Empty Netters Podcast - The New NHL Schedule Finally Dropped and Did Superman Exceed Expectations? | EP.213
Episode Date: July 17, 2025The NHL schedule has been released and the guys teamed up with the Kings to make the coolest video in the league. Plus Stanley Cup future bets are out and some of the odds make zero sense. The only th...ing clear is the Panthers have won another cup. Plus, the be all end all Superman movie review from the boys has them questions everything about the DCEU NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: MUG. Check out https://www.mugrootbeer.com/find-mug to find out how you can get your paws on some MUG. 00:00 INTRO 08:31 NHL SCHEDULE RELEASE 29:29 EARLY CUP ODDS 43:04 SUPERMAN REVIEW 1:31:20 TRIVIA FACTORIAL Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Here's the thing, C.P., I'm looking at the list, and I'm being honest.
I think this might be the best DC-EU movie ever.
It's insane that I enjoyed it, but I'm so appalled by that idea.
But it's actually so insane that it might be right.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BedMGM.
I am your host, Dan Powers, and along with me as a man who,
would give you the shirt off his back unless that shirt was from the early 2000s and had some
stupid nostalgic value given to him, Chris Powers.
In which case, you can never get it ever, as always.
Do you still have your archive drawer?
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Created about three, three, four new ones.
I think I would say I got four.
I got an archive dresser now.
What do you think, realistically, you're going to do with all of like the shirts and little trinkets
that you have in that archive drawer?
Like, are you planning on giving those to your future children?
Or are you like, I'm going to sell them one day?
Or are you on your deathbed just going to go through them and be like, oh, yeah, I remember this rookie year, no more Garcia Parra jersey that I have that I never wore.
Glad you brought that one up, Dan.
Glad you brought that one up.
Dude, people at the streets forget, dude.
I think he had, like, 36 home runs that year.
I was a rookie.
I thought I'm going to give them to my children so they can archivalry.
them like they can't wear them either you know i'm gonna be like you you protect this you put it in a
drawer forever i think that but at some point you need to let one generation sell them yeah so i actually
the original dream of my archive drawer was that like i would what's that fucking show like antique
road road house or whatever antique road show that's a thing but like maybe um i'm thinking storage
wars but you're not finding these in a store yeah but like eBay even like I think my dream
was like, oh, I think you should put some of them on eBay right now. You could, you could pay back
that Coachella wrist bracelet. Yeah, yeah. I thought, I think I thought I would sell them. Like,
a lot of the early ones I kept were like stuff like that because I never wore them ever. Like,
I was just like, this is unworn. I'm going to sell it. You know what, CP, I would bet right now
that if you popped that Garcia para unworn rookie, he won the MVP that year too, right? Or is that
Petroia? I'm thinking of. I'm thinking of Petroia. I'm thinking of Petroia.
His rookie...
Rookie of the year.
Rookie of the year, rookie season t-shirt with all of his stats on it, completely unworn.
If you, like, got that framed with the tag still on it, which I know you have, I bet there's a crazy Red Sox fanatic who would buy that for upwards of 10K right now.
I really do.
10K?
I really do.
Okay.
Okay.
I think you should go get it framed, and I think you should put it on eBay.
You know what?
If I'm a betting man, I would bet that that shirt is still in your childhood bedroom in our parents' house.
It is.
It's in the original archive drawer.
Why don't you, our, I'll do that when I go home.
Our old man is just hanging around with not a lot to do.
Why don't you send him a text and say, go get that shadow boxed and take some pictures of it, and I'm going to pop it on eBay.
He'll get that done by the weekend.
Oh, yeah, he will, dude.
I get a few gems in there, unworn gems in there.
But to your other point, I think some were really sentimental shirts that I wore till like the wheels came off basically.
And then I've archived them instead of giving them away because...
Wait, you have like shitty used shirts in that drawer?
Yeah, like, um...
Dude, you're compromising the unworn ones.
Oh, no, no, different drawer. Different drawer.
Okay, thank God. I was going to say the sweat and the dead.
dead skin in all those worn shirts are now leaking into the unworned.
Yeah, but they'll never know because it'll be shadow boxed.
They won't even have access to the dead skin.
They'll be trapped in the shadow box.
Thank God.
And then there were a bunch of shirts that I was actually going to toss from this past week.
I was like, all right, like, fuck, I have no room at the new place and I got to get rid of these.
Sure.
And Sandra was like, you're getting rid of these shirts, which I got fought tooth and nail
keep them and I was like well and she actually said there's a company that makes um like couch
watching TV blankets out of um out of the shirts and I was like oh that's cool maybe I'll do that
don't do that that is some psychoville shit why that that is just an entire business they've built
an entire business from the ground up on this very idea yeah yep yep but I'll tell you what
brother they didn't make that business to give those blankets to men in their mid 30s
I promise you.
They never met no one like me, Dan.
That's a good thing.
They never met no one like.
You're acting like that.
That's their loss.
They're going to be so thrilled to.
I've got bad news for you.
I promise you they have.
There are a lot of fucking weirdos who have come in and been like, hey, can you put
this like my poop stained onesie from when I was a baby that I kept on a blanket for me
to cuddle with while I watch TV?
They have met those people and they don't like them.
So don't become one of those.
That's what I was going to say.
I actually think they built the entire business model off of that idea where it's like your baby clothes.
And it's my like, it's like my shirt from this.
I'm like, they're like, this is your baby?
Once you know, I'm like, no, no.
I got this in 2023.
It's a Coachella.
I bought this t-shirt.
They're like, oh.
Companies like that, businesses like that exist for hoarders,
hoarders and just people who are crippled by nostalgia.
And this is going to be a heartless comment from me.
Dude, I think nostalgia is primarily for pathetic people.
Yeah, and I feel so sad for you about that.
You did a comment today in a different meeting.
I'm not even going to repeat out of respect for you.
But you...
Say it, say it.
Or actually, should you not say it?
I've said some bad stuff in my life, dude.
I don't know if I need anything being aired out.
I don't want to say it, dude.
I don't want to say it.
What was it? What was it in regards to?
You are a sad. No, you won't even care, David. I still don't want to say it out of respect to you, dude. And you are a sad, you are a sad, sad man. And I'm sorry. Dude, I'm sorry for you in the life that you lead.
This is like that scene in Harry Potter where I'm Voldemort and you're telling me that I don't know love or friendship. You feel sorry for me.
You don't. I feel sorry for you.
No, dude, you just, you fucking losers are just like crippled by nostalgia.
Like, you can't let things go.
You don't, like, you, you're going to suffocate.
You're going to die in a house fire because you've got, you've got the, like, magazines from the day that the Red Sox won the World Series in 2013 stacked up in your house somewhere.
And there's going to be an electrical short circuit and your house is going to burn down.
And you think I shouldn't have those, dude?
May I be so lucky that I go up in flames, dude?
And I go up in flames with the, with the 04 socks.
May I be so lucky?
It's just like, I, you, I've never, I can't, I can't believe that people like you still exist
when smartphones are the way they are.
Like, you've got thousands of photos and videos in your phone, dude.
Like, you want to-
Online.
Like, you want to remember No-Mars Rookie Season?
Go on YouTube, you fucking idiot.
Or look at the back of your T-shirt.
Or look at the back of your unworn T-shirt.
Then you'll remember, dude.
Like, that's what I'm saying.
I'll take the video.
You guys are, all you nostalgic fucks are just like wasting your lives away.
So, it's so good, dude.
We have great lives.
There's dozens of us.
Actually, there's millions of us.
I'm Robert De Niro and her.
Robert De Niro and Heat.
Yeah, which is sad.
You're a sad person.
And I'm sorry.
Yeah.
You're probably not wrong.
I mean, like, the, we've done this podcast too much.
We're too prominent of figures now for me to hide behind the fact that I am a psychopath.
Like the comparisons I get to Dennis Reynolds and Patrick Bateman on a daily.
has gotten alarming.
They are very real.
It's gotten alarming.
But speaking of great acting performances.
Hey.
How about that King's schedule release video?
How about that boys?
The boys delivered.
And Dan, I got to say,
I went on, well, you know,
for some backstory,
there was, we've been talking to the Kings
about doing that, but it was during the finals
when it came up and we were going to be on the road for, you know, two weeks and usually the
schedule comes out almost immediately upon the ending of the final. And it was going to be really hard
for us to put that together and edit it and all that stuff so quickly. And then they were like,
hey, it's actually going to be July 16th this year. So we have time. So we were like, bang,
let's do it. Pitch them the idea, write up the script. And, you know, they give a few notes.
They're always, kings are incredible to work with always. And I give them credit, by the way, because
the only stuff they've ever cut from anything we've done with them,
including all the chilling at the far blues,
are admittedly over the line.
You know, like, they're not wrong.
Every time they cut something, I'm like, yeah, you're right.
But they love it.
They're always like, yeah, it's really funny.
We just can't put it on our channel.
100%.
Shout out Kevin Fiala.
Yeah, yeah, Keves.
That was my favorite cut ever, dude.
That's my favorite cut of all time.
I wish we could get that in a blooper.
But anyway, we shoot it.
Dewey's down.
He, you know, rips in.
He actually, because I was coming off, I had just been on set with him for the fucking
How to Train Your Dragon, Live Action, when he did the promo.
Guys got to get his fucking sag card.
Yeah.
And then, so he was doing this.
And he was kind of grinding and shout out Emily because she, my friend Emily and I made
the connection and kind of got Dewey involved.
And then Emily's team invited me on set.
And Dewey's like, you know, you got to do a lot of takes.
And it's always like, you know what, we've been on set.
You know how it's always like a whisper to someone to whisper to someone to whisper to
Dewey. So he's just like catching a million notes. So he shows up for this and he's like,
here we fucking go. And we were like, dude, this would be easy. And he actually crushed it,
I thought. He was really funny. Nailed his lines every single time. Didn't break ever, which was great.
Actually, I suppose maybe when the door slams, he was breaking, but yeah, after.
So we pulled that together. Shout out Red and Teeps and everybody on this side that we're doing it.
And we ripped it, dude, and it can't, you like everything. You're like, oh, my God, it's too
long and we're never going to get it down but we got it together on time and when i saw the final i was
like this is fucking great dude this came out awesome i hope people like it and uh the internet's a dangerous
place but so far so good today i feel like the response has been very positive it's been great
don't mind me i'm eating a chocolate it's been great fuck oh they're so good black licorish
oh shit black licorice chocolate a bunch of teams did some great ones too um i want to shout out the buffalo
sabers. You like that one?
