OverDrive - OverDrive - March 19, 2026 - Hour 1
Episode Date: March 19, 2026Join Bryan Hayes, Kara Wagland and Jonas Siegel for Hour 1 on OverDrive! They discuss the Blue Jays' Hall of Excellence, Buck Martinez being honoured by the team, Trey Yesavage landing on the IL, the ...Blue Jays' starting rotation and the Dodgers at the top of the league. Plus, Hayes, Kara and Jonas dive into Auston Matthews' role with the Maple Leafs, if the team can win with Matthews and William Nylander as the best players and Matthews undergoing MCL surgery.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
With corporate traveler, you get a dedicated travel expert and 24-7 support.
So business travel feels effortless.
Big meetings land.
Business grows.
With corporate traveler, the booking is just the start.
Search corporate traveler today.
This hour of overdrive is powered by Fanduil.
Fandu, bringing you everything from the opening line to the final score.
All right, here we go, overdrive off and running.
TSN 1050 on the TSN app, your home smart speaker, up on TSN2,
on YouTube live on TSN's YouTube channel, Brian Hayes, Jonas Siegel, and Kara Waglin in here.
This is an interesting crowd in there.
We haven't, I don't know, have you guys ever worked together?
We did from my memory.
Do you remember the show we did?
I remember, of course, it's like, it's like seared into my mind one of the worst days of my life.
It was a COVID show from home, right?
Oh, yeah.
Well, I don't know if it was COVID.
I remember I was at home.
And I remember you came in with the hottest of hot takes.
Was it Juan Soto?
Oh, that one.
I'm thinking something else.
I was the best hitter you've ever seen in your lifetime, and I almost vomited.
So you're telling me there's a different dark past you have connected to Carrow.
We lost.
Yeah.
Carro.
That was in the studio.
Very, very good at trivia.
Jeff, I think, was wearing a big helmet.
Right.
You had the mac and roll.
I had the headband on and Kara was running the whole operation.
That's right.
That was a long time ago.
That was before COVID.
She's talking about one of your takes, which I appreciate.
which I appreciate
I'm glad it's
stuck with you
because it was such
I stick with it
I think it's true
you married yourself
to that take
and you were going down
with that ship
I respect it
Juan Soto
the greatest hitter
you've ever seen
I mean
it can only be true
because it's what I've seen
right I understand that
you're entitled to that opinion
are we including video
like YouTube video
you may have seen
a Barry Bonds or something
I went to
I've seen Barry Bonds
in person
yeah so I went to a game
Dodger Stadium
and this was like
peak bonds.
He was walked four times and then he hit a double.
And I was like, oh, that was great.
So you didn't really get to see the full effect.
Remember they were just walking him all that means it doesn't count?
Like, that means you can't include him because you didn't see it.
That's a great.
Like, he still hit a double.
He had to reconsider.
He hit a double.
He was that impressive.
He was cheating, though.
How?
And he was a jerk.
Oh, okay.
So it's a personal thing.
This is the issue I have.
This is why you're-
He's the guy keeping people out of the Hall of Fame right now.
This is Hall of Fame sanctimony.
should be in the Hall of Fame. Hall of Fame sanctimony in a nutshell.
Should.
Should. Okay.
But he did cheat.
Everybody did. Almost everybody did.
Yeah, I guess.
I mean, there are some guys who got through and are in and you're like, how did that guy get in there?
Wasn't he a part of the whole thing?
Like, wasn't there some, and I'm not going to name names necessarily, but I think most people.
Yeah, exactly.
And listen, it's a museum in the end, right?
And there's been a lot of different examples for maybe how you get around it.
Like, do you put a, do you set up?
you set up a separate kind of wing for steroid users.
Yeah, I don't know.
Like, you know, and then the whole Pete Rose stuff comes up.
Like you see today, their MLB's got to deal with Pauly Market.
That's the big one that's tough.
Like, everyone's good to be gambling.
And Pete Rose, it's like, no, Pete, not doing it.
And I get it.
Like, Pete, you know, you're a manager and you're gambling on baseball,
clearly a problem.
And I do not believe for a second he wasn't betting against his own team.
I've never believed that.
Against?
he always claimed he only bet that they were going to win.
There's no way that was true.
I don't believe that for a second.
But it's murky now.
And, you know, that's my whole point.
Like when I made my somewhat infamous statement,
like it's a hall with some plaques in it,
it's a hall with some plaques in there.
It's a very ignorant comment.
Have you been to Cooperstown?
I have.
Have you?
Brilliant place.
It's cool.
Brilliant.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's an incredibly cool place.
It's a great town.
Like, that's all it is, is the museum.
Like, there's nothing.
else in Cooperstown. It's a hall with some plaques in there. Okay. That's like very similar to the
Manfred. It's a trophy that's a piece of metal or whatever. Like that ranks up there with that one.
Totally. Now, I'm not the commissioner of the league handing out that trophy. But the point I was making
with that was what you did on the field of play is why you're in the Hall of Fame. Like the Hall of
Fame is just a commemoration of everything you've earned through your career. And that was my
point being is even if you're not in there, it doesn't mean I didn't witness you as a
Hall of Fame player.
And Bond's the best example of that.
Sure, you're not in Cooperstown.
You're a Hall of Famer in my eyes because I saw you.
And I know exactly what you did.
And I knew exactly what you represented.
So in your heart.
Yes.
And I think in the hearts of many.
The eyes of many, if you watch the guy play, there's like I'd argue in his three or four
year prime there, like when he was really rocking, I don't know if there's ever been a more
dominant athlete ever in any sport.
Higer included, Jordan included.
And bonds?
Yes, relatively speaking.
Barry Bonds probably could have made the Hall of Fame if he never used.
Justin Pittsburgh.
He was so good before.
He was just a different kind of player.
Right.
He didn't have the same power.
He smaller, the stolen bases.
He could have made it either way.
He didn't necessarily need you.
But anyway, choices were made.
Steve Phillips made the best point when it came to the Hall of Fame that I've ever heard.
