Empty Netters Podcast - The Mikko Rantanen Revenge Tour Cannot Be Stopped | LIVE EP.6
Episode Date: May 5, 2025The boys go live for their fifth episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BE...TMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
We are back.
Entenetters puck line news covering the playoffs,
brought to you by Bet NGM.
We're back in the bar.
After an insane weekend,
we asked the hockey gods polite for some game sevens,
and they gave us two of them.
And guess what?
They were two of the sexiest,
horniest,
most electric game sevens we have ever seen.
Who has it better than us?
Who has it better than hockey fans?
Absolutely nobody.
We even had a buddy who likes hockey.
He used to play hockey with us, watching.
And he watched both game sevens with us.
And he was like, those were some of the sickest games I've ever seen.
And I wanted to go, dude, you're just missing out.
Hockey, playoff hockey is some of the sickest shit you've ever seen.
You haven't been paying attention.
But admittedly, I was like, those were particularly sick.
They were particularly sick.
Those were particularly sick.
I feel like every single year we always go, playoff hockey.
It's the best thing in the world.
And I want to be like, that's how it is.
That's how it always is.
But those were especially phenomenal games.
Cannot believe what we just saw.
There's so much to get into.
We're only covering two games over the weekend.
Three kind of.
True.
Two series.
Yeah.
Only covering two series from over the weekend because that's all we had.
But we're going to have plenty to talk about with these four teams.
And then we are also, I know it's not on the ticker,
but we're also going to get into the Panthers Toronto preview
because they start off round two tonight.
Tonight.
For now.
Tonight. For now, let's get into game seven, Aves, stars. The stars move on in truly dramatic
fashion. Dude, Miko fucking ranting him. Dude. Holy shit, buddy. It goes back to game six, too.
Yeah. Like, they, even though they lost, it goes all the way back to game six. I, uh,
didn't know who I genuinely wanted in this. Sometimes we, you pick Colorado too, right?
Yes, I did. We picked Colorado, but like you've said before, who we pick doesn't mean who I'm rooting
for all the time and whatever. And also it can change. Like sometimes things happen in the series and you're
like, wow, I'm falling in love with this storyline or whatever. I think I picked, I picked Colorado
so that I think, I think they're better. And early in the series, 100% I was rooting for Colorado just
because of the landy stuff was so awesome,
which it remains awesome.
But I think that was just like such an emotional storyline for me.
And something about Dallas being so resilient with guys out during this series.
I was like, before the game seven,
I looked at you and I was like, who do you want?
Like genuinely who do you want?
And I was kind of like, I think Dallas, like I think.
But it's weird.
They always say that thing, you flip a coin and you'll know who you're rooting for in midair.
So I was like, I don't know.
I think Dallas.
This one's brutal.
And then Colorado, Dallas looked fucking lifeless, dude.
Like, oh my gosh.
After having so much fight in games in, in, what's the fucking Colorado ranks, not Pepsi anymore?
It should be Pepsi.
Ball.
Ball.
In ball.
Games in ball, they go down.
Avs are out shooting them a billion, nothing.
That's, that's go to bedtime, dude.
Go to sleep, Steve.
But instead, they fight back every game this series, except for, I guess, because game one,
they actually fought.
It was just bad breaks.
That score line was bullshit.
Game, game.
four, I guess, that that was like the one game where I didn't see a lot of Dallas pushback
until game fucking seven at home when they're getting ragdolled and doing dick.
And I was like, oh my God, dude.
But finally I come all the way around to rooting for Dallas and they're going to do this to be, dude.
Yeah.
Like, I just couldn't believe the start.
I had a super similar journey.
As you said, I'm so glad you pointed that out.
Who we pick in series does not necessarily mean who we're rooting for.
We're just trying to be, we're trying to be good at our job.
Yeah.
And we fucking suck at that sometimes.
But for us, we picked Colorado, or at least I picked Colorado because I thought Dallas
might have been too banged up, similar to some of the other series.
I started rooting for Dallas the second they went up three to because of doing what they
were doing with the injuries they have, your best forward and your best defenseman.
I was like, you deserve to win.
You deserve to win if you've gotten it to this point.
So to then see, again, I know they lost.
in game six, but to see Miko Rattman completely come alive and then go into this game seven after
they started a little slow and then do what he did. It is, it's the most devastating and rude thing
I've ever seen in my life. Dude, the first one was such a fucking nip. And I didn't even notice
the first few times
how clean it was
and it
came completely
against the run of play
like when Colorado went up to nothing
I was genuinely like this game is over
giving up the shorty was even like oh fuck
and then going up to nothing I was like
this game is fucking over Randy comes through
and absolutely snipes one and I'm like
all right now you got a ball game and then
the wrap around which I know wasn't actually
wrapped all the way around but just that's what you do
actually I have a question for you did
I've never played goalie, so I don't know.
But I swear, dude, when players do that, like, coming down on their strong side, fake shot, push to go even wider.
Goleys sell so hard that they're going to get beat on that angle.
Like, I genuinely think if you're playing goalie correctly, and here come the goalie,
because I'm a fucking idiot.
I don't know what I'm talking about.
Which is okay, though, because we are all, you know.
You're playing goalie and you're on your angle.
And the dude shot fakes and pushes you wide.
I think if you were playing the first shot correctly,
all you really need is like one of these.
Yeah.
But they go like this.
Boom.
Dude.
And the fucking chaos in front of the net.
Dude,
like you either get wrapped around or they just throw it in front and like all hell
breaks loose.
I know.
Which is what happened.
But what a moment, dude,
when you realized it was him and he did that shit and we were tied.
Truly, man, like I, like you keep saying,
it was just such an electric game.
and that tying moment
at that moment
where you like Dallas did it
they've got it
I felt the tides change in that moment
so we're going to get to that exact topic
in the Jets Blues game also
to me I go
the next couple minutes
I think is so important
that's usually when I make my judgment
in fact Leif Sends game six
we talked about with Hockey Illamani
that response from Toronto
it's that moment
So I was like, all hell has broken loose, but let's see the Colorado pushback.
Because if they get, not even a goal, but if you're just like pimmed in your own end for the next five minutes, I'm like, oh, you're dead. You're 100% dead.
But if you're like, oh, dude, huge chance. Oh, Colorado 211 just missed. That's when I'm like, oh, actually this woke them up and we'll see.
So Dallas ended up scoring so fast that we didn't even get a chance to assess the response.
But I wasn't, to answer your question directly,
I wasn't immediately like Dallas has won.
Yeah, no, but you're right.
We are kind of just sitting there like, oh, I wonder well, this was going to bang.
And you're like, oh, my fucking God, what the hell happened?
But it was those, I mean, similar to what I was saying,
you have these injuries, you lose that first game pretty clearly.
Yep.
Then all of a sudden you're up three, two in the series while you're shortchanged.
And I was like, holy shit.
And then this game, you go down to nothing.
