Monday Morning Podcast - Men of Yesteryear, Pervs of Yesteryear, Elastic Waist Jeans | Thursday Afternoon Monday Morning Podcast 3-6-25
Episode Date: March 6, 2025Bill rambles about men of yesteryear, pervs of yesteryear, and elastic waist jeans. (00:00) - Thursday Afternoon Podcast (32:12) - Thursday Afternoon Throwback 3-6-17 - Bill rambles about the Kobe 11...’s, country music, and baloney sandwiches. Thursday Afternoon Interlude: GZA - Liquid Swords Squarespace: Head to Squarespace.com for a free trial, and when you’re ready to launch, go to https://www.squarespace.com/BURR to save 10% off your first purchase of a website or domain. Helix: Go to www.helixsleep.com/BURR for 20% off sitewide.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hey, what's going on?
It's Bill Byrd.
It's time for the Thursday afternoon just before Friday, Monday morning podcast,
and I'm just checking it on you.
I'm in New York City.
It is raining cats and dogs,
which is something I'm not used to.
I haven't been in a long time just to have a nice rain like this for the hell of it.
You know, you forget after a while.
You live out in Los Angeles.
You live in a desert.
You know, it like rains, hopefully.
rains when you're out there and it rains for like a month,
rains like crazy and then it did it,
it does, it never rains in California.
Remember that song?
But boy, don't they warn you?
It pours, man, it pours.
I never understood like what it meant.
I didn't understand any of that.
I remember asking my mother, going,
it never rains in California.
What it really is, it's the desert.
It doesn't rain.
It rains like once a month.
So if you were confused about that song for the last 50 fucking years,
I hope I undid it for you.
Anyway, so I'm a raincoat guy.
I'm not an umbrella guy.
You know, you walk down the street and then you got to lift it up, you know,
because you don't want to hit somebody in the fucking eye with it.
And then you just becomes this thing, you know,
unless you get one of the smaller ones.
And then the smaller one, all it does is keep from your eyebrows up dry
and the rest of you gets fucking drenched.
So I just go raincoat.
and I'm an older man at this point
so if they had raincoat pants
like readily available
I would buy those too
but only if they were like NBA
tearaway style
which is what you want
so when you show up to work
people go you got on fucking rain
rain jacket pants man
that's when you fucking rip them off
right in front of them
like you're going in to drop 40 on the fucking nix
you fucking rip them off
and then all that fucking
rainwater goes all over.
You want to talk about my pants?
What do you think about my pants now?
Look at you. You need a face towel.
But then what you have to have on underneath it,
you got to have some fucking sick ass, like,
you know, badass clothes and everybody else has on their rain
fucking outfit. Because they bought a fucking umbrella.
And they were all making fun of you, you know?
Because you fucking showed up like you had upper deck tickets
for the Cleveland Browns or some shit.
Anyway, the hell that I want to talk about.
I saw some fucking good movies this week.
I watched that Robert Duvall movie with Karen Black.
Amazing, amazing actor.
One of my favorites.
It's called The Outfit.
And dude, it's one of the greatest 70s car movies ever
as far as like, you're just watching it.
Like, what the fuck kind of car is that?
There was a car in there.
with the Chrysler Dodge Plymouth shit,
but it was called a Monaco, a 1973,
and it was like this beige,
but more on the white side beige.
And it looked like they were combining an LTD
with an L Dorado
and I don't know, some sort of Chrysler shit, you know?
Chrysler's were always fucking weird to me.
I like their muscle cars,
but like their luxury cars had,
they weren't cool.
They were like old band looking, I always felt.
The Chrysler shit.
And the Chevys were the best, the best looking, the Cadillac.
You can't beat the fucking Cadillac.
And Buick's were a close second.
And then the Lincoln's, you know,
obviously the Lincoln Continental, the suicide door one,
that one is iconic.
But I don't like that one from the 50s,
where they got the, you know, the lights on top of the lights.
And it's at like a 45-d-old.
degree angle. It was the longest production car ever.
Like, the back end on that car is just, I don't know. I don't like it at all.
But Chevy, man, I hate to say it, being a Ford guy, in the fucking 60s, the Impala, the Malibu.
What else did? What was that fucking top of the, I guess it was a Cadillac?
But that's back when they used to have, like, you know, I've talked about this a million
times, but I really wish they would get back to this shit.
Because, you know, luxury cars, they didn't make an entry model or an affordable fucking model.
You had to be successful.
You had to be crushing it to drive a Cadillac.
If you were just crushing it, but not crushing it, crushing it, you got the Buick.
If you weren't quite crushing it, you got an Oldsmobile.
And if you were moving up, you got a Pontiac.
and if you just fucking got there
you drove a Chevy.
That's how it worked.
And it was like, I'll just throw numbers out.
So you could get a Chevy for five to six grand.
Then Pontiacs was seven to nine grand.
It was just like that.
It moved up in like two, three thousand dollar increments.
But there was no like $5,000 Cadillac
just so you can say you're driving a Cadillac.
They, you know, you had to have your big boy pants on back then.
And you also had to be a man.
Right?
if you're a woman, you had to fucking stay home.
I told you a long time ago, I was on the road,
and I saw this sign in this diner that said,
get her a Ford.
It was something like the 1940s, and I was thinking like,
wow, man, that's pretty luxurious that you would buy your wife a car.
I thought people sort of one car families back in the day.
Who had the money to go buy their wife a new car?
And then I realized what they were saying.
It's like, you know, get her a forge.
You drive the Lincoln.
You drive the mercury.
Okay, you just get her an entry.
You know, she doesn't need to worry her little head with all these buttons and electric windows and all of this shit.
You know, a V8 engine.
She can't handle that.
Just get her a Ford.
Let her putts around town.
She'll feel fucking special.
I wish I could talk to a woman from back then.
Like, what the fuck was that?
They don't seem like they were upset, though.
But it was just like, it's kind of funny now to listen to women how openly they,
they discuss how dumb they find men.
And I just can't imagine during that fucking time the confusion of that.
That you would be sitting there listening to these fucking morons talking about all the shit.
I can't imagine what they used to talk about when the guys went to work.
They must have been laughing their asses often.
But just be like, you know, be like smarter in a lot of ways.
And this guy, this meathead guy's coming home talking to you like you don't know your fucking ass from a hole in the ground.
I always feel like that's got to be like what it's like for people that come to this country and they're like bilingual.
And they got to listen to Americans and only speak one language.
Give them shit because they speak English with like an accent.
It's like, yeah, it's a second language and I can actually communicate with you.
I know I have an accent, but I can speak more than one language.
Like what the fuck?
It is kind of funny how like English is like the language of the world and everybody.
thinks like, oh, the reason why that is is because it's the best language of the fucking
white people, bitch, fucking that dumb shit. It's like, no, it's because the English went around
the world and fucking, uh, had an empire. That's what happened. And they made people speak it.
Speak to King's English. I don't want to listen to you speaking your fucking mumbo.
Hey, I don't got time for your culture in your own country.
But thanks to the tyranny and the impression, the oppression of the English empire, Americans, we can
travel around a lot of places
and we don't have to learn to speak
a fucking language. It's kind of amazing.
I don't think it's good for us. I wonder
if we have more dementia
in this country because we only speak one. Because
they say that, you know, I get afraid of that.
I get a scared of that shit. So like
they say like, you know, taking
naps is good for your brain,
playing an instrument, learning another language
or whatever.
Which I've been getting my
ass kicked on fucking duolink.
go, you know, we got that stupid shit where they get you to compete with other people.
And it's been very liberating because I only have time to do one lesson a day.
So I'm keeping my streak going.
I've done French almost 160 days in row.
But like since I've been rehearsing in the play, I've only done like one or two lessons a day.
And then the app goes like, you're going to get demoted unless you're above the line.
And it's just like, you know, just go fuck yourself with that.
Okay.
I'm so sick of how everything turns into, you know, get them to run, get them to chase the fucking carrot so they interact with it.
Anyway, so.
