Empty Netters Podcast - Tiering NHL Teams and Predicting Connor McDavid’s Signing Day | EP.226

Episode Date: September 4, 2025

The guys break down every NHL team heading into the 2025 season from S tier all the way to F tier. Which ones do you disagree with because they think they nailed it. Plus, Tyler Yaremchuk from Oilers ...Nation joins the pod to talk about the missing Connor McDavid extension. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: HALL OF FAME BETS. Get a 7-Day Free Trial + 50% Off your first month with code NETTERS. Just download the HOF app on iOS or Android, enter code NETTERS, and you’re all set. https://hofbets.com/ 00:00 INTRO 00:19 NOT ICE 21:21 NHL TIERS 56:03 MCDAVID EXTENSION Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 If he didn't want to win in Edmonton, probably would have left a couple of years ago. He might have not even let it get to this point because there were moments where it was like, all right, they lost in round two to the Golden Knights. Are they ever going to get over the Hummer? Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast, brought to you by BedMGM. I'm your host, Dan Powers, and with me, a man who creates side quests and storylines for the stuffed animals, he still keeps on his bed in his mid to late 30s.
Starting point is 00:00:31 Chris Powers. As always, I think there's studies that you're smarter and more socially adjusted if you act out conversations between your stuffed animals in your 30s. I think you're right. I believe that was done by Nurse Ratchet. Professor Christopher Powers at the University of Dumb Fuckery in Williamsburg. You are a bitch and an idiot. Well, when Moose hears you say that, he's going to be pretty pissed. I can't believe you just hard-launched Moose's name on the pod, dude.
Starting point is 00:01:15 Now people know. Well, if you're watching and potentially listening, you can see that your boy is micless. I'm an idiot. I forgot my microphone. We had to fly back home for a funeral. So CP and I recording from Maine right now. and I don't have my mic so I'm sorry if I sound like shit
Starting point is 00:01:34 sorry if I look like shit but if I look like shit it's because of something that I want to rant and rave about we're going to start this episode with a classic dantro I am telling you what pal I'm out on red eyes
Starting point is 00:01:52 we haven't taken a red eye in a long time I don't like them they you can never get enough sleep it's just a disaster and frankly if you're on a red eye and you don't absolutely need to be doing something within the next four hours of you landing
Starting point is 00:02:13 and getting to your destination, you are a rat piece of shit. You don't belong on that plane. You're scum of the earth. There should be no reason to take a red eye unless you absolutely need to be at that place the next morning. And had something in your, in your current city that day.
Starting point is 00:02:34 Like, true. Because either fly the day early and sleep at your day. If you have to go early, you sleep at the destination and you're there. But in all circumstances, in circumstances, you need to be somewhere and then need to be in a whole new city in the morning. Yeah. Which is why the flight exists. So take it.
Starting point is 00:02:50 But the whole plane, the whole plane should be filled with those people. Complete. That circumstance. Completely agree. And to go off of that. Dude, it should be illegal. It should be against the law to bring a child under age six onto a plane. I'm sorry.
Starting point is 00:03:13 If you have kids, you can't fly. You can't. Dude, I just want to say for everybody listening that if this wasn't obvious, there was a wailing, wild banschy, like siren, like, um, the mur people in Harry Potter when they're out of water, wailing child on the red eye last night that we were on. In our row, like across from me and like right in front of you. Let me tell you, I almost committed a triple homicide on this plane.
Starting point is 00:03:51 I'm dead serious. And, and. Oh, I don't. And I'll tell you what, as well, if I had actually been in their row, I probably would have swung on someone. That was the most disgusting and nefarious. You fake the flinch, you know? You fake the sleep flinch.
Starting point is 00:04:13 Oh, yeah. Pretend his reactionary. Knock the fucking kid out. Dude. They're like, oh, sir, sorry. That was the most disgusting and nefarious behavior I've ever seen in my fucking life by a human child and then the parents. And shame
Starting point is 00:04:31 on the fucking parents, dude. honest to God, if I was in that row, I would have definitely said something. I try to be, my biggest, I am captain travel. I've said it on the pod. I've said it on the Instagram before. Like, I know how to travel and look like a dignified human being. And I try to pass on those lessons to all of you. And part of that is when someone's being a piece of shit on a plane like this kid and the parents, you just shut up. Don't add to the chaos. But if I had been sitting next to them on this red eye and that rat pig piece, of shit child was sitting next to me, I would have wrung its fucking neck and opened the emergency door and fired it out like a bag of trash down a shoot in an apartment building. I hate this kid
Starting point is 00:05:14 with the fire of a thousand sons and the fire of 2,000 sons is reserved for mom and dad because they didn't do fuck all. At one point the dad got up and brought their fucking scumbag banshee piece of shit child into the bathroom. And you said, which I loved. And you said never come out. You can never come out. Like it muffled... Flush him. Flush him. It muffled that demon child screaming by like 50% of volume. He should have
Starting point is 00:05:43 stuffed that fucking ugg-o kid in the toilet. Close the lid. Press flush. It was insane, dude. You have a plane full of people trying to, trying their damnedest to sleep on this red eye. And your howling, fuck-faced
Starting point is 00:05:58 child is just ruining everyone's life. And that one point this scumbag rat kid had the audacity to in the midst of wailing crying go like this literally he was screaming its head off and then stopped to cough and clear its throat and get back to work i was like are you perform is this performative dude it was you little pig crying it was fucking it was screaming for screaming sake dude when he paused to cough Dude, you know how when you're, when you're, this happens sometimes even when you're not on a red eye, but when your eyes are closed and you're just trying to sleep so hard, you're willing sleep into existence, but you can't and your eyes are closed and you won't open them. Because you're like, if I open them, it's over. If I just leave them closed, there's a chance I fall asleep. My eyes were closed. I was just like, this fucking motherfucker. I'm going to kill. I'm going to kill. I'm going to kill. I'm going to kill. I'm going to kill. This pig just, wet his throat. He said, hey, stewardess,
Starting point is 00:07:06 can I get some water? It was a girl. It was a little girl. Yeah, she played a tent. Can I get some water so I can wet my whistle so I can continue to fucking howl? Dude, well, you know, in Arsena development, when they're talking about Anyong, and they keep saying his name, and he's like, Anyon. And then Job
Starting point is 00:07:22 is like, somebody tells us on silence, this insufferable child. That's how I feel. I want this kid dead, dude. I want that kid dead. Never have we needed ancient Roman times more. Like bring me to ancient Greece and throw this piece of trash off the cliffs where it belongs. And where I say, listen, people always ask, who is this on? Is it on the child or is
Starting point is 00:07:47 on the parent? I think it is on the parent, first and foremost. But you can also acknowledge when you have a devil child, when you have a scumbag kid. And this little girl belongs in the deepest pits of hell for being such a just dog shit human. But when that plane landed, I said, at the very least, I demanded a public apology from both mother and father. I wanted them to stand up at the front of that plane and turn around to everybody and go, excuse me, folks, I apologize. I apologize for being such a bad and useless parent that I let this son of a bitch scream her head off
Starting point is 00:08:38 for five and a half hours of this red eye flight and I didn't do anything put they provide you with blankets on that plane wrap that blanket around that fucking kid's head like a mummy and stuff stuff the alcoholic sanitizing
Starting point is 00:08:54 wipe they hand you down its throat and shut this kid up well dude you said it there must be there must be like baby because I'm not I want it to be healthy here, but there must be baby like NyQuil or like baby. Give me baby Benadryl, dude.
Starting point is 00:09:09 Knock that kid out. There's got to be something. Knock it out. Get the funnel out. Get the funnel out and pull it down her throat, dude. That's insane. It was, and listen, everyone says, and I know we're going to get parents in the comments, singing their sob story.
Starting point is 00:09:25 Oh, you don't know how terrible it is. We feel way worse than anyone else. I believe that's the case with some of you. Clearly not with these two. Jamokes, they didn't give a shit. They didn't give a rats. They just let it keep going. What happened to society, dude?
Starting point is 00:09:39 What happened to challenging a man to a duel? What happened to make people pay for their sins? You just ruined the day. Not just the flight today. Everyone's day's ruined because they couldn't get any shut eye because your helion wouldn't shut its stupid trap. If they said, we're going to open the back hatch of the plane and you and the dad had to Air Force One style fight.
Starting point is 00:10:05 And if you win, Great scenario. It's kicked out and the kid is kicked out. The whole family is sent out the back. But if he wins, you are dead. You are sent out the back and are dead. I will duel you right now. Chris, Chris, I would have willingly
Starting point is 00:10:20 bare-knuckle fought to the death and sentenced a married couple and their young infant child to death by hard ground for the sake of the rest of the 250-plus people on that flight. For two more hours of sleep. Just let me sleep, dude. Let me sleep. I'm telling you, brother, we are coddling kids
Starting point is 00:10:39 too much these days. Like, what happened to just a stern the finger? Point the finger in the kid's face and go, if you don't shut the hell up, Santa Claus will never come to this house again. Threaten them. Threaten that kid. What if he
Starting point is 00:10:54 grabbed her and put her face, stomach down on his lap, pulled her pants down, and then bare bottom started spank. her in front of everybody on the plane. What was she? Chris, I think, I think that that would have made things exponentially worse. So I don't like, I can't even think about the decimal level she might have hit, dad. And then also, we're now watching a father spank the bare bottom of his young child on a plane. And I don't think that would have helped anyone. Dude, people, there would have been an uproar. Someone would have got so mad about that. Here's question for you. Imagine the flight attendant
Starting point is 00:11:28 running down the island going, sir, put your daughter's pants back up. You go, sir, we have chloroform. Like, just use this. You know, just an anchor. Knock the daughter out. We're coddling kids. We're coddling kids too much. Well, you said under six can't fly.
Starting point is 00:11:43 I actually think that it's kid to kid and you have to pass a test of some kind where you would then get a, you were given a certificate that you travel with, like a passport, where You're like, they go, how old is that, how old is that baby? And you go, four. And they go, do you have your certificate? Yeah. And I'm talking like this kid. The no scream certificate.
Starting point is 00:12:05 Yes, dude. And this kid has been put through shit, like pressure changes in its ear. Yeah. And like dark, like, I want it to be like fucking haunted house. Yeah. Fucking epilepsy warning. And if the kid goes through it. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:12:19 Dude, fucking tight straight jacket. You're stuck in your seatbelt, pal. You're no moving, dude. There's a screen. And bluey, they don't have. have Bluey. It's over. They only have fucking Lord of the Rings. All of them. Put it on.
