Empty Netters Podcast - The NJ Devils Are The Best Team In The East & Jack Hughes Is On Another Planet
Episode Date: October 28, 2025The Devils are an absolute wagon and if Jack Hughes can stay healthy there is nothing they can’t accomplish. Kucherov hits the 1000 point mark and reminds everyone that’s he’s one of the best pl...ayers in league history. Crosby keeps breaking records and has the guys to thanks?? And the current playoff picture is absolutely insane. Stick around for a hilarious NHL crime scandal game, plus a beer league hotline and a blind ranking. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast.
Can you believe what this has become?
There was a full 48 hours where I felt like I was like literally Superman.
Jumbo loves playing Fortnite, so he gets on the sticks.
Did TR show you the sauna cycle, or was that all year?
No, no, I invented that.
Almost a year now that I haven't taken a body check.
That's kind of nice.
Finish tonight with some chicken fingers and a few guineasas is right into you guys.
That's where this pod came to life.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Nerex.
podcast coming to you live and brought to you by BetMGM. I'm your host, Dan Powers. We've got
new producer Sean on the sticks. Oh, come on. And with me over here, per usual, is a guy who
tries to win 120 stars in Mario 64 every Thanksgiving. And he will not apologize for it,
as always. As always. Are you, you think you're still going to do that? Yeah. Why not,
dude? Why wouldn't you try to get 120 stars on Mario 64? Some people would say you got
to grow up. Look at these stars.
Pretty sweet. Bang.
NHL 94. That's probably the one of the most, this is probably the most second iconic,
the second most iconic star behind the Mario Star.
It's a pretty good ranking.
I agree. I agree completely.
North Star is pissed. Not the team. The literal North Star.
That team is irrelevant.
If you, if you pulled someone and said, name the top four players in NHL 94,
they would literally never get those.
You don't think so? No. I really don't.
Well, they would get Ronick, obviously.
I disagree.
I think they would get Mario, and after that they would struggle.
No, they'd get Ronik.
Ronik's like the whole thing.
But you're thinking, if I was like, who are the top four ranked players in 1994 in the video game?
Oh, oh, oh, oh.
Yeah.
And it's only the whole thing because of that movie.
I know.
But you were assuming that everyone has seen swingers, and that's not the case.
Or that you've played the game.
Because if you played the game, then Ronuk had extra juice.
He had extra heat.
I don't even think that that's true.
You were literally just projecting swingers.
No, he did.
He had, he had, it's in an article.
He knew the, like, the game maker.
And they were like, interesting.
We're going to give you a little bump.
That's pretty cool.
A little 94 bump.
That is pretty cool.
So, we are going, we're trying something new.
We are, this is all going to be, um, in our episode that comes out Tuesday.
Episode still coming out Tuesday.
Everything's going to be fine.
But we're going to do the hot ice portion of the,
Tuesday episodes live on Monday morning Pacific time because we wanted to give you something fresh,
something hot off the streets.
Exactly.
Out of the oven on Monday mornings.
So you can listen to it here or you are going to be able to get it on the full lap on Tuesday,
which will have everything else in it like Bealeigh-Hotline and Blind Ranking and Not Ice and all that fun stuff.
Maybe both.
Maybe both. Maybe both.
Why wouldn't you do both?
Listen, it's Monday morning.
You need some hockey talk.
You need some news after the week.
weekend. This is exactly what we're doing. How do you want to start CP? Let's get people rolling off on
our hot ice. So the first thing I wanted to do before we get into some awesome hockey news, like there
always is, is just show Brandon Montor some love. He had his first, I'm sure if you were a hockey
fan, you saw this all over the internet, but he had his first game back after his older brother,
Cam passed away from battling ALS for a few years. Cam was only 34. Really emotional interview
from Monty. He's a friend of the show and they just, they went through a terrible thing.
And I'm very glad he could be there with his family. And I'm very glad that hockey, as he said,
hockey has been there to pick him up and give his mind something else to focus on for a little while.
So nothing else to add other than absolutely all of our love to Brandon Montor and his family.
Completely agree. One of the best guys in the league. Terrible, terrible thing to have to go through,
but that's what the hockey community is about. No, he's surrounded by the best guys in the world to help lift him up.
We're just adding to that, sending all the love in the world to Monty.
I do want to pile on him for a second and the Seattle Cracken
because I promised on Hockey Talk last night that they deserve some stick taps.
Dude.
Just real quick, let's be honest.
Second in the Pacific, they look fantastic.
So many people on the team are buzzing.
Joey Decord is Vesna Calibur.
Seattle Cracken got to be in like top two surprise teams.
of the year so far. I would say yes.
That's exactly correct. No question.
And yeah, we're going to get to more of that later.
And I, and God, I cannot wait
for Professor's Parkline later in the week
because this whole shit happened.
But one of those picks was,
well, it was part of the Megapy label, but was Spunk over Oilers.
And Spunk got over there.
Spunk. That was a bit spunky.
Yes. But it's like, there's just a lot of guys going.
And hey, we, there's a few things
that I'd like to point out.
Number one, my boy, Vince Dunn.
Off to a great start.
Number two, Shane Wright.
Dude, we put a little spotlight on the fact that Shane Wright is significantly better than people are giving him credit for.
And he's got five points.
He's doing great.
He's completely relevant.
He's a good hockey player.
He's a good hockey player in the National Hockey League.
All right, Dan.
First point of order here is the devils are on an absolute heater.
Somewhere Pasha baths in pure ecstasy.
What did Jack say last year?
Like he had that one quote where they were like, what do you need to fix it?
He was like, we need to fix anything.
We're on a heater.
But then he said something about drinking Gato.
Do you remember that last year?
He did.
I mean, someone was like, what are ways that you can improve what's going on here?
and he was like, I mean, we're on a 10-game heater, so I don't know how much better we can do than that.
Yeah.
And then he was like, I don't know, dude, we're drinking gato.
It's all good.
Yeah.
The gato is flowing in New Jersey right now.
I mean, good God, it has to be.
We brought this up last week for a bit.
They lost the opener to the canes.
And we all think the canes are going to be good.
And I was like, uh-oh, here we go.
Six fucking goals.
And then haven't lost since, my friend, eight-in-one, best record in the league.
And when they beat the Aves this weekend in overtime on that Jack Hughes goal,
Yep, which is actually like a nasty move around NACIS and then missed the back end.
And then it came back to him.
I forget who dished him that.
Someone tracked him down or someone tracked down that puck and, oh, I think it was Nevich.
But anyway, great goal.
But that's that Avs, NACIS, Macar, Nate Dog, O.T. line.
Like, not only was that an O.T. win, but that is an O.T. win against probably the three scary.
That's the scariest O.O.T. line in hockey. Fact.
100%
And they took them down
I mean, listen
Also a big topic on hockey talk
The Devils are buzzing
Yep
Jack Jack is leading the league
in goals
Belief's tied for first
With 12
No no, goals eight I think
Sorry, I'm looking at points
He has 12 points
He's leading the league
Tied with eight goals
They have eight straight wins
They have all of the guys
They need to be going going
Yep.
Jesper Brat has 11 points.
He sure has 9.
Dawson Mercer has 8.
They've got surprise rookie Arsene Gritzik with 6 in 9.
And, dude, two big ones for me.
Tim O'Meyer, 8 points in 9 games, like the guy that they've always needed to get going as having a hot start.
And Simone Nemek, 7 points.
More points than Luke Hughes, like more points than any of the other defensemen.
He is phenomenal.
And they're doing all of this without Jacob Markstrom playing well.
That's what I was going to say, dude.
And I didn't know how long that was going to be, but I'm seeing that he could return
on this.
They're going on a four-game road trip right now.
He could come back on this trip.
Yeah.
What if he comes back and is a top, I don't know, six goalie in the league?
I mean, he was nasty last year.
I know.
So it's, yeah, you wonder if the injury he's got was like lingering and maybe that's why
he wasn't doing that well.
But, dude, this team is, there.
They're just playing phenomenal.
Connor, what a fucking steal.
Connor Brown is.
I know, you knew.
You knew that one.
Six points in nine games.
He's a perfect, perfect bottom six player for this team.
Like, truly perfect.
And they're nasty.
And here's the thing.
They are right up there with Carolina.
Carolina is missing all of their stars.
Yeah.
So you're staring at me like a psychopath right now.
I don't know if you're about to murder me or not.
Always.
I like it.
Yeah.
Carolina is dealing with so many injuries.
I don't know what's going on with Svetnikov.
That's what I was thinking about.
But I don't know how you don't have a conversation about the devil's right up there with them in the Met.
Like they're gross.
I think you should.
And we said this last time, this is a year late than I expected it.
But I was ready for this.
I was ready for this to happen.
And we just joked that Jack, they went on heaters last year and it fell apart.
Yeah.
You know, you don't want to get too over your skis.
But they look as good as I dreamed they would be last year.
Quick tangent, by the way.
Yeah, go.
The aves are so weird to me sometimes.
Like they always do this thing where I'm like, oh man, the a vows are waggon.
They still have a ton of points and they're near the top of their vision.
But I'm like, why are you losing four straight games?
Like that makes no sense to me.
It's so annoying.
They started off.
I'm like, yeah, that's exactly what you should do.
And now they're like, we lost four straight games.
But yeah, if not that Allen isn't giving them great stuff already, but if Markstrom comes back and gives them a bump, this team
with health, with health.
We don't talk about injuries on the show.
This team with health is going to make significant waves in the playoffs.
I can already tell justice for Keefe.
He will take them to the promised land just as I predicted.
Yeah.
For me, the whole thing with the devil's has always been size and I don't want to say experience
because I fucking hate experience.
You can't get experience without experience.
It's annoying as shit.
But a big thing was size, a big thing was maturity.
Jack, Jack feels mature.
Yeah.
I think that.
Injury pissed him off.
I think he had a great surgery and a great rehab, and he has come back.
And yes, he has eight goals.
He's buzzing.
But there's something about the way he's playing.
He feels like he has kind of learned a lot and taken that next step of being like,
I'm not the young little star anymore.
I want to be a guy.
I want to be a dog.
Yeah.
Not even that.
You know what I mean?
Like he wants to be gritty.
I think he's getting grittier.
And I like that little rough around the edges.
It doesn't want to be the NHL's pretty boy anymore.
Yeah.
So hopefully that continues.
That's huge.
Who do you, I'm going to run through the teams in the NHL.
Tell me, we're going to decide together right now who you think the devils would be in a seven-game playoff series right now.
Can we put the caveat on this that the teams are all healthy in said seven-game series?
The teams are all healthy, sure.
Like per expected.
Like if you say the Florida Panthers, I'm going to answer that question with Matthew Kachuk and Alexander Barkov on the team.
No, not Barkaw because I firmly believe he's going to be.
going to be back in one month.
Per his surgeon, it's the best surgery of all to.
I guarantee you they are planning on him coming back this year.
So I'm going to answer with him on the team.
Okay, but you have to answer with him being immediately removed from an ACL surgery.
Yes.
And entering a playoff series.
Yeah, deal.
Okay.
I'll start with the East.
You've got to go.
New York Rangers.
Absolutely, yes.
Four game sweep.
Oh, my God.
I agree.
They beat the Rangers.
Bruins. Absolutely is four-game sweep. Tampa Bay Lightning.
Yes.
Ooh, right now. Dude, I...
You're killing them? Do it.
That is such a knee-jerk reaction by me.
They're so frustrating, right now.
Even their OT win last night.
Two wins in a row. Two wins in a row. Do you win two in a row? It's a win streak, Dan.
It is. They're streaking. They're streaking.
