PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - Open and Closed
Episode Date: October 7, 2022Devin Booker, Deandre Ayton and the Phoenix Suns prepare to start the basketball season, the Arizona Cardinals finally beat the Carolina Panthers curse and Zach Ertz prepares to take on the Philadelph...ia Eagles for the first time since leaving. The Arizona Diamondbacks finish their season with a WIN, Merrill Kelly commits to play for Team USA.PLUS we answer all of your burning Arizona sports questions as we go Down In The DM’s! Join Chierstin Susel and Makayla Perkins for another episode of THE Phoenix Sports Podcast!0:00 Intro1:10 Welcome to the show... its off the rails already5:40 Temperature Check5:50 The Arizona Cardinals: JJ Watt, Andy Isabella and Zach Ertz30:30 The D-Backs season ends and Merrill Kelly heads to the World Baseball Classic38:15 Does the NFL have a QB problem?44:30 Brittney Griner updates47:00 What to expect from the Phoenix SunsGametime: BUY TICKETS HERE: https://gametime.hnyj8s.net/c/3442941...SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsportsDraftKings: Download the DraftKings Sportsbook app now (https://bit.ly/3Jl1dMX), use promo code PHNX and make your first deposit of FIVE DOLLARS and get TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS in FREE BETS INSTANTLY! For every leg you add you can boost your winnings up to ONE HUNDRED percent!If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, crisiscounseling and referral services can be accessed by calling 1-800-GAMBLER (1-800-426-2537) (IL/IN/MI/NJ/PA/WV/WY), 1-800-NEXT STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (CO/NH), 888-789-7777/visit http://ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-BETS OFF (IA), 1-877-770-STOP (7867) (LA), 877-8-HOPENY/text HOPENY (467369) (NY), visitOPGR.org (OR), call/text TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN), or 1-888-532-3500 (VA).21+ (18+ WY). Physically present in AZ/CO/CT/IL/IN/IA/LA/MI/NJ/NY/PA/TN/VA/WV/WY only. Min. $5 deposit required. Eligibility restrictions apply. See http://draftkings.com/sportsbook for details.OGeez!: Enter the “Flavoring Life” sweepstakes. One winner will receive 3 bags of OGeez, an OGeez! Hat, a PHNX shirt of your choice, and a PHNX annual membership. Sign up at gophnx.com or visit https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FA.... Must be 21 years or older to purchase.Four Peaks: Enter to win the “Toast of the Month” sweepstakes to win a $50 Four Peaks gift card, a PHNX shirt of your choice, and a PHNX annual membership. Go to goPHNX.Com or visit https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FA... Must be 21 or older. Enjoy responsibly.Bad Birdie: use code “PHNXSPORTS” to take 15% off your next Bad Birdie order! https://glnk.io/7qnq/phnx-sportsMor Furniture: Sit in the same seats we do! Check out https://morfurniture.comUnderdog Fantasy: Sign up for Underdog Fantasy today! Go to the link https://play.underdogfantasy.com/p-phnx and use promo code “PHNX” to receive a deposit match up to $100When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Thank you for joining us here on the Phoenix Sports Podcast, presented by the Drafting Sportsbook app, America's top-rated sportsbook app.
Don't forget to hit that like button, subscribe wherever you get your podcast, and leave us a five-star review.
I'm Cherston. She's Michaela. Once again, happy Friday. Today just, like, feels like a Friday, and I regret the coyote. I just watched the coyote's crew hop on with beers.
Speaking of not grabbing one.
Oh, look at that. You went to a grab it as soon as I came. Nobody wanted to see Craig's face.
on there, Craig. You're still on there.
Oh, no, you're still alive.
What's going on there?
Well, I just came with a present for Mac.
I was just slandered on the coyote show, everybody.
Absolutely slandered by some false, some false narratives.
Go ahead, Craig.
We have some pretty good evidence, Mac, that the nutter butters were on your guys.
If you missed the coyote show, I was accused of stealing Craig's nutterbutters,
and to that I say, that was blasphemy.
Mack Simpson was the one that stole the nutter butters.
I was just compliant.
I was just compliant.
in this entire thing and Max asked me if we wanted to share the nutter butters and I said yes.
Okay, I'm not going to lie. I'm not going to lie. Max never,
Max was there for the entire conversation and never stepped in and said that it was actually
him. Oh no. Oh no. Okay. This has gone off the rails.
Investigation will have our findings on Monday. That's all this. So that is the culprit.
So if anyone knows Max, if anyone knows Max track record of food allegations from earlier this week,
Burritos. Fact.
Michaela Perkins
Hoarded a green chili
burrito from earlier this week
put her name on it and
shoved it in the crevice of our fridge
next to some green salsa. You're just mad back because you got caught
stealing the nutter butters and I'm standing up for myself.
She is a burrito hoarder.
My name will be cleared. My name will be cleared
because this is not my character. That is absolutely her character.
How much green salsa did Michaela's?
I resent all this. I would have one burrito. What we saw
in the fridge, at least four
I like salsa, assume me.
It's not even including what she brought home.
It's not a crime to have salsa.
And I quote, I took 10 green salsa packets home.
10.
It's not a crime to eat like salsa.
Sorry that I like my burrito with salsa.
It is a crime when other people need to eat salsa.
What are we doing here?
No, it's not.
Are you giving her nutter butters now?
Am I allowed to have these now?
Wow.
Wow.
Okay, I'm allowed to have the nutter butters.
What a great guy.
All I said was I needed to.
a beer and all of a sudden, Pedy comes down
with a golden logger from
Four Peaks for me, so thank you, Pee-Dee-D.
Okay. What's more fine than that?
If you missed out on the Nutter Butter
debacle, go watch the PHNXNX
Coyote show. They were live just a few moments ago.
You can catch it on our YouTube channel, and you
can see for yourself. They had key to be a cell.
And Shane down on that show. Yeah, it was an incredible show.
They also slandered my name, and I
resent that. It was Max's just told the Nutter-Butter
is, and I was stand by that. Today I die.
You didn't stand up and tell them
it was wrong, and you still ate the Nutter-butter-butter,
So it's not like you're innocent here.
I ate one nutter butter out of the four.
Max had two.
That makes it more guilty.
Anyways, okay.
This is my first time drinking the golden lager.
Really good, right?
I'm usually a peach ale or a hazy IPA from Four Peaks kind of gal.
This is really good.
Golden Lager is my favorite one.
Golden Lager slaps.
Everything from Four Peaks slaps.
I'm still a hazy IPA girl to the day I die.
But I love Four Peaks beer.
And if you have four peaks beer.
We do.
We are taking over the ASU Hot Weeks'Hawks beer.
home opener on October 14th. The tickets are already sold out. So unfortunately, if you missed out on that,
you will not be able to join us. But if you become a PH&X member, you will get first dibs on our
next takeover. This was a PHNX member's only event. So there's just more reason for you to sign up
to be a member. But we're going to be meeting at four peaks. We're going to be eating in Taco Bar.