Starting point is 00:12:31 This is a more diplomatic solution. I want harder consequences these days. I've said it before. We talk about you want to get steroids out of baseball. Make it a lifetime ban. You want to stop people doing petty theft. Bring back the fucking firing squad, pal.
Starting point is 00:12:47 Whatever happened to a good old fashion hanging. Whatever happened to a good old fashion electric chair because you stole someone's horse down the street. You want get rid of these bad things, implement consequences. No more crying kids on planes. It's unacceptable. And here's the thing. When I have kids, I will legitimately never put their ass on a plane. Ever. Ever. Until they turn six. I'm going to go, hey, here's a babysitter. Me and mom are going on vacation. You can sit your ass in front of the iPod, you squealing pig. Yeah. Because you were
Starting point is 00:13:18 going to ruin my vacation anyway. All you're going to ruin vacation is ruin the whole trip. You're going to ruin my flight and everyone else's. It's these kids, man, they got to be given, I'm not, listen, I'm not, we could sit here and we could talk about bringing a good old-fashioned belt and a good old-fashioned backhand. I'm not saying that. Yeah. I'm not saying, threaten them, threaten them with things they don't know yet. They believe in Santa. Tell them Santa's not coming. If any kids are in the car, sorry, pause, pause. Santa's real. Santa's very real. Well, he's not coming because they're crying on planes. He's real. He's just not coming because they're crying on planes. Exactly. Santa won't come if you keep crying on a plane. Dan, there's, there's,
Starting point is 00:13:55 There's, I think the consequence should be monetary. Like if you bring your kid on a plane, because you go, I got my scream certificate. He's fine. And then he wails, or she wails, like a banshee. You now have to pay for our tickets, everybody else on the plane, which is a significant spend. That's too much.
Starting point is 00:14:19 That will bank, sorry. No. That's the risk, Dan. You want to stop crying. Then they're not coming. Then they're not flying. Yeah, you better. would be damn confident.
Starting point is 00:14:27 Damn confident in your kid if you're going to bring them on that flight. And personally, Dan, I don't think it's a zero. I don't think it's a zero game. Like, you know how if you're underage and if you blow a point on one? Like, I think there's a, the kid can make some noises. But we need to figure out the line. Can we roll play, actually? Can we roll play?
Starting point is 00:14:45 Yeah, yeah, yeah, do it. Let's do it. Let's try. Okay. I'm a baby. I'm a baby in the middle seat in row eight. Okay. And I'm in eight. B and you are in 8d the aisle across the row.
Starting point is 00:14:59 8D aisle across the row and you're in the middle of C. Okay, am I trying to sleep? Yep. Okay. And what's the scenario here? Like, do I eventually have to like ring a bell when I think enough is enough? Yeah. And was your policy red eye only or is it any flight?
Starting point is 00:15:14 Listen, I want it. Banchying and it's like noon. I don't mind really genuinely. If it's a business hours flight and a baby starts crying, I really don't care unless it goes on for like an hour plus. Then I'm like, dude, this is just torture. But like if a baby starts crying here and there, or a kid starts crying here and there,
Starting point is 00:15:33 frankly, it's the kids that piss me off. A baby crying, I'm like, that's a baby, dude. Well, what is that baby supposed to do? But once you're... Yeah, like once you're... One and a half, that's still kind of a baby. Once you're two, I'm done.
Starting point is 00:15:51 If words are coming out of your mouth, this little fuck was speaking words. And that's why I was like, I hate you. If you were speaking a language, then yeah, it's bad. Okay, ready? So what's the scenario? Am I ringing a call bell when I think enough is enough? Yeah, it's a red eye.
Starting point is 00:16:07 Okay, all right. Yeah, here we go. Hold on. That's not too much. Hold on, keep going. Okay. Hold on. That's too much.
Starting point is 00:16:33 Yeah, yeah. Yeah, hi, sorry. Please, yeah, just go ahead and throw that baby off the plane. No, no, no, we're paying. We're paying. your flight. I'm sorry. I know I'm, yeah, I understand I'm being compensated. Please throw that baby off the plane.
Starting point is 00:16:46 Yeah. You're the emergency door right there? Just throw it out. Or the toilet. Toilots fine, too. Thank, yeah. Thank you so much. Okay. Roll play number two. Okay. I want, I want, I want, I want, I want Bluie. Uh, no, son. It's the red eye and no, ever, we can't have the TV on. I want Bluie. Uh, no, the, we, we can watch Bluey. We said screen time was enough. Bluey, Bluey. Bluey, son, stop.
Starting point is 00:17:14 Okay. Okay. Well done, dad. Well done dad. Okay. Because here's the thing on that one. Dad tried the whole time. Yep, yep.
Starting point is 00:17:32 Immediate request for Bluey. Dad was like, no, listen, we're going to sleep. Well done, dad. And it didn't get too loud. It didn't get too long. No, listen, I was noticing. I was noticing. Okay, here's my last one.
Starting point is 00:17:45 Go play number three. Last roleplay. and this is just like this is a non-talking child. This is like a six month year old. And it's just this. But Dan, it's the whole time, okay?
Starting point is 00:17:58 And I'm just trying to sleep. Yeah, it's just this the whole time. Packages by Expedia. You were made to occasionally take the hard route to the top of the Eiffel Tower. We were made to easily bundle your trip. Expedia made to travel.
Starting point is 00:18:20 What's that noise? Okay. All right. Hold, I keep going. This one I do. This is what I do. Just shut. Just shut.
Starting point is 00:18:52 Shut. Shut. Dude. I don't think you get compensated anymore if you kill it, though. Taking care of. Situation taken care of. Dude, I don't look away. Everyone look away.
Starting point is 00:19:04 I don't think you get compensated for your ticket anymore if you kill it, though. I think they're like, you are going to jail. And then you're all. So not being refunded for your plate ticket. Yeah. And that's okay. Toast. Toast.
Starting point is 00:19:24 Had to do it. Got too intense. I get it. Got too intense. I get it. Well, listen. That was a lot. We made it here.
Starting point is 00:19:36 But no thanks to that kid. And I'm saying something needs to change. But the things to celebrate, it is September. which means meaningful hockey is back in our lives. So we're going to kick it to some tiers real quick. We decided to do a preseason tiering of NHL teams. We're going to kick it to that. We're hanging out in the bar.
Starting point is 00:19:57 We're going to get our tears ripped up. And we'll see where your favorite team lands. So what do you say, CP? Let's kick it to the tiers of the NHL teams. Let's do it. I'm ready. Babes, you know by now that we are teamed up with BetMGM, the number one sports book in the world.
Starting point is 00:20:12 and we've got action flying galore. We've got NFL back, baby. We are so back, it is unbelievable. As you were listening to this episode, the Eagles are kicking off against the Dallas Cowboys. So you're getting in on all of that NFL action. As you've heard me say, European football is back.
Starting point is 00:20:32 That is my absolute favorite. We got Premier League ripping. You know I'm going to be hitting all these Chelsea bets every single weekend. We do have an international break this weekend, though, so don't worry about that. But that means you get to focus on baseball, which means you get to focus on big fly Friday. You pick any player in the MLB to hit
Starting point is 00:20:47 a home run on Friday. And if they go Yad and theirs is the longest dinger on that Friday, you get put in a pot to win 50K. Unbelievable. And if you sign up right now with promo code netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, you can bet up to $1,500. And if you lose it all, it goes right back into your account. 1500 smackers of bonus bets when you sign up with that promo code netters, Do it today and get on board. Gambling problem? Call 1-800 gambler available in the U.S. Call 8778-N-Y or text Hope NY
Starting point is 00:21:18 4667-369 in New York. Call 1-800-3-2-0-0-0-0-Masachusetts. 218-1,000, please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800-in-AWest off in Iowa. 1,500-9-8-1-0-23 in Puerto Rico. First bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Starting point is 00:21:29 Bonus bets are non-withdrawable, in partnership with Kansas crossing casino and hotel. See bed-mGM.com for terms. U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico. It's the summer months, and we're talking NHL. it is time to tier rank NHL teams heading into
Starting point is 00:21:42 this season. Do you want to go bottom up or good question? Good question. Pop down. I think we can just kind of go team. Let's go team by team. Just tier them up. Wow, I love that. We're going to go team by team. Let's go alphabetically, I think. Okay, okay. I like that. I like that. I like that. I like that. I like that. Let me see here. Let's get let's get the NHL.com up here. And let's get our teams.
Starting point is 00:22:07 you do it I actually know exactly how I want to do this, okay? Start with the Anaheim Ducks. All right, Anaheim Ducks. We've got S-A-B-C-D-F. Going into this year, I will not go lower than C.
Starting point is 00:22:29 I think the Ducks are making the playoffs. And when we're, I'm also talking about their future. Yeah. I'm going B. B? No, I think the ducks are a C-tier team to start. We just got to put them here, dude. Are there?
Starting point is 00:22:43 Okay, to start? Yeah. Okay, to start. The ducks are C-tier. But I want it, I want it. But they're on the bubble, dude. I want it heard. They're on the bubble, 100%.
Starting point is 00:22:52 Okay. 100%. Boston Bruins up next, I feel like C-tier is probably right around where I want them to be. Because here's the deal. Could they be D? They could be D, but the problem is they've got, they've got All-Stars. Yeah. They have pasta and Sway and Charlie.
Starting point is 00:23:06 They have pasta sway and Charlie. Geekies buzzing. They just drafted Hagen's. They've got a new coach. Forgot about Hagan. They've got a lot of picks now. I think C. I'm going C.
Starting point is 00:23:18 Higgins is about to be a fucking superstar. I completely agree. Buffalo Sabers, I hate to do it, brother. Do it, Dan. I genuinely think we might be talking to F here. And by the way, not to get ahead of our skis, but we don't have to like fill everything evenly distributed. Like I in fact think, and you can push back on me later,
Starting point is 00:23:38 but I in fact think there is literally one S-tier team in the league. Wow. You know, I don't think there's going to be many teams up there. Yeah, I like that. So we don't need a lot of Fs. So if there's someone worse than the Sabres... There might only be one or two F teams. Like, I don't know that we need to kill the Sabres just yet.
Starting point is 00:23:54 But at the same time, it doesn't make sense. They have so many good players. I know. We just said about the B's. They have All-Stars. D. D. D. Talley. Tage is going to score 50 fucking goals.
Starting point is 00:24:04 Let's go D. Let's go D because for how much talent they have, it is unforgivable. How poor they are. Saver is a D tier. Calgary Flames. Interesting one here. I love a lot of guys on this team. They keep missing playoffs.