He argued that the Hall of Fame should tell the story of baseball.
And you can't tell the story of baseball,
without the guys who put up the numbers during the stairway,
you just can't.
Yeah, exactly.
McGuire, Sosa, they're infamous.
And I guess the argument is the hall will be there in hundreds of years,
and those guys will just be forgotten in time,
and I guess that is possible.
But as of right now, we're still in the middle.
Some will be looking at the home run leaders and be like,
who's Barry Bond?
Yeah, who is that?
Why isn't he in here?
That is this, yeah.
It's kind of crazy.
I do like that you think he bet on his own team,
because I was thinking, like, if you were going to bet on the show
and you could just tank the show, would you do it?
it and you'd be like, yeah, probably.
Well, it's not even about tanking necessarily as a manager.
It's just knowing what's coming.
You know, like I know who's on the mound from me, stinks, and he's hung over.
Just keep him in an extra inning.
And I'm just going to hammer the opposition here.
Like, it's just, it's right in front of you.
But I could do that with this show.
Like, if I show up and I'm like, I know, oh, it's just in a brutal mood today, I'm betting
awful show.
Like, if there's a polymarket for that, there will be.
You can bet great show awful show.
I could possibly.
With money on worse ever.
Yeah, I know, like, news.
has been flying, he took a red eye in.
It's not going to be good.
And listen, I'll look myself in the mirror.
I can look at myself and say, I got nothing today.
I just know it.
No energy, no takes.
That would be something.
Imagine that controversy.
Bell Media host.
Scandal.
Scandal.
Betting against good program.
So how do we feel about the Hall of Excellence?
How about that?
Oh, the level.
Well, it's no longer the level of excellence.
So the Js, Mark Shapiro,
and the Jays blasted out of video today.
that the level of excellence, which has been around forever,
well, not forever, but it's been around for quite some time with the dome,
and it just kind of goes around the rim of the dome.
I don't even know how to explain.
The interior of the field.
The interior of the field, yes.
Yeah, and you can see it.
It's above the 200 level, I guess, and all the names are up there.
Not that many names.
Yeah, there's not a lot.
Is it?
Let me, that's me.
Trivia.
Okay.
Steve?
Yes.
Delgado?
Yes.
Batista?
Yes.
Yes.
Holiday.
Yes.
Gaston?
Yes.
Cito's up there.
Is that it?
No.
Joe Carter.
Joe Carter's up there.
Hernandez, I think, is up there.
I think Tony Fernandez is up there.
Alamar was and they took him down.
I think Paul Beeston might be up there.
Yes.
I believe Beeston is.
And I would guess Gillick is up there too.
I think Gillick's up there.
I don't love it.
They're moving it to a Hall of Excellence,
which is effectively like a museum within the park.
but you can only see it when you're walking on the 100 concourse, right?
Yeah, it's going to be out, I think, in the right field, like 100 concourse.
It's much less visible.
There's something to me, and I would always find when I'm at the dome watching a game,
my eye would always be drawn to a level of excellence,
and you kind of go along and you read it.
It's just a really nice way to kind of show up from the rooftops.
These are the best of the best that we had that made an impact in our organization.
And it kind of feels to me like they're hiding it away a little bit.
Well, two more guys.
I was going to say George Bell.
He's up there.
and Tom Cheek is up there.
And then Buck Martinez is going in.
That was announced today.
Buck is not going to be a part of the level of excellence.
He's going into the Hall of Excellence.
I actually don't mind this.
I understand what you're saying because it is cool that when you kind of walk into the park,
the names pop and you see them and you're familiar with them.
I think kind of a museum, and I'm curious to see what it looks like.
And I'm curious to know if this was always the plan.
Like they've gone through all of these renovations.
Why didn't you do this a year ago?
Or two, like when you unveiled all the new, the new park, so to speak, why didn't you just do it then?
I'm not quite certain.
The cynic in me would suggest that is prime real estate where the level of excellences
and they're selling that.
Yeah.
Like there is, the cynic in me, call me crazy.
Because if you go into that park and you guys have both been down there and it is glaring
how many advertisements are all over the park.
Like there is not a square inch in that field.
Well, like, aren't the new bars?
Like, isn't it the Corona?
Everything's got a name on it.
it, everything.
So I have to believe they're looking at that, Sam,
we could possibly use that and strap someone's name on it,
makes some money.
But then you even just branded as the Coors Light level of excellence and leave it out
it is?
But isn't that cheapening it?
I don't know.
Like you're going to sponsor the level of excellence, though?
Like Cooperstown Hall of Fame brought to you by Corzell?
Yeah, exactly.
Exactly.
Like I think at some point you've got to draw the line.
But I actually, I think if they do this right,
and I will say this, what Mark Shapiro and the Blue Js
have done over the last few years with the park
and obviously where they are today in the
terms of the reputation among the fans
compared to where they were this time last year.
I have a belief that they will get it
right, that it will look classy and it will pop.
I think there's something to that.
What they've done with the renovation is they're trying to get people
to move around the park.
That's basically what they've done.
Like with a lot of the bars and the standing
room onlys, like they're trying to make it
more of an atmosphere, a layback atmosphere.
it's not only about the game, you can go and hang out.
And I think that's a part of what they're promoting here,
is get down to the game early, walk around,
go check out the Hall of Excellence before you get your seats.
Yeah, exactly.
I want to sit and watch for three hours.
And I think there's something to that.
Like I agree with your assessment here of like the reaction to seeing the names,
but that's it.
There's no experience to it.
You see the name and then you sit down where this,
if they do it right and make it a history of the club
and a museum within the park,
I actually think it has the chance
to really pop and look pretty cool.
Doesn't Yankee Stadium have monuments park?
Yes, that monument park.
Which is at the back, but it's actually cool.
It's incredibly cool.
You're not going to replicate that.
Well, I guess you could.
Yeah, it's kind of the Yankees kind of own that.
But, yeah, I mean, you go to Yankee Stadium,
you go to Fenway, you go to any of the,
you go to Wrigley, Dodger Stadium.
