PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - Arizona Sports Mailbag
Episode Date: January 31, 2022The Arizona Coyotes and Arizona Diamondbacks seem to be in a perpetual rebuild while the Phoenix Suns and Arizona Cardinals are making strides but haven't gotten a ring quite yet... we know you have q...uestions and we've got answers! Makayla Perkins and the crew answer all of YOUR burning AZ sports questions! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome into the Phoenix Sports Podcast, presented by Draf King Sportsbook America's Top Readed Sportsbook app.
Don't forget to hit that like button, subscribe wherever you get your podcast and leave us a five-star review.
I'm your host, Michaela Perkins.
And joining me today for a first ever mailbag episode is Steve Peters, Tristan Seussle, and Shane Diefenbach.
What's up, everybody?
How is your amazing going?
Why don't I get a monotone?
Why don't I get into sad deal?
Shane Diefenbach.
I'm the least excited.
No, I'm just kidding.
I'm super excited.
Truth hurts, Steve.
We got a great show for you guys today.
We're going to be answering all of your Arizona sports questions.
And we got a ton of them.
Thank you to everybody who's sending questions on Twitter and in our members-only Discord.
But before we get to that, we are going to quickly get into our Arizona Sports temperature check.
and not a lot to talk about in terms of baseball and I guess the Cardinals,
but I guess we'll start with the Cardinals, Cherston, Vance Joseph.
He is rumored to be the top candidate for the Dolphins head coach job.
What are your thoughts on that?
Yeah, that's what the experts are saying.
He's also the top pick on the drafting sportsbook app or the favorite, I should say,
at plus 250.
Next behind him would be Brian Dable,
who's rumored to get to be the next head coach for the,
for the Giants.
So if that happens,
it seems like there's probably a good chance
that Vance Joseph is going to get his second opportunity
as a head coach in the National Football League.
And to be honest with you,
I think it's best case scenario for everybody involved.
I think,
I think Vance has probably done all that he's can with his defense.
And when it comes to developing players and draft picks and things like that,
he's done a solid job, but it probably wouldn't be a bad thing for the Cardinals to get a little bit of a revamp
in the form of a new defensive coordinator.
And then, hey, we all wish him the best if he was able to get a head coaching job again and get another crack at it.
You know, we would, you know, certainly be rooting for him.
And just with the way that the league has its rules set up, it awards draft picks to teams who have my
minorities who get hired as either a GM or a head coach.
Therefore, just kind of an added bonus that would be thrown in there for the Cardinals is they're going to get some draft picks sent their way as well if he does get this promotion.
So all things considered, it's a win-win for everybody involved if he gets this job.
Now, I know that you and Johnny talked about this a little bit on the PHNX Cardinals podcast, but there were some rumors going around that team owner Michael Bidwell was not necessarily happy.
with how things went in the playoffs, some paychecks maybe being delayed in terms of
playoff bonuses. What is going on with that? Is there any truth behind any of those rumors?
What are your thoughts? Yeah, I mean, you know, they're called rumors for a reason. And,
you know, unless, you know, one of them comes out and, you know, completely denies all of it,
we'll never know. I would say when, when rumors begin to pile up, there's usually some truth
somewhere. Jenny and I talked about it yesterday. Sometimes it's like a game of telephone by the time
it gets out to, you know, the public. Maybe some things have changed or gotten twisted or have
been left out, et cetera, but the bulk of it is probably true. So the part of where Michael Bidwell is
very frustrated, that's 1,000% true. The part with the with the bonuses being delayed, the
postseason bonuses. I don't know what was in their contracts, but it really hasn't been that long.
So when I first saw that come out, I was like, what do you mean delay? Like, are they supposed to
like get their check when they, you know, get on the airplane back home? Like it hasn't even
been that long. So, you know, he's definitely frustrated. I don't think there's a ton to read into
about the whole bonus thing, though. Gotcha. All right. Well, there you have it. Josh Hunt in our
comment saying no one was happy with the ending to be honest but what is it with azie teams not
paying their people glendale is cursed uh peony yeah and on that no let's go talk about coyotes
um that's a great point josh i don't know what what it is with arizona sports teams and
not paying their people um i'm just going to say one thing i'm just going to say one thing
by no means should the cardinals ever be grouped into a conversation when it comes to paying people with the
Arizona Coyotes. Like that is not fair to the Cardinals whatsoever because Michael Bidwell does not
have a history of not paying people. This is like one little rumor and I wouldn't even read into it.
So wildly different teams, they just happen to both play in Glendale and that's about the only
thing that you can loop together. That is fair. And that just remind me, just be like Josh,
head over to our YouTube channel. If you're watching on Twitter right now, come on over to
YouTube. Join us in the comments. If you're on YouTube and you're in the comments, say what's up.
say hi. We love to include you in the show.
When we get into our question portion later in the show,
you guys can ask questions in the comments and we'll answer them there
in case you didn't get a chance to get them in on our members of league discord or on Twitter last night.
Speaking of the coyotes, Pedy, what the heck was that game last night?
What happened?
You know, this team reached the midway point of their season last night.
They've played 41 games.
They're almost exactly where they wanted to be.
They're one point out of last.
You know what?
They held leads in their last two games against the Pittsburgh Penguins and the New York Rangers.
and let's face it, those teams are better than the coyotes.
And they just hung on long enough and they said, hey, you know what?
Third period's coming, we better play.
Coyotes couldn't sustain it for 60 minutes.
They're not good enough.
Those teams were better.
And that's what happened.
They've lost five out of seven.
They come home and they face a Boston Bruin team that won seven out of nine with
two 20 goals scores.
This Boston Bruins team is a really, really good hockey team.
So I don't think the fortunes fare any better for the coyotes on Friday night in Glendale.
I was going to ask what your thoughts are with their matchup against the Bruins.
Yeah, you know what?
It's a team that's deep.
They've got high, high-end skill.
And we always say this about the coyotes.
They'll work hard and they've got some good players.
What they don't have is they don't have those elite players.
The Boston Bruins do.
They've got Pasternak, Marshawn, Bergeron, Hall.
Like they have a team that can, they throw guys over the boards and they can score and make an impact every time on the ice.
That's what separates a team from the Boston, like the Boston Bruins from the Arizona.
on a coyotes. The good news for coyote fans is they wake up Saturday morning and they face
the Buffalo Sabers and everything we said about Boston is not true of the Buffalo Sabres. I'm sorry,
Sean, producing the show from Buffalo, who's actually attending that game. That should be a much more
even contest. There are two teams that are matched fairly well. Their talent levels are about the same.
They're both towards the bottom end of the standing. So maybe, maybe there's a win in the future
in Glendale on Saturday. We'll keep our fingers crossed for that Saturday matchup. But hey, you do have
give it to the coyotes. They were hanging in there for a little bit with the penguins.
Yep, last night. The game was tied at one point, two goals apiece. So, you know, that's kind
of unexpected. Yeah, you just want to make it exciting for coyotes fans. We said this during the
rebuild. It's hard to root for a team during a rebuild that they're publicly saying we're trying to
recreate our whole team. You want the team to get last. You want them to pick first. So all you
ask for is a fan. Keep the game's close. Keep us in the edge of our seat until the end of the game.
and let's have a little bit of fun and ultimately lose.
