Empty Netters Podcast - The Panthers Break Edmonton’s Perfect OT Streak And Even The Series | EP.201
Episode Date: June 7, 2025Brad Marchand is the best trade pick up every, scoring a short handed goal and the double OT winner. These are two of the best opening games to a final we’ve ever seen. It’s all tied up heading ba...ck to Florida and the boys can’t believe what they’ve seen so far. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: Z BIOTICS. Go to https://zbiotics.com/NETTERS and use NETTERS at checkout for 15% off any first time orders of ZBiotics probiotics.” CHUBBIES. Made For The Ultimate Comfort. https://www.chubbiesshorts.com/ Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the empty netters podcast, brought to you by BetMGM.
Live reaction coming to you after Game 2, and those live reactions are being brought to you by Snaps, the best fucking hat in the game.
C.P's wearing it right now.
You get your beautiful, customized little ballmarker that you snap right on to the back snap of the hat.
You can buy a back snap that you can just put on any hat that you already own.
Snaps is taking your golf game to the next level.
you those ball markers right on your dome anything you want they get a license with the
nchl so if you want to get official nchl logos you've got it too here we are folks we are
fucking so live we are so back game two is over unbelievable double o t another o t tilly
absolute fucking craziness in the streets edmonton fans are bummed but they're still being
beauty you can still around the streets you can still hear them and they're also just they believe
dude. They believe. They know that
this is going to be a grind and they're ready for the grind.
So, CP,
talk to him. How are we doing?
Holy shit. Five four win.
Brad Marchand, the rat king,
a fucking stud. Shorty
goal, O.T. Winner goal. Holy
Fuck. What's going? Okay. I'm going to
drive this. We're all, we're gas. Everybody's gas.
Everybody's up late. You're about to say you were going to drive this bus?
I'm going to drive this bus. I'm going to drive this bus.
I'm going to drive this bus. Cip's pretty fired up.
Two of the great opening games
of a Stanley Cup final. You will ever
ever see in your fucking life.
Caden says no white balance. We lie.
We lie.
Shut up, dude.
Shut up.
What do you think I have?
Two of the greatest opening games, if you are a neutral, God, if you're a fan of
either of these teams, frankly, because it's one-one, so you're kind of like, we're both
in it.
Two of the great opening games you will ever see so fucking sick, that was amazing.
This, I wrote this note way later in the things.
We're going to go linear again.
We're going to go fast.
We're going to fucking try to rip this because so much fucking happened.
but I wrote this way later, but I just want to say it up top,
because I know a lot of Oilers fans are in this chat right now.
Oilers fans get fucking buckled at the rank.
And I could not,
could not respect it or love it more.
It's incredible.
And shout out to Rogers because they serve.
Like they actually did cut us off in the second OT.
But man, most drinks, it's like 10 minutes left in the third.
They're like, sorry, dude, we're done here.
Rogers, we walk up and we go, there was 11 minutes left in the third.
We wanted to get another drink.
And we're like, hey, Kay, I, you guys.
still serving? When do you stop? And she goes, when the fucking game ends? I was like,
hell yeah. Dude, at the end of regulation, I got fucking Oilers fans falling over in chairs in front
of us, literally falling over in their seats. We get into the fucking concourse. They're tripping
on each other, spilling beers. It is bedlam. But they don't give a fuck, dude, because they're the
working man. They're the working man, and they put their hard hat on and they dig their lunch pail and they
bring it to the fucking rink. And then they booze. They booze while they're there. It's incredible, dude.
good for them good for them dude it was unbelievable you can keep driving the bus yes um the right away
immediate cane high stick in this game reeked to me dan of member the dallas series where it's like
every game the stars were like and penalty two minutes into the game and you're like dude dude
why what are you doing you know what are you doing it was a tough one i don't know it's a high stick
but i don't know that he's like flailing it around but that's a game that's a play where you're just
like dude don't do that right now when we just like
The last thing we want to do is give the Panthers a spark right away
and then bang, powerplay goal.
On that power play, comment I wanted to make.
I have more to talk about on the powerplay later,
but right now, Panthers, this is unique to them,
I swear, in this series.
They can have the most shit power play for like a minute and 30.
And then it's like, get it in and bang, bang, bang, bang, go.
And you're like, oh, fuck.
When they set up, they set up.
It's not always pretty.
You're right.
Like, holy shit.
Sometimes they get in.
They're a big rim team, big rim job team.
Yep.
And they go for a lot because Barkoff's so strong behind the net.
Chuckie is so good on the wall.
They do a lot of that.
You know,
keep rimming it around until you get up to the point.
They like to go D to D and then get the defense spread out.
And sometimes it's not setting up well.
Yeah.
And they are just,
they're like,
rim,
rim,
rim,
and then they lose it on the boards and it's out.
And they're like,
okay,
back in,
here we go,
here we go.
And you're right,
though,
all they need is really one chance.
Like it gets set up.
And then it's like,
oh shit,
it's ping,
ping,
and dude,
you got to like,
you got to kill the full, too.
If you're the penalty killer out there,
because I do this in Fear League,
where we've killed most of it.
And I'm like, we did it.
And it's like, no, you didn't, dude.
Like, you need to go to the wire there.
Yes, sir.
And I just, a quick, another Sam Bennett appreciation,
another Bennett goal.
Hey, dude, he, buddy, that A.A.V.
Is just going up.
Kaching. Kaching.
He's staying in Florida.
One more time.
Give me one more.
Kething!
He's staying in Florida.
I'm telling you that right now.
And he's going to take a team-friendly discount,
just like Rino did.
But the team-friendly discount is getting,
it's getting higher.
It's like that discount isn't as much of a discount as people thought.
Was the Bennett penalty, there was a Bennett penalty right there, but I can't remember which
one, what it was.
No, I don't think that was that one.
I think that was later.
In fact, I'm positive that was later.
Are you sure?
Yeah, he takes an early penalty.
And I remember coming back to you because I was like getting another drink.
And I came back to you because R&H took a penalty on the power play.
And I was like both of those calls were horrible.
It was like a soft something on Bennett and then a soft trip on R&H.
First period penalties.
Jesus Christ, pal.
Dude, the first period was a fucking movie.
Kane High Stick, Eckblad Holding.
Oh, that's what it was.
It was Eckblad Palley.
Let me go through this.
Nude tripping, nurse crosscheck,
Chuckie slash, Chuckie Ruffing,
Bennett interference, Freddie Ruffing,
Mekylla Ruffing, Seth Jones, holding,
Bouch, cross-checking.
That's just the first period.
Dude, I got to actually text these guys.
Fuck.
We, there's two dudes that came to the meet and Greek
that are from Australia, father and son.
They had never seen a hockey game in their life.
So they went, they were like, we should go to like Nashville.
What was their first one?
I can't remember.
I think they said Nashville.
They went to Nashville.
And then they were like, we got to go to an original six teams.
So they've hit like four of the six, original six teams.
And then they hit like a hurricanes game and all the shit.
And they're at like, yeah, they, they, I think it was four original six.
And they're like, we haven't been to Detroit.
We haven't been to the Rangers.
And I was like, it's good.
Cool.
Skip the Rangers.
They suck anyway.
Yeah, right.
Trash original six team.
I got to find, he's in my text here.
But I got to find them because it was just so cool.
Brandon and his son, I want to say like Dylan.
Do you remember Dylan or Devin?
I know they're going to be listening to this.
But those guys, shout out to those guys.
And they told us they had an impeccable home record.
They were like, everywhere we go.
The home team wins.
We're like 11 and 1 in home.
Sounds like, dude, that's sharp action.
We've got to put money on the office here.
But dude, they were texting me.
Like, I hope we get a good game because we've never been to a playoff hockey game in Canada.