Dude, the New Jersey Devils, can they beat the Tampa Bay Lightning? Boom, playoff start today.
runs in, devil's lightning, game seven, seven game series.
Right now, yeah, they have to be.
They're playing so much better, but if I'm,
if I'm thinking about playoffs and Tampa has figured it out
and they're back in playoffs, I'm like, are you really going to be
Cooch and Headman and Point and Hagle and Vassie?
I'm going Tampa.
Probably not.
I'll take the devils. Fuck you.
Blue jackets. Yes. Yes. Yes.
Leifes. Yes.
Wow.
The Leafs gave them, boy.
The Leafs gave the Panthers a run.
Oh, yeah.
They came so close to beating the Panthers.
Then they got in game seven,
and the Panthers decided to try,
and they beat the piss out of them.
I'll go devils.
Senators, yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Flyers?
Yes.
Flyers?
Hey, stick taps the flyers.
Looking great.
Yeah, yeah.
What did I call them?
Pesky.
I think they...
Fires are pesky, for sure.
Islanders.
Yes.
Capitals.
Yes.
Low LT is nuclear right now though
He is nuclear right now
But listen the devils are hot
But again are we just doing
Are we saying reactionary answers
Because the devils are at the top right now
Of the men right now
Well that may be
That's what I'm trying to figure out
If they were in a playoff series right now
Boom
They've literally lost one game
I think they beat the capitals
Cains
Okay
So here's my thing
Yeah
That series
Completely comes down to goal tending
but ironically
Markstrom is hurt
and not playing well
so far so I'm like
I don't even know what's going on
I will take the canes in that series
healthy
everyone healthy
in the first round
I will take the case
you gotta figure out what round
it is how tired is Freddie
how tired is Freddie
we're talking first round
I will take the canes in that series
I might go devils dude
the canes are fast though too
that's the other thing
devils are fast
they're unbelievable
maybe Carolina there
Panthers
no
yeah
I got to go, you gotta unseat the champs.
Red wings.
Devils.
Yes, I go devils.
Habs.
I go devils.
I'm gonna take the devils, I think.
Penguins.
I'm gonna take the devils.
All right, I'm going west.
Flames.
Devils.
Devils.
Are we doing every team here?
Yeah.
Blues.
Devils.
Wild.
Devils.
Ducks.
Duffles.
Devils.
Dreads.
Devils.
Devils.
Devils.
Devils.
Oilers.
Are you fucking dumb?
They've lost
They've lost
They lost a couple of times
They lost
I'll probably go
Yeah
I'll probably go oilers
You're drunk on devils right now
I know
I'm just telling you
That's how good they are
I'm trying to
I'm trying to get
Through people's thick skulls
How good the devils are
But I guess
Out of respect
I gotta go oilers
Canucks
Devils
Which is
It's fun
I know
Cracking
I'm going devils
I'm gonna have to go devils
I just
the Cracken are so, I mean, how well coach are they in?
Shout out Jess.
How well coach are they right now?
And, you know, they got a lot of guys buzzing, but it's, I will, I'm going to revert to
the superstar issue of, in a playoff series, if Markshram's playing well and Decor
playing well, it comes down to like who's going to change the game and I think the
devils have more game changers.
I think that's right.
Black Ox.
Devils.
Kings.
That's a tough one
I know
I'm going devils dude
Me too
I'm going devils
Stars
Stars
I'm sorry
If we're in playoffs
You can talk about
The stars issues right now
This that of the other
They're a better team
Okay
Yeah
Okay
Vegas
Vegas
Yeah I'm going Vegas
Jets
Actually I don't know
Vegas doesn't have
A fucking goalie
I know
But it doesn't matter
They win every game.
They've done nothing matters.
It's incredible.
Jets.
Playoff Ellie, dude.
I'm not going to devils.
How can you ignore playoff hell?
How could you, dude?
And how could you win the devils look like they look?
Seven game series right now.
I'll take the devils.
I'll take the devils too.
Colorado Avalanche?
I'll take Colorado.
I will take Colorado too.
And then a great one here because it's the other hottest team in the league.
Top of the Mountain.
Mammoth, the Utah Mammoth.
Give me
Every time we bet against the mammoth, they win.
So give me the Devils because it means the mammoth will win.
Oh, devil's mammoth.
What a fucking series that would be actually.
Holy shit.
I mean, good God.
You know we are talking about the sharks last year
and how they were the All Vibes team,
and they're clearly not the All Vives team anymore,
although they're on a bit of a heater.
Yeah.
And everyone keeps going, who is the new All Vives team?
It's Utah.
It's Utah.
Utah, Nick Schmaltz is leading the league in points.
This is unbelievable.
Devil's why, devil's mammoth, absolute seven games for sure, seven game OT,
V-TX out of control.
I know.
It's like, what?
The hell's gone on.
I'm taking Devils in seven in overtime, in overtime.
Devils in seven and overtime.
But huge, huge love to both teams because what a joy.
Absolute delight.
Eight game heater, seven game heater is fucking amazing.
Have they, have they, yeah, I mean, God, it's amazing.
Okay.
The next thing I want to talk to you about, Dan, we had a couple milestones, a couple of milestones hit this week, or the week in change in hockey that I'd love to address and ask you some questions about.
Please.
Nikita Kuthoroff, my man, I love Kooch so much.
You do.
Hit a thousand points on Saturday, which is an incredible first.
feet. He did it in 809 games, the 17th fastest ever. That's so wild. I know. The last four
years of Cooch have been so enlightening. I know. It's like, people are all of a sudden being like,
wait a minute. Is this dude the best player in the league? So I didn't even put this in here,
but NHL.com did a player poll. It was actually during Media Day, but they did a poll, yes.
I'm going to interrupt real quick and say
which MVP robbery
was worse?
Last year or the year before?
Last year is a Greek tragedy.
It's one of the, not only the fact
that we got robbed of $15,000
on that bet,
you sons of bitches,
that is one,
I think that will be looked back at
as one of the more what the hell it was.
That's Jose Theodore level.
What are we doing?
Two years ago,
I believe it should have been
him, but Nate was a worthy 50 and, like, he had like 52 goals and 80 assists or something. And then
Kooch obviously did the 100 assists, but so did Connor. So it's like, you know, I still think it
should have been Kooch because he won the scoring title and whatever. But like, is what it is.
Last year is a Greek fucking tragedy. Truly. I'm going to give you a couple things here.
Here's the guys who did it faster. Faster than Kooch. Yep. And what am I supposed to just listen?
Just listen. Okay. Number 16, Dale Howard,
781 games 15 paul coffee 770 14 yager 7 63 13 sid 755 12 phil espizito 745
11 marcel deion 740 10 stevie y 737 9 denise savard 727 8 ryan trotier 726 one game it's kind of epic
so epic 7 gila 4 720 6 yari curry 716 5
Peter Stasney, 682, four Connor McDavid, 659, crazy.
Three, Mike Bossie, 656, two Mario Lemieux, 513, and one Wayno, 424.
424 to 1,000 points is...
Unbelievable.
Yeah, I'm looking at a number next to Mike Bossy, and you just said a completely different number.
I said 6.56?
I'm looking at 7.56.
Yeah, it's 6.56.
Because it's faster than Connor, by a few games.
those are the only people to do it faster than Nikita Kutrov.
Yeah.
They're at fastest active.
Wayno and 424 is so fucking dumb.
Literally, I'm like, what are you talking about?
Do you think he even had fun playing?
No.
Mario, dude, Bossie at 656, right?
Mario, that's third.
And Mike Bossie, we talked about this with the end of it.
Like, Mike Bossy is on my Mount Rushmore now.
I've updated my Mount Rushmore to Wayne, Mario, Bobbyor, and Mike Bossy.
You just made so many fans happy.
Sid's trying to get in there.
and I think he will by the end.
Bossy is so goaded.
But Bossy is on my Mount Rushmore.
Bossy 656-3 to 513 Mario is such a jump.
Yeah.
That you're like, what could happen after that?
And then Wayne 424.
I know.
But it is just another.
It's like, God, Waino and Mario were so absurd.
Okay.
So there are only, and this isn't speed,
there are only six Russians ever to hit a thousand points.
Yes.
In the entire history of the National Hockey League, crazy.
OV-1630, as of right now.
Malkin, 1358, as of right now.
Federoff, 1179, McGilney, 1032, Kovalov 1029.
And now Kooch, he's like at 1,000 and whatever.
Where, I want to hear a couple things from a Kooch ranking that we're going to do right now.
Okay.
Number one, task number one, Kooch active players right now, where is he?
This is always so tough because we get into the defenseman count.
I know.
The only players I put above Cooch are Kale, Connor, Nate.
Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docs, your permits, your moves.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Come on now, let's flex those two.
Draft design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing.
Do that, do that, do that with acrobat.
Learn more at adobe.com slash do that with acrobat.
And that's it.
And that might be it.
But you know my issue, dude.
You know my issue.
You love Leon.
You love, what is your issue?
I think I might put Leon about.
them too um my issue is very inappropriate i don't trust russians oh yeah but this isn't i'm not talking
who's going to win mbp because you because the league doesn't trust russians either makes me so
the lead won't give or maybe i can't say i think they're they're spooks yeah they're up to something
yep and they scare me i don't know if they're going to leave at any point couldn't trust them as far as i
could throw them i don't trust them i also have i think
I have to have him for as well, because those three guys.
I put Leon over him too.
I love Leon too much.
And Leon is incredible.
And is a gift to this game.
And his talent is undeniable.
And he would thrive without Connor.
He would thrive anywhere he would go.
Just the, oh, I started to say that NHL poll thing.
The players responded, they were like, do you guys watch hockey when you're not playing?
And a lot of guys are like, yeah.
And they said, who do you, who's appointment television?
And Connor got the most votes, of course, just for speed and the things he doesn't.
on the ice. Cooch got second most votes. Yeah, Nate, well above
Nate, well above Cahill, all this shit, because all the guys were like,
dude, Sam Reiner was like, he's doing things out there that no one else even considers.
Connor's doing things from a physical talent ability. Cooch is doing things from a
creativity ability. Correct. That are made up. His like chop passes,
he's like through the legs, skate passes. He is way better than this guy. But Cooch,
cut reminds me of
Meset Ozil
watching Meset Ozil
play football and
playing in the World Cup
he was doing shit that like he was just having fun out there
Cooch is doing that
yeah I mean he's
he's top five if not higher
he's unbelievable so I've got those three guys over him
and what's so insane
I feel like this always happens
I don't
I still have Sid that hot
like everyone does their racket
no he's like Sid's 12
And I'm like, no, he's, he's four.
He's still so up there, man.
I don't know what to tell you.
Like, I have Jack right there.
Yeah.
Ikes, you mean?
Ikes.
But Sid is still in there.
So like, for me.
We do the center rankings, right?
Yeah.
It's like, people are like, is Jack a top five center in the league?
And you ask that because you have Connor, you have Nate, you have Leon, and that's like, okay, who's next?
And I'm like, Jack is that.
But people are like, like, you know.
like what about Sid? And I'm like, oh, good point. What about Sid? So I'm going to, I'm going to
remember you said that, because I'm going to ask you something about that later. I'm going to go
Kuch 4, active. You've got him 5. Okay. Now, Dan, among Russian players. Yeah, I'm going to blow
your mind here. All time. Where, not just a thousand point guys, Russian players all time,
NHL history. Where is Nikita Kutra? I think he's one. How could you say that to me? How could you
look me in the fucking face and say that to me.
Everything this brand stands for, everything that we built this church on, dude.
