MMA Fighting - UFC Vegas 43 Post-Fight Show | Worst Event Of The Year? | Reaction To Ketlen Vieira vs. Miesha Tate
Episode Date: November 21, 2021Ketlen Vieira battered Miesha Tate in a bloody bantamweight main event of UFC Vegas 43. Where do both fighters go from the battle at the APEX? That question is answered, along with discussions about S...ean Brady's decision win over Michael Chiesa, Adrian Yang's Fight of the Night against Davey Grant and much more with MMA Fighting’s José Youngs, Alex K. Lee and E. Casey Leydon. Follow José Youngs: @JoseYoungs Follow Alex K. Lee: @AlexanderKLee Follow E. Casey Leydon: @ekc Subscribe: http://goo.gl/dYpsgH Check out our full video catalog: http://goo.gl/u8VvLi Visit our playlists: http://goo.gl/eFhsvM Like MMAF on Facebook: http://goo.gl/uhdg7Z Follow on Twitter: http://goo.gl/nOATUI Read More: http://www.mmafighting.com Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Support for this show comes from the Audible Original, the downloaded two, ghosts in the machine.
The Earth only has a few days left.
Rosco Cudullian and the rest of the Phoenix colony have to re-upload their minds into the quantum computer,
but a new threat has arisen that could destroy their stored consciousness forever.
Listen to Oscar winner Brendan Fraser reprised his role as Rosco Cudulian in this follow-up to the Audible Original Blockbuster.
The Downloaded, it's a thought-provoking sci-by journey where identity, memory, and morality collide.
Robert J. Sawyer does it again with this much-anticipated sequel that leaves you asking,
What are you willing to lose to save the ones you love?
The Downloaded 2, Ghosts in the Machine.
Available now, only from Audible.
Support for this show comes from the Audible original, The Downloaded 2, Ghosts in the Machine.
The Earth only has a few days left.
Rosco Cudulian and the rest of the Phoenix colony
have to re-upload their minds into the quantum computer,
but a new threat has arisen that could destroy their stored consciousness forever.
Listen to Oscar winner Brendan Fraser reprised his role as Rosco Cudulian
in this follow-up to the audible original blockbuster, the downloaded.
It's a thought-provoking sci-fi journey where identity, memory, and morality collide.
Robert J. Sawyer does it again
with this much anticipated sequel
that leaves you asking,
what are you willing to lose
to save the ones you love?
The downloaded two,
Ghosts in the Machine,
available now, only from Audible.
Listening to the Vox Media Podcast Network.
Oh.
Yes.
MMA.
Oh, it's happening.
It's smooth.
Hey, guys.
You're bad at this, I can.
You're very bad at this.
Whoa, whoa, guys, this is a jazzy tune.
I'm not just going to talk over it.
I got to let this tune ride a little bit.
Where's my...
Yeah, this is...
Where's my...
Where's Michelle help?
Wow, rude.
Rude.
Hey, guys, welcome to the UFC Vegas 43 Veda versus Tate
post-fight show.
I am handling the hosting duties right now.
This is Alex K. Lee.
I am very fortunate to be joined by the incredible
Jose Young.
This is my first non-on-site event in God knows how long.
I don't even remember how to do these post shows.
After a great start.
And, of course, in the truck handling the ones and twos,
one Mr. E. Casey line.
Bebop, boop, boobab.
That's what I do.
Great.
That's great.
That's great.
That's producing sounds.
Well, guys, yeah.
I mean, that was a show.
I think we can all.
That was an MMA show.
No.
A show connotates high levels of entertainment.
It was an NBA show.
It was a UFC show.
That was a sports card.
That was sports.
It was a card.
It was a card.
You can't deny that.
It was a card.
I can deny anything I want.
Okay, on our fan Q&A, you said this was highly anticipated,
when the most highly anticipated cards of the year.
I said probably the most highly anticipated card of the year.
How did it pan out?
I've absolutely lived up to expectations
Okay, just checking
I don't think I think I think I think it is accurate to say that this card lived up to
expectations people can make of that what they will
But it's sort of Jose you're shaking your head what were your expectations for this card going into it
I the main card I thought the main card ruled like I obviously I was really because I wasn't on your pre-fight Q&A
I was really high for the Terrence McKinney fight obviously that fell out
So I was like already off already off
a sour note leading into this fight.
But I was very excited for Sean Brady in my case,
and I was very excited for Adrian Yonnas, David Grant.
Now, Adrian Yonnas and David Grant was a really fun fight,
but it wasn't, I don't know if I set my,
I set the bar too high for myself,
considering we had like, what, two, what, what,
I don't even know what events were at anymore.
Just everything is blurred together.
Like 268 had like a fight of the year,
and then like UFC, Vegas 42 had like a fight of the year.
I was like, well, it's going to keep going. Adrian Yonnas versus Davey Grant,
best weight class in MMA, two of the, like one of the top prospects in the division against
David Grant, who has like been on a tear with post-fight bonuses too.
I thought that was just going to be a banger.
It was a good fight, but it wasn't a banger.
Still good, though.
Probably going to be fight in the night, but.
Yonnas Grant?
Yeah.
I thought it was a banger.
I thought it was a banger.
I thought it was a banger.
Yeah, it banged.
It was a good, it was a very fun, entertaining fight.
I'm saying I think I might have set the bar too high.
Oh, okay, I got you.
I got you.
I mean, I was only, actually, David Grant kind of exceeded my expectations.
I thought it was going to be relative one-way traffic for Janice.
But David Grant made this a freaking dog fight and good on him.
And but Adrianez, I thought it was definitely the superior fighter.
But hey, we're talking about that.
We're talking about the opening fight for the main card first.
I know.
So that's, I mean.
I mean, Davey, I mean, Davey Grant, I thought, had an fantastic game plan.
Like that front kick to the face, like you're actually using his length to keep Adrian Yannas away.
I just feel like he got away from it.
Because that first round, he was going to the body and the chin a lot, and then he just deviated.
I also think the way Yanez rolls of punches so well, I think, I think even though he wasn't getting touched very hard, I think it made it closer than the fight really was.
except because he just rolls a puncher so it looks like he's getting hit but he's really taking like 90% off that the impact away but which is a dangerous thing for judges if judges don't really recognize that and they just see you roll and they think you get hit of it and a close rounds you might lose that round but um but yeah great uh just clearly the best fight on the card yeah clearly yeah
i have dubbed him the algorithm agent yannes i love you can see how he kind of picks things up uh davy graven
was right there with him, though.
Again, that's a guy who he fights so wild at times,
just throwing bombs.
I think he was the perfect opponent for Yanis at this point in his career,
because when you think you've got him figured out,
he can just go berserker and that's what kind of made the fight so fun.
But I think if Mike were here,
he would have wanted me,
he would have wanted me to start with the main one of the time.
Before we even do that,
before we even do that,
let's speculate on what the boatness might be guys.
I know you guys were talking about us a little bit off-camera,
just some behind-the-scenes magic for you.
This was, okay, there was only 12 fights.
11 fights went to the judges.
That doesn't necessarily mean it's a bad card,
but I think if anyone actually watched a lot of these decisions,
they could tell you, it was not a great card.
There were 11 fights, 11 fights.
I'm sorry, we lost McKinney for a Ziam, of course.
11 fights, 10 decisions, 10 decisions.
Not even the most of the year.
Not even the most of the year, but I mean,
I mean, there's only, but percentage-wise?
Yeah, it's up there.
Pretty heavy.
One finish.
I believe it was Emmey decisions that tweeted,
this is the first time ever that there's been this many decisions
and only one finish on a card.
