Empty Netters Podcast - These Are The Most Important Players On The Edmonton Oilers | LIVE.EP8
Episode Date: May 9, 2025The boys go live for their 8th episode of puckline news, breaking down all the action from last night's NHL Playoffs NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM a...pp and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
We are back.
It is.
Entie Netters,
Puck Line News,
cover in the playoffs,
brought to you by BEDMGM,
here on a Friday morning.
Hopefully you're getting your Friday going.
I tweeted this morning.
Feels like a fantastic day-to-day drink.
And I thought about doing it right here on the show.
I'm actually so pissed that we didn't do that.
Yeah, yeah.
I didn't even know that was on the table.
It's on the table, brother.
It's always on the table.
That's the funny thing that people need to remember is you can literally always drink.
You can drink whenever you want.
We've just had so many brunch cocktail conversations.
The fact that you didn't bring me one is enraging me.
I didn't know that that was my responsibility.
If you wake up and have that feeling, it's whoever wakes up.
Well, we've got shit to do.
And goes, oh my God, we should be drunk.
Whoever has that thought upon waking up is their responsibility to bring the booze?
There is a world where I can just do this show and I can drink.
I can do this show with a nice buzz on.
There's a world where that's possible.
And maybe I should have done it.
Yeah, maybe.
Maybe I should have done it.
The Stanley Cup playoffs continue to be absolutely insane.
We've got wild action going on.
But sometimes you just need a drink.
Yeah, most of the time.
Sometimes you need to drink.
These games are making me want to drink.
They're making me want to just harm myself with an obscene amount of beers.
Dude, we did a show.
We filmed the new video last night that hopefully is coming out today.
That will be up on the YouTube.
And it's like a happy hour thing.
Yeah.
So we had beers.
And it's like you, it is a launch pad.
You know, like yesterday I'm living my life.
I'm like, okay, we're working.
and stuff. I'm going to prep a bunch of a bunch of netter stuff. And then we shoot the video.
And someone's like, hey, have a couple beers while you shoot the video because it's about
being at a hockey happy hour. And I'm like, oh, cool. And then dude, you have that one. And then
they're like, anyway, we're done. And I'm like, well, we can't be done because we just started,
in fact. In fact, we just started. And I need to keep going. We should go out. Let's go to dinner.
Should we hit a boozy dinner? And it's hard. It's hard to turn it off, turn it on.
It's an absolute fucking nightmare. We've got so much going on.
Folks, chat already getting going.
Let's start buzz in here on this Friday morning show.
I don't know what to do with this league anymore.
Yeah.
I don't know what to say about this shit.
Before we get into, we had the Caps Canes game two.
We had Oilers Vegas game two.
We'll get into both of those games.
We'll chop it all up.
I do want to talk.
It's not on the ticker.
So sorry, chat.
We're hitting you with a curve.
ball here. But I want to talk about
Quenville. Joel Quenville, hired
as the new Anaheim Ducks
coach, posted a little
newsbreak about it. We had some discord going on
on Twitter.
A lot of people upset.
A lot of people, it's been an interesting
split in Ducks fans. People are like, dude, duck
straight to the cup. Quenville has pedigree.
He is a Stanley Cup winning coach,
but obviously wrapped up in the controversy
with the Kyle Beach
situation in Chicago, which is why
he then stepped away. And
And now we've got him back, dude.
He's back down in Long Beach coaching the Anaheim Ducks.
What do you think about this situation?
It's a funny one, dude, because in terms of the scandal, it feels like everything that had to happen happened.
And actually, dude, to be completely fair, I'm sure there is a camp out there that is like, no.
there's no coming back.
You can never coach again.
And this is appalling.
I'm sure that can't exist.
And frankly,
I'm not even here to argue that.
I'm not saying that's my opinion.
I'm saying like,
okay,
like if that's what you feel,
I'm genuinely fine with that.
Yeah.
Because these things are sensitive.
But it's like they called Kyle.
He went through the process.
He's having all the right quotes.
All of that stuff is been handled in a way
that I would expect it to have been handled
before making an announcement like this.
The thing that I am actually not rattled about, but just I wonder about, he's 66.
And...
Dude, this...
I just...
Good segue.
I feel like there...
And I said this about Lindy Ruff when Buffalo hired Lindy.
Can you imagine if he was 67?
It would just be Leafs year all over again.
Oh, my.
Like that would just be another side.
Get Frank on.
If he's going to be 67 by the start of the season,
okay.
It's Leafs year.
Yep.
he came to Chicago when they hadn't made the playoffs in like five years or something.
And then look what they became, right?
He has the ability to take a very exciting team.
Because that's kind of, obviously Chicago had a couple draft picks that changed the fortunes of those franchises.
But he took that team and elevated.
This Ducks team, I've said over and over, is very exciting.
How fun were they?
We have a bunch of Ducks fans that live out here in SoCal.
How fun were the Ducks coming down the stretch here
where they were out before people wanted to admit it,
before Ducks fans wanted to admit it,
but they hung around, dude.
Like they were way in the picture for a long time
and went on a couple hot stretches.
Is it a coach with a track record like Quinville
exciting for a roster like that?
Hell yeah, he is.
But couldn't there be a young, fresh mind
from the college ranks or something
that could take a young, fresh team like this?
And I don't mean to be an ageist.
I'm old.
I'm old.
I don't want to be an ageist.
I don't want to get fired for a fucking 20-year-old who goes like this.
You're a fucking dinosaur.
Leave.
But I just wish we didn't go back to the well so much in this specific profession.
It's the old boys club.
That's why I said perfect transition.
There's no doubt that Joel Quinville is a great hockey mind and a great hockey coach.
I think he's probably going to do great things for that team.
And in the grand scheme of things, 66, I'm not prepared to call that that old.
It's not, but it's damn, it's pretty close, dude.
Like if I'm in the NHL and I have a 70 year old head coach when I'm looking around the league
and I got guys like Carberry, I got guys like Marty St. Louis, I got guys like Bednar,
and I'm looking at my geriatric old ass man coach on the bench who can barely walk up and down
when he's tying his skates for practice.
I can hear his bones creaking.
I'm like, get out of here, dude.
I don't want this.
And when you're that young of a team,
I think the ducks are the fifth youngest team in the NHL
and he comes in and takes over.
I'm like, come on, man, what the fuck are we doing here?
So I know he's a fantastic coach.
I know he has great pedigree,
but I hate the old boys club.
I've been very vocal about that.
And I will say they tried.
They interviewed David Carl,
I think twice.
they had two separate ones and then he re-uped with Denver.
As I said he would and I don't think,
I don't think Carl should ever leave Denver.
He's got the best job in hockey.
He's making seven figures at the college level,
living in one of the best towns in America.
He has carte blanche.
He can do whatever he wants in Denver.
I would not leave if I were him.
So at least the ducks gave it a go,
but there are so many coaches in college, in junior,
abroad in the American League
who are young,
ready for an opportunity,
and we just keep going back to the well.
We saw,
I don't mean,
I mean,
Sullivan is nowhere near as old,
but we just saw it with New York.
Sullivan gets hired with the Rangers
and you're like,
dude,
let's get some new blood.
Look how well new blood
is working in the league.
Yeah.
So that's what pisses me off.
So some, go on.
No, that's it.
I just,
I want to show as much respect
for his coaching ability.
as I can.
But with the ducks, the makeup of that team,
the cool town they're in,
I just felt like such a good opportunity
for a young coach to get in with those guys.
Yeah.
Some great stuff in the chat already on a Friday.
Jordan says 66 is the new 46,
so true and that's great news.
We're all going to live to 200.
It's hard to argue with that, Jordan.
I can't argue with that.
Neil says Q-turn 67 in September,
so that's before the season starts technically.
so the Leafs type 1 in the cup,
officially leaves year.
Willie says Nixon 4 and Willie,
not right now, dude.
Yeah, Willie, get fucked, pal.
I don't fucking need that right now.
Get fucked, all right?
Do you think,
with everything that's going on,
we need that in the chat?
Fuck out of here,
Willie.
Boldie Glazer says he's taking over
for me because I am too old,
and that is fucked.
But here's the thing,
Boldie Glazer,
no more fucking kayaks then.
You think this is a fucking,
you think this is fun, dude?
This is fucking a grind, pal.
You're live every day.
You're in the studio all day.
No more kayaking.
No more hiking.
I'm sorry.
So that's really tough.
Let's see.
Oh, Ty says Maurice is old, but he's Pete Carroll old, which is a tremendous comment.
That is a tremendous comment.
So true.
So true.
And actually, this is a good one, Dan.
Tatiana says, I can forgive cuffing up sexual assault, but I draw the line of being old,
which is actually a great chirp.
Great chirp.