And they're doing a heck of a job of it because that's what they're doing.
They sure are losing.
Monsir, Monsier Stalin in the comments saying,
coyotes aren't losing.
They are winning in reverse.
That is a great point.
I'm sorry I don't speak French.
I can't pronounce that correctly.
James is absolutely dying.
Flip the standing upside down.
That's what you had to do as a coyote fan all season long.
And you know what?
The diamond back is the same thing.
I mean, the sons have been there.
The coyotes are there.
And let's hope three or four years from now,
we are where the sons and cardinals are now.
Let's hope.
That's a big app.
Long way from a guarantee.
I know.
You know what?
Chirston is just like so old now.
Have you seen it here?
Chirston with this coyote team,
they've been through two or three rebuilds.
They never get higher than eighth or ninth.
They just can't break that ceiling.
And unless the ping pong ball luck falls in their favor this year,
this could be another year of shit.
They just missed it.
And here we go again.
Like, it's hard to rebuild the team.
You can get the draft.
But you got to pick right, you got to develop them.
You got to spend some money and surround them with a cast of characters to help get a team to win.
There's a lot of pieces.
This is by no means a foregone conclusion.
Yeah, Charles Pike in the comment saying prepare for an epic tank battle on Saturday.
That definitely is going to be an interesting game.
Really quickly before we move on, Pedy, I know that you mentioned the Rangers before,
and there have been some trade rumors swirling with this team.
Jacob Chikrin has been linked to a possible trade to the Rangers.
Is there any legs for that rumor to stand on?
I know Craig probably is already all on top of this,
but what have you heard about Jacob Chikrin in a trade?
You know what, anything with Jacob Chikrin,
you're going on last year's performance.
So the ask has been set by GM Bill Armstrong.
It's at least a couple of first, a prospect and a player.
That's a huge ask for a player that has two goals on this season.
So you're looking for what Jacob Chikrin has been
or what Jacob Chikrin can be.
I don't think Bill Armstrong's going to move from his asking price.
So as a scout or an opposing general manager,
you've got to look and go, he's minus 39.
He's last in the National Hockey League in plus minus.
He hasn't shown that he can defend or read the rush.
Are we really going to give up all of these assets for a player that has two goals right now?
I'm just not sure what's going to happen.
I think, you know, if you surround him with different players on a better team
and he plays in a different role with different.
different minutes. He's a three, four instead of a one, two. I still think there's an offensive
upside to Jacob Chicken. I really do. But is it worth two, three, and four assets to get that
guy? Man, you're asking a lot right now. I don't know if they get the asking price they're
looking for for Jacob Chicken. And if someone does, it's going to be, it's a big gamble and a big
risk. I think he can score. I'm just not sure about the defending side of the puck for Jacob
Chicken right now. All right. Well, there you have it fresh from Pini. Awesome, buddy in the comments
asking what's worse? The Coyotes at 5B, 5 or the Capitals on the P power play.
I tell you what, that's one thing. We don't have to watch Alex Ovechkin against this team for a while,
so that's a good news. They can't defend on the penalty kill any better than they can five on five.
All right, moving quickly on to the Sons. The Sons, they just gave their general manager, James Jones,
a contract extension yesterday. Shane, what do you like about this move? And having,
James Jones stick around a little bit longer.
There's nothing to dislike.
James Jones is the reason why this team has turned around.
I mean, he was the one that got Monty Williams here, Chris Paul here.
He helped build this culture.
He deserved the bag.
And now you just got to pay your other guys.
You got to get Moni extended.
You obviously got to get DA extended.
There's nothing to dislike.
But before we move on completely to the Sonspedia,
I just wanted to congratulate you on the halfway point in the season
and getting through that punch card.
I know.
It does feel honest.
it feels like game 60.
We're at the end of January.
Hurry up, for God's sakes.
I feel like a Diamondback fan right now.
Jason, I know that you also follow the Sons.
What do you like about James Jones
sticking around longer with this team?
Well, for one thing, with all the issues
that the Sons have had with owner Robert Sarver,
to be able to have a guy like James Jones
who could come in and kind of be a buffer
between the owner and the actual team itself is priceless.
And he's the guy to do it.
And he's not only just a great human being that everybody seems to love.
He is an incredibly intelligent high basketball IQ guy.
He's good at evaluating talent.
You know, he's good with relationships.
He's good for the.
the community aspect and just keeping, I feel like there's the James Jones, Monty Williams
son's team itself and then the Robert Sarver ownership aspect of it. And he helps, by having
him in place, he helps keep the image of the sons positive overall, despite everything
with its owner. So, I mean, I, he is one of the best hires, I think, Sarver's,
made, if not the best, in terms of his tenure. And so it should have been a no-brainer to
take them around. I think it's a fantastic move. Yeah, I agree on all fronts. Tonight, the Sons,
they are taking on the Jazz for a second time in a very short period of time. Shane, I know that
you guys just did your P.HNX Betts show. What does draft teams have on this Suns versus Jazz matchup?
I'm not touching this game. I think it moved to two now. So they've been.
I played on Monday, but this is by no means going to be the same game as it was on Monday.
Obviously, still no DA, no Jay Crowder, no campaign who both didn't play or Hall didn't play on Monday.
But no Javelle now for tonight.
And the Jazz are getting back everybody except for their two stars.
And the two stars, it's a big thing.
But you're getting back Bojan Bogdanovich, who's a great score.
Mike Conley, who's the head of the snake there at times.
And Joe Engels, who's one of the best two-way players in the NBA.
They're all not on the injury report tonight.
and it's in Utah.
This game is going to be completely different.
The Sun's eeked away a win against a hobbled team.
I expect this one to be a lot closer.
And at no point on Monday, even when it was close,
that I feel like the Suns might lose.
This game's going to be a challenge.
I still have faith in them.
I still think they continue their winning streak.
But it's going to be a much different game.
All right.
Well, there you got it from Shane.
Speaking of Draft Kings,
there are four teams who remain in the NFL playoffs.
And that means there are only four teams left for you to bet on
on the Drap King Sportsbook app,
the official sports betting partner of the NFL.
We're counting down to Super Bowl 56 and new customers.
You guys can get 56 to 1 odds on any team.
Just bet $5 and get $280 in free bets if your team wins.
Are you not a new customer?
You can still experience the conference championships with same game parlays.
Combine multiple bets from the same game for a bigger payout, the more legs you add.
The more money you can win, drafting is a safe, secure, and reliable.
And best of all, you can deposit and withdraw your cash whenever you want.
which is one of my favorite things about the drafting sportsbook app.
Download the drafting sportsbook app now.
Use promo code PHNX.
Get 56 to 1 odds on any NFL team.
Bet just $5 and win $280 in free bets.
If your team wins, that's promo code PHNX for 56 to 1 odds at Draffing Sportsbook,
the official sports betting partner of the NFL.
