Gil's Arena - Gil’s Arena ERUPTS Over NBA All Star Weekend
Episode Date: February 17, 2026Gil’s Arena ERUPTS Over NBA All Star Weekend as Gilbert Arenas & The Gil’s Arena Crew react to the festivities from the NBA’s midseason classic and debate if the league finally got it right with... their Team USA vs The World Format. They react to Anthony Edwards taking home the All Star Game MVP and discuss Victor Wembanyama setting the tone as the San Antonio Spurs superstar looked to solidify himself as the future face of the NBA with his attempt to resurrect the All Star Game. They then react to All Star Saturday Night where the NBA Dunk Contest might have officially died after one of the worst showings in NBA History, sparking a debate on if the league should have invited Mac McClung back to defend his back-to-back dunk contest titles before discussing Damian Lillard winning his 3rd 3 point contest of his career despite not playing a single NBA game this year. Finally, they react to Chris Paul announcing his retirement as the NBA Point God officially called it quits after a turbulent season where he was released from the Los Angeles Clippers and debate if it was sad to see an NBA legend of his caliber go out so sorry. Please give us a Like and Subscribe!! Today's Gil's Arena Crew : Gilbert Arenas, Josiah Johnson, Rashad McCants,Brandon Jennings & Kenyon Martin Gil's Arena premieres every Wednesday & Thursday at 11:30am PT / 2:30pm ET. Sign up for Underdog HERE with promo code GIL and play $5 to get $75 in bonus funds or bonus entries https://play.underdogfantasy.com/p-gi... SUBSCRIBE: / @thearena0 Join the Underdog discord for access to exclusive giveaways and promos! / discord Must be 18+ (19+ in AL, NE; 19+ in CO for some games; 21+ in AZ & MA) and present in a state where Underdog Fantasy operates. Terms apply. Concerned with your play? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit www.ncpgambling.org; NY: Call the 24/7 HOPEline at 1-877-8-HOPENY or Text HOPENY (467369) Show Start 0:00:00 All Star Weekend Reax 0:02:09 Gil Predicted The Increase In ASW Viewership 0:14:21 Ant-Man's Mentality In The All Star Game 0:44:12 Respect Wemby's Mentality In The All Star Game 1:01:11 Is Wemby The Next Face of The NBA? 1:08:43 The Crew's Favorite Part Of ASW 1:17:51 Kenyon Reconciles With Jeremy Lin 1:23:59 Gil RIPS The Dunk Contest 1:25:07 Dame Wins The 3 Point Contest 1:43:46 How The Crew Spent All Star Weekend 1:53:47 Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
So we made it through another NBA All-Star weekend.
Yeah, I believe we are live, sir.
Where's the countdown?
It counted down. We are live, ladies and gentlemen.
Shout out to everybody.
Rocking with us.
Man, get behind that computer, get tough.
Got some unfortunate news.
We made it to another All-Star weekend,
but unfortunately, we're unable to make it to Gil's house
thanks to some hayteration from his neighborhood, H-O-A,
in their desire to not let us flourish at the crib.
But we had to bring you the show.
You know and love to recap all things,
All-Star weekend.
So this is Gills Arena presented by Underdog Woo.
We got the NBA legend and current Arc Raiders player Gilbert Arena is here with us
and represent tough crowd in the Car Carlin Country Club.
We got Mr. B.
Brandon Jennings.
We got the distinguished gentleman from Oak Cliff, former number one pick, Canyon Martin.
Last but not least, the man they call Cemetery Larry, NCAA champion of world.
Rashad McCannis is back here with us.
So we got a lot to get into, a lot to discuss.
Here's what's cracking in the Gills Arena today.
the NBA debuted the USA versus the World All-Star game format
and according to NBC, viewership was the highest it's been in 15 years
should the league continue with this format moving forward.
Wimby delivered on his promise to set the tone in the All-Star game
is the alien solidifying himself as the next face of the league.
And CP3 announced his retirement after unceremonies exit from the Clippers
and getting waved by the Raptors.
Does the future Hall of Famer deserve better?
Before we get into all that, as always,
brought to you by Underdog.
Underdog's available in most states,
including Texas, California, and Florida.
New customers get $75 a bonus entries
when they play just $5 to get started.
Just use Code Gill when you sign up
and it'll load instantly.
Underdog make picks, win money with Code Gill.
And as always, if you can't watch the show live with us on YouTube,
we have audio version available on Apple, Spotify,
wherever you get your podcast.
So let's get right into it.
It was a long productive weekend.
How's everybody feeling after NBA All-Star weekend?
I'm glad everybody's out the city
Get out
Go back home
Shit
Please
Wasn't that bad
Wasn't that bad
In the streets
Like I thought it was gonna be
I was sure anybody got robbed
Well I don't know
Not that I heard of
But I don't
I don't know
I wasn't in them areas
I tried to hang out of the way
I definitely got robbed a couple times
Yeah
What did you get robbed up?
Some work.
I thought I was the figure.
It was work thievery going down all throughout the city.
Parties get shut down.
A weekend, man.
Oh, man.
That's a paycheck.
They're looking for a paycheck.
They came here for action.
Highest, highest bidder.
And they're still going, man.
So I don't know nothing to show up next time.
Most definitely. So let's get into it.
NBA held a 75th annual All-Star Game in Los Angeles the weekend,
introducing the new USA versus the world format.
So leading up to the game, players, fans,
and both the square and new media were naturally critical of that format,
including us here at Gilzorina presented by Underdog Woo-Woop
after years of lackluster all-star games.
So the round-robin tournament featured two USA teams with eight players each,
taking on an eight-man world team.
So before the game,
Wimby pledged to play hard and encourage others to do the same,
and the alien accomplished his goal.
Game one between the younger USA Stars team in the world
went to overtime.
Scotty Barnes hit the three to seal the win for America.
Wimby naturally pissed at his teammates after the game
for allowing that open three.
Game two featured the two USA squads
with the Stripes,
aka the old head securing the wind behind some strong play
from KD, LeBron, and Kauai,
and a buzzer being three by Deer and Fox.
Game three featured the team Stripes' old head squad
taking on Wimby and his world team.
Kauai Leonard gave his home crowd a show,
dropping 31 points and 12 minutes of action to rally his squad to the win while eliminating the world team in the process.
So the final matchup featured both USA squads proceeded to be the worst of the mini-games with team stars,
smacking team strikes to win the championship.
Anthony Edwards took home his first all-star game MVP.
He had 32, 9 rebounds and three dimes across the 3-12-minute mini-games he played.
He's 59% from the field, 40% from 3.
So the talk all weekend was about the mediocre crowds over at the Intuit Dome for all.
All-Star Saturday night and Sunday at the game.
But according to NBC, 2026 NBA All-Star game drew 8.8 million viewers,
the largest since 2011, up 80% from last year,
with viewership peaking at 9.8 million viewers from 7 to 7.15 p.m. Eastern,
which was the closing minutes of the game's third quarter, quote-unquote,
when USA Stripes defeated Team World 4885.
So, shot, we're going to start with you.
Did the NBA get what it was looking for with this USA versus the world format?
Let's go back for a little bit because I wasn't known for it.
It's been about a week or two since the people have been able to see me
when it comes down to the Isaiah's stupid ruling
and then the Cam Thomas play and then the tombstones in the chat.
Then we can't show up to the crib.
This is all seems calculated, man, just to keep me off the motherfuckers' ass.
So, I mean, this is just nothing new.
I mean, we all said that Team USA was going to come out and compete because they have to.
We knew this format was going to be useful because it's going to make you competitive.
And all I heard was Anthony Edwards keeps saying that somebody set the tone.
Somebody set the tone.
Somebody set the tone.
And everybody came out to play.
You didn't see no bullshit around.
You didn't see no lolly gagging.
You've seen basketball for the first time in years.
And I think that's contributed to Brandon and I's challenge to all of the players coming in
and having these Europeans, these international players, become a threat to what the game is in the United States.
And I think we accomplished that.
I think that was obvious.
You know, it's one of those things that you just got to walk back in the age as well.
So you said you bullied the team USA players of greatness?
I think so, man.
I think we've done that a couple of times.
All right, well, let's move on to you, Mr. B.
What was your reaction?
Yeah, I mean, I feel like it was great.
You know, you got two young stars like Wimby and Anthony Edwards
that are going to be the faces of this NBA for a long time.
The viewership went up.
You know, I feel like guys were playing hard.
I mean, Coad Linder went for 31 and 12 minutes.
I mean, that's kind of unheard of.
But, I mean, just overall, you know, I think, you know, I think the NBA won on this one.
Let's move over to you, Kenyon.
Obviously, a long weekend for you.
We crossed paths numerous times this weekend at various functions around the city.
But did the NBA get what it was looking for with the USA versus the World All-Star game format?
Yeah, man, I think so.
I mean, shout out to the young guys, man, for setting the tone for coming out and setting the tone
and letting the third team know what I'm saying what it was going to be.
They came out and competed hard early.
Yeah, so I think the NBA won overall.
Yeah, it was a solid competition.
Guys went out and they gave the fans that spent their money.
They gave them something to look at, man.
So that was dope.
It was dope to see.
It was dope those guys to want to bring it back the competition of it.
You know what I'm saying?
So it was cool.
It was dope to see.
And last one at least, Gil, see you and Schott are our Twentzies in your USA jerseys.
Oh, that's so cute.
That is so cute, y'all dressed like, oh.
Twinsies, USA, USA.
Maybe I should go get my USA jersey and throw it on.
Well, maybe you should say it the correct way.
He dressed like me.
Don't put me in your cap.
He dressed like me.
Y'all just like me.
Okay.
I'm the third.
If he dress like you, then, yeah, so either way it go, we flip, yeah, y'all, y'all, y'all.
I'll go throw the other color on.
I got like 40s.
Yeah, y'all so cute.
So, Gil, let's move on to you.
Did the NBA get what it was looking for with the USA versus the world format?
Did they get what they were looking for?
What was they looking for?
I think a fresh new look on the All-Star game, getting some fans.
support getting the numbers back up NBC 8.8 million viewers largest number.
Hey, hey, what happened to all the Euro is going to beat American?
Everybody needs to strap up and y'all stop complaining and all these excuses.
How are y'all standing on the American side now?
Because who y'all had winning for the last two years got their ass smacked again for the second year in a row.
Do you know the Euro team is 0 in three against the big boys?
See, I said this last year.
I said it last year.
Last year, the same, this is very, very confusing for me.
Last year, outside of the rookies playing the year rolls, and that was a good game.
Remember, we said, damn, that was a good game.
Them young boys played the euros good, right?
And then Kenny Smith and Shaquille O'Neal game, that was really good.
That was really good.
And then the championship, it was a blowout.
Euros got blown out.
Okay.
Now, that All-Star sucked.
Remember, that was horrible.
I was a horrible All-Star, is what everyone said.
Two great games in a blowout.
This All-Star, same format.
Euros gets smacked up, some good games championship blowout.
Now, this is the best All-Star in the world because they played harder.
They competed.
Well, the Americans.
competed. The same euros didn't compete. The same
euros did not compete like they haven't competed in the last six
years. And this is the problem with the narratives. When we say
the best players in the world show up at All-Star, from Jordan to
Colby to the Diesel, LeBron James, Steff and Curry, the last six
years, the last six years, the year's has been the best players in
world, but they haven't showed up at the All-Star game, but you blame the Americans.
The last six MVP's in the league, MVP winners in the league, the last six years, they scored
a total of zero points in this All-Star game, but this was the best one ever.
The same amount of stars missed this year, actually more stars missed this year than they did
last year. The only difference is
LeBron James didn't play last year, so
it was a horrible All-Star.
The top of the
European did not play. The top four
players in the world
did not play in this All-Star game,
but it was the best?
Yeah, yeah, because
LeBron James finally decided. Because
LeBron James played.
A 41-year-old played in this All-Star,
it made it the best. Last year,
he didn't play, but everybody else played. It was
the worst. You see how that works?
Hey, Brandon, the same nigga, he
claimed that he's the best on his
team is one of the guys that didn't
play, right? What's his name, Luca?
Yeah. Luca and Joe,
he only talking about two guys.