All you can eat tacos where hopefully I will be accused of hoarding anything because it's all you can
eat taco bar. And so, yeah, it's going to be really fun. You can't take the last of anything, though,
apparently not everyone is so sensitive in this office about food oh my gosh i work with a bunch of babies
you are just selfish a bunch of babies this show is i i don't even know what is about to happen in
the show because we are so off the rails here shots fired should we just get into temperature
check yeah i think we should at this point just remember though if you're going to drink it for
pique spear you must be 21 years older and enjoy responsibly okay now let's do it all right let's get
into a temperature check of sports.
Here in the Valley, starting with the Arizona Cardinal.
Regardless of what passion it was in, they got a win on Sunday.
So two and two on the season, a lot of storylines either out of that game throughout
this week heading into their game on Sunday against the Eagles, another home game,
so they're back at home.
So little time to celebrate that win.
Thank goodness they got it, because I think.
think a lot of people heading into that game were like, listen, if they lose this one, I think this
whole season is lost. So the jury is still out on what the Cardinals can be this season, but they
kind of, by getting another win, getting closer to Hopkins return and things like that, kind of saved
themselves. So we're hanging on to still a little bit more hope. J.J. Watt, after that game,
though it was really hard to see him as emotional as he was.
Just I think anytime we see a grown man cry,
but also just the situation surrounding it as he tied in,
his situation with his, you know,
seeing this baby on an ultrasound and just tying that whole thing together.
Feel for the guy.
He was mostly missing from practice this week,
but he did practice today.
So it was great to see him back out there.
Yeah, glad to see JJ Watt back on the field.
As always, that press conference.
was definitely tough to watch.
You never want to see someone trying to struggle with their seeing.
You never want to see someone struggling with their health in that way.
It was very emotional.
But I'm happy that he's back out on the field.
Hopefully everything is good.
I don't necessarily trust the NFL or the personnel when it comes to making health decisions
after what happened with Tua a couple weeks ago.
So I'm just praying that everything is good with JJ.
Listen, I think they learned our lesson because Brian Hoyer yesterday,
as soon as he went out of the game for a potential head injury, he was done for the rest of it.
So I think they're going to try and course correct after that one.
But yeah, we can only hope.
Another thing that happened this week, I think it was sort of a long time coming.
I hate to say it because I was always rooting for Andy Isabella to pan out.
But the team finally waived him.
He was the last of three receivers drafted in that 2019 draft class to not work.
So the thing with Andy is not only did he not work out, but he was the guy that was taken two picks before D.K.
Medcalf.
And so that sort of put some extra pressure and some extra hate from fans.
I don't know.
The closest thing I could compare to is like the DeAndre 8 and Luca Donchich thing where it's like you're always going to be compared to that other guy that the Cardinals could have gotten or that a team here in Arizona could have gotten.
So there was that lingering.
And I think they probably held on to him for a little bit longer than they necessarily needed to.
but he's gone picked up and signed to the Ravens practice squad.
And yeah, neither or none of those three receivers in that 19 draft class panned out.
So Steve Kime.
Steve Kine, looking at you.
I'm just, it's hard for me.
Like, I'm not, I don't really, I didn't have a lot of emotional stock in Andy Isabella.
Like, whether or not he really panned out for this team didn't really matter for me,
towards me to me. He obviously had that one incredible play where he received a ball and ran it in
for a touchdown a few years ago. But I wasn't really that emotionally connected to Andy Isabella.
Obviously, I hope he can find his way and get a shot somewhere else. But the fact that he was
a part of that 2019 draft class that none of the receivers taken in ever worked out really to me
just points to the glaring neon sign warning sign that is Steve Kimes draft choices.
is. I have had some conflicting feelings about Steve Khyme's GM for a while, but Andy Isabella
getting cut is kind of just like another reminder that I don't really necessarily think the person
making the choices at the GM position for the Cardinals is all that great. I don't really,
I'm just disappointed. Like, it's just frustrating. And to also be put in the same category as
D.K. Metcalfe, like, are you kidding me? What are we doing here? So
It's just frustrating.
I think one of the reasons why I was rooting for Andy so much is just because he's a good guy and a really, really, really hard worker.
So apparently on his way out, he told Cliff, go prove him wrong.
So even in that situation, he was, you know, telling his head coach, like, hey coach, like, go.
Like, he's just like a good kid.
And so you just like, I'm on a route for those guys.
But the other two that were drafted in that class, Kishon Johnson, who was waived by the Falcons in August.
right now he's not even with the team and then he came butler who's playing in the cfl so like you've got
andy who's on a practice squad and then the other two guys are completely out of the league entirely
right like as we speak um they might get other chances down the road but it's just not good um so
you get rid of um andy isabella and then you think you're going to get antoine wesley back
this week unfortunately he was on iR this entire season for a hip and groin injury came back to
practice this week and suffered another injury. He's getting an MRI. So last I saw,
they're waiting for results on that, but he could miss the entire season. So there you are with
just another setback at that position as well as you wait for DeAndre Hopkins to return.
You know, Rondale Moore's been dealing with injuries as well. It's just like they can't seem to
get it right with that position group, which heading into the season should have been their
one of their most solid position groups.
Yeah, the wide receiver room is a struggle bus.
We obviously knew going into the season that we were going to be missing the most important piece of that room, which is DeAndre Hopkins.
But unfortunately, the injury bug seems to have plagued that wide receiver room.
And oh my gosh, what a horrible time for this to happen to the Cardinals when they really, really didn't have any room for any wide receiver to go down until we got D.Hot back.
So, oh, man, you hate to see it.
I don't really know.
Like, I think the Cardinals need to be aggressive before the trade deadline.
And I think they need to add some more pieces into that room, especially if Antoine
Wesley goes down for the rest of this season.
Like, they have to address this.
They have to get more help in terms of wide receivers.
So I hope that that's something that they are considering and looking at seriously because I know
that there's only a few games left until D. Hop comes back.
But good Lord.
like we can't just hinge our entire hope of the season on DHOB shoulders.
Like we have to make sure that we are doing that will not we,
but the cardinals have to make sure they're doing everything they can to solidify this
offense and to give Kyler weapons to throw the ball to that way at the bare minimum.
There aren't any excuses on the table of why the offense isn't performing.
Kyler Marie has all the weapons that he needs to be productive.
And I just think that they need to really focus on getting this wide receiver thing fixed out.
Well, thankfully.
they do have Zach Ertz out there as well as a pass catcher.
And this is a big, big weekend for him.
He's going to play his former team.
Spent eight and a half seasons with the Eagles.
Obviously, it'll be a reunion.
And he was asked about that midweek as well.
Here's what he had to say.
I haven't, I don't think the emotion has hit me.
You know, it's been a lot of just viewing them for the next opponent.
I got a lot of good relationships still back there.
Wayne Johnson, Jason,
Kelsey, Fletch, BG.
We played a lot of football together,
eight plus years together.
So when you're with people that long,
it becomes more than just a football thing.
It becomes more of a relationship,
care about them and their family.
So from that perspective,
it's going to be good to see those guys.
But on the field, it's going to be
me versus their defense.
It's not going to be Zach versus the Eagles.
And we just got to go out there and play
a really good football game.
Fun fact, if he gets a catch on Sunday,
he will have caught a pass against every team in the NFL.
That's cool tidbit.
But yeah, so this is obviously a reunion, long time coming for Zach Gert.
So it's obviously going to be a storyline.
