Empty Netters Podcast - The Tampa Bay Lightning Dynasty Can’t Be Back Because It Never Left
Episode Date: April 10, 2025Is it possible that Tampa Bay has been the best team in the league this whole time? But if Landy is back then the Avs will have something to say about it. Demidov has arrived in Montreal has the Habs ...primed for a playoff run. The boys break down the seeding race for the last week of the season. And DP crushes CP on a game of Trivia Factorial NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. LABATT BLUE. It’s time for you to get on board with our favorite beer in the game. Labatt Blue and Labatt Blue Light are the perfect beverages to wet your whistle while you’re watching hockey or hanging with friends. That’s because there’s a little bit of Canadian kindness in every sip. Go to https://www.labattusa.com/product/labatt-blue/ to find some SKIMS. http://www.skims.com/netters From technically constructed briefs and ultra-soft boxers to the most comfortable tanks and tees you’ll ever wear, these foundations will keep you going 24/7. 00:00 INTRO 00:26 NOT ICE 19:28 LANDY IS BACK 25:44 DEMIDOV 32:11 PLAYOFF PICTURE 57:38 POWERS RANKINGS 1:00:28 STARTING 6 1:05:43 TRIVIA FACTORIAL Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Cooch, having another insane season.
Gensel, sneaky nasty, Hagle, career year.
Point, consistently nasty.
Sirelli, out of nowhere, unbelievable.
And then be weary of playoff Fassey.
Dude, they are the best team, not just in the East,
but quite possibly in the entire NHL.
And somehow, they're just flying under the radar.
They're going straight to the cup.
Ice is ready, and we are back with another episode of the MT Netters podcast,
brought to you by BetMGM.
new studio today, but also our same studio. You gotta love it. This is the bar studio. Get used to it.
You'll be seeing it more often. I am your host, Dan Powers. And with me, he's afraid of spiders.
He's afraid to talk to strangers on the phone. He's afraid of the sleep paralysis demon that haunts him
most nights. It's little Chrissy Powers. As always. Oh, I hated that. I hated yours.
Why would you do it if you hated it, you idiot? I actually loved yours and I loved mine too.
You know what I love?
I want it to be very clear.
I stood up at the bar first.
You copied me.
I'm a trendsetter.
You're a follower.
I'm a leader.
You're a follower.
I didn't know we could.
My lower back was hurting.
That's the problem with you, dude.
You will sit there in discomfort rather than do something about it.
Well, I didn't want to inconvenience anybody.
You're a coward.
I'll take my inconvenience to not inconvenience anyone else.
Yeah.
And that is a flaw.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
That is a perfect, perfect transition into what you are currently dealing with.
Why don't you tell the good people the latest in the never-ending saga of absurd inconveniences that happened to you?
Okay.
So I don't even, I hope.
Strap in folks.
Yeah.
Because this is a doozy.
We can't spend too long in this.
And I hope there's a follow-up to this, truly.
Yeah, it would be great if this story ends with a, and it all worked out and wasn't that nuts.
Because if it doesn't, it just sucks.
Because right now, we're in it.
We're not at the happy ending yet.
Yeah.
And we, he means him.
Yeah.
So basically, Coachella's coming right around the corner in L.A.
and I was getting some tickets, secondhand tickets.
Searching everywhere.
Reddit, Facebook, Marketplace, Craigslist.
Found someone on Craigslist who was like, I have two tickets for you.
We're texting.
And then he goes, let me DM you too.
So we can know who each other all.
and everything.
And I have such a burner IG for anyone that has seen my personal.
So I even told him, I was like, dude, you're going to think I'm a fake person.
But I actually, that is my IG.
I will answer.
But I also gave him yours to be like, DM him and then you'll see a real person.
Or see a real man.
Yeah.
At this point, I randomly, I've not been prepped on this at all.
So I randomly get a DM from a blue checkmark who is the son of a prominent NFL wide receiver of old.
Yeah, that's all I want to say.
And I'm like, what the fuck is going on?
Yeah, Dan could text me.
He's like, what the hell?
And I'm like, oh, dude, I actually just met him.
He's the man.
I met online.
And now we're chatting about Coachella tickets.
So he goes, I needed a couple.
And I go, boom, here's the price.
Boom.
Send him the money.
And he goes, I'll send you the tickets.
Then a couple days went by.
And he said he wasn't around.
He couldn't send him for a couple days.
Totally fine.
Yeah, yeah.
So then a couple days go by.
And in that interim, he was like, hey, a couple of my boys out here are selling
there's two, do your friends need more, which they did?
Because I had other friends looking.
So I go, actually, yeah, dude, 100%.
Let's make it happen.
And he goes, yeah, same deal, same price.
Let's rip it.
So I go, boom, send that money.
And he goes, perfect.
I'll put them all in a over, or I'll put them all in the mail together.
Send him to you.
So he does.
Sends me tracking for the package.
And he goes, be there in a couple days.
Dan and I, as you all know, we're in Colorado.
So I wouldn't have been there to receive them.
We get back from Colorado and I go to my house, no package.
Quick pause.
Chris went online, met a stranger, then sent said stranger thousands of U.S. American dollars.
Yep.
And stranger said, I will mail you all of these things that you desperately need in a time-sensitive manner.
Yep.
And I just want to say, though, and this could be like...
There was no...
There was no judgment.
I'm just letting people know the facts of the story.
I only say that there was nothing sketchy that happened in the moment yet that would have
made you think that this is going to go poorly.
It was more the, this isn't the easiest transaction.
And it's just funny that you met a person online and you sent the money.
Yep.
And what I was going to say is I've done that every year for this exact event.
Yeah, but usually the goods are.
are exchanged in person hand to hand but not with me like every year in a row I have sent a stranger
a bunch of money and then they've mailed me okay these things he's a trusting guy and and yeah you could
be like well dude just because you have run across the highway five times and live doesn't mean this
but I wouldn't say that to you yeah but I could hear that argument yeah sure sure so I get back
text him yo pack's not here yet like up to and the tracking's weird right the tracking's like
wasn't dropped off yet to be shipped so I'm like hey
what's up and he answers but he's like dude I'm I'm sick like I'm really ill I'm like I can go to the
hospital just sounded so crazy right and I was like what dude and I'm like oh okay are you all right
and he's like yeah yeah I just like I can't really help and I'm like fuck here we go and then
some people in my inner circle are freaking out and they're like looking up phones and they're like
oh this phone isn't even a real number that he's texting you for like this is all scam dude
said people in your inner circle
to be, this is where I have your defense.
Yeah.
There's a couple things going on.
One, green bubbles in the text from this guy.
Yeah, yeah.
Always a red flag.
No, it's not that bad, dude.
It is all fucking iPhone truth.
Hey, hey, did I say it is a certified fact of, oh, you're being stamped?
I just said it's a red flag.
Yep.
Which it is.
Nah.
It is.
Green bubbles.
That is a red flag.
The tickets aren't here.
That is red flag.
Now this person's going,
Oh, I'm in the hospital, dude.
I can't help you.
That is a red flag.
That was bad.
So there are a lot of red flags going on.
And the people in your circle at that you, which you are speaking about,
we're going to keep them anonymous apparently, are going like this, dude.
And again, I'm defending you.
This fucking guy's a piece of shit scumbag.
You're getting scammed.
He's a fucking criminal.
We need to call the police right now.
We need to publicly humiliate this person and destroy their fucking life.
Like, you were getting bombarded with it with criticism.
of your actions as pink,
oh dude, several people, several,
everyone I talk to. I'm like this.
Oh, dude, another one. Right to the nose.
Just a true circus of, like,
this is 100% a scam.
We need to tear this person down to the studs.
And if this kid ever sees this, and I'll
fucking, I'll DM him this. We're still talking.
But if this kid ever sees this, I want him to know
and you will back me up. I never once wavered.
I literally this entire.
entire time was like,
this is real, dude.
Had his back the whole time.
So now, but I was freaking out in this point
because everyone's killing me.
Yeah.
And then I send a message
that was kind of like stern for sure,
but it was just like, dude,
can you just give me any reasonable chance to believe you?
Just be like, send me the copy of the receipt
that you shipped it.
Like send me anything.
Yeah.
And that just goes ghosted.
And I'm like, okay.
Yeah.
Because like, this is bad.
Like that was such an easier question.
Now we're panicking a little bit.
Because I'm literally going like this, check your email.
And he's going, can't.
And I'm like, can't.
Can't check your, don't have access to your email on your burner phone with a green bubble.
But he's in like, I'm in the hospital.
And I'm like, I'm like, oh, dude, come on.
So I'm like, this is not good.
Goes ghost.
And I'm kind of like, all right, dude.
Like I text everybody and I'm like, hey, you all got to get tickets.
One more text that I thought was legit.
It was a very.
Oh, oh, I did send this one text.
You said the text that was like, yo, dude, can you just tell me,
man to man if you're scamming me because I just simply don't have time to wait around.
If you've scammed me, I've been, dude, I've been fooled by the best.
Yes, dude, fool by the best.
I'm up against the festival, dude.
I was like, tell me if I am getting ass pounded right now.
