IT IS WHAT IT IS - THUNDER GOT THEIR ROBIN BACK & DIVORCED LUKA DONCIC IS CAUSING HAVOC!
Episode Date: March 24, 2026Ma$e, Cam’ron & Treasure "Stat Baby" Wilson are back with another one!! Please rate, review, and follow the podcast for more content. Listen to the show on Spotify! https://open.spotify....com/show/4Brb7BgCw4f4jwgS5v3sXQ?si=811988ecff7b416a Listen to the show on Apple Podcasts! https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/it-is-what-it-is/id1719695401 Keep up with us on social media! https://www.instagram.com/itiswhatitis_talk/ Snap: https://www.snapchat.com/add/iiwii_talk2023 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ItIsWhatItIsTalk TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@maseandcam Twitter: https://www.x.com/iiwiitalk Follow Our Hosts! https://www.instagram.com/masonbetha/ https://www.instagram.com/mr_camron/ https://www.instagram.com/treasurewilsxn/ Follow the show and our hosts on social media: It Is What It Is, Cam'Ron, Ma$e, and Treasure "Stat Baby" Wilson , Producer Ayooo Nick Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome back to It Is What It Is.
I'm Treasure Wilson, aka Statt.
Baby Long with your host, Mace.
Cam will be back.
And today we are joining with our analyst, Trista.
Trista, Statt, what's going on?
My goodness.
My goodness.
Glad to see everybody.
My goodness.
Statt, we won the award.
Statt, we won the award for Best Podcast.
Oh, that's fire.
You did say it.
You said we were nominated.
won the award, can you give us some more insight, Mace? And did you go? I didn't want to walk on
stage. Actually, I stood on the side of the stage just in case they didn't allow us to win.
You know, they would have loved to put the camera on me. But you know, it's title town. So I really
go anywhere that we don't win, you know? Facts. But, you know, I'm happy I can bring the trophy home.
Facts. I received the trophy and I told the people, I said, this is what has. This is what has.
happens when Cam passed me the ball.
I had to say it.
I had to say it.
And I, you know, I had to say it.
And I said, shout out to Cam.
Shout out the stat.
The whole family.
No, that's fire.
And shout to the people.
How are you doing, sister?
I'm phenomenal.
You look great.
The glasses look great.
The studio's popping.
So I'm just happy to me.
I'm happy to be, you know, in the mix.
Yeah, you know, there's a lot happening, right?
I try to go through the airport.
ISIS is in the airport.
It takes three hours to get in the airport.
Did you know that?
It takes three hours to get in the airport.
But, you know, people are going through worse.
There's war around the world, and we just pray everybody, stay safe.
And now I know why I need a jet.
the jets that.
Yeah.
So we can fly back and forth
east and west coast on the jet
and take it from there.
Yeah.
It's definitely a lot going on.
I'm happy everybody is staying safe
and even just back to the award.
Shout out to everybody that supports us,
tunes in every day,
interacts with the show,
the Instagram, all of our analysts,
Trista, Arabia, Michael Irvin,
Maurice.
Like, we are all a family.
So we love all y'all.
But yes, safety is important.
I hope everybody is staying
safe because it is a lot going on for sure.
Yeah, it's a lot going on.
But what's going on in the sports world?
That's what people want to know.
And I didn't know why Cam didn't know why Cam didn't come to day.
I had a real good question to ask Cam.
But I'm going to wait until he's on the show.
I got to wait until he's on the show.
Yeah, okay, we'll hold the question because now I'm curious as to what the question is.
What was the question?
Right.
I want to know what the question was.
No, I don't want to know.
I don't want him to prepare.
I definitely don't want him to be prepared.
If I say it right now, he's probably going to be why somebody's going to tip him all, pause, and he'll be ready.
Pause.
But this question is going to be good.
Just remind me to ask him the question.
I really want to ask him.
Okay.
We'll definitely remind you.
And he gets no preparation.
So we will see the raw answer that he has.
But yes, Mace, a lot's going on.
the sports world. Let's talk about it. So Jalen Williams, Jdub makes his return for the Thunder
in their game versus the Sixers. This is after missing the last five plus weeks to a strained
right hamstring. So Trista, Thunder won that game 123 to 103. How does his impact, how does his
return impact the team? And then what did you think of his return game? Oh, I think J. Dub is a
crucial part of what OKC is trying to do.
He looked great.
He looked absolutely vintage J-dub,
played just 20 minutes, but gave you
18 in those 20 minutes.
Efficiently, he was diamond people up,
he was aggressive driving to the lane,
he had lift in his legs, he was fast around screens,
all the things that show you, you know what it is,
Mace, you know what it's like to probably strain a hammy.
When you come back from an injury like that, I always try to see with my eyes how the explosive list looks.
And he looked like he had it.
He looked just like himself.
He looked confident.
He didn't look like he was laboring at all.
And really, for all intents and purposes, he looked back.
So this is a year that I think OKC has a learning lesson, right?
Like this has been systemic injuries where the rotations have been like simultaneously,
messed up where multiple guys are not there.
And so those role players like A.J. Mitchell, who also missed a bunch of time or Aaron Wiggins or Isaiah Joe, got even more minutes and even more important responsibilities that I think will really show up in crucial moments down the stretch during the playoffs.
So I think this could be a blessing in disguise.
And Jalen Williams healthy, he looks pretty freaking good.
Yeah, I mean, I mean, I like a lot of what you're saying.
I'm not sure about the whole idea of him being vintage.
He's too young to be vintage.
How do you get to be vintage and you're that young?
That's just crazy.
The man ain't even 28 yet.
You already call him vintage.
You look vintage.
This is what I'm talking about.
The mediocrisy of the sports cast is up here.
The things that we're settling for.
O.J. would have never settled for this.
OJ would have never settled for this, man.
I don't know who brought it up here.