That's a great chirp.
but I said at the top
If it wasn't the covering up the sexual assault
It is your age that's going to do it first
I said at the top
Pal anyone feels like
See the door
If anyone feels like you should never coach again
I'm not going to fight that position at all
So respect and great chirp
Tangerp
Tanger but Brett says
Are you going to touch on world championships at all
Because Canada's first line being
Fantilli Crosby Celebrania
Practice has me feeling really good
As a shark sky
We can't get into world championships right now
But I will say that is fucking
No time
No time
And flour going there with Crosby
is just such a special thing.
World championships really deliver
every now and then.
You know,
or just like they give you
these special little storylines
where friendships are formed
and rebonded and everything there.
So really exciting stuff
for both of our sons
to be playing with Sid.
Yeah.
That's amazing.
That is true familial shit.
And frankly,
I think that means Sid needs to come
on the show
because he's playing with our children.
Yeah, I like that, Dan.
That feels fair.
Tough sentence coming out of my mouth
when we're talking about Joel Quinville.
and the ducks and that's that was what did you say i said he's playing with our children oh i apologize
i apologize jac i apologize um so yeah uh really good stuff everybody firing already um and there's gonna be
some cool shit going on uh like the people are saying flyers uh looking for a coach um islanders gm
a lot of shit going on lou lamarillo staying lou will never leave lose here lose impact on the hire
lose the advisor lose the advisor your gm you got the first pick
Dude, Lou goes like this.
My contract's not been renewed.
I'm out.
And they go, great, we're hiring a new GM.
And then I only just get the first pick.
And Lou goes, actually, I will stay on as an advice.
I'm going to stick around.
I'm like, no.
You can't be here, dude.
I am going to give you guys a little bit of, I'm not going to call this breaking news.
I'm going to call this me calling my shot.
If we got any loyal podcast listeners, I said a while ago, Rick Tockeet,
will be the coach of the Philadelphia Flyers,
and John Tortorella will join the front office.
Yep.
So bank it.
Put a little bookmark in there.
And we'll see what happens.
Yep.
All right.
Let's move on from E.J.
just says here comes the FBI, Dan.
And that was my bad agree.
Sorry about that.
Let's move on.
We're going to get into these games.
Starting off in the east, we got caps, canes.
I said it was going to be a goalie duel.
Yep.
We got a goalie duel because, dude, iceberg is playing great.
And I need people to recognize that.
The caps aren't shooting.
They don't shoot the puck.
They do not shoot the puck.
It's very interesting, very interesting choice.
And I think maybe it's a strategy of some kind.
It's a mental strategy of some kind.
But currently they don't shoot the puck.
But I don't want that to ignore or distract from the fact that iceberg
is crisp still.
He's a crisp, straight out the crisper head of lettuce.
And I can appreciate that.
Chop through that iceberg head and it's crunch.
Yeah.
Just like that.
Really good.
So that is how he needs to play
because I can't tell you how many times I've said
the Cains lose because they don't have the answering goal in the playoffs.
And so far, it ain't on him.
Absolutely not.
It ain't on him.
And just like game one wasn't on LT, he played phenomenally.
And Freddie has played phenomenally.
And yeah, this series, I don't think, I know we said it was going to be a goalie doing.
But I'm not sure why we knew that.
I'm not sure why that was so in the ether.
There was a lot of goals scored by the caps against Montreal.
There was a decent amount of goals scored by the Cains against the Devils.
And I think, if you can look this up,
I think the caps were top three in the league, top five in the league in goals scored this season.
They were second.
I looked this up last.
Second.
Yeah.
So they were second in the league in goals scored.
So it's a little interesting to see that this is such a goalie duel.
But then again, when you think about it, maybe it's not interesting at all.
Because they have the all father on D.
Yeah, yeah.
Just knocking down Pucks, dude.
That one series during bingo is as I was just saying it out loud.
So you're going up against Jacob Slavin.
What do you think you're going to do when he's on the ice?
The guy eats minutes.
That's definitely breaking things down.
Look at this, Dan.
Playoffs so far this year.
Goals against Iceberg 155.
Insane.
Insane.
LT 201 second.
Top two in the league, right?
Save percentage.
LT 931, Iceberg 930.
We've got the two best goalies in the league.
Way ahead of everyone else.
Yeah.
Way ahead of everyone else.
We've got the two best goalies in playoffs going against each other.
That is why that this is a goalie.
dual. And it's absolutely insane. So, uh, I, I need the caps to shoot more if they're going to
have a chance. And, and I, I do think the Cains almost like, they need to a little bit more as
well, right? Both teams under 30 shots. Okay. So I have a couple things here. Um, and, and for the game,
uh, caps take the lead on a fucking, kind of a broken play that led to them McMichael
breakaway, but an absolute nip job. I, dude, something fires me up so much.
about just go with me here.
Anytime you just score on a shot on a breakaway,
it's already kind of funny to me.
Because in my mind, I'm like, you've got a breakaway,
you go in, you move them around, whatever.
When you just come in and fire a wrist shot
and it just goes in, I'm like, sick, dude.
And I always have thought it's epic when you go,
because usually you see a lot of five holes,
especially NHL level, you see a lot of five holes.
You see a lot of just above the pad low.
You know, sometimes it's like you get it to your forehead
and just bang, fire that one,
like low stick side for the lefties out there.
and you see a lot of come down and you shoot across your body.
So the left is high stick, right, he's high glove.
That's usually kind of how you're like, oh, gotcha.
Dude, when a guy comes in on a breakaway
and just takes a wrist shot from the slot to his strong side,
so like in McMichael's case, like up high glove,
I'm always like, dude, that is epic.
You just come in and you're like, fuck you.
It's like drilling a penalty kick, dead.
dead down the middle in my mind.
Awesome, dude.
So he literally just goes, bang, barred down
over the glove on the breakaway from the slot.
No move, no nothing.
I was like, good for you, son.
Good for you.
Selly right in front of the bench.
You fucking love to see that.
Yeah, that was nice.
Power play goal after that.
And then the one on LT, honestly,
was just bad luck.
Like it was a pass across 1T shot block
kicked over.
Who got that?
Ghost?
Yeah, I think it kicked over to Ghost,
and he fires in the 1T.
So the goals were really,
really like not on the goalies at all.
Okay, that's all the action you're getting in this game.
So then you want to examine the shots.
They're pretty low on both sides to your point,
but what isn't low is the shot attempts, dude.
Game one, Hurricanes had 94 shot attempts to 34 for the capitals.
Game 2, 86 to 50.
And dude, okay, I don't even know what is,
I don't know who's at fault here because part of me wanted to go,
wow absolutely incredible from the caps getting in lanes blocking shots and then i was like okay the
the canes need to go to school on um some type of some type of like early mighty ducks district five
drill where they just put a bunch of fucking uh get a bunch of things dude get a bunch of fucking
blocks wooden blocks pillars and just put them on the ice everywhere like literally a million
of them yeah so that if you're at the blue line you can barely see through to the net and just
practice. I know no one even practices this time of year, but I would literally go to the rink
and just practice getting shots through the trees to the fucking cage because nothing's getting
on net. But then I looked at the blocks and they're not that high. Sounds like I think you're
missing the net. So now I'm like this. I think we need eye exams. I think during the off day,
the entire Carolina Hurricanes team needs to go to the eye doctor and figure out what's going
on because, dude, maybe there's a chance that the vision is slipping and we just need to put
the right specs on.
Okay.
And then you'll be able to see
where the fucking net is.
And then you'll be able
to hit it with a puck.
I think that could actually
really be a constructive off day
for the hurricanes.
Now we're talking.
Now you got some strategy.
Now you got some ideas.
Where do you think
the mental game comes in
in a series like this?
We talked to OSHA a little bit
about this.
Obviously he's buzzing.
He's dialed in
and he's talking about the boys.
I think we have two games
in a row
now on home ice where the caps started slow like zero shots starting the game i mean it what was it
what did we did they get to four in that first period three maybe yeah so you're now you tied it up
one one great you've played well your goalies buzzin but their goalies buzzing now you're going into
enemy territory playing in a really loud really crazy arena down in raleigh and i don't think if you're
the caps you can afford to start this game three slow again. Because if you start slow at Carolina
and they score first, I think you start to get a little shaky. Especially against a team that won
the league leading 31 games at home. Boom. Boom. Yeah. No, I completely agree. I'm normally
like a just weather the storm on the road guy. Like if you can get out of the first 10 minutes
zero zero in the first period at Carolina or the first period would be amazing you're all good
but OSHA had a really cool comment that was like dude if you can take the lead a one-nothing
which you know is not going to hold I guess with these goals it actually could but a one-nothing
lead against a team like a team as dominant as home as they were and a team that's been
starting as fast as they were the deflation that you give them when you're like oh my god dude
That's our best punch.
That's the period we played in front of our home crowd.
We're firing.
We're flying.
And we're down one-nothing.