Starting point is 00:24:21 It looks like they're about to lose Raz. But have Wolf, though. They do have Wolf. They do have weeks. You know? They do have Zeri. So maybe, like, dude, they actually were really surprising to me last year. I know.
Starting point is 00:24:34 But are we going to say, that they're better than the ducks, they're better than the Bruins. They're better than the Bruins. Yeah, and didn't, like, wasn't last year? Can we show Calgary some love here, Throne B?
Starting point is 00:24:45 Last year, they finished tied with the blues. They're right in the middle. And the ducks were 16 points behind them. We were like, the ducks are so close to the playoffs. Like, I think we minimum have to go see. I would go B. I said, yeah, that's right where we're living.
Starting point is 00:25:02 Blames. B tier. We're by, Even with them losing Anderson, which is about to happen. Yeah, yeah. We're going B. I like that. Damn, I like that too.
Starting point is 00:25:10 I love that as well. Okay, moving on from Calgary, we got the Carolina Hurricanes. I'll tell you what, pal, if this ain't S, it's A. Oh, interesting. It's an A lock for me. A lock, and I don't think I hate to do it because I love the man. I do love the man. I can't give them S because of Freddie Anderson.
Starting point is 00:25:28 Yeah. I also would like a little bit better on Second Line Center. Yeah. I think is not in the car. But they have done, and I don't mean this in a negative way to portray what might happen, but they have done, and they did it way smarter. Yeah. But they have done what the Predators did last summer where I was like, oh boy. You know, and obviously that blew up for Nashville.
Starting point is 00:25:49 Yeah. This I'm like, this is exciting. The construction of this team and also the way they navigated the Miko Raton and nonsense. Dude, we've said this ad nauseum, but I could not emphasize it hard enough. Love the Carolina Hurricanes. I'm going A. I'm going A for now. They're in A and they're knocking on the door of an S. Yep. We might revisit that at the end of this video.
Starting point is 00:26:10 Chicago Blackhawks F. Not even close for me. I think everything about them is that locker room is an absolute disaster. Although they did just extend Frank to a great deal. Yes. And couldn't they be better this year? Like I think Bedsie would be like hopefully not as hurt and just past the like the sophomore is always a weird year in the NHL.
Starting point is 00:26:30 Yeah. So he's past that. Plus, hopefully a bit of an attitude change. And you're kind of getting, they have all these fucking young prospects that haven't been playing. And now I'm like, here you go. Frank's new contract, I think he's going to be like, dude, I'm a star on this team now. Now you've got guys. I think they'll be going up.
Starting point is 00:26:43 But listen, if we're going to put someone in F, it is the Hawks for me. So sorry, Blackhawks, you're still Klon. Colorado Avalanche, this one's very interesting. Big Olifson signing. Oh, yes. Honestly, love. Yeah. Love that in their bottom six.
Starting point is 00:26:59 I want to go A for sure. I think Avs fans are going to lose their fucking collective marbles if they're not A. I was just going to say, I genuinely don't believe they have an argument for S. I think any ask you, I think you are high as a kite, Avs fans, if you think you belong to last year. So I'm going A and there's a chance that they are a B tier. I think they're B. I think there be I discussed this on hockey talk the other day
Starting point is 00:27:32 I think this team is still drunk off of their stand they are bow and byro they're still drunk off their stand with a victory and they're like we're a contender but they're like we are a top two contender every single year you can barely get past the first round every fucking year and I'm telling you I think
Starting point is 00:27:48 every season they've got these guys buzzing they're so good Landy is back that is huge yes but they run into these good teams in the playoffs and they lose and they go well, we're only one one away, and I'm like, I don't give a shit. You still lost. I think that their defense and goaltending.
Starting point is 00:28:04 Yeah. I love the woods, but I also don't think the woods are dense enough. I think that they've been. It's pine. They have been killed by Hexas. Yep. God. For a gully reference.
Starting point is 00:28:17 I think that they, I'm happy to put them A. No, no. I think that they're literally, like, they're getting pushed off. Their heels are on the ledge of A, about to drop down with. around. Let's go B and we'll revisit. Wow, you're going to give me B. We're going to go B and revisit. Okay, we'll revisit. Columbus Blue Jackets. Love this team. Me too. I absolutely love this team. And there, I would say there's an argument that we made about the flames.
Starting point is 00:28:45 If we're going flames at B, I think we have to go Columbus at B. That's what I'm saying. They are, no disrespect. They are a pretty solid goal tender away from a lock playoff team as far as I'm concerned. But wasn't that maybe lightning in a bottle last year? I think that there's... Couldn't they, if they regress, would you be like, oh my God? No, I would not. I would not. There's a chance that they were riding
Starting point is 00:29:11 on highs. Yeah. But I love the way... Again, they've got so many great young players who are only getting better. Carrill came out, blew everyone's tits off last year. I think B, I think we can go see, and I want a heavy revisit on that. Well, I think we have to put them B for now if the flames are B.
Starting point is 00:29:27 were, well, they were five spots below the flames and the sandings. They finished 20th. Yeah, but just conference-wise, though, like flames and Blue Jackets, first team out. Flames tied with points, blue jackets, two points back, same amount of wins. You know, I'm like, I'm going B. I'm going to B for now. I like it. The Dallas Stars. This is a pretty easy A for me. I think they're a great team. I think they have studs everywhere. Yeah. I think they have a better, a better roster than the avalanche who we were saying is like clean to me at jay i think that i think that they do too i i agree like if i know that they fucking every fucking year here we go again and like the windows closing and stuff but they they have i don't know how many times we have to say this the roster composition
Starting point is 00:30:12 with the guys that they've built in the pipeline and jd jd says it to us all the time they're not tough enough and probably true like they got they got bullied by the oilers and they got what they would have got their fucking brains bashed in nigan style against the panthers it's true they got issues but that is an A team in this league. They are, I think they are worse than last year, which is tough because of losing Grandin. And also you've got Ben and Sagan a year older, but you've got a full season of Miko Ranton,
Starting point is 00:30:42 you've got a little bit older Wyatt Johnston, older Jason Robertson, you know, I think it's hard not to say. I am disappointed in you, Dallas, though. I want it very clear. I am disappointed. 100%. Detroit Red Wings.
Starting point is 00:31:03 I want them be... And I'm sorry. But you're a C. However, Gibson, amazing edition. I'm thrilled about that, amazing addition. That's going to get them better. But as a massive Detroit Red Wings stand,
Starting point is 00:31:15 I'm the biggest Dylan Larkin guy in the hockey world, it times up. Playoffs, or get the fuck out. Dude, we said that last year. We said that last year. No, no, no, no, no. We did not say playoffs or get the fuck up.
Starting point is 00:31:28 we were like, you gotta want to be in it. It wasn't get the fuck out. It wasn't. Yeah, it was playoffs or you're in fucking probation. Yes, and you're in probation. Now it's playing. You're on probation. And because of that, you have been given a seat.
Starting point is 00:31:37 You're on a PIP. Dude, uh, yes, this is correct. And that's all I have to say about that. Edmonton Oilers. Interesting one here. Because they have, you could field, I honestly think that Leon Drysidal and Connor McDavid could join
Starting point is 00:31:58 our beer league team. And we would make the NHEL playoffs. And we would be an A on the tiers. Yeah. Because I'm like, they're that good. Those two guys are literally that good. Obviously, we think there's work to be done on the goaltending front, whether it's in-house and they get it together or they bring someone in.
Starting point is 00:32:16 Obviously, we have been a little critical of the money distribution for an Evan Bouchard and those three guys. What's to see what happens with Connor. But, man, every year, or the last two years, I feel like that team has flaws, and they don't. They don't have quite enough to get past the Panthers, but fuck, who does? You know what I'm saying? Yeah.
Starting point is 00:32:37 I don't want to knock the Oilers for saying. You couldn't beat the Panthers. Yeah, the Panthers are insane. Well, they fucking beat everyone else, including plenty of teams that everybody, well, a lot of people, including me, thought were better than them. Yeah. And they handled them. So I'm like, if I'm tearing teams, if I'm looking at the fucking stars in A,
Starting point is 00:32:53 and I'm like, the Oilers ragdoll the star. Ragdoll. Every fucking time they play them. So I'm like, yeah, half you. to be an A. Yeah, to me is, like, weirdly I would say it's, it's S or A, but I, like, I am like, well, no, B can be considered here too. I know it's weird. They lost Connor Brown. They did bring in, um, Mangiopone. They brought in Curtis Lazar, Isaac Howard, but they've had a weird move. I forgot about that. But again, like, Isaac Howard, people are boosting Isaac Howard so much.
Starting point is 00:33:18 We have no idea what Isaac Howard is going to be. Uh, they didn't address the goalie situation. So I don't know. Connor lingering. They had a weird summer. They've had a weird summer. It's an A for me. It has to be an A. It's an A for me. It's an A. Florida Panthers, S, move on. One team in the league, I think.
Starting point is 00:33:36 Literally. S move on and it's not even a question. After the most savage summer of all time, too. Like, in terms of how did this happen? Like, how are they locked up? S move on. I genuinely think they are the best constructed roster of the last 30 fucking years. They say healthy.
Starting point is 00:33:51 It's bad. The Los Angeles Kings. B or C here? Yeah. And I think I want to go be. because of the way they played the regular season last year, but the playoffs, man, were very discouraging. Kick in the dick.
Starting point is 00:34:05 You lost to a Stanley Cup final team, Western Conference Champions, but you lost in horrific fashion. I got to go be, though. Just looking at the teams where we have them right now, like I think the Kings, I mean, Christ, the ducks could come up, but I think the Kings are... You locked up Coosie.
Starting point is 00:34:21 Better than the Flames and the Blue Jackets. You locked up Coosie. You got Corey Perry and Joel Armia in here. You brought in Cody Sisi on a four-year deal. Brian Dumlin on a three-year deal. A lot of vets on the D-Corps now. This team is better or worse? You lost Jordan Spence.
Starting point is 00:34:42 Insane. Inane. Ken Holland, what is going on? Yeah. But I do think this team is still a B. Very hard to score against. They're going to continue to be that. I think you lost Gaborikov, which was fucking B.
Starting point is 00:34:55 I know. I'm going B, though. I think B, there's a chance we're being generous. Yep. But I think B revisit. Minnesota Wild. Ooh. Maybe B.
