Empty Netters Podcast - What NHL Players Are About To Have A Career Year? | 124
Episode Date: August 7, 2024Nate Thompson is back and the gang picks two players each who are going to have the best year of their career. Can Cole Caufield really finish with 90 points? Can Quinton Byfield score 40 goals? Plus,... which teams might shock the league by missing the playoffs after being in it last year. NEW EPISODES EVERY MONDAY & WEDNESDAY! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuf52MHW1O7guPMzsMvv2kA FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/empty.netters/?hl=en FOLLOW US ON TIKTOK: https://www.tiktok.com/@empty.netters (0:00) – Intro (8:52) – Hockey Talk Sunday (15:24) – Cole Caufield (21:16) – Shane Pinto (24:03) - Luke Evangelista (34:55) – Connor Garland (38:51) - Quinton Byfield (42:57) – Olen Zellweger (47:46) – Teams that COULD Miss Playoffs Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I do believe, not believe, but I do think it's possible that the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Come on, dude.
They could miss the playoffs.
Ice is ready, babes, and we are back with another episode of the Empty Nerders Podcast.
I'm your boy, D.P. I'm here with my man, Nate, Tom or Thompson.
Do you like to go by Nathan?
I notice that on your IG. It freaks me out.
Just family members call me Nathan for the most part.
Family does?
Yeah.
Really?
Nathan. So just Nate.
Nate's good. I mean, I'm never going to call you Nate.
No, I know. I didn't think so.
Sometimes it is, like, I'm a big nickname guy.
And we've got a really good friend from home named James.
And when I first met him, I was like, I'm not going to call you James.
And then he was like, do not ever call me Jim or Jimmy.
And I was like, oh, my God.
So Jimmy's out.
Yeah, so, but.
Well, good to see you, guys.
Yes. And then CP, as always.
As always.
How we doing?
We're great, man.
It's going to be a great week.
It's going to be a great week.
We got a great episode for you guys today.
the three of us are buzzing. We've been buzzing for like a week. It's a lot of buzzing right now.
A lot of buzzing. A lot of buzzing. We had a great time at six men this weekend, went down to
Manhattan Beach, got involved in the beach volleyball tournament. It was Red's birthday. Had a good hang
with the fellow's Red. It was your birthday. Happy belated again. Great day. Great day with the boys.
You boozed for the first time in like four months. Yeah. And I felt great. You had a great day.
You did have a good day. You had a really good day. My co-op day.
Yeah. You were really, really.
the bod's looking great
blasted it on the gram
how were the DMs
just men
yeah
you know what
I prefer
I prefer a tire pump
from the boys
that's fine
yeah fine
I'll take it any day
I
do you think you could have done day two
no
me neither
absolutely not
the amount of text that we got
that was like
yo you guys at the beach
and I was like
are you fucking crazy
you think I'm doing that
two days in a row
it was no
No, wait, it was so hot, too.
It was so hot, dude.
And dude, it started overcast.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Oh, you know, this is nice.
Like.
But even then it was still a little bit warm, no, I was like, okay.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
That burned off.
I was like, oh, no.
We got a real issue here.
I was, I was underneath that tent and I was like dripping sweat.
And I'm like, what's going on right now?
Oh, yeah.
It's, it's the tough part about the overcast early is we're out there.
It's not that sunny.
You're feeling fine.
Yeah.
Everyone knows.
that's when you burn the worst.
Mm-hmm.
And then what also happens is you get maybe a couple drinks in you.
You're kind of like vibe in and then the sun comes out and you have now forgot about sunscreen.
And like that's when you get punished, dude.
But like the, I think I took three separate naps on Saturday.
I don't know about yes.
Dude, it was, it was, we played golf, dude.
We played golf Saturday after.
That's when I nap in Valley.
It was like a hundred.
You guys played golf the next day.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It was.
That was a mistake.
It was like a two.
In the valley too.
Yeah.
That was a mistake.
There's 110 degrees.
Oh, no wonder you guys are done.
Oh, dude.
It's a debacle.
I mean, yeah.
Just like, I've been in a constant state of dehydration for three straight days.
I also want the listeners to know this.
So every time we go to six men, we show up with boys get pumped every game.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, we do not win.
And then have a day.
Yeah.
And last year.
The other team, our first game last year was at like 8.30 a.m.
And the other team slept through it.
And we won by forfeit.
And I was like, oh, wow, first win in squad history.
This year, I was like, I hope we get a hot start too.
And were you there for this, what I'm about to say, that first game?
I wasn't out there for the first game yet.
We're playing the first game.
And you weren't there either.
I wasn't now.
And DP and I are sitting on the side.
We're not in in this moment.
and we're on the other end of the volleyball court from our team
because we just thought maybe we could get in the heads of the opponents a little bit,
a little chirping going on.
And I just see a full can of Coors Light get fired across the volleyball court
at our boys on the other side from a team waiting to play next.
And I'm like, whoa, dude, the hell was that?
And then it's mid-game, dude, like a point is happening.
And then a dude on our team comes running over, kind of like one shove, one shove.
our guy grabs the sunglasses off the beer thrower snaps the sunglasses in half and then
here comes the first haymaker you haven't heard this yet full on donnie brook oh yeah right across the
jaw bang sucker and now we are in a brawl there is a bra is 915 in the morning and there is a
brawl at the six fans someone on our team came through grabbed a head and like flying like flying knee
it went back like five yards literally it's like flying through the air full on brawl ask me if me
juice, Dewey, Trev, or Dan flinched from our beach chairs.
Absolutely not.
Dude, we were just sitting there like, there's no way I'm getting involved.
Smart, though.
Yeah, yeah.
Really smart.
Literally sitting there and juice is like this.
I think that's a fight happening.
Yeah, it is.
I'm too old for this.
Smart though.
It was truly the scene from entourage where the fight breaks out in Vegas.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Just like, who picked up his beer.
Of the five of us were like, like, I'm out.
I'm out.
That's a Donny brook.
And we were like, no, not getting.
getting involved at all.
So yeah, so basically whoever, whatever team,
they woke up and they chose violence.
Yes, yes, they did.
And you guys did not.
And what I couldn't believe, yeah, our boys did.
Your boy, actually your other team members did.
The elders, the elders sat back and watched.
But I couldn't believe is after like,
because they, I thought we might get in like trouble trouble.
You know, like I thought because like the refs
and like people that work there came running in
and I was like, oh, we're like, DQed.
Yeah, they're gonna be like go home dude.
There's no fighting here.
But nine 15 to.
Yeah, 9.
me in the morning. Pushed everyone away.
Other team goes their way, whatever.
And then after our game,
they were kind of coming up, like both
sides are being a little loud again, but
now we were all standing with
Dewey and the boys. And when the other
team, 99% of the other team
saw Trev, Juice, and Dewey,
they were like, oh, sorry, sorry,
sorry, we're all good. You know, like, Doey's like
in the mix being like, you guys cool. Like, Dewey's like,
I know one of their moms, dude, she's pretty hot.
But, dude,
but dude one kid on their team with the bleached hair like kept coming like even to the
boy was like dude I'll fucking take any of you and I was like dude not the time or the place or the
people for this at all that kid the bleach chair kid did drop our names yeah he like was talking
shit to one of our guys and he was like think because you're just with the fucking empty netters guys
you can talk shit and I was like has nothing to do nice gas up but also has nothing to do with
us and what are you talking about and you're not small
Yeah, I was like, what happened?
I saw that guy at our tent later in the day.
Yeah, he was drinking beers at our tent later, dude.
Everyone was buddies afterwards.
Oh, he came back.
Yeah, yeah, like an hour and a half later.
He was like, dude, sorry about the fight, bro.
Just having some drinks with the fellas after.
I get a duneer.
After calling everyone out.
Yeah, yeah.
Just absolutely insane day.
But listen, another 0 and 8 gave it a bit.
Hey, you were there.
You were there.
We showed up to.
We were there.
Sometimes the best ability is availability, and we were all available.
Yes.
And that's all that matters.
And we had a hell of a day.
And we took a tough draw.
A couple of those teams.
I mean, the one team I was watching, they were legit.
Oh, they were unbelievable.
But huge shout out to the Electrodome's.
It's our team.
Great time every year.
Huge shout out to Fabletics men.
Oh, yeah.
Making sure that the boys were all dressed up to the nines looking good.
But it was just a great time.
We're going to rent a house on the beach next year.
I think we should really do it.
Yeah, and listen.
We should.
Really, really do it.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
We would cover that.
And I have that.
reported I think so who said that do we he said he would get a house on the beach for next
season or next year so I said and we'll will be the ones just on the deck chirping
everyone I mean I can already picture my spot yeah where I'm gonna be sitting close my eyes
I can see I can see it we'll need to make sure we hire a nice DJ or get one of our
DJ friends to come through yeah yeah tune blasts like hey you stayed pretty late that night
I did what you get into uh you know just have some fun with with with Dewey and
and a few of the fellas and just had some fun.
