Empty Netters Podcast - The NHL Hall of Fame Just Got a Whole Lot Cooler
Episode Date: November 13, 2024Nate Thompson is back because the Magic Man and the Dancing Man get their Hall of Fame nods. Pavel Datsyuk and Jeremy Roenick join Shea Webber in an incredible batch of inductees. The Jets are an unst...oppable force, Kirill Kaprizov is about to be the richest man in the NHL, and Quinn Hughes is on another level. Plus, it's the return of Two Real Two Fake! See how you do and play along SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. CASHAPP. Download CashApp and take control of your finances! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cash-app/id711923939 RIKI. Head to https://rikispirits.com/ to find out where to get RIKI near you. Follow @friday.beers and @rikispirits to stay up to date with upcoming RIKI contests and giveaways FUNKAWAY. To check out the full family of FunkAway products go to http://www.funkaway.com to learn more funk’in cool stuff. And head over to Amazon right now and grab FunkAway products with just a few clicks. FIREBALL . Fireball’s iconic cinnamon flavor tastes fire and goes down easy, making it the ultimate crowd pleasure. Go pick up some from your local liquor store and join us in drinking Fireball during our game days this season! #IgniteYourRivalry EVERYMANJACK. Give Every Man Jack a shot today and go to http://www.everymanjack.com and use code “NETTERS” at checkout for 25% off your first order CBDMD. Visit http://www.cbdmd.com to explore their extensive range of products and find the perfect solution for your needs. Don’t forget to use code “FRIDAY” at checkout to get 30% OF + Free Shipping. DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more CHOMPS. If you are looking for the PERFECT on the go snack that has zero grams of sugar and packed with high quality protein, then Chomps is for you. To learn more about Chomps, click here! http://www.chomps.com/emptynetters 00:00 INTRO 03:35 PWHL JERSEYS 06:21 THE JETS 27:15 HALL OF FAME 45:03 GOALIE REUNION 1:04:32 BEER LEAGUE 1:10:03 STARTING 6 1:31:50 TRENDING 1:35:07 2 REAL 2 FAKE Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The Jets have officially become the first team in NHL history to win 14 of their first 15 games.
Holy shit.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM.
I'm your host, Dan Powers.
Join today by our good boy, Nate Thompson.
Hi, guys.
Tomer, how are we?
I'm doing great. How are you guys doing?
Fantastic. And then on my left, as always.
As always.
C.P.
We got the squad together.
We're buzzing in the new studio.
Thomas new time in the new studio.
This is nice.
First time in the new studio.
Real nice.
We're cooking with gas.
Just fucking buzzing.
How was your weekend?
Weekend was good.
Weekend was really good.
It was nice to see the birds.
Just absolutely shit kicks the cowboys.
Like, just a clinic.
That was a clinic.
It was also funny how that was supposed to be the big game of the weekend.
I know.
It's like, you know, eagles, cowboys.
Poor Jerry, dude.
Yeah.
Spent a billion dollars on,
Dude.
It is tough going.
Watching Trey Lance
get under center for the Cowboys
at one point in that,
I was like, oh my God.
You can't even see in the stadium of the sun.
Did you see that?
If it's a,
that was crazy.
C.D.
Lamb was complaining about it after, right?
And he's right.
That was insane.
It's not good.
He was like,
that ball just sailed right by him
and he was like,
I can't fucking see shit.
And then you see the end zone angle of that pass
and you're like,
oh, he can't see shit.
The Eagles are coming.
Yeah, good.
They're getting hot.
Because Hertz wasn't doing shit for a while.
Just give the ball to Seiguan.
Yeah.
That's all you do.
Dude, speaking of Eagles running backs, LaShawn McCoy.
Ooh, the shady.
On Glory Days this Thursday.
Yes.
Huge.
This app's coming out Wednesday, so tomorrow.
Okay.
Yes.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
If you're listening to this tomorrow.
Yeah.
If you've got any Byrds fans out there or football fans in general,
LaShaqa McCoy on Glory Days with Johnny Mansell,
that's going to be a must listen.
Remember how good shade he was?
Oh my God.
Nasty.
He was like I.
He was a man, dude.
He was one of the best eagles, I think.
It was unreal.
There were so many stories where he was playing where he would like juke someone and
would be laughing on the field.
And I'm like having that level of just not not care.
Yeah.
You're just like whatever.
Just shoohinging it around.
He's going to have some epic stories on that pod.
Like I cannot wait to hear.
I'm tuning in for that one for sure.
Electric, dude.
100%.
What did you do this weekend?
We had a buddy in town.
Shout out Pierce.
Yes.
Pierce was around.
And shout out Coot.
Our friend Coot had her birthday this weekend.
Happy birthday, Coot.
Yeah.
So a lot of moving, one of those weekends was a lot of moving parts, a lot of moving pieces.
And it was like, it was giving me anxiety, actually.
On Thursday, I was like, I have eight million things to do this weekend.
Stick and move.
And now we're going to hit them all.
We found a way.
We found away, as always.
Yeah.
But yeah, a lot of moving parts.
Dude, I watched the Penguin finale.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, how was that?
I started it.
I need to...
Dude, it's so good.
It's good, right?
It's really good, right?
It's the best show on TV.
It's a lot of shows.
I feel like in the fall,
there's a lot of shows to watch.
Yeah, there's Yellowstone now.
They're shrinking.
You guys watch shrinking,
you guys watch shrinking?
Shrinking's a good one.
There's a lot.
I've said it before.
I'll say it again.
Rings of Power, season two,
gas.
Season one, sucked.
Yeah.
Season one, ass, season two, gas.
Okay.
So if you're a Lord of the Rings fan,
good to know.
Rings of Power, pretty fire.
Good to know.
We got a lot to talk about in the hockey world.
So let's jump in.
First and foremost, the P-dub jerseys dropped.
And by dropped, I mean, dropped on their backs.
We've seen the jerseys before.
Now the gals in the league are rocking them.
We've got them up right now.
We're looking at them.
I did a video when these came out ranking them.
And then you always need to see them on people.
And I think I put Boston number one.
Did you?
And back when I ranked.
them and I do love Boston. I also love, I love the Aaron is in the Boston one in this clip.
Well, I remember we talked about the names, obviously, how good, like some of the names are.
Yeah. They're good. No doubt. Boston Fleet is sick. The logo's sick. And I do love those
jerseys, but I got to say, man, Montreal is sick. I was going to say, do, do, do
do who am I. It's Montreal. It's Montreal and I, Toronto.
Really? I actually like, oh, fuck off. I actually do. You like the Taylor Swift jerseys?
I like it. The way it looks, it looks nice. It's, like the Montreal.
Montreal Toronto that those are my favorites I think I can I think the I had to look at it more
more and it's I'm I kind of like I cannot get the Taylor Swift thing out of my head it's just it's
insane it's exactly like the Taylor Swift music video I guess I'm a Swift yeah yeah that's okay
hey you just turned yourself a lot of fans right there yeah I'm Swifty um I they look the colors
just look a little too much like the blues to me like with the dark blue on the shoulders
I know but it looks clean it is nice like that logo is yeah
It's pretty dialed.
It's not bad.
I understand, but I, but I put it this way.
It's not Ottawa.
No, it's not that.
Ottawa is so bad.
I'm sorry.
Montreal is the best, though.
That one's sick.
Montreal is unreal.
We're talking to our girl, Aaron Ambrose, about it.
And they're just so clean.
The bottom, too, the little light blue and the bottom straight.
That's a nice touch.
Yeah, it's a really nice touch.
And I do, I won't lie.
I mean, I'm a, I've always.
been a purple guy. I know.
Minnesota is sick. It does look like a Disney
Pixar team. Exactly. Like it looks like
the team that Riley
plays for on Inside Out too. Like
it's got a Disney vibe to it. But it's cool. I dig it.
Either way, it's good
to see the P-dub. Good to see the P-dub.
It's nice. They're nice. Some sweaters on. Bauer, dude,
making it hard. Good job. Yeah. That
is another thing. Huge shout out to Bauer.
Makes you wonder why the NHL doesn't let someone like Bauer
or CCM make the official jerseys because
these are sick and look at that.
It's nice to see.
How about that?
I want to give credit where credit is due right now.
Tomer is on the show when we did our preseason previews.
There was a certain team up in Canada that you said was going to be first in their division
and we laughed at you.
And now the Jets have officially become the first team in NHL history to win 14 of their
first 15 games.
Holy shit.
The Jets are hot.
I think we even, when they started hot early, we were in Nashville.
I remember I remember already giving you flowers for this, but it's just continued.
Yeah.
Did you, where did you, did you have them first?
I can't remember.
I had them first.
I had them first in the division.
Okay, you did.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I did have them first.
And boys, they are making me look really, really smart.
Oh my God.
It's crazy.
But I was looking, so we're talking about the Jets.
I was looking at some numbers.
and they have 11 guys with 10 points or more.
Yeah, yeah.
Like, it's just for me, the Winnipeg Jets is depth, depth, and more depth.
Yep.
It's crazy.
It's unbelievable.
It's unbelievable, and you see even like their D.
I look at their D and I see, like, obviously, the one that jumps out as Josh Morrissey.
Yeah.
But it's like committee after that.
It's all by committee.
And then obviously, look at Connor Hellebuck.
Yep.
The guy is, I mean, honestly, they might just get.
give him the best of it now.
It's crazy.
Like his numbers is ridiculous right now.
What is it?
It's like not,
I thought it's like 1.8 goals against.
He's a new.
9.30 something.
I do want to give.
I do want to give credit to Pionk too.
Oh yeah,
yeah, yeah.
Like he's been so.
He's been so fucking good.
It's crazy.
You don't believe in them.
I'm not.
Still.
I'm not.
I don't think they're this good.
Right.
I don't even think you think they're going to win.
No, I mean,
It's, but like...
Honestly, you're kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop a little bit right now.
Yeah.
And we had this combo last week, I think, about the canes.
Yeah.
And I asked Dan, what would the canes have to do to make you be like, okay, something is different other than just win the cup?
Because I, once they lost to the Rangers last year, I was like, I'm done with the canes until they win.
Because I'm sick of being like, they're my sleeper team.
And Dan, I thought, had a great answer, which was they need a superstar.
And maybe it's in-house already.
Maybe it's an anxious.
Maybe it's Aho.
Maybe it's Jarvie.
but we need a hundred point guy, a consistent hundred point guy.
And I had the same question that I wanted to ask you guys about the Jets
because pretty similar story to the Cains, if you think about it,
where the Jets have been a good regular season team.
But since they went to the conference finals in 2018,
it's like losing the first round every year.
I think there's one year they won a round and one year they missed.
I was there. We won one round.
Yeah.
Oh, there you go.
We lost.
We got swept to Montreal.
So it's like that's been the story.
Good regular season, playoffs, immediate dead.
Yeah.
Do you already feel like, no, this year it already is different.
This year they're going to have playoff runs.
And if not, because I don't yet, I pose the question to the table.
What would have to happen in Winnipeg be to be like, no, I think this is the year?
So all I want to say is there's a couple of things.
One, I said when you made the call of them fishing first, I said if they stay healthy, I could see it.
They're currently healthy.
And it's not just like, we talked about Kyle Connor.
He's actually not as hurt as some remember, but he did get hurt last year.
He's healthy.
He's buzzing.
Sheifley's buzzing.
Morrissey was hurt last year.
He's healthy.
He's buzzing.
A huge one for me is Valardi.
I mean, things didn't work out in L.A. with Valardi because he just kept getting hurt.
And he got hurt last year with Winnipeg.
He's healthy right now.
He's fantastic.
So that's huge.
Knock on wood for them.
Yep.
Absolutely.
I think the big thing for me is I believe in them.
I think that they are this good.
And I actually don't think that they're going to slow down.
I mean, sorry.
Obviously, they're not going to.
That's on record.
They are going to win.
They are going to lose six games this year.
They're going 75 and 7, according to Dan.
The first time to ever do that.
Yeah.
No, obviously, they'll slow down a little bit,
but I think they're going to be this good.
I could see them winning the Central.
Like, this is just, you know, that's what they're going to do.
I am fully on the side of where we talked about the hurricanes like this.
I don't give a fuck.
14 wins, first 15, that's awesome.
I don't give a fuck.
I know this team's good.
I think that's my problem with the Jets.
I am not surprised that this team is good.
Look at how many insanely good players they have,
but they are fully in the good job, pat on the back,
I'm proud of you, go win in the playoffs or I don't fucking care.
If they don't make it to, I mean,
fucking at least the second round,
if they don't make it to the conference finals,
I'm like, this is a failure or season.