Do you have a take or are we playing word games?
She's calling out everybody with word games.
She was Cam, how's you.
Listen, listen.
I think that, you know, that your question,
to answer your question, yes, he's a vital part to this team.
Yes, he comes out.
Anytime you can get 18 points in an NBA game.
game, whether it's for a half or for a whole game, that's still a decent amount of points,
right? This is still two points away from 20, which is considered a good game in the National
Basketball Association, right? So that's a great game, but I'm saying, I'm just pointing out the
vintage. We're always trying to give somebody to alley-oop, you know, and it just got to stop,
you know, it just got to stop. I like Jay Dove.
I like what he presents.
But I think, you know, Caruso was playing just fine.
They didn't fall behind any games.
They didn't lose the league out west.
So, you know, if he comes back good, but I'm more focused on Boston than the East Coast.
It's back East Coast, you know.
It seemed like it's back East versus West.
So I'm back East Coast, you know, if that means anything.
Well, it means a lot. That's why I have a follow-up question because I know you're saying you're back East Coast. So the Celtics is your favorite right now out of everybody. Is that what you're saying?
Yeah, I was going to go Detroit. You know what I'm saying? Because I said them in the vintage bad boys, right? The vintage bad boys, not the music label bad boys, but the vintage bad boys. But, you know, with Kay, you know, looking like he got to go.
go through what he has to endure.
I'm not sure, you know.
We may be rolling the dice, but I still think that Boston is the team that comes out
of the east, and hopefully they get it done.
Hopefully, O KC run into my San Antonio Spurs.
Yours.
Your Spurs.
Hey, I had the hat on before killers.
You were pissed and strong.
But I understand the injury.
It changes things.
But I'm just clarified.
It's not even just the east, the west, too.
Like, over the Spurs, over OKC, you got the Celtics.
Like, that's your overall favorite.
I mean, if you have a girlfriend, she used to be cute.
And she lose, and she lose, you know, some things.
I mean, let's put it on you.
If you have a boyfriend and he had hair, you know, he had curly hair,
and he just lose this side of his teeth, you know?
Just the right side.
How do you get what I'm telling you is that?
He gets this side of his teeth and this side is messed up.
Do you still just love them the same?
I mean, you're going to say you do,
but it does affect how you take pictures or.
Something of that sort, right?
Everything is fixable these days.
Everything is fixable?
I mean, yeah, that would be my answer.
Everything is fixable these days.
How is this equating to the Oklahoma City Thunder is all I'm trying to ask.
We got players coming back healthy right now.
The teeth are coming back inside the mouth.
Okay, Mace, the burns are starting to heal.
They are starting.
So do you have OKC getting beaten by?
Boston if they're in the finals. Are you putting that on wax? Yes or no?
I definitely have Boston getting it done. I'm not going to lie. I know at O.KC beat them earlier
a few days ago without the light skin assassin. They didn't have the light skin assassin, you know.
If Tatum is back and he's healthy, I don't see them be in Boston. I just don't.
Okay. And it seems you guys have differing opinions.
So Trista, I mean, it's still early, but just putting it out there, like, would you take the Celtics over everybody or is there another team that you're like, I don't know.
No, I think whoever wins the West will win the title.
But I think Boston, and I've been saying this pretty much all year, since really they were this surprise story where they have multiple players that leave the team and yet there's still top three in the east pretty much the entire time.
I think Boston is the best team in the East.
I think even with Cade Cunningham healthy,
I think Boston's the best team in the East.
I think Joe Missoula is the best coach in the East,
maybe in the entire NBA.
I love everything that Boston does.
I love the way the ball moves around.
I love their schemes.
I love the personnel.
But I still give it to OKC as the defending champs
just based on what they can do defensively,
how they turn you over, get easy offensive possessions,
easy transition buckets.
And I think Wembe's a problem.
And I don't know how Namias Kada
is going to be able to contend
with somebody as big as Wembe.
And you've got the Luke Cornett revenge spot as well
where he plays his former team.
So I think whoever wins the West
will win the title.
But I think it's closer
than some people would admit.
I think Boston will put up a good fight.
Okay.
That's crazy.
That's crazy.
That's what I said you guys.
that different opinion.
So I'm like...
Yeah, ever since she moved to the West Coast,
this is what we've been getting.
I don't know what is it about, you know?
I'm not sure.
I'm not sure.
She moved to the West Coast, you know?
And it happens, you know?
People start living on the West Coast.
All of a sudden, they got West Coast teams.
Stad is talking about Golden State.
Killers talking about San Antonio.
It's crazy.
And now you're talking about, you know,
O.C., this is...
This is wow.
Who was your team last year, Trista?
I thought that Denver was going to give O.K.C. a good fight, and they certainly did.
It's hard to believe in a team that hasn't done it before, but they certainly, I mean,
this would be the third year in a row.
They're number one in the West.
So it was kind of like, it's certainly there.
So why you abandoning Denver and the Aspins and all of the things that come with Denver,
Why are you abandon that?
And the Aspins and the lift tickets and the ski boots.
No, I think it's held for me.
Like, I think if they're fully healthy,
they certainly can give a good fight to OKC.
And Yoki's been turning the ball over like crazy
ever since he got back from injury.
Aaron Gordon is one hamstring away from not being there.
They've missed guys throughout the year
and haven't looked as good as OKC has
without their significant contribution.
So I think Denver certainly has a really high upside, and I think they could give O KC a great fight.
I just don't like them as much, just in terms of what their bottom, their floor looks like.
It doesn't look good.
They've lost to some really bad teams.
Yeah.
Okay.
Well, we see you guys are on different pages, but the comments will always tell us.
So in the comments down below, let us know who you guys' favorite is.
Out of all of them, east, west, all of it, as we get, you know,
we seeing the season still in the dress.
Mace is acting like this is death row and bad boy right now.
