OverDrive - Johnson on an incredible Leafs victory in Colorado, Bobby McMann's next contract, and how to manage Stolarz' return
Episode Date: January 13, 2026TSN Hockey Analyst Mike Johnson joins the show from Utah ahead of the Leafs-Mammoth matchup to discuss Toronto’s incredible victory over the Colorado Avalanche, what Bobby McMann’s next contract w...ill look like, whether Dougie Hamilton would be a good fit on Toronto’s defence core, and how to handle Anthony Stolarz when he returns to the lineup.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All right, overdrive continues, powered by Fandul, bringing you everything from the opening line of the final score.
There he is, Mike Johnson, Leaves in Utah tonight.
How are we doing, Johnny?
First time here, I'm not going to lie to you.
I've never been to Utah.
Never been to Salt Lake City.
Never been to the Delta Center.
Never seen the Utah mammoth place.
So it's all new to me, which is a rarity at this point in our careers.
But it's beautiful.
You can see the mountains and it's sunny.
And yeah, no complaint so far.
I've got to the ring's pretty interesting.
So we'll see what happens.
The only problem is Hayes.
I got to wait till 8 o'clock for the game to start.
It's an 8 o'clock local, 10 o'clock Eastern seems like an eternity.
We still have whatever, six hours till we play.
So, Johnny, those golfers that left Arizona, could they tee it today or no?
It's probably like 7, 8 degrees, so you could because it's still in sunny O, so in the sunshine it's nice.
Seven's my magic number.
You get me to 7, I tee it.
Really?
Yeah, because you can put on, you know, you don't have to put a tucon and gloves and everything,
a place. So you probably could. I don't know if they live on golf courses here,
O, but it's, I guess it's an outdoorsy kind of place. If you like, you know,
outdoor activities and hiking and mountains and all that kind of stuff, skiing, like Park City is like
35 minutes away. I can see Park City out my window. It's like 35 minutes away. It'd be like
driving to Aurora to go one of the best ski mountains in the world. It'd be amazing.
Yeah, that's pretty cool. What are your thoughts on the whole? Like if your wife said to you,
there's hiking, outdoorsy, like would you, would you, would you,
just be like.
I would miss Arizona so much.
Like so much.
The weather, it's perfect, the golfing.
I can ski.
I don't mind skiing.
Skiing's too much.
If you're a hockey player, you can't go ski.
No.
You're not skiing.
There's no chance.
You can tee it, though, and no one really needs to know.
Or cares.
Or cares, exactly, which is different.
But, man, the Leafs are coming in on a heater.
Go ahead, go ahead.
There was a time when I played in Arizona, Hazie,
where there was a group of guys who decided to walk a niner in the morning of a game
in lieu of going to a pregame skate.
So that was their move.
The coach did not take kindly to that move.
I think of caught.
Instead of driving out to Glendale, they play.
Because the coaches know, they go play right after the morning skate.
Like, Grant Fure was there in a heartbeat trying to go play himself.
He'd see them out there.
They'd come in with sun tans on.
It was a poorly kept secret, though.
Yeah, that's the amateur, man.
You've got to find a different course.
You can't be.
That's like going to a bar where, you know,
the coaches are coming to the bar. You got to find
a different place to play. That's
amateur. That's on the guys. But
I like that. I'm okay with that
and I can't imagine it's happening today. I don't
think the Leafs are having a morning
skate and they're coming off the win of the
season last night. It was a
remarkable hockey game. Like thoroughly
entertaining. From a Leaf
perspective, what is the number
one story for you that win in Colorado
last night?
They didn't win
that game because their goal
was ridiculous.
Like, yes, Joseph Wall was good, especially early on.
But the fact that they were able to control play at times against Colorado in Colorado,
that to me is the biggest improvement positive for Toronto take out of that game.
Yes, they won. Amazing.
Austin scoring goals looking like Austin from three, four years ago with that wrist shot,
amazing.
Joseph Wall, rock solid again.
Amazing.
But I would have fought against Colorado, who has not lost a game in regulation at home.
