Empty Netters Podcast - The Panthers Woke Up And It’s Time To Hunt w/ Eddie Lack | LIVE.EP9

Episode Date: May 12, 2025

The boys go live for their 9th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM ...app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 It is time, however, to bring in our guests. We've got one of our good, good friends, Eddie Lack, joining the show today. Eddie, we can hear you now. Talk to me, baby. How are you doing? If this is the same producer that fucked me on my goalie ranking a year ago, I'm not sad about it. That was that red. Fortunately, it's not.
Starting point is 00:00:23 I think it was Redmond. Yeah, Redmond absolutely sewered us on the goalie rankings. Absolutely awful. Where are you at right now, brother? You and AZ? I'm at the office, Arizona. Just keep grinding on a Monday morning, just taking a break to talk to you guys. I absolutely love it, dude. And you look amazing.
Starting point is 00:00:42 We feel like we have crazy goaly controversy going on in so many of these series right now. So I'm thrilled to bring you in while we talk about the Vegas Oilers series because the Calvin Pickard-Stewart-Skinner drama is on the top. top of everyone's tongue. That's the series we're going to start the show with. Give us your take immediately. I mean, God, I mean, Edmonton has got a goalie like a few months ago. Like, I don't know what they're thinking and everything, but now we're in this mess. And I feel like they just got to score five or six goals to win every game. You know what I mean? It's, it's, it's, I cannot believe we went through the trading deadline. And this is what, what we still have. have, but yeah, it's, it's, it, oh, God. Well, we just lost Eddie. What's okay. We're going to get him
Starting point is 00:01:39 back. Hold on one second. And dude, wow, we do that. Yeah. I, I'm back. Eddie, you're back. You're back. You're back. Okay. Sorry. Um, dude, I completely agree with that point, by the way. It does feel like we've had this conversation all season long. Yep. Like, is this, is it good enough? are we happy? And it's wild that we've gotten to the point where when Pickard goes in against the Kings, every Oilers fan was like, we're dead. It's over. What are we possibly going to do here? Then the guy's undefeated. Jean-Luc. And he is the savior. Yep. And now Skinner's back in and you not only are you seeing fans, like Oilers fans in the stands and on Twitter being like, oh, Jesus Christ, Skinner lets in that first goal in that game and the camera cuts to Connor and
Starting point is 00:02:21 Connor's visibly like shaking his head. It's a nightmare. Yeah, it's not good. It's it it's but I also thought like the last game that I watched which was Pickard's last game. I didn't watch the end of it because I'm like an early to bed guys these days with the kids and everything. Yeah, I was going to say what do you got a bunch of kids or something? The first two periods, I felt that Pickard was lights out too. And and and he like still obviously let in four. four or five goals or like whatever it was but but but but like he really stole the show between the two goalies right and and and then for he for him to be hurt hurt now and skinner come in and
Starting point is 00:03:09 skinner is oh and three now in the playoffs i mean it's it's it's it's just bananas that everything that's happening is i couldn't agree more and that's that's my favorite part about this has been in the king series you have the jim hiller challenge that everyone talked about they were like that totally turn the series. And now we possibly have a case where in this series, you've got this play where Skinner comes out to the fucking blue line. It feels like on that Riley Smith goal, Leon puts it in. And now people are playing like, is this the moment in this series that's going to change everything? And it's possible. And Eddie, do you think what is it like as a goalie when obviously the Kaiser all saying the right thing? Everybody's like, we believe in Stu. He's
Starting point is 00:03:52 played incredible for us. He played great for us in the playoffs last year. But as a goalie, are you, Stu is dealing with some shit confidence-wise, without question. So how do you overcome that when you're like, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, I'm 0-and-3. I can't win. I'm a disaster. Like, what do you do in those moments? I mean, you feel the pressure, right? And like, it's not like the other guy play like shit and now you're in, right?
Starting point is 00:04:18 So the pressure is kind of off. But, like, I mean, Picker won six and oh. And like the only reason you're in is because he's hurt, you know? So it's, I mean, it's not a good feeling to have, you know? And, and like, from the start of that series, I thought 100% that L.A. was going to win that series. And then they go up to an O and I'm like, oh, my God, this is like a lock now. and then Edmonton just went on to one four in a row. I mean, it's, they have such fire power up front, right?
Starting point is 00:05:01 And like such a good team that I was just like so confused that they didn't do anything at the trading that line. Yeah, I mean, it's, I still can't get over that series. Like you just said, the fact that it was two oh and then Pickard comes in. And no disrespect to Pickard. He's a NHL goal. Yep. But, you know, he knows he's not the starter. He knows that this, you know, necessarily isn't his job.
Starting point is 00:05:23 And then, yeah, he rattles off six straight fucking wins. And you're like, what the hell is going on? Pickard would have been great to have if they actually had a starter. I mean, like, yeah, like. That's a good point. Pickard is like the Eddie Lack. I mean, if you have a solid number one, Pickard is amazing to have. I mean, like, he, he's a great goal.
Starting point is 00:05:47 He's just not the guy to carry you through. 16 wins in the playoffs. I mean, like, like you need another guy in front of him, you know? Yeah, absolutely. And are you right? I can't get over the, you know, we talk to guys like NHL players like you all the time about yeah, your pros. Yeah, you know how to deal with the mental adversity. But at the end of the day, you're in the playoffs and it is a mental game. And if you are Stu Skinner right now, who's already dealt with tons of, you know, backlash and negative comments online and people not believing in him. He saw a psychologist last year to get his mind right and then played some of the best hockey of his life. But now here we are in the playoffs again.
Starting point is 00:06:28 He hasn't played well. He's 0 and 3 now. And it feels like yet again, he has the weight of the city of Edmonton on his shoulders. How would you possibly go into this game feeling good? Dude, I would say, because this, don't forget this exact thing happened last year where he got pulled in the Vancouver series, right? I think. And Pickard goes in. And, played, I don't know, three or four games. And then Skinner comes back. And that's when I thought he elevated. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:06:54 The best full-tending of Steve, I agree. Do was when he came back in and he got the reset. So I was thinking, you know, maybe he'll come in game three here and play lights out and just be like, okay, I'm back. I got my play-up reset. Yeah. And he wasn't horrible.
Starting point is 00:07:07 But if he, if they lose game four at home and he is bad again and I, and you don't get that reset, I think you're, you're in a tailspin. Absolutely. And like, what are you guys, how did you both feel watching that game? because we obviously go to Rogers. We know how brutal it is to play in that barn. You're down 02 if you're the Knights, and then you go down 02 in the game.
Starting point is 00:07:28 I mean, the fact that they tied that up, then took the lead and it took it Connor, you know, let's be honest, lucky bounce. That was a pass to tie it up late. Did you feel like in game three, especially a win in Edmonton, change the tides here a little bit, or do you think that this is still
Starting point is 00:07:44 Edmonton in control in the driver's seat? Yeah, what do you think, Eddie? I still feel like Edmonton is in the driver's seat, and mainly, because I don't really think that Hills looked very good in this playoffs either. So it's like the battle of, like, who would let the last goal in every night, right? And it's just, it's, it's a very interesting series to watch. I mean, like, I thought that the ads were going to beat the stars, too, but that didn't happen. I mean, it's, it's, I still think, especially after winning two on the road, that it's Edmonton's series to lose now.
Starting point is 00:08:36 Yeah. But, but the knights are definitely in it. Yeah, I mean, that's true. And you're so right about Hill, because I thought he'll look great against Minnesota. Oh, yeah. And we all, you know, he's a Stanley Cup winning goaltender. So I was like, you know, they're in a great position. They're healthy.
Starting point is 00:08:54 They're going to be strong. Ikel obviously started picking it up. But you're so right through three games. He definitely hasn't looked like himself. Last game was better, but I'm so with you, dude. Those couple early goals, I was like, you've got to be kidding me. Because this is a matchup you have to have the advantage on if you're Vegas and you weren't getting it. The second game was on him, in my opinion.
Starting point is 00:09:15 Yeah. I mean, like, like I felt that. Vegas was controlling the game at home, like they hadn't just where like they wanted. And then the second and the third, third goal was just like really bad goals, like shots that he usually has, right? So it's, it's, it's. Yeah, this series is like wild, but I feel like the whole playoffs have been really wild up to this point. Yeah. I again, I, I, I, I, mushed myself last week. I was like, oh, it looked like all these teams that were in the driver's seat. I was like, oh, we might just.
Starting point is 00:09:47 just like these series all might be over and now here we are. Everything's tied up. People are back in control. It's also Vegas last year. I'm pretty sure won two games. In round one, they won two games in Dallas to start that series. Like did what Edmonton just did. And then Dallas came all the way back.
Starting point is 00:10:04 So it's kind of like if you're Vegas, you at least have a little experience with this exact scenario where you're like, okay, Dallas did it to us last year. Like this isn't the craziest thing of all time. Let's make it happen. Yep. So you can kind of ride with that. I am worried because I was shocked that.
Starting point is 00:10:17 because I was so wrong, but I was shocked that Braden McNabb wasn't more hurt. I know. I was like, he's going to miss game three. And then we thought while Mike gets suspended and he didn't. So they got both those guys to play. And I, that was a big, that was a big boost. Stone left that game in the first period, game three, played like five minutes, didn't come back. They said he's day to day.
Starting point is 00:10:39 And they won game three without him. Largely without him. He was a dash one when he left. But that's a big task if he, if he's down. Like, it's a hard one to come back from if you lose him. to totally totally and eddie if you i mean we got game four coming up here if vagus can pull this game out which would be crazy to win another one in edmonton do you think the series is completely flipped on its head or do you think we're going to kind of have this back and forth for the rest of
Starting point is 00:11:04 the time i think we're kind of going to have this back back and forth for the rest of the time i mean i mean that that's kind of what happens when you got the two best players in the game and and they can just flip it on and flip it off, you know? And, and, and, it's, it's, there, there's so good when they're on this Oilers team. But like, then they get a few deflating goals against them and everything and just, anything can happen. Yeah. It's so true.
Starting point is 00:11:37 That's exactly why I've said, I mean, it's why I picked Edmonton in the series. And it's like the definition of insanity with L.A. for four years in a row now. It's all the, we keep being like, oh, LA could do it. But it is,
Starting point is 00:11:50 even when they're not even scoring that much, it just does feel like if Connor and Leon are on the ice, you can never count this team out, literally ever. Eddie, this team won six straight games.
Starting point is 00:12:02 I think literally all six were comebacks, maybe five of the six. No, it's all six. Yeah. So, and in this game, they take the lead,
Starting point is 00:12:09 and then Vegas is the one that comes back. So I'm thinking you just give Edmond's in the lead. I think when you play them, you just shoot, literally shoot one. in your own net make them play with
Starting point is 00:12:17 leave, fuck you, Connor. I think it's like when they get down that's what fires them up more, you know? Yeah, 100% goals, dude,
Starting point is 00:12:23 fuck them. I think that's the only way forward. Other than this series, Eddie, is there, what's your favorite series you're watching right now? Well,
Starting point is 00:12:33 I'm really watching the canes now because I like the way that they're looking. Like, everyone was sleeping on them before the playoffs. I saw P.K.