Well, they just did a bunch of pictures of wings.
No, it was
somebody was eating them.
Oh, well, they did
a carousel of photos too.
Yeah. And
some of them were really funny.
Some of them are a little lazy. Like the blues,
it's just a blue wing and they went,
we don't know, it's just blue. And then the blues
retweeted that and they're like, you had blue cheese right in front
of you. Yeah. True.
But Philly,
they had a chicken wing in
a, the pocket of a pair of jeans
and they were like Charlie Kelly's denim
chicken. And I was like, oh my God
that is a phenomenal
reference. Loved it.
I've only watched the Bruins,
the Sabres, and the flames.
Oh, I missed the duck somehow. I got to go watch the ducks on.
Because ESPN, this was going to say, ESPN posted
every single one, including ours.
They're like, here every team's thing.
And the fucking article, Dan, the headline of the article
says, NHL schedule release,
Bruins, Penguins,
lead top social reveals.
Like, these are the best two.
And the Bruins is literally Bill Barr, who I love, just sitting there.
He probably recorded this.
This came out, what, at 10 a.m.
fucking Wednesday.
He probably recorded that at 9.58 a.m. Pacific Time Wednesday.
Dude, like, literally, he's like, oh, the Maple Leafs there.
They think every year is their year.
Do you know who wrote that?
Like, can you find out who wrote that on ESPN?
Oh, probably.
ESPN staff.
We got a text wish.
Yeah.
Because that is the laziest article of all, and that's not even us being like, we should be at the top.
It's just the Bill Burr one is like, Bill Burr would be like literally they sent me a list and I read it.
I hit press record and read.
Yeah.
Oh, who wrote that?
Like who wrote it for Bill?
No, no.
I'm saying the person who was like Bruins and Penguins lead the way.
I'm like, that is the laziest art.
Like, there's no way you actually took the time to watch every single one because that is absurd.
Dude, it says creativity abound abounded as squads looked to show off their upcoming calendar.
in distinctive ways.
The Boston Bruins
enlisted comedian Bill Burr
to help unveil their schedule.
The Pittsburgh Penguins
went with a hospital theme.
Dogs were brought in
to help out the Toronto Maple Leafs
with their reveal.
Headlined by all those and more,
here's a look at the social media
schedule release posts
from each NHL team.
And I'm like,
creativity abounded
and not a mention.
Not a mention for the kicks.
And the boy, and the fellas did.
Like, not a mention for the fellas.
Levy, Wish,
P.K.
Cap, we're coming for all you
motherfuckers.
I'm coming for all you motherfuckers.
Somebody's going to answer for this, dude.
You're supposed to be our friends, dude.
You're supposed to be our friends.
I'm going to text
Cap right now. That's son of a bitch.
This is crazy, dude.
Man, well, listen,
the schedule release was an absolute blast.
As always, we love the Kings so,
so much. The fact that they came to us
and also just gave us the leash
and also the confident,
like the belief to be like, dude,
do what I'm.
you want. We got to write the sketch, act in the sketch. So much fun. That's the shit we love to do.
So that was a blast. But let's get into the schedule, dude, because you had some stuff to say about it.
And I think I have a take that might surprise you on the NHL schedule release. You do.
Okay. So a couple. Well, let me just do some highlights first, and then you can, then we can get into it.
Okay. Season opens October 7th. And we go Hawks at Panthers. Where are you?
at on, it's a little different with football because every loss matters so much. Where are you at on
a defending champ there, you know, because that's, that's ring night, you know, like that's, that's
banner night. Yeah. Giving them a, uh, a, uh, a cream puff, you know, like sometimes, giving them a tune up
game. Sorry, Chicago. Sometimes I want it to be like Tampa, Florida. I'm like Tampa at Florida,
to make them fucking get the banner right in the old bolts eyeball.
Give him a tune up game.
Yeah, so you just want to win.
Your fans want to win.
Yeah.
Let the fans watch them get the rings and get a win.
Also, I want to take this opportunity since you brought up Chicago to shout out our boy Connor,
who sent us the Hawks lineup.
I was like, this lineup's competitive.
And I was like, are you fucking hide?
Have you lost your damn mind?
Okay, so that, I'm with you on that.
I think I want, I want, uh, let them get a, let them get an easy wind.
Let them breathe. Um, okay, so then, uh, we got two games in Sweden this year, Dan.
I thought maybe we'd go to those. Sorry? I thought maybe we should go to those.
Oh, I'll be there. Maybe we just zip to Sweden. Go to those games. I have a Swedish passport
now, dude. They let me go out. That would be, yeah. Daniel, welcome, welcome home.
Okay, so two games in Sweden. I'm excited about that. Um, um, we,
You all know, the Florida's getting everything with the Winter Classic and all that shit.
We got, I got you there.
The, uh, I like this one.
Um, October 8th, second night of the year is the TNT season debut double header.
Bruins at Caps.
Great game.
A lot of friends in that game.
And then, uh, Marner, Vegas home debut against the Kings.
Sick game.
Kings wanted him so bad.
Let me know.
Let me know when I have the floor.
Like, you can keep going if you want.
Okay.
What do you think about this, Dan?
You're going to love this.
October 13th, Canadian Thanksgiving.
Different day than our Thanksgiving.
A lot of people don't know that.
Totally different Thanksgiving.
I want to, I'm a little embarrassed that I don't know this.
What the fuck is Canadian Thanksgiving?
Is Waggs in the studio right now?
Yeah.
Wags, look up Canadian, the origins of Canadian Thanksgiving.
Because I don't know what the fuck it is.
and I can't imagine it's when they got free from the bush.
I can't imagine it's when an explorer traveled across the Atlantic to enslave a bunch of people.
Is Thanksgiving when we landed?
It's like when we landed at Plymouth Rock?
Ah, fuck.
You don't even know, you don't even know our time.
I don't even know that.
I don't even know that, dude.
It says Canadian Thanksgiving origins trace back to European harvest festivals and explorer
celebrations of safe voyages.
While various celebrations occurred earlier, the first
official Thanksgiving in Canada was proclaimed in 1879. Initially, the date varied, but it was
officially fixed as the second Monday in October in 1957. Their Thanksgiving is on a Monday.
That is abhorrent. That's brutal. That's absolutely brutal. It's a Monday, dude. Hey,
hey, stuff your fucking fat face with pie and bird and sides and sides and sides on Monday.
And then, hey, see you at the office 8 a.m. Tuesday. How about that?
Ours is, I mean, that's horrible.
Thursday is way better.
What are you supposed to hammer IPAs?
Am I supposed to show up at work on Tuesday or do they give everyone the whole week off?
Dude, this is fucked.
That's so bad.
That is so bad.
Is the Tuesday after Canadian Thanksgiving Black Tuesday?
Also, our Thanksgiving is also a harvest festival.
Link to the Pilgrims' 1621 Harvest Festival since the late 19th century, as the name
implies, the theme of the holiday generally revolves around giving thanks.
and the centerpiece of most celebrations is a Thanksgiving dinner with family and friends blah blah blah blah there's a picture here on the Wikipedia that says the first Thanksgiving at Plymouth 1914 great painting but I mean yeah like it's
Packages by Expedia you were made to occasionally take the hard route to the top of the Eiffel Tower
We were made to easily bundle your trip Expedia made to travel
Dude, this says, this says, Canadian Thanksgiving is the first long weekend in October.
It consists of both Sunday and Monday.
And it is an official federal holiday.
And then it says, people usually get both days off.
And I'm like, do you mean Sunday?
Are you?
Yeah.
I bet they do mean that, dude.
We need some Canadians to come in the mention to you.
The second day you get off is fucking Sunday.
Like, it's, it's our first harvest fest in the 1600s.
We're breaking bread.
were given thanks and they're giving it to the Canadians on a Monday.
Do people eat their Thanksgiving meal on?
They must do it on Sunday.
Because you'd have to be the dumbest person on earth to eat it on Monday.
They have a Thanksgiving service at church on Sunday.
And then you are followed by a traditional dinner.
And then you get to have Monday off.
But Canadian Thanksgiving coincides with the American Columbus Day, which is actually
fucked for a lot of reasons, I think.
Because I think Columbus Day was when we like killed every Native American on earth.
Well, that's what he did.
Columbus Day is the atrocities.
And now it's also Thanksgiving in Canada.
What a, dude, what a swing where we share a border.
And they're celebrating Thanksgiving and we're celebrating Columbus.
This is not good.
That is a swing and a half, Dan.
Thanksgiving, not great.
So, amazingly, on the schedule.
On Canadian Thanksgiving that, oh, this makes sense, dude, I should have kept reading.
Canadian Thanksgiving, October 13th marks the first week of prime Monday night hockey,
which you will remember we graciously were offered to record three Amazon Prime promos airing pregame.
So hopefully we will do that with Amazon again.
So eyes on October 13th for our first Amazon Prime promo.
Very exciting there.
It's a double header, Wings at Leafs and Blues at Canucks.
Probably Wings Leifes.
A bit more exciting.
Dan, October 11th and October 28th, Frozen Frenzies.
you like a frenzy dude don't I love a frenzy I'm going to react to that I love a frenzy yep um and also
ask for this Amazon hire us yep hey available available available I bet there'll be more um and Dan you asked
for this the October 28th frenzy spread out instead of nice they were like everyone's airing at the same
yeah there was too much going on like it was great but there was too much going on October uh
October 28th, spread out frenzy.
Oh, Penguins and Preds doing the global series.
I said that.
That'll be really fun for them.
Hey, maybe that's just what they needed, Dan.
Maybe it brings those teams together.
We've seen those international trips.
Are you done?
Like, can we be done here?
You get three more things.
Only three more?
Yes.
Fuck.
Okay, I got a pick here then.
All right, I'm skipping that one.
This is cool.
American Thanksgiving.
We're still in 20, 25.
Original six matchups.
That's pretty sick.
Oh, my God. That's so crazy.
Like, fuck, we talking.
January 17th.
Scotia Bank Hockey Day in Canada.
All seven Canadian teams are in action.
Oh, sick.
It's the Scotia Bank Hockey Day, Dan.
That's sick.
Canadians at Sends, Leifes at Jets,
Islanders at flames, Oilers at Canucks.
I love how the Islanders is true that one.
Like, we needed one American team to play.
