Locked On Cardinals - Daily Podcast On The St. Louis Cardinals - Time To Cut The Cord On Fedde? JJ Wetherholt Promoted!
Episode Date: July 7, 2025- Erick Fedde - Miles Mikolas - JJ Wetherholt! - Michael McGreevy - Tekoah Roby - Brendan Donovan - Washington Nationals - Atlanta Braves Follow & Subscribe on all Podcast platforms… 🎧 https://lo...ckedonpodcasts.com/podcasts/locked-on-st-louis-cardinals/ Locked On MLB League-Wide: Every Team, Prospects & More 🎧 https://lockedonpodcasts.com/leagues/mlb/ Follow on Twitter/X: @JDSPORTSRADIO Follow the show on Twitter/X: @LO_Cardinals Support Us By Supporting Our Sponsors! Supply House Join the TradeMaster program today at SupplyHouse.com/TM and start ordering plumbing, HVAC, and electrical supplies with just a few clicks. Plus, use promo code S-H-5 for 5% off your first order. That’s SupplyHouse.com! OpenPhone Streamline and scale your customer communications with OpenPhone. Get 20% off your first 6 months at www.openphone.com/lockedonmlb Monarch Money Take control of your finances with Monarch Money. Use code LOCKEDONMLB at monarchmoney.com/lockedonmlb for 50% off your first year. Gametime Download the Gametime app, create an account, and use code LOCKEDONMLB for $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Download Gametime today. What time is it? Gametime. FanDuel Right now, new customers can get ONE HUNDRED FIFTY DOLLARS in BONUS BETS when your first FIVE DOLLAR BET WINS! Download the app or head to FANDUEL.COM to get started. Bet with FanDuel—Official Partner of the NBA. FANDUEL DISCLAIMER: 21+ in select states. First online real money wager only. Bonus issued as nonwithdrawable free bets that expires in 14 days. Restrictions apply. See terms at sportsbook.fanduel.com. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit FanDuel.com/RG (CO, IA, MD, MI, NJ, PA, IL, VA, WV), 1-800-NEXT-STEP or text NEXTSTEP to 53342 (AZ), 1-888-789-7777 or visit ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-522-4700 (WY, KS) or visit ksgamblinghelp.com (KS), 1-877-770-STOP (LA), 1-877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY), TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN) #ForTheLou #stlcards #mlb #lockedoncardinals #stlouiscardinals Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The St. Louis Cardinals gets spanked in Chicago again.
So what is the plan with Eric Fetty moving forward?
Because this dude, he looks broken.
You are locked on Cardinals.
Your daily St. Louis Cardinals podcast, part of the Locked on Podcast Network,
your team every day.
Hey there, Cardinals, I'm J.D. Hafford and I'm your host for Locktown Cardinals.
Part of the Lockdown Podcast Network covering your team every day.
You can follow me on X at JD Sports Radio,
the podcast is also available on X at L0 underscore Cardinals.
We're on YouTube, TikTok, Instagram at Lockdown Cardinals.
This is a show serving Cardinal Nation and giving the best fans in baseball,
all of the info about the birds on the bat.
Today's episode brought to you by Monarch Money and take control of your finances with Monarch
money. Use the code locked on MLB at Monarch Money.com for 50% off your first year.
Another national TV game and yet another butt-whooping for the Cardinals who got creamed 11 to
nothing by the Chicago Cubs. They dropped two of three in the series. Also another game where
Eric Fetty was to put it kindly ineffective. I think we can say that lasting just an inning
in a third. Three runs, two hits, four walks, had and give him one run before he came out of the
game, but left it with the bases loaded. Ali came in, got him one out in the second inning.
He was about as uncompetitive as you can get for a starter. Cubs continue.
need to just watch him throw baseballs outside of the zone.
And politely took their base over and over and over before Ali made the desperate attempt.
Like, look, you don't have it today.
And we're not screwing around.
We got a fresh ball pin that it hasn't been taxed too much this weekend.
So we're just going to move on without you.
