PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - Antitrust the process
Episode Date: January 19, 2022On this episode, Jesse and Derek discuss a 100-year-old Supreme Court antitrust ruling still impacting MLB to this day, if baseball is a business or if its something more, and paying $400 for a hat wi...th holes in it. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hello and welcome to another edition of the PHNX D-Backs podcast right here on PHNX.
My name is Derek Montia.
Of course I am known as your mayor of PHNX.
And I am joined by my vice mayor, my friend, my co-host, the one and only thunderstick Jesse Fried.
I am here back at home in the home studio, Derek, for the first time.
I love it.
Look at all those decorations.
I know.
I know.
Oh, my God.
There might be more coming, too.
So stay tuned on that front.
Yeah.
You'll catch up with.
me eventually and this entire mess that I have going on behind me. But I'm excited to see.
I'm excited that you're home safe from your travels. I will be traveling soon myself.
And I hope to also stay safe. But it's a crazy world out there. And you never know.
So I'm just happy. I'm always happy you're safe. I'm always worried about you. Jesse.
I worry you don't eat enough. I worry you don't get enough sleep at night.
But I want to remind everybody that this show is brought to you by the fine folks of the
Draft King Sportsbook app. Go download the Draft King Sportsbook app right now.
Let's just forget everything that happened last night.
I might have said some things.
You might have said some things.
Yeah, let's just all forget it.
But in regards to the teams that are left in professional football playing,
we don't have to specify which ones.
But Draft Kings is counted down to Super Bowl 56 and you can get 56 to one odds on any team.
You bet just $5 and you will get $280 in free bets if your team wins.
And that's using our code of PHNX.
Jesse, I have to wonder something.
I have to wonder something.
And there's a lot of talk on the social media about baseball, being a business or not.
And I have to ask a question, a really simple question that I think everybody needs to kind of come to an agreement on.
Is baseball a business or is it something more?
Is it something more than a business?
And we say this because of what's happening right now with the lockout.
Right now the owner's proposal, which was universally laughed at by the Players Association.
and of course they were expecting to be lowballed out the gate.
We talked about negotiations and how nobody really should have expected to get this deal done
in a timely, reasonable amount of time.
But I say that because now we're at a point where people are discussing what the owners want,
what the owners are trying to get, and they are kind of framing it around the idea that
baseball is just a business that's meant to make money like,
any other business, right? And I've, I've even been guilty of saying that myself or at least
saying that baseball teams run their teams like they're a business and nothing more. We've,
we've seen it across all sports where there's been teams that didn't perform very well due to
the owner, basically the owner in charge of that team and the way they chose to run it. In some
cases, winning and winning championships is not a priority for some owners. And I'm sure that's the
case for some owners in baseball. I'm sure there are some owners in baseball. I'm sure there are some
owners in baseball that have kind of maybe even given the idea of their team being very
competitive and winning championships and merely running their team as a business.
I think a lot of our audience members would probably claim that Ken Kendrick is one of those
owners, right? If I had a, if I had a dollar, if I had a dollar, Derek, for every,
every tweet I've received over the offseason that made some sort of joke about Ken Kendrick only
caring about his baseball card.
You wouldn't be on this podcast.
You would have quit already because you would have made enough money that you would
be financially sound and wouldn't need to work anymore going forward.
Right.
I would be retired.
Absolutely.
So, yeah, I mean, I don't know if I would quite go that far.
I think there's a fine line between an owner that genuinely doesn't care at all about winning
and an owner that's not willing to push the envelope in order to win, right?
I mean, the diamond back's going out there and spending a couple hundred million
dollars would maybe be a little bit out there in some respects. And I know there are people who
would make the case, you know, Ken Kendrick is, you know, a billionaire. And, you know, he has the money.
He could make this happen if he really wanted to. And so that's why the debate goes on of,
you know, this question of if you are a major league owner, is it your job, regardless of what
kind of revenue is coming in? Is it your job to go out there and just spend whatever it takes to
win. And the difficulty with that is it's, it's kind of hard for us to figure out exactly what
these teams bring in, right? We don't really have a very clear picture of how much these teams make.