Well, because the 17s, you know, they were like,
ah, we need someone on Scotia Bank Day.
They'd take the Islanders.
Maybe the Cracken.
Because you've got the Cracken, dude.
And then, you know, you only have one more here.
Yeah, yeah.
Okay, well, I'll just flag this then.
February 5th to February 25th.
Olympics baby
huge break
so sick for the team
I mean you want to be in the Olympics
more than anything
but the guys that not
that don't get to go
consolation prize is
fucking nice vacation
dude really nice
it's almost too long
like you could almost get in trouble
you can almost get in trouble
with that long of a break
put on 20 pounds
yeah yeah yeah like you go on a 14 day trip
and all of a sudden you're like
oh no dude I can't play anymore
that's crazy
throw your whole season away
dude all right here's my take man
I don't get this
as much as I listen
we just talked about we did a schedule release
with the Kings it was amazing it was so fun
I don't get this I don't get
why people give a fuck
it is the most meaningless
day on the NHL calendar
to me and seeing the amount of people on X
who were losing their minds being like
when does it actually come out when does it actually come out
we're getting DMs about that I'm like what the fuck
do you guys care it's not the NFL
the NFL I understand is like
there's 17 games
it matters because you're not
playing every team. You want to see who has the hardest strength of schedule. I just feel like,
I mean, sure, you've got your divisional games you got to play. But other than that, it's like
you play every other conference team, a home and away. It's everyone pretty much has the same
fucking schedule. What the fuck do we care? And then everyone tries to make a big deal out of these
days. They're like, oh, it's Scotia Bank Day. Oh, my God. Holy moly, every Canadian team is
playing. Let me get a cum bucket ready because that's the coolest thing I've ever seen.
And then a bunch of people were pointing out, they're like, oh, my God, Detroit and the Jets play on this day, it's going to be Kane versus Taves.
And I'm like, I don't fucking care, dude.
Like when that day happens, this is cool.
But are you seriously circling those days right now?
I don't get it at all.
And I'm not, I'm not saying that you're an idiot if you love schedule release day.
But I am saying I don't understand the hype around this in the slightest.
here's where you're wrong, dude.
Because obviously I was making a meal out of this,
but you're largely right about everything you just said in terms of,
oh, like, original six on Thanksgiving and on Canadian Thanksgiving,
we got this.
And I'm like, okay.
And they're sick.
They're actually cool stuff,
but I'll be hyped when we get close.
I'll be hyped for the Winter Classic.
I'll be hyped for the Stockholm series.
I'll be hyped for a stadium series, all that shit.
But I don't care about it right now because the big things we've already
brilliantly announced who's playing winter classics and stuff like that the one part you're wrong
about and i think maybe the job skews you a little bit is maybe because for example here's not
that i was circling today just to see the schedule minus our video but the i really enjoy
when the bruin's come play the kinks that's always a fun night for us there's a lot of our
friends out here from new england we all go to the game we've made it a tradition i don't think we've
missed a game Dan in 12 years, you know? And I like to see when that is. So like when the schedule
comes out, one of the first things I check is when are the Bruins at the Kings. And this year,
it's the Friday in November before Thanksgiving week. And I'm like, oh, sick, Friday night.
Because sometimes we get a Tuesday and it's a lame night. You know, so there are specific games
that I think it is fun to see when I'm like, oh, I wonder when the Bruins are playing the Kings. That's cool.
And, dude, if you go on a Reddit, because I was reading about this,
people this is why they care and this is why you're wrong and this is why i think where i think the job
skews you there are like epic trips every year that groups of friends plan to see their teams play
on the road you know they're like oh we are going to do we're rangers fans we've never been to
canada we're going to see the rangers play a canadian team this year and they get so hyped to see
the schedule because now it's like okay which weekends can everyone do and people start being like oh i can't
Jets weekend, I have a wedding.
Like, oh, okay, looks like we're going to Vancouver, boys.
Like, that's the weekend that works, everybody.
People get hyped to plan trips around seeing their favorite team play on the road.
And that is fair to me.
That's fair.
I think they should get hyped for that because that's a cool, like, we always say you need something dangling in your calendar to see the boys again to get excited.
You know, when the last trip, when the last wedding of the season ends, you're like, fuck, what am I seeing the fellas?
This is that.
That's legitimately one of the best responses you've ever given me.
This is not for me.
This is for the crazy travel fans.
Yes, dude.
That's exactly who this is for.
Where can I go see, you know, the ducks play on the East Coast this year?
I've never been to Nashville.
I can't wait to see what weekend.
You know, like you're planning.
You're sick.
You're one huge hockey trip of the year.
Yeah.
This is when we're in Nashville and they're playing the wings and I'm seeing all these
Detroit jerseys and I'm like, how are there this many Detroit people?
Because of today.
And they're like this.
We traveled.
And I'm like, what the fuck?
And they go, actually, we plan this trip on July.
my 16th.
Yeah,
truly,
dude,
like they literally
book tickets.
What?
They're like,
get the flights,
get the flights,
hurry up.
Yeah.
So you're right.
I'm wrong.
And like I said.
I'm right about this part of it.
You're right about like getting hyped about like the friends and frenzy is October 28th.
I'm like, cool.
I'll be excited on October 28th.
If you don't travel,
if you're not getting hype because you're planning stuff right now,
I'm talking right now.
If you're not planning stuff based on this schedule release and you're hyped up about
this, I don't get you, pal.
I don't get you at all.
I don't get you at all.
And there's no disrespect implied.
I am just generally
perplexed by your behavior.
Yeah. That is what else.
Somebody said, and this is going to be the norm, I hope.
Let's see where if I can find this again.
But somebody said it got pushed this year
to let some free agency happen
for the travel people. Like, it's cool to be like,
oh shit. Now Eilers
is on the canes. Like, let's
that trip you know what i mean like it kind of helps you plan your trip a little bit better now that
you see what teams look like more and i think that i hope i hope it's always like this from now on
like july 16th should be fucking scheduled day yeah or whatever you know whatever that wednesday is
there's some huge brock bester fan living in van who was like i'm not going to any games this year
yeah and now they're booking it now they're booking it um okay now dan i want to take us into a little
bit of now that the schedules out,
BetMGM, our lovely
presenting sponsors, have
posted some futures.
Oh, some Stanley Cup futures?
Two weeks of free agency in the books,
some RFA signed,
schedule is out, here's what we're doing.
And I'm going to give you,
I'm going to read you everyone's odds
quickly. And then I'm...
Everyone? Yeah, it's going to take 30 seconds.
Okay.
And then I'm going to tell you exactly who actually can win the cup as of right now.
Why don't you give me like the top 16?
Who do you think are the last five?
Last five in the NHL odds should be the Chicago Black Ox.
The Anaheim Ducks.
I'm sorry.
The San Jose Sharks.
Sorry.
Those are both tied for last.
50,000 plus 50,000.
Um, let's see.
I'm just getting, I'm not...
Want me just read them to you so you don't sewer people?
No, no, no, no, no, no, no.
I'm going to say...
So I got those two and last.
I'm going to read them.
I'm going to say, give me the...
Yeah, maybe I don't want to sewer people.
Yeah, this is taking longer than it would have if I just read them.
Yeah, true. Read them.
Next, third last, penguins.
30,000.
Sad.
That's right where they belong.
Crackin, 20,000.
Sabers 15.
Yeah.
Ducks 15,000.
That's low.
That's low, sir.
Bruins.
12,500.
Sad.
Sad is brutal stuff.
Flyers plus 10,000.
Islanders plus 10,000.
Flames plus 10,000.
Predators plus 9,000.
Red wings plus 9,000.
Come on.
Blue jackets plus 8,000.
Come on.
Now a little jump here.
Canucks plus 5,500.
Canadians plus 5,500.
Gas.
That is gas.
Also, the, that is interesting
Canucks placement.
No disrespect.
Blues plus 4,000.
Mammoth plus 3,500.
Hell yeah.
Hell yeah, dude.
Wild plus 3,500.
Senators plus 3,300.
Jesus.
Yeah.
Capitals plus 2,800, Rangers plus 2,800.
Insane.
Insane.
It's a crazy thing I've ever heard in my life.
Insane.
If there is a way to place a bet on them not making playoffs and put a million dollars on it, do it.
I couldn't fucking believe that.
Fucking ridiculous.
Dude, what?
Everything, every single thing that happened last year, we're fine.
Don't worry.
We've grown up Crotter, we don't have Keandre Miller, everything.
It just must be belief in Shestie.
Like, holy fuck.
Jets plus 2,500,
Kings plus 2,200,
Leafs plus 2,000,
Devils plus 1,800.
Love.
I kind of do, too.
Lightning plus 1,600,
stars plus 1,000,
Keynes plus 900,
Knights plus 850,
Oilers plus 800,
aves plus 8,000,
plus 800, Panthers plus
575. A little high for
the Oilers in my opinion. Really?
They're banking
on two rookies who have like never
played NHL time being
fucking monsters and
If I am looking at this
Dan and I'm thinking about
who is on the teams right now
and trades will still happen
of course like a million things are going to change
who are going to get hurt but if I'm just looking at the rosters
right now
Yeah you are hard
The Panthers of course I don't have to say anything
they can win a cup.
They already want it, dude.
They already want it.
This little, this exact team.
Cups already in the fucking cabinet, pal.
Yeah.
The,
I am hard pressed to say that the oilers can win a cup with the goaltending.
Like,
I just feel like it's failed them eventually twice in a row.
As is, as is, as is.
I know they hired a new goalie coach yesterday.
Like, there's a, you know, whatever.
But just like, looking at the facts,
I'm like, I don't know how you could go.
they're going to win the cup. They can win a cup this year.
I wholeheartedly agree and I've said a million times like we love Stu. I'm a Stu
believer. I'm my favorite player in the league. I'm a Stu believer and he needs to get the
fuck out of that team. It's not the team. It's the it's the fans. It's what he's been through.
There's just no way. There is literally no way that you can come back from the treatment.
And I'm not saying that as a pearl clutcher. I'm just saying it's like if if you're
stew and you dealt with the bullshit you dealt with last season.
season like during a cup run and you you're meant to to be like yep just like get back in and try
to fight for a cup for these people i'd be like fuck off man like let me get out of here we said it we
compared it to freddie anderson look at what freddie did when he left tronoh stu is going to do
the same thing get the fuck out of there like let's just just just make a trade um because yeah it's
i to me it's not stew's ability i think it's just it's everything that that that is connected to
that relationship he's got to get out of there yeah i i i think it is
I think it would be crazy to not have them in the top five.
