Empty Netters Podcast - The Rags lock up Laffy, the Wild are Buzzing, and the Penguins are in trouble | 144
Episode Date: October 30, 2024It's extension season as Laffy, McCabe, and Theodore all sign big deals. Utah is dealing with some season altering injuries. The Atlantic is a complete log jam and will be all season. The Avs are back... in a big way. Plus, the boys introduce a new game called Connective Tissue! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: / @emptynetterspod FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.nette... FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: / empty.netters PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use bonus code “AF200” and enjoy the “Bet 10 Get 200” offer on your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. CASHAPP. Download CashApp and take control of your finances! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cash-ap... FUNKAWAY. To check out the full family of FunkAway products go to http://www.funkaway.com to learn more funk’in cool stuff. And head over to Amazon right now and grab FunkAway products with just a few clicks. FIREBALL . Fireball’s iconic cinnamon flavor tastes fire and goes down easy, making it the ultimate crowd pleasure. Go pick up some from your local liquor store and join us in drinking Fireball during our game days this season! #IgniteYourRivalry EVERYMANJACK. Give Every Man Jack a shot today and go to http://www.everymanjack.com and use code “NETTERS” at checkout for 25% off your first order CBDMD. Visit http://www.cbdmd.com to explore their extensive range of products and find the perfect solution for your needs. Don’t forget to use code “FRIDAY” at checkout to get 30% OF + Free Shipping. DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more CHOMPS. If you are looking for the PERFECT on the go snack that has zero grams of sugar and packed with high quality protein, then Chomps is for you. To learn more about Chomps, click here! http://www.chomps.com/emptynetters (00:00) INTRO (02:49) HOT ICE (37:42) The Atlantic (39:53) 10 Games in (54:24) Beer League (58:50) Trending (01:11:26) Starting 6 (01:17:30) Connective Tissue Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
What is the plan?
That's where I'll stop.
What's the plan, Phil?
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BetMGM.
We're in a new studio.
First episode in the new studio, and I'm pissed.
I just want, I feel good, dude.
I can relax in here.
Yeah.
Every episode we've ever done, I've been tight.
I'm just staying.
I'm relaxed.
I'm staying on top of people.
Okay.
Go on.
This is bullshit.
This new studio is great.
It looks beautiful.
I'm psyched to be in here.
The lighting is way better.
Yeah.
We're going to hopefully stop getting so many DMs from people going,
can you please hire me to be your production coordinator to fix the lighting because the lighting is terrible?
The lighting has been fixed.
It's great.
I hope.
But we're supposed to have a fucking table.
You know, for all the rest of development fans out there, you know how the Magicians Alliance has a slogan.
We demand to be taken seriously.
That is how I feel right now, dude.
It's just like, it's so great in here, isn't it?
Where's my fucking day?
We asked for one thing.
Where's my fucking table?
They said, put your lists of requests down.
As much as you want.
We submitted one.
We literally put the table down and I said,
I will pay for this out of my own wallet.
Just make sure there's a table here.
And listen, hey, we're going to get it.
Now, the good news is I talked to Paige.
We're getting the table.
Page is all over it.
Yep.
She's a beast.
That said,
the table's not fucking here.
And I demand.
I'm pissed at the table.
I demand to be taken seriously.
I'm pissed at big table.
Yeah.
Not page.
I'm pissed that.
Yeah.
Because wherever we got this table from,
they're fucking up.
Exactly.
Like we put in the request.
They put in the request.
Table hasn't come.
We said first episode in the news studio is this day,
the 28th of October.
Make sure it's there by then.
They said, we got you.
Yep.
They don't got shit, dude.
Wow.
It's bullshit.
it. Wow. But otherwise it's great.
Otherwise, it's, I can be allowed. Otherwise, it's fantastic.
You know, we'll get more hockey stuff in here. We're going to do that, though. We're
going to get more hockey stuff. Yeah, yeah, we're going to get more hockey stuff in here.
And then once the table gets in here, we're going to be fucking buzzing. We are going to be
absolutely firing. Yeah, it's going to be unbelievable.
Great episode for us today. We got the Philip Forsberg episode that came out on Monday.
Yeah. Unbelievable. Guys just so cool.
He is extremely...
He's a cool dude.
I think kids are saying aura now.
Yeah, he's got aura.
And he just like he walks in and I'm like, yeah, Flip.
He's got aura.
So if you haven't checked that out, check it out immediately.
But what's pretty sweet is...
Preds.
3 and 0.
Ping!
3 and O.
Since Flip came on the Empty Netters podcast, started with us in the building and a shalacking of the Bruins.
Yep.
Flip also buzzing.
Dude, he said...
All over the score sheet.
When you listen to the app
or when you go listen to it,
if you haven't, yeah,
he said in the shoutout at the end,
he said,
let my appearance on the Empty Netter show
begin the Predators Hot Street.
He said that out loud.
He sure did.
They have not lost since he came on.
Yeah, 3 and 0.
And that leads us perfectly
into the first thing
we need to discuss today tonight.
So by the time this episode's out,
the game will be played,
but tonight,
we got Stammers's return to Tampa Bay.
And again,
since you, like you just said,
since it's late,
we're not going to like wax poetic
about it,
will already happen, but I just want to say, having talked to him a bit, having talked to his
family a bit in our national trip, which was awesome, he, it's a lot of emotions for him on, on
every level.
Like being a Nashville, leaving Tampa, all that's still a thing.
Like, I know it's a business and he's a pro, and it's like on to the next, but it's just,
it's still a thing.
And, you know, they were joking, his parents were joking, like, someone wanted to come see
Stephen after the game, and it's like, we don't actually know where to go.
Because in Tampa they're like exactly
Use this door, take this tick
They're like I don't know how to get around Bridgetone
Yeah dude 16 years in one place
Like it's you feel like a little kid again
Yeah totally
You're like I'm leaving home for the first time
Dude like the guy played
Like lived 18 years of his life playing hockey
Then gets drafted and goes to Tampa
And then lived 16 years of his life playing hockey
And now he's moving somewhere else
And he's like what the fuck dude
Like he's probably gonna walk to the wrong locker
100%
He's never been on that bench
He's never been in the visit
It's crazy
They're asking a lot of them
Yeah. So, and I'm glad, honestly, dude, I mean, I love the Preds anyway, but given the situation,
I'm glad they're firing again. Yeah. If they limped in their fucking 0 and 8. Yeah. I'm sure that he's going
to get an incredible ovation. But even that post we did, what was it? Or maybe we were just talking
about the Preds having a slow start in one of our clips or something, but a lot of comments,
oh, it was the, it was the dumb and dumber thing. Oh my God. A lot of comments on that were like,
you know, as a Boltz fan, kind of happy that he's not playing well, you know? And I was like,
Dude, boo to those fucking losers.
Yeah, I was like, bro, he's the man, and it wasn't his fault.
He wanted to stay.
Yeah.
And he got dogged.
So I'm glad they're playing better.
Because if they limped in 0 and 7 and he had no points, I would be like this.
And I'm going to give them a, I'm going to give those people a pass because I think that there's a chance that they were like, dude, I feel that way because it just would have been said.
It would have been sad.
Would have hurt even more.
I'm not like, fuck you stammer.
I'm more like, uh, it would just would have hurt to see him be good somewhere else.
Yeah.
But I'm still kind of like, fuck off, dude.
Dude, I...
He's in a different division.
He's in a different conference.
Let him fly.
So, dude, look at this.
I'm so anti-man now, as in the establishment.
Anti-man.
I hate the man.
Oh, the man.
Yeah.
Fuck commerce, dude.
Yeah.
Agree with that.
Because, bro, I don't know when it happened, but I used to be like, I'm a Red Sox fan.
I'm a Bruins fan.
I'm Patriots Celtics, whatever, Chelsea.
But, like, now I just...
hate these corporations.
I don't know what they're doing.
I don't know what they're doing, dude.
And I like the players.
Yeah.
And now I do the exact opposite of what we were just describing those fans do.
And dude, it doesn't always work out, but like, Mason Mount gets jacked out of Chelsea.
Zander Bogart's jacked out of Boston.
I literally hope they go win Ballandors and MVP.
I'm like, I hope, I hope Man You Win's 10 straight titles on the back of Mason Mount now,
you fucking pricks.
That's how I felt.
And like, Zander, I was like, I hope the Potter's win the World Series.
it's so crazy to me how the young me would never have believed that go dodgers mookie yeah yeah literally
where it's like team over everything now i'm like no dude and i i like when the players get to
motherfuck the corporations yeah who motherfucked them would you you're kind of a communist i think is that
communism because if it is then i am a communist i didn't know that but if it is then fine no i'm just
i i i'm just i i'm just i'm funny to call you a communist yeah because and i'm dude but we are down
with corporations dude dude
fuck these corporations.
All I care about is
the people.
Yeah, dude.
I'm a man of the people.
I would like to give Rome back to the people.
Call me Marcus Aurelius.
Yeah.
There was a dream that was Rome.
Yes, dude.
And you could only whisper it.
Yeah.
Anything more than whisper and it would finish.
And dude, it wasn't given to the people.
Yeah, no, I'm about the people too.
I'm about the people too.
So we're, you know, like, you're rooting for stammer tonight.
Oh, dude.
And I can't wait.
Here's the one thing.
The lightning did a lot wrong with Stammer.
A lot wrong.
But the one thing that they did not,
that they will not do wrong,
I guess past tense when you're listening to this episode,
did not do wrong.
I can already count on it is the tribute video.
Yeah.
That will be played in Tampa tonight.
It's going to be chills.
It will be chills,
it should win best short at the Oscars.
You know what will be sick
is when we pop that game on in our office
and watch it.
Oh, fuck, we can't do that.
because the TVs aren't set up.
But soon.
Thanks a lot, Edge.
Wow, dude, if he's listening to this, he's going to be so mad.
Just a little dig at our boy Edge there, who is not set up the TVs in the sports
annex.
What am I supposed to do, dude?
How am I supposed to do my job?
How am I supposed to chip with that going on, Doug?
Can't you watch it in the theater?