Spotlight's going to be on him a little bit in terms of a fan perspective
to see what he's able to do.
The Cardinals have never lost to an NFC East team during the Cliff Kingsbury era.
There is 6 and 0 with an opportunity to go 7 and 0 against a team that is 4 and 0 to
start the season. So the odds are definitely not in their favor. They're five point dogs in this
matchup. Although I have seen a lot of talk. Now, this is like national media talk of thinking
that maybe the Eagles are not as strong of a team as their record might suggest. But this is
going to be a big test for them. And we all know that the Cardinals do not play well at home. So
I am hoping that they're going to be able to defy odds and get a stinging win on Sunday.
Yeah, the Cardinals are just not.
I don't have a lot of faith in this game.
I think they're still the only team in the NFL to not have scored any points in the first quarter.
So it's not looking great.
Hopefully, Zach Ertz can turn on some superhuman powers.
I would love that.
I would love a big game from Zachertz.
Yeah, Beast is former team, but I'm a little worried for the Cardinals in this matchup.
But I think once we get past this game, hopefully we can get past this game with no other.
issues. The schedule looks a little bit brighter, so it's going to be an interesting game for sure.
Yeah, I think this will be another big litmus test to, again, for actually both the Eagles and the
Cardinals to kind of see, like I said at the beginning, I feel like the jury is still kind of out
on what this Cardinals team can be. I know a lot of people are really disappointed in Cliff Kingsbury
this season and are putting a lot of blame on his shoulders, specifically for those slow starts,
which it's worth noting that the Eagles have outscored their opponents 48 to 14 in the first half of games this year.
And we all know, yeah, the Cardinals have stunked up in the first half.
So you mentioned no points scored in the first quarter.
So it'll be interesting.
It'll be a litmus test for both teams.
I would love to see the Cardinals step up, finally turn that page where we can feel a little bit better about them,
a little more certain of where the season is heading.
But of course, the Eagles are going to want to keep their perfect.
record intact. I got a notification this morning if you guys are still wanting to go out to that
game out at State Farm Stadium. Tickets have dropped in price. The notification on the game time
app was 17% drop for ticket prices for a 125 kick on Sunday. So that was again a notification
from the game time app, which is how we here at PH&X get all of our tickets to sporting events to
concerts. I mentioned this. I got my parking pass to the last home game against the Rams.
Like a last second thing, got a last second invite and was like, wait, what do I do about parking?
Let me check the game time app. It was able to buy it within a matter of like probably like 60 seconds,
pulled over at a gas station, bought it and then continued driving to the game. So the game time
app is where it's at up to 60% off on tickets when you buy them last.
minute. So it's great for all the procrastinators out there. But really, it's just the hottest new
ticketing site that makes it easier than ever to score deals. Again, concerts, shows, sporting events,
parking passes. If you love PHNX, you're going to love the GameTime app. It is the best way to
support us is by buying your tickets through the link in the description. So I made the mistake of just
downloading the app without using our own link. That is my bad. So if you do download the GameTime
Matt. Be sure to do it through the link in the description.
All right. So the Cardinals, not the only team in action. By the way, today felt like a great
day when walking into the office. You had playoff baseball, regular season hockey going on.
And we were talking about the Sons and the Cardinals and the Diamondbacks. Obviously, we're going
to get to their season just wrapped up. So it just feels like a really fun time in sports right now.
but the Sons they beat the Lakers after falling to a team they should have never fallen to
in a way they should have never come out playing but I hope that preseason that first
preseason game they just got everything out of the way they did beat the Lakers still
preseason doesn't really mean much and something came out of it that might mean absolutely
nothing but it was great to see this video that the Sons tweeted out with DeAndre Aiton and
Devin Booker all smiles hanging out with this young fan who was in tears that he got to meet
some of his heroes.
And, you know, again, probably like really means nothing.
But it was a big thing for me.
I don't know about you, Michaela, to see DeAndre Aden smiling on the bench.
Yeah, it's great to see DA happy, especially after the shit storm we just went through with media
availability during media day and training camp and just really.
understanding the depths of maybe how unhappy DA had been with this front office with the team
in the off season and even maybe before then. So just to see a DA back to his like happy smiley self
was definitely a relief for me. I was starting to get concerned about how DA felt. And if maybe this
would bleed into the locker room and just kind of be a dark cloud over the whole team, the whole
season. So just to see DA back with book and the team and being happy just was like the big.
relief because I was so concerned after Media Day and just the statements that DA made about
not speaking with Monty, not really looking excited or happy to be here. So it's like a weight
has been lifted off my shoulder, seeing him smiling again. Honestly, a weight's probably
been lifted off his. Like, he's probably carrying that around all off season, just like coming up
with stuff in his head and letting it marinate. And I think probably, again, I'm not going to speak for
him. But if I were in his shoes, just getting back to the facility and getting back to the facility and
getting back to playing the game that I love and being around my teammates again and remembering,
oh, this is why I play the game and remembering, oh, yeah, I did actually sign that new contract too.
So I've got that going on. And then being coached by Monty as well. And, you know, he made a comment
this week that they didn't really need to have a conversation because there wasn't really anything
to talk about. I don't know how I feel about that. I don't like that. I think there's a lot to talk
about. And I think that kind of tone that Monty took and the response he had dismisses how important
it is to make sure that his team is on the same page and everyone is feeling good and happy. And
like I just don't think after watching their interaction on the bench during game seven last year and then
seeing how literally seeing and hearing how upset DA was during media day, I just don't see how
there can't be a conversation had or like I just feel like there was I just feel like it was like
glazing over the issue like to me there this is a big deal and I think Monty it's in Monty's hands
and it's Monty's responsibility as the head coach of this team to get on the same page as his
players and to address issues and to talk things out and to work things out we see what happens when
problems boil over and tempers rise Draymond Green so it's really important I think that's more of a
character flaw in Draymond Green himself.
Right.
Yes.
But yeah.
So I just, I wish Monty wouldn't have said that because I think it's not doing service to how
important it is for him and, uh, DA.
It's beyond the same page.
Well, we do have the clip.
Let's go ahead and listen to what he had to say.
I coach DeAndre every day in practice.
And I've already said this.
I'm not going to keep talking about every time I sit down and talk with somebody.
I'm not going to address it or, you know, make a statement.
about it. I coach him hard every day in practice. You see he's here getting his work in.
Like that's what we expect of our guys. Talking about whether or not I talk to a guy, I think
is kind of senseless.
Well, sit down, just air some things out. We don't need to air anything. That's my point.
I'm not going to keep addressing that. It's like he's the player, I'm the coach, just like
with Book and Chris and Mikhail. The A. Gets gets his work in.
And every day he's at 22 and 12 and 20 minutes.
Those are the kinds of things that we expect for me.
I don't need to sit down and talk about it.
I hate that.
I don't, why do I kind of like it?
No, I don't like it.
I'm with you,
Cherson.
Yeah.
Do you want to elaborate on that time?
I just feel like people are being a little dramatic.
Like, they're grown-house men.
I don't think everybody, like, they don't necessarily need to have a conversation.
Like, at the end of the day, it's work, right?
Like, if no one's there except for them, we don't know if it's really like a toxic work
environment. Like people have conflict and stuff sometimes, but they had a summer to get over it.