Because if so, I will get some loom and I will move on.
I have three days to either chase down a package or three days to get everyone new tickets.
And I don't have time to do both.
So literally, I go, dude, I don't even care man to man.
Just like, I need to know.
Tell me if I got got.
Yeah.
And what would you have done?
Here's a question.
Here's a question.
When you said that text, when you were like, dude, man, man, just tell me if you were scamming me.
Tell me if I got got got.
And if he replied with got you, bitch.
Yeah, dude.
Would you have respected that?
Yes, dude, 100%.
I was waiting for him to respond and go, you got got got.
You got got.
And I was going to go, all right, all good.
Happens.
Happens, dude.
So he answers that text right away and he goes, dude, I swear to God.
I mailed.
And I'm like, now this is so crazy because if you are scamming me, just to lose my number, like,
you have the money.
Like, why are you answering?
So, again, I was.
I didn't, I got close, but I never gave up hope.
So I was like, this is fucking real, whatever.
But then he kind of stopped answering, didn't answer the DMs.
And I was like, ah, dude, fuck, I'm dead.
And then you message him.
Yeah, dude, strapped on my cape, strapped on my Superman cape and went, let me fucking
handle this because no one else came.
Yeah, and you just said, yo.
And I literally just went like this.
Yo.
I can't believe that word.
I can't get a response.
I can't get a response on these like really nice messages.
You go, yo, he goes, what's up?
I send him a message that was like, yo dude, what's the?
the deal on or any update on this.
Saw that he saw it, didn't respond.
And then I was prepared to go scorched earth.
And I was like, I'm going to give him one more chance.
And I said, yo.
And he was like, yo, dude, don't know what to tell you.
Dude, well, we'll talk to your brother.
Blah, blah, blah.
And then I sent my stern message.
Yeah, right.
I forgot you did that.
Yeah.
I was like, dude, this sucks.
I'm totally sorry that this is a situation.
But like, we talked to the post office.
They said the only way that.
Which we did.
That wasn't a lot.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
We sent a dude to the post office.
I don't want to say where it's all what happened,
but like we sent someone there.
Only way that what is happening is happening is if you made a mistake.
So you got to send us the money back because we did not get the goods that we purchased.
Or we're going to call the police.
Yeah.
I hated doing that.
Yeah, I didn't even want you to do it.
I admitted to snitching.
I was like, I'm going to snitch.
He immediately was then like, dude, like, I swear I have not scammed you guys.
I don't know what happened.
I totally understand, but I don't have the money anymore.
I can't send it back.
Yeah, spent it.
Spent it, dude, yeah.
But he was then like, I will track down the money.
I get paid in a couple of weeks and I'll give you your money back.
So I then am talking to you and your inner circle member.
Yeah.
And I was like, dude, this person's telling the truth.
Yeah.
Which I wasn't as passionately as you were, but I was also like, this is not a scam, dude.
Yeah, yeah.
This blue checkmark is not reaching out to multiple Instagrams to be like, hey, just making sure this is you
to then scam us.
So yeah, we go on a back and forth.
I'm screenshot and sending you all the messages.
And I'm like, this kid's telling the truth, dude.
He sent me a picture of his hospital wristband
with his name and date of birth on which match online.
He's like, I've been to the hospital, dude.
It's like, this poor kid's dying.
He had a horrible week.
And he's like, dude, this is fucking stressful.
I'm like, I know.
I'm sorry.
I didn't beat it.
So, dude, he goes, we go, can we see the label?
The shipping label.
He goes, here it is.
and it's just my name completely wrong address, to be honest with it.
Like, not even kind of like kind of close.
No, no, no, no.
It was just the street name.
He had the number right.
He had the zip right.
But the street was not even remotely close.
He had the, there was one letter.
Two.
Well, if you want to get, if you want to pick letters, I would say.
Yeah, two letters.
But like it began with the right letter.
So it must have been a drop-down thing and clicked on the wrong one.
So he goes, we go, dude, it's not the address.
Not the one I sent you.
It's wrong thing.
He said that.
Yeah.
He was like, yo, I'm a fucking idiot.
Like, I've never seen someone so embarrassed.
Yeah.
He was so genuine.
He was like, I have fucked up, dude.
I am so sorry.
And immediately was like, I will get your money back, dude.
Like, if we can't track these down, I'll get your money back.
But dude, here's the me of it.
He's like, dude, I put the wrong address.
And I'm like, oh, okay.
Well, like, they probably returned it to you.
Yeah.
And he's like, dude, I've been gone in the hospital.
But I'll give your buddy in town access to my house to just go get it.
it's probably there.
And I'm like, done.
And then he's like, oh, but dude, I actually put the return address,
which is the place I used to live.
And I'm like, what?
But he's like, it is near, it's in Southern California.
So I'm like, okay, I will go there.
So it's like, it's either, we know it's not in the original post office.
So it could either be the post office near me,
the post office near his old address or at his old address.
Or at the fucking processing center in Santa Clarita.
I have been to all.
of these places. You did not go to Santa Clarita.
No, I called Santa Clarita.
Okay. I was like, oh my God.
But I went everywhere else, dude.
And every, the problem is all the post office places go, what?
Because I go like this. I go, dude, is this here?
And they go, well, the tracking number says it never even left Santa Barbara, but we think it did.
And they go, so you want me to just search the post?
There's 20 people in line.
And I'm like, yes.
Yeah.
They're like, what, dude?
But they at least look in the box of like the end stuff and they're like, it's not
here.
And I'm like, okay.
And so then I go to the apartment building, dude.
I talk to management.
I talked to the leasing company.
I talked to maintenance.
I got maintenance to let me into the mailroom.
Bro, I broke back into the building and met the family that used to live in his apartment,
knocked on their door.
Good people?
Super nice people.
Armand.
He goes, I go, hey, Armand, how are you?
My name's Chris, got an issue for you.
You got a package, didn't you?
And he's going like this.
He's looking at me through the door like this.
Oh, my God.
And I'm like, dude, I need that package, Armand.
Take another step out of him, you know. Armand, open that door.
Yeah, dude, and he's like, dude, so wags. I was like, he's like, we didn't get anything.
If I see Armand at Coachella, dude, Jesus Christ.
I go, dude, you don't got no bracelets in there, dude. So, yeah, he said he didn't get a package,
but I'm like, I don't know if that's right. And then so, but he was theoretically being helpful,
said he was going to put it in the building group chat, see if anybody found it.
But then I called the USPS people, and I was like, what would happen if you got a
package to this building and it wasn't for a current resident.
And they go, because we have
a list thing and we see
resident name, we find the resident, find their PO box,
put it in. And they go, if it wasn't
a current resident, we would return it
to sender. And I'm like, but this is
being returned to sender. So like,
is it sent to me again?
And I, dude, I literally think right now
this package is pinging back
and forth between two non-existent places.
Like it gets here and they go, he doesn't live here.
Send back to Chris at fake address.
That's not real. Ping, ping, ping, ping,
ping, it's like in the ether of two fake
fairyland places. It's the Charlie on
the MTA song. It's just, it's stuck
in transit. It can't get off anywhere.
And if anybody at the USPS,
at any of these stops would fucking scan
the thing, it would go, ding, here it is.
And I'd go, thank you. But literally,
everyone gets it, just like sends it on to the
next thing, no scan.
Do you think they're scanning it,
but it comes up as error because it's not
a real address? There's no way, dude. Like, if it
has a fucking label on it, you literally just scan it
and it goes, boom, here's the, the tracking number
is for exactly this purpose.
Yeah.
Like there's a tracking number.
Where is it?
What a nightmare.
We don't know.
And I really hope we find him.
Priority numero, no.
Yeah.
Right enough time,
but I really hope we get our money back,
which is no guarantee.
Give me...
Give me a percentage chance
you think we get the bracelets.
Dude, I'm so mad at myself
because literally on the way there this morning,
I was at like a 99.
I was like, they're literally just at this building.
I'm just going to walk up and be like,
yo, do you have this?
And they're going to go,
oh, Chris Bowers?
We've been waiting for you to show up.
Boom, here you go.
And now that they're not there, and that building is, like, it's not, it wasn't a trash building, dude.
It was just, like, not, did it didn't have the infrastructure I needed to have a package.
Yeah, it wasn't running properly.
Dude, like, the Armand's family, I was explaining it, and they were like, I was like, is
someone at the office?
And they were like, there is no office, dude.
Like, there's nothing.
It was a nightmare.
Yeah.
And I was like, so I'm now like, dude, actually, Dan, I think the percentage chance they get to me
someday is still pretty high.
because eventually this is going to get sorted,
but it's going to be way too late.
The percentage chance I think you get them on time
is literally no chance that they get delivered to you
because your address doesn't exist.
Yeah, yeah.
But like this package is going to turn up,
but it's not going to turn up in time, I don't think.
Truly remarkable stuff, dude.
Your life.
Yeah.
When I'm talking to Armand today, dude,
I was like, we, I'm in the weeds here.
Armand's like, give me your number, dude.
I'll just you out.
I'm going to come back to what,
I'm going to give you a number of my therapists too.