And I think it speaks to the history of the Jays.
Like, I was thinking about it today
when it was announced that, you know, they're 50 years in.
Yeah.
Like, they've got a great rich history where at the same time, I'm sure, you know, if you were
born in the 60s or prior to it, they'd still, there'd still always be a kind of new feel
to them because they didn't exist when you were born.
Like, if you're born in the 40s or 50s or 60s, like, I have that experience with the
Raptors.
They've been around for 30 years.
They still feel relatively new to me.
They do.
Yeah, because, like, I grew up without.
them. I remember when they started. I remember going down to games. I was at the draft when they took Damon Stathomier. And I remember it vividly. And yet they're 30 years in. It still feels kind of new in a weird way. But 30 years for the wraps, 50 years with the J's, like that's a long, rich history that you should promote, right? Why did you go to the draft? It was at the dome. Oh. Yeah. It was at the dome. They were, I believe, given out tickets for free. I went down with a buddy and his old.
their brother and we stuck around until probably the 12th or 13th pick and got out of there.
But it was, we're in the 500th level.
Damon Stodermeyer, they picked.
It was at the dome.
Wow.
That's really fun.
Yeah.
I agree with Carol.
I like looking up and like thinking about, oh, Delgado, I love Delgado.
Yeah.
And now it's just gone.
I don't know that it's enough of a draw for people to be like, let's go and walk through
the hall of excellent.
Yeah.
You know, let's take a minute out of the ball game.
Yeah.
And just go check out the hall.
Yeah.
I think when it was the level of excellence, it was right there.
You could easily, yeah, I don't know.
I'm a proponent of it.
And shout out to Buck Martinez.
That's pretty cool that he's going in, and obviously very well deserved,
considering his history with the team.
But on the J's, the news today, Trey is Savage, will start the year on the IL.
I don't think anyone can be remotely surprised by this.
No.
Because of the way they've been handling them.
A touch concerned when I woke up to that news.
But then you saw it came out to you that his arm's feeling better and he's just not ready to go.
Which I will...
You don't believe it?
No, no.
Well, I don't know.
I mean, I'll believe it when I see him pitch.
You know, like I'm sure it is feeling better.
He's still pitching.
He's still working out.
I don't, like, this is more of a timeline in terms of them breaking camp and him not pitching for them early.
And he has not pitched in a spring training game.
So it was a scenario where, again, there was some speculation.
Does he start on a pitch count?
Do they kind of piggyback with Lauer?
And they're, you know, it's almost like he's an opener.
and Lauer comes in in the third, fourth inning.
That never really made a ton of sense to me.
And I'm not, I'm just saying I'm bracing for it maybe being a couple weeks.
Maybe it's a month.
I don't think they have an answer on when you savage will be ready.
100%.
The way I looked at it, and maybe I'm just the ever optimist right now with the Jays after what
they came off with reason he biased.
But if the tradeoff for getting what we experienced in the World Series run was what we're
dealing with now, I'll take it every day of the week.
And I think from what it sounds like is
I mean Kevin Gossman said his arm wasn't bouncing back the way
he thought it would coming into camp
It's an issue he showed up to camp with
Now for all intents and purposes
What we're hearing now is the arm is feeling better
There's no issue he's just got to ramp up now
So that to me is encouraging
And if that's the tradeoff for what he was able to do
So unexpectedly in the World Series run I'm happy with it
Yeah they knew this was coming
Like he said he showed up to camp
and knew his shoulder wasn't feeling right.
Gosman did an interview, I think, with Fowell Territory
and said that it just wasn't popping for him.
Like, he knows his body.
He knew he didn't feel at 100%.
They were going to take it easy.
Where it compounds is that Bieber's not ready.
We don't know when he will be.
And now Burrios is not ready.
So Lauer steps in to the rotation.
And Lauer had a really good run last year.
Like a really good run.
He was their best pitcher for the first.
They need him in the middle.
Absolutely.
Like he was a savior for them
kind of early and middle parts of the season.
And this is why you go and bring Scherzer back in.
So you're going to have Gosman opening day
probably sees Cody Ponce. Ponce's been really good in spring training.
So those are your three guys.
And then Scherzer you see what you can get.
Lauer, you see what you can get.
And then the other three guys will see when they return.
What is your level of concern?
Play the game.
In terms of the overall season?
The pitching staff.
Rotation.
I'm like a, a,
six pack in a pint.
Like I'm not overly concerned because they, this is why you have depth.
The top three guys, I'm very confident in.
Shursar I still think can give them something.
It's just not going to be 30 starts.
So, yeah, I mean, this was going to be likely going to be their bright spot.
Like what they were leaning on is the rotation.
You know, ask me in a month.
Like if Beaver's still not close, if you're still on the IL, it could be a different
story.
Bieber is the only one of the concerns, but I'm
stone sober on this.
Like, I have zero level of concern.
Wow.
This team right now with this pitching staff to me is planning for October,
which makes me feel great.
That's a good call.
If that's what we're planning for,
right?
For sure, they have to get there.
But they're planning for October.
They made the additions in the offseason they needed to make.
They're not as healthy as they'd like.
I'd rather them have health concerns in spring training at the start of the year
than at the all-star break or in the back end.
So I feel great.
Feeling great.
And to that point, like if Bieber misses the first half,
But you have them in the playoffs.
Like, what do you?
But you have to make the playoffs.
Then he might be more fresh.
They are in the playoffs.
I guess that was last year.
Very tough division.
Oh.
Very tough division.
I don't know if you guys are aware of that.
Heard that rumor.
Very tough division.
But yeah, and their bullpen.
You know, it's interesting is like Jeff Hoffman is just returning as they're closer.
Quite a one's talking about it.
Like everyone's like, yeah, I'm not.
Can you imagine like the leaf equivalent of that?
It would be all we talked about.
Running it back with the same team.
Like if a goalie just got lit up in games.
seven goals was terrible.
Yeah.
We would be talking about it.
They're just like, no, he's our guy.
Yeah, he's just our guy.