And I know the task of beating LTE, that can put, it starts to put a little bit of self-doubt in their heads.
And I think if you're the caps, that's your biggest goal in the first period of game three.
Instill a tiny, tiny bit of doubt into the canes.
Because all their interviews are like, God, we wish we had two.
We wish we'd won two.
But they feel great.
Carolina feels fucking fantastic right now.
They talk up the split in Washington.
and they are out shooting them,
they're out playing them for long stretches,
they feel completely fine.
So you kind of got to flip that if you're Washington.
Yeah, I think that that's true.
What is your prediction going into game three?
My prediction going into game three
is that the canes are going to win
because they are so good at home.
And, yeah, they're like they, like I said,
they are absolutely laughing right now.
They're like, we're amazing.
Their biggest fear is LT, which has been their problem years after year after year.
Dude, I actually think this is what the cane should do, Dan.
I just said they should get eye exams, which they should, because they can't see clearly.
And I wonder, too, like there's something about the canes, you know, like the rec spec goggles.
I wonder if like every Carolina hurricane came out in like sports gear rec spec, not only is their vision improved, but also they,
They look like that.
Can you imagine the media, the social media storm frenzy?
The entire roster, dude.
Everybody on the ice, under their visor.
The fans would get them, dude.
They'd become a marketing tool.
Everyone would rally behind it.
If they come out in Rexpex, dude, and win.
If they come out in Rexpex and score four goals against LT,
I think that could actually swing the entire balance of the playoffs.
I mean, it's hard to argue that.
I won't lie.
All the t-shirts, dude?
Like, are you kidding me?
I won't lie.
I won't lie.
So I think they should get eye exams, but also in their off day.
I'm not kidding about the Rexx either, but I'm very serious about this one.
Remember when Patrick Kane said he was in a slump what he did?
He just watched highlights of himself, which is absolutely sick.
Sicko behavior.
Yeah.
I legitimately think that the Carolina Hurricanes film guy, okay?
the film guy should take the game film of the last two games, delete it, delete it off the server,
delete it off a frame, and then he should go pull all clips of all the worst goals that LT has given up in his career,
literally. Not just this year on Washington, every goal he's given up in Vegas. And then he should
make a compilation video that is like 90 minutes to two hours long. There's probably not that many,
LT, I didn't mean that, but like whatever,
you know, however many there are, make a
long video of every bad goal LT
has ever given up in his whole career,
and they should have a movie night,
the team. Because they're not practicing, so they're like,
hey, boys, we're all meeting here, get the popcorn,
get some candy. I mean, that fucking Rod probably
doesn't allow candy, God damn.
Maybe you sneak in some candy, maybe some raisin nets.
Maybe you can go, Rod, it's a fucking raisinette.
Calm down. Calm down. It's a raisin net.
Okay? We'll get some popcorn.
We'll get some sugar-free soda
and we'll literally sit in our recliners
and just watch LT get lit up.
Just see it in your brain, dude.
See that it's possible.
See that anybody can score.
Anybody can cook.
And then, dude, you just start to feel that.
You start to feel a little bit better about yourself
and you have belief that your shots anywhere on frame
can go in because the actual reason
that the shot attempts are so high
and the shots on goal are so low
is because they're so cute, dude.
They're going.
I completely agree.
This is what it takes to beat him.
It has to be fucking barring in.
It has to be, uh,
this missile one-timer.
They're in their own head.
They have a goal scoring problem
because they're playing a great goalie,
a great, great goalie,
but also because they are being too cute.
Watch the movie, dude.
Film team, do your job.
Do your job.
Make the compilation video.
And then watch what happens.
Do your job.
I agree.
And I wanted to say,
we keep talking about the goalie duel.
I'm looking up the stats right now.
Look at how even this game was.
Faceoffs.
2828.
Complete split.
Power plays.
for three, one for three. Hits, 17, 16. The only thing that had a slight edge was shots 28 to 21.
But this is just such a down the middle series, such a down the middle game. And it's like,
I do think that these teams are, I don't want to say feeling each other out because they're
not feeling each other out, but they are, they're almost a little timid of each other.
Because I think they know that they have dangerous players on both teams, both goal scoring.
they have such great D, they have such great goaltending.
So they're just trying to play chess, as you said, and like take their opportunities.
But it is wild looking at the statutes of how similar the teams are because it's this cat and mouse game almost.
And I don't think we really have another series like it.
I mean, when we get to the next fucking series from last night, the just pure chaos and mayhem that is going on is insane.
but this is this is a wild one to watch because I feel like we are watching two grandmasters
just go at each other and it's cool too Mandy brought up this is a great call that the caps were
the second best team on the road this year so it's like I keep saying it we're going back to
Carolina where they've been so dominant but it's like the caps aren't actually that stressed
about that because they've been just fine somebody can someone in the chat find me how what
what these two teams did in the regular season this year like what was their head to head
because I'd be curious about that too
Um, uh, somebody said something so fun.
Oh, Rod, yeah, Steve, Rod, I was like, dude,
Rod won't let them have candy.
He said, let them have some zins.
Let them go to the vitamin shop.
And I agree with that.
Maybe, maybe that's what the movie, maybe that's what the movie situation is.
But Jack's on board with this video compilation of LTB and Leaky.
I'm not even kidding, dude.
I think that's actually fucking genius.
And they should watch that.
Okay.
Because you just got to get in the right headspace.
Um, the,
another thing I thought was crazy from that game, Dan, is, uh,
Sebastian Ahho
cross-checking
Tom Wilson in that little scrum
and honestly it wasn't even that bad
but Tom Wilson
has a great assist on the first goal
obviously has the empty netter
he in many ways is the heart and soul
of that team and
you don't want him getting going at all
someone says something cool in the chat
they just like they love him so much if I got to go back
and find it but the
that if I'm a
a Keynes fan and I just said
you're feeling great. My biggest takeaway
is
the Tom Wilson thing because I wanted to bring
up I think that Ovi
hasn't really done, I know he's literally not scored
or anything but he hasn't really done much
he had one shot in game one. I think he actually had three shots in game two
someone can check that also but I think Ovi
has been reasonably
neutralized. Not that I'm saying he's playing bad or anything, he's getting
plenty of time, he's in the mixer, but they went away from him
for the last
fucking, I don't know,
four or five minutes of that game
when they were protecting that lead,
literally.
Like if you go back and check the box score,
he didn't play for the last stretch of that game,
which is so funny because in the regular season,
they're like,
every time the other team had the goal had told,
they're like, Ovi, get out there,
don't change.
Like he was taking six minutes shifts
just to get the end of the others
and change down the record.
And then in playoffs,
when they're protecting leave,
they're like, Ovi, get off the ass right.
Yeah.
And so, yeah, like,
he didn't get much bid there down the stretch.
He's not really producing yet,
which he will,
he hasn't really done anything yet.
Depends on your spin zone, right?
If you're the canes, you go, see, we're neutralizing Ovi.
If you're the caps, you go, just wait till Ovi gets gone.
So whatever.
But you're doing so many good things.
Tom Wilson activating is not helpful.
It's not helpful for your cost.
Dude, it's been all season long.
Willie has stepped up in a huge way this season.
He had career highs this season.
He is a bit of a unicorn in that he is super physical.
He gets under your skin.
He will lay fucking wood.
He had that.
hit on Martinuk that Martinuk bailed out of.
And then he'll also get on the score sheet.
It's a frustrating player to deal with and to play against.
So it's pretty awesome seeing a guy like that step up in huge ways.
But yeah, to leave this series for me, man, I think the jump in game three is huge.
But I also, I want this series to just go one, one, one.
We've said about a couple.
Dallas Jets, we said the same thing.
I think we are owed as hockey fans
an awesome series
of this just
mayhem back and forth
because I think these two teams are so good
they've showed it in both games
and you love that. You love that as a neutral hockey fan
it's not like someone's playing like shit and they're down
or they drop the game because of shit calls or this or that
so I think crucial for Washington
you've started really slow two games
in a row. Somehow you got the lead in both games. I know, dude. It's so crazy. So you started
really slow and now you've got an opportunity to get on the road and see if you can just get
some piss and vinegar in there and come out hot. So we'll see. Chat's saying that Keynes were
two one and one in the regular season and the home team won every game, which is, which is tricky.
Well, it's tricky if you're watching it right now. Yeah, yeah, yeah. You've got to go. Good for
Keynes. Good for Keynes. You've got to go get one. Neal asking of Carolina is too fast for Ovi's
legs this late in the season at this stage of his career. Carolina is fast. I will say that. I'm not
totally sure it's like all of a sudden, because OV's never been the fastest guy. Like that, his game
is just fine. Yeah. And I don't totally know if it's like, oh, once he passed game 82 this year,
I guess, well, he didn't play 82 because he broke his fucking leg. Yeah. But once he hit past the
regular season, he did break his leg. People forget that. Once he passed regular season, he got too
tired. I actually don't even think that is the problem. The canes are fast, though. And you kind of see it like
with Copey, right?
against the oilers, where you're like,
Copey looks slow out there.