But unfortunately, he ends up going to John King, who hasn't been very good at all either over
like the last month.
There are three guys who have just been the last month, like just.
really, really bad. And it's Michaelis, it's Fetty, and it's John King. And you went from one
to the next guy. And it didn't work. He immediately comes in and gives up that two run hit,
gives up four of his own. Matt Fonson comes in after that. He follows suit. He gives up four.
The game was all but over basically by the fifth inning. I remember tweeting, I was like,
this is still the fifth inning. Like this game feels like it's been going on for three hours.
We're just getting murdered here. Can we end it?
Can we just move on?
And on top of the pitching being as bad as it's been,
don't, don't try to hide over their offense.
You suck too.
The Carle's offense got shut out for the sixth time in their last 11 games.
I'll try to say that again, six time in their last 11 games,
which is just ridiculous and absurd in itself because we know they're better than this.
And, you know, the team is missing some big bats, right?
Yvonne Herrera, he's out.
Nolan Aronado's been out with a shoulder infringement.
Jordan Walker, I know you're like, hey, he's not that good of a hitter anyway right now,
which is fine.
But still, he's a right-handed bat trying to face lefties.
So the chances that he gets a hit over some of these guys who are left-hand and are probably better.
I would rather see Jordan Walker than Garrett Hampson, wouldn't you?
You got some guys slumping right now, but six times than 11 games.
That is ridiculous.
Three by the pirates who turned around and then got swept in shut out in three straight games.
the Mariners.
Who can explain it?
And then there's, you know, the other three times were by the Chicago Cubs over seven games
where if there is a silver lining here, they lost four of seven, which is actually a little
bit shocking, considering how bad you lost the games that you didn't lose, if not for
that incredible comeback on Saturday, which was a hell of a time.
I was driving to a dinner party.
My father-in-law had his retirement party on Saturday night.
So when I left, the score was five to three Cubs and we're driving along and we're, you know, talking and whatnot.
We get to the restaurant and that's when I saw what the score was after the Cardinals came back and took the lead on the Pozo home run, went back and watched the game later that night.
It was a lot of fun to watch.
But if not for that, you're looking at back-to-back sweeps.
You weren't one in five last week against division opponents.
that's a really bad look.
And it's got a lot of people wondering, where do we go from here?
The two names that are on the lips of most fans these days are Eric Fetty and Miles
Michaelis, and it's not because they want to kiss them.
No, they want them gone.
They want them out of here.
They're tired of looking at their faces and looking at their awful pitches,
get bashed all over the ballparks.
Both of them have struggled considerably over the last month.
In his last five, let's focus on Fetty, though, because this is the one that I'm the most
concerned with because in his last five starts, Eric Fetty is open for the ERA is 9.30.
I'm not letting Michaelis off the hook. We'll talk about him in a moment. But opponents against Fetty
are hitting 3.41 and having 351 batting average on balls in play over those last five starts.
These stats are going to be ugly. Just turn away if you can't handle it anymore.
In his last five starts, he's only thrown 20 in a third innings. That's about four
earnings a start. That's terrible. He has been the definition of atrocious over this stretch.
His last three starts, the cardals have lost eight to nothing to the Cubs, seven to nothing to the
Pirates and now 11 to nothing to the Cubs again. Now he's been bad. Yes. The fact that they've
been shut out in all three of those starts is also mind-numbing. Like how does that happen?
How about some more miserable numbers for Eric Fettia? Let's share them. Last
five starts he has walked 12 guys and it struck out only 11 an almost 50-50 ratio beyond awful that's
crazy uh in his last five starts he's allowed eight stolen bases against which on this on the surface
that doesn't sound like oh wow i guess eight and five you know at least one a game is that so bad
well yeah it is because whether it's him not holding runners on which was the case on
Sunday when I think it was Kyle Tucker who just walked over to a second base like just giving
extra bases to people or whether it's the catcher not getting off a good throw or whatever the
reasons may be because you know there's a whole there's a whole mechanism there of trying to
keep runners from stealing bases he's just been an easy target all year only Tanner by me of
the guardians has a lot more stolen bases he's allowed nine uh over like the last month and on the
season. Eric Fetty has allowed 22 stolen bases again, second most only to former
Cardinal and former Cy Young winner Sandy Alcantara of the Marlins, who has allowed 23.
