Empty Netters Podcast - The Rats Are Back In Florida | EP.189

Episode Date: April 29, 2025

The battle of Florida took a massive swing in the final minutes and Ekblad must be facing a suspension. The Stars won a pivotal game 5 at home that has the Avs and their stacked roster on the brink of... elimination. The beer league hotline has the boys fired up and this might be the best blind ranking yet. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more 00:00 INTRO 00:21 NOT ICE 13:04 CATS / BOLTS 38:23 AVS / STARS 53:32 GOALIE TALK 1:00:11 BEER LEAGUE 1:07:03 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 With the guys the Dallas stars are missing and the guys the Colorado Avalanche brought in, I just don't know how you can look yourself in the mirror if you lose this series. They are officially out of excuses. And this loss would look really bad. Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by BedMGM. I am your host, Dan Powers. Whenever we go home to York, Maine, he doesn't pack any clothes because he wears the clothes from 2004 to 2008 that he just keeps in the bureau of his childhood bedroom. He thinks it's charming.
Starting point is 00:00:42 He thinks people love it. But whenever we're back there, my dad pulls me aside and says, what do I have to do to make your brother stop being so embarrassing? Chris Powers. As always. And here's the thing, I don't think it's charming, and I know people don't love it. I just, I don't feel like packing. I just close home. I just bring, I wear the clothes at home.
Starting point is 00:01:04 I pack light. Get back, boom. But what is the benefit of it? I don't have to pack stuff. I just go home, dude. I just go home and it's clothes there. But, so here's my question. You said pack light.
Starting point is 00:01:18 Why don't you just actually pack light? Just like pack, you know, a few shirts. And then you can just wear those shirts or pack no shirts. But you always... If you only flew with a backpack, I'd be like, you're really doing this. But that's not... You don't do that.
Starting point is 00:01:34 You would be shocked what's in the... Dude, like, I'll bring jackets or whatever because I really only have t-shirts and hoodies. Yeah. You know, like, I don't have... Just bring, like, one. I do, I bring the shirt as I wear. I'm wearing a shirt on the plane.
Starting point is 00:01:46 And I have that one. That's the shirt on my back. Yeah, that's the one. I fly back in that. Whenever we come back, I'm flying... Pay attention next time. I'm wearing the same shirt. You know what I love is there are people,
Starting point is 00:01:55 undoubtedly, from our hometown that see you. They see you in the grocery store. Yeah. And they're like, I wonder how Chris is doing. And every time they see you, you're wearing the same old raddy clothes. Because there aren't that many of them. Yeah, yeah. Yeah. And they're like, Jesus, like, I don't know if he's doing well. Because they think, they think I have that shirt in California. Yeah, yeah, yeah. And you're like, you're like, I got, I have to wear my York high school baseball sweatshirt when I'm here. And they're like, dude, this fucking kid is. Like, no, pal. It's been in my closet. Untouched for a year.
Starting point is 00:02:25 It is 1040. 7 p.m. Empty netters after dark. Empty netters after dark. We're coming at you with all of the hot topics, all of the live updated action. We had two games tonight that we're about to get into. If you didn't see our live this morning,
Starting point is 00:02:41 make sure you start turning into the lives. Monday morning, Wednesday morning, Friday morning, 12 p.m. Eastern, 9 a.m. Pacific. We're getting you live shows every other day. So then these pods fill Tuesday and Thursday. It's just every day. It's every day. Before we get into the hockey talk, the hot ice, if you will.
Starting point is 00:03:03 Yep. I wanted to talk about this on the live yesterday, but there was just too much going on. I flew. I was in New York over the weekend. Dude, just to stop you really quickly. Do you mean the live today? Oh, my God. Did I say yesterday?
Starting point is 00:03:20 Because, pal, that was today. That was literally today. That was this morning. That was this same day. And you didn't even, that wasn't a. bit. You were like, that was yesterday. And I'm telling you, dude, that was literally this morning. Dude, I'm hanging by a thread. I'm hanging by a thread. How are we going to make it to the final, but I'll tell you why. On my flight home, so a Sunday, I'm flying and I'm sitting in my seat
Starting point is 00:03:46 and I'm trying to watch the King's Edmonton game because it's absolute chaos. I think I had a 8 p.m. flight, which got delayed an hour. I was just sitting on the tarmac before takeoff for an hour because there was a traffic jam or some bullshit. But there's a portly gentleman to my left. This guy, I sit down in my seat. Got a nice seat on the plane,
Starting point is 00:04:10 but I sit down next to this guy, and I already know he's going to be a nightmare. Because when I sit down, this dude is watching, not anime porn, but right there. But it was right on the line. What is, um... These gals were not one. wearing much. What is it? Oh, it's like softcore. That's what, that's what. Well, I don't know if it would be
Starting point is 00:04:27 called softcore porn. We got to, we'll get Jordan Spence on the line to tell us more about the anime details. Uh, but it wasn't, it didn't appear to, I didn't peek at it that long. Well, doubt it. And I certainly couldn't hear it. Doubt it. And I don't know what the storylines were. Yeah. But these, there was a lot of gals, a lot of cartoon gals, and they weren't wearing much clothing. And he was just flaunting it on his. iPad. But the real issue with this guy, we're sitting on the plane. I'm trying to watch this game. He's sitting next to me and he's got his elbows on the armrest. This fucking prick was falling asleep and every 10 seconds, I'm not kidding. Every 10 seconds, he was falling asleep and he was
Starting point is 00:05:13 twitching and he was doing this. Yeah. Yeah. And just double ripcording. Are you in the middle? I was in a middle seat. So he's hit an aisle, nobody, and then you. Yeah. Double ripcording, just elbowing me in the arm. And I don't have my arm on the armrest. Yeah. I'm sitting in my coffin.
Starting point is 00:05:36 No, I said I had a nice seat, and then I said I was in the middle. I know that sounds contradictory. No, no, you're up. I'm up in a nice preferred seat. This fucking guy is just ripping me. And I'm telling you, it's just like, we're going on. We go on for almost an hour. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:05:50 and it's happening so frequently and eventually at one point I out loud I had my headphones in I was watching the game I out loud at one point buddy I went buddy you're killing me and like he kind of woke up and was like oh yeah but I'm wondering if there's something to do in that situation
Starting point is 00:06:09 next time the sleep makes it hard for me because I'm like what did you want I don't know what you did tell him you're like hey stay awake I'm falling asleep well no because here's the thing if I were trying to fall asleep too and he was just waking me up every five seconds because he's elbowing me. I think I genuinely would have tapped him and been like, excuse me, sir,
Starting point is 00:06:25 you are elbowing me every 10 seconds. I don't know what you need to do. Maybe tie your, grab a sweatshirt and tie your body up, but this cannot continue. It was crazy. Do you think he's done that on every flight he's ever been on? Every sleepable flight? I would imagine that there's a regular occurrence for him on planes.
Starting point is 00:06:43 Again, I don't want to spend a lot of time on this guy because it's only going to make me bad. And I just want to recharge the batteries, get back to Zia. we're going to move on from him but I need you to know that I was battling during that flight because this fucking guy was he was a couple elbows from getting jabbed I think you should have done it back
Starting point is 00:07:00 should have faked it I did one time I like I was kind of like yo dude fuck but man he didn't care yeah unbelievable let's talk about sinners real quick we saw sinners just gonna do a little bit of knot ice
Starting point is 00:07:16 before we get into it because we only had two games yeah do a little bit of not ice. Hot in the street, sinners. Everybody talking. Dude, everywhere I go, people asking me, maybe that's the LA bubble, but everybody's like, you seen sinners? You seen sinners? I loved it. Yeah, me too. I thought it was great.
Starting point is 00:07:30 Thought it was great. But I will say. Coogler can kind of do no wrong for me. The guy's hot. He's no misses. My biggest takeaway is the post-credit scene was not only the best scene in the movie, but also the most important scene. It was wildly
Starting point is 00:07:49 inappropriate that it was a post-credit scene. We saw about 20 people walk out of it. Yeah, missed it. They saw a significantly worse movie than I did. A hundred percent. So if you haven't seen it yet, sit your ass down, dude, and don't miss it. For those who don't know, sinners, Ryan Coogler directed, Ryan Coogler did
Starting point is 00:08:04 Fruitvale Station, he did Creed, he did Black Panther, elite director. And this movie takes place in 1930s, Mississippi. Michael B. Jordan plays two characters, twins. Twin brothers. who runs a hockey podcast. Grew up in Mississippi.
Starting point is 00:08:21 I mean, yeah. Yeah, head off to Chicago, come back, start bootlegging, set up a juke, little music joint, liquor joint, and some vampire show up. It's a vampire movie. Yeah, it sure is. I'll tell you what. Had a blast.
Starting point is 00:08:37 Thought this movie was great. Shadow Jack O'Connell. Phenomenal. I think it is crazy that Ryan Coogler definitely saw for getting Sarah Marshall. and went, I'll tell you what, there's something to this vampire musical idea. Because eating did one.
Starting point is 00:08:57 Because this is a borderline musical. It's not. There's so much music in this movie. Yeah, there's a lot of music. And by that I mean musical numbers. Early in the movie, I mean, the opening sequence is a tale about music and what music can do. Music can bring on the devil. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:09:13 That's the devil's music. Yeah. And that's great. Yep. It was a good theme. They did it well. I was not prepared for the multiple singing and dancing numbers. I don't want to give stuff away, but there was one in the middle where I said to you.
Starting point is 00:09:26 I was like, what, dude? Well, it's a vampire musical, dude. It's literally a taste for love. They should rename the movie to a taste for love. Dude, actually, based on some of the plot points, I actually think that would be a better name. That would actually be a better name. There are two things that were abundantly clear in this movie. And this is the only tease that I'll give you guys.