Yeah, we had a good time.
Yeah.
Just the boys, boys being dudes.
Yep.
Yeah.
It was great.
It's a good time every time.
Did you swim?
Did I swim?
Yeah, that night.
No, I didn't know.
I didn't know swimming.
Maybe in the past.
Yeah.
Maybe in the past.
Yeah, yeah.
I would have been.
Bro.
Old six men's maybe, but not this one.
I didn't jump in.
Jumping in the ocean at night on Manhattan Beach is the worst idea I've ever heard.
By shark.
Yeah.
That's, that's shark territory.
We've got some things.
to get into before we do that though there was a couple of questions that popped up on the hockey
duck yesterday that got some fiery responses from people and i want your takes on them
number one recently retired joe pevelsky captain america hall of fame easily easily i say yes not not okay
maybe not easily but i like that but i do think i do think that he is a hall of famer me too
and my my heart says easily i'm just trying to think
Maybe that's where it came from, because I just think the American guy.
Joe Felsky, over 1,300 games, over 1,000 points.
Olympic silver medal, which he, like, was instrumental for Team USA going into easily the best gold medal game in recent memory.
Yeah.
God, that was so epic.
Yeah, 1,000 points.
Three or four years, top 10 in Selke voting.
He's got no personal hardware, no cup.
a couple all stars
like one
five all stars
yeah five all stars
and I also think there's something to be said
about a guy who's playing
into his 40s
and yeah
dominating like that
and still producing
at his age
I think he's missed playoffs
like four times
in his career
yeah yeah
18 year career
got a lot of those
in my opinion
ignorant DMs of people being like
it's the Hall of Fame
not the Hall of Very Good
and I think Joe Pavilsoy's
better than very good guys
Like, let's wake up here.
And, like, the type of player he was, he really kind of innovated that, like, the way he played.
Yep.
You know, he's very similar to, like, a, I think of like a Thomas Holmstrom or, you know, guys like that that were in front of the net that could, you know, produce.
Like, I think Joe Pavelski, top of the circles in.
Oh, dude.
Joey Tiptry.
Unbelievable.
Yes.
He, I was about to say it.
Unbelievable.
I think, I'm a big advocate of this across all sports.
Yeah.
Where it's like, you an NFL guy, you watch.
Love the NFL.
So someone like Devin Hester, there was all that buzz of like,
he's a Hall of Famer?
And I'm like, he's the best kick returner to ever live.
Ever.
And I know that's just one tiny thing.
But still, like, is kick returning a part of football?
Yes, who's the best kick returner?
To ever live.
He's a hall ofamer.
Get in there.
And this is slightly different and diminishing what Pavelsky is capable of everywhere.
But literally, I think he is the best tipper of the puck to ever live.
So I'm like, come on, dude.
you're right because can you think of another player from like the 90s 2000s can you think of another
guy that's better than him no i can't i completely agree i really can't so the the thing i always
appreciate is when people go let's talk about like joe played what 20 years yeah 18 year
people go in the last 20 years can you talk about hockey and not mention his name and i think the
answer is no i think joe pevelsky's name comes up yeah so therefore i think he's in i don't think
it's a lock, so I'll hear the like, it's a question, yes.
But like, Joe Povilski's in.
He's in.
As far as I'm concerned.
Yeah, easy.
And then the next one that came up, we touched on this a little early before we started
recording, where are you guys at on the Caps?
Oh, yeah.
Because a lot of DMs of people being like, Caps got a shot at a cup next year,
and I think that's fucking bonkers, that, that Capitals fans think that they have
a shot at a cup next year.
Who plays goalie for them?
Who's their goal of right now?
By default, Charlie Lindgren.
Who, like, stole the top.
That was fun. That was fun.
And he's great, but like...
But, yeah, come on.
Cup contender?
No.
Right.
No way.
And they're a playoff team?
Yeah.
I think they're a playoff team.
Possibly a playoff team.
I don't think it's a lock.
Possibly a playoff team, but cup contenders, I mean, we can name five teams that are
legit cup contenders, and I don't think one.
Washington's on the same level as that.
Completely agree. I think it's just absolutely
bonkers that people are being like, they're making
run. They're making one last run for over.
You could count five teams above them
in the metro to make the playoffs.
Right. Yep. Including the wild card. The fact
that we're like, they might not make the playoffs. I'm like
Yeah, there's no way. I feel like.
I love the belief.
Me too. Yeah. And I like, guys,
stay passionate. I mean, I love
that, but I just, I don't see it. No. I think
most of the hockey world outside of D.C.
was bummed.
They got that last spot
against the Rangers
for the playoffs
because it was
the other options
were like a surging Detroit
or even
get pit out of it
get the fuck out
they were never even sniffed
it.
They were never in a
playoff spot.
No, they were
with two games left.
No.
And as Sidney Crosby
against the Rangers
who remember we talked about
last week
that he hadn't got hurt
that series
might have been different
and they were up 3-1
in the series.
I think everybody wanted
either Crosby versus Rangers
or Detroit versus Rangers
instead of that captain
team mostly because that captain was pretty banged up.
But I'm like, they're kind of just like still banged up.
Like a lot of those boys, you know, and I'm like, I mean, I don't, I don't think that's true
with the exception of, oh, I mean, Ovi's just old.
Yeah, that's what I'm going to mean.
It's Ovi and Carlson are old.
O'Sha, like, O'Sha's definitely their core of guys is older now.
Yeah, and like Baxter's going.
Yeah.
Because that stuff's gone.
Unfortunately.
I'm like, dude.
So they added P.L.
And they added guys I like, like, I know personally and like, same with you.
but I'm just yeah absolutely but I just but there's no like I said we said possibly playoffs
but there's no way they're a cup contender no there's no way not not with like you said
everyone in this in that division let alone the Eastern Conference yeah right I mean
Philly do yeah Billy's going to the cup so I mean how I don't know the cap's going to
the cup the flyer's going to the cup so it's fucking crazy that's fucking crazy all right well we're
officially in August yeah we're getting closer to the season so
today we are going to each give first two players that we think are going to have a big jump
season.
Yep.
A big jump.
Because listen, we made fun to Laffey for never having a big jump and then he had one.
So I think we actually have the big jump magic touch.
Whoever we declare big jump.
So it's a little bit of a, if you do it, then they...
This is actually a big responsibility.
Exactly.
Okay.
Like who used to take this very seriously, because whoever you say is about to have a career year and
they're meant, thank you.
And what did Lafey have 65 goals, 112?
Yeah, yeah, the biggest, greatest season of all time.
Rangers fans, was that right?
One in a heart, one of heart.
All right, C.P. I want you to start your first player, big jump.
Okay.
So, and this, we talked about this before.
I thought this was interesting because there are some guys that I really do believe
are going to have a monster season, but have already had a really great one.
Clayton Keller came to mind, right?
I don't need to say, like, he had 86 points once.
He's going to have 95 this year, like, whatever.
So I'm aiming for a couple different guys.
And this first guy I got for you guys,
he had a good season last year
but I just, I'm so high on him
and I'm telling you why I think it's going to be really special.
Big Jump Award, CP number one,
is going to Cole Coffield.
Goal Coffield. Love it.
Goal Coffield. Okay.
As a 21-year-old,
67 games, 23 goals, 20-siss, 43 points.
As a 22-year-old, 46 games, 26 goals, 10 assists, 36 points.
As a 23-year-old, 82 games, 28-6 points.
goals, 37 assists, 65 points. Great year.
Love that season. Great year.
I think the HABs are going to be much better.
I think we're all, was that last year?
Yeah.
What surprised about it?
Nothing. That's like, I feel like people aren't talking about that year enough.
No, because it's Montreal.
Yeah.
But he still produces.
Oh, yeah. Oh, yeah.
He always produces.
Always.
It's just, it's just not going to get a whole lot of talk about it when they're,
when they're not doing well.
Habs are going to be better.
Way better.
Way better.
Yeah.
Way better.
His power play goals.
over the three years, five, seven, nine.
So, you know, we're at least 11, if I know anything about math.
Okay. Also, first two years...
Contracts locked up, too, by the way. Disractions out of the way.
Shoulder feeling better. Shoulder already loose.
First two years, more goals than assists. Last year, 2837, so the game's getting more
complete. We're getting more points up. That's so huge for me. Here's my...
Give me a balanced guy. Here's my favorite part, dude. Two years ago, or I guess three years ago,
his shooting percentage.
You know I'm a big shooting percentage guy.
He's a shooting percentage guy.
I'm a big plus-minus guy.
So you've got to figure out which obscure stat you're clinging to him.
You guys are both fucked.
Shooting percentage plus minus.
I wasn't getting signed for those two things.
I'm not here playing money ball, dude.
He's Billy.
I'm bean.
Dude.
Oh, it's actually this first.
Shots three years ago, 188, two years ago, 158.
Last year, 314.
Oh, that's a big jump.
So now we're fucking, now we...
