Empty Netters Podcast - The Script Writers Are Going Crazy With Kings Oilers Already | EP.187
Episode Date: April 22, 2025Welcome to Empty Netters After Dark! The boys do their first after midnight pod of the playoffs to give you up to date insight on all the action. Kings Oilers game 1 lived up to all the hype, the Leaf...s look more confident than ever, and the Stars Avs series is turning into a dogfight. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. HUEL. “Try Huel with 15% OFF + Free Gift for New Customers today using my code NETTERS at https://huel.com/NETTERS. Fuel your best performance with Huel today! 00:00 INTRO 00:30 NOT ICE 11:29 KINGS / OILERS 24:54 LEAFS / SENS 35:15 AVS / STARS 45:02 CAPS / HABS 54:03 JETS / BLUES 1:00:19 VEGAS / WILD 1:06:50 DEVILS / CANES 1:23:17 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:28:21 BLIND RANKING Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
You could not have scripted a better first game of this series.
It looks like it's all over.
Kings are absolutely buzzing.
Then the Oilers come ripping back and McDavid rips the soul out of their body.
But wait, not so fast.
In regulation, they still get the winner.
The boogeyman nearly silenced crypto.com arena.
And I don't even know what it means for the series moving forward.
Ice is ready and we are back with another.
episode of the empty netters podcast brought to you by bet m gm i am your host dan powers and alongside me a man who
once burst a tube of crazy glue in his mouth and lived to tell the tale chris powers as always you
you wouldn't be able to say that you wouldn't be able to say that correct yeah as also always you
were completely and totally unsupported when that happened that's incredibly true not only did i not help
you, I just insulted you the whole
time. Dude. I was like, you're an idiot.
Oh my God. But then again, what am I
supposed to do? Wipe your
mouth out with a paper towel?
Yeah, good question. Like, I'm not your
mom. You're not a child.
Well, dude, I thought I was
about to die. Yeah, but
again, like, if you were dying,
if your mouth was sealing up with
crazy glue, cement,
which is what I said was happening.
But you were so clearly
talking it out to me. I was like,
No, it's stuck shot forever.
Yeah, I'm like, no, it's not.
I can hear you talking to me.
Oh, that was crazy.
Blue.
Yeah, pun intended.
Yeah.
Damn, dude, I forgot about that.
That sucked.
And I was trying to squeeze more out of it for the people at home.
I wasn't just like eating it.
But I had it in my teeth and I was squeezing the back and it burst out the back.
And it like the way it clung.
I would have freaked the fuck out.
Oh, yeah.
I would have freaked the fuck out.
Dude.
Because I can't even get my fucking.
fingers on stuck when you get that on there.
It's also on there forever.
Yeah, I was like, I'm going to deal with this for the rest of my life.
Were you like, when it happened, were you just like,
dude, dude, yes.
I was like, fuck, fuck.
Oh, no, Rachel!
And you were like, dude, you're a little.
Shut up, shut up.
Super's here.
We have to go.
And I was like, okay, dude, I'll never talk again.
Oh, man, you were one in a billion, sir.
Yeah.
Well, one and eight.
Just like that fucking Edmontoninoleers, L.A.
King's game.
Okay.
We're getting right into it.
We got a lot, a lot to get into guys.
Playoff hockey.
Here we are.
Come on, baby.
Let's fucking go.
Keep it up now.
Join in whenever.
This is what it's all.
Fuck.
About.
We've got so much to talk about.
Yes.
Tons of playoff stuff.
But before we get into the game, we had something crazy happen at the game.
Wags, you don't even know this.
Yeah, that's right.
Love going to games.
Love whenever we're.
at any game, any arena with any fan base
because so many you guys DM us, you chat
with us, we all talk.
We got one of the craziest DMs
in the history of empty netters tonight.
Dude, and for the
listeners that don't live near
us, just to give
some context of what you mean, people will be
like, yo, I'm at the game too, because they
see our stuff, and we will answer and be like,
cool, I'll walk down.
I'll be by 108 or something.
Or I'm like walking to concourse. And
like, we'll have interaction.
with fans in DM and then meet you.
And it's hard to keep up with a lot of them.
So sometimes Dan's just answer them and doesn't even show me.
And then Dan gets one and he goes, dude, do I have to answer this?
And I haven't seen it yet.
So I'm kind of like, I don't know, dude.
Like what is it?
Like what could it possibly be that you're showing me do I need to answer this DM?
And boy, dude, boy howdy.
So we're posting all this stuff.
People know, you know, if you're at the arena,
you can kind of get a gauge for where we're sitting.
We're in a suite.
Shout out Kings.
Also, shout out Drew.
Shout out, Drew.
Shout out my girl, Drew, works for the Kings.
Beauty.
Went down like a here.
So the King sent us this shirt.
Yep.
That's why I'm wearing it.
It was the wrong size.
Yep.
I brought it to the game.
Drew grabbed my shirt, went down to the team store,
and got a tongue lashing from someone.
Yeah.
About the exchange.
But she was like, well, fuck you.
I got to do this.
for my guy Dan.
Yep.
So,
Drew, you're the shit.
Homie, because here I am.
And I should add,
we are not,
we came right from the game.
Oh yeah,
we didn't mean to be an all-case.
I'm not,
all the Oilers fans,
I'm sorry.
Oh, yeah.
We actually got another DM.
Speaking of DMs,
we got a DM from an
oilish fan that was like,
dude, it's like,
stop with the Kings.
Dude, I'm a fucking
sell sword, man.
I've said that a million times.
Send me some merch.
We're in L.A.
The Kings are nice to us
because they're a fucking
unbelievable stand-up organization
and they bring us to games.
So when I'm at a Kings game, I'm a man of honor.
I'm going to wear a king's gear.
Edmonton Oilers, your PR team.
If you bring me to a game, I'll wear a fucking Oilers cock ring at the game.
I don't give a shit.
I'll do anything.
Yeah, we have one actually in the office.
I have a cockering in the office.
What is that brand?
What is that brand called? They sent us a lot.
It's like skins.
Skin.
No, it's not.
Mr. Skin?
It's skin with a Y, I think.
I think it's literally skin.
They sent us a cockering.
It's way too big.
We can get, yeah, it's massive.
Get some branding on that thing.
Get some branding on that pig.
Then we can talk.
So, love you, Drew.
Thank you.
You can get an idea of where we're sitting.
Yep.
We get a DM from someone that sees where we're sitting and was like, I need help.
I'm a sucker.
I'm going to answer that message every time.
And I'm like, what's up?
And she goes, can you send me a video of the surrounding suites you're near?
And now I'm like,
they're gonna, they're just trying to come in to see us.
Cause, because, sorry for another tangent, but a dude broke in, well, I mean, like, that
sent made it sound violently, but like snuck into our suite at one point, who was the man,
and had a wicked nice, copi.
Yeah.
Copie jersey on.
Like this season, new.
And had one of those silver sharpies and was like this, dude, I love you two guys.
Will you guys sign my jersey?
And Dan was like, are you sure?
Because this jersey's sick.
and he was like couldn't be more sure signed it got a pick with him we both signed it got a pick with him
legendary guy dude your siggy is way better than mine by the way on the jersey or just mean in general
i actually like yours on your checks sometimes well my like my my signature your autograph is better
than mine yeah my signature on documents is like it's clean a is nice i really it's like my favorite
part of yeah yeah but i didn't put that in my autograph but like my autograph it's fine it looks nice
but it's not like yours is like you've been practicing that for years dude yeah you're fucking
pussy bitch yes so dude i thought this person was just saying which sweet do you near so i can i can i'm trying
to get up in there but that's not that's not at all what happened uh this chick yeah like that first
half of that message sketch yeah but then it said i'm trying to catch a cheater and i was like oh my
god and i literally replied it was like one of those moments where my thumbs were ahead of my brain
and I just went, oh my God.
Dude, you weren't in as fast as I was.
No, dude.
And I go, oh, my God.
And I go, do it.
Dude, yes.
Say yes.
Say yes.
I almost replied.
I was like, listen, man, I don't want to get involved with this.
And you were like, oh, dude.
Oh, dude.
We're involved.
So I took a vid immediately.
I was like, all right, you gave it the old thumbs up.
And I was like, all right, here we go.
So I walked around our suite, got up to the glass on both sides, filmed.
I zoomed.
Yeah.
And I, wags, I actually got into, when I was zooming, I was getting like two,
three sweets down and I started seeing couples and I was like maybe that's them and I was like assuming it
even harder violating privacy for sure yeah went to the other side did the same thing and I sent it
about a few minutes later the response was like oh yeah you you were amazing sent a great message
like I hope that your pillow is forever the cool side she said it was it was a girl right yeah yeah
she said I hope you two are blessed with cool sides of your pillows for the rest of your life
great message that what an incredible wish and I was like did we get him like it has
someone been caught and she was like this
someone's been caught she goes we got it we got him we got and I was like
shut the fuck up dude like for real now
the catch is there are two things for me
one I was like did we just violate brocode yeah
but I had a couple thoughts first thought was
we don't know if this was a guy or a gal getting caught
so true true do we violate hoe coat
do we maybe I said what they call it I hope not
Do we violate girl code?
Yeah.
But the bigger thing for me was,
I don't give a shit
because Netters fans over everything, bro.
Netters fans before bros.
Yeah.
Bros before hoes,
Netters fans before bro.
Because like, you ain't,
I'm not yo buddy guy.
Yeah.
Like, I don't know this person.
Well, maybe I do.
Yeah, that's what I'm saying, dude.
But like, I don't know.
And here's the thing.
Stop bringing mistresses to public events.
Specifically,
professional sporting events
where there's an active element of like,
we might put you on TV or the JumboTron.
What are you doing?
So dude, so dude,
Wags, great fucking Paul.
Dan said this and he was like,
because he was like, we're backing up Nettors fans,
but he was like, what if that guy is a Nettors fan?
And then Dan said that that guy should have DMed us.
Listen, to all the Nettors fans out there
that are bringing mistresses to hockey games,
before you go,
and if you think it's a game,
we might be at because like you kind of have a sense of where we are i would say if you're if you're a
fan so if you are if we are in your city and you are bringing a mistress to a hockey game and you are
a fan of netters i am requesting that you dm us not requesting i am demanding you dm us and go
hey boys on the random chance that you get another dm that says can you film sweets i'll go one further
say no we just said netters fans over everything over bros yeah if you are a netters fan and you
us and you know that we're at a game and you go, hey boys, I'm at this game. I'm bringing the
side piece. Don't post. I will not, I won't post a single thing.