It looks like you've been dealing with stuff for about 38 years of your life.
God damn, dude.
Well, let's get into some hot ice because we've got some scorching hot stuff,
and I need your brain distracted from what is going on.
Desperately.
Guys, let's talk about BetMGM really quick.
Without a doubt, the best sports book in the game,
and they are hooking you up right now with BetMGM's NHL Hat Trick Jackpot.
Goals scores are hot in the streets right now.
We got OV breaking the all-time record.
We got multiple players chasing down 40 goals.
We've got a lot of players chasing down 100 points for the first time.
So in any time goal scoring bet is the move right now.
And here's the deal.
If you pick anyone for an anytime goal score and that player scores three goals or more in the game,
we all know that to be a hat trick, you get put into the pot for a share of $10,000.
10K if your guy scores a hatty.
And here's the deal.
If you bet in any time goal score and he scores one, look at that.
You've already won your bet.
So then if they get a haddy, boom, you're putting that pot for a little extra cashiche.
Nothing better than that, and there's no one better than BetMGM hooking you up with such a sweet deal.
And if you sign up for BetMGM right now with promo code Netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you're also going to get 1,500 smackaroos in bonus bets.
Come on.
Who is taking care of you like this?
You've got to get on the Bet-M-G-M-Train right now.
We've been riding it all season, and we are buzzing.
We're happy as a clam.
That's because BetMGM is the best in the business.
Get signed up today and get in on this action.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S.
Call 8778-8-Hop-N-Y or text Hope NY 4667-369 in New York.
Call 1-800-3-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-1-Masurgeoning New York.
2,000-1-800-1-8-1-8-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-B
$1-bbbletrable in partnership with Kansas-crossing
casino and hotel.
See you at MGM.com for terms.
U.S.
promotional offers not available in New York,
Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
We've got a way in the update.
When this man returns to the NHL,
the validation that I will feel,
when we released that clip,
when we posted our episode,
we were like, you think that this is a coincidence,
dude, you think this man's doing this doc.
Yep, he's not coming back.
People are like, he ain't coming back.
You guys are out of your mind.
And well, well, would you look at that?
We've got a Landy practicing
with the Colorado Eagles photo.
We have reports from Aves Insiders
saying that he can agree to a three-game conditioning stint,
and it will not count against the cap,
which means he can just get his legs under him.
He can play three games in the AHA.
Doesn't affect the cap space,
which means come playoffs, boom.
He can be injected right back into that lineup,
no harm, no foul.
Bob's your uncle, how's your mother, win a Stanley Cup?
You win a cup, dude.
Here's another cup.
Drinking out of cups.
Unbelievable.
Is this is amazing
It's amazing
And I think this is the Coachella ticket
That's really turning my brain crazy
Okay
But is there a scenario
Where
I'm trying to think of a good cop
This one's not perfect
But it's pretty close
When Tuka
Retired
Which I felt was like early
I was like dude what
And then he was like
I'm coming back
And he comes back
And he's like
I can't do it
Actually my hip's destroyed
And I can't play
and I suck and this sucks.
And I'm like, oh, my God, that went horribly.
I literally thought you were about to ride us two of the cup.
Yeah.
Is there a scenario where Landy comes back, he's not good
because he hasn't played since 2022,
and he's like, I'm not good because my knee is in shambles
and I can't play.
Of course.
Of course there's a chance.
Because that would be a chance that he's not good.
I think there's a chance that his body just breaks.
Because here's what happens, dude.
You can train all.
you want, but you cannot create NHL game speed until you are in the NHL at game speed.
So, yeah, he can play in these AHL games.
He can look amazing.
He can train.
He can look amazing.
But the second he steps on that NHL ice will be the first time, he's like, okay, this is my
body reacting to NHL game speed.
And there's a chance that he does that.
And it's like, oh, fuck, dude.
My knee is just, it can't keep up.
But it's worth it to see.
Oh, my God.
It's worth it to give it a shot, dude.
If anybody goes near him, dude, on the eye, like, I literally, don't kill you.
Don't hit him.
Don't hit him, dude.
Let him play.
I'm not looking at anyone on that roster to step up because it'll be me.
It'll be me climbing over the glass, beating the wheels off someone for even going near him.
Stay out of his hula hoop, dude.
You cannot fly.
Dude, you know, it's like, I think it's like women's lacrosse.
I think women's lacrosse has, like, a bubble.
There's like a literal rule.
Like, if you, if you, like, even get in here, they're like.
Like the stick can't go.
They're like flag, bubble.
bubble violation.
I want that is what I want for Landy in the NHL playoffs.
This Colorado team is currently sitting third in the central with 100 points.
And I believe the next central team is the Blues with 93.
Yeah.
So like they have third.
And they can't catch Dallas.
They cannot catch out.
So they are third.
They are playing either Dallas or Winnipeg.
It's looking like Dallas.
We can get into that whole thing.
Yeah, yeah.
But this team with 100 points already,
has been the biggest
Band-Aid team in the NHL this season.
Currently, they've got Landy on IR.
They've got Pullman on IR.
They've got Druann at Day-To-Day,
Natchez at Day-To-Day, and Colton.
Out.
Yeah.
Dude, Natchez, Colton and Druand
back in the lineup is like, that is a game.
That is a game changer.
Yep.
And now you're talking about Landy
possibly coming back into this lineup,
dude?
Look at these lines right now.
On the left wing, currently,
they've got Lekinen.
Absolutely.
revelation, unbelievable player.
They've got Kivirontah, they've got Miles Wood,
and they've got Parker Kelly.
Yep.
Drewing goes there, right?
Yes, but the fact of the matter is
you are possibly adding Landy, Captain Landy,
Natchez and Ross the boss back into this roster.
Like, are you kidding me?
I'm not even talking.
I'm not even talking about Drouan.
Yeah.
Like you're winning the Cup.
They're stacked.
If Landy is even 70% of himself,
You are winning the cup.
Yeah.
And I just, I, I think about all the unreal moments that have happened this season.
If you add Landy coming back to this lineup to that, are you fucking my dad?
Dude, it's insane.
And I'm so happy for them because they built this on the fucking fly, dude.
And they probably knew, I bet like there was talks with Landy coming in being like, this is what's going to happen.
but holy shit dude did they bob and weave on the fucking rantin and thing and create this lineup right here which looks staggering dude staggering lineup if i was about to say if you get anything from mackenzie blackwood which he's certainly shown but you don't even need i'm not trying to shit on temper's place but like if any team can say we can win the cup without an elite elite elite elite a plus goalie it's them because they just did it so i kind of hate that take given that
Kemper is just leading the league in all measurable.
So I'm like, I think he is a league go-tender.
Oh, yeah, fair, fair.
It's just like tough that we, everyone's always like,
they won it with a not that good of a goalie.
And I'm like, Kemper has insane numbers, dude.
Yeah.
But I hear you.
Maybe he didn't have those numbers when they won.
I think that's the argument.
And like, hasn't, I think, in his career.
You know what I mean?
I just think we need to start putting respect on Kemper's name.
We probably do. We probably do, to be honest with you.
But it's a fair point because the year with Colorado,
he wasn't lighting the world.
on fire.
Yeah.
And ultimately what we've seen.
Because he was there one year.
That's fucking crazy.
Yeah.
Well, ultimately what we've seen is Blackwood is doing the job.
He's doing exactly what he needs.
It is just unreal that the woodshed in Colorado has turned into this amazing recipe.
And now we've got all the boys coming back just in time, dude.
It's beautiful stuff.
It is, man.
Heading over to the east, another piece of unbelievable.
news, the Habs just got better.
Undoubtedly.
Holy shit.
Without a doubt, the man with the most swag these eyes have ever seen at an NHL draft,
going up on stage and planting a kiss on Celine Dion.
Are you shitting me?
Dude.
Ivan Demidoff signs his three-year entry-level contract with the Habs, this fucking kid.
Everyone knew he was a stud.
He fell to, I think, five.
Yeah, with that dumper.
And it was because people weren't sure.
Is he going to be tied up with the KHL?
How long is it going to be?
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
Well, it turns out, folks, it was one simple...
65 games.
Yep.
One simple season, not even a full NHL season.
He plays 65 games in the KHL, gets 49 points, 19 goals, 30 assists.
People think, oh, that's pretty good.
It's not even a point per game.
Well, let me tell you,
what, this kid with his
49 points, just set a new
KHL record for an under 20
player in their first season, breaking
whose record? Kriel Caprizov.
How are you? Decent little player,
don't you think? This kid's
got an NHL body, he's got an NHL shot,
he's got NHL
mentality. Yeah. And he
now is possibly being slotted into
this HABS lineup that is already way
overperforming and looks like they're making playoffs.
If your
horn
isn't juiced
to the tip right now.
If you are a Habs fan,
I don't know what's going on.
I'm told it takes at least
a month
if not more to get the gas
out of you
when you fly over.
Okay.
So he's here.
He's got a month of gas.
He's pumped full.
I didn't know what gas
you were talking about there for a second.
He's pumped full of Russian gas
for at least a month
to two months, Dan,
before that runs out.