Boyce, you saw a full game in the first 20 fucking minutes.
That was your money's worth.
and then some.
Yeah.
Holy shit.
You know it was funny too.
We, so for people's information, CP and I went to games one and two of round one, Oilers Kings.
Obviously, two wins for the Kings.
And then Oilers people were like, hey, dickheads, you cannot go back to that game, game five, and game seven if it gets there.
And we didn't.
We didn't go to game five.
And they, the Oilers won.
And then when we were here, yes, Wednesday, I was like, listen, dude, if Florida,
wins game one and the oilers lose every time we're in the building.
Fans will eventually find this out and we will be in trouble.
So it was good that they won so we didn't get lynched by the fans.
That was sketchy.
I'm bringing this up because there's a bit of foreshadowing because guys for these, by the way,
like the lies we were doing in the morning, I had time to digest the game,
kind of really make a document in this.
We're just like rithing thoughts off the top of the head as it comes.
So I want to say because this was good foreshadowing.
There was a play when it was 1-0 Panthers.
Marshie found loose around and cutting.
and he had a sick move that just didn't go.
He went forward and backhand.
It was wide open.
You're like, miss the net high or something.
And I was like, dude, that is a bad miss.
And, but it's, this is what the Panthers were expecting from this third line.
These are the chances they need to be getting.
No doubt.
Massive foreshadowing there.
So I'll leave that there for now.
But like the next shift, tough bounce, but bad for Hagee turnover right to Kane comes in, bang,
posting it.
And my God, dude, that building gets loud.
and you just, it's hard to say.
You feel like you get, when they go start going nuts and they've tied the game again,
it just feels like they're going to win.
Every fucking time they always score, I'm positive they're going to win.
Man, Chris, it's so crazy.
So, you know, as you just said, Sam Bennett gets a great power play goal.
Then Kane gets a kind of a greasy one.
And that was another one of those ones.
I said, this Oilers depth, dude, they just keep showing up.
That's a big goal for Kane, his sixth of the playoffs.
then Bouch gets one top of the slot,
throws one on net, Rino.
Was it Rino or was it?
I'm pretty sure it was Rino.
Blocks it.
Rebound comes right back to him.
Booth just puts another beautiful shot.
And like the second that that block shot went right back to Bouch's stick,
I was like, goal.
It was just one of those plays that it always happens.
It's the hockey gods, right?
You make a great, great block on one of the hardest shot defensemen in the NHL.
And the puck goes right back.
back to a stick and you go, you fucking kidding me.
And it's just, it's that twitch, right?
Like Bob flinching on that first shot because he's looking at where Bush is looking.
And he's going, okay, it's going here.
He moves.
Then he goes, great, block shot.
But then it's right back on a stick.
And that's a huge reason that goes in.
Can I, or go ahead.
All I was going to say is that goes in, right?
And we kind of looked at each other and we were like, fuck me, dude.
Like this, this oil team, they're making it work.
And then that Seth Jones goal.
It's funny how we talked about so much in game one.
The way this unbelievable barn gets quiet when the opposing team scores.
It almost makes you not like they don't show the replay.
They don't they don't do anything.
They're like get back to the fucking face off dot.
The way that that goal wasn't appreciated properly because there were no replays in the arena,
that goal was gorgeous.
We saw two of the prettiest team goals in the playoffs.
in this game.
The other one was the
McDavid to dry side goal.
Yeah, yeah.
But holy fucking hell,
was that a beauty of a play?
Okay, so I got to go back a little bit
because you took the wheel,
you took the bus and we returned him.
But I'm going to take the bus back for a second.
And Chris,
I apologize.
I apologize for doing that.
Executioners.
I just want to say executioners again
because that cane goal,
remember the,
you looked at me and you go,
the Panthers have had the puck and the ozone
for 60 seconds,
straight,
couldn't,
and always couldn't get it.
And then it's like this.
chip out goal. And you're like, bro, if you're, if you're the Panthers fan, you're like, dude,
how is this fucking happening? Executioners and then the Bob thing. And I'm going to call back
to the Star Series again. How many times did that happen to Otter? Shot block and he went like this
and then it goes right back to the minute. It was in the net. That happened to order. I can literally
think of three at least, maybe even four goals. And as soon as it got blocked, I was like,
because dude, that hits like the center of the net. And you're like, God, dude. I don't want a sewer
otter. I know that's your boy. My boy right there. It is very, very noticeable.
how much better Bob's rebound control is in the hotter.
Yep.
And it's,
there's things that you always wonder,
you wonder who,
who checks the game notes,
who watches tape.
And I'm not saying that Otter doesn't.
Of course I'm not saying that.
I'm,
I'm asking myself,
I wonder how much Bob studies these other teams,
because he is,
I think,
these shots from the point especially,
and then these shots from top circle,
strong side angle,
he's,
he's pushing in weird ways.
Yeah.
He's doing this, you know, low pad save guys.
People in the chat, check it out next game.
There are a lot of these chances where normally pad save, you're kind of putting that right out, right?
45-degree angle.
Bob's almost angle.
It's like making it sketchy.
No, no.
He's like angling it into the corner.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Letting it just glance on.
It almost whistles by the post.
Yeah.
And there were a couple in the first period.
I was like, Bob, like, are you off?
And then he was just doing it all game.
And I was like, that is conscious.
That's his thing, dude.
And that is very impressive.
That's his thing.
Real quick in the chat,
Kiefer says he saw the hot lap at the West End Mall.
How bad was the ice?
I don't know.
Oh, no, no.
Like from York?
Yeah.
No.
Kiefer Simpson.
And he says,
how bad was the sheet?
It was pretty bad and the skates were pretty dull.
I actually thought I was going to wipe out there.
The boys were making fun of me.
I was like, I might eat it on this hot lap.
Oh, you at the West at when that video goes up,
we have a fun midform.
People are going to be like, does CP suck at hockey?
Yeah.
You looked like a fucking pigeon.
Wags edited it or a red or no,
Wags edited it pretty well where it's like
you can only see the good parts.
Yeah.
But dude, that was the sketchiest piece of skates I've ever been on.
I was like,
watching you skate,
I was like,
these must be the worst skates in the whole time.
You look insane.
Holy fuck.
Okay, back on track,
after the red looks at me,
dude,
red missed a chimney sweep over here.
The second the fucking Bush goal gets in,
Red's hit me with one of these,
dude.
It's all over.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
.
Sweep, sweep, sweep, sweep, sweep.
Sweep, sweep.
Sweep, sweep.
And then the next shot was from the corner of the blue line.
it hit the post on Bob and I was like oh dude Bob's dead like Bob went bye bye Bob's in Cancud
Bob's dead it's all over and I was like dude this is not good and I do dude the one note
I have on him because again another like 40 something fucking say performance but dude you just
you can't we can't be giving up four goals again yeah period like and I don't know who's
at fault whether it's team D or a little bit of Bob a little bit of both yeah you cannot have a
four goals against average in the Stanley Cup final I don't expect to win you can't you absolutely
We can't.
And both goalies did it, basically.
And so I'm going to grab the wheel again and just go back to what I was talking about.
When we get that Seth Jones goal, that was a couple of minutes, maybe two and a half after the Bush goal.
That felt like it was in the realm to me, CP of emergency response.
It felt like a, okay, oil has control here.
They have momentum.
This barn's rocking.
And that goal to score it the way they did, to really,
really dice up that Oilers team and that just beauty of a goal.
People like, Oilers fans were like, oh, I mean, even our girl, the girl, and that we sit
in her section.
Yeah.
People getting real angry at these games.
Oh, Oilers fans went.
That was pretty.
And I just thought that that was a, that was the first time, honestly, for me in this
series, I know it's only been two games where I was like, now this is the Panthers.