Actually, that's a big jump.
That's a notable stat.
Yep.
That's a Marty St. Louis thing.
Yep.
Two, three years ago, shooting percentage.
Actually, I'll go four because he played a few games as a 20-year-old.
Shooting percentage, 13.3, 12.2, 16.5.
Last year, 8.9.
That's not gold.
That's not gold, dude.
I think he comes back up.
Dude, you know the guy in the Olympics with his hand in his pocket?
Yeah, the Turkish guy.
Yeah, that's gold, dude.
See you from Turkey?
Yeah, he's from Turkey.
Dude, gold, he doesn't need all the metrics and everything.
He just one hand in his pocket, one eye closed, bang.
That 8.9, he stays over 300 shots, and that 8.9 comes up to his mean.
He's going easily 35.
Well, you think that's, I mean...
That is, that's totally fair.
You sniped this with Matthew Kachuk at the end of last season.
But do you think that those shots are maybe...
Guys, I do think Marty St. Louis went out like this and went...
Hammer fuck that thing.
You ever seen that movie, you ever seen that movie Ford versus Ferrari?
Yeah, yeah.
It's like that scene when Matt Damon walks out on the track with the sign that says, go like hell.
Yeah.
I think Marty St. Louis was like, Cole, shoot the puck every fucking.
Oh, for sure.
That's not how.
Power play on the whiteboard.
Yeah.
Go like hell.
Just slide it over.
Slide it over to him.
Slide it over to him.
I wonder if those shots are going to come down, maybe more, live more like a 280 range.
No way, dude.
No way.
Because I agree 8% is not Cole.
That's not goal, dude.
But I don't think he's going to be at 16.
Goals, 28, 28 to 16.
No, no, but I think he's 12, 13.
12.
I haven't lived at 1213.
I think he's getting 35 goals.
35 goals.
Give me 40-something assists.
I think, so he hasn't in his career, let me check this.
He's never been over a point per game next year.
Goal with health.
Point per game.
Point per game guy.
I think you're literally talking like an 82 game.
Call it 80 game and miss a 78 game, 88, 84, 85 point season.
And you go, fuck yes.
That is exactly who we wanted you to be.
And if he does that, I'm thinking also Montreal is probably in the mix for a playoff spot.
Caps out.
Maybe?
Caps out.
Habs in.
Caps dead.
Think about it.
Because if he's having a big...
We're going to go off tangent.
But if he's having a big year, then Suzuki's having a big year.
And then probably Slavkovsky's having a big year.
Is Doc?
Will Curbs be okay?
I think he's got some time to battle still.
I don't think we're going to see Kirby...
Yeah, but I don't think we're seeing Kirby opening night.
And Nick Suzuki is like one of my favorite.
he's amazing in the NHL.
I've never met it.
Everybody loves.
And then that fucking stuff.
I need Demidoff to play immediately.
Yeah, yeah.
Do you see that fucking kid plant a kiss on Celine Dion's cheek when he got drafted?
No, he did.
Oh, yeah, he sure did.
He sure did.
It was the most big dick move I've ever seen in my entire.
That's BDE right there.
That's BDE.
Yes, it is.
Holy shit.
Listen, it's a blasphemy to say this, given that I'm a Bruins fan, but like this young
Habs team, like that's exciting.
It's really exciting.
with Marty.
Come on.
You know why I also like this?
Definitely.
Because I feel like you're right.
You called it earlier.
They're getting a bit of the Montreal treatment.
I think some of the Jack Hughes as a bust talk is starting with Cole.
There are a lot of people being like, oh, goal coffee.
Like people are starting to chirp him a little bit, being like, oh, he signed.
Like he's getting paid way too much with that contract.
Oh, he's never broke 30 goals before, blah, blah, blah, blah.
I think this is his shut the fuck up season.
Yeah.
So I like that pick.
Oh.
Great pick.
I like it.
All right, Tomer, number one.
My first pick, he is in Ottawa.
At Desjardin Insurance, we know that when you own a cleaning company,
things need to be tidy and organized at every step.
That's why our agents go the extra mile to understand your business
and provide tailored solutions for all its unique needs.
You put your heart into your company,
so we put our heart into making sure it's protected.
Get insurance that's really big on care.
Find an agent today at Dejardin.com slash business coverage.
I'm high on the sands, dude.
Come on.
Previous year, he had...
Are we talking a friend of the pot?
Yes.
We're talking a friend of the pot, dude.
Oh, shit.
Recently on the pot.
Come on.
Come on.
82 games in 22, 23.
Yep.
20 goals, 15 assists, 35 points.
Well, last year,
A little bit of
A little bit of a hiccup
Some stuff happened
Some stuff happened
41 games, nine goals, 27 points
It would have been a lot different
We would have played 82 games
People make mistakes
Yep, dude Tomor
But Shane Pinto, you're my guy
Yep, people also forget
When he came back after the break
They won like seven straight games
With him in the lineup
I believe in this kid
Oh my God
He's a player
And I just think that
He is going like this
and with the players they have in their top six too,
or even top nine,
like that team is pretty deep up front.
Healthy,
they're dangerous.
And every time he plays,
I feel like he is one of those guys.
He gets the puck.
He's dangerous.
Oh,
yeah.
Like he is a threat to score always.
And I just think this guy,
like he's also going to have a chip on his shoulder.
Like he,
you know,
he made a mistake.
He knows it.
Mm-hmm.
He said it on the pod.
He talked about it,
which was awesome.
Yeah, it was.
I don't even think it was a mistake.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I mean, it's like,
he didn't do anything wrong.
at the end of the day it's so dumb i think but like yeah i mean whatever he made a mistake he's
going to come back and he's going to be better like it's going to be so good dude and you mention his
scoring like he is the threat to score all the time yes he's also so good defensively good all-round
player people talk about lundel on florida his nickname baby barcov pento's baby bergeron dude
same height same size i think he plays a similar game is he going to be bergeron maybe maybe not
but I think all the makeup is there.
I think I this is that probably will be my favorite pick of all of these.
Yeah and a kid he likes to he likes to get a rush.
He likes to get a little blood flow obviously.
Yeah. I like him already.
He likes to live on the edge.
He likes to live on the edge.
I'll bet on him.
We also know he's a competitive psychopath.
I love that.
He's fucking got his freak show 10 list taped to his door.
He's probably got something taped to his fucking house now.
100%.
Over under 68 and a half points for him this year.
How many?
68 and a half.
Over.
I completely agree.
I think over.
I think he's going to have like a 75.
I was going to say 70 to 80 points season.
Yep.
And he'll have over 30 goals.
Yeah.
Oh, dude.
And they are laughing if they get that.
Yeah.
They are laughing.
Yeah.
He's a player.
You guys ready for mine?
Yep.
Let's go.
All right.
We talk a lot about who won free agency.
I think one team comes to mind because of the big name moves.
It's Nashville.
Yep.
Nashville, surged at the end of the last season, got into the playoffs, almost upset Vancouver, right?
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Nashville, I picked it too.
I thought they were.
Yeah, yeah.
Nashville locked up sorrows.
I think they're going to have a big year.
I think they signed out on it.
I think they signed big players.
And I think Luke Evangelista is going to explode this year.
Luke Evangelista for a number of reasons.
So Evangelista in his NHL career got 24.
games, seven goals, eight assists, 15 points.
That was two seasons.
That was two seasons ago.
He was actually sick in that call-up.
Like, I remember, like, he scored, was it two years ago that he scored with the stick
handoff?
Remember that goal?
Oh, uh, yeah, I believe so.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
You remember that one?
When he, like, he broke a stick or something and, like, came flying by, like,
the assistant coach handed him one and he, like, tucked his first goal or something like,
that was crazy.
He's just an electric player.
Last year, first full season plays 80 games.
I love that.
16 goals, 23 assists, 39 points.
But here's why I love the shooting percentage
those two years, Dan.
I'm just for inquiring much.
Just for kicks?
Yeah.
You notice how I didn't talk about the shooting percentage?
Yeah, you did not.
13% 1.
I want to know Pinto's hit percentage on fantasy football.
13% year 1, 9.3% last year.
Yep.
Okay.
I think that's going to go up.
I think that might come right up.
Evangelista, I don't know why,
but I watched a lot of this kid in London.
A few times have I seen a more electric player in junior.
And his last year with London, in 62 games, he had 55 goals, 56 assists for 111 points.
Then he went to the A, and in 49 games, he had nine goals, 32 assists for 41 points.
Then, boom, immediate call-up.
And I just think, like, that got to the A, only scored nine goals.
Like, he's a goal score.
Only scored nine.
came to the NHL in 24 games, had seven.
And then last year, full season.
How many assists that first year?
Seven and what?
Eight.
Seven and eight.
And then last year, he had 16 and 23.
He's a balanced guy.
It's like pasta.
He's getting similar goals to assist.
I think with Stammer on the team,
Marshal so on the team,
Shea on the back end,
Forsberg.
