IT IS WHAT IT IS - WILL WE EVER SEE SOMEBODY DROP 100 POINTS IN A NBA GAME?!
Episode Date: March 20, 2026Ma$e, Cam’ron & Treasure "Stat Baby" Wilson are back with another one!! Please rate, review, and follow the podcast for more content. Listen to the show on Spotify! https://open.spotify....com/show/4Brb7BgCw4f4jwgS5v3sXQ?si=811988ecff7b416a Listen to the show on Apple Podcasts! https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/it-is-what-it-is/id1719695401 Keep up with us on social media! https://www.instagram.com/itiswhatitis_talk/ Snap: https://www.snapchat.com/add/iiwii_talk2023 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ItIsWhatItIsTalk TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@maseandcam Twitter: https://www.x.com/iiwiitalk Follow Our Hosts! https://www.instagram.com/masonbetha/ https://www.instagram.com/mr_camron/ https://www.instagram.com/treasurewilsxn/ Follow the show and our hosts on social media: It Is What It Is, Cam'Ron, Ma$e, and Treasure "Stat Baby" Wilson , Producer Ayooo Nick Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome back to It Is What It Is.
I'm Treasor Wilson, aka Stat Baby, along with your host, Mace, and Cam.
Killer was good.
Statt was going on.
It's good, everybody.
How y'all doing?
Good, good, good, good.
Chilling, chilling, chilling.
Yay.
Well, good to see everybody.
So we got a lot to talk about today.
We're going to start with basketball.
Some unfortunate news, actually, because Mace, this is,
one of the people you were rooting for.
So Cade Cunningham has actually been diagnosed with a collapsed lung and is expected to miss an extended period of time.
So first, Mace, what are your initial thoughts after hearing that news?
And then how much?
We know it's going to be a lot.
But do you think this is going to affect the piston season?
All of this is really exactly.
Let me do that take again.
Five, four.
this is sad sad news when it comes to k cunningham to think of something this unfortunate is like really
it's really like one in a million right for this type of thing to happen i remember something similar
not the exact thing but happened to chris bosh it just tends to lend to how special time is
and how fragile life is that somebody
that's doing this well to get this kind of news.
It's just really heartbreaking to think about how this could happen to him and just think
about it.
It happened to people every day, but when it happens to an athlete, it's one of those things
that have to be well in order for you to do well, which is your health.
Your health has to hold up.
And it just lets us know how important, you know, just help is.
And also the other thing that I'm thinking about is this is what separates special in people.
Because, I mean, not only did you do well, but you had God on your side,
you have all these things on your side to make sure that your help held up.
So that's really something that's going to really plague this Detroit team tremendously.
I don't see them going far without them.
I don't see them doing well without them.
But I wish him well and I wish he gets better really, really fast.
And that's just so unfortunate.
Yeah, it's really sad, man.
First of all, I hope he was.
I'm a speedy recovery.
Just sad period when it doesn't matter to who it happens to.
But it just seems like when it comes to injury, no matter what caliber injury, it happens
to the superstars.
Or something like, well, you know what?
I don't want to say this happens to the superstars.
Maybe we don't hear about the people that's not important.
And that's not the right thing to say, not important.
The people we don't talk about as far as athletes are concerned.
It may happen to people, the 12th man on the bench, the 52nd man on the football team, et cetera.
But when it's a superstar and he's having a great year and talked about for every piece on and so forth, it's just really, really sad.
But, yeah, speedy recovery.
But to answer your question is that where do I see the pistons going?
without Kay Cunningham nowhere.
I don't see him going anywhere at all.
What I did was do some homework on this injury,
and this injury sounds really bad,
but it's not as bad as it sounds.
They're going to reevaluate him in two weeks.
They say he could potentially come back after that after re-evaluation.
They say this injury,
speeding recovery for most athletes because of how much
good how good a shape they're in as opposed to somebody who's not working out every day.
So he might be back quicker than people expect.
You know, when you hear this, you're like lung collapse.
It's over.
That's what I was thinking, like least for the season minimum, but they say he may be back.
What I will say is this.
I don't know the Detroit schedule.
I don't have it in front of me.
But even if he makes it back for the playoffs, I don't know where to pisses me.
go. I know he, I think he would need a few games before the playoffs to get back in basketball,
you know, in rhythm for the playoffs to try to pick up where he left off at. So I don't see the
pistons going far, but it depends on their, his timeline on recovery, because they're saying
that this injury isn't life-threatening or career ending, his possibility that he made me back
this season. But if he makes it back just in, just in time for the playoffs,
I don't think the person's going anywhere.
If he has a few games before the playoffs to get back in River him,
he may be able to pick out where they left off and we'll just have to see.
But I do wish him a speedy recovery as well.
To answer your question,
a few games before the playoffs,
sorry, Mace,
it's just the Pacers, Hornets, Bucks, Magic, Sixers.
So those are like those last April games,
but you can go ahead, Mace.
Yeah, I think this is the time they should just give them an MVP.
I don't think with this going on that,
You know, in the future, he gets MVP again.
So I hope he gets it this time.
Okay, well, actually, speaking of MVP, people are now entering Luca in the conversation.
So he dropped 60 points in the Lakers' 134 to 126 win versus the heat the other day.
So the Lakers have now won eight straight, including 11 of their last 12.
This is the first 60-point game by Lakers since Kobe's last game.
So Mace, after hearing that, do you think Luca now enters
the MVP combo.
What do we think?
And then Lucas' performance, thoughts on the 60.
Yeah, I'm not surprised by Luca getting 60.
I will be surprised if Luca get three stills.
Like 60 points is not really surprising when it comes to Luca.
I'm really looking at him in the way that he plays defense as a surprise at this point.
