Empty Netters Podcast - We TOLD You: The Red Wings Dominant Start Means Playoffs Are Back In Detroit
Episode Date: October 21, 2025The standings are starting to take shape, and there are some shockers on there! The Red Wings are incredible. The Lightning are terrible. The Wild could be in trouble. The Kraken got their spunk back.... And the Sharks might never win again. The guys break down the action from an amazing week in hockey, plus they wonder if they aren’t cool enough to understand 6 7. Stick around for the beer league hotline and a hilarious blind ranking. NEW EPISODES EVERY TUESDAY & THURSDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! (0:00) - Intro (3:46) - Red Wings Scorching Hot (11:50) - Canes Still Undefeated (22:06) - Sharks Are Sacrificing Kids (31:56) - Burning Hockey Questions (1:06:45) - What is 6 7? (1:21:10) - Beer League Hotline Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the Empty Netters podcast.
Can you believe what this has become?
There was a full 48 hours where I felt like I was like literally Superman.
Jumbo loves playing Fortnite, so he gets on the sticks.
Did TR show you the sauna cycle or was that all year?
No, no, I invented that.
Almost a year now that I haven't taken a body check.
That's kind of nice.
Finish tonight with some chicken fingers and a few guineasas is right into you guys.
That's where this pod came to life.
Ice is ready.
And we are back with another episode of the,
MT Netters podcast brought to you by BetMGM. I'm your host. Dan tickle me powers. Redmond is on the
sticks. Didn't wasn't fazed by that nickname at all. And with me over here, the man who once derailed
a river float for an hour and a half so he could land a backflip on a rope swing. Chris Powers.
As always. That was an embarrassing moment for you. Yeah, it was. Yeah, it was. Yeah,
that's, you got, you got it though.
dude here's the thing sometimes you gotta derail shit
and I got no problem with that
well of course you have no problem
no I'm saying sometimes people gotta derail shit
and I'm I'll live
you know you can derail things red can derail things
and I'm like okay sometimes you gotta derail
you can't do it all the time sometimes
you're always derailing I'm like row
now that's just railing now
you're railing is you are railing
yeah but if you occasionally derail
that's fine
I meant, okay, as long as you rail a lot.
You need to be railing most of the time.
Okay.
Or surround yourself with people who rail.
Yeah, because then shit's getting done still.
We had a crazy week.
Crazy week in the NHL.
We're going to get right into hot ice.
Waste no time.
Start talking about all the goods.
First, I do want to say, though, awesome to launch week one of Netters College
Proctor.
Oh my God, dude.
And I'm so excited.
for week two. Me too. The feedback was awesome. Can't wait for it to just get better, get cooler,
and the season to get more intense. We're going to have another new number one, dude.
Yeah, we might already. Damn right. It's unbelievable, but let's get into NHL action. I feel like
there's a lot of hot topics already. Oh yeah, dude, which is phenomenal.
We say this every year. It gets late early. And it's, I love the, like, it's so early. It's,
so early and I'm like rarely though barring injury rarely did these early trends completely 180 you know
like you don't often see a team be like oh we were actually awesome to start the year and then we're
actually terrible um and reverse notable exceptions the oilers start oh and nine I was just going to
the cup like it it happens yeah but I'm just saying it's not like the fucking standings flip
it's like one team a year yeah yeah right it's not like oh my god after the first
10 games it was like this and then but it's obviously going to switch this way i'm like no if you're
bad in the first 10 games you're bad you're bad period you're dead your whole season's over i'm so glad
that you guys said this you guys are you're on fire already uh it's been funny how many oilers fans are
already being like who cares and i think they're they have that right they're the only fan base who's
allowed to say that because a ton of fans are right now going doesn't matter dude look at the
oilers and i'm like but i do think oh do you have con up to david too yeah i'm like i'm like
I think they're an exception, and it's actually funny.
It's a perfect segue into the first team that we're going to talk about,
but I'm not going to talk about them.
I'm not going to talk about them.
I was talking to Larks over the weekend,
and he was like, one of my favorite quotes, dude,
you've got to have a hot start to have a hot season.
And we've got a hot stuff.
Detroit Red Wings are hot.
Bro.
They are red hot cooking after they got.
But we're not talking about it.
They got pumped in that first game of the season,
and everybody was like,
Dude, I put them on, I warned them.
I went, you have two games.
Your next two games need to be wins.
Otherwise, you were on Fraudwatch.
Because after all, all the talk about how the ship was going to get righted.
And then the amazing, you know, putting certain guys on waivers and giving opportunities to the youth.
To the youths.
The youths.
And it started bad.
And I was like, two games.
And now they've won three in a row.
And I'm like, they've won five in a row.
Or, yeah, sorry.
They won.
They beat the Leafs.
They beat the Leifs.
They beat the Panthers.
They beat the Lightning.
They beat the Oilers.
And I know some of the lightning have skidded a little bit.
But those are that's a fucking hell of a resume right there.
Five straight.
Five and one.
I mean.
And dude, here's the best part.
Plus six goal.
Diff.
Here's the best part.
There's two best parts actually.
One, Dylan Larkin, five goals, six assists, 11 points in six games.
That's the third in the league.
That is Captain America.
That is exactly what you need.
What did I say, dude?
I said, remember he said, fourth line.
I'll show you fourth line.
You fucking fat pig.
buddy I said that and then he goes like this suck me now he's started hot dude he's got
the lawn and the brain he started hot just like I said then I said Gibson three shoutouts
in October just kidding Gibson stinks but that's okay so far two and one eight seven three
say percentage two nine nine goals against I also want to take this opportunity to say this
someone in the comments the other day when I'm talking about goalies I'll do this a lot
Gibson 873 two nine nine and someone in the comments goes I can't believe this kid gives a six
digit save percentage.
And I'm like, bro.
That is so embarrassing for that commenter.
I actually had, I got to try to find it because someone replied to him,
having my back, but incorrectly having my back.
He was just trying to support me no matter what.
But he goes, I don't know, dude, maybe like there's more to learn from a six digit.
Like give the fuck, give them a fucking break.
Like they're actually working hard.
Well, I don't know.
What a ledge.
And I was like, you're my boy, dude.
Yeah.
That's ride or down.
I am giving goals against now.
That's rider down.
These are two statistics.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But Dan, Cam Talbot,
3-0-932-178.
The fuck, dude.
I'm not surprised by this at all.
He did this for the Kings.
Just, he's old, though,
Happy Gilmore did that merely an hour ago.
Here's the, it's actually perfect.
You know why it's perfect?
Because Cam Talbot is an old.
Yeah.
And he is, he can't play.
You know what he's doing.
I'm going to give you another golf reference here.
Cam Talbot is Freddie couples right now.
Yes, yes.
Freddie Couples, day one of the masters.
Thursday at Augusta.
Day one of the masters, he is coming out hot,
and Cam Talbot is going to give you 20 to 30 phenomenal games.
And that, sir, is all I need from you.
So Gibber, you've got 30 games to get your head right.
And you need to.
Because I'll tell you what Detroit Red Wings fans will not handle well,
is Cam Talbot going, I did everything you need for me.
and then he falls off because he's asked to be the responsible number one goaltender,
and Giver comes in.
When he's an old.
And Giver doesn't have it figured out.
So I'm like, hey, Giver, just, you've got plenty of time.
Yep.
You've got plenty of time, but make sure we lock in.
Make sure we lock in here.
Freddy's back's about to go.
Freddy's back's about to go come Saturday morning.
Come the Saturday morning tea time, he will not be able to swing a club.
Correct.
And that is Cam Talbot.
He cannot swing a club.
Gibson, we're good.
We're good.
We're five and one.
Look at us go.
Look at Dylan.
Look at what he's doing.
Yep.
but I just need you to be ready.
I also am willing to get sewered for this,
but the, I am already, as of right now, accepting apologies.
Oh.
From kind of you, frankly, but certainly Johnny Las.
Because I went on my Red Wings rant and said they're finishing four seed and making playoffs.
And Lazra commented, incredible rant, still sixth in the Atlantic.
Did you see his, he made a comment on it?
On that post?
Yeah.
What do you say?
He was like, what kind of an idiot would say this?
So he already apologized.
Thank you, Johnny.
I appreciate that.
I am accepting apologies.
I've received apology, apology accepted.
How dare you ask for an apology for me?
This is my team.
You went reverse jinx then?
Because you also picked them to miss.
You said, sadly, yes, missing players.
But I was like, that said,
you hoped they would make it,
but you were like, they will not make it.
And I was like, this year, I know for a fact.
Faith is a fact.
I am, and I knew for a fact that this was the playoff year.
I said it, and no one else said it except for me.
I am giving you that.
Yep.
But I was not like they're missing.
I was like, the way I see things shaking down, they might miss, and I want that to not be the case.
Yep.
So I'm not, I wasn't, I didn't put any evil in there.
No, no, no, you would never evil them.
You would never evil them.
I'll evil someone else.
Yeah, but you could pick them to miss, which you did.
And luckily, for the Red Wings, they had me who knew.
via faith, via facts, that this was the playoff year.
And if this all blows up, I will fucking, we'll replay this.
Hey, no, do you know what happens?
And I'll eat it.
If this all blows up, I will be there holding the door open to the infirmary.
Wait, going, welcome.
Yeah.
I've been here for three years.
Yep.
It's, it's tough.
This, this, it was our time, Detroit.
It was our time and I knew it.
And I knew it and I knew it.
And it's incredible.
And I think, Dan, that they could.
I can't tell you how good it feels to have you on the bank.
They could be top three.
I was pitching wild cards.
Shame on me, actually.
Shame on me for pitching only wild card when it turns out they're the class of the Atlantic.
It's really phenomenal.
Larks is, you know, top player in the league right now.
Unbelievable.
Emmett Finney, though, deserves.
I mean, we've got, there's three rooks that are really special.
Finney has five points, two goals, three assists in six games.
we got Pelly with his first goal.
We haven't seen MBN pop off yet.
He will.
And that is what I love.
The team is doing really, really well.
And we've got guys like Lucas Raymond's doing his thing.
Cats doesn't even have a goalie yet.
I know.
Six assists.
I think Mason Appleton has been an amazing bright spot to this team that I think people
were like, whoa.
But I look at Mo Sider with only two assists on the season.
Like I said, I expect.
brand's egg knee guard to do better and he will I'm telling you he will but it's like there's more to come
Marco Casper only has one goal no like they're they're doing so well and they're not even fully buzzing
yeah and that's going to come up with another team I know I know and it's just it is very
exciting it's awesome but we're not talking about it it's awesome they got it's an important season
it's an important season it's a special season we're not special anniversary season we got to go we got
go.
We are not talking about it, but I do think that there's a chance that the trash patch was a curse.