I mean, I think that this kid's going to have a 25 plus goal season.
I'm looking at 55.
plus points. I think he's going to have a big jump. I would probably even call it 60.
60 points used it for him? Yeah. If he hits 60, then you are correct. Like, then I go correct. He did
have one. Do you think he almost got hurt by how many guys they added? No, I don't. Because he is
too much of an investment for that team. You're not going to take a 33-year-old stammer and a 33-year-old
Marsha show and have them stunt a guy like Evangelista. If anything, you're bumping a guy like
Nyquist down
rather than Evangelism.
Because right now, and this is
like Daily Face Off post the lines,
but this is like,
just whatever.
But they have flip Ryan O'Reilly
Nyquist still as that top line
because they were gas.
They were so good.
They're probably not going to change that.
Insane.
And then they have Stammer,
Novak, Marcia, so.
Yeah.
And then Jankeausky.
Who's playing center there,
Novak?
Novak.
Yeah.
Jankowski Sissons, Luke.
And if this team
doesn't get marshy,
right and they try to and they just don't get him yeah yeah i think luke's probably right there yeah no doubt
second line right wing with stammer and novac and i'm like oh shit yeah i'm telling you he's gonna get
plenty of top six minutes and i'm looking at nyquist because like i i hear you but like how old nyquist
34 good question let me see and i think Nyquist production on that line was a surprise
wasn't a shock it was a surprise and i just think you've got a 23 year old luke evangelista he's a first
round pick, you're not, you're not letting this kid die. If he had 16 goals last year on the third
line, like, he comes into camp and he's buzzing. You're not going, yeah, just sit on the third
line, no matter what. And I think, too, like you, I know they're going to try and load that power play
up, the first unit, but that's going to change. Yes. Like, they're eventually going to have to find
balance in both their power plays. And you've got to think that Evangelis is probably going to get a
look on PP1, the first power play unit, and the second one. So that's, you're going to find balance. So
that's going to be a movement.
Moving parts of both.
Yeah, I completely agree.
They have him on two right now,
but it's one is flip,
O'Reilly, Marshall, so stammer, Yosey.
No, that's what I mean.
They're going to load the first power play unit for sure,
but I think that's going to change.
Okay, Nyquist, he's September 1st birthday,
he'll be 35 when the season starts.
Last year, 81 game, 75 points.
Tremend.
Monster.
Great year.
Like, come on.
The year before that,
51 games 27.
That's with Columbus and Minnie.
The year before that, Columbus 82, 53, 70, 42, not he hurt, you know.
Had a year in Detroit, 62, 49.
That was his breakout year.
That was the year, everyone.
That was when the horse was needing after him.
60, yeah.
But like 75 points as a 34-year-old.
Tremendous year.
Oh, he's amazing.
That team is amazing.
But, yeah, I just think Evangelist, amongst a, what an insane collection of vets on that team, by the way.
Like, holy shit.
O'Reilly.
O'Reilly, Forsberg, Stammer, Marshae, Yosey, Shea.
Like, that is a crazy.
These are all guys.
And NyQuil.
These are all guys veterans that are still, like, producing.
Yeah.
And that are still a huge impact players in the league.
Totally.
That's the other thing.
It's like, these guys are legit.
Of all those vets, you had point per game stammer.
You had 75 point Nyquist.
You had 40 goal Marchesel.
Like, what the fuck?
Yeah, 40 goal stammer.
They added 80 goals on the wings.
And guys that all wants you know.
Cups too.
Nashville.
Broadway's going to be the best fucking time in the
NHL next year.
I'm actually so excited for this.
That's going to be a fun place to go.
Oh yeah.
Like we'll get into what I'm about to say more later in this ep.
But that team
I feel like everybody is rooting for Nashville.
Except for their like whoever arch rival is.
But like everybody is so excited about this.
Yeah, who hates Nashville?
That's what I mean.
Who doesn't want them to do well right now?
But like even from a rivalry standpoint,
like what team in the central is like,
I fucking, God, I hate Nashville.
Like Dallas, maybe?
Yeah, oh yeah, because it's kind of doing, you're doing our thing.
Yeah, you're like, fuck you in your cowboy boots and 10 gallon hats, bitch.
Yeah, I mean, it's, I think everyone's on board with Nashville as well.
Everybody.
And I really think they're going to.
My biggest fear is them getting over their skis with like how sick we're going to be.
I think they have too many veterans for that.
Me too, me too.
But I'm just like, please be good because it'll be so fun.
They have too many veterans.
They have so many cups amongst each other on that team.
Like, fuck me.
They're poised for a deep run.
Yeah, yeah.
Dude, the people there, and I'll, like, say a bit of this because I actually can't say,
all of them thought I'll tell you guys after I haven't already, but I was talking to someone
who knows Ryan O'Reilly very well, and he had talked about his time in Toronto and was like,
certain people on this Toronto team will, he like went to management and was like,
blank, blank and blank will never win, and I don't want to be here anymore.
And that is not saying that about the people in his locker right now.
And that's why I'm like, okay,
damn, that's a fucking fiery comment.
Yeah.
That's a hell of an insider info.
But it's believable though, because the guys want a cup.
And you see the way that guy trains, the way he prepares.
I mean, you hear from all the guys in the league.
Like this guy is a maniac when it comes to like staying on the ice after extra.
Like he is the epitome of like what it takes to be a professional.
He is an all-time pro.
And that team's full of them.
Full of them.
Luke might go for 80, dude.
That's what I said.
I wouldn't be...
Even on the third line.
I've said it before I'll say it.
I wouldn't be surprised if Stammer gets 50 next year.
Oh yeah, I know.
I could not be surprised.
Going like full...
Let's go smash.
Time machine.
Yeah, dude, we gotta go.
I've got news.
You're going to be there a lot.
We got a bar there.
We go there a lot.
We go there a lot.
Ben MGM's up in there, the sports book.
Yeah.
Right next to the rink.
We've dialed in in Nashville.
All right.
Your next guy.
All right, my next one.
Squad, I know that you all have these apps on your phone
where you transfer money back and forth.
It happens.
We go out to the bars, the tab comes, someone pays the whole thing,
you got to chop it up, you got to even it out.
Maybe you go for lunch, you grab some food for the fellas,
you need to come back, get paid back.
We all need those apps.
There's one app that a lot of people have,
and I'm here to tell you it sucks,
because the search engine is terrible,
it's an absolute nightmare.
People are getting banned from it left and,
right for stupid reasons, get off that one and get on Cash App, because Cash App is without a doubt
the best app in the game when it comes to sending money back and forth. And the best thing about
Cash App is Cash App savings. While it is making it easy as pie to transfer your money,
settle up tabs, Cash App is also saving you money when you have money in your account. So
it's not just sitting there collecting dust, possibly waiting to be frauded, no, it is building
wealth for you. Cash app is taking care of you and your finances while you send money around
and sit there and make sure you're taking care of yourself. Cash app is the only way to go,
download it right now. Taking a time out from the pod to talk about trying to make that money.
And when you're talking about trying to make that money, you know I'm talking about BetMGM.
I need you to listen to me very closely. Go download the BetMGM app right now. When you get on there,
use promo code netters, N-E-T-T-E-R-S, and they are giving you the most insane deal I have ever heard
in my life. You can put money into your account and bet from $5 up to $1,500. And if you lose your
bet, they take the money that you bet and they put it back in your account as if you never
lost the bet in the first place. And then you can bet on something else and try to make money
again. Can you believe that? It's insane. And it's even crazier if you're not taking
advantage of it. So go get the BetMGM app and use promo code netters immediately. Gambling problem. Call
1-800-Gambler. Call 8778-8-Hope-NY or text HOPENY for New York. Call 1-800-3-5-0-0-0-Mas
21-200 plus only. Please gamble-off. Call 1-800-1-8-1-8-0-1-2-8-1-4-4-RRRRICO.
Or 880 for Puerto Rico or Puerto Rico or visit. Watt offerer, or
non-grabble. In part of New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
And I was debating between a bunch here, but I really like this. I really like this plus
and I really like this pick by me, not to brag.
Not to brag.
I'm going the situate mass native.
Wow.
How about that, dude?
The situate mass native,
Connor Garland.
Let me give you Garland's career, okay?
I'm going to give you games points.
Arizona, 47, 18.
Arizona, 68, 39.
Arizona, 49, good year, actually.
Vancouver.
77, 52,
81, 46,
82, 47.
Consistency.
Yeah.
Consistency.
There's a chance I can hear you saying already,
this is a good player,
but he's giving you everything he's going to give you.
He's a 50-something point guy.
That might be true.
But in 68 games, as a 23-year-old,
in the NHL, he scored 22 goals,
and he's been in the teens ever since,
except for the last year when he had 20.
I don't think he's going to score 40.
I don't think he's going to score 35 even.
But this kid could be a 30 goal score in this league, I believe that strongly.
Okay?
Also, the Canucks, what a season last year.
