Empty Netters Podcast - The Mammoth Are The COLDEST Team In The NHL And Are Making Playoffs
Episode Date: January 27, 2026Get the watered down drinks ready in Utah because the Mammoth are playoff bound, book it! The Ducks can’t lose since the boys hit the Take Flight button. And what’s the deal with goalie play in th...e NHL these days? Gavin McKenna and Penn State might have learned how to putt. American Football and movies are the greatest friend hangs in the world. And the beer league hotline will warm your heart NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! Watch full episodes, shorts, and clips right here on YouTube. Listen to the podcast on Spotify or anywhere you get your pods. Subscribe & follow Empty Netters everywhere: YouTube: / @emptynetters Instagram: @EmptyNetters TikTok: @EmptyNetters X: @EmptyNetters PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Thanks to our Sponsors! BetMGM: Use bonus code NETTERS when signing up to receive up to $1500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. Bauer: Get your hands on Bauer’s newest innovation — the PULSE stick — and feel the difference. Get your hands on one at https://Bauer.comLUCY: Order your LUCY Today by going to https://www.lucy.co/Friday and use promo code FRIDAY for 20% off your first order Seat Geek: Use our code for 10% off your next SeatGeek order*: https://seatgeek.onelink.me/RrnK/EMPTYNETTERS10 Sponsored by SeatGeek. *Restrictions apply. Max $20 discount Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (Available in the US) 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY) 1-800-327-5050 (MA), 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-981-0023 (PR) 21+ only. Please Gamble Responsibly. See BetMGM.com for Terms. First Bet Offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable. In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. This promotional offer is not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast.
Can you believe what this has become?
There was a full 48 hours where I felt like I was like literally Superman.
Jumbo loves playing Fortnite, so he gets on the sticks.
Did TR show you the sauna cycle or was that all year?
No, no, I invented that.
Almost a year now that I haven't taken a body check.
That's kind of nice.
Finish tonight with some chicken fingers and a few guineasas is right into you guys.
That's where this pod came to life.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast,
Brought to you by BetMGM.
I'm your host.
Dan Powers is over here on the sticks.
He looks amazing because he's got a twinkle in his eye and gold in his soul.
John Buffini.
Oh, shucks.
How are you, pal?
Good.
Great.
Excellent.
Fantastic.
And over here to my left, he looks amazing because he's wearing a sweater that I bought him.
Chris Powers.
As always, that was actually nice.
I was about to complain that you always get good shit and I always get bad shit.
No, you don't get bad shit.
You get honest shit.
Yeah.
You get real shit.
And everything is real.
about Sean too. It's just all good. Yeah, he's just a good, he's a perfect man.
Fuck. We addressed this last episode. Sean just has always dropping nuggets of truth and he's just
the best guy in the world. Actually, I want to see, can we clip that? It's probably maybe, it's a five
second clip. Yeah, that's just that, that's just how it is. It's probably going to be not as good as I
want. What's going to not be as good as you want? Yeah, I wish this had been better. Dude, I, I'm not
mad that I have a burner Instagram, but I swear sometimes it hurts my engagement when I try to use
it because everyone's like, this is a bot or something. I just think my comments deserve more
appreciation and they are squandered by my gray picture and no post. But in the Venmo thing,
I did, my only comment is Sean Goat emoji. And it has six likes.
Aw. Thank you. Dude, I mean, you're getting a lot of love in that post. Because it's the truth.
I mean, it's like our reaction to it.
I was just like, it was the same thing as the fries dilemma.
Someone commented too, Sean, and says, yep, clapping emoji.
I love him in the mix, exclamation point, king emoji, goat emoji, wizard emoji.
Wow.
That's high praise.
That's special.
That's incredible.
I mean, that is true, special stuff.
That's fantastic.
Fuck.
What's also fantastic is hot ice, everything going on in the league right now.
We got to start with the Utah mammoth.
Dude, the mammoth, you know what I really like is when players go like this?
Yeah, the cold palmer.
Yep, cold palmer.
Trey Young does it, I think.
Ice tea.
Ice cold, yeah.
Is that his nickname, Ice tea?
I think so.
That's pretty sweet.
Ice tray, maybe, or some shit.
Pretty sweet.
And I would like the mammoth to have that.
I feel like it's the mammoth.
go like this. We cold with a mammoth. But I know that there are other teams that would say we're
colder than Utah. Like the avalanche probably. And then all the Canadian teams win a peg.
I mean winter peg, Calgary and. But the Calgary are the flames. Like you can't go. We're cold.
And I'm like, you're a fire. You are literally fired. Do we ever thought about how ironic that name is?
The Calgary Flames? Why are they the flames?
Can we look that up?
I look that up right now.
But yeah, you're in northern Canada.
It gets quite cold up there, and you are called the flames.
That's interesting.
Because the mammoth...
Wait, wait, don't we know this?
It's because they came over from Atlanta.
The Atlanta flames.
They were the Atlanta flames.
That makes sense.
See, and...
Oh, whoa.
Uh-oh.
I feel like something bad happened.
It's crazy.
Okay, I have two comments now.
Okay.
One, I strongly feel that team should have to change names, and I think this is a pretty common take.
But it's like when the Minnesota North Stars go to Dallas and then because actually that one's kind of weird because the Stars almost works for Dallas.
I don't know, it just feels like Sheriff to me.
You're like you're a Texas Ranger.
They're all wearing Stars.
Yes.
Yeah.
Wait, I never put that together.
That makes so much sense.
Stars and like the Texas Ranger thing.
It is.
It is like the Texas Ranger.
Do you know what the Texas Rangers are?
Texas Rangers, like the, isn't that like a football team?
It's not like a sportsball team.
Close.
Yeah, it's a baseball team.
It's a baseball team.
It's a baseball team.
It's a sports ball team.
It is a sports team.
It's cricket.
It is a cricket.
But like the Dallas Cowboys have a star on, like that is their logo.
So like, fair.
And I wonder if that one is actually a good one.
Oh, you're paying respect, but also making it yours.
Because they were the Minnesota North Star, Sean.
That was a hockey team.
Yeah.
Because of course, the North Star,
Yeah.
And then they...
Hold on.
I'm not sure I'm okay with us saying, of course.
Dude, the stars are out everywhere in the sky.
I get it.
But what?
More so than...
There's not a team in Maine and there wasn't a team in Seattle.
So that Minnesota is probably the north...
The northernmost...
Probably pretty close.
But the U.S. does loop.
It does smile.
The U.S. does smile.
Does smile.
So maybe they're not that north.
But it is objectively more north than Dallas.
So the fair.
They were the north stars.
They moved to Dallas.
And they changed their name to the Dallas star.
they dropped the north.
Right.
So I thought it was either, I mean, when you said like Texas Ranger, I was like, oh, yeah,
because like sheriffs and stuff have like a star, but then I realized like Texas is like the
lone star state.
Isn't it like their flag has like one star on it?
It's even cooler.
It's even cooler.
That must have been considered.
It's kind of nice.
When they went down there, they must have said, let's just keep stars because it's the
lone star state.
Cowboys have a star.
Rangers.
It's in the sheriff stuff.
It does make.
Makes sense.
So then there was also a Minnesota basketball team called the Lakers, because there's lakes.
It's the land of a thousand, 10,000 lakes.
And then they moved to Los Angeles and just kept it, the Los Angeles Lakers.
And I'm like, there's no water here.
It hasn't rained in a billion years.
That's so funny.
You need to change your name.
But then they didn't.
And now everyone's like, oh, it's L.A. Lakers.
And I'm like, no.
It's very strange.
That's so funny.
LACERS, it's funny because it sounds so iconic.
I know.
There's a bit of alliteration there.
Yeah.
But L.A. Lakers makes no sense.
So yeah, I wish teams had to change their name if you're going to move.
If you're going to move them, you've got to change the name.
But then what's the point of view in buying a team if you don't get the brand recognition?
I think because, well, I think you don't want it.
Like the Arizona Coyotes were the hockey team and then they moved last year and became the Utah Mammoth.
Because the Utah Coyotes would have been fucking ridiculous.
I will say Mammoth is a dope name.
It's incredible.
And they did, they did, Sean.
They did the whole thing with the fans.
They released a ton of options and then the fans voted.
Like that won.
Actually, I think they were trying to be the Yeti.
And then the Yeti, the Yeti, it's like, cooler sued them.
And it was like, no.
So then it went to Mammoth.
So you create your own thing with your new fan base.
And hopefully you keep some Arizona fans, but maybe not.
But, you know, now you've got a thing where you're building.
Actually wonder that.
That's such a good question.
I feel as though there are so many Yotes fans who must be so loyal to their play.
players that they're like, I'm still going to root for them.
I'd be rooting for them.
Yeah.
I don't know.
People get mad about that.
I don't think that if you're in Arizona, you have any sort of rivalry or anger towards Utah.
Yeah.
So this, before we even get into that, I'm about to sneeze.
Oh, log it, log it.
Oh, my God.
Only two.
Only two.
Hang on.
I don't want you to move on.
I don't know what you're ready to say next, but Atlanta Flames, why are they called?
Okay.
So this is where I was going.
So first of all, it was the Atlanta Flames, which I think adds to this argument because then moving to Calgary and staying the flames is fucking insane.
The Calgary Flames.
Ridiculous.
How about the fucking icicles?
How about the fucking ice flames?
How about the Calgary Snowmen?
Yeah, dude.
Activate Fireblades, dude.
Calgary fucking fireblades.
That'd be sick.
So, yeah.
But I will say, however, Calgary Flames is one of the best logos in the league.
And so then it says that's why they're the flames because they just came over ridiculous.
They should have changed your name.
And then it says this.
The name originates from their time is the Atlanta Flames, who were named originally to commemorate the burning of Atlanta during the U.S. Civil War.
Oh, my God.
I'm like, why in the fuck?
Why are we commemorating that?
Was that a good time?
Hold on.
That's like if we were like the Irish famished or something.
Genuinely.
That's not a good part of our history.
