Empty Netters Podcast - The Oilers Threw A Tantrum And The Panthers Laughed In Their Face | EP.202

Episode Date: June 10, 2025

Uh oh. That looked like the defending champs. Florida takes a 2-1 series lead with a shit kicking of the Oilers in game 3. Two close ones in Edmonton had us thinking this would be tight for 7 games. N...ow everyone is screaming Panthers in 5. Skinner was pulled and the Oilers need a major regroup before game 4. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: HALL OF FAME BETS. Get a 7-Day Free Trial + 50% Off your first month with code NETTERS. Just download the HOF app on iOS or Android, enter code NETTERS, and you’re all set. https://hofbets.com/ LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Welcome back to another episode of the empty netters podcast brought to you by PetMGM. We didn't have any technical difficulties in this one. We are here at Amaran Arena. We are shooting live right now in one of the media rooms. Folks, as you can see from what just happened, if you were a part of this, you saw that this took a while. We've been bouncing around from a million different rooms. We said we were going to be here with you about about an hour ago. And now here we are because we got bounced around everywhere.
Starting point is 00:00:28 Shit is absolutely crazy here. But we're with you live right now. And the funny thing is, based on the last couple of games, we're basically on the same timeline. Over time, here we are. We are back, chat. We are with you, coming to you live. Game three, absolute smoke show beat down 6-1. Panthers win on home ice.
Starting point is 00:00:54 Everything went right for Florida. Everything went wrong for Edmonton. CP. Talk to the chat. how are we feeling? You did feel like you were going to get one of these. Everyone was saying it, but after the first few games, they were like, no, dude, it's going to be OTs.
Starting point is 00:01:06 It's going to be seven straight overtime games, but you just did feel like you were going to get one of these. And I don't know, dude, easy to say in hindsight, but I'm telling you, just coming home, if you're the Panthers and you go overtime, overtime in Edmonton where they can't be beat, I felt like coming home, it was this game was the beat down. I think game four will be tight,
Starting point is 00:01:27 but I just thought game three at home was the Florida shit kicking and the marshy goal inside of 70 seconds kicked us right off. It was phenomenal. I mean, listen, I didn't want to start the show with this. Go ahead. So I did a little intro. I took a little second. I also do want to just say chat. Let's get some stick taps for Redmond.
Starting point is 00:01:52 You did. They already are. They actually are going so cold for Redmond, dude. It's fucking awesome. Go so hard. Cold blooded. It's cold? Is cold?
Starting point is 00:02:00 Good thing? Yeah. I never heard that poor in my life. You're a clown. Sorry? Feel bad about that. Redmond, got us here.
Starting point is 00:02:09 I don't want to do a victory lap. I'm not known for that. I've never done that. I do it all the time. I said multiple times. I said it on air, on empty netters. I said it on Twitter. And then who also said it?
Starting point is 00:02:29 or at least the first part of it, the great one himself, Wayne Gretzky. Ice plays a big factor in these games. Yes. There are so many elements about this final that are incredibly monumental for how this is going to go,
Starting point is 00:02:46 the rate of play, the momentum swings, a big factor in addition to the distance going from Edmonton to Fort Lauderdale to Sunrise, Florida, is the ice. Yes.
Starting point is 00:02:59 Edmonton. My God. One of the best sheets in the league, hard, crisp, clean ice, and who benefits from that, the team like Edmont? Now we're coming down here. Hot, humid. No matter how great your arena is, it's going to play a factor. It's going to be slower ice, slushy, the swamp. That is where Florida thrives.
Starting point is 00:03:22 You're going to lose some of your momentum if you're Edmonton. There's no doubt about that. And I said, I think this is going to be a split. I think, as I've said, a billion times. This is going to be a Ropa Dope series. It's going to be one team wins, the other team wins. But I had a feeling in the first game here in Florida, there was a chance. If we saw a blowout, it was going to be games one and two last series.
Starting point is 00:03:48 Hindsight, so easy to peacock. But that game starts. Marci gets that first goal. It feels like this might go, this tilt towards the Panthers. And it just happened over and over again. It felt like momentum. We got a power play here. We got a goal there.
Starting point is 00:04:16 And it just kept like every time Edmonton felt back in it, Florida got right back on top. And God did that happen. And again, this Edmonton team, they've been here. They were here last year. They're so strong. They're so talented And I do think that this was a
Starting point is 00:04:35 Wake up call punch in the mouth I don't think we're going to see a game like this in game four If you are Florida You said this CP And I'll now volley it to you To let you get out your intelligence Of which you have buckets This did feel like the result
Starting point is 00:04:55 That when you look at your game Your strong suits if you're Florida, you felt like in game one and two. Even in Edmonton, you were like, why aren't we doing this? Why aren't we getting this stuff done? And it happened tonight. Okay, a couple things here.
Starting point is 00:05:13 Several things here. A lot of people saying, like, I look like I'm dressed to go to 11. And I, and that is correct. And that's an astute observation. A lot of people saying, A lot of people saying, he looks like he's going out in the movie, night at the Roxbury.
Starting point is 00:05:29 he looks like a fucking dip shit. No, no, no, no one's saying dip shit. Those are your words. No one in the chat saying dipshit. People are saying he looks great. Looks like he's getting employment at 11. You guys like CPs zip up VNAC with his Polish necklace sticking out in his chest hair, even though he's not Polish.
Starting point is 00:05:47 And the flow working. The flow is working. And the flow working. Why don't you tell them why it's working? Shut the fuck up. Why don't you tell him? It's working because I made it work. No, because I told you to actually put in a little bit of effort.
Starting point is 00:05:59 bitch. He did. That's great. Another thing. A lot of people. And I'm going to call you out slightly, but I'm going to call Wayne out. I deserve to be called out. No, no, no. This isn't even know what you think.
Starting point is 00:06:10 Oh, actually, someone said the white balances off, which is hilarious. Do you want, hold on. He said the white balance. I am coming for all of you. If you saw, we just did. Now you just pissed off Redmond. Now you just pissed off Redmond. Whoever said that, tell me it was Caden.
Starting point is 00:06:31 No, dude, I can't even find it. Whoever just made the white balance joke? hilarious. Chris, Chris M. Your white balance is off. hilarious. Wayne, Wayne, Wayne said the ice, like, because a lot of people in here are being like, dude, like, since when has this ice been an excuse? To be very clear, Wayne O said on the TNT broadcast, the fact that the ice is so much worse in Florida, benefits Florida. We didn't make this take up.
Starting point is 00:06:57 We're just reporting on this take. tell you this is where i'm calling you out i just want to quickly say it's not an excuse that's all i was going to say it's a factor it's yes but the fact that anyone from edmonton i'm not even saying you're saying this but the fact that anybody from edmonton would go we're only losing because the ice is worse here is a clown show turn that off would say it's a clown show tie tie doming troy cold zone was gas tonight cold zone was absolutely firing the ice does not matter or sorry it matters but the ICE is not the reason any of that happened. The reason it happened is because Florida is better than the Edmonton period.
