PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - Diamondbacks injuries keep piling up, Braves sweep series in Atlanta
Episode Date: April 8, 2024The Diamondbacks continue to lose key members of their lineup to injury, resulting in a tough series sweep at the hands of the Braves. We discuss the infuriating numbers from Atlanta, the mistakes tha...t lead to the losses, and more. We also have your updates from Jordan Montgomery’s first start in Reno and our answers to your Mailbag Monday questions!An ALLCITY Network ProductionSUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsports PHNX Events: Get your tickets to Suns Takeovers, Coyotes & Suns Watch Parties at BetMGM, and MORE here: https://gophnx.com/events/Factor Mealkits: Use code PHNXDBACKS50 to get 50% OFF your first Factor box and free wellness shots for life with any active subscription at https://factormeals.com/phnxdbacks50Arizona Lottery: Visit http://www.AZAdventure.com for more information on how you can take an adventure with the Arizona Lottery and for a chance to win $1 million in cash and Arizona travel prizes! Desert Financial Credit Union: Open a free checking account online with Desert Financial Credit Union and get $200 in bonuses https://www.desertfinancial.com/200Empire: Schedule a free in-home estimate with Empire Today! Receive a $350 OFF discount when you use the promo code PHNX. Restrictions apply. See https://empiretoday.com/phnx for details.Gametime: Download the Gametime app, create an account, and use code PHNX for $20 off your first purchase.Circle K: Join Inner Circle for free by downloading the Circle K app today! Head to https://www.circlek.com/store-locator to find Circle Ks near you!OGeez!: OGeez! is not your average cannabis-infused gummy. Head over to https://www.ogeezbrands.com to find where you can purchase. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly. Four Peaks: Follow on social @fourpeaksbrew & @fourpeakspub! Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly. When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
to another edition of the PHNXTVax podcast right here on PHNX.
My name is Derek Montia, occasionally known as your mayor of PHNX.
This is my vice mayor, your Thunderstick, Jesse Friedman.
And of course, does this music make you feel better about what happened over the weekend?
You mean Cody Rhodes winning the WWA championship?
No, Derek, that's not.
Yeah, I'm good great about that.
He finished the story, baby.
Let's go, Cody.
A big shout out, by the way, to my guy, Cody Rhodes.
and also Drew, I'm sorry.
But shout out to all of you for being here.
Of course, ski to you all.
And welcome in to another edition of this show.
We don't really want to talk about what happened this weekend.
I don't think it's fair that I should have to.
I don't think it's fair that I didn't go to Philadelphia.
I could have been on stage during Roman Raines's entrance,
playing the drums with my friend Tick and Megarand.
But instead, you know what I was doing?
I was here watching the Diamondbacks lose every single game.
and each time it took a little piece of my soul that I don't think I'm ever going to get back.
That absolutely sucked.
We talked about how the Diamondbacks just winning one game would have felt like a victory,
considering that they had both Tommy Henry and Ryan Nelson going in the series.
We felt like, you know, avoiding the sweep at least was encouraging.
I think this hurts more than anything we could have imagined because instead of avoiding the sweep,
the Diamondbacks do get swept.
and they get swept in spectacular fashion where they had a lead or were tied in every single game
and in fact had a huge lead in two of those games blew them blew the games late and ended up losing
all three games in the most painful fashion that they could have yeah i mean pretty much right
i guess the the silver lining from sunday was that they was that they didn't they didn't lose four
consecutive one run games um Miguel Castro gave up a couple of runs late which made it a three
And loss.
That does not make it feel better.
Nothing you said makes me feel better.
I mean,
clearly eases the pain.
No,
these are three just brutal games for the Diamondbacks.
And yeah,
I mean, going in,
we talked about expectations for the series
and given the way the pitching matchups lined up,
it did not at all look favorable for the Diamondbacks.
But as things turned out,
Diamondbacks starting pitchers,
like actually kind of held their own in this series.
Even Ryan Nelson on Sunday,
five innings three runs.
He got 16 whiffs in that game.
He hung in there pretty well.
against Chris Sale.
But at the end of the day, it was just kind of the same thing over and over again,
where the debacks, you know, in that Saturday game, they score six runs in the first
inning.
They were up eight to two midway through the fourth in that game.
And the Braves just keep chipping away and shipping away and shipping away.
And the Diamondbacks bullpen obviously had a bit of a rough weekend.
They continued to struggle scoring runs late in games.
And on the whole, I mean, I don't think the Diamondbacks as a whole, like, totally embarrassed
themselves in Atlanta, like they hung in there against a really good Braves team, you know,
without a lot of key players, which are going to talk about in a second, all the injuries that have
sort of decimated this roster in the last few days and the last few weeks, really.
But yeah, I mean, just to lose these games and have these games all be as close as they were
and make some of the key mistakes that the Diamondbacks made along the way, it was a rough watch
for sure.
More importantly, the Diamondbacks have been the best team in baseball at scoring runs early, but
Cannot produce runs late.
And in fact, we will get around to how good they made the bullpen here look in a second for Atlanta.
And Atlanta does arguably have a very, very good bullpen.
But the Diamondbacks, first in baseball when it comes to scoring runs innings one through three,
in fact, have scored nearly 40 runs already.
38 runs total, which gives them number one overall.
They also have a 1.030 OPS in those innings, which is also first in Major League Base.
Baseball.
Great.
What happens after that, Jesse?
It's not great.
Innings four through six, I guess.
I mean, it's not totally terrible.
The Diamondbacks have scored 15 runs to this point in the season, the season innings four through six.
That is tied for eighth in all of baseball.
So not bad.
They have a 764 team OPS in those middle innings, which is seven, so not bad.
And then you get to inning seven through nine, Derek.
And that's where the Diamondbacks offense has been basically useless this season.
they've scored five runs in inning seven through nine this season.
Five runs.
Only the Chicago White Sox have scored fewer runs in inning seven through nine of the
nine backs.
The lowly Chicago.
The lowly White Sox.
It's never good when you're mentioned in the same sentence as that baseball team.
And a four and possibly even worse, I mean, actually literally worse, a 449 OPS in inning seven through nine that is worse than even the Chicago White Sox.
I don't know what to say about this.
I mean, what are your thoughts here?
Is it a matter of some of the managing decisions that we've seen
where the lineup changes late in games?
Or is it the dog in them, Jesse?
I mean, is it the dog?
Does the dog turn to a puppy late in games?
I feel like there is something to be said about the fact that typically so far,
we've seen comebacks, even in the wins.
We've seen teams kind of muster up some runs late and come back.
It almost feels like the Diamondbacks have such a lead early that they get
on their heels and the whole team bullpen offense everybody is kind of you know just just kind of
playing a little scared instead of having that same level of confidence that they have when the game
starts i just i can't explain that drop off and run production for inning seven through nine yeah i
can't really explain it either i mean 10 30 ops in the first three innings of four forty nine opses
in inning seven through nine we're still early enough in the season that i'm hesitant to really
latch on to any of these things
is being like, like,
is this a thing or is it just kind of what's happened
in the first 10 games?
Like do the Diamondbacks actually,
is there something systematically wrong
with how they're approaching hitting
in the later innings versus the early innings?
Or is this just kind of an early season aberration
that will kind of correct itself over the course of the year?
At this point,
we're dealing with such a small sample size
that it's kind of hard to know.
Gabriel makes an excellent point there.
He says to be fair,
they're facing teams with,
with bullpens with a lot of lefties.
And the debacks have kind of killed like the lefty starters that they face for the most part.
I mean, what they did to Max Fried the other day.
I know Chris Sale was pretty good.