Yep. Unless it's just us, I won't post the crowd. Yeah. I won't post that. Right, right, because
you could catch the right. Because you warned me, dude, because Netter's fans over everything.
But unfortunately, we didn't get that message. So someone's relationship is he's over.
He's over. Probably had three kids. And now that's done. Hate to see it. And that's done.
Hate to see it. They have to meet stepdad soon. And that sucks. We were. We were,
we were an accessory to murder
tonight
someone got caught red-handed
dude I'd wags I thought about it
but I that's too deep I don't want to go that deep
I don't want to know who I killed now I'm not of the divorce
I'm working the drone now I'm going to court wax
I'm working the drone I'm just hitting the button
I don't see who it is good kill so that's it
now on to the game
to the game we're going to get into all of these game CP
and what I want to do here
A little new thing.
For hot ice.
For hot ice.
We're into hot ice here.
We're going to go through each series.
And in each series, each of us is going to get a hot take.
And then we'll get into the series.
We're going to start with Kings Oilers.
Because we just came from this game.
What a fucking electric game.
Loxi with us.
First hockey game.
First, excuse me.
Kings game ever.
First King's game ever.
I think first playoff hockey game ever.
Yes, correct.
But first hockey game at all in like six, seven years.
And he's like, he's like, I hope this is a good game.
It's a fucking six, five barn burner bloodbath, dude.
Unbelievable.
We're going to start with my hot take, okay?
Then we will get into the series.
May I preface this by saying, I had this hot take way early in the game.
Okay.
And the result of this game changes it a little bit, but it remains the same.
Yeah.
So I want you to keep in mind, I had this take when it was four nothing kings.
Ready?
Yeah.
The Oilers don't give a flying fuck about that loss.
And you still feel that way.
Yes.
Interesting.
Well, you know what, dude?
I think I know where you're coming from.
I said to, you heard me say it to a million people, many of whom King's staff,
this game felt so important if you're the Kings.
Maybe even if I've been said this last day.
I think it was must win.
Because, dude, you can't run your mouth.
about the home ice and be against this team and then just lose game one after being like we've
shut them out three times and whatever the fuck it was must win dude yeah it was must win and then CP
they come out they immediately get a peeper they've been bad on the people all year we're brutal
last year and against the oilers yeah goal then they give up uh take a penalty go on the pk not only do
they kill it they emphatically kill it and i was like oh my god this game is going so perfectly
late goal on the first up to nothing, boom, up for nothing, end of the second.
And I was like, Jesus Christ, dude, this is everything that could have possibly wanted.
Yes.
But again, I'm telling you, I promise, on a mother, my mother, your mother.
Same woman.
Same woman.
In that moment, I was like, the Oilers don't give a fuck about this loss.
I felt that way still.
And then the game of X-Mexamist, I serve him still.
Dear God, the game goes how it goes.
But I think the Oilers truly don't give a fuck.
Okay, here is the, I think you're right.
I think you're right.
I'm glad Dewey, in his postgame, said what he said about, like, he's like, thank God we won.
So honest.
I love him.
Yeah.
The, just talking about that last goal was for nothing, right?
And then the Oilers score were like four seconds left in the second.
And you would even said to me, you were like, I wish they had got out of that.
Or before the goal, you were like, I hope they get out of that.
this period with the shutout and yeah and i was thinking before that too i read the stats last
step i don't remember them exactly but it's like i think they shut them out twice the king shut the
oros out twice and the one loss they lost one nothing yeah like kempers been awesome and i was sitting
there thinking like dude the kings are going to win this game five six nothing and not only did
they get their win but not and not only does the power pull clicking and the pk clicking but kemper but also
kemper is like i own you dude and then all the problems we've had in that in the past
are now gone.
And dude, even when it was 5'3,
I was already thinking that went away.
Like I was like, oh, dude,
if you're the Kings, you actually feel worse about this game now.
Because you're like, here come the Oilers,
and they scored on Kemper and whatever.
And then it went the way it went that I'm like,
actually, dude, you might even be even more right than I thought you were.
Because I was about to say, of course the Oilers don't give a fuck about that,
dude.
They came all the way back and lost.
But now I'm like, no, dude.
you're even more right because they go,
this is a joke to me.
Bro, I'm telling you.
You guys are jokes to me.
This is a joke to me.
I'm telling you, man.
I love that you're liking this because, like I said,
I picked the Kings to win.
I still think they feel good.
But again, 4-0-0-6-5.
Yikes.
And you remember what I said to you?
Two things.
I should probably shut my fucking mouth in that barn.
it was 4-0 or it was 3-0.
And I said to you in locks, I went, man, if I'm the Kings, I really want to keep this shut out going.
Yeah, I just said that.
You said that.
Yeah, sorry, I'm thinking about everything.
And, you know, they then score.
And I'm like, amazing.
And then, yeah, four seconds left.
I'm like, you hate that goal, dude.
And then walking around the concourse with you, a second period, shout out to all the people we saw, what up.
I was like, dude, if they score first five minutes in this third period, this is a game.
And I tweeted out.
I was like, this game is not over, folks.
And then like, boom.
We weren't even back at our seats yet.
Edmonton scores.
And I'm like, you don't like that.
And then you get one back immediately, five, two.
And I'm like, okay, lock up.
But then, like, five, three.
Let me ask you this.
Because I truly think right now this is one of two things has just happened.
And I genuinely don't know which one happened, but definitely one of these two things just
happened.
If you are the kings with this history of everything, right,
either it takes such fucking insane chaos to finally just beat that team one time that it was never
going to be easy because it's because it's the Oilers and you're the Kings and it's been the way
it's been and you had to have that happen and the fact that this King's team comes out and still
wins in overtime goes see like this is why it's different this year and now we will win this series
Well, they won a regulation.
Oh, yes.
Yeah, yeah.
With 20, 40 seconds left of us.
And we will now win the series because first game was always going to be like that because
it's the Oilers.
That's option one.
Option two is we are dead because I was sitting there for nothing, I was thinking to myself,
this could be Kings and Five.
And now I'm like, oh, dude, the Oilers might win game two by 20 because they're so fuming
mad.
Not mad.
They're just like, oh, dude, we like just started too slow and like whatever.
And now we're off and running.
You don't, you're a home ice and you guys don't scare us at all.
One of those two things has just happened.
Yeah.
I have a lot to say about that.
And I love every question you just post.
First, I will say, the reason I keep saying I felt this way at 4-0 and the same at 6-5
is it was almost a pre-game mentality.
Like we say, L.A. needed to win this game.
This was must win from puck drop.
I think Edmonton was going, if we lose game one, it doesn't fucking matter.
Because L.A. needed to win it.
Yes.
I would say that L.A. is going into game two shitting down their leg if this game was a back and forth barn burner.
That was like, oh my God, you know, they got two power play goals.
Edmonton went 0 for 2.
they feel a little bit like, oh, we weren't on our best,
and then you just barely squeaked by a win.
I would say L.A. was like, oh, my God.
The two positives, I will say, for L.A.
because this is a bad win.
Yeah, dude.
This is a bad win.
Yeah.
The two positives, I will say, is they know it.
And the king drew in his post game.
The boys talking to him, like, they're like, that was ugly.
They know it.
They know they can be better.
I chalk up so much of that to sloppiness.
Not bad, not like bad, we're playing bad hockey.
Let's go through it.
I'm here to say, without the goalie pulled,
if you give up a goal with less than 30 seconds in a period,
you're playing sloppy hockey.
And I'm talking first and second period,
because that implies the goalie is not pulled.
There's no management.
Letting them score with four seconds left.
Like that was, you guys just scored what felt like a back breaking fourth goal.
You're up four nothing.
No one was fucking paying attention in the last minute of that second period.
And they got lazy, they got sloppy.
Boom, Edmonton gets a goal.
Then I think even start a third.
You're up four one.
You're like, eh, whatever.
Oh, shit, you get scored on.
You wake up a little bit.
You score a fifth.
You're up five two.
Yeah.
You get scored on again.
Then, dude, not suering our boy here.
But like, that Kevin Fiala empty net miss was fucking insane.
Dude, yeah.
Like, unbelievable play by Kopey on the boards,
chips it to Kempi,
and then an unbelievable mental awareness
to just push it to Kev.
Because lefty shot,
defenseman's right in front of juice,
Kemp's got the better angle,
he's inside the red line,
and he just rips it over the net.
Like it was just,
you put a little too much mustard on it.
But that was bad.
That is a 6-3 win
goes to a 6-5 by the skin of your teeth win.
That is,
sloppy. So I think
any fear
that could have been in the Kings, I actually don't think it's
there that much. Because I think they are chalking up so much of that too.
Jesus Christ, that got sloppy and ugly.
Now, the confidence you would have had
in a 5-1-4-1 win
is also gone.
So you're going into game two.
It's definitely not as must-win as game one,
but game two is now way more important as far as the way you go.
And I think, and I'll toss it back to you,
I think the big one here, similar to Jets got a win in game one,
but what is the big question?
Oh, Hellebuck didn't look very good.
Yep.
Stuart Skinner did not look great in that game.
You banked on that as the Kings.
Yeah.
Darcy Kemper did not look good in that game.
You did not count on that.
Okay, completely agree.
That's where I was headed next.
Another positive for the Kings is what you just said.
I think you're like, Skinner,
I mean, that crowd, dude, chanting his name.
Like, obviously he's going to hear that ringing in his head all night tonight.
You can get goals in this series.
The negative for the Kings is the Oilers now feel, after getting shut out twice,
I hope I got that set right.
Shut out twice, and their one goal once in their win,
now feel like they can get goals on Kemper.
And that is not ideal.
Dude, McDavid, I just want to touch on this before we get off this series,
or this game, I should say.
McDavid, I actually made a note in my phone to bring this up to you on the pod.
is it's always been the McDavid and Dry Settle show there but it feels for whatever reason
even more so this year like watching that team I'm kind of like these two guys do everything
yeah and McDavid to me tonight was almost being too cute like there were times where he made
like crazy sick power play entries and would do like a nuts pass and so did Drysaddle but a couple
times he kept like knifing through got and then he'd like try to like backhand sauce one like two feet
and it was just like hit a skate and bounce out and I was like what are you doing like
just get it in his own.
