Empty Netters Podcast - The Met Is The Hottest Division In Hockey | EP.146
Episode Date: November 6, 2024What the heck is going on in Washington?! The Panthers and Canes are making statements. The Islanders might be in trouble. Mcdavid got hurt and Tom Brady got skates. Plus the guys play a new game. See... if you can beat DP to the answer! NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (00:00) Intro (12:39) Hot Ice (14:54) Tom Brady (27:11) Islanders (36:54) Capitals (49:02) Beer League (54:22) Trending (1:08:26) Starting 6 (1:16:2) Trivia Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Is there a better signing that Bauer could possibly have?
No.
Than one Thomas Edward Patrick Brady.
We are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM,
and I'm sitting at my nice new table.
And I couldn't be happier in a billion years.
I can't even think about it.
But I still have a bone to pick with Paige.
Oh.
Just kidding, Paige.
You're the best.
You got me my table.
Oh, wow.
I thought you were going to have one.
But you're pissed off.
Air it out, dude.
I think in my...
Calendors exist for a reason.
I think in my dreams...
Oh, no, it's not even about that.
I think in my dreams...
It was taller.
Oh, I agree.
Wait, I don't want to complain.
This table's amazing.
I know.
I know.
I do agree when I was envisioning it.
It was like we were kind of at like stool seats.
Because there was a part of me that also wanted to be able to stand.
But, dude, we're going to get, we're going to get desk chairs here eventually so we can, like, kick back, spin.
It's going to be great.
Oh, really?
Oh, yeah.
That's interesting.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
That actually changes a lot.
We're going to get desk chairs back here on wheels.
I don't think I might just get, I might just stand.
You can stand?
And then, like, whatever, you know, I'm going to stand up.
You're going to be out of frame probably, though.
No, we'll move it.
Yeah.
I want to stand.
I've been sitting all day.
That's just not true.
You've been doing plenty of sitting and plenty of standing.
Yeah, and I want to continue that pattern here now.
Yeah.
That's actually, yeah.
You want to stay consistent.
You'll get me just be sitting there's an entire podcast.
Here's the deal, man.
I've been asking for a table for fucking two years.
Got it.
Check.
And I got it.
Here I am.
It looks great.
Hey, look at me.
Look at me, everybody.
It looks great.
And, dude, I'm actually going to be curious.
Is anyone else going to use it?
Yeah, I think all the sports programs are going to use it.
I think glue guy.
No, I think they go over there.
No, they're using this, dude.
They do hold the phone over here.
Oh, hold the phone is right here.
So, yeah, maybe they'll use it for hold the phone.
This table is...
That's great.
It's a dream come true.
It's everything that I wanted.
I just hope everyone else is as happy with how it looks as I am.
If they aren't happy, they're fools.
And here's the thing.
I can't do anything for a fool.
Yep.
Fool me once.
Shame on you.
Fool me once.
Shame on you.
Fool me,
two times.
You can't fool me again.
Yeah.
Do you know that, George Bush clip?
Yeah.
To the Jay Cole song,
it's possibly a funniest thing I've ever heard of my life.
You can't fool me again.
Because there's all saying in Tennessee,
probably exists in Texas too.
Fool me,
fool me once, shame on you.
Fool me twice.
You can't get fooled again.
Like, he just forgets the simplest fucking saying.
Dude, ever?
That, the who should have played that?
That who should have gone forward in time.
And taken that sound bite.
You can't get fooled again.
Yeah, and then intro to their songs.
That's a fact.
They should have done that.
That's what I would.
If I had been them,
That's what I would have done.
Oh, man.
I'm so happy.
I don't even know what to do.
The pod is, it's been revolutionized.
It's in a new place.
Because I, you know, I get to emphasize now.
Careful.
Come on.
No, yeah, it can hold.
I can slam the table.
I can do a lot of this stuff?
Can I bring you back down?
Yeah.
With a bummer of a story.
Fuck.
Yeah.
Tell me about your weekend.
I attended a wedding.
this weekend in
San Diego
which is I forget what that means
don't do an anchor man joke right now
how now brown cow
I was down in San Diego
and
it's anyone with a significant other
I notice this experience when you are at
a wedding
that is your significant other's friend group
and you know no one
you're kind of just observing
just soaking it all in
that's what I was doing this weekend
and the
it was saying it's Southern California did
the weather is perfect all the time we go
we're outdoors we do the ceremony
we do the cocktail hour
best part of every wedding
maybe not best part but way up there
yeah that was a bold statement
the dancing is so fun but I but I do think
the cocktail hour is like one B
now hold on cocktail hour
is post ceremony pre-reception
yeah they're married we're all
done with that bullshit and now we're getting passed around apps and drinks.
You just, you know what you should have said is pass around apps is the best part of any way.
You just like pass around apps.
Yeah, the best part of any wedding.
So we do that gorgeous.
And then they say, please be seated for dinner.
We sit down.
10 person, eight to 10 person band.
Wedding band.
First of all, miss.
DJ or get fucked.
Well, that's to each their own.
I've been to a few weddings that had fantastic bands,
and the bands get a couple of these from me,
but you're still not as good as a DJ.
Because you know why?
I want to hear my favorite songs,
not your rendition of said favorite song.
And if you want to go, oh, well, it's fun.
Sometimes they get the mic going,
you can give it to the groom or the bride,
and they get to just let the DJ get a mic.
Same over the track.
I don't know how I feel about that yet, to be honest with you.
A lot of thinking to do.
The best DJ, or excuse me, the best band will never even sniff the best DJ at a wedding.
Oh, I almost think it's the opposite.
The band ceiling.
No.
Because it could be, you know, it could be the Who.
The Who could have time traveled and be playing at your wedding.
What did you just recently listen to The Who or something?
No, I just think, imagine if the band was the Who from their prime.
Yeah, and imagine if the wedding DJ was a V-Chi.
from his prime.
Get fucked, dude.
You know that Avichi's better.
Yeah.
It's just more versatility.
I don't know.
It doesn't matter.
I don't get that.
It doesn't matter.
Yeah, whatever.
We're off top.
Point is this.
This band, their name is the Lucky Devils.
I like that they've got a hockey name, kind of.
Lucky Devils.
This band, the bride and groom come out for the first time, you know, blah, blah, blah.
Boom, first dance.
They do their, this band sings a song for their first dance.
But you know how they only sing for, like, a minute for that?
Because you don't want to dance for three minutes.
So they do like a minute-long dance.
Then then they say, all right, you guys are going to have dinner now.
So we'll take a break.
And when you guys are done, we'll come back.
And the mom of the bride said, was stressed.
And she said, the band said to her, if they feel a drop of rain, they're leaving with no refund.
We will be paid in full and we are out of here.
I was like, well, it's not raining, first of all.
But second of all, that's crazy town.
then, dude, while we are having dinner,
it starts to gently sprinkle.
And I have a fucking video of this on my phone to prove it
how gently it's sprinkling.
Like, I'm talking occasional drops of water.
I can confirm I was in Southern California as well.
I wasn't in San Diego,
but it rained on Saturday night in a very, very light sprinkling manner.
So if it was anything similar, that is not rain.
Dude, and the band,
who meanwhile is eating prime rib.
Yeah, they're eating wedding in the back.
They finish.
They wolf down their fucking five-star meal
and comes sprinting out, Dan,
and, dude, it was a sax, a trombone, and keys.
They unplug everything and leave.
And go plug in a phone, dude.
Bitch.
And the dad of the bride, who is the man, shout out Ken.
Ken went up and was like, oh, I mean, please show some mercy.
It's my daughter's big day.
I've paid for this whole thing.
I'm paying you in full.
They chose you out of several bands they met with.
Please.
I beg.
And they went like this.
Get fucked.
Plug in a phone.
And then they left him.
And then they left the wedding.
Dude.
And received full payment.
The lucky devils.
How about that name?
You are kidding me.
I think they mostly book gigs in Seattle, outdoor gigs in Seattle, and then pull this stunt every time.
Oh, rain, gone, full payment.
Dude.
Dan, they got a full course meal.
I was going to say the fact that they, you know, obviously they knew that there was rain possibly on the forecast,
but the fact that they knew to go up to the bride's mother and be like this,
by the way, if there's even a drop, we're leaving, no refund, by the way.
We will be paid in full.
That sounds to me like a group of people who are banking on rain and wanted to get out of there.
Dude, it's a wedding.
You're a wedding band.
And Dan, the wedding planner was like, there's space right here under cover where you could play
and we can project the speakers out onto the dance floor because we were like,
it's misting.
So like, I'll dance in the mist happily.
And you guys can be indoors playing and it'll be a little unorthodox.
And they'll make it work.
And they said, plug in a phone.
Hold on.
I need you to chill with the exaggerations.
There was actually no backup plan whatsoever.
Dude, there was a...
Like, there was no...
Like, the venue didn't have, like,
oh, if this happens,
like, we've got someone who can DJ to an extent.
Dude, we finished our dinner
because it was raining that gently.
Like, nothing was happening.
We all just finished our dinner.
And then we went into...
There was a ballroom inside
where the after party was going to take place,
10 to 12.
So we went in there, where the band could have just played in there.
No, dude.
Rain.
Good day.
And there was a DJ that they hired for the after party,
and he came, and he played late night.
Okay.
But, like, dude, these people fucking stink.