Debacks have kind of killed almost every lefty starter they've encountered this season.
Here's the other thing that would track the opposite direction of that is that they're getting
to the starting pitcher early, right?
So you would think that like the change of pitcher in a game, essentially theoretically,
they would jump all over that pitcher.
when they came into a game, right?
So it's like hard to really, like you said,
put your finger on what is wrong with this team.
But we do want to take a look at the numbers
from this series with the Elam Brave.
So let's take a look at the count.
And as you can see here,
things kind of don't really track for the Diamondbacks,
I guess.
Doesn't look like a series.
It does not look like a series suite.
Especially with the runners in scoring position,
the run production here,
20 Atlanta runs to the Diamondbacks 15 runs.
34 hits for the Braves, 26 for the Diamondbacks, a 351 batting average for the Braves with runners
in scoring position.
The snakes had a 333.
And then the starting pitching ERA, the Braves had a 9.22 starting pitching ERA.
Jesse, if I told you that they went up against these three pitchers in Spencer Strider,
Max Freed, and Chris Sale, and the result was that they had a 9.22 collective ERA in these
three starts, I think you would say, how the hell did that?
they lose, but then a zero point.
They did not give up one run in the series.
They did not get one run against the bullpen.
It's so infuriating.
Like you would think just out of luck that they would get a run scoring in one of those games.
But of course, the starting pitching ERA for the Diamondbacks 5.74, not great.
But again, you'll take that when you have Ryan Nelson and Tommy Henry both in that series along with Brandon Fought, who has been excellent.
so far this season.
But of course, again, didn't give really, didn't give him that win.
The Diamondbacks relief pitching ERA, pretty terrible at 6.75, but still not enough.
I think that would these numbers don't add up to you getting swept in a series like that.
They just really don't.
Yeah, you wouldn't, you wouldn't think so.
I mean, getting outscored 20 to 15 in a series against arguably the best team in baseball is far
from an embarrassing outcome on paper.
Right.
I mean, the Diamondbacks really did go in there with their three through five.
starters and and they really did hold their own in a lot of ways and yet at the end of the day all that
really matters is how many games did you win and the answer to that question is zero the diamondbacks
didn't win any games we've already talked about the friday game quite a bit right we did our post game
show for that uh that was the yeah that was the two big mistakes in the ninth inning that sent
the game to extra innings diamondbacks lost that one that was in my mind probably the toughest loss
of the of the series probably the season so far i don't know though saturday
Saturday was pretty rough to you.
Diamondbacks up six nothing early, as we said.
This guy, this guy texted me, eight to two several innings later.
Eight runs isn't going to be enough.
Gross, gross, gross, gross that you were so right.
I hate that you were so right.
But I hate that that statement came to be true.
That the Diamondbacks at one point, they didn't have, I don't think a substantial lead.
I think when I texted you that I was nervous, I think it was eight to five.
Yeah, that was right after the three run Homer against five.
But it was insane that you're sitting.
You're saying that a three run lead shouldn't be something that.
they should be able to hold for the next hour of time, right? Like, it's just, it's really bad.
There's a lot of bad things happening. I mean, there was some mistakes. Obviously, the Jake McCarthy
throwing error was there was a there was an unearned run in that game and the diamond backs lost the
game by one run. So you could attribute it maybe wasn't quite as egregious as the night before where
the debacks literally turned a win into a loss pretty much is with those two defensive mishaps in the
ninth inning. Uh, but yeah, and Saturday's game, Jake
McCarthy had trouble getting off a throw in the eighth inning after a Ronald Acuna single.
It allowed Acuna to get to second base.
And he wound up scoring later in the inning.
And he would not have scored on paper if McCarthy hadn't made that mistake.
So, yeah, you could also attribute Saturday's loss, at least in in pretty significant part to that mistake made by Jake McCarthy.
And then Sunday's game, you know, it was a three run loss.
It doesn't feel like the debacks were, you know, right there necessarily in the same way,
that was the case with those first two games.
But still, Blaze Alexander, there was a play in the second inning.
Marcel Ozuna hit an infield single.
It wasn't scored in error, but it was a play that I think Geraldo Pardomo probably makes.
Blaze going to his left, he did a nice job getting to the ball, but his throat took Christian Walker off the bag.
Marcelo Zuna reached and Ozuna later scored on a sacrifice fly.
And again, it wasn't ruled in air, but it was a play that I think a lot of other short stops probably make.
and on paper, if that, if that doesn't happen, then instead of it being a three, two,
Braves lead in the eighth inning, then you're tied, right?
It's a two-two game.
And at that point, the Diamondbacks probably don't go to Miguel Castro in the eighth inning.
They probably go to someone else that they feel a little better about, maybe Ryan Thompson.
And who knows what happens from there if that, if that mistake isn't made.
So the Diamond Beck just killed themselves with defensive misuse.
You know, there's a lot of things you can pick out in the, in this series, the offense.
and, you know, needing to tack on is certainly one of them.
But, man, to lose with as many defensive mishaps as they did.
And for Blaze Alexander to be as prominent as he was, I think I count,
I count four plays in three games that Blaze Alexander didn't make that I think
you probably should make.
Like, that's pretty rough.
I think it's time that I say something.
As founder and proprietor of the Blaze Alexander fan club,
I'd like to issue the following statement.
We have no comment at this time.
Okay.
They clearly felt the absence of Perdomo.
Yeah.
And Paul Seawald and the other starters.
These injuries have just absolutely piled up.
I mean, we talked about it in the off season a couple of times when we talked about
what are they going to do with all this depth?
Where are they going to do with all these guys?
This is what happens during a baseball season.
It just doesn't happen like this much.
with this critical of personnel, like right to start the season.
But other teams are absolutely experiencing this.
The Braves have a devastating loss there with Spencer Strider potentially.
Yeah.
We know that there's a lot of talk about how the pitch clock factors in.
The pitch clock's getting blamed for stuff when someone actually pointed out.
No, it's the fact that we're making small children throw at 95 miles an hour when there's still small children.
That's a whole other story.
Yeah, maybe it's not the pitch clock.
Maybe it's that you're nine-year-old is pumping like 86 in the back.
I mean, Tyler Glassnow had an interesting thing about grip and how like, you know, the way they have to grip the ball differently and gripping the different size balls, the inconsistent size of the balls is a huge problem from a pitcher perspective because sometimes you have to grip it differently and that's how this muscle down here can potentially falter, fail, get torn, whatever the hell happens there.
But right now, things aren't good.
Prudomo is expected to miss some time.
According to Nick Picoro, he will have surgery and is expected to miss four to six weeks from what.
one perspective, at least this is early on in the season where you still have time to rebound
from this and have Predomo fully healthy for the rest of the season.
Yeah.
Sounds like, according to LaVolo, why they decided to go that route instead of maybe just
cortisone shots.
Right.
Yeah.
At this point in the season, I mean, four to six weeks is something that you can put up with,
right?
And it doesn't mean it's easy.
The Diamondbacks did as we discussed the other day, putting Prudomo on the aisle is going
to be tough because it would require them to make a 40-man roster move.
in order to bring Kevin Newman up, which is what they wound up doing.
So Corbyn Martin has been designated for assignment.
Which is infuriating to me.
That's infuriating.
Debacks have, I guess it'd be six more days to figure out what to do with him,
whether he gets traded or if it's possible that he could clear waivers.
I don't necessarily think that's totally out of the question.
It's not necessarily what I expect.
We'll see what happens there.
