Empty Netters Podcast - The Panthers are much better than the Oilers - Stanley Cup Final Game 3 | 107
Episode Date: June 14, 2024A crushing home loss for the Oilers has the Panthers on the brink of the Stanley Cup. Too little too late in Edmonton but the city isn’t ready to quit. But the big dogs on the Oilers need to figure ...out Bobrovsky immediately PRESENTED TO YOU BY LABATT BLUE LIGHT SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Martha listens to her favorite band all the time.
In gym.
Even sleeping.
So when they finally went on tour, Martha bundled her flight and hotel on Expedia to see them live.
She saved so much she got her seat close enough to actually see and hear them.
Sort of.
You were made to scream from the front row.
We were made to quietly save you more.
Expedia, made to travel.
Savings vary and subject to availability.
Ice is ready.
we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast presented by Labat Blue Light.
Holy shit, CP.
It was close.
It was almost a series.
But now the Florida Panthers are up.
We were five minutes from everything I've ever wanted on earth.
And unfortunately, Dan, in either direction.
I know.
either, dude, either the Oilers Force OT.
We go to OT in Alberta, in Edmonton, game three, Stanley Cup finals.
Dan, the barn, the lower bowl was empty at 15 minutes.
And then, Dan, the people, the people from the 400 section poured down.
And they filled the seats.
And God bless those ushers for letting them through.
And they filled the seats.
And it went four three.
And we were about to get playoff OT.
and a McDavid goal to make this a series.
Or I was about to be rich.
Either scenario, Dan.
It's one of the best days of my life.
C.P.
Instead, I get 3-0. No money.
Yeah. Lose $500.
CP, they were up. The Panthers were up for one.
And I still said the empty net was on the table.
I was like, not blocks a fucking Wild Wild West gunslinger.
He'll pull the goalie with a three-goal difference.
It doesn't matter.
And then they made it 4-2.
And then they made it four three.
And I was like, holy shit, this empty netter is on the table like a vase with a beautiful bouquet of flowers in it.
I thought we had it.
Roses.
And then blue roses.
Blue and orange roses.
Blue and orange.
Jesus Christ, dude.
We're talking about mutation shit.
We're talking about X-Men shit here.
Unbelievable.
And it got ripped out of our hands.
I don't know what else to say.
It got ripped out of our hands.
And before we even get into this game, before we even get into how electric Edmonton is,
how electric that crowd was, these fans, the environment here in Canada when we're talking about hockey.
We did it when we were at All-Star in Toronto.
I mean, Canadian cities just do it differently.
Before we even get into any of that, I'm going to say something that's going to surprise you.
Don't do it.
Dude, you are buzzing.
You are buzzing here in Canada.
Like, I hate to give it to you, man.
Wow.
But like sometimes you're just feeling it.
Sometimes you've got it.
The witty banter is clicking.
The hair is flowing.
Like your vibe is just glowing.
And I don't know if it's in hockey cities or what.
But like we're here.
The people of Edmonton love you.
You're just saying all the right things.
You're fucking cracking me up, dude.
And I don't like you.
I don't find you funny.
I don't find you interesting.
And you're like, you've been cracking me up since the second we
landed and I just don't know what it is.
There's a chance.
There's a chance I'm Canadian.
It's possible, dude.
But I'll tell you what, you're peaking.
You're definitely peaking.
Because, like, you are on fire.
Dan, that's why I need a game six.
I got to come back.
I can't just be here till Sunday, dude.
I got to come back.
You're like Jack.
You're like Jack Shepard and lost, dude.
You never should have left.
With a beard.
Yeah, you never should have left the island.
I'm beard, Jack.
We have to go back.
Dude, I'm saying like you're just, you're kind of on fire.
I'll tell you what, Dan, I felt it.
It's not, this isn't the first time I'm hearing this.
I just feel like I got off the plane.
I was really in my element right away.
And dude, I was ready to potentially be hated here.
I've been the number one Panthers drumbanger in the finals.
I said Panthers in five, maybe four, maybe four, Dan.
And I might be right.
So I was ready to get a beer dumped on my fucking head.
That's a really good way to Trojan horse a little flex that you might have been right.
I might have been right.
And I was ready to get a beer dumped on my head, and it still might happen.
But it hasn't happened yet.
And in fact, Dan, everybody we've seen.
And, dude, I got to say, Dan and I this morning, we got in late last night because we got delayed.
Dan and I this morning went to get our credentials.
And at 10.30 in the morning, Rogers Place.
was already packed with people, not packed, but there was legitimately a crowd of people there
in Oilers, jerseys, with fake cups, with, with car flags, with everything, dude.
Get your car flags out.
Honk!
Dude, I've never seen so many car flags in my life.
We saw some all-time car flags that they did.
