Empty Netters Podcast - What Happened To The Met Division
Episode Date: January 8, 2025The bubble teams in the Atlantic are going to be in a gutter war for the rest of the season, and unfortunately for Bruins fans they're a part of it. The NY teams in the Met have free-fallen out of pla...yoff contention. And Team USA wins back to back World Juniors gold medals for the first time!! Plus Tyler Toffoli joins for another hang session and the boys play another round of Two Real Two Fake NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! PRESENTED by BetMGM. Download the BETMGM app and use code “NETTERS” and enjoy up to $1500 in bonus bets if you lose your first wager! SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS: BAUER. Bauer is the go to destination for all your training needs. Head to http://www.bauer.com/training to explore tools like the Digital Reactor Danger for stickhandling or the Reactor Slide Board to add strength to your stride. CASHAPP. Download CashApp and take control of your finances! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cash-ap... RIKI. Head to https://rikispirits.com/ to find out where to get RIKI near you. Follow @friday.beers and @rikispirits to stay up to date with upcoming RIKI contests and giveaways FUNKAWAY. To check out the full family of FunkAway products go to http://www.funkaway.com to learn more funk’in cool stuff. And head over to Amazon right now and grab FunkAway products with just a few clicks. FIREBALL . Fireball’s iconic cinnamon flavor tastes fire and goes down easy, making it the ultimate crowd pleasure. Go pick up some from your local liquor store and join us in drinking Fireball during our game days this season! #IgniteYourRivalry EVERYMANJACK. Give Every Man Jack a shot today and go to http://www.everymanjack.com and use code “NETTERS” at checkout for 25% off your first order CBDMD. Visit http://www.cbdmd.com to explore their extensive range of products and find the perfect solution for your needs. Don’t forget to use code “FRIDAY” at checkout to get 30% OF + Free Shipping. DOLLAR SHAVE CLUB. Dollar Shave Club products are now available everywhere, so you can order from their website, Amazon, or get them at your favorite retailer near you. Visit their site right now for 20% off $20 or more, and get your products delivered right to your door. Visit http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/netters and use promo code NETTERS for 20% off $20 or more CHOMPS. If you are looking for the PERFECT on the go snack that has zero grams of sugar and packed with high quality protein, then Chomps is for you. To learn more about Chomps, click here! http://www.chomps.com/emptynetters 00:00 INTRO 7:55 HOT ICE 39:37 WORLD JUNIORS 49:53 TOFF NEWS 1:13:06 BEER LEAGUE HOTLINE 1:25:27 POWERS RANKINGS 1:37:09 GAME Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
On this episode of the Empty Netters podcast, what in the world has happened to the
Metropolitan Division?
The Boston Bruins are in much more trouble than they or their fans realize.
And guess who won gold at the World Juniors?
USA! USA! USA!
And Tyler To Foley joins the pot again to give us more of his tough hot takes.
Let's get it.
Ice is ready and we are back with another episode of the Empty Netters podcast brought to you by
bet MGM. I am absolutely juiced for this episode.
Dude, that's great news because, and I don't even know if you could hear it in the last
up, the Monday yet. But I'm sick as a dog.
Yeah, you're getting better? I'm getting a little better, but I'm just gassed, dude.
Yeah, I'm just gassed.
It'll take it out of you.
You'd think I wouldn't be, but I am. And I think I could sleep for a week.
Dude, have you been sleeping enough, though?
Well, yes, because here's the thing, Dan, my whoop.
Yeah.
This guy right here says sleep score, 100%.
100% 100%.
100% 100.10.
Really?
And then it says recovery score.
50.
Loser.
And I'm like, okay.
So what do I do?
You get a 200% sleep score?
No, it doesn't go that high.
I could sleep for a week and it would still say you're a loser.
Well, they know that you're sick.
Yeah, yeah, but it's like, so what?
So what?
You need to replenish with vitamins, liquids?
You know, there's no way out, dude.
There is a way out.
I'm just gas.
You got to keep that sleep at 100, though.
And I don't mean that in the way that Gen Z or say, keep it 100.
I mean, stay at 100% on your sleep.
I didn't even check my recovery last night.
Let me look at it right now, dude.
I'm going to do it too.
Let me look at it right now.
See, this is what I got eight hours in.
two minutes of sleep last night. That is fucking gas. That is gas. But then my, my recovery score is
66. My is 67. And I'm like, dude, I'm not even sick. That is some bullshit, dude. Do you think that
all of these different scores from these different companies, Fitbit, whoop, do you think it's all
bullshit? Yeah. But why? Why would they lie to us? To make money? But on what? Dude, like, they want
us to buy more of their services to help us figure out what's going on.
How do I get better? How do I get 100? I got to learn more.
I'm going to collect more data. Yeah.
Can't make bricks without clay. True.
And it's like at gyms where they bump up the scales.
They make you weigh more in gyms.
Yeah. Really?
Yep. But the women's locker. The women's locker, they bump up the scales.
Because they're like, shit, I've got to come back.
And the men's locker room, they lower the scales.
Because they got to get gains.
Yeah.
Damn.
They also have nice mirrors in gyms.
Yeah, to make you like this.
Oh, my God.
People love the way they look in the gym, so they want to come back.
I'm looking fly, dude.
That is real.
It's very, very real.
Man, it's just, I feel like this, you know, you're trying to get better.
You're trying to get healthier.
It's just like the January typical shit.
Yeah.
Everyone in January.
Dry January.
Oh, dude.
dry January
is the softest shit
I have ever seen
come on
dude a lot of my friends are doing it
and I'll tell them to their face
you soft
and I'm not even trying to be like
a hardo like oh dude
you're gonna drink all the time
you don't have to drink all the time
but you don't have to quit drinking
for a month
to like pseudo prove
to yourself slash brag
that you're like I took all of January off
as if that had any lasting impact
on your health
when you could just drink a little less or whatever.
And it would be basically the exact same thing.
And you wouldn't be the person at the backyard hang on Saturday that you're like,
I can't.
Sorry, can't.
I'm doing dry January.
And I'm like, sick.
Thanks for ruining your time.
And literally all of ours.
It's such a tough take.
Like we sound so anti-sobriety right now.
It's ridiculous.
It's completely tied into resolutions, right?
Like everyone's like, oh, I ate so much.
I drank so much over the holidays.
got to do dry January now. I am definitely tired of, like, listen, if you are a sober person,
that's great. Genuinely, I support that. But the people who can't handle the holidays,
you're soft. You're soft, dude. It's, yes, it's a couple of weeks of extra eating and drinking,
and that should be celebrated. Yeah, it's wonderful. Enjoy your life. It's so fun. And now it's like,
okay, yeah, we're back in a routine. You don't need to go full stop, smash glass, press in case
of emergency. I need to stop drinking and eating everything because I ate a little bit too much
in the last two weeks. It's like, shut up, dude. We all did it. Calm down. Everyone just calm down.
Sorry the best two weeks of your life. That's to be followed by the worst month of your life
every year. It's, we all are so, we talked about it last episode. We're all so mad to be back
in the offices and doing life again. Everyone just wants to be on vacation. That's just the facts of
life. So January already sucks because we had a nice holiday break. You were back. You were back.
with family, friends, doing great stuff like eating and drinking whatever you want.
Everyone's already miserable.
Don't make it more miserable for yourself by being like, oh, I can't, can't have a drink,
can't have food if you want it.
Yeah.
Like, yes, you can.
Yeah.
It's fine.
Everyone calm down.
And it adds into, I was thinking about this, could you imagine having an early January
birthday how much that would suck.
Yeah.
Imagine this past weekend.
It's the 6th of January right now when we're recording.
Imagine if January 4th, Saturday, it's your birthday.
And you get back to wherever you live.
And you hit up all your friends.
You're like, hey, it's my birthday.
Would love to do something fun.
Everyone you know goes, sorry, doing dry January.
People go like this.
Ah, dude, I've been so bad over the holidays.
I can't, can't drink, can't eat.
Or I'm doing dry January.
Yeah.
And you get together and what.
What? Eat a bunch of fucking kale.
Yeah, thanks for ruining my birthday.
Horrible.
That's a mention, dude, like you missed the New Year's birthday.
And to be clear, if you're trying to make the NHL,
it's pretty sick to have an early January birthday.
Congratulations.
That's not what we're talking about here.
But if you are trying to celebrate your birthday and you don't even get the New Year's
baby's thing where they're like, we get an automatic party.
Yep.
You're coming off that.
You're coming off the no holds bar gluttony of the holidays.
Yep.
And then you go rampant.
it back up one more time. Dan, you know what? I actually think the earlier in January, the better,
because you might just catch me still. Like this year, you caught it really nice because it was like
Saturday. I get what you're saying. You know, January 8th. I'm like, dude. January 8th is bad.
Good day. I don't know. I think you'd be hard pressed to find someone who's like still skitting
on January 4th, especially if it's like the weekend before we were going back to work for the
first time on Monday. People are going to be like, no, dude. That's what I mean like the second,
first or second is your best bet. Yeah, maybe. I'm like, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, but like I feel like January 25th, you might get someone who's like, fuck it, dude.
I did it.
Like, I did you.
You know what I mean?
Like end of January.
Yeah, you're right.
It's just the middle.
Yeah.
And end of January, you definitely get the people who weren't doing something like dry January.
They were just like, I need to dry out for a second.
Yeah.
They've dried out.
So they're like, all right, let's rock.
But, dude, early January dinners, get-togethers.
It's just like, it's a drag, man.
It's a drag, man.
It's a drag.
It's a drag.
It's Friday night.
It's Friday night.
Lighten up, dude.
It's getting to some hot ice.
All the crazy shit going on in the league.
Listen, we've got some stuff to catch up on some stuff that's happened.
First off the bat, I want to talk about our boy, friend of the pod, Frankie Vitrano,
signs a new extension with the Anaheim Ducks.
This pumps me up for a couple reasons.
Last year, Frank came on the pod.
We were talking to him off the record.
We were like, dude, you got two years on your contract.
What are you thinking?
You've been moving around a lot.
People have been talking a lot about you.
He was having a monster year ripping in all.
these tucks. The question was, does he possibly get moved? Yep. Oh, yeah. Rags wanted him back bad.
They wanted him bad. Bruins wanted him bad. We wanted Frank to say, think he's a perfect fit with the
ducks. He's loved Anaheim since he's been there. Boom. Over the weekend, three-year deal,
$18 million contract. Now, similar to Seth Jarvis, we've got an interesting contract on our
hands. Very, very interesting. Frank signs that three years, $18 million. That
for the not quick math people at home is six mil a year.
However,
Frankie Vitrano has deferred $9 million of his contract
that will kick in in 2035,
at which point he will receive $900,000 a year for 10 years.
So that $6 million annual cap hit actually goes to 4.57 mil AAV.
That is basically, we'll call it, $1.5 million saved on the cap for the ducks.
And don't forget, and baseball fans that watching Shohei and Mookie do this,
you can collect that salary, that deferred salary, that 900K for 10 years, starting in 2035,
on a state tax where you have a permanent residence in 2035 and beyond.
So he's not, well, we'll see, but he has said, he's like, yeah, so I don't have to get popped
on California State Tax, where I'm currently playing hockey.
Like if I just have a house in Vegas by 2035.
Yep.
When I'm not in the league anymore.
And spend six months in a day there.
Exactly.
So it's saving the ducks money on AAV, and it's saving our boys some money in taxes.
It's also one of those things like, think about it.
What, I mean, you're making 4.5 mil a year.
You paid.
That's incredible.
Like setting up your family, you are money.
That is plenty of money to survive very, very, very, very.
very, very comfortably.
When you retire, what do you do?
Do you get into broadcasting?
Do you get into podcasting?
Do you get into coaching?
Frank goes, I have a job for 10 years that pays me just under a million dollars a year.
It's pretty sick.
It's interesting.
Frank Sarajevoi talked about this and he was like, I don't love this for the player.
And I was like, why?
Yeah.
I think this is brilliant.
The reason people don't love it for the player is the dollar itself just due to inflation.
is worth more.
It's like when you win the lottery,
if you win the power ball,
they're like,
take it in the lump sum instead of the slow payment
because like 100K,
I'll use Frank's example,
900K right now is more than 900K in 2035.
Yes.
So you're like,
oh, you're losing money.
Yeah, with inflation.
But I'm like, I don't know,
the state tax thing is a massive wrinkle.
So if he plans on doing that,
then, which I assume he is.
Yep.
Then you kind of make it all back there anyway.
So you play your cards right, dude.