That was awesome.
Yes.
And finally kind of reaching their potential, it felt like a little bit.
And I was looking up the lines because obviously like Lindholm left, there's a little jumbling.
I was like, wonder what they're going to do.
And for the million of time in this app, daily phase I was just making this up.
But right now, they've got Hoglander, J.T. Miller, Besser, as line one.
Debrusk, Pee, Springer, line two.
And then Connor is right way in the line.
He's going to score fucking 40 goals.
Spronger is the man.
Line mates with him.
Absolute missile of a shot.
Oh my God.
Was on the pod, friend of the pod.
Laser rocket shot.
My point is, I can see Connor.
I don't think these lines are locked.
Like, I can see Connor getting top six minutes on this team.
Yeah.
And if that happens, even for stretches,
via play, promotion or injury, right?
Bester misses some time.
I know like Connor go up there and play with J.T.
strong or slumping a little bit
jump up and play with Petey
I can see Connor Garland
start pushing
maybe not even 30 this year but like
25 goals 26 goals 27 goals
and if he starts doing that
he goes from a 50 point guy
and I'm kind of in the Luke range where I'm like if he goes from your
49 50 point
middle six guy to a
Connor Garland at 71 points this year
you are fucking pumped
because now this team is even deep
feels even tougher even deeper than they were
so I love that
kids game. I loved him in Arizona and I thought they
actually gave up on him a little early. Maybe not
gave up on him, but you know what I mean? Like they moved on from
him before I was like, that was a lot
of potential there. Yeah. And he's just on,
and talk loves him. Yeah.
Right? That's a good point right there. There's, talk loves
him. He's on a really strong team and I think
he has that ability. I'm
dialing in a 70 point season for the situate boy
next year. Jesus.
That was impassioned, dude. Come on, Connor.
Yeah, that was, that was impressive.
Here's the thing. I think the NHL has a Connor problem, by the way.
McDavid, Badard, all the Conners.
Conner's area had a massive rookie year.
Like, I just think we have a real Conner issue,
and it's like the rising tide raises all Conners.
And I think, I think, I think, I think,
I think Carlin's having a 70-point year, dude.
I like that pick.
I do.
I like that, and I like the dynamic of talk.
Yeah.
That's the one I, I mean, he was, he was really good in Arizona
when he had talk with him,
and he was really good last year with talk,
and I think that there's a huge dynamic.
Has to be, right?
I think that's a big part of it right there.
Because he's going to play in all situations.
Yep.
He's also a guy, I believe, right?
He's usually around the front of the net on the power pole.
Oh, dude.
Down, down low guy.
And he's not a big dude.
No, but he's got...
It takes the body down there.
It's crazy.
He's got guts.
Like, he...
I fucking love it.
He's not afraid.
No, not at all.
Yeah.
He plays way bigger than his size.
He plays hard.
Yeah.
Yep.
All right.
Your next one.
Okay.
My next one, team, just down the street from
Oh, come on.
And I'll set it up the same way.
He had 20 goals for 55 points last season.
He just got a big contract.
QB, Quentin by field.
I think he's poised for a big season next year.
Me too.
Like, I think it's possible that Q could end up being close to a point per game guy next year.
I'm smelling...
How many games he plays here?
Hold on, hold on.
Last year, he played 80 games.
80 and 53.
Do you guys?
80 games, 20 goals, 35 assists, 55 points.
Plus 19.
Oh, dude, that is Dan torched.
For you plus minus people out there.
That has Dan torqued up.
I'm getting whiffs of a...
What is it?
What are you smelling?
I'm getting an all-star selection whips.
Oh, shit.
I think that's very in the cards.
100% of it.
Holy shit, dude.
The second you pay a guy, they're playing him.
in every time.
I think Cube and I think Juice are locked on that first line with Copi.
And I just think we saw what they did last year.
I think they're going to come out way hotter this year.
Wow.
And I could just see both of those guys fucking lighting it up.
Oh yeah.
And here's my other take too that's possible.
Like that might change too because Q is, he can be dominant.
Like he is so big.
It's huge.
She skates so well.
He's so good with the puck.
I think there's a possibility.
You never know.
They could move him to center.
Yeah, yeah.
That's the dream, right?
Like, that's...
If you move him to center, I mean,
that's your second line center.
Yep, yeah.
Or first line center eventually.
Yeah, right, right.
Of the future for sure.
Right, but I mean, they all fill in that third lines
in that three C role.
Yeah.
And they brought in PLD, like,
P, you know, they're like, oh, we're so deep here,
but I'm like, well, he's out.
The second line center is there for the taking.
Like, those three did have insane chemistry.
But, man, how happy with Kevin Fiat.
If all of a sudden he had Q as his second line center.
And I've seen Q play.
I was down in Ontario with him when I was there.
I saw him play center.
He can play center.
Yeah.
Yep.
Yeah, right now,
so they have the top line as you had it.
And then Morsey, Phil, Fiala as the second line.
But that would be sick if they dropped him to 2C, playing between Trev and Kev.
I'm like, holy fuck.
But Treve and Phil are so good together.
No, you're right.
Yep.
I'm just saying it's
No, but I like what you're saying.
Maybe, right?
Possibility.
But even if, even if he doesn't play center,
he plays with,
he plays with juice,
he plays with Kopee.
Yep.
And he has 35 goals next year.
Yeah.
And closer to 75, 80 points.
Oh, my God.
That's what I was going to ask you.
What's his goal ceiling, you think?
I think he's a 30 to 35 guy.
Yep.
35.
35.
Yeah.
35.
I see that too.
35?
35?
Because Q likes to,
because he can dish.
He'll dish it.
Because he can dish.
He can make plays.
He makes plays.
He's like a 35 and 50.
You got it.
35.
It's like that is.
Like that is.
Yeah.
Last year.
Yeah.
If you put him in the pivot, dude, he's like 50, you know, he gets 50 assists in those boys.
Exactly.
Firing the pot.
He's such a player, dude.
He's, and the way he skates for how big he is.
And he's just, puck control.
Oh my God.
Yeah.
You just add a little bit more of a, you know, like, you will.
He will.
He will.
And that comes when guys get older and they get more comfortable.
Yeah.
They get paid.
That helps, too.
Sure does.
Sure does.
That always helps.
I think, I think, I think,
I think he's poised for a big year.
I couldn't agree more.
That's my guy.
Q.
Yeah, he's about to turn 20.
My guy.
He's about turned 22 a couple days.
Dude,
because he'll put,
you know,
he's going to get fill out a little bit.
Because you still,
he's a strong kid,
obviously already.
But when we talk to,
he's a string beat still.
Like when I'm saying he next time,
I'm like, dude,
when he fills that out even more.
He's wiery though.
Yeah.
Like, he's strong.
He's not skinny.
No, he is.
But I'm just saying he's going to fill out,
he's 22-year-old kid.
He's going to fill that out even more.
He's a unit.
Impossible to get the puck off him.
Yeah.
No, it's going to be, I love that pick.
That's going to be such a fun season to watch.
All right.
I'm going to stay in SoCal.
Okay.
For my last one.
Okay, okay.
Going to stay in SoCal, you all know I'm high on the ducks.
Yep.
There's a lot of, there's a lot of guys on the ducks that I could pick.
But as a defenseman, love the defense,
I'm going Olin Zelliger.
Damn.
I think this kid, former 34th overall,
pick. Got 26 games
last year. I think two goals, seven
assists, nine points.
Five nine. That's the big thing with Zellweger.
People are like, he's small, but who just
won the Norris?
Quinn Hughes.
Five nine. Is that what he's listed
at? He's listed at 510.
He's not 5'10. I love you,
Quinter. You're not 5'10.
I don't give a shit about this kid's
size. We've had the pleasure of going down there
watching them practice a lot, watched
and play all those 26 games
last season. This fucking kid
wheels. He moves the puck so well. He's got great vision. He's strong on his skates too. He steps up at
the blue line. He doesn't give a shit that he's 5'9, maybe undersized for a defenseman. But
look in what this team's doing, how they're building with these young guys. I think he's going to
step into a top two pairing situation, absolutely. And I think he's going to have a full season.
And I just think he is going to be a monster for this team as a puck-carrying defenseman. I look at
him as
PP1 type of guy.
She's right about to ask.
And,
yeah,
man,
I just,
I think he's a special,
special talent.
And I know a lot of people down there
believe in him in a big way.
So what we saw Minchikov do this year,
I think we're going to see Zellweger do.
Or last year,
I think we're going to see Zellweger do this year.
I think he's going to step in,
play serious minutes,
and people are going to be like,
who the fuck is this kid?
Just lighting it up.
Maybe they think that way, too,
if they traded Jamie Drysdale.
Yep.
Good call.
100%.
I think we're going to.
I love, I love, love this pick.
And I have a little story about Zedewager.
Hell yes, dude.
Give me it.
All right.
So I love this pick because I watched this kid a lot last year.
Yeah, yeah.