So it's not that big of a jump,
but I think having them top three is a little ambitious for me.
And dude, I'm not even going to address beyond the top nine
because then we're like, we're into some, well, I guess I'll go into 10 here.
But Panthers can win a cup.
I might have already done it.
The Oilers, I don't think that this current team can win a cup.
The Colorado Avalanche.
I feel the same way about Blackwood, dude.
You know, it's like
that team
As currently constructed is not capable of winning a cup.
What did they do?
Dude, they added Brent Burns
and they lost Charlie Coal.
They lost Charlie Coil.
More seasoned Landy.
Yeah.
I mean, they're sick.
They're going to be a great team.
They're maybe.
There may be for me.
The Golden Knights
are not capable of winning a cup right now.
Oh, I disagree.
Petro all year is dagger.
Is dagger.
Yep.
and I need to see Marner
before I'm willing to guarantee that works.
Do you?
Yep.
Sorry.
What do you possibly doubt about him?
Dude, it's not even him.
He's literally a 100-point player in Toronto,
and now he's just laughing and having fun with the best center,
with one of the best centers in the NHL.
I think I could score 20 goals in the league if I was playing with Jack.
That's a fact.
Right now.
Old me.
But, dude, I think the Petro thing,
a killer, man.
It is a killer.
That is a very fair point.
I mean, like, that is a dagger.
They'll try to fix it during the season, but I'm saying right now, you can't win a cup.
You can't go on a cup run.
Okay.
Okay.
Carolina hurricanes.
Yes, they can win a cup.
No.
No, they cannot.
Hold on.
They can win a cup, but they can't get past Florida yet.
It's like, you're dead.
You're a dead person.
Dude, why are we even playing this NHL season?
Dude, watch this.
This is my point yet.
I don't even want to do Kings and Jets.
Kings and Jets can't win a cup right now.
Can't win a cup.
Dow Stars.
Can't win a cup.
You cannot win a cup.
You know why?
You know what?
I almost jumped in here when we're talking about the Oilers.
When I was like they can't be top three,
there's also a part of me that's like,
actually it's stupid to have them anything other than top two
because everyone in the Western Conference
are the biggest Muppet clown.
I've ever seen, and they just puke on themselves and slip in their own vomit and lose to the
Oilers. And I'm like, all stink. So the Oilers will just go and lose to Florida again.
Can you imagine? Yes, I sure can. I sure can imagine.
Like, they're the two favorites, I guess never got their shot at them, but like they're the two
favorites. Like, two best teams. I mean, it's, they are, like, this cup is just going to be,
and you know what? I think it's just going to slowly get worse. Like, Florida's going to win in five
this upcoming season. It's like the King's Oilers.
It's at the King's Oilers series.
Yeah, then they'll do four years, the fourth year, and then they'll sweep them, and then it'll be done.
Like, it's fucking crazy.
Dallas Stars are a maybe to me, but I think you can't.
I don't think they can.
Tampa Bay Lightning.
They can't.
They can't.
They've got to, they've, the way fucking Asha Shascha Barkov eats Kutrov's lunch and stuffs him in a fucking locker and says, O'Doyle rules is like that your best offensive weapons.
gets neutralized by Sasha Barkov every single season.
You can't win a cup.
And they're slightly less deep than we think.
And Vassi is amazing, but just another year older, you know, another year closer to death.
That's what old people do.
They die.
The New Jersey Devils.
Could?
Could?
I love the Devils.
Maybe could?
I love the Devils in the Eastern Conference Final this year.
I don't think.
I mean, no one can beat Florida.
No one.
The Toronto Maple Leafs.
They might be my second favorite of could win a cup.
This current team.
They might miss the playoffs.
No way, dude.
They might miss the playoffs.
Maddie and I's about to go off.
Joe Wall's a fucking brick wall.
It's going to be insane.
Oh, yeah.
So looking at this, the literal only team that is capable of winning a cup right now is the Florida Panthers.
I told you it's already over.
The cup's in the cap.
Three Pete.
That's insane.
dude. It is the...
There's no other team. Literally,
the misallocation of wealth in the NHL right now is astounding.
I'm looking at the rosters. Literally no team has a roster right now that is built to win a Stanley Cup.
They either don't have the goaltending or they don't have the depth or they don't have the defense.
I feel as though we are currently living in the midst of a tyrannical dynasty.
Because usually I'm like, well, there's four teams that could win it and like we'll see.
You know, not up or shut up in the playoffs.
And I look back often at how stupid we were last year doing our season preview.
Actually, even though we put the clown noses on, going into last season and then going into the playoffs, there were a lot of health questions.
They were so hurt.
And that was what we said.
Any of us had any questions.
But what's crazy is they're going to go into the season with Matthew Kuchuk on LTIR.
He's going to come back fresh as lettuce in fucking December.
and they're just going to laugh their way
to a third straight cup.
Hey, dude, teams are going to change.
There's still going to be some moves this summer.
There'll be moves during the season.
But until those happen,
there is not a current team
that is literally capable of winning the cup, Dan.
And by that, I mean, even if Florida dies,
I think they just won't award the cup this year
because every team is not up to par.
But then they'll get there.
But right now, it is only one.
There's only one that reigns supreme.
I also thought the plus 50,000 was tough for the sharks.
That's great odds.
Yeah, good call, Dan.
Good call.
Maybe we'll sprinkle a little action on that with that MGM.
Maybe spring a little action.
Rangers are outrageously high.
The ducks are too low.
And that's it.
Yeah.
Mammoth pretty high.
That's kind of crazy.
Nah, I love it.
They're nasty.
All right, let's take a break.
Let's hear from some sponsors.
And then we'll be right back to get into some Nodice nonsense.
It's Bet MGM time.
You all know what I'm talking about, and you thought, you thought that hockey season ended
and Ben MGM was over.
Wrong.
Completely wrong.
Ridicously wrong.
It's the dog days.
It's the dog days of summer we got baseball on right now.
You can bet on anything, frankly, but I like betting on baseball.
I like a good baseball game.
And the best, coolest promo.
I put this on the story is the Big Fly Friday.
You can pick.
They have promotions on who hits a dinger on Friday, okay?
And you can use the boosts and everything.
and you guys hits a dinger, you're going to win more money, you boost the odds, all that stuff.
But, dude, if your guy hits the longest dinger, so he hits a dinger, you already win.
But if your guy hits the longest dinger of all the dingers on Friday, you get your share of 100K in bonus bets.
How about that?
Try that on for size, okay?
Big Fly Friday, unbelievable unmatched.
You want to get in on that action, you download the BetMGM app, and you use promo code Netters.
that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S when you sign up
and you can do all their great promotions all year, tennis, golf, everything,
and when you're a new sign-up,
you can win up to 1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses.
So, what do you have to lose?
Nothing.
Download that bet-m-gm-gm-Gmap right now.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-8-Hop-N-Y or text-N-Y-N-Y for New York.
Call 1-800-2-0-0-Mas-E-R from Massachusetts.
21-1-1-800-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-0-0-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only.
Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-witherable,
and partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
CBatM.com for terms.
US promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Huge shout out to our sponsors, and what's that up in the sky?
Is it a bird?
Is it a plane?
It's actually not ice.
Fuck, I'm stuck like this now.
And CB and I are going to be breaking down Superman.
It's summer blockbuster season, baby.
It sure is.
I'm fucking behind, dude.
And I know you are too.
I haven't even fucking seen F1.
I haven't seen Jurassic Park.
And I finally got to see Superman.
But those are next.
I'm about to see four movies in a row.
Just like the Panthers are going to win four cups in a row.
I'm about to see four movies.
I'm about to see Superman, F1, 28 years later, then rounded out with J. Park.
In Phoenician scheme, I got to fucking see everything, dude.
I already saw that.
Wow.
There will be spoilers in this section of the podcast.
but not yet.
And I will announce when that's coming.
What are we going to talk about
before getting into spoilers?
I want to say, Dan,
and I could have put this after,
but I just want to keep people
that want to hear a little Superman talk
without the spoilers around first.
Okay.
I would like you,
and I can feed you,
to give me a top
five at least,
but I'd love a 10,
DC comic book movie ranking
now that this movie's out,
not saying it has to be in your top 10,
maybe it isn't, but...
Are you going to give me a list of movies,
or do I have to know?
Sure, sure, but like, I think you can go,
if you think you're like, this is my one for sure,
I can feed you some when you need it.
I would like to say,
okay, so for, I'm not even going to give my ranking
of this movie yet?
No, when it comes up.
If you think it's the best DC movie ever,
then say it right now.
Okay, I don't.
But I loved it.
I really loved it.
So, I'm going to get a list here.
God, these lists are crazy.
I'm looking out online, Dan.
Oh, my God, dude.
What the fuck?
Jesus, dude, you're out of control.
You aren't going to believe this, dude.
You aren't going to fucking believe what I'm looking at right now.
Okay, I am going to say that I am not counting Christopher Nolan's Batman movies on this list.
Why not, dude?
Because I don't think that those are DCEU.
They're DC comic movies.
I know, but they're just...
What are you talking about?
I don't like them.
I don't like them in that category.
Oh, dude, I was like, okay.
You don't like them, dude.
Doesn't care for the movies.
All right, we'll go like this.
We'll go like this.
We'll go like this.
You're fucking high, dude.
We'll go like this.
We'll go like this.
We'll go like this.
We'll go like this.
One through three.
Because like, do...
Am I counting the watchman?
Yeah. I don't want to do that. Why?
One, two, three, and four are Christopher Nolan's movies and then The Watchmen.
Okay.
And then like five, six, seven, eight are, are, you know, like, I think, am I allowed to go all the way back to Batman?
Like, you know what I'm saying? Like, are we counting, are we counting Michael Keaton Batman, Val Kilmer Batman?
Like, do those count? I think so. Why don't we do, um. See? See? Now I got you.
No, you don't. No, you don't, bitch.
What?
We're doing D.C.E.
Why don't we do of the 21st century?
We're going to do DCEU movies and the Nolan movies are not in there.
And I will just, I'll give you the caveat here that they are the best.
And we're moving on.
Fuck, dude.
I'm crushed.
I'm correct.
No, you're not.
You're so wrong.
Okay.
I think largely these movies stink.
Okay.
So.
Hold on.