I saw a guy, I saw a guy with a standard.
sized car flag in all four windows. And then and then a then and then a and then a and then a baseball
park sized car flag on the roof on the roof Dan on the hood. Yeah. Five car flags. It's unbelievable,
dude. You watch these people drive around and out of the beds of their trucks we're seeing
full on MLB regulation size flags flapping in the wind. That's a hazard. You'll get pulled over for that
in the States. That's a hazard. But not here and
Edmonton. They let that shit fly literally like the flag itself.
Dude. So yeah, we, we, I was impressed right away. I was like, dude, this, this city is ready to go at a 10 a.m.
dude, ready to go at the rink. They're going to sit here for eight hours before a puck drop.
And all the people, dude, everybody that came up to us, which was a great group, every single one of them.
Even the ones that were like, no joke, even the ones that were like, CP, you're an oilers hater.
even they were like
pumped to have you here dude you're buzzing
and I think maybe that is how hard I am buzzing
that I even overcome
Oilers hate
on the pod
this has been one of me still
it's been one of the most hospitable cities
we've ever visited and I mean
I think it's hockey people
everywhere we go yeah
everyone's so wonderful so nice
so welcoming
happy to give us great recommendations
I mean gosh man
How cool are all of these people, everyone we've run into here.
So let's just segue that perfectly into the vibe.
I mean, we get here for game three, you're down O2.
We go to this awesome meet and greet with the chicklets gang.
We're at the ice house.
And that, CP, you were joking around about 10 a.m.
Man, you get to Rogers Place around two, three.
It looks like that scene from World War Z where the zombies are literally overtaking the wall.
There are Oilers jerseys everywhere.
I mean, like, these fans are flooding the streets.
Everyone is buzzing, dude.
The amount of four-two predictions we heard, four-two oil, four-to-oil everywhere.
And we're like, dude, yes, like, this is it.
We're on fire.
We're buzzing here.
The energy in this downtown area of Edmonton, out at the bars on the street, cars
driving by, people playing steel drums, people blowing saxophones.
I mean, good God Almighty.
Street art.
Street on shit on the streets.
We found a guy drawing the oil logo in chalk on the sidewalk.
He's like a professional.
He's like,
It was Banksy, dude.
It was Banksy.
I'm convinced him.
Da Vinci.
That might have been Banksy.
It might have been Banksy.
You can't tell me it wasn't Banksy.
Someone tell me where Banksy was.
Someone tell me where Banksie was at 2 p.m.
Mountain time on Thursday the 13th of June.
And then I'll tell you that that wasn't Banksy.
Give me a point.
Is this, is it a coincidence that it's Connor McDavid?
Connor Banks
Banksy
Is there a chance
that's how we even got here?
Hey, your little
Leon rhyme thing
last episode
you're getting a lot better
because that was nice.
I didn't,
I wasn't much better.
I wasn't kidding when I said
you were a buzzing dude.
Like even your rhymes skis
Yeah.
So we take that energy
dude.
We take that energy
on the streets
and you pointed this out.
We get into the barn.
We posted it on the story.
I mean, dude,
the intro players coming on the ice
into the anthem
oh Canada
I'm normally Dan we're late
we're late because we got to like
we're doing man on the street stuff we're recording shit
you know we're trying to get you guys some good content
normally we're late dude to be completely
honest with people like I usually miss puck drop
and we're at these playoff games because I'm like
we're out there we out there dude
I looked you in the eye Dan and I said
under no circumstances will I miss oh Canada
period period full stop
and we were there and dude
I texted our boy Max.
I know you're listening to Max.
I texted Max right away because me and Max and you, Dan,
have been texting every Oilers game.
We watch it.
We text Best Two Minutes in Sports.
Everyone thinks it's the Derby.
Everyone thinks Kentucky Derby, Best Two Minutes in Sports.
Wrong.
It's O Canada at fucking Rogers Place.
And then we were there in person and we texted Max, chills.
And he was like, I literally cannot believe you guys fucking saw that.
It was amazing.
But I'll tell you what, CP.
The confidence, the vibes, sky high,
all the way up until the last.
last note of that anthem, the second that puck dropped, shoulders got tense. Like you can I
show it loud. It was loud as shit. Don't get me wrong. But dude, tight but holes, Chris. Can you
see this, Dan? Yeah. No, I can't. Look at that, Dan. That's how small. It's like a pin needle.
It's like the tip of the pin. Look at that. Is light is, is light a beam or a particle?
It's a part of. Nobody knows. No, no. It's whatever you need it to be. But unfortunately, in
this circumstance, light as a beam or a particle or a particle cannot pass through the fucking
sphincter of an oiler's fan one second into the game tonight, unfortunately.
And that's a fact, dude. That is a fucking fact. I've never seen an arena go so quiet, dude.
It was from from so loud. The delta, Dan, the delta. It was here. They did the death.
They did the decibel, dude. We hit 115. No, it was still loud. It was still loud.
But the but the but holes got tight.
15.
1959.
Bang.
50.
It was still loud.
Dead silent.
But the but holes got tight.
You could feel how.