I have, there isn't a review scathing enough that I could give to the Lucky Devils.
So here we go.
I just Googled them.
Lucky Devils Band on Instagram.
Fuck you.
And also, let's sewer these assholes.
Dude, I've never seen anything like that.
it like it's a wedding a bunch of jerks it's a wedding you were and you're paid like what what
what happened did one of these guys trombones get rusty one time and he lost he just never recovered
it was like you guys suck there was there were there were there were workarounds is this them
i think so must be them there were workarounds dude oh i'm gonna i'm going to sewer these
assholes. So you know, here's the question. We're, we're a, we're a, we're a nice and loving
pod. Is this grounds to pop them on the story and go if you were in California, let me,
let me Google that again. They said where they play. Lucky devil's band. If you go to their
Instagram right now, it says California, Arizona, Nevada, and Hawaii, we should pop them
on the story and go, if you live in any of these states, don't hire this band.
wedding is indoors. They are
sons of bitches, dude, and they'll bail on
you at the drop of rain.
A single drop. If one of them wants
to come on this show, a future
episode, and defend themselves, I welcome that.
But they will be, they will
find me not very receptive
to their fucking bullshit.
Yeah. And because what pisses
me off is if they've got some sob story,
oh, you don't understand. It was
blank, blank, blank. We'll say that, idiot.
Yeah. I'll show you a sob story, dude. You look
suspect.
You ruined my girl, Haley's wedding.
Yeah, you look suspect.
I'm out on these people.
Thank you.
Out on them.
That's awful.
Feel bad for you.
Yeah, I mean, listen, we made it work, but it's just like...
Yeah.
Let's get into some hockey talk.
Let's get into some hot ice.
Hot ice, topic number one.
It's very hot because a certain person is scorching hot.
Oh, our dear sweet boy.
The dam has broken.
Will Smith gets his first two times.
Same game.
Dude, same game and same corner.
Oh, yeah.
Just nip, nip.
Found his office.
And, dude, it was awesome because he scored, and you could see in his cell even, that it was like, you know, he's like, Christ.
And then, dude, we're texting him, like, actually, I don't know if everybody is aware of this that's listening, but the guys are on their phones at intermission.
occasionally you know so it's like sometimes if something happens in a game with one of our friends and
we text them they text us back right during the game you know and we not naming names yeah and we
shot a message to will that was the i think his first one was in the first period yeah so we shot a
message to will and i wonder if he will hit us back and he did not like he was he was dialed in
and then but we had both in our in our uh messages we were like you know just you need to see that first one go
dude like now now now with damn breaks and then immediately
begged again and we responded like told you come off do it again
I literally thought he's going to get a third after I was like just keep texting
he'll never stop scoring so what a moment for him what a moment for his fan
what a moment for Sean our boy Sean yeah huge the best people in the world huge
congrats to smitty we saw a clip the other day that meant a lot to us because it was a
hockey-related clip.
And then it also had a certain somebody in said clip that we both are very passionate about.
And we must have received no less than two dozen texts from various people, including
many people at this company.
Head of production, Alex Edge was on us.
Our guy, Armand, was on us.
And then it was a point of conversation with the sports guys and then Wags.
Wags jumped in to talk about it.
We got some footage of Tom Brady on the next.
He's a Bauer man.
My God, is he a Bauer?
He's an Army man.
And let's talk about this, dude.
Is there a better signing that Bauer could possibly have
than one Thomas Edward Patrick Brady?
TB 12, Tommy Bauer.
And it brought me great joy to see him out there.
it brought me great joy because the first clip that was sent to me was him
pushing on the little red chair thing you know you know the guy that you're like I can't skate
so the first one I saw was that but then I saw the next one where he is like
he's got the he's got the stick going and everything and I was like oh okay that makes
feel a little bit better I mean it's the guy's first time on the house I'm not going to sewer him
first time on the ice and dude we are we support every one and it does not
Any age, any gender, race, creed, learn to play hockey whenever.
Tom Brady is famously skis at the Yellowstone Club, where I've been, not a big deal.
And he has, there are trails named for him at the Yellowstone Club.
Skis with his family there all the time.
So I was a little surprised he wasn't slightly more comfortable on that outside edge.
Right?
Like, you, I was very late skiing.
You were early to the sport, but you were a border late to skiing itself.
Yeah.
So we're talking different direction from me and you, but the hockey to ski was so easy.
Like, I was like, oh, they're longer and it's annoying, but I was like, oh, it's the same thing.
Yeah.
Oh, stopping's exactly the same.
Oh, turning's exactly the same.
Yeah.
I'm surprised.
I'm confused as to why Tom felt, or seemed so scared of the outside edge.
I think you're coming off stupid here.
I think you are.
I mean, it's like someone who skated their whole life,
and then I went to skis,
you're standing on a massive plank.
Like, it's just easy to stand up straight on them.
Yeah.
It's hard to learn to maneuver them.
But you just stand in there, just stand.
That man is 6 foot 4, 6'5.
Yeah.
And now you're putting them on things this big.
That's what I do.
I do that all the time.
Slip, slip, slip, dude.
Charr is 20 feet tall.
What's the first thing you do when you're learning to skate
and you go out there?
You go, slip, slip, slip.
backwards.
Yep.
He almost went.
That's what he's dealing with.
That's why it's not as easy.
He doesn't have the weight distribution.
Yeah.
It's almost like if we put him downhill.
If we pushed him on a downhill of ice, he might be better.
I mean, maybe.
I still think it would be a disaster.
But the guy's going to learn.
I think the one thing I want to talk about is,
I mean, this is more a message to Ty Domi than anything.
Ty is the one out there wheeling around with him.
Yeah.
We can't get footage out here of him fully suited and booted.
With the training wheels.
Like, the guy's got full gear on.
Yeah.
And he's got all the best gear in the world, all that Bauer gear.
Yep.
But, so what, you want to, you want him?
Just give me, give me the training wheels video with him just with skates on.
Maybe put a bucket on him.
Yeah, probably put a bucket on it.
Protect the dome, protect the moneymaker.
But do you have a case?
No, he had a visor.
He had a visor.
He had a visor.
Yeah, actually, a clean visor.
The man is just so beautiful.
It's unbelievable.
You know what I'll tell you this much.
for free. He'll learn fast. He'll learn real fast. He might buy an NHL team. He might buy the Senators.
That would be sick. Senators, wow. Could you imagine? I mean, he owns, he owns everything.
Yeah, he's got like an E-O. He's got the Raiders. He's got the E-1 team. He owns Birmingham,
FC. Yep. You know what E-1 is? No. It's this new sport. I'm dead ass right now.
It's this new sport. It's F-1. But, um,
boats
racing boats
yeah
that's sick
tracks all over the world
super high priced speed boats
that's gotta be the most dangerous thing in the world
yep
E1
I don't get what the E is
me neither
let me see my find that out
yeah
I mean maybe we need to figure this out
if Tom Brady were to buy
a hockey team what's the team
that he should buy
maybe the sharks
bring it back to the bay
where it all started
I don't hate that Dan
I don't hate that
look dude
E1's five
and homepage, your boy.
He owns an E1 team.
That's special. Oh, whoa, dude. What did that just say?
Tom Brady wins first ever E1
World Champion. He's already a world champion.
He's already a world champion.
Give him an eighth ring, dude.
I didn't even know he was already world champion, dude.
How many teams are there, two?
All electric raceboat.
E1. That's why.
No gas.
Following races across five iconic global cities around the world.
world. Tom Brady won the championship after a couple of becoming strong competition from eight other
teams. All right. We've got to move on. We love Tom. Here's the reality. The fact that he's getting
on the ice is unbelievable. This is an open invitation to come on the Ampty Nour's podcast. Talk
about your experience. Anytime. We'll talk about anything, man. We'll have a great time. Let's talk
about McDavid. It's been a while. Right after we recorded last week's pod, McDavid gets hurt.
37 seconds into the game against the Blue Jackets. Hurt's his ankle. Boom. Skates off.
on his own power, but two, three weeks
he's going to be out of the lineup.
But he's already back on the next.
Yep.
Guys are a machine.
Knoblock said, like, it might be quicker.
He's like, it might be two.
It might be two instead of three.
But you never know with that shit.
This is what I wanted to ask you about.
If it's three weeks.
Who cares?
If it's three, he would miss ten games.
Yeah.
There they are.
At Preds, dub.
At flames, dub.
versus the devils versus Vegas
at Canucks
versus the Islanders versus the predators
at Leif's, at Habs, at Sends.
Give me the rest of those.
Devils.
Dub.
Are you just going to say dub to all of them?
Maybe.
Only one way to find out, buddy.
Vegas.
Dub.
Oh, wait, sorry. I thought you were starting over at the Devils.
Devils.
Dub.
Vegas. L.
At Canucks.
Dub.
Canucks stink right now.
Islanders.
Dub.
Predators.
At Leaves.
Dub.
At Habs.
Dub.
At Sense.
Hell.
I think the Sends are going to get them.
So they go seven and three over the ten games without McDavid.
You got to trade him, dude.
He's a distraction.
Connor's a distraction.
Dude, Leon historically has really played great when Connor's gone.
Yeah, yeah.
It's very malking of him, by the way.
Gino's numbers are nuts when Cid's out.
It's been two games.
I guess Leon should take credit for the entire Blue Jackets game,
which they got pipe.