Very true. And it, and that makes it really hard to, to really point fingers at people and say,
you know, you're just pocketing all this money. I don't know if we can really say that.
You're being greedy. You're being greedy. Right. Yeah. Because we don't know. And the reason why we
don't know actually turns 100 this year, Jesse, in May this year, May 29, 2022,
an MLB antitrust exemption that was made in 1922 by the Supreme Court ruled basically that
somewhat incredulously that the business of Major League Baseball did not constitute
interstate commerce, thus made it exempt from the Sherman Act. And we've talked about this one time
a long time ago on the show.
But it basically, the Sherman Act prevents businesses from conspiring with one another
in an effort to thwart competition, right?
And that's absolutely what the owners are doing in baseball when it comes to this entire
situation.
And the collusion, the fact that the owners themselves are a side, you know, their MLB and
then there's the Players Association, right?
The fact that they're a side, right, there just states that they are conspiring.
together, right? And the fact that the owners don't have to provide us with any information about
their profits and losses or any of that information, all based on this, all based on this
ruling that is now a hundred years old and seems archaic at this point. When you talk about
baseball being an $11 billion industry, right? According to the Supreme Court, an $11 billion
industry controlled entirely by one entity is somehow,
not a business, somehow not a monopoly.
And it's wild, right?
The judge apparently back in 1922 that was particularly adamant about this,
said that baseball was personal effort,
not related to production.
It's not subject of commerce.
Are you kidding me?
Do you know how much I paid?
You know how much I paid for those hats?
You mean you tell me that that's not commerce?
Those are $45 a piece, Jesse, and that's before taxes and shipping.
Are you kidding me?
Like, it's absurd because it's kind of like saying, I don't know, anything else that's grown to be this massive thing is not a business, right?
I, again, you know I love talking about professional wrestling on this baseball podcast because I know how much our listeners are into professional wrestling.
But the reason why I want to bring it up is because it's similar to how, like, WWE,
when it was WWF or when it was WWWF and it was very, very small,
that in that time in the 70s,
it made sense that they could still call like their employees independent contractors.
But now it is also a billion dollar industry that makes all this money,
as all these TV shows had its own network, had this, had that,
you know, they sell out events in massive stadiums,
and yet somehow they kind of hold on to like baseball,
this small thinking about this thing being like this very,
small business, right? Or like, oh, well, you know, we can't, we can't operate like that anymore.
Are you kidding me? W.W.E baseball. These things have grown so big that they absolutely should be,
you know, considered a business. And they should be subject to the same type of scrutiny that any
business is by by the government, by people, by anything, I feel like. It's always felt a little
bit strange that we we know so little about what major league teams are are really spending um it and yeah
yeah MLB does have there's a lot there's a lot of archaic aspects to this game in in a lot of ways
motion in our chat rights i like how the MLB has so many old agreements and yeah yeah right like
yeah i mean i understand that this game was built in the 1800s but that doesn't mean that
it absolutely should be subject to rules and laws from the 1800s.
You need to, you know, things move along.
And I think players in the past have given up a lot.
And I understand the concept of owners, you know, still trying to hold on to the majority of the chips when it comes to this poker game that these two are playing against.
The problem is they are impacting their own product now at this point.
and you could say that they need to just shut up and play all they want,
but at the same time, right, there's,
that's kind of what the owners are betting on in a way.
They're, they, they're bargaining chip in this entire process right now
is the fact that we don't have a lot of time.
So if they try to, you know, again, drag their feet a bit like they did through
December and January, lock everybody out December 1st,
and then put the pressure on the players and make it look like the players are the ones
that aren't agreeing to their ridiculous updated CBA that doesn't address the things the players
want addressed.
Now, again, it looks like the ball is in the players court, and now if there's any delays,
it's going to be on the players.
I wouldn't be surprised every time a proposal comes back from the owners.
It's relatively quickly in regards to, you know, coming back with something after the players
come back to them with something.
But, you know, the biggest thing here is this is going to,
drag on. And unfortunately,
you know, something
that a lot of people, including us, have been screaming
about, is that this
is turning into,
it's going to turn into a ridiculous soap opera.
Of course, that's why we call it
on this show, as
the cactus turns.