He's talking about two guys.
Four, right?
Because the other two guys didn't play
SGA and Janus, and
then it leaves only that one guy
out there who took them
to the limit, so you got to beat us
at the buzzer by one point, and then
the other team you had to beat us by at the buzzer two
by what two points so it took us to the net you didn't smack
shit first of all and there's only one nigga out there
and then and you lose to your own the niggas go up against the
niggas and then they they get smacked they just decide not to play
no longer yeah so it kind of looked like it was supposed to look
like it did the last five years when y'all out there by yourself
you stop playing hard when the euros wasn't on the floor
but again
again
one euro too
one euro now all of them
because if mjia yon is out there
it's a different game
the international team
the world is bigger than europe
I don't want to hear what would have been
we have the results the results
are in and it's been in
for the last five years
all-star weekend
outside of the
honest and now wimby
outside of yonet and now wimby
the euros don't play hard for shit
and nobody want to say anything about it.
The numbers went up.
The numbers went up?
The number went up.
Here, we had a conversation.
The numbers went up.
The numbers went up.
I'm glad you said that.
No, I'm glad you said that.
February 26th, we sat on the couch.
It was at the All-Star break.
I said I had a conversation with NBC.
I said NBC said this year,
which was last year, this was going to be the worst all-star numbers because they had S&L, 50th of the anniversary going on, and they knew LeBron James wasn't playing.
And then they said last year that this year, they're going to say it was the highest numbers ever because they counted different.
Do you remember that ever shot?
No, I think you just made that shit up.
Like he's making, you're making shit up.
You just be making shit up.
We have the video.
We have the video.
I don't have a part of your fan, baby.
I don't just say it.
We don't need your words no more.
Let's hear the video.
We don't just say shit.
So the league already knew the numbers is going to be low.
So they're going to tell Bronz sit out and be like the views was low because Brian didn't play at all.
I said that's a script.
You did say that Saturday, Gil.
I had a meeting with NBC.
They said this is going to be the worst all-star views.
One, because people,
who watch cable TVs is old people.
Saturday night live,
50th anniversary was coming on.
That's where all the views were.
So I went in a meeting Saturday morning,
8 o'clock, and got that message.
This is Saturday I said this.
Oh, they both were doing the same thing.
They did it then and they put it now.
Same face.
There was something else big that was happening.
That from February 24, 2025,
that was our first show back in the arena
after 2025 All-Star,
weekend. So that All-Star game had the second lowest viewership in the league history.
4.7 million viewers with NBA All-Star Saturday night in 2025, drawing a record low 3.4 million
viewers as well. So all part of the master plan.
And we also have to take into account that NBC had the Winter Olympics leading into the game.
Winter Olympics has been averaging like 20 million viewers. So do you feel like those numbers
are for real?
They still did during the Winter Olympics.
What?
I said in the NBA All-Star numbers still did great with the Winter Olympics going on.
They had the Winter Olympics leading.
They had the Winter Olympics NBC let it, yeah, they're sandwiching in the All-Star game.
And they added Telemundo to it.
This was the plan that the whole time to make T&T look bad.
A fine Latino channel, Gil, that is embraced by men.
Just to make Charles Barking them look bad because they kept running off at the mouth saying the numbers was bad, the numbers was bad.
None of that changes the fact that the Americans play harder.
The Americans play harder.
The people enjoy the Americans playing harder,
and we love the product.
That's the difference.
No, the same shit happened last year,
but they didn't play harder.
Last year, right?
Same exact scores.
Wimby from the Euro is the only one that played hard.
Do you want to hear the numbers from the Euros?
No, we don't want to hear the numbers.
We watch the game.
We watched the game.
We watched the game.
We watch the game.
I don't think he watched the game.
When you watch the game, you can see
when players are playing harder.
Wendy had 14, Yoke's zero,
Murray zero, Luca, two, passed out four.
Didn't Anthony Ler say,
did he say, Wemby set the tone?
Wimby set the tone.
He said it last year.
He said it last year.
Remember he said this last year?
When he set the tone.
He said it last year.
He said it this year, too.
He said it twice this year.
He said it had to happen.
I mean, he said it at the end of the game.
You know what the problem is.
What does the score go up to?
They just play 12-minute quarters.
No, they just play 12-minute quarters this game where I read the most points.
That's the illusion.
You just, you don't make it a full game.
You make it a quarter.
So every quarter is played hard.
Instead of just saying that the game, then everybody comes out,
you just say, okay, this is the quarter.
You got to win a quarter.
They play four quarters.
You know how hard it is to lose by 20 and a quarter?
We can go through the NBA right now and look at all the records.
It is hard to lose by 20 and a quarter.
You got to be real goofy to lose by 20 in a quarter.
So every game is going to look close.
What?
What happened to that Euro talk?
We stand on it.
You didn't stand on a year old talk.
You were standing on nothing.
We had four guys and I played.
It was four guys didn't play.
What are you talking about?
I don't want to get, who are you talking about, man?
What are you talking about, man?
O and three.
Booker played five minutes.
I don't care how many.
What are you talking about, man?
He sound crazy.
In the honest way, we're not even having this conversation.
And he didn't even watch the game, bro.
He didn't even know what he talked about.
The body doesn't believe this dude.
Don't believe this dude.
He wasn't even watching the game.
He don't watch.
When Lebron.
When Lebron.
When LeBron didn't play last year, we smacked them.
Like I'm trying to figure out what excuse y'all going to keep using.
I've been telling y'all they don't play and they don't play hard,
but y'all keep wanting to do the Euro game.
They don't play or they don't play hard.
Either one, pick one.
Y'all don't play.
If they play and play hard, they don't.
Team USA.
It's only two people playing hard.
One of the European, International,
The other one is, what's his name?
Anthony Edwards.
It's only two playing hard.
Kauai played hard.
Kauai did play hard.
Last year.
Kauai dealing with some other shit.
He did with some other shit.
He better play hard.
You better play fucking hard.
You better fucking hard.
Yeah.
You better play fucking hard,
that's what you better do.
You better play hard.
You're trying to get investigations dropped.
Kauai playing like that might have been his last game for a while.
We'll just throw that out there, but.
I'm trying to get this investigation.
drop. But as a reminder, the world is bigger
than just Europe, gentlemen.
It is many countries all across the globe,
many continents.
03, 03. The only team they beat was
Candace Parker's rookie team.
They play hard, BJ.
Ooh, hell. Yeah.
The niggas play hard, didn't they?
Hey, man, the numbers is up. Hey, the numbers is up.
Hey, the numbers is up, and guess who
started it? Whimby.
Winby. An internet. Hey, man.
Come on. We got a match.
his energy. Come on, we got to match his energy.
So we asked-
So y'all came here today because y'all see,
if your team would have won, y'all'd have been running
around, yelling at Euro shit.
Now because your team got smacked both times, now it's,
oh, look, they played hard because they beat us.
Yep.
No, they played hard because they heard the conversations
and they just didn't show up.
That's why.
I'm gonna tell you, listen, I was in a Western name,
I was in the Western name with,
I'm gonna just say, Kevin Durant.
We got a little function.
Oh, God.
Oh, God.
Uh-oh.
That's where the burner shit started.
Burner Day!
We was in a function.
Y'all was in the group chat?
We was in a function.
And he said,
and he said, the Euros have a zero chance
winning any game.
They don't play hard for shit.
They lost about one point.
He did make those statements publicly as well.
He made it publicly, too?
He did say Luca and Joker.
were responsible for ruining the All-Star game,
not playing hard.
Scottie Barnes,
the American.
Scotty Barnes out of all the people.
He didn't score again.
He didn't score again.
Forget the narratives.
When is real,
when is real reporting is going to be done?
If the best players
in the world is Yokish for the
last four years,
Luca, right,
Embed, and all of these guys
are the best players in the world,
why are the best players?
held to the same standard in the All-Star game.
Yon is when-
I thought the best player, I thought the best player
is the one who starts it.
So why is, if they've been the lead dogs for the last six years,
why are the Americans being blamed for the All-Star game
and everybody's looking the other way?
On the best players, the MVP winners.
It's weird.
There's one MVP winner you're talking about, man.
SGA didn't play.
Yonis didn't play.
Those are two MVP.
Those are two MVP's that did play.
Yokic one three.
Two MVPs that didn't play.
Luke is not an MVP winner.
Is he considered...
Luca never won the MVP, so you only talk about one dude.
Now, I'm talking about the top four best players in...
Talk about one guy.
One guy, don't bring up.
Hey, hold on, Brandon, and you, because he's just one of...
Brendan, did you not say the top five best players in the league are Euros?
Yes, I did.
Okay.
Did he say the same thing?
who was the only player on the court?
Who was the only player on the court?
Am I?
I just want to ask you,
Chris.
Whimby?
The only player on the court?
Last year, no, no, there was three of them on the court.
The other one you didn't see because they didn't play hard.
So stop.
They didn't play hard.
They didn't play hard.
The game won, and then they didn't even show up the next game.
Let fucking Tatum or somebody do that.
Play fucking four minutes.
zero points or two and then don't show what the next game.
He did.
He did it in the Olympics.
We did it in the Olympics.
Jason Tatum did it in the Olympics.
No, he got bench.
Let the top four.
Let Ant-Man Tatum, let Ant-Man Tatum and two other players cade and them sit out the
All-Star game.
There would be a fucking uproar, man.
LeBron set out last year.
Uproar.
LeBron said out.
The last year.
No, Braun James set out.
One person set out the old nigger, 40 years old set out in everybody, everybody, everything
got ruined.
So how all of a sudden you make an exception for the old nigger?
Four super star in God.
I mean, he made no sense, man.
He'd be picking and choosing where he wanted to use his points and they never make sense.
What did it make sense?
LeBron didn't play.
You said, let this happen.
Let this person.
He didn't play.
He didn't play.
One didn't play last year and it was an uproar, right?
Because somebody else could have took his spot.
He made 13.
Okay, thank you for saying that, big dummy.
Now, there was four players who did not play to this one.
Somebody could have had their spots, correct?
Yep.
Yeah.
Somebody did.
Two of the niggas didn't place.
Two people didn't replace them, dummy?
What about the fuck are you talking about?
Two niggas was hurt.
If Luca was going to play two minutes and Yonke is going to play two minutes
and not play anymore, they could have just set out
and let two other people play.
Both of them niggas was hurt.
I said that when we talked about MVP considerations, y'all said it don't matter.
Because they ever's triple doubles and shit.
No, no, no, no.
Look, was hurt.
He didn't play the last game with the lectures.
He was hurt.
So he didn't play the last game.
So why didn't he say he was going to play so somebody sub in?
The LeBron James did the same thing last year.
And you give him the LeBron James treatment.
What are we talking about?
Luca and Joker took two international spots that could have went to two.
We're the international players that could have played in this game.
We see what you did last year when he didn't play.
Why aren't you having the same energy this year when two other players are doing it?
Because we don't want to give you the benefit of the doubt.
That's why.
All right.
There we go.
So let's shift the Kenya real quick.
What did you think about the world showing in this 2026 NBA All-Star game?
Man, let them keep going.
Okay.
You know.
I just.
Hey, no, I mean, it is what it is.
man, now they showed up, they played.
It's just one quarter, like Gil said.
It's not a complete game, man.
It's just one quarter.
So you're not going to lose about 20 in a quarter.
So.
Well, how do you feel about Luca and Yokic only playing five minutes in the first game?
Luca obviously done with the hamstring injury, but taking two spots from two worthy.
Well, he's fighting, he's fighting injury.
We know that.
So he shouldn't have sued up at all.
That could have been a spot from somebody else.
And Nicole are the same way.
He's just not coming back from injury.
So I think those spots could have went to someone else.
We all know that they are all-stars, yes, but there was no need for them to play in the game if they wasn't healthy.
So if you're not all the way healthy, like Steph set out, he wasn't right.
Yonet said out, he wasn't right.
So they should have followed that suit.
Other guys that probably would have had more of an impact on the game could have got those spots, of course.
But they didn't, and we are where we are.
But no, it is what it is.
It was better competition.
each quarter.