Starting point is 00:09:45 Because if you haven't seen sinners, go see it. It's fantastic. Two things very, very clear. One, Ryan Cougler had recently seen Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Yep. Two, he had recently eaten pussy. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:09:59 And he was like, I've got to, I've got to put this in. Oh, oh, a little brainwave. I've got to put in eaten pussy as many times in this movie as I possibly can. And that's great. Post-credit scene incredible. Dan, I found this on Complex Magazine. Okay.
Starting point is 00:10:15 And they said, we are giving you the 11, best actor-director partnerships in Hollywood. Wow. Number one, Martin Scorsese and Leo DiCaprio. How mad do you think Robert DeNiro is about that? Serious question. Yeah, dude, because coming in at four is Martin Scorsese and Robert DeNaro. I cannot wait to share this list with you.
Starting point is 00:10:43 Coming in at two, Jordan Peel and Daniel Kaluya. They've done two movies. Two. One was really good and one was really bad? Yep. Number three. Greta Gerwig. Oh, I knew. Oh, I know. Oh, my God. This, stop reading this list.
Starting point is 00:11:05 Over, over Scorsese and De Niro, dude. Five, Spielberg and Hanks, dude. Six. What a list. Six, Quinn Tarantino, Samuel L. Jackson. What a list. Dude, that one. Seven, seven, Spike Lee and Denzel. This is actually kind of an off-the-wall one,
Starting point is 00:11:25 good. Eight, Adam McKay, Will Ferrell. Oh. Okay, dude. And what I wanted to ask, I don't need to keep going. What I wanted to ask you is, where is Cougler and Michael B? Dude, like, Coogler and Michael B are better than two and three on that list. Yeah, and they, or three and four on that list.
Starting point is 00:11:44 And I kind of think they're, like, they're now approaching doing something, I think, on that list, even though most of them are, you know, like one's Marvel and one's like sports action. That fuck that that doesn't matter. Creed is elite. Those are sick. I'm anime award winning.
Starting point is 00:12:04 I love them. I love them. I love it. So that's actually going to be like do you think, where do you think they might rank at the end of all this? Oh, they're getting up there, dude. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:12:12 And also it's so sick to me that they are clearly boys. I know, dude. That's all what's the life's all about, dude. Dude, working with your boys. I just want to do hood rat shit with my friends. Yeah. That's all I ever want to do. Yep. And we've got one of the best directors going and a great.
Starting point is 00:12:25 great, great, charismatic young actor just making bangers. And dude, I want those swings. Like come up with fucking cool ideas and cool characters like that. Oh, dude, sinners is... In fact, I actually want to go even harder with this pitch.
Starting point is 00:12:38 Go fucking C-Cinners. Everyone on Earth go C-Centers. You know, why? Because it's an original idea. Yeah. How about that? It's a fan-fucking-tastic movie that's an original idea.
Starting point is 00:12:49 It's fun. It's awesome. There's great actors in it. There's great characters and there's great music. Yep. I'm so in, dude fucking fantastic
Starting point is 00:12:57 All right Speaking of blood Speaking of blood baths We have got Mayhem in the streets We're gonna start off We've got the Panthers bolts
Starting point is 00:13:08 We've got the Avs stars We're gonna start off in the east We're gonna start Panthers bolts Panthers bolts Game 4 We're doing our hot takes You have this one You have the floor
Starting point is 00:13:20 Yeah my hot take in this is that the Panthers are now, and potentially have always been completely full of shit. And I thought that they were too tired to do something this year because that's what they were telling me, not literally out of their mouths, but it was just like what I could see with my eyes.
Starting point is 00:13:46 They were getting that message across to me. And then I said, I'm not buying it. But they are too tired to go a long way, but they're not too tired for one round. And maybe I'm literally falling victim to that. Exact theory. But the Panthers team that I'm watching right now is like, we can very easily go back to the cup. And I think that they played the rest of the regular season so not caring about their seating or anything, which we really had mentioned.
Starting point is 00:14:16 But just I think I didn't buy it all the way. I was like, yeah, I'm sure they don't care because they're like, We've been here before, but also you are pretty banged up and tired and you can't do this. And they're like this. Incorrect. You're a loser. Yeah. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:14:29 We're liars. You're an idiot. Yeah. And I'm like, okay. That's how I'm currently feeling. Yeah. That was a wild game. Dude, even if they had lost, it just, I had this, I was going to bring this up at the end of this segment, but the, and the Rangers are about to catch such a stray here, so I'm sorry.
Starting point is 00:14:50 but when the Rangers and Panthers were playing last year, that was an example of a playoff matchup where I feel like the Panthers were better than the Rangers, but the Rangers were good and could have won that series. And they won two games when they went up to one maybe, but the point is even watching those games, I felt like you and I were going, well, the Panthers are better than them. Much.
Starting point is 00:15:19 Chesty's playing great. They lost an old. Over time, a couple bad bounces here, someone cash on the power play there. It was easy for me to see, in my opinion, which team was better. And when I'm watching these two teams, especially when they settle in, there's moments, whatever, but when these two teams settle in, it just these two are two fucking nasty teams that are just as good and just as deep, and have just as good goalies and just as good coaches. And there's just no give, dude.
Starting point is 00:15:46 Like, they can barely shoot, Dan. Like, I watched the game and they're like, we have five fucking shots. all game because like no one can get the puck near the net because everyone checks so well but they're all so good it's just dude these two are two unstoppable forces and it's been super fun to watch i just i don't even know that i knew that's what i was walking into but that's exactly what we walked into yeah well said dude i think the big takeaway from me through four games here is i and this is shame on me yeah i forgot and i say this would love panthers fans i forgot how how scummy the Panthers are.
Starting point is 00:16:23 And again, I mean that in the good way, in the way that has brought them to back-to-back cups, won them a cup last year. Like, they are so down and dirty in the best way possible. It gets under team's skin. It gets wins. And, yeah, it is gnarly how hard they go. And, yeah, they're just, they're healthy and they're nasty.
Starting point is 00:16:46 and this game was crazy to me because, as we discussed on the live this morning, yes, sir. Tampa kind of waxed them game three. Florida scored first, but Tampa bounced right back, and then they, you know, they rung it up, and that was great. And you had the chuck hit drama, and you're like, okay, well, can Tampa come in and take care of business? Florida gets on the board first
Starting point is 00:17:16 and I don't think we can go any further in this without talking about what happened Monster play in I believe the second period yeah second period Brandon Hagle has the puck on the half wall and Aaron
Starting point is 00:17:33 Eckblad comes down the boards and Bazooka cocks his elbow and forearm and drives it straight into Hegel's face. Hagel goes back, head off the ice, immediately leaves looking a little wobbly. Hoping Hegel's okay, more than anything, just like we hope. Barkov was okay.
Starting point is 00:17:59 No call. And this one was such a unique and funny moment watching. Sorry, I don't mean funny because you know, hope no one's hurt. That had happened. and the announcers are boy Sean McDonough doing the broadcast with Ray Ferraro that happens and everyone's like oh a huge hit on Hegel
Starting point is 00:18:25 and the Florida crowd goes fucking berserk and then it cuts to the bench and John Cooper and the Tampa bench are losing their shit and I was like I mean did Hegel just get popped because to be fair from the camera angle you can only see
Starting point is 00:18:39 fans watching this Hagel's back and then Eckblad's back yeah the replay happens and you see that elbow lead the fucking way dude like john snow being first to first to battle and ray goes oh my god like ray for all on the broadcast was like oh jesus christ we got to try to find that clip it was so funny like that replay happens and he goes oh goodness that is that is a very high hit and then it cuts to dave jackson our our referee specialist and he was like
Starting point is 00:19:16 Like, yeah, that. He goes, Raisin' analysis is pretty bang on, actually. Yeah. Like this is direct quote. Usually they like protect the wraps and they're very political. He was like, yeah, that is, that's, that's pretty high, dude. Like, I don't know what to fucking say.
Starting point is 00:19:29 Dude, the slow-mo, Dan, when it cut to him, because I was, too, because I heard them be like, Hegel was, I was on my phone at that point. So I'm watching like this. They were like, Hagle's little wobbly. And I was like, oh, no. So I'm watching to see if the shoulder's high. And the replays in such slow-mo. And as Eckblad is approaching him, I see.
Starting point is 00:19:46 his shoulder rotation beginning. Like he's going like this in super slow-mo and I remember thinking to myself man it looks like he's about to punch him in the face.
Starting point is 00:19:57 Dude. And then he just does like literally dude it's as if he was in a street fight and was just trying to forearm shiver him in the jaw and drop him. It's an MMA move to
Starting point is 00:20:07 which he did. And I was like, yo, I couldn't believe that's where that play ended. And I know there's still images of like run of the ref being right there and everybody's like, how do you miss this? And it shouldn't have been missed, dude.
Starting point is 00:20:20 That's an NHL game. There's four refs on the ice. It shouldn't have been missed. But it was a scrum of bodies up along the wall. It was probably hard to see, whatever. But an absolutely insane bullet dodge to get away with that. Dude, to drop Hagle and he doesn't return, man. Like he's banged up in a bad way.
Starting point is 00:20:38 Doesn't return. And then Eklad's just in. And, dude, keep in mind, for those keeping score at home, Eckblad has just returned from a 20-game PED, suspension. He's been back for two games and that absolutely pounds Hegel in the jaw. And I'm like, you're going to go sit, hope that bench was warm
Starting point is 00:20:54 dude. Hope it was nice up on the ninth floor in the Coors Light Zone, dude, because you're going back up. Like, you're, he apparently still jacked up on all those roids because like that was just too much rage coming through in that play. It's it's funny because I, you know, we said online
Starting point is 00:21:10 this is one of those rare moments where I think both fan bases are going to be like, yep, that was pretty dirty. And I'd say 95% of the responses have been that. But I love when you just get, you know, here's a response right now from a person
Starting point is 00:21:26 with a Miami Heat Twitter profile photo. Hell yeah. It says, Heat Nation, keep pounded, time to hunt, roll tide in their profile. Van Bama. And it just says, Dirty Hit, quote, motherfucker, this is playoff hockey. Not like Hegel
Starting point is 00:21:42 didn't do it first. Fuck out of here. And I'm just like, man, fans are special, dude. Dude, that's a, yeah, it's... To be a Florida Panthers fan and watch that hit and not have the brain in your head to be like this, yeah, it's dirty. And even if you want, in my opinion, to have the ignorant take of like this,
Starting point is 00:21:57 well, Hegel did it first. Yeah. Means we're gonna cheap shot people because fuck it. Yep. Even if you want that take, at least at first be like this, yeah, it's, that was bad.