Oh, Christ, what the fuck did I just do to my hope?
Did I just hit stop?
I did, right?
Is it still going?
It's still going.
All right.
Let me do something right here.
Very important announcement.
Here we go.
The 12th annual Patrice O'Neill comedy.
Benefit is going to be Sunday, May 18th at the New York City Center.
131 West 55th Street between 6th and 7th Avenue, New York City.
Doors open at 7 p.m., show starts at 7.30 p.m.
The lineup is as follows.
Rosebud Baker, Greer Barnes, D.C. Benny, Tim D. D.C. Bennie.
Tim D. I'm going to mess this name up.
Nemish Patel, Sean Patton, and me, Bill Burr,
as always the great rich voss who's done it 11 times who'll be coming back to MC and uh we might
have a special guest drop in i'm working on that right now you never know who's going to show up
uh tickets are on sale now um they are 75 bucks and tickets can be uh purchased online at www w.
New York City Center,
NY, sorry, NYCityCenter.org
slash Patrice 2025.
Patrice is P-A-T-R-I-C-E, Patrice,
or by calling the box office at 212-581-1-1-2.
All of this info will be posted on my socials,
handles, and on my website.
And as always, shout-out,
and thank you to our amazing producer, Maureen Taron.
She is the captain of the ship, and she's the reason why it goes every year.
So, anyway, look at that.
I think the range stopped.
Would you look at that?
I also have, you know, I might be adding another, I know I am.
I just can't announce it yet for whatever fucking dumb reason.
I have a benefit that I'm doing overseas, that I'll be talking.
talking about more whenever I'm allowed to.
I don't know how the fuck that works.
Anyway, we're getting close.
We're getting close to doing, starting on Monday.
Monday night, we go on in front of our first packed house previews.
This is like previews is the preseason.
And then the season starts March 31st, so I can't fucking wait.
I can't wait.
I can't wait to see how this plays.
I can't wait to see where the laughs are,
where the moments are and all that shit.
I've been having so much goddamn fun.
And we rehearsed this morning,
and then I had a little break,
and I actually ran off and went to the fucking gym.
I've been killing it.
Oh, Billy, no tits.
Look at that, man.
It's fucking coming down,
but I will tell you what.
Oh, my God.
I did some fucking damage.
Jesus Christ.
If you put my torso on the Meekam auction,
it wouldn't have met the reserve.
I'd have to take the reserve off.
And I would be like,
yeah, I'm not selling it.
Forget it.
I got a, too much bondo.
Oh my God.
You have no idea how fat you are
until you do yoga without a shirt on
and there's like a fucking mirror to the side
and you're doing a forward bend.
You're like,
What the, what, do I sell shoes for a living?
Who the fuck is that?
Is that me?
Jesus fucking Christ.
Just no excuse for it.
There's really no excuse for how out of shape I got, you know?
You guys work for a fucking living.
You have to be somewhere, you know what I mean?
I, you know, I got all goddamn day to not be a fat fuck, you know?
And I still failed at it.
fucking ridiculous
yeah so I went over to my big gay gym
that I joined
gay as it wants to be
and uh
you know I got in there
and I got on the treadmill
I put it at the fucking angle I needed to
I worked it I was walking briskly
so I would burn fat
because that's the new way they say that you're burning fat
you know what I mean
and uh
I do like these guys on like the fucking social media
is when the media
the medias of social.
I love people that give advice and they're like yelling at you.
You know what I mean?
You can just see like the awful parent that the person had.
You're sitting there like, why are you yelling at me, dude?
You know, teach me about, you know, stop doing cardio before you live where?
All right, man.
I didn't know it was bad, you know.
As far as I know, this is the first time you're telling me.
I believe it's the first time I met you.
Like, what are we doing here?
So anyway, I figure once I get to the,
once we stop like doing all the rehearsals
or tech run-throughs, and we're just doing the show,
even on the days when I have a matinee,
I don't have to go to work.
You know, I got all my whole morning free
so I can finally fucking,
get my goddamn ass back in shape.
Holy shit.
Holy shit.
I'll tell you one thing.
Okay.
Everybody fucking talking about snowflakes this and snowflakes that.
I'll tell you, you know,
the biggest example of fucking being a snowflake and soft is American jeans.
You know, with these elastic waistbands.
So the number on your gene, you know, whatever, 34, 32.
you could actually be a 38
waist and you can still get into 34.
They're not fucking helping it.
They're all, I'm telling you,
they're all in fucking cahoots with each other.
Oh my God.
I actually went out and I got like one of those
those tape measure things that people get when they're measuring you for a suit.
And I put that fucking thing around my waist.
It went up to 39 inches and I ran out of tape.
I was like, what the fuck?
Fuck. Oh my God. I have, oh, I have eight inches I got to lose. I got to get back down to a fucking 32, which I'm going to do. But I've been eating fucking protein and that shit. So I'm not, I'm not going to be, I'm not going to go Dallas Buyers Club on you here. I'm going to fucking, oh, Billy Pecks here. I'm trying. Whatever. What the fuck ever, you know? Anyway, who gives a shit? It's MotoGP season. It's fucking March madness season. F1 is going.
fucking Mark
Marquez is riding with the
factory dukati team
Lewis Hamilton is with Ferrari
uh
you know he's going to try to
fucking de-throin that other kid
who keeps winning who I always call
Sebastian Vettel I always fuck up the names
I'm not a big F1 guy
although you know what's funny is I keep getting shit on my
Instagram of Jackie Stewart
telling stories
that guy is such amazing
goddamn stories. That guy drove when people
fucking died. People
fucking died in that goddamn
sport. Back when that guy drove.
Jesus Christ.
They used to drive these race cars. They looked like
that shit. The kids would make an
Remember Cub Scouts?
Is that still legal?
Was there enough kids that got molested?
Well, I guess the Catholic Church is still
legal. If that's still legal, you're still got to have
scouting, right?
Jesus fucking Christ. I'll tell you, it was a
wild time when I was growing up, man.
It was, there was just creepers
every, the church
scouting,
paper route,
martial arts,
little league baseball,
pop water football.
I mean, they were just, they were behind the tree
in the park.
You know, it's funny because sometimes I think
like because of social media
and all of this shit out there that like
it's so like it's almost like
the kind of like the amount of people that are now like
smoking weed or eating gummies or anything like that
it's off the fucking chain now because it's legal
before it was legal I mean you had to have a guy
you had to know somebody
sometimes it wasn't consistent or whatever
so it was a fucking pain in the ass
and now it's legal everybody fucking does it
so I kind of thought like
you know pedophiles and all that
I felt like there was, it feels like there's more today because of like social media and all of that type of shit.
And, uh, I just think it's easier to be, maybe it's easier to be a creep now. I don't know.
I have no idea. But I think, I still think there was a, maybe there was the same amount.
It's kind of like how people feel like, you know, we're getting dumber. Yeah, it, we're not.
We're not, we're not getting dumber. If, if you, if you go back, just watch Vindexam.
newsreels where they go out and they talk to people in the street and they get their ideas on shit.
And you'd be surprised.
I mean, there's some people that are more eloquent than people today, but people at least have more of a worldview.
You know, at least a national view with the fucking internet.
Because back in the day, you lived in your hometown.
That's what the fuck you knew.
You knew that, the local news and the local sports team.
That was it.
Like when I moved in New York City, I remember.
in the mid-90s.
One of my buddies from back home was,
he goes, you know, where do you live?
And I, you know, I told him I was living on, you know,
what the fuck was I, 97th in Lex, Lexington.
And he was like, dude, what's with all the fucking numbers down there?
What's, what's the, like, coolest.
Like, I had no idea.
Like, when I thought of New York City was Empire State Building,
taxi cabs,
Frank Sinatra,
and there was a couple of big conferences.
concerts in Central Park.
That's all I knew.
And obviously the sports teams,
but I didn't know what I couldn't name the boroughs.
I had heard of them,
but if you asked me to name all of them,
I couldn't have done that.
I would have missed Manhattan,
and I would have missed Staten Island,
because they just called it New York City.