No matter how much he does on offense,
it doesn't matter if he doesn't play defense.
At some point, he got to play defense in order for this Laker team
that have any chance of being a formidable opponent
for anybody in the West Coast, right?
He can get 70.
They probably still won't win.
He got to start playing defense.
I agree with Macea got to start playing D.
But shit, what are we going to say when the Lakers D in Houston,
I think two times part of this win street?
The Brown's looking good.
I think Lucas, you know, not saying he hadn't already,
but I think this is his, yeah, I'm officially a Laker, like a debut.
You know what I'm saying?
We've seen him put up numbers before with the Lakers so far and everything else.
But we have to think about the lineage when it comes to being a Laker, right?
And nothing else besides the championship counts.
But this is right now when you say, okay, I am a Laker and I want to win a championship.
You know, we see LeBron James running up to him as the superstar during these wins.
Come in and jump on him, pause, and give him pass on the back, high-fiving.
Same way they used to do to LeBron.
And when I see LeBron do this, I think to myself, this is what he's been waiting for.
Somebody would take the keys so he could sit shotgun and say, okay, cool.
When you're tired, I'll drive.
But you're the driver.
And I see the joy on LeBron's face, but we can't deny what the Lakers are doing over this last past few weeks.
It's just been sensational to watch, honestly, because, like I said, I didn't think that the Lakers would be in this position.
And we know that in between third place and sixth place, it's a tight squeeze between all the teams there.
But for the Lakers to go on this win street this part of the season, it's been great to watch.
I'm not going to lie, because I get to see LeBron James.
play second fiddle, so to speak, and somebody there that wants to ball and wants to be a superstar.
Mace is 100% correct.
Lucas is going to have to play some defense, but that's to me, giving JJ Reddick crops,
disguising him on defense and pardon, send up a defense to where he can get help.
When somebody blows past him, somebody's in place to help him out.
It's probably.
but just credit to JJ Reddick
because we know that Lucas slacks on defense
but the Winstreet's been incredible to watch
as far as putting him in the MVP conversation
Lucas should be in the MVP conversation
every year
I kind of blame this on Trish
you know what I'm saying yesterday
she jinks fucking Kaye cutting ham
and was pumping Luca
remember yesterday she was trying to shit on Kay
told him about yo
who's put Luca in there,
and then this happens.
Blame Tris for this whole shit,
and being honest with you like.
I don't know how to...
She did.
She drinks the niggas, y'all.
She drinks niggas and got what she wanted out of the deal.
By the way, you had had to handle some business yesterday,
but she did also bring up the clip
because I think it was something about Jalen Brown.
You said he shouldn't be something.
So y'all will have to
speak about this next week when she comes back.
Yeah, we had a $100 back.
Yeah, she had to be out of back.
She did bring that up.
I know she's going to say she was at the jigs.
She's been supported.
No, I told her to.
I said, you let the clip bring it up
and you guys did.
I said, but I told her bring it up
and I made a $100 bet with her.
So if she won, she won.
I don't have a problem with that.
Yeah, she definitely did what she was told.
But you guys can discuss this.
I know she's going to say she wasn't the jigs.
I don't think she was to Jinks because she also did show some love to K2, so I have to
have to vouch for her with that.
But I do want to ask you guys this because JJ Redick was actually asked why Luca isn't
more prominently featured in MVP discussions, and he ended up saying because he complains
to the refs, I don't know.
So I know you guys bring up how his defense has bothered you.
Is that kind of the main reason?
And I know, Cam, you started kind of going into it a little bit, saying he should be part
of those conversations.
but Mace, what would it take for you to consider Luca for MVP?
They would have to finish second.
They would have to finish either second or first for me.
Because other than that, it's going to always be this issue of his defense, right?
Because he's only playing one side of the ball.
When you only have to play one side of the ball, I don't know how much credit I can give that.
It's not like you're getting a bunch of assists.
is just points that you're getting at this point.
So if you're going on the fact that you're dominating that much,
it should turn into wins if it's really that effective.
Because sometimes you're scoring at the effect of your team.
Like the ball is not moving.
The team is not actually doing better.
But when they be in Houston, that's good.
It'd be San Antonio.
That's good.
You know, go ahead and win the West,
coming second at least to give us that argument
because we have somebody right there
and number one that that could be MVP as well
and that's Shea Gilchrist right
so if you're going to put yourself in that position
you got to be right there with them
I think that's the only reason that Lucas
is not in the conversation just with the Joker does
year after year
with Shea Gilchris Alexander is doing
because the fact that Detroit wasn't so good last year
or the last few years.
You know, last year they made to the playoffs,
but, you know, it's been a long clown
for the trade to get where they're at this year.
And then, of course, Jalen Brer
would, you know, the Boston basically being dismantled
with no Drew Holiday, no Al Hartford,
no Port Zingas, no Taiton, no majority of the year.
And keeping them in second place, you know what I'm saying?
I don't think that Boston would even be in the top,
top four at this time.
of the year.
You know what I'm saying?
So those are people why we are considering Luka,
because of the amazing things that are happening with everybody I just named.
Joker,
Walker,
Walker,
triple double.
She comes in,
passes Bill Chamberlain for most 20-point games consecutively with 127,
consecutive games of 20 points more.
K. Coddingham having Detroit Pistons who has been
a non-conversation unless we make a fun of them before last year, the previous years in first place.
And then Boston with Jalen Brown just doing what he did.
Like I said, all them players have phenomenal years.
And don't get the best up.
Luca numbers are tremendous soon.
You look at Lucas numbers, right?
It's 33 points per game, eight rebounds at 8.5 or 6.