There's like a theater now.
Yeah, but that's not the point, dude.
Yes, it is.
That's where we watch games.
This is a principal thing, dude.
I am the Dyson vacuum man.
I've said it a million times.
I just want things to work properly.
The TVs should work properly in the sports annex.
Yep.
And I won't rest.
Yeah, correct.
I won't rest until it's done.
Okay.
Well, it's going to be chills and I can't wait to watch that game.
I can't wait to watch that game too.
Hope the Preds win.
I just want to intro Wags on camera for the first time.
Oh.
Say what's up to the people, Wags?
On camera finally.
And just happy to be here.
So I appreciate you guys and excited to continue rolling.
Wags, Wags, join us on the next.
trip.
You guys all got to hear that,
but he was the quiet assassin,
the silent assassin.
Yes.
Invisible assassin.
Not his fault.
He didn't have a mic.
Exactly.
But now we're dialed in.
That was his rookie lap right there.
That was a hot lap,
no bucket.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So welcome Wags to the pod.
Thrilled to have you.
Thrilled to have him on camera, finally.
That's good stuff.
Boom.
That's good stuff.
Atlantic, Toronto.
Another signing.
Jake McCabe extended in Toronto.
Unbelievable.
Dan, I don't,
um,
pull up his numbers and...
Five years.
4.51
AAV.
I always love the random numbers like that.
You know people are cooking books
when a number comes in like that.
I'm like, all right, cool.
Freak.
I don't know what you're up to, but okay.
Or I like to think that it's like an agent
being like 200K more.
And they're like, fine, fucking, yeah, like take whatever.
But last year, full season in Toronto,
73 games, eight goals, 20 assists, a plus 20.
Career highs in goals and points and plus minus.
He's on the second pairing.
28 points from your second pairing D-Man
who's definitely kind of more of like a
I think he's a balanced player like he's
clearly bringing some offense but he's a decently
gifted defensive player
What I think is cool Dan is last year
I think we've talked about this before but
like what was it? It was two seasons
ago I think when the Leafs
added all that D at the deadline right
it was the dubus year
yeah it was. Yeah I think that's right
we made an unreal video
that got banned from IG
it was lay miss
when they're singing one day more.
Yes.
And we had it.
It was deep as singing one D more.
And it was like him getting all this.
That video was so funny.
It's goaded, dude.
I wish I could get it online somehow.
Maybe I can put it on YouTube or something.
Whatever.
But anyway, that was,
McCabe was part of that.
I'm pretty sure, unless I'm,
I'm remembering incorrectly.
No, actually, I know he was.
So when that happened,
I felt like Toronto was doing that thing
where they're like,
they get all this,
this mid-tier D thinking this was going to solve the problem and it isn't.
It's the same way, dude, in fantasy football, when people are always trying to trade you,
like, your stud for three okay guys.
And I'm like this, the okay guys do not help me at all.
Yeah.
And I was like, oh, Toronto's bringing in all this okay D.
And I'm not, they're not bad, but like they're okay guys.
It's not going to change a thing.
And then it was like first round exit.
I guess they won the first round that year.
but like immediate loss, first round exit last year.
And so I want to be like ha ha ha, ha, resigning Jake McCabe.
Yeah, that'll fix it.
But I got to say, he showed up and put up a career year and is doing his job,
Bill Belichick style.
He is doing his job.
And that's a good number.
That's not a lot of money for a guy that's doing his job and giving you probably 30 points this year.
What do you think about this?
I'm not going to knock.
tree living and I'm not going to knock the leafs.
Like ultimately, for me, I'm like any time,
that's a good year, dude.
28 points from your second pairing D, man.
I'll take that all day.
I'm just going to look up Carlos number as well.
Yeah, and 4.51 mil a year with the cap going up,
I don't hate this one bit.
I love this signing.
I think it's great stuff.
And for Toronto, I'm like, stack D to the fucking ceiling.
To the moon.
Stack D to the fucking ceiling.
Morgan Riley is a great player.
He gets dogged a little bit by a lot.
of people, a lot of people in the media, but like Morgan Riley's a great defenseman.
But I do think I want to see who is that other great defenseman?
When we talk about Marner's contract coming up, Tavares' contract coming up, they're talking
about extending Marner.
There's even been people being like, bring Tavares back, just bring them back on a more
reasonable number.
If I'm the Leaps, I'm like, absolutely not.
I'm trading one of them or letting them go and doing everything in my power to sign the best
defenseman that hits UFA.
Like they need the second guy who is there like you are a phenomenal defense.
Yeah.
Like that is what you need on that team.
You need to look at that roster and go who's on D for the Leafs and they need to go, well, we've got Morgan Riley and then obviously we've got this guy.
And they signed TANF.
That's great.
Amazing.
Sure.
But like the Leafs aren't off to the best start.
Certainly not the best start defensively.
And my big thing with TANF was what did they sign him till?
He's fucking 40 years old.
It's a long time.
Like literally 40.
And I love this McCabe signing, but like McCabe's 31.
So that's five years.
Now you got him on the books till he's 36.
Again, that's a super low number.
And in a couple of years, it's going to be a really low number.
But I just want the Leafs to invest in D.
And I think this is a good start.
Me too.
You've got him locked up.
You've got Tannav locked up.
Like, this is good stuff.
Agree.
I think everyone's happy there.
Because that, like I said, good number.
I sure McCabe's happy.
Carlo, four goals, 10 assists, 14 points plus 23 last year.
Yeah.
And I love Carlin.
Carlo is a second tier.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I love him.
And what's Carlo's number?
Four.
Good question.
I think it's like four, two, five or something.
I actually think that's right.
But anyway, that's, what's, what's, what's McCabe?
Four, five one.
Four, five.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Carlo five, four, five.
Oh, no, no, four one.
Four one.
Yeah, okay, four one.
So like, you know, that's a good number.
It's a good number.
It's a fantastic number.
Everyone's happy.
Good, good deal.
Yeah.
Hey, Toronto, good deal.
Good deal.
Great job.
That's stuff that you love to see.
You need them to beef it up a little bit.
Let's stick on D.
Talk about Shea Theodore.
I think one of the more underrated guys in the league on the blue line.
Shea Theodore signs a seven-year extension with Vegas at 7.425 AAV.
He has one goal and seven assists, eight points through eight games right now.
That's the Vegas discount, isn't it?
dude isn't it yes and man the that team we we've been like we said preseason well you know maybe
this is the year where all the cap shit catches up to them and and i'll stand by something you said earlier
which is i don't know if they have the wiggle room to get hurt so badly this year right like i think
if they have some serious injuries they might be in trouble yeah but here they are right now no one's
hurt everyone's firing they're in first place cap's about to go up over a hundred soon and theodore
How old was he?
29.
So it's another one we're going to take him to his 36.
But that's normal now, right?
Like 36 years old, I mean...
That's it, though.
That's his whole career.
Like, boom, he'll be done around then, I think.
He'll be a wear a tear on him.
He can play a couple more, maybe?
Maybe, actually.
But, you know, like, he will still be a serviceable defenseman.
No doubt.
In the league at 36.
No doubt.
I just think we're seeing a lot of guys at 36 years old in the league now who are still playing
great hockey.
And he can score, dude.
Like, let me get his stats.
He's just an unbelievable player, man.
He's done so, he was so crucial for them in their cup run.
Insane.
So crucial for them before that.
He was dialed.
You know what's funny?
Remember the Media Day?
I think, yeah, yeah, he was locked in.
He wasn't joking around at all.
Did I post that or no?
I think we did.
But like, we were not, like, CP, it made a joke at Media Day.
He was like, are you a little bummed, you know?
Like, we're just fucking around, obviously, because we're clowns.
Yeah.
But he was like, are you little bummed, you know, the cup runs kind of bleeding into your summer here.
And he was like, absolutely not.
This is why I play.
I would rather be nowhere else on Earth.
And we were like, oh, my God.
I was like, oh, I know.
Sorry.
I was just kidding.
Sorry, dude, I have a red nose on in big floppy shoes.
I thought you knew that I was a clown.
We actually wrote in on a tiny vespet together.
I don't know if you saw that.
Sorry.
No, but he's a beauty and so locked in.
And I think we can joke about it now because they've got a great blue line and they're on the up and up.
But Shea is another example that makes me laugh about the ducks because you look around the league.
And it's like, Shea Theodore, former duck, Brandon Montor, former duck.
Hamas Lindholm, former duck.
and I'm like, hey, ducks, stop.
I'm like, Jamie drives down. Quack, former duck.
Stop trading all your fucking defensemen, dude.
That's actually wild how they have good D still.
Yes, it's crazy.
It's absolutely crazy.
Listen to Shay, dude.
29 and 6. These are all his Vegas years.
Okay.
Points. 29 and 61, 37 and 79, 46 and 71, 42 and 53.
Huge.
52 and 78.
Huge.
41 and 55.
Huge.
42 and 47 last year.
You gotta say healthy, Shay.
And he's 8 for 8 this year.
Yeah.
You know, if he gives you a fucking...
I mean, like, he's just under point per game pace.
The last two years, he's right there.
He gives you a...
Oh, he's a monster.
He's a monster.
For me, absolute lock for Team Canada, for four nations.
Yep.
Just such a good player.
Unbelievable.
Great, great Vegas discount.
And dude, it's one that he is genuinely, I'm sure, like, that's an awesome number for me.
And that Vegas is going to be able to be able to be a good.
able to still build in the years to come because of this, because this isn't that high.
Yeah.
They can still build around him as they navigate the cap for the next few years.
And I don't think this will get to this point, but movable.
You know, if they're like, oh, hey, something happens and they want to get someone a D guy
when he's 34 or whatever.
Yeah.
Like this is just such a fucking pro contract for everybody.
Oh, it's so good, dude.
And yeah, that Vegas, the discount is real.
Sick.
You look around the league, you look at the Sanderson deal.
You look at the Mosider deal.
It's just, you know, I know he's 29.
but everything is pointing to a Shea Theodore should be signing an 8 by 8 type deal, or, you know, at least like a 7 by 8 or something like this.