He's just fine.
Yeah.
I think it's brilliant.
I think you're, from 2035 to 2045, you're making just under a million dollars a year.
Yeah.
That's pretty good, dude.
That's all right, dude.
That is pretty, pretty good on top of all of your career earnings as well.
So huge congrats to our boy, Frank.
Love the move.
The thing that I really wanted to mention is this is going to get banned eventually.
Oh, you think banned?
I think the league's going to cut this out.
Because we've talked about it, right?
Like, if you had a certified stud,
this is obviously not allowed, but I'm saying like there was a world before this was written into the league rules and regulations.
If you had a certified stud, let's say Austin Matthews, and I gave him an eight-year deal, there are those who are like, dude, why don't we get, like, let's say I give you, just for argument's sake, 10 mil, eight years, 80 million dollars.
And I'm like, here is 79 mil in a, in a, no, not even deferred, in a bonus.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
And like, we talked about that.
Like, again, again, this is not allowed,
but your AAV would be on the cap would be like 900K.
Yeah.
Not even.
And this is obviously not that,
but it's like, that's saving a, that's good money, dude.
Like, if you have five players who do that,
that's a ton of cap that is freed up for another player.
So I just wonder if this is going to get banned eventually.
But the bigger thing is with Carolina doing this,
Now we have Anaheim doing this.
You have some huge contracts that are about to be paid out.
Kriel Kaprizov is the first one that comes to mind.
You've got all this money that's about to be freed up from Souter and Porese.
So many people with Minnesota are like it's all going to go to Krill.
If Krill is down for something like that, you could save some serious cash.
It's interesting.
Dude, I haven't seen, I just don't know enough about this,
but I haven't seen anyone do it in football or basketball.
I don't know if it's happening there and I'm just oblivious.
But I had only seen it in baseball till it's happening.
now in hockey and baseball doesn't have a cap.
So it's like, yeah, and I'm sure it helps them with the luxury tax maybe or something,
but it's interesting that you're like, okay, cool, the show hey, can take all those
millions out of California state tax and congratulations, but when it's in a cap league,
like the NHL and NFL and NBA, it gets really interesting because you start being like,
I can pay the guy what he wants or a competitive rate or more than other team or, you know,
as much as other teams, but he's deferring it.
So my cap hits days down, that is actually massive game changing shit.
So, massive.
I don't know if it's going to get banned, but we'll see because it has huge implications.
It absolutely does.
It's super interesting.
Like you've got to imagine that more teams are going to do this, and it'll just be interesting to follow.
Let's talk about the Ottawa senators.
Yeah, I have a couple Atlantic teams we want to talk about here, and I was going to say a few bubbles and one not bubble, but actually they're all bubble.
They're literally all bubble.
Everyone we're about to talk about is a bubble playoff team in the Atlantic.
Let's start with Ottawa, and all I wanted to bring up was Olmark hasn't played since December 22nd.
He left in the first period of that game.
They are one and four since then.
Yeah.
He was on an absolute he tore.
Oh, dude, like Vezna numbers.
He tore.
He had a cruise missus.
He had a slow start and completely turned it around.
Yeah.
Like multiple shutouts.
They were begging for, dude.
He's weak to week now, they're saying.
and maybe I'm
skewed by
the Bruins med staff
but I just always feel like
NHL
it's a little bit worse
than they say always
unless you're OVie
and Olinmark being week to week
is I'm like that turns into months
well month
you know to month plus pretty quick
I hope it doesn't but it could
and
in my opinion that
murders
ruthlessly murders
any playoff hopes they have
which was getting exciting
yeah but if he's out
oh they're toast
you are beyond dead
yeah I agree I agree completely
it's there
there was like right before that
right before Christmas it was I was like
fucking hey dude the Sends are going to make the playoffs
and I said I we set on our Christmas Day pot
I was like the Sends are going to be
we've been begging for
it, the fifth team in the Atlantic to make the playoffs since only going to be three from the
men.
Yeah.
And now it's interesting.
And listen, if he comes back, this is one of those fucking brutal things where, with a goalie
especially, I'm like, do not you dare come back until you are 100%.
Like the week to week stuff scares me.
I'm like, don't push it.
Because goalie shit is just like, if you're nagging all year long, you are dead.
Yeah.
But if they, if the longer he waits out, if they keep on this run, they just fall out of
the playoff race.
And it's insane because.
things like we said at the beginning of this year with our preview the sense no more excuses
you have to make the playoffs yeah which is brutal because you look at those top teams in the
atlantic but i'm like no dude like you guys are ready you're your your young boys aren't young
anymore like brady pinto norris uh stutzla like they're all you guys got to be in the playoffs
so it's savage that this has happened because now perfect transition look who's coming
dude, the Detroit Red Wings.
And dude, here's the thing. Talk about a new coach bump, dude.
Jesus.
Here's the thing, dude.
Back to, when was he fired?
And any Canadian fans listening right now before you lose your mind?
Don't worry, we're about to talk about you two.
Checking the date.
That long got fired.
While you do that,
the current state of the Atlantic, Toronto Maple Leafs in first place with 54 points,
41 games played.
Florida Panthers in second place with 50 points, 40 games played.
Boston Bruins, the most fraudulent third place of all time.
45 points with 42 games played.
Behind them and fourth with five less games played, 37,
is the Tampa Bay Lightning with 42 points, three points behind, five games in hand.
The Ottawa Senators with 38 games planned, four games in hand, 40 points, five points behind.
Then the Canadians, 39 games played 39 points.
Detroit Red Wings, 39 games played 38 points.
So the Detroit Red Wings are on a four-game winning streak.
Yeah, La L'Lan fired on the 26th. They lost four in a row. Then they won four-street.
Yeah.
They have a four-game homestand coming up against Ottawa, Chicago, the Cracken, and the Sharks.
And every single one of those could, should be won.
That's what I'm saying, without O-Mark.
Yes, if O-Mark's not playing and you're Detroit, you look at that game and you go, we absolutely have to win this game.
And it's like a vital, I'm competing against you directly.
Yeah.
You know, so the wings, and dude, they're so fucking Jacklin High.
Like, they're under 500 to be, to be very clear.
Oh, yeah.
But, like, they're coming, but they're under 500.
You have to be on an eight-game win streak.
100% at the end of this homestand, or I am not taking you seriously.
Ultimately, you have to go three and one.
You literally must go three and one, but you need to go.
You should go four or no.
Agree.
The Montreal Canadiens, dude, a team who is exactly 500 is 7-3.
seven and three in their last 10.
Yep.
And what, like the double wrister we gave to Ottawa a week ago.
I know, dude.
We're given to Montreal now.
Like there's a part, I've said a million times I said it yesterday on hockey talk.
Canadians fans who were getting so fired up, I'm like, breathe, dude.
Just calm down.
You don't need to make playoffs this year.
I know, dude.
But ultimately, with the state of the Boston Bruins, you have to think you are in contention
for that possible fifth spot.
I don't think there's any world
where Ottawa or Montreal or Detroit
is jumping Tampa, Florida or Toronto.
Now, they could jump Boston.
That's tough for Boston Bruins fans to hear,
but it's very, very possible.
And these teams, I genuinely think
Detroit, Montreal, Ottawa, Ottawa, and Boston
are all in the exact same spot, dude.
Like, you are all fighting for the same shit
and Bruins fans who probably are ripping their hair out right now
listening to this. I'm like, dude, wake up.
Wake up.
Wake the fuck up.
Like it is minus 20 gold diff for Boston.
Minus 20 gold diff, dude.
Minus 20 gold diff for Boston.
Four, four and two in their last 10.
It's just brutal.
So we'll switch over to the Bruins,
but quickly just say,
Montreal looks fucking nasty.
Yes, it's going to be really interesting
that whole stretch there.
And I give the tabs a ton of credit
because I think you and Tomer
put them seventh in our predictions
and the Sabres, 8th, you killed the Sabres.
I think that's right.
I was like Habs eight, Sabre 7, but I was like it's right there.
And I said the same thing.
I don't even need Montreal to go hard this year.
No.
And then when Linae got hurt and who else got hurt before they even started.
Ryan Bucker.
Oh yeah.
And I was like, see, it's whatever.
And look at them now, dude.
Like this is a, this is a picture perfect season for the Habs right now.
Linae's back, absolutely buzzing.
Cole is buzzing.
Suzuki is a perfect captain.
Lane Hudson's a fucking weapon.
Like, goaltending has been great.
It's, they are so, can you believe, dude, that in the year of our Lord 2025, you and I are
celebrating the Montreal Canadiens.
But dude, they are undeniable fun.
No choice.
Going on to the Bruins, however, like we said, sticking in the Atlantic a little bit,
it is time for the Boston Bruins fan base to acknowledge what this team is.
So many times on Twitter, we have talked about the struggles, the scoring, secondary scoring
struggles are very concerning.
so many people are like, well, they're third in the Atlantic still.
I just mentioned it.
Dude, wake up.
The games in hand is insane.
Yeah.
Like, Tampa is passing you in a matter of days.
Easily.
And now you have all these other teams who are trending up while you are trending down.
There was a bit of a new coach bump with Sacco.
It's gone.
Brutal, brutal, brutal loss to the lowly New York Islanders when you finally score some goals.
I know, dude.
It's frustrating.
People are shitting on sway.
Absolutely.
Sway is not having the season that he wanted to have.
He's not having the season any of us wanted him to have.
But we believe in Sway.
He's going to pull it together sooner or later.
Truly believe that. And it's frustrating.
Two of his recent losses were two-one games.
Yeah, yeah.
Two-one and a three-one with an empty netter where he had 0.935 save percentage.
It's like, dude, you got a score.
You just mentioned it.
Minus 20 gold diff.
Like, you were fucking, dude, you were losing.
You were not making the playoffs with that golden.
Where are they in goals for?
Keep going.
It's absolutely savage, dude.
And something that we talked about, and don't worry, you know, some of the Bruins fans who think we should on the Bruins, particularly their drafting.
We talked about the 2015 draft all the time.
People are like, enough talking about it.
But you look at teams like Dallas.
Look at Dallas.
Look at Minnesota.
Look at Winnipeg.
These teams that are doing great.
I just named a bunch of central teams.
But, like, you know, those are teams that are playing unbelievably.
And you look at their roster.
and so many of their huge heavy hitters are drafted players.
Dallas, I look at Jason Robertson, Otter, Wyatt Johnston, Logan Stankovan, Rupay Hints.
These are guys that are drafted in top two rounds that are, or beyond, that are massively producing for the team, massively producing.
Then you look at Washington.
People talk about the retool and the rework of Washington.
Yes, you bring in Chikrin, amazing, you bring in Roy, amazing.
I look at guys like McMichael and Protas who have been given the patience
and they've been given the coaching and development to now their top four in points on that team.
They're sick.
Unbelievable players.
The Bruins, let's leave 2015 in the past.
Something you and I went down and I'll do this very quickly.
But dude, before you even go into this because I just wanted to say, the two things I saw recently,
one was on I think Slapshot on Slapshot's IG, but it said, and it was like things,
fan bases don't want to hear. Yes. And the slide about the Bruins was something like the Bruins have
the worst five-year outlook in the NHL. And then the other thing was on, I think it's on hockey writers,
but it was on another one of the hockey accounts that was players that are property of NHL teams
at World Juniors this year. And it's like, you know, the Preds had eight guys. The Blues had seven
guys. And it counts down all the way. All the way Dan to one team, the Boston Bruins with zero.
Only team in the NHL with zero players.
Zero players at World Juniors.
So take those two stats and compile it with this, what you're about to say.
Yeah.
So that's a very important thing to note.
The Boston Bruins, 2017, first round took Earl Vakeninen.
Errol Vakinen is currently on the New York Rangers.
Now, he was traded with a first round pick and John Moore for Hampus Lindholm, who's on
the team, and that's great.
He's hurt, but that is a good move.
However, after Earl Vakinenin, was Rob Thomas, Jason Robertson,
Otter. You also took Swayman in that draft. That's great. Not that bad, but you would want more from
Ur-O. But you did get Hampas. So, okay, 2018, no first-round pick.
2019 selected Johnny Beecher. Johnny Beecher is a fourth-line player. And what's crazy
is when he was selected in the first round, they said that. They said that. We want him to be
a third, fourth-line player. That feels insane to use your first-round pick on that. After him,
Shane Pinto, Bobby Brink, Alexei Protas, who we just mentioned. Lighting it up. Lighting it up.
2020, no pick.
Took Mason Lurie in the second round.
Great pick.