And I think there's a hope,
possibly a belief,
they will address it before the trade deadline,
that they'll go and acquire someone
that maybe pushes Jeff Hoffman down.
And also you never know.
I'm okay with that.
You get into the season,
you see who's performing out of the pen,
and you might be able to shift some guys around.
Closer, though.
Like if Arland's not a closer,
Rogers is not a closeer.
I don't know.
Yeah, I mean, listen, they've got a deep enough bullpen, I think, to be fine.
And bullpins are very precarious year over year.
You never really know what you're going to get or how it's going to look.
But it is interesting, Hoffman is just right back in that spot.
We're just going to run it back.
Yeah, we're just going to run it back.
Don't worry about last year in the ninth inning against the Dodgers.
I wanted to ask you guys about that.
I remember last year at this time we were talking about, like, can the Dodgers win 120 games?
Remember that conversation?
Yeah.
We talked about it on the show.
They got the best closer.
on the market. They got the best
outfielder and hitter on the market.
Shohei's going to be pitching like the whole year.
Are they, like, why aren't we talking about that now?
Is it just nobody's winning 120 games?
Yeah, like why is it not? I just think it's unreasonable.
It's never going to happen. Well, I mean, the record's 116, I believe,
the Mariners. And like to do that is just, and I think like what Kara said,
like everything is planned for October with the Dodgers.
Right. You know, it's like if they,
They're not purposely trying to lose or anything like that,
and they're going to win 90-plus games.
But I just don't see them being obsessed with chasing a record like that.
No, they're going to rest Freddie Freeman when they need to,
and they're going to rest Shohei when they need to.
Yeah, you're right.
It's just a tough sport to win.
Like, 120 games is crazy.
Out of 162, yeah.
Yeah.
Like, I don't know what is the second most wins of all time?
Like, I feel like Seattle blew past the record.
Like, I remember the socks a few years ago.
I had 108, I think.
I don't know.
The previous record 115 and they barely passed it.
I don't know.
Look that up, do you find out if you can get a stat on the chances of setting a record for wins and majors.
There's got to be a polymarket on that now.
Probably.
Maybe Fandrell supplies something like that.
You'd have to get huge plus odds.
What do you think the over under for their wins is?
103?
No, I'll bet you're not that high.
Yeah, it's probably 99 and a half.
I would say that's pretty fair.
They were a wild card team last year.
Yeah, but they started so well.
Division, too.
Like, they're, yes, the fact that they didn't win more regular season games, but I think
that's more the way they manage their regular season.
But, yeah, I could see.
Okay.
I'm not betting against the Dodgers.
Like, they're the best team in the league, clearly.
Yeah.
And they got better.
They got better.
Yes, they got undoubtedly better.
Yeah, it's, uh, that's more what we're going to be talking about as they get closer to a new
CBA.
That we hate them?
I love them.
You love them?
Yeah.
This is worse than the Juan Soto take.
It warms my heart.
I don't know.
A, I like watching their team.
Like, I like being up late, watching.
I just enjoy it.
I enjoy their team.
The only person who wants to be up late watching baseball.
Yeah, I don't know why.
It's very, like, quiet.
I like going to Dodger Stadium.
And I like, like, a big team that's just awesome.
And one thing I never understood with this,
why are people not mad at the owners of the other teams that they don't spend?
Like, why are we not talking about Pittsburgh and Oakland and, like,
all these places where they're just, like, just pocketing the rest of
revenue sharing. I love the Dodgers.
Do you not enjoy parody in the league?
Like, other teams having a chance?
But that's not their fault.
Is it? Here, one more thing.
I think they have the second best farm system in the sport.
Yeah, they draft.
So, like, they just do everything.
No, I totally agree.
I think dynasties generally are very good for sports.
I did.
Like parity, the reach for parity puts you in a very muddy position.
Like, I know the NFL, although the NFL doesn't have parity.
Like the Patriots have dominated for 25 years.
Yes.
You know, it's overstated with the NFL.
Like in the AFC, I believe the AFC championship games had the Pats and the Chiefs exclusively or like, you know, 95% of the time the last 15 years or 20 years.
So it's totally overstated.
The NBA, look what the NBA is doing.
Like they're chasing parity and they're in a worse place today than they have been in forever.
Remember when we had Golden State in Cleveland every year?
It was like, I don't know.
I love that.
No, exactly.
I don't mind the really good teams.
Like the Dynasty teams, I guess it's more what really bothers me
is you know every single free agent is going to the doctor.
Right, but to Jonas's point,
that gets old to me.
Someone else can spend.
Like someone else can give someone.
A lot of these guys got offered more money
and they just chose to go to a team that's going to contend for a world
championship and they get to live in L.A.
Yeah, well, I hear you.
But like it was pointed out during the World Series last year
that like Freddie Freeman would have happily stayed in Atlanta.
didn't pay them. Yes. I mean, that was a ball drop.
The Red Sox traded
mokey bets. Yeah. Right?
Like it wasn't like the Dodgers
said, we're giving you more money. Blake Snell
was there for anybody. He won't
Sy Young's and people like, we're not paying him. The Dodgers is like, fine, we'll take
you. Like last now, it was available.
You know what I'm saying? Like, it's, I get it with Yamamoto.
And that was a brilliant investment, clearly.
Yeah. But they offered $350 million,
and that's what 99% of teams aren't going to do it.
Otani was a different story.
Clearly, there's two or three teams, maybe four or five,
that would pay that kind of money.
But I think Otani would have stayed with the Angels
if they were well run.
They were not a tire fire.
Yes.
You know, what do you got for us?
We were going to the Doogie desk here.
What's up, Doogie?
So Fanduel does have that.
LA Dodgers to break MLB record
and win 117 plus regular season games
is plus 980 on the Fanduel's sportsbook app.
That's not enough for me to sprinkle on that.
What's their win total on the year?
Doogie?
103.
And a half.
Wow.
Nailed it, Jonas.
Wow.
Look at Jonas a bookmaker now.
You got a little casino at your house?