So there was a few,
with, you know,
59 minutes gone,
I was like,
I can't wait to bring up to Dan
that McDavid was a little too cute tonight.
Yeah.
And then he was like,
chip by,
skate by half the team,
bang,
goal, fist pump,
up the glass right in front of the king's bench.
I'm your boogie man.
And I was like,
fuck, dude.
He's so good.
Dude, he's so shifty.
Like,
he literally goes like,
and then just like,
five people jump out of his way.
And I'm like,
how are you doing that on skates,
dude?
It's fucked,
man.
It's so crazy that it felt like
through two periods.
like what an incredible job you guys have done of neutralizing these two and then just end of the game.
You're like, oh, they weren't neutralized.
And like, Connor, what do you have?
Like, three assists that like I don't remember them, but it's like, it's insane.
But again, sloppy, sloppy, sloppy.
But, uh, dude, watching him play, I would honest to God, it's, it's the neutral zone momentum.
Yeah.
When he gets a few steps, you're like, Jesus Christ.
On that triangle, you heard me.
I was going, oh, no, oh, no, oh, no.
He just like walked past Copey and I was like, oh, God.
genuinely, if I were a defender in the neutral zone and he had a couple of steps,
I would rather guess and just step in with all my might with a shoulder,
one side or the other, and go 50-50.
And if he blows by me and everyone's like, oh, what a whiff,
I'd be like, I'd rather that than this, like, lazy, like, oh, I tried to get you.
Because it feels like he's getting past you no matter what.
Take the chance of being like, hopefully I blow him the fuck up in open ice or look like an asshole.
And I'm like, I'll take that chance.
Dude, it's almost like Beer League where you just back into.
or goalie. I'm just, I'm going to keep backing up, dude.
Like, if you want to shoot it, shoot it, but like, I'm not,
don't step ever. He's fucking insane. So, yeah, my take on this
is absolutely huge, must, must win,
win for the Kings, and credit to
him for winning that in regulation. Like, don't even give
them the chance of OT. Obviously, they didn't
plan on that, but huge to get
that win, maintain,
Edmonton doesn't give a flying fuck about
that loss, and it is so big that both
Leon and Connor are gone. Good hot, good
take, good take. Next series we're going to get into is Leafs versus the Senators. And my hot
take for this series is the Leafs are going to the Cup. Whoa. And I haven't, I didn't pick
them. I don't even think we posted our brackets yet, but I didn't pick them to go to the Cup in my
bracket. And I haven't even seen Tampa and Florida play yet, because they haven't played yet.
But it's a hot take for a reason. But I will tell you, the way you just,
talked about the Kings, how the game was going, right?
Like, you were like, the Kings, at 4-0-0,
you were getting this version of this game one if you're the Kings.
That's exactly what the Leafs got in their game one.
Yep.
There was one thing, Chris, I love this take by you.
There was one thing that kept that game from being a perfect game one for the Leafs.
And it was an Austin Matthews goal.
Correct, yeah.
Like, literally, if he's-
I'm not kidding.
I agree.
I agree completely.
Don't need a shutout.
Don't need, like, literally the one.
one thing from keeping me from saying that was a perfect game one,
was an Austin Matthews goal.
And it goes from a 100 on the test score to a 98.
Like it is a current 90.
Dude,
that was everything they wanted.
I think I knew this,
but I heard Bucci say during the broadcast,
it must have been Tavares and Marner.
But it was at one point they were up pretty early.
It was like two or three-ish nothing.
And,
or three-ish one.
And Bucci goes,
seven games around,
one against Boston last year. Mitch Marner, one goal. Tavares, one goal. They each have one tonight.
And that was the point of his stat. But I was like, that is a thing, dude.
Totally. And obviously they can go quiet after this, but getting a Nielander, Marner,
Tavares, like, sick goals too, like, great, great plays by everybody.
Sick pass by Matthews on the Barner breakaway. Like, because he gloved that down.
We were actually beaking. I forget who, what D-Man shot that in. And we were beaking him.
But on the replay, he kind of, like, Matthews pulls that off the glass, puts it down and has
sauce on Marner's tape in like two seconds, you know. So it wasn't that bad of an entry. It was just a
good, really fucking good play by Austin Matthews, who we have said isn't an assist guy. Yeah.
You know, so man, that, oh, and, and the, the O-Mark thing, which we talked about a million
times, Bucci gave another stat. I couldn't remember which one he said, so I wrote both down.
Omar has played 11 playoff games in his career. He's given up more than four goals in five of them,
more than five goals in three of them. You have six goals against. It's so bad. Dude,
that I love
Leinace L'Lmark and I think he's an incredible
regular season goalie and he
had a really hot stretch on it over this year and part of the reason
they made playoffs is because of that
acquisition. Yeah. But dude
if you get fucking smoked
by this Leafs team
which you, I think
I said it to you, he shut them out once
and gave up one goal once. He had like a 960
save percentage across two games coming in. Yeah.
Fucking peppered. No, it's so bad.
I hate to say this because
I think you're fucking dialed, by the way.
Oh, that's so dialed.
I hate to say it because I've loved this Ottawa team.
I'm so excited for them.
I picked the upset.
I think I said in our preview,
their plan with house money.
They've got nothing to lose.
And I really think that game sucked for them.
Like, if I'm an Ottawa fan, if I'm,
I always hate saying if I'm on that Ottawa team,
because these guys are pros.
a lot of them don't get phased by stuff.
But if I'm an Ottawa fan, I'm feeling pretty shitty heading into game too.
And, you know, everything could flip.
Omar could play amazing.
Absolutely.
You get a win.
But that game, you didn't, you got, you got whacked, man.
You got absolutely backhanded across the fucking mouth by your mother,
sitting at the dinner table talking when you're supposed to be having a good conversation,
telling her what you did in school that day.
You're talking about cartoons,
and you got a fucking backhand up across the mouth and nose.
you got embarrassed.
And they looked bad.
They looked undisciplined.
They were taking shit penalties.
They were skating around like an incredibly inexperienced hockey team.
They looked like a team who has never been in the playoffs.
And there were simple things, not like you have to score every time, but Brady gets that
breakaway in the first period.
Stoned.
I'm not saying he has to score, like I just said, but it's like Mitchie gets that
breakway, scores.
Brady's your guy, the boogeyman that we thought he was going to be playing this team.
It's like you kind of need him to score there.
I didn't think he had that great of a game.
So while everything went well for Toronto, I thought pretty much everything went poorly for Ottawa.
And yeah, I think game two is certainly not a must win, but it is a, if you want Toronto to feel even the slightest bit of fear going into Ottawa and playing you, you've got to do much, much better than that.
That was, it wasn't just a-
Even if it's a closer loss.
Yeah, it wasn't, that's what I'm saying.
It wasn't just the scoreline.
It wasn't like, you know, I'm sure there are Ottawa fans listening to this going,
we got beat 6-2, no shit.
But I'm like, that's not what I'm talking about, dude.
Like, you got the fucking wheels beaten off of you in every facet of that game.
And I know there are a lot of people who will complain about calls.
I think that's bullshit.
Yeah, yeah.
Dude, one thing I love that you said on that topic is this.
We said this is a bad matchup for the Leafs because they'd rather play out like a high-flying
HAB's team than a battering ram Ottawa team.
and I think Ottawa
knows that too and got that in their heads
and they were like, we need to beat this Leafs team to a pulp
which they do,
but there is a fine line of doing that
legally and illegally.
And I'm not saying they're like cheating.
I'm saying like don't take penalties.
You need to forecheck hard,
take the body when you can,
finish every check, but stay out of the box.
And don't let getting beat on the score sheet
turn you into goons.
In my opinion,
If I'm back in the day when I was playing, that was the best feeling in the world.
When you were beating a team and they start fucking cheap shoting, I think it makes them look like the biggest losers in the world.
And I think that's a universal hockey feeling.
You're like, yeah, keep fucking cross-checking me in mouth after the whistle.
It's all you can do.
Dude, like, Maddie Nye's getting that power play goal at the end after like the fucking ridiculous scrum.
And he was like, whatever, dude, we're fucking nasty.
To talk out of the other side of my mouth, I will say for half of that game,
before it kind of got out of hand.
I actually thought Ottawa was really hard done by with the score.
I thought they controlled stretches.
Oh my gosh, agree.
The two first schools, Allmark gave up, were Ekman Larsen walking down the slot alone.
Like, yeah, it wasn't the best shot I've ever seen, but that's a tough one.
I'm not really asking my goal to get that.
And then a Mitch Martin breakaway where he went fucking top bunk.
So Ottawa was like, and Stolars was leaving a ton of rebounds.
Ottawa just hadn't capitalized.
Point being, if I'm Ottawa, I'm actually pretty okay going.
There was large stretches of the first and into the second
where I actually thought we were out playing Toronto.
And the score line was just going the other way
because some bad breaks here or there.
Brady doesn't score, Mitch does, you know how it goes.
So you're not, they didn't get steamrolled as badly as it looks even.
But just, God damn it, dude, from a mental level.
That isn't what you wanted.
if you're the Sends playing a nervous,
well, apparently not nervous,
but like a vulnerable mentally Leif's team,
where you go,
I can't afford a game
where we actually played pretty good,
but all the Leafs best players scored
and they pumped us.
Because I'm like, dude, this wasn't even your fault,
but now the Leafs are like,
we are fucking dope.
And I'm like, dude, they didn't need that.
Or if you're anyone playing the Leafs.
You don't want them to feel that way.
So final thoughts after game one?
Final thoughts, man.
It's, I think your,
right actually you said they don't need it's not must-win game two i think maybe it is um because it's
just it's a lot to win four out of the next five basically um so i fine actually fine i'll call it
must-win for auto because i'm like if the leafs roll again i'm like you're they're not they're
to be hard to slow down and the auto crowd will be awesome but holy fuck that Toronto atmosphere is so
sick and uh still ours as much as I was kind of beacon him I was like well he made fucking
31 saves and like yeah there are a lot of rebounds but he stopped those too so I don't know what
to tell you um so yeah the Leafs that was a because bro can you even fucking imagine if they lost if
the Leafs lost this game uh yeah what the narrative would be insane and like the least lost game one to
the senators, we all knew it.
But instead they're like, we beat the shit out of them.
And I'm like, okay, yeah, good job.
It's playoff hockey time, babes, and you know that we are getting dialed with BetMGM.
You've seen us doing the empty net bets, and what a ride it has been so far.