You're a guy down, so it's a little bit different.
But in the two games after, they beat the Preds 5-1,
two goals and one assist, beat the flames,
one goal, two assists, six points in two games for Leo.
He's unbelievable, dude.
I talked about it yesterday.
He's, the fact that there is still any doubt,
whether he is elite or not.
People are like this.
Well, he plays with Connor.
He plays with Connor
I actually think
The David benefits from Leon.
I think they benefit from both.
I don't even want to hear
a convoluted hot take from you.
There's no take here.
They are both...
They're just two sick players.
They're both two of the top five players
in the National Hockey League.
They're both amazing.
They both make each other better.
And when one of them goes down,
the other one still plays very well.
It's as simple as that.
Here's the...
And this was actually more interesting
right when he went down.
But here's the Pacific standings right now.
Yeah.
Vegas, 17 points.
12.
Games and points.
Vegas 12, 17.
Kings, 12, 15.
Canucks 10, 13.
Oilers 12, 13.
Flames, 12, 13.
Cracken, 13, 11.
Ducks 11, 10.
Sharks, 13, 8.
When he went down, they were like 7th or something,
maybe 6th.
And it was all tight, obviously,
but they were like 6 or 7.
And 10 games isn't,
and it might not even be 10,
But 10 games isn't irrelevant.
No, I mean, like, if you went 0 and 10 in some capacity in that 10 games.
But even 3 and 7, when they were, you know, I think they, I guess they beat the Jack,
or they lost the Jacks, but they were 4 and 4.
And then there are 7 and 11.
It's just like, you know, it's not nothing.
So I was really interested, and they're off to a hot start.
And if they got, if they go 7 and 3, like you just said, they're fine.
But considering they were 500 with him,
They can dump games, you know?
Yeah, I think that's the line.
I think three is the line.
Like, if you go four and six in a 10-game stretch,
I really don't think that matters this early.
I really don't think it matters.
I think you're like, that was a shitty 10-game stretch.
Let's pull it together now.
If you go 3 and 7, I think it's bad.
As weird as that is, I think that is the line.
No, I hear you.
I hear you.
I think if you don't win more than three,
you are like that fucking sucked.
But then again, you got to factor in OT.
Like, if you're, if you go,
If you only win three of that 10, but you take four of those seven losses to OT and you get a point.
Yeah, whatever.
But, dude, it is weird that, and this is the narrative every time with the order to start like this.
But I don't know.
I'm pretty sure I said this last year that they could be outside the playoffs 500 at the fucking All-Star Break.
And I would still be positive if they're about to just go on a run and make playoffs.
I actually feel that way about this team.
Whereas some teams, like we always say, by 20 games, it starts to become a trend.
I'm like, oh, you're actually not that good.
this team, completely opposite for me.
So, yeah, when he went down, I was like, oh, whoa, if they go three and seven or worse,
and they're 20 games in staring down the barrel of a 300 winning percentage,
are they fucked?
And even I'm like, no, they're not.
Yeah.
It doesn't matter because they can just get so goddamn hot.
They can get hot.
They still are in this weird place.
Like, I don't think Hyman has scored.
No, he's got two now.
Oh, he does have two?
Yeah.
Well, that's a dash one for me.
Yep.
He's got two goals, but still, like, way slower than last two.
Like, that's not a 50-gold guy.
Yeah, correct.
And, you know, I think Arvinson, Skinner are still, like, they're fine.
Skinner has three, maybe, I want to say.
I think he has more.
Look that up while I'm talking.
Because I think Skinner's, like, a couple points off of a point per game.
Yeah, I think he just had Apple.
So it's like they're...
Oh, no, Skinner's got three goals, three assists, six points, 12 games.
So six and 12.
So that's not great.
Like, that's a 40.
point pace, 41 point pace.
Yep.
And that's not what you wanted from him, right?
And so
the Oilers are definitely still in a
weird spot. They're sitting in. Yeah, RV
1 goal 3 assists 4 points in 12 games.
Like, this is what I'm saying. And that was all the chatter.
All the chatter preseason. Right?
Everyone, everyone who's pumped in the
Oilers. Saying the Oilers are going to go right to the
cup. What is it? I'm in Nav.
They were talking about those two.
They were like Arvinson and Skinner. Those
guys, they're going to be the difference makers. And I'm like,
Arvinson and Skinner are playing like 40 and 30-point players.
Yeah.
That's not a difference maker.
Yeah.
So, yeah, I mean, now you're without Connor for 10 games.
So, and, and God forbid, God forbid.
But, like, what if that ankle injury sucks and is like nag at him when he comes back?
Like, that would blow.
So the Oilers are definitely in a, like, you're not off the hook, guys.
Agree, agree, agree.
You're in fourth.
You got a winning record, but, like, things aren't looking the best.
Yep.
But just if you even hover for these games without him, I think, like you said, you're fine.
Agree.
Let's talk about another team that does not look the best.
The New York Islanders.
Brutal news, Matt Barzell and Adam Pelick will each be out four to six weeks for the New York Islanders.
Barzell, we challenged him last year, said be dope, be as dope as you are.
And he was.
He absolutely was.
They are currently seventh in the Met, four, six, and two through 12 games.
They're only ahead of the flyers.
Sorokin has been great.
Great.
Bounce back.
Like we said, we were like,
Sorokin needs to be Sorokin.
He has done that.
Man, I'm going to...
Can I take a break from positivity, Dan?
It's a slippery slope.
I know.
But what I'm saying isn't even negative.
It's a dark and slippery slope.
It's going to be more motivating than it is negative.
Okay.
Permission?
Granted.
Granted, okay.
They got to do something, dude.
Like this team is, they have been waffling in mediocrity for what feels like six years, in my opinion.
And it's the definition of insanity.
It's just more of the same shit with this team.
I feel like the Bohor Vat trade two years ago mystified all of us and tricked all of us.
Like everyone was like, whoa.
Lou, he did it.
Like, he put his nuts on the table and he did what everyone asked him to do.
But really did he, like, he made one trade and it's like, yeah, good, you got Bo and you signed Bo and that's awesome.
But it's just the same type of team.
Yeah.
Every single fucking year.
Every single year.
And I'm talking, again, you never want people to lose their jobs, but I think some people maybe need to lose their jobs with this team because it is just like they are just sitting in a wild card position year after fucking year.
And even the biggest Islanders fan on Planet Earth would sit here and say,
we're going to lose in the first or second round.
Dude, and they do, like, it sucks because that's what happens.
And then they, everybody except Browners fans,
and I would have said this about the Caps last year.
I did say this about the Caps last year.
Everyone except their fans are going,
please don't make playoffs and fucking do what you're going to do.
Please let a different team that's more exciting than you get in.
And maybe they get run in the first round, too.
Who fucking cares?
I just don't want to watch you lose to the Cains again.
That's what I'm saying.
And they're like, watch this.
So I hate to root against teams truly,
but I hear you on this one where I'm like, good.
Dude.
Don't make playoffs this year.
I don't need that anymore.
This is a perfect platform and opportunity for me to give two takes that I feel passionately.
One is that.
It's what you just said.
If you are a team that's perennially in the point,
playoffs, but you keep doing this, I don't think I agree with this stance of saying,
making the playoffs is great for the team.
It's good for the city.
It's good for the organization.
It's not if it's at the expense of never having success.
Like, wouldn't you agree, man?
Like, I would rather, I suppose this is what I'm trying to say.
It's like the penguins right now.
How many times have I said, do you guys really?
want to scratch and claw
and make the playoffs
just to lose in the first round again
and waste to the last years
of Sidney Crosby's career?
I'm asking that question
because for me I'm like, absolutely not.
If I were a Penguins fan,
and it's tough talk to say this
because I'm not a Penguins fan,
I would much rather
dubus and the ownership
sit down Sid, Gino,
Carlson, and Lattang
and go, guys, we don't have it.
We are not good.
We are not going to make
playoff run with you guys. If you want to stay here, we'll fucking, yeah, you can have a key to the
city. We'll battle with you until, until you retire, and we'll go through it. We think you are all
great players. This team's not doing the job. You should be traded. We can get some assets for you,
and you can go chase some cups. You can give us a list of two teams, one team, and we'll try to
make trades work. Just let us know. That is what I think you should do. And as a fan, I am saying
My take is, again, if I were a Penguins fan and I have had the last 20 years of success,
cups, playoff runs, unbelievable shit, it is not a big deal to miss the playoffs again.
Yeah.
And go, and we're now not getting a 15th overall pick at the draft.
We're going to get a top 10 pick, hopefully.
We're going to get a lottery pick.
And the trades that we're going to damn sure we make we get some of those lottery picks and great prospects.
I don't get it, dude.
I literally don't get the, if you're an Islanders fan,
and you're like, no, I just, I got to make the playoffs again
and just to lose in the first round.
Because there's a difference between the Leafs
losing in the first round every year
and the Islanders losing in the first round every year.
Both suck as a fan base, but the Leafs,
I can see the delusion of, but we are nasty.
Next year, we will just win.
When the Leafs won in the first round two years ago,
I was like, they could win the country.
cup now. Yeah. It felt like a, oh, they got the monkey out of the back, now they're going to win the cup.
Yeah. That obviously didn't happen, but they have the tools to win the cup. The Islanders,
you go, there's literally no way we can win this first round series. And even if the other team
gets shot dead on the way to the rank and we automatically win, we will lose in the next round.
