Empty Netters Podcast - The Oilers Pull Off The Greatest Comeback In Stanley Cup Finals History w Logan Thompson | EP.203
Episode Date: June 13, 2025You’ve got to be kidding me with that game! The Oilers mount an epic comeback and beat a team with a 3-0 lead in the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time ever. Now the Panthers are reeling and have... to win a best of 3 series with 2 in Edmonton if they want to keep their repeat dreams alive. And the Oilers are now starting their backup goalie in the biggest game of their lives. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: LONG DRINK. Check out Https://thelongdrink.com/almostfriday/ Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the empty netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM.
Folks, CPs hurt me.
I mean, it is, it is as bad.
It's as bad as it's ever been.
The poor guy is on the struggle bus.
Florida got the better of them.
And here we are.
You know, there are times where you think that someone's going to.
going to pull through. Someone's going to make it. And there are times where they're not.
And this might be one of those times. But I am your host, Dan Powers, coming at you from
my MTV Netters podcast. And next to me, Chris Powers.
As always. As always, what time is it? What time is it? What times?
Uh-oh.
Uh-oh.
Oh, shit.
Are you back?
I'm not allowed to move in my seat because I did promise red I would never move.
That is actually true.
Holy fucking shit.
Going to give a quick shout out to Michael in the chat.
Birthday boy.
Oh.
Happy birthday, Michael.
Absolutely love to see it.
Folks, here we are.
Here we are.
Coming at you live this morning.
I know we've been going live after the games.
O.T. here on the East Coast got super late.
The rip back from sunrise to the hotel was going to take way too long.
And we didn't want to give you guys a half-ass episode too late.
We didn't want people on the East Coast to miss it.
So here we are 10 a.m. East Coast time on this, what day is it?
Friday? Friday. Yeah, I think it's Friday.
No. No. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Yeah, it's Friday.
No.
Here we are coming at you live. Friday morning.
10, 13 a.m.
And we are going to be ripping this episode for you in huge thanks to our partner, snaps,
giving us the best hats in the game.
C.P's wearing it right now.
Look at that little chip.
Look at that ballmarker.
It says ice is ready on it.
You can get that customized with anything you want.
You can get NHL teams because they got a great deal with the entire NHL.
Whatever team you are a fan of.
If you're an oilist fan, you can get it right on there.
Snap one on to the back of the hat you already have, or buy a new one.
Best golf hat.
in the game. Here's the thing. Folks, it feels like these games are just mind-warping us every
single time. No matter what is going on, no matter what you think is happening in this series,
whatever grasp you think you have, it just keeps going the other way. It's truly remarkable.
After game one, everyone went, yep, it's destiny. It's inevitable. It's all Oilers. After game two,
people thought oh my god
Florida stole home ice back
it's all over
and then after game three
people were saying
cats in five just like
oh dude yeah
like you know it's toast people were celebrating the cup
and then here we are
insane game we're going to get into it but I will tell you right now
the vibes right now are oilers and six
like the vibes right now are yes
oh my god it is over like
it is the oilers
year. It is Mick Dry. It is destiny. That is how much this keeps flipping. We were talking about it
last episode. How many times has the momentum flipped so heavily where the fans, the media,
everything just goes back and forth, back and forth. And we are now in a place right now where we
are watching this series headed back to Edmonton for Game 5, tied up 2-2 after a devastating collapse.
like the Oilers are going to never lose again.
It really does.
Dan, before we start,
can I travel back in time to the beginning of this show?
Yes.
And before we start, I just want to say,
we are going to insert into this episode
an awesome interview with Logan Thompson.
And so everybody in the live,
you're going to not get it.
But when we put this video up,
you're going to get it and it's going to be sick.
And we're going to put that Logan Thompson interview on a midform.
Go, we subscribe to the YouTube and watch it.
Also, we were at a great Bauer hockey event.
Huge shout out to Bower Hockey.
We were there on Tuesday.
You guys saw on our story.
Their vapor live event, the flylight gear is insane.
They did such a cool thing.
We were in Rockland, Mass, too.
grinding to Rockland Mass.
But I just want to say,
dude,
the flight chaos
that we went through
to get to and from Boston,
everybody asking like,
oh, dude,
how's C.P.'s flights going?
Was C.P. delayed again?
Did anything happen?
Bro, I am telling you, man,
I
I said this last year,
and I'll say it again.
I fucking hate you.
I literally never want to see you again.
Every year.
Like after it all dies down, after everything's finished,
I'm always like, dude, just get me away from you.
And-
Dude, can you believe the flight?
Yes, I can.
Can you believe with a chaos that we read through?
I can.
And dude, I'm telling you, bro, it is, it's genuinely insane how, how cursed you are.
Everything you do, it just goes poorly.
And the fact that I have just, just shut up.
The fact that I have been cursed with you as a business partner and as a brother,
it's the worst thing that's ever happened to me.
My life would be so smooth sailing if you weren't a part of it.
It's actually crazy.
And you just alluded to it.
Here's another example, chat.
Chris will tell you everything that happened with our flights.
And then we'll get into this game.
Very simple thing like this.
Our head of production,
that's not his title, he's going to get mad at that.
Producer Edge had us sent a couple of lights.
So the white balance can be great.
Chad, all for you.
Yeah, we got lights.
He sends us lights for our night shoots.
It's a package delivered to the hotel.
I tell these two clowns, producer Red and CP,
hey, there's a package down at the front desk.
Can you go get it?
All of a sudden, all these texts come through.
Oh, package isn't at the front desk.
It's not here.
Can't find it.
Don't know where it is.
Don't know what to do.
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
I'm like, what the hell is going on?
I go down to the front desk at about an hour later and I go,
hey, there was a package delivered alone, by the way.
A package is delivered for Dan Powers should be at the front desk.
Literally two seconds later, a guy goes, yes, of course, sir, grabs the package.
But for some reason, when this idiot fool goes down to get it, he can't find it.
There's a whole snafu.
Whole ordeal.
25 minutes.
Unbelievable.
25 minutes I wasted.
Tell the people what happened on those flights.
Flight to Boston.
We sleep two hours.
Bored a flight to Boston.
Get halfway there, dude, from Fort Lauderdale.
And he goes, oh, dude, this is actually hilarious.
The pilot goes,
Bing!
Attention to everything.
Attention to everybody.
we have three computers on this plane
and we took off with one of them failed
and now the second one has failed
and there's weather in Boston
and I'm worried about if the third one fails
I don't want to land with no computer
and I'm like what dude
like how would he why
did we take off with a computer failed
why did the second computer fail
and why do we possibly
think the third computer would fail, dude.
Just go.
What are we talking about?
But he goes, bing, we are going back to Fort Lauderdale.
And I go, that's not possible because I'm already in North Carolina.
Let me parachute out of the plane at the very least.
Bing, we're going back.
And then you will sit in Fort Lauderdale for two hours before we fly you to Boston.
And then you will be in rush hour traffic.
And then you will nearly miss the Bauer vapor live event.
because you were going to drive for two hours in an Uber.
And I go, okay, so we do all that.
Then we go to the event.
Then we come back.
Or no, then we stay up until 5 in the morning.
We sleep two hours again.
And then we drive back to Logan in rush hour traffic again.
And then we get on the airplane.
And then, bing, we are having a nose issue.
Dude, what did he say?
He was like, the nose of the plane is like,
It was like a hydraulics issue.
Yeah.
He's like the nose.
Front landing gear or something.
Bing,
we have a nose issue.
And he goes,
we've had it.
We had it.
We've had it the whole time.
We had a nose issue on the way in.
And then they're looking at it.
And I'm like,
what do you mean?
They're looking at it.
Why were you looking at it when you land it?
And he goes, we're looking at it.
We're going to get it squared away.
And then you'll take off and go back to Fort Lauderdale.
And we're sitting there.
And then he goes, Bing.
The nose issue is fucked.
We have to get off the place.
I'm like, dude, what are you talking about?
And then we get off the plane for three hours and then get on a new plane and fly to
four lot of it.
And I want to give a quick shout out to that other kid on the plane when we boarded
the new, we got on the new plane.
Yeah.
And that kid in the front row ever, he was like, dude, you guys.
Bro, that is the most uncomfortable I've ever felt my entire life boarding an airplane.
Well, no, but don't we mean to him.
He was the man.
No, he was the man.
But boarding an airplane, a kid in the front row of the plane was like this, can I have a picture?
And I'm like,
after the whole plane has been banged.
There's been Bing to death.
When my entire personality,
literally my entire personality is built around being efficient when getting onto an airplane.
Dude.
And he was like,
can you stop?
I was like,
this better be the quickest picture of all time.
I've truly,
I've never put more awkward.
It was a kerfuffle in the plane.
That was kind of sick.
It was truly insane.
So,
huge thanks to Bauer,
but what an ordeal.
Yeah,
huge thanks to Bauer.
Well,
That was amazing.
Love the Bauer Squad.
Massive ordeal.
And we were able to get back and we're able to get to Game 4.
Let's talk about this.
Let's talk about this game.
That's why people are here.
That is why we are dialed into this episode.
We want to talk about the insanity that was game four of the Stanley Cup final.
Florida up 2-1 in the series.
They come into this game after absolutely waxing Edmonton.
Kind of an embarrassing display.
Kind of an embarrassing display from Edmonton in game in game three.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
And then we come out very, very quick, very quick work by Florida,
getting up three nothing in the first period.
Everyone thought it was over.
Okay.
So this hockey game, we were on an earlier show, we're on Tyler show,
talking to a lot of horse fans before the game.
the
I had said many times
the first period of this game
was everything
everything
because if you were the Oilers
you have to punch back
you have to answer dude
like even if the Panthers
were up like won nothing
but you had one of those Oilers peers
we were like we outshot them 15 to 3
and the Panthers scored a goal
but like whatever
you just had to have that response
and my guy
Yeah
Take a picture
Keep going
Take a picture
Stop it
Keep going
Take a picture
Hey
Take a picture
You gotta pull it together
Take a picture
People are
People are trying to watch this episode
And you're being a piece of shit
That's not my fault
Keep going
My guy, Stu
Had to have a good first period
Because it's game four Skinner
And it's all the stuff
Before a goal was even scored
Dan
I wrote down
Eight one shots
at like the 10 minute mark.
Like,
calamity of the highest order,
if you're Edmonton.
Like, you were getting ragdalled.
Before they've scored, dude.
Eight one shots.
And if you're the Oilers at that point,
you're kind of being like,
whatever, if we survive this zero,
if we somehow get out of this period,
zero, okay.
But it just felt,
I was like,
this is not the way to get out of this zero zero.
You're dead.
Absolute calamity start.
And then you take a penalty
after being like,
after Connor doing interviews.
like, you know, we were, I felt we were killing penalties for 22 minutes last game.
You know, can't get our good guys on the ice, can't get into our game.
You take a penalty, you take another penalty, five on three, and then Matthew Kachukh scores.
Yeah.
I'm like, literally have a Hollywood writer draw up a worse start to a game that you can't lose.
You can't.
Disaster.
Man, it was, um, it was, um, it.
Chad is absolutely cooking you right now.
You just got to get it together.
I know, I can't.
Listen.
I cannot get it together.
I don't even know really how to process that game.
Truly.
You come into that game if you're Edmonton, you need a huge bounce back.
And yes, you take a bunch of penalties in the first period.
Also, I thought Stu was playing great in the beginning of that first period.
It was honestly a bit of a sewer that he got yanked.
And they were, I mean, God, you just said it, Chris.
I think it was like shots were like 9 to 1 at a point.
And it, it, there were so many chances for Florida.
They almost scored so many times.
It was still zero zero.
And I was just like, Jesus Christ, man.
Like if they, if they break one through here, it's, it feels like this is going to be just toast for Edmond.
Yeah.
And then, yeah, they get that five on three.
Matthew Kachuk finally scores.
And you're like, oh, do.
Still on the power plate, Matthew Kachukh scores again.
Two nothing to Matthew Kachuk goals.
Just like in game three.
It was like, who hasn't gotten going yet?
Sam Reinhardt. Sam Reinhardt scores that backbreaking, you know, after it got 2-1, Sam
Rhino scores.
And you're like, oh, you're dead.
This was like, okay, you need some momentum, Edmonton.
And then Matthew Kachuk scores two power play goals.
I've never seen anything like it.
This game was over.
Genuinely over.
Hold on.
And then Lundell scores.
The best line in hockey, the best line in this series.
3-0 with 1918, I think that goal was scored.
Less than a minute left, 3-0.
And it just, it shows such an insane level of resiliency by this Oilers team.
But we always get ragged on when we don't give a team credit and we don't do that.
But there are times, guys, there are times where it's necessary to talk about what is going on.
in a series when a team collapses.
And the facts of the matter are this, in my opinion.
3-0 with a goal in the last minute in the first period
when you're on home ice and up 2-1 in the series.
The vibes in that arena after the first period
were celebrating the Stanley Cup.
Oh, dude.
Like we were going to, we're in the cold zone.
You're not exaggerating, by the way.
J-M-O's like Amarant Arena.
was a party.