So to get him under 8, it's just another great piece of work by Vegas.
Unbelievable.
Let's move on to another extension in the 7 range.
This is the talk of the town.
Alexi Lafranier signs a 7-year by $7.45 million contract a year extension.
he had 28 and 29 for 57 last year in 82 games.
Yes, Rangers fans.
He had a good playoff run as well.
Yeah, I know, dude.
He had 14 points and 16 games.
I know.
14 and 16.
That's so amazing.
It is good, though.
It is good.
It is good.
But the way they talk about it is he's putting up McDavid numbers.
Yeah, they were like, oh, God.
Everyone fucking calm down.
4-4, 8 points and 8 games right now.
Listen.
I got a take.
It's going to blow your mind on this.
Oh, I mean, I have so much to say.
It's going to blow your mind.
And also, people remember, I'm positivity, Dan.
Yes, sir.
We're only positive these days.
But I don't even need to be positivity.
I love this deal.
I think it's a fantastic contract.
But I do want to address what happened over the weekend.
Friday, this deal was announced, and we had a tweet that went nuclear that I fired off.
I simply said,
why are we acting like this deal is a steal?
So many Rangers fans going, oh my God, what a fucking steal.
That's such a bargain.
And I was like, no, it's not.
This is a great deal.
This is unbelievable work by Drury.
It's unbelievable work by Laugh and his agent.
Because this, in my opinion, this deal is exactly what he's worth.
Now, if he keeps up the progress that he's been on since last season,
will this be a steal in a couple of years?
I think absolutely.
Yep.
but let's say laugh
kind of teeters out
at like a 65, 70 point per season guy
this deal is not a steal.
A guy making seven and a half mill a year,
you're like, yeah, it's, you know, that's great.
What's DeBrus making?
Seven something, right?
Yeah, I think seven something.
Yeah.
So I'm like,
it's a good deal, guys.
You know?
Like,
so many people are like,
so you don't understand that, like,
you're thinking about the future and I'm like no I absolutely do but you know the future it needs
to happen as you're projecting it in order to call it a steel yeah like there is no guarantee yep
that's my point when you look at last season a guy with 59 points two points more pavalsaka
making like four and a half yeah right that is a steel yeah because for that season yeah now is pavalsaka
gonna be good his laugh I don't think so right in fact I would say certainly not yep but
you got to get that production for it to be a steel
And then my next point is, this went on our IG over the weekend was the fucking funniest thing I've been a part of in a long time.
There's two things that absolutely fried my brain over the weekend.
I put up on the IG, what do you think in talking about monetary transactions or contracts?
A steel means?
And I was like, is a steel to you guys a, no, that's a good, fair deal?
Or is it a, oh, wow, we got that for way less.
It's a bargain.
It's a bargain.
It's a bargain.
Yeah. It's a bargain.
Yep.
Dude, I think the vote came down to like 61% to 39.
And I said this on the IG.
I won't board people with the same thing.
I need to know what is wrong with people who voted the other way.
And I then posted something that was like, are you guys okay?
Like, do you know the English language?
And a ton of people were like, dude, I didn't watch the video.
I didn't listen.
I just thought you were talking about the laugh contract.
So I voted good fair deal.
I was confused.
And that made me even more mad because I was like, guys, like, don't vote on shit without
knowing what we're talking about.
Like, let this be a lesson.
Let this be a lesson in the importance of listening.
Let it be a lesson in the importance of Democratic elections, dude.
Maybe know what the fuck you're voting for before you click something, folks.
Holy moly.
Okay, here's my, I get a couple things say about laughing.
I'm going to give you the take that he's going to fucking fry your brain.
One, Laffey.
is looking like a very good player.
But I really get tired of Rangers fans
that just can't accept...
I'm going to actually pull this up.
That can't accept
that this isn't a good timeline for him so far.
And like, even if he becomes nasty, that's great.
But just like, this isn't what you wanted
when you drafted him first.
Because they always say, well, we had the first of our people.
We were already a good team.
We didn't need him to come in
and be Connor Bardard and take every shot.
Yeah.
And I always say, well, dude, the Bruins had that exact luxury with Tyler Sagan.
We had the second overall pick.
The Bruins were a very good team.
They won the cup that year.
Sagan comes in, didn't need him.
He was 19 years old.
22 points in 74 games.
Yeah.
The next year, 67 points in 81.
The next year, 32 and 48 short in season.
And then he's gone.
Yeah.
But like immediately, he's like a high 60s pace.
Yeah.
And then in Dallas, if you want to just keep it going because he wasn't on the bees,
but whatever. 84 and 80, 77 and 71. That is what you expected from Laffey. Come in 22 points. We don't
need you yet. Sixty five points a year two. Wow, you are sick. Yeah. Now you're a point for game.
Because here's the deal. I don't give a fuck if you don't need you. Your first overall pick,
dude, which brings me to number two. Imagine Sidney Crosby getting drafted by the best,
you know, one of the top teams in the league that year and being like this, well, you know,
I'm only going to get 20 points because you don't need me. What are you talking about, dude?
Any team would take a first overall pick and go, we're going to figure out how to use you,
obviously.
If you're good.
You are a first overall pick.
And so that's my number two, which is like, they're always like, he's on the third line.
And I'm like, because he's not good.
Like, if he was fucking nasty, he would have been on the first line.
And it's that simple.
And they're talking about as if they won the cup every year.
They're like this, well, he's on the third line, dude.
He's not good enough to play on the top two lines.
We're so nasty.
And I'm like this.
Yeah, how many cups did you win in those few years?
Zero.
I like Laffey.
I'm rooting for Laugh.
Just that logic baffles me.
When I'm like, if he was playing better, he would be on a higher line.
Oh, yeah.
If he deserved to be on.
power play one he would be on power play one you know there's all this like he's not like oh i'm like
it's fine oh it's insane here's my take dude strap this on i feel like i'm not gonna like this
i actually think that because laffy's agent is selling potential to the rangers right he's like
look at me look at this exponential trap graph give me seven four whatever the fuck you yeah and drury's
balancing that with what you've done actually and i actually think they were able to sell some potential
with that number because to your point he should be getting four, which is what Zock, which is what his
contemporaries are getting. So they did sell some potential. I actually think that Lafey is an idiot.
And he is about, he was going to be UFA this year, right?
I believe RFA.
Oh, okay, RFA, yeah.
He is about to have 85 points this year and should have just fucking waited and been like this,
give me $10 million because I'm the guy now.
Yeah.
Which I actually think he's going to do.
Like I straight up believe Laffy's going to finish 80. I think he's going to have 80. 90. Yeah.
And all you had to do was wait. But instead you take this team friendly deal for the rags who have done nothing for you theoretically. You know, it's not like you're like, oh, I really owe the regs. So he should have just waited. And the fact that he even took this deal makes me question his confidence. Because if he knows the way I know that he's about to have 90 points, then you wait obviously. And your agent, I'm sure said we should maybe wait if you're about to pop the fuck off.
And he said, no, we should take this deal because I don't believe in myself.
Interesting.
I'm not going to call you an idiot for that.
I don't, I'm not sure I agree with it, but I'm not going to call you an idiot for that.
He all, it was so easy to get more money if you actually think you're good, which he must, or you'd think.
But now I'm questioning everything.
I'm not going to lie.
If I were him, I mean, he's going to get, if he keeps playing the way he, we all think he's going to keep playing, he'll be, what is he, 21, 22, he's going to be 28.
29 he'll get another deal. I would have gone bridge if I were him.
Interesting. I would have gone four years and been like, here you go guys. I love that take too.
And then be an absolute stud all-star when you're 25, 26 and then be like this give me 15 million.
Dang. Yeah. That's what I would have done. Again, see? So in that regard, all of this makes me question his self-in. In that regard, like, I'm sure there are fucking idiot Rangers fans right now being like, that's why it's a stale. And I'm like this, yeah, but it also might not do any of these things. That's why it's not yet. Just be patient, you fucking idiots.
No, but I'm buying the steel because I'm like, if we both think he actually does pop off, then this is a steel, which is why I'm like, you are an idiot.
This is what I said, I said it on Twitter a billion times. I think it is going to be a steal. But it's basically what I go to, if Laf had signed a seven by like 9.5, I would have been like, that is an overpay.
That is a massive overpay. That's why I think it's moronic to call it a steel right now because I'm like, no, the number he got is what he is. That's his value. It's a great deal.
With, it's his, it's beyond his value.
They did buy some of the potential.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Uh, I think.
Yeah, no, actually that's fair.
Because if he's a 50 point guy, they over there.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Like, or 60.
Like, well, yeah, but if they were like,
I get 60 a year.
And then I'm like this, that is too much money for a 60 a year.
Yeah, yeah, I agree.
So they bought some potential.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
He's an idiot, dude.
But ultimately, ultimately, I do want to say,
genuinely love, love the player.
Like, I think it's awesome seeing.
There is nothing I hate more than a bust.
Oh, it breaks my heart.
Yes.
Like, it's like your life-wong dream.
We're joking around all the fucking time.
We are in this game for entertainment, guys.
Like, we're, we are just being goofballs for you.
There is nothing I hate more than a bust because it's heartbreaking.
Like, these kids work their entire fucking lives at this game.
And then they come in and whatever doesn't work.
And then they've got an entire fan base being like, you fucking suck.
Yeah.
That is heartbreaking to me.
So him playing well absolutely thrills me.
The only thing we get fired up by is, man, you Rangers fans.
are like genuinely the most insanely delusional people of all time.
And I say that would love in a bit of a way.
But in another way, I'm like, just calm down, guys.
This goes into, I think I was talking to a Bruins fan, like, we're Bruins fans.
I was talking to a fellow Bruins fan the other day.
In my opinion, dude, you know what it was?
The Florida Panthers have beaten the Bruins twice.
And they have knocked them out of playoffs two years in a row.
And online, a bunch of Panthers fans were shit-talking Bruins fans.
And it was just like going back and forth.
fans were like, oh, enjoy your one cup in your history, fucking losers, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And it was just going back and forth.