He's a couple of rebounds of six and a half away from the average in the triple double two.
but I just think there's better storylines
not just storylines of what people are doing.
What I would say is this, right now, me personally,
I would put on my head of the Joker.
Right now we're talking about today
because the simple fact of how Denver has been declining
the last few weeks, you know,
their games, they're not winning games,
they're losing games.
And then we're talking about the Lakers being on this win street.
But I wouldn't put him ahead of anybody else I named outside the Joker.
Even though the Joker is still doing what he was doing,
has not produced the wins these last few weeks.
So I would put him ahead of the Joker currently,
but I'm not putting him ahead of Shane.
And like I said, Cade Cunningham.
That's another story because now he's out.
And I'm going to put him above Jalen Brown at the moment.
But he's having a cessation of season.
And then Mace, right now,
would you put him above the Joker too?
are you on a different page?
Because sometimes y'all got different takes, so I got to clarify.
No, I actually like that take from Killer because that's what it's about right now in the West Coast.
You got to win games.
And if Joker team is declining, then I can see why he would make that statement.
I'm not in full agreement with it because they owe Joker MVP's from the years.
They didn't give it to them.
We know he should have been MVP.
So, you know, like the refs make up calls, if it comes down to it, this wouldn't be a good year, but they do owe the Joker some more MVPs.
Like, there's years.
They missed it on not giving it to Joker.
So, you know, I could see them making up an MVP or two or here, there, you know, but not this year.
This year is too many people playing stellar basketball for him to be MVP.
I think right now you got to keep it in that direction of K.
you got to keep it in the direction of SGA and Jalen Brown.
I don't think anybody else right now is realistically an MVP other than those three.
Got it.
Okay.
And just out of curiosity, because y'all be calling a lot of things,
so maybe we can get ahead of the curb a little bit.
But seeing that Luca just dropped 60 and we saw a band break that record of 83 points,
Mace, who do you think would be that next person to break that record?
Because, I mean, 100 is a lot.
I don't know if they're going to get to Wilts,
but we're seeing things are moving and shaking.
Who was that part that you think could get it done?
Yeah, you got Bam getting that number down in Miami.
I would love to hear the conversation between him and Dee Wade again about that.
And then you got this type of performance right here from Luca.
I think the next person to do this, I'm going to go out on the limb and say,
Anthony Edwards, he would be the next one to put up some amazing things.
members or when I say on the ledge and limb, I wouldn't be talking about Anthony Edwards,
though.
I was going to say Jalen Brunson.
I could really see Jalen Brunson having one of those type of games where he heats up
and gets a 60 point game.
What do you talk about that?
Who's going to break Wilts record?
No, I, if you think they could beat Will's record, then yes, but I'm thinking BAM's record.
Who's going to beat BAM's record?
Like, who do you think could be that next player to do so?
Nobody.
Nobody, because it's not within the game.
You get what I'm saying?
Like, Luke is 60, and look, I fuck with Bam.
I have no problem with Bam.
People's like, oh, you hate my bam, this, that, and the third.
You know, a few people was upset on the tape.
But you got to realize that wasn't to me, and I'm saying to me, within the game,
60 points that Luca had tonight within the game.
They won by eight points.
It was great competition.
As a matter of fact, it was against BAM.
It was a great game.
BAM 83 to me was not within the game.
When I say within the game, when you're winning by 20,
you don't foul the other team to stop them, stop the clock
so they can shoot free throws so you can get the ball back so one nigger can shoot.
If you have 20 points, why you file another team on purpose?
I don't, you know, that to me, that's not within the game.
That's what I mean.
You don't, you're not up 20 points and style of a team to stop the clock so I mean can shoot.
You know what I'm saying?
I don't even make no sense.
Even Kobe, no disrespect Kobe.
His shit was within the game.
But if two other niggas only take a shot in the fourth quarter, come on.
You know what?
So you know what I'm saying?
I'm not disincovers.
81 is 81 and 83.
You have to put the ball in the basket.
I will say that.
But it has to be within the game.
If you think about this, right,
Clay Thompson has 70 points in the third quarter.
And they were up 20, 25 points, 30 points.
What they were was.
Steve Kerr didn't let them play in the fourth quarter.
Steve Kerr said, nah, you bugging.
Slate Thompson wanted to play.
He wanted to get him.
But Steve Kerr held some dignity and was like,
no, bro, sit down, my nigga.
you got 73. You wilding,
you're up 30.
Chill out, my nigga.
So when it's, you know,
you got nothing about that, right?
You got 70 points in the third quarter and then play the fourth.
Play Thompson could have had 100.
But it wouldn't have been within the game.
He would have just been trying to break the record.
I don't know another coach that's going to let somebody do that
unless it's within the game.
I don't see anybody having 83 points within the game.
Just me personally.
It can not say it can happen.
The people makes names.
definitely can score. I don't know. Jalen Brunson has 60 already.
Airman's capable to score 70 points. Absolutely. We've seen
Donald and Mitchell scored 70 points. We've seen
Devin Booker score 70 points. But once
you're up that many points, your coach usually doesn't keep you in the game.
So I don't know. I'm not sure if anybody's going to beat
BAM's record. Yeah, good takes. Okay. So
Caleb, wait, wait, wait, wait. So are you saying it's not
within the game, if Clay Thompson would have got back in in the fourth quarter under your
definition of not within the game?
If you're up 30, most of the time the start is sick.
Because now what if you get hurt, right?
You're going to look like an asshole as a coach.
Like, see, you're being greedy.
That's what you get for being greedy.
We've seen plenty times where players only have 15, 16 points, but you're a starter and your
team is up 30 points going into the fourth quarter and you put the star player back in the game,
you look kind of like selfish as a coach or used to. Maybe I'm just out the new school loop.