Pavel Dotsuk is the greatest player to ever live.
I know.
So we're going to just put him aside.
No, dude.
He's a part of this.
He's a part of this.
I mean, yeah, my answer, I think Pavel Dotsuk as far as an all-around player, creativity,
an absolute joy to watch, how can you know how can you have to ask?
Someone said, you know that meme?
I think it's tangled.
are going to stat shame us. They're going to say we're idiots. We're going to say we're this. But
Pavel Dotsuk, if you knew, if you were lucky, if you were lucky enough to be falling in love
with hockey in the era of Paul Valdatsuk, then you understand that he is the greatest man to ever live.
Dude, people, I think it's that tangled meme where it's like all the swords, you know,
do you what I'm talking about? And they go, what's the take that gets you this? Yeah. Someone put up there
on one of these I saw recently, maybe you tweeted it and people were responding, but someone was like,
Datsuk is overhyped. I'm not saying he wasn't great, but like he is overrated. And I was like,
no. Wrong. Wrong. And the problem is the stat shamers, but it's the eye test. And it's the
testimonials from the players involved. Talk to anybody on the ice. And you know, you're a defenseman.
You know when Kuch is out there. You know, he has that impact on the game too. But you talk to anybody
and it's like if you got the puck
when Datzuk was your opponent,
you were terrified, no matter where you were.
And vice versa.
Yeah.
People tell stories about when he had the puck,
they were like, fuck, fuck me.
Ask Logan Kachir.
Yeah.
Dude, this is a spin cycle on his birthday.
Datsook one.
Who is two?
I think it honest to God at the end of everything.
It might be coach.
But it's so crazy to say,
okay, this is what I will say.
McGilney,
Fedorov. Let's talk about those two first.
I absolutely love Sergey Federov.
McGillney was amazing too. Look, he's on your shirt.
Sure is. You know who else is on my shirt, Pavl-Burray.
Yep. Cooch is better than those guys.
Cooch is better than Federoff, in my opinion.
Me too.
The big ones for me are Malkin and Ovi, obviously.
And what about like Vassie and Bob?
I know. Yeah, and Bob.
And Chastricin.
Fucking look at a good Chessie.
Chessie's going to win something.
Yeah, he's got some time to go.
Let's just have a player.
conversation here. Skaters. Skaters.
Conversations. Malkin O.V. Kooch.
That is the discussion. Really, I think it is.
And ultimately,
Kooch is what? 33.
I'll tell you. I'll tell you right now. I think he might be 33.
I think he's 33.
Kuch is
32.
Okay, 32. So,
in my opinion,
I think Kooch has
three more years
at least of point per game hockey.
Yeah.
And with that, he's not going to catch Malkin and certainly not Ovi.
In points.
Yeah, in points.
Unless Kooch plays until he's a fucking 40.
Which he could.
Totally could.
Especially just being like an assist dog, like power play guy.
Yeah.
I think it's interesting because we're forgetting, right?
We're forgetting there was a 10-year stretch where Ovi, you go, who's the best player in the league?
And it was Ovi and Sid.
And then sneaky Malkin creeped in there, and it was like, it's those three, frankly.
So you have a heart?
Malkin?
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Two, I think.
Not two.
I think you might.
Couldn't be two.
I think you might have two.
One.
He does have one?
Yep, yeah.
But two are Ross.
Yeah.
Oh, that's what I'm thinking of.
So these fucking guys are just, all three of them are so insane.
And I think recency bias is making.
me be like, I wonder if cooch is better than Malkin.
I know I'm saying a bunch of shit here.
I don't think anything can happen that will make me confidently say
cooch is better than Novetschkin.
I don't think that's possible.
But I am here to say all you Ovi stands, all you fucking mouth breathers,
just kidding.
But all you crazed Ovi fans who are going,
are you fucking insane, you idiot, you think there's any fucking planet where he's,
there is a discussion to be had. A man who had a hundred fucking assists in one NHL season
in the 2020s is absolutely able to have that discussion. That's my point.
Buddy, I'll have it with you right now. He's better than Ovechkin. And Ovechkin is the
greatest goal score, the National Hockey League has ever seen. And I say that by the
way. Yeah. I'm sure I've said this on the pod before, but count me as a person who as recently
as, I don't know, four years ago was hoping OV didn't break Wayne's record because I was just,
I just love Wayne's all of his records, like his lore, and I didn't want him to lose that one.
And so it was a combo of like, I was a young Sid fan, so it was the OV rivalry and I loved
Wayne's lore that I didn't want it. For some reason, I was so stupid that I didn't want to watch
history. And I came to my senses and stopped being an idiot and started appreciating the majesty
that is Alex Ovechkin and how much fun he has playing hockey and how fun it has been,
what a privilege it's been for me to watch him play hockey. That ride was incredible. And Wayne,
you know, fucking, playing against plumbers, you got to score goals still, dude, and Wayne did.
So whatever. But OVey, it's a fact that it's harder to score goals in National Hockey League right now.
Ovechkin is the greatest to ever do it
unless Austin Matthews has something to say about it in a decade.
But until then, Ovechkin is a fucking God
and deserves his flowers and will always get them
and will always be a part of hockey history.
Correct.
I'm not saying Coochers in Mount Rushmore conversations,
but there's a reason Ovee is never in that, like,
who's on your Mount Rushmore conversation?
It's not Ovee. It's just not him.
Unfortunately for you, there's a lot of Capitals fans
who are like Ovi.
There's one guy who I hope he's watching
right now who is an absolute pest in our DMs and I say that with love.
Yeah. And we were recently having the Mount Rushmore conversation and he was like,
how is OV not in your Mount Rushmore conversation? And I was like, he's literally not even close to
like, please get away from me. So like there are plenty of people who do think that. Well,
they're, they're, they're so wrong. They're incorrect. And Kuturov is a better player,
is a better NHL player than Alex Ovechkin. I'm not saying Ovechkin is bad, obviously. He's
incredible. He's an asset to any team and
what a career. Well, I mean, he certainly
is right now.
Ovecgan is better than Kutrov.
No, Kutrov is certainly a better
hockey player than OVee right now. But I
just don't know how you can say that so
confidently when you think of, you're forgetting
Prime Ovi
was a literal mutant on the ice.
He was a lock, 50
goals, 50 assists, and leading
the league in hits every season.
That was young, young Ovi.
He fell off that assist thing quite
quickly. Remember we did that?
Yeah, but young, young Ovi, he was.
But it was still five straight
years where he did it, right? And like, don't forget
he beat fucking your golden boy
Sid for rookie of the year. Like, he
was a, and he was an
actual mutant. Yeah, 18
to
20, I'll even say
25, but 18 to 24, he was
the fucking man. Yeah, like
Locke 50-50. And again,
leading the league in hits. He was the most
insane hockey player. Yeah,
yeah, that was so sick.
Dude, that can't
be disregarded. No, it's so awesome. Like it's, he literally, they weren't even tracking that.
Like, he was genuinely, like, dude, the NHL didn't track hits when he was an 18 year old, and that
is a tragedy. Correct. Because it would have been so sad. Because I'm pretty sure if you go through
it, he actually led the league and hits a couple of seasons. I think he didn't, because they usually
go black, you know, like legally, it's like when you like, you look, it's black and he hasn't.
But, but dude, but he's top 2.20. Like, let me look up Sid's hits and see, see how many it is.
It's, the guy was, was an actual wrecking ball. And, and, so the first. So the first.
First year the league tracked hits, 2007-8, OV had 220, Sid had 50.
Yeah, 50?
Zero, yeah.
I thought you said 15.
I was like, good God.
He did?
Oh, he didn't play that many games.
Oh, Sid?
Dude, 36-year-old, Sid, 101.
Look at that.
50 is so funny because that means there was multiple games where he didn't hit anybody.
Multiple games.
Sid was like, I, whoa, take it easy, guy.
I love that, dude.
I'm just trying to play some hockey out here.
Hey, he had concussion problems.
Dude, get off his ass.
I'm going to defend OVee here and just go on the record and say,
you are suffering from recency bias because you were also not watching hockey as so sharply as you are now.
Good point.
And that 18 to 25-year-old stretch from OV was, I mean, all-time run.
It was insanity what he was doing.
All-time run.
How many MVP's is you have?
Not that that matters because it's a fucking bullshit award for the time.
I think Ovi has three, one.
maybe two, three.
He won back to back when he was 22 and 23.
That's when he was really going.
And then he won another one later when he was 27.
Okay, so I'm still going two.
I'm going second best rush whenever.
I think you're going third for now,
but he has a chance to pass Ovi.
So you're not even considering Malkin.
No, of course he's Malkin's four.
But like I think he's behind Ovi and Cooch.
which is tough though because I actually couldn't even put him over him
I mean Malkin was so good too incredible dude what a what a treat it has been for
watching all these guys I guess Cooch is like a little bit a half step younger than
them but like who is a lot of their time together I was about to ask a dumb question
I was gonna say who is the next great Russian and he lives in Minnesota yes he owns
the mall yeah he owns the mall he's turning the mall of America into the Cremlin it's
already been turned okay Dan now the last Coutchroft thing
16 guys faster than him.
Okay?
Yes.
Cooch is better than this person.
Okay.
Ready?
Go from the fastest down.
Correct.
Wayne.
No.
No.
Are we both answering?
Oh.
But Wayne.
No.
No.
Mario.
Nope.
No.
Mike Bossy.
Nope.
No.
Agreed.
Mike Bossy.
Mike Bosson.
The greatest player of all time.
Connor McDavid.
No.
Peter Stasney.
Yes.
He's an old.
This list is going to get real tough for me here.
I know.
Kutraoff is better than him, dude.
Kutrov is better than him.
Watch the game.
Use your eyeballs.
I'm saying yes.
I'm saying yes and I apologize to no one.
Yari Kuri.
Yes.
Yari Kuri was unreal.
I know, dude.
But like he's playing on a fucking powerhouse wagon point machine.
You would have a thousand assists if you'd been on that team.
That's pretty cool.
Um, Kutrov is better than him.
Okay, yeah.
Gee Lafleur.
Gee.
Tough one here.
The original flower?
Tough one here.
Yes.
Yes.
He's better than him, dude.
Brian Trotcheon.
Yes.
Yes.
Denise Avard.
Yes.
Stevie Y.
No.
I think I agree.
Doesn't make any sense.
What we're doing here?
I think I weirdly agree, though.
But I'm going to say no.
Because Stevie was just like, he was everything.
Oh, my God, dude.
Winning Cops.
total package, putting up
moronic points.
Moronic.
153 points one season.
Does he have a better, who has
a season high, a single
season high?
Coch.
Points? Yep.
Steve. 144 for Cooch and I think
Steve did 155, right? I think it's
153, but I'm not entirely sure.
I'll tell you right now. It might be
five, might be cool if it was.
Stevie Y
literally never led the league in
points, which is hilarious.
So funny.
155.
Fucking, hey, that's a good win for you.
That was a poll.
That's a pole and a half.
Well, you only got there because I said 153.
Well, yeah, you're probably right.
Marcel Dion.
I think Cooch is better.
Phil Esposito.
I do not think Cooch is better.
Really?
No, I do.
Because Phil's like Ovi.
You know, if I'm going to dig in against Ovi, I got to dig in against Phil.
He's a goal score.
I know.
Phil, though.
He's the man.
He's the goal score.
But he's an old.
If I'm going to be an age just.
I got to be an ageist.
Sid.
Absolutely not.
Absolutely not.
Yager.
Absolutely not.
Agree.
Paul Coffey?
I'm going to say absolutely not because I have spent too much of my life disrespecting Sir Paul Coffey.