Yep.
There's a chance.
And sometimes you need to do things to exercise the demons.
And I think retiring Federov's number might have done that.
A little bit of a little holy water.
A little holy hair gel.
It's the, uh, it's the, uh, um, Madam Zerone.
was not carried up the mountain.
Oh shit, do we go in holes?
We're going holes.
We got a holes reference?
Madam Zeroni was not carried up the mountain,
and then the Yelmances were cursed.
Yep.
And Sergei Federov was not retired,
and the Detroit Red Wings were cursed.
Federoff was not brought to the top of the mountain.
Federov was finally brought to the top of the mountain.
Yeah.
And now the curse has lifted.
The curse has been lifted.
And we go back.
We're going to the cup.
We're going to the cup.
Detroit's back in the playoffs.
The other team,
that is not quite buzzing just yet.
fully, and they are the only undefeated team in the NHL.
The Carolina Hurricanes.
The Carolina Hurricanes.
Seth Jarvis scored an OT goal against the Los Angeles Kings and curled and popped himself right into the glass,
gave a little bit of this, and who was literally standing right in front of him, but yours truly.
I was just like, oh my God.
That's incredible.
It was unbelievable.
Six goals in five games for Jarvie.
Road to 50.
50.
People used to laugh about Roots 50.
People used to have a big chuckle about Road to 50.
It's, you know, it's tough, though, because we were on pace for 40.
It was the Road to 40 year, but unfortunately, SETI.
Yeah.
Setty.
You jump the gun.
You're too hot.
You jump the gun.
So now it's 50.
Now you have to score 50.
And unfortunately, he will do it.
Unfortunately, for the haters.
Unfortunately for all the jocksters who thought we were jocksters saying Road to 50,
but it turns out they are jocksters because he's about to do it.
I, is there anyone with a more, given the circumstances, impressive career than Taylor Hall?
No.
Well, Taylor Hall has been through, how many teams has Taylor Hall been on?
Half of them.
Half of them.
Right?
Taylor Hall has been on the Edmonton Oilers.
He's been on the New Jersey Devils.
He's been on the Arizona Coyotes.
He's been on the Buffalo Sabres.
He's been on the Boston Bruins.
he's been on the Chicago Blackhawks
he's been on the Carolina Hurricanes
Is that it?
I think that's it
Definitely been a journeyman since
I think I did that in order
That's what I was trying to do
Dude that was really good
I think you were out of order
When the Sabres
No I think the Sabres was right after
Because everyone was like he's gonna sign with Boston
And then he signed with Buffalo
And then he got traded to Boston
For Andres Bjork
Oilers
Got it
Devils
Got it Yotes
Yotes got it
Sabers
Got it bees
Got it
Hawks
Got it.
Got it.
I did it in order.
Unbelievable.
And he's what?
32?
33.
Yeah.
Hold second.
So, like, he's not even old.
He's not an old yet.
He's 33.
And what I love about Halsey is Edmonton was supposed to be the guy.
Mm-hmm.
He went number one overall.
Edmonton was in a bit of a disaster.
Yeah.
So things didn't work out.
Goes to Jersey.
Winds a heart.
Oh, my God.
He is the guy.
But that was crazy.
Yeah.
goes to Arizona
everyone knew it was a pit stop
goes to Buffalo
things don't work out
because Buffalo is a disaster
I say well
with all due respect
no
goes to Boston
phenomenal
was phenomenal
with Boston
great in the playoffs
Boston fell short
so then he goes to Chicago
things didn't work out
they were a bit of a disaster
is Taylor all stuck in time loop
yes
goes to Carolina
signs a great extension
like what a great
What a deal. They look great.
And he just looks awesome on this team.
Two goals, two assist, four points and five games.
Playing a very significant role.
He looks young out there.
He looks spry.
He looks excited.
It's unbelievable.
Jarvie looking incredible.
Aho, one goal with six apples and five games.
But that's exactly what I need for Ajo.
I need like 20 goals from Aho.
Actually, I'd like 30 from Aho.
What's the deal with Svatch?
Dude.
That Redman, God.
It would just be so nice if David J. Redman was our producer,
because he pays attention to hockey and watches hockey.
Take notes, Baker.
If this team had everyone buzzing, and they do not,
Svetch, Zeros.
14 minutes average ice time as well.
Nikolai Eilers, zeros.
True.
And that's your toy, that's your brand new toy,
who everybody was fucking.
fucking losing their mind about, and he's playing with Ajo and Jarvie, who are pumping in goals
and points.
Can you imagine when these guys start going?
Because, like, I've got news for you.
Nikolai Elers is not a player who's not going to get going.
Andre Svetnikov is not a player who's not going to get going.
So it's like they're undefeated, and Eilers and Svetch, who are arguably top three, like,
as in, like, their first line guys.
But they're both top six forwards, and they're not going at all yet.
Like, holy hell, brother.
And dude, Slavin, I'm going to get sure I get this facts right.
Yeah, only two games has like a knee issue.
Like there's like, oh, Slavin's knee is hurt.
And I'm like, what happened?
And they're like, we don't know.
So I'm like, I got a fucking Slavin knee injury.
I have a ghost eagler's.
I have a ghost fetch.
Yeah.
And I'm like, dude, if on paper, you go like this, the canes start to the season is a
fucking disaster. And I'm not being hyperbolic. A disaster. Because as amazing as Jarvie is,
and now his six goals are incredible. You Svechnikov is supposed to be your goal guy. Right?
Like, that's where I'm getting, you want 50 from. That's where I'm getting my goals from.
I've lost my goal guy. I've lost my new free agent. And the best defenseman alive is hurt.
I'm like, wow, what a nightmare season. I guess actually we're 5 and 0. Yeah. I'm like,
oh. Oh my God. What? So we're cooking. This is amazing.
Yeah.
Svetches on the fucking fourth line.
Brandon Bussie's playing goal.
But he might be the goat, dude.
He looks so good.
He might be the goat.
Like, so like, what happened?
I went crazy yesterday.
Brandon Bussie is the dude that I have talked about on this podcast for three years.
Yep.
You have talked about for three years.
And he's finally, when he got picked up by Florida, we were like, are you kidding me?
They're going to go in a good way, like, well done, Florida.
You're going to just let this guy take over after Bob.
and then he gets let go and he gets scooped up by Carolina
and now he's been in he looks phenomenal
dude like I said under the radar
I didn't even know
he looks phenomenal
Brandon Bussie he finally gets his shot
and what a perfect team to get your shot in
but I will say this I'm gonna need
the young man to get a helmet
he's currently rocking the white helmet
because I you know he was
he just got on this team he hasn't had his custom mask made yet
can someone expedite that
custom mask because but that's what I was about to say dad I know what you're I we're going
shipping issues yeah we got shipping issues there's always shipping issues apparently the
Carolina hurricane shipping system is the same as the almost Friday media merch shipping
system if if you change it up now that's what I'm saying do you mess up the vibes that's
that's what I'm saying Bussy looks great through two games two games but he looks great he's
giving me Scott darling vibes with the white mask and I'm like maybe you just stay
I know you guys want to talk about injuries on this show,
but he's going to need to possibly play 40 games this year.
100% dude.
Like, Freddie, I love Freddie, dude.
Go up to 50.
I wish the best for Freddie.
But it's like if we could give Freddie some time.
Like, I don't think, I don't think Freddie.
Hey, I'm telling you this, man.
I love Freddie.
But if Bussie is good, you have to start him in playoffs.
Are you kidding me?
Are you kidding me?
Like, legitimately, this is.
is a, you've been Wally Pipped.
Yep. You've been pipped. This is
Tom Brady. Wow.
If Bussie is good, if you get
Bussy playing in the season, he's
playing over 30 games and he has NHL
starter numbers, you do not
go, well, Freddy's back, you know,
whomever is back? No, no, no. Try that again.
This dude is your goalie now. I've seen
that movie. We, the
yearly. Yeah, every year,
I see it. I go to see it every year. It's my favorite traditions.
Down in Carolina, they've been
praying to something higher looking for
new goaltender and they finally found one you don't bench that you bench him for freddie your
prayers have been answered freddie deserves it freddie will get his name on the cup still and you know
he'll go like this people will go oh you won you were playing he goes i know you know i gave him my best
shot i wouldn't actually play that year but i still got to lift it and i say that's fine to me i say
freddie that's just fine that's going to be okay just fine put some mac and cheese in that
bitch let some barbecue sauce on it and suck it down because you won the cup that's what he wants
Mack and cheese?
No, but I just thought maybe in Carolina.
That's cool.
Before we move on to some not so good vibes,
I know we're going to get yelled at.
Can we just give a couple a couple stick taps to the Montreal Canadians?
Oh, yeah.
Habs are fucking great.
We're talking about, but not talking about Detroit.
We got to give a little bit of stick taps to the Habs.
Number two team.
I mean, like they're right here.
Habs are great, dude, you know?
They look phenomenal.
And I will, I think we're going to kind of get to him later because there's a few teams.
I always say in the predictions, something crazy always happens, right?
And obviously I had, I think we actually both had Habs sixth or no, you had him fifth,
so they had a chance.
Yeah, yeah.
But we both had them being like, we don't know.
There was a lot of hype.
I'm afraid that that was going to be too much hype for him.
So far, so far not too much hype at all.
They look fantastic.
They look fantastic.
And it's just like Suzuki and Cole.
Say what you will about Brendan Gallagher.
I think Brendan Gallagher is a
Brad Marchant, Tom Wilson, he's a
If you don't like Brendan Gallagher,
you've got a big dump in your pants
because he's not on your team.
If he's on your team, you love him.
He is third in points.
Like he's one of the olds
on that team and he's third in points.
I think that legitimately
the Montreal Canadians might be the most likable team
in the NHL. There's not a guy on this roster
that isn't the best.
That's so sick. They're just so cool and fun.
And they got Marty St. Louis behind the bench.
Which is incredible.
What the fuck are we talking about?
Love them.
Got the best jerseys in the league.
Best rank.
Best rank?
Come on.
Have the Montreal Canadians been the coolest team in the NFL this whole time?
Yes, but that was always true.
But they did have, they used to have rats.
Yeah.
They had more rats in the past.
And Gallagher was kind of a rat when he was in.
Yeah.
But they had rats.
I've just learned to love a rat.
Yeah, I know.
Same.
Damn it.
Even though I killed all of them.
Oh, yeah.
Well, those were mice.
Yeah.
I don't like mice, apparently.
The rats are so much worse than mice.
Yeah, but rats are gritty.
They are gritty, but they are gross.
Oh, they're disgusting.
And they're fucking huge.
They're huge, man.
We can't even get it to rat talk right now.
That'd be a whole lot.
Let's talk diminishing vibes.
Yep.