I'm betting on the show.
103.5.
I bet the under on that.
Like, I get how talented and deep they are.
It just, it's, you know, the NOS is a pretty good division, and it's a lot of games, man.
A hundred.
You got to hit the over 104 wins.
I think I'd bet the under on a win total for the Dodgers.
what's the jays
yeah
94 and the toes
yeah I would say
it's probably actually 89 and a half
or something
yeah because again
tough division
it might have been bet up
I feel like it was 89 and a half
88 and a half
for the blue jays
88 I'd take the over
I think that maybe has been bet down
I wonder if it opened higher than that
and it's plus money at this point
for 88 and a half
over
you're getting plus money on the over
so they're enticing you that's
bando kind of saying
we don't believe in this
not sure. Hey, listen, the J's, I'm optimistic. I feel good, but I've said many times over the last couple months.
You look at their last two seasons, it's a great example of how you just don't know how it's going to play out.
They overachieve last year. No one was expecting them to do that.
So there's going to be some regression to the mean. Yeah.
But if you get to 87, 88 wins, you're into the playoffs. You're not going to win the division, but you're likely a wildcard team. Close.
Again, every year's a little bit different. All right, we've got Keegan coming up from,
from Florida. Kegan Matheson will join us on this
you savage story and how he sees the rotation
playing out, the bullpen playing out
and his take on the level of excellence coming to an end
for the Hall of Excellence. We'll see where Keegan
has to stay on that. Carlos coming up. Koliakville will be in studio as well.
We've got some big games in the NHL tonight.
The Leafs had their fan day down at Scotia Bank. Jonas,
were you down there fanning it up? I was not.
Oh, okay, that's disappointing.
We'll tell you more about that.
And Kara's in here, Jonas in here.
Overdrive continues.
TSN 1050 and on TSN2.
With corporate traveler, you get a dedicated travel expert and 24-7 support.
So business travel feels effortless.
Big meetings land.
Business grows.
With corporate traveler, the booking is just the start.
Search corporate traveler today.
It's playoff time in the NPHL Metropolitan Branch.
Allison and Strathroy are still going head to head while Orangeville and Six Nations battle for
spot in the finals. This is
playoff hockey. This is the
NPHL.
All right, overdrive
continues, powered by Fandau,
bringing you more ways to play your game your way.
Kegan Matheson and just over
half an hour, Carlo Colley Ackville will join us
for a little roundtable. Big games
in the NHL tonight. Leaves are off.
They're back in action tomorrow.
Ottawa, taking on the Islanders tonight.
It's a big game. Off loss.
Last night. Yeah. That one
stings. That, did you see
that Cole Hudson?
Yes. Oh, man.
Oh, man. It can be pretty good.
Unreal. Pretty good. Well, that's it.
Like, Washington's got, they got a couple
of young kids on that team and young kids
coming, right? They did a great job.
Like, you talk about, like, I mean, we're
talking about it all the time, like, retool, rebuild,
re-whatever. They, like, reshape
their roster, and it's like, how did they
do this? And yet, they're going to miss
playoffs likely this year.
There you go. Hard.
It's very tough, Jonas.
I saw you, you write, what were you writing
today? You and CJ
had very compelling articles.
DJ wrote about Matthews.
And does he have an overall thesis on how he sees it playing out?
I don't need to speak on behalf of CJ.
You should go read the article.
I was perusing it earlier today.
It's very much TVD, which is an insane place for them to be where it's like they don't know.
After the season, I guess they'll sort out what he wants.
And I think that gets to what I wrote, which is like, if you're going to keep him,
you're going to have to, like, fix it.
Like, you're not tearing the whole thing down,
which I actually think is what they should do.
You think they should keep him and...
Yes.
And it doesn't seem like...
Or less than, like, two-year kind of turnaround and just rebuild around them.
We kind of get better words than, like, retool and rebuild.
Yeah, that's fair.
I wish I had something else, but...
Tweak.
Tweak.
That's their selling pitch to Matthews.
We think, yeah, we're going to tweak things here.
You're going to tweak something?
But I just don't, I just don't think tearing it down makes sense.
Yeah.
That's where I landed.
Yeah, and it sounds like Matthews going to have surgery now.
And Barube said today that they're going to have an announcement on that relatively soon,
which if he's going to have surgery, like get on it, right?
Like, I'm sure there's some swelling and stuff.
Yeah, I remember Jason Tatum got hurt in the finals game?
And I think he had surgery like that day or that night or something in the next day.
Right.
It's like Santander.
It's like, I'll just put my feet up for a while.
You know, play some golf and then actually...
What I think is wrong here?
Yeah, maybe I should get some surgery.
How about we get going with this so we can rehab and get back?
but it does sound like he'll have surgery
and he'll be fine for the opening
of next season or certainly of training camp.
Do you think, and I don't think this is being discussed enough,
you know, like that's through the purview of like the Leafs
don't know what he's going to be thinking or what he wants.
Do you think the Leafs know the player he's going to be the rest of his career?
How could they?
Isn't that important to point out?
But I think this is like, isn't that something that they kind of need to put their finger on
and try to get a read on?
What do you guys think he is?
Like, if you were them and you're like, what is he going to be?
What is he?
Just overall.
Yeah, like, what do they have for the next five years?
I'm the wrong person to us because Leaves Nation is going to jump down my throat.
I think he's a fantastic regular season player, but disappears in big moments.
Okay.
And whether it be NHL playoffs, four nations, he was better in the Olympics.
Wasn't the guy.
He just disappears for me in big games when you need him.
and even in the regular season last two years,
it's not what it had been in the previous five or six years.
Do you have an answer on that, Jonas?
What I think he is?
I think that it's fair.
I think it's a totally fair.
This is two years now of wondering where he is.
Here's the thing, if you look at last year and it didn't look good,
it wasn't good, I think he still scored at a 40-ish goal pace
and like a 90-point base.
Really a good player.
Great player.
Awesome defensively.
So to me, I feel like he's suddenly become underrated here,
where people are like, well, he's not what he used to.