So your answer is nothing,
and that might be my answer too,
but there's nothing they can do other than fucking win a round
to make me be like, the Jets are.
I think it's two.
I think with how good this team is,
I don't think that they can make playoffs and play a wildcard team
and win one round and then lose in five or six in the second round
and me be like this.
No, that's a good step forward.
They need to win two rounds.
Or at least get to seven against a good team in round two.
Because, yeah, this is, you've got the best goalie in the league, arguably.
I mean, he won the Vezna last year.
He is the best goalie in the league right now.
I personally think this team does have superstars.
I think Kyle Connor is a superstar.
I think Josh Morrissey is a superstar on D.
You have.
Mark Schifley has been a superstar for a long time.
And is Mark Schifely not your Mark Stone,
your Patrice Berger on your Gabe Landis God?
Every year gets it done, puts up numbers no matter what.
Like you don't need 100 from Schifley.
You need his veteran leadership and his consistent performance,
and that's exactly what he's doing.
And then you add under Gettling,
You add guys underneath him, like Colper Fetty, like those guys.
Like they're top six Nikolai Eelers.
Like you can keep going on and on and on.
But it's, man, it's like their depth.
It's, it's so evident.
Yeah.
Especially with their forwards.
But I agree with you.
I think I'll take it one step further.
I think that it is.
They have to make the conference finals, I think.
Thank you.
It's like, I think they have to get to the conference finals because there's,
it's kind of like, you know, a lot of those guys, especially shifference.
Conner, I mean, those guys have been together for like a decade now.
Yeah.
Right?
And the Corps has been together.
It's like, it's time now.
So it's, and He is without question the best goal in the NHL right now.
No question.
I agree.
He's the guy.
He's got to be the guy.
He's going to have to take them to the conference finals.
Yeah.
It's just going to have to be that.
It's like when when Shifley and Hellebuck both signed their seven year deals.
That felt like the, okay.
Like yes.
Like no one's leaving.
We're here now.
And then last year's playoff was.
So disappointing.
Yeah.
So,
yeah,
it's,
I don't mean to take
anything away from them,
but I think if you're a diehard
Jets fan right now,
sure,
this start is great,
it's fun,
but you're not like,
holy shit,
like we look different.
I think you're like,
no,
we're this good.
We've been this good.
Yeah,
and wake up in the playoffs.
I think that's what you're saying.
Yeah.
Two questions for you guys.
One,
they'll obviously be looking
because they're,
it's business.
But the,
sometimes I have a contender
that I go,
they are missing blank,
piece. Like let's say the Bruins were better just because I know the roster so well. Even if they
were in first right now, I'd be like they are missing a second line right wing or a second,
you know, we need something there. And that's what you're looking to add at the deadline.
If you're the Jets and we're praising their depth right now, I'm like, you kind of want to be like
they don't need anything. But surely they will be looking to add something at the deadline.
What is it if you're a jet stand? If I had put my GM hat on, I would add a right shot
defenseman. Okay. One more right shot defenseman. Looking at their deep pairings.
Like shutdown guy? Because they've got more.
They're deep-pairings.
Like, I love Dylan DeMello.
He's...
He's been great.
He's been great.
He does.
He's so good defensively,
but I don't know if he's a top two-paring guy with Morrissey.
I know they play together for a long time,
but maybe you add another like...
Or maybe you add a guy that can play on the right side.
Like a guy like Cam Fowler?
Yeah, that's interesting, actually.
Right?
Yeah.
Imagine that.
I've been waiting for Fowler to move for five years.
Yeah, it's time.
Because he's so good.
Yeah.
And I do think the Duffler.
Ducks. Let's get that out there.
Like Fowler to Winnipeg maybe, I think.
Fowler somewhere.
We talked about it earlier and we'll get into them later, but I look at Rasmus Anderson.
You know, I picked him early to be like he could be someone who moves and like that.
Can you imagine a cup run team adding him.
And how about the year he's having right now?
Exactly.
That's what I'm saying.
For me, no, no, I just.
I want you to answer.
Yeah.
I think it's top 4D.
I totally agree.
I mean, this defense is good.
Morrissey de Mello, Sandberg Piyonks.
Have a ton of points on it.
Like it's crazy.
So it's like, I'm not even trying to demote those guys.
But it's not even so much a demotion as it would be a, I mean, fuck me.
How good would they be if you, if you put some of that?
I don't think you mess with the forwards at all.
Okay.
Like they're forward like and even we have our, we have, you know,
AI's on the fourth line.
I know, it's crazy.
It's insane.
Pumping in power play goals.
I think that is my one thing.
My, my one thing with this team is a middle six.
a middle six edition that you know is going to not overproduce but also not underproduce.
Someone who's going to be that guy who in the second round is going to get you a huge goal in game three.
You know what I'm talking about?
I could see them adding a middle six guy when it's like, ooh, that top line has been stifled for a couple of games here
and you get that like third line veteran who's going to caught you a goal that's crucial.
That is something that I could see for sure.
I just, it's, the only other spot I could see maybe would be the second line center spot
Domesticoff.
Yeah.
Like that would be, like he's a real good player.
Yeah.
But I don't know if he's a second line center when you're, when you're matching up against other really good teams.
And if you add a guy, but I just don't know if you mess with that third.
That third line is like, that's their identity.
Nino, Lowry and Appleton.
I'm like, there's just no.
You can't mess with that.
And then like that, that's like their identity as a way of it.
It's tricky.
But also if a, you know, if a top center came available and you're like, well, fuck, I, I,
you got to do what you got to do.
Exactly.
So it's really tough.
But that's a conversation for them later, but that's something to keep an eye on.
But I got to give flowers to Kevin Shevel Day off.
And then also Scott Arneal, like he's been, he's been their coach before and to bring him back.
And then there's like, you know, there's that familiarity with them.
And obviously he's done a great job.
Totally.
Man, the jets are.
They're fucking.
They're good.
They're good.
They're really good.
Here's the other thing.
want to say about the Jets.
Because I'm, I'll say this right now, this is why we got a table so we can knock on wood.
Barring disaster, the Jets are, I've officially made the playoffs in my opinion.
You can't start like this.
And there's no universe where they're out of the playoffs.
In fact, there's almost no universe in my opinion where they don't win the central
because of the cushion they've already built.
You can fall, but it would take a pretty bad slump and other teams getting hot.
So here's my question.
Because you really want to win the fucking central normally because you're like,
I don't want to run into who is the typical?
two, three there, Dallas, Colorado.
Well, and, and Winnipeg, they are going to have home ice advantage.
Yep.
You're playing in the peg at home in the playoffs.
You have a home ice advantage.
Which I haven't totally fucking delivered on in the past.
No, they haven't.
You're right.
Disappointing, right.
Yeah.
But dude, one thing I want to keep an eye on, which is such a fucking brutal break,
is with the success of the wild who look really exciting and you're like,
oh shit, maybe the wild are going to sneak in there.
And then the kings, which you were also all over.
We were all over.
We.
We.
There's a very real chance.
I'm not saying this is definitely happening,
but Kings Vegas Canucks, great.
Could those be the top three in the Pacific?
100% right?
I don't think that would shock us.
Could Jets' wild stars be the top three in the Central?
100% that wouldn't shock us,
which means lurking in wildcard spots are the Oilers and the Aves,
and you're the Jets and you're in the Central.
And then you get fucking face-fucked by Connor McDavid in the first round.
And you're like, damn it.
Well, that was the case with Dallas last time.
Yeah, Dallas caught Vegas and they won, obviously, but it's like that's not the first round
matchup you want for sure.
You're thinking six or seven games automatically.
When you have that start as the Jets and you're like, hell yes, we're in the playoffs.
We met with the fucking division.
And then you look at the starts with the oilers and the abs.
You're like, because now they are like, you almost want them to be better.
You know, so I know.
I can at least duck you in the first.
God damn.
Awesome.
How good everyone is.
I don't think there's, I was going to say there.
There's no way around it, no matter what.
Of course.
You make the playoffs.
Eight, eight good teams.
There's eight really good teams in the West.
And that's excluding, like, the flames, the Utah's, the Cracken, like, since they're, like, they're lurking.
But there's eight really good teams in the West.
You're going to play them eventually.
So, yeah.
I'm a, I know I played for them.
It wasn't that long, but, like, man, I love the way they play.
Yeah.
The Jets are, they're fun to watch.
Exciting, bro.
It's really exciting.
It's really exciting to watch.
That's one of those teams where, you know, I'm a New England guy.
Like, I wasn't following Western Canada hockey very much as a kid.
But the Jets just always were cool to me.
Yeah.
And it's so good for hockey.
Yeah.
So good for the NHL.
like the Winnipeg Jets are in the playoffs or they're good, it's awesome.
Yep.
It's great.
Amazing.
Trade happened end of last week.
Our guy, friend of the pod, Daniel Sprong, after signing a one-year deal with the Vancouver Canucks,
gets traded back to the Seattle Cracken, where he had over 20 goals.
Yep.
Through nine games, he has a goal and two assists for three points, wasn't really working in Van.
Now he gets sent to Seattle.
People in his camp are pumped.
Yeah.
Can say and confirm.
firm. People in his camp are very pumped about this move. I like the move for Seattle. They are
definitely not where they want to be. I think that they are a little frustrated with scoring right now.
And, you know, Sprong, a guy who scored 20 goals for you before, that would be a nice addition.
My big question here is, how, who do you think this is on in Vancouver for it not working?
Because they're, I think Sprong is a great player and he's a great goal score. So to have one goal in nine.
I just, I'm not sure he was used properly.
And then also,
gotta imagine Vancouver's pissed right now,
given the fact that we just learned
that Besser is out for the foreseeable future.
Like, that is a fucking nightmare
that you had Daniel Sprong right there
and you traded him for future considerations
and now Besser's out.
And you're like, well, fuck me.
Would have been nice to have a wing
who's capable of scoring 30 rules.
Yeah, that's a tough bounce.
So, yeah.
For me, dude, and I want to hear
what you think about who it's on,
but it was such a crazy,
Spronger is a is a crazy case study for me because he's just and clearly maybe not clearly
but you'd think NHL coaches know what they're doing and and Spronger would say he said on
the show that there's deficiencies in his game there's deficiencies in everyone's
game unless you're sad probably but it's like he he maybe needs to be better
defensively more responsible on the wall whatever but he has such goal-scoring ability
that I felt like there is clearly
home for him in this league. And then coming off that Detroit season and the Seattle season before,
I was like, he's going to get paid. This is going to be awesome for him. And then it was just like
the deals weren't there in the market. But then Vancouver, it's not like he got foisted
on Vancouver. They went, they got him. They were like, yeah, we will take you. Well, the thing
that's frustrating is Springer turned down more money for multiple teams. Yeah. Because he was like,
Van is a great spot for me. They're a good team. I like what they're saying to me about where
they see me. So then I'm like, what happened? You know, like you just get to camp and they're like, oh,
you're not playing well and we don't like how does that shake out that way i mean for me it's probably
i mean i don't think like he's he's not a detail oriented type of player right yeah and i think that
because of that i think talk probably he's not his guy i mean it's pretty evident right yeah
he's not his guy but i think it's also it helps sprung because he goes to seattle he already
played under bilesma before i think he was in coachella too wasn't he a little bit with him or no i think
I might be cute.
I think he was a little bit.
I think so.
So there's a familiarity.
He knows how he plays.
He knows what type of player he is.
He knows that he has those deficiencies, quote unquote, right?
Sure.
But I think it's probably a case of, yeah, he went to Vancouver.
And that happens.
Like that happened with me as a player where you go to a team.
You sign with a new team.
And it just, it's not a fit.
It just doesn't work out.
And I think it's good that he's going back to Seattle.
And like you said, like they need some goal scoring.
And this guy can, he can score.
Bro, he can light it out.
He's got a ton of ability.
It's just, I think with Sprong, it's consistency,
and it's his play away from the puck.
Yeah.
That's the big thing.
Absolutely.
And I think that's probably now, I think it's a bit of the red flag on him, I think.
Definitely.
That's it.
Definitely.
I mean, again, Sprong is an interesting situation for me where I don't know what team it is,
definitely, but he is a 25-30 goal score on the right team.
I think it's got to be the right coach.
It's got to be the right team.
Right.
situation. Seattle's an interesting one where I'm like, I don't know if it is because like,
I think Seattle is drastically underperforming. I think they're going to figure it out because
you look at their lines, McCann, Beniers, Eberley, Schwartz, Stevenson, Bjorkstrand,
Tolvinen, Wright, Berukovsky. That's their top nine. He's going to be in there. He's not a,
he's not a fourth line player. So I'm like, I don't know who he's bouncing from there, you know?