They've only, last night was just a third overtime loss they've had.
That for Toronto to win, shots would have been 40 to 26.
Expect the goals would have been five to two.
Joseph Wall would have been out of his mind and maybe the power play got them won.
And that's how they squeaked to a win or a point out of there.
That wasn't the case.
That was an even even game.
First period, Colorado is probably a bit better.
Second period, Toronto, I thought, was about as good as I can remember see Toronto play.
Best period of the year.
Especially against that kind of opponent.
Incredible.
In the offensive zone, driving play, possess.
pressing, plays off the rush, controlled entries, strong on the back, all of it, all of it,
and limiting Colorado's chances the other way.
It was very, such an impressive game.
Kudos to them.
Kudos to them.
I don't know if anyone saw that one coming, but amazing effort for them, challenges.
They've got to turn around and try to do it again tonight.
Johnny, what is your explanation?
Hayes made a comment earlier when we first started that they looked like they're playing fast.
So how did a team that at the beginning of the year, all of our commentary was they're slow, they play so slow, blah, blah, blah.
How did they flip the switch in that transition where last night they looked fast?
Follow-up question.
How long do you think that they can continue what they did the last 10 games, the way they played last night?
Basically, who are they?
Are they kind of the team that we first saw the beginning of the season or the last 10 games or is something in between?
I mean, the second question is easier to answer.
Oh, it's always something in between, right?
They're not 8-0 and 2 perfect.
They're not, worst place in the East, terrible.
They are a good team that is flawed like every team in the league, I guess, other than Colorado.
And that's probably well to end up, and that should be enough to get some of the playoffs.
The other question is an interesting one, though.
Like, why?
And you're right.
Like, I said it.
They look slow.
And it wasn't always about the fact that they skated slow, although, you know, they don't have a fast group of skaters
other than Bobby McMahon, hello, rocket ship on the breakaway goal.
That was crazy speed.
But I think what's happened is that they've adapted the way they move the puck up the ice
so that the long pass stationary chip cross-ice chase is not a staple of every shift
because that was what made them look slow.
Guys were standing still at the far blue line.
Puck would come up, they'd chip it in, they'd have to get going from a stand,
still to a defenseman that was already down at the hash marks picking up pucks and they are always
chasing and the steps blow and a step behind and never could quite catch up. I think they're moving
the puck up better now. They're bringing a couple forwards a bit closer to the defenseman so there's
speed to the neutral zone even if it's not a rush even if it's a chase there's more speed to go along
with it but there's also just to me a lot more possession on the entry and when you have it it's easier
to move sort of quickly with it or to pass it to where you want it as opposed to chasing it.
And you put all that together and they're getting more out of it.
One more factor O, I think, well, whatever Austin did at Christmas, I have no idea.
Fact of the matter is he's playing better.
So, you know, he gets better.
They look better.
He looks faster.
Team looks better.
He played 26 minutes last night and was, you know, a very good player for them against a difficult opponent.
So there's him, but I think it's Machelli all of a sudden looks like a pretty crafty player,
like a pretty useful guy.
He looked lost to begin with.
I think Nick Robertson, tough injury last night blocking a shot.
He is a quick player.
He looks like he's more comfortable.
Bobby McMahon has found a role in a comfort zone is playing better than he ever had in his life,
to the point where I'm reading stuff about what's it going to cost to keep him,
oh, five mil or more, we'll get to that another day.
And Max Dolmy kind of finding a consistent role.
You have these guys now.
Hang on a second.
You can't flirt that out.
What player did you just say is
talking about $5 million?
So,
if you have a
mid-six-winger... Give me the player.
Bobby McMahon
is the player of these players.
Bobby McMahon.
Bobby Boucher McMahon,
number 74, the third
fastest player in the world. That's what I'm
talking about. You give me a middle-six
guy who scores you 25
goals and gets you 50 points, almost exclusively at 5 on 5, who will not hurt you defensively,
when the salary caps $150 million, that guy is a $4 to $5 million player.
