MMA Fighting - BTL | Dricus Du Plessis Calls Out Israel Adesanya, UFC Atlantic City Fallout, Road To UFC 300
Episode Date: April 4, 2024The UFC recently announced that they will be returning to Perth, Western Australia for UFC 305 in August, and current middleweight champ Dricus Du Plessis has called out rival Israel Adesanya for that... event. Is that the fight to make, and if so, is that the card to put it on? This week on an all-new edition of Between the Links, MMA Fighting's Mike Heck and José Youngs discuss the possibility of that fight being put together, and the excitement for it. Additionally, they'll take listener questions about UFC 300 — which is just nine days away — the fallout from UFC AtlanticC ity, the Chris Weidman vs. Bruno Silva conclusion, Manon Fiorot's dominant win over Erin Blanchfield, Saturday's UFC Vegas 90 event headlined by a rematch between Brendan Allen and Chris Curtis, the PFL regular season kickoff on Thursday, and whatever else is on your mind in the chaotic world of MMA. Follow Mike Heck: @MikeHeck_JR Follow José Youngs: @JoseYoungs Subscribe to MMA Fighting Check out our full video catalog Like MMA Fighting on Facebook Follow on Twitter Read More: http://www.mmafighting.com Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Support for this show comes from the Audible Original, the downloaded two.
Ghosts in the Machine.
The Earth only has a few days left.
Rosco Cudullian and the rest of the Phoenix colony have to re-upload their minds into the quantum computer,
but a new threat has arisen that could destroy their stored consciousness forever.
Listen to Oscar winner Brendan Fraser reprise his role as Rosco Cudulian in this follow-up to the Audible Original Blockbuster.
The Downloaded, it's a thought-provoking sci-by journey where identity, memory, and morality collide.
Robert J. Sawyer does it again with this much-anticipated sequel that leaves you asking,
What are you willing to lose to save the ones you love?
The Downloaded 2. Ghosts in the Machine.
Available now, only from Audible.
Does it ever feel like you're a marketing professional just...
Speaking into the void.
But with LinkedIn ads, you can know you're reaching.
the right decision makers, a network of 130 million of them, in fact.
You can even target buyers by job title, industry, company, seniority, skills, and did I say job title?
See how you can avoid the void and reach the right buyers with LinkedIn ads.
Spend $250 on your first campaign and get a free $250 credit for the next one.
Get started at LinkedIn.com slash campaign.
Terms and conditions apply.
To the Vox Media Podcast Network.
This is between the links.
My...
The iconic voice of S-Contin.
Mr. Lynn welcomes you to a brand new edition of BTL back on another Thursday, back on another kind of weird week where we're coming off of a crazy UFC event.
And then we're heading into the final UFC event before UFC 300.
There's PFL coming up later on tonight.
But as far as like news stories go, not a ton going on right now.
So we decided to turn the programming over to you guys next week back to the usual format ahead of UFC 300.
It will be a battle for sure.
But joining me this week, a very special guest to answer your questions.
Social media guru from M.A.fighting.com, fellow New England, a fellow Boston Red Sox fan, Mr. Jose Young.
Jose, how are you, my man? How's New York?
It was absolutely pouring rain the last few days.
It's cleared up, so now it's just gray and gloomy.
But I've been told next month is when it starts to get really nice in Europe.
But for now, we persevere.
Nice.
No snow, though.
It's only snowed maybe twice since I moved here.
I moved here in February.
It snowed the second day I was here,
and then maybe a light snow a couple weeks after that.
So, yeah, I haven't got the worst of winter.
Well, there you go.
I know a lot of people up in Massachusetts are dealing with
sort of like a late April Fool's joke,
dealing with snow and wintery weather,
but we're not here to talk about meteorology.
We're here to talk about fights.
So we're going to go to the peeps,
and we're just going to answer your questions.
There are some obvious things that are going on.
We can talk about whatever you want.
Super chats get bumped to the front of the line, but I was going to say no question is a bad question, but that is not actually true.
So, but let's go.
Bring any Casey Leiden, producer extraordinaire, the baddest dash in MMA.
Hi.
Hello, sir.
Hi, everybody.
All right.
Let's go to the questions.
And do, do, do.
Practice golf, swing, and salute.
Ah, the old, what, Johnny Carson, Bob Hope?
Yeah, Johnny Carson.
There we go.
Like a little foreshadowing from Lazy Bed, too?
Shout out ahead of time to Achilles, Jr. Joseph Bozo for their forthcoming questions today.
Yep.
Yeah.
Where is Joseph Bozo?
Is there a women's fight that has title implications?
Hey, hey, he cares.
He cares.
I like it.
Listen, I respect it.
I respect it.
First question from our good friend, Jameek.
Jameke.
How far back down the ranking should Brennan Allen fight if he loses?
So yes, UFC Vegas 90 coming up on Saturday, a return to the world's most famous apex.
Brennan was supposed to fight Martin Vittory in the main event of this card.
Barre Batory suffered an injury
and now he will have a rematch with Chris Curtis
who was the last man to defeat him
before Alan went on this very interesting win streak
that he's been on right now
and Brennan's been trying to get some momentum
what do you think Jose because
this is one of those fights where
for Brennan himself
he'd love to get this one back
and sort of exercise the demons of their first fight
stylistically it's a pretty tough matchup for him
since Chris is such a sound defensive wrestler
but if Brendan wins this fight,
especially with how things are at the top of this division,
he doesn't gain a whole lot,
but if he loses,
it's going to be a rough one for him.
So where does he go if he loses?
I know you don't really love playing the hypothetical game
before the fight happens,
but let's just say the fight similar goes down
just like the first one did.
It would be tough because he'd be 0 and 2
against the 14th ranked middleweight in the UFC rank.
It's kind of hard to climb out of that hole,
especially because Chris Curtis has a lot of good victories,
but he also has a lot of losses.
He's lost to Kevin Gasolam, who's no longer a welter away.
He's lost to, or the Imovaughan was weird.
He has the Jack Hermanson loss.
So I know, is Roman deletes hurt?
Or did he come out of that fight against Imovov hurt?
He is fighting Anthony Hernandez, June 1st.
Oh, that's right.
I did know that.
Maybe the loser, maybe the winner,
maybe the winner of that.
Because I also know we have the Cowboy Lio and Paul Craig fight coming up.
There's a lot of middleweight fights coming up between people ranked 7 to 15.
So I think he's going to be able to stay active.
And I think once all that plays out, if he loses, he could even, because Brandon Allen is, what, top six, top five in the U.S.
I don't know where he is in ours.
So I would say even if he loses, he could probably fight someone coming off a win just because there's a lot of those.
there's a cluster of 15 to 8 fighting at the moment.
Yeah.
His wins on this win streak since losing to Chris Curtis in December of 2021,
Sam Alvey, Jacob Malcun, Christoph Jocco, André Muniz, Bruno Silva, and Paul Craig.
There are some pretty solid names on this list,
but in terms of guys with like top 10 rankings,
that's zero of these fighters right now.
So, Martin Vitori is perfect.
This was like a really good fight for him in terms of moving up the ladder and really getting into this title conversation.
So it's kind of a bummer, but we'll see.
It's, it's, he doesn't gain much of the win except keeping the wind streak intact, but a loss, like Cose said, it's going to be tough scenes.
Has he had a main event yet?
Yeah.
Yes.
Who is that again?
Was that Craig or Silver?
Yeah.
Both them?
He's had like, he's had one and a half main events.
Paul Craig was an actual main event, and then the André Munez fight became a main event after the actual main event fell off.
I mean, I think he has a lot to gain.
It's not ranking-wise, but notoriety-wise.
Just being a main event, even the apex cards, being a main event's important.
And it's just kind of, I think, just shows fans, the UFC that, you know, win or lose, you're going to be kind of a featured fighter.
You know, it's not like if he loses, he goes back to the, like, early prelims, I think.
So, I mean, I just disagree a little bit.
He doesn't have a lot to gain.
I think there is, I think it's more to gain just in the kind of, I don't know,
price fighting notoriety thing, just being in the event.
Yeah, I mean, it's great for him.
This is great for him.
He gets to get a, like, he gets to get a whole bunch off of his back if Chris Curtis beats him.
So now anyway, it's like, well, you lost Chris Curtis.
Yeah, but I went back and beat him.
So his only loss in the last, what, four years is to Sean Strickland,
who won the middleweight title and thumped up his god.
So that looks better.
I've been saying forever, Sean Strickland versus
Brendan Allen should headline UFC Apex 100.
Because I believe they have the most fights in the apex.
So if Brandon Allen wins and avenges Chris Curtis,
why not eventually run that back at USC Apex 100?
Yeah.
If Chris, okay, we're talking about loss.
We're not talking about wins.