Starting point is 00:07:36 I'm serious. I think Edmonton can still win this series. Damn. But Florida is better than Edmonton. They have a better, they have better depth forwards. They have a better goalie. They have a more experienced coach. I'll say that.
Starting point is 00:07:49 And the D, I guess like the Oler's D can move it. If you out of your mind, the Florida D is much better. There's no question about it. They're better. So that's it. That's what happened tonight. You saw a team play to their potential in a way that we haven't really seen in this period.
Starting point is 00:08:05 So listen, yeah, the ice matters. That's all I have to say about that. It's not the fucking reason they lost. I'm going to drive this bus again, Dan. Bob, absolutely dialed early. Florida takes the lead. Then they fucking, Sam Reiner misses that open net on the power play
Starting point is 00:08:21 and you go, holy shit. You might live to regret that one big time. big time. Florida gets three powerplace early. Nothing to show for it. And I'm like, holy shit. I remember thinking at the end of this period, because oilers got some late, I'm thinking you're going to end this period 1-1 and be fuming if you're the, if you're the Panthers. Yeah. Okay.
Starting point is 00:08:44 They got a late. Oh, I did want to say this. The Oilers have lost, actually I want to check today. The Oilers have lost the higher percentage of draws all series. They got rinsed in game one. Rinsed. Game two is a little bit closer. I'm pulling up game through right now. Please hold. Please hold. Faceoffs.
Starting point is 00:09:03 Oh, they won 51% tonight. I would say, though, the Oilers, all three games, have won all the important draws. Like, every time it's like a power play, they're like, oh, we snap it back and we have possession. Every time the Panthers have a power play, it's like, well, there's going to draw, and it's 30 seconds where the Panthers touch the buck. So that's been interesting. And those power plays were getting killed by the Panthers. Like literally, oil is going to draw, clear, clear, clear.
Starting point is 00:09:23 the Panthers get that very late first period power play, and they do get one, right? No doubt about it. And listen, I think there's a big element here of we have games one and two, right? And I think we all saw that in game one, we felt like, I want you to look at Sully's text. I felt like in game one, we saw that Florida didn't play their game. And we've seen Florida not play their game multiple times in these playoffs. I think we absolutely saw that against Toronto in, or excuse me, it will definitely in Toronto in game six.
Starting point is 00:10:02 And then we also saw it in a close-out game, game four against Carolina. And in game one, it was a great game, right? We've talked to it. Games one and two were two of the best playoff games we could ever imagine, certainly Stanley Cup final games. And I think there was an element of those games in Edmonton, playing against this great team, you thought maybe, okay, this was a good balance. But I think a lot of Florida fans would say, no, we were not playing well.
Starting point is 00:10:30 Our top two lines didn't perform well. We didn't do well on the power play. We didn't do well against the transition. And they thought that they lost that game, even while blowing a 3-1 lead, they were like, we played poorly. And like, we referenced there was a player on Florida that was like, no, no, like, that was a shit show by us. Then you get game two also goes to overtime. overtime. Also a blown lead.
Starting point is 00:10:55 But without a doubt, and we talked about this last episode, Florida played better. They played more of their game. More of their key players performed very, very well. It felt like certainly in overtime, there was more of a containment of guys like Connor McDavid to the level that you could possibly contain a guy like that. Now in this game, whether it be because of the ice, whether it be because of home, Ice advantage change. By the way, that was brought up in hockey talk.
Starting point is 00:11:28 The last change is a huge factor. If you don't know about last change, anyone in the chat, anyone listening to this podcast live, whether you're listening to it later, when you are home, you get last change advantage, which means every single blown dead play, the teams get to change their lines unless it's an icing and you have to keep your players on. and the home team gets to change last. So you get the benefit of the doubt of who you want to put out. Now, you can't take forever to do it,
Starting point is 00:11:58 but you do get some really good advantages in that situation. That plays a factor with home ice. I think we have seen progressively over three games, Florida is playing more of their game. And there are very easy examples to point at that. Key ones being Sam Reiner gets on the board for Hagey scores today. I think there was just an. element of
Starting point is 00:12:21 grinding down in the neutral zone controlling play on the power play and penalty kill that was just Florida Panthers hockey. We saw that in a big way today. Absolutely. Big way. And I think I did want to say, too, the penalty that the
Starting point is 00:12:38 Oilers took at the end of the first that the Panthers scored on, which was what when Rehagie got on the board, which was disgusting. That absolute snip job, high, short side blocker. Are you fucking kidding me? I told you he's streaky, dude. I told you he's streaky. I told you he's Strykey. I told you he would do this. He's literally going to fucking score next game. That's automatic.
Starting point is 00:12:53 If you were listening to this and you don't bet Carter Brahegey any time goal score next game, you're a psychopath. That was goalie interference, by the way. For all the Oilers fans, screaming about what is goalie interference? I always tweeted that. I was almost like, for anyone wondering, that's goalie interference.
Starting point is 00:13:12 That play is goalie interference. I cannot wait for the Oilers fans in the chat right now to be like this. Dude, he's a bobs flopping. Of course, the goalies are going to debelish some contact, but when you drill him like a body check, it's goal interference. When your own defender cross-check's a guy or trips a guy, and then he falls on your goalie, that is not goalie interference.
Starting point is 00:13:31 I know it's a weird rule, but that is how it works. So that is goalie interference, but he gets on the board, and you're like, holy shit. And C.P, you're 100% right. I think you're so on par, and you're so spot on with that take. And it's one of those things, like, Oilers fans, What's interesting is I feel like after game one, we had a lot of our lovely loyal Florida fans. We're like, you guys are on the oilers train.
Starting point is 00:13:55 It's like, no, guys, we're trying to go with the tea leaves here. We're going with the flow of the game. We want to give credit where it's due, and we want to give love where it's due. And ultimately, this right now is just Chris responding to the game. It's like, though we're not leaning one way or the other, that was a penalty. And I thought, Chris, like,
Starting point is 00:14:17 I mean, how many times do I have to say it? Like, I love Leon. First period, that trip against Leon, that was not a trip. Yep. Like, it was, you're never going to get a general consensus on calls. But, like, we had some soft calls again in this game. And this is what I was talking about. The Panthers were just so unfaced in any of those power play moments in the first and second period.
Starting point is 00:14:40 Did you see any real chances where you're like, oh, Florida's on their heels? How often do we feel that way in games one and two? The second Edmonton had Florida Hemden. And also, did Edmonton have Florida Hemden once in this game? No. Other than power plays, literally none. No, it was a tough night. No dangerous offensive zone chances.