But yeah, I mean, you know, four to six weeks is in the grand sense.
scheme of things not all that long but we've seen just in the last few days since perdomo went
down the diamondbacks haven't won a game since heraldo perdomo went down with injury and that
injury i mean in all in every single game the diamond backs have lost i know i know i know damon is
getting really excited as i say this but perdomo uh yeah i mean if the diamond backs had perdomo it's
it's hard to see all of these games going the way that they did oh he's disgusting
That's disgusting.
Do you have anything to say?
Do you want to say?
Coincidence?
I think not.
No.
No.
It's only the thing that Damon's been saying this whole time, which is that Jerry P is the backbone
of this team.
You don't have to believe that Perdomo is like a star level player to see the very big impact of not
having him, right?
Because the diamond backs without him are forced to have a rookie shortstop in there.
Or in the case in the case of today's game against the Rock.
They've got Kevin Newman playing shortstop and then Blaze starting at DH instead.
Even that is a little tricky because Kevin Newman is doesn't really have a great track record as a shortstop.
He's played the position in the past.
He does have some majorly experience, which is, I suppose, good.
But, but if you look at his defensive metrics, he has not generally been a very good shortstop at all.
Jesse, how many times have I yelled intangibles at you in like the last six months about Pardoma?
Like I've probably done it.
Six months.
Probably about 100 times, I'd say.
More than I cared to count.
Just screaming intangibles.
It's the truth.
It's the damn truth.
The Diamondbacks are absolutely decimated right now by injuries.
In fact, let's take a look at the whole list of injuries because, ugh, this is rough.
Leach Jordan Montgomery got his first start underway there in Reno, which we'll talk about here shortly.
But Alec Thomas, of course, with the hamstring, Geraldo Perdomo with his knee, Jordan Lawler, thumb,
Eduardo Rodriguez, his lat, Paul Seawald, oblique, and of course,
Dre Jameson will miss the rest of the season with his elbow injury, most likely.
Why is Jordan Montgomery listed as an OG?
Well, because he's a, he's an OG.
I appreciate you, Jesse.
I put a lot of time into making an nice looking beautiful graphic for you.
I genuinely thought you were trying to, like, make a statement.
Like, oh, he's an OG.
He's Jordan Montgomery.
He just wants to point out to the whole audience, all, all,
all 56 of you beautiful people watching.
Here's the one mistake
David made on this great looking graphic.
He's an offensive guard.
The rest of the graphic looks great, Damon.
I just want you to know that.
No, no, it's cool.
It sucks.
It sucks.
It sucks and I should get fired.
Just throw the whole graphic in the trash now.
But, uh, of course, can, can you give us something to be positive about here with
this team?
I don't, I don't have it in me to do this, Jesse.
Yeah.
I mean, my, my biggest positive right now is that the diamond backs are going to play
baseball game in about four hours and they are not going to be playing the
Atlanta Braves they're going to be playing a team that is very very very far from
the Atlanta Braves and the Colorado Rockies we saw how that went last week I want to
ask the question I want to say but what if but I'm not going to I'm not going to say
about a series with the Rockies I will say that at least the Diamondbacks haven't
been striking out a lot right they have in fact the lowest strikeout rate at 17
point for 17.4% and they rank 11th in walk rate at 9.6%. So not not terrible there.
Yeah. Yeah. They just need to be that patient throughout the entire game and not just innings
one through six. Yeah. I mean, and the other thing I'll say as far as the injuries go real
quick is that a lot of these guys should be back pretty soon. If the diamond backs were or in
this position and playing the way that they were and Alec Thomas and Geraldo Pranomo and Paul Sewell,
were out three or four months or something like that,
you'd feel a lot different about this.
But really, I mean, Alec Thomas could be back in a few weeks, I think.
Nick Piccolo said that he could start a running progression this week,
which feels pretty quick coming off the hamstring injury.
Eduardo Rodriguez threw a bullpen session on Friday.
That was also in Piccaro's story.
Paul Seawald got out to 90 feet throwing over the weekend,
another positive step in his progression back.
I think it's possible that all of these guys,
are hurt right now with of course the exception of dray jameson jordan lawler might take a little bit longer you
could have all of these guys back in a month and a half which is only about a quarter of the season
and it's not to say that they're going to have zero injuries the rest of the way necessarily that's not
a reasonable expectation but none of these injuries are super long term and yeah and you know if you
get some of these guys back in a few weeks suddenly this roster starts to look pretty darn good and you
know who looked pretty darn good was brandon fought said a career high with 20 whiffs
the other day and just continues to progress in a direction of him being everything we thought
he could be in more.
We talked about what version of Brandon fought would we see this season.
Would we see that playoff version of him?
And so far, it does feel like he has made significant steps forward as far as perhaps
being that guy that we saw there in the postseason a bit more than what we saw in the
middle of the season last year.
I mean, I know like the peripheral stats mean basically nothing at this point.
So I'm not really going to read much into them.
But if you go off of pretty much all of those numbers,
Brandon Fott has been the Diamondback's best starter so far.
You look at the quality of contact against him.
It's generally been pretty poor.
Obviously, he left a pitch in a bad spot.
And Marcelo Zuna hit a really big three run home run the other day.
But I thought Fott pitched a lot better than his final line would tell you.
I think it was five runs and five and two thirds innings.
20 whiffs is a really, really big number.
Like we only see Zach Gallen hit that number, maybe, you know, a handful of times in an entire season.
That's, that's really impressive.
It was a career high for Fought.
He had 17 in NLCS game three last year, which of course was an enormous game for him when he had nine strikeouts against the Phillies and basically retired every single hitter he faced.
So, yeah, I think Fought has looked outstanding so far.
It would be really, really cool to see him just continue to progress throughout the season.
and the kind of pitcher that he can become here in year two.
Obviously, we are also waiting for Jordan Montgomery's arrival,
and we wonder what kind of pitcher he could be for this team.
He did make his debut with the Reno Aces, and so far look pretty good.
Yeah.
Has, you know, again, there's something to be said about the fact that this is his first game
against an actual opposing team and not a bullpen, not a simulated game,
not anything like that.
But very encouraging, and of course, you know, this is part of it,
him giving some kind of live real at-bats and not starting out in major leagues, right?
Yeah, yeah.
He pitched pretty well.
Four innings, three hits, two runs, three walks, three strikeouts, at elevation, of course.
So welcome to the moon, Jordan Montgomery.
You don't have to stay in the Pacific Coast League for too long, but enjoy your stay.
I think he's pitching in Tacoma next timeouts.
That'll be a nice respite from some of the very, very, very,
hitter-friendly environments there.
But yeah, his sinker average 91.2 miles an hour.
So his Velo was down about two miles an hour from where it was last year.
Last year, he averaged 93.3.
I don't think that's something to read into a whole lot at this point.
As you said, it's his first start against like actual competition.
And it's still a start in the minor.
So maybe the adrenaline isn't quite there the same way it would be.
Get comfortable.
That's the point of it, right?
Is to get comfortable actually pitch against real batters.
and not just, you know, teammates or people in the organization on the back lot.
And I mean, of course, the big thing here is that when Jordan Montgomery said that he will pitch on the 19th, he meant it.
Because according to Nick Picoro, his contract stipulates that.
Yeah.
He has to start for the Diamondbacks by April 19th.
I guess, I mean, I guess it just says he has to be on the active roster by April 19th.
Oh, okay.
They could just like bring him up, but just have him chill on the roster for however long.
but yeah, that's not going to happen.
Yeah, right, because they want them to be ready and stretched out, right?
But we talked about Merrill Kelly is currently, if you, if you, if everything stays on the current path that it's on, Merrill Kelly would pitch on that day.
So it depends on if Tori moves Merrill out, but I think, I think Tori will move Merrill out.