It just that that two nothing start from Colorado felt so Colorado felt so
Oh my God, yes.
It was like, all right, we're not going to give you any breathing room.
Just want to let you know you never had a chance.
You thought you were in this.
You were always dead.
But then Dallas just said, oh contraire, mon frere.
And they bang in two goals and then get another power play goal.
After that three, two, I feel like you saw the life get sucked out of Colorado.
such a significant way at the airplane hangar in American Airlines.
You got the fucking green lights everywhere.
People are going fucking berserk.
And I was just like, okay, you are, you've done it.
You have taken this shit over in a big way, Dallas.
Big way.
Let's talk about that penalty.
I was, I love, dude, I got incepted by Dennis in Raleigh about Jack Drury.
Like Dennis, who does the radio, the Cain's radio show that we've been on a few times.
and you've seen the clips for Dennis loves Jack or I probably probably still has some love for him
but when he was a cane he loved Jack Curry loved him and it made me be like yeah Jackery is the
man so I've always loved him too he gets sent over to piece of that deal kind of like the forgotten
piece not forgotten but you know what I'm saying like the ancillary piece and I was like he's
gonna shine there dude he's gonna be a star they've already so deep down the middle and then I get to
add Jack Drury I was devastated that it was him and that this game
was going to be decided this way.
You liked the call, you accepted the call more than I did.
Because he's grabbing Sags, 100%.
He's putting his seat.
He gets to the front.
They're trying to get position and he's like falling over and he puts his hand on Sags,
100%.
I'll even go as far as to say that is a penalty in the regular season.
But I just think in game seven with four minutes left,
I know.
That is a nothing burger to me.
It sucks.
Not jumping ahead, but in the Blues Jets overtime,
there was like seven penalties that they just didn't call.
And we were like, good.
Bravo!
Oh, well done, refs.
So I do, I am a big believer in you got to swallow the whistle.
But I know a lot of people hate that take from us.
A lot of people are like, a penalty is a penalty.
Fuck you.
And I'm like, well, I get it.
But I just can't have it there.
I can't have it there.
I agree.
So they go to the power play.
And then another kind of unnecessary chirp because I thought he played great.
That goal was gross, right?
Beautiful play.
Beautiful pass from Dutchie.
And that's actually a harder shot by Wyatt than people think.
There's like literally this far to get that through.
But dude,
McKenzie Blackwood,
who again had a great series.
It was a great pickup and we'll get into their roster in a second.
That is at least the second.
I think I can even remember a third.
Power play goal that the stars have scored on the a abs
that a pass goes across him
damn near through the paint.
And I'm like, dude, fool me once.
Shame on you.
Fool me a thousand fucking times.
I'm the fool.
Dude, you need to go to school on that and know that that's their play.
Like, you've been burned there.
Man, it's Wyatt every time, too.
He's over there.
Like, put your fucking paddle down.
That is the one, last year, Kings Oilers, we were losing our minds because the
oilers were just automatic.
I mean, the Oilers were automatic on their power play all playoffs last year.
And it is infuriating when you see a team just do the same thing over and over again.
And you can't stop it.
Because usually what we see in the playoffs is a team's people gets hot against a team.
And then it cools down because they go, well, I mean, we,
seen it now five games in a row. Yeah. The fact that this just kept on happening was pretty
tough for Colorado. It's crazy, dude. Pretty tough for Colorado. So now we're going to get into
both these teams a little bit, but for Colorado, you cannot beat the stars now. This is the narrative
that you're living with. What's that in a quote? I believe he said, I don't know what we do from here.
Yeah. But he's like, I mean, we can't beat these guys. He was like, they have two huge injuries.
We can't beat these guys yet again. And you've got.
DeBoer now 9 and 0 in game 7s.
Bednar is now 0 and 4.
God damn, damn, dude.
In game 7s.
And I'm pretty sure it's like seven straight, uh, elimination losses for them or so,
or not, not elimination losses, but like, they just, they're in this weird sticking point.
This Colorado Avalanche team that we have said is so good.
They've been so unlucky with Landy and Nishuskin out.
And now here they are.
They make these crazy moves.
They bring in coil.
They bring in Nelson.
They got Natchez, obviously.
and the big trade, they get Landy back, they bring EJ back for vibes, and boom, first round loss.
So getting into this team and this roster, I think something was very glaringly obvious for me in this series.
Kail McCar was bad.
Dude, Kail McCar was bad in this series.
And it sucks to say because, you know, he's on the score sheet.
he's got points here and there and that's because he is cal mccar he's always going to do that
but when kail mccar is bad what have we said a million times devon taves allows kale to be what
kail is that's why divan is such a good partner him that's why he's also such a great player
but when kale is bad it stands to reason maybe devon's not exactly on his game and i think that
that was kind of the case he was still very strong but it shows that their d is not that good dude
Yeah.
You have two, you have, you have, you have maybe the best pairing in the NHL.
Right.
Chelly knows loves them.
In those two.
But when they're not playing well, I think you go, oh, wait, maybe Colorado's D is not
that strong.
And I think that that this summer has to be a huge, huge point of emphasis on what you
do to fix this team because people are going like, what, what do you want us to do?
Like, what shake up can we do?
Look at how active we were at the deadline.
You traded Miko Ranton.
and that's not enough of a shakeup.
Yeah.
And I'm here to say maybe not.
Well, also, I think we and most people in the hockey world are like,
the abs are so deep.
That's the deepest team I've ever seen.
And it's because we are literally only looking at the forwards.
Yeah.
Which they are.
That's the deepest group of forwards I've ever seen that the abs put together this year.
And Dallas is right there too.
But that went healthy.
But that is incredible.
But dude, you are right.
And I think this is the rub.
It's, if you go, R.D. is barely good enough.
Yeah.
when Kail and Devon are playing well,
that's still okay because you have
Kail and Devon.
But it does put a lot of pressure on their game
because if they don't play well,
you're in trouble.
And all the other teams we're talking about
every time we do this and you're like,
who's the favorites?
You're like,
God, Vegas, heavy D,
rolling lines, good goalie.
It's usually that's where we're looking
this time of the year.
And it is funny that we kind of ignore that
about the Avalanche team.
Like no one ever brings up that as an issue.
And it was.
Hondo P.
So now looking at Dallas.
how about this, dude?
How about this?
Dude, it's incredible.
A little bit of a stat.
So many people looked at that trade, including us, the initial one.
Yep.
And we were like, God damn, dude.
Colorado won that trade.
And it is now wild to say that Carolina and Dallas are still in the playoffs and Colorado
is not.
And I believe in these playoffs, Miko Ren, it has 11 points.
And everyone involved in the trades for him have 10.
Dude, it's, I can't believe, I can't believe it.
I thought the canes were going to get rinsed.
I thought they got so much from Dallas.
And then Dallas really put their nuts on the table because if they didn't get anything
from Rantin and you lost that trade horribly.