Starting point is 00:35:12 But I think they want to be A, dude. I think they're like, they're trying to get the abs down. They're pulling the abs legs off the A shelf and trying to climb up their body and get into the A slot themselves. I know we have abs in B right now, but I'm saying that's kind of in the limbo. I think they're, I think they're B. I think it's crazy to think that they have a conversation. You know, they finished 13th last year. Okay.
Starting point is 00:35:36 I don't think they did much, right? You know, Teresenko. That's great. But good point. I just think they were on pace. Like before Crowe got hurt, they were like, we are the one seed. He's MVP. They're nasty.
Starting point is 00:35:49 You know, like, I think in another universe, the Wild are a one seed last year. Yeah. God, I can't wait to watch Boy Unplay. B, and I think they're, I think that's respectable. Yep. The Montreal Canadiens. They have earned a B. They have earned a B.
Starting point is 00:36:07 They've earned a B. They've earned a B. Yeah. I mean, if the fucking blue jackets and flames would be, the Habs are a B. Like the Habs. No doubt. Like the Habs are, I mean, I think they're flirting with A, pal. No, not yet. I think, but that's why I said flirt.
Starting point is 00:36:19 Yeah. I think they're flirting with it. They're making, they're making fuck-me-eyes at it. And I think people need to understand that. You know what is really funny? when you think of the HABs and think about how young they are, you would think that they have tons of cap space and they're up against it and you, everyone forget,
Starting point is 00:36:38 like one more year, but that fucking 10.5, that 10.5 carry price. Dagger. That is a, imagine how good this team would be. Dude, if they had 10.5 mil. Imagine how fucking good they would be if they had 10 more million to spend. Soon, soon, soon. They're beat this year.
Starting point is 00:36:51 And the way that they, dude, credit to that goddamn organization with Hughes, with St. Louis, the way that they're, getting these sick fucking players to sign for less than 8 mil. God damn. Fantastic. B, again, goo-go-go-go-eyes at A. Yeah. Go-go-eyes at A.
Starting point is 00:37:08 The Nashville Predators. Mm. This, for me, is going to be our first, no, our second D. I think. Unfortunately, I think they have to go there, but I'm still so delusional about them. Yeah, you are. This year, this year it's going to be good. You are.
Starting point is 00:37:28 But fucking hell. I look at that goddamn team and, you know, they, they, similar to Boston, we're like, they got All-Stars. This team has Forsberg, Yossi and Soros. Like they have, in every position, they have great stuff. And yeah, you've got 35-year-old Stamcoast, 34-year-old Marshall-year-old Ryan O'Reilly, didn't get it done last year. Just not genuine.
Starting point is 00:37:52 And after that, it's like Michael Bunting. It's like you're like you know It's a pretty steep drop off after those four And three of those four are getting pretty old So yeah D I love the addition of Hague I love that I like Perbix on this team too
Starting point is 00:38:10 But you're going D But that's a prove it D That's like a hey you guys were dickheads last year Yep Let's see what you can do New Jersey Devils Oh Fuck
Starting point is 00:38:26 This one's What's fucked is I want to go A. And I don't, I don't, I don't hate you for that. I want to go A, but I know currently Kings and Avalanche fans are like, what, dude? Yeah, we have abs at B right now. But I kind of want to go A. I mean, the devil's. Markstrom, nasty.
Starting point is 00:38:47 We need health. We need health. We were saying last year, Devil's Dallas, Stanley Cup final would be electric. Then Jack dies and it's all over. I need it. I need it. Give me A. Do we think, I mean, their roster's phenomenal.
Starting point is 00:39:04 But Jack, after his 99 point year, he needs health, dude. If this fucking guy who is a top player in the league, but if he doesn't stay healthy and perform, we're now in a, you're never doing it, dude. You did it once. It does suck how much that hurt them, too. Oh, horrible. Obviously, he's that good, but you'd like to think we could just be okay, and it was like, you're dead.
Starting point is 00:39:27 But there's, to me, God, I love Connor Brown on that team. I forgot about that. Give me A, dude. I don't know if I can give them a. We're going A. We're going A. Wow. Okay, fine.
Starting point is 00:39:38 That's crazy, but fine. New York Islanders. A C for me, I think. I think that's right. And I think that they are the epitome of C. Yeah. I think, you know, what did they finish last year? Like, I got you.
Starting point is 00:39:55 15, 16, or, Jesus. 23. Tough. Yep. Their roster is... 35, 35 and 12. Yeah. They are the epitone of C. C. C. C. C. I love Schaefer, though.
Starting point is 00:40:10 Thrilled. Yeah. I'm thrilled. I like what they, you know, Eiserman, too. Like, I like what's going on there. See? And I won't even discuss lower. Yeah. Islanders, I like the future. New York Rangers. I think right there with them.
Starting point is 00:40:25 See? I think that's right. You guys are also living. in this middle ground of just, what are we doing? You're the Bruins. You're the Bruins. You're the Bruins. You're the Bruins and C. You've got Chesty. You've got Fox. You've got Panarin. And Laffey. But Panarin's older. And yeah, I think you're, I think you are also the epitome of C. Yeah. I think that is right. And I'm, I'm actually excited to watch them this
Starting point is 00:40:48 year because if they are awesome this year, I will be, the funniest narrative is that we hate the Rangers. And it's only because we hate your guy's perception of the Rangers. If people would just go like this. Lafey's got some spark. I'm excited. I think he can be good. I'd be like this. I agree. Because I do. It's just the Laffey's a 120 point guy and you're so dumb that I'm like, okay. What's wrong with you guys? So I'm like, I'm excited to watch the Rangers is here. Uh, Ottawa senators, to me, this is a, I got a stamp, right? Mm-hmm. B. Really? Yeah. You think A? No, no, no, no. I thought maybe there was C talk there. Are you out of your mind? Are you outside your mind? I thought maybe it was going to be a C, a hard C plus.
Starting point is 00:41:31 No way, this team's fantastic. Hard C plus. This team's fantastic. Tim Stutzler, Brady Cucuck, Dylan Cousins, Drake Batherson, Bathman. They got Zetterland, don't forget last year. Shane Pinto, our fucking boy. And then you got Sandy, you got Chabby, you got Zubb on the defensive end, you got Omark and net.
Starting point is 00:41:51 They made the playoffs last year. They almost upset the Maple Leafs. They almost took them to seven. You're right. This team's fantastic. B. Yep. And we said, Montreal's making fuck me eyes at A. Yeah. I think, I think Ottawa's blowing kisses at A. Yeah. They're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're a fantastic and exciting team. The Philadelphia Flyers. D. D. Uh, see? Maybe D. I don't think I can go D. But I think C. The Flyers also, you look at their contract structure. It's fantastic. And they've got some fun guys. Like, you get Tippett at 6.2 mill come on. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:42:30 I think Sanny's amazing. I think Cam York is amazing. I need, God, their defense, or their goaltending. Yeah, right. The Fed. Come on, Fed. Do your job. They got Vlodar.
Starting point is 00:42:44 Oh, yeah. And like, you know, I love D. Let's go see. I think C, and also, you know, like Mitchcoff's great. This is a man. I like how they're drafting. I'm interested in this team. So C, and I think that's good.
Starting point is 00:43:00 Yep. The Pittsburgh Penguins. Oh, fuck. To me... I think you have to maybe go D. Wow. Really? So long as Sydney Crosby breathes oxygen on this planet,
Starting point is 00:43:15 can we possibly put them as a D? But people forget, 24th in the league last year. They're bad. I know, dude. They're bad. Every fucking D makes playoffs. And did they get worse? You know, like that's the real conversation that we have to have here.
Starting point is 00:43:29 Are the Pittsburgh Penguins worse than that? they once were. Well, then last year, you mean? Yes. I'm hard pressed to put the Flyers at C and the Penguins at D. If I'm looking at the trajectory of the two teams, the Flyers are in a much better spot. Agree.
Starting point is 00:43:50 And what did they, they finished three, five spots away from each other? Flyers 29th, Pittsburgh 24th. I think that's fair. If the Flyers are C, can Pittsburgh possibly be D? I don't think so. I don't think so either because Sidney Crosby, Liz. Yeah. C. Sydney C. C for the cat. They have to be a C.
Starting point is 00:44:08 San Josei sharks. They should be... It's tricky because it's the vibes. It's A, obviously. The vibes are A. But they're still bad. Yes. They are... They are not good. I think you have to go D. Yeah. In terms of competing this year, if I'm looking at the league, I'm like, you are a D.
Starting point is 00:44:30 Yeah, like they're... They got Jeff Skinner in the group now. You love that. you could talk me into a C. You got Grundy, you got Ryan Reeves there now. Orlov's there now. Orlov's there now. Orlov Letty and Klinberg, dude. Like they just brought in, get to that cat floor. Are you trying to talk me to C or do you want D?
Starting point is 00:44:51 No, they have to be a D. I think so. They have to be a D, but vibes are the biggest A plus you have ever seen. The Seattle Cracket. Ooh. Massively disappointing last year. Yeah, last two, I would all. Massively disappointing last year.
Starting point is 00:45:08 Finished 27th in the league last year. I almost want to go fucking D there. I... They have a lot of guys. Big year for Baneers. We need Baneers to step up. I want to see McCann get back to that place that he once was. Caco was very interesting.
Starting point is 00:45:27 Oh, yeah. Don't forget they got Mason Marchman. Can slide into a top six roll. Be very solid. See? I think D dude I think we're being too generous Like this team
Starting point is 00:45:38 I like some of the moves they made I love Philip Grubauer But this team again 27th last year You have to show me something And like I don't think their injuries Were that bad Yeah I agree
Starting point is 00:45:49 They were just bad Yep And I I So they're getting pee-p-wacked Yep A Pee-P-Wack D Uh St. Louis Blues
Starting point is 00:45:58 Ooh I think you gotta go B. Out of respect. They made the playoffs. They made a run at it. They made the playoffs. Monty's there.
Starting point is 00:46:11 Yeah, I actually feel good about B. I think that there B, but I don't think it's like a lock B. Me neither. But just looking at where we have other teams right now, I'm like the Blues are a B team and they're going to be in the mixer. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:46:25 There's another one where like if they regress. I think actually with Monty, I would be shocked. They're getting Broberg back. That Broberg injury was brutal. the way Cam Fowler performed. But I do, people have been talking about their defense for years. Tori Kruggs, obviously, that's a devastating blow. But Justin Falk's kind of showing his age.