Like truly, man, Florida Panthers fans running up to us,
jumping all over us, being like, oh, my God, can you believe it?
The chicklets boys were there.
Everyone's running up to them.
They're like, can you guys doubted us yet again?
Oh my God, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And I'm not, I'm not ragging on cats fans.
You know we love you guys.
But it was from the fans, it was a full-on party fest.
Oilers are dead.
This team sucks compared to us.
It's not even close.
You idiots in your destiny this, your destiny that it was a party.
Just peacocking, dancing on Oilers fans' graves.
17 to 7 shots in the first period.
This shit was over.
Wouldn't you know it?
Second period starts.
People aren't even in their seats because they're still out drinking.
They're in the concourse.
They're at all of the bars and lounges.
You blink.
It's 3-1.
And part of you is like, oh, you know, that happened in game three.
It's fine. It's fine. It's fine.
But Nuge gets on the board three minutes into the first or into the second.
And then you pull it together a little bit.
Stu's been yanked.
Okay.
You're jumping ahead of some of lot of stuff here.
I got to go back.
Well, I mean, you are a piece of shit and you're not helping me at all in this episode.
So if you want to go back.
I tried to talk.
Because I can go and you go, hold on, hold on, hold on.
And then you kept going.
I've been sitting here patiently waiting.
All right.
Get in there.
I said this last game.
I need someone.
I need a data analysis, a computer science.
Stu, I think Stu's actually in the chat.
Dude, Stu's in the chat.
Stu, I never needed you more, dude.
Come on.
I need a data analysis on the high sticking penalties this year.
There are so many high sticks.
And I want to know how many high sticking penalties specifically have been converted into goals.
and this would be impossible to analyze
but I need to know
how many stick lifts
have stopped a goal
because it's not the right balance
like all the attempts to lift sticks
are actually just ending up as high sticks
penalties and then a goal against you
so
it's a it's a conspiracy theory
it's got to stop it's got to stop
and the oilers dude
are yeah the
Oilers are still doing that high hedge when the Panthers go to the top there.
They send that penalty killer way up high.
He's like push it back down the half wall.
And it's leaving Sam Reiner in the bumper fucking wide open.
And that second goal, he whiffed.
Remember it went back to him and he like whiffed it.
And then it kind of like kicked back to Chuckie and then Chuckie scored his second.
But I'm like, this is not sustainable if you're Edmonton, just giving up a thousand fucking power play goals.
And I know the O'O's fans are being like, well, we, the calls suck.
Like, it's bullshit.
We're always on the penalty kill.
But I'm like, there are going to be some calls.
And you're high sticking people.
Like, it's not your fault or it's not the ref's fault.
So that, like, of all the amazing buttons that Knoblock has pushed, the penalty kill has been such a massive problem.
And I don't know why they're letting that happen.
Yeah.
And then the third goal, I want to say, holy fuck, that was a dump and change.
Like someone kicked that in.
And Verhege, God bless him, went in because he was like, I'm the one guy that's got to go.
Yeah.
Like, could you remember what D-Ban that was?
No.
But like, literally, and nothing forechecked by Rehagin.
It was like bang, turn over it.
And then Nandel changes, jumps in the play, whatever you said, 50 seconds left.
Unthinkable goal, if you're Edmonton.
Unthinkable goal.
Like, truly, man.
It's just, I don't understand.
how there can be so many back-breaking plays in one game for both teams.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
You're supposed to be dead.
It's supposed to be over.
But instead, it just was going back and forth.
I don't get it.
And then, dude, and actually some people are saying,
oh, or Gabriel's saying it's stetcher.
I think he means that was the stetcher on that turnover.
And I want to say this, dude, because I have two things.
And this was an incredible night.
for Edmonton and all their fans.
But I have two things to say to Oilers fans.
One of them is coming right now.
Even with the wind, because I wrote this note right here,
even with the wind, you got to wear this one.
So many Oilless fans were like,
dude, Stetcher, we're going to put Stetcher in.
And it's going to change everything.
Dude, he's a puck mover.
And Skinner's coming in for Arvinson.
then Skinner can possess.
Wait till you see Stetcher and Skinner.
And again, they won.
So now they get to go, we did it.
But I'm like, we're sitting here, 3.0.
I was like, oh, yeah, Stetcher has changed the series.
And I was like, okay, dude.
And someone in the chat just said he had like four minutes of ice time.
Yeah.
I think that baddest, dude, every older's been before the game was like,
but he was still like, Stetcher.
And I was like, yeah, hell yeah.
Dude, it's like, we're in the second period now on your timeline.
Yeah, you may begin the second period.
Stu is yanked.
Oh, yeah, let's talk about the poll.
Stu is yanked.
And I thought it was aggressive, like two power play goals.
And then that, in my opinion, melt down from.
Yes, that wasn't his fault at all.
And he made some big saves, like to your point.
He made some huge saves.
Yep.
But, dude, I have said it.
again, I said it on Oilers Nation
yesterday, the way
that these two coaches adjust
and not a great one from Paul
Maurice last night, but the way
that these two coaches adjust
is remarkable. They're the two best coaches
in the NHL in my opinion.
You put in fucking Calvin
Pickard. John Luke.
And the fucking guy
makes 19 straight fucking saves.
Like, I don't know what it is.
I don't know how it gets to this Panthers team.
bad how it gets to
how it gets to
the kings how it gets to everyone
but this fucking guy comes in
and just makes
almost 20 straight saves
and it worked
that's the crazy thing
is like if you're knoblocked you're like yeah
I mean I had to make a decision I made it and it won
them the fucking game
Dan it completely did but the bigger thing
for me
going back to the rant I was on about the fans
and the vibe in the arena
Yeah.
That game was one of the bigger fall asleep.
You fucking idiots started lifting the cup in your head as well I have ever seen.
And I just, I will never understand how professional athletes, how guys in the NHL.
And I'm truly not shitting on anyone.
I'm saying I'm trying to process it in my head how you can fall asleep at the wheel like this against this fucking team, against this Edmond's.
Euler's team. When you blew a 3-0 series lead last year to this group, how can you do that again
on home ice? You're up 3-0 in the first period? In the first period, you think that's enough time
to go, yeah, we can stop playing. You out shoot them 17 to 7 in the first period. You go up 3-0.
You effectively rip their fucking souls out of their body.
And you go, you know what's a good idea?
To fall asleep at the wheel and get out shot 17 to 10 in the second period.
To have their backup goalie in and go let off the gas.
You give up a goal in the first four minutes.
You give up a goal halfway through to nurse.
And then you let them fucking tie it up, man.
Like the second, that game was tied three, three.
And it's easy to say this in hindsight.
Game over.
The Oilers won.
In the second period they won when they tied that fucking game up.
And it's because I watched, in my opinion, the best team in the NHL with a 2-1 series lead and a 3-0 lead in the game.
Go let off the gas.
Let this Oilers team back into the game.
Give them life.
What the fuck have we seen happen?
playoffs long when you give this
Oilers team even the
slightest shred of life.
What have we seen happen?
They fucking kill you.
And now here we are
2-2.
We're not even done talking about the game.
But here we are. The series is now
2-2 and you're headed back to fucking
Edmonton.
The
poll, let's go all the way back.
The poll
I thought was
insane.
Obviously, you just said,
hindsight like okay everything worked out I thought the poll was so insane um we were even dude we were
with logan at the game and i was asking him when even when it went to nothing i was like what would you
do what would it take to polls do and he was like it would have to be four early in the second if it gets
to four early then you pull him yeah as an n hl goalie talking and the start the period pull was
dan i thought we were doing a deborce situation again where i was like not that nobboks getting
fired but i was like holy shit nobbok's gonna have to answer for this where he's like yeah sorry i
Like there was no reason at all to pull Stu.
It wasn't his fault.
It was crazy.
And I can't stress this enough.
Dude,
remember somebody in one of our lives?
He's probably in the chat right now,
but somebody in one of our lives was like,
Calvin Pickard is the best backup goalie in the league.
And I was like, okay.
And this, he, regardless of what you think about that,
in game four of the Stanley Cup finals,
Jean-Luc Picard cannot be in that.
Or your season is utterly and completely over.
Dude.
And Chris Knoblock goes, dude, watch this.
Jean-Luc Picard to start the second of a game we literally cannot lose.
Stunning turn of events.
Stunning.
And then the Oilers come out and it was already 3-1.
The shots were 5-0 to start the second and it's already 3-1.
you want to talk about the first period
I said you always can't have
that's a second period
the Panthers can't have
they start to kind of pull it back
but then nurse bang short side high
and I think Bob kind of that was a good shot
but I think Bob kind of wants that
I think that's a terrible goal
yeah it's it's one of those ones where it's like
it's a good shot
but a short side high from a guy like nurse
like if you're Bob you're like are you fucking kidding
yep and like that that's what I'm talking about
it's like that's how the flow is going here
um and also
I want to say this.
Some people in the chat are saying this, and I heard this a ton last night.
What do you think the captain said in the locker room between periods?
Connor changed everything.
He gave a speech in intermission.
I can't roll my eyes hard enough at that.
Dude, what, I am salivating for the Amazon show that of Conner.
Conners yell between periods that changed the whole series.
When you come out, you have a, you have a, you have a nudge goal,
you have a nurse goal, and you have a Pud Colson goal.
Connor, change the game.
Conn, Mr. Dash 2 in the finals.
Mr. Dash 2 and no goals in the finals changed everything in between periods.
Don't talk shit about Conn.
He yelled at them.
I'm just saying he's going to play better.
No, I'm kidding.
I tweeted last night because this has been a big narrative and this is something I was teasing earlier.
I said, like make no mistake, the Panthers lost that game.
And I love a tweet like that because it's kind of rage baity.
But actually, couldn't respect more tons of Oilers fans being like, yeah, like, and we'll take it all day.
Oh, 100%.
Also, chat saying it was Perry.
I haven't seen the broadcast yet.
was Perry. Perry gave a speech and I actually loved that.
Yeah. I actually love that Perry was yelling at them.
But again, man, it's like the oilers didn't come out.
They had 17 shots, but like they didn't come out flying.
Like I wasn't like, oh man, the oilers look so much better this period.
The Pithers weren't there.
They didn't show up. They didn't show up.
Truly, it looked like they were fucking drunk celebrate.
I bet they cracked a bunch of beers after the first period.
That's how they looked like they were playing.
There was nothing.
It's not like the Oilers came shot out of a cannon.
It was just the same game and Florida just stopped playing.
But I make that comment to say, again, this is the thing that I can't really get my head around,
how you possibly can let up like this and let Edmonton back into the game because this is what we've seen every single series.
It's what we saw in game three against L.A.
You were beating them.
And then you just let them.
them claw back every time Vegas had a lead you let them claw back Dallas same thing this
Florida team just feels too good and too smart to make these fucking stupid stupid mistakes and this
is this is how the Oilers keep winning you you win a game like if you're Edmonton all series
or excuse me all playoffs you win a game like this and then you never lose again and that's why
I'm like, the chatter right now is Oilers in six.
And man, I'm like, I wouldn't be surprised.
We were literally people were having conversations, not us, but like people are having
conversations about Panthers in five yesterday after first period.
And now we're talking about Oilers in six.
What other series have we ever seen like this?
Oh, it's such a mental roller coaster.
The, Bob, I want to.
give Bob a little credit. He made an awesome save.
I think it was the Barkoff to lay a game
because it was 3-2 at that point
and then you took a penalty and Barkoff's in the box
and you're like, holy shit. It's literally about to be
3-3, which eventually was. But
he made a massive save on that PK
where I was like, oh my God, dude, Bob.
That actually could like swing the whole game
and keep this series alive if you're the
Panthers. And then
when it does go 3-3,
silent, dude.
That is one of the most quiet.
I talked about the Perry game triangle, how loud Rogers was.
Dude, that is the most quiet I have ever heard a rink in my life when that went in.
It was soul snatches.
Oh, my God, dude, that was insane.
I'll tell you what, man, there was, there was a period where, you know, we compare arenas a lot and vibes.
Yeah, yeah.
Oilers fans are, they are, this is all I have people.
Like, truly, they're like, the only thing that we care about on earth is the Oilers.
We, we defend Panthers fans all the time.
They, they are, I think they're awesome.
Yeah.
And I think that arena is awesome.
But that arena is a party.
People are there drinking, they're hanging out.
They're having a great time.
It's a Thursday night.
And like we said, you go up 3-0 in the first period.
Like, people just started fucking ripping.
And it was awesome.
It was awesome to see.
There were times in that game when it was 3-3.
and Edmonton has a power play.
And I was looking around being like,
are you guys paying attention?
Are you watching the game?
You're about to die.
Yeah, you've died already.
And yeah, like that third goal,
it just feels like I can't believe.
It's like everyone all of a sudden realized like,
oh, wait, what is going on?
And like I said,
I mean, I was texting a bunch of,
a bunch of the friends that we've made here
who are Florida fans.
And, you know,
all of our hockey.
buddies and I was like game over and I I don't give a shit what happens.
Yep.
And there was a part of me eating crow and Rhino tied it, you know, but I was like, dude,
we just saw the Oilers do this in game two and you know, Florida ended up winning an
OT.