Truly.
Or like L.A.
I mean, you could do that with L.A. with the fires.
Yeah.
Or like the L.A. earthquakes.
Yeah.
Isn't there an MLS team named the quakes?
Like the San Jose.
Dude,
The Irish famine.
The Irish famine.
And then, John, hilariously, you, your franchise transfers to another country and remains the famine.
Yeah.
Why is your logo a starving man?
I don't know.
They were starving in Ireland once.
Are we misinterpreting the burning of Atlanta in the Civil War?
Like, was that, like, a good moment?
What side was Atlanta on in the Civil War?
I gotta believe the South.
Okay.
I promise you that it would be very strange if the city of Atlanta during the Civil War,
what also...
Yeah, because it's like Atlanta, Georgia, and that's like super sexy.
Oh, yeah.
I highly doubt that they were an undercover.
Northern allies down in Atlanta.
It says,
The burning of Atlanta was the widespread destruction
of the city's military and industrial infrastructure
by Union forces under General William T. Sherman
in November 1864, shortly before his march to the sea,
crippling Confederate resources and morale
by burning railroads, factories, and warehouses
to prevent their use by the South,
while not directly targeting homes, the fire spread,
leaving much of the city in ruins and thousands homeless,
marking a significant blow in the Civil War.
This is...
Go, flames, go.
It's...
That is truly crazy to name your team after that.
It is insane.
I mean, objectively, the thousands homeless and people's homes destroyed,
and I imagine many people dead, not good,
obviously a great moment for the Civil War,
given that Union forces were able to hurt the Confederacy,
but what are we doing naming the Atlanta team after that?
The Calgary Flames.
Anyway, we're talking about the Utah Mammoth.
Yep, and I just want them to be cold.
I think the mammoth deserved to go like us.
They're cold.
Boom.
They're cold.
They're cold.
I also think Utah has claimed to be colder than Colorado.
Right?
Do you think so?
Denver is the sunniest city in the country.
Did you know that?
Denver gets more sun than L.A.
Yeah.
They're really sunny.
So I don't think
We yeah, I think
Utah gets that
And when we've been skiing
In Colorado and Utah
I do feel like Utah is always colder
Yeah probably
I mean Montana
But there's no team
No
We could get a team
There should be a Montana team
Yeah
Has there been any great
Tragedies in Montana
We could name the team after
Or we just go
You know the Montana palm trees
Yeah
Yeah
And we're like
They came
We moved them
Yeah, the Montana Dolphins.
Yep, Don.
Gators.
We moved Florida Gators, college team.
We made them a pro team in Montana.
So, all right.
We're talking about the Mammoth.
We're actually going to do it this time.
They've got the first wildcard spot right now with a three-point cushion.
They're only nine points behind Dallas.
And nine points is a lot.
But for a time, we had talked about those three teams in the Central being a lock.
No one would ever catch them.
Dallas and Minnesota are kind of slipping.
In fact, if you look at the last 10 games for all three of college,
Colorado, Dallas, and Minnesota.
They're not great.
Their record of all of their last 10 games.
Yep.
Agree. The Aves.
Okay, a couple things.
One, you're right, but no one is catching them.
I think you agree with that.
Those three teams are going to be the three teams in the Central in some order.
Actually, I'll even say this.
The Aves are going to win the Central.
I guarantee it.
Dallas and Minnesota are going to be second and third in the Central in some order.
I guarantee it.
Yeah.
I am also...
Uh-oh.
deading Colorado's chance to break the point record. I think so too. Good day. Thanks for fucking
coming out. Not on my watch. Bruins forever. That's over. Um, Colorado, however, maybe prefers that.
Because the, you got it. Bruins lost in the first round. The lightning lost in the first round.
It happens a lot. So just don't do it. Ease the tension, baby. Don't break it. Ease the tension. Don't break it.
Their goal differential still just cracks me up. It's unbelievable. But what I love the
about the mammoth. They're playing
great. Five wins in a row.
Want to talk about Clayton Keller. Three goals, four assists
in his last four games. Leader of this team. They got a lot of guys
buzzing. But what I love is specifically about Keller. I think he has 50 points in
51 games now. His heater
kind of comes on the tales of being named to Team USA
when I think there were some people being like... When I said he's having one of the
worst years in recent memory. Yeah. And people were like, does Keller need to be on
this team? And he was like, I'll show.
show you why I need to be on this team.
And the last couple games, he's played unbelievable,
making highlight real place.
Plus 18, too.
That's fucking great.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
He's buzzet.
It's fantastic.
Go.
It's really fun to watch because this team last year was such a,
they were honestly the ducks of this year.
Coming into the preseason,
everybody was like, mammoth, mammoth, mammoth,
they're making playoffs.
Arizona played well, Logan Cooley.
All these guys are awesome.
Yeah.
And then they got,
decimated.
And I'm actually using that word correctly.
Okay.
You know what that word means?
Here comes another crazy tangent.
Do you know what the word decimated means or where it comes from?
No.
I believe Roman, someone's going to fucking ether me if this is wrong.
But a Roman armies would fight in units, 10 units.
Like they would bring up, they'd be like, boom, your chunk.
Decimal.
Yeah.
So then if one got wiped out, they'd be like, oh, we've been decimated.
Like, we lost one tenth of our fleet.
Brilliant.
And I feel like we always use it now, meaning like,
destroy destruction.
And I'm like, you lost one tenth.
Yeah, it's not that bad.
Yeah.
So they've been more than decimated.
They've been decimated twice over with injuries last year.
Remember they lost like every defenseman on earth?
And I was like, oh, okay.
Yeah.
And they kind of had a little fight in them.
But it was just too little too late last year.
And then I thought this year, man, what a disappointment.
Because they were so hyped about playoffs.
And now they stink and they will always stink.
And everything sucks.
now they don't suck
and that's kind of fun
I think it's so fun
I also think vibes in Utah
in playoffs would be gas
yeah people ordering
dude people pre-gaming
going to the bar
go can I get a drink
they go no problem
here's less liquor
than you would get in a drink
in any other state
and they go oh dope
you know what
now games on Sunday
can we have a drink
and they go nope
no alcohol on Sunday
but enjoy the game
yeah it's gonna be so sick
we actually just got hit up
by Utah's
I know I actually want to go
and we've got to talk to them
about
You know what I desperately want to do?
I want to go to Utah and ski all day and get off the mountain and take shower and drive over to the arena and go to a game.
I'm not sure I can think of a better day.
How far is the rink from – are they in the Delta Center still?
Yeah.
They're in the Delta Center forever.
Forever.
Like how far is Alta from Delta Center?
It is?
It doesn't even matter.
I bet it's 38 minutes.
36 minutes.
That was really good, Dan.
Thank you.
That's so easy.
That was really good.
I'll ski all day.
Yeah, because you can stay.
Dude, you get your place in Salt Lake City.
Exactly.
And then you just boom.
That's what we always do.
I always, we always get a house in Salt Lake City, and then drive to the mountains.
So I'll just ski, get off the mountain at like four, drive home, shower, and then go to Delta.
God, dude.
I have the best day of my life.
There's a top golf right there.
There's a Buffalo Wildlings right there.
There are two Buffalo Wildlings.
You're telling me.
We're going to drive.
The route takes us directly past two Buffalo Wild Wings.
We've got to find out how far apart these Buffalo Wild Wings are.
They're treating Buffalo Wild Wings like Starbucks in Utah.
That's crazy.
There's two on every corner.
A whole lot.
Have you ever been to New York City?
Yes, yeah.
Have you ever, or I don't know if you've seen,
the moments when you're in New York City and you are standing on a corner outside of a Starbucks
and you look across the street and there's a Starbucks there as well is one of
And I'm like, this is madness.
I think it's San Diego airport and Terminal 2, where you can do that.
You can stand at one Starbucks and look about 45 feet down the terminal and see another Starbucks.
And I'm like, what was the point of this?
Dude, sometimes.
Can we not get a coffee bean in here?
Sometimes in Boston a lot with dunks.
But sometimes it's on Route 1, for example, and there's a guard or whatever that you can't cross.
Right.
Like there's a guard.
You can't turn.
Yeah, it's a median.
So it's like there's a dunks across the street, but I'm like, well, those serve two different people because like you can't get, you can't, you know, you can't U-turn.
So it's like actually kind of nice.
But I love a fucking airport terminal where I'm like, I could just walk there.
Like this is it, this is a traffic issue.
The most American thing ever is not being able to walk across the street because of car infrastructure.
So you just build another of the thing on your side of the street.
And of course, that thing is a donut shop.
Yeah, yeah.
These Buffalo Wildlands are a 16-minute drive apart in Salt Lake City.
That feels close.
Yeah.
But, I mean, that could still be like, I could see how those are like, that's okay.
16 is okay.
If it was like four, I'd be like that's insane.
Yeah.
Okay, dude, so perfect day.
Perfect day in Utah.
And Utah, stay hot, dude.
Stay hot.
Stay hot.
And also Utah will see you soon.
Like I said, we just got hit up by the mammoth, the mammoth.
Mimuth.
And we're going to come get some stuff crack.
You know what's exciting?
Not Cracket.
I was going to say, pun intended.
What's exciting is right now the wild card is Mammuth, 58, Sharks 55, Kings 55.
And games are slightly skewed.
Sharks 55, Kings 55, Krakken 55.
And I will put in the Preds 52.
I think I'm deading the Hawks, I think.
From the playoffs?
Yep.
Yeah.
But maybe not.
Only five points back.
No, no.
That wasn't me saying, yeah, I'm deadening that.
And you were probably deading the Preds.
I'm keeping them alive because I believe, and I always believe this.
Here's my thing.
Like, I'm, the Preds are above 500.
And the, as far as point percentage.
Yeah, yeah.
And the Hawks are below 500.
And I think through 52 games to be below 500 is tough.
But at the same time, we've seen it before.
Yeah.
So I'm not going to get, I will not dead them.
But that means, you know, we've got two spots for mammoth, sharks, kings, cracking.
