Empty Netters Podcast - The Oilers Comeback And Steal Game 1 One In Overtime | EP.200

Episode Date: June 5, 2025

It’s scenes in Edmonton!! The Panthers looked like they were the team that was different but it turns out that was always the Oilers. Erasing a two goal deficit and then being absolutely unstoppable... in overtime. They are now in the driver seat to end the drought and give Connor his first cup. PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some LONG DRINK. Check out https://thelongdrink.com/AlmostFriday/ Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BetMGM. And before we get into anything, before we get into anything that went on in that game, we've got to just say real quick, to 200 episodes. Episode 200 of the Empty Netters Pod. Pretty sick. Pretty sick. and it comes on Stanley Cup final live instant reaction. You shitting me? A lot of things fell into place today.
Starting point is 00:00:35 Game one of the Stanley Cup final. Do we have to do like, I'm your host and I'm Chris, since this is a pod? Nah. Okay. I just don't want to get chirp, but not saying it as always because you didn't say shit. Yeah, I mean, I didn't say anything. Okay. Okay.
Starting point is 00:00:51 There's a lot of emotions. Here we are. 200 episodes. Like I said, a lot of things fell in. into place. Game one, Stanley Cup final, rematch, Edmonton Oilers, Florida Panthers. It's a Wednesday. We got to post Ices ready today. It's our 200th episode. We're going live right here in our place in Edmonton. We've kept the balcony door open so you can hear the insanity going on outside. People honking their horns screaming, start and let's go, Oilers' chance. This shit is out of control,
Starting point is 00:01:24 folks. And yes, we are live here at 1036. P.m. Mountain time? Are we in Mountain Time? I don't even know. Do they call it that in Canada? Well, we're in the one hour faster than Pacific. Yeah. We're one hour faster than L.A.
Starting point is 00:01:40 That's all I know about that. But here we are, folks. It was always Oilers, Panthers. Yep. It was always overtime. And it was always Leon. And it was always Snaps. Wow.
Starting point is 00:01:52 Quick shout out to Snaps. Sponsoring these lives. Yeah. Which they're getting credit for because we're going live right here. I don't even know if we're going to do this. But quick shout out to snaps. They made us this sick lid. They're my favorite golf hat now because you have your ball marker snapped right to your head.
Starting point is 00:02:06 It's incredible. You can get NHL teams. You can get Panthers. You can get Oilers. We got an ice is ready one, which is amazing. And if you don't even have a Snap Hat, they sell a thing that goes, what do you call this? I don't know the size. That's crazy.
Starting point is 00:02:18 This must have a name. You know how like the top of your shoelace has a name? Like that thing is called something. Oh, it does. Doesn't it? Yeah. And like this must have a name. Well, you can buy.
Starting point is 00:02:28 one of those that has the snap clip on. It was right on to you had already. Check out snaps. Sick. Folks, holy shit, man. Holy shit. Like we said,
Starting point is 00:02:37 we're here in Edmonton. Unbelievable stuff going on here. This game was everything that you could have wanted. The scenes in Edmonton were out of control. Shout out smokes barbecue. We went there. Had an unbelievable meal right before the game. Shout to the boys at the pint for getting us all set up.
Starting point is 00:02:55 We'll be there later. but the scenes in Edmonton it's everything you hear everything you hear so much madness so much energy i've said it before i've never seen more jerseys anywhere in my life dude it's so fucking crazy like you get into rogers every every two two out of three people are wearing a jersey more i wish i'd taken a picture yeah it might be three out of four it's fucking crazy it's an mens jersey on every person i actually thought we were getting weird looks because i didn't have a jersey. People would look at you and I'd be like, I don't have a jersey.
Starting point is 00:03:28 It is truly like three out of four people have a jersey on. The energy here is just out of control. And you know what has been funny? I want to get this off my chest right off the bat. We have been, I think people forget. I don't know what it is. I don't know if it's because we love interacting with the fan so much. We talk to people so much.
Starting point is 00:03:51 We get accused of loving. and hating teams more than anyone I know. Yeah. And I don't understand it. And, and, but again, I think it's because we engage so much. I need everyone to remember, we're a national show. Right. But this is not a Florida Panthers show.
Starting point is 00:04:09 This is not an Edmonton Oilers show. This is not an L.A. King's show. Like, we just, we cover the whole league. And how many fucking times do I need to tell you people? I am a sell sword. Yeah, Dan is. I just want, I just want people to be happy. so when we are lucky enough to be invited to these games to go to different cities,
Starting point is 00:04:29 and I'm surrounded by lunatic Oilers fans standing in Rogers Place, you think I'm going to root for another team in their face? No, it's like we just stand there and have fun. We've said it a million times. Did we grow up Bruins fans? Yes. Dude, I don't love or hate any team in the league anymore. I genuinely don't.
Starting point is 00:04:46 I just love good hockey. I love good players and I love good people. Yes. So if you're a good person, Yeah, yeah. That's kind of what I mean. I'm going to root for you. But it has been hilarious.
Starting point is 00:04:57 The amount of accusations of being an Oilers hater that we've got all playoffs. When I have picked this team every single fucking game since game two against L.A., I've been like, the Oilers are winning. They are inevitable. I made a fucking shirt for you guys. And then, like, we're reacting to the game. Like, we're tweeting live during the game. And I'm like, like, Oilers are all over.
Starting point is 00:05:23 over them and they were. I'm like, oilers are buzzing. They're all over the cat. There were just cats fans on Twitter being like this pretty clear who you're fucking rooting for and I'm like, excuse me? What? I'm just saying what's happening? Am I an oilers guy now? Reporting effects. But then, hold on. You were in the bathroom. This was great. I'm standing with Red. Oh, dude. This guy.
Starting point is 00:05:41 This, this buckled, short, fat guy with the worst haircut I've ever seen in my life walks up to me and he goes, fucking hate, hating the Oilers, man. I fucking hating the Oilers. and I couldn't really hear. I was like, what? And he repeats himself.
Starting point is 00:05:56 And I go, what do he mean? He was like, you fucking picked against us in round one. And I go, I know, I was an idiot. I picked you every single round since.
Starting point is 00:06:05 And he goes, now you're here, dude, kind of a bad look. Kind of a bad look. And he ran off to his seat. And I was like, dude, excuse me.
Starting point is 00:06:13 What is a bad look about reporting and being at the Stanley Cup finals? Kind of a sick look to be at Rogers. Dude, I say so myself. You know what the bad look is?
Starting point is 00:06:21 His awful haircut. Yeah. Tough to be him, but happy for him that he got to win. Yes. Okay, real quick, chat is buzzing. Jacob says if you guys tried to Don Air yet, yeah. We sure did. And we had a send session at the West Edmonton Mall today, Jacob.
Starting point is 00:06:38 It's going to be a whole video. I can't wait for you guys to see it. It was incredible. And one was consumed there. Let's go kind of just almost linearly, Dan, through this game because it all just happened. Sure. A fucking nightmare start if you're the Panthers. The fucking rink is going insane.
Starting point is 00:06:58 And you're just thinking to yourself, this Oilers team has been jumping out to leads. I saw Dallas chase every fucking game in that series. That was not the answer. Let's make sure we're just locked in kind of weather the storm. 60 seconds in, bang, shot on goal. I think it was tipped to give Bob a little credit. I think it was tipped.
Starting point is 00:07:17 And it's like loose rebound, bang, bang. kicks over to dry saddle, down one nothing, and you're like, we're dead. Yeah, down, down,
Starting point is 00:07:24 like, you're just like, hiccubed, burped, choked, and sneezed at the same time. I wish I had sneezed. You know, it's the,
Starting point is 00:07:32 it's the West Edmonton Mall pool you're in. Like, the disease is inside you now. I'm going to die from that. So yeah, that was just a nightmare, nightmare opening. Um,
Starting point is 00:07:42 because you just, the crowd was going fucking in. Yeah, it's a dream start for Edmonton, right? Game starts 66 seconds. into the game, Leon Drysidal, scores a goal, big goal, good bounce out, he puts it back. But I will say, settled down quick for the Panthers.
Starting point is 00:07:59 I thought their response was amazing. Their response was amazing. Shots were still tilted in favor of the Oilers, but it was a, you know, we've seen against Dallas, we've seen against Vegas, we saw against the Kings in the last four games. When shit like that would happen, it went south quickly. This was a good response from Florida. and then yeah, they get their goal. They get their goal.
Starting point is 00:08:22 They tie it up. And let's nip in the bud, everything that has been said about this goal. I believe there was a hook in front of the net that led to, I think it was Lundell. Maybe I think it was Lundell. I'm not sure. But there was a hook in front of the net that led to the Panthers getting possession. I think it was Bennett. Who got possession of the puck?
Starting point is 00:08:44 No, no, who hooked. Yeah, okay. Maybe. Yeah, maybe. Sorry, I was saying who got the puck in the corner. Oh, got you. Whoever got the puck in the corner got it because of a little bit of a tie-up. Yep.