All right, we'll go.
We're good, we're good.
All right, next question.
Thank you very much.
Uh,
Oh.
Uh, is Chris Curtis's resume better than Brendan Allen's?
Are we talking to just UFC?
No,
it's a career.
I think it's pretty tight.
It's pretty tight.
It's close.
He's trying to like see some of the wins that he's had.
Because wins over.
I mean, he has a win over Brendan Allen.
Yeah, but it's very true.
Ludolfo Vieira, Phil Hawes.
I was at Allen's overall resume is better, but obviously head-to-head, but overall resume, I still like
Brennan Allen's better, but this is a tough fight.
Chris Curtis, Chris Curtis's losses are pretty.
Like, he lost to Belal Mohammed on the regional scene.
He's lost to Rakeha the 3rd.
He's lost to a lot of welterweights.
The Joachim Buckley win has aged pretty well.
Mm-hmm.
He's basically two welterweight fighting in middleweight.
That was it, 85, right?
Buckley, 85.
Chris is a Walterweight.
He's a welterweight fighting in middleweight.
Well, I mean, 100% sure.
Then, I don't know.
I mean, he'd use it to fight up middleweight, though.
I mean, I don't know.
Right.
I mean, but that's how I view it.
That's how I view it.
More than anything.
I don't really view that.
I take it as, I know you mean, but I don't see that as the same thing.
Chris Curtis is just Kelvin Gasselham.
Like they're just...
He's 36.
He's a muscley middle-ways.
I get it.
Yeah.
Ben, they've done that.
All right.
Thank you much.
Keep them coming.
Let's go.
All right.
Let's get controversial.
Chris, did we find out what Buckley's beef is with Ariel beyond just being his teammate?
This.
boy.
Ariel asks questions.
How dare he?
Okay.
So here's what I'll say about it.
If you're going to come with that energy, which is fine, you got it.
You need to be ready for Ariel to follow up with you.
You can't just come in and say, like, well, you do this.
Because if you don't think Ariel is going to ask, when did I do this, or what do you
mean?
Give me an example.
You're crazy.
So the fact that.
Buckley went in there and did that is not like a big issue to me,
but the fact he did that with nothing.
He literally had nothing.
He had empty hands the entire time.
So that hurt him and it made this incredibly awkward.
And I'm saying this, even if Buckley didn't go on Ariel's show,
even if someone who did not work for this website,
had the biggest show in the world like Ariel has.
And Joaquin Buckley went on their show and delivered the interview that he delivered,
this is, I mean, since
since finishing Vicente Lucke,
it has been an awful week for Joaquin Buckley
in his stock.
Because it's just, he's just done nothing.
How do you squander that opportunity?
You're on the biggest show in the world.
You want to go in there and make a point fine,
but you can't not deliver something.
You know what I mean?
It was just all super weird.
What did you think about it, Jose?
It was just kind of awkward to watch.
I don't care.
It's not like a fighter has beef
for the aerial fighter doesn't have anything
of response. It's a tale
as old as time. Like I'm just
so, we've seen this a million
times with fighters. Like, oh, you do
this, that, and this. Show me
the receipts. Oh, I lost them.
I just don't care.
Buckley kind of took it to an extreme.
It was,
I don't even think he took it to an extreme.
I just think he took it. It was just kind
of caught everyone off guard. It's when someone
yells at you and you're just not
prepared. I
don't feel like Ariel is like what what like what are you talking like he like you said like
he just didn't have the receipts and it was just if there was like like if if if Jamal Hill comes on
Ariel's probably going to be ready for an argument but there was no sign of walking Buckley
having an issue until you started talking about it what but it seemed like his issue was just if
ariel said something bad about the UFC and it's in there's a lot of bad things there's a lot of
good things to say about the UFC and Buckley only wanted to pay attention to the bad things
and if you ask a fighter about a bad thing that UFC may do in their opinion,
that means you're a bad reporter to Buckley.
That was my impression.
He's like, you set us up.
Well, none of us.
Yeah, it's like, none of us know.
We're all just speculating at this point.
So until walking Buckley says what he means, we're all this grasping.
That's what he said.
He said, you instigate us.
You ask us questions.
You ask us up.
Instigating is a very, instigating is a surface level accusation.
and it means nothing.
And again, we're just grasping at straws at this point.
I'm not going to try to get into the mind of walking Buckley when he's upset.
If he's upset for a reason, that's his right.
But like Mike said, at least show your work, as the teacher said.
Yeah.
You don't even need to be like, hey, June 10th, 2018, you asked this guy on this date at this time, this question.
Just have one example.
Just give me one.
Just one.
Anything.
Thanks for having me in the show.
you not have me on your show ever, you know?
Like, it was one that was like, yeah, that's, I hate that one.
I didn't call me last time I won.
I was like, bro, you're on.
Chill.
Thank you much, Mr. Bichard.
Do, do, do.
All right, super chat.
Michael, Strickland versus Usman 2 or Strickland versus Costa.
Is this like preference?
If it's preference, then it's the latter by a thousand.
and a thousand times over.
Strican Costa.
For me.
You, Jose?
I don't know.
I really care either.
Both these fights are really good.
I'm not going to stick my nose up either one.
I think it would depend on where the fight is.
Like, especially if this is like a co-main event, I would, or a main event, like,
I would like either of these fights, it was the co-main event of Israel and Dreykis.
If it's in Africa, obviously, you get to, I want to see who's been
fight in Africa.
Yeah.
If it's in Australia, like Paulo Costa has pulled out of fights in Australia, it's too many
times.
I would like to see that in Australia.
Sean Strickland had the performance of a lifetime in Australia.
I would like to see him fight again in Australia because the fans really liked him.
And it was just kind of a weird scene.
And I would like to see how they would react to Strickland and Israel when they're not
fighting each other.
Because I don't know so much as if they didn't like, when I was in Sydney, I don't
know how much it was they liked Strickland that they just didn't like Israel, if that
makes sense. Yeah. And I would like to see that dynamic play out when they're not fighting each
other because Driecus is not from Australia, obviously. So you'd have to assume Israel would get a
big pop and then Usman would get a big pop because of Israel. I think it would just depend.
And then Paulo Costas is like, I remember when they were at the press conference in Perth.
I think it was supposed to be Whitaker and Costa, correct. That was like an original matchup that fell
through. That press conference was electric. And I remember turning to one of the media members.
It might have been the Submrichin radio guys.
I was like, imagine if Paulo Costa was at this press conference,
it would just be dialed up to 11.
So I don't know.
I mean, I'm not going to, like I said,
I'm not going to stick my nose up tired of one.
I would like see Usman at welterweight.
So I guess by default, Strickland Costa,
but it would depend on where these fights happen.
Yeah, I don't know what's going to happen.
I honestly don't know.
I mean, obviously they go to Africa.
That makes sense to do Usman on that.
But I can't imagine Sond Strickland's going.
going to go fight in Africa, though.
Sean would fight anywhere.
Just sending him contract, he'll go.
I think he's being a little more selective now.
Okay.
After being old from a fight in Sydney and thrown out of Toronto.
He was going to fight freaking Humza.
He was going to defend the middleweight title against Humzaat Shamaif and Abu Dhabi,
which is insane until his team like had to rein him in after Costa got hurt.
Yeah.
And then Oostman ended up taking the fight.
And they were like, nah, dude, you're the champion.
You don't need to do this.
The hell's wrong with you.
All right.
Thank you, sir.
And he wasn't even ready to fight in Toronto.
Like he, that was like a last minute thing too.
Like I don't, I think he would, it would have, if it would have made sense for him to fight in Anaheim.
He lives, you know, he's from California.
He lives in Vegas.
Driggis is not from Canada, but they needed the main event.
So that's what they did.
He gave him more money and he even, he himself said, it was like, I wasn't ready to go.
What?
Strickland said that he wasn't ready to fight.
Strickland said that he wasn't like,
like he was not preparing to have a title fight.
Like that fight was very last,
like it wasn't last, last minute.
The UFC basically came to him and didn't offer him dates is what I'm so.
They just say, hey, we want you to fight in January.
Like then he was like, what if I don't want to?
Like, well, you're fighting in January.
He's like, I guess I'm fighting in January.
Didn't really have a say in it.
Yeah, that's being company man, I guess.
Cool.
Or he just likes a lot of money in the UFC.
Well, I mean, you can't have it both ways.
You can't say, you can't say, I wasn't.
already but I like money.
Well, I think that's now what we're going to see a little bit of a different
Sean Strickland now.
Because now he's calling for his rematch.
You know,
you never really saw Sean Strickland call for specific fights.
He was down to clown against anyone.
And now he's like, I should be fighting Driecas.
All right.
Jamique, what the hell is going on with Cobb?
When we talked about this in the watch party,
got hurt.