Starting point is 00:12:42 Suben said that, that like, they're the worst team in the east to make the playoffs. I mean, it was crazy crazy to me because I felt like they they kind of got their stuff together by the end of the regular season. And then there was like a few games at the end where they already made the playoffs and everything that they kind of shit to bed a little bit.
Starting point is 00:13:05 But that's like, who like cares, you know? But I feel like they really bought in at like the right time. time and like they're really tough to play against i mean they've been for like a very long time they've been really tough to play again so uh i think that this actually might be the canes year i mean like they're looking really good dude they're playing with a chip on their shoulder yeah i haven't seen from them because they're always disrespected but they have a serious chip on their shoulder this year and and they're getting the goaltending i love freddie i've always loved watching him right but he kind of tires out you know right so far man
Starting point is 00:13:45 he has been fucking incredible. Yeah, there's no doubt about that. And you just said it with PK. I think a lot of people are running with this narrative. It's almost like they've adopted the Islanders narrative. People are being like, oh, they're boring. It's such a boring. Devil series was so boring.
Starting point is 00:14:00 Even this series, someone was saying it was like taking a dramamine or something. Yeah, yeah. They're not dramamine, but whatever. Taking a Xanax watching this series. But I don't agree with that. Every game has been a goalie battle with LT playing so well. Freddy's playing insane. And I'm with you.
Starting point is 00:14:18 I think they play a fun, fast pace of hockey. They are fast. And no doubt about it this season, the way they played against the devils, the way they're playing right now, they're up to one. I think it's the best shot I've seen in the last four years from them. Like I'm looking at this Kane's team and I'm like, they're pretty fucking good, man. They could they could beat Toronto. They could beat Florida, whoever comes out of there. They could beat Washington.
Starting point is 00:14:40 So, yeah, if I'm against fans, I feel pretty confident right now, for sure. It's interesting. I want to say they need, I need to see more offense from them. And I know they had a great, they blew up in game three. Yeah. In my mind,
Starting point is 00:14:51 I want to say they, I need to see more offense. But as we've said, they've gone up against LT right now who's dialed. And our boy, our boy Markstrom, who was also playing great in round one. So it's kind of hard.
Starting point is 00:15:02 Yeah. So it's kind of hard for me to be like, I need the Keynes to score more when I'm like, they were going up against two elite goalies. So it's okay. They look good. 100%. I think the canes will beat Washington.
Starting point is 00:15:13 I think the Cains will be Toronto, if that's who they play. I think they will lose to Florida if they play Florida. You think Florida has the legs? I mean, they looked a little tired in game one and two, but then have completely flipped the script. We'll get into that later, but yeah. Yeah, yeah, yeah. I really think that Florida's got the Jews to go back to back, but yeah.
Starting point is 00:15:37 God, that would be crazy. I know. That would be so crazy. All right, Eddie, before we let you go tonight, Washington, Carolina and then Vegas Edmonton, what are your predictions for those games? I believe that the Keynes will win, let's say, another boring 4-1 win to an open net. Hey, thank you for that. We need them together.
Starting point is 00:16:05 I like that. And who's the second game again? We got Vegas, Vegas, Edmonton game four tonight. Oh, yeah, yeah. So, God. I don't know.
Starting point is 00:16:23 Let's say that I hate, I don't want Edmonton to win, but I think Edmonton will pull one out today. Okay, yeah. I just, I'm shocked if Edmonton loses both at all. I know. Let's say 7-5.
Starting point is 00:16:40 Oh, hell yes. Dude, that would be awesome. Just a complete shit show. I like it. Both of the polls, dude. Yeah, they actually just trade. They're like, hell, you go play, you go play goal at Fredmonton, we'll take Stu and just finish this third period out.
Starting point is 00:16:52 Oh, my God. All right. I like those predictions. Eddie, we're going to let you bounce, but we are going to have you back as we do more of this stuff. And also, we're going to bring your buddy on. Oh, yeah. Can you give us a plug?
Starting point is 00:17:04 Tell us his name. What's the deal here? Yeah. So my boy, Ryan Beckman. and I, we have done a bet that, because he coaches his son's minor league teams and everything here. Ryan, get off your fucking phone. Let's go. Hang on. Yeah, my AirPods are working. Can you guys hear me? Yeah, you sound perfect, Brian. Can you hear me now?
Starting point is 00:17:35 Do you want to introduce yourself or do you want me to introduce you? Of course, right? I wasn't ready for it. Oh, fuck. I know. You told me to be ready. There we go. Ryan, can you? Are you good?
Starting point is 00:17:57 You got a crazy echo, but that's okay. Here we go. All right. Plug yourself in. It sounds perfect now. Now I'm good. You know what it was? I was listening to you guys at the same time.
Starting point is 00:18:10 So I was getting the ice of talk radio. Yeah. Yeah. Ryan, tell you. Tell the world. you are, Ryan. Yeah, who the hell are you? I'm nobody. No, my name is Ryan. I met Eddie indirectly last year. So I played hockey in British Columbia. I live down in Arizona now. I coached my son's 8-U travel team, the nights. Last summer, I'll give you the quick story.
Starting point is 00:18:34 We'll give you the clip notes. Last summer, he made the team. I got super sick right after making team. Ended up in Phoenix Children's ICU for a week. And I got a text from Eddie creating a video goalie to goalie for my kids saying hey man like i got you when you get out you're going to get through this we'll get together come to a practice then eddie found out my kid's favorite team was the devils got a video from jess for bratt to my kid which was like massive for my kid right um so you know when when my son valentino got out of the hospital uh eddie came to a practice you know met him you know i think made him a drawing or something like that eddie i can't remember some sort of special gift. But the kids love it. Eddie came out to practice. And I think it was that night
Starting point is 00:19:15 when Eddie and I were in a group text with our friend who doesn't play hockey. And I started talking smack to Eddie about him as a player. And I've never played goalie in my life. Like I've only ever played player. And we were trying to get our friend to come out and take shots. And we're like, we'll pay you. Like just come out, strap the pads on. And I said to Eddie, I'm like, you don't stop you all day long. I've never put goalie pads on. But I will, I'll absolutely stop you. And that turned into Eddie's like basically put your money. where your mouth is. So it was 500 bucks is what we were going to bet. And then we're like, dude, neither of us need the money, like that money. So let's donate it to charity. He was on the way to
Starting point is 00:19:50 Canucks for kids and he's like, I'll grab the check for Canucks for kids now. We'll do the shootout later. Right. Like I'll just take the money up. Like there's no way you're at your stopping. It's not happening. And my ego's like, oh yeah, I got you. So he's like, I'll go five for five. You won't stop one of them. And that turned into like an idea for a charity event where Eddie would shoot on me. Again, I've never worn goalie pads in my mother. life and I got to stop one he's got to go five for five and I'm like you know the best guys in the world don't hit the hole every time you know so like like he might yeah like I'm more banking on him missing than me me saving it and we kind of shelved it over the winter and then about a week
Starting point is 00:20:26 ago I was like did we're never going to do this like it was going to be a small little local event I'm like let's just do it me and you let's get it going and he's like I'm so busy man like don't involve me that much basically like I got so much going on I'm like yeah man it'll be super small we're just going to do it's just going to do like a little event at the rink. Well, a couple days ago, I started telling people about it, and it's blown up since then. We've got Swaggy P's coming out, Cache, the boys on the bench.
Starting point is 00:20:51 Theo Fleury committed yesterday. We've got some other guys. So what we're doing now is an event for charity. We've got a GoFund going to be. You can bet on Eddie or me. So if you bet on me, 75% goes to my friend's charity Puck Support, Brady Leibold up in Canada, mental health hockey. And 25 would go to Eddie's charity, Kinnux for kids.
Starting point is 00:21:10 Eddie wins, 75% goes to conduct for kids. 25 goes to Brady. We've got Swaggy P and the guys doing their demonstration. And then we're doing a game where Eddie and I are the captains and we're drafting. So it's going to be pros, the influencers, and this will hopefully be live streamed as well as at the rink. All the money again goes to. Yes. So we want you guys to come.
Starting point is 00:21:34 Yeah. I didn't want to fucking bring that up yet, but Jesus Christ, dude. We must have got lost in the mail. Yeah. On air, for charity. The key thing, for charity, right? Yeah, dude, and then we got a silent auction. Do you know who Gooby, the custom skate guy?
Starting point is 00:21:51 Oh, yeah. Yeah, so Gooby's making a pair for the event for the silent auction. He's coming down too. Trying to think who else is coming on. It's kind of like, again, we haven't even launched it yet. Websites lack can't score.com. Incredible. You're welcome, buddy.
Starting point is 00:22:10 Yeah, he's like, what you do it? But, yeah, it was available. So, I mean, you know, there's a lot more to it, you know, but that's the nuts of both of it. And that's how Eddie came into my life. He's been one of my best incidents and he's just a superhuman. Actually, there is one other thing. We started this thing last night called the hydration station challenge. So basically, let's flip the puck on the top of the net where the bully keeps the water bottle, the hydration station.
Starting point is 00:22:36 And it's kind of like an ice bucket challenge. We want that to go around to help. raise money for this event. So amazing. We'll get that out. Yeah, we literally created it last night. Hopefully the kids get behind it. But yeah, so we'd love to have you guys if you want to come, participate in the game.
Starting point is 00:22:52 You know, you might be just kidding. I'm just kidding. Pretty tough look for us to live on air say that no, we're not going to get involved with the charity. So well played, he's son of a bitch. No, but Ryan, this sounds awesome. I'm so glad Eddie put it on our radar. We'll definitely make sure to share the website.
Starting point is 00:23:12 Is the website live? It's live now. Yeah. We'll share that in the chat. We'll pop that on Twitter, on Instagram, and make sure people know about it because, I mean, I hate to pump his tires, but Eddie is one of the best guys in the world. So I'm not surprised that you guys made something awesome happen here.
Starting point is 00:23:29 So we're going to get involved for sure and make sure everyone knows about it. Awesome. And I am going to get embarrassed because I did strap golly pads on yesterday. Didn't go well? It was against eight-year-olds, and it didn't go that great. They went 55. You're practicing? This is not part of the contract.
Starting point is 00:23:47 Agreed. No, you're the one that's not allowed to get on the ice. I'm allowed to get on the ice. I was going to say mentally and emotionally, Eddie, is pretty much an eight-year-old. So you actually might be okay. You're kind of in the same way. That's why we get along so well, though. Oh, my God.
Starting point is 00:24:08 All right. Well, that's beautiful stuff, boys. We'll make sure to blast all this out. And Ryan, thank you for sharing the story. Oh, yeah, absolutely. Spreading the word here. All right. Thanks, guys.
Starting point is 00:24:18 Thanks for having us. Thank you both, boys. We'll talk to you soon. All right, great stuff from the man. God, too. Also, what a beauty, Ryan is. Before we move on to the Caps Cains, we'll get the ticker back up, make sure everyone knows what we're discussing here.
Starting point is 00:24:37 But do you have anything more to say on Vegas Oilers before we go to Caps Cains? I would say, uh, credit. to Vegas because the going down to nothing in that game. Yeah. Was a very easy rollover. Oh, to me, like see you later, dude. Oh, start planning your golf trip.