Would you fall off a cliff?
And I'm like, no, dude, Copey isn't a super fast skater
and the Oars are super fast team.
Like that Kings rinse the OILAs on the regular season.
It doesn't matter, but sometimes it looks,
it looks egregious.
But Ovi's gonna be just fine.
I wanted to talk about something in terms of the shots
that you had said to me, we were like riffing
at the house about this, but the, there's been so many chances.
You've had your tinfoil hat on
with the first minute goals, last minute goals,
this play out.
series.
Yeah.
Or there's playoffs in general.
The something about the last minute gets so chaotic where it always feels like
the clock's running out.
Just get it out.
But all of a sudden, ping, ping, ping, puck's getting bounced around.
And then there's crazy grade A chances every time.
Yeah.
And it occurred to me that when teams are on the rush and there's 20 seconds left, they're
flying up the ice and everyone on the ice and their bench is going 20 seconds, 20, 20, 15,
15, 10, shot, shot, shot, shot.
And you come down and just rip pucks to the net and people are crashing because there's 10 seconds left and we have to go.
Yeah.
And literally, they're either scoring or there's something so awesome near goal happening.
And then every other time during the game, you're on the rush and it's not the countdown.
It's like curl, possess, pull it back, get past the D, let's move it around and get it.
And then there's no shot or it's blocked or whatever.
Yeah.
And you called it the two minute drill paradox, which is so perfect, where it's like, you watch an NFL game and they're like, oh shit, two minute drill.
Let's just go pass.
Let's just go rip the ball down the field and score.
And you do effortlessly and you're like, why aren't you doing that all the fucking time?
I'm actually thinking teams should get in the mindset more of get on the rush, get in the zone and go get to the fucking net, everything to the net.
I think they're afraid of playing this full track meet, but I'm like, every time there's less than a minute, you get a scoring chance because your agenda is shoot the fucking puck and crash.
instead of like peel it back, pass it around,
and then we can get a shot block
and it'll go the other way.
So I actually would think I might,
especially, dude, no offense,
because you're NHL is and you're nasty,
especially the bottom two lines
where I'm like, you're not,
you're not Connor McDavid out here
creating on a whim.
I'm like, dude, cross the fucking blue line
and fire the puck on net.
And if you don't have the puck,
good news, your job is simple.
Go to the net and try to hit in a rebound.
End of discussion.
Yeah.
Are you ready to move on?
Yeah.
I can go to Vegas.
Okay.
Let's move on.
And somebody said, Jordan said he's got some ammo when we get to Oilers Vegas.
I don't know if that means he's got just thoughts or if he has like scoops or whatever.
All right, Jordan, well, it's your time to shine.
So Jordan, now's your time.
Hit us with the ammo.
We are going to move on, folks, heading into the Oilers Vegas Golden Knight series.
Oilers take a two games to zero lead on away ice.
And it feels like this one is.
fucking over. And like we talked about last live, the rants that we went on, I stand by it.
This Oilers team makes no sense the way that they play and the way that they mentally
cripple their opponent. But it doesn't fucking matter because all that matters is winning and
that is what they are doing. They have now won six straight hockey games and they're up to
oh. Dan, get your passport ready. Dan, is your passport up to date? I hope so. It is. Thank
God, because we're going straight back to
Edmonton. Get your passport ready, dude. Get it ready because
that is going to be required
when you fly across
the border from California into Canada,
be on air Canada, get
delayed. Get ready to get delayed, Dan.
You ready to sit on the tarmac for four hours?
They lost your bag, dude. Sorry.
But that's the price you pay. That's the price you pay
to go in Edmonton. And I fucking wrap your
head around it right now because that's what's
happening. Edmonton going to
the cup, get your passport ready, and that's it,
dude. And that's okay, dude. That's
the reality of the situation. Yep. It is. I have nothing to say. It is the reality of the situation.
It is, I'm not fighting it. I'm enjoying, I'm enjoying the chaos of it, the mayhem of it. And it is,
yeah, it's, it's insane what this team does. It's insane all of the new, the stats, all of the,
it's not like conspiracy shit, but it's just like every fucking day. They do something new.
So last night, when they win in overtime, first time in the history of the NHL that an overtime goal has been scored by three MVPs.
Corey Perry, to Connor McDavid, to Leon Drysidal.
Like, it's just, it is utterly preposterous every single thing that is going on with this team.
And it's wild.
Vegas goes up, but then it's just like, bang, bang, bang.
Oilers.
Three.
Yeah, bang, bang, bang.
Oilers.
Get three from three completely.
complete randoms.
And that's not an insult.
And I need Oilish fans
to just take a fucking breath
and calm down when we say shit like that
because it's okay to just point out facts.
Walman,
Pod Daddy, and then nurse with a second.
But Walman and Pod Daddy,
their first goals of the playoffs.
Like these are not guys that you're expecting
to score.
And they get that 3-1 lead,
then Carlson makes it 3-2,
then Cain.
to start immediately, first two minutes to start the third, four or two, and then credit to
Vegas.
Oliveson gets going, Petro gets going, they get it all tied up.
That's awesome.
Electric game.
Fantastic stuff for us to watch.
The big thing for me is similar to what was going on in the L.A. series with Vegas,
so much of their identity is their D.
And obviously Petro's clearly hurt.
Clearly hurt, clearly sick.
Something's going on with them.
but the Vegas big bad D
their strength,
the thing that got them
to win a cup
a couple of years ago
I do not understand
how they are getting broken down
so badly.
Yeah, dude, I hear you
and I think
oh man, I have so much to say about this
you don't have to fucking be here for two hours.
Yeah, do it.
The D
because in this game
specifically, and he would tell you this, several of those goals cannot go in. Like,
absolutely cannot go in. And the, if the oilers, and Jordan, I see messaging, we're going to get
to all your stuff too. Yeah, yeah. If the oilers are going to get, this is kind of contradictory
because I'm saying the goal shouldn't go in, but if the oilers are going to get scoring up and down
their lineup, they are dangerous. Yeah. And this is part of Jordan's point, but we can have
the depth discussion, but if they're going to get depth scoring, then in your Vegas, you
100% have to have the goal tending edge, which everyone on fucking earth believed coming into
the series before they even benched their starter. Okay? And to not be winning this goalie
battle is a death sentence and unacceptable. Yeah, and we love Aidan Hill, but like he's playing
and that's what I mean. He's not playing poorly. He's playing bad. And he would tell you that.
And truly,
gets a chance to meet him. He is the fucking man. I love him so much. And I love him as a goalie.
I think he's a very, very good at goalie. I think he's a very good goalie in this league.
But he is not playing to his standards at all right now. And it's deflating when you're on that
team and the pod shot goes in. When pod just fires a wrist shot at his chest and it goes in the net.
And I'm like, do what? And dude, by the way, I'm making him French now. Calvene Picard.
That's his name moving forward. Calvene was, is the story right now of the playoffs.
Your French accent is horrible.
Calvon.
Just move on.
Do it.
I'm not saying I have a better one, but it wasn't great.
That is exactly how...
I've been literally listening to YouTube's
on the way end of how you would say that,
and it's...
I'm not kidding.
I will pull up my YouTube history.
I believe...
That was perfect.
So maybe the YouTube person is wrong,
but that is...
It was bad.
That is exactly how you do it.
We can get it back.
Maybe it'll come to you over the show.
Do it.
I never said I could do it better.
I'd say yours was bad.
Do it.
I think the Picard was what in light.
I think it's got to be like, Picard.
Oh, that was good.
But I wasn't doing that one,
because I was just doing the way I say his last name.
Okay.
Which is horrible.
Yeah, it's not correct.
It's not a French accent or his name.
But you're going to intercept me,
like, I'm going to think that's his last name.
Picard.
Yeah.
Just say it with me.
What is that from?
I don't know.
Because it's something.
That's why it's happening to you.
Picard is from something.
It's fucking awesome.
But he's the story, dude.
He's the Frenchman.
What I fucking find hilarious is,
Hill, dude, remember Hill in
20203?
He, it was LB.
It was LB.
I know, man.
He was just buzzing.
And then I was not playing Johnny Quick, but it was
Hill. And I said it was always Hill.
And nobody knew. So if anybody on
earth was ever going to see
who the backup, the mystery backup
that was going to come in and become the story of the playoffs
and carry his team to a cup, it should have been
Hill with the eyesight to see it.
Yeah. And it was staring at him across.
Dude, he's looking at him all the game, Dan.
He should have been looking across the sheet and gone like this.
There's Picard.
There's the story.
There's the Frenchman.
There he is.
And I'm mad at Hill for not seeing it earlier because that's what's happening.