It's really, it's like, is East Coast, West Coast bang, bang.
Listen, people are getting shot on the strip the next time we start giving our predictions out.
No, it's East Coast basketball.
It's East Coast basketball versus West Coast basketball.
And I'm saying, it's time for the East to get a championship.
again. I don't like the West winning it two times in a row if it's not the Lakers. The Lakers
in Golden State is the only teams I want to see, you know, back-to-back championships. Now, I know
I like Shea. I think Shea is the one that could do it, but I don't want that. You know what I'm
saying? At some point, you got to say what you want. I want Boston to win it, you know,
I want an even
as crazy as this going to sound
the only East Coast team
that is guaranteed
to be O KC
is the New York next
Here we go
All right move on
Like
We just went in a square
He's like I want to tell you what I want
We knew this Mays like I'm thinking
Mace I make her tell her what she won
We get it
We got that
But we're all over
everywhere.
Okay.
No, I'm saying
we're talking basketball.
We're talking sports, right?
That's sometimes it's matchups.
It's based on matchups.
They're the only team that give them consistent problems, you know?
And I got a, what a dream.
What a dream if New York could be OKC.
That would be amazing.
If you got OKC in the championship,
You need the Knicks, really, to make it make it where people will watch it.
I don't think people will watch it as much as Boston.
But let's move on.
We're going to stick with what you have on the table for us.
Okay.
So moving forward, we're going to go to Luca.
So the NBA rescinded Lucas' 16th technical foul, allowing him to play in the road game
versus the piston.
So Luca was given the tech after getting into an argument with Orlando Magic Center on
Saturday in which Luca claims Goga made comments about his family. He said, obviously, I let my team
down getting that last tech, but honestly, I wasn't trying to. He said at the free throw, he would
F my whole family. And at some point, this is a basketball court. At some point, I just can't stand it.
I got to stand up for myself, but I know I got to do better. So Trista first, what's your opinion
on that just whole interaction, MBA, basically rescinding the tech, and players standing up for themselves
specifically on the court.
Yeah, I kind of figured that the NBA was going to do that just based around,
you have to be able to jaw back and forth.
And especially when you got somebody coming in and talking hell of shit,
talking about they're going to fuck your whole family,
like every single one of them.
And they're speaking in your native tongue.
They're speaking.
Goga Batats is Georgian.
Lucas is Slovenian, and he was speaking to him in Slovenian
so that the refs wouldn't hear it, obviously.
And Luca has every right, I think, to kind of buck up
and say some stuff back.
I think at that point, you kind of have to have your dignity,
you have to have some self-respect.
And I think Goga was intentionally trying to get underneath
Luca Donchich's skin,
considering that we all know that one more tech
and Luke is getting a suspension.
And I think that's going to continue through the rest of the NBA season
is knowing that a suspension is looming for him
if you just push him over the edge,
kind of like when Draymond Green was doing that,
back in the vintage Golden State days.
But like, Goga Patats is kind of loony.
He's done wild things throughout his whole career.
In Eurobasket, I think it was Eurobasket.
It was definitely international play.
The Georgian national team,
jumped Furkman Corkmos, who played for Turkey, and the police were involved,
and Goga ended up getting suspended, and he ended up having to pay a huge fine.
He came after his own coach.
I think he tried to bite Gary Payton the second.
He either tried to bite him or he tried to headbut him.
It's kind of like we don't really know based on the footage.
But in general, this is a pattern for Goga, more than it's a pattern that he bitches at the
refs and deserves to be suspended.
So I wasn't surprised that they rescinded it at all.
Yeah, I don't think they should have rescinded it.
Actually, I think it would have been in the Lakers' favor if they let them get the tech.
Why?
Because if he doesn't get it now, he's going to get it later.
And then it's going to be at a time when you really need them not to miss the game.
Right.
So this reminds me of this whole idea of when Draymond Green went through this for himself.
not the issue that Trista was just talking about,
but I remember in the championship game
where he started going through all of this with LeBron.
And then LeBron got him ejected
for saying he said something when he stepped over LeBron.
Do y'all remember that in the championship?
And everybody was like, what did he do?
And then there was like, oh, LeBron said he invited him to his privacy or something.
I'm like, oh, man.
And then the Lakers come back and win, I mean, not the Lakers, but Cleveland comes back and win the championship.
And I'm just like, man, this is crazy.
So I think of plays like that and situations like that when it definitely won't turn out in the best favor of the Los Angeles Lakers.
So they might as well let them get it now.
And that way, they won't be running into a, you know, a game suspension or two game suspension.
I think it makes sense if they get it right now
when they can afford to lose one game
So regarding the comments
I kind of want to relate this to real life
And get you guys's opinion
So if somebody makes a comment towards you
What decides if you let it go
Versus speak on it, Trista?
That's a good question
Probably
Who's around
Like how bad it will be
for my overall reputation, career.
Am I around like somebody who really doesn't want
to get caught up in this?
I'm gonna probably say something back.
Probably, most likely, especially something to that degree
where there's a threat and it's wild behavior.
And I think on the court though,
trash talking is just very normal.
And people say all kinds of things
to try to get under your skin.
But I think little things,
I let go, but if it's egregious,
I'm probably going to say something back.
Yeah, I think when it comes
of basketball, you could say something,
but never let somebody get you too carried away
because then you understand that they understand
they're in your head and they're in your heart at that point.
I really don't think as much you should say
like where you get out of control
because it ain't much you can do on the court.
You're playing basketball.
I think the best way to get somebody back is a three in their face or a dunk or, you know,
just start getting major baskets.
Like when, what was his name?
Dylan Brooks did that to LeBron.
Then you just see LeBron getting wild buckets on them, you know,
and you see what happened when you poke the beer and all that kind of stuff.
I think that's the best way to get a player back is the, is the embarrassing.
by getting a bunch of buckets.
