Locked On Cardinals - Daily Podcast On The St. Louis Cardinals - MLB SQUAD SHOW! Blue Jays DEFY Odds and SILENCE Critics | Can They Topple the Mighty Dodgers?
Episode Date: October 24, 2025World Series Showdown: Dodgers vs. Blue Jays - Who Will Reign Supreme?The Los Angeles Dodgers and Toronto Blue Jays face off in an unexpected World Series matchup. Can the Blue Jays' complete team cha...llenge the Dodgers' powerhouse lineup? Key discussions include team strengths, payroll disparities, and the impact of high-spending franchises on MLB. The hosts analyze starting pitching, bullpen strategies, and offer bold predictions for the series outcome. Shohei Ohtani, Freddie Freeman, and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. take center stage as potential game-changers.Tune in for expert insights on this thrilling World Series clash and the broader issues shaping the future of baseball.Support Us By Supporting Our Sponsors!PrizePicksDownload the PrizePicks app today and use code LOCKEDONMLB to get $50 in lineups after you play your first $5 lineup.PrizePicks — Run Your Game.Click Link Here: https://prizepicks.onelink.me/LME0/LOCKEDONMLBRugietReady to level up your confidence ? Head to https://rugiet.com and use promo code LOCKEDONMLB for 15% off your first order.MonarchTake control of your finances with Monarch Money. Use code LOCKEDONMLB at https://monarch.com/lockedonmlb for 50% off your first year.GametimeDownload the Gametime app, create an account, and use code LOCKEDONMLB for $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Download Gametime today. What time is it? Gametime.FanDuelToday's episode is brought to you by FanDuel. Football season is around the corner, visit the FanDuel App today and start planning your futures bets now.FANDUEL DISCLAIMER: 21+ in select states. First online real money wager only. Bonus issued as nonwithdrawable free bets that expires in 14 days. Restrictions apply. See terms at sportsbook.fanduel.com. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit FanDuel.com/RG (CO, IA, MD, MI, NJ, PA, IL, VA, WV), 1-800-NEXT-STEP or text NEXTSTEP to 53342 (AZ), 1-888-789-7777 or visit ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-522-4700 (WY, KS) or visit ksgamblinghelp.com (KS), 1-877-770-STOP (LA), 1-877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY), TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN) Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Oh, this is it. We're down to all the marbles, and it's the Dodgers, just like we all thought.
Canada!
Step up to the plate. It's the Lockdown MLB Squad show.
From the Dodgers to the Astros, the Mets to the Rangers, and everyone else in the league,
with the experts of the Lockdown Podcast Network bringing you the most comprehensive breakdown
of all the action around the war.
We're coming in Spikes Up. No hurt feelings allowed. So squad up.
This is the latest edition of the Lockdown MLB Squad show.
Hello, my name is Jeff Carr.
I am one half of Lockdown Reds.
I am the channel manager for Lockdown MLB.
Joining me here today is Jeremiah Geiger from Lockdown Marlins,
one half of Lockdown Guardians and Justin Lada.
And of course, the inimitable, the inimitable I'm making up words at this point.
Sully is here from Lockdown, MLB.
And we are going to tell you all about our predictions for the World Series
and why they are probably exactly right.
So make sure you listen.
and because it feels like the Dodgers have been off for a month as it took seven games to figure out the ALCS.
And now we know it's the Toronto Blue Jays that will oppose them.
And that is going to be quite the matchup because it feels as though these Blue Jays have just got it all figured out.
Right.
Right.
That's all coming up on today's squad show that's brought to you by Fanduel.
Right now, new customers can bet just $5.
And if your bet wins, you get $300 in bonus bets to use across the app.
now mode fan duel today and also joining us now is also booney from locked on a's
and guys as we look at this world series it's obviously going to be the dodgers and they're
probably going to win in like four games right because i mean obviously they're ruining baseball
and and we have to have this story you know come to an end right it's got to be their
a ruination has to be final, correct?
No. And I really can't, I can't understand.