So that sounds believable to me.
So let's go,
let's talk bonuses, guys.
I think some, you know,
one of them obviously pretty obvious,
two of them pretty obvious.
What are we going to do with this other one?
I'm going to go out.
Well, I was going to throw it to Casey.
But Jose, go ahead.
You just jump in whenever you want.
Jose, go ahead.
What are you saying for bonuses?
Go ahead.
I think Casey and I both, obviously,
the two tally santo's and yonnas grant is going to get but then like the i think i think
case that you said viera i could see that just because you kind of yeah i got up a former champ
i mean if you have to give it to somebody i would give it to viera basically um i mean otherwise
the ufz just going to pocket the money um yeah that's all i mean or i mean i know they won't do
it but give a fighting night to the main event forget their main event that's why that's why people
showed up i don't know um i was going to say i was going to say
give 100,000 to Santos.
If you're only going to reward,
if they only want to reward a finish,
and her win was really good.
I mean, I thought that was very impressive.
I know a lot of people,
she was one of the bigger favorites on the card.
A lot of people were predicting her to beat Jojo.
But I thought,
I guess maybe because I thought Jojo would do better.
I know a lot of people said that this would be a dominant win
for Talas Santos, but she looked great
and might be the next title challenger.
How about this?
Okay, Fight a night, clearly, Jan is Grant,
performance Santos easy
The other performance
For the first time ever
We're going to give it to Michael Kiesa
For winning by pride rules
And since we're getting the money
Because the clarity
If that was a pride scorecard
Michael Kiesa wins that fight
I think we can agree with that one
Casey let's talk about the co-main event
Because
Michael
We're skipping the main event
Mike's not here
We can jump all over
This is not a Mike Heck show
This is an AK Lee show
And a lot of people
We're saying
They would have loved
that this had been the main event.
They would have loved
and Casey and Brady
had gotten five rounds.
So as he,
after watching it,
it could have been a totally
different story.
My case,
as you said,
looked great.
And by the way,
I would argue,
not even on Pride rules,
I think you could make a case
that he won on the unified rules.
I do,
I do think the second round,
he did actually pretty well
did quite a bit of damage,
but not as much the third round.
Third round,
a clear case.
First round,
I think clear Brady's,
I thought the second round was closer,
but so much control
and positional advantage by Brady.
By the hard shots
were landed by,
Kiesa, and damage is supposed to be the most dominant, most priority in scoring fights.
No question.
I don't think Kesa's scorecard is crazy.
Jose, what did you see?
Did you think this was a really convincing win for Brady or as an argument for Kieza?
Was something gained here by the win for Brady?
I mean, just the fact that we're even having an argument that it could be for Kieza is that's the answer
right there.
I scored it for Sean Brady.
He basically Al Kiyazid, Michael Kiyazid, if that makes sense.
Like, it was very like what he did to Michael Kiyahsa is essentially a lot of,
what Mike Cleese did to Neil Magny over five rounds.
Like if this was a five-round fight,
Michael Cleese is going to win this fight.
He just obviously, he ran out of time.
I don't know.
Sean Brady is a very Uber and talented fighter.
Obviously, he's undefeated.
This is the biggest win of his career, obviously.
I'm just saying a lot of obvious things right now.
But I don't think he's going to be vaulted into the top five after this win,
if that makes sense.
No, I'd be very surprised if anyone put them in there.
You don't know why I want to watch, though?
Daniel Rodriguez versus Sean Brady.
Oh.
Just all the tattoos in the world.
Yeah.
I like that Stalice Clash.
I like those.
I like those.
Yeah, I love that fight.
They're also like, like Daniel Garcia is a pretty massive welterweight.
And I want to see Sean Brady tangle with like a, because obviously my case is very
tall, lanky guy, but Daniel Rodriguez is a thick boy.
I want to see Sean Brady tangle with him.
Casey, you're saying you think there was a case, a case, again, pride rules or regular rules.
He looked very good, and he clearly did the most damage.
I mean, what did you see from, I want to know first what you thought of, like, how much did this do for Brady?
Was this fight still a good fight for Brady?
Oh, it's awesome fight for Brady.
It did, going to this fight, I think we were asking the question, is this a make or break fight for Kiesa?
you know, what do we call it?
Crossroads.
Crossroads.
Yeah, it's a crossroads fight for, not for Brady, I'm sorry, for Kiesa.
And I said it was if he loses.
I was like, oh, he's complete, like, we're not going to see him in a, no,
a contenders fight for a long time if he loses this fight.
I'm wrong.
I think this was the type of loss that, even though he gets to L, I don't think you,
I don't think you would say Sean Brady is leaps and bounds above Kiesa as far as skill set.
and I think obviously Sean Brady's a very talented
Walter way and an elite Walter way
I think we got to see that tonight
he's off he's not he's not a fully formed
you know not fully formed he's not he hasn't hit his full potential
but um fully formed as it evolved yet
yeah he's involved yet there's still you know but Brady's been out for a while
embryo he's an embryo he's still fetus yeah he's still fetus in there
um Kiesa just um
just didn't have he wasn't
his best night, but even I think on his, this wasn't his best performance, but even on his
kind of non-best performance, he arguably won that fight and definitely busted up Sean Brady more
than he got busted up. Yeah, he lost in positional positions, but if we go and just getting
punched in the face, no, Kieso is still won. And, yeah, then Brady just looks like he still has
holes in his striking defense that he's going to need to, no, fix up. And I don't want to say
he needs a better gas tank because he did train for three rounds.
So he did everything right.
You know, you win the first two rounds.
You just survive the third round.
But obviously, Kiesa just has a massive gas tank and the man is built for five rounds.
Yeah, look, it's very weird that Brady did get the unanimous decision win.
But it seems to have raised more questions about him than raised for Kiyza.
Obviously, we know more with Mike Yhasa.
So I guess this only reinforced some of the things we already knew about him,
but it is strange that this was supposed to answer some things about Brady.
And maybe for some people it did, but it seemed to also have raised a lot of questions.
I thought it was a good performance, but I know what you guys are saying.
There's some room for interpretation there, and it does feel like he's going to be in the top 10 for sure,
even in our rankings.
Keisa was number eight.
So Brady was going to at least jump over him unless Keza just drops behind him.
But it does feel like he's going to be.
He's farther from Kumar Usman, who was Cajside today,
and I don't think was sweating Sean Brady too much at this stage of their careers.
We can talk about this a bit more, guys.
All right, you're right.
We should talk about the main event.
Maybe not the most exciting fight.
A good performance, I think, for the winner.
And I don't think a terrible performance by the loser either.
Maybe I'm wrong.
Jose, just give me your overall assessment of what we saw in those last 25 minutes there.
It just looked like Misha had taken a lot of time off and came in a fight.
Aaron Nono, who was on her way out, probably, you know, on the other side of 40.
And Misha State was supposed to look good in that fight.
She looked really good in that fight.
And then she came in and fought Katelyn Vietta, who's fought in, who's been very active
the last few years and has fought the best of the best the last few years.
And it's just different generations.
Like a lot of the fighters in this top 135 weren't fighting or weren't in a lot of,
they were all fighting.
They weren't in the top 10 yet when Misha Tate retired initially.
And now she's back.
And Katelyn has kind of fought all these guys.
She got knocked dead by Ida L.
But a lot of these guys she's already fought.
And maybe the games evolved.
Maybe she's just in the prime of her career.
Misha Tait was a step behind.
I don't think Mishita is, by any means, outside of the top 10,
maybe outside of the top seven.
But Kailen Viet was just a better prime fighter in this generation of M.A.