So he's been terrible at that all season. It's not just in the last 30 days. He's sucked
at it all year. And it means that when people are getting on first base, which is happening a
lot, they're just turning it into a double. They're getting a double. Basically,
every other time they get out there on base.
And you just can't have that.
And after the game, he gave his opinion on what the problems are telling the media scrum
that, you know, my sinker is not running, which is really killing me.
My cutter is moving, in my opinion, a little too much.
I got to clean up the mechanics to hopefully get back to those shapes that I like.
Maybe in a sense, I'm thinking too much about outside things, about my mechanics, about tipping,
about holding runners.
I'm just not focusing on making a quality pitch right then and there.
That's something that's inexcusable and I have to be better about.
It just sounds like he's got way too much going on upstairs right now.
Confidence is low.
He's thinking too much.
That leads to bad results.
On the year, Fetty is now three and nine.
The nine losses are the most losses by any starter of baseball.
So not good.
Has not won a game since his brilliant start against the Washington.
nationals. That was almost two months ago, though. That was on May 9th. We're on July 7th.
He has had a couple of games where he deserved a better fate. He threw five and two-thirds
shutout innings against the Phillies, had two runs over six innings in Texas, five and a third
shutout innings against the Dodgers. Those are, well, Texas has had a tough time this year.
But the Phillies and the Dodgers are two of the best teams of the National League. And he pitched very
well against them. One run over five against the White Sox. So it's not all on him.
but these last three starts are terrible, just terrible.
So what's the plan moving forward with?
What do we do?
The ERA of 4.797th worst in baseball among qualified starters.
Another former Cardinal, Zach Gallen.
Remember how everybody was so mad about the Alcantra and Galen trades in 4 Ozuna back
of the day?
Now you're looking at it, you know, Alcantra is trying to come back with Tommy John's surgery.
Zach Gallin has regressed considerably.
We don't know what's wrong with them.
Gallin's got the worst ERA at 5.45.
That's who saw that coming?
So what is the plan here?
All right.
Will Michael McGreevy take his spot soon?
Do we still have to wait?
What are fans clamoring for?
We're going to continue with this discussion coming up next on Locked on Cardinals.
Today's episode being brought to you by Monarch Money.
Never wish managing your money felt easier with Monarch Money.
can, whether you're growing your savings or planning a big purchase. Monarch puts you in the driver's seat.
It's like having your own personal CFO, giving you full visibility and control over your finances.
Monarch money is more than just a budgeting gap. It's a complete financial command center.
You'll be able to track all of your accounts, investments, and spending in one place.
So in addition to managing your money, you're also building wealth. Now, buying things online,
I'm as guilty as anybody. It can add up quickly. I'm talking groceries, toiletries, pet supplies,
food delivery, things for vacation, cabruing trips on the river.
It's so easy to just hit checkout and then move on with your life,
but you might not realize how much money is actually going out,
and that can be dangerous.
So take control of your finances with Monarch Money.
Use code locked on MLB at MonarchMoney.com for 50% off your first year.
That's Monarchmoney.com code locked on MLB, L-O-C-E-D-O-N-M-L-B for half off your first year.
Thank you again for making Locked on Cardinals, your first listen every day.
You can leave comments on YouTube as well as on next anytime you want.
Your feedback is always welcome and encouraged.
In fact, just got some breaking news.
JJ Weatherhole has been promoted to AAA Memphis.
How about that?
JJ, moving on up, moving on up.
300 slash line, 300, 425, 466, 22 extra base hits, 34RBIs, 14 stolen bases in 62 games for Springfield.
just had a two home run night.
Like he, he's legit.
And it's good to see there that they're moving on from, you know,
I should say moving on,
but moving up and progressing with things.