What about like when somebody like goes online and like threatens you?
What about like off the court?
Off the court is different because at that point you're not an athlete.
You're looking for things to be handled right then and there, you know?
So that's when it got to be handled.
I think you address serious threats.
If it's somebody you take serious.
serious, then you address the threat.
Or if you believe the person is not serious,
like there's been times when people,
I don't deem as serious,
but they have serious people with them.
And then that's something also you got to address
before they start taking into their own hands.
So that's how I would look at it when it comes to dealing with threats
that's off the court.
If it's out of the court or off the field,
to fail and somebody is serious, you take it serious.
Valid.
I do think time and place matters.
And I don't know.
Like, I never like to feel like I'm being disrespected.
So I'm just a conversational person.
So if somebody that I care about too, like, that's probably if I'll speak on it.
But if I don't really care, probably not going to.
But in Lucas situation, he was saying, you know, the Magic Center, Goga was saying comments about
his family. And I don't know if it's the same for y'all, but you can sometimes let things slide for
you. But if it's something that you care about, a partner or a family member, that's when you're
kind of like kind of put on a different cape and you're like, you can say something to me, but you're not
going to disrespect my family. So I understand that point of things as well. But Trist, I totally understand
what you're saying. You're like, he's on the court, know how much you're risking. There is a time and a
place and that matters as well. Mace, did you have a further comment?
It sounds like you do before I move forward.
Yeah, I think when it's attacking your family, then that's going to merit a different person.
But I think when people are doing stuff to you, that's exactly what they're trying to get out of you.
So they're part.
They're trying to find which button to push to get the result that they want.
But I was always taught that that anger is a form of fear.
Do you all believe that?
Anytime somebody is showing anger is really like a form of fear.
Is there really something you fear when you get angry?
Did y'all know that?
Or am I like putting y'all on to something?
Go ahead, Trista.
Oh, I was going to say I think it could be a lot of things.
There's definitely times where I'm not feeling fear.
I'm just like either out of control or feeling like something,
is bubbling up inside of me that is triggered a response.
And maybe that's something that, like, hits a nerve
because of something that I've dealt with growing up.
Or it's something that-
That is fear.
Yeah.
So the trauma is the fear?
Yeah, it's the fear of what?
It's like somebody doing something,
and a person gets really angry.
But where that anger is really being triggered from
is the fear of other people seeing them,
be disrespected or the fear of knowing people won't value their name or I can't let him get
away with this because if he does this, then other people, you get what I'm saying? So it's all
tied in there or somebody did this to me before and it ended up going too far because I let them
do that and I vowed to myself that I would never let somebody do this to me again. All of that
is rooted in fear, but, you know,
rock on. I'm just,
I'm just trying to pull your legs
to something, another, another
thing an expert would know, you know.
That's a good point.
Yeah. That's a great point.
Yeah. Like, when you get upset,
when a guy gets upset with a girl,
right, he's getting upset
because he has a fear.
So that's why when I would see people get
angry with me, I would just go,
wow, because I understand
that if you're that
angry is something you fear. It's not something I fear because I'm not angry. That's why I'm laughing
because I don't laugh there is a form of like brushing something off. Like if somebody say,
you know what, you do that again, we're going to be fighting. And I go and I start laughing. That
mean I don't receive what you're saying. Laughter is a way to brush off what you,
what you're hearing. Anger is a form of you fearing something. So anytime,
you find yourself angry, you got to ask yourself, what do I fear? I don't know. I think there are
similarities, but I don't think putting anger into the box of fear is fair, because I also think
that sometimes there is no thinking, it's just impulse. And that doesn't mean you're afraid of
something. That just means that's what I said. Tell me something you ever got angry about.
And let's see if there's fear connected with it.
Go ahead.
Go ahead.
Go ahead.
I don't get angry often.
Okay.
Tell me something you got angry about.
If I get angry, it's probably from frustration.
Does that make sense?
So I'm trying to give you an example.
Like maybe.
Trying to think of the last time.
Give me one thing sad.
Yeah, I'm trying to think of the last time I was upset,
which it takes a lot for me to get upset.
That 500.
When they lined you up.
Yeah.
But that's not.
The correlation is fear.
You know what I'm saying?
That's impulse.
Okay, but what would you upset about?
What would you upset about?
Go ahead.
Sure.
What would you upset about?
I was upset because for me,
being somebody who is always timely
and then it being posed as if I'm not,
that was frustration.
And that was an impulsive response.
because usually what I would do
if I feel frustrated about something,
which now they'll know,
I will talk to you all about it,
but not being able to discuss it
and having a raw reaction live
isn't something that typically happens
because I can talk to you
or I can talk to Cam about it.
But that's not an act of fear
because I have nothing to be fearful of
because I'm very good at communicating.
Okay.
It was, I'm just,
here sharing it with you.
Does that make sense?
And anybody looking at, yeah, I'm here sharing it with you because what you said was actually,
it actually can be perceived as fear because what you fear was that you wasn't going to be heard.
And that's why you were frustrated.
Well, no, it wasn't about, it was, you, you, you don't feel like you was heard.
You feel like you wasn't going to be heard.
Well, no, because I feel like that's projecting because I always feel like I'm going to be heard.
I always feel like I'm going to be heard because I always will always say how I feel about something.
I just don't know if I'm necessarily going to say it live on camera.
I always am going to say how I feel, but time and place matters.
Because I don't feel like I'm not going to be heard.
My voice has to be heard because people who watch the show, I mean, Trista's here today.
Typically, I'm the only woman up here.
So my voice is going to get heard regardless, whether it airs or not.
No, I'm talking about the $500.
No, I know.
But that's what I'm.
But that's what I'm saying.
Like, I never have a fear of not being heard because I always feel like I will be heard
one way or another, whether it be live or not.
Okay.
But that's my opinion.
That's what I think.