So I don't know if they keep this format going,
but it's tough not to compete in one quarter.
It really is.
So the way it is, the guys are going to compete.
I thought it was a gimmick going into it, of course.
But they made me eat my words, of course,
which is cool.
You know what I'm saying?
Them guys went out and competed, which I'm happy to see.
They made it a complete game.
about a fourth quarter those some of those guys are gas you know they can't guys can't keep up that same intensity for four quarters so and that was proven you know so we'll see if they try to tweak it a little bit in that regard but for the most part I think it was it was a success and the way the format was it allowed viewership to be up because the game is viewed in different countries
And it is supported in those countries with the guys that were playing.
So they made the viewership numbers up.
So cool.
And we asked Gilz Arena.
We asked our chat if they were rocking with the USA versus the world format.
75% of our chat said that they liked this USA versus the world format.
Wait a minute.
Say what?
Say what?
Wait a minute.
Did you say 75%?
75% of the chat said that they liked the format.
The same format.
The 12 minute game.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
But same format that was last year?
But they didn't like it last year.
The same format that was last year.
Like, do you, like, do you see where I'm coming from?
You didn't like this last year.
You didn't like the results last year, but you liked the same results this year.
They play hard.
They didn't last year.
Like, like, hey, you didn't last year, didn't have a lot of, like, stoppits between.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
So three hours long, there was.
only 30 minutes of game action.
There was a Kevin Hart comedy special,
Mr. Bates, concerts, all other types of shit going on.
Too much bullshit going on.
So this year, I think that was the biggest issue
to last year.
So what was that type of stuff?
Yeah, keeping people in attention span for that long,
man, people wasn't that engaged from the beginning
is going to be tough either way and go.
But I'm saying?
So, no, they deal what they had to do, man,
to keep people engaged and,
and, you know what the best part about it is,
Kenyon.
The championship was what, East versus West?
Yes.
Yeah.
Young versus old, you know, we don't care how to get to it, dog.
East versus West.
I'm going to be little babies in there, man.
You can do the rookies, you can do the year olds, you can go, you can do the Hispanic team.
We don't get, at the end of the day, in the
year versus West, okay?
You can do the Park League brawlers.
It don't matter.
The champions is going to be the USA team.
Okay?
They're not trying to hear none of that Euro talk.
As long as one of them win, they are fine with it.
Yeah.
They split the team.
We're going to go young end old.
Young and O, y'all beat on them and then we're going to beat on them.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I mean, yeah, when they're not all together.
We're all together.
Right.
He was saying.
He was out there playing defense, taking a ball out, drinking a gatorade, something to play.
He was trying everything to get a win, trying to get those lazy-ass players to play.
I'm sorry, Wemby.
Hey, I know one thing you can't do, Wemby.
There's two different type of year roles that's running this league,
and that's playing hard in an all-star game.
Your color's fine, okay?
Your color's fine.
They're playing hard, okay?
Y'all, you're fine.
You got to get the other ones.
It's the other ones that's having a problem with it.
There's the more other ones.
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
You know Murray, you know Murray, real light skin,
so he'd fall on the other side
because he has zero.
The lighter shade of Euros, Gil.
Yeah, the lighter shade of Euro didn't play too hard.
Gil, do you want to see a Hispanic team
next year in the All-Star game? You can roll out.
Nah, nah, nah.
We don't want to see no Booleg Jordans out there, man.
It's going to cause hazards.
No, you got to stop that, man.
All right.
But all across the board,
8.8 million views peaked at nearly 10 million.
Obviously, had the Winter Olympics as the lead in.
Like I mentioned, Winter Olympics doing about 20 million viewers,
I think every single day since it's been on.
So you had that bump.
The last games,
since however long you can remember,
have all been on TNT.
So it's cable versus network.
Obviously, NBC included Peacock,
Telemundo, like I mentioned,
a fine Latino network.
But do you feel like these numbers are for real?
Are they juicing these numbers a little bit to make this game seem bigger than what it was?
No, I think the numbers are what they are because it's viewed in other countries.
Like people represent other countries and the game is viewed there.
So, yeah, I think it's that.
I don't think they juice in the numbers.
I just think it's they gave more people incentive to watch.
Right?
The different countries represented.
So, yeah, I just think, yeah.
I think that's why the numbers are what they are this year.
Yep, and that's why I think, too, why they added another third team
because they need to get their views up because the best players in the NBA are international players.
Just unfortunately, some of them can't play, some of them don't want to play,
some of them only play five minutes.
But at the end, the viewership is going to go up because the international players are running the league.
And so that's going to cause the numbers to keep going up because now you've got different guys from different countries
that never, that you never even saw play,
that the country get the chance to see him play.
So, yeah, I mean, the NBA's winning at this point.
I mean, and that's because of the international players
being the best in the fucking league.
So we asked the chat, did you guys all like the game?
I mean, at the end of the day, I enjoyed it.
I didn't watch the game last year.
I thought it was ass.
It was hard to really, you know, wrap my head around.
I felt like this when they got to it,
the games were quick, the turnover between games was very quick,
wasn't a lot of dead air in between the,
games and even the last game which was mid.
I'm itching from bullshit.
Hey, so this year, the views are up because of the international.
I would say it was on network TV.
Okay, okay.
I would say that helps.
Because last year, it was the same actual international players.
They just added Luca this year.
Luca wasn't there last year.
So last year, those year old players and that year old team got the second lowest views ever.
And this year is the highest.
It's because of network.
It's because they're giving you the numbers that they want to give you.
And I've always tried to explain this.
There's two type of numbers that people are using.
Right.
Like right now, there's 13,000 people in the chat, right?
So every 30 minutes, let's say a PIN goes out, we can see.
say, hey, there was an average of 13 million or 12.5 or 14 with a high.
Then there's overall number, meaning when it's done and it's done rendering,
24 hours go by, then we can give you all, right?
They give you what they want to give you.
That's why I said it last year.
I said T&T and Warner should sue for the numbers because they're reporting them wrong
to make them numbers look back.
But you're not going to spend $11 billion and you think there is a crisis with viewership.
You're not going to overpay because when you look behind the hood, you get to see the real shit.
You get to see the real numbers.
I get to see average.
I get to see total.
And then I get to see all the overseas numbers that's going to come in when they finish watching Wimby.
Because when Wimby play day sleeping, then they got to rewatch together.
I get all that shit when I'm trying to buy something,
but I don't have to report it to you.
So how can you tell me a year before in a meeting
that this is going to be the highest numbers?
And then boom, it's the highest numbers.
In 15 years ago, but 15 years, you know,
it's been on TNT that whole time in between it.
And that 2011 game was cracking.
The 2011, what 2011 game was on TNT too, right?
Yeah, Kobe won the MVP.
Yeah, other than that, all big numbers, all big, all big numbers has been on NBC, right?
For by and large.
Yeah.
Who performed at the Super Bowl halftime show?
Bad Bunny.
Bad Bunny?
Is that he international, right?
Puerto Rico, technically he's Puerto Rican.
He's an American.
Is he an international superstar?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
He's beloved.
Is he a global icon?
Okay.
Okay.
He's built by work of many denominations.
So when you promote Bad Bunny to perform at the Super Bowl halftime show,
all of his fan base is going, that's why they picked him.
So when you promote the world versus the USA during All-Star,
people are going to tune in for that promotion.
Specifically, it's being promoted.
We're going to play this at the All-Star game.
Not the Candace Parker shit, not the team this, no, these two teams.
These two Pacific, this person versus this person.
Winby versus and this is what we're matching up against who you represent and what side you're going to pick.
I think that just says the lie.
It says enough to get people to watch.
You don't have to hide the numbers to see that.
So when you said bad money, why did you use that?
It wasn't LA too.
It wasn't LA.
Why did you use that?
It was in LA too, huh?
No, no, no, what I'm saying is why did you, one was in San Francisco, which is international.
Hey, so why did you use Bad Bunny?
What was that reference for?
Global icon.
I mean, usually any superstar that's going to perform at Super Bowl is going to be global.
No, not like Bad Bunny.
He is the global icon.
He is the global icon, but he comes in third place right now, but behind Michael Jackson and Kendrick Lamar.
Michael Jackson has been dead.
What are you talking?
He's been dead.
But his performance was still bigger.
What are you talking about?
We're not talking about the performance.
We're talking about what he means to the world.
Oh, what he means to the world.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
That means a lot.
You thought he was number one.
And because I said he's number three,
you want to change it up.
I didn't think he was nothing.
What are you talking about?
He's a global icon.
He's a global icon.
What are you talking about?
Well, a global icon didn't be Kendrick Lamar.
How about that?
That has nothing to do.
I'm talking about his fan base.
Okay, his fan base still didn't be Kendrick Lamar.
Try it doesn't have to.
It didn't.
It didn't have to.
It didn't have to.
It did.
But the statement you were trying to make.
No, it wasn't.
That wasn't the statement I was trying to make.
Tell us what you were trying to say when you were guessing.
You're guessing.
You're guessing.
You're guessing.
What were you saying when you were trying to bring up bad bunny?
I wasn't saying anything.
Of course you wasn't.
Good try, though.
I know.
Nice try.
Fellas, let's stick together.
We defeated the world.
We defeated all those Americans come together.
You're talking about the view.
He's, hey, he's,
he's, about the Super Bowl views.
Yeah.
We, we.
Yeah, he was trying to, he was trying to say,
but what he was trying to do with him?
How do you go tell me what I'm trying to say?
You're not right, bro.
You're wrong.
Okay, tell us what you were trying to say.
Like, how the fuck do a,
a dick and tell you what you're trying to say?
Like, what is what you're trying to say when you broke a bad bunny?
What the fuck?
Then tell us what you're trying to say.
Big dog.
Hey, Ken.
Can you look behind you?
Hey, can you look behind you?
Is that the devil shot over there, lying?
What's that, Fred?
He lied on that what you are.
I hear you, man.
I said, did Bad Bunny have the highest views for the Super Bowl this year?
Nope.
No, third, I believe, behind MJ and Kendra.
See, that's the scene.
He thought that's, you see where he tried to do it?
Now he thought.
He thought Bad Bunny had the number one because of his nationalism.
got his ass smacked again.
If I'm talking about promotion of an international superstar,
which Kendrick is a domestic superstar
who can reach national, international realms.
Bad Bunny is a global international icon.
Don't matter his numbers.
You promote him to get third.
Bad Buddy shouldn't be third if he wasn't that good
or he didn't have that reach.
But he's third because he has a fucking arm.
audience.
Kendrick Lamar's audience
went global because he smacked
Drake.
Michael Jackson is
Michael Jackson because he's Michael Jackson.
If you got one, two, three,
shit, it's good company to be
number three in that, in that order.
So world versus
the USA, where's
that? That would you say the numbers
were in how many years, 15?
What are we talking about?
numbers, highest viewership 15 years on linear TV.
I don't know what?
I'm just trying to make points he think he already know I'm going to make, but it's all good.
Help me.
Yeah, Brenny, he wants you to help him so bad, man.
I don't need help, man.
75% of the people agreed that they love the format.
What the fuck I need help for?
Yeah, no, I mean, if the fuck I need help, 70%.
And my question is why you didn't love it last year.
Say four bad.
I don't have to, because they play harder this year.
That's why.
Oh, and three, sir.
They play harder this year, that's why.
That's why.
Zero and three.
I was cheering for them Americans out there sweating.
Monefuckers out there sweating with me.
They were working hard.
They were working hard.
They were out there sweat, wouldn't they?
We know one, we know one group of,
people you was not rooting for and that wasn't Americans.
You was hoping, you was praying that they lost.
It's all right, man.
But you guys both are today, Tuesday and Gills Arena, Twensies, both rocking the USA
basketball shirt, supporting this great nation.
I'm representing the USA.
He had to jump sides.
I live in the United States of America.
It's all right, man.
We get it.
I still focus
to the United States
American women
shout out to the work
shout out to all the work
watching this show
0 and 3
I'm keeping up
oh yeah
speaking of
hey
your man
boxed me out the night
hey
you know I'm in a chilling
you know
I don't know
no action
when I'm out
I got my wife out
this thing
and the third
hey your man
hey
you may hit me with
hey watch out
and that's me
you nigga
Yeah, me.