Great pick.
People will talk about that, by the way.
Mason Lurie, significant contributor.
He has 16 points right now.
You know who it has 19 points?
Charlie McAvoy.
Yeah.
So, Mason Lurie is playing phenomenal.
Yep.
But after that, Alex LaFerrier,
selected by the Kings.
Unbelievable season.
2021, Fabian Lysel selected,
has played one NHL game.
Right after Fabian Lysel,
Wyatt Johnston was selected.
Maddie Nise was selected.
22, no pick.
They took Maddie Potra.
Madi Potra is currently in the AHL.
After him, Lane Hudson, playing right in your backyard.
Lighting it up.
2023, no pick.
Easton Cowan was selected with the pick you were supposed to have.
2024 last year, Dean Laterno selected.
You know who was selected after him?
Cole Hudson, playing right in your backyard.
Dean currently has two assists in 15 games with BC.
Oh, dude.
I won't, I won't harp.
on this because Bruins fans
fucking, you always lose your mind.
You're like, quit dogging on the front office.
Dude, you know why you don't have secondary scoring?
You know why you are ass up against the cap?
And you know why you're minus 20 diff?
Is because you have no one in your pipeline.
This happened to the Pats.
All those Bruins fans, I assume, are also Pats fans.
And you're watching what happened via a long run of bad drafting.
That's where the Bruins are headed.
Correct, Chris.
It is just, again, we will move on.
but Bruins fans, I need you to hear this.
That is since 2016.
You got McAvoy, great.
But since then, the only player that you have drafted that's like contributing on this team
realistically is Sway and Lurai.
Like Beachers, I love Beach.
Yeah, yeah, no, me too.
But he's a first round pick who's playing fourth line.
Yep.
No, it's crazy, Dan.
Like, that is just, it can't happen.
It cannot happen.
It's a, you know, it's an eight-year window.
Hey, bro, yeah.
And like you mentioned, zero players at World Juniors.
Zero players in AHL that you're like this, we got to bring them up for a spark.
You brought up Lysel, you guys win the game, he's plus one, and you send him right back down.
Murculoff, a UFA, an undrafted signing.
You gave him two games in which he had a point.
And it's just like there is nothing in the future.
And we bring it up just to say, like the Bruins are struggling right now.
They're minus 20.
They have zero cap space.
People talk about trading Trent Frederick.
I love Freddie.
What do you think you're getting for Trent Frederick?
That clears up what?
Two point something mill in cap space?
What's Freddie making right now?
Like that doesn't free up enough cap space to bring in this mystery center that they're missing.
Like these guys are all, the guys that are going to make changes are all making $5 million or more.
Talk about Mikhail Granland on San Jose.
He's a UFA at the end of the summer.
He's having an unbelievable year.
That's five mil.
Yep.
And dude, you're just praying for free agents.
Yeah.
You know, and it's a dangerous game.
You're going to trade a first round pick again?
No way.
Yeah, right.
You gave up O'Mark for peanuts just so you could get back in the first round
and you take Dean Laterno.
Who could be a monster next year.
But you would think that maybe with the 25th overall pick in the first round,
maybe after one year at BC, he would come up.
On the most stacked BC team I've ever seen.
But Dean, you're like, oh, I mean, you're going right back to BC, dude.
Yeah.
So crazy shit.
We just broke down the Atlantic.
Let's get into the Met a little bit.
I had some thoughts on the Metropolitan Division.
Dude, the Met is a...
I would say that the Central, I remain confident,
is the most powerhouse division
and it's going to be the Wild West.
But the Met, dude, has just been shaking out
in such a fun way.
The caps, I give them so much credit,
are legit, awesome.
The turnaround has been...
mind-blowing.
Because, dude, I was the number one guy
banging the drum to keep the caps
out of the playoffs last year.
And it was.
It was a waste of my time.
They wasted my time last year in the playoffs.
Didn't want to see them.
Picked them to finish fucking, like, seventh this year.
I was like, I don't believe in the things they'd changed.
I don't know if the young guys have it.
OV might be on the last legs.
All of that was fucking wrong, dude.
Bang.
Dunst cap.
Moron.
Idiot.
Caps are firing.
And it's sick.
I'm having a blast, dude.
I shouldn't even be allowed to.
But I'm having a blast.
watching them.
They're coming.
Can't wait to see them in the playoffs.
After that,
it gets,
I have a ton of question marks.
It's interesting.
Caps are the third best team in the league
behind the Knights and the Jets.
After that,
the Devils and Carolina
pop up at 8-9.
And then after that,
all the way down at 19th is Pittsburgh.
Which is hilarious to me.
Dude, don't sleep on Pitt.
I'll continue.
I'll,
sleep soundly on pit. But the bigger thing is, dude, like, you have the caps, devils, and
canes, not what we thought. Caps are fucking electric. They're my favorite team this year,
without question. They're so fun. What has happened to this division, dude? Dude, like,
I brought it up to you the other day because I was like, the fact that the Rangers have completely
imploded is astounding. It's amazing. Utterly astounding. Like, I am.
Yeah.
They have completely imploded.
They're in seventh with a 474 win percentage.
They're minus 10 goal diff.
Worse than that, dude.
The New York Islanders, what is your excuse, dude?
As we used to say, what's your malfunction?
What's your malfunction?
This team is 15, 18, and 7 with a minus 20 gold diff.
They are so in common.
competent. It's beyond my comprehension. And the talent on that team. There are so many guys on that
team that I would love on my team. How are they this bad? I don't know. And I think, well, I'll
say this. They aren't this bad or they shouldn't be. If you look at, just look at the roster
literally. Right? I'm like, you should probably be ahead of Columbus or something like that. But
You should be out of Columbus.
You should be out of Philly.
You should be head of Pitt.
You absolutely should.
I agree with the first two.
But my point is this, dude.
And you know what?
One thing about this pod is I feel like if I, and I'm sure you agree, if I ever have a take on a team that I just think I'm seeing it correctly.
I'm seeing the board correctly.
And I voice it.
And then the fan base gets annoyed with me and then thinks I hate their team.
And I'm like, I don't.
at all. But the pushback makes me dig in on my take harder because I'm like, I feel like I'm right.
And I was doing that with the Rangers last year. And I was kind of doing it with the Islanders
last year. And again, I just said how wrong I was about the Capps. I did it with the Caps, too.
I'm a moron. But the Rangers and Islanders, last year watching those teams, I was like,
these teams aren't very good. And this doesn't make any sense that they're, the Rangers
are winning the President's trophy and the Islanders are like even in the playoffs.
Yes. And now- Which I completely agreed with you on the Rangers. I know I apologize for Rangers
fans. I did start the cockroach thing. And we sold a bunch of T-shirts. But
They were cockroaches last year.
They were cockroaches, which led to me being like,
they are not this good.
They just can't die.
Well, dude, Dan, I was able to say it was actually even the more of a perfect metaphor than you thought.
Yes.
In that they weren't this majestic beast.
They were vermin just being unkillable.
And I was like, the whole time you're just been a little insect.
Yeah.
And now they just are, they're like, what happened?
We're insects.
And I'm like, you've been insects the whole time.
Yes.
Correct.
And they're probably not, let me take that probably out.
They're not this bad either.
I'm not trying to like dance on.
either New York teams are going to be like, you deserve to be in last.
I just felt like they were mediocre teams, both of them.
And now the pendulum has swung the other way, averaging them out to the mediocre team that I think they are.
And to quote the late great, he probably wouldn't be dead, the alive great Shane Falco.
He'd be alive, right?
Yeah, definitely.
He'd be fine.
He'd be living on his boat, dude.
To quote the great Shane Falco, quicksand is a scary, dangerous thing.
And they both.
are experiencing Quicksand right now.
Yeah, they are.
But I mean, dude, it's so funny to me.
We've talked about blowups, right?
Like the Rangers are, it looks like they're flirting with a full blowup.
If they can find a trade partner for Crider,
and then if Crider gets traded and Zabana Jad's like,
I'll waif, like, we're clearly, we're done.
We're not, we're not playing for a cup right now.
Yeah.
And then he waves and you can find a partner for him.
That is a full blowup.
You build around Chesty.
Hedel, laugh, Perot, and begin again.
And as I've said, good job.
Like, genuinely, I'm like, good job.
That is a good rework.
Flyers, or like, Islanders are interesting to me, dude.
Like, you've got Barzell, you've got Nelson,
you've got Horvatt, you've got Dobson,
and you've got Pollock and Pellock.
Like, these are, and you've got fucking Sorokin.
I'm like, do you just do you just,
exist in last place with all of these guys on your team and do nothing? Or do you go, okay,
we got to start over again? And do you trade all these guys? Get first round picks. Get prospects.
Like, what do you do? Do you believe that the Ranger, if they don't trade anybody else,
they can make the playoffs? No, I do not. Really? With the Atlantic, actually, there's part of me
that's like, I don't know, dude, they could easily just like click in one day. That's what I'm saying.
They can't catch Ottawa? Per last year.
I'm kind of like they aren't that good.
Like this team was overperforming now they're not.
And I don't know.
Shisterkin's out.
Like they might be in a hole with Shisterkin out.
They're three and seven in their last 10.
So I don't know.
But you know, the kids played really well against Chicago and HL team and they won
6.2.
I don't know if that's things turning around a little bit or if that's just Chicago.
The teams ahead of them, and it's all fucked as games in hand and shit,
but it's really tight for the second wildcard.
The teams ahead of them are Detroit.
Philly, Montreal, Columbus, Ottawa, and Pitt.
Like, they have to catch some of them.
Like, you could catch all of them.
Oh, yeah.
None of those teams are good.
So, yes, I think they absolutely can make the playoffs,
but I think they're a first round team.
Like, I think they've got bounced in the first round for sure.
And that, with the expectations of last year and going into this year,
is that what you want?
Or do you want to retool?
And, by the way, free fall into a sick pick.
Like, they're going to fucking, like, all of a sudden they're going to get again.
All of a sudden they're going to do.
Yet again.
Oh, we have the third pick.
They, when they had the pick for fucking Laffey and Kako, which obviously didn't work out,
I was like, you don't deserve these picks, dude.
But this is how you do it.
Like, stay relevant.
Like, realize when something's not working, make some moves.
And I feel like, I mean, I won't waste any time on Pitt.
You know exactly what I think Pitt should do.
But Philly is the other one.
Columbus is like, dude.
Dude, we, Columbus.
Finish your thought.
Columbus Blue Jack.
It's like you guys in fifth place right now, like at 500.
What a bunch of fucking beauties, dude.
Like everyone in that organization, everyone on that team, like, guys are the best.
You're just doing it all perfectly.
Philly, though, has the second worst gold diff in the division.
And the three worst goalies in any NHL room I've ever seen.
The way they're playing.
Correct.
So, like, the fact that they are where they are.
And Philly's tough because, like, I look at Tippett.
I look at Mitchcoff.
I look at Brink.
And I'm like, this is excited.
Drysdale, I'm like, this is an exciting team.
Yep.
But there are guys that I'm like, oh, should you trade?
people? Like, what are, what are we doing here? You know, like, Kinectne is so fucking good.
Yep. And should be on a sick team. But I think Kinekney's like, no, dude, I just extended because
I'm like, I want to be here. I want to do this. But it's like with how good they were at the
beginning of last year and then fell off. I think I maybe expected them to be more like I would
flop them with Pitt right now. I'm like, you guys should be like 500 or just a little bit above.
Yeah. But their goaltending is killing them. Dude, for me, you asked me, you asked me what
happened to this division. I'll tell you exactly what happened. And dude, you need to
check, I guess we'll see how the year ends, but you need to check yourself because you can,
your attitude about Pitt is if they miss the playoffs by one point, you go, see, I slept soundly
on them and they were, they didn't deserve my awakeness. They didn't make it. But I'm like,
no, dude, they are, they're currently in the wild card and they are going to be flinting in
and out of it for the rest of the season. And I'm still right. Even if they make playoffs, I'm still right.
No, because I think that's what we're talking about. Like, you felt like the penguins were dead and
they couldn't ever be a wildcard team.
No, no, no.
That's not what I said.
I think they're going to miss playoffs and they should miss playoffs.
But I think they're going to.
I've never said I think there's no chance.
I have said if they make playoffs and sneak in as a wild card,
they're going to get piss pumped out of the first round immediately,
probably in four games, as they should.
Which to me is you are wasting everyone's time, dude.
Yeah.