Yes.
This is the Panthers.
And that was the third line where I was like, see?
And I teased it with loose Ryan and we're going to come back to it again.
but I was like the third lines.
I know Jonesy finished it,
but I was like,
there's the third line hum,
and I wrote in the notes right here
as soon as they scored,
I said,
I'm very curious to watch the Panthers
the next five minutes here
because this is where the Oralers have been killing teams.
You tie it up and then they go,
fuck you, whatever.
Immediately,
this is the Bennett,
uh,
uh,
in goal interference.
Like,
not 90 seconds go by and Bennett takes a penalty.
Now,
let's get into this one for a second,
chat.
I,
I think that Bennett is
pushed again. Period.
Now, I do think
he got accused
of this in game one, I do think
he falls on purpose in this game.
In game one, I passionately
believe he gets his feet kicked out and falls.
In this game, he is pushed, but he goes,
all right, I'm going down. That's my take.
Dude, he,
here's the thing, man. He
does it on purpose in both games,
but that's okay. He does
get pushed over. The first one was a fucking
genuine trip, though. The first game was a slew-foot.
trip. This one was a full on shove, but like, he's going down. The thing that was crazy to me about
this one is I feel like he didn't go down into Stu that hard. And dude, and Stu was fucking,
that's my boy. That's my boy. I was, I was worried for him. I was like, at first, I was like,
oh, shit. And then I was like, oh, you're fine, dude. But yes, Stu is really, it really went
an Oscar on that one. What's tough is, I thought that was a bad call. I didn't like the
interference there. I wonder if legit Rooms is like, Sam?
look at me can't do this twice
truly CPia I think that that gets called
only because of what happened in game one
yeah so people are fired up about this obviously
and I think it's again like someone saying
Skinner didn't have a chance in game one I agree
but it's completely his own team's fault in my opinion
in game one in this one I think Bennett gets pushed
1000% but then he goes fine fucking I'm going down
you push me then Stu's fucking waving around
you know what I didn't love and we'd have to talk to ruins
to see what call was right away but it sure
felt like that call came pretty fucking late.
Like there was a massive, those were antics, by the way, after that.
Those were fucking antics.
And then they were going like this.
They're pointing people.
And I was like, wow, it's going to be five and five.
They're just going to take two.
And then they go Bennett goalie interference.
And I was like, oh, wow, you're going all the way back to that.
Yeah.
Because that hand, dude, I dare people to watch the replay.
That hand does not go up on the play.
They're not like going to interference.
That's like a way later.
So that was crazy.
Can I take a moment real quick?
Can I go off the rails for a second?
Yep.
There's people on Twitter, people in the chat talking about it.
I tossed up a tweet during the game, and I was like, I don't know when something knocked loose.
But Stu is like, Stu is in one.
He's huge.
He's talking to him.
It's full of secrets.
You know, a couple of haters have been like he fucking gave up five goals, blah, blah, blah.
Hey, folks, I'm here to tell you, if a goal he gives up five goals in five periods, that's not bad.
That's not bad.
That's not bad.
And Stu's save percentage was just under eight.
He had an 8-8-1, say a percentage.
She saw 30-7.
Just under 9, yeah.
Yeah, I saw 42 shots that game.
It's like, that's not a bad game.
No, Stu's the man and nobody ever say a bad word about him.
You're going to fucking hear about it from me.
Bob's unbelievable.
Bob let in four.
Say something bad about Stu in the chat and see what fucking happens.
See what happened.
So that, and then you get the fucking gross, disgusting McDrigal.
Buddy.
Another peeper.
Gasped.
I gasped.
Man, I don't want to, I don't want to suck off the oil too hard here.
my jaw's going to dislocate
and I already have TMJ.
Let me give it to the fans.
Wow, that's an ASMR.
Could people hear that you think?
Chat, let me know if you could hear that.
Hey, Mr. Pestey, we're not talking about Stu that way.
Continue.
Yeah, chill.
Chat, let me know if you could hear my jaw.
God, everyone's coming for Stu now.
I'm going to have to fight the whole fucking chat.
Chat, let me know if you can hear my jaw.
I can't believe, dude.
Cannot believe how dangerous this Oilers team is
with a man advantage.
Correct.
It is, I think.
I can't believe their power play was so bad all year.
I think it is genuinely, genuinely,
genuinely the craziest and most fascinating thing I've ever seen in my life watching hockey
of when that group is out there with a man advantage,
I am genuinely holding my breath.
Yeah, the whole time.
Because I'm like, fuck me.
How are they not going to score?
They just, they move well together.
they connect with everything together.
The way Connor gets some space and starts moving,
it's just like, holy shit, I couldn't even believe defending it.
Could not believe it.
So on that topic,
if you get the McDavid goal,
or let's just say how sick the goal was out loud because I didn't let you say that.
It was disgusting, man.
How does he do that to NHL players?
I don't know, dude.
The way he walked through two guys,
he made the announcer on Sportsnet, I think,
or probably wasn't Sportsnet.
I don't know who the fuck had this game.
But if you watch the replay, shout out Robbie, Heat Daddy, our boy tweeted it.
And he goes, can I say the R word if I'm quoting.
I don't know.
Thunder.
Oh, yeah.
Hey, this is a movie quote.
Chat, I'm quoting Tropic Thunder.
Don't cancel me.
But again, shout out Heat Daddy goes, Connor McDavid is so good.
He just made the announcer go full retard.
Yeah.
And like if you listen to him, hit like the guy's like, he goes,
Oh, God.
Oh, God.
Oh, God.
Like he's just having a conniction
because Connor just walks two guys
and then throws that fucking disgusting dish
backdoor unbelievable.
So after that,
the Panthers take another
completely avoidable idiotic penalty
and then another to go five on three
for a full 30 seconds.
That kill,
they should look back on that kill
and be very proud
because if that goes,
if that could have gone
four to five two,
because if they score on the five on three
still on a power plate,
like that could have been
the game and the series.
Yeah.
So, CPI said, and like, I was, I was talking my shit.
I was talking my shit being like, dude, if this is a, if this is a goal on this power play,
this series is over.
Yep.
So historic kill there, tons of credit, but playing with fire, a little bit of action
at the end with like another possible high stick on Busharp, but then he cross-checked somebody
and I thought it was the right call, but I have two takes to end this period.
One, the Oilers Power Play, you kind of brought this up.
That's what I was saying you were touching on.
the Oilers powerplay, this makes no sense to me, dude.
When I watch the Panthers power play, which is a good power play, an effective power play,
I feel like, and it's not just the Panthers.
I want to say that.
It's like every other team in the league.
I feel like they spend the whole time, like, rimming it, trying to dig pucks off the wall,
like just trying desperately to make enough passes to create that two-on-one that can get you a decent shot.
And every now and then they have like a nice high to load, back to the bumper shot play.
But like, that's the dream.
Everything else is like on the perimeter, just moving it around.
And maybe this is just the benefit of having McDavid,
but the Oilers power play looks like a completely different thing than any other team.
And I swear it's just movement.
I literally want to look at other teams and go move,
like spin around like he's doing.
And maybe their answer is we can't.
I don't know how he does that.
But that's the difference.
McDavid gets the puck and starts flying.
And he does that thing where he goes and stops and backs up.
It's like the jittery shit, too.
And no, everyone else is just like, we're all standing in our umbrella.
Pass, pass, pass, pass.
And then it's like knocked away.
And the oilers, you're like,
and I'm like, dude,
That, dude, that looks sick.
So that is, like, fascinating to watch, and I don't even, I don't even know how to comprehend it.
The second thing I wanted to say is Paul Maurice before the series started, he said, I think both teams are better than they were last year.
I think the Oilers are better defensively this year than they were last year.