I don't want to do it to him.
I have some things to say about this, dude.
We officially have a vibes issue in San Jose.
Yeah.
The all vibe team, the 2024, 2025, all
vibes team officially has a vibes issue. Yeah. Things are decidedly not that tight. Yeah, they have
in San Jose. They have a, they have a viperous. They have a virus of vibes, a vibrous. Did you see
my son's interview? Yes. That was awful. I couldn't watch it. I turned it off. He looked,
he looked like sophomore season, Connor Bardard. He looked dead. He just looked so, he looked so, he looked so,
disinterested. He was not, he was straight up not having a good time.
That's the most accurate description of anything I've ever seen. The San Jose
Shark's only winless team in the league. Mac and Will are leading your team in points.
Yep. Win. Yep. But one goal for Mac, no goals for Will. Coach telling them, I need more from them.
Coach is talking about selling kids
Coach talking about selling his kid
Making comments saying I'd sell
I'd sell my kid for a win
For a couple of wins
Is he married?
I don't know
Look that up
Does he have kids?
He better have kids
That'd be fucking hilarious
I agree because it's you know what
Because it's an empty gesture
It's an empty gesture if you don't have kids
Well this can't be right
Do we need to start
establishing rules on comments like that. If you go, I'd sell my firstborn for blank, you need to have
a firstborn to say that. Of course. Right? And I think it's like when people go like this,
oh, if something, if such and such happens, it's going to hit like crack. I think you need to have
done crack to start to say that. Okay, hold on. The direct quote is,
interesting. The direct quote is, it sucks. I keep telling myself that there's got to be a reason
why this keeps on happening in a sense. I'd give up one of my children for a
It sounds like he's got kids and then Wikipedia says
Orsoski and his wife have one child.
Hmm, maybe that's outdated because he said I'd give up one of my kids, but maybe to your point he's being like,
I'm including any future kids in here.
Interesting.
But now I'm like, what dude?
You give up the one kid, you have one kid.
Now you have no kids.
Guy wants to win.
And actually I love it.
I actually, there's a coach.
Fuck.
I forget who it was.
But there was a football coach who, like, they were losing and then got divorced,
asked for a divorce because they were losing.
Like, he was like, I need to focus more on this.
Like, I.
You got to split up.
You are actually hurting the football team.
And I think maybe that's what he's saying here.
I think Ryan's like, my kid, singular, maybe.
He's light of my life.
But, man, the bedtime stories, the feeding.
Like, I got so, the pickups.
I got so much shit to do.
How much was to scheme?
How much supposed to get Mack more goals if I'm feeding fucking applesauce to my kid?
Get them out.
Get rid of them.
What do you think?
Do you like it or it's too much?
No, I love it.
Yeah.
I love it.
Like I said, it's like it's not an empty gesture.
It's not an empty gesture.
It's legit.
And that you're putting real chips on the table.
But here's my question.
I don't think one.
win is a fair price for your child.
I think he should have asked for more.
I think that's true.
I give up my kid to make playoffs this year.
Okay, now we're having a negotiation.
I might go as high as the cup for your child, but one win is selling low.
I think.
I think that's selling low.
I think his kid will see that and go, one win.
Maybe like, dude.
What does that even get you?
One fucking win.
Yeah, interesting.
But who do they play next?
Is tanking for McKenna too much?
Like, is that too many of these young gun top players?
I think about that all the time.
Like, if you all of a sudden have Macklin, Will, Misa, and McKenna?
It's too much.
We're like, you're going to be in cap hell.
If these guys develop, like you think.
But at the same time, no, it's not too much, right?
Because you can just trade one of them.
I guess.
Like, if you needed to.
but hell I thought that when it looked like the hawks might get Mac
where I was like this is insane but I mean like
well two's doable because like the hawks got Taze and Kane
and Sid and Gina you know it's like when the Oilers did this too
and then they traded all of them yeah right so that's actually a good comp
where it's like that kind of went to hell and look at them now yeah back to back
couple of o'clock let me walk so Ryan that was will trade his child
He's potentially one child for a road win against the islanders.
Who, where does the kid go?
Yeah, okay.
So you make the trade.
Does he go to the islanders?
Yeah.
Like, does the team you vanquish acquire your kid?
Or does you become an employee of the NHL?
Yeah, he's just in the league.
He's the league's problem now.
I think he gets adopted by Schaefer.
By the team mascot.
Oh, okay.
Let's see.
New York Islanders.
Yeah, what's his name?
Is it a fisherman?
Sparky the dragon.
You've got to be fucking good at.
Fuck.
What are we doing?
That's brutal.
So, dude, now this kid is a dragon.
You're telling me the New York Islander's mascot is a dragon named Sparky.
There he is.
Definitely should be a fisherman.
That's absolutely insane.
Yeah, you should be a fisherman.
So now this kid is a dragon.
He's raised by dragons.
Yeah.
Cool.
Cool.
Nice.
Learns to breathe fire.
And.
saves the world. Does this kid become
the father of
dragons? Yes, he does.
Like he is now De Nara Stormborn.
Do you think it's a... Are we merging
universes? Like, do we live in Thrones universe now?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. Okay, so then he
challenges John Snow. Because he's a bastard now.
And he's a bastard of the sea, so his name is John
Storm. Is that what it is?
it's sand, snow,
rivers is another one.
Rivers.
Might be rivers.
This kid, Rivers.
Sparky the Dragon.
Son of Sparky the Dragon.
Breates fire.
Melt snow.
Takes over.
Takes over as the one to,
well, actually, John's not even King.
He gives it to fucking brand.
Spoilers.
Spoilers.
Ten years late.
Yeah.
It's probably,
where do we think,
the Iron Islands,
Must be the islanders, right?
Yeah, I think so.
So his last name's Pike.
Pike.
He's going to be his name's John Pike.
John Pike, Sparky the Dragon's son.
First of his name.
He's going to take over.
He's going to take over a long island.
Do you think he'll have...
And he's going to come and kill the sharks.
You think Ryan will have regret when he...
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
They beat the Islanders in overtime and he hands his son to Sparky.
Do you think he'll be like, fuck?
No.
I should have asked him.
Not immediately.
Or the power of that win will be enough.
It'll be like, well, thank you for your service.
It will be crazy, though, when it changes vibes in San Jose.
They start winning, and everyone's all happy, but he's like looking at his wife and she's just like,
are you fucking kidding me, dude?
Sparky?
Was this worth it?
Sparky?
And he just goes, yes, we have to, we need this job.
We need a win.
We can't get fired.
We need this job.
And then all of a sudden, the sharks are in the Stanley Cup final.
And he'll go against Matthew Schaefer.
and the New York Islanders.
And he just looks at his son, John Pike.
Routing for the Islanders.
Standing on the bench.
Yeah, yeah.
And he's like, oh, my God, dude.
Breeding fire.
Yeah.
He's like, look how much he's learned.
I'm proud.
Unbelievable.
No, no.
He's devastated.
Yeah, you're right.
His son kills me.
All right, I will say this.
Nice surprise with Jeff Skinner three goals.
Toff, two and one.
You're always going to get that.
Yeah.
Ask her off.
So far.
833-6-47.
The fucking saving.
of Rome.
Comma.
Yeah.
Comma.
833, save percentage,
6.47 goals against.
That is astounding.
The savior of Rome, dude.
Yeah.
And that's what we've got so far?
Well, listen.
I'm all about Danny positivity these days.
Okay.
You just,
you can't put goals against on attendee
when the team is,
They're in a rough.
They're in rough pumpkins.
It's a rough patch.
What was that from again?
I think it's,
she's out of my league.
Rough pumpkins.
You can't,
but I wrote this down.
Sharks,
third worst goals against
fifth worst goals four.
So it's not good,
obviously,
but I was expecting
when I looked it to be like
dead last,
dead last,
and it's not.
So,
like,
that's kind of where I expected them,
ish.
You know,
maybe a little,
you want a little better
goals against
because Ascroft's not
doing anything. But dude, the real killer here, as you opened this segment with, is the
hawks are fourth in the central at three, two, and two. I know. The hawks are completely like,
we're pesky. The hawks are in the playoffs. They're a wildcard team. They're 100% like,
we're not an easy out anymore. They have a winning record. And I was like, the division previews
are so hard. There's so many questions. The league is in such a good place of like, man, every,
There's no role over teams.
Yeah.
Literally walking into the previews, I was like, the only easy pick is Hawks 8th.
They are horrible and will win 18 games in California.
And they're like, no, we actually are, we're hard to play now.
Yeah, they've fixed their vibes.
And the sharks are like, we're terrible.
We're awful.
And that, I think not that you're like your whole season hinges on you versus the Hawks,
but I just do think you two are the ones with all this young talent.
And you were bodybagging them.
in terms of where you are in the rebuild as of last year.
Keep in mind, they both were fucking terrible last year,
but it just felt like the sharks were on the way to something
and through six games, you're like, oh, shit.
That swung violently in the other direction.
Oh, man.
I mean, this happens every year,
and not just to us, to be very clear.
This happens to every, happens to Chicklets Boys.
It happens to Elliot.
it happens to everyone who does division previews.
But it is truly hilarious how upside down everything is.
Yeah.
It's like the Atlantic right now is Detroit, Montreal, Toronto, Florida, Boston, Buffalo, Ottawa,
Tampa.
Insane.
Excuse me.
Yeah.
The Met is Carolina Jersey, pretty normal.
Pitt.
Washington, New York, Philly, Columbus Islanders.
Central.
Winnipegan.
Utah,
Winnipeg, Colorado,
obviously, Utah is in playoffs.
Chicago is right behind them in a wildcard spot.
Minnesota, dead last.
As I told you.
And it's just like,
there's so much shit that's all over the place,
and it's crazy.
It's absolutely crazy.
So get the vibes up, dude,
but it's, they do need to win.
It might cost them a kid, but they do need to win.
Yeah, I think the takeaway for me is
last year being terrible,
but being the all vibes team, it worked.
Yep.
Now, one year doesn't mean it's like, well, playoffs or kill yourself.
No, but dude.
But the, the, the, the, we suck, but vibes are tight.
It's not going to work this year.
Not again.
Not again.
It's not going to work this year.
Not again.
So we got to figure out how to change, keep the vibes up.
Again, you're not going to make playoffs.
We, I assume you're going to be last in the Pacific.
But keep vibes up.
But you can't suck.
You cannot be this bad.
Ask Rob.
up if you suck. Can't be having a tough go like this. So they got to figure stuff out. And I'm telling
you right now, it's not going to be something like another sleepover. That shit ain't going to work.
Don't go back to the well. Figure out vibes, but it's got to be new stuff. Yep. Got to be new stuff.