They're not just going to slow play this thing.
Like, let's go.
Like you're killing it in Springfield.
Let's get you going.
Let's get you up to Memphis now.
So that's good news.
Good news.
Congratulations to J.J. Weatherholt.
Back to the ugly stuff.
When you've been as bad, that sucks, too,
because that's such a good, happy thought right there.
And now here we are.
When you've been as bad as Eric Fetty has been, as well as Michaelis,
who we didn't dive into too much there in segment one,
but he had that nightmare game on Friday night on Apple TV.
No more national games for the Cardinals.
Can we move them all?
I don't want to see this anymore.
We get embarrassed on national TV every time.
And it's not a good depiction of what I think this Cardinals team really is.
But in Michaelis's last five starts,
Oh, and four, ERA 8.31 and 11 home runs against.
Obviously, Friday was crazy.
So he's been almost as bad as Eric Fetty.
So you got two guys in your rotation, just laying eggs every fifth day for the last month.
And it makes people question your dedication to winning, especially when you have someone that appears to be major league ready.
John Moseilock just said, he's like, he's a major league pitcher.
But there's just not a spot right now.
You just got Michael McGreevy hanging out at AAA Memphis.
He's eight and two, I think, down there, just twiddling his thumbs, count cheap, wasting away,
while the Cardinals watch Fetty and Michaelis get pounded for the last month.
And somehow, this team, despite the bad pitching from Fetty and Michaelis, despite the offense going belly out more frequently,
they're still in the hunt, you guys.
They're still there.
Again, the Cubs kicking the hell out of them in four of the last five games against Chicago.
It is as bad as that is, and you're like, wow, look how good they are.
The Cardinals still won three of seven.
So that doesn't erase.
Just because you outscore them by a bunch
and those other games doesn't mean that it takes away from the wins that the Cardinals did earn against them.
They lost one game in the standings over the last seven versus Chicago.
It's the three in Pittsburgh.
It really stinks up to join, in my opinion,
especially after doing a lot of the good things and the right things that they did
while they were in Cleveland the weekend prior.
The Cardinals are five games over 500.
They're six and a half back.
in the division, one game back in the wild card. I know that it feels like it's worse than that
because of how bad some of these losses have been. I get it. But I've said it a million times
that you've got the ups and downs of the season. They're constantly going to happen. Just like
when the Cardinals reeled off nine in a row, and everybody's like, wow, look how awesome we are.
And then to see them get shut out for their last six games, you're like, wow, they suck a
And they're neither or they're not a great team.
They're not a sucky team.
They're just a solid team and they're missing a lot of pieces right now.
They got some dudes that are struggling as we, you know,
crawl our way to this all-star break.
It's been a grind for these guys.
You know, the last month has been very, very difficult.
You've got all those double headers as well.
So that hasn't helped.
But I just feel like this team,
you just can't freak out after one bad week.
Just like you can't get overly excited after one good.
week, okay, because this next week where you've got six home games before the All-Star break,
if you can go four and two, people will say, okay, we're back and we should start buying now
at the trade deadline. I still believe that they should be selling. If they can add a piece
for cheap or something or in some way, shape, or form, trade some guys, but get some pieces back
that can still help them this year. Great. But I do not believe that this team is anywhere
close to being World Series caliber.
I do want to see them in the playoffs.
I think they definitely have a chance at that.
They've proven that over this first half of the season.
And I think a little R&R might help these guys a little bit,
getting Yvonne Herrera back, getting Jordan Walker back,
no one Arnato getting healthy again.
I think that would be huge.
I think that would be a monster.