That is the absolute story.
So the defense, I think you're right, I think needs to be a little tighter.
But right now, at least for this first talking point, the goalie battle is killing you.
The goalie battle is killing you.
I mean, both neither goaltender played well.
Both under 900, say percentage, you know, you're letting in four goals.
It is what it is.
but I continue to go back to this
dude it's Star Trek thank you
fuck yeah
car thank you Jesus Christ
well done chat well done chat
well done chat um
the
Jordan I was at Jordan in the chat
talking a lot about the depth
yeah yeah yeah we got to answer Jordan
so just getting into the depth
we in the LA series we did the matchup
and we were like LA's depth is better
I stand by that today
like so passionately
when you look at their regular season
numbers, the depth, quote unquote, on this Oilers team didn't do shit all season long.
And they are doing it now. And a great stat, we've got Oilers are now outscoring,
outscoring opponents 14 to 8 this postseason at 5V5 without Leon and Connor.
Yeah. And that might be like 15.9. That might have changed because that came up in the
second period, right? No, I think that was after the cane goal.
Okay. So then 14.9 then because Angelos go. Yeah. Yeah. So,
14-9 without Connor and Leon. Like, that is why you are winning. That is why you have won
six straight games. That is why you are winning these cardiac arrest games that's insane.
That people are going, how the fuck is this team winning? And oilish haters online slash,
not even haters, but just people who aren't fans of the Oilers or neutral fans are saying a lot
of things like the Oilers can't possibly keep this up, right? Like they have subpar goal
They're not playing great hockey for 60 minutes and they're just winning games.
But I'm here to say, I think they can.
And it's been my whole take, though, this entire week.
Since game six or excuse me, game five against L.A. is what I'll call it.
This team is just inevitable.
I don't know what it is that is breaking the other teams down.
It's making them play off their game.
And I'm not even going to say it's necessarily Connor and Leon.
This is where I will give to Jordan's drum bang, and I will give the credit to the depth guys.
Jack Eichael more or less neutralized Connor all game.
And then that's hilarious to say, don't jump down my throat, Oilers fans, because Jack Eichael got fucking dog walked by Connor on that goal.
I will, that's our boy, and I will give him the benefit of the doubt.
Jack Eichael is flat-footed in transition and you have Connor from like behind the net with his top end speed, which is unmatched in the league.
like no one is doing better than Jack there as a forward.
But it's like he,
Connor wasn't killing you all game.
It's the other shit that's killing you.
And that's why I'm like,
fuck me, man.
This,
I don't know who is going to,
it's not even a stop this Oilers team.
It's,
I don't know who is going to figure out this Oilers team.
Because right now they look like a,
they look like a riddle.
They look like a puzzle that no one can solve.
Dude, okay, agree.
And, um,
the,
Jordan was one of Jordan's last point.
Wouldn't you define depth as guys you can step up when it matters most?
Not guys you can pot three points in game 45.
And Jordan, I think, I said this in one of them.
I think that that is the key here.
I don't think that that's depth players, by the way.
I think that that's clutch.
You're describing clutch points.
That's a big difference.
Last year, the Oilers, 294 goals in the league,
fourth in the league, only seven off the top.
And this year, 259 goals beyond 10th scoring in the league.
Yeah.
The pieces that are on the Oilers roster.
in the regular season, because I know Cain came back, whatever,
but the pieces that are on the roster
offensively were underperforming.
I also know McDavid missed time.
But if you look at the Oilers team
and the pieces they lost two offer sheets
that they wanted to keep, and then the pieces they filled in
that I was like, oh my God, what a signing.
That's guy's going to score 40 goals on this team.
He's the new Zach Hyman.
Those things didn't work particularly.
So coming into playoffs,
I hope everyone can admit,
you go, I'm not sure.
sure that this new Oilers roster has the secondary scoring they need to make a run that wasn't
even good enough last year, but was a game away from being good enough, but wasn't even good
enough last year. And Jordan, you are 100% right. Those guys that I, for sure, and many people
had doubts about, have completely elevated their game in the playoffs. And maybe it's just bounces.
You know, because do I get to go? POD's been incredible now, just because that one that hit the
hill in the chess went in. I don't know. But, but. But, but.
But maybe you do get to say that because he fucking scored in a playoff game that you
won in overtime.
So absolutely correct.
I think the Oilers depth that I've been dogging has stepped up.
I genuinely don't believe in a vacuum the Oilers' depth players are better than some
of the depth players and the teams they're playing.
But they are playing better than them in these games, which is literally all that matters.
Period.
It really is.
And it's interesting because that two-goal stretch for Vegas that made it,
4-3-4.
I thought that was really good hockey.
That's Vegas's game.
And you could feel those goals coming.
That's kind of how they ended up tying it.
And you're like, yeah, boom, there you go.
Whereas, no disrespect, the Oilers' goals, certainly the three,
just weren't that great.
And even Keynes, man, it was like that third period started.
Vegas was all over.
Dude, like, I couldn't believe they didn't score.
Minute 30, ramming it down their first.
fucking throat.
And then quickly the other way,
puck bounces 5,000 times
and somehow sneaks in.
Dude, that's why I think the oilers
are going to right to the cup
because every time there's a loose puck,
it ricochets off five legs
and then it ends up on an oiler stick
and then they pass it back into the scrum
and it goes through three legs
right onto someone's tape
who's alone in the slot.
Every single time.
Yes.
And call it whatever you want.
Call it luck.
Call it bullshit.
They're in the right places.
They know where each other are.
They want the puck more.
Every fucking loose puck squirts to an oiler stick wide open.
Even ones like, dude, with a minute left, dry sidle, hit Corey Perry.
Like, Corey Perry's standing in the goal and it hits him.
That's the only reason that didn't go in.
The oilish could have won that game in regulation because, oh, chaos ensues,
and then a loose puck falls on dry saddle stick with the fucking net wide open.
Dude.
Every time.
It's actually fascinating.
Truly crazy stuff.
And let's get into OT.
O.T starts, same story.
Vegas all over the place.
They have a few that are just, I think it was either Howden or hurdle,
but someone had a puck right on their stick.
Unbelievable block by, I think it was Kulak,
just randomly got his stick in the way, blocked the shot.
There was so much action, Vegas all over them.
And I was watching it, and I was like,
this is such a classic hockey game where one team is fist fucking you,
and then you get one transition and scored the other way.
And it's in OT, if you have momentum like that,
you're crushing them.
There's pucks all over.
You fucking have to score.
Yeah. Because if you don't, you are dead.
And then the Nick Waw play happens.
Okay, yeah. We got to talk about a couple penalties here.
And actually, just to finish, Jordan, great points, agree with you, too, man.
And Jean-Luc Picard, he says Kahn Smythe, and I agree.
He's the story right now. He's 100% the story.
If he carries his team to a fucking cup and keeps this goalie play up, it's fucking fascinating.
Well, I don't even know if you can, like, can you give the Kahn Smyth to a goalie with less than 900 save percentage?
I'm not sure.
I don't know either, but he's the story.
Here's the deal.
Someone said this,
I mean,
this is a classic comment.
He is making the saves
he needs to make.
Unfortunately,
he is just like making
one more save
than the other guy every time.
So it's like,
yeah,
you're fucking doing your job,
man, keep getting wins.
He's literally undefeated.
He's undefeated in the Stanley Cup.
Yes, I give him the concept.
He hasn't lost.
He's not lost a game.
And dude,
I would say it's slightly more than that,
especially in this game,
and especially in that second period.
Like, he is making big saves.
He is.
He is.
What the fuck is?
is going on, but he is doing something back then.
Yeah.
Okay, talk about the penalty.
So, bouncing puck along the boards.
We got Trent Frederick and Nick Waugh in there.
Puck pops up and there's some Vegas, not defending it, but some Vegas fans trying
to explain it.
Nick Waugh just rears back and two-hand cross-checks Trent Frederick in the fucking mouth.
Yeah.
One of the weirdest plays you've ever seen.
You cuts to the bench.
You see everyone on the Vegas bench going, what the fuck was that?
Five-minute misconduct, kicked out of the game.
So you lose Nick Waugh, great fucking player.
And now you have a five-minute peeper for...
Against the Oilers.
Connor McDavid, Leon Drysidl, and Evan Bouchard and the Edmonton Oilers.
Everyone was like, game.
That sucks.
I feel so bad for Nick Wall.
Like, you've just cost your team the game.
And last year, that's game, by the way.
Yes.
Last year against this other team, that's game inside of a minute.
Somehow, Vegas kills this.
Unbelievable saves from Aiden Hill.
Unbelievable plays from all the boys.
Mark Stone was a monster.
on that kill. Ikes was a monster at times on that kill. They eventually kill that off.
I have no idea how, but they do it. And that was a, that was a moment of like, damn, is this momentum?