And he has got it.
He has it.
Yes.
So I was home this summer in Alaska.
A friend of mine.
He's named Louis Mass.
He's an assistant in San Jose for the Barakuta.
He coached Zelleweger in Everett.
Yep.
said this kid was he was small he was tiny when he came in there so skilled but just wanted it
yeah i mean i guess he he told a story where this kid was like well why is zellweger playing over me
on p p p like i should be doing it but well he's like well first off you don't work as hard as he
does you know so he's like okay well i'm gonna do his i'm gonna do as much as him then he's like okay
Yep. Zellwiger's staying on the ice after practice.
Always does.
Yep.
Always.
Remember we saw that?
When we had a tunnel in the pond.
Always.
Always stays on.
He was the last guy in the ice.
He stays on forever.
Well, this kid just kept staying on and he's like,
Zelliger won't get off.
Yeah.
So Zelliger wouldn't get off until this kid got off.
Yeah.
So he just stayed out there.
So the kid said he's like, he's like, told a told Louis.
Like, I was out there for like an hour and he wouldn't get off the ice.
Like, I don't know what else to do.
Yeah.
So this kid just does.
does not stop.
Yeah.
So like, I fucking love that.
Yeah.
That's a great pick.
In the same way we were talking about the HABS, I think the ducks, I'm really excited about
the ducks and their ability to score with the guys they've got in that room moving forward.
Yep.
Which, you know, as a puck moving D guy, the assist start racking up, you know, that's, that's huge,
that's huge potential.
Yeah.
And what, what you mentioned earlier, 2021, 22 with Everett and the WHL from the blue line,
55 games, 14 goals, 64 assists, 78 points.
That's what I'm saying, dude.
And then last year in the HL with the goals, 44 games, 12 goals, 25 assists, 37 points from the blue.
Like, what's...
Like, this kid moves the puck, he drives offense.
Oh, he can shoot the puck.
Yep.
Oh, he can shoot the puck.
He can shoot the puck.
And I always look at like a defenseman who's getting the call up this past year on a struggling
ducks team, gets 26 games and gets nine points from the blue line.
I'm like, dude.
So he's so dynamic with the puck too.
I mean, how he moves the puck?
not scared of the opportunity, you know, that I think he's going to be, yeah, I think he's going
to be special.
And Quinn's here, and obviously 92 points and 17 goals is nothing to shake your head at from a
defenseman, but Quinn Hughes's year, 17 goals, 75 assists, you know, and you're like, that's,
do that.
Do exactly that.
Yeah.
So I think he's going to be, and Red, you're so right, I think part of that Drysdale
move was you got Minchikov playing how he was, and then you're looking down in, in San
Diego, and then calling this kid up and you're like, and he's,
fucking right there. So we're stacked at the blue line. And I'm sure he hasn't changed his whole
mentality since junior till now. I'm sure he's the same kid. Yeah, for sure. You know, so this
kid's driven. For sure. He wants it. I love it. All right, those are our six big jumps.
Now let's change our tune here a little bit. We're going to close out this episode with
something that kind of popped off on Twitter for us. Throughout a random question, just a shit
post saying what surprise team could we see missing the playoffs? We got a lot of high. We got a lot of
hot takes. So now we're going to give three more hot takes. Tom, why don't you start us off?
Why don't you start us off here? Again, folks, this is a team we could. Could. Yeah, let's clarify
that could. We're not predicting these teams for the playoffs. We're saying if certain things shake
out, we could see this team missed us. And because of the division I'm going to talk about and because
of the other teams in the division, I do believe, not believe, but I do think it's possible
that the Toronto Maple Leafs
come on dude
they could miss the playoffs
I know these guys are more happier than ever
be saying that
I have some friends
and some guy and a guy in the team
that's not going to be happy about that
but it's just a maybe
it's a maybe prove me wrong
prove me wrong and dude
we're just allegedly we're saying could
also we and this is like
well we've had this conversation
Someone was asking, they was like, do you guys hate the Leafs?
And I was like, not at all.
And I thought I was being like such a...
You hate the Leafs?
No, I don't.
Oh, okay.
But I thought it was being like such a like, I'm so cool for not hating them.
And Red was like, well, why the fuck would you?
The Bruins have dicked them down for fucking 20 years.
And I was like, it's actually a good...
Yeah, they've owned them.
But it goes further of like, I love those boys.
Like, Mitchie's, that's my guy.
I love Mitch.
I love Austin.
I think they're so fun to watch.
Love you, Max.
But, yeah, there you go.
But, I mean, dude, it's...
It's tough out there in the Atlantic.
It's tough out there in the Atlantic.
And what would have to go raw?
So the biggest question mark for me,
for the Leafs is the goaltending.
Yep, yeah.
And that's, I mean, I just see that.
It's a distraction, and we all know it's a distraction in Toronto
with the media there.
And then obviously with all the Mitch Marner stuff going on this summer
and is he going to be back?
Are they going to trade him?
Are they going to resign him?
I mean, then there's a little bit of turnover in that,
that locker room with the new players they've added with guys they don't have anymore.
I just think there's a lot of a lot of moving things and a lot of question marks,
especially the goal-tending one for me.
I think it's just that's the one that's just, it's a possibility.
I think especially with the,
especially with the other teams in the division,
like they're going to have some tough games against Ottawa.
Oh.
You've got some tough games against Montreal.
I mean, Detroit.
Like, these teams in their division, like, it's going to be.
Yeah.
These are going to be hard points.
Oh, yeah.
They're not going to be easy points like they were in the last couple of years where if they play well, you know, they're probably going to win.
It's not going to be like that this year.
And you know what's interesting is I'm a huge believer in the new coach jump.
Yep.
You get a new coach in there.
Boys are a little more fired up.
Saw it with Edmonton.
You know, Barubei is so particular that I could see him lighting a fire under those guys' ass.
I could also see it not jelling at all.
Yeah.
I could go either way.
Yep.
I could see him being a hard-ass coach.
and come those dog days of January, February,
those guys, not naming names,
but the ones who maybe O'Reilly is talking about
are like, I don't fuck with this guy at all, dude.
And there are going to be, we all,
but we both know that there are going to be some days
when they're going to be all over the Leafs,
they're going to be all over Baroobee,
they're going to be all over the big guys,
it's going to happen.
It happens every year.
It happens multiple times.
Definitely.
And which way do they go?
Yeah.
Dude, especially, like we talked about last week, if they start slow in 20 games.
Yeah.
If in 20 games, they're out of the playoffs and they, like the oilers were.
If they have the oilers start, that's the extreme, but if they have an oiler start.
It's panic button.
It's panic button and you can you hire the coach?
The drama.
And I live for that now.
Like, I'd say, oh my God.
When Edmonton was struggling, it was craziness.
What's the, remind me the contract situation, Tavares has this.
Tavares and Marner are up at the end of this year.
So they have one year left unrestricted free agents.
neither are extended.
They're just,
so far,
we're going into this season.
So that's an interesting thing too.
So what if,
what if the Leafs are out of a playoff picture at December?
And you,
and there's,
and neither of them are re-signed?
Let's say there's six or eight points out of a playoff spot.
Oh,
you got to trade both of them.
Then what do you do?
Dude,
but I don't think we talk about this.
And tree living there now,
Burubi,
and they're having a down year.
They probably go,
yeah,
we're,
but you know what's nuts?
is both those guys have full no moves.
And I could see both of them going, no.
We're not going anywhere.
You're going to lose this for free and miss the play.
There's a lot of storylines that could be out of this year.
So this is what I was saying, dude, if Joe Wall doesn't play, like playoff Joe Wall look nasty,
and maybe it's just, it's in Marner's head a bit.
It's like you're a human being.
You know, like I don't have an extension.
Fuck, these guys are talking about trading every five seconds.
Like, he's not playing well.
And then Matthews has whatever that year was two years ago when he had 40,
which is obviously sick for a normal.
human for him. Like if Matthews is having one of his like, I'm only going to score 45 this year.
And Marner's rattled about his contract and Joe's not playing well in net. I'm like, you're bad now.
Like this is now a bad team. Right? Like it's just it's all it's like it's right on the
There is too much talent on that team to even fathom them missing. But as we said with the
Atlantic and then all these moving pieces again it could. It could. It could and again like
like I said it could happen. But the Leafs do.
have, like they have all of the pieces to make the playoffs, obviously.
Yes.
And to still have a successful season with Barubia as a coach and all the changes.
But still, like, there's still so many question marks.
And maybe Wohl is, maybe he is the guy.
Maybe he is.
You know what's crazy?
But it's just tough.
It's tough to say that they will for sure be a lock to make the playoffs when you look
at all the other goalies and teams in that division.
Yes.
I think that's for me.
That's the hardest thing to see.
What's crazy is it's take away the bugaboo of Toronto and like their first round woes.
They're the fucking same team as Edmonton, in my opinion.
Like you look at their roster.
There's a lot of similarities.