I mean, losing two of your meat of the order bats
and one of your young outfielders
that you're hoping will get better at some.
some point. Losing these people is a big deal. But if the cardals want to make the playoffs,
they have to do something to either turn Eric Fetty and Miles Michaelis around into good
pitchers again or find someone else to replace them. Barring some miracle, you aren't getting
jack squat for either of them at the trade deadline. Certainly not getting someone of Tommy
Edmund's capabilities in exchange for Eric Fetty. Again, give it up. That ain't going to have
So why not let Michael McGreevy take a spot? Give Fetty one of those shoulder fatigue
IL steds. You know one of those where it's just like, oh, you know, I got out of the shower and,
you know, tweaked my hammy or something stupid. All right? Give him something that just lets Eric Fetty
get away from pitching and just clear his head a little bit. You give him that time plus the
All-Star break. Hopefully that will be sufficient enough to figure something out. But
but sending them out to the mound again in four days after what you've seen over the last month
is not the actions of a team that is serious about winning.
It's just not.
I've already given up on them doing anything with Michaelis a couple of years ago.
You know, they appear willing to go down with that Titanic no matter what.
Derek Gold wrote that the Cubs appeared to have a clue on what was coming in the game on Friday night
when they mashed him for six home runs.
And McCartals believed they spotted what Michaelis was doing.
doing when he adjusted, he threw three scoreless settings.
So maybe they did find something.
Maybe he was tipping something.
That's part of it.
You know, it does happen.
You know, they just had something about Chase Burns from the Cincinnati Reds,
you know, this number two overall pick, one of the top pitching prospects in baseball in Boston
just took him apart.
And they were thinking tipping was the problem.
And that's why that happened.
So maybe that is because we already know Michaelis doesn't have really the greatest
arsenal of pitches and stuff anymore, but has the ability to be better than what we saw on
Friday for sure. So pretty usual, they're not going to change anything with him as far as
his role with the pitching staff. I'm telling you, they will go down with Miles Michaelis.
They're not moving anything. They're not going to just DFA. I'm not going to happen.
Get it out your head. They're not going to do it. I have seen some suggest that, you know,
hey, well, we just sit them off to the bullpen. I don't know.
that does either. They're going to eventually have to pitch. You can't just hide them.
He's going to get rocked at some point. The real move should just be not having them around anymore.
That's what they should be doing. Stop using them as an excuse or a crutch from a grieving not being up here.
Just clear their spots and move on in life. You've already spent the money. You don't have to keep
paying for it by making your team suck. Like just say bye. It's over. We're going to move on from
here. I know easier said than done and it's not my money. So it makes it makes real easy for me to
spend other people's money. But the other issue though, that the Cardles have brought out
multiple times. You've heard this is organizational depth behind them anyway. Like after McGreevy,
who by all thought, all things we've heard is they're fine with bringing him up. They're like,
yeah, he should be here by now. Who's left to bring up in the rotation to take
the other spot. You know, Stephen Mats has been brought up to me. I suppose you could.
The one thing I have here, first off, they like what they're getting from him in his current
role, where he's piggybacking on people. He's coming out of the bullpen, long relief can make a
spot start here and there, I guess, if you wanted him to. But the big thing is, is he's been
able to stay healthy doing what he's doing here in 2025, which we know is not an easy task when
you're Stephen Mats, like just injuries have been a problem for him his entire career.
not his fault. It just is. It is what it is, man. He's a, he's a fragile guy. And they've kept him healthy this year. So using him as trade bait here at the trade deadline, you know, who wouldn't like a left-hander on the final year of his deal who could start and pitch and relief for you. People are going to want that. They definitely will. Cardinals probably don't really want to trade them, but they understand the business of it. But,
moving him around and turning him right into a starter over the last couple of weeks before the deadline.
Is it worth the risk that he might get hurt and then he's really not worth anything at the deadline?
Got to keep him healthy. Very important. I wish Quinn Matthews was having a better year, both health-wise and production-wise, and was ready for the big league.
I would love to see him after what he did last year, but that hasn't happened this year.
He's battled injuries and his progression is stalled a little bit at Memphis.
this year, but injuries are a big part of that. And then you got to Coarobie, who was throwing extremely
well at AA Springfield, got promoted at the beginning of June, struggled a little, two-and-two record,
4.91 ERA and five starts. The first two starts at Memphis were really bad for him. But since then,
he's figured some stuff out and righted the ship a bit. He's allowed just two earned runs over his last
15 and the third innings with 15 strikeouts, just threw on Friday on the fourth and allowed four
runs, but only one of them was earned on five hits and four and a third innings. He had six
strikeouts. So I know fans would rather see McGreevy and Robey instead of Feddy and Michael's.