Like, I live here in L.A. County, and everyone's just, the only question they're asking here is,
will there be a three-peat? And all my people who are big Yankee fans and everything
around the, or A's fans, or whatever teams around the country, have been texting me,
do the Blue Jays have a shot, or is this just going to be sweep? I'm going, like, have I been
watching a different team. First of all, the Blue Jays have home field advantage. Granted, so did
Milwaukee. But we've seen that the Blue Jays can hit with anybody. And believe me, I did a whole
apologies episode because everyone has been underestimating the Blue Jays the entire year. And
they're in the World Series. And they did so in a dramatic fashion. And, and, and, and,
And they're probably not going to throw to the wrong base to end a series.
They're probably going to score more than four runs the entire series like Milwaukee did.
I don't understand why people are acting like this is the, they're the Washington generals.
I mean, to your point, like Ernie Clement had more hits in the ALCS than the Brewers did as a team in the NLCS.
There was a period of time in the game four, which I attended, where Shohei Otani had as many home runs in that game as the Brewers had runs in their entire series.
That's not going to happen with the Toronto Blue Chase.
I don't understand why people are acting like this is just a complete mismatch.
Can we also stop pretending that this whole thing is ruining baseball too?
I know there's there is okay is there is there a financial disparity issue absolutely there is a disparity issue that needs to be addressed I don't have the answers for otherwise Rob Manfred might hire me and I might you know tell him to go kiss off because I don't want to work for Rob Manfred but the blue jays are what fifth in payroll like there's still a big market payroll team big market in our country they have a whole country exactly it's Canada team Canada team Canada.
I don't know what the exchange rate is these days,
but I'm pretty sure they're still paying a good amount of money.
They still kept Vladimir Guerrero Jr.
For a boat of Frank Quas,
and they were able to sign George Springer.
They were able to sign Kevin Gosman, right?
They still meet Jeff Hoffman, who, you know, wasn't that good.
So let's not pretend that there's like this David Goliath thing here that's going on.
The flu just has a huge payroll.
If you spend, you get in, and that increases your odds of not screwing.
up in the postseason unless you throw to the wrong base, as Sully said. But this is not
killing baseball. There's a whole different issue here. But the Blue Jays are also a top five spending
team. So this is not like a, again, this is not a David Goliath situation. Well, and to your point,
too, like I don't know if everybody's seen that whole Forbes thing that, uh, I think it was
Brooksgate posted on Twitter. It was mentioning that, you know, so many teams have spent 50% or less
of their revenue on their payroll. To, uh, the Blue Jays credit, they're one of the teams that actually
outspend their ranking as far as where their revenue and where their payroll is.
So they've really worked at this. I mean, when you look at it, Booney, do you feel as though
it's just going to be an easy walkthrough for the Dodgers? Or is this, do you think the Blue Jays have a
shot? I'm with Sully on it. I think the Blue Jays have an extremely good shot.
One thing that didn't get exposed in the Brewers Dodgers series because the Dodgers starting
pitching was so darn good and went so damn deep was the bullpen. And I think the Brewers
from top to bottom is going to shorten that outing from five to six innings rather than the
Brewer series going from seven to eight.
And I think that's a big deal.
The brewers are good.
They're really, really good.
And I think they're going to surprise a lot of people.
Blue Jays.
Not surprised a lot of people.
The Blue Jays.
Brewers would be very surprising if they were still playing.
I would be surprised.
Pretty insled.
It's clear.
Booney really.
I'm going to go to Fannie will put my money on the Brewers in the World Series.
Burrs Mariners is going to be a hell of a series.
But yeah, no, I mean, Jeremiah, like the bullpen of it all,
I have said that since the wild card.
I said that in the DS.
I thought that the bullpen was going to be the Achilles heel of the Dodgers.
And it just never seems like they even get to the bullpen.
As good as they're starting pitching has been.
Well, quickly, too, about the payroll issue in killing baseball.
How about the Mets with the second biggest payroll?
They didn't even make the playoffs, courtesy of your Miami Marlins, by the way,
and the Cincinnati Reds.
But I think the Blue Jays have an excellent shot.
Their offense is incredible.
I mean, they can hit, when they get hot, they're going to hit homers in boatloads.
And the Dodgers starting rotation has their work cut out.
Do they have a really good rotation?
Yeah, obviously.
But that rotation doesn't go through a whole season unscathed.
They're not going to go through, I don't believe, the World Series unscathed.