Yeah, but Tommy Henry is pitching the next day on the 20th.
So theoretically, he could also slot in there.
But it would make sense to give Merrill that extra day off and to just kind of bring him in there to,
break up, you know, the combo of Gowan and Merrill and have that left-handed pitcher there in the
middle. Yeah. And I mean, I saw a stat on Twitter. I'm forgetting, I think it was maybe
D-backed stats and info. The ERA of Diamondback starting pitchers named Zach Gallen and Merrill
Kelly and the ERA of the starting pitchers who are not. Of course, there's a really big
discrepancy there. I think it was a 660 ERA for starters not named Zach Gallen or Merrill Kelly.
And that's very much a repeat of last season, right? When it was a really big.
wasn't when you didn't have either of those guys on the mound starting, there were some,
there were some long days at the ballpark for, for D-Backs fans watching Zach Davies,
watching Madison Bumgarner, watching some of the young starters.
The name Jack Davis just had completely escaped my brain.
I was like, oh yeah, he was a pitcher on this team last season.
He made like 14 starts for the Diamondbacks last year.
He was for a game or two.
Yeah, at the beginning of the season, Zach Dayes is the best pitcher on this team.
But yeah, and that's just not something we expect to continue, right?
You're just not going to have an ERA over six from the non-Zack Merrill starts the rest of the way
because theoretically, if all goes well in a few weeks, you're going to get Eduardo Rodriguez back.
You're going to get Jordan Montgomery back.
Brandon Fott is actually pitching quite well, despite what his ERA might tell you at this point.
I think he's looked pretty darn good in his first couple of starts this season.
This rotation still has the makings of being one of the best in baseball.
There's really no evidence to believe otherwise right now.
And that's why at the end of the day, Derek, I'm really not.
I'm really not that concerned with anything that I've seen over the last few days.
Debacks have lost four in a row.
It's been a rough stretch.
You would have liked to at least get one of those games in Atlanta.
The fashion in which they lost, I think, was really tough for people to swallow.
But at the end of the day, I mean, this team is second in baseball and runs scored.
Yeah.
They have a 778 team OPS, which, yes, it's weird how that is, you know, way better in the first few innings than the last few winnings.
It would still try and to figure out why that is.
but a 778 team OPS is still very good.
The Diamondbacks have hit well.
Their pitching, by and large, has actually been pretty good.
They have a team ERA of 3.90, which is pretty solid.
Their bullpen ERA even, this might be surprising to people.
They have a bullpen ERA of 3.55.
Well, I think part of it is the extra any runs with the ghost runners are unearned, right?
Those are unurned.
Even though you think about a lot of runs that they've given up, a lot of them have been
unearned runs, and also due to the mistakes, they are unearned runs.
So that's not, I mean, it's not that surprising if you've actually been watching this team.
But you do feel like the bullpen takes takes on much more of the responsibility here for some of these losses.
The bullpen has not been great.
Like many of you said, Miguel Castro has just flat out stunk.
There are certain guys that, yeah, it's been pretty much all that.
He doesn't feel he's not going to be comfortable singling him out.
I will, I'm fucking singling people out because our dog Ryan Thompson ain't one of them.
In fact, Ryan Thompson has been exceptional.
I mean, I just, I can't, I just am having a hard time fathoming, Derek, how the Diamondbacks pick this guy up.
From the raise just because he was released last year.
Just too bad games.
I mean, it's not just, it's not just that he like pitched well in the postseason.
He gave up one run in 13 innings down the stretch last year and he's come back this season and is given up like a couple of hits in his five innings.
He hasn't given up a run yet.
It, it's been real.
I mean, Ryan Thompson is not going to have a.
0.6 ERA for his entire Diamondbacks career.
I don't think, but like, I'm not totally sure, Derek, because he just keeps doing this.
And it's, uh, it has been pretty remarkable to watch.
I can't wait to see him so that we can talk about Cody winning the championship last night.
I'm sure.
I will be, I'll dip out.
That is absolutely.
Jesse's just going to piece out when we do have that conversation.
I feel like with this team, like essentially everything has gone wrong to start this season.
Yeah.
And with the record that they have.
Like with, when we were looking at the buy the number.
for the Yankee series and they were better in every single statistic and they lost that series
or against the Braves when they're like it's pretty evenly matched up and then they got swept
like whether it's whether it's injuries or Tori making bad managerial decisions at times or or just
whatever like we're losing on the margins and we're so close to having a really really good
record and that's why it just hurts because it's it feels like we could we could be like
one of the best teams in baseball record-wise right now.
So the things this team did last April so well was playing flawless baseball.
And they are absolutely not playing flawless baseball right now.
And when they were playing flawless baseball, it could make up for some of their
shortcomings like the bullpen not being as good as it ended up being by the end of the season
and things like that.
However, it catches up on you because if you need to play flawless baseball in order
to win baseball games, the minute you start playing like this, you are losing those close
games.
You are making those mistakes late.
you are letting the other team gain that momentum.
Momentum's a real thing in baseball.
It's a confidence thing.
And when you start realizing, like, you got the opposing team on their heels,
and you as the opposing team, even with the lead, start feeling like you are backpedaling
and you are on your heels, then it might already be too late.
So this team needs to get some of that confidence back.
Again, there are people that are missing from this team that gave them that,
including Evan Longoria, and including Tommy Fam, who Tommy Fam is the kind of guy,
who's going to say a bunch of four-letter words at you in the dugout
to get you to realize that you are still the same player you were in the ninth inning
that you were in the first inning.
That's something right now that the Diamondbacks really need to realize about themselves.
They are incredible in the first inning,
and there's no reason why they can't be just as incredible throughout the game.
They just seemingly are taking their gas off or foot off the pedal,
and it's not yielding the results we're seeing, right?
And not only that, but the defense has been horrific to start the season.
And we have had a, the debacks have had a good defense almost every year under Tori Lovolo
and his entire managerial tenure, which has been a long time.
And it's pretty shocking to see.
It's not just defense, but it's base running too.
They've made a lot of big that Yankee series.
We saw them lose possibly a couple of games because of defensive mistakes that they made.
So yeah, it's been uncharacteristic mistakes, which they absolutely have to clean up.
Personnel is part of it, not having her all to Prudomo, as we've certainly.
felt the effects of that, not having Paul Seawald.
You've certainly felt the effects of that as well, not having Erod and Jordan Montgomery
in the rotation.
You felt the effects of that as well.
But at the end of the day, the debacks have scored a whole lot of runs this year.
I mean, they're pitching by and large has been actually pretty good.
These last few days have been rough.
But this doesn't look like a baseball team to me that is, you know, not living up to the,
to the hype in the sense of like, you know, on the verge of really having a rough season or
anything like that.
It's not, at least right now from what we've seen, I just don't really get that sense watching this team.
I understand how it's doom and gloom for some people, but let's keep it positive and let's see how you feel after they play the Rockies, perhaps.
So we have that coming up.
Of course, we do thank all of you for being here right now in the PHNX Sports YouTube channel.
Of course, if you're here, smash that like button.
Gabby, I don't know if you want to smash the light button.
No, smash it.
Gabby's performance.
To make him better at baseball.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's like the applause thing that they did last season.
You know, well, let's do that.
Let's give him some likes here.
And let's hope that this team could get things back on track specifically.
The fact that they're so close without guys like Gabby and Corby and Corby and Carol not performing at what we
know that they could be, you know, how they could be performing.
But of course, subscribe to the channel, sign up for notifications, do all that stuff, drop a like.
If you're listening on the audio podcasting side, make sure you're subscribe there.
Leave us a review.
We always appreciate those reviews.