Starting point is 00:22:07 Dude, we have, I'm obviously not gonna say who, but like, that happened and we, our phones start blowing up players texting us, not in the game players. Like players in the league being like, Ecky is done, dude. Oh, dude. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:22:17 Numerous, unsolicited, active NHL players texted us today being like this, well, that's a suspension. And I was like, yeah. So how much you get? What do you think he gets? I don't see a world. It's tough because, you know, we'll obviously get to this, but out of fucking nowhere, Florida wins that game. Yeah. And they're up three one.
Starting point is 00:22:37 So you hate in a series that's within, or rather through four games, anything more, you hate any suspension. Yeah. But anything more than one feels Devastate, I do not see how that's not two games. And I'm not, I mean, I'm a bitch. Hand up, like just in life in general. I'm a fucking pussy, dude. I'm a sensitive little fucking fancy boy,
Starting point is 00:22:59 boozy bitch. I know that. But I am not soft with this stuff. I am usually like, dude, wipe it. Don't even, give them a fucking fine. We need more fines. Start fining people out the ass. I don't see how this is in two games.
Starting point is 00:23:14 There is like, and again, I hate the dramatic statements, but someone said online, someone was like, how is that hockey play? And I was kind of like, I hear you. I wouldn't go as far. I feel like that's a little dramatic. Yeah, that's too far for me. It's a little dramatic. It's a little dramatic.
Starting point is 00:23:26 It's too far for me. But I think if he literally went like this, it's still such like a weird, I'm like, what do you doing? That's what I'm saying. But even if you just hit him across the chest, I don't even think they call anything. I think they're like, whatever, dude. I disagree.
Starting point is 00:23:36 I think if the refs had a better angle of that. And the one, the defense I will have for the refs on the ice, I don't understand how no one saw it. But the defense I will have is it does, there's no angle of. Without the camera angle, like it happens against the board. Totally. He's like, he's hiding the elbow with his back almost. I think if anyone saw that, even if it did hit him in the chest,
Starting point is 00:23:58 they probably would have been like elbowing. Oh, they would have tossed him immediately. No, I'm saying, but what you said, if that hit him in like the chest. Oh, sure, sure. I still think that's an elbow. Yeah, I'm like, I don't know what they would have done. What are you doing, dude? You can't forearm people.
Starting point is 00:24:10 Like, it's, it's an MMA move. literally. It's an MMA move. Dude. So that's where I'm like, again, it's dramatic. It's too dramatic for me. I wouldn't say that, like, that's not a hockey move. But at the same time I'm like, it's not really. Like it's, that is not how you hit someone. So it's nuts, dude.
Starting point is 00:24:25 I think, I think if he gets two, if he gets more than two, I don't like it. I think if he gets two, it's, um, I was about to say fair. I think it's probably, I won't throw a fit. Um, I bet he gets one. I agree. Just because they went, because Hegel's was way less bad for a million reasons.
Starting point is 00:24:46 For a million reasons. That's another one that I'm like. But I just know that everybody's like, this is what happened here. And that was a super high hit on our best player. And I just think they're going to go. The people who say that, you've immediately lost all credibility. That's what happens when you come at our captain. Okay, I don't trust your opinion anymore.
Starting point is 00:25:00 Just two hand them across the face. That's what I think they're just going to go one game. Yeah, me too. Me too. One game, you know, whatever. And that's fine, too, by the way. If he gets one, I'm not going to be like pitch four. fork. Like, he should have got two. This is ridiculous.
Starting point is 00:25:13 Like, in fact, I'm kind of like, Hegel got one. Yep. But again, if Hegel missed his next game with a concussion, I'm like, fuck you, you're out the series. Yes, yeah. I always say that, dude. So it's tough. I'm with you in that. If he gets one, I'm kind of, that's the eye for an eye. I'm like, yeah, yeah. I mean, people
Starting point is 00:25:31 wanted it with Cichuk. I don't think Cichick should have been a suspension. I'm glad it wasn't. Glad he didn't even have a hearing. But as we said with Hagle, I thought he shouldn't have got a suspension. I thought that was kind of ass. But I got it. I, or not so much understood it. We expected it. Yes. In the episode before, we were both like, I bet he gets one. This one, I bet he gets one, but I'm sitting here being like, he probably should get two. Like that was, again,
Starting point is 00:25:57 the reaction from so many NHLers to us that were like, Jesus Christ, what was that? But to be clear, they were kind of saying, he's going to get suspended, not going. As long as we were getting text where they were like, he's done for three games, they were just going, he's going to get suspended. Yeah. Universally, that's the, that's the, the sentiment. So it could definitely be one. And I think I'm willing to go as far as I hope it's one. Yeah. I'm just, I hope it's one. Right after that, though, I wanted to say this, because obviously Tampa scores immediately. Dude, literally bang, bang, bang, goal, and that did feel like a hockey odds. I actually was like make-up call on the way. They didn't have time to get a makeup
Starting point is 00:26:30 call because it was just goal, literally face off goal. 11 seconds later. And dude, this is actually one of the most fired up I've ever been in recent memory, just watching a playoff hockey game. John Cooper was losing his shit after the second goal. And dude, there are stories about him with the boys, like that epic speech. And I think there was miced up a little bit at Four Nations, but the shit he says in the locker and with the fellas, someone would be a hero out there, be selfish out there,
Starting point is 00:26:55 score the O.T winner, all that shit. He can get him going with the best of them. But on the bench, he's not really that boisterous. Dude, when that, who got the second one? I can't remember. Surnack. Yeah, when the second one went in, dude, Cooper was literally like high stepping up the bench.
Starting point is 00:27:09 like let's fucking go boys come on i was like dude i thought tampa was going to win that game a thousand to one after that i that really pumped me up how fucking juiced he was at the disservice done to one of his his special boys dude you know and dude one of your best players oh my god that was fucking dope dude that he really he tapped into something there i was fired up yeah uh crazy shit uh to me the turning point of that game is so you get that Tampa goes up uh I thought that game was very even. Me too. That's so same at the top. Very, very even. There was a power play that Florida got before that I was like, oh shit, like this could get
Starting point is 00:27:48 out of hand here because Florida was getting great chances. But after that, I was like, this game's very even. Tampa gets the two goals, and then for me, it was Tampa's game. Yes, but still close. Very close. Then Mikala, crazy play. And this one is where I actually don't think Mikala will get suspended. Oh, me neither, nor do I think he should. But that was nuts. It was just a weird decision. It was just, you're too horny.
Starting point is 00:28:15 Yeah, yeah. Like, you're playing physical, but there was a guy. Was on the ice for like five full seconds. Never even flirted with getting up. And you just have a player on his knees and you're like, I just, I have to. To smash his head. I have to hit him as hard as humanly possible into the boards right now. Just crazy.
Starting point is 00:28:36 Because, dude, if he had just kind of. kept him down, like literally used the pressure of his body to just like keep him down. Cross check him in the back. Just like keep him down. That's fine. But he was like,
Starting point is 00:28:46 nah, I'm going to body check him. And drive him into the boards. And smash his head. I'm going to squish his head like grape into the boards. It was bizarre. And like, I feel like the rest were like, you're out, dude.
Starting point is 00:28:57 Yeah, that way. They were like, dude, you're throwing out of the game. I don't know what you're out of here. And he was like, yeah, I don't know what happened. He was like, that's on me, dude. That's on me.
Starting point is 00:29:05 But turning point of the game was Tampa. not scoring on that five-minute powerplay. Dude, not only did not score, but also that they didn't threaten. I was on against a anytime goal score, and I was like, here it comes, this is a no-brainer. It was awful. It was awful. Fuck, man.
Starting point is 00:29:22 And then, yeah, Florida gets powerplay. Fucking Ekblad, who shouldn't even be in the game, scores, turns out its offsides, and then, a little while later, Eckblad. Front of the netman, Ekblad, Blad scores again with a beautiful goal. Was there goalie out already? Like, had they pulled the dog?
Starting point is 00:29:42 No, no, no, no. That was even? Are you sure? Absolutely. Okay. Because it makes no sense why he was standing there. It was very strange. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:29:48 But the toys, dude. Yeah. Just a great goal by him. He kind of catches it on his forehand. Kind of has the left side of the net open and he just waits a moment. That's the one that counted. It puts it back the other side. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:30:01 It couldn't believe he didn't shoot that sticks out. It was like, what? Beautiful poise. Yes, that was, that was, a dagger. Yeah. And dude, it was because, like,
Starting point is 00:30:11 I even think the fact that he scored got them juiced up a little bit, even though it came back. Sometimes that can suck the wind out of yourself. And they were offside by so much on that one, by the way. I mean, I actually can't believe that was bizarre. That was even allowed to happen.
Starting point is 00:30:23 Because I really do hate those long, though, like, you were actually offside five minutes ago, and I'm like, fuck you, dude. Yeah. But, you know, offside is offside. But I actually think they just rode that waiver. They're like,
Starting point is 00:30:33 we're going to get one. Because Vasi and Bob were playing awesome. Yeah, weird game, right? Not a lot of shots. Because 22 to 20, both teams are so good. They're so good defensively. And yeah, I feel bad for Vassi at the end of the day as 8, 6, 4, 8%, 8%, it looks like a bad game. But it's just like, I mean, he played so well.