Casey, your thoughts on the whole situation overall?
I expect it to take to win this fight in kind of a grinding.
up against the cage wrestling match and
Vieira was better than was better at stopping
Tate's wrestling to the point where I think Tate really
only really shot in and really made strong attempts for takedowns
maybe what three or four times in the fight at most I mean it
maybe not the last two rounds at all the problem of
Vieira it's it's almost like I said it's going into the fight
there's something just I don't know it's
sounds bad, but it's something uninspiring about the way she fights. You feel like there's just,
I think Dean Thomas kind of alluded to this. There was some, like, she's like, you just wish she had
more confidence in her power, more confidence in who she is as a, has a fighter. Clearly, her jab
seems to be one of the best jabs in the Bantam White Division. And that jab was just, that, and that
uppercut left, was the uppercut left hook she was throwing, was just hitting Misha all the time.
And you just wish she just had more confidence. And you could, you just, you heard, um, um, um, um, you just,
I couldn't understand him, but it doesn't sound like she was listening to her coaches,
and her coaches just kept yelling at her, like, just do this, do this, don't go for takedowns.
I think she lost that first round, or maybe the second round.
She went for kind of a takedown for no real good reason, and Misha kind of got back control
or kind of got that hip ride from it.
Yeah, that's the kind of the problem, Vieer.
It's not that she's not a title contender.
It's just, I'm just not interested in watching her fight, you know.
I know she's good.
And it's hard to explain, but I think everyone kind of feels it, you know.
And the problem is, like, she's beating Misha Tate, who's not the biggest bantam weight in the world.
And she's being Sajari Ubanks, who is not the biggest bantam weight in the world.
And she got, like, outside of those two, she's fought of the elite bantam weights in the world.
She's fought in Yana, who's probably, she's fought at 1.45 before.
And then she got absolutely smashed by Irene.
Like she was asleep
So I think people
Her most memorable moment in the UFC
Is getting her lights turned out
You never want that
Yeah
Yeah and when she does win
It's just kind of
Yeah okay
And it seems like it was just 25 minutes
And there wasn't really any
True highlights from the fight
Yeah Casey as you kind of said
Even her corner was telling her
I think they knew she was doing well
This is around like the third round
I think after the third round
but they were like, you need to go forward more.
So it's like, even though they knew she was doing well,
they wanted to see more, which I think sums up
kind of what you're saying and what everyone watching
was saying, like, whether they thought she was winning the fight
or not, it's definitely like, should Ketland Veda not be doing better?
She seems to be controlling the striking
and yet not going for finish, not really asserting herself.
Again, should she have to?
That's another story altogether.
I did feel she was winning the fight for the most part.
Tate, a great effort, very tough.
a lot of volume, but was just getting hit harder.
I do feel like Vayetta was doing most of the damage.
The commentary did not do Ketland Veda, any favors.
Boy, I don't know.
Cormier at one point, he had two very strange moments
where he was, one, he was like, her coroner is yelling something at her.
In Brazilian, I don't know what it is.
And Brendan Fitzgerald specifically got out of his way.
He was like, go ahead, D.C., you're hearing something.
It's like, yeah, yeah, they're saying something in Brazilian.
I don't know what.
It's very aggressive.
And I'm like, good.
Is Brazilian language?
Good job.
Yeah, exactly.
Exactly.
He might have said Portuguese.
I don't want to miss quote.
I don't want to miss quote.
So we got, we got bonuses.
We do.
But hold on.
And the other thing he was, yeah, he said, was saying this weird thing.
Like we're judging Veda on this weird curve because of her history.
And like literally everyone on Twitter I saw the time was like, what does that even mean?
Yeah, I didn't know that either.
Yeah.
I saw the bonuses.
Go ahead.
Jose, if you'd like to read him out, please.
Two bonuses.
Fight of the night, Grant Yanez,
Farms of the Night, Tali Santos.
Yeah, they're keeping that extra 50s.
Listen, they're keeping it for their own Christmas.
God, the UFC, can't believe him.
That's how you make the biggest profits ever.
You just stop giving up bonuses.
Like, yeah, whatever.
Do we know she's not getting $100,000?
We don't necessarily know that.
Like, I sincerely doubt it.
We don't know that, right?
I don't know that.
Also, surprise to know and Misha Tate has been transported to the hospital to undergo a CT scan.
Yes, and good.
It was a tough fight.
She took a lot of hard shots to the head.
Especially later rounds for sure.
Yeah.
Unfortunately, we'll be.
Yeah.
I believe Dana White is not on site, so there will be no Dana White.
All right.
So this is going to be a real Cork River Press Conference.
You guys can check that out late.
Stick with us, please for now.
You guys can check out the press conference highlights later.
We'll write some of that stuff up.
But pretty much what we expected with the bonuses guys,
fight of the night, of course, Janice Grant.
And then the one finish, got the one bonus.
I think give her a hundred grand.
Yeah, I don't think that's going to happen.
But let's talk a little bit more about the rest of the main card.
We've talked about everyone except Hanyaya,
37-year-old wonder fighting Kyeong-Hou Kang.
Not Hanyaya.
What's his name?
What's his name, Jose?
Oh, hi.
Honey-Yahu.
Honey-Yahu.
Honey-Yahu.
Auto Craig gets you again.
I was making some coffee and I tweeted it
and then my phone started to blow up
and I was like, you know what?
I'm going to let that exist still.
Honey Yahoo.
The victorious Honi Yahoo over Kyeongho Kang.
You know, again, not a super exciting fight,
but man, it is fun to see.
It's still fun to see Yaya every time he's in there.
Just find a way to win these fights
because Kang, a bigger guy, I think stronger guy,
won the first round, and then somehow, yeah, yeah, just...
Black Friday is here at IKEA,
and the clock is ticking on savings you won't want to miss.
Join IKEA family for free today
and unlock deals on everything from holiday must-havs
to cozy at-home essentials,
all the little and big things you need to make this season shine.
But don't wait.
Like leftovers at midnight, our Black Friday offers won't last.
Shop now at IKEA.ca.ca.
slash Black Friday.
IKEA. Bring home to life.
We know you love the thought of a vacation to Europe,
but this time, why not look a little further?
To Dubai, a city that everyone talks about
and has absolutely everything you could want from a vacation destination.
From world-class hotels, record-breaking skyscrapers,
and epic desert adventures,
to museums that showcase the future, not just the past.
choose from 14 flights per week between Canada and Dubai
Book on emirates.ca today
Oh no, sorry, I think I think Kang won the second round, I think.
I'm stupid of my head, but Ken clearly won one of the first two rounds.
And then, but Yahya, man, that grappling, it's pretty good.
It's pretty good.
I felt like, yeah, yeah, when he gets hit,
because Kang hit him hard a few times, and he gets hit,
he kind of plays possum a bit.
He kind of acts like he's hurt more than he is.
And then Kane started pounding and started doing ground and pound,
jumped in his guard maybe or got kind of above him
and then of course you know yaya up
it's a trap and he pulls him in
and I felt like Kang fell for that like multiple times
if he'll beat him up and then he'll get way too close
and then he gets taken down and then
no then it's all yaha it's all
yaha
right in that third round
Kang was hurting him and then he does a great job
stuff to take down beautiful textbook sprawl
but doesn't get up out of the sprawl quickly enough
kind of tries to hang on to yaya
yeah yeah a beautiful
you would know how to explain this brand
and I would case, just this beautiful reversal.
Somehow, it seems like spins their bodies around as they're getting up
and ends up on top, like holding up.
Like, he's in small position all of a sudden.
It's just amazing, his grappling.
And Kang, probably his game plan could have been a bit sharper.