You know what I'm saying? But to me, you don't do that because to me, he twists his ankle or get
injured. It's kind of bad karma to me. It's one of them unwritten rules we talk about murder
when niggas be like, yo, come on, my name. Yeah, what are you doing?
Your love suddenly 2.1.
One for the dump, you up eight.
Yeah, at the end, with two seconds left, that type of shit.
So, yeah, that's exactly what I'm saying, 100%.
Yes.
And then the players try to run down on you and get mad.
Yeah, I don't know if we got to go by the unwritten rule, though.
If he's up 70, I think that's different if Clay gets back in in the fourth quarter
and he has 70 in one quarter.
I think it's kind of different than BAM.
You know, we got some of the new three-quarters.
Yeah, okay, yeah.
I think BAM, I think BAM was doing it like the cheat code on Nintendo, you know what I'm saying?
When we're trying to break the record, you keep filing, you know how to hold a clock,
and you're trying to beat somebody high score.
I don't know how to really look at it, you know, depends on what kind of person you are.
But 80, 80, whatever, they, they.
whatever, you know?
Stop it.
Fowl me back then.
No.
No, no.
Listen, that's why it's called
an unwritten rule.
It's not, you cannot
not do it.
He did it.
Yo, you're right.
It isn't that you can't.
You did it.
It isn't like you can do it.
But it's depending on what kind of
niggins you got.
Because I'm just saying
how coaches used to have integrity.
Now, don't get it fucked up.
When we play ball,
we got them coaches that tell us to get back in the school 100.
You know what I'm saying?
But I'm just saying when it comes to levels,
I've just never seen none like it.
Not NBA, just me personally.
But, you know, what I will say is this.
Growing up, I think we did beat a team like that
and they wanted the coach was mad.
I don't know if you remember that.
Coach said, no, go kill them.
Yeah.
Exactly. It depends on a lot of different scenarios.
You got beef with another coach.
You don't like the city.
They did you wrong.
Your girlfriend, ex-girlfriends from that tear.
You don't know what's involved in the scenarios on why people do stuff.
But like I said, 83, I don't want people to think that 83 is not 83 points.
But is it within the game, right?
Let me tell you one time, right?
Remember Animal League gauchos?
Mm-hmm.
the in-house tournament.
I had 66 points.
Yeah, with a small basket.
Yeah, right.
I had 66 points in five minutes running time.
You know,
running time means the clock don't stop
for free throws or nothing.
But some people are Animal League,
you know, Animal League's in-house
so everybody don't know the rules.
So when I score a basket
and somebody's about to take it out,
I'll be like, yo, check it up.
And they'll check it to me
and I'll shoot it and lay it up.
I only have five minutes to do whatever.
So because they don't know the rule that you can't,
this is a referee,
you can't check it up.
You know what I'm saying?
I did everything I could.
Everything I could just to break the record
because I think Wally Lynch had the record like 50,
six points or something shit like that.
And I was trying to break Wally Lynch's record.
But the point being is, to me,
that ain't whipping the game.
If a nigger check me to ball up in a real game,
I'm taking it.
advantage.
Like, bro, this thing I don't know the rules, but if you can get away with it, you get away.
Yeah, that's within the game.
That's anything within the clock is within the game.
You know, if they don't like it.
I'm not mad to, I'm not to take it.
You can get away with it.
That's why he said unsaid rule, but if you can get away with it, history is going to show that.
Right.
Right.
No, no, no, listen, right.
They give some little white guy a four point.
They make a four point basket, and we're in 2038, and some little white boy,
we're going to be saying this to new school.
He got the four points, right?
He's shooting from the four point area.
What are we going to say about that?
He only hit 20 shots, but he had 80, you know.
It's within the game.
It's not on him that he was born.
in a different year, according to Cam, right?
That's when he was born.
He was on with the four point rule.
Yep.
You know, it's also within the game
if a niggas slam you on your head
for keep trying to play with niggas.
And then what happened?
You out for two weeks and then they're sucking
because that's what we would have did.
I just say, it's within the game, right?
But then when the niggas slam you,
they're going to be like,
that ain't basketball.
It ain't basketball, huh?
Nah, it was a flagrant.
I just did it a little worse than possible.
It's within the game.
A lot of should be within the game,
but do you want to do that?
Oh, Lord.
I remember the nigga, I'm going to tell you a story.
You want to time, right?
I was playing, I was, I really wasn't playing basketball
that much.
I was just playing like once in a while,
and God bless the dead all people.
I'm in Ali Moe and A-N-1 came to Ohio one year.
And A-N-1 was there.
and they was like can't play with the Ohio niggas in Columbus
and
like I said I was just playing for far
I don't even know the last time I ran a full court
I played
anyway I played
so I'm guard and hot sauce
cause
and hot sauce did some shit
and I didn't see the ball no more
and he tried to run and go somewhere
and I grabbed that nigger's shirt
I don't know
I seen the move later on
He'd do some shit
I didn't notice if I was gone
And do some shit
And throw the ball in the air
You didn't throw the ball in the air
All the way up
But I didn't know that move at the time
But the more of the story
When I see him
I didn't see the ball
And I see him
And I see him try to leave
I grab that nigga like this
And threw that nigga right in the crowd
And everybody like Kim
Why are you out?
Stop playing stupid with me man
that nigga right on the bleachers
off through that nigga
right on the bleach
that murder
all the N1N
Niggas
and they go like
it
It was like murder
I filed the niggas so bad
that you know
all the N1 niggas ran on the court
but they didn't know I was with mad niggas too
so all my niggas ran the court
like what's good and they're like
oh no nigger cam
playing within the game.
Nah, I didn't see the
ball no more. You're not going
nowhere. Me and you both going
into the bleachers.