I thought I was at church, dude.
That arena was tense, man.
This episode of the Empty Netters podcast is brought to you by our favorite beer in the world, not just the nation, the world.
Labat blue light.
And it's extra special this time because we are recording from Canada.
We're in Edmonton where the Labat Blue Light flows like the rivers of the Capistrano.
It's unbelievable.
It tastes delicious.
It's crispy.
It's cool.
And it's brewed with Canadian kindness.
And we know that firsthand because we're here.
We're living it, folks.
Labat Blue Light is hockey's favorite beer.
It's the empty Netter's favorite beer.
So it needs to be your favorite beer.
So while you're watching the game at home, while you're hanging out with friends, while you're at the pub,
doesn't matter.
Crack a Labat Blue Light.
because no beer will treat you better.
Folks, taking a quick break from the podcast to talk to you about our friends at Bauer
Hockey.
Bauer has been the industry leading standard in the hockey game since the beginning of time.
It feels like this is just one of those brands that when you hear, it means the thing
we're talking about.
It means hockey.
It's like Band-Aid.
It's like Escalator.
It's like Chapstick.
It's just synonymous with the sport because they know exactly what they're doing.
and we're going to talk to you about training specifically,
Bowerhockey.com slash training.
That's what you're going to go to,
and you're going to pump in that promo code empty, EMP, TY,
and you're going to save all of your money on shipping.
And when you get there, we're going to look at that digital reactor dangler.
We're going to look at the digital slideboard.
These things are taking your stick handling and you're skating to the next level
because Bauer knows your game better than anyone else.
Bower hockey is the elite of the elite
And they're going to take your game
To the elite of the elite
Get on board just like us
We're decked out, tripped out
Head to toe in Bower hockey gear
Because nothing touches that quality
Get on board today
And you know we get into the games
We needed the first goal
We needed the first goal so fucking bad
Yeah let's break it down here
First period
Couple of peepers
A couple of peepers
Dude I bet on it
Dude I bet on it
Oh yeah we were financially invested
We were emotionally invested
We're here at Rogers.
I mean, come on.
Do they have two in the first period?
Two peepers for the oil, dude.
And you needed one.
Well, the fucking Panthers got a quick one.
Yeah, and it got shut down.
Didn't score.
And then, oh yeah, then Sasha delay a game and then Montor slashing.
And we couldn't get one.
And you just couldn't get one, dude.
You couldn't get one.
And I tweeted, I was like, if you're the Oilers, you really, you would need to get a power play goal here in the first period in your barn.
Dude.
And then they didn't get it.
And then, dude, you talk about teams that capitalize on mistakes.
There is no one in the NHL this season who does it better than this Florida Panthers team.
And one mistake was made in the first period with one minute left.
And it was just the most bang, bang play.
Just an unbelievable play.
Barkov just showing why he's so elite on both ends of the ice, gets the puck in the zone, comes up down the sidewall.
bodies off the defender.
I think it was Bouch.
Turns them around.
Yeah.
Gets the puck into Foresling,
entering the zone.
Foresling,
great play.
Just puts an unbelievable pass,
one tap in,
bar and in for Rynardt.
And how's your mother?
We're up one-nothing panthers.
And it was just, dude,
minute left.
Let me tell you what.
One minute left in the period,
that was an absolute sack tap.
Like,
that was truly a dangling
on a hot summer day.
Your balls are.
are dropped below the cock.
It's an awful situation and you get that speed bagged.
That's how that feels.
Dude,
you act like I need a hot summer day.
You act like I need a hot summer day for my balls to be below my cough, dude.
That is crazy, dude.
They live, they live below my cough.
You think I'm talking about either one of us.
Dude, give me a break.
Dude, that was backbreaking.
And then I'll tell you what, this is a testament to Oilers fans.
I have never honest to God.
I don't think I've ever been in a quieter barn in my life.
That goal went in.
I don't know if there was a single Florida Panthers fan in that arena
because that goal went in and it felt like a funeral.
It was ridiculous how quiet that place was.
Ridiculous.
Dude, you know how in anybody that's listening to this
that's ever seen, ever been to an NBA game, certainly,
but probably even seeing one on TV.
If the home team, if the Golden State Warriors at home hit a three, they go,
Steph Curry for three.
And it's like this whole thing.
And if Steph Curry's on the road and he hits a three, it goes like this.
Three-pointer.
Steph Curry.
Like, you know, that's the difference.
Dude, that I used to think was like the most exaggerated like calm and away thing.
Dude, if you weren't watching the game in the first, when that Reiner goal,
going in and I can't say this about the other goals of that game but straight up Dan if you weren't
watching reinert score if you looked away for two seconds you wouldn't have known a goal was
scored in that game like if you looked away and they went back center ice dropped it and then the
play was going again and you looked up you would not know it was one nothing it was literally
like no it was just consistent dead silent like the pocket was past to the middle and then it was in
and the rink was just like no comment dude
I was like, oh my God.