So I hope you're tailing that with us.
But BetMGM has so much more epic stuff to offer.
And I want you to be a part of it.
Talking about the hat trick jackpot promotion, what you do is you bet on someone to be an anytime goal score.
And if they score, you win the bet.
Simple as that.
If they score three or more, three to infinity and beyond,
you and anyone else that pick them get entered to win your share of 10 G's in bonus
bets just for picking them to be an anytime goal score.
And if you download the BetMGM app and you use promo code Netters, that's N-E-T-T-E-R-S,
you can get up to 1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses.
So follow that logic with me.
Download the Bet-M-G-M-M-G-M-A, use promo code netters,
Bet on an anytime goal score.
If they don't score, you can win $1,500 in bonus bets because your first bet lost.
If they do score, you're smart and you win.
And if they score three or more, you get your share of 10 G's.
Woo!
That's amazing.
So get in on this action.
Follow us on the empty net bets.
Download that BenMGM app.
Use our promo code and have a blast.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Ghobler.
Call 877-8-Hope N-N-Y or text HOPEO-NY for New York.
Call 1-800-3-N-1-8-0-0-0-MASU for New York.
20-1-1-200 for Massachusetts.
It's 21 plus only.
Please gamble responsibly.
Call 100,
Next Step for Arizona.
1,800-N-N-ZEPs offer, Iowa.
1-800-1-0-0-0-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
First bet offer for new customers only,
subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas, C-Nusino and Hotel,
see betmGM.com for terms.
U.S. promotional offers,
going to the next series,
Aves, stars.
I've got a hot take.
Hit me.
Here we go.
All the pressure in this series
is now on Colorado.
Go on.
The way I look at it, we talked about this series in our preview as this was the big one, dude.
This was the Western Conference final, essentially for us.
These two teams, we both love, think that they have a great shot at getting to the cup.
And I was like, I think these are my two horses.
These are the two best teams.
Whoever's coming out of this is going to the cup.
Brutal that they're playing round one, but here we go.
Now, after the beatdown of game one, 5-1,
Yeah, I think so.
Then Colorado in this game, again, I get it in Dallas,
but you're up multiple times in the game.
You let Dallas crawl back.
You let them get an O.T winner.
They don't have Robo.
They don't have Haskinen.
I think all the pressures on Colorado now.
Dude, you're going home now to ball.
I think, God forbid, you lose game three.
You're starting to sweat.
Like, those two injuries for me,
and the way these first two games have gone,
I think Colorado has all the pressure on them now.
There's logic in your take,
but if you're,
I would say just about everybody
picked this to go long.
I think you had to have six,
but I had to have seven.
Most of the...
They did before Robo.
I know it's just one player.
I know.
But it's just like the devil's here.
It's just one player, right?
When did Robo get hurt?
Game 82.
Right, but I think most people picked
a long series even with that news.
I don't, I mean, we did our preview
before that, that, that
pointless last day of the season. Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I think a lot of people made those picks. Like,
you know, if we had recorded our
episode, before that,
we would have, we would have
had a much different analysis.
And dude, 100% you're right about if we
had, if we had
redone our picks after game one,
that's what I'm saying. I would have been like abs and fucking
four, like this is a fucking blood. And dude,
especially, I think,
it was Harley. A waxing in Dallas, game one, five to one. Someone, I think Harley said in the post
game, five one lost Colorado and he goes, that's actually the best game we've played in two months.
And I was like, dude, I love Harley so much. I can't tell if you are just trying to keep the boys
positive or if you're like, that's how good Colorado is. We actually just played great.
Mine games. They had Miro practicing and walking wheels off us. So I was like, dude,
the ads are going to dominate. Here's, like, you're right. With the guys out, I hear you.
You're like, fuck.
But I just think if you're Colorado, you go, yeah.
I mean, obviously it would have been awesome to win too.
For sure.
You split one in Dallas and we're going to go home and pump them where we beat them.
Like we lost in Dallas in the regular season this year beat them twice in Colorado.
So it's like, we're going to just go home and win twice and we're fucking fine.
Dude, it's called a hot take for a reason.
I'm not saying anyone's freaking out.
Yeah.
But I am just saying, you know it.
If they lose this series, people are going to go, dude, they lost and Dallas didn't have
Robo or Miro and they lost game on 5-1 at home.
and then we're down twice in game two.
Yeah, no, your take is actually correct.
Like the pressure.
Pressure's on Colorado.
The pressures on them.
And Dallas, I was ready to even say this if they had lost tonight.
Dallas lost two at home to Vegas to start the playoffs last year when they got another shit.
They also had the shit first round matchup last year.
And then they went four straight.
I think they maybe won in six.
I think they won in six.
So it's like, not that you want to make a habit of that,
but if any team's equipped to do it, it was them, the mental fortitude.
and then you see it
because I think we're in agreement
that Dallas is worse
than Colorado right now
the worst team
they're putting on the ice
so to come back twice
when you go
dude we cannot
fucking do this again
we can't lose
both these games
at home again
and there were some good goals
dude like
and I mean that
in not good highlight
McDavid goals
I mean like
playoff fucking goals
where you're like
get pucks to the net
make a right pass
get pucks to net
jam hard
finish the fucking play
that is actually
actually really encouraging to me because
Colorado is too good
top to bottom to just think you're going to carve
them up and
Dallas is like
we will not go quietly
into that good night. Yeah. No
doubt. I hate
to do this but I mean
in that game you got a goal from
Sagan that's huge. I want to see that. I'm
singling Sagan out because
guy who comes back from injury
who had been so good
at it in his quote
unquote older age.
You love to see that if you're Dallas.
Harley has been playing amazing.
Dallas just coming off a win,
so I don't mean to speak negatively.
But I do,
I don't like doing this.
I don't like calling up players ever
because we are players podcast.
This is a motivation callout,
not a shit talk call out.
Mika Randen has to wake up.
Dude, so truly, dude, has to wake up.
I mean, I have been defending this guy.
from the jump.
When he got traded,
had a couple of bad weeks in Carolina.
There were Carolina fans being like,
this guy fucking sucks, blah, blah, blah.
I'm like, are you insane?
He's one of the best players in the world.
He's in a bad situation.
But now he gets moved.
He had a good first game with Dallas,
got a little quiet for a stretch here.
And now game one,
obviously no one on Dallas played that well
despite Harley's comments.
Yeah, yeah.
But he's got zero goals, zero assists,
even in this win.
He's not doing anything.
I'm looking.
Three shots,
dash one, three shots, dash one, two pimms today.
And I'm like, dude, you're a gamebreaker.
You're supposed to be a game breaker.
You just signed this massive deal with this team.
Like, you are one of the best players in the world.
That's what everyone knows you to be if they want to win.
And I know that they just won.
But if they want to win this series, they want to go on a deep run.
Like, he has to get going.
Dan, you're 100.
So I'm shocked that they were able to win this game with him doing nothing.
Three shots, dash two, game one.
you're 100% right and first stars
especially stars but stars and
Avs fans we were at the
Kings game so it's hard to watch that's why I'm like
oh I didn't see the second goal where we had it
on the phone in the box it was a lot going on
you are 100% right and one
thing I find I'm sure he is
doing this to a degree but
it's always an interesting thing where
the guys you play a team you were just on
and had been on for a long time in the playoffs
we just were talking about it with with Fogues
in the Kings thing
where it's like
I'm sure, and I'm not quoting anybody,
but I'm sure Warren Bogle is like, hey, boys,
last year in the locker and we were saying that you guys were clowns
and we were going to be like how easy it was going to be to beat you.
Because he's using that as motivation for like,
boy, 100% I will tell you exactly what we were saying about you guys last year.
You know, so it's kind of like Colorado played this Dallas team last year.
You know, and I'm like, dude, rant in, even if he's not producing,
you think can come over and be like, here's the system, here's how they play, here's everyone
on the top lines tendencies, here's what we think about you guys, you know, and again, I'm sure
he is doing some of that, but it's like that has to start translating a bit because this,
he signed a long contract, he can have so much success, but this will look like a bust.
All of that fuckery happened, Dan.
And you just want to avoid the fuckers, right?
Yeah.
Even if, frankly, even if they win the cup, let's say they win the cup, but,
rant and doesn't do shit you go into next season and people are being like this
fucking asshole better produce even after you're going to be good with the cup yeah
holding the cup people are still going to be saying that you want to avoid that yeah so
whatever it is yeah like he's got to get going here so that's something to keep an eye on
um but i'm i'm thrilled with the series uh and i hope it goes seven like i picked
colorado but i'm this one for me was a uh i was very happy to see dallas i think i said to you
I don't even know who I want.
Whoever comes out of this, I'll start rooting for, but I was like, I don't know yet.
And I was really happy to see Dallas fight back in this one.
Agreed.
I want the fight.
I would have been sad as a hockey fan if Colorado won both on the road.
Let's just touch on Landy.
Came out for warmups.
Came out for warmies.
He was initially out there.
Miles Wood was scratched, but then they flip-flopped it.
Now, does that mean anything to you?
Maybe.
I think
truly, dude,
the way I looked at it was
everyone's two theories.
Everyone's playing mind games here.
Like,
Hayeskin and practicing
and people are like,
oh shit.
The reading into it,
it freaks me out a little bit
if like maybe he went out for Warmy's
and was like,
yo,
I don't feel good.
That terrifies me,
but I don't think that's the case
because he's been practicing.
He's played,
you know,
with the Eagles.
I think the plan was always ball.
Yeah,
Come, make your debut at home.
That was my theory one was when he came up for warmies.
I was like, oh, they're not playing in game one to see if they can get their split.
Yeah.
Minimum, we've won one in Dallas.
So they're like, playing in game two, we've already won here.
So he gives a fuck if we lose this game and he'll get his feet wet and it's like a less pressure game.
Yeah.
Because if they lose game one, I don't put him in game two.
So I was like, oh, they're going to do that.
And then when they sat him again, I was like, actually, I think they're just being like, we got our split.
Why don't you debut at home?
Yeah.
And that would be sick.
Not that you're trying to win the fucking series,
not make Landy's debut cool.
But that's my theory, too.
I'm with you on that one.
Next series we're getting into
is the Caps, Habs series,
which we have seen one game,
and I am going to start this one with a hot take.
Hit me.
Alexander Ovechkin will win the Rocket Richard of playoffs.