Like, I know that they're all they want to play the loyalty card,
but I'm like, dude, if you're a franchise,
again, I'm sorry to even talk about this again,
but if Crosby is like this, please do not ever,
or don't even begin to ask.
I'm not going fucking anywhere.
I love it here.
Then I'm like this, okay.
But if I'm the GM of that team, I'm like this,
you're killing me.
You are killing me, dude.
Like you are literally setting us up for misery for the next 10 fucking years.
Because you're just going to be this,
just miss playoffs or just sneak in and get bounced.
And then you are signing up for 10 years of obscurity.
when you have a golden opportunity with three or more players that you could easily trade for first-round picks
and set yourself up brilliantly.
Dude, Sid lived long enough to see himself become the villain.
Yes.
Everybody hates him now in Pitt.
Get off the team.
You're killing the future of the penguins.
You are destroying the penguin.
We're going to be fucking sold to Quebec City soon.
Fucking insane.
God damn.
But dad, this was going to say, here's the difference in the Met.
You don't want to know what happened?
Some teams are having fun and some teams aren't.
The Columbus Blue Jackets are just having fun out there, which is why they're 500.
which is their literal ceiling.
But it's because they're having fun.
And Zachorn, he's the man.
And the Rangers are having a horrible time.
Every time they sip on the ice, so like this, I wish I wasn't here.
I wish it was anywhere else but the MSG ice.
And that's why you are 18, 20, and 1.
Yeah, correct.
Unbelievable.
Let's talk about the World Junior.
Come on.
World Juniors, we got the final.
Last night, Sunday night, we saw USA go to overtime again with Finland.
Again, dude.
But USA prevailed.
Unbelievable game.
Finland all over USA to start the game.
Dude, the first 10 minutes was a bloodbath.
Oh my God.
Unbelievable.
Absolutely bloodbath.
It was crazy, too, because I think I got, obviously I'm not, I start paying attention to the
World Junior is when the World Junior starts, you know, and it's a really fun tournament.
It's actually an awesome thing.
And if you are a hockey fan listening to this pod and you don't watch World Juniors,
you should change that about yourself immediately.
Just the passion, the excitement on the kids, it's incredible.
Good hockey, too.
So coming in, as it's starting, everything.
I'm reading is like Canada sucks true and then USA is probably going to repeat first time in
program history and they're the favorites.
And they weren't in the group with Finland or Sweden and playing Sweden last year and
I just kind of was like, oh, Sweden's going to be nasty.
And Finland's will be good, but I don't care.
And even when Finland clipped us in the group or in the round robin or whatever, I was like,
whatever.
That's just like, you know, didn't play the best game.
And then to see them get to the final, I just, I still had my guard down.
I was like, USA is going to roll.
And that first, and we actually had a dinner party last night that we had to, we had to attend.
So it was, it was one of those awkward, like, everyone there is there to be social and have dinner and enjoy each other's company.
And Dan and I are like, could we throw on the soft world junior game?
I performed, like, an absolute jackass.
So, I was just like watching the game on and fucking reporting the game.
Yeah, like sitting in our room by ourselves.
It was the fucking worst.
But the first 10 minutes, I was like, Jesus Christ, I'm glad we're not going to watch this game.
So we, the US goes down 1-0, Hagen's ties it on a nice, like, hustle play.
Like tip, rebound, jammed it in.
Oh, fantastic.
Tons effort.
We, first period finishes 2-1.
2-1.
2-1.
We leave for intermission, or not leave, but just like leave the room.
Yeah.
And then by the time I come back to be like, let's go watch a little bit more of the game, it's 3-1.
And I'm like, holy fuck.
we're going to lose this game, like straight up.
It's brutal.
Gets to five minutes left in the second.
Dan and I jumping in it out.
And at this point we're sitting down for dinner
and I go to the TV's blaring in the other room.
We've all sat down and I'm like, I'm such an asshole.
I should go turn the TV down at least.
And as Dan and I walk into hit mute
and like turn the computer off,
because obviously the game's not on any TV channel on Earth.
So we're like mirroring the laptop.
Cole Hudson comes around.
It's already three two.
Well, Sabota had made it three two.
Yeah.
And then Cole Hudson comes around.
Hezzy, pushed to the middle, pipe and in.
Dude, Superman cape.
And Dan and I come back, like, fist pumping, three, three, let's go, baby.
So fired up.
And then third period, ice completely flipped, yeah.
Completely flipped.
It was a blood bath the other way.
I was actually terrified that about three-on-three overtime.
Because it just felt like the boys were dominating five-on-five,
that I was like, you have to get this done in the third period.
And then the C-3-on-3 overtime, that was a nightmare.
Do you like how Ryan Leonard and Cole Hudson are Caps prospects?
Yeah, dude.
Pretty gas.
Dude, it's unbelievable.
Absolutely unbelievable.
What a game, what a tournament.
How do you feel about three-on-three overtime?
Hate it.
Just because it's like Stanley Cup, dude.
I don't need or want the gimmick.
I love three-and-three-on-three-overtime in regular season.
I love it.
I just don't want the gimmick in a gold medal game.
Completely agree.
It's stupid.
Awesome tournament.
Canada, shout out and loved Canada.
We talked about last episode, like, I love you guys.
Yeah.
And feel really bad about the bullshit that's going on with hockey Canada.
It's great.
Like the politics going on with the roster and the coaches,
coaching decision, awful.
Love to see USA getting back-to-back goals.
Let's talk about David Carl, dude.
Okay.
This man is the best coach I've ever seen.
Yep.
Literally all he does is win.
And everyone on Twitter today has just been talking about, like, you know,
Rangers need to be.
offer him the bag so-and-so needs to offer him the bag if I am David Carl he and he has said by
the way inside sources he said I will not leave Denver unless someone fucking pays me out
the ass yeah if I were him I would continue to I would never fucking leave yeah I would coach
kay myself no doubt about it yeah you're living in a sick fucking city in one of the best states in
America coaching one of the best college programs in the world you don't have to deal with
contract issues with players you just coach up these young players you're a
a national title contender every single year,
you get a raise every single year,
you've just got the best setup going.
Yep.
Why would you ever leave?
Dude, the only reason he would ever leave is he wants to chase down a Stanley Cup
or he gets paid out of the ass,
or as you're kind of seeing with this old guard in,
and obviously in college basketball is way bigger than college hockey,
but this old guard of college basketball coaches getting run out of town,
the NIL shit.
It just changes what it was.
Yeah.
So they're like, if he's like, you know what,
now I am dealing with contracts for these kids.
True.
I might as well just do it in the fucking NHJ.
I just don't think college hockey yet is going to get that way while he's coaching.
So I'm like, just live it up.
Yeah, yeah.
If he gets run out of Denver when he's 72.
Yeah, because of the BIAL, that's like all good.
Absolutely perfect.
Agree with you big time.
And then last shout out for me is just Teddy Stiega on the golden goal.
Oh, dude.
Dude, what?
First of all, was that Cole who passed that?
I think so.
No, Zeefe.
Oh, Zeefe.
Fucking absolutely doper.
Sauce.
Fucking UFO.
across three lines right on the tape across three timesones dropped on the tape so
and dude how sick is it that if you're teddy pred's prospect second round in 55th overall to the
preds based on bc get called up to this world junior squad know you have a chance to win gold
comes in and doesn't have a talk all tournament and you're like damn damn i wanted this to go a little bit
bad so i'm having a great time it's all about the team name on the front not the name on the back but you're
like, damn, would have been nice to get one while I was here.
Yeah. And then to have that one bang home, go slide on the knee, heartbreak,
Selly, as you're like, dude, it completely changes your memories of the trip in the best
possible way, all-time moment for the kid. Couldn't be happier for the boys.
Could not be happier. Before we move on to some fun stuff, I want to give a quick shout-out.
So a little while ago, we got a message from some Netter's fans.
fans, Michael and Sammy, awesome, awesome people, reached out to us, they're Rangers fans,
and Michael told me that Sammy has been for over a year and a half now battling with cancer.
She found out she was diagnosed with medulla blastoma, which is a form of brain cancer.
Last year and a half, she's been in and out of dozens of rounds of radiation, chemo,
all of the brutal things that people with cancer go through.
But thankfully, Sammy's on the mend, wrote to recover.
cancer-free, absolute beauty.
So, Rangers, their hockey fights cancer night is January 7th.
So time of recording tomorrow, time you guys are listening to us yesterday, playing the
stars, really cool event that a lot of teams do, Rangers are doing on the 7th.
And we helped get Sammy and Michael set up at the game.
And massive, massive thank you to Molly Knottiff at the Rangers.
It's been working with us, helping us out getting Michael and Sammy set up at
the game.
Going to get a message up on the Jumbotron.
They're getting a swag bag.
Get to go to the game.
Watch the Rangers play.
Hopefully they get a win.
So hopefully by this time they'll beat the stars.
But just an example of how awesome this community is.
The Netters fans, hockey fans, Michael and Sammy, just like so cool.
Such an amazing story.
So proud of them.
So proud of Sammy for the battle she's gone through and getting on the mend.
And couldn't be happier to see that they're going to the game and are going to have a
great time.
But just tons of love to Michael and Sammy first and foremost, but also huge shoutout and tons of love to Molly with the Rangers and the Rangers organization.
Just doing stuff like this is so cool in the league and so happy that we could help in the smallest way to just make sure that they get there and have a great time.
So again, the game has happened by now by the time you're listening to this.
So I hope it was a fucking blast.
Yep.
And Wish and Sammy all the best in everything.
Absolutely.
Just keep crushing it.
Now back for the first time in the new year.
We're kicking it to our segment with the San Jose Sharks, Tyler Tofoli, the one the only.
Quick pause in the podcast to talk about our partners at BetMGM.
We've got unbelievable stuff coming to you right now.
NFL playoffs is cooking.
We've got the Four Nations tournament coming up in a couple months.
All of these unreal things that you can bet on.
Don't sleep on Champions League football coming up as well.
You need to sign up for BetMGM right now so you don't miss any of the action.
And you don't miss any of these unbelievable props.
We've got so many cool giveaways going on with BetMGM right.
We've got the empty net bets that are live that CP and I are hammering all the time.
We're playing bingo live on our YouTube.
You can make sure you sprinkle in some action like anytime goal scores on that.
Play bingo along with us.
What you need to do is sign up for bet MGM right now with promo code netters,
N-E-T-T-E-R-S.
Like we've said, bet M-GM-GM has you covered with all of the best picks, all the best parlayes,
and every sport you could ever imagine.
What they're also doing is this.
If you sign up right now with our promo code, you can bet up to $1,500.
on anything you want, and if you lose it, you get all of that put right back into your account
by BetMGM. What other book is helping you out like this? The answer is none of them. BetMGM is the
best across the board. You need to sign up today so you don't miss out on any of this action.
Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler. Call 877-8-Hope-N-Y or text Hope NY for New York. Call
1-800-3-2-Massachusetts. 21-plus only. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800-next-step for Arizona.
1-800-off for Iowa. 1-800-1-8010-2-3 for Puerto Rico.
first bet offer for new customers only, subject to eligibility requirements.
Bonus bets are non-withdrawable.
In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel, see betmgm.com for terms.
US promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
What's the deal, dude, during Christmas throughout your time in the league,
dude, does anyone, like, head home back to their hometowns, or does most, do most guys kind of stay put?
Yeah, some guys went home.
I know, so our last game before the break was in van, and some guys went right to the airport
after the game.
I know Smitty went back to Boston, Ty went back to Toronto,
some guys kind of went back.
And I did it one year, I think.
I surprised my mom at home.
And it's just so much travel when you're on the West Coast, like California.
It was like, because you're obviously, you're back home,
kind of entertaining, being with your friends and family.
And then all of a sudden it feels like you wake up
and then you're already on your flight back to back home.
So it's like, you know, it's one of those things where you just,
I stay.
But I was more tired doing that.
you know, staying and all that just from the traveling alone, you know.
Dude, I always have a dream of, like, in Ted Lassau, like, are any of the boys who just stay put,
is there any huge group that gets together of, like, eight of the guys doing Christmas together?
Yeah, in L.A., we would always go, I think we'd go to Quickey's.
We'd go over to the Carters, I think, Christmas Eve.
So, you know, whoever's kind of around, you know, everyone's invited everywhere, you know,
especially if guys are single and stuff like that,
you don't want them to be by themselves
and if their families aren't here, you know.
So everyone was invited.
I know Ruta and Vanichek,
they came over on Christmas Day
because they had nothing going on.
So they just came over.
We hung out for a while and then back to work.
That's fucking awesome.
That is so sick, dude.