You want to talk about Marci and Dahlene? Well, I just thought, I kind of want to talk about the
Panthers, but I did think that was hilarious. I'm sure everyone saw if you haven't go watch it,
but Marci and Dahlene got into it over the weekend. Dahlene kind of,
kind of like cross-check to Marcy's back and then kind of popped him again.
I was about to say, not kind of.
Yeah.
That was a full-on cross-check to the small of the back on a guy who's eight inches shorter
than you, which I'm fine with.
Yep.
But let's call it what it is.
Wasn't a kind of.
It was 100% a cross-check away from the pocket.
Buried him.
Got him, then kind of gets him again.
Yeah.
And then Marcy jumps him.
Scrum, whatever.
People getting pulled off.
And Marcy takes Dahlian's helmet with him to the penalty box.
rips it to shreds and throws it off the ice, which is so incredible, dude.
Like, I got fined the maximum, five grand, like, whatever.
Yeah.
Just signed a contract until he's 80 years old.
He's good.
But, dude, Dahlene is laughing because I just, I love it so much because he's like,
there are other helmets, obviously, but it's just so hilarious that he's like,
do I have to go get a new helmet?
I'm like, yes.
Yes, you do.
Fuck you.
The, the, he is one of one man.
It's, no one else.
in the national would think to do that.
To rip his helmet to the box.
There's a few guys who might do that.
But then Marci's like, I'm going to rip this to shreds
like a new puppy.
Yeah.
And it was remarkable.
So fucking funny, dude.
I loved every single thing about it.
The only thing I didn't like about the whole ordeal was Dalene turtling.
Yeah.
Yep.
Brad Marchand was on top of him throwing punches and Daline fully turtled.
And I'm like, dude, you started this.
You are twice his size.
You know, get in the mixer with him.
The, uh, I wrote down when it was, I saw it happen.
And I was like, I got a text marshy and be like this, dude, imagine if that had been a bubble.
How much more fun you could have had.
You could have, there would have been way more shits to grab, to shred.
Could have smashed them on.
Come on, dude.
Get on board with this, bro.
If that had been a bubble, it would have been fucking amazing.
Uh, the Panthers.
We were laughing it up, yucking it up.
Oh, the Panthers of all these injuries.
They're going to start slow.
psych three and oh fuck you the panthers are never going anywhere look at them now four straight
ls all on the road but flyers red wings devils sabers with goal totals of two one one zero yeah not great
caught up to him worried definitely not worried i i know we just said that the oilers are the
only team who starts this slow and they're fine but i'm really not worried if i'm florida
you're three and four
like it's that is
I mean they win two in a row
and you're five and four
and like you're like oh okay but I do
think but it will be kind of
like this till Kchukes back I think the
three and no started I'm like wherever I was like
oh my God the Panthers are so inevitable
they don't even care and now I'm like no I think
this is your life I don't think
that but
I mean dude they've got a lot of injuries
it's not just it's not Barcove
and
Kachuk, like they have a ton of injuries now
and it's not great
like Mikaela just got hurt
and that is really, really bad
but like Kulikov is out
Mika is out, no six out, barcov's out
Kachuk is out. Combined with three years of a ton
of hockey I'm like oh my god
my big thing for me is like
we saw Bob be a little slow last year
Oh, yeah.
And he's been a little, he's not, he's not playoff Bob.
And we kind of knew he was not going to be playoff Bob,
but when you have five important players out with injury
and you don't really have playoff Bob,
now I'm like, yeah, this is going to be a little bit tough.
But at the same time, it's like, Marcia has six points in seven games.
Lundell has five and seven.
Erod's buzzing.
I know.
But it's like, other than that, dude, like Reiner, it has two and one.
Forsling, three assists, going all the way down.
here. Verhege has two points.
Eckblad only has two points.
Benny only has one point.
You're not getting anything.
And it's just, dude, you've been in the cup three straight years.
I'm not saying things are catching up to you.
They're just, I'm sure they're tired.
Yeah.
So much hockey, so much hockey in three years.
And I give the same excuse to the Oilers.
You know, they're not in as bad of a spot, but I don't,
I am not worried at all.
It is going to be tough for the next two months, though.
No doubt.
Nothing is, Larry Bird ain't walking through that door.
Yeah.
You know what I mean?
So it's going to be gritty for the next two months,
but I just, I would be blown away if this team is sub 500.
And listen, if through 20 games, they are sub 500, then I am like, okay.
Well, no, it's just like, hold.
Holy shit, after the new year, you better hope that things really turn.
But I just don't think that's going to be the case.
Me neither.
Be sick if they had Bussy.
That'd be sick.
You can just put in Brandon Bussie and let him waltz you to the playoffs by himself.
True.
All he needed was a shot.
So not worried about the Panthers, but are you worried yet about a few other teams?
Yeah.
Are you worried we've got to start having conversations with some people?
And I'll take a bow.
about the Minnesota Wild.
You know what is so frustrating.
You're such a rat pig.
Because where they are
is nowhere near.
Why?
What you predicted.
I don't.
But I will say this.
I will say this.
Because right now they're last in the central,
but that's not,
it's a fake last because they're tied with like everybody.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Or actually, no, I guess they do have least amount of points,
but it's like the team in fifth has one point more than them.
But I will say this.
They've lost three straight,
5-1 to Dallas,
5-2 to the caps,
and 2-1 to the Flyers in OT who are not good.
Yeah, it's unacceptable loss.
They've got Rangers and Devils on the road to close out this road trip.
But the devils are buzzing.
Oh, dude, and the Rangers are great on the road.
Yeah, and they just started getting people going.
Yep.
I just want to say this.
I'm not grave dancing on Minnesota that they're in eighth.
They can easily pull this back.
But I just think that they aren't as good as everyone thought, and I do feel right about
that.
I just like, listen, this wild team's exciting.
They kept krill.
That's amazing.
Gus is good.
They extended Gus.
All things happy in Minnesota.
Boldie's fucking awesome.
There's great players in the wild.
But I'm like, that's a tough division.
I'm not sure that picking them to miss playoffs was the craziest thing.
ever said by anybody, which is how I was treated by people. They are absolutely horrendous at defense.
And I'm trying to be Danny positivity. So I'm positive. I'm bad at D. I am positive that their
defense is horrendous. And I want to, it sucks to see. But if you go, if you look at their stats,
like guys are playing well. Kriel and Boldie, nine points. Same stat line. Four goals, five assists.
Krill is a dash 6 on the season.
And then let's talk about some of their best defenders, Chris.
Zeev Boyam, five points, by the way.
Everyone was like, can't wait for Zeev.
Dash 7.
Let's go to Brodeen, dash 4, Spurgeon, dash 6.
Their best players are just in a miserable way as far as how many goals are being given up when they are on the ice.
And that is why they are.
where they are at. Like those losses that you just let, like they gave up five goals in back-to-back
games. Like what, what are we doing, guys? So that, when you ask him, I worried, that feels like
something that could get figured out. You have a good goaltender and I think that these players
are good at hockey. I think they're good at defense. Hopefully that's something that could get
figured out. And when you have guys scoring, you know, Krill and Boldie are going. Rossi is got,
is just under a point per game.
Zeeve is great.
Eric Sinek is pretty solid so far.
I'm like, you could figure this shit out.
It's not like they're not scoring.
No one's going.
But the D is playing so poorly.
It's like genuinely insane.
Every time I turn on a game, they're just like,
it's a slot machine.
Yeah.
Okay, we had mentioned this one in the previous step,
but the L.A. Kings, lost to the Jets,
Lost to the wild and a shootout.
Lost to the penguins.
Lost to the canes and OT after a nice comeback.
You were there, Jarvie, right in your grill.
Yeah.
They're starting a five-game road trip right now.
Yeah.
That weirdly feels like if you don't come out of that,
like, let's say you go one and four on that trip.
Now you're 11 games into the season and then things are horrible.
Yeah.
I still feel confident about,
the King's room, but little leaky.
I'm not in a panic.
Yeah.
I have a few things to say here.
Not in a panic.
Number one, shout out Kelly Cheeseman.
Jeez.
After 25 years, leaving the L.A. Kings, headed to the New York Islanders.
Incredible.
Absolutely crazy.
You've lost to injury your Vezna caliber, goaltender, and Darcy Kemper,
and you've lost your captain.
Yeah.
And you're currently one, three, and two.
Yeah.
Watching that game against the Keynes
and you've got Kempi and
laugh, taken draws.
I'm like, good God.
Like, this team is desperate for center depth
and they lose Kopee immediately, and you're like,
well, fucking you're dead.
He's going to be fine.
He'll be back soon, so no panic there.
So I am saying I'm not panicking
because you've lost Copey and Kemper.
Those arguably those are like the top two guys you can't lose in this season.
Yeah.
So that sucks.
You play the only undefeated team in the league.
Sure, you're at home, but like that was a great fight against Carolina after going
down 02 early.
So like they are a solid team.
Kempi's playing great.
Kew is playing great.
Fiala's playing great.
That for me is those are your three most important forwards who need to play well.
They are all playing great.
Drew's playing great.
He looks so fresh.
Fantastic.
Immediately, the part of this team that over the summer, we were like, how in the world does that the roster moves that you've made?
How is this the defensive core that you're putting together?
That is the biggest issue, like instantly.
Instantly.
Third pair D is a fucking nightmare for the Kings.
And it's a nightmare every night.
Yeah.
So everyone going, Ken Holland, he's got a plan.
There's a master plan intact.
He's going to make these trades.
He's going to do this.
He's going to do that.
I think I worry that Ken Holland.
This was the plan.
Oh, dude.
And I'm like, oh, whoa, whoa.
I worried that that is fucking copium straight to the veins.
It's genuinely people going, no, no, there must be something in the works.
And there is nothing in the works.
Now, prove me wrong.
But I am very, very worried that it's like, nope, you made some insane moves and it's fucking bad.
Yeah.
I also think there is a man named Peter DeBore who is without a job and that King's head coaching job looks very attractive to him for a lot of reasons.
It looks very attractive for Ken Holland if something has to be done.
I said that preseason, remember?
I was like, I don't think, I don't want this, whatever,
but I was just like, if that goes,
just with the nature of Copey and what's happened with the Kings last few years,
it just felt like one of those tenuous seats where you're like,
with what happened with Jim against the oilers.
I mean, like, there were people being like,
he'll get fired for this.
Yeah.
And I'm glad he didn't because that would have,
I feel as though that would have been too knee jerky.
Yep.
And it sucks, right?
Yeah, coach doesn't determine the roster.
No.
but again, I am not panicking in L.A.
I think this team has historically been good on the road,
so big road trip coming up here.
Let's see what you can do.
But you are worried.
So yes, worried.
Another one, three, and two team,
who we also mentioned before, the Lightning.
Their only win is against the Bruins.