Starting point is 00:15:02 Zero. Yep. And then even on the power play, Bob was controlling play. And have you ever seen a goalie? Have you ever seen a goalie? And maybe I'm just paying more attention to Bob. But the way Bob claps his glove at defenders, he's clearly talking. he's like, he's a, he's a, he's a conductor.
Starting point is 00:15:21 Yeah, yeah. He's orchestrating his defense. He's telling people where to be. And you can tell that they listen to him, the way that they move in fluid motion, when Bob is seeing the play moving from point to, on the umbrella, from sidewall to top to sidewall. Bob is saying like, hey, go here, go there, respond, react. Yep. And they all move with him.
Starting point is 00:15:39 It's remarkable. And the way that Florida was just in perfect sync, the way that they weren't being, weren't getting. caught off balance out of position by the fast fluid motion of Edmonton, that was another element where it felt like Florida was finding their game. Yeah, dude, so I have a couple things to say. A lot of people are teasing this in the chat right now, and it's great because this is exactly the one to get to. Someone said, if I can find it, someone said Cain, Evander Cain broke in this game.
Starting point is 00:16:07 Conrad. Evander Cain broke. And a lot of people... Van der Cain bankrupt again. Yeah. I, in this game, in this game, the or. Sorry, the Oilers, and I'm going to really get to this at the end of the game. And I cannot wait to talk about this.
Starting point is 00:16:20 But even at the end of the first period, the Oilers started throwing a tantrum. And I actually couldn't believe at the end of that first. And I'd have to watch because it's hard. We're there. I can't really see the replays. The fact that the Panthers came out of the first intermission short-handed was crazy to me. Because that just looked like a chaos, playoff, end of the first. The first periods have been insane in this series.
Starting point is 00:16:43 I got to say, if you're missing the first. period, you're a psychopath. Everything happened to the first period. But coming out of that first antics, that was antics, by the way, coming out of the antics after the first, the fact that that wasn't just like a wash was crazy. I have to watch the replay to figure that out. And then obviously the oil was score on that ensuing power play right away to cut. That was the only time it was even a game at all. But man, the cane had a terrible first period, but game too. And you know, there's so many high sticking penalties in these playoffs to the point where I'm like, guys, I need someone to do the, the, um, analysis, the fucking, uh, uh, I don't know the private equity terms.
Starting point is 00:17:21 I can't remember, but there's some kind of ROI on like lifting people sticks where I'm like, we're high sticking them in the face too often. And I don't know how many goals you're preventing by all the high sticks you successfully do, but the penalties you're giving up are fucking killing us. So that was insane. But the end of the first period, and again, I know they scored. I know they got a power play out of it. But the end of the first period was the first time I started to see the oilers throwing temper tantrums in this game that i was like i'm not sure i like that long time listeners will know i was calling this out in the jets blue series i'm going to come back to this but just remember that because that was the beginning of i was like what the fuck is going on but you start the
Starting point is 00:17:58 second cori parry bang two one and you're like okay you know now we're in a ball game and then cp say sam ryder no no say it oh i don't know e r p oh oh emt you know erp you know, ERP. Emergency response. Panthers. Good job. Nice. Emergency response, Panthers did.
Starting point is 00:18:22 And of all people, Sam Reiner. Beautiful little goal, quick. That looked like Sam Reiner. Really quick, bang, barring in. And the two guys, we said the two guys, you don't want to get going. No, I thought it was bar. I thought he snuck it through traffic straight through the five. Chad.
Starting point is 00:18:39 I'll have to watch again. I thought that one, I thought that was a cheeky, quick shot through traffic, through legs, went five whole. But chat, let us know. We'll have to look again. But, dude, the two guys that you're like, we said after game two, don't let Ryan or Denver Hagee get going because Kachuk looks too hurt. Cichuk looks too hurt to make a huge impact. He looks like I can give you everything I can give you and I'm just going to try to play a valuable role in my wing. The, those two guys, that's a nightmare.
Starting point is 00:19:05 Like those two guys getting those two goals when you're like, fuck, this is not what I needed. that was huge and then you follow it right up with the Bennett goal and I think it was Bouchard that turned that over someone that's another one the chat's gonna have to tell me Louis says it was Barr Dan by the way it was Barr thank you Louis sorry hey sorry bang bar high corner shelf boom guys who snuck one five all through traffic yeah it was every it was like bar down but dude oh I'm thinking of erods I'm an idiot sorry okay I'm thinking of the last goal of the game I'm a fucking moron dude the Bennett the I think it was Bouchard That turnover
Starting point is 00:19:40 cannot happen at 3-1. I think if it wasn't boot shot, I'm sorry, someone correct me. But that turnover, when you're like looking across your own blue line, it just shooting that right into someone's body for a clear breakaway, that's, dude, that swings the whole fucking game.
Starting point is 00:19:55 It swings the whole fucking game. That just has to be deep. That has to be deep in the zone, period. Like, I know you're trying to make a play in that moment, but not down 3-1. Absolutely not down 3-1. And like you teased just a second ago, the way this game was going,
Starting point is 00:20:09 There are fun momentum swings when pointed at me. Did you have something? Well, I just wanted to say, because on that Bennett goal, and I need the chat here. That's where I was about to go on the end. Okay, go ahead. No, no, no, no, please, please chat. I don't know if you saw, but I was getting a lot of text, and I wrote in the notes here. I go, the Bouchard turnover can happen.
Starting point is 00:20:28 He's trying to make a play, but that's not the spot to do it. Bennett's goal swings the game, but was the Bennett hit right before that clean? And everybody's saying all time shift, all time shift, but I got a lot of text that was like, dude, that was not a clean hit. but I couldn't see the replay because I saw it live. I could not disagree with every text that you got. I thought it was a perfectly clean hit, especially in playoffs, double especially in the Stanley Cup final. If you want a penalty on that,
Starting point is 00:20:50 and the way that that changes the flow of that play and that shift, if that got called, everyone would have gone, are you fucking joking me? And it just goes into what I always say. And like, listen, man, I'm not, I'm not, we grew up Bruins fans. Yeah, yeah, yeah. And last year, people saying super clean. Last year when Sam Bennett donkey punched Brad Marshand in the fucking dome, I was going, I don't care about that.
Starting point is 00:21:16 That is just a good fucking playoff play. And that, dude, the biggest thing I always talk about. Okay, got a not clean. Got a not clean in here. I'm a bitch. I've said that a million times in this podcast. I am a soft ass pussy. I'm a posh little bitch boy. but shit in the playoffs in the run of play hockey plays while the fucking game is going I love it I love that shit the stuff that I can't fucking handle is Ryan Nugent Hopkins getting injured last game because of a play after the whistle gets a slash in the wrist and now he's possibly playing with a broken wrist he was invisible it's fucking Evan Bouchard like a twat slashing lupa hints in the top of the foot and breaking his foot after the whistle.