Can you tell everyone before we go, because I was ready to expose you, can you tell everyone that you think Batman Begins is better than The Dark Night?
Yeah, I do.
I think it's a, I think it is a better story.
I think the movie itself, The Dark Night, is better because of the acting.
So you don't think it's better then.
You think the Dark Night is better?
I think, yes, yes.
The Dark Night is better.
Okay.
Thank God, because you almost got this podcast canceled permanently.
Dude, Batman Begins is so good.
Sick?
No one's saying it's not sick, Dan.
People sleep on it.
No one's saying it's not sick.
Yes, they are.
People sleep on it.
There are buffoons out there who have Dark Night Rises over Batman Begins, and I think
that that is a tragedy.
Okay.
I don't think I...
I agree with that.
I don't think any of us have time for me to rank these 18 movies right now.
No, dude.
I just want the top five to maybe 10.
Okay.
Honest to God, now that I'm looking at it, this might be number of the number of.
one. What? It might be my number one. I think I'm going to go, I'll give you my five in no particular
order of the DCEU movies. My top five are going to be this James Guns Superman, Man of Steel,
great, great movie that does not get appreciated. I'm going to go, that's Snyder. Yes, it is. I'm going to go
James Guns
The Suicide Squad.
I'm going to then go
shocker here.
Shazam.
Shazam
was actually pretty fun.
Shazam is an awesome movie.
And
for my
fifth,
I will probably go
hmm.
Give me your four again.
Superman?
James Gunn, Man of Steel,
Zach Snyder's Man of Steel,
James Guns, the suicide squad, and Shazam.
I might go,
God, these movies are terrible.
How come the Batman isn't in this?
Because it's not DCEU.
I know it's confusing.
That's fucking stupid.
It's really confusing, dude.
I don't really know what counts as what.
But, like, I'm pretty sure that people aren't counting that.
But at the same time, like, if I'm allowed to count that, that is number one.
Yeah, right.
So if I'm not allowed to count that, I might put Aquaman in there.
Like, it's fucking crazy.
What about Blue Beetle?
Oh, dude, can you believe?
Some of these movies are, like, truly astounding.
These lists I'm looking at, did.
This, this, uh, the warp, the rap, the rap.com.
Yeah.
This isn't EU.
This is the best, this is the 12 best DC movies of the 21st century.
Okay.
Yeah.
Number one, the Batman.
Number two, the Dark Night.
What?
Yeah.
Oh, yeah, dude.
That is, that is an abomination.
Number two.
That is an abomination.
And I love the Batman.
I love the Batman.
That is an abomination.
Good God.
Number two, the Dark Night.
Number three, the suicide squad.
Number four, Wonder Woman.
Yeah.
Listen, like, I know.
I'm probably going to get a lot of grief from people about not picking Wonder Woman.
Guys, Wonder Woman's not good.
Like, I am so tired of that narrative.
And God love James Cameron for when that movie coming out, having the balls in that time to be like,
Wonder Woman wasn't good just so everyone knows.
Like, we can stop pretending that that movie was good.
And I like how now, I don't know what it's been, now people are finally going,
I'm okay with talking about the fact that Galgado is a not great actress.
and guess who's the lead of that movie, guys?
Like, it's not good.
So we can stop pretending it is.
Wild stuff on that one.
Number five, Batman begins, number six, this Superman.
And then it kind of goes off the rails.
That's the wrap.
Screen Crush has Dark Night One, a lot of old movies that we're not going to get into.
And then Shazam 8.
Shazam's pretty good.
Good.
Shazam's really fun.
Really fun movie.
Shazam over Dark Night Rise is a choice.
Dark Night Rise is nine, Wonder Woman 10,
and then the Blue Beetle noise comes.
Everybody loves Blue Beetle.
Where's Batman begins on that list?
Batman Begins is...
Like the fact that you are even scrolling down this one.
No, no, no, I'll go on the other way.
It's six.
Okay.
Only behind other Batman's, too, like just old ones, you know?
Yeah, okay.
Yeah.
Um, that's just, you know what, you know, you know who's doing that, Chris?
Nostalgia morons. Yeah.
True idiot hoarding, fuck stick nostalgia morons.
So I go, if the Batman isn't in this, and we're talking DC, EU.
You're, I know, I know it's swirling in your head, pal.
You're starting to think that this James Gun Superman might be won.
There's a chance that it is.
It might be one.
I don't even know how to feel about this day.
I really think the suicide squad is the one it's up against.
Because as you know, I love Man of Steel.
What happens in that one?
In The Suicide Squad?
Yeah.
It's the big starfish.
Like Harley Quinn gets kidnapped and they go rescue her and there's the Pocodot man who's
fucking amazing.
Oh, he was really funny.
Yeah.
Edris is awesome in it.
Also, it was kind of the birth of John Cena, peacemaker character who's awesome.
Yep.
This, on Rod Tomatoes, Peacemaker Season 1 is the highest ranked DC-EU thing.
Yeah, that's a series.
Yeah.
Series.
And it's great.
Okay, dude.
So, Christ.
I don't know if I can put this one, dude, but I guess maybe I have to.
That's a really good.
I might go Superman.
I might go The Suicide Squad 1.
Yeah.
This Superman 2.
Love.
Shazam.
three.
Damn. What did I miss?
Man of Steel. Oh, yeah.
I actually didn't hate Man of Steel.
I really like Man of Steel. Man of Steel has two
of the best Superman scenes
ever. And like the Han Zimmer score,
the flight scene, when that song,
flight from that score comes in. Sick.
And he's ripping around.
Incredible. Also the scene with Kevin Costner,
incredible. Yeah, okay, let me go again.
But you liked this Superman more than Man of Steel?
Yes. It's a better movie.
I mean, the way that man of steel falls apart, it's like it's shot brilliantly.
There's great stuff in there, but the story is too dark for Superman.
And that was a Zach Snyder problem.
And Zach Snyder is a war criminal as far as I'm concerned.
So like, I'm not surprised that he tried to go too dark.
I'm going, the Suicide Squad one, this Superman two, Man of Steel three, Shazam four.
and is that where you went Aquaman dude
it's such a significant drop off like it's Aquaman
Wonder Woman or this is crazy
you know black Adam
no god
there's a
Wonder Woman 2 dude I forgot there's another one
Justice League there's an argument for Justice League
Justice League has its flaws several of them
but like Ben Affleck's good in Justice League
people forget that
and yeah
I don't know
Blue Beetle
yeah you can keep saying
Blue Beetle if you want
Maybe
maybe fuck
Like birds of prey
I guess
I'm telling you
Aquaman's not a bad time
Jason Memo is fun in it
Okay
Aquaman
for Vinichet Salone
Let's go
Aguaman
Dude
Batman
Batman versus Superman
are you aware of this Dan
I fucking just found this out
we gotta start talking about Superman
bro we're wasting time here
I just want to hit you with this bro
this is insane
because I was like which ones did Snyder do
and he did Man of Steel
and then he did
Justice, then he did
Batman versus Superman
then he did Justice League
but that's the one he got taken off
of because he had a tragedy or whatever
right and the Snyder cut do
and then the Snyder cut
the Snyder cut
the
Man of Steel is 7.1
on IMDB, and I know you and I are big
IMDB people, and that's...
What I wanted to go to next was us giving our IMDB scores
for Superman. That'll be how we end
this, and then we go right into the spoils.
Man of Steel 7.1.
Fair, I would say.
Maybe slightly high, but like, that's pretty good.
No, I think that's great. I think it's pretty...
I think maybe slightly low.
Okay.
Batman versus Superman, Dawn of Justice, 6.4.
that movie is horrible.
Horrible.
They bond because their moms have the same name.
Yeah, crazy.
They're about to kill.
One of the most bat shit, no pun intended,
insane decisions by a WGA writer getting paid millions of dollars.
Batman's like about to killing Superman, right?
He's like punching him with like a kryptonite fist.
Superman's like, Martha.
Tell, no, he's like, tell Martha.
I loved her.
And Batman's like,
What did you say that name?
why did you say that name?
And then Amy Adams,
Lois Lane runs in.
She's like,
it's his mother's name.
It's like that.
He's my mother's name.
We should be the team.
We should be the team.
Let's rename the movie Batman and Superman.
It's literally the entire spine of the movie.
Batman kills Superman in that moment if that doesn't happen.
Yeah.
Bartha.
Rachel.
Right.
Snyder cut Justice League 6.0.
Snyder cut Justice League.
Do you know what the IMDB is?
No.
7.9.
Yeah, I just, it must have not that many reviews.
Like, that was the psycho Snyder cut goons.
It's the same reason that Snow White is like 1.6.
They drove it up.
They drove up the cost.
Yeah.
You're right, dude.
They drove it up, Dan.
A lot of tens on here.
Yeah.
Because honestly, all the reviews are like so much better than the other one.
So much better than 10, 10, better than the other one.
And I'm like, that's not the point.
I was talking to Tom last night.
I've had food poisoning that's less severe than other food poisoning bouts.
that doesn't mean I enjoy them.
It doesn't mean I rank them a 7.9.
Somebody was talking to, or I was talking to Tom last night,
and he was like, I actually hated that they ever released the Snyder Cup
because fans just got mad.
Like fans saw Justice League, and they were like,
give us the other one.
And it's like, that's not how fandom works, dude.
You just, you like or hate the thing,
but you don't get to, like, redo the thing.
You clown.
Okay, give me your IMDB on this one.
All right.
My IMDB, I've thought about this a lot for this.
James Gunn, Superman, is going to be a rest of,
respectable 7.6.
What is it,
IMDB? Actually.
I don't know.
7.6 is
well better than acceptable, Friendo.
Yeah, it's fantastic. Yeah, oh, it's a 7.6.
Wow, look at me.
I would give this movie a,
let's say I live in the world
where a Man of Steel is a 7.1.
I'm coming in on this one
at only like a 7.2,
maybe three.
because I do think it's better for sure.
Okay.
But I had some issues.
Okay.
So we're in the sevens.
And now attention, attention, alert, alert.
Spoilers.
Spoilers.
Spoilers.
Spoiler alert.
Yeah.
If you haven't seen Superman and you want to watch it, please fast forward to the game portion
of this podcast.
If you haven't seen Superman and you don't give a fuck about talking about it,
fast forward to the game portion of this podcast.
If you haven't seen Superman,
Superman, and you're not going to watch it, and you want to hear us talk about it, hang on.