It was pretty bad too.
We came out.
And the watch part, we didn't know the reason.
I think he came out.
He had a injury.
said yeah he had a surgery it's yeah what bummer uh yeah it was pretty bad he had to be
he had he had to spend a couple days in the hospital from what i understand um it was pretty
bad yeah that sucks but um yeah injuries happen yeah just a bad luck cop's uh awesome flyweight
with um a bad low just just injuries right now but just think of the cool fights we're gonna get
just think of the cool fights are going to get with minol cop now because he's
It's unfortunate that he's hurt.
But between that, the weight miss, he's going to have to take a step back here.
Tatsura Tire versus Tim Elliott are about to fight.
The winner of that could fight Minnell Kopp, and then we get Minnal Kopp versus like Brandon Roybal.
After that, and then he gets a title fight.
Like, the fights we're going to get on the road to a Menel Kopp title fight are going to be awesome.
Also, Muhammad Mahi Kov is still flowing out there.
That's very true.
Kikar, too.
Where's Kikar?
Concussions.
Oh, he's like retired?
Concussions.
No, no, no.
I just, I mean, like, he's, I just think he's taking his, I think he's taking his time.
Oh, okay.
I mean, I know, I know he's, okay, but how long has it been since he's?
I, he was supposed to fight in September.
So it hasn't even been a full year.
Wow, he's taken a full year off due concussions.
All right.
Oh, that's important.
All right.
Can we have two losses?
Yeah, it was June, June the Amir al-Bazi fight?
When did he fight Amir al-Bazi?
I don't remember.
Maybe it was June 3rd.
June 3rd.
year. Yeah. And then he was supposed to be on the Dreek of the Israel, Sean Strickland
fight card. Yeah. Yeah. Um, I mean, if, uh, I don't know how long Kai Kar is out.
Is it, is it Carr France? Okay. I go, go Kai Kar. It's Kai or Karr France. I'm going
Kai car car. That's just making things up. All right. I just call him Kai. Yeah, Kai. Yeah.
Kick out. Thank you much. Uh, do, do, do. What else we got?
Got lots.
Uh, A8. Thoughts on John Anix rule idea that you have to defend the title three times before you, you can go for chair.
I assume before you go fly for a second about. Um, fine.
I don't think there needs to be, I don't think there needs to be something set in stone, but I don't hate the concept of it.
Yeah. I, I, obviously there are weird circumstances where things line up and, you know,
you need things to happen.
But yeah, like if we're talking about the UFC in a general spectrum,
which is almost impossible to do with the nature of this sport and the nature of this company,
sure.
I mean, that would be a cool like rule of thumb.
But like you can't deny that Iliate Tupori versus,
like if they were going, if they booked Spain tomorrow, the UFC would like would have to
take a look at Iliate Tepore versus Sean O'Malley.
Like you're going into this new big-ass market.
It's a big fight with two well-known guys.
It makes absolutely no sense to book it.
But looking at it from a business perspective,
like that's a huge fight to enter a new market with.
Which is always the only perspective that really matters.
Exactly.
But it is annoying.
It's super annoying.
I'd rather see guys spend their titles.
It's quite annoying because like the money, the big money is going to,
the UFC and the two fighters.
Like for us fans as media members,
we're still stuck of, you know,
just bad cards
after that or just
lots of unhappy fighters
and just divisions that are just stuck.
I always thought
if you go for Champ Champs,
I don't know how, in the contracts,
like if you can't defend your other belt
within six months, six months,
not a year, six months,
that you have to vacate.
I think you should have to vacate.
Orally sign a contract.
tracks within six months.
Something like that.
You know, so we don't have just like one time a year and just freezes up divisions
for a long time.
It's like something like six months or something or, yeah, Santa Contra.
When Alex Volcanowski went up, I thought it, I didn't scoff at it because there was a little
bit of a log jam over who would be his next number one contender because Ja'eer and
Josh Emmett both had a claim to it.
They were fighting in Perth.
Habib and Islam called for it.
Like that, I felt like that made sense.
The story was there.
And then to Alex's credit, he won.
He lost and then went right back to Featherweight.
And I think Volcanowski would have been an active champion in both divisions.
Amanda was an active champion in both divisions for a while until Featherweight just kind of lost contenders.
That's no fault of her own.
But yeah, I agree.
You should at least sign a contract within six months between.
Like having a physical fight, five-round fight six months apart is tough.
on the body, but at least show motivation to do that.
Yeah, right.
That's the most appealing thing about it.
Is that, well, I could go up and try to make history,
but if I lose, I'm still the champion in the other way last.
Max Holloway did it too.
That's the tough thing.
Yeah.
If a fighter, like, if this is a mockachev is like, look,
I'm not fighting just, Desiporia, Justin Gae.
I'm fighting Leon Edwards.
Cool.
Like, I'm interested in that fight, but just get rid of the 55 pound belt.
Yeah.
Like, I'm just going up.
I'm a welterway now.
I got no problem with it.
Do you?
It doesn't change a thing for me
if you vacate the other belt
and then go up and win the wealthway title.
You are still a two-division champion in my eyes.
You know what I'm saying?
So hopefully this thing changes, but I doubt it.
All right.
Thank you much.
All right.
I'll be talking to John Aneck tomorrow, by the way.
I'm very excited for that.
Joseph Bosa, there he is,
for as good as a fighter as Wydman is,
and a good person he is,
he rubbed people the wrong way in Atlantic City.
I hope Bruno Silva is successful in his appeal.
Yeah.
I mean, look, we talked about this on Saturday.
At this point, you can't turn back.
Like, you just have to go all in with all of this.
There's no turning back.
So just as Jed likes to say,
if you're going to be a bear, be a grizzly,
Wyman's crossed into grizzly bear territory at this point.
you just kind of you can't turn it back now
and now he's got people taking his side
like apparently like DC said something
about this as well
kind of defending Wydman
I don't know
he's not a cheater like if you're
if your conclusion with all this is that
Wyman's a cheap fighter no it's not true
like I it was just the way he handled it that I think
is really got people to kind of turn on him
if Bruno Silla had successfully challenged this
and it turned into a no contest
when Chris Wydenman
loses win bonus?
That's on the UFC, I think.
I'm just asking, like,
if that is the case,
I would not blame Chris Wyman
in the slightest
for not giving the other side
any sort of evidence
to overturn this to a no contest.
Yeah.
Well, he gave plenty of evidence.
He said, I poked him in the eye
multiple friends.
He said, he goes,
oh yeah, I poked him in the eye.
Yeah, that's fine.
Yeah, but his counter argument,
his counter argument was also,
he poked me too,
but if he was like,
Which is not an argument.
If he straight up said, if he straight up said, like, yeah, I would have no problem if this was a no contest.
And then they change this to no contest and they take half his paycheck away.
I get it if he doesn't want to do that.
Because even who was it?
Chas Skelly and Bobby Moffitt, the situation in Denver that it was a submission that wasn't a real submission.
Like the referee.
And Chas Skelly went in the back and said, I'm going to appeal it.
I hope they overturn it.
only if they don't take Chaz's bonus away,
because that's not his fault.
If they take his win bonus away, then I won't challenge it.
Okay, so I want to make sure that DC actually said this, that he did.
Here's his quote.
First, he defends the showing.
I said this on his show at Chale.
Chris Wyman did what his instincts told him,
and that was to go finish Bruno Silva.
When Bruno reacted the way he did from the iPogue,
I'm only saying this because to me
it felt like a soccer player
when they get fouled
and they're rolling around on the ground
when the guy barely touches them.
Bruno Silva got eye poked
but I think he understood where he was in the fight.
He was getting beat, he was losing,
he fell to the ground,
he reacted in the way he was reacting,
hoping, quote, wait, stop, stop,
poke to the eye, no contest
and said,
and said, Wyman went in and finished him.
That's what D.C. said about it.
Who's D.C. friends with
of those two fighters?
I mean, that's my first thought out of all this.
Also, how did DC beat Steeper the first time?
Stabbs him in the eyes a bunch of times.
That's so true.
That's so true.
This idea that like you get a finger in your eyeball.
And now and even Wyatman says granted,
eye pokes are completely,
there's eye pokes that just bother you and there's eye pokes like,
oh, I'm going blind right now.
You know, there's different types of eye blights people.
Balal Muhammad eye pokes.
Yeah, like this is just insanity to me that Wyman is throwing that argument out.
Just say the whole, like, I can't believe he acted like he was hurt, even though the guy almost went blind.
And he's in the eye, I go, I got poked in the eye with a closed fist thumb, which is actually illegal.
If you have a closed fist, fingers can go in the eye if it's a closed fist because you get punched in the eye.
Because that's why people think they get eye poked all the time because you get a punch hits you in the eye.