It's like what we talked about with like Friendsgiving.
Like it's almost, I mean, family time's great.
But it's almost more fun, dude.
Like you just get the boys together.
It is better.
Did Quickey make a prime rib back in the day?
Well, his wife's a really good cook, so Jackie would make, I don't know if she would make a prime rib.
But her Thanksgiving's were always incredible.
She always went full tilt the entire time, you know?
It's just like you walk in and just smells unbelievable.
You're just like, you're waiting around for the food.
And then all of a sudden, like the food, she said it's ready.
And it was just a free-for-all food wherever you get the food first.
Dumbos.
Yeah.
That's so good.
So fucking good, man.
I absolutely love it.
Dude, going to New Year's,
we were just talking about the Winter Classic.
I am super curious.
If you're not playing in the game,
do you guys watch?
Like, do you care,
or is it nice to have New Year's Eve off
after your game?
Because you guys played, right?
Yeah, no, I think I turned it on for a little bit,
but I don't really,
personally, I don't really watch a lot of hockey
during the season anyway.
It's almost like I'll throw on, like,
a period at a time.
sort of thing.
But as we were just kind of saying before this, I read online that, you know, it didn't get
the best reviews.
But in my opinion, it's always tough having the game in, you know, a baseball stadium.
It's hard to see.
Not that it's easy to see in a football stadium, but I just feel like the setup is better
at football stadiums.
Definitely.
It's the same shape.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
It's pretty simple as.
But that is a great note.
Like, that's something we've talked about.
But are there things like you've skated on some of these outdoor rinks before from a
players perspective, are there any things that stand out to you guys when it comes to the
Winter Classic that would make it better from a players perspective, whether it be what day the game is,
what the pregame is, how it's promoted? Like what are the things that you guys as players talk about
that could improve it? Yeah, I think it was you guys that tweeted out,
um, them being the only game playing. I do like that idea because it just brings more attention
to it. Uh, but from the, from the player standpoint, I think they do a pretty good job now with,
with the ice and, and all that.
I know the last one I played in at MetLife,
the ice was awesome,
better than some of the ice during the season.
It was fucking freezing that night.
Dude, that was the coldest,
the fucking day ever.
Well, it's actually funny.
So you guys are always cold,
like the fans would be really cold,
but the bench is almost too hot
because they have the heaters going.
So I know,
I remember we played in,
we played at Air Force,
and I was like,
I was too hot.
I had to stand in the middle of the benches almost
because that's the only spot
that didn't have the heater.
That's so funny.
Yeah, dude,
the thing that sucks about,
the baseball stadiums is it looks so dope. Like the overhead pictures and the shots when you walk in
and it's like Wrigley, the Ivories everywhere, Fenway, the monster, just like the rink being in
the baseball stadium looks cooler than in the football stadium. But then when you're actually watching
the hockey, it's worse. Oh, dude, 100%. That's what they're fighting against. We've talked about it.
It's like there are times where you're sitting in that stadium and you're looking at the jumbo-tron,
not the field. And that is a problem. Unacceptable. But for like for the, for the
most part, like you guys love it.
Like if you're in the season and you were playing in the Winter Classic, you're,
you're buzzing, right?
Yeah, no, I think it's a lot of fun.
I think it's, uh, it's almost more fun for the fans or for the family, sorry,
because they come, they get to skate on, like the day before and I played in three,
maybe four of them now, three for sure.
Um, but like now that I've played in it, it's like, okay, Kat loves to do the skate
the day before, you know, they take all the photos and they do all that stuff where
for us now, it's, or for me now, it's, or for me,
it's kind of just like another game almost it's cool it's don't get me wrong it's it's it's amazing
they obviously put a lot of work into it but um you know at the same time you're usually playing
playing against one of your rivals and if you're a playoff team it's a game that really matters
and then you know you guys said it was raining that day like what if it's snowing like crazy
like you need to win the game almost and you know it's snowing you're like okay it's like what
are we doing here sort of thing but um i think it's a lot of fun like i said i think it's more kind
for the family to enjoy it now as well.
Dude, how about both coaches getting gassed before the Winter Classic this year?
Unbelievable.
Dude, because you're, you know, you're like planning with your families.
You're like, well, we got Winter Classic this year.
That'll be awesome.
You're like, just kidding.
Yeah.
They're going to be there.
Well, well, I think I was telling you guys, the outdoor game with the Kings at Dodger Stadium,
I was up, you know, a majority of that year.
And then they sent me down.
I'm like, oh, like, I'm not going to make the outdoor game.
Like, that sucks.
like three days before they called me back up
and then I didn't end up playing though
I got scratched but at least I got to do the skate
practice and do a rip around
I was also like 21 or 20 years old
so I thought it was like the coolest thing ever
that is so sick dude what do you guys think about this
this idea just popped into my head
what if the winter classic was
end of the regular season
the two last place teams in the game
play at a predetermined neutral location winner classic to decide who gets the first overall pick.
Learn more at Adobe.com slash do that with Acrobat.
Whoever wins gets the first check?
Yeah, yeah.
I was like, what do you mean?
That actually sounds kind of funny,
but I don't know the kind of players,
the guys didn't want to do that.
Dude, yeah, you're right.
Actually, dude, no, no, no, so true.
The players are like, are you fucking kidding me, dude?
I'm still done with this season.
It's finally over, and now it's like a super important game.
Dude, here's the other problem, Dan.
It's fucking nay.
It's way too warm out everywhere.
It's way too hot.
And we just watched the two bad teams play, and it's a bad product.
Dude, true.
I don't want to do that again.
True, true, true, okay.
I'm going to keep rattling around.
Dude, how about this, Dan?
Bonus game.
Fuck, no.
I was going to say, I was going to try to make it home ice for the Stanley Cup final,
like an East West team, winner of winter class.
Like kind of like the baseball.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Base, all-star game.
Yeah, exactly.
That's an all-star game vibe.
That's interesting.
I don't know.
It would be kind of savage.
Like the two teams that make it to the Stanley Cup,
they have to play one.
Yeah, yeah.
No, dude.
Just add one more game to the 24 you have to play.
Exactly.
Just grind through.
Put all those injuries on blast for one more game.
Stats don't count.
And you're like, what the fuck?
Do you have any dream venues in your mind that you're like,
that would be the sickest fucking winner classic ever?
Not really.
I mean, I think playing at MetLife the other couple years last year was really cool,
in my opinion.
And that one was awesome.
I had to have been one of the better ones that they've had because it was loud.
For us, it was, it felt sold out.
I don't know if it was.
I know the Rangers one was for sure sold out, but for us it was awesome.
They had the Joe Bros.
Start before.
I'm pretty sure there was like five or six of us watching the concert before the game.
I can say that now because we won, but we're out there.
We're like, wow, these guys are awesome.
And then you look at the clock and you have like five minutes.
tire skates and get ready and go for warm-up.
But I think MetLife was really cool.
The Air Force one was awesome too.
It was just, I know they had trouble with people getting in and out.
There was literally only like one road to get in and out,
and it was just like stopped so half the people didn't even get in.
Yeah.
But that was also a good setup too.
Yeah, that's, dude, we were talking about.
That one was awesome.
Yeah, we were talking about non-NHL cities and like would people travel.
So for example, if you did it at the can,
Kansas City Chiefs football stadium and did, you know, two.
Yeah, like, I think that would be sick.
And I know they were just in it, but like the blues or whoever's close to KC,
I think they would still travel to that game.
Oh, for sure.
Yeah.
I mean, like people travel all over.
It's, I do wonder, I mean, like, some of these college football stadiums would be elite.
Like the big house was so nasty.
So that would be sweet.
I would kill them.
I know it would be cool.
A couple of my buddies played, uh,
Played at Notre Dame, and they said that playing at Tennessee was one of the coolest stadiums to play.
And it was just, like, loud.
And I think everyone wears orange.
So it feels like, you know, everyone's on top of you.
And he said it was the craziest stadium that he played it.
Dude, that's a great point.
Remember, was it last year, the NC State club game?
Yeah, they all, yeah, the college teams played too.
Like that was, and they packed that stadium.
Packed it would be, that's a maybe like an ACC or an.
SEC College
stadium and be like this
We're bringing an
NHL game to one of your stadiums
Like they would probably
Like those students would probably pack
The shit out of that place
It would be electric
Would be electric
I mean it'd just be a huge party
For them too right?
Yeah
Dude exactly
Which bro that is so
I've learned now that
And it's not hard for you guys
Because you're playing
But the winner classic
This is a message to all fans
Who might go to on someday
The Winter Classic is all about
The buildup
Outside the ring before the game
Yeah
Vod them is the game
Because like we've just been saying
You can't barely see
But there's like shit outside
fan activities and all that stuff and it's just such a party like it's actually a really fun party to
be that that was money yeah we got to have more it was it was cool when we were going into uh to met life
you just we saw everybody tailgating and everybody with the jerseys on the food was cooking we're like
actually looks really fun out there we maybe stop in there yeah grab a dog dude it was sick we were
doing that hat trick trivia shit where we were standing around interviewing all of these drunk people
with barrel fires and their tailgates and we're freezing our dicks off i was like this is awesome
I wish I had a drink though.
Well, dude, that was funny because, like, the New Jersey crowd were like, you know,
we look like media because I got like this NHL badge.
I'm doing the show.
So I'm walking, Dan and I are walking up to people being like, hey, will you jump on this
show with us?
And they'd be like, no, only if you take a shot.
And I'm like, all right.
And just like hammer the handle in front of them.
And they were like, wait, what the fuck?
Dude, are you drinking?
I was like, yeah, dude, come on.
It's a party.
Look what you're doing.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Our poor producers were like, guys, pull it together.
Pull it together.
Fuck, that was awesome.
Dude, looking at the schedule in the standings right now, it's like, New Year, you look at it, we're halfway through the season.
What is post-New Year's and Christmas?
Like, is there a noticeable shift for all of you guys?
Like, all right, second half of the season here, like buckle in, let's go.
Yeah, I think the way or the way it feels for me at least is after Christmas until the bi-week or the All-Star game, whatever you want to call it.
It's always like the biggest grind because, you know, you're coming off the Christmas.
break and you get the three days off and then and then for us like we went we jump right back
into a back to back and it's like holy like you're sore already yeah yeah it's almost like
you're you're looking forward to the bi week and then after the bi week is like when everybody is
like really grinding whether that you know you're in a playoff spot or your first place or you're
in last place it's like that's always when everybody's really grinding especially for the
teams that aren't going to make the playoffs because you know guys are trying to stay in the lineup and
play and then they're having all these young guys kind of in the lineup and playing or like they're
signing college free agents to get ice time so you want to keep playing well obviously because you don't
want to lose any ice time or anything like that so um from now to buy week is my in my opinion
the biggest grind of this evening oh shit yeah i wouldn't guess that dude because in my mind it's like
it's like it's like right after all stars because it's like okay now it's just all gas but i
totally hear you on this little this such a unique little pocket totally right now to
early feb where you're like all right just get me to get me to the break
Yeah, and I was going to ask for a team like you guys are at the bottom of the of the standings.
Like is it a little more relaxed, but that just kind of answered it.
It's like there's great point about the young kids getting called out.
Such a good point.
Like that's that is a time where you could lose your job.
Like you could lose your spot on the line.
I didn't think about that.
That's huge.
Yeah.
So it's, and I think after the biweek, that's when like you were saying, it's all gas,
but that's when it's like the most fun because it's like every day.
You're not really practicing.
If you're like a playoff team or like on the bird, you're literally.
pretty much is playing games the entire time.
So it's like, yeah, yeah, it's like, it's like, it's all pressure, but that's what you play
for.
You know, you play for playing those really important games and winning those games.
And that's always the best time because, you know, everyone's pushing.
Everyone's, you know, it's pretty much playoff hockey, in my opinion, right after the bye week.
Dude, what do you think, so there's some cool stat that's like, you know, after the first 20
games or something, for the most part, that.
playoff picture doesn't change that much if you look at it throughout the years.
Yeah.
But obviously, more than 16 teams right now believe they can make the playoffs.
So how many teams around this time of year, Taft, are actually like, eh, we're probably
out?
And how many are like, no, dude, we're still going to battle?
Yeah, I mean, I think there's like a few, but in my opinion, like, like, like you're
saying, like, we're near the bottom.