That's what he's costs.
Are those the numbers we're anticipating?
He's got 14 goals and 24 points.
So I guess he's on pace for...
So let's say, you know what's scary?
Even if he ended the season with 14, he would still say I'm a $4 million.
player. Yeah, I mean, inflation is a part of this, right? The cap goes up. Everyone's getting more money than
they did five years ago or 10 years ago. I just think what's interesting with McMahon is he's still
somewhat of a nomad within the lineup, within his own team. Like, he's on the first line for a while,
and then all of a sudden Willie comes back, so Nize goes up and he's on the fourth line and
Robertson gets hurt, so he gets a little bit more ice. Like, that's where it's kind of tough to figure out
exactly what his role is.
He's anywhere from the first line to the fourth line.
He's like a utility player in a way.
But because of the way he skates,
and he can play with some snarl.
Like he's a big boy that he can't hit, he can't fight.
Yeah, I mean, he's a useful player.
I got to give props to him.
Now, I will say this.
Down the stretch last year, he really struggled.
I thought he was terrible in the playoffs.
Yes.
Terrible in the playoffs.
So he's got to complete it.
You know, we do, I'm as guilty as anyone else
of getting out in front of the,
the projection game.
If he doesn't finish it, he fades, or they get into the playoffs and he performs poorly
again, we might have to recalibrate.
But as of right now, Bobby McMahon is playing as well as you could expect him to play.
He's been an impact player.
Totally fair, Hayes.
Yep.
Totally fair.
The playoff and the stretch run, absolutely correct and accurate.
And if he does it again, then all that talk we just had is out the window for sure.
But, yeah, and I think the fact that he slides up and down the roster.
is less an indictment of him and more a commentary on the one-dimensionalism of the guys ahead of him.
Like, I don't know if you want Machelli on the fourth line or Max Dolmey on the fourth line.
Those guys can't do it there.
Not that they do the second or third line better than McMahon, but they can't go further down the line.
If they just don't have that part to their game, he can do that and offer something different.
So I think that is almost a testament to his versatility or maybe, you know, the limitations of some of the guys that can't go.
down the lineup. But I just say, like, he's been really, really good.
He leads the team in penalty minutes.
Like, you know, it's wild.
Like, he does offer, you know, a bit of bites in a non-fighting kind of way,
in a sort of new NHL way, that the Leafs want and need.
So anyways, he's been really, really good.
Anyone on top about playing fast?
He's exhibit A of a guy when he's confident.
He's as fast as anybody in the league.
Johnny, we were talking about William Nealander and Hage.
Hage.
he was discussing how engaged he was last night,
moving his feet, back pressure, the whole nine.
Why isn't he in a position where he just does that every night?
And he's just a world-class player.
He's still a world-class player without doing that.
But why are we left wanting that, watching him,
where it's like, maybe I'm not into it, maybe I am,
maybe I'll do whatever I want,
maybe, you know what I mean?
Like, why isn't he just bust his ass every night?
And he literally will be regarded as one of the best players in the world.
He already is.
why did I not train as hard as Sidney Crosby?
Why did I not watch what I eat like Jonathan Taves?
We're not all the same.
We're not all wired the same.
It'd be great if everyone was wired like Sidney Crosby.
Oh, you were not?
I was not, right?
It's just the way it is.
You were an amazing all-star caliber player the way you were.
Could you have rung five more percent out of your game and your prep and your training?
Maybe, I don't know.
I know I certainly could have, but I didn't.
I play with Alex Kovlev, the ultimate
enigma. He was an all-star
amazing player
as he was, and yes,
he left you wanting more. I was on the ice with him
wanting more at times, but he was also really
good as is, and he was comfortable being that
guy. And maybe for
Willie, who's not, maybe quite as
mercurial as Kovlev might be
at times, you know, Willie might be
three good ones and one less than great one,
but he might be a guy who's just sort of wired to be okay.
Like, that's just who
he is. And while it would be great if you were to say, you know, you battled your butt off every
second of every single shift, he's not wired that way. And I don't think he ever will be. And a lot of
players in NHL aren't, including a lot of really good Stanley Cup winning players, are not wired that way.