Literally. It's unbelievable. So, again, you never want, you never want someone to lose their job,
ever. And I think, that's how I feel. But if that's what it takes, okay, but I'm also
borderline saying, dude, like, the Islanders maybe need to blow it up and start from scratch.
Maybe.
I'm fucking serious, dude.
I was talking to someone, an Islander's fan was talking to me yesterday.
And they're like, Barzell is so wasted on this team.
Like, I don't think other NHL fans understand how good he is.
And I compared him to Eichel.
And I was like, I think if you put Matt Barzell on a more proficient team and
put him with a better system,
people would be like this, Jesus fucking Christ,
this guy is insane.
Yeah.
And I'm like, yeah.
It feels like Eichel on Buffalo, is what I'm saying.
And I'm sorry Islanders fans, but that's how I feel.
Figure out, do you see Paul Mary, dude,
take that fucking 12 stitches and whatever the fuck?
What an absolute beast.
Beast.
Insane, that was dope.
My other take, maybe I'll save.
Oh, you know it.
It's my Fairweather take.
Oh, oh.
You can give it.
Yeah, I'll be quick.
My take is on Fairweather Fandom.
Yep.
And I'm here to say it's okay.
Yeah, dude, I agree.
And I used to passionately disagree.
And I think that this is an in my old age thing.
But I'm here to say, if your team sucks, don't watch.
Let me ask you a question.
If you really loved a TV show,
and you watched it passionately for a few years.
It's amazing.
It's your favorite show on TV.
And then all of a sudden, season four comes out,
and it's really bad.
And you're like, geez, what the hell?
Like, this is just not what it used to be.
This is good.
And you battle through season four,
and you're like, that sucked.
And then season five comes around,
and you're like, all right,
it's my favorite show, back on track.
And then season five sucks too.
And you're like, what is going on?
And then you still battle through,
and then season six comes out and sucks.
You probably stop watching that show.
Frankly, you probably stop watching during season five.
No, dude, I'm actually glad you gave me four and five
because I can cite many examples.
Or I probably did literally now.
You had to give me those two.
You're like, this was great.
It can be great again.
But once you get through two full seasons of it sucking,
you're like, I need proof that you're good again
before I can trust you.
Yeah.
I think the same should exist with sports.
and I think it's bullshit that we have coined this term Fairweather fan
and guilted people for not putting up with it.
Right.
My example is, I'm a New England Patriots fan.
The New England Patriots stink.
Stink on ice.
They stink.
And that's okay because they're working on getting better.
Am I still a fan of that team?
Absolutely.
Yeah.
Do I still love that team for everything it gave me?
Absolutely.
But here's the deal.
It is a bad product.
This is a business.
The product on the field is a bad product.
It is not worth four hours of my life every Sunday to watch something bad.
So I'm not going to watch.
I'm going to wait until they get good again.
They still have my support.
They still have my fandom.
They just don't have my time.
When they get good again in our competing for championships, do you get to go?
So, absolutely.
Here I am.
I love the squad.
I am sitting here going, I am literally the biggest Pats fan on earth.
No.
And I don't want to be.
Because those people have, those people are just, are a huge.
They're champions.
And I don't have it.
We need them, though.
We need them.
They're putting butts in seats.
I'm telling you it's okay.
Getting the owners rich.
It's especially if you don't live in the city.
You can't go to the game.
It's okay to not watch every game.
It's all right.
They're bad.
I'm here to tell you that being a fair weather fan is okay.
I'm with you.
We don't need to watch bad products.
Speaking of bad products, you know who isn't a bad product anymore?
You know who's in sick old mode?
The Washington Capitals.
Let's hear for them.
Kappi!
Hey, what you say that?
Kappa!
What's up, Dolan?
Holy shit, the Washington Capitals.
Dan texted me the other day and said, who did they beat?
They bagged to somebody, and it said, I got a text from Dan that just said, hey, caps, calm down.
It was like 5-0 in the first period.
And then that, they lost, they just lost to the Cains, who the scorching Cains, 4 to 2.
But they were like, they're 8 and 3 in third place in the Met.
They have a plus 13 gold there.
They got a couple young kids scorching.
They got a couple old heads.
scorching.
And they, like, they've got new core guys, like future captain of the Washington
Capitol's Tom Wilson.
Yeah.
Who is just, like, fully realizing everything he is, and he is on, he's having an 80-point
season right now.
Connor McMichael and Protas, I think so I'd say it.
I think it's, I don't know if it's just straight up Alexi or if it's Aliaxie,
Protas, but.
12 and 11 points in 10 games.
Dude.
Filling in the first and second line.
Come all.
Their goal tending has been.
very solid. I'm not going to say it's like unbelievable, but very solid.
Lingren, still a great story. And dude, my boy.
My boy, Logan. I'm sorry. I said you should get traded all the time.
But it turns out it was great for you. But it turns out you are fucking killing it in your new home, dude.
Yes, dude. And I'm happy for you. And there are fun clubs there, by the way.
Logan, we love you. And we were saying that because this is, this is great.
There are fun DC clubs. I know I had fun in Vegas and clubs with you, but there are fun DC clubs that I want you to have fun in, too, and continue playing sick.
I have two questions for you.
Question number one.
Is this Caps team the 20, 23, 24 flyers?
In that you're like, whoa, and then they go like this,
you've seen a field goal be kicked live?
Have you ever been to a pro football game?
Yeah, yeah.
Oh, yeah, you went to that one.
I always assumed pro football field goals are kicked in a perfect hyperbole.
Yeah.
A perfect hyperbole.
a perfect
Jesus Christ
what is it
a parabola
yes Dan
thank you
a perfect parabola
why did I just say hyperbole
I don't know it was awesome
but in fact they're kind of like this
they go
like it's like a straight
slope and then they just
fall like the kick has to get like all
the way there and then it just sizzles to the air
and then gravity brings it back down
that was the flyers
wow
Wow, the Flyers, we're a field goal kick.
And I'm curious if you believe the capitals this year are a field goal kick.
I don't.
I don't think they're that.
I do think they're going to cool off a bit maybe.
But, you know, like, look at Ovi, dude.
That's my, just wait on that.
That's my next question.
Like, what does Ovi have, 15 points in 13 games right now or something like that?
Ovi has, I just don't know how many he has total,
but he has five goals and nine points in his last four games.
Yeah.
He looks healthy.
It looks healthy as an ox.
Is that an expression?
Yeah.
Our ox is healthy.
I don't know why that's an expression, but healthy as an ox is definitely an expression.
Are ox notoriously...
They are immune to disease.
I didn't know that.
Shut the fuck up.
About the oxen.
Is that true?
I don't know, dude.
I don't know.
Seven and seven...
Did you just make that up or did you look that up?
No, I was looking up Ovi stats.
I just assumed they're immune if that's the expression.
He's got seven and seven, 14, and 11.
He's on pace for 50.
Okay.
Which would?
Oh, dude, it would shatter it.
Which would.
The odds...
You're going to do it this year.
The odds on BEDMGM.
Shout out.
The odds on BEDMGM preseason for him to break the record was plus a thousand.
And I said, I was like, I almost want to put money on it because if he gets close,
the people will start trying to, because they want it to happen this year.
They'll start banging him empty netters and feed them everything.
But I didn't take it.
And whoever people should look right now and find out what the odds are while you're listening to this and take it.
Because he's on pace for 50.
I agree.
Like smash that, that.
Like, he's going to get close.
At this point, he's almost barring injury.
He's going to get very close.
And there's going to be so much buzz and hype around it.
Here's another question for you.
Question three, I know I's only said two, but I actually have three questions.
Yeah.
Someone brought this up the other day.
If you are Alex Ovechke.
Yeah.
Are you him?
Make sure you're him.
Yes.
Great.
And you are.
One away, I'm going to give you two scenarios, but I need your answer for both.
One goal away from tying Wayno's record, scenario one.
Scenario two, you are currently tied with Wayno,
and you are one goal away from holding it yourself.
In either of those scenarios, you are on the ice,
and the other team has their goalie pulled.
And it's a really close game that you need for playoffs standings.
are you breaking the record with an empty netter?
Duh.
Dude.
Abs a fucking loop.
Really?
Hey, say it with me, dude.
They all count the same.
They all count the same, dude.
Because here's the deal.
I don't give a shit, man.
You're on the ice, you get the puck,
and you get an opportunity to score an empty net goal.
They're not easy, dude.
They're not free.
Correct.
You've got to get it in the net.
Absolutely, I am.
Am I thrilled about it?
No.
I want to cheese someone.
And we always talk about if you're a pitcher and you give up a monumental home run,
are you like, fuck me.
It sucks that that was hit off me.
I bet there's going to be.
Who saves the goalie?
You're saving the goalie.
I bet there's going to be golies out there who are like,
I don't want that to happen on me.
Save our goalies.
Maybe they'll think it's cool.
That's one of those things you think is cooler after you retire.
Yeah.
You're like, oh, we actually broke the Wayne record against me.
Yeah.
And you're like, oh, that's cool.
I think no joke.
This is such a specific scenario,
but I think no joke if I was Obie
and I'm one away from tying it or whatever.
I come out with my OG black tinted visor
and that old ugly CCM bucket.
And there's 10 games left.