And if you have seen Superman, here we go.
I really, really, really, really liked this movie.
I'm surprised you liked as much as you did.
Notice how I'm not saying loved.
I really liked this movie.
I thought it was, before I even get into my biggest reasons, I'm going to say that this movie was a perfect length.
Oh, yeah, dude, totally agree.
It's clean too.
It's like a two hour movie.
It's a great length.
And from moment one, scene one to the final scene, I was having a great time.
I was just like, this is great.
You know, I didn't feel like it was dragging at any point.
I have flaws as well.
But I just thought it was a blast from start to finish.
And my biggest thing was as a comic nerd, I think,
No disrespect to Henry Cavill, who I love and thought was a fantastic Superman, I think that this is a perfect Superman.
This is the Superman that the cinema has needed for a long time, in my opinion.
David Cornswet, for me, did this, did justice to this role so perfectly.
Like, he was a, he was a dorky, nerdy, constantly optimistic, but flawed man.
and that's exactly who Superman is in the comics.
We were talking about it.
We were talking about it with Wags before
because some of the internet is like mad
about how sweet he was.
And I disagree with that,
but there was only one scene where I was like, okay.
And I know they're kind of being funny,
but when he was big time
trying to defend the,
I don't know what that fucking thing was,
like the lizard.
Yeah, like the Gremlin who,
grew, who grew for absolutely no reason.
And he's like, yeah, right?
And he's like, come on, guys.
Like, we should study it.
Like, please.
Like, I was like, okay.
Like, even when I think this was a joke, but even when he was like, I wanted to take him to an intergalactic zoo, I was like, no, dude.
He's fucking destroying Metropolis.
Yeah.
Fucking kill him.
Kill him quietly, dude.
Like, what is going on?
That was the only moment.
I was like, enough, Superman.
Do your job.
Do your fucking job, dude.
That was dumb. There's no intergalactic zoo.
Dude, he's an animal guy.
Like, you see how bent out of shape he gets out about crypto?
He's an animal guy. Of course he's going to react that way.
I have issues, Dan, with how, with the word kryptonite.
I don't like in the origins of this story that they're from Krypton, but Cryptonite kills him and your name and your dog, crypto.
I don't like any of that, dude.
I think they should be, you can't be from planet Krypton when the thing kryptonite kills you.
Let me say this.
You're from there.
Let me say this.
You get bent out of shape about a lot of stupid stuff, pal.
A lot of stupid stuff.
I won't give you grief about this argument, but you are not allowed to use it against this movie.
Because that's just, that's just more.
I'm not.
I'm saying this is like law.
Like, this just something that pisses me off.
Yeah, it feels like they kind of ran out of names when they were coming up with this stuff in the first iterations of Superman.
And, you know, it's odd.
I think that the simple one is like you're from Krypton, but Kryptonite kills you is I get it.
There's lore that it brings him, you know, it's something with the, you know, how they say in this movie, Yellow Moon planets.
Yeah, Yellow Sun, Yellow Sun, Red Sun, they get boozed up.
Who knows what's going on on Krypton.
but it's odd, but I think we can move past.
The dog, dude, imagine naming your dog something that ruins your life.
But that's it.
That's a big, I'm sorry, pal, it's a big difference.
There's a lot of words.
There's a lot of words that are very similar.
You Google search a pair of black crocs and you get one letter wrong.
You're getting a lot of different results.
You're right.
Okay?
A lot of different results.
Dan, what if you named your dog?
hotel room has no hair dryer.
This would be like that.
This would be like this is the bane of my existence.
Listen, that would stink.
Hotel room has no hairdry.
If I named my dog,
hotel room has no air fryer.
All so annoying.
I'd be like, that's not that bad.
I didn't expect that.
I'm frustrated.
I wish it had one.
I didn't even think about it.
But now that you put it in my head,
I'm kind of bummed out.
Could have brought some food back to make.
Okay.
Let me start with two things I really love.
liked. I really, really liked. Highlights in the movie for me. Okay. Number one, the choice, and I don't know
the DC comics as well, so maybe this was just in, in Superman lore, but the choice to make his parents'
message actually bad was cool. Um, go. No, I'll save it. Just like the, um, every Superman story
I've ever seen, that's why he is the way he is. And it's cool. He comes. He comes,
from good in the man of steel it like the superman thing like means hope or something you know like they're
like this this is you are good in human form and this was cool where they were like you know it wasn't
as bad as they're making it sound at some points but they were like you know make our planet live on like
you know bring bring more krypton people into the world foster a lot of kids all that shit and which
led of course to the really lovely scene with his dad being like it's the choices you make do that's what matters
and then, of course, the very lovely thing with the robots at the end when they're like, show him his parents.
And it's like that part.
I just thought that was a really cool choice that I hadn't seen before or was not expecting at all.
I loved it. James Gunn, I'll tell you what, he'll give you a montage about family and love at the end of a movie that will really just hit you right in the feels.
I was at the theater with a young dad and he was in shambles.
Was he reaping?
He was, he got a guy.
I felt it.
I bet he got a little dusty.
Yeah, I felt it.
I bet he got a little dusty.
I loved that twist.
That was really good.
And there was kind of the double twist, right?
Where it's like, what the fuck was her name?
They were calling her the engineer.
The engineer.
When the engineer was like, oh, I'm getting like the message is damaged, but I'm getting it.
We then see the message.
It's negative.
And you were like, ooh, did they doctor that?
Yeah, right.
Lex is like, we didn't have to do anything.
It was his parents.
I was like, oh, shit, it's real.
So to that I say that was really cool, loved that decision.
I needed a little bit more from it though.
Like the fact that in this lore is like Cal L's parents are actually like you should enslave that whole planet.
And I imagine in the next movie we'll get into that.
But I could have used one more scene, one more discussion to go to the Batman when we learn about Thomas Wayne's dealings with karma.
mine Falcone and or just
Falcone in that movie. Yeah.
And then Alfred in the hospital
bed talks to Bruce and like explains
it really quickly. Two minutes
scene. Yeah. Great.
Great. I would have just loved
a little bit of
I don't even need explanation, but just attention drawn to like
Jesus, dude. Like maybe my parents
like that was fucking narwhal. Dude,
Tom had a great note too where at no point. Obviously you want
Superman to end good. But I
kind of thought it was a bit of a miss, I guess I'll say, to not have Superman entertain it.
You know, like, that's his parent.
Like, the fact that he was like, no.
Yeah, I think he needed to be like, okay.
No.
They went too far, but maybe they're right about, like, I should try to bring some of
Krypton tradition here.
Like, I think it was, it was not, uh, he deserved to listen, to hear them out.
I think that's terrible.
I, I, I, I, I should have heard them out.
No, I think that's an absolutely terrible note, dude.
Because it's first of all, he was a baby.
He wasn't raised by these fucking people.
He has zero memories of these people.
All the memories he has are of ma and pa in Kansas.
And they taught him to be a great person and he has lived his whole life.
He's been in Metropolis for three years, saving people, being a beacon of hope, because that's what he was raised to be by his good parents in Kansas and then also thought was the message from his actual parents.
I don't think he should have considered it.
I think he should have been torn by it exactly like he was.
I don't agree with that at all.
That's nuts.
I think he should have heard them out, Dan.
And also do.
You're in a Zach Snyder mindset.
You're in a dark Superman mindset.
That ain't it.
That ain't it.
He, he, there's a chance.
What they said wasn't as bad as people thought.
I was also loving.
They were like, people of Earth are dumb.
And I was like, well, you're right.
She's 100% correct.
How about when Nick Holt goes, he's grooming us?
I was like, you're right.
That's another thing for me.
I thought the casting in this was just so good.
Shout out our girl.
Excellent.
Shout out our girl, Rachel Brosnahan.
I mean, that's got to be, especially when you're going up against a titan of acting like Amy Adams,
that's got to be the best Lois Lane portrayed on film I've ever seen.
She was awesome.
She was so good, such a hard ass, gave it to him and like pushed his buttons and all the best
ways.
Nick Holt, perfect.
Great.
I thought he was so good, dude.
He's so underrated, man.
Yeah, I thought that was a great Lex.
Perfect.
I loved
Buddy.
I was saying, I kept saying a really, really liked.
Let me sit here and tell you the
without a doubt,
all star, character of that movie.
And in my opinion,
just favorite part of that movie
was Skyler Gazondo, Jimmy
Olson. Oh, yeah, yeah.
And the relationship with Lex's girlfriend
and, like, her being a psychopath, but also
being a genius, like, taking those pictures and
like making it look like selfies. That was
such good writing.
I was like, this is fantastic.
My one regret is we didn't get to see
her mutant toes. Dude, I said to Tom,
two massive misses for me
was one, one
the Baravian or whatever, the president,
Superman at one point says to him like
It smells of urine, familiar smell of urine
He had to smell like piss when hot girl had him
When she was flying him a third
I was like piss your pants dude
Piss your pants
They went to a quick close up of her
And I was like oh she's about to look down
And be like is that piss?
Yeah, no brainer
That was a miss and then no toes
Dude when she hugs Jimmy at the end
And she wraps her body around him
I just wanted the heels to fall off
And the camera to pan down
And there we go dude
Huge miss
What a great character
The tertiary characters
were phenomenal. And that's James Gunn, dude. That's James Gunn in his bag, right? I mean,
they were all just so good and so fun. I couldn't really Bradley Cooper was Joel Rell.
Yeah, that was odd.
What's like, the fuck? God, he's looking stranger and stranger every day.
Did you, what did you think about the, or I'll get into one of my problems.
I think this was my biggest fear.
They went a little too big.
Okay.
Too goofy, though, you mean?
Like, too big funny?
No.
Not too big funny, because that's, I have come around.
That's James Gunn.
Yeah, there was a few bombers where it was too big, too goofy though.
Yeah.
A few.
But I'll take it.
Me too.
I'd rather miss that way.
And also, this is the Superman I want.
I want lighthearted.
I want optimistic.
And oftentimes that comes like cheesy, corny, funny jokes.
And I like that.
They went too big with the stakes.
immediately having a interdimensional world,
what did they call it,
the pocket universe.
The pocket universe.
Having a pocket universe in this movie,
I was like, oh, no.
And then when the tear, like the rocket,
the rift, the rift was showing up,
and the entirety of Metropolis was falling into a black hole,
I was like, we went to a big too soon.
I just didn't need that part.
Come up with a different distraction, a different destruction.