211 is up only.
Arizona only gambling problem.
Call 1,800 next step.
New customers only.
Eligibility restrictions apply.
See draughtings.
com slash sportsbook for.
details really quickly before we move on to our questions. Checking in on the baseball world.
Baseball, it still sucks pretty much. There's not much happening there. The league and the
Players Association did have a second economic meeting yesterday. There was some progress made,
but it's really obvious to me that the League and the Players Association are just on two
completely opposite ends of the spectrum. The differences in what they're asking for is just
like astronomical amounts of money, et cetera. So they aren't supposed to meet again today,
which is honestly, I think good news. It's a good sign that they are continuing to meet and
they're not shutting each other out. Hopefully some progress, more progress can be made today.
I still think the beginning of the season is a little bit delayed. I don't see how they can meet
in the middle when they are already this far apart. And they also haven't even started bargaining
with other things outside of the economic stuff of baseball. So it's not looking
too good in my opinion. Hopefully I'm wrong, but I do think baseball is going to have a little bit
of a delay this year, which is unfortunate. All right. How about we get into Max Mailbag on the Phoenix Sports
podcast? I'm so excited with this. You guys, look at my little cartoon. Are you linking? Are you
with sparkles? I'm winking with sparkles. How cute is that? I'm upset. Our art director, Arnold,
did a fantastic job making this graphic. Shout out to you, Arnold. I love it.
My little emoji is that what we call it.
It's so cute.
Thank you to everybody who sent in questions.
I asked for questions on Twitter.
And then we also have a member-only Discord
that you can only be a part of if you're a member of PHNX.
So don't forget to go over to go phtonx.com
and subscribe to be a member.
You can get your first month for only 50 cents
or if you sign up for an annual membership,
you get a free t-shirt.
I am wearing our pocket logo stack.
PD has on the best shirt that we make,
which is the PHNX logo.
go shirt. Shout out to PD for the shirt choice today. But we have a ton of other great ones
and make sure you go check it out. How about we get into it? If I like, if I move over,
it looks like I'm wearing. Yeah, you are. I like it. Just sell on the brand,
Sherston. That's what you do. Great job, Pearson. Josh Hunt in the comments saying
incredible graphic. I agree. Shout out to Arnold. Love that. Okay. How about we get into it?
Our first question. Our producer Sean is behind the screen is from Chris and our members only
Discord. Chris, the goat. She is the best. She asked, what was your first professional sports event attended as a fan? And what was your first as work? I don't know if you guys need some time to think about this. I know my answer. I attended the Denver Broncos game for my first ever sporting event when I was, I think 12. I went with my mom. They were playing the Patriots, which was great because I got to boo the Patriots, who I absolutely hate. And it was really cool to see. I can't remember who was quarterback at the time.
It was during the quarterback carousel before Peyton Manning got there.
But that was my first game as a fan.
And then my first game working in the media actually went to a Diamondbacks game.
It was the first time I got credentialed.
I went with John Gambadoro at 987.
I was an intern there a couple years ago.
And he threw me a little boat and took me to a Diamondbacks game as a part of the media because he knew how much I love baseball.
So shout out to Gambo.
And that was my first event as a meeting a member.
I'll go next.
My first, my first, like, I've went to a lot as like a kid, like a child that I don't remember.
My first really memorable one was the Western Conference finals, I believe.
Game five or game six against the Lakers.
And I don't remember what year was, but it was the game after Ron our Test then,
now I'm at a World Peace hit a game winning shot after a Kobe Airball.
And then the sun's got eliminated.
I thought he's back to Ron our Test.
Oh, man.
and then he got eliminated, or then the son's got eliminated that game.
And I remember going back to the Arizona Republic where my dad worked and sitting in the copy room being so damn sad, realizing that they weren't going to play for basically another year.
So that was my first memory.
I think my first game I covered was either a ASU softball game or an ASU women's soccer game.
And both were very fun.
I was working camera.
There you go.
All right.
Cheers in with yours.
Well, now I'm all consumed into Facebook.
figuring out the Bronner test actually changed his name back. I swear he doesn't go by meta anymore.
But anyway, that's a difference. I totally derailed the point of your entire story. That's a great
event to be at. So the first professional sporting event that I can really remember is interesting
because back in the day when LeBron was new to the calves, we had, wow, I was out.
was in middle school, we would have stacks of tickets at the office that anyone could go in and just
grab their own free tickets to Cavs games. So I remember me and like a bunch of my girlfriends
when I was like 12, 13 years old, grabbed these free tickets out of the office and went to go see
LeBron James and the abysmal calves at the time play. So obviously a lot changed for LeBron.
But yeah, that's the first sporting event that I really remember going.
I went to Indians games when I was younger, but I don't have much of memory of them.
So, yeah, middle school, going to see LeBron for free.
And there was like, we were like one of what seemed like 50 people in the entire arena.
Sanda fruit, our test.
Interesting.
That's his name now?
Meta Sandaford our test.
Interesting.
Okay.
Do we want my professional one or are we moving on?
No, where did you work?
Cherson, let's go.
Where did you work?
Of course we want to know.
My first professional game I ever worked because I was in, I covered collegiate sports
first.
My first professional one was a Broncos game and I remember getting like a little
teary eye walking in because I was like, oh my God, I'm like, I'm covering the NFL
and I think it was like for a Sunday night, I was going long.
after the game because it was a Sunday night game and I worked for an NBC station.
And so like that was like I probably the first moment of my career where I felt like I was actually like doing the dang thing.
So it was Broncos game.
And the Mile High magic is just undeniable.
There's something special about a Mile High Stadium.
Josh Hunt with a goat comment.
If he was an AIS, he would have met a Sanderson Ford or test.
Oh my God, that's incredible.
Very good.
All right.
Round to side.
For me, and this may disappoint a lot of hockey fans.
If I have a choice to go to a sporting event, I'm going to a baseball game outside.
So my first sporting event that I attended that I remembered that is meaningful to me,
I went to a doubleheader back when they had real doubleheaders where you didn't have to get two tickets and leave and come back.
I watched the Minnesota Twins and then Milwaukee Brewers play.
I saw Rod Carew play way, way back in a stadium that is now an IKEA right next to the Mall of America.
and just a tip for baseball dads out there.
Don't take eight-year-olds to a double-headed.
Not a brilliant idea.
That's a long-ass day.
And all we did is we stood and yelled at guys to throw us baseballs for five hours.
Hey, throw us a ball, and no one ever threw us a ball.
But anyway, so that's my first live sport event.
And again, I would choose baseball over hockey all day.
And that's why I'm so sad there is no spring training right now.
My first working one, I actually had to go back because I'm really old.
And it was in 97, it was a Chicago Blackhawks played here in Arizona.
And I remember so little other than I was terrified.
And back then, video guys had no, there was no job.
There's no challenges or there's nothing to do.
You literally recorded the game on VHS tape.
You didn't have a computer to break it down and watch video.
I had, I had a bank of 10 VCR machines and I had to slide tapes in for a power player for
penalty kill and literally out of clipboard and I'm marking stuff.