Starting point is 00:24:52 Yeah. Start planning your trip to Cancun. Yeah. It's time for summer vacation. That's truly what it felt like I looked. We were out and about we got the game on and, and when I turned the game on, it was two nothing. And I was like, oh, well, great.
Starting point is 00:25:07 I'm not even going to get to enjoy this game. Yeah. So you're so right. That battle back with Stoneheart. With Stoneheart. You lose your caption. And I'm like, this is hova. So I give them a lot of credit for that.
Starting point is 00:25:18 And I will say the buzzer-beater goal was wild. I've like never seen anything like that in my life. That was so fucking nuts. Dude, so. And dude, Riley Smith, fucking, I cannot believe the poise to shot fake that. Like there's, because you're not, we can see the clock. Obviously watching on TV. When you're skating down there, you don't quite know how many.
Starting point is 00:25:42 seconds of that. Chris. You just know that there's like two. So the fact that he pumped that, like imagine if he pumps that pushes it wide and the buzzer goes off. I'm like, are you a moron, dude? There were so many elements of that play that made no sense. If you look at the freeze frames, there's the first of all, William Carlson coming in the zone, it's like a one on three. Yeah. He gets to that puck first, somehow gets that puck to Riley. And then, yes, the, the wherewithal and the poise to go, I've got enough time. Yeah, I've got enough time here. I'm going to pump fake this. but man that was I was ready to get myself another drink yeah yeah you see the clock ticking down and you're like we're done here yep this game's over or the regulations over we're going to head to OT let's let's regroup here and then all of a sudden that's just in and credit to riley he knew the whole time
Starting point is 00:26:25 he knew that that puck went in he knew that that there was still time on the clock and he was like we won went over to the bench oilers guys are getting ready for for overtime the Vegas guys are looking around and riley's you can see his mouth he's being like that's a goal We just won. Yeah, yeah. Let's fucking go get ready for game four. God, beast. Absolutely crazy. So we've got that game tonight.
Starting point is 00:26:45 I do think, like Eddie said, and by the way, a huge shout out Eddie for popping on the show. You'll see more of him coming up here, guys. I think it's so hard to bet against Connor and Leon at home. You can never do it. It's a stupid thing. It's a fool's errand. But I do think there's just a lot of mental stuff now.
Starting point is 00:27:06 A lot of mental stuff. It's the goalies for me, dude. It's because you're right. I think you're going to see, I thought Vegas has played better than Edmonton the last two games. And I think you're going to see a big pushback from Edmonton right now because they don't want to have wasted their two-game road extravaganza. But Vegas, I think, has the team to slow them down if they play their best.
Starting point is 00:27:30 And it's the mental thing, dude. Like, what do you do with Skinner? Does Skinner go? Dude, I'm bouncing back. I'm sorry, boys, I've got us and play great and lockdown, which I know he can and he did at many times last year. If he does that, Edmonton's going to win this game
Starting point is 00:27:45 and probably the series. If he's leaky again, everyone starts playing nervous because they're worried about what's going back there and Hill was better, you know, certainly better than the game too. And if he's more dialed, then I think Vegas is going to win this game and possibly the series. So it's that, so much of it rides on that for me in this one.
Starting point is 00:28:01 And have we heard any news on Stone? Just day to day. Cassidy was like day to day, day, day, we'll see. Yeah, so we'll keep an eye on that tonight to see if he's in. And then the, the Pickard stuff, you know, we heard from Elliot Friedman and Darren Dregor today. It's going to be at least another week per knob lock on Pickard. And another week. Yep.
Starting point is 00:28:23 Yeah. So that's like you got Skinner for at least two, three games here. Yeah. So very, very interesting. If it even goes that far, but that'll be interesting. Let's get into Caps, Cains. Cains take a two to one series lead with a monster win, an emphatic win. Monster win.
Starting point is 00:28:41 One of two shutouts on the weekend. Yes. Wow, good call. Let's start there, in fact, if I would say for the first time, they got a few by LT that he would want back. Definitely that second one. I forget who got the second goal, but definitely that second one. And this has been the goal. These have been the two best goalies in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:29:04 This has been a goalie battle so far through this series. And that feels good to go home and be like, okay, we snuck a few past and he is human, whatever. And to pair that, dude, you know when you have a nice rib eye and you pair it perfectly with a red, deep red. I don't know anything about red wine, but. Producer Edge is shaking his head at you for your best efforts there. But yes.
Starting point is 00:29:28 So you would, you would sometimes drink a red wine. pair of a medium rare marbled rib eye with a red wine yeah to take an l t leaky the canes went to dinner and took an l a leaky l t plated it yeah and then paired that with an iceberg shut out and that is the stuff of dreams dude that is a perfect night that's a perfect dinner experience just a a a perfect meal oh my god dude fourth career shut out i wrote down dude he's uh 9 4 4 o 4 o 132 in the playoffs. What? What? Iceberg. What has been their knock for years? God.
Starting point is 00:30:10 It's you don't have enough goaltending. But you know what I think it is? Freddie, Freddie has seen the world become aware of the Allfather. Yeah. Before Jacob Slavin was flying under the radar, people didn't realize how good Jacob Slaven has. Now people know.
Starting point is 00:30:26 Freddie knows that people know, and he has the confidence of the world realizing how good Slaven. So now he's playing. Yeah, he knows how good Slavena is now. He's like, whoa, dude, Freddie watched Four Nations. He was like, holy fuck, dude, you're so good. You're nasty. I didn't even, I don't think I even realized how nasty you were.
Starting point is 00:30:43 I've been standing in front of you all year. What have I been doing? Worrying about backdoor tappens. I'm cheating when I've got you over there. Now he's just staying in his angles and we're fine. That's so good. But you get a first period, no goals in this game three per yush. We've got this goalie back and forth.
Starting point is 00:30:59 just absolute barn burn burners and then bang two goals in the second two goals in the third for for nothing win i am here to say we went into this game we talked to some people everyone said we need if you're a caps fan you need the caps to come out strong you need the caps to have a a better jump a better start and they did tom wilson had a great chance early in the first couldn't slip at five hole nine shots for the caps in the first period that's better than we've seen Best best they've had in a minute, dude. For all our bingo warriors out there, getting eight plus cap shots was unthinkable.
Starting point is 00:31:37 Yeah. So congrats. But I will say this, six shots and then six shots after that. What are you doing, Washington? What are you doing? Shoot the fucking puck more. 21 shots in this game. I feel like such a broken record because I say this every fucking show.
Starting point is 00:31:57 But how many goals do you have to, do we have to watch ricochet in off skates in these playoffs? Connor McDavid's game time goal. Riley Smith is game winning. Two of the Winnipeg goals in game three or game two. Yeah. Two of those. It's constant.
Starting point is 00:32:14 Get the puck going in that direction. It is so wild to me that you can take five shots in a playoff period. It's unacceptable. Completely unacceptable. And when you look at the, you know, not just Ovi, the goal. scoring from this Capitol's team this year. You've got Wilson with a career year. Strom is unbelievable. Protas and McMichael come out of nowhere. You just, you need to start throwing pucks on that. And I mean literally throwing them on. Oh, yeah. Just create havoc in front of the net.
Starting point is 00:32:46 Because just another game where you are well under 30 shots in the game. And we keep saying, oh, this is such a low scoring series. It's a goalie battle. It's this, it's that. You want to know how you beat goalies. You put shots on net. Yep. And it. I can't get over how you talk about it. If we're talking about it, they're talking about it. You need more shots. And this Washington team is just not going to get as far as they possibly could or should if this is just the offensive effort every game.
Starting point is 00:33:16 You're not going to beat. You're not going to get more than two or three goals on Anderson with 21 shots. You're not playing the way he is, especially even if he was playing worse, you would need to get more shots. He's playing the way he is. So you need to be peppering him. I also have an insane take because we thought that the Caps going to Carolina, Caps have been a great road team, but you're going to Carolina where they never lose.
Starting point is 00:33:40 They won 31 games at home. This is going to be a very tough matchup. If the Caps could have a great first period for the first time all series and put Carolina back on their heels, it would so doubt into the Cains because they would go, oh, we're home where I thought I had this extra advantage. And I've been smothering the caps all series anyway. And then, wow, they come out and punch me in the mouth in the first period. That was really going to put the canes back on their heels, give the caps all the momentum. I actually thought the caps had their best first period by a mile.
Starting point is 00:34:13 But since they didn't score, it completely backfired. And they were like, oh, no. Yeah. That's our best guy. That's our best shot. In Raleigh, too. And you're like, God damn it. What happened?
Starting point is 00:34:24 Like, they leave that first period zero, zero. And they're like, fuck. Whereas if they had just scored one, if they leave that first. period up one nothing they go bitch oh no we're in raleigh who cares you're down one nothing but instead it it was zero zero and the canes came out and they were like us they're dead definitely i just i didn't think that that was not good it's a statement game like we keep talking about people keep doubting this carolina team they don't fear them they think they're frauds and then we go to raleigh and they win for nothing that is a huge drop the cock on the table moment.
Starting point is 00:35:00 I mean, truly four nothing, getting four past LT, that is a massive accomplishment, keeping all those caps guys off the board and getting a shutout, shut out massive accomplishment. You know that barn was absolutely rocking. That is the mental game. You're like, fuck, now we have another game tonight in Raleigh. There's just a lot of momentum for the Carolina Hurricanes right now. And that is huge. So this isn't a
Starting point is 00:35:26 I'm not calling this a must win for the caps I really am not You go down 3-1 that blows But you get to go home and try to get another win on home ice I do think that this is important Johnny Lazz just jumped in the cap Jams are cooked Fucking love you dude caps are cooked
Starting point is 00:35:44 Is a beast I think spetch is a beast is a fact Caps are cooked I'm not ready to call a fact yet I think this caps team has been so good all year And I also think we've seen them go night night a couple times yeah they get sleepy yeah every now and then the caps they go like this oh i'm tired and they forget they're playing hockey and then they wake up and they bounce back yep that's something we could see here in this game mandy says caps are 25 7 and 1 after a loss this
Starting point is 00:36:09 season good fact good fact and they've already done that in this series yep lost game one come back and win game two i think um i think they are not cooked yeah it's it's this has been such a funny series for picks because people are going I'm just cooked it's a fact dude this series has been so crazy because you always talk about how reactionary playoffs are where you think you have a team and then you go one game one happens and you completely change your opinion
Starting point is 00:36:35 I have people are flip-flopping on this so hard yeah when this series started half more than half the media was like caps and six caps and six and then the canes play game one and everyone's like oh I think it's the canes and then the caps look great in game two yeah better and win and they go, oh, you know, never mind, it's caps. And then last night, or whatever that game was happens, and everybody's like, oh, my God, Cain's in five.
Starting point is 00:36:57 And I'm like, calm down. Everyone's relax. So I think this is going to be a good one, dude. I think it's going to be a really good one. I think LT plays way better. But should we bring Johnny in? Yeah, that'd be awesome. Producer Edge, we're going to bring Johnny in.