And I think we are better offensively than we were last year.
Yeah, I like that.
And, but so far, through the first period, I was kind of like, that might not be the formula, dude.
Like, maybe the reason you beat them is because you had a great D.
And, like, they were the high flying Oilers, but who cares?
I don't think it's I don't think Florida is as capable of beating the Oilers now that they do now that they are giving up four goals a game someone in the chat because I don't fucking remember can you tell me what the how many goals did the Oilers score in the four games the Panthers won last year like I know they had one in the game seven but games one through three how many goals did the did the oilers score because I don't think they were putting up four on Bob and they are now and it's going to now it's almost feels like.
like the Panthers. I'm like, you've got to score four or five to win.
Red, can you look that up?
Look up last year's final, game one through three.
How many goals did the Oilers have in each of those games?
Because that would be super fascinating to see CP.
Because I have kind of been watching these two games.
I've been like, what did these games look like?
Yeah.
What were the Oilers fans feeling like?
What were the Oilers feeling like in those games?
If you don't have an immediate exit that you're taking with the bus,
I have something to say.
Please.
Okay.
Oh, Red.
Game 1, 3, nothing.
Yeah, that's right.
4-1, 4-3.
So they got 3 in that third one, but like,
they scored 0-1-3, and they've got 4-4,
back-to-back here.
Yeah, then they were lighting it up.
Yeah, yeah.
Jesus Christ.
But just, you know, I'm like, oh, dude, I don't know how this works right now.
Okay, so here's my thing that I've kind of come to.
I get asked all the time on the pod,
especially on hockey talks.
who are my favorite players in the league right now?
And it's always a really tough question,
especially when you consider the friendships and stuff.
There are guys that I'm like,
well,
I'm like,
I'm passionately rooting for guys like,
you know,
sway,
Jarvie,
Tawf,
Dewey,
like our buds.
But then I'm like,
oh,
but I love the question of like,
who are the guys that I'm like,
I love watching this guy.
I have,
I really always like breaking that down.
Defense offense.
Okay.
Uh, my two favorite players in the league to watch play hockey are both in this series.
Leon Drysidal and Forsling.
Yes.
Come on.
Do I know my boy?
God, that was a McDavid.
That was a McDavid drysidele shit.
And may I say, dude, these two guys, I'm going to give, I feel like I've been sucking off Leon for a while.
Yeah, you have.
I'm going to be quick with him.
Don't do the jaw thing again.
I'm going to do it.
I'm not.
Don't do the jaw thing again.
I'm going to get in a tug.
But.
Leon is just
fuck man the amount of people who talk about Connor
all the time this this guy
is just out of this world
but for a moment
let me wax poetic about Gustav Forsling
this guy is out here
I thought actually game one for
for how high of a standard I have for him
I thought game one I could have seen a little bit better
from him yep and then my god pal
I'm watching this dude
eat minutes always
always on the ice
against Connor and Leon.
And seeing the way he expertly blocked shots,
he had a few today,
those backdoor passes were going across on odd man advantages,
on just runs a play,
good possession,
guys are hemmed in a little bit.
The way he gets his body in front of pucks,
blocks those backdoor shots.
And also,
just the way he uses his stick,
defense.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Sounds so stupid, right?
It sounds so simple.
Oh, a defenseman.
good with a stick.
Another thing I would implore the listeners, people in the chat.
Next game, keep an eye on what Goose does with his stick.
The way he, the way he, when he is caught flat-footed, caught in a bad change,
maybe his gap's not great.
And one of these guys like Nuge, like Connor, obviously, who have unbelievable feet, really
quick players, KK, I feel like, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, fast.
They don't turn him, but they get a,
They're like, okay, we're hip to hip.
I'm a little bit by you.
The way he patiently will have his stick on one side, let the player step in front of him so he can move it to the other.
He hits butt ends to get people moving their arms forward.
And how many plays do we see today where Goose laid down on the ice, that one against Kane?
Insane.
Someone just said the stick lost lining on Kane.
Full extension fish hook with the blade of a stick pulls that puck off his stick.
That was a goal.
And I got to tell you to.
Remember, we're jumping ahead, but member in overtime.
I actually thought McDavid was very quiet in overtime,
and that's a lot due to Forsling and Barkoff.
But at the early overtime, McDavid had that one shot out of a cannon moment.
We got a text from locks being like, this guy's a mutant, dude.
It's overtime.
He's looking at $80,500.
Foresling chased him down.
And McDavid still got the one handoff that like slid by Bob,
but that's almost anyone else in the league.
That turns into a McDavid borderline clear breakaway starting at the blue line.
And Gus kept him outside enough.
That was actually a, like, tremendous, tremendous play.
Tremendous play, C.P.
Okay, so going back, early in the second.
It was 3-2, and I remember thinking the next goal was so fucking massive.
And I wanted to just highlight a few as I get to them, a few historic Bob saves during this game that are changing the game.
If you go back and look, there was a two-on-one, two minutes into the second period,
McDavid and a closing Bouchard.
McDavid, someone like drops to McDavid, he walks in a little sauce over.
to Bush, absolute clean rip.
Bob gets the body over, takes it kind of off the chest plate.
Dude, these are game altering safes.
That's a clean two-on-one backdoor bang.
Absolutely insane.
Then Kulukov gets one.
Finally, some sustained pressure of the Panthers ends in a Panthers goal instead of an
oiler's goal.
So I thought that was a huge moment.
A lot of fans, this was the one time I was kind of like oil fan.
Chill, dude.
The rink, anyone who was there.
I don't know if anyone in the chat was actually at this game.
the rink was up in arms at the wanting a Matthew could chuck goalie interference on that goal
and I was like calm down like that was the first time I was like the bennett shit is actually in your head
we're turning into bitches dude we're turning into rightches with with asking for goalie interference
i it's just any any little whiff of content you breathe on a goalie now people and this is that's
not a shot at oler's fans it's everyone it was every series every time anyone was near a goalie
people are asking for it i'm like come on what are we doing here
here. Dude, so, and people in the crowd were like, challenge. And I was like, challenge.
Not only will you lose that challenge, then you go in the fucking P-K, and they might score again.
Didn't you learn this lesson from game one? So that, I was disappointed in that because that was nowhere near fucking goal interference.
And if you are upset about that, totally. There's plenty more to be upset about in this game.
Fucking forget about it. Panthers tie it and I go, I write again, yet again, my eyes are on the next five minutes here.
How do you respond? And yet again, the Panthers take an immediate penalty. I was like, dude, you have got to be kidding me.
this is your response every time.
I know.
And dude, the Marshy,
Shorty,
I got to see that again.
I can't even remember the buildup.
I don't know if you guys do
of how he got sprung there.
It was,
I believe it was just a quick neutral zone entry
and he was just hanging with the two defensemen.
And it was just an errant pass
immediately picked off by the Florida defenseman.
And Brad was just right there at the top of the blue line.
And he was like,
and he just immediately curled.
And it was straight up the gut,
pass right to his back hand gone.
And I'll say a little foreshadowing here too.
A full speed breakaway.
Yeah.
Live, by the way.
I shoot out's a little bit different because the goalie, you know,
they know a full speed breakaway live in game.
When the goalie comes stepping out, because he's like, oh shit,
is big time advantage player.
And Marci made a move that takes advantage of that.
Comes down, dip's shoulder, steps out, you open the legs, bang,
five, four.
I got to say,
It was really cool.
I mean, I love Brad Martian.
I'm a bees guy.
I love Brad Marchion.
It was really cool to see him have this moment.
He's obviously had an incredible playoff.
But just he's been such an elite penalty killer.
I'm pretty sure he's like Bruins franchise leader in a shorthanded goal.
Oh, yes.