Yeah.
You know, I'm putting ducks in.
So, yeah, like, the, mammoth, dude, you could make it.
Yeah.
It's not like there's teams.
It's not like there's the getting healthy panthers behind them surging where you're like,
Oh, shit.
For sure.
You know, like you could make it.
For sure.
You could make it.
It would actually feel sick, Dan, that I'm putting the, well, they're not in for sure,
but I just believe the Kings are making playoffs.
So that means one of mammoth, sharks, and Crackin.
Yeah.
We'll probably get in.
And I'm like, fuck yeah.
Yeah.
100%.
Let's talk about another team that's streaking.
You just mentioned them.
Anaheim Ducks.
Is there anything that happened to the Ducks that has spawned to this seven-game win streak?
I feel like.
Because they were slumping big time.
Big time.
They were in a rut.
They had fallen out.
They fell out of first in the Pacific, then they fell out of top three in the Pacific.
They fell out of a wild card spot.
Yeah.
They were in big, big trouble.
And then I swear something happened.
And now they've won seven straight and now they're making playoffs easily.
They needed a boost.
They needed some mojo.
God, I can't.
They needed someone to help them take flight.
That's what it was.
My hand is still not right.
That's what it was.
We went down to the Honda Center.
We hammered the take flight button.
Take it easy.
We thought the crowd fired up.
We inspired the boys, and now the ducks are the best team in hockey.
That is all true, except we did nothing.
We did everything.
Well, listen, we went down there, and we gave a little bit of,
but the boys did it, and that's why they're still doing it.
They've won seven straight.
Beckett, your boy, got his first NHL Hattie last night, Sunday night.
Unbelievable, Kreider, goal as well.
Here's the thing.
The duckies, they're back in top three in the Pacific.
They could win the Pacific.
They're one point behind Edmonton, I believe with the game in hand, and there are only three points behind Vegas.
And how many games? Vegas is sitting on a bunch of games, though, right?
Only one. Only one. Okay. I believe Vegas has three, has played 51, Edmonton, 53, and the duckies 52.
Okay, yeah. Wow, wow, wow. Yes, that's actually tight. That's actually tight. Vegas is always, Vegas is weird as fuck, dude.
Absolutely. Absolutely. But it is funny, you know, they've got 62 points, 60 points, and 59 points. And then if you just go down, the sharks have 55, and the kings have 55.
and Seattle has 55.
So, like, it's all tied in this.
And they only have 50 games, those guys.
Yeah, true.
You got to win them.
You got to win them.
But technically, they're tied if they get, they goes games in hand.
We, the ducks are awesome, dude.
It's been so sick, watching them be good.
Such a fun team.
I really, really want them to make playoffs.
I actually am very sure they're going to make playoffs.
Similar to what we just said about the abs, I'm glad they had that dip then.
Yeah.
You know, it's a long season.
These are young guys.
they need to feel some adversity.
They did. This is a good time to surge.
Grabbing a couple wins here. I hope they get to Olympic Break Strong.
Get some rest.
Leo Carlson get healthy.
Helier. Boom. We're off and running.
Because they have entered.
It's a disaster if they miss.
You think so?
Yeah.
I don't know if I'm ready for the word disaster.
It is.
I think it is a massive disappointment.
They were first in the Pacific till like Christmas.
I know.
but you can't, I don't think you can say disaster when you have this young team with everyone
under contract.
But it's, it's, and also everyone is so happy and chill.
Yeah, true, true.
That's a thing.
That's a thing.
When Vancouver, this is going to be such a ricochet shot in Vancouver, and I apologize,
when Vancouver was the best team in the league.
Yep.
And then the next year they were bad again, that was a disaster because they were, you know,
contracts coming up. There was rumors of players being unhappy and wanting trades and look at how
many trades we've seen. Everyone in Anaheim is like, I fucking love it here. Let's keep rocking.
So I think it would be a massive disappointment. I'm not ready to use the word disaster.
But massive disappointment falls in the same category as you got to make playoffs. So they got to keep this up.
Yep. Beckett. I don't even want to talk about this really, but Beckett.
The, where are you currently at? So preseason.
This is what I didn't want to talk about, but whatever.
Fuck it.
Fuck it.
Tell me if you want.
Beckett, preseason, or sorry, not preseason, after opening night.
Okay.
We went to Ducky's opening night.
Yeah.
And I was like, man, this team looks so good.
And Beckett looked so ready.
So NHL ready.
He's unbelievable.
In one game.
And they had played some road games, but I was like, holy shit, this kid is like unfaced.
I sprinkled Beckett called her.
Yeah.
Then.
Yeah, you did.
And right now, Demadoff has 43 points.
Beckett has 41.
And Schaefer has 34.
And I had said a while ago, we had all been like, oh, it's Schaefer, it's Schaefer.
I think as of right now, and we'll do our three-quarter season awards eventually.
But I'm wondering where you're at, Dan, with we had said, well, it's the Lane Hudson thing.
Like, it's not really a point race because if Schaefer's in the mix, like it's obviously Schaefer, the islanders are in the mix.
playoffs. It's incredible. He turned the entire city around, turn the entire island around.
Yeah. But it's morphing away from Schaefer for me right now.
I believe that it's not as much of a runaway for Schaefer as it once was. I'll agree.
And I want to give props to Demidoff.
Oh, we, we probably win right now. I don't know about that. I still think it's probably
amongst players, I think it's still
probably Schaefer, but I still put Walsett up there.
Fowleston is still amongst the league leaders.
He's definitely fallen off a little bit
with goals against, I think.
But save percentage, I believe he's
fifth in the league in save percentage.
He's second in the league in shutouts.
And we're talking about a rookie.
I know.
A rookie goaltender.
But what's really exciting
about the Calder race is it is
very much a race.
We've got a lot of dollars.
Fun one.
Got a lot of horses in this race now.
Which is very cool.
This will be one where usually you're like, obviously I know the top three, so let's see
what they go with.
And this one, I'll be like, man, making a final.
Like the top three finals will be something of an announcement too.
No doubt.
No doubt.
Ducks in playoffs, I think is an absolute blast.
They're, oh my God, dude.
It's always awesome when there's a little bit of new blood.
We hadn't seen it in a while.
about at the top of the year, how the stock that you should be putting into the Anaheim
ducks and the San Jose sharks. And it is so wild. And how cyclical the world is, it feels like
we are on a crash course to the ducks and the sharks being massive, massive players and
contenders for the next 10 years. And that's pretty cool. Yeah, it's amazing. You wanted to talk
about some goalie stuff. Dude, I just had, I found a cool thing on Reddit that was so interesting.
average across the entire league I'm sure there's a minimum start but across the
entire league every goalie save percentage I'm gonna read you from the 2016 season
all the way to so far this season okay nine 13 save percentage nine 12 so hold on
say this is the this is the average the average save percentage of every goalie in
the league I'm sure with some minimum start so it's not like this one guy played one
game and then tanked the say percentage got it the average goalie say percentage
across every goalie in the league,
26th scene season to now.
913, 912, 910, 910, 908, 907, 9.04, 903, 900, 897.
Just steady plummeting every year since 2016.
And I'm, and we've seen points go way, you know,
that's not that surprising to me because I'm like,
oh, yeah, now people are pumping in points.
But sometimes there's such clear things.
Oh, we reduce goalie equipment size.
Yeah.
Go even farther back.
With a single piece sticks, one piece fiberglass sticks, like, you know, things change.
You can say Bauer has, is making the best sticks on planet Earth now.
Yeah, Bauer just pumping in.
Yeah, stop it, Bauer.
Literally, chill, dude.
Don't ever stop.
You can give these guys a pulse.
Bauer should only make sticks for us.
Agree.
Like, we, I need.
That's what I'm saying.
I'm a plug.
We need these guys don't need this type of stick.
It's unbelievable.
To Connor McDavid.
That would be in CCCM, but you can't give a pulse to somebody.
David Paws.
David Posternack.
So, but goalies, I'm like, I swear I'm looking at like the best goalies in the league.
Like the goalies are better than they've ever been.
I know it's really funny when you look across the league and we did this with Olympics,
thinking about how many unbelievable goalies there are for all of these different nations.
It feels like there are so many elite goalies in the league right now.
So many.
Yeah.
I wonder if this has to do with,
how heavy the tandem vibes are these days?
Maybe?
Yeah.
I think that is it.
You know, back in the day,
we were living in days where Martin Bruder was playing 72 games in an NHL season.
Right.
That's pumping those numbers up.
That's a good take, actually.
Let me think about that.
I wonder maybe where...
So backups are getting in more.
Yeah.
Who are theoretically worse.
Theoretically.
Some teams have a luxury too great.
It doesn't mean you're a bad goalie,
but theoretically a little bit worse than your start.
Not as great as you're a start.
I wonder if total, I've always thought this,
I wonder if total shots are down
because I swear
people take more calculated shots now.
Instead of just being like, just get it on the cage,
which was a mantra for a long time.
I think now it's like, no, dude,
just don't flick it on there.
It's a waste of possession.
That's a turnover.
Yeah.
Get it, get it cross sight line,
sight line, sign, bang, shot goal.
Yeah.
Fuck you.
Fuck you.
Because I do see some games, dude.
The other day it was like, oh, it was the fucking Tampa game, dude.
Fucking Tampa Blue Jackets was like 8-5.
But I was looking at, it was like four, it was 5-4 with 10 minutes to go in the second period.
And each team had taken like 12 shots.
And I was like, it's 5-4.
Trace.
What is going on, dude?
So maybe it's that.
But I don't know.
I'm looking at these numbers here that you shared with us.
And it looks like, you know, what are these?
It doesn't show me what it is.
Are these goals scored on the left and then shots on the right?
Yeah.
So like there's more shots in 2025 than there were in 20.
Let me see if I can find that because that doesn't make sense, eh?
Like the math, that ain't math and at all.
Oh, here it is.
I feel like there's just as many shots.
Oh, no, it's just a screenshot from them.
Right.
Either way.