Starting point is 00:37:10 I'm going to send him the link as we keep talking. Hold on. But you've got to get some people going here. You know, we joked, we joked in game too. Uh-oh. That is huge. Wilson going, oh, oh, oh, you shouldn't have done that. And Willie had a couple chances.
Starting point is 00:37:24 I'm not saying he played a bad game three. But I am saying you got to get, he needs to get on the board. OV needs to get on the board. Because I'm not sure you're going to beat this Kane's team the way Freddie's playing, the way Iceberg is giving you fresh lettuce if you're just relying on your secondary scoring. Yeah, you need, you definitely need something different to go on here. Because I think we haven't seen anything as we keep talking about the goalie doing.
Starting point is 00:37:49 We got someone on Twitter right now saying this series is so boring. I don't agree. Yeah. I'm going to keep saying. I don't think it's so boring. I think it's not as crazy as the other ones. Maybe that's the problem. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:38:01 We've just got so much mayhem in these other series. Dude, the other series are alcoholics. But by comparison, people are calling it boring. Yeah. But I'm like, whoa, dude. A bunch of booze house in the other series. Caps, Cains likes to party, but responsibly.
Starting point is 00:38:16 Yeah. But they can still have fun. They're not boring because they're not degenerate. They're just buzzed. Yeah. Like give them a break. The series is buzzed and I'm fine with that. Give them a break.
Starting point is 00:38:26 We got Johnny Las, joining the show now. Las, are you still in Iowa? No, I'm at my parents right now. Can you hear me? Okay.
Starting point is 00:38:35 Yeah, yeah. You look fantastic. Is it a bright, sunny day? Yeah, it's beautiful. Yeah,
Starting point is 00:38:41 I got my sister here, her kids, dog scratching on the door right now. I just set that side for a second. We were watching you all together. at the at the lunch table. Wow. That's amazing.
Starting point is 00:38:51 Now, Las joined. We get Uncle As here. Yeah, we got Uncle As here. Yeah, we got Uncle Las on the show. Are you, are you just chatting shit or do you actually think the caps are cooked?
Starting point is 00:39:02 A mix of both. The All Caps was talking shit to you, Dan, just because, you know, like, you could, like, hear me say that, I feel like. Yeah. But I think Carolina, like, listen, they're the most consistent team in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:39:16 We were actually talking about it. morning on our show like our producer vick asked the question which team do you feel most like comfortable with in the playoffs like with their overall performance and the canes were the team that i that i said came first to mind like he was thinking dallas um just because how dallas has played offensively their blue line and goal tending but the canes to me are just a little bit more consistent than the stars team again opponents are different right because dallas had to face a loaded you know colorado team in the first round so it's a little bit of a tougher task than the devils were But as far as how the canes have played,
Starting point is 00:39:50 like, is it crazy to say they have the best blue line in the playoffs right now? I don't think so. Not at all. I mean, we talk about all the time. Yeah, Jacob Slavin is the best defenseman who's ever lived and ever,
Starting point is 00:40:01 ever played the game. And since Four Nations, the world is becoming more aware of that. And he's only gotten better and better. I know. And it's where we're seeing more offense from him than, than we ever have before to, which is crazy because you know that he's dialed.
Starting point is 00:40:14 But I actually love that take, man. When you think about a team like, Florida who's gone to the cup two years in a row. They just tied the series up. To your point, they, since the Tampa series haven't been consistent. Those first two games against Toronto, they were totally asleep at the wheel. Yep. And then Dallas is the one. The other one, I would say that they have shown the most consistency. They got rinsed. I mean, Johnny's right, with the opponents because it's the Jets. Yeah, but like they got rinsed four, four oh twice, I think,
Starting point is 00:40:42 to the abs and the Jets. Exactly. And, and let's talk about if you go back to the Devil series with Carolina. You're right. If you're a Keynes fan, you haven't really sweat yet these playoffs, right? Not at all. You've been up the whole time. You've been up in this series the whole time. That's true. Like you're kind of on easy street right now. Yeah. Be as boring as you fucking want. Yeah. Yeah. Well, also, Dan, like at NCP, the, you know, the narrative of like the Keynes are so much worse on the road than they are at home. Like, they played pretty damn good in Washington. And, you know, and they come home and obviously shut out the caps four nothing. OV hasn't scored a goal yet in this series, too, which is a big factor.
Starting point is 00:41:17 their power play, I think, is like one for seven, Washington. And the Canes have only let up one power play goal against in the entire playoffs, which is nuts. Dude, I was going to say that next next. It's not nuts because they have James. And they were the best. And Freddie's been good. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:41:34 And they were the best PK in the regular season. And that doesn't always translate. Do you remember last year the Kings had like the second best PK in the league regular season, get to the first round against the Oilers. The Oilers score literally on every power play. And it was like it cost them the series. So the canes come in with that regular season PK, and they've been unbelievable in the playoffs.
Starting point is 00:41:51 And it's actually becoming a massive weapon for them. Because these power plays aren't going the other way, don't matter. Yeah, no doubt about it. Do you think that Freddie can stay fresh, Laz? Or do you think eventually the wheels get a little bit of tread on them? Because that's what we see, right? It's almost like the last two years since they've had Freddie, and they've been this really dominant team.
Starting point is 00:42:10 It does feel like goaltending eventually bites them in the ass. But right now, all signs are pointing towards he looks fresher than ever. Yeah, I mean, it's a It's a loaded question just because The past couple years also Like the teams they've run into You know, I'm obviously I have to talk about the Rangers here But I teach you up
Starting point is 00:42:32 But you did but okay so the Hurricanes hockey has always been like They'll dominate you five on five But they don't have the game breaker that can you know Score a big goal one needed and their power play is too inconsistent And you know in recent years they've gone against a really strong Rangers power play. You know, the Rangers' man advantage was the difference last year, and they've been out goal lead, like last year against Igor Shasturkin.
Starting point is 00:42:54 But right now, Logan Thompson and Freddie Anderson have pretty much been neck and neck in the playoffs. Like, Logan Thompson's been really good, but Freddie's been, like, right there up to par with him. So there isn't much of a goaltending edge in the series. And then when you take away Washington's power play, they're not really going to outplay Carolina in any other category, right? At five on five, when do you see the hurricanes get outplayed? Like, maybe once every seven games, maybe. Like, and that's the big consistency thing, too, right? Like, you know exactly what you're getting from the canes every night. You don't really know that from the Capitol's perspective
Starting point is 00:43:24 against the canes. Like, typically the caps are able to, you know, play that heavy style, five on five. And, you know, Tom Wilson obviously had that big game in game too. And maybe he could have a big game tonight and step up. But, you know, as far as the physicality, the speed, the up and down play goes. I think Carolina is the best team remaining right now. And you're so right about, you watch them and they kind of lack a game breaker, someone that's just going to put the entire team as back.
Starting point is 00:43:49 It'd be like, you wish you could trade for a Miko random or something. That would be awesome. Imagine, imagine him on that. Wouldn't that be safe? Imagine him on that team. Oh, my God. But, like, back to the Freddie thing, too.
Starting point is 00:44:02 if they can keep these series like you know they win round one five games if they win tonight like the series doesn't have to necessarily extend they're up three to one they can close it out in five close out in six like as long as they don't drag out these first two rounds like that'll only help freddie get extra rest going into the third round yeah no question about it and if you're playing a grimy team like florida florida were to win that series you do want rest right you want you want to you want to be as as fresh as you can but it is true i mean i i i just a moment ago i I don't know that I'm necessarily ready to call this game must win for the caps. But I do think it is a must look different.
Starting point is 00:44:40 Like you said, Johnny, it's so far this series, the caps haven't scared you, really, right? I mean, like the one win that you have could have gone both ways to. I would tell all playoffs and no knock on Montreal. Yeah. I don't think the caps at any point looks like, oh, there's a juggernaut. Like that Montreal thing felt tight the whole way. I think that they slapped them in the mouth in the close. out game. Like, I really do. But, but I, I hear you, they were, they were scrappy. They were scrappy.
Starting point is 00:45:07 They were scrappy games. That's true. Uh, but yeah, no, this, this game tonight is a, and to me, it needs to be a monster response. Because even if you get that one goal win, if you win two to one, if you win three to two, you only sneak a couple past Freddie. Again, Freddie stays looking dialed. If you're a Keynes fan or if you're this Kane's team, I don't think you get rattled by this series getting tied up. I think you go, yep, this is just, this is gone how it's gone for us. This is our game still. So if you're the caps, I think you need to disrupt what's been working for the Cains.
Starting point is 00:45:41 You can't, I mean, if you get a win, you get a win, but you can't get a sneaky win and be like, okay, we've turned the tides here. Because then it's kind of in the same ballpark. Yeah. Even like a one nothing two one win scares me a little bit because you're kind of relying on, you're like LT played great and we got one by Freddie. I'm like, ah, you'd like to see a few goals go in, I think, if you're Washington. Yeah, no doubt about it. Johnny, we'll let you get back to the family. But tonight's games, Caps, Cains, Vegas, Edmonton, what are your predictions?
Starting point is 00:46:10 Cains and Vegas. I think Carolina, yeah, I think Carolinas is too good at home. Like I said before, if the Caps are going to win one, it's going to be LT stealing it. You know, I doubt we see a game where Washington, like, out shoots, out chances, Carolina. it's going to have to be a big time goaltending performance from, from Logan Thompson. Maybe OV gets one. You know, Obe's got to get hot.
Starting point is 00:46:32 Like, the caps aren't going to go anywhere if he doesn't score a goal. People forget that Matt Rumpie had more goals in Obey last year in the first round. But as far as Vegas goes, I mean, I don't know if you guys touched on it already. Like, I was kind of like listening in and out. But that last goal, like, I don't put on Stuart Skinner. No, agree. Like, I get why people would because he was certainly out of position. but like in the dying seconds like i thought he pretty much cut away every angle that riley smith had um
Starting point is 00:47:00 and listen the other goals that were scored like riley smith's first goal to me if you watch that replay like riley he just dances through two guys the blue line comes in untouched backhand five well like that looked like a goal in january um but i just i just think vegas right now like i don't i don't trust skinner while i don't put the blame on uh on the oilers goaltending because their d has just been so leaky um i don't know it's it's tough I'm actually rooting for an Oilers Caps final. Like I want to see Ovi get back there and I want to see Connor in it again. And like whichever one wins, I'd be fine with.
Starting point is 00:47:33 Just because like either way, it's a great story. But yeah, I think the Vegas golden nights win tonight to tie it up a two. And I think the Cains make a three to one. What do you guys? I think I'm going, I think I'm going caps Vegas. I just believe in this Caps team a lot to respond.
Starting point is 00:47:52 But I have a hard time disagreeing with everything you should. just said. I know. I think I want to go two, two, two and both that we're getting two, two, and both. Yeah. But I'm more, even though this is insane, because I don't know how many times I have to pick against Connor McDavid before I learned my fucking lesson. I know. But I'm, I'm more concerned. If I'm picking the two-two, I'm more scared by the canes, uh, just to canes at home or a wagon. I agree. Can I ask you guys one question before I go? Yeah, always. So I asked you which team is like the most comfortable or which team you're the most comfortable with, which team are you most uncomfortable with?