What do you think of the angelist, Iyas before?
WEC never die, Raniya.
Definitely not.
Everyone keeps talking about WEC vets.
And also, K1 vet, Raniya.
Yeah, yeah.
Everyone forget.
Jungle fight, heroes.
K-1, W-E-C, UFC,
like, dudes fought freaking everywhere.
Like, well, I'm pretty sure he's made his debut.
Remember they used to do, like, fight for the troops?
Like, those type of things.
I'm pretty sure he fought like Mike Brown on that car.
Like, that's how long he's been fighting.
Like, that's how long he's been fighting.
The man is, the man is a wizard.
He also seems down to fight anybody.
Like, because there were moments where, like,
I know he lost to Joe Soto somewhere in there,
but he had, like,
what seven out of eight
were wins and none of them
I don't think were even remotely
household names outside of
like losing to Joe Soto and Ricky Simone like he seems
down to just fight anybody
at any point so
good on Raniaya and my
stories about him were like remember when
this old show used to do the A side
and Shorty Torres used to be on and he used to
talk about how like
on Tuesdays he would have to grapple
Rani Yaya and then on Wednesdays he'd have to
spar with Edson Barbosa
and I was like, what's worse?
And he's like, oh, absolutely rolling with Rodney Yaya.
It's like, you just drown for five hours.
Like Shorty Tours, it's one of those guys where she said Shorty,
Shorty was like, I debated like quitting after like rolling with him
because you just, there's nothing you can do.
How many Tennessee vets are still left in the UFC?
That's a good question.
Yeah, like Cubs once in.
Green zombie.
Zombie.
Aldo,
Bonson.
Otto.
Someone is asking,
sorry to see a comment.
Someone was asking,
I wonder if the crowd
got paid to be there.
I just want to answer in the comments.
Apparently,
tickets actually cost upwards
of $2,000.
Oh,
you have no,
dude.
Oh,
I'm glad you brought this.
I wanted to talk about this
because I was at,
I've been at a lot of these fights.
And I was at the last one.
And it's a,
if you're a fight fan,
it's an awesome experience.
Like,
outside of, like,
paying like $2,000 like you go and there's like fighters like you can mingle with the fighters.
It's like a like a side room with like food that you can like eat and then go out and sit
cage side and you could like pose with belts and take photos.
There's like a cool merch shop.
Obviously I would never pay like $2,000, $3,000.
Maybe I would pay $2,000 to watch like Max Holloway in Yaira Rodriguez fight.
Maybe like a fight like a fight like that or like T.
George Sandhagen.
But if you're in Vegas and you have like $3,000, $2,000 to just spend and you're a huge
MMA fan and this sounds like I'm just plugging.
UFC, but I was like, honestly really surprised at how much access fans got to like fans and
fighters and all that stuff.
So it's honestly not that bad of a time if you're a fight fan outside of the ticket price.
Yeah, it sounds like a cool experience.
And again, outside of ticket price.
Yeah.
And it's like, but like last week, you had just an insane fight week.
And like everyone there was like that like by the time everyone left, they were all like best friends.
Like all because it's such a, there's only like 400 people.
You just end up knowing everybody. It's kind of cool.
Yeah, again, like I said, good experience. Tonight's card, probably not the best.
Let's, we've talked with the main card. We'll get to listen to your questions in a second.
What are you talking about? Tonight's cards are great. If you're, if price, look how many
like how many rounds of MMA you got to see? This is true. All these first shot knockouts,
man, you're not getting short change, man. Like, this is the best, man. Like, you want everybody to
go to decision. You want you, you want, but you want to buy the eye pokes. You want those five minute,
you know, five minute, five minute, you know, iPod clock. Yeah. One of your friends.
one to one of the more recent fight night cars like, man, some of the fights I saw only
the last like 35 seconds.
I saw like a 90 second submission.
What?
You saw like seven, 15 minute long fights?
Lucky.
Oh, what?
It's kind of a, it's a, when you enter the apex case, I don't think you, when you
went to counterfeit with me, it was a big enough card that we had to go to that other room.
But the normal media room was to the left when you walk in.
Yeah.
And all of the fans have to enter right next.
to it. And it's very weird when they're all like looking in and they're like banging on the
window. And they're like, is that John Morgan? Is that Jose? Is that Oscar? I'm just like,
yeah. Like, we're just like zoo animals to like M.A fans. Oh, gosh. Guys, I was going to transition
to the, uh, were there any under preliminary highlights? I guess we can go to the questions
right now. I do see Natalie Duran asking the question of the day. Do we want to go? Do you want to go
to it? Yeah, let's just go to the question. I mean, there's some positive. There's all right.
Well, well, we can start talking about it.
There we go.
Here we go.
Let's get this out of the way.
Throw it up.
Let's go.
Nazaran wants to know, what is your reaction to the Cody Durdon post-fight interview?
I hate to even repeat this and give this guy any extra publicity.
For anyone who didn't see it, he wins a hard-fought decision over Ariki-Leng.
I'm sorry, I know I'm pronounced that wrong.
And then DC is interviewing him first.
Who do you want to call out?
Good stuff.
I want to talk to Jeff Melina.
He said he's going to put his nuts on my head.
That was awkward enough.
And then I asked him about his opponent.
He says, oh, he fought well, but I had to send him.
send him back to China where he came from.
Super long awkward pause after.
And the groan, the groan, you heard.
Whoever was there, you heard a loud groan.
D.C. wisely kind of just, like, took the mic away.
He didn't, I think he didn't know what to say, and I don't blame him on this instance.
The commentary team didn't know what to say.
They kind of addressed it after, just kind of mentioned what an odd statement it was,
didn't, like, call out Durdent.
But obviously, the reaction on social media, pretty immediate.
A lot of fighters saying, you know, that was pretty racist.
he crossed line.
I want to beat this guy up, some callouts.
So it was good to see that because
Casey, you know, we can kind of speak as Asian
Americans or Asian Canadian, however people want to say.
It was shocking.
It kind of caught me off guard.
I just wasn't expecting that kind of caught.
Casey, you can go first.
Give me, please.
Give me your thoughts on this.
Yeah, basically is racist as fuck.
I don't know.
It's just like, I don't know why you would say that.
You just fought a great,
you thought it was a good, grindy fight.
you fought it was a good hard fought win i don't understand that like we just saw last week we saw
max holloway defeat yair a raluea what did max holloway do hey man you rule i'm like viva vila
mexico max holloway didn't go go back to mexico yeah yeah it wasn't it's just like it's just
ridiculous and and obviously you look um people went through durden's um his uh social media post
and it gets way worse it just gets way worse oh my goodness so um yeah
Yeah, he can claim it wasn't.
I know what it is.
Yeah.
But you know what?
But I would say this,
this is the UFC is a private,
oh, I guess they're a private company,
whatever, they're their own business.
If this is how they want to handle things,
and that's on them.
And it's on us.
We can comment on it and stuff,
but that's how the UFC wants to run business.
And if they're okay of that, they're okay of that.
Me, myself, as an Asian American,
ah, no.
I don't like it.
Don't like it at all.
I don't want to see it in the sport.
And yeah, it was racist.
That's all.
And let people have to know there's a big difference between saying, first of all,
I saw some people saying, what if he said, you know, go back to some other place?
I'm like, have you ever heard someone say, I had to send him back to Ohio?
I had to send him back to Florida.
It's never come up.
It's never come.
Someone give me an example that's similar to this, and I'll be like, okay, I guess there's some parallel.
That does not happen.
And this is, it's not be stupid.