Starting point is 00:22:03 That's the shit I've talked about. Yep. Yep. Fuck you. You pussy after the whistle doing dumb shit like that. I don't like that shit. But during the game, if there's something that's kind of borderline and it's just a hard-nosed play, that's the game, baby.
Starting point is 00:22:19 That is the shit where I am a hockey guy. And I'm like, that's the game. And I frankly think that hit was just a good fucking hit. It looked awesome live. I just didn't see that shit. Good fucking hit. And man, we actually talked to a line's been last. last night. And we talked for hours.
Starting point is 00:22:33 Yeah, we did. A good, clean hit is just lost in the game now. People go, oh, it's head contact. It's a defenseless player bullshit. Sometimes I'm like, man, that's just a good hockey hit. That was a perfect shift by Sam Bennett, in my opinion. And I have two things to say about that play. One, again, I hate when I fucking do this.
Starting point is 00:22:57 And I will say this. I did not. I was not like, oh, this is about to happen. It did feel like the second he got that. breakway we're like, oh, he's scoring. Yeah. Right. And dude, it also made me think.
Starting point is 00:23:06 Granted, it's a home game. Like, everyone's standing up in their feet. They're like, oh, fuck. But it just felt like he was going to score. Two, the spring from Lusterhinen. Yep. And the game, the game from Luster Rinen. Unsung hero of that game.
Starting point is 00:23:22 27 was out of this fucking world in that game. Multi-point game plus on the score sheet. He was everywhere. He was everywhere in this game. And I said that first, not call, I tweeted after that first goal, which list Ryan had a point on, that fucking third line, man, they're out of control. They're out of control good for this Panthers team. Agree. Dude.
Starting point is 00:23:48 So the, I will also say, the other clean hit, someone just said, and the next guy, Texan Cee, we'll say the McDavid getting trucked was dirty. And that's where I was headed. The McDavid hit, incredibly clean. McDavid, it was funny because he kind of, it was dirty? They were saying, they were saying if you think the Bennett hit was dirty, then you're going to say the McDavid, it was dirty to being sarcastic. The McDavid hit was incredibly clean
Starting point is 00:24:11 and he went to the room, dude. And like, which I won't lie, my heart sank. Same. I was like, oh my God. And he came back in like four microseconds. So it couldn't have. I think he's lost his win. It couldn't have been that bad.
Starting point is 00:24:28 Dude, he's lost his win. That was not good. I think he's a lot. his wind and he's so fucking dialed and smart he was like I can't be hunched over on the bench sucking for air yeah just let me go down the tunnel get get my composure yeah back and get in there that was insane and that was a that was a scary moment um I want to say this so it goes 4-1 then you got mac david going to the room he comes back and there's eight minutes left in the second I remember thinking if the panthers played he's eight tough and you can just get out of this even and you go four one into the third you feel pretty good sure um Bob made some really good saves in that stretch The Oilers did their two-minute bullshit. You know, it was like it was happening. But I got to say, in this moment, I did some foreshadding on this earlier, in this moment was when the Walman squirting was happening. I don't know if that was on the regular broadcast or if that was only on the TVs we're seeing in the box. Yeah, chat, let us know if you saw that.
Starting point is 00:25:23 Was that like everywhere, chat with Walman? Walman was squirting his water bottle over the broadcasting booth into the Panthers bench. and the Panthers were so calm. They were just going, what the fuck are you doing? Like, it wasn't a shit storm back and forth. It was genuinely, I was watching a child
Starting point is 00:25:39 throwing their lunch all over the place. Dude, I got to say this. I think Walman is a great dude, a very solid player. Incredible. And a great signing. Like, I actually, you said it first,
Starting point is 00:25:55 but I thought I was like, dude, this was a massive pickup. Low-key pickup. For the Oilers, he's done a time. in this playoff and even off the score sheet shit like when no sick put one over the glass in game one there's that picture of walman laughing in his face that is like the guy you wanted that's the guy you signed like i actually think he's done so much mental warfare but dude i got to say and and i
Starting point is 00:26:20 barely mind i don't love it but i barely mind when someone skates by and you kind of pop him one with the water bottle going by dude that was embarrassing. That might be too harsh, but I was like, bro, what are you doing? Like, you're getting ragdalled. You're squirting Seth Jones to the point that Seth Jones is looking at you going, like, literally palm up and going, dude, what are you doing? Are you literally still squirting me with a water bottle? I think it's bitch shit.
Starting point is 00:26:46 Bouch in the middle. Everybody is being like, what is going on? I actually am pissed. That wasn't a fucking penalty. I wish the rest had gone. This is an benchminer unsportsmanlike conduct. Fucking stop. That was insane, dude.
Starting point is 00:27:00 I hated that. I think it's, I don't hate that take at all. I don't think it should have been a penalty. I do think it's bitch shit. Like when you are, when you're losing and then certainly when you- Dude, someone says, I respect them of cats ate water. It's a good call. It's a good point.
Starting point is 00:27:22 It's a good point. Who the fuck said that? Smelly O'Hulahan. That is such a big brain stuff. It's a great call. It's great call. I think it's bitch shit. If you're losing and then certainly if you do that and then don't respond,
Starting point is 00:27:37 you just look like such an asshole and it's one of the things that we're like listen if you're going to do something like that you better respond and you better be one of the people who's making sure you respond Oh hold on Graham O'Donnell said
Starting point is 00:27:50 I am a huge Panthers fan but I think he did it because the Panthers grabbed his glove and filled it with water I didn't see that during the game we're here you know I'm not catching this on TV Wow hey someone Color me color me in a photo in a
Starting point is 00:28:06 in a colored pencil photo eating a playful of crow. If someone can confirm that the Panthers at some point in this game took his glove and filled it with water. I would love to retroactively take that statement back. Then I actually don't hate it as much. I would be like, no. Yeah, he, I would, I would do something to.
Starting point is 00:28:23 But as of right now, I thought it was fucking ridiculous. If that is true, I'm actually like, no. Okay. Cool. Someone said they grabbed,
Starting point is 00:28:32 someone else said, Adrian says they grabbed his glove, but I, but I don't know if he, I don't know if Adrian you mean and they, they filled it with water. But otherwise, I'm like, this is ridiculous. If that Panthers team had his glove on their bench, that shit, that got filled with
Starting point is 00:28:44 one. Someone said they didn't fill it with water, Greer grabbed his glove and dropped it off their bench. Yeah, so I got to get to the bottom of this because otherwise I was like, this is fucking insane. Why don't we abstain from this? Okay, well, I'll abstain, but I want to say this, dude, because right after that, bro, it was, um, they're in the two minutes left in that period.