So don't get cocky people.
But I do want to talk about Walman's goal.
Okay.
Yep.
Game gets tied three three, absolute dagger.
Like Florida is reeling.
Yeah.
And now we're in the third period.
and dude
all game
after the first period
Florida is just doing this
the cheekiest shit I've ever seen
just some of these plays
where it's like they've got
all the time in the world puck behind the net
possession in their own zone
and they're doing these weird like
I'm not saying glass and out
but do the smart play
and instead they're going like little cheeky
between the legs pass
in front of the net for a break
out.
Florida gets possession behind the net, or not behind the net, in the corner with a little
bit of time.
And I was like, okay, like, here you go, guys.
Like, try to settle yourselves down.
And there's just one of the worst plays you'll ever see.
I'm not going to bring up the players, but like, was it Barco?
I think Barkoff didn't.
And someone in the chat, like, I think Barkoff turned that over.
Yeah.
Really shitty puck possession.
Yeah. And then a bad attempted pass up the wall, immediate turnover, immediate pass over
to Walman, bottle squirt and Walman,
clap bomb pass Bob,
Oilers take the lead.
And those are the ones
where like every bit of momentum, right?
Every bit of shit talk that you had under your belt
after the Oilers lose their composure in game three,
they tried to get into a fist fight
and they got fucking slapped in the mouth.
Walman looks like a clown.
He looks like a loser.
And now all those photos of Walman fucking laughing at NoSick are back.
Like a Walman completely redeems yourself.
And he did.
He did.
And it's just like, oh my God.
That game could not have gone worse for Florida.
And yes, yes, you tie it.
But like, dude, blowing that lead, you're up 3-1 in the series.
And then you blow this lead.
Walman scores.
You lose an OT to a dry, sidal goal again.
Stu Skinner undefeated in games four in game fours in the Stanley Cup playoffs.
Still. Still.
Still.
So funny.
Calvin Pickard makes 22 saves, 19 straight.
7 and 0.
Calvin Pickard in the Stanley Cup playoffs.
Colin Smith.
7 and O.
Colin Smith.
Dude, somebody.
Like that game was a disaster before.
Okay.
So the, I did want to just give a shout out with like a minute.
I'm shouting out my boy, Dave.
in the chat again. He goes, I'm going to need CP to have better posture. And looking at the
YouTube right now, you, I don't, I don't know how you're sitting. Like, you're sitting on the,
the small of your back. How about this? How about now? How about now, Dave? At home, there was a minute
left in the second, and Kishok one squirted to him back door. Yeah. Literally nude net.
Because Jean-Luc, dude, Jean-Luc is like, uh, he goes, he's an angles man. Yeah. He
pushes out so hard. If you pack
door Jean-Luc, it's literally, there's no one
in the goal. And
Chuckie, wide open net,
and Echole blocked it. There were two guys there,
but it hit Echoom's gate and I was like, man,
if that goes in and you go to the room for three
Panthers, they go, wow, what a
fucking melt job by us, but it doesn't matter.
We're winning. That block was
monumental. So I
want to shout that out.
Also,
so many people were laughing
about pick they were like
Pickard
John Luke Picard
Like
could somebody
Somebody made a cons might joke
Where we were we were at
And we were like he could never win conspite that I was like dude
He is undefeated
He like literally gives him cons might
I don't understand
Like he's undefeated
And who do you want to give it to
Connor?
Connor hasn't done shit in the final
In the final it's a full playoff award
But I'm like give it to Jean Luke dude
He's undefeated
He's crazy crazy
Like truly here's the crazy thing for me
That
That game
Yeah like Connor's not been great
And you're you're still
You're still winning
Yeah
And I hate being like the destiny guy
I really hate that shit
But every time the Oilers keep winning like this
I'm like they are
Like it is guys
You can hate on it all you want
But you look at
There's a video online right now
Of them winning
And Conner's on the bench
He looks relieved
Like he doesn't even get up
And celebrate
You can see the breath.
He's like, oh my God.
That's a huge win.
Like he was scared.
Oh, yeah.
And that like this is the team, dude.
This team's picking him up.
It's, it's.
Yes, God.
Yes.
Genuinely, they're picking him up.
They're getting it done.
And what's nuts about Picard, man, is, I hate how you.
Jean-Luc.
What's nuts about him is that Sam Bennett won T in overtime.
What a save.
Dude, what a save.
And I know it's positioning.
I'm sure LT or like Sway would tell me to shut the fuck up right now.
Pickard has no clue where that shot is.
Oh,
he's just getting over.
He's just getting over.
No idea.
And like that puck just hits his glove,
then hits the crossbar.
Sam Ben and elevates by a half inch.
But aren't those those plays in O-T, man?
The second that one hit the crossbar, I was just like this.
Yeah, you're losing.
Dude, a lot of people, we all thought that went in.
Like a lot of people we were with was like,
uh,
yeah.
Nazim Kodry was with us in our, in our, in our,
that was back bar.
And he was like,
that hit back bar.
And I was just like, I don't think so, man.
And it was because it hit the glove that made it look weird.
But, well, so I want to say just about that second period in general,
it's really weird to me, Dan, that you can't, and we've seen this all playoffs,
that you can't make an, you can't fix something or make an adjustment in a period.
If you can do it in intermission, we've seen the Panthers or the Oilers have a bad
period and come out and, you know,
the speech or whatever happens and you fix it.
But when a period starts
going one way, I haven't
seen a team be able to pull that
back till the break.
So as
the second period started to slip away,
it was just
quicksand for the Panthers.
But I give them credit
because to start the third, they really
did come back
hard. To start the third, I was like, oh wow, yeah,
this is like a classic Panthers
we got murdered in the first period of game one
and then we figured it out
but that was the worst period
the second period last night was the worst period
the Panthers have played since the third period
of game one
where I was really like holy shit
I like that I like that call
that's actually the only two periods in my mind
the whole series that the Panthers have looked like the worst team
third period game one second period
second period game four and they 100% were
drunk on
I think the cup was being
engraved. I think somebody has to go fix the cup now because they started putting the
Panthers names in it. And the Panthers were sitting there watching it happen between periods.
And in my mind, Paul Maurice went, hey, idiots, that's the series isn't over to start the third.
But this is where you pay the price of playing this Oilers team who are so good.
because the third period,
you're not good enough to just go,
we'll just win now.
Because I'm like,
the Oilers are nasty, dude.
You think you can't just beat the Oilers
when you feel like it?
I think you're probably better than them,
but you can't just beat them
when you feel like it.
They're fucking gross.
And the third period was exactly that,
where they go,
I think we're playing slightly better
that not in the second period.
You're playing way better than the second period.
I think you're playing slightly better
than the Oilers.
Bang Jake Walmengel
in the back of your net.
Now you're going to lose.
very cool
comeback
it's crazy that we've seen
too epic
it was it was nuts
I was filming that
just like I was filming in game
two
just to like get the end of the game
as these games over
so
oh sorry
I very cool comeback for Florida
I'm sorry I thought you meant
oh no no like very cool
come back
people went nuts man
people went nuts
and that was awesome
so that was sick
and kind of wild that we've seen
you said this with the two
teams that had last second comebacks
which almost always ends
as a win. Because you're like hell yeah
both floss
which is what God what a narrative
again it's always so funny
like going the hindsight
of a narrative
it's like
I look at that and I'm like
I thought
I was like
you're going to lose still.
You did?
Yeah, I didn't think,
I didn't know.
It just felt like,
because Bob,
Bob made a huge save on dry sidle with like three minutes left to keep it a one goal game.
And then you get the,
who scored that last one,
Rino?
Yes.
Then you get the Rino goal.
And I was like,
okay,
maybe,
maybe this is,
maybe this is something.
I,
I tease that I had a second thing I wanted to say to Oilers fans.
I want to say it right now.
This was,
I saw a lot of Oilers fans after.
Most of them admitted it,
but I saw a lot of Oilers fans after
who were like,
dude, like, we're having, blah, blah.
Every Oilers fan on earth,
including McDavid's wife,
knew that this,
they had lost after the first period.
Nobody was like this.
A lot of hockey left.
Trust us.
We can come back.
I'm serious.
Not a single one of them.
Dude, yeah.
I think oilish,
I mean,
like a lot of the oilish fans that we have met
and have become friends with,
we're texting us after the first period,
and they were like,
Jesus, man,
like we weren't even close to the series.
I got a text that said,
we weren't even close to the series.
Correct.
And here we are.
Oh, yeah,
and now you've won the cup.
But I need Oilers fans,
and it doesn't change.
You get to still celebrate your parade,
and that's awesome.
But I need them to know,
No, deep in their hearts that they completely gave up.
And any single fan that tells you that they thought they were coming back in that game and the series is a fucking liar, dude.
And it's full of shit.
And it doesn't matter.
The cup's the cup and you get to win it.
But that killed me, dude, laughing with all them when they were like, you can't doubt this team.
And I was like, well, you can because you did.
And we all knew that this game is over.
And no one's blaming them.
Yeah, no, dude, of course not.
Of course not.
I'm telling you.
So, you know, here's some more staff.
for you guys. In the Stanley Cup
playoffs,
teams are 37 and 0
when leading 3-0 after the first period.
Now 37 and 1. Yep.
Like how many times
with this Oilers team? Yep.
Have we seen stats like that that make no sense
get broken?
Broken. Paul Maurice, 31 and 0
with a lead after the period. Yeah.
31 and 2 now.
Two losses in the last four games.
It's like they just continue to snatch these wins out of nowhere that make no sense.
And that's, that's I suppose why I'm losing my mind.
And, you know, if I were a Panthers fan, I would be pretty freaked out right now because those stats don't make sense.
And they certainly don't make you feel good.
So, yeah, if I'm a Panthers fan and I know this team and I know this coach and this group
and you said on home ice, after a 17 to 7 shot performance in the first period,
you were up three nothing.
And you lost.
Like if I, if I called someone and went and they missed the game and I go, dude,
after the first period, this happened.
And then you lost.
you would go, what?
Like, how did they let that happen?
Yep.
That is why I'm like, I'd be freaking out.
And it's this Oilers team.
It's, I've been doing exactly this,
just like stuttering over my words since round one,
because they're so difficult to understand.
And so many people go, you can't count out Connor and Leon.
And I know Leon scored the overtime winner,
but guys, that was an own goal.
Yeah.
Like, hey, listen, get pucks to the net.
But let's not act like it was that beautiful power play goal that Connor and Leon scored.
That was a lucky bounce.
The fact that they're winning these games and it wasn't even Connor and Leon picking them up.
Like, that's why they're so confusing.
That's why they're going to win.
Yeah.
And I don't get it.
I do not get it in the slightest.
And the reason I'm given Florida a bit of a hard time is, like I said, they lost this game.
Like you guys let this happen.
The Oilers didn't beat you in this game.
Like you let this collapse happen.
And I don't get how this group and that coach on home ice lets that happen.
And this is this is the craziest series I've ever.
Yeah, I agree.
And that game might have been the craziest fucking hockey game I've ever seen in my life.
Not because like, oh, the action, the this, that that, the just literally the ability to let what just transpired go down is something that I, my brain can't compute.
It's the craziest game I've ever
And so many people being like
Being like dude
Well you know
People keep forgetting the oil with this is what you always do
After a big loss
They just come back and win
They always win
And again
The history will show you're right
You did win
But this was
After a big loss
You got murdered again
Exactly like that
That's I will
I will fight back on you chat
Like
They didn't do
They didn't win
The Oilers didn't win
This game
Like the Panthers
lost this game.
And it's not like, oh, yeah, it was
like, guys, they were up three nothing.
LT said to us, he was like,
dude, this is the most oilers game I've ever seen
because if you get up on them,
you go to sleep and then they,
they just don't quit.
And dude,
so much credit to them because they don't quit.
They could have rolled,
we keep being like,
the Panthers fell asleep in between periods.
True.
But the Oilers could have 100% rolled over.
They could have gone,
oh, we're dead.
And they just kept battle.
And they said,
get the next one.
Get the next one.
Get the next one.
And they're like, God, dude.
And it's not even your guys.
It's not like Connor came out and went insane.
Oh, I did want to say Connor.
There was a save in overtime where Connor went like,
Oh, it danced through everybody.
Yeah.
And this was like, oh, this was the highlight goal.
Holy shit.
And there was a save there.
That's the only time I actually did think the Panthers were going to still win.
Because I was like, oh, shit.
That felt like it.
That was the YouTube moment.
And that was insane.
I also want to say
Stu said
A lot of people in the chat are obviously making fun of my posture right now
because I'm in shambles.
But Stu goes,
imagine being a professional athlete
and having your performance criticized by someone
looking like this.
And to that I would say,
I dare.
I dare any one of those athletes last night
to do what I did to myself last night
and then be awake right now talking.