It's just like, it's a dagger, man.
Like I truly, again, it's credit to Edmonton fans.
It's, it's, wow.
So going.
Here's the other problem, dude.
Yep, yep.
You can't, the Panthers first period, the first period is the Panthers' worst period.
By a mile.
By a mile.
By a mile, dude.
You cannot, we've said over and over, you can't even be tied to the Panthers going into
a third or you're dead.
You're dead.
So you certainly cannot be losing to the Panthers after one.
Okay?
So I was like, this is fucked to hell.
And then, dude, fucking Fogel.
Fogel, dude.
More like Fogel.
More like Fogol.
Dude, so I said, bro, and for the people, all the Oilers fans listening, you guys already know this.
But when Fogel scores on the Jumbotron, they put Fogul.
And as a man who had McDavid first time Edmonton goal score,
if I had fucking been told that when full goal scores,
they put faux goal on the Jumbotron,
I probably would have adjusted my bet.
So everybody in Edmonton,
next time I'm parading my candy ass into Alberta,
I'm going to need a fucking heads up that faux goal goes on.
the Jumbotron when Fogel scores.
Thank you very much.
You're right.
There's no excuse.
To go through the second period, because I want to get into just things that we're seeing there
and then also get into that third period.
That second period starts.
And like you just said, C.P, Fogle gets on the board in the first two minutes, huge.
Like, Rogers needed that.
The place went fucking nuts.
Life breathed back into the building.
And it lasted for just a little bit before, ho-hum, you know, first.
first 10 minutes of the period. Silly mistake, bad defense on the sidewall, puck gets in deep,
loose terrain and puts one in front of Vlad, boom. You give a guy like Vlad a goal score like him,
that chance he's going to score every time. Then public enemy number one, Sam Bennett gets on the
board from Matthew Kachuk, and then the man of the hour after the dry saddle hit last game,
Sasha Barkov, boom, gets on the board. We're up for one, and you go into the third period. And you go into
the third period and everyone's like this series is over.
Like the Stanley Cup has been won and that's that.
Well, we were both saying, like I just said, you can't be tied right to the, to the
panthers going to the third.
So it's one one.
You got the huge bogal.
And then we're approaching the halfway period of the second.
And I'm thinking to myself, you've got to get one.
You've got to be up to one.
And then that Teresenko one happens.
And I was actually talking to R.A. and G about Teresenko being like, I was like, God, he's
giving them no.
and really and R.A. was kind of like, yeah, but you just hope, like, honestly, what they,
that team's so good already. What they needed for Teraenko was like, that goal in game
six against the Rangers. Was that game six? You know what I mean? Like, you don't, you know, all
you need is like that, that one pop from him or something. And, and maybe one tonight. And he gets
that, that, that goal. That puts you up to one. And that was the one, Dan, that Skinner fucking
comes out of the net. And, dude, that was like the number one thing everyone said to us walking out
of the rank and in the suite in the moment they were like stay in the fucking net dude i don't
where are you at on that i don't think that was the vlad goal yeah it was the second goal yeah
one one game everything on the line londell casual literally casual forehand flip in the into the zone
skinner comes out loses it center to terranco wide open in front of that shoots it into an empty net goal
in a one-one game, do or die.
I'm going to stand on business here for Stewie.
Like, I just think he's been great.
I mean, like, this was tough.
You know, it was, he led in four goals.
But as we'll get to, you know, like third period.
He stays in the game.
He performs.
I think I think he's been good.
I'm not going to get on him about one goal.
Like, I didn't think that that was as egregious as so many people did.
And, you know, it's not a great.
It's a killer, dude.
Dude, but it wasn't an open.
net, you guys are so hyperball.
No one was it.
Send me a screenshot of Vladimir Teresenko literally shooting into a gaping open net.
I will right now, dude.
Do it.
I'm dead ass.
Do it.
Hold up.
Hold up.
Wait to you.
Wait to you.
You're a dumb ass sees this, dude.
When it's not gaping, I'm going to stuff a pie in your face.
Skinner is literally not in the gold, dude.
I'm looking at this.
He's literally in the crease.
His skates are in the crease.
Dude
Yeah, but he's
He's literally coming back from the corner
And he's already shot that
But that this is my point
You guys are so hyperbolic
You're literally painting it
As if Skinner's behind the net still
Well let me fucking bring it back
One more second dude
Like he is not in the goal
Like here's a better one
Teresenko has the puck here dude
Look at this dude
This is crazy town
And you can continue to defend Skinner
I'm not even actually that number of tape
I don't need to defend Skinner
That's not my point here
I just think that like this.
Look at this one.
Tara Zingle has the puck.
Like Skinner is behind the goal line.
Teresicle does not have the puck.
You liar.
I think it's actually on the way to him.
It's right.
It's right at the goal line.
No, but it's at the goal line.
But my point is like Skinner is not in the net as the puck is being centered to a player on the panel.