It's just wild
Yeah, I get Chris probably
He wants that money
I get that extra 200 grand
That's a lot of money or whatever he gets
But yeah
No contest
I thought it should have been
DQ the night of
But run it back or I don't care
It's just
Weiman's
I don't like it
Here's a quote from Bruno Silva
To our own Garemei Cruz
Wyman poked both my eyes
And the exam showed
I lost 30% on my vision
in one of my eyes.
But the doctor doesn't think it's permanent.
He thinks it'll come back fast.
I'll have to go back there next week for another test.
Crazy, man.
Crazy.
I actually am in favor of running it back.
I'm in favor of them running this one back.
I think it makes sense.
Just do it again.
Yeah, just running back.
Yeah.
There's a fight in Newark.
There's a fight in Madison Square Garden.
It's not like they're going to have,
they're going to run out of places to have widened fight.
Yep.
runners. Raise the sales. Raise the sales. Captain, an unidentified ship is approaching. Over.
Roger. Wait. Is that an enterprise sales solution? Reach sales professionals, not professional
sailors. With LinkedIn ads, you can target the right people by industry, job title, and more.
Start converting your B2B audience today. Spend $250 on your first campaign and get a free $250 credit
for the next one. Get started today at LinkedIn.com slash campaign. Terms and conditions apply.
Support for this show comes from Chase.
If you're a fan of women's sports,
you're always looking for ways to get closer to the action.
And your Chase card can get you exactly that.
With a Chase card, you can experience more.
That means access to pre-sales, preferred seating, and more savings.
For more information about how to step into a world of more with Chase Experiences,
visit Chase.com slash experiences.
Benefits available only to eligible Chase card holders,
Deposit in credit card products provided by JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. member FDIC.
Terms, conditions, restrictions, and limitations apply.
I think what's, I guess we're not talking about at all, regardless of the eye pox,
which is you kind of can't, you kind of can't ignore those, were you, did you like Wyman's
performance?
Yeah, I thought he looked great.
Great.
He looks a little slow.
Great instance that he's a contender.
He's a top five, top 10, top 15.
No, no.
What is great?
What is great?
He looked good for a 39-year-old fighter who hasn't won in four years.
Like, it was the best he had looked in a long time in a fight.
So with that, and then especially with the, he's throwing leg kicks.
He's throwing kicks in general.
And he was like, he had the confidence to throw that.
So I took a lot away from Chris's performance.
I guess what I'm trying to say for a guy like Wyman,
where is a fan of Wyman or whatever,
do you want him to come back
has a guy that's maybe top 20
I am okay to me that's where he's that's why I see him at
I see him maybe top 20 top 25 right now
yeah I'm fine with that
look I know Chris will
will say I get a title run in me
I don't see it that way
but if he wants to fight like sparingly
once or twice a year
like Brad Tabars is a good fight
this is a good fight.
This is a,
you kind of have to watch like this with Bruno Silva
because he is dangerous,
but most people felt it was a windfall fight for Chris.
Now,
when you host a show like on to the next one,
you start to see some of the suggestions,
Alexander Cayley, my best friend,
threw up Paulo Costa as an idea for Chris Wyman.
I did not love that.
Joe Pfeiffer was a name that came up a bunch.
I don't love that.
but like him and Gerald Mearshard,
I can live with that.
That's fine.
You know, running back with Bruno,
I'm fine with that.
Like, these are,
like,
I'm cool with these kinds of fights.
But,
yeah.
Why not the winner?
Give him the winner of Sharra Bullitt
and whoever that he's fighting.
Ehor.
Sharma Bullet beat Bruno Silva too
before the wider.
Brennan,
yeah,
I mean,
I was thinking if Brennan
wins tomorrow.
Or something.
Brennan would be like top,
Top five in the middleweight division.
Yeah, he can't do that.
I mean, they have, I don't know.
You would throw,
they buy victories over Bruno Silva.
They can talk about that.
Just sign Fabian Edwards and have him fight Chris Widman.
Oh, there you go.
I like that.
Or, uh,
sign Aaron Jeffrey.
That's fine, too.
Yeah.
Like, I'm okay with these fights.
Chris,
yeah,
you just got to be smart with Chris.
Chris is just like, people like him.
He fights, you put him in New York, you put him in the Northeast, let him do his thing.
And that's it.
Like, it's okay.
Doesn't have to make a title run.
All right.
Thank you much.
Super chats coming in, coming in hot.
Let's go.
Explore Toad.
In terms of WrestleMania on Sunday, does Rock make it to the title match or tag only?
We mean just like appearing on Sunday?
he's definitely not wrestling
someday
yeah
we'll rock up here
here's what's gonna happen
Cody and Seth will win the tag match
on day one
which means the bloodline
will not be allowed to have
skullduggery in the main event
or Seth's fight on day two
Seth should win
or whatever against Drew McIntyre
who knows that is in that one
either man could win
or lose and not lose any steam
I think the Rock is going to have some shenanigans in the main event
and cost his cousin Roman, his, his WW title.
Cody will finish this quote unquote, finish his story.
The Rock and Roman will set up their feud for the next year.
Because if you keep, if you, you guys, you guys watch wrestling, obviously.
If you watch all of the Rock's promos, he keeps referring to there can only be one.
They can only be this.
There can only be that.
like he's he calls himself the final boss and roman rains calls himself the tribal chief and then
the rock's like well they can only be one and we're here to do this i'm like well there's two of you
if there's only one you got to fight over it that will happen roman will fight the rock at next year's
russolmania i honestly like thought at first that was like how this is going to go i literally
have no idea i don't know how i would have no clue don't god just do the thing as long as like
Cody just leaves of the belt.
If they pull some shenanigans where like Damian Priest cashes in the briefcase and like
I would love it.
I would love it.
That would be so wild.
That'd be so frigging nuts.
Mm-hmm.
But yeah, I think I don't know.
I honestly don't know.
It's gotten to the point where I've like overthought of myself.
Jose's theory is probably which would.
Well, because they also announced Clash at the castle, which is their big pay-per-view in the UK or
I don't know where it is this year.
Last year it was in Wales.
Wales, yeah.
Yeah, that big stadium.
So they always like to have a European in the main event.
So if Drew McIntyre wins, it would make sense.
Yeah.
I get a headline there.
Finn Ballard's from Ireland.
David Priest is not.
I don't know.
We'll see.
How do you watch wrestling this year?
I'm not.
This year, it's been on peacock.
No, but is it cost, no.
I bought it.
I mean, I got to hear.
ago it was on network i don't know it changes if you if you have a peacock subscription you have
russomani oh okay it comes a peacock subscription all right cool yeah yeah he's asking people people
need to know what was run oh yeah yeah it's it's pretty awesome it's shocked i was a what you don't know
you don't know how to watch rousomani yeah you don't have to pay 80 bucks to watch russomania
and then i remember it was on the the wb network for a while and that was but that was also
that was also you yeah you pay nine 99 a month yeah you just get russomania same
thing.
Do they still the network?
Is it like ESPN plus?
Oh, the network's gone.
The W.
network's thing anymore.
Okay.
Peacock is like,
Peacock is like Macs or Hulu and Netflix.
So they have the entire WWE library
on Peacock?
Oh,
yeah.
Oh,
but then they also,
everything.
And they're basically any,
mid-south,
like all of it.
You can go back.
You go all way back.
But then they have all of NBC's IP because it's
streaming.
So.
So if you're a 30 rock fan, you can watch 30 rock after WrestleMania.
They also have some exclusive content, but I have no idea what it is.
But I think the UI is trash, but the streaming quality is very good.
I've never had like lags or anything on Peacock.
Awesome.
What time does it start on Saturday?
I don't know.
I don't know.
All right.
I'm going to say 7 p.m.
This is my first WrestleMania.
on the East Coast in 15 years.
All right.
Wait, so is the fights going on at the same time,
WrestleMania?
Not the main event,
not the second half of the car,
but probably the prelims are going to be going.
Probably.
Yeah, okay.
I can't believe they skipped,
they didn't skip this week.
The UFC usually skips weekends.
Like they skipped Rumble weekend.
They skip WrestleMania weekend.
Well, the UFC car will be over by like 18.
30. So like all the good stuff, you'll be able to watch.
Yeah, it is an extra, it is an extra early apex card. You're right.
Mike, which match are you most looking forward to besides the two main events?
Jeez. I got to look at the whole card. I am looking forward to. I would have felt this way
anyways. Sell me on these matches. I actually pan the watch now. So day one is day one is all of the
like the tag in like multi-man match.
There's a lot of them.
The first match is the Becky Lynch, Ria Ripley one.
Or quote unquote, Walter is fighting Sammy Zane.