I would like to give him respect.
I think Paul Coffey is one of the greatest defensemen in the history of the game.
Oh, surely.
At the end of the day, I'm not entirely sure how quickly people will say Nikita Kutrov is one of the greatest
forwards to ever play the game.
Is Paul Coffey?
Would you say that Paul Coffey right now?
He's perennially under respect.
Do your.
defenseman about Rushmore.
Bobby? Yep.
Ray Nick. Nick Ray.
Yep. Right. So there's really only one spot available.
And you'd want to go Paul Coffey.
Covee Foresley.
It's not funny. He's great. I mean it. I mean that.
He's my favorite defenseman.
You'd want to go coffee, but surely it's going to be Cale if it isn't our, like, you know what I mean?
If it isn't already, can you fucking, you and Johnny last?
Hale's the best player in the league. Just shut up with this shit.
It's like, I can't, what was that take you had?
You were like, he's already Hall of Fame?
No, I said he isn't.
I said if he dropped dead.
If he dropped dead today, he would not get in.
Yeah.
If someone killed him, he would not get him.
Yeah, I mean, you guys, I mean, listen, if he stays on this trajectory, it will surely be him.
Yeah, it's probably Paul.
Yeah, it is.
I'm going to put Paul there.
Maybe for some love for the defense from me, too.
Dale Howard Chuck.
No.
Cooch.
Cooch?
Legend.
People need to start putting some spec on Cooch.
Another milestone, Dan.
A couple milestones, actually.
We've been talking a lot about this guy.
Sid the kid.
How's the chat going?
Is anyone in the chat?
Yeah, we got some chat action.
We got some chat action.
And it's tough because for the pod live,
I can't get too bog down.
Yeah, true.
People are going to be listening to this episode.
Just want to say.
But if anyone, yeah, I'll start skiming in the chat here.
Oh, and here we go.
Beer, Fang, media says so true, people act like Sid's cooked,
so underrated in the present, weirdly enough.
I've been saying this forever.
Sid is somehow one of the most underrated players in the league.
So for some Sid action, on October 14th,
the Penguins played at the Ducks we were there.
Yes.
It was very cool.
Sid had two apples in that game, in the loss.
This moved him past Stevie Y for ninth all time in NHLSS.
Pretty sick.
Oh, so cool.
And he's close to Oatsy.
I forget what it is.
I almost wrote it down, but he's, you know,
he's going to pass Oatsy, he'll get into eighth.
At that point in the season, Sid had one goal through four games, and the Penguins were two and two.
Okay?
After that game, Sid had five goals in his next four games.
All Penguins wins.
This tidbit is important for two reasons.
Here's, and the second reason is insane.
It's fun.
But here's the first reason, though.
During that stretch, he reached a career total.
points, regular season plus playoffs, specifically, regular season plus playoffs of 1896. Total points
for the penguins, regular season plus playoffs, passing Mario's 1895 for most points in the
history of the Pittsburgh Penguins. Sid is you're now officially your highest scoring penguin.
And he was so humble, he's like Mario did it in 500 less games, but there you have it. Okay.
God, this is the best. Dan, I'm going to tell you, because I don't think, I think it'd be too hard to guess
I'm going to tell you the top five answers for players for the most points, regular season,
for their franchise.
So I know you could get most points in NHL history, but I'm saying for one franchise.
Okay.
Do you want it five to one or one to five?
Can you explain it to me again?
I got crossed up there.
Most regular season points for a single franchise.
So like Wayne has 2,000 and whatever points all time, but he has X amount of points for the others, X amount of points.
X amount of points in the Kings.
So these are the answers for top five regular season points for one franchise.
For per franchise.
Because some franchises guys have like 700.
You know, like there's only not every franchise has a thousand point guy for that franchise.
Yeah, true, true, true, true.
Do you want them five to one or one to five?
Give me five to one.
I mean, I think I could get some of these.
But let's do it.
Give me five to one.
Number five, as of right now.
Alex Ovechkin for the Washington Capitals,
600 or 1630 points.
I was like, it's more than that.
Number four, Joe Sackick,
and I don't know if you count this.
I don't.
That's bullshit.
For the Avs Nordiques, 1640.
Number three.
Only will pass him imminently.
Number three, Wayno, which is actually crazy.
Wayno for the Oilers, 1669.
Which is honestly nuts because
he will, he will actually.
But Connor will need, or actually maybe not, because he could leave.
But you know what I mean?
It's crazy that Connor might not never be the Oilers leading score because you're like
Wayne was there long enough.
Yeah, true.
You know, that is funny.
Number two, can we talk about what an insane day that will be if Connor passes Wayne
for the other score?
Yeah, I mean, when he passes if he stays.
If he stays and you do need longevity because like Sid's at 1630 or Sid's at 1690 right now.
So Sid would have passed it, but he's on his year 20.
Yeah.
Like, I hope Connor plays 20 years.
Yeah, true.
But, you know.
Number two, Mario on the Penguins, 1723, regular season.
And number one, Gordy Howe on the wings, 1809.
Damn.
Sid is at 1690, I think, or something like that.
And like you said, dude, Sackack's 1640, Wayne 1669.
And Ovi will likely pass both of those this year.
Sid should pass Mario.
Like they should both pass.
Ovi won't pass Mario this year, but like they both will pass.
Like, this is what I'm gaming.
It's actually crazy to me that Sid and Ovi will finish like one, two in this category.
I have like most points for a franchise.
We're the luckiest people on earth.
These two have been such a treat.
Sid, if he doesn't leave, which keep winning Pittsburgh, I hope he doesn't.
he doesn't leave, he will literally finish one on this list.
And Ovi has a shot at finishing two, because I kind of think this is his last year.
So he's got to, he's got a bit of a hawk.
Yeah, because Sid has what?
40 years left?
Yeah.
So it's all about if he stays on Pittsburgh or not.
That's the only question.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
At this point, dude.
Yeah, yeah, I know.
That's what I'm saying.
So, what a fucking joy that is.
I know.
Incredible.
So cool.
Okay.
And then the second reason this run was important.
Five goals and four games for Sidney Crosby and the four game win streak penguins.
And I want to be clear.
I'm only even bringing this up because they, Sid went pointless and they lost in a shootout to the blue jackets.
Yes.
So, yeah.
After the Ducks game, the Penguins had a day off in L.A.
Yes, they did.
And Kevin Hayes, who is actually really good boys with glue guy.
Yep.
Friend of the program.
Shout out, Loup, friend of the program.
And Noel Chari were bopping around the west side of L.A.
Yeah.
We'd like to just give a quick shout out.
I don't think people understand how cool nootcharis.
Dude.
And we are about to be boys over the summer.
The dude vacations in our hometown.
It's like, what?
Bro.
So I'm extremely excited about that.
They came by and I actually have to admit something because when Hasey texted,
he goes, yo, where's your guy's office?
We're going to pop by.
He goes, Sid's coming.
And I had a panic attack.
Yeah.
I was in a worse situation.
You actually were.
So we get that text.
Obviously, Sid, for everyone in the league would tell you this.
Sid is just larger than life for a billion reasons.
I'm in the middle of acting in a sketch.
Sketch is out on Almost Friday TV if you guys want to watch it.
It's a great one from our good buddy, Chet Collins.
I am playing a cop who has just been assaulted.
and I had makeup on that was two black eyes, a massive bloody nose with blood all over my shirt,
and like tissue stuffed up my nose.
And I'm sitting there going, really?
Sin's coming.
Sid's about to come to the Nettor's office and I'm going to be like this, hey, so, look at me.
I was just in like normal clothes, but I literally was like, I should go home and change.
I should go put on cooler clothes and everything about me.
I should get my haircut.
Do I have time to get my haircut really quickly?
Nightmare.
Nightmare.
But for listeners.
I was actually thrilled he was coming because I couldn't wait to ask him about Lord of the Rings
and I was like this is going to solve everything I know put this on camera so then last minute
he had a meeting with his agent he was doing some shopping he was like I can't I can't get to the office
I don't have I don't have that time in the window devastated I almost cried anyway
hazy comes noel comes and we're doing a tour around the office and something comes up at the office
that we thought would be a cool gift for Sid.
Yes.
So we go,
here it is.
Take this gift for Sid.
Here's this wonderful gift.
And dude,
I was watching Chicklets and Witt,
because he was beaking
Pasha, or he was beaking.
He's always beacon Pasha,
but he was beacon Pasha.
Always giving it to Pasha.
No, he was beacon Pasha,
because Pasha was talking about Jack Hughes
and how good he was.
Yeah.
And it was the center rankings.
Yes, I was like, remember?
I was like, remind me to bring this up again.
It was the center rankings.
And Witt was like, you know,
Sid got fucking
11th on the center rankings or whatever because it's like Jack Hughes and Jack Eichael and Matthews
and blah blah blah blah and Whit was like I don't know what it is but maybe he took that personally
maybe that ranking him out and he took that personally and that's what's caused this and I was listening
and I was like wait I got to text him because I was like I'll tell you I know what has caused this
yeah I personally know what has caused this because ladies and gentlemen we gave Sid a gift
that was hand delivered by Hasey and then Sid has gone absolutely nuclear literally
scored every single game and they won
every single game. And we've been getting taxor hazy like this.
This is insane. Like literally, crazy's
run. I can't believe that you guys
did this. You've literally changed everything in Pittsburgh.
The entire operation has now changed. Sid was going to leave
if this hadn't happened. You guys were going to be
two and ten and Sid was going to leave. And instead,
Sid's the best player in the league and you're in fucking first place.
They lose to the ducks in a frustrating game and then we gave
him a nice little bump.
We've literally saved the season. It's unbelievable.
And I press.
that we can share this someday.
I pray that this,
I pray the Penguins win the Cup this year,
and Sid talks about it.
I don't ever want to share this.
Me neither.
But I want to share it with him.
Yeah.
I want to be able to have a nice Alfred and Bruce Wayne nod.
Yeah.
Next time we see him.
Whether it be at the Olympics or maybe the fucking cup at this point.
But I want to just see him and go.
Come on. And he'll be like, yes, sir.
Yes, sir. So that's amazing. Keep an eye on Sid's absolute hot streak because...
Over 100 points this year. We've changed everything. And Hazy, if you're listening, my man, Disneyland next year, no matter what.
Okay, here's our last bit of hot ice, Stan. I am going to read to you... Playoff picture.
The playoff picture as it stands today.
Yep. Because it is fascinating. Yeah, it's unbelievable.
Okay. And then I'm going to take you...
through some questions.
Here are the current standings.
In the Atlantic, seeds 1 through 3, Montreal, Detroit, Florida.
In the Met, seeds 1 through 3, automatic playoff bids, New Jersey, Pittsburgh, Carolina,
and your two wild cards are the Washington Capitals and the New York Islanders.
so you'd have devils versus islanders,
habs versus caps, wings, panthers, penguins, canes.
Notable misses, the Ottawa Senators,
the Toronto Maple Leafs, the Tampa Bay Lightning.
In the west, in the central,
automatic bids one through three,
the Utah mammoth, the Colorado Avalanche,
the Winnipeg Jets,
in the Pacific, one through three automatic bids,
Vegas, Seattle, Los Angeles.
Your Wild Cards, the Dallas Star,
and the Chicago Blackhawks.
Unbelievable.
The matchups would be
the Utah Mammoth versus the Blackhawks,
the Vegas Golden Knights
versus the Stars in the first round again.
The Jets and the Aves,
the Spunk, and the Kings.
Notable misses in the West,
the Edmonton Oilers,
the Minnesota Wild.