Starting point is 00:08:54 But honestly, guys, that's one where, in my opinion, you go, hey, what the fuck? But if it doesn't get called, it doesn't get called. Then there is the, do we want a goal of interference call? I am here to say, if you have a problem with that play, you're a fucking baby. You are a baby. And any Oilers fan who has a problem with that play, you just won the game. So who gives a shit? Don't talk about it.
Starting point is 00:09:18 The fact of the matter is, Kulak trips Bennett. There is no doubt about it. Now, does Bennett fall into Skinner maybe intentionally? Yes. Doesn't fucking matter, folks. He got tripped. That's why it's not going to interference.
Starting point is 00:09:34 It was the right call. And it was, you got to tip your cap somebody. You want to say, oh, they're dirty, they're this or that. You sound like a baby. It's a good play from Bennett. He gets tripped and he goes, I'm going to fall in. In fact, it's genius. Like, you should respect how good of a play that is.
Starting point is 00:09:50 Yeah. Dude, I actually, so people in the chat are going, some people going crazy about this. And I, I actually can't believe some of the takes I'm seeing here because. It was the right call. Because that. And someone said, good response. I'm trying to find this. Someone was like, good response.
Starting point is 00:10:05 And they had bad goals. I can't find this yet. But the, first of all, before they even scored, the Panthers did have a good response. They got scored on and then had the next five shots of the game and looked, looked great. They looked completely fine. That goal, sure, I will give you the Bennett hook, could have been called. I'll even say should have been called. But that is a, it's a playing in the playoffs that you go, God damn it, that's bullshit.
Starting point is 00:10:28 I am telling you what, that was, Stuart Skinner was, my boy, was impeded in making a save, absolutely. That was 1,000 percent Bennett got tripped from behind and fell over in, involuntarily. involuntarily i don't know sure the prefix is there but the one he didn't mean to that is literally back of the skate go right over i don't even buy the he fell into on purpose he was literally tripped and as soon as they put up the replay in the rink the whole arena dude was like oh my god as soon as they saw it like your fucking goal interference i'm watching the reply and i sat right next to both of you and i go are you fucking kidding me that's 1,000 percent a good goal because he was tripped and then the review took 0.2 seconds and everyone they are next to us was like see
Starting point is 00:11:16 it's no goal. That's why it was so quick. And I go, it was so quick because it's so fucking obvious that nothing happened there. Or like Stu wasn't pitted, but it was the Oilers player's fault. No, buddy. I can't believe the reactions to that, that call. I'm just talking about the call. That was the absolute letter of the law correct call there. It sucked. And it was super annoying. If you're a noise fan, because you're like, fuck, Stu had no chance, which he didn't. Because Sam Bennett was sitting in his fucking lap. But that was the call. And there's not even a conversation to be had. Yeah, I mean, I think Stu was impeded. But yeah, I'm confused. I'm confused by people who frankly just can't see the pure logic there.
Starting point is 00:11:51 And, you know, I saw a couple of people on Twitter being like, so, you know, I saw someone say like, so Bennett skates into Kulak skate and gets, and like, that's just, come on, man. Dude, I don't think, Jacob's saying Bennett jumped backwards into Stu. And I'm like, Jacob, dude, even Ryan Whitney, who's all riding the oilers was like, he tweeted immediately at classic Bennett no goal. And then he tweeted again, just saw the replay. Sorry, I didn't see he got trapped. It's like, I don't know, man.
Starting point is 00:12:15 If you're doing the like Bennett jump backwards, Bennett skated it. It's just, it's, I don't know. In my opinion, it's wrong. Everyone's entitled to their opinion and we love and respect you no matter what. But I think you're being a baby. I really do. It's like, sorry, guys, you cannot slew foot someone and that's what it was. It was a trip with his foot.
Starting point is 00:12:32 It's, I don't even think it's debatable. So yeah, I've been shocked by people complaining about that. And I hated the challenge. I assume he did too. Um, yeah, I just don't think it was necessary. So, obviously. So early, dude. Why do we do in this?
Starting point is 00:12:46 That leads to just a gorgeous, gorgeous play by Florida. Really controlling the play there. Beautiful pass to Marci. Marci scores. Florida up to one. Get out of that period up to one. Can I say something about McDavid on the PK real quick? Absolutely.
Starting point is 00:13:01 Because I actually thought this was so, and I've thought this for a while, but I just was thinking about it again watching him today, man. His, he does everything. McDavid's a fucking, he's a golden god. He, he, His ability on the PK, in my opinion, is severely underrated because he even disrupts that breakup that everybody does, where they, one of the guy skates up and he just leaves it.
Starting point is 00:13:23 Every other first F1 on the PK comes up and does the sweep and pushes them one way, and then they just leave it for their guy. And then he just, you know, he loops and gets in the play. McDavid gets on their shoulder so perfectly that a couple times he's almost picked that off to go on a breakaway himself. He almost clipped Barkoff. And then even if it does get there, he loops back so fucking fast that he, someone got one in the slot that he like, he back pressures and lifts the stick. On the first power play that Panthers didn't score and he hit the crossbar.
Starting point is 00:13:54 He almost scored a shorty. His, the shorty threat, the ability to disrupt the breakout that everybody does and the back, the back pressure that you'd think, oh, if you're going to get that risky going forward to break to mess up their breakout, you're taking yourself out of the play. And now it's a four on three the other way. No, no, no. Not so fast, my friend. He can disrupt the breakup and cause back pressure and is a shorty threat at all times. Obviously, he's such a weapon on the power play, but my God, dude, he's the best penalty killer I've ever seen. It's fucking incredible.
Starting point is 00:14:23 He is phenomenal. Dude, you were so fired up. Are you? This is the best night of my life. I can't believe what's going on. Like, you seem either drunk or on tons of caffeine, and I know you're neither. It's the game, dude. It's the love of the game.
Starting point is 00:14:38 It's the love of the game. Yeah, you're so fired up. Holy shit. Connor deserves all that love. I saw someone talking about his PK performance and agree. It does deserve all that shine. Panthers getting that 2-1 lead going into the second. It was actually shocking walking through the concourse.
Starting point is 00:14:58 And listen, I don't need to tell the chat. I don't need to tell the listeners how wrong I am all the time. I'm wrong all the time. Wrong plenty. But you both know, talking to CP and Red, I was walking through that concourse talking to fans and I was like, you are winning. Yep, you were.
Starting point is 00:15:16 Everyone calmed down. And that wasn't me being a sell sword and being nice to fans. I was like, the Oilers are winning this game. And I was very impressed to see how many of the fans were like, oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, we're good. We feel good. They're down and we're asking fans like, how are you feeling? And they're like, good, good, we're good. And honestly, I get it.
Starting point is 00:15:35 What were shots at the end of that first? I was going to say it's because they had this is a good first. 15 to six shots. 14, seven officially. I'll check. But it was, yeah. But, you know, just a great, yeah, 14-7 shots after the first. Great performance.
Starting point is 00:15:46 I thought they looked really good. And I kept calling out on Twitter. We talked about last episode, the last two minutes, have been lethal for this Oilers team. It was very, I kept calling it on Twitter because I think it's so fascinating how they do that. And I think it's really interesting how no teams they played thus far have picked up on it. Clearly, Florida is very aware of it. And you could see their strategy when they would get those tough. I think
Starting point is 00:16:10 Florida had the right personal out. They had the right faceoff plays drawn up. It was a very cool chess match last two minutes of each period
Starting point is 00:16:18 in this game. We saw it. It was very, very cool. The only, if you're the Oilers, because it was a great first, the only thing I was a little
Starting point is 00:16:25 like, uh-oh, is we talked about how good the Florida power play was on the road and then they get one. And actually that kill looks great for most of it, but then, you know,
Starting point is 00:16:35 they get one of two. And then the Oilers get a four on three for like, minute 55. May I jump in? Yeah. Man, it was really funny how there has been an, I'm not saying this narrative,
Starting point is 00:16:48 but there has been a narrative online that has been like, wow, the NHL loves giving Edmonton power plays in key moments in these playoffs. Yep. Edmonton gets a power play. Then they take a penalty, which is a blatant trip. A blatant trip.
Starting point is 00:17:05 And then literally one second later, they go, penalty on Florida. And I was like, oh, that does not look good for the narrative. But that was a, that four on threes, if there's three players on the other team, you should score every time. Five on three,
Starting point is 00:17:17 obviously, but four on three still. And the Oilers had the puck in the zone for two full minutes. It wasn't like the Florida was getting a lot of clears on that. They were just snapping it around for two full minutes and didn't score. And that was the first time I was like, yikes. Because like you need a goal there.
Starting point is 00:17:31 It felt like a dagger. It felt like a dagger. To outplay them. It kind of felt like what Dallas was doing where you're like, you're out playing the shit out of them and you're losing. Yeah. And I'm like, oh, man. So that was interesting.