But you heard enough about Brooklyn in the Bronx
because a Welcome Back Carter was in Brooklyn
and then fucking Robert
Redford did that movie Fort Apache, the Bronx.
So I knew of those, and that was it.
Because I saw a news clip recently,
and it was about the busing riots and all that in Boston.
And they were talking to people in the street.
Jesus Christ.
You want to talk fucking meatheads.
Fucking meatheads.
That was one of the dumbest ideas in the history of Massachusetts.
that they took a place that racist and they were like,
you know what, you don't think it would be a good idea?
You know, all these people that fucking hate each other up there and they don't get along?
Well, what if we just mixed them all up?
What do we force them to interact with each other?
Without, you know, any sort of social lubricant beforehand.
Let's just fucking throw them all together and see what the fuck happens.
for you younger people.
Spoiler alert.
It didn't work out.
It didn't go so well.
It was fucking insane.
Yeah, that was...
That's one of those stupid liberal ideas.
Like, well, what if we just put them all together?
And then they're just fucking interact.
And then it'll work.
You're just going to do that?
You're not going to...
There's going to be no education, no sort of ease in the things.
You're just going to...
She's going to put them together, huh?
That's what you're going to do.
All right.
Would you just watch trading places?
Anyway, let me do some of these reads here for the week.
Squarespace.
Hey, folks, this podcast is sponsored by Squarespace.
If you don't know, Squarespace,
Squarespace is the all-in-one platform that makes it ridiculously easy
to build a professional web.
website. Whether you're launching a business, showing off your creative work, or trying to sell
something online, they've got everything you need all in one place. It's so simple that even
someone like me, a fucking moron, according to this copy, who has zero patience for technology
can make it look good. All right, you know what? All they're saying with that paragraph is they
listen to the podcast. All right, guilty is charge. And if you're one of those people always saying,
this idea, but I don't know where to start.
This is where you start.
Let me tell you about a few things I think you'll like.
Their fancy drag-and-drop design tool called Fluid Engine.
You don't need to know anything about coding or design.
Relax.
Just pick one of their templates and make it your own.
You want to sell t-shirts?
Is that what the fuck you want to do?
With your catchphrases?
Or maybe mugs with your dog's face on them, you fucking weirdo?
Square space.
makes it easy. You designed it. They handle production, shipping, and all of that. I'm trying to think
what you could do with that. You could put faces on a mug. You'd be funny if you put a face of your wife on it and
you draw a line through it and underneath it you just say not today. You have a few wife and there's
like that police tape over her mouth and then just underneath it's like, you know, not until after my coffee.
I don't know why I say that. I get along great with my wife, but it's, it's just,
just funny. It's just fun to annoy
people.
Oh my God, you know it would be fucking wild.
What if you got a coffee mug
and it had all your ex-girlfriend's
name on it with like an ex through it
and then your latest girlfriend or your
wife and it was just a question mark after it?
You know where I got that idea from?
That was Dave Navarro. That's what his pick
looked like when
when he played with
the red hot chili peppers. He had
every guitarist's name with
a line through it before
or he played with them, and then he had his name,
and then underneath it, he had a question mark.
All right, anyway, got video content.
They let you organize and showcase it beautifully on your site.
You can even sell access to it through member areas.
So, if you got a side hustle like online classes or stand-up clips,
this is a great way to monetize.
Head to Squarespace.com for a free trial,
and when you're ready to launch, go to www.com.
slash Burr to save 10% off your first purchase of a website or domain.
That's Squarespace S-Q-A-No, S-Q-U-A-R-E, S-P-A-C-E.
S-P-A-C-E.
Isn't that unbelievable?
The amount of fucking things out there have the same letters as Mississippi.
Squarespace.com slash Burr to save 10% off your first purchase of a website or domain.
I think it's supposed to say domain, but it says Damon, like Matt Damon.
All right. Here we go. Helix. Helix. What's the most important part of your daily routine? Whatever you do to calm down before bed. Read, meditate, stretch, binge reality TV, not recommended. Finish a bottle of booze. Your mind is racing. You have a million things going on. You need to rest. A good night's sleep is so, so important. They capitalize the second so. That's what.
why you need the best mattress in the business.
The business.
Hellix mattress.
Can you remember the last time, the last great night of sleep you've had?
You wake up refreshed and ready for the day.
For most of us, that feeling is all too rare.
But it doesn't have to be.
Find your perfect mattress fit with Helix sleep today.
Take their sleep quiz to see which mattress suits your unique sleep needs.
Say that three times fast.
You bastards.
They provide free U.S. shipping and a limited time, limited lifetime warranty.
How can you have a limited lifetime warranty?
It's either a lifetime warranty or you have a limited warranty.
Limited lifetime.
You even get 100 nights sleep trial.
Gross.
That's almost a third of a full year.
Try out your Helix mattress for 100 nights.
A lot can happen in 100 nights.
And Hellix is so confident in their products.
They want you to experience it for yourself.
go to helixleck sleep.com slash burr for 20% off site wide.
That's helixleysle.com slash burr for 20% off site wide.
H-E-L-I-X-S-L-E-E-P dot com.
I didn't work out.
Slash Burr.
All right.
There we go.
There we go.
All right.
Well, I think that is the podcast, everybody.
I'm going to see if I can watch this Motto-G-P race from last.
I saw some of the highlights.
What happened?
Mark Mark Kierz was cruising.
and then he slowed down
because he was trying to save his tires
and let somebody pass him
so he could try to pass him.
I was confused.
I didn't understand what was happening.
I'll tell you right now,
I don't know why.
This is the first time in a long time.
I have the urge
to go to a dive bar by myself.
Sit down.
All right?
And just start fucking boozing.
You know?
One ice cube.
four fingers.
All right.
Up and over the ice cube.
Don't give me this eyedropper shit, all right?
You know?
I have like three of them.
Come home, face down on the mattress,
pointed in the wrong direction.
You know, wake up the next morning
and sweatpants with one sock on.
Going, oh God, what the fuck did I do?
You know?
I'm not going to do it.
But I was leaving the theater tonight, and I was thinking like, man, I was thinking, man, if I was still drinking, I would go out tonight.
And you know what?
I don't want to go out with anybody else.
I want to go out by myself.
Okay?
And fuck all these people that talk about drinking by yourself.
That's a red flag.
It is a red flag.
But I'll tell you right now, it's, it's, I don't want to encourage this behavior.
I loved drinking alone.
I'm not trying to go George Thorough good on you,
but I fucking enjoyed it.
On a fucking weekday night,
enjoying the privilege of being in this fucking business
that I could go out on a Wednesday night
and get fucking shit-faced
because I didn't have anywhere to be
until 8 o'clock the next night
at a goddamn funny bone.
Those, my friend, were the fucking days.
I had no kids.
I had no wife.
and I could just go out and I could get fucking hammered.
Fucking hammered.
That's how I dealt with my demons back in the day.
Now what I do is I sit here alone and I watch old movies from the 70s.
Once again, I highly recommend the outfit with Robert Duvall and Karen Black
and a whole bunch of other great actors in it and the fucking cars.
are amazing.
And I really feel like that
those four-door sleds
because they're rare,
I think that they're going to be worth something at some point.
Maybe not.
I don't know.
All I know is I was, you know,
I'm thinking about getting another,
you know, I need a daily driver.
I'm just looking at everything.
I looked at the Bert Reynolds fucking Trans Am.
You get one of those in mint condition.
These fucking assholes want 200 grand for it.
For a fucking Pontiac?
Go fuck yourself.
fucking trans in.
That car was a piece of shit.
Everybody knew that.
You had that car three years.
He did like 20 burnouts on it.
The fucking transmission fell out.
They didn't make that car right.
That was actually after the catalytic converter.
200 grand for an underpowered
fucking car.
You can't even keep on the goddamn road.
It's the smoky and the abandoned one.
If you get the red one,
you know, it's like 40 grand.
That's how fucking good-looking
Bert Reynolds was.