They might not be able to.
might not they might not be able to i fucking dare anyone on the oilers to do what i did to myself
last night and be not in a hospital and here i am here i am making fucking plays you are i need
one of these teams to win this series so badly so i'm get away from this human okay my god um
few things for me yeah big picture i do think if the panthers if you are a panthers
certainly or a
fan
I still think
they're doing this
bro we went to
OT twice in Edmonton
should have beat them twice
the one we lost we blew a 3-1
lead and then this game we lost
we should have beat them 20 nothing
and we choked on ourselves
it's Panthers and 6 easily
because it should have been a sweep
we literally should have swept them
I still think that's
the rationalization spin zone if you're in the Florida camp. I'm not saying it's right. I'm just saying
I can see where the confidence is coming from still because if you look at the facts, that's
kind of how the series has gone. Yeah, no doubt about it. I mean, this is, I don't ever want to
not give Edmonton credit. Yeah. Oh my God. I really like what you said of, of they kept
chipping away. I mean, the the fortitude of, the fortitude of, you know, the fortitude of, you know,
of that Oilers team to be down in the series, down three nothing after the first period and go,
don't quit, dude.
Yes.
Keep playing.
That is where they deserve all the credit in the goddamn world.
It's really, really remarkable with that much pressure in the Stanley Cup final, back-to-back years,
to be able to battle like that when you're away too.
You're on the road.
Oh, my God, dude.
Totally.
The team, like I said, picking each other up, you know, goals from news.
with an injured wrist goals from nurse I think his what was that nurse is like fourth of the
playoffs second of the playoffs because it was pot it was pod coles in second of the playoffs and I'm like man
like these guys are there's no quit they are picking each other up and uh third of the playoffs for
nurse and yeah second for pod second for walman like guys who haven't been scoring picking you up
getting you that win that that was remarkable and but
But I stand by everything I said.
It was also remarkable for Florida to go to sleep.
And I don't know how teams keep making these mistakes against them.
But it was the most Oilers win ever.
And I am yet again sitting here going,
momentum clearly means nothing in this series.
Yes.
Oh, my God, dude.
And I've been such an advocate of that not being true.
I'm like, there is momentum.
What the fuck?
And everybody's like, oh, it's all zero.
Start the game.
I'm like, no, it isn't. It completely matters game to game.
Wrong.
Like, this series is fucked.
Momentum clearly means nothing.
And where it felt like Florida had all of it,
they just lost a brutal game.
And yeah, it's 2-2 now.
You're going back.
And I know you got mad at me for talking about the ice, Chris.
But, like...
The dude, people got mad at you for that.
Did they?
Well, just in the comments.
It was like, the ice, the ice.
But you're going back to, you're going back home.
You're going back home if you're the Oilers.
Yep.
And I just think you've got to feel good.
Dude, you feel great if you're Edmonton.
Oh my God.
Best of three with two at home.
Yeah, like take the momentum away.
Yeah, you're best of three now with two at home.
And you just broke their back.
And it's, it's nuts.
You know, at the end of the day,
Edmonton responded.
You got your back broken in game three.
And you responded in one.
just like they all said they would.
Florida,
you just got your back broken.
Will you respond?
Good take, Dan.
Good take.
Will you respond?
Because this was back break.
If you're Florida,
you were,
you were cup celebrating.
You were planning the parade.
And you just got your back broken.
Now let's see how you respond.
And I don't know.
It's like,
how can we call it?
How can you,
how could anyone predict these games?
If you say you have,
I think you're lying.
My question for you is,
if you're the Oilers,
who do you start in this game?
So this was a big one,
yeah.
There was a period for me,
certainly where when Stu got yanked
and it was three nothing still,
like start at the second,
three nothing still.
I was going,
you have to start stew in game in game.
Oh my God, yes.
But now Pickard is 7 and 0
and he just made that many saves,
19 straight to straight up.
keep you in that game, makes that huge save on Bennett and OT.
Like, I actually think that you have to start picking.
It's not even a question, Dan.
I'm dead serious.
And I just want to give one guy in the chat, a shout out,
or person in the chat, a shout out.
I don't know if it's a guy.
CG.
Um,
he says harping on McDavid-all podcast,
top five player Barkoff through four games.
Dash three, two power play assists overcommitted on the game one.
O.T.
winner walks by McDavid on that power play assist.
Massive giveaway for the wall.
Oh,
don't worry.
Don't worry.
It's in my notes.
We're getting to it.
Completely agree.
Barkoff has been nowhere near, nowhere near good enough.
I want to say.
I would say he's been bad.
And I want to say, I don't know, I'd like to look up his plus minus last year.
It's not eat.
Like I think we would all agree Barkoff was good against McDavid last year.
And McDavid had back to back four point nights.
Like, you know, McDavid went off in the playoffs last year.
You can still be good when you're just eating five on five minutes against McDavid all the time.
But Barkoff has been not the play.
that you need to win this series.
That being said, you should have already won this series if you're Florida,
even with this Parkoff performance, but you're not and he's not doing it.
Yeah.
So, CG, you're 100% right.
I didn't mean to say McDavid hasn't been living up to standards and Barkoff is.
Neither of them.
Neither of them are doing it.
Yeah, it's one of those tough things where Connors' stats aren't that great.
And when you look at the player that Barcove is,
you have to chalk that up to a lot of good stuff.
from Barkoff, right? You're like, yeah, well, that's probably why. It's because Barkov is trying,
is neutralizing him a bit. But yeah, you know, part of the, maybe you say too, like, well,
maybe Connor's doing that to Barkoff. Yeah, yeah, I think about it like that.
I like that, yeah, he has not been nearly as, as offensive as he needs to be. And he did,
and it's tough, right? Like, people are like, he's, he's the, he's the Selky winner. Like,
you know, that's not what you need him to do, but I'm like, yeah, it is, dude. You do need it.
Like he's your first line center.
A couple times.
Yeah.
So to get back to the goalie, it's not even, and I'm sad, dude, for Stu.
I love Stu Skinner.
Yeah.
I think he's one of the most fascinating players in the league.
And I'm, I feel bad because it was a cool narrative that he's like, oh, my God, I get, I get pulled and I kind of reset.
Obviously, he does all the mental health stuff and the sports psychology stuff.
He resets and then he's like, boom, I'm dialed.
Yeah.
There's no.
You don't get to reset.
out after this.
Yeah.
And again, I don't even think it was his fault, but, but you're done.
You're done for the playoffs.
Jean-Luc Picard is starting game five, game six, and game seven.
I don't even think, actually, I'll pose this to you.
What could happen in game five that's do Skinner starts in game six?
A game like, a game like game three.
Is that really, though?
Yeah, I would.
If the Oilers lose 6-1 in game 5, you start Stu in game 6 in Florida.
Yeah.
After he gave up nine goals in four periods.
Yes.
Really?
Yeah.
What do you mean, really?
I just don't think you can go back to that.
If your backup loses 6-1, yes, I would go back to my starter.
And also, I would look at what happens after Stu gets arrest.
He gets shut up.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, true.
So, yeah, like, what are they fucking talking about?
I think it's not even a question if that happens.
6-1, that's your line.
No, I think any, giving up more, losing by three or more goals, yes, you go back to still.
Three or more.
Well, the note I wrote was this Edmonton goalie situation will be studied forever.
I literally cannot believe what we're watching.
It will literally, dude, it will bring.
break every model of understanding.
It will break every model of understanding in the in NHL history.
Uh, truly.
I am.
If they, if this, if this team somehow wins a stand.
The top with this goal.
Tending.
Two worst goalies.
Like I've, that have ever been in the playoffs.
It will truly be studied forever.
Like, we talk about all the time.
You need a blue chip to want to stay on the cup.
There's in the last 10 plus years, there are only a couple of examples of like, oh, yeah,
that team kind of figured it out without, without a great.
this one is going to break every stat and under a pace of understanding we've ever seen.
And again, the crazy thing is we're not getting last year Connor performance of like 45.
Yeah, yeah, 42 points in the playoffs.
It's like I'm telling you, man, the the double, the two-sided coin of that game of I will never understand how that Florida Panthers group,
just let that happen. And I will never be able to give enough credit to the Oilers team. And again,
not McDry for picking them up and going, don't quit, don't quit. Like we have lost the Stanley
Cup, but don't quit. And they just battled back. And not only do they battle back, they battled back
in one period. Like they, it took them one period to get back in that game away. Like it is,
I, I've genuinely, I've never seen a hockey game like it. Because it's, it's,
It's crazy when you see a team
because Florida,
they got 10 shots in that second period.
Yeah.
But were they great shots?
Pickard made 19 straight saves.
Were they great saves?
I can remember a few great ones,
but not all of them yet.
I don't think.
I wrote in the second period,
a note choosing to not shoot on Calvin Pickard,
it was a choice.
So I don't think there's any,
and chat,
if there are some Panthers fans,
in the chat please chime in i don't think that they can go dude like second third period we still
played great like i thought you played poorly i thought you played very poorly and that is what i'm like
how do you do this how do you let that happen so it's not like yeah they went up three oh
but then it was just a slug fest like the oilers got back in the game and pickard was standing on
his head he was making insane saves like the the panthers were all the
over them and then the oilers just like chipped away.
That is where I'm like, that's why the game is so confusing to me because, yeah,
oilers deserve all the credit in the world for still playing, for getting goals past Bob.
But it was just like the sloppy turnovers that led to the Walman goal.
It was the sloppy turnovers that led to the three before that.
It was just bad hockey from Florida.
And that's why I can't believe that they let that happen.
the uh the you're right everything you're saying is right um and and and to and to pile on they kind
of wasted a oh chucks going now like there were a few things where you're like definitely
wasted that definitely wasted that oh my god now it's the oil is worst nightmare these are games
that you now lost that's insane somebody said a couple of i was trying to fly a couple things in the
chat but they're buzzing right now a couple people said um it's like the raw uh pamela like the entire
team is playing with Connor. That's the difference.
I do think, man, to have your backup goalie in
and get a nurse goal,
a pod goal,
that and a Walman goal to take
the lead, like that's what's doing it for you,
is inspiring.
If you're Edmonton, absolutely inspiring.
What an incredible,
like, team, full team effort.
The goalie thing that you were talking about,
uh,
to have,
to have these guys,
I am actually a pretty big advocate of you don't truly need that AA plus blue chip guy.
And I know I don't have a lot of data to back me up.
Everyone always points to Kemper, Colorado.
That's like the only one recently.
But I am kind of so annoying.
He's literally a Vesna finalist last year.
But even, yeah, fair.
So it's like it's even worse for me.
Yeah.
But I'm kind of like, I just still don't buy it.
I think a guy can get hot.
I think you can figure it out.
Even with my stance that you don't need a guy,
it is unimaginable to win the Stanley Cup with two goals.
You have a tandem and both stink.
And your megastars aren't really doing it,
which I know is so crazy because they're leading the playoffs in points,
so it's not like they're not playing well.
They're not doing it the way they normally do it.
But that's, well, you'd think if we're going to win with Jean-Luc and Stu giving up a thousand goals a game,
it's because Connor and Leon are outscoring them.
And I'm like, they're actually not.
Yeah.
It's one of the craziest things I've ever seen, dude.
I'm serious.
It goes into what I said on a morning cup of hockey yesterday.
I'm sick of, and I don't know how many times I need to say it.
Drysaddle is my favorite forward in the last.
league. I love this guy. But I'm over it. I'm over everyone talking about these two. Yeah.
It's the team. It's the team. Dude, the team, the team. It is the team. Like the books will be
written about this Euler's team, about this playoff runs. It's amazing. If and when this Edmonton
team wins the Stanley Cup. The team deserves documentaries made about them. Yeah, dude, no joke.
No joke. This group deserves documentaries made about it. I'm talking about it. I'm talking about it. I'm
telling you the clip that I just saw of the relief on Connor McDavid's face on the bench when
they won in overtime will be will be the headline of documentaries.
And that's not a knock on McDavid.
It's the relief that I don't believe he's been allowed to feel often enough in his
career of going, holy shit, the boys.
Picked it up.
The boys just saved us in that game.
Yep.
Like that, that I think is a feeling that Connor McDavid has not been able to feel many times in his career.
Yeah, true.
Here we are in the Stanley Cup back-to-back years where he's just been bawling out his whole goddamn life.
He bawled out last year, leading the playoffs and points.
And this is a game where he was like, I'm not going.
Barkov's all over me.
Lundell's all over me.
And I'm not going.
And Nuge gets a goal.
Yeah.
And like Nuge.
Yeah.
He's hurt.
He's hurt as hell.
Like the, you know, the bust, the guy like, oh, what is Nuge?
14 years.
Nuge goes, hey, wake the fuck up.
We're still in it.
Nurse gets a goal.
Who are the two people that I called out on?
Yeah.
Yeah.
I was like, what about Nuge, dude?
What about nurse?
They get goals.
And they look at Connor and go, hey, come on.
We got you.
We got you.
Yep.
Pod, your fourth minor gets a goal.
Walman, your deadline pickup gets a goal.
Like, this.
This team is just never quitting, and they are consistently going,
oh, are we out of it?
No.
These guys, the depth, the randomness of the team, they are keeping them alive.
They are making them stay in the fight.
And I'm like, holy fuck, man.
Like, that is the headline.
That is the narrative of when this team wins a Stanley Cup.
of how they did it.
It's this.