Starting point is 00:17:39 I do want to say at the intermission, because that's where we are linearly. I don't know who, and there's got to be Oilers fans who go to these games all the time and know this. I don't know who the Oilers MC is. Like the guy who makes the announcements, who says one minute left, who announces the goals. That dude in the first period, and I love him. He's a glue guy. He's fucking glue. He's out there doing God's work.
Starting point is 00:18:04 He, when they scored their first goal, it must have been, because I think Wallman is on that first goal. He goes, an assist by number 86, Jake Wallman. And I'm like, that's crazy, dude. And then at the end of the first,
Starting point is 00:18:18 he goes, and that's the first period. The Florida Panthers shots 16, the Edmonton Oilers shots, six. And I was like, dog. Both numbers wrong? Everybody nervous. Everybody little nervous game one in the building. Look at how fired up you are.
Starting point is 00:18:33 Imagine him. Yeah, he was high on the oil, too. Give him a break. Dude, we've got the oil drip going. Yeah, I've got my oil drip going. He's got his oil drip going, but I was like, buddy, you got to fucking heal it in. I hope someone gave him a pep talk at intermission. We need better.
Starting point is 00:18:45 Gotta be better. Better every day, Edge. Better every fucking day. So I will say this. Second period starts immediate Sam Bennett goal. Yep. Immediate. And this is where I'm nasty too.
Starting point is 00:18:58 Nasty. This is where I'm going to gas up the Edmonton Oilers fans and Rogers Place. A lot of people, a lot of a post. opposing fans will say this is a, it's a feather in their cap. This is a bad thing. In Rogers Place, when the opposing team scores, there is no barn in the national that matches the levels of silence when the other team scores. Yeah. It's fucking remarkable. And again, you could spins on that into being like, yeah, we're silencing the crowd. You literally are, but I look at it as a, they are so overpowering. Like, there were 40,
Starting point is 00:19:40 Panthers fans in that arena. And there might have been more, but it's so intimidating that they didn't wear any Panthers gear and they were afraid to show themselves. They all, it's like they all take a vow to when the other team scores, pull out their phones, pull out a book. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:19:55 They should do that. They should do that. Yeah. And just go, I'm not paying attention. Like, I wonder if it's like all of a sudden the team who scores, they can hear themselves to be like, oh, yeah, like that's the only noise you hear is the guys on the ice. That's how fucking quiet it gets.
Starting point is 00:20:09 It is like, it's amazing how the oilish fans have zero time in their lives to even acknowledge the other teams go. They don't even go like this. No, fuck. Yeah, there's no. They literally just go like this. Nope. It's hard to tell if you're not watching. Ignore.
Starting point is 00:20:22 Yeah. Ignore. It's genuinely like they ignore it. It's amazing. But Bennett scores. And then in my opinion, this is when the entire game flipped. This is when everything changed. And this is when we saw.
Starting point is 00:20:35 You're right. I know what you're saying. I need you to know you're right and wrong about it. All right. about in the part you're wrong about you're wrong about in the big way but go i already i already acknowledged i'm wrong all the time yep the emergency response boilers yes immediate victor arvotson goal depth scoring a guy who's been health bombed yes in these playoffs comes in in takes a very ill-advised clapper bad goal that might be the worst goal i've ever seen bob give up in the
Starting point is 00:21:05 playoffs in the playoffs all right it's it had some good heat on it there was a bit of a screen but bob wants that back. That was not that bad. I'll have to watch it again because obviously I only didn't see the play. I'm pretty sure that went like this and he just literally missed his misplaced his glove. And they like hit his glove and flop. There's a skate. You're going to want to watch that again because I think you're coming off a little harsh. I think it was a bad goal for Bob, per Bob standards.
Starting point is 00:21:32 But the response of that goal, dude, the life was sucked momentarily out of Rogers place. Oh, dude. Beginning of the second period, immediate, not just immediate goal, an immediate Sam Bennett goal. Yeah. And Florida was like, oh, we are going to fist fuck you. That is how many, six, one. That is how many Florida fans felt.
Starting point is 00:21:55 It's how you felt. You were like, oh, my God. I couldn't believe it. This is over. We weren't even back to our seats yet. And I was like, we're, oilers are fine. Ours are fine. And then Bennett did that.
Starting point is 00:22:02 And I was like, oh, uh, oh, yeah. The response of that was so impossibly important for, for the fans, for that arena and for the team. Because in my opinion, and this is what I was saying, that moment for me showed the Oilers bench. Sure, this is Florida. Sure, they're better than honestly, maybe twice as good as every team we've played in these playoffs. But we are still going to befuddle anyone we play. Like that goal, I'm sure everyone on the Florida bench was like, what the fuck?
Starting point is 00:22:37 How did that go in? Yeah. And then the entire game changed. So this is what I think you are right and wrong. The part you're right about is without that goal, they probably lose. Like if you go into the third down 3-1, I think you probably lose. Without that goal, if five minutes goes by without them scoring, you know anything could happen.
Starting point is 00:22:58 But I agree. I think without that goal that quickly, you probably lose. The part you're wrong about is that after RV scored, the Oilers started playing better. In fact, they had one shot for the next. 18 minutes of that period. Like, they got murdered in the second period. That is the worst period they always have played since one of those Kings periods in the first two games.
Starting point is 00:23:20 Sure. Like, that was a domination from Florida. And Stu is the only reason it was 3-2. Well, that goal, I think, makes Stu go, boys got me. And Stu locked the fuck in. We were sitting next to one of the loveliest ladies I've ever seen, her and her daughter. Diehard fans sitting there.
Starting point is 00:23:40 Just like, the mom was like breaking her daughter's hand. Just so into it. They were fucking incredible. I loved those two. And I said to her during the third period, I was like, Stu is not getting scored out again. And she goes,
Starting point is 00:23:52 knock on whatever wood you can find, you son of a bitch. And I was like, oh my God, you're right. And I knocked on. She literally put her head to me. She goes, knock on my head.
Starting point is 00:24:00 She said her head was made of wood, Chris. Yeah, yeah. I remember that. I remember that. I remember that. Yeah. A self-deprecating joke. Come on.
Starting point is 00:24:07 Amazing. And, but that, dude, it was like, Stu was locked. He made some unbelievable saves. And I'll give it to you, yeah, like the end of that second period, the Panthers probably played better. But it was just like, to me, it was just all the messaging.
Starting point is 00:24:20 It's the messaging that the Oilers have done all fucking playoffs. And it was just the third period man was all Oilers, Oilers, Oilers, Oilers, an early goal within reason. When did that goal get scored in the third period? Six minutes in. I still have some second period stuff, but yes. Bore me with your second period stuff It's cool oil or stuff
Starting point is 00:24:42 Bore me Okay never mind No no bore I'll take it back if it doesn't bore me Oh okay I thought that And someone just said this in the chat Let me find it too Because I thought it was a great take
Starting point is 00:24:54 John He said well I'm not completely co-signing this But if he said if Florida could hit the net The score would have been 6 3 So many wide shots And I said to you in between periods Florida had at least three Literally maybe even 4
Starting point is 00:25:07 four or five, grade A, all alone in the slot wide open chances and just fired them high and wide every time. And some of that is stew in your head because you're like, I got to pick corner, Stu saving everything. And some of that is just poor execution. But Florida, if they had sniped like they normally do in those, like you watch the Carolina series and they're like, we had 20 shots and we scored six goals because it rods like every time they get the puck in front, they just shoot it in. And I'm like, yeah, that's what they do. And this time, every time they got the puck in the slot, it was high off the glass. That, that was a huge factor of the second. period for me. Can I jump in? Yeah. I'm not bored. Oh, huge. Good call. Good call. Don't be so
Starting point is 00:25:43 sensitive, dude. You're worked up. Well, yeah, just don't, don't say, bore me. Let's just, let's just have a baseline of we're not boring. I can't, I can't give you a friendly chirp. You can, but let's, I'd love that baseline. That would be sick. I won't give it to. And then, uh, this was another funny one, dude. The Panthers are, uh, all over them in the second period, right? Second period is winding down. They're, they're hammering and you feel like another goal is coming. It's going to be four. or two. And then it's like a huge panthers chance, either got blocked or missed, turns into an odd man rush high stick. And I'm like, oh, immediate Edmonton power play goal. You're going to end this period 3-3 and be like, what just fucking happened? They killed it. But I was like, oh, dude, you're dead. Yeah. Oh, my gosh. I was like, Jesus Christ. This, are we into the third period? Yeah, let's go to third. Okay. You don't actually, we should do ads. Let's read some ads. Yeah, yeah. Let me do an ad real quick. Listen, like we've said, we're in.