He was so good-looking and charismatic
that he made that piece of shit
worth $200 grand all these fucking years later.
Rest his soul.
You don't see movie stars like that coming around.
Maybe you do.
I'm just fucking old.
I don't be that cunt.
Anyway, plowing ahead here.
That's the podcast.
Have a great weekend, you cunts.
And yeah, remember.
All right.
It's the United States of America.
United States.
Don't hate other states.
All right?
People allowed to think different things.
Let's stay together.
Don't let a handful of fucking billionaires
that own 24-hour news network.
Fucking divide you.
Go to that mom and pop place.
God damn it.
Fuck these box stores.
Fuck these billionaires.
All right, that's it.
Listen to the music picked out
by the amazingly talented Andrew Themmless,
and we have a bonus.
episode of the Thursday afternoon just before Friday, Monday morning podcast.
All right, take it.
Yo.
When the emcees came, tell it about their names, and to perform some bad to smoke
coach to act the same, with the poor heat rocked on, damn on the mental plane, the spark
brain with the building tracks, the what you guts, sick of fit to, put the, putter, and
steak, get glisten, mic, mic, bites, I swing swords and cut clown, just this is too swift to bite
you're recording right it damn i blow like the blood on the murder scene like a syringe once in a while out
to insert a vein but it was your shop stolen art catch a swollen heart from not rolling smart i put that
pressure hey what's going on is bill burrow and it's time for the monday morning podcast for monday
match 6th 2017 what's going on everybody i am in phoenix arizona um isn't that exciting
Arizona.
It actually is, man.
I'm psyched.
I'm working at stand-up live,
doing two shows tonight,
two shows Tuesday,
two shows Wednesday.
I'm,
you know,
putting together my new hour
and everything,
and I got a bunch of shit.
I've actually been listening
to my act.
I always, you know,
when I'm putting together a new hour,
oh, I always record.
I just never fucking listen.
Well, now I'm finally listening
to my act.
I figured it out when I can do it
because I,
who the fuck wants to sit there
and listen to yourself?
what I'm doing is I'm uh I listen to it on the car ride home you know if I had a decent set
if I had a shitty set what's the fucking point you know what I mean it's kind of like if you're
always taping your your team right but you only watch if they win you know I know people who do
that shit they like know what the fuck happens before they watch and if they lose they just don't
even fucking watch so I've actually been watching and that type of shit and uh speaking of which
your team winning and losing.
Old Freckles came in
last night and I went to
The Phoenix Suns were playing my
Boston Celtics.
So I decide, you know what? I'm going to go
to that game.
Right?
My 117th fucking franchise,
professional home team.
Whatever. Professional sports team that I've seen
a home game of. 100 and
fucking 17 of these motherfuckers.
I got 10 more to go.
I can't get out of any 10.
every time I get to 10
and I'm like oh one more team
I'll fucking then I'll have nine left
then somebody moves
you know I got down to 10 I'm like all right
the next one's going to get me down to nine
and then the fucking ram
the Rams move back up to 11
right so then I go see the thunder
and I'm thinking all right look man I'm down
I'm down to fucking
I'm down to nine
and I'm like wait a minute
wait a minute
I saw the New Jersey
I never saw the Brooklyn Nets.
So it's still 10.
So I'm like, all right, next week.
Next week when I go see the Sons, I'll be down to nine teams left, right?
So I'm sitting there watching the Sons, and I'm like, Verzi, I'm down to single digits.
The fan slam is going down.
One of the loneliest accomplishments ever.
I guess if you went with a bunch of other people.
I've got to find the old pictures of me at these stadiums.
I swear to God, they're all like disposable camera pictures held by a stranger.
You know, when I was doing all these fucking gigs in the middle of nowhere and shit.
And I passed through the major cities and I would just go to a goddamn game.
Anyways, so last night I'm thinking, all right, I'm going to the Sun Celtics game.
I'll have nine teams left and I'm like, wait a minute.
The fucking charges just moved to Los Angeles.
So in a month, I'm working in San Antonio and I'm going to a Spurs game.
Going to the fucking Spurs.
and then I think I'll finally be down to nine, you know, God forbid if the fucking Raiders don't move to Vegas after that.
But anyways, I went to the Sun's game, right?
So I show up immediately.
The club hooked us up with tickets, gave us great tickets.
We were sitting two rows behind the fucking one of the, what do you call it in basketball?
One of the nets, one of the goals, one of the backboards, right?
Two rows back.
So it's really three rows back
Because they got all the fucking cameramen, you know
But still, it's like great seats
And I look down on the right
And there's this guy just riding the reps
In the first quarter
And he really gives a shit
So I'm looking at Verzi
And I'm just looking over going
Look at this fucking guy's out of his mind
There's a guy who gives a shit
This is a hardcore season ticket holder, man
Look how much you know
I'm laughing like he's just like
He knows the ref's names
He's calling him out and all that shit
And Virgie starts going, he goes, I bet that's the owner.
I'm like, nah, I'm a lot of the owner wouldn't be sitting down.
He wouldn't be yelling like that if he was the owner.
And he's like, well, Mark Cuban rides the reps like that.
I get the fuck out of here.
So finally, you know, I go, I'm going to look this guy up, right?
So we look him up and it's the owner.
I got to tell you, Phoenix Suns, dude, you guys got a great fucking owner.
Robert Sarver is his name, man.
we ended up talking to him at the end of the game because I tweeted
I was making fun of um what's his face his shoes his sneakers he
fucking worst sneakers I've ever fucking seen um Kelly Olinic
the big white goof the seven foot fucking pylon out there right I don't I you know
Celtics love that guy he got so many goddamn minutes maybe it's a road trip or whatever
but dude this he had these fucking sneakers on
I think Garrow your premium wore him in that fucking Super Bowl against the Redskins when he fucked up the field goal.
Dude, they were like, they looked like black football cleats from the early 70s.
The ugliest fucking things I've ever seen.
So, of course, I tweet about, that's why he said.
So I tweeted about the thing.
And I guess the owner's son was watching.
He goes, oh, he's probably sitting right next to you, blah, blah, blah.
That's how he didn't mean the guy.
But anyways, long story short, so I tweet about this fucking things.
Making fun of the guy's sneakers.
thinking, obviously, these have to be the worst fucking sneakers.
Without a doubt, even with the internet, even with Twitter,
even with all of these fucking cunts that are on social media,
nobody can argue that these are the ugliest fucking sneakers ever, right?
They were low-top fucking field goal kicker cleats from the fucking early 70s, right?
And all these sneaker heads are like, you mean the Kobe 11s?
I guess it's a Kobe Bryant sneaker.
And what?
Because it says Kobe on it, all of a sudden, it's the Kobe's?
Dude, do you mean the Shaq 14s?
I fucking hate sneakerheads.
I fucking can't stay at them with their 5,000 fucking pairs of sneakers,
taking them out of the box, showing them off on MTV cribs and licking the soul.
So it's like, you see, I never even wore these joints before.
Yeah, I can tell for me.
you fucking man tits you never wore him before there's sneakers why don't you go take a fucking
walking him bursie's a big sneaker head i'll tell you know what it's fucking overrated
he's so fucking overrated jordan's you know what i mean i'm not saying they're not good looking
some of them most of them are fucking ugliest shit and dude the the fucking mouth-breathing
dopes maybe that's what it is the amount of fuck oh geez i'm walking around now i'm walking
Dude, the amount of fucking dopes that wear Jordans.
You know what it is about Jordans?
You don't even have to fucking think.
You know what I mean?
All you got to do is get a pair of Jordans.
You know everybody's going to like him.
Oh, yo, are those the Sixes?
Are those the Jordan Sixes?
Dude, look at these sixes.
I got him with the black, with the gold outline.
Yo, these Snickers are crazy, right?
These sneakers are crazy.
You know, I don't know.
You're fucking mouth-breathing moron.
with the goddamn sweatpants in their Jordans.
You know, Fersie's a big Jordan guy.
He loves Jordans.
He's wearing a pair this week.