Watch out.
And, nigga, excuse me, sister.
Can you touch that way later on the shoulder?
Thank you very much.
Hey, nigga, box me out, dog.
We at the bar talking.
He saw her.
Hey, watch out, though.
I got something to do.
Like, yeah, dog.
Hey, cool, bro.
Shout out Gravitas.
Yes, Lord.
Shout out the fifth quarter of Domino's event.
Yeah, I got my ass kick, too.
In Beverly Hills, permits were secured.
Function went on as planned.
Absolutely.
We were turning up at Beverly Hills.
I don't know what everybody else was doing.
But let's talk a little bit about the Americans,
specifically Ant Man, like I said,
All-Star Game MVP.
Are we still talking about this?
God.
Damn.
What else we're going to talk about?
There wasn't no other shit going on.
True.
Katie's burners?
I don't know.
I'm waiting for Katie to say,
confirm or deny if it was his burner or not.
We can really discuss that.
And we're almost an hour in talking about the fucking All-Star game.
It was a glorious weekend here in the beautiful city of Angels, can you?
That it was, but God damn.
Now we're talking about the American side.
Shit, we talked about them already, too.
But after smacking the O'Heads in the championship game,
Ant Man had this to say about getting the win over his favorite player
and the rest of Team Stripes.
Hold on, we're killing it up.
Lane Jum, you got bear with it.
Whenever you go against Kevin Durant, it's always a lot of fun.
old heads, as you put it?
What does it mean to show them that the new guard has something a little bit, too?
I mean, it means a lot.
You know, those guys paved away for us, you know what I'm saying?
Bruns, Steph, KD., Kauai, all those guys.
You know, and all we're trying to do is repay it by, you know, giving them bill.
So repay it by giving them built, that which they did, smacked up by 26 in the championship
game.
Do you guys respect Ant Man's mentality in the All-Star game?
Hell, yeah, I do.
I respect everything.
And also, man, man, he had a crazy setup at LA Live for All-Star Weekend, too, like a whole carnival thing.
So his whole marketing, everything just in general has been crazy.
But, no, man, his, I mean, that's just who he is.
He likes to compete.
That's why I said the All-Star game is probably going to be highlighted around him and Wemby a lot.
You know, just because they seem like they're the only two that's actually really taking a series.
But, yeah, man, you know, he's been like this since day once he came in.
So I have nothing more respect for him.
Can you rock a win?
Adidas.
Adidas running all-star weekend.
Adidas running all-star weekend.
Yeah.
The young boys got something to prove, obviously.
You know, it's their time and they want to...
The way the teams were set up,
they wanted to show Braun and them
that y'all can stack your deck to try to win it,
but, you know, we're going to go out here and try to get that W.
Because when you look at the lineups, the way it was done,
one team did try to, they tried to grab as much talent as possible.
But the young boys have something else to say.
And they got that Victor Ray.
It's a young man's league, dog.
They can sustain that intensity for longer now, right?
Kaua went out, he shot his lobe.
He was done for the rest of the game.
I'm saying, done for the other quarter, man.
Like, you know how bad you got to be to lose about 26 in a quarter?
In a 12-minute span, as good as he was in that, when he scored 31,
that unit was equally as bad.
So, but, now, Anthony Edwards, man, you got to love him, man.
Like, just doing the game, his interview doing the game.
like he just don't care.
Like, I love it.
Like his,
his just realness in moments, man.
I know I told him,
Lash,
I think he needed to grow up
in order to be better,
but fuck it.
Hey, continue to be you, young man.
Like,
hey,
continue to cutts doing live interviews
and doing in between quarters.
Like,
he was like,
shit.
I'm like,
yo,
gave him belt.
Did the league do the old heads dirty
making him play three straight games,
though?
No,
they could have lost.
They didn't make them.
Yeah, they could have lost.
Yeah, they didn't make them.
They were out of players.
We knew America was winning, can you?
He was playing against the lazy players, so it was an easy win.
Lazy international.
They didn't want a quarter they had to win,
but now they didn't make them play three straight.
Well, they had no choice, Ken.
They were going to represent this great nation.
They were not going to allow the world team
to advance to the championship round under any circumstance.
Well, cool.
Hey, well, there you have it.
Go out and get your asses by 26.
You know what?
I'm gonna say,
you know how bad.
Like, you ain't get no stops.
Like, not one.
Like, you ain't got one.
Stop.
Stop.
I would say the same thing last year
when the Euros got their ass blown out
in the championship.
And he lost by 16.
Like, how do you lose by 16 in the championship?
You only go into this?
You only go into 40.
How do you lose?
How you only scored 20?
Going to 40, you know?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, no, but hey, no, man.
No, listen, one thing them young boys
going to do, man, them young boys, they
go out and compete against one another
because they still fighting on who the big dog is in the league, right?
So they still trying to, like you said,
they, they, the, KD, LeBron, Steph,
they paved away from them guys, right?
They're passing the torch.
So they still fighting on who, I'm saying,
who going to be the alpha.
So when the world is watching, they want to display.
And I think Anthony Edwards understands
that, you know, so he's going to go out and compete. It's unfortunate, Shady didn't play,
because I think he would have, he would have competed as well because he still, even though
he's league MVP, he still fight for who the dog is. I'm going to be the alpha. So I think him
not being out there hurt, hurt the world team, of course, but.
Last hit in the championship, you have four. Yeah, but this is a different year, Gil.
Four powerful points, Gil, four Canadians.
All right. I'm just thinking this is a different year, Gil. That's all I'm saying.
In a quarter, he's a finisher.
That's all I'm saying.
Like, they ain't just playing 12 minutes.
So I think in a 12-minute quarter,
he would have helped more than him not being there.
You know what to help too?
They absolutely went on vacation like they were supposed to.
Hey, because look, I'm just trying to figure out.
Like, because you know, Lugo don't play no defense in the NBA game.
What do you think his all-star defense
going to look like?
What do you think Yokish all-star
defense's going to look like
if they was actually playing together?
But you see, that's what I didn't mention them.
So I just think that's going to move the needle.
Of course, of course.
That's what I was saying.
But that's things, because SGA is a finisher in quarter.
So he would have, I just think he would have helped in that moment.
Like having the ball in his hand down the stretch,
more efficient guy from the line.
And so just this good.
The little things I think he could have helped with it in a 12-minute quarter,
both games on both quarters that they played.
Yeah.
I like to go there.
Because it's not a game.
Let's stop calling it a fucking game.
I mean, we're at the end of the day, it will be.
It's a 12-minute quarter.
It's a mini-game, Kenya, a mini-game.
No, no, it's a 12-minute quarter, Josiah.
There's a winner and a loser, though.
There will be a international player in the final.
In most quarters, in the NBA.
In most quarters, in the NBA, Josiah,
there's a winner in most quarters.
and some quarters are tied like it was in the first game.
So yes, but it was a quarter.
It's a 12-minute quarter.
Not a damn damn any game.
Sometimes when you tie, you actually win or lose.
Can you remember that third quarter?
I can remember that third quarter,
World Team, were up nine.
Kauai had to score like 12 straight.
Guess what?
At least he could do in his home menu.
He did it, goddamn it.
What happened?
He had that goddamn thing going.
He did.
The world team was up what?
Yes, he did.
And they couldn't play no defense
and he got outscored by Kauai.
Yeah, he had that thing going in the third.
So, right.
It was good to see Kauai in that, like, in that mode.
I ain't going to even hold you, bro.
Yeah, that's what it was.
It was impressive.
It was impressive.
Like, I was on the edge of my seat.
Like, yo.
Not a game.
Hey, hey, now they threw the ball up the floor one time
and somebody had the ball.
I'm like, yo, if you shoot this ball and you don't swing this bitch, man,
like, I got a real issue.
Yeah.
He had that bitch on.
They had that bitch on.
He had that bitch on flea.
Like, because he was playing against the internationals.
They've been rubbing.
They didn't have been talking about them.
And he decided he was about the bust they asked.
Is that when he had 31?
He was giving, I am the captain now, all that work, huh?
Yeah.
I mean, he got sent home last year.
I mean, he got sent home last year by international.
He got him. He sent the asses home this year. We don't want to hit nothing like.
No, no, no. Keep it the All-Star weekend. Keep it all-star weekend. You don't want to talk about last year. That's what you said. What happened? What happened right here?
Oh, well, we know. Internationals had a chance to pop one old man and he gave the asses all of 31. That's all I know.
31. Yeah, keep a little funky-ass all-star game. We have to not all-star game. But now when they come down to the Hapy.
Now it's funky.
Hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, before the game they were talking,
bring your five, we're going to bring our five.
That's what you was talking.
Get our five played.
Parwai Leonard.
Hawaii Leonard went out there and shut that shit.
You know how Steph look against Paris?
DJ.
I was looking.
DJ, you're not going to compete.
DJ, you're not competing with no bigger.
That bad at his own jokes, man.
You're not.
You're not going to compete.
Don't be trying to open talk, no nigger at his own.
You all don't compete, right?
You're international.
You don't compete.
You didn't.
He got you 31.
There's nothing you can do about it.
Okay.
Okay.
When you talk about how beautiful the 31 is,
tell me the team it was against.
Shit.
Tell me the team it was against.
That's all I want to hear about.
I want to hear about that.
I know one thing is going to be quiet on the arena.
the end of the year.
And once the MVP,
it ain't going to be no American.
I know that much.
You can go to know there in Jersey.
Talk about the international players
still running this shit.
Like I said,
take a little all-star game
that's I had because people didn't play.
But you know,
when the MVP come and everything come,
you already know what time it is.
It's going to go back.
They won't be no American.
It's going to go back to that motherfuck
to move up horses.
That's what's going to go back to.
It's going to go right back over there
to the horse.
Night.
It's,
it's going to be sitting on that motherfuckering.
man, these fucking Americans,
can't fucking do shit.
Fucking, god damn it.
When it really matters,
they don't give a call.
I mean,
that conversation is kind of irrelevant
because if Luca wins and he's in the-
No, I mean, no, I mean, it's not.
It's relevant.
It's probably be cheering, so.
It's going to be an international player.
Okay.
So this is our point of everything.
Okay.
No, your point was they was going to,
no, your point was for the last two years
that you put them together,
they will beat the USA,
team. That was your point.
And they weren't all together.
They clearly weren't all together.
And they are O and three.
They are O' and three.
They weren't all together.
How about last year? You had your team?
They were they playing all together?
Huh?
Were they playing all together?
Yeah, last year there was all the international
was on one team last year. You remember?
You don't remember?
How many minutes?
Luca played five minutes.
They played five minutes.
What is he don't want to play?
What is that?
He don't want to play.
He was hurt.
He don't want to play.
play he was hurt how about that's what kenyon said can you said it's hurt how about every other year
was he hurt every other year that he didn't talk about this year listen of course i'm moving the
gold pose i don't need to move the gold pole i'm moving the gold pose no see the the problem is
being moved when you talk about championship that's that's that's that's months away what i talk about
has already happened i mean at the end of the day everything
The last six years has already happened.
We know what Lucas stats are in the All-Star game.
We know what Yokish stats are in the All-Star game.
So we know who's playing hard and the rest of them.
Huh?
Don't stop saying just two guys.
Say the rest of the guys.
Stop just saying two guys.
Okay.
All right.
I didn't know you want me to say that.
We know what Pascal numbers are in the Austin.
We want to, we know what Sangoon numbers are in the All-Star is zero.
I don't know if he fucking scored a point.
in the all-star game yet I think I think I think you got a bucket you got a bucket
you got a bucket oh shit oh no oh shit BJ BJ I'm pretty sure you put us in
fucking two all-star games and you play us fucking ten quarters I'm pretty sure we can
get two points you know how lazy you gotta be to score two points and all the goddamn
and all the goddamn All-Stars you've ever played in.
Yolkidjad, how much zero last game?
Yes.
I could have scored zero points in six minutes.
I think Shane, go ahead a free throw.
He had one point in a two points.
Huh?
How many points do you have?
How many points do Wimby?
How many points in Yonnes for?