And that's that.
It's within the game.
You're right.
I would love to see that.
I would love to see that.
It's a good explainer.
It's a pretty good explainer.
Some things aren't ethical,
but if it's within the game,
Hey, fine that clip, that's the line.
Yeah, it's all good because he ain't shaking me.
You went right in the bleachers with him.
I ain't playing.
I know the fool you're talking about, too.
I know the exact move you're talking about.
Yeah.
He did that in the plate, man, and Clark, C-A-U.
He did that same moving clock, C-A-U.
He had the one where he went like this and a ball
and they're not going for another.
No, no, brother.
No, I ain't playing.
No way.
No, that's very.
Crazy.
Okay.
So Anthony Edwards, another injury update.
He actually missed the last two games in his out due to
knee soreness.
He's expected to be sidelined for one to two weeks.
So, Mace, do you think the Timberwolves can survive without Ant?
Yeah, when you think about it, I don't think that the Timberwolves can do anything without
Amman.
He means too much to their offense, right?
They don't have another slasher since they traded the young boy, Dillahan, to Chicago,
so they don't have that many more slashes on that team anymore.
and I would have loved to see him play and be a part of this time.
But, you know, this is what happened when you think when you go all in with just the people that you have.
You got to keep those type of people around.
And I wish Ant Man, a speedy recovery.
I know they say he won't be out that long, but they're in no place to be winning without Amman.
Amman means way too much to their offense, way too much.
So I don't think they have a chance without Amman.
Yeah, it isn't about surviving because they say they're going to come back in one or two weeks.
It's about it's only four games in between where Minnesota is and the playing.
And right now, Minnesota's in the playoffs.
You don't want to slip down to that 7C and be in the play in.
Anything can happen in the play in.
So that's what I'm more concerned about while he's out.
Do they make sure that they stay four games ahead of Phoenix,
even though they're not in sixth place, you know,
looking at it currently there fourth place.
Only a game ahead of Houston, only a game I had of Denver.
But you don't want to fall into that playing situation
and you just don't know what happens in the plan.
You could be a game away from your season being ended and worked that hard.
So hopefully what I would say is that they can hold on to stand in the playing,
stay out of the plan, while Aunt Mans getting his race.
I think that's what it's more about because we know he's definitely coming back this season.
And I think that's why they're resting him now so that he'll be okay in the playoffs.
Because I don't think if he, to me, me personally, if it was playoff time,
I don't think we would be talking about admin sitting down.
I think he would play through the soreness.
But I think that they know the playoffs is coming up.
It may be some long pruning series and they're trying to make sure he's ready for that.
But it's more about to me, Minnesota, can you guys hold on?
to stay in the playoffs
out of the playing while
Ed Man is going
and I'm not sure if they're going to be able to do that
that's a great question
okay so
who's the biggest threat in the east
now we will discuss after the break
back so we discussed the West
a lot but now we're going to go back
to the east so with Cade's
injury maze what team do you think
is the biggest threat in the east
New York
New York big city
of dreams
Nah, let me stop
New York is not
the biggest threat on the east
is Boston. Boston is now
the number one threat
in the east. If you take
somebody out of number one, number two
become number one. Not number three,
not number four.
You know, I don't know who is playing the
ambulance just now or the cops
right now, but
I'm going to go to Boston.
I'm definitely going with Boston.
I can't think of another team.
I think Cleveland is right after the Knicks,
but that's the order that it goes in.
Boston, New York, Cleveland.
Yeah, I agree with that take.
You know, just the Knicks, just in general.
I didn't know, you know, I was kind of late
to seeing what happened to Kay and, you know,
who called me first.
Say what happened to Kaye coming here?
He said, now, I have lung collapse.
He can't play basketball no more.
That's what he said.
He says, that word.
His career is over.
He said, damn, his career is over.
So, you know, I had to go do my own homework
and do studies on it and do everything.
I said, I said, why would you say that?
Why would you just meet?
No, lung, collars. I said, but you didn't even
do the homework or what kind of injury this is.
He could be back this season, possibly.
Not career over.
All right, niggum.
You can't wait.
I say, yo, that's fucked up.
You said, no, no, then they try to clean it out.
No, I don't want the nigga, nothing bad that happened to him.
But that was his exact wording.
Nigger, Kay Cudderham, his career's over.
You don't want to deal with that, nigga, another 10 years, son.
He'll be back, nigga.
He'll be back.
But I'm agreeing with Mace.
Tatum's looking good.
I had 24 points a couple times since he's been back,
looking like he's back in River.
We already see with Jalen Browns when doing this season.
So to me, the number one threat would be Boston.
And also to agree with Mace, the Knicks would be second threat
because they still have their core team together of what they had last year.
The Knicks are one game away last year from going to NBA finals.
And then I put Cleveland there right after the Knicks
because we have to just see this James Hardin,
Donald and Mitchell-Mobile thing happened in the playoffs.
And we know James Harton's history when it comes to the playoffs.
one of the most prolific scores ever led his team to several playoff appearances,
especially in Houston.
But it seems like when the money's on the line, he just doesn't get it done.
He has decent help in Cleveland, so we'll see what happens.
But I'm putting the Knicks ahead of Cleveland, and I'm putting Boston ahead of the Knicks.
Okay.
Not just to...
Yo, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait.
Are we ready to say that the playoffs are just too big for just?
James Hardin, if he doesn't get it done this, if he doesn't show up, not get it done.
But if he doesn't show up in this playoffs, are we ready to say the playoffs is just not for James Hardin?
I'm not ready to say that because, you know, we have to think about about four seasons.
I know it's three or maybe four.
Who James Harden lost to in the playoffs?