So I think the Blue Jays have to start off on the right foot.
They got the home field advantage.
If they come out flat, then yeah, the Dodgers are going to have all the momentum going back to L.A.
But don't get it twisted.
This Blue Jays offense is legit.
It's why they're in the World Series.
I thought that the Dodger or the Mariners had a better chance to beat the Dodgers in the World Series.
But now I've kind of changed my mind because the Blue Jays are a more complete team.
The Mariners were a terrible defensive team this year.
They didn't run the base as well.
The Blue Jays don't have defensive issues.
In fact, they have a lot of ex-gardians on their team because they play good defense.
And make no mistake about it.
I'm rooting for the Guardians of the North to win this the whole thing somehow.
But it's not happening from rooting baseball, obviously.
But because they have Vlad Guerrero and they have Alejandro Kirk and they have Dalton Varshot
and Bobuchette should be able to come back for them.
Because they have George Springer, they can make it work where they have a Jimenez and a straw and a Clement.
A Clement, obviously, at a great CS.
they are a more complete team than the Mariners for it.
Their bullpen, I thought, would be an issue for them.
But I think their manager hasn't figured out.
Like, there's a lot of talk about relievers this year and the third time a team has seen a reliever in a series.
He's mixed it up really well.
They have a good rotation.
If they can get into the Dodgers bullpen, which I know is hard, I think they're right.
I think Jeremiah's right.
They can absolutely do it.
And I think they have a shot.
Dodgers right now are minus 215.
That's the odds.
215, 215 to win 100.
The highest of all time was the A's over the Reds in 91.
90, excuse me.
And how that worked out?
300.
Not very good.
It's 330.
35 years ago yesterday, that, 35 years ago yesterday, that's sweeping.
A couple, a couple of tiny things.
These three tiny things could have gone one way or the other, and we're not looking at L.A.
Freddie Freeman picks up a ball in the dirt
thrown by Tommy Edmund in game two against Philadelphia
that was a middle of a Dodger bullpen meltdown
and if that is he doesn't scoop that ball out the game is tied
okay
Bryce Terang gets his leg out of the way of an inside pitch
with the bases loaded with two outs in the bottom of the ninth inning.
That ball hits him. It's a blown save.
And of course,
if Orion Kekering remembers that there's two outs and doesn't throw the ball to Mary Hart,
then, you know, that game's going into extra, going to the next end,
who knows what Philadelphia does.
One of the shocking things about Milwaukee was they played so not the type of baseball we
saw all year long.
They made errors, but most importantly, they were swinging early.
They were trying to, they were swinging first pitch, which allowed them to have Blake
Snell do something Kevin Cash couldn't even imagine, which was pitch eight innings, or to allow Yamamoto to say, hey, I have an idea of what to do with our ballpen.
We'll have them throw a complete, we'll have him throw a complete game.
But Trinin stinks.
And he, and he let up runs against Philadelphia.
He surprised, the only run he let up in game, they let up in game four, the Otani game.
Surprise, it was off of Trinan.
He nearly blew the save in game one.
If the ball hit his leg, then boom.
those couple of dumb moves by the other team,
if Toronto doesn't play dumb baseball,
I think they have a shot.
Do I think it's easy?
Do I think they're going to pull the Cincinnati Reds in 1990 and sweep them?
No, but I do not understand the people who are acting like this is,
this is a, oh, it's just seeing who's going to be,
who's going to the Dodgers are going to beat.
They don't even have home field advantage.
Oh, like Sully says,
Dodgers are lucky. Now, I do find an interesting prop here coming up next that I want to dive into
because it does have to do with the Dodgers and they're starting pitching. Let's be real.
Making excuses doesn't solve anything. We've all heard them before. It's just stress. I'm tired,
or it happens to everyone sometimes. But when it comes to performance, sometimes your body just
needs a little extra support. And that's where Ruggiat comes in. Ruggiat.com offers fast acting doctor
prescribed treatments for ED designed to help you stop making excuses and start making moves.
Rugi, it makes it easy to get started.
You just connect with board certified doctor 100% online, no awkward waiting rooms,
no in-person appointments if prescribed.
Your treatment ships discreetly straight to your door.