I also think he's like, he might be like the NHL.
I think he's top three.
Yeah.
So Red.
Could you look up who has the most shorthanded goals in NHL history?
And then, yeah, maybe even playoffs too.
That'd be cool.
that was a sick moment for him.
I was very happy for him.
You saw his reaction.
He was going nuts.
And that was a great response from the Panthers after being idiots and taking penalties again.
And that is the quietest I've heard Rogers since we've been here.
That was like, oh, fuck.
It was tough.
And I will say this too, Chris, that next minute or so.
Because people always forget that when you get a shorty.
Of course, it's Wayne.
Wayne on most shorty's ever.
That's gas.
Oh, okay.
How many goals?
Short-handed goals.
There's no way Brad is only 73rd all-time.
Oh, that was how many shorties Wayne has.
My bad, my bad.
So Gretzky, Messier, Eisenman, Lemieux.
Marche number eight, eighth all time.
So sick moment for us.
Sick moment for the kick.
By the way, dude, Brad Marchand is a Hall of Famer.
Well, I think so, but I think if he gets his cup, he'll be in for sure.
And if he doesn't, that he knows.
So what I was going to say is people always forget.
You get a shorty, and it's like, oh, my God, it can suck
and Nettie, but then you're like, well, we still have a powerplay.
So, but that next minute or so was the worst Edmonton's power play has looked.
That definitely, yes, yes.
Terely, definitely deflated them.
So the period ends and again, and, and now we're looking at another chance for the Panthers to, to touch on that stat.
31 and 0 with a lead after any period.
Now 31 and 1.
And now I'm sitting in, in Rogers being like, if this goes 31 and 2, like you said, it depends on
they lose.
All of a sudden,
you're going to feel really bad again.
Yeah.
Right.
Period starts.
And they,
the only had a power play to start,
but you were right.
They were kind of just rattled from all that shit.
I thought halfway through the third,
clearly the whole third,
but halfway through,
I give the Panthers a lot of credit
for playing a much better period.
They were out shot still,
maybe red checked the shots in the third.
They were out shot still,
but it wasn't,
the third period on Wednesday was a,
a shit show.
It was literally an icing, a flip it out, like no legs.
Florida was skating in this third period.
They looked like they were ready to play the game.
Yeah.
Okay.
But again, shots on goal on the third.
9.
Edmonton 9.
9.5.
So like 5 is still low, but it's like it was tighter, you know, tight checking third.
It was just, we called it out real time.
They looked much better.
They were moving their feet.
They were moving their feet.
They looked much better than Wednesday.
but it's still a, it's just a, it's a poor strategy to be up on, on this Edmonton team.
When we know how this Edmonton team, we tweeted the shout at our boy Charlie Garney,
who gave us the stat.
We tweeted out before the third period started last four games, last four playoff games.
Edmonton Oilers have outshot their opponents 38 to 14 in the third period.
Yep.
How many times have we talked about the backbreaking goals?
they score in the third period.
You're going into that with a, what was it,
four three lead.
Yep.
Everton's probably scoring.
Yeah,
they're probably going to score in that period.
I know,
you got to know you need one.
It took damn near 20 minutes.
Yep.
But they were obviously scoring.
Dude,
we said it Wednesday.
You got to go into these thirds up at least two.
You got to be like,
we're going to be fine.
And you're going to blame it.
So it's like, Florida,
I thought they looked very,
very good in that third period,
especially compared to Wednesday,
but five,
shots guys. That's not it. You can't play defense against this Oilers team. Not when they're hungry
like that. Dude, not when they're hungry like that in the third. You can't play defense like that.
It's just never going to work. At the 10 minute mark, it started to tip. And I was like, here come the
Oilers. Yeah. I want to call your boy out. Forsling had an incredible block at the eight minute mark.
Dude, all time. Like, I forget who had that in the slot, but like somebody got found in the
high slot. And Forzling, he crashed into somebody too. But at all time, like slide across
shades of Jacob's Slaven at Four Nations level
just like body on the line
absolute glue block
right after that you had a funny Bennett
Bouchard exchange where
the Oilers went offside
Bennett kind of me into like hit Bouchard
because he was like I thought we were playing
but then it was like a whistle and they kind of just bump each other
and then Bouchard like wax him on the foot
which is kind of like similar to the nurse slash on
hints and then Bennett looks at him
and like wax him back
and Bouchard collapses
like a sack of potatoes.
And I was like,
I actually thought something happened for a second.
I was like, oh fuck, are you all right?
Dude, an all-time flop job.
I was like,
bro, what are you doing?
I can't have that shit this late in the third period,
dude.
Can I be a fuck was that?
Can I be a push bag for a second?
Red?
He's a push bag all the time.
You can do it now.
Fuck you do.
I,
obviously this is,
this is fresh with the uh the hints injury i need top of foot slashes to become outlawed yeah yeah
10 minute 10 minute penalty 5 minute major like i'm being dead serious it is so like we we it was
funny when that happened the way that that then trickled into everyone who has ever been slashed
on the top of the foot or god forbid block a shot off the top of the foot and you don't wear guards
it is horrifying it it's like it is immediate foot break
I've broken my foot, I think, three times that exact way.
Dude, it's like, it should be a, it should be like a cup check.
Yeah.
Like if someone comes in and, like a real good, like hack on top of the foot, that needs to be a 10 minute misconduct.
Yeah, yeah.
Because it's just like, we can't just be breaking guys feet out.
Mm-hmm. That's fucking crazy.
Um, again, post bag take.
I just don't want to see you guys breaking their feet.
Okay.
So then you enter this dangerous territory of late in the game where you, if you're Florida,
you're pretty much on your heels at this point.
And you're like, now we're not going to score.
So it's just survive.
And if we get scored on, we're probably fucked.
You enter that time.
It's like kind of when you hit that five, six minute mark.
You're like, oh, oh.
And it's kind of moot because they scored.
But I just wanted to call out because I said I would.
And absolutely, potentially, series altering save on Connor Brown by Bob, the glove safe.
Incredible.
This is too dramatic.
But it reminded me of the Marchand breakway against Bob in game five,
because that would end the series.
Definitely.
But I was like, holy shoo.
shit how did that not go and then he took that save dude he said i'll fucking see that save and i'll
raise you your house with the save on the back door one timer by dry side oh my god oh my god save is
putrid damn that is one of the most gnarly saves in the moment i've ever seen in my life when
that puck went across i was like oh my god like you know we're i was like jesus christ
where this is in.
Good day, sir.
Oh, dude.
Dude dry was like, what?
Oh, yeah, yeah.
You saw him do the flinch of like, oh, excuse me, baking powder?
Okay, hold on.
Hunter says the audio has a sound delay.
Some people are saying it's only him.
We'll keep an eye on the chat.
Chime in if it's everybody.
Oh, okay, there's another one.
Is there a way to like refresh, re-stream?
We don't know.
We don't know.
We don't know.
We don't know.
We don't know.
We don't know.
We don't know.
I think I did see us like pause for a second.
chat.
Yeah,
maybe it's internet
and it's internet.
Okay,
we're just going to keep
coming,
we're looking into it.
We're looking into it.
We're going to keep pushing along.
We're live,
baby.
This is live TV.
The dry saddle save was
absolutely fucking insane.
And I just need to tip my cap
to Bob for that
because when he'd given up
three goals in the first
and I was like,
Bob's in Cancun.
That saves not Cancun,
dude.
I'll tell you that much.
He's fucking dialed.
Everyone's delayed.
Let's do a quick.
Oh,
it's a half second.
Okay.
So we're pushing through it.
We're pushing through it.
Caden actually was like, dude, the delay is fine.
If it's a half second, we're okay.
Yeah, just drink.
Keep drinking.