That's got to be. Do we have a chance here? You make that kill. Now do you win this game?
And then we need to talk about this play. McNabb goes into the corner chasing after a puck,
Victor Arvinson behind him. Victor Arvinson, I think without a doubt, not intentionally at all.
He's just trying to make a play on the puck.
But he gets his stick wrapped around.
It goes between McNabb's legs.
Clearly, ice picks his right skate, which blows out a tire.
He goes down really ugly and hard into the boards, leaves the game with an injury.
Praying he's okay and back next game.
Did not look good.
It felt like a dislocated shoulder.
You're praying it's not a collarbone thing.
The refs have a chance to get together, talk, and look at it.
That's the craziest part, dude.
And they don't call a penalty.
Now, we're huge swallow the whistle in overtime.
Yep.
Guys.
Unless it's clear as day.
And to me, you gave, not gave,
Edmonton got a five-minute power play in this overtime.
Yep.
As was obvious, it should have happened.
That was a clear misconduct.
This is a clear two-minute minor.
Yep.
And I think it is a miscall.
and this is my opportunity to say,
I said this on my personal Twitter last night.
It is okay when you are a fan of a team
and you're watching a game
and your team gets away with a penalty.
One of your players commits a penalty
and it doesn't get called.
It is okay, guys, to go,
damn, we got away with one there.
You don't need to always go,
well, it's the fucking bullshit
that they pull.
all the time. It's fucking karma. Get used to it. Suck my dick. Hope someone gets hurt.
Yeah.
It just calm down. It's very, it's very okay and mature even to just go, yeah, we got away with one there.
And here's the facts. Edmonton got away with one there. Yep. Did that ruin the game? Did it blow
the game? Did it lead directly to a goal for Edmonton? No. But it definitely helped.
It definitely helped the win. Because when you think about the fact that Jack Eichol with the way he was playing
last night and that Vegas team would then get a power play towards the end of an overtime period.
I wouldn't say it's far-fetched to say Vegas had a pretty good shot of winning.
And I will add in the third period, I think after they had already tied it, maybe right before
they tied it, but I think after they'd already tied it, Michael gets high stick to fucking hell in the
face in front of the net, drops down on the ice, holding his face, checking his nose for blood,
and they just missed it. I forget who it was, which deep.
men it was.
Kulak, anyway, but someone
bags him right in the face.
And with the power play cooking,
and if they hadn't tidy yet, you're like,
God, I need this power play.
And either way, dude, because you want to win.
And I don't quite know, at least for that one,
I'm not in the business of stopping the game more
and slowing down the game more.
But with the challenge rise going up,
I just think that penalty specifically
should be reviewable because it's so cut and dry.
It's not like, oh, was that a rough?
I can't really tell.
It's literally, did you just smash his face with your stick?
Yes.
And it's that simple.
You did.
The review would take 12 seconds.
You'd go like this.
Oh, yeah, you absolutely murdered his nose.
Yeah.
And visor.
Thanks.
That's two minutes.
So the fix is in.
No, none of that.
I'm just saying those are two missed calls, blatant, in my opinion,
blatant miscall that give Vegas a power play at the end of regulation and in overtime.
that they just don't get.
Yeah.
As a Vegas fan,
that's hard to swallow.
Yeah,
and I'm glad you brought up
the end of regulation one
because that one
was a clear as day as well to me.
And again,
oilish fans,
don't freak out.
I'm not sitting here being like,
this is bullshit.
You know,
this is,
you know,
it should have gone the other way,
but those are too clear as day,
missed calls.
And yeah,
I mean,
you look at the freeze frames
of the Arvinson trip.
You look at the replay.
In slow-mo,
and in real time.
And you're just like, man, when it's that clear
and it leads to an injury,
I do think it's a little nuts to the point
where I'm like, what are we doing here?
How in the world is that not called?
Agreed, dude.
So I hate when that happens.
I really, really hate when that happens.
I want to talk about the Jack O.T. goal for a second.
You've touched on it before, but the,
I don't even have a different take to you.
I just want my voice on record to.
Yeah.
It can be two things.
It's a beautiful play by Connor McDavid,
and he's a special guy to watch play hockey.
Yeah.
And move his feet that fast and control the puck away.
It's so fucking awesome, dude.
Oh, God, I love it so much.
But I am not here at all for the McDavid fans coming out
and chirping Eichol,
because maybe with the exception of Jacob Slavin,
anybody standing there flat-footed
when Connor McDavid is flying,
You have no choice to be very clear because he's moving so fast and he's about to get a two-on-one.
The only hope you have on earth is literally just kamikazeing in either direction.
You just have to guess.
And it's all it is, by the way.
It's a guess.
Because if you try to back up, he just skates by you, literally just skates by you.
Every time.
Every single time.
And I even live, I wanted to go, Jack, guess inside at least.
So he has to go outside.
Yeah.
But he was so far up in the zone that it didn't matter.
even if Connor went outside, he was just going to be in the same position he was in 0.2 seconds.
So it's literally a guess and it looks horrible, but everyone that's like, holy shit,
Ikel fucking crossed up by McDavid.
I'm like, dude, that is what was going to happen one billion times out of a billion to anybody.
Yeah.
Unless you got really lucky and McDavid happened to go the way you just dove.
Yeah.
So unbelievably good goal by an unbelievably talented player had nothing to do with Jack Eichel's
in deficiencies as a defenseman.
Yeah, a lot of dancing on Eichael's grave, which is so
a frustrating.
Because again, he played a perfect game against McDavid, all game.
And then it went to O.T., so it's not his fault.
He got a full game.
Yeah.
But there's just nothing you can do in that situation.
So let's now kind of wrap this chat up here with, actually, you had a
fucking unbelievable stat that you wrote down.
Did you mention this, the 026 and 1?
No, I actually have a bunch more to get into here.
And it's Friday.
Let's get stat boy CP out here.
It's Friday, so we're going to hang.
Vegas, it was, Dan, you said it.
It was like they were 26 and 0 in playoffs when leading by two goals at any point.
That gets dummied in the game game one.
And then this year, Vegas was 026 and 1 when they were trailing by 2 in the third period during the year,
which is fucked because Vegas was the number one team in the regular.
season in third period gold if like they were the best third period team in hockey in the
regular season and obviously anyone with eyeballs has been watching the oilers have been the best
third period team in the post season so i was like oh this is going to be interesting but it was
crazy to me to hear that Vegas was so good in the third all year but if they're trailing by two they
are d ed dead and i was like man this is not a good recipe as soon as they went down four two on
that cane goal so to see them bounce back and tie it i was like something's changing this is
different. They know they need this game. And then to lose when, God, like the power play's
chances that didn't come. I think I hit the crossbar at the end there with like two seconds left.
That was fucking wild. Yeah, I couldn't tell. Yeah, yeah. No, it did. It did. It did. And
there was another one. I think it was an OT. I don't mean to get you off track, but Petrangelo,
bouncing puck, but just made the worst play you will ever see in overtime. There was a puck
that was kind of spooned in, bounced off the end wall. And Petrangelo, and Petrangelo,
went up and kind of just tried to be cheeky and it just like bounced and went straight through
his right legs directly to McDavid. Yeah. And McDavid just put it off the outside of the left post.
Like perfect shot. He went far side one time too. And it just like clinging off this outside of the
post. And I was just like, if you're Patrangelo, you're like this, well, fucking got away with that
one, made a lazy play and gave the puck on fucking McDavid stick in front of the net, nude in overtime.
Crazy. Not good. Not good at all. So the, um,
And man, dude, Petrangelo,
what's fucking rad on the for Vegas is,
I guarantee McNabb doesn't play
because he's fucking, his shoulders fucked.
Yeah, you're probably gonna lose
Woffer a game, which wouldn't shock me.
I would be, I think that would be
a savage one game suspension.
And I can't tell if I'm being a bitch about that.
But that was just such a crazy.
It was, but again, again, it wasn't like malicious.
It was just dumb.
It was, but that doesn't, that's not an excuse.
That's fair.
But again, it wasn't one of these plays where, you know, the Eklad elbow to Hegel's face.
Yep.
That felt calculated.
It was like a charge.
I think the only explanation for Waugh is it's overtime.
You're, if everything's crazy, the puck is right here.
Like the puck bounces up and he's like, oh, my God.
And again, like I said, I don't count that as of trying to make a play on the puck because I'm like, why are you cross-checking?
But I do think that that would be a savage one game sussie.
but at the same time, if it happens, I'll be like, yeah, okay, I get it.
That was crazy.
You cross-checked a guy in the face.
Yep.
So if you lose him, and it looks like Petrangelo's still dealing with it, Dorfiav, like,
they need him so badly.
So bad.
He didn't play again.
Again, dude.
And it's like, Olythson scored in that Dorfia spot on the power play twice, so I'm
like, whatever, but it's just, that was 35 goals you've lost there.