There's a lot of similarities.
And so I'm like, what's stopping this Toronto team from going to the cup?
You know, like if Wall all of a sudden gets his mind right like Skinner.
The loss of the ruins of Florida Panthers.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's exactly what's standing in front of them.
But like, yeah, I just think it's an interesting dynamic.
Like, as all these things that could go wrong and have them miss,
they're the same things that could go right and have them win for a month.
And, by the way, the same thing that fucking happened to Edmonton,
if you, the other, like, you'll know what I'm meaning in a second.
If let's say the Leafs finished in the wild card,
and you catch the MET team, you get sent into that bracket.
You know, like they could miss Atlantic.
Atlantic chaos.
Like, they could finish wild card, catch.
Which would be better for them.
Honestly, they should.
They should get the fuck out of like the two C, three C.
The Cains like somehow stay the ones and you catch the canes upset them.
And now you're playing the fucking devils.
And then you're like, oh, I'm in the, I'm, you got to beat, you know, you got to beat the one Atlantic team.
The Leafs, the Leafs honestly have the toughest first or second round draws every year.
Yeah, yeah.
In the league.
I think, I don't think there's anyone else that has a tougher draw than them every year.
Dude, it's like.
No matter what they do, I think even when they have the, like, they've had unbelievable seasons and still their first round matchups are.
Cup contenders.
Finishing top three in the Atlantic is like a death sentence in the ground in the playoffs.
It's, it's crazy.
I mean, and I mean, I can get started on that too, but like that's why I don't like
Oh, it's a stupid thing.
Yeah, yeah.
Scream it, baby.
Oh, it's terrible.
It's awful.
You get, like, that's the thing.
The Leafs stuff, it isn't fair.
You have a great season like that and you have to play against another team that had another
great season.
It's dog shit.
It's terrible.
It's absolutely dog shit.
Dude, everybody that's listening.
to our pod knows I say this all time.
Because travel's easy now, I literally
want one through 16
in the league. Like, I don't even
want 1-8-1-8 conference conference. I just want
one versus 16. That would be interesting.
Fucking go, dude. And I know you're going to work out the kinks
because you're not playing everybody in the same now. But I'm like,
these are the 16 best teams, fucking wind it
down. Yeah. First round Florida, Edmonton
travel. Yeah. Yeah, seriously.
All right, let's stay in Canada. No, let me do mine next.
Okay. Let me do mine next. Okay.
Okay. Okay. Okay.
Mine.
All right.
All right.
Again.
Not saying they're going to miss.
We're bitches.
Again.
Allegedly.
Allegedly.
Fuck it.
They're out.
Give me perennial winners, the Vegas Golden Nights.
Oh my God, dude.
Did they miss?
Once.
They missed once.
The only reason is, looking at their lines.
your new foundation.
Use PDF spaces to generate a presentation.
Grab your docs, your permits, your moves.
AI levels of your pitch gets it in a groove.
Choose a template with your timeless cool.
Come on now, let's flex those two.
Drive design, deliver, make it sing.
AI builds the deck so you can build that thing.
Do that, do that, do that with acrobat.
Learn more at adobe.com slash do that with acrobat.
first line. Good line. Don't get me wrong, but not the best first line I've seen in Vegas in...
Yeah, that's a top 10 player in the league and then you're like, that's your winger's?
That is like a...
Jack, you know I love you. He gets hurt. So you might not get 82 from Jack.
Second line. Hurdle, which I actually think will be good. I think he's going to have a monster.
Mark Stone. I'm not getting 82 from Mark, probably. You know?
It's so funny how openly we can say.
That's like, Markstone's probably not playing any jrgay.
He said he'll never be healthy again.
Yeah, like he'll never be healthy again.
And he's a beast.
I saw him lift the cup up in the air with a broken wrist.
He's had a tough, tough go last.
Oh, incredible.
Jesus, Christ.
The guy, the lacerated spleen last year.
Yep.
Jesus Christ.
My boy, Willie Carlson, who was tremendous.
That is, let's just take a quick pause.
Wild Bill.
When healthy, that is a preposterous second line.
Yeah, oh, dude, it's ridiculous.
Are you shitting me?
Jesus.
But some of these guys, I'm not sure you're going to get the full seasons from.
Now, the D, I still really love.
Yep.
Hanifan, Patrangelo, Theodore.
Like, I'm like, Jesus Christ, dude.
Whitey.
Like, these guys are like, good, good, good defensemen in this league.
And Aiden Hill, I actually love to.
Oh, yeah.
I think Aden Hill's a stud.
It's fantastic.
But.
So why are they not making the playoffs?
Aden Hill got hurt last year and that cost them.
And this year, who's their backup goalie, Red?
I don't know.
Oh, true.
Yeah.
So, I mean, like, I don't think you got, I don't love, I don't love the tandem situation we have.
I don't love it.
I do, dude.
I know, you do, but I never have.
I think Aden's going to be healthy, and it's similar to Corpi in Boston.
I think Sammy being a backup, he's fine.
Yep.
But, but think about the tandem, the three-headed monster they had last year.
Yeah.
You know, where I'm like, Jesus Christ, usually there I'm just like, there's like, filling in goalies who have fucking two goals against.
So if Aiden Hill misses time, it's mostly an injury question to me, but here's my random theory.
Go back to the NFL.
The Pats for all those dynasty years, the thing they always said was like, it's next man up, next man up.
You see that in the NFL a lot where it's like, you know, there's so many injuries in that sport.
Someone's got to show up.
The nights, weirdly, every time someone gets hurt, or at least the past few years, they go in these massive ruts.
Yeah.
where they're like, oh, I can go down and we fucking played 500 hockey for a month and a half.
But everyone goes, it's fine because they'll be healthy in the playoffs and then they're dangerous, which they are.
But this team hasn't been that good at being like, oh, we lost one of our top guys.
It's okay.
Everybody fill in the roles and like we're still playing 600 hockey.
They're like, oh, no, we are terrible for a month and a half.
And now they're just a little less deep than they were, in my opinion, the last few years.
So I'm like, well, so no, what happens with an injury now, which you're going to have?
I completely agree with that.
They are not as deep as they have been.
And I do think the big one is they can't afford to be as injured as they've been the last two years.
They simply can't.
They barely afforded it this year.
Yeah.
Like they were the last wildcar team, which is crazy, but they were.
Yeah.
People forget that.
Yeah.
People forget that they were a first round matchup for Dallas.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So like they cannot afford to be that injured.
So yeah.
If they are, they're in trouble.
also Briss is going to get first line minutes this year isn't he
I think so yeah I think he's gonna get a good chance
you look at that first line shakeup
Brissan's for sure gonna get a good playing with the guy like Ike's
perfect person to have elevate your game right under his wing dude
I could see him playing first line minutes for sure so yeah and and like this
this one's hilarious too because you were saying with like if wall sick and if
mom is fired up because his contract like the Leafs could win fucking 58 games
and and this one like Vegas this is so classic like Vegas wins the Pacific
because I'm like well you know
Vancouver steps down a little bit
with Kings have their issues
Edmonton might have their issues
and like Vegas finished first
and I'm like, that's on me
listen that's why we're saying could.
Oh yeah, I mean I could eat crow too
after this easily.
I mean these are hot takes
guys. We're saying these are things that could
happen, not that they will have. Hey, how about this
will last thing on this? And I'm, I'm
this just occurred to me.
Do you think there's anything
to
Cassidy fatigue?
And I know Butch and I love him, but he's
he's a tough he's a hard I know what you're saying
hard ass right and that's how he gets the most
out of his guys but sometimes you're like
if you're Jack Eichling you're like this fucking all right dude
like we're still screaming at me at practice
and and Butch is like yeah because that's
The message wears
But yeah is there anything to like maybe we're like
Jesus Christ dude I think absolutely
And I think you
The guys you listed you know like
Stone Ikes
Wild Bill Petrangelo
Shee
These are guys who are like we've heard it dude
Yeah, yeah.
And yeah, I could see that being a thing.
Possible.
Yeah.
I do think that's possible.
I also think, though, like, because those guys are, they've won now.
Yeah.
They're on immediately with him too.
Yeah, they're motivated.
Yeah.
They have been injured.
You're right.
And I will say.
You know, I think that there is a little bit of maybe in that locker room.
They kind of run it.
Yeah.
Like, they run that room where, like, they're like, okay, we're going to win.
It doesn't matter who the fuck is behind the bench.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And I, a little tire pump for Ikes
In the conference finals
We hit him up about like just like a little
Doing a little quick something with us
Yeah
And respectfully because he's the man
He was like he was like no I don't want to do that
Because I like
The thought of talking about or watching hockey right now
When we should fucking still be in it
Makes me want to fucking vomit
Like he was
They had been out for two rounds
And he was so fired up about the idea
Like in a bad way
about doing anything around the NHL
because he was like,
we should not have lost.
Like Vegas,
that's the guy you have.
This guy who's like,
you think he loses and he's cool with it?
