Empty Netters Podcast - Top 10 NHL Contracts & Future Stars: Raymond, Lafrenière, Byfield, Shesterkin | 119
Episode Date: July 22, 2024The Kings got great value on the Quinton Byfield deal. So what happens now with the other massive RFAs who are still without a contract? Who is happy and who is furious out of Lucas Raymond, Seth Jar...vis, Martin Necas, Marty Beniers, and Alexis Lafreniere? Plus, the boys break down the best contracts in the NHL NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (3:33) - Quinton Byfield (5:45) – Lucas Raymond (17:08) – Seth Jarvis & Martin Necas (26:48) - Matty Beniers (33:40) - Alexis Lafreniere (46:20) – 2020 Draft Reorder (51:03) – 10 Best Contracts in the NHL Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Martha listens to her favorite band all the time.
In gym.
Even sleeping.
So when they finally went on tour, Martha bundled her flight and hotel on Expedia to see them live.
She saved so much she got to see close enough to actually see and hear them.
Sort of.
You were made to scream from the front row.
We were made to quietly save you more.
Expedia, made to travel.
Savings vary and subject to availability.
Ice is ready and we are back.
with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast.
We're getting a little crazy today.
I wanted to get real specific.
I wanted to talk about some players, some contracts, some situations going on in the league.
We've been doing that a little bit more.
Situation.
Another stock.
Another stock.
Another situation.
Listen, people have been liking this.
We've been doing stuff on the Elmark trade.
We've been talking about some of these deals going on, getting down and dirty with the four nation stuff.
Yep.
So here we are.
We're in the doldrums.
Yeah.
I actually can't.
I can't remember the last time there was this little going on in the hockey world.
Yeah.
So we're bringing you guys some talking points so we can get through these days.
This is what we do.
We have your back all the time.
Yep.
So we're going to get into this stuff.
Before we get into it, you need a haircut.
Come on, dude.
You need a haircut.
You just got one.
No, you didn't.
You got one like three months ago.
Yeah, that's just.
I just got one.
You need a haircut.
Two months ago.
Don't go too short.
I got one two months ago.
But shape that shit up again, dude.
You're out of control.
It's shaped, dude.
You think so?
It's like, I just got shapes, so it's still shaped.
No, it's out of shape.
Look at this.
Two months drinking beers, partying in Vegas.
You'll get out of shape, dude.
You damn right, dude.
You damn right.
That hair's out of shape.
All right.
Where's Nikki yet?
You got too good of hair to not take care of it constantly.
That should be a constant.
an everyday job. What? I'm not saying everyday cut, but...
Everyday cut? Every day you should take care of them. You're pitching an everyday haircut?
No, I'm pitching everyday care. You would get everyday haircuts. Yeah, I would. I had a
buddy he's one of the worst drivers I ever known. I used to tell him that if there was a
straight blinker, he would just leave it on the whole time he was driving. That's how much of a
freak he was. And you would get a haircut every day if you could. Yeah, I don't think that's a
bad thing. Yeah, it's weird as shit, dude. No, it's, if I had the financial means to have a
a hairstylist with me at all time.
No, no, no, not stylist, dude.
I'm telling you, you would say how much grew last night,
and they would say, 0.5 million years.
You would go, a stylist cuts hair.
Trim him that shit.
Every day.
Yeah, I agree.
I would.
This isn't weird.
There's nothing weird about it.
Yes, it is, dude.
You would get a haircut every day.
Yes.
You don't think that's weird.
If I was happy with, like, how it looked,
and I wasn't trying to grow it out,
absolutely I would.
And then the day I was like, I'm going to grow it out.
I would let it grow.
But if I was happy,
with it, like I currently am, I would be like this, cut me every day. Like this, dude, you'd be like,
right there. Cut me every day. That's the difference right there. There are people who shave
every day. Yeah. What do you mean? Yeah, that's the same thing. Because that's, they don't want
any hair, any hair on their face. Yeah, because they like how that looks. They're like, I want to be
clean shaven every day. Yeah, but you can tell the next day when you were clean shaven in the morning.
You can tell. I can tell. No, dude, you cannot. You get your haircut. You go to bed. You go to bed. You
wake up, you don't go, damn.
Yeah, I do.
Look so much better.
No, I wake up and I go, I can tell that it grew a little bit.
Right here, dude.
When I style it, I'm like, this doesn't look the same.
I would, I'm not.
This shit is a science, dude.
I hate that I have a hat on right now.
I'm not about to do this, but I do know people that get the hair got like every week.
Yeah.
And that, that I can, well, I don't get that either, but the day is fucking nuts.
You're crazy.
I'm not crazy.
This is how, this is what it takes.
No, I'm not.
Okay. This is what we're doing today, folks. Well, Cube, Cube launched us into this.
Yes. Our boy, Quentin Byfield, just signed a nice little contract with the Kings. He was RFA, just signed a five year by $6.25 million contract. Great deal for the Kings, great deal for Cube. But it got us talking. I was like, holy shit, that is a phenomenal contract. And I believe in Cube. And I believe that in, honestly, after next year, people will look at that as one of the best contracts in the NHB.
And that's what it takes, dude.
That's what it takes for a team to stay great.
I know that Cube definitely left something on the table
because he believes in the King's Project.
He believes in that team and wants to be a team guy.
And I love that.
I can't believe he took five years.
I can.
Nothing wrong with it.
Because, like, dude, that's a bag that he just got.
And in five years, what is Cube?
28, 29, 28, I think.
Yeah.
Maybe less.
And then you signed another bag, dude.
Like, you just saw what, you know, guys like Elias Lindholm signed.
You can get another bag.
Like, it's, I love this move.
Yep.
You're getting paid while also betting on yourself.
It's a sick point.
Yep.
It got us talking.
There's a lot of guys who are RFA right now or RFA next year that are in a very, very comparable situation.
And I wanted to talk about let's break down what their contracts could look like,
what this QB contract means for a lot of these other guys and a lot of these other teams.
and a lot of these other teams
because there's a ton of fan bases out there right now
who are looking at certain players on their team
who are unsigned or about to be unsigned
and they're looking at what they want for that player to sign,
what they think could be in the cards,
and I just think it's a really fascinating topic right now.
So Cube last year at 80 games, 20 goals,
35 assists, 55 points plus 19, 41 even strings points.
Five years six by 25. That's what we're working off of.
6.25.
Or yeah, sorry, five years by 6.25.
That plus 19 is so sexy.
Yep.
I love that.
I want to start talking about, as we bring up some of these names,
I wanted to say who's pissed about Cube and who's pumped about Cube.
Yeah.
Who do you want to do first?
I say we stick with a friend of the pod and we do Lucas Raymond.
Lucas Raymond.
Last season, 82 games, 31 goals, 41 assists, 72 points, minus 12, 56 even strength points.
Fantastic.
from Razor. RFA.
Kid is
22 and 112 days old.
Yeah.
Wings got a ton of cap space.
Wings do. The wings have 20.8 million cap space.
They need to sign both Lucas Raymond and Mosider.
Yep.
Now I've said a bunch of times,
I want them to just double tap these two
like Taves and Cain back in the day,
sign the exact same contract.