Definitely.
Gets a ton from Rantin and gets a hate game seven, Hattie, 4.4 point, game six, game seven.
Yeah.
And Colorado, dude, like, NACIS, all the Keynes fans, dude, every single Cain's fan
goes when that happened, they go, yeah.
Oh my God, look how fast Natchez is on Colorado.
Put him with Nate, holy shit.
He's elevated.
Natchez and three on three is insane.
Natchez, Kale and Nate, on overtime, blah, blah, blah.
They also said in the same breath,
and NAC just disappears in the playoffs.
Yeah.
The game shrinks.
He doesn't have enough space.
He can't really do what he used to do.
What do you have?
One goal in seven game series.
One goal on a seven game series while Miko rantin and fucking fist fucking you.
holding your head back.
Yeah.
So the Colorado, I think this series loss is embarrassing for a lot of reasons we've talked about many times with Dallas injuries and stuff.
And all the retooling outside of the rant injury, all the moves you did.
Yeah.
I think it's embarrassing already.
But to have natius, to have overreacted in my opinion to whatever the rankton and demands were.
Yeah.
And think you couldn't possibly get something done to ship.
him out of town and obviously he didn't want him to end up
Dallas, but to see him spin back to
Dallas and murder you while the guy you
brought in didn't really do shit.
That, I,
this could not have gone much worse.
You're totally right. I do want to give
Curtis a shout out in the chat, said possibility
that Kail has hurt. He had a, uh,
a rap going on. Absolutely, Curtis
wanted to ring that up. Again, saying
he was bad is not shit talking Kail because in the
playoffs, it can mean a, a multitude
of things. And I do believe he was
probably carrying an injury because Kail McCarr just doesn't
fall apart like that.
Yep.
Going back to Rantan, I mean, dude, he is owed so many apologies.
Yeah.
So many apologies from so many people who were chirping him when he was in Carolina,
chirping his start in Dallas.
And you saw in these last two games, this is the player that he is.
He is a world beater.
He is one of the best players in the league.
And scoring a hat trick and sealing the icing on the cake of an empty netter to
dead your old team to dead all your pals. Godfather moment, dude. Godfather moment. It was truly
remarkable. But I am going to say this. And this is that's not so much a but it's more of an and.
Dallas, you got to win the cup now. Dude, I know. I am dead ass bro. I know. I know.
Like Dallas, we always say sometimes when you have the first round matchup that is this intense,
you're playing this good of a team. We called this the Western Conference final. This is possibly the best
matchup in the playoffs. And so often we see someone win and people go, they're going to be too
tired. They just went to war with a team. That can't be the case here. You cannot. You just
battled with this Colorado team. There are so many storylines with Dushan, with Dupor and
Bednar's records, the fact that these two teams have played in the first round in the past,
and you've won. You have won. And now we have Dabor talking about Robo and Miro. When are we
going to get these guys back. He says it might be game one, might be game three, might be game five,
but they are coming back in this series. I know, but I fucking hated that response so much,
dude, because the same fucking thing they said about Miro, they were like us, we think Miro's going
to miss game one of round one. But we feel pretty good. And I said to you then, I was like,
guarantee we don't see him once. And right now, dude, he's like this, well, I believe we're going
to see them. I don't know if it's game one, game three, game five. And I'm like, okay, so they're
fucked still. Yeah, I'm going to put my chips on the table and say, Hayskin is playing game one.
God, dude. I just feel like, I just feel like.
we've seen him in a in a in a in a in a in a game speed jersey at practice since game before game one of
this year dude god robertson is the one i'm like yeah he could need more time like he got hurt in
game 82 right yeah yeah yeah so i think hayskin is going to be bad and that is such a fucking
game changer oh dude such a it's your leading goal score you're leading goal score and your best
defenseman who does everything for you yeah especially power play like holy fuck dude and and i'm
with you man because even the um comments section of our asses
of the post of the empty netter in that game was like oh classic Dallas like they do this and then
get ready to choke and and it's it's mad fans saying that in the moment but I also hear them
in a way where I'm like here comes the another oiler ricochet shot but I'm like you cannot
make it to the Western Congress finals against the fucking oilers and just lose because you're like
I was tired from the hard teams I played before that yeah this has to be it dude yeah you have to go
So I feel strongly that this is the run, right?
This is that we've said a few times.
Time is now, Dallas.
And to me, this is a massive, massive green light.
No pun intended of you guys got to go straight to the cup now.
Cool quick bullet point finals on this one.
Yeah, we've also got some breaking news.
I just saw that in the chat.
Is that real?
Breaking news is happening.
The chat's going on.
We're getting texts.
We're getting nonsense.
but we'll circle back. Is that real say it?
Yeah, we'll circle back.
Breaking news in the chat.
It sounds like Rob Blake is out as the L.A. King's GM.
They have mutually parted ways.
We always love that phrasing.
But looks like Blakey is going to be gonzo as the GM of the L.A. Kings.
A lot of Kings fans wanted that.
This is going to be a big, big topic of discussion.
We don't need to get into it now, but it's a tough one, dude.
I feel badly for him, but this is something that, frankly, I think the Bruins could look to,
where it just goes, if these are the results you're getting,
and you feel it's because of the roster you have.
Someone is in charge of the roster.
It's kind of that simple math sometimes.
But I feel bad, and that's a tough fire, by the way, for that organization.
Oh, yeah.
That's a tough fire.
Team legend.
Tough fire.
No, tight, tight with President Luke Robatai.
That is, that's a tough one.
But Blake, the King's Twitter just announced it.
Rob Blake is out of the LA Kings organization.
Okay, so some final bullet points on this one.
I thought Otter was, I thought Otter had a good series.
And I think he just needs to keep building on that.
I thought McKenzie Blackwood had a good series.
I agree.
And I think if you're Colorado, honestly, you are so fine.
To your point, I'd look to D maybe.
because they've got some roster stuff, right?
Like Brock,
free agent,
some of these guys coming up soon.
I'll be interested to see the moves they make to do this
because that's going to be a very frustrated team and front office.
Landy,
this could be just what he needed.
Because as magical as an insane return into immediate cup run would have been,
that's hard.
And there was no guarantees on that.
And I think maybe if you were going to lose,
I'm almost glad he just lost now.
Got his taste of it.
Save the knee.
Save the knee.
I don't need you to go through three more grueling rounds just to not win a cup.
So get back on the mend.
He comes back full off season, full season next year.
And I love that for him.
So maybe that helps.
So now we move on to the probably wildest game seven of the weekend.
Yes.
Getting into Jets Blues.
Holy shit.
We talked on the Friday live.
We dropped on our pod.
If Hellie was leaky in game six in St. Louis, what the hell do you do?
And boy, was he leaky.
Yep.
And they forced a game seven.
And then we got to enjoy that game seven last night, Sunday night.
And it was just pure cinema.