So there's no pressure.
You can't review shit.
So that was my first game.
I'm underneath the bleachers, America West, beer running down into my office.
True story.
It was just miserable, but it was absolutely the best moment where you go, oh, my God, I'm getting paid to do this.
And it was fantastic ride that I got to enjoy for a very long time.
Wow, that's an incredible story.
You kind of expose yourself there with your age and also, Josh, I'm old.
I'm old.
I know, Chirstons in middle school watching LeBron.
And I'm like, really?
Petey, thoughts on hockey played at a baseball stadium.
What about those outdoor games?
Great.
I don't think it's...
Did you see the temperature in Minnesota this year?
No.
And that's part of the baseball.
They actually got to warm up the ice because the ice was too cold.
In what world does ice get too cold?
It's ice.
I will say this.
It's better than it melting.
And what was that?
Lake Tahoe.
Lake Tahoe.
Too much sun on the ice.
So they put this one at night in Minnesota in January.
Brilliant.
Yeah, they didn't have a problem with the sunshine there, zero degrees.
And that goes back to my problem with being a hockey player, fan, coach, whatever.
It's damn cold.
Like, if you're going to do it, do it here in Arizona, go to work in a golf shirt, go inside.
You get cold for a few hours, then you go back into the sun.
But my God, that's why you want to have baseball.
You want to sit in the sun.
You want to put your feet up on the chair in front of it.
You want a cold beer and a hot dog.
And let's watch sports.
Or you know what?
Don't watch.
Just take in the environment.
That's what you don't get in hockey.
It's just too darn cold.
Did that first game experience kind of changed who you were?
Do you think if you get a baseball at that double header, you're a little less pessimistic?
Yeah.
Maybe that's where it all started for me, Shane, this optimistic life view that I have.
That's why you're my best friend because I'm a baseball first girl too.
So shout up all of our baseball first people.
We are the few and far between, but we are the best in my humble opinion.
All right.
Sean, what is our next question?
Those are great stories, by the way.
Thank you for sharing.
All right, here's one from Marcos Chavez on Twitter.
If Mahomes can play like he has without Cliff,
is Cliff holding back Kyler?
Oh, I'm so sick of this take.
Cherson, you go ahead and start.
So I think that question's incredibly insulting to Patrick Mahomes,
like as if Cliff Kingsbury was the only reason he ever had success.
Those two have nothing to do with each other.
We've heard the opposite end of the spectrum.
I'm said to like the only way to stop Patrick Mahomes is to put Cliff Kingsbury as his head coach and
that'll do it. Like people, people want to, you know, like somehow compare the two just because,
you know, they were together in, in college for a certain amount of time. But I mean,
they, they did well together. But Patrick Mahomes is a fantastic quarterback and certainly
didn't need Cliff to have success. So I don't, I don't even remember what that, what that question was.
but I wouldn't put really any
His clip holding back, Kyler.
Oh, and then, okay, so comparing those two,
I would say there's not like a ton to really compare those two.
But you could definitely argue that maybe Cliff is not the guy
to continue to develop Kyler.
Kyler has a special personality.
He really is unique.
I can't compare him to another guy that's currently in the league
in terms of his personality, his maturity,
the way that he communicates.
And, you know, he might need somebody that's going to be a little tougher on him
that's going to pull a little more of those like leadership, you know,
qualities out of Kyler from that standpoint.
So you could definitely argue that maybe Cliff isn't the one to get the most out of
Kyler and to develop him as an NFL quarterback.
But I would say it's more so like from a leadership standpoint than anything else,
just because he's a tough cookie and he's unique.
Yeah.
Shane, did you have some thoughts on that?
This is like my,
Espo has the Phoenix Suns and the best,
are the best team in the NBA.
Mine is wins are not a quarterback stat.
It doesn't matter.
This dude was drafted 10th overall.
Like, Cliff wasn't holding him back.
The Texas Tech wasn't a good team.
Like, it's so stupid.
And going to Cliff and Kyler, like,
it's just, you need time to figure these things out.
Like, you can't expect to have success immediately.
And I just think it's such a sorry thing to bring up when you're comparing these two.
Like, Cliff wasn't telling, telling Mahomes that he can't throw sidearm and he can't make these
crazy, like he just blossomed into a great quarterback.
And that happens.
Nobody was holding him back.
It's just stupid.
Yeah, absolutely.
Josh Hansen saying, I'll never forget that question that one of you asked Kyler about
leadership.
I think that the issue is figuring out his mentality.
Was that a interesting question?
Good job automatically knowing because I would have gone this first,
automatically knowing Shane had a point to me.
So good job.
Hey, every day Monday through Friday at noon,
PH next daily bet show.
I do this all the time.
NFL AZ Cardinal saying if Larry Fitzgerald couldn't be enough for Kyler in that
locker room for him to grow,
then I don't think there is anyone that could help blocking Kyler in his leadership.
Ooh, that's kind of a hot take.
Any thoughts there? I mean, Pidi, as someone who's been a coach and has worked in locker rooms, how, like, how does leadership develop for young athletes like this?
You know, it's interesting. Kyle's putting a lot of tough spot. And I think football is much different than any other sport because, one, the game plan is driven by the head coach or the offense coordinator, whatever you want to say. But it's more in these other sports, basketball, hockey, they're chaotic. Like, you drop the puck and everybody just goes everywhere. Football, the game plan is literally everything. You start from a static.
spot. So the coach's influence over a young quarterback is huge in football. It's so much
different than in other sports. Now to say what Kyler has for leadership and like, come on,
like, clear Jets turbo. He makes the, gets the team to the playoffs. Yet did he play his best
game against in the playoffs this year? No. No. And I think from a fan, I looked at it and I go,
hey, this looks like chaos out there. It looks like they don't know what they're doing. Like they didn't
look like that during the season. Even when they were losing, they didn't look like this. So do I
think that there is more to what Kyla Murray can give
to the team? Absolutely. Have we
seen him? It takes maturity
to become a leader. Not everybody can be a
leader at 21, 22, 23. It takes
time, experience, and you've got
to go through those steps to get
that leadership. I don't know, Kyla Murray.
I've never interviewed him. I've never been
around him, so I don't want to speak for what he can or
cannot be, but from the outside, looking
in, give him some time. This team made the playoffs
this year, so what's the next step for him
and the team? And to
Cherson's point about the head coach,
It means a lot in football, man.
It really does mean a lot.
And if he's not bringing the right offensive schemes, he's not bringing in the right play
calling, that affects a quarterback more than anything.
I'd always develop his leadership.
What game plan is he giving him to follow?
And that, again, that's so far out of my area.
I can't speak to, is he the right coach for Kyler?