Starting point is 00:29:03 And then nurse gets called for that cross check with 45 seconds left, which I thought, That was the direct call. And Lundell gets up and then Wormann punches him in the face. And they already had a penalty. And they probably, but if they hadn't, they probably would have called Womann for that. And I was like,
Starting point is 00:29:15 buddy, you are doing too much right now. You're fucking spraying the bench. You're punching people after a penalty. Like, I know you're trying to be this guy that's like, we won't roll over. I know you're killing us,
Starting point is 00:29:24 but we have a lot of fight in us. And I was like, this is fucking ridiculous, too. You are throwing a fit. Well, you know, I want to say this.
Starting point is 00:29:32 This, listen, like we've kind of, as far as the game, we've kind of gone through a couple of periods here. I do think the third period, Florida goes in 4-1, into the third. It did feel over, and then you got a quick, gorgeous, egg-bud goal. Like just a truly beautiful power play goal, bang, bang, passing, felt like Edmont
Starting point is 00:29:56 was kind of spinning around there. Obviously, huge M-Man advantage, but, like, it was just, it was gorgeous. Then you got another peeper on the E-Rod goal. But it felt like to that point, the game was already over. Yep. The goal sealed the deal. Yep. I had a very interesting reaction to the antics.
Starting point is 00:30:17 And to our bingo fans, boy, did we have antics in this game. Oh, my God. The antics initiated by the Oilers, I supported greatly on the idea, Chris. The idea that was Rome. Oh, sure. Okay. I support it. You are on, you're in game one in Florida, right?
Starting point is 00:30:43 As in the first game for Florida. This is a barn that is not as energetic as Rogers. It's not as known for a home ice advantage for Rogers. But the cats love playing here. The fans are fantastic here. You don't want to give them any semblance of an advantage. Dude. And against this team,
Starting point is 00:31:06 In particular, you don't want to get beat up. They were getting beat up. Yes. And they made a conscious decision on the ice to go, fuck that. Let's take some penalties. Let's get grimy. Let's fight without dropping gloves, which I loved. Okay.
Starting point is 00:31:24 Because there's no five minutes there. Like, it's just nasty shit. Antics. It was a very tough look in that first instance in the third period where the oilers went, We're going to make some noise. And it felt like three, four guys of the five on the ice got into some shit. And literally every single one of them got bitched. There's a few photos cycling the internet right now from writers, from people in the media,
Starting point is 00:31:57 where there are two to three Florida Panthers players on top of Edmonton Oilers players pummeling them. Yep. Seemingly from the photo. And it's just if you're going to call. shit. You gotta cause shit, right? You can't, you can't start shit and then not finish it. And it just, it felt like they, they tried to start a ruckus and they got fucking bitched. Man, I, it, it, that felt like a, a bad result. No, I'm with you. I said at the top, this reeked of that Jets Blues game that I hated. I think it was game three. The, um, the Carolina Hurricanes got criticized for not showing any gusto against the cats. And you don't want to do that either.
Starting point is 00:32:47 That's also how you lose to this Florida team. But dude, this is so too much. It's like this fake, tough guy. Like, oh, oh, you were losing so bad. But watch how much. Dude, Dan, here's the differentiator to me. Here's the differentiator. When there is a actual scrum, like,
Starting point is 00:33:09 It's like there's a rebound. The Panthers guy goes to jam it. Skinner jumps on it. Panthers guy hits Skinner's glove. There's a shove from the defenseman. Like get off my fucking goalie. And then the panthers shove back and there's an actual scrum. I'm like, dude, throw bows.
Starting point is 00:33:23 Do everything because you don't want the cats to think like, oh, we're just bullying you around. This was like a nothing offside would get called. And the oldest guy would be like, slash punch. And I was like, what the fuck? And then get bitched. Dude. But at one point, Matt, you could chuck was getting punched and he started laughing
Starting point is 00:33:41 and I know that's his game but you know what I'm saying these panthers guys were literally like are you punching me in the face dude this isn't even a scrum you're like fighting just to fight and you're embarrassing and you know Chris if you actually lick Matthew he's going like it gets under his skin and he'll throw back yep but the fact that he's laughing at you means you're not you're not licking him at all like it's that that's why it was like listen if you're gonna if you're gonna get in the mud here you better fucking chucky it. And it just didn't feel like they did.
Starting point is 00:34:12 Dude, some, uh, Adrian. I'm not talking shit about the Oilers. I think this oilers team is insane. And I, I really do believe, like, if, if I'm a betting man, I say they split here. Like, I think they respond. Yep. They figured out. But like, dude, this was, this was a bad game. Some great chats here. I think to Adrian. But Adrian says, remember when you hit puberty, you try your dad that one time any big dogs you and you never do it again.
Starting point is 00:34:33 That's what this felt like. Step back three and he blocks it down your throat. He also said it was like the first game between the ducks in Iceland. agree. And then Cal says crash out of the century. And I know those are all hyperbolic, but I agree. I was like, dude, what is going on? Like Edmonton, dude, you lost the road game to Florida. They're nasty. This literally does not matter at all. Just fucking play better in game for you. R&H is hurt to shit. Like, this is a tough game. You lost. Who gives a fuck? Like, I don't know what message they think they're sending here. And keep in mind, I said
Starting point is 00:35:05 Oilers in five. I'm not like trying to shit on the Oilers. I think they're an incredible team. series is not over at all, but I don't know what the logic there was. I'll say two things to you here. One, there's a couple of things that I think are important to note here. One, Stu got yanked. Oh, yeah, I want to talk about this. Now, I don't think it's bad that Stu got yanked. It's not the first time that a Stanley Cup matchup, one of the starting goalies has been yanked.
Starting point is 00:35:29 And I will also say this. Anyone who is going, do you start, Peckard, next game? John Luke. Shut. Yeah, idiot. That is not something that we're. talking about. Dude. Hold on.
Starting point is 00:35:41 So get that out of your heads right now. But I did, Eden Crow, hello, DP. I said, I thought something unlocked in Stu. I thought he was buzzing. And I was like, Stu will not have a bad game from here on out. I was wrong. Hands up. Both.
Starting point is 00:36:00 Yep. Yeah. I was so wrong. That was a bad game, tough game. So I was wrong about that. But Stu gets yanked in that. And then I think the other thing here is there are teams who have been beat significantly, beat. And then want to stay on the cup.
Starting point is 00:36:21 And in the final, right? Yeah, yeah. And then they win the Stanley Cup. It's happened many times. This one was tough because you think, okay, we're going to Florida. Ice is different. I'm sorry. Why do you keep bringing up the ice, Stu?
Starting point is 00:36:37 people are going to get pissed at you. That was kind of a factor. No, it is not a factor. It is the least important. It's the least important factor of all time. If you bring up the ice again. Sorry, sorry, sorry. I didn't mean the condition of the ice.
Starting point is 00:36:51 I meant home ice. Oh, okay. Okay. Sorry, chat, my bad. Home ice is a factor. Truly, that was my fault. I should have clarified that. Home ice is a factor.