Keep drinking.
Be a good Oilers fan and keep drinking.
Okay, so the Panthers ice it with 30 seconds left.
Oilers have already used their timeout.
Panthers didn't use theirs.
I was kind of surprised there.
I guess they didn't want to give them a freebie.
30 seconds left and you come to that face off Dada as the Panthers.
You cannot lose this game or you can't have them tie this game.
30 seconds left.
And I just, the Panthers lost every single face off once the Oilers pulled their goalie.
Every single one, dude, snapped back, and then the Oilers are doing their man advantage thing, and they're zooming around.
And that one, they kind of contained, and it was loose on the wall, and they lost that puck paddle, and then here's Walman.
And, dude, Walman, great shot to the net.
And God damn it, Corey Perry, dude.
I still don't even know how he got his stick on that.
That was a tremendous.
What's crazy is the last two goals of the game were for probably the two most wily vets.
Yeah, good call, Dan.
Really good call.
And the hand strength from both of them was remarkable.
Like, both of them stick tied up and they just pushed through to get the puck on.
Yep.
Really, really impressive.
And, dude, the fucking, talk about Rogers being quiet after the marshy Shorty.
You read, remember, dude, you looked at me.
me that was fucking loud, bro, when they tied it.
Oh, dude.
I've been in loud barns, dude.
I posted it.
I could barely fucking hear you.
You were right next to me.
We were like, holy shit, how did that go in?
Out Reds like, what?
That was shout out to the Oilers fans, that place.
Dude, I couldn't even see.
I was trying to see over everybody because the whole building was standing.
And then that puck bounced loose.
And I didn't even know, like, it felt so impossible that anyone get their stick on that,
let alone anything on it.
And it just snapped into the net.
I like, you know what you yelp?
Like, I was like, oh.
involuntarily.
That was fucking unbelievable, man.
So my final thought on that was
the last three minutes
with the goalie pulled.
God, dude. Florida,
and I'm not shitting on Florida here, but,
because listen, you battled.
You get through two OTs
and you get that win on the road,
monster.
But dude,
like they didn't win a single face off.
Every single one snapped back in their face.
It was insane.
They didn't win a single face off.
When they did get the puck, they iced it.
I thought that that one Reiner one was like he went for like the little pass off the boards
and he just put too much on it.
Another icing.
Another DZone face off.
That you lose.
Yeah.
You let the oiler set up.
You let Connor get his space and get his speed.
And it's like, dude, fuck me.
You just, you knew they were scoring.
Okay, Dan, we're going to OT.
Tell everyone about BetMGM.
Taking a quick break to talk about BetMGM.
They are the greatest partners.
in the world. They are the best sports book in the world. And we're doing the hat trick jackpot right now.
So anytime goal score, you do an anytime goal score. Pick whoever you want. If your goal
score scores three or more, getting that hat trick, you get put in a pot with a chance to win
$10,000. That is absolutely ridiculous stuff. And they're also doing your second chance right now.
So you pick that anytime goal score. If they don't get that first goal or excuse me, first time goal score,
And if they don't get that first time goal score, oh, no, not so fast, my friend.
If they score the second goal of the game, bang, you get your steak back.
So that second chance is coming in.
You're getting into the jack, hat trick jackpot.
And then also, if you sign up right now for betmgm with promo code netters, any T T, ERS, you can bet up to $1,500.
And if you lose it, you get it all back in bonus bets into your account.
BetMGM taking care of you better than anyone else on earth.
Okay, but I got to read this.
Hold on.
Well done. Gambling problem. Call 1-800 gambler. Call 8778-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call
100-3-2-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-4-1-4-RRRRRour. First-B
offer for new customer-1-1-1-1-1. First-Bet offer for new-B
$1-GET, CET, MGM, and Hotel. See bed-MGM-MGM-GM-GM-G for terms.
U. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Wow, that's clean. That's clean as hell, to be
honest with you. I think we should risk it and reload the stream and see if it can fix the lag.
Okay. I don't know. God knows how we do that.
Producer Red is saying absolutely not. Yeah. No chance. Okay, we go to OT.
Hold on in the chat. John goes, bunch of corporate sellers hate to see it. Derek goes, John,
the boys have to get paid. It's free content. It's like, come on, John. It's just a minute to do an ad.
It was quick and easy, baby.
Okay, so in overtime.
What the fuck?
Caden says live reading goat C.P.
What about me, dude?
I just did a full ad off the rip, Caden.
You are you a bitch, dude.
You literally read something.
Yeah, but you do you hear the pronunciation?
You're a bitch.
You're a bitch.
Wow, Derek says what leg?
Maybe we're back, boys.
Come on.
Okay, so we go to OT and I said to you guys at intermission,
I do not know how you recover from that of your Florida.
Like in the room, I don't even know what the fuck you're saying in the room,
you were just like, you have got to be fucking my dad right now that this is what's happening.
So I give them credit for coming out and playing pretty good in OT.
The Oilers had another big shock.
Can you check shots at the first OT?
The other boys,
oils had another big shot OT again.
And I would say they were the more dangerous team.
There was 138 Oilers.
There was a stretch in the middle where there's a stretch in the middle where the Panthers
activated flip out mode every five seconds again.
And I was like,
Oh, dude.
It's like, you're in trouble.
Here it comes.
Here it comes.
And they hung on.
And the killer is they had, even though they were the less dangerous team, they had the best chances.
The marshy forehand, backhand, save, rebound under stews both pads off the far post.
That's one of those ones where you go, we're dead, dude.
We're dead.
Like, how do these not go in?
And now we're fucked.
And they rallied around that.
But we simply must talk about the Sam Ryner breakway.
I'm so glad that you got there.
I want to talk about it.
And then after I talk about this,
I want you to talk about Z biotics.
Okay.
We got to do that.
Do Sam Reiner first.
Sam Reiner must be hurt.
He,
he,
he has seemed very off.
He is such an insanely good player.
And he,
he felt not like a non-factor tonight,
but I just didn't see him enough.
Yeah.
Yeah, he didn't miss a couple, eh?
That fucking brutal knee-on-knee.
Yeah.
And he was knocked out of the Carolina, the Aho hit.
And he was just like, it just doesn't look like he's been right since.
And that breakaway, like, first of all, he almost fumbled the puck and didn't get the breakaway.
And then the Oilers were so tired that they just let him walk.
It might as well have been a shootout.
All the time in the world, Stu at the top of his crease, so far out of the net,
had quick backhand, forehand, written all over it.
and he just shoots it and like shot it wide.
It was just,
can we,
can we say the text we got or is that,
yeah,
of course.
Does that dude not want to put Rhino on blast publicly?
Dude,
OSHA is a member of the team.
Dude,
we get an immediate text from OSHA.
And he goes,
full speed breakaway,
low blocker shot,
no deception,
miss net.
Crazy.
And he goes,
literally,
you go forehand,
Skinner's out of the,
my man,
Stu,
my stash boy is out of the paint.
If you literally go,
fake shot to the backhand
Stu is in the corner
Stu slides to the corner and then you just bring it back
to the forehand and I text back yeah and just elevate
and you're golden because Stu does have those long fucking legs
you know and OSHA goes you don't even have to elevate
he'll be gone he'll be in the corner just slide it into the open net
that decision Dan
because I said to you I even leaned into you at one point in the game
and I go where Sam Reiner that dude like yeah that's a fucking
what do you have 50 goals the other year like that's a
that's a goal score dude that's your game seven game winner
guy. I need him. And Verhege's like streaky's like streaky, right? Like Verhegey got hot at the end of the
Carolina series and he'll come, he'll be a factor in this series. But Sam Ryan is kind of like consistently
a guy. And he has been very quiet. It's only two games, but he's been very quiet. And remember
the one like it was early? It kind of had it, it was on edge, but it came up on a stick and it was
launched like so high off the glass and you looked at me like, that was a terrible shot. Yeah. He has just
been not dangerous. And I go, this sometimes this can change everything. Clean breakaway. You
win the game for the boys in overtime. Let's go home. You start. You start buzzing. And now I see one go in.