Like we always talk about is,
why are the Nolan movie so great?
The, and even frankly,
Matt Reeves is the Batman.
It's like,
the destruction around the city is not that insane.
Like,
Metropolis would literally never recover.
Dan,
they push it back together as if like,
it would turn it to,
it would turn into Chernobyl.
Like,
it would push back together and they're like,
look,
it lined up.
And I'm like,
they were ripped in half.
They were,
what happened to the domino buildings
that fell of heart sideways?
Like,
that was the whole city.
And,
And I honestly thought that James Gunn was was subtly winking at us with all of, you'd be watching scenes and you would hear news reports and it'd be like this.
The casualties were zero, but it sounds like the damage will be up in the hundreds of millions.
And I was just like, yeah, dude, like this city will not survive.
It's like he was pointing at it.
Like he was being like, I'm going to do all this and none of you are going to care.
And I was like, well played.
The rift, I actually thought, and this is up for DeBarr.
but I thought
Superman was going to go
to the war
when they were doing that
when it was like hey someone's gonna help the Rift
you got a sense
because I thought that was more in line
with his message where he's like yo
those are innocent people dying like this is what I do
you're not going to change me like you want to threaten
metropolis you think I'm gonna fucking abandon
the Joraharan's or whatever
no I'm going there I honestly wanted them to go there
and like help those kids and then like send
Green Lantern to fix the Rift
especially, Dan, since the Rift
ripped all the way through Metropolis
anyway. Literally, it ripped the whole...
He was like, come stop the Rift, and he's like, we didn't stop it.
We didn't stop it at all. That's my bad. I could have
stopped a war. And the stopping
of the war took four seconds. Like, literally,
he was like, poof, you're dead.
War's over. I always love...
I love the line there when that guy's
like, we aren't equipped to deal with
meta-humans. Like, that's why it ends so fast.
I'm like, okay, fine. I always love that when
the Rift actually does hit the city
but they close it.
So we're fine.
And I'm like,
nope.
This is,
that is going to be
a little bit harder to fix.
So, I don't know.
I want to say my other love
before I dog it anymore.
The,
I really loved the speech
when Superman goes,
stop calling me an alien, dude.
I'm,
I am as human as you.
And in fact,
that was a moment
where I thought James Gunn
went to the dog too soon.
Because I was like,
can we just live in that,
like,
moment, that wonderful moment for a second, and like all hell breaks loose. But that, because you're
right, like, every movie is like, he's an alien, he's an alien, he's an alien. And like that I thought
was such a cool monologue and sentiment. I was like, that was sick, dude. It was so real. You know what
it also helps to? It helps that we never really point to the fact that Lois Lane is fucking an alien.
We never really talk about that. No one addresses it. What kind of a seed? I mean, shout out mall rats.
it's like what kind of a seed is he blasting into her?
Like is, you know, that could get dangerous, quick.
It's, um, he must be in control in a way that we're not aware of, dude.
Yeah, has to be.
Because I would even take it that to his fighting where I'm like, use what you got, pal.
Like, he's not using his bag enough.
Which bag?
His bag of attacks.
Yeah, it's like, we didn't see laser eyes often enough.
Dude, people are laser eyeing him.
And he's like, ah, fuck.
And I'm like, oh, hit him back.
You can zap him.
That's your clone.
You zap him right back.
And he's like, no, I didn't think of it.
You didn't think of it.
He didn't cross your mind.
I think a couple other complaints I had Lex wanting to set up shop and take half of, what
was it called, like Jihara.
Yeah, I can't remember.
Look that up.
But taking half of that country.
and in the when when they get the dirt
because of Jimmy's girlfriend's photos
and there's that kind of not throwaway line
but there's that little expositioning line from Lois
where she's like yeah he wants to be king
there's part of me that was like
why like there was one more line
but I was like do you really want to move to a third world country
and like set up shop as a king like look at you in Metropolis
you're already Jarhand Por
Jarhan Poor yeah yeah Jarhand Por
I'm like what
what aren't you getting here in Metropolis
that you would get there?
And I think they said,
I think they said something about like people worshiping him there or something,
but I don't know.
Not to mention, dude,
when he was going to lose it and they're like,
oh,
we already sent the met of humans and you lost.
And he goes,
I don't care about that country.
And I was like,
do you don't?
Like, isn't that the whole,
wasn't that the whole point of all this?
He was like, no, I was going to kill Superman.
I was like,
surely there were easier ways to kill Superman
than you making a back channel
deal for to become king of a third world
country. Like that didn't need to be part of it
at all. Going back into some things I loved
I loved, similar
to the Batman, loved
the no origin.
Same. Hell yeah. Same. Initial
title screen, really strong.
Superman's been here. We got a little bit of
backstory of some of the things that he's done. I thought that was great.
I thought the
editing and the
visuals and the visual effects were
great. I was worried about that. As we've seen
with a lot of some of these movies that have come out, I thought you could notice there was
an attempt at practical effects as often as possible, which was very, very much appreciated.
I thought the score was awesome. Cool. I want to shout out David Fleming. Great
score. You know I'm a score guy. So, yeah, all that kind of goes into, and we can keep
picking nits, but like I say,
from start to finish. I just really liked it. I thought it was fun. I didn't. The clone thing didn't hit that. I'll go. I remembered the one other thing I loved. Oh, nice.
10 out of 10, perfect across the board, from casting to scenes to moments, Ma and Pa. Oh, yeah. Yeah, great. Mr. and Mrs. Kent,
credit to James Gunn going full, it's always sunny in Philadelphia, casting of cast.
real people. Like those were real
Kansas people who would be living on a farm
and would raise Clark Kent. I
loved them and the scenes
with them were really, really lovely.
Agree, that was awesome. I didn't, the clone
thing didn't hit that hard for me.
And I didn't like
it all, even though it was like kind of cool,
I guess, I didn't like Rex
or excuse me Lex like giving
the moves. You know, he's like
HAT, whatever. And then the
The payoff of that was like the crypto eats the cameras.
So now like he can't beat him.
And I was like, okay.
So I actually really liked that.
And I'll tell you why.
I really liked that because that was,
that was the movie's version and Lex's version of Lex beating him.
Like if I had a body like Superman,
I'm smarter than you.
That was the brain versus Braun thing.
Like he was like, I physically can't fight you.
So I'm going to take a clone of you and then my mind will beat you.
I thought that was really smart.
But what about, I'll hear that.
But what about when Superman's laughing and he goes, what are you smiling at?
And he goes, brains over brawn.
And then just like whistled for the dog.
Yeah, I mean, it was a little convenient, a little cheesy of a line.
But I think it was him being like, this is me outsmarting you by using crypto.
Yeah.
Because you didn't think of the dog.
Yeah.
And then this one just always kills me.
The people need to be getting out of the way.
brother brother also how to be as cavalier as they were with lines like no casualties so many
people died in that last or i'm talking millions man like so many people died in that last
uh dude millions of people died millions of people are dead that was not great that was not great
i was dying what it's like the buildings in the buildings i would almost hear where they just went
hey stay inside it's not safe out there yeah so when shit
it's crashing into the windows, like, Superman,
and everyone's, like, up against the window.
I'm like, get it back, but like, fine, you're inside.
It's the people, it's like the little girls
walking in fucking Times Square.
What I'm like, do you not see
the 50-foot lizard right there?
You got to get out of here.
It's, it's, and I,
they were kind of making jokes,
like, the people who were, like, sitting in buildings,
like watching and filming and all that shit,
I'm like, dude, run.
What are we doing?
But I think that's the lighthearted nature
that they're going for.
Like, you know, you don't want those.
classic Marvel scenes of people running and panic through the streets.
But yeah, the casualties were at an all-time high in the finale of that film.
Let me tell you what.
So good.
It's like, oh, my God.
It's worth it for the six shots of him, like, catching stuff and, like, you know, swooping in and whatever.
But I'm like, you got to get out of here, dude.
People got to get out of it.
Think about those domino buildings.
Everyone's dead.
Everyone's dead in those.
And I like the robots, dude.
I like the, I like the fucking, I like four.
I like Gary.
Yeah, I like Gary too.
I'm a sucker for a good droid.
Those lines were really funny.
I feel like Nolan kind of really, I mean, crazy to say, because we've seen robots with
personalities.
I think R2D2 and C3PO are, you know, front of mind of trailblaze that.
But I think Nolan with Tars and Case kind of reopened that door of how fun robot characters
can be.
And those robots were great.
I thought crypto was great.
Let's get in quickly to Millie Alcock, dude.
Supergirl.
Oh, dude, is she in the show?
She's a potty girl.
Yeah, that was awesome.
When she goes, thanks for watching him, bitch.
Yeah.
It's great.
That was so funny.
Yeah, that was awesome.
And I want to go with her, dude.
Like, where's she going?
Red Sun planets to raid.
I don't know how I would hold up on a Red Sun though.
Maybe I need the, because I get fucked up with a yellow sun.
So maybe I need that yellow sun.
You never know.
The Yellow Sun might be giving you powers you didn't realize.
Or do, or I can't get drunk on a Red Sun.
Whoa.
You would hate it there.
I'd hate it there.
So that was like the introdue.
I'm pretty sure James Gunn posted today a, or maybe not today, but recently an announcement
of Millie Alcock as Supergirl.
And I'm not, I don't know.
Like, I loved her in this movie.
I thought it was really funny.
But I don't know, I don't know how I'm going to feel about a full supergirl movie of her being like a drunk party girl.
Yeah.
But maybe it's like a-
Act together, dude.
She'll get her act together.
Yeah.
Maybe it's like a rebellious teen movie where she's kind of rebelling against the idea of being a soup
and not wanting to have the responsibility.
So it could be cool.
Yeah.
No, I'm so down.
That was, I love that.
Like, even when Crypto was like mashing her into the world.
through the ground jumping on her and she's just dying laughing i was like this is fucking great dude
really really good um what else dude what else did you love dude that's it it was a great ride
like i really enjoyed it and um like i thought it was oh oh you know it was cool i like i liked
when him and lois were having a conversation and that fucking thing was happening out the window
and she's like like they got they got that's fine they got that under control um my
last note is going to be for a Superman movie and for the introduction of David as our new Superman,
not enough Superman.
Yeah, sorry, that's true.
Don't get me wrong.
I really liked Green Lantern.
I really liked Hot Girl and Mr. Terrific.
He was fantastic.
More than I thought I was going to at first.
