favorite.
That's the minus 210 is the biggest favorite here.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So do you think that, do you think Nate has, what?
What of these things do you think is most likely to happen?
Nate?
Because I think maybe Orensky when, no.
No.
No.
I mean, it's not hell about doing the heart.
No.
I think Helly to win the heart is probably going to be plus two-fifth or plus three-twenty-five.
I agree with that.
In fact, let's do that.
Yeah, I agree with that.
Helly to win heart is going to be plus three-25.
Okay.
I think, damn, this is interesting.
Something being minus two-10.
That's another plus, right?
Yeah, so we've got, we've got plus 250.
So what else is unlike?
There was, I think it's, I think it's Norris.
I think, I think it's Werencki Norris.
I would go plus 250 on Roensky-Norris.
Yeah.
Yeah, dude.
And like Quinn is also insane.
But I guess the blue jackets fell off a little.
I like that.
I like that.
Okay, okay.
Yeah.
So now what is, I actually think you're right.
I love, so we've got minus 130.
We've got minus 1-10.
We've got minus 1-30 and minus 1-10.
I think minus 1-30 and minus 1-10 is so perfectly maclin.
and Lane. Like, they're very close.
So what's the minus 2-10?
I think it's Nate Hart.
Oh, you think Nate's minus 210.
Yeah.
Okay, Nate minus 210.
And then I would say,
Wayne is minus 130.
I think Lane is more likely to win right now.
And then Mac is 110.
All right, Wags, we're going to go.
Helly to win Hart is plus 325.
Nate to win Hart is minus 210.
Mac to win, Calder is minus 110.
Lane to win Calder is minus 130.
Norse, to win Norris is plus 250.
Tell us we clean sweet.
None of them are ready.
None of them are ready?
None?
Oh my God, dude.
I felt so confident about that too.
I was so, I was like, holy shit.
We absolutely nailed this.
Okay, my knee jerk is to swap Roensky and Hellie.
Okay.
So Heli is plus 250 and Rarensky is 325.
Okay.
Or was it?
Yeah, 325.
So then,
Do you think Lane is all the way up to minus 210?
Like, could Lane to win Calder be minus 210?
Who would be in the running for MVP with Nate right now?
Leon.
True.
Sorry.
You fucking idiot.
Okay, Lane minus 210.
My initial thought was Nate minus 130.
Okay, yeah, you did say that early.
So let's do that.
But that doesn't make sense now because we need to do Mac not 110.
So maybe it's a Mac 210 and Lane 110.
I'm okay with that.
Yeah, I suppose.
All right.
We're going to go,
Helly Hart plus 250,
Nate Hart minus 130,
Mack Calder minus 210,
Lane Calder minus 110,
Werenstki, Norris,
plus 325.
You got two right.
Which ones?
Which one?
You got Lane and Werenski right.
Fuck.
Okay, okay.
I really want to be right.
Damn, dude.
So this is,
so there's something,
all right, we got.
So Lane was minus 210.
That was what we could.
No, Lane was minus 110.
Oh, minus 110.
110.
110.
Which means, guys, the biggest long shot, or no, the second biggest long shot at plus 250 is going to have to be Nate or Mac.
That is kind of crazy.
No way.
So that means they have hella Buckhart at minus 1.30 or minus 210.
That is crazy.
Dude.
What?
We tried Nate at minus 210 and minus 130.
Yes.
Right?
Yes.
We already tried that.
Does that means he has to be 250?
No, he could be minus 210.
Or do we do minus 210 for him?
Is that we just that we did?
I think we did.
We did. We did.
So I think Nate has to be plus 250.
How is that possible?
He's 100 and he leads the league in points.
That can't be right.
So Nate is plus 250.
And that means that we have, what do we have left?
minus 210 and minus
130. Yeah, so it would have to be Mac.
I'm going to say
damn.
And we just
we just did minus
210 for Mac. So Mac has to be
130. Mac has to be minus 130.
Yeah. And
hell of hell of luck for the heart is 2.10.
What? Is that right? All right. Yeah.
What? Holy shit.
I'm putting money on me to win heart
right now. Me too.
What's $2.50, dude.
But it's insane.
They're not going to give it to them.
Yeah, they absolutely could.
Hella book to win the heart at minus 2.10 is nasty.
When's the last time I always won the heart?
Carrie Price.
So 20, like 15 probably?
Yeah, I think so.
That is wild.
Absolutely wild.
Yeah, that is nuts.
Huge, huge episode.
Johnny, thank you so much for being here.
Love you guys.
We're going to do a nice blade tomorrow.
Yeah.
So, guys, pay attention to the story because we're going to be ripping.
But unbelievable stuff today.
A lot of stuff to keep our eyes on.
wild card race remains hot in the streets.
We'll keep you guys updated with everything.
We'll see you later this week.
Make sure to check us out on the page.
Make sure to subscribe to the YouTube.
Make sure to check out Morning Cup hockey.
Oh, thank you.
What days do those drop?
Monday to Thursday, 9 to 10 a.m. Eastern on the daily Facebook YouTube channel.
There you go.
And until we see you next time, remember, as always, to Blade Hard.
Whoa.
And Skate Hard.