At his age, dude?
I don't know.
At his age, he probably stays in your body a little bit longer.
You're going to test the hair follicles to find out.
But dude, I think that gas is going to be in him.
Because it's hard to export that shit over here for playoffs,
but he's already got it.
You know what I mean?
He's got it in him.
If you are the caps or currently the Leafs, this is not good news.
It is currently the Leafs, right?
If you're looking at the playoff picture as it stands,
we've got the Leafs playing the Habs.
That is diabolical.
my friend. No, no, no. Because the haves are second, right? Yeah, I think it's the caps. Yeah, yeah.
Oh, I'm just saying, because that, they could jump easily. Well, sorry, when you said
currently, you meant currently in the Atlanta. Oh, yeah, yeah. I thought you meant currently.
I meant, sorry, I meant the leaps are currently. You got to fucking work on that, dude.
No, I said it right. You interpreted it right. You interpreted it right. I'm right. I'm right. I'm
right. That's on you. I think, I don't, I'm not worried about the caps. Because they just,
because they can beat the habs.
They can go into the bell center
and beat them it off in the halves.
I don't even know if they're gonna.
I just don't think they're gonna lose in seven games.
They might lose every game in the bell center.
Oh,
I see what you're saying.
I just,
I'm not worried about the caps.
Yeah, I am worried about the leaves.
Yeah, at least want nothing to do with that.
I apologize.
Nothing to do with Ottawa either.
Oh, they're in absolute nightmare mode, dude.
Those are the two choices.
You got to lose.
You got to let the lightning catch you.
You got to let the lightning catch you.
You're either playing Florida.
Yeah.
Or they're dead no matter what.
They're playing Florida, Tampa, Ottawa,
or Montreal. Somehow, the Habs and Ottawa just became so scary. And for many reasons, particularly
with Toronto, there was literally no first round matchup that is good for Toronto. You're dead.
For the first time, for the first time in 80 years, the Bruins are missing playoffs. And so the
Leafs are like, oh, nice. Who do we get in the first round? I'm like this, you're four night-knit.
Who do you get? You get an execution, dude. You get it, you get a zero respect execution.
They can beat, they can beat, they will beat Ottawa. They will beat Ottawa.
will beat Florida.
They will lose to Tampa and they might lose.
They will lose to everybody.
No, no.
They'll beat everybody by Tampa, I think.
Dude, the nuclear fisions that we are going to feel from the city of Toronto when they
lose in the first round.
Oh.
Because they never had a shot, dude.
That is the problem.
They were never in it.
They were never in it.
They were never in it.
They never had a shot.
It's just devastating.
But this kid is, I think he's special.
I said it the second he got drafted.
It's a steal, bro.
I can't wait to see him play.
I kind of love that we're getting, like a lot of the college kids we see,
we're going to be getting his first bit of NHL action in the playoffs, probably.
I don't see a world where he, I mean, maybe he sits up soon.
But just seeing him in action soon is going to be fucking incredible.
Makes an exciting team even more exciting.
Going over to Dallas, Vancouver from last night.
Yep.
The playoffs are right around the corner,
and that means I'm about to get dialed into my playoff mode,
and that is hanging at the bar, sitting on the couch,
getting together with friends,
and when I do that watching Playoff Puck,
I need an ice-cold beer with me,
and you know the only beer that I would ever choose is Labat Blue.
Yeah, that's obvious,
because it is hockey's favorite beer.
It is the best beer when you are sitting down
and watching the greatest playoff sport in the entire world,
and you know what? It's also the best beer, whenever.
So why not combine those best and have the best best experience of your life?
With Labat Blue and Labat Blue Light, you were getting that unbelievable, cool, crisp, refreshing taste
that is brewed with Canadian kindness in every single sip.
So every time you twist off a bottle cap, every time you snap open a beer can,
or every time you pour a pint, Labat Blue is taking care of you with the greatest kindness in the world,
which means you're going to have the greatest experience drinking a beer you've ever had.
you might as well pair that with some great playoff hockey and enjoy it with us.
We're going to be buzzing watching all these games.
Let's be buzzing together while we're sipping down some of the best beer in the world
and enjoying the best sport in the world.
Labat Blue and Labat Blue Light are going to get you to the finish line every single time
and they're going to enhance your time without fail.
Try one today. Join the team.
You've got an interesting situation here.
Break it down for me.
Normally we're not this reactionary on the pod.
There's a million games on.
between recordings, but this game was just so nuts.
One of the biggest comebacks I've ever seen.
And I want to talk about two things.
Number one, it's hilarious, especially at this time of year, how, what have you done for me
lately fans get?
It's crazy.
We're going to do our starting, we're going to do our powers ranking later in this app.
Last week in the powers ranking, I'm pretty sure we put Dallas first or recently put
Dallas first.
Yeah, yeah.
They've been on an unbelievable run.
And we get so many DMs like Dallas fucking wagon, Dallas winning the cup easily.
No one can beat Dallas and seven.
is insane. Dallas loses this game
and our DMs are flooded with Dallas is a joke
Dallas is a joke artist. Dallas is
cooked. Yeah. Dallas is cooked.
And I'm like
fellas, guys, you have
you have 50 wins.
Yeah, yeah, there's one game. You have 50 wins. You have 106
points. If you had won that game, you
would have 107 points,
just three behind Winnipeg. And fans
are like this, were cooked. Dead. Over, finish.
Because you just lost one ugly game. Finished.
So that, everybody just
breathe with me, breathe, breathe, breathe.
breathe. Playoffs are almost here.
You know, you're in form.
Everything's fine.
What I did think, the second thing, what I thought was just so funny, is
Vancouver, I got a funny text from Q and I got to show you,
but Vancouver is out, dude.
Like, they're not going to make it.
Oh, yeah, yeah, you have missed playoffs, which is so fucking crazy, dude.
You know what's funny?
I have said it already.
We're going to wear dunce caps soon.
Yeah.
And I want everyone in hockey media to work.
because we all fucked up our division previews.
There are so many teams that are missing playoffs this year that it is an abomination to do so.
So, Keating goes, so this connects team.
And Dan, maybe the Hawks put Spencer Knight back in goal because they realized Ovi wasn't playing with the empty netter.
but for the most part when teams are out
if you have if you're down a goal
yeah in the end of the regular season
and you're out
pull your goalie your professional athletes
try to try to tie the game whatever
if you're down two goals I'm like
let's I don't need the goalie pull
personally I disagree with that okay but two goals
I'm like whatever Vancouver's down two goals
in this game they pull the goalie
with like three minutes left and I'm like okay
you don't need this at all what are you doing
or no granny scores
Boom, Dallas up three, this game is over.
Vancouver puts their goalie back in, naturally.
And then proceeds to score three goals in 50 seconds to tie this game.
And then go to OT, get a power play, fail to score.
And then it goes even again, and then they score and win.
In a game that is literally only hurting your draft standing.
The three goals in 50 seconds was the most controller lost its batteries I've ever seen.
Watching that game, I was like, hey, Dallas.
what do you think you're doing right now?
And again, the game didn't matter, really, for either team.
It was more just a...
But Dallas is trying to catch Winnipeg.
We're going to get into it in a second.
Yeah.
This is what Keenan said.
We should make this a me, maybe.
It says the Canucks, when it could not matter less.
It's just all across the feet.
It's that when the Penguins dress is all cross.
Dude, the Canucks season over and down three with a minute left.
They're like this.
Check this out, dude.
We're unstoppable.
Three goals, 50 seconds.
No need.
No need.
No need for it.
Thank you guys.
But hey, as a hockey fan, thanks for the, thanks for the ride.
That was cool.
Yeah.
Also, Dan, the Islanders Predators game last night.
Yeah, yeah.
Chaos.
Not a huge, huge, huge blown lead like that, but I will tell you,
I'm going to get the numbers exactly for you, that the Preds went up to, or excuse me,
the Islanders went up to six to four, and the Preds, there were three, there were two minutes left,
up six four.
Pred score with two minutes left,
Pred score with 40 seconds left,
Pred score on OT.
Just a point you can't afford to lose.
Islanders.
Merles had...
No.
Islanders...
No.
I don't even want to hear this.
He had Islanders money line...
No, sorry, he had Stars money line,
and Islanders as part of a 16 parlay
lost in both.
It was a $3,000 swing.
Dude, those games are...
I can't even hear it.
can't even hear that he texted me last night and he goes he goes uh islanders just cost me
you know x amount a tough beat and i go if at least you didn't have stars sends me slip of
stuff it was like this had them both had them both the beats that that man like you two together
i can't tell of you two together is an absolute disaster because you're the two most unlucky people
who've ever lived or if it's a we've got a double negative situation they could have had stars you could
have stars fucking horrifying absolutely horrible you just mentioned dallas
trying to catch the Jets. Let's look at the playoff race and see who could catch who and what
implications it has. If we start in the Atlantic, Tampa with the same amount of games played
is two points behind Toronto, Florida is two points behind Tampa. With an extra game. With an extra
game, yeah. Everyone is in play. Atlantic is completely in play. And Florida has been bad, but,
and like, I think you saw, like Bennett's out till playoffs now. Yeah, yeah. Like, Chuck's out till
They're sitting guys to the point that I'm like, I think they're out of it.