Starting point is 00:26:37 Edmonton. We're in Canada. The country of kindness. And we already mentioned we're going to be heading to the pint right after this. If you're in Edmonton, I can't imagine you're listening because you're probably partying. We're going to be heading to the pint right after this. And you know I'm getting myself a Labat. Labat, Labat Blue Light, the best beer in the world because it's brewed with Canadian kindness, guys. This stuff is phenomenal. Every single can, bottle and pint of Labat Blue or Labat Blue Light is going to be the crispiest, most delicious beer you have ever tasted, and that Canadian kindness is going to come through with every single sip.
Starting point is 00:27:16 It is hockey's favorite beer. It's the empty netter's favorite beer, and it's got to be your favorite beer as well. Labat Blue is just the perfect, perfect beer to drink while you're crushing Stanley Cup playoff hockey while you're hanging out at the pub, while you're hanging out at home, or at the game. Oh, yeah. Make sure to grab one today, tomorrow, and every day from now on until the playoffs are over. And then reasonably, as you enjoy a nice crisp cold cruiser, just make sure it's a little bat. They're doing it better than anyone in the game.
Starting point is 00:27:49 And then I got to talk about BetMGM because we actually hammer the empty net bet tonight and we lost. Obviously, I actually really thought we were going to hit that because it just felt like it was going to be a one goal game on the stretch. We lost the empty net bet bet, but that's okay because we've got an epic OT action and bet MGM. is hooking you up with all kinds of stuff. You can do the hat trick jackpot. If you bet on an anytime goal score and the guy gets a hat trick, you get your share of 10 Gs in bonus bets
Starting point is 00:28:09 and they put back the NHL second chance. So if you bet on first goal score and your guy scores second, you get your stake back in cash. If you scores first, you win and that's amazing and very, very cool. And when you download the BetMGM app, if you use promo code Netters,
Starting point is 00:28:22 N-E-T-T-E-R-S when you sign up, you can get $1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses. Boom. Come on. Come on. Should I read the thing? probably right oh yeah yeah do it yeah okay gambling you're all wait wait wait you're all
Starting point is 00:28:37 you're all going to get to experience chris i mean we we we both do it chris is about to fucking rip this one take go gambling problem call one 800 gambler call 8778 hope n why or text hope n y for new york call one 800 327 5050 from massachusetts 21 plus only please gamble responsibly call 100 next step for arizona 100 bets off for iowa 1 800 980102 3 for Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only. Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-withdrawable. In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel, CbetmGM.com for terms, U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Boom. Come on. Come on, baby. One time. All right. We move into the third period. Yeah. Third period,
Starting point is 00:29:15 like we said, C.P. just said it six minutes in, oilers tie it. And, you know, again, I always hate when I'm like, oh, I said this, you know, but it's just like, dude, it was all Oilers all the time. I said 12 minutes into the period, said on Twitter, I was like, it's been all oilers here. You know, cats need to figure something out. A Florida fan replied and was like, what are you talking about? The Panthers have played a perfect period. And I was like, they've given up a goal and they have one shot. And he was like, well, they're not tired.
Starting point is 00:29:48 And I was like, dude, I'm not talking shit. I'm just saying it's been all oilers. And we had a lot of assumptions about the cats, right? They were shoved in our face in the first round when we thought maybe they're tired. They've been to two. And that's not a knock, guys. They've been to two Stanley Cups in a row. It's just a lot of hockey.
Starting point is 00:30:09 And they've just looked fresh as lettuce. They've looked phenomenal. And I think for the first time, maybe all playoffs, maybe with the exception of like one of the first two games against Toronto. they did look like they were getting outskated. This felt like Miracle on Ice, USA versus the Russians. Third period. We have never seen a team keep up with the Russians. Edmonton just has so much fucking gas.
Starting point is 00:30:37 It's crazy. Third period hockey. Yes. Stanley Cup final. Both these teams have been to the Stanley Cup final two years in a row. The way, not just McDavid, the way this Oilers team, I mean, they're fucking buzzing down your throat every fucking shift the forecheck the forecheck the forecheck
Starting point is 00:30:56 I'm seeing some of the best defensemen in the game Gustav Forsling is like getting like really pressured by guys like Connor Brown and I'm just like fucking God these guys are relentless the after the first period when I thought the Oilers significantly outplayed the Panthers
Starting point is 00:31:14 maybe not significantly but definitely outplayed the Panthers the Panthers going to the locker room Maurice says whatever he says to him and they came out and again handed the Oilers the worst period beat down they've seen since round one in my idea. And I was like, dude, you're in trouble. Like if the Panthers just come out and go,
Starting point is 00:31:31 hey, wake up and do their thing. And I said in the preview episode, Dallas, four shots in three straight third periods, two of which were like, you need this game of your life is over. And I was like, wow, the oil is checking. It's all I'm hearing. But I highly doubt they can do it to the Panthers.
Starting point is 00:31:47 Dude, that third period, I don't know what was said in the Oilers Locker. I don't know what was said in the Panthers locker room. I want to make sure I have this right. They knocked one down. 14 to 2-2 in shots. And granted, you always were down. They needed a goal.
Starting point is 00:32:01 Two shots in the third period when you just finished a 20-minute session where you were all over them is absolutely insane. And I will push back on you because, sure, maybe in Toronto, they looked a little. There were games where I was like, yeah. but the Carolina series Carolina's whole thing was we nobody can skate with us no one of these can skate with us we get a million shots our gap's insane and then they met the Florida Panthers hey nice to meet you
Starting point is 00:32:32 and the Florida Panthers are like lull we can skate we can skate circles around you yeah that's their thing too and this team and I don't want to even entertain this thought because I was like they're too tired to win another cup and then they just have been rolling everybody and I was like Christ I was so wrong that team was getting their lunch fed to them in the third period. And we'll get to overtime, which that also happened.
Starting point is 00:32:57 But they got their fucking lunch fed to them in the third period. Every single fucking time they touched the puck, it was just flipped out of the zone. It flipped out or iced. It was like ice, ice, ice, flip out, flip out. Every time they touched it was just get it out, get it out, the oilers played. I think it was like. CP, there was one desperation. I'm sorry to cut you off.
Starting point is 00:33:15 There was one desperation play by the by the Panthers, I believe, in the I think it was in the overtime. Lundell lost his stick. Dude, let's say that. That was OT. Okay. That's the most insane thing I've ever seen. But we'll get to there.
Starting point is 00:33:29 But yeah, that third period was a clinic, dude, an absolute clinic that legitimately got me worried. Because you've had, you know, because the Oilers finished last, right? Like the series, the Oilers Dallas, I think, finished after. Yeah, yeah. Yeah. So it's like, you had an extra day. You were fine. and you've had a few days off here.
Starting point is 00:33:49 Like there's just, there's no excuse for the cliff they fell off. Now, to jump ahead a little bit, I thought the very beginning of overtime, the Panthers were flying again. So I was like, oh,
Starting point is 00:33:58 this is this weird like every other period. Yeah, it was like two minutes. It wasn't enough. It was just, you know, you were just in the locker room. You had a rest.
Starting point is 00:34:06 And then, yeah, two minutes, you're buzzing a little bit. But they had their chances. They didn't take them. You're right. They're missing the net left and right since from the second half of the second period on.
Starting point is 00:34:17 But, you know, what I can't get over, and listen, there's a lot of Florida fans who are like, dude, this is how we play every time after a long break. Okay, sure. And we've said a million times. It is weird. Osh said it. The last pod he came on.
Starting point is 00:34:33 It is very strange. A lot of guys prefer being on the road in the playoffs because the pressure is on the home team. Great win by the Oilers. Let's say Florida wins on Friday. If you're the Oilers, you're like, fuck. Yeah. Fuck me. Barely one game one.
Starting point is 00:34:48 So there's no need for panic here as far as the result. What I will bring the attention to is how they lost deserves to be mentioned. Oh, yeah. We have seen this Euler's team, claw from behind many, many times. We have seen this Euler's team just take what another team is usually so good at and flip the script. on it. Paul Maurice, some insane record. I don't know it off the top of my head.
Starting point is 00:35:22 I'm sorry, I should have done my reason. Is that actually real? Yes. 31 and 0 when having a lead in the playoffs? Or if any single period first, or if any single period ends with the Panthers in the lead, they've never lost a playoff game under him. 31 straight wins.
Starting point is 00:35:36 So 31 and 0, Paul Maurice, when having a lead after a period in the playoffs, you have just lost. And it is worth mention. because we saw this against L.A. You see it with the, what, you know, the stats when a team wins, the first two games, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. We see it against Vegas. All of the, all of the Cassidy stats, the Vegas against Edmonton.
Starting point is 00:36:00 Vegas had never lost a playoff game with the two-goal league. First game one, up to nothing, L. We see it against Dallas. Just the so many things, so many all these stupid little, oh, you know, the statistics that are just like, yeah, I mean, you're dead. And this Edmonton team looks at these statistics and says, fuck you, math nerd, and they beat the shit out of you and win. That should be alarming for Florida. And I know there are so many Florida fans who are going to see this clip.