And unfortunately, we don't have any
exciting updates on this week's
episode of As the Cactus Terns, other than
people are going in on John Boy
about some things he said, and we'll talk about that
in a second. But before we get to that,
I did want to talk about this quote.
And this is actually a really good quote from Joe Sheehan at underscore Joe Sheehan,
his website, joe shehan.com.
And Joe writes, of course, excuse the language here,
but dude, they're running a business just like anyone else and they get to make a profit.
Here's the thing.
No, they're fucking not.
A baseball team isn't just a business.
And I know this because they don't print the grocery store standings in the paper.
There's no half hour show recapping the day in car dealerships.
Your kid didn't ask for an Albertson's jersey this Christmas with her favorite checkout clerk's name on the back.
And this resonates with me, Jesse.
I think this is why, again, you have to say at times that baseball isn't a business.
It's more than a business.
It's more important than being a business.
And I guess maybe the problem is that they're treating it like a business.
that's interesting i mean you hear what's funny to me is that you hear players refer to the game
as a business pretty frequently you know like it's it's kind of the the catch-all phrase you know
when a player wants to resign somewhere but it doesn't work out you know they'll say well it's it's a
business you know i understand they're doing what they have to do so i mean i think i understand
the argument and i think it's a i think it's a good one it's a compelling one the baseball goes beyond
the confines of what we normally refer to as a business. But in some respect, I think it kind of
does operate that way, right? I mean, players make a certain amount of money and it kind of,
I mean, teams decide whether they're going to keep players or move on from players or non-tender
players or trade players. They make all those decisions in the same ways that a lot of businesses
make decisions, right? Businesses decide whether they're getting enough value out of someone
for what they're paying them.
And if they're not, you know, in most businesses, you can't trade people.
That would be a little bit inhumane in most situations.
Which is, I mean, maybe that's the, you know, the biggest argument that baseball is more than a business and that we're trading people around.
That doesn't.
Trading human beings against their will.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That doesn't, that doesn't really pass the sniff test.
But, excuse me.
Yeah, I think it's just a weird.
it's hard to say.
I mean, there's something about what we normally refer to as businesses that baseball kind of does reflect, but you're right that it also is more than that.
Yeah.
Mark in our comments writes, how long do you think it will take to come to an agreement, April or May?
God, I hope not, Mark.
I hope not.
And I don't think so.
I don't think it'll take that long to come to an agreement.
but I can't speak on how long it's going to impact the season,
how long it's going to take to get to the regular season.
We've said it a few times on the show,
but baseball, you just can't go.
You know, it's like when a pitcher is healthy again
and he's cleared medically,
he can't just go.
He has to start basically almost like a spring training process
from the beginning with backlock games,
simulated games.
They'll even send them maybe for a start at Reno.
for one outing or God forbid, maybe not Reno,
but Hillsborough, if it's a pitcher.
But I'm saying there's a ramp up, period, no matter what.
I think that they'll get the deal done by March.
That still to me seems like the date people are saying,
if they surpass March and they go into April,
I don't know what this means for the game of baseball.
I really don't, you know.
And again, there's been some comments online about people's
feelings about this and I completely understand the importance, especially for the players.
But one thing I will agree with that might not be a popular opinion is there's a sense of urgency
for everybody here because if the game dies off, what game is there for players to go back
to? If the game stops being popular and people really turn their backs on it, then where's the
money going to come for these contracts that people are fighting for? Right.
I feel at times like baseball is more confident.
They're like me at 40, Jesse.
They're more confident in their looks than they should be, right?
I think people think I'm attractive all the time,
and I'm probably wrong 99% of the time.
But I'd like to think that in my head.
You know what I mean?
And I think baseball thinks they're more attractive to people than they might be,
or they think they're more popular.
And don't get me wrong, in some markets, they absolutely are.
I feel like California is,
a fucking baseball state.
They come out and support in California.
We've talked about the Colorado Rockies
and how mad their fans are with how strong the support is,
considering that they want to send a message to the owners and such.
So there are markets that are incredibly popular,
and I don't really think that the season being delayed or shortened
is going to impact its popularity as much as it's going to
in areas like right here in Phoenix, Arizona.