They're fucking ugly as shit.
They're all black, and then they got like this white wall tire thing down.
And just because it says Jordans, I'm going, Paul goes, dude, check out these new Jordans.
You like him?
I go, no, actually, I don't.
And he can't understand.
He goes, they're Jordans.
These are Jordan ones.
It's like, dude, I don't give a fuck if they're Jordanite.
I'm so sick of the numbers.
Dude, what's your favorite Jordan?
You like the sevens?
Really?
You like the sevens?
Now, you got to make sure that it just says Nike on the back.
If it has him on the back, then those aren't the real ones.
The Kobe 11s?
Like, what do you guys think that if you fucking put them on, you're somehow going to be able to dunk?
You're going to score close to 80 points in a fucking NBA game because you're wearing Kobe's.
The Sedale 3-7s?
I don't know.
I don't understand any.
If a fucking sneak is ugly, it's ugly.
I don't give a shit.
I cannot fucking believe.
If you guys, you have to go on and you have to look at a picture of those fucking sneakers.
They're like referee sneakers from the fucking early 80s.
It's just a black, low top fucking slipper with the Nike swoosh on it.
Dude, you mean the Kobe 11s?
Dude, the Kobe 11s are fucking crazy.
They're crazy.
I'm telling you, you get yourself, you get yourself a fucking,
track suit and you put on a pair of those dude over over you go out to the club people people
are those the sixes i i just don't understand fucking basketball sneakers okay some of are good-looking
some of them aren't just they they drive me up the fucking wall paul verzi is the funniest
fucking human being i've ever met in my life like he's he's he's one of these guys like
i love him to death but the shit that he likes it's so he likes obvious shit he's
shit.
It'd be like, dude, you know what I like?
You know what I like?
I like amenities.
It's like, really, dude, you like getting extra shit?
Extra comforting shit, that's amazing.
You know, I never really thought about that.
I don't know.
I have to think about this.
Do I like amenities?
You know what I like, Paul?
I like a lack thereof.
I like less than.
Like, who would ever say that?
Dude, you know what?
You know what?
Dude, is there anything better than pizza?
Is there anything better than a great slice of pizza?
Dude, you know what I like?
I like a bologna sandwich.
Dude, a bologna sandwich with white American cheese and mustard, dude, dude, the mustard puts it over the top.
It's crazy.
It's a joke.
I mean, it's literally a joke.
It just, I don't know.
It's like there's an even need to be said, of course, it's a bologna sandwich.
Yeah, it fucking hits the spot.
All mainstream Pauly.
Dude, you know what I like?
You know, I like a golden retriever.
Dude, you know what's crazy?
A white picket fence.
Um, sorry.
I got to get him back on this podcast because I won't.
Bartnick calls him Mr. Maxim.
Because everything he likes, it's like, it's, he likes what everybody likes.
But then he's got this simplistic fucking great philosophy where he'll be like, Bill,
but Bill, what's wrong?
What's wrong with sweatpants?
You know, and you can't argue with them.
Yeah, there's nothing wrong with it.
It's just, you know, the conversation is just like, it just doesn't need to be,
most of the conversation just doesn't even need to be had.
Dude, is there anything better than just walking around in sweatpants?
Dude, you put on a pair of sweatpants with some Jordan threes?
Over.
Dude, what is better than having on a hoodie and a pair of Kobe 11s?
you go to a massage parlor and she's jerking your dick i mean i'm am i crazy it's it's over
it's a joke it's a literally it's a joke all right i'm sorry
fuck all you sneaker heads out there god bless you with your little fucking hobby
are keeping your sneakers clean and you know fucking walking on your heels anytime
there's any sort of rubbish on the ground grown fucking men just walking like a goddamn duck on their
heels. Hey, buddy, what the fuck he do?
I got on the sevens.
What is it? The first day of school?
Dude, you know what I love? You know what I love?
Is there anything better than when it snows on Christmas?
That's the type of shit he says.
It's like, no, yeah, that's great, Paul.
I think everybody's pretty much in agreement.
I even think Jewish people like if it snows on Christmas.
You know what I mean? It probably adds to their Chinese food.
I don't like, who the fuck doesn't like a fresh blanket of snow?
as long as it is in a goddamn storm.
Dude, you know what I? I like amenities.
Is there anything better than taking esteem?
No. I mean, you know, that's also, that is a great thing that everyone is in agreement with.
You know what I like, dude? I like fresh air.
Is there anything better than like non-polluted air when you breathe in?
I mean, it's crazy. It's literally, it's a joke.
Um, Jesus.
I went on a fucking tangent there.
Oh my God, for half a second, I thought the recorder wasn't recording.
I forgot my fucking microphone, so this might sound a little bit.
Dude, is there anything better than just laying in your bed and just waking up and doing your podcast?
I mean, it's a joke.
It's literally, it's a joke.
You know, I have to look up these fucking sneakers.
How the fuck Kobe Bryant, one of the greatest fucking top, what, two, three players of all time, individual players?
teammate he was a fucking nightmare
you wait to that fucking
confessional comes up
um
let me sit there
putting my password here
stupid laker fans
always chant MVP at the guy
I hate that Celtic fans are chanting MVP
at Isaiah Thomas by the way
it reminds me of Laker fans that were always
every time fucking Kobe stepped on the court
and did not pass the ball and scored
40 fucking points and they lose again
and they
MVP
Did you see him dunk on that guy and then they lost?
Oh my God, he's unbelievable.
Maybe if we get 58 free agents in here and fucking Phil Jackson, they can win a title.
MVP.
All right.
No, but he's doing.
He's wearing the Kobe's.
He's wearing the Kobe 11th.
I have to look these fucking sneakers up, how ugly these goddamn things are.
And the fact that these fucking sneaker heads, you mean the Kobe's?
I mean the rep sneakers.
Those fucking cleats this guy's wearing.
He looks like fucking Ken Stabler out there.
Kobe 11.
You cannot tell me that this fucking, the computer doesn't listen to you.
Oh my, those are fucking dancing slippers.
Jesus, at least he got the best, you got the best color.
They come in pink.
They come in red and white.
They got a Miami Dolphin color.
Dude, those literally look like women's sneakers.
Like, you should have like the low-cut sock with the little ball on the back if you wear those fucking things.
And look at the ones.
$130.
I bet this,
I bet if I went on YouTube and this,
and I looked up Kobe 11th,
I bet there's some fucking asshole sitting there licking the fuck.
Who was a guy?
Fat Joe did that in his MTV cribs.
And he got,
he had like,
check these off.
He's like the fucking George Sixth.
And then he licked the bottom of them.
It's like,
dude,
do you realize the sweatshop
that those things were fucking maiden?
And you think those things didn't hit the ground in there?
And God knows,
they probably don't let,
they probably make those people go to the bathroom at their
fucking station and you're going to lick the bottom of those goddamn sneakers.
They were in a hermetically sealed sneaker box.
Dude, they were in a cardboard box and were shipped over here from the other side of the
world.
I think I'll put my tongue on them.
All right, I'm going to look this up.
I'm going to see if I can find that.
I'm going to find a fucking video here.
Kobe 11th.
All right.
I don't know why, but the first video that came up said exploding poo and a guy had shit on
his face.
Now, I didn't think they did that type of stuff on fucking.
Kobe 11 shoes.
All right.
And some asshole is going to do a fucking review.
Nike Kobe 11 performance review.
Dude, these are the ugliest fucking sneakers I've ever seen in my life.
These ones are actually worse.
Kobe Bryant gives LeBron James his autograph shoes.
God, what the fuck do they talk about other than winning championships?
That'd be like listening to fucking Superman and like fucking Batman talking.
All right, Kobe gives away shoes to a fan.
here's I shit all over the guy
He's like the nicest guy ever
Kobe helps a busload of sick children
Get to the Staples Center by towing it with his own body
And his Kobe 11th
All right maybe I was wrong
Nike Kobe
I gotta get off this fucking subject
What am I listen to some guy do a fucking review with the sneakers
Nike Kobe 11 performance overview
My initial thoughts
I fucking love you too
Who gives a I guess you guys are listening to my thoughts
But I'm just being a fucking moron
Anyways, let's get back to the goddamn game.