Starting point is 00:36:33 They're going to see this and they're going to go, yeah, we're not scared. Fuck you, asshole. And I'm like, I'm not. I'm just, these are talking points for the podcast. They're talking points for hockey fans. But this is what we've seen from this oil. team since game fucking three of round one. They do not give a flying fuck about any narratives, about any statistics, about any laws of
Starting point is 00:37:00 averages. In fact, I think they do love them because they love fucking ruining them. Sure. They love raining it up your throat. They go, let's just go down to or let's just make sure we're losing after the first period just so we can fucking end Maurice's dumbass street. And what have I said so many times? I said it on Stanley Cup live today.
Starting point is 00:37:15 I said the Oilers are going to. win this game. And I was like, if there is a team that can overcome the inevitability of this Oilers team, it is Florida. However, this Edmonton team continues to befuddle who they play. And Florida, I'm sorry, that stat means something. You have been befuddled. Yes. You were up three to one against this team in the second period and you fucking lost. You had all the momentum. You had every opportunity to snatch their soul from their fucking body. And you lost. That matters. that is not a good sign for this fucking team. And the way you got fucking speedbacked in the third period and overtime.
Starting point is 00:37:53 You had two shots on net. You said it to me walking here. We gave Dallas shit for having four shots in the third period. How many fucking teams need to be winning against this Oilers team and not learn. Don't sit back. Don't sit back and just go, we just got to protect the lead because they're going to beat you every fucking time. and you get two fucking shots in the third period when you're up three two heading into it you've lost how on earth does this florida team and paul marisa let that happen that's why you should be concerned do you go do or go into the intermission and just figure it out before overtime dude i i thought i'm i'm being reactionary i completely admit that but i thought because you're right we were making fun of dallas a ton i was making fun of dallas time for those third periods as they deserve i currently feel like you simply can't hang and Nobody can hang with this Oilers team 460, period.
Starting point is 00:38:49 They can't. CP, their whole fucking thing is wear them down, wear them down this game, wear them down this series. And I'm like, you can't hang with this oilish team for a full 60. You can pummel them for a second period, but you better score four goals while you're pummeling them. Because you could have, but you didn't. So now you'll lose because you just can't.
Starting point is 00:39:07 In the third period, they're going to out shoot you 20 to 2. We've seen it for force. Go back to game fucking three, I guess. three four yeah in the dows series they i would love to see the fucking shots oilers versus opponent in the third period of the last four games of this playoffs it's probably fucking 80 to 12 yeah it's a fucking joke you know you just can't you better be up three goals going into the third or you're going to lose you're so right it's i'll go back to to the miracle thing i just said it's wild to me cp like it's no one can hang with them for 60 minutes and again florida fans
Starting point is 00:39:41 are going to tell us to fuck off right now. And Florida will win games in this, in this series. The series isn't over, obviously. But I've never seen anything like it. It's because, again, I was banging the drum all day walking around Edmonton. I fucking hate, like, we walk into, I don't know what it's called, the Oilers Square watch party shit. Yeah. There are jumbotrons that there's like a phone number that says, cheer on Connor.
Starting point is 00:40:10 Yeah. Motherfuckers, fuck you. There's a whole team here. Yeah, you always say this. I love Connor. I have a Connor McDavid All-Star Game T-shirt from his first year in the league.
Starting point is 00:40:22 I remember that. Yeah. I fucking love the guy. Want him to get his cup. But, you know, I love, I have a very, very heterosexual crush on Leanne Drysidewell. Yep.
Starting point is 00:40:33 He's maybe my favorite player in the league, and I love him. I love the nude story. I love the, like the shit that nurse has gone through. Like, there's a full team here, guys. Stop fucking talking about Connor and talk about this fucking team of savages that has got you here.
Starting point is 00:40:49 Without Hyman, dude. Without Hyman. The factor did that without Hyman. It's all of a man. How about fucking, how about KK.? How about KSperi Kappan? Yeah. This motherfucker is disrupting shit.
Starting point is 00:41:02 That breakaway, dude, obviously we get an OT winner. Yep. If KK had scored that breakaway goal, I think people would have been murdered in that. Same dude. That was insane, energy as he was barren down.
Starting point is 00:41:16 Just a great play. At least I did. Bruch fucking turned Forsling inside out. Yeah. He almost had one. Yep. It's all of them.
Starting point is 00:41:23 They're fucking everywhere. They are everywhere. And yes, I am shocked how much it just felt like obviously it went past 60, but it was happening in the third period. Two shots.
Starting point is 00:41:35 Like two shots, you did not stay with them for a full 60 at all. Obviously, the RV goal. Bob wants back, but Marci's goals on the PowerPoint, so that wasn't their goal. So I said, third line, huge advantage, Florida. They get a goal, always get a goal, you don't.
Starting point is 00:41:50 Second line, and I'm going to get chirped here, because I know everybody, you love KKKK, but like, objectively, the Verhegey Bennett-Kchuk line versus KKKKKKKKin and dry saddle, who's the man, as I'm like, what are we talking about here, dude? And KK's all over the place. They're getting chances all the place. Leon's got a million goal. You know, and obviously, I know he got moved to the McDavid line and O.D. and all that shit, but they're winning
Starting point is 00:42:11 the battles and in goal, dude. And my God, the stash, dude. The stash is full of secrets. It tells him all the answers. 24, 24 straight saves after the Bennett goal. 24 straight saves and probably 40,
Starting point is 00:42:27 like 50 fucking minutes, 55 minutes or something. Yeah. You know? So those, and he had, God, he had such a flurry. There was one flurry in the second period. And, dude, that, that bark off.
Starting point is 00:42:39 two on one late in the third. You put the glove out. I mean, I don't think it was going in. It was a great read. It wasn't a, I mean, it was a great play by him, but it wasn't like a massive scoring chance. Yep. On game day, pain can hit hard and fast, like the headache you get when your favorite team and your fantasy team both lose.
Starting point is 00:42:58 When pain comes to play, call an audible with Advil plus acetaminophen and get long lasting dual action pain relief for up to eight hours. Tackle your tough pain two ways with Advil. plus acetam in aphim. Advil, the official pain relief partner of the NFL. Ask your pharmacist
Starting point is 00:43:14 at this product's rate for you. Always read and follow the label. If you're going to talk about your boy, Stu, I will take a moment to talk about Bob.
Starting point is 00:43:26 Go ahead. I mean, the man made 42 saves. He played awesome. He played awesome. So that is a great fact for Florida. He gives up four goals.
Starting point is 00:43:34 On paper, you would see that and be like this. Oh, that was Bob Stinker. But it's like, man, he made 42 saves. I think, Bob is definitely looking at this Panthers team and is like, guys, you kind of fucked me in this one. He's like, what are we doing?
Starting point is 00:43:46 No doubt about it. I mean, it's like, yeah, going up, you know, obviously that Arvinson one was tough, but it's like, you're up three, two, two shots in the third. Like, there's just a lot that Bob can be like, fuck me, me, boys. There was a, Connor had a crazy chance with like nine minutes left that he came from the goal line and went backhand, which would have been gross. Bob, Bob has that shoulder on it. Bob made some of the most incredible saves in that game. I want to, I want to kick it to the chat. for the last 10 minutes or so here.
Starting point is 00:44:13 I do feel, and let me be clear, a delay of game penalty is a penalty. I am bummed that that game ended with a power play goal. I said to Red, I go, I really hope there's not any power play. And you know the refs didn't want it. As we've said many times, refs always say, especially in O.T,
Starting point is 00:44:34 they're like, I would love nothing more than to never have to call a penalty. Yep. It sucks that that game, how electric that. was it sucks that that ended with a power play goal and just how tired those boys must have been at the end of a fucking o t period then you give up a power play to the edmonton oilers everyone knew the game was it it was like yep this is this is it and you know we get it to leon in his office calls game and the fucking place explodes it explodes dude um few things i want you brought it up earlier i want to talk about that lundell play in overtime that had to be one of the most my
Starting point is 00:45:10 brain is melting down plays I've ever seen. Lundell breaks or loses his stick. And dude, it's like, there was a huge chance because he was like pushing someone at the blue line. Oh, I think that was the Freddie one. He was pushing someone with the view line. It goes to Henry across to Trent Frederick.
Starting point is 00:45:26 Sick, fucking safe. And Freddie, like, did, I know he was mad at himself, but he did almost as much as he could there because it was a little ahead of him. It's hard to get leverage. If that had been in here, he would have roofed it. No doubt, no doubt. He was so far in front of him.
Starting point is 00:45:38 He couldn't really get the leverage. Bob gets his pat across. but then it comes back around and it's sitting in the slot and Lundell's there and it's like someone coming, I forget who, but like someone on the Panthers is like right there and there's no one around them. And Lundel just puts that he's like swipes at it. Dude, he will first, he had a kick attempt. Borderline with it went right to the oilish defense.