Starting point is 00:37:04 This Florida team is so professional. they're so good. Stu has a subpar game per his form. Lately, yep. But as we said, this didn't feel so much like a, we didn't show up today if you're admitted. Felt a little bit like a, as I said at the beginning, right? Game one, Florida would like to say, we weren't really on our shit.
Starting point is 00:37:34 Game two. they got it together they were much tighter away still not exactly where they want to be but they had a lead late as late as you can be
Starting point is 00:37:45 in the third they coughed it up but they eventually won then they come home and they go we were much more and bad baby and they spanked you
Starting point is 00:37:55 yep that what and with all the bullshit at the end too it just it didn't feel like a if you're with the oilers you're like this hey chalk this game up as a loss will come back in game four because you went like this we're getting dick punched let's get nasty and then you got fucking cock punched after that that's why it felt like a double
Starting point is 00:38:15 loss and that's why i'm like you need if you're edmonton you need a significant response in game four which they are more than capable of delivering yeah but you do need to do that now yeah no okay so dude a couple things on what you were saying um to go back to the stew pole because i texted sean from the pint. And because I was like, what's your take on the Stu pole? And he said, you got to protect him. Four or those five goals are not his fault, but you're going to spark the boys a bit, throw this tape in the garbage. But for Stu's mentally, you have to protect him. Nobody in the building thinks it was his fault. If they anged him after two or three, you have a problem with it. But at 5-1, the game's gotten away from us. You don't need Bennett taking
Starting point is 00:38:51 any more BS runs at him. Ha-ha. I actually think his last point is the best one, even though I don't think Bennett takes runs at him. I know what he means. Like, literally there's a chance who gets hurt. So you're just like, just get him out. But I actually hated the poll. And you know I always do this because I'm such a vassie school here. But I said, and hand up, I was wrong. But when Stu got the net back and the stash
Starting point is 00:39:12 started talking to him. I said, don't take him out again. Just leave him in, dude. It's his net now and whatever. I think that Stu's different, though. Yes, and I know. You cannot have Stu Skinner get, excuse me. You cannot have Stu Skinner get rung up for 10 calls. I think you can. You can't end though, dude. Like, it doesn't matter.
Starting point is 00:39:28 I really don't think. And I don't think he was going to, by the way. I think there's any one in these playoffs that you cannot let go, hey, stay in there where while a firing squad peppers you for 10 goals. Like, he's the guy that you can't let that happen. I mean, like, maybe he's the guy that, like, he gets pulled. He gets polled and then it works. Like, he goes, oh, the king scored a thousand goals. And then they get out of the net.
Starting point is 00:39:50 And then he goes, da-da-da-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-h. And then resets. Like, maybe that was an Apple iPhone reset. Maybe the poll does that. So, okay. But I was kind of like, bro, they scored one more goal on Jean-Gon. on Luke. They were only going to score one more on him, maybe. Like, this was not
Starting point is 00:40:06 it was too late. He's after rest. Let him rest. Yeah, I guess, dude, I don't know. I just I didn't, I didn't like the poll. I don't think he needs to be protected. He was fucking fine. I don't think my feelings are hurt. Just like, fuck it. Yeah, my feelings are hurt.
Starting point is 00:40:22 I wish he had stayed in the game. That's your best friend. That's my best friend. I wanted him to stay in the game. I also, to your second thing you were talking about, I hated the bullshit at the end because you don't need to give the Panthers power play reps. Like literally, why are you letting them practice
Starting point is 00:40:43 their power play against you? Practicing a five on three against you. I think they only scored one goal in those power plays at the end. So it's not like they lit you up, but that's almost worse because now they're like, oh, we're just getting more tape, more film.
Starting point is 00:40:54 All that bullshit, just let the Panthers be like sick. Let's snap it around on the peeper and figure out how to make sure we can fucking score every time we get on the power play. Well, I'm not entirely sure that I see it like that. I think this, that wasn't like a practice your people. Like, you know, it's the end of the third period.
Starting point is 00:41:13 It's, you know, we're kind of, there's a billion people in the fucking penalty box. Yeah, but that was what happened. They got to practice their power. To me, it was more of actually, you're going to say this is what you're saying. And I'm not saying, fuck you. I'm saying I think you're right. You're just letting guys see pucks go in. Evan Rodriguez is the last guy.
Starting point is 00:41:34 You want to see it let shots go in. Yeah, yeah, good point. Good point. Yeah, he's a depth guy that kills you. He's a depth guy that wins you cups. Him scoring is, you're like, fuck me. Like you already have for Hagey getting on score sheet,
Starting point is 00:41:50 Reiner getting on the score sheet, and you're like, God damn it. A lot of bad things happened. You also let Erod see a puck go in and you're like, oh, great. A lot of bad, a lot of bad things. happened to the oldest tonight. Gotta be honest.
Starting point is 00:42:02 A lot of bad things happened. McDavid went to the room. He looks hurt. Drysettled and shoot. He looks hurt. R&H is hurt. Fucking Ryan has scored Verhagi scored.
Starting point is 00:42:10 The Panthers Power Play scored. Bob's insane. Like that was fucking, that was a nightmare. Someone said to us on Twitter tonight that was like, hey, it's going to be a little difficult to glaze the oilers tonight. Fuck you. They're right.
Starting point is 00:42:27 I was like, oh my God, dude. I'm going to need a lot of loot. I got, I get two things. say about that in that in that defense um i don't know what let me see what the shots finished at i got it for you right now you just talk 33 31 um shots were 33 31 i wrote down when it was 27 27 i said 10 minutes left shots 20 20 27 27 it does feel like with the way bob is played through
Starting point is 00:42:54 three games the oilers win if they can if they're going to out shoot the panthers 50 to 30 every night they can win. But I think if the shots are going to be pretty even, and that's no offense to my boy, because I love them. But I'm just saying if the shots are going to be even, it feels like it'll be hard for the oars to win games. If the oars are going to outshut them, which they're capable of, they can win.
Starting point is 00:43:17 But if we're going to go 25, 25, and you're going Bob Stu, that's a tall task. All right, I have a question for you. Yep. I thought Bob looked quite good. Can you get me the power play staff in this game? They were so fucked because, everyone kept getting while in the power taking a penalty?
Starting point is 00:43:35 Wow, this is actually hilarious. The Oilers for one for six and the Panthers were three for 11. So I think that there will be some Oilers fans who will chalk up part of this loss and the momentum more so to power plays. I'm here to say there were a couple of significant kills by Florida in that game. Yeah, first period especially. And, man, I'll tell you what, I'm not saying that there have, there has been favorite. I am certainly not saying there has been favoritism for any team in these playoffs.
Starting point is 00:44:17 Certainly not the Oilers. I'm not saying that. I am saying the Oilers have been such a sharp, impressive team on capitalizing when they get penalties. And at Rogers, at home, they, you know, even when they don't score on the power play. That vulnerable minute that you always talk about. Yes. They use that momentum, like the offensive zone control. They show your opponent, like, this is what we can do.