Yeah.
I think.
But obviously they have enough talent on that team that they could just go on a run.
They just rinse the Leafs last night, I think, right?
Yep.
So it's like, dude, they are likely not making a run at the division, eight, four points back having played an extra game.
But the Tampa, Toronto one is fully on.
Couldn't be more on, in my opinion.
And like I said, it's, I mean, realistically, if,
Toronto is currently set to play Ottawa.
Yes.
They want that more than they want Florida or Tampa.
No doubt about it.
I agree.
I think they beat Ottawa.
At the end of the day, dude, it's still Tampa.
You're going to get Bennett back.
You're going to get Kachuk back.
I hope at some point.
And it's Bob.
It's Maurice.
It's Barcov.
It's Marchand.
It's all these like, you do not want to play that fucking team.
Yeah.
I was just about to ask you.
I now know I'm wrong.
I was just going to ask you,
is there any part of Tampa
would rather just stay here
and play a limping Florida
instead of going to catch
one of those super hot wildcar teams
have to travel to Canada?
You know, you're just like,
let's just stay here and pummel Florida.
Tampa's gold diff is plus 74.
Dude, like,
Tampa is the best team in the East.
In the NHL.
I would hear that.
Yeah, I'm dead ass, dude.
I think Colorado is a freight train
from the depths of hell,
with which you have never seen.
The headless horseman is at the front
of that fucking wagon,
charging them down the narrowest road possible,
obliterating everything in their sights.
On the way to Florida.
But other than them,
Tampa is the best team in the league right now,
and everyone's just being like,
oh yeah, Tampa, Cooch, Cooch.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Bassi's playing pretty good lately.
Vasi is, like, look at the numbers.
The second half of the year,
I would reckon to guess he's the best,
or if not close, second best goalie in the NHL
behind Hellebuck, and it's fucking Vasi.
Yeah.
And you've got all these guys,
you've got Hegel in point
taking such an insane, significant jump.
Like, what are we talking?
talking about here.
Dude, Hegel fucking 35 goals.
Nuclear.
Fucking outrageous.
So I'm sitting here saying...
Gensel's so sneaky, nasty this year.
Like, fuck off.
I'm here to tell you, they don't give a flying fuck about anybody.
Yeah.
This team is sitting in that locker room and they're going, we are winning the
cup this year just so everyone knows.
So they don't give a shit who they play.
Toronto, I think absolutely is...
Do you think that they are not completely unfa...
or excuse me, are they completely unfazed by any team?
No.
I think that they are a level of phase by everyone.
If they end up playing Montreal,
if they end up playing Ottawa,
they go,
fuck me.
That's going to be Harry,
but they think they can win,
for sure.
If they end up playing Florida,
I think they go,
we are probably going to lose this series.
Legitimately,
I think you have to think that if you're Toronto.
This is, okay,
so that's HABS,
one and one,
two and one.
Yeah, so right now the Leafs are two and one against the HABs this year.
They're 0 and 3 against Ottawa, which I know you're like, it doesn't matter as much, but it's a thing.
Something.
I think you're correct.
Like, it's a tough matchup, but it's the playoffs.
That's what it's for, and you've got two pesky wildcard teams.
I think you're probably right about Tampa.
Like, a part of me thinks that Tampa would just rather stay in the state and just beat Florida.
But it's like, go play Ottawa.
I'm sure you're fine. You don't care.
Florida, I imagine, would rather Toronto.
Than Tampa?
Yeah.
Of course.
Dude.
Not what we just said.
Yeah.
It's not just Tampa that knows they're nasty.
Everyone else knows that they're nasty too, especially people in that division, especially
someone in their state.
Yeah.
Florida is well aware of how good this team is.
They would love to avoid them.
I'm here to say, we'll do this in our playoff preview if it shakes out like this.
If we get a battle of Florida, I think that's going to be a sweet.
I think it's going to be a scoop in the first round, dude.
I think Florida is so banged up.
Me too.
And you have, through a Tampa, that is stronger than they've been all season.
Yep.
That's going to be a bloodbath.
Yeah, fuck.
The fucking waters of the Tampa Bay will run wrecked.
Yeah, the Gulf of America will flood.
The Gulf of America, the Gulf of America will be fucking flooded with the blood of dead dead
cats.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
Okay, we'll go to East Wildcard then.
Yeah, I was going to say, skip the mess.
because there's no one catching anybody there
and I'm here to say
we're done.
Oh, it's over in terms of who's in.
Can Montreal get their three points back
same amount of games?
100%. Those two could fly.
And you'd rather, who would you rather?
If it's Leifes, currently Leifes,
Leafs are Caps.
If you're these two teams,
if you're Ottawa and Montreal,
who do you want to play?
The Leaves.
Yeah, so you're like, get me that top spot,
like the top wild card.
Then you get the league.
Yeah, but like you're looking at it because you don't know.
It might be Tampa.
Yeah.
This is going to be a game of musical chairs until the end of the season.
We got to win.
No, no, lose.
Loose, lose.
Literally looking at the ticker up in your barn.
You're like, you see that Toronto just dropped the game.
You're like, fuck.
School.
Put in our own net.
Put in our own net.
Like, I legitimately think this is going to be musical chairs to the likes of which we've never seen.
Yep.
Yep.
That's correct, dude.
That's correct.
So, yeah, you're right.
These two teams are locked.
Ottawa and fucking Montreal made the playoffs.
What's crazy, Dan, is I think that,
as recently as in Colorado.
I think our first step in Colorado,
I said, I don't know if Montreal has the juice.
They do, they're in.
But then by the second we can,
the second ep in Colorado,
I called it for Montreal, actually.
So I turned pretty quick.
But even when they were in,
I was like, congrats to them being in.
I still want nothing to do with Ottawa.
And I'll play Montreal and beat them.
And now I'm kind of like,
man, dude, that's a shitty matchup now
to get the haves.
Because they, just the fucking city,
damn it off,
the fucking bell center.
It's crazy.
And I know Ottawa fans, we talked to Brady and he said,
the city's so fired up.
The rink's going to be insane.
I know that's all true.
100%.
But just something about the HABs getting in this year is scarier to me if I'm the opponent.
Like I think if I was the Caps or the Leafs currently, I would say give me Ottawa.
I think, I think Ottawa has a better chance of making or of winning a round than Montreal does
because I like
I truly do
oh I like their goalie more
I like their goalie more
for sure for sure for sure
I think I like Ottawa's D
slightly more
and then dude for real
it's Brady
Brady is the X factor
yeah he is
Brady in playoffs
that kid is fucking dog
friend of the program
love him
all right going to the west
in the central
uh
Dallas could catch Winnipeg
I do think that that dropped
point was in brutal though
so I'm a
I'm a betting man, I'm saying we've got the three locked right here.
But Dallas wants that so badly.
Yes.
More than these other teams we've been talking about.
Oh my God.
Like that is a must.
Like that's why that loss is or that OT loss, but that's such a fucking melt.
Because I'm like, dude, you were about to catch, I mean, what's crazy pros, they would
win the fucking president.
If they do catch them, they'll win the president's trophy.
Like, that's the president's trophy race, basically.
Well, Washington's at 107.
107, yeah.
But, you know, if they catch Winnipeg, I bet it's because they're like, I'm in the running.
And actually, no, Minnesota did drop.
So then you catch Minnesota, which you'd be happy about.
So if the choices are the fucking abs or the hurt wild.
And I'm here to tell you, the Colorado is beating whoever they play.
In the first round?
Yes.
So Dallas is so nasty.
Winnipeg is so nasty.
They beat Vegas, right?
Yeah, yeah.
I'm sorry, dude.
I just like looking at what, I mean, Winnipeg is so fucking nasty.
If they don't go to the cup this year, I don't know what's happening.
Dude.
I know.
But Dallas, especially, as we said, if Landy joins this team,
and he's like, oh, I can play.
Yeah.
I just don't know.
If they get all of these guys back,
you get Colton back, you get Drew Ann back,
you get Natius back, you get Landy back.
You're getting four key top nine forwards back in your lineup.
What are we talking about?
That is, that is serious,
but you still think it'd be a bloodbath, right?
Like, you're not saying like Avsweet.
Oh, yeah, it's a slugfest.
But, dude, as we said, there's a chance that Hastan's not back for round one.
Yeah.
No, Haskinen for Dallas, and you get Landy for Colorado.
Yeah, incompetent Landy and Miro can't play.
But still, dude, like
Crucial for Dallas.
Great. Yeah.
He's home ice.
Because Colorado's not catching.
Yeah, correct. Correct. But Dallas needs to be,
I mean, let me just look at their schedule, dude.
Four games left. Can you click on Winnipeg and look at their schedule at the same time?
I sure can.
Four games left for both teams.
Dallas has, oh my God.
Next game. What day is it? It's Wednesday right now.
Tomorrow night, Dallas Home versus the Jets.
Big one.
Jesus.