He lost the dynasty.
Now, don't get me wrong, he doesn't show up for certain games during them seasons, right?
But he lost a, and he didn't just lose to anybody.
He lost to Kevin Garnett, Steph Curry, Clayton, he lost the dynasty two, three, four years out in situation.
Then we think about the time they were up on Golden State and Chris Paul gets hurt amidst the last two, three games.
And they could have be Golden State that year, but they're going to be Golden State that year,
But then Chris Paul gets hurt.
If I'm not mistaken, if they play a goal seat,
but I remember Chris Paul getting hurt,
and that's what caused them the series.
So it seems like that, yeah,
you're going to put the on this on James Harton
because he's the superstar of that team.
But, you know, that's like a quarterback, right?
When the quarterback wins, he gets all the praise.
When he doesn't win, even if it's a defensive stop
or something on defense, he gets all the blame.
So I'm not mad if somebody would be like,
James Harton just can't get it done.
But you have to look at how.
he got gets eliminated as well.
But to make,
to your point,
Mace,
game sevens,
even though it shouldn't be in the game sevens,
he disappears a lot.
Definitely.
That's not the games to disappear.
Game seven is when you're supposed to step up.
So I'm not mad at the take if somebody says
he doesn't get done in the playoffs too,
but just putting a little more context to it.
Let's think about who he got eliminated by as well.
So I want to ask you all.
I'm really...
Go ahead, Mace.
Yeah, I'm really talking about, like, the game sevens, like, exactly what you said.
The times when he just vanishes, like, take that game off.
And when it's, like, a really big game.
I'm not talking about getting beat by a team that's better than you.
Because if you go out with 30 points, we still remember that you was cooking, right?
That's what I'm talking about.
It's time for him to really put his imprint.
on a playoff series, whether he goes out or not, he got a short this, this evening for me.
But go ahead, stat.
Yeah, I was just going to ask you all a follow-up question, because if I had to put myself
in sin shoes, right, with the Knicks only being a game behind Boston, right,
what factors in particular kind of keep them out of that biggest threat combo?
Because I know you guys are like Boston First, and I know you guys are going specifically
by the standings, but.
Where's that hope?
Where is that?
There's no hope, Statt.
This has been going on for 40, 50 years, Statt.
This has been happening since we was eight years old, Stad.
This can't change now.
Like, just because you're a game behind,
you want to know how many times we've seen this in 40 years?
Just think of how many years you've seen that same sense.
in 40 years.
Oh, we about to do it.
Oh, we just got Charles.
What's the name?
Charles.
I forgot his name.
Charles Oakley.
Yeah, we just got Charles Oakley.
Then we just got Charles Smith.
Man, Kenny Smith just won a dunk contest.
That we've been hearing this since we've been eight years old.
Look at us that.
That's crazy.
hearing this issue
was eight years old.
My grandpa said this.
You get what I'm telling you?
My stepdad told me,
oh, we got to watch the game.
You got to sit down.
This is the year.
Statt.
My uncle said this.
Stad has made it all the way to send
city, stat.
From my grandpa,
Statt.
You never didn't bring up my grandpa, Statt.
This is how far is me, Stad.
What would you say to me now, Statt?
Keep wishing.
Keep wishing, keep on, keeping on.
That's what you can do.
But that's why I'm putting myself in his shoes
and I'm asking you both because I'm like,
I know that's the argument.
It's like, what are those factors?
The first time I heard this, Statt,
the first time I heard this,
I was probably six years old
with a snow cone
with colors on the snow cone
that's the first time
I heard this.
Maybe they
a-a-mea-mea-pitcher
with the snow cone.
It's the first time
I heard that
they're
they let me down
that long
that that's how long
didn't let me down.
So when somebody
saying me and
saying that's how far.
They've been telling us this since AJ jeans.
That, do you know what AJ jeans are, stat?
No.
I don't know.
I don't.
That's how long.
AJ.
Apple bottoms.
That's as far back as I can go.
That's as far back as I can go.
Oh, my goodness.
That's great.
You're like, she's 24 jeans with apple bottoms.
That's great.
That's like a 30-year gap.
That was like the last gene that was like, if you're talking about actual genes, that I remember that was popular, Apple bottoms.
I don't know no other gene that made waves, but I'll search it up because I don't know.
I don't know.
You might as well ask her what Sergio Valenti is.
maybe.
Sure you don't know what that is.
You don't know what Gimbals is.
But the answer to your question is,
the answer to your question is that,
yeah,
I agree with Mason. Mason's kind of being nice about it
to be totally honest with you.
See, what Mason's telling you is
this has been going on since our
recollection of basketball, right?
So we might have started watching basketball
at five, six, seven years old. How old are you
started watching basketball?
And that's what he's basically said when he was old enough to be aware of watching an NBA game and the Knicks were the team.
That's how long it's been going on for us, but it's going on before we were born.
This is what I'm trying to tell you.
Mason is going on by his recollection.
This is going to happen before we were born, stat.
We're not old enough to see the Knicks won a championship.
You know, somebody would be like, last time the Knicks won, you was just two years old.
We don't even got that.
So, no, no, I'm not, no.
And that's what people are like, y'all, y'all hate on the Knicks.
We're not hating on the Knicks.
We have to go by what history is telling us, right?
Think about it last year.
You ever seen before last, I remember us having the, the quote-unquote funerals for the next, you know,
when they lost, you know, because we knew it was happening.
And last year, it looked like it can happen.
And they beat the, we thinking, okay, you beat Boston.
This is a done deal.
They're going to the championship, right?
Know what?
Let's name a street after Carl Anthony Towns,
McKell Bridges, Jamie Rose, and Josh Hawley's giving them their own street.