The process is fast, simple, and private, and it's all handled by real doctors.
Visit RUG-I-E-T.com slash locked-on MLB.
and get 15% off your first order.
That's RUG-I-E-T.com slash Locked-on MLB.
And don't forget to use our code, Locked-on MLB,
so they know that we sent you.
Ruggie it.
Stop making excuses and start making moves.
Your favorite MLB team has a MLB podcast right here on Locked-on
because we cover every team every day here on the Lockdown podcast network.
Make sure that you make us part of your everyday routine on YouTube
and on your favorite audio platform.
we are free and available everywhere.
You get your podcast. All right. So I saw this interesting thing.
And it has to do with the starting pitching, obviously, unless a relief pitcher comes in
and does that. And I would be surprised, there's a prop for any starting pitcher to have
12 or more strikeouts in a game on this World Series. And the odds on that are plus 350.
That kind of feels like the Dodgers will hit that or will it be Kevin Gosman?
I don't know. But do we see the Dodgers starting pitchers?
going long enough into World Series games to accomplish such a feat.
That is not happening because the Blue Jays were one of the teams that have struck out the least in the postseason.
Now the Dodgers have struck out their rotation has struck out the most batters.
But I'm going to say the Blue Jays lineup has enough power hitters to grant out at bats and have contact hitters for balance.
But that's not going to happen.
But I'm just glad the prop bet isn't if the pitcher is going to throw a ball in his first pitch, honestly.
Yeah, you would, you would have some knowledge of that one, unfortunately.
It's clear, though, that the power is a big thing.
And, I mean, we've seen a lot of home runs really change these playoffs.
And I mean, Jeremiah, when you got a guy like Vladimir Guerrero in your lineup, you can play with anybody.
Yeah, I think the 12 strikeouts is such an interesting prop bet to me, because I could see a guy like Blake Snow go out there and go five.
two-thirds and 12 strikeouts, but his pitch count so elevated that he leaves the game early.
He just has that firepower.
You mentioned Gosman.
Gosman's one of the most volatile pitchers I can remember being the ace of the staff,
because during the regular season, he was just so inconsistent.
He'd go eight innings one game and then give up five, six earn runs the next game.
The power for the Blue Jays is the key in this series to me.
It's if Vlad Guerrero can continue this just, I.
I mean, MVP level performance, you know, earning every single dollar of the contract.
And I see no reason why not to believe this is going to continue.
He has the supporting cast.
He has the protection in the lineup.
We just saw George Springer.
Bo Bichette's going to be back hopefully for the World Series.
So call me crazy.
I really like this Blue Jays team to give the Dodgers starting rotation trouble.
I don't think it's going to be a walk in the park like it was.
against Milwaukee. I just don't. I think this Blue Jay's team is legit, and they're going to,
they're going to hit the ground running. By the way, Jeremy, I think it's absurd to think that any
manager would take Blake Snell out of a game before the end of the sixth inning. I mean,
what kind of parallel universe. Especially in the world series. Especially in a do or die where it's like,
we got to, where he's airing it all out, why would any, why would anyone their right mind do that?
He will never live that down. That is his greaty little moment. One of the things that I think
you're 100% right. And I think that the strikeout thing is not going to be an issue. This is a
contact hitting team. This is a smart team. And yes, Vladi Guerrero got three home runs. Somehow
Anders Jimenez got two home runs, which is surreal. He has more postseason home runs than
Willie Mays. And, you know, George Springer hit his three home runs and everything like that.
But this is not a Yankees launch angle. We're just swinging from our heels. This is a smart hitting.
team. They'll shorten up their swings and go to right field. They do situational baseball.
They will squeeze a couple of runs here or there and then get the big honkin home run.
And that's one of the, you saw them, obviously they did that like crazy against New York,
but they did that against Seattle as well, especially after the first two games. Remember,
both Milwaukee and Toronto were down 02 going to the other city. Milwaukee never recovered. And Toronto
dusted themselves off. And you saw that from, you know, when they had the third, was it 13 to
two or 13 to 4, sorry, they had that game where, you know, they fell behind early. Everyone in Seattle
is throwing their Starbucks in the air. And then, you know, it wasn't just the Springer home run.