And like that clip,
I can't get over that clip
because I'll just say it again.
It's a look on Connor's face
that I've not seen often.
And I bet right now he's,
he is in Edmonton and he's like,
fuck yeah, man.
Like these guys are keeping us alive.
Like it's not just me.
And I don't think he's ever felt it's just me
because he's such a-
I know what you mean.
I know what you mean.
But he's like,
it's like, it's not just me in Lee.
on like we're all doing it we're all pulling the sled in the right direction that must be a feeling
that is so invigorating for him you dude you go like this you go we we can do it and he but
truly believes because he's right we this team can do it because it's coming from everywhere
and every line and every corner of the roster somebody said i think it was jinny somebody said
in the chat i can't believe a high scoring the series has been yeah totally agree what a
fucking idiot I am. I was like, I'm all over the under.
There's literally nine goals. I said the same. I was like,
I'm due for an under two. Totally agree.
And I'll say this again, man.
And this is probably harsh,
but you can't give up
five goals of fucking game
if you're Bob. Oh, it's bad. Bob's been
so good. He's made some really great saves.
The Oilers have scored
four plus in
three of the four games. Yeah.
No, it's bad. It's really bad.
You cannot
lose the goalie battle, dude.
How many fucking series in a row can I say this?
And it's like at least, dude,
at least when Dallas is losing the goalie battle,
which is unacceptable,
and it got Pete DeBoer fired
because he was so rattled about it,
at least when Dallas is losing the goalie battle,
it's because Stu is playing sick.
And you go,
Otter, you have to be better than Stu Skinner,
but you're just not right now,
and I don't know what to tell you.
When Aiden Hill is losing the goalie battle,
Jean-Luc Picard is playing sick.
And I'm like, okay, fucking Christ.
Bob losing the goalie battle is a death sentence if you're Florida.
And the Oilers goalies are playing horribly.
It's not even like they're playing great.
And I'm like, damn, Bob, you got outplay.
Because that's sports, right?
Bob's the better goalie than Stu or Jean-Luc.
But they could outplay him.
That's sports.
Stu and John Luke are, I mean, I don't want to dog John Luke.
He hasn't even been in yet.
And he actually played good.
So, but Stu, my guy has been brutal.
And Bob gives up just as many goals.
Like, I swear, man, we are going to talk about this at the end.
People are going to go, people are going to go, the Panthers lost for a lot of reasons.
But one of them is because Bob got lit up all series.
It's maybe not being talked enough about CP.
I agree.
Because, yeah, I mean, let's talk about this.
Game three was big, right?
It was good for Bob.
And the thing that sucks is two OT games and one.
I mean, the fact, by the way, we haven't even said this.
Three of four games.
Crazy, dude.
So crazy.
Like, I feel like we're forgetting that.
But games one and two, he gives up many goals, yes.
But he made like 40 saves.
I know, I know.
Like, it's just like he's getting peppered in games one and two.
And I'm like, yeah.
But to me, it's more on the deep.
I'm like, sure.
When Bob's making 40 plus saves in games 1 and 2 and giving up what was it 4 and then 3 goals
What the fuck would the score of those games?
I think 4 3 4 3 no 4 3 then 5 4.
Oh, so we've got 2 5 4 games.
Yeah, 2 5 4 OTs
Yeah, you're right.
Jesus Christ.
No, no, no, no.
Yep.
Look that up.
No, buddy.
I don't even have to.
I don't even have to, pal.
Well, either way, I'm pretty sure Bob had like 38 or 40 plus saves in both games 1 and 2.
And if you're him, I think you're a little bit like, dude, you guys, you got to give me a little bit of a break here if you're going to be dogging me.
Yeah, 5-4.
Jesus Christ.
So I hear you, dude, like, just say a percentage isn't horrible, but I'm telling you, dude.
And people saying, like, you don't think it's on Bob.
I don't think it's on Bob.
Yeah, it's not on Bob.
But, yeah, you give up 4, 4, 1, 5.
that's Sergey Bobrovsky.
Like,
that's your,
that's your,
that's your,
that's not good.
That is very not good.
And now my point is,
you're going back to Edmonton.
You think,
you think you're giving up one goal at Rogers place.
Dude,
like,
you,
he's going to give up three goals on a Sunday.
I guarantee it.
Like,
he's going to give up three goals.
Yeah.
So,
yeah,
like I'm looking at Florida and I'm like this,
you better be prepared to win five,
four in Edmonton,
which is a big task.
Like,
you literally have to go,
like,
which is all,
Funny, Dan, because I'm going like this.
You've got to score four goals if you're going to win,
and they have their AHL backup in.
But somehow it feels impossible.
Like, literally, I'm like, you have Jean-Luc Picard
in a fucking pivotal game five of the Stanley Cup finals,
and I'm like, you can't score on him.
You can't score on him, and you're going to lose
because Bob is going to give up a million goals.
Like, what Twilight Zone are we living in?
But that's what the Oilers did this year, dude.
The Oilers, this is Twilight Zone.
The Orleus have created Twilight Zone, and they are living in it.
We are all living in it now.
And that's what's happening.
That's where we're at.
This series, this is the drunkest, most nonsensical series I've ever watched.
It's, when we're staring down the barrel of going, yep, we're about to head into game five in Edmonton.
Bob is giving up four goals a game.
Stu Skinner's been benched.
and Calvin Pickard is 7-0 in the playoffs.
He's literally their MVP.
Connor didn't score a single goal in that game.
You've got...
He's not scored yet.
You've got puns in Nerson, Walman, picking up the bullet.
Like, nothing makes sense.
And as a neutral fan, it is...
It's exhausting.
It's amazing.
I'll admit, it is exhausting.
Like, I am sitting here like, good God.
Like, I can't take much more of this.
And, yeah, I don't know.
I don't know what to say.
I genuinely don't have a clue how to predict.
And you know what?
No one does.
There is not a single person.
Like there are people who get mad at us.
By the way,
I always love,
I love shouting this out because every now and then fans get drunk.
They get mad and they'll come at us online
and they'll say mean things and this and that.
We get a DM this morning.
So some Oilers fans were like, you fucking guys, like you love Florida too much.
And we get a DM this morning from a guy that says, grow some balls.
You guys are pussies.
Oh, yeah.
Keep your dopy Canadian heads on a swivel.
You total cock chugging pussies.
It's real.
What's real?
Also, cock chugging.
Dude, what's real?
Is maybe the funniest thing I've ever heard in my entire life.
So Brian Miller.
How are you?
Come over.
Thank you for that one.
Have a beer, Brian.
Cock chugging is like the genuinely the funniest thing I've ever heard.
Canadian.
But we're not Canadian.
I don't chug cock.
And I assume that's a Florida fan being like you guys are Edmonton fans.
Yeah.
So it's just like.
Stook, Stu goes, oh good, you got my message.
So we can't win.
But the point I'm trying to make is
every now and then people will get mad at us
if they don't agree with the take and they're like,
who are you two losers?
You didn't even play in the NHL.
You're a couple of morons.
And I'm like, I never said that wasn't true.
I never once.
Hey, I never once said that wasn't true.
Never once.
The larger point is I dare anybody,
anybody to look at Wayne Gretzky
to look at Kevin BXA, to look at Jason Demers,
like our buddies who played in the NHL,
who are great minds for this game,
and see anyone who's predicted anything in this series.
You will not find one.
You will not find a single person.
This has been one of the craziest series
I've ever witnessed,
and it's absolutely breaking my brain.
My brain is broken.
Yes, it is.
I had said, I picked all this in five.
Obviously, that was wrong.
Yeah.
the, but everybody was talking yesterday, if you could repick, what is it?
And we were all kind of like sure it feels like Panthers and six.
Yeah.
The way it's going.
I said, um, it'd probably be a tight one last night.
But if it was going to be a blowout, it would be Panthers.
Yeah.
I don't see the oilers ever blowing out the pan this, this panthers too.
And then I was kind of like to the start of the game.
I was like, I was pretty accurate.
Like the Panthers are going to blow them out, but whatever.
And then even as it got close, I was like, I'm still right.
I said it was going to be a tight one.
I,
And I'm going to get killed for this if I'm wrong, but I'm fine.
I don't care anymore, Dan.
I just don't care.
This series, I cannot possibly do.
You know how Dr. Strange goes like this?
Yeah.
I saw 14 million universes.
I cannot see, or maybe this, to be, to save myself.
Someone just said Dale has predicted this perfectly.
there's no way memes is predicting
what are you talking about?
It was with memes last night
call memes
Oh no
Actually
Who said that?
Kaden
Meems
Does have the games
Dead ass
But he said
But Kaden
You gotta own this
He said
Panthers blowout
Win game three
Oilers blow out
When game four
And they didn't blow them out
But he does have the games dead ass
Yeah but so do I
So does Osh
Osh text of this
But for the record
So do I
I have said it's going to go
you win I win you and I
I like it's I said it was going to be a split
Yep
Like so if that's the case sure
But give me credit too Caden
Yep
Uh
Dr Strange
A million
Caden just says 100% he has again wrong
Because he said below it has
No you can't say 100%
Yeah
If we're saying games then I got the games right too
98% 98%
98%
I've seen 14 million
Universe is Dan
The Panthers still
win this series in one of them.
That's
what just happened last night.
The Oilers,
all the lore,
all the bullshit we were talking about,
had gone away because it was like,
oh shit, the Oilers threw a fit and it's broken
and whatever. The Panthers are inevitable.
They are so good.
The Panthers are
that good. That's what I've actually learned.
That's what's fucking crazy. The Panthers are
that good. They actually are the better team.
They should go back to back.
But the fact that you are significantly better than the Oilers and it's 2-2,
what confirms to me that you can't win.
The Oilers are so pesky.
Resilient. Resilient. It's crazy how resilient they are.
Yep. So the Panthers can win.
I'm saving the one, but I'm telling you, I've seen 14 million universes, and the Panthers only win this series still in one of them.
Yeah, I, again, I'm not, I'm not telling you to hit the panic button if you're, if you're the Panthers.
But I will say, based on these playoffs, what it feels like right now is that the Oilers will never lose again.
That's what it feels like right now.
again, based on the three previous series.
And it feels like this was the game where they were like this,
whoops,
like got into it,
got into a good rhythm.
Remember when Laz said,
and I don't know if everybody saw a cup of hockey,
morning cup of hockey yesterday,
but when Las was like,
the Oilers are actually going to have more pressure to, too, too.
I will give him,
because I agree with them and I agree with them,
then I agree with them now,
I agree with them my whole life.
I will give him the,
if they lose,
The Oilers lose game five.
Yeah.
It feels a lot like the Toronto series, A-red, where, and Toronto won that game six,
but it feels a lot like, if the Oils lose game five, they're like, oh, my God.
Yeah.
After all of that, now we're just going to go back to Florida and lose, whereas the Panthers can lose game five and go,
well, you know, we got to fucking win game six.
Go go and take care of business.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So it is, it is going to be a gnarly game for both.
I mean, both teams stress, but it's going to be a gnarly game for Edmonton,
where you're like, you can't come this far to only come this far.
but man, I'm so with you where they go, dude, the belief, because,
dude, buddy, the panthers are so, like, justifiably, but they're so cocky still.
They're like, we're fine, dude.
Like, we keep puking these games up, but it doesn't matter.
And I'm like, dude, you can't, you puke four of them up, though, you lose the cup.
That's how this works.
Yeah, you got to stop puking.
Dude, you puke four times, you lose.
It's a dramatic meme.
Like, you've got to stop puking.
So I'm like, careful, but I think the oilers belief is right there with them now because they go,
we can't die
dude we're young and we alive
we're never gonna die
that's how they feel right now
maybe the last thing
I'll say
and I know some people don't believe in this bullshit
but
if you
are I might even set up for this dude
thank God
look at me in the eye
if you are the Florida
Panthers organization
and you are
oh and
when you have brought a Dolphins player
to bang the drum before the game
and you bring out Jason Taylor
the dolphin to bang this drum
and then lose
Are you insane?
Truly?
I know it's like who cares.
No, no, I care.
And it's also one of these things.
Like you want to say who cares?
I don't give a Baker's fuck
who bangs the drum at your game.
Can teams stop doing this
bullshit nonsense?
No one gives a flying fuck who bangs the drum, who fucking cranks the horn.
Like, shut the fuck up.
Stop doing these things that are jinxing your team.
And get that putrid loser franchise out of your fucking barn.
It is actually the stupidest shit I've ever seen that they keep going, you know who we should get.
Like when there are idiots on the internet like us talking about this, like what are you doing?
Like, what are you doing?
What are you allowing Taylor Swift into your fucking arena for?
Like, I would literally ban her.
I'd be like, get out of here, dude.
Like, what are we doing here?
Like, get Dolphins players away from your team fast, as fast as possible.
They're, the Taylor Swift one, I agree with, but it would be hard.
It would be hard to literally be like, you can't come in.
Yeah.
Can you imagine that you imagine if the Swifties found out that you banned her from the arena?
The Panthers would pull the franchise.
guys would pull that they got Swifties out of.