So I think the worst thing that could have happened for Kyler,
because you could say you could be on my side where I lean more towards this kid,
kid and he's had three years in the league, his development in terms of his leadership skills
and the way that people are viewing him as a leader, how what other players from other teams
in the National Football League are saying about him, they would have done this, they wouldn't
have done that, they're saying it on national TV a la Russell Wilson. So he has a certain
reputation like it or not. Does Joe Burrell, so slightly different age brackets here, so some of the
quarterbacks I'm going to name. They're not all, you know, Kyla Murray's year, but still young
developing quarterbacks. Does anybody said that about a guy like Joe Burrow? What about a guy like
Josh Allen? What about a guy like Patrick Mahomes? And you could go down the list of young
quarterbacks that are up and coming, you know, many of them that, you know, we watched over the
weekend that we're going to continue to watch this weekend that are making playoff runs and
leading their teams to having playoff success. Three years is not in eternity.
Kyler Murray is a very young guy, but the worst thing that could have happened for him,
just have a lot of other young guys leading their teams to success, and nobody is questioning
their leadership.
So whether it's fair or not, those questions are being asked.
Great point.
All right.
Let's get on to our next question.
Thank you, everybody, for that's a great debate.
Night Rider 92, sorry, in our members only Discord asking what our favorite stadium food is.
This question is super easy for me because it's been the same thing since I was little.
for whatever reason, I'm obsessed with salted soft pretzels and cheese or mustard depending on my mood.
I love soft pretzels, especially with butter and salt.
Oh, my God, it's my go-to every single time.
When I used to work for the Diamondbacks, they would bring up snacks in the seventh inning,
and they would give us three soft pretzels.
And I gained probably 10 pounds during that season just from soft pretzels alone.
So my favorite stadium food, for sure, soft pretzels and cheese or mustard depending.
What's your guys?
So I'm a cheap ass.
So like I don't buy stadium food when I go.
So my favorite stadium food would just be probably beer because I can justify
buying a couple of beers,
but like I can't justify buying like a $25.
freaking pretzel.
So yeah.
All right.
I'm with you 100%.
You're going to a baseball game.
Before I even get past the gates where they grab my ticket,
I want to know where the beer guy is.
Like that.
I know it's not beer food,
but it better be a beer.
And I'll go even farther in spring training.
It's got to be the.
the aluminum bottle one because it's got to stay colder in the Arizona heat.
And I'll stick with the food and I'm going to stick at baseball.
And I went to a Diamondbacks spring training game.
They have a grilled cheese hot dog.
It is ridiculous.
They take the buns.
They open them up.
So there's two buns.
They cut the dogs in the middle with cheese.
So it's like a grilled cheese sandwich with a hot dog in the middle.
Absolute money if they get back going for spring training.
Wow.
That sounds amazing.
I've never had a grilled cheese hot dog before.
Well, get ready for this.
Okay.
On the PHS Sun Devils show, we tried the Houston Rockets hot dog that has bacon bits, macaroni and cheese, and then sprinkled on top, so it was fruit loops.
And we thought it was preposterous.
As Sean would say, that shit smacked.
It was so good.
And that's not something I've had at a stadium.
The only thing that I consistently would have had at a stadium was I was a little fat kid, so I was just, like, obsessed with the giant cookies that they'd sell.
For some reason, those just hit only at the Cowardies Arena because they were a little colder.
Oh, they're so good.
And dip in dots.
Lindsey Smith at our comments 100% pretzels.
Shout out to Lindsay.
I knew you would understand me.
Josh Hunt saying our family tradition is to get an Oriole McFlurry at the Bob in the seventh inning.
Okay, there you go.
Bankland Ball Park.
Love an Oreo McFlurry.
That is the best McFurray option.
Ramon Chavez saying Coldstone hits different when you're at Chase Field.
That is also true.
Sean, our producer, who's somehow commenting and running the show at the same time,
I was saying mac and cheese bacon, fruit loop dog.
You have to read it like he would.
Mac and cheese bacon, fruit loop dog goes hard.
That's exactly how we'd say it.
I did see that episode, and I have to admit, a little jelly, because you get that sweet,
you get that sweet, crunchy savory from the fruit loops on top of the macaroni cheese.
It looked money.
Like, it was really good.
I haven't had a fruit loop since I was seven, but it looks good.
Yeah, it looked disgusting.
I would never eat anything like that.
Charles saying the best he's ever had is the mini donuts at the Roadrunners Arena.
I've never been there, but I'll take your word for it.
Leah agreeing because Leah worked for the roadrunners.
The donuts at TCC are elite.
And Stalin saying the last hockey game he was at,
he drank three white claws on a white claw Wednesday.
Ooh, that sounds like something I would really enjoy.
Yeah, that might even get me to a game.
Yeah, seriously.
We might need to drink wildcalls when we watch the coyotes play in order to tolerate that.
All right.
Next question.
Keep commenting in the comments.
We love it.
You guys are awesome. We love including you on the show. Eddie, who is going to be attending Arizona State this coming year and who is a big DNVR and Pagenics fan, asked, what are the most important things to know for new Arizona sports fans?
Oh, Eddie. Oh, Eddie, you sweet, sweet, innocent child.
Especially if you're going to Arizona State. Be prepared for sadness.
Keep those hopes low. Because then you'll be stuck like me as the eternal optimist.
and that's not a good place to be.
As Sean said the other day,
it doesn't really matter what game you're going to watch at ASU.
The pregame might make you forget the actual game.
So you should be cleared on all basis there.
Tiersen, any advice for Eddie as a new Arizona sports fan?
Anything he should know?
Buckle up.
Seatbelt safety first.
It's an interesting ride.
But we have sports in the desert.
We have an amazing basketball team.
We've got an NFL team that is at minimum fun to root for.
There's a lot worse NFL markets.
We've got a hockey team that is entertaining,
maybe not to watch what they do on the ice,
but entertaining to follow the next debacle they get themselves into.
And, you know, who knows if we were even going to have baseball.
So that is what it is.
Being an Arizona sports fan, in my opinion, is pretty fun.
And the weather couldn't be better.
So, yeah, just buckle up.
It's a ride.
It's an interesting ride.
And keep in mind, like, this is a community that has unbelievable weather.
There's so many different things to do to take away your entertainment dollar and whatever you're doing.
I don't have to sit inside and watch sports.
I can go outside and enjoy the weather.
So first, don't worry about winning as much that it is here.
And second, if you want to cheer for the table, you know,
team of the town that you came from, join the club because that's what most people here do.
And that's okay. We're okay with that. I know at the hockey rink, if you wear a coyote's jersey
on 81 games a year and you wear your Detroit Red Wings game, the one game your team's in town,
that's okay. You're not going to be alone and cheering for a team from where you came from.
So we're good with that. Setting the bar, you know, I think we're finally seeing that the future,
the suns are getting better, the Cardinals are on the verge and the precipice of being in the playoffs,
the coyotes, gosh, the dream is still alive there,
but even if they don't win, to Chirston's point, they're here.
And if you go across this great nation of ours and look at how many cities
have all four major sports and major college sports,
it's very, very, very, very few.
So we're just lucky we all have them, go out and root,
have fun, win or lose, at least they're here,
and we have something to talk about.
Pea, you should be a motivational speaker.
That was amazing.
That's me. That's me. I get a lot of that. Let's get motivated.
You just saw me all in my fields. Mac have in the comment saying,
keep your hands and feet inside the fan base at all time.