I feel like you can't put anger into a box because everybody relays it differently.
Things mean what they mean.
You could always rearm define them.
But, you know, it's just like, do is say, I'm not angry.
I'm, um, like, I have holy, holy disappointment.
Yeah.
So I'm used to this man.
You know, I come from the spin cycle.
I get it.
Pause.
I get what you doing.
Go ahead.
Spin away.
Not even spit it, but I hear you.
This is where we agree to disagree because us I'm saying, there's different boxes.
Some people's impulse for some people might be fear.
And as we continue and see more.
takes, we're going to see what's fear versus impulse, and that happens.
Discussion.
Mostly all impulse is rooted in fear.
But go ahead.
Just, no, I don't want to use all my doctor abilities here.
Again, we'll let the comments, we'll let the comments decide because we all think, we all
think differently.
Yeah, they don't know.
That's the thing.
They don't, but they don't know.
They don't know.
They wouldn't do it.
To be honest, to be honest that one of the commenters thinks I, I have a wig.
I wear a wig that my hair is not mine.
So I don't know if we can trust
that the commenters
have a high degree of, some of them don't
have the highest degree of intellect.
We'll just go ahead and...
Thinking you wear a wig,
simply wear a wig is crazy.
But again, everybody has their own opinions.
And that's why I stopped reading so many opinions
because I don't got time for it.
Everybody got an opinion on something.
Something.
But that's not.
But that's the world, and that's fine.
You're supposed to have opinions, but what you consume is what matters.
That's what I'll say.
That's super good.
I love that.
Hard.
Yeah.
Okay, so on that note, Lucas X is filing for child support in Cali.
Does this explain the tech, and is this going to be a distraction to the Lakers?
We will discuss after the break.
Pink Horse Power.
She calls this thing about toxic.
Baby, what's saying?
Why you walk in like that?
That's how it walk.
And then like you come on breathe on me like that.
I fucking breathe to live.
And like you used to be dark skin
and now you act like hella light skin.
You're fucking blind?
I'm dark skin, what the fuck?
And then like look at your beard.
The fuck is wrong with my beard.
Your beard looks stupid.
What the fuck are you talking about?
No, I don't even like it.
The way you breathe in, all of that.
Has this ever happened to you?
Your girl seems to be mad, angry, upset.
She's frustrated.
It's only one way to handle that.
course power.
No, no, no, no, no.
I'm just trying to give you a massage.
Plus, have I told you how good your beer looks lately?
It looks so good.
No.
PHP.
It works every time.
Wait, where you going?
Welcome back.
So some of this context here made.
context here may explain a lot what's been going on with Luca. So Lucas ex is filing for child
support in California despite living in Slovenia, which Luca claims is an attempt to secure a bigger
payout. So Luca filed docs asking an LA County judge to dismiss his ex request for child support
in attorney fees. He says he's been trying for months to get her to move to Cali with their kids,
but she's refused. He's also said that distance is exactly why he's pulled the plug on their
engagement. So Trista, what's your thought on this situation?
and the timing.
Wait, wait, wait, they go to fear.
You just nailed it for us.
They go to fear.
The fear is that Shorty's going to get the bag.
That's the fear.
We knew there was some fear there
because it brought this anger out.
That's the fear right there.
And that Goga Batats is going to be in her house in Slovenia,
and she's going to be making him a sandwich
because he's fucking her.
Is that basically that's what can hit the nerve?
Goga buts is her new man.
No, just all the money that you lose.
See, with guys, they don't care that women move on.
They don't want them to move on with their money.
Most times why guys don't pay child support
because they know there's going to be girl trips.
They shouldn't do it, right?
But their fear is that.
pay her this money, she's going to be in Cancun, paying for other niggas to fly out on my dime,
and I'm just not going to do it. It doesn't mean they don't love the kids. So for all the kids out
there and people are not getting child support on time, this is probably the fear that he has.
You know, most times when the money leaves the man account, if this is a large amount,
the first thing that happens is a girl's trip, right? Who wants to pay?
pay for the girls trip. Like, you're going through a crisis with your family. You don't want the
monies to be spent on a girl trip. I'm just telling you. That's what God has been thinking. The money
is not going to the child. And I'm not saying he should do this. I think all kids should be
taken care of, especially if they were taking care of why they were with you, then they should be
taken care of when they're not with you. They shouldn't live in a mansion.
when they're with you
and then in a two bedroom
when they're not with you.
It just shouldn't be the case, you know?
But what do I know?
What do I know?
Stap?
Maybe I'll do a show.
Maybe I'll do a show.
I do one.
I do want to ask you all this
because regarding information
there's a lot going on.
There's a lot going on.
And this obviously gives us context into Luca's response,
but the thing about the X situation,
and I know they're trying to figure it out now,
is apparently they've been high school sweethearts.
I'm just curious in you guys' opinion.
What is your opinion on high school sweethearts?
Oh, I don't.
Yeah, why does money matter?
Why does the money matter?
Why, why, why does the money matter?
I don't think high school sweethearts really survive.
I don't know.
And I love to get Mace's perspective on this.
But when you're 17 or 16 and whenever they met,
and I thought this one, they got together too.
And when I saw it, oh, yeah, like, Luca and her have known each other.
And it says they've met it 12.
Yeah, I think they've met when they were in middle school.
Yeah.
So.
If they met in middle school, you.
She deserved half if they met in middle school.
Because that means she didn't just jump in right or not.
If they met in middle school.
If they met in middle school, she deserved half, you know.
If I was with somebody since middle school, then they're a real one, right?
They've been there.
You probably wasn't that good at 12 years old.
You can't call on.
Don't dig at 12 years old.
Right.
Right.
Not at 12, man.
You can't call a gold digger at 12 years old.
That would be wow.
I would have loved Killer on here for this take.
But, you know, at 12 years old, we got to cut a little break, right?
We could do a recap for Kim.