All right.
So Kelly O'Lennox out there and his Kobe 11s, dude, they were fucking crazy.
Dude, do you get a seven-foot white guy in Kobe 11s?
It's over.
I mean, the black guys are still going to go right around him and have their nuts in his face when they dunk on it.
But, I mean, his feet from the ankles down, it's over.
It's going to be, it's a joke.
It's literally a joke.
All right.
Anyway, so we watch this game.
The owner of the sons is a fucking riot.
Totally, just watching him riding the referees, like old school guy.
You know, right down there on the court watching the game.
And, you know, he's not about some luxury box or anything like that, right?
So anyway, so we're watching the game.
And the Celtics come out flat, which you knew they were going to.
You knew they were going to because they've just beat the Lakers.
Anytime, I'm telling you this right now, gamblers.
Amblers. Any time the, any Boston team, I'd say the Bruins or the fucking Celtics go on that
West Coast trip. Okay. If you want to make some money, bet against them the day after they play
either the clippers, the kings or the Lakers. Because they fucking go to L.A. and after the game,
they all go out, they bang a bunch of fucking broads, a bunch of fucking actresses or whatever the
fuck it is they do. And then the next game, when they go to Santa's,
Jose down to Anaheim, out to Phoenix, up to Portland, whatever the fuck they go next, there's
always a letdown.
So the Celtics come out flat.
The fucking sons are all over him.
Whoever the guard was on the sons was just as fast, it seems, as Isaiah.
So he was right up on him.
Frustrating the hell out of him.
I mean, Isaiah had, I think, four fouls in the first half.
And so we're watching the game, and I'm just going like, I fucking knew it.
I'm so excited to finally see this team.
I've been watching.
I've seen almost every game of this year.
And they come out flat.
I'm like, oh, man, am I really going to the fucking hangover game?
Ah, what do I give a shit?
I got three fucking tickets.
But still, you know, there's a bunch of Celtics fans there.
They're all going fucking nuts and everything.
We had, like, nothing to cheer about it.
I think we were down by, like, 10 after the first half.
And we'd just start chipping away, chipping away, chipping away.
First half was ugly.
I mean, it was like a first quarter score with, like, four minutes to
go. It was like 32, 27.
It seemed. Maybe it was like six minutes to go.
So at the half, I think they were both in like the 40s.
I don't even remember.
And I said, Paul, jokingly, I go, you watch, they're both going to score over 100.
They're going to heat up or whatever.
So, of course, they come out and everybody starts hitting their shots.
It turns into this great game.
And then the fourth quarter comes, and we start chipping away, chipping away, chipping away.
We're down by like 10 or 11.
And then we went down by 8.
Then went down by 5.
And then we're down by 4.
And next thing, you know, we're up by like 2.
so you guys all know how the fucking game ends right we fucking missed what's his face uh
brown missed that foul shot and Isaiah missed a foul shot they would have fucking iced it
and uh we let him hang around hang around fucking hang around in the end I can't remember
it was tied and we were up by one it all happened so you know it happens so fucking fast when
you're at the game and you don't have an announcer holding your hand and you don't have something
that you can actually look at there's too much shit to look at
So we go to inbound the fucking ball, right?
This guy goes around Jay Crowder, I think tied it up.
We're like, fuck, right?
That's right.
We were up by two.
Instead of being up by three and forced him to take a three, and they probably would have missed a fucking thing.
That's right.
And the guy goes right around Crowder, lays it in.
Crowds going nuts.
There's like four seconds left.
They go, all right, they're going to try to get to Isaiah Thomas.
Let's see what happens.
We fucking inbound the ball.
Isaiah, one of the only times I've seen a mess up this year, messed up the past.
He was kind of looking up court, you know, because there's only four seconds left before he caught the ball.
They kick it out to this fucking dude.
What the hell was his name?
I actually wrote it down so I would give him the respect he deserves.
Tyler Ulyss.
They kick it out to him.
And he hits a fucking three-pointer at the buzzer to beat the Celtics.
Now, here's the thing.
I had second row fucking seats.
And guess what?
I didn't even see the play.
It happened on my end.
You know why?
Because the fucking ass.
holes who are in the, they're in the front fucking row.
They inbound the ball and they could see that, you know,
Thomas was fucking it up.
They stand up.
You're in the front fucking row.
What are you standing up for?
There's nothing in front of you.
You're fucking cunts.
And all of a sudden I just saw the ball go through the net and everybody goes and
wha, the horn goes off.
Everybody goes nuts.
I go, what the fuck?
Does that count?
Did that just go in?
What the fuck just happened?
I had to go home to watch the replay to see what the fuck happened.
I was sitting in the second row.
I couldn't see it because these fucking assholes stood up in front of me.
I don't understand standing up when nothing's in your way.
Haven't you ever heard that expression?
Why stand when you can sit?
Why sit when you can lay down?
Why stand up when you're in the front fucking row?
What is blocking your goddamn view?
Anyways.
All right, I'm done fucking bitching here.
I had a great time.
And evidently, Kobe 11.
are fucking crazy man you know Chris Everett should wear that fucking sneaker that's what it looks
like the one of the different colored ones are like you know do you know something that is a testament
to how great Kobe Bryant was you know it's almost like he's so fucking good Nike was at the factory
going like how fucking ugly do you think we could make a sneaker if we put your name on it
these people that lick the bottom of the fucking sneaker will they still buy these goddamn
things. You know what, now that I'm looking at them, because I'm an old man, they don't look like
you play basketball great. They look comfortable as hell as far as when they're in a different
color, I guess. They look like slippers. Now, here's the thing, I want to, I want to fucking ask you.
Kobe had that horrific Achilles injury. I swear to God, which is like, that was the end of
anybody's career.
That is like the classic old man basketball injury is you go to take a step and your fucking
Achilles goes right up the back of your leg.
I mean, I don't even, I mean, obviously I don't fucking play hoop at all, but I still
fucking, I'm always stretching my fucking Achilles.
I swear to God, before I get out of bed, that's, I don't know what it is about that injury.
I just know like five or six people that have had it and I want no part of it.
I want no fucking, you never walk right again.
I mean, if you got Kobe's money, you know,
you can go to Germany and meet the grandsons of the Nazi fucking doctors
and they'll spin your fucking blood in a centrifuge, whatever the fuck they do,
and then you come back and you can still dunk or whatever, you know,
but most people don't have Kobe money.
So what's going to happen is you're going to go down to the veterinarian down the street
and he's going to sew that thing back.
And you're never going to be, you know, that's it.
God help you if you're ever in a situation.
where there's panic and the crowd starts running and it's a stampede and you've blown out your
Achilles at some point in your life that's you're going to get trampled you know you're going to be
that zebra in the serengetty that gets eaten by the fucking alligator is basically what's going to happen
um but you know he has the low tops i wonder that probably had nothing to do with it i'm just surprised
guys are wearing low top fucking sneakers again like it's uh because you know i don't
pay attention to shit. I usually watch hockey, right? And Verzi's going like, no, no, no,
Kobe kind of brought the low tops back. Everybody's wearing them. So I looked out on the court,
and I saw a number of people with low tops. And people still had like these high top sneakers on.
But the amount of ones like that, they were like Velcro. You know, like a little kid he can't
tie his sneakers he have, they had like Velcro high tops with like a fucking belt around your
ankle. And I was, I don't know about those either. You know what's hilarious, how arrogant I am,
that I actually think that the world cares what a 48-year-old white guy thinks about fucking sneakers.
Why don't you just get a pair of shell toes?
So anyways, we went to the goddamn game, and we had a great fucking time.
Robert Sarver and his family are great.
We met him briefly, just talked to him, just great people.