And I'm right there with you. That's what I wish we were looking at too. And that still may
happen depending on what the cartels do at the trade deadline, but you're going to have to wait
until after the All Star break, after they have assessed everything and figured it all out.
Thetty's next start is supposed to be on Saturday before we get to the break. McGreevy is eligible to
be called up again on July 10th. So we may see him soon. That might be a thing. I would love,
like I said, my suggestion, shoulder fatigue, just let him have the rest of this week off and the
all-star break and then bring him back and see if things are better. And if not, then you cut the cord
and you're out of there, you know, like see if anybody will get you anything at the trade deadline,
just something player to be named later. You just get something, move them along. And that
way McGreevy's got his spot in the rotation and Michaelis isn't going anywhere,
so I'm not worried about that.
But that's how you open up the spot.
And that's how it's going to work.
At least I think that's how it's going to work.
Brendan Donovan is an all-star.
Let's end up something positive.
We already had one positive with the JJ Weatherholt news.
Let's end on another positive.
We'll talk about the all-star, Brendan Donovan, coming up next on Locked on Carlin.
Thanks again for making Locked on Carlems.
your first listen today for your second list and check out the all new locked on MLB game night every game every night all season long local analysis but on a national scale you can find it on the locked on MLB channel on YouTube or wherever you listen to your podcast myself and john frish will be hosting again tonight it wasn't that long ago if you remember that brindonovan was dominating the stats of an L second baseman and it prompted me to make an episode about is he the best
second baseman in the league right now, knowing all too well that he, he's really good,
but he's not the best.
There can tell Marte is insane.
But since then, things have cooled off a little bit for Brennan.
He's no longer hitting in the 330s or anything like that.
The move to the top of the order, I think, is one of the major problems with Newt struggling.
They had to kind of flip-flop those guys where Newt was down, been like sixth or something
like that and Donnie had to go to the top of the order.
And it's just different.
It's just different being a lead off hitter.
So that hasn't helped them out much.
But Donovan's solid first half has been recognized.
He was named the Cardinals' Lone All-Star and will represent the team in Atlanta for
All-Star weekend.
We'll see if Sunny Gray ends up getting on as a reserve or something when the pitchers
and stuff are all settled because, you know, it is guys are going to decline it.
They have to pitch for their real team and so they won't go.
We'll see what happens.
Donnie is still having an excellent year.
He still leads all in L second basement and hits with 94.
Doubles with 22.
Seventh in RBIs, again, going to the leadoff spot, didn't help them out there.
Tide for fifth and walks among qualified hitters.
He's still first in batting average at 296, which is higher than Marte.
Tell Marte is at 293, I think.
His OBPs 367, slugging 430, OPS 797, among qualified in LSEGA basement.
And he still leads in all those categories.
I can tell Marte, who is the starting second baseman out of Arizona,
is ahead of them in all of these categories except batting average.
But he's played 20 less games so far.
That's a lot of missing at bats and a lot of missing time on the field.
So he's not technically qualified, but he's having a great season.
So Marte, very much deserving of the starting spot,
but Donnie should be there as well.
And I'm glad that it was recognized and he is going.
So congratulations to.
Britt and Donovan on his first All-Star game selection.
Power ranking has got the Cardinals sliding again.
Makes sense.
They're one in five this week from number 11 to number 13.
The write-up says the Cardinals look like they might be crashing and burning this week.
You have to going scoreless in a series against the Pirates,
giving up eight home runs at Wrigley on Friday and then blowing a lead to fall behind 5-3 and the 8th inning on Saturday.
But then they put together a five-run rally, which was a lot of fun, culminating in a monster homer for backup catcher,
Joelle Pozo that stopped the bleeding at a moment.