They're back. Like, the egg got his money. I feel like, even if they did address it, like,
I'm on the mindset. We're like, this is none of y'all's business. So I'm going to say we didn't
even have a conversation. Yeah. If we did, like, this is not, because if we did have a conversation,
now the media is going to be like, oh, what is this conversation about? Like, why do they not seem like
they're on good terms if they had a, like, I don't know. It's not really, like, buzz off. It's our, it's our thing,
not y'all i disagree that's what you sign up for when you're an athlete and you're in front of the
media every single day like obviously d a is unhappy he made it very clear during media day
like with his tone and the way he answered questions and so you open yourself up to speculation
when you're in that position and when you are in the the light for your job and i just don't think that
um it's fair for us to be i guess kept in the dark when this is like i think it's an issue like it's
an issue. You don't want to see the sons having culture problems within the organization. And so
not we only get one side of the story now because now we only know that DA isn't happy. And now we're
just left to like run with the narratives of DA is unhappy. He hasn't spoken to Monty. Monty hasn't
spoken to him. They don't, Monty doesn't think he needs to like air anything out. And so now we're
just going to what speculate on the little information that we have. Like I would rather know what's
going on and know that they had a conversation and know that everything's on the right page on the same page.
That way I can have confidence in this team moving forward throughout the same.
season that everything's fine. Yeah, I feel you, but like at the same time, like, I don't think
they owe us that. Like, it'd be one thing if like, I think franchises owe us a certain thing to
like be honest when it comes to like how the franchise is being run. And it's not like Monty's
being disrespectful to the media, but like I don't think they necessarily owe us what's going on
in the locker room. Like at the end of the day, they're people. I don't think, I don't, I don't,
I am not of the mindset that that players and coaches owe us anything other than.
and like respect, but I don't think they owe us the information of what's happening inside
the locker room.
I mean, what if, what if, like, Moni just came up to him and said, like, you know,
like, yo, we good or something like that?
Or like, I don't know, sometimes you can just, like, behave a certain way and just like,
you just know, like, okay, we're good.
And we're just going to, we're going to turn a page.
It's in the past.
I would say that if D'Andre looked visibly.
So the way that he looked in practice after that,
seem to give us a little more confidence that like it's he's not being like bogged down by it.
I would say if we saw it in practice and we saw it carry into games and things like that,
then it would be cause for concern. But if it was just like the first two days of him being back,
he aired some stuff out and got back to, you know, how things were last season before that falling
out and just, you know, like things are good. Then maybe we can all be.
just move on as well. I think best case scenario though is we did hear from Monty and he said,
listen, we talked it through. We're all good. Not going to talk about it anymore. Like,
our focus is on basketball. Like, obviously that would be best case scenario. No doubt. I am totally
with you on that, Michaela. But I feel like a little bit better that it didn't seem like it's
affected him in any way in practice or in these two preseason games. So hopefully that's the case.
Yeah, we can just all move on.
There was one thing that came out of that Laker game that is a little unfortunate.
It looks like both campaign and Cam Johnson are going to be out for the rest of the preseason.
So they just have two more games next week, beginning with Denver on Monday.
But they both suffered bright, like, finger injuries.
For Cam Johnson, that's just shooting hand for campaign.
That's his non-dominant hand.
And so I guess good in that regard.
And again, they're just like sprains.
But I just hope specifically for Cam Johnson's sake.
And we're going to get to it later on in the show.
But he's, you know, he has this kind of starting spot this year.
And so I would hate for there to be like this lingering throughout the entire season.
Because there's not going to be, there's no let up, right?
Like now you're entering the regular season.
And it's the very beginning of the regular season.
And now you've got potentially a finger that's going to be bugging you on your shooting hand.
throughout the season.
In and of itself, it could be nothing,
but I hope that this is not something
that we're talking about throughout this season.
Yeah, we definitely don't want to see
these injuries continue for sure.
And then one fun little thing
that came out of that game that went viral
is who doesn't love a dog,
dunk in the ball.
For those of you listening to this on audio format,
the little chihuahua that had the ball,
at the halftime show for the Lakers
and the Sun's preseason
game. It was so cute, the little guy.
I hate Chihuahuas.
I hate those.
I'm with you 100% on that.
I hate ankle batter dogs.
If your dog is small and can bite my ankles,
I hate it. I'm sorry, but blet.
And also if you want a small dog,
get a wiener dog.
Like, get something that's a little cool.
Or get a corgi or like a bulldog or a French bulldog.
Like, I don't want to, like,
if I can drop kick your dog over a fence, it's not a dog.
Bottom, bottom tier dog.
They're just big rats.
Yeah.
Absolutely.
If my cat's bigger than your dog, it's not a dog.
And Cleo is like four times that size.
I don't know.
This kind of reminds me of like this like boneless wings aren't chicken wings.
It's like who cares?
Who cares whether a Chihuahu is even a dog or not?
It's still evil creedies.
But they're not even cute.
They're not cute.
They're not going to keep a skunk as a as a, as a, as a, no, skunks are cute.
Yeah.
Some people de skunk skunk skunks and have them as pets.
Okay.
Well, you should be skunk and skunk.
Sorry if you'll listen to this and you have an ankle bite or dog, but I mean, let's
let's reevaluate.
Get a big dog.
Blake has the ultimate question.
Can we get Newman and Duncan basketballs?
Because that would be cute.
That would be incredible.
I'll see what I can do.
He is trained to do some tricks.
So maybe I'll have to add that to his repertoire.
All right.
Well, we didn't get a chance to talk about how comfy these chairs are that we love to sit in every week.
Or how your furniture shopping is going, Michaela.
It is slow and steady.
I've just begun the furniture shopping process.
I did find a couch that I am in love with and I'm so excited to get it.
I have already decided that I'm buying it.
I already picked out the upholstery.
Like I am obsessed with it and it comes from our friends at more furniture.
So I'm really excited to continue that process.
I have my couch locked down, which is what I was like the most nervous about for some reason.
So now that I've got my couch, I'm going to move on to the coffee table, the bed frame, the end tables, all that good stuff.
but more furniture has the most beautiful furniture,
and I'm so stoked to have a fully new furnished apartment at the end of this month.
It's getting closer.
So are you very excited about that.
Are you taking advantage of their fall sale?
I sure am.
Oh my God, you better believe I am.
Their fall sale going on right now is incredible.
You guys, if you're looking for furniture and you need a discount,
you have to go shop the more furniture fall sale.
I have saved so much money.
The couch that I was looking at was half off.
It is half off, you guys.
So I'm really excited.
about that. And if you do shop their fall sale, you'll receive a $100 gift card for every $1,000
you spend. So now is the time to go get your furniture for more furniture.com. Nice. Yeah,
girl. Awesome. All right. Fall sale still going on while the fall season is over for the Arizona
Diamondbacks. So ended things this week. And it was a little, it was a little bitter. I mean,
it's always bittersweet when it season ends, right? I know. Baseball is my favorite.
So I'm sad that it's nearing the end.
Obviously, the regular season's over and playoffs started today.
But I'm always sad to see baseball go.
I never want to watch it leave.
I hate to watch you go, but I love to watch you leave.