Starting point is 00:48:23 Winnipeg. Yeah. I hate to say it because I love whenever we've talked all about it. That's my favorite series, Dallas Winnipeg. I just love both these teams. I love both the fan bases. But take the Hellebuck stuff away. I mean, certainly in round one, playoff Hellebuck was it?
Starting point is 00:48:41 That was a real thing. He was not playing well. He knows it. They knew it. Him on away ice, I just think you're never comfortable. But that team, you know, making jokes about the caps, like getting sleepy, that team gets sleepy more than any other team in these playoffs. They get ragdolled in some games.
Starting point is 00:48:59 And I just don't understand how they can be that good with that many good players. And sometimes games just look like they're totally out of it. So if I'm a Winnipeg fan, yeah, I'm the least comfortable. Because I'm just like, I don't know which version of our team is showing up night tonight. Yeah, that's probably the answer. But I will say on your Kane's comment, Las, my honorable mention for most consistent would maybe be the weifs, actually. in their losses. They're there.
Starting point is 00:49:24 They've been putting up a fight. They lost an OT to the Sends. And I guess they got pounded that one Ottawa game. Yeah, but last night was the only game where they looked like shit. Yeah. Agreed. And my honorable mention. And actually, Wall looked good.
Starting point is 00:49:38 Wall looked good in that game. That was kind of the sleeper thing going on about that game. My honorable mention for inconsistent is actually Vegas. Because I think they're so good and should be playing much better than they are. vanish within games. They literally will have these periods where I'm like, you just dominated for 20 minutes, went to the locker room, came back,
Starting point is 00:49:57 and got pounded into oblivion. So it's very strange the way they play sometimes. So true. Good stuff. All right. Well, as we love you. Thanks for plopping on. And I'll see you on Thursday.
Starting point is 00:50:09 Love you guys. Yeah, see you Thursday. I'm excited. Okay, so that's closing out that series. Yep. Like I said, not must win, but must look different. I like that.
Starting point is 00:50:20 Must look different. Series number three, we just touched on it a little bit. Stars Jets. Stars take a two to one series lead with who else, another dominant Miko Ranton and performance. Why don't you tee people off with the cadre tweet? Well, okay. Just talk about what's going on here.
Starting point is 00:50:38 Yeah. So the, well, first, actually, I just want to say this. For the Winnipeg fans, that it had a great game two. Great game two, big response. They win for nothing. Some really fun goals. that game too. So just like great play. The crowd was going epic. Um, the hockey guys were at that
Starting point is 00:50:55 game. They sent us some hilarious picks. That was awesome. Boys looking great. Yeah. As usual. Um, so they get their win to go one. One. We come back. Dallas wins at home after, after a great game. These have been such fun games. I said after game one. My favorite series. What, what is what a game? Rocket Man. They're both Rocket Men. Just awesome. We're in the stars. Of course. Of course it's the best. We're in jets in the stars. Yep. So, uh, stars get the win at home. Don't shake your head at that producer edge. get to win at home. After a good two, two, two, going to the third, I think.
Starting point is 00:51:25 You know, it's this really tight games, awesome stuff. Miko Rantanin continues to be an absolute psychopath goal and two assists three more points and the assist on the game winner, the goal on the insurance goal. And then Cadrey tweets after the game, a picture of himself and Rantan on the abs. And I think the tweet says, that's why you don't get rid of the dogs. Is that the correct quote? that's why you don't get rid of the dogs. And then I think they wrote like number 96.
Starting point is 00:51:53 Yes. The abs fans are down so bad. Yeah. It's awful. I know. We made the revenge tour shirts. And what's funny is we love our abs fans. I know. You all know that.
Starting point is 00:52:06 I think a lot of our abs fans think it's a shot at them. And obviously him beat. It was then his comments was we made the shirt before Miko's comments. Yeah. I was saying, well, I wanted to fucking bury them or something. Yeah. I was like, whoa. Just, hey, relax.
Starting point is 00:52:19 Because he said, right after that we made the joke about in our happy hour video, which you should all go watch. Yes, you should. He made the comment after that was like, I love them. And this was really hard for me. And then to hear him be like, actually, I was trying to kill me. Yeah. It's crazy.
Starting point is 00:52:34 I was like, oh, dude. And again, Aves fans, the revenge tour shirt is more about the haters because he got traded to Carolina and there were some sad ass fans being like, well, whatever, he's not even that good anyway. Yeah. And then he wasn't playing in Carolina. And Carolina fans were being like, this guy fucking sucks without McKinnon. And for us, the revenge tour is everyone acting like this guy's not one of the best players in the world.
Starting point is 00:52:55 That was the revenge. Now, I will say we have one of our unbelievable fans on our Instagram came in and, you know, we posted something about the fact that he had that 12 points in three games. And she was like, well, he'll go cold like he always does. And I was like, he always does that. Does he? And then he doesn't have any points in a game two. Yep.
Starting point is 00:53:18 And, um, are in the shutout, obviously. Yeah. And she was like, what do you know? And then game three happened and I was like, careful. And she was like, I'm sorry. I'm, you did. I don't, I'm dying here. I'm a dying abs fan.
Starting point is 00:53:30 So I think abs fans are just, it's like your teams out. You guys should be enjoying summer. But this just feels like a constant reminder, getting your nose rubbed in it, which you hate to see. Well, dude. And not to pile on the abs fans. I'm going to see if I can find this fast enough. But we had a buddy text, uh, during the game to our,
Starting point is 00:53:48 to our prep school thread. Yeah. Said, guys, imagine trading Miko Ranton. And I piled onto the thread, and I go, dude, imagine moving on for Miko Rantan
Starting point is 00:53:59 for cap concerns. We have to pay Kail. We never could have afforded everybody. One of the chicklets guys. Trade the whole team. Trade the whole team, except Nate and Kale to make sure you can keep him. One of the chipps guys.
Starting point is 00:54:12 Get out of you. Dude, one of the chiklots guys said, that should have been the three. You know, you build around kale, Nate and Miko. And that's multiple cups. Multiple cups. You can just keep that cord together.
Starting point is 00:54:26 The fact that he left when, and I know they didn't know yet, but the cap going up, all the projections were saying that. The cap going up to historic amounts. And you're like, ah, no, I just needed to get Nate's best friend out of here who's always produced, literally always. Yeah. Is mind-blowing to me, dude. And to watch him do this.
Starting point is 00:54:46 must kill so badly. Brutal. Yeah, we're not going to keep harping on the abs. We'll get into this series. I thought this game was a, was going to be a classic, classic playoff hockey game. Stars go up, Jets die it. Stars go up, jets tie it. And Petrovich scores, and it was that weird one, right? That was the foot bounce one.
Starting point is 00:55:08 Dude, yes. So let's talk about that. Yep. I think you were, you know, we're sitting there watching it and you were like, look at this, look at this. And I was like, oh, interesting. I can't believe this is even being talked about. That is a goal.
Starting point is 00:55:20 It's the golden moment. Triumph on the podium, golden hand. But with Corona Serro, golden moments go beyond the Winter Olympics. They're enjoying sunsets, time outside, reconnecting with nature, and laughs shared with friends. For every golden moment at the Winter Olympic Games, enjoy your own with Corona Serro, zero percent alcohol and a source of vitamin D. Corona Serro, the official non-alcoholic beer of Milano Cortina 2026. Okay, well, it clearly was, but the rule, I'm curious about what the rule itself states,
Starting point is 00:55:58 like verbatim in the rule. Yeah. Because I'm under the impression. Let me give you a scenario. Yeah. You're a goalie, okay. I, I said skating down on a breakaway. Yep.
Starting point is 00:56:12 And I've got the puck on my stick. And I flip the puck up and then I kick it at you. And it hits you and like kind of rattles around and then goes in. That's not a goal probably. Yeah, correct. But Dan, I thought you were about to say this because I actually have a spicy take on this that everybody hates. But this is how I feel. I think if you kick a puck in the net, it shouldn't be a goal.
Starting point is 00:56:38 Yeah. And that includes the like, well, it wasn't even a kicking motion. You just kind of stopped. Yeah. because that is a goal right now per the rules. But I'm like, it shouldn't be. You literally went in off of a dudes, off a forward skate. If it gets up a defenseman skate, like whatever.
Starting point is 00:56:52 And I also think, I want to jump in. I don't think that's that spicy. I get it. I think it's, that embodies like the pure nature of the game. And I guess it's hard because you're like, well, dude, what if the player is literally not even looking? Like it just puck ricochishes off his skate. I'm like, this, well, it went off his skate.
Starting point is 00:57:09 That's no goal. And on top of that, I think that, Any kick, any clear kick that hits something else and then goes in should be a goal because the kick has been negated, dude. So now we're in Harry Waters. I'm in fucking, I'm in murky water's here. Because I'm like, into yours, I think if you kicked it directly on frame, like if I'm going to kick it right. I mean, it rolls off my arm. To me, that's not a negate because I'm like, that was just, it's in the same motion.
Starting point is 00:57:38 Like I said, murky waters. I know. So now I'm like, now I'm like, oh, it has to be. directional change. You know, it's kind of like an own goal rule in soccer. Yeah. That was on, that wasn't on frame.
Starting point is 00:57:48 That's where it gets sketchy, right? Because if I rip a shot and you're standing in front trying to get a tip and it just hits your leg and goes in, you're like, well, that's a deflection. Yeah. But part of me is like, well, how is that different from when I throw in maybe wide and a guy's doing the stop move? The stop is ridiculous. You're like, that is a kick.
Starting point is 00:58:04 Clearly trying to knock. But I'm like, that's the exact same play that I just said to you. Yeah. But it's, I suppose it's the on frame that helps this one. Yeah. because that puck was kicked out into the front of the net. Like blatantly. He is literally trying to do that.
Starting point is 00:58:17 He goes, oh, let me get this out front and kicks it. And my point is, it's not on net. He's not kicking that. He's like, get this out in. Someone can touch it. And then Hella Buck puts it in. And you're kind of like, well, so that's why for me in my fucking bizarro fantasy land,
Starting point is 00:58:29 I am like, that should be a goal because even though it was a clear kick, it was back out in front and then what knocked in off Hellie. Cole in the chat just said Petra didn't even kick it in the net. It wasn't going in until Hellie hit it. And to me, Cole, 100% agree. And that is why it's a goal. And it's why I don't even think you can argue it. Yeah, okay.
Starting point is 00:58:48 So hold on. Deana says the rules of a puck is kicked and hits the goalie stick and goes in, it doesn't count. But if a player puts the puck in his own net by any means it counts. Yeah, okay, I get that. And I guess I'm just curious. It's the not on, I'm telling you guys, the reason that was called a goal is because the kick was not on net. That is simple. It's very simple.
Starting point is 00:59:07 Or, excuse me, it's a complicated play. but the reasoning is very simple in my opinion. The kick was not on frame. And that's that. You're allowed to kick the puck, guys. You're allowed to kick the puck. Of course. And it's just, I'm kind of surprised.