And they- How many points do Wimby?
So Wimby had 33 points across the two games
that the world played.
Victor Wamba Wamba.
Yeah.
Now you want to name the rest of them?
The only one I care about.
Yeah, of course.
Of course.
33, 8 rebounds, three blocks across the too many games he played before they got eliminated
by the top flight teams of the world, Craig.
How much the Pascal average?
How much you score?
Over four.
Don't even look at it right here.
But don't ask.
If you already.
How much the yogish score?
Two.
Don't even worry about it.
How about Luca?
I think Luca might have had two.
Yokish might have went.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Just making sure you're on point.
Yeah, Luca had two, Yokers went donut.
Don't trick me.
Hmm.
And that's crazy.
Because he had two last year and he had two last.
So between the, because he had two, the first game last year and two,
two points in the championship last year, too.
And this is our MVP of the league.
Hey, what's up with that three-point contest or something like that?
Can we talk Wimby first?
I'm trying to stretch this, Gil.
Oh, let's talk to Wimby.
Let's give Wimby some loves.
Y'all already talked about all the other play.
But first, let's go back to Ant Man.
We asked the chat if they respect Ant Man's mentality in the All-Star game.
95% of the chat said they were running with Ant-Man's mentality
to give the old heads the belt in winning that championship,
his first NBA All-Star game MVP.
So like we said, Wimby leading up to NBA All-Star weekend,
very vocal about wanting to play hard to hear nigger i'm still here no matter how many time you cut that
shit off and you come back i'm here okay what happened all right what happened pick a boo i'm
still here trying what he's talking about my bad just hi he's been trying to turn me y'all he been trying to
come back here and he's going to chase something because we're up here still
Try it.
If you knew, if you knew what I was doing, you would.
Okay.
All right.
We'll wait to the street.
Okay.
You can say that now.
Okay.
Pekaboo.
Okay.
We can do that.
We can play the peekaboo game if you want to.
Okay.
Cool.
Yeah.
We can play that game.
Okay.
Yeah, all right.
I'm not.
We don't want to be.
Okay.
Like you want to pick a boo game?
Okay.
We don't want to pick a boo.
Ladies and gentlemen, as much as we love doing this show,
we will be back in a location very soon.
I need to see all your faces.
The energy is just not the same.
We're apart from each other.
Not energy, same.
It's hard.
I can't see no books.
I can't see what chapters we're referring to and none of that stuff.
All you can see is tombstones in the chat.
That's all you need to know.
Let them tell you what it mean.
The HOA, the first two letters.
Yeah, but what were you saying about Libby?
So I said leading up to All-Star Weekend,
Wimby very vocal about wanting to play hard,
convincing others to do the same.
He delivered on that promise like we talked about,
came through with 33 points, 8 rebounds,
three blocks, and there are too many games.
His team played in before getting eliminated.
So during his All-Star MVP interview,
Ant-Man credited Wimby was setting the tone for the game,
getting others to do the same.
But we have this clip right here.
So we're going to run this clip of Wimby talking about being,
all right, we're going to wait to do that.
But do you guys respect Wemby for setting the tone in the All-Star game?
Let's hold that.
Let's hold that clip.
We'll run it in a second.
Do y'all respect Wemby for setting the tone in the All-Star game?
Yeah, I do.
I mean, he cares about it.
I mean, at the end of date, man, it's still the All-Star game, right?
That's on your legacy, you know what I'm saying?
A lot of people dream to play in the All-Star game.
So to be able to play in the All-Star game,
you know, I never was able to, but I'm sure it meant a lot to him growing up as a kid.
And he wants to be the face of the NBA, you know what I'm saying?
So it does start in the All-Star game because that's when everybody gets a chance to see all the players come together.
And when, you know, you have your body that's the best on the court at the same time, you know, you want to show up.
So, you know, I respect it for sure, of course.
I respect it to, like, a certain degree.
And what I mean by that is it's easy to say you want to play a play.
hard because the narrative is they don't play hard and we need to get back to, you know,
what we used to do, right? So it's easy to be the guy to say, oh, this is what I'm going to
bring, right? I just respect him more for just going out there and playing. But at the end of the day,
you can sense everybody else's mood across the lead to the point where they'll rather
sit out and they'll rather do this because being there three times,
sitting in the locker room,
most of the conversation has nothing to do with All-Star Weekend.
It's about the rest of the season, matchups,
and getting ready for pushing your team to the playoffs
and chip.
So most of those guys, to be honest,
that's their own, that's the longest time they get a rest.
So for the most part, they're trying to rest
that weekend to get ready for,
the second half of the season,
which is a grind,
which is a grind game.
So no matter how hard he wants to play,
for the most part,
the consensus is going to be, man,
I need to rest up and get off my legs
as much as possible during its four or five day weekend.
But don't you get like another week off too now?
I don't know what it is now.
No, no, because the first game is tomorrow, right?
When is the first game?
I think it'll come back.
To Thursday, maybe.
Let me check.
So Thursday, yeah.
Just Thursday.
So they get a week.
Four days.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So you get seven days now?
Yeah.
So full seven days?
Yeah.
So now, imagine in the middle of the season.
Imagine the middle of the season, you get seven days rest.
Right right before the point.
No, no.
I mean, I get it.
But planning that, but when you want to play hard in a game that you could just, you know,
still still be in a rhythm?
and like still be in that moat because seven seven days off i mean
man that's a long time when we play was the king and three
or four just get just get that weekend shit
so the next game was back Tuesday right
Tuesday yeah first game's Tuesday
yeah last game Thursday first game Tuesday
first game Tuesday absolutely
yeah
then some of the better so let's let's say like if
cold like cold like cold like
them, dunking them.
They game would be probably Thursday.
They'll probably get the Thursday, Wednesday game.
Everybody else will get the Tuesday game.
So Kenyon, Gil, you guys both played in All-Star games.
Obviously, can you play an All-Star game in L.A.
back in the day, Gil, you played in three All-Star games.
What was your mentality going into that first All-Star game?
And were you trying to play hard in that game
and did it shift at all once you started playing
and seeing how the other guys were playing in it?
Well, I didn't know that was going to be my last one.
Let's start there.
Right.
Didn't think I would be changing conferences.
I thought I would be a perennial all-star in the east.
That was my coming out party,
had 17 in the game.
Didn't know how to approach it,
so I was fortunate enough to have my port guard there
and that had multiple games under his belt already.
And also a weekend and Jake Head.
So I just asked him, I'm saying,
how should I approach it?
He just told me, go out and be you.
right so him saying that like i didn't
i didn't have an off switch like i don't know how to not play hard
so he just told me go out and be you right so i went out and i had 17 in the game
um so no it was cool man it was dope environment um
but yeah just go out and try to enjoy the um the festivities as much as you can
while the game is going on but yeah no i just would just have fun man
and gil how about yourself um um
The first one, you know, obviously you're excited about it, right?
You know, new experience, more jittery, like, you know, that it's like that first day of school.
Obviously, everybody, let's go play hard.
Let's go out there.
Let's go beat the West Coast team, right?
You know, get this extra bonus.
And then, you know, at some point in the game, something happens and then, you know, everyone always says in the locker room,
you know, we're going to go out there and play hard.
Then all it takes is one person to do something stupid, right?
Let it lay up go by, shoot some shit from half court, throw the ball in the shack, he gets
foul, rep don't call it, then he, now I'm good, right?
That's how it starts off, right?
So you're just playing, trying to throw highlights for the crowd, and then if the game is
close to the fourth quarter, then they play that fourth quarter hard and try to win the game.
Maybe it's close enough to win it.
So that's how all three experiences were.
They did the first three quarters is there to just throw the laws back doors do all that stuff, you know, and then whoever's trying to win the NDP, obviously he's going to crank it on that side and our side.
So, you know, on that side it was cold.
On our side, it was, I think, AI at one point, then LeBron, Shaq maybe.
But, you know, it was, it was, you know.
That's real talk.
Let's get back to this current game.
We're going to move on the All-Star Saturday in just a second.
But next face of the league has been the subject of discussion,
obviously with LeBron, KD, Steph, all in the twilight of their NBA careers.
Wimby was asked about it during All-Star weekend on several occasions,
including this exchange you had with Chris Haynes for NBA TVs, the association.
How do you view that's the first thing happening?
I think it's the crucial course of things, you know, supply and demand, you know.
And I'm here to support.
supply and demand. He's here to supply. Shai, what do you think about Wemby saying?
It's a natural course for him to become the face of the league.
Well, for one, I want to just say that Wendee playing hard in the All-Star game is him taking
a book out of Colts chapters of just going in there and making a point, you know,
solidify who you are with the best players on the floor, regardless if they play hard or not.
I commend him for keeping that energy that Cove always brought to the game.
And then him wanting to be the face to supply,
I think that's commendable for him because not everybody want to step in those shoes.
Everybody just kind of want to be giving that kind of stuff.
So for him, I think he wants to take it.
He wants to go out there.
He wants to show the world that he is,
the NBA product that everybody should be following behind.
And he's showing it.
Men's restrictions, men out there 25 and 12.
Team is second place, number one pick.
You know, he's got the look, he's got the size.
He's everything that everybody, when they come down to the kids
and Janice's kids looking up to him and loving how he plays.
And it's just he got a good feel about his energy for him to go overseas
and be with the monks and being able to get his energy right after that scare.
I think he appreciates life a lot.
more. Mr. B, what do you think about
when be embracing the challenge of
becoming the next face of the league?
I mean, I respect it. I mean, yeah. I mean, you know,
what player wouldn't want to be, I mean, you know, a lot of players
don't want to be the face, but, I mean, realistically, I don't think we ever had
an international player be the face of the league.
And I think even when Janus was winning it,
when SGA was winning, Yokic, all those guys, even Steve Nash
was winning MVP's and Dirk won it. They still
wasn't the face of the league.
I just think where the league is going to go, there's going to be multiple faces.
You know, you're definitely going to use a guy like Wimby because you still got
Ant Man, you know what I'm saying?
You got Jason Tatum, and you've got a couple of other Americans too.
So I can see them putting faces and making, you know, just certain people just like the face of the league.
I don't think it would just be one person.
Kenya, how about yourself?
What do you think about Wimby's comments embracing that challenge and becoming the face of the NBA?
Yeah, no, he has the market ability to be that.
But I agree with Brandon.
I just don't.
I've always thought the league has,
this is Michael Jordan, of course.
I think they've done an excellent job
of putting other guys out there.
You know what I'm saying?
I don't think it's just been one face.
It might promote one guy a little more than others.
But I think it's held down by guys
that's getting it done night in and night out, right?
They do an excellent job.
Those are guys that you see, right?
the guys that's put the time in the guys that's gotten it done year and year out.
They're always on national television.
Commercials have time, those things.
I think as of late, the more businesses that's coming to the NBA,
that reach has expanded for different guys to be seen in different households
through commercials and ads and different ventures and things like that.
So, yeah, I think he's going to be one of the faces of the NBA moving forward,
along with the guy like Shay, Anthony Edwards.
You still have Jason Tatum around.
And there's going to be some more guys in there that's coming up, Cooper Flag and those guys.
So, yeah, I can see him being one of the faces that can reach multiple household
and multiple countries and been an international guy.
So, yeah, I think he'd be one of the faces like B said.
Gil, you like to hear Wimby talking like this, though?
I'm saying at least bracing it.
Ant Man's been asked about it a bunch and said he's not tripping.
Y'all got Wimby.
I'm not really concerned about all that stuff.
I just want to hope other guys been asked as well, kind of shot away from,
but you got Wemby running right to it.
You know, I mean, it's great.
You can run to it as the door open is the case.
You can run to the door, but do you have the key to that door to be the face of the NBA?
no matter how much
is going to say
he don't want to be, it's not
a choice in a sense where
they're going to market
who they want to market.
This is not something you can go on and say,
I want to be the face of the NBA.
That's not how it works.
It's who is the cash cow
for the product and who
is the face that they can globalize
for the markets
in the dollar. So you've got to follow the
money.
as of right now
Nike for some reason having given
Wemby a signature shoe
we thought that would have already been done
that gave one the Cade
right Nike is Nike is Nike
selects
few human beings in the NBA
to have signature shoes
and they are sponsoring
the NBA
so they have a say so on
who will be the face
outside of play.