The question is,
when we just looked at Cube,
he signs a five year because he's going to get another one.
If you're Detroit, I want to give these guys an eight years.
Eights.
Eights. You want eights.
If I'm Lucas and Mo, I'm probably signing a five.
Because I want to get paid again.
Because he signs in eight. He's 22. He signs in 80s 30.
Look at that math.
Bang, he's 30.
Yeah.
And you still get another contract there.
Yeah, but not a huge one.
Probably a six or seven.
And he might even get it. It's just going to be as high, probably.
Well, it depends.
Like, if you're 30 years old and you are doing what I believe he's going to
do, which is be between an 80 and a 100 point guy every year, then you're signing whatever you
want a 5 now, be 27, sign of fat 8. Yeah, I think I agree. And then you probably sign another
one after that. I think, would you think he's pissed or do you think he's happy? I think he
absolutely loves the QB deal. Okay. So, so Raymond for me is a guy that falls into I love the
QB deal. Obviously, and I put a lot of stock in this, plus minus is a very, very, very, very, very,
Very bad in comparison to QB.
Like, if you are Raymond, you want to get that up.
You guys just missed playoffs.
Yep.
You've got 72 points and 82 games.
That's unbelievable.
56 even strength points.
Like, this is a phenomenal year from Lucas Raymond, but you've got to get that plus minus up.
Yep.
You got to.
Otherwise, fantastic year.
At 22 years old, fantastic year.
It's a better year in points, goals, and assists than QB.
you are going 6.25, even if he does sign a five year, that is like the absolute worst deal I could sign.
So, like, you know you're getting paid here. So if I'm him or his agent, I'm coming to the table at 8 probably.
Right. So the only thing that I think that he might be pissed, because I think that he likes it to five.
Because he's like, yeah, see, I want to. This is what's going on. I want a five, too.
Well, we don't know. We don't know that he wants that.
Yeah, fair. Maybe he's also a world. Like, I know that Lucas, we both know that Lucas Raymond really loves it in
He believes in this project.
He loves the team.
He loves the boys.
There's a very serious world where he's like, just give me the eight, dude.
I want to be here forever.
Yeah, fair, fair.
Because if you sign an eight, your no move is probably bigger.
Like, you know, it's...
The only thing, though, is if it's usually when term goes up, the number comes down,
like, that's the point.
You know, like, I'm like, hey, dude, I will give you, I'm going to give you eight.
I disagree with that completely.
You think they'll go five years at six or eight years at ten?
Yes, because he's going, if you're getting three extra years of me in my prime, like the whole point of the five is that you get to re-up, like do another deal.
If you go eight years, I'm going, I want nine.
Oh, yeah, yeah, he wants.
Like he's like, yeah.
That's how it works too.
Because you're going, you get three more years of me.
I want more money.
Like, you need to give me more money because in those three years, I could be getting 12 if I renegotiated after five.
Yeah, I guess it turns on the player because I know a lot of times people are like, I want a five by five.
And the team's like, you can have a six by four because you get your number, but I get, I get to spread out the cap.
Like the more years, they want to spread out the hit.
So that they drop.
That, I think that is only a situation for guys who are 28 and older.
Yeah.
Actually, I'm certain of that.
If you're 22 and you're negotiating, the longer you go, the more you go.
Yep.
100%.
Okay.
Then he likes this probably because it opens up the opportunity for a five and you're definitely getting more than 6.25.
but I think I'm not probably goffering that much more than that based on this deal.
If you're Detroit?
Yeah, and then I shove QB's deal in his face.
Like I go five by seven and he goes no.
And I go five by seven and a half and he goes, no, which he should.
And then I go, fuck you.
This is what they're giving by feeling.
Yeah.
You younger than you.
He's sick.
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
I actually think the five by seven, seven and a half would be a pretty sweet deal for Mo and Lucas.
Yeah.
Like five by seven right now.
Like you are, that's a, you're getting a nice deal.
You are helping the team.
And like getting Moe and Lucas at like seven, seven and a half for the next five years would be huge for this Detroit team.
Yep.
Like huge.
And I just think for both of them, they go like Lucas Raymond at 27 years old has just been making seven and a half, let's call it seven and a half mill a year.
and bagging 80 to 100 point seasons,
I think he then at 28 or 27
signs an 8 year like 11.5 plus million,
and he's just like this.
I did this perfectly.
But then, yeah, you're right.
And then they probably go, though, right now,
they probably go fine, 8 by 7.5.
And he goes, no.
But that's not enough.
Like, I think if he signs an 8,
if he signs by 8 years,
if I'm Lucas Raymond right now,
you look at the like Stutzla contract,
You look at the Sanderson contract.
Like these guys that are Slaff.
Slaff is a great one.
Look up Slav's contract right now.
What was that?
He signed eight years by something.
If they want him to sign eight years, I think he's asking eight and a half to nine and a half, no question.
And is well within his rights, like, and deserves that.
What's fucked is they have 20 mil of cap space.
Yeah.
So if you're like, hey, uh, most.
and Razor, eight by tens, because that's what you need if it's eight.
I'm like, Puff, that's gone.
I don't think that that's in the carts.
I truly don't.
I think Lucas Raymond and Mo Cider are not asking for 10.
There's no planet they're asking for 10.
But I think an 8 by 8, 8 by 8 and a half is definitely in the cards.
And wouldn't you not want that, though, if you're him?
I know, man, $64 million.
I know.
And, like, you believe, dude, that's the thing.
It's like, 8 by 8 in Detroit, you're still, you know, at 30, you're going to get another contract.
If you play the way that they believe they can play
And I believe they can play
And no one is scoffing at an 8x8 contract
No, I do think if you play till you're 30
At a 100 point guy from like 24 call it, right?
Yeah.
Two more years, 24 to 30
You're pumping in 100 points a season
And you're at 8.5
You are underpaid
You are underpaid, but you're not like,
It's not like, oh my God.
I mean, look at these guys, dude, like look at Brad Marshand
who's made 6.6 or whatever.
He's underpaid, yeah.
But he's fine.
You know what I mean?
He's better than fun.
Yeah.
And here's the thing, dude, when you look at teams that have situations like that,
Cid at 8.7 is underpaid.
Oh, yeah.
Quote unquote.
They're also winning cups.
Yep.
They're in apps.
Oh, yeah.
And that's why you do it.
Like, if these guys both sign an 8 by 8 and then they're both having the seasons
year by year that we think they're going to, Detroit's going to be in Cups.
So that's why you do it.
Slav 8 by 7.6.
So there you go.
Like, that's like, I, Raymond has had slaps a bit.
younger, but, like, Raymond had a better season than Slav.
Yeah, yeah.
So he could say, if he's going eight, he's asking for eight, eight by eight.
Yeah, that's actually a good comment.
Yes.
Well, I mean, Raymond's better or has performed.
That's what I'm saying.
Like, that's a good contract that he gets to point at.
Absolutely.
So, like, that's what I'm saying.
I think, I think Raymond is right now in the category of if he goes five, he's asking for
seven to seven and a half.