Starting point is 00:59:19 And freelancer says he's trying to kick it to his stick, which I believe. But he says, Dylan just said very well too, hell he swipes at the shot, not a deflection. Freelior, says he does hit it with his stick, which would clear, definitely negate it. I don't know if he actually did hit it with his stick. But yeah, I think I'm surprised. I'm happy it was a goal. But I'm surprised because in my mind, any. kicking motion, clear kick, whether you're trying to get it to the front or your stick,
Starting point is 00:59:43 whatever, any clear kick of the puck that kind of just pinballs in, I've seen in the past, then be like, no, because you kicked it and it was just then it went in the net. But so I was, I was super fine with this goal. I'm sure there are Jets fans that are pissed about it, but I was like, good. And this, not only should that be a goal, or not only was that the correct call, but also it should be, that should be the role. I'm not even pushing for a rule change. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:00:05 I support that. That was a goal. And then it's, it's one of those things, you know, I understand that the momentum shifts there, but Rantan in very shortly after that coming down, scoring a nasty goal, just his zone entry, his patience,
Starting point is 01:00:18 his shot selection, shot placement. Yep. Ridiculous. And then Wyatt Johnson, boom, another goal. It almost felt like those two goals for the stars,
Starting point is 01:00:28 was their way of being like, if you weren't comfortable with that goal, here's two more for you. How about that? Right. Little, little appurtee for you. Just fucking deal with it.
Starting point is 01:00:38 We're winning this guy. Yeah, they paired their kick-in goal with a ranting-in-snip job. So what's tough is I feel bad calling that a tough game for Hellebuck, because 808, say, a percentage in that game, five goals on 26 shots. That's a bad game. And it looks, it adds to his tally of like, here's another fucking road playoff game where you give up five goals. Right, but it sucks because, you know, through two,
Starting point is 01:01:04 it was just like, it's a two-two game. This is a classic playoff game, and then that happens. So it's a little tough, but. Oh for four on the power play for Winnipeg, one for two for Dallas. I think Dallas is not just because of being up to one in the series. I think Dallas is in control in this series right now. Now, obviously, you have another game here at home. And that is what I want to talk about next.
Starting point is 01:01:26 Man, I have said so many times how much I love both these teams and both these fan bases. I can't imagine. If you're a diehard fan and you're imagine traveling back and forth. No one's doing that. I can imagine. But I want to quickly take a moment and gas up the city of Dallas. Oh, okay. That fucking arena.
Starting point is 01:01:48 Oh, man. Looks insane. I want to go there so badly. The laser show, the green lights, the fans, and Dallas fans, if there are any Dallas fans in the chat, does Dallas have like a Maple Leaf Square? Because they had a watch party going on. I saw that on TV too. And that was fucking. That was cool.
Starting point is 01:02:05 Packed. Packed. with Stars fans. Play sounded loud. It looked crazy. Every now and then you get those moments where it looks like the camera is literally shaking on the feed
Starting point is 01:02:16 and you're like, good God. So people want to say, you know, you have all these butt hurt Canadian fans. Canadians, I love you, but you know what I'm about to say where people are going, oh, you know, hockey doesn't belong below this line. It doesn't belong in the south, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
Starting point is 01:02:32 Give me a fucking break, man. That, the airplane hanger, as I like to call it, that barn we're seeing we're seeing pnc plaza or victory plaza i guess it's probably the same thing there you go yeah yeah insane pnc baby there you go thank you charles i i am here to say i am desperate to get down there it's that looks like one of the coolest environments i've ever seen so just tons of stick taps to dallas fans to that city making hockey cool in the south in the state of texas that's so fucking awesome so it just looks amazing there and that leads into my point i do think Dallas has been the better team so far the series.
Starting point is 01:03:08 I think they've been one of the more, as we're just talking about with the last, consistent teams in these playoffs. And what an opportunity they have. Yeah. What an opportunity they have it at home to go up here. Boldie, dude,
Starting point is 01:03:19 did you see Bull. No. Everyone's just being like, God, Dallas, all the Dallas fans are so happy. Boldie Glazer, screw down. God.
Starting point is 01:03:27 You see, because you're on a kayak, dude, it's okay. He's on a kayak. Yeah. Actually, actually, actually being a Minnesota hockey fan,
Starting point is 01:03:33 I can, I can respect hating Dallas. You have to hate Dallas. because I took your team. You absolutely have to. That's actually so fine, that. I'm so sorry.
Starting point is 01:03:40 A couple of things for me on that game. Miro is still out. And I'm pissed at him because he's completely fucking up our voodoo doll theory. Well, we announced the voodoo doll theory and now someone is tampered with it.
Starting point is 01:03:55 Oh, interesting. By the way, I fucking love all you guys so much. The amount of voodoo magic reels that have been sent to the EFTETERs channel is hilarious. We were like,
Starting point is 01:04:05 yep, Dallas. stalas, dallas. Yeah. So the, I need that to get sorted because somebody's messing with the voodoo doll and the teakia. Someone get into the teakia right now and find out what's going on. And also, what is going on with Miro?
Starting point is 01:04:19 Because this is bullshit at this point. Or it's like complete head game. He was never ready. He's never going to play. Yeah. Because he was in full contact practices before game five. I think he was in. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:04:33 Oh, yeah. Okay. I was about to like a game. Are a series one, round one. I'm actually shocked. He didn't play against the ass. And then now everybody's back. Everybody's back except Miro.
Starting point is 01:04:43 When we get the Miro Hayskinan music, when that, when they go, is that Miro Hayskinan's music? And he starts playing. I think that might be one of the craziest lifts ever for this team. If you put that man back on the ice. But as I've said so many times, I tweeted out during that game, Thomas Harley is a goddamn dog he's so good dude he can you a map i just i'm so jealous of team sometimes i'm so i'm so jealous when you know the oilers you've got connor mac david yeah and then leon dry sidle is just there as well and you're like what the hell is going on here um another great one minnesota
Starting point is 01:05:21 boldy glazer when you've got uh um favor yeah and you you you know you extend him and then zeev it shows up and i'm like what and this dallas team we we saw it happened last year but But this Dallas team having Miro Haskin, who I think is one of the best defensemen in the NHL. And then Thomas Harley is just there as well. Yeah. And he gets his call up to four nations when Shea Theodore goes down. He plays so well.
Starting point is 01:05:48 He's just been great two years in a row. And now, you know, another playoff coming up party here. What a treat. What an absolute pleasure. It must be having both those guys on your team. And I will say you have a similar. I don't want to over gas. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:06:04 I don't want to over boost. but you have a similar dynamic duo in Winnipeg because Pionk has been incredible, incredible with all year, but with Morrissey missing some time. And then Morrissey is so good. It's fucking insane watching it. Like he gets back in the game and I was like, oh yeah, that'll be a boost for them. And then you watch him play and I'm like, oh my God, dude. You know what my favorite thing is?
Starting point is 01:06:27 My favorite thing about Josh Morrissey is I think he is objectively an offensive defense. He moves the puck really, really well. He's got incredible vision, also has a great goal-scoring touch. He will lay wood so unexpectedly. You'll be down low. And it's not even those open ice where he's got to look because he's a great skater. I think a lot of people, sometimes you'll see a smaller defenseman. You see it with Quinn Hughes a lot.
Starting point is 01:06:50 A smaller defenseman who hits really well and you're surprised by it. It's a lot of it has to do with the momentum you get because you're such a strong skier. Strong on your feet. You also move really quick. Get low. Use your legs. Morrissey will lay wood in the corner digging for pucks. Like he will staple someone.
Starting point is 01:07:07 And you're like, what the fuck is going on? But he's just a bigger body than people expect. He's such a good player. While moving like a Quinn Hughes on the blue lines. Yes. You know, like the way he can manipulate the puck and his hips at the blue line and vision, the back door shit. I'm like, what the fuck?
Starting point is 01:07:22 He is like a game changer in the exact definition of that term. So closing out this series, we obviously don't play until tomorrow night. But I think Otter's technically winning the goalie battle right now. Yep. Obviously, Dallas, great shout out in game two. And that was big. And big goal scores for Winnipeg in that game two. Your big boys went.
Starting point is 01:07:44 Yep. Kyle Conner's buzzing still. Shifeley's buzzing. Dude. What do you think right now? Do you feel like this is Dallas a series to lose? No. I think Jets win game four.
Starting point is 01:07:56 I love it. I think this is going seven. Yep. Me too. And it's going to be an awesome. awesome game. And every series, every game in this series is going to be amazing. But I do think we're getting very close to the return of Hayskin. So I do want people to keep those antennas up. I hope so, dude. He's pissing me off. He's now pissed me off.
Starting point is 01:08:15 Let's get into it. Yeah. Let's get into what everyone is waiting for. Panthers, Maple Leafs, shut out for Bob. The cats woke up. Yeah. And I will say, though, barely, because game three, we were like, I was talking to so many people saying this was going to be, this could easily, this could so easily become two, two. Panthers are going to still be so much better at home. It's going to be amazing. And it was gorgeous here this weekend. So we were like, all right, let's go to a bar in Santa Monica right by the beach to watch the Panthers game, Panthers Leafs game. A bunch of hockey boys coming. Everybody posted up.
Starting point is 01:08:58 As everybody knows, trying to get a group together. Sometimes it takes a second. You can be a little late. Find it in the table, all that shit. I walk into the bar, 25 seconds late. Bang, 1-0-0. And I'm like, you've got to be kidding me, dude. They're relentless.
Starting point is 01:09:13 And the fact that they went up 2-0 and 3-1, 2-2-goal leads in that game. Oh, it felt over. It felt over. I was like, this Panthers team, Bob is dead. This Panthers team is dead. And they have no fight left in them. They have no bite, no scratch. What a cat's, do they scratch you?
Starting point is 01:09:29 They have no scratch left at them. And they did. They did. And I give them a lot of credit for that. But in the moment, they were scratchless. They got declawed. That happens. I think you can declaw a cat.
Starting point is 01:09:40 Yeah, definitely. Well, do you take? I don't know, actually. That might have been made up. But I feel like you maybe could. That would kill them if you took their claws literally out. Like, no. Trim them.
Starting point is 01:09:50 Yeah. I said, series don't start. I'm acting like this as a term I made up. But I kept hammering. Yep. Series don't start until someone loses at home. Yep. And hot damn, they made it close.
Starting point is 01:10:05 Oh, yeah, it looked like it. They made it close. And you know what? I mean, you know I'm on the cat's bandwagon. Meow meow. Yeah. But they were still sleepy in game three. They were making mistakes that we weren't seeing them making round one.
Starting point is 01:10:21 And your comment, your theory, did this team tire themselves out, felt very possible, very real. Yep. That they were just exhausted. And let's let's, let's. give the flowers where they are deserved. Toronto looks awesome. Toronto looks awesome. They look awesome.
Starting point is 01:10:36 Willie Nealander, absolute dog. He's so fucking good. I think Marner's been playing great too. But that game was just sketch. It was as sketch as it gets. And I won't lie, Tavares getting that power play goal right off the bat in the second. I was like, fuck me. This is, you are not feeling good right now.
Starting point is 01:10:57 But what did we say? going into this game. Rino's got to get going, and Hagey's got to get going. And then bang, bang, Rhino for Hagee. They get those goals. They tie it up.