Pure cinema.
Dude, and you're so right, though, about the game six thing because, man, it,
it felt it was we've said this it felt like boston vancouver all over again and you know what happened
in boston vancouver game seven where it was like you finally break through yeah and that appeared to be
exactly what was happening four shots into the fucking game but man the game six thing is the game six
heli performance is a nightmare is an actual nightmare we made a million jokes get on the plane call
pull up kayak dude smell you monday yeah and that happening again was so bad
bad and I swear dude,
Helly looked fucking miserable
before game seven.
They put the cameras on him a few times.
And I know he's just like,
I'm focused,
I'm focused,
but I'm like,
no,
you're not,
dude.
There were demons playing dodge ball
in his brain,
that entire buildup to that game,
dude.
I felt horrible for him.
And then the first shot on goal goes in in game seven.
One shot,
one.
Go home.
One shot,
one goal.
And then what was so nuts,
man,
you're up one nothing as,
if you're the blues and everyone's now going,
helly, holy shit.
And you're up in Winterfell.
You've got the white wall buzzing,
but still, it's getting nerve wracking.
Then, dude,
PL Joseph gets,
or Joseph gets whacked,
open ice,
pops right back up,
picks up a puck in the neutral zone,
steps over the blue line,
throws a weak wrister on net,
in,
in.
And it was like two goals in four shots.
Four shots, yep.
And I'm like,
I,
I,
hopped on the IG and I was like, you got to pull him, right?
I mean, literally, dude.
Literally, if he's just going two goals again, what are we doing here?
I couldn't fathom the start.
And it's Jets' fans' worst nightmare.
It's Jets' players' worst nightmare.
Dude, you know what that's like, bro.
When you're playing with a goalie who's having issues like that,
and that's how this game starts, because before the game, you go,
doesn't matter, bro, you've been sick at home.
Game 7, just lock in tonight and we fucking got you.
Everything's fine.
Two of the first four shots go in and you on the bench, without fail, go like this.
we are fucked.
We are beyond, we are so fucked.
We don't even know how fucked we are.
That is how you feel in that game.
I mean, that's what I'm saying.
That Matthew Joseph goal goes,
my mistake, as I said, P.O. for a second, it's early.
But that Matthew Joseph goal goes in.
And I was freaked.
I thought we had,
we had this written in the stars of just like another disaster.
I thought he was going to get pulled.
And it was just going to be pure misery.
And I think that leads into a conversation that you and I had.
Yes.
This was another series that I didn't know who I was rooting for.
I've been very vocal that I have hatred for the St. Louis Blues
after they destroyed the Bruins in 2019 in the Stanley Cup.
But we're big Monty guys.
Monty's the coach now.
This team is so young and fun and watching them rip after Monty joined has been electric.
But in doing this job and in
being around fanbases, witnessing fan bases, witnessing teams,
we have kind of realized that if there is any team,
any sort of struggling Canadian fan base
that we are going to get behind,
it's the Jets.
And it's always been the Jets.
Dude, the Jets are,
the Jets are a smaller town.
So many people talk shit,
say that no one wants to go there.
No one wants to sign up in winter.
interpeg. No one wants to be a part of that community. They stink. They're frauds. They're not real.
This, that and the other. And the end of the day, their fans have been nothing but incredible to us.
Yep. The only interaction that isn't purely pleasant with Jets fans is when Jets fans are asking us to
just talk about the Jets more. To give them more love. That's literally the only time that Jets fans
could ever say anything other than just being awesome. Everyone who's from there is so proud
to be from there. All the players who are up there completely buy-in. Their team is so fun. They have
unbelievable players. And again, they're another smaller town team up in Canada where they go,
we've got nothing here except this hockey team. And their fans are actually nice. They're actually
incredible. And they aren't delusional and assholes. They're like, ah, it sucks when we lose.
We just want to win. And I think that we got to get behind. Dude, I have never been more impassioned
about an idea than this when we were discussing it.
Every time the Jets lose, I go, God, I feel so bad for them.
And that's kind of it.
I just move on.
Vegas knocked them out.
I was like, I wish they had got one at home, but whatever.
Last year, Colorado, I think last year, right?
And I'm like, oh, man, hellie, that was fucking brutal.
I hate to see it feel bad for the kid, American goalie.
Yeah, AI's on that team.
They're superstars are guys that I'm sneaky obsessed with.
You know, I've been banging the Kyle Conradrum for a thousand years, right?
So they have megastars that aren't appreciated like megastars.
They've got our American hope and goal.
There's so much cool shit there, dude.
And it's like, I was joking with you, all the oils fans are like, we're oil men.
You know, that's the thing they got going on.
So I am declaring myself a rocket man for the jets.
And I'm going to be pumping Elton John Rocket Man.
And listen, I'm not, I'm not, we'll do our predictions in the,
We're going to record tonight.
They'll be in the pod tomorrow.
Yeah.
I'm not even saying I'm going to pick the Jets.
I'm just telling you,
I officially have love for the Jets in a way that I am like,
I am a Jets fan now,
and I am a rocket man,
and I welcome all other rocket men and women.
And I hope they welcome me.
I hope the current rocket men and women
who have been in the trenches forever
are willing to have someone strap in to the spacesuit
and go to fucking Mars with them, dude.
Because this team, this tiny Canadian team,
deserves our love.
I love what you're doing.
in here. I really do. And I, you know, I thought I had something great when I declared
when, uh, Winnipeg Winterfell. Yeah. And, and it's the wall. Yeah. You were at the people like that.
Watchers on the wall. I hope, I hope the Winnipeggers love that. But you declaring yourself a rocket man
is one of the coolest things I've ever heard. Do you think people can hear this if I play this?
Oh, it's going to do our YouTube. I was like, it's you. Well, it was going to be the song too,
but it would both play. Actually, maybe I can mute this. You can mute that for sure. Yeah, dude.
Mute this. Mute that. Get Rocket Man.
buzzing. Do you have like a speech
as you as you do it? No, no, no. I just kind of
wanted to hear it. Get it up by the mic.
This is what I'm talking about, dude.
This is where we get sued by Universal Music.
Wow. And dude, also somebody last night
was mom, dude, mom last, our parents were in town
as I think everybody knows. Mom last night goes, come on
pegs about the Jets. And I was like, well, they're the Jets. They're not the
pegs. But then I was like, actually Pegs is a fucking sick.
thing to call them. They're pegging them, dude.
They're pegging the fucking blues last night.
So come on, the Jets. Come on, Rocket Men.
The fans, we're all Rocket Men and Women.
We're going to peg the competition up in Winterfell at the wall.
What more could you ask for?
God, that was awesome.
How crushing was this for the Blues?
Because when you look at it, they're a wildcar team.
You're playing the president's trophy team.
You had such a turnaround.
You had really no business winning the series.
And, you know, I love it.
Did you go seven to?
No, dude, I went five.