Yep. Yeah. So it's a little bit of like, of a, I'm surprised by the move. I'm, I'm, I'm,
psyched for him. I think it's a good team. I think I think Jess is the is a perfect coach for a
player like him to get to snap someone's head into what do you do well focus on the the good parts
of your game again. There's a reason why he did well in Seattle. Exactly. I think Jess is a perfect
coach for him so yeah they're very middle of the pack goals for you know I was just wondering
because I'm like talking to the ducks and they can't score so they're like we're bringing in the
goal score yeah you know they're middle of the pack the problem for me dude is the jets have the
most goals in the league, right? And we were just talking about, and where's Vegas? Vegas has
61 goals, the third most in the league. Those are teams where they're great players, obviously,
and maybe I get to check myself because Kyle Connor, I really do think it's going to score 50,
but those guys, we're like, these are depth teams, but they're getting goal scoring. Like the
Cracken aspire to be the Jets and Vegas, where we're like, yeah, we just run the lines, dude,
but they're just not getting the production from Baneers, from, just from those top six,
but really nine guys. Yeah. So you just hope it's that. You know, you're just trying
to add goals to that depth rollout.
Well, you hope that Sprong comes in
maybe takes some pressure off those guys
and he starts scoring and those guys,
you know what I mean?
And those guys start producing as well.
I mean, maybe there's that hope for Seattle
that he comes in and does that.
Totally.
You know?
So it'll be interesting to see what happens with him.
Taking a quick break, babes to talk to you guys
about fireball.
Listen, we're in the midst of hockey season right now.
We've got NBA kicking off.
We've got Champions League.
We've got NFL football.
Everything is fired up right now.
Tensions are high. Rivalries are high. And there is no better way to ignite your rivalry
while you're sitting down watching these games than with the delicious taste of Fireball.
The best cinnamon whiskey in the game. When you're watching, whether you're at home, whether you're
at the bar, hanging out with friends, whatever you're doing. You pull out one of these little nips,
toss it right back, throw it into a mixer. I've said it before. Fireball and Diet Dr. Pepper
is my gym. Put some ice in there. It's the most delicious drink you could ever imagine.
and it elevates your experience while you're watching these games.
You want to feel fired up.
You want to feel ablaze with that unbelievable rivalry going on
when you're watching some of these games,
and Fireball is the best way to do it.
Make sure you have the best time ever when you're watching these sports events
and make sure that you are fired up beyond belief with Fireball.
There's no better way to do it.
Taking a quick break to talk to you guys about our epic deal with BetMGM.
I need you to get on the BetMGM app right now
and use promo code Netters when you log in.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And you have this amazing opportunity in front of you.
Okay?
What you do is you place a bet on anything you want from $5 up to $1,500, okay?
And if you win the bet, great bet, take the money, buy yourself something sick.
If you lose the bet, BetMGM takes that money and then puts it back into your account so you can bet on something else and then hopefully win that bet and then still get to buy yourself something sick.
How about that deal?
Okay.
So promo code netters on the bet M-B-B-M-B-R-M-R-S-Rex.
gm app get in the action right now gambling problem call one 800 gambler call 8778 hope n why or text hope
n y for new york call 1 800 327 5050 from massachusetts 21 plus only please gamble responsibly
call 1 800 next step for arizona 100 bets off for iowa 1 800 981 0 023 for porto rico first bet offer for new
customers only subject to eligibility requirements bonus bets are non-withdrawable in partnership with
kansas crossing casino and hotel see betmgm dot com for turn you
terms, U.S. promotional is not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Let's kick it to the Hall of Fame.
Yeah, this is great.
Big day for us.
Big day for the empty-in-nard's podcast.
Our King has been entered into the Hall of Fame.
So today, like you're going to be listening to this episode on Wednesday.
It's Monday that they're being inducted today.
Today, tonight.
Yeah.
Which is very exciting.
So new members, Natalie Darwitz, Shea Weber, Chrissy Wendell,
and then the two big ones,
one friend of the pod,
Jeremy Ronic.
I think J.R.
was probably,
along with McGilney,
probably like one or two
on the list of guys
who had been up for it before
and weren't in yet.
For a long time.
What is going on?
It's crazy.
Like, it's absolutely absurd.
So JR enters the Hall of Fame,
eighth overall pick in the 88 draft,
1,216 career points,
513 goals,
703 assists in 1,363.
NHL games for the Blackhawks, Coyotes, Flyers, Kings, and Sharks.
Fourth in goals and fifth in points among players born in the U.S.
Just a certified beauty.
Stiles.
One of the more fun dudes I've ever met my entire life.
It was a tragedy he wasn't in.
Absolutely absurd.
Genuine tragedy.
And he did that alumni skate thing this past weekend.
He was on Team Lindross and he's dancing on the ice just like he was back in the day.
And it was just such a perfect.
that's JR to me.
You know, like, I'm just, it was, it was bullshit that he wasn't in,
and I'm so glad that that has been rectified,
well, soon to be rectified, because he's the man,
and he's one of the best American players of all time.
Oh, you just said it.
He's one of the best American-born players ever.
Ever.
Ever.
And, I mean, like, let's be honest.
He's scored over 500 goals in the fucking national.
He's one of the best players ever.
Like, when you hear the name Jeremy Ronic,
I feel like even casual hockey fans are like,
yep, I know Jeremy Ronic.
Yeah.
And that is because he was an all-timer.
Yeah, which means you're in the Hall of Fame.
I think you have to give JR some credit to because he is one of, I think, the first players that really started to, like, sell the game like he did.
You know what I mean?
Like there wasn't any other player like that where he came in like, you know, he's wearing, was it when he was in Philly.
He was wearing Bobby Clark's with the wig and warm up.
You know what I mean?
Like doing stuff like that.
Like the game needs that.
And JR brought that.
He made it fun.
Yeah.
It's awesome to see that he's in the Hall of Fame.
Yeah.
Yeah, he's a big prank guy too.
Yeah, yeah.
You love to see it.
Yeah.
And then the big one for us, our favorite player ever, the Magic Man, Pavel Dotsuk,
being inducted into the Hall of Fame.
Unbelievable.
I have a question for you guys on Datsuk.
Hell of a career.
Two times Stanley Cup champion.
Three times Selke, three-time All-Star, four-time Lady Bing.
Played 953 games.
And I know that I think I'm getting, the 1,000 game thing is getting diluted a bit,
just because I get so many people where.
hitting it now. A lot of guys are hit. Yeah. So when I saw he didn't have it, I was like,
what? But I know a thousand games is hard. Yeah. Yeah, it just like seemed so crazy to me that he
didn't hit it. In my mind, I was like, what the hell? Yeah. 918 points. 311 goals,
604 assists, 918 points in 953 games under a point per game. I was kind of surprised by that.
And I'm not saying he doesn't have a, he's the fucking man. He was one of the most fun players
I've ever got the chance to watch. He deserves to be in the Hall fame, obviously. But I was kind of
surprise his stats weren't slightly better than that. Like in my mind, he produced more than that.
I agree. But Dotsuk for me, first of all, his first year in the league, he was 23 years old.
So I am always surprised. I'm like, what happened to those five years from 18 to 23?
And it's like people for, you know, he was a sixth round pick. He's a, he's a patent wings
steal at what they used to do back in the day. Dude, it was him in Zetterberg.
Yeah, that's crazy. What the fuck.
So that was a big, a big factor.
I, for me, we have these conversations all the time.
People talk about best Russian ever.
And I'm like, it's him.
Yeah.
And that's a crazy take because like Ovi is already.
Like it could be him.
Could be cooch.
Yeah.
Could be Fedorov, you know.
But I look at Datsuk like Ichiro.
Yeah.
Like Ichiro always says, he's like, I could have hit 40 home runs a year if I wanted to,
but I didn't want to do that.
I wanted to get on base.
And he was the best person.
alive at getting on base.
I think Datsuk
could have easily scored 50 a year
if you wanted to.
He was the most career high.
I think it's like 43.
No, it was, um, no, no, it's, I think it's 32.
Yeah, see, that's crazy.
32.
32 goals of highs.
I'm like, what are you talking about?
I think he could have scored, uh, 50 easily.
But I think he was just like, nope, don't want to it.
It's not my game.
Like he, to, Datsuk was like such a,
team guy.
Oh, he was epitome of a 200-foot player.
Exactly.
The epitome.
Like multiple Selkees, four-time Lady Bing, two cups in one of the most competitive
eras ever.
Yeah.
Like he, I just think he was so unselfish.
And if he wanted to, he could be like, oh, yeah, like 100 points in my fucking sleep, dude.
But he just didn't want to.
I swear, I swear, I will die on this hill.
Did he go over 100?
No, he had 97 back-to-back years.
Like, Datsuk never went over 100.
He was one of those guys.
Like when he got the puck, I remember like playing against him, I was like nervous.
Yeah, yeah, you run away.
You're like, uh, do I go at him?
Do I not go out?
Do I leave him over there?
What do I do?
You know what I mean?
Humiliates me.
That clip against Kature, no offense.
It was the best.
I think that was on his birthday, by the way.
It was on his birthday.
It is.
But even when you have the puck too and you're like skating, I'm like, oh shit, I got to like,
I got to give it away because he's going to pick my pocket.
He's also a truck.
People forget.
Oh, he's so strong.
Yeah.
So strong.
A monster out there.
but easily, for me at least,
most fun player to watch playing ever.
He would do shit.
Obviously, everyone knows about his shootout moves,
but like, fucking Christ, dude.
He would just-
Hockey IQ is crazy.
Oh, insane.
Absolutely insane.
So seeing him getting in, there's nothing better.
Oh, dude, it's great.
I would actually love to teleport him in his prime to now.
Not that the game's that different,
but I just think scoring's way up,
you know, it would be cool.
It's a little less physical.
Yeah, it'd be really cool to see Pavel Datsu play in 2020,
like prime Datsuk in 2024.
Like, I think legitimately would Kutrov have last year,
140 fucking point, you know.
Oh, he would have done that.
Exactly, that's what I'm saying.
Like, I think Datsuk has 130 points
he was playing that last year.
Also, maybe got to be a top three stick of all time.
That RBK, Datsu curve.
I had so many of those.
It was insane.
They broke so easily, but damn, were they special.
The blue and white ones were just fucking unreal.
$4 a $400 now, but even then they were like $100-something
bucks, and I was like, another one.
There's guys, like there's stories about this guy too.
Like, I remember playing with Valteri Filpola in Tampa.
Yeah.
And he said that every day after practice, all he would do is just play keep away with him.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And they would just play keep away for however long.
And like, you see how he would possess the puck or he would hold on or he
reverse hit guys.
It was like the puck was on a string.
The guy was ridiculous.
We would, were you about to say that Chelle after right?
Do it.
Well, I was going to say Chellios told us that they would do that after
practice when he was on the wings that you know with them and he it was like right before
their one of their playoff runs he he Shelley's kid came out and they were like you can play
too and he's like doing it with Datsuk and they try to make the kid tries to make a move and
Datsuk steps on Shelley's kid's stick and like rolls his ankle and his ankle was
fucked all of playoffs.
Oh no.
Because they were like oh dude you're like oh my god what have I done?
I just heard our best place.
What did he call it?
He had a really funny.
Yeah, yeah, fuck.
We'll have to text him.
Yeah, no.
But yeah, we'll...
Busted Dad's ankles.
Like, my bad.
Fucking unbelievable.
But huge stick taps to all those members joining.
And Shay Weber.
And Shay Weber.
I got to give him a little bit of credit because I play with him in Montreal.
Like, unbelievable captain, unbelievable guy.
And, man, was he hard to play against?
Yeah.
I played against him in junior, like, all the way back to Colonna.
And this guy has just always been hard to play against.
Tough.
Like, it's awesome to see.
Webby in the Hall of Fame.
I mean, it's kind of crazy, actually,
like how fast he got in,
but it's so well-deserved.
I mean, he was one of the scariest players.
Scary.
I mean, that fucking shot, dude.
So scary.
But you had a funny story about him with a little dance move or something?
Yeah, yeah.
So we were in Vancouver,
and we had a,
I think it was a rookie party
or some kind of team party or something like that.
And Chad Kroger,
Nickelback was there.
Friends with Shea Weber,
Carrie Price and the Dougie song came on.
Yeah.
So I like the Dougie.
I know how to doggie.
Yeah.
Teach me how to doggie.