Those five-star reviews definitely help us out.
a ton of course a great way to make baseball more fun and including the basketball tournament going on
all all ends tonight get down on the bet mjim sports book app get down on those uh ukan or peru bets of
course right now if you do sign up and use our bonus code of phnx you can get up to $1,500 back in bonus
bet should your bet loses uh should your bet lose excuse me let me let me try to use correct
verbiage here because i know elise will be on me about that but she will sign up in the
I mean, Elise, but we both play that role.
He waits, though.
He just gets me after the show.
But, of course, sign up right now and deposit at least $10 into your bet MGM sportsbook account.
Place your first wager and receive up to $1,500 back in bonus bets if the bet loses.
The bet does lose your bonus bets will be available once your initial wager is settled.
Again, sign up for bet MGM and use that bonus code of PHNX.
Place your first bet MGM sportsbook wager through the sportsbook mobile app for at least $10.
You will receive $1,500 in bonus bets if the bet loses.
check out the show notes for full details,
and now listen to Shane, talk about the disclaimer.
Bonus bets expire in seven days.
One new customer only.
Gambling problem?
Call 1-800-Gambler.
Available in the U.S.
Call 8778-N.Y.
4-6-9-N-Y.
4-6-9-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-1-Masthusus
off Iowa.
1-8-8-1-4-B4thepovarer.
Subtof-Eus bet-mvett-Mchlorables.
Bonus BOTMGM-GM-GM-GM-RROM.
U.S.
promotional offers not available in New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ontario, or Puerto Rico.
Puerto Rico.
I could use a trip to Puerto Rico right about now.
But, of course, a good facsimile of that right here and down is Heel of River Resorts and Casinos.
And it might be even better because, again, like I've told you before, I hate traveling.
It is better.
It is better.
It's absolutely better.
And, of course, nobody does it better than Heel of River Resorts and Casinos.
They offer an authentic and immersive experience.
And, of course, you can check out if you got tickets to the big draft party for the
NFL guys, of course, it is sold out just like our pool parties.
So these events, they're becoming a hot ticket.
So make sure to get it when you can.
But right now, of course, you can still visit Heela River Resorts and Casinos.
And check out their unprecedented level of entertainment and excitement that you won't find anywhere else.
Head to Heela River Resorts and Casinos and let them show you what next level is all about.
You do you at Hela River Resorts and Casinos.
Visit play athela.com for more details.
all right well of course even though it doesn't really feel like it right now every year is still our year
every year is the year of the snake every month on this show is black history month every month on
this show is women's history month and of course every month is black women's history month every
week every day earth day every day there is a total solar eclipse there is a total solar eclipse
every single day on this show sometimes it's
in my heart. But of course, on Mondays, Mondays are special. You know what we do. We go to the mailbag.
Damon, shall we?
My mailbox. Always something interesting in my mailbox. I'm trying to get to everything in my mailbox.
And then once in a while there's a letter that makes we go, wow, wow, my mailbox.
I still can't believe that. I thought about what about. The rangers entrance. It would be monster.
Monster. You just, just, I should have been in Philadelphia. Anyway, what do we got, Damon? First side of
questions we got is from Travis Moore.
More for me on Twitter.
Can I just say that Travis has like a Cal Ripkin Ironman streak of being the first
mailbag question going right now?
Like there's no doubt in my mind he's been like the last 10 mailbag question.
Number one.
MVP.
It sounds like it.
Known good question asker, Travis Moore.
He says, how long do we wait before we can legitimately be legitimately concerned about Corbyn's
performance this season?
Hopefully we don't.
hopefully we don't i feel like we are to a point where we've seen at least some encouraging at
bats um but it is frustrating it's frustrating to watch him struggle the way he has and i i i don't know
really what the answer to that is right now i mean there's some some progress that's being made
but the results really aren't there right now so i have a i have a stat to present that i don't
think is going to make you very happy but oh no what else is new we we do
of this every day.
So Corbyn Carroll since June 15th of last year, I believe this includes the playoffs.
He is hitting 263, 340, 424.
It's a 764 OPS.
And that's not a very small sample size.
That is nearly 500 plate appearances in which Corbyn Carroll has a 764 OPS.
And June 15th, of course, there's a reason that this timeline starts there.
That is when, I believe, when the first Corbyn Carroll shoulder incident happened, or at least right around there, there's, I think, a reasonable question to be asked about whether that whole situation has impacted Corby and Carroll's power in any sense.
He's still managed. He's still gotten on base pretty well in the playoffs. He still got on base a ton. He's still done some very good things in that span of time. But we haven't seen the power that we saw in the first half of last season.
So I'm not necessarily inclined to think that there is, you know, a huge thing happening here with Corbyn Carroll.
I still think it's so early in the season to be making any kind of big judgments.
But I will say that this is a trend that has gone on for a while now, or Corbyn's power has just not really been there.
And of course, with what we've seen so far this year, it's not just the power that hasn't been there.
It's that he just hasn't really made good contact with much of any.
anything. I will jump this table right now, Jesse. How dare you come after sweet, sweet Corbyn.
So, like, according to Jesse Friedman, Corby and Carroll is washed. That's what I do.
The 764 OPS is not bad. If Corbyn Carol had a 764 OPS over a full season being as good
a base runner as he is, he would still be a very valuable player. So this is not to say that Corbyn Carroll
is like, oh, maybe he's not even a good baseball player. This is to say, you know,
at least from what we've seen over these last six months, or I guess this would be, I mean, June was, what, 10 months ago now, but about six months of like actual games being played.
And his last six months of actual games being played, he has not been the MVP caliber player that we saw at the beginning of last year.
So let me ask you this, if it was an impact of Shoulder Gate.
Shouldergate, nice.
Is this, in your opinion, due to perhaps a change of.
mechanics due to that or is this due to a persistent injury or a way that he's feeling where he's
not right and there might be something actually wrong with his shoulder?
I don't think there's something wrong with his shoulder, but I wonder about the the mental
impact of feeling what he felt and thinking that his season was over and then having another
incident very similar shortly thereafter, right? And he's also been kind of alternating between a two-hand
followed through and a one hand in a one handed follow through it's more natural but he also did
that before that incident before that injury he did have times where he had a two-handed follow
through and a one-handed follow-through there was there was video that was broken down that showed that
that wasn't necessarily something he exclusively did but maybe it's something that the frequency
picked up more on the two-handed swing after that due to you know like you said due to the mental
aspect of just thinking about potentially injuring yourself again so right i don't know that's i think
that is a valid amount of time to pool.
I think that we will see Corvin Carroll, based on the average there, be better than
he's been early this season.
But of course, there is a lot to be said about, you know, everything that goes on with
a baseball player in their second season and how much information is available on them,
how people are playing it differently.
You know, of course, Corvin's still going to be a huge asset to this team.
We just hope that he can get back right here soon.
I really don't have any questions.
about Corbyn breaking out of this current slump that he's in.
For me, it's just a question of like, how high is the ceiling for him this year?
I mean, can he go out and be a top five MVP caliber player yet again?
I think he's going to be a good player no matter what.
It's just a question of kind of how high that ceiling is this year.
All right.
What else we got?
Next question comes from our guy, Coggs, aka Matthew.
Cog says, do you think the D-Backs?
Doxing him?
Yeah.
Coggs' name is Matthew?
You don't have the talk.
This is, this was news to me, but of course I do have to dox them.
Cog says, do you think the D-backs bring up fresh arms from Reno before our next homestand?
If so, how many and who?
I don't know.
I don't think that that's really feasible right now with the kind of log jam that they have.