Dan, do you know when somebody,
I swear it's baseball is the only thing I've seen like this?
Baseball sometimes?
like one of your best, well, this is a bad version, because it goes both ways,
but sometimes it's like one of your best players all of April and May is like hitting 250
and you're like, hey, oh, he's mooky bets, he'll snap out of it. But then like once it's June
and they're hitting 250 all year, I'm like this, you're just having a bad year and I don't
know why. And the reverse can happen. Guys can be like hitting 320 and you're like,
dude, he's just hot start. And he's like, no, I'm just locked in this year.
Yeah. OV, obviously he's been a prolific score his whole life. But this year was like, I am
a goal scoring machine because I will break the record this year.
Yeah, he's seeing numbers.
Even if I break my leg, dude, he sees the goal is the matrix.
He's numbers.
Yeah.
And even though it's playoffs now and everything's different, he just can't turn that off
for the rest of this season whenever they get knocked out.
And I know to actually be the leading score of playoffs, they'd probably have to make it
very far.
And I actually haven't picked them to make it that far.
But God forbid they do make it that far, dude.
He might score 20 fucking goals in the playoffs alone, dude.
He just, it feels like he's got, just going in.
It's just fucking going in.
Yeah.
I love that call.
And, yeah, I think they're going to make a good run here.
I don't know if they're going to win the cup.
I don't know if they're going to go to the cup,
but I think they're going to make a good run.
And I, I feel you.
I tweeted out.
I was like, dude, this guy's opening up the scoring in this series.
Actually, I got chirped on Twitter, by the way.
I said, OV opening the scoring is so nails.
And some guy goes, you're almost 40.
Stop talking like a skater bro.
I don't think a nether.
Nails is a skater bro.
Dude, Nails is a very, well,
I'm about to get lit up for this.
I hear it in the hockey community all the time,
especially Canadian hockey people.
I was like, I think I replied,
I was like, do you, have you ever talked to a skater bro?
Dude, there is, not to get off track here,
but there is an insane run
of comments in the
Sorokan video
of when I was like, oh, he's never scored on Sorokin.
And you go, that's Nails.
Yeah. And comment section
is like, nails? Like,
People are like, I turned this off when I heard nails.
Really?
Oh my God, dude, go look at it.
It's crazy.
Why do people hate nails?
Dude, I've never seen before.
Are you being dramatic?
No, do you.
No, dude.
I want you to go look at this while you're talking.
Dude, go find that video and then, like, the reaction, usually I can kind of tell when a comment section is going to go, going to turn dark.
That was an absolute shocker to me.
So I'm not surprised you got that reaction on Twitter, but I'll pick it up there.
I'm so confused why people have a problem with the term nails.
Him opening the scoring and getting his first career OT playoff goal is just another cherry on such a dream season for this guy.
Like genuinely things could not be going.
Do you find it?
That is so nails made me stop listening instantly.
293 likes
Bro.
Why do people have a problem with nails?
They hate the word.
They hate it.
Someone was like, dude, I stopped listening
and he said a good thing you stop
because he said it again.
It was a war zone
in there.
I was going through trying to respond to people
because I like engaging with the community
and then sometimes the community
fights back, dude.
I don't like it.
This is so funny.
Dude, it's crazy.
Oh, God, I love fucking people
on the internet.
It's so hilarious.
like just incredible yeah i've never seen anyone or i've never seen people more mad for something
i was not expecting i i didn't get it i didn't realize this was such a trigger word for people
yeah you be careful wow incredible but anyway dude yeah uh yeah just awesome awesome stuff from ovi
literally a point on all three goals uh near like super super
human status for him for the rest of this playoff run power play weapon everything for the
habs dan it was i'm trying to figure out how much time you got 10 minutes left in the third
and they're down 2 oh and we were saying because i think we were in the car maybe on the way to the
game we were saying like okay the caps are kind of going to get their win and i forget what you
picked um series wise but i'd picked them in in
in like five or something.
And I was like, caps are going to roll.
They're just that much better.
And not that this was a high score blow,
but it certainly felt that way when it was two nothing.
And then just like that, bang, bang, habs.
Cole and Suzuki, too.
They put up a crazy stat that was like,
Cole, Suzuki, and Slav, two goals, 15 shots,
rest of team, zero goals, 17 shots.
And I was like, Jesus, dude.
Like, they literally, like,
we are the boys.
I suppose 15 shots for three players is very good,
but I bet that's not that crazy.
Yeah.
Like your three best goal scorers have your most shots.
Like I don't think that's that.
Yeah, fair.
I just want the other guys to shoot more probably.
But anyway, are you,
what did that do for you from a HAB's POV?
The comeback.
Well, I picked these, you just asked,
I picked caps in six
because I think,
I think they're two,
drunk on the season.
The OV record, I think that the habs are also just buzzing to such an extent.
They're going to steal a couple.
So especially game one, I'm not surprised that the young scrappy habs got to them a little
bit.
But to your point, I do think it happened in a bad way.
Like if I'm the caps, I'm like, guys, can't let that happen.
Can't be up to nothing.
and just let this go to OT.
But again, taking care of business is taking care of business.
They took care of business and they got the win.
And I'm always like, that's huge.
I think it hasn't really changed my take on where the series is going to go.
But I do think it's opened some people's eyes into how good the haves are.
Yeah.
Dude, I'm kind of like, I might be so wrong on this take,
but I kind of skewed to what you said at the beginning of that thought,
which is like, I'm like, yeah, the caps are still going to win in five.
And like the habs are going to be pretty close in every game because they're pesky.
Yeah, I don't hate that take at all.
Like I think that there's a world where every game is very close and the caps just win.
Yeah, like I got so many texts like, habs, dude, look at this.
Like, they're about to win this game.
And they almost did.
Yeah.
And I would like that too as a hockey fan.
Like, I hope that is a really fun series because I fucking love the Bell Center in Montreal and those fans.
But I kind of watched that game being like, yeah.
The caps kind of like fell asleep for a second.
and they're just going to win still.
Yeah, you know, this could so easily be one of those series where you're playing
driveway basketball against your little brother and you're not really trying.
I'm not, you know what I'm not saying the caps.
But you're just like, oh, yeah, we're going to win this.
And then, like, all of a sudden it's a new summer.
Your little brother's a little bigger and a little stronger and has gotten a bit better.
And you're like, oh, what the fuck?
Like, you're not bad anymore.
And, you know, there's a couple plays here and there where it almost looks like you're about to lose.
and then you turn it on, you're like, okay, fucking shut up, dude.
Yeah.
So, like, yeah, there's a world where that happens,
where the Caps win, but they're like, that was closer than,
yeah, every game was a little closer than we thought it was going to be.
So, yeah, I think that was a good statement from the Habs
that has made the Caps be a little bit like, oh, a little punch.
All right, like, we've got to finish these games.
So, yeah, it hasn't changed my take on the series at all,
but it has, I think, opened people's eyes to, like,
the Habs will not go quietly into that good night.
I will say that if you're the Caps,
that is playing with fire in the bell center.
What you just did is you're playing against another entity.
You can't really get away with some of that shit,
which they know.
They know that.
They're going to clean it up,
or they hope to clean it up,
but I'm just saying,
don't play with your food up north.
They don't fuck with that.
Yeah.
I will say, too,
you know, sure,
they got a couple of goals.
Really nice to see LT is a fucking beast.
Yeah.
Like 9-4-3 save percentage, 1-9-4 goals against.
Like, he's, you know, I don't really get how that works.
Like, he's, it was two.
But, yeah, that's big for the caps.
Next series, we got Jets against the Blues.
My hot take.
This series is going perfectly for the Jets.
Yeah.
Yep, 2-0, so obviously, but elaborate.
My elaboration is going to be, you know, both, you know, they're one,
goal they won 2-1 today.
On Saturday, they won 5-3, obviously, with an empty netter.
And we talked about like, oh, playoff, hellie, he's not playing that well.
I think this is going perfectly for them for a couple of reasons.
You're at home, playing against the pesky blues.
In game one, you get four goals on Binner, who was going to be that game changer, right?
Like, oh, shit.
In game two, you only score two, but regular season, Halibuck is back and only gives up one.
You also have your big guys scoring.
Kyle Connor is scoring. Mark Sheifley is scoring.
You are up 2-0 after so many people said are the Jets frauds.
You're playing the second hottest to the hottest team in the league since four nations break.
Everything is built up for a, uh-oh, things are going to get scary at home.
Now you're going into game 3 up to O.
I just think they are happy as a fucking clam.
Dude, the, and again, it's not just because they're up 2-0.
It's because you've got a huge dinner performance and your big boys are scoring.
And you won tight games.
Excuse me, huge, helly performance.
Yeah, yeah, sorry.
Big boys are scoring.
You won tight games where you were down going into the third, I think, in game one.
Like, I'm pretty sure they were down three, too.
Someone can check me on that.
I don't think, was that going into the third?
I think so, dude.
And then in this game, in game two.
Yeah, that's right.
That's right.
That's right.
In this game, it's 1-1 going into the 3rd.
You know, like you are in tight games in front of a fan base that you haven't served in the playoffs lately.
Remember they lost to Vegas?
Gentleman swept, and I said, I wish they had won one-one at home.
Yeah.
I can't even remember which game they won against Colorado, but like they also got gentlemen swept out of that series.
And it's like, God damn, dude, like we just cannot do something for the great white wall up there.
So getting that crowd, the belief in this team that you obviously have in your own locker room,
by literally just grinding out two tight games
against the, it's 2019 again blues.
Everybody's talking about that.
Bang, win, bang, win.
That is massive, dude.
Like, truly, I know it's obvious.
Like, oh, yeah, we won the first two games.
But just like, it's not even like they were pummeling the blues
and just like, see, the blues are frauds.
Now that it's playoffs, they're not going to stay hot anymore.
No, the blues are punching hard and playing you super tight.
And in the first game, the two hottest goalies in the league
weren't really on their game, but your guy just barely outplayed him.
In game two, the two hottest goalies in the league actually both played pretty good.
It's only 22 shots each side, but both played pretty good.
And your guy just barely outplayed them.
Those little things make the difference in a seven-game series.
And I picked the Jets to win this comfortably.
I still think they will.
But if the blues come back and take two in St. Louis, and then now it's a best of three,
you're like, thank God we snuck out those two.
Thank God we didn't puke up one of these because now you're fucked.
You know, so you've earned this two-game cushion and you built this two-game cushion.