I wonder what that means.
It's interesting.
We're just scoring a lot of goals.
We're scoring a lot of goals.
And in the net.
I'm here for it because I like this.
I like a, what's your dream?
You go to an NHL game.
Yeah.
Boom.
Not a team that you are rooting for.
Actually, sure.
Whatever.
But you go to an NHL game.
You had a drink before.
Everybody's excited.
You got great seats.
I just skied.
You just skied.
I just had a full day of skiing.
Skied, B-dub.
Yeah.
You skied.
You hit B-dub for a pre-game drink.
Then B-dubs for a pre-game, different B-dubs for a pre-game meal.
Yeah.
B-dub drink.
B-dub-w wangs.
Whing.
Whangs.
then get to the rink you get to the rink got great seats got it what's your dream score score
four three in o t i think four three is a perfect hockey score seven goals yeah yeah so it's a goal
for every period average goals per game and an extra one for the o t yeah a little a little free hockey
a little free hockey okay dan so here you go graph of average goals per game in the n hl
This doesn't go
Up to recent enough
Fuck that graph
Hold on
Um
Yes
Goals
No
This cannot be right
Do you think this is per team
I don't know
You're losing the plot with us here
I'm just so curious
If seven is what we're seeing
Here we go
Thehockey News.com
NHL teams are averaging
3.1-2 goals per game.
Yeah, so I guess hockey reference was right.
So that's, I mean, if each team is doing that,
then we're getting close to seven goals.
Yeah, so it's been over three for the last.
It's 306 so far this year.
Okay.
It's 301 last year, 308, 314, 311.
Then we're in the twos, twos, twos, twos, two, two, two, two,
yeah, so this is the first time it's been in the threes,
this run since 05, since Crosby joined the lead.
Yeah.
2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2.
O't 95, 96, 314.
Oh, wow, dude.
Dude, now we're talking to.
1981, 82, 4.01.
Oh, those were the times.
That might be the only four.
Dude, is that the only four?
Oh, no.
1940, 1943, 44, 4.08.
Those are the only fours ever.
Those are those stand-up goaltenders with no helmets on.
1917, 4.75.
Take me back, dude.
Take me back.
You imagine.
Take me back.
Okay, so that's our mission, dude.
The last one, two, three, four full seasons, and we're in our fifth.
We're in, we're in threes for the first time in a while.
Yeah, we're up.
Keep it going.
Pump those numbers up.
I want to be fours.
Don't go too high, though.
I want to be 4.01 by 2035.
I think 3.5 is a sweet spot.
Then we're getting seven goals in a game.
Okay, 3.5 by 2028.
Then we're money.
I like that.
I like that too.
It's probably a pretty good score.
You're right.
All right.
Let's take a quick ad break and then get back into some colleagues.
college hockey. It's Tuesday. You know what that means? BetMGM has got something absolutely cooking
for you because every Tuesday of the NHL season, BetMGM is dishing out extra winnings with the
NHL odds boost token. Here's how you get in on that action because to miss out on that action
would make you a crazy person. It's Tuesday. Do it right now. Log into your BetMGM account. Add
an NHL wager to your betslip. Any NHL wager you want, you can bet on the game, you can bet on a goal
score, you can cook up a parlay, whatever. Then you activate the NHL odds boost token.
And then if your boosted bets hits, you get a bigger payoff than you would have gotten.
You made a bet.
You were smart.
You made the right bet.
You were going to win something.
Whoops.
You forgot to activate the token.
Bang.
Put that in.
Odds go up.
Winings go up.
Happiness goes up.
Everything is amazing.
Okay.
And if you haven't joined the BenMGM family yet, do it right now.
Literally pause this ad.
Go do it.
Come back.
Listen to the rest of the ad.
Actually, don't pause it yet because you need to hear this.
Use bonus code netters.
That's any T-T-E-R-S when you sign up.
Okay, now pause.
Now go back.
Now go back.
Use netters.
Unpause. Come back and hear what just happened. You can get up to $1,500 in a new player offer on your first wager simply by using that promo code. Unreal. Bet MGM. Unreal. Make it legendary.
Time to jump into Netters College puck drop. Breaking down the college game. We had a big weekend. Our game of the week was number three, Western Michigan, going to number seven, Duluth, and they beat them four three on Friday and four three in O.T on Saturday.
The Broncos have never been. People ready to admit it? They are never been.
to admit it. You knew it. You've known
it all along. I hate to say it, but
you were right. You were right.
Dude, it's, uh, it's
incredible. And people were sleeping
on them for no fucking reason, by the way.
And never playing anybody, never played anybody.
Get fucked. Dude, they
are going to be, um,
they're going to, I think
there's pressure to repeat.
I think they had a target on their back. They're going to have a target
on the back in the tournament, but that is
a group that
just proved they know what it takes to win.
So good luck.
Good luck getting them out.
Yeah.
You know what's interesting about that team is they're such a team.
Yep.
When you go to individual statistics, I think Grant Slikinski is like 31st in the country as far as points per game, which just goes to show their top, yep, three ranked team in the country.
And they're not being carried by one guy or two guys.
Like they are very, very well-rounded.
And I think that's scary.
Like that's the team that you do not want to go up against.
Number six, Quinnipiac.
Beat Sacred Heart 5-1 on the road on Friday,
but then lost 4-2 at home to Yukon,
number 13 Yukon on Saturday.
Yukon had gone to Yale on Friday and beat them 5-2.
Rivalry game, big rivalry game.
Definitely.
All three of the little round robin of hate there.
Tough matchup, Quinepiac, still good,
but fuck, you want that game.
You want that game bad.
You want that game bad at home to just keep the momentum up.
Yeah, that one's not great.
Not great at all.
What is great is BC recently.
They beat UNH 5-2 at home on Friday and 3-0-0 on the road on Saturday.
Dean Laterno playing out of his mind.
I think he's top of the nation in drafted players in their second year in college or something like that.
James Hagan's another Bruins prospect doing great stuff over there.
But that BC team is starting to fire a little bit.
And again, that's a rivalry weekend too.
It's a hockey east rivalry weekend.
We're making UNH great again.
UNH is playing well.
so that's big for BC.
Good weekend for you, Maine, too.
Number 17, U Maine.
They beat Lull 2-0-0 on Friday and 6-5
and O-T on Saturday, both on the road.
Maine's been a little up and down.
They were top 10 for a long time,
and they had some huge wins,
and they have some slip-ups.
Little wins like this, little weekends like this,
get you back going, and they're going to be in the mix the whole way.
A little bit of Mo-mo for sure.
I get no issue with Maine.
Number 11 Providence beats 18 BU at home,
4-3 on Friday,
and then went to BU and beat them for nothing on the road.
B.U is in trouble, for sure.
This is a, with the roster they have,
they just keep having weekends like this.
And listen, Providence is a great team.
But it's the 4-0 loss that on Saturday that is just a dagger.
And it's kind of like, oh, boys, I don't know here.
I don't know, I don't know what we're doing because that makes them slip big time.
And we've got B.U.
out of the top 20 now.
Well, they're 12, 12, and 1.
What are we doing?
And Cole Aiserman told us, dude, you just beat the bean pot coming right up here.
The bean pot, first of the Monday, Monday, and February, changed our entire season last year.
You didn't want to rely on that momentum swing again this year.
But I more mean just the timing of the season.
Like nothing is decided.
Nothing is over.
Yep.
So you're okay.
But, dude, they are, you're, you've gone so far that you're like, hey, guys.
And luckily, it's a group that learned this exact lesson last year.
But it's like, hey, dude, now we're fucking literally never.
And we're, B.U. Hockey, men's hockey is officially in a, February is the most important month of your life.
That's that.
Number 10, Dartmouth, who we've loved all year.
They went to number 12, Cornell on Friday, lost 2-1 and OT.
Then Dartmouth went to Colgate on Saturday and lost 5-2.
Bye.
By top 10.
There goes that top 10, right?
I hate to see that from Dartmouth.
Cornel.
Yep.
Good stuff from Cornell.
Yep.
Cornell hosted Harvard on Saturday, 141.
looking pretty good and they're looking like all the falling they did early in the season.
Don't forget how highly they were ranked preseason.
Yeah.
So now they're coming on really strong.
So real.
We got a blue chip death.
Number two, Michigan State beats Minnesota three one on Friday, three two on Saturday.
Minnesota, you're dead.
I wanted them to have that resurgence and they didn't.
Here's another one who's dead.
Number four, no DAC went to Arizona State, 174 on Friday and 5'3 on Saturday.
No, Dak nasty.
Arizona State dead.
Also wanted them to recover from their early season debacle.
they have not.
Thanks for playing.
It was fun.
It was fun, but you're dead.
We're not going to, you are no longer a threat.
We're not going to take you seriously.
A team that needs to be taken seriously, St. Thomas.
Number 16, unranked opponents in Lake Superior with a 7-4 win, and then 5-0
on Saturday.
This is what we talk about.
You've got to beat unranked teams.
You can't slip, and we're seeing tons of teams slipping.
And over here, very quietly, St. Thomas, is just this team that not a lot of people think
about, not only people give enough attention.
and they're just surging.
Been kind of crazy, yeah.
19 Michigan Tech went to Northern Michigan,
took care of them 8-2 on Friday,
but then they lost 3-2 at home on Saturday.
Perfect example of what can happen
if you don't take care of business.
Denver loses to St. Cloud at home.
4-2 on Friday.
They bounce back with a 6-0-0-0-1-Saturday.
But again, that's a split that you don't like
if you're Denver,
saw them fall out of the top 10.
They're back to start of the season, Denver.
Yeah.
You know, they got in the middle,
they clean that up so much.
And now I'm like, dude, why are you dumping these games?
Number 20 Minnesota State beat number 14 Augustana 4 at 1 at home on Saturday.
Goodwin from Minnesota State, honestly, because Augustana is similar to St. Thomas
is someone who demands Joe Bluth, I demand to be taken seriously.
Yeah.
And that's been cool to see, so tough loss for those boys.