Like, that guy, dude, if I was a Phoenix fan, I would be very, very.
happy with that guy as an owner even though i know you guys are rebuilding that guy fucking loves his
team there's a lot of owners they don't give a shit you know they own a team so they can have hookers
and blow up in a fucking sweet dude that guy he was it looked like he i was gonna say it's like he
had money on the game and he does he's paying the fucking players um anyways um all right so let's plow
ahead here um i should probably read some goddamn advertising right here
All right. Loop crate.
Oh, give me the loop.
All right.
Okay, here we go.
Here we go.
Here we go.
Let's get back to the fucking podcast.
So I've been listening to a bunch of fucking old school country.
Not all the way back to Hank Williams, but like that outlaw shit, you know, right before the outlaw shit.
Is George Jones considered outlaw?
I don't know.
But listening to him, obviously, to all of these other.
the fucking guys, right?
And I ended up, listen, I remember that this song, do you guys remember Johnny Paycheck?
Johnny Paycheck was this country singer, and I swear to God, he had a hit song called Take This Job
and Shove It.
And it was such a fucking hit.
It so struck a chord with people that they actually turned it into a movie.
There was actually a movie called Take This Job and Shove it.
It was just a, it was a, it was a, it was a, it was a, it was a, you know,
about a fucking guy who was working in a job that he hated and he wanted to tell him,
you know, basically tell him to go fuck themselves, but he didn't have the nerve.
And I think it was because the lyric was, someday I'm going to get the nerve to say it.
And everybody could relate to it being like, hey, I also hate my fucking life and I want to make a
change.
But I don't know how to do it.
You know what I mean?
It's like the whole Donald Trump fucking phenomenon.
not the informed people you know what I mean I'm talking about the the the mouth
breather you know I mean like with Hillary Clinton you had the informed person that
wanted to vote for her and then you had the hissy fit fucking dope this will be
great for women like your life was really gonna fucking change I swear to God I just
don't I don't I don't understand adults who haven't fucking figured it out yet that
you're on your own your own
Okay, playtime is over
Nobody cares about you, okay?
I don't care what color
Their fucking tie or their bra is
They don't
The level of money that you have to have
And then you have to give it to these people
For you to even be on their radar
You have to be going to these 10,000,
100,000, $50,000
fucking plate dinners with them
And then you have to stand in a line of people
That all paid that money
Okay, and you got to get up there
with your fucking shape-shifter fucking lizard eyeballs
and you've got to try to peer into their soul.
I didn't think you talk to them.
You just walk up with a napkin
that says how much money you're going to give to them
and then you're on their fucking radar.
It has nothing to do with your genitalia.
Anyways.
So I'm getting off the rails here.
So this fucking guy Johnny Paycheck,
he's got this fucking song.
Come, take this job and shove it.
It's the funniest fucking just,
there's no way to listen to this song
and not fucking just be i played it for paul versey he was crying laughing he goes this can't be a real
song i go dude not only is a real song i was turned into a movie just the way he says shove it
his voice drops way down he goes take this job and shove it i ain't working here no more
my woman done left took all the reasons i was working for these are the actual lyrics you better
I try to stand in my way
cause I'm walking
out the door
you could take this job and shut it
I ain't working
here no more than the stupid
bass line comes on
and he gets all like kind of quiet
you know when a redneck gets quiet
you know and starts talking
leans in it's fucking scary
you know
non-whitties even for white people
that's fucking scary there is nothing
scarier than a redneck leaning in
at a bar thinking that we're all in the same team.
That's some fucked up shit because you're immediately like,
I don't want to do,
I don't want any part of what you're about ready to tell me, sir.
And I want to try to get out of this conversation gracefully.
How do I dismount out of this fucking conversation?
The second, when a fucking redneck looks the opposite way of the conversation and then
leans in,
I'm telling you,
this should be like a fucking,
an injector seat on your bar stool to get you the fuck out of it.
Where'd he go?
Did I get left behind?
So I swear to God.
So when he gets into the verse, right?
It's like he's leaning in.
I've been working in this factory for now on 15 years.
All this time I watch my woman drowning in a pool of tears.
You know, and I would have to be a lot of tears.
love about all those old school country songs is their fucking women always leave they're
always crying or whatever but these fucking assholes they never say why and whenever I listen to
these songs it's just like dude what the fuck were you doing I get it you're working at this
factory you don't like the job why is your woman drowning in a pool of tears what the I mean are
you taking this fucking so you don't have the balls to try to get a better job tell your boss to
off so what happened you come home you take it out on your wife is that what you're
doing I've had shit jobs I've had low pay for the first fucking I don't know how many
years of being a comedian was a low-paying job I never had a girlfriend drowning in a
pool of tears I mean I definitely made him cry but that's because I was an asshole
had nothing to do with my fuck I wouldn't blame my job I've been featuring on the road
for now on 16 years one of these days anyways he got he's got he's
just listen to the fucking song.
You got to hear this song.
You got to,
Johnny Paycheck.
I know I'm making fun of him, but I actually,
I don't know, there's something about this.
I listen to this fucking song and it just gives me all kinds of ideas
for characters and shit like that and movies and whatever.
But I've been downloaded George Jones,
George Jones, Tammy Wynette, all of these fucking people.
And I swear to God, you got to listen to George Jones these days.
These days I barely get by is inadvertently one of the funniest fucking songs you're ever going to listen to your life.
Do you have one of those friends that just calls up and complains all the time?
And you try to help him out and go, hey, well, what if you do?
No, I can't do that.
Blub, the fucking guy who's just resigned himself.
You know, hey, with my luck, this, X, Y, and Z would happen.
It's like, yeah, with that fucking attitude, that's exactly what's going to happen.
You know what I mean?
I got a couple friends like that.
After a while, you're just like, dude, you're a white guy in the United States of America.
How far down the fucking track before the race starts do you have to be?
Jesus fucking Christ, how the fuck are you complaining?
Complaining, I'm not saying that white people should not complain.
I know there's a lot of people down and in the poll of tears.
Hard of these days I'm going to get the, I'm going to blow my top.
It's like, dude, why don't you just address the fact that you don't like your job,
apply from some other jobs.
If you don't have the training,
take some night courses.
You know,
get the training you need.
Instead of sitting there,
seething,
coming home,
taking it out on your fucking woman.
George Jones has another fucking song
called The Grand Tour.
Listen to,
I'm telling you,
you've got to listen to these fucking songs, right?
I listen to that song,
it's like, George,
what in the fuck did you do to your woman?
It's like, step right up.
Come on in.
if you'd want to take the grand tour of a lonely house that once was home sweet home
you're like Jesus Christ and this motherfucker he goes through his whole house over there
is the chair where she'd bring the paper to me and sit down on my knee and whisper oh I love you
you're like Jesus Christ
right there you want to get out of the house
this motherfucker won't stop
straight ahead
is the bed
where we lay in love
him something
dude he gets all the way
to the nursery
you're like oh Jesus Christ
and he goes she took
the fucking baby
and the key thing
in all of this
is he says there's her rings and her
things. And it's like this fucking woman left all of her stuff and took the baby. George,
what the fuck did you do to her? This woman didn't leave you. She fled the fucking seed.
There's some sort of detail. You're not fucking giving me here. Where are the empty booze bottles?
I mean, what do you? I actually listen to that song. I feel bad for the woman in his life until I
found out she left. Then I actually feel good. Yeah, get it.
the fuck out of it and get that kid out of there too i'm supposed to feel bad for you sounds like
you went out back to chop some wood and she just grabbed she saw some daylight somehow got the chains
off around her fucking ankles grabbed the kid and get the fuck out of there um anyways let's read some
oh there's gonna be some pure country fans they're like you're missing the point man
take this job and shove it i ain't working here anymore all right pro flowers everybody
Woman done left me.
My woman done left me.
Hey, Johnny Paycheck.
Come on.
It's just you and me.
What did she, what did you do?
You know, I imagine if she fucked around on you, you would have mentioned it.
All right, maybe I'm taking these fucking songs a little too seriously.
I have a problem with that.
Like when I listen to rap music, you know, like who's that new group that everybody's, megos?