And I'm genuinely not trying to make excuses for this team because the Oilers are earning everything
they're getting.
but I'm just like, this is a tall task for Vegas
if you're going to be missing all these guys
and some of these guys aren't playing the best way they can.
Some funny stuff in the chat here.
Mo said Petrangelo almost single-handedly lost the game
three times from behind the net, which is a fact.
Yeah, that is a fact.
Patrangelo, you're probably best D-Man.
A leader on the team, guy you were lying.
Obviously, he's dealing with injury stuff.
He's dealing with illness stuff now too.
Did not have a good game.
And that is another thing that is going to kill you.
Yep. And then Jordan says, he's like, also, OSF fans just hate Eichl because he won a cut before Connor, which I can completely understand.
100%. And then people were like, dude, Jack must have been crapping himself, seeing Connor coming 500 miles an hour. Connor said that. And Moe goes, you could engineer a player that's a mix of Niedemeyer, Lidstrom, Slavin, and Orr, and he would have been burned by McDavid on that play.
Well said, Mo. And that is a fact. That is why I think it's so funny that Oilers fans are trying to, you know, beak on Eichel there. I'm like, yeah, dude, what are you talking about? It's Connor.
No one on planet Earth in that scenario was like this.
Jack Eichel should make a play here.
It was a nightmare.
Dude,
the second Connor had the puck at the blue line,
I was like,
this is a goal.
True.
I said it out loud.
I was like,
oh,
that's a goal.
It was a bad change,
bad transition and you had Leon and Connor up ice like with a full head of
steam.
I was like,
oh, we're,
you know,
this is over.
A few more things here.
Evander Kane,
I love how somehow that,
because right now,
dude,
he literally,
other than Jean-Luc,
he feels like the most important
player on the Oilers because not only is he producing, legitimately producing, but also he allowed
the super line switch where they're like, well, we needed the balance, but now we can just play
Kane with R&H and Hyman and we can have the MVP line. Yeah. Dude, I love how that LTIR move
has gone so quiet. And I don't even know who I'm chirping here, but the amount of people, my God,
that have been lighting up Tampa and Vegas
for their cheating, their rat scumbag cheating
with the LTIR system.
And then this year, dude,
and obviously one,
because it's such a good story,
but this year the abs and the oilers do it
and no one cares.
All good, dude.
All fine.
Which is all good, by the way.
These are the rules.
So who fucking gives a shit?
But God, the noise about Vegas last year
when the old fucking stone does it again,
dude, the cheaters for Vegas.
And I'm like, the Oilers just did it.
Yeah.
And the aves just did it.
And who cares?
It's the rules.
And look at the impact they're making.
A little bit of breaking news.
Yeah, a little bit of breaking news right now on the chat.
The NHL has released that Victor Arvinson will not have a hearing with player safety over the trip, as he should not.
Yep, I'm fine with that.
Nick Wah will have a hearing.
Yeah, he's going to miss a game as he should.
Yep.
Now, I will say if Nick Waugh is out,
And Dorofiev doesn't play.
I am calling right now, lock of the century, guarantee no doubt whatsoever.
Edmonton wins game three.
And then because of that, they will sweep.
Wow.
If Wa is out, Dorothea is out.
And actually, if McNabb is out too.
Oh, yeah, he's out for sure.
Well, you don't know that.
I do.
I do.
I don't know.
I know.
I know.
I've seen it.
I saw the.
Maybe his shoulders.
dislocated and they just pop it right back in and he's fine.
No, dude. He'll never play again.
Unbelievable.
You, uh, you,
I'm telling you right now.
You need a hill game.
If you're going to avoid this show.
Wought out, McNabb out, Dorothea out,
lock, guarantee, smash at Rogers Place.
Yep.
Smash your fucking mortgage on the Oilers to win game three and then sweep because of it.
At what point, Dan, do we start,
and you're going to laugh.
this. But at what point do we start...
I love... So, Moja said if it was out, then Cole Schwint legacy game in Edmont
agreed, that'd be safe.
Schwint just comes in two goals.
Bang. At what point do you, do we start giving the Kings credit for even winning two games?
I actually think the Kings are the talk of the town. The Kings get zero credit ever for the
collapse that they pay. I actually think it's incredible. The Kings should have swept.
I actually can't believe they scored six goals against this.
Oilers team.
Well, it wasn't Picard.
Yeah, you're right.
See what I see what I did there?
He is Picard now.
Jean-Luc.
Jean-Luc, Picard.
Because that is actually the real story to me because this Oilers team will never lose again.
I saw a cool stat too.
This is the Oilers first 2-0 series lead, any series.
Yeah.
Since 2017.
And I'm like, Conor McDavid has had a 2-0 series lead?
What?
Dude, they are inevitable.
It's like, this is, we've got the.
Leafs on one side and we've got the Oilers on the other side.
It's just, I don't know if we've got juju going on.
I don't know if we've got spirits going on.
But I'm telling you, like I said, last live episode, the Oilers discombobulate their
opponents.
They make them not play hockey.
Dude.
Straight up, dude.
If you play a tape of that Vegas Golden Knights performance compared to how they played all
season long, how they played in
round one against a very good Minnesota
team. It is a completely
different game. They look horrible.
That is the crazy thing
here. I'm not taking anything away from the
Oilers because like we've said all episode,
their depth is
coming alive like no one
expected. It's remarkable. It's why
they're winning. 14 to 9
without Connor and Leon scoring
against opponents. That's remarkable.
Yep. Giving them all the credit in the world.
but Vegas looks like shit.
Well, I would actually argue, Dan,
that there are stretches,
especially in game two,
long stretches where I'm like,
Vegas is ragdawing this team.
They just don't score.
Yes.
And then whoever said that.
That's fair.
Whoever said it,
you brought it up last Epp,
the five minute thing,
60 minutes versus five minutes.
Yep.
There's a four minute stretch
in the third period
where hills leaky as hell
and the puck bounces,
doesn't bounce your way,
and they always have three goals.
And you're like,
are we going to lose?
And I'm like, yes.
Yes.
They always haven't had the pocket all the game, and you're going to lose you sure are.
And it's, so, and this is a perfect segue to my last point about this series in game.
The, if this fortune that the oilers are, that they have, that they have earned or whatever you want to say it.
But like if the play.
Ten years, dude.
Ten years of suffering.
That the oilers are getting right now.
Bochy said this too, dude, on the, on the broadcast in one of the intermissions.
If the play that the oils are getting right now doesn't dry up.
I genuinely do not see a way that they don't win the cup because they're, you know you're
going to get stuff eventually in some capacity from your megastars.
And if Jean-Luc continues to play this way and the fourth and third lines continue to
score, that is the exact recipe.
There's no team that can hang with you over a seven-game series if that's what you're
doing.
Bruce Cassidy is Mr. Change It Up.
How many times we talk to Jack where he's like, it's actually interesting who we play
next because Bruce goes completely different system. This is what we've done all year. We now do
this. And I like that. It's very Belichekian of him, you know, whereas maybe DeBore is more of a like,
this is my way and this is how we play type of coach. So what, and it doesn't mean they win every
series, but whatever is happening right now, it's a tricky one. Yeah, I think if you're,
if you're Vegas, but Bruce specifically, because you go, I think our scheme is working. Like we're
playing better than them most of the time. So you want to go, we got to change it up. We're down
no too but I'm like change what up you're killing them yeah but then you just lose so I think dude
remember that um Rick and Morty episode where it's it's uh bizarro you like they're playing like
the inception bot so he's like we gotta do whatever you know whatever do the opposite do the opposite
dude that's my mission to the Keynes was to watch a uh an LT compilation fail video
my mission to Vegas is dude when you wake up game day do everything different what's your
pregame meal great cook it throw it out eat a donut have two donuts
whatever you take a nap, no more nap.
Stay up all night.
Stay up all night.
Stay up all night.
Stay up all night. Chug three red bulls.
Whatever you're doing, we are living in Bizarro world
where the Leafs and the Oilers
are playing teams that I think are better than them
and they are fucking pumping them full of lead.
So we are living in Bizarro world.
So either fucking put a helmet on
and just enjoy the show or
get in Bizarro world yourself, dude.
Start mixing things up.
Yeah, embrace the world.
Embrace the world or you're going to die there.
And that is the facts.
And yeah, man,
I look at it as since, with the exception of game two against the Kings,
because even game one, they did it.
With the exception of game two against the Los Angeles Kings in round one,
no one has refused to let this Oilers team get in their head.
And it will be interesting to see if we ever see a team do that.
If we ever see a team come across them and go, you're not getting to me.
Yeah.
We'll have to pay close attention to see if that ever happens.
Because currently, it's happening.
And it doesn't make sense, but here we are.
And it is electric watching what this oil team is doing.
Dude, it's it.