Starting point is 00:46:00 I think it was Eckholm. Then he gets another chance and you could see him look down to be like this, should I kick this? And he's like, no. And he drops to his knees and puts his hand on it and just like sends a, muffin right to the point. And I was like, Lundell, buddy, what are you doing?
Starting point is 00:46:15 You know, your brain is like deprived of oxygen? Like, I think he had been out too long, running around with those stick with his head cut off. And he was like, dude, I don't know what to do. I'm making horrible decisions. That was absolutely insane. Nearly lost them the fucking game. And I wrote again.
Starting point is 00:46:29 They were just so gassed. Dan, the Edmonton Oilers. Remember when the Panthers... Actually, I think this is like... They lost the cup this year. But that year, 2023, when they were just the busing 10 boys
Starting point is 00:46:43 and they were fucking, everything was so fun. The Panthers, or excuse me, the Oilers have been to overtime this playoffs four times. Tell me their record. Four and O.
Starting point is 00:46:52 Four and O. Tell me who scored in overtime. Leon Drysettle. Every single fucking time. Like, dude, I wrote, German kingdom. You do not,
Starting point is 00:47:02 as soon as you get into overtime, I was like, you're dead. You do not want to go to overtime against the team. And that's not to knock the Panthers because I actually thought they had a few chances early. They had a lot of pressure
Starting point is 00:47:09 in the first few minutes. and they just didn't capitalize because you know why? They're not the executioners this year. The Oilers are the executioners. When they get a fucking chance, they execute. And that's why they win games. And that's why the Panthers didn't win this game
Starting point is 00:47:20 because when they had their opportunities, when Barcoff tried to send that one back with four minutes left and overtime, instead of just shelving stew who was leaning forward. These are the things that you just need to finish those plays. So that was absolutely insane. I have a take that I went. Real quick.
Starting point is 00:47:36 This is where you read. Matthew Heath, on Twitter just said, you guys should white balance. The video looks very yellow. Well, I think we should have a lot of yellow lights. Matthew, we're in a fucking Airbnb in Edmonton, 11, 22 p.m. post game.
Starting point is 00:47:54 Like, we literally, we got lost. Dude, someone in the chat was like, I saw them. He was like, dude, they're going to be late. I saw them. We were lost. We sprinted here to get you this episode. You're yelling at me about white balancing. Give me a break, Maddie.
Starting point is 00:48:06 Respect. Yeah, yeah. We actually were going for this. the sepia is that what that's called we're going for the sepia look um here's a take i had dan oh someone also said um uh the voodoo we were talking about the voodoo the we called it the connor lore but it's really the edmonton lore um uh we said this on stanley cup live this morning or this afternoon winner of game one is won the last four cups more feather in the cap for the oilers just getting all this voodoo magic the oilers tonight tied a franchise record with a third
Starting point is 00:48:40 multi-goal comeback in one playoff. Like you, if they take the lead, you can't catch them. If they go behind, they can win anyway. They win, they do,
Starting point is 00:48:48 does not matter. Yeah. My buddy, Locke's, locks, locks with sexing us at home. He's rooting for the Oilers. And he was like,
Starting point is 00:48:53 what do I need? Like next goal, and I go, none of it matters. Whatever, whatever you want to happen will happen because the Oilers will win. So it doesn't matter how we get there.
Starting point is 00:49:02 It doesn't matter who scores when and who scores next. The Oilers will win. That's how this works. This was my take, dude. Before this. game. The Panthers have been so good on the road. I said it a million times. If the Panthers lost this game in overtime, I said this to one of you guys. I would feel shitty if I was Edmonton.
Starting point is 00:49:22 That's what I said pregame. Oh, because I go- Are you fucking crazy, dude? If Florida had won this game in overtime and- Sorry, I thought I said lost, but if I said won, my bad. Did I say win? Wait. No, you said if the panther, sorry. I said if the Panthers lost in overtime. No, I, I missed what I meant to say. Maybe I said, it's my fault. I think I misheard you. If the Panthers lost in overtime, I would feel shitty if I'm Edmonton because we've been so good at home. And I was like, we're going to, we'll be fine.
Starting point is 00:49:48 And if they, even if we went, Edmonton won game won, but they were like, Christ, we won three, two and overtime. I love this take. I was going to go, that's actually a win for the Panthers because they'll just come out and win game too. And then you're like, fucking Christ, we won an OT and then lost. And now we're going to Florida. That was my take pregame. Yeah, yeah. now that what I just watched with the way it happened and even ignoring the two-goal lead,
Starting point is 00:50:14 I don't care if the parents have been up one. I love this take by you. The fucking beat down that happened for the last 40 minutes of the game is I'm like, oh, dude, all we have to do is not be down five goals going into the third period and we will win. We could sweep this series. That's how it feels. I think Florida is too good to get fucking swept. I don't want to completely overreact to game one.
Starting point is 00:50:36 But right now I'm like, oh, man, like it is a miracle. You clung to overtime. And it's a miracle you didn't get scored on immediately in overtime. I can't even believe that game went as long as it did. I can't even believe it took a power play to end it. That's how it was feeling. I love this take, man. So, yeah, I'm backpedaling on that one hard about the, like, the positivity of that.
Starting point is 00:50:57 No, no, no. You do not have to back pedal on that because you very eloquently said that the circumstance is so true. That's a great dude. Oh, great fucking point. I will say this. After four straight wins against the Kings, you don't know this.
Starting point is 00:51:21 I went into my bet MGM account. Ooh, interesting. And I put $500 on the Edmonton Oilers to win the San Antonio. That's gas. True story. Games like this, it's the reason I'm not sitting here being like, I'm an Oilers fan.
Starting point is 00:51:40 Although I will say this, I have a costume of me as an oil man from like, true, five years ago. That's true. Yeah. Which is a bad fact for me. Clearly, I've been an oil man this whole time. It's a great costume, too. It was amazing. I have been riding the Oilers since game three against the Kings.
Starting point is 00:52:00 I don't need to say it. Got shown on ESPN showed this. Yeah. I will say again, before the power play goal was even scored. in game three against L.A., I said, Jim Hiller might have just cost the Kings this series, and I was like, the Oilers are, they're doing something here. Yep. Put 500 bones on them, and I've been riding them ever since.
Starting point is 00:52:27 And this game is just, it's, it's, it's, the way it happened and the result is everything I've been seeing since game three. Mm-hmm. Everything I've been seeing. And I'm here to say, while the pressure is on the home team in the playoffs, if the Oilers went on Friday, this series is over. I, after watching this game. And I don't even care if Florida wins three and four. If the Edmonton Oilers win on Friday, this series is over.
Starting point is 00:52:56 I had been pretty confident that similar to the Leaf series, that the Panthers were good enough to lose two games in Edmonton and just win two at home and then you see what happens. certainly they had to win to at home, but I felt pretty confident that that would have still been fine. I know after watching that game game, I no longer feel that way. I think if the Panthers don't win game two, they are in a world, world of hurt. Now, if they win two back, I will go, this is actually a series, but I respect your take because of what I just watched. You want to hear something fucked?
Starting point is 00:53:30 Yeah, hell yeah. Oh, wait, before you even say that, I put, I didn't know you did that. I put a hundred bucks on the Oilers to win the cup after game one of the Vegas series. series because I was like oh fuck yeah like because Vegas was my cup team and I was like oh dude never mind the oilers are like cooking so we got fucking heat on the yeah yeah let's go I was actually waiting to bring that up because I got so many oilers fans here being like even though I picked the oilers in fucking five in this series thank you very much which it's like gonna be yeah fuck off fat dude but but everybody all the oils fans here killing me being like you picked against
Starting point is 00:54:01 this every round and I was like I was picking against you on the pod but I have the time stamp to prove that after game one of the second round, I bet on you. Like, that's how sure I was that I was like, actually, you're going to win. I couldn't wait. I couldn't wait to post that bet slip and go, you're welcome. I'll say this again. We're not fans. We're allowed to pick whatever we think.
Starting point is 00:54:21 It doesn't mean we're rooting against anybody. Fuck. I had a great fucking point to say. It's going to be sick. So why don't I just talk while you think of it? Yeah, okay. Watching McDavid and dry siddle, especially in overtime.
Starting point is 00:54:39 But when they throw them out with the two minutes left, they throw them on a line towards the end of the game. It is actually crazy. Obviously, they're leading the league in points, so it's not like they haven't been doing much, but we got spoiled by McDavid last year, certainly, in the playoffs. They just are the difference when you need it. It's so weird, dude, because it shouldn't happen this way in hockey,
Starting point is 00:55:02 but it's like, oh, we need to tie the game. And McDavid's like, oh, I'll just wheel around, and then find someone wide open and we score. And then it's like, oh, we get a power play. And then I forgot who that way, but someone made a really nice pass towards McDavid in the corner there, like backhand off the boards, probably Perry or somebody.