And I'm with you, dude.
I don't think the blues were ever going to roll over.
I just don't think the Jets were going to blow them out.
I guess I kind of just said this about the Caps.
I think they're all going to be close.
I just think the Jets are going to win every time.
I think I agree.
It's, it's, fuck, man.
It's tough.
We both pick the Jets to win.
I think this Blues team is super exciting.
I think Jimmy Snuggs has the fucking sick of shit.
out in the world.
This Jets team is just good, man.
And I think a big thing of what I,
when I was saying that this has gone perfectly for them is,
it feels like the last couple of years,
right, where the Jets have fallen short,
games like this,
being down, going into the third in game one,
that's a game that you lose because you're like,
oh, fuck, what's happening?
They just feel very calm.
I said that to you today.
Yeah, yeah, I like that take for me.
One one game at home, you're like,
Don't let this slip.
They just look so calm out there on the ice.
Yeah.
Like Jets going to 2018, lost conference finals in 2018.
Yep.
Lost first round, lost first round, lost second round, missed.
Lost first round, lost first round here.
You know, you've kind of had this road block too that we've been making fun of the wild for and the Leafs obviously for.
Kings.
Yeah, yeah, Kings for sure.
So it's this series, I think, in a way, will be getting through this.
series, even with what they have on their horizon. Dallas, Colorado, a Vegas maybe, a Kings maybe,
is a massive sigh of relief, I think, if I'm Winnipeg. And you're not out of it yet, by any means.
But I just think this series is important to them, is really important to them to be like,
dude, we are the fucking president's trophy team. And there's a bullshit curse and all that stuff,
but we haven't been good in this round. I agree. And yeah, this was a test. The blues were a
test. For winning the President's
trophy, think about how different
the Rangers were last year.
Rangers get the caps that we were all like that.
Caps team last year. What the fuck are you doing
in the playoffs? They had no juice,
no mojo, boom, sweep.
This is a test. This is a bad luck,
dude. You're like the fucking blues.
I'm sure they would have rather the wild,
no offense to Minnesota, especially a healthy Minnesota.
But I'm sure just with the heat,
the heat check, the heat factor. I'm sure the
fucking Jets would have been like, I'd rather
play Minnesota, dude. Yeah. So
I just think they're loving what they've got going on right now.
Like I said, their most important players have good performances.
That feels fucking awesome.
Yeah.
That feels awesome going up 2-0 into game three with gritty wins.
Yep.
Gritty wins against a scrappy team.
You love that.
Dude, wags into that.
How about that hit on Kairu?
That was fucking.
Jesus, right.
Steve and roll.
But it's play-off hockey, dude.
Play-off hockey.
I think the blues have deserved a game here,
and they're going to get one at home.
Next series, Vegas versus the Minnesota Wild.
My hot take after watching one game of that series.
And I kind of have a few,
I had a few impressions coming out of that game,
but for the purposes of a hot take,
someone important from Vegas
isn't leaving the series healthy.
That's how I feel.
Damn.
And I don't want that at all.
I was going to say,
hate this hot take, you're an asshole.
But it's just the,
they have a very unhealthy team
historically
who are the healthiest I've ever seen them,
I think, literally.
And holy shit was that game physical.
Could not believe the wild dude.
They were nuts.
They were absolutely banging body.
I've said this to you before, dude.
I talked about him and my little underrated players heading into the season series this summer.
Joel Erick is such a good two-way center.
He fucking bangs, dude.
Yeah.
He bangs bodies.
My God.
And we're seeing it from young guys, too.
I thought, Boyam had a great showing.
Yeah, dude, he's out on the ice with no fucking goalie, like literally the biggest moment of the game.
Faber, who's a skill guy.
He was throwing the weight around.
Middleton's obviously throwing weight around.
but fuck me
they were
that was not super physical
they were flying around
dude when I think of Vegas
part of the reason I picked them
to go so far as I'm like Vegas
is such a fucking heavy team
they just pound you into submission
and truly dude like you got
Hager you got Colossar
you've got Howden's a big fucking boy
two goals he is a big
fucking boy even Ike's way bigger
than people think like you get up next to Ix
and you're like Christ dude you're a fucking truck
Stoneers
yeah thick as shit
shit.
Seeing the wild bang those boys around.
Dude, they're ready for it.
Did I say four?
I think I was like literally Vegas in the sweep them.
That's not happening.
I can tell you that much.
I'll say some positives for each.
Hurtle,
the man.
Disgusting opening goal.
Like puck-sized hole over Gus's shoulder.
And he makes no mistake about it.
Has been awesome this year
for them.
Kind of like what they were hoping.
hoping to get, I think.
And if Vegas has always been dangerous with the secondary scoring, right?
Like I, and I don't, well, I'll save that one because that's another point, but the
secondary scoring of Vegas, amazing.
I thought Caprizz off look dope.
Man, he's so good.
How, how frustrating is it that he got hurt this year?
Because I was like, he's going to win MVP.
Bro, they put up a stack because I forgot.
We were saying, we were like, he's MVP for sure.
He's fucking nasty.
Dude, I'm pretty sure the stat said he had 20 tucks in.
I think like 23 games, but he got hurt.
Like he was literally like, I score every game.
And then got hurt, played like five more games,
scored three more times.
They finished the year with like 23 goals.
But I was like, he had like 20 and 20.
Dude.
Insane.
And that pass on the Boldie first goal was filthy.
Yeah.
Dude.
Like, I couldn't even believe he made the pass.
And then he hit it so hard that I was like,
what are you doing?
And then Bowley just like catch bang.
And I was like, holy shit, that was sick.
So he looks great.
I thought Gus actually looks really good.
I thought Gus was really seeing the pocket.
I agree. Obviously, Vegas got a few pie.
I am, but just like he looked like the guy that they need him to be.
And then the Vegas positive to even it out is Ikes and Stone
didn't really do even do anything.
Yeah.
Only thing I was going to add is, you know, we're only one game in here.
Ikes and Stone don't get on the score sheet.
You still get a win.
That feels great if you're Vegas.
Win at home feels great if you're Vegas.
But I agree with everything you just said.
I think Minnesota played really, really well.
Krill looks great. Boldie, obviously a huge game.
Dude, I think they said he had one playoff goal in like 12 games or something,
and then two, and he's been such a difference maker for them.
It's big.
Yep.
So, yeah, I don't think anyone feels bad here.
Yeah, that's a good take.
Feels great with their game.
I think Vegas is pumped to get the win, like we said, without those, you know,
their biggest guys really scoring.
So I love this.
We just need to quickly talk about that empty net goal.
Dude.
How fucking awesome was that?
I hope everyone saw the post on our social page.
I can't believe, because we trimmed that clip down to try to get it palatable.
I can't believe.
I wish anyone had heard the rant I was going on in the living room that has been cut out of that video.
Yeah.
Where I was like, actually, let's talk about this for a second.
What in the flying fuck was Gus doing not out of that goal?
Well, I think it's on Heinz and Gus.
Like,
like Heinz,
Yank him, dude.
I think I,
maybe I posted it
something.
I was like,
get the fuck,
or maybe it was,
I don't know,
maybe it was Twitter.
I was like,
get the fuck out of the net,
Gus.
People were like,
it's not Gus,
it's Hein.
So I think it's a little bit of both.
But that was crazy.
He should have been out of the net
way more often than he was.
There's no,
sports have become so,
for lack of better term,
money bally.
And there's metrics that are probably right
that I just,
that are above my pay
grade. And I will even add, there are times, for example, when we're playing in beer league
and not to like sewer any teams or anything, but when we're playing on Thursday, I feel like
our five guys are just better than the other team. So when we're losing by a goal, they're like,
should we pull them? And I'm like, no. Because they might accidentally score against us and we can just
score just as easily five on five. Yeah. This is the NHL. And I'm like, dude, you are, and you're on a
power play. And it's a playoffs. Yeah. It's a playoffs, dude. So I'm like, dude, when they, they, they, they
biggest like shot one down and Gus was just like still he was only like halfway to the bench he just
stopped it I was like how are you not on the bench dude so I was losing my fucking shit and then
and somebody beats me on the comments but that fucking should have been clear path that was ridiculous
on Willie I agree I found that metal I was like he's so even the announcers like he's clearly
about to score so I was so shook so rattled and then that like I could even believe that went
in I mean I'm not even sure it did like it might not
I'm glad they gave it to him for us, but it might not.
Fuck, that was crazy.
But that was the coolest empty never.
Okay, last game we're getting into, because, for those keeping track at home, Tampa, Florida have not yet played.
Last game we're getting into, Devils versus Cains, my hot take of this series.
The Carolina Hurricanes have the easiest path to the Stanley Cup.
Damn, dude.
Damn.
I think because of the Jack Hughes injury, I don't see the devil's putting up much of a fight.
I think we saw this in game one.
One.
Dude, this series is Hova.
Hova?
Yeah.
And I feel bad about that.
Damn.
But this series is Hova.
So Carolina, 4-1 win on Sunday.
They just look much better.
The devil's got even more.
Like Luke missed like half the game.
I came back for the end.
Yeah, Luke is banged up now.
There's, there's, the devil's got a bad shake.
They got a bad shake.
and honestly, dude, use this as like, get the young boys some playoff reps, get Keith some
playoff reps.
Not that he needs him, but you know what I'm saying with this new team.
Yeah.
So before I talk about the path, and by the way, that's no knock on Carolina.
That's just how the cookie crumbles, as Bruce Almighty would say.
Or what's his name?
Bruce Nolan.
Bruce Nolan.
Wow, nice pull.
I think it is.
I don't think I would have got that.
I'm Bruce Nolan.
Yeah.
That's just how the cookie crumbles.
It's nothing against Carolina.
before I get into that path,
I want to talk about the team.
Like I just said,
they look so strong.
They look so strong.
The stank of in trade looks awesome.
I've always loved the stank man,
and I'm rooting for...
I honestly feel bad that he was kind of the collateral.
Not that being on Carolina is a bad thing,
but I'm just saying he kind of feels like the collateral
in that where he's like,
what the fuck?
Dude, like the abs...
He's just minding his own business.
The abs accidentally traded rent into the hurricanes
for no fucking reason when they could have just signed him.
And then the Keynes were like, wait, you hate it here?
And Dallas was like, we'll take him.
And they're like, what do you give us?
And they're like, Stankovan.
And he's like, what the fuck?