And that is true.
But I just, you're going to say that this is on Skinner.
Why isn't this on his defenseman?
Like that was a shit play.
But you expect, if Skinner's coming out of the net, you expect them to stop it.
Period.
In my opinion, you're a defenseman.
You know better than me.
But if your goalie's coming.
out of the net there, you're not ready for it to, like, leak through his stick through the trapezoid.
Well, I certainly hope it doesn't, but I'll tell you what I damn sure I'm not going to let happen.
Is it leak through my goalie and then just give the offensive player a free, clear look and pass into the front of the net?
Yeah, like, who is that?
And, like, he beats whoever that is.
Who is that?
We don't need to.
Yeah, you're right.
He beats him to the puck there.
But I still think he's expecting Skinner to stop.
I mean, I don't think.
I know he's expecting Skinner to stop it.
So it's a tough one.
Dude, for me, and dude, I am easily the bigger Skinner hater on this podcast.
Yeah.
And I said last, in our blind rankings today, I was like, he's been better than Connor
fucking in this year.
Like Skinner is not the problem.
Oh, definitely.
Yeah.
But that one for me.
And frankly, dude, I actually, I don't, I mind that less than just like a super
softy because that's like your goalie ability versus that was just like a dumbass
mistake.
And I'm not excusing it, but I'm like, fuck, it happens.
You know, everyone's human.
But just like, oh, bro, game three, you just tied it.
Like, I can't have the Panthers going up to one like that.
I think Biz said it.
Remember, Biz was like, you work so hard to score against Florida.
And then that happens.
And you're like, okay.
So we're up for one, if you're the Panthers and you go in.
And third period starts.
And, dude, it was, like you said, a lot of people had left.
like it was a bad vibe in that arena.
And pretty early, Broberg gets on the board,
gets his second goal of the playoffs,
and it's four two.
But even still, like the barn went nuts.
Oilers fans went nuts,
but it still felt like a tall task.
And then what do you know, dude,
McLeod gets the boys on the board
with about six and a half minutes left in the game,
maybe less, five and a half, five and a half minutes left in the game.
And it was like,
Oh shit. Like there's a ton of time here.
And for me, Chris, I don't know about you, this felt like the first time Florida got caught sleeping.
I think they went into that third period and they were like, we're done here, dude.
Like they were playing in the parade, dude.
Yeah.
They were like, where are we going?
Get your rest.
Are we staying in Lottie?
Are we doing an elbow room or are we doing 11?
Yeah.
And they were talking about it, dude.
And I know Barkoff was like, hey, boys, keep it together here as he's retaping his stick.
but then he went to take a piss
and the rest of the boys were like,
yeah, but seriously,
elbow room or 11 while he's in the bathroom.
And, you know,
it's not going to cut it.
It was sleepy time for that Florida team.
No question about it.
And, you know,
plenty of time left.
It was all Oilers.
I have not seen them dominate this series
like they did in that last five minutes.
They were all over Florida.
And I truly think
I mean, dude, on that fourth goal,
they get hemmed in a little bit.
Montor makes a bad play in the defensive zone.
He kind of chips a puck up the boards.
Edmonton keeps it in and I go,
I said out loud to the boys, I went,
Montor looks tired. This is dangerous.
And then bang, bang,
Kulak gets the puck in front.
McLeod puts it in and we've got a four three game.
And I was like, dude,
Florida is sloppy enough right now
and there's enough time that this game might get tied up
and the roof is going to fucking blow off of Rogers.
And dude, not long after that,
Shifty little Connor, father McDavid,
enters the zone, goes out wide,
and then throws a cheeky little backhand pass in front
right to McLeod.
And McLeod had Bob's five hole.
Absolutely gaping, dude.
Unbelievable.
Like the gates of Valhalla themselves opened wide, wide open.
And he just couldn't get it through
And credit to Bob.
Bob dropped the knee and made the save.
But I was like, that pass went through and I saw it get to his tape.
And I was like, oh, my God, they tied it.
And just somehow Bob makes yet another save,
probably the most crucial save of the fucking game.
And somehow Florida holds on and they are now up 30 in the series.
Dude, the swing.
I can't emphasize enough to swing at the end of the second.
It was like that Skinner mistake.
And then the Bennett goal,
which is actually like a great forecheck from Bennett and play.
It was like a two-man forecheck with Bennett and Kachuk.
Bennett gets a stick on it,
swips to Kachuk.
He passes to Bennett under the bar,
which we thought,
or I thought that was off the C-bar live.
I was like,
oh shit, that would have been bad.
And then, like, everybody was selling.
And I was like, oh, fuck, that way.
Just that play by Kachuk, dude.
Oh, my God.
I mean.
Dude, but, like, again,
it was kind of like nothing oilers have the puck behind the net.
And then, like, boom, you lose it.