That is a great way to wrap up that question. I love it.
Thank you, Mac, for that little nugget of knowledge. Sean, what is our next question?
Oh, from Mike Lang for D and the members only discord,
which team will make the play out first, Coyotes or D-Bats?
I'm going to go ahead and say the coyotes just because baseball is the hardest sport in the world to win at.
Their season is the longest.
There are so many, there's so much time for everything to go wrong.
If you start really strong, you can end really bad.
If you start really bad, you can end really good.
There's a lot of factors that go into baseball that, it's just really hard to win in baseball.
It's really, really hard to make it to the championship at the end of the season after 100.
than 82 games.
It's just 162 games.
It's impossible.
It feels like 182.
Yeah.
I definitely think in terms of the potential to win fastest,
I would definitely say that coyotes,
I think it's,
I could be wrong,
Petey, and you can definitely correct me,
but I think it's faster to win in coffee than it is.
I think you nailed it, Michaela,
for a couple other reasons.
Hockey, there's more parity.
Baseball, it's the halves and the halves not.
It's a huge separations in the top teams from the bottom teams.
Most teams are out of it early.
by April when you're on the bottom and selling.
Two, there's only 10 teams to make the playoffs in baseball.
Hockey got 16.
So let's put it in the numbers.
And right now,
baseball's not playing.
So gives the coyotes another leg up.
So I'll take the coyotes,
but pull out the calendar because it's going to be a while.
It ain't this year.
It ain't next year.
You guys are forgetting the most important point.
The puck isn't a circle or it's not round.
That's why the sport is so random.
It bounces in different directions.
Anything can happen.
The coyotes are going to win the Stanley Cup in 2023.
Oh, wow.
What is the draft kings one on that one?
I don't think anyone forgot to say that, Shane.
I think we intentionally avoided saying anything like that.
I have to put draft kings odds on that as a lust.
Parade running down, Van Buren.
Don't buy tickets quite yet.
All right.
Sean, what is our next question?
Do you think the sons are going to win it all this year from Clara Sheen on Twitter?
I think they have to.
I think this is their year to do it.
Their championship window is now.
If they don't take advantage of the fact that they have CP3,
Devin Booker, DeAndre Aten,
and an amazing supporting cast on this roster.
I don't know.
Like that's really hard to try to sell the fans
on why you don't win a championship with this roster.
CP3, he's incredible, but he's getting older.
We're not sure how much longer he's going to be
in this beautiful game of basketball.
I think they have to.
This is the year for them to do it.
And if they don't, that's going to be a tough sell to the fan base.
Yes.
Yeah, it's really difficult to win a championship, like really difficult,
but they've had the best roster we've seen.
And the thing about this team is they're so deep that what basically what happens is
once you get too, you know, deep into the playoffs, it's either the team.
teams that can stay healthy or the teams that have depth.
Sometimes you can't stay healthy and that's the reason you're out and that's just how
the chips fall.
But I would say this team has so much depth that it didn't last year and they got,
and that last year's team got to the finals that this is their year and it will be
incredibly, incredibly heartbreaking if they don't win at all.
Yeah, I think what you see in sports is you grow and you learn from past experiences,
this team getting to the NBA finals last year was huge.
And I know they didn't win,
but that experience that they gained being on that stage
for that long of a playoff run is really going to help them.
The biggest issue,
and Chirsten brought it up,
is can they get healthy and stay healthy?
Because right now it's been a hodgepodge for a very long time this season.
They're going to have to get everybody healthy on the court at the same time
because it is difficult to win.
And those playoffs get long.
Even with that, though, they still have the best record in the NBA.
that's why I kind of have confidence that, like, at some point, I feel like they are going to get healthy.
Like, I just feel like we're right now, we're in January.
At some point, they're going to get healthy.
But even if they don't, even if they don't have DeAndre 8 or, you know, whatever the, you can, you know, pick any one of their starting five that they wouldn't have, I feel like their chances of competing with the best are still very high with, you know, without their starting five.
they they not only is the injuries in their playing so this is the best start they've had in franchise history
not only the injuries but they're some of their key guys off the bench haven't had great starts
to the year campaign cam johnson mcale hasn't been scoring well um and campaign and cam johnson
were a big part of that playoff run and i i can't imagine a world where they don't figure it out
by the end of the year plus the reason why the NBA finals is always so special is because of these
personalities and the leadership and like there's a reason why lebron's always in the finals this team
has that. They have the leadership, they have the passion for this game. I just don't see how they
don't at least get back to the finals this year. Yeah, I agree. Eric C in the comments saying this is the
best son's team we've ever had. I totally agree. Definitely there are some that come close that
come to mind like the 1993 team, but I for sure by far in a way agree that this is the best team
that sons have ever put together. So this year is the year, baby. They got to get it together.
All right, Sean, next question.
My question is, will the Cardinals re-sign Chandler Jones from Dave Rousey on Twitter?
Terstem, what are your thoughts on the possibility of the cards getting back, Chandler?
So I think it's probably pretty slim.
So his projected average annual value right now, according to Pro Football Focus, is 16.8 million.
Chandler Jones was in a contract year, and in my opinion, underperformed.
And he likes to defend himself, like, listen, like people like to, you know,
criticize me because I don't get X amount of sacks a game, et cetera.
I don't think he's worth that.
And Chandler asked for a trade at one point last offseason.
He was not happy that he wasn't able to get a long-term big money deal done with the Cardinals.
And he did not prove enough this year that he deserved.
that that's what he's after another team probably would give him that deal um right now i think that
there are so many other pieces that i would sign and give more money to to keep around other than
chanler so in my personal opinion i think we've seen the last of chanler jones in a coyotes
in a cardinals uniform would be electric and also in a coyote yeah i think he's been last of that
um yeah no i definitely agree i think like you had
the nail and the huncherson. I think there's other pieces that are more important to this team that
they would rather spend money on and that sounds super harsh probably because it is. But unfortunately,
that's the reality of this situation. And with the way that chairman played this year,
I don't see how you can justify paying him money when you have guys like Zachert or James
Conner to give money to. So I don't think it's likely, but I guess we shall see.
Next question, Sean, please.
Ben Peterson on Twitter asking Metro Phoenix has roughly 4.5 million people, but the Diamond
Bats barely draw a crowd every summer, but fan engagement increased if the Diamondbacks played in a more intimate, less stale ballpark, or is the product on the field for management and transient fans that keep fans away?
Yes, it is everything.
Yes, to it all. That is a loaded question. I think there's a lot of things that work against the Diamondbacks in terms of getting butts in seats.
One of that being the most glaring, which is the on-field product. I think it's really hard to convince people to come watch a game when your team is.
really, really bad. And you don't have like a star factor to draw people to the ballpark to,
you know, get your kids to get excited about to go watch. But then on top of that,
you have the compounding issue of the fact that Chase Field is just meh when it comes to
ballparks. I mean, the easiest thing I can compare it to, and I know you guys like, it's because
I'm from Colorado, but the Rockies are in a very similar situation with their on-field products.