Starting point is 01:11:09 And even with Riley, that Riley goal was kind of sketch. That was 4-4. Yeah. Emergency response team leaves me in action, but it looked like that one went in. And I was like, okay, Bob's getting it a little bit.
Starting point is 01:11:26 After the third goal, it felt like Bob locked down for rest of that second period. That one went in and he looked pit. I actually, you know what I thought Hill on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, on the, on the David on the McDavid goal, the way he reacted wasn't like a, oh my, it was like, fuck that. Like I, I, I'm dialed. I'm feeling it again. I thought Bob did that on the Riley goal. Bob was kind of like that was bullshit. But who fucking else? Dude, well, it was who else? Yep. I will say that third period in, we're in game three right now. That third period felt like the Panthers were,
Starting point is 01:11:59 were like, we're going to win because they were up. Yeah. But they were only up a goal. But it was like, the Leafs aren't really threatening. We're going to win. And then that one bounced in. And it was all of a sudden like, oh, dude, you might lose now. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:12:10 Didn't they get a power play, dude? Wasn't there a Panthers power play like with the last two minutes of the game, remember? Yeah. Just I think that's right. It's just shit ice. But, um, but, let me check. So they got a power play with literally like one minute and 58 seconds left in the third period. So they spent the whole.
Starting point is 01:12:26 No, that's right. Patches took a tripping penalty. Yeah. at 1813. So I was like, here, here you go, dude. And then they didn't score there. And I was like, you know what? I think you accidentally played with your food a little bit here down the stretch.
Starting point is 01:12:37 And I know that was an unlucky goal, but now you're going to lose. And now you're down 3-0 in the series is over. And then, as you said, who else? Brad Marshan, everybody. That was fucking hilarious too. Because actually, shout out to one of my boys who's a big cats fan. He had texted me that in the second period, he texted me, it's going to be four, three, cats after two when it was three-one.
Starting point is 01:12:55 And I was like, that's a crazy. That's a crazy call. And then it was. and then the Leafs tied it and I go, who's going to win it? Or no, no, the Leafs tied it and he goes, it's going to be 5, 4, Marcian in overtime. Yeah, he did. And then that also happened. Shout out, Dan.
Starting point is 01:13:06 Bro. But Murles was on it, like so many people just because it was almost like it was meant to be that you would like, if this game's going to OT, obviously Marshan's going to do it. No question about it. And it felt too, this feels so, I don't want to say Leafs are going to leave because you guys, you haven't been doing that this year. Yeah. But it did feel very much like, okay, if this series is going to get tied.
Starting point is 01:13:28 up, wouldn't it be perfect if it happened in backbreaking fashion with an OT loss at the hands of Brad Marchand when it felt like you were about to go up 3-0? Yeah. That is, of course, how this happens. And like I said, with that goal for Riley, when it felt like Bob was pissed, I thought Bob was fantastic in that overtime. There was some serious chances, serious, serious, chances. He made some huge saves. He made a couple, one breakaway save and then one remarkable two-on-one save. Yeah. And then yeah, Brad, just, what do we keep saying? Throw it on the cage. Throw it on the cage. That's what Brad Marchand did, got the huge win, see the huge Selly. And then we head to game four. And this was an interesting one because I want to give tons of stick taps to Joe Wall.
Starting point is 01:14:14 Dude, he was fantastic. Oh my God. Joe Wall was fantastic in this game. He had 37 shots against and only two in. Nine, four, six, eight percentage, phenomenal. That's, that. That's, that, was the guy that you in Toronto named your starter for the season. Like people, most people forget that Stoli was the backup. And it was a tandem. It's the Swam and Elmark Day, but it was a tandem this year.
Starting point is 01:14:37 But Wall's getting more games. Wall's the guy that they expected to be, and still expect, by the way, to be their goalie of the future. That dude you saw right there. That's him. That's the dude you saw in the playoffs last year against the Bruins. He's dope.
Starting point is 01:14:49 So that, this series has become so, especially if Vegas wins tonight, so funny, the mirror situation where, one team the team kind of most people were picking against win the first two obviously home home and road different but then their goalie gets hurt the other guy goes in and now the other team has come back um so it's been funny to watch that but this was not on joe wall at all no no no
Starting point is 01:15:13 doubt about it first period goal for verhege going again again this is a if you're the panthers if you're this panthers team if you're the if you're the fans fantastic yeah fantastic that your guys are scoring again. Dude, Robert says you can absolutely declaw cat. Hell yeah. There you go. Thank you. Declone cats. Thank you, Robert. That better be a house cat. Otherwise they fucked. Yeah. So you have Verhege going. You get that goal. But then it's a, it's a burner, right? It's back and forth. We actually, I think it was the second period. Willie Nealander got a breakaway and my guy, Gustav Forsling, fucking, yeah. So there's a reason he wins most fit player every spring or every, uh, every fall leading
Starting point is 01:15:55 to the season. Like he is just, he is a horse. Chased Willie Down made a great play, didn't take a penalty. But it felt to me, and I'm curious, I'm sure Katz fans were sweating the whole game. Watching it, I was not worried. Bob looked so locked. And this was the first game in this series without a doubt that we've seen the Florida D, right? Florida D that's brought them to two straight cups, this was their first really great game. I think it was 23 shots on the game for Toronto.
Starting point is 01:16:27 They were clogging the box. They were really preventing lots of neutral zone breakouts. No turnover that we saw in games one and two. And it changed everything. And yeah, they, they, is he? It looks like Laz is trying to pop that game. Oh, nice. But anyway, I just, I thought the game was so in control.
Starting point is 01:16:51 And then Bennett obviously scores that disgusting goal. I want to talk about Sam Bennett, and if Laz is, if Laz is, if Laz is, if Laz is John, get him in. Um, also Jack, Jack just killed me with us. He goes, can we address that the cats fans are chanting USA? Like both their goals came from Canadians and their Russian monster saved their ass. And I do love that. Last time I checked Florida was in USA.
Starting point is 01:17:11 I do love. U.S. I do love an American. I remember the Bruins, when the Bruins were playing the Canucks in 11, there were so many USA chants in Boston. And the Bruins at the time had the most Canadian roster in the league. It's always hysterical. Actually, I think it cracks me up.
Starting point is 01:17:27 Okay, Laz might be gone. Laz, if you're listening, jump on whatever you want. This Sam Bennett thing, Dan, I watched that goal, and I admit 100% till the last couple years, I wasn't watching a ton of Sam Bennett hockey. You know, like he was a high pick that maybe wasn't like this. Had to change his game a little bit. Yeah, exactly. That became like a more physical, tough guy.
Starting point is 01:17:50 And I was like, whatever, dude. and when they make their run two years ago, you kind of become more aware of him and then watching, there's obviously so many marshy comps. We're like, he's a goon, he's a rap, but I'm like, well, he's productive. He almost like right in front of my eyes, or maybe he always has been the whole time
Starting point is 01:18:09 in fairness to him, and I just haven't noticed. Yeah. He isn't a tough physical guy that can get you a goal every now and that. He is gross. at hockey. Like he is so good at controlling the puck,
Starting point is 01:18:25 stick handling, shooting, everything that he does out there, I'm like, what the fuck? Who is ever like this guy is, and it's like when Marcia took that jump to a hundred point guy out of nowhere.
Starting point is 01:18:34 Yep, what the fuck? I swear to God, we're watching it, how old is he? Sam Bennett is, well, here's what I want to say, but he's 20 years old.
Starting point is 01:18:41 What I wanted to say, I don't want to cut you off because you're on a roll, you're buzzing. Sam Bennett is a, you know, he was on Calgary. Yep.
Starting point is 01:18:49 and was in a situation, you mentioned this all the time. Yeah. He was in a situation where he was a great player. There wasn't room on the roster for him to break into the top six. And then he comes over to Florida. And in another situation, there wasn't really room for him to be on the top six. But you see in this season, you know, in four years in Florida, 71 games, 49 points, 63 games, 40 points, 69 games, 41 points.
Starting point is 01:19:16 Then this past season, 76 games, 51, and 25 goals this year, too. But, dude, he scored, he scored 28 goals in 21, 22. Like, you're right, he is a very high-skilled player, but he just, he is, so many people want to call him a rat, so many people want to be like, oh, he's such a scumbag, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, and we defend him all the time because, guys, he's a Tom Wilson, he's a Brad Marshand. He is this type of guy that, sure, if you're playing against him, you talk shit, you think he's so dirty, you think he's this, you think he's that.
Starting point is 01:19:45 Teammates love him, coaches love him, because he's the most for the cause guy who has ever lived on earth possible. My job. Dude. Truly, man. And he saw a role on this Panthers team. He did it perfectly, and it's brought them to two straight cups and won one of them. And if you remember,
Starting point is 01:20:03 four nations, when he was called for that team, John Cooper gave him a call, said he was going to make this roster. And John Cooper told him, he was like, hey, I don't know how much you're going to play. I don't know exactly what your role is going to be. and Sam Bennett cut him off and said, if you tell me right now I will never dress, I will not play,
Starting point is 01:20:17 I'm still coming. That is who Sam Bennett is. And that is why this summer, there's going to be a line around the fucking block of teams offering him a contract because this is what he does. And dude, I think he's,
Starting point is 01:20:30 and Tom Wilson had such a good year this year, 33 and 32 for 65 points. And I love Willie. He's my guy, dude. I am just said zero chance. Zito, let's Benny leave and I completely agree. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:20:41 But I was going to say, I genuinely, he feel like San Bennett is trending towards exceeding a Tom Wilson. Like right now they're like, God, he's turning into a Tom Wilson. I'm like, I think he's turning into even more than that. He's only two years younger, but it's crazy. Look at this, dude. His playoffs, you just were reading his points, right, in the regular season, Bennett's.
Starting point is 01:21:00 And they're fine, right? Like he hasn't had any monster years yet, really. He's got a great goal record, like you said. But dude, go all the way back to every time he's ever been in the playoffs. first year ever he's 18 4 points in 11 games But then 2 points in 4 games 5 points in 5 games
Starting point is 01:21:18 8 points in 10 games 5 points in 5 games 3 points in 10 games that 1 2 Florida years ago 15 and 20 14 and 19 and 8 and 9 so far this year He's damn near a point per game guy in the playoffs the whole time Shows up even when he wasn't doing anything
Starting point is 01:21:35 shows up in the regular season So I am just in This is too boosty now but I'm like in awe of Sam Bennett's play. Like that goal, I was like, dude, you're nasty.
Starting point is 01:21:44 It was so nasty. But it's also, this is his game, right? Like you're in my world now. Yeah, yeah. The ice gets a little smaller like you talked about with nature.
Starting point is 01:21:51 Just like maybe guys like that. We're in the mud now. Yeah. And he is like, well, good news. I am the creature from the fucking blue lagoon. I am going to murder all of you.
Starting point is 01:21:59 This is where he thrived. Yep. He was born in the dark. And this is great for him. And as I gave, gave Dallas a ton of love for their fans, we got to show it up to Amaran again. You know, sunrise, the people of sunrise, it's another one of these things.