Starting point is 00:46:44 Perako's still great, but no, he's still great. I'll give a B, but I think that's generous, to be pretty honest. They're getting a Monty B as far as that. Yeah, exactly. Tampa Bay Lightning. I want to go A. and I think I have to revisit some other teams. In fact, I know I do, but I think I want to go A for Tampa.
Starting point is 00:47:11 I think they kind of have to be A for me. This team has Nikita Kutrov, Braden Point, Jake Gensel, Brandon Hagle, Anthony Sorrelli, all in their team. Like that, come on. Like, this is a very good team. Yeah. They've got Connor Geeky coming up as well. And yeah, they've got Headman, they've got McDonough still. Let's go A.
Starting point is 00:47:33 I think A. I think it has to be A. Toronto Maple Leafs. I'm going A. Have to be A. I don't care about Mitch Martin. Me neither. I think they have to be A.
Starting point is 00:47:44 Utah Mammoth. Ooh. Disappointing season. Oh. Finished what? And everyone's got them. Everyone's the projections last year were so good. The projections this year are so good.
Starting point is 00:47:58 But I kind of feel like you have to go see. Utah Mammoth finished 19th. Not terrible. I would hear a B. No, I think C is pretty spot on. Yeah. But again, love J.J. Petirka on this team. No, that's an exciting team.
Starting point is 00:48:15 It was exciting last year. Injuries kind of derailed. Love J.J. Petirka on this team. Dylan Gunther was a fucking weapon last year. They've got such a good contract structure, too. They've got Peturca, Clayton Keller, and Gunther, right? 23, 27, 22, respectively. 7.7, 7.15, 7.15, 7.14.
Starting point is 00:48:35 Yeah. All signed at least. until 2028. I mean, pretty special stuff. Surgachev, Jersey, both healthy. C.
Starting point is 00:48:46 Mm-hmm. But they want to make playoffs. Yep. And I like that about them. Vancouver Canucks. Best are coming back, monstrous. B.
Starting point is 00:48:58 B? Yeah. Really. What do you think? I think I would have gone C, probably. I just think they're better than, like, is Demko going to play?
Starting point is 00:49:10 I don't know, but like... He signed a contract. He fucking better play. If they're giving him an extension... I just think they're better than the wings and the Rangers and the Bruins and the Islander. They should be.
Starting point is 00:49:20 If Elias Pedersen has a big year, Brock Bethers... Besser is healthy as a big year. They've got a Vander Cain in there now. God knows how that's going to work. You got Quinn Hughes and Demco. They have Quinn Hughes and Filipronic. Marcus Pedersen's a great little player.
Starting point is 00:49:34 Let's go B. I'm okay with B. Let's go B. I'm okay with B. The Vegas Golden Knights. A. A. Locke. Are they S? Sounds crazy.
Starting point is 00:49:46 Got Marna. We didn't give Edmonton an S. Didn't give Carolina an S. Are they S? They get Marner. I mean, the Aden Hill is a question. They get Marner. They are down Patrangelo and they lost Hague.
Starting point is 00:49:59 Now I'm going A. Has to be A, right? I'm going A, yeah, yeah. Washington Capitals. I think they deserve an A, but God, they could be. The way they're, they played last year, finished top, second in the league, 111 points, phenomenal team performance, everything. I am not entirely sure that they, did they run on vibes? Did they record and shit?
Starting point is 00:50:32 You know, and like you also look at it. It's like you, I look at their, you know, Protas is so good. McMichael is so good Obviously you've got OVie You've got Dubois PLD who had a great year with them Wilson I think is one of the more important players in the world Chikrin was so disgusting Signs his new deal with them
Starting point is 00:50:54 I think Caps fans would go nuts If we don't go A Butt Or no but I don't think there's a but No but but I am going to tell you Caps fans Yeah be careful
Starting point is 00:51:08 You are you're teetering Be careful You just are, you're just on the A platform. Okay. And to finish us off, the Winnipeg Jets. They have to be A. I think they have to be A. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:51:19 Lost Eilers, that's brutal. But the Winnipeg Jets are an A. So, Dan, for me, I think... Show me what our tier looks like. S-tier, Panthers. A-tier. Cains, stars, oilers, devils, lightning, Leifes, Vegas, caps, jets.
Starting point is 00:51:39 A lot of the A-Tier. teams, I don't like the devil's on there. I really think that's crazy. I think the devils have to be bump down to B. Devils down to B. B tier. Devils, flames, avalanche, blue jackets, kings, wild, habs, sends, blues, canucks. I think the avalanche has to go out. Ah, yeah. Like, abs and devils were an obvious swap. Like when we were doing that, we were both drunk. But the abs, You're pee-waxed too. Oh, yeah. Avs and caps, I'm like, careful.
Starting point is 00:52:12 Yeah. Kings, you okay. Hold on. Give me that B one more time. Now, the abs are in A. Devils are in B. Devils, flames, blue jackets, kings, wild, habs, Sends, blues, Canucks.
Starting point is 00:52:26 Kings are, kings and devils fans are mad. Well, are mad? Yeah. No. Like, Kings, I actually think Kings fans are very self-aware. They are a B. Devil's fans, if you're saying you should be A, I think you need a recalibration as well. The big ones for me are the Canucks up here feels...
Starting point is 00:52:48 You want to go down? No, it just feels like they could certainly be a C. I love it. Okay, C tier. Canucks, ducks, Bruins, Red Wings, Islanders, Rangers, Flyers, Penguins, Mammoth. I think that's a fantastic. C tier. Could ducks go up? Oh, no, no, no, no. Flames and
Starting point is 00:53:10 blue jackets up there? The ducks... So what you said to me earlier about the blue jackets? Yeah. Would you be shocked if the ducks slip a little bit? No, but I'd be more shocked than I would have the blue jackets. I agree with that, but you wouldn't be
Starting point is 00:53:26 shocked, is what I'm saying. You'd be surprised. I want to put them in B. I think that's too much. I'm putting them in B. No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no. You cannot put the Anaheim Ducks They belong in B. Who finished 25th in the league last year. They belong in B.
Starting point is 00:53:42 I think they're going to be in B, but it's right now. We need to see them do it. Okay. D tier. Savers, Preds, Sharks, Cracken. Sounds about right. I think that sounds about right. F. Tier Hawks.
Starting point is 00:53:54 Yep. I think that there's some interesting ones here in the middle, but I feel like that's a good tier lock. And we're going to stand. buy it. Yep. Let us know what you think. Yep. Let us know in the comments. Feel free to roast us. Listen, if you're unhappy with those tears, sound off in the comments, but if you're unhappy with them, you're incorrect, because those tears were fucking perfect. I think they're perfect tears. I think they're absolutely perfect tears. I think those tears were fucking perfect.
Starting point is 00:54:23 So why don't you marinate on that? We're going to take an ad break, and then we'll be back. All right, I want to talk to you guys about the HOF app, because this thing has been a blast. You know, we got hockey right around the corner, but football's back. We're working with Dr. Locks. He's got me on all kinds of stuff. And he cooked up a parlay for me in the college football opening weekend. And I was rooting for Miami because I always want Miami to win. But he cooked up a parlay that had Notre Dame as the last leg.
Starting point is 00:54:50 And I got on board because it was a hedge and it was okay. And then you lose, right? I lose my parlay on the last leg happens every time. And now I've got the HOF app. And now this will never happen again because they have a parlay optimizer. And this is a game changer because it. it tells me which legs to keep, which ones to get rid of, and now I'm going to be hitting these things,
Starting point is 00:55:11 and I'm going to wind up on a beach. Dr. Locksson are going to be on a beach because of this. Okay? You know, the football is hard for me to watch the product's not good. I'm ready for in the NHL, but it's going to help me there too, all right? Because this, right before the game, five minutes before the game,
Starting point is 00:55:24 I know that if I haven't placed a bet, it doesn't matter because the HOF app is going to have me dialed, all right? It's got powerful analytics. They're right at your fingertips, and it's the go-to for building parlays, but doing all kinds of stuff. It improves your chances of winning by using data,
Starting point is 00:55:36 by using great. matchup grades, trends, highlights, insights. That's why it was awesome. It's H.UF app was created by Ivy League sports geeks. Okay?
Starting point is 00:55:45 I want Ivy League sports geeks helping me. That helps me become smarter. It's awesome. There's instant insights. It's so easy to use, by the way.
Starting point is 00:55:52 It's like, I don't need to know the math or the stats. HOF app is designed to be easy for me to use and I'm just a regular sports fan. I'm just a hockey guy, okay?
Starting point is 00:56:00 So for a limited time only, our listeners, not only get a seven-day free trial, but also they get 50% off their first month when they use code netters. That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S at checkout. So just download that HOF app on iOS or Android, enter that code netters, and you are all set.
Starting point is 00:56:18 We are back and we've got a special guest joining us. Straight from the land of the oil. Tyler Yeram-Chuk of Oilers Nation is coming on. Did I just say Nation? I think so. I kind of did. Oilers Nation. My bad.
Starting point is 00:56:35 Coming on the pod because here's the deal. It is September 3rd at the time of recording. It's September 4th when you guys are listening to this. But if you know the Oilers well, you know that September 3rd, 2024, is the date when Leon Drysidal signed his extension. And if you put your ear to the ground right now, there is no extension for Connor McDavid yet signed. I don't know. Does that say something? Does that say something, Chris?
Starting point is 00:56:59 What do you think? Maybe. Maybe. Maybe. So we figured it only makes sense to bring on an oiler's. Die Hard and Oilers expert, our good friend, Ty, joining us to talk. What is going on with Connor McDavid? Let's get him on right now.
Starting point is 00:57:15 Right now we are being joined by our number one favorite, Oilers expert, Tyler Yeramchuk of Oilers Nation, our good buddy. We wanted to bring you on specifically because do you know what this day a year ago, Marks? Yeah, it was the Leon Drysiddle Extension, and I was kind of hoping this would be the one-year anniversary of another big announcement from the Oilers. They did make a big announcement today, though. Their rookie game against the Calgary Flames is coming back. You got to love that cloak and dagger by the organization.
Starting point is 00:57:49 It's like you guys might have been looking for something, and this is exactly what it was, our rookie game. I have to ask you, did you buy into any of the Lauren McDavid Instagram story post from yesterday as well? Um, no, not really. I mean, it's so hard right now. And this is such a weird like contract negotiation to try read into like anything simply because like Connor McDavid's going to be given a blank check from the organization. Like whatever Connor wants, they'll give it to them. And listen, I think there's been a lot of behind the scene signs with the stuff him and Lauren do with Lauren's businesses in Emmettin. Like I, that's why I'm not, as an oilist fan, I'm not rattled by anything that goes on anywhere. Because I've always had the belief that this will get done. There's. zero reason for it to not get done. And I think McDavid and his family's roots are in Edmonton, him and Lauren that being. So, yeah, I'm fine with everything.