But I also think that the Diamondbacks have proven so far over the last 12 months that if you're not pulling weight, they will cut you.
will move on from you.
And so, I mean, I wouldn't be surprised to see a drastic move here, but the diamondbacks
are limited on arms for the time being.
So I, I'm leaning towards being doubtful that we see that before the next homestand.
I mean, the last couple games, like you got five and two thirds from fought on Saturday.
You got five from Ryan Nelson yesterday.
You've got Zach Gallen and Merrill Kelly pitching in these first two games in Colorado.
So I don't think that.
from a workload standpoint, the diamond backs are in deep trouble or anything like that necessarily,
given the fact that you have Gallin and Kelly, you know, starting off this series against the Rockies,
I'm inclined to think the debacks you're going to be able to get by without having to dip into
their pitching depth in Reno in order to pick up any additional arm. So it could happen if they did
add an additional, if they did add an arm from Reno, I imagine that Andrews Salfranc or Justin Martinez
is probably be the first the first man,
first man called up,
given what they have down there right now.
But yeah,
I think they're probably going to be okay.
They also have an off day on Thursday,
which should help them out going into that Cardinal series.
At some point,
we're going to need to talk about how good Christian Mena
has been for this team in Reno
because he has been pitching very, very good down there.
So, of course, we'll get to that soon.
But what else we got here, Demi?
Next question comes from our guy.
Sleep at the wheel.
Jeff, bunch of numbers.
And Jeff asks, if the bullpen was bad last year, why has nothing been done to change it?
I mean, I guess you could blame a little bit the fact that once they traded for Seawald, everybody was pretty good.
You could blame the fact that they picked up Ryan Thompson, and that Ryan Thompson was excellent for this team down the stretch, as Jesse said earlier.
Even Andrew Saul-Frank, also excellent for this team.
They kind of got themselves in a position where the bullpen had righted the ship.
And a lot of those pieces, like Seawald's not available right now due to injury.
Obviously, we're missing, you know, Saul Frank.
They sent him down.
I think they thought they were in a better position and had other areas to address, to be quite frank.
I think they also have a plan maybe here with, you know, some of these, with Ryan Nelson or Tommy Henry,
where they might see those guys as bullpen pieces potentially.
But right now they need them in the starting rotation.
So that might answer it, but it was also a question this guy had been asking the entire offseason, when are they going to address the bullpen?
Because it didn't really feel like it was sustainable based on what we saw from them last year.
Right, right.
Yeah, I don't really think it's fair to say the Diamondbacks bullpen was bad last year.
It was, it was bad in the first half.
It was bad pre-Paul Seawald.
But then after Paul Seawald, it was very, very good.
But to your point, I don't really think.
that that was sustainable and you almost wonder if if in in the grand scheme of things it wasn't
great that the bullpen was as good as it was down the stretch because maybe it did cause the diamond
backs to rest on their laurels a little bit too much they didn't need to be like oh we've got
and we got thompson ginkle and seawald i mean it's the best seven eight nine trio in in baseball over
the last couple months right why would we add anything to that i as you said did feel over the
offseason that adding something there would make sense uh but it looks a lot different once
Seawald comes back.
So I still am not ready to say that this bullpen is terrible.
We also talked about earlier how they have a 3-55-E-R-A as a unit this season, which is not bad at
all.
They've been at their worst, I think, in the biggest of moments, which is not a great, not a great
thing.
That's kind of what the problem is.
That's kind of been what the problem is.
With the whole team, too, with the hitting as well and with the base running and like,
I'm telling you, it's the dog and it's the margins.
Well, they're missing that.
They're missing the alpha dog.
They're missing the big dog.
Jerry.
Jerry P.
Of course.
We all know that.
By the way, I want to give a shout out to Kidnap 82.
I don't know if I should be saying that name, but Kidnap.
Thank you for your nice comment.
He said the mayor and Thunderstick are the real MVP's.
We always appreciate you guys dropping stuff like that for us.
But of course, we got another question.
Then we got some ads to read.
Well, it's we got Damon.
Last question for now comes from Brighton Bobbit.
And Brighton asks, despite the sweep, do we feel decent
about the debacks keeping the Braves honest and in a way should have probably won two of three.
Yes.
Yes.
The way they performed, especially against starting pitching, was extremely encouraging and just goes to show what this team is capable of.
I don't know what the hell happened late in these games.
I can't explain that.
Yeah.
I do think a lot of it, to be fair, honestly is the inexperience of someone like Blaze Alexander.
It is, you know, some mistakes that got compounded by some bad pitching that, you know, the mistakes kept the inning from ending and then the bad pitching allowed things to really unravel.
It was just a combination of things.
But really, it did truly feel like it's the most loser talk at times ever to say they should have won two out of three, but they really should have won two out of three.
And as far as the silver lining goes, it is very encouraging that not only should they have won, but that they were up so significantly in two of those three.
games and then you know what happened happens it's still the braves you got to got to keep the
braves honest not just innings one and two but you got to keep them honest the entire game that's why
they're such a good baseball team yeah i mean the fact that the fact that the diamond backs
got as close as they did in these games i mean that's kind of why it's so hard to swallow right
is that they did setting about it yeah they kick their ass it's like okay the braves are better
doesn't feel like the braves are better it felt like the diamond backs gave up these games including
Sunday's game. I mean, it really did. They were tied to two at one point, right? I mean,
you put six runs on Max Fried in the first inning. You've got to feel. And then they eventually
did get to him a little bit later in that start as well. So yeah, I mean, I think the diamondbacks
absolutely held their own in the series. And going back to what I said in our first segment,
I'm not really all that concerned about what I've seen so far, given how well Catel Marte
looks, given how good Lordus Guerriel looks, given Eugenio Suarez, Jacques Pee.
Like there's enough players on this team that are doing exactly what you would want them to that it's it's way too early to be sounding any alarm bells right now
Growing pains growing pains they still need to come together and figure some things out and of course
Yeah again. I think it illustrates how good per domo really is and how much they've missed him because of
The frequency of mistakes that have been made just a shortstop so far
It's like it's like what we've said about Christian Walker you don't even know what Christian Walker does over there for
first base until he's not there.
And then when he's not there, you're like, Christian would have gotten that.
Like, wait, you couldn't get that grounder?
You couldn't pick that one out of the dirt.
You couldn't do this.
You couldn't do that.
Walker makes it look so effortless over there at times that it's just easy to forget
how truly good he is and how hard it is to play.
Even first base in a professional.
I just want to throw out there that Jerry is younger than Blaze.
Like, we need to think about that for a second.
I know we talk about, we talk about him like he's like this, this like, like,
long-tenured veteran though and he's still 24 years old and that's just the type of player he is that's
why i gravitate towards him because he's so good at that stuff at such a young age and i think it bears noted
even going back to last year right he was splitting time with nick ahmed who has been incredibly good this year
defensively himself defensively yeah um but again that the idea there i like that he did that uh the idea
there is that you know he was going to split time with nick last year because just last year he was seen
as being too young to handle the position full-time and to be there every day regular starting
shortstop. And he proved he could handle it. He really, he really did.
Nicholas says, Pardomo to the debacks is like Charlie to the waitress and oh, he's sunny.
You don't realize the little things he does until he goes away and now your life sucks.
I love that episode. What a reference. And I don't know if anybody else got it, Nicholas,
but you and me are right there. That's a great, great point. I'm going to make Jesse watch the episode
that show just so he gets that reference.
But of course, we thank you guys.
We thank those of you that are diehards like Nicholas.
Of course, if you aren't a diehard,
consider getting one because if you do,
you can join us for our D-BACs takeover
coming up here in just about one month
on May 9th against the Padres
is our first takeover at Chase Field.