Home versus the Jets.
home versus Utah at Detroit at Pretz.
Like those should, that should be three comfortable wins.
And then if you take care of Winnipeg.
Winnipeg's got, yeah, at Dallas, tomorrow.
Yep.
At Blackhawks.
Okay.
Home against the Oilers.
Home against the ducks.
So two really, two ones you got to have.
And then a tough Oilers game, but probably without dry saddle and McDavid.
Probably a win.
Yeah.
So yeah, maybe even like, you need Winnipeg to drop significant points to
So it's probably over.
Well, you've got to beat them.
No, it's probably over.
You got to beat them, though.
It's probably over.
It's probably over.
Even with that.
Let's say that happens.
It's probably over.
Dallas two points back.
Winnipeg loses to Edmonton, and then they did it.
That's it.
Simple as that.
So that's that.
And then finally, in the Pacific,
Vegas...
I think we're locked, dude.
Has one extra game.
Like, personally, I think we're locked.
But L.A.
Yeah, L.A. is six points back.
Let's say they get a next win.
That's four points back with...
four games to play.
Which is just what we said about Dallas winning.
Yeah.
So that's interesting.
It's close.
But they need help and I think Vegas is too good.
Yeah, they need help.
Vegas is probably too good.
And then do you think, wildcard, we've got the Blues, Minnesota, neither have clinched yet.
Calgary is sitting just with a game in hand.
Yeah, 89.
Just three or four points behind Minnesota.
I think the Blues are in.
Well, two points.
Blues finally lost.
Yeah, yeah.
Calgary could still sneak.
Two points back from Minnesota if they win their game in hand.
Like 78 games, they'd be at 89 points.
Yeah, yeah.
So, yeah, it's right there.
And Minnesota got to stay frosty, dude,
because Calgary's going to keep coming.
And I don't think Minnesota is, well, I guess they're a game behind the blues, too, though.
You know what I mean?
The falloff of Minnesota from, like, December.
Yeah.
It's just devastating.
So we can't call this.
I think I called the West a while ago, but we can't call this yet.
Calgary's still in the mix.
I don't think anyone else is.
Oh, me.
Same.
Same. I think it's those three teams.
Yeah. Let me see who Minnesota's got.
But I think like these guys are, I think Crillswell's to play, dude.
Yeah.
Minnesota's gut.
So, Home versus the Sharks at Calgary, absolute fucking tilt of the century, at Calgary.
And then at Vancouver and Home versus the Ducks.
Yeah.
So two easy ones and then two very hard ones on the road against teams clawing to get in.
Okay.
That's interesting.
We've kind of said who we think is going to be.
be in what's what's what i touched on this a second ago to close us out in the wildcard discussion
slash playoff picture of all of our teams who are missing playoffs and we're going to call them this
in the east eliminated officially flyers bruin's pittsburghburgh buffalo then it likely looks like
i would almost say certainly they're done dude columbus islanders red wings rangers are all missing in the east
in the west we've got sharks hawks preads crackin ducks all eliminated and then it looks like
Utah and Vancouver are gone.
We're going to keep Calgary out of this conversation.
Of all those teams, give me a couple teams that you think that it is unforgivable that they have missed playoffs.
Unforgivable?
Yes.
Okay, I will give them to you in order, dude.
Unforgivable, number one, and it's not even close, the National Predators.
Yeah.
Everyone's darling in the playoffs last year.
And people forget they got super hot.
They kind of backdoor it into the playoffs.
So it's not like they were nasty all year.
But everyone's darling did all those front office moves to not only miss them,
but to be horrible.
To be horrible.
Just truly tragic, a tragic team.
Number two.
Like they had a 4-10 win percentage, dude.
It's just a little bit better than the Blackcocks.
It's insane, Dan.
Really bad.
Number two, unforgivable.
I'm going Vancouver with the asterisks that they dealt with a lot.
lot this year. Demko missed half the season, the internal stuff. Like there was just, I'm not saying
it's not their fault. I'm just saying there was a lot going on. But the way they, the team they were last
year, a team that I thought should have beat the Oilers. Yeah, yeah, yeah. To be not in the playoffs.
Yeah, you added DeBrusk. Yeah. Who gave you a lot. It's not like you didn't get any, you know.
So that would be my number two unforgivable. And then I'll just do three. I'm,
Well, hold on.
I gave you a couple.
Let me do two.
Maybe they're the same.
Yeah.
Number one for me is the New York Rangers.
I said last year that they were frauds.
Yep.
They were cockroaches.
Yep.
Loved you guys.
That was awesome.
But they were frauds.
Those were the days.
In that I was like, this team is obviously not this good.
And I think it became very apparent when they played Florida.
They scraped by two of the luckiest wins I've ever seen.
Yep.
and then they got pumped.
This team, however, is just like, with all the shit talk, all the buzz, all the fandom, all the marbles, you have Shisterkin in that.
Playing nasty.
Being a 500 team this season was just like, what the fuck are you doing?
And then the bullshit that went on with Truba, getting J.T. Miller and being like, we're the best team in the world now.
And just missing still, I'm like, dude, give me a break.
and then I will stick in the east
and I will
I hate that I'm getting a reputation
for someone who hates his hometown team
but like Boston dude
Oh yeah okay
Being being being
No agree
I know you've tanked
So saying they have a 462 win percentage
Is unfair because they obviously just lost
Like nine in a row
They're two and eight in their last 10
But like the expect
Going out and getting the guys that you got
The contracts that you've given out
being just so pathetic this year.
And I think the players would admit
they would be the first to say,
like, this has just been so shit.
Yeah.
And I believe they're going to turn it around,
truly.
I can't wait for our summer episodes,
our preseason previews,
all that stuff, draft stuff.
Because I do believe Boston's going to turn around,
but this season,
I think they would be the first to admit.
It's just unforgivable.
What was your extra?
The wings.
And it's not unforgivable.
It's just a dagger.
I was going to bring them up to you.
I think it's bad, and I think dagger's the perfect way.
You know why?
Specifically, because Ottawa and Montreal are making playoffs.
Yeah, good point.
Really good point.
Those three teams.
If New York and Boston were going to fall out.
Yeah, like Buffalo, Flyers, Columbus, you guys are all, you were next up.
Yep.
Those three teams, Ottawa, Montreal, Detroit were the teams that I was like, they are the three.
and Montreal was even in the backseat.
Dude, I was going to say.
They were the three that could flirt with bumping out
some of these wildcard teams in the east.
And the fact that Ottawa and Montreal
took such a leap over Detroit
when Detroit was everyone's darling.
It was like, you've got Caner,
you brought in Tarasenko,
you're going to get even better play
from guys like Raymond
and guys like cider,
Casper's nasty.
Yep.
It just, it feels like
I don't think anyone should be doubting
the Izer plan just yet,
but this was nowhere near the step this season that the Izer plan needed to take.
After two years in a row of very tame trade deadlines,
when everyone said, we're right on the bubble.
Should we do something?
Don't do it.
Just miss.
Good day.
Yeah.
No, this is bad.
Because if they were fighting tooth and nail when those two teams and they just got bumped,
I'd be like this.
Iser plan is still on.
Like, do not worry.
But this is bad.
Yeah, agree.
No doubt about it.
Okay.
Let's move on and let's get into
some powers rankings.
All right, as everybody knows, we are Bauer athletes,
and it brings us such great joy,
because Bauer has got the greatest gear
and all the toys. My God, all the toys.
Are you kidding me? You've seen me work in the digital reactor
dangler. I got my shooting pad out there.
I even got a radar gun behind the goal.
Bauer hooked it up with a radar gun,
shooting targets, the shooter, tutor, and everything.
And it's dangerous out there, because now I'm trying to relive
the glory days to get the slap shot MPA shop.
And I don't know. I don't know if where we're headed.
but it's pretty exciting.
And of course, my favorite thing, Rock and McBower, is my Twitch.
It is my prize possession.
I'm serious.
This stick was built to score goals.
It's for a new generation of goals scores, and that's what you are.
You're the next generation of goal scores, and you need yourself a Twitch.
It's so light.
It's like stick handling with air in my hands.
And, God, the recoil, it's got that kickback, that low release point recoil.
Bang, no stick like it ever before.
You're going to lose your mind when you get one.
It's good for a hatty in the first game.
It's good for an automatic hatty.
Talk to your boy CP if you don't have a hatty in your first game after you get your Twitch
because that's the stamp I'm willing to put on this thing.
We love Bauer so much.
Bauer supports us here and I want them to support you guys too.
So head over to Bauer.com.
Check out all the training stuff.
Check out all of the gear and please get your hands on a Twitch.
You will not regret it.
Taking a quick time out to tell you guys about skims.
That's right.
I'm talking about skims and I'm talking about their foray into men's underwear.
Did I see this coming?
Absolutely.
not, but has it been incredible? Absolutely yes. I'm serious. It is a game changer for me. And it's so
surprising in so many ways. The ones I got was the five inch cotton and the five inch stretch.