If he goes eight, he's asking for eight to eight and a half.
Yeah.
And I think what's great is I love both of those contracts for Detroit.
Because again, I think Sider's going to sign the same fucking thing.
Yeah.
And personally, this is what my message to Detroit Red Wings fans,
I believe Lucas Raymond's contract is going to come down to a, if it's a five or an eight,
and who knows, it might be a four.
It might be if we're using the comps here we've seen with Byfield
and then guys like Slavkovsky who have signed a five and an eight.
I think it's going to be five by seven to seven and a half or eight by eight to eight and a half.
And in either case, I'm thrilled for the Red Wings.
Yeah.
Causing this amazing episode of the podcast to talk to you guys about Cash App.
Listen, I know you know Cash App as the place to send your buddies money back and forth.
You have a night out on the town.
Maybe someone picks up the bar tab.
You got to settle up.
Cash App is the perfect way to do that.
We all know Cash App has you covered in that regard.
I want to talk about Cash App savings.
Cash App is different than all of these other apps that does exactly that.
because you can start putting money into cash up with as little as $1 and start savings
and have a nice high yield on those savings.
This is the best way to save money and make money.
Cash app is helping you out in every single way with no hidden fees and no account fees.
So if you want to get that money into cash app, you got that saving situation going on
so you can save up for things like buying a new twig, getting a nice net so you can work on
that shot.
Unbelievable stuff.
When you have cash app, yes, you can send money.
back and forth with your buddies, settle up your tabs, all that good stuff, but you're also
making money when you save money with Cash App savings. Cash App is the best way to get paid
while you are saving your money. Cash app has you covered. They're making sure that your
financial freedom and security is through the roof. Cash app is the only app that you need
when it comes to this type of stuff because they're taking care of you on top of making it easy
for you to transfer, get back, and distribute all your money every way you need.
need it. Cash app is the only answer to this stuff. So get on to Cash App right now and make sure that
you're covered, you're saving money, and making money at the same time. Pause in the pod real quick
to tell you that we have officially partnered with Ricky. Who is Ricky? He is the greatest
spirit-based can cocktail on Earth. That's who Ricky is. Check this out. I'm talking 130 calories.
I'm talking no added sugar. I'm talking all natural fruit juices. Okay? Listen, they got vodka,
they get tequila premium stuff i'm a vodka guy okay so they got amazing flavors the cranberry the vodka
cranberry really does it for me so you got to check that one now but i'm not even a huge tequila
but they got my two of my favorite flavors ever great fruit and watermelon in the tequila and they got
pineapple they got lime they got lemon they get everything but there's something for you it's amazing
dan i hit a fourth of july party the day might have been called fourth a rickie because that's
all that was there this weekend buddy's having a pool party might as well be a ricky party because
that's all that's going to be there it's 7%
ABV. I'm talking 1.5 shots
per can. If you get a 12-pack, it's a whole
bottle. You are in the business with Ricky
and the price is right. I got to say the price
is right. So, go to rickyspirits.com
and find out where you can get Ricky near you.
Okay, moving on to another
friend of the pod.
This one, and the one following this
is going to be a teammate of his, is
sticky. Yeah. We've got a sticky
situation. Yep. Moving on to our boy
Seth Jarvis. Seth Jarvis,
current RFA hit me with his stats.
Seth Jarvis, 81 games, 33 goals, 34 assists, 67 points plus 23, 44 even strength points.
Dude, what a season by Jarvie.
It's incredible.
What a season.
Road 50, dude.
Plus 30 goals.
I love, you know, I love balance, guys.
33 and 34.
Yeah, you do.
That's just beautiful.
And that plus 23, my God, 44 even strength.
Okay.
Seth Jarvis, how old is he?
Seth Jarvis.
Hold on.
slash do that with Acrobat.
And for reference, the Carolina Hurricanes
have 8.1 mil in cap space.
Seth Jarvis, 22 years, 168 days.
So more or less the exact same age as Lucas Raymond.
He had four points less, five points less than Lucas Raymond.
Incredibly comparable players here.
Yep.
Incredibly comparable.
Both 30 plus goals.
Jarvie, obviously, on a big team in the Met,
playoff team. So I would say part of that plus 23 is the canes are fantastic. They're great
defensively. They're not giving up that many goals. So that helps him out. But this is just a
great season, a great stat line, and just a good situation for him being re-signed. Now, we talked
about those numbers for Raymond. If Jarvis signs an eight-year deal, I don't think that they
can afford him. Agree. Which is crazy. So like, Caroline
of Hurricanes fans, I'm, I'm nervous right now. Yep. I am very nervous because you got a guy in
Martin Natchez that we're going to talk about next, who you're also trying to hope to resign,
who's also RFA, and you only have 8.1 mil in cap space right now. Yep. And Jarvis, both of these guys,
obviously on rookie deals have been paid dick so far. Paid dick. So right now, when you have been
one of their best forwards this last season, you are looking to get a contract. And talking about
the QB contract, if you're
Seth Jarvis, you love that contract.
If you were the Carolina Hurricanes,
you fucking hate that. Because they gave Cube too much.
Well, it's just, it's
not so much that they gave him too much.
I think that they, I think the Kings gave him
not too little, but like QB could have asked
for more. But my, my point
is that the canes
are just mad because that happened right
now. Like, that happening right now makes them
be like, fuck me, because that's just great
shit for Jarvis. And that's what I mean, if it was
four by five, if Cube signed four by
five.
Oh yeah,
you're not saying
too much per value
you're saying it's too
much for your situation.
The canes are like,
damn it.
You know,
because now the bar's been set,
right?
So if it's like,
oh,
if that had been four by five,
we're in really great shape.
Because Jarvie goes,
give me more than that,
obviously.
I don't think that that's obvious.
I think that there's a situation
where,
you know,
the canes are a better team
than the Kings.
Yep.
And you,
if I'm the Canes,
that's my argument to Jarvie
and his agent.
Yeah.
I'm like,
if you put Quentin Byfield,
on this Keynes team, he has similar stats to Jarvie, if not better.
That is what I'm saying in the negotiations.
So I think it's hard to be like, oh, he was way better.
I don't think that's the case.
But the case is his stats are better, and you get to use that.
What I think is crazy is this contract for Cube when you're looking at the Keynes
means without a doubt that they are losing one of these guys.
Damn, dude.
I don't even think it's a conversation.
Yeah. One of them is gone. We've been hearing about NACIS wanting out and possibly being on the trading block all off season. And I think that that is now a certified guarantee. Yep. Like Carolina Hurricanes, you are losing one of these two guys. My bet is it's NACIS. And it's a killer because NACIS, let's just combo these. Yep.
NACIS, 82 games, 24 goals, 29 assists, 53 points, minus 9, 40, even strength points.
Brutal downgrade from the previous year. Yeah, oh my God. He had a monster year to C,
seasons ago. Last season, drop off. And I think a lot of that...
Season before, 28, 4371 points. Yeah. So drop-off season, but also just won a gold medal
with check. And I'll say this, here's what complicates it for him. He had his rookie deal,
three years, 1.4 AAV. Yeah. Then signed this deal, this two-year bridge. Yeah. Two years,
three-mill A-A-A-V.