Starting point is 00:30:52 He had so many great saves. So I still think you do have playoff Vassi. Yeah, yeah. That Ekblad one was, you know, you got a guy who's left nude in front who makes a great play. And then the third one, he obviously wants back, but it was so bizarre. It kind of bounced all over place, hit multiple things. But dude, in a matter of seconds, all of a sudden, boom, Florida has the lead. You're now kind of just like backpedaling, trying to catch your breath, pull the goalie, got an empty net.
Starting point is 00:31:16 I don't worry. But that was that. Dude, and it's, it's a killer for me because of the emotional roller coaster. I think if you lose this game to Florida, if you lose this game to Florida, 2-1, 3-2, whatever, and you never led, and it's like, fuck, tough game, I think you still kind of go like, wow, fucking, we're fine. I might be the spin zoning this. but I just, I hated for Tampa. And I picked Tampa. I hated for them.
Starting point is 00:31:41 The C and Hegel go down, rallying immediately, two quick goals. Your coach is going apeshit. The boys are fired up. Mikaa goes crazy again. Another guy down. They're already short bench. But then you're like, we're going to score on this power player. We're going to win this fucking game and take two in Florida after everybody said we were
Starting point is 00:31:57 fucked after dropping two in Tampa. And we are fucking back and you are so fucked now. Like all that emotion. Yeah. I must have been coursing through them as the clock hits. four minutes in the third period. Yeah. And then you're like this, freak goal, freak goal, and empty another, and you're dead.
Starting point is 00:32:11 And I'm not, they're not dead, but it's just like, oh, very bad. Yeah. It feels like shit. Yep. And I think that will lead me into my next point is I pick Tampa as well. But I'm also here to say to all the listeners and all of our followers, just because we pick someone doesn't mean we're rooting for them. Like, I don't give the fuck if my brat kick goes well.
Starting point is 00:32:30 I want to see good hockey. Yep. And also keep in mind, you know, we grew up Bruins fans. last year, I picked Florida to beat Boston. Like, I was like, this, what are we talking about? I wasn't rooting for him. Yeah, it doesn't mean I'm rooting for one team or another. I love Florida.
Starting point is 00:32:44 I love their fans. I love Tampa. I love their fans. This is, I, I've said so many times I hate that this is the first round matchup, because I want to see both these teams go deep. So this, this statement isn't, doesn't have any bias in it. That game was, I had a weird taste in my mouth after that game because I was like, that sucks.
Starting point is 00:33:03 I thought Tampa deserved to win that game. I thought they played better. And then it does blow when Ekblad scores to tie it. Break your back like that when he shouldn't be in the game. And that's not me being like, oh, bullshit. Like, let's just, let's be real. Shouldn't have been in the game. Shouldn't have been in the game.
Starting point is 00:33:19 He should have been suspended for that. But ultimately, this Florida team is gritty as fuck. And yeah, it's been cool. It's been cool every day. see or you know every every other day as these two teams play just seeing florida remind everyone of why they won the stanley cup why they currently hold the stanley cup and they're healthy playoff bob is playoff bob and they're just hard to fucking beat and you know it's funny man last year round one was battle of florida if i'm not mistaken um yes round one around two played us and then new york yeah yeah
Starting point is 00:34:05 Yeah, round one. And checked, look that up for me. I believe Florida won in six. Actually, no. It might have been much less. Florida one in five. Florida one in five. So we're through five games here, had five games there.
Starting point is 00:34:21 And what was that stat we saw the other day? I think Cooch is now 14 games without a goal in the playoffs. Yeah, I think it's something like that, yeah. Well, 10 of those are against Florida. Yeah, right. Now, you had three assists last game. Great. That's part of what Kuch does. He had 100 assists two years ago. But this is one of those things where you do kind of have to sit back and go,
Starting point is 00:34:45 I imagine Sasha Barkov. I imagine Anton Lundell. I imagine Matthew Kachuk, Gustav Foresling, and Ekblad back in has a lot to do with shutting down Nikita Kuchraf from scoring goals. Ten straight playoff games. Crazy. No goals from him. That's hard. Hard to win. Hard to win when your 130 point guy can't score a goal. I would be bummed if this ends in five just from a hockey standpoint.
Starting point is 00:35:13 I think there's two awesome teams. That's part of the reason I'm so bummed today. Sorry, nine straight game. I keep saying 10. I keep thinking we're on to game five. But it's nine straight games against this team. That today went the way it did. But here's the other scary part about the Florida thing.
Starting point is 00:35:26 And how I was saying these two teams just look so good. Could Chuck obviously three goals to the playing well. See, Sam Bennett, two goals. But Barkoff, zero. Sam Reiner, one for Hagee got his first today empty netter. Like some of these guys that have been, Brad Marchand, zero, some of these guys that have been absolute game changers in this exact scenario for this Panthers team
Starting point is 00:35:47 hasn't even done it yet, which is kind of terrifying if you're certainly the lightning and then let alone everyone else that they could play moving forward. No doubt about it. Huge game five, obviously. Winner go home for Tampa. They haven't won at home yet. You've got to win at home.
Starting point is 00:36:04 Haven't won at home yet. You've got to win at home. But the big hold-your-breath moment for all of us now is going to be Eckblad and Mikala. Again, I don't even think... And Hagle. Yes. Hagle, God, we just hope he's okay and he comes back next game. He's already missed one more game than we would have liked. I don't think Mikala will get a hearing. I don't either.
Starting point is 00:36:27 Echblad certainly will. Eckbuzz getting a hearing and getting minimum one game. Yeah. So we'll see what's up with that. Babes, by now you know that we have teamed up with BetMGM, without a doubt, the best sportsbook in the game, and it is the best season for sportsbook. We've got NHL playoff action cooking right now. We are getting into all the good stuff. It is unbelievable because BetMGM is always taking care of your boys. And right now they're doing the NHL hat trick jackpot.
Starting point is 00:36:56 So what we're going to do is we're going to get dialed on some anytime goal scores. We love those. We've got some of the best goal scores in the game right now playing in these playoffs. So you got a nice pot to pick from. You pick your anytime goal score, and if you win, that's great. But here's the thing. If the guy that you pick in your anytime goal score scores three or more goals in that game, bang. You are entered in a chance to win your share of 10 grand, 10,000 bucks.
Starting point is 00:37:23 So if your anytime goal score gets a hatty, like Svetnikov did the other night, bang, you're in the NHL Hatrick Jackpot. who's got it better than us nobody and also when you sign up for betm jim right now with promo code netters they're hooking you up you can bet up to 1500 bucks and if you lose it you get it all back are you kidding me that is ridiculous the bonus bets are coming for you bet mjm is taking care of you like no one else because they care about you more than anyone else it's the best sports book in the game it's the best season to be getting in on the action with your boys right now sign up today N-E-T-E-T-E-R-S, you will not regret it. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-800-Gambler available in the U.S.
Starting point is 00:38:02 Call 877-A-N-Y or text Hope-N-Y-4-6-6-9-N-N-Y-N-N-A-N-S-E-N-A-N-R-N-A-N-R-A-N-A-N-A-N-A-R-V-E-R-E-N-A-R-R-E-N-A-R-R-E-R-R-E-R-R-R-R-R-R-E-R-R-R-R-R-R-R-R-R-R-R-E. First pet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements. Bonus bets are non-withdrawable in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel. CibetMGM.com for terms. US promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. Moving on to the other game of the night, Avs Stars. It's time for my hot take. This series tied 2-2, heading into this game.
Starting point is 00:38:34 My hot take is that Kail McCar is hurting this avalanche team. I love it, dude. I don't know why yet, but I love it, dude. Continue. Now, a little bit of a revisionist history in what I just said. Okay. Is Kal-McKar hurting this team because he is playing poorly? He is damaging the team?
Starting point is 00:39:00 No. He is hurting this team because through five games, Kail Makar has two assists and is a dash three. He's doing his start of the year thing. He was start of the year. He was dash 12 in the first month. month or the first few weeks, worst player on the team, that became the best defenseman in the league.
Starting point is 00:39:19 This is about to be Norris Trophy winning Kalal McCar, who had 30 goals as a defenseman this year. He has two points in five games and is a dash three. Yeah. Not going to cut it. No, not even close. It's not going to cut it. And you look at the other side, Cal McCar, playing about 26, a little over 26 minutes,
Starting point is 00:39:41 26 and a half minutes a game. Mm-hmm. You know who's showing them? up, dude. 28, 39. Thomas Harley on the other side. Oh, dude. Tom's Harley. It's been so good. Stepping up massively. Yep.
Starting point is 00:39:53 So, we go into this game, felt like the abs shook off the emotions of Landy returning. And almost easier being on the road. Yeah. With all that. And, you know, they get a huge win. This game.
Starting point is 00:40:12 You blinked. We get another first minute goal. why Johnson bang nine seconds nine seconds dude it's such a brutal one this is a glitch in the matrix that I'm telling you you're right um it's fucked because that goes in and it's not even a one of those ones where you feel like mackenzie blackwood was being super lazy sometimes you see those off angle ones and you're like that was your fault that one was just like McKenzie blackwood's like this is the this is the place the way you're supposed to be standing it was everything right it was a sick goal and a cheeky goal I'm like can't believe it went in and then after that
Starting point is 00:40:43 I thought all I was playing really well, but after that, Blackwood was fantastic. Yeah, he was. Made some big saves. And the aves were fantastic. I thought they completely settled in, didn't let that goal bother them. And they were like, we're good here. In fact, they were running them so hard in the first that I was like, they're probably going to win this game comfortably.