It was a tough season at times.
But did you feel like they exceeded or fell short of expectations?
Well, they personally for me, exceeded my expectations.
I had them winning like 62 games this year.
So the fact that they finished 74 and 88 and fourth place in the National League West,
definitely exceeded my expectations.
They won 22 more games this year than they had last year.
So they definitely got better, which I was really happy about.
I really didn't have, to be honest, any expectations for them this season because I didn't
know what we were going to get when it came to this team.
I think more than anything, watching their young guys come up through the system,
make so many, they had so many major league debuts, which was cool to watch.
And just to get to see their young guys get a chance to prove themselves and show us what
they're made of was my favorite part of the season. I think that is a win and I will take that
any day of the week because I think it's the farm system that the Diamondbacks and Mike Hazen
has cultivated that is going to make this team a championship team. So the sooner we start that process
of getting these guys some Major League service time, the better because I don't think the Diamondback,
well, I know the Diamondbacks aren't going to be big spenders and free agency or anything like
that because they just don't have the payroll and the money to do it like the Dodgers or the Yankees
do. So they're going to have to play some money ball and it's going to have to be done well
and concise and smartly. And so the process that they started this season of getting their young
guys some service time was super exciting for me because it just brings us that much closer to
2020 for 2025, which is when I think the Davavaks are going to be a real contender in baseball.
Yeah. For me, they exceeded my expectations. Like, never mind their record.
I would just say that I wasn't necessarily excited to watch this team just for the product that
they were going to put out there, never mind wins and losses, but they were a really,
really, really exciting team with, like you mentioned, getting to see those young guys come up
and get opportunities and just kind of provide a spark for this team and give us a little bit
of hope for where this team is heading as well.
So they definitely exceeded my expectations.
One thing, we all know, we all know they're going to.
going to have to address in the off
season is the stinking bullpen
who tied the franchise record for
most losses and was one
shy of the league record. But Jacob
pointed this out today that apparently
they, I think they set a new record
for losses of the, like
a league record for losses over
the course of the last two seasons or so
like in a two year span.
So regardless though,
they stink. And
you know, that was another reason
why I felt like this team was so exciting to watch.
because they put themselves into positions to win, you know, until their bullpen came along.
Yeah, the Diamondbacks lost 42 games this year in which they were either tied or ahead at the start of the sixth inning.
They just had to make it three more innings and they would have won 42 games, 42 more games.
So obviously the bullpen is a travesty.
It is atrocious.
There are enough words in the dictionary that I could possibly use to disdeme.
describe how horrible, horrendous this entire bullpen was this whole year. My God, it was painful watching
them. Anytime a bullpen pitcher came in, I literally just turned the TV off because I knew. I knew how
that was going to go. So I hope, well, I know that they will, but dear God, I don't know.
My Kaysen's going to have to get crafty when it comes to restructuring this bullpen because
as a team, as a fan of another team in the National League West, I see what happens when you just
throw money at a bullpen and pray and spending $110 million on a bullpen does not fix the
problem. So I think it's really difficult because the bullpen is the hardest part of baseball
to really plan and structure for. And you can't just throw money at it. Like it doesn't work to just
like like I spend a bunch of money on bullpen relievers. So however they fix this problem, it's going to
have to be done well because like you can't just throw money out a bullpen and hope it works out.
like they have to be very strategic about how they're going to fix this bullpen because good
Lord like it's bad.
Oh.
Yes, but at least the season is over and we can move forward with that.
And, you know, unfortunately, the dimebacks are not in the postseason.
But postseason baseball has just like a special place in my heart.
So regardless of whether the team I'm rooting for is in it or not, it's always a good time.
You know, we've got the hockey season starting up, like I mentioned.
We've got the NBA season starting up.
And so it's a good time.
Actually, it's a great time to download the Underdog Fantasy app.
It is the easiest and most fun way to spice up.
Not only, I didn't even mention this, obviously football season, but hockey, postseason
baseball, NBA.
That is Underdog Fantasy and their pickup games.
So just look for your favorite or least favorite players in any sport.
Uh, their stats pick between two and five players for your pickum entry and whether you think they're going to end up with a higher or lower total than the stat in this week's game. So get all your picks right and you can win up to 20 times your money and a single night. Uh, was it Derek that recently won pretty big? Yeah, Derek went a thousand dollars. I know someone else. I think Max and Shane each one a hundred bucks. Um, so our office is just crazy going crazy on.
the Underdog Fantasy app.
They are just raking in cash left and right.
Sean, have you won anything?
We're not going to talk about that.
I've won a few bucks, actually.
I have more money in the account than I deposited.
So that's a win in my book.
There you go.
You're in the green.
That's all that matters.
So you can search in the app store or click the link in our show notes to sign up with
the promo code P-HNX.
Anytime you sign up with any of our sponsors here,
here at PHNX. Use that
PHNX code. That's always going to be the code.
An underdog will double your first deposit up to $100.
Again, that's underdog fantasy using that promo code PHNX and get in on the action today.
All right, what do we have next, Mac?
It's time we go down in the DMs, baby.
Down in the DA.
It is time for down in the DMs.
And we are going to be answering your burning Arizona sports.
questions. Thank you to everyone who sent in a question on Twitter who respectfully slid into
our DMs with respectful questions. If you're one of those people who weren't respectful,
we're not answering your questions. And we're ignoring you completely or you're probably
muted now. So thank you to everyone who sent in your questions. We've got a lot to get to.
So Sean, hit us with our first question. All right. Essentially the question here is, is
Does the NFL have a QB problem
With all of the legends
Drew Breeze Rivers
Big Ben
Giselle Bunchen
A.k.a. Tom Brady
Being old,
retired or washed.
Well, and they also asked this
because many of the NFL games
including the primetime games
like last night
have been low scoring
Snooze Fest.
With an old washed QB.
Listen, I don't want to hate.
I don't watch your mouth.
I don't want to talk about last night's game.
You know what?
I'm ready to hate on Russell Wilson.
Oh, did you see the last.
play of that game there's no one's fall other than Russell Wilson.
He's interceptions, that Russell Wilson.
He made a mistake, but I don't think he's put in
a position to win night in and night
out either. We're not arguing about Russell Wilson.
What are we doing here? Shoshan.
Hack it.
That was not his fault.
Okay, last night was a mess.
It was bad. I am willing to admit that.
I don't want to spend a lot of time on it because I
will get visibly angry and probably walk off
this set.
But yeah, I mean, there have been a lot of
low-scoring primetime games this
season, and it happened quite a few times
last season two. And it's a bummer to watch that happen. I mean, obviously the whole nation is
watching that game and to have nothing but field goals the entire time. Not a single touchdown was
thrown. Not one last night. Um, it's just a bummer. And also when you take into consideration that
on average, Amazon Prime is paying $78 million per game that they broadcast. Um, that was a waste of $78 million.
So it's not a quarterback problem.
Like there's not a quarterback problem in the league.
Like you've got you've got Josh Allen,
Lamar Jackson, Joe Burrow.
You still have Aaron Rogers.
You can say Tom Brady's washed up,
but he's still Tom Brady.
Even Stafford,
who's also like, I don't know,
did he come out and say this is going to be his last season?