Yeah, brutal.
Okay, and then the big one, action of the weekend.
We had number eight, Penn State went to number five, Wisconsin.
They beat them at 7-2 on Friday after Wisconsin went up to nothing in the game.
And then Penn State ripped off seven straight goals.
Penn State then won three one on Saturday after trailing one-nothing going into the third.
Gavin McKenna with a hatty on Friday and another goal on Saturday.
Second goal was disgusting.
Knocked that pass out of the air, came in, sniffed one through the defender's legs.
It is time to put on that little Derek Jeter fan respect hat.
Yeah.
Because we had conversations of Gavin McKenna.
Maybe college hockey was a little bigger than he was anticipating.
Maybe he's taking a little bit of time to adjust to the game.
He has adjusted to the game in the new year.
And he looks fucking disgusting.
And there's a lot of guys on this Penn State team.
Again, they're ranked number eight.
They're now ranked number five.
All of a sudden, the projected number one draft pick in the country is playing the best
he has played all season.
If you were a team going up against Penn State right now, you are not feeling very
thrilled.
That's correct.
And shout out my boy, Kyle, who texted me and was like, looks like people said,
Gavin, not trying hard enough.
And he said, hold my fucking beard, dude.
That's been the demo.
Like, oh, he actually does have this talent.
He just isn't asserting himself in these games.
And this is a great weekend.
Okay, we're not saying, oh, wow, now look out for the McKenna wrecking crew coming forward.
But we could be.
We could be.
And this team will be super exciting in the tournament, no matter what.
because first frozen four ever last year,
750K to get Gavin McKenna this year,
this is what they wanted.
They wanted this hype, they wanted this target,
and they wanted to make another run,
and they are not going to make a deep run
unless he is going.
And this would be a great time for him to start getting hot
and just riding this thing,
because, bro, if they win the Natty,
it would be incredible.
It would be truly unbelievable.
Okay, let's hit some new rankings.
One, two, got to be the same.
One, two, got to be the same.
Out of respect.
Michigan didn't play.
Michigan State took care of their shit.
So it would be unfair, even though the Michigan State played the corpse of Minnesota, it still is worthy of staying in number two.
Yeah.
Number three, it's got to be the same.
Got to be Western Michigan.
I think so, too.
100%.
Like, you just pumped Duluth.
Yeah.
So I'm going Western Michigan three.
Then you have to go North Dakota stays four.
They did nothing wrong.
I agree.
But then I need Penn State.
Yeah, could they jump them?
No, they can't.
But you're right.
North Dakota 4, Penn State 5, also out of respect.
Then you go, I mean, I'm kind of loving what Providence did.
The question is how bad.
I want Denver out.
Get Denver out.
I want Dartmouth out.
Get them out.
Quinnipiac, I don't know if they can fall all the way out, but they're going low.
Is Duluth getting kicked out?
Is number 7 Duluth out due to?
getting by Western Michigan.
I don't think they can be out,
but maybe they're like nine or ten.
I mean, they're good games.
No, I agree.
4-3, 4-3.
Yeah, no.
I'm not putting them out.
For sure not.
Okay, so give me then,
give me at six, maybe Providence.
Maybe Providence goes,
I know they beat BU who's 18.
I need Providence top 10 for sure.
Basically, I want, I need Providence in there.
We have five spots left.
I need Providence.
I need to decide how far Quinnipiac drops
and how far Duluth drops.
So there's three spots.
And then does UCon sneak back in? Does BC sneak back in?
And then what happens to Wisconsin?
How far does Wisconsin drop?
I'll go as far as nine for Wisconsin.
But no more than that.
Okay, so let's put Wisconsin at nine.
Is Duluth only eight or does Duluth go all the way to 10?
Because they have to fall, but they were good games.
They either fall one for those good games or they fall three.
Do we have six locked?
No, six is open.
Okay.
So we've got Michigan, Michigan, Western Michigan, No, Dack, Penn State.
That's the same as the current ranking.
Like we're on par with the current ranking.
I want Providence up.
I want Duluth up.
Duluth up.
No, I'm saying like up in here.
Duluth, Wisconsin, and Providence must be in here for me.
I almost think Cornell, too.
Ooh, yeah, I like that one.
Let's get Cornell in here.
And then where do you have Quinnipiac?
That's the big thing for me.
Right.
Like is Quinnipiac just six.
Because Quinnipiac is six in the ranking.
Like I'm certainly not six.
They lost a Yukon at home.
Yeah, okay.
Good day.
So you think you want,
Duluth or Wisconsin above them? Providence above them. Providence could go above them.
You're going to put Providence all the way up at six. Sure. Let's do it. Providence at six.
Then do you like Quinepiac over Duluth and Wisconsin?
I guess so. Okay. So Quinnipiac at seven. And now I think we go eight, nine, ten is Duluth, Wiscoe,
and Providence is six, so they can't be also ten. And Cornell, I mean.
Cornell over Yukon? Yeah, fuck it. Yeah, Cornell. Tech.
Boom. Done.
All right. Games of the weekend.
Unbelievable matchups.
We got BCBU.
We got Denver, Duluth.
We got Michigan, Ohio State.
Lots of rivalry weekends.
But has to be Michigan State, Penn State.
Michigan State tagged them twice earlier this year, right?
So this will be a big one at Penn State playing really well.
Michigan State playing well too.
But this would be a big time response, big, big, big time response if Gavin McKenna does
something this time and takes care of some shit.
Yeah.
Huge stuff.
All right, let's get into some ad breaks,
and then we'll come back.
Guys, you know that Bauer is the best sponsor in the world.
We absolutely love Bauer
because they are always giving us the best gear,
the best workout, attire,
everything that you could possibly need,
whether it be helmets, pads, sticks, skates.
Bauer has been the leader in the clubhouse
since the beginning of time,
because Bauer is truly, truly, truly elite.
And we've got to talk about sticks
when it comes to being elite, and we've got to talk about the Bower Pulse.
This thing is given you the best of both worlds.
They've got the latest kickpoint innovation, two distinct energy zones in the shaft,
give it a mid-kick feel and a low-kick release,
bring in a new level of speed and accuracy to every part of your game.
You're going to confuse goalies by the way you're handling the puck
and the way it snaps off of your stick, and don't even get me started on the feel.
They've got that raised lettering on the stick that gives it a grip feel without that sticky
texture. It is absolutely unbelievable.
it's going to bring balance to your game in a way that you have never felt before.
So like I said, whether you need a new hoodie, joggers, shorts, something like that while you're in the gym,
while you're training and working on your game, whether you need all of the equipment or whether you need the best stick in the industry.
Bauer has you covered.
So you're going to go to Bauer.com.
Make sure you get your entire game fitted out to be that next level.
Every single time, Bauer's got you covered.
When you are looking for a fun activity and you want to get out of the house,
house and do something. I have the perfect app for you, the perfect site for you, and that is
Seat Geek because literally knows where I am. I go on, Los Angeles, it has got literally
everything I could ever want to do on earth in this city. It's incredible. All right. So that's why
I want to give them a shout on on this video because they have over 35 million downloads. Seatgeek
is quite literally the number one rated ticketing app. There are more than 70,000 events.
What? Listed on Seatgeek. And that's everything, guys. It's sports, uh, concerts.
festivals and more.
Whatever you want to do,
pop on Seatkeek,
you will be able to get a ticket,
all right?
The NHL season is in full swing.
The Super Bowl's coming up.
My God, you want to go to the Super Bowl?
Check out Seatkeek.
Find the tickets there.
Right now you can get World Cup.
That's coming up in the summer.
I saw my first World Cup ad today.
It got me so fired up.
Those are going to be going like hot cakes.
I love using Seatkeek.
Okay, I just went to a concert with some friends.
Bang, got it on Seatkeek.
I go to Kings games all the time.
Bang, get them on Seatkeek because it is the best deals.
It is absolutely incredible.
And Seatkeek has your back.
Each ticket is rated on a 1 to 10 scale.
So you kind of know what you're getting.
If it's a good deal, if it's an incredible deal, look for the green dots because red is bad.
Green is incredible.
And it gets all the way up to excellent.
And you know when you see those high nines, you're like, this is a steel, steel of a lifetime.
Those are the ones you're going to grab.
And every ticket is backed by their buyer guarantee, which is amazing.
So, of course, I have a code for you guys.
You can use code Empty Netters 10.
That's E-M-P-T-Y-N-E-T-E-R-S-0 for 10% off.
your next set of tickets at Seatkeek.
That's 10% off any tickets with promo code Empty Netters 10.
Make sure you click the link in the description to download the app
and have the code automatically added to your account so you can use it later.
Enjoy.
Welcome back.
Dan, we're going back to Super Bowl.
We're going back to the Super Bowl.
It's unbelievable.
Everybody.
Do England versus everybody all over again, dude.
The old days are back after a short reprimed.
the world's national nightmare has returned the Patriots or the greatest team of all time.
Drake May is the next, is Tom Brady reborn.
Sean, do you like American football?
Do I like American football?
I've never really understood American football.
I've had a couple people try to explain it to me.
And it seems very complicated.
And every Super Bowl, people are like, oh, come over to my house.
Like, I'll show you everything.
I'll explain everything.
And I get there.
And I'm like, what's happening now?
And they're like, I don't know.
They have no idea.
Yeah.
Do you think, I guess here's my question.
because I like American football,
but I don't pretend to be a football guy.
I know the rules, certainly,
but I don't know the A-gap.
I guess I probably do know what the A-gap is,
but there's technical things of football
that I'm like, I've never played the game.
I don't know anything about that.
I loved watching Tom Brady,
my favorite athlete ever.
But the, once he retired,
like football, it's the sport.
itself doesn't interest me that much. I think there's no action. Nothing's happening.
You know, it's really slow. But I have to say, having not watched a lot of football for the last
few years, because Tom had retired and now kind of being back into it because the Patriots are good
again, it is a fun day. You know, like it's a fun gathering, even more than the sport itself.