So if you watched, if you watched PWG between the eras of, I want to say, 2007, 2008,
there was a time when Sammy Zane, or let me rephrase, there was a time when El Generico was the best wrestler in the world.
He obviously died and Sammy Zane took his place in WWE.
Um, Walter, if you know, you know, Walter was that guy too.
So this is like a indie call.
This is basically just an, two independent, like indie wrestler gods wrestling at
WrestleMania.
And then the six pack, it's a six pack lat, it's a six tag team match, six tag teams in a
single ladder match, which is just going to be anarchy.
Um, and then you got brother, brother.
You got Jade Cargill and Bianca and Naomi wrestling all the, uh,
How's Jade Cargo looking?
This is going to be your second match in WW.
And she's going against Bianca?
Oh, okay.
No, she's on the same team as Bianca.
Oh, they're tagging.
She's wrestling all the Josie wrestlers.
It's basically all the black females versus all the Joshes.
Oh, I hope that's fun.
I hope that's cool.
Because you got Aska and Kyrie Zane and Dakota Kai, who's obviously from New Zealand
versus all the three black, strong powerful black female wrestlers.
And then you got Ray Mysterio and Dragon Lee,
who obviously Casey knows versus the evil Mexicans too.
Yep.
Oh, look at this.
Ria Becky Lynch for me.
Yeah, E.S. Guy Bailey's good.
I'm curious to see how they pay that one off.
Eoskeye.
Woo.
L.A. Night, A.J. Styles, just be a good.
If you're just a good, if you're a fan of sports entertainment,
not all the flippy stuff,
it doesn't get much better than L.A. Night and A.J. Styles.
That's like a perfect match.
Valter slash Gunther is must watch television.
Him and Sammy makes no sense,
and there's no chance Sammy should win this, but...
No, I think he could win this.
Gunther's...
You think he's going to win?
I think he's going to win.
Gunther needs to go up into the main event scene, though.
He's had the title for like three WrestleMania's at this point.
Time to move on.
Keep going. Keep going.
And then Sammy's Inc.
and Ratt...
I think, what do you call it?
Chad Gable is going to cost Gwinter his title.
Ooh.
Every time he keeps saying Walter and Sammy,
I'm thinking Sammy Gwerva.
Guevara.
Garvara.
I saw them wrestle at PWG.
And Sammy took the most hellacious beating on the,
I've never seen a man take as many chops
from another person
he was like squirting blood
out of his chest
it was so disgusting
so I love Walter
Walter like
I love watch I'm excited
for the Philadelphia street fight
on this day two
because Paul Ellering will be there
blast from the past
oh
former LOD manager
precious Paul Ellering
the wrestling superstar
and
Karen Cross
and Bobby Lashley
have MMA experience.
So it's going to be a brutal match.
Yeah.
And tonight on Triller, pay-per-view, watch Bloodsport,
Josh Burnett's Bloodsport.
And Esther's out in Philly.
She'll be shooting that.
And I think she's shooting some Joshi matches tomorrow.
Nice.
I'm not sure.
So she's shooting some indie wrestling out in Philly.
So if you're in Philly, say hi.
Yeah.
And she's awkward.
The co-leader, the co-leader has a,
an event tonight too so don't forget about that oh i am i am actually that card's not bad i looked at
the card i was like i like a lot of the fights like uh like all the 25ers on there like i like kana
uh jena bishops fighting um uh there was a couple i'm i'm interested in into vesella at a heavyweight
i don't know i was like oh i mean i don't want to see the whole card but um but that
i mean that goes for a lot of cards i'm not it's not saying much you know like but
that's how you sell it i wouldn't watch the entire car but i would watch some of it there are definitely
There are definitely lots of fights on there.
I'm like, ooh, I want to see that.
I want to see that.
Yeah, I know what you mean.
It's just a funny way to sell it.
Yeah.
Tala Santos is making her PFL debut.
Yeah.
Actually, the women's side of that is really interesting.
This could be good.
This could be good.
It's still PFL.
If it's pfile.
That's what I mean.
It's still PFL.
There are only four fights in this main card.
If this card goes beyond 1230 AM Eastern.
time Friday, like early Friday morning, they've done it wrong. These are all three round
fights. This should be wrapped in packed by like 12.15. No later. Yeah. Check out the Jenna
Bishop fight kids. I think she's very good. All right. Oh, I love this comment though. For the
MMA haters out there that don't like the fake fighting. I'll never watch fake fighting proceeds to
I don't know
disparage it
I don't knock anyone
that doesn't like
professional wrestling
I get it
I totally get it
you can not like professional wrestling
but the whole
guys you know it's fake
you know it's fake
yeah
that's dumb
that's the word
wait
I stopped
I stopped listening to those people
when I was 10 watching
like yeah I get it bro
you're arguing with it
I watch men
punch each other
for a living too
yeah
I like documentaries
and I like watching
Game of Thrones. You can like both.
Are you bringing a Brett Hart hoodie?
Yes, sir. Yes, sir. Courtesy of my good friends
at Roots of Fight. Oh, that's
sick. That's sick. Yeah.
Yeah, but what are your feelings on Goldberg?
Or as Brett calls it, Brett will never call him Goldberg. It's always Bill Goldberg.
Bill Goldberg, Bill Goldberg, Bill Goldberg.
I like the meme where it was, I like the meme online where it's like
anything could happen.
It would be like, Showtai Otani, it's a home run to left field.
And somewhere in the world, Brett Hart is burying Goldberg.
Super chat from Lazy Bed.
As he should, by the way.
Higher upside.
I love Bill Goldberg as a kid.
I'm not going to lie.
Dude, he was, Bill Goldberg was one of the first
legit assholes I met in this sport.
Oh, he was such an asshole.
Like, like, just behind the scene.
Oh, on screen in front of the cameras are there.
Yeah, I get it.
But like, real person.
Yeah, not a fan.
Yeah.
Higher upside.
Morgan Sherrier, Baja Mondays, or Charlie Campbell's.
Good question.
Charlie Campbell.
I think Morgan Sherry is going to kind of has a head start a little bit.
the UFC's breaking ground
to Paris. He's had a lot of, he had a bunch of fights before he signed
to the UFC.
There's, from what I've seen online,
there's been a lot of European,
uh,
French outlets covering his fight.
So I think he might just have,
he might reach his peak sooner than these three.
I just don't know who has the higher outside.
Is he, is this a wasted fight for I'm throwing on the apex like this?
I think it's odd.
It's a tough fight too.
It's,
That's why me.
It's a tough fight and it's wasted on an apex kind of, you know, throwaway prelim.
Yeah, I don't know.
I don't like, everything feels like a prelim on this card.
Sorry.
That's true.
How dare you?
How dare you, Casey?
Oh, yeah, he has a third part for the top.
So, I think, I thought.
I mean, this is a good question.
It's probably Morgan, but to Cose's point, he's 28.
I think we're kind of reaching it, but who knows?
Baja Mondays has something.
I just don't know.
I don't know if he has it.
Like, he's exciting.
He's athletic.
But his fight IQ isn't spectacular,
but he is only 25.
So he could develop that.
Ask me on Saturday after this card.
And I think we'll have a better answer.
I mean, it's a cop-out answer, but it's true.
These are all like interesting fights
where we're going to learn a lot about all three of these guys.
Mm-hmm.
Kind of going, both,
yeah, what's the Campbell's going against?
Peak, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
That absolutely maniac.
Yeah.
Campbell should beat him.
Trevor Peak is.
And Bahamundi's fighting Christos Gagos.
Like, I know record's spectacular,
but he's gone on some good runs,
got some finishes in the best division in the sport.
it.
Yeah.
It's a solid professional
fighter.
Yeah.
Cool.
I don't think we answered your question.
I was a bed, but thank you.
All right.
Super chat.
Support for this show comes from Volkswagen.
As the U.S. gets ready
to host soccer's biggest moment
on a worldwide stage,
Volkswagen is helping people discover new
terms and new ways to play the beautiful
game right here in the U.S.
From deaf and power wheelchair soccer to beach and futsal,
Volkswagen is actively supporting all the communities and teams within the U.S. soccer ecosystem.
They're supporting talent from across the U.S. soccer extended national teams
and are focused on helping to give these less widely known forms of soccer a platform moving forward.
From the pitch to the sand and everything in between, welcome to our turf.
Defenders and cybersecurity are always there when we need them.
They should get a parade every time they block a novel threat
and have streets, sandwiches, and babies named in their honor.
But most of all, they deserve AI cybersecurity that can stop novel threats
before they become breaches across email, clouds, networks, and more.
DarkTrace is the cybersecurity defenders deserve
and the one they need to defend beyond.
Visit darktrace.com forward slash defenders for more information.
Mr. Jack?
Did Mr. Jack freeze?
I think, I think, I think,
Mike, it's frozen out.