So now he's like, okay,
I did the thing that everybody's doing,
I mean, all the Q's longer, obviously,
because I did the thing.
I helped you out.
Now, fuck you pay me.
He ain't helping anyone out, dude.
Like, he ain't trying to help anyone.
Yep.
So I think if you're the Keynes,
maybe, like you said,
you're like, oh, I can't afford Jarvie
if he wants eight or whatever.
I'm like, maybe you just go,
Nate just gone.
And then I do afford Jarvie by just going.
Okay, dude.
I think that that's absolutely what's going on here.
I think that they, you know, there's a world where you could go Jarvie 8 by 8.
And I think Jarvis signs that.
But I don't think that you're going to crunch yourself that.
When you have around 8.1 million cap space, I don't think you're going to give it all to Jarvis right now.
Obviously, you would have that, what is it, three coming off the books with, or it's already off the books.
So, no, that doesn't count.
Does Garvey not sign that, eight by eight?
No, I think he does sign it.
Oh, okay.
I'm saying if you're the Keynes, I don't think it's smart to go.
Right.
Take all the cap space.
Yep.
So I would guess Jarvis is going to sign a fiver, probably around six and a half to seven.
And then I think, yeah, I think Nate just is gone.
Dude, but just hear me out, though.
Hear me out, though.
Talk to you.
If he goes, because I think, in my opinion, Jarvie gets more than Cube, and I love Cube, and he's such a bright future.
But I think if I'm Jarvie's agent, I'm doing my job, I get him more than Cube.
So if Jarvie goes, I need at least seven, at least seven for five years.
and I'm the canes
then I just
I just give them the eight for eight
because I'm like
well if I'm gonna give you
I'm gonna give you all the cap by a mill
I'd rather just fucking lock you up
for three more years
spread out my shit a little bit more
and be like whatever dude
the complicated thing here is
you'd love to keep both these players
I don't think you can
in fact you can't
yeah yeah
check this note you can't
you can't
and I'm happy to eat crow
if they do something
make some moves
and figure it out
but I just don't think you can
So
realistically, when you go to the
negotiating table, you could probably get NACIS
for less.
Oh, oh, less than Jarvie.
Yes.
Yeah, right, because of the bad season.
But this is one of those situations
where if NACIS is like, I want out
and you have to decide between these two,
Jarvis just had the better year.
I'm like, we signed Jarvie, you move Natchez.
How old's Natchez?
I believe he's 24.
It might be 25.
Natch is 2,5-185 days.
So I think that this is a situation.
I think that you hope that you can get Jarvie on a fiver just to leave some breathing room.
But if he's like, nope, that's not enough.
Then yeah, you go eight by eight and pray to God he signs.
Yeah, right.
Because like here.
Pray to the old gods in the new that you can keep the kid around.
Because it would be very scary situation if Natchez is like, I want out.
And then you like, let's say you deal them.
I think there's a very specific reason we haven't seen a deal for Natchez yet or a contract for Jarvis yet.
Dude.
Because they're like, what is going on with these two?
You know what's fucked in is, and I think most listeners are we work in movies too.
And it's like you see like quotes come in.
This happens to writers, actors, but quotes come in and like you hit a number.
You do someone a favor because you like a director.
And then that's your number now.
So then the next movie everybody's like, I'll give you that.
And I'm like, get fucked, dude.
Yeah.
But what's nuts here is we're talking about those boys in Detroit being like, this is sick.
We're pumped about the cube deal.
We're in fucking great shape now.
I'm about to sign an 8 by 8 and a half to stay here.
Then, let's say, while they're asleep, sucking their thumbs in the, what's Detroit?
Steel City?
Wind?
It's not windy.
Motor City.
They're sucking their thumbs.
Rock City, too.
They're sucking their thumbs in Detroit Rock City, dude.
And Jarvie, the canes go to Jarvie and they go, yo, dude, nature's out.
Sorry, see you later.
We can give you 8 by 7 and a half.
I'm sorry, but I can give you 8 by 7 and a half.
And he goes, you know what, I love it here, I love Rod, I love what we're building, we're going to win a cup.
accept. Then Razor wakes up, stretches out, has a cup of coffee, spits it everywhere all over his
newspaper when he sees Jarvie 8 by 7 and a half because then the wings go, fuck you take
eight by, like if Jarvie gets them so prime for a bigger number, if Jarvie signs a team
friendly while you're not paying attention, now that precedent has been set and you're fucked
again. Yeah, Lucas Raymond, you need to sign right now. Sign right now, yeah.
Eight by eight and listen to this episode, Razor and sign right now, dude. Get it, get it. Go
Get it. No, it's, it's interesting, dude. And you know what? If, as we always say, we are a
player's podcast. I'm on the, you know, I love all these teams, blah, blah, blah, but I'm, I'm for the
players. If I'm Jarvis and Natchez, let's say specifically Jarvis here, because it looks like
Natchez is on the way out, I think the canes got worse. And I go, you know, we're talking
about Detroit. Detroit didn't even make the playoffs, but I think Detroit is surging up. We have the
Keynes here who have fallen short yet again.
Yep.
And they just got worse.
So if I'm Jarvis, I'm not being like, yeah, I believe in this project, whatever, and I'll
take a team from the deal.
I'm like, no, fuck you, dude.
Give me my fucking contract.
I'm like, give me five by eight.
Yeah.
And then we'll talk.
And then we'll talk.
Yeah, yeah.
So that is a tight situation in Carolina.
Let's move on to our boy, another friend of the pod, but get your ass on the pod.
Yeah, yeah.
A little clown.
Our boy, Maddie Baneer, is your son.
Yeah.
Your other son.
Yeah, I have two.
Children.
Two children.
Maddie Baneers, RFA with the Seattle Cracken.
Seattle Cracken, also around 8.1 mil in cap space.
Hit us with Maddie's stats.
77 games, 15 goals, 22 assists, 37 points, minus 11, 24 even strength points, massive
sophomore slump, which was completely on me.
100% your fault.
Literally completely on me.
Take a second and apologize to both the Seattle Cracken and Maddie Baneers.
I apologize, Cracken fans everywhere.
The Spunk got the best.
of me, Maddie, you know I love you, you are my boy. It's all going to be righted next year.
I just, I'm sorry that I did this to you personally. Can you hit us with Maddie's stats from
the year before? Because I think that that, this is Maddie's Calder season. One rookie of the
year, unbelievable player, came in hot, had a beautiful rookie season, had a little bit of a
slump last year, but all signs are pointing towards Maddie dominating this next year. We were with
him not long ago. He looks bigger. He looks healthy. He does. He looks good. He looks big. He looks
Good.
It's big.
He's a box.
80 games, 24 tucks, 33 assists, 57 points.
Give me a break.
Boom.
Book right now, Maddie Bineer, is over 65 points next year.
And over 30 goals.
I like that.
I like that a lot.
So, Maddie needs a contract.
Yep.
My boy needs a contract.
What do you think we're looking at with Maddie?
My boy needs a contract.
He, I think he hates the deal.