Normally I'm a boxer guy, to be completely honest. So the five inch cotton was right where I wanted
to be. And the reason it's perfect is because it hits, hits right on the thigh and then doesn't
go anywhere the rest of the day for me. It's perfect. It doesn't bunch up. It doesn't sag,
it doesn't box out. But it's not suffocating. It's so comfortable, so soft.
soft, so light. It's amazing. It's my favorite boxer running right now, and I don't even have that many of them.
My drawer is still full of all the other unnamed companies, and I only have a few skims. I'm going to be adding more.
And it's like I save them for good occasions, for special days. That's how comfortable it is.
And then the five inch stretch is amazing because we're pretty active guys, as you know.
Oftentimes I'm out, even if it's not a full workout, I'm about to do a hike or go for a run by the beach and then meet someone for beers, whatever.
The stretch is this perfect tightness where it's like I can be active in it.
can exercise in it, everything's held together, but it's not suffocating where I feel like I'm
sitting in spandex gym shorts all day for the rest of the day and I want to lose my mind.
So it's that perfect balance. It's absolutely insane. And I want you guys to check both
these out because you're going to love them. So go to Skims' mens at skims.com and Skimms stores.
Let them know we sent you. After you make your purchase, there's a little drop down and you can
select podcast in the survey, put in empty netter, select our show from the drop down and let them know
we sent you, okay? Skims is the official underwear partner of the
NBA, the WNBA, and USA
basketball, and I want them to be the official underwear partner
of you. So go check out some skims right now.
This week changes every
fucking week. Sure does. Do you have
a sure thing number one
team? Um,
no.
I don't either. I think
Dallas, to me,
has a good last 10
and it's funny, we were saying
just a few days ago, Dallas fans are like, we are
absolutely buzzing and now they think they're
cooked. They've lost two
in a row, including an OT, which is, you know, tough.
Yeah.
I think our best team
in the league,
are you punting blues because they lost one?
Yes. Wow. They were five, right?
That, dude, what a run they had.
That was glorious. It's sad to see.
Yep. I might go back to Colorado.
I love that we've got no one on a heater right now.
No one on a crazy Wednesday.
Yeah, and Colorado was like, looked like a,
you said it, looked like a freight train.
starting in the second period against that Vegas
game last night? Yeah, yeah.
To me, the top two teams
are Colorado and Tampa. Oh, yeah, Tampa.
I just said Tampa, yeah, yeah.
I can't go on the rant that I was just on
and not say these two teams.
Okay. I think Tampa's one, I mean,
what is Tampa? I think they're six, three, and one.
I think one of those losses was just like a ridiculous
two-one loss.
Like was that? Yeah, give me Colorado and Tampa
one-two. Okay, Colorado, Tampa one-two,
and then I have to go Jets three.
I think Jets are there.
They're cruising, dude.
Their gold diff is absurd.
Give me Jets three.
Teams.
And then...
I like Vegas.
I like Vegas.
I like Vegas and Dallas and Toronto.
And my Kingies, always.
I know.
I like Vegas, Dallas, Toronto.
Caps out.
Florida out.
Edmonton out.
Give me...
What's worse?
The Vegas lost three, two,
3-2 shootout at Colorado or the Dallas melt job against Vancouver.
The Dallas melt job.
You just said Vegas lost an OT to our number one team.
Vegas 4 without I.
Upper body, day-to-day.
100 points dead.
Vegas 4.
Yeah.
Vegas 4.
And then do you want to go 5?
Dallas or the Leafs?
They've got very similar last 10s.
Dallas could, well, the Leafs got beat by the fucking Panthers.
Yeah, but the Panthers are still the Panthers.
We need to remember that all.
Okay.
But I like Dallas.
I'm not going to ride this train that some of these reactionary Dallas.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
You're right.
You're right.
You're right.
You're right.
So it's Dallas.
They're in.
So we're going Colorado 1, Tampa 2, Winnipeg, 3, Vegas for Dallas.
Five.
Perfect.
We only have one East team in there.
Interesting.
West is the best.
Starting six, start me out.
Okay.
Left wing.
Who else could it be?
Out of respect.
Come on.
We simply.
must go Alex Govechkin, six goals in his last five games to bring him up to 8.95 in his career
breaks one of hockey's most unbreakable records becoming the greatest goal score of all time. I hope
he gets the 900 this year. That would be sick. I was dying. I showed this to you live.
ESPN put a graphic up that was trying to be funny. That was like, if current goal scores in the
league stay on their current pace, here's the year they would break OV's record if he didn't score
again. Yeah. And it was like, Wyatt Johnson in the year 250, or 257, you know, and it was like,
having fun with it, you know, like here's all, here's how crazy it would be. Yeah. And then it was like,
Austin Matthews, 2034. And I was like, excuse me, that's the, that's soon. Like he,
that's not that far away. He could, he will definitely be playing in 2034. So I felt, I love that they're
having this big laugh about it. And I was like, that is a realistic problem. Yeah. But I don't know.
I don't love it. Like when you, he is, he hasn't played that, that many seasons. He's played a good
amount.
Like that 69 goals is definitely fucking up his average when he's all for sure.
For sure.
Yep.
We'll see.
I also want to say quickly, we have a nice shirt on our site, guys, if you're looking
for an OVie shirt, if you're CPS fans, we've got a sick ass animated graphic of OVee
doing the seal slide says greatness on there with an eight.
If you are looking to support OVie and buy a shirt commemorating this moment, do not buy one
of the shirts that says $8.95 on it.
Yeah.
I can't believe these companies.
are putting 895, like that is going to be an irrelevant number tomorrow.
Yeah.
Why are, is anyone buying that?
Do not buy that.
At center, Rob Thomas.
Blues players have been dominating.
Yep.
The starting six recently, for good reason.
Rob Thomas is a beast.
He's got a nine-game point streak.
He's got 20 points over those nine games.
20.
That is absurd.
Including four points in a 5-4 loss.
Or, excuse me, a 5-4 win over Colorado.
over the weekend.
Kids a fucking weapon.
Oh my God.
One of the most underrated players
in the league consistently.
Yeah, that's correct.
Right wing, we are going pasta
because we brought this up last episode
and he fucking did it.
Three points last night in the B's winning
as the Devils gives him 100 on the nose so far
becomes the third Bruin ever
to do 100 points three years in a row.
So fucking glad he did it.
He's on a fucking 16.7 game
point streak.
He's got 11 points in his last three games.
Fucking lull.
Like literally, dude, he was like,
I have 89 points.
Fuck, I should get 100.
And then had 11 points in three games.
I mean, someone sent him the pod.
Yeah, yeah.
Boss being like, he's probably not going to get it.
And he was like, fuck you guys.
I'll get it.
Yeah.
So way to go pasta.
That was really cool.
And I'm very happy for him.
Lefty, Jake Sanderson.
First time I'm starting six.
22 year old ripped off a three game goal scoring streak, bringing him up to 11
goals on the year, breaking his earlier career high of 10 last year.
He already shattered his career high in points.
Fact that he signed his new deal, a lot of people,
we're like, oh, that's an overpay, and he's just breaking all of his own records.
That's exactly what you want to see.
And this team is in the playoffs.
Holy shit.
Awesome.
Right, D.
We're going, Kail McCar.
Also out of respect, ever heard of him.
He had no points last night, but he has seven in his last five.
And he had a three-game goal scoring streak, just like Jake, which, as we've said, many
times so far on this page, has brought him to 30 on the year, which is fucking cool.
Dan, would you please guess Kale McCar's plus minus this season?
and I bring it up to say,
don't forget about a month or so into the season,
he was literally last on the team.
Yeah, I was going to say it was bad.
He was last on team with like a minus 15.
I'm going to say it's plus 14.
30.
Yeah, like that is a.
Like, dude, since I bet Thanksgiving,
I bet it's like 50.
Yeah, yeah.
He was like, I got to dial this up.
It's fucking crazy, dude.
Isn't that awesome?
Good for him.
All right, goalie could have been Kemper again,
giving him some flowers,
but it's Joey DeCord, 24 save show.
Shotout win against the Canucks.
23 save one goal against win against the sharks.
28 save one goal against the Kings.
And then that was the one with the sick-ass-cube goal,
which is the goal of the season.
And if you are one of these poopy-pants butt holes on Twitter,
who are going, eh, should have been a penalty for holding the stick.
Dude, just shut up and enjoy the goal.
Everyone's holding it.
I don't.
Two double stick holds, too.
There's double stick holds.
Oh, like, is he holding his stick?
Absolutely.
Everyone sees that.
But the Cracken one.
The Krakken are eliminated from playoffs.
Who gives the fuck?
It was nasty.
And if you think Shane Wright's doing nothing in that play,
just like, shut the fuck up.
Grow up, dude.
Just enjoy the sick moment.
Does it take away what he did?
No.
One-handed, like, mid-shaft tip was already nasty.
Even if that had missed, I was like, that was so dope.
And then it's just sitting there, bang, one-hand finish comes around.
It's not just in there.
Like, he has to regain control, turn, get a stick on the puck and slide it in.
And also, here's my favorite part about it.
You're going, it was a penalty.
It was this.
It was that.
Guess what? Nerds. It counted. It's a goal. It's in the record books. Fuck you.