Okay.
And the boys are chant my name, get up there.
So I go up there, I do the Dougie dance.
And Chad Kroger leans up next to Webby right away and goes, this guy fucks.
Yeah.
And so from then on, sorry, Webby, I know I'm going to say this, but every game, like we would
go out, Webby would be waiting in the hallway. And every time I'd come out, he'd go, this guy,
Fox. Every single game. So that's my visual of Webby. You had to be on the way out of the hallway.
Yeah, exactly. I think it's unbelievable. I mean, just an all-time captain, an all-time guy,
like, I mean, everyone that ever talked about or ever hung out with him, played with him.
And he's just, you know, it's awesome to see him in the Hall of Fame.
Pretty unbelievable that you have the title of a guy who fucks because of Trad Troyes from Nickelback.
Yeah. Because Tomlin was dogging.
Yep.
And the lead singer of Nickelback was like, Jesus.
Yeah. This guy. Look at that. That's fucking beautiful.
Dude, I can't wait to see it live next time we're out. Next time we're out.
We'll see. Yeah. Speaking of guys who fuck, we talked about this earlier.
But I want to spend more time on the Brock Bessor injury.
Yep.
And specifically the hit. Yeah. From Tanner Geno.
So Besser gets popped in a game.
I think it was on Thursday.
Is that right?
Thursday game against the Kings.
As you know, illegal check to the head,
gets suspended for three games.
Now it looks like Bessor's out indefinitely.
Thoughts on the hit, boys.
He's conced, right?
They haven't said anything, but he's obviously conced.
Yeah.
It's got to be.
He's a hand in the head.
Yeah.
Dude, it's a tough one for me because
I don't think Tanner's a dirty player.
I met Tanner.
Do you play with him?
I never played with him,
play against him.
Yeah.
But met him.
He's a nice guy.
Nice guy.
Really nice to us.
Fucking sturdy dude.
Oh, yeah.
Holy shit.
Big boy.
You watch the play and it's, as it's developing, it looks like it's about to be one of those plays
where Bester gets popped cleanly because it was just like a tough transition.
Like he tries to pass it back.
When he's turning, Tanner's already, like Tanner sees him.
He's like on.
He's already committed.
Yeah.
The one note I give Besser is he's just not looking at all.
Like he's really admiring that pass.
It's kind of like, dude, when you spin around and the neutral zone like that, pick your
fucking head up.
You know people are right there.
And you know who's on the ice, theoretically.
Yeah.
Not that I'm saying Tanner's headhunting.
You're just like, I don't want to get run by Tanner, you know.
But not only is it high, obviously it hits him in the head.
It's still too late for me, even if he'd hit him clean.
Like I see Tanner line him up and he thinks he's going to keep it or the my interpretation is he thinks Besser's going to wheel and try to keep this puck and
He's like oh, I'm going to put you in the ground. Yeah
And then Besser passes it back to start the regroup and Tanner just doesn't decommit to his
Initial mission which was put you in the ground and he's like well I'm going anyway and I'm like that it was enough time that I think he he needed to pull up there
Yeah, I think it was I think it was I think it was I think George Perils got it right I think it was three games I think it was at least two no more than three and
It was right at three games.
It's a tough play.
I think Tanner Genoa probably will want that back.
Yeah.
I think he knows that, I mean, when you're going at that speed and you're going to that angle,
he was already committed.
Yeah.
His line was committed for sure.
He was already committed, but his shoulder hits his head.
I mean, it's, that's a suspension.
And it's simple as that.
I don't think it's, I don't think it's that gray, to be honest.
It's pretty black and white, I think.
And actually, it's funny.
I was at a wedding about a week ago, and George Peros was there.
Oh, no, yeah.
So, but I do think he got it right.
I think that's, like I said, at least two games, but for sure, no more than three.
Oh, here it is.
Here it is.
See, I mean, like, it's not just high.
Yeah.
If it was high and bang, bang, yeah.
I'd be like, oh, dude, it's a fast game.
It's hard.
You know, you're aiming for his chest.
Well, and too, like, Tanners, mute that.
And Tanner, you know, is all, like, that's also, it's part of his game.
You know, he has to finish his six.
But that one, probably not.
I completely disagree.
What do you think more?
No.
I don't think this hits late at fucking all.
Not even slightly late, in my opinion.
It's late for me.
It's late because of the angle of it.
I agree it's a suspension because of the contact.
Yep.
And I don't even want to say the word, but it's a suspension because of the contact.
But if that is late in today's NHL and also,
like the angle,
wags,
go back for those listening.
We're watching this.
And I want you to pause this right now.
Besser can see him.
That,
like there are tons of people saying like he comes from a blind side.
He comes from the side.
I said that too.
The front of Besser's body is completely visible to Gino.
He watches his pass.
Jeannot is on that line and that puck has just left his stick.
And he's within,
he's within a hula hoop of him.
Dude, you know what is?
I don't think this hits late at all.
I just think what,
What Geno needs to do is get shoulder to shoulder there.
If he tags him shoulder to shoulder, we all go, that's a perfect open ice hit.
I agree with you in the fact that it's not, okay, it's not late, but it's late from the
angle that he's coming at.
You see, I get what you're saying.
You know what I mean?
I get what you're saying.
You can't come that late from this angle and expect to hit his shoulder or his part.
You're going to get his, probably going to get his head or his chin.
That's exactly what's happened.
Yes.
And like he tags him right on the chin.
Yeah.
It is such a bad hit.
as far as where it comes from.
But I just think, like, that hit needs to be okay
every single time if you hit him in the right spot.
And the problem with Ginoa is he keeps cutting across.
Yeah.
And he should have just gone right at his shoulder.
Yeah.
And the cut across is why it's bad.
But it is, like, one of those things.
I mean, man, it's a suspension.
It's an ugly hit because of the contact.
But Brock fucking Besser, pick up your head.
Dude.
That, like, dude.
I'm glad you actually said that because,
and there is an onus on the puck carrier too.
You're all in and unfortunately, yeah, I agree with that.
You're in the middle of the ice, dude.
Like, again, you know I love Brock.
He's an unbelievable player.
That was a, like if Brock Bessor's looking at that,
and again, that was barely.
If Ginoe catches him shoulder to shoulder there and Gino's popped,
or excuse me, Bester's popped, he's like, I got to pick my head up.
Like Bester would admit he is fucking stroking it to that pass.
So you think there should be no suspension?
No, I do think it's a suspension.
Oh, okay, okay, okay, okay.
But for me.
But how many do you think?
I think three's fine.
Oh, three's fine.
I think three's fine because that is ugly head contact.
Like that hits him right here.
And that is like, you watch boxing, this is the money spot.
Oh, yeah.
You hit someone in the chin that is like me doing this right now, I can feel my brain.
Like getting popped in the chin is the most dangerous fucking thing in the world.
So because of the contact, three games suspension, I'm totally cool with it.
I just want to emphasize, I think that is the only reason that should be a suspension.
I don't think it's late.
I don't think it's a bad angle.
I think it's a,
the angle is part of the reason
why he caught him wrong.
But there's nothing that for me,
you should be able to hit someone at this angle.
You just have to hit them right.
Yeah.
If he throws him a side to side,
if he throws his hip first and just like really, you know.
Yeah, and if Bessor's heads up,
you know,
if he doesn't look at his past.
Bessert's heads up.
He's going like this.
Like that's just an open ice collision.
This is unfair.
I'm about to say,
but I do think there's a difference
between how late a hit is
if you're finishing a check
when someone's against the boards.
Yeah, that was just, that's a grip.
Like, you're right, if someone hit someone that late,
because I just rimmed one, and then I go,
I go, that's a completely five-hand.
That's kind of what I was saying.
That's exactly what I was saying.
I do think there's a difference.
And I know you're like, there shouldn't be different rules,
but I'm like, there is.
Like, you can't, in the middle of the ice,
you can't, I still think that's too late for open ice in the middle.
Because I'm like, bro, the puck is gone.
And it was interesting, and I'll talk about a little bit,
but, like, he, George's, what a tough job.
Oh, dude.
Like the amount of hits he has to watch.
every night is crazy in
but like I think I do believe
yeah he got this right
yeah and it's just it's so funny
there are so many hits that come through
that go to Peros and then he has to make a determination
and some of them I'm like
you know right call like this one for example
I'm like yep right call and you just assume
the hockey world is going to collectively be like yes
every single time someone
some fan base is like this
you fucking bum loser Peros
like what how do you disagree with this
it's fucking unbelievable yeah
All right, last bit of news until we get into some of our fun games, had to talk about it.
We had the goalie reunion.
Sway and Olmark.
Bruins and Senators play.
Senators win in OT.
First time, Linus has been back in Boston since the trade.
We had a little bit of a goalie hug before the game.
It's interesting.
I wanted one at the end of the game, but there's no way that that could happen.
Like whatever team loses, like they're not going to be like, yeah, let me just do this big hug with you.
Hold on, boys.
I'm going to go down and hug sway real fast when he gets off the ice.
Senators get the win.
both Swamen and Olmark not having good season so far.
Both losing records.
Numbers aren't where they want to be.
How do you feel like, what do you think the emotions were for the both of them in this game?
Olmark said some cool stuff where he was like, you know.
And man, what a cool, I feel flattered as a Bees fan that he was so impacted by Boston,
the way he's talking where he's like, God, tons of emotions come back to that building,
the friendships I built on this team and I'm like you go there for three years you know and and like
look at the teams they had while he was there he won a vesna he won the what's the joint one jennings
so you know he had some incredible success um he he said all the right things how hard it was
how hard is to win in that building he was happy to get to win talk to his boys talk to carlo and sway
and all that shit great tribute to him and everything um so I'm sure it was a lot uh but like not so much
You know how in like in pro, in Premier League soccer,
sometimes a guy will be like a career, man, you guy gets transferred.
And when you come back and if you score against man you, they won't celebrate
because he's like, I'm not celebrating.
That's my old team.
Like, I don't think it was that.
Like I think Allmark's like, I loved my time here.
Also, I want to win so badly because you pick Swayman.
And I'm not, he probably doesn't even disagree with that choice based on the numbers
and everything.
But that's what happened, right?
Like, we picked Swayman.
So I'm sure he came in here being like, I'm winning this fucking game.
And he made an epic save on the two on one.
no T that turned immediately back into the two-on-one-one for Ottawa and the Brady Kachuk
goal. So, fuck me. Yeah.
Yeah, he was, I mean, man, I don't know what to say because the Bruins are.
That's perfect transition, Tom.
Yeah, I mean, it's tough right now.
Perfect transition. Let's, let's get into it.
Go ahead. I mean, I already know what you're going to talk about.
It's, and before you can get into that, Dan, in this game specifically, we're just talking
with Saul. Saul, I know you're listening. Shout out.
It says this.
Olmark makes a save on a two-on-one on a shot from Elias Lindholm 13-second into overtime.
That was the Bruins' first shot on goal since 1553 of the second period.
Zero shots in the third period of that game.
Unbelievable.
Like, you are NHL players, dude.
You shoot the fucking puck.
I don't know.
I don't be the shoot guy in the crowd, but I'm like, what are we talking about here?
There's just no universe where you cannot get a shot on goal in 20 minutes of gameplay.
No, you're not.
I'm speechless actually because when I saw that, I was like, what the fuck?
And I've been on teams where you've had bad periods and you've, you know, but they are,
I don't know how to pinpoint it because there's, I feel like there's so many things that are going wrong right now.
It's not just one thing.
There's just, it's like compounding.
And that's, that's scary if you're a Bruins fan right now.
And I know you guys are a little bit scared.
You should be nervous.
It should be a little bit nervous.
The only thing I would say is it's still.
not Thanksgiving yet
and
I'll talk a little bit about like experience
like when we were when I was in Anaheim
one year we were I think
30th or 31st at the end of
at the end of November and we ended up
winning the division that year yeah going to the conference finals
so I mean the blues were fucking last
exactly when they won the cup so sometimes
you have to take the silver line
and you know maybe that they
go through this now and they're better for
at the end of the season or whenever they get out of this,
which is hopefully soon.
Yep.
But I mean, you can't even put it on Monty for that at the end
because it's a fucking mindset.
Like you're in a tie game.
Like you bring it into third period.
Tie game at home.
At home and you're trying to, man, you're trying to get momentum.
And how do you do, how do you get momentum?
You fucking shoot the pocket.
Go to the net.
All those things.
It's crazy.
It's like squirt level shit, dude.
man, that's, it's bad.
It's a bad look.
It's bad.
So something I always say, I always say the 20 games, right?