Cube's deal.
Do you?
Yep.
because he wishes
Cube took a little more
because we both agree Cube left some stuff
on the table
and if Maddie gets to go to the table
and his bargaining table
and goes
Cube got five by seven and a half
then he's like yeah I understand that
I'm coming off not the best year
I can't ask what he got
but I can get five by 6.25
if he wanted
now what I think is an interesting question
so he's on his rookie was a three
1.8. It's actually not bad for that first deal.
Not at all. Good job, Maddie.
But if I'm him,
I'm more in the market for an 8
than maybe some of these other guys.
Maddie is 21?
Yeah. He's,
might be 21. Oh, yeah, 21 and 256 days.
Okay, so almost 22. Yep.
This is what I think with Maddie Baneers.
Maddie had a, you know, yeah, decent little rookie deal.
Maddie Baneers is, like, last year doesn't count, dude.
That was a slump for the Cracken, doesn't count for Maddie either.
Like I said, I think we've got a no question about it.
Like, Maddie's clearly durable.
Oh, yeah, dude.
You know, 77 games last year.
He's available all the time.
Maddie is a face of this franchise.
That's what I'm saying.
Like, they don't have a superstar, and I know they like that.
Maddie is a face of this franchise.
I think we're going to see a Trevor Zegra's deal.
I think Maddie's going to sign a two or a three-year deal.
I think it's going to be around two to three at like five.
Like what Natchez did, honestly.
Yeah.
But I think a little bit more.
I think Baneers is going to sign it, let's call it a three.
He's about to be 22.
I think he's going to sign a three year at five, four and a half to five.
Three by five, I think is like a.
Really?
Makes Maddie happy, makes the Cracken happy.
He's going to be underpaid for two years of his career.
And then when he is 24, almost 25, because he's not 22 yet, right?
Yep.
He's going to sign a eight.
I think that would make him extremely happy.
I love everything he just laid out.
That helps us remodel the kitchen at our family house.
He gets the money coming in.
Good for the family.
That's good for the family.
what I don't think they give him that much.
Like if he comes up and goes, give me three by five,
because buddy, I think I just maybe got off this,
but if he goes give me three by five,
or even like two, you know, by five,
was Zegras two?
No, I believe Trev signed a three by five point like two or something.
Interesting.
Naceous was only, his points were 36, 41, 40,
and then he had the big 71 burger.
So I don't hate that.
Actually, but no, this kind of helps my cause.
Baneers goes 57 sick, 37.
That 57 was more than Natchez had ever even sniffed.
But I think if he goes, give me two by five, three by five,
I'm the cracking.
I go, no, dude, but you can have two to keep your flexibility up,
but I'll give you two by three.
And he...
Trevor signed a, sorry, three by five point seven five.
Yeah. And like, what were his points, dude? Let's check that out.
It was the, you remember it's just the 60s. Like, it's like the 60, 61, 63.
And that's good, though. Like, that's deserving of that. How much exactly? It's it five by seven?
Seven point five point seven. Five point seven. Yeah. So I think if Maddie's like five, five flat, maybe, but I'll up my three to four. But like, I think, I think I found the crack. And I'm like, no, but you can have two by four. And then we'll revisit.
it. Yeah, I just think the Cracken believe in Matt. Obviously, everyone believes in Maddie.
And it's, it's similar to Zegras, dude. Like, Zegris had two back-to-back 60 plus seasons.
Yep. Maddie in one rookie of the year. Yeah, it was nasty. 57.
One rookie of the year in the first year of the Seattle Cracken. Yep. He is the playoff.
He is the face of the franchise. He had 57 points. And then, yes, he had a down year last year, but everyone is going, that was a fluke.
So yeah, I think five is totally reasonable for him to ask for.
I agree.
I think the Cracken would be happy to give it to him.
Especially if it means avoiding some bullshit that went down with Zegras.
Oh my God, dude.
Like you do not want to enter, in my opinion, you do not want to enter season like August without guys signed.
Like I want guys to know, like we know it firsthand.
Guys who don't have contracts right now, some of them are fine.
A lot of them are like, this fucking.
blows, dude. It's so annoying. Even if you're RFA and you're like, oh, I know I got to stay here.
It's just the first taste of it. Just get a rookie deal, yeah. Get these fucking deals done and make your players happy and have them with a good mindset going in. Yep. All right. Moving on. The last person we're going to talk about in this category, which I think is maybe the most topical, certainly the most triggered. Not RFA this year, RFA next year, Alexei Lafranier. Alexei Lafranier has one year left.
on his deal that I believe is like 2.325 or something, less than Kako, which is funny.
Yeah, that's correct.
He is RFA next year.
A loose projection, the Rangers are going to have something around 20 to 23 mil in cap space.
And they also need to resign plenty of people, including Igor Shisterkin, after next year.
That's the big one, obviously.
This past season, Lafranier's stats.
Lafie went.
Big jump, honestly.
Big jump.
Big jump.
He went 82 games, 28 goals.
Almost 30.
Almost.
Fuck.
29 assists.
Almost had 30 assists.
57 points plus 2.
51 even strength points.
And a hell of a playoff.
51 even strength points is what I want to point out.
That is fucking phenomenal.
Fantastic.
Okay.
Six of his points were on.
Yeah, PP2.
Like, that's what all the Rangers fans that are like, he's a hundred point guy are like,
well, he's PP2.
Yeah, they think he's going to get 40 power play.
Idiots.
But that's a good season.
That is a phenomenal season.
I hate the plus two.
Being the president's trophy winning team and you are only a plus two, I'm like, dude,
and you're playing with two certified all-star studs.
You know what?
I'm like, buddy, I'm going to need a little bit more.
This will be interesting stat to look up.
Keep going.
Alexei Lafranier, I would say wildly comparable to QB,
both in stats.
QB had two less points, but two less games.
Yep.
These guys are pick one and two in the 2020 draft.
Yep.
So obviously they're going to be compared a lot.
Lafey on a significantly better team.
Yep.
But QB had a little bit more power play time.
However, these guys are very, very similar in their seasons last year.
Now, by all accounts, everything we've heard is Lafranier is not going to extend right now.
He's going to play out this season, become an RFA, bet on himself, and then sign a contract.
His rookie deal was sick.
Laffey's?
Yeah.
He's the number one pick, dude.
3-7-A-A-V, three years by 3-7.
And then took a downgrade.
And then took two years by 2-3.
Yeah.
Because he was like, I'm a bust.
Yeah.
And now he's like this.
Now he's showing up, baby.
The buster
brought me.
Kept me out of handcuffs, too.
Correct.
So now he's back,
dude.
Now he's going to get a fat one.
So yeah,
he's going to play this out,
as he should,
by the way.
Yes.
Okay,
so let's break this down.
If you were Alexei Lafranier,
do you like this QB deal?
He's also 22, right?
He's like late 22.
Yeah, because I go like this.
I play next year.
Up these numbers.
These are rookie numbers
in this racket.
he gets better but call it like what a 60 point what do you have
call it like a 70 point season that's maybe too high but like 65 points 70 points
let's say let's just live in the world where lafey has a 70 point season next year okay
30 goals 40 assists plus 10 70 points 23 he goes he gets to then go if he wants two big ones
he gets to then go, I'll take a five-year deal to stay here.