Starting point is 00:44:45 So when you get hemmed in, it's almost like they're on a power play again. Yep. The way Florida dealt with that in this game, when Edmonton didn't get a lot of penalties. And I'll tell you this, like any Edmonton fan right now who's a little butthard being like, oh, home game for Florida. Power plays are, what was it, four, three? Yeah, yeah. like 11 to 3 that's obviously skewed because of the third period
Starting point is 00:45:09 so shut up before you make that argument you guys were on your heels all game you're taking shit you were taking like penalty penalties those weren't like oh some of like there might have been one maybe two soft calls in the first like you were taking penalties but the bigger thing is
Starting point is 00:45:26 you're on your heels all game when you didn't have that momentum Bob was just not tested like he was in games one and two Dude, someone just said that. A couple of things I wanted to ask. Dude, people are saying Bob got slept to cold zone note. Cold zone.
Starting point is 00:45:42 Cold zone. Now he's fucking, now he's dialed. And I'm just, I'm saying like that is when Bob's not tested like that, when you're not getting six. He was tested in the first, though. I found it. It's a don't. He was tested in the first. I disagree.
Starting point is 00:45:58 I really do, man. I think you guys are not giving him credit. I thought he made some big say. He made a head safe. He literally, dude, Bob went like this. He made a fucking head safe He did, he did, but I'm telling you That was insane
Starting point is 00:46:09 There's a difference between high danger chances And Bob being tested And I'm talking about Bob standard I was watching Bob I'll tell you something right now folks During He made He literally, dude
Starting point is 00:46:23 He literally went like this Dude he literally Boom That happened That literally happened That literally happened That literally happened Are you done?
Starting point is 00:46:32 Yep, I'm done When we were in first period couple of those power plays. I was just watching Bob. Remember when I talked about the way he was conducting? Yeah, fuck yeah. There are a few times where I was literally, I wasn't even watching the play in the Panthers Zone.
Starting point is 00:46:45 I was watching Bob. He made a couple of those saves. Wasn't flailing like he was in game. Yeah, dude, he got a couple fucking. Couple of those. Dude, threw everything. Couple of those. CP and I was talking about when you see,
Starting point is 00:46:58 credit to Stu, Stu had a couple of those tonight too. Yeah, he did. When you see a couple of those saves that a goalie makes when there's a shot through traffic, maybe in a swing of play, you're on a power play, maybe you're in the umbrella, you go from the top of the key,
Starting point is 00:47:11 over to the sidewall, quick shot through traffic, something like that. Nagoli makes one of these saves. It's the like, it doesn't even look like they're looking at it. They're staring at you, the shooter.
Starting point is 00:47:22 I'm staring into the camera. I'm staring into your soul. And they just put their glove out and they go, and just snap it shut. That is when CP and I always look at each other. We go, uh-oh,
Starting point is 00:47:31 uh-oh, seeing it, seeing it, seeing it. Yeah, they're seeing it. I just thought Bob was making a lot of high sight shots. Like, he just was on it. And that's what I mean by not testing. I'm fine with that, dude, but I just, yeah, okay.
Starting point is 00:47:46 And dude, they were worse. Like, this was their worst game. This was their worst game. By his fucking standards. What more do you want me to say? Well, it's like this is the oiler standards, really. Like, it's by their standards, they weren't testing them the way they could have. Chat, we've got to take a quick break.
Starting point is 00:47:58 Talk about some ads. Let's just do it later. No. Yeah, right now. I recorded on the phone later. No, we're going to talk about it right now. We're going to do BetMGM, the best sportsbook in the game. BetMGM is doing a couple of things right now, beautiful things.
Starting point is 00:48:14 Number one is the Hat Trick Jackpot, Chad. The Hatrick Jackpot. This is when you bet that anytime goal score. We love the Anytime Goalscore. If you bet pretty much anyone that Panthers tonight, you probably hit that. But here's the thing with that Hat Trick Jackpot. If you bet your Anytime goal score and they score three or more goals, you get enter. into your chance to win $10,000.
Starting point is 00:48:37 That's what the hat-trick jackpot does for you. Also, they're doing the second chance. Second chance is when you bet the first goal score of the game. I'm not going to toot my own horn here, but I bet Evan Rodriguez for the first time goal score. I didn't hit it. He didn't get it. Brad Marchand got it, and you know who did do that, Mike Grinnell.
Starting point is 00:48:56 Shout out G. Said Brad Marchand would get the first goal, and he did. Here's the thing. If you bet the first goal score of the game and they don't get it, Do not fret, well, frere. Because if they score the second goal of the game, you get all of your money back. That's what the second chance is all about. So take some risks, take some gambles on that second chance and rip that plan.
Starting point is 00:49:19 Right now, if you sign up for Bet MGM with promo code netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you are going to get a beautiful situation where you get up to $1,500 in bonus bets. So if you bet up to $1,500 and you lose it all, you will get it all back into your account with that promo code. So do it right now. There's no question. Bet MGM is the best sports book in the game. Get on board right now with the netters. And now you're going to hear a disclaimer.
Starting point is 00:49:42 If you have a gambling problem, call 1-800 gambler. Available in the U.S. Call 8778-N.Y or text Hope N.Y 467-369 in New York. Call 1-800-3-2-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-3 in Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are not withdrawable in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. See bedmjim.coms for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Starting point is 00:50:16 Okay, do Labat. Now I'm going to talk to you about Labat. Folks, this is the ad hour. You're going to have to deal with it. And we're loving dealing with it because right now we're going to talk about Labat. The best beer in the game. It's hockey's favorite beer. It's empty netter's favorite beer.
Starting point is 00:50:30 And it needs to be your. our favorite beer. And you know why? Because Labat Blue and Labat Blue Light are brewed with Canadian kindness. And you all know that is the best kindness in the game. When you sit back and you crack open a can, you twist off a bottle, you snap off a bottle, or you grab a delicious pint at the pub, you want to just feel happiness. You want to feel kindness. And Labat is giving you that every single time. We're sitting back. We're watching the Stanley Cup final. You want to crack open a beer. You want to sit back and relax. You want to take the edge off. Maybe if you're to invest because you're a fan of one of these teams, or you just want to go, I want to watch some of the best
Starting point is 00:51:03 hockey I've ever seen in my life, and I want to feel crisp, delicious, cool, bubbly taste with every sip that I take. The only beer that is giving you that every single time is Labette. So crack open a Labat Blue or Labat Blue light today and enjoy. Dude, Adrian Labat is less than Labobbog. Agreed. Okay, last one, last one. We got a great deal with Hall of Fame bets right now.