Andson goes, if the Leafs win a cup before McDavid, then God is not real.
And then Gavin goes, but if Connor lifts a cup at his hometown against the Leafs,
that I'm going to seminary school.
Yeah, facts.
Dude, a lot on the line here.
Lot on the line.
Great action in the chat, dude.
Great action.
Oh, yeah, dude.
Ricardo just said also, if Ekholm comes back in round three, you're dead.
Yeah.
Dallas Jets, you're dead.
Oh, my God.
It's a scary thought for me as a rocket man,
which means you are rooting for both Dallas and the Jets,
because they're both Rocket Men teams.
It is a scary thought to see the Oilers freight train just chugging along.
in their direction.
Connor's points per game
in NHL playoff history
is currently now at 1.59,
putting him third all time
behind Wayne and Mario Lemieux.
Very cool.
Just remarkable.
And look at Leon 5th, dude.
Yeah, Leon's 5th at 1.4-7.
Jesus Christ.
Yeah, that's fucking awesome.
It is remarkable that this team
has not won a cup yet
based on all of that.
But now here we are.
You've got John Luke in net
just being a beast.
Dude, if I genuinely, like I just said, if nothing changes, they're going to win the cup.
But those, I think if you're the Oilers, the only thing you're afraid of is a potential goalie dip and a depth vanishing act.
That's it.
And dude, like, God, it's so weird because I'm so high on Vegas.
But it's like they, and David said it.
He had a great comment after.
He's like, this was a great effort here in Vegas, but this doesn't mean shit if we're not ready to go, which is true.
because if Vegas comes out and pops too, you're like, oh my God.
Yeah.
And that's a tough team.
They're not going to go away.
But I just think there's too much something.
There's something in the air with the oilers.
There is, man.
And like I said it, I genuinely, I feel, I am feeling the most unexpected oiler sweep in this series now.
Yeah.
I really am.
The, everyone talking about the Miko Revenge Tour.
Yeah.
And buy a shirt, by the way, go buy a shirt.
Buy a shirt.
Sick new merch.
Bang.
We got merch.
merch everywhere.
Go get it.
Get yourself some merch.
The, it was, dude, it was actually the Oilers Revenge Tour all along.
And I didn't realize that because I just assumed they were worse.
I was like, you didn't even deserve to be in the Cup last year.
And now you're worse.
So it doesn't matter.
You don't get a revenge tour.
And they said, fringe this, you dumb bitch.
You stupid bitch.
Bang, revenge tour.
You want a Miko Revenge Tour.
It's actually an entire Edmonton Revenge Tour.
And we are going back and taking what is ours.
Yeah.
Oilers have the magic Kool-Aid.
Agree, Jordan.
It's just, it is how it is.
We are going to continue to just marvel in what this team is doing.
It has become my favorite series to watch, which is nuts because of the way I've talked about Dallas,
Winnipeg.
But this has become my favorite series to watch because every game is complete chaos.
I have no idea what's going on or how it's going on.
So it's just a blast.
All right.
Tonight, folks, we've got Toronto, Florida, in Florida.
See if Florida can clap back or if we're going to get another Canadian team sweeping what looks to be a better team.
Yep.
then we've got Dallas Winnipeg
Dallas is up 1-0
fucking just great action tonight
I'm going to start drinking immediately
we've got to get on the train here
the cats if you're going to ask me
not that anybody did but if you're going to ask me
which team down in
the O2 hole has a better chance of coming back
it's Florida easily
and I'm not chirping the Leafs
sorry Jack I'm not chirping the Leafs
at all but I just think the Oilers
are going it's there's
Oilers are going home and they're the Oilers and it's fucking Thanos and all this shit.
The Panthers have played some tight games and they're coming home.
And the Leafs are the emergency response team.
I'm sticking with that so hard there.
The emergency response team Leafs this year, they're phased by fucking nothing.
Dude, they're in the ambulance.
You showing up, you've got a fucking compound fracture in your femur,
blood squirting everywhere, dude.
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments are built on a foundation of good health.
From the big milestones to the quiet winds.
That's why our annual health assessment
offers a physician-led, full-body checkup
that provides a clear picture of your health today
and may uncover early signs of conditions
like heart disease and cancer.
The healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being and book an assessment today.
Medcan. Live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
At least don't care, dude. Wiping their face, get right to work.
Boom, set the bone, stitch you up.
We are EMTs right now, and it's full.
fine. So they are still
chilling like that, but Florida has
three of the next four games
at home in this series
that
if they play well, if you play
like you have played there,
I'm like, Christ, this could be game seven,
you know? Yep. I don't want
to, I don't want to put any negative
vibes out there, but
it feels like
there's a chance
that
we could have the most
entertaining round two ever yeah things could change up and and I think nothing's gonna
change yeah sweep sweet that or like gentlemen's I I don't think we're gonna get any
action here I think it's gonna be very like ah yeah look at that yeah which is a bummer
no and I think um you might be right dude like honestly I I think the cats are a staggering
favorites on all the books shout out that MGM still oh no no in this game
tonight.
They are like staggering favorites where everyone's like, they know they can't lose.
They're at home.
This whole series is going to change.
I have the cats as favorites tonight if I'm making the lines, but not staggering at all.
The ignoring of the Leafs needs to go away.
The Leafs, well, you have two camps.
It's 67 camp, right?
Who's like, believe we've won again.
But the rest of the internet, dude, the rest of the hockey internet is like,
Leafs are clowns, cats in six, this is a joke.
And I'm like, are you watching, dude?
Like, sure, I probably pick Panthers to win tonight.
Yeah.
Because it's like, well, you know, they don't want to go down 3-0,
a lot of pressure here playing in front of the home crowd.
I probably pick them to win tonight.
But if you think the Panthers win this game easily with the way,
frankly, they've been playing, but more importantly,
the way Toronto has been playing, you're a crazy person.
I get it.
It's the Leafs.
But at the end of the day, they have done,
everything they need to do to erase all of the bullshit of old, in my opinion.
These playoffs, every bit of adversity, they have shoved it down people's throats.
The emergency response, as you've said, every time they get scored on, they score right away
again.
The Leafs have earned your respect and, frankly, your belief.
Yeah.
I know it's such an easy narrative to be like, it's the Leafs, man.
They have done everything in the world, these playoffs, to make you believe.
Yeah, totally agree.
And then in the Dallas Winnipeg game, we had said in one of the shows,
I hope Winnipeg wins this game because I'm a Rocket Man,
but also because I want this to be just a great fucking series,
top to bottom.
But we got a lot of people talking about Darth Vader over here, dude.
And I think someone way early, I'll never find it.
Someone said Vader versus Thanos in the Western Commerce Finals is fucking,
It's an all-time villain matchup, which is so sick, so sick.
But yeah, this one is going, this Dallas Winnipeg game I'm so excited about.
And I think, I think I'm picking Winnipeg.
I want Winnipeg to make the series as long as possible, but I think I like Winnipeg.
I'm picking Winnipeg for the story.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Don't take that as betting advice.
I don't know, but I'm picking Winnipeg for the story.
Otter, Helly has just been, I mean, it was sick in game one.
I hope they do it again.
That would be amazing.
Any goal scores for the, for the listeners?
Ooh.
You know what?
I don't hate a Jason Robertson.
He's back.
Oh, by the way, big news, Josh Morrissey playing tonight.
So Miro's got to play.
He has to play.
He's got to be in the tiki hot day.
He's got to be in the tiki hot.
Miro has to play.
Hold on.
Hasn't been announced yet.
God, this week.
Oh, oh wow.
Stoli's not even traveling to Florida.
Yeah, it's terrible.
Joe Wall.
Joe Wall.
Wonder Wall.
Okay, well, if Morrissey's playing,
than we know Miro's playing
because someone in the Tiki Hut
has removed the thing off of Morsi
which is why he's miraculously healed
which means get the punch ready
and get the rum ready
because we're having a full tilt
full tilt tonight full squads
if you can bet on a Miko Rantin
at any time point I bet the odds suck
but I would do that too
no dude no he has to stop
no no it doesn't he has to stop it doesn't
you would think that the oiler's bullshit
has to stop too but it's not
he's a mad man this is the year
You're a bullshit.
He's a mad man.
All right, folks,
we're going to wrap up this episode.
What an unbelievable Friday hang.
Get the drinks flowing.
Let's start day boozing.
It's the only thing to do.
Make sure you subscribe to the YouTube.
Please, folks, get those subscriptions up.
Send us around to your friends who are hockey fans.
Make sure they're checking us out.
Make sure they're tuning in.
Follow us on all the socials.
Grab some merch on the store.
Beautiful stuff going on.
We love you guys.
Fantastic hang.
Have an unreal weekend.
We're going to be buzzing on all of.
the Instagram, Twitter, bullshit over the weekend, and then we will see you Monday.