Like there's enough games left
and I'm one away and I'm on the ice
and the other team has their goalie pulled.
Again, I know this is a ridiculously specific scenario.
And I have a clear open net,
but it's like a two-on-one or a two-on-o.
So I'm not saying I wouldn't score
because I do, we need the win.
You would pass it.
I think I would pass it if there was enough games left.
It was last game of the year.
Can I tell you something?
Yeah.
Actually, I'm going to fucking make you take this back right now.
Whoa.
With one easy anecdote.
You say you care about this all the time when people meet us on the road.
Oh, fuck.
I know what you're going to say.
Think about the arena full of people whose day you just ruined.
All those people who paid tickets to that game and went,
he's won away.
I might be at the game.
see him do it. They made sure to get to that game for that moment. And then you have the opportunity
to do it in front of them and make their sporting fandom lives. Yep. And you pass it off because
you're too proud. You're too proud to score an empty fucking netter dude. Which he has more of.
Which he has more of than anyone in the league. To score the goal that is our namesake. And you're too
proud for that. And then you ruin their, there's a little kid dude. There's a little kid with
cancer in that arena. Yeah, two of them. And his only wish before dying.
of before succumbing to his illness
is to see, oh, we break the record,
and you pass it off.
Shame on you, dude.
Shame on you.
Let me get one more specific then,
because great point.
If I pass it still.
Take it back.
No, I pass it still.
If we're on the road.
Home, I shoot it in.
No, because so many home fans flew.
No, they did.
Yes, they did.
We were in Nashville
and a bunch of Detroit people
were staying in our hotel, dude.
People travel for much less, my friend.
If I'm home,
I shoot it.
If I'm at a cool road city, I shoot it.
Awful.
I don't think anyone flew to, you know.
Don't, don't do this to a certain fan base.
Don't do it.
You're right.
There are no guarantees in life, dude.
You shoot it in.
You shoot it.
You hit by a bus.
You shoot it every time.
Hit by a bus leaving.
Yeah. Okay.
Take it back.
I take it back.
Shoot it out.
Yeah.
That's what I thought.
You son of a bitch.
All right, Dave's talking to.
you about our partners bet m gm without a doubt the greatest sports betting platform in the entire game we've got
some sweet action going on these days we're in it folks with the nchl season we've got the NBA back
we've got champions league soccer going on you know i love that stuff and bet mgm has you covered
in every single way when it comes to those and here's the thing if you sign up for bet mgm right
now you get an unbelievable first bet offer so sign up get everything in there
Use promo code netters when you sign up, and you are going to get the best deal that you have ever heard in your life.
You can bet up to $1,500 on anything that you want.
All those things that I just mentioned, NHL, NBA, European soccer, and you get that back if you lose it.
If you lose that $1,500, you get it back, and it goes right back into your account.
What other platform is doing that?
I'll answer it for you.
The answer is zero, because bet MGM is the best.
They're the only one that takes care of you.
Bet MGM is taking care of us.
We're taking care of you because BetMGM trickles all the way through.
Anything you want, they've got all the action.
Make sure you tune in with us because we're getting hockey picks going every single day.
We've got Roll for Wager.
We're letting the Dungeons and Dragons 10-sided die decide bets for us.
And guess what?
It's winning.
It's doing better than us.
And we do it all through BetMGM because BetMGM takes care of you better than anyone else in the game.
I've said before I'll say it a million extra times because that's the BetMGM effect.
They are different.
They are making sure you hit it.
So get on BetMGM today.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-Gambler, available in the U.S.
Call 1-800-327-50-50 in Massachusetts.
21-plus only, Arizona, Colorado, D.C., Massachusetts, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, only.
Please gamble responsibly.
Call 1-800 Next Step in Arizona.
First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
See BetMGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in Ontario and Puerto Rico.
you go. Taking a quick break to talk to you guys about Dollar Shave Club. Now, if you are like me,
you've seen the awesome ads and you think to yourself, Dollar Shave Club only makes razors.
Well, my friend, that is incorrect because Dollar Shave Club makes everything. It's actually
amazing. And now that I'm dialed in with them, I'm using them for everything. They've got
deodorant. They've got pre-s, pre-shaved scrubs, they've got post-shaved dues, they've got the
shave butter. I've been talking about the shave butter a lot on the story, and I've getting people
DMing me being like, this has revolutionized my shave. So get on board with that big time.
Also, they've got these one wipe Charlie butt wipes that are lovely. And I'll leave it at that.
Okay, but most importantly, I want to talk to you guys about the Club Series 6 razor they have going on right now.
Six stainless steel blades and a vitamin E strip for my face. Look at my face.
It's vitamin E infused every day. It's incredible. We had a photo shoot today for the new merch
dropping and I was like oh I need to shave my face I need to be me needs to be clean and
smooth I don't want to have a bunch of bumps going into this high-tech photo shoot bang the
club series six does the job perfectly every single time I am a customer and I love it and you should
be a customer too because we have this partnership with them so if you go to dollar shave club
dot com slash netters you get 20% off any order of $20 or more and like I said have a blast
in that store they've got everything you could want
for all your grooming needs, check it out right now.
Let's pick it to a nice beer league hotline.
One of the boys on our team is constantly naked in the room,
and to be clear, I have no issue with nudity.
I shower with the boys, I change in front of the boys.
I expect them to do the same around me,
but I do it respectfully.
I don't bend over and spread it right in someone's eyeball,
but this dude strips down the second he walks in
and prances around the room,
flopping his dong all over the place for legit 10 minutes before he gets dressed.
having full-on conversations.
Granted, he has an absolute peace,
so maybe I do the same.
But is there a way to ask him to throw a towel on
without sounding like a prude?
Guys got a hose, dude.
I knew he was, dude, I knew the second this,
the premise became clear.
I knew.
I knew there was going to be a hose.
To even think to do this,
you got to have a wrench.
I mean, you're not doing this.
If you got a little squeaker.
A-corn.
This is complicated.
This is complicated, Dan.
And I also want to say this, I know this guy.
Yeah, dude.
I've played with a few of them.
I've been in the locker room with this guy.
And, you know, it's, there's something about the freedom that I think that they love and are maybe lacking in other areas of their life.
So I get it.
Yeah.
You know, it's okay.
But ultimately, the locker is a safe space.
We want it to be a safe space.
It's a safe space for sharing.
It's a safe space for relaxing, airing your grievances, and enjoying yourself.
So it needs to be a safe space for my man here to be nude, as well as our guy here to voice his concerns.
Both.
Yes.
Oh, shit.
Because I couldn't tell which one you were aiming at for the safety, but you're saying it's both.
I think neither here are right, neither are wrong.
This is a gray area.
Paradoxical.
It's a paradox.
But it works.
But it works.
Here's the thing.
I think we need to implement a hula hoop.
A hula hoop rule.
Okay.
Go on.
Tarzan here can get butt naked.
And we can't say anything.
Yeah.
That's his right.
And sit in his space.
The second he starts walking around and letting Nogini sway back and forth and possibly hit someone while they're lacing up their skates.
Ask me how my day was.
Ask me how traffic was.
Now we got a problem.
Sit down.
Yeah, because if he starts walking around, you're going to get bit.
Dude, do you think he has beers?
Bought ass naked after?
100%.
Like he goes, immediate strip down.
Oh, Chris, this guy is off the ice, and he has his bare cheeks and asshole pressed against that bench while he's drinking a beer.
He's probably holding the beer, like against it.
He's doing this move.
He's like this?
Yeah.
That, I know that guy.
He could be dick out in the handshake line.
No.
It could be that quick.
Come on.
Let's be real here.
What if...
He needs a space.
He needs a hula hoop.
If he is sitting at his seat in front of his bag,
getting dressed, sitting naked, enjoying a beer naked, that's fine.
You can't be walking around.
What if our guy went like this?
Out of his own wallet.
It's hard-earned money.
He went like this.
I got everyone team shorts.
What if you got team shorts for the boys?
You know I'm a gym shorts guy.
I love this idea.
I love this idea.
Like a little bower.
Got everybody
Bauer custom
Got them screen printed
With our team
Yeah
And your number even
Maybe
Wow
I got everyone
Team shorts
In the locker room
Listen I love
What your head's at
But what do you think
About this
I think
Whether you do team or not
What I'm saying is
You can get one
For the whole team
You can if you don't want to
Break the bank
Because that would be expensive
Just get him for him
I think you acknowledge
I think you make a joke
Yeah
I bought you some shorts
Yes.
I think you acknowledge it.
Just thought you could use a pair.
No, no, no, no.
Listen to what I'm saying.
You acknowledge it.
You go, hey, dude, I got you some team shorts.
Stop waving your cock in my face in the locker.
Make a joke of it.
I've had enough of it.
Make a joke of it.
And do it in a funny way.
Be like, dude, you are prancing around this locker room,
butt-ass naked.
It's too much.
Here's a pair of team shorts.
I got them for you.
Pop those on until you're getting ready.
Yeah.
Acknowledge it.
Make a joke of it.
Is there any threat of you becoming not a locker room guy?
You lose the locker room because they go, you're not a locker room guy, clearly.
CP, I'm glad you brought this up because I do think it is an area of concern.
Yeah.
I think the answer is no, because this is not normal locker room behavior.
Yeah.
Yeah.
This is more than your average nudity.
Yeah.