Stankovins just eating his breakfast, minding some business.
And then he got traded to Carolina.
Insane.
He's on a fun, exciting team.
And he's been a fucking goal score.
His whole career, dude.
His whole career.
And he's done it in the playoffs.
Two goals in the playoffs.
First game for the Carolina Hurricanes in the playoffs.
Looks awesome.
And yeah, this team's just strong.
Stahl out here.
doing it yet again.
Which is sick.
You needed good goaltending.
Again, it's the devils who we don't think are at their best.
But you got good goaltending from Freddie.
And yeah, I think everything is pointing towards a, you know, five gamer or a four gamer here.
And I will, I do want to say, though, just quick stick taps to Markstrom because obviously
the devil's made that huge trade to fix that issue.
And, dude, I'm trying to see if I can find the five.
fucking first period.
The shots in the first period, dude,
yeah, here it is.
Were 17 to 5, Carolina.
Like, they beat the wheels off them.
And then in the second period, 21 to 8.
Came out hot day.
Markham made fucking 41 saves.
It was insane.
He played awesome.
He played so well.
I'm glad you brought that up.
We were watching that game.
We were like, Markstrom standing on his fucking head.
He's got no help right now.
So you feel good about that if you're,
if you're the devil's moving forward, moving forward.
Absolutely.
I think the thing that impresses me the most about this Hurricanes team is I do really think every year they have a bit of a chip on their shoulder of a smaller market team.
No one really takes them seriously.
People call them choke artists.
They definitely have that chip on their shoulder.
But I think after the rant and debacle, they really got one.
I think they were like, fuck you, dude.
Fuck you, Miko.
Yeah.
And then also fuck you hockey world being like no one, no star player would ever want to play in your city, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And they were just very fucking good.
after that trade.
And then here they are on playoffs,
I think those first two periods
were very much statement periods.
Absolutely right.
Against a worst team,
no disrespect, devils,
but Carolina is just stronger
than you right now.
But it was a statement
first couple periods
and then a statement win.
And I think they're going to keep doing it.
And what I mean by their path,
and then I'll toss it to you,
it is the best matchup
in the East, I think, this series.
As far as like, you know,
who do we think
had,
and I think it's the best
matchup.
And then after this,
you get to avoid
the,
what we think is
probably the red hot
maple leafs
or the
pumped full of piss and vinegar
senators if they beat
the Maple Leafs
and then the Battle of Florida.
You don't want to play
any of those fucking teams.
Let's call it Toronto
or one of the Florida teams.
You do not want to play those teams.
Washington's amazing,
but it's like,
that's the matchup you probably want.
So I think they've got
the easiest path here. Dude, they see, and here come the Oilers fans at me again, I'm sorry,
but they feel to me like the Oilers of last year in that Vegas, people forget, fell into the
wild card last year and then was kicked to the Central because of who they got. So Edmonton
played a Kings team who was overmatched. Much weaker. Yeah. And then the Canucks without
Demco. Demco. While Winnipeg, and I'll even throw them in there, while Winnipeg, and I'll even throw them in there,
while Winnipeg, Colorado, Dallas, and Vegas beat the brakes off each other.
Van also lost Besser in that series.
And then Edmonton caught Dallas.
And I said, I was like, Dallas was going to kill them in this series.
And that Edmonton won in six and looked great.
And I ate crow on that.
But I'm just saying that was, in my opinion, a Dallas team that was hobbled after the battle to get there.
And if I'm Carolina, I'm kind of thinking the same thing, just like you said, Toronto,
and Tampa and Florida and Ottawa can beat the wheels off.
each other and then you just beat the devils and then if can you get by the can you get by the caps
who like you know were bad last year and now they're just like playing with house money you get by
the caps now you're in the eastern conference finals against the team who i think is better than you
but maybe is limping limping there yep and then boom you're in the cup and i'm like holy shit
dude anything can happen so i think that's cool all right those are our playoff series that we've
talked about i love that we're doing this if we didn't say it guys we're recording at 1 a.m. right now
because we want to make sure when these pods come out, everything is up to date.
We are going to move on from the playoff talk and quickly talk about some news that broke.
End of last week, we wouldn't be doing our jobs if we didn't touch on this.
We're not going to get deep into it because we believe it is very important to wait for facts, things like that to come out.
But news with the New York Rangers.
Last week, the news broke that the New York Rangers forward are Tammy Panarin and Madison Square Garden Sports.
The company that owns the team paid financial sediments to a Rangers' importance.
employee last year after she alleged that Panarin sexually assaulted her, according to an
NHL source who reviewed the settlements and three others briefed about them.
We're not going to get into the article, what was said. Just this news, obviously, you hate
to hear anything like this. Oh, it sucks. It sucks. And you want this out of our game,
out of every game so badly, as you said, well, at the top,
I want to know everything before you weigh in.
But the things in the article are not good.
And it's not, I never know the phrasing of these,
but it's like, you know, there's what I think of
when I first hear the word, someone's been raped,
and it's not that, but there's like,
down. You know, like there's shitty things in the article.
It's awful. And I will say this, and this is pretty much all I want to say on the topic
at this juncture, but it is important, I think, that there is a standard held that everyone
is held to in the league. And the way the Team Canada guy stuff was handled, which is like a
much bigger allegation, obviously, you know, and is the things I think of when I hear the word
rape in that story, right? But when that stuff breaks and it's like, those guys are like cut
immediately and, you know, like maybe never play again, even if they win a court case. That's like
that wasn't true. They didn't do it. Those guys' careers might have ended. And when I just,
I would like there to be some standard of when people, these big allegations,
out about people, I wish there was a thing that would happen that we had all agreed upon
versus like this team decides this person can play, this team decides, this team decides
will they have to cut that person. You know, I hate that out of it. I even remember Dan
in the Patriots when it was like Antonio Brown, they got him, they traded it for him. And
then there was like an allegation and they were like, we have to cut him. And I was like,
do we have to cut him? Like, shouldn't we wait to see what happens? But they're like, well, no,
morally we do, because that's how we feel. And I respect that. Yeah. But it's like,
it's crazy to me that it's in the individual team's hands.
Does this team feel morally?
Does this team?
I'm like, I wish there was like a, if you've been accused of this, you can't play till or whatever
it is.
I just.
Or at least suspended.
Yeah.
I just wish there was like a blanket thing that we agreed upon.
Yeah.
We won't spend too much time on this because like we said at the top.
We do not know the full facts of this.
I don't think anyone does other than the people, the parties involved.
The article doesn't really give.
you know, the victim is not quoted in the article.
Obviously, Panarin's not quoted in the article.
So I think it's incredibly, incredibly important in these things
to wait for all of the facts to come out before you pass judgment on anything,
on anyone or anything.
Like you said perfectly, there's zero place for this type of stuff in life.
Certainly in sports when you are in a position of power as a player,
an executive, whatever it be.
So it's awful.
You hope so passionately that everyone involved is okay.
Victims are okay.
The one thing I will say and sort of leave this with is I've seen a lot of, you know,
hateful comments, things like that directed towards Artemite Panera.
And I have nothing to say about that because I don't know the facts.
What we do know is that a financial settlement was paid.
that involved the New York Rangers.
And I think it's important that as more facts of this come out,
equal attention is brought on that.
Yeah, like I think it is awful that a team,
an organization is paying to silence potential,
if not certain sexual assault victims.
That's fucking insane to me.
So I hope as we try to better ourselves
and better the league more and more with these types of things
and hopefully get this shit out of the game permanently,
it is not lost on us that teams cannot be fucking paying
to keep people quiet when something awful like this happens.
I would rather...
The opposite culture should exist.
I would rather a team make an announcement immediately.
Like, we found out something happened
and we have no place for that on our team.
It's literally like golf when you're like,
the ball moved and I am penalizing myself.
Yeah.
Okay.
We obviously want to just pass on all the,
the thoughts and concerns for anyone negatively involved in stuff like this, and we hope it never
finds its way into hockey again.
Taking a quick break to talk to you guys about Bauer. Bauer hockey has made D.P. and I Bauer athletes,
and it is awesome. To put it quite simply, it is awesome, because they hook us up with everything.
And I'm a spas. I have all the training tools. I'm damn near 50 years old, and I don't know
what I'm doing trying to get better at hockey, but I am. And Bauer's helping me do it because I've got
the shooting board. I've got the shooter tutor. I got a radar gun behind the net. I've got the
tiles where I can stick handle. I've got the digital reactor dangler. I'm about to get the skating
training. Like, this is insane. It's for beer league, but I'm loving it because you go to Bauer.com
and it is a playground. They've got everything there. And of course, beyond my new shinies, which I just
got, and my mitts and my bucket, my prized possession, my prized possession is the Bauer Twitch.
greatest stick ever made by man. And somewhere the great hockey gods of the world are probably
playing with lightning bolts that they fashioned into sticks. But until we get access to those,
the Twitch is the one. It's feather, feather light, this low kick point that hits and then
recoils. It's got the only tick that does it. It's got this kick recoil that's absolutely insane.
My shot has improved. My handles have improved. And it's cool to look at. It comes in a sick box.
I can't say enough cool things about the Twitch.
What you're going to have to do is go to Bauer.com
and get your hands on one,
and then you'll know what I'm talking about
because until I can get everyone on my beer league team at Twitch,
we're never going to win another game,
and that is my one mission on Earth.
Get everyone on Twitch, get everyone in the Bauer training supplies like I'm doing,
and then watch your game improve.
So go over to Bauer.com,
check out all the fun stuff they have to offer.
Taking a break and doing one of my favorite types of ad reads to do right now,
and that's to talk to you about Huell.
You all know that I am a fitness guy,
I'm a nutrition guy.
I love all that stuff.
I geek out about it and I'm super, super particular.
So when I'm talking to you about Hewle right now, you know that this is real.
This is stuff that is super important to me.
I love it.
I get super into it.
And Hewle has given me and the world such an amazing line of products in the protein and
nutrition space.
Hewil meals and bars.
They are providing you 27 essential vitamins and minerals plus a 100% nutritionally complete balance
of protein, essential fats, carbs, and fiber.
Had to read all of that for you because it's so unbelievably complex and it's so good for everything.
We've got the powder right here and they've got these unbelievable ready to drink meal replacement
drinks.
My favorite one right now is the ice coffee.
I'm not a coffee drinker.
I don't really consume caffeine that much, but I do love the taste of coffee.