There he is.
I thought he was like.
Mike, it froze.
You have to watch the replay later.
Frost, you were looking down to questions.
So look at you're just really pondering the question.
So we're all just kind of waiting.
Like, oh, he's really thinking about this.
The internet just like shut off and then it just like flip back on for some reason.
Very weird.
Let's see.
Thank you for him.
Two fights you really want to see before 2024 ends.
That's not booked.
Is that what he's saying?
Unbooked?
So these are unbooked fights?
Unbooked fights that would make sense, I assume.
Can we talk unrealistic?
Because of course, John Jones Aspinall,
unrealistically.
That's a good one.
Armand Syracian versus Zilmachchev is probably one of the two.
So assuming.
Right now, that could change.
That could change next Saturday.
Islam and Justin Casey.
I think Islam and Justin Gage is a fight I really want to watch.
Israel and Hamzot, probably those two.
Fuck, man, Gagie and Connor would be so fun.
I'm not, I don't count,
but it's so fun.
You know what you know what I was going to say?
That first five minutes is going to be electric, though.
I would honestly rather see,
it's an opinion.
I would rather see Max versus Connor at 55.
Yeah, that's a good one.
If basically the winner of the BMF to fight Connor.
That's all.
Oh, I got
Mobsar and Brian Ortega
Mavzar and Ilya
I would like to see that
I want to see Madsvar and Brian Ortega
in the Komen event of Ilya
in Valk 2
Monsvara, Ilya, that's like
the fight you have to see
or is that just a fight that makes sense?
No, I love that fight.
That is just an incredibly
high level martial arts competition
that will not draw a lot of interest
from casual fans.
Exactly.
Yeah, I know that fight makes sense, but I'm honestly not that entry.
I mean, obviously, yeah, it's high level, but like, I'm just, I'm like, I'm just not,
because I'm not into, uh, I blow it, a blow, a, a blow, eh, he, he'lloy, uh, Mazzar,
Evelov.
Evelev.
I'm just not, was he.
I'm just not, I'm just not in, I know he's really good.
I just don't go on my way to watch his fights yet.
I think if he, that's why, if he beats Brian Ortega, who had a wicked win against Yair,
then there you can't.
that's like that is and on the flip side of Brian B's hands Mazar's first loss you that's it like
title shots next for either man yeah like there's no argument and I'm a I'm a big fan of number
one contender fights being on the same card as the title fight of course yeah it's all lines up
um present Brian and mobsar have our two very high level grapplers and I would like to see how
they're strike because usually when you have two high level grapplers fight it just turns in a
sloppy kickboxing fight I would like to see that between these two
and Mavzar has never
finished an opponent
in the UFC
I would like it to be a five round
almost got Arnold out of there
almost got on that I would like a five round
co-made event between Brian and Mavzar
also there is they have jawed at each other
on social media and through press conferences
so I think the story's there
makes sense ranking wise
number one contend to fight
high level MMA
make it happen
yeah the U.C's kind of said
John Wiley Tatiannasaur is
yeah that's true
Tadatian Suarez in any title fight honestly.
Yeah.
Just Tatian Swarres.
Yeah, just, I just want to see her fight high-level competition and just be healthy.
That's all.
I don't want her in another number one contender fight, though.
We've seen her in so many.
Just give her the title shot now.
Just give her to her.
Give her the winner.
But if Yon wins, are they going to rematch it?
100%.
Yeah.
In China.
In China.
100%.
Like the first one should have been.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Which means they're going to fight.
Saskatchewan
Oh dude
Congratulations
Saskatchewan
Yeah
Let's go
Let's go
All right
Oh I put that one
I guess
Super chat
At another commenter
If that
Who really cares about
Chris Curtis
Over the rock
I mean
Chris Curtis
Did walk out to Edge's
theme song
In his last fight
You sure did
This one is
is for Jose, I assume.
For Michael, Jose.
Which UFC fighter is the best tattoos, Jose?
This is definitely your question.
I think it depends because I have my personal style.
Like, I love Vernagandoz tattoos because they are like sticker style.
There's no rhyme or reason to them and they're all line work.
I love that style, obviously, because that's what I'm covering in.
but in terms of application that I can actually really appreciate the best off the top of my head are
Alexander Volkov, Tom Aspinall's backtap, just Tom's back tattoo, not the rest of his tattoos.
Volkov's new back tattoo, the one that covered up the stingray.
All of T.J. Dillishaws are incredibly high level because he got him at bang bang here in New York,
and then Cody Garbrand's backpiece.
Not the other ones on his chest or neck or shin or anything, but like his backpiece, he's a
full back boost, perfectly contoured to his body.
Those were probably the best.
Those are probably the best in terms of like application.
But my personal favorite is Vernagerendorovas because she has similar styles to me.
And Montares, what's her name, that female Mexican fighter?
She has a lot of monsterat.
Yeah, Montserrat.
She has a lot of horror characters tattooed all over.
Like she has the guy from.
Yeah.
That'd be just a preference to what you like.
Yeah, yeah.
But I would say my favorite is Vernas.
Jojo had good ones too.
But I think the four or five that I had previously named,
no matter what your preferences,
you will understand why those are the best.
Also, the artists that did them are very good.
I think as long as the person who's wearing it likes it,
it's all that matters.
I mean, that is always the correct answer
because people would be like,
why did you put that on your bottom?
I'm like because I wanted it.
It means something.
Like there are, there is no bad, there is no bad subject matter unless it is a, like a hateful thing.
Like people with SS tattoos and everything.
But in a perfect world, there is no bad subject matter, but there is bad application.
Like you can get a tattoo that means something to you like that just came out bad, kind of like Alan Belcher's Johnny Cash tattoo.
The wrong spot to put that on the body.
Yeah.
But like he likes Johnny Cash.
So it's just not a bad tattoo.
his mind, but the application was poor. Do your research. Like, I have a tattoo of a potato in high
heels on my leg. And people say, why do you have that? I go, because I thought it'd be funny.
And it is very funny. It's a hot potato. And that is why I have it. Exactly. Well, it actually
says, this is a potato about to ask a stupid question because it also has a face. And I really like
that tattoo. I also have a tattoo of Sherlock Holmes and Watson.
solving crimes, but Watson is holding up a jar of jam.
And he says, I found a clue.
And then Sherlock's like, that's a jar of jam, Watson.
And then that's the whole tattoo.
So I have some nonsense once too.
I do plan on getting Esther.
Esther is going to do a stick and poke, a prison tattoo on me of my,
and spell out write my dog's name on my arm.
It won't look good, but I won't.
it that way.
Yeah.
I mean, just all depends on your preference.
Mike, Mike, you know that, you know that story, right?
Oh, yeah.
Don't get drunk during spring break during the first round of the NCAA basketball tournament
on St. Patrick's Day.
And then because you'll end up with half a tattoo.
Yes.
Do you have any sticking poke?
Me?
Yeah.
I have more of a modern day sticking poke where because it's sticking, obviously it's just like
tap, tap, tap, tap.
tap tap tap tap tap tap i have more of a modern one where the tattoo artist set his gun to pulse
so rather than pulling a line it was a it was a tattoo it was a wireless tattoo gun that just
did dot dot dot dot dot well that most of most of a lot of people use oh yeah yeah it's just that's not a
um i've seen a tattoo artist that is about that i my buddy has a tattoo gun about this big it's like
the size of a vape pen and he did a tattoo on he did my bobby hill tattoo with that
so like they could come out good but the one on my thigh i have cathulu on my thigh that was like more
of a 21st century sticking poke but it's the same application you just keep hitting a dot over and
over and over and i will say it was the worst pain i have ever felt in my entire life
it was also 12 hours i keep hearing that people say as you get even if you have lots of tattoos
they all hurt yeah as you get older it just gets worse or like it doesn't get you
easier. Like, you somehow you think it's going to get better, but it doesn't. It's just, it's just levels of pain. Like my, let my shins do not hurt at all. Well, they do hurt. I can just handle the pain easier. My calf tattoo, my calves, I will never tattoo it again. Because I know what I, I know what I'm in for and I don't want to experience that ever again. Or my ear. I could feel my skull vibrating. I don't want to feel that again.
Slido
Old school scorpion
in sub-zero on the left and right chins
and a George Carlin portrait
Wow
Wow
What an eclectic mix of tattoos
I'm not going to lie
I love all of those ideas
Because I've always wanted a scorpion tattoo
Sub-Zo I get
And George Carlin is a maniac
I can't believe you got that on your chest
But God bless
You get a young
George Carlin, ponytail George Carlin.
I want to see what era of George Carlin
you got. That's unbelievable.
On your body.
Slow, slow tea.
Do not be embarrassed by tattoos.
Be proud.
Slito, Slito, Slito.