I'm like 20 games into the season, now we know things.
We know things to a very strong level.
We're about 15, 16 in right now.
Interestingly enough, Boston's in third.
Like they are so bad for their standards,
but they're 7-7 and 2 sitting in third place.
They do have two games in hand on Tampa,
who are one point behind them and one game in hand on Buffalo,
who is one point behind them,
who just, right,
we're recording on a Monday, guys.
They had a matinee game against Montreal
was the drunkest game I've ever seen.
Montreal just won seven, five.
But that would have boosted Buffalo into fucking third place.
Dude, if the Bs could be seventh,
if the teams with the games in hands win,
they could be set.
Like the Atlantic's crowd of this fuck.
This Atlantic division is wild.
Absurd.
It was we knew it was going to be.
But Boston man is just,
to me,
this team in
the three, we're going to go a three year sample size here. This season being year three.
They are out of excuses. And that sounds so crazy to say because they won the president's trophy two
seasons ago. But then what happened? One of the worst chokes bagged in the first round. In the
playoff history. Ever, yeah. One of them. Last year, they're in first all season long. Last game of
the season. They lose first place to Florida. Yep, they beat Toronto, but then they lose to Florida again.
out of excuses.
And they go into this off-season.
Sweeney signs Lindholm.
Everyone knew they needed Lindholm.
Then gives Zadora a huge deal.
Everyone was happy about it.
But I think a lot of people were like this,
did we need that?
Like, do we need, you know,
what was Zadora of a top three defenseman on the market?
So he requested a big ticket and he got it.
And I think a lot of people were like,
whoa, feel like we, the Bruins need some second line scoring.
I don't know if I would have given all that.
that money to Zedorov, but you do it. Here you are, this team, 7-7 and 2. They, I would say
literally everyone on this roster is underperforming. Everybody. That's why they're mediocre
right now. Is anyone playing well? I don't think so. Through five games, I think,
I think Elias Lindholm was playing well. And I've watched, I haven't watched every single one of the
Bruins games, but I've watched a decent amount. And it's, I mean, we were, we were in Nashville together.
and we watched that game and it was like,
horrendous.
It was so bad.
They were terrible.
Yeah, it was like,
utterly terrible.
I mean, yeah,
it was tough to watch.
I think truly,
I think Hamas Lindholm is the only player
on this team playing well right now.
I would agree.
Like, Margie's actually picked it up.
He has picked it up the last three.
He's got 12 points in 16 games,
five and seven,
and I'm like, hell yeah.
And he's picked it up big time.
He's picked it up, yeah.
But that is it, dude.
They have two dudes over 10 points.
Yeah.
But even then, I think even if you ask Marcii,
he'd be like, yeah, I have way.
better right now. Yes, but Marshie has an excuse, right? He has the three surgeries.
Yeah. Like now we've got pasta talking about. He's like, oh, I got hurt over the summer.
You know, he was in check and something was going on and he's like, I haven't been able to prepare.
I don't know what's going on with like, I don't know if you guys saw he had that Facebook post,
but then he was like, that's not my Facebook. So I don't know what the fuck's going on. But
I'm with you. I don't think this is on Monty.
No. I think Monty is doing what he can with what he has.
and I don't know what the answers are
but I am saying
something is wrong with the team
I think when you have right now
this is on Monday
Bruins aren't playing today
but we got all the Bruins beat reporters
tweeting out their lines
and you've got fucking Morgan Geeky on the first line
and Justin Brazo on the second
that is not it
sorry
it's not it
and you know you sign Tyler Johnson
great.
Tyler Johnson hasn't done much
since he's been on the team.
And I just think...
He's a PTO.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And I just think the fact of the matter is
I hate beating a dead horse,
but drafting is incredibly important, right?
It's incredibly important.
And we can go back to
the 2015 NHL draft.
Wags, do me a favor.
And on this computer,
pull up the 2015 NHL draft.
NHL draft and scrolled down to the first round.
2015 NHL draft, Don Sweeney is in charge.
Yep.
And for those who don't remember, the Boston Bruins had three picks in a row at pick
13, 14, and 15.
They selected Jacob Zaborl, Jake DeBrusk, and Zach Sennyson.
This draft is not even 10 years ago.
It's nine years ago.
Yeah.
not a single one of those guys
plays for the Boston Bruins right now.
And worse yet.
Yeah, I was going to say more importantly.
The Boston Bruins
have essentially nothing from those three.
Jake DeBruz.
It's like you traded Jake for something
that you can now point to that's like,
well, it got us this guy.
Jake DeBruzke just left as a UFA.
What the fuck are you doing?
How the fuck do you not trade him last year?
If you go, we're not going to sign him.
How the fuck do you not trade him at the deadline?
insane.
It's wild.
Zaborl and Sennyson.
What does Sennyson have?
Nine NHL games.
Zaborl under 50.
Yeah.
And then stay right where you are, Wags.
Guys picked after this.
Bruins fans are very familiar with this,
but listeners who are unfamiliar with this.
Guys selected after 13, 14, 15 in the NHL draft.
Matt Barzell, franchise player of the New York Islanders.
Kyle Connor, franchise player of the Winnipeg Jets.
Thomas Chabot.
I would argue franchise
defensemen of the Ottawa Senators, but either way, very good defensemen on the Ottawa
Senators. Joel Erickson Eck, star player for the Minnesota Wild, Brock Besser, star player
for the Vancouver Connects, Travis Kinech, franchise player for the Philadelphia Flyers.
Keep going down. You get to the second round. Second round. Sebastian Ajo, franchise player for
the Carolina Hurricanes. It is truly remarkable the amount of very very very very.
very good NHL players, if not star NHL players,
selected after those three.
Yeah.
Now, you had three shots.
It's not like you had one, you know, drafting's hard.
It's hard.
You're saying that it's catching up to them.
Now, to play both sides,
2019, Bruins go to the Stanley Cup.
I would argue the worst Stanley Cup loss of all time to lose to that Blues team is fucking
insane.
But either way they go to the cup, they have been, you know, won president's trophies in this.
So it's not like this draft crippled them.
But I am saying when you look at this team,
you look at how much they're struggling right now,
you go, oh, Jesus Christ,
they don't have a second line to save their lives.
You know what helps draft picks?
Draft picks that pan out.
You had three mid-first round picks in this draft.
Nothing is on the team currently.
And then you look even further now to Trent Frederick,
underperforming.
Johnny Beecher, actually playing really well.
But what does Johnny Beecher play?
Third line, fourth line.
you just drafted Dean Laterno
playing in BC right now
or at BC
Fabian Lysel
these are all first round picks
that are not fucking doing shit
for your team
as what you would expect
or hope a first rounder to do
when Trent Frederick who is a great player
in my opinion was drafted
Sweeney and Neely said
he's going to be a great third line player for us
what the fuck are you using a first round pick
on that for if that's what you think
going to do that's how you're going to coach up Trent Frederick to be a third round player third
third line player what is happening right now so I don't know I just think we've got a lot of people
a lot of lot of people on Twitter talking about Monty calling for his head calling for his job
going Monty's doing this Monti's doing that he's juggling the lines he's fucking everything up blah
blah blah blah blah blah what the fuck do you expect him to do when you've got that second line
all summer what were people saying it's Fabian Lysel's time
It's Georgie Mercilov, who's a undrafted free agent signing.
It's all, it's these guys' time, these guys' time.
They're sitting in Providence and played a single fucking game this season.
You've got, you've got Brazo playing on the second line.
You've got Geeky playing on the first line,
and those guys are just sitting in Providence not getting called up.
Who makes those decisions?
Sweeney and Neely.
And I just think this team is like,
Sweeney and Neely, I am just staring at being like,
what are you fucking doing?
and what have you done?
And those are the questions that I need answered
before people start talking about Monty.
That's what's driving me nuts.
Yeah, I agree.
So many people shitting on Monty.
I'm like, buddy, look at the management
and look at what's going on here.
And what do you do?
If you fire Monty, who do you hire?
Right.
Who do you bring in?
Like people want his head and I get fans.
They're like, oh, it's always a fucking coach, whatever.
But like, yeah, you fire Monty, then what?
Then who do you bring in?
Yeah.
People keep saying Quinn.
People are hoping.
Sullivan gets fired so they can hire Sullivan's fucking Macboy's father-in-law.
It's like, yeah, but it's not the issue.
And I guarantee if you ask the majority of those players in the room, is they like,
oh, is Monty the problem?
They probably all say, fuck, no, that's not it.
Because what happens when you fire a coach, the players go after they go, that's on us.
That's on us.
That's on us.
You got fired.
Yeah.
So fans, calm down on that one.
Calm down.
Calm down on that one.
But yeah, it's, it always starts higher up, right?
It always starts.
And these things.
And you.
Dan, I like what you said, actually,
and you brought this draft up because it is.
I mean, these things with teams,
and I think it might be,
maybe hopefully not this year for Bruins fans and for your guys' sake,
but the drafting is catching up to them.
Absolutely.
And it always does eventually.
Absolutely.
And you look at even like,
that reminds me of the flyers.
For how many,
however many years, right?
They kept doing that.
They kept kind of trying to supplement with free agents and making big trades.
and now look at them.
Now look where they're at.
Yeah.
You know, so it's, it will, it will catch up to you.
Exactly.
And that might be the case.
That was a great, that's a good, that's tough to look at.
It's so tough to look at.
And to me, it's like, I mean, man, the way that they put a Band-Aid on it for so many years is, is impressive.
Frankly, frankly, it's stunning.
And honestly, I mean, at the same time, they got, you know, they have a core there, but how do you, how do you, how do you, how do you,
you keep the core and supplement the core with this drafting.
And the thing that I always just go back to is, I mean, fucking A man, three picks in a row.
You miss on all three of them.
No disrespect to those guys, but they're misses.
And when you think about, can you imagine this Bruins team if you had Kyle Connor,
if you had Brock Besser, if you had Matt Barzell, if you had Sebastian Ajo, if you had Thomas Chabot,
like, it's just, if you had Travis Kine.
Even if you had Joel Erickson Eck?
Yeah.
That guy's a stud.
Any of them. Imagine Travis Kinectney on this
Broston team. I mean, he, yeah.
I mean, unbelievable.
It's crazy to think about.
So, yeah, I think the rant, the rant ends there,
and it's built around, like,
if we want to start pointing fingers,
I think Monty is the wrong person to be pointing fingers at.
Yeah, and it's on, it's on the players.
Yeah.
It's got to be.
Pausing the action to talk to you guys about Bauer hockey
and their newest innovation coming out of the lab,
specially crafted to create the greatest goal scores, the greatest generation of goal scores to ever live.
I don't care if you're playing peewee, if you're playing pro, if you're playing beer league.
The Bauer Twitch has changed the game forever.
It's the lightest stick you'll ever feel.
I'm using one.
Dan and I have them.
I swear to God, I can barely stick handle because it feels like I'm holding air in my hands.
It's incredible.
And the kick point, it's got the fastest.
So everybody, you know how we get to the pro shop and everyone's flexing the stick?
You lean on the stick.
We've all done it.
Everybody does it.
It's not just that that's creating the speed in your shot.
It's the flex and then the recoil.
It's the recoil that snaps back.
And the Twitch has the fastest flex and recoil in the history of hockey sticks.
And that's a fact.
That is a certified fact.
I switched from the P92 curve to the P28.
And I didn't realize I could rip it off the toe like that.
With this baby, it's bar down, left and right.
Incredible.
So what you need to do is go to Bauerhockey.
Check out all their cool training stuff.
But most importantly, get your eyes.
on that Twitch. It's a glory to see. It's a glory to behold. So you need to go check it out right now
because the Twitch is changing hockey forever and you've got to change with it. Oh, hey there, guys.
Don't mind me. I'm having a delicious snack right now. And I could never be happier to personally
endorse something than I am with our new partner chops. Here's the thing. You guys know me at this
point. I'm a workout guy. I'm a fitness guy. I'm a nutrition guy. And every single day,
I think to myself, why can't I have a delicious snack that has a great quality source of protein
that tastes delicious, isn't packed with sugars, isn't packed with a ton of calories? Well, wouldn't
you know it? Chomps did exactly that for me. This beauty right here, this amazing on the go,
delicious snack, 100 calories, 10 to 12 grams of protein, zero sugar, all natural grass-fed
beef and I'm telling you, these things are delicious. No exaggeration, I probably eat four a day.
I'm currently munching right now on the taco seasoning flavor. They got jalapeno. They got this
just delicious original beef stick. These sticks are so easy to grab. They're so good.