I think by the end of next year, Lafranier signing an eight-year deal.
He just wants his eight.
But I think it's the Rangers, too.
I think the Rangers are already dealing with the fact that Panarin, Kreider, and Zabana
Jan are older.
You've got the Truba contract.
Like, there's a lot of things going on.
If they want to stay relevant, they go, we're locking up for eight years.
Especially if he has a 70, though.
Like if I'm jury, I'm only offering him an eight-year next year if he plays well.
Yep. So then
then he loves it, dude, because
Cube got six fucking two five
for five years.
50 points though? Like what do you finish with?
55. Yeah, two less points. Dude,
they had the same season. Yep. Two less points,
two less games. And again,
Cube on a significantly worse team
had a significantly better plus minus.
Like, there are some. And again,
this is when we play, you've got to figure out both sides.
If I'm Drury and you were having to negotiate
right now, I'd be like this. Quentin Bifield
had a better year than you.
Yeah.
I would strongly...
You look at him in the face of it.
I would strongly push for that.
Don't forget, we're living,
and I know I'm making sense up,
but we're living in a 70 point season next year.
Yep.
So you go,
Quentin Byfield got 6.25
coming off a 55 point season.
This year, I got 70,
and my plus minus is about the same,
you know, like,
so I'm certainly getting more than that
by like a decent bump.
Yep.
I think to that I would say,
you are you're now officially in your prime and I'd go you had 13 more points than last year and you want
significant like you had the same year as quentin last year and now you have 13 more points good job
you want significantly more I would say no to that I would say you can get 8 by 7.5 and you'll be
happy and I would say certain well I would say 8.8 8 by 8.5 and then hopefully we would settle at 8 by 8
eight and I think if you are Laffey and I told you last year at the start of this coming season
if I told you you're about to get an eight by eight contract from the New York Rangers he'd be like
oh my god what did I do this is amazing yeah so he's got to be thrilled and then I think if you're
the Rangers and he's coming off a 70 burger at 23 eight by eight you're like okay I mean the
fucking the way the Rangers fans talk about Laffey that they better say that's the that made a
contracted NHL history.
So, you know, I think everybody wins there.
You know what's funny is if you're the Rangers, you pray for a 70 point year from Lafey.
Because you want to keep this guy.
You know, I think people would be like, we pray for that.
We pray for 120 points.
And I'm like, okay, guys, like, let's.
But you're saying then you might be fucked on the contract?
Yes.
Yeah, because he might be like 8.
If he has a 70 point year, you get him at, in my opinion, under 8.
Eight.
Yeah.
and like good for you Laffey
that's fantastic and then like Rangers like you can live with that
because Igor I mean this fucking guy
if he plays like he played last year he could ask for
fucking 12 million if he wants I don't think he's going to
but like he certainly could
and dealing with the shit you deal with in fucking New York
and let's be real
three of their key better players are all long in the tooth
they're in the twilight years of their career
so like if I'm eager
I'm like, you guys want me to sign an eight-year deal and fucking stay here, then you're giving me a bag.
Yeah, right.
So, like, you're looking at, if you're the Rangers, Igor probably signing between 9 and 11, is what I'm guessing.
Oh, God damn.
Look at the cap, dude.
Like, you know, he's on a unbelievable deal.
Like, the fact that the Rangers have had Igor Shosturken at a less than six is fucking ridiculous.
And they haven't won a cup.
Like, that, they're pissed about that.
Only, so Kerry Price 10.5 mil, Bob 10.
Only two goalies to ever get 10.
Yeah.
And now one of them has won a cup.
So we can now no longer have the argument.
Like, oh, you can't win a cup if a goal he has 10 or more.
Now, now.
And Vassi is 9-5.
Yeah.
And Igor's agent gets to go.
Yeah.
I mean, dude, Vassi 9-5 in Florida, if you're eager, you're going, we're getting at least that.
Is what, again, what my agent would say.
Yep.
Yeah.
So, so, Laffie likes the deal, dude.
He loves the deal.
Yeah, because he gets to be like, bro.
So again, hold on, let me finish my thought.
If you are the Rangers, you are praying for a 70-point season
because then you can get him on a reasonable contract and still get Igor.
Dude, honestly, you're praying for almost this exact season again.
60 points.
But I don't think so because, again, don't think about just the numbers.
If you get 70 points from Lafey, as a Rangers fan, you go, amazing.
He's not a bust.
He's a great player.
Like, that's a first-line-ish player.
that's awesome.
If he has less than that, you go,
this guy's closer to a bust than a first overall pick.
But if he goes 30-30 next year for 60 points.
Yeah, he's closer to a bust than a first overall pick.
Fair, but I'm not out on him yet.
No, no, and I still give him a deal,
but I probably don't give him eight.
I probably give him him, I go, hey, take five by six.
He goes, okay.
And then if he blossoms into that 80-point guy still,
which would be very possible.
Yeah, he's so young.
Then I go, wow, what a fucking steal.
So I think of the range is you,
actually pray for a 60.
So you know what's frustrating?
So this is my final point.
Yep.
If you are the Rangers, you were praying to God that he was Arfay right now.
Yes.
Oh, dude.
Because you would get him on that Cube deal.
Same conscience.
And you'd be thrilled because now the reality is either Lafie doesn't progress and he's exactly
this or worse.
And you're like, fuck.
Because you want him to get better or he gets better and he rightfully so asks
for much more money and you are now
cap crunched and
I can't afford him
and you're like mother
I gotta pay Chesty
so like great
my closing statement is
Laffey's thrilled
Rangers fans
you must be like
annoyed yep
annoyed yeah
but everybody
hey listen
if the Rangers fans
of the fan base
I know them to be
then if Lafey
has a 75 point season
next year and is too expensive
for the Rangers to resign
because they have to keep Chesty
they will root for Lafie wherever he goes
and hope he wins several cups
for the Dallas stars.
That's what Rangers, if they love Laffey
the way they say they do.
They will root for him to get the bag
and win cups for the Dallas Stars.
100% do, dude. That is what you have to do.
Come on, dude.
Listen, if you are as much riding his jock
as you claim to be, that's what you want for him.
Squad, we want to talk to you really quick
about our boys and their new show
that you need to tune into.
Hold the phone hosted by our,
guys Dr. Locks, Gavin McHugh, and glue guy, Zach Lupica,
is coming to you every single Tuesday and Friday at 8 a.m. Pacific time live.
Everything that you need to know, everything that you need to digest about sports,
gambling, all of those worlds, cover in everything.
These two have you covered and hold the phone is just so funny
and packed with all of this gambling and sports knowledge stuff that you could possibly want.
It's an unbelievable new live show that has just launched,
Make sure when you're grinding away during the week
You're trying to get all these fucking balance sheets done
You're trying to get your work delivered to your manager
When you need that nice break
8 a.m. Pacific Tuesdays and Fridays
Hold the phone is coming to you live
Twice a week
Making sure that you're up to date on all of the gambling stuff
That you need all of the sports stuff that you need
These two are a laugh riot
They're cool, they're awesome
Two of our best buds
Make sure you tune in check this show out
It is can't miss stuff
All right, hold up.