I'm going to go through the playoff teams
with you right now, Dan,
and I would like you to tell me
yes or no,
they will still be in the playoffs
by the end of the year.
Okay.
Right now in the playoffs
I hate this
The Montreal Canadiens
Yes
I have to say yes
And I picked them to miss
And I think that this start
I knew they were good
But I think this start is too good
For them to crater all the way out
Yeah yeah yeah
Like even if they come down a little bit
I'm like
No they're legit
They're making it
They're legit
Yeah and it's not like they're making
Like they're very good
The Detroit Red Wings
You know I'm yes
I picked them to make it
And this is everything I believe
That's happen
I'm saying yes
Get on dude
Get back on
I've always been on.
I've always been on.
Get back on. Yes.
I'm saying yes.
Florida Panthers.
Because you know what?
I think the wings, this is the year they do something.
They make a move, like a good move.
And it's only going to bolster everything.
And I'm into it.
Florida Panthers.
Yes.
New Jersey Devils.
Yes.
Yes.
Pittsburgh Penguins.
After everything we just said, I want to go, yes, so badly.
But my biggest fear is they do what I prayed they wouldn't do,
which was fall just out of the wild card by the end of the season.
And I'm like, how fucking.
fucking dare you. My fear with the pens is they're sitting at that two spot in the Met, and I just
think Carolina takes that for sure. So, you know, my prayer for them is either three or a wildcard.
And I'm going to, you know what, fuck it. I'm saying in.
Sit with this bump. Wow, dude. That even inspired me. I think I've got to go in.
Coach bump.
Yeah.
They've got some fun shit going up.
She loved playing.
She loved made 40 fucking saves the other day.
Okay, fuck it.
Yes.
Yes.
Carolina Hurricanes.
Yes.
Yes.
Washington Capitals.
Yes.
Agree.
LT, too good.
New York Islanders.
No.
No.
I think that, I think, just unfortunately,
there's no world for me where Toronto, I mean, really, I want way better from
Ottawa and Columbus.
And I'll get to that other team in a second.
But, like, I don't know with them.
Especially with the Brady injury, with Ottawa.
I'm scared.
And Columbus is just like, oh, my God, man.
They just, I don't know.
Yep.
So, but let me.
I do think, I just don't see a world where Toronto and Tampa miss fucking playoff.
Okay, so this is I was going to say, we just went of the eight.
We only had one no.
Yeah.
Which means there's only one spot up for me.
Yeah.
Right. And don't forget, Montreal was like in last year. And then they come like a freight train.
So if there's one spot, because that's what we just both said, pick your one from the
from the remaining teams, notable miss is being Sends, Leif's, Lightning. But of course, Blue Jackets,
Bruins, Rags, Sabre, Sliars. I mean, I'm going to pick Tampa. I refuse to quit on Tampa.
Hagle finally got on the board. They've won two straight. Like, is anyone going to be shocked if in the
next 10 games, they go 7 and 3.
They go, you know, that's, that's my point.
So Toronto, could miss or no?
I don't think they can miss.
I really don't.
But I don't know, man.
You know what my big thing is, is like they, this has been the craziest first 10-ish games in the season.
It's truly, at this point, it's all, hey, Montreal.
and Detroit, it's all on you.
Yeah.
Like if you, like, people always go like, oh, it's too early.
Ten games is the eighth of the season, guys.
That's not nothing, is my point.
And it's like a ten game sample size is kind of interesting.
And the Detroit Red Wings are six and three.
And the Montreal Canadiens are seven and three.
And I'm like, I don't know.
Let's see.
So they could miss.
Very interesting.
They could miss.
I do not think they will, but they could.
Okay, we're going to the West.
Utah Mammoth.
Yes.
Absolutely yes for me.
Just too hot.
Too hot.
It would be fucking shocking.
Yep.
Colorado Avalanche.
Yes.
Winnipeg Jets.
Yes.
Vegas Golden Knights.
Yes.
Seattle Cracking.
I don't know.
I don't know either, dude.
I think it might be a no.
Because that's a 5-2-2-2.
That's like a, I'm not going to say it's like a lucky thing.
But you know what I will say is,
that door is wide open.
I know.
Dude, light division.
Los Angeles Kings.
I'm given the same maybe, dude.
I know.
I mean, I've said, I rarely does some, I say something and it ends up being 100% true.
People were freaking out after their loss to Carolina and people were like, what is this team?
Dude, I was even talking to people like at the Kings.
Shout out Mikey, our homie who, you know, does all the hype stuff.
the game. He was like, fuck, man, are we screwed? And I was like, no, dude. Kemper is out.
Copi is out. This team's great on the road. They're going to pull it together. They've now
won every game or at least got a point in every single game on this road trip. Copi's
back. Kemper is back. Like, we're okay. I think this team to not make playoffs and Copies
last year would be fucking crazy. Oh, dude. What a disaster. I'm not talking about that.
It's insane. Dow Stars. Yes. Yes. Yes.
but not as emphatically as I want to say before.
I know, but dude, at the same time, like, they're a weird.
They are suffering, I mean, they're 5, 3, and 1.
They've got, you know, Central's tough. Central's tough.
If the Mammoth are going to be this good, the Central's tough.
Oh, yeah, Central's are flipped upside down now.
Chicago Blackhawks.
No.
But hell, yeah, Blackhawks.
That's incredible.
We said this other day.
I'm in love with everything Connor Bardard is doing.
I think it's so fun what this team's doing.
It's great.
Yep.
Okay, so there's three maybe openings in the in the West.
Yeah.
As we said last week, you're trying to avoid six, seven.
Nightmare, okay?
So one way to avoid six, seven is to make the fucking playoffs.
Yeah.
But that's not realistic for every team.
Sure isn't.
The other way to avoid six seven is to be dead fucking last and start the tank for McKenna.
What did they call it?
the um there was an m pun not pun alliteration for mckenna oh gee g's been all over a miserable for mckenna
yeah miserable for mckenna uh what teams in the n hl through ten games should already start
being miserable for mackenna the the there are two that are the biggest lock answers of all
time for me now here's the thing any bottom team should want him
What's funny is the sharks, I'm almost like, you got too many.
Okay, so I wanted to ask about that.
Red brought that up last week.
Like, you've got Wilmaq and you've got Mesa.
Who finally scored.
And for the love of Christ Almighty, they need defense.
And I'm like, because when you think about all these guys that are, I mean,
Wilmack are going to have to sign their deals at the same time.
You're going to have Mesa one year after that.
Then you're going to have McKenna one.
Like, it's just potentially too much money in Ford.
Obviously, they all have to pan out.
but I believe in all of those guys.
The sharks, I'm almost like,
I don't even know if I want that for you.
Calgary is so interesting.
We, you know, they're off to a brutal start.
I think Chely was kind of,
Wolf is amazing,
but Chely was like,
I think there's a world where Wolf has a little bit of a like,
you know, you lit the world on fire last year.
Let's see if teams have maybe checked the game notes on you a little bit.
But, you know, he's still great, but, you know,
337, 8, 8, 6.
3, 7 goals against 8, 8, 6.
He's like, that is not what he was last year.
Western Canada boy, like, you know, McKenna, it's like, okay, that could be cool.
Calgary worries me a little bit with how the exodus of superstars there.
And I know weigs and guys are trying to like bowl that together, but I'm just like,
oh, God, it would be so bad if you got a McKenna and he was like, I hate it here.
Correct.
So to me, the two absolute obvious locks to be miserable for McKenna that would both be,
in my opinion, a phenomenal, phenomenal thing.
for the league and very exciting for him is the Boston Bruins and the New York Rangers.
Yes.
Those are the two number one.
And you know what's interesting is I look at the Rangers and it's brutal there.
Like the vibes are there's unfortunately a lot of bullshit.
They can't score at home.
Fans are losing their fucking minds.
J.T. Miller's getting pissed off in interviews.
The players that they like really want and need to be going are just like.
like kind of not going.
Gabe isn't even playing.
I think vibes are kind of low in New York right now.
Whereas Boston is a weird like, things are kind of fun in Boston.
I mean, they're in second to last in the east.
And they're just like, they're pretty fun.
I mean, pasta is still doing pasta.
McAvoy looks fantastic.
A lot of the new guys are like having fun and playing.
playing well. Sway looks great.
Boston, with Hagen's there, with Fraser Minton there.
They've got some young, fun guys, and it's an original six team.
They haven't had a number one pick since fucking Joe Thornton.
That would be a very fun, good thing for the league.
I've said it a million times.
And if I'm them, I look at this team and I'm like, they have a vibe of the sharks
last year where I'm like, dude, everyone seems happy.
you're winning some fun games here and there
but just like, keep losing.
Dude.
Keep losing.
Keep playing well.
Keep losing.
Lose some more games.
Keep losing those games.
Yeah.
Lose.
Next game, maybe lose it.
And then all of a sudden you have McKenna.
And like this is one of the more unexpected,
brilliant rebuilds and retools from a guy
who has been getting shit left and right from yours truly.
Yeah.
I think it would be very, very fun for Boston and interesting.
Nothing would make me happier.
because I was watching, I mean, we joked,
the B-starred at 3-0 or whatever it was,
and they lost six straight.
Yeah.
And I was like, okay, this is more what I expected.
I don't think this team's going to make playoffs.
And being able to bring up Hagen's and McKenna,
at the same time, the same way Will and Mac came in together,
would be so incredible,
especially if they play each other in the Frozen Four or something,
and then you're like, oh, my God, now they're both coming.
Not to mention all of a sudden out of the fucking woodwork,
Dean Laterno's playing well for Bollinger.
BC. If you get him and Hagan's at BC together, coming up to the Bruins together, then you add McKenna to the mix.
So this is what made me laugh.
Because you don't want, losing is a disease.
You do, it's as contagious as syphilis.
As COVID-19.
COVID-19, good one.
Wow, they update that script.
Losing is a disease.
So you don't want to go, man, I hope the Bruins go 20 and 62.
And just suck and everything.
Everyone hates each other in the locker room and they're griping.
But after the, I think, Ducks game, McAvoy gave an interview where he,
he was like, God, these games are killer.
The ways we're losing are insane.
It's like, pucks going off, peaks, foot.
It's fucking mental.
Yeah, but I was like, no, this is perfect, Charlie.
Because the games are super fun.
Charlie, you're doing everything great.
Super competitive.
And then with 10 seconds left, you lose every night.
I was like, don't change a thing, dude.
Keep pumping in goals.
Everything's awesome.
And then we just lose with 10 seconds left.
And then whoops, we're in last place.
Whoops, we got McKenna.
Everything's amazing.
The other team, the Rangers, I'm so with you, Dan.
I don't know how many times I have to say this
I have never once been here to dance
on Rangers graves I guess probably only one time
in my whole life which was when that one year
when Laffey you guys all told me Laffey was the best player
on earth and me no no the Rangers fan world
and I was like no he isn't other than that
I got no issue the Rangers tough sledding tough start
kind of just like what I told you would happen but whatever
we'll see if anything shakes out
but for me, 10 games in, pull shoot, baby.
Oh, buddy.
I know the Rangers fans still think they're in a full retool.
What are you doing?
Be horrible.
You are horrible, be horrible.
We're wasting Ches-T.
I don't care.
You already did.
You've been wasting Ches-T for years.
Even though you were close, you were still wasting him because he was always that good.
Be bad, get McKenna, and, you know, whatever about the organization, if that's a good landing place for him.
But in terms of what you said, the league.
And maybe that'd be fun for him, dude.
Fucking big app.
He's like, I'm number one overall pick to the New York blue shirt Rangers.