Because people just won't, they just don't give a shit,
and they won't give a shit.
And they'll easily find something else to do during the middle of the summer,
then, you know, go to baseball games.
The one thing.
Yeah, we do have water parks.
That's true.
The one thing I will say is that especially with the rise of the Phoenix Suns,
I feel like people don't really pay that much attention to baseball until probably June.
Sure.
When baseball kind of has its own rain in the valley,
in the Valley sports scene for a few months, right?
There's no football over the summer, the NBA season for the Suns.
You know, hopefully they go far and, you know, things go till the end of June.
But after that, I mean, you know, you're pretty much just,
it's pretty much just baseball in the Valley.
So I do think that they're in Arizona, I think there's some,
I don't want to say margin for air, but to be frank,
I don't know if Diamondbacks fans are, you know, are necessarily at their
at their best in those first couple months anyway, right?
They have some distractions with how good the suns have been lately.
So I don't know if there necessarily would be a huge,
a huge difference if baseball was put off by a month or two.
But you're right.
I mean, it's just a bad look for the sport and that has ramifications in and of itself.
Yeah.
Well, I mean, we've seen it here with the Diamondbacks, right?
People have lost interest just based on them not being as good.
Yeah, I think that's more the factor.
Yeah.
You know, baseball isn't a game that necessarily was built around your team being good all the time, right?
How many Chicago Cubs fans are there out there in the world, right?
They can't, they didn't all come on when they were good.
But Karen McKenzie says in our comments, tough to lose the money coming into the economy from spring training too.
And she's absolutely right.
Absolutely right.
It's very tough to lose that money.
Because, again, that's kind of our fix.
We've called Arizona baseball nirvana in the past.
And part of the reason why is because we get fall ball, we get spring training, we get the regular.
season. Sometimes we get postseason. So it's, you know, we get it almost year round here. And it's
very easy to say, well, we still got fall ball. I'll still go spring training. I don't need to
worry about the diamondbacks this season or next or whatever. So I get how easy it is for people to
still get their baseball fix here in Arizona without necessarily needing to go out and support the
Arizona dive-and-backs, which is unfortunate. But I will say that you can go out, make sure that you
don't lose that money. You go to
Draft King's Sportsbook app. We're on to the divisional
round of the NFL playoffs. And Draft King's
Sports Book app, an official sports betting
partner of the NFL, is celebrating with
a ridiculously huge odds boost for new
customers. Counting down to Super Bowl
56, you can get 56 to 1 odds on
any team. Bet just $5 and you
will get $280 in free bets
if your team wins. If you're not a new customer
like me, go on there.
I got, I hit a, I
hit a $10 parlay, Jesse,
on the Cardinals game without betting on the
Cardinals to win or lose, and I still won myself $75.
If you want to know how I did that, you go on the same game parlay is on
Draft King's Sportsbook app.
You open up that submenu, not to mention the fact that Draft Kings gives you the opportunity
to bet up to $10 on a same game parlay every single day of these playoffs so far,
the individual days, and your one bet is guaranteed up to $10.
If you lose, you'll get that $10 back in a free bet.
I didn't lose.
I bet on Kyla Murray and, uh,
basically the only thing that I bet on the Cardinals to do well was for James Connor to score an anytime touchdown.
I bet on Kyler to not hit 300 yards.
I bet on Stafford did not hit 300 yards.
And I think I threw something else in there.
And that's exactly what you can do.
You can be like me.
You can know nothing about what you're doing and just blindly lead yourself on a $10 bet to a $75 win.
Do it on the Draft King Sportsbook app.
Same game parlay is a way to do it.
More legs you add, the more money you can win.
Draft Kings is safe, secure, and reliable.
Best of all, you can deposit.
and withdraw your cash whenever you want.
Download the Draft King Sportsbook app.
Now use our promo code of PHNX and get those 56 to 1 odds on any NFL team.
Bet just $5 and win $280 in free bets if your team wins.
That's 21 and over only.
Gambling problem.
Dial 1-800 next step.
New customers only, Arizona only.
Eligibility restrictions apply.
See draftkings.com slash sportsbook for details.