And I gotta say, pal, too, the fucking
security. Like, you know, we were just popping
in the elevators and shit. It was actually, when you
even, if you even accidentally hit the floor
that Taylor Swift was on last night, the elevator
girl was like, where, hey, hey, where do you think you're going?
Being in that sweet with her
was like, I've never seen
more people like frozen and stand.
I was like, this is awful. Like, is anyone enjoying
watching this game? Dude, so
the, uh,
red, red checked in with
Yager yesterday. And they put them on the Jumbotron.
But I was like, oh shit, sharp action.
Now we know the scoop.
Yager's going to bang the drum tonight with his 20 year old girlfriend.
Shout out to him.
That's sick.
Because he's banging her tonight too.
But, dude, the, the audacity to bring a dolphin.
Oh, it's crazy.
I actually am like, someone should be fired for that.
I'm dead serious.
Oh, I agree.
I would bring in.
And you know what, dude, for the next fucking game, I would bring in a New England patriot.
I mean like, whatever, whatever is the most anti-dolphin thing you can do to bang the drum at game six, that's what you need.
Yeah.
Like, let fucking Red do it before you let a dolphin bang the fucking drum when you have only lost.
And then you go, not this time.
That we don't believe in that stuff.
That's one of the most mind-blowing decisions I've ever seen.
Taking a quick break to talk to you guys about BetMGM and the epic promotions.
they have going all year long, but especially during the Stanley Cup finals,
where we are dialed into right now.
My favorite one is the hat trick jackpot.
All you have to do is bet on an anytime goal score.
And if that person scores a goal, you win money, and that's sick.
And if they don't score a goal and you sign up for bet MGM and you use promo code netters
at sign up, you can get $1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses.
And then if they score a hat trick, you activate the hat trick jackpot where you get your share
of 10 Gs in bonus bets.
It's an unbelievable deal.
They've got NHL second chances back too.
So if you bet on first goal score, but that person scores second, you get your steak back in cash.
You are missing out on an odds boost.
There's so much incredible action cooking right now with that MGM.
It's an absolute no-brainer.
I need you to get involved.
So again, download the BetMGM app.
Use promo code netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S when you sign up.
And all of those amazing things that I just talked about can happen to you.
Just like they're happening to me.
Just like they're happening to DP.
So please join.
for the fun and sign up with BetMGM right now.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler.
Call 8778-8 HOPE-NY or text Hope NY for New York.
Call 100-327-50-50 from Massachusetts.
21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly.
Call 100 Next Step for Arizona.
100 bets off for Iowa.
1-800-9-1-00-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only.
Subject to eligibility requirements, bonus bets are non-waddrawable
in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
See BetMGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Now I've got to talk to you guys about our new partnership with Long Drink.
Long drink comes from Finland, and this is a true story.
It was invented during the 1952 summer games because they hosted, Finland hosted, and they were like,
how are we going to get all these fans?
Drinks fast enough, quick enough, and delicious enough manner.
And that's how Long Drink was born.
And now it's finally over in America.
There's Miles Teller, Kygo, Ricky Fowler, Tukkow.
The list of investors is on and on, and it's such an awesome thing because it's a citrus soda that has real liquor in it.
It's not like some of these other celtzers, fermented sugar and things like that.
No, this is crisp.
It's so refreshing.
It's gluten-free.
It's all natural, and they're amazing, okay?
I've been pounding them.
We're here on the road.
We were at the Bauer event in Boston last Tuesday, whenever that was, and they got long drinks at the open bar.
Kaching, ka-ching, ka-ching, ka-ching, all night.
They got every kind of variety.
I was loving them, okay?
And what I'm my favorite part about is it makes you feel amazing, right?
You don't have that super full feeling after I've chugged a billion beers.
You know, this is just like the perfect real liquor,
seltzer that's just delicious and crisp.
It's got award-winning liquor.
We've got a zero-sugar option.
It's unbelievable.
Okay, so what I want you to do is go to thelongdrink.com slash almost Friday.
And check out everything they got cooking over there.
I know you're going to love them just as much as we do.
They're amazing for the hockey playoffs.
They're amazing for a summer day on the beach.
They're amazing all the time.
So go to the longdrink.com slash almost Friday right now.
There's no need for an intro.
LT.
Ripped in Day of Game.
Yep.
Like a legend.
Straight from Boston.
Did you fly from Boston?
No, I went home for a quick trip home and then have to get some new clothes.
He had to get this shirt.
That's right.
A perfect South Florida shirt.
By the way.
It's great to have you here, dude.
I'm so, you know what?
That was a classic.
So we were all at the Bauer event in Boston.
We're all having a few pops enjoying ourselves.
And we were like, dude, you should come to Florida for the game.
And it's a classic night of like, yeah, that's a plan.
And then no one does it.
And then here you are.
Yeah, I mean, it's just such a easy flight from D.C.
So I woke up in the morning.
I was like, I could do it if it's, if it wasn't just small talk.
But now I'm here.
Here we are.
Happy to be here.
Amazing.
Tell everyone about the Bauer event for a bit.
It was pretty cool.
You were there.
You were there Monday?
Yeah, so I was there for two days.
Obviously, it's their vapor launch week or a couple days.
And I got the show off my line at the SV Pro line as well a little bit.
So overall, it was a fun event.
A lot of good players were there.
A lot of good content creators.
And, yeah, it was just overall a lot of fun.
Dude, I got to say, my favorite part is we're here.
And he's like, you know, there's a lot of ball about Bauer hockey.
They got a lot of big athletes.
And we get there and we're like LTA line sick and everything.
And he's like, dude.
So I just found out that my line of Bauer gear is the affordable gear.
It's for the every day.
It's for the common.
For the everyday, man.
I will say I love Bauer
I'm really appreciative
They're the best
Always gonna be my gear company
But it's like you can't afford
You know, Ottinger and Joseph Wall
Just get the LLT
And the best part was you just giving it
To the Bauer guys
They were like yeah, sorry
You're right shit
That is so good
I mean I'll tell you what though
It's better than the empty netters line
That is like you get the empty netters line
At Dick Sporting Goods really
You're doing way better than us
Yeah don't worry
But yeah super cool event
We got to go to the
second night at level for the party.
And then I think Wednesday was a rip.
Like we all had to leave, but they did like a creator game and all kinds of cool shit.
So yeah, I think Wednesday was more for the content creator guys.
I know Hughes and Kane were there as well.
I think Fowler for the goalies.
But yeah, it looked like overall a good successful event.
And it was my first time being there.
And yeah, I think we had a lot of fun.
Oh, yeah.
I'm actually, it's a miracle.
Bauer doesn't even know it's,
but it is a miracle that I didn't just sit in the golf simulator the whole time.
Like, I got there and they were like, hey, take some picks, mingle.
And I was like, okay.
And I saw the simulator and I was like, oh.
I felt that way about the bowling alley.
I was like, you guys, they put us in a building with all the distractions in the world and expected us to work.
And I was like, what do you want for me here?
Is that normally in that rink?
Yeah, yeah.
I'm not going to lie.
I didn't know that there was a bowling alley or simulator.
We didn't get much past the bar to the audience.
We got a little area.
The food was right there.
The DJ was right there.
Didn't have to go.
I got too caught up promoting my gear.
Yeah.
Dude, you're doing your job.
Yeah, exactly.
You were doing your job.
You're doing your job.
Okay, but then we rip back.
We all rip back here for the playoffs.
Yeah, and here we are at the final.
Florida up to one.
We're about to head into the game.
Dude, how do you...
So, like, you guys go down to Carolina.
Great team.
Different team this year.
What is it about this Florida team from your eyes that's like, you know,
I feel like we looked at you guys were so good all year.
Carolina is so good all year.
You guys fall to Carolina.
and then Florida just handles them.
Like how does this team keep doing this to such great opponents?
I think it's Florida's depth.
I mean,
they're just such a deep team this year.
I think Marshawn was such a huge pickup.
That's a deadline.
I think a lot of teams were probably in on them.
And yeah,
credit to them for getting them.
And Seth Jones also has made such a difference on their back end.
And then you arguably have probably the best playoff goalie in the last couple of years in net, right?
So it's impressive to watch,
but they got just four deep lines.
And I think Marshan's been such a game.
changer for this series forum. I mean, it's
huge for them. Dude, you had said to me
the other night at Bauer
that when you're playing Carolina,
you guys are playing Carolina,
the way they skate, you guys were coming
to the bench, like, I can't breathe, dude.
You know, it's just smothering. How
crazy is it to think about how
well Florida and the Oilers, frankly, must skate,
considering that's what Carolina looks like, honestly,
in that next round. Yeah, credit to Carolina.
I mean, when we played them, you know, the first two games were
really tight, they could have gone kind of either way.
And then, you know, go to Carolina, it's such a hard
rink the plane as well. And yeah, they really took away our time and space with everything. And,
um, you know, I thought they were going to, it was going to be a, you know, a different series than
than how when they played Florida. And then to see what Florida did to them was really impressive. And
you know, you're going to tip your hat to Florida. And, and then going down one nothing to
Eminton's not easy, but winning the second game at home. And, and then the last game that,
you know, Florida played, they really, um, controlled, you know, from looks the whole game. Yeah.
Oh, my God. They're just, uh, they're just such a heavy, you know, fast, skilled team. They kind of
have a little bit of everything. Yeah. I think that goes a lot.
way. Do you watch, after you guys get knocked out, do you watch playoffs still? Are you like, I'm good?
No, I mean, I took a little time off, a little salty. I didn't want to watch Carolina.
Yeah, that's so fair. Yeah, just because they beat us. But no, you definitely want to turn it back on.
You know, I went home for a little bit and, you know, you go to a little bar in Calgary and, you know, it's a huge Edmonton Oilers bar.
So sit there and watch that series with Dallas. And yeah, you kind of get back into it. Obviously, you miss playing. And it's just fun being around hockey still.
Where do your rooting interests lie?
Not saying you're like, I'm rooting hard for a team, but just like when you get knocked out,
when you're in the league, you get knocked out, obviously, I imagine you're like,
well, I hope Carolina doesn't win.
But or are you the guy that's like, oh, they do win?
Because then we lost the champs, or how do you kind of filter it out the rest of the way?
Well, I mean, yeah, I'm always a Washington Capitals fan, but I think growing up in Calgary,
it's really hard for me to cheer for Edmonton.
Yeah, I bet.
I think my loyalty lies in Calgary with that city.
So I think that's kind of where I think I'll just leave it at that.
It's hard to cheer for Evanton, just being.
born and raised in Calgary. I was, I've actually been really surprised, and I know it's the Canadian
drought factor, but how many fan bases from Canada have been like, yeah, we're go Oilers. And I'm
like, go Oilers, aren't you a Canucks fan? But they're like, whatever, dude, you know, so it's, it's
kind of a fine line there. I'm getting half and half on that. Like a lot of Canadian, like, wherever
they are in Canada, who are like, fuck the Canadian drought, don't care. I don't want to see Edmonton
live. Yeah. And I think that's how I would be. Like, I don't, I'm like, if you're not, if, if I'm not a part of
you are fan base, I don't want you to, I don't care where you're from.
Get out of here. It's like, there's also guys on other teams that are probably from where
they're from. I'd rather root for that, you know?
Absolutely. I don't know how that works.
I wanted to ask you this as a guy who's played against McDavid many times.
How, we hear this all the time right now during the finals,
McDavid's got to just go win this game. You know, he's got to go do it. He needs this cup.
How, for the fans, how hard is it for one dude to just go win a game in the NHL?
As good as he is, I imagine it's such a game.
a team support, that's not a thing that can just happen whenever he feels like it.
No, absolutely. I mean, yeah, you always say McDavid's got to do all the work tonight, right?
It's easier said than done. But I mean, if there's one player in the world that can still
you a game, it's Connor McDavid. It's actually insane when you think about it like that.
It's really hard to do, but he can do it. So you got to tip your hat to him as well.
And when you're, when he's on the ice, because sometimes I'm like, he makes that backdoor
pass to dry side all and he hammers in the one timer. And I know it's a no look
fast, but I'm kind of sitting there being like, Bob, you know, you know it's cheat, dude,
you know it's going.
But how hard is it to just, like, when he's on the ice, your attention just must be there
all the time as a goalie?
It's almost like he sees the game or, yeah, he kind of plays the game at such a slower
level or he sees it so much slower than all of us.
Like, he'll come down, you know, on me or a goalie net and you think, oh, I'm going to
read you, I got you beat.
And he'll pull something out and you're like, I didn't even know what was possible.
Yeah.
You know, you can't cheat on him either because, you know, if he's going to look up and
see or give him that he's going to take it.
You also know you got dry side on the back door, right?
It's kind of like the Ovi thing.
You know, Ovi's there cocked for a one-timer, but, you know,
they still find ways to get the puck over and they, they, it goes in.
Dude, such a good comp, actually, because especially down the stretch when he was chasing
the record, I'm looking, I mean, I wanted him to do it, but I'm looking there being like,
you know it's going right there, but it's still hard, right?
Because that's how special those guys are.
Yeah, like, you know, especially with Ovi, right?