And then two minutes later, bro,
the Panthers at the puck deep in their zone,
flip out, the flipper chippers.
strike again, flip out, bang, two on one,
because the oilers are a little pinchy,
and then I think it was Erod maybe over to Barkoff,
fucking snipe job on like a semi-breakaway.
How are you?
You wish I wasn't playing, but here I am.
I'm fucking ruining your life.
So, four-one, dude.
Like, we were literally like,
one-one isn't going to cut it,
but you'll take it if you're Edmonton,
and then J-K, it's 4-1, going into the third.
So I barely blame the Panthers of being sleepy,
and I give so much fucking,
credit to the Oilers. We can get into this in a second, but I remember saying to you, like,
this could be 6-1 pretty easily, and then the series is surely. I mean, it's probably over
anyway, but it's like surely over in four, I should say, if it had finished 6 or 7-1, which
I thought it was going to. But then, dude, you're right. And bro, I pulled the shots up. Like,
what's crazy is the shots in the first period, 1310, Edmonton, okay? Shots in the second period,
16-8, Edmonton, a period in which they are outscored 3-1.
Cannot happen.
And a lot of those were dangerous, man.
Bob was making big saves.
Yes, dude.
Can you, I don't know if you've looked.
Can you guess what the shots were in the third period?
I would guess, sorry, it was 13 and then 16.
Yep.
I would guess like 9 to 2, Edmonton.
6-5, Edmonton.
And, like, they outscored the.
two nothing and had a couple of times. It was a weird period. It's so weird because you and I both
were watching, I test, we're like, the Oilers are controlling this period. Dude, it felt like
shinny. There's been so many other periods in this series where the Orlers had outshot the shit
out of the Panthers. And I literally felt like they were, they were, the Delta between the Orlers
play and the Panthers play was the greatest in that third period than any other period in
the series so far. Yeah. And the shots were 6.5. It was so weird. So I don't quite get that.
but dude
I can't believe man
the fucking barn
was going insane
and I know home ice doesn't matter that much
and like you can feed off it as a road player too
because you're like I want to shut these fucks up whatever
but I just cannot believe
they didn't tie it
when it went four three
because the place was going ballistic
and they just felt like
dude we were like you can't get to Bob
Bob is seeing the future that first period
fucking one T save on dry saddle bro
I'm like he's everywhere Bob's everywhere
This is a fucking joke.
He knows where you're going to be before.
You even know where you're going to be.
But then, and what was, what was, the fucking, the tip was the second one.
What was, what was Brobergs?
I can't even remember.
Broberg was like kind of like, turn over.
No, no, McDavid to Coolak, Kulak to McLeod.
And you know what, dude?
I'm going to disagree with you hard here.
Oh, I just think those two goals not on Bob at all.
Like complete, no, don't shake your head.
You were blaming Bob.
You were shitting on Bob.
You think he's terrible.
He sucks.
I just think that those were, like we said, dude, it was just sleepy, sloppy play by Florida because I think they checked out.
I think they walked onto the ice on that third period and not giving a shit.
And they got sleepy for the first time.
But this is another reason why this Florida team is different.
Because even when they fall asleep at the wheel, they still pull it out.
And like Bob, you know, like Bob gets two.
shitty defensive plays in front of them and two goals squeak by him.
And he's like, well, and it happened again with that McDavid play and that passed to McLeod.
And Bob saved it.
And he saved multiple other ones too.
Like Bob was like, you guys are playing like dickheads.
And I let two insure, but I'm shutting the door now and we're winning this fucking game.
You could see the guys going up and hugging him.
And dude, after that third goal when I was saying Montor looks tired.
Montor, and this was a frustration, not fatigue.
He was hunched over his knees with his stick on his knees.
and I know he was motherfucking himself.
He was like, what the fuck are we doing out here, dude?
Like, why are we playing like dickheads?
And that's an interesting thing, dude.
When you mentally check out, when you go like this, this game's over, dude.
It is so hard to check back in.
Like, dude, you are literally looking at your reflection in the Stanley Cup after that second period.
And then all of a sudden you snap your fingers and there's five minutes up in the third.
And it's a one goal game.
You are like, wait, what the hell just happened?
And then you have to get back into this killer mindset.
It's not easy.
and, you know, they figured it out.
So here we are, Florida up 3-0.
What were some things that you saw in that game,
things that just stood out that you're like, holy shit,
about either team that, you know,
are going to pull into game four here,
possibly the end of this series.
For me, Dan, the Barkoff, like everybody was like,
making Barkoff won't play,
but certainly even if he does,
we'll be able to jumble the McDavid line away from him.
We had a lot of convoes today at the game,
like who's consmite?
if it's Florida, Barkoff or Bob Bob.
And Barkoff's doing it all off the score sheet, but not all because he scored, you know,
but like Barkoff is eliminating people.
Bob is like eye popping.
And I still think, it's Bob for me.
We were talking to Wish and he's like, a lot of people voting for Barkoff and that's a worthy pick.