We know what, we know what it means.
meant is like don't it's just don't don't play coy you know we we we live in society we know we know what's
going on in the world we know the the racial hate crimes have gone across you know north america
Canada too you know here in Canada yeah it's just it sucked and it was disappointing and that's it
just disappointing when you tell someone to go back to their own country whether it's china
Mexico I don't know anything whatever they happen to you from Poland I don't care there's
There's a racial, xenophobic, whichever you know, however you want to phrase it,
element to it.
Cody Durdon has to know that.
It was very enforced.
He did speak about it a little bit at the post-wide press conference.
Our good pal, Oscar Willis, did press him on the matter.
And he was just kind of like, hey, man, if people have a problem with it, just call me out.
I think he's really afraid of fighters, not fans.
He was like, call me out, sign on the dotted line.
Like, you know, let's settle this in the cage and all that.
And, oh, I didn't mean anything racial by it.
That's what he said when he just said no when Oscar asked him, was it was there a
is a sentiment there.
Oscar pretty much is calling him out.
He's like, no, no.
And then he later took to Twitter
and did the non-apology.
If anyone was offended,
I'm sorry.
I apologize if you were offended.
Not I know I said something wrong.
I messed up.
And that only led to people
digging up his old tweets.
Jose, I would love to get your opinion on this,
Jose.
You did watch that segment as it happened?
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
Let me know, man.
What's your reaction?
I mean, obviously, it's despicable.
Like, there's no room for it
and feel like a lot of people
on Twitter were like, oh, there's no room for this in
MMA. I'm like, there's no room for this
or just life, like, take the
sports out of it.
A lot of it,
it was good to see a lot of his fellow
fighters calling him out because a lot of people
kind of view MMA fighters. It's like,
you know, there's like that stigma. It's like a bunch of like
just idiot, like
people that lock themselves and getting a cage
fight. Like pretty for Jared Gordon was like
said somebody was like
a tile of dirt and making white people look like
idiots once again and stuff like that.
Like Bala Muhammad called him out.
Casey O'Neal called him out.
And now a lot of people are digging up past tweets that he said.
So the dude is a clown.
The dude is a turd.
Called out Jeff Molina.
Jeff Molina was already about it.
He's like, I will mess this fool up.
So I don't particularly care if he fights again in the UFC or not
because I would imagine if even if he gets one more fight,
he gets smacked up that badly.
He's probably not going to be in the UFC much longer.
But at the same time, like the fact that I wouldn't be surprised
if the UFC kept him around is jarring.
And the unfortunate part, and this sucks, I have to say this,
but this is prize fighting, and unfortunately, this worked for Corey Darden.
We're talking about him.
I'm going to remember his name now, and the next time he fights,
be it Jeff Molina, be it Casey O'Neill, I don't give a F, whatever.
It's, I'm going to watch his fight, unfortunately.
And so if getting eyes to watch your fight is the end game,
here, it worked, but yeah.
The sad thing is, I don't even think it's that.
And look, you're right, though.
We're talking about Cody Durdon more than we ever thought we would heading into the show.
By the day, Jose, you also called him Tyler Durdon at one point.
How dare you be smart.
Tyler Durdon may be an imaginary piece of crap.
As far as we know, he is not a Zenovovote.
Actually, he probably is.
Tyler Dernan probably is a Zenovov.
Anyway, but don't be smarts the good name of Tyler Dern.
That's not implicit.
That's not implicit in the text.
Tyler Durdon is one of those characters where if, if, if,
If you are really into like the Joker or Tyler Durdon or Rick from Ricky Morty, like, you're an asshole.
So like move on with your life.
All right.
So are we good talking about Dernan?
I think we can move on.
I'm ready to.
I'm ready to.
It's a pretty clear cut issue.
All right.
Guys, don't don't, don't be like that.
Yeah.
It's not hard.
Don't be like that.
Don't be like that.
All right.
At Desjardin, we speak business.
We speak startup.
funding and comprehensive game plans.
We've mastered made-to-measure growth and expansion advice,
and we can talk your ear-off about transferring your business when the time comes.
Because at Desjardin business, we speak the same language you do, business.
So join the more than 400,000 Canadian entrepreneurs who already count on us,
and contact Desjardin today.
We'd love to talk, business.
Hack the holidays with the PC Holiday Insiders Report.
Try this PC porquetta, crackling, craveworthy.
You gonna eat that?
Who are you?
I'm the voice for the next ad, car commercial.
But I noticed that show-stopping roast and...
Help yourself.
Mmm, designed for indulgence.
Precision crafted to navigate every corner of my mouth,
all for just $18.
Okay, okay.
Try the season's hottest flavors from the PC Holiday Insiders Report.
Please feast responsibly.
Uh, man.
Uh, Lonic?
A lot of critique on this card.
It seems like just fan just, I think coming off last week,
Holloway, was that last week?
Yes.
Okay, sorry.
And some of the other amazing,
the back-to-back pay-per-views were just a couple of weeks ago.
Yeah, so back-to-back pay-per-views and amazing fight night last week.
We were, you know, I think we were all kind of writing a high.
I think we were due for a, just a card.
And I think we got one today.
And that's just how it is.
whole car was miserable yeah i mean
i like i sorry that was uh i want to read that guy's comment before derrick johnson
said this card was forgettable uh yeah but you gotta remember for the ufc it's bad
but also we were talking about this in the pre-fight casey that people don't they will
forget this card but they'll they're not gonna but they won't uh no one's gonna look back and go
like oh man remember how crappy that uh tate vera card was like four months like two months from now
No one's going to remember that.
People only remember when the UFC, again, delivers one of those cars that nobody's talking about,
and then it turns out to be good.
And then they're like, oh, they always, this is where the adage of all the, when they don't hype up a card,
it always turns out to be good.
So I should start keeping trap of cards like this that aren't very hyped up and don't turn out to be good because it just isn't true.
And again, with respect to all the fighters who competed on the car, except for Cody Durdon, of course.
It just wasn't a very good card.
It wasn't a very good card.
Hold on a second.
Oh, Lucas shield
Lucas I am going to
He's going to be mentioned on onto the next one as well
He wants to know I didn't want to go in on this either
We try to keep a positive space
But it has to you mentioned
How atrocious was the commentary
Weird take on the main
Missing Brady's striking in the Comain
Just a lot of weird moments
Jose, what was going on with?
I want to say specifically DC
It was really only two people
It was specifically DC
Like I don't know what it's been
But lately these
DC's been way off.
Like even at 268,
268? Yeah, it was not MSG card.
There were some bad moments in there, but like the post-fight interviews,
like when he does the interview that Rogan normally does,
when he'd go up to the fighters, how many times did you watch that where he just didn't know what to say?
He was like, so you won?
What are your thoughts?
Then he would just hold the mic.
And then, like, he tried to shake Talia Santos's hand like four times and she just didn't know what was happening.
Like, it wasn't the best night for Daniel Cormain.
And even like Fitzgerald, he like, what did he, what did he?
He's like, yeah, Misha Tate like, she had a main event and her first fight back.
And Fitzgerald's like, no, it was a co-made event.
And then he's like, all right, co-made event.
And then who is it?
He's like, so I took, he's like, Fitzgerald, do you watch all the fights?
And Fitzgerald was like, what?
Do I watch all the fights?
I don't go back and watch fights.
I'm at the fights.
I know what happens.
He goes, you remember the fights?
He goes, yeah, I have to commentate them.
He goes, oh, I don't remember anything.
It just wasn't great.
It just wasn't a great night for Daniel Corrie.
At least when DC is just off, at least he's still charming.
Yeah, it was very, that's very much like, yeah, you're very much like, oh, Daniel, you're trying so hard.