They don't have the best track record with developing youth and top picks, but C, whatever.
Laffy, comma, Alex.
The one other one I thought would be cool, and I would pull shoot immediately if I was them,
even though they are through 10 games five and five with 10 points, the Vancouver Canucks.
You aren't good.
You're not going to make playoffs.
Be bad.
Get Gavin McKenna, a WHL kid to go slide over to Vancouver and have a wonderful life and bring that franchise.
The fear there is if you do that.
And Quinn leaves.
Quinn goes by.
But you'd think that would help him stay.
You think he'd be like, oh, sick.
I disagree.
If this team, like, all of a sudden was just like, and we're last place, he'd be like,
yeah.
Okay, fucking peace out.
Yep.
I mean, they were, where did they finish last year, dude?
Pretty low.
I'm going to check right now.
Pretty low.
Because they stunk.
Last year, in the division visuals, they finished fifth in the,
Pacific, so not that bad.
And if they went out worse, yeah, he'd be mad.
But he's going to fucking leave anyway, dude. He's going to leave
anyway. You need McKenna. In fact, now
that I'm thinking about it, he's leaving even if you make playoffs
because he wants to go play with his brothers. Full stop.
So get McKenna. This is actually
the only way to save your franchise. Get Gavin
McKenna. Isn't it crazy?
Just talking about the Bruins again for a second.
Second of last in the East
through 10 games. Pasta
has 13 points. Zaka has 9.
Geiki has 8. Elias.
Lindholm has 7.
Lurye and McAvoy both have six.
Sway is sitting at a 2.85 goals against and a 9-10 save percentage.
Like vibes.
Dude, from the bottom up, flame sharks, obviously front runners to be last right now.
Blues Wild, wild, I said, but blues, that one's shocking to me.
Rags Bruins.
And then, like, when you're in like to Tampa, Columbus, Toronto.
I think they're all going to make runs.
Wild and Blues fans, I'm sure, are like worst.
And the Blues have only played eight games, I should say.
Where's Calgary in here?
Glass.
Flame Sharks.
Blue's wild.
But blues and wild fans,
justifiably,
I believe, still feel like we're in it.
Yeah.
I mean, and again,
someone said in the chat,
like, guys, it's eight games.
100%.
But so blues and wild fans
aren't going,
this season's over.
Yeah.
But I'm saying,
Rangers and Bruins fans,
you should be saying that.
Definitely.
Sharks,
Sharks, Flames,
you should be saying that.
Tampa, I'll give you grace.
Toronto,
I'll give you grace,
Columbus.
Maybe.
We're only 10 games in,
but I would like to take
this opportunity to apologize to you.
four about the Minnesota Wild
and listen
I said the mammoth
would have a hard time making playoffs
I said the
how unacceptable is this
I said the cracking would be horrible
you know I was wrong about that
but I am glad the two that I'm really happy about
was I was like the flames
are going to be bad
and then
and by the way I'm not happy about these things
just the calls
I was like I think flames are going to be really bad
and I think the wow they're going to have a hard time
so thank you
it's so unacceptable and I think we're going to see some like drastic there's plenty
time I got a personal DM from a kid that's a wild fan yeah he's DM my personal and he was like
dude I'm so devastated but like massive credit to you on that wild call yeah and I DM the back and I
go dude how many times we said I mean hockey in Minnesota is incredible I want Minnesota hockey to be
good and the poor people of Minnesota across all sports deserve something I want the wild to be good
I just was like they might have a hard time this year
and they are but as I told him
and I'll tell you now
just get it going get it going
you saw the HABs do it last year you're okay
it's not over but they got it
their D is just absolutely
miserable
minus 11 gold diff is just not it
that's probably pretty close to worst
in the league let me check that
but hey Krill has 14 points
Flame sharks wild are the
from worst
up worst gold if
tough brutal
okay so that
is our hot ice segment.
This is the first time we've done this.
We're doing hot ice live on Mondays.
We're going to stop the live.
We're going to keep recording and put that all in the episode for Tuesday.
So anything, if you miss this, you can catch it on Tuesday.
The episode drops will still be there for your morning commute and all that stuff.
But if you guys are liking these, we're going to keep trying to do them on Monday
to give you a little action coming out of the weekend because just like you, we're back to
work and we're ready to talk hockey.
We're always recording in this window anyway, so we wanted to give it to you.
Hope that was fun.
get some merch.
Yeah, get some merch.
Rockin the new lids that we got up
on the store right now.
CP's got the Legends of 94T.
Also, guys, subscribe
to the fucking YouTube.
If you are a fan of this show,
if you're on Twitter right now,
watch and we love you guys on Twitter,
go to the YouTube and subscribe
to the Netters YouTube right now.
There's tonsy in there.
Go do it.
And for those in the chat,
who are saying,
retell the Sid's story,
because apparently there was something going on with the audio.
Don't worry, it'll be in the pod tomorrow.
You'll hear it in the morning.
So pop onto the pod tomorrow, get the full thing,
you'll hear of that story, it'll be great.
Amazing.
We'll see you.
How do we sign off?
Because this isn't the pod sign off, so we can't do the big thing.
This isn't the pod sign up, but for the lives, we love you.
Okay, well, we'll go with we love you today.
I think we'll just do, we don't need a sign off.
Okay.
I think it's just a peace out.
Boom.
Peace out.
The biggest college basketball event outside of March is coming to Vegas this November.
And of course, Bet MGM has you hooked up because they hook us up.
They help you up.
It's a great, beautiful, beautiful thing.
They're going to send 25 winners to their guests to experience it live.
Okay?
It's the Players era in Vegas leaderboard contest.
It runs from October 20th to November 9th.
And during that period, you can opt in and earn points.
And it's very, very easy.
All right.
All you have to do is place sports bets.
So step one, opt into the contest and start placing bets on any sport.
It needs to be at least a $10 bet and the odds need to be at least
plus 100. Step two, you just earn leaderboard points based on your bets, odds, and the
outcome. So win those bets, baby, earn more points. Step three, the top 25 players are going to
win a prize package. It includes tickets to the tournament games. It includes a withdrawalable
funds for your travel, and it includes a four-night stay at Mandalay Bay. Plus more.
Vegas's call and boys and girls, pick up the phone, all right? So you head to the promotions
tab at betmgm.com for full prising and terms. Check it out right.
Now.
See BenmGM.com for terms.
21 plus only.
This promotional offer is not available in New York, Nevada,
Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800 gambler.
Call 8778-8 HOPE-N-Y or text HOPENY from New York.
Call 1-800 next step for Arizona.
1-800-327-50 from Massachusetts.
1-800-off for Iowa.
1-800-981-00-2023 for Puerto Rico.
Subject to eligibility requirements,
rewards are non-moddrable bonus bets that expire in seven days,
in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
Welcome back to the METters.
podcast. Hope you enjoyed our live of hot ice for the first time. If you didn't, you can go check it out,
but it's actually here. So if you're listening to it, just you already heard it and it's fine.
But for those of you listening to the pod on Tuesday morning, we are now doing the hot ice portion
live Monday morning. So if you're itching for the quicker hockey news, go check it out next week,
but you still get it here on Tuesday, baby. It's fantastic. Now for the not ice segment of this
portion of the podcast, Dan, the biggest news of the week, of the past week for me,
sports news, I should say, was this NBA gambling saga.
Dude, people going to jail.
People go to jail, dude.
People straight up in cuffs.
That's unbelievable.
One of our good buddies, Pierce works for the NBA, and we were texts.
I was like, dude, what's good?
And I'm not even going to tell you what he said.
But, you know, it's in the news.
He said nothing.
Nothing.
No, I'm saying, you said, what's good?
He said literally nothing.
So like Terry Rozier's in jail.
He left to jail.
Chauncey Billups in jail?
Johnsy Billups.
LeBron is a liar.
LeBron liar, cheater, cheater, cheetah.
That, oh my God.
It's a bummer because nothing will happen to him,
but it would have been so incredible if LeBron was just like the biggest offender of this.
He skated the ditty shit, and then he gets busted for point shaving.
Is my guy Paul Pierce involved in this?
I don't know. Paul Pierce involved in everything, so that's always what's freaking me out.
But I think, shockingly, he's, like, not involved in this.
You know what, dude?
I think Paul Pierce just plays, like, poker with his boys in the basement smoking blunts.
Yeah, true.
Whereas, like, these guys are at, like, rigged games.
And Paul's like, yeah, just smoke in your basement.
Like, I think he doesn't fuck with this shit.
Do online.
Yeah.
So, mostly, it's about tanking games so guys, buddies can bet on them, you know?
Yeah.
Because, like, you know injury news.
It's like someone's sitting out before it goes public, so you're like, hey, bet on this because
the three starters are sitting.
Yeah.
And then guys do.
And then the injury comes out of the odds change and whatever.
That's the most of it.
Dude, there was a clip actually on Sports Hub back in Boston from 2023.
Okay.
Joe Murray, I think it was.
Bet on the Celtics against the Trailblazers coached by Billups.
Okay.
The line was nine and a half.
Okay.
The Blazers, Murray had the Blazers in this game.
And the Blazers are losing by eight.
So he will win the bet, right?
Because he has Blazers plus nine and a half.
The Blazers are losing by eight.
And there's six seconds left in the game.
In an NBA game, in a regular season NBA game, by the way.
I know they foul a lot of the end.
There's six seconds left, and that game is over.
And the Celtics inbound the ball to Peyton Pritchard,
and two Trailblazers come flying in and foul him,
and they have a foul to give.
so it's, or actually they foul someone and they have a foul to give so it's not even free throws.
So it's like foul and the Celtics have to inbound again.
They inbound again to Peyton Pritchard and then they they race him immediate foul to free throws,
Celtics by 10.
And you can see Billups on the sideline like this, foul, foul, foul, and Joe Murray's like,
what, dude?
And he, in the clip Dan on October in 2020, or in, I forgot a month it is, but it's
2023, he's going like this.
I bet Blazers in this game and like something's,
smells fishy about what happened last night.
People were being like, what, dude?
And he's like, I'm just saying, like, I was watching the game.
That literally makes no sense unless you knew the line.
Yeah.
They were trying to move it.
And everyone was like, you're an idiot.
Two years later, they're like, Chauncy Billups has been arrested for shaving points
in NBA games.
And I was like, dude, don't talk to me.
Sharp, dude, sharp.
Criminal?
Call right there.
So, Billups, though, beyond the point shaving, is caught up in like a poker scandal.
Yeah.
Molly's game style.
I don't know if you've seen that movie, everybody.
But Molly's game style, but even bigger.
dudes chiming in being like, I lost $10 million
attending those poker games over a few years.
Nate on Barstool, who's a big poker guy,
he said, I thought this was a really cool comment.
He was like, the reason you lose that much,
because I see people being like,
how are you keep going back if you're losing and losing?
He goes, because you're losing to people who are cheating
win hands that they shouldn't have been in.
So you go, you don't assume they're cheating.
So you go, they are a terrible poker player.
Yeah.
And they got so lucky.
I am a good poker player.
So if I just keep going back, I eventually will clean this play.
Because there's millions of dollars.
Yeah, yeah, got it.
So you just keep going back because you're like, they're horrible.
Little do you know.
But they're cheating.
Yeah.
Have you seen the pictures of the basketball shit?
No, of the poker shit.
No.
I didn't even know poker was involved in this shit.
Bro, he's running like a rigged game.
People were saying that that crazy, what was that,
there was that like J.R. Smith-Lebron play
where like the
Remember that play
When like LeBron is his like
Hands are on his head
And he's looking at J.R.