It's still Bob for me, but this was a testament to Barkoff where even when they're trying
to get McDavid away from him as much as possible, he has such an impact on the game.
The other one is, and we were talking to Army about this,
You've got to score powerplay goal if you're the oilers.
Another 0 for three.
And it sucks.
Maybe Witt said this, but like it sucks when you rely on it.
But sometimes you rely on it.
We said multiple times the Panthers kind of relied on it against the Rangers early.
You know, like you just got to get a power play goal.
And I know the Panthers power play not doing shit either.
But like, dude, if you get one of those, those two first period ones like you said,
buddy, it just like changes the whole fucking dynamic of the game, man.
And, like, it's been your weapon all year, all fucking year.
You guys score on the power play.
And they haven't had bad power plays.
They've had a lot of possessions and good looks.
But like, holy fuck, they cannot win the series.
If they, dude, fucking, if I told the Oilers, yo, you will not score a powerplay goal in this series.
What do you think will happen?
They probably go, I bet we get swept.
And I'm like, yeah, that's what's about to happen.
You fucking idiot.
So you got to figure it out, man.
I mean, Chris, it sounds like, you know, I hate, we talk to a.
talk to a few unbelievable Edmonton fans at the bar before the game. Shout out those boys,
three of the coolest guys in the game. And I said, you know, like they were like, what do you think
tonight? And, and I'm going to say it now here again. I said, you know, it's all about this game.
It's all about tonight. If they win, everything is on the table. Oilers and six,
oilers and seven is on the table. Yeah. If they lose, it's over. And again, that comes with a no shit.
Sherlock like you're down 3-0 and I don't mean like if they win this it's over because look at the
the series it's you know three games to none it's it's a it's a flow thing it's a momentum thing like
the way these games are going because I was like if Florida wins it's going to because it's
going to be because we're seeing the same recipe like you just said with the power play and
right off the bat dude first period like I said I tweeted out you have to fucking score on this
power play if you're Edmonton and it sounds
That's another one that sounds obvious, right?
Like you've got to get the PP going.
But I'm saying that in the first period.
If you don't score on those first period two PP chances after you killed one of theirs,
you have lost in the first period.
And that happened and they lose.
And it just, it's like Jesus, Jesus, man, this recipe that Florida is cooked up, it's crazy.
And you're so right about Barkov.
You're so right about Bob, the one for me.
And I appreciate you leaving it to me because he's been my guy all playoffs.
He's been my guy this series.
my unsung hero of this series and these playoffs,
my Kahn Smythe, the D.P. Kahn Smyth, is Gustav Foresling.
Yeah.
He is all over the ice for Florida, all over the ice.
He's obviously crucial in that first goal to Rynardt.
He's on the score sheet.
But what I'm talking about is you go back and you look at cups.
You look at when Vegas beats Florida last year.
And you have to look at guys like Petro.
You have to look at guys like Shea Theodore.
The defensemen that stand up against the big dogs on the other team,
Goose is going up against McDavid and Drysidal.
And if you, I beg you, if you were a student of the game,
go back and watch some of those power plays.
Go back and watch the long stints of zone time that Edmonton has
and watch Gustav Forzling's footwork against McDavid.
He is with him step for step.
Do you have any idea how hard that is?
This guy, we talk about the ways that McDavid's not getting the space that he normally does,
the ways that that power play, the wheel around, the kick outside,
all of those things aren't working like they usually are,
and a huge part of that is Gustav Forsley.
This guy is just out of his mind right now,
and it's getting the blood pumping straight to my nether students.
Right to the nether regions.
Like watching a defenseman play in that way.
against the best player in the world,
it gives the plums a nice bluish hue.
I've taken a tiny break from the pod
to tell you guys about our partnership with BetMGM.
You're all over this.
You already know, but listen to me right now.
If you sign up for BetMGM
and you use promo code Netters,
that is N-E-T-E-R-S,
and you make a wager from $5,
and I am not kidding you when I say this,
to $1,500.
It doesn't matter if you win or lose.
If you win, you win your money.
That's awesome.
If you lose, BetMGM puts that money that you bet back into your account.
It's insane.
It's like it was gone and now it's back in thanks to BetMGM and promo code netters.
So I literally do not know what you're waiting for.
Drop everything right now.
Come back to the pod after, but go sign up for BetMGM immediately.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800 Gambler. Call 877-8-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call
100-3-2-0-0-0-0-Masurgeoned. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800-1-800-2-4-4-1.
1-800-200-1-400-4-P4-Po.
For Iowa, 1-800, or Puerto Rico, or
or visit Watt, Watt, Watt, Wattroup. First bet offer for new customers only,
subject to eligibility, requirements. Bonus Bette
Rek-M-Mptu-M-GM-ROT. In fact, Mawromania.
CepadM-M-M-GM-ROT. U-UKKKKKKK.
Dude.
I can't figure out what the fuck...
I mean, it's, but me the answer is Bob's too good.