Like, you're like, you know what?
You're a few, champ, champ, one of the greatest fighters of all the time.
You get a little bit of a pass, but man, like it was, the last few weeks have been rough for Daniel Cormey.
I like DC when there's a third person in there.
Someone maybe like a feldor or not, yes, or Cruz or Cruz or someone.
Not your Logan.
Not Rogan.
not Rogan.
Not Rogan.
And Felder wasn't on his game in September either.
This is like,
because Felder was like,
because like,
I'm glad Felder didn't commentate this fight
because it would have been rough.
He would have been overly complimented
to Sean Brady.
Oh,
like because he's like Philadelphia guys,
he gets,
you can't,
he can't hide it.
Yeah.
I think Bisbing and Felder are great together.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Listen,
DC.
And as soon as someone goes for a takedown,
DC's like,
he won the round.
It's like,
he's,
DC, I think we all agree, an amazing fighter, good personality, seems like a really nice guy.
Commentary's hard.
Commentary's really hard.
It is.
So let's acknowledge this is a guy who does, I know he's had a lot of shows to work on over the last couple years, but it's still relatively new to the commentary game.
So he's bad.
I don't think it's unfair to say he's bad at it.
And that's not saying he can never get better.
But I don't, you know, I don't think we have to, because we like him so much, I don't think we have to pretend like, oh, he's doing a really great job.
It's like, he's, he's bad.
He's, he's bad.
The post-fight interviews are not easy.
When he, when someone tells him they don't have a call-out, he really has to just let it go.
You know, he can't push him back.
Are you sure?
Are you sure you don't have a call-out?
It's like, this is so uncomfortable.
This is so uncomfortable.
So, I mean, I think he can get better, but he definitely has to be criticized.
And just study the criteria.
Please, D.C. study the scoring criteria.
One last thing on this.
I'm really glad he's getting all of this out on these kind of cards, you know?
Like, pay-per-views, he's had some rough moments,
but these are the cards.
You want to make mistakes.
These are the cards to make them on.
All right.
Yeah.
Joseph Bose.
Thank you.
Some positivity here.
How much of a badass is Lupi Godinez?
Three fights in seven weeks.
Went two in one.
That's right.
Three fights in 40, I think three fights in 42 days, I believe, a UFC record.
So, yes, amazing.
I've questioned both her and Sam Hughes for taking these fights on short notice and so quickly.
Did not work up for Sam Hughes again.
Lupita, Lupe, I just say, I think I picked a good style matchup to do it on.
Jose, what do you think of Lupi could be next night?
Yeah, I mean, it was, I mean, she's a Mexican woman.
She's clearly like the toughest person on planet Earth right there.
So, but yeah, I mean, it's all about going to have to be the matchmaking because, like,
we've seen those fighters.
Like, I can't remember what his name is.
Who's the fighter that has the big New Mexico flag on his chest?
Real young kid?
Rivera?
He's not in the UFC anymore?
Rivera?
Jimmy, is it, not Jimmy Rivera, sorry.
Jerome Rivera.
Jerome Rivera.
Paul Lanky kid.
Yeah, Jerome Rivera.
He had like, he had a bunch of fights.
Like, he got cut like recently because he had a ton of fights like.
You're Jerome Rivera, I think you're talking about it.
Yeah, like, don't that, whoever ran his career needs to like dial it back because that's how you get a fight.
He's like a really young fighter and what, what did you have like four fights in like 15 months or something like that?
Three different weight classes.
Three different weight classes.
classes. Like that's not how to do it. Like loopie seems down to scrap no matter what.
But she's in a white class that's not overly stacked. So maybe she's just trying to rack up a bunch
of wins and like smash her way to the top. Obviously Dana White will love her for it. But she
if I'm her coach, you got to and she wants to keep doing this. You're not a humza that can just
go in there and smash everybody. You got to be a little more selective because she's not like
she's going out there and just starching people. She's like, like she was clearly lost the striking
matchup to Loma. And then she just had she had to take her down. And Loma's also should be an
atom weight. Let's be honest. Yeah. Yeah. She's about 5-1 and doesn't look necessarily the most
ripped straw weight because she's an atom weight. But yeah. And she actually did an amazing job
dealing with Lopi's wrestling at first. I thought Lopi would take her down easy. She she stuffed her.
She reversed her, I think, in one of the later rounds. Loma's a really good fighter, but I do think
this was a smart matchup for for lipe guadinez who by the way so that's her first four fights
i think that we we kind of said one of the reasons why they uh they might want to do this is get
get their first few fights out maybe on another contract maybe lupi godinez is heading into
uh 2022 you know ready to negotiate some more money so maybe she did the right thing i don't know
what do we see as a ceiling for lupy or or loma do we i i kind of seem in the same place i don't
i didn't i didn't really kind of i wasn't i mean someone had to win the
the fight, you know, in Loopy 1, but honestly, I didn't, neither performance made me think that
either are, they're going to be top, they're not going to be top 10 fighters, but in the
2022.
I think they're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're, they're,
UFC quality fighters, but I, I just don't see them, you know, being way up there.
Did you?
Yeah.
And that's, I think that's, this is what, this is what, Loopi's ninth pro?
How many fights?
This are, this are, this is a, this is a, this card, this is exactly what it looked like on
the prelims.
It had a lot of inexperienced people.
a lot of fighters looking for their first UFC win.
Again, it could only overachieve as it was.
We kind of got what we expected from a lot of these guys.
But Lupi is definitely a badass.
I think that's it.
And you got right, Loma is only 25, too.
So obviously, yeah, yeah.
Lupa is a little older.
But yeah, both have only nine fights.
So, yeah, one person lost.
But I think we're hoping.
I feel like there's just like this group of,
there's just like this group of women that are all like,
cluster together at straw weight that one of them just needs to it's like her it's like these two and
mallory martin and um loopie and uh shyanne bayes and tabitha ritchie and i don't want to put
pinheiro in there luella pinheiro who'll you could do ero montserrat ruiz like all
these people that are like clustered together and one person just needs to like break through and
shyan bays can talk to talk but she's obviously what just one-on-one something like that like
Lupi's whole gimmick is pretty much being the Angela Hill cowboy of like that group of fighters and something needs to add.
Because now that we lot like Levina Asusa and Renna Marcos are gone and Verna just lost, like there's a lot of room to move up in that division.
Brianna Van Buren's coming back at some point.
She had a baby coming back.
She did.
She did.
She did.
Go ahead, Casey.
What are you going to ask me?
Oh, I see a question.
I think it's more of a comment, but they kind of phrases the question.
I do want to ask about this.
I want to talk about this lady because she had the most impressive performance in
night.
We really haven't talked about her too much.
Yes.
Well, this kind of ties into what the other thing I was looking at.
Joseph Boza asking, Tyler Santos looked good versus Joanne Wood.
That rhymed.
Is she somebody that could fight for a title in 2022?
I'll give my answer quick.
Yep, definitely.
Jose?
Yeah, it's more of the white class being so shallow and Valentina kind of blitz.
kind of blitzing through the division.
But Taliazandoz picks up two more wins.
She's at a point where I wouldn't argue.
It's not like she's just the next body up.
Like she would, she wins two more.
Like I wouldn't, I'm not opposed to her fighting for the title.
Also, by the end of 2020, 100%.
She's going to be in that next.
Casey, how soon?
How soon?
Tomorrow?
Next?
Yeah.
She, she, if they gave her a title shot after our performance tonight, it would, it would be
Okay. Yeah, that would make sense.
It would make sense.