I was like, oh, fuck, dude.
But then they were Nathan Phillyam.
always gets me but they were awesome it was funny dude there's obviously like so much uh overlap like um one
palm clementief is the voice of one of the robots which is you know obviously they're just
friends from working together in the mc u um and alan tudic is gary the amount of major people who do
small parts and all this shit um is always hilarious to me but um i i did i did like that crew the the
the what the fuck were they called themselves,
the justice team, gang or whatever.
I liked them.
They were funny,
but I was just,
I was surprised to see so many other characters in this already.
I was kind of like,
oh, shit,
like I'm,
I'm really shocked to see you.
And they did take some time away.
And it's just,
it's another nod to the amount of people
who have been in multiple superhero movies.
You know,
like Frank Grillo,
is now is now Rick Flagg Sr. in this. And I'm just like, oh, shit, like, that's a little
surprising to me, but, you know, here we go. Like, here he is. And, uh, yeah, I was just, uh, I was a little,
I was a little shocked by that, not in a bad way, but there's just a lot of people. And, um,
but, it's a, it's a good problem to have, I will say. But, uh, yeah, I was definitely a bit like
shit. I wasn't ready for such a... I don't want to say a low amount of Superman, but he wasn't
in it as much as I would have thought. At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built
on a foundation of good health, from the big milestones to the quiet winds. That's why our
annual health assessment offers a physician-led, full-body checkup that provides a clear picture of your
health today and may uncover early signs of conditions like heart disease and cancer. A healthier you
means more moments to cherish. Take control of your
well-being and book an assessment today. Medcan, live well for life. Visit medcan.com
slash moments to get started. And like being the man either, you know, I was like, all right,
dude, like let's get some cool Superman shit going here. Yeah. And Eddie Githegi, I think,
I apologize if I'm pronouncing that wrong, but he was Mr. Fantastic and he got fucking
dogged in X-Men. Oh, oh, yeah, true. Just like a brutal character who dies immediately. So
it was cool to see him. Yeah, he was really funny. My only note with him is he, I know he was
of being badass and cool, but he was like, when he gets into Lex's ship at the end,
and he's like, hey, I need to stop the rift. And that one kind of like nerdy guy that works for
Lex was like, I have the code. And he was like, I don't need you a fucking help. And I was like,
well, take it though. Like he has the code. Like maybe don't risk this, dude. Yeah. Like whatever,
however quick you hacked that, it was still 30 seconds slower that if you just said,
what is the code? And then we had it, dude. We were done. I also hated, not hated, but,
because it didn't matter, but that opening Lois
Clark scene when she's like,
let me interview you,
which was a long scene and got into some good stuff.
But when she kept going,
this is on the record,
as if she had a journalistic obligation
to publish any of that.
And it never paid off that way,
but in the moment I was like,
are you kidding me, dude?
Okay, so I'm going to,
I'm going to be a douche here.
I'm going to put on my douche cap.
That is very comicky.
Like, Lois is such a reporter.
in the comics and I I loved that scene and that's kind of why I was saying I thought
Rachel is just the best lowest we've ever seen she was that was so right out of the comic
books and I thought for her kind of intro I was like great job so I did like that okay
I was like Jesus fucking Christ what to do it was enough but no it was it was I had a blast
I'll say as our first official Netters not ice movie review great one for
Superman.
Solid.
Possibly our number one DCU movie and never before has the DCEU had this much relief.
I am so excited to see what's next in this space.
I will say, however, everyone knows that the mashups are, they are the name of the game.
And as we have discussed on these lists, Matt Reeves' Batman is not in the DCEU technically.
Let me tell you what.
this Superman and Robert Pattinson's Batman cannot exist in the same movie.
And that's not a challenge.
It's not a challenge.
I am telling you any fans out there, they cannot exist together.
And that's why I think James Gunn did such a good job because Matt Reeves was like,
the best Batmans are the dark Batmans, made a Dark Batman.
It's fantastic.
James Gunn was like the best Superman's, Superman is the most important superhero in the history
of superhero comics and characters.
And this is the best version of him.
The Green Jeans, optimistic goofball.
And he gave it to us, and I loved it.
Yes.
Thank you kindly.
Yeah.
All right, let's take a quick break here for more of our sponsors and then wrap up this episode with a game.
Dan, you got that dog in you?
You know I have that dog in me.
I can't believe you would even ask me that.
You got that mug root beard dog in you?
Woo!
Woo!
Woo!
Tell me about it.
You know I got that dog in me.
My greatest dog story in Montana at our friend's ranch.
bunch of friends hanging out.
All of a sudden, someone turns into the kitchen.
There's a raccoon in the house.
Raccoon running rampant in the house.
Everyone's freaking out.
They're jumping up on tables, running upstairs, getting out of the way.
What did I do?
I had to do something.
I had to get that dog.
I strapped on that dog collar.
And I went, full-on bloodhound,
chased the raccoon, grabbed it by the scruff of its neck,
opened the door, fired it outside.
raccoon's fine, but I had to bark him out, dude.
Couldn't be in the house, because this is the dog house, not a raccoon house.
It was the most jacked up I've ever been in my life.
I had one moment, dude, an instant to go, am I a dog or not?
And I was a dog.
And I literally jumped on top of that raccoon, grabbed him and tossed him out the house.
Because this is my house, dude.
This is the dog house.
Woo!
Woo!
God, that's better than mine, but I was thinking at the Stanley Cup Finals day.
when we stayed up all night and then they said go do a live pod in the morning i need you i need you i need you on your
a game and i had to crack a mug and get that dog back in me so we could deliver for the fans i want you guys
to become dogs i want you to think about how you can be more of a dog get that dog in you we need
life more unfiltered more off the chain get that dog inside you and if you feel like you don't have it
crack a mug root beer right now and you will get that dog in your soul and you will start
like a dog. We need more of it. So the next time you're craving a cold, frothy, flavorful root beer.
God, we love a root beer. God, I love root. Sassafras, man. Sassafras. That's what makes root.
We love a root beer. God, I love root beer. So next time you're craving one, you can go find yourself
a mug at the local store wherever you get groceries or you go to mug rootbeard.com
slash find dash mug to get you a pause on some.
Huge thank you to everyone who supports us here at Empty Netters. And Dan,
you are going to try to solve a round of trivia factorial.
Oh, shit.
Okay.
In which case, I give Dan blurbs about a player that starts at 10 points, 8 points, 6 points, 4 points, 2 points, and then 1 point.
Dan can answer at any moment, but if he gets it wrong, you get zero points and you lose the game.
And if you get it right, you win the amount of points that we're on.
It gets way easier as we go.
but you can't jump the gun.
Everyone try to play along
and see if you can get more points
than dumb Dan.
I'm doing better than you in this game.
Oh, you're way better.
I'm so bad at this game.
Okay, you ready?
Yeah.
For 10 points,
I am a New England boy
who played prep at St. Sebs
and I was so good
I made their varsity team
when I was only in eighth grade.
Oh, that is such a good fact.
Isn't that awesome?
Hold on.
I am going through my database
of NHL players
who went to St. Sebs.
I actually forgot this guy
went to St. Sebs
when I was doing this.
I was like, oh yeah, that's gas.
It's never been a 10.
I never want a 10, really.
But it would be cool.
Move on, move on.
Like, you could know it.
Move on.
I've got like two or three,
three guys who went to St. Sebs for sure.
Remember to see if you're right.
There's no way I could ever know.
Well, there's no way because I don't have a guess.
Yeah, yeah.
No, I'm just saying remember who you had in mind.
Yes, yes, yes, yes.
For eight points, I won gold at a U-18 World Championship,
where I was the highest scoring American defenseman.
From there, I went to BC becoming the second youngest player in school history.
You gave me too easy of one, brother.
Yeah, well, you got mad at me the last two,
because I wanted to go a little bit easier.
I got it, I think. Do you want me to wait?
We've never had a wrong guess.
I know. And if you're wrong, this would suck. I think you'll get it on the next one.
No, I think I got it.
This is risky, dude.
I know, and this is going to be our first eight.
Yeah, correct.
I believe, I'm going to guess.
Okay.
Our player is good friend of Jack Eichel, Noah Hanofen.
Yes, dude. Great job.
What gave it away?
The defenseman from BC.
Oh, okay, yeah.
But is he one of your three St. Sebs guys?
Yeah, I know.
Oh, he went to St. Sebs.
Oh, he was? Well, I forgot he went to St. Sebs.
Boiler went to St. Sebs.
And, dude, fun fact, only know this recently because of the Islanders Deep dive.
We went on.
Rick DiPiatro is a St. Sebs guy.
Wow.
Yeah.
For six points, I was projected as a top three pick in my draft, but I ended up going fifth to
Carolina, but I only played three seasons there before being traded to play in
Canada.
Yeah, would have got that.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Fourth, I'm on my third stop now, or four points.
I'm on my third stop now, a Western Conference team, but if I'd gotten there just a year
earlier, I'd have a Stanley Cup.
For two points.
That one, I feel like, should have been the six.
Well, by then, with all of them combined, plus that one.
Two, for two points, Don Sweeney has been obsessed with me his entire life.
And for one point, I'm best friends with Jack Ego.
Yeah.
Oh, that's good.
Really good eight burgers.
Dan nicely done Noah Hanifin.
Hard to beat that one for the listeners at home.
It's hard to beat Nate. Great job.
Yeah, that was, you know what?
There's going to be some St.
Sub-Seb's kid who is listening.
Who gets that one?
Yeah, who gets a 10-Burg.
You're right, actually. I bet they will.
That's sick.
That's the only reason I got it.
If you hadn't said St. Sebs,
I would have taken me to six for sure.
Yeah, because I thought the eight one was hard
if you didn't know St. Sam's, which I didn't.
Yeah, correct.
Fucking beautiful stuff.
Well, hey, listen, that's it for us this episode
at the Empty Netters podcast.
We got a lot of fun stuff coming next week.
Some great interviews, Calgary Flames fans.
Get very excited.
We've got some really cool stuff cooking.
Make sure you subscribe to the YouTube, follow us on all the socials,
grab some merch.
I'm wearing our Unreal Netters tea right now.
We've got an awesome new hat that's available perfect for summer.
Pop on to the Instagram, go to the link.
It's Empty Netters.com, if you're sitting by a browser.
Grab some cool merch.
Do all the fun stuff.
have an amazing weekend we love you and until we see you next week cp skate hard