So having a problem with it does not make you a non-lockroom guy.
Okay.
But again, you've got to be delicate with this.
Yeah, you really do.
Hulu hoop rule and tease him, dude.
Tease him.
When he gets up, it's like the scene in crazy stupid love.
You like to say, well, you mind?
My schvanz is in your face for 10 minutes.
If his schvanz is in your face, you're allowed to be like this.
Go sit down.
Yeah, dude, I can't look at him a towel with.
Oh, shit.
Careful with that.
If he's going to let the python out of the cage, he's got to know that.
Careful for the mongoose.
You might get stuck by the mongoose.
Be careful.
That's what I'm saying.
That's great.
All right, let's get into some trending.
First team.
Got it.
No, you got it.
All right, first team.
Trending up, Florida Panthers.
They went five straight.
They went to New York and swept everybody, Dan.
They swept the red.
They beat the rags.
They beat the Islanders.
They beat the Sabres.
One of those is hard.
They did the two, whatever.
Then they went to Finland for fucking global series.
I was like, what is this not stadium series?
Global series.
And swept Dallas.
We talk about all the time, how cool those trips are for the boys.
They talk about it a lot.
And this one was extra cool because Barkoff had,
four points in the first game.
A ton of, like, dude, everyone who's finished scored or, like, had a part of a goal there.
Across both teams.
It was awesome.
It was truly a finish party.
And I'm so happy for them, too, because what an iconic moment.
Barkoff grew up a mile from that rink, literally, like, right down the road, and getting
to come back there and playing in front of his family and scoring and winning both games,
extremely, extremely sick.
But the Panthers look really good.
We've talked about Sam Ryan
at a million times.
They've had injury concerns
with Barkoff and Kachuk
so like they're only at
you know five,
eight games or whatever
but they're humming along.
Yep.
They are showing zero signs
of two extremely short summers.
In particular Bob.
But I will say Bob
is,
he'll be fine.
I have complete faith in Bob.
I wonder if I wrote his numbers down.
He's,
I'll check it right now.
He's a tiny bit leaky to me.
Yeah, but he's not,
He doesn't look bad.
No, by no means.
He's not playoff Bob, but like he's bad.
308 goals against 892 Sabres.
Yeah, 892 is not good.
Through nine games.
I'm like, it's a little leaky.
That's not a little leaky.
Below 900, that's bad.
So actually, it might be a dash two for me because I'm looking at his wins and I'm like,
he's fine.
But like 892 is bad.
And you know he's been good?
That's like out of the NHL bad.
No, no, no.
It could be.
Could be.
You know who's looking pretty good?
It's certainly not NHL starter.
And I think you might say what I was about to say,
so I'm so glad I jumped in and didn't let you fucking swaggerjack me.
I want to give flowers to Sam Bennett.
Oh, okay, yeah.
Yeah, he's like the second highest points score on the team.
Sam Bennett is a career high, 49 point guy, career high 28 goals.
Wow, is that a year true?
Yeah, career high 49 points in 71 games.
He right now has eight goals, five assists, 13 points, and 13 games.
That is your like bottom six, just like complete Swiss Army knife guy,
and he is a point per game right now.
Dude.
And fucking A man.
He is,
someone asked me in hockey talk the other day,
show some love to some of the bottom six guys,
guys who get like 40, 35 points.
And I was like, I'm cheating a little bit because Bennett is a,
you know, has a career high 49,
but I was like, last year he had 41 points.
Yeah.
Like, he is that guy.
But you got to know how valuable it is to have a player on your team
who can literally play any line.
Someone gets hurt and they need to put Bennett on the first line.
they don't skip a beat.
He can play power play.
He can PK.
He's also going to fight your toughest guy.
The fact that when they're playing the Bruins,
obviously we know that's a big rivalry,
new guy, Zadorov, mutant in the best way,
is trying to fight him.
He's like, give me one.
And Bennett's like, are you fucking crazy, dude?
You're a giant.
But the fact that Zadorov's even thinking
Bennett is the guy I'm going to go after
just goes to show how unbelievably,
unbelievably versatile he is.
Tangent off that, Sam Bennett and one other guy.
I'll let you try to guess who.
win the award for me of
I once they get their
playoff beard going I don't recognize what they
look like without it like when I see San Bennett now
I'm like what the other guy you feel
this way about too yeah
and there are guys with great
playoff beers like chara but chara still
without his beard I'm like oh yeah that's what you look like
and do you agree about Bennett like I see
Bennett now and I'm like when he doesn't have a beard
yeah that's very weird yeah I was going to say baby
bark of but that's not who but baby bark of is
that's uh Lundell but that's not who you're talking
about it if that's the case um goose no it's not he's not on the panthers oh wait sorry i thought
you were talking about who were you going to bring up when you said you know who else it looks great
for the panthers oh no i said another oh uh spencer night oh my boy yeah i mean three and one two seven nine
goals against nine oh two seven seven i've always loved him i know he's been dealing with a lot of
stuff to see him back because dude they had stalars playing like great backup behind bob last year yeah
which people forget about yeah and where did he go where's still
Lars at trauma maple police so it's like that was a piece that's one of those pieces where you know
you hear about the swayman ulmark tandems don't always hear about the big star eating 60 games and the
very capable backup so to lose that and have spencer night come in and give you that especially when
bob's been a little leaky fantastic fantastic okay guy in the n hl who looks completely different when
he doesn't have his beard into the point where i'm like you know when babies see their dads for the first
Yeah.
And they're like, what?
Guys who come to mind, I know Sags looks a lot different when he doesn't have the beard going.
Dewey looks crazy different without the beard, but he's kind of always got the beard now.
This guy had, I'll just tell you, he kind of has a Bennett beard.
Ryan O'Reilly.
Oh, yeah.
Like, I see him?
You're a beard guy.
I'm like, dude, you've got no fucking visor.
Don't ever shave that.
Yeah, keep that up there.
Yeah, you got to keep the beard.
unbelievable but the Panthers are I mean they're out of control trending up another
trending up a lot of people in the DMs say and talk about this team we talked about them
last week we'll talk about them again the Carolina Ericates they've won six straight
they started the year two and two and people were like oh that defense me me yeah oh no all of
us were they were like oh I don't know this is what's going on blah blah blah but they are
they are buzzing six wins in a row um they swept their Canada plus crack in
road trip they're just out of control natius is playing insanely well sphatch isn't hurt yet that's a win
which is absolutely huge but um i think the natius is a big one right a couple years ago we put
natius on our top hundred players had a bit of a down year last year there was a lot of speculation
is he going to get traded there was a lot of boston talk after he's playing so well uh in worlds
with with pasta and zaka but he extends does a little bridge and he is buzzing
playing so, so, so, so well.
This team's killing it.
What would the Cains have to do, and I'm kind of asking myself to,
what would the Cains have to do to get you or me to feel differently about them
than you currently do other than, like, win the cup?
Literally nothing?
I'm being dead serious.
No, have someone emerges a superstar.
Truly.
That's my answer.
That's a really good answer.
My answer is have someone emerges a superstar,
whether it be Sebastian Aho like you all expect,
whether it be Svetch, staying healthy, and being like, and boom, I scored 55 goals.
Yep. Jarvie.
Whether it be Jarvis, whether it be Natchez.
Someone emerging as an undeniable superstar.
Yeah.
And I'm not talking McDavid levels.
But like pasta.
You are, yes, that might be too high.
But like a top 2015 player in the league that is scoring over 100 points and you're like, I'm putting you on my fucking.
And he's like, I'm going to do that.
This is normal now.
Over 100 points is normal for me.
that's what I think it would take.
That I actually agree because I was going to say nothing
other than win the cup because they do this shit every year.
I'm like, oh, the canes are good.
The canes are going to catch someone in the second round
and really surprise them.
And then they're like this L leader.
That's what I'm saying.
And here's the deal.
You don't need a guy on your team to have 100 points
to win a Stanley Cup.
I mean, look at last year, Florida.
None of those guys.
Vegas.
Vegas.
Look at Vegas.
Yeah, 67 points leader on the team.
You don't need that.
But I do think this team specifically,
if they could have a guy that is showing the rest of the league,
I'm capable of this.
I think that instills a lot of fear.
We can be playing bad.
I can do something on my own.
Really good one.
I think that's what it's going to be.
Really good answer.
Trending down.
I love this pick by you.
Defense in the Pacific Division.
Look at this today.
This is as we're recording.
Vegas in first place, gold diff, plus 17.
Now I'm just going to go right down two through eight.
Yeah.
Kings minus one.
Canucks minus three.
Oilers minus seven.
Flames minus three.
Crackin minus two.
Ducks minus seven.
Sharks minus 18.
Vegas plus 70.
Stop the puck, dude.
And what's crazy, Dan, is the Ducks actually have given up the sixth
the fewest goals in the league.
They just can't score.
And Ducks Tangent, I actually was going to talk about this later,
but there was, I didn't clock that.
McTavis just scored his first goal recently.
All the districts, I'm not talking about this later.
I was able to just do it now.
McTavish just got his first goal
He had 19 in 64 games last year
Frankie just got on the board
And then Cutter hasn't scored yet
Which I didn't really
I kind of got lost in like the Will Smith
Hadn't scored yet
Trevor has won
Yeah so I'm like
And Troy's going pretty good
But I'm like
What the fuck are you doing
I actually think Leo's going pretty good too
But like me and Danaheim Ducks fans
Were counting on a plethora
A bundle of goals
From Mason McTavish
Frank Petrano
Cutter Gotee
Trevor Zegris and they have one.