What Santos has done
in our last three fights, four fights in the UFC,
Shevchenko, I think
had the same sort of dominance.
And the part of that really impresses
to me about Santos is not just standing,
it's everywhere, just her hands, her wrestling,
her grappling, it's full
mixed martial arts, and she's done it all.
It's not just, you know, she's,
oh, someone can get her down, no, then we're going to beat her.
It doesn't feel that way.
She feels like she's a complete package.
now obviously there's a big jump up between
you know
Roxanne Laudafari, Joanne Wood
Julian Robertson to freaking
the Queen B you know
Shepchenko it's a big jump
but you gotta make that jump sometime
it's up to really the UFC
when they feel
and Santos's camp when they feel she's ready
but yeah she's awesome
the fight. Yeah go on her last two fights she won with wrestling
she won with wrestling the last two fights before this one
the fight to make
Talia Santos
or was Anderly in Houston in February
for the number one contender.
Number one contender.
Neither woman had fought Valentina.
You know, Andrew Lee wants to fight in Houston again.
I think those are the two
that, because you know, Tali just had that, I mean, not Tali
Andrew Lee just had that big win last week.
Tully had this big week this week.
So they're on the same timeline.
Or if you just want to book her against Alexa Grasso
was supposed to fight Jojo anyway.
I wouldn't hate that fight.
It's just a fun fight.
Yeah.
I still want to see the Jojo Grasso fight.
I still think that fight should be made.
So either way.
Yeah, all those names kind of sort of still jumbled together.
But she could get the title shot.
Jennifer Maya did.
Lauren Murphy did off wins off Jojo.
Maybe Talas Santos is next.
Maybe that's the key.
You beat Jojo.
You get a title shot.
You might as to remind me, but I don't, I mean, I know Jojo's obviously lost fights before,
lost close decisions, but she's been submitted.
But I don't recall a fight.
Her just getting just bombarded with strikes and power strikes and just like really hurting
Jojo like we saw tonight.
I believe she'd never been knocked down before.
I believe I saw some people saying on social media.
She had actually never been knocked down before.
She got a knock down twice in this fight.
Yeah, and that was the first round fight, right?
That was round one.
Yeah, it was.
11 seconds left here.
Yeah, it was incredibly impressive from Santos.
Unfortunately, no, I think we're all kind of fans of Jojo, but I think, you know, but
we all looked at this thing like, oh, God, this is a tough fight.
And unfortunately, for Jojo, it went as, you know, bad as we thought it was going to go for her.
And I think
Was it on the MMA hour
When Jojo was like
Oh, I was really excited to fight
Alexa Grasso and then we switched out
And I don't know if it would be as exciting
And like she's saying this
I'm like oh that is getting me up rough
Because Tali Santos is
It's really hard
Yeah
People forget like she even said
She's like I come from Moytae
Like I learned how to wrestle for MMA
But I come from a striking background
I saw someone asking
I apologize
I think it was
I don't know who said it
You can shout it out, guys.
They were asking, I think it was Maxim G in the comments who's saying,
was it a bad, I guess it was a bad idea for her to get married during her training camp.
Now, I don't know.
I don't know if that affected it.
Casey, could that have, you're a fighter now.
If you got married, if you got married now, do you think that would affect your fight coming up in February?
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
Absolutely.
especially if I'm fighting
if I'm
If I'm
If I'm a 125-pound woman
Yes
I
I mean but hey man
You know
Jojo made her decisions
And I can't see how getting married
Two weeks before
Is going to be beneficial
To a fight camp
And fighting to Talas Santos
I just don't see that
But not why she lost
Obviously Tinas Santos is a great fight
No no I just
From what we saw tonight
Any version of Tala Santos
a speech-in version of, you know, Joe Jojo.
I think what we've learned is that A. Kali just doesn't believe in love.
No, no, no, no.
I don't believe I'll ever find love.
That's a different question altogether.
I think, I think you're true colors of show, and you, and you just hate romance and love
and you want everyone to hate everything.
Oh, yeah, yeah, because I'm jealous.
That's not a secret.
That's not a, again, that's not subtext.
That's just text.
That's in my Twitter bio.
That's in my Twitter bio.
You brought it up, buddy.
We're no longer, he's no longer the, he's no longer the, he's no longer the,
of positivity. He's now the miser of
MMA, A. Klee.
Geez. No, I love MMA.
Wow. It's life that's bringing me down.
Man, my Kek leaves her one week, and geez.
Well, I mean, look,
my Kek doesn't have to put up with this kind of chicanery.
Rich P. Top tier.
What's next for Tate after this loss tonight?
Jose, you have all the answers? What do you think? What's going on with Mishit?
Did Yana? Yana's having a baby right now, right?
So she's out.
if Aspen Lad drops back down 135
I mean that's kind of the fight to make right
there's beef there between both sides
Macy Chazen maybe
because Macy and Aspen Ladd had been matched up a few times
before Aspen jumps back up
Maybe
the rematch with Rocky
Oh yeah
Rocky one
It's the problem is like I'm selfish
I want to watch the fight with Holly again
but Holly's on like the up like closer to a title shot than Misha is and Holly also might fight at 1.45.
So I don't know if I'm I'm probably Rocky or Macy or Aspen, but Aspen's the fight to make if Aspen goes back to 135.
Are we done thinking Tate's ever going to fight for a title or can she rack off a couple of wins and get a time?
I'm not done.
She's still there.
For me, I think she's still there.
Okay.
She's very good.
She's very talented.
The UFC seems to like her.
and she's very popular
with fans.
So I think she's gonna,
if she wins two more,
I think she gets a title shot.
If she won today,
she'd probably get a title shot.
If she gets the home fight,
if she gets the home fight,
I won that one,
she gets the title shot.
Sure.
I think, okay, okay, yeah, all right.
Yeah, I know, not great.
Not great, Javon.
You don't find love,
A.K., love finds you, dummy.
Oh, thank you, Javon.
That's very thoughtful.
God, I hope that's true.
I was, I also wanted to someone's comment,
But this one, I remember who said it.
Be back.
Sorry, this is kind of going back to the D.C. thing.
They said, Cormier has not been the same since Ariel took his picture off of the M.MA hour wall.
I don't know.
Maybe.
Let's go.
I think if you do the timeline, I think it works out, replaced by Pat McAfee and Vienna Janjarova, the island girl herself.
Let's do one last question, Casey.
One last question.
Yeah, let's go.
Garrett Trammell, with, I believe, a Jimmy Hendricks profile picture.
I think the Keizabot is a prime argument for normalizing rematches.
If Keiza watches the tape and loses the knees, I think he wins.
It would be a fun fight.
Normalizing rematches gives way to so much.
Jose, you seem to be nodding.
I get it, but this is in boxing.
And I feel like when you're all into the same UFC, like you win, you move up and you move on.
It's not a controversial decision.
It's not Shogood and Machita where, like, you know, one guy won, and it was so.
so blatant that they ran it back or when who was at herb dean like kind of screwed sabahamasia in one of
those fights so they ran it back immediately this wasn't that like Sean brady just won a sporting
event like two rounds to one if that so I get it and I would love to see this rematch but not right
away like Sean Brady won he gets to move up in the rankings Mike chesa lost he can there's other
rematches for Mike chesa to take like what like Mike chesa rematchezing kevallie at welterweight
I wouldn't hate that,
because they're both coming off L's right now.
Sean Brady was supposed to fight Kevin Lee
before that fight fell out,
so they're kind of both in the same place in their career.
But not immediately, not for fight like this.
I don't think that's fair to Sean Brady.
But I understand what you're trying to say.
Yeah, I'm down with the idea of normalizing rematches.