Because it probably is.
Kyler's still a great quarter.
Should, yeah, definitely should be.
You've got Kyler, Justin Herbert.
I mean, we don't have a quarterback problem.
If anything, I don't know,
maybe we have a coaching problem.
But I wouldn't blame like these.
It was Tom Brady who came out and said that he's been watching a lot of really bad football.
I don't think he came out and said watching a lot of really bad quarterbacks.
I just think in general is also ironic, which begins with your head coaches.
But yeah.
Yeah, no, I agree.
I don't think there is a quarterback problem.
I think I've never been more excited about the quarterbacks in the league than I am now.
Josh Allen, Patrick Mahomes, as much as that literally.
really kills me on the inside to say, um, Justin Herbert. There's so many that I can name that I am
genuinely. I left out Patrick Mahomes. Like I'm so excited to watch them play football. Like I've never
been more excited about the future of the quarterbacks in the league that I am now. I think on top of
there being a coaching problem. I think there we're seeing like a new, a new NFL, right? Like this isn't like
your old NFL where you are rumble tumble rough. You're running the ball every play like you're
relying on your running backs and your full backs to like get this thing moving like this is a new
NFL and like we're seeing new schemes we're seeing an emphasis on like air raids and new types of
offenses and things like that so I think maybe like we're just in a transitional period right
now where we're just seeing a new type of football take place and like take it's like grab onto
the league and like take root but I think you know definitely there's a coaching problem so
like I'm really excited about the quarterbacks in the NFL I guess I might be alone in that I could be
alone in that, but I don't think it's a quarterback problem.
I think there's a lot of different things that are factoring into these like low scoring games.
Yeah.
Admittedly, I drool over Patrick Mahomes watching him play football.
It is so fun to watch.
I mean, like seriously.
He's the most talented quarterback a lot of.
It's tremendous.
I love watching him.
We've got a little bit of breaking news.
The Cardinals just released tight end Max Williams, which is really sad because I was
rooting for that guy.
Remember he was injured last year and was watching every single game, cheering them on from home
and just never got back on the field for them.
So I grew for Tray McBride, baby.
See ya.
Bye Max Garcia.
See you never.
Trey McBride season's here, guys.
Let's go.
Real quick on the NFL thing, though.
Also, it's not like, it's just like the games that have been on prime time.
Like, it's not like we saw the Broncos were going to be better and they've been on prime time multiple times.
Right.
But like they haven't all been low scoring.
Like the bill scored 30 some points in opening day.
Of course, that's what he goes to.
That was the first game of the season.
And then also, you know, the bill was the first game of the season.
And then also, you.
look at like the the Lions Eagles game I think it was that was like 38 34 like there's high scoring
game the NFL just haven't been in the games in the prime time I honestly think the NFL needs to
make it so that their flex game rules starts way way sooner than what week 10 or week 11 is when
they can start flexing games like the NFL should just be able to flex games like the whole season
because you know pretty quickly into the season if a team is going to be good or bad and if we're
forced to sit on our couches and watch the Colts and the Broncos do nothing but
but score field goals for the entire game.
I would much rather the NFL flex that game and put something way more interesting on the
television.
So let's put literally literally anything.
Literally any game besides that one would have been more interesting.
Honestly, it gave me a little more freedom to do what I wanted to do on my Thursday night.
Well, not wanted to do, but I had stuff to get done and I didn't feel like obligated to watch
that game whatsoever because it was trash.
Well, Thursday night football is stupid in general.
I hate Thursday night football.
It's the dumbest thing that's ever been.
invented so we could just get rid of Thursday night football.
You're acting like that's this like hot take.
Nobody likes Thursday night football.
Nobody likes Thursday night football.
Well, you're weird.
I want there to be football every night of the week.
I just like they're being football.
That's weird.
The games are terrible.
But I think if the NFL allowed itself to flex games way earlier in the season
and we would avoid a lot of this issue.
So maybe that's something they'll look into after that dumpster fire of a game yesterday.
Hey, it's going to get better next week with the bears on Thursday night football.
The Bears and the Washington commanders.
I would rather watch paint dry.
I'd rather watch what I'd rather watch what I.
I watched last night.
All right.
What's the next question?
From Chris, can we keep talking about BG?
Keep her name in the conversation until she is home safe.
Yes, we absolutely can and will.
We can and well.
Well, you know, it was really, it's really unfortunate to hear what her wife Sherell had to say this week.
You know, Griner's date was set for her appeal, which is October 25th.
But in talking with Brittany, she said that Briener's.
at her absolute weakest ahead of this appeal and that it was, quote, the most disturbing
phone call she'd ever experienced that being Shirel speaking with with Brittany.
And, you know, she's been there in prison for in Russia for almost eight months now.
And I don't know.
You kind of, you feel hopeless in this situation, but I was a little bit encouraged that the
appeal came so quickly just knowing that.
they can basically do whatever they want to do over there. So October 25th, we're going to hear
this appeal. And maybe in a couple of weeks, we're going to hear some better news about her situation.
But it's heartbreaking, especially when you feel so hopeless. Yeah. Reading the article was really tough.
If you haven't read the article, I really recommend that you do because this is an important issue and it's
important to keep talking about her until she's home. But her wife said basically that BG was broken.
She was concerned that America was going to forget about her and just leave her there.
And it breaks my heart to think about that.
And I just wish more progress was being made to get her home.
But I just, I'd never want to see a human being in that type of state.
I never want to hear about someone feeling that way.
It's horrible and it's heartbreaking.
So I just, I'm, I'm heartbroken for BG.
I'm heartbroken for her family.
And, you know, I'm sure the appeals process.
is going to go how it's going to go because it's a Russian court.
But I just hope that Joe Biden and the American government are doing everything in their power
to make sure she comes home because she should be home.
She should be home already.
So it's just sad.
I said she was in prison.
I think like detained is probably the better term to use there.
But yeah, we're all, thank you, Chris, for asking that question or making that comment.
And we will continue to speak about the situation.
until she comes home.
All right.
What do we have next?
From Daniel, as Shane freaks out of baseball in the background,
losing McGee and inevitably Crowder,
will the Suns be a top four team in the West?
Yes, absolutely.
I don't think McGee or Crowder,
as horrible as this is going to sound.
I don't think they were a big piece of this team.
Obviously, they were depth players who provided,
they served their function well,
but I don't think they were major losses enough to not consider
this team, a top four team in the West.
I think we're looking at the
Clippers, the Warriors,
the Sons, and the Nuggets as
the best teams in the West this year.
And I absolutely believe
that the Sons will be
among the top four in the West.
And I don't think losing Crowder or
McGee really, it sucks.
Like, obviously, like they're great players.
They're great people. Like, I loved having them on the team.
But they weren't big enough losses
to take away from the fact that
the Sons are still at their core.
a very talented team and most of their pieces remain intact from last season.
So I expect the sons to be in the top four this year.
I actually think, and I don't know if this is a hot take or not,
but I actually think that Crowder is a bigger loss than McGee.
So, you know, you have Bismack stepping up in the rotation.
So you've got Ait, Sarmow, and I think you're, you're fine there.
There's not much of a drop off between Javelle McGee and Bismac Biombo.