No, how many is Frank have now, too?
Probably.
I think they've got like four goals combined from all of them across 40 fucking games.
So that, talk to me after 25 games, but right now that feels like a Matthew
could chuck last year's situation to me where I'm like, this will write itself.
Water finds its level.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I think Frank definitely Cutter, I just believe in Cutter's goal scoring touch.
Obviously, you know, he's a rookie, he's a new player in the NHL, we'll see.
Dude, I'm not saying anything about my belief.
Okay.
Here we go.
I am officially, you know, he's my guy.
I love him.
But like Trevor Zegers needs to wake up, dude.
Yeah.
We are constantly fucking around on this podcast.
I say this with all the confidence in the world because I know what type of a player he is.
needs to wake the fuck up.
Yeah.
I don't know what is going on.
But it's now like, we're through 12 games.
He has two points, I think.
He has one and one.
Look that up for me, but I'm pretty sure it's one and one.
And I just know how good he is, and I know he does too.
So I'm sure he is more upset than anyone.
One and two.
One and two.
There you go.
I just know that this is not, what I'm saying is those years where, remember when Jack
Hughes popped for 99 and he was telling, you know, he's like, oh, yeah, there go all the
bust talks.
Ha-ha.
Trevor is not playing like Jack was the year before that when he only had 50-something points, 60-something points.
Like, Trevor is playing poorly.
I mean, to be that talent and have one goal and two assists through this many games is just not acceptable for him.
He's got to fucking get it moving.
Like Frank and Mason and Trevor and Cutter are four of your top six.
Yeah.
And they have one, one, they have three goals combined.
And, you know, it's, that's a positive.
If you want to spin zone it, it's a positive for the ducks to, like, have the record you have and know that those guys aren't going at all.
Like, you're hanging around.
Like, you're hanging around, and those guys aren't going at all.
But it is, like, this is on the coaching staff.
This is on those guys.
Do what you got to do.
You got to get cooking here.
You guys are way too good to be doing this.
Especially with the Oilers without McDavid for the next 10 games.
100%.
Trending down.
David Posterner.
Unbelievable.
David Posternack, four goals in his first five games.
He has two in his next eight,
and last game in a shutout win benched in the third period.
He's made some nice comments already.
Yep.
I wrote it down.
Big time pro.
Like, his response has been amazing.
Honestly, I've just got to be better.
You know, I take the responsibility of being better,
but at the same time, I'm just moving forward.
Today I'm focusing on another game tomorrow,
and yesterday was yesterday.
I never looked back.
Great quotes.
He said it was a term, Monty.
He was like it was a bad turnover.
Yep.
Yeah, Monty said coach's decision, and it was.
So a few things I love here.
One, Bruins have needed a change, right?
Like, they've needed to mix shit up.
Sway off to a slow start by his standards, absolutely.
No question about it.
He gets sat down.
Corpusalo goes in against the flyers.
Boom, shut out.
Amazing.
Sway gets in the next game, boom, shut out.
Changes are being made.
Good job on Monty.
Really good job on Monty.
And I do love how Bruins fans on Twitter are going like this.
Fucking Monty, dude.
Like, he's such a player's coach.
He needs to be tougher.
He especially needs to be tough on the top guys.
And then he benches pasta in the third in a win.
And Bruins fans on Twitter are like,
what the fuck is that dude?
That is a great.
You can't be benched pasta.
You better check yourself.
Can't be benched pasta.
And I'm like,
what the hell do you want for them?
What is going on here?
But I love the move.
I love pasta's response to it.
Like that is such a veteran.
And also,
that's such an elite player in the league response.
You're like, yeah,
I got to be better.
I fucking sucked.
I had a shit turnover.
I haven't scored as much as I should be,
blah, blah.
I do think there's an element.
of frustration for pasta like zaka's off to a slower start and the two of them were buzzing so
hard last year and i just don't think that he has found that chemistry yet yeah uh it's weird those
first five games lindholm was so good and he's cooled off a little bit too and they were they were
looking great together but they need to find chemistry again but it's good to see that there's a response
from from monte and a response from him so let's see him bounce back but trending down right now he's
he needed that little peepy whack absolutely and the last one we had was trending up but you
already said it it's just the bruin's goaltending back-to-back shutouts 20
three saver from Sway and a 20 saver from Corpey.
The Bruin's success this season, because dude, they're in seven or some shit.
And the Bruin success the season starts from the net and works its way out.
That's how this team's going to be good.
Good start.
Yeah, that's what you've got to do, baby.
Let's get into our starting six.
This past week's our starting six lineup, start me off CP at left wing.
I know you're happy about this one.
My man, Kyle Connor, 12 points in his last six games, giving him 90.
He's 19 points on the year.
He's two off the league leading points, one off the league leading goals.
He scored 47 in 2022, and it felt like 50 was inevitable.
He's currently on pace for 60.
Let's see if he can stay healthy.
He hasn't been hurt.
I went back to look at this.
He hasn't been hurt as much as I remember he's been hurt.
Like in my mind, he's like the most injury-prone dude ever.
He's had two, I think, bad injuries, but for the most part, he plays his games.
It's really just the letdown of that 47.
I was like, he's...
To the moon, he's the next Matthews, or I guess, is he older than Matthews?
I think so.
I actually don't.
Yes, he is, because he was that fucking disastrous 2015 draft.
Yeah.
I also saw this.
I don't know if you saw it.
By disastrous 2015 draft, I mean, like, the best draft of all time.
It was just disastrous for the boss of the bros.
He just passed Larkin as the fastest Wolverine to 500 career points.
Oh, that's fucking awesome.
I mean, I hate that for my guy.
Yeah, but still cool.
Two studs in the league.
Yeah, that's fucking.
Jets are nasty.
Kyle Connor's nasty.
He's scoring fucking 50.
I promise you that.
Why don't you take the center as well?
Because this is another one of your boys.
My man.
Sid the kid, dude.
This is a bit of a homer pick,
but four goals in his last two games,
both wins, the OT winner against the Ducks,
which was nasty, wasty.
Yeah, gross.
Did you see that?
Gross.
Dude, like, good.
And I felt bad for Cutter because the announcer was like,
Goji, he turns it over.
And I was like, it was kind of a tough play against the ball.
He's jammed up, whatever.
The Penguins are still bad,
but Sid per episode last week is potentially putting on his Superman cape
because we said he had one goal coming in to the last two games and now he's got five.
He heard me say, I think, on this airwaves that he wasn't going to have 100 points.
And now he is like, don't ever disrespect me like that again.
I thought you were my friend.
I thought we were boys.
You bitch.
So now he has, he is going to have 100 points and I'm back in.
I love it.
Right wing, my guy.
He's going to get 40.
He might get 50.
Goal, Cole.
off-field.
Unbelievable.
Listen, cooch and stone are still out of control.
Yep.
Probably could be, probably should be a cooch.
But let my boy have his flowers.
I mean, this guy is absolutely unbelievable.
He's scored in four straight games tied for the league lead with 10.
Like I said, he's getting 40.
50 is on the horizon.
But this is unbelievable.
The one thing I need is a little bit more distribution.
A little bit Matthews are you right now.
It's got 10 goals and one assist.
So let's just, let's get some assists cooking.
But, dude, Marty, I think,
is literally just like...
Just bury the pocket.
I think he's just like, shoot it, bro.
Like, I think Cole goes to bed,
and there's like a white noise machine
that's just Marty like this.
Shoot, shoot, shoot, shoot.
Yeah.
He's having a Chris Kreider season right now.
Just like all goals, no passing.
We do not pass.
We don't, why?
Shoot it.
Cole is on fire.
You absolutely love to see it.
I'll go again.
Left D.
He's back at it.
Josh Morrison.
Tough one.
He's so good.
Seven points in his last four,
two goals and 13 assists for 15 points on the season.
He's eating minutes, too.
He's just on the ice every single shift it feels like.
And like we talked about Kyle Connor,
one of the cornerstone pieces of this Jets team,
hurt last year, healthy this year,
and just looking fresh as a fucking head of lettuce.
And dude, he's doing it even strength, too.
Like, I encourage people to look at that.
He's two points behind K.L.
on even strength.
I know he's on the power play, obviously,
and that's a factor that he can control.
He runs that power play.
But he's doing it even strength, too.
Sometimes you see these great D men eating points on peeper,
assists, and Morrissey's everywhere.
Right D.
Speaking of Kail, we've been avoiding in the last few, trying not to make it him every week,
but you just cannot deny Kail Makar.
He has, listen to this, dude.
He has 21 points, which leads to the league, not just to the league.
Not just defense me.
He leads the league.
The abs have played 12 games this year.
He has a point in every single one of them, and he's only scored one point in five of them.
He has multiple points in the other seven.
Yeah, he's playing, he's playing Wayne Gretzky's hockey right now.
Like, what are we talking about?
Every forward is hurt on that team, so he's absolutely carrying them.
You said the one thing you want to say about Cole.
He's not passing the fuck.
I do want to say one thing about Kale.
He is a literal team worst dash eight.
I know.
And you know I'm the biggest plus minus guy in the biz.