Starting point is 00:58:41 I think you're absolutely right. Also, this is one of the many reasons why you actually are our favorite Oilers fan, because you aren't a Sky Is Falling guy. You were the most look to the bright side guy I've ever met when it comes to the Oilers. And, Chris, if you're unaware, I do believe it was yesterday. Lauren had on her Instagram story some photo of like a dinner. and she was like, last time Connor cooked for me was eight years ago. And all these Oilers fans were on Twitter being like,
Starting point is 00:59:10 Lauren McDavid is talking about eight years. It's the day before, or it's one day before the anniversary of Leon's contract. This means an eight-year contract is coming. Like, people were losing their mind. I thought, Dan, it was going to be like a last supper. She was like, this is actually the last time I will ever think about us having dinner together as an Edmonton Oiler, and now we're signing somewhere else. It could have gone that way.
Starting point is 00:59:31 Well, there's another theory that people were running with, and I had some fun with it on my show today. Her and Celeste, Leon's now wife, posted that they had matching friendship rings that they got for each other. And people were like, this means they're staying together forever. And I was like, the theory was thrown around. Or did they have the emotional heart to heart that they're separating and the friendship rings are to keep them together? Anyways, we're fully in the loony bin here in Edmonton, and it's a little embarrassing. Dude, Ty, you know those, you know, like, it's like Sky Mall or whatever. like the magazines in an airplane, they sell these like these lamps that you can connect to your
Starting point is 01:00:06 Wi-Fi that like if you touch the lamp, if I touch the lamp in my bedroom, the one in yours lights up and it's like your friend is thinking of you like across the country. Yeah, exactly. It's like, oh, fuck. When we see the receipt that those have been purchased, he's gone. That's when we'll know something bad. Well, man, so we're hearing, I mean, there's so much chatter about this. And obviously in Oilers Nation, what else could possibly be?
Starting point is 01:00:31 the most intense topic of discussion. The thing that is on everybody's mind is this extension, when it's going to get done. And I'm sure you're hearing a million things. It's also one of these things that it's like, I feel like this is the most, you know, lock and key contract situation that exist in the NHL right now. We have been hearing it's going to be something
Starting point is 01:00:52 along the lines of 40 years 16 mill. What are you hearing? What are you hoping for? As an Oilers die hard, who has a good grasp on the inner workings of not this organization, but hockey, how salary caps work, how team structure works. What do you want? Like, listen, four makes a lot of sense. And following the logic of that, too, is like, yeah,
Starting point is 01:01:16 he would sign this contract for four years. He'd be a free agent again at, I believe, 33 years old. So when he's 33 years old and the cap's gone up a whole bunch, he gets to sign one final, big long seven-year ticket. And there you go. He's kind of like maximized his earnings at every step. I think a six-year deal would also make a ton of sense for Connor McDavid. I think committing to the organization a little bit more would send like a solid message and it would quiet any amount of noise. I know there's kind of the one of the prevailing thoughts is, oh, he's going to sign for four years, not so much to maximize his earnings, because Connor McDavid's going to make more than enough money in his lifetime to not have to worry about stuff like that. But because it puts pressure
Starting point is 01:01:54 on the organization. And the reason I've always kind of pushed back on that line of thinking is there's always pressure on the organization as long as he's here. And if you were to ever get to a point, let's say he signs for six years, it's $102 million, it's $17 million a season. Let's say in year four, things have gone really bad. And like they're not looking like a playoff team. At any point, what I'm saying is Connor McDavid can walk into Stan Bowman's office,
Starting point is 01:02:19 knock on the door and say, I'm out. And just like how in this contract negotiation, he gets to write a number and a year, he gets to write on a piece of paper, and the Oilers will basically honor it to a team. he can walk into that office at any point in the next four to six years if things don't go well or if they do go well and he wins a Stanley Cup or two and he goes, I'm ready for something new. He can walk in and say, trade me there and they will trade him to wherever he wants to go.
Starting point is 01:02:43 So the idea that a short-term deal puts more pressure on the front office, I don't fully buy that because I think there's always pressure. There's pressure on all 32 teams to win every year. Ty, real quick, is that what you mean by pressure on the front office? Like the four-year deal puts pressure on them because it's like you better win while I'm here. and okay yeah that's what you're talking about right and then it's you know the idea that oh well then then he'd be a free agent at 33 and that's maybe where he'd feel more comfortable to start not ring chasing but looking somewhere else and maybe by that point year 15 of his career he'd
Starting point is 01:03:12 accept that he can't win in eminent i mean there's so many different ways you can go about this i also think like again four years i do think that's most likely i also wouldn't be surprised if there's a side of mac david that goes i don't want to hear the chatter like everything we hear about him as a person is that he doesn't like the noise it's why he doesn't do a lot of media. He doesn't want to be a distraction. He talked about that last week in Calgary. He doesn't want to be having to answer questions about his future. I think signing a six-year deal, I think it just quiets down a lot of that stuff. Yeah. It's interesting because I, you know, I've been banging the drum of, and I know you're going to hate to hear this, I've been saying
Starting point is 01:03:50 he should sign a one-year deal. Sign a one-year deal. If you do want to have that, put the pressure on, make the organization prove it. But I also think you're right. in that he doesn't necessarily need that. He just wants everyone to leave him the fuck alone so he can play hockey. But while obviously six from the media standpoint is better, if he signs four, people will talk about it for a couple weeks,
Starting point is 01:04:12 then they'll shut the fuck up. End of the day, four years is four years. Like, that is a long time now and the future. It takes him into his 30s. It's got plenty of time for the Oilers with this core. So four years, I think, satisfies both him. It satisfies the franchise. And ultimately, it will,
Starting point is 01:04:29 satisfy the fans in the media because like, yeah, you could try to make a story out of that for a couple of weeks. But at the end of the day, four years is a long time, man. Like that, that is a good deal. Yeah. And again, whether it's four or six, if the oilers don't get a goalie at the trade deadline, if they lose in round two, like anything that happens, the conversation every offseason will go back to, well, they got to keep Connor happy. They got to keep trying to win with Connor McDavid. So that's a good point. Whether it's four or six, those conversations are the exact same. So again, I don't know. I think there is still a lot. lot up in the air. I take Jeff Jackson at his word when he kind of says, like, we don't know where
Starting point is 01:05:04 he's at with this. When Connor kind of says, like, he hasn't really thought about it all that much. And I'm paraphrasing a little bit. But like, I honestly kind of believe that. I do still think there are a bunch of options still out there because I don't think they've really thought about the options all that much. Yeah. Ty, as an Oilers fan and like put your just your fan hat on for a second. Yep, thank you so much. Is, how does it sound? How does it sound? to you or I guess like does it bum you out when he goes
Starting point is 01:05:34 I'm still thinking I have a lot to think about like obviously you wish it was no I'm signing with the Oilers for eight more years like this isn't even a fucking conversation and maybe it isn't maybe he's just like wanted to relax over the summer but like as an Oilers fan are you like God damn it dude just fucking re-sign
Starting point is 01:05:50 and like yes I would have loved for him to come out in Calgary and be like I'm signing we're going to get it done and I'm sure if he did that his phone would ring the second it ended and it'd be Judd his agent being like, hey man, what the fuck did you just say? You said for sure you're signing. Like you just killed, again, no negotiating power, but I'm sure his agent wouldn't have loved that. Like, he did say he wants to win in Edmonton. He said he doesn't want to be a distraction. Like, I did think there was a little bit of the media outside of Edmonton
Starting point is 01:06:18 who really drilled down hard on a couple of quotes that can be spun as anti-Edmonton while not totally looking at the quotes that could be spun as pro-Edmonton. Like, he said he wants to win. in Edmonton. I firmly believe that. And you know what? If he didn't want to win in Edmonton, he probably would have left a couple of years ago. He might have not even let it get to this point because there were moments where it was like, all right, they lost in round two to the Golden Knights. Are they ever going to get over the hump? Like, he could have left a lot longer ago. And I also think there's stuff behind the scenes like Jeff Jackson going from being his agent who he's known since he was a teenager to taking over the team. Jeff Jackson would have had
Starting point is 01:06:54 an intimate understanding of how Connor McDavid views his career playing out, having been his agent for that long, does Jeff Jackson put his hand up and be like, I'm going to go run the Edmonton Oilers? If he knows in the back of his head, I also kind of know Connor doesn't really want to be here all that bad. Does Leon sign for eight years? Do him and his wife buy the amount of real estate that they have in Edmonton over the last number of years and start the bars and the businesses and buy the apartments? Like, I don't think you do that if in the back of your mind, you're like, two years and I'm kind of going to, I'm going to, yeah, I'm out. And you're so, well, it's funny. It's two at double-edged sword because what I just
Starting point is 01:07:28 suggested we basically saw Sam Bennett do, right? And a few of these guys and obviously easier coming off a win, but like Sam Bennett was like, yeah, I'm coming back and I'll take a discount. And his agent called and was like, hey, moron, why did you do that? But he was like, because I don't care and I am coming back. You know, so your both
Starting point is 01:07:44 sides are right. And obviously, to be very clear, I'm with you on your entire analysis of the situation. But I think if, like let's say you're right tie and he goes, buddy, I just, I told Leon to sign, Jeff's running the team. I just have, I own a thousand bars. I'm obviously saying, if that's in his brain,
Starting point is 01:08:03 Lauren has a full on franchise in this city at this point, you know? She does. Then I'm like, just say it, dude, just go like this. Yo, eight more years, baby, you know, like, whatever. Like, I think, I think it just would have fired up the fan base so much. Yeah, it would have. I also like, to compare it to the Bennett thing, you know, maybe if McDavid was 35 beers deep at whatever bar at Greta and Edmonton after the Oilers win the cup, maybe it's easy. Maybe it's easy. year for Conner to be like, I'm not believing, right? Connor Stone Cold Sober in Calgary on like August 28th, sitting next to Sam Riner. It's kind of hard to be like, let's go Edmonton.
Starting point is 01:08:38 Yeah, yeah, exactly. He's not the kind of guy he is, right? Correct. That's what, that's another reason why I didn't walk away from that press conference, really feeling more polled in any direction because it's like, those were the most Connor McDavid answers ever. It was middle road. Like, bleh.