Yeah. So I was curious as a foreigner, if you're like, it is pretty sick that you guys,
like you have a day of the week where everyone's like, dude, should we all hang out?
and eat awesome dips and drink?
And I'm like, yes.
Yeah, I feel like, I mean, I can't speak for certain
because I've never been to an American football game live.
Yeah.
But I do know that baseball is great live.
But like, if someone wants to be like, come over to my house
and we're going to watch baseball, I'd be like, are you fucking insane?
That seems like a really boring time.
Yeah, yeah.
Despite the fact, I love being at baseball games.
I feel like the reverse might be true for football games,
where like the real, like, enjoyment happens.
your house or your friend's heist like when you go to like have a little party and like people are
barely paying attention to the actual football game but that's kind of like the reason everyone has
congregated yeah i could be wrong in that because i don't know for certain but maybe no it's i think
that's very accurate i think it's very accurate the tailgate is fun the tailgate is fun but it's it again
it feel listen we're back in the super bowl and i'm very happy yeah i love drake may i love mike rable
I love the New England Patriots.
Football, American football is the most,
it's the strangest sport in the world to me.
I, that stat of, there are 60 minutes on the clock
in an American football game,
and on average, I think it's something like
there's 13 minutes of actual football that is played.
Yeah.
That is insane.
Yeah.
That is utterly insane.
How much soccer do you think he's played?
90 minutes.
What do you mean?
Yeah, it has to.
Well, no, there's...
Or there's time wasting on the sidelines, but that's...
And like a free kick.
Fair point.
It's definitely not 90.
It's high as well.
I bet it's 80.
Yeah.
I bet there's no way there's more than actual 10 minutes of real dead time in soccer game.
I bet it's 80, but that's a great question.
You could even look that up right now.
But again, it is crazy to me that this sport is the most popular sport in the world.
And we don't even play the game.
We're watching these games over the weekend.
And you just can't help but laugh how many times it cuts to TV commercials
and the TV timeout is like 10 full minutes.
Is it like that to take, like it was it made for TV?
Is it like that to tailor two advertisers?
Okay, I have a take on this.
And to answer your question, the average, this is a wide range,
but the ball is actually in play for 51 to 68 minutes per game.
Damn, that's great.
Okay, wow, I've given way too much credit.
So did I.
I thought it was going to be, I thought it was going to be 82.
Yeah.
This one says it can get up to 70.
Okay.
this is my take Sean
this is one I was going to talk about but
to answer that question the
if you're watching HBO
Home box office that
plays TV it's like you know
your show's 30 minutes
that show starts at like 9pm
and your show airs till like
926 and then there's
four minutes of commercials and bullshit
you know HBO pays the bills and then the next show
starts and you can probably answer this but
that I'm told that is
that is normally how
it works in Europe where it's like the TV show plays then there's a block of
commercials then the next show plays whereas on American television it's like your
TV show is from 9 to 930 so we play at 9 to 9.05 and then make you watch two
minutes of commercials then 9.07 to 912 and then make you watch two minutes you know
it's like all broken up and I swear soccer is plays to the European style of
television where it's like the game plays then there's a break then the
game plays whereas football goes like this game
commercial game commercial game game commercial game you know and you're like yeah the fuck is going on
but we're just used to it like I can't imagine what would happen if there was like a live game like a live
football match and they were just like all right commercial commercial you don't get to see what's
happening during the football match it's insane dude even the actual team like momentum you know like
catching your opponent's catching your breath like you have someone on the ropes and they're like
oh sorry this is the television commercial and I'm like what dude and I here here's the deal
Listen, I'm wrong here.
Yep.
But my opinion is that I don't love going to football games.
It's an amazing experience, and it's wonderful, and you're lucky if you can go to one,
and I hope everyone who wants to gets that experience, but I don't personally think they're that fun.
You get there, you're in a stadium that's charging way too much money for beer and way too much money for food,
and you sit there, and you do feel the lack of football.
And not to mention the fact that I don't care how good your seats you are.
Excuse me, I don't care how good your seats are.
It's a big field.
Yeah, yeah.
So when the teams are on the other side of the field, you're kind of like, can't really see what's going on.
I think it's a better experience to watch on TV in your own home or in a bar when you got all the food and drink that you could want.
And also, I feel like I see the game better, which feels insane.
But the fact that there's still an issue with that, too, because we were, that Patriots
game was just they just ran every single play and the game was over in three hours and we were going
god that was the quickest game ever three hours and we were saying it was the quickest game ever but
that's kind of my point isn't it kind of sick i think it's a great swindle i think it's like the
male species greatest swindle of all time that we were like we watch football with our boys
yeah and it takes 10 hours you know the first kickoff's 10 a m and sunday night football ends at
fucking 8 p.m oh yeah and i go yeah i got to go get fucking
hammered with my friends all day. I think, I'm sorry. I think the gals always joke about there's a
bunch of funny Instagram videos where they're like, they lie to us. They said on, listen,
Sundays, we can't go to the farmer's market. We can't do this and that because, especially on the
West Coast, football starts at 10 a.m. and doesn't end until 8. And on the East Coast, it starts
at 1 and doesn't end until 11. Yeah. But then it was like, there is also Monday night football
and there's also a Thursday night football. And now sometimes we play on Saturday, too.
It's like, it is, it is the greatest thing. And there was, there was lying involved.
too. It went even further than that. It's crazy. So you don't watch ever. You don't,
you don't do that. You don't have a hang on Sunday. No, I don't have any friends. Is that what you're
asking? You, I do watch football just alone. I'm sitting by myself. No, I don't, I don't really
watch football. It would be kind of pointless for me because I don't really understand the game.
Do you crave a, like, I want, I want to sit there, I want to sit and watch something for four hours
with a bunch of my friends?
Yeah, movies.
Yeah.
Yeah, for me, that fulfillment is made by movies.
That's not even watching the movie.
It's like, we'll go to a movie theater, watch.
And then afterwards, it's just like the discussion that takes like three times the lens of the film.
It's crucial though, dude.
Because you sit with the movie and no one talks.
And you're like, okay, good to see everybody.
Yeah.
Like, it would be insane to me if you just saw a movie.
And at the end, you're like, all right, I'll see you.
Like, bye.
Dude, Loup and Fuse and I went to a movie, like, Fantastic Four maybe.
Yeah.
And they were like, come on down.
And granted, in their defense, we did meet just before for a quick Loki bowl.
Nice.
That is their move.
They always do that.
And then we go to the movie.
And then I was like, hey, this bar just opened up next to the theater.
I was like, yo, should we go in and just chat?
And they were like, no.
And I was like, yes, we are going in.
And they didn't want to drink, which is fine.
But we went in and I made them sit there while I had one drink.
And they sat there just so we could talk about the movie.
Because I was like, did you literally want me to just go home?
Yeah.
Yeah.
And be like, thanks.
That'd be bizarre.
You have to.
Dude, I'll stand in a parking garage for an hour.
Yeah.
A post movie just open it up.
I've done that in the foyer of the theater.
Yeah.
At the door right before we leave.
We need to start doing more.
Dude, how do we make that more?
What?
There should be an area.
There should be a discussion area.
Well, I was right about to say all of these theaters now have these great bar and
lounge areas.
We should start doing.
doing that more. I don't know why we, I have a shout out my friend Alan. He is an amazing actor here in L.A. He's the best guy. And we would go to movies a lot and we would always go to the AMC nearby him and get a drink before the movie. And I'm now thinking, I'm like, we should have done that after. Yeah. We should go. Oh, we should get a drink, go into the movie and then after sit at the bar in these theaters and have a drink, have a bite and discuss the movie. We should plan on that. We need to start going to movies, movie times that are 30 minutes.
to an hour earlier than we normally would
so we can then allocate that 30 minutes to an hour
after for a quick bite
or drink and chat about the movie.
Yeah. I think I have
two things to say about this. One, I believe
the expression dinner and a movie is to blame. I believe
that may put in our minds that you have
dinner than a movie, but it should in fact be
a movie and dinner. Would you like to do movie and dinner?
We go to a movie, then we have dinner
and now the dinner is amazing.
And then if you're
on a first date or something and the conversation
runs dry, you can talk about the movie.
Perfect. I wouldn't even learn her name.
We'd talk about the movie through dessert.
And then I'd be like, okay, great. I gotta go.
And they'd be going to see her again. I'll go see who again.
I don't remember who the fuck that was.
This is also one of those things where it comes up whenever people, I talk to friends who are going on first dates.
And they're like, we're going to a movie. I'm like, that's the worst idea I've ever heard.
It's a really bad idea.
You can't even speak unless you do something after.
Okay. And then here's my other idea.
Sean, wouldn't it be sick if every movie theater from now on, I guess some are big.
I just want to say I love how this started
because we were talking about American football.
Every movie theater from now on
should have a lounge.
Yeah.
You have to have the equal number of lounges
as you have screens.
And each lounge has the name of the movie above it.
So it's like a Reddit thing in IRL.
Like you come in with your group
and you're talking about the movie,
but everyone else in there is also talking about it.
So you can join conversations.
You can keep to yourself if you want,
but there'll be no spoilers because only people
having snacks and drinks in there are the ones who have seen that movie.
That's an incredible idea.
Wouldn't that be fucking awesome?
Interesting.
Or how about this?
I got it.
Trailers are what, 25 minutes long now?
Yeah.
I think so.
What if we cut the trailers back down to you play three trailers.
So it's nine minutes.
Yep.
Maybe.
And then at the end of the screening, so we're not cutting into new movie times,
the lights come on
and you're encouraged to stay in the theater
for 15 minutes and chat with everyone
who is in there about the movie.
Is that not enough time?
You're like locked in.
You don't have to stay.
Have you ever gone to a test screening?
That's what it's like.
Yes, that is what I'm saying.
Yeah.
That's great.
I love it.
I always stay behind at test screenings
to talk shit.
Dude, isn't that hilarious?
Sean?
I always go like this.
This is my normal movie experience.
I arrive.
I get this.