Starting point is 01:22:13 You want to talk shit about Florida. You want to make those all six of us comments, unironically, actually being like Florida fans, they don't even know hockey. Look at the videos. I'm looking at one right now, Twitter. That place was going fucking berserk. Rats on the ice, towels waving. I mean, no, people, guys in the league, no, no one wants to go and play there.
Starting point is 01:22:31 And that was just a, that was a huge, huge response, huge performance from Bob. Yep. And yeah, I think we saw, and you mentioned it earlier, we saw the first game for me where I was like, oh, Toronto, that was a, you got beat up there. Now, obviously, game five is going to be huge, going back home. Okay, agree. But that was big.
Starting point is 01:22:57 And I do, I'm going to give you the floor, but I do want to talk about Matthews a little bit. Okay. So should I, should I go? Yeah, yeah, get into it. Yep. But Austin Matthews is, in my opinion, laboring. I think something's wrong.
Starting point is 01:23:13 I think he's carrying an injury that we don't know about that's been undisclosed. Just a few things for Matthews. Matthews currently has less goals than Cole Coughfield in these playoffs. He has less goals than eight different players on the Oilers. He is getting a Lundell matchup. And Lundell is one of the best defensive centers in the game. Don't get me wrong. but he's not really getting matched up against Barkov that much in this series so far.
Starting point is 01:23:38 It's mostly Lundell. And he's still been very, very quiet. And this Leafs team has been doing phenomenally. They look great. They look stronger than they've ever looked, in my opinion. I think there is a point where if you're getting paid what you're getting paid, if you're talking about the way you're talked about, injury or not, there is definitely a bit of a freak out going on amongst fans.
Starting point is 01:24:01 And maybe in that locker where you're like, It'd be fucking great if Austin was going. It'd be fucking great. So that's something to discuss. And it is, and it's interesting, though, because he has 10 points. He's a point per game. He has eight assists, right? So it's not like he's gone, which we've seen stars do before.
Starting point is 01:24:19 You know, where you go, major guys sometimes just completely vanishing playoffs have no points and not contributing in any way, shape, or form. Austin Matthews, to not chirp, is producing. He has 10 points in 10 games. He is winning every fucking faceoff that has ever been 10. taken in the history of a hockey game. He plays, he's always been a good defensive forward, right? It's sneaky good defensive forward.
Starting point is 01:24:39 Yep, yep. He's doing a lot. That's so true. He's always getting sulky voids. He's doing a lot out. So he's not having a bad playoff. Yeah. But you're right when you're a fucking 70 goal guy.
Starting point is 01:24:51 It's like it kind of gets in the room. It's like in the ether of the room at times where you're like, you got a score gold. Like I hear fucking Austin Matt. It's like you have the best shot of ever seen. Hey, look at me. You got a score goal. And thanks for the assist.
Starting point is 01:25:02 And thanks for the assist. draws. Thanks for snapping it back. But I also need you to fucking rip one into the net. If you, I want to talk a couple more, it leaves things. The good news, even though you lost, and this is a nightmare, and it's two, two, and oh my God, they, you did not get bodyed. This was their worst game, but they, they're in it. I thought you, the Panthers were one for six on the Powerfly. I thought you did a great job. I thought your goalies, no matter who you have, look great still, and you had chances. Right. So I'm Toronto. I'm, not, this isn't like, holy fuck collapse city.
Starting point is 01:25:37 It's you're in a fucking bloodbath. Would you think you were going to roll on the Panthers? Like, come on. I know it felt good being up too well, but this is the Panthers and this is the playoffs. So that's what you're dealing with here. Matthews is around the goal. Someone said to someone in the chat, it's going so fast right now, but someone said he's missing the net a lot, which he is.
Starting point is 01:25:52 Yeah. But it's like he's getting shots. You know, he has the puck on his stick and high danger chances. I like all that. Here's my one question. The antics at the end. to the game. Max Ome comes in, bodies bark off from behind. Adobe Acrobat Studio, your new foundation. Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Starting point is 01:26:15 Grab your docs, your permits, your moves, AI levels of your pitch, gets it in a groove. Choose a template with your timeless cool. Come on now, let's flex those two. Drive design, deliver, make it sing. AI builds the deck so you can build that thing. Do that, do that, do that with that crap. Learn more at Adobe.com slash do that with acrobat. Which, by the way, it's been announced $5,000 maximum fine, no game suspension. No suspension.
Starting point is 01:26:43 And I don't want it. I didn't want him to get one. Neither do I because I don't like suspensions. I'll be honest. I'm shocked. That was the most like there is literally, we always talk about, is it a hockey player or not? Yeah. There is literally nothing he could have been doing there other than going,
Starting point is 01:26:58 I'm going to bury Barkup from behind it to the board here. And Dan, from so far away. So far. That's what was crazy to me, where he was like, and Barkoff, there's no turn. There's no, like,
Starting point is 01:27:07 last second turn. It's literally, he's just standing like, end of the game. Yeah, game over. Two nothing, end of the game. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 01:27:15 Domy goes fly. I am shocked that that's not a suspension. And it wasn't, to be fair to Domi and all the least fans, it wasn't, um, like, an runaway freight train hit.
Starting point is 01:27:26 He hit him hard. I'm not trying to act like that was nothing. It was stupid. It was so dumb. That's what I couldn't believe. I was like, Like, what are you doing? And here's what I never know, dude.
Starting point is 01:27:34 I never know the answer to this. And I know what Ruby would say. So maybe he loves that play. Yeah. But to me, I'm like, I don't think you needed that. Like what message do you think you just sent where you're like, oh, now the Panthers are going to know that we can rough them up? Where in reality, I'm like, no, now they're just pissed. And Matthew, fake or not fake, Matthew gets to do his bullshit now to the bench when he's like, you know, here comes the elbow, like exactly what he was doing.
Starting point is 01:28:00 Yeah. I mean, CP, what, Hegel? I was going to bring up what, what happened when Hegel popped Barkov? So I'm just like, I'm like, dude, we need it. What was the motivation there? Did they, and remember Jets? I said this. Also, stop doing it to Barkoff. Yeah, dude, poor guy. God, Jesus Christ, he's like the nicest guy, most respected guy in the league, definitely on that team. And team just keep running this guy. Yeah. What the fuck are you doing? And dude, remember the Jets, people, some people in the chat, OG chat, people will remember
Starting point is 01:28:30 when I said the Jets, when they lost game three to St. Louis, had a million fights in the last two minutes. And I was like, scroll up, dude. Like you lost. I know you're trying to send a message for next game, but you fucking lost and now you're embarrassing yourself. This is in that territory for me, where I'm like, yo, you lost two games.
Starting point is 01:28:47 We're in a dog fight now. This game is over. You've played your worst game. I don't need you to run Barkoff from behind at the buzzer just to like what. Be like, we're not going anywhere. And I'm like, well, you're going somewhere. We're going back to Toronto, too, too. That's where we're going.
Starting point is 01:29:00 So, and now Matthew's doing it. Yeah, so that, I did not, I did not approve of that message. I do not approve of that. Just because it was not needed, dude. It was not needed. Just go back. Just go back to the locker and be like, we're better than them. It's okay.
Starting point is 01:29:13 We lost these two games. We're going to Toronto. We can win in Toronto. We're fine. Yeah. I'm totally with you. I've never really been a huge fan of that, the bullshit, if you're losing. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:29:24 And I just, I think it's bulletin board material. Something that I think is really interesting. We were talking about Matthew. is I'm going to take an S off of that and talk about Matthew. I think Matthew Kachukuk is a guy that some people have been like, oh, Kachuk's been quiet. Chuck's been quiet. He's got eight and nine,
Starting point is 01:29:39 which surprised me. Yeah, but it's the same as Matthews, right? He's got three goals, which is, yeah, three goals, five assists, eight and nine. It's similar Matthews scoring,
Starting point is 01:29:47 where I'm like, who score more. He's another one where, yeah, I am like, he's talking that shit. And he's a guy when he was scoring all those OT fucking, absolute spine goals.
Starting point is 01:29:59 That is where if Matthew Kachuk starts scoring while beaking, this series is over. And that's what he did in Tampa. Yeah. Like he came out and after all that shit and then scored immediately, you know, like these three goals were like right after that. I'm telling you, game five in Toronto, if Matthew Kachuk scores a goal, I am mortified. Truly mortified. And I want to say, too, I know there's a ton of Toronto fans in here, especially
Starting point is 01:30:23 your boy Jack. This is a chippy series. I don't want to act like, oh, Max Domi's running people. Eklad's swinging elbows because that's his game. Sam Bennett's hitting people hop high. That's his game. So this is a chippy series and it's going to remain a chippy series. Yep.
Starting point is 01:30:40 Especially because of what happened at the end of game for. Yeah, 100%. So series tied up, unbelievable stuff. What are your closing thoughts as we wrap up this episode as we wrap up this series? I'm super excited that this series went this way because it's awesome. now. It's just, it's just great. It's better for hockey. Home teams are winning. Both teams believe they can win in either direction and you're
Starting point is 01:31:05 getting great goalie play. Or you are now hopefully from Bob. The Toronto goalies have been great the whole time, I feel like, even though they've given up some goals in games, I think the goalies have been really good. So I'm super excited about that. I'm loving, I mean, God, if we can go 2-2, if we can go 2-2 in both
Starting point is 01:31:21 tonight, then we're laughing. Chris, I I'm salivating. I feel like a dog in heat. thinking about the possibility of 2-2 in both these series. Amazing. Be incredible. So yeah,
Starting point is 01:31:35 no, it's been really good. And some great storylines, man, some great storylines. This one is going to be of tilt right to the end. Unbelievable. Huge episode.
Starting point is 01:31:43 Great stuff in the chat today, guys. Great stuff from you. Chat, fine. Great stuff from you. Great stuff from you. Edge.
Starting point is 01:31:48 Great stuff from Edge. Edge was actually battling today. He really was. We just put him through so much shit. Eddie joins. Ryan joins, Las joins last minute. Guys,
Starting point is 01:31:56 if you haven't noticed, we've got unbelievable gear on there. Come on. It's CPs, Netters Bear. The t-shirt is sick. It's such a sweater, but the t-shirt is sick. That's such a good vibe for the summer. And then obviously, I had to create a rink-rack shirt.
Starting point is 01:32:11 We got so much good stuff on the store. Panthers fans, I know you're in the chat. That elbow room tea is phenomenal. We've got the revenge torn Miko T. We've got all this fun stuff. Check out the links in our bios on Instagram, Twitter, everything. You'll see the Friday Beer Shop. You'll see all these cool designs.
Starting point is 01:32:24 Grab some merch. Subscribe to the YouTube. I know a lot of you beauties in this chat right now. even subscribed yet. You've got to just check. You're going to click that subscribe button. Follow us on all the socials. Keep following us along. We're going to have the podcast recording late tonight. Yeah, we're recording late tonight because they're asking about bingo. We're recording tonight. So no bingo tonight. We'll do bingo on Tuesday because we won't be recording Tuesday. So we'll see you there. And Ty wants a nail shirt. We do have to make one.
Starting point is 01:32:49 We should. We do have to make a new shirt. We got to figure out what it is, Ty. But we'll, we'll do a nail shirt, done and done. All right, guys, we love you. Great, great show today. Thank you all so much for being in the channel.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.