It's like, yeah, what he was for that peak is like nothing ever we've seen in the NHL.
What they potentially...
Just relax, Jonas.
What are you talking about?
Has there ever been a 69 goal score who was nominated for the Selkie trophy?
I don't think so.
You're saying we've never seen anything like Austin Matthews.
Tell me who.
So, Wayne Gretzky.
Have you heard of him before?
You're missing the point.
You're missing the point.
No, I'm not missing the point.
That type of player.
What type of player?
A two-way center?
An elite, elite.
elite, elite goal scorer, who's also
one of the best of this position,
positioned defensively.
Tell me who else did that.
Exactly.
There isn't anyone.
But yet he still hasn't found the success.
A hundred percent.
I'd say two things can be true.
You're still in the school of thought
that Austin Matthews is not the problem.
We should keep changing the things around him.
Yes.
Whereas I feel like we're getting to that point very quickly
where we've changed everything around him.
What else are you really going to do?
I feel like if you have a 40 goal scorer who's
awesome defensively as your number one center.
I'd take that 100 times.
No question.
Now, shouldn't be the second highest paid player in the league.
But that's, that ship is still.
He's signed.
Yeah.
No, I don't disagree when he was at, like, his peak.
I don't disagree with you.
Again, though, the peak, I think the problem people have is that two years ago,
McDavid had peaked, he's still peaking.
Kutrov had peaked.
He's still peaking.
McKinnon and Drysettel.
Like, it has been such a drop off from where it was.
But there's so many things that go into that, right?
like there's his health, there's the coaching, there are his teammates, there's his
line mates, there's that, like, there's just so much.
Now they've changed the teammates, they've changed the coaching, they've worsened all that stuff.
Okay.
So like if you, what would you like to see the Leafs change in throughout the next two seasons
to convince Austin Matthews to stay and that it's going to make the team better out?
There's a lot.
That's the, and that's like where I get is it even reasonable to be able to do it.
I think it's reasonable that if you make, they've made a lot of negative moves.
if you start making positive moves in a series,
or even just don't do things that are bad,
the team is going to be better.
I think, I mean, this is what we're going to talk about.
If you had a better coach or a different coach,
you can say Craig Brubay is a great coach,
like it hasn't gone well here.
If you had a top coach or a better coach
or a coach who works better with these players,
they are a better team.
I think people have understandably gotten so down on this team,
and I just don't think it's as bad as it is now.
I don't think it was as good as it was last year.
I don't think they were a 108-point team.
I don't think they were as good as people thought they were,
but I don't think they're this bad.
No, I would agree with you.
I think there's separate conversations, though,
that can be had on this front.
Like, the one you're having,
the one that you're pitching,
is you can get back to a respectable level in the league,
which...
Next year, and then the year after,
I think then you're thinking...
Okay, let me ask you this question, though,
because I think you stand...
You have the same belief with Matthews and Nylander, right?
do you believe it's possible
with everything we've known, and this is not a small sample size,
this isn't projecting if Matthew Schaefer can be the man,
or if Salabrini's going to be a dog throughout his career,
and I've used the term dog in a positive light,
do you believe you can win
be a championship caliber team with Austin Matthews and William Neander
as your two best players leading the way?
Is there enough data in your opinion?
Can they be two of your four best players?
Do they have to be the two best?
Well, you think you're fine.
You're talking about Matthews as the most unique player in the history of the game.
You're going to find two guys better than him.
The Juan Soto of the NHL.
Yeah, you're going to find two guys better than those two players?
How are they getting those two guys?
With a tweaking retool on the fly.
I think if you can make the roster around them better,
if you can get a number two center who takes some of the pressure off Matthews.
Who like Tavares was seven years ago?
Sure.
Do you believe this?
Yes. You believe a Stanley Cup can be won with Matthews and Nylander being the
top dogs and running the room.
Yes, with like an asterisk because it depends on
so much else, right? Who's the coach?
Who did they get on defense? Who have they added
up front? Have they gotten more speed?
Like, what does Matthew Nyes become?
Is he and Cowan become like something better
than like, I don't know what he's going to be?
There's just so much unknown. I just think
I think we're getting, I get it.
It's deserved. It's been a terrible season.
They haven't formed in the playoffs. Like there's a lot
that goes into it.
And I hesitate to bring this up. But like, people
said the same thing about Steve Eisenman
forever. It's like this guy's not a winner, this guy can't win, can't win.
Yep.
Team was awesome, and at 32 years old he wins his first Stanley Copp.
I don't know if that's going to happen with Austin Matthews, but
DeViseman once scored 60 goals?
I think twice.
Was he up for the Salkie?
I don't think so. I actually look this up because
it's not as good. I'm right with that.
There hasn't been that.
I know, but it's such an arbitrary guideline of like only center scoring this amount
with that nomination. It's like, okay, I guess I can't challenge you on that.
It doesn't mean that.
You guys disagree, though.
No, my...
Listen, I think the Eisenman...
It's not a perfect analogy.
It's not perfect, but it's reasonable...
Now, the pushback is that was prior to the salary cap.
So it's a completely different world now.
Okay, I'll give me another one.
I mean, they didn't win, but they got to the final, like Joe Thornton, forever.
Those teams were like, they just can't get a ton in the playoffs.
They had...
The tricky thing with that is, like, they had Logan Kutura come up, and, like, he was amazing.
and like they got Joe Pavelsky
and it's like Joe Pavelsky is like the greatest
playoff player there is. They had Burns and they
had Vlasic and they had a lot. I mean
and listen that is that's
probably the better case. Now again they didn't win
but they got very similar
reputation, you know very similar
demeanor you know
in like I think Marlowe and Willie
kind of similar you know so
yeah you could use that as an example for sure
and I'm not
I think I would lean that way as well
as I'm keeping them and I'm
I'm retooling and I'm working everything else out.
It's going to take some time.
I'm just not putting the same timeline as you would put on it.
I would be going to those two players and say,
listen, this may take four or five years.