Like what the fuck are you doing?
That was part of it
Well no people are saying like
J.R. was doing some shit
And LeBron is like
LeBron did nothing wrong in this play
Like he was being like
What are you doing?
But it was J.R. being like
We can't get more points.
Yeah dude
J.R. was in on it dude.
Yeah.
That's what people are assuming.
So dude
They are wearing sunglasses
While they play poker
and there's in black light on the back of the cards what it is.
Oh my God.
So it gets dealt and then you just see...
They just see what cards are out there.
You see every card.
You can see Queen.
Oh, my God.
So you just see everything on the car.
Oh, this is insane.
Yeah, so they are literally running like insanity rigged.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So people are making the worst bets ever.
There's like an X-ray table that like Billups can see.
Like, this is fucked.
And dude, that's wild.
I'm actually wondering if you're safe or in jail.
If you're doing shit like that.
You might be, bro.
I'm really in poker games.
I'm actually wondering if you're safe or in jail.
So, Dan, this got me thinking how shocked I would be if this had been an NHL story.
I know.
Like, if there was like, oh, the NHL guys are rigging $10 million poker games with
like rich people, like massive celebrities.
And I was like, that is so funny.
So I wanted to go.
but you never know, right?
Like, I wouldn't have guessed
Chaunty Billis was doing this.
So you never know.
Maybe there's an insane rigged
fucking card game
in the back of the plane
and someone's lose a ton of money.
But I'm going to play
an association game with you now.
Yeah.
Where I'm going to give you a player
and then I want you to come up
with a crime scandal
that they are most likely to be caught up.
Oh, I like it.
Okay.
Al a twisted senior superlative.
So, for example,
I'm going to give you two examples
to get your mind right.
Yes.
I could say Logan Thompson.
And then maybe you would say like
cars, shop shop.
Yeah, he's got a chop shop, chop, chop.
Or maybe it is like a used car salesman front.
You know, he's like a car dealership.
Or I could see L.T is just like a badass, fast and the furious type of guy.
He's boosting cars.
Oh, yes.
Okay.
He's Don's a dom.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Or, for example, I could say, um, uh, QB.
And you could say some sort of jewelry.
He's got a chate.
He's got a jeweler and they're actually, uh, CZ, the Cubic Zarkonia.
He's selling diamonds to people.
Bro.
Don't put that on him.
I'm just saying these are...
You would never be a CZ kind of guy.
You could say that.
You could say that.
Okay.
You ready?
Yeah.
Jack Hughes.
What could Jack Jack be involved in?
Uh, I know Jack Jack loves his clothes.
I could see Jack Jack being involved in...
He's in Jersey.
Yeah.
He's amazing.
This sopranos.
territory, dude.
Yeah.
Jack, Jack,
this is what it is.
Jack, Jack and Luke
open up a Jersey
water ice
restaurant.
And it turns out
that in the back
of that,
they're laundering money
in their water ice,
like I'm doing the pronunciation.
Yeah, you are,
yeah.
In the water ice
shop in Jersey,
down on the
Jersey Shore, they're laundering money for the fact that they've got an illegal, I'm not going to put anything bad on these guys, shoe operation.
They're buying Jordans from Asia.
No, right off the truck.
Right off the truck, and they're selling them to Asia.
Yep.
Yeah, that's it.
They've got an illegal Jays business.
Brothers.
And they laundered the money through their water ice shop.
Dude, it's been so hard for Quinn to see.
That's why he's trying to get to Jersey.
Yeah.
Because he goes, both you guys are making more money than me.
And then also what's going on with this water ice business?
No, wait, Dan.
Wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait.
Quinn is the, it's easier to shit.
No, no, no, wait, I got it.
It's easier to shit.
No, no, stop it.
I got it, I got it, I got it.
Scratch everything.
I had one, too, for him.
So I'm curious if you go the same direction as me.
Jack, Jack, and Luke are working with the Russians.
Russian scientists
on a new
highly funded
but highly risky cloning
business
and they're working on making a Quinn clone
to send to Vancouver
so they can get the real Quinn in Jersey
does the Quinn clone play
so there's two queens in the league
we've actually, Quinn is at a twin
we found this crazy Russian
he's playing in the KHL sign him
yeah good swap
I thought it was going to be
I thought Jack was going to get start
With the brothers
We're going to start a
They love their gato
I thought they were going to start
One of those like
Logan Paul has like
Prime
Yeah messy he's got his fucking thing
Yeah
Like Jack and the boys have a
We had a new energy drink
Yeah yeah
But I'm like this is no
This is no good
This is no good
No they're in a cloning business
They're going to create a Quinn clone
He's going to play
One game in the KHL
Then they're going to sign him
To the devil's to a rookie contract
and they're going to call up Vancouver and go, hey, it's just Quinn.
Let's do a trade one for one.
It's a great deal for you.
Easy for you.
You get your Quinn, but we get our Quinn.
Yep.
That's what they're doing.
Okay, next player.
Brent Burns.
100% Brent Burns is running an illegal hunting operation.
I was going to say to say.
Where they're hunting humans.
I was going to say it.
Brent Burns.
I wasn't going to go humans.
Brent Burns ships in.
Ships in dangerous criminals
From around the world who are on death row
They bring them to his ranch
And then he and the boys hunt them for sport
Dude I 100% though was going that it was a
It was like a hunting of either
And what's fucked is he actually loves animals so much
Yeah he respects the beast
I was either going to go
Like hunting it like an endangered species
He's like we hunt Siberian tigers
Or it was simply like outside of hunting season
violations. Like he has a crew, an underground crew that they bring. And he's like, yeah, we hunt
here in the off season because like no one's supposed to be out here. And it's like, it's a whole
ring, dude. He's got to ground the country. Import dangerous criminals. And then they do the most
dangerous game on his branch. That's all summer, dude. Everyone's like, Bernie's ranch, the meats.
Yeah. The meats he serves there are exotic. Yeah. And I'm like, yeah, it's thigh. It's human.
You went to cannibalism? Oh, yeah, dude. I wasn't going to go that hard.
Okay. Your next player.
Carill Caprizov.
Mals.
For sure, Mals.
He is buying the Mall of America, turning it into the Kremlin, and then he's going to illegally import Russian goods and start selling them all over the state of Minnesota and then turning it into Minneapolis, St. Petersburg.
Yeah.
We've already done this.
Minneapolis, St. Petersburg.
Minneapolis, St. Petersburg.
But I think I like Minneapolis, St. Petersburg more.
little bit of both. Yeah, yeah. But we've already discussed this, but that's, he is doing that.
I think it's a political play. I think he gets caught up. Putin is paved the way. And he's paved the way to be a hockey playing president. And Krill's like, oh, that sounds amazing. See, I just, I think Krill is like, fuck you, dude. Yeah. Well, he would never say that to Putin. I think he might. No, don't you put that in his mouth. I think he is his own man. Don't he put that in his mouth. He's his own man. I think Krill's building an illegal
underground underwater tunnel from Minnesota to Russia, getting people under the tyranny of Putin.
Out from under the tyranny, bringing them in.
Bringing Russians.
Thus making Minnesota, Minneapolis, St. Petersburg.
Okay.
I'm actually into that one.
He's a hero.
He's a trafficker, is what he is.
Yes.
But a good kind.
He's the good trafficker.
He's the good traffic.
Okay, your next player, Willie Nealander.
Willie Nealander is...
God, I love him.
He's Jacoby Magatu.
I was going, yes, dude, yes.
He's slowly going to dabble more into the fashion world.
He is going to make fashion more mainstream in the hockey space and in the NHL.
It's going to start becoming an event-based thing.
Little dude, we know, he's actually using the fashion to brainwash models to
assassinate the Prime Minister of Malaysia.
Dude, he and his Derek Zoolander is Austin Matthews.
Like, literally he has been getting Poppy more and more into fashion until he will use
him up and spit him out and abandon him.
Dude, he will...
Keeps him in excellent shape.
Yes.
The derelicts campaign, dude.
When we see now, now that the players don't have to wear suits to games, when we see
Austin Matthews show up to a game looking like a garbage man in the Darylake campaign, we
know that it's over.
We're like, oh no.
Dude, hey, hey, hey.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Someone snap him out of this.
He said brainwashed.
Yeah.
100%.
Do not play that.
What's the song?
Relax.
Yeah.
If Relax starts playing at any point at Scotia Bank and Austin has arrived to the game looking like a trash bag.
Looking derelict.
Where something very poor is happening.
Matthews needs to make that his goal song.
That would be so funny.
Matthews needs to make Relax his goal song.
And then we will know that they've been brainwashed.
But maybe they need a brainwashing to, you know, like when you have it, when you're a smoker, you're like, I need to get hypnotized to become a smoker. When you are a playoff choker, not that he is, but when the Leafs always lose, maybe they need to be brainwashed. That's possible. If you believe that they are doing this, who better to brainwash them than Jacobie McGatoo, Willie Nealander. Jokobobeam Nealander. Jopobeam Nealander. Mold your Zoolander. Mold your Zoolander. Mold your Zulander. It's been right in front of us the whole time. That is incredible, dude. Okay, and your last one, I know this one is so easy for me.
Your last one, Nate Dog.
Nathan McKinnon is, he's MK. Ultra.
No, he's Hydra.
Nathan McKinnon is also a bit of brainwash.
Yeah.
But he's turning people into super soldiers.
All this like no soda, no junk food.
He's actually better than that.
He's implementing all this stuff into the team cafes,
and he's poisoning, not poisoning, but he's,
drugging the food
and he's turning everyone
on Colorado
into super soldiers
to take over the NHL
take over the world
dude when you get to
ASCamp
Nate throws a grenade
and see who jumps on it
like every day's like
he's like
he's looking for super soldiers
mine was going to be
similar made
but you took it even better
a like
guru
you know he's like a Tony Ryan
he's like
oh yeah he's like a cult leader
a cult leader
yeah
like Nate
Nate is like, come here and do this is how we do things here.
It's a community.
That's a good one.
I think he's too intense.
That's why he's not lovy-dovey.
Yeah, right.
He wouldn't be able to bring him the women and children.
Yeah.
But he would attract a certain.
Yes.
He is Hydra, though.
But he is hydra.
Nate is a cult leader.
If they found out, they're like crazy story just broke, Nate is a cult leader.
And there's been.
He's a sleeper.
He's the winter soldier.
In Colorado, dude.
Maybe that's what Nate.
Nate is the winter soldier.
name should be winter soldier. Yeah, yeah. Winter Soldier is Nate's new nickname. God, dude. We have
Austin Matthews is Derek Zoolander and Nate McKinnon is the Winter Soldier. Correct.
That, some great things came out of that. That brings me great joy.
Well, thank God we don't have a cheating scandal. Hopefully, George Phillips is to be safer in jail.
We don't have any gambling scandals, but by God, we've got some significantly crazier scandals going
on the NHL. That's a perfect transition into an ad break to end this craziness, and we'll be right
back.
Babes, I want to talk to you really quick about the best nicotine in the game, and that is Lucy.
This is scientifically crafted.
Unbelievable, clean nicotine, always tobacco-free, giving you the best flavors and the best delivery systems in the world.
You can do the pouches.
You can do the breakers if you want a little bit of extra flavor.
They are giving you milligrams from 4 to 8 to 12, depending on what type of buzz you're looking for.
And I mentioned those flavors, the mint, the winter green, unbelievable.
I'm in a steady rotation of those.
I'm making a switch to espresso coming here in the fall.
It's getting a little colder.
You want that nice, lovely, warm coffee feeling.
I'm not even a coffee drinker.
So that's how I get my fix.