Starting point is 00:40:58 And then last minute, you get, that was the Harley one, right? Yeah, Harley takes a shot. And granted, that was like, he's walking down Main Street, so that was a great A chance. But again, another kind of insane bounce. Blackwood pops it up with the, with the blocker, and then immediately does the zoom backwards into his net thing. Like, it's not even like he was spinning around like a top. He zooms back into the net and it somehow still hits him on the back and goes in,
Starting point is 00:41:21 which is felt impossible. Yeah. So they go down and then... And keep in mind, Chris. I don't know. I'm sorry if I missed you saying this. The Harley goal was a minute left. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:41:32 Right. Like, what the fuck? And then rant and it, dude. A minute 12. Yeah. Into the second. And it's like, what is going on? Oh, dude.
Starting point is 00:41:40 And that one's a big one because for a million reasons. Yeah. Because it's like finally he's on the board, which is probably sneaky something the aves were enjoying too. Not sneaky. Don't think there was a damn thing sneaky about it. Like you love that he's not going. So you're like, this is fucking awesome.
Starting point is 00:41:54 And then it's now it's 3-0 and that fucking barn is rocking and you're fucked. I want to get into the abs near comeback. Actually, let's just do that now because I have a larger thing I want to say. When McKinnett, this Ave seems so scary because when McKinnett scores that goal to make it three, two. I don't think we verbalized this, but there's no way you weren't also sitting on the couch right there being like, the apps are going to win this game. Um, I was, I was not thinking it certainly, but I was like this there. So I was like, they are going to tie it. Yeah, I did think they were going to tie it. This game is not out of reach at all. And yeah, it's like, Leckin and scores and you're
Starting point is 00:42:30 like, oh, that's big. Lecky gets his second. And then, yeah, the Nate goal to, the second he touched that puck. I was like this goal. Yep. And then you see his celly. I mean, he always just fired up, But like that was a cellar that was like, here we fucking go, dude. I got you. So that was huge. And then I forget who took that penalty on Colorado, but there was a massive penalty take there where you are, you never want to go short,
Starting point is 00:42:51 but that was like, you had the game by the Nutsack right there. You go short-handed and then bang, Dallas power play goal. Was it Kivir-Ranta? I feel like it cut to Kivir-Ranta after. Maybe he was on. He looked so bummed after.
Starting point is 00:43:02 But then Wyatt gets his second, disgusting play from the boys there, Dutchie across the crease, through Kale's legs, Wyatt under the bar, ping, fucking so dope. So then they go 4-2, and then it just went to hell, dude.
Starting point is 00:43:14 It was like 4-2, 5-2. Okay, so a couple things here. One, that Dallas win just guaranteed that if they are going to lose this series, and this came up on the live this morning, if they are going to lose this series, DeBore would have to lose his first game seven ever. That's what that win guaranteed.
Starting point is 00:43:38 Either they win in six or something that's not. never have been done is going to have to happen. And Colorado's going to have to do it in Dallas, where they haven't won that much this year. Yeah. Two, DeBoer made a comment that I was so taken aback by mid-game. And as he said it, I was like, that's ridiculous. But then I was like, actually, you're 100% right. And that's so fair. And we see this in sports all the time. He was doing his mid-second period interview. And he goes, they're like, what do you think about your game? And he goes,
Starting point is 00:44:13 well, yet again, after game four, yet again, everyone wrote us off. So I'm really happy about our response tonight, blah, blah, blah. And I was like, everybody wrote you off. I think you finished with like
Starting point is 00:44:26 the third most points in the fucking league. Nobody was writing you off. You're not allowed to play the nobody believes in us card. That was my initial reaction. But then I was like, actually, you might be 100% right because everyone I talked to,
Starting point is 00:44:39 everybody, including both of us, was like, I'm so excited for that series. Colorado's going to win. Dallas is too hurt. Dallas is this. Oh, yeah. People definitely wrote them off. Write them off such a shit.
Starting point is 00:44:50 It's like, dude, no one writes you off when you're like, you're playing what I think. You are the two best teams in this conference. Yes, but to his point, I would argue that if he goes literally 99% of people picking, picked Colorado. Again, he's right about that, but I take umbrage with the term, wrote you off. Wrote you off means like this.
Starting point is 00:45:07 You're a clown. But like, fair, he's right. Yeah. He is a fucking ass clown to say that everyone is writing them off after the series was two, two. Who the fuck wrote them off after that fourth game? I, dude, it's obviously... Some people did, but like everyone, that's such bulletin board bullshit. Well, yes, that's what I was I'm about to say.
Starting point is 00:45:27 Of course is bulletin board bullshit. But I do think coming out of that game, I guess we probably didn't even say it in the live today, but if you're the aves, you go, we kind of tagged, and I know game one was closer than it looked, You kind of tagged them twice and then lost two OT games. We're like, whatever. We're like, it's two, two, but we're one bounce away from a fucking sweep. And like, you know, it's fine.
Starting point is 00:45:49 So I definitely wasn't like, the star sucks, see? But I could feel myself even. And certainly people being like, abs are better and they're still in control of this. Yeah, I'll hear that after game four, a lot of people were probably like, ooh, the abs might have figured it out. And then, Dan, I had this for you because I just thought you were so right about this so early. if you are the Aves and coming into this game, which is game five, so it's not that deep, but it's pretty deep, the A, excuse me, the star's top six goal scores from the regular season.
Starting point is 00:46:21 Actually, hear me out this way. They're top seven goal scores from the regular season. Robo is out, okay? Then take the next six. They had a goal, they had one goal from Rupa Hints coming into this game. And then today, Wyatt got two, Miko got one, Marchman got one. so now, yes, but literally coming into a game five, they had one goal from their top seven regular season goals scores.
Starting point is 00:46:46 So if you are the aves and you go, they're missing Robo and Miro for the whole fucking series, they're getting nothing from their stars, literally less than nothing. And we beat them in game one in Dallas. You are now like, and you traded for who you traded for and brought in this roster and your whole song and dance is that We've been unlucky. We've been unhealthy.
Starting point is 00:47:10 And now you're healthy. You haven't been this healthy since 2022. You got the captain back. And to just lose this series to Dallas in six, let's say, I'm like, oh, shit, dude, that went horrifically. You're not going to hear an argument for me, pal. I think this is always tough when you have two such great teams. And like I've said, I think that these are probably the two best teams in this
Starting point is 00:47:38 conference. With how it's all shaken out, you can't lose if you're Colorado. You can't, you certainly can't lose this way. So all the pressure, all the pressures on this team. And I think the biggest fear is you look bad in this game. You looked so sloppy, undisciplined, lazy. It's lower than them, which I never would have guessed. There's a lot of shit.
Starting point is 00:48:03 I mean, like, there's a really tough clip going around where Rupert Hance really cross-checks Nate in the back of the head in an outrageous moment. Nate's nowhere near the puck. And that's one where, again, we're not asking for suspension, but that's one where I'm like, that's roughing.
Starting point is 00:48:18 Like, yeah, throw him in the box. Like, who knows what happens with that. But otherwise, you've got nothing to say if you're Colorado. This was just an ugly game, dude. Like, you kind of pull it together, get it three, two, and then it's immediately a bad penalty.
Starting point is 00:48:32 You're down again. Goal, goal. And it's just like, Jesus, dude, you're getting shit pumped here. So, yeah, you looked awful. in this game. Now, as you said, you get to go home here and try to even it up. And odds are they probably will. But there's a lot to be fixed here. And it goes into my hot take. I think Kale is one of the big starts. You saw on some of those power plays. It was getting
Starting point is 00:48:53 up to Kail and he's just not getting shots through. He's not connecting his passes. And if you want a chance in this, you have to get Kail going. I want to give Otter some love. Hell yeah. I think this is a game that he stole a bit. thought he was big in this game. Early too. You had written down on our notes, Otter's been great, and I think that's a bit of a boost from you.
Starting point is 00:49:16 Otter's been good. 914-258 in these playoffs. But he does have two games where he got pinballed a bit. So I'm going to say Otter has been very good. Okay, I'll take that. Very good. 914-258 you're going to take in these playoffs.
Starting point is 00:49:35 But that game was a huge game, and he stood up tall and got that game. And that is, what does Dallas need to win a cup? Him. That. 100% him. Monster. And I just can't get over.
Starting point is 00:49:48 I can't get over. The reason I picked Colorado in this series primarily was because of Miro Hayskin and Jason Robertson being out. Yeah. And you're up three to, I have the stiffest cock in the fucking retirement home if I am a Dallas Stars fan right now. like holy shit you got to feel good it's because like mirro looks close but i just don't think they were saying
Starting point is 00:50:12 on the broadcast today if he's healthy for game seven what would you do and i'm borderline like i don't even think i don't even know if you do that for a game seven but the maybe you do christ but yeah like getting those having the idea that those guys are coming back and you not only one around bro but also got through the afts is a miracle miracle miracle so yeah they they must be as fired up as they've ever been. And Dan, just like we just said, getting three of the guys off the Schneide with your top scores getting on the board.
Starting point is 00:50:45 Like, that's huge, man. So massive. Someone asked us in the DMs today, if the abs lose this series, are they now in, like, are they on fraud watch? Are they in like, dude, you guys just keep choked and talk?
Starting point is 00:50:56 And my initial reaction was what I've said in the past and like, no, dude, they've been so unlucky. But I do think this one is a choke. Dan. Because you got all, like you said perfectly, all the things you've bitched about the last two years, you do not get to bitch about this year. This is a bad loss. You have Natchez and Drury and Coil and Brock and Landy and Blackwood playing pretty well.
Starting point is 00:51:21 And I'm like, dude, you can't lose this series. Yeah, this is bad. You're the best team in the league. And you lost in the first round. This is bad. Like if you're Colorado, you are, you're like, oh, shit. This does not look good for us. I did want to bring up a preposterous Jamie Ben flop.
Starting point is 00:51:41 I don't know what we're doing with those calls. Like Dave Jackson said, and we love Dave, he was like, you got to be in control your stick, but you could tell him the tone of his voice. He was like, yeah, that's technically the rule. But like, Manson's just skating down the ice, too. And Jamie Ben, I mean, you know, we know Jamie Ben. We know the type of player he is.