Since then, they've lost to the caps and OT,
the wings in O.T.
And the Blue Jackets, who have also not started that great.
We had said not worried before.
I'll even go as far as not worried still.
Oh, I'm V worried.
Okay.
I said on hockey talk yesterday, someone asked.
Someone was like, did the lightning suck?
And it was so funny, they were playing the Sends.
And I tweeted, they had like the three power play goals immediately.
Yeah.
And I was like, Jesus, bolts are a wagon.
And then Sence came back in one, five, three or something.
I was like, Sends are a wagon?
It is so funny now looking at this team when I was like,
they're a fucking wagon.
they're dead last in the Atlantic, one, three, and two.
And you want to pull up your six-digit Vassi numbers.
Those don't look great.
And I'm officially V worried about this team.
Like they, you know, Hagle, our boy, one assist in six games.
That's a dude I expected to have 40 tucks.
Dude, I told my boy Matt to hammer him in fantasy and he didn't.
I went the other way and I was like, oh, wow, that's crazy.
And then now I'm like, good job.
You're better at that to me.
Cooch, one assist, two goals, but one assist and a dash eight in four games.
And like, Cooch has, like, missed some time.
Brainpoint, dash eight.
Like, that is insane.
Dude, like, they look terrible.
But I was saying in Hockey Talk, I was like, this is the biggest head scratcher in the world to me.
Like, I literally picked this team to finish first for a couple of reasons,
not because I thought they were going to be the biggest wagon just situationally.
Same.
I think they've got a great opportunity to finish first.
They are dead last through six games.
Last and I had them in the cup.
And man, we talked about the Oilers being the one team that has the excuse of slow starts.
Someone in the DMs last night during hockey talk slid in and was like, dude, so much hockey for these.
And I was like, wrong.
Yeah.
Fucking incorrect, wrong.
The Tampa Bay Lightning do not have this so much hockey excuse.
If you want to give that excuse to Hedman and Vassie, sure, maybe, but they got rinsed in the first round last year and then what, second round the year before?
Yeah.
Maybe.
God, maybe even first, but.
Like, they do not.
Did they lose to Toronto?
Yes.
Yes.
Yeah.
Yeah, first round.
I think so.
So back-to-back first round exits for Tampa.
You do not have a too much hockey excuse.
Sorry.
Yep.
You do not have that excuse.
Do you think you're in like need new voice?
territory.
Dude, that's what's the craziest thing, because that was swirling at the end of last year,
and I was like, that's insane.
It's like nothing against Cooper at all.
It's just like a time thing.
No, he's an amazing coach, but I completely agree.
And it's, I said it would be fucking mental.
But it is, we just see it everywhere.
It is a time thing sometimes.
Sometimes it's just like.
Too comfy.
If someone's there, they're too comfy.
And obviously, in how long has he been with Tampa?
God.
So, yeah, it's probably six, seven years.
I mean, that might be.
So fucking wrong.
It might be like way more.
It could be like 10.
I don't know.
But you're right.
Like inevitably you're going to have player shuffle there.
And that is what changes.
And that is where it's like, oh yeah, maybe you need you need to mix things up.
But I don't know if that's going to happen.
But if you are, Cooper became the head coach in 2013.
Dude, yeah, I'm an idiot.
Seven years.
Give me a fucking break.
Dude, it's fucking 12 years.
Crazy.
That's amazing.
12 years he's been there.
So think about the player turnaround since he's been there
and since he kind of started this amazing movement.
God, that's wild.
It's interesting.
Yep.
And dude,
what would have to happen for the Lightning to fire Cooper mid-season this year?
Oh, 20 games, dude.
Like, you think in 20, in 15 more games, if they're in last,
if John Cooper's cast.
If at 20, the 20 game mark and the Tampa Bay Lightning
with this roster is in last place in the Atlantic,
I don't know how you justify not firing.
genuinely
it's like do you talk to him and be like
we love you can you move to this
higher up position literally
just not behind the bench but
yeah but what's crazy is he's too
young for that like I
genuinely think like
I mean isn't he about to be one of the coaches
of the fucking Olympics like he was just
he he's the head coach of the Olympic team
like you're not
58 yet I wonder
if you did a fucking life of a coach is so crazy
It's so crazy.
You're like, you're like, I'm so fine.
Yeah.
He might be a kind of, it's trickling in his head maybe a little bit right now.
Everyone's picking this in his first and you start the season like this and you're like, wait, am I but to get fired?
And you're like, yes.
But dude, it's back-to-back first round exits with this team.
You went out and you got Gensel.
You're still losing in the first round.
And 100%, man, I think these talks happened last year.
And I remember being like, with the Bruins especially.
I remember going, if you fucking hire a coach and then.
there's a chance John Cooper's about to be available,
you are the biggest idiot franchise in the world.
And they did wait, Cooper did not get fired,
but people were talking about Coop potentially being fired for a reason.
Yeah.
And he didn't get fired, but I don't think it's a good idea.
But to your point, Redd, if you get 20 games in with this roster
and you are in, if you're in 6th, 8th through 20 in the Atlantic,
I, it's definitely on the table.
I'm not saying I definitely would.
Like, it's one of those things where you go,
are you honestly about to let John Cooper go?
But the follow up to that is,
are you honestly going to lose or miss the playoffs
with this fucking team?
Okay, I don't want to sit, linger too long on in this,
but you just opened up a new door for me.
Here's the rub, because I felt exactly this way
with the Bruins where I go,
are you honestly about to fire Jim Montgomery?
Yeah.
And then the response is,
honestly but to miss the playoffs and the Tampa Bay team is much better than the Bruins team was
last year. Think about the Bruins last year coming into the season. Lindholm's, Adoroff,
swayman, like, I wish gave me a hard time for this, but like I thought the bees were going to be
very good last year. Yeah. And they were horrible. And firing Jim Montgomery, you still, you actually
got worse. Oh, that was no, not a knock on soccer at all. Just like, you finished fucking dead last.
We were horrible.
So I'm like, there's, it's usually harder to go, oh, midseason, we just fired John Cooper
and promote someone or hired DeBore or do whatever.
And then, oh, now we're in playoffs.
Like, I almost think you'll miss playoffs anyway.
And then you lost John Cooper, you buffoons, which is how I felt about Montgomery.
And if John Cooper gets fired midseason, exactly what happened with Montgomery will happen
where a team will literally fire their coach on the spot just to hire John Cooper.
Yeah.
Like some team will go, oh my God, you're fired, give me him right now.
That's how quickly he will get scooped.
Yeah.
And that's the dice roll where you're like, well, we need to make playoffs.
And I'm like, firing the best coach in the league might not make you playoffs.
And then you've lost the best coach in the game.
I know.
I know.
And who in the world do you hire if you fire John Cooper?
And like, think about pasta and all those bees guys.
I mean, I don't want to fucking air any shit out.
But like, there was a lot of like, oh, man, that sucks.
When Monty got fired?
Oh, I mean...
From player, you know...
I mean, everyone said it.
You know, Sway was like, we fired the wrong guy.
Yeah, I'm like, dude.
Maccoy was like, dude, a great coach just lost his job because we fucked up.
Yeah.
So, like, how does Hedman feel if they're like, hey, we fired John Cooper?
Yeah.
Is Hedman like, bro?
Don't do that.
But I think it's on the table.
I legitimately think it's on the table.
I mean, it simply has to be, but I think that is the big question.
is like who in the world do you hire?
And how can you justify
missing playoffs with this team?
Yeah, that would be fucking insane.
That would be the biggest.
Like, if you look at the standings right now,
and there's the big ones we're not going to talk about today.
Cracken, shout out, Spunk, like hell of a start.
But if the Tampa Bay Lightning,
let finish last, certainly.
But even if they miss playoffs,
that will be the shock of the last few years, I would say.
I said they're the biggest head scratcher in the league for me so far.
It's like,
you have such good fucking players.
And holy hell.
Wild. Wild, wild.
Keep an eye on it.
Okay, next thing I want to talk about,
the Utah Mammoth.
Surprise their fans over the weekend.
I think it maybe was Thursday.
I can't quite remember.
At Delta Center, a Vegas-level production.
A Vegas-level pre-game production,
an explorer was it going through the Arctic
ice cap and made a discovery, they flew a block of ice to the Delta Center.
Incredible.
And something exploded out of it.
Their new mascot, a mammoth, Tusky.
Are you mad his name isn't Woolley?
Yes.
It's, this mascot, the way he looks, the way he was unveiled, gets a 10 out of 10.
Yes.
Some people were mad he didn't have a tail.
Like, tails get in the way, shit, dude.
It's a person in it.
It's a practical thing.
Also, elephants, mammoths, they don't really have that long of a tail.
Yeah.
It's very, you know.
Not naming him Wully is fucking crazy town.
Is that the, is that our mountains guy's name?
There's a guy at Mammoth.
That skis around.
name yeah he's the man look it up i think it might be woolly let me check so tusky i'm actually i don't
hate tusky i it's so fucking lazy maybe it was maybe woolly is too big of a layup and they're like
let's yeah yeah yeah can't do the obvious mammoth mountain woolly it is woolly yeah yeah and he's fucking
skiing all over the place dude he's actually gas does he have a tail
Jesus fucking Christ
And he's got tiny tusks
See like Tusky's tusks are
They went hard on the tusks
Yeah Tusk up
I don't know
Tusky just feels lazy
But like if you're going to do it
For Tusk up and all this and all that
I fuck with him dude
Incredible reveal
Yeah
Real quick what could it be
If not Tusky or Woolly
Um
What's the fucking mammoth's name in Ice Age
Ray Romano
Okay.
How has he not been invited to a game yet, by the way?
That's a really good question, Dan.
That's a tremendous question.
I'm trying to look it up on IMDV.
IMDV's website is having more issues than the San Jose sharks right now.
It's fucking remarkable.
Okay, this is...
Mani.
Manny.
Manny the mammoth?
That's pretty good.
I mean, listen, Wully is the answer.
Tusky?
Tuskees, it's not the worst, but it's pretty lazy.
I'm not thrilled with it.
I like it.
That's good.
Tusky the mammoth.
Otherwise, it's, like I said, 10 out of 10.
The unveiling, I have fully come around to,
mascots are for kids, make them as silly and funny and wacky as humanly possible.
Yeah.
Maybe they did some sort of polling system.
Oh, I wonder if they did read.
I bet they did.
And kids liked Tuskees.
Someone in Utah.
I mean, they literally did it with Mammoth.
Like, they pulled the fans for the franchise name.
Yeah.
Someone in Utah hit us up in the comments to see if you were, if you were aware of a poll that went around.
Yeah.
Because then it's like the people have spoken.
Yeah, they did it with the team name.
They're doing it with a mascot name.