We gave you a recap.
It's a valid question.
But go ahead, Tristan.
Luca, though, was like EuroLeague MVP at 16.
He was a professional athlete at 16 years old.
But you're right.
I don't think there's like a 12-year-old who's skiing.
12 years old, though.
Because I know what killer's going to say, I know what killer would say, he would be like murder at 12 years old.
Did you know you was going to be special?
That's what he's going to ask me.
And now, looking back at it, you know, I probably did.
You did know I was going to be special at 12 years old.
We knew that I was going to be special at 12 years.
We knew I was going to be special at 10 years old, right?
We knew if killer was going to be special when he was young.
Some people just had that aura about.
them when you saw them young you just knew like when we saw in another thing he would ask me
did you think stephan marbury's going to be special when he was 12 years old we actually
already knew stephan marbury was going to be a pro at 12 years old i got it i got to take that back
everybody in the world knew stephan marbury was going to be a pro at 12 years old so you know
But who knows?
I'm just not ready to say that about a 12-year-old girl.
You're just that.
I can't say that.
Yeah.
And then Trista, you were starting a little bit.
You said you just don't feel like-
Yeah, Mace is wild today.
So we just let him go.
We're going to just lay him rock.
In general, because you asked about high school sweethearts,
I just am always curious how when we evolve and change,
all the different things that we like.
what we don't like, all the different aspirations that we have.
We change a lot.
I've changed a lot since I was 16, 17 years old in terms of like what I want out of a person,
like who I am, like the Casita, you know, Cam probably in his palace.
Like when you're when you're that age, you're not thinking about that.
You're thinking about, you know, puppy love and who you're around.
And it's just going to work out.
like, but as
as, what is it,
Diana Russ?
What's love got to do?
Got to do with it?
And there's some practicality
that over the course of many years
as you're developing and aging
and your priorities change
that make it hard to have a high school
sweetheart and it still work out forever.
It's very rare.
Yeah.
I would,
what would make you think I'm wilding today?
When I, I guarantee you
when you recap this and you,
Ask Cam, did you know that Stefan Marbury was going to be a pro at 12 years old?
I guarantee you, he say yes.
I guarantee you.
So that's what I'm speaking of.
And like realistically, I have to think of that differently because by 12 years old, I was like already ready to retire from the streets.
So my life was different.
My life was totally different.
So by the time I got like 14 years old, I didn't, I did not need to know anything else about the streets.
Like real talk, killer tell you, by like 12 years old, 13 years old, all of my, like, many of my childhood friends were dead.
So that were from my block.
So I was sent to live in Jacksonville.
That's how I ended up coming back to Atlanta.
I mean, not Atlanta, but coming back to New York,
and that's when I reconnected with Cam and people like that.
But it'll tell you that story.
So, you know, a lot can happen to some kids,
especially when they're in the city or wild places.
So I want to add some context to that 12 years old.
That's all I'm trying to do, not backtrack,
but really add some validity to what can happen at 12 years old.
But I'm still not ready to say that girl doesn't deserve half.
If she's been there since 12 years old, how old is Luca now?
24?
20, what?
Let me see.
27.
27.
12?
15 years.
Somebody been with you 15 years.
Somebody been with you 15 years.
They deserve something.
That's a lot of years.
She doesn't live in California.
though. That's the thing. And the problem is she lives in Slovenia. And so Luke is like, listen, I'm not trying to pay you the California bag, right? I'll pay you the Texas bag or the Slovenia bag, but the Cali laws are wild. Like you're getting hundreds of thousands of dollars a month. And so he's like, hey, you don't, the whole reason we split up is because you don't live in Cali. So why are you going to the California courts to try and get my money for child support? I think,
that point has to be made to.
Because you live in California.
That's why you don't ever let a woman move you to California and tell you you're
starting over.
You don't do it.
Athlete or not, you just don't do it.
Hey, I'm telling you what I know.
I'm not telling you what I think.
Sometimes people laugh at me, but I really know what I'm talking about.
That's a game when people tell you, hey, let's move to California.
Move to California for what?
But let's sign a pre-num for we go to California.
Let's sign something that said, we go to California.
You get 20% like a manager.
If not, don't go to California.
And I don't mean this for like really married people,
but I mean this for like entertainers and people like that that must protect themselves.
I don't think there's anything wrong with protecting yourself.
But I also think if you've got to protect yourself from a woman,
you probably don't need to be with her.
the whole thing's unfortunate.
Like, if Luca got to go to Cali and y'all are together and he wants to see you and the kids,
I feel like you should go to Cali, but I don't know their exact situation.
Maybe she's just like, you know, I want to go back home.
I understand that aspect of it too, but it's just the whole thing's got to hurt.
Y'all have known each other since 12.
You've been with him through thick and thin.
He makes it to the league.
Then he didn't even want to leave Dallas, doesn't have a choice.
Then he got to go to the Lakers.
You're still going to be the star player regardless.
And you just want to see you and the kids and you don't want to go to L.A.
Like, I don't, I don't.
And then, like the price, like Trista said, that's a lot.
That's got to hurt.
That's pain.
That's just pain.
I hope they figure it out.
That's what I'm going to say.
If you could lose 70 to 80% of all your finances just by moving to a city, would you move there?
That's not his choice.
That wasn't his choice.
No, I'm actually in a straight question.
If you can lose 70 to 80% of the wealth you accumulated, just by moving to lost.
Angeles. Does the palm trees really excite you that much?
What I'm saying is, you know, career, right? That's his career. He doesn't have a choice.
If you got to go support your man, you got to go support your man, bro. You can still do your
thing in your home country, but those visits got to, that's the only way it's going to work.
And clearly it didn't because they're not seeing each other.
That you're an analyst. You're an analyst. You're an analyst.
Trista, you're an analyst.
Do the research.
You'll find out that you can lose
60 off the rip for marriage.