Yeah, which, or keep going.
I was all over this series.
I was like, we could have a shaky hell of buck.
I think this blues team is pesky at home.
And then Jesus Christ, what did we get to?
Did you think you were all over the series after two games, though?
Because after two games, I was like, I was all over this series.
The blues are going to wag.
No.
The jets are going to ragged all these guys.
I don't think I was all over it, but I was like, we'll see what happened to St. Louis.
There was nothing about me that was like, oh, this is a sweep.
Okay.
But I wasn't all over it.
But then when St. Louis won that first game, I was like, I am all over it.
This is.
I think I was prepared.
You know how sports writers will always have those stories where it's like the Falcons are
up on the path, a thousand nothing.
And they have a whole article written and then they have to throw it away because they're
like, oh, fuck, this happened.
I had a whole thing prepped for this where this series is even more of a pupe job than the
Kings.
Yeah.
Where I'm like, dude, you were up to O on this team that you are way better than.
Yeah.
And I know they've been hot.
whatever, but like the fact that this, the fact that this Jets team was down two goals with two minutes
left in game seven is a humiliation.
Dude.
I was like, dude, if St. Louis won the first two or even split in Winnipeg, I'm like, okay,
you're in a dog fight.
This series should have been a sweep.
And then you just got popped once in St. Louis.
And then you completely fell apart.
So I was ready to be like, yeah, you are outside your mind.
Yeah.
A few things to say, one, I hate this for Monty.
feel terrible for Monty because, not because, oh, no, it's another playoff loss because
this was so impressive.
Incredible.
It's because they did so much.
It's the turnaround that this blues team has under Monty is unbelievable.
We talk about young players sometimes, the Habs.
When they lost to Washington, I went on this soliloquy about how beautiful their future
is.
And St. Louis, you've got something special as well.
I think with Monty there, long term, I think a lot of.
lot of players are going to want to sign there, are going to want to extend there.
So that's great.
It is Monty.
It's weird, because I wouldn't have agreed with you.
Yeah.
Until that, like, you know what I mean?
Even in the previous, I was like, St. Louis isn't that good.
They've got a couple good players, bright, bright players.
It's Monty.
Whatever.
And now I'm like, you're right.
Look at Jimmy Snuggs, too, coming into playoffs, being a, being a performer.
The way you lost is awful.
Oh, dude.
Awful.
Like, up three, one, and you give up two goals with the.
goal he pulled. That just, that's, and this, the, this tying one was bat-shed insane.
I mean, just eat it. Eat it in the corner.
It was like, whiff, who was at the point there?
It was Eelers. So the puck goes up to Eilers, whiff. And somehow he gets it back. Yep.
And then good pass. Whips it over. And then I don't know who shot that before Perfetti
tipped it. It was Kyle, but he whiffs it. And that shot's going wide. That was not a pass.
That was a bad shot. And Perfetti just one of the sickest tips he'll have.
Two of the nastiest tips I've ever seen.
Eelers gets the first one and goes like this.
There are five seconds left.
I literally have to get this on net.
Whiffs.
And we were like,
Gimmo.
And then it comes back to him.
And the deranged psychosis
to not think,
well, I have to get this one on net,
to pass that.
Dude, if he passed that over
and the buzzer went off
before that gets to the front of the net,
and I go,
did you just go with back-to-back pass as time expired?
You fucking moron.
But dude, and then he snapped it across, and then you're right.
Kyle Conner's just doing the best he can to just get it back on frame.
Like that, the decision making there was so baffling to me.
And then it ended up in the back of the net.
CPI can't figure out if it was the most calm under pressure play of all time.
Or a full on panic because he whiffed it and he was embarrassed and he was like, just get this buck up myself.
Why are you passing that, dude?
There's no time left.
It worked out.
It worked out.
So true dagger for St. Louis to just not eat that.
puck to give up those two goals you hate to see it i felt personally once that happened i was like
jets are winning jets are winning it just it's that is so much momentum and you kind of called out
either st louis wins this in the first two minutes of o t or it's going to be a burn barn burner and
fucking holy hell did you snipe that one well i will say dude i thought the blues the first two minutes of
o t were chaos jets had a couple good chances on dinner actually then for a minute like two to seven
I actually thought the blues settled in wonderfully
and were getting better chances
than controlling the play.
It didn't really show in the shots,
but I was like,
oh, the blues have actually completely controlled this.
Then Shen took the delay game.
Fuck, it sucks.
It is what it is.
So bad.
They almost scored.
It was that insane tip
that hit Binner's left toe.
That was ridiculous.
But after that penalty,
even though with the kill,
sometimes the kill gives you momentum,
but it didn't.
After that penalty,
it was all jets.
To the point that I told everyone with us,
there's the only way the Jets lose this game is if some fucking freak bounce just goes in against them,
but this is over.
Yeah.
And it almost took three overtimes, but it was headed that way.
Yeah.
And going on to the Jets, that's a big win.
Lowry's post game was, you know, what a beauty.
Talking with Bones, the way he expressed how much it means to the city, how much it means to the team.
Their group rallying around Hellebuck.
You do think that this could be one of those storylines, the start of a storyline of they needed this.
It could have been exactly what they needed to get over a really difficult hump like this to kind of break the president's trophy curse of the first round, get out of the first round that you haven't done in a while.
This could have been a really important test for them.
I will say, and this is not shit talk, guys, I need that to be very clear.
All the rocket men and women, this is not shit talk.
This is just assessment.
All the peggers.
This is just assessment.
After the three goals, Hellebuck locked it down.
That's great.
I will say the three goals weren't that great to give up.
And also in five,
almost five full periods of Stanley Cup playoff hockey,
the blues,
I don't even think got 30 shots.
So that wasn't great.
Yeah.
It's not like that was a faced with adversity,
a dominant performance.
So I'm not saying there's anything to be panicked about,
but you're still waiting for that really strong,
confident performance from Hellebuck
to get you to get that mind right
to get you feeling like he's back.
Is there a chance though
and I don't know but he
and a lot of people in the chat are being like
he um
uh,
like you said they weren't a lot of shots
the Jets D was really stepping up in front of him
blocking shots keeping him shots away from him
but I think that there was that one play
super early in OT remember there was a bad turnover
and it was like Walker me like somebody right in front
yeah and it hit the post too
like Kelly got a
piece hit the post i don't know but he just looked he looked better in overtime than he did
literally all series very true literally all series except maybe game two i think it was
kairu maybe yeah but that rebound save was late so there's a chance there's a small chance
that helie in overtime got locked in where he was like okay yeah i'm sorry i was puking on myself
you are and any beat bini i'm a you are you are like you're you're you're you're you're you're you're you're
And he beat Binner, dude.
Like, that's the gold medal matchup again, you know,
where he clipped you last time.
And he's like, and Bitter's the guy.
Do I look fucking nervous?
You know, like, that's the guy that you fear in these moments.