Toss them in your backpack. Toss them wherever you need. They're on the go. And like I said,
10 to 12 grams of protein. Whenever I'm trying to hit my protein numbers and I don't want to eat
something super fatty, filled with calories, filled with sugars, chomps has my back. I cannot begin
to just describe how happy Choms makes me on a daily basis, because I know I have this
unbelievably convenient and delicious beef stick right here, making me happy, filling me with protein
every single day. There's nothing better. So make sure you check out the link in description
www.champs.com slash empty netters. You can check out all the flavors, all these amazing things.
Fill up your pantry, fill up your desk drawer when you're at work. You need a quick snack on the go
because there's nothing better than choms. I'm telling you guys, this stuff is so delicious.
It's so good. It's high quality. And you just need those proteins. Choms is going to get you
there every single day. Don't mind me? I'm going to keep chomping away.
Let's get into a beer league hotline. Wags?
Our goalie is a guy in his 60s who is just brutal.
He can't even go into the butterfly and we're playing against former college guys,
active junior guys, etc.
Last week we won 7 to 5 but we dominated and the other team only had nine shots.
It's so damn frustrating knowing that that's what it takes to win.
We have a chance to get a new goalie and he's the former ebug for the Blues got into a game actually
so it would be a huge upgrade.
We don't want to gas the old man from the team but he doesn't hang out with the
boys or drink after. The problem is this is likely his last men's league team ever, and he just
bought a custom mask with their logo and colors. Do we wait until he retires, even though that could be
years because he loves the game? I wonder who the e-ball is. I was just thinking. He got in the game.
Who is the guy that? We can find out. That's exactly what I was thinking. Holy yell. Okay.
Unfortunately, you put your arm around this guy. No, dude. You take him out behind the shed and
you put a fucking bullet in it.
Like, it's just, you old yelling at him?
100%.
Like this guy, you got to gas him.
Yeah, he's gone.
I agree.
No doubt.
But I don't think I take him back behind the shed, though.
I think I put my arm around him.
Yeah.
And I say, listen, we have a guy coming in.
Yeah.
He's going to be the number one.
Yeah.
Either if you want to be a part of the team still,
and you want to rock your mask,
colors.
Yeah.
You're backup and you're not playing that many more games.
So when he's, when he's out, when our guy's out, we'll call you.
That's what you're telling him.
Yes.
And when the ebug, the new stud that's coming in, if he can't play, you're our guy.
But yeah, we got to bring the guy in.
You're not in net anymore.
It's not your net anymore.
It's not your net.
It's not your net anymore.
No.
Do you lie and say the ebug is like an old buddy of yours?
No.
No.
Just say he's a.
Absolutely not.
He has played in an NHL game.
You can't let that go.
That is a, in beer league, this is a miracle.
And honestly,
this old guy better understand that and be like,
yeah, yeah, bring him, bring him, bring him.
And it is so impossibly tough
that he's not one of the boys.
Oh, dude, he won't even hang.
I didn't forget about that.
I did forget about that.
You're 60, you're playing stand-up goaltending,
and you're telling me you're not gas and beers
with the fellas after the game.
What are you, why do you like showing up?
Dude, him just zipping out of there, probably no shower,
is mind-blowing.
Insane.
So, first of all, the fact that he's,
in his 60s playing goalie is this is a one in a billion. I mean, it's awesome. I'm glad he's playing
goal and he's, but like, man, I mean, you're gone. Look, look who they said is playing. They're playing
his former college guys. Like they're just lighting him up like a pinball machine. It's their net.
Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. It's not his net. No. This day was always coming. You are my, my man. You should have
retired. You should have been out of the game years ago, but you can't go home because you hate your wife.
Yeah. Like, we're sending you home, dude. Dude, the thing that kills me is the sentence that is
This is probably his last men's the team ever.
That's why I was like, my initial reaction was like,
we can't gas him, dude, because he'll never play again.
We were just talking about we're recording.
Make him the backup.
You're still on a team.
And we could make them, maybe you have boys playing in a lower league.
They could be like, you need a goalie, dude?
Like, he's not that bad.
Here's the thing.
You said something, though, just to finish this, that is correct.
If you don't take the e-bug, he will get swooped by someone in your league.
And then you are going against an e-bug once a month.
Yeah.
And they're obviously not having problem scoring goals.
No.
Yeah.
So like you're,
you're staring down the barrel of a dynasty.
You're staring down the barrel of a championship, I think.
I think that's what this guy's saying.
We want a championship.
Yeah.
You put this goalie in.
You're scoring seven a game.
I mean, you guys are,
you're getting a ship immediately.
Yeah.
You can't,
you can't.
And here's the thing.
If you tell the,
you go,
this is what's up,
man.
You've been,
you've been outplayed.
You've been replaced.
But you're still on the team.
He can sit on the fucking bench for all I.
care. You can be the only team in beer league that actually has a backup goal tender sitting on the bench.
Yeah. Sit on the bench if you want. With your mask on. Yep, with that beautiful new mask on.
People are going to see it. People are going to see it. They're going to love it. Then you still get a ship. His name's on that trophy. Yeah. Here's question. I mean, five goals on nine shots. It's not good.
Not good. That's not good. Could you pay for the mask? If you're the mask. Sure. Could we buy out his mask? That is how you buy out his contract. Could we say, you do it or two arm around him. You say, hey, listen, we got any. We got any.
bug coming in, we'll cover the mask.
Or how about this?
We'll buy your next, however many beers.
Just come hang out with us.
But he doesn't even drink the beers.
We'll buy coke's.
We'll buy a guy.
We'll buy coke's.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Whatever.
We'll buy a bunch of soda pops, dude.
Like you guys do for me.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
You guys buy me Coke.
This guy's in his 60s.
He probably drinks Moxie.
We'll buy him a six or a moxie.
Every game.
You can sit on the bench, flash the mask.
We'll pay for the mask.
We got some Werther's.
I brought some Werther's lozenges.
Where there's original.
Carmel hard candies.
You shake them in front of them.
You want to come up?
You want to come up, buddy?
And you just walk, you drag them up the stairs like that with the, with the scent of the
Wurthers.
Yeah, Christmas time's coming up.
This is a great plan.
Ultimately, you cannot let this blues tendi go.
So you got a new Goldie.
Take the Eapunt, boys.
And you send this guy off into the sunset with a ship.
That's it.
I'm sorry, man, but the guys want to win.
How simple is that?
And Father Time comes for us all.
That's it.
That's that.
All right.
Let's get into our starting six this week.
Here is our empty netters list of the six best players of this past week.
Starting at left wing, it could only be this one man.
Carill Caprizov.
He has seven points in his last three games.
He's at the beginning of the year, it wasn't really scoring.
But now he's racking up goals.
And I'm here to tell you,
we are looking right now at soon to be in less than nine months the richest man in the
NHL.
Okay.
I actually really wanted to ask you guys this.
Tom, he has, except for his rookie year, he scored 40 every, every, uh, he's never even played
82.
Like he's scoring 40 in like 66 games.
It's ridiculous.
He's on the fourth year of his five-year contracts at nine AAV.
They're nasty all of a sudden.
They're getting all those boys off the books.
Yep.
suit him preasy out the books next year
but he'll still be on his deal
but they could extend him
he's gonna score 50 this fucking year
he's gonna have 100 points again
he's 20
he'll be 28 next year
during that deal
what is he signing for
in Minnesota
I'll tell you
you go first well I know
so I want you guys to guess
and I'll tell you if you're closer
price is right rules
he's 28
because I'll get you
I'll give you a tip.
He gets eight years.
He's getting eight.
For sure he's going to get eight.
And I would say, 13.5.
Really?
Dude, I just don't know.
I just don't know how you, if you're Billy G.
Or if you're hit, like, you're going to, I mean, I understand the market.
But like, you're going to make more than Leon Drysidal, 14.2, right?
What did Leon get?
14.2, right?
Or is he right at 4.
Isn't it?
I think it's 1425.
1425.
He's the most.
Matthews is 13 something.
Right?
It was 1425?
I'm pretty sure.
But you think, what, 15?
Well, hold on.
Do you think he gets extended this summer?
Yeah, I think literally the second, the day that it becomes available for him to sign an extension.
He is signing an eight year.
And I will.
Okay.
Yeah.
So I think it's this summer too.
And I think it's, I'm with you.
It's not far enough removed.
We haven't seen the cap go up enough for them to make him.
Yeah.
richest player in the league. I know that the thing was changed. And when's McDavid?
Is that this summer two? He will be up for extension. So maybe,
maybe that actually resets the bar. Like if McDavid signs for 15 and a half, then maybe he gets
14. Then maybe the crow goes, give me 14 and a half. Give me 14 or whatever. Because I'm like,
come on. So actually, I, with that in mind, that's interesting. But if he goes first for whatever
reason, there's just, I don't think there's any way that they pay him dry sidal money, even though
he might deserve it.
14 flat for dry saddle.
14 flat.
That's why I said 13.5.
Even though he might deserve it.
Like he is so fucking disgusting.
You guys are right.
I don't think people.
He is so sick.
I went to the game on Friday.
They played the ducks and it was like his goal.
You guys saw his goal in the power play like short side.
Like the guy is yeah, he's sick.
Guys.
Nasty.
He is not signing a whisper below 15.
No, dude.
And I'll tell you why.
No way.
They're going to be in the same problems they were before.
Exactly.
He just got out of cap.
Hell, he's not going back.
I have on good authority that we're seeing the cap jumping up big time, which is going
to be helpful.
Like millions north of 100.
That is where that is happening.
So that helps.
In years.
How many years that?
That's going to be like.
No, it's going to be soon.
I'm telling you.
Heard it before.
Heard it before.
We'll see.
Here's the deal.
Krill, I think he is that good, first of all.
The reason I think he's going to sign 15, I think it's going to be 8 by 15.
And the reason I think this is because he has showed before he is a cell sword.
Like, I think he likes playing in Minnesota, but I think he also is just like this, well, I'll get whatever I want.
Yeah.
And the unfortunate reality is Bill fucking Garron has done such a good job with this team.
Great job.
When you think about the handcuff with Parisi and Souter,
the fact that they're this good and the fact that he's got guys,
like he gets Faber signed to that contract,
and he's got guys like Ericksonac and Rossi playing so well, boldy.
They've done a great job drafting.
We are looking at right now with their record and their team.
The Minnesota Wild could be cup chasing here.
For sure they could be.
And it all falls apart.
like a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie
in a glass of cold milk
if you lose Karel Kaprizov.
And I think he knows that.
I think his agent knows that
and I think they're going to go,
if you want me here,
pay me every fucking thing I want.
And I think he's going to want 15.
I just,
dude, he is, he is this good.
He's going to have 100 points again.
Is he better than dry sidel?
Maybe not.
But I think you could argue.
Different players, different players.
You could argue he's more important to the wild than dry saddle is to Edmonton because of all the things I just said.
And if you don't think that when he signed his bridge, they weren't like this.
Well, this is just brilliant timing that he's going to be up for extension talks.
The second those two guys are off the books.
You're nuts.
It's actually a great timing if the wild are good because if they sucked again this year, I could see him being like, I'm leaving.
But that's probably my, my, my, Billy G, smart guy is on a great job.
but thought, okay, this is when
Sue and Priese are coming off the books,
you'll be up then.
Yep.
That's when they signed that deal.
Yeah, yeah.
And depending on what happens,
we'll pay you a fair contract for eight years.
Yeah.
That makes us good for a long time.
And allows us to build a roster around you.
But, boys.
And this is why I say this is because Bill Garon
also came from an organization
with a player that has done that,
his whole career 8.7, 8.7, 8.7. 8.7. I know. So I think that he talks to Carrille and says,
listen, we know you can get fucking 15 on the market. But I'm going to pay you 13.5. And we are going to
add more players around you that you're going to be even better than you already are. And hopefully
we win some cups in the meantime. Yeah. I think you're absolutely right. Bill's like you have to take 9.7.
No, that's your number. Yeah. That would be a slap in the face. I think you're
Absolutely right.
That is what Bill's going to do.
And I think just like last time,
Krill's going to go like this.
Okay.
Peace.
You think he's going to say peace out.
I think last time he went like this,
I'm going to the KHL until Bill eventually caved and was like, here,
like take exactly what you want.
They wanted him at eight last time.
And he went, no, sir, I will take a bridge deal.
And he got his bridge deal.
And I just think there's a world where Keryl goes,
okay, great, like, good offer.
And then he just plays all next season.
He's like, I'm not signing shit.