I do feel like with his situation,
he's just on the ice all the time.
Yeah.
Yeah, I mean, he plays the most, for sure.
He's just on the ice all the time.
But he has 21.
I know some of those are people points,
but like when you're that productive,
if you're like a...
No, I get it.
It's unacceptable.
I'm just like, dude, you can be a dash 8.
And he knows that.
He knows that.
And it would be one thing if the abs as a team were all dash 15.
He's like, I'm a dash 8, but everyone else is dash 15.
I'm like, you were literally the worst plus minus on the team.
Yeah, it's not good.
And you have the most points in the league.
He's winning the master's.
Yeah, it's like, fuck.
We can't have that.
He's got to clean it up.
And in goal, there is absolutely no doubt about this one.
Igor Shosturkin.
This fucking guy, last three games, five two win versus the Islanders,
35 saves on 39 shots.
Two one win versus the Senators, 40 saves on 41 shots.
Five three loss to the caps, 41 saves on 45 shots.
He's tied for fourth in the league with goals against.
He's third in the league with save percentage.
One shot out already.
They should pay him 18 million years.
It's, you know, the Rangers look great, right?
But they are being carried by this guy.
Like, you know, Laugh is playing fucking phenomenally.
You love to see it.
Crider is scoring.
the Rangers record is not representative of their play.
Like this guy, I mean, that Senator's game is a loss 99 times out of the 100.
Oh, dude.
And I would say right now with any other goalie in the league.
I think that's probably right.
Any other goal in the league, you pop him in net, they lose that game.
He is playing so fucking out of his mind right now.
It's truly an unconscious effort what he's doing.
He's in flow state.
He is Frank the tank up on stage, debating,
against James the Raging Cajun Cajun Carvel,
and he blacks out and gives a perfect response.
That is what's happening.
Dude, that is exactly what happens.
We were talking to our boy, Laz about this,
and he had a cool take where he's like,
this Rangers team is going nowhere this year
if you have to give up,
if you're giving up 120 shots over three games stretches.
Oh, dude.
Because as good as he's playing,
this happened against the Panthers last year.
He was stealing games,
and I was like, I cannot believe
the Rangers might go to the Cup against his Panthers team.
to do.
Correct.
They should have been swept in us here.
They should have lost to Carolina.
I've said it before, I'll say it again.
And just like, that is not as good as he is.
And I've talked a lot of shit about him.
Not shit, but I just don't think he's the best goalie in the league without question.
He's playing like it right now.
And he was playing like it in the playoffs.
And you still don't have it.
So you need to be better defensively.
You know what?
I am going to say it.
He's the best goalie in the NHL right now.
I think the last few years when Rangers have said it,
And they've been like, he's the best.
It was Vasi, and I don't think it was close.
Yep.
And I really don't think it was close.
I think Chester's the best goal in the NHL right now.
He might be, and I never have said that.
So I will give you that.
He is just, I mean, you look at these stats.
You look at some of those games.
It's like he is, he has that aura right now of a guy that I'm like,
fuck he's going to be hard to beat.
Yeah.
But there are other guys.
So does Hella.
I know we didn't do it in the playoffs, which matters.
Yeah, I actually don't think he does.
And obviously that's wrong.
The stats are there, but I don't think Hellebuck has aura
because I feel like I saw the playoffs,
and I'm like this, you are mentally weak.
Fair, maybe the aura thing.
Yeah, yeah.
And that's all I'm talking about.
Like, Chesty's aura is unrivaled in the NHL arena.
Yeah.
And that's fucking sick.
Yeah, that is gas.
Take me into a game, my friend.
I hear you got another trivia.
I got another game.
I'm trying to come up with a name for this one.
I wanted it to be like, it's another trivia game.
I wanted it to be like trivia ladder or like trivia countdown or something.
But the way you play this game.
Those names suck.
That's why I didn't say that's the name.
Okay.
Sorry.
I was just trying to tell you your instincts were right.
Yeah.
Thank you.
They always are.
This game is, I'm, and Wags, I'm going to have you keep track of this for us over the season as we take turns playing this specific game.
This game is I have a player.
And I'm going to tell you things about that player.
And you have to try to guess who it is.
But I'm going to tell them to you in order.
So I'm going to give you one piece of information about that player.
and if you get it right, then you get 10 points.
But if you say, I don't know, you can go give me the next piece of information.
So I'll give you the next piece.
If you get it right, then you get eight points.
Okay.
I got it.
6, 4, 2, 1.
If you don't get it, you get 0.
If you guess and get it wrong, you get zero.
And I will still read the rest of them to you, but you are out.
So you try to wait as long as possible.
You've got to be sure you know it.
Okay.
points right now and we'll see how many you have when we're done okay let's do it you follow the rules
oh yeah i'm i'm done okay piece of information number one and this is worth 10 points this is worth 10 points
i played hockey soccer and lacrosse at pioneer high school in annarbor michigan and my brother
andrew is an investment banker and don't don't rush don't force anything if you feel like you
happen to know that, then by all means, don't look anything up.
I'm writing down the...
And there's no real issue here if you want the next piece.
The tens should be few and far between, Dan.
They should be few and far between.
Okay.
Okay.
So that was hockey soccer lacrosse at Pioneer High School in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
Okay.
For eight points, I loved watching Sid and Ovi growing up.
But my favorite player...
was always Nick Lidsstrom.
I think that's a fair hint, dude.
It gives you some age.
No, no, it's good.
But the first part was, go fuck yourself.
Yeah.
But it's age.
It's age.
It helps with age, in my opinion.
In my humble opinion.
I played hockey soccer lacrosse at Pioneer High School in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
I loved watching Sid and Ovi growing up,
but my favorite player was always Nick Lidstreet.
Okay.
That's eight points, and you can take a shot right now,
but if you were wrong, you get zero.
I don't know if I want that for you,
but I think keep going.
I respect you.
So we're going to six.
Next piece of information.
First six points.
In 2021,
I became the first Jewish player
to win a major NHL award,
joining Bobby Orr
is the only other person
to do it in their second season.
And I'm going to be honest with you, Dan,
this piece,
as I was prepping for this player,
I didn't know that fact about this player.
So that was news to me.
And if it's not news to you, then I'm happy for you,
and you're about to get yourself six juicy points,
but I had no idea.
Say that stat again?
In 2021, I became the first Jewish player to win a major NHL award.
Joining Bobby Orr is the only other person to do it in their second season.
Do we want to go to four, Dan?
No.
But if you get it wrong, you get zero, Dan.
And this is the first one.
Maybe you just want the four to get something under your belt for the season.
You wouldn't want a zero out of it.
the gate. I'm just looking at all the things. We want to go to four. No, I think I need to solve the puzzle.
No, I think we go to four. No. Okay, but you're going to get zero. Do you think I am?
Maybe. I feel like it's, that last one narrowed it down very specifically to a certain award.
Agree. And I need to trust myself that I know who won that award. Okay. But the other things are
hurting my brain.
Yeah.
Because I'm like, I thought I knew something about this person that I clearly didn't know.
Right.
I did, however, know the last one.
Oh.
Okay.
For one very specific reason, a mutual friend of ours.
Okay.
I'm going to solve the puzzle.
For six points.
I go for six points.
and say
Adam Fox
That is correct
again
six points to you sir
I was very
very unsure of that
because of the Michigan thing
I had no idea
no idea
I did know he is a Jewish player
shout out Johnny Lass
for four points
you would have got this for four points
I won an Ivy League title
an ECAC hockey champion
championship, and I helped Harvard reach its first frozen
four since 1994, where we lost
in the semifinal to Minnesota Duluth 2-1.
For two points, my dad is best friends with Charlie McAvoy's
dad since we grew up on Long Island together.
And for one point, despite being drafted by the flames,
I never played for them. I was traded to the hurricanes,
but never played for them either. The Keynes traded me to the New York
Rangers where I played all of my five seasons.
Yeah, I would have definitely had it the next one. I'm glad I went for six.
Six points. That's going to be tough to keep pace with.
I'll tell you what, that Michigan one tripped me right up.
Well, it's 10-pointer, death.
Do you think anyone's going to get a 10-pointer at any point?
I really hope someone that played with him.
Because I also said my brother Andrews in the investment banker.
So someone, if we have fans listening that know them.
Oh, dude, I bet there are so many fans that are going to hear this and be like this fox.
I got it in 10.
Because every Rangers fan that's listening when you start doing this,
and then you say my brother Andrew, they're like this, they know that about it.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
There are crazy fans out there.
Shout out if you got it.
Shout out how many points you got it if you beat Dan.
Yeah.
I feel good on six.
Six is really clean, Dan.
I feel really good on six.
That's fantastic.
That's it for us this week at the engineer's podcast in our new studio with our new table.
Come on.
And I do want to say it really quick.
Let's show some love to the merch.
Oh, yeah.
We're rocking some great stuff right now.
C.P.
Got the new hat.
Got the new Blatech hoodie from War Road.
I designed this.
Yeah, it's a great shirt.
Great crew neck.
We got some unbelievable stuff dropping.
you guys in a couple weeks right in time for the holidays right in time for the fall in the winter
unbelievable stuff so make sure you scoop that we're giving me a little tease right now but that's it
for us this week at the empty narrative podcast we're going to keep grinding with you all week
with all of our picks all of our fun stuff and until we see you next time skate hard