So when you think about
who T&T, ESPN talk about
on the daily,
right?
The names that keep going
over and over and over.
Right? So no matter how much you want to
say this guy is the face,
no matter how many games they win, if we don't put them on TV,
or if you don't talk about them and you talk about their game
and we don't see their highlights, then they're not the face.
You're going to see the fucking face.
They're going to make you see it.
Look, he has the look.
Maybe the height is too out of touch.
They've never had some guy that tall that was the face of the NBA.
You know, he's in his weird space.
He's in his weird space right now of being seven foot six, right?
You can't identify with him.
The kids can't identify with him.
He's in a smaller market, right?
You know, no having, you know, Tim Duncan
won so many championships over there.
I didn't really do anything for his visibility worldwide.
So, I mean, it's hard to say.
All you can do is just look and see what the dollars follow.
And right now is following Cade.
Still following the ground in Perry.
It's following Anthony Edwards.
Tator.
Right.
Shit, who else?
that's about it right now i mean cooper flag i'm having cooper flagged i'm having cooper flagged
i mean yeah you're gonna i'm pretty you know what's so funny is
it seems like they're holding back a little bit but i think there's going to be a real big
cooper flag push next year media wise because you know i don't think they wanted to overhype
them this year but i think going into next year there's going to be a real big push on a
the Cooper flag brand knowing that, okay, this is what he did.
Okay, he's kind of legit.
We can put the money behind him.
I believe that.
It's hard.
Think about being a business.
It's really hard to put your brand behind the international player
when you only have him here for work days.
Right?
When you're talking about branding, for the most part,
he's in his country.
playing for his team, playing for his country.
So it's really uncharted territory.
So I don't know.
That's why I say it would be hard to put him number one
without having to, you're going to have to put somebody else with him.
Because, I mean, I've never seen an international guy be the number one, the face,
even when they was winning it.
Like when Yonos was winning, when Yonis, he still wasn't the face.
So.
I mean, he has a personality.
They talk.
He can talk.
I mean, you'll see.
I mean, you know.
We'll see.
It's hard, but I mean,
he don't, like, I mean,
for someone who came in,
number one, the hype he had,
we haven't really seen the,
the hype machine behind him.
Because the market, like you said it, though.
It's that small,
it's San Antonio still.
As much as you're talking,
they're winning.
They ain't been winning, now they're winning.
So.
When Navajo Iverson was losing,
we heard him.
Right?
That was really.
Rob.
Man, true.
That was Reebok.
That was all Reebok.
So if Nike ain't doing it,
then them losing,
now they're winning,
now Nike has incentive to now.
Before they didn't have no incentive.
So now they have incentive to
because they're winning,
even though it's a small market,
they can still push them saying.
Like I said, shot,
I see you in the Wimby jersey, sir.
We, we.
All right, so I just want to get to you guys personally.
There's a lot of stuff going on this weekend.
You guys were all over the city.
We all crossed past multiple times.
So I want to know what was your favorite moment
from NBA All-Star weekend on or off the court this year out here in Los Angeles?
Brandon, we'll start with you.
All right.
For me, I'm going to have to say the three-point contest with Dane.
You know, the way that's going right now,
I feel like that's in Saturday nights.
for the All-Star weekend, just being, especially him,
with staffing everybody in it.
I thought that was dope.
Seeing Coah to go out there for 31 and 12 minutes was pretty,
was pretty fucking impressive.
I can't even front.
And then, of course, my golf event.
Hoping you would say that.
You know, the golf event I had.
So, and then the event I had at Raleigh Park with the kids.
So, yeah, I definitely enjoyed All-Star weekend on and off the course.
The not allowed golf event at the Willing Hills Country Club,
Thursday to kick everything off a star-starved affair,
the whole entire Gills Arena crew was out there.
Gil, you was out there somewhere we heard golf carting around from hole to hole
not doing no golfing though.
Yeah, I was just moving around just seeing what was out there was popping, you know.
Just ride.
Duck and smoke.
Just ride and just riding around.
My favorite part of All-Star Weekend was when the Europeans lost to the first American team,
that got me excited.
That was a good one.
And then the second one was when they lost.
to the second American team.
That was very big.
And then I would say, you know, my Adidas guys, you know,
winning a three-point contests in the All-Star MVP.
Shout out to Adidas.
Shot, how about yourself, favorite moments from All-Star weekend
on or off the court?
No, they didn't have any.
I didn't get invited to anything.
I got blackballed out, a lot of events I showed up to.
It wasn't on any of the list.
I wasn't allowed anywhere, to be honest,
in the whole city, to be honest.
Probably the dump contest was kind of interesting, you know.
I got to participate into the new narrative
that LeBron is the reason why the dunk contest is so bad,
and I disagree.
just because everybody's expectations of dunks and shit
are at an enormous rate
and can't just enjoy the dunkers
and have the real dunkers get in
like Shadden Sharp and Malik Monk
and VJ Escombe.
Guys don't want to participate just to be a part of it
in the history of it, talking about getting rid of it.
All that stuff is some BS.
And I thought that the All-Star
game was definitely hype. I think that it was exactly what I predicted it to be, competitive,
getting away from all the BS, and back to basketball. I think overall, between being blackballed
and finding some good snowwork, you know what I'm saying? I have some bright spots. You know,
not going to lie, that's a bright spot. You know what I'm saying? But overall, you know,
you win son, you lose some. But you live.
She lived a fight another day.
Kenyon, last man,
Elise, how about yourself,
favorite moments from All-Star weekend on or off the court?
Oh, yeah, no.
Shout out to be, man.
His golf event was definitely one of the highlights for the weekend, man.
The turnout, the hospitality,
the hospitality that was displayed at the golf event was top-notch.
So, yeah, so be good job, brother.
Thank you.
Had my first marathon burger.
I'm a big smash burger guy.
Okay, okay.
First marathon burger on hold 15, so, hey, appreciate that.
Yeah.
The Dominoe event we had Friday night at Gravitin, it was dope.
Shout out to the fifth quarter, man.
Shout out to Boston, man.
At just trained for putting that on.
That was dope.
That was dope.
Did a lot of hanging out with the misses, man, of course.
But I had a few people in time, man.
I was able to see some guys, some guys,
that I crossed paths with on a few teams that didn't stick around
and have some great conversation and some great stories
from some guys that spent a little time with me
and they was just telling me things,
their memories that they had while on the team
and some laughable moments.
So that was dope.
And being in the same building and seeing Bobun,
Mama Dew and Taco Fall,
I see how other people feel around me now.
Like, I felt small, right?
Like, I felt small for first time and a long time.
So things like that, man, was made my weekend, man.
So it was dope.
It was dope.
Yeah.
Shout out to Ken.
Obviously, a domino event was very, very stellar.
In the heart of Beverly Hills, no issues.
Ran that schedule, no permanent issues or anything like that.
Mr. B.
Your Golf Tournament, phenomenal, well put together.
I rolled up like, God damn.
This is, I never seen this many black people
on the country club golf course in my life before,
but getting to it, everybody was super respectful.
Shout out to Dee Wade and Taylor Rook,
super that Spades Party.
Oh, yeah.
Absolutely.
That was good.
Oh, yeah.
Very dope.
But Ken, I want to talk one more thing, too.
So you talked about crossing paths with a lot of people
that you played with played against.
You ended up crossing paths with Jeremy Lynn,
as people may know, you guys had a situation back in the day,
but here you guys are chopping it up, laughing,
all smiles. So let's run that clip if we can. And you posted a clip of you two talking saying
people grow. Time allows reflection. Great seeing Jeremy Lin are catching up, having quick laughs
about his loyal fan base. What was that like for you to be able to chop it up with Jeremy Lynn
briefly during All-Star weekend? That was cool. It was Saturday. I was going into, I was heading
into Saturday night events. He was leaving out. Yeah, because we hadn't seen each other since we
that little situation, me.
And to this day, his fans have been loyal to him.
You know what I'm saying?
Every now and again, no matter what I post,
no matter what we post for the show,
if you scroll down, if I'm saying anything,
one of his fans is saying something.
So we got a quick laugh in that moment,
and he couldn't believe that it was still going on, right?
So it was dope to see him,
and we chopped it up briefly.
Yeah, like I said, we spoke right after the situation
had years ago.
We had a laugh about it, which I don't think a lot of people knew then.
But, yeah, like I said, man, time allows people to grow, man,
and to reflect on good and bad.
A situation made me eat words then.
But, no, it was a laughable moment with Jayland then.
So it was dope.
It was dope, man.
All right.
Well, let's shift over just to All-Star Saturday Night briefly.
Shai, you mentioned that you liked the done contest.
I think by and large, the consensus was it was a little underwhelming again.
He didn't say he liked it.
He said it was interesting.
He didn't say he liked that shit, no sign.
He said it was interesting.
He said it was interesting.
Because nobody can watch that shit and say they liked it.
And nobody did.
That was my point.
So you had a heat second year, undrafted rookie forward.
Kishaw Johnson won the slam dunk contest.
Carter Bryant.
He would have been better off in the dance competition
because good Lord, if you would have that much interest.
Yeah, dunking over E40,
doing a bunch of different dances from California and abroad
throughout the competition.
Like I said, he's most entertaining dunk of the dunk contest,
him jumping over E40.
James Richardson struggled a little bit.
Jackson Hayes struggled a little bit.
You're being nice.
What the fuck was Jackson Hayes thinking?
That niggas are like, hey.
I've seen him east bay in the game, so I don't understand.
Where the hell?
Yeah, do that one.
You did that shit in the middle of the game, somebody chasing you.
And you come out there with that display.
You're being nice.
Like, no, and then Jay's Rich.
Like, I saw him at the dump.
I saw him at the CIA party.
He was hyping me up, telling him what he was going to do.
And he had some shit up his sleeve.
Like, yeah, you definitely.
Hey, you definitely did some shit we haven't seen before in a dunk contest.
I can definitely give you that.
Man, you know, come on, man.
There's some lights.
It's the father.
He said he was little, right?
You know, there was just too much pressure.
I told him, try to control it.
Hey, yeah, I told me, if I can tell you anything,
try to control that emotion, young fellow.
The light's going to be bright.
You're going to want to, hey.
Yeah.
Hey, start off simple.
Start off simple.
Get it in you first before you go out there, try some,
try some of your father's shit.
I almost cost you your life out there, big solicit.
Hey.
Yeah.
Hit that ground.
One thing we know, that wood is unforgiving, God damn it.
Listen, all we got to do is just dunk on somebody and we forget it.
No, well, good.
No, we ain't going to forget that.
Boy, fail, man.
He almost got a concussion and also in the dunk contest.
It was trending on social media for the wrong reasons.
Bad pass.
Let's talk about somebody who didn't get to participate.
So three-time champion, Mack McClung,
denied the opportunity to be in the dunk contest
to break his tie with Nate Robinson.
for the NBA record.
So afterwards, videos dropped
of the four dunks McClung would have done.
So let's take a look at those videos
just for some perspective.
Here's the first one.
Ooh.
Mm-hmm.
Off the feet.
One to that thing, too.
Yep, one to that thing.
Yeah, why don't they just have him,
some of them really good workers out here?
Because they got a fault on it.
Like, all of that thing.
All of you two dudes got a fault.
All them dunkers out here, they have a following, right?
So let's watch this one.
Now, this was...
Oh.
Yeah.
I see four-fif.
And I ain't putting me on a big screen.
Does it look like I can fucking control anything over here?
I'm not in my hands.
Whoever's doing the machine, it ain't me.
Gil, did the NBA drop the ball not letting Mac McClung
try to get his fourth dunk contest championship?
Drop the ball or purse?
not let him get his.
So he could compete in when he wasn't an NBA player
and wasn't on the NBA team.
And then when he's on one,
they say he can't.
But that's not the NBA.
That's the players.
They were scared that he was going to win it again.
So they said if he's in it,
we're not going to participate,
which is a coward of you guys.
Whoever, whoever said they wouldn't compete if he was in it.