Get your tickets now.
You can click the link in the show description.
Of course, if you are a die-hard,
you will get a discount on that event.
You also get so much more,
including a die-hard membership card,
free t-shirt of your choice from the PHNX Lock.
access to all of our premium written content
and of course access to the Discord Lounge
which is the best place to be an Arizona sports fan
discounts on all of our events
and discounts with our partners
so make sure to sign up today
and become part of our family.
Of course, great way to go see baseball games
when you're not doing takeovers with us
is getting your tickets through game time.
Game time is all about baseball this time of year.
They're making it that much easier on you
to get the tickets with a discount code
of first pitch $20 off from now.
Until April 14th of course game time is the place for last minute ticket deals you can save up to 60% off buying last minute tickets for concerts
Sports comedy shows all sorts of stuff I love comedy shows myself
It's the fastest growing ticketing app in the country for a reason take the guesswork out of buying tickets with game time
For a limited time right now all users can get that $20 off any MLB purchase of a hundred and fifty dollars or more in the game time app with code first pitch
Terms to apply that's code F-I-R-S-T-P-I-T-C-H all one
word for $20 off from now until April 14th only download the game time app today last minute
tickets lowest price guaranteed a great place to get over a sweep like we saw this weekend of course
is at illegal peats you will find Damon there he will be i was drinking my sorrows away he was
he was drinking the strongest margaritas in arizona he had all of iseraldo perdomo baseball
cards with him uh of course it's a great place to have on the table oh and it's like look we're not
gonna, like, it's gonna get a hot fast. And I know Illegal Pets has Misters and their patio is always a
great time. But of course, now is the time to take in this beautiful weather that we have here in
Arizona. And patio season means patio beers, of course, at Illegal Pets. Of course, check out their
full menu, their full bar and don't miss out, reverse nachos, pipe and hot case. So it's all great.
Illegal Piz is also here to bring you a win with their legendary sound check deal. Bring in your
ticket stuff from any ticketed event and get a draft beer or house margarita for just a penny.
Pete wants to celebrate with you, whether it's pregame or postgame party, they got you covered
on all your game day needs.
Must purchase an adult entry entree to redeem illegal Pete's sound check deal.
Illegal Pete's, your go-to spot for burritos, buddies, and beer.
And, of course, we got some more Mailbag Monday questions.
And we know what, like I said, we know what today is.
It's mailbag Monday.
But it's also a solar eclipse or what is it?
What is they say totality?
When is eclipse totality occurring?
It happened, happened at a baseball field.
We have questions about the solar eclipse.
Let's get to it.
Damon, what we got?
First question comes from a very big gunner,
a D-back's UK Western,
says if Corbyn Carroll hits a home run
and a solar eclipse,
is it called a sunshot or a moonshot?
Hmm.
Yeah, well, I mean, scientifically, like,
there's nothing about a solar eclipse
that would cause a dinger that traveled to the moon
to go to the sun.
It's just not at least I mean I'm no I'm no astronomeric so I'm I don't have the credentials for this kind of thing
But that's at least my understanding of the situation
Maybe we call it a shadow a shadow shot given the the events of the
It could be new that's new I like it I'm not against that
I don't know
It's not an Apo Bapo Moonshot just seems very that seems very apropos like we have a thing already called
the moonshot and you want to just come up with a new term.
That's crazy to me.
But I don't know.
I guess,
yeah,
I guess we'll go with your stupid idea.
Okay.
Yeah,
what else we got?
Well,
yeah,
let's take a look right now,
by the way,
we got some great pictures of the,
of the eclipse.
Look at this.
This is actually what Cleveland looks like right now.
Or not,
not right now.
2 p.m. Eastern time around what,
like 11 a.m.
our time.
This is,
this is actually what it looked like.
This was in the past.
path of the eclipse totality.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, I think that's the right.
That's crazy.
Lingo.
Yeah, we tried to go outside and look.
It was not this exciting.
Yeah, it did not look like this, Phoenix, Arizona.
Yeah, this game was kind of unique.
Guardian's White Sox, I believe it starts at 215 Eastern time, or 215 Arizona time, which
is just a few hours after totality.
So I believe this is the only game today where, like, gates were actually open
and fans had the opportunity to take in the eclipse from inside of a ballpark.
What I'm really disappointed by Derek is that Major League Baseball didn't schedule a game
during the eclipse because that would have been electric.
Can you imagine like the lights being lights are on already?
And you're playing like a day game and a night game like all in one.
Yeah, that would have been electric.
That would have absolutely been electric.
Also the name, the path of totality, that's, that's electric.
That needs to be like a team.
that dominated, you know, it's
opposition for a season.
It's its path of totality.
Oh, there you go.
Or like maybe a WWE pay-per-view.
I don't know.
PLE?
They're not called pay-prews anymore.
All right.
What else we got, Damon?
We got more solar eclipse questions.
Michael Rokicke asks which D-Bax players
most likely to look at a solar eclipse?
Oh, don't do this to us.
I mean, this is,
I don't know how to take this question,
but I feel like it's like whoever we say is a shot.
And it's obviously Blaze Alexander, right?
I think, I mean, I think just based on what we were hearing about his personality in his first few days in the majors, he could, yeah, I mean, a blaze moment, like a situation where like he just doesn't, something just kind of goes over his head. He just doesn't quite get it. And, and yeah, I mean, maybe that's something that he wouldn't quite get that you're not supposed to stare directly at the sun, even even in the event of a solar eclipse.
I feel like Alec Thomas would do it just because you told him not to.
I think Alex Thomas would, I think he would look at it, but he would have the glasses because he would think they looked cool.
And they were like part of his fashion statement for that particular day.
Yeah.
Right.
Meanwhile, Corbin couldn't be bothered with it.
He couldn't care if there's an eclipse or not.
He'll just know if this does this impact my training.
Yeah, right, right.
Exactly.
Yeah.
Anybody else?
I don't know.
Gino?
No.
I don't know.
You think Gino would look.
You think Gino would stare at the sun?
I really don't.
It's definitely Blaze.
It's Blaze.
And Ryan's right.
Defo Blaze,
he has a golden retriever energy.
That's a great way to put it.
That's exactly what he does have.
Big,
big GR energy from Blaze.
All right,
what else we got,
Damon?
Next question comes from bold as bronze.
And Gabriel says,
if you had to predict
which current players
are going to give a speech
in Cooperstown in 20 years,
who would they be?
Read the room, Gabriel.
We just got swept by the Braves.
What are we doing?
All right?
I'm not in the mood to talk
about which of these players are going to be future
Hall of Famers, Jesse? I mean,
in fairness, I think Gabriel's asking
about, like, baseball, major leaguers
at large, not just Diamondbacks players.
In which case, it is a very interesting question.
It's a question that's a whole episode.
Pretty impossible to answer.
I mean, like, I guess you're just thinking
of players who are very young now
that you feel, I mean,
as good as you can feel about
getting to the Hall of Fame as you could imagine
for someone who's, you know, in his early
20s or whatever. Bobby Witt, Jr.,
is someone who I think is going to be a very, very good baseball player for a long time.
Is he going to make the Hall of Fame?
Like, yeah, that's sort of a crazy thing to be making claims about at this point.
But I could see it.
I could see Bobby Whit being a Hall of Famer.
I could see Julio Rodriguez being a Hall of Famer.
Don't do this.
This is too wide open.
He's going to go on for 30 minutes with this.
Do you know how many players you could say are going to maybe be a hall of papers?
No, but there are really aren't that many.
Can we at least condense it down to Diamondbacks?