The Cardinals desperately needed it.
Stop.
Pozo has been a very pleasant surprise for the Cardinals this year.
He hadn't played it in a big league game since 2021 before this year,
but he was hit 313, Slugget 42 for the Cardinals in 2025.
We love us, a thick catcher like Joel Pozo, who takes a mighty rip at the plate.
He's been a bright spot for things with Yvonne Herrera.
not being the catcher that you want him to be.
I'm telling you, he's going to go to first base.
He's going to be a D-H that he's going to go to first base.
He just doesn't have any business being behind the plate anymore.
Pozo and Pahas clearly have the lockdown as far as the trust of the pitchers.
Herrera can go in there every once in a while if he needs to,
but that is not where his future is.
So we might as well start that and move on.
You know, the guys have a chance to get it to get right this week.
You've got two teams coming into Bush that aren't having good seasons.
You've got the Washington Nationals.
So things have been so bad that a week before the Major League baseball draft,
they are firing their GM and they have fired their manager, Davy Martinez.
You know, guys that led them to World Series Championship, they're gone.
They've cleaned them out and they're moving on in a different direction.
Crazy timing right before the draft to do that.
but the nationals have seen enough for whatever reason that team with all that talent and all the
things that they were able to acquire with all the different trades over the years specifically
the the wandsoto deal where they got all them dudes they're having like legitimately good
statistical season but they're not winning and it's weird so take advantage of them like
they're just not winning you know don't let james wood destroy you he's been
Far and away their best hitter.
CJ Abrams, though, very good too.
But they got young talent.
It's weird that they haven't been able to mesh well and get any wins this year.
And then you got the Braves who just got swept in Baltimore.
And they're playing, I believe, against the A's.
So they're going to be in Sacramento.
I've got to fly all the way back to St. Louis to face the Cardinals at the end of the week.
Health issues all year long.
They can't stay healthy.
Chris Sale is out.
Schwellinbach's out.
Acuna's back and murdering the baseball.
But Marcelo Zuna's been banged up most of the year.
He's having a terrible season.
Matt Olson's been pretty good.
He's had a good season for so far.
But it just hasn't.
They haven't been able to stay healthy to keep the team that they envisioned on the field.
So they're losing a bunch.
So these are some teams that you can take advantage.
No, it's not the White Sox and the Rockies.
Still teams that I fear can give you some trouble.
but the Braves also don't have, I don't believe they have a left-handed starter to throw against
the Cardinals either, which is good news since the Cardinals can't hit left-handed pitching.
But you got a chance here.
Like I said, if you can go four and two to wrap up things before the All-Star break, I think
that'll put you in a good spot.
And then you're really going to have to ask some questions about whether or not you need
to buy or sell or both.
I say both.
I say you've got to think about the future, but also, you know, give it a try, see if you can
find a bat the right-handed hitter that can hit lefties.
They're not falling off the trees, though.
That's not going to be an easy thing to find.
There's a lot of teams struggling against lefties this year.
But that's where I feel like we're at.
So tomorrow's episode, we will talk about, you know, the Washington Nationals and whatever news we hear, you know,
maybe we'll get some news about Feddy and stuff.
But as of right now, the big news, J.J. Weatherholt has been promoted going up to AAA, Memphis,
his time in St. Louis is coming real, real soon.
And that's the next thing.
Is he going to get the McGreevy, the McGreevy, I don't know, excuses where,
well, we just don't have any place to put them.
So you're just going to let him sit down there.
So we'll see.
We'll see what happens.
If he gets the McGreevy treatment, that was the word I'm looking for.
Thanks for making a lot on Carl's your first list of every day.
If you haven't already, please give us a follow on exit.
L.O. underscore Carles at a JD Sports Radio, TikTok, Instagram.
YouTube, of course. Make sure you come on over, like, subscribe to the channel,
keep our love for the Cardinals growing throughout the community.
You guys are the best fans of baseball for a reason.
And we will see you next time on Locked on Cardinals.