Yeah. Goal of the year. Slick my balls.
Ridicrous. That was awesome. All right. Let's get into a game. Okay. I got some trivia for you, CP.
And we tell everyone which game we're playing. I never know the names.
This one we call this ladder trivia. Trivia factorial.
Trivia factorial. Which is not true factorial.
I don't think it's a factorial, but it's a fun name. Yeah. All right, trivia factorial. This is a
game where I have one, two, three, four, five questions for CP about the same player.
First question is worth 10 points because it's really hard. Next is worth eight. Next is worth six,
four, two, down to the easiest one. Whenever CP wants to answer, he will get that many points.
And if he gets it wrong, he gets zero. So if I guess early, if I try to go early on the 10,
for the you playing along, if you try to guess on the 10 and you submit that official guess
and you're wrong, you get zero. So you got it, you got to really know, you got to really know you
have it. I think Dan has gone a six, at least twice. I think you're like six, six, six, four.
Yeah, I've never gotten an eight. I think I'm four, four, four. I think I always get it on the four.
Actually, I might have got one six. I might be four six four. I think you're going to get this six.
That'd be awesome. I really need that, to be honest with you. Are you ready? Hold on.
He's locking in. Oh, God. Nice. Yeah, I'm ready.
Question number one, worth ten points. This first round draft pick was born in the States, played
hockey in his home state and his dad is the all-time point score at a university in their home state as well.
Holy shit. So he's a first round pick. He played college hockey in the state he's from.
Yep. His dad also played college hockey in that state or at the same team. In the state.
In the state and is a leading score. All-time leading score at said university.
And did you say they're different universities or it's, I don't know that information yet.
Don't know that information. Okay. So his dad played college hockey in the same state is the all-time leading score.
this person played college hockey in that state and is from that state naturally and is a first round pick.
Okay.
I think I have it.
Do you?
No.
That would have been fucking sick though.
Nasty.
That would have been sick.
Okay, college hockey kid first round pick.
I don't know age.
I just know his dad played college hockey two.
Okay, I'm going to need to move on to number eight.
Number eight.
Question number two with eight points.
In his first year with the USNTDP, he recorded 54 goals following one.
one shy of the all-time record for the combined U-17 and U-18 team set by Austin Matthews.
Fuck, dude, I remember this.
God damn it.
Okay, so he played for the development program, and his goal total is one shy of Matthews record.
He played college hockey, which is throwing me a little bit, because I thought I'm, I was like, I swear I know who did this.
his dad played college hockey two
and his dad was sick
I wonder if his dad played pro you'd think so
all time leading score at a fucking college program
one goal shy of Matthews
wrapped the brand I feel like this happened recently Dan
that's what's fucked
did you say a year or you didn't
no yeah I've not given you any years
I feel like this literally happened
like not long ago
um
okay first round
pick.
I'm just going to write something down for myself.
Okay, actually no.
Go ahead.
Take me to the six-pointer.
Question number three, worth six points.
Pegged as a true and natural goal score, despite not hitting targets expected of him,
he recently signed an eight-year extension with his club that drafted him and has
become a fan favorite.
Wow.
Okay, so pegged as a goal score, but didn't reach expectations, signed an eight-year
ticket, eight-year extension.
targets, not expectations,
targets. Didn't hit goal scoring targets.
Signed an eight-year extension
with the team that drafted him.
Signed an eight-year extension
with the team that drafted him.
U.S. Kid.
I'm going to just give me a second on six.
I want to see if I can get it here.
U.S. kid college hockey first round pick
after Matthews, obviously, because the Matthews
record was already there.
That kind of helps you with the year.
Yep.
and he just signed an eight-year ticket with the team that drafted him.
I'm trying to think of young kids that just signed an eight-year deal.
Young goal scores.
Young goal scores.
Young U.S. goal scores.
Okay.
You're going to take a swing, dude?
No.
What?
No, I think I definitely don't know it.
But there's a chance something just struck me.
Yeah.
And give me the dev thing again?
In his first year with the USNTDP,
he's recorded 54 goals following one shy of the all-time record
for the combined U-17-U-18 team set by Austin.
And then give me the goal target thing again?
Pegg does a true and natural goal score,
despite not hitting targets expected of him,
he recently signed an eight-year extension with his club that drafted him,
and he has become a fan favorite.
Oh, become a fan favorite.
That's good.
That's actually a sneaky, good hint.
that I wasn't considering.
Fuck.
Damn, we're moving on to the four point.
I think so,
because I don't think my guess is right,
but I'm gonna be pissed.
Question number four worth four points.
This player has said that his go-to karaoke song
is You Found Me by the Frey,
which he has been recorded singing
in the backseat of a car.
Didn't, did this person say this to us?
No.
Okay.
This is a very famous and viral NHL clip.
If you haven't seen it, shame on you.
I don't know if I have, dude.
I don't know if I have.
He sang the fray.
But I fucking, I heard this story, though.
That's what sucks.
Like, I don't, I'm positive.
I haven't seen this, but I'm positive.
I've heard this.
I'm fairly, unless it was without me,
I'm fairly positive.
No one has brought this up to us.
I just mean the video.
Like, I think someone,
I've heard someone say,
like, so-and-so is talking about.
this video singing in this video
this is about to be a devastating two-pointer for you
I hope I get it at two yeah you're you're easily getting in it too
this might be a one this might be a one burger dude I don't even have a one
what dude you can make it up on the fly you can say his name rhymes with yes
fuck dude this is so bad I'm falling behind in points I didn't I've never seen the
video though I've never seen video give me the two your final question you get
zero points if you don't go you get a one not always a one
I'm telling you, you get zero if you don't get this.
There's always a one.
Your final question.
Fifth question for two points.
His favorite player growing up was Martan St. Louis due to their similar small stature.
And he now plays for him with the Canadians.
Fuck.
Oh, dude.
Yeah, I should have got that.
I should have got the dev program one.
No, that would have been hard.
I don't know, dude.
You should have got six.
I feel like what was six again?
The natural goal scorer didn't hit his targets.
Oh, yeah.
He never had 30.
first 40 goals
Best 40 goal score
Who's never have 30
I thought
So I was originally thinking
Well say who it is
Cole Coffield
Correct
My final answer is
Goll Coffield
Coffield
Coffield
Coal Coffield
Um
I was thinking
Jack
for the dev program thing
Because I know Jack has like
An obscene
He got really close
To that record
Yeah
But then I was like
Well he didn't play
College
And then I was like
And I forgot
What was the third one?
Oh didn't hit goal targets
That was third one right?
My brain went to beeneers
Because I was like
Oh he's been like a little bit under the goal targets
But I didn't know if he did anything at the dev program
Yeah
And what contract did he signed
Maddie he signed like a five year deal?
It was a five okay I was like I know he got a big one
Cole got an eight year ticket
I forgot about that
Oh yeah yeah that was the missing piece
People were like such an over pay
I'm like he's about to score 40
Yeah as we fucking told you
Great great one
I was supposed to say what was the one pointer
But there wasn't one so
You never need you
The one pointer is his nickname is a nickname is
goal.
Yeah.
Because it rhymes with his first name.
Yeah.
That would have been great.
Great job.
All right, before we wrap this episode,
going to give a quick shout out to Baker, the Candlestick Maker.
Fellow on Twitter hit us up.
He says that he plays with a team called the Kansas City Knights.
Him and his three buddies started playing together in 2021.
They're playing in a beer league, made the way up to low, mid-C level.
Team is their original team that was currently in Upper D.
basically these guys had the semifinal game the other night they won 7-1
the league says that they're no longer allowed to play in D which is crazy
well no I think it's actually six so he's kind of saying that he's like him and his boys
learn to play hockey yeah started in the D now they're all the way up to a mid C level
and they just won their semi game and the league said hey you guys are too good to play in
D so they go this is our last hurrah down to D we're going to win this championship
and go out on top and I give them
so much, or I just think it's an awesome journey that they learned hockey.
It's amazing.
And now they're, now they're climbing the ranks.
So these guys, like you just said, in 2021, put a team together, learning hockey, they're
bumping up divisions.
Now they're so good.
They're banned from D division.
They got a championship game on Monday.
So the homies in Kansas City, Kansas City nights.
Yep.
Playing this, our homie here, Baker is moving back to AZ.
So this is a true last year off.
Like you're retiring.
Yep.
So we're going to give them a huge tire pump.
Good luck in the championship game on Monday.
Hopefully we get an update next week in the episode we can say if they want.
Yeah, if it's crickets from, if it's crickets from Baker, we're in trouble.
So absolutely beautiful stuff.
All right, folks, we've got three to four games left.
Some teams with five.
And then we got playoffs.
This is going to be a wild, wild weekend.
Keep your eyes peeled on all of this crazy shit.
We've got amazing interviews coming for you next week.
Fun guests coming on.
You know playoffs are going to be dialed.
Let's have a great weekend.
And while we prep for the end of the season and playoffs,
keep your eyes out for some YouTube bid forms.
We get the games up here.
We've got a couple special interviews dropping.
And as always, skate hard.