Starting point is 00:52:00 He went, I'm going to run my face into that 100%. He went, I'm going to. going to skate my face into that stick and flop. And then he's on the ground, ripping his lips. Like, he's clearly trying to make himself bleed. He was like pulling it teeth. I was like, dude, I wouldn't even have minded just like going down to me like, he's sticking me in the face. But it was the, it was the really getting in there. I was like, come on. You can't be calling that. We cannot be doing that. Does Colorado win game six? I think they, they simply must. I think they simply must at home. They looked good.
Starting point is 00:52:31 They looked good in both games at home. They looked great in game four. look completely fine in game three and lost in overtime. And like I say, all the time, it is very impossible to match pure desperation when your back is truly, truly against the wall. I think the ax will have that extra jump. Game seven is actually going to be a really tough one for me to call. I think I said Colorado in seven. And I think me, you maybe said six. So this is what I was expecting. Anything can happen in game sevens. But I now feel like this game in Dallas might be a taller task than I originally thought. I was kind of like, well, they're just the better team,
Starting point is 00:53:10 so they'll just go in there and win. And now I'm like, man, that's going to be a tough one. Dallas is kind of cooking right now, everybody feeling good. And they know they're right there from everything you just said. They're fucking one step away from pulling this off. Fuck. I think we could also see a KL legacy game. Yeah, I like that too.
Starting point is 00:53:26 He wakes up two goals or something like that. I like that too. Could totally see it. You wanted to get in some goalie talk. Yeah, I wanted to investigate some goalie stuff for you really quickly. I went back, because we've been talking a lot about goalies getting pulled. We've had this conversation a lot recently. And Hurt, by the way.
Starting point is 00:53:43 Freddie Anderson hurt, L.T. Hurt, Montobo Hurt. I went back the last 10 cups and found out what happened to the goalies. If they ever got pulled, if they played every minute of every game of the playoffs. Hit me. Okay. Bob played every minute except he got pulled in game. four of the Stanley Cup finals when they lost like a thousand to nothing but every other minute Aden Hill went in for a yanked LB in game one like of the of the playoffs their first game of the playoffs then LB got hurt immediately in game two Hill went back in was never pulled again
Starting point is 00:54:19 played every minute Kemper kind of was it hurt a lot remember that cup didn't play game one was injured in game four was injured in game one of the Western Congress finals missed the whole series and then was also yanked during game three of the Stanley Cup finals Frankie filled in wonderfully they won the cup all good Vassie 2021 never pulled 2020 never pulled and dude the first game of the playoffs was a 150
Starting point is 00:54:42 plus 5 over 3 to win I was fucking insane I was like you are so sick in the head dude Binner got pulled in game three of the Stanley Cup finals but otherwise was never pulled Holpe got hurt 32 minutes in game one of the playoffs
Starting point is 00:54:58 so missed the rest of that game was never pulled again Matt Murray the Penguins are kind of crazy. Murray didn't get the job until the conference finals and then played the rest. And then in 2017, missed the first game of the playoffs. Hurt after two periods in game four of these conference finals, missed game five, played all the rest. And then Corey Crawford missed three games of the first round, but then once he got in, was never pulled again. I thought there'd be more Vassies, admittedly. He's the only one that truly was like, I didn't come out. But there were more than I thought, like, I literally played every second
Starting point is 00:55:31 except one game I got pulled in the final. And to me, I consider those. Me too. Like, you getting pulled in one bad game. I'm like, I don't even. I, you played every game. And Dan, for something, for me at least, the final changes it a bit because I'm like,
Starting point is 00:55:44 you're, this isn't a question where it's like, you're tired, we've been playing for two months. And ultimately, CP, pretty much every one of these, save for injuries. That's why I said pretty much. There's definitely two or so. They are, it is like, that's the guy. Great call, Dan.
Starting point is 00:55:59 So, no one was like, I don't trust you. We're going with these. other guy. So Bob, one pull in the final. He'll never pulled. And a pull it doesn't count to me. That's like you're getting shelled. Yeah, yeah. So pulled, Hill never pulled. Kemper, injured, injured, pulled once. Vassie never pulled. Vassie never pulled. Binner pulled once. Holtby never pulled. Murray never pulled was injured. And then got yanked once, I think, or maybe not. And then Crawford never pulled. So I'm kind of like... You need your guy. Yeah. And I'll give you so far, here are the goalies for into this playoffs. Stollars? Play,
Starting point is 00:56:31 every minute. Huge. Bob played every minute. Huge. Vassie played every minute. Huge. Olmark played every minute. L.T. left game three.
Starting point is 00:56:39 But that's injury. Montebbeau left game three and missed game four injury. Yeah. Freddie left game four injury. Markstrom every minute. Otter pulled for the third in game four. Blackwood had played every minute but was pulled for the third tonight. Hellie pulled twice.
Starting point is 00:56:54 Gus every minute. Hill pulled in game three. Kemper every minute. Skinner pulled in game two and benched in game three in game four. Yeah. So the Oilers are literally the only team that have made a conscious decision to not play a goalie. Yes. And I am now, it's just interesting to look at because I'm kind of like.
Starting point is 00:57:11 Oh, sorry, I must have forgot to say it. No, it's just off the sheet. Oh, oh, thanks. Yeah, been her every minute. It's just an interesting thing because I'm, it makes you wonder, at least for me a little bit, even about the otters where I'm like, why are you pulling him right now, dude? Like, if the other guys are getting pulled one time in the final, you know, like I don't see a single cup winner that's been pulled in the first round, literally in the last decade. And I'm not saying that's going to stay forever. I'm just like, no, no, that's fair.
Starting point is 00:57:41 I do think, though, every time that one of these guys has been pulled, these games are out of control. Yep. Like, I wonder if we went back and looked at any of those games, were there games that were out of control, where you're getting shellacked? Some of my old ones? Yeah. For sure. Most of them, I would say. But this year's been actually weird because I actually.
Starting point is 00:57:56 thought today, we were just talking about how easily the abs can erase a three-gold deficit. Yeah, yeah. It was five-two. I mean, the otter pull was like the craziest thing. But the big did that today, Bladley pulled Blackwood at five-two. And I'm like, you don't think you guys can score three fucking goals in a period? Like, what the fuck is going on? So yeah. Yeah, maybe we're getting a little too eager with the polls. I don't know. And maybe times are changing. We're in the tandem era or whatever. But yeah, to me, I was kind of like, I don't love the teams that are pulling these guys early. Yeah. And that's crazy because some of the best teams in the league have done it.
Starting point is 00:58:26 But I'm just, I got my eye on some of the teams that are like, this is my guy, dude. Yeah. And fuck off. Yeah. I like it. Yeah. Interesting, interesting analysis.
Starting point is 00:58:33 All right. Well, guys, we had a nice little light night tonight. Just those two games. Tomorrow, we've got Sends, Leifes, game five. We've got Devils, Cain's game five. We've got Minnesota, Vegas, game five, and Edmonton, L.A. Game five. So that's going to be a huge night.
Starting point is 00:58:55 Wednesday morning live will be insane. Taking a quick break to tell you about one of our favorite partners, and that's Dollar Shave Club. I actually just gave myself a fresh shave right before recording tonight. How about that? Because I grow a beard. I need to shave about once a week. D.P. needs a shave about once in his life.
Starting point is 00:59:10 Wags needs to shave every day, never does shave. But that's okay because whatever your facial hair situation, there's an answer for your Dollar Shave Club because they make the razors and you make the rules. All right? I've got the Club Series 6 right now. It's amazing. It's my favorite razor of all time. but it's all the other stuff they got cooking that I really love the prep scrub they got shaving cream
Starting point is 00:59:29 but I love the shave butter you all know I love the shave butter because you can kind of see through it you know I can see where you're shaving especially if you're styling the shave butter is amazing and then the post shave dew is just a game changer I love the post shave you I can barely go day without it every time I shave I'm popping that on there it's incredible so what I want you to do is get your hands on some of this product so go to their website go to Amazon go to one of the retailers near you and you'll find it But if you go to Dollar Shaveclub.com slash netters, that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S. You can get 20% off your first order of $20 or more, and you get it delivered right to your door. So use that promo code Netters.
Starting point is 01:00:05 That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S for 20% off and order of $20 or more. And welcome to the club. For now, let's get into a beer league hotline. Wags, what do you have for us today? It's a good one. Oh, Jesus. Okay, here we go. I say my final game was scheduled for last night, but there was a miscommunication from
Starting point is 01:00:23 league manager and both team captains. Allegedly, the league manager emailed both teams saying their game has been moved up to 8.30 p.m. from 10.30 p.m. But neither team received it, so neither team showed up. The easy fix here is the rescheduling the semifinal game to next week, and the winner goes to the final like normal. But instead, the league manager ruled that both teams forfeited due to their no-show. The game will be rescheduled for next week as a third-place game and both teams on the other side of the bracket will play each other again for what is now the championship. The real kicker is that the league manager plays on one of those other teams who is now in the
Starting point is 01:01:02 phony title game. What the fuck? Dude, that is, dude, straight to jail, El Salvador. Dude, I will not stand for this. You duplicitous rat. Rat. Do you think he lost? Rick. Do you think he lost in the semi? He fucking better have. Because this guy, we'll
Starting point is 01:01:30 find the DM. Let us know. Because if he, it's already horrific. But if he lost, the league manager, what's the rationale behind this? It's too difficult to reschedule? The rationale, and I'm not defending him, but the rationale is with his current plan, the league's
Starting point is 01:01:46 season still ends next week. Yeah, that's what I'm saying. It's a scheduling problem. Yeah, otherwise they'd have to take a week to play the other semi and then go another week to play the final. why didn't they just play at 10.30? Did they all show up at 1030? I'm now thinking, Dan. Did they all show up at 1030? Do we know that? I don't know, but that's the implication. And was there another game going on? Probably.