But, like, our meetings every single day are like, you know, you win a few games, you
going a streak and then all of a sudden you're like you know you're like kind of in the mix or you know
you're like not that far off so it's like every single meeting's extremely important and the way that
you know at least our outlook is you know we're trying to win every single night it's like
we're not going out for you know guys aren't just going to you know get their cookies and
score a goal or you know get a couple assists it's like you know we're trying to win games and
the last two games especially the one against jersey we you know we score with 20 seconds left
or whatever it was and it you know it was electric yeah yeah it was fuck yeah you know we were fired
up and like uh the the the rink was packed it was full it was loud it was you know it was a lot
of fun so i think i mean in my opinion every everyone is you know still trying to win games
yeah i mean have to be it's you make a good point and you obviously don't wish
injuries on anyone but even like look at the rangers they're struggling and then chastirkin goes on
i r if you're another one of those teams in the met you're like that we could get that's my
chance to take that spot.
I mean,
bro, the fucking blues were in dead last.
Yeah.
At Jan 1, the year they won the cup.
Yeah.
You know, so it's like, you get hot.
You get hot.
And it's like, you still plenty of time.
Yeah.
Yeah.
No, it's absolutely crazy.
So, yeah, do you think, you know, kind of on this same topic was thinking about post, post,
post-by-week post-maybe trade deadline?
Is that when it really tightens up where obviously you're trying to win every game,
but guys start looking at the standings and like every point matters.
Like, you're looking for home ice.
you're looking for the number one scene.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah.
Is it already tough?
Because it's not like, you're not standing watching yet in the beginning of the season.
But are you, is it after Christmas you start standing watching?
I think honestly, it's after by week.
After by week.
When I was in Calgary by last year, I think we missed the playoffs by two points, maybe.
It was like every single game, before the game, you're like the TV, you know, like the one
games on. I can't remember who we were chasing.
It might have been like Nashville or something.
But like, you're like, oh, yeah, they lost.
Like, we need to win this game. And then we wouldn't win.
And it would be like, oh, shit.
Like, you know, that was our chance.
Now, like, we have to win the next game.
That's when, like I said, that's the best hockey because you're stressed.
You're just playing.
You know, you're literally, if somebody's not going that night, at least for us,
like you weren't going to play.
It didn't matter who you were.
You know, there's a couple games where, you know,
normal I'd play, you know, 16-ish minutes.
Like, I was playing, like, 10 minutes because I, you know, I wasn't playing well.
Daryl's coaching the win, you know what I mean?
So it was like, you know, super stressful.
But I'd say after biweek is whenever you're, like, kind of like scoreboard watching.
And every single, every point matters.
You know, you lose in a shootout, you're like, oh, shit.
You know, we only got one point, but, you know, we needed that one point.
Yeah, right, right.
Silver linings.
Yeah.
Fuck, yeah.
It's fucking huge.
So it's funny.
It's like, I feel like we get through this holiday season.
You get the winner classic.
And then you kind of rub your eyes in January, and you're like, oh, shit, it's like very important hockey from this point on.
Dude, it feels that way for us covering the league.
Like, we always joke that everyone's like, oh, hockey season started in October, but we're like, it actually starts at Winter Classic.
Like, that's when we're kind of like launching into a lot of big events and a lot of really serious hockey.
So it's kind of interesting to hear the grind starts for you guys now, too.
Yeah.
It's wild.
Yeah, for sure.
Shifting from the grind, dude, it's time to give you the floor for Toftakes.
Oh, maybe.
All right.
So I was thinking about this one, and I'm going to keep it in the sports world.
Oh.
I'm going to go with, and this could be controversial,
I'm going to go with one of the LA teams that's going to win the Super Bowl.
Whoa, dude.
Wait, that is an unbelievable.
I'm feeling good about them.
And obviously, obviously, we're taking two teams here, but.
Still, still, that's incredible odds.
I, hold on, time out.
Toff, two for two on completely blunt.
my mind of unexpected
like I was not only was I not prepared for
yeah I was not prepared for football
but this is a hot take dude which
do you lean either team or are you like I like them
both equally I mean I like the Rams better
but that's why I said both teams because I like the
I like their roster and I obviously
with their coaches that came in they did a good job
and I just feel like the charges they've had such good
teams and they always like missed the playoffs because like their kick or misses a kick or like
something like that. It just doesn't feel like that this year almost. So like I that's why I kind of
like both teams. And then obviously with like the Rams, you know, uh, McVeigh and just like the way
that like they're coached and the way that they play, I feel like they can kind of play any type
of game. They can run a gun or they can kind of lock it down too. Dude, here's why I love this
take, bro, Harbaugh is Harbaugh was at Michigan one.
knew he'd been cheating in college, and he was like, I'm out of here.
I'm going to go to the NFL.
Immediately turned the charges around.
And, dude, J.K. Dobbins, the running back who had such a sick year,
like missed the last two months and is now back and fresh is lettuce.
And I actually think it's run the ball season, dude.
And the chargers actually could make a good push year.
Who do they play first?
I don't know, but I was just looking.
I'm going to check this.
Both teams have plus 3,500 odds.
Dude, we got to hammer this, dude.
We've got to hammer this, man.
I love this take.
We've got a 10.
That's a little outrageous.
Yeah, dude.
This is a hot takeoff.
We've got a 10 and 7 team and an 11 and 6 team that he's picking over the chiefs, over the lions, over the bills.
Like this is fucking.
Dude, they're good squads, though.
The Chargers are at the Texans, which is so winnable.
Yep.
I love that.
The Rams.
Got many.
Oh, they're at home, though, because they won the division.
But I forgot out there at home, that's a great call.
They got the Vikings, though.
That's tough game.
Tough.
Vikings in L.A.
That is tough.
But dude, but dude, if you get by the Vikings...
You win one, you get hot.
You get hot, dude.
Don't let us win one, dude.
That's your staff.
We've been there before, dude.
If the Rams win, dude, if they get by the Vikings,
they're probably going to get, like,
the, oh, I guess they, who's the one seed?
They could get the Lions,
but they'd probably get, like, the commander's bucks.
Weirdly enough, I feel like the Chargers have the better...
Me too.
When he said this, I was like 100% Rams,
and now looking at it,
I'm like the Chargers.
That's crazy.
Like the Chargers are going to have to play the Bills or Chiefs or both at some point.
It wasn't supposed to be easy, dude.
If one of these two teams win, could you imagine what if it's both?
If we have a Chargers' Ram Super Bowl, Toph is just going to be sitting there like this.
Oh, I would be laughing.
Counting my money.
I just, I feel like we have no choice but to sprinkle some action on this now.
Dude, this is 100% happening.
That is incredible.
Plus 3,500 for both.
That is incredible.
less people to get.
Actually, I don't know, but we've got to bet on both 100%.
Absolutely.
Do you know any of the boys on that team from your time down here?
It's all different.
It's all turned over, I guess.
No, not really.
Not really, I don't think.
Did you ever claim, like, is one of those teams your team?
Like, who do you root for?
Good question.
I'd say, like, I mean, I want to say the Rams, just because we went to a lot of those
games, but then, like, people ask me, and they're like, oh, like, are you a, who's your
team?
And I'd say the Rams, and they're like, oh, because they win the Super Bowl, like, ball, blah.
I'm like, no, I mean, I kind of, I lived in L.A.
And I was going to four games a year when I was there.
You know what I mean?
It's almost like, I wanted to say like the 49ers because I went to four games this year.
But, you know, it wasn't ready yet, you know.
Where's the bowl this year, New Orleans?
Yeah, I think so.
I think it's New Orleans.
Dude, you, Super Bowl Sunday is your first day off for break.
So.
I know.
Trust me, I know.
Tom.
Oh, dude, I know.
And you're home.
Dude, three game home stand, Super Bowl Sunday, first day off your break,
Rams Chargers.
You're telling me we're not going to watch that together?
No, we absolutely have to.
That's insane.
We have to watch the Super Bowl together no matter what now at this point.
God, dude, that is incredible.
Dude, I love this.
I'm in love with this pick.
Me too.
Me too.
I'm in love with this pick.
In true tough fashion, closing it out with a fucking scorching hot take.
That is fantastic.
All right, I love it.
All right, dude.
Well, another great appearance by you.
And again, like I said,
Just another beautiful take.
That killed me, dude.
But yeah, you're the best for joining.
Thanks, brother.
Thanks, as always to Toff the beauty.
It's my guy.
Now we're going to get into Beer League Hotline.
And remember at the top of the episode
when I said I was very excited for this episode?
Yeah.
This is why.
Folks, we did a countdown of our 10 favorite clips of the past year
through Christmas leading up to New Year's.
And the number one clip was as many expected.
The affair that no one saw coming.
Yeah.
Insane Beerleak Hotline story about an affair
in the team.
Well, we have been contacted
by the cuckold himself.
Absolute beauty of a man.
God, this what I live for, dude.
Absolute beauty of a man
sent us a message to break down
what actually happened
and what is currently going on.
So, let me read you guys this message.
So the guy who sent this in
is a teammate of ours
who moved away and didn't know the full story.
Came back and met me
and was given bits and pieces of the story.
The full story is a bit more fucked up.
long and because divorce proceedings are still going on,
I have to keep some stuff confidential until after.
I had been married only a few years.
One of my teammates and now best friends owns a business
and I started to help with it.
This is where my wife and I met the team.
Well, my ex-wife.
So hold on.
He was married.
His buddy owns a business.
Yeah.
He starts to help with it and that's where he meets the girl.
The team.
The team.
He is married at this point.
Yep.
So my ex-wife, myself, and the vet all become good friends and hung out often after that.
Leading up to the season, they had an extra subspot.
I have loved the game since I was young but never played and hadn't skated in over 10 years.
The vet made a hard push out of nowhere to get me to come out and play.
Needless to say, I accepted and ended up loving it.
Fast forward after having multiple nights out with the team and also just the vet, my ex, and myself,
I get told by my wife, the vet and her are going to a concert for an artist they both like.
I had to work, so no big deal, and I said I'd meet them at the bar after.
I showed up to the bar early and watched them walk down the street hand in hand walking from the concert venue to the bar.
Obviously, I'm crushed, and later that night, after we had all got to our respective homes,
I messaged the guy to ask what was going on and that I wanted to talk just us.
He tells me nothing is and then proceeds to tell my ex I messaged him.
Next morning I wake up to a pissed off wife right before my first game with the team.
I'm told to keep my mouth shut and we'll discuss it later.
I should probably mention to you guys.
Before you keep going, Dan, would you, how do you feel about when your wife goes,
I'm going to a concert with our buddy?
If, I think I'd be like, sure.
Yes, it depends to me honestly on how long I've been playing with this now.
But like, it sounds like this fucking guy, this vet.
They're all boys.
It's like hammering you.
Come join.
Like,
we're all going out.
He says after multiple nights out.
Yeah,
I'm absolutely fine.
I'm like,
yeah, go to the concert.
I'm not even sure I'm rattled
when I see them holding hands.
Oh.
I just assume they're like,
they're just friends.
You are.
You are a buffoon, sir.
A buffoon.
Like the second I see handholding,
I'm like, oh.
So you are a fraud and a rat
who has been just trying to get close to me
so you can get close to my life.
But then you go,
hey, bro, what happened?
And he goes nothing.
What did you think he was
going to say. He's going to say, he'd tell you the truth. He's your friend. Absolutely insane.
All right, getting back into it, I finally told one of my friends who could tell I was spiraling.
During this time, we are all still playing on the same team. She's showing up wearing his jersey.
And I am playing or coaching. And I'm playing or coaching depending on if I'm needed that night.
November hits and everyone finds out and knows what's going on after putting two and two together.
They want to kick him off and I'm the one that tells them to wait. Around this time last year,
me and her have already agreed to split as of end of November.
The captain messages him wanting him to explain his side.
He reads it and doesn't respond for multiple days while my ex is messaging me asking what he should say to stay on the team.
He ends up saying he thinks it's best if he leaves and then goes ghost.
Since that day, I have been on the team.
Traveled with these brothers and this family has been my absolute rock since,
helping me through one of the most difficult times of my life.
We won our league last year.
Come on.
I now have moved up to main roster
and the vet has not played
since leaving the team
nor has he tried to get on any team
since to our knowledge.
So the vet and the team
knew I was married for the most part
and I was basically recruited by the vet
seemingly so he could get closer to my wife.
Dude.
By the way, he mentions at one point
like this was kind of an aside.
A post script.
He goes,
when we got the message
it was six months after it all started.
Like when we first read it
the first initial one.
Yeah.
And he says, so last September to October, I told no one on the team while she then proceeded to stay multiple nights at this guy's place and go on trips with him.
Dude.