Starting point is 01:08:54 Exactly. I, frankly, I hate those press conferences. I think when there is a player who's up for extension or as a free agent, it's criminal when they have to do this shit. Because unless there is a contract with ink dry, pen has been to paper, they're never going to say anything. And it's so annoying when people take all of these different sentences, little lines and little remarks and spin them however they want. It drives me absolutely nuts. And I want to say, I am on record again, that I think that 4 by 16 type structure is what we're going to see. I think it's going to happen before the end of this month.
Starting point is 01:09:28 I do not think we'll hit October without him having a contract. That said, just for conversation purposes, at what point do you as a fan, as a reasonable fan too, start getting a little nervous if he doesn't have an extension? Yeah, is there a calendar date? Like, if we get to like December and there's no extension, are you like, Jesus fucking Christ? If we get to puck drop October 8th and there's no deal, I'm sitting there going, oh shit.
Starting point is 01:10:00 Like he was Syria. He does want to see how the year plays out. They better go get a goalie. They better be aggressive at the deadline. They better not go one in fucking five in October like they do every year because then the noise is going to get noisier. Like they, it puts a unique conversation and it just kind of drops it every two weeks in the season where like, if he's not timed by October 8th, then when it's November 15th and they're, Oilers are inevitably four and eight. It'll be like, are you going to have to trade him if you're out of the playoffs?
Starting point is 01:10:28 And when it gets to January, it'll be like, how hard will the Oilers go? Because now they have to walk this unique balance of loading up for McDavid, but recognizing maybe you can't trade all your futures. What if McDavid leaves? It really just puts a weird wrinkle on the whole year, which is why I'm choosing to believe that won't happen. Yeah. And tie, to your point, when you said earlier that Connor doesn't like this type of stuff,
Starting point is 01:10:50 he doesn't like noise, if he doesn't sign, by puck drop. That is him being open. Not even, no, Chris, I disagree. Not creating noise. It's him accepting the noise because he is so certain that he wants to see how things play out. And that would be terrifying. Yeah. Like what is, and this is why maybe this is like a good little reminder to Connor of how annoying this can be as he watches hundreds of articles get written about his future and all this. Like Connor, this is my plea to him. If you don't sign by the start of the season, what do you think your media scrum, your first game in Toronto is going to be like,
Starting point is 01:11:24 the whole fucking city will be there. Like it'll be a disaster. Like you don't want that in Toronto and L.A. Yeah. It would be a disaster. Connor, just sign the deal. Ty, we can be terrorists right now. We can do this together.
Starting point is 01:11:37 We can team up every single week. We can release some outrageous clip about him not signing. So he eventually sees it so much that he's like, fuck this. And signs a deal. This is how we do it. This is our gift to the city of Edmonton. It's like, we're going to get him to sign. just by knocking his door down.
Starting point is 01:11:52 Yeah, I mean, and the other thing, too, like from a pure content perspective, I don't want to have to listen to 31 other fan bases put together their trade proposals. There was the one guy, Liam and I were laughing about it today. There was like a fan in Tampa Bay who has like a podcast, and he was like, now would I include Braden Point in the Connor McDavid trade?
Starting point is 01:12:08 I think I would. And I'm like, oh, yeah, you're thinking about that one? Yeah, really debating hard if that's the right move for you to make. I can't do a year of that. Yeah, that will drive you guys insane. It's so true, Ty. I have a, we Dan and I have a really good buddy. His name's Ben.
Starting point is 01:12:22 He's a basketball guy. But he, um, he had an epiphany where he was like, dude, I need to stop wasting my time, clicking on articles on the SPN that are like, what if this trade?
Starting point is 01:12:31 Like, I'll read the reaction to trades. I'll spend my sports fandom time talking about things that have happened, but I can't do the like, what if this crazy thing that I made up happened? And that is, that is going to go in hyperdrive about this if we continue. The amount of Boston fans last year who spent the entirety
Starting point is 01:12:49 of their August talking about what it looks like with Leon Drysidal on the team. I was like, guys, they're not getting Leon Drysiddle. Stop. It's insane. Yeah. And again, Edmonton is Edmonton is Edmonton. I'm born and raised here. I'll never leave here.
Starting point is 01:13:06 I stand by that. But like, this is also probably a different conversation if McDavid is playing in an L.A. or somewhere that's deemed more of a destination, right? Like, I do understand that it is easier for outsiders to view this. scenario differently or have it in their head. They're like, oh, he doesn't want to play there because it's Edmonton. Like, I get that. So that is another unique wrinkled to all this is it's a small northern Canadian market.
Starting point is 01:13:29 I think if you're a casual hockey fan, you sit there and go like, oh, it would make sense for the best player in the sport to leave there, almost like Janus with Milwaukee. He eventually went back. But like all of that made so much sense where it's like, oh, this megastar wants to go be a megastar in New York or L.A. He doesn't want to keep living in Milwaukee. But I do think there's a certain type of mentality in these. athletes of they want to win.
Starting point is 01:13:51 That's why Yana stayed where he was at, whether or not there was the right call. And that's why I think Connor will stay here. And the other thing, too, is I always think Connor McDavid's been very, like, legacy aware. I think, like, he knows he's going to be first ballot Hall of Fame. He knows he's one of the best ever. But does he get,
Starting point is 01:14:07 is there as much clout's a poor word to use, but is there as much juice if he wins a Stanley Cup in wherever you want to, in L.A., where they've had Stanley Cups in the last 10 years and all that? Or, does he feel something, feel the pressure inside and be like, no, no, I'm going to be the guy that capped into Canadian team. That's going to be my legacy. And I even think going back to like his
Starting point is 01:14:28 days in junior, when he got drafted by Erie, everyone was like, force, he's forcing his way out. He will be in London. He'll be in Peterborough. He'll go to one of those big, big franchises who will develop him right. And he kind of sat there and was like, I'm not doing that. Like, I'm drafted where I'm drafted. I'm going there. And I think again, he's never wanted to come off as someone who's going to pick and choose where he goes and have that whole kind of aura about. them. That's a great call, dude. I love that. I love that. I like that. Take a lot. If, um, I have two big picture questions for you. First one, if, I mean, we can go four, but even eight, like, is obviously it would be ideal if he's like, I'm,
Starting point is 01:15:02 I'm here, dude. Um, what he's not signing an eight year deal. I'm telling you that right now. He's not signing an eight year to the max. Why, though? It's, I'm, it's, I think Tyler's right. It's like, it's, it's bad business. Him signing an eight-year deal with this Edmonton team right now is bad business. It is. okay so he signs a six year max whatever he comes in at 17 or he's 16 but like if he comes in at that number obviously he can write a black check
Starting point is 01:15:35 and he has earned that but are is there any part of you that's like looking at his deal in the dry saddle deal in the bouchard deal and you're like fuck dude like the problem is we can't build a fucking team and now what are we supposed to fucking do like talk me through that a little bit in your mind as an oiler's analyst you can put the analyst hat back on Perfect. I think that's why you saw the organization make the moves that they did, not just this summer, but last summer, where they go and trade for a Matt Savoy and move out Ryan McLeod. It was a really good, useful bottom six guy. And they go trade for Isaac Howard, who can jump into the lineup presumably early on this season. And they go and got these, they went and got these cheaper guys because they're recognizing that. Really, the next three years, they're pretty cap strap. Maybe it's only two years, but like they are tight for money. The nice part about Leon, like,
Starting point is 01:16:22 Leon Drys title at 8 by 14 is already one of the better value contracts in the NHL. Like, imagine how that thing's going to look in five years when the cap is $20 million higher. So I think the reason they went a little bit younger in some areas is because they recognize they need good, cheap players right now to bridge this gap. And then, you know, whether it's two or three years from now, all right, suddenly having three guys signed for what would be $40 million. It doesn't sound quite as bad when the cap's $120. So I think they recognize they needed to start injecting some youth into this thing. For one, the perspective of getting cheaper. But then there's also the angle of like, you know,
Starting point is 01:17:01 how many more good years do Hyman and Nugent Hopkins have left in them? Matthias Ekholm, that's a big, big question mark. Like, they need to start being able to, again, point to Connor McDavid and be like, we have a plan to be competitive next year, the year after, and four or five years down the line as well. Like, I think that was part of the sell job here, is going to be part of the sell job to McDavid to hopefully sign for more than four years. Yeah. Do you, go ahead, Dan?
Starting point is 01:17:24 Well, I want to do, I don't want to put you on the spot here, but just another one of these talking points. What have you heard of the rumblings of the little dust up that went on in the locker room after game six when Florida clenched as well as on the plane coming home? Because there's been little rumors here and there floating around. Maybe Connor got a little bit frustrated. And I want to know, you know, allegedly, if that's true, whatever happened, do you chalk that up to just, Listen, this is a guy who's ultra competitive and he wants to win, or do you look at it as a guy who's maybe getting towards the end of his patience with this group? I just think the whole vibe around losing the second time is so much different. And I think, you know, that first run when they lost in seven games,
Starting point is 01:18:10 everything about it was just like it happened fast. They were, you know, they eliminate Dallas in six. And that was like a real stunner in the moment. And then they lose in seven. And like, it was almost. After being down three oh, dude. Like, it was. Crazy.
Starting point is 01:18:22 Yeah. Those scenes from the locker room were almost like disbelief. Like we just lost a one goal game in game seven. Oh my God. Everything we just did for the last few months is over. Then you get back a second time. You lose in six. It's almost like you're further away.
Starting point is 01:18:34 Florida just beats the shit out of you in game six. Like that game, I think that's important in the context too. That game wasn't even. Five, two, at home. Yeah. Like you got pummeled at home in game five,
Starting point is 01:18:47 then pummeled in game six. It's like, fuck me. If Connor McDavid is going to be, really pissed off in the 48 to 72 hours after getting shit stomped twice to end your season. With the knowledge of how hard it is to get back there because you just did it two years, I think that's fair. And I don't think there's, is it a sign that he's running out of patience? I don't know because I also think Connor McDavid, like, he's a smart guy.
Starting point is 01:19:11 He can look around the league. Like, how many teams, if he were to go to them present a better chance of getting back? Like, I think, again, you could talk about, oh, he could go to Colorado. I don't think you'd ever want to do that and do like a super team thing. Like, well, he could go to Dallas. Yeah, I mean, I guess he could go to Dallas. But like, I don't know. I think Connor McDavid, when the dust settles,
Starting point is 01:19:30 recognizes that him and Leon Drys settle together is pretty special and presents a really good opportunity. I don't know. I think any frustration in the moment, I think his teammates forgive him for that. And I don't think it's some like long-term sign that Connor's like, we're never going to get this done. We have a bad group.