You all know that we've partnered with BetMGM,
but what rattles me is you aren't taking advantage of this opportunity.
Okay, so go download the BetMGM app right now.
Use promo code Netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
Then what you get to do is place a bet on anything.
$5,500, $1,500.
If you win, you are sick at gambling.
Congratulations.
If you lose, BetM-GM takes whatever you bet between 5 and 1,500,
and they put that money all the way across the room back into your bank account.
You bet again. You have to do this. Come on. It's a no-brainer.
So get on bet MGM, use promo code netters, and get rocking.
Gambling problem. Call 1-800-Gambler. Call 8778-8-Hop-N-Y or text HOPEN-NY for New York.
Call 100-3-270-M-1-MAS for New York or Texas-Gov-N-EWRefi-EWROW-B
1010-EEEEVRROW-E.OXXXXXEGM-EGM-E
or visit WBWWFWRWFWRWRWFWRWFWRWRBFWRWRWRWRWRWRW.
returns, U.S. promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
I have one final thought.
Yeah.
But you said you had some craziness.
Do you want to feel?
No, this is more relevant right now, so do it.
Okay, so something that has been circulating the NHL social media streams, and it's just
been a conversation for a long time.
In 2020, the top four picks in the draft were Alexei LaFranier, Quentin Byfield, Tim Stutzla,
and Lucas Raymond.
We just read their stats.
I'm going to give you them again.
Lafranier stats
Last year
82 games
28 goals
29 assists
57 points
Quentin Beifield
80 games
20 goals
35 assists
55 points
Tim Stutzla
last year
75 games
18 goals
52 assists
70 points
the year before he had 90 points
yeah
and then Lucas
Raymond
82 games
31 goals
41 assists
72 points
if you are
starting a franchise right now. Right now. Zero players on your, like we are doing a,
everyone is a free agent. We are doing a fantasy draft. And you have to pick, you have the first
overall pick and you have to pick one of those four. Who are you going with? It's tight,
dude, but I think Razor. And dude, Timmy is so good. What's crazy, dude, is look at this.
If you said Laffey, Cube, Stutz, Razor.
If you said I have to redraft the top four, and I can't take anyone outside of the top four,
I think I redrafted it in the exact reverse order.
Razor, Stutz, Cube, Laffey.
Yeah.
Which is nuts.
Razor Cube Stutz.
No, Razor Stutz, Cube.
Yeah.
And Stutz, it had a 90-point thing, 52 assists.
And I think the senators being such a disappointment this year hurt his production.
Yeah.
You know, like, I think he actually gets way closer to 90 again this year,
which none of these boys have even sniffed, by the way.
Super young, obviously, but none of these boys have even stiffed.
So I almost went stutz first.
Still, 52 assists is so elite.
It's so elite, dude.
It's just, how many goals did he have that 90 year?
39.
So his career, he's gone.
Yeah.
His rookie year, 53 games, 29 points.
Then 79 games, 58 points.
Then 78 games, 90 points.
Then 75, 70.
Yeah, and in 39.
Bags, dude.
Yeah, maybe him.
The kid almost scored 40.
The way I look at it.
The way I look at it is, as far as consistency, it's him and Lucas.
Like Lucas had maybe a down year last, or the two seasons ago, but he had a great first year, then a okay season and then a great season last year.
Stutzla, you know, let's not even count that first one.
Yeah.
But he's gone 58 and 79, 90 and 78, 70 and 75.
Like, that's very consistently good.
You don't like the regression.
Yeah, right.
But no, I just think that had a bad season.
And, like, you know, everybody bounced down a little bit.
It's hard to not say him.
Yeah, it might be him.
I think I'm going cube.
Oh, dude.
What?
And I love Cuban.
I think he's going to be a massive star.
Dude, I just think.
I think he's good on the dot, he's responsible, he's so quick, he's six five.
He's six, five, and he's this quick.
His vision is remarkable.
The hands, dude.
You know what I really love?
20 goals, 35 assists.
Like, his vision is really, really strong.
Tell me that couldn't be 40 in two years.
I think like Laffey, he's shown a lot of resiliency with like, you know, people being like, oh, are you ever going to blossom?
going to blossom and they both did. It's just the size. I like his versatility too. He's played on
the wing. Yeah, yeah. Great point. And he's a center as well. But what I think is really cool in this
topic. Like, well, we were just gunned to our head forced to choose. I think it's really cool that
after a lot of up and down for some of these guys, we're at a point now where the top four picks
in that 2020 draft, if you have any of them, you're thrilled. Very cool. Yeah. Yeah.
I'll give you that.
I was about to say maybe not thrilled, but...
Okay, but you're like...
I'm going to say certainly three or four are thrilled.
Yeah, me too.
And I'm going to...
I don't need to say it with the possible fourth is.
Yeah.
Yes.
But the future is much brighter than it was coming into this season.
Yes.
Absolutely.
Sick.
Okay.
Last thing I'm going to hit you, the athletic just ripped this.
I thought it was cool.
Literally like the other day.
Yeah.
The 10 best contracts in the NHL.
Oh.
and we'll go fast and here's I'm going to give you they're going to they have their actual
AAV for however many actual years and then they have what they think the value okay could have been
hit me they're number one do you have a guess um we've said it many times marshy I mean like
marshy's up there um and like oh mark doesn't count right because he's or no he should still count
um the best contract is either sid or um he was in the final
Oh, Barkoff.
Nope.
Right team, though.
Reiner?
Nope.
Then Kachuk?
Nope.
D?
Oh, Goose.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Sorry.
Absolutely, Goose.
5.8 for the next eight years.
Oh, like, Kachuk is a huge contract, but the next eight years.
Yeah, yeah.
Goose is.
Athletic has his value at 11.4 for the next eight years.
So that's just a huge, massive swing.
Best contract in the league.
Love it.
Not going to get much argument from me, then.
No, me neither.
Number two, they have at 8 mil for the next six years,
with a value of 14.1 mil for the next six years.
Average, by the way.
Yeah.
Because it gets up to like 15.2 in his sixth year.
Jack Hughes.
Yeah.
I think that value is too high.
14.
14.1 mil.
14.
That's what he's worth, dude.
No, he's not.
That's what he's worth.
Jack, you know, I love you.
He's not worth 14 yet.
I think that's an aggross.
Like, if they wanted to make that claim after the 99 point season, then sure.
And like beating the Rangers in the playoffs, sure.
But banged up all year long, missed the playoffs, disaster season.
14, fucking grow up.
That is a great contract.
He's definitely worth more than eight, but 14 is a clown show.
It's cool, too.
They do this net rating, which I don't know where they get in these metrics, but it's like,
Goose, offensive rating plus eight, defensive rating plus five for a net plus 13.
Jack, offensive rating plus 19, defensive rating.
rating plus 1 for a net rating of plus 20.
Third best contract in the
NHL. Offensive rating 13,
defensive rating 5 for a net plus 18.