That's fun.
Dude, I love how the people spoke and it was Yeti.
And they were like, oh, we forgot to trademark that.
Yeah.
And I was like, oh.
They got a lawsuit with Mammoth, too, apparently.
What did the people say next?
Yeah.
Do you know that?
Yeah, what was it?
There's like some, like,
random bullshit team called, like, Utah Mammoth or something.
Yeah, yeah.
Dude, I did see this.
Fucking insanity.
Like, what is going on?
Everyone's shut up.
Another cool thing I saw on the interwebs.
I saw it via Johnny Las,
but he saw it from hockey forever.
This is gold.
Yeah.
Last night was Hawks Ducks.
Yeah.
And Hawks won.
Shout out.
Chicago.
Pesky as fuck.
Pesky as fuck.
Mason McTavish, first goal.
Yep.
How are you?
Welcome back.
But they were like,
the they should wear these jerseys.
100%.
Every time the hawks and ducks play,
they should wear the hawks and ducks,
mighty ducks jerseys.
Yeah.
And that is, I don't know who we got to call,
Disney probably,
but like that is the biggest no-brainer
of all time.
It's the biggest no-brainer of all time.
We've talked about it for years.
And it's just fucking mental
that we haven't made it happen.
And yeah, it's got to be some stupid fucking Disney thing.
but I'm like, who at Disney is like, we can't let that happen.
Yeah.
Why since the fucking jersey?
Yeah, I mean, just do a rev share with the jersey sales or something.
Your team is based on that team.
One of the teams in question is based on that team.
Yeah, it's fucking lunacy.
So sick.
It's absolutely.
And then I don't even, I haven't asked you this in our prep yet.
Do you, can I reveal the movie part?
No.
Because it's not confirmed from his mouth.
Correct.
We can't talk about any of this, frankly.
The first part, definitely not.
But the second part, I can't even say.
No.
I just feel like that was confirmation.
And you're just mad.
Oh, no.
No, it wasn't.
I think it was.
I think it was.
Absolutely not.
We can say this.
Penguins were in town and got a visit from some of the boys.
And the discussion of whether or not.
Sid has seen Lord of the Rings was brought up to a very close friends of him.
And he was like, I don't know.
I don't think so.
That's, that's.
Oh, okay.
So we can say that.
I'm like, I'm like, fuck you.
Because you're, no, no, no.
You're trying to get a win in a greasy area and you're a fucking rat, dude.
Okay.
I'll be a rat, but I just want to know.
I want people to know that we spoke to someone who would know.
No, that's what, you don't fucking know that's what he said.
He goes, I would know.
No.
He said verbatim, I would know.
Someone said if anyone here would know it's him.
And he said, and that guy said, I would be extremely surprised if somehow he slipped it past me.
No.
It's not at all what he said.
Sid, he said, I don't think he has.
For everyone that cares about this, which I know is a lot of people.
You're such a scum, my scum, my scouts honor, I will remain on the hunt to get it out of Sid's mouth.
but a huge step in the CP direction last week.
A huge step.
It was a step, not a huge step.
Boom.
Sid, not seen Lord of the Rings.
Thank you.
Duh.
Your hot take,
you just saw the third one, wasn't it?
I said if he's seen any of them, it's just three.
But I knew it.
Keep spinning it to your narrative, scumbag.
He's never seen him.
You know this guy came over to my house this weekend?
My new place when I wasn't there and then left it an absolute pigsty.
I left before.
I was in the last person.
You think I would do that?
You're a scum bag.
You think I left fucking Lucy.
I don't even Lucy.
That part, no.
But before we go to an ad break,
we do just want to shine a light.
We should have done this when we're talking about Florida.
Florida headed to Boston, first game of the season,
first time Marci returned into Boston.
Tonight when you're listening to this.
Oh, yeah.
It's happening.
Yeah, yeah.
I,
obviously he will get the biggest ovation of all time.
I hope that there's a great tribute video.
I hope that there's all the love in the world from the Boston side.
I do think I would not hate if Marci was still a little bit like, fuck you.
Yeah.
Same, dude.
That actually would be awesome.
It'll be so lovely.
To certain people for sure.
But I hope he's buzzing around with the boys during warmups,
giving fist bumps and all that.
But I hope he scores so badly.
It'll be sick to see him.
I hope he scores so badly.
I can't wait to see the video.
All right, let's take a quick ad break.
Then bring it on back.
Hockey season is back, which means bet MGM hockey action is back.
And oh my God, is it fun.
I am loving it.
All the promotions, all the tokens, all the boosts, parlay is coming out my ears.
But the greatest contribution from bet MGM to the hockey world is the hat trick jackpot.
What you do is you bet on an any-time goal score.
And if that person scores, congratulations.
bang, you won your bet, here's some money.
But if that person scores three or more goals,
you get your share of 10 G's in bonus bets.
Hatrick's been popping off to start this season.
There's literally been like four hat tricks already,
four or five hat tricks already.
So just bet on an anytime goal score,
and with the Hatrick jackpot,
you can get up the 10 Gs and bonus bets.
So what you do is you download the BetMGM app,
use promo code Netters.
That's N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
And then you start playing,
and you can do stuff like Hat-T-R-R-S.
In fact, you can get up to 50s,
$1,500 in bonus bets if your first bet loses.
So you are laughing all the way to the bank, my friend.
Use that promo code netters on the bet MGM app right now.
Welcome back to the MTNators podcast.
And I've got a question for both of you guys.
I saw somebody on the wings, I think.
Somebody on the wings scored and did the 6-7 Selly.
Do you see that the other day?
Yeah, yeah.
Was it Frank?
Oh, maybe it was Frank?
I don't know.
But someone when I hit the 6-7, I was like, oh, that was funny.
and then I saw like something else
happened with 6-7
and then I was like
what is 6-7?
Like I know it's a thing and I know the dance and whatever
but I was like oh I think I like missed the origin
usually I'm well aware of the origin stories of these things
but I think I actually missed this
so I like a boomer looked it up
I'm not going to lie this is the first time I've felt old
dude I was like what is this
yeah so
the first hit like what it reads online
which is fucking hilarious.
Six-seven is a nonsensical phrase
that has become a viral slang term among teens.
Like literally, it doesn't mean anything.
That's not true.
Isn't it from a rap song?
Yeah, well, it's from a rap song
from the Philadelphia rapper Scrilla.
But Dan, it was intended to have no specific meaning.
He almost didn't even release this song.
And just in the song, occasionally he goes like a six, seven.
But doesn't he like do a thing?
Not really.
A couple times in the music video,
people are going like this,
but not even wow six-seven is being said.
I've watched the video over and over.
So this really is just like a TikTok thing that got out of control.
It literally means nothing.
And there are some interpretations.
It comes from the song.
And the rapper himself has said it has no meaning.
He goes, it doesn't mean anything.
I'm not referring to anything.
Then why does he say six, seven?
And it's the possible meanings, one, nonsensical.
The most common understanding is the point of this phrase is to be nonsensical.
It's an inside joke that means nothing.
And he was wondering if people would just start saying it.
Some people say it means so-so or weighing my options.
Some people speculate that it could refer to a height of a tall basketball player
because NBA players are tall and some of them are six-seven.
It got really popular because people on the internet started making sick NBA player edits to this song
because they were like, oh, this guy's six-seven, mellow ball specifically.
So there's, South Park just came back.
And the first episode of South Park, which is like on the pulse of the cultural zeitgeist,
is everyone at class going like,
like Butters is like six-sevending everybody.
And like Cartman's like, I don't, it's too funny.
It's too funny.
Oh my God.
Like every character is just six-seviting.
And anytime someone says six-seven, like a teacher,
the whole school's like, six-seven.
And which means it's killer.
I don't know if you guys saw this video,
this past weekend at In-N-N-Out.
Kids are packed inside of In-N-N-Out,
waiting for the guy to call Order 6-7.
Come on.
And he's like, I guess, number 6-7.
And the entire In-N-N-E-S-7.
out, it's like, oh, six, seven, losing their shit.
Like, literally people are going to in and out to hang just to be able to scream six, seven.
They're not eating there.
They're not doing anything else with their night.
They just wait to hear the six, seven call.
My biggest boomer vibe is that I hate kids now.
Yeah.
Because, listen, we did some dumb shit and, like, boring shit.
But kids now, and I include fucking, like, Baker and this, like, bake.
I wish you were here, Baker, you fucking loser, Gen Z bitch.
Gen Z and below are the biggest punk-ass bitch losers I've ever seen in my life.
It's crazy, man.
They are such socially inept boners.
And they don't do anything fun.
They don't drink.
They don't party.
They're not cool.
They have stupid haircuts and wear dumb clothes.
And they pack an in and out to hear six, seven,
be called. I'm like, here's an idea, you fucking tool. Go into the woods and drink 30 beers.
Yeah. Oh, dude. You like, you absolute narp. Yeah. It's crazy how fucking lame these kids are.
That's going, I'm going to spend my weekend with all my little idiot friends to go into an in and out to wait for a number to get called just so we can post a TikTok about it.
You've got to be the lamest person I've ever heard in my entire life. Dude. That's actually, that is crazy.
Bro.
So I, South Park making an episode.
I'm like, yep, of course.
It's in the zeit guys.
Make an episode about it.
But to spend your time of your life to go to and to go, here's a sick idea, guys.
I, God.
If I were an adult in that fucking restaurant getting my food, I would have beat the shit out of every kid.
Dude, and there's so much shit online.
I would grab the tray and Mollywopped every kid in there.
There's so much shit on line.
This is what scares me of parents.
Google like asking for help on TikTok being like what what is it like why what is my kid what is my kid
yelling like I don't know why he's yelling it when he's yelling it because they can say it the best part
of it being nonsensical is they can say it literally anytime they want yeah like you say you're
like that's cool you want chicken and they're like six seven and I'm like no dude to come to their
defense fucking with people fucking with olds like me that's cool if you're just fucking but
doing the fucking in and out that's crazy man
Go hang out with someone.
I also saw a really funny TikTok that was like a fake.
Obviously, it was like a math teacher.
And he's doing the problem on the board.
And he's like, okay, so how do we solve this one?
And it's like, X equals and it's about to be 69.
And the teacher's like, oh, no.
And he's like, 69.
And like, turn to the class and they just don't react.
And he's like, oh, amazing.
Dude.
And then the next.
Another piece of evidence that these kids are tools.
Yeah.
You don't think 69 is cool.
You don't think 69's funny?
What if I said 420 in front of you? You wouldn't laugh. You fucking bitch. Pick the number
69. It's hilarious. God. And then the next question is six, seven and the whole class
loses that like literally jumping on tables like six seven. The teacher's like, dude, what
happened? That honestly, that one I'm okay with. Like it's if it comes up in class, at least you're
in school. Yeah. Yeah. But it's the, the in and out story is making my brain. I'm going to,
I'm going to send you the link to this in and out video. You got to put it in.