They have a horrible team. But Coors Field is packed every single
summer. I think they finished in top five of attendance in baseball every year, regardless of how
horrible that team is. And that just because Coorsfield is incredible. It is an experience. It's gorgeous.
It's trendy to go there, too. Like, young people go to, like, the rooftop bar to, like, hang out.
Like, when I was living there, we would go there and just, like, grab a drink, didn't even sit
in our seats and just hang out with people. And Chase Field does not have that, like, dynamic.
No, I mean, the good thing that Chase had going for is it's affordable.
They try their very best to make it family friendly.
They try it.
Like I said, it's super affordable to take your kids there, which is really nice because
there are a lot of ballparks that don't really care about their affordability.
But I think there's just a lot of issues.
And obviously, I think the stadium is way too big.
I think that they, you know, it seems like there's not a lot of people in there sometimes
because like it's just a massive stadium.
It's so hard to fill.
The only time I've ever seen it full was the 2017 Wild Card game.
So, I mean, besides that, I've never seen, you know, Chase fill that capacity.
So I think they could benefit from definitely a smaller stadium and in a different location as well.
But there's a lot of things working.
Yeah, but 81 home games is hard to fill.
You're playing a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday series during the middle of the week.
Those are hard to fill no matter what.
You look at the weather here when it is 110, 110, 115.
I know personally, I look at, God, I got to get in my car and I go sit in a parking lot.
And then I got to walk.
I got, you know what, I'm just going to watch it on TV.
And so that happens.
And to my point about being a baseball fan, I really, and this may sound terrible, I don't care about the on-field
product. I want to go to a beautiful stadium where I can look and see the cityscape of whatever
city I'm in. I can have a cold beer. I can hear the sounds of the game, but it's an event. And I'm
fortunately with Chase, you just don't get that. You don't get that same intimate feel that I don't
sit here and go, you know what, hey, let's go down to Chase, grab a beer and watch and listen to the
baseball game. I don't get that intimate feeling. And I appreciate that they make it accessible to
kids because I think there's so many pro sports that don't do that. I think it's important.
that baseball does.
I don't know what else you do here.
I don't know.
You're going to have to close the roof no matter what because when it's that hot,
you can't have it open.
And I want to go sit outside and watch a baseball game.
That's what I want.
You just can't do that here.
So I don't know if they can change it with a different stadium and a different product.
I still don't know if I'm going to make the trip downtown.
Yeah.
I would say the big.
Go ahead.
No, go ahead,
the biggest thing when it comes to, you know,
I guess probably any Arizona sports team is,
We know we touched on it.
The transient fans, they didn't grow up Diamondback fans.
They didn't, you know, grow up fans of Arizona sports teams.
So what's going to get you to a game?
And the thing, especially when you're in a state like Arizona and your team is not playing well, okay, what's going to get fans to the game?
It's the experience.
And Chase Field is old and rundown, unfortunately.
and you just don't get that same experience.
The last ballpark I think I went to outside of Chase Field
was when Atlanta just built theirs a few years back, their new one.
And it was, I mean, it was just fun to sit there.
And it was fun to just, the atmosphere was great and the views
and the little area that it was built in with the rest.
Like, it's just a better experience.
And so I think the Diamondbacks are going to,
really need to figure out, like, what's next for our team if we're not always going to have
this best product or all of these fans that grew up Diamondback fans, especially with the people
that are growing up kids now. I mean, geez, you've got to think about what you're doing to set
up future fans right now. The product isn't going to, uh, isn't going to create memories for them.
So, uh, I think the stadium is like one thing that they have actual control over right now. Like,
you know, it's hard to win. It's hard to rebuild. It's hard to, you know, whatever. You can't force
anybody to be a fan, but you can definitely create an environment that attracts them that they just
don't have right now. And I think the last Diamondbacks game I went to was my boyfriend and I were like,
hey, Jacob de Grama's in town. Let's go watch him pitch. And the majority of the stadium was
opposing fans. And that's what you, you know, end up a lot of time, you know, at Chase.
Getting drunk should be a part of the fun.
It shouldn't be a requirement to have it.
And that's what it is.
And Tristan, you go back to my home state too.
You go back to Minnesota and you have the Hubert Humpfrey Metro Dome.
And I don't know if any of you guys remember that building with the big baggie on it.
It was miserable, miserable, miserable place to watch a baseball game.
It was horrible atmosphere in that building.
And then they moved to Target Field.
And what a difference in experience for the fan.
And it helps their attendance.
So it does make a difference.
And those twin scenes were winning World Series in that miserable stadium.
And they still couldn't get people to go.
So it absolutely does make a difference.
Yeah, shout out to Sammy D for the super chat.
Thank you, Sammy.
That is awesome.
We super appreciate those.
Sammy D.
saying Chasefield is bad, but it's not Tropicana Field or Oakland County Coliseum bad.
I don't understand the Oakland hate.
I really don't think.
Oakland is so bad.
It's so bad.
It is my dream.
Well, my dream was to watch a Raiders game at the Coliseum, and obviously that's never
going to happen.
And so that dream absolutely has been shattered and I'm very upset about it.
But there's so much history.
at that old thing.
I don't think it's that bad.
Yeah, I mean, the history part of it is obviously really cool.
You can compare a lot of ballparks and, like, the history element to, like, to excuse, like, the oldness of it.
But I definitely don't think Chase Field is that bad.
I've definitely attended games at worst stadiums, but it's definitely not great either.
I would say it's definitely in the lower, lower end of stadium quality.
Tropicana is not good either.
although the ceiling is pretty cool when it lights up.
That's pretty much all that I was going for it.
Ramon Chavez saying Peco Field is top tier.
Easy access via public transportation, local food, and beer a great atmosphere.
I've been to Peco.
It's incredible.
I definitely agree.
Mr. Stalin, I'm just going to say Mr. Stalin because I'm not going to try to say that again.
Boldose Taste Field.
We build a field that is fun when it's 125 degrees.
Thank you for the speech.
Instead of the bleachers.
instead of the bleachers and outfield, just make it a pool.
The entire thing, a pool.
The entire outfield is a pool.
The entire outfield of pool.
I would definitely help drive attendance, I think, although I didn't know how to stay in it.
I was going to see, you want to see a bunch of 30-year-old men after six beers instead of the same pool with them?
Scratch it, scratch it.
Throw it away.
Burn it.
Thank you for the super chat, Mr. Stalin.
We appreciate that.
Eric B. saying Chasefield is not bad.
When it is better, yes, it is better, but they can't do that either.
So it's not great.
All right, MacKhub saying if you're going to sit in 125 to watch baseball, just join the crew at Phoenix Muni at great time, better team.
Honestly, the ASC baseball team is probably going to be winning a lot more games than the Dinobbacks this year.
So, all right, Sean, let's get on to our next question, if you wouldn't mind.
Erin Slindy, shout out Aaron.
She is asking you about the Sons.