I am such a big...
Ridicrous, by the Bruins fan.
Yes.
I am such a massive...
Dude, recency bias is the only thing I care about when you're talking shit as a fan base.
Are you good now?
Yeah.
I will never understand fans who run their fucking mouths when they haven't won recently.
Yeah.
And like that goes into regular season stuff.
It's like, we didn't really talk about this on the pod,
but the Rangers hanging a regular season champs banner.
Like that's what it said.
Didn't say President's trophy winner.
It said regular season champs.
That is the most...
Vomit inducing.
Dude, that is the most boner behavior I've ever seen.
Like, take that banner down now and fix it.
Just change it.
Fix it.
Change the text.
Presence trophy.
When there are people in fan bases run in their mouths talking shit because you just want a regular season game,
I laugh my ass off, dude.
It's like I've always said, like I've been on the end of being a fan of a team,
and I'm like, yeah, the team that I root for is undefeated.
And I will keep my mouth shut so securely.
Because if you don't win the ship, shut up, in my opinion.
So all these teams, all these fans, if you were a fan of a team that hasn't won in the last five years and you're running your mouth,
I'm telling you, you look like an absolute donkey.
because your team sucks.
They haven't won in a while.
Don't open your mouth until they win.
And when they win, bury people.
Do whatever you want.
But wait until they win.
That is my advice.
Because otherwise you sound like a donkey.
And just cut the shit.
All right, babe,
taking a quick break to talk to you about our partners,
bet MGM, without a doubt,
the best sports betting app in the game.
We're all over all this fun action with the NHL.
We're doing frozen frenzy stuff with you guys.
We're putting our picks in.
We're getting into over-under-shocks.
the season. We're doing money line, puck line, all the usual stuff. The NHL season is cooking,
but we also got World Series right now. We got Champions League right now. The NBA season has
started. BetMGM has you covered wherever you want. And if you sign up right now with promo code,
if you sign up right now with promo code AF200, BetMGM's got the best deal going for you.
If you bet $10 on any sports bet, you get $200 of free play. That's 200 smackaroos right into your
count with any sports bet of $10 or more. How could you not sign up for that? BetMGM has every
single thing that you could possibly want to get on the action with. We're going off on our channels all
the time, getting you in on this hockey stuff. So make sure you sign up right now. Again,
that's AF 200. You're going to get that $200 of free play with any bet of $10 or more in the
sports world. Get on it right now because BetMGM takes care of you better than anyone else in the
game. Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler. Available in the U.S. Call 1-800-327-50-50 in Massachusetts.
Colorado, D.C., Massachusetts, Maryland, North Carolina, and Virginia only. Please gamble responsibly.
Call 1-800 next step in Arizona. First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility
requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable. See betmgm.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers
not available in Ontario and Puerto Rico. Taking a quick break from the pod to talk to you guys about
a partnership with Funkaway. This stuff has changed everything for me, and I am not kidding when
I tell you that, because it has more than just sports stuff. They've got sports spray, but they've got
room refresher. They've got laundry booster. I'm telling you, this, I thought I was going to love
this stuff just for hockey because we're playing hockey every night. My gear smells terrible. My
bag smells terrible. It makes my car smell terrible. It makes my garage smell terrible. But it's everything.
We just had a sick Halloween party at the house, and I got room refresher going everywhere. I got laundry
booster after my costume gets rolled around in all night and it's chaos, it's changing everything.
And the best part about this stuff, because I've got all the other odor stuff, right?
All the other companies that do this too.
The best part about this is it doesn't just mask it, right, where you get that like citrusy
smell over the bad stuff and I can still smell everything and it's somehow worse even before
I started.
This, it's gone.
Poof vanishes.
It's insane.
I don't know how it works.
They've got some crazy scientific formula going on that I'll never understand.
But whoever did it is a genius because this stuff completely.
evaporates odor. Like nothing I've ever seen. So if you're playing in sports, get the sports
stray. It's my hockey gear is amazing. Everyone wants to sit next to me in the locker room right now.
But even if you're not a big sports person, it tackles everything else. It's so, so, so good.
I love this stuff. I have it stocked everywhere now in the house, in the locker room at the car.
I made the rink at it. I was like, you just just keep this here. People will thank me later.
It's fantastic. So go to funkaway.com or check it on on Amazon. You can find all their products
there too. You will not regret it.
What's that?
It's the trumpet song.
I think they played at like funerals and stuff.
It's like the...
Oh, yeah.
What's that called, Lex?
Look that up.
I think it's called like the funeral march.
The funeral dirt.
I want to play that right now
as we talk about the injuries to the Utah Hockey Club.
Damn, damn, damn.
Dersie, our guy.
And Marino.
Go down.
with multiple month, month injuries, I think certainly top five, those two are in the top five
cannot get injured on that team, right? As in, these are the top five most important players.
Yeah. You're like, dude, fuck, you can't get hurt. I think they're so loaded with young
offensive talent. Yeah, fair. If one of those guys get hurt, you're like, fuck, it's always sucks, right?
But the thing we talked about with them and why they got off to a hot start was how good their D was.
Loaded up.
They re-signed Jersey.
They got Marino.
They got Sergachev.
And it was like, this is huge.
Losing two of those.
Now you lose two of those.
And now they're losing games, dude.
Does this end the season for you?
I think playoffs is no longer an option.
Yeah.
Well, sorry.
Sorry, Utah.
Sorry Utah and Utah fans.
I think playoffs is much, much more.
difficult and unreasonable now.
Because it was going to be an absolute grind anyway.
But they were all, they were so hot.
I know, I know.
Yeah.
So I think, unfortunately, I'm with you.
I actually might say it, dude.
Like, and I'll have an e-crow on this,
but I just don't think you can make plastic.
I think they're dead.
Because Marino's out like three months at best.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
I think it's at least three for both.
Like, Jersey's, no, Jersey's four to six and they're saying likely done.
Yeah, no, sorry.
I was saying it's three plus for both of them.
And Marine, so,
November, like, would be like all of November, all of December, all of January.
All right.
So like Marino comes back in February.
Yeah.
Like, let's, best case scenario it.
He comes back in February.
Yeah.
Fine. Predators got super hot at the end of last year.
So I'll retract.
Yeah.
They could get in as a second wild card.
But I think it's going to be hard.
Yeah, it's gutting.
And you need to fucking ball your ass off.
Yeah.
During this run here.
It's absolutely gutting.
Um,
In these situations, it's a team that was going to be a bubble playoff team.
And if you start struggling, do you call up guys and just be like this, like get reps in?
Yeah.
I'm calling up youth.
Hell yeah.
Getting the youths.
Two youths.
Two youths.
Put them on the blue line.
Get them reps.
Do you get them minutes, dude?
Yeah.
You know what?
Maybe they needed this.
No.
Maybe.
I don't want it.
I don't want to hear it.
I don't want it.
I don't even want to pander.
I don't even want to hear it.
Maybe this is just what Utah need.
I don't want you to just.
I don't want you to do this again.
You did it once before and it was absolutely insane.
And it was absolutely right.
No.
Look at the Kings.
A couple big wins.
Look at the Preds.
Maybe they needed this.
Maybe.
What do you mean?
Look at the Preds.
They've won three straight.
Yeah, but they didn't have injuries.
They needed that sad start.
But you can't just turn the needed thing into anything.
Oh, yes, I can.
No.
You can't just say any bit of adversity is what they need.
You need to stick to something.
You need to have some sort of code.
Maybe the Utah Hockey Club needed this.
I assure you they did.
They've renamed, they've moved.
Hey.
New Barn.
I'm here to say.
Hot start.
Get a little too big for your britches.
Big heads, not even fitting in buckets.
That's guys.
Maybe they needed this.
Yet you had me on the other one.
You had me on the Kings.
There's a chance they needed it.
The Utah Hockey Club did not need this.
Time will tell them.
It will, but I'm telling you they did not need this.
I think they might have.
They did not need this.
Talk to me about how insane the Atlantic is right now.
Oh, yes.
Thank you.
So I thought this was cool.
We actually got a DM.
yesterday from someone during hockey talk.
Someone was like,
the Atlantic is just as bonkers
as you guys predicted it would be.
And it's not like we made this like,
oh, that's such a bold prediction.
Yep.
But it is just like, man, these teams, they're buzzing.
So the top three teams in the Pacific
are Vegas, well, I'll give you top four,
Vegas Kings, Calgary,
which is obviously a shocker in Vancouver.
Vancouver's a few games in hand.
So like Vancouver should jump,
like it should be Vegas, Vancouver,
Kings, you know, and then
Edmonton's lurking, obviously, Seattle's it.
Central's, Jets, Dallas,
wild, surprising avs, and abs are
surging, so like, you know.
On the back of fucking Ross Colton, dude.
Yep. Met,
Devils Rangers, Cains,
whatever, whatever.
Okay, so let me just do this.
Here are the point totals in these other divisions.
Okay? Met.
14, 13, 10, 10, 10, 8,
7, 75.
Yeah.
14 to 5.
Central.
16, 14, 12, 10, 10, 9, 6, 5.
16 to 5.
Pacific.
13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 972.
Tough.
Atlantic.
1310, 9, 9, 9, 9, 9, 9, 8.
Yeah.
Tight.
The top three is Florida's expected Tampa Buffalo, which is preposterous.
But Buffalo, Toronto, Detroit, Montreal, and Boston all have nine points, and the Sends have
eight through eight.
And, like, all those other guys are nine through nine.
and Florida's only comfortably in first because they played 10 games.
Like they just played the most games.
And dude, the gold diff, this is fucking mind-blower.
Florida, zero.
I'm going to go down the line.
Florida, zero.
Tampa plus seven.
Buffalo minus one, Toronto minus two, Detroit minus three, Montreal minus six, Boston minus five, Ottawa, zero.
One team is plus the bolts in second.
Cookey.
Dude, it is...
Cooky stuff.
I heard to me, 10 games in,
because we always say this, dude,
gets late fast.
10 games in, this is now a thing.
It's not nothing.
Yeah.