Six, seven.
I don't, I don't buy, we got to get a whole, the Scrilla.
Yeah.
Is his name?
You said it.
Go birds.
Do, do, do, do, do, six, seven.
You said it for a reason.
Six, seven.
Yeah, but it doesn't mean anything.
Okay, but you know what I'm saying?
Why did you say it in the song?
Why did you say that?
Like, it's, does he just randomly say it, or is it in a verse?
Is it in a sentence?
No, it's like randomly.
Think about how many ad libs rappers do
And none of them mean anything
This one just so happened
But that's, you know what I mean?
Like Fettywap does the 1738.
That is Remy Martin.
Yeah.
There is no way.
It's nonsensical there.
That he just went six, seven.
I think he literally just said six, seven for no reason.
I need him to say that.
Yeah.
He did.
He said that he goes, it means nothing.
I know, but he keeps saying it means
I need him to get on a microphone and go,
dude, my brain.
was just firing and I just randomly said six seven I'll go okay but I need to hear that okay
here's here's my I have a because I am I went through a weird like what has happened to the
world moment I mean I just that just happened because dude the 69 is the funniest number
of all time dude I actually Googled what are the funny numbers and they were like
that they think Google thinks this has happened because we've only had 69 and 420 can I
so long we need a new funny number that i love that take by google can i tell you guys a funny story
about 69 yeah um i had this check over let me tell you a funny story about 69 when i was really young
the first time i watched uh billy madison there's a scene when he gets into the i think it's third
grade veronica veron's class is no no uh second grade right think second i think second well he gets into
Veronica Vaughn's class and they begin reading from a book called I believe it's my sister Fanny.
And when she says, all right, we're going to be reading my sister Fannie. The whole class laughs.
She's like, all right, all right. And Billy's kind of like looking around because he's like,
why is that funny? Yeah. And then she's like, all right, we'll begin on page 69. And then Billy goes,
69. And obviously no one laughs and she stares daggers into him. When I was young, such a good joke.
It was so good. When I was young, first of all,
A children's book in a second grade class having 69 pages is preposterous.
And starting there.
And starting it.
Like,
did they take a break in my sister family?
Of course they did.
It's a fucking 300 page book.
I was so young.
I did not know what 69 meant.
And I interpreted that scene as Billy was just trying to fit in.
Like the whole class laughed about something.
He didn't laugh.
Now he's embarrassed.
So he's like,
I'm just going to laugh the next thing that said no matter what.
And then I distinctly remember the next thing.
The next time I watched that movie after I had learned what 69 was, I was like, oh, that's
fucking, that's gold.
I did not get that joke at all.
It's so funny.
That story's so good.
Oh, it's great.
The 69, 420 gold, someone had wrote, it's like 5,800.
No, 58,08 is a funny number.
What?
Oh, because it's boobs.
Yeah, boobs.
You do the boobs.
Do that in a calculator.
In the calculator.
And I was like, that is, the font of those.
numbers in the calculator. That's a good answer. That was classic comedy. So really it's 69,
420, 58,000 and 8. Those are only funny numbers. Now 6.7. So I was like, I hate the world.
What are we doing? But now I'm like, we do need new funny numbers. Yeah. So now I'm back in on
six seven. I do. I want to start 670. I want to give PFT a shout out here. I was listening to
pardon my take. And he was like, well, how much of a fucking chump does the number 68 feel?
And it's a great point. It's a great take. It's like now we got 67. Now 69 has been goaded for a long
68's coming, maybe yager.
Maybe yager.
68's just like.
Oh, okay, so here are my two things now, to make it about hockey.
I was either, because that's such a good idea, either we need to make our mission to make
6-8 a thing for hockey people because 6-8 is the missing number and it's like an iconic
hockey number.
We could play around with like 8 is a big thing around that.
It'd be like, oh, she ate when she had a sick outfit on.
Yeah.
Like we turned into, I was like, oh, 6-8.
6-8.
We're like, what did 6-8?
Yeah, that could be a fun thing.
Okay, so maybe that.
And then my other take was going to be in hockey,
seeds one through three automatically make playoffs, right?
Seeds four and five can,
because you can be a wild card.
It was six through eight is out.
And eight, you have a chance for the first overall.
So six, seven are the worst possible finishing spots in hockey.
If you're six seven, you're in hell.
You're in purgatory hell.
So I might make six seven.
I'm going to start referring to team says six seven.
I feel like how is this team?
I'm like, dude, six seven.
You suck and that goes into the so-so thing.
And you're not even bad enough to get McKenna.
I'm like, oh shit, dude.
Six-seven, that's a disaster.
I'm like, how the wild is it's yet.
I'm like, Pergatory, dude, you're six-seven.
Dude, so that actually might be my hockey swing.
Okay.
Until we solve six-eight, I'm six-seviting.
CP, I love that.
Six-seven.
The way, six-seven in the hockey world is going to be,
if you were just one of these purgatory teams.
Yes, dude.
No McKenna and no playoffs.
Oh, yeah, like tell, how are we feeling about the, you know,
the flames are.
to a tough spot.
Yeah, but it's like, how are you feeling about
let's get the
fucking Canucks?
Six, seven, dude.
Stop for the Canucks. They're in playoffs right now.
Yeah.
That's how I feel.
That's how I feel.
No, I like that.
That's a good take.
I love it.
I've changed the world.
All right, we're going to try to figure out
how to do six, seven more, but that might be the answer.
Quick ad break.
We'll come back with a beer league hot one.
Time to talk about the best thing going on in the
nicotine world right now, and that is Lucy.
You need scientifically crafted, always tobacco-free, clean nicotine.
Lucy is taking care of you.
They got all of the best flavors.
They're hitting you with the milligrams from 4, 8 to 12, no matter what type of buzz you're
feeling.
If you want to relax, if you want to feel sharp, energized, sometimes you want to laser focus
yourself in, that's me on the golf course.
Lucy has got you covered.
They got the pouches.
They got the breakers.
These things are unbelievable.
Like I said, the flavors, winter green, unbelievable, mint, unbelievable.
Unbelievable. I said coming in to fall here, I'm going to get into espresso. I'm not a coffee
drinker, but I do like me a Lucy. And that nice morning cup of espresso, pop that in. That's
going to be my Lucy vibe. I absolutely love it. Whether you need that focus, maybe you're studying
for a test, maybe you're on the golf course like I mentioned. Boom, Lucy's going to take care of you.
If you need a little bit of a zap, a little bit of buzz to get you through the day, myself, this has been
my vibe. Lucy always says, if you need to relax, that always felt kind of crazy to me. I was
I can you relax with a nice nicotine buzz going on?
I don't like the desserts, guys.
I don't have a sweet tooth.
But after my dinner, when I'm chilling out, finishing up work,
maybe watching something, watching a hockey game,
I like to throw a Lucy in, chill out on the couch, watch my stories.
I feel fantastic.
That is the way to go.
So Lucy's taking care of you in every single way that you could possibly ask for.
So what you're going to do, get on board.
You're going to go to www.
dot lucy dot co not com c o slash friday you're going to use promo code Friday and you're going to get
20% off your first order guys when it comes to nicotine when it comes to these pouches throwing one
in getting a nice little buzz relax and whatever lucy is no question the number one in the game right
now that variety of milligrams whatever you need the best flavors in the game no question
stop playing around get on the lucy train lucy dot co slash friday promo code friday 20% off your first order
get it now all right beer the cotline our ref last night was my uncle tony who married into the
family two years ago he blew a call late that cost us the game and i tripped him pretty pretty good
nothing too personal i suggested that considering the dump he makes my aunt live in you'd think
he could afford lasek now my aunt is refusing to talk to me what's the etiquette
here. Can you chirp family or is it crossing the line? And is Uncle Tony a snitch?
Nothing too bad?
Just on the edge. That is a savage chirp. Yeah, but it's in good fun. Isn't it in good fun?
I doubt he, Dan, I doubt they live in a shack by the river. Like, I'm sure they live. Yeah, like,
it actually depends on what the actual house is. I'm sure if they live, if they live, if they live, if they live,
in a apartment with a leak and uh but it's literally falling apart then yes he's crossed the line
man uh for it's you it's okay to chirp family first of all yeah that's that's the initial
question you're your best friend's family chirp him worse than anyone in the world but unless
uncle tony lives in an objectively nasty house this chirp is not cool what if it's what if it's
a completely fine house and everyone knows it's not a dump but that's not a dump no but that's what
i'm saying it has to be an objectively disgusting house as in like sick house no but see no no no you're an
idiot dude no think about this as an adult man as an as a married person i imagine with kids
maybe not with kids providing a home is like the number one important thing in your life
and like you just said everyone knows it's not that that's what it's it's it's it needs
to be like objectively sick.
But dude, like,
this is probably the biggest insult you could possibly come up with.
Like that is how you measure yourself as a man.
Attacking his home? No, I thought that was your lawnmower.
No, do you?
Stop, stop being a dipshit for five seconds and think about this.
Someone coming up to you and going like this, your apartment's a dump.
That is so insulting.
But how often, if you interrupt me one more time with something stupid, we're going to have problems.
And then family chirps are going to come out.
Think about it.
It's like it's the most, that is your home.
That is your haven.
That is where you lay your head to rest.
And when he has a wife, and I, again, I assume kids, you're, you're put so much stock and take so much pride into providing a nice place.
And your nephew goes, considering the dump you make my aunt live in, I think you could afford LASIC.
That is, dude, that is the most cutting, insult.
I've ever heard. First of all, great chur.
Great chur. But like, if you weren't expecting
this to explode your family, you're out of your mind.
So here are my questions, though.
If one of my boys,
if I was in a completely fine apartment,
not sick, but not a literal dump,
if one of my boys, if we were out
and then we were out to brunch and I go, I'm not going to do the bottomless
memos. And one of my boys went like this.
Considering the dump you live in, I'm sure you can afford
Mimos, I wouldn't go,
sir, you have crossed a line.
because I'm like, I know I don't live in a dump.
That was a good chirp.
And we are boys.
May I respond?
Yep.
Okay.
Couple of things.
Number one, credit to you.
Because that would bother me.
Because I take a lot of, I put a lot of effort into making sure my place is sick.
And if someone chirped it was like, your place sucks, it would bother me.
Now, I wouldn't immediately lash out, but I'd be like, that was fucked up.
My place is super nice.
Yeah.
That, I think, is a different situation because we're all just hanging out having Nemo's.
And it's just like someone being like, I'm going to throw out a friendly chirp.
This is a hot situation.
You were just given a penalty that you didn't think you'd.