When I watch their videos and shit
And they're coming up in those supercars and they're holding the fucking money out
It just literally I have to look in the other direction
It just drives me nuts seeing artists doing that
I just I'm always thinking in my head
Please please buy some real estate
Please don't blow it all on fucking Kobe 11s
Oh my God
Dude watching artists
Watching people who don't understand money
I guess but I would say artists
You know
The shit that we fucking do
It's just the dumbest.
You know, it's another stupid fucking thing.
I love these people that buy watches that are like,
it's like, dude, that thing, you could hang that on the fucking wall.
I'd know what time it was from across the room.
Why do you have that on your wrist?
The amount of guys that are like my height and my size,
walking around with a watch that only would look right on like a fucking offensive lineman is,
it's like, did you take that out of a submarine?
Is that like deep sea scuba dive and shit?
shit. So you can fucking go down to like what, 9,000 feet. The goddamn dial won't bust on it.
I got me a big old watch. People in a different time zone can tell what time it is.
Take this watch and shove it. All right. I'm getting up against it here. You know what I'm doing
today, by the way? I'm going to go see old Cleodio. I'm going to see my dog Cleo.
the people that ended up
uh,
rest getting her from us,
live out here.
So,
um,
I'm actually going to get to see her.
I'm visiting her today and tomorrow.
And,
um,
I can't wait to see her and everything.
She's probably not even going to give a shit.
Because she's probably going to be so in love with the other people.
Because I kind of realized that going,
well,
she was in love with the people that had her before us.
And within a week,
she fucking loved us.
I mean,
dogs just they adapt they just fucking adapt so um i got another five minutes here and then i got
a take off so i got time for like one question here let me see um let me get let me get a good one here
uh righty uh righty a dictator bill i'm 19 years old and i've been with my girlfriend
my woman don't left i'm with my girlfriend now for two years uh i know what you're thinking too
young for all these silly problems. That's not what I'm thinking. I'm thinking good for you.
Way to go. Way to go, fellow. Anyway, for the first year of our relationship, literally everything
was perfect. I still love her just as much as I did then. I'm sure she loves me just as much.
However, during the second year of our relationship, relationship, an overnight shift changed,
and then we stopped having sex. It's basically non-existent, and now and again, every couple of months,
it will happen, but I know she's not enjoying it.
This is because she was on the implant, contraception injection.
At first, I was questioning myself, and if it was me, that wasn't getting her in the mood anymore,
but she promises me that it isn't because of the implant.
She says it's that what the fuck is a contraception injection?
Jesus, I never heard of that shit.
It's an injection, so you won't get pregnant?
Dude, if you literally told me contraception actually meant it's going to get you pregnant, I would believe that too.
That's like one of those fucking words that I just ignored my whole life.
You know, like soliloquy.
Like what the fuck does that mean, you know?
Contraception, implant, official site, get the facts.
Fuck that.
I don't want facts.
I want pictures.
Images.
Okay, they're showing it that it's nice and small.
For some reason, they keep putting it up against their bicept.
they stick it in your fucking arm what
this looks like some fucking robot shit
okay it's birth control
implant they stick a fucking toothpick in your arm
and then you can't have a baby i don't get it anyways
well yeah that's probably fucking annoying to have it in there
you know what i mean she goes to hug you in the inside of her arm hurts
anyways after the first i was questioned myself blah blah
she says that it that has caused her to completely lose her sex drive
she says she just had it removed and it's been a few weeks
sense and nothing has changed yet.
I feel so much resentment towards her every day
and what I can only describe as depression as soon as I see
her most of the time.
I find myself being such an angry, short-tempered person now
when normally I'm usually happy and smiling.
Ah, Jesus.
Might be time to get out of this relationship, buddy.
But you know something?
If it really affected her like that,
it depends on how long she had it in there.
Maybe she needs longer than two weeks.
But, you know, if you're going to be an angry lunatic,
I mean, if you don't leave, eventually she's going to.
But you know what?
You get yourself a song on it.
A woman done put a toothpick in her arm.
Now she won't suck my dick.
One of these days, I'm going to whip it out and wipe it on the wall.
You can take my dick and shove it.
Right in your fucking mouth, you whore.
Badoo do, do do do, do, but do, do, do, do.
Okay, I always try.
I always seem to try and hide my need for sex and act like I don't ever.
want it and try to show disinterest, but I never can.
I guess it just must be more important to me than it is to her.
I never thought sex was such a big deal, but the last year has taught me that when there's
bad sex life in a relationship, it can really cause the whole thing to just break down.
It just got to the point now that I've said we need some space and a break because the last
thing I want is to ruin our relationship.
Dude, you're fucking miserable, man.
And you have to, you have to, you know, you got to be with something.
somebody and like understand them and and you know be there when they're going through a tough time but like
you know if they're not understanding how fucking miserable you are you're just going to you just going
to keep getting more miserable and then you know then they're going to be miserable and then in
the end they're going to fucking break up with you and you're going to be like what the fuck I should
have done that to them much is breaking up with somebody is not something you should do to them it's
something you should do for yourself all right this is the deal dude you're not fucking
happy. All right? You're not happy. It's great that you're taking a fucking break. And I would go out
and I'd fucking go try to enjoy myself and meet somebody that doesn't have a fucking toothpick in their
arm that doesn't want to touch my dick. You know, I mean, that's just getting down to brass tax here.
That's what's going on, right? They stuck that shit in her and now you can't stick your shit
in her. So, I mean, you got to get the fuck out. I'd get out. You're young, dude. You're 19.
What are you going to marry her? What are you in the military? People in the military. People in the
Terry getting married when they're 19, you know?
My woman done left.
That's what you do.
It just sounds like,
you sound like you need like a long time away from each other.
The way that was red dude,
that sounded like a fucking 40-year-old guy wrote that in your 19.
So that's kind of a good sign that maybe you should get the fuck out.
Who knows?
But I would not say anything mean.
I would not, and I just, you know,
you want to be able to see the person again.
and not get a glass to the head.
You know what I mean?
That's kind of what you're going for.
So the art form is you just tell them how you're feeling.
You know?
I'm just not happy.
I'm sorry.
That's just how I feel.
I'm just not happy.
And I'm finding myself less and less happy.
And it's affecting my moods.
Everything you just said.
And I'm finding that I'm getting angry.
And I don't want to be angry around you and create any misery in your life.
So as much as this is going to hurt you, I'm walking out the door.
You can take this relationship and shove it.
That's it.
Then walk out the door, you know, and you'll probably walk out that door and you'll be sad a little bit.
And you walk a little more.
And you start skipping and then you're running down the street.
Yeah, you know, might be one of those breakups.
Or it could be the one, oh, what did I do it?
I don't fucking know, but you're 19.
You know, if you got the whole, you're, you're, you know, if you got the whole,
You got your whole fucking life ahead of you.
You don't need being this.
This sounds like you're fucking married.
I'd get out.
All right, that's it.
Okay, and that's the fucking podcast for this week.
Go fuck yourselves.
I will check in on you on Thursday.
And that's it.
I'll let you know how seeing old Cleo the next couple of days is,
which is going to be fucking awesome.
And it's also, you know what?
I'm psyched that, you know, we've got a cool family.
And, you know, I think I'll come out to Phoenix a couple times.
a year, you know, do a run of shows like I'm doing here, go to a game or something like that,
I'll hang with the dog. It's kind of nice, you know? All right, that's it. I'll talk to you guys on 30.
Minimum and feminine like sandals. My minimum tape stack is a version on a gamble. Energy is felt
wants the cord to death with the impact of roundhouse kicks from black belts that attack.
Then white bones like cyclones or top boons. I represent from midnight to high noon. I don't waste ink.
I think I drop Megaton bombs more fast than your blink
Cause rhyme thoughts travel out a tremendous speed
You cloud smoke of natural blends of weed
Only under one circumstance as if I'm blunted
Turn that shit up my clan in the front one it
Now with the emcees came to live out the name
And take the two before something had to snorkel