It was, and it wasn't just a him in his home run. It was single by Lucas, double by Guerrero,
you know, walk, you know, Varsho gets a hit. Like they, up and down,
the lineup. They just have smart at bats. They grind it out so they're going to get to the
bullpen faster. And heck of the hell of it. I'm saying it's a Toronto sweep. I don't think
LA has a chance. Interesting. Okay. No, thank you. Okay. Okay. It's funny to hear, though,
Andrus Hemannis has more postseason home runs than Willie Mays. You got to love that.
He has more than Willie Mays and Ted Williams combined. That's an unbelievable stat. I'd never
would have guessed and hell, Ernie Banks, for that matter, if you want to throw him in,
because he never played the postseason.
It started Joey Votto, you know,
started adding up a whole bunch of different guys.
Did Fado hit one against the Giants in 2012?
One, yeah, but like,
Okay, oh, that's true.
You're right, my point.
But I guess combined, because Willie Mays did hit one in the playoffs.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
So that'll be, I don't know, like I find it intriguing this whole series,
the way that this matchup has fallen.
I just, the Dodgers seem to have waltz through the NL portion of these playoffs.
And we said that the NL was supposed to be the toughest of the two leagues.
And it felt like the more entertaining series happened on the American League side.
Would you agree?
Well, I could tell you, I went to a hell of an entertaining game at Dodger Stadium when I saw
Shohei Otani hit three home runs and picked six shutout.
It's under the entertaining quality.
Close, maybe.
Closer series.
This, I think this postseason has had, has had four really, or I think five really great games.
I think the first game, the, the game where Crochet beat the Yankees at Yankee Stadium was a great game.
Obviously, the final game between Seattle and Detroit, that was just an all-time game.
Yeah.
But the Orion Keckering game, and I hate that that's what it's called, but that was a really amazing game.
The final game between Toronto and Seattle, game seven.
was terrific. And then, of course, you have Otani having the greatest individual performance
in the history of the postseason. Those are five really memorable games that, okay, maybe four
because I'm leaning one that the one Red Sox win, but that was a hell of a game. But okay,
okay, let's take my bias out of it. You've had four really, really good games before we get
to the World Series. And, you know, I think that they're evenly distributed between the
American League and the National League.
I was just going to say, I think the reason that you haven't seen the NL
is competitive is because the Dodgers are a veteran team that has turned down in the
postseason.
Normally it's very dangerous to be a team that, obviously, that, you know, they want
enough games to win their division and their division's not weak by any means.
But they were not the top seat overall in the playoffs.
They didn't get a first round by at all, but they've turned it on in October.
And that's because they have a group of guys in the state.
team, the Freddie Freeman's that have been there before, the Mookie Betts is now at So
Tani there. They have all these guys in this roster that have been there a couple times now
throughout their time with the Dodgers of their teams. They can turn it on in October
and that's what they've done. They have moved into October mode. That's what they've been playing
for all year. So that's why I feel like they haven't had any pushback. And I wonder
when we get to the first game of the World Series or this series at all, if the Toronto
Blue Jays, who have had to kind of fight through the entire postseason, at least say in a
first round by the two series they've played they've had to fight a little bit more tooth and nail
and i wonder if that will make them a little more not motivated but the dodgers probably having
as much pushback so i wonder how that plays let's go around the horn and make our predictions coming
up next there's still time to get in on this great introductory offer over on fandle i know that we're in
the middle of football season and all that stuff but of course the world series is starting on
friday night and we've got the odds for the series winner the dodger's
are favored minus 220 no surprise there you've got the odds on the blue jays winning at plus 184 it's
interesting because it kind of feels like i've been picking against the dodgers all postseason and uh i'm
just not going to do it like kind of feel like minus 220's hard to put any kind of money on but i think
i'm picking the dodgers to win this world series and if you've got a choice you can go make yours over on
fandool and new users can place a five dollar wager and if it wins you get 300
in bonus bets.
That's a crazy good offer.
Go download that Fandual app today.
Kind of feels like we're all picking the Blue Jays, huh?
I don't know there, Jeremy.
What do you think?
You know, going into this season,
a lot of people didn't think the Blue Jays were a playoff team,
much less going to win the division,
go to the World Series,
and now they face the Mighty Dodgers.