You know where he shoots the puck, where his spot is, and he's doing it for 20 years,
but he still gets the puck off from there
and he's still making goal he's looked at at 40.
So it's 39.
So it's,
no,
it's really impressive.
And then what do you think about,
and obviously it's impossible to say,
but going through Stu Skinner's head tonight,
going into this game,
just got pulled,
but, you know,
having had a great playoff,
having had a great final,
not horrible,
because I think the game one and two are tight both ways,
but, you know,
giving up a lot of goals,
but you just got a reset game four.
How do you,
what,
thinking, what's going through his head, how do you feel?
I mean, I've known Stu.
I grew up playing against him my whole life.
He's a, you know, Edmonton boy.
But, you know, he's pretty mentally sound.
I think he's very calm.
I don't think he has a lot of panic to his game.
Yeah.
You know, and he's proven everyone wrong.
Like everyone's kind of counting out the first round.
And then he comes back with, you know, three shutouts or two shots.
He's so epic.
It's just, I think he'll rebound well.
I think he's, he's done it before.
And I don't think he's worried.
I think it's playoffs.
It's a long series.
You're only down two, one.
You know, you go tonight and you win the game, and it's a zero-zero series, right?
With two in Edmonton.
Exactly.
You know, like, holy shit.
So I think Stu's probably thinking that too.
And I think he's just, yeah, he's going to come in tonight.
I think we'll see a different goal within game three.
So crazy, dude, because you're completely right.
He could snap off two straight shoutouts.
And then you always win the cup and I'm like, Stu's the man.
Yeah, exactly.
I think that's what everyone knows, right?
Yeah.
So, I mean, it's tough because, you know, he gets a lot of heat and you feel bad.
Yeah.
But then you also respect that he can play through that.
and at the same time, like back-to-back shutouts, shutting everyone up.
Like that LA series, yeah, it wasn't great.
It also wasn't his fault.
I agree.
It's easy to blame the goalies.
But for him to come in, you know, after Picard got injured and win them that series,
you know, you got to tip your hat as another goalie.
Like, that's not easy to do and he does it all the time.
My God, dude, yeah, he came in.
The fact that there's even a conversation, I think they've announced they're starting to do,
but the fact that there's even a conversation is it speaks to how well Calvin played, right?
No, yeah.
Yeah, again, he came in and, again, wasn't an easy.
situation for him to come in and against
L.A. And I mean, I thought L.A. was
such a good team this year as well.
I think. I think everyone had them going
far. There were so many
good teams in general. Yeah, yeah. The West
especially. I was like, holy fuck. I mean,
Vegas, Dallas, Edmonton, L.A.
like any one of those teams. Colorado.
Yeah, Colorado. Like any one of those teams you could
have seen go to the final. Yeah.
And then what do you think about
because I was laughing to myself, because they got the
in Edmonton at Rogers, they got the Surge signs.
And it's like, Surga. You know, like,
They're just raining down on Bob.
But everybody, and the Panthers organization is like Bob's, you know,
doesn't even speak.
Like, he's in his own head.
It's so fine.
He keeps things very quiet in there.
Do you love that as a goalie, especially on the road, are you like, this is sick?
Like, kill him, let me hear it.
Or do you like, I hate this, please, yeah.
It's 50-50.
So in Montreal, the first game, I'm like, this is cool.
And it was like zero after one.
I'm like, whatever, like, or maybe one after I forgot the score.
I'm like, this is cool.
Like, they're shouting my name.
Then you go down three, four goals.
And you're like, all right.
You're like, this is terrible.
I'm getting it out of here.
Yeah, now you're kind of getting,
I'm getting to my own head, right?
Guys, sorry, quick kilo blow delivery
that I just had to pick up here.
Bad,
bad timing.
But yeah,
so eventually it's eventually it kind of bothers you, right?
Yeah, eventually, like,
how can you know?
Montreal was probably the loudest rink
that I've ever played in,
like just some fans alone.
That's sick.
Credit to them,
that's a great fan base.
Oh, my God.
Their fans were all over me,
and, you know,
it was funny.
It sucks getting,
you got a torch game three,
but you just got to hopefully reset for game four.
But yeah,
They were allowed game four or two.
They were on me, but it's all fun.
And it's part of sports, so you respect that.
Oh, my God.
And, dude, especially your position.
Like that next game, obviously everybody's doing that, all the players, coaches.
Even Paul Maurice was like, tonight starts at zero zero.
Like, it doesn't matter what happened to last game.
But the goalie position especially is just like, okay, memory of a goal.
Forgive me if you got into this.
The play against Montreal where you got banged up a little bit.
Did we talk to you asked about that?
Can you tell us what happened there?
Because, dude, from watching, I was in a bar in New York watching that game.
And like, we texted you.
immediately. And I was looking and I reacted like a
It looked so bad. Like I was literally
sitting at a bar with Alice and I was like
it happened. I was like, oh no. And I was like
all nervous. It looked like
your knee got torn in a thousand
different places. Yeah, I think everyone thought
initially it was my knee. But
obviously with NHL rules, there's
the spotters nowadays and I think they realized that
I took the cross check pretty hard to the head
so I had to, you know, with
the rules leave the game. And
I think my trainers are worried
that it was my knee. So they were like, don't put any weight on your
but it ended up just being
fine and just had to do
a concussion test.
Good.
All as well, yeah.
Like the collective
Caps fan base in that one was like
motherfucker.
Dude, that was terrifying.
It is nuts because we've seen a few
goalie injuries this past.
Oh yeah,
yeah.
That can just change your whole season.
It was,
yeah,
it was scary at the time,
but I know game four,
like I was obviously playing
and so I walked to Starbucks
and got a coffee
and then I'm like,
oh,
I'll walk to the rink.
It's a nice day
and end up walking
through all these like pregame
parties of Montreal
fans and just getting hounded a little bit.
I was a little nervous.
But no, it was definitely nervous going to in the game four.
I knew that that rink was probably going to be a little bit more all over me.
Yeah.
It's so psych.
Speaking of the goalie contact stuff, how much does it ring your bell when you take a shot off the dome?
Oh, good question.
Yeah, the don't, the head shots, depending on where you take it, sometimes they can sting or like, you know, ring your ear.
Sometimes it's nothing.
For me, like, I think game three in one, or game four, I throw a dangler on.
because I think Montreal was just shooting them
kind of the collarbone neck area.
And I have a lot of exposure up there
when I don't have one on.
I just did it strictly for style.
I think it looks better when goalies don't wear.
But I think I took like two or three
in that game off like the collar and the throat.
And I was like, all right, those suck.
You're like, Jesus Christ.
Yeah, I'm like, all right, I get it.
So I throw it on for game four.
But yeah, it kind of depends on where it hits you in the head.
Dude, what was, who did the mask thing?
It's Stolar's, dude.
Dude, like he...
See this?
It was the...
We found a picture.
It was against Florida.
It's like Stoli wears his mask hanging off his head.
He took a shot from Sam Reiner off the head.
Then that like blew up his mask.
He like knocked his mask.
Is that one?
Then he got, he kind of got bumped into and then he...
And he went and didn't play again.
And everybody was like, Benet,
fuck yeah.
Sam Bennett concussed him.
And everybody else was like, I think Sam Ryan had shot can cuss him.
Yeah, it's tough to see or say in that situation.
Obviously, like no one really likes to mess around with head injuries anymore, right?
So it's tough to say if it was a little bump to the head or it was the shot, anything can, I mean, if you're feeling off as a goalie.
And the biggest thing for me when my head, I remember I took some time off at the end of this year, you know, it's my eyes.
You know, your eyes, your tracking feels so behind and you almost feel heavy and you're like sleepy.
So that's how I personally felt.
And I knew that I couldn't keep playing, you know, through this, you know, head injury.
So I didn't take time off.
Smart.
Yeah, so if something happened where Stoli wasn't feeling 100%, I think he made the right decision to play it safe.
And obviously they have two good goalie options in Toronto as well, right?
For a luxury.
But this is what I wanted to ask, I found a pick because we were asking goalie friends about it.
And they were like, Stoli doesn't clip his mask very tight.
Like you can see how loose it is.
And then they showed a pick of Joe Wall's mask.
And it's like, you know, that strap is like super tight.
Yeah.
And they were like, dude, he thinks it looks cooler like this.
Is that what he says?
That's what we were told by.
guys in the league.
I don't know.
Allegedly.
I've never heard that I like my mask really tight.
Yeah, I would.
I would too.
But I mean, every goal is got their own thing.
With a shot, when it's that loose, it makes it worse because it's like, yeah, it could
move around.
It could pop off easier.
So, I mean, everyone's got their thing.
But yeah, no, I like mine tight.
Yeah.
Going back to this final, you've been in a few runs in a row here in the playoffs.
I feel like we always talk about, you know, playoffs are a different beast.
It's a totally different game.
Where is your mindset on, you know, these two teams, both.
back in the final Florida, three finals in a row.
Is it genuinely like a full another season?
And are you just like in the playoffs being like Jesus Christ, man?
Like this is so much hockey.
It's almost like a it's a way harder.
I wouldn't say it's another season, but like, you know, I remember after the first series,
you're like that was a grind.
Like everything is so much more ramped.
Practice you're trying that much harder.
Like games you're just more dialed in.
You're, you know, maybe on the road, you go somewhere.
You grab a couple beers with the guys the night before.
Like you're just, it's the attention to the detail.
do you focus, the no distractions
that are not messing around
is just so much more amplified.
And I definitely think it's mentally straining for sure.
Like I couldn't imagine what back-to-back
cup finals with these two teams,
like they got to be,
you know, they're grinding.
It's not easy to do.
For sure.
I think about Florida.
And I'm like, you know, win or lose.
Let's say they win.
Like I could see them being like, okay.
Yeah.
I need a fucking break here.
Like, it's insane thinking about how many,
how much hockey these teams have played.
Because you get no break, dude.
Like literally they play until July.
And then camp September or whatever.
Yeah, what are we?
Yeah, June 12th.
You know, it's a joke.
So, yeah, it's absolutely insane.
And I give them a lot of credit because I was definitely one when Plath started
was saying that I didn't think Florida had the legs.
Finishing third in the Atlantic.
I was like, yeah, you know, great team.
They just, they're tired.
And it felt like they were really saving an extra gear.
No, it's absolutely mental, man.
I like, I can't get over it.
What are you seeing right now?
Like, as, you know, a player and fan looking at these games,
obviously game three is so different.
but like is this one of those series where you're like honestly it feels like anything could happen
or do you feel like you see an edge one way or the other well from what i've learned watching
edmonton is you can never count out connor david so you can't be like oh they're down to one
it's over no with connor mac david and dry sidle like it's never over you know those like last year right
yeah yeah like how easily could this game before nothing edmonton yeah and we're just like oh okay
we're right back in it yeah and in game one i thought emminton looks really good like both games in emminton i thought
Edmonton looked very good.
And again, tipper hat to Barovsky, I thought he was outstanding as well.
Yeah.
He's been, he's been elite this series.
And, again, it's what he's known for, right?
I think as long as they make playoffs, you're going to get playoff borerovsky.
And I think he's been outstanding as well.
So Florida, I think, in my opinion, obviously, I'm not an expert.
I know I'm probably to keep.
But I think they're the deeper team, just four lines deeper.
Yeah.
And, like, I don't even understand how an Edmonton fan could argue that.
I know.
It's not discrediting their depth.
just saying when Brad Marshand and Anton Lundell and Luster Rinen are your third line,
like how do you argue?
Outrageous.
That's a deeper team.
And again, I'm not, that's not a knock at, Edmonton.
Edmonton has the two best players in the world.
Yeah.
Right?
So again, it's just, but again, it's hard to kind of get a feeling.
I think we'll find out tonight, obviously, at the game.
But, I mean, yeah, you can't count out Edmonton with those two guys.
It's true.
I said this the other night, the Panthers fans were really, like, cocky after game three.
Like, they were like, we did it.
I was like, you better calm down, pal.
This is the wrong team to do.
A couple scary guys.
Yeah, remember after game three last year, guys?
Yeah.
So, but even tonight, dude, because I was saying the same thing.
I was like, we'll find out tonight.
If Panthers win tonight, it's over.
But even then, I'm like, actually, maybe not,
because the Oilers can take two at home, you know.
She's going to steal that game six.
So I think it'll be a tilt.
If you had to, if you had to pick, who wins how many games?
Like, who wins?
Yeah.
Oh, again, I think.
I can't tell you how many times.
I can't tell you how many times we've been asked this in the last three days,
and I have that exact same reaction.
I'm like, I don't want to say.
I don't know.
I just also don't want people mad at me.
I'm talking to my life.
I picked, I publicly on the pod picked Oilers in five,
so I'm rinsed already and I'm getting killed.
Yeah, your public enemy number one right now in Florida.
I think Florida rolls with the momentum.
I think that it's not going to be a blowout.
I think they win tonight.
I think Edmonton goes back and home and takes care of business,
and then I think from there anything can happen.
Oh, okay.
opinion. That's literally exactly what I said this morning. I said, I said, Edmonton wins game five,
no matter what happens tonight, but I do feel like Florida has so much momentum right now on
Home Ice. It feels like it would be uncharacteristic of them to not take this opportunity.