There's a lot of rematches.
I do think rematches should be more frequent,
especially immediate rematches.
Because if you see a great fight,
why wouldn't you want to see it again?
This, I don't know about this particular fight,
but yes, normalize rematches overall.
I agree of everything you said, but if you told me, I know they won't, but if you told me they're going to book Brady Kiesa 2 has a main event in three months.
I'm picking Kiesa.
I'm just saying, that's what's weird about this.
Yeah, that's what it's weird.
Even though I picked Brady to win this fight and he did win this fight in a rematch, if it was five rounds, I would pick Kiesa.
It's just, but I think there's such a, there's so much talent in the UFC's Watchweight Division.
I just don't think they necessarily need this rematch
because there's no real like heat, you know, like bad blood.
It was just a, no, just two top while Troy's fighting
and one person won, one person lost.
And, you know, you learn from your mistakes,
you know, learn from what you did right, wrong,
and then you move on.
See, I would actually pick Brady
because I think his team would have a lot more
to learn from mistake-wise.
I think, like, I don't know if there's anything Keiza can do
to avoid kind of that wrestling game.
I think there's a lot of things that are pretty-
through those stupid knees.
Sure.
That's one of those things.
I just keep it over your hands.
It's like punch you.
But I know what you're saying.
Obviously, both fighters have good camps and both fighters are going to make adjustments.
It's like the Mighty Mouse Ian McCall thing where it's like I think this was the moment.
Like I think the moment was missed.
I think this was if this was a five-round fight, Keiza definitely wins.
This was his time to get Brady before Brady gets to a certain way.
And like I also.
I think just like McCall would have beat.
I think he definitely would have beaten Demetre Schatz that one time if they'd gone to overtime like they were supposed to.
And then the rematch wasn't even close, right?
So that is something like that.
I also think I agree with Dean Thomas said.
We're after that first round that Michael Keatsa kind of had to completely rejigger his striking because of the two eyepokes.
He didn't want to lose that point.
Yeah.
Like he had to completely rework his game plan on the fly.
And Dean Thomas is very good at that like in between breaking down fights thing.
Oh, I guess before we wrap up, I didn't even talk.
We didn't talk about this.
Adrian, yeah, yes, four for four now.
three performance of the night bonuses in his first three fights, all knockouts.
And now this one went to a decision, fight of the night.
So that is four, $50,000 bonuses for Yan as four for four.
And I'm pretty confident.
Only Rhonda and maybe Justin Gaetchi have done this.
So I think Zombi did it.
Maybe Zombie might not.
G.
G., I was going to say one, I think, like, five bonuses in his first four fights.
Like he won more bonuses than he had.
Yeah, he won performance and by the nights.
Yeah.
I think in his career, he has nine bonuses.
and eight fights, eight UFC fights.
But that's incredibly impressive,
considering Yannis has never been a co-main or main event.
He's just been kind of on the card.
If he gets an O'Malley fight,
if he gets an O'Malley fight,
that's going to be up there.
Korean zombie had four bonuses in his first three fights.
He had submission to the night,
knock out of the night,
and then sub and fight of the night.
But then the Aldo fight was,
he just got smacked up.
His shoulder, his shoulder is his shoulder.
His last fight,
I think his last fight was his first win.
that he didn't get a bonus ever thank you thank you Gustavo for that comment that is true
a jianne has one another killer at 135 pounds you can take 30 30 you can take anyone in the top
like 40 at bantam wet and throw him in there you're getting like who do you want who do you want to
find next i like the o'malley call out or sorry amalli calling him out oh mali's already booked
he has a fight in like a month so we're going to put him on the sidelines because he has to win
first he's fighting paiva right uh hollian paiva rudolfo so yeah something like that yeah
Paiva, Paiva, I think.
Paiva.
This is true.
He definitely shouldn't look past him.
But I, they say it's next month.
I'd say if he wins that fight, I totally want to see him fight, Yannis.
Yon.
Who did Verra just beat Martin Verrech's beat?
Cheeto?
Oh, no, no.
No, no.
Frankie Edgar.
Oh, no, no.
I don't do Frankie Edgar.
Song Yidong?
How about Honey Barsellos?
Oh, Honey Barsolos is a good one.
I like Yodong, actually.
I think, I think, I think, I don't know if they give them that.
They're both like under 25 years old or something.
Yeah, yeah.
I take it back.
Actually, I don't like that.
I want to, who's a vet?
Kyleor Phillips.
Got it, God, Kyle, Casey.
Cody Stamen.
Kyle would make sense.
He's Sean O'Malley's buddy, too.
Sean O'Malley's buddy, you know, proxy fight.
Ricky Simone, sure.
Ricky Simone, is he not having a fight?
What about, what about, Kelly?
Is Ricky Simone not putting us in Sao or did it make that?
Keller.
Keller.
Keller, ooh, geez.
Oh, he'd love that.
He'd love to take that fight.
That sounds good.
He loved to fight Adrian Yannis.
Jack Chaw?
Jack Chaw.
I saw one reported.
I did see a reported fight for Jack Chor.
Man.
I can't quite know what it is now, but...
Look how easy it is to book these 35ers.
I know.
There's not a bad fight.
Not a bad fight.
The problem is like the fights that I want to see him take, I don't want to see, like, I want to see them.
Like, I don't want to see him fight Yadong or Umar right now.
I don't know.
Because I think like those are three of the, like, even Kyle, because I think, I think a lot of us think Kyle
Phillips should have beaten Piva.
Like, I had him winning on that.
So, like, to me, it's one of those fights where, like, I still view him as the winner.
Like, it should be Kyler and O'Malley.
O'Malley would never take that fight.
But, like, the Stamen fight, Stamon's what, lost two in a row?
Like, Yannes, I think that's, have him fight Yonnas.
I think that's a fun scrap.
Sure.
Yeah.
Okay, a lot of great options of CPL throwing names out there in the comments.
So thank you guys for all the comments.
Thank you guys for watching the show.
Oh, before we leave, we should.
Anyone we didn't mention, sorry.
Pat Sabatini looked great in his win over Tucker Lutz.
Rafael Garcia handing Nathan
newcomer Nathan Levy, his first
loss. We mentioned Lupe Godinez.
Shailan Nurden Bike,
beating Sean Soriano. Sean's a great
striker grappling. You've got to work on that.
Nerdambique, very impressive, getting his first U.S.i win.
And Luana Pinero moving to 2-0
and getting her first actual win
after winning by DQ against Ronda Marcos.
But 2-0 for Pinero. Good for her.
So, congrats to all the winners tonight.
And thank you, everyone, again, for joining.
I don't need love. I have the love of you guys.
I have the love of Jose Youngs and E. Casey Leiden.
And I'm just going to assume
and everyone watching.
And that's, well, that is what gets me through the day.
So I really appreciate everyone who watches.
And I think I speak on all of our behalf when I say thanks for,
thanks for tuning into M.A fighting programming.
And we'll see you.
I mean, we'll have a lot of shows coming out throughout the week.
Don't forget, guys, the BTL tournaments going on.
But we'll have, we won't have another preview or post-fight Q&A stuff
until two weeks from now.
I don't know.
I don't know.
We got some trailer next weekend.
We haven't decided.
it, but we're going to do.
Oh, this is true.
This is true.
I'm sorry.
We got some triangle, triangle.
Is that triangle going to have?
Are they going to use that triangle?
Oh, we got to be, who knows?
Got to buy the paper you to find out.
Buy the pay per view.
All right, guys.
Thanks, guys.
You're going to see a lot of us soon.
You're listening to the Vox Media Podcast Network.