The best team money can buy.
Anything short of a World Series trophy is a failure.
And I see the series going one of two ways.
The Dodgers put the money where their mouth is and go out and sweep the Blue Jays or win it in five.
Or the Blue Jays make this an all-time classic.
They win in six or seven.
I got the Toronto Blue Jays shocking the world in game seven, slaying the dragon and winning the world series.
I like it.
I was told at the beginning of the year that John Schneider needed firing, Sally.
I can't remember who said that.
It was me.
Oh, yeah.
I have completely apologized to the nation of Canada for insinuating that he needed to be fired.
I thought I'd been adamant about it.
And do you what, I was wrong.
I was wrong about a lot of things about the Toronto Blue Jays, a lot of them.
I've underestimated them.
I thought both the Red Sox and the Yankees would clobber them if they faced each other in the division series.
I thought Seattle was going to get in.
Every turn I've picked against them.
And I look at this and I see last year, look at the Dodgers deserved the World Series
title last year.
But they avoided the Phillies because the Mets took them out.
And I thought the Phillies were a deeper team.
Last year the Dodgers had a mess in their starting rotation.
You know, when they had Sandy Koufax throughout the
first pitch. They asked them, could you give us four? I mean, they had to, they scheduled a
bullpen game, not a bullpen game because it was an 18-in-a-game. That was part of the rotation
was a bullpen game last year. And Dave Roberts was able to, you know, overpower a Mets team that
was, you know, played a little over their head and deserved their spot that they were not
in the same league. And a very dumb team in the Yankees. They are Biff Tannen from back to the future.
who bullied their way into the World Series.
And they earned their pennant last year.
But they,
well,
it was the Sky Report.
Put the ball in play.
They're dumb.
They faced a Phillies team and a,
they faced a Reds team who were,
they made the playoffs and that was their victory.
I'm sorry,
I'm sorry,
Jeff.
That was their victory.
And,
and they did a terrific job.
But they didn't have a prayer.
And then they beat a Phillies team that played tight.
that played super tight in all three of their losses and a Brewer's team that played tight.
If Toronto doesn't play tight, they're not a dumb team.
They have a terrific lineup up and down.
The Dodgers have the advantage in the rotation, but Toronto has the advantage in the bullpen.
And they have the smart contact hitters who get into that bullpen.
That is why I am picking the Dodgers in six.
I like it.
Justin, your thoughts.
I have to go, I think Jeremiah and Sully sounded up pretty well, actually.
I didn't think the Blue Jays had a shot to start the year either.
I thought a lot of those people were going to be fired, especially all the ex-Cleaners
that are up there, we're going to be looking for new jobs.
I didn't think they're going to keep Vlad Guerrero either.
The bullpen, to me, isn't as big a mismatch.
Like, obviously, Dodgers bullpen is a dumpster fire.
But the Blue Jays bullpen isn't so good that it's just like, you know, so many paces
above them.
So I don't think it really cancels out as much.
as we think it does and there's just no breaks in that Dodgers lineup like you're facing
show hey Otani to lead off the game you're going to mooky bets and you got to face freddie
freeman and what taska hernandez has been terrible for a while now i don't know what he's on the post
season but he's going to heat up again i'm pretty sure dingers in the postseason yeah so and you think
he doesn't want revenge in toronto like he was there for a little bit too and and they didn't resign him
i think the deeper the series goes the blue jays do have a better shot to win but the die
Dodgers, like I said, there's no breaks in that lineup. The rotation has just been too good in the postseason.
I think there's too many spots in the lineup for the Blue Jays that are easier to navigate through.
So I'm going to say Dodgers in five, unfortunately.
I, man, I love everything that the Blue Jays have put together. And I was really impressed.
And, you know, that was Forbes reporting on the revenue and all that other stuff.
That's not like public reporting because nobody makes the revenue public.
But Forbes says that according to the revenue,
the Blue Jays are actually lower on the list than they are on the payroll list are actually a lot higher on how much they spend on payroll.
So I admire the heck out of that in a day and age when it seems like, you know, we've got the teams like the Cubs that are really not trying to spend their revenue at all.
I think it would be easy for Toronto to pack that in.