Starting point is 00:51:27 Obviously, you know we're rocking with that MGM, but Hall of Fame bets, this is actually sick. You guys are going to love this because we've been crushing it. And it's one of my favorite apps because it's so easy to navigate, which is so key for me when I get on these gambling apps, and I don't know what the hell's going on. Hall of Fame bets is so easy to navigate. And I can bet on hockey, which I'm doing all the time, but you can bet on everything. Like, I'm cooking on everything. So here's why it's amazing. All right. I'm always doing the most insane parlays ever. Bucket. I'm always doing the most insane parlias ever. And you always miss the last leg. And I want to end it. because that's a disaster.
Starting point is 00:52:00 All right. Hall of Fame bets is literally built to fix exactly that. So if you love gambling, you love parlayes, I'm telling you, because this was started by two lifelong sports fans who were doing the same thing we're all doing, and they were like,
Starting point is 00:52:09 I can fix this. Okay, this isn't the group chat that your boys have. They're like, dude, here's my six-legged. They are doing the research for you, okay?
Starting point is 00:52:16 They give you advanced stats, historical data, powerful tools help you bet smarter. The app is built for everyday sports fans, so it's so intuitive. You'll get an idea of your parley's chances to hit, and you can identify weak legs in the parlay. So you're like,
Starting point is 00:52:27 get that one out, swap something else in to really change the game every sport melb NBA NHL NFL college sports it gives charts clean visuals it's a real insight dude it's like not hype this thing this thing is actually amazing changing the game for me okay they don't have to parley's don't have to be done with all of them bets they are not okay it's a 4.9 rating in the app store there's over 6,000 5 star reviews all of them bets is helping a ton of people bet smarter it's helping dan and i bet smarter right now okay our listeners if you are a netters listener you get a seven-day free trial and 50% off your month. If you download the Hall of Fame Betts app and use promo code Netters at checkout, that is
Starting point is 00:53:01 N-E-T-T-E-R-S. Okay, so for a limited time only, get the seven-day free trial at 50% off your first month. Use that code netters at checkout. Download the Hall of Fame Betz app on iOS or Android. Enter code netters and you are all set. Beauty. Well done, CP. Thank you. All right, chat, that is going to do it for us. But before we go, wait, I have one more thing. Because I thought this was important. Before we go, we're doing final thoughts. CP, give me your final. I said, I said, come on, that after game one, and I posted a clip of it, so now I'm really embarrassed. I said it legitimately felt like after game one that you couldn't go 60 minutes against the others. What they did to Dallas in the third period and what they did to Florida in the third period specifically and overtime,
Starting point is 00:53:46 but the third period specifically of game one, I said, man, it just feels like you can't go 60 minutes against this team. And a million Panthers fans in the chat said, you're an idiot. and everyone said well Florida travels late to Edmonton and whatever they weren't acclimated and I was like it's the finals like what are we talking about they've run out of steam and they just like you cannot go the full time here and everybody fucking laughed at us or made fun of me all the Florida fans are making fun of me and I was like we'll see and I have to say dude boom and I deserve my clown nose for the Oilers in five already but bang dude fucking clown nose because dude the third period that I have watched the Panthers play two games in a row. And not even that they dominated in game two. It was they gave up the tying goal with 30 seconds left, but just the third period that they played in game two and the full game they played today, buddy, the Panthers can go 60 minutes against the Oilers.
Starting point is 00:54:43 I'm sorry. And it's, I still think the Oilers have a ton of punchback, but this is not the, oh, my God, you better be up four goals of going into the third against Edmond, or you're dead that I literally thought it might be. I still thought the Panthers could win, but I was like, man, they are going to have to be fucking firing. And now I'm like, oh, dude, they don't care. They're fine.
Starting point is 00:55:05 They literally laughed off game one. They laughed it off. And I was like, no, you're wrong. And they're not wrong. They write. My final thoughts are, as I said, I'm so impressed with Florida and their progression with how they played from game one. And this is such a dominant performance at home.
Starting point is 00:55:25 It's everything that the fans wanted to see. It's everything that them, the players wanted to see. I will say, Edmonton, if you need any sort of hope, if you need any reason to feel like you're still alive in this, I will say you are absolutely alive. This Edmonton team, specifically Connor, Leon, they've been here. They're not going to roll over.
Starting point is 00:55:47 They're not going to lay down. I do not think game four is going to go like that. I think that was a licking, and they're going to go back to their hotel. They're going to have a beach day tomorrow and they're going to go relax, calm down. It's a different game. It's a different, you know, we're not home. We're not at Rogers.
Starting point is 00:56:03 So, you know, like, let's just figure it out. And they will figure it out. And that is a testament to what they went through last year, how they've played all year long, how they've played all of these. Yes, dude. Don't forget, this is the first time they've lost two games in a row since games one and two of the playoffs. Yeah. They responded very well to that, didn't they? They won four straight games.
Starting point is 00:56:23 So I think it would be naive to think that this Edmonton team is just rattled right now. Let's read, dude. Like, bro, there were people we were with post-game. Let's not get on a tangent. But just there were people who were with post-game panthers fans like doing what fucking Dallas did after game one. When everybody's like, they were like, we did it, bro. And I'm like, calm the fuck down, dude. So my final thoughts will be if you're a Florida fan, do not victory lap right now.
Starting point is 00:56:50 This shit is far from over. far from over. And if you're an Edmonton fan, this shit is far from over. Believe in the boys because they've responded to this type of adversity already before they can do it again. We are in for a continued phenomenal series. That's going to do it for us. Guys, thank you so much for being patient with us. Thank you for all of the delays, the technical difficulties. Seeing all of you in the chat right now, seeing everyone logged in is fucking incredible.
Starting point is 00:57:20 It's 142 a.m. and we're sitting here with you because we care. We're so sorry it took us a bit. You're the fucking best, huge game. We will be in Boston tomorrow. Jesus. We are leaving Florida, going to Boston, doing an unbelievable event with Bauer,
Starting point is 00:57:34 the greatest sponsors in the entire world, our favorite people of all time. You know that if you've heard the show. We're going to be there. We're going to be interviewing some unbelievable guys during the off day, doing some fun shit. So make sure to tune in on that on all the socials. You'll see some great interviews on the podcast.
Starting point is 00:57:49 Don't worry. We'll be back in Florida the next night. that same night. A lot of travel. Yeah, a lot of travel. But we're doing it for you. It's going to be amazing. Tune in for that.
Starting point is 00:57:58 And then also forgot to say, check out season two glory days. Johnny Mansell's show at the company comes out every Thursday starting on the 12th. Got some incredible college superstars, pro athletes, all the place. Manzell's doing sick interviews. Glory Day, season two, June 12th.
Starting point is 00:58:16 Check that out. We will go to Boston. We will come back. We will see you all for game four. Packages by Expedia You were made to occasionally Take the hard route to the top of the Eiffel Tower We were made to easily bundle your trip
Starting point is 00:58:41 Expedia made to travel Made to Travel

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.