And I can't guarantee you anything.
And I'm not going to cut corners because your contract's up in two years.
That's not happening.
That ship is sale.
That may have been the case four or five years ago.
They tried it.
It didn't work.
But I honestly, I don't know if I can definitively sit here and say those two guys
with what they represent, their demeanor, their DNA,
how they operate, that if they're the top dogs in your room,
yeah, but maybe they aren't.
Maybe, like, maybe you add players.
When does it ever happen in history,
where two giants of an organization?
Literally the San Jose Sharks,
exactly, where they took the captaincy away from Joe Thornton
and gave it to Joe Pabelsky.
Again, didn't win, again, did not win.
But, but, okay, but didn't they give it to Thornton?
No, they took it from, I think they took it from both sides.
Eventually, they gave it to Pavelsky.
Yeah, they took it from.
I don't know if it was during that cup run, though, or not.
Yeah, I think it was.
Anyway, it doesn't matter.
Okay, you're using one example.
I think the whole thing, like, if you were to sum it up, to me, it's like, it depends.
It depends who they get to run the front office.
It depends who the coaches.
It depends what moves they make.
Like, if they keep making moves that are negative,
the course is gone.
Yes, of course.
If you're going to make mistakes, it doesn't matter who you have.
And you guys know, like, remember what it was like before those guys.
And it's like, who are this the best players on these teams?
It's like Kessel and Fennif.
Like, Kessel, good player.
But, like, if he's your best, you know what I mean?
He's not your best guy.
Like, I don't know.
There's so many layers they painted themselves into a corner and done such a big hole at this point that it's tough to address any one thing and think this is the thing they need to change.
No, yes.
To make it a more successful squad in the next two years.
Like to me, this is going to be, we were talking about before the show.
I think people need to buckle up.
This is going to be a minute.
It's very possible that even if you keep your main guys, that it still is going to go south.
That's the thing.
Like it could.
You could, I actually kind of think no matter which direction, like both are tricky.
like if they try to fix this
re-tweak it
it possibly probably won't work
but if you try to rebuild they could just be bad for 10 years
yeah 15 years now I do think like these players need to
take some of the responsibility themselves
again when you look at what happened with the Gouda sit and all that kind of stuff
and you can roll your eyes and say it's been overstated
that's what I'm speaking to like of their giant their their their
culture and who those two guys are.
Like Joe Thornton, you can say what you want about, he fought in his career.
Yeah, but he had a different type of reputation where it's like, is he taking it seriously enough?
Yeah, kind of laid back.
But that's like what these guys got, their reputation in a way, Willie in particular.
Sure.
But the point being is, I don't, if they're around with Tavares, like those guys are giants in that room.
They're giants.
You're never building something where it's like, you,
guys just stand over here while these new 10 players create everything that's going to happen
around you. That's not going to happen. They're not going to strip the sea from Matthew.
No. But if you add that right personalities, shouldn't they?
But they've tried out of the right personality. Oh, that part's different.
They brought in veteran guys to try and bring in and be that personality in the room to kind of
shift the culture. It hasn't worked. That's why I feel like, I feel like that's been the last
five, six years has been tweaking, bringing in different guys, bringing in veterans,
bringing in, you know, changing one little thing here,
or adding some depth on D or whatever it be,
and the tweaks aren't working.
But Hayes and I would both have said at the time,
like there was a reason to change that and they just didn't.
Like we were talking about in 2023, like, are they seriously going to,
or heck, we were talking about like 2021.
Like, are they going to do it again?
And they're like, yeah, we're going to do it again.
And they're like, yeah, they're going to do it again.
Yeah, they're going to do it.
And then it's just like, it's not like we agree.
Like, yeah.
Yeah.
Well, and one thing you can't argue,
whichever way they choose to go
with these two guys in particular
it's not as if they're being impatient
like 10 years
is an eternity in pro sports
like 10 years
is a long time
I know you're going somewhere
or are going to disagree
no I'm not again I'm not
promoting one way or the other I'm saying if they decide
we're moving all like collectively as an organization
and I would say this is a two-way street
if the players say 10 years
is enough I'm moving on
And that's reasonable too.
Doesn't mean everyone's going to love it.
But it's not as if they pull the shoe three or four years in either party.
But if they collectively, the team says, you know, we're going to move in a different direction.
You can't criticize them for being impatient.
They would have collectively concluded whether it was the right choice or not.
We'll find out five years from now, seven, eight years from now.
But it's not, you know, they used to have a history of trading a guy too early or moving.
And they did that in some cases throughout this era.
But they didn't with these guys.
They let them breathe.
They're veterans. They've given them everything.
Every opportunity in the world.
Yeah. You have enough here to conclude one way or the other
what you think is in the best interest of the franchise.
And we'll see what they end up doing.
My instincts are you keep Matthews, you keep Neelander,
and you try to turn things around,
but you do so understanding we have to load up the system.
Yes.
Like I would have a mandate.
If I took over the team today,
I would walk in there and say,
I want 30 draft picks in the next three drafts.
Wow.
Find 30 prospects and five or six have to hit.
Or you're all fired?
Yeah, sure.
It's pro sports.
It's business.
I would say find me 30 picks in the next three drafts.
It's a sleeping giant of like why this hasn't worked.
Yeah.
Or like one of them.
Which means if you're doing that,
then what you're really saying is it's a five or six year plan because those 30 picks
and the five or six guys that make it,
they're not making it in the next two years.
That I don't agree with.
Because if you look at it, but you can't get the prospects and just trade them.
You got to let go.
Well, you can do both.
But if it's a five or six year plan, why are you even bothering to keep Willian Austin around?
Like just tear it down.
Get all the picks you can get while they're in their prime.
See, even that is in.
It's no guarantee.
Yeah.
And they hold the car.
It's complicated.
It's really complicated because those guys hold control.
So you might just get back like.
But do you think even them are dying to stay here?
and run this out.
Yes. If I'm guessing, I think they both would want to stay,
but we don't know what Austin Matthews thinks.