The, we are going to be dealing with this all year.
I thought, I'd hoped,
like, bees maybe would really start...
Bees in Florida could, like, really separate.
Yeah.
And then three through eight would be crazy.
Yeah.
I think it's actually going to be one.
Maybe Florida, maybe Florida goes.
like two through eight is we're going to be dealing with this all year.
Yeah, I think so.
Like, whereas one game drops you like three places in the standings.
No doubt.
And that's good.
It's what we signed up for.
But it's just like, I watch and I'm like Detroit got off to a horrible start.
Buffalo sucks.
And then they win three games and they're in third.
And I'm like, okay, dude.
And like, I like made a joke.
Like we, I think it was on a frozen frenzy day.
We had, you know, we hit a couple of our parlays with that MGM.
We missed a couple.
And our mega parlay, for those who don't know if you're a new listener, every frozen friend,
actually, every time there are 10 or more games, we do a mega parlay.
Yep.
Just bet money line on every game.
And our mega parlay was actually buzzing.
And then Buffalo beat like Dallas.
Yeah, Buffalo beat Dallas.
Which the dice predict.
And I made a joke.
Yeah, I made a joke.
I was like, yeah, the mega parlay imploded the second Buffalo decided to be good at hockey
for the first time all season.
And now they're like, yeah, we've won a few games.
Third place.
Yep.
And you're like, what the fuck is going on?
Dude, the scary thing is there are zero, zero games off in the Atlantic.
Like when you are playing an indivision game, there's no, like, well, we got Montreal this
week.
Yeah.
We got Buffalo this week.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Every single game is going to be fucking vital.
That's always important, right?
And now with that division, it's so important.
It is very, it's crazy.
We're 10 games in and you are like, every time you're playing an Atlantic Division game,
you're like, we got to win.
Dude, can I explain to you a little bit of collateral damage?
Yeah.
Are you familiar with that term?
Yeah, I love it.
Collateral.
A great Arnold Schwarzenegger movie?
No.
Collateral damage, yeah.
Oh, oh, oh.
Collateral Tom Cruise, collateral damage, Arnold Schwarzenegger.
Yeah.
Tom Cruise.
Give Jamie some recognition there.
Collateral damage.
image. I had said, I think maybe we both had said, before the season, that the Atlantic would send
five teams to the playoffs two wild cards coming from the Atlantic. I now am realizing that they're
going to beat each other up so much that they're going to be lucky to send four. Wow. They're going to
be lucky to send four. And you think they might only send three? I think the fucking met could send
five teams. That would be crazy. It'd be insane. But couldn't you see like... You're getting ahead of the story
early? Couldn't you see? Yeah, dude. Because like, couldn't you
you like the caps and the islanders just like bumbling along with 94 points again and all of us being like
they blow yeah and they do blow yeah but then the atlantic is like the panthers have a hundred
call up the lightning just for the consistency of the standings right now have 99 and then it's like
seven teams have 93 points all miss yeah or other than the three whoever gets three congratulations
four through eight all miss because you're behind the two idiots and that who have been playing the
fucking blue jackets and the penguins i mean it's possible dude it's absolutely possible who stink
they are just beating each other up
and
I could see that
it's funny you mentioned the Caps dude
the Caps are such a
they're such an
Alfred Hitchcock
Alfred Hitchcock team to me
like they're just a mystery
I don't I don't get them at all
Caps fans are so hilarious
because they're like this
this is how you do a rebuild boys
this is and I'm like
what are you talking about?
What are you talking about?
Rebuild? Are you an idiot?
But like they are just like
they're playing well
and they're winning some games, they're not supposed to be winning.
And I'm like, all right, like, fucking A.
Like, you got your weird ass roster.
And here you go.
Like, PL's got five and seven.
I'm like, okay.
But it's just, it's all confusing shit, dude.
It's crazy.
Let's stick in the Met for our next topic in the Pittsburgh Penguins and Sidney Crosby.
Are we panicking yet?
I am not.
This is a discussion on hockey talk.
And I'm curious.
where Penn's fans sit because I'm like, yep, he's on pace for eight goals this year.
Not great. Not great. But obviously that's, listen, there is no universe where he's like falling off a cliff or anything at all. I had said many times preseason. I thought he was going to have a hundred point season. Yeah. I accept that that might be hardish now. I still think he could do it straight up. I still think he could do it. But I'm like, ooh, you know, maybe it's maybe it's an 80s, 80 something point season. The penguins have the
second worst goal if in the league behind the sharks,
or only ahead of the sharks, I guess I should say.
Sid, the only reason they were, and dude,
people kind of forget that they were very much in the mix for a playoff spot last year.
It was down to the last game.
The only reason that even happened was because Sidney Crosby put on his Superman cape
and dragged the fucking battered corpse of that team almost across the finish line.
Yeah.
if he isn't Superman this year, if he's Batman.
And Batman's dope, dude.
He just doesn't have superpowers.
You know, Batman's a utility guy.
If he's Batman this year.
He's well trained.
Yeah, he's well trained.
It puts in the time.
Yeah.
If Sidney Crosby isn't Superman this year, but he's merely Batman, they are dead,
deader than dead.
Yeah.
And he can't save everybody.
Yeah.
He can't save her, dude.
And that is, the penguins are Rachel, and he can't save them.
and
we don't need to get into it
but just like changes
must be made
yeah I don't want to bore
I don't want to bore myself
or the listeners
with talking about it again
but it is like
I don't even mean him specifically
I just mean like
well yeah that's kind of what I wanted to get into
there's a clip
from the Vancouver game
and I don't really do this often
but I am going to call out Eric Carlson
there's a clip from the Vancouver game
where Carlson just played
the most half-ass D I've ever seen in my life gets turned by a forward on Vancouver where he
really does not put in a lot of effort. And it's just a now two-on-one bang, bang, bang, pass
across the crease goal. Pittsburgh loses. And it's shout out G, shout out Mike Rennell,
because we talked about this when that trade was made, the discussions were, does this make them
better? Are they in the playoffs now? And he was on this, and so was I.
I was like, does it make them better?
Yep, a little bit.
Does it get them in the playoffs?
No.
Yeah.
And we'll see.
But I'm being honest.
I look at it and I'm like, dude, you're big guys.
Gino's playing well right now.
He had a good season last year.
Sid had a great season last year.
Latang had a great season last year.
Carlson had a decent season last year.
They're just not other than Sid and Gino, really.
Like, no offense to those other guys.
I don't even want to call out any of them in particular,
but like it's just that core's not dragging this team to playoffs right they have it in the last three
years and or uh two years yeah and here we are now through 10 games anything could change but just like
jari's not playing well your defense is really tough it's really bad and these guys that you're
like oh well i hope Raquel is amazing i hope Hayes is amazing they're just not amazing yep and
i think you got to look at dubus dude you got to look at dubus and be like is did these moves
make you guys better, are you a playoff team? And like we've said, a million fucking times, Chris,
if this team scratches and claws their way into playoffs, do they win a first round match?
Absolutely not. And when your core is all older than 34, what are you doing?
Does the Pittsburgh Penguins franchise need to lose in the first round with a bunch of 34-year-old or older guys?
Like, how old is hazy, too?
33?
Yeah, probably.
Yeah.
So I'm just like, what is the plan?
That's where I'll stop.
Yeah.
What's the plan, Phil?
And they've got to be talking about it.
You know, it just, it makes me sad.
I've always loved the, well, because I love it, but I've always loved the penguins.
And just like, you need, this penguins team after the last two years needed an encouraging start.
Yeah.
Dude, straight up for morale.
You know, the natural.
Losing is a disease.
is as contagious as syphilis.
Is that what he says?
I think syphilis has mentioned.
I think he says like,
I think he says the measles too.
Dude,
I got to look that up.
But this team,
and it's Sidney Crosby,
they're pros.
Like,
I'm not saying like,
in locker rooms and shambles,
but I am saying,
after the last two years,
this team, in my opinion,
needed an encouraging start.
Yeah.
A slightly over 500 start.
Ten games in there.
They're five, three, and two.
And you kind of needed right,
like, ooh.
And I'm like,
like, you're pointing out a random player.
You're like,
oh, look at him.
That's exciting.
Woo, woo.
But instead, you're 3, 6, and 1, and everybody, including Sid,
it places, he doesn't like talking about at parties, goes, here we go again.
We are fucked.
Like, 3, 6 and 1 is brutal.
You're like, fuck me.
Brutal.
Fuck.
So given that, we're 10 games in.
How you feeling?
10 games is a real sample size.
I'll tell you this.
I think the Rangers are doing nasty work.
Nasty work.
The Rangers, I was like, we'll see, you know,
and dude, they don't need to win the presidential trophy again,
but I was like, maybe they regress a tiny bit, who cares?
The Rangers are nasty, nasty.
Feeling in a way, I'm not going this far yet,
but feeling in a way like Florida was last year
where they were like, fuck you,
be right back, right back where we just were.
And I'm not even sure they're better than Florida yet,
but I'm just saying the Rangers, to me,
I'm like, fucking, that's a freight train, freight train.
I'm still, and I'm going to fucking eat this, I'm sure,
but I'm still not fully butt in on the Jets,
even though they're eight and no and fucking ridiculous.
I'm also not been butt in on Calgary start.
Me neither.
I'm sorry, Calgary, because I do want to show them love.
Like, Huberto is great.
And that's so good to see.
It's awesome.
I'm not bought in on them either.
I will say Wolf is dope.
Yeah, and that's cool.
Yep.
But yeah, they feel a bit like the Flyers to me last year.
I'm still not worried about the Preds.
I said that a lot.
I think Dallas is very good.
But Dallas is the same problem.
Or not problem, but I'm like, you were exactly this good last year.
Yeah, so to me it's not a problem.
To me, it's just like Dallas is going to Dallas.
And nothing matters for Dallas until playoffs.
Yeah, right.
Yes, thank you.
I kind of feel that way about Winnipeg, too.
Winnipeg is making playoffs.
Yep.
And I think they're nasty because they're healthy.
Yeah, right.
They were not healthy last year.