So the Hule Ready to Drink, Black Edition, ice coffee flavor is so good.
It's 400 calories, full meal replacement, 35 grams of protein.
such a huge boost in the middle of the day.
I don't like working out in the morning.
I like working out in the middle of the day.
I like having a little bit of energy going in with a little bit of breakfast in me,
some food in me, have some energy, ripping my workout.
But sometimes we're on the grind here.
We're potting.
We're watching games.
I can't get that in.
I don't have time to eat lunch.
And that's where these ready to drink meal replacements are so clutch from Huell.
It's unbelievable.
Like I said, all of those nutrients, all of that great stuff.
And here's the kicker.
Like I just said, I don't really drink coffee.
drink caffeine. They have vitamin B12 in all of these products that gives you natural energy.
It's so clutch. Also has tons of vitamin C, which helps that immune system. You're fighting
off colds. We're on the road all the time. We're traveling. We're here right now recording past
midnight because we're getting in all these playoff games. Sleep starts to suffer. You need more
of that vitamin C. You need to keep that immune system top notch. Hewell is helping you out
with that too. It's unbelievable, guys. So if you have an on-the-go life, if you're working
in crazy hours. You don't have time to get a proper meal in and you want something that
tastes good that's giving you all of those good, unbelievable vitamins, all of those nutrients,
getting you enough protein, which is huge. So many of these things, they're not getting you
the protein you think. This is what you need. Huell is going to be clutch for you. So new customers,
you're going to go to huel.com slash netters today. You're going to use our code netters,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S, and you're going to get 15% off your first order plus a free gift.
So Hewle is hooking you up with a discount and a gift while also taking care of all of your needs.
They've got all these different products.
They've got bars.
They've got the powders and they've got the ready to drink.
Unbelievable meal replacement beverages.
Get on board with the Hewell family.
I'm telling you, this is stuff I care about.
I wouldn't push something I don't believe in and something that I use.
Hewle is where it's at.
Get on board right now.
Okay.
Let's get into a beer league hotline from our good friends at Labat Blue.
Hell yeah.
We had eight guys in our game last night.
The light bench weeks are brutal, but it was a good eight,
just a bunch of legends giving it everything we've got.
In the third period, we took a penalty.
It was a clear trip.
The ref had to call it.
But we asked the ref if we could be short-handed for three minutes,
but no one actually goes in the box since our legs were so gassed already.
He said no.
I was curious what you guys think about that proposed beer league rule change.
If a team has less than nine skaters,
no player has to physically serve any penalties.
We're at a loss for words.
I love this.
Oh, you're bumming me out, I think.
I love this, dude.
Because it does suck so much.
Absolutely not.
I don't even think I want to let you speak, dude.
Dude, this...
I genuinely am not sure I want to...
I think this might be the best idea I've ever heard in my life.
I demand that you take that statement back immediately.
This might be the greatest.
This idea of all time. I demand that you take that back.
I guess if you're like, if you're the other team, you're like, well, he, if it was one
of their good players, you're like, he needs to be in the box.
But they have eight guys, dude.
Like, are you even having fun?
I actually can't even believe I'm ever forced to play with eight guys.
I should get a ringer.
I hate that, I hate you.
I respect the question being asked.
That's what Beer League Hotline is for.
You're here to lobby questions.
this is an absolutely not.
The ref made the right call.
Again, good on you for asking.
I get it.
I get the situation.
It sucks.
Good on you for asking.
The ref made the right call.
It's not that long of a penalty, I guess, either.
The bigger thing, dude, the bigger thing is there are rules here.
There are rules in life.
This isn't nom, dude.
It's not nom.
It's not, it's not, this isn't warfare.
There are rules here.
In fact, there are rules in warfare.
Rules of engagement.
There are rules here.
You have to follow them.
And you know, I think the one scenario that does it enough for me is, let's say they go, actually, yeah, sure.
And then that guy gets a shorty.
And then I'm pissed.
And you're like, I'm fuming.
What are we doing here?
Yeah.
So he's in the box.
You, you, you all, there are no stupid questions.
Yeah.
That exists in elementary school.
It exists in life.
There are no stupid question.
No such thing as a stupid question.
I believe that.
Always ask questions.
Yep.
Always see what you can get away with.
Always see what is allowed.
So good on you for asking the questions, but this was the correct decision.
We can't let this fly because if we let this fly, then everything's flying.
What next, dude?
So this is a tough one.
I get it, but what about if it goes five on three, the second guy doesn't physically serve?
Because I'm like, dude, what to come on?
Same thing, dude.
Same, no, same result.
It blows, dude.
This blows.
The only way that we'll have this discussion is if you're a five on three and then two more guys take a penalty.
And now you're like, we literally don't have enough people on the bench.
Then they'd be like, okay, someone can stay.
Dude, you know what?
Okay, I think you're right.
But I actually do think this.
And he said in this, it was a clear trip.
But I actually think if a team has less than nine guys at Beer League, the ref flat out should not.
call a penalty. Because even if they go, dude, that was a trip. I'm like, are you not winning the
game, dude? Like, aren't you guys up a few goals against the fucking eight guys, dude? I'm letting
him play. They've got eight guys. It's, it's, I disagree. Let them play. It's the game, dude.
I, I think let them play exists for things that don't have a huge, if you're obviously, if you're
five goals and even if there's a clear trip then I'm like yeah whatever do but if that game's
close at all I'll hear that tie game tie game call the trip serve the penalty no no more than it's
no one goal game two goal game no yes idiot tie game you're being an idiot tie game eight guys eight guys
we're playing hockey dude we're not playing fucking broomball in the dorm room shut up I got one
I got one penalty called on the eight guy team
That guy serves in the box, but instead of five on four, it's four on three.
So you're still getting your power play, but just we can have some more fresh legs.
It's just, no.
Boom, we did it.
Four on three.
We did it.
Ruff made the right call.
Thank you, Dillabat Blue.
We did it.
Ref made the right call.
Let's go into a little close out with a nice Bauer hockey blind ranking.
This week, we're doing playoff goalies.
Wags, what do you got for us?
Binner.
Damn.
Dude, I didn't want that one to start at all.
At all.
I am going to say
this sucks because Binner,
2019 Binner, it's about as good as it gets.
I know.
End of the season, Binner, about as good as it gets.
But when I think about the goalies in playoffs,
and you know what's nice is we have some sample sizes.
So there are some guys that I would have been like,
Like, oh, real good.
But I think I'm going to say four.
Is there any world?
Any world in the multiverse.
Say one and get.
No, no doubt.
No doubt.
Where the O and two binner is five.
I don't think so.
Like who do you even want to put below him?
I think there's a man who I really, really love.
You just got lit up like a Christmas tree.
Yep.
You're right.
You're right.
I'm okay with four.
We're going to go four.
Four.
Darcy.
And unfortunately, I do have to go five here.
I think so, too.
And that is not what I wanted to happen.
It really blows.
It's not what I wanted to happen.
Because he's what I'm saying.
He's a guy that I'm having a two conversation with.
Yeah, I know if we weren't literally sitting here at 1.30 in the morning.
And that just wasn't a great performance.
Again, this is just after what we've seen.
But here's the thing. What if we get skinning?
For the respect of the game, has Hill,
or excuse me has been her been better than darcy yes so we have to go five because we don't know
okay darcy five l t l t solid and three i think right three just just i mean we're going to get
sewered here very possibly i know wags don't fuck us based on what we've been saying don't
actually actually could we go lp higher than that yeah we could we could right because i just feel like
let's go to let's go too no he's been
He was great.
Let's go LT2.
Two.
I actually like that a three.
I'm so glad you went two.
Are you crazy?
Genius.
Oh, I thought you were going to say.
Yeah, three.
Move on.
Yeah.
Go right into it.
That's a three.
So our number one.
Aid in hell.
Okay.
I'll take that.
I think given the list,
I think I'll take that a hundred percent.
I think it's 100%.
We did a perfect list, dude.
We did a perfect list.
Yeah.
I think there's a world where,
you might say LT
could have been one. No.
Hill. I like it.
I'm thrilled. I like this list.
Thrilled. That went, dude.
Given what's going on.
After two, I was like,
this is going to go horribly. Yeah. Shout out
Wags leaving off some absolute
fucking bangers there, keeping us
on our fucking toes. Yes. That is
great stuff. Okay.
That is it for us tonight
at the empty in airs podcast, but before we
leave a lot of announcements. Yes.
here's the deal folks
going to be posting something on the page tomorrow
so you see this as well but
new playoff schedule
is about to go
banana sandwich
we've got our regular podcast
dropping every Tuesday and Thursday morning
per usual don't fret everything
is exactly the same nothing about your life
is changing as far as that
that said every single
Monday Wednesday
and Friday
your boys are going to be coming to you live
on our YouTube channel.
So if you're not subscribed,
now's the time to do that.
But for the entirety of the playoffs,
we are going to be giving you guys
every single morning,
Monday to Friday,
morning hockey content.
And I would add up-to-date topic
morning.
Hell yeah.
Morning hockey content.
So Monday morning,
bright and early on the West Coast.
Yeah.
Yeah, not say that time.
9 a.m.
9 a.m. Pacific.
12 noon.
Eastern.
We're going to be coming live on our YouTube.
After that, that will go up on Spotify.
It'll be on the YouTube.
You can watch it, but it will be live 9 a.m. Pacific.
Every Monday, every Wednesday, and every Friday.
And then every Tuesday and Thursday, the pods will come out.
We will be recording the previous night.
So everything's getting covered.
We're going to be up to date on every single game.
So every single morning for you during the week,
work week. We are going to have hockey content for you in the morning that you can listen to
that you can watch and you can ingest, inject straight into your veins. It's going to be fantastic.
Make sure you are subscribed to that goddamn YouTube so you don't miss it.
Tune in. You guys can shoot us questions while we're recording live. We can talk to you live,
answer some of your stuff. It's going to be fucking awesome. It's going to be super fun. I can't wait
to see you. Love it. Love it. I'm absolutely pumped. We're going to be doing bingoes.
Oh, yeah. Bingo is back. Bingo coming back. Shout out Sully. I know you're happy about that.
But it is a new day with the Empty Niders podcast. We're coming to you every single fucking day now.
So get ready. Playoffs, baby. Strap in. We are three days into playoffs and it's already absolutely
lunacy. God, playoff hockey is so sick. Love it. We will see you tomorrow and the next day.
And until that, skate hard.