Speeding.
Speed in, brother.
Slow down and take this ticket.
You bugging.
So, yeah, Mason's talking about our recollection of when we was able to watch the next play.
I know exactly what Mace is talking about.
That was my favorite.
Drain off the ice stream trucked in three colors and pores.
You suck the flavor out, pores, pores, pores, pause, pause.
That was my favorite drink.
So you don't even understand what kind of environment we was in for that snow cone.
The world's changed since that.
Several times.
So, no, no.
I want them to get there.
I'm wishing them the best.
but history just says different.
Yeah.
Well, to Nix fans, you guys heard it here first,
but maybe keep the hope strong, you know?
Maybe you guys can prove them wrong.
I'm always going to vote for some sort of upside,
so that's what I will put.
And as far as ice cream trucks,
I don't even know what happened to them.
They just disappeared one day, like all in unison,
which is real sad because they would make your day.
Okay, so Lovar Ball confirms that Lamello
has a son with model Anna Montana named La One, and since he plans to start training him for the NBA at three years old, he said,
Jello already got my number one pick. I got another one too called La One. Yes, indeed. If I raise y'all three killers in the backyard,
what do you think I'm going to do with a gym in the backyard? So hearing this from LaVar Ball, Mace, what are your thoughts? What are your thoughts on La One and starting training at three?
This is crazy. Everything about this.
This is crazy from the name Leone, right?
That's fire, you know.
You got a name like that.
You got to do something crazy.
It's better than calling a girl Mercedes, right?
So I'm going with the one.
What's wrong with Mercedes?
What's wrong with Mercedes?
We'll tell you later that.
But when it comes down to LaVois,
Ball, I think he's serious about this.
And LeVar Ball, if you're listening to this, we would love to have you on the show.
We'll love for you to come up here and tell us your side of the story with this whole thing
and break it down even more for us.
We're fans of everything you've done with your sons and everything you've done outside of that,
with your sneakers, the brand, everything.
You know, but I love this for LaValle Ball.
This is exactly what he needs.
He needs something to put his attention to and give his attention to detail with.
And I like everything that he's done with his sons.
You know, I really appreciate guys like that that really know what they're talking about.
So shout out them.
Shout out the Hannah Montana.
You know.
Anna, but.
Shout out to the whole of mine.
What?
Anna Montana.
Hannah Montana is that girl.
But Anna Montana.
Cam.
I'm a
right.
No, I'm saying.
I'm a big LeVar Bull fan.
It's funny that this topic came up today.
I actually spoke to LeVar Ball's assistant
the day before yesterday about getting him on the show.
So it's very, very coincidental.
But, yeah.
Look, man, LeVar Ball comes off as arrogant, comes off as a loud mouth,
comes off as whatever you want to say.
But what you can't say is that he's not a great father.
And you can't say he didn't raise three great basketball players,
three professional basketball players.
You know, we sit here and say whatever about Jello.
But Jello had a chance in the NBA just to stay there.
And then Jello actually could have played.
He was good enough to play ball overseas,
but he didn't want to go overseas.
You know what I'm saying?
So he raised three great basketball players.
Absolutely.
And I think that you got to start young.
Three years old is a great age to start training.
Put the ball in their hands and two.
So they could get familiar with it around the house.
But I think it's a great, great age to start training.
I was actually in the gym with Floyd Mayweather a few nights ago.
And his grandson is out there just punching everybody that walks by,
punching the punching bags, just punching everything, man.
He made me flinch.
I walked out here and me with one of these.
I'm like, calm down.
But this is when you have to start putting it in these people.
Hey, there's very rarely, don't get me wrong,
you have some people who's late-bloomers to start late fighting,
playing ball, so on and so forth.
But nine times out of ten, these professional athletes start
at five, six years old, seven years old.
I know, how old was you, Mace, I don't know,
when you started playing organized basketball?
Probably like eight.
Yeah.
You know what I'm saying?
Right, with a referee, right?
Yeah, I started at nine.
So the thing about it is,
and you got to think about, we probably,
I don't know or not,
but I found out about the gauchos at eight,
and somebody took me over there and I played it.
I went there at nine,
and I didn't play my first tournament,
until 10, but I started, I was around tournaments growing up.
There's a lot of tournaments at Harlem.
I remember wanting to play for Chick All-Stars so bad.
I just wasn't good enough at the time.
That's what really made me want to play basketball.
But we're talking about 40 years ago almost.
Right now, they got tournaments.
I see kids at three years old playing in the tournament
and not necessarily knowing all the rules,
but running the full court, they still not having their
They're not calling dribble or double dribble or travel or anything,
but they're getting the concept of what a game is.
So I think this is a great age.
But LaBar Boy, you cannot doubt his father and skills.
You cannot doubt him trying to make great business decisions for his kids.
And you can't deny him raising three pro athletes.
You know, when you look at the, I didn't see a documentaries or not necessarily documentaries.
He seems like a documentary, but I see different clips.
Or when he was coaching Lamello Ball, yelling to him,
screaming to him, talking about you ain't shit.
You think you bad than the organization.
You think you bad than this.
And that just goes to show, just because you was his son,
or just because you are his son,
you're not going to get away with murder.
You know, everybody thought the Laval was crazy
when he said, I'm not going to put Lamello in college.
I'm a son to Australia to play with the pros
so he can play with grown men.
he didn't do conventional with La Mello.
But you see, to me,
Lamello has the biggest upside of all his kids.
So as far as basketball is concerned.
So I think he knows what he's doing
and we'll see what happens.
But congratulations to the one and the ball family.
Facts.
Okay, so let me ask y'all this one thing before we wrap.