And then you're going to lose another 10 for
palimony. Then who knows what you got to do
after that. So you're
looking at a good Lord Chung.
But what Stets saying
is that Luca has no choice
in living in L.A. He has
to be there. He got traded there.
He's technically still a resident of Dallas.
Yeah, he should say, hey, before you trade me,
let me give me, give me 10 minutes for you trade me.
Let me get this right.
They were still together.
They didn't, they didn't break up until pretty recently.
The baby's only four months old.
This is all very unfortunate.
Yeah, it's unfortunate for the child, right?
because you don't want to be eating filet mignon with one parent
and then got to eat spice ham with the other parent.
Well, she's keeping the babies from Luca.
Like, she will not let him see these kids.
That's a part of the money play.
That's the money play.
I do this all the time.
That's a part of the money play.
Because if you can't get the money,
then people try to break the relationship between the children.
It's a sad thing that a lot of times
happen to children. They're the victims of bad parenting. But I'm not here just for parenting.
We're here for sports. You know, it happens every time. I mean, it happens every day. Prays up for the
for local family. Yes, yes. Yes. And that's where I was going with that. I hope everything works out
because that's got to be frustrating, especially as he's trying to still, you know, end the season on a high
You know, so it's, it's, it's, it's, I think, I think you really got to, I think you really, when you're, when you're a special guy, you really got to decide if you really want to make that woman's life that special.
Because there's a lot that she just inherit just by being with you.
She didn't run none of the suicides.
She never did any of the workouts.
And she just get to inherit everything that you, that you build or that you could say, y'all.
built together, however y'all want to say it.
But I think you got to really,
fellas have to really start
deciding who life you
want to make special. Because once you
spend all this time with people
and you end up getting them pregnant,
it's too late to start saying you don't
want to do these things. I think
we need to put more time into
who you're going to be with
and who you're going to
leave all your money to.
Because that's really what you're doing.
And that's what you're deciding.
It's not just who you're going to spend your time with.
It's who would you like to leave all of your possessions to?
That'll make you make a better choice.
No one.
No one.
Yeah.
No one.
No one.
No one.
Yeah.
But that's what it is.
When you're marrying somebody and you're having kids with them, you're basically saying,
this is the person I want to oversee my estate.
That'll make you make a better decision.
of the woman you pick.
Which woman, now you wouldn't make it based upon how she looks alone.
Because that won't make her a good steward over your estate.
And this is why a lot of rich guys stay single.
And a lot of rich women stay single.
Because they haven't found somebody yet that they think could handle that whole estate
or that they will want to leave their estate too.
Yeah.
It's a lot to unpack there.
we're going to need, this is also when
Cam's two cents are good because he could give us
his perspective because I
can't speak from the speed.
He's going to tell you, that's why
Cam is going to say this is why I'm not, this is
why I don't have nobody because I
you're right. I don't want to give anybody that.
Yeah.
He's going to say, I just want to put him on a boat,
pink horse power.
And that's that.
Yeah.
Extend the what you call it, the palace.
Extend the palace.
Add some more rooms to the palace.
By the way, that analogy got so twisted.
Yeah.
No, not you.
The Cam's analogy was that, oh, well, you just have like throuples or you just have like super emotional relationships with
very little people and Cam has a lot of one night stands.
No, the palace is that there can be people checked.
Multiple people can be checked in all at once.
In a casito, only one person can be checked in at once.
That's deep.
That's deep.
So you're saying when it comes to you,
you're only dealing with one person at a time.
Right.
Like I don't have, I'm not like managing or juggling
multiple jump-offs.
That's just, we go check in, check out.
Maybe that's like a temporary thing,
but there's not like Tuesday is
so-and-so, Wednesday is so-and-so.
And then Thursday's back to person A.
I don't roll like that.
What are you looking for when you do that?
What am I looking for when I do what?
when people
when people are
in and out
what are you looking for like
personally?
I think it's just like
yeah I think you just find
connection
and sometimes you find it
in strange places
and sometimes you're in
another country
another city
and just
the right timing
yeah
but that connection
doesn't have to be forever
and I would prefer it
to not be forever
that's crazy
no further comments base
that's crazy
we were going listen
you prefer that
you prefer it not be that way
what happened
there
first of all it's not just
connection when it's
over time you're talking about emotional
weight you're talking about
leaving your estate
to someone. You're talking about handling
the complexities
of another life.
I've been on the road
seven out of eight weeks. I don't have
time or emotional bandwidth
to be dealing with somebody else's shit.
So we have
the connection.
So you just...
And then I go about my life.
Oh my goodness. This is
amazing.
This is amazing. You know,
no, no. I'm really
I really have to say something.
If you didn't want the connection with the person, right?
If you don't want it consistently, right?
And I know the answer to this in my earlier years,
but I don't know the answer to this now,
so that's why I'm asking you.
What will make you, if you don't want to be with a person
permanently or long term,
what will make you offer them the most,
one of the most precious things you have.
That's a great question.
I don't think sex is the most precious thing on the planet at all.
Okay, go ahead.
I see that it is.
I see like emotional intimacy and being there for someone
and handling the grind and the in and out
and helping someone through whatever it is that they're going on.
and sacrificing things that maybe you want in your life for what they want in their life,
that is way more deep and a lot and consuming than sex.
Sex isn't big deal at all.
Not saying that, like, quote on quote, I'm for the streets or whatever these people are saying.
But like, sex is not a big deal at all.
but connection is and that's what is required to get there you have to have the spark you have to have magnetism
and if you don't have that no matter how you look no matter what it like you could be whoever
but if that connection isn't there that spark isn't there that chemistry isn't there then that's not
going to happen okay mrista we're doing a baptism
autism and Sunday, I would like to invite you if you have any pretime.
That was the wildest thing I heard.
That's going to be my new one.