It's great.
And the best part about Lucy is you can take it whenever you're in the need of any sort of feeling.
You want to get laser focused like I do on the golf course.
I pop in a Lucy.
I'm birdie hunting.
I need to get really dialed in.
Boom.
I throw a pouch in all of a sudden,
whew, I'm seeing laser vision.
It's unbelievable.
You also want to relax, take it easy.
I sometimes pop one in after dinner.
Don't want to have any dessert.
Stay tight.
Stay fit.
Pop in a Lucy.
I get a nice chill buzz going on while I'm watching my stories, things like that.
It's fantastic.
You want to get a buzz while you're out.
Perfect for that as well.
Lucy's taking care of you in all of those areas.
It is fantastic.
So this is what you're going to do, guys.
You're going to go to lucy.com slash Friday.
You're going to use promo code Friday to get 20% off.
of your first order. Lucy has a 30-day refund policy. So if you change your mind, you can do that.
Again, it's lucy.co, notcom.com.com and use code Friday to get 20% off. Also, this is important
to remember, Lucy products are only for adults of legal age, and every customer is age-verified.
This is also a product that contains nicotine, and nicotine is an addictive chemical.
Join the Lucy train today. Go to that site. Lucy.
dot co slash Friday promo code Friday 20% off your first order get there now you guys know dp and i are
always given olds a hard time on this show but here's the bad news we're olds now okay that's the
reality and listen getting old isn't as fun as it sounds it's actually not fun at all everything
starts being harder my joints are stiff it's i can't get to the gym my skin my hair everything okay
but that's where bubs naturals collagen peptides come in because they're going to help you
turn back the clock
When you hit your mid-20s, your collagen production starts to naturally decline in your body.
But Bubbs' natural collagen peptides are going to fix that for you, all right?
They're going to help you restore collagen levels closer to what they were in your youth.
Everything's going to feel strong.
Your joints are going to be better.
Your hair and nails are going to grow healthier.
And it's going to be amazing because I've been loving it.
Listen, you guys know, I've always got the flow.
It's coming back.
I had my one yearly haircut, and that's where Bubbs helps me the most because I can see it.
I can see it in my skin, my hair, the glow.
My glow is coming back.
And it's so good for the joints, too.
Honestly, we're always trying to work out and stay fit and stay active.
And it's just like, you, Dan always makes fun of me.
I'm creaky coming out of bed in the morning.
This stuff helps so much.
And it's such a good product.
There's no junk.
There's zero sugars, sweeteners, fillers, anything like that.
It's sustainably sourced, third party tested.
It mixes seamlessly with coffee, water, smoothies.
There's no bad taste that comes with it.
So you can check it out.
They've served over 100,000 happy customers.
And they were voted Best Collagen by Help.com in 20.
24. So how are you? So what I want you to do is live better longer. For a limited time only,
our listeners are getting 20% off at Bub's Naturals by using code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S at checkout.
Just head to B-U-B-S-Natrals.com and use code netters and you're all set. After you purchase,
they're going to ask you where you heard about them. And if you could please, please support
our show and show us some love and tell them that empty netters sent you. That goes a long way.
are going to love it. Bubs donates 10% of all of its properties to the charity in their founder's
honor, starting with the Glenn Dorney Memorial Foundation. What a cause. Go check out Bubs Naturals
right now. We are back and it's time for a beer league hotline. I'm going to read it this week.
Are you ready? I am and I do want to say moving forward, producer Sean is going to be just
dropping panties with the eyes of the accent as he reads these beer league hotlines and I can't wait.
Okay, here we go.
I work with a guy who is a beer league diehard.
Hands out a player of the game award, runs the team Instagram account,
the wags wear team merch, etc.
One day, the guys at work see he shares the stat sheet from his game on his Insta.
Five goals, two assists in a 7-1 win.
We start giving him a hard time about bragging about it because he plays in the D division.
He then makes a statement that it's harder to score five goals than get a hole in one.
The office is full of golfers.
Everyone loses their mind saying he's an idiot.
Then the guy goes,
how many of you have hole in once,
to which a few guys raise their hand?
Then, how many of you guys have scored five goals in a game?
Crickets.
Does he have a point, or is he a lunatic?
I want to call him a lunatic.
I want to call him a lunatic.
And he can be, I want to say that he can be a lunatic and right.
Yeah.
Based on some of this previous shit.
Yeah.
I mean, it's,
Listen.
Do you assume he means any level, right?
Like any level.
The D-League part is what I was thinking about.
Because listen.
Five goals is five goals.
It's five goals.
Yeah.
Maybe he's not that crazy.
I'm trying to think about our beer league.
I'm trying to think if there's anyone on our team who has scored five in a game.
I don't think so.
Actually, I swear Lackie got six one night.
No.
He did get four, though.
He got four.
Yeah.
Five goals is a lot.
But I think if, yeah, man, have you ever scored five in anything?
Yeah.
I think in like, actually once in like in my end.
I mean, I scored five in like, you know, youth hockey.
Yeah.
So like I think that counts though.
And you have a hole in one.
So you've hit both.
I help his argument.
I've hit the goals.
I don't have a hole in one.
So it's like, I don't think, is it harder?
Yeah.
So he might be wrong that it's harder, but it's closer than I think initially.
And you know what's really impressive by this guy?
This statement has done a great job of distracting everybody from all of this other shit.
The bullshit from the beginning, dude.
That's what I mean.
He is a lunatic.
You are a lunatic.
And I want to say, though, if you, some people get mad about Beer League, like,
player of the game awards
and sketchy. I actually remember when Demco
would do that for our soccer shit? I actually loved that.
It was just fun. If it wasn't no CNN at Demco's...
If you send it to the team email,
cool, fun, whatever. Yes.
If the Beer League has a website that tracks stats,
fine, cool, whatever.
Sharing it on your Instagram,
on your social media is fucking lunacy.
That is why you're a lunatic. I actually don't mind it all.
The wags, where the merch is crazy,
but I actually love that they come to the games
and wear merch. It's so cool.
You've got the ladies in your life coming and supporting you.
And also, I always think this, it's like a fun way to spend more time together.
That's really cool.
I think that's great.
The social media is mental.
Mental.
So that one, I will not get past you because it is, you are bragging.
And he's like, you are bragging?
He's like, I have five and two in my fucking seven one win in the D league.
And I'm like, you can fucking take that off your Instagram, dude.
Got it.
But I guess people put.
We love, I mean, is there anyone who champions beer?
Beer League more than us.
No.
No.
But Beer League cannot be something that you are posting on social media about as far as your stats
and what you have done in the game.
If you want to post an embarrassing video from Beer League, that's fine.
But like bragging about beer league is crazy.
Oof.
Crazy work.
I even get annoyed when guys, like when we win the league or even when we win in Roller and guys
pop it up on like the Instagram story, I don't share it because I'm like.
Wrong.
Five in a game is sick.
A hole in one is harder.
Maybe less rare to his point, but I still think a hole in one is harder,
which I think maybe is actually an oxymoron and I maybe didn't make any sense.
But it is literally harder to hit a golf ball 100 and some odd yards into a fucking
cup than it is to score five times in a game.
I don't know.
Fuck.
You're a lunatic, dude.
You are a lunatic.
Because it's right.
But you, God damn it, you might be right.
What I'd like to say is like you've got to be good at golf to get a hole in one.
but unfortunately, that's not even true.
Oh, yeah, correct.
Fucking Laz at our tournament this summer almost hit two hole in this.
I know.
And Las is like, I don't even golf.
Yeah.
So it's like, they're both very hard.
They're both very hard.
They're both very hard.
I'm probably leaning towards a hole in one.
You might, no, he might be right.
You might be right, but you are a lunatic.
You are a lunatic.
Take the stats down.
But buddy, you got a point.
You got a point, but take the stats down.
Yeah.
All right, we're going to do a blind ranking.
Producer Sean's mic's not on, but he's going to say them.
We'll repeat them.
Yep.
We're going to do blind ranking.
rookies through 10 games.
Perfect. Sean, give us the first name.
Ryan Leonard is the first name.
And God, I love his game and I think he's going to be a star, but I could go low here.
I could go low.
In fact, I might even go five.
Same, dude.
Like, I can't believe.
If you had told me preseason, where would I have Ryan Leonard among the rookies in a blind
ranking through 10 games, I would never have allowed you to say five. But right now,
yeah, I think he's got like five in ten, five and nine or something like that. He's doing stuff,
but he's great. Yeah, yeah, he's great. But a lot of these rookies are buzzing. I'm going,
let's go five. Damn, you think? Let's take the floor away, dude. Okay, let's do it. Five.
All right, Sean, next name. Okay. Next one, Zeeboyam.
Hi, but not the guy, Michael.
four. No, no, no. I might go four, Dan. He's, he only has produced on the powerplay. He's a
dash seven, I think. He's a dash eight. He's a dash eight. He's a dash eight and there and last. But he's got
eight points in ten games for a defenseman. Power play, power play, power play, power play, power play,
Power play, power play, power play, power play. We're calling him a merchant. We're calling him a
merchant. Dash eight. Dash eight is bad. I don't like that at all. You know I don't like that.
You hate that. You hate that. I just help you. I hate that. Four. Um, four. Four. This is, this is crazy.
Yes.
Okay, Sean, next name.
At Jimmy Snuggarood?
Yes.
You fucked up.
No.
Yes.
No, no, no, no, no, no.
You have fucked up.
The next one is Jimmy Snuggarood.
How many points does he have?
I think six.
I think he has three and three and three in eight.
Eight or nine.
Eight.
He has three and three and eight.
He's scoring goals.
He looks incredible.
You have fucked up.
No, I haven't.
This is perfect.
No, no, no.
Don't act like, don't act like this has gone so great.
This is great.
This is excellent.
Three.
This is excellent.
Three, but you're a scumbus.
Everything is working up perfectly.
Three.
Okay, next name.
Emmett Finney.
Two.
And I love them.
And I love them.
And I love them.
Perfect hockey player, four and four.
Same with Jimmy Snuggrood.
And God damn is he bringing energy, dude.
Look at us, dude.
Jimmy Snuggard three and three at three.
Emmett Finney, four and four at two.
Emmett Finney is all gas, no breaks.
And I fucking love it.
And they're buzzing.
He's buzzing.
They needed that youth.
This, Dan, this is going so well.
I actually am having heart palpitations.
He's a two, and I absolutely love it.
I might even go one to be safe.
Nope, nope, nope.
We're going to go two.
Sean, give us the last name.
Sean, you did it.
It's literally Ivan Deminoff, number one, perfect answer.
Got to be, well, Schaefer's been incredible,
but one of, like right there for a leader in the coiff at one,
rookie of the year.
Hey, of the names that were given, that's how blind ranking works.
That was a very sell.
Also, maybe the first time in the history of this,
this show. We've gone five, four, three, two, one. And it worked. Should we do that every time?
I don't know. I think I would probably swap Zeev and Jimmy. This, this, that might have been the
most flawless list. I don't know how to say no to what I. That might have been the most flawless
as we've ever made. No, it's not. We've had some perfect list. That was perfect list. No, we've had
some perfect list. I'm not ready to call that one perfect, but that was very good. That was perfect.
Sean, well done. Really, really solid stuff. Okay. That's going to do it for this episode of the
empty Nettors podcast. Hope you enjoyed the live portion. Anyone who tuned into the live, absolutely
love it. Make sure to tune in to tomorrow for Netters College Puck Drop. Sacks and merch.
Go subscribe to the YouTube. We love you guys until we see you many times later on this week.
There's only one thing to do. Skate hard.