Are there any future Hall of Famers on the Diamondbacks?
Is there any potential there?
that almost feels too narrow.
Like how many future Hall of Famers does any one team have at a given time?
Sure.
Like maybe one, right?
For the Diamondbacks, I guess Corby and Carroll would be the easiest answer at this point.
Right.
Zach Gallin seems like potentially could be, you could see that.
I like Solario.
He'd probably be making his speech sooner than 20 years.
His 20 years would mean that his last season was 15 years from now.
I don't know if Gallen has 15 more seasons in him.
Okay.
He would be in he would be like 43 years old at that point.
So they have to be a first ballot hall of famers.
What you're saying?
I guess right.
I guess that that's a good point.
That's a good point.
Yeah,
yeah.
Obviously it's not always a first year thing.
But yeah,
Bobby Witt,
Julio Rodriguez,
Adley Ruchman's another guy.
Like wouldn't surprise me in all of
if Adley Ruchman was a Hall of Famer someday.
What about actual legends right now?
What about like you're,
you're going,
you're going with the far off like young guys.
Wait, Damon wants to tell.
us why James Outman won't be a Hall of Fame.
Wow.
Okay.
First off,
that guy didn't even cross my mind
because that's the most,
I didn't,
are we're giving,
we're giving Hall of Fame busts to like,
nobody players.
That's insane.
To eight-taders in their lineup, Jesse.
That's nuts.
I was just going to say that when,
once we get Otani locked up in federal prison,
we know he won't be making the Hall of Fame.
Sure.
Pete Rose and Otani, man.
It's going to be a fun,
fun little group we got there.
just crickets
two guys who are too scared
too scared to put their their faces on that
not this guy
not this guy I'm I'm ready to throw it all out on the table
do we go for next question please
yeah yeah can I get a next question please Damon
hey it's Maria hey Maria
our favorite Dodgers fan
she came just in time for that take
yeah that was a good one all right well
got.
Last question comes from Ryan Hanley, and he said, what is your impression of
WrestleMania?
Yes, Jesse.
Doesn't just have to have like a baseball spin on it?
Like, we can just have people submitting mailback questions.
It's not anything about baseball whatsoever, right?
You can actually leave the room if you want to.
It's time to clock out.
I'm not.
I'm trying to do that.
Someone actually specifically wanted to know what your impression of WrestleMania was.
Now, I don't have anything to say because I didn't.
You don't have to say anything else.
What is your impression of WrestleMania as a whole, as a thing that exists?
What is your hot take on my favorite thing?
Go.
It sucks, Derek.
It's a waste of your time.
I mean, I like Philadelphia.
Like, if it was, I mean, a lot of cool things happened in Philadelphia in my mind.
So if it was there, I mean, sounds like an okay time.
It was a great time.
But let me tell you.
How would you know?
You weren't there.
You were watching the Diamond Dix just swept by the brakes.
I was getting updates.
States for Mega Rat all the time.
Cheese steaks were great.
The weather, not so much.
But of course,
my impression of WrestleMania is that I think that
they gave the fans just the
experience that they were looking for.
I thought it was a well done event.
Like, it's this huge event.
They've moved it now to being two nights.
They've really taken advantage of it.
Everything went really well.
All of their events went really well.
Everybody had really positive things to say about it.
And that's hard considering the size of those events.
I mean, we're talking about Jesse.
combined attendance of over 145,000 people over those two days at Lincoln, at the Lincoln
financial field or whatever.
They really didn't have something better to do with their time.
Oh, man.
And see, here's the thing is I'll even agree to this, that there are some people that, like,
we're sitting so far away that, like, even the screen to watch the matches off was tiny
and small, right?
What's the point?
People love it.
You love it.
It's a rare thing.
Not everybody gets to go.
It's like a Super Bowl in a way where you don't really care.
about the teams because it's neither of your teams on the field, but you just went to go because
it's an experience. It's a thing. For me, my birthday is March 24th. And so as a small child,
I was under the impression that WWF was putting on this big event for me in honor of my birthday
every year. Because I always got to watch it. I was like, that was like, we'll pay money to
get it this time because it's always around your birthday, right? So of course, I have very good
memories tied to it. But I think this one, the thing that was different is the, the
WWE ultimately has, you know, these, which blew your mind, I know, the outcomes are predetermined.
Right.
Yeah, yeah.
It was crazy to Jesse when he found out the outcome was predetermined.
But, like, they have an opportunity a lot of times to make fans happy.
And instead, they try to, like, do things to, like, make the situation a little bit more complicated or do something.
Oh, maybe, like, pray on your emotions and maybe make you leave angry so that you're willing to watch the show the next night to see if your guy that you were, you know, rooting for can come back.
and overcome what happened to them or whatever, right?
And instead, it just leaves people angry is really what it does.
It makes people turn it off and it makes people stop watching.
They had an opportunity to make a lot of people happy.
They did.
It was fun.
And right now, it's being ran by the same group that owns UFC.
And it just feels very different.
It felt like they did a great job of, I mean, honoring everything that was going on,
putting on a great show.
And it was, they had some great moments.
Sammy Zane, winning the Intercontinental Championship, personal favorite moment of mine.
Cody Rhodes, obviously, finally finishing his story.
These are just some long-term storytelling things that they've done, that it was really gratifying as a fan,
much like when you watch, you know, a movie and it's long, but you get to the ending and you very much enjoy it.
This was a proper ending for a lot of these things that people have invested their time in watching,
even though you think that's a waste of time.
I do.
Understandably so.
I'll tell you right now, don't fucking watch Lost.
Don't ever waste your time on that show.
It was a complete waste of time
As someone that loved that show
Save yourself the time
It just seems so unnecessary
I know it really does
But like from that perspective
Yes I understand how people think
Some things like this are a waste of time
And in fact some things like lost
Are in fact a waste of your time
But wrestling, very fun
I'm gonna take you to an event
Espo wants to go to an event
So I'm gonna put a GoPro on him
Like I would on Blaze Alexander
While he's playing baseball
And see what we get back
But of course
That's a great
question and I had a great time honestly there was a main event delivered on all of my childhood
like growing up watching wrestling moments with the undertaker and scene and all that stuff so it's a lot
of fun had a great time and honestly wrestling is better when you do watch it with your friends so
watch wrestling with your friends have have big events like that uh I ate a lot of good food I'm up like
10 pounds that's where I'm at that's a status update on me but of course I'm gonna try to go run
some of this off in the meantime you can follow us on Twitter I'm at cap underscore
Caveman with a K.
This maniac next to me is at Jesse and Friedman.
Make sure to drop a like before you leave.
We always appreciate it when you do that.
Damon Dog, of course, the people's producer is at Damon Dog.
That's D-A-W-G.
We are Damon's dogs.
Bark, bark.
Our show, of course, is at P-HNX underscore D-Backs,
but all roads do lead to at PHNX underscore Sports on Twitter,
Instagram, and Facebook.
We thank you guys so much for your time.
We will see you guys tomorrow.
We have a post-game show after their first game with the Rockies.
hopefully the vibes or after their second game with the rocks
second game that's right
no post no post game no no post game no post game tonight
we got a post game tomorrow after that second I would do it but Derek refuses
so see oh my god and you're mad at me that I'm outing cogs
that's a crazy way to end the show just straight under the bus
yeah just threw me right under the bus with no regard for my personal safety
we thank you guys we'll see you guys tomorrow in the meantime have a great night
go diamondbacks and of course we want you guys to remember
Remember kids, baseball is fun, but it's also fun when you watch pro wrestling, Jesse.
No, it's not.
Just watch it.
No, it's not.