And if you don't accept that.
let that fucking guy touch free agency
UFC at the end of next season. I think
he is gone. Truly, I
think he's gone. Because the fact of the matter
is he's a fucking Russian
guy. He's an absolute beast in this
league. And I think if he goes 100 points
this year, they offer him a
quote unquote team friendly deal.
And he goes, no, plays the whole season
and scores 100 points again. The fear
is a
Vegas, a Nashville,
a Florida, a Tampa goes,
would you like 12 mil from
us.
Tax-free.
Tax-free.
And he goes,
yes, I would, sir.
And he is long gone.
Yep.
It's just literally Minnesota, Minnesota losing him is a catastrophe.
And I just think he knows it.
Bill knows it.
His agent knows it.
And there might be no other answer than to just give him 15.
So you think, I think if he gets, I'll say this, 14 to 145, if the cap is going up,
in the next two years, that's fair.
Yeah.
That's fair, but I don't think, I don't think you can give them 15.
I agree it's, it's brutal.
It would be so painful, but I, I mean, do I think he can get it?
Probably.
That's all I'm saying.
I guess.
I think there's a world where they might be like, motherfucker.
We are fucked.
We have no choice but to give it to him.
So we'll see.
Either way, Krill are starting left wing this week.
Fucking unbelievable.
Starting center this week.
Best center in the league right now.
Nathan McKinnon.
Nate Dogg is awake.
He has 13 points in his last five.
Leads the league in points at 29.
Leads the league in assists at 22.
We pointed out last year that he made some big assist jumps, right?
So it's like he was never out of the 50s.
He had a career high 58.
Two years ago, 69.
Last year, 89.
That's what's jumping him up to like the 140 point guy that we saw last year.
I have two questions for you guys.
One, what is his floor now?
And like he had never had 100 points for a while,
but it was like short,
it hadn't played 82s, but whatever.
But after last year,
I'm kind of like,
you have to live close to this,
I think.
I think it's 100.
I think 100 with health.
Yeah.
For me,
I think 100 is always,
I don't care if you're Cooch,
I don't care if you're McDavid.
If you're scoring 100 points,
I'm like,
that's a phenomenal season.
Yeah.
And then my other question is,
Nate is 29,
which feels crazy because in the line,
I'm like,
Nate's just this young guy in the league.
He's 20, not 29's old, but he's 29.
No, he's a vet.
One cup, one MVP now.
Amazing.
God has called her, obviously, seven-time All-Star.
Are the abs wasting his prime in a tiny way here?
Like, I'm a little worried because they're kind of like middling at 500 right now.
Like, and Cups can come late, right?
Like, Sid had his one.
And then it's like, bang, bang, there's two and everyone's happy.
But like, I'm kind of looking at Nate's career.
The player I think Nate is, which is literally in the conversation for a best player in the league right now.
and I'm not ignoring McDavid.
I'm saying including McDavid.
I'm almost like, I need Nate to have more on his resume, I think.
I don't think it's waste, no.
Because you look at all the other top five players in the world or in the league that took a long time.
Like look at Ovi.
It took him like 13 years to get his first cup, right?
So I don't think so.
And like I was listening to you guys talked on the last part about second best player, like about Leon and him.
but like, man, I think it's pretty close between those two
as the second best player in the world.
So, I don't know, Nate is, he is like,
he's different in the way because obviously him and Leon are different players,
but I don't think it's, no, I think that they are still in a window to win.
They're going to be, they're going to be, are they going to win more cups?
We don't know, but, I mean, I don't think it's, I don't think it's a waste.
I don't think it's a complete waste for everything.
I mean, because they did win a cup.
Yes.
Right?
Like if he doesn't have a cup, then we're having a different conversation.
Yeah.
All things considered, what you just said about him and Leon, if we're doing, we restart the league, we're doing a fantasy draft.
Someone has the first pick.
They take McDavid, you have the second pick.
And I'm going like this, Nate or Leon.
I think you take Nate.
I take Nate.
Me too.
And again, that's not to say one is a better player than the other, but it is like a, like I said, all things considered, all encompassing.
I think you take Nate.
Yeah.
The question is, do you take KL2?
Yeah, right, right.
And the answer might be, yes.
Wow, so.
It's just interesting.
After you take Karel 1.
So, I'm with Nate.
I think you're, like, are they wasting his prime?
I think that's a crazy thing to say.
Just because, like, they want a cup, dude.
Yep, yep, yep, they got it.
But what we've talked about a million times, dude, the abs have been fucked.
They've been jobbed with the Nishushkin shit and then the Landi injury.
Yeah, man, they've had, it's been tough luck for him, really bad luck, to be honest.
Brutal luck.
They've been up against it.
And you know what?
And there's another thing.
I don't think people talk about enough.
They won with Kemper and then immediately let him go.
And I think that they kind of arrogantly were like, we can sort of streamline goalie here.
And then they went and got Georgi have the backup in New York.
And they're like, he's a starter.
And I think Georgi has a good goaltender, but I don't think he's a certified one.
Kind of clearly.
Yeah.
So I think that has also.
gotten them to a little bit of trouble.
Yeah.
So I think there's been a very, very shit amount of bad luck and then a bit of a misstep
in net because they should, I mean, healthy, that team should be in the cup.
For sure.
Right?
Last three years.
I mean, yeah.
I mean, you're saying right.
I mean, you probably agree.
Like after they won, I think we were thinking like, repeat.
Oh, this is going to happen every year almost.
100%.
I was like repeat all day because they handled Tampa in that cup.
Yeah, it was they, I feel like they handled pretty much everybody throughout the whole
playoff run.
Yeah.
And then they lose to Seattle the next year.
Yeah, it was weird.
Yeah.
It was weird.
It was weird.
But I think CP's right.
I think the, and both of you, I mean, the injuries they've had and, you know, you're losing
Lanniscag and then Nukushkin, like, those are huge players.
But we're talking about Nate, and I think that, man, like he's, I mean, he keeps that team afloat.
Talk about MVP.
Like, if they don't have him, think about the abs.
It's insane, dude.
Right?
Like, it's crazy.
So, I mean, go Nate.
Go Nate.
Go Nate, dog.
And it's, I mean, he's, do, does he get more than, does he get more points than he had last year?
Can he?
I don't know.
I think he can.
That's what's fucking crazy.
I know he had an all-time season.
Fuck.
I mean, we got to move on.
We're spending too much time here.
Okay, right-wing, starting right-wing, Sam Ryan, Cooch could obviously be it.
They're unbelievable.
But shedding a little bit of love.
on Willie Nealander.
I tweeted the other day.
I don't think enough people are talking about how good he's been right now.
He's got 11 goals, 7 assists, 18 points, and 16 games with Matthews out specifically.
He's stepped up.
Martiner's playing great too.
But like Willie is, you know, I just think he has shown every year the past few years.
Like he's just getting better and better.
80 points, 87 points, 98 points.
Like he's just, he is a star player.
And I think unlike maybe a couple of those other guys in the playoffs,
specifically, he does not shy away from the big games.
And I think Willie deserves his flowers.
I think he's 100%.
I mean, this guy, he, I have a hot take.
I think he's the most talented player on that team.
Wow.
That is a fiery team.
I know that's a ballsy statement.
But he's one of those guys.
I think they've been waiting for this because he is taking so much time.
And now you're seeing it.
And I mean, I watched that Amazon thing a little bit and saw him.
and like this guy works his nuts off.
Oh, he really does.
He works his nuts off.
And like you add to his talent and what he can do.
Like his, man, like, he's elite.
He's elite.
He's elite.
I, it's a fiery take.
I don't know if I can jump on the train.
It's a hot take.
I know, but like,
his overall skill set, like the way he skates,
the way he handles a puck,
the way he passes,
the way he shoots,
everything is.
It's only hot because of how good Matthews is.
Like, this guy's scoring 70 goals in the NHHL.
But I actually,
all around.
Look at it, though.
Look at all around talent on that team.
I'm not going to, I'm not going to sewer you for it because I'm like, I get why you're saying.
Which is pretty cool.
Dan was just saying, kid turns 24, 42 points in 51 games, 80 and 81, 87 and 82, 98 and 82 last year.
Is he still climbing?
Yes.
Like, is there a chance he's 28 this year?
Is he literally not even at his peak yet?
I think he's still getting better every year.
I think so too.
That's what's fucking insane.
I legitimately think this kid isn't even at his top potential yet.
I agree.
I think primes in the NHL go to 33 years old now.
Truly, I do.
Yeah, yeah.
Like, I just think we've seen, I mean, like, I don't.
I'm glad you said that.
That's, I agree.
I agree with that.
I think there's such an, there's such an element of experience, size, knowledge in the league that helps these guys later.
I mean, such a home or take, but like, look at, look at guys like Bergeron and Marci.
Like, their best years were 30 to 33.
For sure.
Three.
No doubt.
Yeah.
It's crazy.
Yeah.
All right.
Left D.
Going back to Quinn Hughes.
seven points in his last four years.
The third most points among defensemen at 15.
He's on pace for another 18 goals.
I think he had 17 last year.
He's a plus six.
But I wanted to give you the floor on this one
because it's not just the production.
It's the way the kid fucking plays.
Talk about that play in Anaheim, dude.
No, it was in L.A.
It was in L.A.
Yeah, that's right.
That's right.
So I was at the game,
and man, it was the fucking Quinn Hughes show.
Yeah.
Like, you guys watched that game.
Dude, he did everything.
And I remember we talked about Quinn Hughes
earlier in the year.
And, like, I was not.
I always thought he was good.
But after I watched that game, I didn't know how good.
Like he was, and I know he won the Norris last year.
It sounds crazy me saying that.
But man, like he, that goal he had where he walks,
and I know I'm sorry, Killer, I'm talking about Akeel Thomas,
but he looked like he had two left feet.
And the way he, like, he had the puck and the blue line,
he's got his feeder behind the blue line.
Yep.
And his pocket, his head is up the whole entire time.
He doesn't look down once, and he goes left, right, left, right,
and then accelerates left, and shot on that head up the whole entire time.
But not only that, he was blocking shots, he was, he did every,
it was literally the Quinn Hughes show.
That's the part that I wanted to shine a light on is he falls into that camp
of so many people were like, yeah, how good can he be as a defenseman of his size?
The way he plays, the way he skates, the strength and vision and IQ,
he has completely makes up for his size.
Yeah.
And then he was another one I watched on the Amazon.
show too like yeah you kind of want to follow him after that and he's a young captain but you're kind of
seeing like so awesome he's the guy yeah as you know what's interesting man is uh he is right now
the best hughes brother and people aren't ready for that conversation jack hughes is a face of
the nchl and also jack says stepped it up he's got 18 and 18 right now he's up to seven goals he's playing
fantastic he's a good leader but like there's a reason Quinn is the captain of that team
or reason Quinn won the Norris.
I agree with you.
And I just think,
fucking A, dude.
Like, he is,
I felt like it was last year.
People always talk about
the best defensemen in the league
and everyone, you know,
obviously Kale comes up immediately.
People still talking about Hedman.
You and I beat that drum heavily.
But I think so,
people are like,
Adam Fox,
well,
I'm like, this fucking kid is so much better.
Like, it's Kale and Quinn.
It's like.
All it is, it's because,
I mean, how tall is Quinn?
Five, I think he's five, ten on a good day.
So that's, that is exactly why.
Everyone doesn't want to pick him because he's 5-9, right?
How can a 5-9 defenseman be the best defenseman in the league?
I don't want to be suering him.
Quinn's 5-10.
5-10.
Sorry, 5-10, Quinn.
But, I mean, yeah, I'm a believer now.
I saw it live.
I saw how he played.
Talk, obviously, knows and sees it too.
He made him the captain.
They made him the captain.
So this kid is the real deal.
He's going to be the real deal a long time.
And the U.S. too, the U.S. team, to have him, too.
due to have him Charlie McAvoy
Oh my God
Yeah it's crazy
But it's awesome
Speaking of another US defenseman
Giving it up to one of the old boys
Coming in at right D
Like you said it could be kale again
It could be kale every week
But we're going with John Carlson
Two goals, 9 assists
11 points in 14 games
He's a plus 12
Which is third best in the NHL
Huge reason why the Cappies
Are fucking buzzing dude unbelievable
Love to see it
Where do you guys have
Carlson all time because I was looking at this and it's like he's got he's played over a thousand
games has 685 career points he had a 75 75 and 69 season once that was his career high
which is sick year he's two-time all-star never won a north but was runner up once one a
one a cup he's obviously not like tier one guy I think I think you'll be a hall of
famer oh I think so yeah that was my question I think so because yeah when I think of John
Carlson I think like Mr. Consistent
He does it every single year
Whenever he's healthy he produces
Yeah
And he's always the guy
He does everything
I mean like when he's on their lineup
Like it's a different
There's a different back end
I hate this term more than fucking
Anything in the world
When people bring this up
But I do fear he might be
In the Hall of Very Good right now
I'm not
I'm not sure he's quite there
Yeah
Like I said I think he'll be there
Yeah
Maybe right now I think he will be there
Because he's about to have
He's about to have 700 points
It's over a thousand games, like you said, like, fuck me.