For a slam dunk competition.
Don't you
When you lose, don't you get money?
I don't know.
I don't jump that high to be
concerned.
No, but I'm just saying, like, you get
like the marketing behind that, like, everybody's watching.
Yeah, you get, yeah, no, yeah.
Oh, yeah, I mean, you get it.
Yeah, no, no, no, you get certain perks and
certain, you get some, a few bonuses for some companies
and a few companies want to work with you.
When KJ did, the KJ got me Wilson deal.
He got a few.
Yeah, you got, you can make somebody off the floor.
You know what I'm saying?
Definitely.
Four guys should be in the dunk contest next year.
John Moran, Anthony Edwards, Zion Williams, and Shane Sharp.
I like it.
Those guys bring it back.
All four.
What about the other, the champion?
He should be in that too then, right?
The coup of hell now.
He didn't fucking win.
have to do no doctor win.
No, no, I'm talking about, no, I'm talking about the kid who they told couldn't come back
because he got to come back.
Oh, Matt McClellan.
Yeah, that's good.
I get it, but yeah, no, but the guy.
He should be a bunch of doing that.
Rashide.
They want to do that one and have to do no dunk to win.
So how do, like, them foe, them foe and Matt McClung would be, hey, man, people just going
to show up because they end it.
People going to see it because they end it.
And it ain't matter what else you do.
How do I want to hate it so bad when I'm not.
get that.
You can put Cooper flag in it.
You could put out of
Cooper was going to be in it.
I thought one of his guys
why he wouldn't in it.
He should have been in it.
Yeah, he got some bouncing,
being creative,
and somebody,
he can go work with Mack McClong
and he can teach him some of that shit.
David Lee,
young David Lee with the hops.
Yeah,
I mean, if you do that,
I mean,
if you do that before
and then you do the three-point con
with those four that they were saying
coming back next year, yeah.
And I think that.
And F-O-I, I think I did pick Dane to win.
Dane was my pick, and I said either him or a Devin Booker,
so I would have been.
That was a smart pick.
I should have been.
I should have been.
Dane said,
he got fresh legs.
Yeah, that's what I said.
No, fresh leg, absolutely.
That's what I did.
He didn't be doing, he had already shoot.
And all he has been doing is stationary shooting for a few couple months now.
So, yeah, I was bidding my money on that.
That's why, like, Matt McCollum, he won three straight.
Of course he was going to win a four.
four because he ain't got NBA legs.
He ain't out of playing fucking 36 minutes in life.
Facts. Facts.
Fries ones.
You got tired of working.
I can do, I can jump 200 times
a day because I ain't fucking running up and down
the floor. I ain't running six miles in the game.
Yeah. Yeah.
Let's talk about Dame a little bit.
Gil, you're, you're a lot.
Yeah, let's talk about the dunk contest and why
the dunk contest is not popular.
So, but I have a question, though.
So all the
doctors that they like around these YouTube
dudes, right? It's a, today's society is a popularity contest. A lot of things is driven
off with that. They have these guys and going around country, the world, doing dog competitions.
People don't have to see dunks. I know the names have carried the dunk contest. I understand that.
But if people want to see dunks, if people want to be efficient in that,
go have one NBA guy work with one of them and they put on the dunk contest.
have an NBA guy work with one of them dunkers.
You advertise it.
You get to vote on where you think go win,
make it a whole spectacle.
And because them dudes are created.
So if Jace Ritson, like,
just say if Jace Ritz would have worked with a,
he would have to work with Matt McClum, right?
Matt teaching them dunks.
They both, so I just think it's,
to make you more excited to give something to it,
to still have NBA guys in it,
have them working one of them dunkers.
Because them dudes are very creative.
Some of them do work with them.
That's not been a problem.
Bad narratives and voting has always been a problem with the dunk contest.
If you want to blame somebody for messing up a dunk contest,
then you blame Michael Jordan for being Michael Jordan.
When he entered the dunk contest as a superstar.
See, I think when people talk about names,
in the dunk contest, right?
Who you are when you entered the dunk contest.
So when Michael Jordan was in the dunk contest,
who was he at that time?
He was a three-time all-star, two-time all NBA,
a scoring champ and a runner up to an MVP
because it's February, right, when he won that dunk contest.
So he ended up winning MVP and all that at the end of the year, right?
So that's what entered the dunk contest.
Dominique Wilkins, his last dunk contest.
He's a four-time all-N-B-A champ.
He's a five-time All-Star.
He's a scoring champ and a runner-up to MVP.
Third place, the third-best dunker with the name was Dwight Howard,
three-time All-Star, two-time All-NBA, and made the defense.
Then you got Drexler, two-time All-Star.
Then you got Vince Carter, who's a rookie of the year, and an All-Star, right?
Those are the best players that entered the dunk contest during that time.
what ends up happening is this
you go into the dunk contest
you throw the bitch off the backboard
between the legs backwards
and the motherfucker of somebody who can't dunk
gives you a 45
and then somebody with a regular ass windmill
gets a 50
you don't want to be there anymore
so most dunkers are looking at how
these are scored because it's like
oh yo no that's a 50 that's a
And because of the bias of the judges, those guys don't want to dunk anymore.
Nobody wants to go there and beat Aaron Gordon.
And that's what ends up happening.
You don't want to go out there and do all these fancy ass dugs.
And then you feel you got cheated by somebody who's voting.
So those guys were like, yeah, I'm good.
So it's really the voting process on who's voting for these dugs.
I get it.
But then ultimately, like, so the NBA wants to be this fan thing, right?
So ultimately the fans get cheated.
Because of that, what you're saying, Gil, right?
Like, so ultimately, the people that get cheated are the fans.
Players, then fans, yeah.
To both.
Yeah, yeah.
So it's, I think they can figure out, man, in that regard.
But I just, yeah, it's.
And having, yeah, having, you just need to have guys that's participated in the contest
and former winners that's judging these dunks.
Right?
Yeah, because it's...
Yeah, I mean...
Having a motherfucker that guy
six career dunks out of judging the dunk contest,
like...
So do you...
De Wade...
De Wade has the most dunks by guard in history.
I don't give him a fuck.
And he was the one that robbed Aaron Gordon.
He shouldn't have been judging.
Okay, so like, okay,
who would...
Would it...
Would guys who can't dunk be fair, more fair than guys who can actually jump?
No.
Like somebody like me, you do something.
Because I can't do it, that shit look amazing.
You're impressed with most things, yes.
Yeah.
And I think it's certain guys, hell, if the former dunkers are honest, right?
Honest.
If they're doing some shit that we've never seen, right?
Ooh, the scores are higher, right?
So you want dudes to be more creative in that.
or going back in history and taking some of those dunks that some of those guys did
and putting your young athleticism on.
I think that makes your scores,
hot guys will judge you honestly in that, right?
That's biased, though.
That's biased because the guys who are the dunkers who can do shit who are not impressed
are speaking for the people who are in the crowd.
So now everybody might think it's a dope dump,
but you're not impressed because you're like, well, I could do that shit.
That ain't really, da-da-da-da-da.
That's the weak shit about the old school players that are doing the shit.
They're like, they're looking at the dump and they're not impressed.
But it's like it's still an impressive dump.
No, it's not because if I was creative in my brain when I'm entering the dunk contest,
if I had to be creative, you can be creative as well.
But that's still biased because you're supposed to be a judge.
You're not supposed to be putting yourself.
You're not supposed to be putting yourself.
to be putting yourself in the situation.
I'm judging you on creativity.
I'm judging your own missing dots.
I'm judging you on creativity.
Right?
Have I seen this shit before?
Right?
But that's, think about a boxing judge, though.
You think about judging something.
As a judge, you're basing it on point systems.
You're basing it on degree of difficulty.
You're basing it on creativity.
So if it doesn't hold up to your standard of a judgment,
you're sitting there and you're being biased based on your own personal shit.
How many time have you watched a boxing match
and you think one guy won clearly?
And the judge is looking at a whole different fight.
Because it's going from a boxing match.
No, no, no, they look at one judge has this motherfucker losing
and the other judge has them winning by four rounds, five rounds.
He's looking at a whole different fight.
But we know them judges,
some judges are paid off to do certain things.
But these, we're talking about a dump contest.
It's called the dump contest niggas ain't being paid to, to,
to, wait.
Therefore, there's no bias in it.
It has to be.
No, if you're being creative,
like we can honestly say Aaron Gordon got fucking cheated.
Right?
So his former player, a former player who was,
a former player who was,
but he was not impressed.
He was not impressed.
He shouldn't have been judging in my opinion.
He should not have been judging.
Dominique Wilkes.
Dominique Wilkes.
Dominique Wilkins had slighted niggas before too.
All of these guys who have done dunk with contests before has slighted other guys before too.
Like I said, well, let them slight them because they're held to a different standard.
I don't think a guy that's never been in a dog contest should be judging it.
I don't think the guys have been in the dump contest to be judged.
Them the niggas of their haters.
No, they should.
Them are the niggas and they're the haters.
Them are the hatt-nass niggins.
These niggins don't want the niggins to beat them.
And, man, your dumps ain't better than mine, man.
That shit wasn't depressing.
That shit weak.
They got to be better.
You're just being creative.
You being creative.
I could agree with you in that.
I mean, so how do we saw it in my dump?
I don't know how you saw it.
But I don't know how you saw it, but like, my opinion was that, you go get these worlds.
these dunkers, you team them up with these NBA guys,
you make it a whole thing.
You make it a,
but everything is content-based now, right?
Yeah.
You show them practicing the dunks,
them working on these dunks,
guys going to the team's practice facility after practice
and working on the dump, whatever.
NBA is so,
I think you submit,
with each team, submit a guy,
each team submit a guy that,
because we watch these guys dunk all the time.
In practice.
We know the guys
as we see in guys
that's working on
a game after practice,
guys is working on
dunks after practice,
guys working on shooting
after practice.
There's guys working on
something,
fucking everything
after practice.
You pick a guy
who's a more athletic
guy you think is
and let them work
with one of these dudes
and take a poll,
put the four guys in it.
Now the fans
are engaged even more
and see how it go.
That's my opinion.
But they didn't get voted
by somebody
who don't know how to vote.
True.
Because look at it.
Think about the OB.
Look at the, think about the OB Topping Duncan, right?
So, for someone who can't jump, you take off, you jump over someone,
go behind your back and dump 50.
Yes, absolutely.
They're 49.5.
I don't know who on this thing seemed better.
They don't think they go see better.
is like, no, throw it off the backboard, between the legs backwards.
50.
Yeah.
Yes.
Right?
And that be the problem.
We've seen dunks and we're like, yo, that's, that's 50, bro.
Yeah.
If I seen a 50 and then he do something and that's a 50, that's a 50, that's a 50,
that's a 50.
Absolutely.
You know, I think this would be the problem.
Absolutely.
You're comparing the dunks sometimes against each other instead of the,
individual like me doing it, right?
Like if you did this and that's a 50 and then you came and did this,
that's okay to say that that's a 50.
Absolutely.
Because if you don't see this, Duncan, that dunk came back.
That's a 50.
And that's still a 50, right?
And that'd be a problem.
They'll see this type of chunk and then they'd be like, oh,
that one wasn't as bad as this.
We're going to get at a 45.8.
Like, nah, you can do that.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Didn't James White get like a 49 or 48 from Dunkin from the fucking free throw?
He did three dumps from the free throw line.
Every single one of them should have got 50s.
Mike, 14, and we got a 50.
We're doing this crusty-ass-a-dump.
He did this crusty-add dunked three times in a row.
Round one, he did it, jumping for the free throw line.
Round two, jumping from the free throw line.
We know what they're going to do at the end.
Jump from the free throw line.
50-50.
But you're telling me, and Marfa can be like,
eh, eh, ain't, 45.
49.
Hey, man, what the fuck?
Come on, dog.
Man.
The arena has united over at Dunkin.
Let's shift over to a three-point contest real quick.
Damian Lillard made his return,
proceeded to win his third career title,
matching Larry Bird and Craig Hodges for the most in NBA history.
So Lillard already looking forward to next year's three-point contest
and trying to get some heavy hitters in the mix
and make it legendary.