I said that.
But dude, he beat him and he made the saves when he needed to,
and he faced way less shots.
Binner was actually nasty, and I have to give him so much credit.
He played a tremendous series and Game 7.
And that shot that went in to hit 15 fucking bodies in front.
It's ridiculous.
Nothing to do with him.
Nothing to do with that.
But there's just a chance that Helly can now.
exhale go to round two and see what happens now now if he gets lit the fuck up by jocs in game one
and gets yanked then we've got a whole new bag of issues we forget about mom for a while we got a
whole new bag of issues but for right now dude i recommend he goes and finds that tree liquor and takes
find your hooch find your hooch and take a deep breath find your hooch take a sip and enjoy so the
jets move on great season from the st louis blues yeah let's let's give another just quick stick tap to
Because the run to get into the playoffs and then going down 2-0 and fighting back to that,
the end sucks so much.
There's been so many funny videos.
Dr. Lox has been sending us all these TikToks of Blues fans filming the last few seconds.
And it is a dagger to watch.
I feel horrible.
But once you can take a breath, head held so high, I would say highest of the wild war good,
but I would still say highest of the wildcard teams, right?
For the four wildcard teams, I think if you're St. Louis against the president's trophy jets, you go, look what we did.
Definitely. This is a playoff lot. I mean, there's a funny thing, right? There are teams who get eliminated, Colorado, for example, and they come home and they're not partying, putting their feet up being like, oh, fucking season's over, boy, like you sit down and you're pissed for a night or two. This is not one of those.
Yeah. St. Louis, I hope you guys are getting absolutely cranked right now because great season, future is bright.
Uh,
Yash in the chat asked if we're going to do any predictions today.
We are going to do predictions today.
Sorry,
it's not on the ticker,
but we are getting into the start of round two tonight,
Florida Panthers,
Toronto Maple Leafs.
We're going to discuss that right now.
But after that,
the entirety of round two previews will be recorded tonight.
Yeah.
After that game in our podcast episode tomorrow.
So make sure you're subscribed to the YouTube.
Make sure that you're dialing in on all of our episodes that come out Tuesday
and Thursday because we'll do the full preview of that and that episode tomorrow morning.
However, for now, we're going to get into a preview.
And just real quick, the things on the Jets I wanted to hit are the Shifley-Morsey stuff.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, sorry.
I just don't know.
And I just looked, I don't know if it's upper body for Morrissey, but he like, he did not come back after playing two minutes.
Correct.
Oh, dude, and we got a shout up.
Pionk!
Oh, dude, I think 46, 36, 36 of Ice Time, that game.
46 minutes.
How are you, Pionk?
Neo Pionk, dude, just playing the whole fucking game.
And he looked sick, too.
He was so all over the place.
Dude, that was fucking epic.
So many, it was, I love when a game ends and everybody on the team,
every time the mics in front of them, they're like, how about, how about Pionk, dude?
Like, yeah, that's all they could talk about.
Like, did you see that?
What a performance, gritty, gritty moment.
And his boy, Morrissey goes out.
So if, if Shifley and Morrissey are not playing, that's a huge dagger.
but I think, Dan, it'll be kind of interesting to see a Robo, Miro, Shifley, Morrissey.
You know, like, both of those guys are missing, like, their top goal score and their best defense.
It's a wild, it's a wild mirror image, if you will, to see that going on.
Obviously, I hope they're all back.
Yeah, bring them all back.
I also want to say this.
Noah said this in the chat.
Someone called out, but this is hilarious.
He's obviously a Stars fan, but this is true because this happens to the stars all the time.
Noah goes, the Dallas Stars could play.
for the entire sake of the world against aliens,
death being pointed at Earth,
win, and the NHL would still talk about
the aliens performing badly rather than the stars.
Like, it's always the narrative,
we're like, the Navs really fucking choked that.
Dude, like no one has ever like this stuff.
Did we do that?
I feel like we were giving the stars flowers this whole time.
We did it in a couple of clips in the week,
because I still stand by.
Oh, no, we see.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I'm like, the ads blew the series.
This is bad.
They're missing two guys.
But we're, Dallas was nasty.
I mean, we talked about, uh,
rant and so heavily.
Yep, but that's funny.
And then also,
before we do our predictions,
I want to say,
our results,
round one.
Let's do it.
So let's see.
Let's start in the east.
Toronto.
I had Leafs in 7.
I had Sends and 7 to be,
for the story.
And it was Leafs in 6.
Yeah.
Then we both had,
I had Tampa 7.
Same.
Cats in,
and effortless 5.
A shit pumping.
Jesus.
Put the clown nose back.
back on. I had caps in five. I had caps in six. Caps in five. And then I had Cains in four. I had Cains
in five. And it was Cains. So we got, I had Leifes, Caps, Cains, missed horribly on Tampa. You had Caps, Cains. Yeah. And then in the West, we'll start
Central. I had Jets in five. I had Jets in seven. It was. We both had abs in seven. We both had abs in seven.
Yeah.
Stars.
And God bless you.
Yeah.
And that was a coin flip one.
Yeah.
Then we had Kings in seven.
Fuck me.
You're fucking idiots.
And then I had Vegas in four like a dick.
And you had Vegas in something.
I believe I took Vegas in six.
So I got Vegas in Jets, but it was harder than I thought.
Yeah.
Missed on abs, missed badly on Kings.
Yeah.
And same with you.
Yeah.
So we got five of eight.
Or I got five of eight.
You got four of eight.
Yeah.
Not bad.
Not good.
Mandy had a perfect bracket going.
I think she needed the abs though.
Yeah, I think that's right.
Dude, by the way, the, um, you know how every, not every team, but like some teams have a
thing they yell in the anthem.
Like Vegas yells night.
The stars have been yelling star.
And I'm like, that's amazing.
Winter, oh, Winterpeg, Wintersfell.
Winterfell yelling true north is the cool.
It is fucking sick, dude.
That's why they're winterfell.
I genuinely think that I have made this up.
No one has done this and called them.
You guys are Winterfell.
Yeah.
It's amazing.
It's incredible.
The North remembers.
Incredible.
Let's get into our preview.
Okay.
We have first game of round two tonight in Toronto at Scotia Bank.
The Florida Panthers head up to play the Maple Leafs.
And on three.
Okay, hold on.
Um, yeah, I'm ready.
Carson just caught that random always sunny reference and I love you for it.
Carson, if you aren't from aware yet, I am literally Dennis Reynolds.
Yeah.
And it's not a good fact for me, but it's the case.
I think I'm ready.
Yep.
Three, two, one, panthers and six.
Wow.
Nice.
How are you, sir?
Doctor.
Um, it, it, I, God, I feel like I was the biggest, I'm the biggest.
leaf drum banger this season.
Even preseason, going into playoffs,
everybody at this office talking shit about me,
but I'm like,
telling you, man,
the Leafs are different this year.