And they're nasty right now because everyone is healthy.
So I'm like, stay healthy.
But also for me, with Winnipeg, it's the same deal.
Same song as Dallas.
I'm like, get into playoffs and you've got to fucking win, guys.
Yep.
Like, you cannot shut down.
So there to me, I'm like, yep.
I suppose I'm a bit surprised that Winnipeg's just undefeated and they're fucking nasty.
I thought they were going to be nasty, maybe not this nasty, but I'm also not
shocked because like 10 games is a sample size but it's also not yeah talk to me at 20 yeah
talk to me at 20 is genuinely how I feel because I don't say shit matters until 20 once 20 hits
I think we're cooking I think stories are being told yeah and I'm like oh oh like you are it's
you're not really going to dig out of this um because even Edmonton's like they're still slow start
yet last year that wasn't through 20 right like no no because they were two and nine it was through
11 yeah so like even like after 20 Edmonton was like oh we have righted the ship yeah we're okay
So they're, you know, they're a little tough.
Yeah, because there's a few teams like Toronto, I'm a little worried about, to be honest with you.
Yeah.
The Ducks, I'm a little disappointed in.
I'm definitely disappointed in the Ducks.
But to your point, they're like, I think they're three, four, and one or something.
You know, like it's nine games, give it a beat.
So I'll revisit, but those are my initial feelings.
Yeah.
No, I think that's right.
But yeah, it's interesting.
I do think, because any times there's streaks, I'm like, the streaks can't last.
Yeah.
So the ones that I am, like the wild, I'm like, huh.
I'm happy about the wild.
And the Rangers, I'm like, you guys are fucking good.
Rangers are sick.
They're just good.
Shesty's so good.
Yep, give him $20.
And I mean, look at Kako, dude.
Yeah.
Kako's got six points.
It's incredible.
I think he tied a career high.
Unbelievable.
Good for him.
I've had before.
It's fucking great.
But no, they're buzzing.
It's October right now.
We're heading into November.
In my opinion, probably the two best months in sports,
because we've got everything cooking. We've got the NFL. We've got World Series. Hockey season is
cooking. Basketball is back. Champions League is going on. And that means that rivalry games are
absolutely firing. And the best way to ignite the rivalry and get in on it, a little bit of
fireball. A little bit of fireball. Whether you're doing these nips, a little shooter,
whether you're making a nice little mixed drink, I've said it a million times,
fireball and diet Dr. Pepper, pretty fire. Get on top of it. Get on top of it. Get on top of it.
it, it's a no-brainer. Listen to me right now. Fireball is the best way to get the flames cooking when
you're watching sports, make you feel on the hot seat while you're in the action. Whether you are
at the game, watching at a bar or watching at home, fireball is going to get you sparked up and
feeling like you're on the field, on the ice, or on the court watching every single one of
these games. And when those rivalries are going on, we had Bruins, Maple Leafs the other night
going to OT Brad Marshan, captain scores for the winner. What better way to celebrate than with a
nice shot of fireball. It is the best
unbelievable cinnamon whiskey in the game
and it's going to make every single
game day feel like you are
right in the action because
it's going to ignite that
passion and that rivalry every single
time. So have some fireball today.
Let's get into a
beer league hotline. Wags.
Wags, take us away. My beer
league team is in desperate need of New Jersey's
so we're finally pulling the trigger.
As GM, I ask everyone for their desired
size and number. One kid
on her team responded with number 69. I don't know what I expected since he was 69 on our old
jerseys too. But I was hoping that was a decision he made when we got those jerseys eight years ago.
And now he would know better. It's not that big of a deal, but it makes us look like douchebags.
Is there any way I can tell him no on the 69 thing?
Dude, no. 69.
Nice. Nice. Nice. Dude, unfortunately, Dan, my knee jerk.
is you got to let them
you got to let them wear it
because for two reasons
number one
like maybe there's a little bit
of a gronk thing to him
where it's just like
it makes him happy
you know like
yeah
it just it makes
it makes him play better
because he's like
every turn puts it on
he's like
yeah
and then two Dan
and this more importantly
he's grandfathered in
if there wasn't a 69
on the squad
and he was requesting it
for the first time
he was changing from
from 19 to 69
I'd be like, bro, no.
Like, because if you got these years eight years ago,
it sounds like these guys are in their 30s or something.
Yeah.
And I'm like, you can't be changing to 69 in your 30s.
But if you've been 69 the whole time,
I think there's a chance you are able to remain 69.
I unfortunately, dude, I'm completely on the side of this guy who messaged here.
69 to me, like him in the message saying we look like douchebags,
I completely agree with.
Whenever we play a team and someone's rolling around with 69, I'm like, look at that manchild.
If you are over the age of 24 and you're rocking 69 and something, you are the least funny guy I've ever met.
It's just, it's such low-hanging fruit, poop humor. And I'm like, grow up, dude. Just grow up.
There's other ways to get your rocks off. You don't need to be wearing 609.
But do, you tell him no. Like you go, you go, hey, bro, no. And he goes, the fuck's your problem.
You're the fucking fun police, dude.
Yeah, that's a good point.
I don't think you can do that.
This is my advice.
This is what I would do.
You got to take this on the chin and you change it yourself.
Like when you send in the numbers and sizes, change it to like, give them the yager number, changes to 68.
And when the jersey shows up, you go, oh, dude.
Oh, shit.
Like, I don't know what happened.
And then if you're a real man, you give him the jersey.
And first of all, you give it to him, you go, I mean, it's fucking yager number.
That's kind of sick.
spin it, spin zone, spin zone.
But then you also, you step up and you go, you open up your email and you go, dude, I
fucking typed it in wrong.
I typed in a 68.
Put it on yourself.
I was going to say, I thought you put it on.
No, no, no, no, no, no, no.
You do not blame men's league sweaters, dude.
No, you put it on yourself.
You go, dude, I fucked up.
I typed 68.
I'm so sorry.
Oh my God.
I literally, I typed it in wrong.
Dude, this is a fucking, this is a great idea.
Yeah, yeah.
This is a great solved.
You lay down, you lay down on the,
grenade for your team. Yep. You save the reputation of the boys and you save your respect in the eyes
of this man. And you help this guy out a little bit. And you help him. You help him grow up a little bit.
He probably, his wife comes to a game one day and she's like, God damn it. Like he's going to,
looking for 69. Which one's your husband? And then you see 68 and she doesn't have to go,
he's number 69. She goes, oh, oh, oh, he's number 68. But you know, he probably comes home that night to
dinner and he's like, babe, got my fucking jersey today. It's 68, not 69. So you've actually
helped his marriage too because she's like, oh, that sucks, honey, but she's like, thank God.
Yes. Thank God, my husband's not the one rolling around with 69 on his back. You could get him to
like, I picture handing him the 68 and being like, oh, fuck, my bad. And then you're like,
maybe I'm bad. And then you're like, maybe you're like, you invoke yager. He's like, yeah, dude,
maybe you're right. You go, oh, no, but then you go, actually, dude, Yager number. That's pretty
sick. Maybe you're right. And then you, maybe you tell him to do it. You, you, you, maybe you
tell him to do a jersey talk, go full yager.
Next year he grows a mullet.
Dude, ruins his marriage, gets divorced.
She goes, he goes, he was a mous.
Check.
Yeah. Now he's back.
Banging models.
This guy, we saved this guy's life.
He's banging models.
That's awesome. I'm happy for him.
That's great stuff, dude.
I'm very, very happy for him.
Change his number.
That's a great beer league hotline.
All right, let's move on and talk about our
trendings.
Let's go to trending.
Okay.
Number one, trending up.
The Minnesota Wild.
I've had a lot of comments from Wild fans saying,
you guys don't talk about the Wild.
And you know what?
They're goddamn right.
They're absolutely right.
They deserve us to talk about them.
And here we are.
Here we are.
Talking about the Wild.
The Wild are absolutely buzzing, dude.
They had their first regular season loss to the Flyers.
Ugly one.
Seventy-five after they had a 4-3 lead early in the third,
but they dusted the pancers.
They dusted the lightning.
They took the Jets to OT, which is hard to do right now.
Krill and Boldie are absolutely firing.
Faber is going to get going, as we know.
Gus and Flower looked like the tandem of two years ago.
Which is huge, by the way.
Because that was a surprise for me last year when they were like the shock team that kind of fell out of it.
That I was like Gus stinks.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I don't know what's happening.
But now he's good.
And like he's good and flowers.
Flores pads are sick.
You know how when you're like, I don't know, wags, you probably relate to this.
But when I'm at the gym and I'm on my last set, I feel like I can always get the most out of that one because I'm like, whatever is
the last set of this and I was putting a little in the tank before.
Yeah.
That's what flower feels like he's doing this year.
No, no doubt.
Where he's like, this is everything I got, dude.
No doubt.
They're 12th in the league and goals for, fifth in goals against.
They're just buzzing, dude.
It's like, it's really, really good to see.
You love to see it.
And then the big one, dude.
Them doing this with the Prezie and Souter contract still eating them alive,
which are coming off this summer.
Dude, like if they make playoffs this year.
We're building towards something.
I don't think they're going to win the cup this year,
but if they make playoffs, God forbid they win around.
Like if they make a decent run and then get all that extra cap space back.
Oh, yeah.
I was talking to a really cool wild fan yesterday, dude.
Is that the bar yesterday?
Saying how good they are, how good it is seeing krill, seeing Boldy.
I mean, boldie's just like that's, you love to see that.
I love this wild.
I love this version of the Minnesota Wild.
Hockey needs the Minnesota Wild back in playoffs.
Hockey needs Minnesota hockey to be good.
do you. How cool would a Minnesota Wild Stanley Cup be? It'd be awesome, dude. And can you imagine
that arena in a Stanley Cup final? Do you imagine those people, those Minnesota people going
fucking nuts for the Minnesota Wild and a Stanley Cup final? It would be so sick. It would be so
sick. So that is, I'm taking this opportunity to say this. Coral Caprize off. You have to stay.