So let's look at what he posted on his IG story of a text exchange
between him and Steph Curry
if we have that available.
But Dane basically texted
Steph, he said next year, me, you,
Clay, Book, and four more real shooters
with Steph replying,
yes, sir, I'm in.
No Clay will do it if I ask
and Book will be at home.
Perfect setup.
All-Star Game is in Phoenix next year
as that's what Steph meant by that.
But you respect Dame Lillard and Steph
for trying to revive the three-point contest.
I don't think they would have never win nowhere,
But having all the big names in it, I think it's dope.
I think I have some of the best.
So James, James, Clay, Steph, Dane.
They're all in the top shit.
Ten all time, Katie.
Hey, I'm with it.
I'm with it.
Absolutely.
Yep.
Absolutely.
Put book in it here at home.
Yeah.
Yep.
Get somebody like Duncan Robinson out there,
bitch who is real shooter, like get some,
yeah, make it, make it a thing.
Yep.
And I think it should be the last event, too.
I think it should be the last event for Saturday, too.
If all of them dudes are in it, absolutely.
Like, forget the, like the Dunk can go first.
Like, the Dunk can go first.
Yeah, if all the names are in it,
they need to, yeah, they need to go last.
For sure.
Yeah.
For sure.
Hell yeah. That should have be dope.
And now, that have some views.
That'll have some views.
They can even extend,
hey, they can even extend the range on that bitch.
Get a couple more spots a little bit,
a little bit further out.
Mm-hmm, uh-huh, uh-huh.
A little four-pointers out there.
Yep, yep.
Yos Arena shootout.
Yep.
That could be an option, too.
That could be an option if you want to shoot from back there.
Like, if you want to go ahead and take five shots back, go ahead.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, that's on you.
Like, you know what I'm saying?
Like, that's on you.
Yeah.
Yeah, you're taking the chance.
You're taking the chance for that.
Yeah.
So do you give them four points for it?
Or do you get more?
Do you times it by something if they...
I think shit.
If it's a four-point or you give them each shot is like three,
it's like two or three points.
Oh, no, it's three points.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Oh, so you get them three, so you get max with three for it.
Yeah, because the bonus shot is two, right?
Yeah, the bonus ball.
Yeah, so you give them a three ball.
Okay, I dig it.
So you got one, so you put two podiums out there on each side.
And if they, okay, you get a max three point.
Okay.
Yeah.
But it's still the same time.
Look at us getting our marketing shit on.
Yeah.
Stop giving away what you can sell, gentlemen.
If you want to skip the easier shot, you got to take the forward point shot.
Yeah.
at the same time.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Half court four?
I like the half court four, too.
I was about to say that too.
So you got the two on the side and then you got the half court joint.
Make it.
Then you got the twos.
So hey, so hey, man, you want to skip that one.
If you want to skip that one row.
And you get five more.
So they get 60 seconds right now?
You get them a minute right now.
What is it right now?
Yeah, they get a minute.
Yeah.
Yeah, they still get the same minute.
But that's just so you go.
I think you get them like a minute 15 because it.
Like, you get my minute 10 because they got to run a half court.
That's too much.
If they got to run the half court,
they need to.
Remember, they already at the top of the key.
Yeah, but you still got a year.
Would you still?
Whatever.
Give by like five more seconds.
I get one one or five.
Yeah, if you got 105, I think, to get it done.
Yeah.
I'm disappointed in you, niggas, today.
Like, I'm hearing y'all get all excited and shit.
I mean, it's not sure.
You try to make it exciting for the fans, my nigga.
I said this last week when they said, pow, in motherfucking port is playing.
And I said a three-point contest with Dame Curry, Clay, Kee, Kee, Kauai, Booker.
That is a three-point contest.
Everyone would watch because it's the best shooters in the world.
Then I said you can add Yokic and you can add Luca.
Now you're talking about probably one of the best lineups
that ever existed in three-point contest.
Well, we don't remember you saying that, you should have.
Of course.
Well, you should have went first, fucker.
So you could say it.
I already said this.
And they took me.
Then you take my shit, rewrap it.
And boom, y'all over here, throw it.
We're going to do the four point.
God damn.
We can spin around those half.
Wait, hey, hey, hey, we can do blue and red balls.
You can do the blue ball.
Just so happy.
Just so happy.
I should sound a lot better than his shit, man.
That's the only difference.
We wrapped that bitch in the better boat.
Your ass should have went first, nigga.
Yeah.
And then we would have been like,
yeah, you're fucking right, nigga.
Yeah, you're like, yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, I just was just happy, huh?
Like I said this shit, like, yeah,
I said this shit like, yeah, that's a cool idea.
Should have
For her.
Hey, we re-gifted your shit,
nigga.
Hey, you bought me a
motherfucker fucking $2,000
bottle of wine,
hey.
Re-sold that bitch.
I re-gifted.
Now, I re-gifting it.
Hey, yeah, this is nice.
This is nice, hey.
That big-ass bottle of wine
you bought off here for Thanksgiving,
Gil.
If you have something back on your house,
I'm gonna bring it back over there.
Like, hey, there you.
There you go.
Player, here you go.
Yeah.
Now, that she's going to.
be fired, though. No, for real.
For real. All start
2027 in Phoenix.
We will be there.
We will go there golf events.
Second annual, second annual
not allowed,
Brandon Jennings, tough crowd golf event next year in Phoenix.
Thursday. I'd be a lot
better than in.
I'm talking about I'd be a lot better at the aid
because trust me got all eight. I got my
blue brick over here. I got my training sticks.
I got my age. I got my cliquet stick.
Hey.
The cliquet.
I'm going. I'm talking about,
hey, we don't, we didn't expect you to, Gil.
Okay. I'm not going.
Yeah, I'm not going all the way to Phoenix.
Hey, we didn't, we didn't, we didn't, we didn't, we didn't, we didn't.
We didn't even, we didn't go to the all-star here and it's down the street.
You think I'm going to get on the street to go to get wrong.
Oh, you're going to get wrong. And you said something early, and you said something early.
And you, and you, and you, and.
You went out at night this weekend, Gil.
No, it's Valentine's weekend.
Oh, you went on you.
You went to dinner somebody.
Yeah, I can't go out there having fun.
Not like that.
I had fun.
I had my wife everywhere I went.
Everywhere I went, I had my wife with me.
So I had a good time.
Yeah, no, it's just me and my baby.
Yeah, we were going on the beach.
Yeah, we was going on the beach watching seals,
watching the seals on the rocks and stuff,
watching little crabs in the water,
putting our little feet in the water.
Oh, really.
Going back in a jacuzzi, you know?
In the jacuzzi being safe.
Being safe around the white folks.
Talking about what you went down in L.A.
You know my people got robbed last night at the...
And I had secured it with me so now.
We were good.
No, no, you were security, but we didn't talk so much shit
about people over the last.
three years. It's hard to remember.
It's hard to remember. It's hard to remember. I didn't talk shit about.
Like, I told Shao with the abdominal, I'm like, yo,
yeah, it just meals.
Every time somebody walked by, I think somebody
go, hey, you were talking shit.
Hey, tell such and such that
I wish she would say this shit to my face.
I'm like, hey, no, I don't.
But, hey, I was at Gravitati two nights
in a row and think, hey, I saw
somebody who got beefing when our
guys and
the nigga went out of the way to speak to me.
And I was hoping, yeah, yeah, yeah,
Yeah, yeah.
Stop.
Stop.
Me?
No, no, damn.
Up under you.
Got us.
Yeah, him.
I'll let them know.
I let them know quick.
That man,
whatever I said on it,
I said it.
You know what I mean?
I'm not going to say it in person?
No.
You got to stand on what you said it.
You said it.
You're not going to say.
Dumb?
Do I look dumb?
Like, shit.
Hey, low-key, you keep moving forward.
And I'm going to run.
Yeah.
And then go back online and talk more shit.
That's the beauty of it.
You can put me in real life.
It's not live.
It's not live.
It's not live in person.
It's live when we go 1130.
And I'm going to give my version.
In my version, I'm a superstar.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I'm teed up.
Oh, shit.
I'm remaining that you cheat off.
You know what I'm talking about.
Like I got to defend myself.
No, nigga, I know how to run.
I'm not to get up out of there.
I'm not to move swiftly.
I'm not going to lie.
I'm not going to lie, man.
I carry the type of shit where I ain't even got to worry about that type of shit.
Carried this motherfucker in my back pocket.
You know what I'm saying?
I wish you niggas would step up to the wrong,
nigga, at the wrong time, man.
Rambo your ass, niggas for sure.
No, brother
I see you first.
I see you first.
I'm walking the other way.
Oh,
did I say that?
That away.
Sorry.
Sorry.
Niggas is mad because we're saying something.
This is our job.
You better put your feelings in your fucking pocket,
nigga.
You better.
Or they can put them on you.
And I don't.
And I don't want that one.
We are a show of peace and tranquility.
But good place for us to wrap up today.
Appreciate all you gentlemen.
I know we had a heavy All-Star Week in discussion.
Games are not back till Thursday.
We got a lot to get into tomorrow.
Like I said, I was waiting for Katie to tweet to say,
say if those were reasons of counts or not.
We're going to have to discuss Bernardgate tomorrow.
We're going to talk a little CB3 tomorrow.
So he hasn't come clean.
Let me double check.
There's no prices PR on.
There wasn't me.
nothing.
It wasn't me.
Let me see if he's tweeted since.
Hold on, I've been, I was going to show with you guys.
Has not tweeted.
Mm-mm.
Okay.
I mean, if they want to find a burner account,
the NBA just got to go,
who are the owns that just go to them say,
who's counting is this?
They really want to know.
The big boy, what's the nigga name, Lowe?
Big Lowe.
Mm-hmm.
He confirmed.
He confirmed it was him.
Mm.
Mm.
We will discuss.
Is he using it to it?
He said he was in,
he think he said something about him being in the group chat.
Some shit.
People lame, man.
Snitching and whatnot, leaking.
Yeah, people lame as fuck, bro.
That's why don't be in the group chat with y'all.
Mind my business.
Coach Little League, do what I do.
But appreciate all y'all gentlemen
for talking All-Star weekend,
sharing your exquisite opinions
on all things related to the All-Star
Shout out to everybody in the chat.
Shout out to everybody at Underdog as well.
Look, Gil, you got to talk to the HOA
because we got to get back in their career, man.
We can't be keep doing it.
I talked to him.
I talk to him.
Yeah, that's shit.
Yeah, that's shit weird.
I got to go.
I talk, room.
They say, y'all niggas is too much.
You know what I mean?
They say y'all out there walking around,
scaring them folks and not being.
You know what I mean?
You know?
They basically.
said black, you know, what I said.
Yeah.
They said, you know,
some of y'all, y'all too boozy,
y'all got limos pulling up,
blocking their shit of the SUV trucks and stuff.
You know what I mean?
Blocking their driveway.
They're just too much.
You know, but we came to an understanding.
Yeah.
Either you kicked them out or we kick you out.
No.
No, it was just, they just kicked your.
all out. You know? They had to buy me out. They got to buy me out.
Appreciate y'all. Uh, let's get it. We all agree. We don't want you niggers over here.
Negroes. You know, smitten on the ball as white clean here, okay?
And if you're bunch of the weed and all you're driving the SUVs outside our community.
Yeah, y'all didn't bring this property. Why it smelled like barbecue every door?
Sir, we bring it down the property value.
Bring a house for sale over there.
Absolutely.
Yeah, we can't sell the house.
We're trying to renovate.
I'm saying?
House been on the market too long over there.
Yeah, they're, yeah, I'm saying?
Yeah, it was a four to zero.
It was four to zero vote.
Damn, four.
You didn't get the vote, Gil?
You voted.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, I voted.
And to be honest, I kind of think my vote was the most important.
Like, where you were?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Hey, man.
Hey, hey.
He led to vote.
All in favor of the favor of all.
He already got his hand up.
All in favor.
Ah, like.
Appreciate you, gentlemen.
Like I said, appreciate everybody in the chat.
This has been another episode of Gills Arena, presented by Underdog.
Whoa, whoa!
Woo!