Starting point is 01:02:09 I'm now thinking, Dan, that he moved it, said he emailed, he wanted this to happen. He had this plan the whole time. He had this plan before they no-showed. He emailed them, quote-unquote, didn't actually email them, claimed to have emailed them, planned on the double forfeit, just to guarantee that he goes in the finals. I actually bet, Dan. I actually bet he was out of town that semi-final week. And he was like, I'm not going to be there. I'm not going to get to play in the semis.
Starting point is 01:02:34 I'm going to guarantee my teams in the final next week by pulling this fucking stunt. That's what I now think. This has given me the neck thing. This is making me so mad. The word miscommunication is so frustrating in here. It's pissing me off. Because I need to know what it was.
Starting point is 01:02:51 Yeah. Show me the email. The problem is the inclusion of miscommunication from the league manager and both team captains, to me that's too vague that it makes me think that the team captain's fucked up here.
Starting point is 01:03:04 Oh my God, you're turning it around. No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, let me finish. Let me finish. Let me finish. It's on them. Shut up, let me finish. If it was on the team captains, which it may, in my opinion, doing a little detective work here, it feels like the phrasing
Starting point is 01:03:22 is omitting details because it in fact was on the team captains so that is a bummer let's live in that world okay that said it's still beyond fucked to just dead them like this like yeah they made a mistake
Starting point is 01:03:38 but they know both teams made a mistake so it's like all right let's figure this out I'm not flipping it around I'm not but I am adding a factor in here. Like, that would suck if it turns out that these guys made a mistake. And I'm just saying, it's weird to not include in this email
Starting point is 01:03:57 that these guys didn't make a mistake. It was the league manager. If you don't show... That's fucking legal speak right there, dude. That is, maybe legal speak. But if you don't show to your semi-final game, you forfeit if it was your fault. If you knew the game had been changed and you don't show, then you have forfeited.
Starting point is 01:04:14 Unfortunately. I am worried. I am worried that these two guys fucked up and fucked over their teams. Because if they knew, dude, that's a Is that? Show me the fucking receipt. Is his email in the scent? Is it isn't his scent box? Is it, is it out? Did you send it? Like, because he's like, I sent you an email and they go, we didn't get it. And I go, then where is it? Because if they don't have it for real and it's not in his scent, then he is a scumbag alley rat. He says allegedly the league manager emailed both teams saying their game had been moved up to 830 10. Allegedly, dude. Yes. Did he send it? Because dude, I need to see his out going. Yeah. Because if it's if it's not in there, then he is a scumbag alley-back. Neither team received it, so neither team showed up.
Starting point is 01:04:56 But dude, if it's in there and they just like didn't open it or something, and you forfeit. Yeah. And you've lost. Maybe I am flipping it. And I hope you win third. I hope you win bronze. Maybe I am flipping it.
Starting point is 01:05:06 But I need, I need to see his scent folder. Here's the reality. We're dealing with, we are dealing with cowards. Yeah. And I don't know who they are. Yeah. We've either got the big, The biggest coward of them all.
Starting point is 01:05:22 Yes, the king coward. In the league manager. King L. Rata-alada, dude. Yeah. It's La Rada. Yeah. Either it's him. Yep.
Starting point is 01:05:36 And he is the king rat, dude. In the dance of the sugar and plum fairy. Because he is lied. He's lying through his teeth. Through his rat. Makes these, which are huge. Yeah. This gnawing.
Starting point is 01:05:48 Eating. Either. He has. has lied and has forced these two teams to forfeit so his team can be in a championship game no matter what. Or he is a man of honor, sent an email. And then we have two cowards who are claiming they never got an email together. Yeah. Two princeling rats. Yeah. Who coordinated this, who both lied together. I unfortunately am coming to you asking. Yeah. And maybe listeners, if you are on this one of these teams.
Starting point is 01:06:22 Because I guarantee there are guys on either of these teams, the ones who had to forfeit, who aren't the team captains, you got to find out for me if an email was sent. Find me a receipt. Because if not, we will fucking sewer this league manager and I will make him lose his job as league manager. Well, maybe the title. Maybe lose his title. I said lose his job
Starting point is 01:06:41 as league manager. Yeah, I meant to his championship, not his literal. No, you can't be the league manager anymore if you're pulling moves like this. Come on. Yeah, right, you're right. He has to be removed. It's abusive power. abuse of power. And we will make that happen. Yeah. So if there was, in fact, no email sent, let us know. But if there was, you two are, you are the biggest rats of all.
Starting point is 01:06:59 I need the receipts. It's unbelievable. Okay. Now we are going to get into a segment brought to you by our good friends at Bauer. I love Bauer so much. Bauer is absolutely incredible. They're decking us out in everything from all the sickest training gear to the Bauer Twitch, which is my favorite stick of all time. Get your hands on one if you care about scoring goals ever again for the rest of your life. I love Bauer so much. It's literally the only thing I wear anymore. Yeah, correct. Head to toe Bauer. Sleep in power. I got Bauer sheets. I'm not even kidding. All of my gym stuff is Bauer now. Yeah, yeah. It's amazing. So this is a Bauer blind ranking. And this week, we actually got a message from the live show chat room.
Starting point is 01:07:39 And if again, if you are not tuning into the lives, please go check out the lives every morning. The chat is firing. We're interacting with the fans. You can subscribe to the YouTube, which we would love you to do. Get involved on all of that. Guys, don't you wish that you had more morning hockey shows? Come all. You have it now. Yeah, we're doing it. Don't waste my time, dude.
Starting point is 01:07:55 We're doing it for you. We're doing it, babe. So, everyone joined the chat. You're going to get into some stuff like this. Someone in the chat, we were talking about being hungover, and I was drinking out of my water bottle. And somebody was like, there's a Labat blue in that Yeti. When did this? Was this Friday?
Starting point is 01:08:09 Yeah. And somebody goes. Were you hungover? No. But he just was like, you got a labat blue in that yet. Was he drinking? Hell no. But somebody.
Starting point is 01:08:16 He was drinking a DP. Yeah, remember? Yeah, right. And somebody goes. those you guys should blind rank brunch cocktails. And I said, done, dude. Are we doing a blind ranking of brunch cocktails right now? Because we interact with the chat.
Starting point is 01:08:32 How about that? I... Dude, I don't think you know how excited I am right now. Yeah, I know, dude. This is my favorite drink. Don't fuck it up. This is my favorite drink. We could do a blind ranking of favorite drinks.
Starting point is 01:08:46 Brunch cocktail would be my number one. Oh, yeah. No doubt, dude. Okay. You know I'm a day drink guy. So, holy shit, this is exciting. Blind ranking Brunch Cocktails
Starting point is 01:08:57 Can I do a little quick caveat We're gonna do this with the mindset That it's a nice sunny day We're outside We're outside Yeah sunny day set but not too hot Yeah, it sounds gorgeous Yeah yeah yeah
Starting point is 01:09:11 A little breeze, yes, no windwax but breeze Sounds like a guy who needs a brunch cocktail Breeze Okay, hit us A Mimosa Fuck right out the fucking gate with Mimosa Dude Right out the fucking gate with Mimosa
Starting point is 01:09:24 because now you're just your fucking hands are tied, dude. Here's the thing about a memo. They're amazing. It's not a showstopper. It's not a showstopper. Mimo's not knocking your socks off with flavor, but it's getting the job done maybe better than anyone else. Goes down easy.
Starting point is 01:09:42 Goes down so easy. Fresh and crispy, you're getting some vitamin C. Getting some vitamin C is by far the best bottomless option, in my opinion. No doubt about it. And Dan, I'll do you one more. for the thumb. Yeah. There's always a little bit of humor with the memo.
Starting point is 01:09:58 Some people got the orange juice eye dropper. Some people are picking it up with the mouth. You know, I just think the memo provides a lot of laughs at the brunch table for a lot of various reasons. Sure. Sure. It's... For the versatility, I might even have to go one, dude.
Starting point is 01:10:14 It's not even my favorite drink. Well, talk to me about versatility. Well, there's strawberry memo. So that's where I'm not, I don't like it. Because to me, a mimo is orange juice. Okay. I'm still fine with that. And I respect when people will do, like, you go to a place and they're like this, we got cranberry, we've got grape juice.
Starting point is 01:10:32 Yeah. I'm like this great. That's not a mimosa. It's cool that you're doing that bottomless. Yeah. But those aren't mimosas. Well. They're not.
Starting point is 01:10:40 Okay. But I still think a mimosa is a 98 mile an hour fastball for Seamer on the black. Yeah. after everything we've just said I don't think I can go higher than three higher than three I can't that's fucking outrageous talk dude you are a fucking you psychopath
Starting point is 01:11:00 dude but let me tell you what's happening you're so stupid sometimes let me know what's happening let me tell you what's happening right now you are an alcoholic you right now you have your binge drinking hat on too tightly bottomless baby
Starting point is 01:11:18 because you were just thinking I want to delete 10 of these. Ten bucks, all you can drink. And I'm like, dude, we need to open the floor here to like really enjoyable brunch cocktails. Like, let's say if someone went, I'm going to fucking wrinkle your brain right now. Someone went, we're doing a blind ranking of brunch cocktails. You can only have one. One of the, one cocktail.
Starting point is 01:11:40 Yeah, for the rest of my life. Like you're not, no, no, no. At this brunch, you can only have one drink. Oh, literally one of them. Yeah. Well, I wouldn't get them mostly because it's so small. So that's what I'm saying. If you're allowed one drink at this brunch,
Starting point is 01:11:53 that's where I'm like, I probably wouldn't pick the Mimo. Okay, but that doesn't, no one's ever saying that to me. I think it's something that we have to consider. Like what taste the bet? Like what? When you take a sip at a nice brunch,
Starting point is 01:12:08 you've worked out that morning. It's a beautiful day. You've got the whole weekend ahead of you. And you sit down and you order your drink before the meal has even arrived. You take a sip. I don't think the memo is getting the blood rushing. It is, though, because I know that there's 30 behind it.