So here's-
Do you remember what we said in our beer league hall?
We said that the vet should stay because we were like, we can't, it'd be awkward to have this new guy being like, hey, remember when we kicked our buddy off the team and he's banging your wife?
Yes, dude.
And the person who sent it in, as our man said, what should we call him?
Cal
Crazy stupid love
Cal
said in the beginning
He was like
The guy who message you
Didn't know the full story
Because in that message
We were like
The vet didn't know
He said that
He said the vet didn't know
If the new guy was married
And that was his wife
Not only did he know dude
He's the biggest
He orchestrated it the whole time
And dude to hear
Remember we were joking like
Oh it'd be awkward to keep the new guy
To hear that not only did they keep the new guy
but that team has saved him.
Dude.
Just from like what a horrible stretch in his life.
And the team, the boys, the hockey locker room has been his saving grace.
Fires me up so much.
Oh, dude, it fires me up to no end.
And it just cannot be stated enough.
The vet and this man's ex-wife should burn in hell.
Dude.
You are two of the worst people known to man.
Just absolute bottom of the barrel scum.
pond scum human beings.
This vet recruits this guy
to swoop in on his wife
and this fucking lady
first of all,
cheats on your husband
in just so openly.
Then starts showing up to games
wearing this guy's jersey.
You are trash lady.
You are the biggest piece of trash I've ever heard
that both of you.
I'm glad that you're together
so you can go live off in trash land
and be awful human beings together.
Thank God.
that this guy got out of this marriage,
because that is one of the worst people on planet Earth.
But the two of them are just rats, dude.
I wanted the two dudes to be D partners.
Yeah, yeah.
That's what you wanted.
That's what I wanted, dude.
Bro, I die at the, they put two and two together
when she's wearing the other dude's fucking jersey.
And like, they're going on trips together.
They're spending the night together.
Thank you, gubo.
Weird that your wife's wearing homeboys jersey.
Yeah, I would hope you guys.
Put two and two together.
Does it even wash?
It's a beer league jersey, dude.
It's disgusting.
Truly, well, I mean, that was the craziest beer league hotline we've ever received.
I love this.
I love Cal, dude.
I love Cal did.
And now to find out the real story, thank God that vets out off the team and out of the league.
You do not deserve Beer League, you son of a bitch.
You know how in 300?
They say, I hope you live forever.
Yeah.
I hope he never plays beer league again.
Oh, never.
That's how I feel.
And that's a fate worse than death.
And you know what?
I'm not really into outing people, but Cal and then other.
because we've received multiple DMs from members of this team.
Tell us this guy's name.
Yeah, yeah, what's his name, Cal?
I want to blacklist this guy so the entire world knows that this man
will literally try to steal wives from beer league teammates.
Shame on you, sir.
May you never skate again.
Ever.
Scumbag.
Wow.
All right, Wags, let's do the new beer league hotline.
One guy on our team likes to dip during the game.
Kind of a beauty move, but my issue is he spits all over the bench and the ice.
It's disgusting.
One game I called him out and asked him to bring a.
spitter to the bench to respect the rink staff.
And he said he doesn't give a fuck about them.
It made my blood boil.
He didn't play this past season because he broke his collarbone mountain biking, idiot.
But I recently ran into him at the gym.
He tells me he's almost better and is coming back for the spring season.
If he does come back and continues to spit all over the bench, how do I handle this?
Damn, dude.
This guy's an asshole.
I don't know if you can be spitting on the ice, Dan.
We certainly can't spit on the ice.
He is.
He is spitting on the ice.
Well, I think it was the bench.
Oh, dude.
Spits all over the bench and the ice.
Yeah, I mean, I think the ice is less bad.
You're an idiot, dude.
Yeah, maybe you're right.
It gets snowed up.
It's, I mean, it's still gross, but it's not that.
Like, if you fall in it, that sucks.
But the bench is worse because now the whole bench stinks, like your dip spit.
Yeah.
The easy solution here is Zinn.
Like, get the guy Zinn.
Get the guy.
He doesn't like Zinn, Dan.
He's a long cut.
I know, but if you buy it, if that's the compromise is bullshit.
But, like, if that's the compromise,
you just give him a zint, and you're like, dude, can you just zend during the games?
Like, I don't want your spit on the bench.
It's, I think the mistake, or not mistake, because he should have respected the rink staff.
Yeah, that's bullshit.
But make it more personal.
Be like, hey, dude, it bums me out.
I don't like the smell.
Ooh, okay.
It's gross.
Like, it grosses me out.
Can you stop spitting on a bench?
And if he still doesn't say no, call his ass out, dude.
What if he goes, I don't give a fuck about you.
Or the team.
That's what I'm saying.
Call his out.
I'd be like this.
Fuck you.
Get off the team.
And he goes, no, I pay good money to be here.
Then you take a vote, dude.
Oh, shit.
Now we are voting on things?
If someone is doing something wrong, yes.
Okay.
Dan, I have a thought.
This behavior, and more importantly, his response is the response of a child.
Correct.
And when I need children of my friends to do tasks that I know they're not going to want to do,
I just kind of try to make it a game.
And I think maybe.
if you went like this to him,
let's say you got like a big power raid.
This is already ridiculous.
And you put a line on it.
It's empty, right?
And then you put a line on it that you're like,
dude,
do you think you could get more than this?
Yeah, can you get past the line in one beer league game
and like make it a tough line?
So like he doesn't quite get there for his game.
And he's like,
oh, dude, I'll do it.
I'll fucking double deck that shit.
And just make it like spitting into the spitter
becomes a game to him.
Could you take his childish brain
and make him have fun with that
and trick him into using the spitter.
I take back what I said.
I don't hate this.
I thought you were going to say like big buckets
where you're like, dude, see if you can spit into that
because then I'm like that just gets everywhere even worse.
Now we're talking.
This talking like a double dare.
You know what you could even do?
You could do a full season one.
Get a big bottle and be like, dude,
by the end of the season, let's see if you can fill this.
By the rape school spit into a milk cart in the entire year.
And we'd just pour listerine into it.
I was going to say the fear is that just starts to smell so bad.
And like, what if that spills?
Imagine it's spilling in your back.
Imagine it's spilling that's a nightmare.
So no, it's got to be a new bottle every game.
I love this idea.
And I'll bring it.
And I'll put the line in a different place each time.
He's like, one week he's like, oh, I'm going to get that one easy.
One week he's like, that line's ridiculous.
I'll never get that.
Gameify.
Game of fire.
I like it.
But again, dude, when you're dipping, when you're dipping, when you got to spit, you got to spit,
like if he's ripping around on the ice and he's just got to, I'll hold it out.
It's like it's like a broken stairs.
No, you won't. Hold it out. He comes by. I respect your efforts, but no, you won't. I will.
He's on the far side of the ice, idiot. He's going to come over, dude.
No, then we're compromising the team.
Better, while respecting the rings.
Now, Zin is the answer here. Or, you know what? Lucy is the answer here.
Yeah, Lucy. Lucy is the answer here. We got to Lucy him.
Hit us up, dude. If he's down for some Lucy's, we'll give you our promo code.
You can make some money, save some money and get some delicious Lucy's.
We will send him Lucy.
Lucy is the answer here.
But like tobacco on the bench, if you're spitting on the bench, is crazy, dude.
So like my guy.
Spit on the ice in front of me at a face off.
I'd be like, oh, dude.
Like my guy, metaphorically and literally clean it up, dude.
Like this is fucking nuts.
Oh my God, dude.
Unbelievable.
Okay, powers rankings.
A lot of stuff to consider.
A lot of good teams.
A lot of good teams on a bit of skids.
Yep.
But I think we can agree.
I have a slam dunk one.
Absolute lock one.
And it's probably the biggest slam dunk one I've had since the Jets were like 15 and 1.
Okay.
Because you and I have been kind of disagreeing on like the Jets, or excuse me, the Caps and the Wild.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Since the Jets were 15 and 1, this is my slam dunk best team in the league right now.
It's not even close.
Tell me.
Vegas Golden.
Absolutely.
Fucking Wagon.
A wagon, a fucking crab wagon.
Unbelievable how good this team is.
And full stop.
Full stop.
Enough said.
Go into the cup.
Going to be a fun cup.
Back to Vegas.
We've been talking about the Capys, but five, four, and one in their last 10.
I kind of like the Jets more than them.
And you know who I like even more than that?
Who?
It's the Kings.
I also like the Leafs.
Dude, the Leafs are so interesting.
The Leafs are nasty.
What about the Oilers?
Oilers stink, dude.
Dude, no, you're high, bro.
They're beaten up on that team.
No, they're sick.
The stars and the Kings and the Leafs are all playing really well.
So are the abs, actually.
Oh.
But abs can't be two.
No, but avs have to be in my top five.
I know.
Avs have to be my top five.
Oil have to be in my top five.
Leafs have to be my top five.
And then I think the Kings and the Jets probably.
Like I think I'm not...
No, but you didn't...
You forgot Vegas.
You're out of spots.
Well, no, I know.
I'm saying we have to pick four of those five.
Oh, yeah.
And the caps.
No, I don't know if I have to pick the caps.
Wow.
Five four and one, dude.
They've lost some bad games.
I know, I know.
but Ovi's back.
They did so well without Ovi.
I know.
Okay, so two.
Yeah, maybe it is.
It's interesting.
Like the stars have the second,
tied with the Oilers with the second best,
and the abs, actually.
I think it might be the Aves.
At two.
Maybe.
No.
Are you kidding me?
Look at Nate.
Like, they're buzzing.
Yeah, Jesus Christ.
But they've got,
they've got goalie issues again all of a sudden.
The Jets are good.
So Jets, Wild, Kings,
Leafs,
Oilers, Avs?
Yeah.
You're deading the stars?
No, no, no. Stars are absolutely.
So those seven, we need to kill three of those seven.
I'm actually going to take the wild out.
Yeah.
How about that?
I'm okay.
I didn't even have them in.
Five and five?
Like, they've been skitting a bit.
Okay, so grills hurt.
Give me the abs.
Now we're talking.
Vegas Avs.
Vegas Avs.
With the goalie problems, though.
I like Leafs here, dude.
Actually, give me Leafs too.
Okay.
Leaves too.
Vos.
Avs.
Avs. Oilers.
Oilers.
And now it's Jets or Kings.
Or Stars.
Or Stars.
Stars have kind of been pissing me off.
I want to go Kings here.
Jets and Wild Out.
And Stars.
The Jets out is tough.
The second best, third best winning percentage in the league.
It's absolutely insane.
The Jets.
And this is our power.
These are the five best teams in the league for us right now.
Right now.
Vegas, Toronto, Colorado.
Oil.
Edmonton.
Kings.
Give me Kings.
I love it.
Wow, dude.
Brutal for the Jets.
What's not brutal for the Jets is in our starting six.
Come on.
We're starting off left weighing Kyle Connor.
Hasn't been on the league all year.
Unbelievable.
Yep.
First time on it.
First time on it.
He has five points in his last five, but 52 points on the year.
Only seven behind dry saddle.
22 goals, one behind Moose, him and Shifley absolutely lighting it up.
Kyle Connor, you have been banging this drum for four years.
50 goal score. He is a 50 goal score. He is an elite, elite player, and is a huge reason why they are one of the best teams in the league.
Unfortunately, not on our cars, right.
I pray that they make a run this year just because it would be really fun.
I say that now, but obviously they're going to get matched up in the first round with someone I love, and I'd be so pissed.
But the, I need...
he just feels like a guy,
because they've just stalled in the playoffs.
Yeah.
For a lot of reasons.
But he just feels like a guy
that could literally drag an underperforming Jets team
because they're just like having playoff hiccups
through the first round because he is like,
I will have 10, I'll have 14 points in this first round seven game series.
And I'm like, dude, you are a psychopath.
Psychicap.
Center.
First one of these in 2025,
we're just going to reset and we had to go Nate.
He's starting to put him some distance between.
himself and everyone else in the Art Ross race.
65 points, only 14 goals, 51 assists, Dan,
on January 6th.
That's actually fucking bat shit insane.
Dude, it's like I don't even understand what's going on.
He's going to get 100, right, this year?
Like, he's got 100 assists this year.
Yeah, he's certainly, he's cooking to do so.
So if he starts scoring, like he had, what, 50 tucks last year?
Yeah.
Right?
If he has 50 and 100.