I brought it up a little while ago, but yes,
people seem to be a bit upset right now with John Boy for not understanding
apparently how unions work or the lockout.
I'll start off by saying I defend John Boy in this situation
because I actually listen to the full podcast.
And I know how a clip was pooled and used online by John Boy themselves,
by John Boy Media.
So it's not like somebody else pulled the clip.
It was just, I guess, maybe a mistake on their part for the clip that they used, right?
But it definitely showed that he was in support of,
of like the, you know, owners, right?
And I mean, I don't know.
On one hand, I say stupid shit on this podcast all the time.
And I pray to God that none of you drag me for it because I'm a moron.
And I have no business trying to understand the intricacies of 20, 100 year old, you know,
Supreme Court rulings and unions and labor disagreements.
But I'm doing my best here.
But I will say, obviously, seemingly taking the side of the owners is never
a good sign. It's never a good way to go, even if you're just trying to play a devil's advocate
and make a case for this. But for PR purposes, it's really a bad look. It's bad look. Nobody wants
to agree with owners, right? Because the owners especially are the ones that look greedy. The players,
we know what they're making. We know what they want. They're very transparent about their demands.
It's the owners that kind of keep everything in secret. And that's the part where we're just left to
kind of wonder what really is going on because we have no verifiable way to know what's going on.
I will say that even in this situation, I understand the concept of shut up and play, you know,
when it comes to both sides, right?
Yeah.
Owners and players, because those of us especially diehard fans that are looking from the
outside of inn, we know we're not going anywhere as far as how long this labor dispute takes
or our love for the game.
But we know, like, again, it's.
It's like a lot of things in life.
If you like a television show, you want a lot of people to watch that show
so that show becomes popular and stays on the air for a number of years.
It's the same thing with baseball.
I love this show that we watch, and I don't want it to go anywhere.
But right now, they're fucking it up.
They really are.
And again, it's it's kind of framed in a way where, you know, people could say or could
look from the outside end, look at these millionaires, these players,
and they just want more money and they're more greedy.
Yeah, some players are very well taken care of.
But like Jesse will tell you, there is 9,000 baseball players in baseball.
If you're talking about from the top of major leagues all the way down to single A and A and all that,
there are a ridiculous number of baseball players.
So this fight at times isn't about the guys that make $42 million a year or something absurd like that.
It is about the guys that don't make that, right?
That's what this fight is kind of for.
at times. Yeah, I mean, that's been really one of the biggest things that the players have shown interest in is better pay for players just in their first few seasons. Right now, those years are pretty much stuck. If you're in your first three years of service time, you're generally making between about 600K and a million, depending on the team you play for, probably closer to 600K. So, which to be fair, is a pretty decent salary. I mean, 600K is nothing to sneeze at.
Um, but when you,
and that's the problem, right, Jesse is because us normal people have a hard time hearing you say,
$600,000 a year isn't enough to play a game.
Yeah.
Right.
And that's the point where I say, hmm, come on, guys, really?
Even the bad guy, even the ones that hit like 217, they don't, come on, come on.
You know, but yeah, I, yeah, totally.
It's, it's hard to say that they aren't well taken care of when that's a, that's a lot of money
to most of us common folk.
In a lot of ways, it's hard to feel bad for either side.
I mean, it's a battle of millionaires versus billionaires in many regards, right?
But there's also the minor league players, which we've talked a lot about.
And like you mentioned, you know, some of those younger guys who haven't had much of an opportunity.
And for them, I mean, these these negotiations are, you know, a very real factor in what their everyday life looks like, you know,
what kinds of things they can afford and whatnot.
So it's still, it's still important in a lot of ways.
But yeah, I mean, it's a difficult situation to decide whether you're going to side with the players or the owners.
Certainly, as you alluded to, kind of the trendy pick is to side with the players on this.
And I understand the arguments for doing so.
And I lean that way personally.
But on the other hand, I don't know if pointing the middle finger at the owners as the bad guys in every situation is necessarily.
fair to them either. I think if we come to this table, just assuming that all owners are bad,
horrible, greedy people who just want to make a buck, I just don't think that's fair to them either, right?
These are also human beings. And I acknowledge there probably is a good amount of greed out there.