But I think there's something to, like you said, the whole idea of keeping Vlad.
That being said, I think the Dodgers win in five.
I just think they're inevitable.
I think this is this is Thanos.
before,
uh,
before,
uh,
before,
um,
um,
um,
end game.
So I,
I think that ultimately they're just going to end up and win this
thing and then we are going to go into an off season with nothing,
but,
uh,
absolutely good feelings amongst the teams and the players and the owners and all
that good stuff as we head into the final year of this.
You know,
and I'll say this.
The,
the villains in baseball are not the,
the,
the,
the Mets nor the Dodgers, in my opinion.
And I said this in a podcast during the All-Star break, which was, I think it's absurd
that we're even thinking about a labor stoppage because it is nothing to do with owners
versus players.
The players gave up a lot in the last time.
They have a revenue tax.
They have, there's a luxury tax threshold.
There's revenue sharing.
What this is, it's 20.
28 owners versus two owners.
It's 28 owners saying, okay, we're going to live by this revenue sharing.
And the Mets and the Dodgers say, we don't care.
We're just going to do whatever we want.
And we'll pay the tax.
You know, here's a blank check.
We don't care.
And so to say we're going to have a labor stoppage.
It's just, you get your house in order.
And when you have a team like the pirates who now are going to go into year three of Paul
Schenes who have that,
there's really only what,
six, maybe seven legitimate
aces when Cole comes
back and the pirates have one of them
and you can't put a mediocre
team around him. You're going to be
in the, you know, you have control.
The gods have
forged an ace and placed them in your
hands and now you're going to go into year
three. You had, first
year, okay, fine, it's a surprise. Second
year, there's no excuse that you don't have
a major league team around them. Next year,
if they don't, they're the problem.
And there should be, forget a salary cap.
No one can show me evidence that salary caps would create more parity.
How much more parity do you want in baseball with a number of repeats championships don't exist?
We've had every team win at least one playoff game since, you know, what, since 2010?
Is that what, I mean, it's like every.
Game or series?
This game, at least one game.
How about winning that time?
Because I don't know what they do.
Who?
The Angels.
They lost the Royals in 2015.
I don't know.
Okay.
So the last time the Angels won a playoff game was 09.
But we know that's a small market.
I mean,
it's a real-minded.
They met Ocani and Trout and they couldn't win.
They couldn't reach 500.
Yeah.
So that's a salary floor and some sort of accountability of revenue sharing.
If you're taking the revenue sharing and you're pocketing it, you're the problem.
There has to be accounting.
I said this when we got our relief money because we had the huge fires here in Pasadena in January.
And the schools, because a couple of schools in our district burnt down, we got relief money for our classroom.
You know, it was like $500.
It was $500 and we had to account for every dollar that we received.
This is how we spent it on our classroom.
We had to spend all $500, but we could.
had to show, I wasn't go to Starbucks. This goes to this thing. These go to the pens. This goes for
a wagon that we need to bring supplies to our classroom. We need to do that and there's to be a
public audit. Here's the revenue sharing. How did you put that into either resigning your players,
international free agents, or acquiring new players? And if a dime of that isn't going to those
three things, guess what? You have to give it all back. I like that. Because then you're also
I mean, especially teams that have public money for stadiums.
Like, there's, there's absolutely no reason for that stuff to be hidden from the public at that point.
So I, I lose their, lose their share of revenue sharing because of that.
They were, they were threatened to.
They were, I think that was like a threat, but I don't think that actually happened.
Because I remember that being like something with the Coliseum and now it's, it's all different.
I know, Sally, you know a lot more about that than I do.
But I remember that whole, they had to spend so much on.
their salary this year.
Yeah.
Or they would lose the revenue sharing.
And that's why they end up with Louis Severino, who
weird, how that worked.
They were threatened with that.
All of a sudden they started spending.
Maybe Rob Manfred should fall through on that a little bit more.
Yeah.
I think so.
I think that's a great spot to end it.
So looking forward to this World Series and, of course, the off season as well,
who got you all covered here on Lockdown MLB and with Lockdown Guardians,
locked on Marlins, locked on A's and Lockdown Reds.
and all of your favorite teams in between because we are all part of the lockdown podcast network
your team every day