So is there a skill or something that you wish you were taught
or learned earlier on in life?
because I mean we're seeing he's training them young.
Is there something that you wish?
Like, dang, if I just knew this at this,
I would have been able to do this.
Or you're completely set with how everything turned out, Mace.
Oh, man.
I wish y'all to play more football.
Like, I remember we was going to high school
and our coach said that about one of the players on our team.
I was like, man, he said you would have made a great corner.
or something wide receiver, I think it was.
And then when I got older, I was, yeah, I recognized.
I said, man, for everything that we had, like, if I was a cornerback,
I probably would have been an NFL star, just thinking about the things that I like to do.
So that's something I wish I would have played more football growing up.
You know what's crazy is that we actually had a player on our team.
that played on a football team
and he couldn't come play with us
until football season was over
and we used to be like
fuck you want to play football for
my man Travis
we used to be like yeah what are you doing
like when you in New York
football really wasn't that big a deal
so when somebody was playing football
it was like
why are you doing that
but then like may say
you know
when I got the school in Texas
When I went to school, the college of Texas, football was bigger than basketball.
And then, like, to Mason's point, you don't have to be that tall to be good in football.
You know, it helps when you're a quarterback or maybe even wide receiver.
Like if you're, you know, I'll say Randy Morse.
But you can also be Tyree Kill and be fast and be a great receiver.
You know what I'm saying?
But we frowned upon football in New York City.
they had a team of warriors
that used to practice on a hundred forty-fifth
and Lennox at one time
and I don't know what happened and they kind of just
disappeared and shit
but
they did. Football wasn't
I mean I'm just mad at
Travis like yo bro we need you to get back
on the team talking about a season and I was over
what the fuck is just do both
pause I don't know why he couldn't
but anyway make a long story short
to answer your question I was just
pondering on Mace's answer
to answer your question, it's a lot of stuff that you could have say,
I wish I did this or wish I did that.
But I think not doing any of that made me the person I am today,
and I'm happy that the route that I took made me the man I am today
because we could have been like, yo, what if I was a football player?
Just going off with Mesa, it's a hundred different things.
What if I was a football player?
We may not have the personality that we have to.
day. And my football career would have been over 15, 16 years ago. And then after the after your second acting life may not have been as good. Everybody doesn't have a personality, like a great personality if you're a sports broadcaster from playing sports. Some people do, but just because you play sports, that don't mean that you know how to talk good about it. I think the trajectory of my life just went perfectly for where I'm
at today in life because it's a lot of things
you'd like, dear, what if I did this or what if I did
that? And
no, you know, I think that
me having to sneak out the house
because I live with my grandparents and
being able to go to Mace's house or
house or whoever
help me
write rounds with Mesa, build
a bar and pause with Mace's just outside
of school or
just being
in the right place at the right time.
wouldn't change. I think about that a lot.
What would I change? Not just because you're asking.
I'm like, I'm glad nothing else
kind of worked out.
Because I think we're in a great
space today. And that's
what it's about being in a great space
in a second half or middle of your life.
It's being in a great space.
Because what if you had a sensational football career
and you didn't know how to manage your money
or you got with a shy state of calendar?
On Dodgers football, basketball, basketball, or anything in life?
Yeah. Or what if you got a, or what if you
got a regular job and right now you're 50 years old you still got to get up and go to work
when it's time and go to work because you can't get your social security check yet you got
another 15 years we're doing going to work and not downing anybody who does that I'm just saying
I'm thanking God that my life turned out the way it is because I'm very happy with it right now
yeah that's an overall great take because that's exactly why everybody ended up to where they are
But me personally, there are two skills that I really wish I worked on.
I really wish I learned how to swim earlier on because in certain situations,
when we go to the water parks and stuff, I'm like, dang, like, I really should get in this water,
but I can't because I don't want to do nothing crazy.
That was the first thing.
And the second thing, I actually was really good with instruments, y'all.
Like, I used to be able to play piano and the cello and stuff like that.
I kind of wish I honed down on those skills because now that social media is like a thing,
I'm like, that would have been so cool.
I mean, to me, everybody else might not think it's cool, but it's cool to me.
I really wish I could still play the cello well because I would just post my little clips
and continue about my day because those are the little things that I like.
But those are the two skills I wish I would have kept up with and got good at because it's just dope.
Like, I don't know what you like that.
Let me ask you a question.
Yeah.
You know what a recorder is?
Yeah.
The instrument.
How do you hold it?
Like this.
Right?
That's a harmonica.
Oh, this?
I saw the name.
So all they gave us growing up was a recorder.
No,
record is like a harmonica.
It's like, that's a harmonica.
Oh, like the fake flute.
Yes.
Yeah, that's all they gave us.
That's too late.
I ain't jacking you.
No, I promise.
Like, I promise I know what a reporter,
because I actually had a record.
I was like really.
good with instruments. Like that was my thing.
Like, I was in chorus. I was in orchestra.
Like, I had to do all that. I promise I know what a recorder is.
I don't know why I went harmonica.
But I was like, that's cool if y'all learned that too.
But the recorder is fun.
You just can't do much with it.
Was that a class that y'all had to take?
I know that my school, like, I met you.
They just gave you one of them shit and, like, learning.
I don't remember there was a class.
So now, I remember having one and we had to like kind of learn it,
but I don't even remember having no lessons.
I think they came with a paper.
Like, you know, come back and now to play this shit.
So just try it.
See, shout out to recorders.
I don't even know if people still use them,
but bring back playing instruments.
I think it's a dope thing that people should get back into.
Comments down below.
Let us know a skill that you wish you learned earlier or kept up with.
if you want to know, so let us know in the comments.
But that is all the time that we have for today.
Thank y'all for watching.
And as always, it is what it is.