It's just, just the reality of who he is. But I do think if you want to see if Willie's engaged,
if in his first three shifts, he, like, backtracks the guy and picks his pocket.
You're like, oh, he's going.
He's here tonight.
I think like that in a nutshell, he's moving.
And once he's moving, he's amazing.
And I think that is largely, if he wins a stick battle or a quick race to the puck early,
that's a really good sign for Willie in the Leafs.
Hey, it's just a quick tester before you move on to your next question.
Do you know what the word mercurial means?
I do.
I'm going to.
Go ahead.
Tell me.
Go ahead, Johnny.
It's your word.
No, because you don't.
Go ahead, Johnny.
Go ahead, Johnny.
What a loser!
What a loser!
Is it inconsistent, dynamic?
I don't know.
I mean, it's one of those words where I kind of get the range.
Enigmatic.
I get the range.
Yes, I could use it appropriately.
I'm not sure I know exactly how to define it.
I mean, I'm not Jonas Siegel.
Chat GP Jonas here.
All right, Johnny.
That is so great.
That is the best bailout age.
So greasy.
Go ahead, Johnny.
Go ahead, John.
Explain yourself.
I know.
It's your word.
It's your word.
Um, yes or no.
He's like enigmatic.
Sometimes he cares.
Sometimes he doesn't.
Sometimes you get what you want.
Sometimes you don't.
Exactly.
You look slightly inconsistent, but like more emotionally inconsistent as well.
Couldn't say it better myself.
That's precisely how I would have defined it.
Yes or no?
Dougie Hamilton.
Dougie Hamilton has a leave.
Yes or no?
Oh.
How much money?
Well, he's making $9 million for two more after this.
That's his cap way.
No way.
Well, I'm saying, are we getting them to eat half?
of his contract.
Dougie Hamilton at $4 million,
you know,
we could have that conversation.
Sure.
Yes.
Yeah.
I mean,
Tanev's uncertainty.
Like,
Dougie Hamilton is not a perfect player
by any stretch.
But you don't,
you don't think at $4 million,
like,
Philippe Myers have played a major role.
Troy Setcher has salvaged
a season off waivers.
Yeah.
Tanev may not be back
and who knows what the future holds.
Brandon Carlo is not signed
beyond next year.
You don't think a right shot
puck moving guy.
I don't care if he's tall
and he's not super physical.
And I don't,
you know,
he's still at $4 million
dollars? Like, that's, you could do a lot worse than that guy at four and a half million dollars.
So, sure. Now, am I trading Ben Danford for him? Obviously not. Like, I think you're basically
taking a salary and maybe the devils might have to eat some of it, you know, unless you're a
San Jose that can afford to bring in that kind of salary. But the player I could deal with,
sure, I just would not at $9 million, not when they have other needs, no.
Yeah, it's a weird situation with him, man. He's always just, he's been a mercurial
player throughout his career.
And, you know, from Boston to Calgary, Jersey, now he's a healthy scratch.
I just have to say this because we don't keep score at free agent frenzy.
But Ray Ferraro and Craig Button were giving it to me about Dougie Hamilton saying how awesome
he's going to be.
And I said, just be careful.
He's been to Boston, he's been to Calgary, he's been to Carolina.
Sorry, guys, you got that one wrong.
Yeah, it's not good.
We're not keeping one score.
Well, they were giving it to me.
They were just, both of them together, they were teaming up and ganging up on me,
and I just said, I'm not, no way.
I just, even at four and a half, Connie, we know, guys.
Go ahead.
I think what we know about him, he's not a lead guy.
Right.
He's not, he's not a culture setter, he's not a pace setter, he's not a game setter.
but he's got a lot of physical tools that, you know, in the right situation,
can be effective, you know, and so if you have a strong enough group that can sort of force
it out of them and Mercurial will be a good way to describe him at times.
So, like, he just, you know, he leaves you wanting because he can do a lot of things.