So, you know, there I think they're fine a little bit, maybe a little bit of a drop off,
but it's not a make or break situation with that.
I think when you when you compare a guy like Jay Crowder to a guy like Cam Johnson,
they're two different like personalities entirely.
I've said this story multiple times, but I'll say it again.
I know that Chris Paul and Devin Booker felt that the type of player,
the type of enforcer kind of player, that.
was going to set a certain tone, especially when it comes to playoffs,
that they were missing that kind of personality at the time two seasons ago
and specifically gave Jay Crowder a call.
And so, you know, Cam Johnson is a nice guy and his game is a little bit different
and his personality is definitely different.
And so, you know, Jay Crowder is coming towards the end of his career.
Cam Johnson is blooming into the player that he can be still a young guy.
So just night and day difference, but I think that Cam Johnson's ceiling is really high.
And I'll be really excited to see what he makes of the opportunity to become a starter this season.
But the jury's still out.
I mean, I don't know.
Maybe that making that change is exactly kind of what this team needed.
But missing those two players is not going to count them out of being a top four team in the West.
I agree.
sure so you're both saying yes
I do have to say Mac
you left out the Memphis Grizzlies in your
top four which is they were
good last year so
but I am with you the West is hard this
year yeah the Clippers are better
the Eastern Conference of the NBA is a joke
yeah right now kind of is the Clippers are back
the Nuggets are back it'll be fun
The Sons are a great great team
don't forget who their stars are and then don't
forget who their head coach is so I mean
I'm fine with my top four picks I know people are going to
disagree but I'm sticking by those top four
I think they'll also make some moves midseason as well.
I don't think they'll win the West again, but I think they'll be top four.
Yeah.
And I brought up the Grizzlies, but I'm not saying, I think the Grizzlies are going to slide back a little bit.
They're really young.
I think the only team that could possibly maybe edge in there is the Mavs.
Interesting, yeah, fair enough.
Where are Javille McGee not plays?
Yeah.
I agree with you also, Chirisend, that the loss of Crowder is bigger than the loss of McGee.
But while we're on the topic of the Sons, we have another question from John Montoya,
over under on how many wins the Sons will have this year.
And also, when are we playing pickleball?
So first, the Sons question, if you had to guess, how many wins do you think the Sons will have this year?
Well, I know that there's already lines out there, especially on the drafting sportsbook app.
But if I was going to pick, I don't think that they necessarily repeat their performance of last year with 64 wins, right?
Right.
64 regular season wins.
I think they may be just like backside a little bit.
So if I was going to set it, I would set it at 52 and a half.
I think that's a really safe, good number that I feel comfortable at.
Now, take it's what it's worth because I set the over under for dive of access at 62.
And they way smash that over.
But if I was going to pick an over under, I would pick 52 and a half.
I feel comfortable with that.
I think like I mentioned before, like the core of the suns is still intact.
They still have their head coach.
The consistency is still there.
I wish they maybe would have done a little bit more in the off season.
but we are where we're at with this now.
And I think, you know, the Roberts Harbour stuff, the Rocky off season, the Jay Crowder drama, the DA stuff.
Like, it's all a little bit not great to put it in a way.
But I think that all contributes and factors into the decision to set it out 52 and a half.
So that's fine.
I think they have the leaders.
So like good enough leaders to where all of this offseason drama is not going to continue into the regular season.
reason. The over under on the draft King sports book app is actually set at 52 and a half. Oh, I did not know that.
Jack Kings, you want to hire me? Plus 105 for the over and minus 125 for the under. We do have some peeps in
the chat, Jay saying over 54, AZ King, 480, Alsa 846, Charles Woodall Pike at 52, Daniel at 54,
pHX Scotty at 52. So all around, 46 is a little.
a little low. Yeah, I think that's a little low for sure.
But in the 50s, I would say
that's a really, really successful
regular season still.
And yeah, I mean,
I think 52 and a half is like the perfect
place to put that line at.
So, yeah, shout out
to me for guessing what it is on the
Draff King Sportsbook app. So for the record, they are
they are, I guess, tied
with the Clippers. The Draffkin Sportsbook also has the
clippers over under set at 52 and a half, but the
clippers have better odds to go over 52.
They're minus 120. The
the Suns are plus 105 at my 52 and a half.
But if you're putting money on it, are you going over or under on that 52 and a half?
Shoot.
Crud.
I'll go over.
Okay.
Yeah, I'll go over.
I'll say that I have a little bit more confidence in this team to deliver more than 52.5 wins.
Personally, I'm going to say less because I think when you have as many as they did last year,
it's pretty natural for them to slide back a little bit.
Yeah.
They lost a couple pieces and the West are stronger.
But I think it'll be close.
Does this factor in the fact that we might.
Kevin Duria in.
Oh, relax.
Oh, geez.
No, no.
I'm getting.
I'm just putting it out there.
But I would take the, I lean a little biased with the sons.
I drink the local Kool-Aid, so I would take the over on that.
But if you guys want to get it in on the action, now is your chance to download the
Draft King Sportsbook app with the NBA season just getting going.
You can also, obviously, as you've been doing all season long,
put your money down on any NFL team to win.
If you bet $5 on a team to win,
you're going to get $200 in free bets if they do.
If that's not enough, everyone can boost their winnings
with the draft kings stepped up, same game parlayes.
So right now, for every leg you add,
you can boost your winnings up to 100% with bigger payouts.
Obviously, why would you bet on football anywhere else?
To make things even sweeter, you can throw down on
stepped up same game parlays once per game all season long, which I just mentioned.
It is simple.
Download that Draft King Sportsbook app using that promo code P HNX.
It's the simplest code PHNX.
When you download the Draft King Sportsbook app, going to get some free bets and some awesome
deals.
Minimum age and eligibility restrictions do apply.
See show notes for details.
Okay, let's get back to your questions.
Sean, what do we have next?
We have another one related to the Sons, but Josh Proman asked,
do the Sons get more wins this season than the Coyotes manage points?
That's a great question, Josh.
So the Coyotes finished with 57 points last year.
We already mentioned that the Sons won 64 games last year.
I think both teams are probably going to take a step back in both points on the season for the coyotes and wins on the season for the Suns.
Keep in mind the coyotes have the worst goal-telling tandem in the league.
That's probably true.
Yeah, at Draft Kings has Coyote's point total at 65 and a half.
65 and a half.
Plus 100 to go over, minus 130 to go under.
Ah, Lordy.
Well, that would be an improvement then, which is interesting that they have that.
Yeah, it's interesting that they think that they're going to do better than they did last season.
It's still the worst odds, I believe.
still the worst out than hockey.
The worst, yeah.
I don't know.
I have a hard time with the coyotes because I just don't know what playing in that new
arena is going to do if that's going to factor in.
Their goaltending tandem is horrendous.
That's why they under on their point total.
Because don't forget, they have to play like the first, what, 20 games on the road,
which screwed the New York Islanders last year.
Right. But I mean, if we're, okay, if the question is like, can you go back to the question?
It's what?
If the sons will win more games than the coyotes points.
Yeah. So Draft Kings thinks that the coyotes will score more points than the Sons will get wins.
Correct. If we're putting money on this, which I know we're not actually, it's going to be fun if we could, I have more faith in the Sons than I have in the Coyotes.