8.5 mil for the next five years.
Average value 14.4 mil for the next five years.
What are these at like...
Or model value. Yeah. But these are so ridiculous.
Like no one has contracts that big.
No, no. But it's saying like that's what this player is worth.
I know, but like that's stupid. Like they should they should do it based on like what could
possibly exist in an...
In the NHL.
I like it.
Miro.
At Medcan, we know that life's greatest moments
are built on a foundation of good health.
From the big milestones to the quiet winds.
That's why our annual health assessment
offers a physician-led, full-body checkup
that provides a clear picture of your health today
and may uncover early signs of conditions
like heart disease and cancer.
The healthier you means more moments to cherish.
Take control of your well-being
and book an assessment today.
Med-Can. Live well for life.
Visit medcan.com slash moments to get started.
Yeah, like, it's a great deal.
It's a great deal.
8.5 for five more.
Great fucking deal.
Yep.
Number four, plus 19 rating,
9.5 mil for the next five years is his actual contract.
Model value 15 mil for the next five years.
Adam Fox.
I could not disagree with this one.
Same.
I think that that is.
Rangers hate again,
but same dude that's i mean like that i'm fox on nine point five is a it's a good fucking deal
like if i'm adam fox i'm like i got a great deal that's a fair contract so i don't have that
as in the best contracts in the league yeah that is that is moronic right because i mean he's as young though
it was 26 he ain't that that is moronic because mirro's fucking 25 yeah so like with mirro at eight
point five and obviously they have him one above at foxy but mirro at eight point five a year
younger than Foxy at 9.5 is such a better deal. And I think I take Miro 10 times out of
eight over Adam Fox in a fantasy draft if I'm building a team. And the only people who don't
are Rangers fans. And that is a fact. Fifth best contract in the NHL at 6.25 for the next four
years actual contract. Model 12.7 for the next four years. Josh Morrissey. Yeah, fantastic. Good deal.
And this is cool. In this article, they were like, because they did this last year,
And he was in, or a couple years ago, he was in worst contract in the NHL because they were like, you paid him number one D franchise money.
He stinks.
And now they're like, actually, we're idiots.
He's very good.
Six best contract in the league.
9.5 mil for the next six years.
Model value 14.1 for the next six years.
Matthew Kuchat.
Yeah, I mean, phenomenal.
Good contract, but again, 9.5 is a decent chunk.
Yeah, I agree.
like we're getting now in these points
where people are making over
over nine with just today's cap.
I'm like, I don't know that we can call
that like the best contract.
I do think he's... Chuckie is
Chuckie's a 10 and a half guy.
But like this is the Florida factor, dude.
This is the no-state tax factor.
And maybe I need to check myself
because we always say we're like, he's one of the best
top five players in the league.
So I'm like, if you're getting him at 9-5, you're happy.
We're getting the point on this list where like if someone were to go,
Matthew could Chuck best contract in the NHL.
I would go like this. No, he is not.
Okay.
And keep in mind.
I'm like, that's a great contract.
Like, Matthew, you know I've said a million times.
I think Matthew Kuchuk is a top five player in the league.
And if you're starting a franchise,
he might be literally my number one pick.
But that's a great contract.
Dude, actually, I take this back.
It's definitely not the best in the league
because some of those ones at the top are insane,
like the Jack Hughes contract's insane.
But 26 to 32 at 9-5.
Yeah, it's a great deal.
That's actually tremendous.
And it's a way above Foxy and I would even say above Miro.
Yeah, I don't know.
8.5 for Miro.
9.5 for Kuchuk.
I just think that there's a lot of comparable defensemen, Charlie McAvoy.
Like Miro Heiskin and making a million less than McAvoy.
If you're Dallas, you're like, what a sick deal we got.
Seventh best contract in league is only 10.
Seven best in the league.
12.6 for the next seven years.
Move on.
Is Nate Dogg?
Yeah, like that is not the best contract in the league.
He's like the third highest player.
Yeah, moving on.
Moving on.
But this list is now officially stupid.
Crazy value, dude.
Keep moving on.
Crazy value.
Keep moving.
crazy value.
This list has lost the thread of what this means.
And this one I just can't believe is so low.
Eighth best contract in the league.
5.5 mil for the next four years.
Model 11.3 for the next four years.
Zach Hyman.
Tremendous.
Yeah, I mean like G, shout out Grinnell.
Like G is like, is this obviously the best contract in the league.
And if he has one more season even sniffing like this, then that is yes.
5.5, dude.
That is number one.
Like, how is that lower?
Worse than Nate?
Like, we're doing it based on the last year.
Like, how is that lower?
Where's the Nate?
He might not do it again.
He might not do it again, but maybe worse than Nate.
Yeah, but we have to base it on last year.
Like, that is one or two.
All right, number ninth best contract in the league.
7.8 for the next three.
Okay.
14.7 is the model.
Quinn Hughes.
Yeah, phenomenal.
Great deal, dude.
Quinnie is, I think he's got to be top five for me.
Like, that's such a good deal.
If this had any more term on it,
he would be in the conversation of
the one of the best deals
team deals in the league. Oh, I think it's still
I think it's top three dude, best contracts
in the league because what he's doing and what he's
going to continue to do, he's the captain of the fucking team,
he just brought them to the playoffs and also
that poor fucking kid is in Canada
paying Canadian taxes.
Like that is like Christ almighty.
That kid deserves nine and a half plus.
I know and it's crazy because but Jack, his brother,
because it's almost the same.
Quinn's like seven to nine.
Jack's locked in at eight for the next six years.
years. Quinn's got, Quinn's at eight for the next three. And he gets to be like, boom, huge cash.
I know, crazy. So that's kind of a killer for Jack. So Jack's the better deal for sure for me.
Oh, I don't know about that. Well, I mean, I guess they're the same, but yeah. Number 10, 10th best
contract in the league. Seven mill for the next six years. Model 11 mil for the next six years.
Matt Boldie. He's 23. That is on a, we're, I'm going to call this a, we're trending towards
that might be one of the best, in one, two years, we'll look at that as a top five in the league.
Right.
No that.
32 goals, 75 point.
Yeah.
And he's got it, dude.
If you guys are unfamiliar with Matt Boldy's game, familiarize yourselves immediately, that kid's got it.
Honorable mentions, Sam Reiner, Jasper Bratt, Brandon Hagle, Roman Yosi.
Hagel, Hyundai.
And Austin Matthews.
Lowell.
A fucking stupid list
All right
Love these breakdowns
Love us getting through
These dark days of summer
I love that stuff
And I hope all these fan bases
Can get a taste of what we're thinking here
But that's it for us today
At the Empty Netters podcast
We got an unreal
Epi coming for you later this week
Mario Ferraro of the San Jose Sharks
Joining the podcast
One of the funniest dudes
I was going to say in the NHL
On Planet Earth
Best kept secret in the world
Yeah, truly, Mario Ferraro is like what is possibly the most marketable guy in the NHL
and it's just like a little secret up in the bay.
So we're, we're going to blast that secret open.
So can't wait for you guys to enjoy that.
And until then.
You know what to do.
Skatehart.