Starting point is 00:55:17 And it's like, and that's Sasha Barkoff, dude. That's Sasha Barkoff between him and Drysaddle. And the second McDavid gets that buck, literally everyone in the arena, everyone on TV, every alien that's tuning in watching hockey is like, this is a goal. And it is.
Starting point is 00:55:32 It's their perfect sauce on dry's tape, bang, back of the net. And it's like, man, those two are so special. We used to laugh. I don't even know if we said it on the pod, but we're like, why does dry stay here in Edmonton? Like he could go, he could get a fat ticket somewhere else, be a superstar somewhere else, whatever. It's because of that. It's because those two just can go, let's just win the game.
Starting point is 00:55:54 Dude, sometimes you find a person in life. It's like falling in love. Yeah. And you go, I don't care where our home is because home is with you. Yeah. Yep. that's how they feel together and I love that for them. It's fascinating to watch, dude, because we have seen some greats.
Starting point is 00:56:13 And I'm not even saying, I know there are a lot of people that are already like Conner's best part of all time. I'm not there. I'm not that guy. But it is fascinating to watch what they do. I think they're arguably the best duo in NHL history already. Yeah. Some of the Gretsky. There's certainly of my lifetime.
Starting point is 00:56:31 Certainly. Oh, yeah. Dude, it's crazy. It's crazy. Um, because it's just the, the, the, the chemistry. I guess like Sid and Malkin certainly got power play minutes together, but it was just like the what they do. What the fuck is Caden telling me to take a lap for? I don't know.
Starting point is 00:56:48 Caden, what did Dan say? Speak up, Caden. Um, what they do together, specifically together. It's just like they're so, when they are on the ice, I'm like, here we go. Like, every time the puck's where it's loose, they are the difference. They are the fucking difference in these games. And if and when, if, I've got to be fair to the Panthers because they're a fucking great team. They're not going to roll over.
Starting point is 00:57:11 I promise you that. Every Panthers fan still in the chat. The Panthers aren't rolling over. But if they win the co. Oh, he said that was suss about the love between Conn and Fair. Oh, yeah. Caden, sorry. If they win the cup, it's, it's, it was those two earning it.
Starting point is 00:57:28 And I know we've been here being like, when they weren't going, it was the depth. There was so much awesome shit. Dude, it's those two guys knowing. when the big moments are and stepping up then. They're not stepping up 24-7. It's knowing when we need a goal. The stars just pulled it to one.
Starting point is 00:57:43 Let me just score real quick. Oh, it's overtime. Let me just score real quick. Every fucking big moment, those two guys are there for this Oilers team, and that's why they will deserve this cup. I'm glad you brought up the big dogs because I do want to say,
Starting point is 00:58:01 save for his incredible defensive play, which was incredible. all night. I thought Barcov and Kachuk specifically were pretty poor tonight. I thought Barcoff was pretty good. I thought he made incredible like short pass
Starting point is 00:58:17 that was exceptional, but it's just like, again, against Matthew Kachuk didn't do much. It's one game. A lot of people saying Kachukes hurt and you know what sucks. Probably is, whatever. I think he certainly is but it's just like it kind of blows because it's and he would be the first state because he's
Starting point is 00:58:33 a dog. It's like Everyone's hurt. It's just not an excuse. You've got to fucking perform. You got to dig deep. Shoot yourself up with some fucking tort all and get up. Especially because, dude, this is, that Vegas team was nasty. We always say that.
Starting point is 00:58:46 But it is crazy that you go, the Panthers are staring down the barrel of going, wow, we, and you got one. So cry me a river. But staring down the battle of going, wow, we went to three Shade Cups and dumped two because we just weren't healthy. And that blows. Where you're like, fuck. Yeah, but you weren't winning against Vegas, pales. Probably not. No.
Starting point is 00:59:04 No, like, but that's what they'll feel. That's how they'll feel. Like, they're like, Matthew Kachuk is getting picked up out of bed and put on the ice, you know. I think these guys are such pros. I'm not sure that that, even with the Kachuk injury, I'm not sure that that Panthers team is like, that's the only reason. I think they might be like Vegas was better than us that year. Yeah, very possible. Let's go to the chat as we close out here.
Starting point is 00:59:27 Let me read a long drink ad. So, while we go to the chat. Yes. Also, I have a question. Put these down. I did say that... It's not on camera. Relax, you fucking spaz. Well, it specifically says in this brand...
Starting point is 00:59:43 Okay, all right. Make sure there's no other drinks here. Okay. I said on my personal Twitter, this overtime is ending in five minutes, and if it doesn't, I'll dump a drink on my head. Oh, is that what Boldie's talking about? Yes.
Starting point is 00:59:57 You've got a dude, red, when this is over, you're going to have to turn that camera to the fucking balcony and you're going to... I think I'm going to do it right here. On the couch. Hold on. Everybody hold on. Teasing the Dan pouring a beer and actually want to talk to you because this is a new sponsor and this is cool.
Starting point is 01:00:10 Yes. Tuka Rask. One of us. Come on, Tukes. We're now sponsored by Long Drink, which is very awesome. Okay.
Starting point is 01:00:18 Long drink is a citrus soda with real liquor. It's actually incredibly refreshing. We had a ton of them at the pro athlete golf tour last year. They were all over the place there. That was amazing. We're going to have them at the pro athlete golf tour this year. It's amazing. Ricky Fowler is an investor.
Starting point is 01:00:31 Miles Teller's an investor. Kaigo's an investor, which is gas. I love Mytel. So there's all kinds of people in all that. It's amazing. We've been crushing long drink. That was my first one actually,
Starting point is 01:00:42 and yours, I remember, at the PGA Pro Athletic Golf Toy. That was my first one. I've been crushing them ever since. You know what? It's also gin, which I love. Yep, that's great. Jesus.
Starting point is 01:00:53 We've got a cool backstory. They're originally from Finland, and we finally got over to America. Now they're sponsored Anthony Edders, which is very sick. It doesn't leave you with that full beer feeling. which is amazing because that means I can have a ton when I'm on the beach or on the golf course. It tastes nothing like you've ever had.
Starting point is 01:01:08 And they have really cool flavors too. That kind of makes or breaks one of these canned cocktails for me. They have great flavors. It's crisp. It's smooth. And if you don't like gin, it doesn't taste like that. You know, like it doesn't taste like any of that alcohol. I'm here to tell you gin is in.
Starting point is 01:01:25 Oh, yeah, yeah. No, no, don't. Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah. Me. Gin is a very typical, like, people are like, oh, I hate gin. people quoting crazy stupid love. Yeah. Gin is delicious.
Starting point is 01:01:34 You need to have good gin, and there is delicious gin in long drink. Absolutely. Like gin, gin is hot right now. So go to thelongdrink.com slash almost Friday. Check out all the options. Fuck yeah. Take us to the chat. Should I go on the balcony?
Starting point is 01:01:49 Actually, the first 10 people that chime in a fucking beer in. Hold on. The first 10 people that chime in on the chat about this, should I go out on the balcony, dump a beer on my head, and then come back and sit down? Or do you guys need to see? me dump the beer. I'm sure they're going to say they need to see me. But they need to understand that the, I can't dump a beer onto the couch of this lovely place that we're in.
Starting point is 01:02:10 Agreed. That's why I couldn't. And we, it's going to be very difficult to adjust the camera. It's pitch black out there. Not if we do it at the end, right? No, we're not going to do it. So chat, wait, wait, wait, wait, what if I, what if I film it on the phone and put it on the story? No, we got to do it live on the pod.
Starting point is 01:02:26 I said, we're going to do it. They're saying couch, dude. I'm fortunately they're saying couch I'm gonna put a sheet down or something I'm gonna go like this this is fucking insane dude this is tapped is there is enough in there to dump that on my head
Starting point is 01:02:39 what do we think chat did that sound you're gonna make me did that sound like a nutter's bear covered in in I mean come on I'm gonna need I'm gonna need at least someone in this chat to go buy a netters bear shirt if Dan's gonna dump this fucking beer at it's actually true
Starting point is 01:02:59 someone in the chat you need to buy a netters bear crew if I'm going to destroy the netting. Dude, Randy says he owns this Airbnb and we're getting fucked on the charge here. All right, hold on. Are we on his camera? Is there enough in here?
Starting point is 01:03:14 I mean, there's enough, dude. It's like, you know, you're a fucking idiot. It's actually not enough, but it's okay. That's actually a little bit more than I thought, to be honest with you. That was actually a little bit more than I thought, to be honest with you. Good contain.
Starting point is 01:03:30 All over the net. Good contain, Dan. Good contain. Oh, terrible. What? did you say that was going to make that happen? I said. What'd you say? It's everywhere.