The Leafs are different this year.
And I think they are.
I think they are.
I just think this Panthers team looks so much,
not tired, so much healthier
than we thought they might be.
They got through Tampa pretty quickly.
I don't even mean that's how good they're.
I'm saying, like, in terms of wear and tear.
If that had been a seven-game slug fest,
like we kind of thought it would be,
I might feel differently.
That's such an important point.
Bob has had some time off here, you know.
I just fear that Florida looks better at pretty much every level, not by a ton,
but it's like, oh, obviously I'm taking Bob over Stoli, right?
Yeah.
And then you're a superstar.
Like, Austin Matthews is fucking great shining stark, score 70 goals.
But like the Panthers have guys that are pumping in goals.
Panthers have a bit heavier D.
Like the special teams, everything about it.
I'm just like, God, I just don't know how it's not Florida.
I want to shout out Elliot Friedman, The Goat.
He posted something today, a little bit of report talking about the Florida Tampa series,
and he said that he talked to someone who felt that the Tampa team, quote, felt intimidated by Florida.
Yeah.
It's really rare that you see that actually happen or hear that it has happened.
But it sounds like after the Hagle response, Tampa felt rattled by this Florida.
team. And I just think if that Tampa team is going to get intimidated on and off the ice and a little
bit rattled, I could see that happening with this Toronto team. This Toronto team historically does not
respond well to bruising physical nasty play. They don't play dirty. They don't really have guys
that are going to mix it up in that dirty, get in the mud, get fucking disgusting and get some grit
under your fingernails, have your ears pulled off. They don't thrive in that. And Florida lives in
that. That is where they live. They were.
fucking born in the mud of the Everglades, dude.
And Toronto is not going to love that game.
And I can just only imagine that that's exactly what the Panthers are going to do.
Is it Paul?
Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docs, your permits, your moves.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a tablet with your timeless cools.
Flex those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing
Do that, do that, do that with Acrobat.
Learn more at Adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat.
Possible that, though, the Lightning's history
with the Panthers was a part of that.
Definitely.
Like, you get caught up, and you know how they always say
rivalry games in like college football
or college basketball are close,
even when one team's having an awesome year?
Because you're just like, well, it's Duke UNC.
And they fucking hate each other so much.
I think part of the intimidation that the Tampa Bay Lightning clearly felt was they were like,
here we fucking go again.
Oh my God.
Like everyone was picking us now.
This team's fucking bullying us.
There's a chance that the Leafs are just too dumb.
They're too dumb to even feel that, dude.
Like they don't know what's going on.
They've never been this far before.
They don't even know where they are right now, dude.
So they just show up and like the Panthers are like, well, we're the mean Panthers in its playoffs.
And the Leafs are like, dude, I fucking am high as shit.
I'm in the second round.
I don't give a fuck, and they just play loose.
I think that when they won two years ago,
they beat Tampa in round one.
They beat in six.
They beat Tampa in six and then got absolutely smacked by the Panthers.
Did they get swept or was it?
They know, gentlemen.
They lost the first three, and then I think they won game four in overtime and then lost game five.
So I think that they're still all at home by that.
I don't think that they're too dumb.
I think they know exactly what is going on.
I think they know exactly, you know, our year, this and that,
if they just come into this series and get tallywacked again,
yep, they know the narrative.
It's not like this is completely uncharted territory.
Yeah, true.
So I think that they're, the Panthers,
the Panthers are going to play that game.
There's no secret.
Toronto is going into this game knowing exactly what Florida is going to come at them with.
I think this game is super important.
Can you imagine if Toronto wins this first game?
That's what I was about to say, dude.
Can you imagine?
I don't think Florida will be rattled at all,
but just the piss and vinegar it'll inject into this Toronto team
will be remarkable if they can steal this game.
And I can't believe I'm saying steal when you were the best team in the Atlantic
and you're at home.
But that is what it'll be.
Yep, for sure.
Well, dude, and I think, even though I have talked so much shit about this,
the Barubi thing, if it was ever going to matter, literally ever,
it is this specific series.
Like if the Craig Barubi hire was going to do fuck all for you.
It's, and change the culture of the Leafs.
It was literally, if you ever ran into the Florida Panthers in the playoffs.
Not regular season, not against the fucking senators and therefore check,
which I also was like, oh, they're so tough.
It's this team who is just going to fucking pound you into submission,
as they have done before, as they've done to pretty much everybody they play.
So obviously, Barubis's not out on the ice making plays.
But if he can just get the boys into that mindset that they've really never been in before,
then you got a stew going, maybe.
For sure, everything we saw in that game six, as you pointed out,
is what you want to see as a Leafs fan.
Responding to that tying goal,
getting that win, not letting it get to seven,
all signs are pointing in the right direction.
And that is a very good thing.
I think this series is so impossibly different.
I do not think, you know, after the first three games,
I said on the pod,
there's a chance that we boosted the Sends team,
that they're not as good as a lot of us thought.
And then they won a couple games, and that's amazing.
But the stark difference between that Senators team and this Florida Panthers team is absurd.
Oh, yeah.
And to your point, the fact that they took care of Tampa in five games for a couple of reasons.
One, that Tampa team is very good.
Yes.
So to dismiss them in five was astounding.
Two, like you said, there's not a lot of wear and tear on those bodies after those five games.
So you're without extra.
I was going to say, is he still sussie?
Yeah, this is his second game of the suspension.
So you're without at blad, but Florida took care of two games without
in the first series.
So we know that they can win without him.
In the regular season, Florida won three of four.
All were pretty close games except for a game in November where they went five to one.
But, you know, they seem to have the advantage here.
And yeah, I just, man, if this game gets gritty and nasty early,
I think that that is going to be tough sledding for the Leafs.
It's crazy.
So someone says, oh, yeah, here it is Shazzy.
Matthews and Willie missed games last time they met when they lost the second round.
True.
Also, better DECOR, better goalie now, true.
True.
So I think that's important.
Keep grasping at those straws, lease fans.
No, no, but grasp it.
But I would also push back on that Panthers team.
That was that wildcard Panthers team that was like upset the Bruins.
And then, or no.
Yeah, yeah, upset the Bruins.
And I was like, wait, are we good?
I think this team, this Florida team is better than that team, too, for a million reasons.
And then a bunch of people in the chat bringing this up, the Marshand, too.
Yeah.
It is so, it's, if you are a tortured Leafs fan, you know, one of the realistic ones who just feels like they, you forever live in turmoil.
The fact that Brad Marchand is on this ice, you're like, are you fucking kidding?
But you have Carlo.
Yeah.
You do have Carlisle.
Ooh.
Cancels it out.
Interesting.
Great point in.
It's kind of confused Marshy.
Marci doesn't like that at all, dude.
Okay, that's very interesting.
If Marci gets going, though, that will be such a dagger.
He's playing well.
But if you start scoring goals, you're like...