Starting point is 01:12:24 There's 30. Again, you're fucking degenerate. Oh, dude. As soon as I start to see the bottom. So you want to. The waiters flying over to refill it. You want to. I just feel like, out of respect.
Starting point is 01:12:36 I think it's the most synonymous, one of two of the most synonymous brunch cocktails on earth. Wouldn't you agree with that? Yeah, but, like, that doesn't, you know, I think when I think of, someone says beer, there's like a couple beers that immediately shooting them. It doesn't mean they're the best beers in the game. Good counter, good counter. I'll wrinkle your brain again. I don't even think it's the best orange juice-based brunch cocktail.
Starting point is 01:13:06 Okay, I'll go three, but if we go lower than that, then that's fucked. I would never go lower than three. You said you wouldn't go higher than three. I think it's a sweet spot at three. Three. Wow, I can't believe I got them on that. Espresso martini.
Starting point is 01:13:21 One of my favorite drinks, one of the most addictive, influential drinks. I think someone comes back with an espresso martini anywhere you're out, and everyone's like, I actually have one of those two. Yeah. I've never seen anything like it. It's really special. If I started a restaurant and I had an espresso martini on the menu, I would call it the, I'll have one too.
Starting point is 01:13:42 Yeah. In parentheses it says espresso martini. And I want to go. Oh, that's great. I actually will have one of those two. We should do that. Everyone fucking forget what I just said. No one fucking take that idea.
Starting point is 01:13:53 I love them more at night. It's not a brunch drink. But it is, it is. Dude, you have a problem. Gets you going. Gets you going. It's not a brunch drink. In fact, I don't think I've ever seen someone order one at brunch.
Starting point is 01:14:08 And I would respect it if you did. Yeah, but I might start doing it. I don't think it's a brunch drink. Might start doing it. Which is kind of weird because it probably should be. It's an espresso. It's a coffee. Maybe I'm being an idiot.
Starting point is 01:14:18 It is a brunt drink. People do it at breakfast drink. I've never seen it. Yeah, you have. I have. Yeah, you have. You sure have. You see, I've seen me do it.
Starting point is 01:14:26 No. I think this is a five for me. I think I could go five, though. It's weird because it's something I love so much. Don't even drink coffee, but I love an espresso martini. I'll fuck with you, dude. I'll go five there. Yeah, let's do five.
Starting point is 01:14:38 Yeah, five. Bloody Mary. One. I can't believe your memo disrespect and your Bloody Mary respect, and I love a Bloody Mary respect. And I love a Bloody Mary. But I go like this. Bloody Mary, have one. I got fucking, it's amazing.
Starting point is 01:14:52 I just got horny thing. But I go, have a second one. You go, I'd rather fucking die. No, no, no, no. I'd rather shoot myself in the fucking head. Here's the thing about Bloody Mary's. You can go Bloody Mary, you can go Bloody Maria. Yep.
Starting point is 01:15:03 I'm a Bloody Maria guy. Yep. You always get it spicy. Always. It's got to have some Worcestershire in there, some horseradish if you like it. Cellar salt. Cellar salt rim. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:15:13 Oh. And then as many things, you're not as many things, Gavin. I'm like, I want. If it's on the menu, I like it. But a nice, give me a girk and pickle. Yep. Give me a lemon, lime. Olive.
Starting point is 01:15:23 Give me an olive. Sellery. Preferably a blue cheese olive. Yep. Give me a stick of celery. A nice crispy, crispy. Stick a bacon down there. Put some Tabasco sauce in that bitch.
Starting point is 01:15:38 That's what I'm talking about. When I said, when you sit down at brunch, that sun's shining. You got your sunglasses on. You did a workout that morning. Yeah. Say you worked out again, dude. You need calories. And you sit down at that brunch.
Starting point is 01:15:49 Shrim cocktail on there. You take that first sip of a bloody. Whole weekend's in front of you. Everything. Whole life's in front of you. Your whole life's in front of you. You can see your children. In that moment.
Starting point is 01:16:01 Yeah. It is the most special moment that exists at brunch. It's the most special moment that exists in the dining world. What happens when I hand you your third? We're in a dangerous game. Yeah, it's horrible. Have I had a good third bloody? No.
Starting point is 01:16:15 Yes, I have. No, you haven't. Yes, I have. You have two. But it is quite rare. Yeah. Two is perfect. No.
Starting point is 01:16:21 One's perfect. Two is usually good. I'll give you that. One is perfect. One is perfect. One is perfect. One is perfect every time. Yep.
Starting point is 01:16:27 Two is going to work out for you almost every time. But sometimes maybe gets a little too hot. Maybe you drink it a little too slow. Yeah. Three, it's treacherous waters. You need to be absolutely unhinged and in one for the third Bloody Mary to hit just right. But I'll tell you what, dude, when you do get that magic moment, when you are on a true and utter train car headed for disaster that day,
Starting point is 01:16:55 but not until way later. Yeah. So when you're sucking down that third good, Bloody Mary, and it tastes just as good as the first, you know you are in for an absolutely chaotic day. That's a special moment. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:17:08 Oh, dude. A one. Fuck it. Bloody. One. We'll be our one. Sangrew. Chris, this is a pivotal moment for us.
Starting point is 01:17:16 We are on the cusp of something really, really delightful. Really delightful. Now, I Dude I really I'm curious where you think
Starting point is 01:17:32 Where I would put it Or where you think you're going to say Tell me what you think about a nice Cold glass of thangria I don't I don't particularly care for a red Sangria Dude this is I know
Starting point is 01:17:45 No no this is what people don't know But a white Sangria A white or a pink Or God forbid an orange Sangria Is delightful The fangria deli
Starting point is 01:17:55 Deli So that is actually a lovely, a lovely trick when they pull out a white, a pitcher of white sangria. That is a lovely trick. In a glass pitcher where you can see the sliced fruit in it. It's clink, clinking all the way over. That is a lovely trick.
Starting point is 01:18:14 Sweating in the beautiful heat with a nice breeze. Yep. I'm just wondering, though, if there is, are there more drinks that we like so much? that should be the two. Like, we only have two and four. And it's ingredient, to your point, it has to encompass all of it.
Starting point is 01:18:32 I can't say, like, there was no direction here. If I can't put cranberry in my memo, then I can't be like... What's funny here is, I know we got some de jens in the comment section, and there are going to be people who are just naming cocktails that I'm like, I don't know that that's a brunch cocktail. Like, that's just a cocktail.
Starting point is 01:18:51 Yeah. People are going to be like, where the fuck is my spicy marg? And I'm like, is that a brunch cocktail? Like, I've had it at brunch. I just don't know if it's a brunch cocktail. Like, these got to be kind of like breakfasty drinks. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 01:19:03 So I'm keen on a two. I think I would, I think I would have gone four. I'm, yeah, like I could too. Yeah. But I'm, you know what's in my brain right now is I'm thinking of more that I would put at four than I am at two. Oh, really? Okay.
Starting point is 01:19:22 Oh, that's a problem. Yeah, that's a problem. But I think I can probably live with Sangri at 4 behind Mimosas. And I'm like, okay, I died, I died swinging. Oh, I'm scared. I'll let you call it, dude. No, no, no, no, you've given me, you've given me, you've given me, you've given me, you've given me the world on this list. Okay, then we're going four.
Starting point is 01:19:51 Wow. I think you've made a mistake. We're going for. All right, we're going forward. We're doing thingria at 4. What the second best brunch cocktail is of all time. Irish coffee. Damn it.
Starting point is 01:20:03 Fuck. You know what? I fucking knew he was going to say that too. Those are so good. They're actually awesome, dude. I love them. I love them. I truly do,
Starting point is 01:20:11 but I love them on like the mountain because I'm cold, you know. And I don't drink coffee that much. Because my friends that drink coffee, love them. And they'd probably be, my friends who drink coffee probably think this is a perfect list. Truly.
Starting point is 01:20:23 I disagree. I disagree. There are ones here that have been left off that are a travesty. They love it, dude. But again, that's blind ranking. I'll tell you what, buddy, if those two are switched, we have a perfect list. I know. Well, actually, I would move Mimosop to do, as it should have been.
Starting point is 01:20:38 Bloody Mary, Mimo, Sengaria, Irish coffee espresso martini. I'm like so sad right now. That was so, that was so mad. Also, dude, Irish coffee fucking sucks. No, you're wrong. For a brunch drink? What if you want a fucking coffee? I'll have a coffee, please, and get banged up.
Starting point is 01:20:57 Perfect. Thank you. Fun and functional. I'm pissed. Crazy. Who the fuck is ordering Irish coffee at brunch? If you want a coffee. I don't think it happens, too.
Starting point is 01:21:09 Irish coffee is like, it's so thick. It's like you've got bailey's in there and like vodka and Kaluah. It's like, it's not, no. Sounds great. It's good. It's just not a brunch drink. You don't want that with your fucking steak and eggs. I'm pissed.
Starting point is 01:21:27 We had such a good thing going. Fucking brutal. All right, that is it for us on this episode of The Empty Natives podcast. Like we've said a million times this episode, Lives, Wednesday and Friday, Monday as well, but this coming Wednesday, Friday, 12 noon, Eastern, 9 a.m. Pacific. We'll see you there. We've got our new episode, or we've got this episode coming out on Tuesday. You'll listen to it right now.
Starting point is 01:21:52 Thursday as well covering all these games. It's been absolutely fucking awesome and madness. I'm tired of shit. Yeah. But the grind is the best. We'll be up. We'll be up. We're on hold the phone in like six hours. I've literally come back right here in six hours and be on hold the phone live.
Starting point is 01:22:06 Everybody tune into that. We're, you know, we're not missing a game. We're giving you action for every single game. Yeah, damn right. So we love you guys. It's going to be a blast watching the rest of these games. Can't wait to see how things shake out until we see you next time. Skate hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.