O'Shee had, O'She's been dead on. He literally texted us before the series. He said,
Edmonton wins game one at home, drops game two, Florida wins game three at home, drops game four,
but then Florida wins game five in Edmonton and then finishes it at game six. It would be wild.
I say, oh she's been around longer than I have.
He's been around the block, dude.
It's very, very true.
How pissed off are you at him for not just making it one game to play together?
I, I've...
What a selfish asshole.
I mean, it sucks not being able to play with him because, I mean, just being around this year, like, how much presence, you know, he had around that room.
Totally.
And the way that the team, the management, the staff, like, everyone just spoke so highly of him and how good of a person he is on and off the ice.
It would have been really cool to play with him to see that.
I know I think, you know, all the guys in the dressing room definitely that played with him before would always say how much they miss having him around. For sure. So I definitely got the chance or I got the chance to meet him when he was around a little bit and he was nothing but a great teammate to me. But I wish I got a year to play with him for sure. Would have been awesome. Okay. Last thing. If you can say, what? Tell us about the night OV broke the record. Oh, yeah. I actually saw it sucks. Like I was at home. I was sick. So I was injured and then I had a really bad flu. So I knew you weren't playing. Yeah, but I couldn't be. I couldn't be there. I couldn't be. I.
There. They actually flew back that night and they had a good time that night. But I wasn't able to make the trip. I was, I was really sick. How sick are we talking about, dude? He broke the all-time goals scoring. Like enough where I, like, it was, I couldn't leave my house as well as some of the guys, you know, were worried about their wives or pregnant. So it was also a chance of me not being around everyone and getting people. Damn, Jesus, what'd you have?
it was bad.
No, that's fair.
It was coming out of both ends.
Yeah, for sure.
Yeah. God.
Like, it happened in a red all trip.
After the shift you put in Boston.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
What do you expect?
God, damn.
But that must have been sick, too, just kind of that whole chase down the stretch and having
it being able to celebrate as a team with all that accomplishment.
It was cool to see.
Like, I remember when I got traded here, it was obviously a discussion.
Everyone said the same thing.
I don't know.
He's getting older, right?
especially because after last year he was like a little slow, you know, I was like, oh.
But then he started off the year hot and we're like, oh, holy shit, he's going to do it.
Yeah.
And then I remember in Utah when we beat them, but that's when he broke his leg.
Yeah, fuck.
The feeling in the group.
Isn't that funny to say out loud?
Yeah.
We were like this.
Remember when he broke his leg this year?
Yeah.
And then he still did it.
And he got, so we was a back-to-back.
We were in Vegas and he got a hat trick in Vegas.
Yeah.
And then we go to Utah and he put up two goals already in Utah.
We're like, holy shit.
Like, he might have back-to-back.
Hattress.
like keep this guy's hot.
And then he broke his leg.
It was an accident.
Like the, I think it was a hate.
Yeah, yeah.
And he didn't mean to do it.
It was like a,
it's a tangle up for sure.
Yeah, it wasn't a dirty play by any means.
But, um, we won that game and the feeling in the room like it was, it was, it
almost felt like we just lost, like our season was over.
Yeah.
Wow.
So depleting.
That's cool, though.
I think it shows how much he means to that dressing room and the guy is like, sure.
And how happy everyone was for him that he was, he was playing so well.
So when he lost or when he broke his leg, yeah, we were all really worried that.
you know, it wasn't going to happen to see.
Definitely.
And we don't know if he'd come back.
Dude, do you think,
hold on, hold on.
When he came back, like the first day you saw him skating after the broken,
which was like two days later.
Were you like, what the fuck is going on here?
He's a machine.
He's just built different.
Yeah, like, I mean, he literally built different.
Like, his leg was broken.
It's in engineering.
Yeah.
It's unbelievable.
He wasn't skating hard, but the fact that he was out there still on his skates
moving around.
Yeah.
Like, you're just like, you can't make that up.
He was literally on skates in full equipment two weeks later.
Yeah.
It was two weeks.
Yeah, correct.
And I was like, is your leg broken?
And he was like, yeah, it did.
Dude, not that I'm saying you're making excuses, but do you think, I remember because
we're from New England watching the Patriots that year they went undefeated and then lost.
I remember a lot of those guys gave interviews after of just being like, God, there was a lot of
pressure, you know, like external factors.
When after the, or I guess my question is, did the chase at all kind of like once it was done,
were you guys almost like exhausted by it by the time playoffs were starting?
or was it just not like that at all?
No, I don't think so at all.
I think, you know, there's always people would talk about it.
And I think if anything, it was maybe you don't want to, never wanted to bring it up with O and distract him.
Obviously, everyone's talking about you don't want to distract him.
But I think it was, we were almost happy that he got it.
And we're like, okay, now let's just get back to work and play.
I don't think we weren't tired by any means.
And I think with O, like, he just loves playing hockey.
I think it doesn't matter if it was the goal record or, you know,
know, he still had 20 goals to do next year.
Like, that guy just comes to the rink and puts a smile on his face and just plays hard.
Did he, did he pre-plan the seal slide?
I don't know.
I got to ask him out.
We got to find out.
I never knew that.
LT was shitting his brains out, dude.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
God, that was so good, dude.
It was such a good slide, too.
I saw that.
I got to see that quickly.
Yeah.
So, hey, we hit it.
We hammered, like, early, like, early in the season when he was hot, pre-broken leg,
that it would get broken this year on a power play goal.
Yeah.
And that cash.
Good action.
It's weird. You almost feel it coming when you watched the game.
Like kind of the puck went over to his side.
And I think you watched the bench.
Everyone just stood up instantly.
Like, yeah, like this is it.
That was sick.
All right, boys, let's go rip a day in South Florida and head to game before the Stanley Cup final.
Amazing.
As we close out this app, do we want to touch on any of the awards nonsense?
Do we want to touch on any of the?
Oh, dude.
I actually do really quickly.
All right.
Let's quickly do this.
Not breaking news.
Rumor voice.
rumor boys here little whispers a couple of contracts uh looks like trent frederick is is going to be
staying in edmonton yep and good uh looks like it's going to be a good good contract with some
term love that for him and then all signs are pointing to uh sam bennett eight years staying in
florida so also good for him if you need something to be happy about right now i think you're
going to get that news pretty soon sam bennett's not going anywhere is what sounds like uh we also got
the heart results yes
and Conor Halibuck has won the MVP of the NHL,
first goaltending heart winner since Carrie Price.
And the voting came out.
And, dude, I don't know, man.
I just don't know.
This is not Connor Hellbuck hate,
but I have no idea how you give Connor Hallibuck MVP.
I really don't get it.
Oh, I think it's a tragedy.
And then the voting, dude, like, there needs to be a process of who gets votes.
And you need to lose your right to vote.
Like when we see...
Caden just said five people voted Hellabuck fifth.
Eight people voted Drys out of fifth.
Who the hell are these 13 voters continue?
Yeah.
Like, you need to lose your right to vote straight up.
Like, I believe that.
When, when you have three players, three, with more first place votes than Nikita Kuturov.
Like, the, the, the anti-Russian bias and, like, anti-Kooch attitude bias is actually wild.
Yep.
Like, he probably should have won last year.
Kutrov has been literally robbed of two straight MVPs.
It's, it's actually kind of insane to me.
And, like, if you're telling me it's not anti-Russian bias, you're lying.
and let's not get political.
But I'm just saying like what I'm saying let's not get political, let's stop bringing politics into hockey.
Like Cooch is just a player.
And the voting is mental.
But then the big one, who find the guy's name.
I'd like to call him out.
There was a first place vote for one, Nick Suzuki.
My phone's dead.
I can't find it.
I'm dead.
My phone's dead.
Nick Suzuki.
Dude, Nick Suzuki.
got a first place MVP vote.
And I love Nick Suzuki.
He's a great player.
A first place MVP vote.
I'm trying to find it right now.
It was like Derek something.
But somebody too said,
Layton said,
boy, is my $5 cooch bet.
Layton, don't even get me started, pal.
Me and Dan and our boy, Josh,
had big money.
I wasn't even talking about it on the pod really.
I didn't want to jinx it.
we had big money early
on Cooch
insane odds and we were gonna
we were gonna that was gonna
I was gonna I was gonna move to Barbados dude
if Cooch won MVP so you guys are probably
lucky that he didn't win because I wouldn't even be doing this pot
I'm being a fucking hour being a Rubba
Dylan Lokes
Dylan Lokes
He's a wild reporter for the hockey news
And a Dan read his whole read his whole ballot by the way
You get to be clear everybody you get five votes
You get to order five picks for MVP
Read what Dylan voted.
Dude, I almost just read out his
Lady Bing.
Oh, that would have been gold.
Like, I just looked at it really quick
because it says number one, Nick Suzuki.
Oh, he put Suzuki first for everything.
And at 5, he has Frederick Goodrow.
Norris, Norris, Nick Suzuki.
What?
He's easily he loves him.
His voting for the Hart Trophy
went one, Nick Suzuki, two, Leon Drysiddle,
three Nikita Kuturov, four, Jack Eichol, five, Nico Heeshire.
Kellebuck, not named.
Dylan Lauchs, dude.
The landslide, the landslide MVP winner, which I don't agree with, but the landslide MVP winner, not named.
Nick Suzuki first.
Yeah, we got someone in here.
President's trophy on the back of the best goalie season since Price.
I'm confused why you guys are so against it.
I'm against it because it wasn't better than Linus Olmark.
Linus Omar look up who was that
J JTD I'm not talking shit
Look up Linus Omark stats two years ago
Awesome yeah give him the Vesda
Like above two goals against
And you know what we know what cracks me up dude
A couple of
There's this one
Cady says Suzuki was robbed of the Vesna
Suzuki was robbed of the Vesna
There was one
Jets fan who like comes
at us on Twitter whenever we
Like he's like you never give the Jets
and all the time show
I'm a rocket manned.
I love the Jets.
Someone was like, dude,
Kooch fucking disappears in the playoffs.
Loser.
Can't give him the heart.
And I'm like,
Excuse me?
Conrad Elliba gave up a thousand goals
to the blues.
On top of that,
this same guy,
he goes like this.
Dude,
Kooch fucking disappears in the playoffs
and his team loses in five
in the first round.
And I'm like,
you're proving why he's the MVP.
Yeah, yeah, right.
If he disappears, the team loses immediately.
Yep.
So absolutely, Chris.
That was insane, Dan.
And, um...
I'm being bitter.
I was going to win $10,000 of Kudjana.
I was going to be so sick, dude.
Um, but that, that voting is a tragedy and I wish...
Dude, the awards are so crazy.
Like, I can't believe it.
They're just, like, tweeting out.
They're like, anyway, this guy won Selke.
We gave him the trophy while you know what he was.
looking. I don't even know what the awards are going to be this year.
Well, I actually don't mind this. It's that why are we doing an awards ceremony?
Yeah, fair.
Don't do that. Just do it like this.
Yeah, Leighton, thank you. O'Mark, a 189, 938-189, 46 and 1.
Not a finalist for Hart.
No.
And then, Hellobuck, I'm guessing here, but it's like 922, I want to say.
just goes crazy
2.01.
It's the games.
I'm like,
I don't care.
Who gives a flying fuck dear?
It's just,
dude,
just won MVP when Kutraff won his second straight,
Art Ross and is the only time the lightning score.
Yeah.
And Lindsay.
And when the players,
the league is like he's the best player I've ever seen.
It's,
that's why I'm confused,
guys.
Like,
I just,
I don't know.
To me,
is he amazing?
Yeah,
was he amazing this year?
Yes.
But I just,
I don't know.
I know Jets fans are going to be like classic media, not giving us attention, not giving us love.
Dude, he's the lock business.
I can't believe anyone voted for anyone else.
They won the president's trophy.
It's great.
But like, again, Olmark just did this and didn't even get talked about it.
Legitimately, I feel like people went like this.
Hella Buck has to win the heart.
And people just started talking about it and it became a narrative and then people voted on it.
It's actually crazy that it is just the writers.
Like, it's just people being influenced by like social pressures.
Like, isn't that actually insane?
Yeah.
That it's just like dudes who are like, yeah, someone else said hellabuck to me.
So now I have to vote for him.
And I'm like, no.
And that is definitely what happened.
All right, folks, we got to wrap this up.
CP's got to go to bed.
That's going to do it for us here at the empty netters podcast, Game 4 reactions.
We will get this pod up.
So don't worry if you miss the live.
It's going to have our little chat with Logan Thompson in there.
It's going to be beautiful stuff.
Holy smokes.
Quick turnaround, game tomorrow.
We will be ripping you a live pod again after the game.
We'll get back to right after the games.
But yeah, with all the travel, you know, leaving the arena,
we wanted to do this with you today.
So great stuff.
Enjoy your Friday.
Buy some merch.
CPs robin.
I get some, I get some merch.
Just get some rest, pal.
Yeah, hit up the shop, guys.
Emptynetters. Dot shop.
Get some great stuff.
Enjoy your time.
We will see you next time and until we do.