You know, listen, to each his own, you know.
I'm not a, I'm a firm believer of talking to people about deeper things that won deeper
things.
I'm not a firm believer of intervating.
invade in people's face that doesn't want that, you know.
So, but I would always extend the invitation to you.
If you ever want to change your views,
I would love to have a conversation with you about it.
You know.
We had so many topics today.
We did.
Yeah, as a fellow, as a fellow,
co-hosts
I extend that
Did you invite Cam?
Did you invite Cam to the baptism as well?
Cam told me he's coming to church.
He said when I want him to come to one of the bigger days
like Easter or Christmas or Thanksgiving,
one of those things,
he was going to come.
I already spoke to him.
I already spoke to him.
I already invited him.
And he accepted my invitation.
And that almost brought me the tears, you know.
Like Cam says a lot of crazy stuff, but he's an intelligent guy.
Some people get mad with him because they don't know that, you know.
He's just working the algorithm like he should.
Not like he should.
Okay.
Last question before we wrap, because we went a lot of different ways, but a lot of different good ways.
Since we were talking about Luca, I want to ask you guys to this since, you know, we have our rankings in different places.
but we saw Luca didn't have to miss the game because they rescinded the tech.
We know what's happening off the court, too, by default,
but the Lakers did end up losing to the Pistons 113 to 110.
So Trista, just want to ask you this question overall.
How strong of a team do you think the Lakers are?
Do we like them or do we still just think the Spurs and OKC are just going to remain on top?
Do the Lakers have a chance?
How do we feel about their team as a whole?
Oh, I think it's certainly where the Lakers can win a first round series, for sure.
I mean, especially where they're at in the seedings.
If they end up playing a team like Minnesota that's been very up and down all year,
haven't had their identity, Aunt Edwards is pretty much the main playmaker.
They don't have a true point guard.
I think the Lakers will beat the Timberwolves and be able to get revenge from what they did last year in the playoffs.
but I don't think the Lakers can beat the Thunder.
I don't think the Lakers can beat the Spurs for seven games.
I don't think we talked about DeAndre Aiton last week,
and I don't think DeAndre Aten can do anything to stop Luke Cornett or Wembe,
and I think that will be a big problem.
I don't know that the Lakers have enough shooting.
I know Luke Knard had a huge shot against the magic a couple of games ago,
but I don't think they have enough spot-up shooting,
but they are a lot better and have played.
a lot harder than I think a lot of us collectively expected.
And certainly they've figured things out with how to manage Braun,
Austin Reeves, and Luca all together.
Okay.
And Mace.
Tell me the question again,
because you know, Trista is all over the place today.
Trista, this is not the Trista, no, but we're working through it.
We're working through it.
How was I all over the place?
I thought I answered that pretty directly.
will not beat the thunder or the spurs.
What's your question, staff?
Yeah, basically, how strong of a team do you think the Lakers are?
Do we like where they're going?
Do we think that they could potentially be over the Spurs and OKC?
What are we thinking about that?
I think the Lakers are doing exceptionally well for how they started out.
I think a lot of kudos go out to JJ Reddick and the job that he's been able to pull off
with this team.
I think with the Lakers,
they're doing as good as they're going to do.
If you get them in a playoff series,
anything can happen depending on which LeBron shows up.
If the LeBron, we always seen it showing up,
they may shock somebody.
And if they come in and forth or anything like that,
they end up playing one of those teams,
four and five, they'll win that series.
I think they're a second round team.
You know, I think they'll win their first round.
I think they lose in the second round.
I think that's just where they are.
I don't think they beat San Antonio.
I don't think they beat OKC.
And I don't think they beat the Rockets.
I know they've been winning a lot of these games in the regular season.
But I think come the playoffs, I don't think Katie is letting them be.
beat the Rockets.
I just don't think, I don't think that's going to happen.
Now, you guys may be amped up about what they've been able to do thus far,
but I think the playoffs is a different beat when you have to start
lacing up your sneakers against the same team, game after game.
That's different than winning one game.
And I just don't, don't see them pulling that off.
I think Austin Reeves and Luca with LeBron won't be enough.
and I love Luca.
I even grown to love
Austin Reeves
and we know what LeBron is,
but I just don't think
when it comes to the playoffs
that LeBron
will really take a back seat.
I don't see that happening.
And for that reason,
I don't think they'll win.
Okay.
Statt, just to clarify,
yes or no,
did Mace basically just
say what I said.
This is where I,
Stay neutral.
So in the comments.
Sometimes we disagree, but sometimes we agree, but sometimes we agree.
Right.
That's what I said.
Different perspectives.
Great minds think alike.
Great minds think alike.
Like I tell people, we're in the same class, in the same school.
I'm just a little further down the road.
We're in the same building.
I don't know.
I wasn't sure.
I figured I would ask
if that's what you got out of it.
Yeah, no, you're,
you should not be short.
We're here.
We hit, we hit.
Don't let Stap fake you out.
That's what I will say.
Don't let staff fake you out.
There's nothing to fake out.
Um,
comments.
Let us know how strong in between you guys think the Lakers are
because there's a lot of discussions there.
But ultimately we'll see what happens because, as May says,
time will always tell in the end,
but we're analyzing now and seeing where it goes.
Trista, it was a pleasure to have you on the show.
Likewise.
That's all the time we have.
Yep, that's all the time we have.
We'll see if Trista ever gets to the baptism.
Meantime.
Yeah.
So, at this point,
Yeah.
Yep.
Tris, I can see you going in the water.
I can see you, Tris, going in the water.
The wig falling off.
The glue coming out.
It's not a wig.
She's good.
She's good.
Long as the water doesn't change when you get baptized.
That's all that matters, you know.
Yeah, all the bronzer comes off.
She'll be good.
She'll be good.
appreciate y'all that's all the time that we have for today thank y'all for watching and as always
it is what it is