Starting point is 01:19:46 Yeah. Yeah, I'm with that. And I'll ask you to get in its head now, Ty, which I know you can't obviously do. but just if the what do you think you guys need to do besides and maybe the answer just win a cup but besides win a cup in this like next four years let's call it if he signs that that's that's that's like i will still re-sign again because i'm i support what's happening here yeah i think if they were to win that obviously does a lot because then the conversation with connor is like
Starting point is 01:20:14 ah do you want to be a one jersey guy like yeah yeah it was right and or does he sit there and go hey i did my job here and like I am going to go do the homecoming or I am going to go playing to New York and be on Broadway, all that stuff. I don't know, like, it's just, their cup or bust every year, so it's hard to outline, like, if they don't have a cup in four years,
Starting point is 01:20:35 but Ike Howard is scoring 40 goals and Matt Savoy's this great two-way player, does Connor stay? Like, I don't know. I really do think it's just, it's cup or bust, and that needs to be the organization's mentality. And again, to your point of McDavid's frustration,
Starting point is 01:20:50 and even to what he said, the other day, like, his main number one priority is winning a cup in Edmonton. I don't think he cares about anything else. I think he just wants to win. And that's why, again, the next four years, you just have to win. It gets such a lame answer. I know, I can't go to any detail. But like, you just have to win.
Starting point is 01:21:06 Dude, especially, like he said, the, because I've been joking about, we've been joking about the Kings against you guys, where it's like they, that first year was seven, and then it was six, and it was five, you know, and then this year was almost even worse being up to, like it just feels like they're regressing. And I can see that attitude for Connor. Like, if all those players develop, like you just said, and you have a great season, but then you get clipped in the Western Conference Finals
Starting point is 01:21:30 by like a revamped to Vegas or something, on like in a vacuum, that's a good season. You're like, ah, damn. But that being the third year in a row of like two cup losses. And then that, you're like, I'm going to fucking blow my brains out, you know? So it's really hard, the standard that's been set the last two years. And I like the standard that's been set.
Starting point is 01:21:48 That's a beautiful way to put it, because you're right. if they put up 120 points in the regular season and losing the cup final again, it's, they're yelling, they're going to be yelling at each other on planes. Like, unless there's a Stanley Cup on that plane,
Starting point is 01:22:00 they're yelling at each other on the last flight home. Yeah. No, I did love what he said. It was like, in his immediate press conference, he was like, I think someone asked him to compare it.
Starting point is 01:22:09 And he said something like last year was utter devastation. It was like our hearts got ripped out. Now I'm just kind of pissed. And I think that that's an appropriate reaction. is there anyone and any trade that could possibly happen that wouldn't make you jump off a bridge? Dude, Dan, this is my last question. I'm so glad you just asked this.
Starting point is 01:22:29 I know I'd sacrily just to even ask you, Ty, but if he had to be somewhere. Here's one for you, Ty. People think there needs to be a switchup. They go one for one, McKinnon for McDavid. Yeah. Like, Colorado's going to add to that. Yeah, correct, by the way.
Starting point is 01:22:47 I thought you were going a totally, different angle with that. I thought you were going to say you get Matthews back in a deal with Toronto. But even then, like, what else? Dude, Toronto would have to do Matthews and Nealander for that to make sense.
Starting point is 01:23:03 Oh, yeah, like it would be, and that's where it's so hard to like wrap your head around because like, I mean, since Gretzky, you could say we've never seen a trade like that. How many pieces is it? How many first? The complicated part right now to think about that is that it would be like happening in season where like,
Starting point is 01:23:20 who can even make the cap gymnastics on either side work, it would be a disaster, but if we're talking like two years from now and McDavid's in the middle of this extension or early on in this extension, and he goes like, hand up, I want out. I think if you're Edmonton
Starting point is 01:23:34 and you have Leon Drysettled under contract for eight, for at that point it'd be six more years, the only way you come out looking okay is either if you also trade dry saddle and say, we're going to stink for a long time, or you get a superstar back for McDavid, which is what it would take, which grossly cuts down the amount of teams that reached.
Starting point is 01:23:52 And also, obviously, Connor would have a full no move. Like, it would depend on how does Connor go, I'll go to any one of these three teams? Or does he say, I'm out and you're trading me to Toronto? And the Oilers have to go to Toronto and negotiate with basically both hands tied by in their back. Like, it's a hard. Honest to God. Honest to God, I don't think, I don't think Connor McDavid ever plays for another team based on everything you just said. Like unless he plays this full season and then becomes a UFA and just sign somewhere else, I do not see it happening because trading him would just be too complicated.
Starting point is 01:24:29 It's impossible. Like there's no return that any team could do that would be willing to do that would work from the optic standpoint and from the money standpoint. I just literally don't think it's possible. I agree with you. And that's why you see the hypotheticals and all of that. and I sit here in Emondon I'm like all this noise like it just wouldn't make sense
Starting point is 01:24:51 like when I hear people be like oh he would go to Chicago it's like so what Connor McDavid after doing all this shit the last 10 11 years in emmendon would be like you know what start the process again in Chicago like why
Starting point is 01:25:03 why would you ever he's not obsessed with like going to a big market and being on red carpets and expanding his role outside of hockey like he is a hockey robot you know the joke that he was made in a lab. He just wants to win a Stanley Cup. And if he has and whatever like little in his heart,
Starting point is 01:25:22 he wants to win it with Leon Drysheadle too. I think that's probably a part of it. I agree. So like you put those two pieces together and I think those are one and two on his list. Why would he leave that? I think I think like light will appear from the heavens and he'll ascend. Like when they win the cup with the buzzet and disappear. I think he might die. I think he legitimately, I think he might like raise the cup above his head and then pass it off to Leon and then he'll just like slowly skate to It'll be like a cat when a cat leaves a house and they just go off and die in the woods. He will hand that cup to Leon and just skate off and people will be like, where did Conner go and we'll never see him again? Feel the dreams, Dan, like into the tunnel away, into the corner.
Starting point is 01:25:57 Walks into the tunnel and he disappears. It's unbelievable. Now I got the image of Conorhan and the cup to Leon in my head and it's. There goes your whole afternoon. You can't stand up. You can't stand up. This, if he walked as a free agent, which he's never, ever going to do. But if he did, give me the jersey that you could live with the most.
Starting point is 01:26:14 You turn on the NHL season started next year and Connor McDavid's wearing this jersey and you're like, well, or whatever. Sick and twisted, it might be Toronto. Come on, Tyler.
Starting point is 01:26:28 I need to hate him. If he's leaving him, and like, way easier to hate him if he's in a Toronto jersey. If he was like, I'm going to New York, I'd be like,
Starting point is 01:26:38 God, I don't give a fuck about the Rangers. Like, sure, Connor, go play for the Rangers. If you went to Toronto, it's so much easier. to like to throw the Toronto Raptors fan of me, to Vince Carter, fuck you,
Starting point is 01:26:49 man. Yeah, you go to Toronto and you never win a cup. That's what you deserve. But I want to go to answer. Okay, okay. Which would you hate more?
Starting point is 01:26:57 Him going to Toronto or him going to L.A.? Oh, Indivision would be so shitty. But like, if he goes to Toronto, there's like a, probably a majority of the hockey world that might hate him.
Starting point is 01:27:10 Like it wouldn't just be, if he goes to L.A., I don't know how many casual hockey fans hate him. He goes to Toronto. I think every, Canadian fan outside. That doesn't wear blue and white hates him. Yeah, I think that's true. And I do think a lot of casuals if he went to L.A. would buy into the hype of Kings Ransom Part 2. They'd be like, this is so cool. Conner's in Hollywood, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. So I do,
Starting point is 01:27:32 yeah, I think you're right. The Leafs would probably be the worst. I hope Connor never hears me say any of what I said. But none of that is happening. It's really funny. We just put the greatest image ever in Tyler's head and then the worst image ever in Tyler's head. We're just trying to level you out. Trying to level you out. Okay, Ty, last thing. So I know you've got to go, give me the date. Predict it right now so we can clip this forever.
Starting point is 01:27:54 Yeah, wait, let's all do this. Let's all predict the date. Okay, hold on, date year and term. I'll go first. You guys can think because you're both better at this than me. Give me. Hold on, let me pull up a calendar. Because the day of the week matters.
Starting point is 01:28:09 Yeah, I know. I'm humming and hawn between a Monday or a Friday. Give me... I got it. I got my. September... September 19th? Six years at...
Starting point is 01:28:26 No. Yeah. Six years. 16.5. Okay. I'm going this coming Sunday. Holy shit. 9-7.
Starting point is 01:28:42 Oh, oh, Dan. Nice. Really nice, Dan. Fuck. This coming Sunday. 97, four years 16 flat. I will go
Starting point is 01:28:54 September 15th, six years $17 million a year for $102 million. God, that's good, dude. All right, all right, well, we'll check in boys, we'll check in on who, this Sunday will be quick for me if it doesn't
Starting point is 01:29:11 go. Yeah, Dan's or you're a genius. Ty fill everyone where they can find you everywhere before you do. Yes. Oilers Nation YouTube, Daily face off YouTube doing a ton of league-wide stuff over a daily face-off. Always a ton of fun there. I'm going to have a new co-host with me and he is a former NHLer, so we're excited to announce that in the next week. And then, yeah, Oilers Nation, Oilers Nation every day goes live every weekday, 12 o'clock Mountain Time. Got a ton of great weekly guests, daily guests, I should say,
Starting point is 01:29:36 lined up for next season. So we're ready to roll. Hopefully it's another long season of talking about a good hockey team. Come on, dude. That's awesome. Hey, when that announcement goes live, hit us up. We'll post that with you. Beautiful. Thanks, thanks, boys. God, that was fun. love that from Ty, love that from us. What a sick convo. Some interesting talking points up in Oil Nation, Dan. Listen, I'm not saying they should be freaked out.
Starting point is 01:29:59 They shouldn't. But it's fun to freak out. It's not. That is going to be it for us this week at the Empty Nader's podcast. Beautiful stuff, as always. We've got a really, really fun, really, really awesome guests coming for you next Tuesday. Another Stanley Cup champion in many, many ways. I might have a few of them.
Starting point is 01:30:20 Gonna want to listen to this one. He's a beauty, as they all are. We can't wait to see you guys next week. Have an amazing weekend. And until we see you next time, you know what to do. Skate hard.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.