And, and dude, actually, in his defense on the replay, because we got the replay on the TV,
it did look open, you know, but that, I am so baffled by the decision to just shoot that and
and even more the miss the net. How you don't even put Stu to the task in overtime. Like I,
dude, I was like flabbergasted. Yeah, it wasn't great. We don't need to harp on it. But I just think it's a sign
that maybe he's a little banged up.
Talk to the people.
A red, actually, a question for you.
If I, when this live ends, are those cameras still recording?
No.
Like, everything's going to shut off.
Like, I just want to do the red ad after.
I think we just do this like other shows do.
And let's read two ads in a row and get them.
Chat, bear with us.
We're going to do a quick two minutes of ads.
Okay.
So we have a brand new sponsor again, another second episode in a row, brand new sponsor.
I'm actually pretty psyched about this one.
And we're sponsored by Chubbies now.
Hell yeah.
I got a pair of chubby swims already.
Come on, Chubbies.
Okay.
And in summer,
summer's right around the corner summer's here summer here already i know it's not technically summer
i think that's june 21st but summer here and i got my chubby's trunks and i'm ready to rock um so you know
if you want comfortable swim trunks you got to go to chuppies all right they're comfy they're casual
and we got the shorts too now remember they gave us the chubby's original stretch shorts they're available
long short they get you can actually get like really short you can get like a like a four inch which is chaos
but um they're amazing they got the chubby performance yeah they got the chubbies performance polo
You can pair that.
It's great for a brunch.
It's great for a backyard party.
And of course, the classic line swim trunks.
Those are the go.
They have the most insane patterns.
And there's nothing, they took away everything annoying about the old swimsuits.
The scratching mesh liner.
There's a soft, supportive boxer brief liner that keeps everything comfortable and shape-free, quick-drive fabric, four-way stretch.
It's amazing.
Okay.
So don't wait for a very limited time.
You can shop Chubby's biggest sale of the year for $45 shorts and up to 65% off select gear.
hit up chubby shorts.com and grab your favorites before they're gone.
If you miss the sale, don't sweat it because you can use our exclusive code,
which is Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S for 20% off.
Support the show and let them know, let them know we sent you.
So when the survey asks, you can go turn some heads and go, hey,
dress like it in Chubbies, use promo code Netters and you're dialed.
Boom. Give us the next one.
I'm going again.
Okay.
Hit them again, dude.
Z-biotics.
This is actually huge.
This one's actually huge.
We need this right now.
Z-biotics has been amazing for us.
It's a pre-alcohol drink, okay?
It's a probiotic drink.
It's the world's first genetically engineered probiotic.
It was invented by PhD scientists to tackle rough mornings after drinking.
Here's how it works.
When you drink, alcohol gets converted into a toxic byproduct in your gut.
It's the buildup of this byproduct, not dehydration.
That's to blame for the rough days after drinking.
Pre-alcohol produces an enzyme to break this byproduct down.
If you just make pre-alcohol your first drink of the night and you drink responsibly,
you'll feel your best tomorrow.
Dan and I are on benders when we're on these trips.
And this stuff is so helpful, I can't even begin to tell you.
We take this, we pop it, we'd get out, we go do the night, we'd go to Edmonton, we go
to all the bars out of here, we're going to go to the elbow room, we're going to be out
of control.
And I swear to God, I'm only able to wake up and go to the gym because I take Zbiotics
every time.
So now that summer's here and we're celebrating the warm weather before drinks on the patio,
before that tropical vacation, before your best friend's wedding, don't forget your Zbiotics
pre-alcohol.
Drink one before drinking and you will wake up feeling great the next day.
Go to Zbiotics.com slash netters.
That's N-E-T-E-R-S to learn more and get 15% off your first order.
When you use netters at checkout, Zbiotics is back for the 100% money back guarantee.
So if you're unsatisfied for any reason, they'll refund your money.
No questions asked.
Go to Zbiotics.com slash netters and use the code netters at checkout for 15% month.
Boom.
Ads done.
Come on.
All right.
Closing thoughts here, CP.
Get the Brad, huge Brad, breakaway OT winner.
How pissed were you when it went to double OT?
Tell everyone how pissed you were.
I was furious.
I was so horny to get here and get into the live.
It was insane.
Can someone end this game so we can get to the live and get with the fucking fam here.
But here we are.
We get the OT winner.
Brad fights for that contact,
gets that puck to squeak five hole.
I do want to say because I said I would call them all out.
And someone in the chat said this chime in again,
if you remember who it was.
Iconic save from Bob on KK.
Oh.
Like these are the saves,
dude.
These are the fucking saves.
You will look back when the fucking Stanley Cup DVD.
If it comes out,
if the Panthers win,
it comes out,
everybody will go, dude.
That save,
that moment,
the whole rink,
dude,
like gave the girl.
Grown, the universal groan when that happened, because you saw it coming.
We all saw him crashing the net.
And I was like, here it comes.
And in his defense, I said to Red, not much more you can do with that.
You know, it's not like he could have, like, placed it, but you're just getting a stick on it.
I agree.
But Bob gets there, dude.
And it's like, man, massive series altering safe.
Okay.
Then Brad Marshall, another break up.
Brad gets the goal.
We don't need to talk about the goal.
A lot of people saying, you should have saved that.
I don't know, man.
Like, whenever there's like a, Brad has, like, you're playing the shot, right?
then all of a sudden there's a stick check and Brad's shot is altered.
I'm going to look up that replay right now.
He gets more contact on it.
He touches it again.
I'm not going to kill Stu for that.
Brad gets the goal.
All I want to talk about as we close out this episode here is what are the vibes right now, right?
I think if Florida had lost this game in OT after giving up the lead again,
I actually don't think it would have been that big of a deal because of how well they.
played. I thought Florida played great in this game, especially compared to some of the breakdowns
in the third period and overtime of game one. This is a interesting situation where in my opinion,
I think Edmonton feels okay to. I think they played a battle of a game. They came back yet again,
sent the game to overtime, double overtime. They played well. They got some good goals.
I do feel like
this was a big time
Mo Mo game for Florida
to blow that lead quote unquote
you always hate giving up a goal
when the jury's pulled oh dude it's a nightmare
the Kings like the Kings season and because of it
and to last with this Oilers team
through two overtimes and then get the win
huge and I will say this I'm not going to say who it was
but an absolute fucking beauty
legend on the Panthers
saw in the gym
Oh, I don't know if you're going to tell this story.
This is cool.
Not going to say who it was.
Okay.
Panthers fans, though, this is what fire you up.
But I saw a member of the Panthers in the gym yesterday.
Yesterday.
In between games.
We got the gym in between games.
Yep.
Chatted really quick.
And I said, how are you boys feeling?
And he just gave me a very calm, confident great.
Yeah.
Yeah, dude, no hesitation.
And I was like, damn.
And then to see them coming here and just show their experience, show their maturity,
show their mental toughness, and get this.
win. That was big. That was big for Florida. Really big.