Oh, okay. I think I said this summer, it might have been in a hockey talk. I said this summer,
as someone who wants more chaos,
we don't see enough UFAs,
big-time UFAs in the NHL anymore.
We obviously just got it with Stammer and Marsie.
That's great.
But even still, those guys are, you know,
in their mid-30s.
We really don't see big-time UFAs in the NHL anymore
and a bunch of people were like,
Carrill could be it.
Yeah.
We remember he held out.
Yeah.
He was being like, get me my money.
He got his money, but he got a bridge.
And now here we are.
He's about to be UFA.
Parisian Souter are off the books.
He's fucking crushing it with this team.
and these Russian boys, man, they're unpredictable.
Yeah, they are.
He could do anything.
He could easily go straight to Vegas.
He could easily go.
I hope not, but he could go to the gay HL.
I need Billy Garen to make sure that happens.
Because if Krill comes back,
if Keryl comes back,
Souter and Perise come off the books,
and the wild have this good season,
if they stay on this track,
that is a big time, UFA destination.
nation, I think.
Agree.
People, good players who are hitting UFA, who are going, I'm looking for a new team,
and the wild or good, they've got krill locked up for eight years, they've got boldie
locked up.
I think that's a team that they're like, dude, I mean, we talk about places you want to live.
You got to think about it, guys.
Hockey players, what's your time off the summer?
Is there a better place than Minnesota in the summer?
There is not.
You get a house on Lake Minnetonka.
Let the waters of Lake Minnetonka purify your spirit all summer long, cleanse you.
you're telling me you don't want to sign in Minnesota, fuck off.
I'll sign there right now.
Me too.
Give me a fucking deal.
Give me a one year deal.
I'll sign immediately.
That min.
That min.
I'll do it like that.
So I just think, get Kirill locked up and I think the wild are coming for asses, dude.
I want it, dude.
And they got Faber signing his deal.
Like, that's big.
Like, Faber's like, I'm here, dude.
Yep.
I love it.
Trending down, the Boston Bruins.
Nothing fixes a slump like,
The Maple Leafs come into town.
I will say that.
So nice.
Those poor.
Nice way against Toronto.
And also,
isn't it great how they,
Boston had a lead,
gave up a shit goal in the third period,
just to go to OT just to like break their hearts even more?
And have Marshie score too.
First goal.
Bang.
Unbelievable.
Just two perfect.
But they lost three straight.
They lost four out of five.
They're four,
four and one through nine games this year.
They're in like technically ninth,
or sorry,
seventh, but like it's all,
everyone's got nine points,
whatever.
But uncharacteristic,
slow start. I think they've started hot
the last couple seasons, obviously.
They've given up the eighth most goals in the week.
And we all kind of felt like
D and goaltending was going to be the strong suit of this team.
They are not
fucked by any means,
but they are not good right now.
No, yeah, I will say
there's a few things for the Boston Bruins.
Marshand obviously gets its first goal.
I think a lot of us, us included,
thought Marciaan had three surgeries over the summer
and we kept looking at last season
more than this season we were like
oh dude he was a little slow
what do you have like 60 something
seven points or something
he was a little slower and we were like
oh it's because he had these serious knocks
he got the surgery he's gonna be back
it's clear that he is shaking off rust
there was there was talks you know he said in an interview
he's like I'll be ready for game one and he was
but maybe he shouldn't have been
yeah right right and that's not a knock on Marci
you're a fucking beast dude it's more like a
you had three surgeries and you're gonna play
all 82 games, you're a monster.
So I think there's a chance, him getting his first goal in game 10 or whatever,
nine or whatever.
I think that is a sign of like, he's still getting up to speed.
Sway is getting up to speed.
It is what it is.
Yeah, good point.
Monster win.
And he's had some great games.
Like the Preds game, they lost four nothing with an empty net goal.
But like, Sway had 30 fucking seven sakes.
Like they peppered Boston in that game.
But ultimately, for people that don't know, when you're dealing with contract stuff
like that, you're not playing with the team.
You're not getting NHL shots.
You're not getting ready.
You're not getting the same preseason and practice games that everyone else has.
So he's getting up to speed.
But you look at it.
Elias Lindholm, hot start through four or five, cooled off a little bit.
Zadora took a penalty in every single fucking game until last game.
Like, that's not the start that he wants.
Zaka is not off to the start that he wants.
They still haven't figured out what to do on that second line right wing.
So, yes, I think that they are trending down because they've got a lot of guys who are not off to a start
that even close to what they want.
And there's just so many things to figure out.
Now, by the time this episode comes out on Wednesday,
I think there's a chance we see some changes.
I said this yesterday.
I think we, Tuffty got bounced.
Someone else did too.
I'm sorry, I'm forgetting.
But I think Tyler Johnson gets signed.
I think he's sitting there.
He's still practicing with the team.
He's on that PTO.
He just feels like the most perfect vet.
Like he had such a good preseason.
I know.
I think he's going to get brought into the lineup.
I think we're going to see some call-ups with guys like Lysol, Murculav.
You just have to take some shots here.
Agreed.
The offense is fucking brutal.
The big bad D is just not big and bad.
Yeah.
Like the fact of the matter is that defense of Charlie McAvoy, Mason Lurai, Hampusland Home, Brandon Carlo, Andrew Peek, and Nikita Zadorov should be getting shutouts.
Yeah.
And you're not getting shutouts.
So those guys, I think are going to figure it out absolutely.
But they're trending down.
You got to trend them down here.
Because to your point, you got the next 10 games to get your shit together.
Because if not, then it's 20 games and stories are being told, as you said.
So next 10 games is actually very important in Boston, in my opinion.
Hund O.P.
Trending up, we mentioned him earlier.
Ross, the boss Colton.
The next 50 goal scorer in the NHL.
He is Zach Hyman of last year.
Yep.
Nathan McKinnon out here is getting empty net goals like a fucking plug dude,
like a little porper, tiny tin begging for scraps.
Oh, my God.
Having to get empty netters.
Meanwhile, Ross has fucking eight goals on the season.
And really it's the whole avalanche team this, this time.
because it's like you got Ross firing.
Kael Nate Moose have 16, 15, and 14 points when the league lead is 17.
They've won five straight after the start they've had.
You know, like, and oh, and the huge one, the changing goal.
I don't even know how to say this dude's name, the finish goalie.
Try.
Anunin.
Anunin.
Pretty good.
Is that how I was saying?
I don't know.
I think it's Anunin.
Anunin.
Anunin.
A new, a new goalie.
A new.
A new goalie. A new goalie. That's how you say it. Yeah. Played the last four, one all four. Boys are responding to him in net. And I think Giorgiiv's going to be fun. I actually saw some cool, because they have Capo Cochinen, too. And I saw some reports that were like, you should send Georgiev to the A. So he can just like dominate on minor league players, get his confidence back up. And then you can reassess because of Noonan's playing so well. That would be savage. But dude, he was not acceptable. Like he hasn't let him left in three goals. I think he's also played, he maybe has played five games. He hasn't let in three.
is three or more every game.
And a new goalie has been fantastic.
Whatever it takes to write that ship there, they'll take.
You know, they don't give a fuck.
Whoever's playing hot goalie is good for them.
But it's good to see Ross.
It texted us, dude.
Ross was like, nobody sleep on the aves.
We're coming.
And then bang, five straight.
You know that locker room is so fine.
Yep.
They're a good one.
I think we did mention this,
but like we talk about the press.
But like, yeah, Nate ain't letting the boys panic here.
And, yeah, like, they're just, they're back, dude.
They're back.
Also trending up, the Buffalo Sabers.
Won three straight.
They beat a very good Dallas team.
And they had a very important win against Detroit, which is what we were just saying
before about those games being so fucking valuable.
How do you handle those games, by the way?
When Detroit loses?
No, well, Buffalo, Detroit, I feel like, yeah.
Those are your two darlings.
I like, I guess you got to be Detroit this year, though, because.
they have more.
Yeah, I mean, like, it is tough.
I love both those teams.
I'm the biggest bitch in the world, dude.
I'm a fucking bandwagon slut.
I love everybody.
I just love every team.
I just want people to be happy.
Everyone's my boy.
If I had my druthers, everyone would make playoffs.
Is there a team, a single team that you're like, I don't love them.
Dude, I was actually thinking about that the other day.
I think someone said that to me.
They were like, do you hate any, or no, it was a question.
It wasn't a chirp, it was a legitimate question.
It was like, do you hate any team?
and the answer is legitimately no.
I used to hate the habs,
and now I'm...
I will tell you,
I will tell you, positivity, Dan.
Dano is only positive these days.
I hate fans.
Oh, yeah, for sure.
There are fans that I hate.
And that doesn't mean I hate fan bases.
I think there's good apples
in every fan base.
Yeah.
But there are some fan bases
that the majority,
I'm like,
the majority of you are horrible.
Yeah.
And they make me want your team to lose.
Right.
But I don't dislike any team.
I think it's just hard to dislike.
a team.
Yeah.
What's there to dislike about like a cool city with, with a bunch of good fans.
Yeah.
And then like, I love all the players.
Like, that's the end of the day.
I don't, there's not a single player in the NHL that I dislike.
I just, I want them all to, to, I want them all to score 100 points.
Me too.
Uh, Tage Thompson, our boy, hammer fucked a one timer at 104.6.9.
He fucking clap.
Hardest in game shot in NHL history.
Yeah.
And he didn't even score.
Lyons saved it.
They scored in the rebound.
but still hammer fuck to one-timer.
Are you buying this with the Sabres?
Are there, we still think they're bad?
No. Dude, again, I will always be on the wall, dude.
I will always root for you, but they've hurt me too many times recently.
I'm just kind of like, I know that they're capable of this, but until they do it for fucking 20 straight games and then the next 20 don't shit on themselves, then I'm not going to buy anything.
I'm always going to be there, but I'm not buying anything.
I'm in the store.
I'm going to show up to the store every day, but I'm not buying it.
Not buying it. Just looking.
Need any help, sir?
Yeah.
I'm here to support.
I'm going to make the store look full.
Yep.
Okay, those are our trending topics this week.