But it's like, part of me's like, Oilers, you've got to put more on net.
They're too cute.
They're making these backdoor passes.
Panthers sticks and lanes.
Sticks and lanes.
You've got to get more on net.
But then I look at them, like, you have 40 fucking shots.
Like, they're getting bucks on net.
Like, do they need a few more?
Sure.
But like, they're not like they're not shooting.
It's like they shot 10 times today.
So it's a really tricky one.
Here's, dude, sometimes, man, we're guilty of it.
Everybody's, TNT, ESPN, everyone's guilty of it.
When you are a, and I don't even want to call us like hockey analysts.
We're just two dudes that love hockey.
A couple hockey fans.
We're a couple of hockey fans.
But the hockey media, the hockey analysts feel the need to do our job and say what's happening.
Right?
People come into us.
Like what's going on?
What is who's got to be better?
Who's got to figure it out?
What's broken?
What's working?
Blah, blah, blah.
Sometimes, dude.
sports are very simple.
It's a complicated thing, but sometimes sports are simple.
Can I tell you this, Dan?
Tell me it.
Three games in the Stanley Cup finals, 2024.
Four goals in three games.
First of all, that's not going to cut it just from a numbers thing.
Second of all, Ekholm, Fogel, Broberg, McLeod.
Dude, people asking us in the streets, what's wrong?
What are they always going to do?
McDavid, dry sidel, and Hyman have to score goals.
Bouchard.
Bouchard has to score.
Like, this is not, this is not, like, fucking rocket science.
No.
No.
That you need, that you need any fucking media to break down for you.
Those guys have to score for you to win.
I know.
Like, what did I just say to you, Dan, when I was like,
if I said, you don't score a power play goal, what do you think happens?
If I had said, McDavid, Dricidal, Nuge, and Hyman, and Bouchard won't score.
Yeah.
What do you think happens?
They go, we would get fucking swept.
And you are about to get swept.
And you will get swept unless those guys score on Saturday.
And that is all, dude.
That is all I have to say about it.
Listen, he's got three points.
He got two assists today.
But my McDavid over 40 points bet, like I am working out in a...
You are about to be in a thong on Muscle Beach.
Yeah.
I'm going to be...
I'm about to be working out in a Borat G-string on Muscle Beach fast.
Yeah, this is just looking so bad for me
I believe in them though
I believe in them
I'm glad you do
Yeah
Because it's just you
And maybe Nobby
And Lauren and his mom
That's it
I'm happy to be in that camp
You four dude
I'll be in that camp
I mean literally all day
That's a fucking great dinner
That's a squad
That's a squad I will give you that
Listen
You know
Panthers fans
are pumped. We as hockey fans, we want this to go the distance. We want this to go seven games.
It was awesome. Being in Rogers, I can't. I can't wait to. It's not going to. Yeah, I agree. It's not
going to be there on Saturday. This is just, it's just a testament. It's another testament to how good
this Florida team is. It's the chalk, man. They were the chalk at the beginning of the year.
You know, I, I am so impressed with everything they're doing. And
there's there's not much else to say i mean like you want to you know i feel like we had a few
we had a few oh the refs this the refs that early in this series i don't think you can say shit in
this game i know that there are some people who wanted a trip in the third period thereafter it was
four three i thought that was soft as shit i really loved the rest not calling no penalties on period i
love that yeah like that that would have been asked and i don't think that was a trip um
You know, that was a straight-up game.
I love the fight.
It was awesome for the fans.
And it was great for the team.
You know, don't lay down.
I do think there's something to be said.
I still feel good about Saturday because of that third period.
That's what I was going to say earlier.
Like, if they haven't finished 6-1, it's over.
That was great.
That third period was great.
I still think you always win Saturday.
That was great.
I love that.
That was great fight.
I just, um, the one thing for me is how clearly the Panthers were not playing.
Yeah.
Like that was not straight-up hockey.
That wasn't 5 v.
like, oh, all of a sudden it was like, I don't even know if Barkov, Kachuk, Verhege,
and Reiner were on the ice.
Like they were, you know, but we'll see.
It's going to-
Cup in the building Saturday, dude.
It's going to be a wild situation.
Cup is going to be in the building at Rogers on Saturday.
We're going to be in the building for the next couple of days here.
We're in Edmonton.
We're going to be doing some fun stuff.
There is still life in this city.
There's still life in this team.
So stay tuned with us.
hop on the YouTube.
We're going to be dropping a lot of fun stuff there.
Follow us on YouTube.
Subscribe.
Follow us on Twitter on IG if you're not already.
Spread the word.
Share the pod.
Let's all join in on this run here as we close out our time,
at least for this game, next game, in Edmonton here.
But wild stuff, dude.
Like you said, Lord Stanley,
going to be in Edmonton on Saturday.
Present.
And until we see you then,
Top guys got to finish.
But also skate hard.
but top guy's got to finish, but also skate hard.