But it's just not, you just can't make a blanket assumption about every single person in the room.
So, yeah, I mean, it's hard. As outsiders, we're kind of limited in what we really know about the
situation, especially because, as we talked about earlier, we just don't know that much about how
much owners actually make every year. That's it. That's really what it comes down to. And yeah,
I mean, I don't really blame one side or the other, but I will say that I blame the owners.
And I blame the owners mostly because this lockout didn't need to happen. It wasn't a necessity.
It was a weird, preventative move to keep the players from going on strike when the owners had pretty solid information that the players were not going to go on strike.
It was a pretty empty threat that they weren't going to really follow up on.
So we did not have to have this lockout.
We did not have to have MLB.com absent of players' pictures and all of this other ridiculous stuff that coincides with this lockout.
But sure.
We'll keep you posted and you guys can check out go p hnx.com to keep updated on that.
Obviously, we are going to have any and all updates that we get on this situation posted.
And we hope you guys go to go p hnx.com and sign up to become a member.
You become an annual member and you'll get a free t-shirt just like this beautiful Phoenix Suns
Gorilla go and go ape shirt I'm wearing right now over at p hnx locker.com free t-shirt for
signing up to become an annual member.
If you aren't, if you don't love free things and you don't want.
free stuff, then you can go ahead and sign up for the month to month option and you'll get
your first month for just 50 cents. Please sign up to become a member. You'll get access to our
members-only Discord. You'll get access to members-only deals over at phnx locker.com. And more importantly,
you become part of our family over here at PHNX. That's all we're about here is growing this family.
We partied with you guys out in LA despite the terrible outcome of that game. And we plan on still
partying with you guys strong throughout any and all sport of vets.
You know, sons, once those playoffs hit, we'll be there.
Diamondbacks, once the spring training hits, we'll be there whenever that happens.
Once the 2022 playoffs come, we'll be there, right?
Derek, we'll be.
That's, that was a good one.
Anyway, you guys sign up to become a member now over at go phtonx.com, and you two can
laugh about the plight of the Arizona Diamondbacks with us on Discord.
make all sorts of jokes about it.
But Jesse, one more thing I wanted to go to because we talked about some pretty horrible
hats on yesterday's episode from New Era.
And unfortunately, it seems like New Era was back with some more bad hats.
But I actually tracked down, believe it or not, I tracked down a little story in regards
to these hats.
So now I feel a little bit bad about it.
I don't feel so much like I don't feel like we are.
should be making fun of these hats so much.
But the new era came out with some basically,
they are dedicated to the honor of the off-white brand founder
and former art director for Louis Vuitton menswear,
Virgil Ablo, who died after a two-year battle
from a rare form of cancer.
But these hats that were in honor of his style
and his designs were basically,
they have quotes on them around the team logo, other phrases.
They have holes in the hats.
They are a bit weird.
They are a bit, I don't know again if I would wear them.
But most importantly, they're going for about $395 right now on StockX, which is the only,
apparently the only place you can buy them.
I did a bit more digging.
And I don't know if New Era actually ever released them, but some made it out to the marketplace.
So that's why they're so.
expensive, but I can't make fun of or knock a hat that was meant to honor somebody who passed
away that had a very particular design style. Virgil Ablo meant a lot to a lot of people.
And the reason why I bring this up isn't just because it's an ugly hat that I wouldn't buy
and wear and I want to talk about it because it's extremely expensive.
This just once again reiterates to me that how can you say baseball isn't a business
when there are hats being designed based on a former art director for Louis Vuitton's men's wear,
men's wear, right?
Like baseball transcends, transcends culture and so much in so many ways.
Right now, while I was looking this information up, I went on to New Era's website,
and they have a Ralph Lauren collection right now, a polo Ralph Lauren baseball hat collection
collaborating with Ralph Lauren.
Wow.
I don't know how someone could look at me with a straight face and try to tell me that baseball isn't a business worth regulating like any other industry that you would regulate, right?
An $11 billion industry.
They have some of the most exclusive, expensive designers making, you know, hats and doing things to honor people that were, because obviously Ablo was connected to baseball.