No,
they were pissed throughout.
And so these guys are still going to be like,
they're not happy.
They're not content.
Like, they want to win every year.
So that's huge.
All right.
Last one.
The last could.
Again.
Again.
Again, guys.
Could.
We're staying and where are we going?
We're going back to,
Canada.
Oh, yeah.
Let's more.
Oh, shit.
We are going to stay in the Pacific.
Oh, no.
Oh, fuck.
And I just think that we've talked a lot about, you know,
fan bases who thought they won free agency.
This is one of them.
And there were a lot of ifs, in my opinion, with those guys.
And I just think if some of these things don't pan out.
And if some things go wrong,
Edmonton Oilers could miss the book.
Wow.
Could.
Come on, dude.
could miss the ball. Come on.
Get on Daily Face Off and show me those lines again.
Here's the thing.
We saw Edmonton get to that.
We're not a part of this, dude.
We have nothing to do with this.
I already have all of Toronto that probably wants to.
Yeah, yeah, you're right.
And I also want to say there is.
Borderline zero chance that this happens.
Dude, all right, line one, R&H, Connor McDavid, Zach Hyman.
Okay.
A thousand goals in that line.
Yes.
Connor McDavid is always going to be a top two player in the NHL.
R&H after his 100-point season two years ago.
What did he do last year?
It's like 60-something.
Did he have a great playoffs?
No, he was gone.
Didn't see him.
Do we think Zach Hyman?
I think Zach Hyman's fantastic.
And boy, oh, boy, did he stuff it down all of our throats these playoffs.
He had 50-something in the regular season and then, like, four.
He, he like broke, I think, no, he had like 16, 17.
Like, he broke records.
Yep.
He scores goals.
But it is possible that Hyman doesn't.
do exactly what he did last year. I would almost say, certainly. And then for me, the big one
on line two, playing with Leon Drysiddle, Jeff Skinner and Arvetson. Oh yeah, sorry. Those are huge
question marks. Jeff Skinner, a guy who, at his best, we know he's an 80-point guy. 40 goals,
possibly. For sure he is. And playing with Leon Drysaddle, come on. Arvinson, at his best, is a great
player, but he has a health problem.
Doesn't say healthy that often.
So if those two things don't pan out and you as the Oilers go, we won
free agency by getting those two guys.
And then they're not playing that well.
R&H maybe isn't playing that.
RNH is what, 33 now?
Like maybe he's not playing that well.
So yeah, if you're getting... And now you've got old man
Perry on line three, not line four.
All the way, Henrique Perry.
Like you've got Henrique, who was a deadline pickup last year and you're
hoping he's driving that third line at center.
You've got old man Perry playing wing on the third line, not the fourth line.
But we like Holloway.
We like Holloway.
We like Holloway.
Your defense is exactly the same.
Yep.
So you've still got the nurse problem.
Yeah.
And then Skinner is Skinner.
You know, what's funny about that one is that you picked Edmonton to not make the playoffs.
No.
And possibly.
Could, could.
Could.
Could.
And Skinner's first year, he's never made the playoffs before.
Oh, wait.
Jeff.
Jeff Skinner.
Oh, yeah.
I'm sorry.
I'm talking about Jeff Skinner.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Oh, dude.
He's never made the player.
He's never, he's never played in the playoffs.
Yeah.
Dude, they fucked themselves.
Can you imagine?
Wow, that's true.
Can you imagine?
He never made the playoffs on Carolina.
He's never playing the playoffs.
Dude.
That was a big thing they talked about with his free agent signing is
Skinner playing at Emondon and having a chance to play in the playoffs for the first
time in his career.
Dude, they fucked themselves.
That would be in.
That's the ironic part of that.
That's the ironic part of that.
Alleged, alleged playoff miss, which I totally disagree with.
But they do still have the rabbit's foot of Corey Perry.
You're going to lose in the cup, but you're going to go to the cup.
Yeah, right.
So, dude, what happens when an unstoppable Skinner meets an immovable Pry?
You know, this is very difficult.
This has to be very difficult.
Holy thing.
Or this is another possible, you know, the way the stars align, it could be like a Ron Hainesie thing.
Ron Hainesie never played any
playoff games.
Played for the Pittsburgh Penguins
and won a Stanley Cup.
Jack Eichael.
Jack Eichel.
Another one.
Boom.
So that's a hell of an alleged pick.
Skinner's been good too.
Like the last few years.
Jeff Skinner.
Sorry, sorry.
Yeah.
33, 35, 24 last year, which wasn't as good.
But he's been scoring.
Dude, he's an unbelievable player.
That was a fucking crazy buyout by Buffalo.
I agree.
I do not understand that move at all.
So again.
But that is interesting.
I,
okay, so what does wrong again?
Stu Skinner.
I'm saying if, again,
I'm not backtracking here because I love this.
Could.
I think those guys,
I think Jeff Skinner and Arvinson are going to be great.
I do.
Like that is my guess.
Isn't there going to be a great thing?
But I'm saying if Jeff Skinner and Arvinson
maybe don't stay healthy or don't click with Leon,
Leon's contract situation is looming.
He doesn't extend.
Distraction.
Distraction, blah, blah, blah.
The nurse issues continue.
Eckholm's a little longer in the tooth.
Yep.
So you're leaning heavily on Broberg and Bouchard, who's a fucking weapon, and Broberg's sick
too.
But like Cici's getting a little longer in the tooth.
And then Stu Skinner.
If Stu, who had a really solid playoffs, had a really, I think Stuart Skinner is like,
he's no, he's absolutely not as bad as non-Oilish fans think he is, and he's not as good
as Oilers fans think he is.
He's like a starting goal.
And I've been guilty of dog in him, but he's good.
He's a starting goaltender.
He has, he has, after this.
season in the playoffs, he has solidified himself as a number one goal.
Yes, agree.
He is a number one.
Right in my face.
And I was skeptical before, but he is a number one.
He worked with that amazing sports psychologist and got his mind right.
But we know he's prone to that stuff.
So like maybe he gets a little rattled this year early on.
Who knows?
I think it's this, Dan.
You basically get the D has issues, right?
Like you have not elite D and not elite goaltending.
If you get not much from that third line,
of Holloway who we like, Holloway, Henrique Perry.
R&H gives you 60 again.
Conner's Connor, but Hyman regresses, which I'm sure he will.
I don't think he'll regress far, but I think he'll get a little bit left for Hyman,
just because his season season was so insane.
And then, yeah, like Skinner, Leon, and RV,
which you think is supposed to be this elite second line.
That's what I'm saying is like, again, I believe in them.
I'm just saying the fear and the could is, let's be real, at their best,
At this team's best, that, oh, their team is top-heavy.
They're relying on those first two.
Well, so then you're basically saying that it's kind of the same old song and dance that it would be.
It's on the second line.
What it is, it's the two-headed horse and no one else brings the depth.
The biggest, pretty sure, sorry, what you're about?
No, no, that was it.
The biggest issue with our coulds is the Pacific, we all think is pretty weak.
Right?
Like, they could almost, the things we said are good go wrong, could go wrong,
and they could still get in.
Because they're like, oh, you know, unless...
And then you have a team like maybe Utah that comes in.
Exactly, whatever's what to say.
Unless you have these, like, ducks go crazy.
Seattle goes crazy.
Kings are not shocked, but surprise everyone with a really strong season.
Then you're like, oh, maybe you're in trouble.
Yeah.
But they could stumble and still get in.
Maybe not make waves in the playoffs.
Yeah, that's the thing.
I do think the Pacific's a little weaker.
Yeah, like, Toronto is riled up as everyone is going to be.
I'm like, but you could see it.
Like Tampa's like, fuck you where the rest of the division.
Yeah.
Yeah. I do think there's a world where Seattle might, like, really shock us.
I think they're healthy.
I think they're going to bounce back big time.
Yeah, I think they're healthy out of nowhere.
I think decor completely takes that, that number one spot.
And, like, they added Stevenson, they added Montour.
Like, they might.
And they're a hard team to play against.
Yeah.
Like, every, I feel like every team that plays against them always, it's always like a one-goal game.
Or, like, they're just not easy to play against.
So there are kids.
That's a hell of a
Leafs, Vegas and oilers
all miss next year.
Hot take,
hot take,
hot take.
That's funny.
Three scorching takes
to close us out.
Oh,
all right.
Well, that is it
for us at the
Empty Netters podcast.
Today,
uh,
another great episode filled with
just spicy stuff.
Yeah.
Spicy stuff.
But we will see you next time.
And until that.
Skate hard,
everybody.
Olivia loves a challenge.
It's why she lifts heavy weights.
And likes
complicated recipes.
But for booking her trip to Paris, Olivia chose the easy way with Expedia.
She bundled her flight with a hotel to save more.
Of course, she still climbed all 674 steps to the top of the Eiffel Tower.
You were made to take the easy route.
We were made to easily package your trip.
Expedia, made to travel.