This is more information people need, but this is actually my 100% movie experience.
I arrive at the theater.
I go to concessions.
I always load up, get myself a pop and some candy, popcorn.
And then I go into the theater.
And then I spend literally almost the entire trailer section like this covering my ears and humming
because I hate seeing trailers of movies I'm excited to see and I don't want to have anything spoiled for me.
Chris, why don't you just go in after the trailers end?
know I go in there and make a fool of myself.
There's an anxiety of going too late and there's like when you go too early you're like,
I don't know, I don't be like getting people's way.
So I literally sit there and like hum and don't watch a single trailer and then Dan or
somebody will hit me to be like the movie starting.
Then I will watch the movie.
Then I will leave the movie and stand in the parking garage or something or sometimes
the lobby of concessions or whatever, but stand somewhere with my group for like an hour.
making fun of everything that happened in the movie.
Like every single thing that bothered me,
I just completely trash on.
And then I go, all right, got to go.
I absolutely loved that movie.
It's one of my favorite movies ever made.
Literally, I'm like, that movie was walking tremendous.
Here's an hour of everything I hated about it.
And genuinely, I loved it.
And I'm not even being like, because I'm trying to be critical,
it's just fun.
You know, I'm like, this is ridiculous.
That was stupid.
But then I'm like, that was the best time ever.
That's, I mean, the most, like I grew up in an era, I was about a teenager in an era where like online video reviews of like movies were popular.
Yeah.
And the most popular videos were always like the so bad they're good genre.
Yeah.
I think people just love dogging on the things in movies that don't make any sense.
Because when you put any movie underneath a microscope of like comparing it to real life, like of course nothing's going to make sense with it.
And that's just like such a low hanging fruit to make fun of and then thus create camaraderie.
with people who have also shared that experience where you're like yeah that was really dumb yeah but you
enjoyed the experience of seeing the film it's amazing yeah there's i sometimes even when we're writing stuff
i get too um literal with the plot off like sometimes i'll be all finding plot holes in our own
things where i'm like oh man i'm trying to think about how a bad traffic would be at that hour i don't know
if he can make it there in time and it's like who gives a flying fuck i'm trying to think of an example
like harry potter how are the weasley's poor daddy works in the government
Molly Weasley has magic doing all the house choice.
She's a stay-at-home mom who has magic doing all the work.
So she's just doing nothing all day.
Then why have a house when you can go to Target buy a tent for $15 and turn it into a mansion on the inside?
How does the economy in this place work?
Also, objectively, Voldemort is a terrible villain.
I love Voldemort on screen.
I love watching him.
The U.S. military could defeat the Wizarding World in like a day.
there is no about a cadavering your way out of an intercontinental ballistic missile
and the fact that Voldemort thinks that the wizards are superior to the human world
despite the fact that they've been technologically stagnant they're running on steam trains
and broomsticks have you seen an F-16 flying and there's no broomstick going supersonic
so I love dogging on all this shit and it's like you can pick any movie and once you start
like actually thinking about it from like instead of the viewer if you were the person making
this I would these are the things that I would
would get hung up on.
Yeah.
It's a lot of fun.
But also, everyone I know who I do this with is just like, I love Harry Potter.
You can't talk bad of it.
Harry Potter, it would ruin this for me.
I was about to go to war with you over Molly Weasley.
I was like, don't fucking talk bad about Molly Weasley.
Sean, there's a scene in one of the first books, I think must be the first one, where
they go, Harry gets a look in Arthur Weasley's vault at Gringott's.
And there's one galleon in it.
That's what's the description.
It says there's one galleon in there.
And I'm like, isn't it like a hundred bucks?
Like literally there's...
The, the monetary value of a galleon gets lost a lot in those books.
It's because of that scene.
I'm like, dude, he has seven kids.
Like, what is going on?
How is their food on the table?
It's like, they say that.
And then there's a time where Harry's, like, buying school supplies for just him.
And it's like 17 gallons.
And I'm like, oh, fuck.
I love those movies.
But there's so many, like, glaring issues with them.
I love how we're saying that we're not talking about magic.
No, you know.
Like, here's a growing issue.
Yeah, everything's magic.
I can suspend my disbelief for magic, but the moment I'm just like, yeah, no, this financial system makes no sense.
Yeah, yeah.
Okay, let's jump into a beer league hotline and try to get things back on the rails here.
Okay, let's do it.
We had the early game last week, and a guy on our team emailed that he was bringing beers and asked us all to please make time to stay after for a couple.
we didn't think anything of it
we get pumped nine to one
but everyone gets in the locker room
and cracks a beer with this dude
then he steps outside and comes back in with his girlfriend
then in half his gear still
gets down on one knee and
proposes
she says yes
everyone claps turned into a pretty
fun night but can you ask
your old lady to marry you after getting
destroyed nine to one
with your skates on
absolutely
I love this
I love this
I think I would cry
I think I would cry if we're on the team
and you know what?
Hand up
we are so many reasons why I am a little bitch
but I don't always drink beers after the game
I'm in my zone during the week
where I'm like I don't drink during the week
I'm trying to stay fit and blah blah blah blah
blah whatever whatever
if someone on the team
emailed before the game and was like,
hey, please stay after and have a couple beers.
I would be like, I'd be ready to, I would Uber to the game.
Really? A hundred percent. You didn't know.
He was just like, have a beer after.
If he made, it sounds like he made a point to be like,
can everyone please stay? Yeah. I would, I would probably
Uber to the game. Yeah. Because I'd be like,
this guy's going through something or, you know,
maybe it's his last game ever. I would be like,
100% I'm having beers.
And if we had a few and it was like, oh yeah, we just got pumped, but like,
whatever, we're having fun, we're together.
And it seems like this guy needs this. And then all of a
sudden he comes in and proposes to his girlfriend in half gear i think i would cry dude i that would
be unbelievable we'll see i what the reason i'm partially on his side is because you can't have
the nerves clearly this was the plan the ring was like in his fucking bag or something you i just
don't think you can have invited her to the game sent that email and then not go through with it
because of the result of the game right i think you'd have to be like this is too much from my emotional state
I was so hyped up to propose.
I was thinking about it all game.
I probably turned the puck over 50 fucking times
because all I was thinking about was the $40,000 ring
in my hockey bag in the fucking unlocked locker room.
This guy's got a nice ring.
40K?
God damn.
But it is, I would be bummed.
Put it that way.
I'd still do it, but I would be bummed that we got murdered.
I wonder if this is the same locker room as the shower room thief.
Can you imagine that guy's going through
just looking for a couple 20s in a middle wall?
And he's like, oh, my God.
Yeah.
You can't leave that in the locker room.
Right.
Where was it?
No, he had it on him.
Sean,
I'm so glad you said that.
What a great pivot.
That's the,
that is actually the biggest thing about this beer league hotline.
You better not have left that ring in the locker.
It must have been.
Maybe you'd do the key.
Maybe you're like, I'll lock up.
No.
Still can't.
Really dirty,
horrible, smelly underwear and you wrap it up in that.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I still, I don't think I would.
She's like, oh, this reads.
Yeah.
I'm like, say, what the fuck?
I think I would have brought it onto the bench.
Yeah, maybe.
Interesting.
Yeah.
Actually, that would have been sick.
You cannot, under any circumstances,
leave an engagement ring in the locker room.
We got to get a follow up because it would be sick.
I don't know if the boys knew.
It sounds like I guess they didn't.
Yeah.
But it would have been sick if you brought it out to the bench
because everybody's like, the fuck is that.
And you're like, I'm actually proposing after the game.
You know, if it's on the bench, everybody would be like, oh, my God.
You've got to imagine it would have hyped up the boys to play a little bit better.
A little better than the next.
nine one pump job or it might have done the opposite where everyone's just anticipating that's what
happened i think in this guy's head he thought it was going to be like you know we're like seconds away
from the whistle he's beyond the halfway point he takes a shot scores the game winning goal and then on
the ice everyone storms everyone collapses he gets down on one knee and proposes and in reality he just
got absolutely destroyed yeah i think i hope he scored i hope it was him i think i hope he had the one yeah
that would be sick i do think um
The, it's beer league.
The score doesn't matter.
Yep.
The second you get into the locker, I mean, you're gas and beers, you forget about the score and you're like, whatever.
Okay, here's another thought.
Also, 9-1 is so bad that it's almost like, whatever.
Yeah.
It's like, if you lose like a shitty game, 6-3 and you're, you just, you don't think you played.
Yeah.
I mean, if you lose a 9-1, you guys played bad.
Yeah.
So you're kind of like whatever.
And it's a good test because the fact that she said yes, despite the fact that he got destroyed, she's not in it for the winner.
She's in it for him.
Here's the other thing.
Or I guess a couple things.
If you were playing, if you're a bad team, you're playing a good team, you know you're going to get Pup 9-1.
And in that case, I'm like, why did you invite her to this game?
But maybe it was because it was the early game and he was going to have to have her at the early game.
If it was not a great team, like if that loss was a surprise, that sucks because you're like, wait, we shouldn't have got killed 911.
And I invited her because I thought we were going to win because we were playing someone shitty and we got murdered.
It has to be time.
It has to be time.
But my other thing is, I think I might have showered.
Like I might have, everyone's staying.
I've asked the boys to stay.
I might have been like, boom, quick shower, change quick.
Usually I lingered in my gear.
Quick, quick change, boom, shower.
I don't care if everyone else is shower, but quick change shower for me, waver back in.
No, she must like the funk.
And she likes that the ring smells like dirty underwear.
That's what I, it's crazy.
You take her toes off.
No, I think, got to be careful.
I think my favorite thing about this is how much of a fucking rock star this gal is.
Yeah.
First of all, I've said it so many times, if you are a wag and you come to beer,
League games, you have the most special place in the Hall of Fame ever.
Yeah.
As much as we love Beer League, I know it's not the best hockey, it's not the most fun,
they're terrible hours, but to be there, to be a partner coming to Beer League games,
you are so fucking ride or die.
Yeah.
You are so awesome.