Starting point is 01:03:43 Guys, we got fucked. This was fucked. God damn it. He spilled it all over the place. It's all over my shoes. What'd you do? I said that overtime was going to end. Oh, in five minutes. Yeah, you fucked the overtime up. Yeah, you deserved that. Okay. So, I want
Starting point is 01:04:03 to know the Alberta baptism. They said it. That's all top. Chat, that's all time. That's really good. So, that sucked. What I want to know is, Dan, you had said Oilers and 7. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:04:21 How do you feel now? And then a ton of the chat we're talking earlier about, Orlers and Six, Ours and Five. I want to kind of just end this with how we're feeling moving forward in this series. Because as we hear all the time from Ocean, a lot of the boys, this is a chess match, right? And I do think the Florida Panthers are easily, these are the two best teams in the league. And buddy, I still think the Panthers are better than yours. That's what's fucking crazy.
Starting point is 01:04:44 But I think these are the two best teams in the league. How do the Panthers respond? Because I said to you read before the game, no matter who wins tonight, I'm picking the other team for game two, just because I will feel like if the Orlers lose tonight, they're going to go, we have to win. If the Panthers lose tonight, they're going to go, we have to win. And these teams are so good that they can find that next gear.
Starting point is 01:05:02 Yeah, I think I got it. I'm sticking to my guns. I think this does go the distance. and I've said, sorry, Chad, I've got beer in my nose. I think I have said this, I thought this was going to be a rope-a-dope. I thought it was going to be a, you know, you win one, I win one. You win one, I win one. I think that game did not go well for the Panthers based on what we've seen this
Starting point is 01:05:33 oilers team do to other teams. That is my big takeaway from this. This was not a clean, oh, I fucking remembered what I was going to. going to say. Yes, dude. And wait, Dan. We have a couple of circle. Say it. It's the bird of baptism that got me there. Nice. Dude, shouts shouts to keep going. I'll find it.
Starting point is 01:05:50 Okay. I think, fuck, I forgot it again. Did you actually? No. Oh, I was like, are you fucking kidding? We have not seen this Edmonton team, right? We have not seen them lose a game. Be Holmes.
Starting point is 01:06:07 Shout B. Holmes. Thank you for the tip. Bird of baptism. Oh, yes. We have not seen this Edmonton team lose a game clean since game two against the Kings. And I'll throw one on top of that, Dan. That is literally the only game they've lost clean. Not like a sin. I know that was game two of the playoffs,
Starting point is 01:06:29 but just like they have, they have just won every game. They have literally lost four games these playoffs. An insanely fluke Kings thing that should have gone to overtime, dry saddle in their own net. and three power plays. I resent that because it should have never been tied up. But it,
Starting point is 01:06:43 but it was. I don't care. So like, you're not going to be able to say like, but, but, but, I'll butt you.
Starting point is 01:06:49 I'll butt you. You gave up six goals. You lost. I'll butt you. They have not lost a clean game since game two of round one. And that is the only clean game they lost. Like Florida,
Starting point is 01:07:00 you know, you got shut out by Carolina. You got shut out by Toronto. Yeah, dude. Like, this, this Edmonton team is just like,
Starting point is 01:07:09 They can't be beat. It's fucking crazy. They cannot be beat. Jamie Ben just says 13 and 2 since game 3. Yeah. And when I say beat, I mean like beat. Not you lost a game. I mean beat.
Starting point is 01:07:22 You got beat in a game. It's happened once. Yeah. So for Florida to lose this game, make Maurice now 31 and 1. It's just like it was bad. So sticking to my guns. I do think Edmonton wins.
Starting point is 01:07:38 And like I said, If Edmonton wins on Friday, the series is over, and it's over early. Yeah, but you just said if you think it goes the distances, so you think Panthers win Friday? Yeah, I do. Yeah. Lewis, Dan, I just want to go here to. Louis G says, fuck, where did this go? Because this was a great comment. He says, when I saw the clip of you guys on Prime, I thought you were dorks, but now you're one of my favorite pods. Who said that? Lewis, Lewis G. And I love that. Because I am a dork, by the way. I love fantasy books, dude. I love everybody. I was waiting to see if I was offended by that. No, dude.
Starting point is 01:08:12 I am. Hell no. So, Lewis, shouts. Love you. First of all. Second of all, you can still think we're dorks. We're dorks, for sure. I would say my, I still like my Orlors in five take, but it is, I am admittedly very excited to see the chess match, the adjustments that the Panthers make in game two.
Starting point is 01:08:33 Because they did seem, you know what's weird, bro? they seem unfazed, of course, but they seem unfazed by Rogers, by it's the final, by the Oilers initially. You know, like the Panthers are like, dude, we're fine. Like, we're fucking just as good as you, if not better. It doesn't matter. We are, we are in this series. We're up three one in this game.
Starting point is 01:09:00 Like, we can win here, we can win at home. You don't matter to me. The only seemed rattled in third and overtime. Like all of a sudden they were like, oh, shit. And I don't know if that's the difference in this series this time around where it's like, oh, shit, you are a better condition than us or something. Like we can't play in the third period against you. And if that happens again next game, like, bro, even if the Panthers win on Friday, let's say the Panthers are up. Stu, Stu, the Stash, maybe the Stash wasn't speaking.
Starting point is 01:09:29 The Stash isn't talking to him. And the Panthers are up 5'2 and going into the third on Friday. and they win 5'4 getting outshot 20 to 2. I'm like, you're fucked because you can't hang. That's where I'm excited to see. I'm literally only tuning in for the third period of Friday because that's where I'm deciding what's happening in this series. It's going to be there.
Starting point is 01:09:51 Yeah, and not watched it. The Panthers are unfazed by the Oilers. They're unfazed by the finals. They're unfazed by the pressure. They're unfaced by Stu. They're unfazed by Connor. They're unfazed by Leon. But currently, they seem phased by the third period wear down.
Starting point is 01:10:04 Definitely. And if they can't fix that, then they are cooked. Yeah. All right. Well, chat, fans, fucking phenomenal start to the Stanley Cup final. Unbelievable game one. Shout out to Edmonton putting on a great show, the city, the city. Cannot begin to express how grateful we are to all of you guys for 200 episodes.
Starting point is 01:10:28 We are not here without you, without this amazing community, without all the Netters fans. I suppose we're still looking for a name for you guys. Yeah, we haven't cracked that. I think Netheads is lame. Me too. Chat, chat, brainstorm. On that, for us. Yeah, chat, brainstorm.
Starting point is 01:10:41 Let us know Friday night when we're live. But we'll be buzzing around. Hey, if you're in Edmonton, you're listening to this pod, whether or live or when it pops up. If you're in Edmonton, we're doing a meet and greet at the pint tomorrow. It's going to be a fucking blast. But I just want to take this opportunity to say, genuinely, we joke around a lot. We're clowns a lot. We love you guys so much.
Starting point is 01:11:06 this this show does not exist without you. It wouldn't be fun without you. And the legend. What's that? Boldie just spent 67 bucks on a hat and shirt because you poured the beer on your head. Dude, Boldie Glazer is literally, if I don't get a beer with this motherfucker soon, I'm going to come. He's probably camping. Boldie's probably in the middle of the field right now.
Starting point is 01:11:24 He is. He's the goat. Guys, truly, it's like, it makes us emotional almost every day. How much you all make, make this worth it and make it so much fun. The best 200 episodes. Here's to 200 more. And unless CPS has more to say. Jamie Ben goes,
Starting point is 01:11:43 the Oilers biggest test this playoff was the Korean Community Center harmonica club. Which is a fact, dude. Literally the only thing the Oilers have lost to is the fucking Korean harmonica players. Jamie Ben, I'm going to steal that and tweet it by it. Oh, dude.
Starting point is 01:12:00 Yeah, shout out. Chantelle, but meet and greet is 6 o'clock at the pint tomorrow. scheduled six to nine, but we'll probably just be out all night, eh? Yeah. I would guess. And then,
Starting point is 01:12:11 God, somebody said something I was fired up about. CP, I got to take a shower, brother. I know, I know. It's okay.
Starting point is 01:12:18 Fuck you. Oh, oh, Swan says, do you think Stu uses head and shoulders or dove on the stash? Neither. Main and tail.
Starting point is 01:12:27 What is it? Main and tail. He uses main and tail, whatever it is. It's working. I hope it doesn't change a thing. Big game from Stu again. My God,
Starting point is 01:12:34 24 straight saves. C.P. I'm closing. We gotta get out of here, but I will echo Dan. This has been a crazy grind during playoffs, doing morning lives, doing late night lives. And if you guys weren't liking it, then it wouldn't have been worth it. So it's been awesome having you guys tune in. It's fucking well past midnight for most of you.
Starting point is 01:12:55 Love you all. This is a blast for us. I'm glad it's a blast for you. Tell them what to do. Skate Hard. Packages by Expedia. You were made to occasionally take the heart. hard route to the top of the Eiffel Tower.
Starting point is 01:13:08 We were made to easily bundle your trip. Expedia, made to travel.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.