He's connected to so many different parts of the culture.
and I just I again I'm kind of left baffled by anybody who would say that you know a hat selling on
stock X right now for $400 with holes in it and it's yeah and it's sold out don't get me wrong it's not
like you can readily find them like there's only one or two available the hat the hat has like
quotes around the you know logo and stuff it's a very strange hat but again it's very particular to
this gentleman's style and uh again I
want to mock him, but because she seems like a really solid dude that a lot of people liked and
passed away after a long struggle with cancer, I can't, I can't.
What's the, are the holes in the hat? Is that part of his style too?
Yeah, like when I saw some of his design work for Louis Vuitton and it was, it's out there.
Like, especially when you, when you know what Louis Vuitton is, but it was different and innovative.
And that's why he was so celebrated as a designer, right? So again, I totally get it because,
I mean, man, I was a kid that put absolute vodka advertisements up on my wall when I was
way too young to be putting vodka advertisements on my wall, just because they had at one point
in magazine advertisements transcended just being a vodka or an alcohol. And it was like this beautiful
form of art that I started to really enjoy and get into. You know, and so I totally understand
styles and trying to honor people and all of that, you know. And again,
In today's day and age, there's a lot of things I find ugly.
So don't even get me started on my friends and they're all over print shirts.
But that's a whole other thing for a whole other episode.
I say, if you want to spend your $400 on one of these hats, go do it.
They're not going to be available for long and they seem to be very, very, very limited stock.
Yeah.
You'll have something that none of your friends have.
That's very true.
That seems to be a thing in today's day and age, right?
We want stuff because I look, I gave all of my friends this shirt as Christmas presents and I still hate walking into a building where we're both wearing it.
You know?
And I was the one that made that happen.
So of course, we all like to be original.
We all like to be unique.
Yeah.
And that's that will, that's definitely a good way to do so.
But you can also be unique by going over to the PHNX Locker.com buying yourself one of our beautiful t-shirts.
Get, get yourself, I don't know, it's like me with the coyote's cutout shirt.
I like to wear it and brag about it just because.
I know you can't get it right now.
So go get yourself a T-shirt, treat yourself.
And you know what?
If you want to, go get that annual membership and you'll get your t-shirt for free.
There's half of your membership paid right there.
So the rest is like another $30 that you have to just buy me and Jesse coffees throughout
the year.
And that's my best comparison that I've made to it.
But we thank you guys so much for tuning in.
We thank you guys so much for being members if you already are one over at go phnx.com.
And if you're not, we still love you.
We love you just as much.
But you can follow us on Twitter.
I'm at cap underscore caveman with a k. Jesse is at Jesse N. Friedman. He's that way.
He's Jesse N. Friedman on Twitter. But our show is at PHNX underscore Dbacks. None of that matters
because all roads lead to at PHNX underscore sports. That's on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.
Please, if you're listening right now on your favorite audio podcasting app, subscribe to us there,
leave us a five-star review. That's just an honor of Jesse. And we will be, we will reciprocate by going,
if you leave us a five-star review, we'll do a whole episode where we just go
read five-star reviews. So put some words behind it. Put some thought behind it.
Yeah. Yeah. Not the one-star reviews are the two stars, but only the five-star reviews.
But go leave us one and then we'll read it on the show. Also, subscribe to us on YouTube over at
PHNX Sports. Sign up for notifications. That way you don't miss any of the content being pumped
out by the PHNX team. Very, very sad times going over at the Cardinals, but big salute to
the PHNX Cardinals team for all of their hard work that they put in this season. Yeah.
It's been fun for me personally to kind of tag along with them and be a part of their show in a very small way.
And you know what?
We're used to this Deepx fan.
So we'll get them next year, right?
That's all we can say at this point.
That's probably a mantra.
A mantra you could print on like City of Phoenix Hall at this point.
Yeah.
I laugh about it, but I'm going to cry as soon as this podcast.
Yeah, we laugh and cry in the same breath.
It's life around here.
Things are good, though.
We appreciate you guys again so much for checking out the show.
On behalf of Jesse and myself,
we appreciate you taking the time to join us and remember kids.
Baseball is fun, but man,
it's so much more fun when we can just watch baseball.