And then you got to be pretty confident that your partner is saying yes if you're
proposing in the Beer League locker room.
Can you fathom?
So that even adds more to.
to the fact that she's just the coolest fucking person ever.
A no in the,
a no in the locker room would have been.
Well, it's maybe not even so much that.
That would be insane.
You got to know that she's not going to be pissed off.
Yeah, right, right.
She's proposed to me in your beer league locker room.
You got to be.
Like sweats at the rink.
Yeah.
You got to be pretty confident that she's like,
fuck yeah, let's do this.
So that's awesome.
I want the picks.
The picks must be gas.
Oh, they'd be incredible.
Well, that's, it's also like a much better story.
If you won the game and then you proposed,
it's like, that's like,
No one's particularly interested in that.
It's such a funnier story to be like, yeah, we had a horrendous game.
Yeah.
It was terrible.
Because people will ask being like, oh, why, do you win the game?
It'd be like, no, we got demolished.
That's such a better, funnier story.
Got it's so true.
Then we got ripped in the parking lot together.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, sick.
Oh, my God.
Incredible.
All right, let's end things off with a Bauer blind ranking.
Again, Fauer is just the greatest thing in the entire world.
Blind rankings are also the greatest thing in the entire world.
We got the stadium series coming up where you know there's going to be Bauergear galore.
Pulses are going to be snapping it around on the ice in Tampa.
Let's do Stadium Series jerseys, blind ranking.
Sean, take us away.
The 2024 Rangers.
One.
One.
Oh, my God.
I think this jersey is fucking awesome.
I said it when the stadium series came out a couple years ago.
I was like, easily they knocked it out of the park.
They did that sick photo shoot in like the subway.
It's the,
and I love the classic diagonal.
It's a very Rangers thing.
They're diagonal Rangers, New York on some of the new ones.
And the big NYR, I think the jersey sleeves were perfect.
It's a, it's hard to get a white specialty jersey looking great.
Yeah, that's a fair take.
And I thought they, because they kept the cool block raised lettering on the number.
That's what I don't like about.
their current jerseys.
Yeah, right.
These new ones, they're whatever they are,
the anniversary jerseys.
They look like beer league jerseys because the letters are,
it's just like screen print, simple letters.
These ones kept the famous New York blocked,
raised lettering.
I think this is,
it's one for me,
but this is interesting because normally,
you know,
when we're disagreeing,
it's usually like because we're a couple off.
I was like,
I don't like this one that much.
And then you're a one.
I think they're so.
But when I'm thinking about,
I'm thinking about,
also here's a hot take.
Stadium series, jerseys aren't that...
Kind of stink.
They historically are not that great.
That's what has actually swung me back to being like,
okay, maybe I can go pretty high,
because I do love the sleeves.
I love the sleeves.
I didn't think I liked the huge letters like that,
but how low would you go?
Two.
How low?
Look through all of them.
Because here's the thing.
There's a few that might pop up here.
They're not unique enough for me.
Like Stadium Series and Winter Classic,
You've got to get funky.
And there are a couple that come to mind where I'm like, yeah, it's a cool jersey.
You didn't do anything different.
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
And I mean, I will not go lower than two.
Then give me two.
Give me two.
It's crazy work by you.
Fine.
I can't believe that you even think there's one that you're so confident is above it.
I know you can't.
I know you don't think any of them are great.
There's one that I think is better.
But we can go one.
I think we should go one.
It's fun going one off the rip.
Yeah.
Yeah, okay, one.
Boom.
Yeah, 2020 Kings.
Probably five for me.
Really?
I think this jersey sucks.
Why?
It's like, it's so dumb.
The black and the white?
This jersey is sick, dude.
And there are some so much worse than this.
I will give you that there are some that are worse.
And at least this one is different.
They tried something, but just like the L.A.
with like streaks in it.
But it's big block letters diagonal across the shirt.
Just like the Rangers.
That's not diagonal across the shirt.
It's slightly slanted.
It just says L.A. on the front.
It's not big.
Like, block letters means there's two colors in it.
It's raised lettering.
This is just a flat L.A.
across the chest with straight.
Oh, look how fast L.A. looks.
These jerseys stink.
This jersey stink.
It's like these jerseys suck.
Block letters.
These are block letters.
They're not, you don't need a shadow box to make it.
Well, but the point I was making about why the Rangers want,
I kept saying raised, you dumb fuck.
Yeah, yeah, they're raised.
These are just flat.
Like every letter you're going to see is block lettering on a fucking jersey for the most part.
So you like the range of just so much because it was raised.
No, there's, for all of the reasons I listed, those ones are great.
What on earth do you like about this L.A. jersey?
Because it's fast as fuck.
Look how fast they are.
L.A. looks so fast.
They're fast.
It looks like fucking ice.
It's cool.
It's new.
I love the diagonal that it goes across into the arms.
I think that is fucking sick.
The white and the black hard contrast does look kind of cool.
So, where are we settled with it?
I won't go higher than three, but do what you will.
You gave me one, so you get to pick literally whatever you want in this, but you cannot pick fucking two.
What would you, if you had final say, where would you put it?
Four or five.
Four or five?
I agree that there are some awful ones.
I don't know that there are ones that are that much worse.
This one is just boring.
They had the chrome dome.
That's nice.
and the white gloves, kind of nice.
Let's go, let's go four.
Okay, I'm happy with that.
I appreciate that.
All right.
Settled in four.
2018 Leaves.
Okay, I love this jersey.
This jersey is horrific.
Okay.
It's one of the worst things I've ever seen a professional athlete wear.
I think the jersey looks cool.
I think the Maple Leaf looks awesome on the front.
I don't think it's very different.
It's not different at all.
All they did was take their current.
jersey and make it worse. They were like, what if we took our exact jersey and then didn't change
anything except make it worse? Well, they went white gloves and white pants. I think that's the big
thing. Like they did a full white out. Yep. And the stripes in the middle are way different.
It's just, you know, usually just a white jersey. Yep. So for that, I mean, are you prepared to go
five? I wish I had gone Kings three now because this, this is way worse than the King's jersey,
and there are ones way worse than this. God, you've got strong opinions on how bad some of these
jerseys are. So, but now, I guess because out of protection, I might have to go three. Interesting.
Because if something else comes up, that is so bad, then I would be mad that five wasn't available.
Yeah. Because I hear you, at least there's like a full white out here. Do you like that leaf logo?
It's the Toronto Maple Leafs logo. Yes, it's fantastic. It's very classic. Yeah. The Toronto Maple Leaf's
logo is a top three logo in the NHL. So yes, I do like it. Okay.
Let's, what would you, where would you want this?
I would probably go three.
Okay, let's go three.
Okay.
So we've got two and five left.
2022, Tampa.
We have to go five.
Yeah, you hate this one?
Yep, this jersey is also horrible.
But we have to go five because I can't go two.
But this doesn't deserve to be five.
The Leafs jersey is, the King's jersey is better than this.
I'm surprised.
you think the King's jersey is so significantly better than this.
They feel like very similar vibes.
They are similar vibes, I guess.
I think it's cool that it's like a lightning design across the bottom.
Yep.
Like that's shades of a lightning bolt on the bottom.
I love that they have the lightning logo on the pants.
That's pretty cool.
Like, do you like the lightning jersey this year more than this?
No.
The lightning jersey this year confuses me.
Like it's very, it feels very chatchy.
The ice blue
It was a weird choice to me
But they're fun
Yeah I mean they're close to the fucking Rangers jersey
Yeah
Not raised though, not raised
I mean
I think
Would you go two here?
No
Yes I think you have to go five
Just because of the grave we've dug
I don't think this is that bad of a list
Again this is the problem
I don't love any of these jerseys
Other than the Rangers
Kings jersey is incredible
Okay, this jersey is five.
Okay, five.
Twenty-twary caps.
Again, I'm not, what I'm starting to realize is I don't think any of these are spectacular.
So I'm not, like, I'm not moved one way or the other.
This jersey, you hate this one?
Well, no, this jersey, actually based on the way this list went, I don't mind being two.
Because there was some cool, like the Capitol building and the Eagle, like they did some cool things.
The Capitol building and the Eagle on the front is cool.
Being a W.
The Stars on the.
pants are really cool. The eagle is a W.
Also, the helmets with the numbers on the side.
Oh, yeah, yeah. Yeah.
So, so I'm actually okay with this being too.
Okay. Sweet.
So it's rags, caps, and then what got three by accident?
Maple Leafs.
The Maple Leafs.
Yeah.
Puk.
Easy, dude.
Puk.
What's your favorite one ever?
I, the Rangers.
But the Columbus Blue Jackins last year were six.
The cannon on the front.
So sick.
Those are probably number one.
Now, if I could do this again, out of fear of that being named, I might have said Rangers
too.
That Blue Jackets won was awesome.
The Detroit 2016 is gas.
I actually, you're going to say it's too similar, but the 2019 Penguins, gas.
It is too similar for me.
The helmets, though, are cool.
But yeah, like it just, to me, those feel like a color.
Rush jersey more than they do a stadium series jersey.
Same with the Devils.
The Devils one is awful.
2024 and the Devils just went, they were like, yeah, we're just doing,
there's just black in a jersey.
Do you like the Bruins one this year?
I think it's, I think both the Bruins and the Bulls this year went very bright and flashy
for purposes of a game in Tampa.
Yeah.
So I'm like, cool.
It is weird, though.
Yeah.
It's really yellow.
The white gloves are a choice, but I think they're fun.
Yep.
They're both fun.
They're kind of kooky.
Okay.
Not bad.
Not bad.
Great stuff today, folks.
Hey, we absolutely love you.
Sighted for a big week.
We're heading into some fun, fun stuff.
We got Olympics coming up.
We got some fun interviews coming up.
Just beautiful things across the board.
Can't wait to get into it with you.
Fucking just absolutely adore you guys.
It's amazing.
Let's have a great fucking week.
And until we see you next episode, there's only one thing to do.
Skate Hard.
POMPEO