Do not be embarrassed.
Those are amazing tattoos.
Those are amazing.
Never be embarrassed.
If my own people ask me for advice on tattoos all the time, A, here's the three.
Do your research on your artist and pick the style that you want.
B, don't get them all at once.
because then you'll run out of room
and you find new things you like over time.
You know what I'm saying?
And do not get hands or face or neck tattoos
early into your tenor.
Yeah, don't.
Dude.
I will eventually get a head tattoo and palm tattoos,
but not anytime soon.
I have a lot more space.
I heard palm tattoos are just the worst.
They all hurt.
Yeah.
They all hurt.
but I will get palm tattoos eventually.
If you get a comedian tattoo,
what comedian would you get tattooed on you?
I'm the right.
I'm not,
I'm not a stent.
I'll get my friend Brian,
I'll get my friend Brian Bioncardi in Los Angeles.
He's just an open.
I love that.
I love that idea.
I'll get my buddy's face.
I'll get my buddy's fine.
He used to be Fred Armistin's assistant too.
So he'll let me and him have a lot of fun stories together.
So yeah, I'll get his face.
But like in terms of like a big name artist,
comedian, there's no one that I would.
I'm just not a comedian guy.
All right.
No laughter of you.
That's true.
I'd rather see funny things happen than watch.
Like, why laugh about a guy telling you someone got kicked in the nuts?
Where you can watch a guy get kicked in the nuts.
It's a great point.
It's a point.
It's a point.
It's not.
I mean, it's not, but it won't.
George Carlin wants the voice of Thomas the Tank old claymation shows.
That's true.
Oddly enough.
I think I want some sort.
Ah, yes.
I was about to say this of some sort of Mitch Headberg tattoo.
Maybe not him specifically, but some sort of one of his jokes.
I don't know.
I like that.
Like my friend has a tattoo of, wow.
He has a tattoo of someone that was on S&M.
Bill Hader.
That's a name?
Yes, it is.
He has a tattoo of Bill Hater and it's underneath.
It's just rest in peace, EZE, and I think it's fantastic.
Wow.
Those are the tattoos that I'm about.
All right.
That's fine.
Oh.
Bill Hater.
That's tremendous.
Everyone talk about tattoos.
I have two full sleeves, legs, and ribs covered.
Yeah.
never been a sleeve guy but i respect them
ribs hurt i think all hurt it just levels of pain yeah yeah if i'm gonna get a rib
tattoo i'm getting a big piece though because i don't ever want to go back for a
all right uh do to do do uh i jacamo in your opinion was holloway versus gaitjeetia fumble or not
dustin seems to have hijacked the title shot and max is out of his weight class
with Ilya's new champ.
Is this a fumble?
I don't know if it's a fumble.
No one's going to turn their nose up to Max Hollow and Justin Ketchie fighting,
but I think it's missed times because I think Justin already earned his shot at Islam.
Islam wants to fight June 1st.
And then the same as Max, like Max wants to fight Ilya.
Like they both had other fights that made sense.
But like I love.
I love that.
And those fights can happen after this.
It just depends on how healthy these guys come out.
It's not a fumble if the UFC is paying them as if it's a real championship fight.
Which I assume they are.
Which is why would Jessica need to take this fight?
Yeah, exactly.
So I'm assuming he's getting paid as if it was a championship fight and they're getting paper viewpoints and all that jazz.
So and it is.
And honestly, I think if you, it's the most, I think probably give me the most talked about, talked about fight of the card coming into it.
A hundred percent.
Yeah, so I don't see how this is a fumble, to be honest.
Yeah, timing's never perfect, but, um, and yeah, we'll see.
And the second part, I don't, I don't disagree.
I mean, I don't agree with Max is out of his weight class.
I don't, have you seen Max lately?
That dude is huge.
I don't, yeah.
Watch, watch him versus Dustin Porier.
Watch that fight.
That's not like, the difference in this one, I think, is.
And this is, yeah, sorry.
Max was just a, uh, in that fight, Max was just a featherweight that stopped.
When he hit this one, he is going to be massive, like physics.
Yeah.
Yes.
He looks, he looks big.
Even at the, um, the presser that did for 300 when him and Gaichi like squared off with
each other, like you can tell.
Even like with Max like with a whole bunch of gear on, like he looks big.
He looks big.
So I can't wait for this fight.
The amount of people who are counting Max Holloway out of this fight, just straight counting him
out is insane.
Absolutely insane to me.
like spoiler i'm picking max oh i don't know if i'm going that far i will go that bar i will go
that far i will go that far i'm not i'm not blaming you for it no no it's gonna be a close
it's got me a obviously this is what everybody thinks it's going to be yeah this is what everybody
thinks it's going to be this is this is just going to rule yeah this should have been the
original well no nate dia should always been the original because he came up with it so
never take that back i actually do the the original bmf i made sense at the time yeah
and then dust and just dust and just dust and just dustin are like like in both all three
bmf fights that have been booked make sense for that title yep for sure and the original
bmf was really actually when it was called the all violence no no no it was um eddie albert
Eddie Alvers.
Yeah, Eddie Alvers.
The most violent man title.
Most violent man in Detroit.
All right.
We got what time are we?
Okay.
A couple more questions.
Underrated bangor.
Yes.
Anyone seen the 301 poster?
Why is it so much better than the 300 poster?
I have not seen it.
Because they have to sell this one.
They don't have to sell the 300 poster.
That's true.
This is when you get to sell.
also but it's wild seeing
people buy posters
I don't get it like
I would I would hang up
I have one UFC poster
it's the only one
it's for Nate Connor two
it's the only poster I have
because it was nice
no I have no two posters I'm sorry
GSP versus Nick Diaz
I have
they're not hanging up now
because in New York I don't have any room
but in storage in my old office
I had
157
when I was Ronda's debut
because that was the first event
I ever covered live
I have 162
because remember they would give posters
out at the media days
Casey
They used to
Yeah yeah yeah
I have all my programs too.
I have all my programs actually sitting over there
I have two UFC 189s
I have one with Mendez
and one with Aldo
because that's a collector's item
I have two UFC 200 posters
because I have one with John Jones
on it and then I have one with Anderson on it
because those are collectors items and I like how they look
next to each other like they're the same
but different
and then I have May Mac
just because I was there
the May Mac poster dude for such a
big fight it was
yeah they spent no time on that
no that's boxing
boxing doesn't yeah
301 poster does look pretty good though
this is a good
good job with this one it's just so wild
seeing Steve Erseg and John
the Martinez on a
pay-per-new fight poster.
And I have the cardboard
I don't know what you'd call it. It would go
on the podium
for press conferences.
I have that for
Jaire and Alice Casares.
There were three media people there.
And I was, I just smashed it.
Nice.
All right.
Since we have you here, Jose.
Thoughts on Dune
too. I liked it. I thought Timothy Shaliman and Zendaya were not good actors or actresses in it,
but I liked them as a whole a lot. It's like my girlfriend's favorite IP, so yeah, I enjoyed it.
But they have to make Dune Messiah now. Like, you can't leave it. They mean, they left it like
a giant kind of a cliffhanger. Yeah. Yeah, but Dune was like, it's because there's no way
that this Zendaya's character in the book and Zendaya's character in the book and the movie are just like
so different in terms of like what they're about.
So I'm curious what they do.
She's essentially a new character from what I gather.
As far as as not nude, I don't know where,
but like as far as like being multi-dimensional in a sense.
Like.
Yes.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
But I enjoyed the movie quite a bit.
I enjoyed it.
I loved it a whole lot.
I like it a lot.
I have not seen it yet.
I need to get on them.
I just,
I got, watching the theater.
It's tough, man.
It's tough when you have kids, man.
I get it.
I get it.
You have to see shit that they want to see, which I'm not opposed to.
Like, I saw the new Ghostbusters movie.
I thought it was very good.
It's what the first remake or whatever this series is was supposed to be.
And yes, Jose, on the day it dropped, Godzilla versus Kong, the new empire.
Oh, yeah.
Which is, boy.
I haven't seen it.
He loved it.
My kid loved it.
It's just so ridiculous.
It's so ridiculous.
especially after seeing Godzilla minus one,
which I thought was freaking masterful.
See, you saw it.
I haven't seen Godzilla minus one yet.
I'm so upset.
Godzilla minus one is the best Godzilla film I've ever seen.
And I've seen almost all.
It's so good.
Don't get me.
Don't say anything.
Please don't say anything.
It's like, yeah, I'm so excited to watch it.
And it's not.
I don't even know that.
Well, usually I don't even like,
usually I don't care for like the subtitle films.
I can't really sit through them.
But the way this one was done and shot and just like the way it all flowed.
It was so good.
It was incredible.
Yeah, you got to see it.