That you don't think was a penalty.
This isn't, oh, we're hanging out at brunch, having some booze, friendly.
Dude, if you're a ref and someone is chirping you for a bad call, you know that they're actually pissed.
Yeah.
And we always talk about it.
It's like, if you're actually pissed, you're saying some shit that you mean.
I guess I don't know how much.
He's had this in the tank for a while.
Yes.
I guess I don't know how much of boys they are.
And he's also in-law.
Like, it's not like it's his actual uncle.
But again, I don't care, dude, because it's like, you are pissed, bro.
You just got a penalty.
Like, if you get a penalty that you don't think you should have got,
you're not smiling being like, oh, yeah, I'm going to chirp you.
Ha, ha, ha.
This is all fun in games.
If it's like a missed call, maybe, but getting a penalty, you're actually pissed.
So Uncle Tony knows that he means that.
Yep.
I kind of read it, too, like, it was from the bench.
Like, someone else took the penalty, and he's giving it to Tony on the way by.
And he's like, hey, Tony.
fucking get your eyes fixed
I think either way
this is not a fun happy
go lucky scenario
the scenario you just painted
is kind of happy go lucky
is Tony
okay so I still disagree with you
but I'll live in the world
where like hey that was too mean
should Tony have
fucking sorted this with his nephew
and not go running home to the art
because he is a snitch
why is he a snitch
so he got so you're telling me he got home
and he goes you will not fucking believe
what Dan said to me on the ice.
Dude, this kid challenged his entire existence as a man.
Yeah, so hit him.
Go over and hit him in the face.
Then you lose your job.
You lose your...
Also, I've got news for you.
If you're fucking a beer league ref,
you probably don't have a sick house.
That's not necessarily true.
Not necessarily.
I said probably.
I said probably.
And, dude...
I think it stays on the ice.
I think it stays on the ice.
I think you can't go home and tell your wife.
What can Uncle Tony the ref do?
No, yell at him, dude.
You're right.
Who's your job?
Like you guys say stay on the ice like,
what are you going to do?
Two and him?
No, no, no.
After the game, I go, that was fucked up, dude.
I go, you can chart.
I know we're family.
You can talk to me all you want,
but don't fucking, don't say shit about my fucking house.
I don't think he's a snitch.
He's a snitch.
I don't think he's a snitch because when you get married,
you're allowed to tell your wife anything.
When someone goes like this,
don't fucking tell anyone.
That's not even your wife.
You go like this.
Okay.
And you tell your wife.
If you want.
Yeah.
If you want.
So he gets home when he goes,
hey baby, sorry I make you live in a dump,
which has just been confirmed to be by...
No, she goes, what is this kid's name?
Who knows?
Fucking, we'll call him.
You get to make up this name.
Jared.
Jared.
So he's a doucheback.
You just universally declared him a doucheback.
If your name is Jared, you hit on the doucheback scale
90% of the time.
He's saying shit like this, dude.
I had to go Jared.
Okay, so Jared says that.
And what we're assuming that
that aunt, did he say that?
aunt's name? No. The aunt is
his blood.
Tony married into the family two years ago. They don't
have kids, I bet. Like, he literally just married
her. So Tony goes like this.
You wouldn't believe what fucking Jared said to me today.
I don't think that's that snitchy.
What if the aunt's like, well, she always didn't, but what if she's like,
well, he's right? Yeah. Then you get,
then you're risky, dude, you shouldn't have brought
it up. No, no, not risky. I think it's a
genius because if she goes, he has a point,
divorced. Boom. You ungrateful
cow. Yeah, cow.
Move back to the shacky.
Yeah, go back to your trough.
This is a step off.
Go back to the farm.
Go back to your shanties.
What if, though?
But now she won't speak to Jared now.
Yeah, what's the etiquette here?
Like, she fucking freaked out.
So you shouldn't have told her.
Because clearly this overstepped.
And also, if your aunt, Lisa, you're like, you just married this guy.
You want the family to be friends.
And we've got shitbag.
We've got shitbag Jared out here calling out this guy as a man.
I think it was an act of love.
I think the chirp was an act of love.
He'd never have said that to someone else.
I genuinely can't believe this take from you.
I'm going to finish up by saying, number one, incredible chirp.
Yeah.
Like it's, that is off the cuff.
Kudos.
Yeah.
Off the cuff, that is a 10 out of 10 chirp.
But number two, I am not surprised at all that Uncle Tony and Aunt Lisa are like, what the fuck, bro?
She's not speaking to him, though?
A little aggressive.
So do you have to apologize?
That's the etiquette here.
It's like, you have to go home.
to apologize to...
It depends on how important you...
If Aunt Lisa is a bitch...
Yeah, she's...
Christmas time, she's...
Aunt Lisa's a bitch and Uncle Tony's a...
A deadbeat.
Clearly, he likes her, though.
Like, why would he say that chirp though?
Or he's just hitting up the chat being like this.
Are they...
Like, I don't give a fuck, but are they overreacting?
Listen, if you don't give a fuck, fuck him.
Yeah.
Keep sewer in this guy.
Mentally berate him to the point where he gets divorced and blows up his whole family.
Great chirp over the line.
Great chirp over the line.
I think Aunt Lisa is overreacting.
And Tony's a snitch.
Unless this couple is like really grinding out here trying to make ends meet
and they're living as best as they possibly can, but they're working really hard.
Then that's a fucked up thing to do.
Oh, my God, dude.
Okay, let's finish up with a Bauer hockey blind ranking brought to you by our good friends at Bauer.
They got the Twitch coolest stick in the game until the Pulse, which is now the coolest thing of the game.
Holy shit.
God, dude, Pulse's going to keep me alive.
Paul's going to keep me alive.
I actually broke my Twitch last game.
You went there.
Hit my first one-timer in 20 years.
Shattered my time.
Oh, that sucks, brother.
I'm sorry.
You should have given yours away to someone's kid.
Yeah, that's what I did.
So, in honor of the Utah mammoth unveiling Tusky,
nice.
We are blind ranking the best mascots in the NHL.
Red, take it away.
Let's start there.
Tusky.
Wow.
Good start.
Uh, I'm gonna go
I'm gonna go high.
Okay, I kind of agree.
I think he's awesome.
I love the blue.
I think the blue, because I could have gone brown.
Woolly at Mammoth Mountain is brown.
Yeah, he's electric.
I was love in the blue.
He's electric.
He's fun and kooky enough.
He was found in a block of ice.
He was frozen in a block of ice.
The unveiling was amazing.
The name's okay.
Uh, he is similar.
He makes sense.
Yep.
Um.
You've got sick tusks.
Two?
I would go, I would go.
I would go as high as two, and I don't even go one.
I don't hate three, but I don't love three.
So I think two, two, two, two, two.
Okay, we'll go Bailey Kings.
Um, I think, oh, man, Bailey, Bailey's, um, Bailey's very regal.
He's going to, Bailey's going to see this, too.
I, yeah, he's going to see this, and he's going to get pissed him.
Bailey's very regal.
What is the, what is the backstory?
Behind the name?
Yeah.
Let me look that up.
I looked it up once.
I can't remember.
Because he looks awesome, and he's king of the jungle.
Like, I get it, and everything is awesome.
I just don't understand the name.
That would go a long way.
I was like, it's a, it's, yeah.
So the L.A. King's mascot is named Bailey in honor of Garnet, Ace Bailey,
the team's former director of pro scouting who died on 9-11.
Sick.
Oh.
Okay.
Well, one.
Yeah.
One.
Well, the name won.
Yeah.
Bailey is a little down the middle, though.
Yeah, but it's cool that he's a lion.
Yeah, kids probably love a lion.
Because it's like, the kid of the junk.
And I'll give Bailey credit.
Bailey's really fun.
Bailey's an awesome hang.
I love seeing him.
Bailey's really fun.
He's always doing fun stuff.
I'll give him a three if you want.
I was thinking three or four.
I know, and I almost want to save room, but the name and the whole thing, and I'm friends with Bailey,
but we got to go three, I think.
Okay, three.
Chance, Vegas.
great name.
Great name.
Also, incredible lore.
Yes.
Share the lore again?
How do you say it again?
I fucking say it wrong every time.
It's like, I want to say gila monster, but it's like, it's like, isn't it a gila?
But I don't think you like say the G like I do.
But the Vegas mascot red has.
I think it's a gila monster.
But maybe it's a gila monster.
A gila monster?
Is the venom in those things?
does something to your
like hunger enzymes
and that venom is how they developed
Ozempic
give me it
dude chance
chance goaded
here's the fucking problem now Dan
there's a couple that I feel like should probably
be one like even over
Tuske yeah so I can't put him here
but now he feels like a hard done by four
he's a hard done by four
we probably should have done Bailey four
Chance four
Sick name
Yeah I love
I think Chance is pretty solid
Fuck
Chance four
But also
Chance doesn't look that cool
Like he looks like a lizard
Like you don't know that he's
He's everywhere in Vegas
You ever into Vegas?
Well but he's a
He's a
He's a Gile monster
So I don't know
Four
Four
Gritty
One
I think it's not even close
I think he does have to be why
It's not even close
He's an agent of chaos.
It's not even close.
And what sucks is I fucking know you, you son of a bitch.
And I think I know what you're about to do at five.
But like, I will live with this list because Gritty is one that's not even close.
He deserves it.
He deserves it.
Like every single step of the way with how Gritty was unveiled, what Gritty does, where Gritty has been featured, and the bits that they do, it's the most perfect mascot in the history of sports.
For Philly.
Yes.
Gritty is perfect.
one and it's not crazy one okay who's five sharky
actually I was expecting booey me too
and I was like you're gonna sewer perfect sharky is
you know we love the sharkies I mean
you're the team is called the sharks
and your mascot is a shark and your name is sharky easy
yeah easy it's a little too easy sometimes it's a little too easy
I mean too that's too easy you're the sharks I'm like yeah yeah
that is a five like I almost wish he was like a
A fin.
Yeah.
Hey, you're a good dude.
He's a great dude.
Hey, you're a nice guy.
Sharky, we all love you.
You're a nice guy.
Yeah.
But it don't make up for you bullshit and fucking around with your mascot duties.
I need you to be better.
Sharky, that's not a bad list.
It's not a bad list.
It's not a bad list at all.
Not a bad episode at all.
Some great 6-7 debate here.
Unbelievable stuff.
Make sure folks to tune in tomorrow Wednesday for Netters College Puck Drop episode two.
We'll see you later in the week for our Thursday episode.
We've got a bunch of great stuff.
coming out Wednesday live.
We're going to be rock the new merch. We're going to be rocked the new merch all week.
Come on.
Enjoy hockey this week.
We'll see you soon.
Until then.
Skate hard.