It's very likely the Sons will have a good run in the playoffs this year.
in what ways do you think this team is different than last year's team? Are there anything this
team has helped to accomplish to reach the success they did last season? I think we kind of
already touched on this with our answer to the Sun's championship window, but I do think this
team is last team. I think they brought in some more pieces that are better in supporting ways
than last year's bench was. Biznack, for example, has been incredible, and I don't think
any of us anticipated him to be contributing as much as he's had so far. This
year. So I think this year's team's definitely better what you guys think. It's height.
It's height, I think is the biggest thing. Javeil plays. If Javail plays in the finals, I think
the suns win that finals. Plus you get the entire team backs, plus many pieces and more experience.
Yeah, I just think they're a lot better. In terms of things they need to accomplish is just stay
healthy. Load management win earlier so you don't have to play Chris Paul in the fourth quarter and
Devon book in the fourth quarter. Other than that, and they're on track for success. Yeah, the sons are
definitely a fourth quarter team, which is cool to see for sure. It's not great for my heart
health or my anxiety, but, uh, um, all right, Sean, next question, if you would. We're getting
close to the end here. Uh, oh, I knew he was going to pick this one. Uh, Sean, feel free to hop on
after I read this question. If you have some thoughts, if the bills had won the coin talk in last
week's game, do you think the bills would have won the game? Um, yes, absolutely. I do. I think the
overtime roles in the NFL are stupid and must be changed. I think the,
coin toss was the determining factor in that game.
Sean, you want to share your thoughts?
He looks like he's ready.
He's a little built-in.
Come on, Sean.
Obviously, I mean, the current overtime rules,
teams that won the coin toss are 10 and 1 in the playoffs.
It's pretty clear at this point that the overtime,
or that the overtime rules of the coin toss determines the game.
I think this is, and I said this when the Chiefs got screwed over
against the Patriots and the ASC championship a couple years ago.
Like, it's not just me being a biased Bills fan.
I think these rules clearly need to change.
We talked about it the other day.
Well, Rick Tocket talked about it the other day with the P.H.
and the Coyote's crew, like you don't want to shoot out deciding a game in the playoffs.
I feel like this is basically the same thing.
I just feel like you want to give both teams a chance to win the game.
Yeah, definitely.
Sean is our resident Bill's fan when he's not cheering for the Cardinals.
He cheers for the Bills.
Sorry about that heartbreak, buddy.
That was not fun to watch.
Although I do think I might have cursed it, and I know Shane knows what I'm talking about.
I tweeted that I was on the bill's bandwagon when I thought they won the game,
and there was like 13 seconds left on the clock or whatever.
I was so mad.
I almost threw up when I saw you tweet that.
I had so much money on the bills, and we had a patty melt going, man.
I'm so sorry.
I do that a lot, actually.
I tweet way before I should.
I thought you just shut your damn mouth when it has to do it.
with my money, Michaela.
But yeah, I definitely think the overtime rules
the NFL need to change.
That sucked to watch.
I wanted the bills to win so bad,
mostly so we didn't have to watch Jackson-Mohombs
dance on the sidelines anymore.
But hopefully Joe Burrow can come through
and beat the chief for us coming up shortly.
All right, let's do a couple more questions
before we wrap it up, Sean, if you wouldn't mind.
What will the Cardinals a big move be in the off season?
I don't know where to go with this
in terms of signing people they already have
or acquiring someone that they don't.
Cherson, what are your thoughts on this?
Did not see this one in the rundown.
I mean, I have no idea what they're going to do at this point.
I mean, it's so, I mean, there's still football being played right now.
There's no rumblings of anything.
There's no rumors of anything.
They don't have a high pick in the draft.
Like, I don't know that they're going to have like a splash move
in the off season.
Maybe if Vance Joseph goes, then you could say their big move is going to maybe hopefully
bring in a big name defensive coordinator, a guy like maybe Vic Fangio, which is, I think,
the fan base's top pick to replace Vance Joseph.
So as far as like personnel wise, like I don't know that we're going to get, you know,
like a big personnel move.
So probably the biggest thing is, and maybe we'll hopefully we'll find out.
by the end of the week where, you know, advance is going or not.
But I would say that would probably be the big thing is getting in a new
defensive coordinator.
All right.
Do we have any more questions, Sean?
Maybe one more.
Time for one more.
If Cliff Kiler, if Cliff Kingsray, hello, improves another three games next year,
but is one and done in the playoffs, do you keep him?
If K-1 has another season like this year, do the cards tag him?
If not tag, what kind of contract do you offer him?
it just depends so much on the if they collapse in the second half of the season and he wins three more games and then they go one out in the playoffs then then i can understand talking about that um i don't know i mean it's it's just such a weird team and the kiler stuff you give him the max if he's bringing you the i mean that's only thing you can give him if he's bringing you consistent 12 wins seasons it just i don't know it it's more it's more less it's less about wins and more about like what this team looks like
like at the end of the season put together, I think.
Yeah, absolutely.
You just say Kyler was giving the Cardinals consistent 12-win season?
No, I'm saying in his scenario, if they add three wins and then they keeps doing that
by the time you have to pay them, then that would be three consistent 12-win seasons,
I'm saying.
Okay, I see what you're saying if they add, yeah.
Also, Eric keeps saying trade Kyler for.
I know.
Get out of here.
No way.
Get out of here.
No way.
No.
No.
No.
No.
No.
No.
It's a 0% chance.
Also, NFL cards asking if we should clean house in terms of Kime, Cliff, and
Kyle are freaking out.
No, no, do not do that.
Well, wait, excuse me, if you don't, if the Cardinals don't make the playoffs next year.
Oh, make the playoffs.
Yes.
I thought this was still in the same question as last time.
No, yes.
Okay.
I thought they were saying if they go on and done again.
I'm like, dude, relax.
But yeah, make the playoffs, yes, 100%.
Yeah.
All right, there you have it. Well, hopefully you guys enjoyed the first ever episode of Max Mailbag on the Phoenix Sports podcast. We had some excellent questions thanks to all of you who are listening out there. The best way to do this, though, is to join PHNX and become a member of our family. Make sure you sign up for membership on go phtonx.com. If you sign up for your first month, it's only 50 cents, or if you sign up for an annual membership, you get a free t-shirt. Becoming a part of the family gets you a ton of cool stuff, access to all of our written content.
access to the members only Discord.
You have exclusive video content on there,
and you have a ton of exciting stuff coming in the year of 2020.
So there is no better time to join the family than right now.
Also, if you're listening to this on YouTube,
make sure you subscribe to this podcast on Apple's podcast, Spotify,
wherever you get your podcast,
leave us a five-star review.
We really, really appreciate it.
And don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel,
hit the like button, follow us all on Twitter.
You can see all of our beautiful Twitter handles in our name.
Mine's right here, Craig, Shane, and,
are also on Twitter as well. We love when you guys interact with us. And we really appreciate you all watching and listening and commenting. You guys are the best. We hope you enjoyed the show. Keep your eyes filled for another max mailbag. Hopefully we can do another episode in the near future. And if we didn't get to your question, I'm so sorry. But thank you for asking. And we will definitely try to get to your question on the next episode. Thank you guys so much for watching. And we will catch you next week.