Um, agree because you just, you feel like you go, if they lost, you're like, Christ,
do we blew another lead. We had multiple chances in OT. But I was, I did write a note that I was
like, it, it does feel, and you got to, you got to, um, complete your end of the bargain here,
but it did feel a little bit like the Bruins, um, Canucks where you go, the Bruins leave Vancouver
down O2, but they go, we lost both in fucking overtime on the road. So what?
now if we just pummel them at home
we feel great. Now again
the Panthers would have to pummel them at home which would be very
hard because Edmonton's very good but I do think
there was a lot to take away where you go I don't know
dude we lost fucking twice and OT and
double OT like give me a fucking and we were
winning both games so I hear you on
that but man it was
going to be a tough pill
to swallow considering the chances you had
I do want to address a little bit in the chat here
somebody was saying
there's a lot of John is saying Skinner has to have that
and Joey's kind of going
dude dry saddle's coming back so hard it's a great or this is john too it was a great effort by dry saddle
shouts to him coming back and chasing marshy down because dude live i thought that was going to be a
penalty and i didn't want i never want a penalty in overtime if you can avoid it i don't want it ever
but i thought dry saddle was going to take a penalty in real time i was like oh that's a hook but it actually
wasn't he's like he worked so hard to come back he's on his stick that was a great play and guys
live it's so hard to see but i can't um i just watched the replay while dan was talking that
it's not really on
Stu for me.
Like it's just one of those plays
where like Brad's trying to go
for him back in
he gets like legally
impeded by dry siddle.
Stu is like
doesn't know where the puck's going
because it's hard to read
because Brad doesn't even know
where the fucking puck's going
and it looks like I'm watching people here
it looks like it kind of like hits
Stu's pad and just slides in
but it's just a fucking
fucked play dude.
It's a breakaway in overtime.
Thank you for saying that.
It's like Stu is fine.
I thought he played awesome.
And he's he's making huge
saves. And it was just a crazy moment. I will say, someone said this, too, that it's like,
we can't be having two breakways and overtime. Yeah. Two breakways and two overtime periods. Like,
what the fuck are we doing? We do it. That was not it. You start taking chances. You start taking risks.
It does happen. But that is true. I think that's a good point. Yeah. So that one's a little tough for me.
My take on the vibes is this. We joke. We're at dinner. We're a cactus club. Dinner.
and we were joking, while I ate my like 20 pound steak,
which was gas, but holy shit, I was a little full.
We were saying that the finals are an interesting beast
because whatever happens in game one,
people lose their shit, us included, us included.
I had a multiple clips this week saying, admitting,
I was like, I'm being reactionary.
When the Oilers win game one, everybody here at Edmonton
and us were like, Oilers in five, it's a bloodbath.
And if the Panthers won game one, I promise you,
everyone would have gone,
Panthers sweep, told you, they're different,
that the Oilers never played a team like this.
And it's like it's one fucking game
that went to overtime and it's two great teams.
What if next game the other team wins in overtime?
Aren't we just in for a great long series?
And now watching this, I'm like probably
CP cooking right now.
So, you know, it was,
I opened this fucking live saying
that it's two of the greatest opening games
you can ever see.
I've never been more sure
that this is going to be a long series,
unfortunately for us.
Well, fortunately,
because it's fun as fuck,
but it's a lot of travel.
No, no.
It's,
remember,
you know,
it's funny.
It didn't really happen the way I thought,
but I was like,
I think that this is going to be a rope-a-dope.
You win, I win, you win, you and I win, you and I, like, you and I, you know, it's a split.
I told you, bro, I told everybody.
I said, whoever wins game one, easy to say now, because I was right, but I said,
whoever wins game one is going to lose game too, just because these teams are too good,
and the team who lost game will know, I have to fucking win that game.
I didn't expect it to go this way in double O T and chaos, but this is what happens.
These are two, these are the two best teams right now, and I mean that, not on, you can't win on talent alone.
I don't mean talent.
I just mean this.
What does he say?
You can't win on...
He says,
you don't have enough talent to win on talent.
Which is such a fucking...
So mean.
By your coach.
Yeah.
But this isn't the two best talent teams.
That's not my take.
My take is these are the two most...
Well-coached and resilient teams.
These are the two most team...
The two teams that will not roll over will...
We're going to fight you till the very end.
That's why they're in the final.
And that's why I'm excited to watch this bloodbath.
I'm officially stating...
I will be shocked.
Because there's a way to spin this, Dan, if you're a Florida fan,
and I'm sure Maurice is saying this in the room,
that he goes, boys, we just split,
and we got the split that we wanted.
And the only one they beat us,
we blew a two-goal lead,
and they had to beat us in overtime.
We're about to go home and rip their throats out in Florida,
and this thing's over in five-hour way.
That's a narrative that would very much make sense to be brought up.
But I'm currently saying I would be shocked if it's not two-two.
If Florida just rolls them twice in Florida,
I'll be like, oh, wow, I did not see that coming at all.
No, no, yeah, I don't see that coming at all.
I think, man, this is just a, if you're not a fan of either of these teams, as in, like,
I'm not saying you don't like them if you're just like, yeah, I'm just watching.
This is as good as it gets.
I think these two teams are fucking Titans.
I think that they're so good.
They're playing well.
There's elite talent all over the ice, and these games are just going in the most entertaining
fashion you could possibly.
I said I would finish the foreshad-in, but I did think I wrote a note here where it said,
I know Bennett scored, but earlier, and he's been scoring everywhere.
But without the Verhege and the Reinhard and the Kachuk, like doing anything right now,
I wrote in my notes at one point in the middle of the first overtime,
it feels like if the Panthers win this game, it could only come from the third line.
And then it was Brad.
And it's a great pat.
It's a nice play off the wall from Lundell, great pass, whatever.
And that is the advantage we said they would have before the series is that third line.
That third line delivered tonight.
You got an Arverson goal in game one.
the third line didn't deliver Florida.
Edmonton wins.
I really think that's going to be a thing that swings it.
Unless you can get more from those top guys.
And just as much of credit to the Foreslings
and the barkoffs of the world to keeping McDavid pretty quiet,
the boilers guys are keeping,
it's not like for Hagee's not trying.
It's not like Sam Ryan's not trying.
The Boilers guys are keeping those top lines really quiet.
And the Panthers top guys are spending so much energy
trying to keep the Oilers quiet that they're like,
I can't score.
I'm focused on McDavid all night.
But I think if you're the Panthers,
feel you go great, but I do still
think I would go, I need more from my big
guys. For sure. The
thing I will say to close out this episode
close out this live is
if you're the Edmonton Oilers, you feel
really good about the fact that the Barcove
line is not doing much. And if
you're the Florida Panthers, you are thinking
if we can get the Barcove line going,
we are in a very good spot.
And that's going to be interested in, interesting to watch.
So, did you see what Chuck
did in the penalty box? I did not.
A lot of people, did you see anything? A lot of people in
chat are being like classless move from Kachuk in the penalty box.
We'll take a look at it.
We'll take a look at it.
We are headed to Florida tomorrow.
Holy shit.
Going to be getting on a plane ripping down to Florida.
We will be in there tomorrow night.
Hanging out Sunday.
We'll be doing pods.
We'll be doing interviews while we're there.
We're definitely going to do some sort of meet up.
You'll see us at Elbow Room, absolutely.
But if you're in Florida, come say what's up.
We'll be all over the place.
Guys, buy the merch.
We've got amazing oilers shirts.
for you. Amazing Florida Panthers shirts for you.
We've also just got great empty netter shit,
hats, hoodies, crew necks,
everything's beautiful. Make sure you grab some of that
stuff. Make sure you subscribe to the
YouTube. Follow us on the socials.
Leave a five-star review on Spotify, Apple,
stuff like that. We fucking love you guys.
Thanks for joining these lives. The live's buzzing right now.
Live, dude, I actually just want to hang
in here all night. And we got a couple of the happy hour.
We got the happy hour of midform out already.
You're going to see a fun little travel video.
A hilarious one coming out tomorrow.
We love you guys.
we're going to log off, we're going to have ourselves a little bit of a night and then hop on a plane.