It's a defenseman.
Like that's a couple more years, too.
Yeah.
Interesting.
All right.
And then goalie, you said it already.
You got to go back to hell of buck, dude.
I mean, one, one, eight three goals against leads the league.
935, say a percentage leads the league.
Shutouts three leads the league.
They can't lose.
Dude, I don't know what else to say.
You got to do it in the playoffs.
Yeah, I feel like I've got to do it in the playoffs.
He's got to do it in the playoffs.
He's got to do it.
But yeah.
Come on, dude.
I mean, I mean, and another U.S., that's our starting goalie right there.
there.
Good luck everybody at Four Nations trying to score on him.
Unbelievable.
Okay, quick trending.
Then we'll get into a fun game.
Trending up.
Number one, Marty Natchez.
My God.
13 games, 8 goals, 15 assists, 23 points plus 9.
He has nine more points than the next guy on the team.
He had 17 and 7.
This summer, people have remembered.
He signed a two-year 6.5 AAV deal.
If he keeps playing like this,
Oh boy
Probably gonna happen this summer, right?
Money, money, money.
You'd imagine that that extension
They're gonna pick up the phone and start talking about it
But fuck me is he playing well
I gotta give you credit Dan
You talked about him, you talked about this
And he's
It was honestly watching your flowers too
Yeah appreciate that
Yeah, it was watching the worlds with him in pasta
I was like this dude is fucking elite
He's gonna pop off and here he is popping off
Okay, how do you say Alex's last name?
Alex Laferrier
Leferrier
Alex Laferrier
Trendy out. I thought it was Lafier.
That's what I couldn't remember.
I don't know.
Lafierre, I think.
I say Laferrier to him and he doesn't say anything.
This might be just being nice.
Laferior Lafier.
It's definitely not Lafierre, because there's a Lafairair.
There's like an ER.
Laferier.
Laferier.
Laferier.
Laferier.
Yeah.
Anyway, laugh gets a fucking trending up from the boys.
I always miss it.
16 games, 9 goals, 6th.
It says 15 points plus 10, dude.
And this is one of the guys that you talked about preseason time.
Like guys were getting opportunities.
Yep.
And let's fucking go.
So, yeah.
No, he, I mean, he's, you can tell, like, right from the start,
they give him a chance to go and he's, he's, he's, he's ran with it.
Yeah.
He's been, he's been, he's been one of their best players.
You know, what's interesting is you've got, we've talked about preseason.
Arthur Calliav is injured right now.
He's going to be coming back and laugh is one of these guys that you're like, well, fuck, man.
Like, he's not giving up that spot anytime soon.
Damn right.
So.
if Arthur comes in and plays well
and then Dewey comes in
I mean this King's team what they
have been doing is very impressive
unbelievable trending down
hate to see it
the Calgary Flames needs to be sad
yeah about time after a hot start
they were shoving it up everyone's hoop
people were fucking losing their minds about how good Calgary is
Anderson's playing out of his fucking mind
now they've lost seven
of their last 10 which includes two OT
losses so point in there
but losing seven of your last 10
they're coming down to Earth in a big way.
Yeah, I agree.
I think it wasn't really the Calgary Flames
that had that hot start.
Yeah.
I think this is more of the real Calgary Flats.
I never bought it for a second.
Yeah, I was like, that's cool.
We talked about it felt like the Flyers last year.
I was like, all right, good start guys, but we'll see.
Yeah.
And then another trending down, the Oilers Power Play.
Normally their fucking superpower, to be honest.
Yeah.
Last season, they finished at 26.3% this year,
they're 25th in the league at 15.8.
It's not good.
It's not good.
Give it some time.
Do you, yeah, that's my question.
I think it's one of those things where to give it some time.
They'll be up there.
Several games without Connor that couldn't have helped.
Yeah.
But, I mean, 25th in the league were 316 games.
That ain't good.
No, it's not good, but I wouldn't be like, I would never, I wouldn't be pressing the panic button, no.
Yeah.
Because it's, listen, that's why it's trending.
It's exactly.
They could be trending up.
They'll be trending up later.
They're currently trending down.
We're going to finish off this episode with a nice fun game.
Going back to too real and too fake.
Do you familiar with this?
I don't know if I'm familiar with it.
So this game, Tomer, sorry?
I'm on your team for this one.
I'm going to give you guys four players.
Two of them are real.
Two of them are not real.
I'm going to read you their stats, their bios,
and you guys have to pick who are real and who is not real.
What scares me about playing this game with Tomer
is he might know these.
Or I might have played with him.
That is the fear.
Yeah.
So if you know, I think he can just say like that one's real.
Okay, well, we don't have to, we hear them all and then we decide.
And then we decide.
I'm going to read you all four.
Okay.
Okay, ready?
Olivia loves a challenge.
It's why she lifts heavy weights and likes complicated recipes.
But for booking her trip to Paris, Olivia chose the easy way with Expedia.
She bundled her flight with a hotel to save more.
Of course, she still climbed all 674 steps to the top of the Eiffel Tower.
You were made to take the easy route.
We were made to easily package your trip.
Expedia, made to travel.
Number one, Alexei Smyranov.
He was a center from Russia,
drafted 12th overall by the Ducks in 2000.
After just 52 games in the NHL,
scoring three goals and three assists,
he left the U.S. and played the remainder of his career in the KHL.
He does, however, still live in Southern California with his family
because you go down to the O.C., you're not going to want to leave.
Alexi Smyranoff.
Okay.
Number two.
Charlie Trager,
defenseman from Minnesota drafted in the second round by the Pittsburgh Penguins.
For six years, he was up and down in the league but played a respectable 172
NHL games recording nine goals and 42 assists for 51 points.
He played for the Penguins, Sabres, Blues, and Stars before eventually retiring and moving back to Minnesota.
His son Will currently plays for BC.
Will Trager.
Number three.
Alexandra Picard, winger from Cabrador.
Weck, drafted eighth overall in 2004 by the Columbus Blue Jackets,
eventually traded to the coyotes, then signed with the bolts,
won a Calder Cup and was MVP of the HL playoff series.
After playing just 67 games and logging only two assists,
he now currently plays in check.
Still playing, still kicking around.
Good for him.
And number four, Magnus Nystrom.
Defenseman from Sweden drafted in the third round by the Winnipeg Jets in 2011.
Nystrom made his NHL debut in the end of the 2012.
12-13 season during the lockout,
had an impressive two goals and five assists in 12 games.
Jets then missed the playoffs.
In 2013-4 team, he made the opening day roster.
Season started amazing, and in December he scored two OT winners in three games,
including one against your Tampa Bay Lightning.
After logging 48 games and 17 points,
Nystrom suffered a dislocated hip against the coyotes.
He had several surgeries in the attempt to return to action,
but after several years in the H.L, he eventually retired.
So are four players?
Alexei Smyrinov.
Charlie Trager
Alexander Picard
and Magnus Nystrom
Damn dude
Picard
Real
Picard you like that one
I think it's real
Okay
How come do you know
I'm pretty sure I know
I think so
I think I'm right
What I like about Picard
The way Dan's looking at me
Doesn't make me feel very sure
Yeah right right right
Might be using some name trickery
And mess him with you
Yeah exactly
That's the part of
where I'm like, is that the right?
Yeah.
I don't know.
Dude, the BC dad is just so, such a mind fuck.
Because I'm like, did he literally make up a BC kid too?
I know.
That one, but I, I'm more leaning towards the last one.
That was not real.
The last one's not real.
I don't think so.
Because.
Magnus Nystrom?
And he played where, Dan?
Winnipeg.
Because of the Jets.
He came up during the lockout.
And then where's he now?
He's retired.
He retired, yeah.
Scored an O.T winner against Nate?
Oh, yeah, fuck.
He scored an O'Tee winner against.
You.
I was on the ice.
You were on that team.
You were on that team.
You were out there.
I wasn't out of DASH.
Actually, it was DASH.
I probably was on the ice.
I was a dashed player.
I didn't say shit about that.
I just said you were on the team that lost in OTI.
Look at the stats.
Minus.
Yeah.
Okay.
So you think that maybe the,
last one is fake and then do you think the Russian or the BC Dad?
The Russian or the Minnesota BC Dad is fake?
Let's go BC Dad.
Okay, so you want to go...
Or it's one of those two.
You want to go BC Dad is fake and the last guy is fake.
I think so.
What are you thinking?
I think I'm with you on the last one.
and then I'll go.
Can you give me the Russian one more time, Dan?
Alexei Smyranov, center from Russia,
drafted in 12th overall by the Ducks in 2000.
52 games in the NHL scored three goals and three assists,
left the U.S. and played the remainder of his career in the KHL.
He does, however, still live in Southern California.
I think he's real.
Fuck.
Okay, you go, B.C. Dad, and last guy is fake.
I will go.
Watch, I'm going to get both these.
I will go Russian and the last guy.
Okay.
Here we go.
Okay.
Yeah.
Alexander Picard.
Real.
Yes.
Okay.
Nice.
Did you know him?
I believe I played with him.
Dan, was he the one with the Calder MVP?
Yes.
Yeah.
He was, was he also with Hershey?
Um.
No.
I don't think so.
No, he wasn't.
Okay.
Yeah.
But yeah.
Won a Calder Cup and was.
was the MVP of the HL playoffs.
I thought that was,
I was gonna say that one was fake until you spoke out
because I was like, there's no way.
I was, I was worried about him specifically
because kind of close to your draft year,
I was like, fuck, he might know him.
Yeah, I know who that is.
There we go.
That's hilarious.
Okay.
Okay, unfortunately for you, Tom,
I was wrong.
In 2013, 14,
in December, an OT goal
scored against Nate Thompson's Tampa Bay Lightning.
I must have a fucking bad game.
I don't even remember.
Oh, my God.
It did happen.
However, Magnus Nystrom is not real.
Okay.
So you were right.
Okay, I was right.
Yeah.
All of those things are real.
All those things happened.
It just wasn't that guy.
Like the Jets missed the playoffs in the lockout season.
Then they had a good season.
Went to the playoffs, beat you guys in O.T. in December.
And I was like, oh, this could be really fun.
That's really funny.
Okay.
Okay.
So Picard Real.
You got that one.
Yeah.
Magnus fake.
We both got that one.
We both got that.
Charlie Trager
Oh yeah
Father of Will Trigger
who currently plays for
BC
I said is real
he said is fake
is a real man
who unfortunately
did not play in the
NHL
Oh
so Charlie Trayor
real guy
but fake
not real actual you win
So I was right
So you were right
Alexi Smyranoff
is a real center from Russia
drafted 12th overall
by the Ducks
and he does live in California
You came back to
That's why I thought
it was fake
I was like there's no way the KHL guy.
That's why I thought it was real because it's like that makes the most sense.
Just a Russian guy is like, I'm going to stay in California.
Career didn't work out, but fucking I'm staying here.
So yeah, Picard and Smyranov.
Amazing that his last name is Smyranoff.
I thought that's why it was fake too.
I was like, no way.
Picard and Smyranoff real, Trager and Nystrom fake.
Very good news.
Very, very good.
Really good stuff, boys.
Really good stuff.
I'm going to have to get crafty when Nate is here, though.
Yeah, seriously.
I'd have to pick guys drafted in like 19.
It was pretty good, though.
I mean, you had me, I was, I was lost.
I was doubting myself.
Oh, yeah.
You are like, I, besides Picard.
I knew Picard.
I was like, the second you joined, we were coming on today, I was like, he's going to know Picard.
Yeah.
Just too close.
But that's great stuff.
Great episode.
That's it for us this week at the Empty Nerdders podcast.
We will see you guys next week.
Got some fun stuff coming for you.
As always, check out our new apparel drop.
Yeah.
If you have not yet.
It's on our bio on the Instagram.
We'll be posting all about it.
Really slick stuff coming out.
and we got some more shit coming very soon,
which you're going to like a lot.
So we will see you guys next weekend.
Until then, as always.
Get those ODRs ready.
The pond's about to freeze soon, boys.
You know what to do.
Skate hard.