It's beautifully done.
Awesome.
You watch three body problem.
Julia is so into it.
I just,
it's so into it.
I can't.
I can't.
Me and Esther watched it in two days.
The whole thing.
We got to find out.
We got to find out.
Yeah, I watched it in two days.
I'm not,
I don't like binging, honestly.
And I was like,
I don't want to get spoilers.
I have to find out now.
I did not care for the first one and a half episode.
Oh, really?
I was like, I'm out, I'm out.
I was like, I'm out.
And obviously, like, I love it.
I have no idea, but I'm like really in a Shogun right now.
Oh, I love Shogun so much.
I love Shogun.
I'm so happy.
I'm so happy that's a good show.
I was really scared.
The scale of that is massive.
And I forget the actor's name, the guy who plays each of the killer.
I can't remember the names now.
But that character rules.
Watch Shogun, everyone.
Watch Shogun.
And if you want some sci-fi, watch
three body prom too if you like sci-fi
X-Men 97 also
great
all right
question oh
I got a few more months
so I got asked this on
I got asked this on heck of a morning too
who would you give the women's BMF
to if there is a women's title
really got to do it in a fight and I said
I don't care who the other half is
and I know she doesn't fight anymore
and I know she's about to go in the Hall of Fame
but Ioanni NJECC needs to be
and I think the other one has to be
Jessica Androche the only woman that's fought in three way classes.
I think that's the rematch for that fight.
Yeah, Yawanna and Androge.
It sounds nice.
I think that makes too much sense.
That sounds real good.
Yeah.
I like it.
And Jessica Andrade even volunteered to go up to feather wave to fill in for a fight.
I'm like, God, you're a maniac.
You're such a, like, you are a legitimate badass.
And Yowahua is just a bad motherfucker too.
That's pretty much the correct answer.
Yeah.
The guy who initially brought this up was like,
was like he loves Amanda Lemosch and he thinks that she's the BMF,
which I mean,
dude,
Yvana versus Lemosch is fun,
his phone as hell.
But yeah,
Yonani needs to be it.
Prime,
prime,
uh,
uh,
Strike Force era,
uh,
Cyborg.
Yeah.
I mean,
yeah.
When she was,
when it was just like,
I'm just going to swing my arms like this and close my eyes.
I love it
I think
the rematch
her and Amanda
would not have been a bad
I talk
I talked my
The one that got away
The one that got away
But no
Yeah politics
Yeah
All right
Forrest Daniels
Do you guys see the 300
Countdown yet
What'd you think about
It's to get you excited
For the biggest
I haven't watched it
I haven't either
I probably won't
Yeah
Sorry I've not watched it
I usually watch
It just
So I can come up
with anything to ask for immediately day.
Yeah.
I could tell you just like I just,
all I did was cut the cold open audio
for the watch party we're doing next Saturday.
And just cutting that alone and hearing it back,
like putting it to music and stuff,
that I was ready to run through a friggin wall
after that was done.
Like I am,
I don't need contact.
I don't need anything to get me fired up for this one.
This is plus plus.
Where is the watch party this year?
We're doing it in Vegas.
That's right.
That's right.
So I will be there.
I will be there next Friday, a week from tomorrow.
And I will be there Wednesday for the longest meet day in the history of the world.
And I will be here sitting right here in this chair going, hey, where is everybody?
Wednesday's going to be a busy day.
Everyone's in Vegas.
I'm here.
All right.
Oh.
Uh, here we go.
Talk about actual card tomorrow on Saturday.
Uh, Sammy, why do you think Jermaine d'ermanamy is so low on the card?
Is because they dislike her or is it her age?
Will that title issue haunt her remaining days?
Won't help her.
No.
Well, I, I, I, so here's two, two reasons.
One, Norma Dumont has not fought at Bannemweight yet, right?
Like, she has yet to have an official 135-pound fight.
So that's just one thing.
You're playing the risk-reward type thing of like, which of these fights like that the scale could take away from us.
This is probably one of the top two or three that you have to think about.
Two, Germainter enemy hasn't fought in forever.
And three, because of that, a lot of the fan base that the UFC has been trying to cater to the last two years,
they have no effing clue who Jermaine de Ranimy is.
No idea.
They are seeing her name for the very first time.
To me, this is fascinating.
She's 39, but this division needs people badly.
So I am intrigued by this fight, but yeah, that's probably it.
It's probably the reason.
Risk reward.
Norma's the more household name right now, which is friggin' insane to say,
but it's true because she's actually caught in.
Jermaine has a win over the champion
and the alleged number one contender.
She submitted Giuliana Pena.
That's still crazy to think about.
Yeah.
And has a win over the PFL champion.
Yep.
When I interviewed her after submitting Giuliana Pena,
I was, I thought Jermaine Duranmi had like the greatest thing ever
because she was like, yeah, I want to fight Amanda Nunes.
and she saw me kind of roll my eyes a little bit.
And she goes, no, no, no.
She goes, I'm putting my career on the line.
Either I beat Amanda Nunes and win the belt or I retire.
And I was like, that is gangster.
I love that.
A career ending fight, putting her career on the line for one last fight.
And at the time, it made sense.
She just tapped Juliana, and there was like nobody for Amanda to fight at the time.
So I was so up for that if they could spin it in that direction.
but we never got it.
This is also her first mom fight.
Yep.
Oh.
Here is.
Congratulations, this is Jermaine.
Last question.
Brandon, better chance at main eventing 302 in Newark.
Islam versus DP or Leon versus Bilal?
Yes, Islam DP.
Probably.
Yeah, probably.
I feel like this is a new one.
If you asked me before $2.99, I would have said Leon Ballal in a heartbeat.
But I actually thought they were just going to stick that one on this card anyways,
especially with all the talks about the UK being a fight night.
But now that they've switched things around, that changes everything.
So, yeah, Islam DP seems like the better chance.
Yeah.
I just want Leon Belaw to happen, too we can stop talking about it.
I'm just, it's like my, it's like my Connor versus, when's Connor Chandler happening?
It's like, I don't care.
Just, I'm just tired of it.
It's supposed to happen, let it happen.
That's right.
Yeah, it'll sell two paper views.
Oh, well, the UFC's going to go out of business.
No, that's going to do fine.
That's going to do fine.
I'm joking, but you know, I was like, who's going to buy?
No one's going to buy.
It's like, shut up.
You will.
Everyone's going to watch it.
And cool, it'll happen.
It might be a crappy fight.
Might be an awesome fight.
We don't know.
And then we'll move on.
I am curious, I am curious when that fight's going to happen.
Is it the 27th?
Which I've heard some people tell me, some people have told me it's a 27th.
Some have said the 20th.
And if it's the 20th, what a freaking day that's going to be.
Because we'll get an afternoon UFC pay-per-view.
And then you get Jake Paul, Mike Tyson on the same.
All right.
Speaking of which, there's a lot going down on June 1st as well.
There's all pay-per-view on both sides and K.
and I will be at both events.
Casey, I assume, is going to go cover
Nate and Jorge, because that's down the street
from him. And then across the way,
I'm going to be in Newark covering
God knows what.
So it's going to be a long fight night.
It is.
I would say if you are Nate and Jorge,
you are hoping, praying,
saying it may be an extra prayer that Leon Edwards
versus Bala Muhammad headlines June 1st.
Because if it's Islam versus D.P.
boys, that could be tough for paper revise.
Not that I think like Mazel-Diaz is going to blow the doors off anyways,
but if it's on Dustin Borier,
that's going to be rough for them.
But yeah, a lot happening, guys, a lot happening.
Can you imagine if Dana White comes out and makes an announcement?
He's like, all right, we got UK, Tom Aspinall,
co-main event defending his interim title against Curtis Blades.
He goes, in the main event,
Leon Edwards defends the Walterway title in front of his home crowd against
Shafkat Rock Monoff.
I'd be like, oh my God, poor Bilal.
But just get, I'm with you, Casey.
Just give him the fight.
Let's see what happens.
He deserves it.
I mean, I know we strike it, but there are a certain like conversation which is like,
enough is enough is enough.
Marab and Bilal are like the enough is enough at this point.
Just give him the shot.
Enough.
Hit the music.
We're good.
We're out.
normal show next week we'll have everybody back uh it'll be fun maybe we'll try to get try to wrangle one of
the mk guys back on here obviously they got some big things going on but we'll be on the road to
three out of tomorrow preview show one pm eastern to get you ready for ufc vgas 90 brennan
allen versus chris curtis too and then all your normal fight week fanaggents and your fight weekend
shenanigans so thank you for watching for hosey for casey i am mike the iconic voice of sesterlin
takes you home back next week. Thank you for watching. Good night, everybody.
This has been Between the Links and MMAT Fighting Production on the Vox Media Network.