So I think the Sons win more games than the Coyotes score points. That's my personal thing. Obviously, people are going to disagree with me.
But I just have so much more faith in the Sons than I do the Coyotes. Unfortunately, I just don't see the Coyotes performing as better than they did last season.
I think that the coyotes are going to score more points.
Okay.
I'm going to say that.
And you know what?
Honestly, once again, great question.
Let's circle back at the end of the season.
Yeah, end of these seasons.
We'll come back.
We'll bookmark this.
Bookmark this for later.
Thank you for your question.
Do we have anything else?
You have another one for you, but we do have one more from an actual person.
So I'll get to that one first.
Simple.
Dario asks, do the Cardinals make the playoffs?
No way.
I'm with you.
Cheers.
I would say as of now, no.
I don't have any confidence in this Cardinals roster and judging off of their performance through week five of the NFL.
I'm not encouraged by what I've seen.
The Cardinals haven't had any statement wins so far this season.
They have scratched and clawed and like barely made it across the goal line to win the games that they have won.
And so if there was like maybe one or two statement games under their belt where they beat the bricks off the opponents that they were.
were facing, like, I would say they've got a chance.
I mean, it's really, I think it's a two-horse race in the NFC West, right?
Like, the Rams and the Cardinals, like, I think the 49ers, to me, now that they are back
to Jimmy G.
The Rams.
Oh, 49ers are legit.
I don't have any faith in Jimmy G, though.
I don't know if legit's the right word.
But Jimmy G is, I mean, he's got to the playoffs last year.
I like, I think it's a three horse race.
Kind of a four-horse race because you don't know where you're getting with Gino Smith.
Oh, my God.
No, the C-Hox are not.
This division is kind of.
on this.
So I don't know.
So as of right now, I just don't think it, I don't think they do.
I think we need to reevaluate after this week.
And also when they get DHop back, if, you know, things make a major turnaround.
And DHop comes back and the Cardinals are like slamming wins.
They're winning week to week to week to week.
I think they definitely have a shot, especially because the Rams don't look like the same
Rams from last season.
And I have no faith in the 49ers to do anything.
So I think there's a chance that they make the playoffs.
If we can turn things around a little.
bit and get some of those statement wins and
look like a competent team.
But as of now, I don't
think they do. So the Niners are
two and two, but technically first
in the West because they beat the Rams.
So I'm just saying, I'm just saying
they're still very much in it too.
I'm in on the Niners. I think the Niners
won the Divis. I'm not in on the Niners.
I don't know. It's a week division. I think
they win the division. The Niners?
Yeah. Yeah.
They have them, they're the most
talented roster. They just also have
potentially the worst quarterback
in the division.
But he can still win games for you.
I mean, get real.
I agree with you.
I agree with you.
But like, Geno's games this year, like his best games have been better than anything Jimmy's done this year.
Jimmy's just the most mediocre quarterback in football.
So it's tough.
I do think the Niners with their roster and their defense.
I just wish the Cardinals had punched people in the mouth and they haven't.
They haven't punched anybody.
Nobody's punched anybody in the mouth in this division.
Well, that's a good point.
Sean, what was your question?
My question is going back to baseball.
And with Shane the Mariners fan and Leah, the Blue Jays fan with, I probably know your answer,
Cherson, but with the, Guardians.
Yeah, with the DeVax, obviously not being a playoff team, who are you rooting for in the MLB playoffs?
I'm from Cleveland.
So Guardians all the way.
They won today.
And I am thrilled to watch them hopefully make a run this postseason.
I really don't have very much of a rooting interest.
I think if anything, maybe the race is because that's who David Peralta plays for now.
My grandma lives in Tampa Bay, so I might be able to catch some of those games.
So it's you and me, sister.
Yeah.
But aside from that, I mean, I don't like I genuinely don't have a horse in this race.
I think I'm going to pick the blue jays, though, overall.
I love the blue jays.
There's just something about that team that makes me so happy.
And they have not had success for a while.
So I love the blue jays.
I think I have pulled for the jays.
I also don't mind the Mariners.
It's all just a bunch of like eh for me.
Like I'm not feeling one way or another.
I know for sure I don't want the Dodgers to win shit.
No, nobody should ever be reading.
Same with the Yankees.
Don't want to watch the Yankees win anything.
I wouldn't mind the Mets winning just because the Mets have medded for the past 15 years.
So anybody but the Dodgers of the Yankees, I think I'd be happy with, I guess.
Yeah, I think I'm rooting for the Blue Jays.
The Blue Jays are currently losing 3-0 to the Mariners.
So really whoever wins this series,
I think is going to be my team
that I'm rooting for.
And then in the NL,
I'm rooting for the Braves
because I love Ronald Junia
and everybody on that team.
Yeah, I also forgot I don't want the Astros to win anything.
So Astros, Dodgers, Yankees.
I don't want the Astros to win.
They were my pick to come out of the AL
and if Verlander wins
a ring, I won't be upset about it.
If he wins a clean ring, I won't be upset about it.
I would rather the Astros win
than the Yankees of the Dodgers, to be quite honest,
because I don't think they're cheating anymore.
But yeah, I'm on the blue.
Lou J strain.
There's no Jose Ramirez fans in here?
I'm anti-Cleveland, to be honest.
I mention this to you.
I'm just kind of anti-Cleveland sports.
Okay.
Yeah, not a Cleveland fan.
Sorry, my girl.
Whatever.
All right, let's get this weekend started.
Before we do it, we're going to do it with OGs,
because OGs has just done something that is totally changing the gummy game.
They launched their brand new sleep edition gummies,
and you won't want to sleep on these.
OGs is now flavoring dreams with a 21-T-H-C-C-C-B-N ratio gummy.
CBN is a compound that helps specifically with falling and staying asleep.
And the new Sleep Edition gummy is their new aqua berry flavor, which rivals my all-time favorite orange
criniscicle flavor.
We highly recommend you check them out at OGs online at OGsbrands.com and on Instagram
at OGs brands.
You can also find their products at your local dispensary, pick up some of these new sleep
gummies.
And you must be 21 years or older to purchase.
I think it's an OGs kind of weekend for me.
I've been so busy lately.
I know.
We've been running around the valley.
I've been doing like all the things.
All over.
I think I need to take an OGs and just like take a nap this weekend.
Yeah, absolutely.
I will be enjoying some sleepy gummies for sure.
We hope you guys also have a wonderful weekend.
If you haven't already, sign up to be a member at go phnx.com.
You can get your first month for only 50 cents or if you sign up for an annual membership.
You'll get a free t-shirt from the PHNX Walker.
There's also a ton of other reasons to be a member, including access to our members only events like the one we're doing on October 14th.
We're going to be taking over Mollah Arena to watch.
ASU take on Colgate for the first home opener for ASU Hockey.
We're super excited about that.
If you're a member, you also get access to our members-only Discord where you can chat with all of us whenever you want.
There are so many reasons to be a member.
So definitely go and do that.
Thank you guys so much for watching.
And for everybody in the comments, we love you so, so much.
You are our favorite part of this show.
And don't forget, we will be live again next Friday at 1230.
Have a great weekend, everybody.
See you guys.