Now, we're getting into our starting six.
Starting six.
We're going to you the best players at their position in the league currently.
Currently, the best six players at their position, we're doing our starting six,
left wing.
Hey, guess who we've talked about twice now?
Two times.
The Minnesota Wild.
Carrillo Caprizov at left wing.
Unbelievable.
Fifteen points on the year.
11 points in his last five games.
Puke, dude.
Are you absolutely kidding me?
Points in every game this year, but one.
And he's not even scoring yet.
Yep.
He's an assist man.
Yeah.
He's an ass man.
Can you believe it?
I bet he is.
Currilla's an ass man.
Yeah, he's just snapping the biscuit around, getting apples left and right, dude, it's fall.
He's going apple picking.
God damn.
And he will score.
That's what's crazy.
Yes, he will.
Only four goals so far, but you know that he's going to get it.
his career high is 100, 108 points,
absolutely could smash that.
I bet he could, dude.
But he is a key piece in this wild team cooking.
At center, we're going Nico Heeshir.
He leads the league with nine tucks.
He only has three assists,
so we're kind of having a bit of an Austin Matthews season for him right now.
That's okay.
That's okay.
But, dude, his career high,
what do you think his career high in goals?
33?
31.
I was a guess.
Career high on goals, 31.
He had 27 last year.
I mean, he's got to believe that's getting crushed this year.
Yeah, got to get 49.
goals in 10 games.
Say hot.
So,
change your game.
Yeah, absolutely.
And the devils
would fucking love that
if they get that kind of
production of him.
I still,
the devils are good.
Yeah.
You know,
they play the most games,
which is why they're in
first because the rangers are
up their ass.
But, um,
this is a big,
they would be,
because Jack's like a little bit
of a slowish,
is start.
Not little.
I'm gonna peepy whack Jack.
Yeah.
I love you.
You know that,
Jack.
But like,
I also know that you're a 120 point guy.
So let's get the motor.
Let's go.
Let's go here.
I put a lot of steak.
I'm giving you some go juice right now.
Like, use this as motivation.
You can be better.
Be better.
I know you can.
You're going to do it.
So, Nico, carrying the boys.
Love it.
Yeah, yeah, absolutely.
Love to see it.
At right wing, unlikely hero maybe.
What the fuck is going on?
Mark Stone down in Vegas.
Unbelievable.
Vegas is in first place in the Pacific.
He leads the NHL, Chris.
Leads the NHL points at 17.
He has eight points in his last three games.
I mean,
we got a hundred point season coming from Jack Eichael right now.
Yeah, we do.
We've got a hundred point season coming from Mark Stone right now.
What's Mark Stone's career high, 67 points or something like that?
That's a great question.
I mean, this is just remarkable stuff.
Mark Stone is on Fuego, dude.
And dude, it's like you said earlier, this is just, it's clear why, it's clear how valuable he is to the team.
Like we said, Eichl can't get hurt.
Mark Stone can't hurt this year.
Who knows what's going to happen?
It's 10 games in.
But you can see what a healthy firing Mark Stone does for this team.
No doubt about it, dude.
Career high, 73.
73 points, okay.
That was the year, actually, that he got traded to Vegas.
Oh, that was the split year.
So, Ottawa, Vegas.
Yeah.
Yeah, Ottawa Vegas, he went 33 and 40 for 73 and 77 games.
It's such a solid year.
Solid is a solid year.
30 goals, 40 assists.
But other than that, it's like 64, 62, 63, 61, you know, 53 last year.
But 53 and 56 last year, I might add.
Say again?
53 in 50s.
Oh yeah, yeah, he was buzzing last year.
Yep.
But, you know, maybe he heard me saying,
remember this year,
like we were talking about Vegas
and here they are in fucking first place,
but I was like, I think this year
Mark Stone can't get hurt.
Yeah.
And like, here we go, dude.
17 fucking points.
Starting right wing on the starting six this week.
Let's go.
Let's go.
Left D.
Always a tricky one, left D,
but I'm going, Victor Hedman.
I love it.
Got his first two tucks of the season
and that ridiculous 8-5 win
against the devils.
But that was sick.
He's got eight points in eight games.
He's a plus three while still playing
over 23 minutes a game.
he's just one of the guys that we said wouldn't let Tampa be bad
and that is currently happening.
Like we were like, all that trending pick of Tampa to maybe miss playoffs,
we were like, well, with Vassie and Kooch and Hedman, it would be tough.
And they're all nasty.
Yeah.
And I'm like, okay.
Never mind.
Seriously.
Yeah.
You're like, what the fuck.
Starting at right D.
It could be KAL again.
Probably should be Kail again.
Leads the league and assists.
We released that clip saying, you know, there's a chance.
It might be the best player in the NHL.
Guys, if you're looking for futures, I love that hard vote.
I love that hard vote.
But I'm going to give it to maybe my favorite name in the NHL.
Neil Pionk!
Pionk! Pionk!
Neil Pionk, buzzing.
On the best team in the league right now, he is firing.
He's got 10 points at eight games this year, including nine in his last five.
He's a plus seven and the Jets are undefeated.
This is what we're talking about.
Remember what we're talking about with the Leafs?
You got Morgan Riley?
Who's your other guy?
I know they got TANF. Calm down Leaf Shats.
Talk about a lot about Josh.
Morrissey on this team.
Here's Neil Peonk, buzzing as well.
Over a point per game.
On second pair.
Oh yeah.
Over point per game on the undefeated team in the league.
That's going to get you in the starting six.
So nasty.
That's just fantastic.
At goalie for the first time this year, it is not Connor Hellebuck in net.
It is Freddie Anderson.
And honestly, the Keynes could have been in trending up.
Yes, they could have, dude, because I was going to say through four games, I was a little
bit like this.
Does Carolina suck?
We talked about the losses they had on D.
Yep.
But then we also talked about they went out and replaced them immediately.
Yep. And maybe a little getting the gears going through four.
But Darby's scoring again.
The canes. They won three straight.
They were, and they're on a 3-0 West Coast swing, which is hard.
They're on a 3-0 road trip. If they beat Vancouver tonight, this is Monday, if they clean sweep at 4-0.
And Freddie, dude, who has been splitting time with Kochekoff to start the year, has now been taking the job and kind of firing.
A league best 9-4-1, save percentage, a league-best 1-4-8 goals against.
Freddie.
And dude.
Man, Freddie, since leaving Toronto,
unbelievable, regular season.
Yeah, he was going to say.
Freddie is just one of the best, most reliable goalies going.
He's maybe not going to, or he's not going to get you Vezna.
Yep.
But if he's in net for you, you're like, we're good.
Yeah.
And also that day, I mean, like Jacob Slavin.
Great player.
He's just going to help you out every time.
Yep.
Now we're going to finish with a game, as always.
and this time the game,
everybody play along.
This game is called
connective tissue.
This is one of the greatest
games I've ever invented.
Yep.
I just want to say
that I love that.
We used to play this game.
Dan,
I'd play this game
with movies all the time.
The way it works
is you come up with two movies
that their name connects.
Leads into each other.
And yeah,
so the end of one movie title
would be the first word
in the second movie.
Yes.
So our example for you guys
playing along is
the empire strikes back to the future.
back. The empire strikes back, back to the future. So the hint we would give is, I would say,
something like... I would say, after finding out that his father, that is, is, um... After finding out
the leader of the empire is his father. He travels back in time in a DeLorean. Yeah.
To bring his family back together. So you create a plot that's both so you can figure out the
connecting out the leader of the evil empire is secretly his father. He travels back in
in time in a DeLorean to bring his family back together.
And that one's a little easy, because we say things like the Empire and the DeLoreate.
So you can make it a little harder.
We would know we would have harder like that.
So in this game, NHL connective tissue.
Okay.
Their names connect.
Whose names connect?
Two players.
Players, okay.
And I'm going to give you a bio about this mystery player.
And to answer the original game correctly, Dan would have to say, the answer is the Empire
strikes back to the future.
Yes.
In this case, Dan's going to have to say two players.
Well, three names.
Oh, very cool.
it's going to be, that's what becomes the full thing.
Our team bored everyone in the league to death on the way to three Stanley Cup champions,
and I won a Con Smyth, despite surprisingly never winning a Norris.
Then, playoff success eluded me, even though I won two Rocket Richard trophies
until finally winning back-to-back cup championships, despite surprisingly never winning a Con Smyth.
Our team bored everyone to death.
Our team bored everyone in the league to death on the way to three Stanley Cup championships,
and I won a con Smyth, despite surprisingly never winning a Norris.
Then, playoff success eluded me, even though I won two rockets until finally winning back to back-to-back
championships despite never winning con smite.
I got it.
Dead Puck.
Scott Stephen Stamcoast.
Babe!
Come on, baby.
Scott Steven Stamcoast.
Very good, damn.
Hell yeah, dude.
Very good one.
That was trickery because with the board, I was thinking Islanders.
And then I was like, nope.
Not three championships.
What are you talking about?
Running that trap, dude.
And then the trap, dude.
Trapping the dead puck.
Nice, dude.
Never won a Norris.
Scott Stephen Stamcoast.
What a player.
What a career.
Five titles, two rockets.
Five titles, two rockets.
One consmite.
No Norris.
No Norris, though.
But you're winning, I mean, five cups, dude.
Five cups and a couple rockets and a consmite.
And a Norris.
Or no, sorry, no Norris.
That's in the hall, dude.
That guy's in the hall.
That guy's in the hall.
Scott Stephen Stamcoe.
Scott Stephen.
Stamcos.
Really good
job.
Really good
clues.
Really good
job.
That's unbelievable.
That's connective
tissue and that is
also our inaugural
episode in the new
studio.
Hopefully we'll have our
table next week
but until we see you
then enjoy Halloween.
I think this is coming
out 1030.
Yeah.
Enjoy Halloween.
Happy Halloween.
Everybody.
Happy Halloween.
Stay safe.
Have fun.
Yep.
And happy birthday
Dad.
Nice.
1029.
Happy birthday.
dad. And then, uh, you know, until all that, skate hard.