If Marci scores tonight, cats and three.
But, dude, Toronto will forfeit.
We're forgetting that, like, this is in Toronto.
Like, they, there's...
And they're nasty.
Yeah.
This team is nasty this year.
Do they need to win...
This is a must win game.
100%.
This is, no, this is a must win game for Toronto.
It might be.
Are both, is what I was going to say.
I think we need to leave Toronto up to a lot.
How about this, dude?
We've never said this before.
And how about this?
I think every game of this series is must win for Toronto.
Yeah, you have to win every game.
You have to win literally every game.
If you lose, you're fucked.
I do believe this Panthers team doesn't care about anything.
I think if they lose this game, they go, whatever.
It was, it's an away game.
They lose game too.
They go, whatever.
You got to come to Florida.
You don't think we're going to steal one.
And that's terrifying.
Every game is must win for Toronto.
I love that take, dude.
I think that Florida to the feeds and feasts on, like, and I was going to say weak,
weakness.
And I don't mean to say Toronto's weak or bad.
They're not.
Oh, it's fear.
But it's, yes, dude.
I don't need to do the Bruce impression again.
It is fear.
They smell blood.
There's feast on fear.
And they are, I do know that I'm not even sure the Leafs are afraid yet.
And maybe there's a chance with their new attitude.
But I think that if things start to turn at all, the fear.
the fear spread for my
storm lights people will come out
the fear spread will come out and then the
Panthers will fucking gobble that shit up
I was going to go nerdy reference too I think
Paul Maurice and the Panthers are Razal Ghul
dude they are spreading fear throughout the city
they are going to feast on it and that
is absolutely there Emma
Toronto will fall oh my gosh
like Rome or Constantinople before it
it will it will crumble
the city will crumble dude because
it's a disgusting place and it needs
It is, we love Toronto.
Yeah, no, I love Toronto.
It is wild.
How distinctly this team feasts on any sign of weakness or fear.
And I don't think Leafs fans would be upset with us to say that historically,
this group, your core, they get spooked, dude.
Yeah.
Austin, Mitch, Willie, Tavares, Morgan,
They get the spooks kind of easily.
And I think this year might be a little different.
Our year, Frankie Boy, Illuminati, we've got all the signs.
But if there's a team to spook you, it's Florida.
It's Florida.
And somebody's got to beat them, right?
Like if you're going to be the champs, you've got to beat the champs, they got to lose eventually.
Hannah texts in the chat just said, empty netter's book club when.
Hannah, you have no idea how many book clubs are.
You be careful.
We'll invite you to a fantasy book club before you fucking.
God, I've got to get Hannah on a group chat with some other people.
Seriously.
You've got to beat the champs, dude, and someone's going to get them, right?
Like, I don't think Florida's going to win the next four Stanley Cup.
Someone's going to clip them.
And it's always a surprise when they lose.
You're like, oh, shit, did not see that coming.
Did not see the abs losing to the fucking cracking, to the spunk that year.
Didn't see Vegas losing to Dallas, or ever the fuck beat them.
You know, like this shit happens.
Toronto just has to ride the wave.
Like I think here's a better way to say, Dan.
I don't think Toronto can be chasing this series ever.
Like if they can get leads.
Very well said.
In games and in series, then I'm like, you might do it.
I'm still scared, but you might do it.
But if they start going down and it's like, oh shit, Florida's up to one.
And you get in these like, I got to win games.
I just think Florida is too deep, too experienced.
And dude, they can play.
like however you need them to.
Remember last year it's like, oh, it's 6-5 game against the Rangers.
Oh, 2-1-O-T game.
Like they can grind you down.
They can outscore you, whatever you need.
It's just a tough ask, tough ass to get by them.
No question about it.
And I am so prepared for how physical this game is going to be.
I think they're prepared as well.
Toronto is not stupid.
And Barubei is the guy to drive that into their skull.
I think big differences in this year is
Brandon Carlo being added, Tanna being added back there.
I think that's huge.
But Maddie Nyes.
Dude, be the boy.
Be the boy.
Maddie Nyes game changer in that first round.
He doesn't give a shit.
We're references out the ass today.
A little Babadook reference right there.
Jesus, we're getting dark.
But Maddie Nise is a player who's going to have no worries mixing it up with the
Bennets, the Marchands, the Kachucks.
I wouldn't be shocked if we saw a tilt in this series.
Maybe someone's to try to set them.
try to set the tone early, show that you won't be pushed around, won't be bullied.
That might be the move for Toronto.
You should almost maybe start it, but we might see what we saw with Hagle trying to go with guys
and on this Florida team.
They're like, we don't need to do that.
Yeah.
We're going to beat you up anyway.
So prepare for a super physical series.
That is going to be the key difference maker for me, why I think that Florida has the edge here.
I've been welcome back into the Katz family.
I never left and I never should have left.
It feels warm here, to be honest.
So warm, it's humid. I'm at elbow room. I love that. I am an elbow room in my mind already.
Oh, my gosh. Unfortunately. And so I'm all in. But Leif's, I do love you. I have so much love for that city. And you fans are absolutely insane. But here's the thing. This is going to be a bloodbath. It is. And as we've said, you cannot show fear. Fear will kill you.
I think I was looking forward. If Toronto got out, this was the series. I was looking forward. I was looking forward.
to the most that second round Atlantic series.
Yeah.
Because I knew it was going to be the
winner of the Florida battle.
And then the Leafs, who I think are a tremendous team
in that like, okay, we're in round two.
What's up now playing one of these juggernauts?
Yeah.
Because I think you had said, or somebody,
but like you kind of, or maybe it was Frank,
you kind of feel like if you win this series,
I got a really good shot at going to the cup.
If you were Toronto, I am here to say this.
Yep.
If you were the Toronto Maple Leafs,
and you win this series against the Florida Panthers,
you are going to the Stanley Cup.
I'm not saying you're going to win,
but I am saying you are going to the Stanley Cup.
You will make it to the third round
for the first time in your life.
Oh my God.
Did I say first or third?
You said third round first time.
Yeah.
And you will go to the Stanley Cup.
There is one team standing your way
of going to a Stanley Cup.
Know that.
Use that.
Use that.
Think about that.
All right, babes.
We have hit our hour marks.
That's going to do it for this live episode of Empty Netters Puckline News, brought to you by VETMGM.
Remember to subscribe to the YouTube, guys.
So many of you are watching right now and you're not subscribed just because you didn't realize that you weren't.
You just got to hit that subscribe button on our page.
It helps us.
It helps you.
Make sure you're following us on all the socials as we go through the playoffs here.
Episodes of the podcast dropping every Tuesday and Thursday morning at 6 a.m.
Eastern time.
our lives will be Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.
Don't miss anything.
We love you guys.
We are getting into round two tonight, Toronto, Florida,
and then we will get into all of our previews in the podcast episode tomorrow.
Until we see you.