50. Well, no, he won't do that, but I'm like, if he starts getting on that 50 goals scoring. Are you sure? Are you sure? Yeah, fuck. But if he starts getting on that 50 goal score or pace. Yeah. Right? So, like, that would be, call it 25 more. So if he finishes with like 40 goals this year and a fucking 100 assists, I'm like, Jesus, fuck, dude. What did Connor do like two years ago? Or you mean last year when he had 100 assists? No, no. Or when he popped off for goals.
His points. Like, how many points? I think it was like 138 or something? 153.
Jesus Christ.
64 and 89.
So like Nate, that is so absurd.
Like, dude, that is so absurd.
64 and 89.
And that's not even his 100 assist season.
Yeah, the next year he goes 32 and 100.
Unbelievable.
But like Nate could go, Nate could go 40 and 100.
Yeah.
And what did Cooch do last year?
Connor 32 and 100.
Cooch.
I think Cooch did what in 100?
30 something.
He had 30.
Or maybe he didn't have 30.
I think he did, though.
Oh, dude.
44 and 100.
And he didn't win MVP.
It didn't win.
Man, lightning fans are so right about that.
Like, Kooch is just such a motherfucker.
So the league is like, fuck you, dude, you're not MVP.
44 and 100 to Nate's.
44 goals.
Nate went 51 and 89, which is still gas.
He only had four points less.
Yeah, I know.
But 44 and 100 is.
Yeah, it's not that absurd, but like 44 and 100 is like.
But yeah, like if Nate could go.
40 and 100 this year.
Yeah, he could.
That'd be sick.
He could.
Coming in at right wing,
another first time,
we got a first timer here.
Mitch Marner, dude,
unbelievable run,
10 points in his last five games,
including a 5-point night
and a 6-4 win over Boston.
Leafs are in first in the Atlantic
showing no signs of slowing down.
It's fucking crazy, dude.
And we talk about it all the time.
Imagine this guy walking for free.
Dude.
Imagine if they get into the playoffs
and they lose in the first round or the second round,
and he just walks for free.
Because guess what?
Guess what you ain't doing?
Trade in Mitch Marner.
Yeah.
And can you afford with the Nealander contract
and the Matthews contract
to pay Mitch Marner over 13 million a year?
Because that's what he's asking for and what he deserves.
Correct.
Certainly what he deserves.
Dude, him being having the fourth most points
and most having the third most points in the league
and both of them potentially just being on different teams for free is.
Horrifying.
Horrifying.
Because dude, this is what's brutal about like,
obviously you could wait to get to UFA,
but like I would not risk it.
Like legitimately, first in the Atlantic.
If I'm like this, hey, dude, what's going on here?
If he's like, I'm not budging, I'd be like this, well, I'm trading you.
Because, like, this is insane.
He will never waive that, no move, though.
Correct.
Moose, however, doesn't have that.
All right, I'm going to go again because I want to talk about this guy.
Lefty, Zach Wrenski.
Unbelievable, dude.
45 points on the year.
He's in second, 12 goals on the year.
But let me tell you this, dude.
A couple days ago, since December 23rd, Warnskiy was first in the NHL and assist,
points and shots. Norris Trophy season, dude. He's on pace for 92 points and a plus 16 this year on
the Columbus Blue Jackets. Dude, and this was a tough one, Dan, because there's a stat going around that's
like from, I want to say it's like from November 25th to Christmas. Quinter had more points than
anyone in the league. It also plays lefty famously. So those two, and not like the Norris split sides,
either. But like those two are just having a slug fest of a season from that position.
Dude, CP, let me tell you this. Offensive rating leaders this season in the NHL.
Offensive rating. Number one, Nathan McKinnon. Number two, Nikita Kucheroff.
Number three, Zach Werenski. Behind him is Leon Dry Settle and Connor McDavid.
If they make the playoffs, which they won't. Which they won't.
If they do, we are seeing the first defenseman to win the heart since Chris Brown.
No. Are you crazy? No. If Zach Werensky, I'm telling you right now, drags.
If Zach Werenski, what is he at, 45 points? He has 12 and, he has 12 goals. Is that right?
Uh, yeah.
Yeah, 12 and 33. Dude, so, or, um, yeah, 12 and 33. If he- First time in 25 years, dude.
If he finishes the year with- No, because listen to me. Listen to me. He's on pace for 92 points.
Yeah.
if they make the playoffs
say it with me
which they won't
if they make the playoffs it means
he is still doing these things
100%
so it doesn't matter what his points are
he will win the heart no he won't dude
Chris
yes he will
dude actually the only reason he might
is because Nate is going to go
40 and 100
but they don't get to hang their hat on the 100
this thing because they fucked two dudes
who did it last year and Nate
won it last year and Nate won it
year so they won't go back to back you can win it again even though you had a worse season than
cooch did last year and i can give it to him yeah so actually and and it all depends on how hurt
krill is it it will be the most definition of the word most valuable player if they make the
play trill yeah because krill's falling out dude he's hurt well no but it's not even that krill
doesn't have enough assist to get in the point conversation ever like krill i think could come
back and score 60 still but he's going to go like 60 and 40 for a hundred points still
which is insane. Absolutely. And Leon, who I picked pre-season, thank you very much.
So did I.
20 and 39 for 50. Yeah, like he doesn't quite have the assist, to be honest with you.
That's not true because he has 60 points.
Zach Wuranski for Hart, dude. Keep it up. Keep it up, Zach. Keep it up. That would be gas.
Yeah. Right. Right. D.
We're going to get Zach on the pod here soon, by the way.
Right, D. We're going to also keep it simple. Just going back to Kail McCar.
49 points in the year leads all defensemen. 12 goals on, sorry, 13 goals on the year.
leads all defenseman. He's a plus 13. He's playing 25 and a half minutes a game. And don't
forget he was like a minus fucking 100 in the first month of the season. The abs are hot. He's back.
He's a special talent. Special. I don't know what I was to say. Another returner in goal,
Hella buck, unbelievable. 2.09 goals against 927, say a percentage. Him and Stollars are at the
top of the league right now. He has five fucking shutouts. He had five shutouts. He had five
shutouts. It's just ridiculous. He has five already. Unbelievable. All right. Let's close out this
episode with a classic empty netters game.
CP, you are on the sticks.
What do we got?
We got two real, two fake.
Shee.
For the first timers of this game, I wish I had to talk with me on this.
I know.
For the first timers of this game, I give Dan four hockey players, and two of them are
made up, and two of them are real.
And he and you playing along are going to have to try to guess which ones are which.
Give me.
Are you ready?
Give me.
Brad Heuer.
A Canadian Center drafted 191st overall in the 1998 NHL draft by the Buffalo Sabres.
A prolific score for the Calgary Hitman, he earned WHL Player of the Year in 1999.
He played so long in the W that the Sabres released his rights and he signed with the Blue Jackets.
He would get five games for Columbus scoring one goal and one assist before signing with the Canucks.
In Vancouver, he played three games recording one assist and then finished his career abroad.
Okay.
God, I love this game.
Number two, Shane McCallum.
Canadian right wing drafted 172nd in the 1997 NHL draft by the Montreal Canadiens.
Shane played college at U-Main but never saw the ice for the habs.
He was signed by the Islanders but never played for them either.
In 2006, he signed with the Bruins and played one game.
Then he signed with the abs where he saw a significant playing time for the next three seasons,
even recording 11 goals in his second year.
He eventually did one year with the Preds before hanging them up.
Now he coaches college hockey.
Number three, get to ask where?
No.
Okay.
But I know where.
Okay, okay, okay.
Number three, DJ King, a Canadian left wing drafted in the 190th overall in the 2002
NHL draft by the St. Louis Blues.
Was an enforcer in the Western Hockey League before making his debut with the big club in 2006.
In the 2007 season, he played 61 games, had three goals, three assists, and 100 pimps.
Was later traded to the caps and was out of the league by 2012.
Give me this guy's name again?
DJ King.
He now owns a resort in Saskatchewan with his family.
Wow, special.
Number four, Jordan Willis, a Canadian goalie, drafted 243 overall in 1993 by the Dallas Stars.
After two years with the London Knights, he made his NHL debut in 1995.
He got in one game against the Edmonton Oilers in relief duty.
He played 18 minutes, gave up one goal on 14 shots, and received the loss.
He never played again, finishing with a career 929 save percentage, which is better than Hasick all time.
Damn, dude.
Tell me what you want to hear again.
Dude, the never played agains always kill me.
Fuck.
Give me DJ King one more time.
DJ King, a Canadian left wing drafted 190th overall in 2002 by the Blues.
Was an enforcer in the Western Hockey League before making his debut for the big club in 06.
In 07, he played 61 games, had three goals, three assists, and 100 PIMS, was later traded to the caps and was out of the league by 2012.
He now owns a resort in Saskatchewan with his family.
Okay.
Great.
I'm going to say
Brad Hewer
is real
because I don't know
that that name
makes sense to be fake.
Like I can't think of you making up
Brad Hewer.
But I don't know.
Sabers, Center for the Sabres.
Prolific score for the Calgary Hitman.
Yeah.
Prolific, dude.
Prolific.
WHHL player of the year.
That fired me out.
I think Brad Hewer is real.
I think I'm going to go sandwich here.
I think Shane McCallum is fake.
A right winger for the Habs.
The Habs aren't drafting a Shane McCallum.
And then DJ King is fake.
I said I'm going to go sandwich.
DJ King is fake.
And then Jordan Willis, give me a real, dude.
Those stats were too interesting to be fake.
Like Jordan Willis is real.
And you went back to 1993 draft
for this fucking guy.
Dude, he got in one game against the Edmund Noilers in relief,
played 18 minutes, give up one goal on 14 shots, received the loss, never played again.
Like, why can't he get another bid, dude?
Like, he put up good numbers.
Okay, so you're going Brad Hewer, real?
Yeah.
Shane McCallum, fake, DJ King, fake, Jordan Willis, real.
I think so.
Final answer.
Final answer.
Okay.
Brad Hewer.
Canadian Center drafted 191st overall in the 1988 draft.
by the Buffalo Sabres, prolific score for the Calgary Hitman, WHL player the year in 1999.
Fake.
Fuck!
Shit!
Shane McCallum, you main legend.
Now coaches college hockey, drafted by the Habs in the 97 draft.
Fake.
Dude, when you wouldn't tell me where he coached, I was like...
Coaches at Bowden.
Does he actually?
Jane McCallum is actually the coach at Bowden right now?
No, but there is a guy...
The coach at Bowden.
I pulled a lot of his stats to create Shane McAllum.
Like the coach at Bowden played it, you made.
Oh my God.
This is like an inception level guy.
So all the facts about this human are real.
A lot of Shane McCallum is real based off of the Bowden coach.
Ben Geet, who coaches at Bowden.
Oh my God.
DJ King.
Canadian left wing, 190th overall, WHL enforcer.
100 pims in 2007.
You said fake, DJ King, real.
DJ King's a real guy.
Real guy.
2002 draft picked by the Blues.
Blues lands, where are you at, dude?
I want to hear about DJ King.
61 games in 07, three goals, three assists, 100 pimms.
She it, dude.
Now owns a resort in Saskatchewan.
Yeah, good for him.
Jordan Willis, Canadian goalie,
gave up one goal on 14 shots, never played again.
You said real, Jordan Willis, real.
Real, thank God.
Great job, Dan.
929, save percentage for Jordan Willis.
Unbelievable, dude.
Asic, highest all time, 9-22.
Tukarask, second highest all time.
921.
Pretty special.
Jordan Willis.
Jordan Wilson.
Legend.
Didn't have enough games to qualify, but 929.
Absolute legend.
Fucking holy moly.
Great job.
That is too real, too fake.
That is it for us today at the Anthony Netters podcast.
Quick little note, we are headed to Vale.
Come on.
Headed to Vail this weekend to take on the Vail Yeti in a two-game round.
Robin, we're going to be doing some skiing, some hockey.
Make sure to tune into our Instagram.
We're going to be posting so much.
from that tournament with the boys. We've got the empty-iners teams with the sweaters.
We've got some great friends, including Johnny Laz, joining and playing on the team.
It's going to be an unreal time. Make sure you tune into all of that content.
And a huge shout out to the Vale Yeti for hosting us. Cannot wait.
Please don't hurt us. Please don't check us too hard.
My body can't take it.
I actually messaged the guy that runs the Vale team and told him that strict
Anteaner's policy is no back-checking. And he said they will agree for the weekend.
So that is much appreciated.
Much appreciated.
So make sure you tune into the IG.
make sure you subscribe to the YouTube so you make sure not to miss any of that type of content.
Have a blast watching all of that until we see you next time.
Skate hard.