I mean, the earthquake it would cause if, like, TJ reports in, I don't know, April
or May that he would like to go elsewhere.
Like, that's, they're in trouble.
Like, if that happened.
You can be like, wow, great, they'll trade.
It's like, good luck.
Well, there's no coming back from it either for him.
Like, once you've made, it's a massive decision in his career and his legacy.
Because if he makes that choice, there's going to be a lot of people that turn on him.
A lot of people that turn on him.
And I'm sure it means a lot to him what he represents to this city, to the market, to the fan base, to the history of the team.
And, you know, I'm sure five, six years ago, he was looking at saying, I'm a lock for Legends Row.
I'm a lock for numbers.
I'm locked for retirements.
And I'm not saying that that won't happen.
Who the hell knows what's going to happen in the future?
We're getting way ahead of ourselves.
But look at what Mitch Marner just went through.
when he was a free agent.
If you kind of demand out,
that's a different story.
That gets dicey.
Let this go to the point where he demands out
and their ability to get a return from him
because he's already said publicly that he wants out,
then that's another hit against the organization too,
against the front office,
because why weren't you having quiet conversations with him then
and trying to deal him before that went public?
And that's what they have to figure out.
It's tricky.
I hope it doesn't come to that.
Yeah, it would be a really sad way.
It would be a horrible way to finish it.
And yet maybe somewhat fitting because look where we are.
You know, it's been 10 years.
They've won two rounds and look at how dark it is right now.
You know, and it sucks.
But it's the reality of where they are.
But I still, I think you're right, Jonas, I think they'd want to stay, be committed.
Take this as a shot.
You know, like you guys challenge yourself.
Literally never miss the playoffs.
Yeah, I guess, like, be, you know, be embarrassed by it and come back with a chip on your shoulder.
And I thought that the problem is, I thought they would do that this year after the Florida series.
And after Marna left, like I was doing shows, my show, Jay, Sports Center.
I was like, I think Matthew's going to have a huge year.
And I fully believed that.
And it just didn't materialize.
You know, I thought he'd come out flying.
You're like, you want to challenge me?
Let's go.
We underrated a lot of stuff.
We underrated like Marner.
We underrated their D, their other, like, so much, his health.
Valid.
All right.
What do we got here?
Okay, so the Leafs just announced it
that Matthews has undergone surgery.
Oh, he had the surgery.
MCL knee repair surgery today in New York.
Because we were wondering, he wasn't at the fan fest thing.
And I'm like that, he'd have to be at that.
But that would explain why he wasn't because he's in New York
and he had surgery today.
Recovery time, approximately 12 weeks, so three months.
There you go.
They must have been listening to us and they said,
we've got to get you to New York and have surgery right now.
It blew him over immediately.
We're not going to Santander this thing.
we're doing it.
They make a valid point on overdrive.
We should probably have the surgery today.
Great call.
He got down in New York real quick.
There you go, Jonas.
Yeah.
All right.
So there you go.
All right.
Surgery, three months.
That sets up well.
He'll be back for training camp and ready to rock.
All right.
Keegan coming up.
Carlo coming up.
Big games in the NHL tonight.
Big Habs game,
Big Islanders game tonight.
Columbus at home against New York as well.
Overdrive continues.
TSN 1050 and up on YouTube live.
With corporate traveler,
You get a dedicated travel expert and 24-7 support.
So business travel feels effortless.
Big meetings land.
Business grows.
With corporate traveler, the booking is just the start.
Search corporate traveler today.
It's playoff time in the NPHL Metropolitan Branch.
Allison and Strapped Roy are still going head to head
while Orangeville and Six Nations battle for a spot in the finals.
This is playoff hockey.
This is the NPHL.
All right, Keegan Matheson in about 15 minutes.
March Madness officially underway.
You see LeBron last night, 41 years old.
He shot 13 for 14 from the field.
He had a couple nice dunks this week, too.
I remember one of them was last night, but just how he's still getting up?
It's crazy.
And, like, Luca's really come alive.
Like, he was almost a triple double.
I think he had 41 last night.
But, yeah, LeBron finished with 30 points on 13 of 14.
from the field that 41 years old,
the brawn became the oldest player in NBA history
to score at least 30 on 90 plus shooting by almost five years.
That was one of his best,
like nights he's had in his career.
I think he had one other night that was very similar.
Statistically, yeah.
Like a crazy man.
Wild.
Like the Lakers obviously going to the playoffs.
Yep.
Big win over Houston last night.
MVP race,
I mean,
SGA's got this.
It's over.
Sucks that Kay Cunningham hurt,
so he's not even going to qualify.
No, he won't qualify. That needs to change a little bit.
They need to alter that.
Yeah, I understand.
Walk it back and admit, okay, we were wrong.
But I also understood why they put it in because it was getting carried away in the NBA.
Sure.
Like the amount of, you know, star players take a nights off.
I understand why you put a number in place, but maybe 60.
I don't know what the number should be 55, 50.
Maybe for MVP, there's no number.
Maybe.
But all NBA, it's all tied to money, though, too.
Like, if you get all NBA, you can make a lot of money.
Like, Cade's going to lose a lot of money now.
Yeah.
Like, I'm not shedding tears.
He's still making like 60 million a year or something.
But, and it's a legitimate injury.
Like his, what was it?
His lung collapse?
Yeah, lung collapse. Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Like, that's dangerous, man.
He's not playing it through that.
No.
All right, hour two coming up.
Kara Waglin in here, Jonas Siegel.
I'm Brian Hayes.
Overdrive continues.
TSN 1050 and up on YouTube live.
You've been listening to Overdrive, powered by Fanduel.
Fan duel, bringing you everything from the opening
line to the final score.
Introducing Brian Adams Radio on IHard Radio.
Hosted by Brian Adams himself.
Join me for an insider look on a wild ride through 40 years of global rock and roll.
Brian Adams Radio.
Now available on the free IHart Radio app.
Or ask your smart speaker to play Brian Adams Radio on IHart Radio.
Who's ready to rock?
Kids want to rock
I