But four million dollars, guys, that's a third pair of defense.
What does Bedouw make?
Does he make two and a half?
Yeah, seven, five.
Yeah.
Yeah.
You know, he's, like, he's, he's different, but he's, you know, he's better.
So, yeah, it's tricky.
you can have a guy, but you can't have three or four guys like that.
And maybe with Morgan Riley around, maybe, you know,
maybe there's, there might be some stuff with too many of,
too many defenses with holes in their games.
But I'm just thinking of a tentative injury history,
with Carlos' contract uncertainty.
Ben Danford won't be ready next year.
Yeah, sure.
But we'll see.
I imagine one of the teams that could afford them full out will,
will take a swing.
Johnny, how would you handle Stolars in the goaltending situation?
Is it simply you got to,
you got a three-man team now or like no i don't even know anybody knows what his injury is but it's just
it was a weird scenario he's been out a long time and now you have some consistency in net
and me personally i i don't want to screw with it so what would you do in that situation
okay first of all oh isn't it wild and maybe you're different but like i have not even
heard off the record a whisper like oh it's actually it's it's it's an elbow or it's a shoulder
or just like I have I've not heard anything about what is wrong with him.
I'm glad he's going to be back soon.
He's on the ice and maybe talking about playing before the Olympic break.
But if it was me, like obviously he's got to come back,
but I'm not pulling Hildaby just out of the lineup right away.
Stolars will work his way back slowly.
I would be inclined to offer up conditioning games in the American League for Anthony Stolars
to get his game right on point.
Don't just put him back in the lineup because he says he's healthy now.
and then make him earn his ice.
He's got to play well to complement wool.
And if he plays well enough like he did last year,
then you can put Hildi Buc back down and you have the backup who's obviously very capable.
But make him earn it because if he doesn't,
then you have Hildo B that can play games and win you games.
And they're still in a spot as great as this run has been that they need to win the games.
They're in the playoffs, but just barely.
So I'm not sacrificing any points to get him in the lineup.
He's got to show me he's ready, and then he'll get his spot in the rotation.
But maybe they carry three for a while.
Like, you remember, like tonight, Montreal played last night.
How fun did it look at Montreal when they put it on Vancouver last night?
I don't know if you got some of the highlights.
That place is rocking right now, man.
They're doing a wave every night.
It is so great.
Every game, Ole, Ola, for 10 minutes straight.
Their second line has scored like 18 goals in the last 10 games.
Johnny, you know, it was a 20-old.
Anyways, they're having, who's that?
Slavkovsky, man. He looks
Good. They've moved him with
Kaepininin and David. That second
line's been really good. I'm happy for that kid.
Second line. Yeah, first goal, he's
playing damn good. He looks good.
Yeah, he's grown
in ways I wasn't sure, like his mind has
expanded. He sees the game better, he makes better
plays. But anyways, we're getting to stress.
But what they did, they have three goals, right?
With foulor up, they sent
Montembo to Washington
where they play tonight
yesterday. They're going like, starting,
pitcher in the playoffs rotation.
They're sending their extra goalie
on back-to-back to back to the next city
so he gets a full night rest and totally
prepared. So maybe I'm thinking about
Toronto, if you have three
and you have back-to-backs
coming up in different cities, you send
solar's off to Philadelphia, he sits there,
gets a full night sleep, and he plays the next game,
or Wool or Hill to be, whoever.
That is one of the luxuries you could have
if you carry three. I like that idea.
All right, Johnny, enjoy the scenery
out there. Sounds beautiful in Utah. We'll
Catch you on the telecast tonight.
All right, boys.
Good afternoon.
There he is. Mike Johnson.
I'm Luke Wilson.
Join me each week for Film Never Lies.
We're going in-depth on football and a lot more.
We'll pull back the curtain on Life and the Pros
and dive deeper into the stories making the headlines.
No hot takes, no lazy narratives,
just real honest conversations.
You can watch or listen to Film Never Lies
on all the TSN platforms and IHeartRadio app.
